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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Leslie 

L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; 

Don L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. 

Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2022 through July 2023 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

39:6 October 19, 2022 November 7, 2022 

39:7 November 2, 2022 November 21, 2022 

39:8 November 14, 2022 (Monday) December 5, 2022 

39:9 November 30, 2022 December 19, 2022 

39:10 December 14, 2022 January 2, 2023 

39:11 December 27, 2022 (Tuesday) January 16, 2023 

39:12 January 11, 2023 January 30, 2023 

39:13 January 25, 2023 February 13, 2023 

39:14 February 8, 2023 February 27, 2023 

39:15 February 22, 2023 March 13, 2023 

39:16 March 8, 2023 March 27, 2023 

39:17 March 22, 2023 April 10, 2023 

39:18 April 5, 2023 April 24, 2023 

39:19 April 19, 2023 May 8, 2023 

39:20 May 3, 2023 May 22, 2023 

39:21 May 17, 2023 June 5, 2023 

39:22 May 31, 2023 June 19, 2023 

39:23 June 14, 2023 July 3, 2023 

39:24 June 28, 2023 July 17, 2023 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC5-45, Consumer and 

Commercial Products. The review of this regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 

July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to determine 

whether this regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to this regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.  

Public comment period begins June 20, 2022, and ends July 

11, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

1973. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC20-70, Financial 

Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer 

and Treatment Facilities. The review of this regulation will 

be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 

July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to determine 

whether this regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to this regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.  

Public comment period begins June 20, 2022, and ends July 11, 

2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response to 

the comment from the agency. Following the close of the public 

comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Suzanne Taylor, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. 

Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1533. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 12VAC5-481, Virginia 

Radiation Protection Regulations; and 12VAC5-490, 

Virginia Radiation Protection Regulations: Fee Schedule. 

The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The 

purpose of this review is to determine whether each regulation 

should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. 

Public comment is sought on the review of any issue relating 

to these regulations, including whether each regulation (i) is 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare or for the economical performance of important 

governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 

on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 

objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 

easily understandable.  

Public comment period begins June 20, 2022, and ends July 

11, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Cameron Rose, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, James Madison Building, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 659-6687. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 18VAC5-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines. The review of this regulation will 

be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 

July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to determine 

whether this regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to this regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.  

Public comment period begins June 20, 2022, and ends July 

11, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Vasa Clarke, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, 

Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-1568. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 24VAC30-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines; 24VAC30-41, Rules and 

Regulations Governing Relocation Assistance; 24VAC30-

91, Subdivision Street Requirements; 24VAC30-92, 

Secondary Street Acceptance Requirements; 24VAC30-

155, Traffic Impact Analysis Regulations; 24VAC30-325, 

Urban Maintenance and Construction Policy; and 

24VAC30-380, Public Hearings for Location and Design of 

Highway Construction Projects. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is 

to determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to these regulations, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.  

Public comment period begins June 20, 2022, and ends July 

11, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50, 

4VAC15-20-200). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing: 

August 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update the department's "List 

of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia" incorporated 

by reference; (ii) remove fees for use of boat ramps; and (iii) 

set late fees for exhibitor and rehabilitator permits issued by 

the department. 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal," and "domestic animal". 

A. In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them by 

this section when used in regulations of the board: 

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2020 2022 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna 

of Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters and 

regional offices of the department. 

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 

wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 

department's 2020 2022 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna 

of Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters and 

regional offices of the department. 

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species. 

The following animals are defined as domestic animals: 

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids. 

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines. 

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus. 

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus). 

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus). 

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 

sheep. 

Domestic goat (Capra hircus). 

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa), including pot-bellied pig and 

excluding any swine that are wild or for which no claim of 

ownership can be made. 

Llama (Lama glama). 

Alpaca (Lama pacos). 

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius). 

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.). 

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink. 

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus). 

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus). 

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger). 

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus). 

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus). 

Domesticated breeds of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 

cuniculus) recognized by the American Rabbit Breeders 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Association, Inc. and any lineage resulting from 

crossbreeding recognized breeds. A list of recognized rabbit 

breeds is available on the department's website. 

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus). 

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo). 

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds. 

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons. 

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris). 

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 

native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 

amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod, or other 

invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 

otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 

product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts of 

them. 

B. Exception for red foxes and European rabbits. 

Domesticated red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) having coat colors 

distinguishable from wild red foxes and wild European rabbits 

possessed in captivity on July 1, 2017, may be maintained in 

captivity until the animal dies, but the animal may not be bred 

or sold without a permit from the department. Persons 

possessing domesticated red foxes or European rabbits without 

a permit from the department must declare such possession in 

writing to the department by January 1, 2018. This written 

declaration must include the number of individual animals in 

possession and date acquired, sex, estimated age, coloration, 

and a photograph of each fox or European rabbit. This written 

declaration shall (i) serve as a permit for possession only, (ii) 

is not transferable, and (iii) must be renewed every five years. 

4VAC15-20-200. Fees for miscellaneous permits. 

A. Pursuant to §§ 29.1-417, 29.1-418, 29.1-422, and other 

applicable provisions of the Code of Virginia, except as 

provided by this chapter the following annual fees shall be paid 

by applicants for the specified permits before any such permit 

may be issued. 

Permit Type Cost Late Fee 

Boat Ramp Special Use   

Nonprofit Public Use $10  

Private/Commercial Use $50  

Collect and Sell $50  

Commercial Nuisance Animals $25  

Exhibitors   

Commercial Use $50 $25 

Educational/Scientific Use $20 $10 

Exotic Importation and 

Holding 

$10 
 

Field Trial $25  

Foxhound Training Preserves $50  

Hold for Commercial Use $10  

Propagation $12.50  

Rehabilitation $10 $10 

Scientific Collection $20  

Special Hunting Permit $10  

Striped Bass Tournament $10  

Threatened & Endangered 

Species 

$20 
 

Trout Catch-Out Pond $50  

B. Veterinarians shall not be required to pay a permit fee or 

to obtain a permit to hold wildlife temporarily for medical 

treatment. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, January 

2021, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, April 2022, 

Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of 

May 7, 2019 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7235; Filed May 30, 2022, 9:30 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 

4VAC15-90-10, 4VAC15-90-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/2022%20List%20of%20VA%20Native%20&%20Naturalized%20Fauna%20-20220531161919.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/2022%20List%20of%20VA%20Native%20&%20Naturalized%20Fauna%20-20220531161919.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/DIBR/b10fe005933~39.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/DIBR/b10fe005933~39.pdf
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

The amendments (i) extend deer harvest in selected localities 

to mitigate the spread and impacts of Chronic Wasting 

Disease (CWD) on deer populations in Virginia where CWD 

has been detected and is spreading and (ii) allow for full 

season either-sex deer hunting on private lands in Page 

County during the early and late muzzleloader seasons. 

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, 

including the cities and towns therein, during the following 

seasons, all dates inclusive. 

Locality Season 

Accomack County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Albemarle County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Alleghany County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Amelia County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Amherst County (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the 

James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River, except on national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Amherst County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Amherst County (east of 

Business U.S. 29, as defined 

above) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Appomattox County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Arlington County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Arlington County (antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Augusta County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Bath County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Bedford County (except on 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Bedford County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Bland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Botetourt County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 
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Brunswick County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Buchanan County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Buckingham County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Campbell County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Caroline County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Carroll County (private lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Carroll County (public lands)  

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Carroll County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Carroll County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Charles City County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Charlotte County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Chesapeake (City of) 
October 1 through 

November 30 

Chesterfield County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Clarke County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Clarke County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Craig County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Culpeper County (except 

Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Culpeper County (Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Culpeper County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 
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Culpeper County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Cumberland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Dickenson County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Dinwiddie County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Essex County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Fauquier County (except 

Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Fauquier County (Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Fauquier County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Fauquier County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Floyd County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Floyd County (antlerless deer 

only)  

Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Floyd County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Fluvanna County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Franklin County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Frederick County (non-national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 
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Frederick County (national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Frederick County (non-national-

forest lands antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Giles County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Gloucester County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Goochland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Grayson County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Greene County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Greensville County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Halifax County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Hanover County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Henrico County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Henry County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Highland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Isle of Wight County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

James City County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

King and Queen County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

King George County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

King William County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Lancaster County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Lee County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Loudoun County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 
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Loudoun County (antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Louisa County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Lunenburg County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Madison County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Madison County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Madison County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Mathews County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Mecklenburg County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Middlesex County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Montgomery County (non-

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Montgomery County (national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Montgomery County (non-

national forest lands and 

antlerless deer only)  

Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Montgomery County (disease 

focus zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Nelson County  

(west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Nelson County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Nelson County  

(east of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

New Kent County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Northampton County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Northumberland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 
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Nottoway County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Orange County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Orange County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Orange County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Page County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Page County (non-national 

forest lands and antlerless deer 

only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Page County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Patrick County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Pittsylvania County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Powhatan County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince Edward County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince George County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Pulaski County (except on New 

River Unit of the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant adjacent to 

the Town of Dublin and 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Pulaski County (New River 

Unit of the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant adjacent to 

the Town of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the 

second Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Pulaski County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Pulaski County (non-national 

forest lands and antlerless deer 

only)  

Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 
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Pulaski County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Rappahannock County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Rappahannock County (private 

lands and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Rappahannock County (disease 

focus zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Richmond County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Roanoke County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Rockbridge County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Rockingham County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Russell County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Scott County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Shenandoah County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Shenandoah County (non-

national forest lands antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Smyth County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Southampton County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Spotsylvania County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Stafford County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Suffolk (City of)  

(east of Dismal Swamp Line) 

October 1 through 

November 30 

Suffolk (City of)  

(west of Dismal Swamp Line) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 
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Surry County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Sussex County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Tazewell County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Virginia Beach (City of) 
October 1 through 

November 30 

Warren County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Warren (non-national forest 

lands antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Washington County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Westmoreland County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Wise County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Wythe County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

York County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 

hunting. 

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following within the incorporated limits of 

any city or town that allows deer hunting. 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 

with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 

Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line), and Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 21 

consecutive days immediately prior to and on the first Saturday 

in January: 

1. In all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest 

lands in Frederick County); 

2. East of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, 

Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), and Patrick; 

3. On national forest lands in Frederick County; and 

4. In the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal 

Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains unless otherwise noted in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only of the early special muzzleloading season on state forest 

lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State Park), 

department-owned lands (except on Merrimac Farm 

Wildlife Management Area), and Philpott Reservoir. 

2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season on national 

forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson Counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of the 
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Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted in this 

subsection. 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd Counties 

and on private lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, 

Frederick, Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Roanoke, 

Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), Scott, 

Shenandoah, Warren, and Wythe Counties. 

2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season in Buchanan, 

on federal and department-managed lands in Dickenson, 

Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise Counties and on national 

forest lands in Alleghany, Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, 

Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, 

Shenandoah, and Warren Counties, and on national forest 

and department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, 

Carroll, Highland (except Highland Wildlife Management 

Area), Roanoke, Rockbridge, Smyth, Washington, and 

Wythe Counties and on Channels State Forest, Grayson 

Highlands State Park, Hungry Mother State Park, and on 

private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham 

County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 

the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 

in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

entire late special muzzleloading season in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 

lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd, 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands), and Patrick and on private lands in 

Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Page, 

Pulaski, Roanoke, Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 

731), Shenandoah, Warren, and Wythe Counties. 

2. Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 

the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath, 

Dickenson, Highland, Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise 

Counties and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 

Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, 

Nelson, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and 

Warren Counties, and on national forest and department-

owned lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Roanoke, 

Rockbridge, Smyth, Washington, and Wythe Counties and 

on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham 

County, Channels State Forest, Grayson Highlands State 

Park, and Hungry Mother State Park. 

3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

County. 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 

hunting except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 

Virginia Beach. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

H. Muzzleloading guns, for the purpose of this section, 

include: 

1. Single shot muzzleloading rifles .40 caliber or larger, 

firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger 

projectile) where the projectile is loaded from the muzzle; 

2. Muzzleloading shotguns (one or more barrels) not larger 

than 10 gauge where the projectiles are loaded from the 

muzzle; 

3. Muzzleloading pistols (one or more barrels) .45 caliber or 

larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber 

or larger projectile) per barrel where the propellant and 

projectile are loaded from the muzzle; 

4. Muzzleloading revolvers .45 caliber or larger, firing a 

single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger 

projectile) per cylinder where the propellant and projectile 

are loaded from the forward end of the cylinder. 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7140; Filed June 1, 2022, 10:53 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-25, 4VAC15-320-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing: 

August 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify the areas where striped 

bass and white bass may be caught on the Staunton and Dan 

Rivers, including size limits for striped bass; (ii) change the 

upstream location limit for walleye and saugeye from 

Claytor Lake along the New River from Buck Dam in Carroll 

County to Fries Dam in Grayson County; (iii) clarify the 

limits on catch of sunfish, crappie, and blue catfish to 

include the Staunton (Roanoke) River and its tributaries to 

Difficult Creek in Charlotte County and the Dan River and 

its tributaries to the Banister River in Halifax County; and 

(iv) clarify the issuance of fish stocking authorizations and 

the expiration of such authorizations. 

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits. 

The creel limits (including live possession) and the length 

limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, unless 

otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-owned or 

department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-100 D). 

Type of fish 
Subtype or 

location 
Creel and length limits 

Geographic 

exceptions 

Creel or length 

limits for 

exceptions 

largemouth bass, smallmouth 

bass 

 

5 per day in the aggregate 

(combined) 

No statewide length limits 

Lakes 

Briery Creek Lake No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

16 to 24 inches; 

only 1 largemouth 

or smallmouth 

bass per day in the 

aggregate longer 

than 24 inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

in the aggregate 

less than 14 

inches 

Claytor Lake No smallmouth 

bass less than 14 

inches 

Flannagan Reservoir No smallmouth 

bass less than 15 

inches 

No largemouth 

bass less than 12 

inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

in the aggregate 

less than 14 

inches 

Leesville Reservoir Only 2 of 5 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

in the aggregate 

less than 14 

inches 
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Lake Moomaw No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

less than 12 

inches 

Philpott Reservoir No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

less than 12 

inches 

Quantico Marine 

Base waters 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

12 to 15 inches 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries 

below Niagara Dam 

Only 2 of 5 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

in the aggregate 

less than 14 

inches 

Rivers 

Clinch River – within 

the boundaries of 

Scott, Wise, Russell, 

or Tazewell Counties 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

less than 20 

inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

in the aggregate 

per day longer 

than 20 inches 

Levisa Fork River – 

within the boundaries 

Buchanan County 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

less than 20 

inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

in the aggregate 

per day longer 

than 20 inches 

Dan River and 

tributaries 

downstream from the 

Union Street Dam, 

Danville 

Only 2 of 5 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

less than 14 

inches 

James River – 

Confluence of the 

Jackson and 

Cowpasture rivers 

(Botetourt County) 

downstream to the 

14th Street Bridge in 

Richmond 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

14 to 22 inches; 

only 1 largemouth 

or smallmouth 

bass in the 

aggregate per day 

longer than 22 

inches 
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New River – Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to the VA - WV state 

line and its tributaries 

Little River 

downstream from 

Little River Dam in 

Montgomery County, 

Big Walker Creek 

from the Norfolk 

Southern Railroad 

Bridge downstream to 

the New River, and 

Wolf Creek from the 

Narrows Dam 

downstream to the 

New River in Giles 

County (This does not 

include Claytor Lake, 

which is delineated 

as: The upper end of 

the island at Allisonia 

downstream to the 

dam) 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

14 to 22 inches; 

only 1 largemouth 

or smallmouth 

bass in the 

aggregate per day 

longer than 22 

inches 

North Fork Holston 

River - Rt. 91 bridge 

upstream of Saltville, 

VA downstream to 

the VA - TN state line 

 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

less than 20 

inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

in the aggregate 

per day longer 

than 20 inches 

Potomac River - 

Virginia tidal 

tributaries above Rt. 

301 bridge 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

less than 15 

inches from 

March 1 through 

June 15 

Roanoke (Staunton) 

River - and its 

tributaries below 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte County 

Only 2 of 5 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

in the aggregate 

less than 14 

inches 
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Shenandoah River, 

South Fork 

Shenandoah River, 

North Fork 

Shenandoah River 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

11 to 14 inches 

Staunton River - 

 

Leesville Dam 

(Campbell County) 

downstream to the 

mouth of Difficult 

Creek, Charlotte 

County 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

less than 20 

inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 

in the aggregate 

per day longer 

than 20 inches 

Alabama bass, spotted bass  No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limit 

  

striped bass landlocked striped 

bass and 

landlocked striped 

bass - white bass 

hybrids 

4 per day in the aggregate 

No fish less than 20 inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir, including 

the Staunton 

(Roanoke) River and 

its tributaries to 

Leesville Dam and 

the Dan River and its 

tributaries to Union 

Street Dam (Danville) 

October 1 - May 

31: 2 per day in 

the aggregate; no 

striped bass or 

hybrid striped 

bass less than 20 

inches or greater 

than 26 inches 

June 1 - 

September 30: 4 

per day in the 

aggregate; no 

length limit 

Claytor Lake and its 

tributaries 

September 16 – 

June 30: 2 per day 

in the aggregate; 

no striped bass or 

hybrid bass less 

than 20 inches 

July 1 – 

September 15: 4 

per day in the 

aggregate;  

no length limit 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries, 

including the 

Roanoke River 

upstream to Niagara 

Dam 

2 per day in the 

aggregate 

November 1 - 

May 31: No 

striped bass 30 to 

40 inches 

June 1 - October 

31: No length 

limit 
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Lake Gaston 4 per day in the 

aggregate 

October 1 - May 

31: No striped 

bass or hybrid 

striped bass less 

than 20 inches 

June 1 - 

September 30: No 

length limit 

anadromous 

(coastal) striped 

bass above the fall 

line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length limits 

shall be set by the Virginia 

Marine Resources 

Commission for 

recreational fishing in tidal 

waters 

  

anadromous 

(coastal) in the 

Meherrin, 

Nottoway, 

Blackwater 

(Chowan 

Drainage), North 

Landing and 

Northwest Rivers 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

2 per day 

No striped bass less than 

18 inches 

  

white bass 

 

5 per day 

No statewide length limits 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir, including 

the Staunton 

(Roanoke) River and 

its tributaries to 

Leesville Dam and 

the Dan River and its 

tributaries to Union 

Street Dam (Danville) 

10 per day; no 

white bass less 

than 14 inches 

Lake Gaston 10 per day; no 

white bass less 

than 14 inches 

walleye, saugeye 

 

5 per day in the aggregate 

No walleye or saugeye less 

than 18 inches 

Claytor Lake and the 

New River upstream 

of Claytor Lake Dam 

to Buck Dam in 

Carroll County Fries 

Dam in Grayson 

County 

2 walleye per day; 

no walleye 19 to 

28 inches 

sauger 

 

2 per day 

No statewide length limits 
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yellow perch 

 

No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 

Below the fall line in 

all coastal rivers of 

the Chesapeake Bay 

No yellow perch 

less than 9 inches; 

no daily limit 

chain pickerel 

 

5 per day 

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

Reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike 

 

2 per day 

No pike less than 20 inches 

  

muskellunge 

 

2 per day 

No muskellunge less than 

30 inches 

New River - Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to Claytor Dam, 

including Claytor 

Lake 

1 per day; no 

muskellunge less 

than 42 inches 

New River - Claytor 

Dam downstream to 

the VA - WV state 

line 

1 per day 

June 1 - last day 

of February: No 

muskellunge 40 to 

48 inches 

March 1 - May 

31: No 

muskellunge less 

than 48 inches 

bluegill (bream) and other 

sunfish excluding crappie, 

rock bass (redeye) and 

Roanoke bass 

 

50 per day in the aggregate 

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

Reservoirs, including 

the Staunton 

(Roanoke) River and 

its tributaries to 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte County and 

the Dan River and its 

tributaries to the 

Banister River, Halifax 

County and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County 

No daily limit 

crappie (black or white) 

 

25 per day in the aggregate 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Gaston and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little Rivers 

in Grayson County 

No daily limit 
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Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir, including 

the Staunton 

(Roanoke) River and 

its tributaries to 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte County and 

the Dan River and its 

tributaries to the 

Banister River, 

Halifax County 

No crappie less 

than 9 inches 

Briery Creek and 

Sandy River 

Reservoirs 

No crappie less 

than 9 inches 

Flannagan and South 

Holston Reservoirs 

No crappie less 

than 10 inches 

rock bass (redeye) 

 

25 per day; in the 

aggregate with Roanoke 

bass 

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

Reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little Rivers 

in Grayson County 

No daily limit 

Nottoway, Meherrin, 

Blackwater (Franklin 

County), Falling, and 

Smith Rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with 

Roanoke bass; 

no rock bass less 

than 8 inches 

Roanoke bass 

 

25 per day in the aggregate 

with rock bass 

No statewide length limits 

Nottoway, Meherrin, 

Blackwater (Franklin 

County), Falling, and 

Smith Rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with 

rock bass; 

no Roanoke bass 

less than 8 inches 

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing.  

catfish channel, white, 

and flathead 

catfish 

20 per day; 

No length limits 

All rivers below the 

fall line 

No daily limit 

blue catfish 20 per day; 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Gaston No daily limit, 

except only 1 blue 

catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches 

 

Kerr Reservoir, 

including the 

Staunton (Roanoke) 

20 per day, except 

only 1 blue catfish 
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River and its 

tributaries to Difficult 

Creek, Charlotte 

County and the Dan 

River and its 

tributaries to the 

Banister River, 

Halifax County 

per day longer 

than 32 inches 

James River and its 

tributaries below the 

fall line, 

Rappahannock River 

and its tributaries 

below the fall line, 

and York River and 

its tributaries 

(including the 

Pamunkey River and 

Mattaponi River) 

below the fall line 

No daily limit, 

except only 1 blue 

catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches 

All rivers below the 

fall line other than the 

James River and its 

tributaries, 

Rappahannock River 

and its tributaries, and 

the York River and its 

tributaries 

No daily limit 

yellow, brown, 

and black 

bullheads 

No daily limit; 

No length limits 

  

hickory shad 

Above and below 

the fall line in all 

coastal rivers of 

the Chesapeake 

Bay 

Creel and length limits 

shall be the same as those 

set by the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission in 

tidal rivers 

  

 

Meherrin River 

below Emporia 

Dam Nottoway 

River, Blackwater 

River (Chowan 

Drainage), North 

Landing and 

Northwest Rivers, 

and their tributaries 

plus Back Bay 

10 per day 

No length limits 

  

American shad 

 

No possession 

  

anadromous (coastal) alewife 

and blueback herring 

Above and below 

the fall line in all 

coastal rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length limits shall 

be the same as those set by 

the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission for 

these species in tidal rivers 

  



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 22  Virginia Register of Regulations  June 20, 2022  

2502 

Meherrin River, 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan 

Drainage), North 

Landing and 

Northwest Rivers, 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

No possession 

  

red drum Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and the 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day 

No drum less than 18 

inches or greater than 27 

inches 

  

spotted sea trout (speckled 

trout) 

Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and the 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

4 per day 

No sea trout less than 14 

inches 

  

grey trout (weakfish) Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day 

No grey trout less than 12 

inches 

  

southern flounder Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and the 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

6 per day 

No flounder less than 15 

inches 

  

northern snakehead 

 

Anglers may possess 

snakeheads taken from 

Virginia waters if they 

immediately kill the fish and 

notify the headquarters or a 

regional office of the 

department; notification may 

be made by telephoning 

(804) 367-2925 

No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limits 

  

longnose gar 

 

5 per day 

No statewide length limits 
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bowfin 

 

5 per day 

No statewide length limits 

  

American eel 

 

25 per day 

No eel less than 9 inches 

Back Bay and North 

Landing River 

No possession 

limit for those 

individuals 

possessing a 

permit obtained 

under 4VAC15-

340-80 

other native or naturalized 

nongame fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic 

Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and 

Nongame Fish. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 

amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for 

private use. 

 

endangered or threatened fish See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and 

threatened species; adoption of federal list; 

additional species enumerated. 

 

nonnative (exotic) fish See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, 

Etc., of Animals. Importation requirements, 

possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) 

animals. 

 

4VAC15-320-60. Approval required to stock fish into 

inland waters. 

A. It shall be unlawful to stock any species of fish into any 

inland waters of the Commonwealth without first obtaining 

written approval to do so from the department. Nothing in this 

section shall be construed as restricting the use of native and 

naturalized species of fish in privately-owned ponds and lakes, 

except spotted bass, blue catfish, and their hybrids may not be 

stocked. 

B. The Department of Wildlife Resources (department) shall 

issue a written stocking authorization within 15 business days 

of receipt of a completed Virginia Fish Stocking Authorization 

Form, unless the department determines that granting such 

authorization may (i) endanger any native or naturalized 

population of fish; (ii) introduce, enable, or enhance the spread 

of fish diseases, including parasites; or (iii) establish nonnative 

or exotic aquatic species where such species may displace, 

threaten, or endanger native or naturalized species. Where an 

exception to issuance exists, the application shall be denied. 

C. The department shall set an expiration date for each 

stocking authorization issued, limit the authorization to a 

specific species of fish, and geographically limit the stocking 

authorization. 

D. The department is authorized to modify or revoke any 

stocking authorization where the department discovers any 

situation listed in subsection B of this section to exist or where 

otherwise permitted by law or regulation. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 

East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (4VAC15-320) 

Application/permit for striped bass fishing tournament 

(undated) 

Nonresident Harvester's Permit to Take or Catch Fish in Back 

Bay and its Tributaries (eff. 9/2020) 

Virginia Fish Stocking Authorization Form (eff. 8/2004) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7226; Filed May 30, 2022, 9:13 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 

(amending 4VAC15-330-150). 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Application_Permit%20for%20Striped%20Bass%20Fishing%20Tournament-20220607114623.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Application_Permit%20for%20Striped%20Bass%20Fishing%20Tournament-20220607114623.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Nonresident%20harvester's%20permit%20to%20take%20or%20catch%20fish%20in%20Back%20Bay%20and%20its%20tributaries-20220607114644.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Nonresident%20harvester's%20permit%20to%20take%20or%20catch%20fish%20in%20Back%20Bay%20and%20its%20tributaries-20220607114644.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Virginia%20Fish%20Stocking%20Authorization-20220607114605.pdf
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Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: June 23, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment adds a designated section of the 

North Fork Moormans River and its tributaries to the list of 

areas where trout fishing using artificial lures with a single 

hook is lawful year-round. 

4VAC15-330-150. Special provision applicable to trout 

fishing using artificial lures with single hook. 

It shall be lawful year around year-round to fish for trout 

using only artificial lures with single hooks within: 

1. The Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area in Carroll 

County. 

2. The Rapidan and Staunton Rivers and their tributaries 

upstream from a sign at the Lower Shenandoah National 

Park boundary in Madison County. 

3. The Dan River and its tributaries between the Townes 

Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project powerhouse in 

Patrick County. 

4. The East Fork of Chestnut Creek (Farmers Creek) and its 

tributaries upstream from the Blue Ridge Parkway in 

Grayson and Carroll Counties. 

5. Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the 

southwest boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in 

Tazewell County. 

6. That section of the South Fork Holston River and its 

tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 

Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller Fish 

Culture Station in Smyth County. 

7. North Creek and its tributaries upstream from a sign at the 

George Washington National Forest North Creek 

Campground in Botetourt County. 

8. Spring Run from it confluence with Cowpasture River 

upstream to a posted sign at the discharge for Coursey 

Springs Hatchery in Bath County. 

9. Venrick Run and its tributaries within the Big Survey 

Wildlife Management Area and Town of Wytheville 

property in Wythe County. 

10. Brumley Creek and its tributaries from the Hidden 

Valley Wildlife Management Area boundary upstream to the 

Hidden Valley Lake Dam in Washington County. 

11. Stony Creek (Mountain Fork) and its tributaries within 

the Jefferson National Forest in Wise and Scott Counties 

from the outlet of High Knob Lake downstream to the 

confluence of Chimney Rock Fork and Stony Creek. 

12. Little Stony Creek and its tributaries within the Jefferson 

National Forest in Scott County from the Falls of Little 

Stony Creek downstream to a posted sign at the Hanging 

Rock Recreation Area. 

13. Little Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth and 

Tazewell Counties downstream to the concrete bridge. 

14. Big Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the Clinch 

Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth County from 

a sign starting at the foot of the mountain and extending 

upstream seasonally from October 1 until five days prior to 

the first Saturday in April. 

15. South River in the City of Waynesboro from the Wayne 

Avenue Bridge downstream 2.2 miles to the Second Street 

Bridge. 

16. Wolf Creek and its tributaries within the Abingdon 

Muster Grounds in the Town of Abingdon from Colonial 

Road downstream to Stone Mill Road. 

17. Beaver Creek and its tributaries within the boundaries of 

Sugar Hollow Park in the City of Bristol. 

18. Green Cove Creek in Washington County from Route 

859 downstream to its mouth. 

19. Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington County upstream 

from the mouth of Straight Branch to a sign posted at the 

Forest Service boundary just downstream of Taylor Valley, 

and in Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington County 

upstream from the first railroad trestle above Taylor Valley 

to the mouth of Green Cove Creek at Creek Junction. 

20. Smith Creek in Alleghany County from the Clifton Forge 

Dam downstream to a sign at the Forest Service boundary 

above the C & O Dam. 

21. Snake Creek in Carroll County below Hall Ford and that 

portion of Little Snake Creek below the junction of Routes 

922 and 674, downstream to Route 58. 

22. The North Fork Moormans River and its tributaries from 

the head of Sugar Hollow Reservoir upstream 0.3 miles to 

the Shenandoah National Park boundary. 

All trout caught in these waters must be immediately returned 

to the water. No trout or bait may be in possession at any time 

in these areas. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7227; Filed May 30, 2022, 9:36 a.m. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 22  Virginia Register of Regulations  June 20, 2022  

2505 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 

Trotlines, Snares, etc. (amending 4VAC15-350-60, 

4VAC15-350-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add and set requirements for 

the use of limblines as a lawful method for fishing; (ii) clarify 

that longnose gar is a species that can be taken with a bow 

and arrow; (iii) prohibit use of poison arrows or arrows with 

exploding heads for taking for all species; (iv) limit take of 

bowfin and longnose gar to five fish per day from July 1 to 

April 14 and one fish per day from April 15 to June 30; and 

(v) add that any common carp, grass carp, northern 

snakehead, goldfish, catfish, longnose gar, or bowfin taken 

with bow and arrow or crossbow may not be released back 

into or disposed of in the water from which it was taken or 

be disposed of on publicly-owned land abutting the waters 

from which the fish was taken. 

4VAC15-350-60. Trotlines, juglines, limblines, or set poles. 

A. Generally. Except as otherwise provided by local 

legislation and by subsections B and C of this section, and 

except on waters stocked with trout and within 600 feet of any 

dam, it shall be lawful to use trotlines, juglines (single hook, 

including one treble hook, and line attached to a float), 

limblines, or set poles for the purpose of taking nongame fish 

(daily creel (possession) and length limits for nongame fish are 

found in 4VAC15-320-25) and snapping turtles (limits for 

snapping turtles are found in 4VAC15-360-10), provided that 

no live bait is used. Notwithstanding the provisions of this 

section, live bait other than game fish may be used on trotlines 

to take catfish in the Clinch River in the Counties of Russell, 

Scott, and Wise. Any person setting or in possession of a 

trotline, jugline, limbline, or set pole shall have it clearly 

marked by permanent means with his name, address, and 

telephone number, and is required to check all lines at least 

once each day, remove all fish and animals caught, and 

completely remove all lines from the water, shoreline, and tree 

limbs when not in use. This requirement shall not apply to 

landowners on private ponds, nor to a bona fide tenant or lessee 

on private ponds within the bounds of land rented or leased, 

nor to anyone transporting any such device from its place of 

purchase. 

B. Quantico Marine Reservation. It shall be unlawful to fish 

with trotlines in any waters within the confines of Quantico 

Marine Reservation. 

C. Additional jugline requirements. Jugline sets (except as 

exempt under subsection A of this section) shall be restricted 

to 20 per angler and must be attended (within sight) by anglers 

at all times. Also, in addition to being labeled with the angler's 

name, address, and telephone number, jugs shall also be 

labeled with a reflective marker that encircles the jugs to allow 

for visibility at night. 

4VAC15-350-70. Taking of fish with bow and arrow or 

crossbow. 

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local legislation 

or as posted, it shall be lawful to take common carp, northern 

snakehead, goldfish, and longnose gar from the public inland 

waters of the Commonwealth, grass carp from public rivers 

and streams of the Commonwealth except public inland lakes 

and reservoirs, and bowfin and catfish from below the fall line 

in tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, except waters stocked 

with trout, by means of bow and arrow or crossbow. 

B. Poison arrows or explosive-head arrows prohibited. It shall 

be unlawful to use poison arrows or arrows with explosive 

heads at any time for the purpose of taking common carp, grass 

carp, northern snakehead, bowfin, catfish, goldfish, or gar in 

the public inland waters of the Commonwealth. 

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the 

manner described in this section shall be required to have a 

regular fishing license. 

D. Creel limits. The creel limits for common carp, grass carp, 

northern snakehead, goldfish, and catfish shall be unlimited, 

provided that any angler taking northern snakehead 

immediately kill such fish and notify the department, as soon 

as practicable, of such actions and provided that any angler 

taking grass carp ensure that harvested fish are dead. The creel 

limit for bowfin and longnose gar shall be five fish per day 

from July 1 to April 14 and one fish per day from April 15 to 

June 30. 

E. Retention requirement. Any common carp, grass carp, 

northern snakehead, goldfish, catfish, longnose gar, or bowfin 

taken with bow and arrow or crossbow must be retained and 

may not be released back into or disposed of in the water. Any 

common carp, grass carp, northern snakehead, goldfish, 

longnose gar, or bowfin taken with bow and arrow or crossbow 

may not be disposed of on property abutting the body of water 
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of capture. These requirements shall not apply to private bodies 

of water or private property abutting the body of water of 

capture. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7228; Filed May 30, 2022, 9:50 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic 

Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 

(amending 4VAC15-360-10, 4VAC15-360-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify that no more than 20 

of the 50 individuals of fish bait allowed for possession may 

be crayfish; (ii) require that any crayfish collected for use 

as fish bait only be used as fish bait in the water body where 

it was captured; (iii) prohibit taking any species of crayfish 

in the Big Sandy River Basin in Virginia without a permit; 

and (iv) prohibit taking minnows and chubs for sale from 

inland waters and eliminate associated recordkeeping 

requirements. 

4VAC15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 

amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use. 

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in 

§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, 

4VAC15-320-40, and the sections of this chapter, it shall be 

lawful to capture and possess live for private use and not for 

sale or export no more than one individual of any native or 

naturalized, as defined in 4VAC15-20-50, species of 

amphibian or reptile per physical address, and 20 individuals 

of any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-

50) species of aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless 

specifically listed in this subsection: 

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited numbers 

from inland waters statewide: carp, mullet, yellow bullhead, 

brown bullhead, black bullhead, flat bullhead, snail 

bullhead, white sucker, northern hogsucker, gizzard shad, 

threadfin shad, blueback herring (see 4VAC15-320-25 for 

anadromous blueback herring limits), white perch, yellow 

perch, alewife (see 4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous alewife 

limits), stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden 

shiner, goldfish, and Asian clams. Grass carp may only be 

harvested in unlimited numbers from public inland rivers 

and streams of the Commonwealth. It is unlawful to harvest 

grass carp from any public inland lake and reservoir. Anglers 

taking grass carp must ensure that all harvested grass carp 

are dead. 

2. See 4VAC15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad, 

channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue 

catfish limits. 

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be defined 

as native or naturalized species of minnows and chubs 

(Cyprinidae), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession 

limit for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in 

aggregate, of which no more than 20 individuals may be 

crayfish, unless said person has purchased "fish bait" and has 

a receipt specifying the number of individuals purchased by 

species, except salamanders and crayfish which cannot be 

sold pursuant to the provisions of 4VAC15-360-60 and 

4VAC15-360-70. However, stonerollers (hornyheads), 

fathead minnows, golden shiners, and goldfish may be taken 

and possessed in unlimited numbers as provided for in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

4. Any crayfish collected for use as fish bait may only be 

used as fish bait in the water body of capture. 

5. The daily limit for bullfrogs shall be 15 and for snapping 

turtles shall be five. Snapping turtles shall only be taken 

from June 1 to September 30 and must have a minimum 

curved-line carapace length of 13 inches. Bullfrogs and 

snapping turtles may not be taken from the banks or waters 

of designated stocked trout waters. 

5. 6. The following species may not be taken or possessed in 

any number for private use: red-eared slider and all reptile 

and amphibian Species of Greatest Conservation Need 

designated in Virginia's 2015 Wildlife Action Plan. 

6. 7. Native amphibians and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-

20-50, that are captured within the Commonwealth and 

possessed live for private use and not for sale may be 

liberated under the following conditions: 

a. Period of captivity does not exceed 30 days; 

b. Animals must be liberated at the site of capture; 

c. Animals must have been housed separately from other 

wild-caught and domestic animals; and 

d. Animals that demonstrate symptoms of disease or 

illness or that have sustained injury during their captivity 

may not be released. 
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7. 8. Native or naturalized amphibians and reptiles, as 

defined in 4VAC15-20-50, may not be taken or possessed in 

any number from state or federal land without an appropriate 

permit or license. 

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A of this section. 

Except as otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 

4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-320-40, and other regulations of 

the board, and except in any waters where the use of nets is 

prohibited, the species listed in subsection A of this section 

may only be taken (i) by hand, hook, and line; (ii) with a seine 

not exceeding four feet in depth by 10 feet in length; (iii) with 

an umbrella type net not exceeding five by five feet square; (iv) 

by small minnow traps with throat openings no larger than one 

inch in diameter; (v) with cast nets; and (vi) with hand-held 

bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 inches and handle 

length not to exceed eight feet (such cast net and hand-held 

bow nets when so used shall not be deemed dip nets under the 

provisions of § 29.1-416 of the Code of Virginia). Gizzard shad 

and white perch may also be taken from below the fall line in 

all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay using a gill net in 

accordance with Virginia Marine Resources Commission 

recreational fishing regulations. Bullfrogs may also be taken 

by gigging or bow and arrow and, from private waters, by 

firearms no larger than.22 caliber rimfire. Snapping turtles may 

be taken for personal use with hoop nets not exceeding six feet 

in length with a throat opening not exceeding 36 inches. 

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as provided 

for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of Virginia, it shall 

be unlawful to take the spiny riversnail (Io fluvialis) in the 

Tennessee drainage in Virginia (Clinch, Powell, and the North, 

South, and Middle Forks of the Holston Rivers and tributaries). 

It shall be unlawful to take mussels from any inland waters of 

the Commonwealth. 

D. Areas restricted from taking crustaceans. Except for the 

permitted collection of specimens as provided for in § 29.1-

418 of the Code of Virginia or the permitted taking for 

zoological, educational, or scientific purposes as provided for 

in § 29.1-568 of the Code of Virginia, it shall be unlawful to 

take any species of crayfish in the Big Sandy River Basin in 

Virginia (Russell Fork, Pound River, Cranes Nest River, 

McClure River, Levisa Fork, Dismal Creek, Knox Creek, and 

tributaries). 

E. Reduction of possession limits for native and naturalized 

amphibians and reptiles. Any person in possession of legally-

obtained native and naturalized amphibians and reptiles, as 

defined in 4VAC15-20-50, prior to the change in personal 

possession allowances in subsection A of this section, effective 

July 1, 2021, must declare such possession to the department 

by January 1, 2022, in a manner prescribed by the department. 

This declaration shall serve as authorization for possession 

only and is not transferable. 

4VAC15-360-20. Taking minnows and chubs for sale. 

A. "Haul seine" defined. "Haul seine," as used in this section, 

when used in the inland waters of the Commonwealth above 

where the tide ebbs and flows, shall mean a haul seine not 

exceeding four feet in depth by 15 feet in length, and when 

used in the public inland waters below where the tide ebbs and 

flows, shall mean a haul seine not exceeding four feet in depth 

by 100 feet in length. Such a term shall be construed also to 

include umbrella type nets without limit as to size and also 

small minnow traps with throat openings no larger than one 

inch in diameter. 

B. Permit required. It shall be lawful unlawful to take 

minnows and chubs (Cyprinidae) for sale from the inland 

waters of the Commonwealth with a permit as provided for in 

§ 29.1-416 of the Code of Virginia except that it is unlawful to 

take threatened and endangered species as listed in 4VAC15-

20-130. 

C. Permit holder to be present when seine operated; persons 

assisting. The holder of a permit to seine for minnows and 

chubs (Cyprinidae) must be present at all times when the seine 

is being operated to catch minnows and chubs (Cyprinidae). 

Persons assisting in the operation of the haul seine need not 

obtain permits. 

D. Records. The holder of a permit to take minnows and 

chubs (Cyprinidae) for sale shall keep a record of the 

approximate number of minnows and chubs (Cyprinidae) 

taken by location (name and county of water body) and sold, 

together with the amount received therefor. 

E. Commercial bait operations. C. Commercial bait 

operations must have a Permit to Hold or Sell Certain Wildlife 

or a Permit to Propagate and Sell Certain Wildlife. With the 

exception of those species listed in 4VAC15-20-130, these 

operations may possess and sell unlimited quantities of 

minnows and chubs (Cyprinidae), when possession is 

accompanied by a valid invoice or bill of sale from an 

individual permitted under subsection B of this section or from 

a properly permitted aquaculture facility in Virginia or out-of-

state. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7229; Filed May 30, 2022, 10:14 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-370. Watercraft: In General 

(adding 4VAC15-370-45). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information: 

August 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments require that watercraft operators 

(i) clean any aquatic organisms or vegetation from the 

vessel, trailer, and equipment before departing the boating 

area and (ii) drain bilge tanks, livewells, and ballast tanks 

before departing a body of water. 

4VAC15-370-45. Invasive species prevention.  

Before leaving the area where the watercraft has been 

removed from the water, all aquatic vegetation must be 

removed from the vessel, trailer, and equipment. At the same 

time, watercraft operators must also remove or open water 

drain plugs from bilges of watercraft. Operators shall take 

reasonable measures to dry bilges, livewells, baitwells, and 

ballast tanks on a watercraft before it is used on another body 

of water. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7230; Filed May 30, 2022, 10:21 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-390. Watercraft: Safe and 

Reasonable Operation of Vessels (adding 4VAC15-390-85). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add a requirement that vessel 

operators give right-of-way and reduce speed to no wake 

when approaching law-enforcement vessels or emergency 

services vessels and (ii) provide a Class 3 misdemeanor and 

mandatory participation in a boating safety class for failing 

to comply. 

4VAC15-390-85. Operators to give right-of-way and 

reduce speed.  

Every motorboat, when approaching or passing within 200 

feet of any law-enforcement vessel or emergency services 

vessel that is displaying flashing blue or red lights shall slow 

to no wake speed so that the effect of the wake does not disturb 

the activities of law-enforcement personnel or emergency 

services personnel. Where the operator of a motorboat fails to 

comply with the provisions of this section and such failure 

endangers the life or limb of any person or endangers or 

damages vessels, the operator shall be guilty of a Class 3 

misdemeanor. Upon conviction, the operator shall additionally 

be required to complete and pass a National Association of 

State Boating Law Administrators approved safe boating 

course as required in § 29.1-746 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7232; Filed May 30, 2022, 10:26 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-430. Watercraft: Safety 

Equipment Requirements (amending 4VAC15-430-20, 

4VAC15-430-160 through 4VAC15-430-200). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify the definition of a 

throwable and wearable personal floatation device to match 

current U.S. Coast Guard standards; (ii) list the current U.S. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Coast Guard website for approved equipment; and (iii) 

adjust the fire extinguisher classification types and 

requirements for vessels to match current U.S. Coast Guard 

standards. 

4VAC15-430-20. Definitions. 

As used in this chapter the following words and terms shall 

have the following meanings: 

"Coastal waters" means the territorial seas of the United 

States, and those waters directly connected to the territorial 

seas (i.e., bays, sounds, harbors, rivers, inlets, etc.) where any 

entrance exceeds two nautical miles between opposite 

shorelines to the first point where the largest distance between 

shorelines narrows to two miles, as shown on the current 

edition of the appropriate National Ocean Service chart used 

for navigation. Shorelines of islands or points of land present 

within a waterway are considered when determining the 

distance between opposite shorelines. 

"Passenger" means every person carried on board a vessel 

other than: 

1. The owner or his representative; 

2. The operator; 

3. Bona fide members of the crew engaged in the business 

of the vessel who have contributed no consideration for their 

carriage and who are paid for their services; or 

4. Any guest on board a vessel that is being used exclusively 

for pleasure purposes who has not contributed any 

consideration, directly or indirectly, for his carriage. 

"Personal flotation device" or "PFD" means a device that is 

approved by the U.S. Coast Guard. 

"Racing shell, rowing scull, racing canoe, and racing kayak" 

means a manually propelled vessel that is recognized by 

national or international racing associations for use in 

competitive racing and one in which all occupants row, scull, 

or paddle, with the exception of a coxswain, if one is provided, 

and is not designed to carry and does not carry any equipment 

not solely for competitive racing. 

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel being manufactured 

or operated primarily for pleasure, or leased, rented, or 

chartered to another for the latter's pleasure. It does not include 

any vessel engaged in the carrying of any passengers for 

consideration. 

"Sailboard" means a sail-propelled vessel with no freeboard 

and equipped with a swivel-mounted mast not secured to a hull 

by guys or stays. 

"Throwable PFD" means a PFD that is intended to be thrown 

to a person in the water. A PFD marked as Type IV or Type V 

with Type IV performance is considered a throwable PFD 

unless specifically marked otherwise. A wearable PFD is not a 

throwable PFD. 

"Use" means operate, navigate, or employ. 

"Vessel" means every description of watercraft, other than a 

seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as a means 

of transportation on water, but does not include surfboards, 

tubes, swimming rafts, inflatable toys, and similar devices 

routinely used as water toys or swimming aids. 

"Visual distress signal" means a device that is approved by 

the U.S. Coast Guard or certified by the manufacturer. 

"Wearable PFD" means a PFD that is intended to be worn or 

otherwise attached to the body. A PFD marked as Type I, Type 

II, Type III, or Type V with Type I, II, or III performance is 

considered a wearable PFD. 

4VAC15-430-160. Fire extinguishing equipment 

application and general provisions. 

A. The provisions of this section through 4VAC15-430-210, 

with the exception of 4VAC15-430-200, shall apply to all 

vessels contracted for on or after November 19, 1952. Vessels 

contracted for prior to that date shall meet the requirements of 

4VAC15-430-200. 

B. Where equipment in this section is required to be of an 

approved type, such equipment requires the specific approval 

of the U.S. Coast Guard. A listing of current and formerly 

approved equipment and materials may be found at 

https://cgmix.uscg.mil/%u200Bequipment. 

C. All hand-portable fire extinguishers, semiportable fire 

extinguishing systems, and fixed fire extinguishing systems 

shall be of a type approved by the U.S. Coast Guard and shall 

have an efficient charge and be in good and serviceable 

condition as referenced in 4VAC15-430-170. 

4VAC15-430-170. Hand-portable fire extinguishers and 

semiportable fire extinguishing systems. 

A. Hand-portable fire extinguishers and semiportable fire 

extinguishing systems are classified by a combination letter 

and number symbol, the letter indicating the type of fire that 

the unit could be expected to extinguish, and the number 

indicating the relative size of the unit. 

B. For the purpose of this section, all required hand-portable 

fire extinguishers and semiportable fire extinguishing systems 

are of the "B" type; i.e. that is, suitable for extinguishing fires 

involving flammable liquids, greases, etc. 

C. The number designations for size will start with "I" for the 

smallest to "V" for the largest. For the purpose of this section, 

only sizes I through III will be considered. Sizes I and II are 

considered hand-portable fire extinguishers and sizes III, IV, 

and V are considered semiportable fire extinguishing systems 

that shall be fitted with suitable hose and nozzle or other 

practicable means so that all portions of the space concerned 

may be covered. Examples of size graduations for some of the 

typical hand-portable fire extinguishers and semiportable fire 

extinguishing systems are set forth in the following table: 

https://cgmix.uscg.mil/%u200Bequipment
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Classification Foam 

(gallons) 

Carbon 

Dioxide 

(pounds) 

Dry 

Chemical 

(pounds) 
Type Size 

B I 1.75 4 2 

B II 2.50 15 10 

B III 12.00 35 20 

All fire extinguishers must be on board and readily accessible, 

in good and serviceable working condition, and comply with 

the following: 

1. If the extinguisher has a pressure gauge reading or 

indicator, it must be in the operable range or position. 

2. The extinguisher may not be expired or appear to have 

been previously used. 

3. The lock pin is firmly in place. 

4. The discharge nozzle is clean and free of obstruction. 

5. The extinguisher does not show visible signs of significant 

corrosion or damage. 

D. All hand-portable fire extinguishers and semiportable fire 

extinguishing systems shall have permanently attached thereto 

a metallic name plate giving the name of the item, the rated 

capacity in gallons, quarts, or pounds, the name and address of 

the person or firm for whom approved, and the identifying 

mark of the actual manufacturer. 

E. Vaporizing-liquid type fire extinguishers containing 

carbon tetrachloride or chlorobromomethane or other toxic 

vaporizing liquids are not acceptable as equipment required by 

this section. 

F. Hand-portable or semiportable extinguishers that are 

required on their name plates to be protected from freezing 

shall not be located where freezing temperatures may be 

expected. 

G. The use of dry chemical, stored pressure, fire extinguishers 

not fitted with pressure gauges or indicating devices, 

manufactured prior to January 1, 1965, may be permitted on 

motorboats and other vessels so long as such extinguishers are 

maintained in good and serviceable condition. The following 

maintenance and inspections are required for such 

extinguishers: 

1. When the date on the inspection record tag on the 

extinguishers shows that six months have elapsed since last 

weight check ashore, then such extinguisher is no longer 

accepted as meeting required maintenance conditions until 

reweighed ashore and found to be in a serviceable condition 

and within required weight conditions. 

2. If the weight of the container is one-fourth ounce less than 

that stamped on container, it shall be serviced. 

3. If the outer seal or seals (which indicate tampering or use 

when broken) are not intact, the boarding officer or marine 

inspector will inspect such extinguisher to see that the 

frangible disc in neck of the container is intact; and if such 

disc is not intact, the container shall be serviced. 

4. If there is evidence of damage, use, or leakage, such as 

dry chemical powder observed in the nozzle or elsewhere on 

the extinguisher, the container shall be replaced with a new 

one and the extinguisher properly serviced or the 

extinguisher replaced with another approved extinguisher. 

H. The dry chemical, stored pressure, fire extinguishers 

without pressure gauges or indicating devices manufactured 

after January 1, 1965, shall not be carried on board motorboats 

or other vessels as required equipment. 

4VAC15-430-180. Fixed fire extinguishing systems. 

When a fixed fire extinguishing system is installed, it shall be 

of an approved carbon dioxide type, that is designed and 

installed in agreement with the applicable provisions required 

by the U.S. Coast Guard. 

4VAC15-430-190. Fire extinguishing equipment required. 

A. Motorboats. 

1. All motorboats shall carry at least the minimum number 

of hand-portable fire extinguishers set forth in the following 

table, except that motorboats less than 26 feet in length, 

propelled by outboard motors and not carrying passengers 

for hire, need not carry such portable fire extinguishers if the 

construction of such motorboats will not permit the 

entrapment of explosive or flammable gases or vapors. 

Length, feet Minimum number of B-I 5-B hand-

portable fire extinguishers required1 

No fixed fire 

extinguishing 

systems in 

machinery space 

Fixed fire 

extinguishing 

system in 

machinery 

space 

Under 16 1 0 

16 to less 

than 26 

1 0 

26 to less 

than 40 

2 1 

40 to 65 3 2 

1One B-II 20-B hand-portable fire extinguisher may be 

substituted for two B-I 5-B hand-portable fire extinguishers. 

2. Fire extinguishers are required if any one or more of the 

following conditions exist: 

a. Closed compartment under thwarts and seats wherein 

portable fuel tanks may be stored. 
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b. Double bottoms not sealed to the hull or that are not 

completely filled with flotation material. 

c. Closed living spaces. 

d. Closed stowage compartments in which combustible or 

flammable materials are stowed. 

e. Permanently installed fuel tanks. 

3. The following conditions do not, in themselves, require 

that fire extinguishers be carried: 

a. Bait wells. 

b. Glove compartments. 

c. Buoyant flotation material. 

d. Open slatted flooring. 

e. Ice chests. 

B. Motor vessels Motorboats greater than 65 feet in length. 

1. All motor vessels motorboats greater than 65 feet in length 

shall carry at least the minimum number of hand-portable 

fire extinguishers set forth in the following table below: 

Gross tonnage Minimum number of B-II 20-B 

hand-portable fire extinguishers 
Over  Not Over 

 50 2 

50 100 3 

100 500 6 

500 1000 8 

1000   

2. In addition to the hand-portable fire extinguishers required 

by subdivision 1 of this subsection, the following fire-

extinguishing equipment shall be fitted in the machinery 

space: 

a. One Type B-II 20-B hand-portable fire extinguisher 

shall be carried for each 1,000 B.H.P. of the main engines 

or fraction thereof. However, not more than six such 

extinguishers need be carried. 

b. On motor vessels motorboats of over 300 gross tons, 

either one Type B-III 160-B semiportable fire-

extinguishing system shall be fitted, or alternatively, a 

fixed fire extinguishing system shall be fitted in the 

machinery space. 

3. The frame or support of each Type B-III 160-B fire 

extinguisher required by subdivision 2 b of this subsection 

must be welded or otherwise permanently attached to a 

bulkhead or deck. 

4. If an approved semiportable fire extinguisher has wheels 

and is not required by this section, it must be securely stowed 

when not in use to prevent it from rolling out of control under 

heavy sea conditions. 

C. Barges carrying passengers. 

1. Every barge of 65 feet in length or less while carrying 

passengers when towed or pushed by a motorboat, motor 

vessel, or steam vessel shall be fitted with hand-portable fire 

extinguishers as required by the table in subsection B of this 

section, depending upon the length of the barge. 

2. Every barge of over 65 feet in length while carrying 

passengers when towed or pushed by a motorboat, motor 

vessel, or steam vessel shall be fitted with hand-portable fire 

extinguishers as required by the table in subsection B of this 

section, depending upon the gross tonnage of the barge. 

4VAC15-430-200. Fire extinguishing equipment on vessels 

contracted prior to November 19, 1952 Condition and 

number of fire extinguishers required for recreational 

vessels. 

A. Condition and number of fire extinguishers required for 

recreational vessels built model year 2017 or earlier, between 

1953 and 2017, and contracted prior to November 19, 1953.  

1. Previously installed extinguishers with extinguishing 

capacities that are less than what is required in the tables 

contained in 4VAC15-430-190 need not be replaced but 

must be maintained in good condition. 

2. All extinguishers installed after August 22, 2016, must 

meet the applicable requirements in 4VAC15-160 through 

4VAC15-210. 

B. Vessels contracted for prior to November 19, 1952, shall 

meet the applicable provisions of 4VAC15-430-160 through 

4VAC15-430-190 insofar as the number and general type of 

equipment is concerned. Existing items of equipment and 

installations previously approved but not meeting the 

applicable requirements for type approval may be continued in 

service so long as they are in good condition. All new 

installations and replacements shall meet the requirements of 

4VAC15-430-160 through 4VAC15-430-190. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7233; Filed May 30, 2022, 10:33 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-440. Watercraft: Commercial 

Vessel Safety Equipment Requirements (amending 

4VAC15-440-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information: 

August 18, 2022 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) make kapok and fibrous glass life 

preservers that do not have plastic-covered pad inserts 

acceptable personal floatation devices and (ii) change the term 

"Type V" commercial hybrid personal floatation device to the 

U.S. Coast Guard's new term "performance level 150." 

4VAC15-440-20. Lifesaving equipment required. 

A. It shall be unlawful to operate a vessel to which this 

chapter applies unless it meets the requirements of this section. 

B. Each vessel not carrying passengers for hire less than 40 

feet in length must have at least one U.S. Coast Guard 

approved life preserver (Type I PFD), buoyant vest (Type II 

PFD), or marine buoyant device intended to be worn (Type III 

PFD), of a suitable size for each person on board. Kapok and 

fibrous glass life preservers that do not have plastic-covered 

pad inserts as required by the U.S. Coast Guard are not 

acceptable as equipment required by this subsection. 

C. Each vessel carrying passengers for hire and each vessel 

40 feet in length or longer not carrying passengers for hire must 

have at least one approved (Type I PFD) life preserver of a 

suitable size for each person on board. Kapok and fibrous glass 

life preservers that do not have plastic-covered pad inserts as 

required by the U.S. Coast Guard are not acceptable as 

equipment required by this subsection. 

D. In addition to the equipment required by subsections 

subsection B or C of this section, each vessel 26 feet in length 

or longer must have at least one approved ring life buoy, 

constructed in accordance with requirements of the U.S. Coast 

Guard. 

E. Each vessel not carrying passengers for hire may substitute 

an immersion suit for a life preserver, buoyant vest, or marine 

buoyant device required under subsection B or C of this 

section. Each immersion suit carried in accordance with this 

subsection must be of a type approved by the U.S. Coast 

Guard. 

F. On each vessel, regardless of length and regardless of 

whether carrying passengers for hire, an approved commercial 

hybrid PFD may be substituted for a life preserver, buoyant 

vest, or marine buoyant device required under subsection B or 

C of this section if it is: 

1. Used in accordance with the conditions marked on the 

PFD and in the owner's manual; 

2. Labeled for use on commercial vessels; and 

3. In the case of a Type V performance level 150 commercial 

hybrid PFD, worn when the vessel is underway and the 

intended wearer is not within an enclosed space. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7234; Filed May 30, 2022, 10:48 a.m. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1390. Pertaining to Shrimp 

(amending 4VAC20-1390-50, 4VAC20-1390-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Alexa Galvan, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, 

telephone (757) 247-2069, or email 

alexa.galvan@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reduce and provide exemption for 

criteria for eligibility for a Commercial Shrimp Trawl 

License, (ii) provide for written request for transfer of a 

Commercial Shrimp Trawl License, (iii) stipulate when an 

exception to the prohibition of use of agents will be 

granted and limit the duration of use of an agent to two 

weeks, and (iv) change to July 1 the cutoff to count the 

number of individuals eligible for a Commercial Shrimp 

Trawl License to determine whether a lottery for licenses 

will be conducted in a given year.  

4VAC20-1390-50. Shrimp trawl licensing and entry 

requirements. 

A. The maximum number of Commercial Shrimp Trawl 

Licenses issued in any fishing year shall be 12. 

B. Any individual who meets all of the following criteria shall 

be eligible for a Commercial Shrimp Trawl License: 

1. The individual shall possess a valid Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License. 

2. The individual shall complete and submit a Commercial 

Shrimp Trawl License Application annually that must be 

received by the Marine Resources Commission by August 

31 of the current calendar year. 

3. The individual shall meet one of the following criteria: 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
mailto:alexa.galvan@mrc.virginia.gov
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a. The individual shall have been a permit holder of a 

Virginia-issued Special Experimental Permit for shrimp 

trawl gear and reported a minimum shrimp harvest of 500 

pounds to the Marine Resource Commission's Mandatory 

Harvest Reporting Program in any given year from 2017 

through 2020. 

b. 2. The individual shall have possessed a Commercial 

Shrimp Trawl License and reported harvest of at least 500 

pounds by shrimp trawl gear to the Marine Resource 

Resources Commission's Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program in at least one of the previous two fishing years. An 

individual shall be exempt from this requirement if they have 

been eligible for the Commercial Shrimp Trawl License for 

fewer than two fishing years. 

C. If the number of individuals eligible for a Commercial 

Shrimp Trawl License pursuant to subsection B of this section 

is fewer than 12 by September July 1 in the current calendar 

year, a lottery will be conducted, including any individual who 

meets all of the following criteria: 

1. The individual shall possess a valid Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License. 

2. The individual shall complete and submit a Commercial 

Shrimp Trawl Application that must be received by the 

Marine Resources Commission by the advertised deadline of 

the current calendar year. 

3. The individual shall have reported harvest to the Marine 

Resource Resources Commission's Mandatory Harvest 

Reporting Program of at least 1,000 pounds of harvest per 

year in at least three of the previous five calendar years. 

D. Any individual selected under subsection B or C of this 

section who fails to return a completed Commercial Shrimp 

Trawl License Acceptance Form provided by the commission 

indicating their acceptance within 14 days of selection shall 

forfeit their eligibility for the current fishing year and another 

individual shall be selected from the list of eligible individuals 

pursuant to subsection C of this section. 

E. The commission shall approve all shrimp trawl gear, as 

referenced in 4VAC20-1390-60 prior to the issuance of a 

Commercial Shrimp Trawl License. 

F. It shall be prohibited to transfer any Commercial Shrimp 

Trawl License. Transfers of any Commercial Shrimp Trawl 

License shall be prohibited without written request to the 

Marine Resources Commission and approval by the 

Commissioner of the Marine Resources Commission or the 

commissioner's designee. Exceptions to transfers shall only be 

granted due to death, medical hardships, or military service. 

G. The use of agents shall be prohibited for any Commercial 

Shrimp Trawl Licensee without written request to the Marine 

Resources Commission and approval by the commissioner or 

the commissioner's designee. Exceptions to the use of agents 

shall only be granted due to death, medical hardships, or 

military service. The use of agents shall only be approved for 

a consecutive two-week period during any fishing season. 

H. Each Commercial Shrimp Trawl Licensee shall report to 

the Marine Resources Commission Fisheries Management 

Staff the harvest of shrimp in pounds, an estimate of total 

bycatch in pounds, and interactions with any protected or 

endangered species within 24 hours of landing of each trip. 

4VAC20-1390-70. Commercial shrimp trawl harvest 

limits, seasons, and areas. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any Commercial Shrimp Trawl 

Licensee to harvest or land any Virginia quota managed 

species (Black Drum, Black Sea Bass, Bluefish, Atlantic 

Horseshoe Crab, Atlantic Menhaden, Scup, Speckled Sea 

Trout, Spiny and Smooth Dogfishes, Striped Bass, and 

Summer Flounder) caught by shrimp trawl. 

B. It shall be unlawful to trawl for shrimp outside of the 

Virginia Beach Shrimp Trawl Harvest Area. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any Commercial Shrimp Trawl 

Licensee to harvest shrimp caught by shrimp trawl from 

February 1 through September 30 of each calendar year. 

D. It shall be unlawful to trawl for shrimp more than 30 

minutes before sunrise or 30 minutes after sunset. 

E. It shall be unlawful to trawl for shrimp within 100 yards of 

any marked commercial fishing gear. 

F. It shall be unlawful to trawl for shrimp within 300 yards of 

any navigable inlet, public boat ramp, fishing pier, or beach. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7225; Filed May 24, 2022, 3:49 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Withdrawal of Fast-track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-220. Virginia Medical Care 

Facilities Certificate of Public Need Rules and Regulations 

(amending 12VAC5-220-10, 12VAC5-220-105, 12VAC5-

220-110, 12VAC5-220-180, 12VAC5-220-355; adding 

12VAC5-220-95). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-102.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that the State Board of Health has 

WITHDRAWN the regulatory action for 12VAC5-220, 

Virginia Medical Care Facilities Certificate of Public Need 

Rules and Regulations, the Fast-Track regulation for which 

was published in 38:19 VA.R. 2432-2439 May 9, 2022. The 

agency received requests from the Virginia Hospital and 

Healthcare Association and the Virginia Health Care 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10228
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Association to develop a revised regulation to respond to 

concerns regarding the proposed fee schedule. Therefore, the 

board is withdrawing the fast-track rulemaking action and will 

be resubmitting a new action with a revised fee schedule and a 

revised agency background document. 

Agency Contact: Erik Bodin, Director, Division of Certificate 

of Public Need, Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

1889, or email erik.bodin@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6433; Filed June 1, 2022, 9:40 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

VIRGINIA EMPLOYMENT COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Employment 

Commission is claiming exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

2, which excludes regulations that establish or prescribe 

agency organization, internal practice or procedures, including 

delegations of authority and § 2.2-4006 A 3, which excludes 

regulations that consist only of changes in style or form or 

corrections of technical errors. The commission will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC5-32. Required Records and 

Reports (amending 16VAC5-32-10, 16VAC5-32-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 60.2-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 20, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jacob Shuford, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Employment Commission, 6606 West Broad Street, 

Henrico, VA 23230, FAX (804) 786-9034 or email 

jacob.shuford@vec.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) adjust the definition of "United 

States"; (ii) update wording regarding compliance with 

commission reports; and (iii) update agency forms.  

16VAC5-32-10. Employing unit records. 

A. Each employing unit as defined under § 60.2-211 of the 

Code of Virginia, having services performed for it by one or 

more individuals in its employ, shall maintain records 

reasonably protected against damage or loss as hereinafter 

indicated and shall preserve such records. These records shall 

include for each worker: 

1. A full legal name; 

2. A social security account number; 

3. The state or states in which his services are performed; 

and if any of such services are performed outside the 

Commonwealth of Virginia not incidental to the services 

within the Commonwealth of Virginia, his base of 

operations with respect to such services (or if there is no base 

of operations then the place from which such services are 

directed or controlled) and his residence (by state). Where 

the services are performed outside the United States, the 

country in which performed; 

4. The date of hire, rehire, or return to work after temporary 

lay off; 

5. The date when work ceased and the reason for such 

cessation; 

6. Scheduled hours (except for workers without a fixed 

schedule of hours, such as those working outside their 

employer's establishment in such a manner that the employer 

has no record or definite knowledge of their working hours); 

7. a. Wages earned in any week by a partially employed 

individual as such individual is defined in 16VAC5-10-10; 

b. Whether any week was in fact a week of less than full-

time work; 

c. Time lost, if any, by each such worker, and the reason 

therefor; 

8. Total wages in each pay period, and the total wages 

payable for all pay periods ending in each quarter, showing 

separately (i) money wages, including tips and dismissal or 

severance pay, and (ii) the cash value of other remuneration; 

9. Any special payments for service other than those 

rendered exclusively in a given quarter, such as annual 

bonuses, gifts, prizes, etc., showing separately (i) money 

payments, (ii) other remuneration, and (iii) nature of said 

payments; 

10. Amounts paid each worker as advancement, allowance 

or reimbursement for traveling or other business expenses, 

dates of payment, and the amounts of expenditures actually 

incurred and accounted for by such worker; 

11. Location in which the worker's services are performed 

within or outside of the United States and dates such services 

are performed outside of the United States. For the purposes 

of this subdivision, "United States" means includes the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, including land and premises 

located therein, owned, held or possessed by the United 

States, the 50 states of the United States of America, the 

District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, 

and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 

B. Employers shall provide the commission upon request all 

payroll records, federal W2 and 1099 forms, federal and state 

employment and income tax returns, and any other records that 

would be relevant to ensuring that wages had been accurately 

reported and taxes or refunds correctly computed and paid. 

mailto:erik.bodin@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:jacob.shuford@vec.virginia.gov
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Records required by this chapter to be maintained by 

employing units under the Act shall be preserved for four years 

from the date of payment of the tax based thereon and shall be 

subject to examination and audit by the commission. 

C. If such records are not maintained, there shall be a 

presumption in favor of the party making an allegation, and the 

burden of overcoming such presumption shall rest upon the 

party failing to maintain the required records. 

16VAC5-32-20. Required reports. 

A. Each employer, as defined in § 60.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia, shall report to the commission for each calendar 

quarter all the information concerning the number of workers 

subject to the Act and the total wages payable with respect to 

employment in all pay periods ending within each such quarter. 

Upon request, each such employer shall furnish the 

commission additional information revealing the wages earned 

by an individual in his employment during the time between 

the last pay period for which wages were paid in any quarter 

and the end of such quarter. 

B. Each employer shall report quarterly, not later than the last 

day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter, the 

following information in the format prescribed by the 

commission: 

1. Employer's name, address, and any registration number 

assigned to him by the commission; 

2. The quarterly period covered by the report; 

3. The social security account numbers of the workers; 

4. The full legal names of workers, with surnames last; 

5. Each worker's total wages paid for the quarter. 

Such reports shall be submitted for each calendar quarter of 

each year. 

C. An employer shall immediately notify the commission of 

the filing of any voluntary or involuntary petition in 

bankruptcy or other proceeding under the Federal Bankruptcy 

Code, the commencement of any receivership or similar 

proceeding, or of any assignment for benefit of creditors, and 

any order of court under the laws of Virginia with respect to 

the foregoing. 

D. Each employing unit shall make such reports as the 

commission may require and shall comply with instructions 

printed upon any report form issued by of the commission 

pertaining to the preparation and return or submission of such 

report reports. 

1. Any employing unit which becomes an employer shall 

give notice to the commission of that fact within 30 days. 

The notice shall contain the employer's name, home address, 

business address, and name of business, if any. 

2. Any employer who terminates his business for any reason 

or transfers or sells the whole or any part of his business or 

changes the name or address, or both, of his business, shall 

within 30 days of such action give notice of such fact in 

writing to the commission. The notice shall contain the 

employer's name, address, and account number, along with 

the name, address, and account number of any new owner or 

part owner. 

E. Every corporation shall file with the commission a verified 

list of its officers and registered agent. Where it is claimed that 

any of the officers are not in the corporation's employment, a 

complete statement of the reasons shall be presented with said 

list. 

An officer of a corporation, to be considered as being in the 

employment of a corporation, shall perform services, and these 

services shall be performed either (i) for remuneration or (ii) 

under a contract of hire. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (16VAC5-32) 

Quarterly Charge Statement, VEC-B-46 (eff. 1/92). 

Reimbursable Statement, VEC-B-47 (eff. 6/90). 

Delinquent Notice, VEC-DA-33 (rev. 8/87). 

Notification of Pending Civil Action, VEC-DA-34 (rev. 

4/90). 

Employers Quarterly Payroll Report, VEC-FC-10A (rev. 

9/85). 

Information for Use in Determining Whether an Employee-

Employer Relationship Exists for Purposes of State 

Unemployment Taxes, VEC-FC-16 (rev. 1/87). 

Employer's Quarterly Tax Report and Employer's Quarterly 

Payroll Report, VEC-FC 20 and VEC-FC-21 (rev. 1/92). (Now 

self-mailer, containing both forms.). 

Voluntary Election, to Become an Employer Under the Virginia 

Unemployment Compensation Act, VEC-FC-24 (rev. 1/87). 

Report to Determine Liability, VEC-FC-27 (rev. 1/92). 

Tax Rate Notice, VEC-FC-29 (rev. 7/92). 

Statement to Correct Wage Information, VEC-FC-34 (rev. 2/87). 

Taxable Payroll Division for Partial Acquisitions, VEC-FC-45 

(rev. 7/92). 
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Election (of method of payment) by Nonprofit Organizations, 

Governmental Agencies, or Political Subdivisions, VEC-FC-47 

(rev. 1/92). 

Letter to Employer Establishing Tax Liability ,VEC-FC-48. 

Notice to Appear in Lieu of Summons, VEC-FC-53. 

Notice of Account Closing, VEC-FC-56 (rev. 2/92). 

Reply Form for Information, Missing on FC-20, VEC-FC-60. 

Delinquent Notice-Quarterly, T-COL-001 (rev. 4/2022) 

Employer's Quarterly Tax Report, T-FC20 (rev. 8/2018) 

Voluntary Election Notice, T-COL-009 (rev. 9/2021) 

Report to Determine Liability, T-FC-27 (rev. 10/2015) 

Annual Tax Rate Notice, T-RAT-001 (rev. 12/2021) 

Combined Amended Quarterly Tax and Wage Report, FC-34 

(rev. 7/2012) 

Partial Transfer of Experience for Partial Acquisitions, T-

MRG-007 (rev. 5/2022) 

Waiver of Experience Rate Transfer, T-MRG-001 (rev. 

2/2021) 

501(c)(3) Voluntary Election Notice, T-REG-004 (rev. 

2/2021) 

Account Registration Notice, T-REG-011 (rev. 2/2022) 

Notice to Appear in Lieu of Summons, T-COL-008 (rev. 

3/2021) 

Account Update Notice, T-PRO-001 (rev. 11/2019) 

Missing Information Notice, T-PRO-002 (rev. 8/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7202; Filed May 18, 2022, 3:25 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-10, 

18VAC60-21-60; adding 18VAC60-21-165). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Dentistry has 

WITHDRAWN the regulatory action for 18VAC60-21, 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry, the Proposed 

regulation for which was published in 38:12 VA.R. 1426-1431 

January 31, 2022. This proposed action completed Executive 

Branch review and was published for public comment as a 

proposed action. The proposed regulatory language synced 

from the Virginia Register was a previous draft of the 

amendments, not the draft approved by the Board of Dentistry 

on June 11, 2021. Therefore, the board is withdrawing the 

proposed stage and will be resubmitting a new proposed stage 

with the correct draft of the amended language and a revised 

agency background document. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6525; Filed May 19, 2022, 8:28 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-20. Policy and Procedure 

Manual (repealing 24VAC35-20-10 through 24VAC35-20-

500). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 18.2-271.1 and 18.2-271.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 

richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals Policy and Procedure 

Manual (24VAC35-20) because the regulation no longer 

reflects current agency policy and procedures. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6991; Filed May 25, 2022, 2:53 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-30. VASAP Case 

Management Policy and Procedure Manual (repealing 

24VAC35-30-10 through 24VAC35-30-160). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 18.2-271.1 and 18.2-271.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 

richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-COL-001-20220527120323.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/FC20-20220527120936.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-COL-009-20220527121613.pdf
https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/docstore/vecportal/employer/pdf/fc_27new.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-RAT-001-20220527122244.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-FC-34-20220527122712.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-FC-34-20220527122712.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-MRG-007%20(3)-20220613121146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-MRG-007%20(3)-20220613121146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-MRG-001-20220527123046.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-MRG-001-20220527123046.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-REG-004-20220527123249.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-REG-004-20220527123249.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-REG-011-20220527123729.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-COL-008-20220527124116.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-COL-008-20220527124116.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-PRO-001-20220527124324.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-PRO-002-20220527124510.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10095
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10095
mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov
mailto:richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals VASAP Case Management 

Policy and Procedure Manual (24VAC35-30) because the 

regulation no longer reflects current agency policy and 

procedures. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6992; Filed May 25, 2022, 2:54 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-40. Certification 

Requirements Manual (repealing 24VAC35-40-10 through 

24VAC35-40-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 18.2-271.1 and 18.2-271.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 

richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals Certification Requirements 

Manual (24VAC35-40) because the regulation no longer 

reflects current agency policy and procedures related to 

the certification of local alcohol safety action programs. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6993; Filed May 25, 2022, 2:54 p.m. 

mailto:richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT OF RAIL AND PUBLIC 
TRANSPORTATION 

Title of Document: Grant Administration Guidance for Public 

Transportation and Commuter Assistance Programs for Fiscal 

Year 2023. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 20, 2022. 

Effective Date: July 21, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Andrew Wright, Senior Legislative and Policy 

Specialist, Department of Rail and Public Transportation, 600 East 

Main Street, Suite 2102, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

241-0301, or email andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Child and Family Services Manual, 

Chapter D, Local Department Resource, Foster and Adoptive 

Home Approval Guidance. 

Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter E, Foster Care. 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Manual Updates 

July 2022. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 20, 2022. 

Effective Date: July 21, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Nikki Clarke Callaghan, Legislation, 

Regulations and Guidance Manager, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 726-7943, or email nikki.clarke@dss.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Child and Family Services Manual, 

Chapter F, Adoption. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 20, 2022. 

Effective Date: July 21, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room 1507, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, or email 

karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_6181_20220523.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_6181_20220523.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_6181_20220523.pdf
mailto:andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6183_20220601.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6183_20220601.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6183_20220601.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6184_20220601.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6180_20220523.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6180_20220523.pdf
mailto:nikki.clarke@dss.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6182_20220526.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6182_20220526.pdf
mailto:karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Revision to the State Implementation Plan: 
Proposed Second Maintenance Plan for the 

Hampton Roads 1997 Ozone National Ambient Air 
Quality Standard Maintenance Area 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is seeking comments and announcing a public comment 

period on a proposed second maintenance plan for the 

Hampton Roads 1997 ozone National Ambient Air Quality 

Standard (NAAQS) Maintenance Area. The plan shows that 

emission reductions of nitrogen oxides (NOX) and volatile 

organic compounds (VOC) in the area will continue such that 

air quality is expected to further improve. The Commonwealth 

intends to submit the plan as a revision to the Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP) in accordance with the federal 

Clean Air Act. The SIP is the plan developed by Virginia in 

order to fulfill its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air 

Act to attain and maintain the NAAQS promulgated by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comments on the second 

maintenance plan for the Hampton Roads 1997 Ozone 

Maintenance Area, which consists of the Counties of 

Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, and York, and the Cities 

of Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, 

Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg. 

Public comment period: June 20, 2022, to July 20, 2022. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a request 

is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of this notice. 

In order to be considered, the request must include the full 

name, address, and telephone number of the person requesting 

the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the 

comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any 

requested public hearing will be announced in a separate 

notice, and another 30-day comment period will be conducted. 

Description of proposal: The proposal consists of the 

following: 

1. An air quality maintenance plan for the Hampton Roads 

1997 Ozone Maintenance Area consisting of the Counties of 

Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, and York, and the Cities 

of Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, 

Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg. 

2. A comprehensive attainment year inventory of actual 

emissions from all sources of ozone precursor pollutants 

(carbon monoxide, NOX, and VOC) for the year 2016. 

3. A comprehensive interim year projection inventory for year 

2023 and a comprehensive out year projection inventory for 

year 2032 from all sources of ozone precursor pollutants 

(carbon monoxide, NOX, and VOC). These inventories include 

estimates of emissions from the construction of known, 

planned offshore wind power projects. 

4. Air quality data from 2000 to 2021 showing that the area is 

attaining the 1997 ozone NAAQS with a significant margin of 

safety. 

5. Contingency measures in the unlikely situation where air 

quality monitors within the area record an exceedance of the 

1997 ozone NAAQS. 

6. Assurance that the Commonwealth will continue to operate 

an ozone monitoring network in accordance with 40 CFR Part 

58 within the area. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a revision 

to the Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act 

in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. It is planned to submit all 

provisions of the proposal as a revision to the Commonwealth 

of Virginia SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments must 

include the full name, address, and telephone number of the 

person commenting and be received by DEQ no later than the 

last day of the comment period. A cover page with the 

recipient's full mailing address as listed must be part of each 

fax. DEQ prefers that comments be provided in writing, along 

with any supporting documents or exhibits. Comments must be 

submitted to the contact listed at the end of this notice. All 

materials received are part of the public record. 

To review the proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices 

website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/air. The documents may also be 

obtained by contacting the DEQ representative listed. The 

public may schedule an appointment to review the documents 

between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until the 

close of the public comment period at the following DEQ 

locations: (1) DEQ Main Street Office, 22nd Floor, 1111 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4249; and 

(2) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Doris A. McLeod, Air Quality Planner, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 22nd Floor, 1111 East 

Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 659-1990, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Provider Manual Update: Chapter 2 of All 
Provider Manuals 

The draft Physician Practitioner Provider Manual Chapter 2 is 

now available on the Department of Medical Assistance 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/air
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/air
mailto:doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov
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Services website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-

drafts/ for public comment until June 26, 2022. This update 

will be effective across all provider manuals. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 

email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Draft Physician Practitioner Provider Manual 

The draft Physician Practitioner Provider Manual Chapter 5 is 

now available on the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-

drafts/ for public comment until June 26, 2022. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 

email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Culpeper 
Wellness Foundation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Culpeper 

Wellness Foundation for violations of the State Water Control 

Law and regulations and applicable permit regarding 

construction activity at the Culpeper Wellness Foundation 

located in Culpeper, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The staff 

contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from 

June 21, 2022, through July 21, 2022. 

Contact Information: Jim Datko, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

james.datko@deq.virgnia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Fork Union 
Military Academy 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Fork Union 

Military Academy for violations at the Fork Union Military 

Academy sewage treatment plant in Fluvanna County. The 

Department of Environmental Quality proposes to issue a 

consent order with penalty and injunctive relief to Fork Union 

Military Academy to address noncompliance with State Water 

Control Law. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept 

comments by email, fax, or postal mail from June 23, 2022, to 

July 23, 2022. 

Contact Information: Eric Millard, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 

Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 

22801, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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