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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 
the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 
Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 
process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 
emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 
enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 
Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 
noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 
the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 
through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Leslie 

L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; 

Don L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. 

Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2022 through May 2023 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

39:6 October 19, 2022 November 7, 2022 

39:7 November 2, 2022 November 21, 2022 

39:8 November 14, 2022 (Monday) December 5, 2022 

39:9 November 30, 2022 December 19, 2022 

39:10 December 14, 2022 January 2, 2023 

39:11 December 27, 2022 (Tuesday) January 16, 2023 

39:12 January 11, 2023 January 30, 2023 

39:13 January 25, 2023 February 13, 2023 

39:14 February 8, 2023 February 27, 2023 

39:15 February 22, 2023 March 13, 2023 

39:16 March 8, 2023 March 27, 2023 

39:17 March 22, 2023 April 10, 2023 

39:18 April 5, 2023 April 24, 2023 

39:19 April 19, 2023 May 8, 2023 

39:20 May 3, 2023 May 22, 2023 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3474 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Michael Schultz. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Physical Therapy amend its regulations to (i) prohibit 

physical therapists and physical therapy assistants from refusing 

to provide physical therapy to patients or prospective patients if 

those individuals or their accompanying representatives refuse to 

wear masks; (ii) prohibit physical therapists and physical therapy 

assistants from enforcing any requirements for patients, 

prospective patients, or patient representatives to wear masks to 

receive physical therapy, including when following policies of 

insurers or organizations or when following guidance issued by 

the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, local health 

departments, or the Virginia Department of Health; (iii) prohibit 

physical therapists and physical therapy assistants from refusing 

to provide physical therapy to any patient or prospective patient 

based on the vaccination status of the patient or patient 

representative for any COVID-19 vaccine or for any other vaccine 

under Emergency Use Authorization status or full approval status 

by the Food and Drug Administration; (iv) prohibit physical 

therapists and physical therapy assistants from refusing to provide 

physical therapy to any patient or prospective patient who refuses 

to disclose whether they have received any vaccine, including any 

COVID-19 vaccine; and (v) institute a specific complaint and 

disciplinary procedure under the regulations of the Board of 

Physical Therapy for any conduct prohibited by clauses (i) 

through (iv). 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on April 25, 2022. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

will open on April 25, 2022, and close on May 25, 2022. The 

board will consider the petition and all comments in support or 

opposition at the next meeting after the close of public 

comment, August 9, 2022. The petitioner will be notified of the 

board's decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 25, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, or email 

ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-30; Filed April 6, 2022, 11:55 a.m. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Amber J. Lee. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Veterinary Medicine amend 18VAC150-20-121, 

which provides requirements for licensure by endorsement of 

veterinary technicians, to remove subdivision 2 of 18VAC150-

20-121 in order to accommodate technicians from other 

jurisdictions who may have been out of the workforce for an 

extended period of time. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on April 25, 2022. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall to receive 

public comment, which will open on April 25, 2022, and close 

on May 25, 2022. The board will consider the petition and all 

comments in support or opposition at the next meeting after the 

close of public comment, June 28, 2022. The petitioner will be 

notified of the board's decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 25, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-29; Filed March 24, 2022, 9:07 a.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/
mailto:ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-71, Regulations 

Governing the Discharge of Sewage and Other Wastes 

from Boats. The review will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose 

of this review is to determine whether this regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 

the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins April 25, 2022, and ends May 

16, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Anthony Cario, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 814-

7774. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-200, Water 

Withdrawal Reporting. The review will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins April 25, 2022, and ends May 

16, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Ryan Green, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4258. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 12VAC30-5, Public Participation 

Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The department is publishing its 

report of findings dated March 30, 2022, to support this 

decision. 

The primary advantage of the regulation is to promote public 

involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 

DMAS regulations. The regulation is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare in that it allows 

public participation in the process of Medicaid regulations. The 

regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 

DMAS is recommending no changes in the regulation because 

the regulation remains essential and has no negative impact. 

The regulation is not anticipated to have an adverse impact on 

small businesses. 

Contact Information: Jimeequa Williams, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Division of Policy, Regulation, and Member 

Engagement, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

3508. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 12VAC30-95, Standards Established and 

Methods Used for Fee-For-Service Reimbursement, and 
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determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 

form. The department is publishing its report of findings dated 

March 30, 2022, to support this decision. 

The primary advantage of the regulation is to promote timely 

claims filing. The regulation is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare in that it follows federal 

regulatory requirements. Compliance with these requirements 

is essential if DMAS is to continue collecting the federal match 

for Medicaid funding. The regulation is clearly written and 

easily understandable. 

DMAS is recommending no changes in this regulation because 

the regulation remains essential and has no negative impact. 

By establishing timely filing guidelines, providers are ensured 

an efficient and effective mechanism for the reimbursement of 

a bill or a line item for services, medications, or devices. 

The regulation is not likely to create any costs or other effects 

on small businesses and the regulation is not anticipated to 

have an adverse impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Jimeequa Williams, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Division of Policy, Regulation, and Member 

Engagement, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

3508. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 12VAC30-100, State Programs, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 

form. The department is publishing its report of findings dated 

March 29, 2022, to support this decision. 

The primary advantage of the regulation is to reimburse health 

care providers for services provided to indigent persons that 

might not otherwise be reimbursed. The regulation is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare in that 

the regulation allows health care providers to continue to offer 

services to indigent persons. The regulation is clearly written 

and easily understandable. 

DMAS is recommending no changes in this regulation as the 

regulation remains essential and has no negative impact. 

The regulation is not anticipated to have an adverse impact on 

small businesses. 

Contact Information: Jimeequa Williams, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Division of Policy, Regulation, and Member 

Engagement, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

3508. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 12VAC30-150, Uninsured Medical Catastrophe 

Fund, and determined that this regulation should be retained 

in its current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated March 30, 2022, to support this decision. 

The primary advantage of the Uninsured Medical Catastrophe 

Fund (UMCF) is that the fund provides some uninsured 

Virginians the ability to afford medical treatments for 

medically catastrophic illnesses that they otherwise may not 

have been able to receive. The advantage to the agency and the 

Commonwealth is that the regulation specifies patient criteria, 

service coverage requirements and limitations, and 

reimbursement requirements necessary to administer these 

public funds. The regulation is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare in that it creates the UMCF 

program. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

DMAS is recommending no changes in this regulation as it 

remains essential and has no negative impacts. 

The regulation is not anticipated to have an adverse impact on 

small businesses. 

Contact Information: Jimeequa Williams, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Division of Policy, Regulation, and Member 

Engagement, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

3508. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 12VAC35-46, Regulations for 

Children's Residential Facilities. The review will be guided 

by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 

2018). The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins April 25, 2022, and ends May 

16, 2022. 
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Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank 

Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

2252. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-110, Regulations for the 

Immunization of School Children. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to update the regulation to include additional 

vaccine requirements to adhere to the minimum immunization 

requirements specified in § 32.1-46 of the Code of Virginia 

pursuant to Chapter 1223 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. 

Section 32.1-46 C provides that amendments to 12VAC5-110 

by the State Board of Health shall be exempt from the 

requirements of Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of the 

Administrative Process Act. However, the board shall provide 

this Notice of Intended Regulatory Action and provide for a 

60-day public comment period prior to adoption of the 

regulations.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-271.2, 32.1-12, and 32.1-46 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 24, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, 101 North 14th 

Street, 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7298, or email epi-comments@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7086; Filed April 6, 2022, 10:47 a.m. 
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TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-100. Regulations for Capitol 

Square (adding 1VAC30-100-15 through 1VAC30-100-90; 

repealing 1VAC30-100-10). 

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1144 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 25, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Executive Administrative 

Assistant, Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, 

Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, 

FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish standards for the use of Capitol 

Square, including (i) acceptance, processing, review, and 

disposition of permit applications for events on Capitol 

Square; (ii) requirements for when a permit is necessary for 

use of Capitol Square, how to obtain a permit, deadlines for 

submitting permit applications, and permittee 

responsibilities; (iii) a department website address where 

rules for permitted events are available; and (iv) timelines 

for the department to act on permit applications, conditions 

upon which the department can deny an application or 

revoke a permit, and an appeals process for denied 

applications. 

1VAC30-100-10. Regulations for Capitol Square. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The Capitol Square shall be closed to the public from 11 

p.m. each night until 6 a.m. the following morning, except for 

persons attending sessions of the General Assembly, public 

hearings which have not been concluded by 11 p.m. or an 

official function or program which has not adjourned by 11 

p.m., and persons referred to in subsection B.  

B. There shall be no parking of motor vehicles in the Capitol 

Square after 6 p.m. each evening until 6 a.m. the following 

morning, except for official motor vehicles, motor vehicles 

operated by a guest of the Governor, motor vehicles of 

members of the General Assembly, motor vehicles of 

employees of the Commonwealth on official business or motor 

vehicles bearing the official permit of the Division of 

Engineering and Buildings. During the months when daylight 

saving time is in effect, the Capitol Police may permit daylight 

parking after 6 p.m. for short periods of time to accommodate 

visitors and tourists. Parking in Capitol Square between the 

hours of 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. shall be limited to those employees 

of the Commonwealth who are assigned spaces, members of 

the General Assembly, those on official business, and visitors 

to the Capitol Building insofar as available parking will allow 

at the time in the judgment of the Capitol Police.  

C. No parades, processions, assemblages or the displaying of 

flags, banners, or devices designed or adapted to bring into 

public notice any party, organization, or movement shall be 

permitted within Capitol Square except as provided herein.  

D. With the approval of the Governor, the prohibitions set 

forth in subsection C may be suspended by the Director of the 

Division of Engineering and Buildings to permit meetings, 

gatherings, or assemblages if, in his discretion, the general 

enjoyment and use of the Capitol Square is not impaired, if 

freedom of movement of the public is not disrupted, and if the 

welfare, health, and safety of tourists, visitors, and persons 

performing various duties on the premises or traveling thereon 

are not endangered.  

E. Requests for permits for assemblages, meetings, or 

functions by historical, partiotic, or other private groups must 

be in writing, must be submitted to the Director of the Division 

of Engineering and Buildings at least six days prior to the 

requested date, and must contain the following information:  

1. Name of organization, date of origin, status (corporation, 

unincorporated association, partnership, nonprofit 

corporation, etc.) and name and address of registered agent, 

if a corporation.  

2. Name, title within the organization, permanent address, 

occupation, and telephone number of the individual member 

who shall be responsible for the conduct of the meeting or 

function.  

3. Statement as to the approximate number of members and 

other persons who will attend.  

4. Date and specific period of time requested (from.....to.....).  

5. Purpose of meeting or function, to include names and 

titles of speakers, if any.  

F. Except for official functions of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, the vehicular drives within Capitol Square must 

mailto:rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov
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remain open at all times and the pedestrian walk-ways must 

afford reasonable movement of pedestrians at all times.  

G. All nonstate sponsored events, without exception, will be 

conducted at the Bell Tower.  

H. All authorized functions are expected to be concluded 

within approximately one hour and during a time of day that 

will not interfere with major pedestrian and vehicular traffic 

within Capitol Square, with periods such as the beginning of 

the workday, the noon hour, and the close of the workday being 

avoided.  

I. Requests for meetings or functions of organizations may be 

denied if, after proper inquiry, the Director of the Division of 

Engineering and Buildings shall determine that the proposed 

speech (or speeches) or demonstrations will constitute a clear 

and present danger to the orderly processes of state government 

and use of the Capitol grounds by the public as set forth 

because of the advocacy of: (i) the violent overthrow of the 

government of the United States, the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, or any political subdivision thereof; or (ii) the willful 

damage or destruction, or seizure and subversion, of state 

buildings or other property; or (iii) the forcible disruption or 

impairment of or interference with the regularly scheduled 

functions of the Commonwealth; or (iv) the physical harm, 

coercion, intimidation or other invasion of lawful rights of 

officials of the Commonwealth or members of the public; or 

(v) other disorders of a violent nature.  

J. The Director of the Division of Engineering and Buildings 

may refuse authorization for the use of Capitol Square, if he 

has reason to believe that the organization requesting a permit 

is organized, functioning, or conducting business in violation 

of Virginia law.  

K. Authorization for the use of Capitol Square will be set 

forth in a letter addressed to the individual named in subsection 

E 2. Such authorization will automatically include all sections 

set forth above, together with any other specific stipulations or 

procedures that may be necessary at that time.  

L. Violations of this chapter may result in immediate 

revocation of the permit by the Director of the Division of 

Engineering and Buildings or his duly appointed 

representative, and in the event such revocation occurs, all 

participants shall be required by the Capitol Police to leave the 

Capitol Square area forthwith.  

1VAC30-100-15. Purpose.  

A. Virginia's Capitol Square is the Commonwealth's 

executive and legislative center and an architecturally and 

historically significant area located in downtown Richmond. 

The Department of General Services, pursuant to Chapter 11 

(§ 2.2-1100 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia, is 

charged with maintaining and operating the historic Capitol 

Square. Under this authority, the department establishes this 

regulation for use of Capitol Square. 

B. The Department of General Services permits persons, 

organizations, or groups to use Capitol Square grounds for 

various purposes and events when the use will not interfere 

with or disrupt governmental functions. The purpose of this 

regulation is to establish standards for the use of Capitol 

Square as well as the acceptance, processing, review, and 

disposition of permit applications for events on Capitol Square 

to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the public; 

coordinate multiple uses of public grounds; preserve public 

spaces; preserve the aesthetic appearance of historic buildings 

and grounds; preserve the rights of individuals to free 

expression; and protect the Commonwealth from financial 

losses.  

1VAC30-100-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Capitol Police" means the Division of Capitol Police. 

"Capitol Square" means the historic grounds and structures 

surrounding the Virginia Capitol that are bound by a decorative 

iron fence designed by Sabbaton in 1818. 

"Commercial activity" means any activity or action 

undertaken by one or more business entities or individuals, 

whose purpose in whole or in part, directly or indirectly, is to 

derive or realize a present or future financial gain for the 

individuals or business entities. 

"Department" means the Department of General Services.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of General 

Services. 

"Event" means the assemblage on Capitol Square of 10 or 

more persons for any demonstration, rally, march, 

performance, picketing, speechmaking, holding of vigils, sit-

ins, or other activities that involve the communication or 

expression of views or ideas having the effect, intent, or 

propensity to draw a crowd or onlookers. "Event" does not 

include casual use of Capitol Square by visitors or tourists.  

"Government function" means a function sponsored by a 

Commonwealth of Virginia government entity in support of 

the agency's mission.  

"Permit" means a written authorization from the department 

allowing use of Capitol Square as set forth in the permit. A 

permit serves as a reservation to use a portion of Capitol Square 

with the priority for use set forth in this chapter.  

"Permit area" means the area adjacent to the Bell Tower 

where an event speaker or an event programmed activities must 

be located.  

"Permittee" means the individual, group, or entity identified 

in the permit as the holder of the permit. 
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1VAC30-100-30. General regulation requirements.  

A. All events scheduled on Capitol Square must be permitted 

through the department. An Application for Use of Capitol 

Square form must be completed and the application and the 

Rules of Capitol Square must be signed by the individual who 

will be the permittee. For government functions on Capitol 

Square, the government entity must complete and submit an 

Agency Application for Use of Capitol Square to the 

department for approval. The application for each type of event 

can be found at https://dgs.virginia.gov. 

B. Rules for the use of Capitol Square can be found on the 

department's website at https://dgs.virginia.gov.  

C. Capitol Square shall be closed to the public from 9 p.m. 

until 6 a.m. daily, except for the conduct of official 

Commonwealth business. Capitol Square may be closed at any 

time for inclement weather or other necessity, or to protect the 

public from health or safety hazards, in the determination of 

the Governor or department. The Division of Capitol Police 

may close Capitol Square temporarily for law-enforcement 

purposes. The Chief of Police shall immediately notify the 

director or the director's designee if the Capitol Police close 

Capitol Square.  

D. Capitol Square is primarily for the operation and function 

of government and nothing will be permitted that would 

interfere with those functions.  

E. No activities will be permitted that will harm or destroy the 

natural, horticultural, or architectural beauty of or that will 

harm the physical condition or safety of Capitol Square or 

structures on Capitol Square, including the surrounding 

historic fence. 

F. No activities will be permitted that violate Virginia or 

federal law or threaten the health, safety, or welfare of persons 

on Capitol Square.  

G. Commercial activities are not permitted on Capitol Square. 

H. An event is not considered approved until the department 

has issued a permit. 

1VAC30-100-40. Permittee responsibilities.  

A. The permittee and alternate contact for the permit shall be 

at least 18 years of age. 

B. The permittee shall indemnify the Commonwealth of 

Virginia against any loss or damage that may occur in 

connection with the permittee's use of and presence at the 

property. 

C. A permittee shall be required to notify the department of 

any changes to the information contained in the permit 

application as soon as practicable. 

D. A permittee should identify an alternate contact in the 

Application for Use of Capitol Square, and either the permittee 

or alternate contact person must be present during the entire 

activity, including setup and takedown of the event. The permit 

and any authorizations will be suspended if these requirements 

are not met. 

E. A permittee must work directly with the designated 

department coordinator and the Capitol Police regarding setup, 

access, security, logistics, and all other aspects of the planned 

event. An in-person pre-meeting may be required by the 

department to discuss the details of the requested event. 

F. A permittee is responsible for returning the areas used in 

conducting its event to their original condition, including 

removal of any materials and debris connected to the event. 

Any costs incurred by the department to restore the area to its 

original condition will be charged to the permittee. 

G. A permittee shall comply with all federal and Virginia 

laws, and this chapter. 

H. The permittee agrees to notify law enforcement if any 

unlawful activities occur during the permitted event. For 

emergencies, the permittee shall call 911 and the Capitol Police 

emergency number at (804) 786-4357. For nonemergencies, 

the permittee shall call (804) 786-2568. 

1VAC30-100-50. Permit process.  

A. The Governor will have priority over use of Capitol 

Square. 

B. The department may not issue permits for any event in 

Capitol Square coinciding or conflicting with inaugural events, 

including activities associated with inauguration. 

C. Requests for permits generally will be considered on a 

first-come, first-served basis.  

D. Capitol Square is available for permitted events from 

sunrise to sunset daily, subject to the restrictions of 1VAC30-

100-30 C.  

E. Permitted events may last a maximum of one hour, with an 

additional 30 minutes to set up the event and 30 minutes to take 

it down. 

F. No more than one event will be scheduled for the same 

time on the same day. This includes permitted setup and 

takedown time.  

G. Application for a permit shall be made in writing on an 

Application for Use of Capitol Square and submitted to the 

department at least six days prior to the planned event when 

the expected attendance is less than 1,000 individuals. 

Application for events when expected attendance is more than 

1,000 individuals shall be submitted 45 days in advance, except 

as specified in subsection I of this section. 

H. An application for an event must contain, at a minimum, 

the following information:  

1. Type and purpose of event, meeting, or function. 

https://dgs.virginia.gov/
https://dgs.virginia.gov/
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2. Name, address, telephone number, and email address of 

permittee.  

3. Name, address, telephone number, and email address of 

alternate contact.  

4. Name of organization, date of origin, status (e.g., 

corporation, unincorporated association, partnership, or 

nonprofit corporation) and name, address, and telephone 

number, and email address of registered agent if the 

permittee is a corporation or other business entity.  

5. Approximate number of people who will attend the event.  

6. Requested date and time of the event.  

7. Whether the event is being advertised or promoted to the 

general public.  

8. Transportation plan for attendees.  

9. Waste management plan.  

10. Whether the department's sound equipment will be 

needed.  

I. An applicant may request, as part of the application, an 

exception to the six-day or 45-day requirements by providing 

written explanation of the reason such exception should be 

granted by the department, provided:  

1. The applicant submits a completed permit application in 

accordance with this chapter;  

2. The applicant shows in clear and descriptive writing, why 

the circumstances giving rise to the proposed event did not 

reasonably allow the applicant to apply for a permit in 

compliance with the time requirements; and  

3. The event has not been planned for more than six days in 

advance of the proposed date of the event for those with 

fewer than 1,000 attendees or more than 45 days for events 

with more than 1,000 attendees. 

J. The speaker and programmed activities for any permitted 

event must be located within the permit area. 

K. Applications for permits may be submitted up to 180 days 

in advance of the date of the proposed event. The department 

will deny permit applications submitted more than 180 days in 

advance of the date of the proposed event.  

L. Generally, permit requests will be granted or denied within 

five business days. Permit requests for events that are likely to 

require additional department or law enforcement resources 

may take longer to review.  

M. The permit and the rights thereunder are nontransferable 

and may not be assigned to a third party. 

N. Events should not be announced, promoted, or advertised 

until the applicant receives a permit.  

O. Permit applications, issued permits, and supporting 

documentation are subject to release under Virginia's Freedom 

of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

P. All permitted activities on Capitol Square must strictly 

adhere to the times as scheduled to ensure that the activities 

will not conflict with other scheduled and permitted activities.  

Q. The department reserves the right to limit the use of 

Capitol Square at any time due to unforeseen operational 

circumstances, including  emergency maintenance or urgent 

public health or security concerns. Every reasonable effort will 

be made to alleviate the effects of any such limitation.  

R. The department may cancel a scheduled event if the 

location is required for an official government function. In 

such cases, the department will notify the contact person as 

soon as possible, and every reasonable effort will be made to 

allow for rescheduling the event.  

1VAC30-100-60. Permitted events.  

A. All activities shall be performed in compliance with this 

chapter, as well as any federal or Virginia laws. Unlawful 

activity is prohibited.  

B. At no time shall any entrance or exit of any building be 

obstructed in such a way as to impede free access to or from 

the building by its occupants or the public.  

C. No banners, flags, posters, or other objects shall be placed 

on or affixed to Capitol Square grounds or structures.  

D. All event items and materials are to be removed upon 

conclusion of the event. All areas must be returned to their pre-

event condition.  

E. Props, equipment, and other moveable materials that do not 

require power to be used in connection with the event are 

allowed provided that prior notice is given on the application 

and the size, location, and structure of the items conforms to 

the reasonable conditions, limitations, and restrictions 

provided for by the department. The permittee shall bear all 

risk related to the use of any such props, equipment, and other 

moveable materials.  

F. The department reserves the right at all times to 

immediately remove or cause to be removed any and all items 

of display it determines would damage government property, 

inhibit movement, or raise safety issues of the government 

property, attendees, or the public.  

G. Items or props used for the event may not impede normal 

business operations or create safety concerns.  

H. Due to the presence of underground utilities, irrigation, 

and other lines, nothing shall be driven into the ground or 

placed on the grounds anywhere without the location and 

method of placement approved in advance and in writing by 

the department.  
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I. Temporary structures of any kind may not be erected on 

Capitol Square. This includes tents, cabanas, canopies, stages, 

and all other types of covered or enclosed structures, as well as 

tables, stages, projectors, screens, or other structures. 

J. The director reserves the right to require that special 

facilities, such as portable toilet facilities, be provided at the 

permittee's expense.  

K. Sound amplification is permitted; however, the sound must 

not disrupt the orderly business of government bodies and 

agencies located on Capitol Square or unreasonably disturb 

other persons who are visiting Capitol Square. For events with 

fewer than 1,000 attendees, the department, at permittee's 

request, will provide a microphone, podium, and speaker for 

use during the event. All other electric sound amplification 

equipment is prohibited for events with fewer than 1,000 

attendees. For events with more than 1,000 attendees, the 

department will consider the use of amplification equipment 

provided by the permittee. If the department approves use of 

amplification equipment provided by the permittee, the 

department will supply power.  

The permittee shall bear all risk related to the use of any such 

amplification equipment provided by the permittee. 

L. Use of sound systems will be discontinued after the 

permitted event time limit expires.  

M. If the permittee desires to use available department-

provided sound amplification equipment, the equipment will 

be set up by department staff and this setup will not be moved 

or altered by the permittee or other event attendees without the 

express permission of the department.  

N. Activities that create loud or unusual noise or are 

disruptive to the performance of official duties or delivery of 

services may be denied, ceased, or interrupted by the 

department or Capitol Police. 

O. Permittees shall not offer any item for sale, solicit money or 

items of value, or display any form of advertising on Capitol 

Square.  

P. Marches may be permitted into and out of Capitol Square 

provided the march does not disrupt the orderly business of 

government or impede the access by others visiting the grounds or 

buildings of Capitol Square.  

1VAC30-100-70. Denials and revocations.  

A. The department may deny a request for a permit or revoke 

a permit before or during an event upon determination of the 

director or the director's designee that any of the following 

conditions has occurred:  

1. A completed application for an event at the same time 

already has been received from another applicant, and a 

permit has been or will be granted for the event. In such a 

case, an alternate date or time, if available, will be proposed.  

2. Incomplete information, false statements, or 

misrepresentation have been made on the permit application.  

3. Fraud was committed or misrepresentation made in 

obtaining the permit.  

4. The permittee or the alternate contact persons are not 

present for the duration of the event, including during setup 

and takedown times.  

5. The conduct of either the permittee or persons attending 

the event involves a violation of the permit, this chapter, or 

Virginia or federal law. 

6. The number of persons engaged in the event exceeds the 

number of permitted attendees or cannot be safely 

accommodated.  

7. The permittee twice (i) violated the terms of prior permits 

issued to the permittee or (ii) violated applicable law while 

applying for or using a prior permit. In such instances, the 

permittee is banned from obtaining a permit for 18 months 

from the date of the most recent violation.  

8. The Governor's Office will be using all or part of the 

permit area during all or part of the requested time.  

9.The Senate of Virginia or the Virginia House of Delegates 

will be using all or part of the permit area during all or part 

of the requested time for a government function.  

10. The permit applicant has not certified that the applicant 

will comply with this chapter or applicable law.  

11. The permit application is not submitted within the 

required timeframes of six or 45 days, depending on the 

number of planned attendees, or the application submitted 

does not justify an exception to the time requirements. 

12. The permit application was submitted more than 180 

days in advance of the proposed event.  

13. The requested use would cause a clear and present 

danger to the orderly functions of Commonwealth of 

Virginia government or to the use of Capitol Square due to:  

a. Advocacy of the imminent violent overthrow of 

government of the United States or the government of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or any political subdivision 

thereof; 

b. The willful damage or destruction or seizure and 

subversion of public property;  

c. The forcible disruption or impairment of or interference 

with the regularly scheduled functions of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia; 

d. Causing harm to or violating the lawful rights of any 

person; or  

e. Other disorders of a violent nature.  

B. Prior to commencement of the permitted event, the 

department finds it necessary to revoke the permit due to 

previously unknown circumstances.  
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C. During an event, the Capitol Police may require 

discontinuation of the event if activity presents a clear and 

present danger to public safety, good order, or health or for any 

violation of applicable statutes, regulations, rules, or policies.  

1VAC30-100-80. Appeals.  

A. This section and the appeal procedures set forth herein 

shall apply only in cases when a timely and complete permit 

application was filed in accordance with this chapter, and the 

permit was denied. No appeal shall be available if a timely and 

complete permit application was not filed. 

B. If an application is denied, the applicant will be informed 

in writing of any reason for the denial and will be advised that 

the denial may be appealed by written request to the director 

submitted within five business days of receipt of notice of such 

denial. The director may reverse, affirm, or modify the original 

determination. The director's written determination on the 

appeal shall be provided no later than 24 hours prior to the 

requested event time, provided it is received by the department 

at least 48 hours prior to the requested time. 

C. The appeal shall include the name, address, and contact 

information of the applicant; a concise statement of the reason 

the appeal should be granted; and a description of the event for 

which the permit is sought. 

1VAC30-100-90. Violations.  

Violations of this chapter or of any other provision of Virginia 

or federal law shall result in the immediate revocation of the 

permit by the department or discontinuation of the event by the 

department or Capitol Police. In the event such revocation or 

discontinuation occurs, all participants shall immediately leave 

Capitol Square. Remaining in Capitol Square after proper 

notice that the permit has been revoked or the event 

discontinued shall be considered trespass in violation of § 18.2-

119 of the Code of Virginia.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following the 

listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be viewed 

at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (1VAC30-100) 

Official Application for Use of Capitol Square Grounds. 

Agency Application for Use of Capitol Square (filed 8/2021) 

Request to Hold an Event at the Bell Tower (filed 8/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6493; Filed March 28, 2022, 11:03 a.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––– 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 4VAC15-90-10, 4VAC15-90-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 19, 2022 - noon - Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 19, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) extend deer harvest in selected localities to mitigate the spread and impacts of Chronic Wasting 

Disease (CWD) on deer populations in Virginia where CWD has been detected and is spreading and (ii) allow for full season 

either-sex deer hunting on private lands in Page County during the early and late muzzleloader seasons. 

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, including the cities and towns therein, during the following seasons, 

all dates inclusive. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/forms/AGENCY%20APPLICATION%20FOR%20USE%20OF%20CAPITOL%20SQUARE%5b1%5d-20210802141502.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/forms/BellTowerApp%5b1%5d-20210802135858.pdf
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Locality Season 

Accomack County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Albemarle County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Alleghany County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Amelia County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River to 

its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst 

continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 28 consecutive days following 

Amherst County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29, as defined above) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Appomattox County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Arlington County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Arlington County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Augusta County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Bath County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Bedford County (except on national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 28 consecutive days following 

Bedford County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Bland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 25, 2022  

2351 

Botetourt County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Brunswick County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Buchanan County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Buckingham County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Campbell County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Caroline County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Carroll County (private lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 28 consecutive days following 

Carroll County (public lands)  
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Carroll County (private lands and antlerless deer only) 
Sunday following the first Saturday in January through 

the last Sunday in March 

Carroll County (disease focus zones defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Charles City County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Charlotte County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Chesapeake (City of) October 1 through November 30 

Chesterfield County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Clarke County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Clarke County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 
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Craig County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Culpeper County (except Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Culpeper County (Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management Area) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Culpeper County (private lands and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Culpeper County (disease focus zones defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Cumberland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Dickenson County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Dinwiddie County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Essex County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Fauquier County (except Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Fauquier County (Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management Area) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Fauquier County (private lands and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Fauquier County (disease focus zones defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 
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Floyd County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 28 consecutive days following 

Floyd County (antlerless deer only)  
Sunday following the first Saturday in January through 

the last Sunday in March 

Floyd County (disease focus zones defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Fluvanna County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Franklin County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 28 consecutive days following 

Frederick County (non-national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Frederick County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Frederick County (non-national-forest lands antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Giles County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Gloucester County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Goochland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Grayson County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Greene County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Greensville County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Halifax County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Hanover County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 25, 2022  

2354 

Henrico County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Henry County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 28 consecutive days following 

Highland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Isle of Wight County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

James City County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

King and Queen County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

King George County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

King William County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Lancaster County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Lee County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Loudoun County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Loudoun County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Louisa County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Lunenburg County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Madison County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Madison County (private lands and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 
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Madison County (disease focus zones defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Mathews County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Mecklenburg County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Middlesex County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Montgomery County (non-national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 28 consecutive days following 

Montgomery County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Montgomery County (non-national forest lands and antlerless deer 

only)  

Sunday following the first Saturday in January through 

the last Sunday in March 

Montgomery County (disease focus zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Nelson County  

(west of Route 151, except on national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 28 consecutive days following 

Nelson County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Nelson County  

(east of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

New Kent County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Northampton County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Northumberland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Nottoway County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Orange County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 
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Orange County (private lands and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Orange County (disease focus zones defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Page County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Page County (non-national forest lands and antlerless deer only)  

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Page County (disease focus zones defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Patrick County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 28 consecutive days following 

Pittsylvania County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Powhatan County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Prince Edward County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Prince George County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Prince William County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Pulaski County (except on New River Unit of the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant adjacent to the Town of Dublin and national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 28 consecutive days following 

Pulaski County (New River Unit of the Radford Army Ammunition 

Plant adjacent to the Town of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the second Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Pulaski County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 
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Pulaski County (non-national forest lands and antlerless deer only)  
Sunday following the first Saturday in January through 

the last Sunday in March 

Pulaski County (disease focus zones defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Rappahannock County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Rappahannock County (private lands and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Rappahannock County (disease focus zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Richmond County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Roanoke County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Rockbridge County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Rockingham County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Russell County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Scott County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Shenandoah County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Shenandoah County (non-national forest lands antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Smyth County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Southampton County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 
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Spotsylvania County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Stafford County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Suffolk (City of)  

(east of Dismal Swamp Line) 
October 1 through November 30 

Suffolk (City of)  

(west of Dismal Swamp Line) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Surry County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Sussex County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Tazewell County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Virginia Beach (City of) October 1 through November 30 

Warren County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Warren (non-national forest lands antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to 

the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday in 

March 

Washington County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Westmoreland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

Wise County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

Wythe County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days following 

York County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January 

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 

hunting. 

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following within the incorporated limits of 

any city or town that allows deer hunting. 
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4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 

with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 

Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line), and Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 21 

consecutive days immediately prior to and on the first Saturday 

in January: 

1. In all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest 

lands in Frederick County); 

2. East of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, 

Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), and Patrick; 

3. On national forest lands in Frederick County; and 

4. In the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal 

Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains unless otherwise noted in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only of the early special muzzleloading season on state forest 

lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State Park), 

department-owned lands (except on Merrimac Farm 

Wildlife Management Area), and Philpott Reservoir. 

2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season on national 

forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson Counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted in this 

subsection. 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd Counties 

and on private lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, 

Frederick, Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Roanoke, 

Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), Scott, 

Shenandoah, Warren, and Wythe Counties. 

2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season in Buchanan, 

on federal and department-managed lands in Dickenson, 

Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise Counties and on national 

forest lands in Alleghany, Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, 

Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, 

Shenandoah, and Warren Counties, and on national forest 

and department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, 

Carroll, Highland (except Highland Wildlife Management 

Area), Roanoke, Rockbridge, Smyth, Washington, and 

Wythe Counties and on Channels State Forest, Grayson 

Highlands State Park, Hungry Mother State Park, and on 

private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham 

County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 

the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 

in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

entire late special muzzleloading season in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 

lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd, 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands), and Patrick and on private lands in 

Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Page, 

Pulaski, Roanoke, Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 

731), Shenandoah, Warren, and Wythe Counties. 

2. Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 

the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath, 

Dickenson, Highland, Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise 

Counties and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 

Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, 

Nelson, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and 

Warren Counties, and on national forest and department-

owned lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Roanoke, 

Rockbridge, Smyth, Washington, and Wythe Counties and 

on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham 

County, Channels State Forest, Grayson Highlands State 

Park, and Hungry Mother State Park. 

3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

County. 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 

hunting except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 

Virginia Beach. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

H. Muzzleloading guns, for the purpose of this section, include: 
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1. Single shot muzzleloading rifles.40 caliber or larger, 

firing a single projectile or sabot (with a.35 caliber or larger 

projectile) where the projectile is loaded from the muzzle; 

2. Muzzleloading shotguns (one or more barrels) not larger 

than 10 gauge where the projectiles are loaded from the 

muzzle; 

3. Muzzleloading pistols (one or more barrels).45 caliber or 

larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with a.35 caliber or 

larger projectile) per barrel where the propellant and 

projectile are loaded from the muzzle; 

4. Muzzleloading revolvers.45 caliber or larger, firing a 

single projectile or sabot (with a.35 caliber or larger 

projectile) per cylinder where the propellant and projectile 

are loaded from the forward end of the cylinder. 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7140; Filed April 5, 2022, 7:13 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-290. Game: Permits 

(amending 4VAC15-290-115). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows waterfowl retriever field trials year 

round on private lands. 

4VAC15-290-115. Field trials; authorized dates. 

In accordance with § 29.1-422 of the Code of Virginia, 

permits for field trials with dogs may be authorized by the 

department during the period between August 1 to May 31, 

both dates inclusive, under conditions and for the species 

specified in the permit, except that permits for waterfowl 

retriever field trials on private lands, foxhound field trials held 

within foxhound training preserves, and raccoon hound field 

trials may be authorized by the department at any time. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6849; Filed April 1, 2022, 2:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts general permits issued by the State Water Control 

Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 (§ 62.1-254 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board (i) 

provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 

publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms 

a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in § 

2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at least 

one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The State 

Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-120. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Discharges from Petroleum Contaminated 

Sites, Groundwater Remediation, and Hydrostatic Tests 

(amending 9VAC25-120-10, 9VAC25-120-15, 9VAC25-

120-20, 9VAC25-120-50 through 9VAC25-120-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2022 - 1 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, 

Glen Allen, VA 23060 

Public Comment Deadline: June 24, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Alison Thompson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (571) 866-

6083, or email alison.thompson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed action reissues the Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Discharges From Petroleum Contaminated 

Sites, Groundwater Remediation, and Hydrostatic Tests. 

The general permit contains effluent limitations, monitoring 

requirements, and special conditions for discharges of sites 

contaminated by petroleum products, chlorinated 

hydrocarbon solvents, the hydrostatic testing of natural gas 

storage tanks and pipelines, the hydrostatic testing and 

dewatering of petroleum storage tank systems and 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
mailto:alison.thompson@deq.virginia.gov
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associated distribution equipment, and the hydrostatic 

testing of water storage tanks and pipelines. The proposed 

amendments (i) expand the scope to include non-petroleum 

contaminated sites, groundwater remediation discharges, 

and dewatering activities; (ii) revise two limits and add 11 

metal limits to address dewatering activities with 

contamination by metals; and (iii) replace the existing 

formula with specified hardness-dependent metal limits.  

Chapter 120 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit Regulation for Discharges from Petroleum 

Contaminated Sites, Groundwater Remediation of 

Contaminated Sites, Dewatering Activities of Contaminated 

Sites, and Hydrostatic Tests 

9VAC25-120-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 

9VAC25-31 (VPDES Permit Regulation) unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of this 

chapter: 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 

"Central wastewater treatment facilities" means any facility 

that treats (for disposal, recycling, or recovery of materials) or 

recycles hazardous or nonhazardous waste, hazardous or 

nonhazardous industrial wastewater, or used material from off-

site. This includes both a facility that treats waste received 

from off-site exclusively, and a facility that treats waste 

generated on-site as well as waste received from off-site. 

"Chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents" means solvents 

containing carbon, hydrogen, and chlorine atoms and the 

constituents resulting from the degradation of chlorinated 

hydrocarbon solvents. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, or an authorized representative. 

"Petroleum products" means petroleum-based substances 

comprised of a complex blend of hydrocarbons derived from 

crude oil such as motor fuels, jet fuels, distillate fuel oils, 

residual fuel oils, lubricants, petroleum solvents, and used oils. 

"Petroleum products" does not include hazardous waste as 

defined by the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-60). 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a calculation 

of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a waterbody can 

receive and still meet water quality standards and an allocation 

of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A TMDL includes 

wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, and 

load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources or natural 

background or both, and must include a margin of safety 

(MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

9VAC25-120-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted in this chapter 

and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it 

exists and has been published as of July 1, 2017 2021. 

9VAC25-120-20. Purpose. 

This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 

wastewaters from petroleum contaminated sites contaminated 

by petroleum products, chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents, non-

petroleum contaminated sites, groundwater remediation 

discharges, dewatering activities, the hydrostatic testing of 

natural gas storage tanks and pipelines, the hydrostatic testing 

and dewatering of petroleum storage tank systems and 

associated distribution equipment, and the hydrostatic testing 

of water storage tanks and pipelines. These wastewaters may 

be discharged from the following activities: excavation 

dewatering, conducting aquifer tests to characterize site 

conditions, pumping contaminated groundwater to remove free 

product, discharges resulting from another petroleum product 

or, chlorinated hydrocarbon solvent, metals or other 

contaminated site cleanup activity approved by the board, 

hydrostatic tests of natural gas and petroleum storage tanks or 

pipelines, hydrostatic tests and dewatering of storage tanks and 

associated distribution equipment, and hydrostatic tests of 

water storage tank systems or pipelines. Discharges not 

associated with petroleum-contaminated water, water 

contaminated by chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents, or 

hydrostatic tests are not covered under this general permit. 

9VAC25-120-50. Effective date of the permit. 

This general permit will become effective on February 26, 

2018 March 1, 2023. This general permit will expire on 

February 25 29, 2023 2028. This general permit is effective as 

to any covered owner upon compliance with all the provisions 

of 9VAC25-120-60. 

9VAC25-120-60. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge to surface waters within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that: 

1. The owner submits a registration statement, if required to 

do so, in accordance with 9VAC25-120-70, and that 

registration statement is accepted by the board; 

2. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-120-80; and 

3. The board has not notified the owner that the discharge is 

not eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection B of 

this section. 
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B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge within five miles 

upstream of a public water supply intake or to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations which prohibit 

such discharges; 

3. The owner is proposing to discharge to surface waters 

where there are permitted central wastewater treatment 

facilities reasonably available, as determined by the board; 

4. The discharge violates or would violate the 

antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 

9VAC25-260-30; or 

5. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL. 

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with §§ 301, 302, 

306, 307, 318, 403, and 405 (a) through (b) of the federal Clean 

Water Act and the State Water Control Law with the 

exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general permit 

does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, 

or regulation, including compliance with the Water 

Withdrawal Reporting (9VAC25-200) and the Groundwater 

Withdrawal Regulations (9VAC25-610). 

D. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Permit coverage shall expire at the end of its the applicable 

permit term. However, expiring permit coverages are 

automatically continued if the owner has submitted a 

complete registration statement at least 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of the permit, or a later submittal date 

established by the board, which cannot extend beyond the 

expiration date of the original permit. The permittee is 

authorized to continue to discharge until such time as the 

board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any or 

all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 

permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

amended general permit. If the general permit coverage is 

denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

discharges authorized by the continued general permit 

coverage or be subject to enforcement action for 

discharging without a permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-120-70. Registration statement. 

A. Any owner seeking coverage under this general permit that 

is required to submit a registration statement shall submit a 

complete VPDES general permit registration statement in 

accordance with this section, which shall serve as a notice of 

intent for coverage under the general VPDES general permit 

for discharges from petroleum contaminated sites, 

groundwater remediation of contaminated sites, dewatering 

activities of contaminated sites, and hydrostatic tests. 

B. Owners of the following types of proposed or existing 

discharges are not required to submit a registration statement 

to apply for coverage under this general permit: 

1. Short term projects (14 consecutive calendar days or less 

in duration) including: 

a. Emergency repairs; 

b. Dewatering projects; 

c. Utility work and repairs in areas of known 

contamination; 

d. Tank placement or removal in areas of known 

contamination; 

e. Pilot studies or pilot tests, including aquifer tests; and 

f. New well construction discharges of groundwater; 

2. Hydrostatic testing of petroleum and natural gas storage 

tanks, pipelines, or distribution system components; and 

3. Hydrostatic testing of water storage tanks, pipelines, or 

distribution system components. 

Owners of these types of discharges are authorized to 

discharge under this permit immediately upon the permit's 

effective date of February 26, 2018 March 1, 2023. 

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 

writing within 14 days of the completion of the discharge. The 

notification shall include the owner's name and address, the 

type of discharge that occurred, the physical location of the 

discharge work, and the receiving stream. If the discharge is to 

a municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4), the owner 

shall also notify the MS4 owner within 14 days of the 

completion of the discharge. 
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Owners of these types of discharges are not required to submit 

a notice of termination of permit coverage at the completion of 

the discharge. 

C. Deadlines for submitting registration statements. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 

days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 

the new discharge or a later submittal date established by the 

board, unless exempted by subsection B of this section. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 

who is proposing to be covered by this general permit shall 

submit a complete registration statement at least 210 240 

days prior to the expiration date of the individual VPDES 

permit. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

expiring petroleum contaminated sites, groundwater 

remediation, and hydrostatic tests general VPDES general 

permit that is not exempted under subsection B of this 

section and that intends to continue coverage under this 

general permit shall submit a complete registration 

statement to the board at least 30 days prior to the 

expiration date of the existing permit or a later submittal 

established by the board. 

D. Late registration statements. Registration statements will 

be accepted after the expiration date of the permit, but 

authorization to discharge will not be retroactive. 

E. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information: 

1. Facility name and mailing address, owner name and 

mailing address, telephone number, and email address (if 

available); 

2. Facility street address (if different from mailing address) 

or location (if the facility location does not have a mailing 

address); 

3. Facility operator (local contact) name, address, telephone 

number, and email address (if available) if different than 

owner; 

4. Nature of business conducted at the facility; 

5. Type of petroleum or natural gas products, or chlorinated 

hydrocarbon solvents causing or that caused the 

contamination; 

6. Identification of activities that will result in a point source 

discharge from the site; 

7. Whether a site characterization report for the site has been 

submitted to the Department of Environmental Quality; 

8. Characterization or description of the wastewater or 

nature of contamination including all related analytical data; 

9. The location latitude and longitude in decimal degrees (six 

digits - ten-thousandths place) of the discharge point and 

identification of the waterbody into which the discharge will 

occur. For linear projects, the location latitude and longitude 

in decimal degrees (six digits - ten-thousandths place) of all 

the proposed discharge points along the project length and 

the associated waterbody for each discharge point; 

10. The frequency with which the discharge will occur (i.e., 

daily, monthly, continuously); 

11. An estimate of how long each discharge will last; 

12. An estimate of the total volume of wastewater to be 

discharged; 

13. An estimate of the average and maximum flow rate of 

the discharge; 

14. A diagram of the proposed wastewater treatment system 

identifying the individual treatment units; 

15. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map that indicates the receiving 

waterbody name or names, the discharge point or points, the 

property boundaries, as well as springs, other surface 

waterbodies, drinking water wells, and public water supplies 

that are identified in the public record or are otherwise 

known to the applicant within a 1/2 mile radius of the 

proposed discharge or discharges; 

16. A determination of whether the facility will discharge to 

an MS4. If the facility discharges to an MS4, the facility 

owner must notify the owner of the MS4 of the existence of 

the discharge information at the time of registration under 

this permit and include that notification with the registration 

statement. The notice shall include the following 

information: the name of the facility, a contact person and 

telephone number, the location of the discharge, the nature 

of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit 

number; 

17. Whether central wastewater facilities are available to the 

site, and if so, whether the option of discharging to the 

central wastewater facility has been evaluated and the results 

of that evaluation; 

18. Whether the facility currently has any permit issued by 

the board, and if so, the permit number; 

19. Any pollution complaint number or Voluntary 

Remediation Program (VRP) information associated with 

the project; 

20. A statement as to whether the material being treated or 

to be discharged is certified as a hazardous waste under the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-60); and 
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21. State Corporation Commission entity identification 

number if the facility is required to obtain an entity 

identification number by law; and 

22. The following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or 

persons who manage the system or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is to the best of my knowledge and belief true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violations. 

I do also hereby grant duly authorized agents of the 

Department of Environmental Quality, upon presentation of 

credentials, permission to enter the property for the purpose 

of determining the suitability of the general permit." 

F. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-31-110. 

G. The registration statement shall be delivered by either 

postal or electronic mail to the DEQ regional office serving the 

area where the facility is located. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of Notices of Intent to discharge forms (i.e., 

registration statements), as provided for in 9VAC25-31-1020, 

such forms submitted after that date shall be electronically 

submitted to the department in compliance with this section 

and 9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at least a three-month 

notice provided between the notification from the department 

and the date after which such forms must be submitted 

electronically. 

9VAC25-120-80. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board, or that is automatically authorized to discharge under 

this permit, shall comply with the requirements of the general 

permit and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170 

B of the VPDES Permit Regulation. Not all of Part I A of the 

general permit will apply to every permittee. The 

determination of which provisions apply will be based on the 

type of contamination at the individual site and the nature of 

the waters receiving the discharge. Part I B and all of Part II 

apply to all permittees. 

General Permit No.: VAG83  

Effective Date: February 26 March 1, 2018 2023 

Expiration Date: February 25 29, 2023 2028 

VPDES GENERAL PERMIT FOR DISCHARGES FROM 

PETROLEUM CONTAMINATED SITES, 

GROUNDWATER REMEDIATION OF CONTAMINATED 

SITES, DEWATERING ACTIVITIES OF 

CONTAMINATED SITES, AND HYDROSTATIC TESTS 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM PERMIT PROGRAM AND THE VIRGINIA 

STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as 

amended, the State Water Control Law and regulations adopted 

pursuant thereto, the owner is authorized to discharge to 

surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, except to designated public water supplies or waters 

specifically named in other board regulations which prohibit 

such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 

Requirements, and Part II - Conditions Applicable to All 

VPDES Permits, as set forth in this general permit. 

If there is any conflict between the requirements of a board 

approved cleanup plan and this permit, the requirements of this 

permit shall govern. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS. 

1. SHORT TERM PROJECTS. 

The following types of short term projects (14 consecutive 

calendar days or less in duration) are authorized under this 

permit: 

a. Emergency repairs; 

b. Dewatering projects. Dewatering projects shall be 

managed to control the volume and velocity of the 

discharge, including peak flow rates and total volume, to 

minimize erosion at outlets and to minimize downstream 

channel and stream bank erosion; 

c. Utility work and repairs in areas of known 

contamination; 

d. Tank placement or removal in areas of known 

contamination; 

e. Pilot studies or pilot tests, including aquifer tests; and 

f. New well construction discharges of groundwater. 

Effluent limits for short term projects correspond to the type 

of contamination at the project site and are given in Tables 

A 3 through A 5 6 below. The sampling frequency for these 

projects shall be once per discharge. Discharge monitoring 

reports for these projects are not required to be submitted to 

the department, but shall be retained by the owner for a 

period of at least three years from the completion date of the 

project. 
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Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 

writing within 14 days of the completion of the project 

discharge. The notification shall include the owner's name 

and address, the type of discharge that occurred, the physical 

location of the project work, and the receiving stream. If the 

discharge is to a municipal separate storm sewer system 

(MS4), the owner shall also notify the MS4 owner within 14 

days of the completion of the discharge. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

2. DISCHARGES OF HYDROSTATIC TEST WATERS -- ALL RECEIVING WATERS. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring 

requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from the final treatment unit prior to mixing with 

any other waters. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS(2) 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/discharge Estimate 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(TPH, mg/l) (1) 

NA 15.0 15 1/discharge Grab 

Total Organic Carbon (TOC, mg/l) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine (TRC, 

mg/l)(3) 

NA 0.011(3) 1/discharge Grab 

Total Suspended Solids (TSS) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

The equipment being tested shall be substantially free of debris, raw material, product, or other residual materials. 

The discharge flow shall be managed to control the volume and velocity of the discharge, including peak flow rates and 

total volume, to minimize erosion at outlets, and to minimize downstream channel and stream bank erosion. 
(1)TPH is the sum of individual gasoline range organics and diesel range organics or TPH-GRO and TPH-DRO to be 

measured by EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2000) or EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for gasoline and diesel range 

organics, or by EPA SW 846 Methods 8260B (1996) and 8270D (2014) or 8270E (2018). 

(2)Discharge monitoring reports for hydrostatic test discharges are not required to be submitted to the department but shall 

be retained by the owner for a period of at least three years from the completion date of the hydrostatic test. 

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in writing within 14 days of the completion of the hydrostatic test 

discharge. The notification shall include the owner's name and address, the type of hydrostatic test that occurred, the 

physical location of the test work, and the receiving stream. 
(3)Total residual chlorine limitation of 0.011 mg/l and chlorine monitoring only apply to discharges of test water that 

have been chlorinated or come from a chlorinated water supply. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L 

shall be reported as "<QL." 
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Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

3. GASOLINE CONTAMINATION -- ALL RECEIVING WATERS. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring 

requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from the final treatment unit prior to mixing with 

any other waters. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 
MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL (4) Estimate 

Benzene (μg/l)(1) NA 12.0 5.8 (4) Grab 

Toluene (μg/l)(1) NA 43.0 43 (4) Grab 

Ethylbenzene (μg/l)(1) NA 4.3 (4) Grab 

Total Xylenes (μg/l)(1) NA 33.0 33 (4) Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) (μg/l)(1) 

    

Freshwaters not listed as public water 

supplies and saltwater 

NA 440.0 440 1/Month(4) Grab 

Freshwaters listed as public water 

supply 

NA 15.0 15 2/Month(4) Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 (4) Grab 

Total Recoverable Lead (μg/l)(2) NA 7.2 (4) Grab 

Freshwaters not listed as public water 

supplies and saltwater 

NA e(1.273(ln hardness)) -3.259  (4) Grab 

Freshwaters listed as public water 

supply 

NA Lower of e(1.273(ln 

hardness)) -3.259  

or 15 

(4) Grab 

Total Hardness (mg/l CaCO3)(2) NL NA (4) Grab 
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Ethylene Dibromide (μg/l)(2) 

    

Freshwaters not listed as public water 

supplies and saltwater 

NA 1.9 1/Month(4) Grab 

Freshwaters listed as public water 

supply 

NA 0.16 1 2/Month(4) Grab 

1,2 Dichloroethane (μg/l)(2) NA 3.8 (4) Grab 

Ethanol (μg/l)(3) NA 4100.0 4100 (4) Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Benzene, Toluene, Ethylbenzene, Total Xylenes and MTBE shall be analyzed according to a current and appropriate EPA 

Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136) or EPA SW 846 Method 8021B (2014). 
(2)Monitoring for this parameter is required only when contamination results from leaded fuel. Lead shall be analyzed according 

to a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136). The minimum hardness concentration that will be 

used to determine the lead effluent limit is 25 mg/l. 1,2 dichloroethane and ethylene dibromide (EDB) shall be analyzed by a 

current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method or EPA Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 136. EDB in wastewaters 

discharged to public water supplies shall be analyzed using EPA SW 846 Method 8011 (1992) or EPA Drinking Water Method 

504.1 (1995). 
(3)Monitoring for ethanol is only required for discharges of water contaminated by gasoline containing greater than 10% 

ethanol. Ethanol shall be analyzed according to EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2000) or EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) 

or EPA SW 846 Method 8260B (1996). 
(4)The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters not listed as public water supplies and saltwater shall be once per 

month. If the first 12 months of permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee 

may request that the monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced from monthly to 1/quarter. The written request shall be sent 

to the appropriate DEQ regional office for review. Upon written notification from the regional office, monitoring frequency 

may be reduced to 1/quarter. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations or a 

notice of violation or be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency for ethanol shall revert to 1/month 

upon issuance of the letter or notice or execution of the enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's expiration 

date. Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 

October, and January in each year of permit coverage. 

The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters listed as public water supplies shall be twice per month for all 

constituents or parameters. If the first 12 months of permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent 

limitations, the permittee may request that the monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced to 1/quarter and the other 

parameters to 1/month. The written request shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ regional office for review. Upon written 

notification from the regional office, the monitoring frequency for ethanol may be reduced to 1/quarter and the other 

parameters to1/month. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations or a notice 

of violation or be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall revert to 2/month upon issuance of 

the letter or notice or execution of the enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of 

quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and 

January in each year of permit coverage. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

4. CONTAMINATION BY PETROLEUM PRODUCTS OTHER THAN GASOLINE -- ALL RECEIVING WATERS. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring 
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requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from the final treatment unit prior to mixing with 

any other waters. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL (4) Estimate 

Naphthalene (μg/l)(1) NA 8.9 (4) Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(mg/l)(2) 

NA 15.0 15 (4) Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 (4) Grab 

Benzene (μg/l)(3) NA 12.0 5.8 2/Month(4) Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) 

(μg/l)(3) 

NA 15.0 15 2/Month(4) Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Naphthalene shall be analyzed by a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 136 or a current 

and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method. 
(2)TPH shall be analyzed using EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2000) or EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for diesel range 

organics, or by EPA SW 846 Method 8270D (2014) or 8270E (2018). 
(3)Monitoring for benzene and MTBE is only required for discharges into freshwaters listed as public water supplies. Benzene 

and MTBE shall be analyzed according to a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136) or EPA SW 

846 Method. 
(4)The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters not listed as public water supplies and saltwater shall be once per 

month. 

The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters listed as public water supplies shall be twice per month for all 

constituents or parameters. If the first 12 months of permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent 

limitations, the permittee may request that the monitoring frequency be reduced to once per month. The written request shall 

be sent to the appropriate DEQ regional office for review. Upon written notification from the regional office, the monitoring 

frequency for ethanol may be reduced to 1/quarter or the other parameters to1/month. Should the permittee be issued a 

warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations or a notice of violation or be the subject of an active enforcement 

action, monitoring frequency shall revert to 2/month upon issuance of the letter or notice or execution of the enforcement 

action and remain in effect until the permit's expiration date. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

5. CONTAMINATION BY CHLORINATED HYDROCARBON SOLVENTS -- ALL RECEIVING WATERS. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring 

requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from the final treatment unit prior to mixing with 

any other waters. 
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Month Estimate 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Estimate 

Chloroform (CAS # 67663), (μg/l)(1) NA 80.0 60 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1 Dichloroethane (CAS # 75343) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.4 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

1,2 Dichloroethane (CAS # 107062) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 3.8 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 75354) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 7.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

cis-1,2 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 

159592) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 70.0 70 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

trans 1,2 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 

156605) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 100.0 100 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

Methylene Chloride (CAS # 75092) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

Tetrachloroethylene (CAS # 127184) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1,1 Trichloroethane (CAS # 71556) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 54.0 54 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1,2 Trichloroethane (CAS # 79005) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

Trichloroethylene (CAS # 79016) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 
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Vinyl Chloride (CAS # 75014) (μg/l)(1) NA 2.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

Carbon Tetrachloride (CAS # 56235) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.3 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

1,2 Dichlorobenzene (CAS # 95501) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 15.8 16 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

Chlorobenzene (CAS # 108907) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 3.4 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

Trichlorofluoromethane (CAS # 

75694) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

Chloroethane (CAS # 75003) (μg/l)(1) NA 3.6 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 

water supply(2) 

Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)This constituent shall be analyzed by a current and appropriate gas chromatograph/mass spectroscopy method from EPA 

SW 846 or the EPA Wastewater Method series from 40 CFR Part 136. 
(2)Monitoring frequency for discharges into surface waters listed as public water supplies shall be 2/month for the first year 

of permit coverage. If the first 12 months of permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent limitations, 

the permittee may request that the monitoring frequency be reduced from 2/month to 1/month. The written request shall be 

sent to the appropriate DEQ regional office for review. Upon written notification from the regional office, monitoring 

frequency may be reduced to 1/month. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent 

limitations or a notice of violation, or be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall revert to 

2/month upon issuance of the letter or notice or execution of the enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's 

expiration date. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

6. DEWATERING ACTIVITIES WITH CONTAMINATION BY METALS -- ALL RECEIVING WATERS. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring 

requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from the final treatment unit prior to mixing with 

any other waters. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 25, 2022  

2371 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency 

Sample 

Type 

Flow (GPD) 

 

NA 

 

NL 

 

1/Month Estimate 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Estimate 

Total Hardness (as CaCO3 in 

mg/l)(2) 

 

NA 

 

NL 

 

1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Antimony 

(μg/l)(1)  

 

NA 

 

5.6 

 

1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Arsenic (μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

10 

 

1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Cadmium 

(μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

0.55 

 

1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Chromium 

(μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

11 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper (μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

6.6 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 
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2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Lead (μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

7.2 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Mercury 

(μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

0.77 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Nickel (μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

15 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Selenium 

(μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

5.0 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver (μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

1.9 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Thallium 

(μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

0.24 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc (μg/l)(1) 

 

NA 

 

87 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 
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2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

pH (standard units) 

 

6.0 

 

9.0 

 

1/Month 

 

Grab 

2/Month if public water 

supply(3) 
Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Metals shall be analyzed by a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 136. 
(2)Total Hardness shall be collected concurrently with the metals. 
(3)The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters not listed as public water supplies and saltwater shall be once 

per month. 

The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters listed as public water supplies shall be twice per month for all 

constituents or parameters. If the first 12 months of permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent 

limitations, the permittee may request that the monitoring frequency be reduced to once per month. The written request 

shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ regional office for review. Upon written notification from the regional office, the 

monitoring frequency for ethanol may be reduced to 1/quarter or the other parameters to 1/month. Should the permittee be 

issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations or a notice of violation or be the subject of an active 

enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall revert to 2/month upon issuance of the letter or notice or execution of the 

enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's expiration date. 

 
Part I 

B. Special conditions. 

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts. 

2. The permittee shall sample each permitted outfall each 

calendar month in which a discharge occurs. When no 

discharge occurs from an outfall during a calendar month, 

the discharge monitoring report for that outfall shall be 

submitted indicating "No Discharge." 

3. Operation and maintenance (O&M) manual. If the 

permitted discharge is through a treatment works, within 30 

days of coverage under this general permit, the permittee 

shall develop and maintain on-site, an O&M manual for the 

treatment works permitted in this general permit. This 

manual shall detail practices and procedures that will be 

followed to ensure compliance with the requirements of this 

permit. The permittee shall operate the treatment works in 

accordance with the O&M manual. The manual shall be 

made available to the department upon request. 

4. Operation schedule. The permittee shall construct, install 

and begin operating the treatment works described in the 

registration statement prior to discharging to surface waters. 

The permittee shall notify the department's regional office 

within five days after the completion of installation and 

commencement of operation. 

5. Materials storage. Except as expressly authorized by this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, no product, 

materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes resulting from 

the purchase, sale, mining, extraction, transport, preparation, 

or storage of raw or intermediate materials, final product, by-

product or wastes, shall be handled, disposed of, or stored so 

as to permit a discharge of such product, materials, industrial 

wastes, or other wastes to state waters. 

6. If the permittee discharges to surface waters through an 

MS4, the permittee shall, within 30 days of coverage under 

this general permit, notify the owner of the municipal 

separate storm sewer system in writing of the existence of 

the discharge and provide the following information: the 

name of the facility, a contact person, and telephone number, 

the location of the discharge, the nature of the discharge, and 

the facility's VPDES general permit number. A copy of such 

notification shall be provided to the department. Discharge 

Monitoring Reports (DMRs) required to be submitted under 

this permit shall be submitted to both the department and the 

owner of the municipal separate storm sewer system. 

7. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used by the permittee 

(e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest even 

number), the permittee shall use the convention consistently 

and shall ensure that consulting laboratories employed by 

the permittee use the same convention. 
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8. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards. 

9. Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 

other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

10. Discharges to waters with an approved TMDL. Owners 

of facilities that are a source of the specified pollutant of 

concern to waters where an approved TMDL has been 

established shall implement measures and controls that are 

consistent with the assumptions and requirements of the 

TMDL. 

11. Termination of coverage. Provided that the board agrees 

that the discharge covered under this general permit is no 

longer needed, the permittee may request termination of 

coverage under the general permit, for the entire facility or 

for specific outfalls, by submitting a request for termination 

of coverage. This request for termination of coverage shall 

be sent to the department's regional office with appropriate 

documentation or references to documentation already in the 

department's possession. Upon the permittee's receipt of the 

regional director's approval, coverage under this general 

permit will be terminated. Termination of coverage under 

this general permit does not relieve the permittee of 

responsibilities under other board regulations or directives. 

12. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as the 

permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 

any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit if that 

discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter; 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 

acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 2,4-

dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and one 

milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the general permit registration 

statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 

basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit 

if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter; 

(2) One milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the general permit registration 

statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

Part II  

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be analyzed 

in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements; 

c. The dates and times analyses were performed; 

d. The individual or individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. Except for records of monitoring information required by 

this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use and 

disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period of at 

least five years, the permittee shall retain records of all 

monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation; copies of all 

reports required by this permit; and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report, or request for coverage. This period of 

retention shall be extended automatically during the course 

of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity 

or regarding control standards applicable to the permittee, or 

as requested by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 25, 2022  

2375 

month after monitoring takes place unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department's regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of monitoring reports, as provided for in 

9VAC25-31-1020, such forms and reports submitted after 

that date shall be electronically submitted to the department 

in compliance with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. 

There shall be at least a three-month notice provided 

between the notification from the department and the date 

after which such forms and reports must be submitted 

electronically. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating this 

permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The board 

may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such plans, 

specifications, and other pertinent information as may be 

necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his the 

permittee's discharge on the quality of state waters or such 

other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department upon request copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of such 

waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee that 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, industrial 

waste, other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substance 

into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F or that 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may reasonably 

be expected to enter state waters in violation of Part II F shall 

notify the department of the discharge immediately (see Part II 

I 3) upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case later than 

24 hours after the discovery. A written report of the 

unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department 

within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 

report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or upset 

should occur from a treatment works and the discharge enters 

or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee shall 

promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, (see Part II I 3) 

the department by telephone after the discovery of the 

discharge. This notification shall provide all available details 

of the incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

reduce the report to writing and shall submit the report to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 

accordance with Part II I 1 b. Unusual and extraordinary 

discharges include any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 
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3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. 

1. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 

adversely affect state waters or may endanger public health. 

a. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information, which shall be reported within 24 hours 

under this subsection: 

(1) Any unanticipated bypass; and 

(2) Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters. 

b. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

(1) A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

(2) The period of noncompliance including exact dates and 

times and, if the noncompliance has not been corrected, 

the anticipated time it is expected to continue; and 

(3) Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the oral 

report has been received within 24 hours and no adverse 

impact on state waters has been reported. 

2. The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Part II I 1, in writing, at the time the next 

monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall contain 

the information listed in Part II I 1 b. 

NOTE: 3. The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Part II G, H and I may shall be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Pollution 

ResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx. 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response 
(online reporting preferred). For reports outside normal 

working hours, leave a message and this shall fulfill the 

immediate reporting requirement the online portal shall be 

used. For emergencies, call the Virginia Department of 

Emergency Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service 

Management's Emergency Operations Center (24-hours) at 

1-800-468-8892. 

3. 4. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. 

J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The permittee plans an alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of the Clean Water Act which that are applicable to 

such source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act which that 

are applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 of the Act within 

120 days of their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the 

nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged. 

This notification applies to pollutants that are subject 

neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements under Part I B 12; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change 

in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, and 

such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit registration process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity 

which may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall be 

signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated facility 

including having the explicit or implicit duty of making 

major capital investment recommendations, and initiating 

and directing other comprehensive measures to assure 

long-term environmental compliance with environmental 

laws and regulations; the manager can ensure that the 

necessary systems are established or actions taken to 

gather complete and accurate information for permit 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
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application requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager 

in accordance with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports. All reports required by permits, and other 

information requested by the board shall be signed by a 

person described in Part II K 1, or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or an 

individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly authorized 

representative thus may be either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a named position; and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part II 

K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual or 

position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the State 

Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 

coverage termination or denial of permit coverage renewal. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water Act 

for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge use 

or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water Act 

within the time provided in the regulations that establish these 

standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge use or 

disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified to 

incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration statement 

at least 30 60 days before the expiration date of the existing 

permit, unless permission for a later date has been granted by 

the board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of the 

existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights, or any infringement of 

federal, state, or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

II U) and "upset" (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under Article 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the State 

Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation 

and maintenance also includes effective plant performance, 

adequate funding, adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory 

and process controls, including appropriate quality assurance 
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procedures. This provision requires the operation of back-up or 

auxiliary facilities or similar systems that are installed by the 

permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 

from any portion of a treatment facility. The permittee may 

allow any bypass to occur that does not cause effluent 

limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential 

maintenance to assure efficient operation. These bypasses 

are not subject to the provisions of Part II U 2 and 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, if 

possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such 

as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of 

untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 

adequate back-up equipment should have been installed in 

the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass which that occurred during normal 

periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under Part 

II U 2. 

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines that 

it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology-based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are met. 

A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset and before 

an action for noncompliance is not a final administrative 

action subject to judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant evidence 

that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause or causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director or an authorized representative, including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator, upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of ensuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law any 

substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours or whenever 

the facility is discharging. Nothing contained in this general 

permit shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permit coverage may be terminated for 

cause. The filing of a request by the permittee for permit 

coverage termination or a notification of planned changes or 

anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permit coverage. 
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1. Permit coverage is not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. 

2. Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if: 

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 30 

days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property; 

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and the 

proposed new permittee of its intent to deny permit 

coverage. If this notice is not received, the transfer is 

effective on the date specified in the agreement mentioned 

in Part II Y 2 b. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6517; Filed March 31, 2022, 4:33 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts general permits issued by the State Water Control 

Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 (§ 62.1-254 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board (i) 

provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 

publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms 

a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-194. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Vehicle Wash Facilities and Laundry 

Facilities (amending 9VAC25-194-10, 9VAC25-194-15, 

9VAC25-194-40 through 9VAC25-194-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4111, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The existing general permit expires on October 15, 2022, 

and must be reissued to cover existing and new vehicle wash 

and laundry discharges. The amendments (i) update 

definitions, (ii) add 5,000 gallons per day as a limit for 

vehicle wash facilities that discharge a monthly average 

flow rate less than or equal to 5,000 gallons per day, (iii) 

change the registration deadline to 60 days to be consistent 

with other general permits due dates and allow for a later 

date as established by the board, (iv) update operations and 

maintenance manual requirements, and (v) add a 

requirement to submit electronic registration forms and 

discharge monitoring reports when these are made 

available by the department. 

9VAC25-194-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 

9VAC25-31 (VPDES Permit Regulation) unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of this 

chapter: 

"Construction equipment" means trenchers, backhoes, boring 

equipment, bulldozers, loaders, dump trucks, and any other 

piece of earth moving equipment. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Golf course equipment" means carts, utility vehicles, bunker 

rakes, groomers, seeders, and other turf equipment but does not 

mean equipment used in fertilizer, pesticide, or herbicide 

application. 

"Inlet protection measures" means equipment and best 

management practices to minimize pollution to state waters via 

the storm drain. Equipment includes containment berms, 

barriers, or seals designed to prevent water from entering the 

inlet, weighted filters, or socks designed to remove metals, oil 

and grease, solids, and debris combined with other measures, 

including vacuuming of wastewater, shut off hose nozzles, 

washing, or directing wastewater to grassy areas. 

"Laundry" means any self-service facility where the washing 

of clothes is conducted as designated by NAICS Code 812310 

and SIC 7215. It does not include facilities that engage in dry 

cleaning. 

"Maintenance equipment" means street sweepers and catch 

basin cleaner trucks. 

"Lawn maintenance equipment" means motorized or hand 

operated lawn care equipment, including mowers, hedgers, 

mailto:elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov
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aerators, augers, blowers, brush clearers, brush cutters, 

dethatchers, edgers, pole saws, power rakes, and tillers, but 

does not mean equipment used in fertilizer, pesticide, or 

herbicide application. 

"NAICS" means North American Industry Classification 

System from the U.S. Office of Management and Budget, 2017 

edition. 

"SIC" means the Standard Industrial Classification from the 

U.S. Office of Management and Budget Standard Industrial 

Classification Manual, 1987 edition. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a calculation 

of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a waterbody can 

receive and still meet water quality standards and an allocation 

of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A TMDL includes 

wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, and 

load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources or natural 

background or both, and must include a margin of safety 

(MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"Vehicle maintenance" means vehicle and equipment 

rehabilitation, mechanical repairs, painting, fueling, and 

lubrication. 

"Vehicle wash" means any fixed or mobile facility where the 

manual, automatic, or self-service exterior washing of vehicles 

is conducted and includes the following: 

1. Vehicles that convey passengers or goods on streets or 

highways as designated by Standard Industrial Classification 

(SIC) Code 7542, such as automobiles, trucks, motor homes, 

buses, motorcycles, ambulances, fire trucks, and tractor 

trailers. This industry primarily comprises establishments 

[ primarily ] engaged in cleaning, washing, or waxing 

automotive vehicles, such as passenger cars, trucks, and 

vans, and trailers as designated by NAICS Code 811192 and 

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code 7542; 

2. Incidental floor cleaning wash waters associated with 

facilities that wash vehicles where the floor wash water also 

passes through the vehicle wash treatment system; 

3. Golf course equipment and lawn maintenance equipment; 

4. Maintenance and construction equipment; and 

5. Street sweepers and catch basin cleaner trucks; and 

6. Recreational boats less than 8.6' beam and 25' in length 

towed by a vehicle. 

"Vehicle wash" does not mean engine cleaning or degreasing; 

the cleaning of floors in vehicle maintenance areas, cleaning of 

the interior of tanks or trailers carrying bulk or raw material, 

cleaning of equipment used in the paving industry, cleaning of 

chemical, fertilizer, or pesticide spreading equipment, or 

cleaning of tanker trucks, garbage trucks, livestock trailers, 

trains, boats larger than 8.6' beam and 25' in length, or aircraft; 

or the use of acid caustic metal brighteners or steam heated 

water. 

9VAC25-194-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted in this chapter 

and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it 

exists and has been published as of July 1, 2017 2021. 

9VAC25-194-40. Effective date of the permit. 

This general permit will become effective on October 16, 

2017 January 1, 2023. This general permit will expire on 

October 15, 2022 December 31, 2027. This general permit is 

effective for any covered owner upon compliance with all the 

provisions of 9VAC25-194-50. 

9VAC25-194-50. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge wastewater as described in 9VAC25-

194-20 to surface waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

provided that: 

1. The owner files a registration statement in accordance 

with 9VAC25-194-60, and that registration statement is 

accepted by the board; 

2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 

3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-194-70; and 

4. The owner has not been notified by the board that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage under this permit in 

accordance with subsection B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges; 

3. The discharge would violate the antidegradation policy in 

the Water Quality Standards at 9VAC25-260-30; 

4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL; or 

5. The discharge is to surface waters where there are central 

wastewater treatment facilities reasonably available, as 

determined by the board. 
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C. Mobile vehicle wash owners shall operate such that there 

is no discharge to surface waters and storm sewers unless they 

have coverage under this permit. 

D. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with §§ 301, 302, 

306, 307, 318, 403, and 405(a) through (b) of the federal Clean 

Water Act and the State Water Control Law with the 

exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general permit 

does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, 

or regulation. 

E. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the car 

wash facilities general permit issued in 2012, and that 

submits a complete registration statement on or before 

October 16, 2017, is authorized to continue to discharge 

under the terms of the 2012 general permit Permit coverage 

shall expire at the end of the applicable permit term. 

However, expiring permit coverages are automatically 

continued if the owner has submitted a complete registration 

statement at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the 

permit or a later submittal date established by the board, 

which cannot extend beyond the expiration date of the 

permit. The permittee is authorized to continue to discharge 

until such time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any or 

all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2012 general 

permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued amended general permit. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 

cease the discharges authorized by coverage under the 

2012 the continued general permit coverage or be subject 

to enforcement action for discharging without a permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-194-60. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statements. Any 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall submit 

a complete VPDES general permit registration statement in 

accordance with this section chapter, which shall serve as a 

notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES general 

permit regulation for vehicle wash facilities and laundry 

facilities. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 60 

days prior to the date planned for commencement of the 

discharge or a later submittal established by the board. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit that 

is proposing to be covered by this general permit shall 

submit a complete registration statement at least 240 days 

prior to the expiration date of the individual VPDES 

permit or a later submittal established by the board. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

general an expiring or expired VPDES general permit for 

vehicle wash facilities (9VAC25-194) that became 

effective on October 16, 2012, and laundry facilities and 

that intends to continue coverage under this general permit 

shall submit a complete registration statement to the board 

prior to September 15, 2017 at least 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of the existing permit or a later submittal 

established by the board. 

c. Any owner of a vehicle wash facility covered under this 

permit that had a monthly average flow rate of less than 

5,000 gallons per day, and the flow rate increases above a 

monthly average flow rate of 5,000 gallons per day, shall 

submit an amended registration statement within 30 60 

days of the increased flow or a later submittal established 

by the board. 

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 

existing facilities covered under subdivision A 2 b of this 

section will be accepted after October 15, 2017 the expiration 

date of the permit, but authorization to discharge will not be 

retroactive. Owners described in subdivision A 2 b of this 

section that submit registration statements after September 15, 

2017, are authorized to discharge under the provisions of 

9VAC25-194-50 E if a complete registration statement is 

submitted before October 16, 2017. 

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information: 

1. Facility name and mailing address, owner name and 

mailing address, telephone number, and email address (if 

available); 

2. Facility street address (if different from mailing address); 

3. Facility operator (local contact) name, address, telephone 

number, and email address (if available) if different than 

owner; 

4. Does Whether the facility discharge discharges to surface 

waters?. If "yes," name of receiving stream; if "no," describe 

the discharge; 
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5. Does Whether the facility discharge discharges to a 

municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4)?. If "yes," the 

facility owner must provide the name of the MS4 and notify 

the owner of the municipal separate storm sewer system of 

the existence of the discharge at the time of registration 

under this permit and include that notification with the 

registration statement. The notice shall include the following 

information: the name of the facility, a contact person and, 

phone number, email, the location of the discharge, the 

nature of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general 

permit number; 

6. Does Whether the facility have has a current VPDES 

Permit? permit. If "yes," provide permit number; 

7. Does your Whether the locality require requires 

connection to central wastewater treatment facilities?; 

8. Are Whether central wastewater treatment facilities are 

available to serve the site?. If "yes," the option of 

discharging to the central wastewater facility must be 

evaluated and the result of that evaluation reported here; 

9. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map showing the facility discharge 

location(s) locations, latitude and longitude, and receiving 

stream; 

10. Provide a brief description of the type of washing 

activity. Include (as applicable) the type of vehicles washed, 

number of vehicle washing bays, and the number of laundry 

machines; 

11. Highest average monthly flow rate for each washing 

activity or combined washing activity, reported as gallons 

per day; 

12. Facility line (water balance) drawing; 

13. Description of wastewater treatment or stormwater inlet 

protection measures; 

14. Information on use of chemicals at the facility. Include 

detergents, soaps, waxes, and other chemicals; 

15. Will Whether detergent used for washing vehicles 

contain contains more than 0.5% phosphorus by weight; and 

16. State Corporation Commission entity identification 

number if the facility is required to obtain an entity 

identification number by law; and 

17. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is to the best of my knowledge 

and belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

The registration statement shall be signed in accordance with 

9VAC25-31-110 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

D. The registration statement shall be delivered by either 

postal or electronic mail to the DEQ regional office serving the 

area where the facility is located. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of Notices of Intent to discharge forms (i.e., 

registration statements) as provided for in 9VAC25-31-1020, 

such forms submitted after that date shall be electronically 

submitted to the department in compliance with this section 

and 9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at least three months' 

notice provided between the notification from the department 

and the date after which such forms must be submitted 

electronically. 

9VAC25-194-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board shall comply with the requirements of the general permit 

and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170 of the 

VPDES Permit Regulation. 

General Permit No.: VAG75  

Effective Date: October 16, 2017 January 1, 2023 

Expiration Date: October 15, 2022 December 31, 2027 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR VEHICLE WASH FACILITIES 

AND LAUNDRY FACILITIES 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as 

amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of vehicle wash 

facilities and laundry facilities are authorized to discharge to 

surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, except those specifically named in board regulations 

which that prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations, Monitoring 

Requirements, and Special Conditions, and Part II - Conditions 

Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth in this general 

permit. 
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Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from vehicle wash facilities that discharge a monthly 

average flow rate less than or equal to 5,000 gallons per day from outfalls: 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 5,000 1/Year Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/Year Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Year Composite(4) 

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/Year Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 

those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) of yearly monitoring (January 1 to December 31) shall be submitted to the DEQ 

regional office no later than the 10th day of January of each year. 
(4)Five grab samples evenly spaced over an eight-hour period or five grab samples evenly spaced for the duration of the 

discharge if less than eight hours in length. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

2. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from vehicle wash facilities that discharge a monthly 

average flow rate greater than 5,000 gallons per day from outfalls: 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/6 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/6 Months Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/6 Months Composite(4) 

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 

those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Samples shall be collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year and reported on the facility's Discharge Monitoring 

Report (DMR). DMRs shall be submitted by January 10 and July 10 of each year. 
(4)Five grab samples evenly spaced over an eight-hour period or five grab samples evenly spaced for the duration of the 

discharge if less than eight hours in length. 
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Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

3. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a laundry facility from outfalls: 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Quarter Grab 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60(1), (2) 1/Quarter Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0(1) NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32 (1), (4) 1/6 Months 
Immersion 

Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine (mg/l) NA .011(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli(5) NA 235 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Enterococci(6) NA 104 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform(7) NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 

CFU – Colony forming units 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and 

temperature in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum 

effluent limitations. 
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 

October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and the 10th 

day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year. 
(4)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 

for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For estuarine 

waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout waters, the 

effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 

temperature. For natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above natural water 

temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour, except 

in the case of natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
(5)Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 

designations). 
(6)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters 

and boundary designations). 
(7)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 

waters). 
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Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

4. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a combined vehicle wash and laundry facility from 

outfalls: 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Quarter 5G/8HC 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60(1), (2) 1/Quarter Grab 

Oil and Grease NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0(1) NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32 (1), (4) 1/6 Months 
Immersion 

Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine (mg/l) NA .011(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli(5) NA 235 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Enterococci(6) NA 104 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform(7) NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 

CFU – Colony forming units 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and temperature 

in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 

October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and the 10th 

day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year. 
(4)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 

for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For estuarine 

waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout waters, the 

effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 

temperature. For natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above natural water 

temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour, except 

in the case of natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
(5)Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 

designations). 
(6)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters 

and boundary designations). 
(7)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 

waters). 
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B. Special conditions. 

1. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall perform 

visual examinations of the effluent including sheens, 

floating solids, or visible foam and maintenance of the 

wastewater treatment facilities and inlet protection 

measures, if applicable, at least once per week and document 

this visual examination and maintenance activities in the 

operational log. This operational log shall include the 

examination date and time, examination personnel, presence 

of a discharge, and the visual quality of the discharge and. 

The operational log shall be made available for review by 

the department personnel upon request. 

2. The effluent shall be free of sheens. There shall be no 

discharge of floating solids or visible foam in other than 

trace amounts. 

3. No sewage shall be discharged from a point source to 

surface waters from this facility except under the provisions 

of another VPDES permit specifically issued for that 

purpose. 

4. There shall be no chemicals added to the water or waste 

which that may be discharged other than those listed on the 

owner's accepted registration statement, unless prior 

approval of the chemical is granted by the board. 

5. Wastewater should be reused or recycled whenever 

feasible. 

6. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall comply with 

the following solids management plan, where applicable: 

a. All Any settling basins or oil water separators shall be 

cleaned frequently in order in accordance with the 

schedule outlined in the operation and maintenance 

(O&M) manual and at a frequent enough interval to 

achieve effective treatment. 

b. All Any solids from settling basins, oil water separators, 

trash, or other debris shall be handled, stored, and disposed 

of so as to prevent a discharge to state waters of such 

solids. 

7. Washing of vehicles or containers bearing residue of 

animal manure or toxic chemicals (fertilizers, organic 

chemicals, etc.) is prohibited. If the facility is a self-service 

operation, the permittee shall post this prohibition on a sign 

prominently located and of sufficient size to be easily read 

by all patrons. 

8. If the facility has a vehicle wash discharge with a monthly 

average flow rate of less than 5,000 gallons per day, and the 

flow rate increases above a monthly average flow rate of 

5,000 gallons per day, an amended registration statement 

shall be filed within 30 days of the increased flow. 

9. A permittee submitting a registration statement in 

accordance with Part II M and discharging into a municipal 

separate storm sewer shall notify the owner of the municipal 

separate storm sewer system of the existence of the 

discharge at the time of registration under this permit and 

include that notification with the registration statement. The 

notice shall include the following information: the name of 

the facility, a contact person and contact information (phone 

number and email), the location of the discharge, the nature 

of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit 

number, if known or existing. 

10. Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 

other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

11. The owner of a facility discharging vehicle wash water 

directly to a stormwater drain shall provide inlet protection 

measures in addition to meeting all other requirements of the 

permit. 

12. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as the 

permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 

any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, if that 

discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter of the toxic 

pollutant; 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 

acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 2,4-

dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and one 

milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 

basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, 

if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter of the toxic 

pollutant; 

(2) One milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

13. Operation and maintenance manual requirement. The 

permittee shall develop and maintain an accurate operation 

and maintenance (O&M) manual for the wastewater 

treatment works and applicable inlet protection measures, if 

applicable. This manual shall detail the practices and 

procedures that will be followed to ensure compliance with 

the requirements of this permit. The permittee shall operate 

and maintain the treatment works and the inlet protection 

measures in accordance with the O&M manual. The O&M 
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manual shall be reviewed and updated at least annually and 

shall be signed and certified in accordance with Part II K of 

this permit. The O&M manual shall be made available for 

review by the department personnel upon request. The O&M 

manual shall include, but not necessarily be limited to, the 

following items, as appropriate: 

a. Techniques to be employed in the collection, 

preservation, and analysis of effluent samples; 

b. Discussion of best management practices or stormwater 

inlet protection methods Stormwater inlet protection 

measure directions for use and maintenance of equipment; 

c. Best management practices employed; 

d. Treatment system operation, routine preventive 

maintenance of units within the treatment system, critical 

spare parts inventory, and recordkeeping; 

d. e. A sludge/solids management plan, including the 

schedule for settling basin or oil water separator cleaning 

and solids handling as required by Part I B 6; 

e. f. Procedures for performing the visual examination and 

maintenance required by Part I B 1 including example log 

sheets and the location of the operational log; and 

f. g. Date when the O&M manual was updated or reviewed 

and any changes that were made. 

14. Compliance reporting under Part I A 1 through 4. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows: 

Effluent Characteristic Quantification Level 

BOD5 2 mg/l 

TSS 

Oil and Grease 

1.0 mg/l 

5.0 mg/l 

Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 

calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 

procedures published for the test method. 

b. Reporting. Any single datum required shall be reported 

as "<QL" if it is less than the QL in subdivision 14 a of 

this subsection. Otherwise, the numerical value shall be 

reported. The QL must be less than or equal to the QL in 

subdivision 14 a of this subsection. 

c. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 

permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 

even number), the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

15. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards in 9VAC25-260. 

16. Discharges to waters with an approved total maximum 

daily load (TMDL). Owners of facilities that are a source of 

the specified pollutant of concern to waters where an 

approved TMDL has been established shall implement 

measures and controls that are consistent with the 

assumptions and requirements of the TMDL. 

17. Notice of termination. 

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 

department. The notice of termination may be filed after 

one or more of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 

longer wastewater discharges from vehicle wash or 

laundry activities from the facility; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility. A notice of termination does not have to be 

submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement 

form has been submitted; 

(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 

covered by a VPDES individual permit or an alternative 

VPDES permit; or 

(4) Termination of coverage is requested for another 

reason provided the board agrees that coverage under this 

general permit is no longer needed. 

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available); 

(2) Facility name and location; 

(3) VPDES vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities 

general permit number; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including: 

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility; 

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility and there are no longer wastewater discharges 

from vehicle wash or laundry activities from the facility; 

(c) A statement indicating that all wastewater discharges 

from vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities have 

been covered by an individual VPDES permit; or 

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason (state the reason). 

c. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that all wastewater 

discharges from vehicle wash or laundry facilities from the 

identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 

general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 

VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I am no 

longer the owner of the industrial activity, or permit 

coverage should be terminated for another reason listed 
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above. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination, that I am no longer authorized to discharge 

wastewater from vehicle wash facilities or laundry 

facilities in accordance with the general permit, and that 

discharging pollutants in wastewater from vehicle wash 

facilities or laundry facilities to surface waters is unlawful 

where the discharge is not authorized by a VPDES permit. 

I also understand that the submittal of this notice of 

termination does not release an owner from liability for 

any violations of this permit or the Clean Water Act." 

d. The notice of termination shall be signed in accordance 

with Part II K. 

e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the DEQ 

regional office serving the area where the vehicle wash or 

laundry facility is located. 

Part II 

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be analyzed 

in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements; 

c. The dates and times analyses were performed; 

d. The individuals who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. Except for records of monitoring information required by 

this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use and 

disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period of at 

least five years, the permittee shall retain records of all 

monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report or request for coverage. This period of 

retention shall be extended automatically during the course 

of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity 

or regarding control standards applicable to the permittee, or 

as requested by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department's regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of monitoring reports, as provided for in 

9VAC25-31-1020, such forms and reports submitted after 

that date shall be electronically submitted to the department 

in compliance with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. 

There shall be at least three months' notice provided between 

the notification from the department and the date after which 

such forms and reports must be submitted electronically. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations which that require 

averaging of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean 

unless otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which that the board may request to determine whether cause 

exists for terminating coverage under this permit or to 

determine compliance with this permit. The board may require 

the permittee to furnish, upon request, such plans, 

specifications, and other pertinent information as may be 

necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his the 

permittee's discharge on the quality of state waters, or such 

other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit. 
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E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, or for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, industrial 

waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious substance 

into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may reasonably 

be expected to enter state waters in violation of Part II F, shall 

notify the department of the discharge immediately (see Part II 

I 4) upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case later than 

24 hours after said discovery. A written report of the 

unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department 

within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 

report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge, including a bypass or 

upset, should occur from a treatment works, and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify (see Part II I 4), in no case later than 24 

hours, the department by telephone after the discovery of the 

discharge. This notification shall provide all available details 

of the incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

submit the report to the department in writing within five days 

of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Part II I 2. 

Unusual and extraordinary discharges include any discharge 

resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 

noncompliance which that may adversely affect state waters or 

may endanger public health. 

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from the 

time the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. The 

following shall be included as information which that shall 

be reported within 24 hours under this subsection: 

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and 

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters. 

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and 

times, and if the noncompliance has not been corrected, 

the anticipated time it is expected to continue; and 

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 

reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the oral 

report has been received within 24 hours and no adverse 

impact on state waters has been reported. 

3. The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Parts Part II I 1 or 2, in writing, at the 

time the next monitoring reports are submitted. The reports 

shall contain the information listed in Part II I 2. 

NOTE: 4. The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Part II G, H, and I may be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Pollution 

ResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response. 

For reports outside normal working hours, leave a message 

and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. 

For emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
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5. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or in any report to the department, it shall promptly submit 

such facts or information. 

J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of the Clean Water Act which are applicable to such 

source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act which that 

are applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the 

nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged. 

This notification applies to pollutants which that are 

subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements specified elsewhere in this permit in Part I B 

12; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change 

in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, and 

such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit registration process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity 

which may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall be 

signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated facility 

including having the explicit or implicit duty of making 

major capital investment recommendations, and initiating 

and directing other comprehensive measures to assure 

long-term environmental compliance with environmental 

laws and regulations; the manager can ensure that the 

necessary systems are established or actions taken to 

gather complete and accurate information for permit 

registration requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager 

in accordance with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reporting requirements. All reports required by permits 

and other information requested by the board shall be signed 

by a person described in Part II K 1 or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or an 

individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly authorized 

representative may thus be either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a named position; and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part II 

K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual or 

position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 
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persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the State 

Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action, for permit 

coverage termination, or for denial of a permit coverage 

renewal application. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water Act 

for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge use 

or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water Act 

within the time provided in the regulations that establish these 

standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge use or 

disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified to 

incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration statement 

at least 30 60 days before the expiration date of the existing 

permit, unless permission for a later date has been granted by 

the board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of the 

existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights, or any infringement of 

federal, state or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

II U) and "upset" (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under Article 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the State 

Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

which that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation 

and maintenance also includes effective plant performance, 

adequate funding, adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory 

and process controls, including appropriate quality assurance 

procedures. This provision requires the operation of back-up or 

auxiliary facilities or similar systems which are installed by the 

permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit which that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. The permittee may allow any bypass to occur which that 

does not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only 

if it also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 

operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 

of Part II U 2 and U 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, if 

possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such 

as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of 

untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 

adequate back-up equipment should have been installed in 

the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass which that occurred during normal 
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periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under Part 

II U 2. 

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines that 

it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are met. 

A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and before 

an action for noncompliance, is not a final administrative 

action subject to judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence 

that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative (including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator), upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, any 

substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained herein 

shall make an inspection unreasonable during an emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permit coverage may be terminated for 

cause. The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit 

coverage termination or a notification of planned changes or 

anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permit coverage. Permits are 

1. Permit coverage is not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. 

2. Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if: 

1. a. The current permittee notifies the department within 

30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 

property; 

2. b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

3. c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 

the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 

revoke and reissue the permit. If this notice is not received, 

the transfer is effective on the date specified in the 

agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 b. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and, if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6442; Filed March 30, 2022, 9:01 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts general permits issued by the State Water Control 

Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 (§ 62.1-254 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board (i) 

provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 

publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms 

a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-860. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System General Permit for Potable 

Water Treatment Plants (amending 9VAC25-860-10, 

9VAC25-860-15, 9VAC25-860-40 through 9VAC25-860-

70). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2022 - 10 a.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, 

Glen Allen, VA 23060 

Public Comment Deadline: June 24, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

2655, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments update the regulation to reissue 

the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

general permit for potable water treatment plants to 

discharge process wastewater, which accomplishes the 

objectives of applicable law, minimizes the costs to a small 

business owner, and simplifies the application process. 

Without the general permit, a small business owner would 

be required to obtain an individual permit, which would 

increase the complexity of a permit application and permit 

costs. The proposed amendments (i) update definitions, (ii) 

add total suspended solids and chlorine discharge limits for 

reverse osmosis and nanofiltration plants, and (iii) include 

future electronic reporting requirements.  

Chapter 860 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System General 

Permit Regulation for Potable Water Treatment Plants 

9VAC25-860-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this regulation shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 

9VAC25-31, the VPDES Permit Regulation, unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of this 

chapter: 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Conventional filtration treatment" means a series of 

processes including coagulation, flocculation, sedimentation, 

and filtration resulting in substantial particulate removal. 

"Membrane treatment" means a pressure or vacuum driven 

process using synthetic materials to separate constituents from 

water. Membranes are used for dissolved solids or suspended 

solids removal. Membrane treatment for dissolved solids 

removal includes reverse osmosis and nanofiltration. 

Membrane treatment for suspended solids removal includes 

ultrafiltration and microfiltration. 

"Microfiltration" means a method of membrane treatment 

designed to remove particles down to 0.1 µm in size. The 

treatment removes cysts, bacteria, and most (but not all) 

particulates. 

"Nanofiltration" or "low-pressure reverse osmosis" or 

"membrane softening" means a method of membrane treatment 

designed to remove multivalent ions (softening) and removes 

contaminants down to 1 nm (nanometer = 0.001 µm) in size. 

"Potable water treatment plant" means an establishment 

engaged in producing water for domestic, commercial, or 

industrial use as designated by North American Industry 

Classification System (NAICS) Code 221310 - Water Supply 

and Irrigation Systems, (Executive Office of the President, 

Office of Management and Budget, United States, 2017), 

Standard Industrial Classified (SIC) Code 4941 - Water Supply 

(Office of Management and Budget (OMB) SIC Manual, 

1987), or others as approved by the board. 

"Reverse osmosis" means a method of membrane treatment 

designed to remove salts and low-molecular weight solutes and 

remove all contaminants down to 0.0001 µm (microns) in size. 

Reverse osmosis methods apply pressure in excess of osmotic 

pressure to force water through a semi-permeable membrane 

from a region of high salt concentration to a region of lower 

salt concentration. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a calculation 

of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a waterbody can 

receive and still meet water quality standards and an allocation 

of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A TMDL includes 

wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, and 

load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources or natural 

background or both, and must include a margin of safety 

(MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"Ultrafiltration" means a method of membrane treatment 

designed to remove particles down to 0.01 µm in size. The 

treatment removes cysts, bacteria, and viruses as well as 

suspended solids. 

9VAC25-860-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced and incorporated in this 

chapter, that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published as of July 1, 2017 2021. 

9VAC25-860-40. Effective date of the permit. 

This general VPDES permit will become effective on July 1, 

2018 2023, and will expire on June 30, 2023 2028. This general 

permit is effective for any covered owner upon compliance 

with all the provisions of 9VAC25-860-50. 

mailto:elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov
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9VAC25-860-50. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge to surface waters of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that: 

1. The owner submits a registration statement in accordance 

with 9VAC25-860-60 and that registration statement is 

accepted by the board; 

2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 

3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-860-70; and 

4. The board has not notified the owner that the discharge is 

not eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection B of 

this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges; 

3. The discharge violates or would violate the 

antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 

9VAC25-260-30; 

4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL; 

5. The facility is subject to the requirements of 9VAC25-

820-70 Part I G 1 (General VPDES Watershed Permit 

Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus 

Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the Chesapeake 

Watershed in Virginia - Requirement to Register); and 

6. An owner applying for coverage under this general permit 

submits the results of representative whole effluent toxicity 

testing of the discharge, and the results demonstrate that 

there is a reasonable potential for toxicity. 

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with §§ 301, 302, 

306, 307, 318, 403, and 405 (a) through (b) of the federal Clean 

Water Act and the State Water Control Law with the 

exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general permit 

does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, 

or regulation. 

D. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Permit coverage shall expire at the end of its the applicable 

permit term. However, expiring permit coverages are 

automatically continued if the owner has submitted a 

complete registration statement at least 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of the permit, or a later submittal established 

by the board, which cannot extend beyond the expiration 

date of the original permit. The permittee is authorized to 

continue to discharge until such time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any or 

all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 

permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 

denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

discharges authorized by the continued general permit 

coverage under the terms of the general permit or be 

subject to enforcement action for discharging without a 

permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-860-60. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. The 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall submit 

a complete VPDES general permit registration statement in 

accordance with this section, which shall serve as a notice of 

intent for coverage under the general VPDES general permit 

regulation for potable water treatment plants. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 60 

days prior to the date planned for commencement of the new 

discharge. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 

who is proposing to be covered by this general permit shall 

submit a complete registration statement at least 270 240 

days prior to the expiration date of the individual VPDES 

permit or a later submittal established by the board. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

expiring or expired general VPDES general permit and 

who intends to continue coverage under this general 

permit shall submit a complete registration statement to 

the board at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the 

existing permit or a later submittal established by the 

board. 
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c. Any owner of a potable water treatment plant not 

currently covered by a VPDES permit who is proposing to 

be covered by this general permit shall file the registration 

statement. 

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 

existing owners covered under subdivision A 2 b of this section 

will be accepted after the expiration date of the permit, but 

authorization to discharge will not be retroactive. 

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information: 

1. Facility name and street address, owner name, mailing 

address, telephone number, and email address (if available); 

2. Operator or other contact name, mailing address, 

telephone number, and email address (if available); 

3. The nature of the business; 

4. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map showing the facility location 

extending to at least one mile beyond the property boundary 

and the location of the discharge points; 

5. The receiving waters of the discharge; 

6. The outfall number, latitude and longitude (in decimal 

degrees (six digits - ten-thousandths place)), the daily 

maximum actual or projected process wastewater flow rate 

and monthly average process wastewater flow (millions of 

gallons per day or gallons per day), typical volume, duration 

of discharges, and frequency of discharge; 

7. The type of water treatment (e.g., conventional filtration 

treatment, microfiltration, ultrafiltration, nanofiltration, 

reverse osmosis, or a combination of these) and, if 

applicable, a description of any treatment type changes since 

the previous registration statement was submitted; 

8. The number of any existing VPDES or VPA permit that 

authorizes discharges from the potable water treatment 

plant; 

9. The Virginia Department of Health Public Water Supply 

Identification (PWSID) number; 

10. If the existing VPDES permit contains a groundwater 

monitoring plan requirement, a copy of the board-approved 

plan shall be submitted unless the plan has been previously 

submitted and approved and remains unchanged. If a plan 

has been previously approved, cite the plan and date of 

approval; 

10. 11. Information regarding the lining of any settling 

basins or lagoons, whether such units are earthen lined, and 

if so, whether the linings have a permeability of no greater 

than 10-6 cm/sec; 

11. 12. The results of any whole effluent toxicity evaluation 

required by the 2013 2018 potable water treatment plant 

general permit regulation, 9VAC25-860-50 A 3, or the 

current individual permit, if not previously submitted to the 

department; 

12. 13. A schematic drawing showing the sources of water 

used on the property and the conceptual design of the 

methods of treatment and disposal of process wastewater; 

the treatment of the water from raw water intake through 

finished water distribution. Indicate clearly where 

backwash, reject water, clean in place water, and 

disinfection chemicals could enter the process wastewater 

and exit the outfall to state waters. Also include in schematic 

where solids from any treatment process are settled or dried. 

13. 14. Information on chemicals used in the production of 

drinking water and process wastewater treatment, to include 

(i) a description of chemicals, (ii) a proposed or actual 

schedule and quantity of chemical usage, (iii) a description 

of any chemical or chemical usage changes since the 

previous registration statement was submitted, and (iv) a 

description of which chemicals have no likelihood of 

entering the process wastewater; 

14. 15. A description of how solids and residue from any 

settling basins or lagoons are disposed; 

15. 16. Whether the facility will discharge to a municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so yes, the name of 

the MS4 owner must be provided. If the owner of the potable 

water treatment plant is not the owner of the MS4, the 

facility owner shall notify the MS4 owner of the existence 

of the discharge and include a copy of the notification with 

the registration statement. The notification shall include the 

following information: the name of the facility, a contact 

person and telephone number contact information 

(telephone number and email), the location of the discharge, 

the nature of the discharge, and the owner's VPDES general 

permit number; 

16. 17. If a new potable water treatment plant owner 

proposes to discharge within five miles upstream of another 

public water supply system's intake, the new potable water 

treatment plant owner shall notify the public water supply 

system's owner and include a copy of the notification with 

the registration statement; and 

17. 18. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is to the best of my knowledge 

and belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 
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information including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

D. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-31-110. 

E. The registration statement shall be delivered to the 

department's regional office where the industrial facility is 

located by either postal or electronic mail. Following 

notification from the department of the start date for the 

required electronic submission of Notices of Intent to 

discharge forms (i.e., registration statements) as provided for 

in 9VAC25-31-1020, such forms submitted after that date shall 

be electronically submitted to the department in compliance 

with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at least 

a three-month notice provided between the notification from 

the department and the date after which such forms must be 

submitted electronically. 

9VAC25-860-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board will receive coverage under the following permit and 

shall comply with the requirements therein and be subject to 

all requirements of 9VAC25-31. 

General Permit No.: VAG64  

Effective Date: July 1, 2018 2023 

Expiration Date: June 30, 2023 2028 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR POTABLE WATER 

TREATMENT PLANTS 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as 

amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of potable water 

treatment plants are authorized to discharge to surface waters 

within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

except those specifically named in board regulations that 

prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations, Monitoring 

Requirements, and Special Conditions, and Part II - Conditions 

Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth in this general 

permit. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

1. Facilities other than reverse osmosis or nanofiltration plants. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge process wastewater from outfalls: __________ 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Monthly 

Average 
Minimum Maximum Frequency(1)  Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NA NL 1/3 Months Estimate(2) 

pH (SU)(3) NA 6.0 9.0 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Suspended 

Solids (mg/l) 
30 NA 60 1/3 Months Composite(4) 

Total Residual 

Chlorine(5) (mg/l) 
0.011 NA 0.011 1/3 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 
(1) Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 

October, and January. 
(2)Reported estimated flow is to may be based on the technical evaluation of the sources contributing to the discharge. 
(3)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 

those standards shall be the minimum and maximum effluent limitations. 
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(4)Composite - For continuous discharges, five grab samples collected at hourly intervals. For batch discharges, five grab 

samples taken at evenly placed intervals until the discharge ceases for the duration of the discharge, or until a minimum of five 

grab samples have been collected. For batch discharges, the first grab shall occur within 15 minutes of commencement of the 

discharge. Composite sample procedures for batch discharges unable to meet the requirements in this table may be approved 

by DEQ on a case-by-case basis. 
(5) Total residual chlorine limit shall only be applicable if chlorine is present in the process wastewater. 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

2. Reverse osmosis and nanofiltration plants. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge process wastewater originating from outfalls: __________ 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Monthly 

Average 
Minimum Maximum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NA NL 1/ Month Estimate(1) 

pH (SU)(2)  NA 6.0 9.0 1/ Month Grab 

Total Dissolved Solids (mg/l) NA NA NL 1/ Month Composite(3)  

Total Suspended Solids (mg/l)(4) 30 NA 60 1/ Month Composite(3) 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l)(4)(5) NA 4.0 NA 1/ Month Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine (mg/l)(6) 0.011 NA 0.011 1/ Month Grab 

NL - No limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 
(1)Reported estimated flow is to may be based on the technical evaluation of the sources contributing to the discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 

those standards shall be the minimum and maximum effluent limitations. 
(3)Composite - For continuous discharges, five grab samples collected at hourly intervals. For batch discharges, five grab 

samples taken at evenly placed intervals until the discharge ceases or for the duration of the discharge or until a minimum of 

five grab samples have been collected. For batch discharges, the first grab shall occur within 15 minutes of commencement of 

the discharge. Composite sample procedures for batch discharges unable to meet the requirements in this table may be approved 

by DEQ on a case-by-case basis. 
(4)Applicable when conventional filtration treatment discharge is part of drinking water treatment and present in the process 

wastewater. 
(4) (5)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for dissolved oxygen in waters receiving 

the discharge, those standards shall be the minimum effluent limitations. 
(6)Total residual chlorine limit shall only be applicable if chlorine is present in the process wastewater. 
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B. Special conditions. 

1. Inspection of the effluent, and maintenance of the process 

wastewater treatment facility, shall be performed daily. 

Documentation of the inspection and maintenance shall be 

recorded in an operational log. This operational log shall be 

made available for review by the department personnel upon 

request. 

2. No domestic sewage discharges are permitted under this 

general permit. 

3. No chemicals used for water and process wastewater 

treatment, other than those listed on the owner's accepted 

registration statement, are allowed. Prior approval shall be 

obtained from the board before any changes are made to the 

chemicals, in order to assure protection of water quality and 

beneficial uses of the waters receiving the discharge. The 

owner shall indicate whether the chemical is likely to enter 

state waters through the process wastewater discharge. 

4. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts. 

5. Owners of facilities that are a source of the specified 

pollutant of concern to waters where an approved total 

maximum daily load (TMDL) has been established shall 

implement measures and controls that are consistent with the 

assumptions and requirements of the TMDL. 

6. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as the 

permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 

any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, if that 

discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter; 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 

acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 2,4-

dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and one 

milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the general permit registration 

statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 

basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, 

if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter; 

(2) One milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the general permit registration 

statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

7. If a board-approved groundwater monitoring plan was 

submitted with the registration statement, the permittee shall 

continue to sample and report in accordance with the plan. 

The approved plan shall be an enforceable part of this 

permit. The board or the owner, with board approval, may 

evaluate the groundwater monitoring data and demonstrate 

that revisions to or the cessation of the groundwater 

monitoring are appropriate. If the department determines 

that monitoring indicates that groundwater is contaminated, 

the permittee shall submit a corrective action plan within 60 

days of being notified by the regional office. The plan shall 

set forth the steps to ensure the contamination source is 

eliminated or that the contaminant plume is contained on the 

permittee's property. In addition, based on the extent of 

contamination, a risk analysis may be required. Once 

approved, this plan or analysis shall become an enforceable 

part of this permit. 

8. Compliance reporting under Part I A. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows less 

than or equal to the following: 
 

Effluent Characteristic Quantification Level 
 

Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 
 

TSS 1.0 mg/l 

b. Reporting. 

(1) Monthly average. Compliance with the monthly 

average limitations and reporting requirements for the 

parameters listed in subdivision 8 a of this subsection shall 

be determined as follows: all concentration data below the 

QL listed in subdivision 8 a shall be treated as zero. All 

concentration data equal to or above the QL listed in 

subdivision 8 a shall be treated as it is reported. An 

arithmetic average shall be calculated using all reported 

data for the month, including the defined zeros. This 

arithmetic average shall be reported on the Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) as calculated. If all data are 

below the QL, then the average shall be reported as 

"<QL." If reporting for quantity is required on the DMR 

and the calculated concentration is <QL, then report 

"<QL" for the quantity. Otherwise use the calculated 

concentration. For quarterly monitoring frequencies, the 

monthly average value to be reported on the DMR shall be 

the maximum of the arithmetic monthly averages 

calculated for each calendar month during the monitoring 

period. 

(2) Daily maximum. Compliance with the daily maximum 

limitations or reporting requirements for the parameters 

listed in subdivision 8 a of this subsection shall be 

determined as follows: all concentration data below the 

QL listed in subdivision 8 a shall be treated as zero. All 

concentration data equal to or above the QL shall be 

treated as reported. An arithmetic average shall be 
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calculated using all reported data, including the defined 

zeros, collected within each day during the reporting 

month. The maximum value of these daily averages thus 

determined shall be reported on the DMR as the daily 

maximum. If all data are below the QL, then the average 

shall be reported as "<QL." If reporting for quantity is 

required on the DMR and the calculated concentration is 

<QL, then report "<QL" for the quantity. Otherwise use 

the calculated concentration. For quarterly monitoring 

frequencies, the daily maximum value to be reported on 

the DMR shall be the maximum of the daily values for 

each calendar day during the monitoring period. 

c. Any single datum required shall be reported as "<QL" 

if it is less than the QL in subdivision 8 a of this 

subsection. Otherwise, the numerical value shall be 

reported. 

d. The permittee shall report at least the same number of 

significant digits as the permit limit for a given parameter. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used (i.e., five 

always rounding up or to the nearest even number) by the 

permittee, the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently, and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

9. Operation and maintenance manual requirement. 

a. Within 90 days after the date of coverage under this 

general permit, the permittee shall develop or update an 

operation and maintenance (O&M) manual for the process 

wastewater treatment works. The O&M manual shall be 

reviewed within 90 days of changes to the treatment 

system. The O&M manual shall be certified in accordance 

with Part II K of this permit. The O&M manual shall be 

made available for review by department personnel upon 

request. 

b. This manual shall detail the practices and procedures 

that will be followed to ensure compliance with the 

requirements of this permit. Within 30 days of a request 

by the department, the current O&M manual shall be 

submitted to the board for review and approval. The 

permittee shall operate the process wastewater treatment 

works in accordance with the O&M manual. 

Noncompliance with the O&M manual shall be deemed a 

violation of the permit. 

c. This manual shall include, but not necessarily be limited 

to, the following items, as appropriate: 

(1) Techniques to be employed in the collection, 

preservation, and analysis of effluent samples; 

(2) Discussion of best management practices; 

(3) Process wastewater treatment system design, 

operation, routine preventive maintenance of units within 

the process wastewater treatment system, critical spare 

parts inventory, and recordkeeping; 

(4) A plan for the management or disposal of waste solids 

and residues, which includes a requirement to clean 

settling basins and lagoons (if present at the facility) in 

order to achieve effective treatment and a requirement that 

all solids shall be handled, stored, and disposed of so as to 

prevent a discharge to state waters; 

(5) Procedures for measuring and recording the duration 

and volume of treated process wastewater discharged; and 

(6) Location of the operational log for performing the 

daily inspections of the effluent. The log shall note any 

solids or sheens and if there is no discharge at time of 

inspection. 

10. Owners of a facility with a daily maximum flow rate 

greater than or equal to 50,000 gallons per day over three 

consecutive monitoring periods that have not conducted 

whole effluent toxicity (WET) testing to demonstrate there 

is no reasonable potential for toxicity from their discharge 

shall conduct WET testing as described in subdivisions 10 a 

through 10 e of this subsection. Owners with changes in 

treatment technology or chemical usage that change the 

characteristics of the discharge and with a daily maximum 

flow rate greater than or equal to 50,000 gallons per day over 

three consecutive monitoring periods shall conduct WET 

testing as described in subdivisions 10 a through 10 e of this 

subsection. 

a. The WET testing shall consist of a minimum of four sets 

(a set includes both vertebrate and invertebrate tests) of 

acute or chronic tests that reflect the current characteristics 

of the process wastewater treatment plant effluent using 

the following tests and organisms: 

For an 

intermittent or 

batch discharger 

48 hour static acute toxicity tests 

Freshwater 

organisms 

Pimephales promelas or Oncorhynchus 

mykiss (for cold water) (vertebrates) 

Ceriodaphnia dubia (invertebrate) 

Saltwater 

organisms 

Cyprinodon variegatus (vertebrate) 

Americamysis bahia (invertebrate) 

For continuous discharger 

Freshwater 

7-Day Chronic Static Renewal Larval 

Survival and Growth Test with Pimephales 

promelas (vertebrate) 

3-Brood Chronic Static Renewal Survival 

and Reproduction Test with Ceriodaphnia 

dubia (invertebrate) 

Saltwater 

7-Day Chronic Static Renewal Larval 

Survival and Growth Test with Cyprinodon 

variegatus (vertebrate) 

7-Day Chronic Static Renewal Survival, 

Growth and Fecundity Test with 

Americamysis bahia (invertebrate) 
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b. This testing shall be completed, at a minimum, during 

the first year of coverage under the general permit or 

within one year of commencing discharge.Freshwater 

organisms are used where the salinity of the receiving 

water is less than 1.0‰ (parts per thousand). Where the 

salinity of the receiving water is greater than or equal to 

1.0‰ but less than 5.0‰ either freshwater or saltwater 

organisms may be used. Saltwater organisms are used 

where the salinity is greater than or equal to 5.0‰. There 

shall be a minimum of 30 days between sets of tests, and 

test procedures shall follow 40 CFR Part 136, which 

references the EPA guidance manuals for WET testing. 

c. The department will evaluate all representative data 

statistically to see if there is reasonable potential for 

toxicity in the facility discharge. If such reasonable 

potential exists and cannot be eliminated, the owner will 

be notified that the owner must apply for an individual 

VPDES permit at next reissuance and a WET limit will be 

included in that individual permit. If the potential cause of 

the toxicity is eliminated during the five-year term of this 

general permit, the owner may conduct additional WET 

testing to demonstrate that there is no longer reasonable 

potential for toxicity and an individual permit will not be 

required at the next reissuance. 

d. If the department determines that no reasonable 

potential for toxicity exists in the facility discharge, no 

further WET testing is required unless changes in 

treatment technology or chemical usage are made at the 

plant that change the characteristics of the discharge. If 

there have been changes to the effluent characteristics, 

then four sets of WET testing, either acute or chronic tests 

as applicable to the current characteristics of the process 

wastewater treatment plant effluent, must be performed to 

recharacterize the discharge. 

e. Any WET testing data will be submitted with the next 

required discharge monitoring report. 

11. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards. 

12. Notice of termination. 

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 

department. The notice of termination may be filed after 

one or more of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 

longer discharges of process wastewater from the potable 

water treatment plant; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility. A notice of termination does not have to be 

submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement 

form has been submitted; 

(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit or a VPDES 

general permit; or 

(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for another 

reason, provided the board agrees that coverage under this 

general permit is no longer needed. 

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available); 

(2) Facility name and location; 

(3) VPDES general permit registration number for the 

facility; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including: 

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility; 

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility and there are no longer discharges from the 

facility; 

(c) A statement indicating that all discharges have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit; or 

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason and a description of the 

reason. 

c. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that all process wastewater discharges from the 

identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 

general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 

VPDES individual or a VPDES general permit, or that I 

am no longer the owner of the facility, or permit coverage 

should be terminated for another reason listed above. I 

understand that by submitting this notice of termination, 

that I am no longer authorized to discharge process 

wastewater in accordance with the general permit, and that 

discharging pollutants to surface waters is unlawful where 

the discharge is not authorized by a VPDES permit. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice of termination 

does not release an owner from liability for any violations 

of this permit or the Clean Water Act." 

d. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 

department and signed in accordance with Part II K. 

13. Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 

other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

Part II  

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS. 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 
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2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be analyzed 

in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements; 

c. The dates and times analyses were performed; 

d. The individuals who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous 

monitoring instrumentation, copies of all reports required by 

this permit, and records of all data used to complete the 

registration statement for this permit, for a period of at least 

three years from the date of the sample, measurement, report 

or request for coverage. This period of retention shall be 

extended automatically during the course of any unresolved 

litigation regarding the regulated activity or regarding 

control standards applicable to the permittee, or as requested 

by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department's regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a DMR or on 

forms provided, approved or specified by the department. 

Following notification from the department of the start date 

for the required electronic submission of monitoring reports, 

as provided for in 9VAC25-31-1020, such forms and reports 

submitted after that date shall be electronically submitted to 

the department in compliance with this section and 

9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at least a three-month 

notice provided between the notification from the 

department and the date after which such forms and reports 

must be submitted electronically. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating this 

permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The board 

may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such plans, 

specifications, and other pertinent information as may be 

necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from the 

permittee's discharge on the quality of state waters, or such 

other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, or for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee that 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, industrial 

waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious substance 

into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or that 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may reasonably 

be expected to enter state waters in violation of Part II F, shall 

notify the department of the discharge immediately (see Part II 

I 3) upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case later than 

24 hours after said discovery. A written report of the 
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unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department, 

within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 

report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or upset 

should occur from a treatment works and the discharge enters 

or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee shall 

promptly notify (see Part II I 3), in no case later than 24 hours, 

the department by telephone after the discovery of the 

discharge. This notification shall provide all available details 

of the incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

reduce the report to writing and shall submit it to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 

accordance with Part II I 1 b. Unusual and extraordinary 

discharges include any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. 

1. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 

adversely affect state waters or may endanger public health. 

a. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this subsection: 

(1) Any unanticipated bypass; and 

(2) Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters. 

b. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

(1) A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

(2) The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and 

(3) Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the oral 

report has been received within 24 hours and no adverse 

impact on state waters has been reported. 

2. The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Parts II I 1, in writing, at the time the next 

monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall contain 

the information listed in Part II I 1 b. 

NOTE: 3. The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Parts II G, H and I may shall be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Pollution 

ResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response 

(online reporting preferred). For reports outside normal 

working hours, a message may be left and this shall fulfill 

the immediate reporting requirement the online portal shall 

be used. For emergencies, call the Virginia Department of 

Emergency Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service 

Management's Emergency Operations Center (24-hours) at 

1-800-468-8892. 

3. 4. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement, 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. 

J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of the Clean Water Act that are applicable to such 

source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
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promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the 

nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged. 

This notification applies to pollutants that are subject 

neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements under Part I B 6; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change 

in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, and 

such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit registration process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity 

that may result in noncompliance with permit requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall be 

signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated facility 

including having the explicit or implicit duty of making 

major capital investment recommendations, and initiating 

and directing other comprehensive measures to assure 

long-term environmental compliance with environmental 

laws and regulations; the manager can ensure that the 

necessary systems are established or actions taken to 

gather complete and accurate information for permit 

registration requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager 

in accordance with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports and other information. All reports required by 

permits, and other information requested by the board shall 

be signed by a person described in Part II K 1, or by a duly 

authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly 

authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or an 

individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. (A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named position); 

and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part II 

K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual or 

position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports, or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or 

persons who manage the system, or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information, including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing 

violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the State 

Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action, for permit 

coverage termination, or for denial of permit coverage renewal. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water Act 

for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the regulations 

that establish these standards or prohibitions, even if this 

permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the 

requirement. 
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M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration statement 

at least 60 days before the expiration date of the existing 

permit, unless permission for a later date has been granted by 

the board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of the 

existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights, or any infringement of 

federal, state or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

II U), and "upset" (Part II V) nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation 

and maintenance also includes effective plant performance, 

adequate funding, adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory 

and process controls, including appropriate quality assurance 

procedures. This provision requires the operation of back-up or 

auxiliary facilities or similar systems that are installed by the 

permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 

from any portion of a treatment facility. The permittee may 

allow any bypass to occur which does not cause effluent 

limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential 

maintenance to assure efficient operation. These bypasses 

are not subject to the provisions of Part II U 2 and U 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, if 

possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such 

as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of 

untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 

adequate back-up equipment should have been installed in 

the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass that occurred during normal periods of 

equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under Part 

II U 2. 

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects if the board determines that 

it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology-based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are met. 

A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and before 

an action for noncompliance, is not a final administrative 

action subject to judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence 

that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 
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c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S. 

3. In any enforcement preceding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative, including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator, upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, any 

substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this subsection, the time for inspection shall 

be deemed reasonable during regular business hours or 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained in this 

general permit shall make an inspection unreasonable during 

an emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permit coverages may be terminated for 

cause. The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit 

termination or a notification of planned changes or anticipated 

noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permit coverage. 

1. Permit coverage is not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. 

2. Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if: 

1. a. The current permittee notifies the department within 

30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board; 

2. b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

3. c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 

the proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the new 

permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 

the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6872; Filed March 31, 2022, 4:37 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-520. Regulations Governing 

the Dental Scholarship and Loan Repayment Programs 

(amending 12VAC5-520-10, 12VAC5-520-80, 12VAC5-

520-130, 12VAC5-520-150, 12VAC5-520-160, 12VAC5-

520-170, 12VAC5-520-190, 12VAC5-520-200, 12VAC5-

520-210; adding 12VAC5-520-155, 12VAC5-520-195, 

12VAC5-520-205; repealing 12VAC5-520-20, 12VAC5-

520-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-122.9 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 24, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Olivette Burroughs, Statewide Health 

Workforce Manager, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7431, FAX (804) 864-7440, or email 

olivette.burroughs@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The regulation is promulgated under the authority of 

§§ 32.1-12, 32.1-122.9, and 32.1-122.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Section 32.1-12 grants the State Board of Health the 

legal authority to make, adopt, promulgate, and enforce such 

regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 32.1 

of the Code of Virginia. Section 32.1-122.9 of the Code of 

Virginia directs the board to establish an annual dental 

scholarship for students in good standing at Virginia 

Commonwealth University. Section 32.1-122.9 of the Code of 

Virginia also directs the board to promulgate regulations to 

administer the scholarship program. Section 32.1-122.9:1 of 

the Code of Virginia directs the board to establish a dental loan 

repayment program for graduates of accredited dental schools 

who meet criteria determined by the board. 

Purpose: In June of 2016, the Virginia Department of Health 

(VDH) conducted a periodic review of Regulations Governing 

the Dental Scholarship and Loan Repayment Programs 

(12VAC5-520). As a result of the review, VDH determined it 

mailto:olivette.burroughs@vdh.virginia.gov
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was necessary to use the regulatory process to amend the 

regulation, as the regulatory chapter has not been 

comprehensively revised in over a decade. Further, this 

regulatory action is necessary to amend the regulation to 

conform to similar regulatory chapters. There are several 

scholarship and loan repayment programs administered by 

VDH and 12VAC5-520, as currently written, does not 

resemble those other programs. The regulatory action is 

essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens as 

12VAC5-520 is currently out of date and is not consistent with 

other similar programs. This proposed regulatory action shall 

update the regulatory chapter and encourage the use of the 

scholarship and loan repayment programs, potentially leading 

to more dentists practicing within underserved areas within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Substance: The substantive proposed changes are: (i) 

Definitions: add, remove, and update definitions; (ii) 

Administration of program: repeal an unnecessary section; (iii) 

Population and dentist data: update the Code of Federal 

Regulation reference to the proper section; (iv) Eligibility for 

scholarships and repayment awards: rename the section. 

Update the format of the section so that it resembles other 

similar regulatory chapters; (v) Scholarship and loan 

repayment award: repeal an unnecessary section; (vi) Number 

of applications per student, amount of scholarships, and 

selection criteria: rename the section. Minor technical 

amendments; (vii) How to apply: addition of a new section that 

is present in similar regulatory programs; (viii) Conditions of 

scholarships and contractual practice obligation: rename the 

section; update the format of the section to resemble other 

similar regulatory chapters; specify that obligated service must 

begin within 180 days of graduation rather than 90 days so that 

the timeframe is identical to other similar regulatory chapters; 

add the requirement that recipients may only take a total of four 

weeks of leave for personal reasons without written permission 

from the commissioner, which is a requirement that is present 

in other similar regulatory chapters; and movement of 

information regarding repayment to a new section; (ix) Special 

requests for approval: minor technical amendments; (x) Breach 

of contract: rename the section and update the format of the 

section so that it resembles other similar regulatory chapters; 

(xi) Deferment and waivers: addition of new section that 

consists of some language from the previous default section 

and update the format of the section so that it resembles other 

similar regulatory chapters; (xii) Repayment: addition of the 

requirement that a scholarship recipient shall pay a penalty in 

the event of default after graduation; (xiii) Fulfillment after 

default payments: addition of a new section; (xiv) Reporting 

requirements: update the format of the section so that it 

resembles other similar regulatory chapters; and (xv) general 

language and wording changes were also made for consistency 

and clarity. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed regulatory 

action is a potential increase in the availability of dentists in 

underserved areas, should this program be funded. 

Additionally, these underserved areas will be better positioned 

to retain qualified dentists due to the obligation created by 

accepting the scholarship or loan repayment funds. VDH does 

not foresee any disadvantages to the public, the agency, or the 

Commonwealth associated with the proposed regulatory 

action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a 2016 periodic review,1 the State Board of Health 

(Board) proposes numerous amendments to the regulation 

governing the state dental scholarship and loan repayment 

programs. In addition to amending and adding language for 

improved clarity, the Board proposes amendments concerning: 

1) eligibility to receive a scholarship, 2) when the dentist must 

start practice in a qualified location, 3) what constitutes a 

breach of contract, 4) the interest rate charged when 

scholarship or loan repayment award recipients fail to fulfill 

their commitment, 5) a penalty when scholarship recipients fail 

to inform the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) prior to 

dental school graduation that they will not fulfill their 

commitment, 6) how long VDH's commissioner may extend 

the repayment period for recipients in default, and 7) the 

conditions concerning reimbursement of repayment when a 

recipient fulfills their commitment after defaulting.2 

Result of Analysis. Some proposed amendments produce a net 

benefit. The impact of other proposed amendments is 

indeterminate. 

Estimated Economic Impact Background. Pursuant to §§ 32.1-

122.9 and 32.1-122.9:1 of the Code of Virginia respectively, 

the Commonwealth has established the dental scholarship and 

dental loan repayment award programs. These programs are 

intended to help provide additional dental services in 

underserved areas of Virginia. Scholarships are awarded to 

students enrolled in Virginia Commonwealth University 

School of Dentistry.3 Dentist loan repayment awards are 

granted to graduates of accredited dental schools. 

As part of the contract agreement for receiving dental school 

scholarship funds, the recipient commits to after graduation 

continuously engaging in full-time dental practice in a dental 

underserved area of Virginia for a period of years equal to the 

number of annual scholarships received. The loan repayment 

award contract also requires the recipient dentist to 

continuously engage in full-time dental practice in an 

underserved area of Virginia for a period of years equal to the 

number of loan repayment awards received. 

Currently neither program is funded. 

Scholarship Eligibility. The Board proposes to add to the 

scholarship eligibility requirements that the candidate have a 

cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 and demonstrate financial need, 

which is verified by the Virginia Commonwealth University 

School of Dentistry's financial aid officer or authorized person 

as part of the application process. The proposal to require that 

the candidate have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 is likely 
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beneficial since state funds are best invested in more successful 

students who are more likely to graduate and be capable of 

fulfilling the commitment to provide dental care to 

underserved portions of the Commonwealth. 

Required Start of Practice. Under the current regulation the 

recipient must begin practice in a dental underserved area 

within 90 days of graduation to not be in default. The Board 

proposes to amend the deadline to 180 days. The main intent 

of the programs is to increase dental service in underserved 

areas. To the extent that some newly minted dentists who do 

intend to fulfill their contract commitment may have trouble 

beginning practice in an underserved area within three months 

of graduation, the proposed amendment may be beneficial in 

that may help some recipients so serve and not default. 

Breach of Contract. The Board proposes to specify that 

scholarship and loan repayment award recipients are in breach 

of contract: 1) if they falsify or misrepresent information on 

the program application, the verification of employment forms, 

or other required documents, or 2) if their employment is 

terminated for good cause as determined by the employer and 

confirmed by VDH. If employment is terminated for reasons 

beyond the participant's control (e.g. closure of site), the 

participant shall transfer to another site approved by the Board 

in the Commonwealth within six months of termination. 

Failure of participant to transfer to another site shall be deemed 

to be a breach of the contract. These situations would be 

considered breach of contract by the Board whether or not the 

language is specified in the regulation; nevertheless, having the 

language in regulation may help the Board enforce rules that 

would increase the likelihood that it can maximize the amount 

of quality dental care provided in underserved areas. 

Interest Rate. When scholarship and loan repayment award 

payment recipients fail to fulfill their commitment, they are 

required to pay back their award plus interest. Under the 

current regulation, the interest rate is set at "the prime lending 

rate plus 2.0%." The Board proposed to amend the stated 

interest rate in the regulation to "the legal rate of interest 

pursuant to § 6.2-302 of the Code of Virginia." That statute 

states that "The judgment rate of interest shall be an annual rate 

of six percent, except that a money judgment entered in an 

action arising from a contract shall carry interest at the rate 

lawfully charged on such contract, or at six percent annually, 

whichever is higher." Considering that the statute is already in 

effect, under the current regulation the interest rate to be paid 

by recipients in default is the prime lending rate plus 2.0% or 

6.0%, whichever is higher. As of the time that this report is 

being written, June 30, 2017, the prime lending rate is 4.25%. 

Thus by the current rules the interest rate to be paid by 

recipients in default would be 6.25%. The proposed regulation 

effectively sets the interest rate to be paid by those in default 

at 6.00%, regardless of the prime rate. 

Penalty. The Board proposes to assess a penalty of three times 

the amount of all monetary scholarship awards paid to the 

scholarship recipient plus interest when the scholarship 

recipient fails to inform VDH prior to dental school graduation 

that he will not fulfill his commitment. A scholarship recipient 

who notifies VDH in writing that he will not practice dentistry 

in Virginia as required by his contract would be required to 

repay the total amount of scholarship funds received plus 

interest, but no penalty. This proposed penalty gives the 

scholarship recipient strong incentive to notify VDH of their 

change in plans before graduation. 

Repayment Period Extension. When it is determined that a 

scholarship or loan repayment award recipient has failed to 

fulfill their commitment and is deemed to be in default, the 

recipient is required to pay back the award plus interest. Under 

the current regulation, VDH's commissioner may in his 

discretion permit extension of the period of repayment for up 

to two years from the date that the recipient is deemed to be in 

default. The Board proposes to change the permitted extension 

to "two years from the date that the recipient completes 

postgraduate training or the recipient enters into the full-time 

practice of dentistry, whichever is later." Effectively this in 

many cases would reduce the length of time that the 

commissioner may extend the repayment period for recipients 

in default, since the date that the recipient completes 

postgraduate training or the recipient enters into the full-time 

practice of dentistry would often be before the date of default. 

Post-Default Commitment Fulfillment. The current regulation 

provides that should the scholarship recipient default and 

consequently pays back the value of their scholarship plus 

interest, but later does fulfill the commitment of serving his 

scholarship obligation in an underserved area within five years 

of having paid the restitution, that the recipient will be 

reimbursed for all or part of any scholarship award paid based 

on the fulfillment of the scholarship and availability of funds. 

The Board proposes to instead remove the five-year deadline, 

reduce the reimbursement by "applicable interest and fees," 

and include loan repayment awardees along with scholarships 

recipients in the opportunity for reimbursement. The proposed 

amendment to remove the five-year deadline would be 

beneficial in that it would provide incentive for dentists who 

are further along in their careers to come back and provide 

dental service in an underserved area. It would add uncertainty 

for the state to know when it may require funds for 

reimbursement though. Reducing the reimbursement by 

interest provides the incentive to provide the dental service 

sooner rather than later. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The state dental scholarship 

and loan repayment programs are currently not funded. If the 

programs were to be funded, the proposed amendments would 

affect dental practices in dental underserved areas,4 patients in 

underserved areas, the Virginia Commonwealth University 

School of Dentistry, and dentists and dental students desiring 

to work in underserved areas in return for a dental scholarship 

or loan repayment. 

Localities Particularly Affected. If the state dental scholarship 

and loan repayment programs were to be funded, the proposed 
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amendments would particularly affect localities that have 

relatively lower per capita dental care available. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments do 

not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_________________________________________ 
1More information about the periodic review can be viewed on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall (Town Hall) at 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1502. 
2The current proposed language eliminates the Virginia Department of Health 

from the list of state agency facilities where a dentist can practice and fulfill 

their commitment. VDH staff indicated that this amendment is currently being 

reconsidered. 
3Virginia Commonwealth University has the only dental school in Virginia. 

4The proposed definition for "dental underserved area" is 1) a geographic area 
in Virginia designated by the Board as a county or city in which the ratio of 

practitioners of dentistry to population is less than that for the Commonwealth 

as a whole; 2) those cities and counties determined to be dental health 
professions shortage areas as defined by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services or designated a federal shortage area for the practice of 

dentistry as outlined in 42 CFR 5.1; or 3) a designated state facility. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget on the proposed amendments to the regulation with the 

exception that under "Penalty" in 12VAC5-520-200 B, the 

board proposes to assess a penalty of two times the amount of 

all monetary scholarship awards paid to the recipient plus 

interest. The proposed penalty is not, as stated in the analysis, 

three times the amount of all monetary scholarship awards paid 

to the recipient. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments make the regulation consistent 

with similar scholarship award programs and include (i) 

corrections to the definitions of terms; (ii) clarifications to 

regulatory provisions; (iii) reorganization of the regulatory 

chapter conforming it to similar programs; and (iv) updates 

to language regarding how to apply to the program and to 

penalties to be paid in the event a recipient defaults after 

graduation. 

12VAC5-520-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited dental school" means any dental school in the 

United States receiving accreditation from the Commission on 

Dental Accreditation. 

"Accredited residency" means an advanced dental education 

program in general or specialty dentistry accredited by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation and approved by the 

American Dental Association. 

"Board" or "Board of Health" means the State Board of 

Health. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner. 

"Dental practice" means the practice of dentistry by a 

recipient in general or specialty dentistry in a geographic area 

determined location within Virginia that is designated as a 

dental underserved area to be fulfillment of the recipient's 

scholarship or loan repayment obligation or practice as a 

dentist within a designated state facility. 

"Dental student" means an individual who is studying the 

practice of general or specialty dentistry.  

"Dental underserved area" means (i) a geographic area in 

Virginia designated by the State Board of Health as a county 

or city in which the ratio of practitioners of dentistry to 

population is less than that for the Commonwealth as a whole 

as determined by the commissioner or; (ii) a dental health 

professions professional shortage area using criteria described 

in Part II (12VAC5-520-80 et seq.) of this chapter; or (iii) a 

designated state facility. 

"Dentist loan repayment program" means the program 

established by § 32.1-122.9:1 of the Code of Virginia that 

allocates funds appropriated in conjunction with the dental 

scholarship program to increase the number of dentists in 

underserved areas of Virginia. 

"Department" means Virginia Department of Health.  

"Designated state facility" means practice as a dentist in a 

facility operated by the Virginia Department of Health, 

Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1502
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Services, Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice, or the 

Virginia Department of Corrections. 

"Full-time dental practice" means the practice of dentistry for 

an average of a minimum of 32 hours per week for 48 weeks 

per year excluding those exceptions enumerated in Part III 

(12VAC5-520-160 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"Interest at the prevailing bank rate for similar amounts of 

unsecured debt" means the prime lending rate plus 2.0% as 

published in the Wall Street Journal on the first day of the 

month in which the decision to repay is communicated to the 

commissioner by the recipient or on the first day of the month 

that the commissioner determines the recipient to be in default 

the legal rate of interest pursuant to § 6.2-302 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Loan repayment award" means an award paid to a dentist for 

dental school loans in an amount equivalent to the current in-

state tuition and mandatory fees at Virginia Commonwealth 

University School of Dentistry, and for which the dentist is 

under a contractual obligation to repay through practice in an a 

dental underserved area or designated state facility. This 

amount may be capped at the discretion of the commissioner. 

"Practice of general or specialty dentistry" means the 

evaluation, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment (nonsurgical, 

surgical, or related procedures) of diseases, disorders, and 

conditions of the oral cavity, maxillofacial, and adjacent and 

associated structures and their impact on the human body. 

"Recipient" means an eligible applicant who enters into a 

contract with the commissioner and participates in the 

scholarship or loan repayment program. 

"Restitution" means three two times the award amount 

received plus interest at the prevailing bank rate for similar 

amounts of unsecured debt as set forth in this regulation, less 

any service obligation completed owed to the Commonwealth 

of Virginia by a scholarship or loan repayment award recipient 

who is in default of his contractual obligation as provided for 

in this chapter. 

"Scholarship award" means an amount equivalent to one year 

of in-state tuition and mandatory fees at Virginia 

Commonwealth University School of Dentistry for the 

academic year a student is enrolled and for which the dental 

student entered a contractual obligation to repay through 

practice in an a dental underserved area or designated state 

facility. This amount may be capped at the discretion of the 

commissioner. 

"Scholarship recipient" means an eligible dental student who 

enters into a contract with the commissioner and receives one 

or more scholarship awards from the Virginia Dental 

Scholarship Program.  

"Specialty dentistry" means the advanced practice of dentistry 

in any specialty approved by the American Dental Association 

and accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. 

12VAC5-520-20. Administration of program. (Repealed.) 

The State Health Commissioner, as executive officer of the 

Board of Health, shall administer this program. Any requests 

for deviation from the prescribed definitions shall be 

considered on an individual basis by the board in regular 

session.  

12VAC5-520-80. Population and dentist data. 

In order to determine the population-to-dentist ratio, the 

commissioner shall: 

1. Use the population data or projections from the United 

States Census for independent cities, counties, and counties 

with independent cities within their boundaries; 

2. Determine the number of practitioners of dentistry from 

data secured from the Virginia State Board of Dentistry and 

the American Dental Association, adjusting for those 

dentists licensed in Virginia but practicing in other states, the 

military, and retired dentists with active licenses; 

3. Calculate this ratio every five years; and 

4. Include as dental underserved areas those cities and 

counties determined to be dental health professions shortage 

areas as defined by the Department of Health and Human 

Services or designated a federal shortage area for the 

practice of dentistry as outlined in 42 CFR 5.1 42 CFR 5.2. 

12VAC5-520-130. Eligible applicants Eligibility for 

scholarships and loan repayment awards. 

A. Any currently enrolled dental student in good standing and 

full-time attendance at Virginia Commonwealth University 

School of Dentistry who has not entered the first year of an 

accredited residency shall be eligible for the Virginia Dental 

Scholarship Program. Preference for the scholarship award 

shall be given to residents of the Commonwealth, students who 

are residents of a dental underserved area, and students from 

economically disadvantaged backgrounds.  

B. Any graduate of an accredited dental school in the United 

States who is establishing a practice in general or specialty 

dentistry in an underserved area or practicing dentistry in a 

designated state facility shall be eligible to apply for the 

Virginia Dentist Loan Repayment Program. General practice 

dentists will be within five years of graduation from an 

accredited undergraduate dental program and have existing 

loans accumulated as a result of their undergraduate dental 

program. Specialty practice dentists will be within five years 

of completion of their specialty training and have existing 

loans accumulated as a result of their undergraduate dental 

program. Dentists who received Virginia scholarship awards 

or other scholarships that paid their full tuition and fees are not 

eligible for the Dentist Loan Repayment Program for the years 

they received those awards. 
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A. An applicant for the Virginia Dental Scholarship Program 

must submit a completed application form and required 

documentation before the established deadline dates. 

B. To be considered for the Virginia Dental Scholarship 

Program, an applicant must:  

1. Be a United States citizen, a United States national, or a 

qualified alien pursuant to 8 USC § 1621;  

2. Be currently enrolled, in good standing with a cumulative 

GPA of at least 3.0, which is verified by an appropriate grade 

transcript, and attend the Virginia Commonwealth 

University School of Dentistry;  

3. Not have entered the first year of an accredited residency; 

and 

4. Demonstrate financial need, which is verified by the 

school's financial aid officer or authorized person as part of 

the application process. 

C. Preference for scholarships shall be given to:  

1. Bona fide residents of Virginia as evidenced by being 

domiciled in the Commonwealth for at least one year as 

defined by § 23.1-502 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Students who are residents of a dental underserved area; 

and  

3. Students from economically disadvantaged backgrounds.  

D. An applicant for the Virginia Dentist Loan Repayment 

Program must submit a completed application form and 

required documentation before the established deadline dates. 

E. To be considered for the Virginia Dentist Loan Repayment 

Program, an applicant must: 

1. Be a United States citizen, a United States national, or a 

qualified alien pursuant to 8 USC § 1621;  

2. Be a graduate of an accredited dental school in the United 

States;  

3. Secure employment at an approved practice site in general 

or specialty dentistry in a dental underserved area;  

4. Be a general practice dentist within five years of 

graduation from an accredited dental program or a specialty 

practice dentist within five years of completion of specialty 

training;  

5. Have existing loans accumulated as a result of the 

applicant's dental program;  

6. Not have received Virginia scholarship awards or other 

scholarships that paid the applicant's full tuition and fees; 

and 

7. Not have received a combined maximum of four 

scholarships or loan repayment awards. 

F. Preference for loan repayment awards shall be given to 

Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry 

graduates. 

12VAC5-520-140. Scholarship and loan repayment award. 

(Repealed.) 

A Virginia dental scholarship or loan repayment shall be 

awarded to the recipient upon or following the recipient's 

execution of a contract with the commissioner for scholarship 

or loan repayment by practicing dentistry in an underserved 

area or designated state facility as defined in this chapter.  

12VAC5-520-150. Distribution of scholarships and loan 

repayment awards Scholarships and loan repayment 

awards details and selection criteria. 

The Virginia General Assembly establishes the total 

combined appropriation for the dental scholarship and dentist 

loan repayment programs. Funds shall be awarded for these 

programs based on the following criteria: 

1. Scholarship. The governing board of Virginia 

Commonwealth University School of Dentistry shall use the 

application procedure established by the commissioner and 

annually submit the names of qualified students to receive 

scholarships in accordance with the criteria for preference 

enumerated in 12VAC5-520-130. The total number of 

scholarship awards will shall be based on availability of 

funds. Scholarship awards will shall be made annually by 

October 30 to third-year and fourth-year dental students. 

First-year and second-year students will shall be considered 

for an award only in the event of extreme financial need. 

Individual scholarship recipients may receive a maximum of 

five four scholarship awards. 

2. Loan repayment. The application period for the Dentist 

Loan Repayment Program will shall begin in October with 

awards made by the end of each fiscal year. Preference for 

loan repayment awards will shall be given to graduates of 

Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry. 

Individual loan repayment award recipients may receive a 

maximum of four awards upon graduation from dental 

school. All awards will shall be competitive and will be 

based on availability of funds. 

3. Scholarship and loan repayment. A combination of 

scholarship and loan repayment awards shall not exceed a 

total of four awards for any individual recipient. 

12VAC5-520-155. How to apply.  

Eligible applicants shall submit a complete application made 

available by the department on the department's website, 

www.vdh.virginia.gov. A complete application shall include 

documentation of all eligibility requirements. The deadline for 

submission of the application shall be announced by the 

department on the department's website.  
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12VAC5-520-160. Contractual practice obligation 

Conditions of scholarships, loan repayment awards, and 

contractual practice obligation. 

A. Prior to the payment of money to becoming a scholarship 

or loan repayment award recipient, the applicant shall enter 

into a contract with the commissioner shall prepare and enter 

into a contract with the recipient. The contract shall:, agreeing 

to terms and conditions upon which the scholarship or loan 

repayment award is granted. 

1. Provide B. The contract shall provide that the recipient of 

the scholarship award shall pursue the dental course of Virginia 

Commonwealth University until graduation and upon 

graduation or upon graduation from an accredited residency 

program that does not exceed four years,. For each scholarship 

received, the recipient agrees to engage in the equivalent of one 

year full-time dental practice in a dental underserved area of 

Virginia. The recipient shall notify the commissioner 

department in writing of his proposed practice location or 

intent to enter a residency not more than 30 days after 

graduation and begin his approved practice within 90 days after 

completing dental school or residency, and thereafter within 

180 days of graduation from the dental course of Virginia 

Commonwealth University or upon graduation from an 

accredited residency program that does not exceed four years 

of the type of dental practice to be performed or intent to enter 

a residency. The notice shall include the name and address of 

the employer for approval. Thereafter the recipient shall 

continuously engage in full-time dental practice in a dental 

underserved area of Virginia or in a designated state facility for 

a period of years equal to the number of annual scholarships 

received. Dental practice in federal agencies, military service, 

or the U.S. Public Health Service may not be substituted for 

scholarship obligation.  

2. Provide C. The contract shall provide that upon graduation 

from an accredited dental school and receiving notification of 

the dentist loan repayment award or residency program, the 

dentist shall begin his approved practice within 90 180 days 

and thereafter continuously engage in. For each loan 

repayment award received, the recipient agrees to engage in the 

equivalent of one year full-time dental practice in an a dental 

underserved area of Virginia or in a designated state facility for 

a period of years equal to the number of loan repayment awards 

received as designated by the State Board of Health. 

3. Provide D. The contract shall provide that at any time prior 

to entering practice, the scholarship or loan repayment award 

recipient shall be allowed to select a future practice location 

from the listing of dental underserved areas maintained by the 

board. 

4. Provide E. The contract shall provide that the recipient may 

request approval of a change of practice location. The 

commissioner in his discretion may approve such a request, but 

only if the change is to a practice location in a dental 

underserved area or a state facility designated by the State 

Board of Health. 

5. Provide F. The contract shall provide that the recipient shall 

repay the scholarship or loan repayment obligation by 

practicing dentistry on a full-time basis in a dental underserved 

area, shall maintain office hours convenient for the population 

of the area to have access to the recipient's services, and shall 

participate in all government-sponsored insurance programs 

designed to ensure access to dental services of recipients of 

public assistance, including programs established pursuant to 

§§ 32.1-325 and 32.1-351 of the Code of Virginia. The 

recipient shall not selectively place limits on the numbers of 

such patients admitted to the practice. 

6. Provide G. The contract shall provide that the scholarship 

recipient shall not voluntarily obligate himself for more than 

the minimum period of military service required of dentists by 

the laws of the United States and that upon completion of the 

minimum period of military service, the recipient shall 

promptly begin and thereafter continuously engage in full-time 

dental practice in a dental underserved area of Virginia or in a 

designated state facility for the period of years equal to the 

number of scholarships received. Dental practice in federal 

agencies, military service or the U.S. Public Health Service 

may not be substituted for scholarship obligation.  

7. Provide that the recipient shall receive credit toward 

fulfillment of his contractual obligation at the rate of 12 months 

of dental practice for each scholarship or loan repayment award 

paid to the recipient. The recipient may be absent from the 

place of approved practice for a total of four weeks in each 12-

month period for personal reasons. Absence for a period in 

excess of four weeks without the written permission of the 

commissioner shall result in proportional reduction of the 

period of credit toward fulfillment of the contractual 

obligation.  

8. Provide that should the scholarship recipient pay restitution 

by not serving his scholarship obligation in an underserved 

area, and within five years of paying restitution fulfills the 

terms of his contract through dental practice as outlined in this 

section, that the recipient will be reimbursed for all or part of 

any scholarship award paid based on the fulfillment of the 

scholarship and availability of funds.  

H. Absence for a period in excess of four weeks annually 

without the written permission of the commissioner shall result 

in proportional reduction of the period of credit toward 

fulfillment of the contractual obligation. The commissioner, in 

the commissioner's sole discretion, shall consider requests on 

an individual basis and determine the remaining fulfillment 

obligation. 

12VAC5-520-170. Special requests for approval. 

Special requests for approval of the practice of dentistry in an 

area in which the ratio does not meet the definition of an area 

of need a dental underserved area shall be considered by the 
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State Board of Health on an individual basis. To obtain the 

board's approval, the scholarship or loan repayment award 

recipient shall substantiate to the board's satisfaction that the 

ratio does not correctly depict the provision of dental services 

in the city or county and that additional practitioners are 

necessary. Examples of situations deserving special 

consideration may include topography, age, or physical health 

of dental practitioners in the area, and sub-areas of high density 

population that can be geographically identified and shown to 

have a ratio less than the state ratio. 

Part VI 

Default Breach of contract 

12VAC5-520-190. Default Breach of contract. 

A. With respect to default, the contract shall provide that a 

scholarship or loan repayment recipient who fails to fulfill his 

obligation to practice dentistry as described in 12VAC5-520-

160 shall be deemed in default under the following 

circumstances and shall forfeit all monetary scholarship or loan 

repayment awards made to him and shall repay the 

Commonwealth of Virginia as provided for in this chapter. The 

contract shall:  

1. Provide that if the scholarship recipient defaults while still 

in dental school, by voluntarily notifying the commissioner 

in writing that he will not practice dentistry in a Virginia 

dental underserved area as required by his contract, by 

voluntarily not proceeding to the next year of dental 

education, or by withdrawing from dental school, the student 

shall pay the Commonwealth of Virginia all monetary 

scholarship awards plus interest at the prevailing bank rate 

for similar amounts of unsecured debt.  

2. Provide that the scholarship recipient who defaults by 

failing to maintain grade levels that will allow the dental 

student to graduate, or by reason of his dismissal from dental 

school for any reason, shall repay the Commonwealth of 

Virginia all monetary scholarship awards plus interest at the 

prevailing bank rate for similar amounts of unsecured debt.  

3. Provide that if the scholarship or loan repayment recipient 

is in default due to death or permanent disability so as not to 

be able to engage in dental practice, the recipient or his 

personal representative shall repay the Commonwealth all 

monetary awards plus 8.0% interest on the amount of the 

award. Partial fulfillment of the recipient's contractual 

obligation by the practice of dentistry as provided for in this 

contract prior to death or permanent disability shall reduce 

the amount of repayment plus interest due by a proportionate 

amount of money, such proportion being determined as the 

ratio of the number of whole months that a recipient has 

practiced dentistry in an approved location to the total 

number of months of the contractual obligation the recipient 

has incurred. The commissioner may waive all or part of the 

scholarship or loan repayment obligation under application 

by the recipient or his estate under these conditions and 

consider whole or partial forgiveness of payment or service 

in consideration of individual cases of hardship or inability 

to pay.  

4. Provide that any recipient of a scholarship or loan 

repayment who defaults by evasion or refusal to fulfill the 

obligation to practice dentistry in an underserved area or 

designated state facility for a period of years equal to the 

number of annual scholarships or loan repayment awards 

received shall make restitution to the Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

B. A scholarship or loan repayment recipient will be 

considered to be in such default on the date:  

1. The commissioner is notified in writing by the recipient 

that he does not intend to fulfill his contractual obligation; 

2. The recipient has not accepted a placement and 

commenced his period of obligated practice as provided for 

in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 12VAC5-520-160; or  

3. The recipient absents himself without the consent of the 

commissioner from the place of dental practice that the 

commissioner has approved for fulfillment of his contractual 

obligation.  

A. A scholarship recipient shall be in breach of contract if:  

1. The recipient fails to complete his dental studies; 

2. The recipient fails to begin or complete the terms of 

obligated service under the terms and conditions of the 

scholarship contract;  

3. The recipient falsifies or misrepresents information on the 

program application, the verification of employment forms, 

or other required documents; or 

4. The recipient's employment is terminated for good cause 

as determined by the employer and confirmed by the 

department. If employment is terminated for reasons beyond 

the recipient's control (e.g., closure of site), the recipient 

shall transfer to another site in the Commonwealth approved 

by the board within 180 days of termination. Failure of 

recipient to transfer to another site shall be deemed to be a 

breach of the contract.  

B. A loan repayment award recipient shall be in breach of 

contract if:  

1. The recipient fails to begin or complete the term of 

obligated service under the terms and conditions of the loan 

repayment contract;  

2. The recipient falsifies or misrepresents information on the 

program application, the verification of employment forms, 

or other required documents; or  

3. The recipient's employment is terminated for good cause 

as determined by the employer and confirmed by the 

department. If employment is terminated for reasons beyond 

the recipient's control (e.g., closure of site), the recipient 
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shall transfer to another site approved by the board in the 

Commonwealth within 180 days of termination. Failure of 

the recipient to transfer to another site shall be deemed to be 

a breach of the contract.  

C. In the event of a breach of contract and in accordance with 

the terms of the contract, the recipient shall make payments as 

described in 12VAC5-520-200. In the event of a breach of 

contract where the recipient has partially fulfilled the 

recipient's obligation, the total amount of reimbursement shall 

be prorated by the proportion of obligation completed. 

12VAC5-520-195. Deferment, waivers and variances.  

A. Scholarship and loan repayment award recipients have the 

obligation to complete full-time continuous service for the 

period of their commitment. Under unusual circumstances as 

described in subsection C of this section, a recipient may 

request that the board agree to a deferment of the service 

obligation. This deferment, if granted, shall not relieve the 

recipient of the responsibility to complete the remaining 

portion of the obligation. Such deferment shall not be 

permitted as a matter of course, but may be allowed in the most 

compelling cases. 

B. For recipients completing part of the scholarship or loan 

obligation prior to becoming permanently disabled or in the 

event of death, the total amount of the funds owed plus 

applicable interest shall be reduced by the proportion of 

obligated years served. The obligation to make repayment and 

restitution may be waived by the board upon application of the 

recipient or the recipient's personal representative to the board.  

C. Individual cases of undue hardship may be considered for 

a variance by the board of payment or service pursuant to 

§ 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. All requests for deferments, waivers, or variances must be 

submitted in writing to the department for consideration and 

final disposition by the board.  

12VAC5-520-200. Repayment. 

A. Repayment requirements for scholarship and loan 

repayment award recipients are as follows: 

1. Payment of restitution or repayment of award plus interest 

shall be due on the date that the recipient is deemed by the 

commissioner to be in default breach of contract. 

2. The commissioner in his discretion shall permit extension 

of the period of repayment for up to 24 months two years 

from the date that the recipient is deemed to be in default 

breach of contract. 

3. Partial fulfillment of the recipient's contractual obligation 

by the practice of dentistry as provided for in this the 

recipient's contract shall reduce the amount of restitution 

repayment by a percentage based on the number of whole 

months that the recipient has practiced dentistry in an 

approved location and the total number of months of the 

contractual obligation the recipient has incurred. 

4. Failure of a recipient to make any payment on his debt 

when it is due shall be cause for the commissioner to refer 

the debt to the Attorney General of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia for collection. The recipient shall be responsible for 

any costs of collection as may be provided in Virginia law. 

B. A scholarship recipient who commits a breach of contract 

while still in dental school by voluntarily notifying the 

commissioner in writing that the scholarship recipient will not 

practice dentistry in Virginia as required by the scholarship 

recipient's contract shall repay the total amount of scholarship 

funds received plus interest to the Commonwealth of Virginia. A 

scholarship recipient who commits a breach of contract after 

graduation shall pay a penalty of two times the amount of all 

monetary scholarship awards paid to the scholarship recipient plus 

interest, less any service obligation completed, to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

12VAC5-520-205. Fulfillment after breach of contract 

payments.  

In the event that a recipient, in accordance with the terms of 

the contract, fully repays the Commonwealth for part or all of 

any scholarship or loan repayment award because of breach of 

contract and then later fulfills the terms of the contract after 

repayment, the Commonwealth shall reimburse the award 

amount repaid by the recipient minus applicable interest and 

fees. The award recipient shall request, in writing, the 

commissioner's approval to complete fulfillment as specified 

in the original terms of the contract.  

12VAC5-520-210. Reporting requirements. 

A. Reporting requirements of Virginia Commonwealth 

University School of Dentistry scholarship and loan repayment 

award recipients are as follows: 

1. Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry 

shall maintain accurate records of the enrollment and 

academic status of scholarship recipients until the recipient's 

graduation from dental school. The dental school shall 

provide a report listing the status of each recipient annually 

to the commissioner. 

2. Each scholarship and loan repayment award recipient shall at 

any time provide information as requested by the commissioner 

to verify compliance with the contractual practice requirements 

obligation of the scholarship or loan repayment contract. 

B. The recipient shall report any changes of mailing address, 

change of academic standing, change of intent to fulfill his 

contractual obligation and any other information that may be 

relevant to the contract at such time as changes or information 

may occur. The recipient shall respond within 30 days with 

such information as may be requested by the commissioner. 

notify the department in writing within 30 days if any of the 

following events occur:  
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1. Recipient changes name; 

2. Recipient changes address;  

3. Recipient changes practice site (a recipient is required to 

request in writing and obtain prior approval of changes in 

practice site); 

4. Recipient no longer intends or is unable to fulfill service 

obligation as a dentist in the Commonwealth; or  

5. Recipient ceases to practice as a dentist. 

C. In addition to the requirements listed in subsections A and 

B of this section, scholarship award recipients shall also notify 

the department within 30 days if the following events occur: 

1. Scholarship recipient changes dental program; or  

2. Scholarship recipient ceases or no longer intends to 

complete his dental program.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC5-520) 

Dental Scholarship and Loan Repayment Verification of 

Enrollment form (eff. 4/2022) 

Dental Scholarship and Loan Repayment Verification of 

Financial Need form (eff. 4/2022) 

Virginia Dental Scholarship and Loan Repayment Program 

Application (eff. 2022) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4924; Filed March 30, 2022, 10:21 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Optometry is claiming 

an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 14 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts the Board of Optometry from the 

Administrative Process Act when specifying therapeutic 

pharmaceutical agents, treatment guidelines, and diseases and 

abnormal conditions of the human eye and its adnexa for TPA-

certification of optometrists pursuant to Article 5 (§ 54.1-3222 

et seq.) of Chapter 32 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-47). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 25, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 

of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 527-4471, or 

email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds cholinergic agonists to the therapeutic 

Pharmaceutical agent formulary in the category of a 

topically administered Schedule VI medication. 

18VAC105-20-47. Therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. 

A. A TPA-certified optometrist, acting within the scope of his 

practice, may procure, administer, and prescribe medically 

appropriate therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (or any 

therapeutically appropriate combination thereof) to treat 

diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye and its 

adnexa within the following categories: 

1. Oral analgesics - Schedule II controlled substances 

consisting of hydrocodone in combination with 

acetaminophen and Schedules III, IV, and VI narcotic and 

nonnarcotic agents. 

2. Topically administered Schedule VI agents: 

a. Alpha-adrenergic blocking agents; 

b. Alpha-adrenergic agonists; 

c. Cholinergic agonists; 

d. Anesthetic (including esters and amides); 

d. e. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and mast cell 

stabilizers); 

e. f. Anti-fungal; 

f. g. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase 

inhibitors and hyperosmotics); 

g. h. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals); 

h. i. Anti-inflammatory; 

i. j. Cycloplegics and mydriatics; 

j. k. Decongestants; and 

k. l. Immunosuppressive agents. 

3. Orally administered Schedule VI agents: 

a. Aminocaproic acids (including antifibrinolytic agents); 

b. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and leukotriene 

inhibitors); 

c. Anti-fungal; 

d. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase 

inhibitors and hyperosmotics); 

e. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals); 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Dental%20Scholarship%20&%20Loan%20Repayment%20Verification%20of%20Enrollment%20form%202022-20220411152721.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Dental%20Scholarship%20&%20Loan%20Repayment%20Verification%20of%20Enrollment%20form%202022-20220411152721.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Dental%20Scholarship%20&%20Loan%20Repayment%20Verification%20of%20Financial%20Need%20form%202022-20220411152738.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Dental%20Scholarship%20&%20Loan%20Repayment%20Verification%20of%20Financial%20Need%20form%202022-20220411152738.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Virginia%20Dental%20Scholarship%20&%20Loan%20Repayment%20Program%20Application%202022-20220411152755.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Virginia%20Dental%20Scholarship%20&%20Loan%20Repayment%20Program%20Application%202022-20220411152755.pdf
mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
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f. Anti-inflammatory (including steroidal and 

nonsteroidal); 

g. Decongestants; and 

h. Immunosuppressive agents. 

B. Schedules I, II, and V drugs are excluded from the list of 

therapeutic pharmaceutical agents with the exception of 

controlled substances in Schedule II consisting of hydrocodone 

in combination with acetaminophen and gabapentin in 

Schedule V. 

C. Over-the-counter topical and oral medications for the 

treatment of the eye and its adnexa may be procured for 

administration, administered, prescribed, or dispensed. 

D. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, unless the prescription qualifies for an 

exemption as set forth in subsection C of § 54.1-3408.02. Upon 

written request, the board may grant a one-time waiver of the 

requirement for electronic prescribing, for a period not to 

exceed one year, due to demonstrated economic hardship, 

technological limitations that are not reasonably within the 

control of the prescriber, or other exceptional circumstances 

demonstrated by the prescriber. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7092; Filed March 31, 2022, 8:35 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes actions of the board relating to the permits to 

operate pharmaceutical processors or cannabis dispensing 

facilities. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors (amending 18VAC110-60-210, 

18VAC110-60-310). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-3442.6 and 54.1-3447 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 25, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify the process by which a 

pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or an employee of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

who has routine access to confidential patient data and who 

has signed a patient data confidentiality agreement with the 

processor or dispensing facility may determine eligibility 

for access to the processor or facility and (ii) eliminate 

certain requirements to be included on a product label if the 

information is found on the batch label. 

18VAC110-60-210. General provisions. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall only sell cannabis products in a child-resistant, secure, 

and light-resistant container. Upon a written request from the 

registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent, 

the product may be dispensed in a non-child-resistant container 

so long as all labeling is maintained with the product. 

B. Only a pharmacist may dispense cannabis products to 

registered patients or parents or legal guardians of patients who 

are minors or incapacitated adults and who are registered with 

the board, or to a registered agent. A pharmacy technician who 

meets the requirements of 18VAC110-60-170 C may assist, 

under the direct supervision of a pharmacist, in the dispensing 

and selling of cannabis products. 

C. The PIC, pharmacist, responsible party, or person who is 

qualified to provide supervision in accordance with 

18VAC110-60-170 on duty shall restrict access to the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility to: 

1. A person whose responsibilities necessitate access to the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility and 

then for only as long as necessary to perform the person's job 

duties; or 

2. A person who is a registered patient, parent, legal 

guardian, registered agent, or a companion of the patient, in 

which case such person shall not be permitted behind the 

service counter or in other areas where Cannabis plants, 

extracts, or cannabis products are stored 

D. A pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or an employee of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility who 

has routine access to confidential patient data and who has 

signed a patient data confidentiality agreement with the 

processor or dispensing facility may determine eligibility for 

access to the processor or facility by verifying through a 

verification source recognized by the board that the registration 

of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent is 

current. 

E. All pharmacists and pharmacy technicians shall at all times 

while at the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility have their current license or registration available for 

inspection by the board or the board's agent. 

E. F. While inside the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility, all employees shall wear name tags or 

similar forms of identification that clearly identify them, 

including their position at the pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility. 

F. G. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall be open for registered patients, parents, legal 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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guardians, or registered agents to purchase cannabis products 

for a minimum of 35 hours a week, except as otherwise 

authorized by the board. 

G. H. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility that closes the dispensing area during its normal hours 

of operation shall implement procedures to notify registered 

patients, parents, legal guardians, and registered agents of 

when the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility will resume normal hours of operation. Such 

procedures may include telephone system messages and 

conspicuously posted signs. If the cultivation, production, or 

dispensing area of the pharmaceutical processor or if a 

cannabis dispensing facility is or will be closed during its 

normal hours of operation for longer than two business days, 

the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall immediately notify the board. 

H. I. A pharmacist shall counsel registered patients, parents, 

legal guardians, and registered agents, if applicable, regarding 

the use of cannabis products. Such counseling shall include 

information related to safe techniques for proper use and 

storage of cannabis products and for disposal of the products 

in a manner that renders them nonrecoverable. 

I. J. The pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall establish, implement, and adhere to a written 

alcohol-free, drug-free, and smoke-free work place policy that 

shall be available to the board or the board's agent upon 

request. 

18VAC110-60-310. Dispensing of cannabis products. 

A. A pharmacist in good faith may dispense cannabis 

products to any registered patient, parent, or legal guardian as 

indicated on the written certification or to a registered agent for 

a specific patient. 

1. Prior to the initial dispensing of cannabis products 

pursuant to each written certification, the pharmacist or 

pharmacy technician at the location of the pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall view in 

person or by audiovisual means a current photo 

identification of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent. The pharmacist or pharmacy technician 

shall verify in the Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program 

of the Department of Health Professions or other program 

recognized by the board that the registrations are current, the 

written certification has not expired, and the date and 

quantity of the last dispensing of cannabis products to the 

registered patient. 

2. A pharmacist or pharmacy technician employed by the 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall make a paper 

or electronic copy of the current written certification that 

provides an exact image of the document that is clearly 

legible and shall maintain it on site or by electronic means 

for two years. 

3. Prior to any subsequent dispensing, the pharmacist or 

pharmacy technician shall verify that the written 

certification on file has not expired. An employee or delivery 

agent shall view a current photo identification and current 

registration of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent and shall maintain record of such viewing 

in accordance with policies and procedures of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility. 

B. A pharmacist may dispense a portion of a registered 

patient's 90-day supply of cannabis product. The pharmacist 

may dispense the remaining portion of the 90-day supply of 

cannabis products at any time except that no registered patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent shall receive more 

than a 90-day supply of cannabis products for a patient in a 90-

day period from any pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility may dispense more than one cannabis 

product to a patient at one time. However, no more than four 

ounces of botanical cannabis shall be dispensed for each 30-

day period for which botanical cannabis is dispensed. In 

determining the appropriate amount of cannabis product to be 

dispensed to a patient, a pharmacist shall consider all cannabis 

products dispensed and adjust the amount dispensed 

accordingly. 

C. A dispensing record shall be maintained for three years 

from the date of dispensing, and the pharmacist or pharmacy 

technician under the direct supervision of the pharmacist shall 

affix a label to the container of cannabis product that contains: 

1. A serial number assigned to the dispensing of the product; 

2. The brand name of cannabis product that was registered 

with the board pursuant to 18VAC110-60-285 and its 

strength; 

3. The serial number assigned to the product during 

production; 

4. The date of dispensing the cannabis product; 

5. The quantity of cannabis products dispensed; 

6. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 

including: 

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

c. Cannabidiol (CBD); and 

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA); 

For botanical cannabis products, only the total cannabidiol 

(CBD) and total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) are required; 

7. A pass rating based on the laboratory's microbiological, 

mycotoxins, heavy metals, residual solvents, pesticide 

chemical residue analysis, and for botanical cannabis, the 

water activity and moisture content analysis; 

8. The name and registration number of the registered patient; 
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9. The name and registration number of the certifying 

practitioner; 

10. Directions for use as may be included in the practitioner's 

written certification or otherwise provided by the 

practitioner; 

11. For botanical cannabis, the amount recommended by the 

practitioner or dispensing pharmacist; 

12. The name or initials of the dispensing pharmacist; 

13. Name, address, and telephone number of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

14. Any necessary cautionary statement; and 

15. A prominently printed expiration date based on stability 

testing and the pharmaceutical processor's or cannabis 

dispensing facility's recommended conditions of use and 

storage that can be read and understood by the ordinary 

individual; and 

16. The pharmaceutical processor's or cannabis dispensing 

facility's recommended conditions of use and storage that 

can be read and understood by the ordinary individual. 

D. The label shall be exempt from containing the items listed 

in subdivisions C 6, C 7, and C 15 if the items are included on 

the batch label as required in 18VAC110-60-290 and are 

clearly visible to the patient. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label cannabis 

products as "organic" unless the Cannabis plants have been 

organically grown and the cannabis oil products have been 

produced, processed, manufactured, and certified to be 

consistent with organic standards in compliance with 7 CFR 

Part 205. 

E. F. The cannabis products shall be dispensed in child-resistant 

packaging, except as provided in 18VAC110-60-210 A. A 

package shall be deemed child-resistant if it satisfies the standard 

for "special packaging" as set forth in the Poison Prevention 

Packaging Act of 1970 Regulations, 16 CFR 1700.1(b)(4). 

F. G. No person except a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician 

operating under the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall 

alter, deface, or remove any label so affixed. 

G. H. A pharmacist shall be responsible for verifying the 

accuracy of the dispensed product in all respects prior to 

dispensing and shall document that each verification has been 

performed. 

H. I. A pharmacist shall document a registered patient's self-

assessment of the effects of cannabis products in treating the 

registered patient's diagnosed condition or disease or the 

symptoms thereof. If the authorization for botanical cannabis 

for a minor is communicated verbally or in writing to the 

pharmacist at the time of dispensing, the pharmacist shall also 

document such authorization. A pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility shall maintain such documentation 

in writing or electronically for three years from the date of 

dispensing and such documentation shall be made available in 

accordance with regulation. 

I. J. A pharmacist shall exercise professional judgment to 

determine whether to dispense cannabis products to a 

registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent if 

the pharmacist suspects that dispensing cannabis products to 

the registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent may have negative health or safety consequences for the 

registered patient or the public. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7130; Filed March 25, 2022, 4:55 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation is claiming an exemption from Article 2 

of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 

regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The department will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-30. Regulations Governing 

Polygraph Examiners (amending 18VAC120-30-100). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-1802.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Marjorie King, Regulatory Boards 

Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, TDD 

(804) 527-4290, or email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide a temporary reduction in renewal 

and reinstatement fees for Polygraph Examiner licenses on 

or before June 30, 2024, to comply with § 54.1-113 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

18VAC120-30-100. Fees. 

A. All application fees for licenses and registrations are 

nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt by 

the department is the date that will be used to determine 

whether or not the fee is on time. 

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 

the application for licensure. All other fees are discussed in 

greater detail in later sections of this chapter. 

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 

instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

mailto:contractors@dpor.virginia.gov
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named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees 

sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department. 

D. 1. The following fees listed in the table apply: 

FEE TYPE AMOUNT DUE WHEN DUE 

Application for 

Examiner's 

License 

$90 With application 

Application for 

Examiner's 

License by 

Reciprocity 

$190 With application 

Application for 

Intern 

Registration 

$75 With application 

Application for 

Examiner's 

License by 

Examination 

$200 With application 

Reexamination $200 With approval 

letter 

Renewal $110 Up to the 

expiration date 

on the license 

Reinstatement $150 From the 

expiration date 

to 24 calendar 

months after the 

expiration date 

on license 

2. For renewal fees received on or before June 30, 2022 

2024, the fee shall be $40. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7089; Filed March 24, 2022, 3:32 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Title of Document: Virginia Board of Health Professions 

Bylaws. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 25, 2022. 

Effective Date: May 26, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Title of Document: Enslaved Ancestors College Access 

Scholarship and Memorial Program Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 25, 2022. 

Effective Date: May 26, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Beverly Rebar, Senior Associate for 

Academic and Legislative Affairs, State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia, Monroe Building, 101 North 14th 

Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

0571, or email beverlyrebar@schev.edu. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Document: 2023 Virginia Telecommunications 

Initiative Program Guidelines and Criteria. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 25, 2022. 

Effective Date: May 26, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6128_20220329.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6128_20220329.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/245/GDoc_SCHEV_6137_20220405.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/245/GDoc_SCHEV_6137_20220405.pdf
mailto:beverlyrebar@schev.edu
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_6138_20220406.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_6138_20220406.pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Public Comment Opportunity- Draft Permit from the 
Department of Environmental Quality to Limit Air 
Pollution Emitted by a Facility in Henrico County, 

Virginia 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a draft permit 

from the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) limit air 

pollution emitted by a facility in Henrico County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: April 6, 2022, to May 6, 2022. 

Permit name: Federal Operating Permit issued by DEQ, under 

the authority of the Air Pollution Control Board. 

Applicant name and address: BFI Waste Systems of Virginia 

LLC, 2001 Charles City Road, Richmond, VA 23231. 

Facility name, address, and registration number: Old 

Dominion Landfill, 2001 Charles City Road, Henrico, VA, 

Reg# PRO51227. 

Project description: BFI Waste Systems of Virginia LLC has 

applied for renewal of the permit for Old Dominion Landfill. 

The facility is located between Charles City Road and the CSX 

railroad tracks in Henrico County, Virginia. The facility is 

classified as a major source of air pollution. The permit would 

allow the source to operate a municipal solid waste landfill. 

How to comment or request a public hearing: DEQ accepts 

comments and requests for public hearing by hand-delivery, 

email, fax, or postal mail. All comments and requests must be in 

writing and be received by DEQ during the comment period. 

Submittals must include the names, mailing addresses, and 

telephone numbers of the commenter or requestor and of all 

persons represented by the commenter or requestor. A request for 

public hearing must also include (i) the reason why a public 

hearing is requested; (ii) a brief, informal statement regarding the 

nature and extent of the interest of the requester or of those 

represented by the requestor, including how and to what extent 

such interest would be directly and adversely affected by the 

permit; and (iii) specific references, where possible, to terms and 

conditions of the permit with suggested revisions. Please note this 

draft permit is being concurrently reviewed as a proposed permit 

by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. A public hearing 

may be held, including another comment period, if public 

response is significant, based on individual requests for a public 

hearing, and there are substantial, disputed issues relevant to the 

permit. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and additional 

information and the DEQ office where the public may review the 

draft permit and application or may request copies of the 

documents from the contact person are listed. 

Contact Information: Alison Sinclair, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox 

Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 489-1008, FAX 

(804) 698-4178, or email alison.sinclair@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Fisher Chewning Solar Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Louisa County 

Aura Power Developments (USA) LLC has provided the 

Department of Environmental Quality a notice of intent to 

submit the necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Louisa County. Fisher 

Chewning Solar will be located south of Route 22 

approximately one mile west of the Town of Mineral. Latitude 

and longitude coordinates are 38.009056, -77.941630. The 

project will have a maximum generating capacity of 150 

megawatts alternating current across approximately 1,365 

acres. 

Contact Information: Susan Tripp, Renewable Energy Permit 

by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

664-3470, or email susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov. 

Surry Solar Center, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Surry County 

Surry Solar Center LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Surry County. Surry Solar Center LLC 

will be located in the City of Surry, Virginia adjacent to 

Colonial Trail East Road. Latitude and longitude coordinates 

are 37.103781, -76.721944. Sited on approximately 225 acres, 

the project will have a maximum capacity of 20 megawatts 

alternating current and, depending on final design, consist of 

approximately 65,000 solar photovoltaic modules installed on 

single-axis tracking racking structures and inverters installed 

on approximately five separate concrete pads. 

Contact Information: Susan Tripp, Renewable Energy Permit 

by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

664-3470, or email susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORENSIC SCIENCE BOARD 

Rescission of Approval of Marijuana Field Tests for 
Trial Under 6VAC40-50 

Under the Regulations for the Approval of Marijuana Field 

Tests for Detection of Marijuana Plant Material (6VAC40-50), 

the Department of Forensic Science has rescinded the approval 

of all Duquenois-Levine field tests for use during trial. All 

manufacturers will have been notified of this action by the 

department. Law-enforcement agencies have been notified that 

the previously-approved Duquenois-Levine field tests should 

no longer be utilized for purposes of trial testimony under 

§ 19.2-188.1 B of the Code of Virginia as to whether or not any 

plant material is marijuana. Currently, there are no marijuana 

mailto:alison.sinclair@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov
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field tests approved by the department for use at trial under 

6VAC40-50 and § 19.2-188.1 B of the Code of Virginia. 

This action does not affect the approval by the department of 

any Duquenois-Levine field tests for use during preliminary 

hearing under the Regulations for Approval of Field Tests for 

Detection of Drugs (6VAC40-30) and § 19.2-188.1 A of the 

Code of Virginia. A list of approved field tests under 6VAC40-

30 can be found in 32:8 VA.R. 1507-1514 December 14, 2015. 

Contact Information: Amy Jenkins, Department Counsel, 

Department of Forensic Science, 700 North 5th Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6848, FAX (804) 

786-6857. 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Revision to Fees for Drinking Water Laboratory 
Certification - Final General Notice 

The Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS), 

Department of General Services, published a general notice in 

38:14 VA.R. 2110-2111 February 28, 2022 seeking comment 

on the revision to fees charged for certifying drinking water 

laboratories under 1VAC30-41-270 as required by 1VAC30-

41-270 I 2. 

No comments were received on the revision to the fees. The 

revision to the fees will stand as published. The following fees 

are effective for May 1, 2022, through April 30, 2023, for 

drinking water laboratory certification under 1VAC30-41-270. 

TESTING CATEGORY FEE ($) 

Microbiological testing 

 

1 - 2 methods 698 

3 - 5 methods 814 

6+ methods 931 

Inorganic chemistry, nonmetals 

testing 

 

1 - 2 methods 756 

3 - 5 methods 986 

6 - 8 methods 1221 

9+ methods 1452 

Inorganic chemistry, metals testing 

 

1 - 2 methods 1161 

3 - 5 methods 1394 

6+ methods 1624 

Organic chemistry 

 

1 - 2 methods 1221 

3 - 5 methods 1452 

6 - 8 methods 1684 

9+ methods 1918 

Radiochemistry 

 

1 - 2 methods 1278 

3 - 5 methods 1510 

6+ methods 1743 

Asbestos 

 

1 - 2 methods 1045 

3 - 5 methods 1278 

6+ methods 1510 

HOW FEES ARE CALCULATED 

DCLS calculates a laboratory's total fee by adding the fees for 

the number of test methods in each category in the fee table for 

which the laboratory is certified or applies to be certified. 

Contact lab_cert@dgs.virginia.gov for more information about 

the fee category for a specific method. 

ADDITIONAL FEES 

Additional fees apply when a laboratory: 

• Applies for modification of certification under 1VAC30-41-

110. 

• Is moving its location when the move requires DCLS to 

perform an onsite assessment. 

• Requests reinstatement of certification when DCLS requires 

an onsite assessment. 

Hourly review fee and calculation of total fee. The fee to be 

charged is the sum of the total hourly charges for all reviewers 

plus any onsite assessment costs incurred. The hourly charge 

per reviewer is $71. The charge per reviewer is determined by 

multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 

$71. 

Onsite review and travel expenses. If an onsite review is 

required, travel time and onsite review time will be charged at 

the same hourly rate of $71 and any travel expenses will be 

added. 

WHEN TO PAY 

Payment is due at the time the application is made or annually 

thereafter upon receipt of the invoice from DCLS. Annual 

billing precedes the expiration of the current certificate. 

HOW TO PAY 

Fees may be paid by check, draft, or postal money order 

payable to the Treasurer, Commonwealth of Virginia, or 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/issue.aspx?voliss=32:08&type=8
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol38/iss14/v38i14.pdf
mailto:Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov
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submitted electronically if available. Payment must be in 

United States currency, except that agencies and institutions of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia may submit interagency 

transfers for the amount of the fee. Laboratories may also pay 

fees using credit cards. All fees must be sent to the following 

address, or submitted electronically, if available: DCLS, Attn: 

Lab Certification, 600 North 5th Street, Richmond, VA 23219. 

A fee payment form is available on the Drinking Water page 

of the DCLS website at www.dgs.virginia.gov/dcls. 

Contact Information: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Local Education Agency Provider Manual 

The draft Local Education Agency Provider Manual Chapters 

II, IV, and VI are now available on the Department of Medical 

Assistance services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/ for public 

comment until May 4, 2022. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 

email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Enforcement Action for Goochland County 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Goochland County for alleged violation of the 

State Water Control Law at 12320 Patterson Avenue in 

Goochland County, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. DEQ 

will accept comments by email or postal mail from April 26, 

2022, to May 26, 2022, using the contact information listed. 

Contact Information: Jeff Reynolds, Enforcement Manager, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox Road, 

Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 720-4754, or email 

jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Enforcement Action for Surry County 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Surry County for alleged violation of the State 

Water Control Law at 1239 Colonial Trail West in Surry 

County, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. DEQ will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from April 26, 2022, 

to May 26, 2022, using the contact information listed. 

Contact Information: Jeff Reynolds, Enforcement Manager, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox Road, 

Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 720-4754, or email 

jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Virginia 
Peninsulas Public Service Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Virginia 

Peninsulas Public Service Authority (VPPSA) for violations of 

the State Water Control Law and regulations at the VPPSA 

Vehicle Maintenance Facility located at the intersection of 

Clancie Road and Enterprise Lane in King and Queen County, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent order to resolve violations associated with the VPPSA 

Vehicle Maintenance Facility. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The staff 

contact listed will accept comments by email or postal mail 

from April 25, 2022, through May 26, 2022. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, 4949A Cox 

Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 659-2696, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Wise County 
Public Service Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Wise County 

Public Service Authority for violations of the State Water 

Control Law at the Pound Wastewater Treatment Plant in Wise 

County. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent order to resolve violations associated with the facility. 

A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person listed will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from April 26, 2022, 

through May 26, 2022. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

http://www.dgs.virginia.gov/dcls
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Matthew.Richardson@DEQ.Virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
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Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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