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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk;  

Joanne Frye; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo 

R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2022 through January 2023 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

39:6 October 19, 2022 November 7, 2022 

39:7 November 2, 2022 November 21, 2022 

39:8 November 14, 2022 (Monday) December 5, 2022 

39:9 November 30, 2022 December 19, 2022 

39:10 December 14, 2022 January 2, 2023 

39:11 December 27, 2022 (Tuesday) January 16, 2023 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cody Bishop. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 

authorize pharmacy technicians to administer all vaccinations 

under the supervision of a pharmacist. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The board has determined 

that the requested amendment will necessitate a change in 

§ 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia, which currently allows 

prescribers to authorize pharmacists and nurses to administer 

adult vaccines under a protocol. There is no mention of 

authorization for pharmacy technicians. The workgroup 

established pursuant to legislation passed in the 2020 Session 

of the General Assembly to consider additional duties for 

pharmacy technicians has recommended such a change in the 

law. Accordingly, the board does not have authority to initiate 

rulemaking based on the petition until there is an amendment 

to the Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, or email 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-05; Filed December 10, 2021, 1:00 p.m. 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Elections conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 1VAC20-10, 

Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The department is 

publishing its report of findings dated December 1, 2021, to 

support this decision. 

The Department of Elections has determined that this 

regulation is necessary to ensure the agency's stakeholders are 

aware of the requirements for publicly participating in the 

regulatory process. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. The department recommends that this 

regulation stay in effect without change. The regulation is 

mandated by statute. The department has determined this 

regulation is effective as currently written and does not burden 

small businesses. There are no known overlaps or conflicts 

with federal or state law. 

Contact Information: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, FAX 

(804) 371-0194, or email ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Elections conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 1VAC20-40, 

Voter Registration, and determined that this regulation should 

be amended. The final regulatory action to amend 1VAC20-

40, which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, FAX 

(804) 371-0194, or email ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Elections conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 1VAC20-45, 

Absent Military and Overseas Voters, and determined that 

this regulation should be amended. The final regulatory action 

to amend 1VAC20-45, which is published in this issue of the 

Virginia Register, serves as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, FAX 

(804) 371-0194, or email ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Elections conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 1VAC20-70, 

Absentee Voting, and determined that this regulation should 

be amended. The final regulatory action to amend 1VAC20-

70, which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, FAX 

(804) 371-0194, or email ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6.CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

FORENSIC SCIENCE BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Forensic Science Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 6VAC40-50, 

Regulations for the Approval of Marijuana Field Tests for 

Detection of Marijuana Plant Material, and determined that 

this regulation should be amended. 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to amend 6VAC40-

50, which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Amy Jenkins, Department Counsel, 

Department of Forensic Science, 700 North 5th Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6848, or email 

amy.jenkins@dfs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-120, Rules and Regulations Controlling Outdoor 

Advertising and Directional and Other Signs and Notices, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained as is. 

mailto:ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov
mailto:ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov
mailto:ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov
mailto:ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov
mailto:amy.jenkins@dfs.virginia.gov
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The department is publishing its report of findings dated 

August 24, 2021, to support this decision. 

23 USC § 131(a) states that "The Congress hereby finds and 

declares that the erection and maintenance of outdoor 

advertising signs, displays, and devices in areas adjacent to the 

Interstate System and the primary system should be controlled 

in order to protect the public investment in such highways, to 

promote the safety and recreational value of public travel, and 

to preserve natural beauty." The regulation is written to be 

consistent with and comply with the federal requirements and 

is necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. The board recommends retaining the 

regulation as is. 

The regulation is necessary to enforce restrictions and 

requirements on outdoor advertising along or in sight of 

federal-aid highways in compliance with federal law. The 

board has received no complaints concerning the regulation. 

The regulation is not complex and is consistent with federal 

and state law. The regulation was last amended in 2004, and 

the most recent periodic review of the regulation was in 2001. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 

225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-200, Vegetation Control Regulations on State 

Rights-of-Way, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. 

The fast-track rulemaking action to amend 24VAC30-200, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves 

as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 11th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, or 

email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-451, Airport Access Fund Policy, and determined 

that this regulation should be repealed. The department is 

publishing its report of findings dated August 26, 2021, to 

support this decision. 

New or expanding airports and funding for airport access are 

recognized as valuable tools in economic development for 

localities. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. The Airport Access Program Guide can serve 

the same purposes as the regulation if posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall as a guidance document. Therefore, the 

board recommends repeal of the regulation. 

With the adoption of the Airport Access Program Guide as a 

guidance document, there is no continued need for the 

regulation. The board has received no complaints concerning 

the regulation. The regulation is not complex and does not 

conflict with federal or state law. The regulation was last 

amended in 2012 and has not been subject to a prior periodic 

review. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 

225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-551, Integrated Directional Signing Program 

(IDSP) Participation Criteria, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The department is 

publishing its report of findings dated August 26, 2021, to 

support this decision. 

The Integrated Directional Signing Program (IDSP) 

contributes to the public health, safety, and welfare by 

facilitating motorist awareness and accessibility to historical, 

cultural, or commercial attractions. The IDSP consolidates 

four specific highway signing programs: 

• Specific Travel Services (Logo) Signs: guide motorists to 

specific gas, food, lodging, camping, and attraction locations 

along Virginia's interstates and limited-access highways. 

• Tourist-Oriented Directional Signs (TODS): program for 

signs used along roads that do not have limited access, such as 

most primary and secondary highways, to guide motorists to 

businesses, services, recreation, and other facilities nearby. 

• Supplemental Guide Signs: guide motorists traveling from 

outside the immediate area to specific cultural, recreational, 

historical, governmental, educational, military, and other sites 

of interest on limited access, primary, or secondary roadways. 

• General Motorist Services Logo Signs: use standard symbols 

or general terms to let motorists know that services such as 

hospitals, public phones, gas, food, lodging, or camping are 

nearby. 

In addition, the IDSP incorporates special programs signing 

criteria for the following programs: 

mailto:JoAnne.Maxwell@VDOT.Virginia.gov
mailto:JoAnne.Maxwell@VDOT.Virginia.gov
mailto:JoAnne.Maxwell@VDOT.Virginia.gov
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• Civil War Trails; 

• Birding and Wildlife Trails; 

• Wayfinding Signs; 

• Winery Signage Program; 

• Virginia Waterways Signage; and 

• State Scenic River Signs 

Further, additional criteria and considerations for the 

integration of the Winery Signage Program are addressed in 

the IDSP. 

The IDSP criteria address issues such as: requirements 

businesses and other program participants must meet for 

eligibility, new categories for specific programs, and fee 

structures. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The IDSP program contributes to the Commonwealth's 

economy, and the regulation provides clear guidance on the use 

of the IDSP program. The board recommends retaining the 

regulation as is. The Virginia Department of Transportation 

(VDOT) is working to study the participation criteria. At this 

time, the study is not complete, and no recommendations have 

yet been made. The board will consider such recommendations 

and take appropriate action with respect to the regulation upon 

receipt of the study findings. 

VDOT has received some comments regarding those criteria. 

However, at this time, the study is not complete, and no 

recommendations have yet been made. The regulation is not 

complex, nor does it conflict with federal or state law. The 

regulation was adopted in 2006 and has not been amended nor 

has it been the subject of a periodic review. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 

225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

mailto:JoAnne.Maxwell@VDOT.Virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

STATE BOARD OF LOCAL AND REGIONAL JAILS 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC15-40. Minimum Standards for 

Jails and Lockups (amending 6VAC15-40-370; adding 

6VAC15-40-1047, 6VAC15-40-1305). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 53.1-5 and 53.1-68 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that the State Board of Local and 

Regional Jails has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action for 6VAC15-40, Minimum Standards for 

Jails and Lockups, that was published in 29:21 VA.R. 2528 

June 17, 2013. The notice was published under the regulatory 

authority of the Board of Corrections, but regulatory authority 

for 6VAC15-40 transferred pursuant to Chapter 759 of the 

2020 Acts of Assembly to the State Board of Local and 

Regional Jails. The action noticed would have amended 

tuberculosis test requirements and certified compliance with 

28 CFR Part 115. No follow-up action has been initiated since 

the notice was published in 2013, therefore the notice is 

withdrawn. A new periodic review has been initiated on 

6VAC15-40, Minimum Standards for Jails and Lockups, and a 

new action will be initiated as necessary. 

Agency Contact: Tracey Jenkins, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 

P.O. Box 26963, Richmond, VA 23261-6963, telephone (804) 

887-7898, FAX (804) 674-3071, or email 

tracey.jenkins@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3712; Filed December 2, 2021, 9:16 a.m. 

FORENSIC SCIENCE BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Forensic Science Board intends to 

consider amending 6VAC40-50, Regulations for the 

Approval of Marijuana Field Tests for Detection of 

Marijuana Plant Material. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to broaden the definition of marijuana field test that 

may be considered by the Department of Forensic Science 

(DFS) to include a combination of chemical tests or a mobile 

instrument and to establish the criteria and process by which 

DFS would approve mobile instruments for the identification 

of marijuana. 

This NOIRA is the result of a periodic review and a small 

business impact review and serves as the report of findings of 

that review. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-1110 and 19.2-188.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Amy Jenkins, Department Counsel, 

Department of Forensic Science, 700 North 5th Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6848, FAX (804) 

786-6857, or email amy.jenkins@dfs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6809; Filed December 3, 2021, 12:46 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors intends to 

consider amending 18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors 

Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 

the prohibited acts, specifically, the provisions of 18VAC50-

22-260 B 9, which currently require that the residential written 

contract contain a statement of the total cost, to allow cost-plus 

contracts as well as time and material contracts. The amended 

language would include specific hourly rate and percentage 

markups and caps on the total cost. This will align the contract 

requirements issued by the Board for Contractors with industry 

standards. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1146 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Marjorie King, Administrator, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, TDD 

(804) 527-4290, or email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6909; Filed December 3, 2021, 1:30 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work intends to 

consider amending 18VAC140-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to amend licensure by endorsement to allow 

acceptance of a state examination rather than only the national 

examination, which is a current requirement for licensure in 

Virginia. A state examination would be acceptable only if 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3588
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3588
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another United States jurisdiction did not require the national 

examination at the time the social worker was initially licensed 

and if the examination was deemed to be a comparable level 

for the license being sought. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7043; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:14 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-40. Voter Registration 

(amending 1VAC20-40-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 21, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Coles, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Elections, Washington Building, 1100 Bank 

Street, 1st Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

8933, or email ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove a citation to a repealed section of 

the Code of Virginia.  

1VAC20-40-40. Review of application. 

A. Except as provided in § 24.2-411.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

if In the event (i) an application to register to vote is not signed 

or is missing information required by law, or (ii) the general 

registrar cannot determine from the information provided on 

the application the location at which the applicant intended to 

register, the general registrar shall deny the application and 

process it in accordance with § 24.2-422 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. If an application to register to vote contains all information 

required by law but contains other apparent discrepancies, the 

general registrar may promptly resolve the discrepancies 

through informal means. Informal means include 

ascertainment of information through the statewide, voter 

registration system, the Division of Motor Vehicles, and any 

form of communication with the applicant. 

C. If an application to register to vote contains all information 

required by law, and if any of the situations in the subdivisions 

of this subsection apply, the general registrar shall not deny the 

application, but shall ask the applicant to provide additional 

information in support of the application. The general registrar 

shall request the information in writing on a form prescribed 

by the board and the applicant shall respond in writing. The 

application shall not be accepted or denied while the registrar 

is awaiting the applicant's response. The general registrar shall 

act promptly to resolve the question of residency as soon as 

possible. In the event the applicant does not provide the 

requested information by the last day to register as established 

in § 24.2-416 of the Code of Virginia and the general registrar 

is unable to determine the applicant's residency through any 

other means, the general registrar shall deny the application in 

accordance with § 24.2-422 B of the Code of Virginia. 

1. The applicant provides a mailing address in a different 

county, city, or state from his residential address. In this 

situation, the general registrar shall reconfirm the residential 

address and mailing address by asking the supplemental 

questions provided in 1VAC20-40-50 and mailing the 

questions to both the residential and mailing addresses; 

2. The applicant provides a residential address that cannot 

receive mail, or from which mail sent by the registrar's office 

is returned. In this situation, the general registrar shall ask 

for an alternate mailing address; 

3. The applicant provides an address that is temporary in 

nature. Temporary addresses shall include, but not be limited 

to, hotels, motels, motor homes, hospitals and other short 

term medical care facilities, houseboats, campgrounds or 

other facilities that have durational restrictions, such as a 30-

day limitation, or any other transient address that would not 

be considered as a typical permanent residence address. 

Temporary addresses shall not include apartments or other 

facilities, such as dormitories, that provide for leases or other 

rental agreements of at least six months duration. The 

general registrar shall treat these addresses as permanent 

ones. In the event the applicant provides an address that is 

temporary in nature, the general registrar shall ask the 

supplemental questions provided in 1VAC20-40-50; 

4. The applicant provides a residential address that is a 

commercial, industrial, or other building that is not normally 

used for residential purposes, or other nontraditional 

residential address; or 

5. The application causes a conflict with another existing 

voter in the statewide, voter registration system, such as a 

duplication of the social security number with an existing 

voter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7038; Filed December 6, 2021, 2:56 p.m. 
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-45. Absent Military and 

Overseas Voters (amending 1VAC20-45-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 21, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Coles, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Elections, Washington Building, 1100 Bank 

Street, 1st Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

8933, or email ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds "during a declared state of emergency 

related to a communicable disease of public health threat 

pursuant to § 24.2-707 of the Code of Virginia" as an 

exception to the requirement that an omitted signature of a 

witness on a Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot (FWAB) is 

material and therefore renders the FWAB invalid.  

1VAC20-45-40. Material omissions from Federal Write-In 

Absentee Ballots. 

A. Pursuant to the requirements of §§ 24.2-467, 24.2-702.1, 

and 24.2-706 of the Code of Virginia, a timely received write-

in absentee ballot on a Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot 

(FWAB) (Form SF-186) should not be rendered invalid if it 

contains an error or omission not material to determining the 

eligibility of the applicant to vote in the election in which he 

the applicant offers to vote. 

B. If the applicant is not registered, the FWAB may not be 

accepted as timely for registration unless the applicant has met 

the applicable registration deadline. Section 24.2-419 of the 

Code of Virginia extends the mail registration deadline for 

certain military applicants. All applications requesting mailed 

ballots are subject to the mail absentee application deadline in 

§§ 24.2-459 and 24.2-701 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The following omissions are always material and any 

FWAB containing such omissions should be rendered invalid 

if on the declaration/affirmation any of the following, or 

combination thereof, exists: 

1. The applicant has omitted the signature of the voter or the 

notation of an assistant in the voter signature box that the 

voter is unable to sign; 

2. The applicant has omitted the signature of the witness, 

except during a declared state of emergency related to a 

communicable disease of public health threat pursuant to 

§ 24.2-707 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. The applicant did not include the declaration/affirmation 

page; or 

4. The applicant omitted from the declaration/affirmation 

information required by § 24.2-702.1 of the Code of Virginia 

needed to determine identity or eligibility including, but not 

limited to, current military or overseas address. 

D. The ballot should not be rendered invalid if on the FWAB 

any of the following, or combination thereof, exists: 

1. The applicant has not listed the names specifically in the 

order of last, first, and middle name; 

2. The applicant has listed a middle initial or maiden name, 

instead of the full middle name; 

3. The applicant has omitted the street identifier, such as the 

term "road" or "street," when filling in the legal residence; 

4. The applicant has omitted the county or city of registration 

if the county or city is clearly identifiable by the residence 

address information provided; 

5. The applicant has omitted the zip code; 

6. The applicant has omitted the date of the signature of the 

voter; 

7. The applicant has omitted the address of the witness; 

8. The applicant has omitted the date of signature of the 

witness; 

9. The applicant did not seal the ballot within the security 

envelope so long as the outside envelope containing the 

ballot and the voter's declaration/affirmation page arrived 

sealed; or 

10. The applicant has submitted a ballot containing offices 

or issues for which he the applicant is not eligible. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7037; Filed December 6, 2021, 4:34 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-70. Absentee Voting 

(amending 1VAC20-70-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 21, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Coles, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Elections, Washington Building, 1100 Bank 

Street, 1st Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

8933, or email ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds "during a declared state of emergency 

related to a communicable disease of public health threat 

pursuant to § 24.2-707 of the Code of Virginia" as an 
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exception to the requirement that an omitted voter's witness 

signature on an Envelope B containing an absentee ballot is 

material and therefore renders the ballot invalid.  

1VAC20-70-20. Material omissions from absentee ballots. 

A. Pursuant to the requirements of § 24.2-706 of the Code of 

Virginia, a timely received absentee ballot contained in an 

Envelope B shall not be rendered invalid if it contains an error 

or omission not material to its proper processing. 

B. The following omissions are always material and any 

Envelope B containing such omissions shall be rendered 

invalid if any of the following exists: 

1. Except as provided in subdivisions C 2 and C 3 of this 

section, the voter did not include his full first name; 

2. The voter did not provide his last name; 

3. The voter omitted his generational suffix when one or 

more individuals with the same name are registered at the 

same address, and it is impossible to determine the identity 

of the voter; 

4. The voter did not provide his house number and street 

name or his rural route address; 

5. The voter did not provide either his city or zip code; 

6. The voter did not sign Envelope B; or 

7. The voter's witness did not sign Envelope B, except during 

a declared state of emergency related to a communicable 

disease of public health threat pursuant to § 24.2-707 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

C. The ballot shall not be rendered invalid if on the Envelope 

B: 

1. The voter included his full name in an order other than 

"last, first, middle"; 

2. The voter used his first initial instead of his first full name, 

so long as the voter provided his full middle name; 

3. The voter provided a derivative of his legal name as his 

first or middle name (e.g., "Bob" instead of "Robert"); 

4. If the voter provided his first name and last name, the voter 

did not provide a middle name or a middle initial; 

5. The voter did not provide his residential street identifier 

(Street, Drive, etc.); 

6. The voter did not provide a zip code, so long as the voter 

provided his city; 

7. The voter did not provide his city, so long as the voter 

provided his zip code; 

8. The voter omitted the date, or provided an incorrect or 

incomplete date on which he signed Envelope B; or 

9. The ballot is imperfectly sealed within Envelope B, 

provided that the outer envelope with Envelope B and the 

ballot arrived sealed. 

10. The illegibility of a voter's or witness' signature on an 

Envelope B shall not be considered an omission or error. 

D. For the purposes of this regulation, "city" may include the 

voter's locality, town, or any acceptable mailing name for the 

five-digit zip code of the voter's residence. 

E. Whether an error or omission on an Envelope B not 

specifically addressed by this regulation is material and shall 

render the absentee ballot invalid shall be determined by a 

majority of the officers of the election present. 

F. If a ballot is received by the general registrar's office by 

noon on the third day after the election pursuant to § 24.2-709 

of the Code of Virginia but the return envelope has a missing 

or illegible postmark, the General Registrar shall refer to the 

Intelligent Mail barcode on the return envelope to determine 

whether the ballot was mailed on or before the date of the 

relevant election. 

1. If there is evidence from the Intelligent Mail barcode that 

the ballot was mailed after the close of polls for the relevant 

election, the ballot shall be rendered invalid. 

2. If there is no evidence from the Intelligent Mail barcode 

that the ballot was mailed after the close of polls for the 

relevant election, but the return envelope has an illegible 

postmark, the General Registrar shall refer to the date on 

which the oath on Envelope B was signed to determine 

whether the ballot was cast on or before the date of the 

relevant election. 

3. If there is no evidence from the Intelligent Mail barcode 

that the ballot was mailed after the close of polls for the 

relevant election and if the return envelope has a missing 

postmark, the ballot shall be rendered invalid. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7036; Filed December 6, 2021, 4:56 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 10  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 3, 2022  

842 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1230. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Shellfish (amending 4VAC20-1230-30, 

4VAC20-1230-31, 4VAC20-1230-32). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23551, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments extend the public health and warm water 

harvest restrictions for shellfish into the month of October. 

4VAC20-1230-30. Public health and warm water harvest 

restrictions for shellfish. 

A. Beginning December 1, 2014, it It shall be unlawful for 

any commission employee or representative to issue any 

shellfish license, shellfish permit, or oyster resource user fee to 

any person unless that person has successfully completed the 

Shellfish Harvest Safety Training Certification Course. 

Beginning January 1, 2015, it It shall be unlawful for any 

person to harvest or attempt to harvest shellfish unless that 

person has successfully completed the Shellfish Harvest Safety 

Training Certification Course. The Shellfish Harvest Safety 

Training Certification shall be valid from the date of issuance 

through the next five calendar years. 

B. No provisions in this chapter shall apply to seed clams or 

seed oysters. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to have any cat, dog, or 

other animal on board a vessel during the harvest of shellfish. 

D. From May 1 through September 30 October 31, any vessel 

used for the harvest of shellfish, from either public or private 

grounds, shall provide shading over the area that serves as 

storage for the shellfish when the shellfish are on board that 

vessel. All shellfish in the vessel shall be offloaded every day. 

Shading shall not be required for vessels transporting clam 

seed or seed oysters for replanting. 

E. From May 1 through September 30 October 31, all 

shellfish shall be shaded during land-based deliveries. 

F. From June 1 through August 31, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to leave the dock or shore prior to one hour before 

sunrise to harvest or attempt to harvest shellfish from private 

grounds. 

4VAC20-1230-31. Public health and warm water harvest 

restrictions for oysters. 

A. From May 1 through September 30 October 31, all land-

based deliveries of oysters shall be made aboard trucks or other 

conveyances equipped with VDH-approved temperature 

controlled storage. Mechanically refrigerated containers for 

oysters shall be in operation during transport. Any operator of 

a truck who is delivering oysters, using a truck not owned by a 

licensed shellfish buyer, shall possess a truck refrigeration 

certificate issued by the Virginia Department of Health, 

Division of Shellfish Sanitation. Upon receiving any oysters, 

licensed shellfish buyers shall immediately place any oysters 

received from any individual under temperature control. 

B. From May 1 to September 30 October 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any individual to harvest oysters from open areas 

of public or private ground after any monthly curfew harvest 

time described in (i) subdivisions 1 through 5 of this subsection 

or (ii) subsections C and D of this section. All oysters shall be 

placed into trucks or other conveyances equipped with VDH-

approved temperature controlled storage, no later than the 

following designated curfew harvest times, by month: 

1. May 1 through May 31, by 11 a.m.; 

2. June 1 through June 30, by 10 a.m.; 

3. July 1 through July 31, by 10 a.m.; 

4. August 1 through August 31, by 10 a.m.; and 

5. September 1 through September 30 October 31, by 12 

noon. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any individual to harvest oysters 

from open areas of public or private ground, except as 

described in (i) subsection B or D of this section or (ii) 

subdivisions 1 through 3 of this subsection. 

1. The individual has applied for and been granted a permit 

by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission to harvest 

oysters after the designated monthly curfew harvest times, 

as provided in subsection B of this section. 

2. A Virginia Marine Resources Commission-approved 

global positioning system tracking device shall be on board 

the harvest vessel or with the individual and must be in 

continuous operation from the time that vessel or individual 

leaves the dock or shore until the vessel or individual returns 

to the dock or shore, and the oysters harvested are offloaded 

from that vessel or onto the dock or shore and placed into 

trucks or other conveyances equipped with VDH-approved 

temperature controlled storage. 

3. The total time, from the time the vessel or individual 

leaves the dock or shore until the oysters are placed into 

trucks or other conveyances equipped with VDH-approved 

temperature controlled storage, shall not exceed the 

following amount of time, by month: 

a. Five hours during the months of May and, September, 

and October; 

b. Three hours during the month of June; and 

c. Two hours during the months of July and August. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any individual to harvest oysters 

from open areas of public or private ground, except as 

described in (i) subsection B or C of this section or (ii) 

subdivisions 1 through 3 of this subsection. 
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1. The individual has applied for and has been issued a 

Virginia Department of Health, Division of Shellfish 

Sanitation vessel approval certificate for mechanical 

refrigeration or icing in a storage container that is on board 

the vessel at all times during the harvest of oysters; 

2. The individual has applied for and has been issued a 

Marine Resources Commission shellfish harvester icing 

permit; and 

3. Oysters are placed in VDH-approved temperature 

controlled storage on board the vessel from the start of 

harvest and throughout the harvest period until the oysters 

are offloaded. 

E. From May 1 through September 30 October 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any individual to harvest oysters from open areas 

of public or private ground, as restricted-use shellstock, except 

as described in subdivisions 1 through 3 of this subsection. 

1. The individual has been issued green restricted-use 

shellstock tags by a Virginia Department of Health, Division 

of Shellfish Sanitation-certified shucker packer and has 

tagged all oysters with restricted-use shellstock tags; 

2. The individual does not possess on board the vessel any 

oysters designated for direct marketing or raw consumption; 

and 

3. All oysters are harvested no later than 12 noon and are 

placed into trucks or other conveyances equipped with 

VDH-approved temperature controlled storage, no later than 

noon that same day. 

F. From May 1 through September 30 October 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any individual to harvest any amount of natural 

(wild) seed oysters that include oysters greater than 2-1/2 

inches, without first obtaining a valid bulk seed permit from 

the Virginia Marine Resources Commission. Any individual 

who harvests any natural (wild) seed oysters that include 

oysters greater than 2-1/2 inches and is not in possession of a 

valid bulk seed permit issued by the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission shall be in violation of this chapter. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any individual to handle oysters, as 

part of a cage aquaculture operation for husbandry purposes, 

after the designated harvesting times described in subsection B 

of this section without first obtaining a valid cage oyster 

aquaculture husbandry permit from the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission. Any individual who handles oysters 

in cage oyster aquaculture operations after the designated 

harvesting times described in subsection B of this section and 

does not possess a valid cage oyster aquaculture husbandry 

permit issued by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission 

shall be in violation of this chapter. 

4VAC20-1230-32. Public health and warm water harvest 

restrictions for clams. 

From May 1 through September 30 October 31, all land-based 

deliveries of clams requiring more than 60 minutes after 

offloading is complete shall be made aboard trucks or other 

conveyances equipped with VDH-approved temperature 

controlled storage. Mechanically refrigerated containers for 

clams shall be in operation during transport. Any operator of a 

truck who is delivering clams using a truck not owned by a 

licensed shellfish buyer shall possess a truck refrigeration 

certificate issued by the Virginia Department of Health, 

Division of Shellfish Sanitation. Upon receiving any clams, 

licensed shellfish buyers shall immediately place any clams 

received from the individual under temperature control. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7042; Filed December 7, 2021, 2:41 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Asfaw Fenta, Director, Radioactive Materials 

Program, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8168, FAX (804) 

864-8155, or email asfaw.fenta@vdh.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC5-481) 

Applications for a New Radioactive Material License 

Academic, Research and Development, and Other Licenses 

of Limited Scope, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Broad Scope, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Fixed Gauge Devices, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Industrial Radiography, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Irradiators – Part XII, Revision 2 (6/2018) 

Medical Use, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Medical Use, Revision 4 (1/2022) 

Portable Gauges, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/2b3c7005560~1w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/2b3c7005560~1w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/9b5b9003585~26.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/7af33005560~2w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/6c488005560~3w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/2eff2005560~4w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Lic-App-G-New_Medical-Use-Rev-4-20211206134706.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/8622b005560~6w.pdf
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Radiopharmacy, Revision 2 (6/2018) 

Sealed Sources, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Self-Shielded Irradiators, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Material in Well Logging, Tracer, and Field Flood Study, 

Revision 3 (1/2016) 

XRF Devices, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Manufacturing and Distribution, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Applications for Renewal of a Radioactive Material License 

Academic, Research and Development and Other Licenses 

of Limited Scope, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Broad Scope, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Fixed Gauge Devices, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Industrial Radiography, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Irradiators – Part XII, Revision 1 (6/2018) 

Medical Use, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Medical Use, Revision 4 (1/2022) 

Portable Gauges, Revision 5 (6/2018) 

Radiopharmacy, Revision 2 (6/2018) 

Sealed Sources, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Self-Shielded Irradiators, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Material in Well Logging, Tracer, and Field Flood Study, 

Revision 3 (1/2016) 

XRF Devices, Revision 5 (6/2018) 

Manufacturing and Distribution, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Training, Experience, and Preceptor Attestations 

A: Radiation Safety Officer for Medical Use, Revision 0 

(7/2016) 

B - Auth User Written Directive R1(7/16) 

C: Unsealed Radioactive Material Requiring Written 

Directive, Revision 2, (6/2014) 

D: Authorized User for Manual Brachytherapy Sources, 

Revision 0 (7/2016) 

E: Authorized User of Remote Afterloader, Teletherapy, or 

Gamma Stereotactic Radiosurgery Units, Revision 0 

(7/2016) 

F: Authorized Medical Physicist, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

G: Authorized Nuclear Pharmacist, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

A - Training Preceptor for Radiation Safety Officer and 

Assistant Radiation Safety Officer Revision 1 (1/2022) 

B - Authorized User Written Directive Not Required 

Revision 1(1/2022) 

C - Authorized User Unsealed Radioactive Material 

Requiring Written Directive Revision 3 (1/2022) 

D - Authorized User-Manual Brachytherapy Revision 2 

(1/2022) 

E - Authorized User High Dose Remote Afterloader-

Teletherapy-Gamma Knife Revision 1 (1/2022) 

F - Authorized Medical Physicist or Ophthalmological 

Physicist Revision 1 (1/2022) 

G - Authorized Nuclear Pharmacist Revision1 (1/2022) 

Other Forms 

Certificate of Disposition of Materials, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

Certificate - Use of Depleted Uranium under General 

License, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

Cumulative Occupational Exposure History, Revision 1 

(1/2015) 

Fingerprint Record, Federal Bureau of Investigation, FD-

258, (rev. 9/2013) 

Notice to Employees, RH-F-12 (1/2011) 

Occupational Exposure Record per Monitoring Period, 

Revision 1 (1/2015) 

Registration Certificate - In Vitro Testing with Radioactive 

Material under General License, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

Reciprocity Privileges Checklist, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7045; Filed December 8, 2021, 11:59 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (adding 

12VAC30-50-610). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 17, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/c82c2005560~7w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/f6eb1005560~8w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/74a8b005560~9w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/4e02d003585~35.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/4e02d003585~35.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/02893005560~10w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/ba6ad005560~11w.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/f1cfa005560~12l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/f1cfa005560~12l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/9537e003585~38.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/9469e005560~13l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/e0e00005560~14l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/f1596005560~15l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Lic-App-G-Renewal_Medical-Use-Rev-4-20211206135359.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/79177005560~17l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/e160b005560~18l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/41205005560~19l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/decb3005560~20l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/fece3003585~46.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/fece3003585~46.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/75b10005560~21l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/60e3a005560~22l.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/A%20-%20Auth%20Training%20Preceptor,%20RSO%20ARSO%20Rev1-20211206120159.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/A%20-%20Auth%20Training%20Preceptor,%20RSO%20ARSO%20Rev1-20211206120159.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/B%20-%20Auth%20User%20Written%20Directive%20Rev%201-20211206121704.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/B%20-%20Auth%20User%20Written%20Directive%20Rev%201-20211206121704.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/C%20-%20Auth%20User%20Unsealed%20Written%20Directive%20Rev%203-20211206124716.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/C%20-%20Auth%20User%20Unsealed%20Written%20Directive%20Rev%203-20211206124716.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/D%20-%20Auth%20User-Manual%20Brachytherapy%20Rev2-20211206125535.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/D%20-%20Auth%20User-Manual%20Brachytherapy%20Rev2-20211206125535.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/E%20-%20Auth%20User%20HDR-Teletherapy-Gamma%20Knife%20Rev%201-20211206130039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/E%20-%20Auth%20User%20HDR-Teletherapy-Gamma%20Knife%20Rev%201-20211206130039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/F%20-%20Auth%20Medical%20Physicist%20or%20Ophthalmological%20Physicist%20Rev1-20211206130414.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/F%20-%20Auth%20Medical%20Physicist%20or%20Ophthalmological%20Physicist%20Rev1-20211206130414.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/G%20-%20Auth%20Nuclear%20Pharmacist%20Rev1-20211206130731.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/b7340003585~58.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/61137003585~60.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/61137003585~60.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/3faf6003585~59.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/3faf6003585~59.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/6a0df003585~61.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/6a0df003585~61.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/8b3a4003585~48.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/a8725003585~64.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/a8725003585~64.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/2ef61003585~62.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/2ef61003585~62.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/999d6003585~65.pdf
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Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services to administer and amend 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance and to promulgate 

regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance and to promulgate 

regulations according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulation is to incorporate the 

Medicaid expansion Alternative Benefit Plan (ABP) approved 

by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) into 

the Virginia Administrative Code. This regulation is essential 

to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens in that it 

implements the General Assembly mandate to expand 

Medicaid coverage to new populations. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is expected to be noncontroversial because it 

describes an alternative benefit plan that was approved by 

CMS and went into effect on January 1, 2019. As of October 

18, 2019, over 331,000 individuals have enrolled in Medicaid 

expansion, and no formal or informal complaints or comments 

had been received about the alternative benefit plan from any 

Medicaid member, Medicaid provider, or member of the 

public. 

Substance: The changes describe how the ABP was developed, 

the essential health benefits that were reviewed, how the ABP 

will use both managed care and fee-for-service delivery 

systems, and how the ABP interacts with the Health Insurance 

Premium Payment Program and cost sharing. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action for the 

public and the Commonwealth is that additional individuals 

will have access to comprehensive health insurance, which 

should help improve health measures and outcomes across the 

Commonwealth. There are no disadvantages to the agency or 

the public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS), on behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services, proposes to promulgate a permanent regulation to 

replace an emergency regulation that went into effect on 

September 19, 2019. As with the emergency regulation, the 

permanent regulation would incorporate alternative benefit 

plan language that was included in the Virginia State Plan as a 

part of the Medicaid expansion implementation that became 

effective on January 1, 2019. 

Background. The proposed regulation is part of the overall 

implementation process for Medicaid expansion in accordance 

with several legislative mandates: the 2018 Acts of Assembly, 

Chapter 2, Item 303.SS.4(a)(1); the 2019 Acts of Assembly, 

Chapter 854, Item 303.SS.4(a)(1); the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

Chapter 1289, Item 313.QQ.3(a)(1); and the 2021 Special 

Session 1 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 552, Item 

313.QQ.3(a)(1). These mandates direct DMAS to "amend the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance under Title XIX of the Social 

Security Act, and any waivers thereof, to implement coverage 

for newly eligible individuals pursuant to 42 USC 

§ 1396d(y)(1)[2010] of the Patient Protection and Affordable 

Care Act." 

The State Plan Amendments have already been made and 

approved by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, and emergency regulations were subsequently 

adopted. This action permanently replaces a key element of the 

regulation that helped effectuate the expansion. More 

specifically, the regulatory provision being permanently 

adopted by this action involves the alternative benefit plan 

(ABP) that is available to individuals who are covered by 

Medicaid expansion. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) requires state Medicaid agencies to create an 

ABP for expansion populations. The main purpose of the 

requirement is to assure that Virginia's expansion population 

has access to comprehensive health insurance. 

The proposed changes describe how the plan was developed; 

the essential health benefits that were reviewed; the benefits-

related assurances Virginia makes to CMS; how the ABP will 

use both managed care and fee-for-service delivery systems; 

how the ABP interacts with the Health Insurance Premium 

Payment program and cost sharing; and the general assurances 

that Virginia makes to CMS. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to DMAS, the 

primary effect of the proposed changes would be consistency 

between the Medicaid State Plan and the Virginia 

Administrative Code (VAC). It has long been a practice to 

amend the regulation to mirror the changes that were 

previously made to the Medicaid State Plan. In that sense, this 

regulatory action is a housekeeping measure. Under the 

General Assembly's multiple directives stated, the expansion 

of Medicaid coverage to indigent adults that meets the federal 

ABP requirements addressed in this regulation has already 

been in effect for more than two years. 

Although permanently amending the VAC to reflect what has 

already been implemented will not create any immediate 

economic impact, the practice still has value. The legislation 

has addressed important aspects of expansion in a piecemeal 

fashion. And though the State Plan stitched these directives 

together, its purpose is to provide a basis for federal authority. 

In contrast, the VAC is the basis for the state authority. To the 

extent that the proposed ABP amendments help serve as a 

source for information regarding the ABP, the proposal should 

benefit Medicaid providers, recipients, and the public in 

general. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments should benefit Medicaid providers, recipients, 

and the public in general in terms of providing a permanent 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 10  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 3, 2022  

846 

source for the rules governing the ABP for the expansion 

population. No adverse economic impact1 on any entity is 

indicated. 

Small Businesses2 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effects 

on the use and value of private property or real estate 

development costs is expected. 

____________________________________ 
1Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and raises no issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action adds the alternative benefit plan 

(ABP), which is available to individuals who are covered by 

Medicaid expansion, to the Virginia State Plan for Medical 

Assistance in order to implement Medicaid expansion. The 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 

requires state Medicaid agencies to create an ABP for 

expansion populations. The changes included in this 

regulatory action have already been reviewed and approved 

by CMS. 

Part X 

Alternative Benefit Plan 

12VAC30-50-610. Alternative benefit plan: Medicaid 

expansion.  

A. The Commonwealth provides alternative benefits to the 

adult group (defined in § 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VIII) of the Social 

Security Act) under the coverage option under § 1937 of the 

Social Security Act (42 USC § 301 et seq.) approved by the 

Secretary of Health and Human Services. Enrollment is 

mandatory for individuals in the adult group, and the 

alternative benefit package shall be available statewide.  

B. In developing the benefit package for the alternative 

benefit plan, the Commonwealth reviewed:  

1. Benefits in its approved State Plan as a "benchmark 

benefit package";  

2. The largest plan by enrollment of the three largest small-

group insurance products in the small-group market as the 

"base benchmark plan"; and  

3. Essential health benefits.  

C. Alternative benefit plan services. 

1. The alternative benefit plan includes all Medicaid State 

Plan services, including essential health benefits.  

2. The essential health benefits included in the alternative 

benefit plan are ambulatory patient services; emergency 

services; hospitalization; maternity and newborn care; 

mental health and substance use disorder services, including 

behavioral health treatment; prescription drugs; 

rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices; 

laboratory services; preventive and wellness services; and 

chronic disease management. Pediatric services, including 

oral and vision care, are essential health benefits that are not 

covered for adults.  

D. The Commonwealth will use both managed care and fee-

for-service delivery systems for the alternative benefit plan. 

1. The managed care delivery system is the same as the 

CMS-approved § 1915(b) managed care waivers. The fee-

for-service delivery system is the traditional, state-managed 

system. 

2. For each benefit provided under an alternative benefit plan 

that is not provided through managed care, the 

Commonwealth will use the payment methodology in its 

approved State Plan (i.e., 12VAC30-70, 12VAC30-80, and 

12VAC30-90).  

E. Individuals who have cost-effective group health plans 

described in § 1906 of the Social Security Act or qualified 

employer-sponsored plans described in § 1906A of the Social 

Security Act may request to receive coverage through the 

Health Insurance Premium Payment program.  

F. Any cost sharing described in Attachment 4.18-A of the 

State Plan (12VAC30-20-150) applies to the alternative benefit 

plan. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5693; Filed December 2, 2021, 3:36 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (adding 18VAC60-21-107). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 664 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendment adds a section to (i) reiterate the requirement 

effective July 1, 2020, that a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid must be issued as an 

electronic prescription unless the prescriber qualifies for an 

exemption set out in the law and (ii) provide for a one-year 

waiver from the requirement if the practitioner can 

demonstrate economic hardship technological limitations or 

other exceptional circumstances beyond the practitioner's 

control. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC60-21-107. Waiver for electronic prescribing.  

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, unless the prescription qualifies for an 

exemption as set forth in subsection C of § 54.1-3408.02.  

B. Upon written request, the board may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of subsection A of this section for a 

period not to exceed one year, due to demonstrated economic 

hardship, technological limitations that are not reasonably 

within the control of the prescriber, or other exceptional 

circumstances demonstrated by the prescriber.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6114; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:07 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (adding 18VAC60-21-175). 

18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Assistants (adding 18VAC60-30-85). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Building, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Board Room 4, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 4, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. Specific authority for 

regulation of the profession of dental assisting is found in 

§ 54.1-2729.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the action is to address concerns about 

breaches in infection control techniques that endanger the 

health and safety of the public. In several other states, there 

have been egregious cases of infection with long-term 

consequences for patients who were exposed to pathogens 

during the course of dental treatment. While the board is not 

aware of such reports in Virginia, it did review several 

disciplinary cases within the past few years in which dentists 

were disciplined for a lack of infection control in sterilization 

of instruments and other risky practices. Since dental assistants 

Is are not regulated by the board, the dentist is accountable for 

infection control practice, but often the dental assistant is 

responsible for infection control processes and procedures. The 

purpose of a regulatory action is to ensure some consistency in 

training and a level of competency that protects dental patients. 

The goal of the proposed action is to ensure dental assistants 

are properly trained in practices that mitigate the chances of 

infections in dental practices. 

Substance: 18VAC60-30-85 requires that a dental assistant 

complete annual training in infection control standards as 

recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention (CDC) through the Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA). A newly employed assistant must 

receive training within 60 days of hire.18VAC60-21-175 

requires a dentist to be responsible for assuring that dental 

assistants complete annual training in infection control and that 

newly employed assistants receive training within 60 days of 

hire. Dentists are required to maintain documentation of 

training for three years. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is a standardized 

expectation of training in infection control for patient safety 

throughout the Commonwealth, at all dental offices. There are 

no disadvantages for the public. Dentists are already expected 

to adhere to OSHA and CDC guidelines for infection control. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a 2019 petition for rulemaking,1 the Board of 

Dentistry (Board) is proposing to add an infection control 

training requirement for Dental Assistant Is and Dental 

Assistant IIs to the regulation. 

Background. According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), it is expected that dental assistants follow 

common sense infection control practices. Currently, a 

guidance document2 lists "Follow the applicable CDC 

infection control guidelines and recommendations" under 

Practitioner Responsibility, but the regulation is silent about 

any required training that dental assistants must complete in 

infection control. The Board proposes to require dental 

assistants to complete annual training in infection control 

standards and also require dentists to assure that that the 

training is completed. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. DHP believes that training of 

dental assistants in infection control is already occurring in 

most dental offices. However, DHP is aware of four or five 

cases where infection control standards were not followed. The 

details of the proposed annual training are not specified in the 

proposed text, only that it be "required by the Occupational 

Safety and Health Administration and as recommended by the 

Centers for Disease Control" (CDC). DHP states that free 

online training videos are available from CDC on infection 

control which would satisfy the proposed training requirement. 

Since most dental offices likely train dental assistants on 

common sense infection control measures already, the main 

benefit of the proposed action is to emphasize and clarify that 

dental assistants complete annual training. As a result, the 

proposed changes would also be beneficial to the extent they 

reduce infections in dental practices. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 

applies to 7,516 dentists, hundreds of dental assistant Is,3 and 40 

dental assistant IIs. No adverse economic impact4 on dentists or 

dental assistants is expected, as they are already supposed to 

follow common sense infection control measures. 

Small Businesses5 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments or particularly affect any 

locality. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

of the use and value of private property or real estate 

development costs is expected. 

___________________________________ 
1 https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=313 
2https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:\TownHall\docroot\Guid

anceDocs\223\GDoc_DHP_4171_v9.pdf 

3Dental Assistant Is are not directly regulated by the Board. Therefore, DHP 

lacks an exact count. 
4Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

In response to a petition for rulemaking, the proposed 

amendments require (i) a dental assistant to complete 

annual training in infection control standards as 

recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention through the Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration; (ii) newly employed assistants receive 

training within 60 days of hire; and (iii) dentists ensure that 

such training take place and maintain documentation of 

training for three years. 

18VAC60-21-175. Training in infection control.  

A. A dentist shall be responsible for assuring that dental 

assistants complete annual training in infection control 

standards required by the Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration and as recommended by the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention. Newly employed dental 

assistants shall receive training as soon as possible but no later 

than 60 days from employment.  

B. Documentation records shall show the dates of completion 

of initial and annual training, including the date of employment 

for new dental assistants. All documentation of training in 

infection control shall be maintained by the dentist for three 

years. 

Part II 

Practice of Dental Assistants II 

18VAC60-30-85. Training in infection control.  

Dental assistants shall complete annual training in infection 

control standards required by the Occupational Safety and 

Health Administration and as recommended by the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention. Newly employed dental 

assistants shall complete training as soon as possible but no 

later than 60 days from employment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-15; Filed December 7, 2021, 2:32 p.m. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=313
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs/223/GDoc_DHP_4171_v9.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs/223/GDoc_DHP_4171_v9.pdf
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BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC65-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Funeral Services (amending 18VAC65-20-

140, 18VAC65-20-151, 18VAC65-20-154, 18VAC65-20-

235, 18VAC65-20-350, 18VAC65-20-500, 18VAC65-20-

630; adding 18VAC65-20-231, 18VAC65-20-232). 

18VAC65-30. Regulations for Preneed Funeral Planning 

(amending 18VAC65-30-10, 18VAC65-30-50). 

18VAC65-40. Regulations for the Funeral Service 

Internship Program (amending 18VAC65-40-10, 

18VAC65-40-40, 18VAC65-40-90, 18VAC65-40-110, 

18VAC65-40-130, 18VAC65-40-180, 18VAC65-40-220, 

18VAC65-40-250, 18VAC65-40-280, 18VAC65-40-320, 

18VAC65-40-340, 18VAC65-40-640; adding 18VAC65-40-

185). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 28, 2022 - 9:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Suite 201, Board Room 4, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 4, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

The specific statutory authority for this action is Chapter 943 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to establish 

requirements for education, examination, and experience that 

will ensure licensed funeral directors and licensed embalmers 

have adequate training and knowledge to perform their duties 

with competency in order to protect public health, safety, and 

welfare in the handling of human remains, conducting funeral 

services, and arranging finances for funerals and disposition of 

the deceased. 

Substance: Amendments include the following:(i) applicants 

will be required to obtain an associate's degree in an accredited 

mortuary science program or complete at least 60 hours of 

coursework with at least 30 hours from a funeral directing 

program approved by the board; (ii) coursework in embalming 

will not be required for the funeral director license, and 

coursework in funeral directing and preneed financing will not 

be required for the embalmer license; (iii) all funeral interns 

will be required to complete 2,000 hours of supervised 

experience in the area of funeral practice for which they are 

seeking licensure; and (iv) necessary adjustments to insert the 

three types of licenses and scopes of practice, as applicable, 

throughout the three chapters are proposed as amendments. 

Issues: The advantage to the public will be the potential for 

more individuals to come into the profession to ensure a supply 

of funeral directors and embalmers to serve the needs of 

citizens in the future. The recent workforce survey showed that 

over 47% of the current licensees are older than 55 years of 

age, and growth in the profession has been very modest. There 

are no disadvantages; licensees will be adequately educated 

and trained to perform the duties without their scope of 

practice. There are no advantages or disadvantages to this 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly 

(legislation),1 emergency regulations became effective on 

January 5, 2021, that established licensure requirements for 

funeral directors and embalmers. The Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers (Board) also reduced the minimum 

required number of hours of training in internships from 3,000 

to 2,000. 

The emergency regulations will expire on July 4, 2022. The 

Board proposes to replace the emergency regulations with 

permanent regulations. The proposed permanent regulations 

are not word-for-word identical to the emergency regulations 

but are identical in terms of how requirements have been 

applied. 

Background. Since 1973 the Board has only issued a funeral 

service license, which covers both funeral directing and 

embalming and has not issued separate licenses for funeral 

directing and for embalming. Prior to 1973, the Board issued 

either a funeral director or an embalmer license, and the Board 

has continued to allow persons who obtained those licenses in 

or prior to 1973 to renew their licenses. 

The current (pre-emergency) regulations do not specify the 

education, examination, and experience required to be licensed 

as a funeral director or an embalmer. Prompted by Chapter 

943, the proposed permanent regulations (and the emergency 

regulations) specify the required education, examination, and 

experience required to be licensed as either a funeral director 

or an embalmer. 

Funeral Services. Code of Virginia § 54.1-2813 specifies that: 

"To be licensed for the practice of funeral service, a person 

shall (i) be at least 18 years of age; (ii) hold a high school 

diploma or its equivalent; (iii) have completed a funeral 

service internship prescribed by the Board in regulation; 

(iv) have graduated from a school of mortuary science or 

funeral service approved by the Board; and (v) have 

passed the examination for licensure." 

Both the current (pre-emergency) 18VAC65-20 Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Funeral Services and the proposed 
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regulation further specify that the applicant for a funeral 

service license pay the $325 application fee, pass the National 

Board Examination2 of the International Conference of Funeral 

Service Examining Boards (ICFSEB), and pass the Virginia 

State Board Examination.3 

There are no proposed changes to 18VAC65-30 Regulations 

for Preneed Funeral Planning that directly affect funeral 

service licensure. 

The current (pre-emergency) 18VAC65-40 Regulations for the 

Funeral Service Internship Program requires that the funeral 

service internship consist of at least 3,000 hours of training. 

The proposed regulation reduces that requirement to 2,000 

hours. 

Funeral Directors and Embalmers. The Code of Virginia does 

not specify requirements to be licensed as either a funeral 

director or an embalmer. The Board proposes to specify in 

18VAC65-20 Regulations Governing the Practice of Funeral 

Services the requirements for initial licensure as either a 

funeral director or as an embalmer that are comparable to the 

requirements for initial funeral service licensure, but more 

focused on the individual sub-discipline. A comparison of the 

requirements is shown in the following table: 
 

Funeral 

Director 

Embalmer Funeral 

Service 

Minimum 

age and 

High 

School 

Be at least 18, 

high school 

diploma or 

equivalent. 

Be at least 

18, high 

school 

diploma or 

equivalent. 

Be at least 

18, high 

school 

diploma or 

equivalent. 

Internship Complete 

funeral service 

or funeral 

directing 

internship. 

Complete 

funeral 

service or 

embalming 

internship. 

Complete 

funeral 

service 

internship. 

Post-

Secondary 

Education 

Graduate from 

accredited4 

school of 
mortuary science 

or funeral 

service or 
complete 

associate's 
degree or 

equivalent, 

which consists of 
at least 60 credit 

hours of 

coursework, with 
at least 30 hours 

from funeral 

directing 
program 

approved by 

Board. 

Graduate 

from 

accredited 

school of 

mortuary 

science or 

funeral 

service or 

complete 

embalming 

program 

approved by 

Board. 

Graduate 

from funeral 

service 

program 

offered by 

accredited 

school of 

mortuary 

science or 

funeral 

service. 

Pathology Complete 

coursework in 

the area of 

pathology 

approved by 

the Board. 

Programs 

already 

include 

pathology as 

required 

course. 

Programs 

already 

include 

pathology as 

required 

course. 

App. Fee Pay $325 fee. Pay $325 fee. Pay $325 

fee. 

National 

Exam 

Pass National 

Board Exam in 

Arts or State 

Board Exam in 

Arts of the 

ICFSEB. 

Pass National 

Board Exam 

in Sciences 

or State 

Board Exam 

in Sciences 

of the 

ICFSEB. 

Pass 

National 

Board Exam 

of the 

ICFSEB. 

State 

Exam 

Pass Virginia 

State Board 

Examination 

on laws, rules, 

and regulations 

for funeral 

practice. 

Pass Virginia 

State Board 

Exam on 

laws, rules, 

and 

regulations 

for funeral 

practice. 

Pass Virginia 

State Board 

Exam on 

laws, rules, 

and 

regulations 

for funeral 

practice. 

Preneed funeral planning (including preneed funeral 

contracting)5 is part of the job of funeral directing, but not 

embalming. The Board proposes to amend 18VAC65-30 

Regulations for Preneed Funeral Planning to reflect that the 

preneed funeral planning requirements apply to funeral 

directing licensees as well as funeral service licensees. 

The current (pre-emergency) 18VAC65-40 Regulations for the 

Funeral Service Internship Program states that "A funeral 

service intern shall receive training in all areas of funeral 

service." The Board proposes to add that: 

"D. A funeral directing intern shall receive training in all 

areas of funeral directing, including assisting in at least 25 

funerals, 25 arrangement conferences, as well as 

visitations and financing of funeral services. 

E. An embalming intern shall receive training in all 

aspects of embalming practice, including assisting in at 

least 25 embalmings, as well as treatment, restorative art, 

safety and sanitation, and organ, tissue, or anatomical 

donation." 

As is the case for the funeral service internship, the funeral 

directing and embalming internships would consist of at least 

2,000 hours of training under the proposed regulation. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed reduction of 

required internship hours from 3,000 to 2,000 is substantial. If 

one were to intern 40 hours a week, the proposal reduces 

interning time from 75 weeks to 50 weeks (or about 1.5 years 

to 1 year). Thus, individuals could enter the profession fully 

licensed about six months earlier. Since there are no reductions 
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in required degrees and coursework, and National Board and 

Virginia State Board examinations must still be passed, it 

seems likely that public safety would not be substantively 

affected, while those seeking licensure would benefit by the 

ability to start working and earning as a fully licensed 

professional sooner. 

According to the Department of Health Professions, the Board 

proposed the educational and professional requirements so that 

there would be parity across the three license types. The 

intention is that the amount of time and fees necessary to gain 

each type of licensure would be similar. The prompting of the 

legislation to establish the required education, examination, 

and experience required to be licensed as a funeral director or 

an embalmer came from individuals and groups who object to6 

or just prefer not to participate in the practice of embalming. 

The proposed license in funeral directing would allow such 

individuals to avoid spending time training on a craft that they 

object to, or at least would not use in practice. In this respect, 

the creation of the requirements for the funeral directing 

license is beneficial, and more individuals may choose to enter 

the industry. Additionally, there may be individuals who only 

wish to work in embalming and whose time is not well spent 

training on the funeral directing portion of funeral services. 

The proposal to have separate requirements for embalming 

licensure is beneficial for these individuals as well. 

In the five months that the emergency regulations have been in 

effect, there have been nine applications for the funeral 

directing internship, five applications for the funeral director 

license, one application for the embalming internship, and no 

applications for the embalming license. So the legislation and 

proposed regulations appear to be impactful. During the same 

five months, there were 44 funeral service internship 

applications and 30 funeral service license applications.7 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the two accredited schools of mortuary 

science or funeral service in the Commonwealth.8 There have 

not been any specific funeral director or embalming programs 

approved thus far. Any such programs would be at accredited 

schools of mortuary science or funeral service, whether in 

Virginia or out-of-state. The proposed amendments also 

potentially affect the 420 funeral establishments in the 

Commonwealth.9 The proposal does not produce any costs. 

Small Businesses10 Affected. The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities11 Affected.12 The proposal to establish the 

requirements of licensure for funeral directors separate from 

the requirements of funeral service licensure may particularly 

affect localities that have a disproportionately large portion of 

their population that object to embalming.13 The requirements 

of funeral service licensure include embalming, while the 

requirements of licensure for funeral directors does not. The 

proposed amendments do not introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposals to reduce the 

required time in an internship by 1,000 hours, and to create, 

essentially in practice, two more focused separate licenses, 

may moderately increase the number of individuals entering 

and becoming employed in the industry. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The potential 

moderate increase in the number of individuals seeking 

licensure in the industry may make it easier for funeral 

establishments to find qualified employees. This may 

moderately reduce their costs and commensurately increase 

their value. The proposal does not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_________________________________________ 
1See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP0943 

2The National Board Examination is on the competent practice of the 

profession. 

3The Virginia State Board Examination is on the laws, rules, and regulations 

for funeral practice. 
4In this document accredited means accredited by the American Board of 

Funeral Service Education. 
5§ 54.1-2800 of the Code of Virginia defines "preneed funeral planning" as 

"the making of arrangements prior to death for (i) the providing of funeral 

services or (ii) the sale of funeral supplies," and "preneed funeral contract" as 
"any agreement where payment is made by the consumer prior to the receipt 

of services or supplies contracted for, which evidences arrangements prior to 

death for (i) the providing of funeral services or (ii) the sale of funeral 

supplies."  
6Muslim, Baha'i, and orthodox Jewish faiths consider embalming to be a 

desecration of the body and prohibit it. See https://funerals.org/what-you-

should-know-about-embalming/ 
7Data source: Department of Health Professions 

8The two accredited schools of mortuary science or funeral service in the 

Commonwealth are at John Tyler Community College in Chester and 

Tidewater Community College in Virginia Beach. 

9Data source: Department of Health Professions website. See 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2021Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3

FY2021.pdf 

10Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
11"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
12§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

13Muslim, Baha'i, and orthodox Jewish faiths consider embalming to be a 

desecration of the body and prohibit it. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendments establish education, examination, 

and experience for licensure as a funeral director or an 

embalmer, including that (i) applicants will be required to 

obtain an associate's degree in an accredited mortuary 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0943
https://funerals.org/what-you-should-know-about-embalming/
https://funerals.org/what-you-should-know-about-embalming/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2021Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2021.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2021Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2021.pdf
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science program or complete a program approved by the 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers specific to the 

licensure category sought (that is, funeral director or 

embalmer), and (ii) all funeral interns will be required to 

complete 2,000 hours of supervised experience in the area 

of funeral practice for which they are seeking licensure. 

Amendments also insert the three types of licenses and 

scopes of practice throughout board regulations.  

18VAC65-20-140. Reinstatement of expired license or 

registration. 

A. The board may consider reinstatement of an expired 

license or registration that has not been renewed within one 

year of expiration for up to three years following expiration. 

An application request for reinstatement shall be submitted to 

the board and shall include payment of the reinstatement fee 

prescribed in 18VAC65-20-70. 

B. If the Virginia license of a funeral service provider 

licensee, a funeral director and, or an embalmer is lapsed three 

years or less and the applicant is seeking reinstatement, he the 

applicant shall provide evidence of having completing the 

number of continuing competency hours required for the 

period in which the license has been lapsed. 

C. When a license is not reinstated within three years of its 

expiration date, an applicant shall reapply for licensure and 

pass the state examination. 

18VAC65-20-151. Continued competency requirements for 

renewal of an active license. 

A. Funeral service licensees, funeral directors, or funeral 

embalmers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 

five hours per year of continuing education offered by a board-

approved sponsor for licensure renewal in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, preneed contracts, 

and funding, or federal or state laws and regulations governing 

the profession of funeral service. 

1. One hour per year shall cover compliance with laws and 

regulations governing the profession, and at least one hour 

per year shall cover preneed funeral arrangements. The one-

hour requirement on compliance with laws and regulations 

may be met once every two years by attendance at a meeting 

of the board or at a committee of the board or an informal 

conference or formal hearing. 

2. One hour of the five hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. For 

the purposes of continuing education credit for volunteer 

service, an approved sponsor shall be a local health 

department or free clinic. 

B. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice of 

funeral service. Courses for which the principal purpose is to 

promote, sell, or offer goods, products, or services to funeral 

homes are not acceptable for the purpose of credit toward 

renewal. 

C. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement. 

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 

to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 

control of the licensee. 

E. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing education 

requirements for the first renewal following the date of initial 

licensure by examination in Virginia. 

18VAC65-20-154. Inactive license. 

A. A funeral service licensee, a funeral director, or an 

embalmer who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia 

shall, upon a request for inactive status on the renewal 

application and submission of the required renewal fee, be 

issued an inactive license. 

1. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 

act requiring a license to practice funeral service, funeral 

directing, or embalming in Virginia. 

2. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 

meet continuing education requirements, except as may be 

required for reactivation in subsection B of this section. 

B. A funeral service licensee, a funeral director, or an 

embalmer who holds an inactive license may reactivate his 

license by: 

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 

inactive license and that of an active license for the year in 

which the license is being reactivated; and 

2. Providing proof of completion of the number of 

continuing competency hours required for the period in 

which the license has been inactive, not to exceed three 

years. 

18VAC65-20-231. Requirements for a funeral director 

license by examination.  

A. To qualify for licensure as a funeral director, a person 

shall: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma 

or its equivalent;  
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2. Have completed a funeral service or funeral directing 

internship as prescribed by the board in regulation; 

3. Have graduated from a school of mortuary science or 

funeral service accredited by the American Board of Funeral 

Service Education, Incorporated or have completed an 

associate's degree or its equivalent, which consists of at least 

60 credit hours of coursework, of which at least 30 hours 

shall be from a funeral directing program approved by the 

board; 

4. Have successfully completed coursework in the area of 

pathology as approved by the board; 

5. Have passed the National Board Examination in Arts or 

State Board Examination in Arts of the International 

Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards; and  

6. Have passed the Virginia State Board Examination on the 

laws, rules, and regulations for funeral practice.  

B. Applicants shall submit school transcripts and National 

Board Examination or State Board Examination scores as part 

of an application package, including the required fee and any 

additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility.  

C. The board, in its discretion, may license an individual 

convicted of a felony if such individual has successfully 

fulfilled all conditions of sentencing, been pardoned, or has had 

his civil rights restored. The board may refuse to license an 

individual who has a criminal or disciplinary proceeding 

pending against him in any jurisdiction in the United States. 

18VAC65-20-232. Requirements for an embalmer license 

by examination.  

A. To qualify for licensure as an embalmer, a person shall: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma 

or its equivalent;  

2. Have completed a funeral service or an embalming 

internship as prescribed by the board in regulation; 

3. Have graduated from a school of mortuary science or 

funeral service accredited by the American Board of Funeral 

Service Education, Incorporated or have completed an 

embalming program approved by the board;  

4. Have passed the National Board Examination in Sciences 

or State Board Examination in Sciences of the International 

Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards; and  

5. Have passed the Virginia State Board Examination on the 

laws, rules, and regulations for funeral practice.  

B. Applicants shall submit school transcripts and National 

Board Examination or State Board Examination scores as part 

of an application package, including the required fee and any 

additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility.  

C. The board, in its discretion, may license an individual 

convicted of a felony if such individual has successfully 

fulfilled all conditions of sentencing, been pardoned, or has had 

his civil rights restored. The board may refuse to license an 

individual who has a criminal or disciplinary proceeding 

pending against him in any jurisdiction in the United States. 

18VAC65-20-235. Approval of educational programs. 

All applicants for funeral service licensure as a funeral service 

licensee are required to have graduated from a funeral service 

program offered by a school of mortuary science or funeral 

service accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service 

Education, Incorporated. 

18VAC65-20-350. Requirements for licensure by 

reciprocity or endorsement. 

A. Licenses for the practice of funeral service, funeral 

directing, embalming, or its an equivalent license issued by 

other states, territories, or the District of Columbia may be 

recognized by the board and the holder of such license or 

licenses may be granted a license to practice funeral service, 

funeral directing, or embalming within the Commonwealth. 

Licenses may be granted to applicants by the board on a case-

by-case basis if the applicant holds a valid license for the 

practice of funeral service, funeral directing, embalming, or its 

an equivalent license in another state, territory, or the District 

of Columbia and possesses credentials which that are 

substantially similar to or more stringent than required by the 

Commonwealth for initial licensure at the time the applicant 

was initially licensed. 

B. An applicant for licensure by reciprocity or endorsement 

shall pass the Virginia State Board Examination. 

18VAC65-20-500. Disciplinary action. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-2806 of the Code 

of Virginia, the following practices are considered 

unprofessional conduct and may subject the licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Breach of confidence. The unnecessary or unwarranted 

disclosure of confidences by the funeral licensee. 

2. Unfair competition. 

a. Interference by a funeral service licensee, funeral 

director, or registered surface transportation and removal 

service when another has been called to take charge of a 

dead human body and the caller or agent of the caller has 

the legal right to the body's disposition. 

b. Consent by a funeral service licensee or funeral director 

to take charge of a body unless authorized by the person 

or his agent having the legal right to disposition. 

3. False advertising. 

a. No licensee or registrant shall make, publish, 

disseminate, circulate, or place before the public, or cause 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 10  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 3, 2022  

854 

directly or indirectly to be made, an advertisement of any 

sort regarding services or anything so offered to the public 

that contains any promise, assertion, representation, or 

statement of fact which is untrue, deceptive, or 

misleading. 

b. The following practices, both written and verbal, shall 

constitute false, deceptive, or misleading advertisement 

within the meaning of subdivision 4 of § 54.1-2806 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

(1) Advertising containing inaccurate statements; and 

(2) Advertisement which gives a false impression as to 

ability, care, and cost of conducting a funeral, or that 

creates an impression of things not likely to be true. 

c. The following practices are among those that shall 

constitute an untrue, deceptive, and misleading 

representation or statement of fact: 

(1) Representing that funeral goods or services will delay 

the natural decomposition of human remains for a long 

term or indefinite time; and 

(2) Representing that funeral goods have protective 

features or will protect the body from gravesite substances 

over or beyond that offered by the written warranty of the 

manufacturer. 

4. Inappropriate handling and storage of dead human bodies, 

consistent with § 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

regulations of the board. Transportation and removal 

vehicles shall be of such nature as to eliminate exposure of 

the deceased to the public during transportation. During the 

transporting of a human body, consideration shall be taken 

to avoid unnecessary delays or stops during travel. 

5. Failure to furnish price information disclosing the cost to 

the purchaser for each of the specific funeral goods and 

funeral services used in connection with the disposition of 

deceased human bodies. 

6. Conducting the practice of funeral services, funeral 

directing, or embalming in such a manner as to constitute a 

danger to the health, safety, and well-being of the staff or the 

public. 

7. Inability to practice with skill or safety because of 

physical, mental, or emotional illness, or substance abuse. 

8. Failure to register as a supervisor for a funeral service an 

intern or failure to provide reports to the board as required 

by the Code of Virginia and 18VAC65-40-320. 

9. Failure to comply with applicable federal and state laws 

and regulations, including requirements for continuing 

education. 

10. Inappropriate sexual contact between a supervisor and a 

funeral service intern if the sexual contact is a result of the 

exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence derived from 

the professional relationship or if the contact has had or is 

likely to have an adverse effect on the practice of funeral 

services or on intern training. 

11. Conducting activities or performing services that are 

outside the scope of a licensee's practice or for which the 

licensee is not trained and individually competent. 

18VAC65-20-630. Disclosures. 

Funeral providers licensees shall make all required 

disclosures and provide accurate information from price lists 

pursuant to the rules of the Federal Trade Commission. Price 

lists shall comply with requirements of the FTC and shall 

contain the information included in: 

APPENDIX I - General Price List; 

APPENDIX II - Casket Price List, Outer Burial Container 

Price List; and 

APPENDIX III - Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and 

Services Selected. 

18VAC65-30-10. Definitions. 

In addition to those defined in § 54.1-2800 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following words and terms when used in this 

chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Appointee" means the individual selected by the contract 

beneficiary to arrange a preneed funeral plan on behalf of the 

contract beneficiary. 

"Cash advance item" means any item of service or 

merchandise described to a purchaser as a "cash advance," 

"accommodation," "cash disbursement," or similar term. A 

cash advance item is also any item obtained from a third party 

and paid for by the funeral provider on the behalf of the 

contract buyer. Cash advance items may include cemetery or 

crematory services, pallbearers, public transportation, clergy 

honoraria, flowers, musicians or singers, nurses, obituary 

notices, gratuities, and death certificates. 

"Consideration," "contract price," or "funds" means money, 

property, or any other thing of value provided to be 

compensation to a contract seller or contract provider for the 

funeral services and funeral goods to be performed or furnished 

under a preneed funeral contract. Consideration does not 

include late payment penalties and payments required to be 

made to a governmental agency at the time the contract is 

entered into. 

"Contract" means a written, preneed funeral contract and all 

documents pertinent to the terms of the contract under which 

for consideration paid to a contract seller or a contract provider 

by or on behalf of a contract buyer prior to the death of the 

contract beneficiary, a person promises to furnish, make 

available, or provide funeral services or funeral goods after the 

death of a contract beneficiary. 
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"Contract beneficiary" means the individual for whom the 

funeral services and supplies are being arranged. 

"Contract buyer" means the purchaser of the preneed contract. 

"Contract provider" means the funeral establishment 

designated by the contract buyer and contracting with the 

contract buyer to provide for funeral services and supplies in 

the preneed funeral contract. 

"Contract seller" means the funeral service licensee or funeral 

director who makes the preneed arrangements with the contract 

buyer for the funeral service and who makes the financial 

arrangements for the service and the goods and supplies to be 

provided. 

"Designee" means the individual designated to make 

arrangements for burial or final disposition of the remains 

pursuant to § 54.1-2825 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Funding source" means the trust agreement, insurance 

policy, annuity, personal property, or real estate used to fund 

the preneed plan. 

"Funeral supplies and services" means the items of 

merchandise sold or offered for sale or lease to consumers that 

will be used in connection with a funeral or an alternative to a 

funeral or final disposition of human remains including 

caskets, combination units, and catafalques. Funeral goods 

does not mean land or interests in land, crypts, lawn crypts, 

mausoleum crypts, or niches that are sold by a cemetery that 

complies with Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia. In addition, "funeral supplies and 

services" does not mean cemetery burial vaults or other outside 

containers, markers, monuments, urns, and merchandise items 

used for the purpose of memorializing a decedent and placed 

on or in proximity to a place of interment or entombment of a 

casket, catafalque, or vault or to a place of inurnment that are 

sold by a cemetery operating in accordance with Chapter 23.1 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Guaranteed contract price" means (i) the amount paid by the 

contract buyer on a preneed funeral contract, and income 

derived from that amount, or (ii) the amount paid by a contract 

buyer for a life insurance policy or annuity as the funding 

source and its increasing death benefit. These amounts shall be 

accepted as payment in full for the preselected funeral goods 

and services. 

"Income" means the amount of gain received in a period of 

time from investment of consideration paid for a preneed 

contract. 

"Nonguaranteed contract price" means the costs of items on a 

preneed funeral contract that are not fixed for the specified 

funeral goods or funeral services selected and nonguaranteed 

costs may increase from the date of the contract to the death of 

the contract beneficiary and the family or estate will be 

responsible for paying at the time of need for the services and 

supplies that were nonguaranteed. Cash advance items are not 

guaranteed. 

18VAC65-30-50. Solicitation. 

A. In accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2806 of the Code 

of Virginia, a licensee shall not initiate any preneed solicitation 

using in-person communication by the licensee or his agents, 

assistants, or employees. 

B. After a request to discuss preneed planning is initiated by 

the contract buyer or interested consumer, any contact and in-

person communication shall take place only with a funeral 

service licensee or a licensed funeral director. Funeral service 

interns shall not engage in preneed planning or sales. 

18VAC65-40-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-2800 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used in 

this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Direct supervision" means that a person licensed for the 

practice of funeral service professional, funeral directing, or 

embalming is present and on the premises of the facility. 

"Supervisor" means a licensed employee at the training site 

who has been approved by the board to provide supervision for 

the funeral intern. 

"Training site" means the licensed funeral establishment, 

facility, or institution that has agreed to serve as a location for 

a funeral service internship and has been approved by the 

board. 

18VAC65-40-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees shall be paid as applicable for 

registration: 

1. Funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming intern registration 

$150 

2. Funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming intern renewal 

$125 

3. Late fee for renewal up to one year 

after expiration 

$45 

4. Duplicate copy of intern registration $25 

5. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 

$50 

6. Registration of supervisor $35 

7. Change of supervisor $35 

8. Reinstatement fee $195 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 

and shall not be refundable once submitted. 
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18VAC65-40-90. Renewal of registration. 

A. The funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming intern 

registration shall expire on March 31 of each calendar year and 

may be renewed by submission of the renewal notice and 

prescribed fee. 

B. A person who fails to renew a registration by the expiration 

date shall be deemed to have an invalid registration. No credit 

will be allowed for an internship period served under an 

expired registration. 

C. The funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming intern 

is responsible for notifying the board within 14 days of any 

changes in name, address, employment, or supervisor. Any 

notices shall be validly given when mailed to the address on 

record with the board. 

18VAC65-40-110. Reinstatement of expired registration. 

A. A funeral service, a funeral directing, or an embalming 

intern whose registration has expired may be reinstated within 

one year following expiration by payment of the current 

renewal fee and the late renewal fee. 

B. A funeral service, a funeral directing, or an embalming 

intern whose registration has been expired for more than one 

year shall apply for reinstatement by submission of an 

application and payment of a reinstatement fee. The board may 

consider reinstatement of an expired registration for up to three 

years following expiration. 

C. When a registration is not reinstated within three years of 

its expiration date, a new application for registration shall be 

filed and a new internship begun. 

18VAC65-40-130. Funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming internship. 

A. The An internship for funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming shall consist of at least 3,000 2,000 hours of 

training to be completed within no less than 12 months and no 

more than 48 months. For good cause shown, the board may 

grant an extension of time for completion of an internship. 

B. The funeral service intern shall be assigned a work 

schedule of not less than 20 hours nor more than 60 hours per 

week in order to receive credit for such training. For good 

cause shown, the board may waive the limitation on an intern's 

work schedule. 

C. A funeral service intern shall receive training in all areas 

of funeral service. 

D. A funeral directing intern shall receive training in all areas 

of funeral directing, including assisting in at least 25 funerals, 

25 arrangement conferences, as well as visitations and 

financing of funeral services.  

E. An embalming intern shall receive training in all aspects 

of embalming practice, including assisting in at least 25 

embalmings, as well as treatment, restorative art, safety and 

sanitation, and organ, tissue, or anatomical donation. 

F. An intern registration shall expire upon issuance by the 

board of a license to practice as a funeral service licensee, a 

funeral director, or an embalmer. When an internship has been 

completed for licensure as a funeral director or as an embalmer, 

the approval of an additional internship to meet the 

requirements for licensure as a funeral service licensee may be 

approved by the board in accordance with § 54.1-2817 of the 

Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board. Any 

additional internship granted shall be limited in duration to the 

time required for completion of hours and cases required for 

licensure. An internship may not be used to expand the scope 

of practice of a licensee. 

G. An intern shall be identified to the public as a funeral 

service intern, a funeral directing intern, or an embalming 

intern in a title used, name tag worn, and any correspondence 

or communication in which the intern's name is used. 

18VAC65-40-180. Intern application package for funeral 

service licensure. 

A. Any person who meets the qualifications of § 54.1-2817 

of the Code of Virginia may seek registration with the board as 

a funeral service intern by submission of an application 

package, which shall include documentation of the 

qualifications and signatures of any supervising licensees. 

B. Applicants shall submit school transcripts as part of an 

application package, including the required fee and any 

additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility. 

18VAC65-40-185. Intern application for funeral directing 

or embalming licensure.  

A. An applicant who attests to holding a high school diploma 

or its equivalent may seek registration with the board as a 

funeral directing or an embalming intern by submission of an 

application package, which shall include documentation of the 

qualifications and signatures of any supervising licensees. 

B. Applicants shall submit school transcripts as part of an 

application package, including the required fee and any 

additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility.  

C. The board, in its discretion, may approve an application to 

be a funeral directing or an embalming intern for an individual 

convicted of a felony, if the applicant has successfully fulfilled 

all conditions of sentencing, been pardoned, or has had civil 

rights restored. The board shall not, however, approve an 

application to be an intern for any person convicted of 

embezzlement or of violating subsection B of § 18.2-126 of the 

Code of Virginia. The board, in its discretion, may refuse to 

approve an application to be a funeral directing or an 

embalming intern for an individual who has a criminal or 
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disciplinary proceeding pending against him in any jurisdiction 

in the United States. 

18VAC65-40-220. Qualifications of training site. 

A. The board shall approve only an establishment or two 

combined establishments to serve as the training site or sites 

that: 

1. Have a full and unrestricted Virginia license; 

2. Have complied in all respects with the provisions of the 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers; and 

3. Have For a funeral service internship, have 50 or more 

funerals and 50 or more bodies for embalming over a 12-

month period for each person to be trained. This total must 

be maintained throughout the period of training. If the 

establishment does not meet the required number of funerals 

or embalmings, the funeral service intern may seek approval 

for an additional training site.; or 

4. For a funeral directing internship, have 50 or more 

funerals over a 12-month period for each person to be 

trained. This total must be maintained throughout the period 

of training. If the establishment does not meet the required 

number of funerals, the funeral directing intern may seek 

approval for an additional training site; or 

5. For an embalming internship, have 50 or more bodies for 

embalming over a 12-month period for each person to be 

trained. This total must be maintained throughout the period 

of training. If the establishment does not meet the required 

number of embalmings, the embalming intern may seek 

approval for an additional training site. 

B. The board may grant approval for a resident trainee funeral 

service or an embalming intern to receive all or a portion of the 

embalming training at a facility of state or federal government 

or an accredited educational institution. 

18VAC65-40-250. Requirements for supervision. 

A. Training shall be conducted under the direct supervision 

of a licensee or licensees approved by the board. Credit shall 

only be allowed for training under direct supervision. 

B. The board shall approve only funeral service licensees, 

licensed funeral directors, or licensed embalmers to give 

funeral training who have a full and unrestricted Virginia 

funeral license, have at least two consecutive years in practice 

and are employed full time in or under contract with the 

establishment, facility, or institution where training occurs. 

C. A supervisor licensed as an embalmer or a funeral director 

shall provide supervision only in the areas of funeral practice 

for which he is licensed. 

D. Failure to register as a supervisor may subject the licensee 

to disciplinary action by the board. 

E. If a supervisor is unable or unwilling to continue providing 

supervision, the funeral service intern shall obtain a new 

supervisor. Credit for training shall resume when a new 

supervisor is approved by the board and the intern has paid the 

prescribed fee for the change of supervisor. 

F. No more than a combined total of two funeral service, 

funeral directing, or embalming interns shall be concurrently 

registered under any one person licensed for the practice of 

funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming. Each 

supervisor for a registered funeral directing intern or a 

registered embalming intern must be actively employed by or 

under contract with a funeral establishment. 

18VAC65-40-280. Supervisor application package. 

A. A licensee seeking approval by the board as a supervisor 

shall submit a completed application and any additional 

documentation as may be required to determine eligibility. 

B. The application for supervision of a funeral service, a 

funeral directing, or an embalming intern shall be signed by the 

establishment manager and by the persons who will be 

providing supervision for embalming and, for funeral 

directing, or for the funeral services. 

18VAC65-40-320. Reports to the board. 

A. The intern, the supervisor or supervisors, and the 

establishment shall submit a written report to the board at the 

end of every 1,000 hours of training. The report shall: 

1. Specify the period of time in which the 1,000 hours has 

been completed and verify that the intern has actually served 

in the required capacity during the preceding period; and 

2. Be received in the board office no later than 14 days 

following the end of the completion of 1,000 hours. Late 

reports may result in additional time being added to the 

internship. 

B. If the internship is terminated or interrupted prior to 

completion of 1,000 hours or if the intern is changing 

supervisors or training sites, the intern and the supervisor shall 

submit a partial report to the board with a written explanation 

of the cause of program termination or interruption or of the 

change in training or supervision. 

1. The partial report shall provide the amount of time served 

and the dates since the last reporting period. Credit for partial 

reports shall be given for the number of hours of training 

completed. 

2. Partial reports shall be received in the board office no later 

than 14 days after the interruption or termination of the 

internship or after the change in supervisors or training sites. 

Credit may be deducted for late reports. 

C. An intern shall not receive credit for training hours on a 

new 1,000-hour report until the previous 1,000-hour report has 

been approved by the board.  
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D. Credit shall not be allowed for any period of internship that 

has been completed more than three years prior to application 

for license or more than five years prior to examination for 

license. If all requirements for licensure are not completed 

within five years of initial application, the board may deny an 

additional internship. A funeral directing or an embalming 

intern may continue to practice for up to 90 days from the 

completion of internship hours or until the intern has taken and 

received the results of all examinations required by the board. 

However, the board may waive such limitation for any person 

in the armed service of the United States when application for 

the waiver is made in writing within six months of leaving 

service or if the board determines that enforcement of the 

limitation will create an unreasonable hardship. 

Part III 

Internship: Funeral Supervisors' Responsibilities 

18VAC65-40-340. Supervisors' responsibilities. 

A. The supervisor shall provide the intern with all applicable 

laws and regulations or sections of regulations relating to the 

funeral industry. 

B. The supervisor shall provide the intern with copies of and 

instruction in the use of all forms and price lists employed by 

the funeral establishment. 

C. The supervisor shall provide the funeral service or funeral 

directing intern with instruction in all aspects of funeral 

services and shall allow the intern under direct supervision to 

conduct all necessary arrangements for a minimum of 25 

funerals. 

D. The embalming supervisor shall provide instruction on all 

necessary precautions, embalming functions, and reporting 

forms and shall allow the funeral service or embalming intern 

under direct supervision to perform a minimum of 25 

embalmings. 

E. The supervisor shall provide the funeral service or funeral 

directing intern with instruction in making preneed funeral 

arrangements and instruction on the laws and regulations 

pertaining to preneed funeral contracts and disclosures. 

F. The supervisor shall provide the funeral service or funeral 

directing intern instruction on cremation and on the laws and 

regulations pertaining to cremation. 

G. If a training site does not offer preneed funeral planning or 

cremation services, the supervisor shall arrange for such 

training at another licensed funeral establishment that does. 

18VAC65-40-640. Disciplinary action. 

The board may refuse to issue or renew a license, registration, 

or approval to any applicant; and may suspend for a stated 

period of time or indefinitely, or revoke any license, 

registration, or approval, or reprimand any person, or place his 

license or registration on probation with such terms and 

conditions and for such time as it may designate or impose a 

monetary penalty for failure to comply with the laws and 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6539; Filed December 2, 2021, 8:38 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Health 

Professions is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 18 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts regulations for the implementation 

of the Health Practitioners' Monitoring Program, Chapter 25.1 

(§ 54.1-2515 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-10. Regulations Governing 

the Health Practitioners' Monitoring Program for the 

Department of Health Professions (amending 18VAC76-

10-40, 18VAC76-10-65). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2516 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Christina Buissert, Program Coordinator, 

Health Practitioners' Monitoring Program, Department of 

Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4649, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email christina.buissert@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reorder regulatory text to reflect the 

progression of actions relating to eligibility for a stay of 

discipline and (ii) add authority for the chairperson of the 

Health Practitioners' Monitoring Program Committee to 

act on behalf of the committee to authorize an urgent 

dismissal of a participant outside of a scheduled meeting. 

18VAC76-10-40. Eligibility for stayed disciplinary action. 

A. The committee or its designee shall consult with the board 

liaison for the purpose of determining whether disciplinary 

action shall be stayed. If found ineligible for stayed 

disciplinary action by the relevant board or the committee, the 

practitioner may remain eligible for participation in the 

program. If an applicant for the program is not eligible for a 

stay and evidence of a violation has been reported to the 

committee, the committee shall make a report of the violation 

to the department. If found ineligible for stayed disciplinary 

action by the relevant board or the committee, the practitioner 

may remain eligible for participation in the program. 

B. Prior to making a decision on stayed disciplinary action, 

the committee or its designee shall review any applicable 

notices or orders and shall consult with the relevant board on 

any pending investigations. The relevant board shall have final 

authority in the granting of a stay of disciplinary action. 

C. Disciplinary action may be initiated by the appropriate 

health regulatory board upon receipt of investigative 

information leading to a determination of probable cause that 
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impairment constitutes a danger to patients or clients or upon 

a determination that the decision for stayed disciplinary action 

is not consistent with provisions for a stay pursuant to § 54.1-

2516 C of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC76-10-65. Authority of the chairperson of the 

committee. 

A. The chairperson may act on behalf of the committee when 

a scheduled meeting is canceled due to failure to convene a 

quorum. 

B. The chairperson may act on behalf of the committee to 

authorize an urgent dismissal action outside of a scheduled 

meeting.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7002; Filed December 10, 2021, 1:44 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 

the Prescription Monitoring Program (amending 

18VAC76-20-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2520 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 17, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Ralph Orr, Program Manager, Prescription 

Monitoring Program, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 

telephone (804) 367-4523, FAX (804) 527-4470, or email 

ralph.orr@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations governing the Prescription Monitoring 

Program (PMP) are promulgated under the statutory mandate 

in § 54.1-2520 of the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2521 of 

the Code of Virginia provides reporting requirements for the 

program. Authority for the Director of the Department of 

Health Professions to establish the PMP is found in § 54.1-

2505 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory change is to update the 

regulation to allow for newer standards for reporting for the 

Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) without placing 

additional burdens on dispensers by specifying the most 

current version that is the 2019 Version 4b of the American 

Society of Automation in Pharmacy (ASAP) Standard. The 

goal of this regulatory action is to simplify and facilitate 

reliable reporting by allowing dispensers more than one 

standard to use for reporting to the PMP and simplify the 

reporting process for dispensers located in Virginia or 

dispensing to Virginia residents by allowing each dispenser to 

choose either the older Version 4.2 or a different version. 

Reporting of certain data by dispensers to PMP is not only 

required by the Code of Virginia but essential to ensure the 

protection of the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens 

because the PMP is used to track excessive prescribing and 

dispensing of covered drugs and to alert for possible diversion 

of such drugs into communities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is expected to be noncontroversial because 

the director is deleting an outdated standard and allowing more 

than one standard to be acceptable to dispensers. Provided the 

data elements specified in § 54.1-2521 of the Code of Virginia 

and the vendor utilized by the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) recognizes the standard, then DHP will 

recognize it as an acceptable version. 

Substance: Amendments delete language that requires that 

dispensers report according to a specific version of the ASAP 

standard. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public of the PMP is that 

prescribers and dispensers have access to information on a 

patient's prescription history, which ensures that prescribers 

and dispensers can provide safe courses of treatment that are 

individualized to a patient's particular needs. The regulatory 

action facilitates the ability of dispensers to share this 

information through their choice of reporting standard, thus 

facilitating receipt of this information prior to patients 

receiving prescriptions in the future. The regulatory change 

will primarily benefit dispensers that currently report under 

multiple standards. There are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to this agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Health Professions (DHP) seeks to repeal 

discretionary language that requires dispensers of certain 

covered substances to use a specific version of a reporting 

standard when submitting data to the Prescription Monitoring 

Program (PMP).1 DHP seeks to repeal this language because 

that specific version has since been superseded by newer 

versions of the standard. Further, DHP does not seek to add a 

reference to the newer version since the existing regulatory text 

already directs dispensers to use a specific file layout, which 

implicitly reflects the reporting standard. Dispensers using the 

older file layout will be able to continue to do so, thus, the 

regulatory change is intended to provide dispensers with 

greater flexibility. 

Background. The PMP is a database containing information on 

dispensed controlled substances in Schedules II, III and IV; 

those in Schedule V for which a prescription is required; 

naloxone, all drugs of concern, and cannabidiol oil or THC-A 

oil dispensed by a pharmaceutical processor in Virginia.2 As 

per 18VAC76-20-40 Standards for the manner and format of 

reports and a schedule for reporting, "Data shall be transmitted 

to the department or its agent within 24 hours of dispensing or 

the dispenser's next business day, whichever comes later, as 

provided in the Electronic Reporting Standard for Prescription 

Monitoring Programs, Version 4.2 (September 2011) of the 

American Society of Automation in Pharmacy (ASAP), which 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 10  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 3, 2022  

860 

are hereby incorporated by reference into this chapter." DHP 

seeks to repeal the text citing the standard and incorporating 

the document by reference. 

ASAP has released newer versions of the electronic reporting 

standard since 2011. Some dispensers report data to DHP 

under Version 4.2 and to other states" monitoring programs 

using these newer versions. The Virginia PMP vendor can 

currently accommodate reporting of data in ASAP reporting 

standard versions 4.2 and 4.2a.3 Subsection B of the section 

requires dispensers to transmit the data using a file layout 

provided by the director of the PMP, beginning no fewer than 

90 days from notification by the director to dispensers required 

to report. The latest version of the Dispenser Guide, effective 

June 2020, contains the file layout for ASAP version 4.2a.4 

However, dispensers would not be required to switch to the 

newer file layout. Thus, repealing the reference to version 4.2 

and the document incorporated by reference would provide 

dispensers with the option of using either version of the 

reporting standard. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. DHP anticipates that dispensers 

who already use the file layout for ASAP 4.2a to report 

prescription data to other states monitoring programs will start 

using it for reports to the Virginia PMP as well. These 

dispensers would likely benefit from having consistent 

reporting requirements across different states to the extent that 

it reduces their overall cost of meeting reporting requirements. 

Pharmaceutical processors and dispensaries are the current 

most probable users of ASAP 4.2a because of their unique 

regulatory status. However, dispensers currently using the file 

layout corresponding to the ASAP 4.2 standards may continue 

to do so without facing any additional costs. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments primarily affect any individuals or entities that 

dispense a "covered substance" as defined in § 54.1-2519 of 

the Code of Virginia. DHP reports that there are 2,117 entities 

currently reporting prescription data to DHP. 

Small Businesses5 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

create any new costs and therefore would not adversely affect 

any small businesses. Pharmacies or dispensaries that are small 

businesses could benefit to the extent that the proposed 

amendment would allow them to standardize their prescription 

reporting across multiple states including Virginia. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to impact employment by dispensers of covered 

substances. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the extent 

that the option to use ASAP 4.2a reporting standards allows 

some dispensers to reduce their overall reporting costs by 

streamlining their reporting process, the value of those entities 

may see a modest increase. Real estate development costs are 

not affected. 

_______________________________________ 
1See § 54.1-2519 of the Code of Virginia for the definition of covered 

substances with respect to the PMP: 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter25.2/section54.1-2519/. 
2See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PractitionerResources/Prescription 

MonitoringProgram/. 
3See Agency Background Document 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=59\5733\9276\AgencyState

ment_DHP_9276_v2.pdf. 
4See Appendix A of the Virginia PMP Dispenser's Guide: 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/VA Data Submission 

Dispenser Guide_v 2.4.pdf  
5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Health Professions concurs with the economic 

impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments delete a requirement that dispensers 

report according to a specific version of the American 

Society of Automation in Pharmacy standard and remove 

the standard as incorporated by reference into the 

regulation.  

18VAC76-20-40. Standards for the manner and format of 

reports and a schedule for reporting. 

A. Data shall be transmitted to the department or its agent 

within 24 hours of dispensing or the dispenser's next business 

day, whichever comes later, as provided in the Electronic 

Reporting Standard for Prescription Monitoring Programs, 

Version 4.2 (September 2011) of the American Society of 

Automation in Pharmacy (ASAP), which are hereby 

incorporated by reference into this chapter. 

B. Data shall be transmitted in a file layout provided by the 

department and shall be transmitted by a media acceptable to 

the vendor contracted by the director for the program. Such 

transmission shall begin on a date specified by the director, no 

less than 90 days from notification by the director to dispensers 

required to report. 

C. Under extraordinary circumstances, an alternative means 

of reporting may be approved by the director. 

D. Data not accepted by the vendor due to a substantial 

number of errors or omissions shall be corrected and 

resubmitted to the vendor within five business days of 

receiving notification that the submitted data had an 

unacceptable number of errors or problems. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter25.2/section54.1-2519/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PractitionerResources/PrescriptionMonitoringProgram/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PractitionerResources/PrescriptionMonitoringProgram/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=59/5733/9276/AgencyStatement_DHP_9276_v2.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=59/5733/9276/AgencyStatement_DHP_9276_v2.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/VA%20Data%20Submission%20Dispenser%20Guide_v%202.4.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/VA%20Data%20Submission%20Dispenser%20Guide_v%202.4.pdf
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E. Required data elements shall include those listed in 

subsection B of § 54.1-2521 of the Code of Virginia and the 

following: 

1. The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

registration number of the dispenser; 

2. The National Provider Identifier of the prescriber; 

3. The total number of refills ordered; 

4. Whether the prescription is a new prescription or a refill; 

5. Whether the prescription is a partial fill; 

6. The gender code; 

7. The species code; 

8. The Electronic Prescription Reference Number, and the 

Electronic Prescription Order Number if it is an electronic 

prescription; and 

9. The date the prescription was written by the prescriber. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE  

Implementation Guide ASAP Standard (Electronic Reporting 

Standard) for Prescription Monitoring Programs, Version 4, 

Release 2, September 2011, American Society for Automation 

in Pharmacy, 492 Norristown Road, Suite 160, Blue Bell, PA 

19422 (http://www.asapnet.org) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6825; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:32 p.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-10, 18VAC85-

20-29). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments (i) define conversion therapy as 

it is defined in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) 

specify that the standard of practice for nurse practitioners 

prohibits a nurse practitioner from engaging in conversion 

therapy with a person younger than 18 years of age. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC85-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

Board 

Healing arts 

Practice of chiropractic 

Practice of medicine or osteopathic medicine 

Practice of podiatry 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Approved institution" means any accredited school or 

college of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, or 

chiropractic located in the United States, its territories, or 

Canada. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Principal site" means the location in a foreign country where 

teaching and clinical facilities are located. 

18VAC85-20-29. Practitioner responsibility. 

A. A practitioner shall not: 

1. Knowingly allow subordinates to jeopardize patient safety 

or provide patient care outside of the subordinate's scope of 

practice or area of responsibility. Practitioners shall delegate 

patient care only to subordinates who are properly trained 

and supervised; 

2. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or 

an interaction in a health care setting that interferes with 

patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely 

impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; or 

3. Exploit the practitioner and patient relationship for 

personal gain; or 

4. Engage in conversion therapy with a person younger than 

18 years of age. 

B. Advocating for patient safety or improvement in patient 

care within a health care entity shall not constitute disruptive 

behavior provided the practitioner does not engage in behavior 

prohibited in subdivision A 2 of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6216; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:09 p.m. 
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BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-19-10, 

18VAC90-19-230). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-4455, 

or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments (i) define conversion therapy as 

it is defined in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia, and (ii) 

specify that the standard of practice for nurse practitioners 

prohibits a nurse practitioner from engaging in conversion 

therapy with a person younger than 18 years of age. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC90-19-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3000 and 

54.1-3030 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Active practice" means activities performed, whether or not 

for compensation, for which an active license to practice 

nursing is required. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"CGFNS" means the Commission on Graduates of Foreign 

Nursing Schools. 

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of continuing education 

coursework or activity. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia.  

"National certifying organization" means an organization that 

has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty in 

nursing based on an examination attesting to the knowledge of 

the nurse for practice in the specialty area. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 

Examination. 

"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing. 

"Primary state of residence" means the state of a person's 

declared fixed, permanent, and principal home or domicile for 

legal purposes. 

18VAC90-19-230. Disciplinary provisions. 

The board has the authority to deny, revoke, or suspend a 

license or multistate licensure privilege issued, or to otherwise 

discipline a licensee or holder of a multistate licensure 

privilege upon proof that the licensee or holder of a multistate 

licensure privilege has violated any of the provisions of § 54.1-

3007 of the Code of Virginia. For the purpose of establishing 

allegations to be included in the notice of hearing, the board 

has adopted the following definitions: 

1. Fraud or deceit in procuring or maintaining a license 

means, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Filing false credentials; 

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial 

license, reinstatement, or renewal of a license; or 

c. Giving or receiving assistance in the taking of the 

licensing examination. 

2. Unprofessional conduct means, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Performing acts beyond the limits of the practice of 

professional or practical nursing as defined in Chapter 30 

(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

or as provided by §§ 54.1-2901 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the practice 

of nursing without adequate training or when competency 

has not been maintained; 

c. Obtaining supplies, equipment, or drugs for personal or 

other unauthorized use; 

d. Employing or assigning unqualified persons to perform 

functions that require a licensed practitioner of nursing; 

e. Falsifying or otherwise altering patient, employer, 

student, or educational program records, including falsely 

representing facts on a job application or other 

employment-related documents; 

f. Abusing, neglecting, or abandoning patients or clients; 

g. Delegating nursing tasks to an unlicensed person in 

violation of the provisions of this part; 

h. Giving to or accepting from a patient or client property 

or money for any reason other than fee for service or a 

nominal token of appreciation; 

i. Obtaining money or property of a patient or client by 

fraud, misrepresentation, or duress; 

j. Entering into a relationship with a patient or client that 

constitutes a professional boundary violation in which the 

nurse uses his professional position to take advantage of 

the vulnerability of a patient, a client, or his family, to 

include actions that result in personal gain at the expense 

of the patient or client, or a nontherapeutic personal 

involvement or sexual conduct with a patient or client; 
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k. Violating state laws relating to the privacy of patient 

information, including § 32.1-127.1:03 the Code of 

Virginia; 

l. Providing false information to staff or board members in 

the course of an investigation or proceeding; 

m. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 

abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia; or 

n. Engaging in conversion therapy with a person younger 

than 18 years of age; or 

o. Violating any provision of this chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6475; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:10 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-27. Regulations for Nursing 

Education Programs (amending 18VAC90-27-10, 

18VAC90-27-60, 18VAC90-27-100). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-4455, 

or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) define direct client care and simulation 

terms used in the amended regulation; (ii) require faculty 

who supervise clinical practice by simulation demonstrate 

knowledge and skills in the methodology; (iii) require 

simulation to account from no more than 50% of the total 

clinical hours in different clinical specialties and population 

groups across the life span; and (iv) require knowledgeable 

faculty to be present during the simulation experience. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

18VAC90-27-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-3000 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used in 

this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Accreditation" means having been accredited by an agency 

recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to include the 

Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the 

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, the 

Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation, or a 

national nursing accrediting organization recognized by the 

board. 

"Advisory committee" means a group of persons from a 

nursing education program and the health care community who 

meets regularly to advise the nursing education program on the 

quality of its graduates and the needs of the community. 

"Approval" means the process by which the board or a 

governmental agency in another state or foreign country 

evaluates and grants official recognition to nursing education 

programs that meet established standards not inconsistent with 

Virginia law. 

"Associate degree nursing program" means a nursing 

education program preparing for registered nurse licensure, 

offered by a Virginia college or other institution and designed 

to lead to an associate degree in nursing, provided that the 

institution is authorized to confer such degree by SCHEV. 

"Baccalaureate degree nursing program" or "prelicensure 

graduate degree program" means a nursing education program 

preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a Virginia 

college or university and designed to lead to a baccalaureate or 

a graduate degree with a major in nursing, provided that the 

institution is authorized to confer such degree by SCHEV. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"Clinical setting" means any location in which the clinical 

practice of nursing occurs as specified in an agreement 

between the cooperating agency and the school of nursing. 

"Conditional approval" means a time-limited status that 

results when an approved nursing education program has failed 

to maintain requirements as set forth in this chapter. 

"Cooperating agency" means an agency or institution that 

enters into a written agreement to provide clinical or 

observational experiences for a nursing education program. 

"Diploma nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

hospital and designed to lead to a diploma in nursing, provided 

the hospital is licensed in this state. 

"Direct client care" means nursing care provided to patients 

or clients in a clinical setting supervised by qualified faculty or 

a designated preceptor. 

"Full approval" means the status granted to a nursing 

education program when compliance with regulations 

pertaining to nursing education programs has been verified. 

"Initial approval" means the status granted to a nursing 

education program that allows the admission of students. 

"National certifying organization" means an organization that 

has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty in 

nursing based on an examination attesting to the knowledge of 

the nurse for practice in the specialty area. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 

Examination. 
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"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing. 

"Nursing education program" means an entity offering a basic 

course of study preparing persons for licensure as registered 

nurses or as licensed practical nurses. A basic course of study 

shall include all courses required for the degree, diploma, or 

certificate. 

"Nursing faculty" means registered nurses who teach the 

practice of nursing in nursing education programs. 

"Practical nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for practical nurse licensure that leads to a 

diploma or certificate in practical nursing, provided the school 

is authorized by the Virginia Department of Education or by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of 

Education. 

"Preceptor" means a licensed nurse who is employed in the 

clinical setting, serves as a resource person and role model, and 

is present with the nursing student in that setting, providing 

clinical supervision. 

"Program director" means a registered nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate 

licensure privilege and who has been designated by the 

controlling authority to administer the nursing education 

program. 

"Recommendation" means a guide to actions that will assist 

an institution to improve and develop its nursing education 

program. 

"Requirement" means a mandatory condition that a nursing 

education program must meet to be approved or maintain 

approval. 

"SCHEV" means the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia. 

"Simulation" means an evidence-based teaching 

methodology utilizing an activity in which students are 

immersed into a realistic clinical environment or situation and 

in which students are required to learn and use critical thinking 

and decision-making skills. 

"Site visit" means a focused onsite review of the nursing program 

by board staff, usually completed within one day for the purpose 

of evaluating program components such as the physical location 

(skills lab, classrooms, learning resources) for obtaining initial 

program approval, in response to a complaint, compliance with 

NCLEX plan of correction, change of location, or verification of 

noncompliance with this chapter. 

"Survey visit" means a comprehensive onsite review of the 

nursing program by board staff, usually completed within two 

days (depending on the number of programs or campuses being 

reviewed) for the purpose of obtaining and maintaining full 

program approval. The survey visit includes the program's 

completion of a self-evaluation report prior to the visit, as well 

as a board staff review of all program resources, including 

skills lab, classrooms, learning resources, and clinical 

facilities, and other components to ensure compliance with this 

chapter. Meetings with faculty, administration, students, and 

clinical facility staff will occur. 

18VAC90-27-60. Faculty. 

A. Qualifications for all faculty. 

1. Every member of the nursing faculty, including the 

program director, shall (i) hold a current license or a 

multistate licensure privilege to practice nursing in Virginia 

as a registered nurse without any disciplinary action that 

currently restricts practice and (ii) have had at least two 

years of direct client care experience as a registered nurse 

prior to employment by the program. Persons providing 

instruction in topics other than nursing shall not be required 

to hold a license as a registered nurse. 

2. Every member of a nursing faculty supervising the clinical 

practice of students, including simulation in lieu of direct 

client care, shall meet the licensure requirements of the 

jurisdiction in which that practice occurs. Faculty and shall 

provide evidence of education or experience in the specialty 

area in which they supervise student clinical experience for 

quality and safety. Prior to supervision of students, the 

faculty providing supervision shall have completed a clinical 

orientation to the site in which supervision is being provided. 

Faculty members who supervise clinical practice by 

simulation shall also demonstrate simulation knowledge and 

skills in that methodology and shall engage in ongoing 

professional development in the use of simulation. 

3. The program director and each member of the nursing 

faculty shall maintain documentation of professional 

competence through such activities as nursing practice, 

continuing education programs, conferences, workshops, 

seminars, academic courses, research projects, and 

professional writing. Documentation of annual professional 

development shall be maintained in employee files for the 

director and each faculty member until the next survey visit 

and shall be available for board review. 

4. For baccalaureate degree and prelicensure graduate 

degree programs: 

a. The program director shall hold a doctoral degree with 

a graduate degree in nursing. 

b. Every member of the nursing faculty shall hold a 

graduate degree; the majority of the faculty shall have a 

graduate degree in nursing. Faculty members with a 

graduate degree with a major other than in nursing shall 

have a baccalaureate degree with a major in nursing. 

5. For associate degree and diploma programs: 

a. The program director shall hold a graduate degree with 

a major in nursing. 
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b. The majority of the members of the nursing faculty shall 

hold a graduate degree, preferably with a major in nursing. 

c. All members of the nursing faculty shall hold a 

baccalaureate or graduate degree with a major in nursing. 

6. For practical nursing programs: 

a. The program director shall hold a baccalaureate degree 

with a major in nursing. 

b. The majority of the members of the nursing faculty shall 

hold a baccalaureate degree, preferably with a major in 

nursing. 

B. Number of faculty. 

1. The number of faculty shall be sufficient to prepare the 

students to achieve the objectives of the educational program 

and to ensure safety for clients to whom students provide 

care. 

2. When students are giving direct care to clients, the ratio 

of students to faculty shall not exceed 10 students to one 

faculty member, and the faculty shall be on site solely to 

supervise students. 

3. When preceptors are utilized for specified learning 

experiences in clinical settings, the faculty member may 

supervise up to 15 students. 

C. Functions. The principal functions of the faculty shall be 

to: 

1. Develop, implement, and evaluate the philosophy and 

objectives of the nursing education program; 

2. Design, implement, teach, evaluate, and revise the 

curriculum. Faculty shall provide evidence of education and 

experience necessary to indicate that they are competent to 

teach a given course; 

3. Develop and evaluate student admission, progression, 

retention, and graduation policies within the framework of 

the controlling institution; 

4. Participate in academic advisement and counseling of 

students in accordance with requirements of the Financial 

Educational Rights and Privacy Act (20 USC § 1232g); 

5. Provide opportunities for and evidence of student and 

graduate evaluation of curriculum and teaching and program 

effectiveness; and 

6. Document actions taken in faculty and committee 

meetings using a systematic plan of evaluation for total 

program review. 

18VAC90-27-100. Curriculum for direct client care. 

A. A nursing education program preparing a student for 

licensure as a registered nurse shall provide a minimum of 500 

hours of direct client care supervised by qualified faculty. A 

nursing education program preparing a student for licensure as 

a practical nurse shall provide a minimum of 400 hours of 

direct client care supervised by qualified faculty. Direct client 

care hours shall include experiences and settings as set forth in 

18VAC90-27-90 B 1. 

B. Licensed practical nurses transitioning into prelicensure 

registered nursing programs may be awarded no more than 150 

clinical hours of the 400 clinical hours received in a practical 

nursing program. In a practical nursing to registered nursing 

transitional program, the remainder of the clinical hours shall 

include registered nursing clinical experience across the life 

cycle in adult medical/surgical nursing, maternal/infant 

(obstetrics, gynecology, neonatal) nursing, mental 

health/psychiatric nursing, and pediatric nursing. 

C. Any observational experiences shall be planned in 

cooperation with the agency involved to meet stated course 

objectives. Observational experiences shall not be accepted 

toward the 400 or 500 minimum clinical hours required. 

Observational objectives shall be available to students, the 

clinical unit, and the board. 

D. Simulation for direct client clinical hours. 

1. No more than 25% of direct client contact hours may be 

simulation. For prelicensure registered nursing programs, 

the total of simulated client care hours cannot exceed 125 

hours (25% of the required 500 hours). For prelicensure 

practical nursing programs, the total of simulated client care 

hours cannot exceed 100 hours (25% of the required 400 

hours). 

2. No more than 50% of the total clinical hours for any 

course may be used as simulation. If courses are integrated, 

simulation shall not be used for more than 50% of the total 

clinical hours in different clinical specialties and population 

groups across the life span. 

3. Skills acquisition and task training alone, as in the 

traditional use of a skills laboratory, do not qualify as 

simulated client care and therefore do not meet the 

requirements for direct client care hours. 

4. Clinical simulation must be led by faculty who meet the 

qualifications specified in 18VAC90-27-60. Faculty with 

education and expertise in simulation and in the applicable 

subject area must be present during the simulation 

experience. 

5. Documentation of the following shall be available for all 

simulated experiences: 

a. Course description and objectives; 

b. Type of simulation and location of simulated 

experience; 

c. Number of simulated hours; 

d. Faculty qualifications; and 

e. Methods of pre-briefing and debriefing; 

f. Evaluation of simulated experience; and 
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g. Method to communicate student performance to clinical 

faculty. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5531; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:10 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 18VAC90-

30-10, 18VAC90-30-220). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-

4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments (i) define conversion therapy as 

it is defined in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) 

specify that the standard of practice for nurse practitioners 

prohibits a nurse practitioner from engaging in conversion 

therapy with a person younger than 18 years of age. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC90-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Approved program" means a nurse practitioner education 

program that is accredited by the Council on Accreditation of 

Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs/Schools, American 

College of Nurse Midwives, Commission on Collegiate 

Nursing Education, or the National League for Nursing 

Accrediting Commission or is offered by a school of nursing 

or jointly offered by a school of medicine and a school of 

nursing that grant a graduate degree in nursing and that hold a 

national accreditation acceptable to the boards. 

"Autonomous practice" means practice in a category in which 

a nurse practitioner is certified and licensed without a written 

or electronic practice agreement with a patient care team 

physician in accordance with 18VAC90-30-86. 

"Boards" means the Virginia Board of Nursing and the 

Virginia Board of Medicine. 

"Certified nurse midwife" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of nurse 

midwifery and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified registered nurse anesthetist" means an advanced 

practice registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of 

nurse anesthesia, who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia, and who practices under 

the supervision of a doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, 

or dentistry but is not subject to the practice agreement 

requirement described in § 54.1-2957 [ of the Code of 

Virginia ]. 

"Clinical nurse specialist" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of clinical 

nurse specialist and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Collaboration" means the communication and decision-

making process among members of a patient care team related 

to the treatment and care of a patient and includes (i) 

communication of data and information about the treatment 

and care of a patient, including exchange of clinical 

observations and assessments, and (ii) development of an 

appropriate plan of care, including decisions regarding the 

health care provided, accessing and assessment of appropriate 

additional resources or expertise, and arrangement of 

appropriate referrals, testing, or studies. 

"Committee" means the Committee of the Joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine. 

"Consultation" means the communicating of data and 

information, exchanging of clinical observations and 

assessments, accessing and assessing of additional resources 

and expertise, problem solving, and arranging for referrals, 

testing, or studies. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensed nurse practitioner" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who has met the requirements for licensure as 

stated in Part II (18VAC90-30-60 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"National certifying body" means a national organization that 

is accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education or deemed acceptable by the 

National Council of State Boards of Nursing and has as one of 

its purposes the certification of nurse anesthetists, nurse 

midwives, or nurse practitioners, referred to in this chapter as 

professional certification, and whose certification of such 

persons by examination is accepted by the committee. 

"Patient care team physician" means a person who holds an 

active, unrestricted license issued by the Virginia Board of 

Medicine to practice medicine or osteopathic medicine. 

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic statement, 

jointly developed by the collaborating patient care team 

physician and the licensed nurse practitioner that describes the 

procedures to be followed and the acts appropriate to the 

specialty practice area to be performed by the licensed nurse 

practitioner in the care and management of patients. The 
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practice agreement also describes the prescriptive authority of 

the nurse practitioner, if applicable. For a nurse practitioner 

licensed in the category of certified nurse midwife, the practice 

agreement is a statement jointly developed with the consulting 

physician or a certified nurse midwife with at least two years 

of clinical experience. For a nurse practitioner licensed in the 

category of clinical nurse specialist, the practice agreement 

shall be between the nurse practitioner and a consulting 

physician. 

18VAC90-30-220. Grounds for disciplinary action against 

the license of a licensed nurse practitioner. 

The boards may deny licensure or relicensure, revoke or 

suspend the license, or take other disciplinary action upon 

proof that the nurse practitioner: 

1. Has had a license or multistate privilege to practice 

nursing in this Commonwealth or in another jurisdiction 

revoked or suspended or otherwise disciplined; 

2. Has directly or indirectly represented to the public that the 

nurse practitioner is a physician, or is able to, or will practice 

independently of a physician; 

3. Has exceeded the authority as a licensed nurse 

practitioner; 

4. Has violated or cooperated in the violation of the laws or 

regulations governing the practice of medicine, nursing or 

nurse practitioners; 

5. Has become unable to practice with reasonable skill and 

safety to patients as the result of a physical or mental illness 

or the excessive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals 

or any other type of material; 

6. Has violated or cooperated with others in violating or 

attempting to violate any law or regulation, state or federal, 

relating to the possession, use, dispensing, administration or 

distribution of drugs; 

7. Has failed to comply with continuing competency 

requirements as set forth in 18VAC90-30-105; 

8. Has willfully or negligently breached the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a patient. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful; or 

9. Has engaged in unauthorized use or disclosure of 

confidential information received from the Prescription 

Monitoring Program, the electronic system within the 

Department of Health Professions that monitors the 

dispensing of certain controlled substances; or 

10. Has engaged in conversion therapy with a person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6476; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:11 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-40. Regulations for 

Prescriptive Authority for Nurse Practitioners (adding 

18VAC90-40-122). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-

4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov., 

Summary: 

The amendment adds a section to (i) reiterate the 

requirement that takes effect on July 1, 2020, that a 

prescription for a controlled substance that contains an 

opioid must be issued as an electronic prescription unless 

the prescriber qualifies for an exemption set out in the law 

and (ii) provides for a one-year waiver from the requirement 

if the practitioner can demonstrate economic hardship 

technological limitations or other exceptional 

circumstances beyond the practitioner's control. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC90-40-122. Waiver for electronic prescribing.  

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, unless the prescription qualifies for an 

exemption as set forth in subsection C of § 54.1-3408.02.  

B. Upon written request, the boards may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of subsection A of this section for a 

period not to exceed one year, due to demonstrated economic 

hardship, technological limitations that are not reasonably 

within the control of the prescriber, or other exceptional 

circumstances demonstrated by the prescriber. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6115; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:12 p.m. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-47). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 

of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 527-4471, or 

email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 664 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments (i) reiterate the requirement that takes effect on 

July 1, 2020, that a prescription for a controlled substance 

that contains an opioid must be issued as an electronic 

prescription unless the prescriber qualifies for an exemption 

set out in the law; and (ii) provide for a one-year waiver 

from the requirement if the practitioner can demonstrate 

economic hardship technological limitations or other 

exceptional circumstances beyond the practitioner's control. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC105-20-47. Therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. 

A. A TPA-certified optometrist, acting within the scope of his 

practice, may procure, administer, and prescribe medically 

appropriate therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (or any 

therapeutically appropriate combination thereof) to treat 

diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye and its 

adnexa within the following categories: 

1. Oral analgesics - Schedule II controlled substances 

consisting of hydrocodone in combination with 

acetaminophen and Schedules III, IV, and VI narcotic and 

nonnarcotic agents. 

2. Topically administered Schedule VI agents: 

a. Alpha-adrenergic blocking agents; 

b. Alpha-adrenergic agonists; 

c. Anesthetic (including esters and amides); 

d. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and mast cell 

stabilizers); 

e. Anti-fungal; 

f. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase inhibitors 

and hyperosmotics); 

g. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals); 

h. Anti-inflammatory; 

i Cycloplegics and mydriatics; 

j. Decongestants; and 

k. Immunosuppressive agents. 

3. Orally administered Schedule VI agents: 

a. Aminocaproic acids (including antifibrinolytic agents); 

b. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and leukotriene 

inhibitors); 

c. Anti-fungal; 

d. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase 

inhibitors and hyperosmotics); 

e. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals); 

f. Anti-inflammatory (including steroidal and 

nonsteroidal); 

g. Decongestants; and 

h. Immunosuppressive agents. 

B. Schedules I, II, and V drugs are excluded from the list of 

therapeutic pharmaceutical agents with the exception of 

controlled substances in Schedule II consisting of hydrocodone 

in combination with acetaminophen and gabapentin in 

Schedule V. 

C. Over-the-counter topical and oral medications for the 

treatment of the eye and its adnexa may be procured for 

administration, administered, prescribed, or dispensed. 

D. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, unless the prescription qualifies for an 

exemption as set forth in subsection C of § 54.1-3408.02. Upon 

written request, the board may grant a one-time waiver of the 

requirement for electronic prescribing, for a period not to 

exceed one year, due to demonstrated economic hardship, 

technological limitations that are not reasonably within the 

control of the prescriber, or other exceptional circumstances 

demonstrated by the prescriber. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6199; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:12 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 

18VAC110-20-150). 

18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians 

(adding 18VAC110-21-46). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3303.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 7, 2022 - 8:45 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Commonwealth Conference Center, Suite 201, Board Room 

2, Henrico, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 4, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The specific statutory 

mandate for regulations governing the initiation of treatment 

by pharmacists with certain drugs and devices is found in 

§ 54.1-3303.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Purpose: The purpose of the regulation is to ensure that a 

pharmacist who initiates treatment for patients follows a 

protocol that would render such dispensing to be low risk for 

patient harm. The rules establishing protocols, appropriate 

notification of primary care providers, maintenance of records, 

and patient privacy are necessary to ensure this activity 

protects the health and safety of patients who receive such 

treatment from pharmacists. 

Substance: The substantive provision in the proposed 

regulation is the addition of 18VAC110-21-46, which sets out 

the listing of drugs and devices a pharmacist is authorized to 

initiate under § 54.1-3303.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

requirements for such initiation of treatment, including 

adherence to established protocols, notification to medical 

providers, maintenance of records, and protection of patient 

privacy. 

Issues: The advantage to the public will be access to certain 

prescription drugs and devices directly from a pharmacist 

rather than being required to go to a health care practitioner 

with prescriptive authority and incur additional cost. There 

should be no disadvantages to the public. A pharmacist who 

follows the protocols established for initiation of treatment 

would be providing drugs and devices that are considered to be 

low risk for any patient harm. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to this agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 731 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly 

(legislation), an emergency regulation became effective on 

January 3, 2021, that allows pharmacists to dispense and 

administer certain drugs and devices to persons 18 years of age 

or older in accordance with specified requirements.  

The emergency regulation will expire on July 2, 2022. Also 

pursuant to the legislation, the Board of Pharmacy proposes to 

replace the emergency regulation with an identical permanent 

regulation. 

Background. Amongst other new text, Chapter 731 added the 

following to the Code of Virginia: 

"§ 54.1-3303.1. Initiating of treatment with and dispensing 

and administering of controlled substances by 

pharmacists. 

A. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 54.1-3303, a 

pharmacist may initiate treatment with, dispense, or 

administer the following drugs and devices to persons 18 

years of age or older in accordance with a statewide 

protocol developed by the Board in collaboration with the 

Board of Medicine and the Department of Health and set 

forth in regulations of the Board: 

1. Naloxone or other opioid antagonist, including such 

controlled paraphernalia, as defined in § 54.1-3466, as 

may be necessary to administer such naloxone or other 

opioid antagonist; 

2. Epinephrine; 

3. Injectable or self-administered hormonal 

contraceptives, provided the patient completes an 

assessment consistent with the United States Medical 

Eligibility Criteria for Contraceptive Use; 

4. Prenatal vitamins for which a prescription is required; 

5. Dietary fluoride supplements, in accordance with 

recommendations of the American Dental Association for 

prescribing of such supplements for persons whose 

drinking water has a fluoride content below the 

concentration recommended by the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services; and 

6. Medications covered by the patient's health carrier when 

the patient's out-of-pocket cost is lower than the out-of-

pocket cost to purchase an over-the-counter equivalent of 

the same drug." 

The proposed regulation is essentially identical to the 

legislative text. As instructed by the legislation, statewide 

protocols were developed by the Board in collaboration with 

the Board of Medicine and the Department of Health for all of 

the drugs and devices listed. These protocols are currently 

posted on the Board's website.1 

Chapter 731 also added the following to § 54.1-3303.1. 

"B. A pharmacist who initiates treatment with or dispenses 

or administers a drug or device pursuant to this section 

shall notify the patient's primary health care provider that 

the pharmacist has initiated treatment with such drug or 

device or that such drug or device has been dispensed or 

administered to the patient, provided that the patient 

consents to such notification. If the patient does not have 

a primary health care provider, the pharmacist shall 

counsel the patient regarding the benefits of establishing a 

relationship with a primary health care provider and, upon 

request, provide information regarding primary health 

care providers, including federally qualified health 

centers, free clinics, or local health departments serving 

the area in which the patient is located. If the pharmacist 

is initiating treatment with, dispensing, or administering 

injectable or self-administered hormonal contraceptives, 

the pharmacist shall counsel the patient regarding seeking 

preventative care, including (i) routine well-woman visits, 

(ii) testing for sexually transmitted infections, and (iii) pap 

smears." 

Again, the proposed regulation is essentially identical to the 

legislative text. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. By mirroring the legislation, the 

proposed regulation essentially confers the same benefits 

found in the statute. Namely, by allowing pharmacists to 

dispense and administer the specified drugs and devices, 

patients potentially benefit in three ways: 1) saving the time 

required to obtain and go to a doctor's appointment in order to 

get a prescription, 2) saving the fees associated with the 

doctor's appointment, and 3) reducing the cost of obtaining 
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medications covered by the patient's health carrier when the 

patient's out-of-pocket cost is lower than the out-of-pocket cost 

to purchase an over-the-counter equivalent of the same drug. 

Naloxone is an opioid antagonist used for the complete or 

partial reversal of opioid overdose, including respiratory 

depression.2 Epinephrine is used in emergencies to treat very 

serious allergic reactions to insect stings/bites, foods, drugs, or 

other substances. Epinephrine acts quickly to improve 

breathing, stimulate the heart, raise a dropping blood pressure, 

reverse hives, and reduce swelling of the face, lips, and throat.3 

Enabling pharmacists to administer these drugs without a 

physician's prescription could potentially be lifesaving in some 

circumstances. 

The protocols jointly created with the Board of Medicine and the 

Department of Health for the pharmacists to follow should help 

minimize risk that pharmacists would improperly initiate 

treatment with, dispense, or administer the specified drugs and 

devices. The requirement in the new § 54.1-3303.1 that the 

pharmacist who initiates treatment with or dispenses or 

administers the specified drugs or devices notifies the patient's 

primary health care provider, provided that the patient consents to 

such notification, should help continuity of care. Likewise, the 

requirements that if: 1) the patient does not have a primary health 

care provider, the pharmacist counsels the patient regarding the 

benefits of establishing a relationship with a primary health care 

provider and, upon request, provide information regarding 

primary health care providers, and 2) the pharmacist is initiating 

treatment with, dispensing, or administering injectable or self-

administered hormonal contraceptives, the pharmacist counsels 

the patient regarding seeking preventative care, including (i) 

routine well-woman visits, (ii) testing for sexually transmitted 

infections, and (iii) pap smears, should help encourage patients to 

pursue and find appropriate ongoing health care services. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There are approximately 

8,600 licensed pharmacists with a Virginia address and 1,789 

pharmacies in the Commonwealth.4 It is unclear how many 

pharmacists and pharmacies will choose to provide this service to 

their patients. Only those that elect to initiate treatment for patients 

would be affected by the legislation and proposed amendments to 

the regulation. 

Since the administering of the specified drugs and devices would 

be optional for pharmacists, the proposal does not produce any 

costs. 

Small Businesses5 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities6 Affected.7 Localities with comparatively high 

opioid addiction rates may be particularly affected in that 

pharmacists could administer naloxone to someone brought 

into their pharmacy experiencing an opioid overdose. The 

proposal does not introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

legislation and the proposed regulation would likely spur some 

pharmacists to dispense and administer some, in not all of the 

drugs and devices specified in the legislation and proposed 

regulation. This may have a moderate positive impact on the 

value of the associated pharmacies. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

_______________________________________ 
1See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/ 
2Source: www.rxlist.com 

3Source: www.webmd.com 

4Source: Department of Health Professions 
5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 713 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendments (i) list drugs and devices that may be 

initiated by a pharmacist for a patient older than 18 years of 

age and (ii) provide the protocol to notify a primary care 

provider, maintain patient records, and protect patient 

privacy. 

18VAC110-20-150. Physical standards for all pharmacies. 

A. The prescription department shall not be less than 240 

square feet. The patient waiting area or the area used for 

counseling, devices, cosmetics, and proprietary medicines 

shall not be considered a part of the minimum 240 square feet. 

The total area shall be consistent with the size and scope of the 

services provided. 

B. Access to stock rooms, rest rooms, and other areas other 

than an office that is exclusively used by the pharmacist shall 

not be through the prescription department. A rest room in the 

prescription department, used exclusively by pharmacists and 

personnel assisting with dispensing functions, may be allowed 

provided there is another rest room outside the prescription 

department available to other employees and the public. This 

subsection shall not apply to prescription departments in 

existence prior to November 4, 1993. 

C. The pharmacy shall be constructed of permanent and 

secure materials. Trailers or other moveable facilities or 

temporary construction shall not be permitted. 

D. The entire area of the location of the pharmacy practice, 

including all areas where drugs are stored, shall be well lighted 

and well ventilated; the proper storage temperature shall be 

maintained to meet USP-NF specifications for drug storage. 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/
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E. The prescription department counter work space shall be 

used only for the compounding and dispensing of drugs and 

necessary recordkeeping. 

F. A sink with hot and cold running water shall be within the 

prescription department. A pharmacy issued a limited-use 

permit that does not stock prescription drugs as part of its 

operation is exempt from this requirement. 

G. Adequate refrigeration facilities equipped with a 

monitoring thermometer for the storage of drugs requiring cold 

storage temperature shall be maintained within the prescription 

department if the pharmacy stocks such drugs. 

H. A pharmacy stocking drugs requiring cold storage 

temperature shall record the temperature daily and adjust the 

thermostat as necessary to ensure an appropriate temperature 

range. The record shall be maintained manually or 

electronically for a period of two years. 

I. The physical settings of a pharmacy in which a pharmacist 

initiates treatment with, dispenses, or administers drugs and 

devices pursuant to § 54.1-3303.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

18VAC110-21-46 shall protect patient confidentiality and 

comply with the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act, 42 USC § 1320d et seq. 

18VAC110-21-46. Initiation of treatment by a pharmacist.  

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-3303.1 of the Code of Virginia, a 

pharmacist may initiate treatment with, dispense, or administer 

the following drugs and devices to persons 18 years of age or 

older:  

1. Naloxone or other opioid antagonist, including such 

controlled paraphernalia as defined in § 54.1-3466 of the 

Code of Virginia as may be necessary to administer such 

naloxone or other opioid antagonist; 

2. Epinephrine; 

3. Injectable or self-administered hormonal contraceptives, 

provided the patient completes an assessment consistent 

with the United States Medical Eligibility Criteria for 

Contraceptive Use; 

4. Prenatal vitamins for which a prescription is required; 

5. Dietary fluoride supplements, in accordance with 

recommendations of the American Dental Association for 

prescribing of such supplements for persons whose drinking 

water has a fluoride content below the concentration 

recommended by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services; and 

6. Medications covered by the patient's health carrier when 

the patient's out-of-pocket cost is lower than the out-of-

pocket cost to purchase an over-the-counter equivalent of the 

same drug. 

B. Pharmacists who initiate treatment with, dispense, or 

administer a drug or device pursuant to subsection A of this 

section shall: 

1. Follow the statewide protocol adopted by the board for 

each drug or device. 

2. Notify the patient's primary health care provider that 

treatment has been initiated with such drug or device or that 

such drug or device has been dispensed or administered to 

the patient, provided that the patient consents to such 

notification. If the patient does not have a primary health 

care provider, the pharmacist shall counsel the patient 

regarding the benefits of establishing a relationship with a 

primary health care provider and, upon request, provide 

information regarding primary health care providers, 

including federally qualified health centers, free clinics, or 

local health departments serving the area in which the patient 

is located. If the pharmacist is initiating treatment with, 

dispensing, or administering injectable or self-administered 

hormonal contraceptives, the pharmacist shall counsel the 

patient regarding seeking preventative care, including (i) 

routine well-woman visits, (ii) testing for sexually 

transmitted infections, and (iii) pap smears. 

3. Maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years 

following the last patient encounter with the following 

exceptions:  

a. Records that have previously been transferred to another 

practitioner or health care provider or provided to the 

patient or the patient's personal representative; or  

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time.  

4. Perform the activities in a manner that protects patient 

confidentiality and complies with the Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act, 42 USC § 1320d et seq. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6488; Filed December 6, 2021, 11:24 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 

18VAC110-20-111). 

18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians 

(amending 18VAC110-21-10, 18VAC110-21-20, 

18VAC110-21-40, 18VAC110-21-140, 18VAC110-21-150, 

18VAC110-21-170, 18VAC110-21-180; adding 18VAC110-

21-135, 18VAC110-21-141; repealing 18VAC110-21-160). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 7, 2022 - 8:45 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, Commonwealth Conference 
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Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Board Room 2, 

Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 4, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The specific statutory 

provisions for regulations governing registration of pharmacy 

technician trainees and pharmacy technicians are found in 

§ 54.1-3321 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulation is to establish the 

requirements for registration of a pharmacy technician trainee 

and for the education and examination for persons registered 

as pharmacy technicians to ensure they can perform dispensing 

functions with the competency necessary for the safety and 

integrity of prescription drugs. 

Substance: The substantive provisions of this regulatory action 

are the addition of (i) 18VAC110-21-135, which establishes 

the requirements for registration as a pharmacy technician 

trainee for a person enrolled in a training program and 

engaging in tasks that may be delegated under supervision to a 

technician, and (ii) 18VAC110-21-141, which sets out the 

requirements for registration that will be effective on July 1, 

2022, including accreditation of training programs. 

Issues: The advantage to the public will be more consistent 

training and examination of pharmacy technicians who play a 

vital role in filling and dispensing of prescription medications. 

There will also be accountability to the board for persons who 

are performing technician tasks while in training. There should 

be no disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to this agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a 2020 legislative mandate, the Board of Pharmacy 

(Board) proposes to amend the training requirements for 

pharmacy technicians in 18VAC110-21 Regulations 

Governing the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration of 

Pharmacy Technicians (regulation).1 Specifically, the Board 

seeks to: (i) create a new requirement for the registration of 

pharmacy technician trainees, and (ii) specify accreditation 

requirements for pharmacy technician training programs. The 

registration requirement for pharmacy technician trainees 

became effective on January 3, 2021, through an emergency 

regulation.2 The accreditation requirements for training 

programs will become effective July 1, 2022. The Board also 

proposes to amend 18VAC110-20 Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Pharmacy to update the requirements for 

pharmacies that hire pharmacy technician trainees such that 

they reflect the new trainee registration requirements. 

Background. Chapters 102 and 237 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly define the term "pharmacy technician trainee" and 

update the requirements for individuals who wish to be 

registered as pharmacy technicians.3 Under the new legislation, 

pharmacy technicians must demonstrate successful completion 

of a pharmacy technician training program that is either (i) 

accredited by a body approved by the Board, or (ii) accredited 

by the Department of Education's Career and Technical 

Education program, or (iii) operated through a federal agency 

or branch of the military. The applicant must also provide 

evidence of passing a national certification examination 

administered by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board 

(PTCB) or the National Healthcareer Association (NHA). The 

required accreditation of pharmacy technician training 

programs has a delayed effective date of July 1, 2022. 

In keeping with the mandate, the Board proposes to maintain 

the current pharmacy technician registration requirements until 

July 1, 2022, under which pharmacy technicians must provide 

evidence of (i) completing a board-approved training program 

and passing a board-approved examination, OR (ii) passing a 

national certification examination administered by the PTCB 

or NHA. 

The Board also proposes to add a new section 141, which 

would become effective July 1, 2022. In addition to the 

existing requirements to submit an application and a fee, the 

Board would now require that the applicant provide evidence 

of passing a national certification examination administered by 

the PTCB or the NHA. In addition, pharmacy technician 

applicants would be required to demonstrate successful 

completion of a pharmacy technician training program that is 

either (i) jointly accredited by the American Society of Health 

System Pharmacists (ASHP) and Accreditation Council for 

Pharmacy Education (ACPE), or (ii) accredited by the 

Department of Education's Career and Technical Education 

program, or (iii) operated through a federal agency or branch 

of the military, or (iv) accredited by another body approved by 

the Board. The Board reports that ASHP and ACPE were 

approved as the accreditation bodies because their joint 

accreditation program is the only one currently available for 

pharmacy technician training programs. However, option (iv) 

retains some flexibility for the Board to approve other 

accrediting bodies in the future. 

Further, in accordance with the legislation, the proposed 

amendments would allow individuals who complete or are 

enrolled in a board-approved (but not necessarily accredited) 

pharmacy technician training program as of July 1, 2022, to 

register provided they pass the PTCB or NHA examinations. 

Similarly, individuals who obtain PTCB or NHA certification 

prior to July 1, 2022, would be allowed to register after that 

date even if they had not completed an accredited training 

program. Lastly, pharmacy technicians who had previously 

practiced in other states would be allowed to register in 
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Virginia upon documentation of previous practice and having 

passed the PTCB or NHA examinations. 

The legislation also outlines the requirements for registration 

as a pharmacy technician trainee, and provided the Board with 

the authority to promulgate emergency regulations. To 

implement the requirements outlined in the legislation, the 

Board proposes to add a new section 135 Registration as a 

pharmacy technician trainee, which establishes registration as 

a requirement that must be fulfilled before a trainee can engage 

in any practical work experience as a pharmacy technician. The 

proposed language specifies that in order to be eligible to 

register as a pharmacy technician trainee the applicant shall 

already be enrolled in a pharmacy technician training program. 

However, it does not specifically require that the program be 

accredited, which allows individuals currently enrolled in non-

accredited but Board-approved programs to register and 

complete the practical experience requirement of their training. 

Prior to the emergency regulation, pharmacy technician 

trainees who were enrolled in Board-approved training 

programs could perform pharmacy technician duties under a 

pharmacist's supervision for up to nine consecutive months to 

obtain practical experience as part of their training. The onus 

of enforcing the nine-month limit and ensuring that the 

individual was still enrolled and progressing towards 

completion of the training program fell on the pharmacies that 

employed trainees. The proposed language in section 135 

specifies that the registration be assigned an expiration date not 

to exceed two years, which is intended to allow sufficient time 

for trainees to meet the practical training requirements of the 

training program in which they are enrolled. The language 

makes clear that the registration would be invalid if the trainee 

were no longer enrolled in the training program for any reason 

and that trainees cannot be employed without registration. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Pharmacy technician training 

programs would incur the costs of accreditation, which they are 

likely to pass at least partially on to individuals seeking to 

obtain training. The Department of Health Professions (DHP) 

reports that many of the 119 pharmacy technician training 

programs currently approved by the Board are run by 

pharmacy chains or hospital systems and are already accredited 

by ASHP/ACPE.4 DHP also reports that the initial application 

fees for accreditation range from $720 per hospital to $6,000 

for distance learning programs to $10,000 for retail pharmacy 

chains. Pharmacy technician trainees would incur a $20 fee for 

registration, and may face higher training costs due to the 

accreditation requirements. However, DHP reports that 

distance learning is a popular option for pharmacy technician 

training for individuals who may not be able to access it 

through employment at a pharmacy chain or hospital system, 

and that most distance learning programs are already 

accredited. 

Because the proposed regulatory text closely mirrors the 

legislation, the benefits of the proposed amendments are 

mainly to conform the regulation to the Code of Virginia. The 

Board states that the public would benefit from more consistent 

training and examination of pharmacy technicians, who play a 

vital role in filling and dispensing of prescription medications, 

as well as accountability for persons who are performing 

technician tasks while in training. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments primarily affect current and future pharmacy 

technician trainees, individuals seeking to register as pharmacy 

technicians on or after July 1, 2022, and pharmacy technician 

training programs. Current and future pharmacy technician 

trainees would be affected by the registration requirements. 

DHP reports that 845 trainees had registered as of March 31, 

2021. Individuals considering pharmacy technician training in 

the future would be affected by the accreditation requirements, 

to the extent that those requirements change the options 

available to them for obtaining training. DHP reports that there 

are currently 119 Board-approved pharmacy technician 

training programs, but did not have information on how many 

of those programs were already accredited or how many were 

affiliated with a hospital, a retail pharmacy, or provided 

distance learning. 

Small Businesses5 Affected. The proposed amendments are 

unlikely to adversely affect any small businesses. Pharmacies 

in Virginia that are independently operated small businesses 

would benefit from standardized education requirements for 

pharmacy technicians to the extent that it results in a better-

trained pool of potential employees. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to impact the number of pharmacy technicians in 

the workforce or the employment rates of pharmacy 

technicians. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not affect the use or value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

________________________________ 
1See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewmandate.cfm?mandateid=1058 for 

information on the mandate. 
2The emergency regulation took effect on January 3, 2021 and expires on July 

2, 2022. See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9137. 
3See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=bil 

&val=ch102 and https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-

bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=bil&val=ch237, respectively. 

4Agency Background Document, page 8. See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=30\5603\9243\AgencyState
ment_DHP_9243_v1.pdf. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewmandate.cfm?mandateid=1058
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9137
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=bil&val=ch102
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=bil&val=ch102
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=bil&val=ch237
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=bil&val=ch237
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=30/5603/9243/AgencyStatement_DHP_9243_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=30/5603/9243/AgencyStatement_DHP_9243_v1.pdf
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7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments conform regulation to Chapters 

102 and 237 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, including (i) 

establishing the requirements for registration as a pharmacy 

technician trainee for a person enrolled in a training 

program and engaging in tasks that may be delegated to a 

technician; (ii) specifying the certification examinations that 

are acceptable for registration as a pharmacy technician; 

and (iii) setting out the requirement for accreditation of 

training programs that will become effective on July 1, 2022. 

18VAC110-20-111. Pharmacy technicians. 

A. Every pharmacy that employs or uses pharmacy 

technicians shall maintain a site-specific training program and 

manual for training pharmacy technicians to work at that 

pharmacy. The program shall include training consistent with 

that specific pharmacy practice to include, but not be limited 

to, training in proper use of site-specific computer programs 

and equipment, proper use of other equipment used at the 

pharmacy in performing technician duties, and pharmacy 

calculations consistent with the duties at that pharmacy. 

B. Every pharmacy shall maintain documentation of 

successful completion of the site specific training program for 

each pharmacy technician for the duration of the employment 

and for a period of two years from date of termination of 

employment. Documentation for currently employed 

pharmacy technicians shall be maintained on site or at another 

location where the records are readily retrievable upon request 

for inspection. After employment is terminated, such 

documentation may be maintained at an off-site location where 

it is retrievable upon request. 

C. Every pharmacy that employs or uses a person enrolled in 

an approved a pharmacy technician training program pursuant 

to § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of Virginia shall allow such 

person to conduct tasks restricted to pharmacy technicians for 

no more than nine months without that person becoming 

registered as a pharmacy technician with the board as set forth 

in 18VAC110-20-101. Every pharmacy using such a person 

shall have documentation on site and available for inspection 

showing that the person is currently enrolled in an approved 

training program and the start date for each pharmacy 

technician in training only if the person is currently registered 

as a pharmacy technician trainee. 

18VAC110-21-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 

54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

Education. 

"ASHP" means the American Society of Health-System 

Pharmacists. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 

licensure by the board. 

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 

as the equivalent of 10 contact hours. 

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program. 

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 

United States and its territories offering a course of study in 

basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 

years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person to 

practice pharmacy in that country. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 

certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 

review of foreign training to establish educational equivalency 

to board approved schools of pharmacy and has passed 

approved examinations establishing proficiency in English. 

"Inactive license" means a license that is registered with the 

Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to practice, 

and the holder of which is not required to submit 

documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license. 

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 

Pharmacy. 

"NHA" means National Healthcareer Association. 

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 

registered with the board and is currently enrolled in an 

approved pharmacy technician training program and is 

performing to perform duties restricted to pharmacy 

technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical experience in 

accordance with provisions of subsection G of § 54.1-3321 D 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 

Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 

Association and the American Society of Health System 

Pharmacists, as the national organization for the voluntary 

examination and certification of pharmacy technicians. 

18VAC110-21-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 
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B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 

examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 

as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees. 

1. Pharmacist license $235 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $20 

3. Pharmacy technician trainee 

registration 

$20 

4. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

4. 5. Approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program 

$200 

5. 6. Approval of a continuing 

education program 

$130 

D. Annual renewal fees. 

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 

later than December 31 

$120 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due no 

later than December 31 

$60 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – 

due no later than December 31 

$35 

4. Pharmacy technician training 

program 

$100 every 

two years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license or 

registration within one year of the expiration date or within two 

years in the case of a pharmacy technician training program. In 

addition, engaging in activities requiring a license or 

registration after the expiration date of such license or 

registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board. 

1. Pharmacist license $40 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $20 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $15 

4. Pharmacy technician training 

program 

$20 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license or registration more than one year after the 

expiration date, or more than two years after the expiration date 

in the case of a pharmacy technician training program, shall 

submit an application for reinstatement with any required fees. 

Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board and, except for 

reinstatement following revocation or suspension, may be 

granted by the executive director of the board upon completion 

of an application and payment of any required fees. 

1. Pharmacist license $275 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation 

or suspension 

$650 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $45 

4. Pharmacy technician or pharmacy 

technician trainee registration after 

revocation or suspension 

$165 

5. A pharmacy technician training 

program that failed to renew and 

continued to operate for more than one 

renewal cycle shall pay the current and 

all back renewal fees for the years in 

which they were operating plus a 

reinstatement fee of $75. A pharmacy 

technician training program that ceases 

operation and wishes to resume shall 

not be eligible for reinstatement but 

shall apply for a new registration. 

 

G. Miscellaneous fees. 

1. Duplicate wall certificate $50 

2. Returned check $35 

3. Duplicate license or registration $15 

4. Verification of licensure or 

registration 

$35 

18VAC110-21-40. Unprofessional conduct. 

The following practices shall constitute unprofessional 

conduct within the meaning of § 54.1-3316 of the Code of 

Virginia: 

1. Failing to comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of 

the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of patient records or related to providing patient 

records to another practitioner or to the patient or the 

patient's personal representative; 

2. Willfully or negligently breaching the confidentiality of a 

patient unless otherwise required or permitted by applicable 

law; 

3. Failing to maintain the confidentiality of information 

received from the Prescription Monitoring Program, 

obtaining such information for reasons other than to assist in 

determining the validity of a prescription to be filled, or 

misusing information received from the program; 

4. Engaging in disruptive or abusive behavior in a pharmacy 

or other health care setting that interferes with patient care 

or could reasonably be expected to adversely impact the 

quality of care rendered to a patient; 
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5. Engaging or attempting to engage in a relationship with a 

patient that constitutes a professional boundary violation in 

which the practitioner uses his professional position to take 

advantage of the vulnerability of a patient or the patient's 

family, including sexual misconduct with a patient or a 

member of the patient's family or other conduct that results 

or could result in personal gain at the expense of the patient; 

6. Failing to maintain adequate safeguards against the 

diversion of controlled substances; 

7. Failing to appropriately respond to a known dispensing 

error in a manner that protects the health and safety of the 

patient; 

8. Delegating a task within the practice of pharmacy to a 

person who is not adequately trained to perform such a task; 

9. Failing by the pharmacist in charge to ensure that 

pharmacy interns and, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy 

technician trainees working in the pharmacy are registered 

and that such registration is current; 

10. Failing to exercise professional judgment in determining 

whether a prescription meets the requirements of law before 

dispensing; 

11. Obtaining money or property of a patient or client by 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

12. Providing false information or failing to cooperate with 

an employee of the Department of Health Professions in the 

conduct on an investigation or inspection; 

13. Violating any provision of this chapter, 18VAC110-20, 

or Chapter 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) or 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

14. Performing any act likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

the public; or 

15. Having a restriction of a license to practice pharmacy or 

a registration as a pharmacy technician in another 

jurisdiction in the United States. 

18VAC110-21-135. Registration as a pharmacy technician 

trainee.  

A. A person desiring to gain practical pharmacy experience 

toward completion of a pharmacy technician training program 

in Virginia shall first register with the board as a pharmacy 

technician trainee on a form provided by the board prior to 

engaging in the duties of a pharmacy technician pursuant to 

§ 54.1-3321 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. In order to be eligible to register as a pharmacy technician 

trainee, an applicant shall be enrolled in a pharmacy technician 

training program. An expiration date, not to exceed two years, 

shall be assigned to the registration to cover the estimated time 

period for the trainee to complete the practical pharmacy 

experience required for completion of the training program and 

pass the required examination. If the trainee is no longer 

enrolled in the training program, takes a voluntary break from 

the program, or is otherwise not actively progressing toward 

completion of such program, the registration is no longer valid 

and shall be returned to the board immediately. 

C. A pharmacy technician trainee shall be directly monitored 

by a supervising pharmacist who holds a current active license 

and assumes full responsibility for the training and supervision 

of the trainee.  

D. A pharmacy technician trainee shall notify the board in 

writing of any change in address of record within 14 days of 

such change. 

18VAC110-21-140. Application for registration as a 

pharmacy technician (Effective until July 1, 2022). 

A. Any person wishing to apply for registration as a pharmacy 

technician shall submit the application fee and an application 

on a form approved by the board. 

B. To be registered as a pharmacy technician, an applicant 

shall provide evidence of the following: 

1. Satisfactory completion of a board-approved training 

program; and 

2. A passing score on a board-approved examination. 

C. In lieu of the requirements of subsection B of this section, 

an applicant may provide evidence of current PTCB 

certification or NHA certification. 

D. A pharmacy technician trainee enrolled in an approved 

pharmacy technician training program pursuant to § 54.1-3321 

D of the Code of Virginia may perform tasks restricted to 

pharmacy technicians for no more than nine consecutive 

months from the date the trainee begins performing duties 

restricted to a pharmacy technician without becoming 

registered as a pharmacy technician. 

18VAC110-21-141. Requirements for pharmacy technician 

training (Effective July 1, 2022).  

A. Any person wishing to apply for registration as a pharmacy 

technician shall submit the application fee and an application 

on a form approved by the board.  

B. To be registered as a pharmacy technician, an applicant 

shall provide evidence of the following:  

1. Completion of a pharmacy technician training program 

that is: 

a. Jointly accredited by the ASHP and ACPE; 

b. An accredited training program operated through the 

Department of Education's Career and Technical 

Education Program; 

c. Operated through a federal agency or branch of the 

military; or 

d. Accredited by an accreditation body approved by the 

board. 
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2. Successfully having passed a national certification 

examination administered by PTCB or NHA. 

C. A pharmacy technician who has previously practiced in 

another United States jurisdiction may be eligible to obtain 

registration as a pharmacy technician upon documentation of 

previous practice and having passed a national certification 

examination administered by PTCB or NHA. 

D. A person who successfully completed or was enrolled in a 

board-approved pharmacy technician training program but did 

not successfully pass a national examination prior to July 1, 

2022, may be eligible to obtain registration as a pharmacy 

technician after successfully passing a national certification 

examination administered by PTCB or NHA and submitting to 

the board documentation of such completion or enrollment in 

a board-approved pharmacy technician training program and 

passing examination score.  

E. A person who passed a national certification examination 

administered by PTCB or NHA but did not complete a board-

approved pharmacy technician training program prior to July 

1, 2022, may be eligible to obtain registration as a pharmacy 

technician upon documentation of having passed such 

examination. 

18VAC110-21-150. Criteria for approval for training 

programs (Effective until July 1, 2022). 

A. Any person wishing to apply for approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program shall submit the application fee, a 

sample certificate, and an application on a form approved by 

the board and meet the criteria established in this section. 

B. The curriculum of a training program for pharmacy 

technicians shall include instruction in applicable current laws 

and regulations and in the tasks that may be performed by a 

pharmacy technician to include the following or any other task 

restricted to pharmacy technicians in regulation: 

1. The entry of prescription information and drug history 

into a data system or other recordkeeping system; 

2. The preparation of prescription labels or patient 

information; 

3. The removal of the drug to be dispensed from inventory; 

4. The counting, measuring, or compounding of the drug to 

be dispensed; 

5. The packaging and labeling of the drug to be dispensed 

and the repackaging thereof; 

6. The stocking or loading of automated dispensing devices 

or other devices used in the dispensing process; and 

7. The acceptance of refill authorization from a prescriber or 

the prescriber's authorized agent provided there is no change 

to the original prescription. 

C. Each program shall have a program director who shall be 

either (i) a pharmacist with a current license in any jurisdiction 

and who is not currently suspended or revoked in any 

jurisdiction in the United States; (ii) a pharmacy technician 

with at least one year of experience performing technician 

tasks who holds a current registration in Virginia or current 

PTCB certification and who is not currently suspended or 

revoked as a pharmacy technician in any jurisdiction; or (iii) 

other person approved and deemed qualified by the board to be 

a program director. 

D. Instructors for the core components listed in subsection B 

of this section shall meet the requirements for the program 

director listed in subsection C of this section. The program 

director may serve as an instructor. 

E. The length of the program shall be sufficient to prepare a 

program participant to sit for the board-approved examination 

and demonstrate entry-level competency. 

F. The program shall maintain records of program 

participants either on site or at another location where the 

records are readily retrievable upon request for inspection. A 

program shall provide a certificate of completion, including the 

program approval number, to participants who successfully 

complete the program and provide verification of completion 

of the program for a participant upon request by the board. 

Records shall be maintained for two years from date of 

completion or termination of program. 

G. The program shall report within 14 days any substantive 

change in the program to include a change in program name, 

program certificate, program director, instructors, name of 

institution or business if applicable, address, program content, 

length of program, or location of records. 

H. A pharmacy technician training program approval expires 

after two years, after which the program may apply for 

renewal. For continued approval, the program shall submit the 

renewal application, renewal fee, and a self-evaluation report 

on a form provided by the board at the time of renewal 

notification. Renewal of a program's approval is at the 

discretion of the board, and the decision to renew shall be 

based on documentation of continued compliance with the 

criteria set forth in this section. 

18VAC110-21-160. Examination. (Repealed.). 

A. The board shall approve one or more examinations to test 

entry-level competency for pharmacy technicians. In order to 

be approved, a competency examination shall be developed in 

accordance with and meet the recognized acceptable test 

measurement standards of the Joint Technical Standards for 

Education and Psychological Testing (American 

Psychological Association, current edition), and shall be 

administered by an independent third party.  
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B. The board may contract with an examination service for 

the development and administration of a competency 

examination.  

C. The board shall determine the minimum passing standard 

on the competency examination.  

D. Any requests for testing accommodations under the 

Americans with Disabilities Act shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of 18VAC110-21-80 F. 

18VAC110-21-170. Renewal and reinstatement of 

registration. 

A. Pharmacy technician registrations expire on December 31 

and shall be renewed annually prior to that date by the 

submission of a renewal fee, renewal form, and an e-profile 

number issued by NABP. A pharmacy technician newly 

registered on or after July 1 shall not be required to renew that 

registration until December 31 of the following year. Failure to 

receive the application for renewal shall not relieve the 

pharmacy technician of the responsibility for renewing the 

registration by the expiration date. 

B. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

by the expiration date may renew his registration at any time 

within one year of its expiration by submission of the renewal 

fee and late fee, renewal form, and attestation of having met 

the continuing education requirements. 

C. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

for more than one year following expiration and who wishes to 

reinstate such registration shall submit an application for 

reinstatement, pay the current renewal fee and a reinstatement 

fee, and submit documentation showing compliance with 

continuing education requirements. Reinstatement is at the 

discretion of the board and may be granted by the executive 

director of the board provided no grounds exist to deny said 

reinstatement. Practicing as a pharmacy technician with a 

lapsed registration shall be illegal and may subject the 

registrant to disciplinary action by the board. 

D. A person who fails to reinstate a pharmacy technician 

registration within five years of expiration shall not be eligible 

for reinstatement and shall repeat an approved training 

program and repeat and pass the examination or hold current 

PTCB certification before applying to be reregistered: 

1. Take and pass a national certification examination 

administered by PTCB or NHA; 

2. Document completion of 20 hours of continuing 

education; and 

3. Pay the current renewal fee and a reinstatement fee. 

18VAC110-21-180. Requirements for continued 

competency. 

A. A pharmacy technician shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 0.5 CEUs or five contact hours of 

approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

registration. Hours in excess of the number required for 

renewal may not be transferred or credited to another year. 

B. An approved continuing education program shall meet the 

requirements as set forth in 18VAC110-21-120 B or 

18VAC110-21-130 B. 

C. Upon written request of a pharmacy technician, the board 

may grant an extension of up to one year in order for the 

pharmacy technician to fulfill the continuing education 

requirements for the period of time in question. The granting 

of an extension shall not relieve the pharmacy technician from 

complying with current year requirements. Any subsequent 

extension shall be granted for good cause shown. 

D. Up to one hour of the five hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of pharmacy 

services as a pharmacy technician, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic. 

E. Original documentation Documentation showing 

successful completion of continuing education programs shall 

be maintained by the pharmacy technician for a period of two 

years following the renewal of his registration. The pharmacy 

technician shall provide such documentation to the board upon 

request in a manner to be determined by the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6513; Filed December 6, 2021, 11:25 a.m. 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60, Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3442.6 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

The Board of Pharmacy has WITHDRAWN the regulatory 

action for 18VAC110-60, Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors, which was published as a Notice 

of Intended Regulatory Action in 37:14 VA.R. 1465 March 1, 

2021. The action was initiated to consider amendments 

requested in a petition for rulemaking from the Virginia 

Medical Cannabis Coalition affecting the operation of 

pharmaceutical processors. The action is being withdrawn 

because all of the matters included in the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action have now been addressed through either 

legislative or regulatory actions. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-59; Filed December 7, 2021, 2:42 p.m. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9502
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9502


Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 10  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 3, 2022  

879 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-30. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors and 

Substance Abuse Counseling Assistants (amending 

18VAC115-30-60, 18VAC115-30-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 17, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Counseling are promulgated 

under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia, which establishes the general powers and duties of 

health regulatory boards including the responsibility to 

promulgate regulations. The specific mandate for the Board of 

Counseling to regulate certified substance abuse counselors 

(CSACs) is found in § 54.1-3505 of the Code of Virginia, and 

the scope of practice for these professions is found in § 54.1-

3507.1. of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The board has added more specificity about the 

requirement that CSACs practice under supervision and are 

prohibited from representing themselves as independent, 

autonomous practitioners. By doing so, clients receiving 

substance abuse counseling services are more assured of the 

oversight for those working under supervision. The additional 

standard of conduct and causes for disciplinary action will 

provide further guidance to counselors on the expectations for 

ethical practice and give the board more explicit grounds on 

which to discipline practitioners for the purpose of protecting 

the health, safety, and welfare of the public they serve. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking should not be controversial because it constitutes a 

clarification of the statutory prohibition against independent 

and autonomous practice. 

Substance: The board has amended 18VAC115-30-140 to 

clarify that a CSAC must practice in accordance with 

provisions of § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of Virginia, which 

prohibits practice as independent, autonomous practitioners. It 

further clarifies that CSACs cannot directly bill for their 

services or represent themselves as independent or 

autonomous. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendment is for 

clarification about the role of certified substance abuse 

counselors who are working under supervision with persons 

who have substance abuse issues. There are no disadvantages. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Counseling (Board) proposes to clarify that certified 

substance abuse counselors (CSACs) who, by law, are allowed 

to provide counseling only under supervision and CSAC 

trainees shall not directly bill for services rendered or in any 

way represent themselves as independent, autonomous 

practitioners. 

Background. This action results from a 2020 petition for 

rulemaking,1 which requested that the Board amend the 

regulations "to specify that CSACs (certified substance abuse 

counselors) cannot engage in independent or autonomous 

practice regardless of supervision and that such practice may 

be grounds for disciplinary action." 

Section 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of Virginia2 governs "Scope 

of practice, supervision, and qualifications of certified 

substance abuse counselors." Section 54.1-3507.1 specifically 

states that CSACs shall perform their work under supervision 

and that they shall not engage in independent or autonomous 

practice. Moreover, to be certified as CSAC an applicant must 

have supervised experience. Thus, a CSAS trainee must work 

under supervision for a certain number of hours to become 

certified, and once a CSAS trainee is certified, must continue 

to provide counseling as a certified counselor still under the 

supervision of a licensed substance abuse treatment 

practitioner. 

Consistent with the petitioner's request, the Board proposes 

additional language to clarify that trainees who are not yet 

certified but are working under supervision to gain practical 

experience necessary for certification as a CSAC, cannot 

directly bill for their services or represent themselves as 

independent or autonomous practitioners. In addition, the 

proposal would clarify that working without supervision or 

billing independently would violate the standards of conduct 

for certified counselors. Section 54.1-3507.1 does not 

specifically prohibit independent billing, however the Board 

reaches that conclusion based on the fact that the statute 

prohibits CSACs from providing counseling independently, 

without supervision. Therefore, the Board concludes "it is 

logical that persons under supervision are also prohibited from 

directly billing or representing themselves as autonomous 

practitioners." 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. In practice, CSACs or CSAC 

trainees are not currently allowed to provide counseling 

without supervision or to bill independently. The proposed 

changes reflect what the current practice is and are not 

expected to create any economic impact other than improving 

the clarity of the text about the prohibition on autonomous and 

independent practice and independent billing to avoid 

confusion within the regulated community and the general 

public. 
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Businesses and Other Entities Affected. According to the 

Department of Health Professions (DHP), there are 1,876 

certified substance abuse counselors and 1,965 substance 

abuse trainees. CSACs are prohibited from practicing 

independently or autonomously so it is unknown how many 

practices would constitute a small business. DHP notes that 

many CSACs are employed by government agencies. 

The proposed amendments do not appear to have an adverse 

economic impact3 or disproportionate impact on any entity. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not affect 

localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not affect the use and value of private property 

or real estate development costs. 

__________________________________________ 
1https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPetition.cfm?petitionId=327 

2http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter35/section54.1-3507.1/ 
3Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the economic impact analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify that (i) both a certified substance 

abuse counselor (CSAC) and a person under supervision to 

be certified as a CSAC (supervisee) must practice in 

accordance with provisions of § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, which prohibits practice as independent, 

autonomous practitioners and (ii) CSACs or supervisees 

cannot directly bill for their services or represent 

themselves as independent or autonomous. 

18VAC115-30-60. Experience requirements for substance 

abuse counselors. 

A. Registration. Supervision in Virginia shall be registered 

and approved by the board prior to the beginning of supervised 

experience in order to be counted toward certification. 

Supervision will not be accepted if it does not meet the 

requirements set forth in subsections B and C of this section. 

To register supervision for board approval prior to obtaining 

the supervised experience, an applicant shall submit in one 

package: 

1. A supervisory contract; 

2. Attestation of the supervisor's education and experience 

as required under subsections C and D of this section; 

3. The registration fee; 

4. An official transcript documenting attainment of a 

bachelor's or post-baccalaureate degree; and 

5. Evidence of completion of at least 120 hours of didactic 

education as required by 18VAC115-30-50 B. 

B. Experience requirements. 

1. An applicant for certification as a substance abuse 

counselor shall have had 2,000 hours of supervised 

experience in the practice of substance abuse counseling 

services. 

2. The supervised experience shall include a minimum of 

one hour and a maximum of four hours per 40 hours of work 

experience between the supervisor and the applicant to total 

100 hours within the required experience. No more than half 

of these hours may be satisfied with group supervision. One 

hour of group supervision will be deemed equivalent to one 

hour of individual supervision. 

3. The supervised experience shall be completed in not less 

than 12 months and not more than 60 months. 

a. Supervisees who began a supervised experience before 

February 19, 2020, shall complete the supervised 

experience by February 19, 2025. 

b. An individual who does not complete the supervised 

experience within 60 months may request an extension 

and shall submit evidence to the board demonstrating the 

extenuating circumstances that prevented completion of 

the supervised experience within the required timeframe. 

4. Supervised experience obtained more than 10 years from 

(February 19, 2020, shall not be accepted for certification by 

examination. The board may make an exception for an 

applicant who has been providing substance abuse 

counseling for a minimum of 2,000 hours within the past 60 

months and who can submit evidence of such experience. 

5. During the supervised experience, supervisees shall use 

their names and the title "supervisee" in all written 

communications. Clients shall be informed in writing of the 

supervisee's status and the supervisor's name, professional 

address, and phone number. Supervisees shall not directly 

bill for their services or represent themselves as independent 

or autonomous practitioners. 

6. The supervised experience shall consist of 160 hours of 

experience performing the following tasks with substance 

abuse clients. Each of the following tasks shall be performed 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPetition.cfm?petitionId=327
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter35/section54.1-3507.1/
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for at least eight hours under supervision as verified by the 

supervisor on an application for certification: 

a. Screening clients to determine eligibility and 

appropriateness for admission to a particular program; 

b. Intake of clients by performing the administrative and 

initial assessment tasks necessary for admission to a 

program; 

c. Orientation of new clients to program's rules, goals, 

procedures, services, costs, and the rights of the client; 

d. Assessment of client's strengths, weaknesses, problems, 

and needs for the development of a treatment plan; 

e. Treatment planning with the client to identify and rank 

problems to be addressed, establish goals, and agree on 

treatment processes; 

f. Counseling the client utilizing specialized skills in both 

individual and group approaches to achieve treatment 

goals and objectives; 

g. Case management activities that bring services, 

agencies, people, and resources together in a planned 

framework of action to achieve established goals; 

h. Crisis intervention responses to a client's needs during 

acute mental, emotional, or physical distress; 

i. Education of clients by providing information about 

drug abuse and available services and resources; 

j. Referral of clients in order to meet identified needs 

unable to be met by the counselor and assisting the client 

in effectively utilizing those resources; 

k. Reporting and charting information about a client's 

assessment, treatment plan, progress, discharge 

summaries, and other client-related data; and 

l. Consultation with other professionals to assure 

comprehensive quality care for the client. 

C. Supervisor qualifications. A board-approved clinical 

supervisor shall hold an active, unrestricted license or 

certification and shall be: 

1. A licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner; 

2. A licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical 

psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, licensed 

marriage and family therapist, medical doctor, or registered 

nurse who has either: 

a. A board-recognized national certification in substance 

abuse counseling obtained by standards substantially 

equivalent to those set forth in this chapter; 

b. A certification as a substance abuse counselor issued by 

this board; or 

c. A minimum of one year of experience in substance 

abuse counseling and at least 100 hours of didactic 

training covering the areas outlined in 18VAC115-30-50 

B 2 a through 2 m; or 

3. A substance abuse counselor certified by the Virginia 

Board of Counseling who has two years of experience as a 

Virginia board-certified substance abuse counselor. 

D. Supervisor training. In order to be approved by the board 

after February 19, 2021, a clinical supervisor shall obtain 

professional training in supervision consisting of three credit 

hours or four quarter hours in graduate-level coursework in 

supervision or at least 20 hours of continuing education in 

supervision offered by a provider approved under 18VAC115-

30-50. 

E. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervisors shall assume responsibility for the 

professional activities of the supervisee under their 

supervision. 

2. Supervisors shall not provide supervision for activities for 

which supervisees have not had appropriate education. 

3. Supervisors shall provide supervision only for those 

substance abuse counseling services that they are qualified 

to render. 

4. At the time of the application for certification by 

examination, the board-approved supervisor shall document 

minimal competencies in the areas in 18VAC115-30-60 B 6, 

the total hours of supervision, and any needs for additional 

supervision or training. The supervisor shall document 

successful completion of the applicant's supervised 

experience on the Verification of Supervision Form and 

shall maintain documentation for five years post 

supervision. 

5. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

supervisee compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited. 

18VAC115-30-140. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. 

B. Persons certified by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare. 

2. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes. 

3. Practice only within the competency area for which they 

are qualified by training or experience. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of certified 

substance abuse counselors or certified substance abuse 

counseling assistants. 
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5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. Make appropriate consultations and referrals based 

on the best interest of clients. 

6. Stay abreast of new developments, concepts, and practices 

that are necessary to providing appropriate services. 

7. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the client 

is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making arrangements for the 

continuation of treatment for clients when necessary, 

following termination of a counseling relationship. 

8. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful. 

9. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

10. Practice under supervision as specified in § 54.1-3507.1 

of the Code of Virginia. Substance abuse counselors shall 

not directly bill for services rendered, or in any way 

represent themselves as independent, autonomous 

practitioners. 

C. In regard to client records, persons certified by the board 

shall: 

1. Disclose counseling records to others only in accordance 

with applicable law. 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality. 

3. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from the 

client or the client's legally authorized representative before 

(i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third-

party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 

and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations. 

4. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic records for each client, to include counseling 

dates and identifying information to substantiate the 

substance abuse counseling plan, client progress, and 

termination. 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

counseling relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years); 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client or the client's 

legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons certified by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in dual relationships with clients, former 

clients, supervisees, and supervisors that are harmful to the 

client's or supervisee's well-being or that would impair the 

substance abuse counselor's, substance abuse counseling 

assistant's, or supervisor's objectivity and professional 

judgment or increase the risk of client or supervisee 

exploitation. This prohibition includes such activities as 

counseling close friends, former sexual partners, employees, 

or relatives or engaging in business relationships with 

clients. 

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or romantic relationships 

with current clients or supervisees. For at least five years 

after cessation or termination of professional services, 

certified substance abuse counselors and certified substance 

abuse counseling assistants shall not engage in sexual 

intimacies or romantic relationships with a client or those 

included in collateral therapeutic services. Because sexual or 

romantic relationships are potentially exploitative, certified 

substance abuse counselors and certified substance abuse 

counseling assistants shall bear the burden of demonstrating 

that there has been no exploitation. A client's consent to, 

initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior or 

involvement with a certified substance abuse counselor or 

certified substance abuse counseling assistants does not 

change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory 

prohibition. 

3. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

obligations, responsibilities, and loyalties to third parties. 

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons certified by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the 

Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-

2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6684; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:20 p.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology (amending 18VAC125-20-10, 

18VAC125-20-150, 18VAC125-20-160). 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 10  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 3, 2022  

883 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 17, 2022 - noon - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Conference Center, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: March 4, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Psychology the authority to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system. The Psychological 

Interjurisdictional Compact is created by § 54.1-3606.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The amendments to 18VAC125-20-150 and 

18VAC125-20-160 are essential to ensure that psychologists 

who are clinically practicing on patients or clients in Virginia 

are accountable for the same standards of care as psychologists 

who hold a Virginia license. Otherwise, psychological services 

for Virginia citizens by persons practicing through the compact 

would potentially be harmful to their health, safety, or welfare. 

Substance: Amendments add definitions consistent with the 

compact and revise the standards of practice and the grounds 

for disciplinary action to ensure that they cover persons 

practicing with an E.Passport or temporary authorization to 

practice in Virginia through the compact. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is assurance that 

psychologists practicing in Virginia through the Psychology 

Interjurisdictional Compact will be held to the same standards 

of conduct as Virginia licensees; there are no disadvantages to 

the public. There are no specific advantages or disadvantages 

to the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Commonwealth adopted the Psychology Interjurisdictional 

Compact (Compact) through Chapter 1162 of the 2020 Acts of 

the Assembly (Chapter 1162).1 The Compact is an interstate 

agreement designed to facilitate the practice of telepsychology2 

and the temporary in-person, face-to-face practice of 

psychology across state boundaries.3 Pursuant to Chapter 

1162, an emergency regulation became effective on January 3, 

2021, to help enable Virginia's participation in the Compact.4  

The emergency regulation will expire on July 2, 2022. Also 

pursuant to the legislation, the Board of Psychology (Board) 

proposes to replace the emergency regulation with an identical 

permanent regulation. 

Background. 

Legislation, Commission, and Rules. Chapter 1162 defines 

"Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact Commission 

(Commission)" as "the national administration of which all 

Compact States are members." Chapter 1162 essentially 

consists of the standard statutory language provided by the 

Commission for states joining the Compact to adopt. The 

legislation defines "Rule" as "a written statement by the 

Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact Commission" that is 

of general applicability, implements, interprets, or prescribes a 

policy or provision of the Compact, or an organizational, 

procedural, or practice requirement of the Commission and has 

the force and effect of statutory law in a Compact State 

(emphasis added). 

As described in the Compact, an E.Passport allows a 

psychologist to practice telepsychology in other Compact 

states, and an interjurisdictional practice certificate (IPC) 

allows him or her to provide in-person psychological services 

for up to 30 days per calendar year in another Compact state. 

Note: psychologists licensed in Virginia can practice 

telepsychology in the Commonwealth without obtaining an 

E.Passport.5 

In order to qualify and obtain an E.Passport to provide 

telepsychology services in other Compact states, the 

Commission's rules state that a psychologist must:6 

• Have a current active psychology license based on a 

doctoral degree in at least one Compact state; 

• Have no disciplinary action listed on any psychology 

license; 

• Have a doctoral degree in psychology from an accredited 

program7;  

• Have a score on the Examination for Professional 

Practice in Psychology that meets or exceeds the 

established Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards' recommended passing score; and  

• Pay the $400 E.Passport application fee. 

In order to renew the E.Passport annually, the psychologist 

must demonstrate three hours of continuing education relevant 

to the use of technology in psychology and pay a $100 renewal 

fee. 

The Commission's rules also state that in order to be granted 

an IPC, the psychologist must (with one exception) meet the 

same non-fee requirements needed for the E.Passport.8 The one 

exception is that there is no Examination for Professional 

Practice in Psychology score requirement. The application fee 

for IPC is $200. The annual renewal fee for the IPC is $50 and 

there is no continuing education requirement. 

Participating States. The following states and the District of 

Columbia are current participants in the Compact: Alabama, 

Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, 

Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New 

Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, 

Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and West Virginia. 

Arkansas, Kansas, and Maine have enacted legislation to join 
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the Compact and will begin participation in the coming 

months. 

Numbers of Participating Psychologists.9 As of August 3, 

2021, there were 3,452 psychologists who had an active 

E.Passport throughout the Compact states, which allows them 

to practice telepsychology in any Compact state, including 

Virginia.10 As of August 3, 2021, there were 110 psychologists 

who had an active IPC, allowing them to practice for up to 30 

days per calendar year in person temporarily in any Compact 

state.11 

Regulation. The Board proposes to amend the Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Psychology to: 1) state that the 

standards of practice apply to persons practicing in Virginia 

with an E.Passport or an IPC as well as persons directly 

licensed by the Board, 2) state that the causes for which the 

Board may take disciplinary action against a licensee also 

apply to authorization to practice in Virginia with an 

E.Passport or an IPC, and 3) add definitions. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments to 

the regulation are necessary for Virginia's participation in the 

Compact. The Commonwealth's participation in the Compact 

appears to be beneficial for Virginia consumers of 

psychological services in that it increases the number of 

qualified psychologists available to provide these services. 

This may moderately reduce the difficulty some Virginians 

may have finding mental health services. 

The Commonwealth's participation in the Compact can also be 

potentially beneficial for Virginia psychologists who are 

interested in adding patients, because they could legally 

provide services to potential patients in any Compact state 

rather than just Virginia. According to a July 2020 report (the 

most recent available) from the Virginia Healthcare Workforce 

Data Center, two percent of Virginia's licensed clinical 

psychologists reported experiencing unemployment within the 

past year.12 By greatly increasing the population of potential 

patients that can be legally served, participation in the Compact 

facilitated by the proposed amendments may help reduce 

unemployment for Virginia-licensed psychologists. On the 

other hand, psychologists licensed in other Compact states can 

provide psychological services to Virginians with the 

Commonwealth's participation in the Compact. This potential 

increase in competition in providing psychological services 

may limit any positive impact on unemployment. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The 4,130 clinical 

psychologists and 29 applied psychologists licensed in 

Virginia,13 employers of psychologists, and consumers of 

psychological services are all potentially affected. According 

to survey data from the July 2020 Virginia Healthcare 

Workforce Data Center report, the primary types of employers 

of clinical psychologists in the Commonwealth are distributed 

as follows: 14 

Establishment Type Percentage 

Private Practice, Solo 24% 

Private Practice, Group 24% 

Academic Institution (Teaching Health 

Professions Students) 

9% 

Mental Health Facility, Outpatient 7% 

Hospital, General 7% 

Hospital, Psychiatric 4% 

Community-Based Clinic or Health Center 4% 

School (Providing Care to Clients) 4% 

Community Services Board 2% 

Administrative or Regulatory 2% 

Corrections/Jail 2% 

Physician Office 1% 

Residential Mental Health/Substance Abuse 

Facility 

1% 

Rehabilitation Facility 1% 

Long-Term Care Facility, Nursing Home 1% 

Other Practice Setting 8% 

Similar data is not available for applied psychologists.  

Small Businesses15 Affected.  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposed amendments, which facilitate participation in the 

Compact, affect small businesses that employ licensed 

psychologists. No data are available on the number of small 

businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. For those small businesses that 

employ psychologists, the proposed amendments, which 

enable Virginia's participation in the Compact, increase the 

potential supply of labor. With more potential qualified 

employees to choose from, these firms may be able to employ 

psychologists at lower cost. 

Participation in the Compact also increases the potential 

number of clients that businesses that provide psychological 

services may serve. Conversely, participation in the Compact 

introduces potential competition from firms in other Compact 

states that provide psychological services. Due to these 
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countervailing factors, some small businesses that provide 

psychological services may in net increase their number of 

clients, while others may encounter decreased net business. 

Most would not likely be substantively affected. If there are 

small firms that encounter reduced net demand for their 

psychological services due Virginia's Compact participation 

that is not outweighed by potential reduction in labor cost, 

these small firms would be determined to receive adverse 

impact16 from the proposed amendments. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities17 Affected.18 All Virginians, regardless of location 

within the Commonwealth, could potentially choose to receive 

psychological services from a psychologist licensed in another 

Compact state. Nevertheless, it may be more likely in practice 

that residents of localities near the border of neighboring states 

or the District of Columbia hear recommendations for 

psychologists licensed in the nearby jurisdiction but not in the 

Commonwealth. Similarly, Virginia-licensed psychologists 

who practice near the border may be more likely to be 

recommended to potential clients in neighboring states. All 

states bordering Virginia, as well as the District of Columbia, 

are participants in the Compact. Thus, localities on or near 

Virginia's borders with other states and the District of 

Columbia may be particularly affected. Likewise, Virginians 

living in medically underserved areas, which are 

predominately rural, may also benefit from improved access.19  

The proposed amendments do not appear to introduce costs for 

local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. As discussed earlier the 

proposed amendments enable the Commonwealth's 

participation in the Compact, which greatly increases the 

population of patients who may be legally served by Virginia-

licensed psychologists, but also allows psychologists licensed 

in other Compact states to serve Virginia patients. The former 

may have a positive impact on employment for Virginia 

psychologists, while latter may have a negative impact. 

Information is not available to determine the net impact. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. For those 

businesses that employ psychologists, the proposed 

amendments, which enable Virginia's participation in the 

Compact, increase the potential supply of labor. With more 

potential qualified employees to choose from, these firms may 

be able to find more productive or less costly people to hire. 

Also, participation in the Compact increases the potential 

number of clients that businesses that provide psychological 

services may serve. These two factors may moderately increase 

the value of some businesses. On the other hand, participation 

in the Compact introduces potential competition from firms in 

other Compact states that provide psychological services, 

which may have a moderate negative impact on the value of 

some firms. 

The proposed amendments do not appear to affect real estate 

development costs. 

____________________________________________ 
1See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP1162 
2Chapter 1162 defines telepsychology as "the provision of psychological 

services using telecommunication technologies." 

3See https://psypact.site-ym.com/page/About 

4See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9019 
5See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/psychology/guidelines/125-7.docx 

6Technically to provide telepsychology services in other Compact states the 
psychologist must also obtain "Authority to Practice Interjurisdictional 

Telepsychology" by: 1) possessing an active E.Passport, 2) holding a full, 

unrestricted license in a Compact state, 3) providing attestations in regard to 
areas of intended practice, conformity with standards of practice, competence 

in telepsychology technology; criminal background; and knowledge and 

adherence to legal requirements in the home and receiving states, and 4) paying 

a one-time $40 fee. 

7See the following website for specifics on what qualifies as an accredited 

program: https://psypact.site-ym.com/page/PracticeUnderPSYPACT 
8Technically to provide in-person psychological services for up to 30 days per 

calendar year in another Compact state the psychologist must also obtain 

"Temporary Authority to Practice" by: 1) possessing an active IPC, 2) holding 
a full, unrestricted license in a Compact state, 3) providing attestations in 

regard to areas of intended practice and work experience, and 4) paying a one-

time $40 fee. 
9Data source: Department of Health Professions 

10Technically "Authority to Practice Interjurisdictional Telepsychology" is 

also needed. See footnote 6 for more detail. 
11Technically, "Temporary Authority to Practice" is also needed. See footnote 

8 for more detail. 
12See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/ 

0810CP2020.pdf 

13Data source: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2021Q3/04Current 

LicenseCountQ3FY2021.pdf 
14See footnote 12. 

15Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
16Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
17"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
18§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

19See https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/health-equity/shortage-designations-and-

maps/  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Psychology concurs with the economic impact analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Chapter 1162 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly mandates 

membership of the Commonwealth of Virginia in the 

Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact and requires the 

Board of Psychology to promulgate regulations to 

implement the provisions. The proposed amendments add 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP1162
https://psypact.site-ym.com/page/About
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9019
https://psypact.site-ym.com/page/PracticeUnderPSYPACT
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0810CP2020.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0810CP2020.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2021Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2021.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2021Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2021.pdf
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/health-equity/shortage-designations-and-maps/
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/health-equity/shortage-designations-and-maps/
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definitions consistent with the compact and revise the 

standards of practice and the grounds for disciplinary action 

to cover persons practicing with an E.Passport or temporary 

authorization to practice in Virginia through the compact. 

18VAC125-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, in addition to the words and 

terms defined in § §§ 54.1-3600 and 54.1-3606.2 of the Code 

of Virginia, when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"APA" means the American Psychological Association. 

"APPIC" means the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral 

and Internship Centers. 

"ASPPB" means the Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Psychology. 

"CAEP" means Council for the Accreditation of Educator 

Preparation. 

"Compact" means the Psychology Interjurisdictional 

Compact. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"CPA" means Canadian Psychological Association. 

"Demonstrable areas of competence" means those therapeutic 

and assessment methods and techniques for the populations 

served and for which one can document adequate graduate 

training, workshops, or appropriate supervised experience. 

"E.Passport" means a certificate issued by ASPPB that 

authorizes telepsychology services in a compact state. 

"Face-to-face" means in person. 

"Intern" means an individual who is enrolled in a professional 

psychology program internship. 

"Internship" means an ongoing, supervised, and organized 

practical experience obtained in an integrated training program 

identified as a psychology internship. Other supervised 

experience or on-the-job training does not constitute an 

internship. 

"IPC" means an interjurisdictional practice certificate issued 

by ASPPB that grants temporary authority to practice in a 

compact state. 

"NASP" means the National Association of School 

Psychologists. 

"Practicum" means the pre-internship clinical experience that 

is part of a graduate educational program. 

"Practicum student" means an individual who is enrolled in a 

professional psychology program and is receiving pre-

internship training and seeing clients. 

"Professional psychology program" means an integrated 

program of doctoral study in clinical or counseling psychology 

or a master's degree or higher program in school psychology 

designed to train professional psychologists to deliver services 

in psychology. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the six regional 

accrediting agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education established to accredit senior institutions of higher 

education. 

"Residency" means a post-internship, post-terminal degree, 

supervised experience approved by the board. 

"Resident" means an individual who has received a doctoral 

degree in a clinical or counseling psychology program or a 

master's degree or higher in school psychology and is 

completing a board-approved residency. 

"School psychologist-limited" means a person licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-3606 of the Code of Virginia to provide 

school psychology services solely in public school divisions. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual 

consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to the 

skills and competencies of the person supervised. 

"Supervisor" means an individual who assumes responsibility 

for the education and training activities of a person under 

supervision and for the care of such person's clients and who 

provides supervision consistent with the training and 

experience of both the supervisor and the person under 

supervision and with the type of services being provided. 

18VAC125-20-150. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Psychologists 

respect the rights, dignity, and worth of all people and are 

mindful of individual differences. Regardless of the delivery 

method, whether face-to-face or by use of technology, these 

standards shall apply to the practice of psychology. 

B. Persons regulated by the board and persons practicing in 

Virginia with an E.Passport or an IPC shall: 

1. Provide and supervise only those services and use only 

those techniques for which they are qualified by education, 

training, and appropriate experience; 

2. Delegate to persons under their supervision only those 

responsibilities such persons can be expected to perform 

competently by education, training, and experience; 

3. Maintain current competency in the areas of practices 

through continuing education, consultation, or other 
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procedures consistent with current standards of scientific 

and professional knowledge; 

4. Accurately represent their areas of competence, 

education, training, experience, professional affiliations, 

credentials, and published findings to ensure that such 

statements are neither fraudulent nor misleading; 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. Make appropriate consultations and referrals 

consistent with the law and based on the interest of patients 

or clients; 

6. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which their 

personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or harmful 

services; 

7. Avoid harming, exploiting, misusing influence, or 

misleading patients or clients, research participants, 

students, and others for whom they provide professional 

services and minimize harm when it is foreseeable and 

unavoidable; 

8. Not engage in, direct, or facilitate torture, which is defined 

as any act by which severe pain or suffering, whether 

physical or mental, is intentionally inflicted on a person, or 

in any other cruel, inhuman, or degrading behavior that 

causes harm; 

9. Withdraw from, avoid, adjust, or clarify conflicting roles 

with due regard for the best interest of the affected party and 

maximal compliance with these standards; 

10. Make arrangements for another professional to deal with 

emergency needs of clients during periods of foreseeable 

absences from professional availability and provide for 

continuity of care when services must be terminated; 

11. Conduct financial responsibilities to clients in an ethical 

and honest manner by: 

a. Informing clients of fees for professional services and 

billing arrangements as soon as is feasible; 

b. Informing clients prior to the use of collection agencies 

or legal measures to collect fees and provide opportunity 

for prompt payment; 

c. Obtaining written consent for fees that deviate from the 

practitioner's usual and customary fees for services; 

d. Participating in bartering only if it is not clinically 

contraindicated and is not exploitative; and 

e. Not obtaining, attempting to obtain, or cooperating with 

others in obtaining payment for services by 

misrepresenting services provided, dates of service, or 

status of treatment.; 

12. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes; 

13. Construct, maintain, administer, interpret, and report 

testing and diagnostic services in a manner and for purposes 

that are current and appropriate; 

14. Design, conduct, and report research in accordance with 

recognized standards of scientific competence and research 

ethics. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-

162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 

consent from patients prior to involving them as participants 

in human research, with the exception of retrospective chart 

reviews; 

15. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of psychology; 

16. Accurately inform a client or a client's legally authorized 

representative of the client's diagnoses, prognosis, and 

intended treatment or plan of care. A psychologist shall 

present information about the risks and benefits of the 

recommended treatments in understandable terms and 

encourage participation in the decisions regarding the 

patient's care. When obtaining informed consent treatment 

for which generally recognized techniques and procedures 

have not been established, a psychologist shall inform clients 

of the developing nature of the treatment, the potential risks 

involved, alternative treatments that may be available, and 

the voluntary nature of their participation; 

17. Clearly document at the outset of service delivery what 

party the psychologist considers to be the client and what, if 

any, responsibilities the psychologist has to all related 

parties; 

18. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, document 

efforts to coordinate care; 

19. Document the reasons for and steps taken if it becomes 

necessary to terminate a therapeutic relationship (e.g., when 

it becomes clear that the client is not benefiting from the 

relationship or when the psychologist feels endangered). 

Document assistance provided in making arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, if necessary, 

following termination of a therapeutic relationship; and 

20. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to confidentiality, persons regulated by the board 

shall: 

1. Keep confidential their professional relationships with 

patients or clients and disclose client information to others 

only with written consent except as required or permitted by 

law. Psychologists shall inform clients of legal limits to 

confidentiality; 

2. Protect the confidentiality in the usage of client 

information and clinical materials by obtaining informed 

consent from the client or the client's legally authorized 
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representative before (i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, 

(iii) permitting third party observation, or (iv) using clinical 

information in teaching, writing, or public presentations; and 

3. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A disclosure that is 

required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the 

control of the practitioner shall not be considered negligent 

or willful. 

D. In regard to client records, persons regulated by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic records for each client. For a psychologist 

practicing in an institutional setting, the recordkeeping shall 

follow the policies of the institution or public facility. For a 

psychologist practicing in a noninstitutional setting, the 

record shall include: 

a. The name of the client and other identifying 

information; 

b. The presenting problem, purpose, or diagnosis; 

c. Documentation of the fee arrangement; 

d. The date and clinical summary of each service provided; 

e. Any test results, including raw data, or other evaluative 

results obtained; 

f. Notation and results of formal consults with other 

providers; and 

g. Any releases by the client; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality and dispose of written, 

electronic, and other records in such a manner as to ensure 

their confidentiality; and 

3. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the last date of service, with 

the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining 18 years of age; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred pursuant to § 54.1-

2405 of the Code of Virginia pertaining to closure, sale, or 

change of location of one's practice. 

E. In regard to dual relationships, persons regulated by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a person under 

supervision that could impair professional judgment or 

increase the risk of exploitation or harm. Psychologists shall 

take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic relationship 

with a student, supervisee, resident, intern, therapy patient, 

client, or those included in collateral therapeutic services 

(such as a parent, spouse, or significant other of the client) 

while providing professional services. For at least five years 

after cessation or termination of professional services, not 

engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic relationship with 

a therapy patient, client, or those included in collateral 

therapeutic services. Consent to, initiation of, or 

participation in sexual behavior or romantic involvement 

with a psychologist does not change the exploitative nature 

of the conduct nor lift the prohibition. Because sexual or 

romantic relationships are potentially exploitative, 

psychologists shall bear the burden of demonstrating that 

there has been no exploitation, based on factors such as 

duration of therapy, amount of time since therapy, 

termination circumstances, client's personal history and 

mental status, and adverse impact on the client; 

3. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former client 

in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm or if 

the former client continues to relate to the psychologist in 

his professional capacity; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

F. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons licensed by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the 

Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-

2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC125-20-160. Grounds for disciplinary action or 

denial of licensure. 

The board may take disciplinary action or deny a license or 

registration or authorization to practice in Virginia with an 

E.Passport or an IPC for any of the following causes: 

1. Conviction of a felony, or a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude (i.e., relating to lying, cheating, or stealing); 

2. Procuring or attempting to procure or maintaining a 

license or registration by fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting practice in such a manner so as to make it a 

danger to the health and welfare of clients or to the public; 

4. Engaging in intentional or negligent conduct that causes 

or is likely to cause injury to a client; 

5. Performing functions outside areas of competency; 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 10  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 3, 2022  

889 

6. Demonstrating an inability to practice psychology with 

reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness or 

substance misuse, or as a result of any mental, emotional, or 

physical condition; 

7. Failing to comply with the continuing education 

requirements set forth in this chapter; 

8. Violating or aiding and abetting another to violate any 

statute applicable to the practice of the profession, including 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia relating to health 

records; 

9. Knowingly allowing persons under supervision to 

jeopardize client safety or provide care to clients outside of 

such person's scope of practice or area of responsibility; 

10. Performing an act or making statements that are likely to 

deceive, defraud, or harm the public; 

11. Having a disciplinary action taken against a health or 

mental health license, certification, registration, or 

application in Virginia or other jurisdiction or surrendering 

such a license, certification, or registration in lieu of 

disciplinary action; 

12. Failing to cooperate with an employee of the Department 

of Health Professions in the conduct of an investigation; 

13. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia, or abuse of 

aged and incapacitated adults as required in § 63.2-1606 of 

the Code of Virginia; or 

14. Violating any provisions of this chapter, including 

practice standards set forth in 18VAC125-20-150. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6421; Filed December 10, 2021, 11:20 a.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 14, 2022 - 10:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 4, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Social Work the authority to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The regulatory change is intended to reduce the 

burden on supervisors of persons who are gaining experience 

necessary to become licensed clinical social workers by 

lowering the number of continuing education requirements 

needed every five years. The purpose of this regulatory change 

is to protect the public health and safety in the clinical practice 

of social work by ensuring that licensed clinical social workers 

who are responsible for supervisees and the clients they serve 

are appropriately trained and knowledgeable. 

Substance: The board proposes amending 18VAC140-20-50 B 

2 to reduce the number of continuing education hours 

necessary for a supervisor of licensed clinical social workers 

to obtain from 14 hours within five years immediately 

preceding registration of supervision to seven hours every five 

years. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is that persons seeking 

supervisors for clinical experience in order to become licensed 

in Virginia may find a greater supply of supervisors if the 

continuing education requirements are less burdensome and 

expensive; there are no disadvantages to the public. There are 

no specific advantages or disadvantages to the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to reduce the required 

number of hours of continuing education (CE) in supervision 

that must be completed by supervisors of persons who are 

gaining experience necessary to become licensed clinical 

social workers (LCSWs). 

Background. In order to gain licensure, clinical social workers 

must have supervised experience. In order for someone to 

qualify to provide such supervision, that person must hold an 

active, unrestricted license as a clinical social worker with at 

least two years of post-licensure clinical social work 

experience and have completed professional training in 

supervision. After such initial professional training in 

supervision, every five years the person must complete CE in 

supervision. The current regulation requires 14 hours of such 

CE every five years. The Board proposes to lower the required 

number of hours to seven. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The National Association of 

Social Workers Virginia (NASWVA) offers a variety of 

courses to meet the training requirements for supervisors. The 

Foundation of Supervision (14-hour course) is recommended 

for first-time supervisors. Then NASWVA offers several 

seven-hour courses to expand the participant's evidence-based 

knowledge of best practices in supervision. Reducing the 

requirement to seven hours within a five-year period would 

allow a supervisor to take relevant courses without repetition. 

Additionally, the Board believes that seven hours of CE in 

supervision is sufficient for continuing competency in 

supervision. 

As stated, supervisors must hold an active, unrestricted license 

as clinical social worker. In order to renew such a license the 
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supervisor must complete 30 hours of CE every two years. CE 

in supervision does count toward the required 30 hours of CE. 

Thus, reducing the required number of hours of CE specifically 

in supervision does not affect the total number of hours of 

required CE but does allow the supervisory LCSW to spend 

more of that supervisor's CE hours on topics the supervisor 

may find more personally productive. 

Additionally, though the proposed amendment does not 

effectively reduce the total number of required CE hours, it 

may allow the licensee to obtain seven hours of the required 

CE every five years at a lower cost. While the Board accepts 

coursework offered by other approved providers as listed in 

18VAC140-20-105,1 according to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) NASWVA is most commonly used as the 

source for CE in supervision. Other known courses on 

supervision are offered by community services boards, the 

Association of Social Work Boards, or schools of social work.2 

A seven-hour credit course with NASWVA costs $151.25 for 

members and $192.50 for nonmembers.3 Thus, the proposed 

reduction in required CE hours in supervision could save 

supervisors some or all of that amount in dollars depending on 

if they substituted a lower-cost means of obtaining the seven 

hours or a no-dollar-cost method.4  

According to DHP, there is a need for more LCSWs to serve 

as clinical supervisors, and there is a strong need for more 

licensees. Reducing the cost of continuing to be a supervisor 

may encourage more LCSWs to become or remain supervisors. 

This would be beneficial in that more supervisors would help 

more LCSW candidates obtain the supervised experience they 

need to become licensed. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment affects the 184 LCSWs registered to provide 

supervision to supervisees in clinical social work,5 providers of 

CE in supervision, LCSW candidates who are seeking 

registered supervisors, and entities that employ social workers. 

According to survey data from a July 2020 report (the most 

recent available) from the Virginia Healthcare Workforce Data 

Center,6 the primary employers of LCSWs in the 

Commonwealth are distributed as follows: 

Establishment Type Percentage 

Private Practice, Solo 16% 

Private Practice, Group 13% 

Mental Health Facility, Outpatient 13% 

Community Services Board 10% 

School (Providing Care to Clients) 7% 

Hospital, General 7% 

Community-Based Clinic or Health Center 7% 

Hospital, Psychiatric 3% 

Residential Mental Health/Substance 

Abuse Facility 

2% 

Administrative or Regulatory 2% 

Academic Institution (Teaching Health 

Professions Students) 

2% 

Other Practice Setting 17% 

Categorized by sector, the report presents the types of 

employers of LCSWs in Virginia as follows: 

Sector Percentage 

For-Profit 48% 

Non-Profit 21% 

State/Local Government 22% 

Veterans Administration 4% 

U.S. Military 3% 

Other Federal Government 1% 

The proposed amendment would likely lead to reduced 

revenue for providers of CE in supervision. Adverse impact is 

indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in net 

revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for 

all entities combined. Thus, an adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

While NASWVA is most commonly used as the source for 

continuing education in supervision, according to DHP there 

are private companies approved to provide CE, including in 

supervision. The agency is not aware of the specific number of 

such firms and how many are small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment would 

likely moderately reduce revenue for small businesses that 

provide CE in supervision. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities8 Affected.9 Local governments that are having 

difficulty finding enough qualified LCSWs to employ may be 

particularly affected by the proposed amendment in that it may 

result in a moderate increase in the supply of LCSWs. The 
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proposed amendment does not appear to introduce costs for 

local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed reduction in 

required supervision CE hours may encourage more LCSWs to 

become or remain supervisors. This may in turn allow more 

LCSW candidates to obtain the supervised experienced they 

need to become licensed. Hence, the proposal may moderately 

increase the supply of LCSWs, leading to a modest increase in 

the employment of LCSWs. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. As discussed, 

the proposed amendment may lead to a moderate increase in 

the supply of LCSWs. This may moderately reduce the cost to 

firms of hiring social workers, which may in turn have a small 

positive impact on their value. As also discussed, the proposed 

amendment would likely lead to some reduced revenue for 

providers of CE in supervision. This could have a small 

negative impact on their value. 

The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_______________________________________________ 
1See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency140/chapter20/ 

section105/ 
2Source: DHP 

3Source: DHP 
4Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 

offered by federal, state or local social service agencies, public school systems, 

or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals would count for CE. Some 
of these could potentially be offered free of charge. Various other entities may 

also offer CE if approved by specified organizations. Some of this CE could 

also be free of charge. 

5Data source: DHP 

6See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/ 

0904LCSW2020.pdf 
7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
9§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Social Work concurs with the economic impact analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments reduce the number of continuing 

education (CE) hours necessary to continue being approved 

as a supervisor, retaining the requirement for 14 hours of 

CE for the initial registration of supervision but changing to 

seven hours of CE relating to provision of supervision every 

five years thereafter.  

18VAC140-20-50. Experience requirements for a licensed 

clinical social worker. 

A. Supervised experience. Supervised post-master's degree 

experience without prior written board approval will not be 

accepted toward licensure, except supervision obtained in 

another United States jurisdiction may be accepted if it met the 

requirements of that jurisdiction. Prior to registration for 

supervised experience, a person shall satisfactorily complete 

the educational requirements of 18VAC140-20-49. 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain 

supervised post-master's degree experience in Virginia shall, 

prior to the onset of such supervision, or whenever there is 

an addition or change of a supervisor: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board; 

b. Submit a copy of a supervisory contract completed by 

the supervisor and the supervisee; 

c. Submit an official transcript documenting a graduate 

degree and clinical practicum as specified in 18VAC140-

20-49; and 

d. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 

18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Hours. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of 

3,000 hours of supervised post-master's degree experience in 

the delivery of clinical social work services and in ancillary 

services that support such delivery. A minimum of one hour 

and a maximum of four hours of face-to-face supervision 

shall be provided per 40 hours of work experience for a total 

of at least 100 hours. No more than 50 of the 100 hours may 

be obtained in group supervision, nor shall there be more 

than six persons being supervised in a group unless approved 

in advance by the board. The board may consider 

alternatives to face-to-face supervision if the applicant can 

demonstrate an undue burden due to hardship, disability, or 

geography. 

a. Supervised experience shall be acquired in no less than 

two nor more than four consecutive years. 

b. Supervisees shall obtain throughout their hours of 

supervision a minimum of 1,380 hours of supervised 

experience in face-to-face client contact in the delivery of 

clinical social work services. The remaining hours may be 

spent in ancillary services supporting the delivery of 

clinical social work services. 

3. An individual who does not complete the supervision 

requirement after four consecutive years of supervised 

experience may request an extension of up to 12 months. The 

request for an extension shall include evidence that 

demonstrates extenuating circumstances that prevented 

completion of the supervised experience within four 

consecutive years. 

B. Requirements for supervisors. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency140/chapter20/section105/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency140/chapter20/section105/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0904LCSW2020.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0904LCSW2020.pdf
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1. The supervisor shall hold an active, unrestricted license as 

a licensed clinical social worker in the jurisdiction in which 

the clinical services are being rendered with at least two 

years of post-licensure clinical social work experience. The 

board may consider supervisors with commensurate 

qualifications if the applicant can demonstrate an undue 

burden due to geography or disability or if supervision was 

obtained in another United States jurisdiction. 

2. The supervisor shall have received professional training 

in supervision, consisting of a three credit-hour graduate 

course in supervision or at least 14 hours of continuing 

education offered by a provider approved under 18VAC140-

20-105. The After the initial graduate course or 14 hours of 

continuing education in supervision, at least seven hours of 

continuing education in supervision shall be obtained by a 

supervisor within five years immediately preceding 

registration of supervision. 

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a family 

member or provide supervision for anyone with whom he 

has a dual relationship. 

4. The board may consider supervisors from jurisdictions 

outside of Virginia who provided clinical social work 

supervision if they have commensurate qualifications but 

were either (i) not licensed because their jurisdiction did not 

require licensure or (ii) were not designated as clinical social 

workers because the jurisdiction did not require such 

designation. 

C. Responsibilities of supervisors. The supervisor shall: 

1. Be responsible for the social work activities of the 

supervisee as set forth in this subsection once the 

supervisory arrangement is accepted; 

2. Review and approve the diagnostic assessment and 

treatment plan of a representative sample of the clients 

assigned to the applicant during the course of supervision. 

The sample should be representative of the variables of 

gender, age, diagnosis, length of treatment, and treatment 

method within the client population seen by the applicant. It 

is the applicant's responsibility to assure the 

representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 

supervisor; 

3. Provide supervision only for those social work activities 

for which the supervisor has determined the applicant is 

competent to provide to clients; 

4. Provide supervision only for those activities for which the 

supervisor is qualified by education, training, and 

experience; 

5. Evaluate the supervisee's knowledge and document 

minimal competencies in the areas of an identified theory 

base, application of a differential diagnosis, establishing and 

monitoring a treatment plan, development and appropriate 

use of the professional relationship, assessing the client for 

risk of imminent danger, understanding the requirements of 

law for reporting any harm or risk of harm to self or others, 

and implementing a professional and ethical relationship 

with clients; 

6. Be available to the applicant on a regularly scheduled 

basis for supervision; 

7. Maintain documentation, for five years post-supervision, 

of which clients were the subject of supervision; and 

8. Ensure that the board is notified of any change in 

supervision or if supervision has ended or been terminated 

by the supervisor. 

D. Responsibilities of supervisees. 

1. Supervisees may not directly bill for services rendered or 

in any way represent themselves as independent, 

autonomous practitioners, or licensed clinical social 

workers. 

2. During the supervised experience, supervisees shall use 

their names and the initials of their degree, and the title 

"Supervisee in Social Work" in all written communications. 

3. Clients shall be informed in writing of the supervisee's 

status and the supervisor's name, professional address, and 

phone number. 

4. Supervisees shall not supervise the provision of clinical 

social work services provided by another person. 

5. While providing clinical social work services, a 

supervisee shall remain under board approved supervision 

until licensed in Virginia as a licensed clinical social worker. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6721; Filed December 3, 2021, 12:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-200. Vegetation Control 

Regulations on State Rights-of-Way (amending 24VAC30-

200-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 

1401 East Broad Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
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telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 225-4700, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Department of Transportation (VDOT), through the 

Commissioner of Highways and Commonwealth 

Transportation Board, has the authority to promulgate this 

regulation pursuant to § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia, 

which gives the board the power and duty to make regulations 

that are not in conflict with the laws of the Commonwealth for 

the protection of and covering traffic on and for the use of 

systems of state highways. Section 33.2-1221 B 3 of the Code 

of Virginia authorizes the department to issue and charge fees 

for pruning permits. 

Purpose: Upon conducting a periodic review of the regulation, 

it was determined that the inconsistency between the 

requirements for cutting and pruning in front of businesses and 

in front of outdoor advertising made enforcement unequal. 

VDOT has also determined through surveying VDOT roadside 

managers that the less than two-inch diameter limitation for 

cutting and pruning vegetation in front of businesses is too 

restrictive and is impractical in many cases due to the rate of 

vegetation growth. Therefore, VDOT contends that the 

regulation should be amended to allow the equal treatment and 

regulation of both outdoor advertising signs and businesses. 

Allowing businesses to be more visible increases the number 

of potential consumers that can see those businesses, 

increasing the economic transactions for the business, 

benefiting public welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

action is considered noncontroversial because it provides equal 

enforcement between vegetation control in front of businesses 

and outdoor advertising. Allowing businesses to be more 

visible from highways increases the potential for customers to 

see the businesses, which businesses support. The requirement 

that any vegetation cut be replaced remains in the regulation, 

which should satisfy those persons concerned with the 

environmental impacts of cutting vegetation. 

Substance: In 24VAC30-200-20 B, the restriction on cutting 

vegetation in front of businesses will be amended from trunks 

two inches in diameter to trunks six inches in diameter, and the 

restriction on pruning vegetation in front of businesses will be 

amended from limbs two inches in diameter to limbs four 

inches in diameter. 

Issues: One advantage to the public of the proposed 

amendments is allowing businesses to be more visible from 

highways increasing the potential for customers to see the 

businesses. There is no disadvantage to the public. The 

advantage to the Commonwealth is more consistent rules 

between businesses and outdoor advertising leads to simpler 

enforcement procedures. There is no disadvantage to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a 2019 periodic review,1 the Commonwealth 

Transportation Board (Board) proposes to allow cutting of 

larger trees (trunk base diameters of less than six inches vs. two 

inches) and pruning of larger branches (pruning of limbs up to 

four inches in diameter vs. two inches) to make a business 

more visible from a highway. 

Background. The Virginia Department of Transportation 

(VDOT) or its contractors are authorized to cut or prune 

vegetation that may obscure off-premises business signage 

(almost exclusively billboards under this regulation) along 

highways and also vegetation that may obscure businesses that 

are visible from any VDOT maintained highway; these 

practices are referred to as "daylighting." Currently, to make a 

billboard more visible from a highway trees up to six inches in 

diameter and branches up to four inches in diameter may be 

cleared. However, businesses are only allowed to cut trees or 

branches that are less than two inches in diameter. VDOT has 

determined that the regulation currently treats business-related 

vegetation removal differently than that of outdoor advertising 

signs, thus treating the regulation of outdoor advertising signs 

and businesses unequally. As a result, the Board proposes to 

allow businesses to also use the less restrictive cutting and 

pruning standards currently used for outdoor advertising. 

VDOT will maintain the requirements for replacing cut 

vegetation under a landscape plan. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Increasing the diameter of trees 

and branches that can be cleared to daylight a business location 

from two inches to six inches for trunk base and to four inches 

for branches can spark new interest from owners of businesses 

alongside the roadways. According to VDOT, the current two 

inch-diameter standard for trunk bases as well as the branches 

makes it impractical in many cases to undertake any such effort 

due to rate of vegetation growth. Thus, an increase in permit 

applications for daylighting a business may be expected. There 

were six permits issued by VDOT in 2020 to daylight 

businesses. However, unlike daylighting billboards, which is 

exclusively handled by VDOT, VDOT delegates its authority 

to localities for activities pertaining to daylighting businesses 

in cities. Therefore, it is likely there were more than six 

business daylighting projects permitted in 2020, but VDOT 

does not have those statistics. 

The main benefit of the proposed change is allowing 

businesses to make their business frontage more visible from 

the roadway if they are interested in doing so. VDOT states 

that daylighting a business is unlikely to distract drivers, in part 

because a landscape plan will still be required. However, 

VDOT notes that any cutting and pruning would still require 

setting up a road-work zone and may create the usual work 

road hazard to drivers in that area while the work is being done. 

Given that the current two-inch diameter standard makes 

daylighting impractical in some instances, the new standard 

may result in an increase in road-work zones to the extent that 

it encourages new daylighting activity. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed changes 

apply to any business wishing to improve their visibility from 
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a highway. There were six permits issued by VDOT in 2020 to 

daylight a business location. However, localities are delegated 

authority to issue permits to daylight businesses as well, but 

information on permits issued by localities is lacking. No 

adverse impact2 on businesses is indicated. 

Small Businesses3 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed changes could potentially 

lead to an increase in applications being received by localities, 

especially cities, to daylight a business location. Localities are 

authorized to collect $400 per permit application. Assuming 

that the permit fee is sufficient to cover administrative costs of 

the locality, no adverse impact on localities is expected. The 

proposed regulation does not introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes 

could lead to an increase in tree clearing and landscaping work 

and demand for such labor, but it does not appear that it would 

significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

changes would allow more visibility from highways if a 

business is interested in daylighting its location. Increased 

visibility could lead to name recognition, more sales, and 

higher asset value. The proposed amendments do not appear to 

directly affect real estate development costs. 

__________________________________________ 
1https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1847 
2Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

agrees with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow cutting of larger trees (trunk base 

diameters of less than six inches) and pruning of larger 

branches (pruning of limbs up to four inches in diameter) to 

make a business more visible from a highway. 

24VAC30-200-20. General provisions. 

A. Permits will be issued by the department to control 

vegetation in front of a sign/structure sign or structure that is 

not exempt from the provisions of § 33.2-1204 of the Code of 

Virginia or business that is visible from any highway as 

defined in § 33.2-1200 of the Code of Virginia and regulated 

by the territorial limitations as defined in § 33.2-1202 of the 

Code of Virginia provided the vegetation control work meets 

the criteria set forth in § 33.2-1221 and this chapter. An 

application may be filed with the Commissioner of Highways 

by an agent, including but not limited to companies that trim 

trees. In all other areas the local government official shall issue 

the permits. 

B. All cutting to make an outdoor advertising structure more 

visible from the roadway shall be limited to vegetation with 

trunk base diameters of less than six inches. All cutting to make 

a business more visible from the roadway shall be limited to 

vegetation with trunk base diameters of less than two six 

inches. All stumps shall be treated with a cut-stump pesticide 

applied by a licensed pesticide applicator with a license issued 

by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services in Category 6. All pesticides shall be approved by the 

department or local government official prior to use. Selective 

thinning in accordance with specifications or removal of 

unsightly vegetation will be allowed on an individual basis to 

enhance the health and growth of the best trees or to eliminate 

roadway hazards if recommended by the certified arborist 

supervising the work and agreed to by the department or local 

government official. Trees that are diseased, damaged by 

insects, unsightly, or that pose a safety hazard may be removed 

when recommended by the certified arborist supervising the 

work and approved by the department or local government 

official. When tree removal is recommended by the certified 

arborist and approved by this permit, the permittee shall 

provide a list of suitable trees and shrubs and a landscape plan 

to replace vegetation removed to the inspector or local 

government official for review and approval prior to issuance 

of the permit. The certified arborist and the department or local 

government official shall agree on size and species of 

replacement vegetation. The permittee shall plant, at his the 

permittee's expense, all replacement vegetation at the locations 

shown on the landscape plan in accordance with the 

specifications. The establishment period for replacement 

vegetation shall be in accordance with § 605.05 of the 

specifications. No pruning of vegetation to make an outdoor 

advertising sign more visible from the roadway will be 

permitted if the cut at the point of pruning will exceed four 

inches in diameter. No pruning of vegetation to make a 

business more visible from the roadway will be permitted if the 

cut at the point of pruning will exceed two four inches in 

diameter. No leader branches shall be cut off in such a manner 

as to retard the normal upright growth of the tree unless 

recommended by the certified arborist and approved by the 

department or local government official. All trees and brush 

removed shall be cut at ground level. Dogwood or other small 

flowering trees on the site shall not be removed. The use of 

climbing irons or spurs is positively forbidden in any tree. 

C. When daylighting signs, every effort shall be made to form 

a picture frame around the sign with remaining vegetation so 

as to accent the beauty of the surrounding roadside. A picture 

frame effect shall be achieved by leaving vegetation in place 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1847
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that will cover the sign structure supports below the face as 

seen from the main-traveled way. 

D. A permit must be obtained from the department or local 

government official prior to any vegetation control work on the 

state's rights-of-way. All work shall be performed by the 

permittee at his expense, including permit and inspection fees. 

E. A violation of this chapter shall, in addition to penalties 

provided in § 33.2-1229 of the Code of Virginia, result in a 

permittee or its agent or both losing its vegetation control 

permit privilege for five years. Additionally, the bond amount 

used to secure the permit will be used for any reparations to the 

site. Inadvertent violations of this permit will require 

replacement on a four-to-one basis with other suitable small 

trees approved by the department or local government official 

to enhance the roadside beauty. The department or local 

government official shall have full authority to determine 

specie and size of all replacement vegetation if inadvertent 

cutting occurs. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6261; Filed December 2, 2021, 4:02 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Titles of Documents: Chart on Delegable Duties to Dental 

Assistants. 

Guidance on Sedation Inspections and Permits. 

Policy on Recovery of Disciplinary Costs. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Guidelines for Mentor Teacher Programs 

for Beginning and Experienced Teachers. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Joan Johnson, Assistant Superintendent for 

Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education, 

101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-2522, or email joan.johnson@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Guidelines for Use of Undesignated Stock 

Albuterol in Schools. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Regulatory and Legal 

Coordinator, Department of Education, James Monroe 

Building, 25th Floor, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Titles of Documents: Agreed-Upon Procedures for Certified 

Public Accountant Attestation Instruction Manual. 

Job Creation Grant Instruction Manual. 

Real Property Investment Grant Instruction Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: DD Waivers - Grid of Compatible and 

Incompatible Services. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy and Research, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

6043, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Title of Document: Continuing Education Audit. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6051_20211210.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6051_20211210.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6052_20211210.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6050_20211210.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6040_20211207.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6040_20211207.pdf
mailto:joan.johnson@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6048_20211209.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6048_20211209.pdf
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_6044_20211207.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_6044_20211207.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_6042_20211207.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_6043_20211207.pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6047_20211208.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6047_20211208.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6046_20211208.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Child and Family Services Manual, 

Chapter E, Foster Care. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Nikki Clarke Callaghan, Legislation, 

Regulations and Guidance Manager, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7943, or email 

nikki.clarke@dss.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Child and Family Services Manual, 

Chapter F, Adoption. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room 

1507, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, or 

email karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Title of Document: Director's Determination for New Solid 

Waste Management Facility Permits and Modifications for 

Expansions and Increases in Capacity. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kathryn Perszyk, Land Protection and 

Revitalization Division Director, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4047, or email 

kathryn.perszyk@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Local Water Quality Protections for 

Nonpoint Source Nutrient Credit Use for Regulated Land 

Disturbing Activities. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Sara Felker, Nonpoint Source Trading 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4203, or email 

sara.felker@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6037_20211202.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6037_20211202.pdf
mailto:nikki.clarke@dss.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6036_20211202.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6036_20211202.pdf
mailto:karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_6045_20211207.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_6045_20211207.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_6045_20211207.pdf
mailto:Kathryn.Perszyk@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_6049_20211210.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_6049_20211210.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_6049_20211210.pdf
mailto:sara.felker@deq.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Sweet Sue Solar Center Withdrawal of Notice of 
Intent for Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - 

King William County 

Sweet Sue Solar Center has withdrawn the notice of intent to 

submit the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a 

small renewable energy project (solar) pursuant to 9VAC15-

60. The original notice of intent was published in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations on March 12, 2021. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Two Oaks Solar Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -Louisa County 

Two Oaks Solar has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Louisa County. Two Oaks 

Solar will be located in in the community of Mineral in Louisa 

County to the north of Davis Highway and in between 

Chalklevel and Chopping Roads. Latitude 38.035399°; 

Longitude -77.944230°. The project will be constructed on 

1,234 acres of property and produce 118 megawatts using 

approximately 350,520 panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Announcement of Intent to Amend the Virginia State 
Plan for Medical Assistance Pursuant to 
§ 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act 

(USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Clinical Trials 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 42 USC 

§ 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for public 

review from the contact listed at the end of the notice. 

This notice is available for public review on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall on the General Notices page at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80) 

The state plan is being revised to include reimbursement for 

coverage for routine patient costs furnished in connection with 

a member's participation in a qualifying clinical trial in 

accordance with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) State Medicaid Director (SMD) letter #21-

005. Per the SMD letter, DMAS will cover any item or service 

provided to the individual under the qualifying clinical trial, 

including any item or service provided to prevent, diagnose, 

monitor, or treat complications resulting from participation in 

the qualifying clinical trial, to the extent that the provision of 

such items or services to the beneficiary would otherwise be 

covered outside the course of participation in the qualifying 

clinical trial under the state plan or waiver, including a 

demonstration project under § 1115 of the Social Security Act. 

Such routine services and costs also include any item or service 

required to administer the investigational item or service. 

Costs for these changes are indeterminate at this time. 

However, DMAS does not anticipate a change in total annual 

expenditures. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Comment on Proposed Regulations for 
Pharmaceutical Processors 

In accordance with § 54.1-3442.6 N of the Code of Virginia, 

the Board of Pharmacy is providing an opportunity to comment 

on a draft of proposed regulation for pharmaceutical processors 

that will be considered for adoption as an exempt action. 

The proposed regulation addresses access to data in order to 

determine eligibility to enter a pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility (18VAC110-60-210) and labeling 

of dispensed cannabis products (18VAC110-60-310). 

Section 54.1-3442 N requires posting of a notice 60 days in 

advance of submittals for public comment. The Board of 

Pharmacy is scheduled to meet on March 15, 2022, with the 

intent of adopting amendments to Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors (18VAC110-60) by exempt action. 

The board will receive public comment from January 3, 2022, 

to March 4, 2022. Comments received during that period will 

be included in the board's agenda package for the March 

meeting. 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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Comments may be sent to Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Proposed amendments to Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors (18VAC110-60) 

18VAC110-60-210. General provisions. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall only sell cannabis products in a child-resistant, secure, 

and light-resistant container. Upon a written request from the 

registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent, 

the product may be dispensed in a non-child-resistant container 

so long as all labeling is maintained with the product. 

B. Only a pharmacist may dispense cannabis products to 

registered patients or parents or legal guardians of patients who 

are minors or incapacitated adults and who are registered with 

the board, or to a registered agent. A pharmacy technician who 

meets the requirements of 18VAC110-60-170 C may assist, 

under the direct supervision of a pharmacist, in the dispensing 

and selling of cannabis products. 

C. The PIC, pharmacist, responsible party, or person who is 

qualified to provide supervision in accordance with 

18VAC110-60-170 on duty shall restrict access to the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility to: 

1. A person whose responsibilities necessitate access to the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility and 

then for only as long as necessary to perform the person's job 

duties; or 

2. A person who is a registered patient, parent, legal 

guardian, registered agent, or a companion of the patient, in 

which case such person shall not be permitted behind the 

service counter or in other areas where Cannabis plants, 

extracts, or cannabis products are stored. 

D. A pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or an employee of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility who 

has routine access to confidential patient data and who has 

signed a patient data confidentiality agreement with the 

processor or dispensing facility, may determine eligibility for 

access to the processor or facility by verifying through a 

verification source recognized by the board, that the 

registration of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent is current. 

E. All pharmacists and pharmacy technicians shall at all times 

while at the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility have their current license or registration available for 

inspection by the board or the board's agent. 

E. F. While inside the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility, all employees shall wear name tags or 

similar forms of identification that clearly identify them, 

including their position at the pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility. 

F. G. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall be open for registered patients, parents, legal 

guardians, or registered agents to purchase cannabis products 

for a minimum of 35 hours a week, except as otherwise 

authorized by the board. 

G. H. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility that closes the dispensing area during its normal hours 

of operation shall implement procedures to notify registered 

patients, parents, legal guardians, and registered agents of 

when the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility will resume normal hours of operation. Such 

procedures may include telephone system messages and 

conspicuously posted signs. If the cultivation, production, or 

dispensing area of the pharmaceutical processor or if a 

cannabis dispensing facility is or will be closed during its 

normal hours of operation for longer than two business days, 

the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall immediately notify the board. 

H. I. A pharmacist shall counsel registered patients, parents, 

legal guardians, and registered agents, if applicable, regarding 

the use of cannabis products. Such counseling shall include 

information related to safe techniques for proper use and 

storage of cannabis products and for disposal of the products 

in a manner that renders them nonrecoverable. 

I. J. The pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall establish, implement, and adhere to a written 

alcohol-free, drug-free, and smoke-free work place policy that 

shall be available to the board or the board's agent upon 

request. 

18VAC110-60-310. Dispensing of cannabis products. 

A. A pharmacist in good faith may dispense cannabis 

products to any registered patient, parent, or legal guardian as 

indicated on the written certification or to a registered agent for 

a specific patient. 

1. Prior to the initial dispensing of cannabis products 

pursuant to each written certification, the pharmacist or 

pharmacy technician at the location of the pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall view in 

person or by audiovisual means a current photo 

identification of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent. The pharmacist or pharmacy technician 

shall verify in the Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program 

of the Department of Health Professions or other program 

recognized by the board that the registrations are current, the 

written certification has not expired, and the date and 

quantity of the last dispensing of cannabis products to the 

registered patient. 

2. A pharmacist or pharmacy technician employed by the 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall make a paper 

or electronic copy of the current written certification that 

provides an exact image of the document that is clearly 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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legible and shall maintain it on site or by electronic means 

for two years. 

3. Prior to any subsequent dispensing, the pharmacist or 

pharmacy technician shall verify that the written 

certification on file has not expired. An employee or delivery 

agent shall view a current photo identification and current 

registration of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent and shall maintain record of such viewing 

in accordance with policies and procedures of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility. 

B. A pharmacist may dispense a portion of a registered 

patient's 90-day supply of cannabis product. The pharmacist 

may dispense the remaining portion of the 90-day supply of 

cannabis products at any time except that no registered patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent shall receive more 

than a 90-day supply of cannabis products for a patient in a 90-

day period from any pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility may dispense more than one cannabis 

product to a patient at one time. However, no more than four 

ounces of botanical cannabis shall be dispensed for each 30-

day period for which botanical cannabis is dispensed. In 

determining the appropriate amount of cannabis product to be 

dispensed to a patient, a pharmacist shall consider all cannabis 

products dispensed and adjust the amount dispensed 

accordingly. 

C. A dispensing record shall be maintained for three years 

from the date of dispensing, and the pharmacist or pharmacy 

technician under the direct supervision of the pharmacist shall 

affix a label to the container of cannabis product that contains: 

1. A serial number assigned to the dispensing of the product; 

2. The brand name of cannabis product that was registered 

with the board pursuant to 18VAC110-60-285 and its 

strength; 

3. The serial number assigned to the product during 

production; 

4. The date of dispensing the cannabis product; 

5. The quantity of cannabis products dispensed; 

6. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 

including: 

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

c. Cannabidiol (CBD); and 

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA); 

For botanical cannabis products, only the total cannabidiol 

(CBD) and total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) are required; 

7. A pass rating based on the laboratory's microbiological, 

mycotoxins, heavy metals, residual solvents, pesticide 

chemical residue analysis, and for botanical cannabis, the 

water activity and moisture content analysis; 

8. The name and registration number of the registered 

patient; 

9. The name and registration number of the certifying 

practitioner; 

10. Directions for use as may be included in the practitioner's 

written certification or otherwise provided by the 

practitioner; 

11. For botanical cannabis, the amount recommended by the 

practitioner or dispensing pharmacist; 

12. The name or initials of the dispensing pharmacist; 

13. Name, address, and telephone number of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

14. Any necessary cautionary statement; and 

15. A prominently printed expiration date based on stability 

testing and the pharmaceutical processor's or cannabis 

dispensing facility's recommended conditions of use and 

storage that can be read and understood by the ordinary 

individual; and 

16. The pharmaceutical processor's or cannabis dispensing 

facility's recommended conditions of use and storage that 

can be read and understood by the ordinary individual. 

D. The label shall be exempt from containing the items listed 

in subdivisions 6, 7 and 15 of subsection C if the items are 

included on the batch label as required in 18VAC110-60-290 

and are clearly visible to the patient. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label cannabis 

products as "organic" unless the Cannabis plants have been 

organically grown and the cannabis oil products have been 

produced, processed, manufactured, and certified to be 

consistent with organic standards in compliance with 7 CFR 

Part 205. 

E. F. The cannabis products shall be dispensed in child-

resistant packaging, except as provided in 18VAC110-60-210 

A. A package shall be deemed child-resistant if it satisfies the 

standard for "special packaging" as set forth in the Poison 

Prevention Packaging Act of 1970 Regulations, 16 CFR 

1700.1(b)(4). 

F. G. No person except a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician 

operating under the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall 

alter, deface, or remove any label so affixed. 

G. H. A pharmacist shall be responsible for verifying the 

accuracy of the dispensed product in all respects prior to 

dispensing and shall document that each verification has been 

performed. 

H. I. A pharmacist shall document a registered patient's self-

assessment of the effects of cannabis products in treating the 
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registered patient's diagnosed condition or disease or the 

symptoms thereof. If the authorization for botanical cannabis 

for a minor is communicated verbally or in writing to the 

pharmacist at the time of dispensing, the pharmacist shall also 

document such authorization. A pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility shall maintain such documentation 

in writing or electronically for three years from the date of 

dispensing and such documentation shall be made available in 

accordance with regulation. 

I. J. A pharmacist shall exercise professional judgment to 

determine whether to dispense cannabis products to a 

registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent if 

the pharmacist suspects that dispensing cannabis products to 

the registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent may have negative health or safety consequences for the 

registered patient or the public. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 

300 Richmond, 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Hampton Roads 
Marine Services Inc. t/a Coastal Services 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Hampton Roads 

Marine Services Inc. t/a Coastal Services, for violations of the 

State Water Control Law and regulations related to a discharge 

of oily wastewater at Steamboat Creek located in Norfolk, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 647-

8060, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for PM Properties 
Inc. c/o CrossAmerica Partners 

An enforcement action has been proposed for CrossAmerica 

Partners for violations at the VA0118 Store, located at 2231 

West Beverley Street, in the City of Staunton, Virginia. The 

State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order 

with penalty to PM Properties Inc. c/o CrossAmerica Partners 

to address noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept 

comments by email, fax, or postal mail from January 3, 2022, 

to February 2, 2022. 

Contact Information: Eric Millard, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 

Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 

22801, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481 Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations. 

Publication: 37:25 VA.R. 3795-3877 August 2, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3855, 12VAC5-481-1760, subdivision 1, line 4, after 

"subdivision" change "4" to "3" 

Page 3861, 12VAC5-481-1980, subdivision 1, line 4, after "in" 

change "subdivisions" to "subdivision" and after "(7)" remove 

"and 3" 

Page 3864, 12VAC5-481-2001, subdivision 3, line 2, after 

"NRC" insert "and" and line 5, after "section;" remove "and" 

Page 3865, 12VAC5-481-2016 C, line 1, after "must" change 

"return" to "retain" 

Page 3867, 12VAC5-481-2040 A 1, line 4, after "subdivision" 

change "3" to "4" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6434; Filed December 21, 2021, 5:26 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




