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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. 

McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade; Wren M. 

Williams. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2022 through August 2023 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

39:6 October 19, 2022 November 7, 2022 

39:7 November 2, 2022 November 21, 2022 

39:8 November 14, 2022 (Monday) December 5, 2022 

39:9 November 30, 2022 December 19, 2022 

39:10 December 14, 2022 January 2, 2023 

39:11 December 27, 2022 (Tuesday) January 16, 2023 

39:12 January 11, 2023 January 30, 2023 

39:13 January 25, 2023 February 13, 2023 

39:14 February 8, 2023 February 27, 2023 

39:15 February 22, 2023 March 13, 2023 

39:16 March 8, 2023 March 27, 2023 

39:17 March 22, 2023 April 10, 2023 

39:18 April 5, 2023 April 24, 2023 

39:19 April 19, 2023 May 8, 2023 

39:20 May 3, 2023 May 22, 2023 

39:21 May 17, 2023 June 5, 2023 

39:22 May 31, 2023 June 19, 2023 

39:23 June 14, 2023 July 3, 2023 

39:24 June 28, 2023 July 17, 2023 

39:25 July 12, 2023 July 31, 2023 

39:26 July 26, 2023 August 14, 2023 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Michael J. Schultz. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

board amend its regulations to (i) prohibit physicians, 

podiatrists, and chiropractors from refusing to provide medical 

care to patients or prospective patients if those individuals or 

their accompanying representatives refuse to wear masks; (ii) 

prohibit physicians, podiatrists, and chiropractors from 

enforcing any requirements for patients, prospective patients, 

or patient representatives to wear masks to receive medical 

care, including when following policies of insurers or 

organizations or when following guidance issued by the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, local health 

departments, or the Virginia Department of Health; (iii) 

prohibit physicians, podiatrists, and chiropractors from 

refusing to provide medical care to any patient or prospective 

patient based on the vaccination status of the patient or the 

patient's representative for any COVID-19 vaccine or for any 

vaccine under Emergency Use Authorization status; and (iv) 

prohibit physicians, podiatrists, and chiropractors from 

refusing to provide medical care to any patient or prospective 

patient who refuses to disclose whether they have received any 

vaccine, including any COVID-19 vaccine. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The board considered the 

petition at its June 16, 2022, meeting, and decided it would take 

no action. Regulating the business decisions of practices, 

health systems, and hospitals is beyond the board's jurisdiction. 

The board has no authority over health system or hospital 

policy and will not categorically penalize practitioners for 

following directives of those organizations. Additionally, the 

board wishes to preserve physician autonomy, particularly the 

medical judgment of practitioners, in ways that are in the best 

interests of public health or individual patients. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, or email 

william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-28; Filed June 16, 2022, 12:05 p.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-150. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Behavior Analysis. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.16 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Michael Moates. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Remove the specific 

requirement for Behavior Analyst Certification Board 

certification and accept certification from an entity that is 

nationally accredited to certify practitioners of behavior 

analysis. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on June 16, 

2022, the board voted to initiate a rulemaking to amend 

18VAC85-150-60 to comply with the language in § 54.1-

2957.16 B of the Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, or email 

william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-21; Filed June 16, 2022, 11:51 a.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Ethan Kaste. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

board amend 18VAC115-20-52 B 10 to allow residents in 

counseling to use the title Licensed Professional Counselor – 

Resident (LPC-R). 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on July 18, 2022. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. The Board of Counseling will 

receive public comment from July 18, 2022, to August 17, 

2022. 

The board will consider the petition at the next scheduled 

meeting following the close of the comment period. Currently, 

the board's next scheduled meeting after the close of the 

comment period is September 16, 2022. The board will inform 

the petitioner of its decision following that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/


Petitions for Rulemaking 

Volume 38, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 18, 2022  

2540 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-38; Filed June 26, 2022, 2:32 p.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Basharat Shah. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Establish guidelines and 

qualifications for psychologists involved in custody and 

visitation cases and prohibit those who do not meet those 

qualifications from testifying in court. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: In accordance with Virginia 

law, the petition was filed with the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations and published on March 14, 2022, with comment 

requested until April 13, 2022. The petition and all comments 

received in support or opposition were reviewed by the board 

at its meeting on June 28, 2022. The board decided to take no 

action based on lack of jurisdiction to dictate evidentiary 

matters that are within the purview of the state court system. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-22; Filed June 28, 2022, 12:55 p.m. 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-196, 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit for Noncontact Cooling Water Discharges 

of 50,000 Gallons Per Day or Less, and determined that the 

regulation should be amended. 

The Proposed regulatory action to amend 9VAC25-196, which 

is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings. 

Contact Information: Joseph Bryan, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

2659. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services conducted a periodic review and a 

small business impact review of 12VAC35-46, Regulations 

for Children's Residential Facilities, and determined that this 

regulation should be amended. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated June 15, 2022, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary to carry out the licensure 

requirements of § 37.2-408 of the Code of Virginia. The 

regulation helps to protect the health, safety, and welfare of 

children as it articulates specific standards for licensing of 

facilities providing 24-hour support in conjunction with care 

and treatment or a training program for behavioral health and 

developmental services and brain injury services in a setting 

other than a hospital or training center. The structure of the 

regulation is straightforward. 

Related to this periodic review, an overhaul of this regulation 

has been underway since the last periodic review, and of 

12VAC35-105, Rules and Regulations for Licensing Providers 

by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. The plan is to combine 12VAC35-46 into the main 

licensing regulations. Three of six planned draft chapters (one 

general chapter and five service-specific chapters) were 

published for public comment in May 2021, two more drafts 

will be published for initial comment by September 2022, and 

the last is under development. Therefore, the decision remains 

to amend the regulation. 

The regulation is needed to carry out the licensure 

requirements in Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia, specifically 

§ 37.2-408. No comments were received. The regulation 

articulates specific standards for licensing of organizations and 

facilities that provide behavioral health and developmental 

disability services. Because it is intended to establish structures 

for the health, safety, and welfare of some of Virginia's most 

vulnerable citizens, some parts of the regulation are more 

detailed by necessity to help ensure the safety standards. There 

are parts of the regulation that are closely associated with 

regulations from the Department of Social Services, 

Department of Education, Virginia Department of Health, 

Department of Human Resources Management, Department of 

Health Professions, and the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, but the regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The regulation was evaluated four years ago, and an overhaul 

of the regulation has been underway since that time. 

Technology, economic conditions, or other factors changed 

during the pandemic. While the department anticipates some 

of these factors will someday return to their pre-pandemic 

status, there is also an understanding that some systemic 

changes resulting from COVID may be more permanent. The 

overhaul of 12VAC35-46 and 12VAC35-105 will address all 

permanent changes. The agency's decision to amend the 

chapter may minimize the economic impact of regulations on 

small businesses by clarifying expectations for providers. The 

agency's decision to amend the chapter may also cause an 

economic impact on small businesses as a goal of the overhaul 

is to raise the standard of care. 

Contact Information: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank 

Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

2252. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (June 30, 2022) and §§ 2.2-

4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following 

regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a small 

business impact review: 18VAC85-15, Regulations 

Governing Delegation to an Agency Subordinate; 

18VAC85-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
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Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, and 

Chiropractic; 18VAC85-40, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Respiratory Therapists; 18VAC85-50, 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Physician 

Assistants; 18VAC85-80, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Occupational Therapy; 18VAC85-101, 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Radiologic 

Technology; 18VAC85-110, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Licensed Acupuncturists; 18VAC85-120, 

Regulations Governing the Licensure of Athletic Trainers; 

18VAC85-130, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Midwives; 18VAC85-140, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Polysomnographic Technologists; 

18VAC85-150, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Behavior Analysis; 18VAC85-160, Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Surgical Assistants and Certification of 

Surgical Technologists; and 18VAC85-170, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Genetic Counselors. 

The purpose of a periodic review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether each 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 18, 2022, and ends 

August 17, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive 

Director, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4558. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-73, Standards for Licensed Assisted Living 

Facilities, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

June 15, 2022, to support this decision. 

The regulation meets the criteria set forth in Executive Order 

14 (as amended July 16, 2018) and is necessary because it 

provides minimum requirements for the protection of health, 

safety, and welfare of infirm or disabled adults residing in an 

assisted living facility (ALF). The regulation is clearly written 

and easy to understand. 

The State Board of Social Services recommends amending the 

regulation to clarify the purpose of requirements for protecting 

the health, safety, and well-being of aged, infirm, or disabled 

adults residing in an ALF and to align regulation requirements 

with the Code of Virginia, federal requirements, and applicable 

practices. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare of aged, infirm, or disabled adults residing 

in an ALF. Comments received are being considered during 

regulation revision. The regulation is concise and 

understandable. The regulation does not overlap or duplicate 

any other federal or state law. Changes in laws and technology 

since the regulation has been evaluated include legalization of 

marijuana, advancements in technology systems to monitor 

residents at risk for falls and wandering, and the availability or 

use of e-cigarettes and vaping. The regulation has a limited 

impact on small businesses and only proposes the minimal 

regulations necessary to protect the health and safety of 

residents served in assisted living facilities. 

Contact Information: Sharon Stroble, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7037. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-160, Fee Requirements for Processing 

Applications, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained as is. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated June 15, 2022, to support this decision. 

The regulation meets the criteria set forth in Executive Order 

14 (as amended July 16, 2018) and is necessary because it 

clarifies the fees and method of payment options available to 

licensed Department of Social Services programs to submit 

payments for licensure fees. The regulation is clearly written 

and easy to understand. The State Board of Social Services 

recommends to retain the regulation as is without making 

changes. As required by § 2.2-4007.1 E and F of the Code of 

Virginia (i) the regulation is necessary to provide information 

regarding licensure fees; (ii) there were no complaints or 

comments received concerning the regulation; (iii) the 

regulation is concise, understandable, and not complex; (iv) the 

regulation does not overlap or duplicate any other federal or 
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state law or regulation; and the regulation has been evaluated 

and there is a pending action for revision. There will be no 

significant impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Sherri Williams, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7141. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (June 30, 2022) and §§ 2.2-

4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following 

regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a small 

business impact review: 23VAC10-20, General Provisions 

Applicable to All Taxes Administered by the Department 

of Taxation; 23VAC10-220, Aircraft Sales and Use Tax; 

23VAC10-320, Recordation Tax Regulations; and 

23VAC10-500, Business, Professional and Occupational 

License Tax Regulations. The purpose of a periodic review is 

to determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to these regulations, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 18, 2022, and ends 

August 8, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299. 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (June 30, 2022) and §§ 2.2-

4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following 

regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a small 

business impact review: 23VAC10-110, Individual Income 

Tax; 23VAC10-112, Declaration of Estimated Income Tax 

by Individuals; 23VAC10-115, Fiduciary Income Tax; 

23VAC10-120, Corporation Income Tax; 23VAC10-140, 

Income Tax Withholding; and 23VAC10-330, Bank 

Franchise Tax. The purpose of  a periodic review is to 

determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to these regulations, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 18, 2022, and ends 

August 8, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: James Savage, Senior Tax Policy 

Analyst, Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, 

VA 23261, telephone (804) 371-2301. 



NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

Volume 38, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 18, 2022  

2544 

NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-10, 

12VAC30-10-410; repealing 12VAC30-10-20). 

12VAC30-20. Administration of Medical Assistance 

Services (amending 12VAC30-20-205, 12VAC30-20-210). 

12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and Agencies Responsible 

for Eligibility Determination (amending 12VAC30-30-10). 

12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions and Requirements 

(adding 12VAC30-40-348). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 1396 et seq. 

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action for 12VAC30-10, State Plan 

under Title XIX of the Social Security Act Medical 

Assistance Program - General Provisions; 12VAC30-20, 

Administration of Medical Assistance Services; 12VAC30-

30, Groups Covered and Agencies Responsible for 

Eligibility Determination; and 12VAC30-40, Eligibility 

Conditions and Requirements, that was published in 35:25 

VA.R. 2979 August 5, 2019. The notice was published 

concurrently with an emergency action that was effective 

September 19, 2019, through September 17, 2021. The 

amendments described in the notice were addressed through a 

fast-track regulatory action that was published in 38:12 VA.R. 

1340-1355 January 31, 2022; therefore, the notice is 

withdrawn. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5692; Filed January 1, 0001, 12:00 a.m. 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (adding 

12VAC30-50-610). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action for 12VAC30-50, Amount, 

Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care 

Services, that was published in 35:25 VA.R. 2979 August 5, 

2019. The notice was published concurrently with an 

emergency action that was effective September 19, 2019, 

through September 17, 2021. The amendments described in the 

notice were addressed through a fast-track regulatory action 

that was published in 38:10 VA.R. 844-846 January 3, 2022; 

therefore, the notice is withdrawn. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5693; Filed January 1, 0001, 12:00 a.m. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7642
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7642
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10090
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10090
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7642
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7642
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10010
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Directors of the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority is claiming an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 

changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

where no agency discretion is involved. The authority will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions (amending 

3VAC5-70-200). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 17, 2022. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 Freight 

Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-4698, 

FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 155 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly and 

Chapter 583 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly, the amendment 

changes the proof limit for grain alcohol to 151 proof limit 

and removes a sunset clause.  

3VAC5-70-200. Grain alcohol; permits; qualifications; 

records; refusal, suspension, or revocation. 

A. The board may issue a yearly permit authorizing the 

permittee to purchase grain alcohol with a proof greater than 

101 151 at government stores for any of the following 

purposes: 

1. Industrial use; 

2. Commercial use; 

3. Culinary use; or 

4. Medical use. 

During the period July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2022, the 

board may issue a yearly permit authorizing the permittee to 

purchase grain alcohol with a proof greater than 151 at 

government stores for any of the purposes listed in this 

subsection. 

B. The application for such permits shall be on forms 

provided by the board. 

C. Permits may be issued to legitimate businesses for any one 

or more of the purposes stated in subsection A of this section 

upon presentation of satisfactory evidence of the conduct of the 

business activity involved. For good cause shown, the board 

may issue a permit to an individual for any of the uses stated 

in subsection A of this section. 

D. A person obtaining a permit shall maintain complete and 

accurate records of all purchases for a period of two years. The 

board and its special agents shall have free access during 

reasonable hours to all records required to be kept pursuant to 

this section. 

E. The board may refuse to issue, suspend, or revoke a permit 

if the board has reasonable cause to believe that (i) the 

permittee would use, has used, or allowed to be used grain 

alcohol for any unlawful purpose or (ii) any cause exists under 

§ 4.1-222 of the Code of Virginia for which the board may 

refuse to grant the applicant any license or has done any act for 

which the board might suspend or revoke a license under § 4.1-

225 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7290; Filed June 23, 2022, 8:06 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Blue Crab 

Fishery (amending 4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-270-51; 

adding 4VAC20-270-25). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2022. 

mailto:watkins@virginiaabc.com
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Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 2472248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish management measures, including 

season and bushel limits, for the 2022-2023 commercial 

crab fisheries and define legal commercial harvest gears. 

4VAC20-270-25. Lawful commercial harvest gears.  

It shall be unlawful to possess or sell crabs harvested for 

commercial purposes by any means other than by hard crab 

pot, peeler pot, dip net, ordinary or patent trotline, crab dredge, 

crab scrape, or crab trap or pound. 

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits. 

A. In 2021 2022, the lawful season for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by hard crab pot shall be March 17 through November 

30. In 2022 2023, the lawful season for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by hard crab pot shall be March 17 through November 

30. For all other lawful commercial gear used to harvest crabs, 

as described in 4VAC20-1040, the lawful seasons for the 

harvest of crabs shall be April 1 15 through October 31 15. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 

possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 

season as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, set, 

fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters of Virginia 

from December 1, 2021 2022, through March 16, 2022 2023. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly place, set, fish, 

or leave any lawful commercial gear used to harvest crabs, 

except any hard crab pot or any gear as described in 4VAC20-

460-25, in any tidal waters of Virginia from November 1, 2021 

October 16, 2022, through March 31, 2022 April 14, 2023. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, set, 

fish, or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 12 

through March 16, except as provided in subdivisions 1 and 2 

of this subsection. 

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 

following boundary lines: 

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 

connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 

mouth of College Creek. 

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the Route 

33 bridges at West Point. 

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 

the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock. 

d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 

Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 

to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel pots 

as described in 4VAC20-500-50. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount allowed by 

the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish pots per 

vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in the areas 

described in subdivision D 1 of this section. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel pots 

as described in 4VAC20-500. 

3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed of 

a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 

harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 

three bushels of crabs. 

B. From July 5, 2021 2022, through November 30, 2021 

September 30, 2022, and April 1, 2022 May 16, 2023, through 

July 4, 2022 2023, any commercial fisherman registration 

licensee legally licensed for any hard crab pot license, as 

described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the 

following maximum daily harvest and possession limits for 

any of the following hard crab pot license categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or four barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 18 bushels, or six barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 170 

crab pots. 

4. 29 bushels, or nine barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From October 1, 2022, through November 30, 2022, and 

March 17, 2022 2023, through March 31, 2022 May 15, 2023, 

any commercial fisherman registration licensee legally 

licensed for any hard crab pot license, as described in 

4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the following maximum 

daily harvest and possession limits for any of the following 

crab pot license categories: 

1. Eight bushels, or two barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 13 bushels, or four barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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4. 21 bushels, or seven barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 

255 crab pots. 

5. 27 bushels, or nine barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 

425 crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 

board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 

limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 

limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 

that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 

possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 

licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 

possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab pot 

licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot licensee's 

name, address, commercial fisherman registration license 

number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of crabs to be 

sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 

daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this section, 

that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned immediately to 

the water by the licensee or licensees who possess that excess 

over lawful daily harvest or possession limit. The refusal to 

return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily harvest or possession 

limit, to the water shall constitute a separate violation of this 

chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a 

crab pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any other 

person aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood buyers 

boat license and buy any crabs on any day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7303; Filed June 28, 2022, 2:24 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 

Dredging in Virginia Waters (amending 4VAC20-1140-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments close the December 1, 2022, through 

March 31, 2023, winter commercial crab dredge fishing 

season, in accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC20-1140-20. Crab dredging prohibited. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 

of Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2021 

2022, through March 31, 2022 2023, is closed, and it shall be 

unlawful to use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of 

the Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7302; Filed June 28, 2022, 2:26 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1270. Pertaining to Atlantic 

Menhaden (amending 4VAC20-1270-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 2472248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish a temporary reciprocal quota 

transfer system between the purse seine menhaden reduction 

sector and the purse seine menhaden bait sector of the 

fishery during the 2022 fishing year. 

4VAC20-1270-30. Total allowable landings for menhaden; 

allocation, accountability, overages, restrictions, closures, 

and state-to-state transfers, and transfers between sectors. 

A. Total allowable commercial landings for menhaden in 

2022 shall be equivalent to 334,781,533 pounds or 78.66% of 

the annual total allowable catch (TAC) set by the Atlantic 

States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

B. Total amount of allowable commercial landings in 

subsection A of this section shall be allocated as quotas among 

three sectors of the menhaden fishery in proportion to each 

sector's share of average landings from 2002 through 2011, as 

described in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. 

1. The purse seine menhaden reduction sector shall be 

allocated a quota of 301,437,292 pounds or 90.04% of 

allowable commercial menhaden landings. 

2. The purse seine menhaden bait sector shall be allocated a 

quota of 28,054,692 pounds or 8.38% of allowable 

commercial menhaden landings. 

3. The non-purse seine menhaden bait sector shall be 

allocated a quota of 5,289,548 pounds or 1.58% of allowable 

commercial menhaden landings. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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C. If the total allowable commercial landings specified in 

subsection A of this section are exceeded in any calendar year, 

the total allowable commercial landings for the subsequent 

calendar year shall be reduced by the amount of the overage. 

Such overage shall be deducted from the sector of the 

menhaden fishery that exceeded the allocation specified in 

subsection B of this section, with the exception of the non-

purse seine menhaden bait sector, which shall move into the 

incidental catch provision outlined in subdivision F 3 of this 

section. 

D. Any portion of the 1.0% of the coastwide total allowable 

catch set aside by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission for episodic events that is unused as of September 

1 of any calendar year shall be returned to Virginia and other 

states according to allocation guidelines established by the 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. Any such return 

of this portion of the coastwide total allowable catch to 

Virginia shall increase the total allowable commercial landings 

for that year. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to take or catch 

menhaden using a purse seine net except in accordance with 

the seasons, areas, and gear restrictions as set forth in §§ 28.2-

409 and 28.2-410 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest or land in Virginia any 

menhaden after the Commissioner of the Marine Resources 

Commission (commissioner) projects and announces that 

100% of the total allowable landings for any sector has been 

taken. The commissioner may reopen a fishery sector if, after 

all reports as described in 4VAC20-1270-60 have been 

received, the portion of the total allowable catch has not been 

harvested by that sector. 

1. The commissioner shall announce the date of closure 

when the total allowable landings for the purse seine 

menhaden reduction sector is projected to be taken. 

2. The commissioner shall announce the date of closure 

when the total allowable landings for the purse seine 

menhaden bait sector is projected to be taken. 

3. The commissioner shall announce the date of closure 

when the total allowable commercial landings for the non-

purse seine menhaden bait sector is projected to be taken. 

Once this closure is announced, any person licensed in the 

non-purse seine menhaden bait sector may possess and land 

up to 6,000 pounds of menhaden per calendar day as 

bycatch. Any two persons licensed in the non-purse seine 

menhaden bait sector may possess and land up to 12,000 

pounds of menhaden bycatch when working together from 

the same vessel using stationary multi-species gear per the 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission incidental 

catch provision. 

G. The commissioner may request a transfer of menhaden 

quota from any other state that is a member of the Atlantic 

States Marine Fisheries Commission. If Virginia receives a 

transfer of menhaden quota in any calendar year from another 

state, the total allowable commercial landings for that calendar 

year shall increase by the amount of transferred quota. It shall 

be unlawful for this quota transfer to be applied to the Bay Cap 

quota as described in 4VAC20-1270-35. The commissioner 

may transfer menhaden quota to another state only if there is 

unused menhaden quota at the end of the calendar year. 

H. For 2022, the Marine Resources Commission shall 

establish a reciprocal temporary transferable quota system 

between the purse seine menhaden reduction sector and the 

purse seine menhaden bait sector. Any transfer of menhaden 

quota between these sectors shall be limited by the following 

conditions: 

1. A transfer of quota to the purse seine menhaden bait sector 

from the purse seine reduction sector shall be allocated to 

each qualified licensee's percentage share of the purse seine 

menhaden bait sector quota. 

2. No transfer of quota to the purse seine menhaden bait 

sector shall be authorized by the Marine Resources 

Commission unless all qualified individuals of the purse 

seine menhaden bait sector and the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector agree to the transfer and document the 

transfer on a form provided by the Marine Resources 

Commission, notarized by a lawful notary public, and 

approved by the commissioner. 

3. No transfer of quota to the purse seine reduction sector 

shall be authorized by the Marine Resources Commission 

unless at least one qualified individual of the purse seine 

menhaden bait sector and the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector agree to the transfer and document the 

transfer on a form provided by the Marine Resources 

Commission, notarized by a lawful notary public, and 

approved by the commissioner. 

4. No transfer shall be authorized by the Marine Resources 

Commission unless the transferring qualified individuals of 

the purse seine menhaden bait sector and the purse seine 

menhaden reduction sector have submitted up-to-date 

records of all commercial landings of menhaden to the 

Marine Resources Commission prior to such transfer. 

5. Quota transfers between the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector and purse seine menhaden bait sector shall 

be effective only during the calendar year in which the 

transfer is approved. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
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FORMS (4VAC20-1270) 

Captain's Daily Fishing Report (rev. 2010) 

Commercial Menhaden Quota Transfer Form (eff. 7/2022) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7300; Filed June 28, 2022, 2:27 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Action Withdrawn 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-150. Management of the 

Student's Scholastic Record in the Public Schools of 

Virginia (repealing 8VAC20-150-10, 8VAC20-150-20, 

8VAC20-150-30). 

8VAC20-180. Regulations Governing School Community 

Programs (repealing 8VAC20-180-10). 

8VAC20-210. Classifications of Expenditures (repealing 

8VAC20-210-10). 

8VAC20-240. Regulations Governing School Activity 

Funds (repealing 8VAC20-240-10 through 8VAC20-240-

50). 

8VAC20-250. Regulations Governing the Testing of Sight 

and Hearing of Pupils (repealing 8VAC20-250-10). 

8VAC20-310. Rules Governing Instructions Concerning 

Drugs and Substance Abuse (repealing 8VAC20-310-10). 

8VAC20-320. Regulations Governing Physical and Health 

Education (repealing 8VAC20-320-10). 

8VAC20-390. Rules Governing Division Superintendent of 

Schools (repealing 8VAC20-390-10 through 8VAC20-390-

110). 

8VAC20-410. Regulations Governing Allowable Credit for 

Teaching Experience (repealing 8VAC20-410-10). 

8VAC20-420. Regulations Governing Personnel in Public 

School Libraries Operated under Joint Contract under 

Control of Local School Board or Boards (repealing 

8VAC20-420-10). 

8VAC20-460. Regulations Governing Sick Leave Plan for 

Teachers (repealing 8VAC20-460-10 through 8VAC20-

460-60). 

8VAC20-490. Regulations Governing School Boards Local 

(repealing 8VAC20-490-10 through 8VAC20-490-60). 

8VAC20-565. Regulations for the Protection of Students As 

Participants in Human Research (repealing 8VAC20-565-

10 through 8VAC20-565-50). 

8VAC20-720. Regulations Governing Local School Boards 

and School Divisions (adding 8VAC20-720-10 through 

8VAC20-720-180). 

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

The State Board of Health has WITHDRAWN the regulatory 

action for 8VAC20-150, Management of the Student's 

Scholastic Record in the Public Schools of Virginia; 

8VAC20-180, Regulations Governing School Community 

Programs; 8VAC20-210, Classifications of Expenditures; 

8VAC20-240, Regulations Governing School Activity 

Funds; 8VAC20-250, Regulations Governing the Testing of 

Sight and Hearing of Pupils; 8VAC20-310, Rules 

Governing Instructions Concerning Drugs and Substance 

Abuse; 8VAC20-320, Regulations Governing Physical and 

Health Education; 8VAC20-390, Rules Governing Division 

Superintendent of Schools; 8VAC20-410, Regulations 

Governing Allowable Credit for Teaching Experience; 

8VAC20-420. Regulations Governing Personnel in Public 

School Libraries Operated under Joint Contract under 

Control of Local School Board or Boards; 8VAC20-460, 

Regulations Governing Sick Leave Plan for Teachers; 

8VAC20-490, Regulations Governing School Boards 

Local; 8VAC20-565. Regulations for the Protection of 

Students As Participants in Human Research; and 

8VAC20-720, Regulations Governing Local School Boards 

and School Divisions, which was published as a Proposed 

regulation in 26:1 VA.R. 37-43 September 14, 2009. This 

action is being withdrawn because the action has been dormant 

since publication of the proposed regulation in 2009.  

Agency Contact: Emily V. Webb, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-2924, or email emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R8-1332; Filed June 21, 2022, 2:56 p.m. 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-720. Regulations Governing 

Local School Boards and School Divisions (amending 

8VAC20-720-80, 8VAC20-720-160). 

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

The State Board of Education has WITHDRAWN the 

regulatory action for 8VAC2-720, Regulations Governing 

Local School Boards and School Divisions, which was 

published as a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 30:8 

VA.R. 988 December 16, 2013. This action is being withdrawn 

because the amendments have been preempted by changes to 

statute.  

Agency Contact: Emily V. Webb, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-2924, or email emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3907; Filed June 21, 2022, 2:57 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC20/forms/9253b003649~1.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC20/forms/2022%20menhaden%20ITQ%20application-20220629093908.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=1716
mailto:emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4079
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4079
mailto:emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts general permits issued by the State Water Control 

Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 (§ 62.1-254 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board (i) 

provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 

publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms 

a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-196. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

for Noncontact Cooling Water Discharges of 50,000 

Gallons Per Day or Less (amending 9VAC25-196-10, 

9VAC25-196-15, 9VAC25-196-40 through 9VAC25-196-

70; repealing 9VAC25-196-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 17, 2022 - 2 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Piedmont Regional Office Training Room, 4949-

A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060 

Public Comment Deadline: September 16, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Joseph Bryan, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-2659, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email joseph.bryan@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This proposed regulatory action amends and reissues the 

existing the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for 

Noncontact Cooling Water Discharges of 50,000 Gallons 

Per Day or Less, which expires on March 1, 2023. The 

existing general permit regulation establishes limitations, 

monitoring requirements, and other special conditions for 

point source discharges of noncontact cooling water of 

50,000 gallons per day or less to surface waters in order 

to maintain surface water quality. The proposed 

amendments include (i) adjusting effluent limits, including 

making chlorine non-detectable limit compatible with 

Environmental Protection Agency reporting 

requirements; (ii) clarifying definitions; (iii) adjusting 

water quality standards; and (iv) conforming to statutory 

changes. 

9VAC25-196-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in § 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia 

(State Water Control Law) and 9VAC25-31 (VPDES Permit 

Regulation) unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, 

except that for the purposes of this chapter: 

"Blowdown" means a discharge of recirculating water from 

any cooling equipment or cooling process in order to maintain 

a desired quality of the recirculating water. Boiler blowdown 

is excluded from this definition. 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. When used 

outside the context of the promulgation of regulations, 

including regulations to establish general permits, "board" 

means the "Department of Environmental Quality". 

"Cooling water" means water used for cooling which that 

does not come into direct contact with any raw product, 

intermediate product (other than heat), or finished product. For 

the purposes of this general permit, cooling water can be 

generated from any cooling equipment blowdown or produced 

as a result of any noncontact cooling process. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, or an authorized representative. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a calculation 

of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a waterbody can 

receive and still meet water quality standards and an allocation 

of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A TMDL includes 

wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, and 

load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources or natural 

background or both, and must include a margin of safety 

(MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

9VAC25-196-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations is referenced or adopted in this chapter and 

incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it exists 

and has been published as of July 1, 2017 2021. 

9VAC25-196-30. Delegation of authority. (Repealed.) 

The director, or an authorized representative, may perform 

any act of the board provided under this chapter, except as 

limited by § 62.1-44.14 of the Code of Virginia.  

mailto:joseph.bryan@deq.virginia.gov
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9VAC25-196-40. Effective date of the permit. 

This general permit will become effective on March 2, 2018 

April 1, 2023. This general permit will expire on March 1, 

2023 31, 2028. This general permit is effective as to any 

covered owner upon compliance with all the provisions of 

9VAC25-196-50. 

9VAC25-196-50. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge to surface waters of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that the owner submits 

and receives acceptance by the board department of the 

registration statement of 9VAC25-196-60, submits the 

required permit fee, and complies with the effluent limitations 

and other requirements of 9VAC25-196-70, and provided that 

the board department has not notified the owner that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage in accordance with 

subsection B of this section. 

B. The board department will notify an owner that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage under this general permit 

in the event of any of the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to Class V stockable 

trout waters, Class VI natural trout waters, or any state 

waters specifically named in other board regulations that 

prohibit such discharges; 

3. The discharge violates or would violate the 

antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 

9VAC25-260-30; or 

4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL; or 

5. The facility is subject to the substantive provisions of 

40 CFR Part 125 Subpart I or J. 

C. Chlorine or any other halogen compounds shall not be used 

for disinfection or other treatment purposes, including biocide 

applications, for any discharges to waters containing 

endangered or threatened species as identified in 9VAC25-

260-110 C of the Water Quality Standards. 

D. The owner shall not use tributyltin, any chemical additives 

containing tributyltin, or water treatment chemicals containing 

hexavalent chromium in the cooling water systems. 

E. The owner shall not use groundwater remediation wells as 

the source of cooling water. 

F. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with §§ 301, 302, 

306, 307, 318, 404, and 405(a) through (b) of the federal Clean 

Water Act and the State Water Control Law with the 

exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general permit 

does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, 

or regulation. 

G. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Permit coverage shall expire at the end of its term. 

However, expiring permit coverages are automatically 

continued if the owner has submitted a complete registration 

statement at least 30 60 days prior to the expiration date of 

the permit, or a later submittal established by the board 

department, which cannot extend beyond the expiration date 

of the original permit. The permittee is authorized to 

continue to discharge until such time as the board 

department either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board department may choose 

to do any or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 

permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued amended general permit. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 

cease the discharges authorized by the continued general 

permit coverage or be subject to enforcement action for 

discharging without a permit; 

c. Issue a VPDES individual permit with appropriate 

conditions; or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-196-60. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statements. The 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall submit 

a complete VPDES general permit registration statement in 

accordance with this section chapter, which shall serve as a 

notice of intent for coverage under the VPDES general permit 

regulation for noncontact cooling water discharges of 50,000 

gallons per day or less. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 60 

days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 

the new discharge. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner covered by a VPDES individual permit who 

is proposing to be covered by this general permit shall 

submit a complete registration statement at least 210 240 
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days prior to the expiration date of the VPDES individual 

permit or a later submittal established by the department. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

expiring or expired VPDES general permit for noncontact 

cooling water discharges of 50,000 gallons per day or less 

and that intends to continue coverage under this general 

permit shall submit a complete registration statement to 

the board department at least 30 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of the existing permit or a later submittal 

established by the board department. 

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements will 

be accepted after the expiration date of the general permit, but 

authorization to discharge will not be retroactive. 

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information: 

1. Facility name and address, owner name, mailing address, 

telephone number, and email address (if available); 

2. Operator name, mailing address, telephone number, and 

email address (if available) if different from owner; 

3. State Corporation Commission entity identification 

number if the facility is required to obtain an entity 

identification number by law; 

4. Current VPDES permit registration number (if 

applicable); 

4. 5. List of point source discharges that are not composed 

entirely of cooling water; 

5. 6. List of type and size (tons) of cooling equipment or 

noncontact cooling water processes; 

6. 7. The following information if any chemical or 

nonchemical treatment is employed in each cooling water 

system: 

a. Description of the treatment to be employed (both 

chemical and nonchemical) and its purpose; for chemical 

additives other than chlorine, provide the information 

prescribed in subdivisions 6 7 b, c, d, e, and f of this 

subsection; 

b. Name and manufacturer of each additive used; 

c. List of active ingredients and percent composition of 

each additive; 

d. Proposed dosing schedule and quantity of chemical 

usage, and either an engineering analysis or a technical 

evaluation of the active ingredients to determine the 

discharge concentration of each contaminant; 

e. Available aquatic toxicity information for each 

proposed additive used; 

f. Any other information such as product or constituent 

degradation, fate, transport, synergies, bioavailability, 

etc., that will aid the board department with the toxicity 

evaluation of the discharge; and 

g. Safety data sheet for each proposed additive; 

7. 8. Description of any type of treatment or retention being 

provided to the wastewater before discharge (i.e., retention 

ponds, settling ponds, etc.); 

8. 9. A schematic drawing of the cooling water equipment 

that shows the source of the cooling water, its flow through 

the facility, and each noncontact cooling water discharge 

point; 

9. 10. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map extending to at least one mile 

beyond the property boundary. The map must show the 

outline of the facility and the location of each of its existing 

and proposed intake and discharge points, and must include 

all springs, rivers, and other surface water bodies; 

10. 11. The following discharge information: 

a. A list of all cooling water discharges identified by a 

unique number, latitude, and longitude; 

b. The source of cooling water for each discharge; 

c. An estimate of the maximum daily flow in gallons per 

day for each discharge; 

d. The name of the waterbody receiving direct discharge 

or discharge through the municipal separate storm sewer 

system (MS4); and 

e. The duration and frequency of the discharge for each 

separate discharge point; 

11. 12. A determination of whether the facility will discharge 

to a MS4. If the facility discharges to a MS4, the facility 

owner must notify the owner of the MS4 of the existence of 

the discharge at the time of registration under this permit and 

include that notification with the registration statement. The 

notice shall include the following information: the name of 

the facility, a contact person and contact information 

(telephone number and email), the location of the discharge, 

the nature of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general 

permit registration number if a reissuance; and 

12. 13. The following cooling water intake structure 

information: 

a. A determination of the cooling water intake source (e.g., 

groundwater, surface water, third-party supplier); 

b. For surface water intakes or nonpotable surface water 

received from a third-party supplier, the following 

information: 

(1) Source water physical data (water body description, 

hydrology, chemistry, and area of influence of intake 

structure); 

(2) Cooling water intake structure data (screen size, 

through screen velocity, configuration of intake, flows, a 

water balance diagram, and typical operations); 

(3) Source water baseline biological characterization data 

(any available studies); 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations  July 18, 2022  

2553 

(4) Cooling water system data (configuration of the 

cooling water system and water reuse); and 

(5) Operational status (description of current and future 

production schedules); and 

c. For hydroelectric facilities, a water-use efficiency 

calculation of megawatts produced in megawatt hours 

divided by the cooling water used in billion gallons per 

day; and 

14. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is to the best of my knowledge 

and belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

D. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-31-110. 

E. The registration statement shall be delivered by either 

postal or electronic mail to the DEQ regional office serving the 

area where the facility is located. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of Notices of Intent to Discharge forms (i.e., 

registration statements), as provided for in 9VAC25-31-1020, 

such forms submitted after that date shall be electronically 

submitted to the department in compliance with this section 

and 9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at least three months' 

notice provided between the notification from the department 

and the date after which such forms must be submitted 

electronically. 

9VAC25-196-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the board department will receive coverage under the following permit 

and shall comply with the requirements therein and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31. 

General Permit No: VAG25  

Effective Date: March 2, 2018 April 1, 2023 

Expiration Date: March 1, 2023 31, 2028 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR NONCONTACT COOLING WATER DISCHARGES OF 50,000 GALLONS PER DAY OR LESS 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM 

AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of noncontact cooling water discharges of 50,000 gallons per day or less are 

authorized to discharge to surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except Class V stockable trout 

waters, Class VI natural trout waters, and those specifically named in board regulations that prohibit such discharges. Chlorine 

or any other halogen compounds shall not be used for disinfection or other treatment purposes, including biocide applications, 

for any discharges to waters containing endangered or threatened species as identified in 9VAC25-260-110 C of the Water Quality 

Standards. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the information submitted with the registration statement, this cover page, 

Part I - Effluent Limitations and, Monitoring Requirements, Special Conditions, and Part II - Conditions Applicable to all VPDES 

Permits, as set forth in this general permit. 

Part I  

Effluent Limitations, Monitoring Requirements, Special Conditions 

A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements. 

1. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for discharges to freshwater receiving waterbodies. Such discharges shall 

be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE 

LIMITATIONS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 

Stabilization 
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pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3), (4) (mg/l) Nondetectable 0.011 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) (μg/l) 9.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) 120 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) (μg/l) 3.4 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

1/3 Months = the following three-month periods each year of permit coverage: January through March, April through June, July 

through September, and October through December 

(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C for 

mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine waters. 

The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 

temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 

temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 

natural conditions without the influence of any point source discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the discharge, 

those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to surface 

waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of cooling water 

is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia monitoring only 

applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however, a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal has been 

established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method presented in 40 CFR 

Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the actual analytical 

test QL is substituted for [QL]. 

Material Max QL (μg/l) 

Copper 1.0 μg/l 

Chlorine 0.1 mg/l 

Zinc 50.0 μg/l 

Silver 1.0 μg/l 

Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 

2. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for discharges to saltwater receiving waterbodies. Such discharges shall 

be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 

Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 
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Total Residual Chlorine 

Chlorine Producing Oxidant(3), 

(4) (mg/l) 

Nondetectable 

0.0075 

NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) 

(μg/l) 

6.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) 81 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) 

(μg/l) 

1.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

1/3 Months = the following three-month periods each year of permit coverage: January through March, April through June, 

July through September, and October through December 

(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 

31°C for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to 

estuarine waters. 

The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 

temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. 

Natural temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) 

due solely to natural conditions without the influence of any point source discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 

discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls discharging to surface 

waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 

cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." 

Ammonia monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however, a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal 

has been established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method 

presented in 40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be 

reported where the actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL]. 

Material Max QL (μg/l) 

Copper 1.0 μg/l 

Chlorine 0.1 mg/l 

Zinc 50.0 μg/l 

Silver 1.0 μg/l 

Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 

 

B. Special conditions. 

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts. 

2. No discharges other than cooling water, as defined, are 

permitted under this general permit. 

3. The use of any chemical additives not identified in the 

registration statement, except chlorine, without prior 

approval is prohibited under this general permit. Prior 

approval shall be obtained from the DEQ before any changes 

are made to the chemical or nonchemical treatment 

technology employed in the cooling water system. Requests 

for approval of the change shall be made in writing and shall 

include the following information: 
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a. Describe the chemical or nonchemical treatment to be 

employed and its purpose; if chemical additives are used, 

provide the information prescribed in subdivisions 3 b, c, 

d, e, and f of this subsection; 

b. Provide the name and manufacturer of each additive 

used; 

c. Provide a list of active ingredients and percentage of 

composition; 

d. Give the proposed schedule and quantity of chemical 

usage, and provide either an engineering analysis or a 

technical evaluation of the active ingredients to determine 

the concentration in the discharge; 

e. Attach available aquatic toxicity information for each 

additive proposed for use; 

f. Attach any other information such as product or 

constituent degradation, fate, transport, synergies, 

bioavailability, etc., that will aid the board department 

with the toxicity evaluation for the discharge; and 

g. Attach a safety data sheet for each proposed additive. 

4. A determination of whether the facility will discharge to 

a MS4. If the facility discharges to a MS4, the facility owner 

must notify the owner of the MS4 of the existence of the 

discharge at the time of registration under this permit and 

include that notification with the registration statement. The 

notice shall include the following information: the name of 

the facility, a contact person and contact information 

(telephone number and email), the location of the discharge, 

the nature of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general 

permit registration number if a reissuance. Discharge 

monitoring reports (DMRs) required by this permit shall be 

submitted to both the department and the owner of the MS4. 

5. Operation and maintenance manual requirement. 

a. Within 90 days after the date of coverage under this 

general permit, the permittee shall develop an operation 

and maintenance (O&M) manual for the equipment or 

systems used to meet effluent limitations. The O&M 

manual shall be reviewed within 90 days of changes to the 

equipment or systems used to meet effluent limitations. 

The O&M manual shall be certified in accordance with 

Part II K of this permit. The O&M manual shall be made 

available for review by department personnel upon 

request. 

b. This manual shall detail the practices and procedures 

that will be followed to ensure compliance with the 

requirements of this permit. Within 30 days of a request 

by the department, the current O&M manual shall be 

submitted to the board department for review and 

approval. The permittee shall operate the treatment works 

in accordance with the O&M manual. Noncompliance 

with the O&M manual shall be deemed a violation of the 

permit. 

c. This manual shall include, but not necessarily be limited 

to, the following items: 

(1) Techniques to be employed in the collection, 

preservation, and analysis of effluent samples; 

(2) Discussion of best management practices; 

(3) Design, operation, routine preventative maintenance of 

equipment or systems used to meet effluent limitations, 

critical spare parts inventory, and recordkeeping; 

(4) A plan for the management or disposal of waste solids 

and residues, and a requirement that all solids shall be 

handled, stored, and disposed of so as to prevent a 

discharge to state waters; and 

(5) Procedures for measuring and recording the duration 

and volume of treated wastewater discharged. 

6. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as the 

permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur which that 

would result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent 

basis, of any toxic pollutant which that is not limited in 

this permit if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 

following notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 μg/l); 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 μg/l) for 

acrolein and acrylonitrile; 500 micrograms per liter (500 

μg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-

dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for 

antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit registration statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 

9VAC25-31-220 F. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur which that 

would result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or 

infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant which that is not 

limited in this permit if that discharge will exceed the 

highest of the following notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 μg/l); 

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 

9VAC25-31-220 F. 

7. Geothermal systems using groundwater and no chemical 

additives. Geothermal systems using groundwater and no 

chemical additives may be eligible for reduced monitoring 

requirements. 

If a geothermal system was covered by the previous 

noncontact cooling water general permit, and the monitoring 

results from the previous permit term demonstrate full 

compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may 
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request authorization from the department to reduce the 

monitoring to once in the first monitoring quarter of the first 

year of this permit term. 

Owners of new geothermal systems, and previously 

unpermitted geothermal systems that receive coverage under 

this permit shall submit monitoring results to the department 

for the first four monitoring quarters after coverage begins. 

If the monitoring results demonstrate full compliance with 

the effluent limitations, the permittee may request 

authorization from the department to suspend monitoring for 

the remainder of the permit term. 

Should the permittee be issued a warning letter or notice of 

violation related to violation of effluent limitations, or be the 

subject of an active enforcement action regarding effluent 

limit violations, upon issuance of the letter or notice, or 

initiation of the enforcement action, the monitoring 

frequency shall revert to 1/3 months and remain in effect 

until the permit's expiration date. 

8. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used by the permittee 

(e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest even 

number), the permittee shall use the convention consistently 

and shall ensure that consulting laboratories employed by 

the permittee use the same convention. 

9. Discharges to waters with an approved TMDL. Owners of 

facilities that are a source of the specified pollutant of 

concern to waters where an approved TMDL has been 

established shall implement measures and controls that are 

consistent with the assumptions and requirements of the 

TMDL. 

10. Notice of termination. 

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 

department. The notice of termination may be filed after 

one or more of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 

longer cooling water discharges from the facility; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility (NOTE: A notice of termination does not have to 

be submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership 

Agreement form has been submitted); 

(3) All cooling water discharges associated with this 

facility have been covered by a VPDES individual permit 

or an alternative VPDES permit; or 

(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for another 

reason, provided the board department agrees that 

coverage under this general permit is no longer needed. 

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available); 

(2) Facility name and location; 

(3) VPDES noncontact cooling water discharges general 

permit number; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including: 

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility; 

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility and there are no longer noncontact cooling 

water discharges from the facility; 

(c) A statement indicating that all noncontact cooling 

water discharges have been covered by a VPDES 

individual permit; or 

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason (state the reason). 

c. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that all noncontact cooling water discharges from the 

identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 

general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 

VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I am no 

longer the owner of the facility, or permit coverage should 

be terminated for another reason listed above. I understand 

that by submitting this notice of termination that I am no 

longer authorized to discharge noncontact cooling water 

in accordance with the general permit, and that 

discharging pollutants in noncontact cooling water to 

surface waters is unlawful where the discharge is not 

authorized by a VPDES permit. I also understand that the 

submittal of this notice of termination does not release an 

owner from liability for any violations of this permit or the 

Clean Water Act." 

d. The notice of termination shall be signed in accordance 

with Part II K. 

e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the DEQ 

regional office serving the area where the noncontact 

cooling water discharge is located. 

11. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards. 

12. Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 

other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

Part II  

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 
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2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be analyzed 

in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date and exact place and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements; 

c. The dates and times analyses were performed; 

d. The individuals who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. Except for records of monitoring information required by 

this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use and 

disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period of at 

least five years, the permittee shall retain records of all 

monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report, or request for coverage. This period of 

retention shall be extended automatically during the course 

of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity 

or regarding control standards applicable to the permittee or 

as requested by the board department. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department's regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of monitoring reports, as provided for in 

9VAC25-31-1020, such forms and reports submitted after 

that date shall be electronically submitted to the department 

in compliance with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. 

There shall be at least three months' notice provided between 

the notification from the department and the date after which 

such forms and reports must be submitted electronically. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations which that require 

averaging of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean 

unless otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which the board department may request to determine whether 

cause exists for terminating coverage under this permit or to 

determine compliance with this permit. The board department 

may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such plans, 

specifications, and other pertinent information as may be 

necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from the 

permittee's discharge on the quality of state waters, or such 

other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department upon request copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board department, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of such 

waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, industrial 

waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious substance 

into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may reasonably 

be expected to enter state waters in violation of Part II F, shall 
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notify the department (see Part II I 3) of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of the 

unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department 

within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 

report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or upset 

should occur from a treatment works and the discharge enters 

or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee shall 

promptly notify (see Part II I 3), in no case later than 24 hours, 

the department by telephone after the discovery of the 

discharge. This notification shall provide all available details 

of the incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

reduce the report to writing and shall submit it to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 

accordance with Part II I 1 b. Unusual and extraordinary 

discharges include any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. 

1. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 

adversely affect state waters or may endanger public health. 

a. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information which that shall be reported within 24 hours 

under this subsection: 

(1) Any unanticipated bypass; and 

(2) Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters. 

b. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

(1) A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

(2) The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and 

(3) Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board department may waive the written report on a 

case-by-case basis for reports of noncompliance under Part 

II I if the oral report has been received within 24 hours and 

no adverse impact on state waters has been reported. 

2. The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Part II I 1, in writing, at the time the next 

monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall contain 

the information listed in Part II I 1 b. 

NOTE: 3. The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Parts II G, H, and I may shall be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Pollution 

ResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-

response (online reporting preferred). For reports outside 

normal working hours, leave a message and this shall fulfill 

the immediate reporting requirement the online portal shall 

be used. For emergencies, call the Virginia Department of 

Emergency Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service 

Management's Emergency Operations Center (24-hour) at 1-

800-468-8892. 

3. 4. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. 

J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of Clean Water Act which that are applicable to such 

source; or 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
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(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of Clean Water Act which that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the 

nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged. 

This notification applies to pollutants which that are 

subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements under Part I B 6; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change 

in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, and 

such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit registration process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity 

which that may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statements. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated facility 

including having the explicit or implicit duty of making 

major capital investment recommendations, and initiating 

and directing other comprehensive measures to assure 

long-term environmental compliance with environmental 

laws and regulations; the manager can ensure that the 

necessary systems are established or actions taken to 

gather complete and accurate information for permit 

registration requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager 

in accordance with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports and other information. All reports required by 

permits, and other information requested by the board 

department shall be signed by a person described in Part II 

K 1, or by a duly authorized representative of that person. A 

person is a duly authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or an 

individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company (a duly authorized 

representative may thus be either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a named position); and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part II 

K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual or 

position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the State 

Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action;, for permit 

coverage termination, or for denial of a permit coverage 

renewal. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water Act 
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for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge use 

or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water Act 

within the time provided in the regulations that establish these 

standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge use or 

disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified to 

incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain coverage under 

a new permit. All permittees with currently effective permit 

coverage shall submit a new registration statement at least 30 

60 days before the expiration date of the existing permit, unless 

permission for a later date has been granted by the board 

department. The board department shall not grant permission 

for registration statements to be submitted later than the 

expiration date of the existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights, or any infringement of 

federal, state, or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on bypass (Part II U) 

and upset (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be construed 

to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal penalties for 

noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

which that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation 

and maintenance also includes effective plant performance, 

adequate funding, adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory 

and process controls, including appropriate quality assurance 

procedures. This provision requires the operation of back-up or 

auxiliary facilities or similar systems which that are installed 

by the permittee only when the operation is necessary to 

achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit which that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 

from any portion of a treatment facility. The permittee may 

allow any bypass to occur which that does not cause effluent 

limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential 

maintenance to ensure efficient operation. These bypasses 

are not subject to the provisions of Part II U 2 and U 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, if 

possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board department may 

take enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such 

as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of 

untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 

adequate back-up equipment should have been installed in 

the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass which occurred during normal periods of 

equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under Part 

II U 2. 

b. The board department may approve an anticipated 

bypass, after considering its adverse effects, if the board 

department determines that it will meet the three 

conditions listed in Part II U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are met. 

A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and before 
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an action for noncompliance, is not a final administrative 

action subject to judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence 

that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director or an authorized representative, including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator, upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, any 

substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this subsection, the time for inspection shall 

be deemed reasonable during regular business hours, or 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained herein 

shall make an inspection unreasonable during an emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permits coverage may be terminated for 

cause. The filing of a request by the permittee for permit 

coverage termination or a notification of planned changes or 

anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permit coverage. 

1. Permit coverage is not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. 

2. Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if: 

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 30 

days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property; 

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

c. The board department does not notify the existing 

permittee and the proposed new permittee of its intent to 

deny permit coverage. If this notice is not received, the 

transfer is effective on the date specified in the agreement 

mentioned in Part II Y 2 b. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable. If 

any provision of this permit or the application of any provision 

of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, the 

application of such provision to other circumstances and the 

remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6527; Filed June 24, 2022, 9:57 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC5-60. Self-Exclusion Program 

(amending 11VAC5-60-10 through 11VAC5-60-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 58.1-4007 and 58.1-4015.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Amy Dilworth, General Counsel, Virginia 

Lottery Board, 600 East Main Street, 22nd Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 664-0717, or email 

adilworth@valottery.com. 

Basis: Sections 58.1-4101, 58.1-4102, and 58.1-4103 provide 

statutory authority for the Virginia Lottery to promulgate this 

action. 

Purpose: The changes to 11VAC5-60 that incorporate casino 

gaming into the self-exclusion program conform the program 

to statute. The purpose of the amendments is to continue to 

protect the public health, safety, and welfare by lessening the 

sociological, financial, and psychological damage that can 

occur to individuals who exhibit problem gambling behaviors, 

and by extension, to their families. 

Rationale for Using the Fast-track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments are deemed to be noncontroversial because they 

include the addition of definitions and the incorporation of 

casino gaming into the self-exclusion program just as it already 

incorporates sports betting. 

mailto:adilworth@valottery.com
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Substance: The amendments to 11VAC5-60 mirror the self-

exclusion provisions in 11VAC5-90, Casino Gaming, to 

include casino gaming in the self-exclusion program, including 

defining the terms "casino gaming establishment," "casino," 

and "casino gaming," to clearly show that the self-exclusion 

program applies to casino gaming as well as sports betting. 

Issues: The advantage of the amendments for the public and 

the Commonwealth is that they provide the most 

straightforward and least onerous requirements necessary to 

maintain the Voluntary Self-Exclusion list and to 

accommodate those individuals who choose to be included in 

it. There are no disadvantages associated with the amendments. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Lottery Board (Board) proposes to amend the Self-

Exclusion Program regulation (regulation) in order to 

incorporate casinos and casino gaming. 

Background. Chapters 1197, 1218, 1248, and 1256 of the 2020 

Acts of Assembly all mandated that the Board adopt 

regulations to establish and implement a voluntary exclusion 

program. The text for the four different chapters was not 

completely identical,2 but all four essentially had the following 

for the definition of "voluntary exclusion program" and the 

requirements for voluntary exclusion programs. 

Definition of voluntary exclusion program: a program 

established by the Board that allows individuals to 

voluntarily exclude themselves from engaging in certain 

gambling activities (described in provision #1 below) by 

placing their name on a voluntary exclusion list and 

following the procedures set forth by the Board. 

Requirements for Voluntary Exclusion Programs: 

1. Except as provided by a regulation of the Board, a 

person who participates in the voluntary exclusion 

program agrees to refrain from (i) playing any account-

based lottery game; (ii) participating in sports betting as 

such activity is regulated by the Board; (iii) engaging in 

any form of casino gaming that may be allowed under the 

laws of the Commonwealth; (iv) participating in charitable 

gaming, as defined in Code of Virginia (COV) 18.2-

340.16; (v) participating in fantasy contests, as defined in 

COV 59.1-556; or (vi) wagering on horse racing, as 

defined in COV 59.1-365. Any state agency, at the request 

of the Virginia Lottery, shall assist in administering the 

voluntary exclusion program pursuant to the provisions of 

this section. 

2. A person who participates in the voluntary exclusion 

program may choose an exclusion period of two years, 

five years, or lifetime. 

3. Except as provided by regulation of the Board, a person 

who participates in the voluntary exclusion program may 

not petition the Board for removal from the program for 

the duration of his exclusion period. 

4. The name of a person participating in the program shall 

be included on a list of excluded persons. The list of 

persons entering the voluntary exclusion program and the 

personal information of the participants shall be 

confidential, with dissemination by the Virginia Lottery 

limited to licensed lottery sales agent, owners and 

operators of casino gaming establishments, sports betting 

permit holders, and any other parties the Virginia Lottery 

deems necessary for purposes of enforcement. 

5. Lottery sales agents, owners and operators of casino 

gaming establishments, and sports betting permit holders 

shall make all reasonable attempts as determined by the 

Board to cease all direct marketing efforts to a person 

participating in the program. The voluntary exclusion 

program shall not preclude lottery sales agents, owners 

and operators of casino gaming establishments, and sports 

betting permit holders from seeking the payment of a debt 

incurred by a person before entering the program. In 

addition, the owner or operator of a casino gaming 

establishment or a permit holder may share the names of 

individuals who self-exclude across its corporate 

enterprise, including sharing such information with any of 

its affiliates. 

Regulation. The regulation was initially promulgated in an 

exempt action3 that became effective on October 12, 2020. The 

regulation includes: 1) definitions, 2) requirements for 

individuals wishing to add themselves to the self-exclusion 

list,4 3) requirements for the Virginia Lottery, sports betting 

permit holders, the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS), and the Virginia Racing 

Commission (VRC) concerning the exchange of information 

and keeping information up-to-date in their copies of the self-

exclusion list, 4) specific responsibilities for sports betting 

permit holders in regard to procedures in interacting with 

individuals on the self-exclusion list, 5) the process and 

notifications for removal from self-exclusion list, and 6) the 

process and requirements concerning the forfeiture of 

winnings by self-excluded individual. There is no mention of 

casinos or casino gaming in the current regulation. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Approximately one percent of 

the adult population in the United States suffer from 

pathological gambling,5 a persistent and recurrent maladaptive 

pattern of gambling behavior.6 Pathological gambling is 

commonly associated with relationship problems,7 

employment issues,8 and significant financial difficulties.9 

Additionally, pathological gamblers are at increased risk to 

develop stress-related conditions, such as hypertension, sleep 
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deprivation, cardiovascular disease, and peptic ulcer disease.10 

Common psychiatric conditions associated with pathological 

gambling include exacerbation and initiation of major 

depressive episodes, anxiety disorders, or substance use 

disorders.11 

Adding casinos to the self-exclusion program would likely be 

beneficial in that pathological gamblers who voluntarily add 

themselves to the self-exclusion list would very likely gamble 

less at casinos (by casinos preventing participation). By 

gambling less, the negative impacts described may be less 

likely to occur. Research helps confirm that to some extent 

participation in self-exclusion programs is linked to a reduction 

of pathological gambling habits and gambling-related 

problems.12 

For the most part, the proposed regulation essentially just adds 

"casino gaming" or "casino gaming establishment" to the 

provisions where "sports betting" or "sports betting permit 

holder" currently exist in the regulation. An exception occurs 

in the requirements for individuals wishing to add themselves 

to the self-exclusion list. Under the current regulation, 

applicants for two years or five years on the list must submit: 

a) name, including any aliases or nicknames, b) date of birth, 

c) street and mailing address of current residence, d) telephone 

number, and e) social security number. Applicants for lifetime 

on the list must also submit valid identification credentials 

containing the individual's signature and either a photograph or 

a general physical description. Under the proposed regulation 

all applicants for membership on the list, regardless of time 

length, must submit valid identification credentials containing 

the individual's signature and a photograph of the individual.13 

According to the Virginia Lottery, valid identification 

containing a photograph of the individual is necessary so that 

casinos (where people appear in person) can accurately match 

the individual with the list. Thus, the proposal to require photo 

identification for membership on the list would be beneficial 

in that it would help casinos enforce the exclusion of list 

members from casinos and help reduce the negative impacts 

associated with their gambling. Photographs of individuals 

would also be added to the self-exclusion list sent by the 

Virginia Lottery to the VRC and VDACS. To the extent that 

these agencies use the photographs, it would help their 

regulants properly exclude list members from gambling on 

horse racing, historical horse racing, and charitable gaming. 

Accordingly, the proposal would be beneficial to the degree 

these changes reduce the negative impacts associated with 

pathological gambling as described above.14 

For most people, providing valid identification containing a 

photograph would not be difficult. However, it is possible that 

not all potential problem gamblers have photo ID. Based on a 

study jointly conducted by Stanford University and the 

University of Michigan, approximately three percent of the 

total U.S. adult citizen population do not have any form of 

government photo ID.15 For this small percentage of the 

population, the proposed additional requirement of a photo ID 

for membership on the self-exclusion list would be costly. It 

could deter a relative small number of pathological gamblers 

from seeking or obtaining membership on the list. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the 14 sports betting permit holders,16 

approximate 300 individuals currently on the self-exclusion 

list,17 the Virginia Lottery, VDACS (Office of Charitable and 

Regulatory Programs), the Virginia Racing Commission, as 

well as future licensed operators of casino gaming 

establishments and future individuals wishing to go on the self-

exclusion list. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.18 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. Most affected 

entities or individuals would not be adversely affected. A small 

number of individuals who do not possess valid identification 

containing a photograph may wish to be added to the self-

exclusion list, and thus may be worse off. Thus, an adverse 

impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses19 Affected:20 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities21 Affected:22 The proposal to add casinos to the self-

exclusion program may particularly affect the four cities where 

voters approved casinos, Danville, Bristol, Portsmouth, and 

Norfolk, as well as neighboring localities. There may be 

indirect costs for these local governments, as on the one hand 

the Virginia Lottery notes that local social service agencies 

may face reduced costs if fewer individuals and families suffer 

the financial and psychological damage that can be incurred by 

individuals who incur chronic gambling losses. On the other 

hand, there could be increased law enforcement costs as police 

officers would be called upon to process trespassing charges 

against individuals who gain access to a casino floor despite 

having opted into the program. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to directly affect total employment. To the extent 

that adding casinos to the self-exclusion program may help 

some pathological gamblers avoid gambling and associated 

negative impacts, it may help some such individuals from 

losing their jobs. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the extent 

that adding casinos to the self-exclusion program may reduce 

financial losses for some pathological gamblers, the proposal 

may be beneficial for these individuals' net worth. The 

proposed amendments do not affect real estate development 

costs. 

_____________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
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persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2Chapters 1197 and 1248 are identical to each other, and mostly pertain to 

casino gaming. Chapters 1218 and 1256 are identical to each other, and mostly 

pertain to sports betting. 
3See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5609. 

4"Self-exclusion list" appears to be synonymous with "voluntary exclusion 

list". 
5Sources: Petry NM, Stinson FS, Grant BF. Comorbidity of DSM-IV 

pathological gambling and other psychiatric disorders: results from the 
national epidemiologic survey on alcohol and related conditions. Journal of 

Clinical Psychiatry. 2005;66:564-574. 

Shaffer HJ, Hall MN, Vander Bilt J. Estimating the prevalence of disordered 
gambling behavior in America and Canada: a research synthesis. American 

Journal of Public Health. 1999;89:1369-1376. 

6Source: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Washington, 

DC: American Psychiatric Association; 2000. 

7Sources: Scherrer JF, Slutske WS, Xian H, Waterman B, Shah KR, Volberg 

R, et al. Factors associated with pathological gambling at 10-year follow-up in 
a national sample of middle-aged men. Addiction. 2007;102:970-978. Lorenz 

VC, Yaffee RA. Pathological gambling: psychosomatic, emotional and marital 

difficulties as reported by the spouse. Journal of Gambling Behavior. 

1988;4:13-26. 
8Source: Gerstein DR, Volberg RA, Toce MT, Harwood H, Johnson RA, Buie 

T, et al. Gambling Impact and Behavior Study: report to the National Gambling 
Impact Study Commission. New York, NY: Christiansen/Cummings 

Associates; 1999. 

9Sources: Boardman B, Perry JJ. Access to gambling and declaring personal 

bankruptcy. Journal of Socio-Economics. 2007;36:789-801. 

Garrett TA. The rise in personal bankruptcies: the Eighth Federal Reserve 

District and beyond. Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis Review. 2007;81:15-

37. 

Thalheimer R, Ali MM. The relationship of pari-mutuel wagering and casino 

gaming to personal bankruptcy. Contemporary Economic Policy. 

2004;22:420-432. 

Barron JM, Staten ME, Wilshusen SM. The impact of casino gambling on 

personal bankruptcy filing rates. Contemporary Economic Policy. 

2002;20:440-455. 

de la Vina L, Bernstein D. The impact of gambling on personal bankruptcy 

rates. Journal of Socio-Economics. 2002;31:503-509. 

Gerstein DR, Volberg RA, Toce MT, Harwood H, Johnson RA, Buie T, et al. 

Gambling Impact and Behavior Study: report to the National Gambling Impact 

Study Commission. New York, NY: Christiansen/Cummings Associates; 

1999. 
10Sources: Wong TW. The Biopsychosocial Consequences of Pathological 

Gambling. Psychiatry. 2005:2(3):22-30. 

Natelson BH. Stress, hormones, and disease. Physiology & Behavior. 

2004;82(1):139-43. 

Littman-Sharp N. Gambling, fatigue, and drowsy driving. Presented at the 17th 

Annual National Conference on Problem Gambling, Louisville, KY: 2003. 

11Sources: Wong TW. The Biopsychosocial Consequences of Pathological 

Gambling. Psychiatry. 2005:2(3):22-30. 

Ladd GT, Petry NM. A comparison of pathological gamblers with and without 

substance abuse treatment histories. Experimental and Clinical 

Psychopharmacology. 2003;11(3):202-9. 

Hollander E, Buchalter AJ, DeCaria CM. Pathological gambling. Psychiatric 

Clinics of North America. 2000;23(3):629-42. 

Crockford DN, el-Guebaly N. Psychiatric comorbidity in pathological 

gambling: A critical review. The Canadian Journal of Psychiatry. 

1998;43(1):43-50. 

Briggs JR, Goodin BJ, Nelson T. Pathological gamblers and alcoholics: Do 

they share the same addictions? Addictive Behaviors. 1996;21(4):515-9. 
12Sources: Gainsbury SM. Review of Self-exclusion from Gambling Venues 

as an Intervention for Problem Gambling. Journal of Gambling Studies. 

2014:30:229-251. 

Hayer T, Meyer G. Self-exclusion as a harm minimization strategy: Evidence 

from the casino sector from selected European countries. Journal of Gambling 

Studies 2011:27:685-700. 

Nelson SE, Kleschinsky JH, LaBrie RA, Kaplan S, Shaffer HJ. One decade of 

self-exclusion: Missouri casino self-excluders four to ten years after 

enrolment. Journal of Gambling Studies. 2010:26:129-144. 

Tremblay N, Boutin C, Ladouceur R. Improved Self-exclusion program: 

Preliminary results. Journal of Gambling Studies. 2008:24:505-518. 

Ladouceur R, Sylvain C, Gosselin P. Self-exclusion program: A longitudinal 

evaluation study. Journal of Gambling Studies. 2007:23, 85-94. 
13General physical description would no longer be an option for lifetime 

applicants. 
14VDACS reports that the proposed amendment to add photographs of the 

individuals on the self-exclusion list sent by Virginia Lottery to VDACS 

(Office of Charitable and Regulatory Programs) will not impact the program 
so long as the current method of delivery of the list does not differ. 

Furthermore, VDACS does not anticipate any impact from the other proposed 

amendments. 
15The 2016 study was conducted by American National Election Studies, 

which is a collaboration of Stanford University and the University of 

Michigan, with funding by the National Science Foundation. 

https://electionstudies.org/data-center/2016-time-series-study/ 
16Data source: Virginia Lottery. 

17Ibid 
18Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia 

entities should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results 

from regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
19Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 

20If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

21"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
22Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's 

Economic Impact Analysis: The Virginia Lottery is in receipt 

of and has reviewed the Department of Planning and Budget 

economic impact analysis (EIA). The Virginia Lottery is 

satisfied with the EIA and has no additional comments. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5609
https://electionstudies.org/data-center/2016-time-series-study/
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Summary: 

The amendments (i) incorporate casinos and casino 

gaming into the Self-Exclusion Program as required by 

§ 58.1-4103 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) require an 

individual who wants to be self-excluded to provide a 

photo identification containing the individual's signature 

to the program.  

11VAC5-60-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Department" or "Virginia Lottery" means the Virginia 

Lottery Department, the independent department that pursuant 

to § 58.1-4031 of the Code of Virginia is agency responsible 

for the operation administration of the Commonwealth's sports 

betting program set forth in Articles 1 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) and 

2 (§ 58.1-4030 et seq.) of Chapter Virginia Lottery pursuant to 

Chapters 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) and 41 (§ 58.1-4100 et seq.) 

of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Self-excluded individual" means any individual whose name 

is included, at the individual's own request, on the self-

exclusion list maintained by the department. 

"Self-exclusion list" means a list maintained by the 

department of names of individuals who, pursuant to this 

chapter, have voluntarily agreed to refrain from (i) playing any 

account based account-based lottery game authorized under 

the provisions of the Virginia Lottery Law; (ii) participating in 

sports betting, as defined in § 58.1-4030 of the Code of 

Virginia; and (iii) participating in casino gaming, as defined in 

§ 58.1-4100 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) participating in 

gaming activities administered by the Office of Charitable and 

Regulatory Programs or the Virginia Racing Commission. 

Self-excluded individuals whose names are on the self-

exclusion list are prohibited from collecting any winnings or 

recovering any losses resulting from violation of the 

restrictions to which such individuals have agreed. 

"Targeted mailing" means an advertisement or promotional 

offer directed to an individual on the basis of specific criteria, 

such as being a member or former member of a casino rewards 

club, a former sports betting participant, or a participant in 

social games. "Targeted mailing" does not include mass 

mailings made to an entire area or zip code nor does it include 

an advertisement that arrives in a packet of five or more non-

gaming advertisements if such packet of advertisements is 

addressed to "resident," "occupant," or some similar wording 

and not to a specific individual. "Targeted mailing" further 

does not include any internet "pop-up" advertisement that 

appears on an individual's computer or mobile device on the 

basis of the individual's internet protocol address. 

"Thing of value" means anything of value that may be used 

to engage in lottery, or sports betting, or casino gaming 

activity, including cash and other forms of payment 

permissible under Chapter Chapters 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) 

and 41 (§ 58.1-4100 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, as well as free play offers and incentives. 

"Winnings" means the aggregate total of proceeds from each 

individual winning lottery ticket or sports wager or casino 

game and shall not be reduced by any individual losses 

resulting from such activities. 

11VAC5-60-20. Request for self-exclusion. 

A. An individual may have his name be placed on the 

department's self-exclusion list by submitting a request in the 

form and manner required by this section. 

B. An individual requesting placement on the self-exclusion 

list shall submit a completed request for self-exclusion over the 

internet or as otherwise required by this chapter. If an 

individual requests to be placed on the self-exclusion for life 

list, such request shall be made in person at department 

headquarters or any other location specified by the department. 

C. An individual requesting placement on the self-exclusion 

for life list shall submit, in person, a completed request for self-

exclusion as required by this chapter. The request shall be 

delivered to department headquarters or any other location 

specified by the department. Any individual submitting a self-

exclusion for life request shall be required to present valid 

identification credentials containing the individual's signature 

and either a photograph or a general physical description. 

D. A request for self-exclusion shall be in a form prescribed 

by the department that shall include: 

1. The following identifying information concerning the 

individual submitting the request: 

a. Name, including any aliases or nicknames; 

b. Date of birth; 

c. Street and mailing address of current residence; 

d. Telephone number; and 

e. Social Security Number, which information is 

voluntarily provided in accordance with § 7 of the Privacy 

Act (5 USC § 552a); and 

f. Valid identification credentials containing the 

individual's signature and a photograph of the individual. 

2. The length of self-exclusion requested by the individual: 

a. Two years; 

b. Five years; or 

c. Lifetime; 

3. An acknowledgment that individuals on the self-exclusion 

list shall be prohibited from participating in any form of 

legalized gaming in the Commonwealth and are prohibited 

from collecting any winnings or recovering any losses 

resulting from violation of the restrictions to which such 

individuals have agreed; 
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4. An acknowledgment that the department shall coordinate 

the administration of the self-exclusion program with the 

Office of Charitable and Regulatory Programs and the 

Virginia Racing Commission pursuant to procedures 

developed by the department; 

5. An acknowledgment that the department will share the 

self-exclusion list with operators of legal gambling in the 

Commonwealth and that such operators, pursuant to their 

own policies, may extend the exclusion of the individual to 

offerings at the operators' locations outside the borders of the 

Commonwealth; 

6. An acknowledgment that the individual requesting self-

exclusion shall notify the department within seven days if 

the individual's address or other contact information 

changes; and 

7. A waiver and release that shall release and forever 

discharge the Commonwealth of Virginia, the department, 

the department's employees and agents, all holders of 

permits to operate a sports betting platform and licenses to 

operate a casino gaming establishment and their employees 

and agents, the Office of Charitable and Regulatory 

Programs, and the Virginia Racing Commission and their 

employees and agents from any liability to the individual 

requesting self-exclusion, as applicable, and the individual's 

heirs, administrators, executors, and assigns for any harm, 

monetary or otherwise, that may arise out of or by reason of 

any act or omission relating to the request for self-exclusion 

or request for removal from the self-exclusion list, including: 

a. The processing or enforcement of the request for self-

exclusion or request for removal from the self-exclusion 

list; 

b. The failure to withhold gaming privileges from or 

restore gaming privileges to a self-excluded individual; 

c. Permitting a self-excluded individual to engage in 

gaming activity while on the list of self-excluded 

individuals; and 

d. Disclosure of the information contained in the self-

exclusion list, except for a willfully unlawful disclosure of 

such information. 

E. For self-exclusion submissions for a stated period of time: 

1. A sports betting permit holder or casino gaming 

establishment shall provide a link directly to the 

department's self-exclusion application form. 

2. The department's online self-exclusion form shall provide 

to the self-excluding individual for the individual's 

acknowledgment the following statement: 

"I am voluntarily requesting exclusion from all Virginia 

sports betting, casino gaming, and account based account-

based lottery. I also understand that the department will 

share my information with the Office of Charitable and 

Regulatory Programs, the Virginia Racing Commission, and 

all Virginia sports betting permit holders and casino gaming 

establishments, any of whom may prohibit me from 

participating in further gaming activities regulated or 

provided by those entities, including out-of-state sports 

betting sites or casinos in accordance with the policies of that 

sports betting permit holder or casino gaming establishment. 

I agree to notify the department within seven days if my 

contact information changes. I certify that the information I 

have provided is true and accurate, and that I have read and 

understand and agree to the waiver and release included with 

this request for self-exclusion. I am aware that my digital 

signature authorizes the department to prohibit me from 

participating in all account-based lottery games and to direct 

all holders of sports betting permits and casino gaming 

establishments in Virginia to restrict my gaming activities. I 

am further aware that my digital signature authorizes the 

department to share my information with the Office of 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs and the Virginia 

Racing Commission, who may further restrict my gaming 

activities. In accordance with this request and until such time 

as the department removes my name from the self-exclusion 

list under the terms of my request for voluntary self-

exclusion, I am aware and agree that during any period of 

self-exclusion any money obtained by me in violation of the 

terms of my self-exclusion shall be subject to forfeiture and 

donated to the Commonwealth's Problem Gambling 

Treatment and Support Fund." 

F. For lifetime self-exclusion submissions: 

1. The signature of the individual submitting the request 

shall acknowledge the following statement: 

"I am voluntarily requesting exclusion from all Virginia 

sports betting, casino gaming, and account based account-

based lottery. In addition, I understand that my information 

will be shared with the Office of Charitable and Regulatory 

Programs, the Virginia Racing Commission, and all Virginia 

sports betting permit holders and casino gaming 

establishments, any of whom may prohibit me from 

participating in further gaming activities regulated or 

provided by those entities, including out-of-state sports 

betting sites or casinos in accordance with the policies of that 

sports betting permit holder or casino establishment. I agree 

to notify the department within seven days if my contact 

information changes. I certify that the information I have 

provided is true and accurate, and that I have read and 

understand and agree to the waiver and release included with 

this request for self-exclusion. I am aware that my signature 

authorizes the department to prohibit me from participating 

in all account-based lottery games and to direct all holders 

of sports betting permits and casino gaming establishments 

in Virginia to restrict my gaming activities. I am further 

aware that my signature authorizes the department to share 

my information with the Office of Charitable and Regulatory 

Programs and the Virginia Racing Commission, who may 

further restrict my gaming activities. In accordance with this 
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request I am aware and agree that any money obtained by 

me in violation of the terms of my self-exclusion shall be 

subject to forfeiture and donated to the Commonwealth's 

Problem Gambling Treatment and Support Fund." 

2. The department shall document the type of identification 

credentials that were examined containing the signature of 

the individual requesting lifetime self-exclusion. 

3. A department employee authorized to accept a self-

exclusion request shall sign the application form and 

confirm that the signature of the individual on the request for 

lifetime self-exclusion appears to agree with that contained 

on his the individual's identification credentials. 

4 The department shall confirm the individual's request to be 

placed on the lifetime self-exclusion list. 

11VAC5-60-30. Self-exclusion list. 

A. The department shall maintain the official self-exclusion 

list and shall transmit notification of any addition to or deletion 

from the list to: 

1. Each Virginia sports betting permit holder; 

2. Each Virginia casino gaming establishment; 

3. The Office of Charitable and Regulatory Programs; and 

3. 4. The Virginia Racing Commission. 

B. Each party noted in subsection A of this section shall 

maintain its own copy of the self-exclusion list and shall 

establish procedures to ensure that its copy of the list is kept up 

to date. All appropriate employees and agents of the parties 

noted in subsection A of this section who are notified of any 

addition to or deletion from the self-exclusion list shall update 

their lists accordingly. Changes to the list shall be made by 

each party noted in subsection A of this section within seven 

days after the day the notice is transmitted and any remaining 

balance in the individual's gaming account shall be refunded 

pursuant to internal control standards approved by the 

department and the department's regulations. The notice 

provided by the department shall include the following 

information concerning any individual whose name is added to 

the list: 

1. Name, including any aliases or nicknames; 

2. Date of birth; 

3. Street and mailing address of current residence; 

4. Telephone number; and 

5. Social Security number if voluntarily provided by the 

individual requesting self-exclusion; and 

6. A photograph of the individual. 

C. Information furnished to or obtained by the department 

pursuant to this chapter shall be deemed confidential and not 

be disclosed except in accordance with this chapter. The 

voluntary self-exclusion list and the personal information of 

participants in the voluntary self-exclusion program shall not 

be subject to disclosure under the Virginia Freedom of 

Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

D. Except as provided in this subsection, no employee or 

agent of the department or any of the parties included in 

subsection A of this section shall disclose the name of or any 

information about any excluded individual to anyone other 

than employees and agents whose duties and functions require 

access to such information. 

1. Any sports betting permit holder or casino gaming 

establishment may disclose the name of and information 

about a self-excluded individual to appropriate employees of 

other sports betting permit holders or casino gaming 

establishments in Virginia for the purpose of alerting the 

employees that a self-excluded individual has tried to 

gamble or obtain gaming related privileges or benefits from 

the sports betting permit holder or casino gaming 

establishment. In addition, the permit holder or casino may 

share the name of and information about self-excluded 

individuals across the permit holder's corporate enterprise of 

the permit holder or casino, including sharing such 

information with any of its affiliates. 

2. It shall be permissible for a sports betting permit holder or 

casino gaming establishment, or an employee or agent 

thereof, to disclose the names of individuals on the self-

exclusion list to a third party that is registered or, licensed, 

or permitted by the department pursuant to 11VAC5-70 or 

11VAC5-90 for the purpose of allowing the third party to 

remove the names of such individuals from a targeted 

mailing or other advertising or promotion to be made on 

behalf of the sports betting permit holder or casino gaming 

establishment. The company third party to whom such the 

self-exclusion list is disclosed shall be prohibited from 

distributing or disclosing the list to the public or to any other 

party and shall be required to establish procedures approved 

by the department to ensure the self-exclusion list is not 

disclosed. 

3. A registered, licensed, or registered company permitted 

third party that obtains the self-exclusion list from a sports 

betting permit holder or casino gaming establishment shall be 

permitted to use the list solely to exclude names or addresses 

from a marketing campaign on behalf of the sports betting 

permit holder or casino gaming establishment. Such company 

may not use the self-exclusion list for any other type of 

marketing or for any other purpose whatsoever. 

11VAC5-60-40. Duties of sports betting permit holder and 

casino gaming establishment. 

A. A sports Sports betting permit holder holders and casino 

gaming establishments shall establish procedures that are 

designed, to the greatest extent practicable, to: 
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1. Prevent an individual on the self-exclusion list from 

opening a new sports betting or casino gaming player's 

account and from entering onto the gaming floor of a casino; 

2. Identify and suspend any sports betting or casino gaming 

accounts of an individual on the self-exclusion list; 

3. Refund any remaining balance to an individual on the self-

exclusion list consistent with the department's regulations 

and the permit holder's department-approved internal control 

standards as approved by the department controls of the 

permit holder or casino; 

4. Ensure that self-excluded individuals do not receive, 

either from the permit holder or casino or any agent thereof, 

targeted mailings, telemarketing promotions, player club 

materials, or other targeted promotional materials relating to 

sports betting or casino gaming; and 

5. Enforce the provisions of this chapter. 

B. Upon notification that an individual has been added to or 

deleted from the self-exclusion list, each sports betting permit 

holder and casino gaming establishment shall comply with all 

relevant provisions of 11VAC5-60-50. 

C. Each sports betting permit holder shall maintain on file a 

current copy of the permit holder's internal control standards 

procedures established pursuant to 11VAC5-60-60 and 

11VAC5-70. 

D. Each casino gaming establishment shall maintain on file a 

current copy of the casino's internal control standards 

procedures established pursuant to 11VAC5-60-60 and 

11VAC5-90. 

11VAC5-60-50. Removal from self-exclusion list. 

A. Upon expiration of the period of self-exclusion requested 

pursuant to 11VAC5-60-20, the department shall remove the 

individual's name from the self-exclusion list and notify each 

sports betting permit holder, each casino gaming 

establishment, the Office of Charitable and Regulatory 

Programs, and the Virginia Racing Commission of the 

removal. 

B. Within seven days of receipt of notice from the 

department, the parties notified in subsection A of this section 

shall delete the name of the individual from the parties' self-

exclusion lists. 

11VAC5-60-60. Forfeiture of winnings by self-excluded 

individual. 

A. If a sports betting permit holder or casino gaming 

establishment detects or is notified of the presence of a sports 

bettor suspected of being a self-excluded individual who has 

engaged in or is engaging in gaming activity, the permit holder 

or casino gaming establishment shall take reasonable measures 

to verify that the sports bettor individual is a self-excluded 

individual and the evidence of the individual's exclusion. 

B. Upon verification of the individual's self-excluded status, 

the sports betting permit holder or casino gaming 

establishment shall: 

1. Immediately prohibit access to the individual's sports 

betting or casino gaming player's account, prohibit any 

further gaming activity, return the balance accrued prior to 

the exclusion request, and seize any winnings that accrue 

after the exclusion request; and 

2. Issue a Payout Receipt and Notice of Forfeiture to the 

excluded player in person or via electronic or regular mail, 

containing the following: 

a. The total value and a detailed description of winnings 

that were seized; 

b. The date of the incident; 

c. The name of the self-excluded individual, if known, and 

basis for determining the individual is a self-excluded 

individual; 

d. The street and mailing address of the self-excluded 

individual, if known, at which the individual may be 

notified regarding any future proceedings; 

e. The date of the in-person, internet, or mobile wagering 

session during which the self-excluded individual was 

engaged in a gaming transaction; and 

f. Notice to the self-excluded individual that the 

department shall be seeking forfeiture of the winnings 

seized, that the individual has the right to be heard about 

the forfeiture, and that failure to respond to a forfeiture 

notice from the department shall be deemed a waiver of 

the right to be heard. 

C. The original Payout Receipt and Notice of Forfeiture 

prepared and signed as required in subsection B of this section 

shall be maintained on file by the sports betting permit holder 

or casino gaming establishment. Copies of the document shall 

be provided to the self-excluded individual and filed with the 

department, which filing may be made electronically. 

D. All funds identified by a permit holder or casino as subject 

to forfeiture shall be maintained separately and held by the 

sports betting permit holder or casino until further order of the 

department or upon notice from the department that the funds 

may be released. 

E. Pursuant to the self-excluded individual's request 

submitted under 11VAC5-60-20, any winnings seized from a 

self-excluded individual shall be subject to forfeiture, 

following notice to the self-excluded individual and an 

opportunity to be heard. A failure to respond to a forfeiture 

notice shall result in the waiver of the right to be heard. 

F. The internal control standards of a sports betting permit holder 

or casino gaming establishment shall contain procedures for 

processing any winnings seized from a self-excluded individual as 

if the winnings were paid and reported in accordance with normal 

procedures applicable to such payouts. Such procedures shall 
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include, however, such modification to forms or additional 

documentation as necessary to record and report the payout as a 

payout withheld from a self-excluded individual. This 

documentation shall be compared by the sports betting permit 

holder's accounting department of the permit holder or casino at 

the end of the gaming day to the copy of the Payout Receipt and 

Notice of Forfeiture. Any winnings withheld from a self-excluded 

individual that are paid and reported in accordance with the 

normal procedures applicable to such payouts, as modified in this 

section, shall be deducted in the calculation of gross revenue as if 

the winnings were actually paid to the self-excluded individual. 

G. The department may initiate forfeiture of a self-excluded 

individual's winnings by sending notice to the self-excluded 

individual via personal service or regular mail sent to the 

address provided by the individual. Notice shall include a 

description of the winnings subject to forfeiture and the self-

excluded individual's right to a hearing. 

H. If the self-excluded individual wishes to contest the 

forfeiture, the individual shall submit a written request for a 

hearing within 15 days of the date of the notice of the 

forfeiture. If no response is filed by the self-excluded 

individual within 15 days of the date of the notice of the 

forfeiture, the winnings shall be deemed forfeited and 

transmitted to the Commonwealth's Problem Gambling 

Treatment and Support Fund. The decision of the board 

department shall be final and may not be appealed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7199; Filed June 27, 2022, 8:16 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-210. Heat Illness Prevention 

Standard. 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Safety and Health Codes Board has WITHDRAWN the 

regulatory action for 16VAC25-210, Heat Illness Prevention 

Standard, which was published as a Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action in 37:19 VA.R. 2761 May 10, 2021. This 

action is being withdrawn because the Safety and Health Codes 

Board voted not to move forward with the regulatory action. 

Agency Contact: Jay Withrow, Director, Department of Labor 

and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 

207, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9873, FAX 

(804) 786-8418, or email jay.withrow@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6753; Filed June 23, 2022, 11:58 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-40. Regulations for the 

Funeral Service Internship Program. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 915-0382, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC65-40) 

Application for Funeral Service Internship Program, online 

form available at https://www/license/dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Funeral Supervisor Registration Application (rev. 7/2021) 

Funeral Supervisor Registration Application (rev. 6/2022) 

Funeral Change of Supervisor Application (rev. 7/2021) 

Checklist and Instructions for Registration for Funeral Service 

Internship Program (rev. 7/2021) 

Checklist and Instructions for Registration for Funeral Directing 

Internship Program (rev. 7/2021) 

Checklist and Instructions for Registration for Embalming 

Internship Program (rev. 7/2021) 

First 1000 Hour Funeral Service Internship Report – Funeral 

Directing (rev.1/2021) 

Second 1000 Hour Funeral Service Internship Report – Funeral 

Directing (rev. 1/2021) 

Funeral Service Internship Report of Final Completion – Funeral 

Directing (rev. 1/2021) 

First 1000 Hour Embalming Internship Report (rev. 1/2021) 

Second 1000 Hour Embalming Internship Report (rev. 1/2021) 

Embalming Internship Report of Final Completion (rev. 1/2021) 

Funeral Intern Reinstatement Application (rev. 7/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7295; Filed June 16, 2022, 8:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9602
mailto:jay.withrow@doli.virginia.gov
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FuneralSupervisorRegistrationApplication_revised%2006152022-20220616194744.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/2021_ChangeSupervisor-20210701185524.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/2021_CheckInstr_Reg_InternProgram-20210701185737.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/2021_CheckInstr_Reg_InternProgram-20210701185737.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/2021_CheckInstr_Reg_DirectingIntern-20210701185821.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/2021_CheckInstr_Reg_DirectingIntern-20210701185821.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/2021_CheckInstr_Reg_EmbalmingIntern-20210701190408.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/2021_CheckInstr_Reg_EmbalmingIntern-20210701190408.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingFirst%201000_2021-20210421122212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingFirst%201000_2021-20210421122212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingSecond%201000_2021-20210421122236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingSecond%201000_2021-20210421122236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingFinal%201000_2021-20210421122318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingFinal%201000_2021-20210421122318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Embalming_First1000_2021-20210421123039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Embalming_Second1000_2021-20210421123054.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Embalming_Final%201000_2021-20210421122524.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/2021_InternReinstatement-20210701190018.pdf
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-411. General Relief Program 

(amending 22VAC40-411-10, 22VAC40-411-20, 22VAC40-

411-70, 22VAC40-411-120; adding 22VAC40-411-31, 

22VAC40-411-41, 22VAC40-411-51, 22VAC40-411-61, 

22VAC40-411-81; repealing 22VAC40-411-170 through 

22VAC40-411-220). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

The State Board of Social Services has WITHDRAWN the 

regulatory action for 22VAC40-411, General Relief 

Program, which was published as a Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action (NOIRA) in 53:9 VA.R. 1097 December 

24, 2018. This action is being withdrawn because, since the 

NOIRA publication, the agency has determined that additional 

amendments should be considered that would take the action 

beyond the scope stated in the published NOIRA. The agency 

will initiate a new regulatory action in the future that fully 

reflects the regulatory issues that need to be addressed. 

Agency Contact: Monique Majeus, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7459, FAX (804) 726-7357, or email 

monique.majeus@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5380; Filed June 16, 2022, 9:16 a.m. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7250
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7250
mailto:monique.majeus@dss.virginia.gov
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Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTEEN (2022) 

Recognizing the Value of Recycling and Waste 
Reduction 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order to recognize the value of recycling, 

to help create new clean technology jobs, and to help stop food 

waste. 

Importance of the Initiative 

Americans today recycle less than they did a generation ago, 

yet there are more opportunities for post-consumer recycled 

products than ever before. Recycling and reuse activities 

account for over 750,000 jobs nationwide. Food waste 

comprises the single largest category of waste by volume 

disposed of in landfills. We need to conserve our natural 

resources, reduce the amount of recyclable materials and waste 

that goes into landfills, and promote new clean energy jobs 

here in Virginia. Recognizing and promoting the importance of 

recycling has the potential to positively impact the 

Commonwealth's environment, providing cleaner air and 

water, as well as create new clean technology jobs. 

Directive 

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as the 

Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth, and pursuant 

to Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and the laws of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby order my administration to take the 

following actions to address our ideals of environmental 

stewardship: 

1. Recognition of the Value of Recyclable Material 

A. State Agency Initiative to Encourage Recycling 

It is the policy of the Commonwealth, and all executive branch 

state agencies, including state institutions of higher education, 

and their concessioners (Agency or Agencies) to increase 

awareness of the importance of recycling and better capture 

recyclable material, as well as encourage the use of post-

consumer recycled (PCR) products and biodegradable 

materials. 

In accordance with the State Agency Recycling Initiative, 

employees of the Commonwealth should be notified of the 

recyclable material collection areas, including, but not limited 

to, newspapers, office papers, corrugated boxes, folding 

cartons, glass containers, plastic bottles, plastic containers, 

plastic film, and metal cans through clearly visible signage 

posted in recyclable material collection areas. The signage 

should include information regarding the value of waste 

diversion. 

It shall be the official responsibility of Agencies to work with 

the Department of General Services, or building property 

owners and local waste management companies and recycling 

facilities, as appropriate, to ensure access to recycling 

programs that accept all Agency collected materials. 

B. Virginia State Parks Plan 

The Department of Conservation and Recreation, shall report 

to the Secretary of Natural and Historic Resources with an 

assessment plan for a Virginia State Parks Campaign in 

accordance with the State Agency Recycling Initiative to 

determine the necessary resources to increase the capacity to 

capture recyclable materials, including increasing the 

recycling receptacles in Virginia's State Parks and necessary 

requests for resources to implement the Virginia State Parks 

Plan. The campaign should be developed in partnership with 

the Virginia Green Travel Alliance to promote the parks' 

recycling initiatives to the public. 

2. Making Virginia Home to New Clean Technologies 

A. The Waste Diversion and Recycling Task Force shall 

discuss ways to encourage new recycling related businesses, 

including collection, processing and manufacturing facilities, 

to locate in the Commonwealth and include any 

recommendations in their next report. 

B. Within 12 months the Department of Environmental 

Quality, in conjunction with the Department of Commerce and 

other stakeholders as appropriate, will produce a report 

outlining opportunities for attracting PCR product business 

entities to the Commonwealth. The report shall identify: 

1. The waste-stream requirements for PCR companies to 

locate within the Commonwealth. 

2. Identify incentives offered to PCR companies in other 

States and identify feasible options in the Commonwealth. 

3. Identify potential geographic areas within the 

Commonwealth to focus on new clean technology business 

development, with particular emphasis in rural areas. 

3. Stopping Food Waste 

A. Food waste is the single largest substance by volume sent to 

solid waste sites across Virginia and the United States. While 

Virginia families are struggling to put food on the table and our 

farmers are struggling to feed their livestock and fertilize their 

crops we must divert this waste stream to benefit people and 

farmers in need. 

B. The Department of Environmental Quality in conjunction 

with the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

shall work in partnership with large-scale suppliers of food 

such as food manufacturers, grocery retailers, sports arenas, 

schools, hotels and banquet facilities to identify appropriate 

strategies to reduce food waste in their respective sectors by 

encouraging donations to needy individuals, food for animals 

or for composting purposes. 

4. Annual Report to Increase Transparency 
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The Department of General Services shall catalog the metric 

tonnage of the state's recycling program and establish goals by 

December 31, 2022, for each succeeding year for state agency 

recycling through 2025. 

The Department shall report to the Governor and the Chairs of 

the House Agriculture, Chesapeake, and Natural Resources 

Committee and the Senate Agriculture, Conservation, and 

Natural Resources of the progress of the State Agency 

Recycling Initiative by no later than December 1, 2022, and 

each succeeding year. 

5. Exclusions 

Nothing in this Order shall restrict any Agency from using any 

items as necessary to respond to any executive action declaring 

a state of emergency or order of public health emergency that 

would otherwise be restricted in use by this Order. 

This Executive Order rescinds and replaces Executive Order 

No. 77 (2021) issued by Governor Ralph S. Northam. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and the Seal of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia this 7th day of April 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 18 (2022) 

Designation of Executive Branch Officers and 
Employees Required to File Financial Disclosure 

Statements 

Importance of the Issue 

The State and Local Government Conflict of Interest Act 

reflects the Commonwealth's steadfast commitment to 

ensuring that public officers and employees maintain the 

highest standards of ethical behavior when conducting the 

business of the Commonwealth, avoiding even the appearance 

of impropriety arising out of personal economic interests. 

Directive  

In furtherance of the purposes of the State and Local 

Government Conflict of Interests Act, Section 2.2-3100 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia (hereinafter, "the Act"), and by virtue 

of the authority vested in me as Governor under Article V of 

the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby delegate to the Secretary of the 

Commonwealth the power and duty to implement the Act with 

respect to Executive Branch agencies, institutions, boards, 

commissions, councils, and authorities through the following 

policies and procedures: 

1. Each of the Governor's Secretaries and the head of each 

agency, institution, board, commission, council, and authority 

within the Executive Branch shall submit to the Office of the 

Secretary of the Commonwealth on or before October 1, 2022, 

a report identifying by name and job title the positions that are 

required to file a Statement of Economic Interests. 

By issuance of this Executive Order, the following Executive 

Branch officers and employees shall file a disclosure form, 

prescribed in § 2.2-3117: 

Office of the Governor 

• Secretaries, Deputy Secretaries, and Assistant Secretaries 

• Chief and Deputy Officers of Transformation and 

Diversity, Equitable Opportunity, and Inclusion 

• Senior Advisors 

•Chief of Staff and Deputy Chief of Staff 

• Counsel and Deputy Counsel 

• Legislative Director and Deputy Legislative Director 

• Policy Director and Deputy Policy Director 

• Communications Office 

• Scheduling Office 

• Policy Analysts 

• Designated Special Assistants 

Executive Branch Agencies 

• Agency Heads, Chief Deputies, and Deputies 

• Executive Directors, Directors, and Deputy Directors 

• Chief Administrative Officers and Deputies 

• Chief Financial Officers and Deputies 

• Chief Procurement Officers and Deputies 

• Chief Technology Officers and Deputies 

• Chief Human Resources Officer 

• Legislative Liaisons 

Institutions of Higher Education 

• Presidents/Vice Presidents/Provosts/Deans 

• Any other persons as designated by the institution 

including those persons with approval authority over 

contracts or audits 

Executive Branch Authorities 

• Authorities established within the Executive Branch 

• All persons within this group will file the form prescribed 

in § 2.2-3118, unless required by law to file the form 

prescribed in § 2.2-3117 

Executive Branch Appointees 

• All non-salaried citizen members of Executive Branch 

advisory boards, commissions, councils, and authorities are 

hereby designated to file the financial disclosure form 

prescribed in § 2.2-3118 
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• Appointees to boards or commissions who are salaried, 

such as the Parole Board, shall file the form prescribed in 

§ 2.2-3117 

In addition to the above-mentioned positions that are required 

to file, the agency's report shall include a list of other senior-

level positions with responsibility affecting legislative policies 

and rule-making authority or substantive authorization and 

decision-making regarding: (1) policy; (2) contracts and 

procurement; (3) audits; (4) licensure; (5) inspections and 

investigations; and (6) investments or other financial matters. 

2. From the reports submitted, the Secretary of the 

Commonwealth shall maintain a comprehensive list of officers 

and employees, including their position titles, who shall be 

designated to file the statement of economic interests. The 

Secretary of the Commonwealth may add or delete positions 

on the list. 

3. The head of each agency, institution, board, commission, 

council, and authority within the Executive Branch shall be 

responsible for ensuring that designated officers and 

employees file their statements of economic interests in 

accordance with § 2.2-3114 of the Code of Virginia. This 

includes obtaining a statement of economic interests from each 

new officer or employee so long as the officer or employee is 

hired for a position previously designated and ensuring that 

appropriate additions to and deletions from the list of those 

designated to file are recommended to the Secretary in a timely 

fashion. Agency heads shall also be responsible for ensuring 

that appropriate employees receive the necessary orientation 

on the State and Local Government Conflict of Interests Act in 

accordance with the provisions of § 2.2-3128 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2026, unless 

amended or rescinded by further executive order. Given under 

my hand and under the Seal of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

this 30th day of June, 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 19 (2022) 

Development and Review of State Agency 
Regulations 

Importance of the Initiative 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 

Article V of the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

and under the laws of the Commonwealth, including, but not 

limited to, §§ 2.2-103, 2.2-4013, and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, and subject to my continuing and ultimate authority 

and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby establish 

policies and procedures in this Executive Order for all 

rulemakings and other regulatory activity. These policies and 

procedures shall apply in addition to those already specified in 

the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia), agencies' public participation guidelines, and 

agencies' basic authorizing statutes. 

Nothing in this Executive Order shall be construed to limit my 

authority under the Code of Virginia, including to require an 

additional 30-day public comment period, file a formal 

objection to a regulation, suspend the effective date of a 

regulation with the concurrence of the applicable body of the 

General Assembly, or to exercise any other rights and 

prerogatives existing under Virginia law. Any failure to 

comply with the requirements set forth herein shall in no way 

affect the validity of a regulation, create any cause of action, 

provide standing for any person under Article 5 of the 

Administrative Process Act, or otherwise challenge the actions 

of a government entity responsible for adopting or reviewing 

regulations. 

Preamble 

Regulations are essential to a best in class state government. 

They are necessary to provide needed explanation and 

direction of our Commonwealth's laws to our citizens and 

businesses. Without regulations, the legislature would be 

forced to draft even more complex laws. However, our 

regulatory requirements have expanded to encompass almost 

every facet of our daily lives. Oftentimes these requirements 

are layered upon the citizens of the Commonwealth without 

regard to the existing regulatory burdens imposed by prior 

regulations from the issuing agency or other agencies. 

Additionally the regulatory process has grown cumbersome, 

taking on average two to three years to issue a new regulation. 

Currently, many regulatory agencies are exempt from the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act review process and 

approximately half of all regulatory actions are also exempt. 

While the Commonwealth operates a Regulatory Town Hall 

for regulatory information, not all agencies utilize the website. 

Most importantly, no standard cost/benefit analysis is 

conducted on proposed regulations to ensure that our citizens 

are receiving the best in class government they deserve. 

Instead, a more limited economic impact analysis is conducted 

within an abbreviated timeframe. 

In order to provide a consistent regulatory approach and review 

across the entire government, I am creating an Office of 

Regulatory Management within the Office of the Governor. 

This new Office will work to ensure that all regulations are 

reviewed for their impact on local governments, and regulated 

community and most importantly the private citizens of our 

Commonwealth. The Office will work to help streamline the 

regulatory process and provide important institutional controls. 

An important function of the Office will be to work with each 

regulatory agency to review all existing regulations, which is 

required once every four years but has not been consistently or 
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uniformly achieved, to reduce the overall regulatory burden on 

the public. 

Applicability 

The policies and procedures in this Executive Order apply to 

state agencies in the manner described herein. 

Rulemakings initiated by executive branch agencies in 

accordance with Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

shall follow the procedures in the Executive Branch Review 

process set forth by the Office of Regulatory Management as 

directed below. 

Executive branch rulemakings that are exempt from Article 2 

of the Administrative Process Act are required to use the 

Executive Branch Review process, and all such exempt 

rulemakings must be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall according to instructions issued by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

All executive branch agencies, including agencies and 

regulations with a full or partial exemption from either Article 

1 or Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act, must comply 

with the requirements of this Executive Order pertaining to 

other regulatory activity, including petitions for rulemaking; 

meeting notices, agendas and minutes; the periodic review of 

existing regulations; and guidance documents. These other 

regulatory activities must be posted on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall. 

Actions 

As Governor of Virginia, I hereby instruct and delegate: 

1. The Office of Regulatory Management should establish its 

own policies and procedures for regulatory review consistent 

with the laws of Virginia and as approved by the Chief of Staff 

and Governor by July 30th 2022. 

2. These policies and procedures from the ORM should 

include: 

a. The oversight and implementation of a 25% reduction in 

regulatory requirement; 

b. The oversight and implementation of the streamlining of the 

regulatory/permitting approval processes of all agencies to 

achieve a substantial shortening of the time required for an 

approval [or rejection]; and 

c. The increased transparency of all state executive branch 

regulations by requiring the posting on Townhall.Virginia.Gov 

of all regulatory stages and an enhanced regulatory package 

including benefit-cost analysis and other impact analysis. 

3. All executive branch agencies shall prepare a unified 

regulatory plan by July 1st of each year that lists all anticipated 

rulemaking activities during the subsequent state fiscal year. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This executive order replaces EO 14 (as amended, July 16, 

2018) issued by Governor Ralph S. Northam, which expires on 

today's date. The policies and procedures which are adopted by 

the Office of Regulatory Management shall establish the 

regulatory review process. This Executive Order amends 

Executive Order No. 14 (Executive Directive 1 issued by 

Governor Glenn Youngkin on January 15, 2022, is hereby 

amended and reenacted to require a 25 percent reduction in 

regulatory requirements instead of a reduction in regulations. 

This Executive Order shall become effective on July 1, 2022, 

and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2026, 

unless amended or rescinded by further executive order. These 

policies and procedures shall apply to all rulemaking actions 

and other regulatory activity initiated on or after July 1, 2022. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia on this 30th day of June, 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Adult Protective Services Division 

Manual, Chapters 1-5 and 8. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Patacca, Administrative Staff 

Assistant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 726-6625, or email elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov. 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Title of Document: Summary of Board Interpretations, 

Policies, and Guidance Documents. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Joseph C. Haughwout, Jr., Administrator, 

Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 

or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Guidelines for Practice Year 2 of the Early 

Childhood Unified Measurement and Improvement System. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Regulatory and Legal 

Coordinator, Department of Education, James Monroe 

Building, 25th Floor, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Title of Document: Guidance on Supervisory Responsibilities 

of an Occupational Therapist. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov.  

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: Frequently Asked Questions about Farm 

Vehicles. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Director, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Titles of Documents: Recognition of Accrediting Bodies 

Acceptable to the Board. 

Impact of Criminal Convictions, Impairment, and Past History 

on Licensure, Certification, or Registration by the Virginia 

Board of Psychology 

Possible Disciplinary Action for Noncompliance with 

Continuing Education Requirements. 

Submission of Evidence of Completion of Graduate Work. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Title of Document: Virginia Occupational Safety and Health 

Field Operations Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_6221_20220628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_6221_20220628.pdf
mailto:elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/222/GDoc_DPOR_6212_20220627.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/222/GDoc_DPOR_6212_20220627.pdf
mailto:CIC@dpor.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6209_20220617.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6209_20220617.pdf
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6208_20220616.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6208_20220616.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv28.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv28.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6215_20220628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6215_20220628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6216_20220628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6216_20220628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6216_20220628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6219_20220628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6219_20220628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6217_20220628.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/181/GDoc_DOLI_6223_20220628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/181/GDoc_DOLI_6223_20220628.pdf
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Effective Date: August 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Cristin Bernhardt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

2392, or email cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Stormwater Local Assistance Fund 

Program Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2022. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Matthew Link, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 929-5585, or email 

matthew.link@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_6211_20220624.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_6211_20220624.pdf
mailto:Matthew.Link@deq.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Energix EPC US LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Energix EPC US 

LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law at the Caden 

Energix Wytheville T-647 site in Wythe County. The 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) proposes to issue 

a consent order to resolve violations associated with the site. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

contact person listed will accept comments by email or postal 

mail from July 19, 2022, through August 18, 2022. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Fairlead Integrated, LLC 

Fairlead Integrated LLC for violations at the Fairlead 

Integrated facility at 201 Wavy Street, Portsmouth, Virginia. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

proposes to issue a consent order to Fairlead Integrated to 

address noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

contact will accept comments by email, fax, or postal mail 

from July 18, 2022, to August 17, 2022. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 647-

8060, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Kennington Place LLC 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) proposes to 

issue a consent special order to Kennington Place LLC for 

alleged violation of the State Water Control Law at the 

Kennington office warehouse facility located at Anne Lane and 

Richmond Tappahannock Highway in King William County, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the DEQ office listed or online at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact person will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from July 18, 2022, 

through August 18, 2022. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

telephone (804) 659-2696, or email 

matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Red Brick Solar Project Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

Lunenburg County 

Red Brick Solar has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Lunenburg County. Red Brick Solar 

will be located west of Lunenburg, south of Lunenburg County 

Road, Route 40, and north and south of Courthouse Road, 

Route 49. Latitude and longitude coordinates are 36.9633, -

78.3018. The proposed project will be located on 

approximately 1,938 acres of privately owned land. (The total 

fenced area, which indicates the disturbed acreage, is 1,309 

acres). The project will have a maximum generating capacity 

of 130 megawatts alternating current and will utilize 

approximately 324,000 single-axis trackers. 

Contact Information: Susan Tripp, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 664-3470, or email 

susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov. 

Solar VA 2019 LLC Revised Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - 

Westmoreland County 

Solar VA 2019 LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Westmoreland County. 

Solar VA 2019 LLC will be located approximately five miles 

south of the Town of Colonial Beach. Latitude and longitude 

coordinates are 38.185139, -76.987864. The project is on 

private land totaling approximately 125 acres. The project 

occupies an area approximately 0.5 miles long and 0.4 miles 

wide, utilizes approximately 32,000 solar modules, and will 

have a capacity of approximately 18 megawatts alternating 

current. 

Contact Information: Susan Tripp, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 664-3470, or email 

susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Mental Health Services Appendix G  
Provider Manual 

The draft Mental Health Services Provider Manual Appendix 

G is now available on the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Matthew.Richardson@DEQ.Virginia.gov
mailto:susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
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providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-

drafts/. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 

email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 
Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Nursing Facility 

Value-Based Purchasing Program 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates for Long-Term Care (12VAC30-

90). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act 

(42 USC § 1396a(a)(13)). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from the contact listed at the end of the notice. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes in this notice. Comments or inquiries may 

be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this notice 

publication to Meredith Lee, and such comments are available 

for review at the same address. Comments may also be 

submitted, in writing, on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates for 

Long-Term Care (12VAC30-90) 

In accordance with Item 304 OOO of Chapter 1289 of the 2022 

Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is being 

revised to establish a unified, value-based purchasing (VBP) 

program that includes enhanced funding for facilities that meet 

or exceed performance or improvement thresholds as 

developed, reported, and consistently measured by DMAS in 

cooperation with participating facilities. Nursing facility 

performance evaluation under the program shall prioritize 

maintenance of adequate staffing levels and avoidance of 

negative care events, such as hospital admissions and 

emergency department visits. The program may also consider 

performance evaluation in the areas of preventive care; 

utilization of home and community-based services, including 

community transitions; and other relevant domains of care. 

During the first year of this program, half of the available 

funding shall be distributed to participating nursing facilities to 

be invested in functions, staffing, and other efforts necessary 

to build their capacity to enhance the quality of care furnished 

to Medicaid members. This funding shall be administered as a 

Medicaid rate add-on. The remaining funding shall be 

allocated based on performance criteria as designated under the 

nursing facility VBP program. The amount of funding devoted 

to nursing facility quality of care investments shall be 25% of 

available funding in the second year of the program before the 

program transitions to payments based solely on nursing 

facility performance criteria in the third year of the program. 

In the third year of this program, such funds as appropriated 

for this purpose shall be fully disbursed according to the 

unified VBP arrangement to participating nursing facilities that 

qualify for the enhanced funding. 

The department shall convene the stakeholders no less often 

than annually through at least the first two years of the program 

to review program progress and discuss potential 

modifications to components of the arrangement, including 

timing of enhanced payments, performance metrics, and 

threshold determinations. 

Complete details, including technical information regarding 

program eligibility, performance measures, performance 

thresholds, and payments are available on the DMAS website 

at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/about-us/value-based-

purchasing/ and will be effective beginning July 1, 2022. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$166,715 in state general funds, $458 in special funds, and 

$218,039 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 

email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 

Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - 2022 Institutional 
Provider Reimbursement Changes 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates; Inpatient Hospital Care 

(12VAC30-70) and Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates for Long-Term Care (12VAC30-90). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 

§ 1396a(a)(13)). A copy of this notice is available for public 

review from the contact listed at the end of this notice. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes in this notice. Comments or inquiries may 

be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this notice 

publication to Meredith Lee, and such comments are available 

for review at the same address. Comments may also be 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionView/3824/GeneralNotices/generalnotice.cfm
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/about-us/value-based-purchasing/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/about-us/value-based-purchasing/
mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
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submitted, in writing, on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; 

Inpatient Hospital Care (12VAC30-70) 

1. In accordance with Item 304 BBBB of Chapter 1289 of the 

2022 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is 

being revised to adjust the formula for indirect medical 

education (IME) reimbursement for managed care discharges 

for freestanding children's hospitals with greater than 50% 

Medicaid utilization in 2009 by increasing the case mix 

adjustment factor to the greater of 3.2962 or the most recent 

rebasing. Total payments for IME in combination with other 

payments for freestanding children's hospitals with greater 

than 50% Medicaid utilization in 2009 may not exceed the 

hospital’s Medicaid costs. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$1,009,781 in state general funds and $1,029,665 in federal 

funds in federal fiscal year 2022. 

2. In accordance with Item 304 B(5) of Chapter 1289 of the 

2022 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is 

being revised to clarify any hospitals acquired by or that 

become fully-owned by designated Type One hospitals shall 

be considered Type Two facilities for reimbursement including 

indirect medical education payments, graduate medical 

education payments, direct medical education payments, 

disproportionate share hospital payments, hospital rate-setting 

purposes, aggregated cost settlements, and physician 

supplemental payments. Facilities acquired prior to July 1, 

2022, by Type One hospitals shall continue to be designated as 

Type One hospitals for reimbursement purposes. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in annual aggregate 

expenditures as a result of this change. 

3. In accordance with Item 304 X(2), Item 304 X(3), and Item 

304 X(4) of Chapter 1289 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, the state plan is being revised to establish 

rebasing of psychiatric residential treatment facilities (PRTF) 

rates every three years. The first rebasing of rates shall take 

effect July 1, 2023. All PRTF and addiction and rehabilitation 

treatment services (ARTS) providers that offer qualifying 

services under 12VAC30-70-418 C shall be required to submit 

cost reports as a part of rebasing. Out-of-state providers with 

more than 1,500 paid days for Virginia Medicaid members in 

the most recently completed state fiscal year shall also be 

required to submit a cost report. A rate ceiling shall be 

established based on a statewide weighted average cost per 

day. Rate ceilings shall be established independently for 

PRTFs and participating ARTS residential services. DMAS 

shall also establish inflation increases for each non-rebasing 

fiscal year for both PRTF and qualifying ARTS providers. 

Inflation rates shall be tied to the nursing facility moving 

average as established by IHS Markit (or its successor). The 

most recent four quarters will be averaged to create the PRTF 

inflation rate. Effective July 1, 2022, the department shall 

adjust PRTF rates by 8.89% to account for inflation since the 

last audited cost report of fiscal year 2018. The rate ceiling 

shall increase to $460.89 per day. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$997,923 in state general funds, $2,668 in special funds, and 

$1,057,263 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates for 

Long-Term Care (12VAC30-90) 

1. In accordance with Item 304 VV of Chapter 1289 of the 

2022 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is 

being revised to establish a new direct and indirect care peer 

group for nursing facilities operating with at least 80% of the 

resident population having one or more of the following 

diagnoses: quadriplegia, traumatic brain injury, multiple 

sclerosis, paraplegia, or cerebral palsy. In addition, a 

qualifying facility must have at least 90% Medicaid utilization 

and a case mix index of 1.15 or higher in fiscal year 2014. The 

department shall utilize the data from the most recent rebasing 

to make this change effective for fiscal year 2023 and 

subsequent rate years until this change is incorporated into the 

next scheduled rebasing. This change shall not affect rates 

established in the most recent rebasing for facilities in any 

other direct and indirect care peer groups. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$899,711 in state general funds and $993,238 in federal funds 

in federal fiscal year 2022. 

2. In accordance with Item 304 WW of Chapter 1289 of the 

2022 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is 

being revised to establish specialized care operating rates for 

fiscal years 2021, 2022, and 2023 by inflating the fiscal year 

2020 rates using Virginia nursing home inflation. After fiscal 

year 2023, the department shall revert to the existing 

prospective methodology. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in annual aggregate 

expenditures as a result of this change.  

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 

email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionView/3824/GeneralNotices/generalnotice.cfm
mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
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websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf


General Notices 

Volume 38, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 18, 2022  

2582 

 




