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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. Leftwich, Jr., Vice-Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven 

Popps; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade; Wren 

M. Williams. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2023 through June 2024 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

39:20 May 3, 2023 May 22, 2023 

39:21 May 17, 2023 June 5, 2023 

39:22 May 31, 2023 June 19, 2023 

39:23 June 14, 2023 July 3, 2023 

39:24 June 28, 2023 July 17, 2023 

39:25 July 12, 2023 July 31, 2023 

39:26 July 26, 2023 August 14, 2023 

40:1 August 9, 2023 August 28, 2023 

40:2 August 23, 2023 September 11, 2023 

40:3 September 6, 2023 September 25, 2023 

40:4 September 20, 2023 October 9, 2023 

40:5 October 4, 2023 October 23, 2023 

40:6 October 18, 2023 November 6, 2023 

40:7 November 1, 2023 November 20, 2023 

40:8 November 14, 2023 (Tuesday) December 4, 2023 

40:9 November 29, 2023 December 18, 2023 

40:10 December 13, 2023 January 1, 2024 

40:11 December 27, 2023 January 15, 2024 

40:12 January 10, 2024 January 29, 2024 

40:13 January 24, 2024 February 12, 2024 

40:14 February 7, 2024 February 26, 2024 

40:15 February 21, 2024 March 11, 2024 

40:16 March 6, 2024 March 25, 2024 

40:17 March 20, 2024 April 8, 2024 

40:18 April 3, 2024 April 22, 2024 

40:19 April 17, 2024 May 6, 2024 

40:20 May 1, 2024 May 20, 2024 

40:21 May 15, 2024 June 3, 2024 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-60. Small Renewable Energy 

Projects (Solar) Permit by Rule. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1197.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Joni Lam. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The following facts and 

deficiencies are submitted in response to Energix Renewable 

Energies 30-day comment period notice for the period 

November 9, 2022, through December 9, 2022, for a 15.68-

megawatt Endless Caverns North Project utility scale solar site 

in Endless Caverns (and related Endless Caverns South). This 

comment period forms part and parcel of Energix's Permit by 

Rule (PBR) application to the Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) dated October 2022. Because of Energix 

Renewable Energies' systematic abuse of the PBR process, this 

document is also a petition for DEQ to amend its existing 

regulation of solar project notices of intent (NOI). A copy of 

this PBR deficiency filing and included § 2.2-4007 of the 

Administrative Process Act petitions for new or amended 

regulations; opportunity for public comment has been filed 

with the DEQ, Governor of Virginia, the State Attorney 

General, and the petitioner's state and local representatives, as 

well as other interested parties. 

Energix subverted community stakeholder interests and did not 

properly notify DEQ by its filing of a NOI until five months 

after its simultaneous December 8, 2021, preliminary site plan 

filing and the special use permit (SUP) vote. DEQ should 

mandate that all notices of intent for solar utilities under PBR 

be filed at least three months before the mandatory public 

meeting or six months before any county board of supervisor 

vote is taken on a special use permit. "As early in the project 

development process as practicable" should be further defined 

as "and at least three months before the mandatory public 

meeting or six months before any county board of supervisor 

vote." Any refiling of notices of intent after a special use permit 

is issued should trigger a restart of the public meeting and SUP 

vote, or DEQ will not consider the SUP submitted with PBRs 

as valid. 

Energix has faced denial of permits or has been forced to 

withdraw its applications in New Kent County (New Kent 

Solar LLC, November 2022), Pulaski County (Energix Helios 

Solar LLC, October 2022), Caroline County (Energix 

Racehorse Solar, September 2022), Dinwiddie County 

(Energix Lily Pond Solar, October 2021), and Franklin 

County. It appears that Energix is trying to mislead 

communities about its record by filing materially misleading 

NOIs or filing them too late in the process to have any impact 

on permitting. DEQ should mandate that all notices of intent 

list the name of the owner-operator and the address of the 

official headquarters of the owner-operator, as opposed to 

misleading shared office space addresses. 

As in Endless Caverns, Energix appears to be inundating 

counties and DEQ with proposed solar sites and with 

misleading NOIs in order to avoid HB206 environmental 

protections, which are to commence in 2024. DEQ should flag 

for extra scrutiny Energix PBR applications that have 

misleading NOIs or that have "out of sequence" document 

chronologies in order to protect communities from 

environmental harm. 

Rockingham County stakeholders value the contribution of 

their farmers and property owners too much to allow Energix 

to hurt farmers who support repairs that DEQ has mandated. 

This PBR must fail because Energix appears to weaponize 

DEQ-mandated repair actions against innocent parties, and 

DEQ has no policies in place to protect landowners. DEQ 

should amend its administrative procedures so that operators 

of solar utilities are not allowed to financially jeopardize 

landowners cooperating with DEQ-mandated repairs. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: Based on public comment 

and staff analysis, the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality is denying the petition for rulemaking 

for the following reasons: 

1. The petition arrived during an active rulemaking to amend 

the solar PBR, and it is during that rulemaking that the 

concerns of the petitioner may be addressed, as appropriate. 

2. All entities conducting business in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission (SCC). Owners of limited liability companies can 

be identified by performing an online search through the SCC's 

Business Entity Lookup. The business record will list the 

owner's name, status (whether the entity is in good standing 

with the state), annual report filing history, and registered 

agent. 

3. DEQ does not have the authority to reject a permit 

application outright due to perceived past indiscretions by an 

applicant. Every complete permit application will be reviewed 

in accordance with the solar PBR regulation. 

Agency Contact: Susan Tripp, Renewable Energy Permit-by-

Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 

East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 664-3470, or email 

susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR23-16; Filed April 11, 2023, 4:30 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

mailto:Susan.Tripp@deq.virginia.gov
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Joseph Gianfortoni. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Physical Therapy amend its regulations to define 

"invasive procedure." The petitioner additionally requests that 

the board amend its regulations to define the "practice of pelvic 

floor therapy" as a noninvasive procedure. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on May 8, 2023. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

will open on May 8, 2023, and will close on June 7, 2023. The 

board will consider the petition and all comments in support or 

opposition at the next meeting after the close of public 

comment; currently that meeting is scheduled for August 10, 

2023. The petitioner will be notified of the board's decision 

after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, or email 

ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR23-28; Filed April 13, 2023, 2:17 p.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-80. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Qualified Mental Health Professionals. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3500, and 54.1-3505 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Kathy Johnson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that 

qualified mental health professionals (QMHPs) who are dually 

registered to work with both children and adults; who have 

been exempted from certain requirements; who hold a Master's 

Degree or higher in social work, human services, or 

psychology; and who have more than 10 years professional 

work experience in mental or behavioral health should be 

considered qualified supervisors for qualified mental health 

professional trainees. 

The petitioner also requests that those who meet the 

requirements in this petition should be able to practice 

independently. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on May 8, 2023. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

will open on May 8, 2023, and will close on June 7, 2023. The 

Board of Counseling will consider the petition and all 

comments in support or opposition at the next meeting after the 

close of public comment; that meeting is currently scheduled 

for July 21, 2023. The petitioner will be notified of the board's 

decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR23-26; Filed April 5, 2023, 1:50 p.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 1VAC30-41, Regulation for the Certification of 

Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water. The review of this 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review is to determine 

whether this regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to this regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 8, 2023, and ends May 29, 

2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Rhonda Bishton, Executive Assistant, 

Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE AND 
CANNABIS CONTROL 

VIRGINIA ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
AUTHORITY 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulations are 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 3VAC5-10, Procedural Rules for the Conduct of 

Hearings Before the Board and Its Hearing Officers; 

3VAC5-11, Public Participation Guidelines; 3VAC5-20, 

Advertising; 3VAC5-30, Tied-House; 3VAC5-40, 

Requirements for Product Approval; 3VAC5-50, Retail 

Operations; 3VAC5-60, Manufacturers and Wholesalers 

Operations; and 3VAC5-70, Other Provisions. 

The notices of intended regulatory action to amend 3VAC5-

10, 3VAC5-11, 3VAC5-20, 3VAC5-30, 3VAC5-40, 3VAC5-

50, 3VAC5-60, and 3VAC5-70, which are published in this 

issue of the Virginia Register, serve as the agency notices of 

announcement. 

Contact Information: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior 

Legal Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority, 7450 Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, 

telephone (804) 213-4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email 

latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 9VAC15-40, Small Renewable Energy Projects 

(Wind) Permit by Rule. The review of this regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The 

purpose of a periodic review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 8, 2023, and ends May 29, 

2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Susan Tripp, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 664-

3470. 

 

mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulations are 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 9VAC25-580, Underground Storage Tanks: 

Technical Standards and Corrective Action Requirements; 
and 9VAC25-590, Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 

Financial Responsibility Requirements. 

The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review 

is to determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to these regulations, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 8, 2023, and ends May 29, 

2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Renee T. Hooper, Tank Regulatory 

Programs Manager, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1352. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 12VAC5-215, Rules and Regulations Governing 

Health Data Reporting. The review of this regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The 

purpose of a periodic review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 8, 2023, and ends May 29, 

2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Kindall Bundy, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 986-5270. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-191, Background Checks for Child Welfare 

Agencies, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

October 19, 2022, to support this decision. 

The regulation meets the criteria set forth in Executive Order 

19 (2022). It provides the requirements for the protection of 

health, safety, and welfare of children and youth receiving 

services from child welfare agencies. The regulation is clearly 

written and easy to understand. The board recommends 

amending the regulation to clarify practice and align with the 

Code of Virginia. 

No complaints or comments were received concerning the 

regulation. This regulation is not complex and does not 

duplicate or conflict with any federal or state law or regulation. 

It was last evaluated in 2016, and no factors have changed that 

impact the regulation. There is no economic impact of the 

regulation on small businesses, as background checks are 

already required in the Code of Virginia. 

Contact Information: Alisa Foley, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7138. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE AND 
CANNABIS CONTROL 

VIRGINIA ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
AUTHORITY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (ABC) intends to consider amending 3VAC5-10, 

Procedural Rules for the Conduct of Hearings Before the 

Board and Its Hearing Officers. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to comprehensively review the regulation to conform 

it to current ABC processes and procedures and to clarify and 

consolidate the regulation, correcting any contradictions to the 

Code of Virginia. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 Freight 

Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-4698, 

FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7490; Filed April 13, 2023, 2:46 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (ABC) intends to consider amending 3VAC5-11, 

Public Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to comprehensively review the regulation to conform 

it to current ABC processes and procedures and to remove 

from the regulation provisions that are in statute. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 Freight 

Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-4698, 

FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7506; Filed April 13, 2023, 2:47 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (ABC) intends to consider amending 3VAC5-20, 

Advertising. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

comprehensively review the regulation to conform it to current 

ABC processes and procedures and to clarify and consolidate 

the regulation. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 Freight 

Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-4698, 

FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7508; Filed April 13, 2023, 2:48 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (ABC) intends to consider amending 3VAC5-30, 

mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
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Tied-House. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

comprehensively review the regulation to conform it to current 

ABC processes and procedures and to clarify and consolidate 

the regulation. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 Freight 

Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-4698, 

FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7509; Filed April 13, 2023, 2:49 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (ABC) intends to consider amending 3VAC5-40, 

Requirements for Product Approval. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to comprehensively review the regulation to 

conform it to current ABC processes and procedures and to 

clarify and consolidate the regulation. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7511; Filed April 13, 2023, 2:50 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (ABC) intends to consider amending 3VAC5-50, 

Retail Operations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

comprehensively review the regulation to conform it to current 

ABC processes and procedures and to clarify and consolidate 

the regulation. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 Freight 

Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-4698, 

FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7512; Filed April 13, 2023, 2:51 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (ABC) intends to consider amending 3VAC5-60, 

Manufacturers and Wholesalers Operations. The purpose 

of the proposed action is to comprehensively review the 

regulation to conform it to current ABC processes and 

procedures, to clarify and consolidate the regulation, and to 

correct references to statute. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
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regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7513; Filed April 13, 2023, 2:51 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (ABC) intends to consider amending 3VAC5-70, 

Other Provisions. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

comprehensively review the regulation to conform it to current 

ABC processes and procedures and to clarify and consolidate 

the regulation. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7514; Filed April 13, 2023, 2:53 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry intends to 

consider amending 18VAC105-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to put in place regulatory requirements mandated by 

the third enactment clause of Chapters 16 and 17 of the 2022 

Acts of Assembly, which require the board to promulgate 

regulations regarding annual reporting by optometrists to the 

board of certain, specified information. The changes being 

considered establish a reporting system on the board's website 

to collect the following information: (i) any disciplinary action 

taken against a person licensed by the board in another state or 

in a federal health institution or voluntary surrender of a license 

in another state while under investigation; (ii) any malpractice 

judgment against a person licensed by the board; (iii) any 

settlement of a malpractice claim against a person licensed by 

the board; and (iv) any evidence that indicates a reasonable 

belief that a person licensed by the board is or may be 

professionally incompetent, has or may have engaged in 

intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely to cause 

injury to a patient, has or may have engaged in unprofessional 

conduct, or may be mentally or physically unable to engage 

safely in the practice of optometry. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 

of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 527-4471, or 

email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7539; Filed April 10, 2023, 10:54 a.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea Bass 

(amending 4VAC20-950-45). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, 

Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 

247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish season dates for the 2023 

recreational black sea bass fishery. 

4VAC20-950-45. Recreational possession limits and 

seasons. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook-and-line, 

rod and reel, spear, gig, or other recreational gear to possess more 

than 15 black sea bass. When fishing from a recreational vessel 

where the entire catch is held in a common hold or container, the 

possession limit shall be for that vessel and shall be equal to the 

number of persons on board legally licensed to fish, multiplied by 

15. The captain or operator of the vessel shall be responsible for 

that vessel possession limit. Any black sea bass taken after the 

possession limit has been reached shall be returned to the water 

immediately. 

B. Possession of any quantity of black sea bass that exceeds the 

possession limit described in subsection A of this section shall be 

presumed to be for commercial purposes. 

C. The open recreational fishing season shall be from May 15 

through December 11 July 6 and August 9 through December 31. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally to 

take, catch, or possess any black sea bass, except during an open 

recreational season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7524; Filed April 25, 2023, 3:23 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control (amending 12VAC5-90-10, 

12VAC5-90-80, 12VAC5-90-90, 12VAC5-90-103, 12VAC5-

90-107, 12VAC5-90-140, 12VAC5-90-215, 12VAC5-90-225, 

12VAC5-90-280, 12VAC5-90-370). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-35, and 32.1-42 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7298, or 

email kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Health is authorized by § 32.1-12 of 

the Code of Virginia to adopt such regulations as are necessary 

to carry out provisions of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia 

and other laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

board, the State Health Commissioner, or the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH). Section 32.1-35 of the Code of 

Virginia directs the board to promulgate regulations specifying 

which diseases occurring in the Commonwealth are to be 

reportable and the method by which they are to be reported. 

Section 32.1-42 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

to promulgate regulations and orders to prevent a potential 

emergency caused by a disease dangerous to public health. 

Purpose: The proposed changes are essential to protect the 

health and safety of citizens because the changes will improve 

the ability of VDH to conduct surveillance and implement 

disease control for conditions of public health concern. The 

changes will position VDH to better detect and respond to 

these illnesses to protect the health of the public. 

Substance: Amendments to current regulation will (i) add, 

remove, and update definitions to enhance clarity; (ii) specify 

new timelines for submission of isolates or specimens for state 

public health laboratory testing; (iii) remove the list of isolates 

or specimens that must be forwarded for public health 

laboratory testing from 12VAC5-90-90 in this amendment 

because the list was added to 12VAC5-90-80 in another 

regulatory action; (iv) remove the requirement that physicians 

and directors of medical care facilities submit weekly counts 

of cases of influenza; (v) replace reporting by way of the Epi-

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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1 form with reporting through VDH's online morbidity 

reporting portal; (vi) add language that states that if a 

laboratory ascertains that the reference laboratory that tests a 

specimen reports to VDH electronically, then those reference 

laboratory findings do not need to be reported by the laboratory 

of origin; (vii) add language that clarifies that if a facility 

director reports on behalf of the laboratory, the laboratory is 

still responsible for submitting isolates or specimens for public 

health testing unless the laboratory has submitted an exemption 

request that has been approved by the department, thereby 

providing a process for opting out of the specimen forwarding 

requirement; (viii) remove language referencing the 

commissioner's role in enforcement of isolation and quarantine 

because it has been removed from the Code of Virginia; (ix) 

modify language to refer only to medications that are available 

in the United States for the treatment of ophthalmia 

neonatorum; (x) clarify that confirmatory testing is not 

required for blood lead levels that are below the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reference range on 

screening test; (xi) limit the reporting of select agents to only 

an annual report and those scenarios in which such agents are 

released, lost, or stolen; and (xii) require that health care 

facilities share with VDH any data they supply to CDC as a 

result of a requirement of the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services and not limited to the Hospital Inpatient 

Quality Reporting Program of that agency 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public are the improved 

ability of the agency to control the risk of disease in the 

community based on timelier reporting through VDH's online 

morbidity reporting portal as well as removing the requirement 

to report weekly influenza counts or to report routine, 

nonemergency changes in select agent inventory. No 

disadvantages have been identified. 

The primary advantage to the agency is that the proposed 

changes improve the focus of surveillance and ability of VDH 

to conduct surveillance and implement disease control for 

conditions of public health concern in a timely manner. The 

changes will position the agency to better detect and respond 

to these illnesses to protect the health of the public. No 

disadvantages have been identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to: 1) reduce the 

required time within which laboratories must submit 

specimens to the Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services 

when specified diseases are detected, 2) amend the frequency 

of influenza reporting, 3) require laboratories to submit results 

of tests for tuberculosis infection, 4) change the required 

method of reporting morbidity (electronic rather than paper), 

5) eliminate redundant reporting, 6) amend one of the criteria 

for testing a child's blood level, and 7) make several clarifying 

amendments. 

Background. The Regulations for Disease Reporting and 

Control provide information about the process and procedures 

for reporting diseases to the Virginia Department of Health 

(VDH), including what diseases must be reported, who must 

report them and other details related to reporting and disease 

control. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Under the current regulation, 

when a laboratory identifies evidence of any of numerous 

conditions listed in the regulation, it must submit the initial 

isolate (preferred) or other initial specimen to the Division of 

Consolidated Laboratory Services within seven days of 

identification. The Board proposes to instead require that the 

initial isolate be submitted within five days or the clinical 

specimen within two days of a positive result. 

Under the current regulation, each individual case of influenza 

does not need to be reported to VDH (only the number of 

cases). Under the proposed regulation, each individual 

confirmed case of influenza would need to be reported to VDH. 

The Board also proposes to newly require that laboratories 

submit results of tests for tuberculosis infection. VDH does not 

believe that this will require significant additional staff time. 

As the majority of major hospital systems and commercial labs 

in Virginia report to VDH electronically, these systems would 

need to update their algorithm to include results of tests for 

tuberculosis infection in the reports that they send. 

These three proposed changes are moderately more 

burdensome for regulated entities, but enable VDH to more 

quickly be aware of disease outbreaks and to take appropriate 

action. 

The Board proposes to change the required method of reporting 

morbidity from paper to electronic. According to VDH, the 

time required to complete a report through their electronic 

portal is comparable to that required to complete the paper 

form. Reporters are able to save time and money as entering 

into the portal removes the need to mail the paper form. 

The current regulation requires that laboratory directors report 

any laboratory examination of any clinical specimen, whether 

performed in-house or referred to a reference laboratory, which 

yields evidence, by the laboratory method(s) indicated or any 

other confirmatory test, of diseases specified in the regulation. 

The Board proposes to no longer require that the director of the 

laboratory of origin report to VDH if the laboratory director 

ascertains that the reference laboratory that tests a specimen 

reports to VDH electronically. This would save staff time for 

the laboratory of origin, and have no negative impact. 

The Regulations for Disease Reporting and Control state that 

every child shall be tested to determine the blood lead level at 

12 months and 24 months of age if the health care provider 

determines that the child meets any of the criteria listed in the 

regulation. Additionally, children 25 months through 72 

months of age who present for medical care and meet any of 

the specified criteria shall also be tested if they have either not 

previously been tested for blood lead level or were previously 

tested but experienced a change since testing that has resulted 
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in an increased risk of lead exposure. One of the criteria under 

the current regulation is "The child is living in or regularly 

visiting a house, apartment, dwelling, structure, or child care 

facility built before 1960." The Board proposes to replace 

"1960" with "1950." According to VDH, this change is based 

upon the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's 

determination that it is the homes built before 1950 that have 

high lead risk. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments potentially affect the 654 medical laboratories, 

4,471 physician offices, 188 hospitals, 291 nursing homes, 184 

assisted living facilities, and correctional facilities in Virginia, 

as well as the directors of these facilities, physicians, and 

administrative staff.2 To the extent that the proposed 

amendments improve public health, all citizens of the 

Commonwealth are potentially affected. 

The proposals to reduce the required time within which 

laboratories must submit specimens, and to newly require that 

laboratories submit results of tests for tuberculosis infection, 

would moderately increase costs for labs. The proposal to 

require that each individual confirmed case of influenza be 

reported would moderately increase costs for physician offices 

and other medical facilities. The proposal to change the 

required method of reporting morbidity from paper to 

electronic would save reporting entities time and money as 

entering into the portal removes the need to mail the paper 

form. The proposal to no longer require that the director of the 

laboratory of origin report to VDH if the laboratory director 

ascertains that the reference laboratory that tests a specimen 

reports to VDH electronically would save staff time for the 

laboratory of origin. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments potentially 

affect all localities, and are not known to disproportionally 

affect particular localities. To the extent that some of the 

affected entities may be associated with local governments, the 

proposed amendments that affect costs, either positively or 

negatively as described above, would affect local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to substantially affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not substantially affect the use and value of 

private property. The proposed amendments do not affect real 

estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.5 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposed amendments potentially affect the 651 small 

medical laboratories, 4,466 small physician offices, 134 small 

hospitals, 290 small nursing homes, 180 small assisted living 

facilities, and correctional facilities in the Commonwealth, as 

well as the directors of these facilities, physicians, and 

administrative staff.6 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposals to reduce the required 

time within which laboratories must submit specimens, and to 

newly require that laboratories submit results of tests for 

tuberculosis infection, would moderately increase costs for 

small labs. The proposal to require that each individual 

confirmed case of influenza be reported would moderately 

increase costs for small physician offices and other small 

medical facilities. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

_____________________________ 
2Data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 
5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

6Data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health agrees with the findings of the 

economic impact analysis (EIA), with one clarification. The 

EIA prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget states 

that "Under the proposed regulation, each individual confirmed 

case of influenza with individual specific information would 

need to be reported to the local health department." VDH 

would like to clarify that is only intended for laboratory-

confirmed tests, which would not include rapid point-of-care 

influenza tests such as those conducted in many physician 

offices; therefore, the burden on providers is expected to be 

minimal, as many conduct rapid influenza tests. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include (i) updating and 

clarifying terms and definitions; (ii) specifying new 

timelines for the submission of isolates or specimens for 

state public health laboratory testing; (iii) removing the list 

of isolates or specimens that must be forwarded for public 

health laboratory testing from 12VAC5-90-90 to avoid 

redundancy with 12VAC5-90-80; (iv) removing the 

requirement to report weekly counts of influenza diagnoses; 

(v) establishing morbidity reporting through the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH) online reporting portal instead 

of reporting by way of the Form Epi-1, Confidentiality 

Morbidity Report; (vi) providing that reference laboratory 

findings do not need to be reported by the laboratory of 

origin if the laboratory ascertains that the reference 

laboratory reports to VDH electronically; (vii) clarifying 

that if a facility director reports on behalf of the laboratory, 

the laboratory is still responsible for submitting isolates or 

specimens for public health testing unless the laboratory has 

submitted an exemption request that has been approved by 
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the department; (viii) referring only to medications that are 

available in the United States for the treatment of 

ophthalmia neonatorum; (ix) clarifying that confirmatory 

testing is not required for blood lead levels that are below 

the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 

reference range on screening test; (x) limiting the reporting 

of select agents to only an annual report and those scenarios 

in which such agents are released, lost, or stolen; and (xi) 

requiring that health care facilities share with VDH data 

supplied to CDC due as a result of a requirement of the U.S. 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and not limited 

to the Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting Program of that 

agency.  

This action was originally submitted as a fast-track 

rulemaking action in 2019 that received more than 10 

comments objecting to the use of the fast-track rulemaking 

process. The majority of commenters objected to the 

Virginia Department of Health receiving reports, which 

include personal information, of their influenza data. This 

action does not add any influenza reporting requirements. 

Instead, this amendment will strike "influenza should be 

reported by number of cases only (and type of influenza, if 

available)" to clarify that only confirmed influenza cases are 

required to be reported. 

12VAC5-90-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Affected area" means any part or the whole of the 

Commonwealth, which has been identified as where persons 

reside, or may be located, who are known to have been exposed 

to or infected with, or who are reasonably suspected to have 

been exposed to or infected with, a communicable disease of 

public health threat. "Affected area" shall include, but not be 

limited to, cities, counties, towns, and subsections of such 

areas, public and private property, buildings, and other 

structures. 

"Arboviral infection" means a viral illness that is transmitted 

by a mosquito, tick, or other arthropod. This includes, but is 

not limited to, chikungunya (CHIK), dengue, eastern equine 

encephalitis (EEE), LaCrosse encephalitis (LAC), also known 

as California encephalitis, St. Louis encephalitis (SLE), West 

Nile virus (WNV), and Zika virus (Zika) infection. 

"Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"Cancer" means all carcinomas, sarcomas, melanomas, 

leukemias, and lymphomas excluding localized basal and 

squamous cell carcinomas of the skin, except for lesions of the 

mucous membranes. 

"CDC" means the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 

"Child care center" means a child day center, child day 

program, family day home, family day system, or registered 

family day home as defined by § 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia, or a similar place providing day care of children by 

such other name as may be applied. 

"Clinic" means any facility, freestanding or associated with a 

hospital, that provides preventive, diagnostic, therapeutic, 

rehabilitative, or palliative care or services to outpatients. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner or his 

the State Health Commissioner's duly designated officer or 

agent, unless stated in a provision of this chapter that it applies 

to the State Health Commissioner in his the State Health 

Commissioner's sole discretion. 

"Communicable disease" means an illness due to an 

infectious agent or its toxic products which that is transmitted, 

directly or indirectly, to a susceptible host from an infected 

person, animal, or arthropod or through the agency of an 

intermediate host or a vector or through the inanimate 

environment. 

"Communicable disease of public health significance" means 

an illness caused by a specific or suspected infectious agent 

that may be transmitted directly or indirectly from one 

individual to another. This includes but is not limited to 

infections caused by human immunodeficiency viruses, 

bloodborne pathogens, and tubercle bacillus. The State Health 

Commissioner may determine that diseases caused by other 

pathogens constitute communicable diseases of public health 

significance. 

"Communicable disease of public health threat" means an 

illness of public health significance, as determined by the State 

Health Commissioner in accordance with this chapter, caused 

by a specific or suspected infectious agent that may be 

reasonably expected or is known to be readily transmitted 

directly or indirectly from one individual to another and has 

been found to create a risk of death or significant injury or 

impairment; this definition shall not, however, be construed to 

include human immunodeficiency viruses or the tubercle 

bacilli, unless used as a bioterrorism weapon. 

"Companion animal" means, consistent with the provisions of 

§ 3.2-6500 of the Code of Virginia, any domestic or feral dog, 

domestic or feral cat, nonhuman primate, guinea pig, hamster, 

rabbit not raised for human food or fiber, exotic or native 

animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, or any feral animal or any 

animal under the care, custody, or ownership of a person or any 

animal that is bought, sold, traded, or bartered by any person. 

Agricultural animals, game species, or any animals regulated 

under federal law as research animals shall not be considered 

companion animals for the purpose of this chapter. 

"Condition" means any adverse health event, such as a 

disease, an infection, a syndrome, or as indicated by a 

procedure (, including but not limited to the results of a 

physical exam, laboratory test, or imaging interpretation), 
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suggesting that an exposure of public health importance has 

occurred. 

"Contact" means a person or animal known to have been in 

such association with an infected person or animal as to have 

had an opportunity of acquiring the infection. 

"Contact services" means a broad array of services that are 

offered to persons with infectious diseases and their contacts. 

Contact services include contact tracing, providing 

information about current infections, developing risk reduction 

plans to reduce the chances of future infections, and connecting 

to appropriate medical care and other services. 

"Contact tracing" means the process by which an infected 

person or health department employee notifies others that they 

may have been exposed to the infected person in a manner 

known to transmit the infectious agent in question. 

"Coronavirus infection, severe" means suspected or 

confirmed infection with severe acute respiratory syndrome 

(SARS)-associated coronavirus (SARS-CoV), Middle East 

respiratory syndrome (MERS)-associated coronavirus 

(MERS-CoV), or another coronavirus causing a severe acute 

illness. 

"Decontamination" means the use of physical or chemical 

means to remove, inactivate, or destroy hazardous substances 

or organisms from a person, surface, or item to the point that 

such substances or organisms are no longer capable of causing 

adverse health effects and the surface or item is rendered safe 

for handling, use, or disposal. 

"Department" means the State Department of Health, also 

referred to as the Virginia Department of Health (VDH). 

"Designee" or "designated officer or agent" means any 

person, or group of persons, designated by the State Health 

Commissioner, to act on behalf of the commissioner or the 

board. 

"Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis" means human infections caused 

by Ehrlichia chaffeensis (formerly included in the category 

"human monocytic ehrlichiosis" or "HME"), Ehrlichia ewingii 

or Anaplasma phagocytophilum (formerly included in the 

category "human granulocytic ehrlichiosis" or "HGE"). 

"Epidemic" means the occurrence in a community or region 

of cases of an illness clearly in excess of normal expectancy. 

"Essential needs" means basic human needs for sustenance, 

including but not limited to food, water, clothing, and health 

care (e.g., medications, therapies, testing, and durable medical 

equipment). 

"Exceptional circumstances" means the presence, as 

determined by the commissioner in his the commissioner's sole 

discretion, of one or more factors that may affect the ability of 

the department to effectively control a communicable disease 

of public health threat. Factors to be considered include but are 

not limited to: (i) characteristics or suspected characteristics of 

the disease-causing organism or suspected disease-causing 

organism such as virulence, routes of transmission, minimum 

infectious dose, rapidity of disease spread, the potential for 

extensive disease spread, and the existence and availability of 

demonstrated effective treatment; (ii) known or suspected risk 

factors for infection; (iii) the potential magnitude of the effect 

of the disease on the health and welfare of the public; and (iv) 

the extent of voluntary compliance with public health 

recommendations. The determination of exceptional 

circumstances by the commissioner may take into account the 

experience or results of investigation in Virginia, another state, 

or another country. 

"Foodborne outbreak" means two or more cases of a similar 

illness acquired through the consumption of food contaminated 

with chemicals or an infectious agent or its toxic products. 

Such illnesses include but are not limited to heavy metal 

intoxication, staphylococcal food poisoning, botulism, 

salmonellosis, shigellosis, Clostridium perfringens food 

poisoning, hepatitis A, and Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 

coli infection. 

"Healthcare-associated "Health care-associated infection" 

(also known as nosocomial infection) means a localized or 

systemic condition resulting from an adverse reaction to the 

presence of an infectious agent or agents or its toxin or toxins 

that (i) occurs in a patient in a health care setting facility (e.g., 

a hospital medical care facility or outpatient clinic), and (ii) 

was not found to be present or incubating at the time of 

admission unless the infection was related to a previous 

admission to the same setting, and (iii) if the setting is a 

hospital, meets the criteria for a specific infection site as 

defined by CDC. 

"Hepatitis C, acute" means the following clinical 

characteristics are met: (i) discrete onset of symptoms 

indicative of viral hepatitis and (ii) jaundice or elevated serum 

aminotransferase levels and the following laboratory criteria 

are met: (a) serum alanine aminotransferase levels (ALT) 

greater than 200 IU/L; (b) IgM anti-HAV negative (if done); 

(c) IgM anti-HBc negative (if done); and (d) hepatitis C virus 

antibody (anti-HCV) positive, HCV antigen positive, or HCV 

RNA positive by nucleic acid test. 

"Hepatitis C, chronic" means that the laboratory criteria 

specified in clauses (b), (c) and (d) listed above for an acute 

case are met but clinical signs or symptoms of acute viral 

hepatitis are not present and serum alanine aminotransferase 

(ALT) levels do not exceed 200 IU/L. This category will 

include cases that may be acutely infected but not 

symptomatic. 

"Immunization" means a procedure that increases the 

protective response of an individual's immune system to 

specified pathogens. 

"Independent pathology laboratory" means a nonhospital or a 

hospital laboratory performing surgical pathology, including 
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fine needle aspiration biopsy and bone marrow specimen 

examination services, which that reports the results of such 

tests directly to physician offices, without reporting to a 

hospital or accessioning the information into a hospital tumor 

registry. 

"Individual" means a person or companion animal. When the 

context requires it, "person or persons" shall be deemed to 

include any individual. 

"Infection" means the entry and multiplication or persistence 

of a disease-causing organism (prion, virus, bacteria, fungus, 

parasite, or ectoparasite) in the body of an individual. An 

infection may be inapparent (i.e., without recognizable signs or 

symptoms but identifiable by laboratory means) or manifest 

(clinically apparent). 

"Influenza A, novel virus" means infection of a human with 

an influenza A virus subtype that is different from currently 

circulating human influenza H1 and H3 viruses. Novel 

subtypes include H2, H5, H7, and H9 subtypes or influenza H1 

and H3 subtypes originating from a nonhuman species or from 

genetic reassortment of human and animal influenza viruses. 

"Invasive" means the organism is affecting a normally sterile 

site, including but not limited to blood or cerebrospinal fluid. 

"Investigation" means an inquiry into the incidence, 

prevalence, extent, source, mode of transmission, causation of, 

and other information pertinent to a disease occurrence. 

"Isolation" means the physical separation, including 

confinement or restriction of movement, of an individual or 

individuals who are infected with, or are reasonably suspected 

to be infected with, a communicable disease in order to prevent 

or limit the transmission of the communicable disease to 

uninfected and unexposed individuals. 

"Isolation, complete" means the full-time confinement or 

restriction of movement of an individual or individuals 

infected with, or reasonably suspected to be infected with, a 

communicable disease in order to prevent or limit the 

transmission of the communicable disease to uninfected and 

unexposed individuals. 

"Isolation, modified" means a selective, partial limitation of 

freedom of movement or actions of an individual or individuals 

infected with, or reasonably suspected to be infected with, a 

communicable disease. Modified isolation is designed to meet 

particular situations and includes but is not limited to the 

exclusion of children from school, the prohibition or restriction 

from engaging in a particular occupation or using public or 

mass transportation, or requirements for the use of devices or 

procedures intended to limit disease transmission. 

"Isolation, protective" means the physical separation of a 

susceptible individual or individuals not infected with, or not 

reasonably suspected to be infected with, a communicable 

disease from an environment where transmission is occurring, 

or is reasonably suspected to be occurring, in order to prevent 

the individual or individuals from acquiring the communicable 

disease. 

"Laboratory" means a clinical laboratory that examines 

materials derived from the human body for the purpose of 

providing information on the diagnosis, prevention, or 

treatment of disease. 

"Laboratory director" means any person in charge of 

supervising a laboratory conducting business in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Law-enforcement agency" means any sheriff's office, police 

department, adult or youth correctional officer, or other agency 

or department that employs persons who have law-

enforcement authority that is under the direction and control of 

the Commonwealth or any local governing body. "Law-

enforcement agency" shall include, by order of the Governor, 

the Virginia National Guard. 

"Lead, reportable levels" means any detectable blood lead 

level in children 15 years of age and younger and levels greater 

than or equal to 5 μg/dL in a person older than 15 years of age. 

"Least restrictive" means the minimal limitation of the 

freedom of movement and communication of an individual 

while under an order of isolation or an order of quarantine that 

also effectively protects unexposed and susceptible individuals 

from disease transmission. 

"Medical care facility" means any hospital or nursing home 

licensed in the Commonwealth, or any hospital operated by or 

contracted to operate by an entity of the United States 

government or the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Midwife" means any person who is licensed as a nurse 

midwife by the Virginia Boards of Nursing and Medicine or 

who is licensed by the Board of Medicine as a certified 

professional midwife. 

"National Healthcare Safety Network" or "NHSN" means a 

surveillance system created by the CDC for accumulating, 

exchanging, and integrating relevant information on infectious 

adverse events associated with health care delivery. 

"Nucleic acid detection" means laboratory testing of a clinical 

specimen to determine the presence of deoxyribonucleic acid 

(DNA) or ribonucleic acid (RNA) specific for an infectious 

agent using any method, including hybridization, sequencing, 

or amplification such as polymerase chain reaction. 

"Nurse" means any person licensed as a professional nurse or 

as a licensed practical nurse by the Virginia Board of Nursing. 

"Occupational outbreak" means a cluster of illness or disease 

that is indicative of a work-related exposure. Such conditions 

include but are not limited to silicosis, asbestosis, byssinosis, 

pneumoconiosis, and tuberculosis. 

"Outbreak" means the occurrence of more cases of a disease 

than expected. 
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"Period of communicability" means the time or times during 

which the etiologic agent may be transferred directly or 

indirectly from an infected person to another person, or from 

an infected animal to a person. 

"Physician" means any person licensed to practice medicine 

or osteopathy by the Virginia Board of Medicine. 

"Quarantine" means the physical separation, including 

confinement or restriction of movement, of an individual or 

individuals who are present within an affected area or who are 

known to have been exposed, or may reasonably be suspected 

to have been exposed, to a communicable disease and who do 

not yet show signs or symptoms of infection with the 

communicable disease in order to prevent or limit the 

transmission of the communicable disease of public health 

threat to unexposed and uninfected individuals. 

"Quarantine, complete" means the full-time confinement or 

restriction of movement of an individual or individuals who do 

not have signs or symptoms of infection but may have been 

exposed, or may reasonably be suspected to have been 

exposed, to a communicable disease of public health threat in 

order to prevent the transmission of the communicable disease 

of public health threat to uninfected individuals. 

"Quarantine, modified" means a selective, partial limitation 

of freedom of movement or actions of an individual or 

individuals who do not have signs or symptoms of the infection 

but have been exposed to, or are reasonably suspected to have 

been exposed to, a communicable disease of public health 

threat. Modified quarantine may be designed to meet particular 

situations and includes but is not limited to limiting movement 

to the home, work, or one or more other locations, the 

prohibition or restriction from using public or mass 

transportation, or requirements for the use of devices or 

procedures intended to limit disease transmission. 

"Reportable disease" means an illness due to a specific toxic 

substance, occupational exposure, or infectious agent, which 

that affects a susceptible individual, either directly, as from an 

infected animal or person, or indirectly through an intermediate 

host, vector, or the environment, as determined by the board. 

"School" means (i) any public school from kindergarten 

through grade 12 operated under the authority of any locality 

within the Commonwealth,; (ii) any private or religious school 

that offers instruction at any level or grade from kindergarten 

through grade 12; and (iii) any private or religious nursery 

school or preschool, or any private or religious child care 

center required to be licensed by the Commonwealth. 

"Serology" means the testing of blood, serum, or other body 

fluids for the presence of antibodies or other markers of an 

infection or disease process. 

"Surveillance" means the ongoing systematic collection, 

analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use in 

the planning, implementation, and evaluation of public health 

practice. A surveillance system includes the functional 

capacity for data analysis as well as the timely dissemination 

of these data to persons who can undertake effective prevention 

and control activities. 

"Susceptible individual" means a person or animal who is 

vulnerable to or potentially able to contract a disease or 

condition. Factors that affect an individual's susceptibility 

include but are not limited to physical characteristics, genetics, 

previous or chronic exposures, chronic conditions or 

infections, immunization history, or use of medications. 

"Toxic substance" means any substance, including any raw 

materials, intermediate products, catalysts, final products, or 

by-products of any manufacturing operation conducted in a 

commercial establishment, that has the capacity, through its 

physical, chemical, or biological properties, to pose a 

substantial risk of death or impairment either immediately or 

over time, to the normal functions of humans, aquatic 

organisms, or any other animal but not including any 

pharmaceutical preparation, which deliberately or 

inadvertently is consumed in such a way as to result in a drug 

overdose. 

"Tubercle bacilli" means disease-causing organisms 

belonging to the Mycobacterium tuberculosis complex and 

includes Mycobacterium tuberculosis, Mycobacterium 

africanum, Mycobacterium bovis, and Mycobacterium 

africanum Mycobacterium canetti, Mycobacterium microti, 

Mycobacterium caprae, or other members as may be 

established by the commissioner. 

"Tuberculin skin test (TST)" means a test for demonstrating 

infection with tubercle bacilli, performed according to the 

Mantoux method, in which 0.1 ml of 5 TU strength tuberculin 

purified protein derivative (PPD) is injected intradermally on 

the volar surface of the arm. Any reaction is observed 48-72 

hours after placement and palpable induration is measured 

across the diameter transverse to the long axis of the arm. The 

measurement of the indurated area is recorded in millimeters 

and the significance of the measured induration is based on 

existing national and department guidelines. 

"Tuberculosis" means a disease caused by tubercle bacilli. 

"Tuberculosis, active disease" (also "active tuberculosis 

disease" and "active TB disease"), as defined by § 32.1-49.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, means a communicable disease caused 

by an airborne microorganism and characterized by the 

presence of either (i) a specimen of sputum or other bodily 

fluid or tissue that has been found to contain tubercle bacilli as 

evidenced by culture or nucleic acid amplification, including 

preliminary identification by rapid methodologies; (ii) a 

specimen of sputum or other bodily fluid or tissue that is 

suspected to contain tubercle bacilli as evidenced by smear, 

and where sufficient clinical and radiographic evidence of 

active tuberculosis disease is present as determined by a 

physician licensed to practice medicine in Virginia; or (iii) 
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sufficient clinical and radiographic evidence of active 

tuberculosis disease as determined by the commissioner is 

present, but a specimen of sputum or other bodily fluid or 

tissue containing, or suspected of containing, tubercle bacilli is 

unobtainable. 

"Tuberculosis infection in children age <4 years" means a 

significant reaction resulting from a tuberculin skin test (TST) 

or other approved test for latent infection without positive 

result from a test for tuberculosis infection without clinical or 

radiographic other evidence of active tuberculosis disease, in 

children from birth up to their fourth birthday. 

"Vaccinia, disease or adverse event" means vaccinia infection 

or serious or unexpected events in persons who received the 

smallpox vaccine or their contacts, including but not limited to 

bacterial infections, eczema vaccinatum, erythema multiforme, 

generalized vaccinia, progressive vaccinia, inadvertent 

inoculation, post-vaccinial encephalopathy or 

encephalomyelitis, ocular vaccinia, and fetal vaccinia. 

"Waterborne outbreak" means two or more cases of a similar 

illness acquired through the ingestion of or other exposure to 

water contaminated with chemicals or an infectious agent or its 

toxic products. Such illnesses include but are not limited to 

giardiasis, viral gastroenteritis, cryptosporidiosis, hepatitis A, 

cholera, and shigellosis. A single case of laboratory-confirmed 

primary amebic meningoencephalitis or of waterborne 

chemical poisoning is considered an outbreak. 

12VAC5-90-80. Lists of diseases that shall be reported. 

A. Reportable disease list. The board declares suspected or 

confirmed cases of the following named diseases, toxic effects, 

and conditions to be reportable by the persons enumerated in 

12VAC5-90-90. Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) 

require immediate communication to the local health 

department by the most rapid means available upon suspicion 

or confirmation, as defined in subsection C of this section. 

Other conditions should be reported within three days of 

suspected or confirmed diagnosis, unless otherwise specified 

in this section. Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome shall be 

reported as specified in subsection E of this section. 

Coronavirus disease 2019 (SARS-CoV-2) shall be reported as 

specified in subsection I of the section. 

Amebiasis (Entamoeba histolytica) 

*Anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) 

Arboviral infections (e.g., CHIK, dengue, EEE, LAC, SLE, 

WNV, Zika) 

Babesiosis (Babesia spp.) 

*Botulism (Clostridium botulinum) 

*Brucellosis (Brucella spp.) 

Campylobacteriosis (Campylobacter spp.) 

Candida auris, infection or colonization 

Carbapenemase-producing organism, infection or 

colonization 

Chancroid (Haemophilus ducreyi) 

Chickenpox (Varicella virus) 

Chlamydia trachomatis infection 

*Cholera (Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139) 

*Coronavirus infection, severe (e.g., SARS-CoV, MERS-

CoV) 

Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2) 

Cryptosporidiosis (Cryptosporidium spp.) 

Cyclosporiasis (Cyclospora spp.) 

*Diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) 

*Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon 

Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis (Ehrlichia spp., Anaplasma 

phagocytophilum) 

Giardiasis (Giardia spp.) 

Gonorrhea (Neisseria gonorrhoeae) 

Granuloma inguinale (Calymmatobacterium granulomatis) 

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome 

Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS) 

*Hepatitis A 

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic) 

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic) 

Hepatitis, other acute viral 

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection 

Influenza, confirmed 

*Influenza-associated deaths if younger than 18 years of age 

Lead, blood levels 

Legionellosis (Legionella spp.) 

Leprosy (Hansen's disease) (Mycobacterium leprae) 

Leptospirosis (Leptospira interrogans) 

Listeriosis (Listeria monocytogenes) 

Lyme disease (Borrelia spp.) 

Lymphogranuloma venereum (Chlamydia trachomatis) 

Malaria (Plasmodium spp.) 

*Measles (Rubeola) 
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*Meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis) 

Mumps 

Neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS) 

Ophthalmia neonatorum 

*Outbreaks, all (including foodborne, health care-

associated, occupational, toxic substance-related, 

waterborne, and any other outbreak) 

*Pertussis (Bordetella pertussis) 

*Plague (Yersinia pestis) 

*Poliovirus infection, including poliomyelitis 

*Psittacosis (Chlamydophila psittaci) 

*Q fever (Coxiella burnetii) 

*Rabies, human and animal 

Rabies treatment, post-exposure 

*Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome 

Salmonellosis (Salmonella spp.) 

Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli infection 

Shigellosis (Shigella spp.) 

*Smallpox (Variola virus) 

Spotted fever rickettsiosis (Rickettsia spp.) 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive or toxic shock 

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive if younger 

than five years of age 

Syphilis (Treponema pallidum) report *congenital, 

*primary, *secondary, and other 

Tetanus (Clostridium tetani) 

Toxic substance-related illness 

Trichinosis (Trichinellosis) (Trichinella spiralis) 

*Tuberculosis, active disease (Mycobacterium tuberculosis 

complex) 

Tuberculosis infection 

*Tularemia (Francisella tularensis) 

*Typhoid/Paratyphoid infection (Salmonella Typhi, 

Salmonella Paratyphi) 

*Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern 

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection 

*Vibriosis (Vibrio spp.) 

*Viral hemorrhagic fever 

*Yellow fever 

Yersiniosis (Yersinia spp.) 

B. Conditions reportable by directors of laboratories. 

Laboratories shall report all test results indicative of and 

specific for the diseases, infections, microorganisms, 

conditions, and toxic effects specified in this subsection for 

humans. Such tests include microbiological culture, isolation, 

or identification; assays for specific antibodies; and 

identification of specific antigens, toxins, or nucleic acid 

sequences. Additional condition-specific requirements are 

noted in this subsection and subsection D of this section. 

Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) require immediate 

communication to the local health department by the most 

rapid means available upon suspicion or confirmation, as 

defined in subsection C of this section. Other conditions should 

be reported within three days of suspected or confirmed 

diagnosis. 

Amebiasis (Entamoeba histolytica) 

*Anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) 

Arboviral infection, for example, CHIK, dengue, EEE, LAC, 

SLE, WNV, or Zika 

Babesiosis (Babesia spp.) 

*Botulism (Clostridium botulinum) 

*Brucellosis (Brucella spp.) 

Campylobacteriosis (Campylobacter spp.) 

Candida auris - Include available antimicrobial 

susceptibility findings in report. 

Carbapenemase-producing organism - Include available 

antimicrobial susceptibility findings in report. 

Chancroid (Haemophilus ducreyi) 

Chickenpox (Varicella virus) 

Chlamydia trachomatis infection 

*Cholera (Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139) 

*Coronavirus infection, severe (e.g., SARS-CoV, MERS-

CoV) 

Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2) 

Cryptosporidiosis (Cryptosporidium spp.) 

Cyclosporiasis (Cyclospora spp.) 

*Diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) 

Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis (Ehrlichia spp., Anaplasma 

phagocytophilum) 

Giardiasis (Giardia spp.) 
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Gonorrhea (Neisseria gonorrhoeae) - Include available 

antimicrobial susceptibility findings in report. 

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome 

*Hepatitis A 

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic) - For All hepatitis B patients, 

also report available results of serum alanine 

aminotransferase (ALT) and all available results from the 

hepatitis panel. 

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic) - For all patients with any 

positive HCV test, also report all results of HCV viral load 

tests, including undetectable viral loads and report available 

results of serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and all 

available results from the hepatitis panel. 

Hepatitis, other acute viral - Any finding indicative of acute 

infection with hepatitis D, E, or other cause of viral hepatitis. 

For any reportable hepatitis finding, submit all available 

results from the hepatitis panel. 

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection - For HIV-

infected patients, report all results of CD4 and HIV viral load 

tests, including undetectable viral loads. For HIV-infected 

patients, report all HIV genetic nucleotide sequence data 

associated with HIV drug resistance tests by electronic 

submission. For children younger than three years of age, 

report all tests regardless of the test findings (e.g., negative 

or positive). 

Influenza, confirmed- By culture, antigen detection by direct 

fluorescent antibody (DFA), or nucleic acid detection. 

Lead, blood levels - All lead results from tests of venous or 

capillary blood performed by a laboratory certified by the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in accordance 

with 42 USC § 263a, the Clinical Laboratory Improvement 

Amendment of 1988 (CLIA-certified). 

Legionellosis (Legionella spp.) 

Leptospirosis (Leptospira interrogans) 

Listeriosis (Listeria monocytogenes), invasive or if 

associated with miscarriage or stillbirth from placental or 

fetal tissue 

Lyme disease (Borrelia spp.) 

Malaria (Plasmodium spp.) 

*Measles (Rubeola) 

*Meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis), invasive - 

Include identification of gram-negative diplococci. 

Mumps 

*Mycobacterial diseases - (See 12VAC5-90-225 B) Report 

any of the following: 

1. Acid fast bacilli; 

2. M. tuberculosis complex or any other mycobacteria; or 

3. Antimicrobial susceptibility results for M. tuberculosis 

complex. 

*Pertussis (Bordetella pertussis) 

*Plague (Yersinia pestis) 

*Poliovirus infection 

*Psittacosis (Chlamydophila psittaci) 

*Q fever (Coxiella burnetii) 

*Rabies, human and animal 

*Rubella 

Salmonellosis (Salmonella spp.) 

Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli infection 

Shigellosis (Shigella spp.) 

*Smallpox (Variola virus) 

Spotted fever rickettsiosis (Rickettsia spp.) 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive or toxic shock 

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive if younger 

than five years of age 

*Syphilis (Treponema pallidum) 

Toxic substance-related illness - By blood or urine 

laboratory findings above the normal range, including heavy 

metals, pesticides, and industrial-type solvents and gases. 

When applicable and available, report speciation of metals 

when blood or urine levels are elevated in order to 

differentiate the chemical species (elemental, organic, or 

inorganic). 

Trichinosis (Trichinellosis) (Trichinella spiralis) 

Tuberculosis infection 

*Tularemia (Francisella tularensis) 

*Typhoid/Paratyphoid infection (Salmonella Typhi, 

Salmonella Paratyphi A, Salmonella Paratyphi B, 

Salmonella Paratyphi C) 

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection - Include available 

antimicrobial susceptibility findings in report. 

*Vibriosis (Vibrio spp., Photobacterium damselae, 

Grimontia hollisae), other than toxigenic Vibrio cholera O1 

or O139, which are reportable as cholera 

*Viral hemorrhagic fever 

*Yellow fever 
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Yersiniosis (Yersinia spp.) 

C. Reportable diseases requiring rapid communication. 

Certain of the diseases in the list of reportable diseases because 

of their extremely contagious nature, potential for greater 

harm, or availability of a specific intervention that must be 

administered in a timely manner require immediate 

identification and control. Reporting of persons confirmed or 

suspected of having these diseases, listed in this subsection, 

shall be made immediately by the most rapid means available, 

preferably by telephone to the local health department. (These 

same diseases are also identified by an asterisk (*) in 

subsections A and B, where applicable, of this section.) 

Anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) 

Botulism (Clostridium botulinum) 

Brucellosis (Brucella spp.) 

Cholera (Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139) 

Coronavirus infection, severe (e.g., SARS-CoV, MERS-

CoV) 

Diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) 

Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon 

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Hepatitis A 

Influenza-associated deaths if younger than 18 years of age 

Influenza A, novel virus 

Measles (Rubeola virus) 

Meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis) 

Outbreaks, all 

Pertussis (Bordetella pertussis) 

Plague (Yersinia pestis) 

Poliovirus infection, including poliomyelitis 

Psittacosis (Chlamydophila psittaci) 

Q fever (Coxiella burnetii) 

Rabies, human and animal 

Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome 

Smallpox (Variola virus) 

Syphilis, congenital, primary, and secondary (Treponema 

pallidum) 

Tuberculosis, active disease (Mycobacterium tuberculosis 

complex) 

Tularemia (Francisella tularensis) 

Typhoid/Paratyphoid infection (Salmonella Typhi, 

Salmonella Paratyphi (all types)) 

Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern 

Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

Vibriosis (Vibrio spp., Photobacterium damselae, Grimontia 

hollisae), other than toxigenic Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139, 

which are reportable as cholera 

Viral hemorrhagic fever 

Yellow fever 

D. Submission of initial isolate or other specimen for further 

public health testing. A laboratory identifying evidence of any 

of the conditions in this subsection shall notify the local health 

department of the positive culture or other positive test result 

within the timeframes specified in subsection B of this section 

and submit the initial isolate (preferred) or other initial 

specimen within five days or the clinical specimen within two 

days of a positive result to the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services or other public health laboratory where 

specified in this subsection within seven days of identification. 

All specimens must be identified with the patient and physician 

information required in 12VAC5-90-90 B. 

Anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) 

Botulism (Clostridium botulinum) 

Brucellosis (Brucella sp.) 

Candida auris 

Candida haemulonii 

Carbapenem-resistant EnterobacteriaceaeEnterobacterales 

Carbapenem-resistant Pseudomonas aeruginosa 

Cholera (Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139) 

Coronavirus infection, severe (e.g., SARS-CoV, MERS-

CoV) 

Diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) 

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Influenza, unsubtypeable 

Listeriosis (Listeria monocytogenes) 

Meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis) 

Plague (Yersinia pestis) 

Poliovirus infection 

Q fever (Coxiella burnetii) 

Salmonellosis (Salmonella spp.) 

Shiga toxin-producing E. coli infection (Laboratories that 

identify a Shiga toxin but do not perform simultaneous 
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culture for Shiga toxin-producing E. coli should forward all 

positive stool specimens or positive enrichment broths to the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services for 

confirmation and further characterization.) 

Shigellosis (Shigella spp.) 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive 

Tuberculosis (A laboratory identifying Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis complex (see 12VAC5-90-225) shall submit a 

representative and viable sample of the initial culture to the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or other 

laboratory designated by the board to receive such 

specimen.) 

Tularemia (Francisella tularensis) 

Typhoid/Paratyphoid infection (Salmonella Typhi, 

Salmonella Paratyphi (all types)) 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection 

Vibriosis (Vibrio spp., Photobacterium damselae, Grimontia 

hollisae) 

Yersiniosis (Yersinia spp.) 

Other diseases as may be requested by the health department. 

E. Neonatal abstinence syndrome. Neonatal abstinence 

syndrome shall be reported by physicians and directors of 

medical care facilities when a newborn has been diagnosed 

with neonatal abstinence syndrome, a condition characterized 

by clinical signs of withdrawal from exposure to prescribed or 

illicit drugs. Reports shall be submitted within one month of 

diagnosis by entering the information into the Department of 

Health's online Confidential Morbidity Report portal 

(http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians). 

F. Outbreaks. The occurrence of outbreaks or clusters of any 

illness that may represent a group expression of an illness that 

may be of public health concern shall be reported to the local 

health department immediately by the most rapid means 

available, preferably by telephone. 

G. Toxic substance-related illnesses. All toxic substance-

related illnesses, including pesticide and heavy metal 

poisoning or illness resulting from exposure to an occupational 

dust or fiber or radioactive substance, shall be reported. 

If such illness is verified or suspected and presents an 

emergency or a serious threat to public health or safety, the 

report of such illness shall be made immediately by the most 

rapid means available, preferably by telephone. 

H. Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern. 

Unusual or emerging conditions of public health concern shall 

be reported to the local health department immediately by the 

most rapid means available, preferably by telephone. In 

addition, the commissioner or the commissioner's designee 

may establish surveillance systems for diseases or conditions 

that are not on the list of reportable diseases. Such surveillance 

may be established to identify cases (delineate the magnitude 

of the situation), to identify the mode of transmission and risk 

factors for the disease, and to identify and implement 

appropriate action to protect public health. Any person 

reporting information at the request of the department for 

special surveillance or other epidemiological studies shall be 

immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

I. Coronavirus disease 2019 (SARS-CoV-2). COVID-19 shall 

be reported by physicians and directors of medical care 

facilities when a person who is infected with or who is 

suspected of having COVID-19 is treated or examined, 

hospitalized, or admitted into the intensive care unit. 

Physicians and directors of medical care facilities shall report 

that person's name, telephone number, address, age, date of 

birth, race, ethnicity, sex, and pregnancy status; name of 

disease diagnosed or suspected; the medical record number (if 

applicable); the date of onset of illness; available laboratory 

tests and results; and the name, address, and telephone number 

of the physician and medical facility where the examination 

was made. Case reports shall be submitted within three days of 

the suspicion or confirmation of disease by entering the 

information into the Department of Health online Confidential 
Morbidity Report portal at http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians 

or via electronic case reporting 

(https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/meaningful-use-

submissions-of-electronic-case-reports/). 

J. Positive SARS-CoV-2 tests shall be reported by directors 

of laboratories, including other entities that hold Clinical 

Laboratory Improvement Amendments Certificates of Waiver. 

Each report shall give the source of the specimen and the 

laboratory method and result; the name, telephone number, 

email address, address, age, date of birth, race, ethnicity, sex, 

and pregnancy status (if known) of the person from whom the 

specimen was obtained; and the name, address, and telephone 

number of the physician at whose request and medical facility 

at which the examination was made. Reports shall be submitted 

within three days of identification of evidence of disease. 

Reports shall be made by entering information into the 

department's available portal for laboratory reporting at 
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians or via electronic 

laboratory reporting at http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-

use/submissionofreportablelabresults. 

12VAC5-90-90. Those required to report. 

A. Physicians. Each physician who treats or examines any 

person who is suffering from or who is suspected of having a 

reportable disease or condition shall report, at a minimum, that 

person's name, address, age, date of birth, race, ethnicity, sex, 

and pregnancy status for females; name of disease diagnosed 

or suspected; the date of onset of illness; available laboratory 

tests and results; and the name, address, and telephone number 

of the physician and medical facility where the examination 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/meaningful-use-submissions-of-electronic-case-reports/
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/meaningful-use-submissions-of-electronic-case-reports/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/submissionofreportablelabresults
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/submissionofreportablelabresults
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was made, except that influenza should be reported by number 

of cases only (and type of influenza, if available). Reports are 

to be made to the local health department serving the 

jurisdiction where the physician practices. A physician may 

designate someone to report on his behalf, but the physician 

remains responsible for ensuring that the appropriate report is 

made. Any physician, designee, or organization making such 

report as authorized herein in this section shall be immune 

from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia. 

Such reports shall be made on a Form Epi-1, a computer 

generated printout containing the data items requested on Form 

Epi-1, within the timeframes specified in 12VAC5-90-80 to 

the local health department serving the jurisdiction in which 

the facility is located. Reports shall be made via the Virginia 

Department of Health's online Confidential Morbidity Report 

portal at http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians or a CDC or 

VDH disease-specific surveillance form that provides the same 

information and shall be made within three days of the 

suspicion or confirmation of disease except that those 

identified in 12VAC5-90-80 C shall be reported immediately 

by the most rapid means available, preferably by telephone, to 

the local health department serving the jurisdiction in which 

the facility is located. Reporting may be done by means of 

secure electronic transmission upon agreement of the 

physician and the department. 

Additional elements are required to be reported for 

individuals with confirmed or suspected active tuberculosis 

disease. Refer to Part X (12VAC5-90-225 et seq.) for details 

on these requirements. 

B. Directors of laboratories. Laboratory directors shall report 

any laboratory examination of any clinical specimen, whether 

performed in-house or referred to an out-of-state laboratory, 

which that yields evidence, by the laboratory method indicated 

or any other confirmatory test, of a disease listed in 12VAC5-

90-80 B. Laboratory directors shall report results that are 

performed in-house or referred to a reference laboratory, with 

the following exception: if the laboratory director ascertains 

that the reference laboratory that tests a specimen reports to the 

department electronically, then those reference laboratory 

findings do not need to be reported by the laboratory of origin.  

Each report shall give the source of the specimen and the 

laboratory method and result; the name, address, age, date of 

birth, race, ethnicity, sex, and pregnancy status for females (if 

known) of the person from whom the specimen was obtained; 

and the name, address, and telephone number of the physician 

at whose request and medical facility at which the examination 

was made. When the influenza virus is isolated, the type should 

be reported, if available. Reports shall be made within three 

days of identification of evidence of disease, except that those 

identified in 12VAC5-90-80 C shall be reported immediately 

by the most rapid means available, preferably by telephone, the 

timeframes specified in 12VAC5-90-80 to the local health 

department serving the jurisdiction in which the laboratory is 

located. Reports shall be made on Form Epi-1 via the 

department's online Confidential Morbidity Report portal or on 

the laboratory's own form if it includes the required 

information. Computer generated reports containing the 

required information may be submitted. Reporting may be 

done by means of secure electronic transmission upon 

agreement of the laboratory director and the department. 

Reports of HIV genetic nucleotide sequence data associated 

with HIV drug resistance tests must be submitted 

electronically. Any person making such report as authorized 

herein in this section shall be immune from liability as 

provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia. 

A laboratory identifying evidence of any of the following 

conditions shall notify the local health department of the 

positive culture or other positive test result within the 

timeframes specified in 12VAC5-90-80 and submit the initial 

isolate or other initial specimen to the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services within seven days of identification. All 

specimens must be identified with the patient and physician 

information required in this subsection. 

Anthrax 

Botulism  

Brucellosis 

Cholera 

Diphtheria 

E. coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing. (Laboratories that 

use a Shiga toxin EIA methodology but do not perform 

simultaneous culture for Shiga toxin-producing E. coli 

should forward all positive stool specimens or positive 

enrichment broths to the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services for confirmation and further 

characterization.) 

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Influenza A, novel virus 

Listeriosis 

Meningococcal disease 

Pertussis 

Plague 

Poliovirus infection 

Q fever 

Salmonellosis 

Shigellosis 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive 

Tuberculosis (A laboratory identifying Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis complex (see 12VAC5-90-225) shall submit a 

representative and viable sample of the initial culture to the 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians
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Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or other 

laboratory designated by the board to receive such 

specimen.) 

Tularemia  

Typhoid/Paratyphoid fever 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection 

Vibrio infection, including infections due to Photobacterium 

damselae and Grimontia hollisae 

Yersiniosis 

Other diseases as may be requested by the health department 

When a clinical specimen yields evidence indicating the 

presence of a select agent or toxin as defined by federal 

regulations in 42 CFR Part 73, the person in charge of the 

laboratory shall contact the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services and arrange to forward an isolate for 

confirmation. If a select agent or toxin has been confirmed in 

a clinical specimen, the laboratory director shall consult with 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or CDC 

regarding isolate transport or destruction. 

Laboratories operating within a medical care facility shall be 

considered to be in compliance with the requirement to notify 

the local health department when the director of that medical 

care facility assumes the reporting responsibility; however, 

laboratories are still required to submit isolates to the Division 

of Consolidated Laboratory Services or other designated 

laboratory as noted in this subsection 12VAC5-90-80 D unless 

the laboratory has submitted an exemption request that has 

been approved by the department. 

C. Persons in charge of a medical care facility. Any person in 

charge of a medical care facility shall make a report to the local 

health department serving the jurisdiction where the facility is 

located of the occurrence in or admission to the facility of a 

patient with a reportable disease listed in 12VAC5-90-80 A 

unless he the person in charge of a medical care facility has 

evidence that the occurrence has been reported by a physician. 

Any person making such report as authorized herein in this 

section shall be immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-

38 of the Code of Virginia. The requirement to report shall 

include all inpatient, outpatient, and emergency care 

departments within the medical care facility. Such report shall 

contain the patient's name, address, age, date of birth, race, 

ethnicity, sex, and pregnancy status for females; name of 

disease being reported; available laboratory tests and results; 

the date of admission; medical record number; date expired 

(when applicable); and attending physician. Influenza should 

be reported by number of cases only (and type of influenza, if 

available). Reports shall be made within three days of the 

suspicion or confirmation of disease except that those 

identified in 12VAC5-90-80 C shall be reported immediately 

by the most rapid means available, preferably by telephone, the 

timeframes specified in 12VAC5-90-80 to the local health 

department serving the jurisdiction in which the facility is 

located. Reports shall be made on Form Epi-1, a computer 

generated printout containing the data items requested on Form 

Epi-1, via the Virginia Department of Health's online 

Confidential Morbidity Report portal at 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians or a CDC or VDH 

disease-specific surveillance form that provides the same 

information. Reporting may be done by means of secure 

electronic transmission upon agreement of the medical care 

facility and the department. 

A person in charge of a medical care facility may assume the 

reporting responsibility on behalf of the director of the 

laboratory operating within the facility. 

D. Persons in charge of a residential or day program, service, 

or facility licensed or operated by any agency of the 

Commonwealth, or a school, child care center, or summer 

camp. Any person in charge of a residential or day program, 

service, or facility licensed or operated by any agency of the 

Commonwealth, or a school, child care center, or summer 

camp as defined in § 35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia shall report 

immediately to the local health department the presence or 

suspected presence in his the person in charge's program, 

service, facility, school, child care center, or summer camp of 

persons who have common symptoms suggesting an outbreak 

situation. Such persons person in charge may report additional 

information, including identifying and contact information for 

individuals with communicable diseases of public health 

concern or individuals who are involved in outbreaks that 

occur in their the person in charge's facilities, as necessary to 

facilitate public health investigation and disease control. Any 

person so reporting shall be immune from liability as provided 

by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Local health directors. The local health director shall 

forward any report of a disease or report of evidence of a 

disease which that has been made on a resident of his the local 

health director's jurisdiction to the Office of Epidemiology 

within three days of receipt. This report shall be submitted 

immediately by the most rapid means available if the disease 

is one requiring rapid communication, as required in 12VAC5-

90-80 C. All such rapid reporting shall be confirmed in writing 

and submitted to the Office of Epidemiology, by either a paper 

report or entry into a shared secure electronic disease 

surveillance system, within three days. Furthermore, the local 

health director shall immediately forward to the appropriate 

local health director any disease reports on individuals residing 

in the latter's the appropriate local health director's jurisdiction 

or to the Office of Epidemiology on individuals residing 

outside Virginia. The Office of Epidemiology shall be 

responsible for notifying other state health departments of 

reported illnesses in their residents of other state health 

departments and for notifying CDC as necessary and 

appropriate. 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians
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F. Persons in charge of hospitals, nursing facilities or nursing 

homes, assisted living facilities, and correctional facilities. In 

accordance with § 32.1-37.1 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person in charge of a hospital, nursing facility or nursing home, 

assisted living facility, or correctional facility shall, at the time 

of transferring custody of any dead body to any person 

practicing funeral services, notify the person practicing funeral 

services or his the person practicing funeral services's agent if 

the dead person was known to have had, immediately prior to 

death, an infectious disease which may be transmitted through 

exposure to any bodily fluids. These include any of the 

following infectious diseases: 

Coronavirus, severe (e.g., SARS-CoV, MERS-CoV) 

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease 

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection 

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic) 

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic) 

Rabies 

Smallpox (Variola virus) 

Syphilis, infectious (Treponema pallidum) 

Tuberculosis, active disease (Mycobacterium tuberculosis 

complex) 

Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

Viral hemorrhagic fever 

G. Employees, conditional employees, and persons in charge 

of food establishments. 12VAC5-421-80 of the Food 

Regulations requires a food employee or conditional employee 

to notify the person in charge of the food establishment when 

diagnosed with certain diseases that are transmissible through 

food and requires the person in charge of the food 

establishment to notify the regulatory authority. Refer to 

12VAC5-421-80 for further guidance and clarification 

regarding these reporting requirements. 

12VAC5-90-103. Isolation for communicable disease of 

public health threat. 

A. Application. The commissioner, in his the commissioner's 

sole discretion, may invoke the provisions of Article 3.02 

(§ 32.1-48.05 et seq.) of Chapter 2 of Title 32.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and may declare the isolation of any individual or 

individuals upon a determination that: 

1. Such individual or individuals are is known to have been 

infected with or are is reasonably suspected to have been 

infected with a communicable disease of public health 

threat; 

2. Exceptional circumstances render the procedures of 

Article 3.01 (§ 32.1-48.01 et seq.) of Chapter 2 of Title 32.1 

of the Code of Virginia to be insufficient, or the individual 

or individuals have has failed or refused to comply 

voluntarily with the control measures directed by the 

commissioner in response to a communicable disease of 

public health threat; and 

3. Isolation is the necessary means to contain a 

communicable disease of public health threat, to ensure that 

such isolated individual or individuals receive receives 

appropriate medical treatment subject to the provisions of 

§ 32.1-44 of the Code of Virginia, or to protect health care 

providers and others who may come into contact with such 

infected individual or individuals. 

The commissioner, in his the commissioner's sole discretion, 

may also order the isolation of an affected area if, in addition 

to the above the provisions of this subsection, the Governor has 

declared a state of emergency for such affected area of the 

Commonwealth. 

B. Documentation. For isolation for a communicable disease 

of public health threat, information about the infection or 

suspected infection, the individual, individuals, and/or or 

affected area, and the nature or suspected nature of the 

exposure shall be duly recorded by the local health department 

in consultation with the Office of Epidemiology. This 

information shall be sufficient to enable documenting a record 

of findings and to enable the commissioner to prepare the order 

of isolation, including the information required in § 32.1-48.12 

of the Code of Virginia. In addition, sufficient information on 

individuals shall be maintained by the local health department 

to enable appropriate follow-up of individuals for health status 

evaluation and treatment as well as compliance with the order 

of isolation. 

The commissioner shall ensure that the protected health 

information of any individual or individuals subject to the 

order of isolation is disclosed only in compliance with state and 

federal law. 

C. Means of isolation. The local health department shall 

assess the situation, and in consultation with the Office of 

Epidemiology, identify the least restrictive means of isolation 

that effectively protects unexposed and susceptible 

individuals. The place of isolation selected shall allow the most 

freedom of movement and communication with family 

members and other contacts without allowing disease 

transmission to other individuals and shall allow the 

appropriate level of medical care needed by isolated 

individuals to the extent practicable. The commissioner, in his 

the commissioner's sole discretion, may order the isolated 

individual or individuals to remain in their residences, to 

remain in another place where they are present, or to report to 

a place or places designated by the commissioner for the 

duration of their isolation. 

The commissioner's order of isolation shall be for a duration 

consistent with the known period of communicability of the 

communicable disease of public health threat or, if the course 
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of the disease is unknown or uncertain, for a period anticipated 

as being consistent with the period of communicability of other 

similar infectious agents. In the situation where an area is under 

isolation, the duration of isolation shall take into account the 

transmission characteristics and known or suspected period of 

communicability. 

D. Delivery. The local health department shall deliver the 

order of isolation, or ensure its delivery by an appropriate party 

such as a law-enforcement officer or health department 

employee, to the affected individual or individuals in person to 

the extent practicable. If, in the opinion of the commissioner, 

the scope of the notification would exceed the capacity of the 

local health department to ensure individual notification in a 

timely manner, then print, radio, television, Internet, and/or or 

other available means shall be used to inform those affected. 

E. Enforcement. Upon finding that there is probable cause to 

believe that any individual or individuals who are subject to an 

order of isolation may fail or refuse to comply with such order, 

the commissioner in his sole discretion may include in the 

order a requirement that such individual or individuals are to 

be taken immediately into custody by law-enforcement 

agencies and detained for the duration of the order of isolation 

or until the commissioner determines that the risk of 

noncompliance is no longer present. For any individual or 

individuals identified as, or for whom probable cause exists 

that he the individual may be, in violation of any order of 

isolation, or for whom probable cause exists that he the 

individual may fail or refuse to comply with any such order, 

the enforcement authority directed by the commissioner to 

law-enforcement agencies shall include but need not be limited 

to the power to detain or arrest. 

Any individual or individuals so detained shall be held in the 

least restrictive environment that can provide any required 

health care or other services for such individual. The 

commissioner shall ensure that law-enforcement personnel 

responsible for enforcing an order or orders of isolation are 

informed of appropriate measures to take to protect themselves 

from contracting the disease of public health threat. 

F. Health status monitoring. The local health department shall 

monitor the health of those under isolation either by regular 

telephone calls, visits, self-reports, or by reports of caregivers 

or healthcare health care providers or by other means. 

G. Essential needs. Upon issuance of an order of isolation to 

an individual or individuals by the commissioner, the local 

health department shall manage the isolation, in conjunction 

with local emergency management resources, such that 

individual the individual's essential needs can be met to the 

extent practicable. Upon issuance of an order of isolation by 

the commissioner for an affected area, existing emergency 

protocols pursuant to Chapter 3.2 (§ 44-146.13 et seq.) of Title 

44 of the Code of Virginia shall be utilized for mobilizing 

appropriate resources to ensure essential needs are met. 

H. Appeals. Any individual or individuals subject to an order 

of isolation or a court-ordered confirmation or extension of any 

such order may file an appeal of the order of isolation in 

accordance with the provisions of § 32.1-48.13 of the Code of 

Virginia. An appeal shall not stay any order of isolation. 

I. Release from isolation. Once the commissioner determines 

that an individual or individuals no longer pose a threat to the 

public health, the order of isolation has expired, or the order of 

isolation has been vacated by the court, the individual or 

individuals under the order of isolation shall be released 

immediately. If the risk of an infected individual transmitting 

the communicable disease of public health threat to other 

individuals continues to exist, an order of isolation may be 

developed to extend the restriction prior to release from 

isolation. 

J. Affected area. If the criteria in subsection A of this section 

are met and an area is known or suspected to have been 

affected, then the commissioner shall notify the Governor of 

the situation and the need to order isolation for the affected area 

during the known or suspected time of exposure. In order for 

an affected area to be isolated, the Governor must declare a 

state of emergency for the affected area. 

If an order of isolation is issued for an affected area during 

the known or suspected time of exposure, the commissioner 

shall cause the order of isolation to be communicated to the 

individuals residing or located in the affected area. The use of 

multiple forms of communication, including but not limited to 

radio, television, internet Internet, and/or or other available 

means, may be required in order to reach the individuals who 

were in the affected area during the known or suspected time 

of exposure. 

The provisions for documentation, means of isolation, 

enforcement, health status monitoring, essential needs, and 

release from isolation as described above in this section will 

apply to the isolation of affected areas. Appropriate 

management of a disease of public health threat for an affected 

area may require the coordinated use of local, regional, state, 

and national resources. In specifying one or more affected 

areas to be placed under isolation, the objective will be to 

protect as many people as possible using the least restrictive 

means. As a result, defining the precise boundaries and time 

frame timeframe of the exposure may not be possible, or may 

change as additional information becomes available. When this 

occurs, the commissioner shall ensure that the description of 

the affected area is in congruence with the Governor's 

declaration of emergency and shall ensure that the latest 

information is communicated to those in or exposed to the 

affected area. 

12VAC5-90-107. Quarantine. 

A. Application. The commissioner, in his the commissioner's 

sole discretion, may invoke the provisions of Article 3.02 

(§ 32.1-48.05 et seq.) of Chapter 2 of Title 32.1 of the Code of 
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Virginia and may order a complete or modified quarantine of 

any individual or individuals upon a determination that: 

1. Such individual or individuals are is known to have been 

exposed to or are is reasonably suspected to have been 

exposed to a communicable disease of public health threat; 

2. Exceptional circumstances render the procedures of 

Article 3.01 (§ 32.1-48.01 et seq.) of Chapter 2 of Title 32.1 

of the Code of Virginia to be insufficient, or the individual 

or individuals have has failed or refused to comply 

voluntarily with the control measures directed by the 

commissioner in response to a communicable disease of 

public health threat; and 

3. Quarantine is the necessary means to contain a 

communicable disease of public health threat to which an 

individual or individuals have has been or may have been 

exposed and thus may become infected. 

The commissioner, in his the commissioner's sole discretion, 

may also order the quarantine of an affected area if, in addition 

to the above the provisions of this subsection, the Governor has 

declared a state of emergency for such affected area of the 

Commonwealth. 

B. Documentation. For quarantine for a communicable 

disease of public health threat, information about the infection 

or suspected infection; the individual, individuals, and/or or 

affected area; and the nature or suspected nature of the 

exposure shall be duly recorded by the local health department, 

in consultation with the Office of Epidemiology. This 

information shall be sufficient to enable documenting a record 

of findings and enable the commissioner to prepare a written 

order of quarantine, including the information required in 

§ 32.1-48.09 of the Code of Virginia. In addition, sufficient 

information on individuals shall be maintained by the local 

health department to enable appropriate follow-up of 

individuals for health status evaluation and treatment as well 

as compliance with the order of quarantine. 

The commissioner shall ensure that the protected health 

information of any individual or individuals subject to the 

order of quarantine is disclosed only in compliance with state 

and federal law. 

C. Means of quarantine. The local health department shall 

assess the situation, and in consultation with the Office of 

Epidemiology, shall recommend to the commissioner the least 

restrictive means of quarantine that effectively protects 

unexposed and susceptible individuals. The place of quarantine 

selected shall allow the most freedom of movement and 

communication with family members and other contacts 

without allowing disease transmission to others. 

The commissioner, in his the commissioner's sole discretion, 

may order the quarantined individual or individuals to remain 

in their residences, to remain in another place where they are 

present, or to report to a place or places designated by the 

commissioner for the duration of their quarantine. 

The commissioner's order of quarantine shall be for a duration 

consistent with the known incubation period of the 

communicable disease of public health threat or, if the 

incubation period is unknown or uncertain, for a period 

anticipated as being consistent with the incubation period for 

other similar infectious agents. In the situation where an area 

is under quarantine, the duration of quarantine shall take into 

account the transmission characteristics and known or 

suspected incubation period. 

D. Delivery. The local health department shall deliver the 

order of quarantine, or ensure its delivery by an appropriate 

party such as a law-enforcement officer or health department 

employee, to the affected individual or individuals in person to 

the extent practicable. If, in the opinion of the commissioner, 

the scope of the notification would exceed the capacity of the 

local health department to ensure notification in a timely 

manner, then print, radio, television, Internet, and/or or other 

available means shall be used to inform those affected. 

E. Enforcement. Upon finding that there is probable cause to 

believe that any individual or individuals who are subject to an 

order of quarantine may fail or refuse to comply with such 

order, the commissioner in his sole discretion may include in 

the order a requirement that such individual or individuals are 

to be taken immediately into custody by law-enforcement 

agencies and detained for the duration of the order of 

quarantine or until the commissioner determines that the risk 

of and from noncompliance is no longer present. For any 

individual or individuals identified as, or for whom probable 

cause exists that he the individual may be, in violation of any 

order of quarantine, or for whom probable cause exists that he 

the individual may fail or refuse to comply with any such order, 

the enforcement authority directed by the commissioner to 

law-enforcement agencies shall include but need not be limited 

to the power to detain or arrest. 

Any individual or individuals so detained shall be held in the 

least restrictive environment that can provide any required 

health care or other services for such individual. The 

commissioner shall ensure that law-enforcement personnel 

responsible for enforcing an order or orders of quarantine are 

informed of appropriate measures to take to protect themselves 

from contracting the disease of public health threat. 

F. Health status monitoring. The local health department shall 

monitor the health of those under quarantine either by regular 

telephone calls, visits, self-reports, or by reports of caregivers 

or healthcare health care providers or by other means. If an 

individual or individuals develop symptoms compatible with 

the communicable disease of public health threat, then 

12VAC5-90-103 would apply to the individual or individuals. 

G. Essential needs. Upon issuance of an order of quarantine 

to an individual or individuals by the commissioner, the local 
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health department shall manage the quarantine, in conjunction 

with local emergency management resources, such that 

individual the individual's essential needs can be met to the 

extent practicable. Upon issuance of an order of quarantine by 

the commissioner for an affected area, existing emergency 

protocols pursuant to Chapter 3.2 (§ 44-146.13 et seq.) of Title 

44 of the Code of Virginia shall be utilized for mobilizing 

appropriate resources to ensure essential needs are met. 

H. Appeals. Any individual or individuals subject to an order 

of quarantine or a court-ordered confirmation or extension of 

any such order may file an appeal of the order of quarantine in 

accordance with the provisions of § 32.1-48.10 of the Code of 

Virginia. An appeal shall not stay any order of quarantine. 

I. Release from quarantine. Once the commissioner 

determines that an individual or individuals are no longer at 

risk of becoming infected and pose no risk of transmitting the 

communicable disease of public health threat to other 

individuals, the order of quarantine has expired, or the order of 

quarantine has been vacated by the court, the individuals under 

the order of quarantine shall be released immediately. If the 

risk of an individual becoming infected and transmitting the 

communicable disease of public health threat to other 

individuals continues to exist, an order of quarantine may be 

developed to extend the restriction prior to release from 

quarantine. 

J. Affected area. If the criteria in subsection A of this section 

are met and an area is known or suspected to have been 

affected, then the commissioner shall notify the Governor of 

the situation and the need to order quarantine for the affected 

area. In order for an affected area to be quarantined, the 

Governor must declare a state of emergency for the affected 

area. 

If an order of quarantine is issued for an affected area, the 

commissioner shall cause the order of quarantine to be 

communicated to the individuals residing or located in the 

affected area. The use of multiple forms of communication, 

including but not limited to radio, television, Internet, and/or 

or other available means, may be required in order to reach the 

individuals who were in the affected area during the known or 

suspected time of exposure. 

The provisions for documentation, means of quarantine, 

enforcement, health status monitoring, essential needs, and 

release from quarantine as described above in this section will 

apply to the quarantine of affected areas. Appropriate 

management of a disease of public health threat for an affected 

area may require the coordinated use of local, regional, state, 

and national resources. In specifying one or more affected 

areas to be placed under quarantine, the objective will be to 

protect as many people as possible using the least restrictive 

means. As a result, defining the precise boundaries and time 

frame timeframe of the exposure may not be possible, or may 

change as additional information becomes available. When this 

occurs, the commissioner shall ensure that the description of 

the affected area is in congruence with the Governor's 

declaration of emergency and shall ensure that the latest 

information is communicated to those in or exposed to the 

affected area. 

12VAC5-90-140. Procedure for preventing ophthalmia 

neonatorum. 

The physician, nurse, or midwife in charge of the infant's care 

after delivery of a baby shall ensure that one of the following 

is administered in each eye of that newborn baby as soon as 

possible after birth: (i) two drops of a 1.0% silver nitrate 

solution; (ii) a 1-cm ribbon of 1.0% tetracycline ophthalmic 

ointment; or (iii) a 1-cm ribbon of 0.5% erythromycin 

ophthalmic ointment is administered in each eye of that 

newborn baby as soon as possible. This treatment shall be 

recorded in the medical record of the infant. 

12VAC5-90-215. Schedule and criteria for and 

confirmation of blood lead testing and information to be 

provided. 

A. Schedule for testing. Every child shall be tested to 

determine the blood lead level at 12 months and 24 months of 

age if the health care provider determines that the child meets 

any of the criteria listed in subsection B of this section. 

Children 25 months through 72 months of age who present for 

medical care and meet any of criteria of subsection B of this 

section shall also be tested if they have either not previously 

been tested for blood lead level or were previously tested but 

experienced a change since testing that has resulted in an 

increased risk of lead exposure based on the criteria listed in 

subsection B of this section. 

B. Criteria for testing. 

1. The child is eligible for or receiving benefits from 

Medicaid or the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for 

Women, Infants and Children (WIC); 

2. The child is living in or regularly visiting a house, 

apartment, dwelling, structure, or child care facility built 

before 1960 1950; 

3. The child is living in or regularly visiting a house, 

apartment, dwelling, structure, or child care facility built 

before 1978 that has (i) peeling or chipping paint or (ii) 

recent (within the last six months) ongoing or planned 

renovations; 

4. The child is living in or regularly visiting a house, 

apartment, dwelling, or other structure in which one or more 

persons have blood lead testing yielding evidence of lead 

exposure; 

5. The child is living with an adult whose job, hobby, or 

other activity involves exposure to lead; 

6. The child is living near an active lead smelter, battery 

recycling plant, or other industry likely to release lead; 
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7. The child's parent, guardian, or other person standing in 

loco parentis requests the child's blood be tested due to any 

suspected exposure; or 

8. The child is a recent refugee or immigrant or is adopted 

from outside of the United States. 

C. Exceptions. A child who does not meet any of the schedule 

or criteria provided in subsection A or B of this section is 

considered to be at low risk, and testing is not required but may 

be conducted at the discretion of the health care provider. The 

testing requirement shall be waived if the parent, guardian, or 

other person standing in loco parentis of a child objects to the 

testing on the basis that the procedure conflicts with his 

religious tenets or practices. 

D. Confirmation of blood lead levels. Blood lead level testing 

shall be performed on venous or capillary blood. Tests of 

venous blood performed by a laboratory certified by the federal 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services in accordance with 

42 USC § 263a, the Clinical Laboratory Improvement 

Amendment of 1988 (CLIA-certified), are considered 

confirmatory. Tests of venous blood performed by any other 

laboratory and tests of capillary blood shall be confirmed by a 

repeat blood test, preferably venous, performed by a CLIA-

certified laboratory. Such confirmatory testing shall be 

performed in accordance with the following schedule: 

1. Confirmatory testing is not required if the result of the 

capillary test is below CDC's reference value. 

2. Within one to three months if the result of the capillary 

test is at or above the CDC's reference value and up to 9 nine 

micrograms of lead per deciliter of whole blood (µg/dL). 

2. 3. Within one week to one month if the result of the 

capillary test is 10-44 µg/dL. The higher this test result, the 

more urgent the need for a confirmatory test. 

3. 4. Within 48 hours if the result of the capillary test is 45-

59 µg/dL. 

4. 5. Within 24 hours if the result of the capillary test is 60-

69 µg/dL. 

5. 6. Immediately as an emergency laboratory test if the 

result of the capillary test is 70 µg/dL or higher. 

E. Information to be provided. As part of regular well-check 

visits for all children, the health care provider shall make 

available to parents, guardians, or other persons standing in 

loco parentis information on the dangers of lead poisoning, 

potential sources of lead and ways to prevent exposure, and a 

list of available lead-related resources. When blood lead level 

testing is performed, the health care provider shall share the 

child's blood lead level test result with the child's parent, 

guardian, or other person standing in loco parentis and report 

to the local health department in accordance with the 

requirements of 12VAC5-90-80. 

12VAC5-90-225. Additional data to be reported related to 

persons with active tuberculosis disease (confirmed or 

suspected). 

A. Physicians and directors of medical care facilities are 

required to submit all of the following: 

1. An initial report to be completed when there are 

reasonable grounds to suspect that a person has active TB 

disease, but no later than when antituberculosis drug therapy 

is initiated. The reports must include the following: the 

affected person's name; age; date of birth; gender; address; 

pertinent clinical, radiographic, microbiologic, and 

pathologic reports, whether pending or final; such other 

information as may be needed to locate the patient for 

follow-up; and name, address, and telephone number of the 

treating physician. 

2. A secondary report to be completed simultaneously or 

within one to two weeks following the initial report. The 

report must include: the date, method, and results of 

tuberculin skin test (TST) tests for tuberculosis infection; the 

date and results of the initial and any follow-up chest 

radiographs; the dates and results of bacteriologic or 

pathologic testing, the antituberculosis drug regimen, 

including names of the drugs, dosages and frequencies of 

administration, and start date; the date and results of drug 

susceptibility testing; HIV status; contact screening 

information; and name, address, and telephone number of 

treating physician. 

3. Subsequent reports are to be made when updated 

information is available. Subsequent reports are required 

when: clinical status changes, the treatment regimen 

changes; treatment ceases for any reason; or there are any 

updates to laboratory results, treatment adherence, name, 

address, and telephone number of current provider, patient 

location or contact information, or other additional clinical 

information. 

4. Physicians and/or or directors of medical care facilities 

responsible for the care of a patient with active tuberculosis 

disease are required to develop and maintain a written 

treatment plan. This plan must be in place no later than the 

time when antituberculosis drug therapy is initiated. Patient 

adherence to this treatment plan must be documented. The 

treatment plan and adherence record are subject to review by 

the local health director or his the local health director's 

designee at any time during the course of treatment. 

5. The treatment plan for the following categories of patients 

must be submitted to the local health director or his the local 

health director's designee for approval no later than the time 

when antituberculosis drug therapy is started or modified: 

a. For individuals who are inpatients or incarcerated, the 

responsible provider or facility must submit the treatment 

plan for approval prior to discharge or transfer. 
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b. Individuals, whether inpatient, incarcerated, or 

outpatient, who also have one of the following conditions: 

(1) HIV infection. 

(2) Known or suspected active TB disease resistant to 

rifampin, rifabutin, rifapentine, or other rifamycin with or 

without resistance to any other drug. 

(3) A history of prior treated or untreated active TB 

disease, or a history of relapsed active TB disease. 

(4) A demonstrated history of nonadherence to any 

medical treatment regimen. 

B. Laboratories are required to submit the following: 

1. Results of smears that are positive for acid fast bacilli. 

2. Results of cultures positive for any member of the 

Mycobacterium tuberculosis complex (i.e., M. tuberculosis, 

M. bovis, M. africanum) or any other mycobacteria. 

3. Results of rapid methodologies, including acid 

hybridization or nucleic acid amplification, which are 

indicative of M. tuberculosis complex or any other 

mycobacteria. 

4. Results of tests for antimicrobial susceptibility performed 

on cultures positive for tubercle bacilli M. tuberculosis 

complex. 

5. Results of tests for tuberculosis infection. 

6. Laboratories, whether testing is done in-house or referred 

to an out-of-state laboratory, shall submit a representative 

and viable sample of the initial culture positive for any 

member of the M. tuberculosis complex to the Virginia 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or other 

laboratory designated by the board to receive such specimen. 

12VAC5-90-280. Reporting of dangerous microbes and 

pathogens. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this part shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Biologic agent" means any microorganism (including, but 

not limited to, bacteria, viruses, fungi, rickettsiae, or protozoa), 

or infectious substance, or any naturally occurring, 

bioengineered, or synthesized component of any such 

microorganism or infectious substance, capable of causing 

death, disease, or other biological malfunction in a human, an 

animal, a plant, or other living organism; deterioration of food, 

water, equipment, supplies, or material of any kind; or 

deleterious alteration of the environment. 

"CDC" means the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 

"Diagnosis" means the analysis of specimens for the purpose 

of identifying or confirming the presence or characteristics of 

a select agent or toxin, provided that such analysis is directly 

related to protecting the public health or safety. 

"Proficiency testing" means a sponsored, time-limited 

analytical trial whereby one or more analytes, previously 

confirmed by the sponsor, are submitted to the testing 

laboratory for analysis and where final results are graded, 

scores are recorded and provided to participants, and scores for 

participants are evaluated. 

"Responsible official" means any person in charge of 

directing or supervising a laboratory conducting business in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. At colleges and universities, the 

responsible official shall be the president of the college or 

university or his designee. At private, state, or federal 

organizations, the responsible official shall be the laboratory 

director or a chief officer of the organization or his designee. 

"Select agent or toxin" or "select agent and toxin" means all 

those biological agents or toxins as defined by federal 

regulations in 42 CFR Part 73, including Health and Human 

Services select agents and toxins and overlap select agents and 

toxins. "Dangerous microbes and pathogens" will be known as 

"select agents and toxins." 

"Toxin" means the toxic material or product of plants, 

animals, microorganisms (including but not limited to bacteria, 

viruses, fungi, rickettsiae, or protozoa); or infectious 

substances; or a recombinant or synthesized molecule, 

whatever the origin and method of production; and includes 

any poisonous substance or biological product that may be 

engineered as a result of biotechnology or produced by a living 

organism; or any poisonous isomer or biological product, 

homolog, or derivative of such a substance. 

"Verification" means the process required to assure the 

accuracy, precision, and the analytical sensitivity and 

specificity of any procedure used for diagnosis. 

B. Administration. The dangerous microbes and pathogens 

will be known as "select agents and toxins." The select agent 

and toxin registry will be maintained by the Virginia 

Department of Health, Office of Epidemiology, Division of 

Surveillance and Investigation. 

C. Reportable agents. The board declares the select agents and 

toxins and overlap select agents and toxins outlined in 42 CFR 

Part 73 to be reportable and adopts it herein by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. The select 

agents and toxins are to be reportable by the persons 

enumerated in subsection F of this section. 

D. B. Items to report. Each report shall be made on a form 

determined by the department and shall contain the following: 

name, source, and characterization information on select 

agents and toxins and quantities held; objectives of the work 

with the agent; location (including building and room) where 

each select agent or toxin is stored or used; identification 

information of persons with access to each agent; identification 
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information of the person in charge of each of the agents; and 

the name and address of the laboratory and the name, position, 

and identification information of one responsible official as a 

single point of contact for the organization. The report shall 

also indicate whether the laboratory is registered with the CDC 

Select Agent Program and may contain additional information 

as required by 42 CFR Part 73 or the department. 

E. C. Timing of reports. Reports shall be made to the 

department within seven calendar days of submission of an 

application to the CDC Select Agent Program. By January 31 

of every year, laboratories the responsible official at a 

laboratory as designated by the federal select agent program 

shall provide a written update to the department, which shall 

include a copy of the federal registration certificate received 

through the CDC Select Agent Program Division of 

Surveillance and Investigation in the Office of Epidemiology 

containing the information specified in subsection B of this 

section. 

In the event that a select agent or toxin that has previously 

been reported to the department is destroyed, a copy of federal 

forms addressing the destruction of the select agent or toxin 

must be submitted to the department within seven calendar 

days of submission to the CDC Select Agent Program. 

In the event that a select agent or toxin, or a specimen or 

isolate from a specimen containing a select agent or toxin, has 

previously been reported to the department and is subsequently 

transferred to a facility eligible for receiving the items, a copy 

of federal forms addressing the transfer of the select agent or 

toxin must be submitted to the department within seven 

calendar days of submission to the CDC Select Agent Program. 

In the event of a suspected release, loss, or theft of any select 

agent or toxin, the responsible official at a laboratory as 

designated by the federal select agent program shall make a 

report to the department immediately by the most rapid means 

available, preferably by telephone. The report shall be 

submitted to the Division of Surveillance and Investigation in 

the Office of Epidemiology. The rapid report shall be followed 

up by a written report within seven calendar days and shall 

include the following information: 

1. The name of the biologic agent and any identifying 

information (e.g., strain or other characterization 

information); 

2. An estimate of the quantity released, lost, or stolen; 

3. An estimate of the time during which the release, loss, or 

theft occurred; and 

4. The location (building, room) from or in which the 

release, loss, or theft occurred. The report may contain 

additional information as required by 42 CFR Part 73 or the 

department. 

If a release has occurred, the report shall also include the 

nature, environment, and location of the release; number, 

names, and position of exposed individuals; and actions taken 

as a result of the release. 

The department shall be notified in writing of any change to 

information previously submitted to the department. If a new 

application or an amendment to an existing application is filed 

with the CDC Select Agent Program, a copy of the application 

or amendment shall be submitted to the department within 

seven calendar days of submission to the CDC Select Agent 

Program. 

F. Those required to report. The laboratory director shall be 

responsible for annual reporting of select agents and toxins to 

the Virginia Department of Health and for the reporting of any 

changes within the time periods as specified within these 

regulations. Such reports shall be made on forms to be 

determined by the department. Any person making such 

reports as authorized herein shall be immune from liability as 

provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. Exemption from reporting. A person who detects a select 

agent or toxin for the purpose of diagnosing a disease, 

verification, or proficiency testing and either transfers the 

specimens or isolates containing the select agent or toxin to a 

facility eligible for receiving them or destroys them on site is 

not required to make a report except as required by 12VAC5-

90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90. Proper destruction of the agent 

shall take place through autoclaving, incineration, or by a 

sterilization or neutralization process sufficient to cause 

inactivation. The transfer or destruction shall occur within 

seven calendar days after identification of a select agent or 

toxin used for diagnosis or testing and within 90 calendar days 

after receipt for proficiency testing. 

Any additional exemptions from reporting under 42 CFR Part 

73, including subsequent amendments and editions, are also 

exempt from reporting under this regulation; however, the 

department shall be notified of the exemption by submitting a 

copy of federal forms addressing the exemption within seven 

calendar days of submission to the CDC Select Agent Program. 

H. D. Release of reported information. Reports submitted to 

the select agent and toxin registry shall be confidential and 

shall not be a public record pursuant to the Freedom of 

Information Act, regardless of submitter. Release of 

information on select agents or toxins shall be made only by 

order of the State Health Commissioner to the CDC and state 

and federal law-enforcement agencies in any investigation 

involving the release, theft, or loss of a select agent or toxin 

required to be reported to the department under this regulation. 

Any person making such reports as authorized in this section 

shall be immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

12VAC5-90-370. Reporting of healthcare-associated health 

care-associated infections. 

A. Reportable infections. Facilities Health care facilities that 

report data into the Centers for Disease Control and 
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Prevention's National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) for 

as a requirement of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting Program shall 

share the data, through the NHSN, with the department. 

B. Liability protection and data release. Any person making 

such report as authorized herein in this section shall be immune 

from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia. 

Infection rate data may be released to the public by the 

department upon request. Data shall be aggregated to ensure 

that no individual patient may be identified. 

FORMS (12VAC5-90)  

Confidential Morbidity Report, Epi-1 (rev. 10/2011) 

Virginia Cancer Registry Reporting Form (rev. 1/1998)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5357; Filed April 12, 2023, 8:08 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

VIRGINIA EMPLOYMENT COMMISSION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC5-80. Adjudication (amending 

16VAC5-80-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 60.2-111 and 60.2-623 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 7, 2023. 

Effective Date: June 22, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jason German, Hearing Legal Services 

Officer III, Virginia Employment Commission, 6606 West 

Broad Street, Henrico, VA 23230, telephone (804) 786-4140, 

FAX (804) 786-9034, or email 

jason.german@vec.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Virginia Employment Commission may 

promulgate this action pursuant to § 60.2-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The amendment adds one method to the list of ways 

to appeal. Specifically, the amendment adds that appeals can 

be filed by an electronic format as prescribed by the 

commission. This is an attempt to modernize the regulation to 

provide citizens with a more modern and integrated method of 

filing appeals. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

impetus for the regulatory change is an internal staff review of 

procedures to best meet the needs of Virginians seeking 

Virginia Employment Commission services. The regulation 

has not been updated for many years, and this regulatory 

change is necessary to modernize agency procedures, increase 

accessibility for Virginians, and expedite agency services. The 

changes are expected to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: The amendment adds that appeals can be filed by 

an electronic format as prescribed by the commission. This is 

meant to utilize the commission's current portal system and 

future updates and improvements. 

Issues: The advantages to both the public and the agency are 

the ability to file and receive appeals through a more modern 

system, including online forms and portals. There is no 

disadvantage since the legacy methods of postal mail, fax, and 

via the Internet have not been removed. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of these economic impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Employment Commission (VEC) proposes to update 

the regulation to reflect that first level appeals can be filed 

through its new online portal (i.e., a webpage on the VEC 

website), that an appeal decision can be delivered through the 

portal, and that a request for reopening of an appeal can be 

submitted through the portal. 

Background. Currently, this regulation provides that first level 

appeals shall be filed in person, by mail, by fax, or "by the 

Internet at a site or address specified by the commission." The 

filing option by an Internet address is currently interpreted by 

VEC to be a link to a webpage as opposed to at a webpage. 

In late 2021, VEC started using a new online portal for 

unemployment claim filing and processing. Among other 

purposes, the portal was designed to cater to the appeals-

related needs of claimants, employers, attorneys, and other 

parties. This portal made it possible for the stakeholders to 

access their case information online at a centralized location by 

registration (i.e., by username and password). However, the 

current regulatory language regarding approved ways to file a 

first level appeal does not encompass filing of an appeal 

through this portal. For this reason, VEC proposes to add in the 

regulation that a first level appeal can be filed "[b]y an 

electronic format as prescribed by the commission." VEC 

interprets the phrase "an electronic format" to include through 

its new portal. 

Similarly, the current language requires that an appeal decision 

be delivered and a request for reopening of an appeal be 

submitted by mail. VEC proposes to replace the word "mail" 

with the phrase "in a format prescribed by the commission." 

Instructions about approved formats are usually provided 

along with relevant documents, such as a decision. VEC states 

that these proposed changes do not eliminate the delivery of a 

decision or the submission of a request by mail. Instead, VEC 

states that the changes will mean that the commission can issue 

mailto:jason.german@vec.virginia.gov
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an appeal decision through its portal and a request for 

reopening can be submitted through the portal in addition to by 

mail. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. To the extent that an online 

portal differs from an online webpage, the proposed addition 

of filing of a first level appeal against an unemployment claim 

through VEC's new online portal would expand the methods 

by which an appeal can be filed. The portal is accessible by 

registration to all interested parties including employers, 

claimants, and attorneys. In addition, the other changes that 

would allow the commissioner to deliver an appeal decision 

through the portal and allow a party to request reopening of the 

case through the portal in addition to mail would expand the 

means of processing an appeal. 

With these changes, affected parties would likely use the portal 

if it is more convenient for them. Since the regulatory text 

retains all of the existing options for filing an appeal, delivering 

a decision, and requesting a reopening, adding a new option to 

use the portal would not be costly and may produce net benefits 

to employers (i.e., appellants) as well as claimants or their legal 

counsel. 

VEC reports that the new online portal has other features and 

capabilities in addition to filing of first level appeals. The 

estimated cost of the portal pertaining to appeals-related 

features is approximately $250,000. However, some of this 

cost would be offset by benefits to VEC to the extent the portal 

improves the efficiency of appeals processing for VEC relative 

to existing methods. 

Finally, updating the regulatory language to reflect the current 

use of the portal for several purposes would benefit potential 

users who may not have been otherwise aware of this option. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed changes 

primarily affect entities involved with first level appeals. Since 

February 2022, there have been 50,923 first level appeals filed 

with the commission. No entity appears to be 

disproportionately affected.  

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.2 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, the 

proposed changes provide additional methods for filing a first 

level appeal, issuing a decision, and submitting a request for 

reopening, but do not take away any existing options. Thus, no 

direct adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments or particularly affect any 

locality. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to have a direct impact on total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property or 

real estate development costs is expected. 

________________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
4If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 
have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

6Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Employment Commission concurs with the 

Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 

analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the regulation to reflect that first 

level appeals can be filed through the commission's new 

online portal, that an appeal decision can be delivered 

through the portal, and that a request for reopening of an 

appeal can be submitted through the portal. These 

changes are accomplished by adding language allowing 

first level appeals to be filed by an electronic format 

prescribed by the Virginia Employment Commission. 

16VAC5-80-20. First level appeals. 

A. The claimant, the claimant's liable employer, or any 

subsequent employing unit with a direct interest in an issue 



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 19  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 8, 2023  

2347 

may appeal from an adverse deputy's determination or decision 

as specified in § 60.2-619 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Appeals shall be filed with the commission's 

Administrative Law Division's Office of First Level Appeals 

in one of the following ways: 

a. In person at any agency service location, including 

workforce, adjudication, or one-stop centers, or the 

commission's administrative office in Richmond, 

Virginia; 

b. By mail to the Administrative Law Division's Office of 

First Level Appeals at the address specified on the 

deputy's determination or decision; 

c. By facsimile transmission to the Administrative Law 

Division's Office of First Level Appeals at the facsimile 

number specified on the deputy's determination or 

decision; or 

d. By the Internet at a site or address specified by the 

commission; or 

e. By an electronic format as prescribed by the 

commission. 

2. Appeals shall be presumed to be filed on the date of 

receipt by the commission. An appeal mailed to the 

commission shall be presumed to be filed on the date of 

postmark by the United States U.S. Postal Service. If no 

postmark appears on the envelope, the appeal shall be 

presumed to be filed on the date it was received by the 

commission. 

3. Appeals shall be in writing and should set forth the 

grounds upon which they are sought, as well as the name and 

last four digits of the social security account number of the 

claimant; however, any document in writing submitted to the 

commission by a party or a party's authorized representative 

expressing a desire to appeal shall be sufficient to initiate an 

appeal. Agency personnel shall furnish an appellant or an 

appellant's authorized representative whatever assistance is 

necessary to file an appeal. The appeal should be signed by 

the appealing party or that party's authorized representative; 

however, the absence of a signature shall not result in the 

dismissal of the appeal. 

B. After the filing of an appeal, the record in connection with 

the claim, together with the notice of appeal, shall be assigned 

to an appeal tribunal consisting of a salaried examiner only. 

Should evidence indicate that the appeal was not filed within 

the time prescribed by law, the first issue to be considered at 

the hearing shall be whether the appeal was timely filed or 

whether there exists good cause for extending the appeal 

period. 

1. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, all hearings 

shall be conducted by telephone conference call. At the 

discretion of the commission, a split hearing or an in-person 

hearing may be scheduled if the complexity of the case or 

the quality of telephone service in a particular locality makes 

participation in the hearing unreasonably difficult. A split or 

in-person hearing will be scheduled if a party does not have 

reasonable access to a telephone that would permit 

meaningful participation in a telephonic hearing. In 

assessing the complexity of a particular case, the 

commission shall consider the number of witnesses 

involved, the number and length of any documents that will 

likely be proposed as exhibits, whether one or both parties 

are represented, whether an interpreter is required, and any 

other relevant factors. In-person or split hearings shall be 

scheduled at a location administratively feasible for the 

commission. 

2. Any party who desires to appear in person for the hearing 

shall be permitted to do so provided a timely request is 

received by the commission. A request shall be deemed 

timely if it is received by the commission before the 

scheduled hearing convenes. If a request to appear in person 

is received after the hearing has been convened, the 

presiding appeals examiner may grant or deny the request 

based upon consideration of all relevant circumstances. A 

request by a party to appear in person shall not require any 

other party to also appear in person; however, any other 

parties to the proceeding should be promptly informed of the 

request for in-person participation and be given the 

opportunity to participate in person if the commission grants 

a party's in person in-person hearing request. 

3. A hearing that is postponed or continued to accommodate 

a request for in-person participation shall be rescheduled as 

soon as administratively feasible. 

4. A notice of hearing shall be mailed to all parties and their 

known authorized representatives at least 10 days in advance 

of the hearing. The hearing notice shall set forth the 

particular statutory provisions and regulations that must be 

considered to resolve the case. The appeals examiner may 

consider any other applicable issues that are raised or 

become evident during the course of the hearing provided 

that all parties in interest are present and all agree on the 

record to waive the 10-day notice requirement with respect 

to such new issue. The appeals examiner may refer a new 

issue to the deputy if it has not been ruled upon at that level 

and may, upon the appeals examiner's own motion, postpone 

or continue the case if a new issue has become evident and 

it is necessary to give proper written notice in order to 

proceed. 

C. The Office of First Level Appeals (First Level Appeals) 

shall endeavor to schedule hearings as soon as possible in the 

order in which appeals are received. Special requests regarding 

dates or times of hearings will be given consideration; 

however, they need not always be honored. Requests for 

postponement of scheduled hearings shall be granted only 

when a party or the party's authorized representative 

demonstrates good cause for an inability to appear at the 

scheduled date and time. Good cause shall be deemed to exist 
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if a likelihood of material and substantial harm is shown. 

Postponements may be granted only by the Chief Appeals 

Examiner or the Chief Appeals Examiner's designee, the Clerk 

of the Commission for First Level Appeals, the examiner 

assigned to hear the case, or an appeals examiner acting in 

charge of the Office of First Level Appeals, although they may 

be communicated to the parties by other authorized persons. A 

postponed hearing may be rescheduled without notice if all 

parties in interest agree. Otherwise, notice of a postponed 

hearing shall be given as if it were a new hearing. 

D. Once a hearing has commenced, it may be continued only 

by the presiding appeals examiner, either upon the presiding 

appeals examiner's own motion or that of a party. Continuances 

may be granted in situations where (i) there is insufficient time 

to properly hear the evidence; or (ii) unexpected or 

unavoidable circumstances arise during the course of a hearing 

that require a continuance in order to protect the substantive or 

procedural rights of the parties. 

A continued hearing may be rescheduled by the presiding 

appeals examiner without written notice if all parties in interest 

are present and all concur. Otherwise, notice of a continued 

hearing shall be given as if it were a new hearing. 

E. If the appellant wishes to withdraw the appeal, a request, 

together with the reasons therefor, must be made in writing and 

sent to the Clerk of the Commission of First Level Appeals at 

the commission's administrative office in Richmond, Virginia. 

The request will be granted only if the Chief Appeals 

Examiner, the Chief Appeals Examiner's designee, or the 

appeals examiner assigned to hear the case is satisfied that: 

1. The appellant understands the effect that withdrawal will 

have upon benefit entitlement, potential benefit charges, and 

potential overpayment; 

2. The request is not the result of any coercion, collusion, or 

illegal waiver of benefits prohibited under § 60.2-107 of the 

Code of Virginia; and 

3. The appealed determination is not clearly erroneous based 

upon the existing record. 

Once granted, a withdrawal cannot be rescinded unless an 

evidentiary hearing on the issue of rescission is held before an 

appeals examiner, and the former appellant demonstrates that 

the criteria required for withdrawal were not fully met. A 

request to rescind a withdrawal must be filed with the 

commission within 30 days from the issuance of the Order of 

Dismissal or the discovery of information that would establish 

that withdrawal criteria were not met. 

F. In any hearing before an appeals examiner, all testimony 

shall be taken under oath or affirmation and a record of the 

proceedings shall be made by the presiding appeals examiner 

who shall inform all parties of this fact. No other recording of 

the proceedings other than that specifically authorized by the 

Virginia Unemployment Compensation Act (§ 60.2-100 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia) shall be permitted. 

The appeals examiner shall conduct the hearing in such a 

manner as to ascertain the substantive rights of the parties 

without having to be bound by common law, statutory rules of 

evidence, or technical rules of procedure. In addition to 

testimony, the appeals examiner may accept relevant 

documents or other evidence into the record as exhibits, upon 

the motion of a party. 

1. Where a party is unrepresented, the appeals examiner shall 

assist that party in presenting his that party's case and testing 

the case of the opposing party. 

2. At any hearing before an appeals examiner, an interested 

party may appear in person, by counsel, or by an authorized 

representative. All such persons will be permitted to attend 

the entire hearing. 

3. An employer shall be permitted one representative, in 

addition to counsel or duly authorized agent, who may attend 

the entire proceeding. The appeals examiner shall exclude 

any other witnesses from the hearing until such time as their 

testimony is to be taken. Observers may be permitted to 

attend the hearing so long as there is no objection by a party. 

4. The appeals examiner shall control the order of proof, rule 

upon the admission of evidence, and may examine and 

cross-examine witnesses. The examiner shall have the 

authority to maintain order and eject disruptive or unruly 

individuals. At a hearing, the parties, counsel, or duly 

authorized representatives shall be given an opportunity to 

cross-examine witnesses, to inspect documents, and to offer 

evidence in explanation and rebuttal. On motion of the 

appeals examiner, or any party, documents already in a 

claimant's file or obtained during the course of a hearing may 

be admitted into the record as exhibits provided they are 

relevant to the issues in dispute. Before the hearing is closed, 

the parties shall be given an opportunity to present oral 

argument on all the issues of law and fact to be decided. In 

addition, the appeals examiner may permit the parties to 

submit written arguments. 

G. The decision of the appeals examiner shall be reduced to 

writing and shall state the issues, findings of fact, opinion or 

reasons for the decision, and final judgement of the examiner. 

A copy of the decision shall be mailed delivered in a format 

prescribed by the commission to each of the interested parties 

and their known representatives who have requested to be 

notified of the decision. If the decision is rendered by an 

appeals examiner other than the one who presided at the 

hearing, that examiner shall review the record of the hearing 

and so state in the decision. 

H. If any party believes that the appeals examiner exhibits 

bias toward one or more parties in a case, a challenge to the 

interest of such appeals examiner shall be made promptly after 

the discovery of facts on which such challenge is based, but not 
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later than the date on which the decision is issued. A challenge 

to the interest of the appeals examiner made during the course 

of the hearing shall be decided and ruled upon by the presiding 

appeals examiner. If the presiding appeals examiner grants the 

challenge and withdraws from the case, the appeals examiner 

shall adjourn the hearing and promptly return the case to the 

Clerk of the Commission for rescheduling before a different 

appeals examiner. If a party challenges the interest of an 

appeals examiner after the conclusion of the hearing, but 

before the decision is issued, the challenge shall be set forth in 

writing with the reasons therefor, and sent to the chief appeals 

examiner at the Administrative Office of First Level Appeals 

of the Commission in Richmond, Virginia. If the Chief 

Appeals Examiner or the Chief Appeals Examiner's designee 

does not remove the challenged appeals examiner, the appeals 

examiner shall render a decision in the case. If the challenged 

appeals examiner is removed, is unavailable or chooses to 

withdraw, the Chief Appeals Examiner or the Chief Appeals 

Examiner's designee shall decide the case. Failure to remove 

the appeals examiner shall be subject to review by the 

commission on appeal by the aggrieved party, in the same 

manner as any other issue in the case. 

I. Any party who is unable to appear for the scheduled 

hearing, or who appeared but wishes to present additional 

evidence, may request a reopening of the case, which will be 

granted if good cause is shown. The request, together with the 

reasons therefor, shall be made in writing and sent to the Chief 

Appeals Examiner in the administrative office of the 

commission in Richmond, Virginia. 

1. Where a request for reopening is received before the 

decision of the appeals examiner is issued, the decision shall 

be withheld if the Chief Appeals Examiner, the Chief 

Appeals Examiner's designee, or the appeals examiner 

assigned to the case, finds that the reasons given in the 

request, if proven, would establish good cause to reopen the 

hearing. In that event, a hearing will be scheduled on the 

reopening issue. If, after the hearing, the appeals examiner 

should decide that reopening is warranted, the case shall be 

reopened for the taking of additional evidence. If no reasons 

are given for the reopening request, or if the reasons given 

would not establish good cause to reopen the hearing, the 

appeals examiner shall render a decision denying the request 

and adjudicating the merits of the case. In any event, the 

decision concerning the issue of reopening shall be subject 

to review by the commission on appeal by the aggrieved 

party. 

2. A request for reopening after the appeals examiner has 

issued a decision on the merits of the case, but within the 

appeal period, shall be mailed submitted in a format 

prescribed by the commission to the Administrative Law 

Division's Office of Commission Appeals in the 

administrative office of the commission in Richmond, 

Virginia and shall set forth in writing the reasons therefor. If 

the commission is of the opinion that the written request 

establishes good cause for reopening, it shall remand the 

case to the Chief Appeals Examiner of First Level Appeals. 

If the commission is of the opinion that the written request 

does not set forth good cause for reopening, it shall treat the 

request as an appeal to the commission on the merits of the 

case pursuant to this part. The commission may, in its 

discretion, schedule a hearing to receive evidence with 

respect to a reopening request or remand the case to the 

appeals examiner to hear and decide the reopening issue. 

3. Once a decision is rendered and becomes final, it cannot 

be reopened for any reason. A request for a reopening after 

the decision of the appeals examiner has become final shall 

be treated as an untimely appeal to the commission pursuant 

to this chapter. In the discretion of the commission, a hearing 

on the issue of reopening may be held. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7370; Filed April 6, 2023, 9:20 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC15-60. Regulation Governing 

On-the-Job Training Programs or Other Training 

Programs (adding 16VAC15-60-10, 16VAC15-60-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-6 and 40.1-28.10 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cristin Bernhardt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

2392, or email cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry to make such rules and 

regulations necessary for the enforcement of Title 40.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Chapters 1204 and 1242 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly amend § 40.1-28.10 of the Code of Virginia to direct 

and authorize the commissioner to set regulations to provide 

standards for on-the-job training or other training programs. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action protects public 

health, safety, or welfare by establishing a training wage 

program to allow employers to utilize a lower wage while they 

are training their employees. The regulation sets standards for 

employer requirements and responsibilities in having such a 

training program where they can economically benefit from the 

payment of lower wages during the employee training period. 

Employees will know that employers are appropriately paying 

them at a reduced wage and standards including the limited 

time period (no more than 90 days) allowed for reduced wages 

to be paid after which they must receive full wages. In addition, 

the department will be able to adequately monitor compliance 

with the training wage provision of the minimum wage law 

with an established set of standards. 

mailto:cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov
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Substance: The proposed regulation sets forth the standards 

required for any on-the-job training or other training program that 

an employer must establish if the employers wishes to pay its 

employees the reduced rate for the duration of the 90-day training 

period. Established provisions include (i) the period for which the 

employee can be paid the training wage; (ii) the lowest the 

employer can pay an employee while training; (iii) when an 

employee, who is trained or substantially trained to do the job does 

not need the training, stipulating that the employer cannot pay 

reduced wages simply by calling the first 90 days of employment 

a training period; (iv) prohibiting an employer from reducing the 

work of or firing current employees and replacing them with 

trainees at a reduced wage; and (v) what comprises an established 

training program. 

Issues: Advantages of the regulation for the public include that (i) 

employers wishing to take advantage of paying a lower wage to 

their trainees will know whether they are able to; (ii) employers 

will know their requirements and responsibilities in having such a 

training program; (iii) employers who do not utilize the training 

wage will know that their competitors that do have one are not 

getting an undue competitive advantage; and (iv) employees will 

know if their employer is appropriately paying them at a reduced 

wage. Disadvantages of the regulation to the public is that there 

will be some costs involved in having a written description of the 

training program. The advantage of the regulation for the 

department will be able to adequately monitor compliance with 

the training wage provision of the minimum wage law. There are 

no disadvantages for the agency or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the 

economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and Executive Order 

14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis presented represents 

DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a 2020 legislative mandate, the Department of Labor and 

Industry (DOLI) proposes to make permanent an emergency 

regulation that establishes on-the-job training program standards 

for an employer to pay a reduced training wage. 

Background.  

Federal Law. The United States Fair Labor Standards Act2 

establishes the federal minimum wage for covered nonexempt 

employees. The current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. 

Legislative Mandate. Chapters 12043 and 12424 of the 2020 Acts 

of Assembly (identical bills) amended the Virginia Minimum 

Wage Act to incrementally increase the Virginia minimum wage 

beginning May 1, 2021. The legislation also created a training 

wage for employees in on-the-job training programs lasting less 

than 90 days. The Virginia training wage (VA training wage) is 

the higher of either the federal minimum wage or 75% of the 

Virginia minimum wage. The table shows the effective VA 

training wage for different time periods, assuming that the federal 

minimum wage remains at $7.25.  

Calculation of the VA Training Wage under the 2020 Legislative 

Mandate* 

BEGIN  

DATE 

END  

DATE 

VA Minimum 

Wage 

Federal 

Minimum 

Wage* 

75% of VA 

Minimum 

Wage 

VA Training 

Wage* 

< May 1, 2021 May 1, 2021 
federal minimum 

wage 
$7.25 N/A N/A 

May 1, 2021 January 1, 2022 $9.50 $7.25 $7.13 $7.25 

January 1, 2022 January 1, 2023 $11.00 $7.25 $8.25 $8.25 

January 1, 2023 January 1, 2025 $12.00 $7.25 $9.00 $9.00 

January 1, 2025 January 1, 2026 $13.50 $7.25 $10.13 $10.13 

January 1, 2026 January 1, 2027 $15.00 $7.25 $11.25 $11.25 

*The VA training wage in this table assumes that the federal minimum wage would remain at $7.25. 

 

Employers can of course choose to pay more than the VA 

Training Wage to employees who are in an on-the-job training 

program. 

Standards for On-The-Job Training Programs. The legislation 

specifies that the VA training wage applies to all persons who 

are, "enrolled in an established employer on-the-job or other 

training program for a period not to exceed 90 days which 

meets standards set by regulations adopted by the 

Commissioner." The Regulation Governing On-The-Job 

Training Programs or Other Training Programs (16VAC15-60) 

is a new regulation proposed by DOLI to set such standards. It 

became effective as an emergency regulation on by May 1, 

2021. The emergency regulation is scheduled to expire on 

October 31, 2022. DOLI now proposes to make the regulation 

permanent. 

The proposed standards of the regulation are that an employee 

enrolled in an established on-the-job or other training program 

may, for the first 90 calendar days after start of employment, be 

paid the VA training wage provided the following conditions are 

met: 

The employee (i) must not have previous similar or related 

experience in the occupation; and (ii) can only undergo one on-
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the-job training program or other training program established 

in accordance with § 40.1-28.10 of the Code of Virginia per 

employer. 

The employer (i) must not use the employee in a manner that 

causes, induces, encourages, or assists any displacement or 

partial displacement of any currently employed worker; (ii) 

must make a good faith effort to continue to employ the 

employee after the training period expires; (iii) must not hire 

the employee at the training wage unless there is a reasonable 

expectation that there will be regular employment, paying at or 

above the effective minimum wage, for the trainee upon the 

successful completion of the period of the training wage; (iv) 

may not apply the reduced training wage to seasonal or 

temporary employees; and (vi) may not place an employee in 

another on-the-job training program or other training program 

established in accordance with § 40.1-28.10 of the Code of 

Virginia when an employer requires the employee to change 

employment classification or duties. 

The occupation must require a sufficient degree of technical 

skill to necessitate a learning period. 

The training program (i) must not be for the purpose of 

acquiring manual dexterity and high production speed in 

repetitive operations; (ii) must involve either formal 

instruction or on-the-job training during a period when the 

learners are entrusted with limited responsibility and are under 

supervision or guidance; and (iii) must describe, in writing, the 

nature and extent of the instruction and supervision provided. 

The employee could be placed in another on-the-job training 

program, or in another training program established in 

accordance with § 40.1-28.10 of the Code of Virginia with a 

subsequent employer, if the employee does not have previous 

similar or related experience in the occupation. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Presumably the intent of having 

a time-limited training wage that is less than the minimum 

wage is to encourage employers to hire inexperienced 

individuals when they might not otherwise do so. There is the 

possibility that the introduction of the training wage could 

lower wages in some situations when the individuals would 

have been hired anyway. Since there are no provisions for 

enrollment or registration of employers that wish to use a 

training wage, DOLI does not collect information on the 

number of participating employers and employees. Since the 

emergency regulation became effective, DOLI has received 

one payment of wage complaint about an employer who raised 

the defense that they were using the training wage, which 

DOLI determined was an inappropriate use of the training 

wage. The employer ceased the inappropriate use and paid the 

damages to 14 of its employees to whom they had paid a 

training wage. Given the paucity of information on use of the 

training wage, the impact of the establishment of the VA 

training wage is not currently known. 

The proposed standards in the regulation are likely beneficial 

for employees in that they may somewhat reduce the potential 

occurrences where the training wage is paid when the 

individual would have been hired anyway, help limit the use of 

the training wage for only when there is intent to employ the 

individual more than temporarily, help ensure that actual 

training occurs when the training wage is paid, and reduce the 

likelihood that other employees would be displaced.  

On the other hand, there is the possibility that the proposed 

conditions could stop an employee from being hired who 

otherwise would have received a desired offer if the employer 

could have paid the VA training wage. For example, say that 

Company A is known for producing the best-trained people in 

an occupation and also the best services that that occupation 

provides. Moreover, Company A is willing to hire at the VA 

training wage, but not the minimum wage for the training 

program. If a person applies who has some experience in that 

occupation, the proposed condition that the employee not have 

previous similar or related experience in the occupation could 

exclude his participation in the training program. However, 

because no data are collected on the use of the program, it is 

not possible to determine whether this potential situation 

would actually occur.  

Likewise, the proposed standards may reduce potential cost 

savings for some employers who would have chosen to pay the 

VA training wage if not prohibited by one or more of the 

proposed standards. For example, if firms could pay the 

training wage to seasonal or temporary employees, for jobs that 

do not require technical skills, or to displace a current higher-

paid worker, such firms could potentially save on payroll while 

hiring their preferred candidates. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

regulation potentially affects firms in the Commonwealth with 

training programs that may wish to pay less than the Virginia 

minimum wage, as well as individuals who may wish to 

participate in such training programs. Data is not available to 

estimate the number of entities. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.5 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, the 

discretionary proposals described are beneficial for workers, 

but prevent potential cost savings for employers. Thus, an 

adverse impact is indicated. Practically speaking, an adverse 

impact would inevitably need to be indicated however these 

requirements were designed. If there were to be no limits 

beyond what is in statute for when a training wage could be 

paid, then potential cost savings for employers would not be 

prevented, but overall at least some subset of workers would 

likely be worse off. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposed regulation potentially affects small firms in the 

Commonwealth with training programs that may wish to pay 

less than the Virginia minimum wage. Data is not available to 

estimate the number. 
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Costs and Other Effects. The proposed standards may reduce 

potential cost savings for some small businesses who would 

have chosen to pay the VA training wage if not prohibited by 

one or more of the proposed standards. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed regulation neither 

disproportionately affects particular localities nor affects costs 

for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation is 

not likely to have a substantive effect on total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

standards may prevent some firms from paying the VA training 

wage to trainees, which could prevent some modest cost 

savings. To the extent this occurs, this could potentially 

produce a very modest reduction in the value of some firms. 

The proposed regulation does not affect real estate 

development costs.  

___________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2See https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/flsa 

3See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP1204 

4See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP1242 

5Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
7If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 
have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
9Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Labor and Industry concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

In response to Chapters 1204 and 1242 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly and pursuant to § 40.1-28.10 of the Code of 

Virginia, the proposed regulation provides the standards 

required for any employer on-the-job training program or 

other training program established in accordance with the 

requirements of § 40.1-28.10 and includes (i) the period for 

which the employee can be paid the training wage; (ii) the 

lowest the employer can pay an employee while training; 

(iii) when an employee, who is trained or substantially 

trained to do the job does not need the training, prohibition 

of the employer paying reduced wages simply by calling the 

first 90 days of employment a training period; (iv) 

prohibiting an employer from reducing the work of or firing 

current employees and replacing them with trainees at a 

reduced wage; and (v) what comprises an established 

training program. . 

Chapter 60 

Regulation Governing On-the-Job Training Programs or 

Other Training Programs 

16VAC15-60-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Employee" means any person or individual who is enrolled 

in an established employer on-the-job training program for a 

period not to exceed 90 days that meets standards set by this 

chapter. 

"Employer" means any individual, partnership, association, 

corporation, or business trust or any person or group of persons 

acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in 

relation to an employee. "Employer" includes the 

Commonwealth, any of its agencies, institutions, or political 

subdivisions, and any public body. 

"Good faith effort" means done honestly, objectively, and 

with no deliberate intent to defraud. 

"Limited responsibility" means job duties that are 

substantially less than the expectations for a worker who has 

achieved a sufficient degree of technical skill and has 

completed a job training program.  

"Reasonable expectation" means a fair and sensible belief that 

something will happen. 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/flsa
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP1204
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP1242
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"Seasonal employee' means an employee in an occupation 

that can be carried out only at certain seasons or fairly definite 

periods of the year and that does not include such occupations 

as may be carried on through an entire year.  

"Similar or related experience" means knowledge or skill in a 

particular job or activity gained because the person has done 

that job or activity or a comparable job or activity for a 

meaningful period of time. 

"Sufficient degree of technical skill" means the ability to use 

the processes, practices, techniques, or tools of a particular area 

of expertise enough to meet the purpose and requirements of 

the job. 

"Temporary employee" means an employee supplied to a host 

employer and paid by a staffing agency whether or not the job 

is actually temporary.  

16VAC15-60-20. Requirements for job training programs.  

Beginning May 1, 2021, an employee enrolled in an 

established on-the-job or other training program may, for the 

first 90 calendar days after start of employment, be paid a 

training wage of not less than 75% of the minimum hourly 

wage specified at § 40.1-28.10 of the Code of Virginia, 

provided the following conditions are met: 

1. The employee has been hired in and is receiving training 

for an occupation in which the employee has no previous 

similar or related experience; 

2. The employer is not utilizing the employee being paid the 

training wage in a manner that causes, induces, encourages, 

or assists any displacement or partial displacement of any 

currently employed worker, including: 

a. By displacing any previous recipient of the training 

wage; 

b. By reducing hours of a currently employed worker; 

c. By replacing a current or laid off employee with a 

trainee; 

d. By relocating operations resulting in a loss of 

employment at a previous workplace; or 

e. In a manner that replaces, supplants, competes with, or 

duplicates any approved apprenticeship program. 

3. The occupation for which the employee is receiving 

training must require a sufficient degree of technical skill to 

necessitate a learning period. The training must not be for 

the purpose of acquiring manual dexterity and high 

production speed in repetitive operations; 

4. Such a training program must involve either formal 

instruction or on-the-job training during a period when the 

learners are entrusted with limited responsibility and are 

under supervision or guidance; 

5. Such a training program shall describe in writing the 

nature and extent of the instruction and supervision 

provided; 

6. The employer makes a good faith effort to continue to 

employ the employee after the period of the training wage 

expires; 

7. The employer shall not hire the employee at the training 

wage unless there is a reasonable expectation that there will 

be employment, paying at or above the effective minimum 

wage, for the trainee upon the successful completion of the 

period of the training wage. The training wage shall not be 

applied to: 

a. Seasonal employees; or 

b. Temporary employees; and 

8. An employee can only undergo one on-the-job training 

program or other training program established in accordance 

with § 40.1-28.10 per employer. 

a. A change in employment classification or duties 

required by the employer of the employee would not allow 

an employer to place that employee in another on-the-job 

training program or other training program established in 

accordance with § 40.1-28.10. 

b. An employee may be placed in another on-the-job 

training program or other training program established in 

accordance with § 40.1-28.10 with a subsequent employer 

so long as placing that employee in the on-the-job training 

program or other training program established in 

accordance with § 40.1-28.10 would not violate 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6714; Filed April 13, 2023, 8:03 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-21. Regulations Governing 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. 
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Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC30-21) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application to 

Practice as an Audiologist in Virginia (Includes Provisional for 

Re-entry Into Practice) (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Application for Provisional 

License to Practice as an Audiologist in Virginia (New 

Graduates Only) (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application to 

Practice as a School Speech-Language Pathologist in Virginia 

(rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reinstatement of an Expired 

License (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reactivating a Current Inactive 

License (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application to 

Practice as an Audiologist (Includes Provisional for Re-Entry 

into Practice) (rev. 3/2023) 

Instructions/Checklist for Application for Provisional 

License to Practice as an Audiologist (New Graduates Only) 

(rev. 3/2023) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application to 

Practice as a Speech-Language Pathologist (Includes 

Provisional for Re-Entry into Practice) (rev. 3/2023) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application to 

Practice as a School Speech-Language Pathologist (rev. 

3/2023) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reinstatement of an Expired 

License (rev. 3/2023) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reactivation of a Current Inactive 

License (rev. 3/2023) 

Request for Verification of Out-of-State License (rev. 

6/2020) 

Employment Verification (rev. 6/2020) 

Continuing Education Reporting Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 6/2020) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia License (rev. 6/2020) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

6/2020) 

Application for Registration to Volunteer Practice (rev. 

6/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7541; Filed April 14, 2023, 2:34 p.m. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC105-20) 

Application Instructions for Licensure/TPA Certification 

(rev. 6/2020) 

Application for a License to Practice as a TPA-Certified 

Optometrist, online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Optometry/optometry_forms.ht

m. 

Instructions/Checklist for Reactivation of an Inactive License 

(rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reactivation of an Inactive License 

(rev. 3/2023) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reinstatement of a License 

Following Discipline (TPA-Certified Optometrist)(rev. 

3/2023) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reinstatement of an Expired 

License (rev. 6/2020) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

6/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

6/2020) 

Licensure Verification Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Employment Verification Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions for Completing the Continuing Education (CE) 

Reporting Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Continuing Education Credit Form for Volunteer Practice 

(rev. 6/2020) 

mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.g
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Full%20Audiology%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414142241a-20230419112630.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Full%20Audiology%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414142241a-20230419112630.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Full%20Audiology%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414142241a-20230419112630.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Audiology%20Provisional%20Application%2003.2023%20Final%20new%20graduates%20only-20230414142023b-20230419112655.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Audiology%20Provisional%20Application%2003.2023%20Final%20new%20graduates%20only-20230414142023b-20230419112655.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Audiology%20Provisional%20Application%2003.2023%20Final%20new%20graduates%20only-20230414142023b-20230419112655.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Full%20SLP%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414142632c-20230419112716.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Full%20SLP%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414142632c-20230419112716.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Full%20SLP%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414142632c-20230419112716.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20School%20SLP%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414142840d-20230419112747.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20School%20SLP%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414142840d-20230419112747.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20School%20SLP%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414142840d-20230419112747.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Reinstatement%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414143018e-20230419114308.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Reinstatement%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414143018e-20230419114308.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Reactivation%20Application%2003.2023-20230414143151f-20230419112826.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/ASLP%20Reactivation%20Application%2003.2023-20230414143151f-20230419112826.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/License%20Verification%2006.09.20-20201229110116.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/License%20Verification%2006.09.20-20201229110116.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Employ%20Verif-20201229120826.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/CE%20Reporting%20Form%2006.09.20-20201229110203.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/CE%20Volunteer%20Practice%2006.09.20-20201229110218.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/CE%20Volunteer%20Practice%2006.09.20-20201229110218.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/VA%20Lic%20Verif-20201229120958.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Name.Address%20Change%2006.09.20-20201229110308.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Volunteer%20Sponsor%2006.09.20-20201229111618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Volunteer%20Sponsor%2006.09.20-20201229111618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/App%20Volunteer%20Prac-20201229121157.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/App%20Volunteer%20Prac-20201229121157.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.g
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/TPA_Application-20210112205939.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/TPA_Application-20210112205939.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/OPT%20Reactivation%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414143842-20230419105701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/OPT%20Reactivation%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414143842-20230419105701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/OPT%20Reinstate%20Discipline%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414144044-20230419105732.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/OPT%20Reinstate%20Discipline%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414144044-20230419105732.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/OPT%20Reinstate%20Discipline%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414144044-20230419105732.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Reinstatement-20210112210700.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Reinstatement-20210112210700.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Volunteer-20210112210946.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Volunteer-20210112210946.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Volunteer_Sponso-20210112211233.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Volunteer_Sponso-20210112211233.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/LicensVerif-20210112211404.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/EmployVerif-20210112211553.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/CE_Reporting-20210112211917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/CE_Reporting-20210112211917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/CE_VolunteerPrac-20210112211952.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/CE_VolunteerPrac-20210112211952.pdf
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Name/Address Change Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Written Evidence for Injections (rev. 6/2020) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia License (rev. 6/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7542; Filed April 14, 2023, 2:42 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20) 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as Nonresident Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Third Party Logistics 

Provider Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Warehouser 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Outsourcing Facility 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Medical Equipment Supplier Permit (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Non-Restricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as Warehouser (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Non-resident Medical 

Equipment Supplier (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 10/2020) 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 

Donated Drugs (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Facility to be an Authorized Collector for 

Drug Disposal (rev. 5.2018) 

Application for Re-inspection of Facility (rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Re-inspection of a Facility (rev. 3/2023) 

Notification of Distribution Cessation due to Suspicious 

Orders (rev. 5/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7545; Filed April 14, 2023, 3:22 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with a 

hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration of 

Pharmacy Technicians. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-21) 

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Examination 

(rev. 6/2021) 

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Endorsement 

(rev. 6/2021) 

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist 

License (rev. 6/2021) 

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician 

Registration (rev. 6/2021) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Name_Address-20210112212125.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Injections_Attest-20210112212310.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/VA_%20LicenseVerif-20210112212409.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacyApp-20210116203211.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_PharmApp-20210116203356.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_PharmApp-20210116203356.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116203436.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116203436.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116203634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116203634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Outsorc_Facil_App-20210116203955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDistr_App-20210116204903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDistr_App-20210116204903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WarehouserApp-20210116210503.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogistics-20210116205028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogistics-20210116205028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7e83004673~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgramApp-20210116205722.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgramApp-20210116205722.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Re-Inspection%20Application%203-2023-20230414152057.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.g
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Exam_2021-20210624154341.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Exam_2021-20210624154341.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Endorse_2021-20210624154411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Endorse_2021-20210624154411.pdf
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Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist License 

(rev. 4/2023) 

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician Registration 

(rev. 4/2023) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician (eff. 

6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Limited-Use Pharmacy 

Technician (for use exclusively in a free clinic) (rev. 6/2021) 

Affidavit for Limited-use Pharmacy Technician (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of Pharmacy Technician Training 

Program (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician Trainee 

(rev. 6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern (eff. 6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern for Graduates 

of a Foreign College of Pharmacy (rev. 6/2021) 

Affidavit of Practical Experience as a Pharmacy Intern (rev. 

3/2019) 

Name Change Form for Individuals (rev. 3/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (PILOT) Program 

(rev. 6/2021) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Preceptors (rev. 

7/2020) 

Application for Approval of ACPE Accredited Pharmacy School 

Course(s) for Continuing Education Credit (rev. 6/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 4/2018) 

Application for Volunteer Practice by a Pharmacist (rev. 4/2018) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer Practice 

(rev. 4/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7544; Filed April 14, 2023, 3:19 p.m. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC150-20) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

VETERINARIAN in Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Medicine 

online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/VetMed/PractitionerRe

sources/Forms/ 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

VETERINARY TECHNICIAN in Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Technology 

online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/VetMed/PractitionerRe

sources/Forms/ 

Application for Registration of a Veterinary Establishment 

AND Changes/Updates to a Registered Establishment (rev. 

6/2020) 

Change of Veterinarian-in-Charge Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Veterinary Establishment Inspection Report (rev. 10/2019) 

Veterinary Establishment Closure Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Employment Verification (rev. 6/2020) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia License (rev. 6/2020) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

6/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

6/2020) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application for 

Registration to Practice as an Equine Dental Technician in 

Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstating an Expired License to Practice as 

a VETERINARIAN or VETERINARY TECHNICIAN in 

Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions for Reactivating an Inactive License to Practice 

as a VETERINARIAN or VETERINARY TECHNICIAN in 

Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application for 

Registration to Practice as an Equine Dental Technician (rev. 

3/2023) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0202%20Reinstatement-Reactivate%20Pharmacist%20App%203-2023-20230414151628.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0202%20Reinstatement-Reactivate%20Pharmacist%20App%203-2023-20230414151628.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0230%20Reinstatement%20Pharmacy%20Technician%20App%203-2023-20230414151728.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0230%20Reinstatement%20Pharmacy%20Technician%20App%203-2023-20230414151728.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Phar_Technician_2021-20210624154142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Phar_Technician_2021-20210624154142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Limited-Use_PharTech_2021-20210624153917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Limited-Use_PharTech_2021-20210624153917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Aff_FreeClinicDir-20210113204932.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_Trainee_2021-20210902211251.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_Trainee_2021-20210902211251.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Intern_2021-20210624154624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Foreign_Intern_2021-20210625112857.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Foreign_Intern_2021-20210625112857.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5946f004673~318.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_CEProgram_2021-20210902211150.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_CEProgram_2021-20210902211150.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram_2021-20210902211008.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram_2021-20210902211008.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Vol_Prac_Sponsor-20210113205611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Volunt_App_Pharm-20210113205627.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Veterinarian%20Instr-20210118093230.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Veterinarian%20Instr-20210118093230.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Vet%20Tech%20Instr-20210118093345.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Vet%20Tech%20Instr-20210118093345.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Establishment_App-20210118093523.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Establishment_App-20210118093523.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Establishment_App-20210118093523.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Change%20of%20VIC-20210118093612.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Inspection-20210118095439.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Facility%20Closure-20210118093807.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Employment_Verif-20210118093839.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Name_AddressChange-20210118093909.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Verif_VA%20License-20210118095525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Reg_Volunteer_Prac-20210118094007.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Reg_Volunteer_Prac-20210118094007.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Volunteer%20Sponsor-20210118094048.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Volunteer%20Sponsor-20210118094048.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/CE_Volunteer%20Practice-20210118094212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/CE_Volunteer%20Practice-20210118094212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/VET%20EDT%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414150311.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/VET%20EDT%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414150311.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/VET%20EDT%20Application%2003.2023%20Final-20230414150311.docx
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Instructions for Reinstating an Expired Registration to 

Practice as an Equine Dental Technician (rev. 3/2023) 

Instructions for Reinstating an Expired License to Practice 

(Veterinarian or Veterinary Technician) (rev. 3/2023) 

Instructions for Reactivating an Inactive License to Practice 

(Veterinarian or Veterinary Technician) (rev. 3/2023) 

Recommendation for Registration as an Equine Dental 

Technician (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstating a License to Practice Following 

Discipline (Veterinarian or Veterinary Technician) (rev. 

3/2023) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7543; Filed April 14, 2023, 3:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-120. Adult Services 

Approved Providers (amending 22VAC30-120-10 through 

22VAC30-120-160). 

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 8, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Paige L. McCleary, Adult Services Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7605, or email paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require a local department of social 

services to evaluate an individual's application to be a 

provider when an adult recipient requests that individual 

be that adult's provider; (ii) raise the minimum age to be 

a chore and companion service provider and to be an 

assistant to an in-home provider to 18 years of age; and 

(iii) clarify content, eliminate inconsistency within the 

regulation, remove obsolete text, and update text to use 

person-centered language. Clarifying, nonsubstantive 

changes were made to the proposed regulation.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

22VAC30-120-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control 

and eating/feeding. A person's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is part of determining the 

appropriate level of care and services. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or over older, 

or younger than 18 if legally emancipated. 

"Adult abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, 

injury or mental anguish or unreasonable confinement of an 

adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 [ of the Code of Virginia ]. 

"Adult day services provider" means a provider who gives 

personal supervision for up to three adults for part of a day. 

The provider promotes social, physical and emotional well-

being through companionship, self-education, and satisfying 

leisure activities. Adult day services that are provided for more 

than three adults require licensure by the Virginia Department 

of Social Services.  

"Adult exploitation" means the illegal, unauthorized, 

improper, or fraudulent use of an adult as defined in § 63.2-

1603 or [ his the adult's ] funds, property, benefits, resources, 

or other assets for another's profit, benefit, or advantage, 

including a caregiver or person serving in a fiduciary capacity, 

or that deprives the adult of his rightful use of or access to such 

fund, property, benefits resources, or other assets. "Adult 

exploitation" includes (i) an intentional breach of a fiduciary 

obligation to an adult to [ his the adult's ] detriment or an 

intentional failure to use the financial resources of an adult in 

a manner that results in the neglect of such adult; (ii) the 

acquisition, possession, or control of an adult's financial 

resources or property through the use of undue influence, 

coercion, or duress; and (iii) forcing or coercing an adult to pay 

for goods or services or perform services against [ his the 

adult's ] will for another's profit, benefit, or advantage if the 

adult did not agree or was tricked, misled, or defrauded into 

agreeing, to pay for such goods or services or perform such 

services. 

"Adult foster care" means room and board, supervision, and 

special services to an adult who has a physical or mental 

condition or an emotional or behavioral problem. Adult foster 

care may be provided by a single provider for up to three 

adults. 

"Adult foster care provider" means a provider who gives 

room and board, supervision, and special services in his the 

provider's own home for up to three adults who are unable to 

remain in their own homes because of to an adult with a 

physical or mental condition or an emotional or behavioral 

problem. Adult foster care may be provided by a single 

provider for up to three adults. Care provided for more than 

three adults requires licensure as an assisted living facility by 

the Virginia Department of Social Services. 

"Adult neglect" means that an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 

is living under such circumstances that [ he the adult ] is not 

able to provide for himself or is not being provided services 

necessary to maintain [ his the adult's ] physical and mental 
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health and that the failure to receive such necessary services 

impairs or threatens to impair [ his the adult's ] well-being. 

However, no adult shall be considered neglected solely on the 

basis that such adult is receiving religious nonmedical 

treatment or religious nonmedical nursing care in lieu of 

medical care, provided that such treatment or care is performed 

in good faith and in accordance with the religious practices of 

the adult, and there is a written or oral expression of consent 

by that adult. 

"Adult services" means services that are provided to adults 60 

years of age and older and to adults 18 years of age and older 

who are impaired.  

"Assistant" means any individual who is responsible to assist 

an adult services approved provider in caring for adult clients 

adults. Assistants must shall meet the same requirements as the 

provider standards set forth in this chapter. 

"Chore provider" means a provider who performs nonroutine, 

heavy home maintenance tasks for adult clients unable to 

perform such tasks for themselves. Chore services include 

adults, including minor repair work on furniture and appliances 

in the adult's home; carrying coal, wood and, or water; 

chopping wood; removing snow; yard maintenance; and 

painting. 

"Client" means any adult who needs supervision and/or 

services and seeks assistance in meeting those needs from a 

local department of social services. 

"Companion provider" means a provider who assists adult 

clients unable to care for themselves without assistance and 

where there is no one available to provide the needed services 

without cost in adults with activities such as light 

housekeeping, companionship, shopping, meal preparation, 

transportation, household management and activities of daily 

living (ADLs) laundry, money management, and ADLs.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 

"Home-based services" means companion, chore, and 

homemaker services that allow individuals to attain or 

maintain self-care and are likely to prevent or reduce 

dependency. 

"Health care professional" means a physician or other health 

care practitioner licensed, accredited, or certified to perform 

specific health care services consistent with the laws of the 

Commonwealth. 

"Homemaker services" provider" means a provider who gives 

instruction in or, where appropriate, performs activities such as 

personal care, home household management, household 

maintenance, nutrition, consumer or hygiene education. 

"In-home provider" means an individual who provides care in 

the home of the adult client needing supervision and/or 

services. In-home providers include are companion, chore, and 

homemaker providers. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping/light housework light 

housekeeping, shopping for personal items, money 

management, laundry, or using the telephone, and home 

maintenance. An adult client's adult's degree of independence 

in performing these activities is part of determining the 

appropriate level of care and services an adult's service needs. 

"Local board" means the local board of social services 

representing one or more counties or cities. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in this Commonwealth. 

"Local department-approved provider" means a provider that 

is not subject to licensure by the Virginia Department of Health 

[ or the Virginia Department of Social Services ] and is 

approved by a local department of social services to provide 

in-home or adult foster care services to clients adults. 

"Out-of-home provider" means an individual who provides 

care in the individual's own home to adult clients who enter the 

home for purposes of receiving needed supervision and/or 

services.  

"Personal care services" means the provision of nonskilled 

services to the adult, including assistance in the activities of 

daily living ADLs, and may include instrumental activities of 

daily living related to the needs of the adult client IADLs, to 

maintain the adult client's health and safety safely in their the 

adult's home. 

"Personal toiletries" means hygiene items provided to the 

individual by the adult foster care provider, including 

deodorant, razor, shaving cream, shampoo, soap, toothbrush, 

and toothpaste. 

"Responsible person" means an individual designated by or 

for an adult client who is authorized by state law to make 

decisions concerning the adult client and/or and to receive 

information about the adult client. 

"Significant change" means a change in an adult's condition 

that is expected to last longer than 30 calendar days. It does not 

include short-term changes that resolve with or without 

intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 

well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs and 

symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed condition 

for which an appropriate course of treatment is in progress. 

22VAC30-120-20. Local department-approved providers. 

A. This [ regulation chapter ] applies to providers approved 

by a local department department-approved providers and does 

shall not apply to facilities or organizations licensed or 

regulated by a licensing or regulatory agency the Virginia 

Department of Health [ or the Virginia Department of Social 

Services ]. A local department shall not approve a provider that 



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 19  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 8, 2023  

2359 

does not meet the standards set out forth in this regulation 

chapter. 

B. This regulation chapter is applicable to the following 

providers: 

1. Out-of-home providers including: a. Adult day services 

providers; b. Adult foster care providers; and 

2. In-home providers including: a. Chore providers; b. 

Companion providers; c. Homemaker providers. 

C. The local department [ is not required to may ] accept 

provider applications for any type of service [ even ] when the 

local department has a sufficient number of approved providers 

for that service to meet the client population needs [ or, ] does 

not offer the type of service [ , or. If the local department ] 

chooses to contract with an agency or organization licensed or 

regulated by the Virginia Department of Health [ or the 

Virginia Department of Social Services ] to provide in-home 

providers [ , the local department shall inform the provider 

applicant of the local department's choice to contract with a 

licensed or regulated agency or organization ]. However, if the 

local department approves its own providers and the adult 

identifies an individual to be a provider, the local department 

shall initiate the approval process for that individual as long as 

the service is offered by that locality. The individual identified 

by the adult shall meet the standards set forth in this chapter. 

D. Prior to approving an out-of-home adult foster care 

provider located in another that is not approved by the local 

department in the [ whose ] jurisdiction [ where ] the provider 

is located, the local department wanting to approve the 

provider shall seek written permission from the local 

department in the jurisdiction where the adult foster care 

provider will provide services is located. 

E. Local departments may use an approved in-home or adult 

foster care provider from another jurisdiction without 

performing another approval study initiating the approval 

process when the local department obtains written permission 

and a copy of the approval documents from the local 

department that conducted the approval study approved the in-

home or adult foster care provider. 

22VAC30-120-30. Standards for providers and other 

persons. 

A. Age requirements include: 

1. All local department-approved adult services homemaker 

providers shall be at least 18 years of age. 

2. All local department-approved adult services chore and 

companion providers shall be at least 16 years of age. If the 

local department chooses to approve a chore or companion 

provider who is at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years 

of age, the local department must determine that the provider 

is competent and able to provide the service Any assistant to 

a local department-approved provider shall be at least 18 

years of age. 

3. Any assistant to a local department-approved in-home 

provider for adult services shall be at least 16 years of age.  

B. Criminal record background checks and additional 

requirements include: 

1. The provider and any assistant, the spouse of the provider, 

or other adult household members who come in contact with 

adults in care shall identify any criminal convictions and 

consent to a criminal record search. An individual applying 

to become an in-home or adult foster care provider shall 

identify any criminal convictions and consent to a criminal 

record search. The local department shall obtain criminal 

history record information from the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange of any individual the local department is 

considering approving as an in-home or adult foster care 

provider. The local department may also obtain a criminal 

records search on all adult household members residing in 

the home of an individual the local department is considering 

approving as an adult foster care provider. A new criminal 

record background check shall be required at the time of 

provider renewal. 

2. Convictions of any offense set forth in clause (i) of the 

definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of 

Virginia shall prohibit a provider, the assistant, spouse of the 

provider, or other adult household members who come in 

contact with adults in care to receive approval as a provider 

any individual from being approved as a local-department 

approved provider. In addition, if the provider or, for adult 

foster care and adult day services, the assistant, spouse of the 

provider, or other adult household members who come in 

contact with adults in care, has been convicted of any other 

felony or misdemeanor that, in the judgment of the local 

department jeopardizes the safety or proper care of adults, 

the provider shall be prohibited from being approved as a 

provider of services to adults. 

3. Conviction of any offense set forth in clause (i) of the 

definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of 

Virginia will result in the revocation of the in-home or adult 

foster care provider's approval unless an allowable variance 

is granted by the local department. The local department 

shall terminate the provision of services by an in-home 

provider or the adult shall be removed from the adult foster 

care home immediately if any adult in the home has been 

convicted of any offense set forth in clause (i) of the 

definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

4. When the provider and any assistant, and for adult foster 

care, spouse of the provider, or other adult household 

members who come in contact with adults in care, has been 

convicted of a felony or misdemeanor not listed in clause (i) 

of the definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the 
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Code of Virginia, the local department may approve the 

provider if the local department determines that the 

conviction does not jeopardize the safety or proper care of 

the adult. If approval as a local department-approved 

provider is denied because of information obtained through 

a Central Criminal Records Exchange search, the local 

department, upon request, shall provide a copy of the 

information obtained to the individual who is the subject of 

the search. Except as provided by law, further dissemination 

of the criminal history record information is prohibited.  

C. Interview, references, and employment history 

requirements include: 

1. The provider shall participate in interviews with the local 

department. 

2. The provider shall provide at least two references from 

persons who have knowledge of the provider's ability, skill, 

or experience in the provision of services and who shall not 

be related to the provider. 

3. The provider shall provide information on the provider's 

employment history. 

4. The local department shall use the interviews, references, 

and employment history to assess that the provider is: 

a. Knowledgeable of and physically and mentally capable 

of providing the necessary care for adults; 

b. Able to sustain positive and constructive relationships 

with adults in care, and to relate to adults with respect, 

courtesy, and understanding; 

c. Capable of handling emergencies with dependability 

and good judgment; and 

d. Able to communicate and follow instructions 

sufficiently to ensure adequate care, safety, and protection 

for adults. 

5. For adult foster care and adult day services providers, at 

least one interview shall occur in the home where the care is 

to be provided. All adult household members shall be 

interviewed to ensure that they understand the demands and 

expectations of the care to be provided. 

6. For homemaker providers, the local department shall 

further use the interview, references, and employment 

history to assess that the provider has knowledge, skills, and 

ability, as appropriate, in: 

a. Home management and household maintenance; 

b. The types of personal care of the elderly older adults or 

adults with a disability permitted by regulation; 

c. Nutrition education and meal planning and preparation, 

including special diets; and 

d. Personal hygiene and consumer education. 

7. For adult foster care providers, the local department shall 

further use the interview, references, and employment 

history to assess that the provider has sufficient financial 

income or resources to meet the basic needs of [ his the adult 

foster care provider's ] own family and has the knowledge, 

skills, and abilities to care for adults, including, but not 

limited to: 

a. Provision of a furnished room in the home that meets 

applicable zoning, building, and fire safety codes. 

b. Housekeeping services based on the needs of the adult 

in care. 

c. Nutritionally balanced meals and snacks, including 

extra portions and special diets as necessary. 

d. Provision of clean bed linens and towels at least once a 

week and as needed by the adult. 

e. Assistance with personal hygiene including bathing, 

dressing, oral hygiene, hair grooming and shampooing, 

care of clothing, shaving, care of toenails and fingernails, 

arranging for haircuts as needed, care of needs associated 

with menstruation or occasional bladder or bowel 

incontinence. 

f. Provision of generic personal toiletries including soap 

and toilet paper. 

g. Assistance with the following: care of personal 

possessions, care of personal funds if requested by the 

adult and adult foster care home's policy permits it, use of 

telephone, arranging transportation, obtaining necessary 

personal items and clothing, making and keeping 

appointments, and correspondence. 

h. Securing health care and transportation when needed for 

medical treatment. 

i. Providing social and recreational activities as required 

by the local department and consistent with licensing 

regulations. 

j. General supervision for safety. 

D. Training requirements include: 

1. The local department shall provide basic orientation to 

any approved provider. 

2. The provider shall attend any orientation and training 

required by the local department. The provider shall bear the 

cost of any required training unless the local department 

subsidizes the cost for all local department-approved 

providers. 

E. Medical requirements include: 

1. The in-home provider; for out-of-home care, the an 

assistant;, the provider's spouse; adult foster care provider, 

and all other adult household members in the adult foster 

care home who come in contact with adults in receiving care 

shall submit a statement from the local health department or 

licensed physician a health care professional that he the 

individual submitting the statement is believed to be free of 

tuberculosis in a communicable form. 
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2. The provider and assistant shall submit the results of a 

physical and mental health examination when requested by 

the local department. 

F. All local department-approved adult foster care providers 

shall keep notify the local department informed within one 

business day of changes in the household composition that may 

affect approval of the provider. 

G. The provider shall have the capability to fully perform the 

requirements of the position, have the moral and business 

integrity and reliability to ensure good faith performance and 

be determined by the local department to meet the 

requirements of the position. 

H. Any provider who causes the local department to make an 

improper payment by withholding information or providing 

false information may shall be required to repay the amount of 

the improper payment. Failure to repay any improper payment 

shall result in a referral for criminal or civil prosecution. 

22VAC30-120-40. Standards for of care for adult services 

for local department-approved providers. 

A. The provider shall provide care that does not discriminate 

on the basis of race, ethnicity, sex, national origin, age, 

religion, disability, or impairment. 

B. Supervision requirements include: 

1. The provider shall have a plan for seeking assistance from 

police, firefighters the fire department, and medical 

professionals in an emergency. 

2. A responsible adult or an approved assistant shall always 

be available to provide appropriate care for the adult in case 

of an emergency. 

3. If extended absence of the provider is required, the local 

department shall approve any substitute arrangements the 

provider wishes to make The adult foster care provider shall 

inform the local department prior to an extended absence. 

An extended absence shall be defined as greater than one 

calendar day. Each adult foster care provider shall identify 

to the local department a substitute provider who will 

provide care during the adult foster care provider's extended 

absence. Each substitute provider shall also meet the 

standards set forth in this chapter. 

4. The provider shall ensure that adequate care and 

supervision are provided to adults in care each adult and that 

the adult's health, safety, and well-being are protected. 

5. The provider shall notify the local department within 24 

hours of any significant changes in the adult's mental or 

physical condition. 

C. The following standards apply to food provided to adult 

clients adults by adult day services and adult foster care 

providers: 

1. Adults in care shall receive nutritionally balanced meals 

and snacks appropriate to the length of time in care each day 

and, the daily nutritional needs of each adult, and the time of 

day care is provided. 

2. Adults in care shall receive special diets if prescribed by 

a licensed physician health care professional or in 

accordance with religious or ethnic requirements, the adult's 

preferences, or other special needs. 

3. Adequate drinking water shall be available at all times. 

D. Requirements for transportation of adults include: 

1. If the provider and, for out-of home services, the assistant; 

spouse of the provider; volunteer; or any other agent 

involved in the day-to-day operation of the adult day 

services or adult foster care transports adults in care, the As 

part of the service, only the approved provider or the person 

providing the or assistant shall provide transportation for the 

adult and shall have a valid driver's license and automobile 

liability insurance. When the approved provider or assistant 

is unable to provide transportation for the adult, the 

approved provider shall coordinate and assist the adult in 

obtaining backup transportation.  

2. The vehicle used to transport adults shall have a valid 

license and inspection sticker. 

3. Providers or the person who transports adults in care must 

The vehicle operator shall ensure that all passengers use 

safety belts in accordance with requirements of Virginia law. 

E. Requirements for medical care include: 

1. The provider shall have the name, address, and telephone 

number of each adult's physician health care professional 

and responsible person easily accessible. 

2. The provider shall be able to meet the identified needs of 

the adult as assessed by the local department before 

accepting the adult for care and in order to continue 

providing services or continuing to provide services to the 

adult. 

3. The adult foster care provider shall not administer 

medications. The adult foster care and adult day services 

provider shall: 

a. Ensure that the adult receives prescription drugs 

medications only in accordance with an order signed by a 

licensed physician or authentic prescription label the 

prescription label and, with the adult's responsible person's 

written consent, as appropriate applicable; 

b. Document all medications taken by adults in care, 

including over-the-counter medications; 

c. Ensure that the adult in care receives nonprescription 

drugs over-the-counter medications only with the adult's 

or the adult's responsible person's written consent, as 

required applicable; 
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d. Keep medications separate from food except those 

items that must be refrigerated; 

e. Report all major injuries to and accidents experienced 

by the adult to the local department and the adult's 

responsible person immediately; 

f. Have authorization for emergency medical care for each 

adult in care; and 

g. Have first aid supplies easily accessible in case of 

accidents. 

4. Admission or retention continued residence of adults in an 

adult foster care home is prohibited when the adult's care 

needs cannot be met by the provider as determined by the 

assessment of by the adult services worker local department 

or by the adult's physician health care professional. 

F. The adult day services and adult foster care provider shall 

provide recreational and other planned activities appropriate to 

the needs, interests, and abilities of the adults in care. 

G. All providers of adult services shall immediately report 

any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of any adult in 

care to the local department or to the 24-hour toll-free hotline 

(hotline number: 888-83-ADULT). Providers covered by this 

[ regulation chapter ] are mandatory reporters in accordance 

with § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia. Failure to report 

could result in the imposition of civil penalties. 

H. The adult foster care provider shall ensure that adults in 

care have adequate, properly fitting, and seasonal clothing and 

that all clothing is properly laundered or cleaned and altered or 

repaired as necessary. 

22VAC30-120-50. Standards for the home of the adult 

foster care or adult day services provider. 

A. Physical accommodations requirements include: 

1. The home shall have appropriate space and furnishings for 

each adult receiving care in the home to include, including: 

a. Space to keep clothing and other personal belongings; 

b. Accessible and adequate basin and toilet facilities; 

c. Comfortable sleeping or napping furnishings; 

d. For adults unable to use stairs unassisted, sleeping space 

on the first floor of the home; 

e. Adequate space for recreational activities; and 

f. Sufficient space and equipment for food preparation, 

service, and proper storage. 

2. All rooms used by adults shall be heated in winter, dry, 

and well-ventilated. 

3. All doors and windows used for ventilation shall be 

appropriately screened. 

4. Rooms used by adults in care shall have adequate lighting 

for activities and the comfort of adults. 

5. The provider and any adult in care shall have access to a 

working telephone in the home shall have a working 

telephone that the adult shall be permitted to use. 

6. The home shall be in compliance with all local ordinances. 

7. Additional standards for adult foster care include: 

a. No more than two adults shall share a sleeping room 

unless they request, or if applicable, each adult's 

responsible person requests and consent [ annually ] 

consents in writing [ , which includes by electronic mail, ] 

to sharing such a sleeping arrangement. 

b. There shall be space in the household for privacy 

outside of the sleeping rooms for the adult to entertain 

visitors and talk privately. 

c. There shall be at least one toilet, one basin, and one tub 

or shower for every five persons residing in the home. 

B. Home safety requirements include: 

1. The home and grounds shall be free from litter and debris 

and present no hazard to the safety of the adults receiving 

care safety hazards. 

2. The provider shall permit a fire inspection of the home by 

appropriate authorities if conditions indicate a need for 

approval and the local department requests it. 

3. The provider shall have a written emergency plan that 

includes, but is not limited to, fire or natural disaster and 

rehearse the plan at least twice a year and natural disasters. 

The provider shall rehearse the plan at least twice per year 

and review the plan with each new adult placed in admitted 

to the home. The written plan shall be provided to the local 

department upon request. 

4. Attics or basements used by adults in care shall have two 

emergency exits. One of the emergency exits shall lead 

directly outside and may be a door or an escapable window. 

The provider shall ensure the adult [ is able to evacuate can 

be safely evacuated from ] all living spaces [ safely ] during 

an emergency. The provider shall include emergency 

evacuation procedures in the written emergency plan and 

shall consider the adult's ability to ambulate during an 

emergency. 

5. Possession of any weapons, including firearms, in the 

home shall be in compliance with federal, state, and local 

laws and ordinances. The provider shall store all weapons, 

firearms, and ammunition in a locked cabinet with safety 

mechanisms activated. The key or combination to the 

cabinet shall not be accessible to the adult in care. Any glass 

cabinets used to store any weapons, including firearms, shall 

be shatterproof owned by the provider or other household 

members in a manner that prohibits access by the adult. If 

the provider permits an adult to possess weapons, firearms, 

or ammunition in the home, the provider shall have a written 

policy detailing such permissions, and the provider shall 

require the adult to safely store all weapons, firearms, or 
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ammunition. The provider may have a written policy 

prohibiting all weapons, firearms, and ammunition in the 

home, and the provider may choose not to accept into care 

an adult if the adult possesses weapons, firearms, or 

ammunition. 

6. The provider shall protect adults from household pets that 

may be a health or safety hazard. Household pets shall be 

inoculated as required by state or local ordinances. 

Documentation of inoculations shall be made available upon 

local department request. 

7. The provider shall keep cleaning supplies and other toxic 

substances stored away from food and out of the reach of 

adults in receiving care who are mentally incapacitated. 

8. The provider shall provide and maintain at least one 

approved, properly installed, and operable battery-operated 

smoke detector, at a minimum, in each sleeping area and on 

each additional floor. Existing installations that have been 

approved by the state or local fire marshal are exempted 

from this requirement. 

C. Sanitation requirements include: 

1. The provider shall permit an inspection of the home's 

private water supply and sewage disposal system by the local 

health department if conditions indicate a need for approval 

and the local department requests it. 

2. The home and grounds shall be free of garbage, debris, 

insects, and rodents that would present a hazard to the health 

of the adult in care adults. 

D. Capacity standards include: 

1. The provider shall not exceed the maximum allowable 

capacity for the type of care provided and approved by the 

local department. 

2. The adult day services provider shall not accept more than 

three adults in the home at any one time. A provider who has 

more than three adults receiving day services shall be 

licensed by the Department of Social Services. 

3. The adult foster care provider shall not accept more than 

three adults for the purpose of receiving room, board, 

supervision, or special services, regardless of relationship of 

any adult to the provider. A provider who accepts more than 

three adults for these purposes shall be licensed as an 

assisted living facility by the Department of Social Services. 

E. The adult foster care provider shall display the Adult 

Protective Services hotline number and the toll free number of 

the State Long-term Care Ombudsman in a manner and method 

accessible to adults in the home. 

22VAC30-120-60. Record requirements for adult foster 

care and adult day services providers. 

A. The provider shall maintain written, legible, and current 

information on each adult in receiving care. 

B. Information on the adult in care shall include: 

1. Identifying The adult's identifying information on the 

adult in care; 

2. Name, address, and home and work telephone numbers of 

the adult's responsible persons; 

3. Name and telephone number of person to be called in an 

emergency when if the adult's responsible person cannot be 

reached; 

4. Name, address, and home and work telephone numbers of 

persons authorized to pick up transport the adult in care; 

5. Name of persons not authorized to call or visit the adult in 

care; 

6. Date of admission and discharge of the adult in care; 

7. Daily attendance records, where applicable. Daily 

attendance records are required for adult day services; 8. 

Medical Pertinent medical information pertinent to the 

health care of the adult in care; 

9. 8. Correspondence related to the adult in care as well as 

other written adult information about the adult provided by 

the local department; and 

10. 9. Placement agreement between the provider and the 

adult and his the adult's responsible person, where if 

applicable. 

C. Adult All records are confidential and shall not be shared 

without the approval of the adult in care or the adult's 

responsible person, except as required under federal and state 

law. 

D. The local department and its representatives shall have 

access to all records. 

E. The department and its representative shall have access to 

all records. 

22VAC30-120-70. Approval period. 

The approval period for a provider all providers may be up to 

24 months when the provider meets the standards. In the case 

of adult day services and adult foster care, the home shall also 

meet the standards. 

22VAC30-120-80. Allowable variance. 

A. The grant or denial of a variance is within the discretion of 

the local department. The provider may request an allowable a 

variance on a standard if the variance does not jeopardize the 

safety and proper care of the any adult or prospective adult 

receiving care or violate federal, state, or local law and the 

local department approves the request. 

B. The local department shall consult with the state adult 

services consultant prior to granting an allowable variance The 

allowable variance, if granted by the local department, shall be 
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documented in writing with a copy maintained by the local 

department and the provider. 

C. The allowable variance shall be in writing with a copy 

maintained by the local department and the provider The local 

department and the provider shall develop a plan to meet the 

applicable standard for which the allowable variance has been 

granted. 

D. The local department and the provider shall develop a plan 

to meet the applicable standard for which the allowable 

variance has been granted The variance shall be requested by 

the provider, and if granted by the local department, issued 

prior to the approval of the provider or at the time of the 

provider's renewal. 

E. The allowable variance shall be requested and granted by 

the local department, prior to the approval of the provider or at 

the time of the provider's renewal. 

22VAC30-120-90. Emergency approval. 

A. Emergency approval of a provider may be granted under 

the following conditions: 

1. The court orders emergency placement; or 

2. The adult or his the adult's responsible person requests 

placement or service in an emergency. 

B. A representative of For emergency approval of an adult 

foster care provider, the local department shall visit the 

provider's home prior to the emergency placement to ensure 

that minimum safety standards are evident and that the 

provider is capable of providing the care prior to the 

emergency placement of the adult in adult foster care or adult 

day services for the adult. 

C. For emergency approval of an in-home provider, the 

representative of the local department shall interview the 

provider to ensure that the emergency provider is capable of 

providing the needed services. 

D. Emergency approval of a provider shall not exceed 30 

calendar days. 

E. The provider must shall meet all applicable standards if 

services shall are to be provided beyond the 30-day emergency 

approval or if the emergency approval is extended beyond 30 

days. 

22VAC30-120-100. Provider monitoring. 

A. For adult day services or adult foster care providers, the 

local department representative shall visit the home of the 

provider as often as necessary, but at least semi-annually to 

monitor the performance of the provider. 

B. For home-based care in-home providers, the local 

department representative shall interview the provider face-to-

face as often as necessary, but at least semi-annually, to 

monitor the performance of the provider. At least one 

monitoring visit shall occur in the home of each adult who is 

receiving care. 

C. Provider monitoring shall include interviews with adults 

receiving care from the provider. 

D. The adult in care or his the adult's responsible person shall 

have access to all provider monitoring reports completed by 

the local department for that specific adult and that adult's 

provider upon request. 

22VAC30-120-110. Renewal process. 

The local department shall reapprove the provider prior to the 

end of the approval period if the provider continues to meet the 

standards, and if the local department continues to offer this 

service. In the case of adult day services or adult foster care 

providers, the home also shall continue to meet the standards. 

22VAC30-120-120. Inability to meet standards. 

A. If the provider cannot meet the standards for adult services 

approved providers set forth in this chapter, the local 

department shall grant provisional approval, suspend approval, 

or revoke approval depending on the duration and nature of 

noncompliance. 

B. The local department may grant provisional approval if 

noncompliance with the standards set forth in this chapter does 

not jeopardize the safety or proper care of the adults in care. 

Provisional approval shall not exceed three months 90 calendar 

days. 

C. The local department may suspend approval if 

noncompliance with the standards set forth in this chapter may 

jeopardize the safety and proper care of the adults in care 

adults. Suspension shall not exceed three months 90 calendar 

days. During the suspension, the provider can give no shall not 

provide care to adults referred by the local department 

receiving services arranged by the local department. 

D. If the provider is found to be out of compliance with the 

standards set forth herein and in this chapter cannot meet 

standards within three months 90 calendar days, and a variance 

is not granted, the approval shall be revoked. 

E. The local department shall immediately revoke its 

approval if noncompliance with the standards set forth in this 

chapter jeopardizes the health, safety, and proper care of the 

adults in care. Adults in adult foster care and adult day services 

shall be removed within five calendar days from the date of the 

decision. The local department shall terminate services and 

find alternative services for all affected adults who are 

receiving adult foster care no later than five calendar days from 

the date of the local department's revocation decision. For in-

home providers, the local department shall find alternative 

services for the adult no later than 30 calendar days from the 

date of the local department's revocation decision. 
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F. The decision to grant provisional approval, suspend 

approval or revoke approval shall be in writing with the 

effective date of the decision noted. 

22VAC30-120-130. Relocation of out-of-home adult foster 

care provider. 

A. If the out-of-home provider moves adult foster care 

provider relocates within the locality, the local department 

approving the provider shall determine continued compliance 

with standards related to the home as soon as possible, but no 

later than 30 calendar days after relocation, to avoid disruption 

of services to the adult in receiving care. 

B. If an out-of-home provider moves outside of the locality 

that approved the provider, the local department in the new 

place of residence may accept the provider approval of the 

initial local department based upon the recommendation of the 

initial local department or may initiate the approval process 

itself If the adult foster care provider relocates within the 

Commonwealth to a locality other than the locality that 

originally approved the adult foster care provider, the local 

department that originally approved the adult foster care 

provider (original local department) shall notify the local 

department in the new locality (new local department) of the 

relocation. If the new local department offers adult foster care 

services, the new local department may accept the adult foster 

care provider approval from the original local department 

based upon the recommendation of the original local 

department or the new local department may initiate an 

approval process. If the new local department does not offer 

adult foster care services, the original local department shall 

request written permission from the new local department for 

the adult foster care provider to continue to provide adult foster 

care services for the original local department. 

22VAC30-120-140. Right to review. 

A. The provider shall have the right to request that the 

decision of the local department be reviewed by the local 

director of social services the local department. 

B. The provider must request the review within 10 calendar 

days from the effective date of the notice of action local 

department's decision. 

C. All written findings and actions of the local department or 

its director, including the decision of the local department 

director at the conclusion of the review, are final and shall not 

be (i) appealable to the Commissioner of the Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services or (ii) considered a final 

agency action for purposes of judicial review pursuant to the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

22VAC30-120-150. Rights of adults in receiving care. 

A. Adults in the receiving care of from local department-

approved providers shall have the rights and responsibilities 

specified in this section. The provisions of this section shall not 

be construed to restrict or abridge any right that any adult has 

under the law. The provider shall establish policies and 

procedures to ensure that adults in care or the adult's 

responsible person are aware of and understand the following 

rights: described in subsection B of this section. The adult and, 

if appropriate, the adult's responsible person shall acknowledge 

in writing receipt of this information, which shall be filed in 

the adult's record. 

B. Adults receiving care from local department-approved 

providers shall have the right: 

1. To be fully informed, prior to the beginning of the 

provision of services, (i) of [ his the adult receiving care's ] 

rights and of all rules and expectations governing [ his the 

adult receiving care's ] conduct and responsibilities; the adult 

and, if appropriate, his responsible persons shall 

acknowledge, in writing, receipt of this information, which 

shall be filed in his record and (ii) charges, if any, for the 

services to be provided; 

2. To be fully informed, prior to the beginning of the 

provision of services, of services available and of related 

charges, if any; this shall be reflected by the adult's written 

acknowledgment of having been so informed, which shall be 

filed in his record free from adult abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation; to be free from forced isolation, threats, or 

other degrading or demeaning acts against [ him the adult 

receiving care ]; and to be treated with courtesy, respect, and 

consideration as a person of worth, sensitivity, and dignity; 

3. Unless a conservator of such person has been appointed, 

to be free to manage his personal finances and funds; to be 

entitled to access to personal account statements reflecting 

financial transactions made; and, when receiving adult foster 

care, to be given at least a quarterly accounting of financial 

transactions made on his behalf To be free to voice 

grievances and recommend changes in policies and services 

without fear of reprisal; 

4. To be afforded confidential treatment of [ his the adult 

receiving care's ] personal affairs and records and to approve 

or refuse [ their ] release [ of records ] to any individual 

outside the home except as otherwise provided in law and 

except in case of his transfer to another setting when services 

may need to be transferred to another provider; 

5. When receiving adult foster care or adult day services, to 

be transferred or discharged only when provided with a 

statement of reasons, or for nonpayment for his stay, and to 

be given advance notice of at least 30 days; upon notice of 

discharge or upon giving reasonable advance notice of his 

desire to move, the adult shall be afforded reasonable 

assistance to ensure an orderly transfer or discharge; such 

actions shall be documented in his record; the local 

department that made the placement shall be given advance 

notice of at least 30 days for any transfer or discharge To be 
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encouraged to function at [ his the adult receiving care's ] 

highest mental, emotional, physical, and social potential; 

6. An adult receiving adult foster care or adult day services 

may be discharged immediately if his physical or mental 

health conditions or his behavior places himself or others at 

risk of serious bodily harm or injury; the discharge must be 

to a setting that will ensure the protection of the adult's 

health, safety and welfare; the local department that made 

the placement must be notified of the emergency discharge 

as soon as practicable but no later than 24 hours after the 

emergency discharge To be afforded the opportunity to 

participate in the planning of [ his the adult receiving care's ] 

program of care and medical treatment and the right to refuse 

medical treatment unless there has been a court adjudication 

of incapacity;  

7. In the event a medical condition should arise while he is 

under the care of the provider, to be afforded the opportunity 

to participate in the planning of his program or care and 

medical treatment and the right to refuse treatment; To be 

afforded privacy including: 

a. In the care of [ his the adult receiving care's ] personal 

needs except when assistance may be needed; 

b. In any medical examination or health-related 

consultations that the adult may have; 

c. In any communications; and 

d. During visitation with other persons; and 

8. When receiving care from an adult foster care or adult day 

services provider, to not be required to perform services for 

the home except as voluntarily contracted pursuant to an 

agreement for services that states the terms of consideration 

or remuneration and is documented in writing and retained 

in his record; To be free of physical, mechanical, or chemical 

restraints. 

9. To be free to select health care services from reasonably 

available resources;  

10. To be free from mental, emotional, physical, sexual, and 

financial abuse or exploitation; to be free from forced 

isolation, threats, or other degrading or demeaning acts 

against him; and, when receiving care from an adult foster 

care or adult day services provider, to not have his known 

needs neglected or ignored by the provider; 

11. To be treated with courtesy, respect, and consideration 

as a person of worth, sensitivity, and dignity; 

12. To be free to voice grievances and recommend changes 

in policies and services, free of coercion, discrimination, 

threats, or reprisal; 

13. When receiving care from an out-of-home local 

department-approved provider, to be permitted to retain and 

use his personal clothing and possessions as space permits 

unless to do so would infringe upon rights of other adults; 

14. To be encouraged to function at his highest mental, 

emotional, physical, and social potential; 

15. To receive and send uncensored, unopened mail; 

16. To refuse medication unless there has been a court 

finding of incapacity; 

17. To choose which services are included in the service 

agreement and to receive all physician-prescribed 

treatments. Adults also have the right to refuse services, if 

doing so does not endanger the health or safety of other 

adults;  

18. To be free of physical, mechanical or chemical restraint 

except in the following situations and with appropriate 

safeguards, including training for the provider on the use of 

restraints: 

a. As necessary to respond to unmanageable behavior in 

an emergency situation that threatens the immediate safety 

of the adult or others; and 

b. As medically necessary, as authorized in writing by a 

physician, to provide physical support to a weakened 

adult; 

19. To be free of prescription drugs except where medically 

necessary, specifically prescribed, and supervised by the 

attending physician; 

20. To be accorded respect for ordinary privacy in every 

aspect of daily living, including but not limited to the 

following: 

a. In the care of his personal needs except as assistance 

may be needed; 

b. In any medical examination or health-related 

consultations that the adult may have at the home; 

c. In communications, in writing, or by telephone; 

d. During visitations with other persons; 

e. When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, in 

the adult's room or portion thereof; adults shall be 

permitted to have guests or other adults in their rooms 

unless to do so would infringe upon the rights of other 

adults; staff shall not enter an adult's room without making 

their presence known except in an emergency or in 

accordance with safety oversight requirements included in 

regulations administered by the Commissioner for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services; and 

f. When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, in 

visits with his spouse; if both are adults of the home they 

are permitted, but not required, to share a room unless 

otherwise provided in the adult's agreements; and 

21. Is permitted to meet with and participate in activities of 

social, faith-based, and community groups at his discretion 

unless medically contraindicated as documented by his 

physician in his medical record. 
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B. If the adult is unable to fully understand and exercise the 

rights and responsibilities contained in this section, the local 

department shall require that a responsible person, of the 

adult's choice when possible, designated in writing in the 

adult's record, be made aware of each item in this section and 

the decisions that affect the adult or relate to specific items in 

this section; an adult shall be assumed capable of 

understanding and exercising these rights unless a physician 

determines otherwise and documents the reasons for such 

determination in the adult's record. 

C. The out-of-home provider shall make available in an easily 

accessible place a copy of these rights and responsibilities and 

shall include in them the name and telephone number of the 

Adult Protective Services Hotline as well as the toll-free 

telephone number for the Virginia Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman Program and any state ombudsman program 

serving the area.  

D. The out-of-home provider shall make its policies and 

procedures for implementing this section available and 

accessible to adults, relatives, agencies, and the general public. 

E. Each out-of-home provider shall provide appropriate staff 

training to implement each adult's rights included in this 

section. 

F. Adults in care have the right to be fully informed in 

advance about recommended care and treatment and of any 

recommended changes in that care or treatment. 

G. Adults in care have the right to freedom from searches of 

personal belongings without the adult or responsible person's 

permission, unless the care provider has reason to suspect that 

the adult possesses items that are illegal or prohibited in the 

out-of-home provider setting and the adult is present during the 

search.  

H. When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, adults 

have the right to be notified before the adult's room or 

roommate is changed. 

I. When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, adults 

have the right to communicate privately and without restriction 

with any other adult who does not object to the 

communications. 

C. In addition to the rights described in subsection B of this 

section, adults receiving care from an adult foster care provider 

shall have the following additional rights: 

1. To be free to manage [ his the adult receiving care's ] 

personal finances and funds, to be entitled to access personal 

account statements reflecting financial transactions made, 

and to be given at least a quarterly accounting of financial 

transactions made on [ his the adult receiving care's ] behalf, 

unless a conservator has been appointed by a court to 

manage the adult's financial affairs; 

2. To be permitted to retain and use personal clothing and 

possession as space permits, unless to do so would infringe 

upon the rights of other adults; 

3. To be permitted to have guests in the adult's room or 

portion thereof, unless to do so would infringe upon the 

rights of other adults; 

4. To have the adult foster care provider only enter the room 

after the provider makes [ his the provider's ] presence 

known except in a case of emergency or pursuant to 

oversight as required in this chapter; 

5. To be permitted but not required to share a room with a 

spouse also residing in the home; 

6. To be permitted to participate in social, faith-based, and 

other community activities at the adult's discretion, unless 

contraindicated as documented by the adult's health care 

professional; 

7. To be notified before the adult's room or roommate is 

changed; 

8. To be free from searches of personal belongings without 

the adult's or the adult's responsible person's permission, 

unless the adult foster care provider has reason to suspect 

that the adult possesses items that are illegal or prohibited in 

the provider's home and the adult or the adult's responsible 

person is present during the search; 

9. To be discharged only when the provider gives the adult, 

the adult's responsible person, and the local department that 

made the placement a 30-calendar-day written notice stating 

the reason for discharge;  

10. To be afforded reasonable assistance to ensure an orderly 

discharge upon notice of discharge or upon the adult giving 

notice of [ his the adult receiving care's ] desire to move; and 

11. To not be required to perform services in the home 

except as voluntarily contracted pursuant to an agreement 

for the service provision that states the terms of 

consideration  

D. The adult foster care provider shall ensure that any 

assistants providing care also understand and uphold the rights 

included in this section. 

22VAC30-120-160. Responsibilities of adults in adult foster 

care or adult day services. 

A. Adults in receiving care shall follow the rules of the 

provider unless these rules are in violation of adults' an adult's 

rights. 

B. Adults in receiving care, or the local department when 

appropriate, or the adult's responsible person, if applicable, 

shall give a two-week two weeks written notice of the intent to 

leave the placement. 
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C. Adults in receiving care or the adult's responsible person, 

if applicable, shall notify providers if there are changes in the 

adult's health status. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5298; Filed April 11, 2023, 3:39 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

VIRGINIA AVIATION BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC5-20. Regulations Governing the 

Licensing and Operation of Airports and Aircraft and 

Obstructions to Airspace in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

(amending 24VAC5-20-10; adding 24VAC5-20-410 

through 24VAC5-20-450). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 5.1-2.2 and 5.1-2.15 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Smiley, Senior Aviation Planner, 

Department of Aviation, 5702 Gulfstream Road, Richmond, 

VA 23250, telephone (804) 236-3627, FAX (804) 236-3635, 

or email stephen.smiley@doav.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 5.1-2.2 and 5.1-2.15 require and authorize the 

Department of Aviation to promulgate regulations to carry out 

the purposes of Chapter 1 (§ 5.1-1 et seq.) of Title 5.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Section 15.2-926.3 of the Code of Virginia 

requires any ordinance or regulation regulating take-off and 

landing of an unmanned aircraft by a political subdivision be 

developed and authorized by the Department of Aviation. 

Chapter 345 of the 2020 Acts of the Assembly requires the 

department to promulgate regulations specific to take-offs and 

landings as described in § 15.2-926.3. 

Purpose: Public properties, especially public parks, are 

regularly used for recreational purposes. Section 15.2-926.3 of 

the Code of Virginia authorizes local political subdivisions to 

regulate the launching and landing of unmanned aircraft on 

lands owned by the subdivisions to reduce hazards to citizens 

by unmanned aircraft flights at public parks and other areas. 

Further, while federal regulations prohibit flying of unmanned 

aircraft over federal and state prisons, no such restriction exists 

for local jails. Part VIII, Unmanned Aircraft, of Regulations 

Governing the Licensing and Operation of Airports and 

Aircraft and Obstructions to Airspace in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia (24VAC5-20) will authorize regional jail authorities 

and any locality that operates a jail to control the launching and 

landing of unmanned aircraft at those sensitive sites, thereby 

protecting public safety. 

Substance: Part VIII, Unmanned Aircraft, of Regulations 

Governing the Licensing and Operation of Airports and 

Aircraft and Obstructions to Airspace in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia (24VAC5-20) allows certain local political 

subdivisions to (i) regulate when take-offs and landings may 

be done on subdivision lands; (ii) identify areas of increased 

public safety or environmental concern where extra 

information must be provided by a potential user prior to a 

take-off or landing; (iii) require a demonstration of safety by 

the operator of an unmanned aircraft that weighs more than 55 

pounds prior to launching or landing the aircraft; (iv) delineate 

the process for local adoption of regulations; and (v) provide 

exceptions for landings due to malfunctions of the aircraft or 

its operating equipment; public safety officer or emergency 

services personnel use in performing required duties; 

operations by the United States government; and launching or 

landing to address declared emergencies as well as the 

authority to allow the sole occupant of more than one-half acre 

of public land for an event to launch and land unmanned 

aircraft related to the occupant's use. 

Issues: Advantages of the regulation to the public include that 

it will help localities and certain political subdivisions reduce 

the risk of injuries or damage to property related to launching 

or landing unmanned aircraft, particularly in recreational 

properties, such as parks. The regulation also reduces the 

likelihood of persons launching drones on local properties. 

Disadvantages of the regulation to the public include that it 

limits the current, unfettered ability of unmanned aircraft 

operators to launch and land the aircraft on public properties. 

Advantage of the regulation to the agency and Commonwealth 

is that it will help avoid conflicts on local properties that could 

involve the Commonwealth in disputes. There are no 

disadvantages to the agency or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis presented 

represents DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts.1  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 345 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly,2 the 

Virginia Aviation Board (Board) proposes to replace 

emergency regulations with permanent regulations pursuant to 

which cities, counties, towns, school divisions, park 

authorities, jail authorities and airport authorities (political 

subdivisions)3 may regulate the take-off and landing of an 

unmanned aircraft in their areas. 

Background. Prior to the enactment of Chapter 345, § 15.2-

926.3 of the Code of Virginia prohibited political subdivisions 

from regulating the use of a privately owned, unmanned 

aircraft (UAV) system as defined in § 19.2-60.1 of the Code of 

Virginia4 within its boundaries. According to the Board, this 

prohibition was the source of concern among some political 

subdivisions about their inability to protect all users of property 

owned by the political subdivision from the hazards associated 

mailto:stephen.smiley@doav.virginia.gov
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with the launching and landing of UAVs on those properties. 

The concern was addressed by Chapter 345, which authorized 

political subdivisions to regulate take-off and landing of a 

UAV on property owned by the political subdivision, subject 

to approval by the Virginia Department of Aviation (DOAV) 

as follows: 

"B. Notwithstanding the prohibition of subsection A, a 

political subdivision may, by ordinance or regulation, 

regulate the take-off and landing of an unmanned aircraft, as 

defined in § 19.2-60.1, on property owned by the political 

subdivision. Such ordinance or regulation shall be developed 

and authorized in accordance with the rules and regulations 

promulgated by the Department of Aviation (the 

Department). The political subdivision shall report to the 

Department any ordinance or regulation adopted pursuant to 

this section, and the Department shall publish and update 

annually on its website, and any other website the 

Department deems appropriate, a summary of any such 

ordinance or regulation adopted." 

Chapter 345 also provided some exemptions from the 

applicability of political subdivision ordinances or regulations 

as follows: 

"D. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit (i) 

the take-off or landing of an unmanned aircraft by a 

commercial operator in compliance with Federal Aviation 

Administration regulations, or as deemed reasonable or 

necessary by private or public entities for emergency or 

maintenance support functions or services, including the 

protection and maintenance of public or private critical 

infrastructure; (ii) the landing of an unmanned aircraft by an 

operator in compliance with Federal Aviation 

Administration regulations as deemed reasonable or 

necessary by the operator in the event of a technical 

malfunction of an unmanned aircraft system; (iii) the take-

off or landing of an unmanned aircraft being operated by a 

sworn public safety officer in the performance of his duties; 

or (iv) the take-off or landing of an unmanned aircraft owned 

or operated by the United States government, or any operator 

under contract with any agency of the United States 

government, in performance of his assigned duties." 

Based on the legislative mandate, DOAV held extensive 

conversations with affected interest groups "including citizen-

oriented groups, state emergency services personnel, and 

unmanned aviation industry representatives" and developed 

emergency regulations5 effective August 13, 2021. In this 

action, the Board proposes to make the emergency rules 

permanent. 

In essence, the proposed regulation mainly establishes a 

procedure for political subdivisions to develop and establish 

ordinances or regulations on the use of UAV and systems. 

According to the proposal, the steps are as follows: (i) any local 

ordinance or regulation is submitted to DOAV for review, (ii) 

upon approval by DOAV, the locality or political subdivision 

holds a public hearing and advertises the hearing 14 days prior 

to the date of the hearing, (iii) the locality or political 

subdivision reports the adoption of the rules to DOAV within 

14 days of the adoption, (iv) DOAV publishes new or revised 

rules on its website or provides links to the locality's website 

within 14 days of from receiving the adoption notice. 

The other substantive rules established by this proposal, but 

which are not mentioned in the mandate, are those that 

authorize political subdivisions to (i) regulate when take-offs 

or landings are allowed; (ii) designate specific properties of 

increased concern for public safety or risk to natural resources 

where the operator may be subject to additional requirements, 

such as stating the purpose and demonstration of safety of the 

take-off and landing in that area; (iii) require the operator to 

provide information prior to any take-off or landing or 

demonstrate safety if the UAV has a take-off weight of 55 

pounds or more; and (iv) regulate UAV with a take-off weight 

of less than 0.55 pounds only in designated areas in item ii. 

The proposal also provides exemptions from the applicability 

of local rules for take-offs and landings of UAVs that are either 

under the purview of Federal Aviation Administration or are 

operated by the United States government, certain sworn 

officers, or employees of localities or political subdivisions. 

In summary, the legislative mandate now allows localities and 

political subdivisions to regulate take-off and landing of UAVs 

in their jurisdictions. And, this proposed regulation establishes 

a procedure to develop and establish such a local ordinance or 

regulation to restrict the use of UAVs mainly in terms of timing 

and locations. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Government rules regarding 

UAVs are numerous and complex, which makes local 

regulation very challenging. For example, operation of a UAV 

in the air (unlike take-off and landing) falls solely under the 

purview of the Federal Aviation Administration, and local 

governments and political subdivisions lack authority over this 

operation. In addition, federal and state entities may have their 

own regulations in their own areas, such as federal and state 

parks or prisons. However, prior to the legislative mandate, 

political subdivisions in the Commonwealth lacked authority 

to regulate UAVs in their jurisdictions. With this action, 

political subdivisions would have the authority and also a 

process by which they can develop and establish rules 

primarily for the timing and location of take-off and landing 

(rather than operation in the air) of UAVs in their jurisdictions. 

Benefits. The fact that all ordinances and local regulations 

would have to be reviewed and approved by DOAV prior to 

their adoption should provide some level of consistency across 

different political subdivisions, while allowing them to factor 

in local area considerations. The greater the consistency across 

localities, the easier it would be for users of UAVs to 

understand and comply with the local rules. 

Although the use of UAVs has many current and potential 

beneficial uses in civil applications such as photography, 

cinematography, archeology, surveys, inspections, 

conservation, hobby and recreation, package delivery, health 
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care, journalism, scientific research, search and rescue, 

agriculture, manufacturing, or construction, it also has the 

potential to pose risks to safety, the environment, security, or 

privacy. For example, in the absence of the recent legislation 

and the proposed regulation, a drone may take-off or land from 

a crowded local park, a street, a school backyard, a dense 

downtown, or near private residences. Potential hazards 

associated with launching and landing of UAVs were the 

original concern among the localities as mentioned. The intent 

of the mandate and this regulation appears to give localities and 

political subdivisions an ability to mitigate potential harmful 

uses or hazards posed by UAVs. Consequently, depending on 

the specifics of each local and political subdivision ordinance 

and regulation, a reduction in potential harms from the use of 

UAVs may be expected. 

Costs. DOAV would likely expend some one-time 

administrative resources such as staff time to review and 

approve initial local government ordinances and regulations 

and ongoing resources for monitoring and subsequent 

amendments to local rules. Currently, DOAV is absorbing such 

expenses within its existing resources. However, if ongoing 

expenses prove to be non-negligible, the possibility of a future 

budget request to cover such expenses cannot be ruled out. 

The users of UAVs would likely lose some flexibility in terms 

of when and where they can take-off and land their equipment 

if and when a political subdivision passes an ordinance or 

regulation. Also, the legislation and this regulation is silent 

about fees for the use of UAVs, but DOAV states that political 

subdivisions have inherent powers to assess permit or 

registration fees if they see fit. Thus, some users may be 

required to pay some fees in certain jurisdictions. DOAV stated 

that one of its objectives is to keep any local restrictions on 

recreational use of UAVs at a minimum. Also, DOAV foresees 

assessment of fees only on commercial uses. However, it does 

not appear that DOAV has the authority or the tools to achieve 

those objectives. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

regulation applies to all 132 localities and all other political 

subdivisions in the Commonwealth. DOAV initially expects a 

few large localities to seek approval for their ordinances or 

local regulations regarding take-off and landing of UAVs. 

Once a few localities adopt their own rules, DOAV believes 

most others would follow, eventually reaching 100-110 of the 

132 localities. 

The users of UAVs would also be affected if and when the 

political subdivision they live in adopts an ordinance or 

regulation. According to DOAV, there are 865,505 drones 

registered in the United States with the Federal Aviation 

Administration. Of these, approximately 35% are commercial 

drones and 65% are recreational. Given the national numbers 

and anecdotal information from DOAV, the number of drones 

in Virginia is likely in the tens of thousands, but precise data 

are not available. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.6 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, some users 

of UAVs would likely lose some flexibility in terms of when 

and where they can take-off and land their equipment if and 

when the locality or subdivision passes an ordinance or 

regulation. Thus, an adverse impact on some users is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 Of the tens of thousands of 

UAVs that likely exist in Virginia, national statistics suggest 

35% are involved in commercial uses. Of these commercial 

drones, some are bound to be used by small businesses. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

There is no reliable estimate on what portion of the commercial 

UAVs may be used by small businesses or what types of small 

businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation allows 

localities to restrict the use of UAVs primarily in terms of time 

and location. Thus, small businesses would be adversely 

affected as they may lose some flexibility in terms of time and 

locations where their UAVs can take-off and land when and if 

the locality adopts such restrictions. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce the adverse 

impact and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed regulation potentially 

affects all 132 localities. The legislation and the regulation 

allow but do not require localities to adopt rules governing the 

take-off and landing of UAVs. In addition, a locality may 

assess fees for registration or permit to cover its costs if it 

chooses to establish rules and procedures. Thus, the proposed 

amendments do not introduce costs for local governments. 

Although localities with higher population densities may 

potentially be more inclined to adopt rules on UAVs, on its 

face the regulation does not appear to particularly affect any 

locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to directly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The new 

legislation and the proposed regulation allow localities to adopt 

regulations on the use of UAVs. Some of the UAVs are used 

for commercial purposes and their use may be restricted or be 

subject to registration or permit fees. Such restrictions and fees 

may add to compliance costs of the affected businesses and 

have a negative impact on their asset values. 

Conversely, one of the purposes of local rules restricting the 

use of UAVs in certain locations is to enhance environmental 

protection and minimize environmental hazards. Thus, to the 

extent a private property is protected better from harms and 

hazards posed by UAVs, its use should be enhanced and its 

value should be positively affected. 
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The proposed regulation does not appear to affect real estate 

development costs. 

_____________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP0345 
3This definition of "political subdivision" is contained in the proposed 

regulatory text. 

4"Unmanned aircraft" means an aircraft that is operated without the possibility 

of human intervention from within or on the aircraft. 

"Unmanned aircraft system" means an unmanned aircraft and associated 

elements, including communication links, sensing devices, and the 

components that control the unmanned aircraft. 
5https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewstage.cfm?stageid=9225 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
8If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 
have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

10Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Aviation agrees with the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

and takes no exception to the backgound, information, and 

conclusions of the analysis. 

Summary: 

As required by Chapter 345 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

the proposed amendments establish Part VIII (Unmanned 

Aircraft) of Regulations Governing the Licensing and 

Operation of Airports and Aircraft and Obstructions to 

Airspace in the Commonwealth of Virginia (24VAC5-20) 

that authorizes localities and other political subdivisions to 

adopt local regulations for the take-off and landing of 

unmanned aircraft on properties owned by the locality or 

other political subdivision, including (i) what the locality or 

other political subdivision must do to adopt and finalize a 

local regulation and (ii) exceptions to enable an unmanned 

aircraft to be launched and landed during an emergency 

under certain circumstances and to enable a sole occupant 

of public property to launch and land unmanned aircraft on 

the property possessed by the occupant. 

24VAC5-20-10. Definitions. 

Words or terms defined in § 5.1-1 of the Code of Virginia are 

incorporated by reference. The following words and terms 

when used in this regulation chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Aircraft" means any contrivance now known or hereafter 

invented that is controlled, used, and usually occupied by a 

person for the purpose of navigation and transportation through 

the air, excepting "hang glider" as defined in § 5.1-1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Commonly recognized names for aircraft 

include, but are not limited to, planes, helicopters, seaplanes, 

ultralights, and hot air balloons. 

"Airline" means an air carrier operation under Federal 

Aviation Regulations 14 CFR Part 119, 14 CFR Part 121, 

14 CFR Part 129, or 14 CFR Part 135 providing scheduled 

passenger service. 

"Airport sponsor" means an entity that is legally, financially, 

and otherwise able to assume and carry out the certifications, 

representations, warranties, assurances, covenants, and other 

obligations required for an airport. 

"Antique aircraft" means any aircraft constructed by the 

original manufacturer, or his the manufacturer's licensee, on or 

before December 31, 1945. 

"Approach surface" means a surface longitudinally centered 

on the extended runway centerline and extending outward and 

upward. An approach surface is applied to each end of each 

runway. 

"Aviation" means activities and infrastructure related to 

transportation by air, including but not limited to (i) the 

operation, construction, repair, or maintenance of aircraft, 

aircraft power plants, and accessories; (ii) the establishment, 

design, construction, extension, operation, improvement, 

repair, or maintenance of airports or landing areas; and (iii) 

navigable airspace, other air navigation facilities, and air 

instruction. 

"Commercial operator" means a person, except an airline, 

who operates any aircraft for the purpose of rental or charter or 

for other purposes from which revenue is derived. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0345
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewstage.cfm?stageid=9225


Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 19  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 8, 2023  

2372 

"Contract carrier permit" means a permit issued by the 

department to contract carriers operating under Federal 

Aviation Regulations 14 CFR Part 61, 14 CFR Part 135, or 

14 CFR Part 141 for transport of passengers or freight on 

demand by air. Owners of aircraft who contract to provide 

flight instruction in their aircraft for profit are required to have 

a contract carrier permit. 

"Day/VFR Use Only License" means a conditional airport 

license issued with the restriction that operations at the airport 

can only occur between sunrise and sunset and only under 

Visual Flight Rules (VFR) for the purpose of allowing 

continuing operations at an airport that is not in compliance 

with the minimum requirement for approach surfaces. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Aviation. 

"Effective runway length" means the distance from the point 

at which the obstruction clearance plane associated with the 

approach end of the runway intersects the centerline of the 

runway and the far end thereof. 

"Hazard" means a fixed or mobile structure or object, natural 

growth, or use of land that obstructs the airspace required for 

the flight of aircraft in landing or taking off at an airport or is 

otherwise hazardous to the landing or taking off of aircraft. 

"Helipad" means a small designated area, usually with a 

prepared surface, on an airport, heliport, landing/takeoff area, 

apron/ramp, or movement area used for the takeoff, landing, or 

parking of helicopters. 

"Heliport" means (i) an identifiable area on land, water, or 

structure, including a building or facilities thereon, used or 

intended to be used for the landing and takeoff of helicopters 

or other rotorcraft or (ii) appurtenant areas that are used, or 

intended for use, for heliport buildings or other heliport 

facilities including rights-of-way, easements, and all heliport 

buildings and facilities located thereon. 

"Noncommercial dealer" means a person who owns and 

offers for sale a minimum of three aircraft during any 

consecutive 12-month period, which aircraft are not used for 

personal use, rental, charter, or for a purpose from which 

revenue is derived. 

"Obstacle" means a fixed or mobile object that interferes with 

the situating or operation of navigational aids or that may 

control the establishment of instrument procedures. An 

obstacle could be located on an area intended for the ground 

movement of aircraft or would extend above the approach 

surfaces intended to protect aircraft in flight or the runway 

object free area. 

"Obstruction" means an object, obstacle, or structure that 

penetrates the approach surfaces or runway object free area at 

an aircraft landing area. The obstruction may be man-made or 

of natural growth, including trees. 

"Obstruction clearance plane" means a plane sloping upward 

from the runway at a slope meeting the appropriate 

requirements to clear all obstructions within a specified area as 

shown in a profile view of that area. 

"Private-Use Landing Area License" means a license issued 

for a facility not open for public use, including airports, 

heliports, helipads, and seaplane bases, that is within five 

nautical miles of a licensed public-use airport, in accordance 

with § 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Runway" means a rectangular surface area that may be turf, 

paved, or water course that is designed specifically for the 

purpose of approaching and landing and taking-off and 

departing of aircraft. 

"Runway object free area" means an imaginary area centered 

on the runway centerline that is clear of aboveground objects 

protruding above the runway centerline, except for allowable 

objects necessary for air navigation or aircraft ground 

maneuvering purposes. 

"Runway safety area" means a rectangular area symmetrical 

about the runway centerline, which includes the runway, 

runway shoulders, and safety overruns, if present. The portion 

abutting the edge of the runway shoulders, runway ends, and 

safety overruns is cleared, drained, graded, and usually turfed. 

Under normal conditions, the runway safety area is capable of 

supporting snow removal, firefighting, and rescue equipment 

and of accommodating the occasional passage of aircraft 

without causing major damage to the aircraft. 

"Safety overrun'' or "stopway" means an area beyond the 

takeoff runway, no less wide than the runway and centered 

upon the extended centerline of the runway, able to support an 

aircraft during an aborted takeoff without causing structural 

damage to the aircraft and designated by the airport authorities 

for use in decelerating the aircraft during an aborted takeoff. 

"Seaplane base" means an area of water used or intended to 

be used for the landing and takeoff of aircraft, together with 

appurtenant shoreside buildings and facilities. 

"Structure" means (i) a man-made object, including a mobile 

object, constructed or erected by man, including but not limited 

to buildings, towers, cranes, smokestacks, earth formations, 

overhead transmission lines, flag poles, and ship masts or (ii) 

natural objects, including but not limited to trees. 

"Threshold" means the beginning of that portion of the 

runway identified for the landing of aircraft. A threshold may 

be displaced, or moved down the runway, to provide for 

adequate safety provisions. 

"UAS" means unmanned aircraft system. 

"Ultralight" means an aircraft that (i) is used or intended to be 

used for manned operation in the air by a single occupant; (ii) 

is used or intended to be used for recreation and sport purposes 

only; (iii) does not have a United States or foreign air 
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worthiness certificate; (iv) weighs less than 254 pounds empty 

weight, excluding floats and safety devices that are intended 

for deployment in a potentially catastrophic situation; (v) has a 

fuel capacity not exceeding five United States gallons; and (vi) 

is not capable of more than 55 knots calibrated airspeed at full 

power in level flight and has a power-off stall speed that does 

not exceed 24 knots calibrated airspeed. 

"Unmanned aircraft" means an aircraft that is operated 

without the possibility of human intervention from within or 

on the aircraft. 

Part VIII 

Unmanned Aircraft 

24VAC5-20-410. Definitions for Part VIII, Unmanned 

Aircraft.  

The following words and terms, when used in this part, shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Commercial operator" means a person operating a UAS for 

a commercial purpose in compliance with applicable Federal 

Aviation Administration regulations. 

"Emergency response personnel" means the officials and 

employees of governmental and nongovernmental entities 

responding to or supporting emergency response operations, 

including search and rescue, law enforcement, hazardous 

materials, fires, car crashes, and natural or man-made disasters. 

"Locality" or "local government" means a county, city, or 

town. 

"Operator" means the person who is directly responsible for 

the operation of an unmanned aircraft. 

"Property owned" means any real property owned through fee 

interest, together with all buildings and other structures, 

facilities, or improvements located on the real property. 

"Political subdivision" means (i) a locality, (ii) a school 

division, or (iii) any park authority, jail authority, or airport 

authority that has the power to enact or promulgate ordinances 

or regulations having the force or effect of law. 

"Recreational operator" means a person who is operating an 

unmanned aircraft solely for a recreational purpose and is fully 

in compliance with 49 USC § 44809. 

24VAC5-20-420. Political subdivision powers.  

A. Any political subdivision may regulate the take-off and 

landing of an unmanned aircraft on property owned by the 

political subdivision, in a manner consistent with this part. All 

regulations of any political subdivision, whether enacted by 

ordinance or resolution by a locality or adopted by a political 

subdivision other than a locality, must comply with this part of 

this chapter. 

B. The regulations may provide for times when take-offs and 

landings are allowed. 

C. The regulations may designate specific properties of 

increased concern for public safety or risk to natural resources 

where an operator seeking to use the property must show (i) 

the purpose of the take-off and landing, (ii) what steps the 

operator will take to limit risk to the public or to natural 

resources, and (iii) information to demonstrate that the take-off 

and landing can be carried out without harm to the identified 

public safety risk or natural resources. On such properties, the 

regulation may deny permission to take-off or land unmanned 

aircraft, unless the operator can demonstrate the safety of the 

take-off and landing, based on the information provided. 

Prior to designating any properties pursuant to this 

subsection, the political subdivision must show the basis for 

the designation. The designation must be based on a significant 

and specific risk to public safety or to natural resources. Every 

area designated pursuant to this subsection must include a map 

showing, with specificity, the area of prohibited use. The map 

and any related documents must be provided in electronic, 

computable, machine-readable, and transmissible form. 

D. For unmanned aircraft with a takeoff weight of 55 pounds 

or more, the regulations may require the operator to provide 

information prior to any take-off or landing, demonstrating the 

safety of the take-off and landing. This subsection is 

inapplicable to any licensed airport or licensed UAS facility.  

E. No political subdivision shall require a permit for operators 

for take-off and landing unmanned aircraft in areas designated 

for unmanned aircraft use. This subsection shall not apply to 

unmanned aircraft covered by subsection C of this section. 

F. No subdivision shall regulate the take-off and landing of 

unmanned aircraft with a ready-for-take-off weight of less than 

0.55 pounds, except on properties regulated pursuant to the 

authority in subsection B of this section. 

G. Any political subdivision may provide or participate in 

offering UAS classes, competitions, and similar events on its 

property. 

24VAC5-20-430. Procedure for adopting an ordinance or 

regulation.  

A. Any locality that proposes to regulate the take-off and 

landing of unmanned aircraft on property owned by it shall 

enact such regulations by ordinance or resolution. Any other 

political subdivision shall adopt regulations for such purposes. 

B. No proposed ordinance or regulation may be advertised for 

a public hearing until the political subdivision has submitted 

the regulation to the department for comment and the 

department has notified the political subdivision that the 

ordinance or regulation is consistent with this chapter. 

C. A locality may regulate the use of unmanned aircraft by 

ordinance or resolution. The locality shall hold a public hearing 
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prior to adoption of regulations. The locality shall advertise the 

hearing and the substance of the ordinance or regulation on the 

locality website for a minimum of 14 days, displayed where 

public hearings are set out on the locality's website and shall 

include the advertising in the applicable social media feeds of 

the locality for the same period of time. The regulation must be 

based on findings of need for public safety protection or 

protection of specific natural resources. 

D. Any political subdivision other than a locality shall hold a 

public hearing prior to adoption of a regulation. The other 

political subdivision shall advertise the hearing and the 

substance of the regulation on the subdivision's website for a 

minimum of 14 days, displayed where public hearings are set 

out on the political subdivision's website and shall include 

notice of the advertising in the applicable social media feeds of 

the subdivision for the same period of time. The regulation 

must be based on findings of need for public safety 

enhancement protection or protection of specific natural 

resources. 

E. Every political subdivision shall report the adoption of any 

regulation permitted by this chapter to the Department of 

Aviation within 14 days of adoption. The report shall include 

an electronic copy of the regulations, policies, maps, and any 

other documents related to the regulation with links to the 

political subdivision's regulation. No regulation shall take 

effect until it is published on the department's website. 

F. The department will publish all new or revised regulations 

or ordinances or provide links to the political subdivision's 

website pages containing such information within 14 days of 

receipt from the political subdivision. The department shall 

publish and update annually on its website, and any other 

website the department deems appropriate, a summary of any 

such regulations or ordinances adopted. 

G. If, at any time, the department deems a political 

subdivision's local regulation to be inconsistent with this 

chapter, the department will inform the subdivision of the 

discrepancies. The political subdivision shall amend its 

regulation to eliminate the discrepancies. 

24VAC5-20-440. Exceptions.  

A. No ordinance or regulation may prohibit: 

1. The take-off or landing of an unmanned aircraft by a 

commercial operator in compliance with Federal Aviation 

Administration regulations or as deemed reasonable or 

necessary by private or public entities for emergency or 

maintenance support functions or services, including the 

protection and maintenance of public or private critical 

infrastructure; 

2. The landing of an unmanned aircraft by an operator in 

compliance with Federal Aviation Administration 

regulations as deemed reasonable or necessary by the 

operator in the event of a technical malfunction of an 

unmanned aircraft system; 

3. The take-off or landing of an unmanned aircraft being 

operated by a sworn public safety officer or other emergency 

response personnel in the performance of the public safety 

officer's duties; 

4. The take-off or landing of an unmanned aircraft owned or 

operated by the United States government or any operator 

under contract with any agency of the United States 

government in performance of the officer's assigned duties; 

5. The take-off or landing of an unmanned aircraft by a 

commercial operator done as a part of the response to an 

emergency declared by the Governor or a local emergency 

declared pursuant to the laws of the Commonwealth; or 

6. The take-off or landing of unmanned aircraft by 

employees and agents of a political subdivision on that 

political subdivision's lands. 

B. No political subdivision's local regulation enacted pursuant to 

the authority in this chapter shall apply to take-offs and landings 

on the vehicular travel portions of public highways or streets or to 

rights of ways adjacent to travel portions of the highways or 

streets. 

C. If a private entity has exclusive use of more than one-half acre 

of public property for a specific event, such as a concert, sports 

activity, or family event, any local regulation may allow the entity 

to launch and land its own unmanned aircraft at the event and may 

allow an operator employed by the entity to launch and land 

unmanned aircraft during the event on that property only. 

24VAC5-20-450. Federal laws and regulations.  

Nothing in this chapter shall allow any use of unmanned 

aircraft in any manner inconsistent with federal laws and 

regulations, including Title 14 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6599; Filed April 11, 2023, 8:39 a.m. 
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Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 25 (2023) 

Establishing a Virginia-Taiwan Trade Office 

Importance of Initiative  

The United States is Taiwan's second largest trading partner. 

Virginia's relationship with Taiwan is a meaningful driver of 

the national partnership, with recent growth in annual product 

exports from Virginia significantly outpacing that of the 

broader nation. Furthermore, Taiwan and Virginia share 

common values, including democratic norms and support of a 

rules-based world order. According to preliminary analysis 

undertaken by the Virginia Economic Development 

Partnership Authority per Senate Bill 1208 and signed into law 

as 2023 Acts of Assembly Chapter 637 on March 26, 2023, the 

Commonwealth of Virginia will benefit from the opening of a 

Virginia-Taiwan Trade Office. 

Attracting foreign direct investment (FDI) to the 

Commonwealth and aiding Virginia companies in selling their 

products overseas are critical to the economic prosperity of the 

Commonwealth. Given that Taiwan is a critical partner to 

Virginia and the United States and shares our commitment to 

democracy, expanding our trade relationship will strengthen 

ties on both sides. Taiwan is a significant source of FDI in the 

United States and their market share of FDI is rising. Taiwan 

ranks as the fourth fastest-growing source of FDI in the United 

States. A trade office in Taiwan will build off this foundation 

and momentum to help bring investment and jobs to Virginia. 

FDI in advanced technologies includes the semiconductor 

ecosystem. A secure semiconductor supply chain is essential to 

the national security of the United States. Virginia is uniquely 

poised to excel in the advanced technology sector due to our 

extensive IT infrastructure, a robust, internationally recognized 

university system primed to advance key technologies and satisfy 

growing workforce needs, and the highest existing concentration 

of tech employees in the United States. 

Additionally, international trade plays an essential role in 

maintaining the vitality of the Virginia economy. VEDP's 

International Trade programs and the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services Office of International 

Marketing provide direct support to Virginia companies 

committed to increasing their international export sales as a 

corporate growth strategy. These services help companies 

identify potential new markets, develop market entry 

strategies, and locate possible distributors and representatives 

for products or services - all at little to no cost to the company. 

The Commonwealth and her businesses provide critical computer 

and electronic products, machinery, agricultural exports such as 

soybeans, textiles, and more to Taiwan. Increasing opportunities 

for international trade with Taiwan in these sectors will position 

Virginia's companies for future success. 

The relationship is further supported by the heart of Virginia's 

economy, the Port of Virginia, whose 6 terminals and extensive 

multimodal network support the export and import of goods, to 

and from Virginia and states across the nation. There are over 

$1 .4 billion in transformative projects underway at the Port, 

including deepening and widening of the Norfolk Harbor and 

its channels which will make the Port of Virginia the deepest 

port on the U.S. East Coast and the only port that will be able 

to safely handle two-way traffic of ultra-large container 

vessels. Taiwanese exports through the Port of Virginia saw a 

12.5% year-over-year increase in twenty-foot equivalent unit 

(TEUs) in 2022. The Virginia-Taiwan Trade Office coupled 

with the historic investments in infrastructure improvements at 

the Port of Virginia will position Virginia and Taiwan to 

increase TEUs through the Port and strengthen supply chain 

relationships. 

The existing partnership between Taiwan and Virginia will be 

further strengthened by the creation of a Virginia-Taiwan 

Trade Office, and its opening will enable the Commonwealth 

to better showcase Virginia to prospective investors and 

businesses, and to further open markets for Virginia products. 

The establishment of the Virginia-Taiwan Trade Office will be 

Virginia's fourth international office, in addition to offices in 

Germany, Japan and South Korea. 

Directive  

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me in Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia and as the Chief Executive of 

the Commonwealth, and pursuant to § 2.2- I 03 of the Code of 

Virginia, I hereby direct and order the Secretary of Commerce 

and Trade, in collaboration with the Virginia Economic 

Development Partnership (VEDP), to establish a Virginia-

Taiwan Trade Office to serve as the official representation of 

Virginia in Taiwan and to promote and offer services related to 

economic development and trade. 

Additionally, the Secretary of Commerce and Trade and the 

Virginia Economic Development Partnership shall submit a 

plan to implement this directive including the steps, resources, 

and actions necessary to open a Virginia-Taiwan Trade Office, 

along with a timeline for opening the office by June 30, 2023. 

The plan shall also explore services that will promote the 

Commonwealth's agricultural, industrial, and commercial 

products and services to Taiwan as well as generate new 

business opportunities, sales, and investments across various 

industries serving the interests of residents of the 

Commonwealth and the people of Taiwan. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by further executive order or directive. Given under my hand 

and under the Seal of the Commonwealth of Virginia, this 24th 

day of April, 2023. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Titles of Documents: Access to Prescriptions during 

Unanticipated Shortened Hours. 

Pharmacy Administration Records. 

Protocol for the Prescribing and Dispensing of Naloxone. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 7, 2023. 

Effective Date: June 8, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6494_20230330.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6494_20230330.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6495_20230330.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6496_20230330.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the  
Town of Cape Charles 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 

Cape Charles for violations of State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the wastewater treatment plant in Cape Charles, 

Virginia. The proposed order is available from the Department 

of Environmental Quality (DEQ) contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from May 8, 2023, through June 7, 2023. 

Contact Information: John Brandt, Enforcement Manager, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 698-4178, 

or email john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the  
Carroll County Public Service Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Carroll 

County Public Service Authority for violations of the State 

Water Control Law at the I-77 Exit 1 wastewater treatment 

plant in Carroll County. The Department of Environmental 

Quality proposes to issue a consent order to resolve violations 

associated with the facility. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the DEQ office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from May 8, 2023, through 

June 7, 2023. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Murphy Brothers Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Murphy Brothers 

Inc. for violations of State Water Control Law, regulations, and 

applicable permit at the Yellow Cab of Falls Church facility 

located in Falls Church, Virginia. The proposed consent order 

is available from the Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) contact or at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from May 9, 2023, through June 8, 2023. 

Contact Information: Katherine Mann, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

katherine.mann@deq.virgnia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
O'Reilly Automotive Stores Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for O'Reilly 

Automotive Stores Inc. for violations of State Water Control Law 

and regulations at the O'Reilly Auto Parts Clarksville located in 

Mecklenburg County, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

from the Department of Environmental Quality contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept written 

comments from May 8, 2023, to June 8, 2023. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Perdue Agribusiness LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Perdue 

Agribusiness LLC for violations of State Water Control Law 

and regulations at the Perdue Agribusiness - Chesapeake 

Facility in Chesapeake, Virginia. The proposed order is 

available from the Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ 

contact will accept written comments from May 8, 2023, 

through June 7, 2023. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 698-4178, 

or email russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Riggins Company LC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Riggins Company 

LC for violations of State Water Control Law in Hampton, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) office listed or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov. The DEQ contact will 

accept comments from May 8, 2023, to June 8, 2023. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 698-4178, 

or email russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Riverbend 
Management Inc., Brookhill Town Center LLC, and 
Brookhill Investments LLC for the Brookhill Town 

Center Development 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Riverbend 

Management Inc., Brookhill Town Center LLC, and Brookhill 

Investments LLC for the Brookhill Town Center development. 
The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) proposes to 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
mailto:katherine.mann@deq.virgnia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
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issue a consent order with penalty to Riverbend Management Inc., 

Brookhill Town Center LLC, and Brookhill Investments LLC to 

address noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The DEQ contact will 

accept comments from May 8, 2023, through June 6, 2023. 

Contact Information: Francesca Wright, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early 

Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, FAX (804) 698-4178, or 

email francesca.wright@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Southwood Building Systems Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Southwood 

Building Systems Inc. for violations of State Water Control 

Law, regulations, and applicable permit at the Widewater State 

Park site located in Stafford, Virginia. The proposed consent 

order is available from the Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) contact or at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from May 8, 2023, to June 8, 2023. 

Contact Information: Holly Shupe, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

holly.shupe@deq.virgnia.gov. 

Withdrawal of Proposed Local Variance for  
Data Centers - Loudoun County 

In response to public comment, a proposed variance for data 

centers located in Loudoun County was withdrawn by the 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on April 12, 2023. 

The original public comment period was opened on January 26 

and extended from March 6 through April 21, with a public 

hearing held on April 6, 2023. Therefore, no decision or 

announcement of a decision on the proposed variance is necessary, 

and the comment period is now closed effective immediately. 

DEQ is canceling the public notice and not moving forward at this 

time with the consideration of an issuance of an order granting a 

temporary local variance for data centers located in Loudoun 

County. As stated in the initial public notice and draft order, the 

proposal was meant to address a concern for the area in which 

there may not be a sufficient amount of electricity for data centers 

due to severe, localized constraints in electricity transmissions 

through 2025. The proposal was intended to be an option to allow 

the data centers to continue to serve their customers, maintain the 

integrity of Internet, and alleviate demand on the electric grid 

during periods of extreme stress. 

Given further discussion with stakeholders and public comment 

on the proposal, DEQ believes that these issues are now being 

addressed between the data centers, the utilities, and the regional 

transmission organization (PJM Interconnection). If needed in the 

future, DEQ stands ready to assist in ensuring that Virginians have 

a reliable, affordable, clean, and growing supply of energy. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Office of Air Data 

Analysis and Planning, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1973, 

FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Piney River Solar Project Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Amherst County 

Piney River Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Amherst County. Piney River Solar 

Project will be located in Amherst, Virginia. Latitude and 

longitude coordinates are 37.699871, -79.019174. The 

proposed project is a 50-megawatt alternating current 

photovoltaic ground-mounted solar facility. The two adjoining 

parcels comprising the project area create an area of 

approximately 431.37 acres. The solar array will use 

approximately 138,300 solar panels. 

Contact Information: Susan Tripp, Renewable Energy Permit 

by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 

664-3470, or email susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Baby Care Provider Manual Chapter VI 
Available for Review 

The draft Baby Care Provider Manual Chapter VI is now available 

on the Department of Medical Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Draft Emergency Medicaid Provider Manual 
Supplement Available for Review 

The draft Emergency Medicaid Provider Manual Supplement is 

now available on the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:francesca.wright@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
mailto:holly.shupe@deq.virgnia.gov
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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Draft Long-Term Services and Support Screening 
Provider Manual Chapters II and V  

Available for Review 

The draft Long-Term Services and Support Screening Provider 

Manual Chapters II and V are now available on the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice for Scheduling of Chemicals in Schedule I 
Pursuant to 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia 

Pursuant to § 54.1-3443 D of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Pharmacy is giving notice of a public hearing to consider 

placement of chemical substances in Schedule I of the Drug 

Control Act. 

The public hearing will be conducted at 9:05 a.m. on June 13, 

2023. 

Instructions will be included in the agenda for the board 

meeting, also on June 13. Public comment may also be 

submitted electronically or in writing prior to June 13, 2023, to 

Caroline Juran, Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy, 

at caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Pursuant to § 54.1-3443 D of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Department of Forensic Science (DFS) has identified five 

compounds for recommended for inclusion in the Code of 

Virginia. 

The following compounds are classified as synthetic opioids. 

Compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule I 

pursuant to subdivision 1 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of 

Virginia in previous legislative sessions. 

2-(4-isopropoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1-[2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl]-

1H-benzo[d]imidazole (other name: N-Pyrrolidino 

Isotonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and 

salts is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

5-nitro-2-(4-propoxybenzyl)-1-[2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl]-1H-

benzo[d]imidazole (other names: N-Pyrrolidino Protonitazene, 

Protonitazepyne), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and 

salts is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

N-phenyl-N-(1-propionyl-4-piperidinyl)-propanamide (other 

name: N-propionyl Norfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

Based on their chemical structure, the following compounds are 

expected to have depressant properties. Compounds of this type 

have been placed in Schedule I pursuant to subdivision 4 of § 54.1-

3446 of the Code of Virginia in previous legislative sessions. 

6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-

a][1,4]benzodiazepine (other names: 4'-chloro 

Deschloroalprazolam, 4'Cl-Deschloroalprazolam), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

7-chloro-5-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-3H-1,4-benzodiazepin-

2-one (other names: Diclazepam, 2-Chlorodiazepam), its salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 527-4472. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their websites 

and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections 

Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing regulation 

sections that have been amended, added, or repealed in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations were 

originally published or last supplemented in the print version of 

the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

 

 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
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mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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