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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. Leftwich, Jr., Vice-Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven 

Popps; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade; Wren 

M. Williams. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2023 through August 2024 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

39:25 July 12, 2023 July 31, 2023 

39:26 July 26, 2023 August 14, 2023 

40:1 August 9, 2023 August 28, 2023 

40:2 August 23, 2023 September 11, 2023 

40:3 September 6, 2023 September 25, 2023 

40:4 September 20, 2023 October 9, 2023 

40:5 October 4, 2023 October 23, 2023 

40:6 October 18, 2023 November 6, 2023 

40:7 November 1, 2023 November 20, 2023 

40:8 November 14, 2023 December 4, 2023 

40:9 November 29, 2023 December 18, 2023 

40:10 December 13, 2023 January 1, 2024 

40:11 December 27, 2023 January 15, 2024 

40:12 January 10, 2024 January 29, 2024 

40:13 January 24, 2024 February 12, 2024 

40:14 February 7, 2024 February 26, 2024 

40:15 February 21, 2024 March 11, 2024 

40:16 March 6, 2024 March 25, 2024 

40:17 March 20, 2024 April 8, 2024 

40:18 April 3, 2024 April 22, 2024 

40:19 April 17, 2024 May 6, 2024 

40:20 May 1, 2024 May 20, 2024 

40:21 May 15, 2024 June 3, 2024 

40:22 May 29, 2024 June 17, 2024 

40:23 June 12, 2024 July 1, 2024 

40:24 June 26, 2024 July 15, 2024 

40:25 July 10, 2024 July 29, 2024 

40:26 July 24, 2024 August 12, 2024 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulations are 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 18VAC45-11, Public Participation Guidelines; and 

18VAC45-20, Board for Branch Pilots Regulations. The 

review of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review 

is to determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to these regulations, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 17, 2023, and ends August 

7, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive 

Director, Board for Branch Pilots, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514. 

CEMETERY BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulations are 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 18VAC47-11, Public Participation Guidelines; and 

18VAC47-20, Cemetery Board Rules and Regulations. The 

review of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review 

is to determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to these regulations, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 17, 2023, and ends August 

7, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Deputy Director for 

Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulations are 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 18VAC50-11, Public Participation Guidelines; 

18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors Regulations; and 

18VAC50-30, Individual License and Certification 

Regulations. The review of each regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a 

periodic review is to determine whether each regulation should 

be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to these 

regulations, including whether each regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 17, 2023, and ends August 

7, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Marjorie King, Executive Director, 

Board for Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2785. 
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DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 18VAC120-30, Regulations Governing Polygraph 

Examiners. The review of this regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a 

periodic review is to determine whether this regulation should 

be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 

the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 17, 2023, and ends August 

7, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Marjorie King, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

2785. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-73, Standards for Licensed Assisted Living 

Facilities. 

The notice of intended regulatory action to amend 22VAC40-

73, which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings.  

Contact Information: Sharon Lindsay, Associate Director, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 972-0676, FAX (804) 

726-7132. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE BLIND AND VISION 
IMPAIRED 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulations are 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 22VAC45-12, Public Participation Guidelines; 

22VAC45-30, Regulations Governing the Sale and 

Distribution of Goods and Articles Made by Blind Persons; 

22VAC45-40, Rules and Regulations Governing Vending 

Facilities in Public Buildings; 22VAC45-51, Regulations 

Governing Provision of Services in Vocational 

Rehabilitation; 22VAC45-70, Regulations Governing the 

Provision of Rehabilitation Teaching and Independent 

Living Services; 22VAC45-100, Regulations Governing 

DeafBlind Services; and 22VAC45-110, Regulations 

Governing Low Vision. The review of each regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The 

purpose of a periodic review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether each 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 17, 2023, and ends August 

7, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Susan K. Davis, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired, 397 Azalea 

Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-3184. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Taxation conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 23VAC10-210, 

Retail Sales and Use Tax. 
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The fast-track rulemaking action to amend 23VAC10-210, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves 

as the report of findings.  

Contact Information: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-2355. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-73, Standards for 

Licensed Assisted Living Facilities. The regulation provides 

criteria for the public and the Virginia Department of Social 

Services to evaluate the care, general supervision, and 

oversight of adults in licensed assisted living facilities (ALFs) 

and includes rules for current practices in ALFs that ensure the 

well-being of aged, infirm, or disabled adult residents. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to simplify and clarify 

language, improve definitions, and make technical edits for 

ease of understanding and any other changes deemed necessary 

after public comment. In addition, the agency will review the 

chapter to identify any discretionary requirements that should 

be repealed or streamlined. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1802, 63.2-

1805, and 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 16, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Sharon Lindsay, Associate Director, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 972-0676, FAX (804) 

726-7132, or email sharon.lindsay@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7608; Filed June 15, 2023, 8:39 a.m. 

mailto:sharon.lindsay@dss.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Titles of Regulations: 1VAC20-45. Absent Military and 

Overseas Voters (amending 1VAC20-45-40). 

1VAC20-70. Absentee Voting (amending 1VAC20-70-20; 

repealing 1VAC20-70-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 3, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Franchelle Tyson, Administrative Program 

Specialist, Department of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, 1st 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8919, or 

email franchelle.tyson@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 785 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly removes the 

witness signature requirement for absentee ballots and 

applications, removes the witness signature requirement 

for federal write-in absentee ballots and applications, and 

replaces the signature requirements with a requirement 

for the voter's year of birth and the last four digits of the 

voter's social security number or a unique identifier if the 

voter has never been issued a social security number. The 

amendments conform the regulations to Chapter 785. 

1VAC20-45-40. Material omissions from Federal Write-In 

Absentee Ballots. 

A. Pursuant to the requirements of §§ 24.2-467, 24.2-702.1, 

and 24.2-706 of the Code of Virginia, a timely received write-

in absentee ballot on a Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot 

(FWAB) (Form SF-186) should not be rendered invalid if it 

contains an error or omission not material to determining the 

eligibility of the applicant to vote in the election in which the 

applicant offers to vote. 

B. If the applicant is not registered, the FWAB may not be 

accepted as timely for registration unless the applicant has met 

the applicable registration deadline. Section 24.2-419 of the 

Code of Virginia extends the mail registration deadline for 

certain military applicants. All applications requesting mailed 

ballots are subject to the mail absentee application deadline in 

§§ 24.2-459 and 24.2-701 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The following omissions are always material and any 

FWAB containing such omissions should be rendered invalid 

if on the declaration/affirmation any of the following, or 

combination thereof, exists: 

1. The applicant has omitted the signature of the voter or the 

notation of an assistant in the voter signature box that the 

voter is unable to sign; 

2. The applicant has omitted the signature of the witness, 

except during a declared state of emergency related to a 

communicable disease of public health threat pursuant to 

§ 24.2-707 of the Code of Virginia did not provide the 

applicant's birth year; 

3. The applicant did not provide the last four digits of the 

applicant's social security number, or if the applicant’s voter 

registration includes a statement of affirmation that the 

applicant has never been issued a social security number, the 

unique identifier assigned to the applicant in the voter 

registration system pursuant to § 24.2-404 A 1 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

4. The applicant did not include the declaration/affirmation 

page; or 

4. 5. The applicant omitted from the declaration/affirmation 

information required by § 24.2-702.1 of the Code of Virginia 

needed to determine identity or eligibility including current 

military or overseas address. 

D. The ballot should not be rendered invalid if on the FWAB 

any of the following, or combination thereof, exists: 

1. The applicant has not listed the names specifically in the 

order of last, first, and middle name; 

2. The applicant has listed a middle initial or maiden name, 

instead of the full middle name; 

3. The applicant has omitted the street identifier, such as the 

term "road" or "street," when filling in the legal residence; 

4. The applicant has omitted the county or city of registration 

if the county or city is clearly identifiable by the residence 

address information provided; 

5. The applicant has omitted the zip code; 

6. The applicant has omitted the date of the signature of the 

voter; 

7. The applicant has omitted the address of the witness; 

mailto:franchelle.tyson@elections.virginia.gov
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8. The applicant has omitted the date of signature of the 

witness; 

9. 7. The applicant did not seal the ballot within the security 

envelope so long as the outside envelope containing the 

ballot and the voter's declaration/affirmation page arrived 

sealed; or 

10. 8. The applicant has submitted a ballot containing offices 

or issues for which the applicant is not eligible. 

1VAC20-70-20. Material omissions from absentee ballots. 

A. Pursuant to the requirements of § 24.2-706 of the Code of 

Virginia, a timely received absentee ballot contained in an 

Envelope B shall not be rendered invalid if it contains an error 

or omission not material to its proper processing. 

B. The following omissions are always material and any 

Envelope B containing such omissions shall be rendered 

invalid if any of the following exists: 

1. Except as provided in subdivisions C 2 and C 3 of this 

section, the voter did not include his the voter's full first 

name; 

2. The voter did not provide his the voter's last name; 

3. The voter omitted his the voter's generational suffix when 

one or more individuals with the same name are registered 

at the same address, and it is impossible to determine the 

identity of the voter; 

4. The voter did not provide his the voter's house number 

and, street name, or his rural route address; 

5. The voter did not provide either his the voter's city or zip 

code; 

6. The voter did not sign Envelope B; or 

7. The voter's witness did not sign Envelope B, except during 

a declared state of emergency related to a communicable 

disease of public health threat pursuant to § 24.2-707 of the 

Code of Virginia. voter did not provide the voter's birth year; 

or 

8. The voter did not provide the last four digits of the voter's 

social security number, or if the voter’s registration includes 

a statement of affirmation that the voter has never been 

issued a social security number, the unique identifier 

assigned to the voter in the voter registration system 

pursuant to § 24.2-404 A 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The ballot shall not be rendered invalid if on the Envelope 

B: 

1. The voter included his the voter's full name in an order 

other than "last, first, middle"; 

2. The voter used his the voter's first initial instead of his the 

voter's first full name, so long as the voter provided his the 

voter's full middle name; 

3. The voter provided a derivative of his the voter's legal 

name as his the voter's first or middle name (e.g., "Bob" 

instead of "Robert"); 

4. If the voter provided his the voter's first name and last 

name, the voter did not provide a middle name or a middle 

initial; 

5. The voter did not provide his the voter's residential street 

identifier (Street, Drive, etc.); 

6. The voter did not provide a zip code, so long as the voter 

provided his the voter's city; 

7. The voter did not provide his the voter's city, so long as 

the voter provided his the voter's zip code; 

8. The voter omitted the date, or provided an incorrect or 

incomplete date on which he the voter signed Envelope B; 

or 

9. The ballot is imperfectly sealed within Envelope B, 

provided that the outer envelope with Envelope B and the 

ballot arrived sealed.; or 

10. The illegibility of a voter's or witness' signature on an 

Envelope B shall not be considered an omission or error is 

illegible. 

D. For the purposes of this regulation, "city" may include the 

voter's locality, town, or any acceptable mailing name for the 

five-digit zip code of the voter's residence. 

E. Whether an error or omission on an Envelope B not 

specifically addressed by this regulation is material and shall 

render the absentee ballot invalid shall be determined by a 

majority of the officers of the election present. 

F. If a ballot is received by the general registrar's office by 

noon on the third day after the election pursuant to § 24.2-709 

of the Code of Virginia but the return envelope has a missing 

or illegible postmark, the General Registrar shall refer to the 

Intelligent Mail barcode on the return envelope to determine 

whether the ballot was mailed on or before the date of the 

relevant election. 

1. If there is evidence from the Intelligent Mail barcode that 

the ballot was mailed after the close of polls for the relevant 

election, the ballot shall be rendered invalid. 

2. If there is no evidence from the Intelligent Mail barcode 

that the ballot was mailed after the close of polls for the 

relevant election, but the return envelope has an illegible 

postmark, the General Registrar shall refer to the date on 

which the oath on Envelope B was signed to determine 

whether the ballot was cast on or before the date of the 

relevant election. 

3. If there is no evidence from the Intelligent Mail barcode 

that the ballot was mailed after the close of polls for the 

relevant election and if the return envelope has a missing 

postmark, the ballot shall be rendered invalid. 
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1VAC20-70-80. Absentee ballot witness signatures during 

qualifying state of emergency. (Repealed.) 

A. "Declared state of emergency related to a communicable 

disease of public health threat" or "state of emergency" means a 

state of emergency declared by the Governor of Virginia pursuant 

to the Governor's authority under Article V, Section 7 of the 

Constitution of Virginia in response to a communicable disease of 

public health threat, as defined in § 44-146.16 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. If such a state of emergency is declared prior to the start of in-

person absentee voting under § 24.2-701.1 of the Code of Virginia 

for an election and is ongoing at the beginning of the in-person 

absentee voting period, then a witness signature is not required on 

any absentee ballot otherwise validly submitted for that election. 

This rule applies to all absentee ballots submitted for that election, 

including any absentee ballot submitted after the state of 

emergency has ended. 

C. If the Governor of Virginia declares such a state of emergency 

during the in-person absentee voting period preceding Election 

Day, no absentee ballot returned after such declaration of state of 

emergency requires a witness signature. This rule applies to any 

absentee ballots submitted after the state of emergency has ended. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7590; Filed June 22, 2023, 1:22 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-66, 

4VAC15-20-130). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 33 and 34 of the 2022 Acts of 

Assembly, one of the amendments removes the 

requirement for a permit to use a department-owned boat 

access site. Additional amendments update the version of 

the Federal Endangered and Threatened Species List 

incorporated by reference into the regulation and update 

the Virginia-specific list of endangered and threatened 

species by removing the sickle darter and Atlantic pigtoe 

mussel, which are now included on the federal list.  

4VAC15-20-66. Admittance, parking, or other use fee at 

certain department-owned and department-managed 

facilities. 

A. Pursuant to the authority of the board under subdivision 14 

of § 29.1-103 (14) of the Code of Virginia and in accordance 

with § 29.1-113 of the Code of Virginia, a daily fee of $3.00 or 

an annual fee equal to the price of an annual basic state resident 

fishing or hunting license is established for admittance, 

parking, or other use at department-owned or department-

managed lands, boat launch sites, and public fishing lakes. 

Such fee shall not apply to (i) any person holding a valid 

hunting, trapping, or fishing license, or a current certificate of 

boat registration issued by the department; (ii) persons 16 years 

of age or younger; or (iii) any person who is a passenger in but 

not the owner or operator of a paddlecraft or registered vessel 

the use of department-owned boat ramps. 

B. Any person violating this section may be assessed a civil 

penalty of $50 in lieu of any criminal penalty. 

C. The director may waive fees for any person, group, or 

organization whenever such action is deemed to be in the 

department's interest. Any or all facilities may be closed by the 

director without notice due to an emergency or natural disaster. 

Full refunds or credits may be issued whenever the closure 

prevents any use of the facility during the term of the permit. 

Partial refunds of fees may be made in the interest of providing 

better customer service. 

D. The director may allow deviations from established fees in 

the form of discounts or special promotions for the purpose of 

stimulating visitation and use of departmental facilities. 

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species; 

adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated. 

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and 

Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of December 

28, 1973 (16 USC §§ 1531-1543), as amended as of April 30, 

2021 December 28, 2022, and declares all species listed 

thereon to be endangered or threatened species in the 

Commonwealth. Pursuant to subdivision 12 of § 29.1-103 of 

the Code of Virginia, the director of the department is hereby 

delegated authority to propose adoption of modifications and 

amendments to the Federal Endangered and Threatened 

Species List in accordance with the procedures of §§ 29.1-501 

and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A of this section, 

the following species are declared endangered or threatened in 

this Commonwealth, and are afforded the protection provided 

mailto:cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov
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by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of 

the Code of Virginia: 

1. Fish: 

Endangered: 

Dace, Clinch 
Chrosomus sp. cf. 

saylori 

Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus 

tennesseensis 

Darter, sharphead Etheostoma 

acuticeps 

Darter, variegate Etheostoma 

variatum 

Sunfish, blackbanded Enneacanthus 

chaetodon 

Threatened: 

Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis 

Darter, golden Etheostoma 

denoncourti 

Darter, greenfin Etheostoma 

chlorobranchium 

Darter, sickle Percina willliamsi 

Darter, western sand Ammocrypta 

clara 

Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti 

Paddlefish Polyodon spathula 

Shiner, emerald Notropis 

atherinoides 

Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella 

whipplei 

Shiner, whitemouth Notropis alborus 

2. Amphibians: 

Endangered: 

Salamander, eastern tiger Ambystoma 

tigrinum 

Threatened: 

Salamander, Mabee's Ambystoma 

mabeei 

3. Reptiles: 

Endangered: 

Rattlesnake, canebrake (Coastal Plain 

population of timber rattlesnake) 

Crotalus horridus 

Turtle, bog Glyptemys 

muhlenbergii 

Turtle, eastern chicken Deirochelys 

reticularia 

Threatened: 

Lizard, eastern glass Ophisaurus 

ventralis 

Turtle, wood Glyptemys 

insculpta 

4. Birds: 

Endangered: 

Plover, Wilson's Charadrius 

wilsonia 

Rail, black Laterallus 

jamaicensis 

Woodpecker, red-cockaded 
Dryobates 

borealis 

Wren, Bewick's Thryomanes 

bewickii 

Threatened: 

Falcon, peregrine Falco peregrinus 

Shrike, loggerhead Lanius 

ludovicianus 

Sparrow, Bachman's Aimophila 

aestivalis 

Sparrow, Henslow's Ammodramus 

henslowii 

Tern, gull-billed Sterna nilotica 

5. Mammals: 

Endangered: 

Bat, Rafinesque's eastern big-eared Corynorhinus 

rafinesquii 

macrotis 
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Bat, little brown Myotis lucifugus 

Bat, tri-colored Perimyotis 

subflavus 

Hare, snowshoe Lepus americanus 

Shrew, American water Sorex palustris 

Vole, rock Microtus 

chrotorrhinus 

6. Mollusks: 

Endangered: 

Coil, rubble Helicodiscus 

lirellus 

Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus 

diadema 

Deertoe Truncilla truncata 

Elephantear Elliptio crassidens 

Elimia, spider Elimia 

arachnoidea 

Floater, brook Alasmidonta 

varicosa 

Ghostsnail, thankless Holsingeria 

unthanksensis 

Heelsplitter, Tennessee Lasmigona 

holstonia 

Lilliput, purple Toxolasma lividus 

Mussel, slippershell Alasmidonta 

viridis 

Pigtoe, Ohio Pleurobema 

cordatum 

Pigtoe, pyramid Pleurobema 

rubrum 

Springsnail, Appalachian Fontigens 

bottimeri 

Springsnail (no common name) Fontigens 

morrisoni 

Supercoil, spirit Paravitrea hera 

Threatened: 

Floater, green Lasmigona 

subviridis 

Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis 

Pigtoe, Atlantic Fusconaiamasoni 

Pimpleback Quadrula 

pustulosa 

Pistolgrip Tritogonia 

verrucosa 

Riversnail, spiny Iofluvialis 

Sandshell, black Ligumia recta 

Supercoil, brown Paravitrea 

septadens 

7. Arthropods: 

Threatened: 

Amphipod, Madison Cave Stygobromus 

stegerorum 

Pseudotremia, Ellett Valley Pseudotremia 

cavernarum 

Xystodesmid, Laurel Creek Sigmoria 

whiteheadi 

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or offer 

for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or 

endangered species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by 

law. 

D. The incidental take of certain species may occur in certain 

circumstances and with the implementation of certain 

conservation practices as described in this subsection: 

 

 

Species Location Allowable Circumstances Required Conservation Measures 

Expected 

Incidental 

Take 

Little 

brown 

bat 

Statewide Human health risk – need for 

removal of individual animals 

from human-habited structures. 

Between May 15 and August 31, no exclusion of bats 

from maternity colonies, except for human health 

concerns. 

Little to no 

direct 

lethal 
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Tri-

colored 

bat 

Department-permitted nuisance wildlife control 

operator with department-recognized certification in 

techniques associated with removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that allow individual animals 

to escape. 

Manual collection of individual animals incapable of 

sustaining themselves; transport to a willing and 

appropriately permitted wildlife rehabilitator. 

taking 

expected. 

Public safety or property 

damage risk – need for tree 

removal, application of 

prescribed fire, or other land 

management actions affecting 

known roosts; removal of 

animals from known roosts. 

Hibernacula: no tree removal, use of prescribed fire, or 

other land management action within a 250-foot radius 

buffer area from December 1 through April 30. 

Between September 1 and November 30, increase the 

buffer to a 1/4-mile radius with the following 

conditions: for timber harvests greater than 20 acres, 

retain snags and wolf trees (if not presenting public 

safety or property risk) and small tree groups up to 15 

trees of 3-inch diameter at breast height (dbh) or 

greater, one tree group per 20 acres. Otherwise, 

document the need (public safety, property damage 

risk) for tree removal during this period and verify that 

no known roost trees exist in the buffer area. Tree 

removal and prescribed fire are permitted outside of 

these dates. 

Known roost trees: no tree removal, use of prescribed 

fire, or other land management action within a 150-foot 

radius buffer area from June 1 through July 31, if 

possible. Otherwise, document public safety or property 

damage risk. 

Department-permitted nuisance wildlife control 

operator with department-recognized certification in 

techniques associated with removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that allow individual animals 

to escape. 

Manual collection of individual animals incapable of 

sustaining themselves; transport to a willing and 

appropriately permitted wildlife rehabilitator. 

Little to no 

direct 

lethal 

taking 

expected. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, April 2022, 

Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of 

May 7, 2019 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of 

December 8, 2022 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7525; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:45 a.m. 

 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General 

(amending 4VAC15-40-195, 4VAC15-40-276, 4VAC15-40-

285). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/2022%20List%20of%20VA%20Native%20&%20Naturalized%20Fauna%20-20220531161919.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/2022%20List%20of%20VA%20Native%20&%20Naturalized%20Fauna%20-20220531161919.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/Federal%20Threatented%20&%20Endangered%20List%20as%20of%20December%202022-20230516155315.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/Federal%20Threatented%20&%20Endangered%20List%20as%20of%20December%202022-20230516155315.pdf
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Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update trap visitation requirements to 

incorporate current remote camera monitoring 

technology; (ii) clarify and expand the parts of legally 

harvested turkeys that may be offered for sale; and (iii) 

clarify that feeding of deer is prohibited within 

incorporated cities and towns located within any county 

designated by the Department of Wildlife Resources to be 

within 25 miles of a confirmed detection of Chronic 

Wasting Disease. 

4VAC15-40-195. Visiting traps, generally; visiting 

completely submerged, body-gripping traps; use of remote 

trap check systems. 

A. Except as provided in subsections B and C of this section, 

it shall be unlawful to fail to visit all traps once each day and 

remove all animals caught. 

B. Body-gripping traps that are completely submerged by 

water must be visited at least once every 72 hours. 

C. Remote trap checking systems may be used in lieu of a 

physical trap visit when such systems (i) have a control unit or 

remote camera that reports trap status to a centralized 

application database at least once every 24 hours; (ii) have 

notification alarms that report provide notifications of trap 

closures or activity at the trap site and system health issues 

within one hour of detection via email and or text-based 

messaging systems; and (iii) have on-demand control unit 

testing capabilities for determining trap status, signal strength, 

and battery condition via remote system check-in. If the control 

unit reports a trap closure or the camera sends a photo with an 

animal in a trap, the user is required to physically visit the trap 

within 24 hours of the time the trap was reported closed or the 

photo was received. If the control unit or camera fails to report 

its current status within a 24-hour check-in period or reports a 

system health issue, the user is required to physically check the 

trap within 24 hours of the last time an open trap signal was 

received communication with the device. 

4VAC15-40-276. Sale of wild turkey and small game 

animals and parts. 

It shall be lawful for any person to purchase or sell skins, 

pelts, skulls, bones, teeth, claws, feet, spurs, tails, hair, 

feathers, taxidermy mounts, and other nonmeat parts of legally 

taken and possessed rabbits, squirrels, bobwhite quail, ruffed 

grouse, and pheasants, and wild turkey. 

4VAC15-40-285. Unauthorized feeding of cervids. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to place or distribute food, 

salt, minerals, or similar substances to feed or attract cervids (i) at 

any time in the Counties (including the cities and towns within) of 

Buchanan, Dickenson, Wise, and in any county (including the 

cities and towns within) designated by the department within 25 

miles of a confirmed detection of Chronic Wasting Disease; (ii) 

during any deer or elk season within any county, city, or town that 

allows deer or elk hunting; and (iii) from September 1 through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, elsewhere in the 

Commonwealth. 

B. Any food, salt, minerals, or similar substances placed or 

distributed to feed or attract cervids prior to September 1 must be 

completely removed by September 1, and any area where food, 

salt, minerals, or similar substances were placed or distributed to 

feed or attract cervids shall be considered to be baited for 10 days 

following the complete removal of the items listed in this 

subsection. 

C. Upon written notification by department personnel, no person 

shall continue to place or distribute any food, salt, mineral, or 

similar substances for any purpose if the placement of these 

materials results in the attraction of or feeding of cervids. After 

such notification, such person shall be in violation of this section 

if the placing, distribution, or presence of such food, salt, minerals, 

or similar substances continues. 

D. No part of this regulation shall be construed to restrict bona 

fide agronomic plantings (including wildlife food plots), bona fide 

distribution of food to livestock, or wildlife management activities 

conducted or authorized by the department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7526; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:47 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General 

(adding 4VAC15-40-290; repealing 4VAC15-40-300). 

4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (repealing 4VAC15-50-81, 

4VAC15-50-91). 

4VAC15-70. Game: Bobcat (repealing 4VAC15-70-70). 

4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 4VAC15-90-500, 

4VAC15-90-510; repealing 4VAC15-90-231, 4VAC15-90-

241). 

4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey (repealing 4VAC15-240-81, 

4VAC15-240-91). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) combine reporting requirements for a 

successful bear, deer, elk, or turkey kill into a new, single 

regulatory section, 4VAC15-40-290; (ii) repeal the eight 

mailto:cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.go
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sections that previously contained these requirements; 

(iii) establish the requirements for reporting the harvest of 

gray foxes and bobcat and include those requirements in 

4VAC15-40-290; and (iv) update the harvest reporting for 

elk hunting inside and outside the Elk Management Zone 

to reference 4VAC15-40-290. 

4VAC15-40-290. Validating tags and reporting bear, deer, 

elk, turkey, and bobcat.  

A. If a hunter holds a license or permit to kill a bear, deer, elk, 

or turkey, the following apply: 

1. The hunter killing a bear, deer, elk, or turkey shall, before 

removing the carcass from the place of kill, validate an 

appropriate tag on the hunter's special license for hunting 

bear, special license for hunting deer and turkey, special elk 

hunting license, bonus deer permit, or special permit by 

completely removing the designated notch area from the 

paper tag or by electronically notching a tag and reporting 

the bear, deer, elk, or turkey using the department's mobile 

harvest reporting application. Place of kill shall be defined 

as the location where the animal or bird is first reduced to 

possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to validate 

(i.e., notch) a paper tag prior to the killing of a bear, deer, 

elk, or turkey. A paper tag that is mistakenly validated (i.e., 

notched) prior to the killing of a bear, deer, elk, or turkey 

must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee by 

writing in ink the word "VOID" on the line provided on the 

license or special permit tag. All electronically notched tags 

are permanent and cannot be voided. 

2. Upon killing a bear, deer, elk, or turkey and validating 

(i.e., notching) a paper license tag, bonus deer permit, or 

special permit, as provided in subsection A of this section, 

the hunter shall, upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at 

the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever occurs 

first, and without unnecessary delay, report the kill through 

the department's electronic harvest reporting system. At such 

time, the person making the report will be given a 

confirmation number. The successful hunter shall then 

immediately record the confirmation number in ink on the 

line provided on the paper tag that has been validated (i.e., 

notched) in the field. 

3. After the harvest of a bear, deer, elk, or turkey is reported, 

no written documentation is required as long as the hunter 

who killed the animal or bird is in possession of the carcass. 

If the reported carcass is left unattended or transferred to the 

possession of another individual, written documentation that 

includes the successful hunter's full name, the date the 

animal or bird was killed, and the confirmation number must 

be created and kept in possession with the carcass until the 

carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this 

written documentation must be securely attached to the 

carcass. 

B. If a hunter is exempt from license requirements or holds a 

license authorization number as prescribed by § 29.1-301, 

29.1-327, or 29.1-339 of the Code of Virginia and has killed a 

bear, deer, elk, or turkey, the hunter shall upon vehicle 

transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 

hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 

report the kill through the department's electronic harvest 

reporting system. At such time, the person making the report 

will be given a confirmation number. The hunter shall 

immediately create written documentation, including the 

hunter's full name, the date the animal or bird was killed, and 

the confirmation number. This written documentation must be 

kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is 

processed. If the carcass is transferred to the possession of 

another individual, the written documentation must be 

transferred with the carcass to the individual and kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the 

carcass is left unattended, this written documentation must be 

securely attached to the carcass. 

C. Any hunter or trapper who kills a bobcat shall report the 

kill within 24 hours through the department's electronic harvest 

reporting system. At such time, the person reporting the kill 

will be furnished with a confirmation number. The hunter or 

trapper shall immediately record this confirmation number in a 

location where it can later be retrieved to prove compliance 

with the reporting requirements or to request a department seal. 

Any bobcat received by a taxidermist for mounting or tanning 

shall have written documentation securely attached to the 

carcass that includes the full name of the hunter or trapper, date 

of kill, and the harvest confirmation number. 

D. Any hunter or trapper who kills a gray fox shall report the 

kill within 24 hours through the department's electronic harvest 

reporting system. At such time, the person reporting the kill 

will be furnished with a confirmation number. The hunter or 

trapper shall immediately record this confirmation number in a 

location where it can later be retrieved to prove compliance 

with the reporting requirements. Any gray fox received by a 

taxidermist for mounting or tanning shall have written 

documentation securely attached to the carcass that includes 

the full name of the hunter or trapper, date of kill, and the 

harvest confirmation number. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any bear, deer, elk, or turkey killed until the 

harvest is reported as required by this section. Successful 

hunters may dismember the carcass to pack it out from the 

place of kill as long as they do not destroy the identity of the 

sex and all parts of the carcass are present when the animal or 

bird is reported. 

F. Processed carcass parts of a bear, deer, elk, or turkey killed 

legally in Virginia may be transported. However, upon request 

of any authorized law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or 

written information necessary to properly establish legal 

possession must be furnished immediately. 
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G. Upon killing a bear, deer, elk, or turkey within an area 

designated by the department for disease management and on 

days designated by the department, the hunter shall present the 

carcass at or submit carcass parts or samples as directed by the 

department to a location designated by the department for the 

purposes of disease surveillance or biological monitoring. 

H. A premolar tooth must be removed by the hunter after 

reporting the harvest of a bear through the department's 

electronic harvest reporting system. The premolar shall be 

placed in an envelope furnished by the department and labeled 

with the hunter's full name, confirmation number, date of kill, 

and the sex of the harvested bear. This envelope with the 

premolar and accompanying information must be mailed or 

delivered to the department no later than 14 days after the close 

of the bear harvest season. 

I. Any bear, deer, elk, or turkey found in possession of any 

person that has not been reported as required by this section 

shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as 

provided by law. 

J. It shall be unlawful to provide false statements or record 

false information when tagging or reporting the harvest of any 

wild animal or bird to the department, any agent of the 

department, or any taxidermist. 

4VAC15-40-300. Falsifying harvest information 

prohibited. (Repealed.) 

It shall be unlawful to provide false statements or record false 

information when tagging, checking, or reporting the harvest 

of any wild animal to the department, any agent of the 

department, or any taxidermist.  

4VAC15-50-81. Validating tags and reporting bear and 

tooth submission by licensee or permittee. (Repealed.) 

A. Any person killing a bear shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 

their special license for hunting bear or special permit by 

completely removing the designated notch area from the tag or 

by electronically notching a tag and reporting the bear using 

the department's mobile harvest reporting application. Place of 

kill shall be defined as the location where the animal is first 

reduced to possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to 

validate (notch) a bear tag from any special license for hunting 

bear or special permit prior to the killing of a bear. A bear tag 

that is mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the killing of a 

bear must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee 

by writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on 

the license tag. All electronically notched tags are permanent 

and cannot be voided. 

B. Upon killing a bear and validating (notching) a license tag 

or special permit, as provided in subsection A of this section, 

the licensee shall, upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at 

the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever occurs first, 

and without unnecessary delay, report the kill through the 

department's automated harvest reporting system. At such 

time, the person reporting the carcass will be given a 

confirmation number from the automated reporting system. 

The successful hunter shall then immediately record the 

confirmation number, in ink, on the line provided on the tag 

that was validated (notched) in the field. If checked at an 

authorized bear check station, the black bear check card must 

be kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is 

processed. After the kill is reported, no written documentation 

is required as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in 

possession of the carcass. If the reported carcass is left 

unattended or transferred to the possession of another 

individual, written documentation including the successful 

hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, and the 

confirmation number must be created and kept in possession 

with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is 

left unattended, this written documentation must be securely 

attached to the carcass. Processed carcass parts of a bear killed 

legally in Virginia may be transported; however, upon request 

of any authorized law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or 

written information necessary to properly establish legal 

possession must be furnished immediately. 

C. A premolar tooth must be removed by the hunter 

immediately after reporting the kill through the department's 

automated harvest reporting system. The premolar shall be 

placed in an envelope furnished by the department and labeled 

with the hunter's full name, check confirmation number, date 

of kill, and the sex of the harvested bear. This envelope with 

premolar and accompanying information must be mailed or 

delivered to the department no later than 14 days after the close 

of the bear harvest season. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any bear killed unless and until the license tag or 

special permit is validated (notched) and reported as required 

by this section. Successful bear hunters are allowed to 

dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill, after 

an appropriate license tag has been validated (notched) as 

required in subsection A of this section, as long as they do not 

destroy the identity of the sex, and all the parts of the carcass 

are present when the bear is reported through the automated 

harvest reporting system. Any bear found in the possession of 

any person without a validated (notched) license tag or 

documentation that the bear has been reported through the 

department's automated harvest reporting system as required 

by this section shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be 

disposed of as provided by law. 

4VAC15-50-91. Reporting bear and tooth submission by 

persons exempt from license requirements or holding a 

license authorization number. (Repealed.) 

A. Upon killing a bear, any person (i) exempt from license 

requirements as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of 

Virginia, (ii) issued a complimentary license as prescribed in 

§ 29.1-339 of the Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent 
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license issued pursuant to § 29.1-301 E of the Code of Virginia, 

or (iv) the holder of a Virginia license authorization number 

issued by a telephone or electronic media agent pursuant to 

§ 29.1-327 B of the Code of Virginia shall, upon vehicle 

transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 

hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 

report the kill through the department's automated harvest 

reporting system. At such time, the person reporting the carcass 

shall be given a confirmation number from the automated 

reporting system. After the kill is reported using the automated 

harvest reporting system, the successful hunter shall 

immediately create written documentation including the 

successful hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, 

and the confirmation number. This written documentation 

must be kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is 

processed. If the automated harvest reported carcass is 

transferred to the possession of another individual, the written 

documentation must be transferred with the carcass to the 

individual and kept in possession with the carcass until the 

carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this 

written documentation must be securely attached to the 

carcass. Processed carcass parts of a black bear killed legally 

in Virginia may be transported; however, upon request of any 

authorized law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or 

written information necessary to properly establish legal 

possession must be furnished immediately. 

B. A premolar tooth must be removed by the hunter 

immediately after reporting the kill through the department's 

automated harvest reporting system. The premolar shall be 

placed in an envelope furnished by the department and labeled 

with the hunter's full name, check confirmation number, date 

of kill, and the sex of the harvested bear. This envelope with 

premolar and accompanying information must be mailed or 

delivered to the department no later than 14 days after the close 

of the bear harvest season. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any bear killed until the bear is reported as 

required by this section. Successful bear hunters are allowed to 

dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill as 

long as they do not destroy the identity of the sex and all the 

parts of the carcass are present when the bear is reported 

through the automated harvest reporting system. Any bear that 

has not been reported through the department's automated 

harvest reporting system as required by this section, found in 

the possession of any person exempt from the license 

requirements or holding a license authorization number shall 

be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as 

provided by law. 

4VAC15-70-70. Checking requirements. (Repealed.) 

Any hunter or trapper who kills a bobcat shall report the kill 

within 24 hours through the department's automated harvest 

reporting system. At such time, the person reporting the kill 

will be furnished with a confirmation number. The hunter or 

trapper shall immediately record this confirmation number in a 

location where it can later be retrieved to prove compliance 

with checking requirements or to request a department seal. 

Any bobcat received by a taxidermist for mounting or tanning 

shall have written documentation securely attached to the 

carcass that includes the full name of the hunter or trapper, date 

of kill, and the harvest confirmation number. 

4VAC15-90-231. Validating tags and reporting deer by 

licensee or permittee. (Repealed.) 

A. Any person killing a deer shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on his 

special license for hunting deer and turkey, bonus deer permit, 

or special permit by completely removing the designated notch 

area from the tag or by electronically notching a tag and 

reporting the deer using the department's mobile harvest 

reporting application. Place of kill shall be defined as the 

location where the animal is first reduced to possession. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to validate (notch) a deer tag from 

any special license for hunting deer and turkey, bonus deer 

permit, or special permit prior to the killing of a deer. A deer 

tag that is mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the killing of 

a deer must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee 

by writing in ink the word "VOID" on the line provided on the 

license tag. All electronically notched tags are permanent and 

cannot be voided. 

B. Upon killing a deer and validating (notching) a license tag, 

bonus deer permit or special permit, as provided in subsection 

A of this section, the licensee or permittee shall, upon vehicle 

transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 

hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 

report the kill through the department's automated harvest 

reporting system. At such time, the person reporting the carcass 

will be given a confirmation number. The successful hunter 

shall then immediately record the confirmation number in ink 

on the line provided on the tag that was validated (notched) in 

the field. I 

C. After the kill is reported, no written documentation is 

required as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in 

possession of the carcass. If the reported carcass is left 

unattended or transferred to the possession of another 

individual, written documentation that includes the successful 

hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, and the 

confirmation number must be created and kept in possession 

with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is 

left unattended, this written documentation must be securely 

attached to the carcass. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any deer killed unless and until the license tag, 

bonus deer permit, or special permit is validated (notched) and 

reported as required by this section. Successful deer hunters are 

allowed to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place 

of kill, after an appropriate license tag has been validated 

(notched) as required in subsection A of this section, as long as 
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they do not destroy the identity of the sex and all the parts of 

the carcass are present when the deer is reported. 

E. Processed carcass parts of a deer killed legally in Virginia 

may be transported. However, upon request of any authorized 

law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or written 

information necessary to properly establish legal possession 

must be furnished immediately. 

F. Any deer found in the possession of any person without a 

validated (notched) license tag or documentation that the deer 

has been reported as required by this section shall be forfeited 

to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law. 

G. Upon killing a deer within an area designated by the 

department for deer disease management and on days 

designated by the department, the licensee or permittee shall 

present the carcass, or submit carcass parts or samples as 

directed by the department, to a location designated by the 

department for the purposes of disease surveillance or 

biological monitoring. 

4VAC15-90-241. Reporting deer by persons exempt from 

license requirement or holding a license authorization 

number. (Repealed.) 

A. Upon killing a deer, any person (i) exempt from license 

requirement as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of 

Virginia, (ii) issued a complimentary license as prescribed in 

§ 29.1-339 of the Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent 

license issued pursuant to § 29.1-301 E of the Code of Virginia, 

or (iv) holding a Virginia license authorization number issued 

by a telephone or electronic media agent pursuant to § 29.1-

327 B of the Code of Virginia shall, upon vehicle transport of 

the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting hours, 

whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, report 

the kill through the department's automated harvest reporting 

system. At such time, the person reporting the carcass shall be 

given a confirmation number. The successful hunter shall 

immediately create written documentation including the 

successful hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, 

and the confirmation number. This written documentation 

must be kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is 

processed. If the carcass is transferred to the possession of 

another individual, the written documentation must be 

transferred with the carcass to the individual and kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the 

carcass is left unattended, this written documentation must be 

securely attached to the carcass.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

(sex) of any deer killed until the deer is reported as required by 

this section. Successful deer hunters are allowed to dismember 

the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill as long as they 

do not destroy the identity of the sex and all the parts of the 

carcass are present when the deer is reported. 

C. Processed carcass parts of a deer killed legally in Virginia 

may be transported; however, upon request of any authorized 

law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or written 

information necessary to properly establish legal possession 

must be furnished immediately. 

D. Any deer that has not been reported as required by this 

section found in the possession of any person exempt from 

license requirements or holding a license authorization number 

shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as 

provided by law.  

E. Upon killing a deer within an area designated by the 

department for deer disease management and on days 

designated by the department, the hunter shall present the 

carcass at or submit carcass parts or samples as directed by the 

department to a location designated by the department for the 

purposes of deer disease surveillance or biological monitoring. 

4VAC15-90-500. Elk hunting outside the Elk Management 

Zone. 

A. Open season. Except as otherwise provided by 4VAC15-

90-510, it shall be lawful to hunt elk of either sex during (i) the 

general firearms deer seasons as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-10 

and 4VAC15-90-23, (ii) the special archery seasons as 

prescribed by 4VAC15-90-70, and (iii) the special 

muzzleloading seasons as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-80 with 

bag limits as prescribed in 4VAC15-90-90. 

B. Upon killing an elk. Any licensed or permitted hunter shall 

validate a tag on that hunter's special license for hunting deer 

and turkey or bonus deer permit and check the elk in 

accordance with 4VAC15-90-231 4VAC15-40-290. Upon 

receiving a confirmation number, the hunter must call the 

department to schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site 

of kill for the collection of biological samples. 

C. Checking elk by persons exempt from license 

requirements or holding a license authorization number. Upon 

killing an elk, any person (i) exempt from license requirement 

as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) issued 

a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339 of the 

Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent license issued 

pursuant to § 29.1-301 E of the Code of Virginia, or (iv) 

holding a Virginia license authorization number issued by a 

telephone or electronic media agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B 

of the Code of Virginia shall check the elk in accordance with 

4VAC15-90-241 4VAC15-40-290. Upon receiving a 

confirmation number, the hunter must call the department to 

schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site of kill for the 

collection of biological samples. 

4VAC15-90-510. Elk hunting within the Elk Management 

Zone. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt elk within the Elk Management 

Zone from the second Saturday in October through the 

following Friday, both dates inclusive. 

B. The seasonal bag limit for elk shall be one per season as 

prescribed on the special elk hunting license. The department 
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shall determine the number and type of special elk hunting 

licenses distributed within a season and license year. 

C. Except as provided in 4VAC15-90-540 or 4VAC15-90-

550 individuals selected to purchase a special elk hunting 

license shall not be eligible to receive a subsequent special elk 

hunting license for a period of three years. 

D. All licensed elk hunters and persons accompanying elk 

hunters are required to wear or display a blaze color as 

described in § 29.1-530.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Upon killing an elk, any licensed hunter shall validate the 

tag on the hunter's special elk hunting license and report the elk 

in accordance with procedures outlined in 4VAC15-90-231 

4VAC15-40-290. Upon receiving a confirmation number, the 

hunter must call the department to schedule an inspection of 

the carcass and the site of kill for the collection of biological 

samples. 

4VAC15-240-81. Validating tags and reporting turkey by 

licensee. (Repealed.) 

A. Any person killing a turkey shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on his 

special license for hunting deer and turkey by completely 

removing the designated notch area from the tag or by 

electronically notching a tag and reporting the turkey using the 

department's mobile harvest reporting application. Place of kill 

shall be defined as the location where the animal is first 

reduced to possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to 

validate (notch) a turkey tag from any special license for 

hunting deer and turkey prior to the killing of a turkey. A 

turkey tag that is mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the 

killing of a turkey must be immediately voided by the licensee 

by writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on 

the tag. All electronically notched tags are permanent and 

cannot be voided. 

B. Upon killing a turkey and validating (notching) a license 

tag, as provided above, the licensee shall, upon vehicle 

transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 

hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 

report the kill through the department's automated harvest 

reporting system. The person reporting the carcass will be 

given a confirmation number from the automated harvest 

reporting system. The successful hunter shall then immediately 

record the confirmation number, in ink, on the line provided on 

the license tag that was validated (notched) in the field. If 

reported using the automated harvest reporting system, no 

check card is required as long as the hunter who killed the 

turkey is in possession of the carcass. If the automated harvest 

reported carcass is left unattended or transferred to the 

possession of another individual, written documentation 

including the successful hunter's full name, the date the turkey 

was killed, and the confirmation number must be created and 

kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is 

processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this written 

documentation must be securely attached to the carcass. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any turkey killed unless and until the license tag 

is validated (notched) and reported by using the automated 

harvest reporting system as required by this section. Any 

turkey found in the possession of any person without a 

validated (notched) license tag or documentation that the 

turkey has been reported by using the automated harvest 

reporting system as required by this section shall be forfeited 

to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law. 

4VAC15-240-91. Reporting turkey by persons exempt 

from license requirement or holding a license authorization 

number. (Repealed.) 

A. Upon killing a turkey, any person exempt from the license 

requirement as described in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, 

or issued a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339, 

or the holder of a permanent license issued pursuant to § 29.1-

301 E, or the holder of a Virginia license authorization number 

issued by a telephone or electronic media agent pursuant to 

§ 29.1-327 B shall, upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at 

the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever comes first, 

and without unnecessary delay, report his kill through the 

department's automated harvest reporting system. The person 

reporting the carcass shall be given a confirmation number 

from the automated harvest reporting system. No check card is 

required as long as the hunter who killed the turkey is in 

possession of the carcass. If the automated harvest reported 

carcass is left unattended or transferred to the possession of 

another individual, written documentation including the 

successful hunter's full name, the date the turkey was killed, 

and the confirmation number must be created and kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the 

automated harvest reported carcass is transferred to the 

possession of another individual, the written documentation 

must be transferred with the carcass to the individual and kept 

in possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation must 

be securely attached to the carcass. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any turkey killed until the turkey is reported by 

using the automated harvest reporting system as required by 

this section. Any turkey that has not been reported by using the 

automated harvest reporting system as required by this section 

found in the possession of any person exempt from license 

requirements or holding a license authorization number shall 

be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as 

provided by law. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7528; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:46 a.m. 
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 

4VAC15-50-11). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments eliminate the early three-day general 

firearms season for bear in 26 northern and western 

counties where bear populations have declined and 

increase the general firearms season from three weeks to 

five weeks for 35 counties in southern and eastern Virginia 

where bear populations have been increasing.  

4VAC15-50-11. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears in the following localities, 

including the cities and towns therein, during the following 

seasons: 

Location Season 

Accomack County Closed 

Albemarle County 

Monday following the last Saturday in 

September and for two days following; 

and the The fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Alleghany County 

Monday following the last Saturday in 

September and for two days following; 

and the The fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Amelia County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Amherst County 

Monday following the last Saturday in 

September and for two days following; 

and the The fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Appomattox 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Arlington County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Augusta County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Bath County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Bedford County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Bland County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Botetourt County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Brunswick County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Buchanan County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

mailto:cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov
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Buckingham 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Campbell County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Caroline County 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Carroll County 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Charles City 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Charlotte County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Chesapeake (City 

of) 

October 1 through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Chesterfield County 
Fourth Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Clarke County 

Monday following the last Saturday in 

September and for two days following; 

and the The fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Craig County 

Monday following the last Saturday in 

September and for two days following; 

and the fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Culpeper County 
Fourth Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Cumberland County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Dickenson County 

Monday following the last Saturday in 

September and for two days following; 

and the fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Dinwiddie County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Essex County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Fairfax County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Fauquier County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Floyd County 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Fluvanna County 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Franklin County 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Frederick County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Giles County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Gloucester County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Goochland County 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 
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Grayson County 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Greene County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Greensville County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Halifax County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Hanover County 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Henrico County 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Henry County 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Highland County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Isle of Wight 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

James City County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

King and Queen 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

King George 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

King William 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Lancaster County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Lee County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Loudoun County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Louisa County 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Lunenburg County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Madison County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Mathews County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Mecklenburg 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Middlesex County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Montgomery 

County 

(southeast of I-81) 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 
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Montgomery 

County (northwest 

of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Nelson County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

New Kent County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Northampton 

County 
Closed 

Northumberland 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Nottoway County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Orange County 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Page County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Patrick County 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Pittsylvania County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Powhatan County 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Prince Edward 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Prince George 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Prince William 

County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Pulaski County  

(southeast of I-81) 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Pulaski County  

(northwest of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Rappahannock 

County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Richmond County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Roanoke County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockbridge County 

Monday following the last Saturday in 

September and for two days following; 

and the The fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockingham 

County 

Monday following the last Saturday in 

September and for two days following; 

and the The fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Russell County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 
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Scott County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Shenandoah County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Smyth County 

(southeast of I-81) 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Smyth County 

(northwest of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Southampton 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Spotsylvania 

County 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Stafford County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Suffolk (City of) 
October 1 through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Surry County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Sussex County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Tazewell County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Virginia Beach 

(City of) 

October 1 through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Warren County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the The fourth 

Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Washington County  

(southeast of I-81) 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Washington County 

(northwest of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Westmoreland 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Wise County 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

Wythe County  

(southeast of I-81) 

Monday nearest December 2 through 

the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Wythe County  

(northwest of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday 

in September and for two days 

following; and the fourth Monday in 

November through the first Saturday 

in January, both dates inclusive. 

York County 

Monday nearest December 2 and for 

19 days following through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

B. Notwithstanding provisions of subsection A of this section, 

bears may be hunted from the first Saturday in October through 

the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any town or city that allows bear 

hunting. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7533; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:48 a.m. 
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 

4VAC15-90-10, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-90-89, 4VAC15-

90-90, 4VAC15-90-91, 4VAC15-90-530, 4VAC15-90-540). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) increase deer hunting opportunities, 

increase the number of days when antlerless deer can be 

harvested, or require hunters to harvest antlerless deer 

before harvesting multiple antlered deer in an effort to 

reduce deer population levels and address the spread of 

Chronic Wasting Disease in certain localities; (ii) expand 

Department of Wildlife Resources flexibility in timing the 

elk hunt lottery to capitalize on additional elk population 

data in determining the annual allocation of special elk 

hunting licenses for the Elk Management Zone; and (iii) 

award landowners who participate in the Elk Landowner 

License Program points that can be used to secure a 

special elk hunting license for their lands. A change to the 

proposed regulation closes the antlerless deer only and 

private land deer season in Bedford County on January 

31.  

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, 

including the cities and towns therein, during the following 

seasons, all dates inclusive. 

Locality Season 

Accomack County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Albemarle County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Alleghany County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Amelia County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Amherst County (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the 

James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River, except on national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Amherst County (national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Amherst County (east of 

Business U.S. 29, as defined 

above) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Appomattox County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Arlington County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Arlington County (antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Augusta County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Bath County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Bedford County (except on 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

mailto:cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov
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Bedford County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Bedford County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through [ the last Sunday 

in March January 31 ]  

Bland County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Botetourt County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Brunswick County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Buchanan County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Buckingham County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Campbell County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Caroline County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Carroll County (private lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Carroll County (public lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Carroll County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Carroll County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Charles City County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Charlotte County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Chesapeake (City of) 
October 1 through 

November 30 

Chesterfield County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Clarke County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Clarke County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Craig County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 
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Culpeper County (except 

Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Culpeper County (Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Culpeper County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday in 

March 

Culpeper County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday in 

March 

Cumberland County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Dickenson County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Dinwiddie County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Essex County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Fairfax County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Fairfax County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday in 

March 

Fauquier County (except 

Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Fauquier County (Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Fauquier County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Fauquier County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Floyd County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Floyd County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Floyd County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Fluvanna County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 
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Franklin County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Frederick County (non-national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Frederick County (national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Frederick County (non-

national-forest lands antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Giles County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Gloucester County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Goochland County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Grayson County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Greene County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Greensville County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Halifax County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Hanover County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Henrico County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Henry County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Highland County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Isle of Wight County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

James City County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

King and Queen County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

King George County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

King William County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Lancaster County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Lee County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Loudoun County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 
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Loudoun County (antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Louisa County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Lunenburg County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Madison County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Madison County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Madison County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Mathews County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Mecklenburg County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Middlesex County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Montgomery County (non-

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Montgomery County (national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Montgomery County (non-

national forest lands and 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Montgomery County (disease 

focus zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Nelson County  

(west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Nelson County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Nelson County  

(east of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

New Kent County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Northampton County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Northumberland County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 17, 2023  

2703 

Nottoway County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Orange County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Orange County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Orange County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Page County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Page County (non-national 

forest lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Page County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Patrick County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Pittsylvania County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Powhatan County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Prince Edward County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Prince George County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Prince William County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Prince William County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Pulaski County (except on New 

River Unit of the Radford 

Army Ammunition Plant 

adjacent to the Town of Dublin 

and national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Pulaski County (New River 

Unit of the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant adjacent to 

the Town of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the 

second Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Pulaski County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Pulaski County (non-national 

forest lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 
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Pulaski County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Rappahannock County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Rappahannock County (private 

lands and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Rappahannock County (disease 

focus zones defined by the 

department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Richmond County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Roanoke County (private lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 28 consecutive 

days following 

Roanoke County (public lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Rockbridge County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Rockingham County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Russell County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Scott County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Shenandoah County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Shenandoah County (non-

national forest lands antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Smyth County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Southampton County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Spotsylvania County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Stafford County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Suffolk (City of)  

(east of Dismal Swamp Line) 

October 1 through 

November 30 

Suffolk (City of)  

(west of Dismal Swamp Line) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Surry County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 
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Sussex County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Tazewell County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Virginia Beach (City of) 
October 1 through 

November 30 

Warren County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Warren (non-national forest 

lands antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday in 

March 

Washington County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Westmoreland County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

Wise County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

Wythe County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

and for 14 consecutive 

days following 

York County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November 

through the first Saturday 

in January 

York County (private lands and 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 

hunting. 

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following within the incorporated limits of 

any city or town that allows deer hunting In addition to 

provisions of subsection A of this section, antlerless deer may 

be taken from the first Saturday in September through the 

Friday prior to the first Saturday in October and the Sunday 

following the first Saturday in January through the last Sunday 

in March, both dates inclusive, within any disease focus zone 

designated by the department. 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 

with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 

Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line), and Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 21 

consecutive days immediately prior to and on the first Saturday 

in January: 

1. In all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest 

lands in Frederick County); 

2. East of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, 

Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), and Patrick; 

3. On national forest lands in Frederick County; and 

4. In the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal 

Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains unless otherwise noted in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only of the early special muzzleloading season on state forest 

lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State Park), 

department-owned lands (except on Merrimac Farm 

Wildlife Management Area), and Philpott Reservoir. 



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 17, 2023  

2706 

2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season on national 

forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson Counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted in this 

subsection. 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd Counties 

and on private lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, 

Frederick, Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Roanoke, 

Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), Scott, Smyth, 

Shenandoah, Warren, and Wythe Counties. 

2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season in Buchanan, 

County; on federal and department-managed lands in 

Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise Counties and 

County; on department-owned land in Russell County; on 

national forest lands in Alleghany, Bland, Craig, Frederick, 

Giles, Grayson, Lee, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, 

Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and Warren, and Wise 

Counties, and; on national forest and department-owned 

lands in Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, Carroll, Highland (except 

Highland Wildlife Management Area), Roanoke, 

Rockbridge, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Wythe 

Counties and; on Channels State Forest, Grayson Highlands 

State Park, Hungry Mother State Park,; and on private lands 

west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 

the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 

in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

entire late special muzzleloading season in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 

lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd, 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands), and Patrick and on private lands in 

Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Giles, Grayson, 

Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Roanoke, Rockingham (east of 

Routes 613 and 731), Scott, Smyth, Shenandoah, Warren, 

and Wythe Counties. 

2. Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 

the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath, 

Dickenson, Highland, Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise 

Counties and; on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 

Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, 

Nelson, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and 

Warren Counties, and; on national forest and department-

owned lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Roanoke, 

Rockbridge, Smyth, Washington, and Wythe Counties; and 

on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham 

County, Channels State Forest, Grayson Highlands State 

Park, and Hungry Mother State Park. 

3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

County. 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 

hunting except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 

Virginia Beach. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

H. Muzzleloading guns, for the purpose of this section, 

include: 

1. Single shot muzzleloading rifles .40 caliber or larger, 

firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger 

projectile) where the projectile is loaded from the muzzle; 

2. Muzzleloading shotguns (one or more barrels) not larger 

than 10 gauge where the projectiles are loaded from the 

muzzle; 

3. Muzzleloading pistols (one or more barrels) .45 caliber or 

larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber 

or larger projectile) per barrel where the propellant and 

projectile are loaded from the muzzle; 

4. Muzzleloading revolvers .45 caliber or larger, firing a 

single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger 

projectile) per cylinder where the propellant and projectile 

are loaded from the forward end of the cylinder. 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 

4VAC15-90-89. Earn a buck. 

A. For the purposes of this section, the term "license year" 

means the period between July 1 and June 30 of the following 

year. 

B. Within a license year and within in each individual county 

listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least one 

antlerless deer on private lands in that county before taking a 

second antlered deer on private lands in that county. In those 

counties listed in this subsection east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains, a hunter must have taken at least two antlerless 

deer on private lands in that county before taking a third 

antlered deer on private lands in that county. 

The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are 

Accomack, Albemarle, Amherst (west of Route 29), Augusta, 
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Bedford, Botetourt, Carroll, Clarke, Culpeper, Fauquier, 

Floyd, Franklin, Frederick, Grayson, Greene, Hanover, 

Henrico, James City, Madison, Montgomery, Orange, Page, 

Prince George, Pulaski, Rappahannock, Roanoke, 

Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), Shenandoah, 

Stafford, Warren, and Wythe, and York. 

C. Within a license year and within in each individual county 

listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least two 

antlerless deer on private lands in that county before taking a 

second antlered deer on private lands in that county. A hunter 

also must have taken at least three antlerless deer on private 

lands in that county before taking a third antlered deer on 

private lands in that county. 

The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are 

James City and York. 

D. C. Within a license year and within each individual county 

listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least two 

one antlerless deer in that county before taking a second 

antlered deer in that county. A hunter must also have taken at 

least three two antlerless deer in that county before taking a 

third antlered deer in that county. 

The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are 

Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William (except on 

Department of Defense lands). 

E. D. Within a license year and within any city or town, 

except the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach, 

a hunter must have taken at least one antlerless deer in that city 

or town before taking a second antlered deer in that city or 

town. In those cities and towns east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains, a hunter must have taken at least two antlerless 

deer in that city or town before taking a third antlered deer in 

that city or town. 

F. E. The Earn A Buck Program does not apply to the Cities 

of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach. 

4VAC15-90-90. Bag limit, bonus deer permits and special 

antlerless provision for youth hunters. 

A. The bag limit for deer east of the Blue Ridge Mountains 

(except on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and 

Nelson Counties) is two per day, six per license year, three of 

which must be antlerless unless otherwise noted in this 

subsection. 

1. The daily bag limit for deer is unlimited in the Counties, 

including the cities and towns within, of Arlington, Fairfax, 

Loudoun, and Prince William and in all the cities and towns 

that allow deer hunting (except in the Cities of Chesapeake, 

Suffolk, and Virginia Beach). 

2. Only one deer per day may be taken on national forest, 

department-owned, and department-managed lands. 

3. Only one elk per day may be taken. 

B. The bag limit for deer west of the Blue Ridge Mountains 

and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson 

Counties is two per day, five per license year, three of which 

must be antlerless unless otherwise noted in this subsection. 

1. The daily bag limit for deer is unlimited in all the cities 

and towns that allow deer hunting. 

2. Only one deer per day may be taken on national forest, 

department-owned, and department-managed lands. 

3. If a deer hunter kills two antlered bucks in a license year 

in Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Highland, or Rockbridge 

County, at least one of the antlered bucks must have at least 

four antler points, one inch or longer, on one side of the 

antlers. This subdivision shall not apply to any county 

designated by the department within 25 miles of a confirmed 

detection of Chronic Wasting Disease. 

4. Only one elk per day may be taken. 

C. Except as noted in subsection E of this section, antlerless 

deer may be taken only during designated either-sex deer 

hunting days during the special archery seasons, special 

muzzleloading seasons, and the general firearms season. 

D. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on private land in 

counties and cities where deer hunting is permitted (except 

Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise Counties) during the special 

archery seasons, special muzzleloading seasons, and the 

general firearms season. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on 

public lands, including state parks, state forests, national 

wildlife refuges, and military areas, etc., as authorized by the 

managing agency. Unless otherwise posted or authorized in 

writing for wildlife management areas by the department, or 

for national forest lands by the U.S. Forest Service, the use of 

bonus permits is prohibited on department-owned and national 

forest lands. Bonus deer permits shall be valid for antlerless 

deer only. Deer taken on bonus permits shall count against the 

daily bag limit but are in addition to the seasonal bag limit. 

E. Deer hunters 15 years of age and younger, including those 

exempt from purchasing a hunting license and holders of an 

apprentice hunting license, when in compliance with all 

applicable laws and license requirements, may take one 

antlerless deer per license year on days other than designated 

either-sex deer hunting days during the special muzzleloading 

seasons or the general firearms season in all counties. 

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 

hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either sex 

may be taken within: 

Accomack County: full season. 

Albemarle County: full season. 

Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last day. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 
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Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town 

of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River): 

the second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days. 

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town 

of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River): 

full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days. 

Arlington County: full season. 

Augusta County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last day. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Bedford County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last day two 

days. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day two days. 

Botetourt County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last six days. 

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days. 

Campbell County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the 

second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days. 

Campbell County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): full 

season. 

Caroline County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

-Mattaponi WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Carroll County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day. 

Charles City County: full season. 

-Chickahominy WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

Chesapeake (City of): the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days full season. 

-Cavalier WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Chesterfield County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days full season. 

Clarke County: full season. 

Craig County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day two days. 

Culpeper County: full season. 

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday. 

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

-Cumberland State Forest: the second and third Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Essex County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

Fairfax County: full season. 

Fauquier County: full season. 

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 13 days. 

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday. 

Floyd County: full season. 
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Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 29 

days. 

-Hardware River WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last 13 days. 

Franklin County: full season. 

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six days. 

Frederick County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Giles County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day two days. 

Gloucester County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six 13 days. 

Goochland County: full season. 

Grayson County: full season. 

-National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park: 

the last day. 

Greene County: full season. 

Greensville County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Halifax County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

Hanover County: full season. 

Henrico County: full season. 

Henry County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six days. 

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last day. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

-Department-owned lands: the second Saturday and the 

last day. 

Isle of Wight County: full season. 

-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

James City County: full season. 

King and Queen County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

King George County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 29 days. 

King William County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Lancaster County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 29 days. 

Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two days. 

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Loudoun County: full season. 

Louisa County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

29 days. 

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Madison County: full season. 

-Rapidan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Mathews County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Middlesex County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Montgomery County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day. 

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 29 days. 

-James River WMA and Tye River WMA: the second 

Saturday and the last six days. 

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

New Kent County: full season. 

Northampton County: full season. 

Northumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 29 days. 

Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six 13 days. 

Orange County: full season. 
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Page County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Patrick County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

Pittsylvania County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the 

second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days. 

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last three days. 

Pittsylvania County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): 

full season. 

Powhatan County: full season. 

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days. 

-Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays. 

Prince George County: full season. 

Prince William County: full season. 

Pulaski County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day. 

Rappahannock County: full season. 

Richmond County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 29 days. 

Roanoke County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 

days. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Rockingham County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

-Private lands west of Routes 613 and 731: the second 

Saturday and the last day. 

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two days. 

-Department-owned lands and the Channels State Forest: 

the last day. 

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six days. 

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Shenandoah County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Smyth County: full season. 

-National forest lands, department-owned lands, and 

Hungry Mother State Park: the last day. 

Southampton County: full season. 

Spotsylvania County: full season. 

-Oakley Forest WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Stafford County: full season. 

Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line): the second and 

third Saturdays and the last 13 days. 

Suffolk (west of the Dismal Swamp Line): full season. 

Surry County: full season. 

-Carlisle and Stewart Tracts of the Hog Island WMA: 

antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 

antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Sussex County: full season. 

-Big Woods WMA (including the Parkers Branch Tract), 

Flippo-Gentry WMA, and Big Woods State Forest: the 

second and third Saturdays and the last six days full 

season. 

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two days. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Virginia Beach (City of): the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days full season. 

Warren County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

-National forest lands, department-owned lands, and the 

Channels State Forest: the last day. 

Westmoreland County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 29 days. 

Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only 

deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Wythe County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day two days. 

York County: full season. 
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B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, deer 

of either sex may be taken full season during the general 

firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city 

or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military 

installation that allows deer hunting or within any common 

interest community participating in the special urban archery 

season according to provisions of 4VAC15-90-70. 

4VAC15-90-530. Special elk hunting license, random 

drawing license program. 

A. The dates for the annual application period to enter the 

random drawing for a special elk hunting license shall be 

February 1 to March 30, both dates inclusive, unless extended 

by the director published by the department annually and shall 

be no less than 30 days in duration. Individuals selected for 

special elk hunting licenses via the random drawing will shall 

be notified by May 30 no less than 60 days prior to the start of 

the elk hunt, and special elk hunting licenses must be 

purchased from the department within 30 days of notification. 

B. To enter the random drawing for a special elk hunting 

license, applicants shall: 

1. Complete the application for a special elk hunting license 

as provided by the department. 

2. Pay a nonrefundable application fee. 

3. Apply only once for each random drawing. 

C. Nonresidents shall not comprise more than 10%, or one 

drawn applicant, whichever is greater, of all drawn applicants 

in any application pool for the random drawing license 

program. 

D. Applicants who physically reside within the Elk 

Management Zone shall comprise no less than 10%, or a 

minimum of one, whichever is greater, of all drawn applicants 

in any application pool for the random drawing license 

program. 

E. A special elk hunting license awarded through the Random 

Drawing License Program shall not be transferable. 

F. An applicant drawn for a special elk hunting license may 

be rejected if it is determined that the applicant has been 

convicted of two or more wildlife violations within three years 

prior to the last date of the application period. In determining 

an applicant's eligibility, the director shall take into account the 

nature and severity of the violations. 

G. The department will award unclaimed special elk hunting 

licenses to alternates who are drawn during the initial 

application and draw period in the order that the alternates are 

drawn. 

4VAC15-90-540. Special elk hunting license, Landowner 

License Program. 

A. Upon receipt of a valid Landowner License Program 

application from a landowner within the Elk Management 

Zone, the director or the director's designee shall verify the 

application materials and have sole discretion in enrolling the 

property in the Landowner License Program. Applications 

must be received or postmarked by July 1 each year to be 

eligible for the Landowner License Program during that 

calendar year The application deadline shall be published by 

the department annually no less than 30 days prior to the 

deadline. 

B. A valid Landowner License Program application shall 

include: 

1. Landowner's name, home address, telephone number, and 

address of the property to be enrolled in the program. 

2. A recorded survey or other legal documentation certifying 

that the acreage and ownership of the property to be enrolled 

is greater than or equal to 50 contiguous acres. 

3. Original signature of the landowner. 

4. Only a single application per license year, per landowner. 

C. Landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program 

maintain the right to limit access to certain areas of the property 

for safety or privacy reasons, provided a minimum of 50 acres 

are open to elk hunting. Areas of limited access must be 

outlined in the initial application. Enrollment in the Landowner 

License Program does not preclude or limit in any way the 

landowner from allowing other hunting or other hunters on the 

property. 

D. The department shall determine and make available to the 

public a program guidance document outlining how 

landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program shall 

accrue points toward a special elk hunting license, the number 

of points necessary to be awarded such license, a list of criteria 

by which applications and associated properties will be 

evaluated for enrollment in the program, and other program 

requirements. The program guidance document will be 

published annually no less than 30 days prior to June 1 the 

application deadline. 

E. Landowners who accrue the necessary number of points, 

as defined in the program guidance document, on an enrolled 

property may request one either-sex special elk hunting license 

from the department enter a landowner lottery for a special elk 

hunting license. A request for a special elk hunting license 

must be submitted prior to July 1 in the year the license is to 

be used. Once a request for a special elk hunting license is 

made, landowners lose awarded through the lottery, the 

landowner loses all accrued points. There is no time limit over 

which a landowner is required to accrue license points. 

Landowners shall not combine points from separate enrolled 

properties. 

F. Landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program 

shall not subdivide contiguous properties under the same 

ownership into multiple, smaller parcels for the purposes of 

this program. 
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G. License points cannot be sold or traded. License points are 

nontransferable if the property changes ownership, except that if 

the property is inherited from parents, grandparents, or children, 

resident or nonresident, license points may be transferred. The 

department may request documentation to certify the relationship 

between seller and purchaser as well as a copy of bill of sale. 

H. Landowners receiving a special elk hunting license shall 

comply with all of the requirements established in this section as 

well as 4VAC15-90-510, 4VAC15-90-520, and § 29.1-305.01 of 

the Code of Virginia. Landowners who fail to comply with this 

chapter may forfeit any accrued license points and may not be 

eligible to accrue new license points. 

I. A special elk hunting license awarded to the landowner shall 

only be used on the property enrolled with the department in the 

Landowner License Program. 

J. A landowner may transfer the special elk hunting license to 

any person eligible to hunt in Virginia. The special elk hunting 

license may not be sold. Transfer of the special elk hunting license 

must be reported to the department no less than one month prior 

to the opening day of the elk hunting season during the year in 

which the special elk hunting license is requested awarded. To 

report a transfer to the department, the landowner shall provide the 

department with the hunter's: 

1. Name; 

2. Department customer identification number; 

3. Address; and 

4. Telephone number. 

K. A landowner shall not charge a fee for hunters to hunt elk on 

properties enrolled in the Landowner License Program except as 

described in the program guidance document. 

L. A special elk hunting license transferee may be rejected if it 

is determined that the transferee has been convicted of two or more 

wildlife violations, within three years prior to the last date of the 

application period. In determining the transferee's eligibility, the 

director shall take into account the nature and severity of the 

violations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7535; Filed June 27, 2023, 4:54 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-110. Game: Fox (amending 

4VAC15-110-20, 4VAC15-110-80; adding 4VAC15-110-25, 

4VAC15-110-35). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) separate the gray fox and red fox 

hunting seasons and reduce the gray fox hunting season; 

and (ii) establish a daily bag limit for gray foxes and 

require a gray fox be causing damage to property or pose 

a threat to human health or safety before a landowner may 

kill or have a gray fox on the landowner's property killed. 

4VAC15-110-20. Hunting with firearms. Open; open 

season for red fox. 

Except as otherwise provided by local legislation and with the 

specific exceptions provided in the sections appearing in this 

chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt red foxes with firearms from 

November 1 through the last day in February, both dates 

inclusive. 

4VAC15-110-25. Hunting with firearms; open season for 

gray fox.  

Except as otherwise provided with the specific exceptions 

provided in this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt gray foxes 

with firearms from January 1 through the last day in February, 

both dates inclusive. 

4VAC15-110-35. Bag limit.  

The bag limit for hunting gray fox shall be one per hunting 

party, individual or organized, taken between noon of one day 

and noon the following day. 

4VAC15-110-80. Killing by landowner. 

A landowner may kill or have killed red foxes at any time on 

his own the landowner's land. Provided further that a 

landowner may kill or have killed gray foxes at any time on the 

landowner's land, but only when a gray fox is causing damage 

to crops or property or is posing a threat to human health or 

safety. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7531; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:49 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-230. Game: Squirrel 

(amending 4VAC15-230-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

mailto:cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov
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Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds Henry County to the list of counties 

where fox squirrels may be hunted. 

4VAC15-230-60. Fox squirrel. Open season; first Saturday 

in September through January 31. 

It shall be lawful to hunt fox squirrel from the first Saturday 

in September through January 31, both dates inclusive, in the 

counties Counties of Albemarle, Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, 

Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Buchanan, Carroll, Clarke, Craig, 

Culpeper, Dickenson, Fauquier, Floyd, Franklin, Frederick, 

Giles, Grayson, Greene, Henry, Highland, Lee, Loudoun, 

Madison, Montgomery, Orange, Page, Patrick, Prince William, 

Pulaski, Rappahannock, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Rockingham, 

Russell, Scott, Shenandoah, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, 

Warren, Wise, and Wythe. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7522; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:49 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey (amending 

4VAC15-240-31, 4VAC15-240-32, 4VAC15-240-40, 

4VAC15-240-51). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments shift Charles City County from the four-

week fall turkey season to the six-week fall turkey season 

as turkey populations in that county are able to support 

additional hunting. 

4VAC15-240-31. Open season; certain counties and areas; 

four-week season. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys 14 days immediately before 

the Saturday prior to the first Monday in November, on 

Thanksgiving Day and the day before, and on the Monday 

closest to December 2 and for 12 days following in the 

Counties of Accomack, Amelia, Charles City, Dinwiddie, 

Gloucester, Greensville, Isle of Wight, James City, Mathews, 

Middlesex, New Kent, Northampton, Powhatan, Prince 

George, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, and York (except on 

Camp Peary) and the City of Suffolk. 

4VAC15-240-32. Open season; certain counties and areas; 

six week season. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys 14 days immediately before 

the Saturday prior to the first Monday in November; on 

Thanksgiving Day and the day before; on the Monday nearest 

December 2 and for 12 days following, both dates inclusive; 

and on the second Saturday in January and for 14 days 

following in the Counties of Amherst, Appomattox, 

Brunswick, Buchanan, Buckingham, Campbell, Charles City, 

Charlotte, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Floyd, Fluvanna, 

Frederick, Goochland, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, 

Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Orange, Patrick, 

Pittsylvania, Prince Edward, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, 

Tazewell, and Warren. 

4VAC15-240-40. Open season; spring season for bearded 

turkeys. 

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be 

lawful to hunt bearded turkeys from the second Saturday in 

April and for 35 days following, both dates inclusive, from 1/2 

hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon prevailing time during the 

first 16 days and from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset during 

the last 20 days of the spring season. 

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and younger and holders of 

an apprentice hunting license may hunt on the first Saturday in 

April and the following calendar day from 1/2 hour before 

sunrise to sunset, when in compliance with applicable license 

requirements and when accompanied and directly supervised 

by an adult who has a valid Virginia hunting license on his 

person or an adult who is exempt from purchasing a hunting 

license. Adult hunters accompanying youth hunters or 

apprentice license holders on these days may assist with calling 

but they shall not carry or discharge weapons. [ Youth and 

apprentice turkey hunters are limited on this weekend to one 

turkey per hunter. ] 

C. Upon receipt of an application from an officer or other 

designated official representative of any nonprofit organization 

that has support for sportsmen with impaired mobility as one 

of its mission statements, the director may issue a permit to an 

officer or representative of the organization that allows 

sportsmen with impaired mobility to hunt bearded wild turkeys 

from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset from the 10th through 

16th days of the spring season. Such authorization shall be 

valid only when hunting during an authorized event. All 

participants shall be in compliance with all requirements of law 

and regulation that apply during the spring season, and bearded 

turkeys killed during these events shall count toward daily and 

annual bag limits. 

D. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling. 

mailto:cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov
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E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for the 

purpose of hunting. 

F. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any shot 

larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys with a 

shotgun. 

4VAC15-240-51. Youth and apprentice hunter fall turkey 

hunting weekend. 

In counties, cities, and areas with a fall turkey season, hunters 

15 years of age and younger and holders of an apprentice 

hunting license may hunt turkey on the second Saturday in 

October and the following calendar day when in compliance 

with applicable license requirements and when accompanied 

and directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia 

hunting license on his person or is exempt from purchasing a 

hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying youth hunters or 

apprentice license holders on these days may assist with calling 

turkey but they shall not carry or discharge weapons. [ Youth 

and apprentice turkey hunters are limited on this weekend to 

one turkey per hunter. ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7534; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:50 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-260. Game: Waterfowl and 

Waterfowl Blinds (amending 4VAC15-260-60, 4VAC15-

260-70, 4VAC15-260-75, 4VAC15-260-80, 4VAC15-260-

120; adding 4VAC15-260-85, 4VAC15-260-86). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove designation of a federal 

special sea duck season as a requirement for the 

designation of a special sea duck area; and (ii) designate 

and delineate a special sea duck area. 

4VAC15-260-60. [ Blinds adjacent to Chickahominy 

Wildlife Management Area (Repealed). 

No license shall be issued for stationary waterfowl blinds on 

Morris Creek and the Chickahominy River in Charles City 

County adjacent to the Chickahominy Wildlife Management 

Area. ] 

4VAC15-260-70. [ Blinds on Game Farm Marsh Wildlife 

Management Area (Repealed). 

No stationary waterfowl blinds shall be licensed, and no 

stationary or floating blind license shall be required for hunting 

waterfowl on the Game Farm Marsh Wildlife Management 

Area, or in, or on, the public waters of the Chickahominy 

River, north of the New Kent-Charles City County line 

adjacent thereto; provided, however, that this section shall not 

abridge the privileges prescribed for landowners, and their 

lessees and permittees, in §§ 29.1-344 and 29.1-347 of the 

Code of Virginia. ] 

4VAC15-260-75. [ Blinds adjacent to the Ware Creek 

Wildlife Management Area (Repealed). 

Except for blinds built or maintained by the department, no 

stationary waterfowl blinds shall be licensed on the public 

waters of Philbates and Ware Creeks, or on the York River 

within 1000 yards of the Ware Creek Wildlife Management 

Area. Waterfowl hunting within 500 yards of the wildlife 

management area property will be permitted only at locations 

and during times designated by the department. However, this 

section shall not abridge the privileges prescribed for 

landowners and their lessees and permittees in §§ 29.1-344 and 

29.1-347 of the Code of Virginia. ] 

4VAC15-260-80. [ Blinds adjacent to Ragged Island 

Wildlife Management Area (Repealed). 

No license shall be issued for stationary waterfowl blinds in 

the adjacent waters to mid-channel of Kings Creek and Ragged 

Island Creek or in the adjacent waters of the James River and 

Batten Bay within 1000 yards of the Ragged Island Wildlife 

Management Area in Isle of Wight County. ] 

[ 4VAC15-260-85. Non-riparian stationary blinds adjacent 

to certain department-owned properties.  

A. Non-riparian stationary waterfowl blinds shall not be 

erected or licensed on the shores or in the public waters 

adjacent to any department wildlife management area or 

wildlife conservation site. 

B. Subject to 4VAC15-40-100, 4VAC15-40-110, 4VAC15-

40-130, 4VAC15-260-90, and 4VAC15-260-115, floating 

waterfowl blinds shall be permitted on the public waters 

adjacent to any department wildlife management area or 

wildlife conservation site. Additionally, as permitted in § 29.1-

351 of the Code of Virginia, the distance restrictions for 

licenses for waterfowl blinds and for hunting waterfowl in 

§§ 29.1-340 through 29.1-351.1 of the Code of Virginia shall 

not apply to floating waterfowl blinds being used on the public 

waters adjacent to any department wildlife management area 

or wildlife conservation site. 

C. For purposes of this chapter, "adjacent waters" means all 

water from mean low tide to 600 yards offshore. 
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D. Any person who holds a 2022-2023 non-riparian 

stationary waterfowl blind license in the areas specified in 

subsection A of this section is permitted to renew that person's 

license for each of that person's blinds for the 2023-2024 

waterfowl hunting seasons. In any case, licenses for these 

blinds will expire no later than August 15, 2024. Per § 29.1-

347 of the Code of Virginia, blind structures must be removed 

when the license expires or when the license holder no longer 

intends to use the blind, whichever occurs first. 

E. This section shall not abridge the privileges prescribed for 

a landowner and a landowner's lessee and a permittee in 

§§ 29.1-344 and 29.1-347 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. This chapter shall not apply to the blinds and public waters 

in the City of Virginia Beach. ] 

[ 4VAC15-260-86. Non-riparian stationary blinds adjacent 

to select national wildlife refuges.  

A. Non-riparian stationary waterfowl blinds shall not be 

erected or licensed on the shores of or in the public waters 

adjacent to designated national wildlife refuges identified in 

this subsection: 

1. James River National Wildlife Refuge; 

2. Plum Tree Island National Wildlife Refuge; 

3. Occoquan Bay National Wildlife Refuge; or 

4. Featherstone National Wildlife Refuge. 

B. Floating waterfowl blinds shall be permitted on the public 

waters adjacent to the specified refuges. Additionally, as 

permitted in § 29.1-351 of the Code of Virginia, the distance 

restrictions in licenses for waterfowl blinds and for hunting 

waterfowl in §§ 29.1-340 through 29.1-351.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall not apply to floating waterfowl blinds being used 

on the public waters adjacent to the specific refuges. 

C. For purposes of this chapter, "adjacent waters" means all 

water from mean low tide to 600 yards offshore. 

D. Any person who holds a 2022-2023 non-riparian 

stationary waterfowl blind license in the areas specified in 

subsection A of this section is permitted to renew that person's 

license for each of that person's blinds for the 2023-2024 and 

2024-2025 waterfowl hunting seasons. In any case, licenses for 

these blinds will expire no later than August 15, 2025. Per 

§ 29.1-347 of the Code of Virginia, blind structures must be 

removed when the license expires or when the license holder 

no longer intends to use the blind, whichever occurs first. 

E. This section shall not abridge the privileges prescribed for 

a landowner and a landowner's lessees and a permittee in 

§§ 29.1-344 and 29.1-347 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

4VAC15-260-120. Special sea duck season area. 

Whenever federal migratory waterfowl regulations permit a 

special season for taking scoter, eider and long-tailed (formerly 

old-squaw) ducks within an area designated as a special sea 

duck hunting area under regulations adopted by the board, such 

The special sea duck hunting area shall be designated and 

delineated as follows: 

Those waters at a distance greater than 800 yards from any 

shore, island or emergent vegetation in the following area: The 

ocean waters of Virginia, the tidal waters of Northampton and 

Accomack counties Counties up to the first highway bridge, 

and the Chesapeake Bay and each of its tributaries up to the 

first highway bridge. Back Bay and its tributaries are not 

included in the special sea duck hunting area. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7532; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:50 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-390. Watercraft: Safe and 

Reasonable Operation of Vessels (amending 4VAC15-390-

10, 4VAC15-390-85; repealing 4VAC15-390-11 through 

4VAC15-390-70, 4VAC15-390-90 through 4VAC15-390-

130). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace regulatory text containing 

requirements for safe and reasonable operation of vessels, 

including navigation of vessels in diverse situations such 

as approaching and overtaking other vessels and when an 

operator's vision is obscured, with a citation 

incorporating federal requirements for the same 

provisions at 33 CFR Parts 83, 84, and 86. 

4VAC15-390-10. Applicability. 

The following sections in this chapter apply to the operation 

of "vessels" as defined in § 29.1-700 of the Code of Virginia 

on all waters within the Commonwealth, both public and 

private. Vessels complying with the international rules of 

navigation Inland Navigation Rules, 33 CFR Parts 83, 84, and 

86, as established by the U.S. Coast Guard are considered to be 

in compliance with the requirements of this chapter. 
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4VAC15-390-11. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

For the purpose of this chapter, except where the context 

otherwise requires, the following words and terms mean:  

"Inland waters" means the navigable waters of the United 

States shoreward of the navigational demarcation lines 

dividing the high seas from harbors, rivers, and other inland 

waters of the United States on the United States side of the 

International Boundary.  

"Left" means port, or the left side of the vessel when facing 

the bow (the forward part of the vessel) from within the vessel.  

"Length" and "breadth" of a vessel mean her length overall 

and greatest breadth.  

"Power-driven vessel" means any vessel propelled by 

machinery.  

"Restricted visibility" means any condition in which visibility 

is restricted by fog, mist, falling snow, heavy rainstorms, 

sandstorms, or any other similar causes.  

"Right" means starboard, or the right side of the vessel when 

facing the bow (the forward part of the vessel) from within the 

vessel.  

"Sailing vessel" means any vessel under sail provided that 

propelling machinery, if fitted, is not being used.  

"Seaplane" includes any aircraft designed to maneuver on the 

water.  

"Secretary" means the secretary of the department in which 

the U.S. Coast Guard is operating.  

"Underway" means that a vessel is not at anchor, or made fast 

to the shore, or aground.  

"Vessel" means every description of watercraft, other than a 

seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as a means 

of transportation on water, but does not include surfboards, 

tubes, swimming rafts, inflatable toys and similar devices 

routinely used as water toys or swimming aids.  

"Vessel engaged in fishing" means any vessel fishing with 

nets, lines, trawls, or other fishing apparatus that restricts 

maneuverability, but does not include a vessel fishing with 

trolling lines or other fishing apparatus that does not restrict 

maneuverability.  

"Vessel not under command" means a vessel that through 

some exceptional circumstance is unable to maneuver as 

required and is therefore unable to keep out of the way of 

another vessel.  

"Vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver" means a vessel 

that from the nature of its work is restricted in its ability to 

maneuver as required and is therefore unable to keep out of the 

way of another vessel; vessels restricted in their ability to 

maneuver include, but are not limited to:  

1. A vessel engaged in laying, servicing, or picking up a 

navigation mark, submarine cable, or pipeline;  

2. A vessel engaged in dredging, surveying, or underwater 

operations;  

3. A vessel engaged in replenishment or transferring 

persons, provisions, or cargo while underway;  

4. A vessel engaged in the launching or recovery of aircraft;  

5. A vessel engaged in mineclearance operations; and  

6. A vessel engaged in a towing operation such as severely 

restricts the towing vessel and her tow in their ability to 

deviate from their course.  

"Vessels in sight of one another" shall be deemed so only 

when one can be observed visually from the other.  

4VAC15-390-20. Motorboats approaching head and head. 

(Repealed.) 

When motorboats are approaching each other head and head, 

that is, end on, or nearly so, it shall be the duty of each operator 

to maneuver to the right and pass on the left side of the other 

motorboat. This does not apply if the courses of such 

motorboats are so far on the right side of each other that they 

may pass right side to right side without risk of collision. When 

the operator of any motorboat is in any doubt as to whether a 

head-on situation exists, the assumption shall be made that it 

does exist and the operator shall take all actions necessary to 

avoid a collision with the approaching motorboat.  

4VAC15-390-30. Motorboats crossing. (Repealed.) 

When two motorboats are crossing, so as to involve risk of 

collision, the operator of the motorboat which has the other on 

the right side shall keep out of the way of the other, and shall 

if the circumstances of the situation admit, avoid crossing 

ahead of the other vessel. When the operator of any motorboat 

is in any doubt as to whether a crossing situation exists, the 

assumption shall be made that it does exist and the operator 

shall act accordingly.  

4VAC15-390-40. Overtaking another vessel. (Repealed.) 

A. Duty to keep clear; overtaken vessel not to cross bow or 

crowd. Every vessel overtaking any other vessel shall keep out 

of the way of the overtaken vessel, and shall not attempt to pass 

the vessel ahead until they have reached a point at which it can 

be safely done. The overtaken vessel shall not attempt to cross 

the bow or crowd in upon the course of the overtaking vessel.  

B. When vessel deemed to be an overtaking vessel. Every 

vessel coming up with another vessel from any direction abaft 

the beam of the other vessel shall be deemed to be an 

overtaking vessel, and no subsequent alteration of the bearing 

between the two vessels shall make the overtaking vessel a 

crossing vessel within the meaning of this section or relieve her 

of the duty of keeping clear of the overtaken vessel until she is 

finally past and clear. When a vessel coming up with another 
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vessel is unable to determine with certainty whether she is 

forward or abaft the beam of the other vessel she shall, if in 

doubt, assume that she is an overtaking vessel and keep out of 

the way of the other vessel.  

4VAC15-390-50. Responsibility between vessels. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The operator of a motorboat underway shall keep his 

vessel out of the way of:  

1. A vessel not under command;  

2. A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver;  

3. A vessel engaged in fishing with nets or other commercial 

fishing apparatus that restricts maneuverability; and  

4. A sailing vessel.  

B. The operator of a sailing vessel underway shall keep his 

vessel out of the way of:  

1. A vessel not under command;  

2. A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver; and  

3. A vessel engaged in fishing with nets or other commercial 

fishing apparatus that restricts maneuverability.  

C. The operator of a vessel engaged in fishing with nets or 

other commercial fishing apparatus that restricts 

maneuverability when underway shall, so far as possible, keep 

his vessel out of the way of:  

1. A vessel not under command; and  

2. A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver.  

D. The pilot of a seaplane on the water shall, in general, keep 

his seaplane well clear of all vessels and avoid impeding their 

navigation. In circumstances, however, where risk of collision 

exists, he shall comply with the responsibility between vessels 

provisions above.  

E. When two sailing vessels are approaching one another, so 

as to involve risk of collision, the operator of one of them shall 

keep out of the way of the other as follows:  

1. When each has the wind on a different side, the vessel that 

has the wind on the left side shall keep out of the way of the 

other;  

2. When both have the wind on the same side, the vessel that 

is to windward (upwind) shall keep out of the way of the 

vessel that is to leeward (downwind); and  

3. If a vessel with the wind on the left side sees a vessel to 

windward (upwind) and cannot determine with certainty 

whether the other vessel has the wind on the left or on the 

right side, it shall keep out of the way of the other.  

For the purpose of this section, the windward (upwind) side 

shall be deemed to be the side opposite to that on which the 

mainsail is carried or, in the case of a square-rigged vessel, the 

side opposite to that on which the largest fore-and-aft sail is 

carried.  

4VAC15-390-60. Sailing vessels approaching one another. 

(Repealed.) 

When two sailing vessels are approaching one another, so as 

to involve risk of collision, one of them shall keep out of the 

way of the other as follows:  

1. When each has the wind on a different side, the vessel 

which has the wind on the port side shall keep out of the way 

of the other.  

2. When both have the wind on the same side, the vessel 

which is to windward shall keep out of the way of the vessel 

which is to leeward.  

3. For the purpose of this section the windward side shall be 

deemed to be the side opposite that on which the mainsail is 

carried or, in the case of a square-rigged vessel, the side 

opposite that on which the largest fore-and-aft sail is carried.  

4VAC15-390-70. Duty of vessel required to keep out of 

way; duty of other vessel. (Repealed.) 

A. The operator of every vessel shall at all times maintain a 

proper look-out by sight and sound as well as by all available 

means appropriate in the prevailing circumstances and 

conditions so as to make a full appraisal of the situation and of 

the risk of collision. If there is any doubt, such risk shall be 

deemed to exist.  

B. Any action taken to avoid collision shall, if the 

circumstances of the case admit, be positive, made in ample 

time and with due regard to the observance of good 

seamanship. Any alteration of course or speed to avoid 

collision shall, if the circumstances of the case admit, be large 

enough to be readily apparent to another vessel observing 

visually or by radar. A succession of small alterations of course 

or speed should be avoided. If necessary to avoid collision or 

allow more time to assess the situation, the operator shall 

slacken speed or stop. The effectiveness of all actions taken to 

avoid a collision shall be carefully checked until the other 

vessel is finally past and clear.  

C. The operator of a vessel that is required not to impede the 

passage or safe passage of another vessel shall, when required 

by the circumstances of the case, take early action to allow 

sufficient room for the safe passage of the other vessel.  

4VAC15-390-85. Operators to give right-of-way and 

reduce speed. 

Every motorboat, when approaching or passing within 200 

feet of any law-enforcement vessel or emergency services 

vessel that is displaying flashing blue or, red, or public safety 

lights shall slow to no wake speed so that the effect of the wake 

does not disturb the activities of law-enforcement personnel or 

emergency services personnel. Where the operator of a 

motorboat fails to comply with the provisions of this section 
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and such failure endangers the life or limb of any person or 

endangers or damages vessels, the operator shall be guilty of a 

Class 3 misdemeanor. Upon conviction, the operator shall 

additionally be required to complete and pass a National 

Association of State Boating Law Administrators approved 

safe boating course as required in § 29.1-746 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

4VAC15-390-90. Duty where operator's vision obscured. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Where an operator's vision is obscured by bridges or other 

obstructions ahead, or by sharp bends in a narrow waterway, 

or by fog or other weather conditions, the vessel shall be 

operated at reduced speed such that the vessel can be stopped, 

if necessary, within the distance the operator or a lookout is 

able to see ahead.  

B. When the operator detects by radar alone the presence of 

another vessel, he shall determine if a close-quarters situation 

is developing or risk of collision exists. If so, he shall take 

avoiding action in ample time, provided that when such action 

consists of an alteration of course, so far as possible the 

following shall be avoided:  

1. An alteration of course to the left for a vessel forward of 

the other vessel, other than for a vessel being overtaken; and  

2. An alteration of course directly or nearly so toward the 

other vessel.  

C. Except where it has been determined that a risk of collision 

does not exist, the operator of every vessel who hears 

apparently forward of his position the fog signal of another 

vessel, or who cannot avoid a close-quarters situation with 

another vessel forward of its position, shall reduce his speed to 

the minimum at which the vessel can be kept on course. He 

shall if necessary stop and, in any event, navigate with extreme 

caution until danger of collision is over.  

4VAC15-390-100. Operation in narrow channel. 

(Repealed.) 

In narrow channels the operator of every vessel shall, when it 

is safe and practicable, keep to that side of the fairway or mid-

channel which lies on the right side of such vessel. 

Notwithstanding the provisions of any other section of this 

chapter, the operator of a vessel under 65.6 feet in length 

underway, fishing or at anchor in narrow channels shall not 

interfere with the passage of large, deep-draft vessels that can 

safely navigate only inside such channels.  

4VAC15-390-110. Departure from regulations to avoid 

immediate danger. (Repealed.) 

In obeying and construing this chapter due regard shall be had 

to all dangers of navigation and collision, and to any special 

circumstances which may render a departure from this chapter 

necessary in order to avoid immediate danger. When, from any 

cause, the vessel required to keep its course and speed finds 

itself so close that collision cannot be avoided by the action of 

the give-way vessel alone, the operator shall take such action 

as will best aid to avoid collision. This action does not relieve 

the give-way vessel of its obligation to keep out of the way. 

The "give-way" vessel is that vessel required to take early and 

substantial action to keep well away from other vessels by 

stopping, slowing or changing course.  

4VAC15-390-120. Regulations not to exonerate operator 

from neglect. (Repealed.) 

Nothing in this chapter shall exonerate the operator of any 

vessel from the consequences of any neglect to carry and 

display lights as required by law; or of any neglect to keep a 

proper lookout, or of neglect of any reasonable precaution 

which may be required by the ordinary practice of good 

seamanship or by the special circumstances of the case.  

4VAC15-390-130. Standard whistle and horn signals. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Whenever vessels are approaching in a meeting, crossing, 

or overtaking situation, and it appears desirable to the operator 

of one of the vessels to communicate his intentions to the 

operator of the other, the following standard whistle or horn 

signals will be used, and none other:  

1. One short blast; meaning: "I am altering my course to the 

right"; except that in a crossing situation when this signal is 

initiated by the vessel to the right of the other it means, "I 

am holding my course and speed."  

2. Two short blasts; meaning: "I am altering my course to 

the left."  

3. Three short blasts; meaning: "I am stopping, or backing, 

by applying power astern."  

4. Five or more short blasts in rapid succession; meaning: 

"DANGER"; or "I do not understand your intentions"; or "I 

do not concur in the maneuver indicated by your signal."  

B. Whenever a motorboat less than 65.6 feet long receives 

one of the above signals from an approaching vessel, and if the 

operator understands the signal and concurs in the maneuver, 

he will answer with a similar signal. Whenever the intention of 

the approaching vessel is unclear, or if the proposed maneuver 

appears to involve risk of collision or other danger, the operator 

of the motorboat receiving the signal will answer with five or 

more short blasts in rapid succession, whereupon the operators 

of both vessels will slow, stop, or change course as necessary 

to avoid collision.  

C. Signals in or near an area of restricted visibility or when 

the operator's vision is obscured by fog or other weather 

conditions shall be one prolonged blast of intervals of not more 

than two minutes for motorboats, and one prolonged plus two 

short blasts of intervals of not more than two minutes by 

sailboats under sail alone.  
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D. A vessel of 39.4 feet (12 meters) or more in length shall be 

provided with a whistle that meets U.S. Coast Guard 

requirements. A motorboat of less than 39.4 feet (12 meters) 

shall not be obligated to carry a whistle or bell as required 

above, but the operator shall have a whistle or other device 

intended to make audible signals capable of being heard 0.5 

mile.  

E. The operators of vessels not required to have sound-

producing devices on board are not required to give or answer 

horn to whistle signals, but if they have sound-producing 

devices on board and elect to give or answer signals, the 

standard signals prescribed above shall be used, and none 

other.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7537; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:51 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-420. Watercraft: Navigation 

Lights and Shapes (amending 4VAC15-420-10; repealing 

4VAC15-420-20 through 4VAC15-420-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife 

Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email 

cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace regulatory text containing 

requirements for navigation lights for various vessels with 

a citation incorporating federal requirements for the same 

provisions at 33 CFR Parts 83, 84, and 86. 

4VAC15-420-10. Application. 

The navigation lights requirements in this chapter shall be 

complied with in all weather and from sunset to sunrise on the 

public waters of the Commonwealth. During such times no 

other lights shall be exhibited, except such lights as cannot be 

mistaken for the lights specified in this chapter or do not impair 

their visibility or distinctive character, or interfere with the 

keeping of a proper lookout. The lights prescribed by this 

chapter shall, if carried, also be exhibited from sunrise to 

sunset in restricted visibility and may be exhibited in all other 

circumstances when it is deemed necessary. The lights 

specified in this chapter shall comply with U.S. Coast Guard 

specifications the Navigation Rules found in 33 CFR Parts 83, 

84, and 86 as established by the U.S. Coast Guard. 

4VAC15-420-20. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

For the purpose of this chapter, except where the context 

otherwise requires, the following words and terms mean:  

"All-round light" means a light showing an unbroken light 

over an arc of the horizon of 360°.  

"Flashing light" means a light flashing at regular intervals at 

a frequency of 120 flashes or more per minute.  

"Inland waters" means the navigable waters of the 

Commonwealth shoreward of the navigational demarcation 

lines established by the U.S. Coast Guard dividing the high 

seas from harbors, rivers, and other inland waters of the United 

States.  

"Length" and "breadth" of a vessel mean its length overall and 

greatest breadth.  

"Masthead light" means a white light placed over the fore and 

aft centerline of the vessel showing an unbroken light over an 

arc of the horizon of 225° and so fixed as to show the light from 

right ahead to 22.5° abaft the beam on either side of the vessel, 

except that on a vessel of less than 39.4 feet (12 meters) in 

length, the masthead light shall be placed as nearly as 

practicable to the fore and aft centerline of the vessel.  

"Power-driven vessel" means a motorboat or any vessel 

propelled by machinery.  

"Restricted visibility" means any condition in which visibility 

is restricted by fog, mist, falling snow, heavy rainstorms, 

sandstorms, or any other similar causes.  

"Sailing vessel" means any vessel under sail provided that 

propelling machinery, if fitted, is not being used.  

"Seaplane" includes any aircraft designed to maneuver on the 

water.  

"Secretary" means the secretary of the department in which 

the U. S. Coast Guard is operating.  

"Sidelights" mean a green light on the starboard (right) side 

and a red light on the port (left) side, each showing an unbroken 

light over an arc of the horizon of 112.5° and so fixed as to 

show the light from right ahead to 22.5° abaft the beam on its 

respective side. On a vessel of less than 65.6 feet (20 meters) 

in length, the side lights may be combined in one lantern 

carried on the fore and aft centerline of the vessel, except that 

on a vessel of less than 39.4 feet (12 meters) in length, the 

sidelights when combined in one lantern shall be placed as 

nearly as practicable to the fore and aft centerline of the vessel.  

"Special flashing light" means a yellow light flashing at 

regular intervals at a frequency of 50 to 70 flashes per minute, 

placed as far forward and as nearly as practicable on the fore 

and aft centerline of the tow and showing an unbroken light 

over an arc of the horizon of not less than 180° nor more than 

225° and so fixed as to show the light from right ahead to 

mailto:cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov
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abeam and no more than 22.5° abaft the beam on either side of 

the vessel.  

"Sternlight" means a white light placed as nearly as 

practicable at the stern showing an unbroken light over an arc 

of the horizon of 135° and so fixed as to show the light 67.5° 

from right aft on each side of the vessel.  

"Towing light" means a yellow light having the same 

characteristics as the "sternlight" defined above.  

"Underway" means that a vessel is not at anchor, or made fast 

to the shore, or aground.  

"Vessel" means every description of watercraft, other than a 

seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as a means 

of transportation on water, but does not include surfboards, 

tubes, swimming rafts, inflatable toys and similar devices 

routinely used as water toys or swimming aids.  

"Vessel engaged in fishing" means any vessel fishing with 

nets, lines, trawls, or other fishing apparatus that restricts 

maneuverability, but does not include a vessel fishing with 

trolling lines or other fishing apparatus that does not restrict 

maneuverability.  

"Vessels in sight of one another" means one can be observed 

visually from the other.  

"Vessel not under command" means a vessel that through 

some exceptional circumstance is unable to maneuver as 

required by these rules and is therefore unable to keep out of 

the way of another vessel.  

"Vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver" means a vessel 

that from the nature of its work is restricted in its ability to 

maneuver as required in this chapter and is therefore unable to 

keep out of the way of another vessel; vessels restricted in their 

ability to maneuver include, but are not limited to:  

1. A vessel engaged in laying, servicing, or picking up a 

navigation mark, submarine cable, or pipeline.  

2. A vessel engaged in dredging, surveying, or underwater 

operations.  

3. A vessel engaged in replenishment or transferring 

persons, provisions, or cargo while underway.  

4. A vessel engaged in a towing operation such as severely 

restricts the towing vessel and its tow in their ability to 

deviate from their course.  

4VAC15-420-30. Visibility of lights. (Repealed.) 

The lights prescribed in this chapter shall have an intensity as 

specified by the U.S. Coast Guard, so as to be visible at the 

following minimum ranges:  

1. In a vessel of 164 feet (50 meters) or more in length: a 

masthead light, 6 miles; a sidelight, 3 miles; a sternlight, 3 

miles; a towing light, 3 miles; a white, red, green or yellow 

all-round light, 3 miles; and a special flashing light, 2 miles.  

2. In a vessel of 39.4 feet (12 meters) or more in length but 

less than 164 feet (50 meters) in length: a masthead light, 5 

miles; except that where the length of the vessel is less than 

65.6 feet (20 meters), 3 miles; a sidelight, 2 miles; a 

sternlight, 2 miles; a towing light, 2 miles; a white, red, green 

or yellow all-round light, 2 miles; and a special flashing 

light, 2 miles.  

3. In a vessel of less than 39.4 feet (12 meters) in length: a 

masthead light, 2 miles; a sidelight, 1 mile; a sternlight, 2 

miles; a towing light, 2 miles; a white, red, green or yellow 

all-round light, 2 miles; and a special flashing light, 2 miles.  

4. In an inconspicuous, partly submerged vessel or object 

being towed: a white all-round light, 3 miles.  

4VAC15-420-40. Power-driven vessels underway. 

(Repealed.) 

A. A power-driven vessel underway shall exhibit:  

1. A masthead light forward;  

2. A second masthead light abaft of and higher than the 

forward one; except that a vessel of less than 164 feet (50 

meters) in length shall not be obliged to exhibit such light 

but may do so;  

3. Sidelights; and  

4. A sternlight.  

B. An air-cushion vessel when operating in the 

nondisplacement mode shall, in addition to the lights 

prescribed in subsection A of this section, exhibit an all-round 

flashing yellow light where it can best be seen.  

C. A power-driven vessel of less than 39.4 feet (12 meters) in 

length may, in lieu of the lights prescribed in subsection A of 

this section, exhibit an all-round white light and sidelights.  

4VAC15-420-50. Towing and pushing. (Repealed.) 

A. A power-driven vessel when towing astern shall exhibit:  

1. Instead of the lights prescribed in 4VAC15-420-40 A 1 or 

2, two masthead lights in a vertical line. When the length of 

the tow, measuring from the stern of the towing vessel to the 

after end of the tow exceeds 656.2 feet (200 meters), three 

such lights in a vertical line;  

2. Sidelights;  

3. A sternlight;  

4. A towing light in a vertical line above the sternlight; and  

5. When the length of the tow exceeds 656.2 feet (200 

meters), a diamond shape where it can best be seen.  

B. When a pushing vessel and a vessel being pushed ahead 

are rigidly connected in a composite unit, they shall be 

regarded as a power-driven vessel and exhibit the lights 

prescribed in 4VAC15-420-40.  
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C. A power-driven vessel when pushing ahead or towing 

alongside, except as required by subsections A and B of this 

section, shall exhibit:  

1. Instead of the light prescribed in 4VAC15-420-40 A 1 or 

2, two masthead lights in a vertical line;  

2. Sidelights; and  

3. Two towing lights in a vertical line.  

D. A power-driven vessel to which subsection A or C of this 

section apply shall also comply with 4VAC15-420-40 A 1 and 

2.  

E. A vessel or object other than those referred to in subsection 

G of this section being towed shall exhibit:  

1. Sidelights;  

2. A sternlight; and  

3. When the length of the tow exceeds 656.2 feet (200 

meters), a diamond shape where it can best be seen.  

F. Provided that any number of vessels being towed alongside 

or pushed in a group shall be lighted as one vessel, except as 

provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection:  

1. A vessel being pushed ahead, not being part of a 

composite unit, shall exhibit at the forward end, sidelights 

and a special flashing light;  

2. A vessel being towed alongside shall exhibit a sternlight 

and at the forward end, sidelights and a special flashing light; 

and  

3. When vessels are towed alongside on both sides of the 

towing vessels, a sternlight shall be exhibited on the stern of 

the outboard vessel on each side of the towing vessel, and a 

single set of sidelights as far forward and as far outboard as 

is practicable, and a single special flashing light.  

G. An inconspicuous, partly submerged vessel or object being 

towed shall exhibit:  

1. If it is less than 82 feet (25 meters) in breadth, one all-

round white light at or near each end;  

2. If it is 82 feet (25 meters) or more in breadth, four all-

round white lights to mark its length and breadth;  

3. If it exceeds 328.1 feet (100 meters) in length, additional 

all-round white lights between the lights prescribed in 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection so that the distance 

between the lights shall not exceed 328.1 feet (100 meters), 

provided that any vessels or objects being towed alongside 

each other shall be lighted as one vessel or object;  

4. A diamond shape at or near the aftermost extremity of the 

last vessel or object being towed; and  

5. The towing vessel may direct a searchlight in the direction 

of the tow to indicate its presence to an approaching vessel.  

H. Where from any sufficient cause it is impracticable for a 

vessel or object being towed to exhibit the lights prescribed in 

subsection A or G of this section, all possible measures shall 

be taken to light the vessel or object towed or at least to indicate 

the presence of the unlighted vessel or object.  

I. Where from any sufficient cause it is impracticable for a 

vessel not normally engaged in towing operations to display 

the lights prescribed by subsection A or C of this section, such 

vessel shall not be required to exhibit those lights when 

engaged in towing another vessel in distress or otherwise in 

need of assistance. All possible measures shall be taken to 

indicate the nature of the relationship between the towing 

vessel and the vessel being assisted. A searchlight may be used 

to illuminate the tow.  

4VAC15-420-60. Sailing vessels underway and vessels 

under oars. (Repealed.) 

A. A sailing vessel underway shall exhibit:  

1. Sidelights; and  

2. A sternlight.  

B. In a sailing vessel of less than 65.6 feet (20 meters) in 

length, the lights prescribed in subsection A of this section may 

be combined in one lantern carried at or near the top of the mast 

where it can best be seen.  

C. A sailing vessel underway may, in addition to the lights 

prescribed in subsection A of this section, exhibit at or near the 

top of the mast, where they can best be seen, two all-round 

lights in a vertical line, the upper being red and the lower green, 

but these lights shall not be exhibited in conjunction with the 

combined lantern permitted by subsection B of this section.  

D. A sailing vessel of less than 23 feet (7 meters) in length 

shall, if practicable, exhibit the lights prescribed in subsection 

A or B of this section, but if not, shall have ready at hand an 

electric torch or lighted lantern showing a white light that shall 

be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision.  

E. A vessel under oars may exhibit the lights prescribed above 

for sailing vessels, but if not, shall have ready at hand an 

electric torch or lighted lantern showing a white light that shall 

be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision.  

F. A vessel proceeding under sail when also being propelled 

by machinery shall exhibit forward where it can best be seen a 

conical shape, apex downward. A vessel of less than 39.4 feet 

(12 meters) in length is not required to exhibit this shape, but 

may do so.  

4VAC15-420-70. Vessels fishing with apparatus that 

restricts maneuverability. (Repealed.) 

A. A vessel engaged in fishing with nets, trawls or other 

fishing apparatus that restricts maneuverability (as defined in 

4VAC15-420-20), whether underway or at anchor, shall 

exhibit only the lights and shapes prescribed in this section. A 
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vessel when engaged in trawling, by which is meant the 

dragging through the water of a dredge net or other apparatus 

used as a fishing appliance, shall exhibit:  

1. Two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being 

green and the lower white, or a shape consisting of two cones 

with their apexes together in a vertical line one above the 

other;  

2. A masthead light abaft of and higher than the all-round 

green light; a vessel of less than 164 feet (50 meters) in 

length shall not be obliged to exhibit such a light but may do 

so; and  

3. When making way through the water, in addition to the 

lights prescribed in this section, sidelights and a sternlight.  

B. A vessel engaged in fishing with nets, trawls or other fish 

apparatus that restricts maneuverability, other than trawling, 

shall exhibit:  

1. Two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being red 

and the lower white, or a shape consisting of two cones with 

apexes together in a vertical line one above the other;  

2. When there is outlying gear extending more than 492.1 

feet (150 meters) horizontally from the vessel, an all-round 

white light or a cone apex upward in the direction of the gear; 

and  

3. When making way through the water, in addition to the 

lights prescribed in this section, sidelights and a sternlight.  

C. Vessels engaged in fishing with nets, trawls or other fish 

apparatus that restricts maneuverability in close proximity to 

other vessels engaged in fishing may exhibit the additional 

signals established by the U.S. Coast Guard.  

D. A vessel when not engaged in fishing with nets, trawls or 

other fish apparatus that restricts maneuverability shall not 

exhibit the lights or shapes prescribed in this rule but only those 

prescribed for a vessel of its length.  

4VAC15-420-80. Vessels not under command or restricted 

in their ability to maneuver. (Repealed.) 

A. A vessel not under command shall exhibit:  

1. Two all-round red lights in a vertical line where they can 

best be seen;  

2. Two balls or similar shapes in a vertical line where they 

can best be seen; and  

3. When making way through the water, sidelights and a 

sternlight in addition to the lights prescribed in this section.  

B. A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver shall exhibit:  

1. Three all-round lights in a vertical line where they can best 

be seen. The highest and lowest of these lights shall be red 

and the middle light shall be white;  

2. Three shapes in a vertical line where they can best be seen. 

The highest and lowest of these shapes shall be balls and the 

middle one a diamond;  

3. When making way through the water, masthead lights, 

sidelights and a sternlight, in addition to the lights prescribed 

in subdivision 1 of this subsection; and  

4. When at anchor, in addition to the lights or shapes 

prescribed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection, the 

light, lights or shapes prescribed in 4VAC15-420-100.  

C. A vessel engaged in a towing operation that severely 

restricts the towing vessel and its tow in their ability to deviate 

from their course shall, in addition to the lights or shapes 

prescribed in subdivisions B 1 and B 2 of this section, exhibit 

the lights or shape prescribed in 4VAC15-420-50.  

D. A vessel engaged in dredging or underwater operations, 

when restricted in its ability to maneuver, shall exhibit the 

lights and shapes prescribed in subdivisions B 1, B 2, and B 3 

of this section and shall in addition, when an obstruction exists, 

exhibit:  

1. Two all-round red lights or two balls in a vertical line to 

indicate the side on which the obstruction exists;  

2. Two all-round green lights or two diamonds in a vertical 

line to indicate the side on which another vessel may pass; 

and  

3. When at anchor, the lights or shape prescribed by this 

section, instead of the lights or shapes prescribed in 

4VAC15-420-100 for anchored vessels.  

E. Whenever the size of a vessel engaged in diving operations 

makes it impracticable to exhibit all lights and shapes 

prescribed in subsection D of this section, the following shall 

instead be exhibited:  

1. Three all-round lights in a vertical line where they can best 

be seen. The highest and lowest of these lights shall be red 

and the middle light shall be white.  

2. A rigid replica of the international code flag "A" not less 

than 3.3 feet (1 meter) in height. Measures shall be taken to 

ensure its all-round visibility.  

F. A vessel of less than 39.4 feet (12 meters) in length, except 

when engaged in diving operations, is not required to exhibit 

the lights or shapes prescribed in this section.  

4VAC15-420-90. Pilot vessels. (Repealed.) 

A. A vessel engaged on pilotage duty shall exhibit:  

1. At or near the masthead, two all-round lights in a vertical 

line, the upper being white and the lower red;  

2. When underway, in addition, sidelights and a sternlight; 

and  



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 17, 2023  

2723 

3. When at anchor, in addition to the lights prescribed in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection, the anchor light, lights, or 

shape prescribed in 4VAC15-420-100 for anchored vessels.  

B. A pilot vessel when not engaged on pilotage duty shall 

exhibit the lights or shapes prescribed for a vessel of its length.  

4VAC15-420-100. Anchored vessels and vessels aground. 

(Repealed.) 

A. A vessel at anchor shall exhibit where it can best be seen:  

1. In the fore part, an all-round white light or one ball; and  

2. At or near the stern and at a lower level than the light 

prescribed in subdivision 1 of this subsection, an all-round 

white light.  

B. A vessel of less than 164 feet (50 meters) in length may 

exhibit an all-round white light where it can best be seen 

instead of the lights prescribed in subsection A of this section.  

C. A vessel at anchor may, and a vessel of 238.1 feet (100 

meters) or more in length shall, also use the available working 

or equivalent lights to illuminate its decks.  

D. A vessel aground shall exhibit the lights prescribed in 

subsection A or B of this section and in addition, if practicable, 

where they can best be seen:  

1. Two all-round red lights in a vertical line; and  

2. Three balls in a vertical line.  

E. A vessel of less than 23 feet (7 meters) in length, when at 

anchor, not in or near a narrow channel, fairway, anchorage, or 

where other vessels normally navigate, shall not be required to 

exhibit the lights or shape prescribed in subsections A and B 

of this section.  

F. A vessel of less than 39.4 feet (12 meters) in length when 

aground shall not be required to exhibit the lights or shapes 

prescribed in subdivisions D 1 and D 2 of this section.  

G. A vessel of less than 65.6 feet (20 meters) in length, when 

at anchor in a special anchorage area designated by the 

secretary, shall not be required to exhibit the anchor lights and 

shapes required by this section.  

4VAC15-420-110. Seaplanes. (Repealed.) 

Where it is impracticable for a seaplane to exhibit lights and 

shapes of the characteristics or in the positions prescribed in 

the rules of this part, it shall exhibit lights and shapes as closely 

similar in characteristics and position as is possible.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7538; Filed June 27, 2023, 9:52 a.m. 

 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-90, 4VAC20-252-

100, 4VAC20-252-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments lower the maximum recreational size 

limit for striped bass for the Virginia Coastal season, 

Chesapeake Bay fall season, and the Potomac River 

tributaries summer/fall season to 31 inches. 

Chapter 252 

Pertaining to the Taking of Atlantic Striped Bass 

4VAC20-252-90. Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries fall 

striped bass recreational fishery. 

A. The open season for the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries 

fall striped bass recreational fishery shall be October 4 through 

December 31, inclusive. 

B. The minimum size limit shall be 20 inches total length. 

C. The maximum size limit shall be 36 31 inches total length. 

D. The daily possession limit shall be one fish per person. 

4VAC20-252-100. Potomac River tributaries summer/fall 

striped bass recreational fishery. 

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries 

summer/fall striped bass recreational fishery shall correspond 

to the open summer/fall season as established by the Potomac 

River Fisheries Commission for the mainstem Potomac River. 

B. The minimum size limit shall be 20 inches total length. 

C. From May 16 through June 15 the maximum size limit 

shall be 28 inches total length. 

D. From June 16 through December 31 the maximum size 

limit shall be 36 31 inches total length. 

E. The daily possession limit shall be one fish per person. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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4VAC20-252-110. Coastal area striped bass recreational 

fishery. 

A. The open seasons for the coastal area striped bass 

recreational fishery shall be January 1 through March 31 and 

May 16 through December 31, inclusive. 

B. The minimum size limit shall be 28 inches total length. 

C. The maximum size limit shall be 36 31 inches total length. 

D. The daily possession limit shall be one fish per person. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7582; Filed June 28, 2023, 7:52 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Blue Crab 

Fishery (amending 4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-270-51). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish season opening and closing 

dates and bushel limits for the 2023-2024 commercial 

crab fisheries season. 

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits. 

A. In 2022 2023, the lawful season for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by hard crab pot shall be March 17 through November 

30. In 2023 2024, the lawful season for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by hard crab pot shall be March 17 through November 

30. For all other lawful commercial gear used to harvest crabs, 

as described in 4VAC20-1040, the lawful seasons for the 

harvest of crabs shall be April 15 through October 15. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 

possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 

season as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, set, 

fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters of Virginia 

from December 1, 2022 2023, through March 16, 2023 2024. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly place, set, fish, 

or leave any lawful commercial gear used to harvest crabs, 

except any hard crab pot or any gear as described in 4VAC20-

460-25, in any tidal waters of Virginia from October 16, 2022 

2023, through April 14, 2023 2024. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, set, 

fish, or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 12 

through March 16, except as provided in subdivisions 1 and 2 

of this subsection. 

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 

following boundary lines: 

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 

connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 

mouth of College Creek. 

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the Route 

33 bridges at West Point. 

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 

the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock. 

d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 

Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 

to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel pots 

as described in 4VAC20-500-50. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount allowed by 

the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish pots per 

vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in the areas 

described in subdivision D 1 of this section. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel pots 

as described in 4VAC20-500. 

3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed of 

a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 

harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 

three bushels of crabs. 

B. From July 5, 2022 2023, through September 30, 2022 

2023, and May 16, 2023 2024, through July 4, 2023 2024, any 

commercial fisherman registration licensee legally licensed for 

any hard crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, 

shall be limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 

possession limits for any of the following hard crab pot license 

categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or four barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 18 bushels, or six barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 170 

crab pots. 
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4. 29 bushels, or nine barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From October 1, 2022 2023, through November 30, 2022 

2023, and March 17, 2023 2024, through May 15, 2023 2024, 

any commercial fisherman registration licensee legally 

licensed for any hard crab pot license, as described in 

4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the following maximum 

daily harvest and possession limits for any of the following 

crab pot license categories: 

1. Eight bushels, or two barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 10 11 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel two bushels, 

of crabs if licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 13 14 bushels, or four barrels and one bushel two bushels, 

of crabs if licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 21 22 bushels, or seven barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 27 36 bushels, or nine 12 barrels, of crabs if licensed for 

up to 425 crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 

board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 

limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 

limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 

that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 

possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 

licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 

possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab pot 

licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot licensee's 

name, address, commercial fisherman registration license 

number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of crabs to be 

sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 

daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this section, 

that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned immediately to 

the water by the licensee or licensees who possess that excess 

over lawful daily harvest or possession limit. The refusal to 

return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily harvest or possession 

limit, to the water shall constitute a separate violation of this 

chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a 

crab pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any other 

person aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood buyers 

boat license and buy any crabs on any day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7583; Filed June 28, 2023, 8:00 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 

Dredging in Virginia Waters (amending 4VAC20-1140-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments close the December 1, 2023, through 

March 31, 2024, winter commercial crab dredge fishing 

season. 

4VAC20-1140-20. Crab dredging prohibited. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 

of Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2022 

2023, through March 31, 2023 2024, is closed, and it shall be 

unlawful to use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of 

the Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7584; Filed June 28, 2023, 8:01 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Board of Health will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations (amending 12VAC5-481-451, 

12VAC5-481-1700, 12VAC5-481-1750, 12VAC5-481-1770, 

12VAC5-481-1780, 12VAC5-481-2018, 12VAC5-481-2040, 

12VAC5-481-3120, 12VAC5-481-3770). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 16, 2023. 
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Agency Contact: Cameron Rose, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 864-7090, FAX (804) 864-8155, or 

email cameron.rose@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Background: The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 

(NRC) revised Title 10 of the Code of Federal Regulations 

(10 CFR) in 2020 and again in 2021. As an agreement state 

under the NRC, Virginia is required to maintain radioactive 

materials regulations that are compatible with 10 CFR. This 

action restores compatibility of the Virginia Radiological 

Protection Regulations (12VAC5-481). 

Summary: 

The amendments make small corrections, such as the street 

address of the NRC, the names of accreditation 

organizations, a radical in a large table, and replacing a 

written out term with the acronym for that term. More 

substantive changes include (i) adding text reading, "A 

licensee shall establish the authority, duties, and 

responsibilities of the RSO in writing"; (ii) adding a 

subsection reading "A licensee shall provide the RSO 

sufficient authority, organizational freedom, time, 

resources, and management prerogative to: 1. Identify 

radiation safety problems; 2. Initiate, recommend, or 

provide corrective actions; 3. Stop unsafe operations; and 4. 

Verify implementation of corrective actions"; and (iii) 

adding a requirement that a licensee shall retain a record of 

actions in accordance with 12VAC5-481-2070. 

12VAC5-481-451. Physical protection of Category 1 and 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. 

A. Any licensee who possesses or uses an aggregated quantity 

of Category 1 or Category 2 radioactive material equal to or in 

excess of those in subdivision 1 of this subsection shall 

establish a physical protection program that meets all 

requirements detailed in this section. 

1. Radionuclides of concern. 

Radionuclide Category 

1 

(TBq)1,2 

Category 

1 (Ci)1,2 

Category 

2 

(TBq)1,2 

Category 

2 (Ci)1,2 

Am-241 60 1,620 0.6 16.2 

Am-241/Be 60 1,620 0.6 16.2 

Cf-252 20 540 0.2 5.4 

Cm-244 50 1,350 0.5 13.5 

Co-60 30 810 0.3 8.1 

Cs-137 100 2,700 1 27 

Gd-153 1,000 27,000 10 270 

Ir-192 80 2,160 0.8 21.6 

Pm-147 40,000 1,080,000 400 10,800 

Pu-238 60 1,620 0.6 16.2 

Pu-239/Be 60 1,620 0.6 16.2 

Ra-226 40 1,080 0.4 10.8 

Se-75 200 5,400 2 54 

Sr-90 (Y-90) 1,000 27,000 10 270 

Tm-170 20,000 540,000 200 5,400 

Yb-169 300 8,100 3 81 

Combinations 

of radioactive 

materials 

listed 

above in this 

table3 

  

See 

footnote 

4 below 

 

1The aggregate activity of multiple, collocated sources of 

the same radionuclides should be included when the total 

activity equals or exceeds the Category 1 or Category 2 

threshold. 
2The primary values used for compliance are TBq. The 

curie (Ci) values are rounded to two significant figures for 

informational purposes only. 
3Radioactive materials are to be considered aggregated or 

collocated if breaching a common physical barrier (e.g., a 

locked door at the entrance to a storage room) would allow 

access to the radioactive material or devices containing the 

radioactive material. 
4If several radionuclides are aggregated, the sum of the 

ratios of the activity of each source, i of radionuclide, n, A 

(i,n), to the Category 1 or Category 2 threshold for 

radionuclide n, Qn, listed for that radionuclide equals or 

exceeds one. [(aggregated source activity for radionuclide 

A) / (quantities of concern for radionuclide A)] + 

[(aggregated source activity for radionuclide B) / 

(quantities of concern for radionuclide B)] + etc…. ≥ 1. 

2. A licensee that possesses radioactive waste that contains 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive material 

is exempt from the requirements of this section. 

3. A licensee that possesses radioactive waste that contains 

discrete sources, ion-exchange resins, or activated material 

that weighs less than 2,000 kg (4,409 lbs) is not exempt from 

the requirements of this section. The licensee shall 

implement the following requirements to secure the 

radioactive waste: 

mailto:cameron.rose@vdh.virginia.gov
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a. Use continuous physical barriers that allow access to the 

radioactive waste only through established access control 

points; 

b. Use a locked door or gate with monitored alarm at the 

access control point; 

c. Assess and respond to each actual or attempted 

unauthorized access to determine whether an actual or 

attempted theft, sabotage, or diversion occurred; and 

d. Immediately notify the local law-enforcement agency 

(LLEA) and request an armed response from the LLEA 

upon determination that there was an actual or attempted 

theft, sabotage, or diversion of the radioactive waste. 

B. Background investigations and access authorization 

program. 

1. Personnel access authorization requirements for Category 

1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. 

a. Each licensee that possesses an aggregated quantity of 

radioactive material that equals or exceeds the Category 2 

threshold shall establish, implement, and maintain its 

access authorization program in accordance with the 

requirements in this subsection. An applicant for a new 

license and each licensee that would become newly 

subject to the requirements in this subsection upon an 

amendment request of its license shall implement the 

requirements of this subsection, as appropriate, before 

taking possession of an aggregated quantity of radioactive 

material that equals or exceeds the Category 2 threshold. 

Any licensee that has not previously implemented the 

increased control requirements of this section shall 

implement the provisions of this subsection before 

aggregating radioactive material to a quantity that equals 

or exceeds the Category 2 threshold. 

b. The licensee's access authorization program shall 

ensure that the individuals specified in subdivision 1 c of 

this subsection are trustworthy and reliable. 

c. Licensees shall subject the following individuals to an 

access authorization program: 

(1) Any individual whose assigned duties require 

unescorted access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities 

of radioactive material; and 

(2) Reviewing officials. 

d. Licensees shall approve for unescorted access to 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive material 

only those individuals whose assigned job duties require 

unescorted access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities 

of radioactive material. 

e. Licensees need not subject the categories of individuals 

listed in subdivision 5 a of this subsection to the 

investigation elements of the access authorization 

program. 

2. Access authorization program requirements. 

a. Granting unescorted access authorization. 

(1) Licensees shall implement the requirements of this 

subsection for granting initial or reinstated unescorted 

access authorization. 

(2) Individuals who have been determined to be 

trustworthy and reliable shall also complete the security 

training required by subdivision C 2 c of this section 

before being allowed unescorted access to Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. 

b. Reviewing officials. 

(1) Reviewing officials are the only individuals who may 

make trustworthiness and reliability determinations that 

allow individuals to have unescorted access to Category 1 

or Category 2 quantities of radioactive materials possessed 

by the licensee. 

(2) Each licensee shall name one or more individuals to be 

reviewing officials. After completing the background 

investigation on the reviewing official, the licensee shall 

provide under oath or affirmation a certification that the 

reviewing official is deemed trustworthy and reliable by 

the licensee. Provide oath or affirmation certifications to 

the agency via an appropriate means listed in 12VAC5-

481-150. The fingerprints of the named reviewing official 

shall be taken by a law-enforcement agency, a federal or 

state agency that provides fingerprinting services to the 

public, or a commercial fingerprinting service authorized 

by a state to take fingerprints. The licensee shall recertify 

that the reviewing official is deemed trustworthy and 

reliable every 10 years in accordance with subdivision 3 c 

of this subsection. 

(3) Reviewing officials shall be permitted to have 

unescorted access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities 

of radioactive material. 

(4) Reviewing officials cannot approve other individuals 

to act as reviewing officials. 

(5) A reviewing official does not need to undergo a new 

background investigation before being named by the 

licensee as the reviewing official if: 

(a) The individual has undergone a background 

investigation that included fingerprinting and an FBI 

criminal history records check and has been determined to 

be trustworthy and reliable by the licensee; or 

(b) The individual is subject to a category listed in 

subdivision 5 a of this subsection. 

c. Informed consent. 

(1) Licensees may not initiate a background investigation 

without the informed and signed consent of the subject 

individual. This consent shall include authorization to 

share personal information with other individuals or 

organizations as necessary to complete the background 

investigation. Before a final adverse determination, the 

licensee shall provide the individual with an opportunity 
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to correct any inaccurate or incomplete information that is 

developed during the background investigation. Licensees 

do not need to obtain signed consent from those 

individuals who meet the requirements of subdivision 3 b 

of this subsection. A signed consent shall be obtained prior 

to any reinvestigation. 

(2) The subject individual may withdraw his consent at 

any time. Licensees shall inform the individual that: 

(a) If an individual withdraws his consent, the licensee 

may not initiate elements of the background investigation 

that were not in progress at the time the individual 

withdrew his consent; and 

(b) The withdrawal of consent for the background 

investigation is sufficient cause of denial or termination of 

unescorted access authorization. 

d. Any individual who is applying for unescorted access 

authorization shall disclose the personal history 

information that is required by the licensee's access 

authorization program for the reviewing official to make a 

determination of the individual's trustworthiness and 

reliability. Refusal to provide, or the falsification of, any 

personal history information required by this subsection is 

sufficient cause for denial or termination of unescorted 

access. 

e. Determination basis. 

(1) The reviewing official shall determine whether to 

permit, deny, unfavorably terminate, maintain, or 

administratively withdraw an individual's unescorted 

access authorization based on an evaluation of all the 

information collected to meet the requirements of this 

subsection. 

(2) The reviewing official may not permit any individual 

to have unescorted access until the reviewing official has 

evaluated all the information collected to meet the 

requirements of this subsection and determined that the 

individual is trustworthy and reliable. The reviewing 

official may deny unescorted access to any individual 

based on information obtained at any time during the 

background investigation. 

(3) The licensee shall document the basis for concluding 

whether or not there is reasonable assurance that an 

individual is trustworthy and reliable. 

(4) The reviewing official may terminate or 

administratively withdraw an individual's unescorted 

access authorization based on information obtained after 

the background investigation has been completed and the 

individual granted unescorted access information. 

(5) Licensees shall maintain a list of persons currently 

approved for unescorted access authorization. When a 

licensee determines that a person no longer requires 

unescorted access or meets the access authorization 

requirement, the licensee shall remove the person from the 

approved list as soon as possible, but no later than seven 

working days, and take prompt measures to ensure that the 

individual is unable to have unescorted access to the 

material. 

f. Licensees shall develop, implement, and maintain 

written procedures for implementing the access 

authorization program. The procedures shall include the 

provisions for the notification of individuals who are 

denied unescorted access. The procedures shall include 

provisions for the review, at the request of the affected 

individual, of a denial or termination of unescorted access 

authorization. The procedures shall contain a provision to 

ensure that the individual is informed of the grounds for 

the denial or termination of unescorted access 

authorization and allow the individual an opportunity to 

provide additional relevant information. 

g. Right to correct and complete information. 

(1) Prior to any final adverse determination, licensees shall 

provide each individual subject to this subsection with the 

right to complete, correct, and explain information 

obtained as a result of the licensee's background 

investigation. Confirmation of receipt by the individual of 

this notification shall be maintained by the licensee for a 

period of one year from the date of the notification. 

(2) If, after reviewing his criminal history record, an 

individual believes that it is incorrect or incomplete in any 

respect and wishes to change, correct, update, or explain 

anything in the record, the individual may initiate 

challenge procedures. These procedures include direct 

application by the individual challenging the record to the 

law-enforcement agency that contributed the questioned 

information or a direct challenge as to the accuracy or 

completeness of any entry on the criminal history record 

to the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Criminal Justice 

Information Services (CJIS) Division, ATTN: SCU, Mod. 

D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306 as 

set forth in 28 CFR 16.30 through 28 CFR 16.34. In the 

latter case, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) will 

forward the challenge to the agency that submitted the data 

and will request that the agency verify or correct the 

challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official 

communication directly from the agency that contributed 

the original information, the FBI Identification Division 

will make any change necessary in accordance with the 

information supplied by that agency. Licensees shall 

provide at least 10 days for an individual to initiate action 

to challenge the results of an FBI criminal history records 

check after the record being made available for his review. 

The licensee may make a final adverse determination 

based upon the criminal history records only after receipt 

of the FBI's confirmation or correction of the record. 

h. Records. 

(1) The licensee shall retain documentation regarding the 

trustworthiness and reliability of individual employees for 

three years from the date the individual no longer requires 
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unescorted access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities 

of radioactive material. 

(2) The licensee shall retain a copy of the current access 

authorization program procedures as a record for three 

years after the procedure is no longer needed. If any 

portion of the procedure is superseded, the licensee shall 

retain the superseded material for three years after the 

record is superseded. 

(3) The licensee shall retain the list of individuals 

approved for unescorted access authorization for three 

years after the list is superseded or replaced. 

3. Background investigations. 

a. Before allowing an individual unescorted access to 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive material 

or to the devices containing the material, licensees shall 

complete a background investigation of the individual 

seeking unescorted access authorization. The scope of the 

investigation shall encompass at least the seven years 

preceding the date of the background investigation or 

since the individual's 18th birthday, whichever is shorter. 

The background investigation shall include at a minimum: 

(1) Fingerprinting and an FBI identification and criminal 

history records check in accordance with subdivision 4 of 

this subsection; 

(2) Verification of true identity of the individual who is 

applying for unescorted access authorization. A licensee 

shall review official identification documents (e.g., 

driver's license; passport; government identification; 

certificate of birth issued by the state, province, or country 

of birth) and compare the documents to personal 

information data provided by the individual to identify any 

discrepancy in the information. Licensees shall document 

the type, expiration, and identification number of the 

identification document or maintain a photocopy of 

identifying documents on file in accordance with 

subdivision 6 of this subsection. Licensees shall certify in 

writing that the identification was properly reviewed and 

shall maintain the certification and all related documents 

for review upon inspection; 

(3) Verification of employment history, including military 

history. Licensees shall verify the individual's 

employment with each previous employer for the most 

recent seven years before the date of application; 

(4) Verification that the individual participated in the 

education process during the claimed period; 

(5) Completion of reference checks to determine the 

character and reputation of the individual who has applied 

for unescorted access authorization. Unless other 

references are not available, reference checks may not be 

conducted with any person who is known to be a close 

member of the individual's family, including but not 

limited to, the individual's spouse, parents, siblings, or 

children, or any individual who resides in the individual's 

permanent household. Reference checks under this 

subsection shall be limited to whether the individual has 

been and continues to be trustworthy and reliable; 

(6) To the extent possible, obtain independent information 

to corroborate the information provided by the individual 

(e.g., seek references not supplied by the individual); and 

(7) If a previous employer, educational institution, or any 

other entity with which the individual claims to have been 

engaged fails to provide the information or indicates an 

inability or unwillingness to provide information within a 

timeframe deemed appropriate by the licensee but at least 

after 10 business days of the request or if the licensee is 

unable to reach the entity, the licensee shall document the 

refusal, unwillingness, or inability in the record of 

investigation and attempt to obtain the information from 

an alternate source. 

b. Individuals who have been determined to be trustworthy 

and reliable for unescorted access to Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material in 

accordance with fingerprint orders as effective on October 

3, 2008, can continue to have unescorted access to 

Category 1 and Category 2 quantities of radioactive 

material without further investigation. These individuals 

shall be subject to the reinvestigation requirement of 

subdivision 3 c of this subsection. 

c. Licensees shall conduct a reinvestigation every 10 years 

for any individual with unescorted access to Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. The 

reinvestigation shall consist of fingerprinting and an FBI 

identification and criminal history records check in 

accordance with subdivision 4 of this subsection. The 

reinvestigations shall be completed within 10 years of the 

date on which these elements were last completed. 

4. Requirements for criminal history records checks of 

individuals granted unescorted access to Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. 

a. General performance objective and requirements. 

(1) Except for those individuals listed in subdivision 5 a of 

this subsection and those individuals grandfathered under 

subdivision 3 b of this subsection, each licensee subject to 

the provisions of this section shall fingerprint each 

individual who is to be permitted unescorted access to 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive 

material. The licensee shall submit all collected 

fingerprints to the NRC for transmission to the FBI. The 

licensee shall use the information received from the FBI 

as part of the required background investigation to 

determine whether to grant or deny further unescorted 

access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of 

radioactive materials for that individual. 

(2) The licensee shall notify each affected individual that 

his fingerprints will be used to secure a review of his 

criminal history record and shall inform him of the 
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procedures for revising the record or adding explanations 

to the record. 

(3) Fingerprinting is not required if a licensee is reinstating 

an individual's unescorted access authorization to 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive material 

if: 

(a) The individual returns to the same facility that granted 

unescorted access authorization within 365 days of the 

termination of his unescorted access authorization; and 

(b) The previous access was terminated under favorable 

conditions. 

(4) Fingerprints do not need to be taken if an individual 

who is an employee of a licensee, contractor, 

manufacturer, or supplier has been granted unescorted 

access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of 

radioactive material, access to safeguards information, or 

safeguards information-modified handling by another 

licensee based upon a background investigation conducted 

under this subsection, regulations or Fingerprint Orders 

from another Agreement agreement state, or 10 CFR Part 

73. An existing criminal history records check file may be 

transferred to the licensee asked to grant unescorted access 

in accordance with the provisions of subdivision 6 c of this 

subsection. 

(5) Licensees shall use the information obtained as part of 

a criminal history records check solely for the purpose of 

determining an individual's suitability for unescorted 

access authorization to Category 1 or Category 2 

quantities of radioactive materials, access to safeguards 

information, or safeguards information-modified 

handling. 

b. Prohibitions. 

(1) Licensees may not base a final determination to deny 

an individual unescorted access authorization to Category 

1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive material solely 

on the basis of information received from the FBI 

involving: 

(a) An arrest more than one year old for which there is no 

information of the disposition of the case; or 

(b) An arrest that resulted in dismissal of the charge or an 

acquittal. 

(2) Licensees may not use information received from a 

criminal history records check obtained under this 

subsection in a manner that would infringe upon the rights 

of any individual under the First Amendment to the 

Constitution of the United States, nor shall licensees use 

the information in any way that would discriminate among 

individuals on the basis of race, religion, national origin, 

gender, or age. 

c. Procedures for processing of fingerprint checks. 

(1) For the purpose of complying with this subsection, 

licensees shall use an appropriate method listed in 10 CFR 

37.7 to submit to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 

Commission, Director, Division of Physical and Cyber 

Security Policy, 11545 Rockville Pike, ATTN: Criminal 

History Program/Mail Stop T-8B20 T-07D04M, 

Rockville, MD, 20852, one completed, legible standard 

fingerprint card (form FD-258, ORIMDNRCOOOZ), 

electronic fingerprint scan, or, where practicable, other 

fingerprint record for each individual requiring unescorted 

access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of 

radioactive material. Copies of these forms may be 

obtained by emailing MAILSVS.Resource@nrc.gov. 

Guidance on submitting electronic fingerprints can be 

found at https://www.nrc.gov/security/chp.html. 

(2) Fees for processing of fingerprint cards are due upon 

application. Licensees shall submit payment with the 

application for the processing of fingerprints through 

corporate check, certified check, cashier's check, money 

order, or electronic payment, made payable to the "U.S. 

NRC." (For guidance on making electronic payments, 

contact the Division of Physical and Cyber Security Policy 

by emailing crimhist.resource@nrc.gov.) Combined 

payment for multiple applications is acceptable. The NRC 

publishes the amount of the fingerprint check application 

fee on the NRC public website. To find the current fee 

amount, go to the Licensee Criminal History Records 

Checks & Firearms Background Check information page 

at https://www.nrc.gov/security/chp.html and see the link 

for How do I determine how much to pay for the request?. 

(3) The NRC will forward to the submitting licensee all 

data received from the FBI as a result of the licensee's 

application for a criminal history records check. 

5. Relief. 

a. Fingerprinting, identification and criminal history 

records checks, and other elements of the background 

investigation required by this subsection are not required 

for the following individuals prior to granting unescorted 

access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of 

radioactive material: 

(1) An employee of the NRC or of the executive branch of 

the U.S. government who has undergone fingerprinting for 

a prior U.S. government criminal history records check; 

(2) A member of Congress; 

(3) An employee of a member of Congress or 

congressional committee who has undergone 

fingerprinting for a prior U.S. government criminal history 

records check; 

(4) The governor of a state or his designated state 

employee representative; 

(5) Federal, state, or local law-enforcement personnel; 

(6) State radiation control program directors and state 

homeland security advisors or their designated employee 

representatives; 

https://www.nrc.gov/security/chp.html
mailto:Crimhist.Resource@nrc.gov
https://www.nrc.gov/security/chp.html
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(7) State radiation program employees conducting 

security inspections on behalf of the NRC under an 

agreement executed under § 274i of the Atomic Energy 

Act (42 USC § 2021i); 

(8) Representatives of the International Atomic Energy 

Agency (IAEA) engaged in activities associated with the 

U.S./IAEA Safeguards Agreement who have been 

certified by the NRC; 

(9) Emergency response personnel who are responding to 

an emergency; 

(10) Commercial vehicle drivers for road shipments of 

Category 1 and Category 2 quantities of radioactive 

material; 

(11) Package handlers at transportation facilities such as 

freight terminals and railroad yards; 

(12) Any individual who has an active federal security 

clearance and provides the appropriate documentation. 

Written confirmation from the agency or employer that 

granted the federal security clearance or reviewed the 

criminal history records check shall be provided to the 

licensee. The licensee shall retain this documentation for 

a period of three years from the date the individual no 

longer requires unescorted access to Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material; and 

(13) Any individual employed by a service provider 

licensee for whom the service provider licensee has 

conducted the background investigation for the individual 

and approved the individual for unescorted access to 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive 

material. Written verification from the service provider 

shall be provided to the licensee. The licensee shall retain 

the documentation for a period of three years from the date 

the individual no longer requires unescorted access to 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive 

material. 

b. Fingerprinting and identification and criminal history 

records checks required by this subsection are not required 

for an individual who has had a favorably adjudicated U.S. 

Government criminal history records check within the last 

five years, under a comparable U.S. Government program 

involving fingerprinting and an FBI identification and 

criminal history records check, and the individual 

provides the appropriate documentation. Written 

confirmation from the agency or employer that reviewed 

the criminal history records check shall be provided to the 

licensee. The licensee shall retain this documentation for 

a period of three years from the date the individual no 

longer requires unescorted access to Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. These 

programs include, but are not limited to: 

(1) National Agency Check; 

(2) Transportation Worker Identification Credentials 

(TWIC) under 49 CFR Part 1572; 

(3) Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives 

background check and clearances under 27 CFR Part 555; 

(4) Health and Human Services security risk assessments 

for possession and use of select agents and toxins under 

42 CFR Part 73; 

(5) Hazardous material security threat assessment for 

hazardous material endorsement to commercial driver's 

license under 49 CFR Part 1572; and 

(6) Customs and Border Protection's Free and Secure 

Trade (FAST) Program. 

6. Protection of information. 

a. Each licensee that obtains background information on 

an individual under this subsection shall establish and 

maintain a system of files and written procedures for 

protection of the record and the personal information from 

unauthorized disclosure. 

b. The licensee may not disclose the record or personal 

information collected and maintained to persons other 

than the subject individual, his representative, or to those 

who have a need to have access to the information in 

performing assigned duties in the process of granting or 

denying unescorted access to Category 1 or Category 2 

quantities of radioactive material. No individual 

authorized to have access to the information may 

disseminate the information to any other individual who 

does not have a need to know. 

c. The personal information obtained on an individual 

from a background investigation may be provided to 

another licensee: 

(1) Upon the individual's written request to the licensee 

holding the data to disseminate the information contained 

in that individual's file; and 

(2) The recipient licensee verifies information such as 

name, date of birth, social security number, gender, and 

other applicable physical characteristics. 

d. The licensee shall make background investigation 

records obtained under this subsection available for 

examination by an authorized representative of the agency 

to determine compliance with the regulations and laws. 

e. The licensee shall retain all fingerprint and criminal 

history records (including data indicating no record) 

received from the FBI, or a copy of these records if the 

individual's file has been transferred, on an individual for 

three years from the date the individual no longer requires 

unescorted access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities 

of radioactive material. 

7. Access authorization program review. 

a. Each licensee shall be responsible for the continuing 

effectiveness of the access authorization program. Each 

licensee shall ensure that access authorization programs 

are reviewed to confirm compliance with the requirements 

of this subsection and that comprehensive actions are 
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taken to correct any noncompliance that is identified. The 

review program shall evaluate all program performance 

objectives and requirements. The review shall be 

performed at least annually. 

b. The results of the reviews, along with all 

recommendations, shall be documented. Each review 

report shall identify conditions that are adverse to the 

proper performance of the access authorization program; 

the cause of the conditions and, when appropriate, 

recommend corrective actions; and corrective actions 

taken. The licensee shall review the findings and take 

additional corrective actions necessary to preclude 

repetition of the condition, including reassessment of the 

deficient areas where indicated. 

c. Review records shall be maintained for three years. 

C. Physical protection requirements during use. 

1. Security program. 

a. Each licensee that possesses an aggregated Category 1 

or Category 2 quantity of radioactive material shall 

establish, implement, and maintain a security program in 

accordance with the requirements of this subsection. An 

applicant for a new license and each licensee that would 

become newly subject to the requirements of this 

subsection upon an amendment request for modification 

of its license shall implement the requirements of this 

subsection, as appropriate, before taking possession of an 

aggregated Category 1 or Category 2 quantity of 

radioactive material. Any licensee that has not previously 

implemented the requirements of this subsection shall 

provide written notification to the agency at least 90 days 

before aggregating radioactive material to a quantity that 

equals or exceeds the Category 2 threshold. 

b. Each licensee shall establish, implement, and maintain 

a security program that is designed to monitor and, without 

delay, detect, assess, and respond to an actual or attempted 

unauthorized access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities 

of radioactive material. 

c. Each licensee's security program shall include the 

program features, as appropriate, described in 

subdivisions 2 through 8 of this subsection. 

2. General security program requirements. 

a. Security plan. 

(1) Each licensee identified in subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection shall develop a written security plan specific to 

its facilities and operations. The purpose of the security 

plan is to establish the licensee's overall security strategy 

to ensure the integrated and effective functioning of the 

security program required by this subsection. The security 

plan shall, at a minimum, (i) describe the measures and 

strategies used to implement the requirements of this 

subsection and (ii) identify the security resources, 

equipment, and technology used to satisfy the 

requirements of this subsection. 

(2) The security plan shall be reviewed and approved by 

the individual with overall responsibility for the security 

program. 

(3) A licensee shall revise its security plan as necessary to 

ensure the effective implementation of agency 

requirements. The licensee shall ensure that (i) the 

revision has been reviewed and approved by the individual 

with overall responsibility for the security program and (ii) 

the affected individuals are instructed on the revised plan 

before the changes are implemented. 

(4) The licensee shall retain a copy of the current security 

plan as a record for three years after the security plan is no 

longer required. If any portion of the plan is superseded, 

the licensee shall retain the superseded material for three 

years after the record is superseded. 

b. Implementing procedures. 

(1) The licensee shall develop and maintain written 

procedures that document how the requirements of this 

subsection and the security plan will be met. 

(2) The implementing procedures and revisions to these 

procedures shall be approved in writing by the individual 

with overall responsibility for the security program. 

(3) The licensee shall retain a copy of the current 

procedure as a record for three years after the procedure is 

no longer needed. Superseded portions of the procedure 

shall be retained for three years after the record is 

superseded. 

c. Training. 

(1) Each licensee shall conduct training to ensure that 

those individuals implementing the security program 

possess and maintain the knowledge, skills, and abilities 

to carry out their assigned duties and responsibilities 

effectively. The training shall include at a minimum, 

instruction on: 

(a) The licensee's security program and procedures to 

secure Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive 

material, and the purpose and function of the security 

measures employed; 

(b) The responsibility to report promptly to the licensee 

any condition that causes or may cause a violation of 

agency requirements; 

(c) The responsibility of the licensee to report promptly to 

the local law-enforcement agency and the agency any 

actual or attempted theft, sabotage, or diversion of 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive 

material; and 

(d) The appropriate response to security alarms. 

(2) In determining those individuals who shall be trained 

on the security program, the licensee shall consider each 

individual's assigned activities during authorized use and 
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response to potential situations involving actual or 

attempted theft, diversion, or sabotage of Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. The extent 

of the training shall be commensurate with the individual's 

potential involvement in the security of Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. 

(3) Refresher training shall be provided at a frequency not 

to exceed 12 months and when significant changes have 

been made to the security program. This training shall 

include (i) review of the training requirements of this 

subsection and changes made to the security program 

since the last training; (ii) reports on all relevant security 

issues, problems, and lessons learned; (iii) relevant results 

of agency inspections; and (iv) relevant results of the 

licensee's program review and testing and maintenance. 

(4) The licensee shall maintain records of the initial and 

refresher training for three years from the date of the 

training. The training records shall include dates of the 

training, topics covered, a list of licensee personnel in 

attendance, and related information. 

d. Protection of information. 

(1) Licensees authorized to possess Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material shall limit 

access to and prevent the unauthorized disclosure of their 

security plan, implementing procedures, and the list of 

individuals who have been approved for unescorted 

access. 

(2) Efforts to limit access shall include the development, 

implementation, and maintenance of written policies and 

procedures for controlling access to and for proper 

handling and protection against unauthorized disclosure of 

the security plan, implementing procedures, and the list of 

individuals who have been approved for unescorted 

access. 

(3) Before granting an individual access to the security 

plan, implementing procedures, or the list of individuals 

who have been approved for unescorted access, licensees 

shall: 

(a) Evaluate an individual's need to know the security 

plan, implementing procedures, or the list of individuals 

who have been approved for unescorted access; and 

(b) If the individual has not been authorized for unescorted 

access to Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of 

radioactive material, the licensee shall complete a 

background investigation to determine the individual's 

trustworthiness and reliability. A trustworthiness and 

reliability determination shall be conducted by the 

reviewing official and shall include the background 

investigation elements contained in subdivisions B 3 a (2) 

through (7) of this section. 

(4) Licensees need not subject any individual to 

background investigation elements for protection of 

information if that individual is included in the categories 

of individuals listed in subdivisions B 5 a (1) through (12) 

of this section or is a security service provider employee, 

provided written verification that the employee has been 

determined to be trustworthy and reliable, by the required 

background investigation in subdivisions B 3 a (2) though 

(7) of this subsection, has been provided by the security 

service provider. 

(5) The licensee shall document the basis for concluding 

that an individual is trustworthy and reliable and should be 

granted access to the security plan, implementing 

procedures, or the list of individuals who have been 

approved for unescorted access. 

(6) Licensees shall maintain a list of persons currently 

approved for access to the security plan implementing 

procedures, or the list of individuals who have been 

approved for unescorted access. When a licensee 

determines that a person no longer needs access to the 

security plan, implementing procedures, or the list of 

individuals who have been approved for unescorted access 

or no longer meets the access authorization requirements 

for access to the information, the licensee shall remove the 

person from the approved list as soon as possible, but no 

later than seven working days after the determination, and 

take prompt measures to ensure that the individual is 

unable to obtain the security plan, implementing 

procedures, or the list of individuals who have been 

approved for unescorted access. 

(7) When not in use, the licensee shall store its security 

plan, implementing procedures, and the list of individuals 

who have been approved for unescorted access in a 

manner to prevent unauthorized access. Information 

stored in nonremovable electronic form shall be password 

protected. 

(8) The licensee shall retain as a record a copy of the 

information protection procedures and the list of 

individuals approved for access to the security plan, 

implementing procedures, or the list of individuals who 

have been approved for unescorted access for three years 

after the document has been superseded. 

3. Local law-enforcement agency (LLEA) coordination. 

a. A licensee subject to this subsection shall coordinate, to 

the extent practicable, with an LLEA for responding to 

threats to the licensee's facility, including any necessary 

armed response. The information provided to the LLEA 

shall include: 

(1) A description of the facilities and the Category 1 and 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive materials along with 

a description of the licensee's security measures that have 

been implemented to comply with this subsection; and 

(2) A notification that the licensee will request a timely 

armed response by the LLEA to any actual or attempted 

theft, sabotage, or diversion of Category 1 or Category 2 

quantities of material. 
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b. The licensee shall notify the agency within three 

business days if: 

(1) The LLEA has not responded to the request for 

coordination within 60 days of the coordination request; 

or 

(2) The LLEA notifies the licensee that the LLEA does not 

plan to participate in coordination activities. 

c. The license shall document its efforts to coordinate with 

the LLEA. The documentation shall be kept for three 

years. 

d. The licensee shall coordinate with the LLEA at least 

every 12 months, or when changes to the facility design or 

operation adversely affect the potential vulnerability of the 

licensee's material to theft, sabotage, or diversion. 

4. Security zones. 

a. Licensees shall ensure that all aggregated Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material are used or 

stored within licensee-established security zones. Security 

zones may be permanent or temporary. 

b. Temporary security zones shall be established as 

necessary to meet the licensee's transitory or intermittent 

business activities, such as periods of maintenance, source 

delivery, and source replacement. 

c. Security zones shall, at a minimum, allow unescorted 

access only to approved individuals by: 

(1) Isolation of Category 1 and Category 2 quantities of 

radioactive materials by the use of continuous physical 

barriers that allow access to the security zone only through 

established access control points. A physical barrier is a 

natural or man-made structure or formation sufficient for 

the isolation of the Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of 

radioactive material within a security zone; 

(2) Direct control of the security zone by approved 

individuals at all times; or 

(3) A combination of continuous physical barriers and 

direct control. 

d. For Category 1 quantities of radioactive material during 

periods of maintenance, source receipt, preparation for 

shipment, installation, or source removal or exchange, the 

licensee shall, at a minimum, provide sufficient 

individuals approved for unescorted access to maintain 

continuous surveillance of sources in temporary security 

zones and in any security zone in which physical barriers 

or intrusion detection systems have been disabled to allow 

such activities. 

e. Individuals not approved for unescorted access to 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive material 

shall be escorted by an approved individual when in a 

security zone. 

5. Monitoring, detection, and assessment. 

a. Monitoring and detection. 

(1) Licensees shall establish and maintain the capability to 

continuously monitor and detect without delay all 

unauthorized entries into its security zones. Licensees 

shall provide the means to maintain continuous 

monitoring and detection capability in the event of a loss 

of the primary power source, or provide for an alarm and 

response in the event of a loss of this capability to 

continuously monitor and detect unauthorized entries. 

(2) Monitoring and detection shall be performed by: 

(a) A monitored intrusion detection system that is linked 

to an onsite or offsite central monitoring facility; 

(b) Electronic devices for intrusion detection alarms that 

will alert nearby facility personnel; 

(c) A monitored video surveillance system; 

(d) Direct visual surveillance by approved individuals 

located within the security zone; or 

(e) Direct visual surveillance by a licensee designed 

individual located outside the security zone. 

(3) A licensee subject to this subsection shall also have a 

means to detect unauthorized removal of the radioactive 

material from the security zone. This detection capability 

shall provide: 

(a) For Category 1 quantities of radioactive material, 

immediate detection of any attempted unauthorized 

removal of the radioactive material from the security zone. 

Such immediate detection capability shall be provided by 

electronic sensors linked to an alarm, continuous 

monitored video surveillance, or direct visual 

surveillance; and 

(b) For Category 2 quantities of radioactive material, 

weekly verification through physical checks, tamper 

indicating devices, use, or other means to ensure that the 

radioactive material is present. 

b. Licensees shall immediately assess each actual or 

attempted unauthorized entry into the security zone to 

determine whether the unauthorized access was an actual 

or attempted theft, sabotage, or diversion. 

c. For personnel and automated or electronic systems 

supporting the licensee's monitoring, detection, and 

assessments system, licensees shall: 

(1) Maintain continuous capability for personnel 

communication and electronic data transmission and 

processing among site security systems; and 

(2) Provide an alternate communication capability for 

personnel, and an alternative data transmission and 

processing capability, in the event of a loss of the primary 

means of communication or data transmission and 

processing. Alternative communications and data 

transmissions systems may not be subject to the same 

failure modes as the primary systems. 

d. Licensees shall immediately respond to any actual or 

attempted unauthorized access to the security zones, or 
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actual or attempted theft, sabotage, or diversion of 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of radioactive material 

at licensee facilities or temporary job sites. For any 

unauthorized access involving an actual or attempted theft, 

sabotage, or diversion of Category 1 or Category 2 

quantities of radioactive material, the licensee's response 

shall include requesting, without delay, an armed response 

from the LLEA. 

6. Maintenance and testing. 

a. Each licensee subject to this subsection shall implement 

a maintenance and testing program to ensure that intrusion 

alarms, associated communication systems, and other 

physical components of the systems used to secure or 

detect unauthorized access to radioactive material are 

maintained in operable condition and are capable of 

performing their intended function when needed. The 

equipment relied on to meet the security requirements of 

this subsection shall be inspected and tested for operability 

and performance at the manufacturer's suggested 

frequency. If there is no frequency suggested by the 

manufacturer or the frequency specified is greater than 

three months, the testing shall be performed at least 

quarterly, not to exceed three months. 

b. The licensee shall maintain records on the maintenance 

and testing activities for three years. 

7. Requirements for mobile devices. Each licensee that 

possesses mobile devices containing Category 1 or Category 

2 quantities of radioactive material shall: 

a. Have two independent physical controls that form 

tangible barriers to secure the material from unauthorized 

removal when the device is not under direct control and 

constant surveillance by the licensee; and 

b. For devices in or on a vehicle or trailer, unless the health 

and safety requirements for a site prohibit the disabling of 

the vehicle, the licensee shall utilize a method to disable 

the vehicle or trailer when not under direct control and 

constant surveillance by the licensee. Licensees shall not 

rely on the removal of an ignition key to meet this 

requirement. 

8. Security program review. 

a. Each licensee shall be responsible for the continuing 

effectiveness of the security program. Each licensee shall 

ensure that the security program is reviewed to confirm 

compliance with the requirements of this subsection and 

that comprehensive actions are taken to correct any 

noncompliance that is identified. The review shall include 

the radioactive material security program content and 

implementation. The review shall be conducted at least 

annually, not to exceed 12 months. 

b. The results of the review, along with all 

recommendations, shall be documented. Each review 

report shall identify conditions that are adverse to the 

proper performance of the security program, the cause of 

the condition, corrective actions taken, and, when 

appropriate, recommend corrective actions. The licensee 

shall review the findings and take any additional 

corrective actions necessary to preclude repetition of the 

condition, including reassessment of the deficient areas 

where indicated. 

c. The licensee shall maintain the review documentation 

for three years. 

9. Reporting of events. 

a. The licensee shall immediately notify the LLEA after 

determining that an unauthorized entry resulted in an 

actual or attempted theft, sabotage, or diversion of 

Category 1 or Category 2 quantity of radioactive material. 

As soon as possible after initiating a response, but not at 

the expense of causing delay or interfering with the LLEA 

response to the event, the licensee shall notify the agency 

by telephone at 804-864-8150 during normal business 

hours and 804-674-2400 after hours. In no case shall the 

notification to the agency be later than four hours after the 

discovery of any attempted or actual theft, sabotage, or 

diversion. 

b. The licensee shall assess any suspicious activity related 

to possible theft, sabotage, or diversion of Category 1 or 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material and notify 

the LLEA as appropriate. As soon as possible but not later 

than four hours after notifying the LLEA, the licensee 

shall notify the agency by telephone 804-864-8150 during 

normal business hours and 804-674-2400 after hours. 

c. The initial telephonic notification shall be followed 

within a period of 30 days by a written report submitted to 

the agency. The report shall include sufficient information 

for agency analysis and evaluation, including 

identification of any necessary corrective actions to 

prevent future instances. 

D. Physical protection in transit. 

1. Additional requirements for transfer of Category 1 and 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. A licensee 

transferring a Category 1 or Category 2 quantity of 

radioactive material to a licensee of the agency, the NRC, or 

another Agreement agreement state shall meet the license 

verification provisions listed in this subdivision instead of 

those listed in 12VAC5-481-570. 

a. Any licensee transferring Category 1 quantities of 

radioactive material to a licensee of the agency, the NRC, 

or another Agreement agreement state, prior to conducting 

such transfer, shall verify with the NRC's license 

verification system or the license issuing authority that the 

transferee's license authorizes the receipt of the type, form, 

and quantity of radioactive material to be transferred and 

that the licensee is authorized to receive radioactive 

material at the location requested for delivery. If the 

verification is conducted by contacting the license-issuing 
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authority, the transferor shall document the verification. 

For transfers within the same organization, the licensee 

does not need to verify the transfer. 

b. Any licensee transferring Category 2 quantities of 

radioactive material to a licensee of the agency, the NRC, 

or another Agreement agreement state, prior to conducting 

such transfer, shall verify with the NRC's license 

verification system or the license-issuing authority that the 

transferee's license authorizes the receipt of the type, form, 

and quantity of radioactive material to be transferred. If 

the verification is conducted by contacting the license-

issuing authority, the transferor shall document the 

verification. For transfers within the same organization, 

the licensee does not need to verify the transfer. 

c. In an emergency where the licensee cannot reach the 

license-issuing authority and the license verification 

system is nonfunctional, the licensee may accept a written 

certification by the transferee that it is authorized by 

license to receive the type, form, and quantity of 

radioactive material to be transferred. The certification 

shall include the license number, current revision number, 

issuing agency, expiration date, and for a Category 1 

shipment, the authorized address. The licensee shall keep 

a copy of the certification. The certification shall be 

confirmed by use of the NRC's license verification system 

or by contacting the license-issuing authority by the end 

of the next business day. 

d. The transferor shall keep a copy of the verification 

documentation as a record for three years. 

2. Applicability of physical protection of Category 1 and 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material during transit. 

a. For shipments of category 1 quantities of radioactive 

material, each shipping licensee shall comply with the 

requirements for physical protection contained in 

subdivisions 3 a, 3 e, 4, 5 a (1), 5 b (1), 5 c, 6 a, 6 c, 6 e, 6 

g, and 6 h of this subsection. 

b. For shipments of Category 2 quantities of radioactive 

material, each shipping licensee shall comply with the 

requirements for physical protection contained in 

subdivisions 3 b through 3 e, 5 a (2), 5 a (3), 5 b (2), 5 c, 

6 b, 6 d, 6 f, 6 g, and 6 h of this subsection. 

c. The shipping licensee shall be responsible for meeting 

the requirements of this subsection unless the receiving 

licensee has agreed in writing to arrange for the in-transit 

physical protection required under this subsection. 

3. Preplanning and coordination of shipment of Category 1 

or Category 2 quantities of radioactive material. 

a. Each licensee that plans to transport, or deliver to a 

carrier for transport, licensed material that is a Category 1 

quantity of radioactive material outside the confines of the 

licensee's facility or other place of use or storage shall: 

(1) Preplan and coordinate shipment arrival and departure 

times with the receiving licensee; 

(2) Preplan and coordinate shipment information with the 

governor or the governor's designee of any state through 

which the shipment will pass to discuss the state's 

intention to provide law-enforcement escorts and identify 

safe havens; and 

(3) Document the preplanning and coordination activities. 

b. Each licensee that plans to transport, or deliver to a 

carrier for transport, licensed material that is a Category 2 

quantity of radioactive material outside the confines of the 

licensee's facility or other place of use or storage shall 

coordinate the shipment no-later-than arrival time and the 

expected shipment arrival with the receiving licensee. The 

licensee shall document the coordination activities. 

c. Each licensee that receives a shipment of a Category 2 

quantity of radioactive material shall confirm receipt of 

the shipment with the originator. If the shipment has not 

arrived by the no-later-than arrival time, the receiving 

licensee shall notify the originator. 

d. Each licensee that transports or plans to transport a 

shipment of a Category 2 quantity of radioactive material 

and determines that the shipment will arrive after the no-

later-than arrival time provided pursuant to subdivision 3 

b of this subsection, shall promptly notify the receiving 

licensee of the new no-later-than arrival time. 

e. The licensee shall retain a copy of the documentation 

for preplanning and coordination and any revision thereof 

as a record for three years. 

4. As specified in subdivision 3 of this subsection, each 

licensee shall provide advance notification to the agency and 

the governor of a state, or the governor's designee, of the 

shipment of licensed material in a Category 1 quantity, 

through or across the boundary of the state, before the 

transport or delivery to a carrier for transport of the licensed 

material outside the confines of the licensee's facility or 

other place of use or storage. 

a. Procedures for submitting advance notification: 

(1) The notification shall be made to the agency and to the 

office of each appropriate governor or governor's 

designee. The contact information, including telephone 

and mailing addresses, of governors and governor's 

designees is available on the NRC website at 

https://scp.nrc.gov/special/designee.pdf. The notification 

to the agency shall be in accordance with 12VAC5-481-

150. 

(2) A notification delivered by mail shall be postmarked 

at least seven days before transport of the shipment 

commences at the shipping facility. 

(3) A notification delivered by any means other than mail 

shall reach the agency at least four days before the 

transport of the shipment commences and shall reach the 

https://scp.nrc.gov/special/designee.pdf
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office of the governor or the governor's designee at least 

four days before transport of a shipment within or through 

the state. 

b. Each advance notification of shipment of Category 1 

quantities of radioactive material shall contain the 

following information, if available at the time of the 

notification: 

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the 

shipper, carrier, and receiver of the Category 1 radioactive 

material; 

(2) The license numbers of the shipper and receiver; 

(3) A description of the radioactive material contained in 

the shipment, including the radionuclides and quantity; 

(4) The point of origin of the shipment and the estimated 

time and date that shipment will commence; 

(5) The estimated time and date that the shipment is 

expected to enter each state along the route; 

(6) The estimated time and date of arrival for the shipment 

at the destination; and 

(7) A point of contact, with a telephone number, for 

current shipment information. 

c. Revision notice. 

(1) The licensee shall provide any information not 

previously available at the time of the initial notification, 

as soon as the information becomes available but not later 

than commencement of the shipment, to the agency and 

the governor of the state or the governor's designee. 

(2) A licensee shall promptly notify the agency and 

governor of the state or the governor's designee of any 

changes to the information provided in accordance with 

this subdivision 4. 

d. Each licensee who cancels a shipment for which 

advance notification has been sent shall send a 

cancellation notice to the agency and the governor of each 

state or to the governor's designee previously notified. The 

licensee shall send the cancellation notice before the 

shipment would have commenced or as soon thereafter as 

possible. The licensee shall state in the notice that it is a 

cancellation and identify the advance notification that is 

being canceled. 

e. The licensee shall retain a copy of the advance 

notification and any revision and cancellation notices as a 

record for three years. 

f. State officials, state employees, and other individuals, 

whether or not licensees of the agency, NRC, or another 

Agreement agreement state, who receive schedule 

information of the kind specified in subdivision 4 b of this 

subsection shall protect that information against 

unauthorized disclosure as specified in subdivision C 2 d 

of this section. 

5. Requirements for physical protection of Category 1 and 

Category 2 quantities of radioactive material during 

shipment. 

a. Shipments by road. 

(1) Each licensee who transports or delivers to a carrier for 

transport in a single shipment a Category 1 quantity of 

radioactive material shall: 

(a) Ensure that movement control centers are established 

that maintain position information from a remote location. 

These control centers shall monitor shipments 24 hours a 

day, seven days a week and have the ability to 

communicate immediately, in an emergency, with the 

appropriate law-enforcement agencies; 

(b) Ensure that redundant communications are established 

that allow the transport to contact the escort vehicle, when 

an escort vehicle is used, and movement control center at 

all times. Redundant communications may not be subject 

to the same interference factors as the primary 

communication; 

(c) Ensure that shipments are continuously and actively 

monitored by a telemetric position monitoring system or 

an alternative tracking system reporting to a movement 

control center. A movement control center shall provide 

positive confirmation of the location, status, and control 

over the shipment. The movement control center shall be 

prepared to promptly implement preplanned procedures in 

response to deviations from the authorized route or a 

notification of actual, attempted, or suspicious activities 

related to the theft, loss, or diversion of a shipment. These 

procedures will include, but not be limited to, the 

identification of and contact information for the 

appropriate LLEA along the shipment route; 

(d) Provide an individual to accompany the driver for 

those highway shipments with a driving time period 

greater than the maximum number of allowable hours of 

service in a 24-hour duty day as established by the U.S. 

Department of Transportation Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Administration. The accompanying individual may 

be another driver; and 

(e) Develop written normal and contingency procedures to 

address (i) notifications to the communication center and 

law-enforcement agencies; (ii) communication protocols 

that shall include a strategy for the use of authentication 

codes and duress codes and provisions for refueling and 

other stops, detours, and locations where communication 

is expected to be temporarily lost; (iii) loss of 

communication; and (iv) responses to an actual or 

attempted theft or diversion of a shipment. 

(f) Each licensee who makes arrangements for the 

shipment of Category 1 quantities of radioactive material 

shall ensure that drivers, accompanying personnel, and 

movement control center personnel have access to the 

normal and contingency procedures. 
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(2) Each licensee that transports Category 2 quantities of 

radioactive material shall maintain constant control and 

surveillance during transit and have the capability for 

immediate communication to summon appropriate 

response or assistance. 

(3) Each licensee who delivers to a carrier for transport in 

a single shipment a Category 2 quantity of radioactive 

material shall: 

(a) Use carriers that have established package tracking 

systems. An established package tracking system is a 

documented, proven, and reliable system routinely used to 

transport objects of value. In order for a package tracking 

system to maintain constant control and surveillance, the 

package tracking system shall allow the shipper or 

transporter to identify when and where the package was 

last and when it should arrive at the next point of control; 

(b) Use carriers that maintain constant control and 

surveillance during transit and have the capability for 

immediate communication to summon appropriate 

response or assistance; and 

(c) Use carriers that have established tracking systems that 

require an authorized signature prior to releasing the 

package for delivery or return. 

b. Shipments by rail. 

(1) Each licensee who transports, or delivers to a carrier 

for transport, in a single shipment a Category 1 quantity of 

radioactive material shall: 

(a) Ensure that rail shipments are monitored by a 

telemetric position monitoring system or an alternative 

tracking system reporting to the licensee, third-party, or 

railroad communications center. The communications 

center shall provide positive confirmation of the location 

of the shipment and its status. The communications center 

shall implement preplanned procedures in response to 

deviations from the authorized route or to a notification of 

actual, attempted, or suspicious activities related to the 

theft or diversion of a shipment. These procedures will 

include, but not be limited to, the identification of and 

contact information for the appropriate LLEA along the 

shipment route; and 

(b) Ensure that periodic reports to the communications 

center are made at preset intervals. 

(2) Each licensee who transports, or delivers to a carrier 

for transport, in a single shipment a Category 2 quantity of 

radioactive material shall: 

(a) Use carriers that have established package tracking 

systems. An established package tracking system is a 

documented, proven, and reliable system routinely used to 

transport objects of value. In order for a package tracking 

system to maintain constant control and surveillance, the 

package tracking system shall allow the shipper or 

transporter to identify when and where the package was 

last and when it should arrive at the next point of control; 

(b) Use carriers that maintain constant control and 

surveillance during transit and have the capability for 

immediate communication to summon appropriate 

response or assistance; and 

(c) Use carriers that have established tracking systems that 

require an authorized signature prior to releasing the 

package for delivery or return. 

c. Each licensee who makes arrangements for the 

shipment of Category 1 quantities of radioactive material 

shall immediately conduct an investigation upon 

discovery that a Category 1 shipment is lost or missing. 

Each licensee who makes arrangements for the shipment 

of Category 2 quantities of radioactive material shall 

immediately conduct an investigation, in coordination 

with the receiving licensee, of any shipment that has not 

arrived by the designated no-later-than arrival time. 

6. Reporting of events. 

a. The shipping licensee shall notify the appropriate LLEA 

and the agency within one hour of its determination that a 

shipment of Category 1 quantities of radioactive material 

is lost or missing. The appropriate LLEA would be the 

law-enforcement agency in the area of the shipment's last 

confirmed location. During the investigation required by 

this subsection, the shipping licensee will provide agreed 

upon updates to the agency on the status of the 

investigation. 

b. The shipping licensee shall notify the agency within 

four hours of its determination that a shipment of Category 

2 quantities of radioactive material is lost or missing. If, 

after 24 hours of its determination that the shipment is lost 

or missing, the radioactive material has not been located 

and secure, the licensee shall immediately notify the 

agency. 

c. The shipping licensee shall notify the designated LLEA 

along the shipment route as soon as possible upon 

discovery of any actual or attempted theft of diversion of 

a shipment or suspicious activities related to the theft or 

diversion of a shipment of a Category 1 quantity of 

radioactive material. As soon as possible after notifying 

the LLEA, the licensee shall notify the agency upon 

discovery of any actual or attempted theft or diversion of 

a shipment, or any suspicious activity related to the 

shipment, of Category 1 radioactive material. 

d. The shipping licensee shall notify the agency as soon as 

possible upon discovery of any actual or attempted theft 

or diversion of a shipment, or any suspicious activity 

related to the shipment, of a Category 2 quantity of 

radioactive material. 

e. The shipping licensee shall notify the agency and the 

LLEA as soon as possible upon recovery of any lost or 

missing Category 1 quantities of radioactive material. 
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f. The shipping licensee shall notify the agency as soon as 

possible upon recovery of any lost or missing Category 2 

quantities of radioactive material. 

g. The initial telephonic notification required by 

subdivisions 6 a through 6 d of this subsection shall be 

followed within a period of 30 days by a written report 

submitted to the agency. A written report is not required 

for notifications on suspicious activities required by 

subdivisions 6 c and 6 d of this subsection. The report shall 

include the following information: 

(1) A description of the licensed material involved, 

including kind, quantity, and chemical and physical form; 

(2) A description of the circumstances under which the 

loss or theft occurred; 

(3) A statement of disposition, or probable disposition, of 

the licensed material involved; 

(4) Actions that have been taken, or will be taken, to 

recover the material; and 

(5) Procedures or measures that have been, or will be, 

adopted to ensure against a recurrence of the loss or theft 

of licensed material. 

h. Subsequent to filing the written report, the licensee shall 

also report any additional substantive information on the 

loss or theft within 30 days after the licensee learns of such 

information. 

E. Records. 

1. Each record required by this section shall be legible 

throughout the retention period specified. The record may be 

the original or a reproduced copy or a microform, provided 

that the copy or microform is authenticated by authorized 

personnel and that the microform is capable of producing a 

clear copy throughout the required retention period. The 

record may also be stored in electronic media with the 

capability for producing legible, accurate, and complete 

records during the required retention period. Records such 

as letters, drawings, and specifications shall include all 

pertinent information such as stamps, initials, and 

signatures. The licensee shall maintain adequate safeguards 

against tampering with and loss of records. 

2. Licensees shall maintain the records that are required by 

this section for the period specified. If a retention period is 

not otherwise specified, these records shall be retained until 

the agency terminates the facility's license. All records 

related to this section may be destroyed upon agency 

termination of the facility license. 

12VAC5-481-1700. Authority and responsibilities for the 

radiation protection programs and changes. 

A. In addition to the radiation protection program 

requirements of 12VAC5-481-630, the a licensee's 

management or designee shall approve, in writing: 

1. Requests for a license application, renewal, or amendment 

before submittal to the agency; 

2. Any individual before allowing that individual to work as 

an authorized user, authorized nuclear pharmacist, or an 

authorized medical physicist; and 

3. Radiation protection program changes that do not require 

a license amendment and are permitted under subsection F I 

of this section. 

B. The licensee's management shall appoint a radiation safety 

officer (RSO) who agrees, in writing, to be responsible for 

implementing the radiation protection program. 

The licensee, through the RSO, shall ensure that radiation 

safety activities are being performed in accordance with 

licensee-approved procedures and regulatory requirements. A 

licensee's management may appoint, in writing, one or more 

associate radiation safety officers RSOs to support the RSO. 

The RSO, with written agreement of the licensee's 

management, must assign the specific duties and tasks to each 

associate RSO. These duties and tasks are restricted to the 

types of use for which the associate radiation safety officer 

RSO is listed on a license. The RSO may delegate duties and 

tasks to the associate radiation safety officer RSO but shall not 

delegate the authority or responsibilities for implementing the 

radiation protection program. 

C. For up to 60 days each year, licensees may permit an 

authorized user or an individual qualified to be a an RSO, 

under 12VAC5-481-1750 and 12VAC5-481-1790, to function 

as a temporary radiation safety officer RSO and to perform the 

functions of an RSO, as provided in subsection G if the 

licensee takes the actions required in subsections B, E, G, and 

H of this section and notifies the agency in accordance with 

12VAC5-481-1690 B. 

D. Licensees A licensee may simultaneously appoint more 

than one temporary RSO in accordance with subsection C of 

this section, if needed to ensure that the licensee has a 

temporary RSO that satisfies the requirements to be a an RSO 

for each of the different types of uses of radioactive material 

permitted by the licensee license. 

E. Licensees that are A licensee shall establish the authority, 

duties, and responsibilities of the RSO in writing. 

F. A licensee that is authorized for two or more different types 

of uses of radioactive material under Articles 6, 7, and 9 of this 

part, or two or more types of units under 12VAC5-481-2040 

B, shall establish a Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) to 

oversee all uses of radioactive material permitted by the 

license. The RSC shall must include an authorized user for of 

each type of use permitted by the license, the RSO, a 

representative of the nursing service, and a representative of 

management who is neither an authorized user nor a an RSO. 

The RSC may include other members the licensee considers 

appropriate. 
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F. G. A licensee shall provide the RSO sufficient authority, 

organizational freedom, time, resources, and management 

prerogative to: 

1. Identify radiation safety problems;  

2. Initiate, recommend, or provide corrective actions; 

3. Stop unsafe operations; and 

4. Verify implementation of corrective actions. 

H. A licensee shall retain a record of actions taken under 

subsections A, B, and E of this section in accordance with 

12VAC5-481-2070. 

I. A licensee may revise its radiation protection program 

without agency approval if: 

1. The revision does not require a license amendment under 

12VAC5-481-450 or 12VAC5-481-1680; 

2. The revision is in compliance with this chapter and the 

license; 

3. The revision has been reviewed and approved by the RSO 

and licensee management; and 

4. The affected individuals are instructed on the revised 

program before the changes are implemented. 

12VAC5-481-1750. Training for radiation safety officer 

and associate radiation safety officer. 

Except as provided in 12VAC5-481-1780, licensees shall 

require an individual fulfilling the responsibilities of the 

radiation safety officer (RSO) or an individual assigned duties 

and tasks as an associate radiation safety officer as provided in 

12VAC5-481-1700 to be an individual who: 

1. Is certified by a specialty board who has been recognized 

by the agency, the NRC, or an agreement state and who 

meets the requirements of subdivision 5 of this section. The 

names of board certifications that have been recognized by 

the NRC or an agreement state are posted on the NRC's 

Medical Uses Licensee Toolkit Web page. To have its 

certification process recognized, a specialty board shall 

require all candidates for certification to (i) hold a bachelor's 

or graduate degree from an accredited college or university 

in physical science or engineering or biological science with 

a minimum of 20 college credits in physical science; (ii) 

have five or more years of professional experience in health 

physics (graduate training may be substituted for no more 

than two years of the required experience) including at least 

three years in applied health physics; and (iii) pass an 

examination administered by diplomates of the specialty 

board that evaluates knowledge and competence in radiation 

physics and instrumentation, radiation protection, 

mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 

radioactivity, radiation biology, and radiation dosimetry; or 

2. Holds a master's or doctor's doctorate degree in physics, 

medical physics, other physical science, engineering, or 

applied mathematics from an accredited college or 

university; has two years of full-time practical training or 

supervised experience in medical physics (i) under the 

supervision of a medical physicist who is certified in medical 

physics by a specialty board recognized by the agency, NRC, 

or an agreement state or (ii) in clinical nuclear medicine 

facilities providing diagnostic or therapeutic services under 

the direction of physicians who meet the requirements for 

authorized users in 12VAC5-481-1780, 12VAC5-481-1940, 

or 12VAC5-481-1980; and has passed an examination 

administered by diplomates of the specialty board that 

assesses knowledge and competence in clinical diagnostic 

radiological or nuclear medicine physics and in radiation 

safety; or 

3. Has completed a structured educational program 

consisting of provisions, as follows: 

a. 200 hours of classroom and laboratory training in the 

following areas: 

(1) Radiation physics and instrumentation; 

(2) Radiation protection; 

(3) Mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 

radioactivity; 

(4) Radiation biology; and 

(5) Radiation dosimetry; and 

b. One year of full-time radiation safety experience under 

the supervision of the individual identified as the RSO on 

an agency, NRC, or another agreement state license or 

permit issued by an NRC master material licensee that 

authorizes similar types of uses of radioactive material. An 

associate radiation safety officer may provide supervision 

for those areas for which the associate radiation safety 

officer is authorized on an agency, NRC, or another 

agreement state license or permit issued by an NRC master 

material licensee. The full-time radiation safety 

experience must involve the following: 

(1) Shipping, receiving, and performing related radiation 

surveys; 

(2) Using and performing checks for proper operation of 

instruments used to determine the activity of dosages, 

survey meters, and instruments used to measure 

radionuclides; 

(3) Securing and controlling radioactive material; 

(4) Using administrative controls to avoid mistakes in the 

administration of radioactive material; 

(5) Using procedures to prevent or minimize radioactive 

contamination and using proper decontamination 

procedures; 

(6) Using emergency procedures to control radioactive 

material; and 
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(7) Disposing of radioactive material; and 

c. This individual must obtain a written attestation signed 

by a preceptor radiation safety officer or associate 

radiation safety officer who has experience with the 

radiation safety aspects of similar types of use of 

radioactive material for which the individual is seeking 

approval as a radiation safety officer or an associate 

radiation safety officer. The written attestation must state 

that the individual has satisfactorily completed the 

requirements in subdivisions 3 a, 3 b, and 5 of this section 

and is able to independently fulfill the radiation safety-

related duties as a radiation safety officer or has an 

associate radiation safety officer for a medical use 

licensee; or 

4. Meets the following qualifications: 

a. Is a medical physicist who has been certified by a 

specialty board whose certification process has been 

recognized by the agency, NRC, or an agreement state 

under subdivision 1 of 12VAC5-481-1760 and has 

experience in radiation safety for similar types of use of 

radioactive material for which the licensee is seeking the 

approval of the individual as RSO or an associate radiation 

safety officer and who meets the requirements in 

subdivision 5 of this section; or 

b. Is an authorized user, authorized medical physicist, or 

authorized nuclear pharmacist (i) identified on an agency, 

NRC, or another agreement state license; a permit issued 

by a NRC master material licensee; a permit issued by an 

agency, NRC, or another agreement state board scope 

licensee; or a permit issued by a NRC master material 

license board scope permittee; (ii) has experience with the 

radiation safety aspects of similar types of use of 

radioactive material for which the individual has RSO or 

associate radiation safety officer responsibilities; and (iii) 

meets subdivision 5 of this section; or 

c. Has experience with the radiation safety aspects of the 

types of use of radioactive material for which the 

individual is seeking simultaneous approval both as a 

radiation safety officer and the authorized user on the 

same new medical use license or new medical use permit 

issued by a NRC master material license licensee. The 

individual must also meet the requirements in subdivision 

5 of this section. 

5. Has training in the radiation safety, regulatory issues, and 

emergency procedures for the types of use for which a 

licensee seeks approval. This training requirement may be 

satisfied by completing training that is supervised by a an 

RSO, an associate radiation safety officer, authorized 

medical physicist, authorized nuclear pharmacist, or 

authorized user, as appropriate, who is authorized for the 

types of use for which the licensee is seeking approval. 

12VAC5-481-1770. Training for an authorized nuclear 

pharmacist. 

Except as provided in 12VAC5-481-1780, licensees shall 

require the authorized nuclear pharmacist (ANP) to be a 

pharmacist who: 

1. Is certified by a specialty board whose certification 

process has been recognized by the NRC, the agency, or an 

agreement state. The names of board certifications that have 

been recognized by the NRC or an agreement state are 

posted on the NRC's Medical Uses Licensee Toolkit web 

page. To have its certification process recognized, a 

specialty board shall require all candidates for certification 

to: 

a. Have graduated from a pharmacy program accredited 

by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education 

Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) 

(previously named the American Council on 

Pharmaceutical Education) or have passed the Foreign 

Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) 

examination; 

b. Hold a current, active license to practice pharmacy; 

c. Provide evidence of having acquired at least 4000 hours 

of training or experience in nuclear pharmacy practice. 

Academic training may be substituted for no more than 

2000 hours of the required training and experience; and 

d. Pass an examination in nuclear pharmacy administered 

by diplomates of the specialty board that assesses 

knowledge and competency in procurement, 

compounding, quality assurance, dispensing, distribution, 

health and safety, radiation safety, provision of 

information and consultation, monitoring patient 

outcomes, research, and development; or 

2. Meets the following requirements: 

a. Has completed 700 hours in a structured educational 

program consisting: 

(1) 200 hours of classroom and laboratory training in the 

following areas: 

(a) Radiation physics and instrumentation; 

(b) Radiation protection; 

(c) Mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 

radioactivity; 

(d) Chemistry of byproduct material for medical use; and 

(e) Radiation biology; and 

(2) Supervised practical experience in a nuclear pharmacy 

involving: 

(a) Shipping, receiving, and performing related radiation 

surveys; 

(b) Using and performing checks for proper operation of 

instruments used to determine the activity of dosages, 
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survey meters, and, if appropriate, instruments used to 

measure alpha-emitting or beta-emitting radionuclides; 

(c) Calculating, assaying, and safely preparing dosages for 

patients or human research subjects; 

(d) Using administrative controls to avoid medical events 

in the administration of radioactive material; and 

(e) Using procedures to prevent or minimize radioactive 

contamination and using proper decontamination 

procedures; and 

3. Has obtained written attestation, signed by a preceptor 

ANP, that the individual has satisfactorily completed the 

requirements in subdivision 2 of this section and is able to 

independently fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an 

authorized nuclear pharmacist. 

12VAC5-481-1780. Training for experienced radiation 

safety officer, teletherapy or medical physicist, authorized 

medical physicist, nuclear pharmacist, authorized nuclear 

pharmacist, and authorized user. 

A. The following applies to individuals with experience as a 

radiation safety officer (RSO), teletherapy or medical 

physicist, authorized medical physicist (AMP), nuclear 

pharmacist, or authorized nuclear pharmacist (ANP): 

1. An individual identified on an agency, NRC, or agreement 

state license or a permit issued by the agency, the NRC, or 

another agreement state broad scope licensee or master 

material license permit or by a master material license 

permittee of broad scope as a an RSO, a teletherapy or 

medical physicist, AMP, a nuclear pharmacist, or an ANP 

on or before January 14, 2019, need not comply with the 

training requirements of 12VAC5-481-1750, 12VAC5-481-

1760, or 12VAC5-481-1770, respectively, except the RSO 

and AMP identified in this subdivision must meet the 

training requirements in subdivision 5 of 12VAC5-481-1750 

or subdivision 3 of 12VAC5-481-1760, as appropriate, for 

any material or uses for which they were not authorized prior 

to this date. 

2. An individual certified by the American Board of Health 

Physics in Comprehensive Health Physics, American Board 

of Radiology, American Board of Nuclear Medicine, 

American Board of Science in Nuclear Medicine, Board of 

Pharmaceutical Specialties in Nuclear Pharmacy, American 

Board of Medical Physics in Radiation Oncology Physics, 

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 

Nuclear Medicine, American Osteopathic Board of 

Radiology, or American Osteopathic Board of Nuclear 

Medicine on or before October 24, 2005, need not comply 

with the training requirements of 12VAC5-481-1750 to be 

identified as an RSO or as an associate RSO on an agency, 

NRC, or another agreement state license or NRC master 

material permit for those materials and uses that these 

individuals performed on or before October 24, 2005. Any 

individual certified by the American Board of Radiology in 

therapeutic radiological physics, Roentgen ray and gamma 

ray physics, x-ray and radium physics, or radiological 

physics, or certified by the American Board of Medical 

Physics in radiation oncology physics, on or before October 

24, 2005, need not comply with the training requirements for 

an authorized medical physicist described in 12VAC5-481-

1760 for those materials and uses that these individuals 

performed on or before October 24, 2005. 

3. An RSO, AMP, or ANP, who used only accelerator-

produced radioactive materials or discrete sources of 

radium-226, or both, for medical uses or in the practice of 

nuclear pharmacy at a government agency or federally 

recognized Indian Tribe before November 30, 2007, or at all 

other locations of use before August 8, 2009, or an earlier 

date as noticed by the NRC, need not comply with the 

training requirements of 12VAC5-481-1750, 12VAC5-481-

1760, or 12VAC5-481-1770, respectively, when performing 

the same uses. A nuclear pharmacist, who prepared only 

radioactive drugs containing accelerator-produced 

radioactive materials, or a medical physicist, who used only 

accelerator-produced radioactive materials, at the locations 

and time period identified in this subdivision, qualifies as an 

authorized nuclear pharmacist or an authorized medical 

physicist, respectively, for those materials and uses 

performed before these dates, for purposes of this part. 

B. The following applies to experienced authorized users 

(AU): 

1. Physicians, dentists, or podiatrists identified as AUs for 

the medical use of radioactive material on a license issued 

by the agency, the NRC, or another Agreement agreement 

state; a permit issued by an NRC master material licensee; a 

permit issued by an agency, NRC, or other Agreement 

agreement state broad scope licensee; or a permit issued by 

an NRC master material license broad scope permittee on or 

before January 14, 2019, who perform only those medical 

uses for which they were authorized on or before that date 

need not comply with the training requirements of Articles 5 

(12VAC5-481-1900 et seq.) through 9 (12VAC5-481-2040 

et seq.) of this part. 

2. Physicians, dentists, or podiatrists identified as AUs for 

the medical use of radioactive material on a license issued 

by the agency, the NRC, or another Agreement agreement 

state; a permit issued by an NRC master material licensee; a 

permit issued by an agency, NRC, or other Agreement 

agreement state broad scope licensee; or a permit issued by 

in accordance with an NRC master material broad scope 

license broad scope permittee on or before October 24, 2005, 

need not comply with the training requirements of Articles 5 

(12VAC5-481-1900 et seq.) through 9 (12VAC5-481-2040 

et seq.) of this part for those materials and uses that these 

individuals performed on or before October 24, 2005, as 

follows: 



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 17, 2023  

2743 

a. For uses authorized under 12VAC5-481-1900 or 

12VAC5-481-1920, or oral administration of sodium 

iodide I-131 requiring a written directive for imaging and 

localization purposes, a physician who was certified on or 

before October 24, 2005, in nuclear medicine by the 

American Board of Nuclear Medicine; diagnostic 

radiology by the American Board of Radiology; 

diagnostic radiology or radiology by the American 

Osteopathic Board of Radiology; nuclear medicine by the 

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada; or 

American Osteopathic Board of Nuclear Medicine in 

nuclear medicine; 

b. For uses authorized under 12VAC5-481-1950, a 

physician who was certified on or before October 24, 

2005, by the American Board of Nuclear Medicine; the 

American Board of Radiology in radiology, therapeutic 

radiology, or radiation oncology; nuclear medicine by the 

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada; or 

the American Osteopathic Board of Radiology after 1984; 

c. For uses authorized under 12VAC5-481-2010 or 

12VAC5-481-2040, a physician who was certified on or 

before October 24, 2005, in radiology, therapeutic 

radiology or radiation oncology by the American Board of 

Radiology; radiation oncology by the American 

Osteopathic Board of Radiology; radiology, with 

specialization in radiotherapy, as a British "Fellow of the 

Faculty of Radiology" or "Fellow of the Royal College of 

Radiology"; or therapeutic radiology by the Canadian 

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons; and 

d. For uses authorized under 12VAC5-481-2020, a 

physician who was certified on or before October 24, 

2005, in radiology, diagnostic radiology, therapeutic 

radiology, or radiation oncology by the American Board 

of Radiology; nuclear medicine by the American Board of 

Nuclear Medicine; diagnostic radiology or radiology by 

the American Osteopathic Board of Radiology; or nuclear 

medicine by the Royal College of Physicians and 

Surgeons of Canada. 

3. Physicians, dentists, or podiatrists who used only 

accelerator-produced radioactive materials or discrete 

sources of radium-226, or both, for medical uses performed 

at a government agency or federally recognized Indian Tribe 

before November 30, 2007, or at all other locations of use 

before August 8, 2009, or an earlier date as noticed by the 

NRC, need not comply with the training requirements of 

Articles 5 (12VAC5-481-1900 et seq.) through 9 (12VAC5-

481-2040 et seq.) of this part when performing the same 

medical uses. A physician, dentist, or podiatrist, who used 

only accelerator-produced radioactive materials, discrete 

sources of radium-226, or both for medical uses at the 

locations and time period identified in this subdivision, 

qualifies as an AU for those materials and uses performed 

before these dates for purposes of this chapter. 

C. Individuals who need not comply with training 

requirements as described in this section may serve as 

preceptors for, and supervisors of, applicants seeking 

authorization on NRC licenses for the same uses for which 

these individuals are authorized. 

12VAC5-481-2018. Training for use of manual 

brachytherapy sources. 

Except as provided in 12VAC5-481-1780, licensees shall 

require an authorized user of a manual brachytherapy source 

for uses authorized under 12VAC5-481-2010 to be a 

physician: 

1. Who is certified by a medical specialty board whose 

certification process has been recognized by the NRC, the 

agency, or an agreement state. The names of board 

certifications that have been recognized by the NRC or an 

agreement state are posted on the NRC's Medical Uses 

Licensee Toolkit Web page. To have its certification process 

recognized, a specialty board shall require all candidates for 

certification to: 

a. Successfully complete a minimum of three years of 

residency training in a radiation oncology program 

approved by the Residency Review Committee of the 

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or 

the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada 

or the Committee on Post-Graduate Training Council on 

Postdoctoral Training of the American Osteopathic 

Association; and 

b. Pass an examination administered by diplomates of the 

specialty board that tests knowledge and competence in 

radiation safety, radionuclide handling, treatment 

planning, quality assurance, and clinical use of manual 

brachytherapy; or 

2. Who has: 

a. Completed a structured educational program in basic 

radionuclide handling techniques applicable to the use of 

manual brachytherapy sources that includes: 

(1) 200 hours of classroom and laboratory training in the 

following areas: 

(a) Radiation physics and instrumentation; 

(b) Radiation protection; 

(c) Mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 

radioactivity; and 

(d) Radiation biology; and 

(2) 500 hours of work experience, under the supervision 

of an authorized user who meets the requirements in this 

subsection, 12VAC5-481-1780, or equivalent NRC or 

another agreement state requirements at a medical facility 

authorized to use radioactive material under 12VAC5-

481-2010, involving: 
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(a) Ordering, receiving, and unpacking radioactive 

materials safely and performing the related radiation 

surveys; 

(b) Checking survey meters for proper operation; 

(c) Preparing, implanting, and removing brachytherapy 

sources; 

(d) Maintaining running inventories of material on hand; 

(e) Using administrative controls to prevent a medical 

event involving the use of radioactive material; 

(f) Using emergency procedures to control radioactive 

material; and 

b. Completed three years of supervised clinical experience 

in radiation oncology, under an AU who meets the 

requirements in this section, 12VAC5-481-1780, or 

equivalent NRC or another Agreement agreement state 

requirements, as part of a formal training program 

approved by the Residency Review Committee for 

Radiation Oncology of the Accreditation Council for 

Graduate Medical Education or the Royal College of 

Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the Committee 

Council on Postdoctoral Training of the American 

Osteopathic Association. This experience may be obtained 

concurrently with the supervised work experience 

required by subdivision 2 a (2) of this section. 

3. Who has obtained written attestation that the individual 

has satisfactorily completed the requirements in subdivision 

2 of this section and has achieved a level of competency 

sufficient to function independently as an AU of manual 

brachytherapy sources for the medical uses authorized in 

12VAC5-481-2010. This attestation must be obtained from 

either: 

a. A preceptor authorized user who meets the requirements 

in this section, 12VAC5-481-1780, or equivalent NRC or 

other agreement state requirements; or 

b. A residency program director who affirms in writing 

that the attestation represents the residency program 

faculty where at least one faculty member is an authorized 

user who meets the requirement in this section, 12VAC5-

481-1780, or equivalent NRC or other agreement state 

requirements and concurs with the attestation provided by 

the residency program director. The residency training 

program must be approved by the Residency Review 

Committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate 

Medical Education or the Royal College of Physicians and 

Surgeons of Canada or the Council on Postdoctoral 

Training of the American Osteopathic Association and 

must include training and experience specific in 

subsection 2 of this section. 

12VAC5-481-2040. Training requirements and use of a 

sealed source in a remote afterloader unit, teletherapy unit, 

or gamma stereotactic radiosurgery unit. 

A. Except as provided in 12VAC5-481-1780, licensees shall 

require an authorized user (AU) of a sealed source in remote 

afterloader units, teletherapy units, and gamma stereotactic 

radiosurgery units to be a physician: 

1. Who is certified by a medical specialty board whose 

certification process has been recognized by the NRC, the 

agency, or an agreement state and who meets the 

requirements in subdivision 4 of this section. The names of 

board certifications that have been recognized by the agency, 

NRC, or an agreement state are posted on the NRC's Medical 

Uses Licensee Toolkit Web page. To have its certification 

process recognized, a specialty board shall require all 

candidates for certification to: 

a. Successfully complete a minimum of three years of 

residency training in a radiation therapy program 

approved by the Residency Review Committee of the 

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or 

the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada 

or the Committee on Post-Graduate Training Council on 

Postdoctoral Training of the American Osteopathic 

Association; and 

b. Pass an examination administered by diplomates of the 

specialty board that tests knowledge and competence 

radiation safety, radionuclide handling, treatment 

planning, quality assurance, and clinical use of stereotactic 

radiosurgery, remote afterloaders and external beam 

therapy; or 

2. Who has: 

a. Completed a structured educational program in basic 

radionuclide techniques applicable to the use of a sealed 

source in a therapeutic medical unit that includes: 

(1) 200 hours of classroom and laboratory training in the 

following areas: radiation physics and instrumentation; 

radiation protection; mathematics pertaining to the use and 

measurement of radioactivity; and radiation biology; and 

(2) 500 hours of work experience, under the supervision 

of an AU who meets the requirements in this section, 

12VAC5-481-1780, or equivalent NRC or another 

agreement state requirements at a medical institution that 

is authorized for subsections B and C of this section, 

involving: reviewing full calibration measurements and 

periodic spot-checks; preparing treatment plans and 

calculating treatment doses and times; using 

administrative controls to prevent a medical event 

involving the use of radioactive material; implementing 

emergency procedures to be followed in the event of the 

abnormal operation of the medical unit or console; 

checking and using survey meters; and selecting the 

proper dose and knowing how it is to be administered; and 
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b. Completed three years of supervised clinical experience 

in radiation therapy under an AU who meets the 

requirements in this section, 12VAC5-481-1780, or 

equivalent NRC or another Agreement agreement state 

requirements as part of a formal training program 

approved by the Residency Review Committee for 

Radiation Oncology of the Accreditation Council for 

Graduate Medical Education or the Royal College of 

Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the Committee 

Council on Postdoctoral Training of the American 

Osteopathic Association. This experience may be obtained 

concurrently with the supervised work experience 

required by this subdivision 2. 

3. Who has obtained written attestation that the individual 

has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 

subdivisions 2 a, 2 b, and 4 of this subsection and has 

achieved a level of competency sufficient to function 

independently as an AU of each type of therapeutic medical 

unit for which the individual is requesting AU status. The 

written attestation shall be signed by either: 

a. A preceptor AU who meets the requirements in this 

subsection, 12VAC5-481-1780, or equivalent NRC or 

another agreement state requirements for an AU for each 

type of therapeutic medical unit for which the individual 

is requesting AU status; or 

b. A residency program director who affirms in writing 

that the attestation of the residency program faculty where 

at least one faculty member is an authorized user who 

meets the requirements in this subsection, 12VAC5-481-

1780, or equivalent NRC or other agreement state 

requirements for the type of therapeutic medical unit for 

which the individual is requesting authorized user status 

and concurs with the attestation provided by the residency 

program director. The residency training program must be 

approved by the Residency Committee of the 

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or 

the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada 

or the Council on Postdoctoral Training of the American 

Osteopathic Association and must include training and 

experience specified in subdivisions 2 a and 2 b of this 

subsection. 

4. Who has received training in device operation, safety 

procedures, and clinical use for the types of use for which 

authorization is sought. This training requirement may be 

satisfied by satisfactory completion of a training program 

provided by the vendor for new users or by receiving 

training supervised by an AU or authorized medical 

physicist, as appropriate, who is authorized for the types of 

use for which the individual is seeking authorization. 

B. Licensees shall use sealed sources in photon-emitting 

remote afterloader units, teletherapy units, or gamma 

stereotactic radiosurgery units for therapeutic medical uses: 

1. As approved in the Sealed Source and Device Registry; or 

2. In research in accordance with an active Investigational 

Device Exemption application accepted by the U.S. Food 

and Drug Administration provided the requirements of 

12VAC5-481-1740 are met. 

C. Licensees shall use photon-emitting remote afterloader 

units, teletherapy units, or gamma stereotactic radiosurgery 

units: 

1. As approved in the Sealed Source and Device Registry to 

deliver a therapeutic dose for medical use. These devices 

may be used for therapeutic medical treatments that are not 

explicitly provided for in the Sealed Source and Device 

Registry but must be used in accordance with radiation 

safety conditions and limitations described in the Sealed 

Source and Device Registry; or 

2. In research in accordance with an active Investigational 

Device Exemption application accepted by the U.S. Food 

and Drug Administration provided the requirements of 

12VAC5-481-1740 are met. 

12VAC5-481-3120. Advance notification of transport of 

nuclear waste. 

A. Prior to the transport of any nuclear waste outside of the 

confines of the licensee's facility or other place of use or 

storage, or prior to the delivery of any nuclear waste to a carrier 

for transport, each licensee shall provide advance notification 

of such transport. 

B. Advance notification for transport of licensed material is 

required when: 

1. The licensed material is required to be in Type B 

packaging for transportation; 

2. The licensed material is being transported to or across 

state boundary en route to a disposal facility or to a 

collection point for transport to a disposal facility; and 

3. The quantity of licensed material in a single package 

exceeds: 

a. 3000 times the A1 value of the radionuclides as specified 

in 12VAC5-481-3770; 

b. 3000 times the A2 value of the radionuclides as specified 

in 12VAC5-481-3770; or 

c. 1000 terabecquerel (27,000 curies). 

C. Each advance notification required by subsections A and 

B of this section shall contain the following information: 

1. The name, address, and telephone number of the shipper, 

carrier, and receiver of the shipment; 

2. A description of the nuclear waste contained in the 

shipment as required by 49 CFR 172.202 and 172.203(d); 

3. The point of origin of the shipment and the seven-day 

period during which departure of the shipment is estimated 

to occur; 
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4. The seven-day period during which arrival of the 

shipment at state boundaries or tribal reservation boundaries 

is estimated to occur; 

5. The destination of the shipment, and the seven-day period 

during which arrival of the shipment is estimated to occur; 

and 

6. A point of contact with a telephone number for current 

shipment information. 

D. The notification required by subsections A and B of this 

section shall be made in writing to each office of the governor 

or governor's designee, the office of each appropriate tribal 

official or tribal official's designee, and to the agency. A 

notification delivered by mail shall be postmarked at least 

seven days before the beginning of the seven-day period during 

which departure of the shipment is estimated to occur. A 

notification delivered by any other means than mail shall reach 

each office of the governor or governor's designee, the office 

of each appropriate tribal official or tribal official's designee, 

and the agency, at least four days before the beginning of the 

seven-day period during which departure of the shipment is 

estimated to occur. A copy of the notification shall be retained 

by the licensee for three years. 

1. A list of names and mailing addresses of the governors' 

designees receiving advance notification of transportation of 

nuclear waste was published in the Federal Register on June 

30, 1995 (60 FR 34306). Reserved. 

2. Contact information for each state, including telephone 

and mailing addresses of governors and governors' 

designees, and participating tribes, including telephone and 

mailing addresses of tribal officials and tribal officials' 

designees, is available on the NRC website at: 

https://scp.nrc.gov/special/designee.pdf. 

3. A list of the names and mailing addresses of the governors' 

designees and tribal officials' designees of participating 

tribes is available on request from the Director, Division of 

Materials Safety, Security, State, and Tribal Programs, 

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards, U.S. 

Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, DC 20555-

0001. 

E. The licensee shall notify the governor or governor's 

designee, the office of each appropriate tribal official or tribal 

official's designee, and the agency of any changes to schedule 

information provided pursuant to subsections A and B of this 

section. Such notification shall be by telephone to a responsible 

individual in the office of the governor or governor's designee, 

the office of each appropriate tribal official or tribal official's 

designee, and the agency. The licensee shall maintain for three 

years a record of the name of the individual contacted. 

F. Each licensee who cancels a nuclear waste shipment, for 

which advance notification has been sent, shall send a 

cancellation notice, identifying the advance notification that is 

being canceled, to the governor or governor's designee, the 

office of each appropriate tribal official or tribal official's 

designee, and to the agency. A copy of the notice shall be 

retained by the licensee for three years. 

12VAC5-481-3770. Determination of A1 and A2. 

A. Values of A1 and A2 for individual radionuclides, which are 

the bases for many activity limits elsewhere in these regulations, 

are given in Table 1 of this section. The curie (Ci) values specified 

are obtained by converting from the Terabecquerel (TBq) value. 

The terabecquerel values are the regulatory standard. The curie 

values are for information only and are not intended to be the 

regulatory standard. Where values of A1 and A2 are unlimited, it 

is for radiation control purposes only. For nuclear criticality 

safety, some materials are subject to controls placed on fissile 

material. 

B. For individual radionuclides whose identities are known, but 

that are not listed in Table 1 or Table 2 of this section, the A1 and 

A2 values or exempt material activity concentration and exempt 

consignment activity values contained in Table 3 of this section 

may be used. Otherwise, the licensee shall obtain prior agency 

approval for radionuclides not listed in Table 1 or Table 2 of this 

section, before shipping the material. The licensee shall submit 

requests for prior approval to the agency. 

C. In the calculations of A1 and A2 for a radionuclide not in Table 

1 of this section, a single radioactive decay chain, in which 

radionuclides are present in their naturally occurring proportions, 

and in which no daughter radionuclide has a half-life either longer 

than 10 days, or longer than that of the parent radionuclide, shall 

be considered as a single radionuclide, and the activity to be taken 

into account, and the A1 or A2 value to be applied, shall be those 

corresponding to the parent radionuclide of that chain. In the case 

of radioactive decay chains in which any daughter radionuclide 

has a half-life either longer than 10 days or greater than that of the 

parent radionuclide, the parent and those daughter radionuclides 

shall be considered as mixtures of different radionuclides. 

D. For mixtures of radionuclides whose identities and respective 

activities are known, the following conditions apply: 

1. For special form radioactive material, the maximum quantity 

transported in a Type A package is as follows: 

 

where B(i) is the activity of radionuclide (i) in special form, 

and A1(i) is the A1 value for radionuclide (i). 

2. For normal form radioactive material, the maximum 

quantity transported in a Type A package is as follows: 

 

where B(i) is the activity of radionuclide (i) in normal form, 

and A2(i) is the A2 value for radionuclide (i). 

https://scp.nrc.gov/special/designee.pdf
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3. If the package contains both special and normal form 

radioactive material, the activity that may be transported in 

the Type A package is as follows: 

 

Where B(i) is the activity of radionuclide i (i) as special form 

radioactive material, A1(i) is the A1 value for the 

radionuclide (i), C(j) is the activity of radionuclide (j) as 

normal form radioactive material, and A2(j) is the A2 value 

for radionuclide (j). 

4. Alternatively, the A1 value for mixtures of special form 

material may be determined as follows: 

 

where f(i) is the fraction of activity for radionuclide (i) in the 

mixture, and A1(i) is the appropriate A1 value for 

radionuclide (i). 

5. Alternatively, the A2 value for mixtures of normal form 

material may be determined as follows: 

 

where f(i) is the fraction of activity for radionuclide (i) in the 

mixture, and A2(i) is the appropriate A2 value for 

radionuclide (i). 

6. The exempt activity concentration for mixtures of 

nuclides may be determined as follows: 

 

where f(i) is the fraction of activity concentration of 

radionuclide (i) in the mixture, and [A](i) is the activity 

concentration for exempt material containing radionuclide 

(i). 

7. The activity limit for an exempt consignment for mixtures 

of radionuclides may be determined as follows: 

 

where f(i) is the fraction of activity of radionuclide (i) in the 

mixture, and [A](i) is the activity limit for exempt 

consignments for radionuclide (i). 

E. When the identity of each radionuclide is known, but the 

individual activities of some of the radionuclides are not 

known, the radionuclides may be grouped, and the lowest A1 

or A2 value or lowest [A] (activity concentration for exempt 

material or A (activity limit for exempt consignment) value, as 

appropriate, for the radionuclides in each group may be used 

in applying the formulas in subsection D of this section. 

Groups may be based on the total alpha activity and the total 

beta/gamma activity when these are known, using the lowest 

A1 or A2 values or the lowest [A] or A value, as appropriate, 

for the alpha emitters and beta/gamma emitters. 

F. Table 1. A1 and A2 Values for Radionuclides. 

Symbol of 

radionuclide 

Element and 

atomic number 
A1 (TBq) A1(Ci)b A2 (TBq) A2(Ci)b 

Specific activity 

(TBq/g) (Ci/g) 

Ac-225 (a) Actinium (89) 8.0X10-1 2.2X10-1 6.0X10-3 1.6X10-1 2.1X103 5.8X104 

Ac-227 (a)  9.0X10-1 2.4X101 9.0X10-5 2.4X10-3 2.7 7.2X101 

Ac-228  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 8.4X104 2.2X106 

Ag-105 Silver (47) 2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 1.1X103 3.0X104 

Ag-108m (a)  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 9.7X10-1 2.6X101 

Ag-110m (a)  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.8X102 4.7X103 

Ag-111  2.0 5.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 5.8X103 1.6X105 

Al-26 Aluminum (13) 1.0X10-1 2.7 1.0X10-1 2.7 7.0X10-4 1.9X10-2 

Am-241 Americium (95) 1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 1.3X10-1 3.4 

Am-242m (a)  1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 3.6X10-1 1.0X101 

Am-243 (a)  5.0 1.4X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 7.4X10-3 2.0X10-1 
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Ar-37 Argon (18) 4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 3.7X103 9.9X104 

Ar-39  4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X101 5.4X102 1.3 3.4X101 

Ar-41  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 1.5X106 4.2X107 

As-72 Arsenic (33) 3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 6.2X104 1.7X106  

As-73  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 8.2X102 2.2X104 

As-74  1.0 2.7X101 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 3.7X103 9.9X104 

As-76  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 5.8X104 1.6X106 

As-77  2.0X101 5.4X102 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 3.9X104 1.0X106 

At-211 (a) Astatine (85) 2.0X101 5.4X102 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 7.6X104 2.1X106 

Au-193 Gold (79) 7.0 1.9X102 2.0 5.4X101 3.4X104 9.2X105 

Au-194  1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 1.5X104 4.1X105 

Au-195  1.0X101 2.7X102 6.0 1.6X102 1.4X102 3.7X103 

Au-198  1.0 2.7X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 9.0X103 2.4X105 

Au-199  1.0X101 2.7X102 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 7.7X103 2.1X105 

Ba-131 (a) Barium (56) 2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 3.1X103 8.4X104 

Ba-133  3.0 8.1X101 3.0 8.1X101 9.4 2.6X102 

Ba-133m  2.0X101 5.4X102 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.2X104 6.1X105 

Ba-140 (a)  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 3.0X10-1 8.1 2.7X103 7.3X104 

Be-7 Beryllium (4) 2.0X101 5.4X102 2.0X101 5.4X102 1.3X104 3.5X105 

Be-10  4.0X101 1.1X103 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 8.3X10-4 2.2X10-2 

Bi-205 Bismuth (83) 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 1.5X103 4.2X104 

Bi-206  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 3.8X103 1.0X105 

Bi-207  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 1.9 5.2X101 

Bi-210  1.0 2.7X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 4.6X103 1.2X105 

Bi-210m (a)  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 2.1X10-5 5.7X10-4 

Bi-212 (a)  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 5.4X105 1.5X107 

Bk-247 Berkelium (97) 8.0 2.2X102 8.0X10-4 2.2X10-2 3.8X10-2 1.0 

Bk-249 (a)  4.0X101 1.1X103 3.0X10-1 8.1 6.1X101 1.6X103 

Br-76 Bromine (35) 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 9.4X104 2.5X106 

Br-77  3.0 8.1X101 3.0 8.1X101 2.6X104 7.1X105 

Br-82  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X104 1.1X106 

C-11 Carbon (6) 1.0 2.7X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.1X107 8.4X108 

C-14  4.0X101 1.1X103 3.0 8.1X101 1.6X10-1 4.5 

Ca-41 Calcium (20) Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 3.1X10-3 8.5X10-2 
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Ca-45  4.0X101 1.1X103 1.0 2.7X101 6.6X102 1.8X104 

Ca-47 (a)  3.0 8.1X101 3.0X10-1 8.1 2.3X104 6.1X105 

Cd-109 Cadmium (48) 3.0X101 8.1X102 2.0 5.4X101 9.6X101 2.6X103 

Cd-113m  4.0X101 1.1X103 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 8.3 2.2X102 

Cd-115 (a)  3.0 8.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.9X104 5.1X105 

Cd-115m  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 9.4X102 2.5X104 

Ce-139 Cerium (58) 7.0 1.9X102 2.0 5.4X101 2.5X102 6.8X103 

Ce-141  2.0X101 5.4X102 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.1X103 2.8X104 

Ce-143  9.0X10-1 2.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.5X104 6.6X105 

Ce-144 (a)  2.0X10-1 5.4 2.0X10-1 5.4 1.2X102 3.2X103 

Cf-248 Californium (98) 4.0X101 1.1X103 6.0X10-3 1.6X10-1 5.8X101 1.6X103 

Cf-249  3.0 8.1X101 8.0X10-4 2.2X10-2 1.5X10-1 4.1 

Cf-250  2.0X101 5.4X102 2.0X10-3 5.4X10-2 4.0 1.1X102 

Cf-251  7.0 1.9X102 7.0X10-4 1.9X10-2 5.9X10-2 1.6 

Cf-252  1.0X10-1 2.7 3.0X10-3 8.1X10-2 2.0X101 5.4X102 

Cf-253 (a)  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X10-2 1.1 1.1X103 2.9X104 

Cf-254  1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 3.1X102 8.5X103 

Cl-36 Chlorine (17) 1.0X101 2.7X102 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.2X10-3 3.3X10-2 

Cl-38  2.0X10-1 5.4 2.0X10-1 5.4 4.9X106 1.3X108 

Cm-240 Curium (96) 4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 7.5X102 2.0X104 

Cm-241  2.0 5.4X101 1.0 2.7X101 6.1X102 1.7X104 

Cm-242  4.0X101 1.1X103 1.0X10-2 2.7X10-1 1.2X102 3.3X103 

Cm-243  9.0 2.4X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 1.9X10-3 5.2X104 

Cm-244  2.0X101 5.4X102 2.0X10-3 5.4X10-2 3.0 8.1X101 

Cm-245  9.0 2.4X102 9.0X10-4 2.4X10-2 6.4X10-3 1.7X10-1 

Cm-246  9.0 2.4X102 9.0X10-4 2.4X10-2 1.1X10-2 3.1X10-1 

Cm-247 (a)  3.0 8.1X101 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 3.4X10-6 9.3X10-5 

Cm-248  2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 3.0X10-4 8.1X10-3 1.6X10-4 4.2X10-3 

Co-55 Cobalt (27) 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 1.1X105 3.1X106 

Co-56  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 1.1X103 3.0X104 

Co-57  1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X101 2.7X102 3.1X102 8.4X103 

Co-58  1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 1.2X103 3.2X104 

Co-58m  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 2.2X105 5.9X106 

Co-60  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.2X101 1.1X103 
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Cr-51 Chromium (24) 3.0X101 8.1X102 3.0X101 8.1X102 3.4X103 9.2X104 

Cs-129 Cesium (55) 4.0 1.1X102 4.0 1.1X102 2.8X104 7.6X105 

Cs-131  3.0X101 8.1X102 3.0X101 8.1X102 3.8X103 1.0X105 

Cs-132  1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 5.7X103 1.5X105 

Cs-134  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 4.8X101 1.3X103 

Cs-134m  4.0X101 1.1X103 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.0X105 8.0X106 

Cs-135  4.0X101 1.1X103 1.0 2.7X101 4.3X10-5 1.2X10-3 

Cs-136  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 2.7X103 7.3X104 

Cs-137 (a)  2.0 5.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.2 8.7X101 

Cu-64 Copper (29) 6.0 1.6X102 1.0 2.7X101 1.4X105 3.9X106 

Cu-67  1.0X101 2.7X102 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 2.8X104 7.6X105 

Dy-159 Dysprosium (66) 2.0X101 5.4X102 2.0X101 5.4X102 2.1X102 5.7X103 

Dy-165  9.0X10-1 2.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.0X105 8.2X106 

Dy-166 (a)  9.0X10-1 2.4X101 3.0X10-1 8.1 8.6X103 2.3X105 

Er-169 Erbium (68) 4.0X101 1.1X103 1.0 2.7X101 3.1X103 8.3X104 

Er-171  8.0X10-1 2.2X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 9.0X104 2.4X106 

Eu-147 Europium (63) 2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 1.4X103 3.7X104 

Eu-148  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 6.0X102 1.6X104 

Eu-149  2.0X101 5.4X102 2.0X101 5.4X102 3.5X102 9.4X103 

Eu-150 (short 

lived) 
 2.0 5.4X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 6.1X104 1.6X106 

Eu-150 (long 

lived) 
 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 6.1X104 1.6X106 

Eu-152  1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 6.5 1.8X102 

Eu-152m  8.0X10-1 2.2X101 8.0X10-1 2.2X101 8.2X104 2.2X106 

Eu-154  9.0X10-1 2.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 9.8 2.6X102 

Eu-155  2.0X101 5.4X102 3.0 8.1X101 1.8X101 4.9X102 

Eu-156  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 2.0X103 5.5X104 

F-18 Fluorine (9) 1.0 2.7X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.5X106 9.5X107 

Fe-52 (a) Iron (26) 3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 2.7X105 7.3X106 

Fe-55  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 8.8X101 2.4X103 

Fe-59  9.0X10-1 2.4X101 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 1.8X103 5.0X104 

Fe-60 (a)  4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X10-1 5.4 7.4X10-4 2.0X10-2 

Ga-67 Gallium (31) 7.0 1.9X102 3.0 8.1X101 2.2X104 6.0X105 

Ga-68  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 1.5X106 4.1X107 
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Ga-72  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.1X105 3.1X106 

Gd-146 (a) Gadolinium (64) 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 6.9X102 1.9X104 

Gd-148  2.0X101 5.4X102 2.0X10-3 5.4X10-2 1.2 3.2X101 

Gd-153  1.0X101 2.7X102 9.0 2.4X102 1.3X102 3.5X103 

Gd-159  3.0 8.1X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.9X104 1.1X106 

Ge-68 (a) Germanium (32) 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 2.6X102 7.1X103 

Ge-71  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 5.8X103 1.6X105 

Ge-77  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 1.3X105 3.6X106 

Hf-172 (a) Hafnium (72) 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 4.1X101 1.1X103 

Hf-175  3.0 8.1X101 3.0 8.1X101 3.9X102 1.1X104 

Hf-181  2.0 5.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 6.3X102 1.7X104 

Hf-182  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 8.1X10-6 2.2X10-4 

Hg-194 (a) Mercury (80) 1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 1.3X10-1 3.5 

Hg-195m (a)  3.0 8.1X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 1.5X104 4.0X105 

Hg-197  2.0X101 5.4X102 1.0X101 2.7X102 9.2X103 2.5X105 

Hg-197m  1.0X101 2.7X102 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 2.5X104 6.7X105 

Hg-203  5.0 1.4X102 1.0 2.7X101 5.1X102 1.4X104 

Ho-166 Holmium (67) 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 2.6X104 7.0X105 

Ho-166m  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 6.6X10-2 1.8 

I-123 Iodine (53) 6.0 1.6X102 3.0 8.1X101 7.1X104 1.9X106 

I-124  1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 9.3X103 2.5X105 

I-125  2.0X101 5.4X102 3.0 8.1X101 6.4X102 1.7X104 

I-126  2.0 5.4X101 1.0 2.7X101 2.9X103 8.0X104 

I-129  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 6.5X10-6 1.8X10-4 

I-131  3.0 8.1X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 4.6X103 1.2X105 

I-132  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 3.8X105 1.0X107 

I-133  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 4.2X104 1.1X106 

I-134  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 9.9X105 2.7X107 

I-135 (a)  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.3X105 3.5X106 

In-111 Indium (49) 3.0 8.1X101 3.0 8.1X101 1.5X104 4.2X105 

In-113m  4.0 1.1X102 2.0 5.4X101 6.2X105 1.7X107 

In-114m (a)  1.0X101 2.7X102 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 8.6X102 2.3X104 

In-115m  7.0 1.9X102 1.0 2.7X101 2.2X105 6.1X106 

Ir-189 (a) Iridium (77) 1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X101 2.7X102 1.9X103 5.2X104 
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Ir-190  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 2.3X103 6.2X104 

Ir-192  1.0 (c) 2.7X101 (c) 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.4X102 9.2X103 

Ir-194  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 3.1X104 8.4X105 

K-40 Potassium (19) 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 2.4X10-7 6.4X10-6 

K-42  2.0X10-1 5.4 2.0X10-1 5.4 2.2X105 6.0X106 

K-43  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.2X105 3.3X106 

Kr-79 Krypton (36) 4.0 1.1X102 2.0 5.4X101 4.2X104 1.1X106 

Kr-81  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 7.8X10-4 2.1X10-2 

Kr-85  1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X101 2.7X102 1.5X101 3.9X102 

Kr-85m  8.0 2.2X102 3.0 8.1X101 3.0X105 8.2X106 

Kr-87  2.0X10-1 5.4 2.0X10-1 5.4 1.0X106 2.8X107 

La-137 Lanthanum (57) 3.0X101 8.1X102 6.0 1.6X102 1.6X10-3 4.4X10-2 

La-140  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 2.1X104 5.6X105 

Lu-172 Lutetium (71) 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 4.2X103 1.1X105 

Lu-173  8.0 2.2X102 8.0 2.2X102 5.6X101 1.5X103 

Lu-174  9.0 2.4X102 9.0 2.4X102 2.3X101 6.2X102 

Lu-174m  2.0X101 5.4X102 1.0X101 2.7X102 2.0X102 5.3X103 

Lu-177  3.0X101 8.1X102 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 4.1X103 1.1X105 

Mg-28 (a) Magnesium (12) 3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 2.0X105 5.4X106 

Mn-52 Manganese (25) 3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 1.6X104 4.4X105 

Mn-53  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 6.8X10-5 1.8X10-3 

Mn-54  1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 2.9X102 7.7X103 

Mn-56  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 8.0X105 2.2X107 

Mo-93 Molybdenum (42) 4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X101 5.4X102 4.1X10-2 1.1 

Mo-99 (a) (h)  1.0 2.7X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.8X104 4.8X105 

N-13 Nitrogen (7) 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 5.4X107 1.5X109 

Na-22 Sodium (11) 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 2.3X102 6.3X103 

Na-24  2.0X10-1 5.4 2.0X10-1 5.4 3.2X105 8.7X106 

Nb-93m Niobium (41) 4.0X101 1.1X103 3.0X101 8.1X102 8.8 2.4X102 

Nb-94  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 6.9X10-3 1.9X10-1 

Nb-95  1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 1.5X103 3.9X104 

Nb-97  9.0X10-1 2.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 9.9X105 2.7X107 

Nd-147 Neodymium (60) 6.0 1.6X102 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.0X103 8.1X104 

Nd-149  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 4.5X105 1.2X107 
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Ni-59 Nickel (28) Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 3.0X10-3 8.0X10-2 

Ni-63  4.0X101 1.1X103 3.0X101 8.1X102 2.1 5.7X101 

Ni-65  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 7.1X105 1.9X107 

Np-235 Neptunium (93) 4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 5.2X101 1.4X103 

Np-236 (short-

lived) 
 2.0X101 5.4X102 2.0 5.4X101 4.7X10-4 1.3X10-2 

Np-236 (long-

lived) 
 9.0X100 2.4X102 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 4.7X10-4 1.3X10-2 

Np-237  2.0X101 5.4X102 2.0X10-3 5.4X10-2 2.6X10-5 7.1X10-4 

Np-239  7.0 1.9X102 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 8.6X103 2.3X105 

Os-185 Osmium (76) 1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 2.8X102 7.5X103 

Os-191  1.0X101 2.7X102 2.0 5.4X101 1.6X103 4.4X104 

Os-191m  4.0X101 1.1X103 3.0X101 8.1X102 4.6X104 1.3X106 

Os-193  2.0 5.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.0X104 5.3X105 

Os-194 (a)  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 1.1X101 3.1X102 

P-32 Phosphorus (15) 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 1.1X104 2.9X105 

P-33  4.0X101 1.1X103 1.0 2.7X101 5.8X103 1.6X105 

Pa-230 (a) Protactinium (91) 2.0 5.4X101 7.0X10-2 1.9 1.2X103 3.3X104 

Pa-231  4.0 1.1X102 4.0X10-4 1.1X10-2 1.7X10-3 4.7X10-2 

Pa-233  5.0 1.4X102 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.7X102 2.1X104 

Pb-201 Lead (82) 1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 6.2X104 1.7X106 

Pb-202  4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X101 5.4X102 1.2X10-4 3.4X10-3 

Pb-203  4.0 1.1X102 3.0 8.1X101 1.1X104 3.0X105 

Pb-205  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 4.5X10-6 1.2X10-4 

Pb-210 (a)  1.0 2.7X101 5.0X10-2 1.4 2.8 7.6X101 

Pb-212 (a)  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 2.0X10-1 5.4 5.1X104 1.4X106 

Pd-103 (a) Palladium (46) 4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 2.8X103 7.5X104 

Pd-107  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 1.9X10-5 5.1X10-4 

Pd-109  2.0 5.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 7.9X104 2.1X106 

Pm-143 Promethium (61) 3.0 8.1X101 3.0 8.1X101 1.3X102 3.4X103 

Pm-144  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 9.2X101 2.5X103 

Pm-145  3.0X101 8.1X102 1.0X101 2.7X102 5.2 1.4X102 

Pm-147  4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0 5.4X101 3.4X101 9.3X102 

Pm-148m (a)  8.0X10-1 2.2X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 7.9X102 2.1X104 

Pm-149  2.0 5.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.5X104 4.0X105 
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Pm-151  2.0 5.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.7X104 7.3X105 

Po-210 Polonium (84) 4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 1.7X102 4.5X103 

Pr-142 
Praseodymium 

(59) 
4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.3X104 1.2X106 

Pr-143  3.0 8.1X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.5X103 6.7X104 

Pt-188 (a) Platinum (78) 1.0 2.7X101 8.0X10-1 2.2X101 2.5X103 6.8X104 

Pt-191  4.0 1.1X102 3.0 8.1X101 8.7X103 2.4X105 

Pt-193  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 1.4 3.7X101 

Pt-193m  4.0X101 1.1X103 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.8X103 1.6X105 

Pt-195m  1.0X101 2.7X102 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 6.2X103 1.7X105 

Pt-197  2.0X101 5.4X102 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.2X104 8.7X105 

Pt-197m  1.0X101 2.7X102 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.7X105 1.0X107 

Pu-236 Plutonium (94) 3.0X101 8.1X102 3.0X10-3 8.1X10-2 2.0X101 5.3X102 

Pu-237  2.0X101 5.4X102 2.0X101 5.4X102 4.5X102 1.2X104 

Pu-238  1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 6.3X10-1 1.7X101 

Pu-239  1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 2.3X10-3 6.2X10-2 

Pu-240  1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 8.4X10-3 2.3X10-1 

Pu-241 (a)  4.0X101 1.1X103 6.0X10-2 1.6 3.8 1.0X102 

Pu-242  1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 1.5X10-4 3.9X10-3 

Pu-244 (a)  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 6.7X10-7 1.8X10-5 

Ra-223 (a) Radium (88) 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 7.0X10-3 1.9X10-1 1.9X103 5.1X104 

Ra-224 (a)  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 5.9X103 1.6X105 

Ra-225 (a)  2.0X10-1 5.4 4.0X10-3 1.1X10-1 1.5X103 3.9X104 

Ra-226 (a)  2.0X10-1 5.4 3.0X10-3 8.1X10-2 3.7X10-2 1.0 

Ra-228 (a)  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 1.0X101 2.7X102 

Rb-81 Rubidium (37) 2.0 5.4X101 8.0X10-1 2.2X101 3.1X105 8.4X106 

Rb-83 (a)  2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 6.8X102 1.8X104 

Rb-84  1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 1.8X103 4.7X104 

Rb-86  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 3.0X103 8.1X104 

Rb-87  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 3.2X10-9 8.6X10-8 

Rb(nat)  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 6.7X106 1.8X108 

Re-184 Rhenium (75) 1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 6.9X102 1.9X104 

Re-184m  3.0 8.1X101 1.0 2.7X101 1.6X102 4.3X103 

Re-186  2.0 5.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 6.9X103 1.9X105 

Re-187  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 1.4X10-9 3.8X10-8 
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Re-188  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 3.6X104 9.8X105 

Re-189 (a)  3.0 8.1X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.5X104 6.8X105 

Re(nat)  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 0.0 2.4X10-8 

Rh-99 Rhodium (45) 2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 3.0X103 8.2X104 

Rh-101  4.0 1.1X102 3.0 8.1X101 4.1X101 1.1X103 

Rh-102  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 4.5X101 1.2X103 

Rh-102m  2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 2.3X102 6.2X103 

Rh-103m  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 1.2X106 3.3X107 

Rh-105  1.0X101 2.7X102 8.0X10-1 2.2X101 3.1X104 8.4X105 

Rn-222 (a) Radon (86) 3.0X10-1 8.1 4.0X10-3 1.1X10-1 5.7X103 1.5X105 

Ru-97 Ruthenium (44) 5.0 1.4X102 5.0 1.4X102 1.7X104 4.6X105 

Ru-103 (a)  2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 1.2X103 3.2X104 

Ru-105  1.0 2.7X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.5X105 6.7X106 

Ru-106 (a)  2.0X10-1 5.4 2.0X10-1 5.4 1.2X102 3.3X103 

S-35 Sulphur (16) 4.0X101 1.1X103 3.0 8.1X101 1.6X103 4.3X104 

Sb-122 Antimony (51) 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.5X104 4.0X105 

Sb-124  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 6.5X102 1.7X104 

Sb-125  2.0 5.4X101 1.0 2.7X101 3.9X101 1.0X103 

Sb-126  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 3.1X103 8.4X104 

Sc-44 Scandium (21) 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 6.7X105 1.8X107 

Sc-46  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 1.3X103 3.4X104 

Sc-47  1.0X101 2.7X102 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 3.1X104 8.3X105 

Sc-48  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 5.5X104 1.5X106 

Se-75 Selenium (34) 3.0 8.1X101 3.0 8.1X101 5.4X102 1.5X104 

Se-79  4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0 5.4X101 2.6X10-3 7.0X10-2 

Si-31 Silicon (14) 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.4X106 3.9X107 

Si-32  4.0X101 1.1X103 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 3.9 1.1X102 

Sm-145 Samarium (62) 1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X101 2.7X102 9.8X101 2.6X103 

Sm-147  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 
8.5X10-1  

8.5X10-10 
2.3X10-8 

Sm-151  4.0X101 1.1X103 1.0X101 2.7X102 9.7X10-1 2.6X101 

Sm-153  9.0 2.4X102 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.6X104 4.4X105 

Sn-113 (a) Tin (50) 4.0 1.1X102 2.0 5.4X101 3.7X102 1.0X104 

Sn-117m  7.0 1.9X102 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 3.0X103 8.2X104 
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Sn-119m  4.0X101 1.1X103 3.0X101 8.1X102 1.4X102 3.7X103 

Sn-121m (a)  4.0X101 1.1X103 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 

Sn-123  8.0X10-1 2.2X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 3.0X102 8.2X103 

Sn-125  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X103 1.1X105 

Sn-126 (a)  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.0X10-3 2.8X10-2 

Sr-82 (a) Strontium (38) 2.0X10-1 5.4 2.0X10-1 5.4 2.3X103 6.2X104 

Sr-85  2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 8.8X102 2.4X104 

Sr-85m  5.0 1.4X102 5.0 1.4X102 1.2X106 3.3X107 

Sr-87m  3.0 8.1X101 3.0 8.1X101 4.8X105 1.3X107 

Sr-89  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.1X103 2.9X104 

Sr-90 (a)  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 5.1 1.4X102 

Sr-91 (a)  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 1.3X105 3.6X106 

Sr-92 (a)  1.0 2.7X101 3.0X10-1 8.1 4.7X105 1.3X107 

T(H-3) Tritium (1) 4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 3.6X102 9.7X103 

Ta-178 (long-

lived) 
Tantalum (73) 1.0 2.7X101 8.0X10-1 2.2X101 4.2X106 1.1X108 

Ta-179  3.0X101 8.1X102 3.0X101 8.1X102 4.1X101 1.1X103 

Ta-182  9.0X10-1 2.4X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 2.3X102 6.2X103 

Tb-157 Terbium (65) 4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 5.6X10-1 1.5X101 

Tb-158  1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 5.6X10-1 1.5X101 

Tb-160  1.0 2.7X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 4.2X102 1.1X104 

Tc-95m (a) Technetium (43) 2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 8.3X102 2.2X104 

Tc-96  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.2X104 3.2X105 

Tc-96m (a)  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.4X106 3.8X107 

Tc-97  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 5.2X10-5 1.4X10-3 

Tc-97m  4.0X101 1.1X103 1.0 2.7X101 5.6X102 1.5X104 

Tc-98  8.0X10-1 2.2X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 3.2X10-5 8.7X10-4 

Tc-99  4.0X101 1.1X103 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 6.3X10-4 1.7X10-2 

Tc-99m  1.0X101 2.7X102 4.0 1.1X102 1.9X105 5.3X106 

Te-121 Tellurium (52) 2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 2.4X103 6.4X104 

Te-121m  5.0 1.4X102 3.0 8.1X101 2.6X102 7.0X103 

Te-123m  8.0 2.2X102 1.0 2.7X101 3.3X102 8.9X103 

Te-125m  2.0X101 5.4X102 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 6.7X102 1.8X104 

Te-127  2.0X101 5.4X102 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 9.8X104 2.6X106 

Te-127m (a)  2.0X101 5.4X102 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 3.5X102 9.4X103 
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Te-129  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 7.7X105 2.1X107 

Te-129m (a)  8.0X10-1 2.2X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.1X103 3.0X104 

Te-131m (a)  7.0X10-1 1.9X101 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 3.0X104 8.0X105 

Te-132 (a)  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 1.1X104 3.0X105 

Th-227 Thorium (90) 1.0X101 2.7X102 5.0X10-3 1.4X10-1 1.1X103 3.1X104 

Th-228 (a)  5.0X10-1 1.4X101 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 3.0X101 8.2X102 

Th-229  5.0 1.4X102 5.0X10-4 1.4X10-2 7.9X10-3 2.1X10-1 

Th-230  1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 7.6X10-4 2.1X10-2 

Th-231  4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 2.0X104 5.3X105 

Th-232  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 4.0X10-9 1.1X10-7 

Th-234 (a)  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 8.6X102 2.3X104 

Th(nat)  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 8.1X10-9 2.2X10-7 

Ti-44 (a) Titanium (22) 5.0X10-1 1.4X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 6.4 1.7X102 

Tl-200 Thallium (81) 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 2.2X104 6.0X105 

Tl-201  1.0X101 2.7X102 4.0 1.1X102 7.9X103 2.1X105 

Tl-202  2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 2.0X103 5.3X104 

Tl-204  1.0X101 2.7X102 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 1.7X101 4.6X102 

Tm-167 Thulium (69) 7.0 1.9X102 8.0X10-1 2.2X101 3.1X103 8.5X104 

Tm-170  3.0 8.1X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.2X102 6.0X103 

Tm-171  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 

U-230  

(fast lung 

absorption) 

(a)(d) 

Uranium (92) 4.0X101 1.1X103 1.0X10-1 2.7 1.0X103 2.7X104 

U-230 

(medium lung 

absorption) 

(a)(e) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X10-3 1.1X10-1 1.0X103 2.7X104 

U-230  

(slow lung 

absorption) 

(a)(f) 

 

3.0X101 8.1X102 3.0X10-3 8.1X10-2 1.0X103 2.7X104 

U-232  

(fast lung 

absorption) (d) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 1.0X10-2 2.7X10-1 8.3X10-1 2.2X101 

U-232 

(medium lung 

absorption) (e) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 7.0X10-3 1.9X10-1 8.3X10-1 2.2X101 



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 17, 2023  

2758 

U-232  

(slow lung 

absorption) (f) 

 

1.0X101 2.7X102 1.0X10-3 2.7X10-2 8.3X10-1 2.2X101 

U-233  

(fast lung 

absorption) (d) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 9.0X10-2 2.4 3.6X10-4 9.7X10-3 

U-233 

(medium lung 

absorption) (e) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 3.6X10-4 9.7X10-3 

U-233  

(slow lung 

absorption) (f) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 6.0X10-3 1.6X10-1 3.6X10-4 9.7X10-3 

U-234  

(fast lung 

absorption) (d) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 9.0X10-2 2.4 2.3X10-4 6.2X10-3 

U-234 

(medium lung 

absorption) (e) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 2.3X10-4 6.2X10-3 

U-234  

(slow lung 

absorption) (f) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 6.0X10-3 1.6X10-1 2.3X10-4 6.2X10-3 

U-235  

(all lung 

absorption 

types) 

(a),(d),(e),(f) 

 

Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 8.0X10-8 2.2X10-6 

U-236  

(fast lung 

absorption) (d) 

 

Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 2.4X10-6 6.5X10-5 

U-236 

(medium lung 

absorption) (e) 

 

4.0X101 1.1X103 2.0X10-2 5.4X10-1 2.4X10-6 6.5X10-5 

U-236 

(slow lung 

absorption) (f) 

 4.0X101 1.1X103 6.0X10-3 1.6X10-1 2.4X10-6 6.5X10-5 

U-238  

(all lung 

absorption 

types) 

(d),(e),(f) 

 

Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 1.2X10-8 3.4X10-7 

U (nat)  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 2.6X10-8 7.1X10-7 

U (enriched to 

20% or less) 

(g) 

 

Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited See Table 

A-4 

See Table 

A-4 

U (dep)  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 
See Table 

A-4 

See Table 

A-3 
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V-48 Vanadium (23) 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 6.3X103 1.7X105 

V-49  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 3.0X102 8.1X103 

W-178 (a) Tungsten (74) 9.0 2.4X102 5.0 1.4X102 1.3X103 3.4X104 

W-181  3.0X101 8.1X102 3.0X101 8.1X102 2.2X102 6.0X103 

W-185  4.0X101 1.1X103 8.0X10-1 2.2X101 3.5X102 9.4X103 

W-187  2.0 5.4X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 2.6X104 7.0X105 

W-188 (a)  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 3.0X10-1 8.1 3.7X102 1.0X104 

Xe-122 (a) Xenon (54) 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.8X104 1.3X106 

Xe-123  2.0 5.4X101 7.0X10-1 1.9X101 4.4X105 1.2X10 

Xe-127  4.0 1.1X102 2.0 5.4X101 1.0X103 2.8X104 

Xe-131m  4.0X101 1.1X103 4.0X101 1.1X103 3.1X103 8.4X104 

Xe-133  2.0X101 5.4X102 1.0X101 2.7X102 6.9X103 1.9X105 

Xe-135  3.0 8.1X101 2.0 5.4X101 9.5X104 2.6X106 

Y-87 (a) Yttrium (39) 1.0 2.7X101 1.0 2.7X101 1.7X104 4.5X105 

Y-88  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 5.2X102 1.4X104 

Y-90  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 2.0X104 5.4X105 

Y-91  6.0X10-1 1.6X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 9.1X102 2.5X104 

Y-91m  2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 1.5X106 4.2X10 

Y-92  2.0X10-1 5.4 2.0X10-1 5.4 3.6X105 9.6X106 

Y-93  3.0X10-1 8.1 3.0X10-1 8.1 1.2X105 3.3X106 

Yb-169 Ytterbium (70) 4.0 1.1X102 1.0 2.7X101 8.9X102 2.4X104 

Yb-175  3.0X101 8.1X102 9.0X10-1 2.4X101 6.6X103 1.8X105 

Zn-65 Zinc (30) 2.0 5.4X101 2.0 5.4X101 3.0X102 8.2X103 

Zn-69  3.0 8.1X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.8X106 4.9X10 

Zn-69m (a)  3.0 8.1X101 6.0X10-1 1.6X101 1.2X105 3.3X106 

Zr-88 Zirconium (40) 3.0 8.1X101 3.0 8.1X101 6.6X102 1.8X104 

Zr-93  Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 9.3X10 2.5X10 

Zr-95 (a)  2.0 5.4X101 8.0X10-1 2.2X101 7.9X102 2.1X104 

Zr-97 (a)  4.0X10-1 1.1X101 4.0X10-1 1.1X101 7.1X104 1.9X106 

aA1 and/or A2 values include contributions from daughter nuclides with half-lives less than 10 days, as 

listed in the following: 

Mg-28 

Ca-47 

Ti-44 

Fe-52 

Fe-60 

Zn-69m 

Al-28 

Sc-47 

Sc-44 

Mn-52m 

Co-60m 

Zn-69 
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Ge-68 

Rb-83 

Sr-82 

Sr-90 

Sr-91 

Sr-92 

Y-87 

Zr-95 

Zr-97 

Mo-99 

Tc-95m 

Tc-96m 

Ru-103 

Ru-106 

Pd-103 

Ag-108m 

Ag-110m 

Cd-115 

In-114m 

Sn-113 

Sn-121m 

Sn-126 

Te-127m 

Te-129m 

Te-131m 

Te-132 

I-135 

Xe-122 

Cs-137 

Ba-131 

Ba-140 

Ce-144 

Pm-148m 

Gd-146 

Dy-166 

Hf-172 

W-178 

W-188 

Re-189 

Os-194 

Ir-189 

Pt-188 

Hg-194 

Hg-195m 

Pb-210 

Pb-212 

Bi-210m 

Bi-212 

At-211 

Rn-222 

Ra-223 

Ra-224 

Ra-225 

Ra-228 

Ac-225 

Ga-68 

Kr-83m 

Rb-82 

Y-90 

Y-91m 

Y-92 

Sr-87m 

Nb-95m 

Nb-97m, Nb-97 

Tc-99m 

Tc-95 

Tc-96 

Rh-103m 

Rh-106 

Rh-103m 

Ag-108 

Ag-110  

In-115m 

In-114 

In-113m 

Sn-121 

Sb-126m 

Te-127 

Te-129 

Te-131 

I-132 

Xe-135m 

I-122 

Ba-137m 

Cs-131 

La-140 

Pr-144m, Pr-144 

Pm-148 

Eu-146 

Ho-166 

Lu-172 

Ta-178 

Re-188 

Os-189m 

Ir-194 

Os-189m 

Ir-188 

Au-194 

Hg-195 

Bi-210 

Bi-212, Po-212, TI-208 

Tl-206 

Tl-208, Po-212 

Po-211 

Po-218, Pb-214, At-218, Bi-214, Po-214 

Rn-219, Po-215, Pb-211, Bi-211, Po-211, Tl-207 

Rn-220, Po-216, Pb-212, Bi-212, Tl-208, Po-212 

Ac-225, Fr-221, At-217, Bi-213, Tl-209, Po-213, Pb-209 

Ac-228 

Fr-221, At-217, Bi-213, Po-213, Pb-209, TI-209 
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Ac-227 

Th-228 

Th-234 

Pa-230 

U-230 

U-235 

Pu-241 

Pu-244 

Am-242m 

Am-243 

Cm-247 

Bk-249 

Cf-253 

Fr-223 

Ra-224, Rn-220, Po-216, Pb-212, Bi-212, Tl-208, Po-212 

Pa-234m, Pa-234 

Ac-226, Th-226, Fr-222, Ra-222, Rn-218, Po-214 

Th-226, Ra-222, Rn-218, Po-214 

Th-231 

U-237 

U-240, Np-240m 

Am-242, Np-238 

Np-239 

Pu-243 

Am-245 

Cm-249 

bThe values of A1 and A2 in Curies (Ci) are approximate and for information only; the regulatory standard units are 

terabecquerels (TBq). 
cThe activity of Ir-192 in special form may be determined from a measurement of the rate of decay or a measurement of the 

radiation level at a prescribed distance from the source. 
dThese values apply only to compounds of uranium that take the chemical form of UF6, UO2F2 and UO2(NO3)2 in both 

normal and accident conditions of transport. 
eThese values apply only to compounds of uranium that take the chemical form of UO3, UF4, UCl4 and hexavalent 

compounds in both normal and accident conditions of transport. 
fThese values apply to all compounds of uranium other than those specified in notes d and e of this table. 
gThese values apply to unirradiated uranium only. 
h A2 = 0.74 TBq (20 Ci) for Mo-99 for domestic use. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections G, H, and I of 12VAC5-481-3770 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not 

set out. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7111; Filed June 15, 2023, 8:06 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and 

Scope of Selected Services (amending 12VAC30-130-140 

through 12VAC30-130-260). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

The Governor has approved the request of the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services to extend the expiration date of 

the emergency regulation for 12VAC30-130 for six months as 

provided for in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, the emergency regulation is continued in effect 

through February 14, 2024. This extension is required for the 

department to continue enforcing requirements of Chapters 

304 and 365 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly to allow qualified 

nursing facility staff to complete long-term services and 

supports (LTSS) screening for individuals who apply for or 

request LTSS and who are receiving non-Medicaid skilled 

nursing services in an institutional setting following discharge 

from an acute care hospital. The provisions of the emergency 

regulation are essential for the protection of individual choice 

for the setting and provider of LTSS services for every 

individual who applies for or requests institutional or 

community based services. The emergency regulation was 

published in 38:12 VA.R. 1415-1424 January 31, 2022. 

Effective Date Extended Through: February 14, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6611; Filed June 20, 2023, 6:14 p.m. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-46. Regulations for 

Children's Residential Facilities (adding 12VAC35-46-

1260, 12VAC35-46-1270). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-408 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Susan H. Puglisi, Regulatory Research 

Specialist, Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10086
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, 1220 Bank 

Street, 4th Floor South, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8043, FAX (804) 371-4609, TDD (804) 371-8977, or 

email susan.puglisi@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia gives the State 

Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services the 

authority to adopt regulations that may be necessary to carry 

out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia and 

other laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

Commissioner of the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to align the 

Regulations for Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-

46), with the requirements of the federal Family First 

Prevention Service Act (FFPSA) to require providers that 

accept Title IV-E funding to meet the standards as Qualified 

Residential Treatment Programs (QRTPs). 

FFPSA includes reforms to child welfare financing streams by 

providing prevention services to families of children who are 

at imminent risk of entering foster care, underscores the 

importance of children growing up in families, and seeks to 

avoid the traumatic experience of children being separated 

from their families and entering foster care. Specifically, 

federal reimbursement will be available for trauma-informed 

mental health services, substance use disorder treatment, and 

in-home parenting skills training to safely maintain in-home 

family placement. FFPSA also aims to improve the well-being 

of children already in foster care by safely reducing placement 

of children in non-family based settings (e.g., residential 

treatment programs) and instead increasing placement of 

children in the least restrictive, most family-based setting 

appropriate to their individual needs. FFPSA created a specific 

nonfamily-based placement type called a QRTP, along with a 

structure around placing children in these types of placements. 

QRTPs serve children with specific treatment needs who need 

short term placement out of the home. 

Substance: The proposed amendments require QRTPs to (i) 

have a trauma-informed treatment model; (ii) have registered 

licensed nursing staff and licensed clinical staff available 24 

hours a day and seven days a week; (iii) facilitate outreach to 

the family members of the child; (iv) facilitate participation of 

family members in the child's treatment program; (v) provide 

or arrange discharge planning and family-based aftercare 

support for at least six months post-discharge; (vi) be licensed; 

and (vii) be accredited by an independent, not-for profit, 

accrediting organization approved by the U.S. Secretary of 

Health and Human Services. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments are 

children's residential licensing regulations that incorporate best 

practices, help to enhance support services for families, 

increase the number of children who remain at home, and build 

the capacity of communities to support children and families. 

This is an advantage to the public, the agency, and the 

Commonwealth. There are no known disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

The primary disadvantage for providers is that some may 

experience a financial burden in order to comply with the new 

regulatory provisions. However, providers have been aware for 

at least two years of the eventual changes brought in this 

regulation, and providers that do not accept Title IV-E funding 

shall not be affected by these amendments. Further, as these 

are federal requirements, the department does not have much 

discretion in the manner in which they are enacted. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018).1 The analysis presented 

represents DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts.2  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

(Board) proposes to amend the licensing regulation for 

children's residential facilities to align with the requirements of 

the federal Family First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA) for 

providers that accept Title IV-E funding. The proposed 

amendments were mandated by the 2021 Appropriation Act 

and implemented via an emergency regulation; the Board now 

seeks to make those changes permanent. The proposed changes 

would establish a new license type for qualified residential 

treatment programs (QRTPs) and would allow children's 

residential facilities that meet the standards for QRTPs to 

maintain their eligibility for IV-E funding.  

Background. The FFPSA, enacted in 2018, restructured federal 

spending on services for families and youth so as to prioritize 

keeping children with their families over placing them in foster 

care.3 The law authorized new optional Title IV-E funding for 

time-limited mental health services, substance use treatment, 

and parenting skill-based programs.4 It also changed the role 

of community service providers, how courts make decisions 

for families, and the types of placements that can be made.5  

Item 318 D of the 2021 Appropriation Act requires the Board 

to promulgate emergency regulations to amend the children's 

residential facility licensing regulation to align with the 

requirements of the federal FFPSA for children's residential 

service providers to meet the standards as QRTPs.6 Because 

FFPSA has changed the funding streams for some children's 

residential facilities, Item 318 D directs the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Development Services (DBHDS) to 

seek input from the Department of Social Services (DSS) and 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

ensure that the regulation aligns with these changes. Item 318 

D also specifies that "any regulation changes promulgated 

pursuant to this authority shall be budget neutral and must not 

exceed the funding appropriated in the Act for these services."  

The proposed changes were initially implemented via an 

emergency regulation that became effective on January 10, 

mailto:susan.puglisi@dbhds.virginia.gov
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2022.7 This action adds two new sections to the chapter: 

12VAC35-46-1260, Qualified residential treatment programs, 

and 12VAC35-46-1270, Additional requirements for QRTP 

placements for children within the custody of local social 

service boards. 12VAC35-46-1260 requires QRTPs to have a 

trauma-informed model that is "designed to address the needs, 

including clinical needs as appropriate, of children with serious 

emotional or behavioral disorders or disturbances" and be able 

to implement the treatment identified for the child. In addition 

to the existing staffing requirements for children's residential 

facilities, QRTPs are also required to have registered or 

licensed nursing staff and other licensed clinical staff who (i) 

provide care on-site according to the treatment model, and (ii) 

are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The text 

specifies that QRTPs are not required to acquire nursing or 

other clinical staff solely through a direct employer-employee 

relationship. This means that the additional staffing 

requirements could be sub-contracted through nursing 

agencies or met through other contractual agreements.8  

To further the goals of the FFPSA, QRTPs must facilitate and 

document outreach to family members (known biological 

family, including siblings, and fictive kin9) and the ways in 

which family members are integrated into the treatment 

process for the child. QRTPs must also provide or ensure 

discharge planning and family-based aftercare support for at 

least six months following discharge. Finally, QRTPs must be 

licensed in accordance with and accredited by an independent, 

nonprofit, accrediting organization approved by the U.S. 

Secretary of Health and Human Service. 

12VAC35-46-1270 contains additional requirements that 

would apply for children in the custody of local social service 

boards. For these children, QRTPs must coordinate with local 

departments of social services (LDSS,) the child's family 

members, and other professionals who have provided services 

or served as a resource for the child. QRTPs are also required 

to maintain all documents pertaining to the child's need for 

placement in the child's record, including the initial assessment 

and any written documentation of the approval or disapproval 

of the placement by a court or administrative body.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs.10 Before FFPSA was enacted, 

children in foster care with serious emotional and behavioral 

disorders who were eligible for Title IV-E funding were placed 

at children's residential facilities, which may operate 

therapeutic group homes (TGH) or other institutional 

(congregate care) settings, or at psychiatric residential 

treatment facilities (PRTFs).11 Depending on the specific 

nature of the child's medical needs and other eligibility criteria, 

the cost of the child's treatment would have been covered by a 

combination of funds from the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) and IV-E funding via the 

Department of Social Services (DSS).12 However, once FFPSA 

was enacted, these facilities became ineligible for Title IV-E 

funds because they did not meet the new standards.13 

Establishing the QRTP license with the FFPSA standards 

allows children's residential facilities to become QRTPs and 

thus maintain their eligibility for Title IV-E funding. 

According to DSS, the types of programs that should be 

QRTPs are, "Non-family based residential programs who care 

for children in foster care who are eligible for IV-E funding. 

Any type of [non-family based residential] program licensed 

by DSS, DBHDS or DJJ [Department of Juvenile Justice]; 

regardless of whether it is or is not a Medicaid provider; can 

apply to be a QRTP."14  

DBHDS reports that 52 facility locations have obtained QRTP 

designation by DSS since the emergency regulation went into 

effect.15 Of these facilities, 50 are licensed by DBHDS and two 

are licensed by DSS.16 DSS reports that at the end of fiscal year 

2022 there were 189 QRTP placements: 89 placements were in 

facilities that operate a PRTF, and it is likely that the bulk of 

their placement costs are covered by Medicaid; 85 placements 

were in facilitates that operate a TGH, and part of their 

placement costs were covered by Medicaid; and 15 placements 

were in DSS facilities where none of their placement costs 

were covered by Medicaid.17  

The state benefits from the availability of licensed QRTP 

facilities because their presence allows for cost-sharing with 

the federal government via Title IV-E. Because children at 

these facilities often have severe emotional and behavioral 

disorders and must be placed in an institutional setting, at least 

in the short run, these expenditures would otherwise have to be 

paid for through DMAS, DSS, or Office of Children's Services 

(OCS) regardless of whether the facilities meet IV-E 

standards.18 Further, to the extent that QRTPs are able to 

facilitate the level of family integration that the FFPSA calls 

for, the proposed changes would also benefit children receiving 

residential treatment by providing them with a higher standard 

of care and mitigating the trauma of family separation. 

In order to provide the higher standard of care, children's 

residential facilities must incur additional costs to obtain and 

maintain their QRTP license. These include direct costs in 

terms of staffing and accreditation requirements and indirect 

costs arising from the effort required to develop a trauma-

informed model, maintain relationships with families, 

coordinate care with various parties, provide discharge 

planning and family-based aftercare for six months, and 

maintain additional paperwork, all of which require staff time. 

QRTPs may recover some of these costs through higher 

reimbursements via the rate-setting process. DBHDS, DSS, 

DMAS, and OCS have no discretion in the licensing standards 

since they stem from the FFPSA, which is federal law. 

Due to the costs involved, some children's residential facilities 

may elect not to become licensed as QRTPs. DBHDS notes 

that this is an intended consequence of the FFPSA. By design, 

the FFPSA intends for fewer IV-E eligible children to be 

placed in institutional settings, and for such placements to be 

shorter in length, as family-based settings are prioritized and 

better supported through other interventions. However, if there 

are fewer licensed institutional providers able to accept IV-E 

funding, some IV-E eligible children who need residential 
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treatment may have to be placed in locations that are farther 

away from their families than before, if facilities located closer 

to them are not licensed QRTPs. To the extent that this occurs 

and makes it more difficult to integrate the family in the child's 

care (through less frequent visits for example), this would be 

an unintended adverse consequence of the FFPSA. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned 

previously, DBHDS reports that there are 52 residential 

treatment locations that have obtained designation by DSS as 

QRTPs. The 52 approved QRTP locations are operated by 17 

unique provider organizations.19  

Small Businesses20 Affected.21 The proposed amendments 

appear to adversely affect small businesses; however, the 

number of affected entities that are small businesses is 

unknown. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposed amendments would affect children's residential 

facilities that seek to become licensed QRTPs; however, the 

number of affected entities that are small businesses is 

unknown. 

Costs and Other Effects. As mentioned previously, QRTPs 

incur direct costs in terms of staffing and accreditation 

requirements and indirect costs arising from the effort required 

to develop a trauma-informed model, maintain relationships 

with families, coordinate care with various parties, provide 

discharge planning and family-based aftercare for six months, 

and maintain additional paperwork, all of which require staff 

time. QRTPs may recover some of these costs through higher 

reimbursements via the rate-setting process. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. These 

license standards are based on the FFPSA, which is federal 

law. Thus there is no appropriate alternative. 

Localities22 Affected.23 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local departments of social services or for 

local governments. Consequently, an adverse economic 

impact24 is not indicated for any localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

could increase the employment of registered or licensed 

nursing staff or licensed clinical staff. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not affect the value of children's residential 

facilities. Some facilities will incur costs to be licensed as 

QRTPs, but they would benefit by being eligible to receive 

Title IV-E covered placements. The proposed amendments do 

not affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________ 
1This stage was submitted to DPB on June 30, 2022, when Executive Order 14 

was still in effect. 
2Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
3See https://familyfirstact.org/about-law.  

4See https://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb/title-iv-e-prevention-program. 
5See https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/federal/ 

family-first/. 

6See Chapter 552 or the 2021 Acts of Assembly (Special Session I) at 

https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2021/2/HB1800/Chapter/1/318/. 
7See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9439. The 

emergency regulation is scheduled to expire on July 9, 2023. 
8In response to a comment received at the Emergency/NOIRA stage, DBHDS 

clarified that after hours care can be supplied either in person, via telehealth, 

or via telephone as needed. DBHDS plans on issuing guidance regarding this 
provision when the permanent regulation takes effect. See Agency 

Background Document (ABD) at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=65\5849\9581\AgencyState

ment_DBHDS_9581_v4.pdf. 

9"Fictive kin" both here and in the regulation means "persons who are not 

related to a child by blood or adoption but have an established relationship 
with the child or his family." See 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-228/. 

10The Economic Impact Analysis compares the proposed regulation to the 
regulation in the Virginia Administrative Code. The emergency regulation is: 

1) not in the Virginia Administrative Code (see 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode) and 2) temporary. Thus, the Economic 
Impact Analysis assesses the impact of changing the permanent regulations. 

Consequently, to the extent that the proposed text matches the emergency text, 

some of the benefits and costs described here have likely already accrued. 
11PRTFs fall under Title XIX (Medicaid) and are licensed differently although 

they serve a very similar population. For a discussion of the impact of FFPSA 

on congregate care settings vs. PRTFs, see https://www.macpac.gov/wp-
content/uploads/2021/08/Medicaid-Coverage-of-Qualified-Residential-

Treatment-Programs-for-Children-in-Foster-Care.pdf 

12The Office of Children's Services (OCS) also provides funding in some cases, 

either directly or via DMAS. 
13These payments have been covered in the interim by OCS; funds that were 

allocated for these payments at DSS were transferred over to OCS. However, 
since these payments do not fall under Title IV-E, the state does not receive 

any federal reimbursement for them. 

14See https://familyfirstvirginia.com/foster_care/qrtp_faq.html. 
15Updated information received via email from DBHDS dated October 27, 

2022. 

16Email from DBHDS dated July 19, 2022. 
17These numbers are based on the Adoption and Foster Care Report pulled on 

June 29, 2022, and received in an email from DSS dated August 5, 2022. 

18In this sense, the emergency regulation is "budget neutral" as required by the 
2021 Appropriations Act. The proposed changes would maintain that budget 

neutrality since the eligibility criteria for children receiving services would not 

be changed. 
19Email from DBHDS dated July 19, 2022. 

20Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
21If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

https://familyfirstact.org/about-law
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb/title-iv-e-prevention-program
https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/federal/family-first/
https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/federal/family-first/
https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2021/2/HB1800/Chapter/1/318/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9439
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=65/5849/9581/AgencyStatement_DBHDS_9581_v4.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=65/5849/9581/AgencyStatement_DBHDS_9581_v4.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-228/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode
https://www.macpac.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/Medicaid-Coverage-of-Qualified-Residential-Treatment-Programs-for-Children-in-Foster-Care.pdf
https://www.macpac.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/Medicaid-Coverage-of-Qualified-Residential-Treatment-Programs-for-Children-in-Foster-Care.pdf
https://www.macpac.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/Medicaid-Coverage-of-Qualified-Residential-Treatment-Programs-for-Children-in-Foster-Care.pdf
https://familyfirstvirginia.com/foster_care/qrtp_faq.html
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description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
22"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
23Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

24Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 
in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

concurs with economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Item 318 D of Chapter 552 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session 1, requires the State Board of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services to align the 

Regulations for Children's Residential Facilities 

(12VAC35-46) with the requirements of the federal Family 

First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA) for children's 

residential service providers who accept Title IV-E 

funding to meet the standards as qualified residential 

treatment programs (QRTPs). The proposed amendments 

require QRTPs to (i) have a trauma-informed treatment 

model; (ii) have registered licensed nursing staff and 

licensed clinical staff who are available 24 hours a day 

and seven days a week; (iii) facilitate outreach to the 

family members of the child; (iv) facilitate participation of 

family members in the child's treatment program; (v) 

provide or arrange discharge planning and family-based 

aftercare support for at least six months after discharge; 

and (vi) be licensed and accredited by an independent, 

not-for-profit accrediting organization approved by the 

U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services. 

12VAC35-46-1260. Qualified residential treatment 

programs.  

A. A qualified residential treatment program (QRTP) shall 

have a trauma-informed treatment model that is designed to 

address the needs, including clinical needs as appropriate, of 

children with serious emotional or behavioral disorders or 

disturbances and, with respect to a child, is able to implement 

the treatment identified for the child. 

B. In addition to the staffing requirements within Part II 

(12VAC35-46-170 et seq.) through Part VI (12VAC35-46-

1120 et seq.) of this chapter, a QRTP shall have registered or 

licensed nursing staff and other licensed clinical staff who:  

1. Provide care within the scope of their practice as defined 

by state law; 

2. Are on-site according to the treatment model referred to 

in subsection A of this section; and 

3. Are available 24 hours a day and seven days a week.  

The QRTP is not required to acquire nursing or other clinical 

staff solely through means of a direct employer to employee 

relationship.  

C. To the extent appropriate and in accordance with the 

child's best interests, the QRTP shall facilitate participation of 

family members in the child's treatment program. 

D. The QRTP shall facilitate outreach to the family members 

of the child, including siblings, document how the outreach is 

made, including contact information, and maintain contact 

information for any known biological family and fictive kin of 

the child. Documentation of outreach to family members and 

contact information of family members shall be placed within 

the child's record at the QRTP.  

E. The QRTP shall document how family members are 

integrated into the treatment process for the child, including 

after discharge, and how sibling connections are maintained. 

Documentation of family member integration shall be placed 

within the child's record at the QRTP.  

F. The QRTP shall provide or ensure discharge planning and 

family-based aftercare support for at least six months 

following discharge. 

G. The QRTP shall be licensed in accordance with 42 USC 

§ 471(a)(10) and accredited by any of the following 

independent nonprofit organizations:  

1. The Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 

Facilities (CARF); 

2. The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations (JCAHO); 

3. The Council on Accreditation (COA); or 

4. Any other independent, nonprofit accrediting organization 

approved by the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human 

Services.  

12VAC35-46-1270. Additional requirements for QRTP 

placements for children within the custody of local social 

service boards.  

A. The qualified residential treatment program (QRTP) shall 

coordinate with the local departments of social services, the 

child's biological family members, relative and fictive kin of 

the child, and, as appropriate, professionals who are a resource 

to the family of the child, such as teachers, clergy, or medical 

or mental health providers who have treated the child. 

B. All documents related to a child's need for placement shall 

be placed within the child's record at the qualified residential 

treatment program, including the assessment determination of 

the qualified individual, as defined in 42 USC 

§ 675a(c)(1)(D)(i), and the written documentation of the 

approval or disapproval of the placement in a qualified 
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residential treatment program by a court or administrative 

body. 

C. This section shall not apply to direct parental placements 

of children into the QRTP that are made outside of the social 

services system.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6861; Filed June 27, 2023, 4:57 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts amendments to regulations of the board to 

schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to subsection 

D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-323). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 16, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 527-4472, 

or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add four compounds to Schedule I; 

and (ii) delete one compound from Schedule IV of the 

Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) pursuant to § 54.1-3443 of Code of Virginia to 

conform Virginia scheduled drugs with federal scheduling 

actions. These amendments represent changes made by 

the federal government July 7, 2022, through February 3, 

2023.  

18VAC110-20-323. Scheduling for conformity with federal 

law or rule. 

Pursuant to subsection E of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia and in order to conform the Drug Control Act to recent 

scheduling changes enacted in federal law or rule, the board: 

1. Adds MT-45 (1-cyclohexyl-4-(1,2-diphenylethyl) 

piperazine) to Schedule I; 

2. Adds Dronabinol ((-)-delta-9-trans tetrahydrocannabinol) 

in an oral solution in a drug product approved for marketing 

by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to Schedule II; 

3. Deletes naldemedine from Schedule II; 

4. Deletes naloxegol and 6β-naltrexol from Schedule II; 

5. Replaces 4-anilino-N-phenethyl-4-piperidine (CASRN 

21409-26-7) in Schedule II with 4-anilino-N-

phenethylpiperidine (ANPP); 

6. Adds 4-methyl-5-(4-methylphenyl)-4,5-dihydro-1,3-

oxazol-2-amine (4,4'-Dimethylaminorex, 4,4'-DMAR) to 

Schedule I; 

7. Adds 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-N-(2-phenylpropan-2-yl)pyrrolo 

[2,3-b]pyridine-3-carboxamide (5F-CUMYL-P7AICA) to 

Schedule I; 

8. Adds ethyl N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-

yl]carbamate (fentanyl carbamate) to Schedule I; 

9. Adds N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-

4-yl]prop-2-enamide (ortho-fluoroacryl fentanyl) to 

Schedule I; 

10. Adds N-(2-fluorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-

phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]propanamide (ortho-

fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

11. Adds N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl) 

piperidin-4-yl]furan-2-carboxamide (para-fluoro furanyl 

fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

12. Adds N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-[2-(2-fluorophenyl) 

ethyl]piperidin-4-yl]propanamide (2'-fluoro ortho-

fluorofentanyl; 2'-fluoro 2-fluorofentanyl) to Schedule I; 

13. Adds N-[1-[2-(4-methylphenyl)ethyl]piperidin-4-yl]-N-

phenylacetamide (4'-methyl acetyl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

14. Adds N,3-diphenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-

yl]propanamide (β'-phenyl fentanyl; beta'-phenyl fentanyl; 

3-phenylpropanoyl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

15. Adds N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylpropyl)piperidin-4-yl] 

propanamide (β-methyl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

16. Adds N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl) 

piperidin-4-yl]butanamide (ortho-fluorobutyryl fentanyl; 2-

fluorobutyryl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

17. Adds N-(2-methylphenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl) 

piperidin-4-yl]acetamide (ortho-methyl acetylfentanyl; 2-

methyl acetylfentanyl) to Schedule I; 

18. Adds 2-methoxy-N-(2-methylphenyl)-N-[1-(2-

phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]acetamide (ortho-methyl 

methoxyacetylfentanyl; 2-methyl methoxyacetyl fentanyl) 

to Schedule I; 
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19. Adds N-(4-methylphenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl) 

piperidin-4-yl]propanamide (para-methylfentanyl; 4-

methylfentanyl) to Schedule I; 

20. Adds N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-

yl]thiophene-2-carboxamide (thiophene fentanyl) to 

Schedule I; 

21. Adds N-(4-chlorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-

phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]propanamide (para-

chloroisobutyryl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

22. Adds 24. 2-[2-[(4-butoxyphenyl)methyl]-5-

nitrobenzimidazol-1-yl]-N,N-diethylethanamine 

(Butonitazene) to Schedule I; 

23. Adds N,N-diethyl-2-[2-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-5-

nitrobenzimidazol-1-yl] ethanamine (Flunitazene) to 

Schedule I; 

24. Adds Oliceridine to Schedule II; 

25. Deletes Samidorphan from Schedule II; 

26. Adds Remimazolam to Schedule IV; 

27. Adds Serdexmethylphenidate to Schedule IV; 

28. Adds Lemborexant to Schedule IV; 

29. Adds Daridorexant to Schedule IV; and 

30. Adds Ganaxolone to Schedule V; 

31. Adds N-methyl-1-(thiophen-2-yl)propan-2-amine (other 

name: methiopropamine) to Schedule I; 

32. Adds N-phenyl-N′-(3-(1-phenylpropan-2-yl)-1,2,3-

oxadiazol-3-ium-5-yl)carbamimidate (other name: 

mesocarb) to Schedule I;  

33. Adds 1-methoxy-3-[4-(2-methoxy-2-phenylethyl) 

piperazin-1-yl]-1-phenylpropan-2-ol (other name: zipeprol) 

to Schedule I;  

34. Adds 7-[(10,11-dihydro-5H-dibenzo[a,d]cyclohepten-5-

yl)amino]heptanoic acid (other name: amineptine) to 

Schedule I; and  

35. Deletes Fenfluramine from Schedule IV. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7477; Filed June 15, 2023, 8:23 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The agency is claiming an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes actions of the Board of Pharmacy relating to the 

permits to operate pharmaceutical processors or cannabis 

dispensing facilities. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors (amending 18VAC110-60-10, 

18VAC110-60-20, 18VAC110-60-50 through 18VAC110-

60-90, 18VAC110-60-140, 18VAC110-60-160, 18VAC110-

60-190, 18VAC110-60-200 through 18VAC110-60-230, 

18VAC110-60-250, 18VAC110-60-251, 18VAC110-60-280 

through 18VAC110-60-320, 18VAC110-60-330; adding 

18VAC110-60-281, 18VAC110-60-295). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 16, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 527-4472, 

or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 391 and 392 of the 2022 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments (i) eliminate mandatory 

patient registration; and (ii) change allowable 

manufacturing and extraction of cannabis products, 

wholesale transactions of bulk cannabis, and marketing of 

cannabis products. 

18VAC110-60-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3408.3 and 

54.1-3442.5 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"90-day supply" means the amount of cannabis products 

reasonably necessary to ensure an uninterrupted availability of 

supply for a 90-day period for registered patients with a valid, 

unexpired written certification issued by a practitioner for the 

use of cannabis products. 

"Advertising" means the act of providing consideration for 

the publication, dissemination, solicitation, or circulation of 

visual, oral, or written communication through any means to 

directly induce any person to patronize a particular 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility or to 

purchase particular approved cannabis products. Advertising 

includes marketing. 

"Batch" means a quantity of (i) cannabis oil from a production 

lot or (ii) harvested botanical cannabis product that is identified 

by a batch number or other unique identifier. 

"Board" means the Board of Pharmacy. 

"Certification" means a written statement, consistent with 

requirements of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia, issued 

by a practitioner for the use of cannabis products for treatment 

of or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or 

disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use. 

"Dispensing error" means one or more of the following was 

discovered after the final verification by the pharmacist, 

regardless of whether the patient received the product: 

1. Variation from the intended product to be dispensed, 

including: 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 17, 2023  

2768 

a. Incorrect product; 

b. Incorrect product strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; 

d. Incorrect patient; or 

e. Inadequate or incorrect packaging, labeling, or 

directions. 

2. Failure to exercise professional judgment in identifying 

and managing: 

a. Known therapeutic duplication; 

b. Known drug-disease contraindications; 

c. Known drug-drug interactions; 

d. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

e. Known drug-allergy interactions; 

f. A clinically significant, avoidable delay in therapy; or 

g. Any other significant, actual, or potential problem with 

a patient's drug therapy. 

3. Delivery of a cannabis product to the incorrect patient. 

4. An act or omission relating to the dispensing of cannabis 

product that results in, or may reasonably be expected to 

result in, injury to or death of a registered patient or results 

in any detrimental change to the medical treatment for the 

patient. 

"Electronic tracking system" means an electronic radio-

frequency identification (RFID) seed-to-sale tracking system 

that tracks the Cannabis from either the seed or immature plant 

stage until the cannabis product is sold to a registered patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent or until the 

Cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, and extracts, are 

destroyed. The electronic tracking system shall include, at a 

minimum, a central inventory management system and 

standard and ad hoc reporting functions as required by the 

board and shall be capable of otherwise satisfying required 

recordkeeping. 

"ISO/IEC" means the joint technical committee of the 

International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the 

International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). 

"ISO/IEC 17025" means the general requirements specified 

by the ISO/IEC for the competence of testing and calibration 

laboratories. 

"On duty" means that a pharmacist, the responsible party, or 

a person who is qualified to provide supervision in accordance 

with 18VAC110-60-170 is on the premises at the address of 

the permitted pharmaceutical processor and is available as 

needed. 

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for recording 

quantities of cannabis product received, dispensed, or 

otherwise distributed by a cannabis dispensing facility. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge whose name is on the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

application for a permit that has been issued and who shall have 

oversight of the processor's dispensing area or cannabis 

dispensing facility. 

"Production" or "produce" means the manufacture, planting, 

preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 

conversion, or processing of marijuana for the creation of 

usable cannabis, botanical cannabis, or a cannabis product 

derived thereof, (i) directly or indirectly by extraction from 

substances of natural origin, (ii) independently by means of 

chemical synthesis, or (iii) by a combination of extraction and 

chemical synthesis. "Production" or "produce" includes any 

packaging or repackaging of the substance or labeling or 

relabeling of its container. 

"Qualifying patient" means a Virginia resident who has 

received from a practitioner, as defined in § 54.1-3408.3 of the 

Code of Virginia, a written certification for the use of cannabis 

products for treatment of or to alleviate the symptoms of any 

diagnosed condition or disease. 

"Registered patient" means a qualifying patient who has been 

issued a registration by the board for the dispensing of cannabis 

products to such patient. 

"Registration" means an identification card or other document 

issued by the board that identifies a person as a practitioner or; 

a qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian, who has 

voluntarily registered with the board; or a registered agent. 

"Resident" means a person whose principal place of residence 

is within the Commonwealth as evidenced by a federal or state 

income tax return or a current Virginia driver's license. If a 

person is a minor, residency may be established by evidence of 

Virginia residency by a parent or legal guardian. 

"Responsible party" means the person designated on the 

pharmaceutical processor application who shall have oversight 

of the cultivation and production areas of the pharmaceutical 

processor. 

"Temperature and humidity" means temperature and 

humidity maintained in the following ranges: 

Room or Phase Temperature Humidity 

Mother room 65 - 85° F 50% - 75% 

Nursery phase 65 - 85° F 50% - 75% 

Vegetation phase 65 - 85° F 50% - 75% 

Flower/harvest phase 65 - 85° F 40% - 75% 

Drying/extraction 

rooms 

< 75° F 40% - 75% 

"Temporarily resides" means a person that does not maintain 

a principal place of residence within Virginia but resides in 
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Virginia on a temporary basis as evidenced by documentation 

substantiating such temporary residence. 

18VAC110-60-20. Fees. 

A. Fees are required by the board as specified in this section. 

Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not 

be refundable. 

B. Registration of practitioner. 

1. Initial registration. $50 

2. Annual renewal of registration. $50 

3. Replacement of registration for a qualifying 

practitioner whose information has changed or 

whose original registration certificate has been 

lost, stolen, or destroyed. 

$50 

C. Registration Voluntary registration by a qualifying patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent. 

1. Initial voluntary registration of a patient. $50 

2. Annual renewal of voluntary registration of 

a patient. 

3. Initial voluntary registration of a parent or 

legal guardian. 

4. Annual voluntary renewal of registration of 

a parent or guardian. 

$50 

$25 

$25 

5. Initial registration or annual renewal of a 

registered agent 

$25 

6. Replacement of registration for a qualifying 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent whose original registration certificate 

has been lost, stolen, or destroyed. 

$25 

D. Pharmaceutical processor permit. 

1. Application. $10,000 

2. Initial permit. $60,000 

3. Annual renewal of permit. $10,000 

4. Change of name of processor. $100 

5. Change of PIC or responsible party or any 

other information provided on the permit 

application. 

$100 

6. Change of ownership not requiring a 

criminal background check. 

$100 

7. Change of ownership requiring a criminal 

background check. 

$250 

8. Any acquisition, expansion, remodel, or 

change of location requiring an inspection. 

$1,000 

9. Reinspection fee. $1,000 

10. Registration of each cannabis oil product. $25 

E. Cannabis dispensing facility permit. 

1. Initial permit. $5,000 

2. Annual renewal of permit. $1,500 

3. Change of name of dispensing facility. $100 

4. Change of PIC or any other information 

provided on the permit application. 

$100 

5. Change of ownership not requiring a 

criminal background check. 

$100 

6. Change of ownership requiring a criminal 

background check. 

$250 

7. Any acquisition, expansion, remodel, or 

change of location requiring an inspection. 

$1,000 

8. Reinspection fee. $1,000 

F. The handling fee for returned check or dishonored credit 

card or debit card shall be $50. 

18VAC110-60-50. Registration Voluntary registration of a 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent. 

A. A qualifying patient, or a parent or legal guardian of a 

minor or vulnerable adult, for whom a practitioner has issued 

a certification shall register with the board may voluntarily 

request registration in accordance with this section. If the 

qualifying patient is a minor or an incapacitated adult, the 

qualifying patient's parent or legal guardian shall register with 

the board in accordance with this section. For issuance of a 

registration application to be considered complete, the 

following items shall be submitted: 

1. A copy of the certification issued by a registered 

practitioner; 

2. Proof of residency of the qualifying patient and proof of 

residency of a parent or legal guardian, if applicable, such as 

a government-issued identification card or tax receipt or 

proof of temporary residency, if applicable, such as a current 

academic identification card from a Virginia institution of 

higher learning, rental agreement, utility bill, or attestation 

on a form prescribed by the board that contains information 

sufficient to document temporary residency in Virginia; 

3. Proof of identity of the qualifying patient and, if the 

patient is a minor, proof of identity of the parent or legal 

guardian in the form of a government-issued identification 

card; 

4. Proof of the qualifying patient's age in the form of a birth 

certificate or other government-issued identification; 
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5. Payment of the appropriate fees; and 

6. Such other information as the board may require to 

determine the applicant's suitability for registration or to 

protect public health and safety. 

B. A patient, or the patient's parent or legal guardian, may 

choose a registered agent to receive cannabis products on 

behalf of the patient. An individual may serve as a registered 

agent for no more than two registered patients. For a 

registration application to be approved, the following shall be 

submitted: 

1. The name, address, and birthdate, and registration number 

of each registered patient for whom the individual intends to 

act as a registered agent; 

2. A copy of the written certification issued to the patient for 

the use of cannabis products for treatment of or to alleviate 

the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease; 

3. Proof of identity in the form of a copy of a government-

issued identification card; 

3. 4. Payment of the applicable fee; and 

4. 5. Such other information as the board may require to 

determine the applicant's suitability for registration or to 

protect public health and safety. 

C. A qualifying patient shall not be issued a written 

certification by more than one practitioner during a given time 

period. 

D. Patients, parents, legal guardians, and registered agents 

issued a registration shall carry their registrations with them 

whenever they are in possession of cannabis products. 

18VAC110-60-60. Denial of a qualifying patient, parent, 

legal guardian, or registered agent registration application. 

A. The board may deny an application or renewal of the 

registration of a registered agent, or the voluntary registration 

or renewal of a qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian, or 

registered agent if the applicant: 

1. Does not meet the requirements set forth in law or 

regulation or fails to provide complete information on the 

application form; 

2. Does not provide acceptable proof of identity, residency 

or temporary residency, or age of the patient to the board; 

3. Provides false, misleading, or incorrect information to the 

board; 

4. Has had a qualifying registration of a qualifying patient, 

parent, legal guardian, request denied or registered agent 

status denied, suspended, or revoked by the board in the 

previous six months; 

5. Has presented a certification issued by a practitioner who 

is not authorized to certify patients for cannabis products; or 

6. Has a prior conviction of a violation of any law pertaining 

to controlled substances. 

B. If the board denies an application or renewal of a 

qualifying patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent 

applicant, the board shall provide the applicant with notice of 

the grounds for the denial and shall inform the applicant of the 

right to request a hearing pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

18VAC110-60-70. Reporting requirements for 

practitioners, patients, parents, legal guardians, or 

registered agents. 

A. A practitioner shall report to the board, on a form 

prescribed by the board, the death of a registered patient or a 

change in status involving of a registered patient for whom the 

practitioner has issued a certification if such change affects the 

patient's continued eligibility to use cannabis products or the 

practitioner's inability to continue treating the patient. A 

practitioner shall report such death, change of status, or 

inability to continue treatment not more than 15 days after the 

practitioner becomes aware of such fact. 

B. A patient, parent, or legal guardian who has been issued a 

registration shall notify the board of any change in the 

information provided to the board not later than 15 days after 

such change. The patient, parent, or legal guardian shall report 

changes that include a change in name, address, contact 

information, medical status of the patient, or change of the 

certifying practitioner. The patient, parent, or legal guardian 

shall report such changes on a form prescribed by the board. 

C. A registered agent who has been issued a registration shall 

notify the board of any change in the information provided to 

the board not later than 15 days after such change, to include a 

change in the identifying information of the patient for whom 

he is serving as a registered agent. 

D. If a patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent 

notifies the board of any change that results in information on 

the registration of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent being inaccurate, the board shall issue a 

replacement registration. Upon receipt of a new registration, 

the qualifying patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent shall destroy in a nonrecoverable manner the registration 

that was replaced. 

E. If a patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent 

becomes aware of the loss, theft, or destruction of the 

registration of such patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent, the registrant shall notify the board not later than five 

business days after becoming aware of the loss, theft, or 

destruction, and submit the fee for a replacement registration. 

The board shall inactivate the initial registration upon 

receiving such notice and issue a replacement registration upon 

receiving the applicable fee, provided the applicant continues 

to satisfy the requirements of law and regulation. 
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18VAC110-60-80. Proper storage and disposal of cannabis 

products by patients, parents, legal guardians, or 

registered agents. 

A. A registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent shall exercise reasonable caution to transport and store 

cannabis products in a manner to prevent theft, loss, or access 

by unauthorized persons. 

B. A registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent shall dispose of all usable cannabis products in 

possession of the registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent no later than 10 calendar days after the 

expiration of the patient's registration if such registration is not 

renewed, or sooner should the patient no longer wish to possess 

cannabis products. A registered patient, parent, legal guardian, 

or registered agent shall complete such disposal by one of the 

following methods: 

1. By removing the product from the original container and 

mixing it with an undesirable substance such as used coffee 

grounds, dirt, or kitty litter. The mixture shall be placed in a 

sealable bag, empty can, or other container to prevent the 

drug from leaking or breaking out of a garbage bag. 

2. By transferring it to law enforcement via a medication 

drop-box or drug take-back event if permissible under state 

and federal law. 

18VAC110-60-90. Revocation or suspension of a qualifying 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent 

registration or invalidation of the voluntary registration of 

a patient, parent, or legal guardian. 

The board may revoke or suspend the registration of a 

registrant (i.e., a patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent) registered agent or invalidate the voluntary registration 

of a patient, parent, or legal guardian under the following 

circumstances: 

1. The patient's practitioner notifies the board that the 

practitioner is withdrawing the written certification 

submitted on behalf of the patient, and 30 days after the 

practitioner's withdrawal of the written certification, the 

patient has not obtained a valid written certification from a 

different practitioner; 

2. The registrant registered agent or voluntarily registered 

patient, parent, or legal guardian provided false, misleading, 

or incorrect information to the board; 

3. The registrant patient on whose behalf the registered agent 

is receiving cannabis products or the voluntarily registered 

patient, parent, or legal guardian is no longer a resident of 

Virginia or is no longer temporarily residing in Virginia; 

4. The registrant registered agent or voluntarily registered 

patient, parent, or legal guardian obtained more than a 90-

day supply of cannabis products in a 90-day period; 

5. The registrant provided or registered agent or voluntarily 

registered patient, parent, or legal guardian sold or 

improperly provided cannabis products to any person, 

including another registrant registered agent; 

6. The registrant registered agent or voluntarily registered 

patient, parent, or legal guardian permitted another person to 

use the registration of the registrant registered agent or 

voluntarily registered patient, parent, or legal guardian, 

except as required for a registered agent to act on behalf of a 

patient; 

7. The registrant registered agent or voluntarily registered 

patient, parent, or legal guardian tampered, falsified, altered, 

modified, or allowed another person to tamper, falsify, alter, 

or modify the registration of the registrant registered agent 

or voluntarily registered patient, parent, or legal guardian; 

8. The registration of the registrant registered agent or 

voluntarily registered patient, parent, or legal guardian was 

lost, stolen, or destroyed, and the registrant registered agent 

or voluntarily registered patient, parent, or legal guardian 

failed to notify the board or notified the board of such 

incident more than five business days after becoming aware 

that the registration was lost, stolen, or destroyed; 

9. The registrant registered agent or voluntarily registered 

patient, parent, or legal guardian failed to notify the board of 

a change in registration information or notified the board of 

such change more than 15 days after the change; or 

10. The registered agent or voluntarily registered patient, 

parent, or legal guardian violated any federal or state law or 

regulation. 

18VAC110-60-140. Notification of changes by 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility. 

A. Unless otherwise provided in law or regulation, the PIC or 

the responsible party designated on the application of the 

pharmaceutical processor or a cannabis dispensing facility 

shall provide any notification or information that is required 

from a pharmaceutical processor or a cannabis dispensing 

facility with respect to their designated areas of oversight. 

B. Prior to making any change to the pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility name, the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall 

submit an application for such change to the board and pay the 

fee. 

C. Any person wishing to engage in the acquisition of an 

existing pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility, change the location of an existing pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility, make structural 

changes to an existing pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility, or make changes to a previously approved 

security system shall submit an application to the board and 

pay the required fee. 
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1. The proposed location or structural changes shall be 

inspected by an authorized agent of the board prior to 

issuance of a permit. 

2. Cannabis, oil acquired from industrial hemp extract 

extracts, or cannabis products shall not be moved to a new 

location until approval is granted by the inspector or board 

staff. 

18VAC110-60-160. Grounds for action against a 

pharmaceutical processor permit or a cannabis dispensing 

facility. 

In addition to the bases enumerated in § 54.1-3316 of the 

Code of Virginia, the board may suspend, revoke, or refuse to 

grant or renew a permit issued; place such permit on probation; 

place conditions on such permit; or take other actions permitted 

by statute or regulation on the following grounds: 

1. Any criminal conviction under federal or state statutes or 

regulations or local ordinances, unless the conviction was 

based on a federal statute or regulation related to the 

possession, purchase, or sale of cannabis products that is 

authorized under state law and regulations; 

2. Any civil action under any federal or state statute or 

regulation or local ordinance (i) relating to the applicant's, 

licensee's, permit holder's, or registrant's profession; or (ii) 

involving drugs, medical devices, or fraudulent practices, 

including fraudulent billing practices; 

3. Failure to maintain effective controls against diversion, 

theft, or loss of Cannabis, cannabis products, or other 

controlled substances; 

4. Intentionally or through negligence obscuring, damaging, 

or defacing a permit or registration card; 

5. Permitting another person to use the permit of a permit 

holder or registration; the written certification of a 

qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian; the registration 

of a qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian who has 

voluntarily registered with the board; or a registered agent, 

except as required for a registered agent to act on behalf of a 

patient; 

6. Failure to cooperate or give information to the board on 

any matter arising out of conduct at a pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility; or 

7. Discontinuance of business for more than 60 days, unless 

the board approves an extension of such period for good 

cause shown upon a written request from a pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility. Good cause 

includes exigent circumstances that necessitate the closing 

of the facility. Good cause shall not include a voluntary 

closing of the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility. 

18VAC110-60-190. Pharmacy technicians; ratio; 

supervision and responsibility. 

A. The ratio of pharmacy technicians to pharmacists on duty 

in the areas of a pharmaceutical processor designated for 

production or dispensing or in a cannabis dispensing facility 

shall not exceed six pharmacy technicians to one pharmacist. 

B. The pharmacist providing direct supervision of pharmacy 

technicians may be held responsible for the pharmacy 

technicians' actions. Any violations relating to the dispensing 

of cannabis products resulting from the actions of a pharmacy 

technician shall constitute grounds for action against the 

license of the pharmacist and the registration of the pharmacy 

technician. As used in this subsection, "direct supervision" 

means a supervising pharmacist who: 

1. Is on duty where the pharmacy technician is performing 

routine cannabis product production or dispensing functions; 

and 

2. Conducts in-process and final checks on the pharmacy 

technician's performance. 

C. Pharmacy technicians shall not: 

1. Counsel a registered patient or the patient's parent, legal 

guardian, or registered agent regarding (i) cannabis products 

or other drugs either before or after cannabis products have 

been dispensed or (ii) any medical information contained in 

a patient medication record; 

2. Consult with the practitioner who certified the qualifying 

patient, or the practitioner's agent, regarding a patient or any 

medical information pertaining to the patient's cannabis 

product or any other drug the patient may be taking; 

3. Interpret the patient's clinical data or provide medical 

advice; 

4. Determine whether a different formulation of cannabis 

product should be substituted for the cannabis product or 

formulation recommended by the practitioner or requested 

by the registered patient or, parent, or legal guardian; or 

5. Communicate with a practitioner who certified a 

registered patient, or the practitioner's agent, to obtain a 

clarification on a qualifying patient's written certification or 

instructions. 

18VAC110-60-200. Responsibilities of the PIC. 

A. The PIC of a pharmaceutical processor shall not serve as 

PIC of any other facility at any one time. A processor shall 

employ the PIC at the pharmaceutical processor for at least 35 

hours per week, except as otherwise authorized by the board. 

A person may serve simultaneously as the PIC for no more than 

two cannabis dispensing facilities located within the same 

health service area at any one time. 

B. The PIC or the pharmacist on duty shall control all aspects 

of the practice in the dispensing area of the pharmaceutical 
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processor or in a cannabis dispensing facility. Any decision 

overriding such control of the PIC or other pharmacist on duty 

may be grounds for disciplinary action against the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

permit. 

C. The PIC of a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility shall be responsible for ensuring that: 

1. Pharmacy technicians are registered and properly trained; 

2. All record retention requirements pertaining to the 

dispensing area met; 

3. All requirements for the physical security of the cannabis 

products are met; 

4. The pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility has appropriate pharmaceutical reference materials 

to ensure that cannabis products can be properly dispensed; 

5. The following items are conspicuously posted in the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility in 

a location and in a manner so as to be clearly and readily 

identifiable to registered patients, parents, legal guardians, 

or registered agents: 

a. Pharmaceutical processor permit or cannabis dispensing 

facility permit; 

b. Licenses for all pharmacists practicing at the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

and 

c. The price of all cannabis products offered by the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

and 

6. Any other required filings or notifications are made on 

behalf of the dispensing area of the pharmaceutical 

processor or the dispensing facility as set forth in regulation. 

D. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility or no longer wishes 

to be designated as PIC, he shall immediately return the permit 

to the board indicating the effective date on which he ceased to 

be the PIC. 

E. An outgoing PIC shall have the opportunity to take a 

complete and accurate inventory of all cannabis products on 

hand in the dispensing area of the pharmaceutical processor or 

the dispensing facility on the date he ceases to be the PIC, 

unless the owner submits written notice to the board showing 

good cause as to why this opportunity should not be allowed. 

F. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 

consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. If 

the PIC knows of an upcoming absence of longer than 30 days, 

he the PIC shall be responsible for notifying the board and 

returning the permit. For unanticipated absences by the PIC 

that exceed 15 days with no known return date within the next 

15 days, the permit holder shall immediately notify the board 

and shall obtain a new PIC. 

G. An application for a permit designating the new PIC shall 

be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the original date 

of resignation or termination of the PIC on a form provided by 

the board. It shall be unlawful for a pharmaceutical processor 

or cannabis dispensing facility to operate without a new permit 

past the 14-day deadline unless the board receives a request for 

an extension prior to the deadline. The executive director for 

the board may grant an extension for up to an additional 14 

days for good cause shown. 

18VAC110-60-210. General provisions. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall only sell cannabis products in a child-resistant, secure, 

and light-resistant container. Upon a written request from the 

registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent, 

the product may be dispensed in a non-child-resistant container 

so long as all labeling is maintained with the product. 

B. Only a pharmacist may dispense cannabis products to 

registered patients or, parents, or legal guardians of patients 

who are minors or incapacitated vulnerable adults and who are 

registered with the board, or to a registered agent. A pharmacy 

technician who meets the requirements of 18VAC110-60-170 

C may assist, under the direct supervision of a pharmacist, in 

the dispensing and selling of cannabis products. 

C. The PIC, pharmacist, responsible party, or person who is 

qualified to provide supervision in accordance with 

18VAC110-60-170 on duty shall restrict access to the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility to: 

1. A person whose responsibilities necessitate access to the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility and 

then for only as long as necessary to perform the person's job 

duties; or 

2. A person who is a registered patient, parent, legal 

guardian, registered agent, or a companion of the patient, in 

which case such person shall not be permitted behind the 

service counter or in other areas where Cannabis plants, 

extracts, or cannabis products are stored 

D. A pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or an employee of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility who 

has routine access to confidential patient data and who has 

signed a patient data confidentiality agreement with the 

processor or dispensing facility may determine eligibility for 

access to the processor or facility by verifying through a 

verification source recognized by the board that the registration 

of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent is 

current. 

E. All pharmacists and pharmacy technicians shall at all times 

while at the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility have their current license or registration available for 

inspection by the board or the board's agent. 

F. While inside the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility, all employees shall wear name tags or 
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similar forms of identification that clearly identify them, 

including their position at the pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility. 

G. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall be open for registered patients, parents, legal guardians, 

or registered agents to purchase cannabis products for a 

minimum of 35 hours a week, except as otherwise authorized 

by the board. 

H. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

that closes the dispensing area during its normal hours of 

operation shall implement procedures to notify registered 

patients, parents, legal guardians, and registered agents of 

when the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility will resume normal hours of operation. Such 

procedures may include telephone system messages and 

conspicuously posted signs. If the cultivation, production, or 

dispensing area of the pharmaceutical processor or if a 

cannabis dispensing facility is or will be closed during its 

normal hours of operation for longer than two business days, 

the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall immediately notify the board. 

I. A pharmacist shall counsel registered patients, parents, 

legal guardians, and registered agents, if applicable, regarding 

the use of cannabis products. Such counseling shall include 

information related to safe techniques for proper use and 

storage of cannabis products and for disposal of the products 

in a manner that renders them nonrecoverable. 

J. The pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall establish, implement, and adhere to a written 

alcohol-free, drug-free, and smoke-free work place policy that 

shall be available to the board or the board's agent upon 

request. 

18VAC110-60-215. Advertising Marketing and 

advertising. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor may engage in marketing 

activities related to products, the medical cannabis program, 

the pharmaceutical processor company, and related 

communications, except those marketing activities that (i) 

include false or misleading statements; (ii) promote excessive 

consumption; (iii) depict a person younger than 21 years of age 

consuming cannabis; (iv) include any image designed or likely 

to appeal to minors, specifically including cartoons, toys, 

animals, children, or any other likeness to images, characters, 

or phrases that are popularly used to advertise to children; (v) 

depict products or product packaging or labeling that bear 

reasonable resemblance to any product legally available for 

consumption as a candy or that promotes cannabis 

consumption; or (vi) contain any seal, flag, crest, coat of arms, 

or other insignia that is likely to mislead patients or the general 

public to believe that the cannabis product has been endorsed, 

made, or used by the Commonwealth of Virginia or any of its 

representatives, except where specifically authorized. 

B. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall not advertise (i) through any means unless at least 85% 

of the audience is reasonably expected to be 18 years of age or 

older, as determined by reliable, up-to-date audience 

composition data or (ii) on television or the radio at any time 

outside of regular school hours for elementary and secondary 

schools. 

B. C. Advertising must accurately and legibly identify the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

responsible for its content and include a statement that 

cannabis products are for use by registered patients only. Any 

advertisement for cannabis products that is related to the 

benefits, safety, or efficacy, including therapeutic or medical 

claims, shall: 

1. Be supported by substantial, current clinical evidence or 

data; and 

2. Include information on side effects or risks associated 

with the use of cannabis. 

C. D. Advertising shall not: 

1. Be misleading, deceptive, or false or contain any health-

related statement that is untrue in any particular manner or 

tends to create a misleading impression as to the effects on 

health of cannabis consumption; 

2. Contain a statement, design, illustration, picture, or 

representation that: 

a. Encourages or represents the recreational use of 

cannabis; 

b. Targets or is attractive to persons younger than 18 years 

of age, including a cartoon character, a mascot, or any 

other depiction or image that is commonly used to market 

products to minors; 

c. Displays the use of cannabis, including the 

consumption, smoking, or vaping of cannabis; 

d. Encourages or promotes cannabis for use as an 

intoxicant; or 

e. Is obscene or indecent. 

3. Display cannabis or cannabis product pricing except as 

allowed in 18VAC110-60-215 F subsection G of this 

section. 

4. Display cannabis products or images of products where 

the advertisement is visible to members of the public from 

any street, sidewalk, park, or other public place; and 

5. Include coupons, giveaways of free cannabis products, or 

distribution of merchandise that displays anything other than 

the facility name and contact information. 

D. E. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility may list its business in public phone books, business 

directories, search engines, or other places where it is 

reasonable for a business to maintain an informational 
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presence of its existence and a description of the nature of the 

business. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall not engage in the use of pop-up digital 

advertisements. 

E. F. Any website or social media site owned, managed, or 

operated by a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall employ a neutral age-screening mechanism that 

verifies that the user is at least 18 years of age, including by 

using an age-gate, age-screen, or age verification mechanism. 

F. G. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility may display the following information on its website 

or social media site: 

1. Name and location of the processor or facility; 

2. Contact information for the processor or facility; 

3. Hours and days the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility is open for dispensing cannabis products; 

4. Laboratory results; 

5. Product information and pricing; 

6. Directions to the processor or facility; and 

7. Educational materials regarding the use of cannabis 

products that are supported by substantial, current clinical 

evidence or data. 

G. H. Communication and engagement for educational 

purposes with registered practitioners, registered patients, 

parents, legal guardians, registered agents, other health care 

practitioners, and the general public, including the 

dissemination of information permitted by 18VAC110-60-215 

F subsection G of this section and educational materials 

regarding the use of cannabis products available from the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility, is 

allowed. 

H. I. No outdoor cannabis product advertising shall be placed 

within 1,000 feet of (i) a school or daycare; (ii) a public or 

private playground or similar recreational or child-centered 

facility; or (iii) a substance use disorder treatment facility. 

I. J. Signs placed on the property of a pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall not: 

1. Display imagery of cannabis or the use of cannabis or 

utilize long luminous gas-discharge tubes that contain 

rarefied neon or other gases; 

2. Draw undue attention to the facility but may be designed 

to assist registered patients, parents, legal guardians, and 

registered agents to find the pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility; or 

3. Be illuminated during non-business hours. 

J. K. All outdoor signage must be in compliance with local or 

state requirements. 

K. L. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall not advertise at any sporting event or use any 

billboard advertisements. 

L. M. No cannabis product advertising shall be on or in a 

public transit vehicle, public transit shelter, bus stop, taxi stand, 

transportation waiting area, train station, airport, or any similar 

transit-related location. 

18VAC110-60-220. Pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility prohibitions. 

A. No pharmaceutical processor shall: 

1. Cultivate Cannabis plants or produce or dispense cannabis 

products in any place except the approved facility at the 

address of record on the application for the pharmaceutical 

processor permit; 

2. Sell, deliver, transport, or distribute Cannabis, including 

cannabis products, to any other facility except for wholesale 

distribution between pharmaceutical processors and to a 

cannabis dispensing facility pursuant to 18VAC110-60-251; 

3. Produce or manufacture cannabis products for use outside 

of Virginia; or 

4. Provide cannabis products samples. 

B. No cannabis dispensing facility shall: 

1. Dispense cannabis products in any place except the 

approved facility at the address of record on the application 

for the cannabis dispensing facility permit; 

2. Sell, deliver, transport, or distribute cannabis products to 

any other facility, except that it may distribute cannabis 

products back to the pharmaceutical processor from which it 

obtained the products or distribute cannabis oil products 

between cannabis dispensing facilities for wholesale 

distribution pursuant to 18VAC110-60-251; or 

3. Provide cannabis product samples. 

C. Except for certain employee access to secured areas 

designated for cultivation and production and authorized by the 

responsible party pursuant to § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code of 

Virginia, no pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall be open or in operation, and no person shall be in 

the dispensing area of a pharmaceutical processor or in a 

cannabis dispensing facility, unless a pharmacist is on the 

premises and directly supervising the activity within the 

dispensing area of the pharmaceutical processor or a cannabis 

dispensing facility. At all other times, the dispensing area of 

the pharmaceutical processor or the cannabis dispensing 

facility shall be closed and properly secured. 

D. No pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall sell anything other than cannabis products except 

for devices for administration of dispensed products or hemp-

based CBD products that meet the applicable standards set 
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forth in state and federal law and that meet testing requirements 

of 18VAC110-60-280 D 2 and D 3. 

E. No cannabis products shall be consumed on the premises 

of a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility, 

except for emergency administration to a registered patient. 

Such administration shall be recorded and a file maintained for 

a period of two years. 

F. No person except a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility employee or a registered patient, parent, 

legal guardian, registered agent, or a companion of a patient 

shall be allowed on the premises of a processor or facility with 

the following exceptions: laboratory staff may enter a 

processor for the sole purpose of identifying and collecting 

Cannabis or cannabis products samples for purposes of 

conducting laboratory tests; the board or the board's authorized 

representative may waive the prohibition upon prior written 

request. 

G. All persons who have been authorized in writing to enter 

the facility by the board or the board's authorized 

representative shall obtain a visitor identification badge from a 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

employee prior to entering the processor or facility. 

1. An employee shall escort and monitor an authorized 

visitor at all times the visitor is in the pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility. 

2. A visitor shall visibly display the visitor identification 

badge at all times the visitor is in the pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility and shall return the 

visitor identification badge to an employee upon exiting the 

processor or facility. 

3. All visitors shall log in and out. The pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall maintain the 

visitor log that shall include the date, time, and purpose of 

the visit and that shall be available to the board. 

4. If an emergency requires the presence of a visitor and 

makes it impractical for the pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility to obtain a waiver from the 

board, the processor or facility shall provide written notice 

to the board as soon as practicable after the onset of the 

emergency. Such notice shall include the name and company 

affiliation of the visitor, the purpose of the visit, and the date 

and time of the visit. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility shall monitor the visitor and maintain a 

log of such visit as required by this subsection. 

H. No cannabis products shall be sold, dispensed, or 

distributed via a delivery service or any other manner outside 

of a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility, 

except that a registered parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent or an agent of the processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility may deliver cannabis products to the registered patient 

or in accordance with 18VAC110-60-310 A. 

I. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection F of this 

section, an agent of the board or local law enforcement or other 

federal, state, or local government officials may enter any area 

of a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

if necessary to perform their governmental duties. 

18VAC110-60-230. Inventory requirements. 

A. Each pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility prior to commencing business shall: 

1. Conduct an initial comprehensive inventory of all 

Cannabis plants, including the seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, and cannabis products, at the facility. The 

responsible party shall ensure all required inventories are 

performed in the cultivation and production areas, and the 

PIC shall ensure all required inventories are performed in the 

dispensing area. The inventories shall include, at a 

minimum, the date of the inventory, a summary of the 

inventory findings, and the name, signature, and title of the 

pharmacist, pharmacy technician, responsible party, or 

person authorized by the responsible party who provides 

supervision of cultivation or production-related activities 

who conducted the inventory. If a facility commences 

business with no Cannabis or cannabis products on hand, the 

pharmacist or responsible party shall record this fact as the 

initial inventory; and 

2. Establish ongoing inventory controls and procedures for 

the conduct of inventory reviews and comprehensive 

inventories of all Cannabis plants, including the seeds, parts 

of plants, extracts, and cannabis products, that shall enable 

the facility to detect any diversion, theft, or loss in a timely 

manner. 

B. Upon commencing business, each pharmaceutical 

processor shall conduct a weekly inventory of all Cannabis 

plants, including the seeds, parts of plants, and cannabis 

products in stock, that shall include, at a minimum, the date of 

the inventory, a summary of the inventory findings, and the 

name, signature, and title of the pharmacist, pharmacy 

technician, responsible party, or person authorized by the 

responsible party who provides supervision of cultivation or 

production-related activities who conducted the inventory. 

C. Upon commencing business, each cannabis dispensing 

facility shall maintain a perpetual inventory of all cannabis 

products received and dispensed that accurately indicates the 

physical count of each cannabis product on hand at the time of 

performing the inventory. The perpetual inventory shall 

include a reconciliation of each cannabis product at least 

monthly with a written explanation for any difference between 

the physical count and the theoretical count. 

D. The record of all cannabis products sold, dispensed, or 

otherwise disposed of shall show the date of sale or disposition; 

the name of the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility; the name and address of the registered 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent to whom the 
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cannabis product was sold; the kind and quantity of cannabis 

product sold or disposed of; and the method of disposal. 

E. A complete and accurate record of all Cannabis plants, 

including the seeds, parts of plants, and cannabis products on 

hand, shall be prepared annually on the anniversary of the 

initial inventory or such other date that the PIC or responsible 

party may choose, so long as it is not more than one year 

following the prior year's inventory. 

F. All inventories, procedures, and other documents required 

by this section shall be maintained on the premises and made 

available to the board or its agent. 

G. Inventory records shall be maintained for three years from 

the date the inventory was taken. 

H. Whenever any sample or record is removed by a person 

authorized to enforce state or federal law for the purpose of 

investigation or as evidence, such person shall tender a receipt 

in lieu thereof and the receipt shall be kept for a period of at 

least three years. 

18VAC110-60-250. Requirements for the storage and 

handling of Cannabis or cannabis products. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall: 

1. Have storage areas that provide adequate lighting, 

ventilation, sanitation, temperature, and humidity as defined 

in 18VAC110-60-10 and space, equipment, and security 

conditions for the cultivation of Cannabis and the production 

and dispensing of cannabis products; 

2. Separate for storage in a quarantined area Cannabis plants, 

seeds, parts of plants, extracts, including cannabis products, 

that are outdated, damaged, deteriorated, misbranded, or 

adulterated, or whose containers or packaging have been 

opened or breached, until such Cannabis plants, seeds, parts 

of plants, extracts, or cannabis products are destroyed; 

3. Be maintained in a clean, sanitary, and orderly condition; 

and 

4. Be free from infestation by insects, rodents, birds, or 

vermin of any kind. 

B. A pharmaceutical processor shall compartmentalize all 

areas in the facility based on function and shall restrict access 

between compartments. The processor shall establish, 

maintain, and comply with written policies and procedures 

regarding best practices for the secure and proper cultivation 

of Cannabis and production of cannabis products. These shall 

include policies and procedures that: 

1. Restrict movement between compartments; 

2. Provide for different colored identification cards for 

facility employees based on the compartment to which they 

are assigned at a given time so as to ensure that only 

employees necessary for a particular function have access to 

that compartment of the facility; 

3. Require pocketless clothing for all employees working in 

an area containing Cannabis plants, seeds, and extracts, 

including cannabis oil and cannabis products; and 

4. Document the chain of custody of all Cannabis plants, 

parts of plants, seeds, extracts, and cannabis products. 

C. A cannabis dispensing facility shall establish, maintain, 

and comply with written policies and procedures regarding 

best practices for the secure and proper dispensing of cannabis 

products, including a requirement for pocketless clothing for 

all facility employees working in an area containing cannabis 

products. 

D. The PIC and responsible party of a pharmaceutical 

processor or the PIC of a cannabis dispensing facility shall 

establish, maintain, and comply with written policies and 

procedures for the cultivation, production, security, storage, 

and inventory of Cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, and the cannabis products, as applicable. Such 

policies and procedures shall include methods for identifying, 

recording, and reporting diversion, theft, or loss, and for 

correcting all errors and inaccuracies in inventories. 

Pharmaceutical processors and cannabis dispensing facilities 

shall include in their written policies and procedures a process 

for the following: 

1. Handling mandatory and voluntary recalls of cannabis 

products and bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and 

usable cannabis distributed or received via wholesale 

distribution. The process shall be adequate to deal with 

recalls due to any action initiated at the request of the board 

and any voluntary action by the pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility to (i) remove defective or 

potentially defective cannabis products from the market or 

(ii) promote public health and safety by replacing existing 

cannabis products with improved products or packaging; 

2. Preparing for, protecting against, and handling any crises 

that affect the security or operation of any facility in the 

event of strike, fire, flood, or other natural disaster, or other 

situations of local, state, or national emergency; 

3. Ensuring that any outdated, damaged, deteriorated, 

misbranded, or adulterated Cannabis, including seeds, parts 

of plants, extracts, and cannabis products, is segregated from 

all other Cannabis, seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and 

cannabis products and destroyed. This procedure shall 

provide for written documentation of the Cannabis, 

including seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and cannabis 

product disposition; and 

4. Ensuring the oldest stock of Cannabis, including seeds, 

parts of plants, extracts, and cannabis products are used first. 

The procedure may permit deviation from this requirement 

if such deviation is temporary and appropriate. 
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E. The pharmaceutical processor shall store all Cannabis, 

including seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and cannabis 

products, in the process of production, transfer, or analysis in 

such a manner as to prevent diversion, theft, or loss; shall make 

Cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and 

cannabis products accessible only to the minimum number of 

specifically authorized employees essential for efficient 

operation; and shall return the aforementioned items to their 

secure location immediately after completion of the 

production, transfer, or analysis process or at the end of the 

scheduled business day. If a production process cannot be 

completed at the end of a working day, the pharmacist, 

responsible party, or other person authorized by the responsible 

party to supervise cultivation and production at the processor 

shall securely lock the processing area or tanks, vessels, bins, 

or bulk containers containing Cannabis, including the seeds, 

parts of plants, extracts, and cannabis products, inside an area 

or building that affords adequate security. 

F. The cannabis dispensing facility shall store all cannabis 

products in such a manner as to prevent diversion, theft, or loss; 

shall make cannabis products accessible only to the minimum 

number of specifically authorized employees essential for 

efficient operation; and shall return the cannabis products to 

their secure location at the completion of the dispensing or at 

end of the scheduled business day. 

18VAC110-60-251. Wholesale distribution of cannabis oil 

products, bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable 

cannabis. 

A. Cannabis oil, cannabis products, botanical cannabis, and 

usable cannabis from a batch that have passed the tests required 

in 18VAC110-60-300 G and H and are packaged and labeled 

for sale with an appropriate expiration date in accordance with 

18VAC110-60-300 may be wholesale distributed between 

pharmaceutical processors and, between a pharmaceutical 

processor and a cannabis dispensing facility, and between 

cannabis dispensing facilities. 

B. Cannabis oil products from a batch that passed the 

microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, residual solvent, and 

pesticide chemical residue tests and are packaged and labeled 

for sale with an appropriate expiration date in accordance with 

18VAC110-60-300 may be wholesale distributed between 

cannabis dispensing facilities. Bulk cannabis oil, botanical 

cannabis, and usable cannabis that has not been packaged for 

sale and has not passed the tests required in 18VAC110-60-

300 G and H and does not bear an appropriate expiration date 

may be wholesale distributed between pharmaceutical 

processors. Prior to distribution, the bulk cannabis oil, 

botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis shall be labeled in 

compliance with 18VAC110-60-295. 

C. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

wholesale distributing the products shall create a record of the 

transaction that shows (i) the date of distribution, (ii) the names 

and addresses of the processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

distributing the product and the processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility receiving the product, (iii) the kind and 

quantity of product being distributed, and (iv) the batch and lot 

identifying information to include harvest date, testing date, 

processing or manufacturing date, and expiration date. The 

record of the transaction shall be maintained by the distributing 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility with 

its records of distribution, and a copy of the record shall be 

provided to and maintained by the processor or facility 

receiving the product in its records of receipt. Such records 

shall be maintained by each processor or facility for three years 

in compliance with 18VAC110-60-260. 

D. A pharmaceutical processor wholesale distributing bulk 

cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis shall 

create a record of the transaction that shows (i) the date of 

distribution; (ii) the names and addresses of the processor 

distributing the bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and 

usable cannabis and the processor receiving the bulk cannabis 

oil, botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis; (iii) the quantity 

or weight of the bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and 

usable cannabis in each container; (iv) the quantity of each type 

of container being distributed; (v) the identification of the 

contents of each container, including a brief description of the 

type or form of cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, or usable 

cannabis and the strain name, as appropriate; (vi) the lot or 

batch number or unique identifier so as to facilitate any 

warnings or recalls the board or pharmaceutical processor 

deem appropriate; and (vii) the dates of harvest and packaging. 

The record of the transaction shall be maintained by the 

distributing pharmaceutical processor with its records of 

distribution, and a copy of the record shall be provided to and 

maintained by the processor receiving the product in its records 

of receipt. Such records shall be maintained by each processor 

for three years in compliance with 18VAC110-60-260. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

wholesale distributing cannabis products shall provide the 

receiving processor or cannabis dispensing facility with a copy 

of the lab results for the distributed product or electronic access 

to the information that can be shared upon request to registered 

patients, parents, legal guardians, registered agents, registered 

practitioners who have certified qualifying patients, or an agent 

of the board. 

E. F. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility wholesale distributing cannabis products and 

pharmaceutical processors wholesale distributing bulk 

cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis shall 

store and handle products the items and maintain policies and 

procedures, to include a process for executing or responding to 

mandatory and voluntary recalls, in a manner that complies 

with 18VAC110-60-250. 

F. G. If a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility participating in wholesale distributing products 

distribution uses an electronic system for the storage and 



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 17, 2023  

2779 

retrieval of records related to distributing products, the 

pharmaceutical processor shall use a system that is compliant 

with 18VAC110-60-260. 

18VAC110-60-280. Cultivation and production of cannabis 

products. 

A. No cannabis products shall have had pesticide chemicals 

or petroleum-based solvents, except for hydrocarbon-based 

solvents described in 18VAC110-60-281, used during the 

cultivation, extraction, production, or manufacturing process, 

except that the board may authorize the use of pesticide 

chemicals for purposes of addressing an infestation that could 

result in a catastrophic loss of Cannabis crops. 

B. Cultivation methods for Cannabis plants and, extraction 

methods used to produce the cannabis products, and the 

manufacturing of cannabis products shall be performed in a 

manner deemed safe and effective based on current standards 

or scientific literature. 

1. The cultivation, extraction, production, and 

manufacturing of cannabis products may include the use of 

hydrocarbon-based solvents as described in 18VAC110-60-

281.  

2. The cultivation, extraction, production, and 

manufacturing of cannabis products may include any other 

generally accepted technology, provided that:  

a. The pharmaceutical processor complies with any 

applicable requirements contained in 18VAC110-60-281 

regarding flammable solvents as defined in that section;  

b. The pharmaceutical processor complies with any 

Virginia licensing, permitting, and general safety laws or 

regulations of any federal or Virginia state agency that 

governs the technology and use of such technology; and  

c. The pharmaceutical processor maintains sole 

responsibility for any adverse outcomes or violations of 

federal or Virginia state laws or regulations caused by 

such use. 

C. Any Cannabis plant, seed, parts of plant, extract, or 

cannabis products not in compliance with this section shall be 

deemed adulterated. 

D. A pharmaceutical processor may acquire oil from 

industrial hemp extract, including isolates and distillates, for 

the purpose of formulating such oil extract with cannabis plant 

extract extracts into allowable dosages of cannabis oil products 

provided: 

1. The pharmaceutical processor acquires the oil extracts 

from industrial hemp extract processed in Virginia and in 

compliance with state or federal law from a registered 

industrial hemp dealer or processor; 

2. The oil extracts from industrial hemp acquired by a 

pharmaceutical processor is are subject to the same third-

party testing requirements applicable to cannabis plant 

extract as verified by testing performed by a laboratory 

located in Virginia and in compliance with state law; and 

3. The industrial hemp dealer or processor provides such 

third-party testing results to the pharmaceutical processor 

before oil extracts from industrial hemp is are acquired. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor acquiring oil from industrial 

hemp extract shall ensure receipt of a record of the transaction 

that shows the date of distribution, the names and addresses of 

the registered industrial hemp dealer or processor distributing 

the product and the pharmaceutical processor receiving the 

product, and the kind and quantity of product being distributed. 

The record of the transaction shall be maintained by the 

pharmaceutical processor with its records of receipt. Such 

records shall be maintained by each pharmaceutical processor 

for three years. 

F. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain policies and 

procedures for the proper storage and handling of oil from 

industrial hemp extract extracts, to include a process for 

executing or responding to mandatory and voluntary recalls in 

a manner that complies with 18VAC110-60-250. 

G. No cannabis oil intended to be vaporized or inhaled shall 

contain vitamin E acetate. 

18VAC110-60-281. Use of hydrocarbon-based solvents or 

other flammable solvents.  

A. The following words and phrases used in this section shall 

have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

1. "Closed-loop system" means machinery in which volatile 

hydrocarbon substances are self-contained without the loss 

or escape of those substances. 

2. "Flammable solvent" means a liquid that has a flash point 

below 100 degrees Fahrenheit. Flammable solvents include 

hydrocarbon-based solvents. 

3. "Hydrocarbon-based solvent" means a type of solvent 

composed of hydrogen and carbon compounds, such as N-

butane, isobutene, propane, any isomer, or combination 

thereof. 

B. Hydrocarbon-based solvents may be used in the 

cultivation, extraction, production, or manufacturing of 

cannabis products provided that:  

1. A pharmaceutical processor complies with all 

requirements in this section.  

2. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents in general industrial use as promulgated by the 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration and 

published in 29 CFR 1910 or any subsequent regulation 

governing such use, including regulations governing:  

a. Ventilation requirements; 

b. Air contaminants; and  
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c. Hazard communication. 

3. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall comply with any requirements issued by the 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry regarding use of 

hydrocarbon-based solvents.  

4. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall comply with any requirements issued by the 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality regarding 

use of hydrocarbon-based solvents.  

5. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents maintains sole responsibility for any adverse 

outcomes or violations of federal or Virginia state laws or 

regulations caused by such use.  

6. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall ensure that all equipment, counters, and 

surfaces used in the cultivation, extraction, production, or 

manufacturing of cannabis products are food-grade and do 

not react adversely with any hydrocarbon solvent used. All 

counters and surface areas shall be constructed in a manner 

that reduces the potential development of microbials, molds, 

and fungi and can be easily cleaned. 

7. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall ensure that any room in which hydrocarbon-

based solvents will be used contains an emergency eye-wash 

station.  

8. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall ensure that a professional grade, closed-loop 

extraction system capable of recovering solvent is used in 

the cultivation, extraction, production, or manufacturing of 

cannabis products. 

a. Closed-loop extraction systems must be commercially 

manufactured and bear a permanently affixed and visible 

serial number.  

b. A pharmaceutical processor using a closed-loop 

extraction system must obtain a certification from a 

licensed engineer that certifies that the system was 

commercially manufactured, is safe for its intended use, 

and has been built to codes of recognized and generally 

accepted good engineering practices, such as (i) the 

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME); (ii) 

American National Standards Institute (ANSI); (iii) 

Underwriters Laboratories (UL); or (iv) the American 

Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). 

c. The certification must contain the signature and stamp 

of a professional engineer and include the serial number 

of the extraction unit certified. 

9. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall obtain a safety data sheet for each 

hydrocarbon-based solvent used and store such data sheet on 

the premises. All such records shall be subject to inspection 

by the board.  

10. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall develop standard operating procedures, good 

manufacturing practices, and a training plan prior to using 

such solvents. Standard operating procedures shall 

specifically address the following:  

a. Safe and proper handling and use of hydrocarbon-based 

solvents;  

b. Safe and proper operation of machinery and equipment;  

c. Adequate cleaning and maintenance of machinery and 

equipment;  

d. Incident reporting for any instances where the operator 

does not follow the stated standard operating procedures 

that identifies (i) the operator's name; (ii) the date and time 

of the incident; (iii) the supervising employees to which 

the incident report will be sent; and (iv) an incident 

summary that includes whether any cannabis products or 

other substances escaped from the closed-loop system, the 

amount of escaped material, whether the material was 

destroyed, and how the incident was resolved; and  

e. Safe and proper disposal of waste created during 

processes using hydrocarbon-based solvents.  

11. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall ensure that any person using such solvents in 

a closed-loop system:  

a. Is fully trained on how to use the system;  

b. Has direct access to applicable material safety data 

sheets; and  

c. Handles and stores the solvents safely.  

C. If a pharmaceutical processor intends to use a flammable 

solvent, then a designated industrial hygienist or professional 

engineer that is not an employee of the pharmaceutical 

processor must:  

1. Establish a maximum amount of flammable solvents and 

other flammable materials that may be stored within the 

pharmaceutical processor facility in accordance with 

applicable laws and regulations;  

2. Determine what type of electrical equipment must be 

installed within the room in which flammable solvents are to 

be stored in accordance with applicable laws and 

regulations;  

3. Determine whether a gas monitoring system must be 

installed within the room in which flammable solvents are to 

be used or stored, and, if required, the system's specifications 

in accordance with applicable laws and regulations;  

4. Determine whether a fire suppression system must be 

installed within the room in which the flammable solvents 

are to be used or stored, and, if required, the system's 

specifications in accordance with applicable laws and 

regulations; and  
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5. Determine whether a fume vent hood or exhaust system 

must be installed within the room in which a flammable 

solvent will be used, and, if required, the system's 

specifications in accordance with applicable laws and 

regulations.  

D. If a pharmaceutical processor makes a material change to 

its use of flammable solvents in any part of the manufacturing 

process, a designated industrial hygienist or professional 

engineer who is not an employee of the pharmaceutical 

processor must recertify the standard operating procedures for 

use of flammable solvents determined under subsection C of 

this section.  

E. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain copies of all 

reports generated by or received from the designated industrial 

hygienist or professional engineer for inspection by the board. 

F. A pharmaceutical processor shall not store an amount of 

flammable solvents on site that exceeds the maximum amount 

allowable as identified by the designated industrial hygienist 

or professional engineer.  

G. A pharmaceutical processor shall ensure that all 

appropriate safety and sanitary equipment, including personal 

protective equipment, is provided to and appropriately used by 

each employee handling a flammable solvent. 

H. The board shall approve chemicals for use as hydrocarbon 

or other flammable solvents in the cultivation, extraction, 

production, or manufacturing of cannabis products based on 

availability of testing for residual material of individual 

solvents. 

18VAC110-60-285. Registration of products. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall assign a brand name to 

each product of cannabis. The pharmaceutical processor shall 

register each brand name with the board on a form prescribed 

by the board prior to any dispensing and shall associate each 

brand name with a specific laboratory test that includes a 

terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, including: 

1. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

2. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

3. Cannabidiols (CBD); and 

4. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA). 

For botanical cannabis products, only the total cannabidiol 

(CBD) and total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) are required. 

B. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label two products 

with the same brand name unless the laboratory test results for 

each product indicate that they contain the same level of each 

active ingredient listed in subsection A of this section within a 

range of 90% to 110%, except (i) where the total 

tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) concentration is less than five 

milligrams per dose, the concentration of THC shall be within 

0.5 milligrams per dose; and (ii) where the total cannabidiol 

(CBD) concentration is less than five milligrams per dose, the 

concentration of total CBD shall be within 0.5 milligrams per 

dose. 

C. The board shall not register any brand name that: 

1. Is identical to or confusingly similar to the name of an 

existing commercially available product; 

2. Is identical to or confusingly similar to the name of an 

unlawful product or substance; 

3. Is confusingly similar to the name of a previously 

approved cannabis oil product brand name; 

4. Is obscene or indecent; 

5. May encourage the use of marijuana or cannabis products 

for recreational purposes; 

6. May encourage the use of cannabis products for a disease 

or condition other than the disease or condition the 

practitioner intended to treat; 

7. Is customarily associated with persons younger than the 

age of 18; or 

8. Is related to the benefits, safety, or efficacy of the cannabis 

product unless supported by substantial evidence or 

substantial clinical data. 

18VAC110-60-290. Labeling of batch of cannabis products. 

A. Cannabis products produced as a batch shall not be 

adulterated. 

B. Cannabis products produced as a batch shall be: 

1. Processed, packaged, and labeled according to the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration's Current Good 

Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packaging, 

Labeling, or Holding Operations for Dietary Supplements, 

21 CFR Part 111; and 

2. Labeled with: 

a. The name and address of the pharmaceutical processor; 

b. The brand name of the cannabis product that was 

registered with the board pursuant to 18VAC110-20-285; 

c. A unique serial number that matches the product with 

the pharmaceutical processor batch and lot number, 

including the cultivator and manufacturer if produced 

from bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, or usable 

cannabis obtained through distribution from another 

pharmaceutical processor, so as to facilitate any warnings 

or recalls the board or pharmaceutical processor deem 

appropriate; 

d. The date of testing and packaging; 

e. For products produced from bulk cannabis oil, botanical 

cannabis, or usable cannabis obtained through distribution 

from another pharmaceutical processor, the name and 

address of the testing laboratory; 
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f. The expiration date, which shall be six months or less 

from the date of packaging the cannabis product 

registration approval, unless supported by stability testing; 

f. g. The quantity of cannabis products contained in the 

batch; 

g. h. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 

including: 

(1) Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

(2) Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

(3) Cannabidiol (CBD); and 

(4) Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA). 

For botanical cannabis products, only the total cannabidiol 

(CBD) and total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) are required; 

h. i. For cannabis oil products, pass or fail rating based on 

the laboratory's microbiological, mycotoxins, heavy 

metals, residual solvents, and pesticide chemical residue 

analysis; and 

i. j. For botanical cannabis products, a pass or fail rating 

based on the laboratory's microbiological, mycotoxins, 

heavy metals, pesticide chemical residue analysis, water 

activity, and moisture content, and the potency. 

18VAC110-60-295. Labeling of bulk cannabis oil, botanical 

cannabis, and usable cannabis.  

A. Bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis 

shall not be adulterated. 

B. Bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis 

produced for wholesale distribution shall be:  

1. Processed, packaged, and labeled according to the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration's Current Good 

Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packaging, 

Labeling, or Holding Operations for Dietary Supplements, 

21 CFR Part 111, except as exempted in this section;  

2. Packaged in a tamper-evident container; and  

3. Labeled with:  

a. The name and addresses of the pharmaceutical 

processor distributing the product and the pharmaceutical 

processor receiving the product; 

b. The quantity or weight of the cannabis oil, botanical 

cannabis, or usable cannabis in the container;  

c. Identification of the contents of the container, including 

a brief description of the type or form of cannabis oil, 

botanical cannabis, or usable cannabis and the strain or 

name, as appropriate;  

d. The statement "Not Packaged for Final Sale" displayed 

prominently;  

e. A unique serial number that will match a cannabis 

product with the cultivator and manufacturer and lot or 

batch number so as to facilitate any warnings or recalls the 

board or pharmaceutical processor deem appropriate; and  

f. The dates of harvest and packaging. 

C. Cannabis products produced from bulk cannabis oil, 

botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis shall comply with all 

laboratory testing and labeling requirements prior to 

dispensing. 

18VAC110-60-300. Laboratory requirements; testing. 

A. No pharmaceutical processor shall utilize a laboratory to 

handle, test, or analyze cannabis products unless such 

laboratory: 

1. Is independent from all other persons involved in the 

cannabis industry in Virginia, which shall mean that no 

person with a direct or indirect interest in the laboratory shall 

have a direct or indirect financial interest in a pharmacist, 

pharmaceutical processor, cannabis dispensing facility, 

certifying practitioner, or any other entity that may benefit 

from the production, manufacture, dispensing, sale, 

purchase, or use of cannabis products; and 

2. Has employed at least one person to oversee and be 

responsible for the laboratory testing who has earned from a 

college or university accredited by a national or regional 

certifying authority at least (i) a master's level degree in 

chemical or biological sciences and a minimum of two years 

of post-degree laboratory experience or (ii) a bachelor's 

degree in chemical or biological sciences and a minimum of 

four years of post-degree laboratory experience. 

3. Has obtained a controlled substances registration 

certificate pursuant to § 54.1-3423 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizing the testing of cannabis products. 

4. Has provided proof to the board of accreditation in testing 

and calibration in accordance with the most current version 

of the International Standard for Organization and the 

ISO/IEC 17025 or proof that the laboratory has applied for 

accreditation in testing and calibration in the most current 

version of ISO/IEC 17025. Any testing and calibration 

method utilized to perform a cannabis-related analysis for 

pharmaceutical processors shall be in accordance with the 

laboratory's ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation. The accrediting 

body shall be recognized by International Laboratory 

Accreditation Cooperation. 

a. A laboratory applying for authorization to provide 

cannabis-related analytical tests for pharmaceutical 

processors shall receive ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation 

within two years from the date the laboratory applied for 

ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation. A laboratory may request, 

and the board may grant for good cause shown, additional 

time for the laboratory to receive ISO/IEC 17025 

accreditation. 

b. A laboratory shall send proof of ISO/IEC 17025 

accreditation to the board for cannabis-related analytical 

test methods for pharmaceutical processors for which it 

has received ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation no later than 
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five business days after the date in which the accreditation 

was received. 

c. A laboratory may use nonaccredited analytical test 

methods so long as the laboratory has commenced an 

application for ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation for analytical 

test methods for cannabis-related analysis for 

pharmaceutical processors. No laboratory shall use 

nonaccredited analytical test methods for cannabis-related 

analysis for pharmaceutical processors if it has applied for 

and has not received ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation within 

two years. The laboratory may request and the board may 

grant for good cause shown additional time for the 

laboratory to utilize nonaccredited analytical test methods 

for cannabis-related analysis. 

d. At such time that a laboratory loses its ISO/IEC 17025 

accreditation for any cannabis-related analytical test 

methods for pharmaceutical processors, it shall inform the 

board within 24 hours. The laboratory shall immediately 

stop handling, testing, or analyzing Cannabis for 

pharmaceutical processors. 

5. Complies with a transportation protocol for transporting 

Cannabis or cannabis products to or from itself or to or from 

pharmaceutical processors. 

B. After processing and before dispensing the cannabis oil 

product, a pharmaceutical processor shall make a sample 

available from each homogenized batch of product for a 

laboratory to (i) test for microbiological contaminants, 

mycotoxins, heavy metals, residual solvents, and pesticide 

chemical residue; and (ii) conduct an active ingredient analysis 

and terpenes profile. Each laboratory shall determine a valid 

sample size for testing, which may vary due to sample matrix, 

analytical method, and laboratory-specific procedures. A 

minimum sample size of 0.5% of individual units for 

dispensing or distribution from each homogenized batch of 

cannabis oil is required to achieve a representative sample for 

analysis. 

C. A pharmaceutical processor shall make a sample available 

from each harvest batch of botanical cannabis product to (i) test 

for microbiological contaminants, mycotoxins, heavy metals, 

pesticide chemical reside, water activity, and moisture content 

and (ii) conduct an active ingredient analysis and terpenes 

profile. In determining the minimum sample size for testing 

from each batch of botanical cannabis, the certified testing 

laboratory may determine the minimum sample size. The 

sample must be representative of the entire batch to include 

selection from various points in the batch lot and be of 

sufficient sample size to allow for analysis of all required tests. 

D. From the time that a batch of cannabis product has been 

sampled for testing until the laboratory provides the results 

from its tests and analysis, the pharmaceutical processor shall 

segregate and withhold from use the entire batch, except the 

samples that have been removed by the laboratory for testing. 

During this period of segregation, the pharmaceutical 

processor shall maintain the batch in a secure, cool, and dry 

location so as to prevent the batch from becoming 

contaminated or losing its efficacy. 

E. Under no circumstances shall a pharmaceutical processor 

or cannabis dispensing facility sell a cannabis product prior to 

the time that the laboratory has completed its testing and 

analysis and provided a certificate of analysis to the 

pharmaceutical processor or other designated facility 

employee. 

F. The processor shall require the laboratory to immediately 

return or properly dispose of any cannabis products and 

materials upon the completion of any testing, use, or research. 

G. If a sample of cannabis oil product does not pass the 

microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, pesticide chemical 

residue, or residual solvent test based on the standards set forth 

in this subsection, the batch may be remediated with further 

processing. A cannabis oil product that does not pass the 

pesticide chemical residue test cannot be remediated. After 

further processing, the batch shall be retested for 

microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, pesticide chemical 

residue, and residual solvent, and an active ingredient analysis 

and terpenes profile shall be conducted. 

1. For purposes of the microbiological test, a cannabis oil 

sample shall be deemed to have passed if it satisfies the 

standards set forth in Section 1111 of the United States 

Pharmacopeia. 

2. For purposes of the mycotoxin test, a sample of cannabis 

oil product shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the 

following standards: 

Test Specification 

 

Aflatoxin B1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin B2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Ochratoxin A <20 ug/kg of Substance 

3. For purposes of the heavy metal test, a sample of cannabis 

oil product shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the 

following standards: 

Metal Limits - parts per million 

(ppm) 

Arsenic <10 ppm 

Cadmium <4.1 ppm 

Lead <10 ppm 

Mercury <2 ppm 
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4. For purposes of the pesticide chemical residue test, a 

sample of cannabis oil product shall be deemed to have 

passed if it satisfies the most stringent acceptable standard 

for a pesticide chemical residue in any food item as set forth 

in Subpart C of the federal Environmental Protection 

Agency's regulations for Tolerances and Exemptions for 

Pesticide Chemical Residues in Food, 40 CFR Part 180. 

5. For purposes of the active ingredient analysis, a sample of 

the cannabis oil product shall be tested for: 

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

c. Cannabidiols (CBD); and 

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA). 

6. For the purposes of the residual solvent test, a sample of 

the cannabis oil product shall be deemed to have passed if it 

meets the standards and limits recommended by the 

American Herbal Pharmacopia Pharmacopoeia for Cannabis 

Inflorescence. 

H. If a sample of botanical cannabis product does not pass the 

microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, pesticide chemical 

residue, water activity, or moisture content test based on the 

standards set forth in this subsection, the batch may be remediated. 

A botanical cannabis product that does not pass the pesticide 

chemical residue test cannot be remediated. Once remediated, the 

batch shall be retested for microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy 

metal, pesticide chemical residue, water activity, and moisture 

content, and an active ingredient analysis and terpenes profile 

shall be conducted. If the botanical cannabis batch fails retesting, 

it shall be considered usable cannabis and may be processed into 

cannabis oil, unless the failure is related to pesticide requirements, 

in which case the batch shall not be considered usable cannabis 

and shall not be processed into cannabis oil. Any batch processed 

into cannabis oil shall comply with all testing standards set forth 

in subsection G of this section. 

1. For purposes of the microbiological test, a botanical 

cannabis product sample shall be deemed to have passed if 

it satisfies the standards set forth in the most current 

American Herbal Pharmacopoeia Cannabis Inflorescence 

Standards of Identity, Analysis, and Quality Control. 

2. For purposes of the mycotoxin test, a sample of botanical 

cannabis product shall be deemed to have passed if it meets 

the following standards: 

Test Specification 

 

Aflatoxin B1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin B2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Ochratoxin A <20 ug/kg of Substance 

3. For purposes of the heavy metal test, a sample of botanical 

cannabis product shall be deemed to have passed if it meets 

the following standards: 

Metal Limits - parts per million (ppm) 

Arsenic <10 ppm 

Cadmium <4.1 ppm 

Lead <10 ppm 

Mercury <2 ppm 

4. For purposes of the pesticide chemical residue test, a 

sample of botanical cannabis product shall be deemed to 

have passed if it satisfies the most stringent acceptable 

standard for a pesticide chemical residue in any food item as 

set forth in Subpart C of the federal U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency's regulations for Tolerances and 

Exemptions for Pesticide Chemical Residues in Food 

(40 CFR Part 180). 

5. For purposes of the active ingredient analysis, a sample of 

the botanical cannabis product shall be tested for: 

a. Total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); and 

b. Total cannabidiol (CBD). 

6. For the purposes of water activity and moisture content 

for botanical cannabis, the product shall be deemed to have 

passed if the water activity rate does not exceed 0.65Aw and 

the moisture content does not exceed 15%. 

I. If a sample of cannabis product passes the required tests 

listed in subsections G and H of this section, the entire batch 

may be utilized by the processor for immediate packaging and 

labeling for sale. An expiration date shall be assigned to the 

product that is based upon validated stability testing that 

addresses product stability when opened and the shelf-life for 

unopened products, except stability testing shall not be 

required for cannabis products if the pharmaceutical processor 

assigns an expiration date of six months or less from the date 

of packaging the cannabis product registration approval is 

signed. 

J. The processor shall require the laboratory to file with the 

board an electronic copy of each laboratory test result for any 

batch that does not pass the required tests listed in subsections 

G and H of this section at the same time that it transmits those 

results to the pharmaceutical processor. In addition, the 

laboratory shall maintain the laboratory test results and make 

them available to the board or an agent of the board. 

K. Each pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall have such laboratory results available upon 

request to registered patients, parents, legal guardians, 

registered agents, registered practitioners who have certified 

qualifying patients, the board, or an agent of the board. 
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18VAC110-60-310. Dispensing of cannabis products. 

A. A pharmacist in good faith may dispense cannabis 

products to any registered patient, parent, or legal guardian as 

indicated on the written certification or to a registered agent for 

a specific patient. 

1. Prior to the initial dispensing of cannabis products 

pursuant to each written certification, the pharmacist or 

pharmacy technician at the location of the pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall view in 

person or by audiovisual means a current photo 

identification of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent. The pharmacist or pharmacy technician 

shall verify in the Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program 

of the Department of Health Professions or other program 

recognized by the board that the any registrations, if 

applicable, are current, the written certification has not 

expired, and the date and quantity of the last dispensing of 

cannabis products to the registered patient. 

2. A pharmacist or pharmacy technician employed by the 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall make a paper 

or electronic copy of the current written certification that 

provides an exact image of the document that is clearly 

legible and shall maintain it on site or by electronic means 

for two years. The pharmaceutical processor and cannabis 

dispensing facility shall also provide an electronic copy of 

the written certification to the board. 

3. Prior to any subsequent dispensing, the pharmacist or 

pharmacy technician shall verify that the written 

certification on file has not expired. An employee or delivery 

agent shall view a current photo identification and current 

registration of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent and shall maintain record of such viewing 

in accordance with policies and procedures of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility. 

B. A pharmacist may dispense a portion of a registered 

patient's 90-day supply of cannabis product. The pharmacist 

may dispense the remaining portion of the 90-day supply of 

cannabis products at any time except that no registered patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent shall receive more 

than a 90-day supply of cannabis products for a patient in a 90-

day period from any pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility may dispense more than one cannabis 

product to a patient at one time. However, no more than four 

ounces of botanical cannabis shall be dispensed for each 30-

day period for which botanical cannabis is dispensed. In 

determining the appropriate amount of cannabis product to be 

dispensed to a patient, a pharmacist shall consider all cannabis 

products dispensed and adjust the amount dispensed 

accordingly. 

C. A dispensing record shall be maintained for three years 

from the date of dispensing, and the pharmacist or pharmacy 

technician under the direct supervision of the pharmacist shall 

affix a label to the container of cannabis product that contains: 

1. A serial number assigned to the dispensing of the product; 

2. The brand name of cannabis product that was registered 

with the board pursuant to 18VAC110-60-285 and its 

strength; 

3. The serial number assigned to the product during 

production; 

4. The date of dispensing the cannabis product; 

5. The quantity of cannabis products dispensed; 

6. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 

including: 

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

c. Cannabidiol (CBD); and 

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA);. 

For botanical cannabis products, only the total cannabidiol 

(CBD) and total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) are required; 

7. A pass rating based on the laboratory's microbiological, 

mycotoxins, heavy metals, residual solvents, pesticide 

chemical residue analysis, and for botanical cannabis, the 

water activity and moisture content analysis; 

8. The name and registration number of the registered 

patient; 

9. The name and registration number of the certifying 

practitioner; 

10. Directions for use as may be included in the practitioner's 

written certification or otherwise provided by the 

practitioner; 

11. For botanical cannabis, the amount recommended by the 

practitioner or dispensing pharmacist; 

12. The name or initials of the dispensing pharmacist; 

13. Name, address, and telephone number of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

14. Any necessary cautionary statement; 

15. A prominently printed expiration date based on stability 

testing; and 

16. The pharmaceutical processor's or cannabis dispensing 

facility's recommended conditions of use and storage that 

can be read and understood by the ordinary individual. 

D. The label shall be exempt from containing the items listed 

in subdivisions C 6, C 7, and C 15 if the items are included on 

the batch label as required in 18VAC110-60-290 and are 

clearly visible to the patient. 
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E. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label cannabis 

products as "organic" unless the Cannabis plants have been 

organically grown and the cannabis oil products have been 

produced, processed, manufactured, and certified to be 

consistent with organic standards in compliance with 7 CFR 

Part 205. 

F. The cannabis products shall be dispensed in child-resistant 

packaging, except as provided in 18VAC110-60-210 A. A 

package shall be deemed child-resistant if it satisfies the 

standard for "special packaging" as set forth in the Poison 

Prevention Packaging Act of 1970 Regulations, 16 CFR 

1700.1(b)(4). 

G. No person except a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician 

operating under the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall 

alter, deface, or remove any label so affixed. 

H. A pharmacist shall be responsible for verifying the 

accuracy of the dispensed product in all respects prior to 

dispensing and shall document that each verification has been 

performed. 

I. A pharmacist shall document a registered patient's self-

assessment of the effects of cannabis products in treating the 

registered patient's diagnosed condition or disease or the 

symptoms thereof. If the authorization for botanical cannabis 

for a minor is communicated verbally or in writing to the 

pharmacist at the time of dispensing, the pharmacist shall also 

document such authorization. A pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility shall maintain such documentation 

in writing or electronically for three years from the date of 

dispensing and such documentation shall be made available in 

accordance with regulation. 

J. A pharmacist shall exercise professional judgment to 

determine whether to dispense cannabis products to a 

registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent if 

the pharmacist suspects that dispensing cannabis products to 

the registered patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent may have negative health or safety consequences for the 

registered patient or the public. 

18VAC110-60-320. Dispensing error review and reporting; 

quality assurance program. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall implement and comply with a quality assurance program 

that describes, in writing, policies and procedures to detect, 

identify, and prevent dispensing errors. A pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall distribute the 

written policies and procedures to all pharmaceutical processor 

or cannabis dispensing facility employees and shall make the 

written policies and procedures readily available on the 

premises of the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility. The policies and procedures shall include: 

1. Directions for communicating the details of a dispensing 

error to the practitioner who certified a qualifying patient 

and to the qualifying patient, the patient's parent or legal 

guardian, the patient's registered agent, or appropriate family 

member if the patient is deceased or is unable to fully 

comprehend the communication. The communication shall 

describe methods of correcting the dispensing error or 

reducing the negative impact of the error on the qualifying 

patient; and 

2. A process to document and assess dispensing errors to 

determine the cause of the error and an appropriate response. 

B. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall use the findings of its quality assurance program to 

develop systems and workflow processes designed to prevent 

dispensing errors. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility PIC shall: 

1. Inform pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility employees of changes to policy, procedure, systems, 

or processes made as a result of recommendations generated 

by the quality assurance program; 

2. Notify all processor or facility employees that the 

discovery or reporting of a dispensing error shall be relayed 

immediately to a pharmacist on duty; 

3. Ensure that a pharmacist performs a quality assurance 

review for each dispensing error. A pharmacist shall 

commence such review as soon as is reasonably possible, but 

no later than two business days from the date the dispensing 

error is discovered; and 

4. Create a record of every quality assurance review. This 

record shall contain at least the following: 

a. The date of the quality assurance review and the names 

and titles of the persons performing the review; 

b. The pertinent data and other information relating to the 

dispensing error reviewed; 

c. Documentation of contact with the registered patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent, where 

applicable, and the practitioner who certified the patient; 

d. The findings and determinations generated by the 

quality assurance review; and 

e. Recommended changes to pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility policy, procedure, systems, or 

processes if any. 

C. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall maintain for three years a copy of the pharmaceutical 

processor's or cannabis dispensing facility's quality assurance 

program and records of all reported dispensing errors and 

quality assurance reviews in an orderly manner and filed by 

date. 

18VAC110-60-330. Disposal of cannabis products. 

A. To mitigate the risk of diversion, a pharmaceutical 

processor shall routinely and promptly dispose of undesired, 

excess, unauthorized, obsolete, adulterated, misbranded, or 
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deteriorated green waste,; chemical, dangerous, and hazardous 

waste; extracts,; and cannabis products, as applicable. Green 

waste includes Cannabis plants seeds and parts of plants. Green 

waste shall be weighed, ground, and combined with a 

minimum of 51% non-cannabis waste to render the mixture 

inactive and unrecognizable. Once rendered unrecognizable, 

green waste shall be considered agricultural waste and may be 

disposed of accordingly. 

B. The destruction and disposal of green waste, extracts, and 

cannabis oil, as applicable, shall be witnessed by a pharmacist 

and at least one other employee or the responsible party of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility, 

respectively, and shall be conducted under video surveillance. 

The persons destroying and disposing of the green waste, 

extracts, or cannabis products shall maintain and make 

available a separate record of each occurrence of destruction 

and disposal indicating: 

1. The date and time of destruction and disposal; 

2. The manner of destruction and disposal; 

3. The name and quantity of cannabis product and green 

waste destroyed and disposed of; and 

4. The signatures of the persons destroying and disposing of 

the green waste, extracts, or cannabis products. 

C. Disposal of green waste may be by incineration, inert 

composting, or any other means of disposal or destruction. 

D. A pharmaceutical processor may sell or otherwise 

distribute inert composted green waste. 

E. The record of destruction and disposal shall be maintained 

at the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

for three years from the date of destruction and disposal. 

F. Disposal of chemical, dangerous, and hazardous waste 

must be conducted in a manner consistent with federal, state, 

and local statutes and regulations. This may include any waste 

product soaked in a flammable solvent. 

1. Any waste that may be hazardous must be treated as 

hazardous waste in regard to storage, labeling, and disposal.  

2. The pharmaceutical processor can, alternatively, test 

waste that may be hazardous for elemental impurities 

content.  

a. When tested for elemental impurities content, materials 

that meet the definition of hazardous waste, as defined by 

the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) or 

other applicable federal, state, or local statutes and 

regulations, must be treated as hazardous waste. Such 

materials must be properly labeled, contained, stored, and 

disposed of in accordance with U.S. Environmental 

Protective Agency requirements, RCRA, and other 

applicable regulations for hazardous waste.  

b. Materials that contain elemental impurities 

concentrations less than the allowable concentration limits 

as specified in RCRA and are not designated hazardous 

waste by other applicable federal, state, or local statutes 

and regulations, may be disposed of in accordance with 

this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7283; Filed June 15, 2023, 8:24 a.m. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Appraiser Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-10, 

18VAC130-20-110, 18VAC130-20-220). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 16, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 118 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments (i) add continuing education requirements 

for appraisers, to include a minimum of two hours of fair 

housing or appraisal bias courses; and (ii) provide 

acceptable content for a course in fair housing or 

appraiser bias so that the course qualifies for approval by 

the Appraisal Qualifications Board. 

18VAC130-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required by 

the context, shall have the following meanings: 

"Accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges" means those accredited institutions of higher learning 

approved by the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia or listed in the Transfer Credit Practices of Designated 

Educational Institutions, published by the American 

Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers 

or a recognized international equivalent. 

"Adult distributive or marketing education programs" means 

those programs offered at schools approved by the Virginia 

mailto:reappraisers@dpor.virginia.go
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Department of Education or any other local, state, or federal 

government agency, board, or commission to teach adult 

education or marketing courses. 

"Analysis" means a study of real estate or real property other 

than the estimation of value. 

"Appraisal bias" means bias based on race, ethnicity, or 

national origin in the opinion of value rendered by an appraiser. 

"Appraisal Foundation" means the foundation incorporated as 

an Illinois Not for Profit Corporation on November 30, 1987, 

to establish and improve uniform appraisal standards by 

defining, issuing, and promoting such standards. 

"Appraisal subcommittee" means the designees of the heads 

of the federal financial institutions regulatory agencies 

established by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination 

Council Act of 1978 (12 USC § 3301 et seq.), as amended. 

"Appraiser" means an individual who is expected to perform 

valuation services competently and in a manner that is 

independent, impartial, and objective. 

"Appraiser classification" means any category of appraiser, 

which the board creates by designating criteria for qualification 

for such category and by designating the scope of practice 

permitted for such category. 

"Appraiser Qualifications Board" means the board created by 

the Appraisal Foundation to establish appropriate criteria for 

the certification and recertification of qualified appraisers by 

defining, issuing, and promoting such qualification criteria; to 

disseminate such qualification criteria to states, governmental 

entities, and others; and to develop or assist in the development 

of appropriate examinations for qualified appraisers. 

"Appraiser trainee" means an individual who is licensed as an 

appraiser trainee to appraise those properties that the 

supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise. 

"Board" means the Real Estate Appraiser Board. 

"Business entity" means any corporation, partnership, 

association, or other business entity under which appraisal 

services are performed. 

"Certified general real estate appraiser" means an individual 

who meets the requirements for licensure that relate to the 

appraisal of all types of real estate and real property and is 

licensed as a certified general real estate appraiser. 

"Certified instructor" means an individual holding an 

instructor certificate issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board 

to act as an instructor. 

"Certified residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any residential real 

estate or real property of one to four residential units regardless 

of transaction value or complexity. Certified residential real 

estate appraisers may also appraise or provide a review 

appraisal of nonresidential properties with a transaction value 

or market value as defined by the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, whichever is 

the lesser. 

"Classroom hour" means 50 minutes out of each 60-minute 

segment. The prescribed number of classroom hours includes 

time devoted to tests, which are considered to be part of the 

course. 

"Distance education" means an educational process based on 

the geographical separation of provider and student (i.e., CD-

ROM, online learning, correspondence courses, etc.). 

"Experience" as used in this chapter includes experience 

gained in the performance of traditional appraisal assignments, 

or in the performance of the following: fee and staff appraisals, 

ad valorem tax appraisal, review appraisal, appraisal analysis, 

real estate consulting, highest and best use analysis, and 

feasibility analysis or study. 

For the purpose of this chapter, experience has been divided 

into four major categories: (i) fee and staff appraisal, (ii) ad 

valorem tax appraisal, (iii) review appraisal, and (iv) real estate 

consulting. 

1. "Fee and staff appraiser experience" means experience 

acquired as a sole appraiser, as a cosigner, or through 

disclosure of assistance in the certification in accordance 

with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice. 

Sole appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who makes personal inspections of real estate, 

assembles and analyzes the relevant facts, and by the use of 

reason and the exercise of judgment forms objective 

opinions and prepares reports as to the market value or other 

properly defined value of identified interests in said real 

estate. 

Cosigner appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who signs an appraisal report prepared by 

another, thereby accepting full responsibility for the content 

and conclusions of the appraisal. 

To qualify for fee and staff appraiser experience, an 

individual must have prepared written appraisal reports after 

January 30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards 

of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 1 

and 2. 

2. "Ad valorem tax appraisal experience" means experience 

obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 

relevant facts and who correctly employs those recognized 

methods and techniques that are necessary to produce and 

communicate credible appraisals within the context of the 

real property tax laws. Ad valorem tax appraisal experience 

may be obtained either through individual property 

appraisals or through mass appraisals as long as applicants 
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under this category of experience can demonstrate that they 

are using techniques to value real property similar to those 

being used by fee and staff appraisers and that they are 

effectively utilizing the appraisal process. 

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 

individual property appraisals, an individual must have 

prepared written appraisal reports after January 30, 1989, 

that comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the time of the 

reports' preparation. 

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for mass 

appraisals, an individual must have prepared mass appraisals 

or have documented mass appraisal reports after January 30, 

1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the 

time of the reports' preparation, including Standard 6. 

In addition to the preceding, to qualify for ad valorem tax 

appraisal experience, the applicant's experience log must be 

attested to by the applicant's supervisor. 

3. "Reviewer experience" means experience obtained by an 

individual who examines the reports of appraisers to 

determine whether their conclusions are consistent with the 

data reported and other generally known information. An 

individual acting in the capacity of a reviewer does not 

necessarily make personal inspection of real estate but does 

review and analyze relevant facts assembled by fee and staff 

appraisers and by the use of reason and exercise of judgment 

forms objective conclusions as to the validity of fee and staff 

appraisers' opinions. Reviewer experience shall not 

constitute more than 1,000 hours of total experience 

claimed, and at least 50% of the review experience claimed 

must be in field review wherein the individual has personally 

inspected the real property which is the subject of the review. 

To qualify for reviewer experience, an individual must have 

prepared written reports after January 30, 1989, 

recommending the acceptance, revision, or rejection of the 

fee and staff appraiser's opinions that comply with the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the 

edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation, 

including Standard 3. 

Signing as "Review Appraiser" on an appraisal report 

prepared by another will not qualify an individual for 

experience in the reviewer category. Experience gained in 

this capacity will be considered under the cosigner 

subcategory of fee and staff appraiser experience. 

4. "Real estate consulting experience" means experience 

obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 

relevant facts and by the use of reason and the exercise of 

judgment forms objective opinions concerning matters other 

than value estimates relating to real property. Real estate 

consulting experience includes the following: 

Absorption Study  

Ad Valorem Tax Study  

Annexation Study  

Assemblage Study  

Assessment Study  

Condominium Conversion Study  

Cost-Benefit Study  

Cross Impact Study  

Depreciation/Cost Study  

Distressed Property Study  

Economic Base Analysis  

Economic Impact Study  

Economic Structure Analysis  

Eminent Domain Study  

Feasibility Study  

Highest and Best Use Study  

Impact Zone Study  

Investment Analysis Study  

Investment Strategy Study  

Land Development Study  

Land Suitability Study  

Land Use Study  

Location Analysis Study  

Market Analysis Study  

Market Strategy Study  

Market Turning Point Analysis  

Marketability Study  

Portfolio Study  

Rehabilitation Study  

Remodeling Study  

Rental Market Study  

Right of Way Study  

Site Analysis Study  

Utilization Study  

Urban Renewal Study  

Zoning Study 

To qualify for real estate consulting experience, an 

individual must have prepared written reports after January 

30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the 

time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 4 and 5. 

Real estate consulting shall not constitute more than 500 

hours of experience for any type of appraisal license. 

"Inactive license" means a license that has been renewed 

without meeting the continuing education requirements 

specified in this chapter. Inactive licenses do not meet the 

requirements set forth in § 54.1-2011 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensed residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any noncomplex, 

residential real estate or real property of one-to-four residential 

units, including federally related transactions, where the 

transaction value or market value as defined by the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice is less than $1 
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million, and complex one-to-four residential units having a 

transaction value less than $400,000. Licensed residential real 

estate appraisers may also appraise or provide a review 

appraisal of noncomplex, nonresidential properties with a 

transaction value or market value as defined by the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, 

whichever is the lesser. 

"Licensee" means any individual holding an active license 

issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a certified 

general real estate appraiser, certified residential real estate 

appraiser, licensed residential real estate appraiser, or appraiser 

trainee as defined, respectively, in § 54.1-2009 of the Code of 

Virginia and in this chapter. 

"Local, state, or federal government agency, board, or 

commission" means an entity established by any local, federal, 

or state government to protect or promote the health, safety, 

and welfare of its citizens. 

"Proprietary school" means a privately owned school offering 

appraisal or appraisal related courses approved by the board. 

"Provider" means accredited colleges, universities, or junior 

and community colleges; adult distributive or marketing 

education programs; local, state, or federal government 

agencies, boards, or commissions; proprietary schools; or real 

estate appraisal or real estate related organizations. 

"Real estate appraisal activity" means the act or process of 

valuation of real property or preparing an appraisal report. 

"Real estate appraisal" or "real estate related organization" 

means any appraisal or real estate related organization 

formulated on a national level, where its membership extends 

to more than one state or territory of the United States. 

"Reciprocity agreement" means a conditional agreement 

between two or more states that will recognize one another's 

regulations and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit. 

"Registrant" means any corporation, partnership, association, 

or other business entity that provides appraisal services and 

that is registered with the Real Estate Appraiser Board in 

accordance with § 54.1-2011 E of the Code of Virginia. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license or registration 

restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license or 

registration for another period of time. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, but not a corporation, 

partnership, or association, who is trading under his the 

individual's own name, or under an assumed or fictitious name 

pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Substantially equivalent" means any educational course or 

seminar, experience, or examination taken in this or another 

jurisdiction that is equivalent in classroom hours, course 

content and subject, and degree of difficulty, respectively, to 

those requirements outlined in this chapter and Chapter 20.1 

(§ 54.1-2009 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for 

licensure and renewal. 

"Supervising appraiser" means any individual holding a 

license issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a 

certified general real estate appraiser or certified residential 

real estate appraiser who supervises any unlicensed individual 

acting as a real estate appraiser or an appraiser trainee as 

specified in this chapter. 

"Transaction value" means the monetary amount of a 

transaction that may require the services of a certified or 

licensed appraiser for completion. The transaction value is not 

always equal to the market value of the real property interest 

involved. For loans or other extensions of credit, the 

transaction value equals the amount of the loan or other 

extensions of credit. For sales, leases, purchases, and 

investments in or exchanges of real property, the transaction 

value is the market value of the real property interest involved. 

For the pooling of loans or interests in real property for resale 

or purchase, the transaction value is the amount of the loan or 

the market value of real property calculated with respect to 

each such loan or interest in real property. 

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" 

means the 2020-2021 edition of those standards promulgated 

by the Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation 

for use by all appraisers in the preparation of appraisal reports. 

"Valuation" means an estimate or opinion of the value of real 

property. 

"Valuation assignment" means an engagement for which an 

appraiser is employed or retained to give an analysis, opinion, 

or conclusion that results in an estimate or opinion of the value 

of an identified parcel of real property as of a specified date. 

"Waiver" means the voluntary, intentional relinquishment of 

a known right. 

18VAC130-20-110. Qualifications for renewal. 

A. As a condition of renewal, and under § 54.1-2014 of the 

Code of Virginia, all active certified general real estate 

appraisers, certified residential real estate appraisers, and 

licensed residential real estate appraisers, resident or 

nonresident, shall be required to complete continuing 

education courses satisfactorily within each licensing term as 

follows: 

1. All real estate appraisers must satisfactorily complete 

continuing education courses or seminars offered by 

accredited colleges, universities, or junior and community 

colleges; adult distributive or marketing education 

programs; local, state, or federal government agencies, 

boards, or commissions; proprietary schools; or real estate 

appraisal or real estate related organizations of not less than 

28 classroom hours during each licensing term. 
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2. All real estate appraisers may also satisfy up to one half 

of an individual's continuing education requirements by 

participation other than as a student in educational processes 

and programs approved by the board to be substantially 

equivalent for continuing education purposes, including but 

not limited to teaching, program development, or authorship 

of textbooks. 

3. Seven of the classroom hours completed to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements shall be the National 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

update course or its equivalent. 

4. Aside from complying with the requirement to complete 

the 7-Hour seven-hour National USPAP Update Course, or 

its equivalent, appraisers may not receive credit for 

completion of the same continuing education course within 

a licensing term. 

5. As part of the required hours, all real estate appraisers 

must complete a minimum two-hour course on either fair 

housing or appraisal bias. Such course must be (i) a fair 

housing or appraisal bias course approved by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board; (ii) approved by the Real Estate Board 

in its fair housing category; or (iii) approved by the board in 

accordance with Part V (18VAC130-20-200 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

B. As a condition of renewal, all licensed real estate appraiser 

trainees shall meet the continuing education requirements set 

forth in subsection A of this section. 

C. All applicants for renewal of a license shall meet the 

standards for entry as set forth in subdivisions 1, 3, and 4 of 

18VAC130-20-30. 

D. Applicants for the renewal of a registration shall meet the 

requirement for registration as set forth in 18VAC130-20-20. 

E. Applicants for the renewal of a certificate as an instructor 

shall meet the standards for entry as set forth in 18VAC130-

20-80. 

F. Licensees applying to activate an inactive license must 

complete all required continuing education hours that would 

have been required if the licensee was active prior to 

application to activate the license. 

18VAC130-20-220. Standards for the approval of appraisal 

educational offerings for continuing education credit. 

A. Content. 

1. The content of courses, seminars, workshops, or 

conferences that may be accepted for continuing education 

credit includes, but is not limited to those topics listed in 

18VAC130-20-210 A 2 and below listed in this subdivision. 

Ad valorem taxation 

Appraisal bias 

Arbitration, dispute resolution 

Courses related to the practice of real estate 

appraisal or consulting 

Development cost estimating 

Ethics and standards of professional practice, 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice 

Fair housing 

Land use planning, zoning 

Management, leasing, timesharing 

Property development, partial interests 

Real estate financing and investment 

Real estate law, easements, and legal interests 

Real estate litigation, damages, condemnation 

Real estate appraisal related computer applications 

Real estate securities and syndication 

Developing opinions of real property value in 

appraisals that also include personal property or 

business value 

Seller concessions and impact on value 

Energy efficient items and "green building" 

appraisals 

2. Any course related to appraisal bias designed to meet the 

requirements of 18VAC130-20-110 A 5 must be directly 

applicable to rendering of an opinion of value by an 

appraiser. Acceptable topics should consist of: 

a. Awareness and identification of appraisal bias; 

b. Effects of appraisal bias on consumers; 

c. Assisting consumers who may have been subjected to 

biased appraisals; 

d. Strategies to address appraisal bias; and 

e. Laws and regulations applicable to appraisal bias. 

3. Courses, seminars, workshops, or conferences submitted 

for continuing education credit must indicate that the 

licensee participated in an educational program that 

maintained and increased his the licensee's knowledge, skill, 

and competency in real estate appraisal. 

3. 4. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement to satisfy 

the continuing education requirements shall be granted only 

where the length of the educational offering is at least two 

hours and the licensee participated in the full length of the 

program. 

B. Instruction. Although continuing education offerings are 

not required to be taught by board certified instructors, the 
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Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice course 

must be taught by an Appraiser Qualifications Board certified 

instructor who is also a state certified appraiser. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7488; Filed June 28, 2023, 11:15 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-601. Supplemental Nutrition 

Assistance Program (repealing 22VAC40-601-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Celestine Jackson, Human Services 

Consultant, Department of Social Services, 7 North Eighth 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7376, FAX 

(804) 726-7356, or email 

celestine.jackson1@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment repeals 22VAC40-601-50, which 

established a potential local work reduction effort but has 

since been abandoned as a possible change to processing 

applications for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program benefits. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

22VAC40-601-50. Application processing. (Repealed.) 

Applications for SNAP benefits must be disposed of within 

30 days. Applicants have 30 days to provide verification or 

information needed to determine eligibility of the household. 

If an application cannot be processed by the 30th day because 

such information is lacking due to the fault of the household, 

the application must be denied. If the applicant provides the 

information during the next 30 days, the eligibility worker 

must reinstate the application and prorate benefits to the date 

the last verification was provided. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6420; Filed June 15, 2023, 8:41 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use Tax 

(amending 23VAC10-210-340, 23VAC10-210-410). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2023. 

Effective Date: September 30, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, Department 

of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 23261-7185, 

telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email 

joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Tax Commissioner to issue regulations relating to the 

interpretation and enforcement of the laws governing taxes 

administered by the Department of Taxation. Section 58.1-601 

of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Department of Taxation 

to administer the Retail Sales and Use Tax. 

Purpose: This action is necessary to conform 23VAC10-210-

340 to the repeal of § 58.1-626 of the Code of Virginia by 

Chapter 758 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly. This action is also 

necessary to conform 23VAC10-210-410 to changes to § 58.1-

610 of the Code of Virginia made by Chapters 436 and 449 of 

the 2017 Acts of Assembly. Without this regulatory change, 

the regulation would be incorrect and potentially a source of 

confusion for dealers and their customers. As the Retail Sales 

and Use Tax plays a critical role in providing revenue for 

Virginia's General Fund and funding for transportation and 

public schools, this regulatory change is essential to protect the 

health, safety, or welfare of citizens by eliminating a potential 

source of confusion for taxpayers. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

changes to 23VAC10-210-340 are necessitated by 2019 

legislation that allowed Virginia dealers to offer to absorb 

payment of the sales tax for their customers, as allowed in 

some other states. The Department of Taxation has 

implemented the legislation and is not aware of any concerns 

expressed by affected parties. Accordingly, the changes to this 

regulation section are expected to be noncontroversial. The 

changes to 23VAC10-210-410 are necessitated by 2017 

legislation that received industry support because it provided 

administrative simplification to businesses by treating 

businesses that sell and install the statutorily listed items the 

same as other contractors. The statutory provision repealed by 

the legislation had caused confusion among some taxpayers as 

to whether they should be paying the tax on their purchases of 

the listed items or collecting sales tax on their sales of the 

items. The Department of Taxation has implemented the 

legislation and is not aware of any concerns expressed by the 

affected parties. Accordingly, the changes to this regulation 

section are expected to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: The amendments allow dealers to absorb payment 

of the tax charged pursuant to § 58.1-626 of the Code of 

Virginia, provided that such dealer (i) separately states the 

sales price of the item and the full amount of tax due on the 

item at the point of sale; and (ii) remits to the Department of 

mailto:celestine.jackson1@dss.virginia.gov
mailto:joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov
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Taxation the full amount of tax due with the return that covers 

the period in which the dealer completed the sale or 

transaction. This action also removes language listing the 

different tax rates in different areas of the Commonwealth to 

eliminate the need for future amendments of the section 

whenever there is a rate change. This action removes 

provisions stating that persons selling and installing tangible 

personal property that becomes real property after installation, 

including fences, venetian blinds, window shades, awnings, 

storm windows and doors, floor coverings, cabinets, kitchen 

equipment, window air conditioning units, and other like or 

comparable items, are treated as retailers rather than using or 

consuming contractors. In order to maintain the current 

numbering of the succeeding subsections of the regulation, the 

text being removed will be replaced with "Reserved." 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public, the 

Commonwealth, and the agency of the amendments is that this 

action will conform the regulation to current statutory law. As 

the regulatory action will update the regulation to reflect 

current law, there are no disadvantages to the public, the 

Commonwealth, or the agency associated with this action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) 

and Executive Order 19. The analysis presented represents 

DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Following a periodic review,2 the Department of Taxation 

(Department) proposes to update the regulation to incorporate 

provisions of (i) Chapters 436 and 449 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly3 that shifted the collection and remittance 

responsibility of sales and use tax on certain construction 

materials from installer to the supplier of these items and (ii) 

Chapter 758 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly4 that repealed the 

restriction prohibiting sales and use tax dealers from absorbing 

the payment of the tax. The Department also proposes a 

discretionary change in rules applicable to overcollection of 

the tax to simplify and to indicate that sales tax rates differ in 

some areas of the Commonwealth. 

Background. Chapters 436 and 449 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly shift the collection and remittance responsibility of 

sales and use tax on fences, venetian blinds, window shades, 

awnings, storm windows and doors, floor coverings, cabinets, 

countertops, kitchen equipment, window air conditioning 

units, or other like or comparable items from the contractor 

who sold and installed these items to the contractor's supplier 

or vendor. 

Although most consumers are familiar with paying sales tax on 

their purchases from grocery or department stores, special rules 

apply to tangible personal property installed on real estate. 

Examples of these types of items are construction materials for 

plumbing, electrical, roofing systems, central air conditioning, 

heating, and heat pump units. Once sold and installed by a 

contractor respecting real estate, these items lose their identity 

as a tangible property and become part of the real estate. In that 

sense, contractors are considered to be the users of tangible 

personal property as a general rule and pay the sales tax on 

these items when they obtain them from their supplier or 

vendor. The supplier or vendor is treated as the sales tax dealer 

and remits the amount collected from contractors to the 

Department. 

Prior to the 2017 legislative change, however, fences, venetian 

blinds, window shades, awnings, storm windows and doors, 

floor coverings, cabinets, countertops, kitchen equipment, 

window air conditioning units or other like or comparable 

items were specifically exempted from the general rule, and the 

homeowner was considered to be the user of these items. 

Therefore, contractors were required to collect sales tax when 

they sold and installed these items and remit it to the 

Department. Furthermore, since the homeowner was treated as 

the user, the contractor was expected to obtain these items from 

its vendors by using its sales tax exemption certificate so as not 

to pay double sales tax on them. 

According to the Department, the differential sales tax 

treatment of these specific items listed in the legislation from 

the general rule created confusion among the contractors. As a 

result, two national home improvement chains sponsored the 

2017 legislative amendments that made the sales tax treatment 

of such items the same as any other tangible personal property 

installed on real estate. Pursuant to the legislation, this action 

removes the regulatory language regarding the exempt 

treatment of the affected items from the general sales tax rule 

applicable to tangible property installed on real estate. 

Another proposed change incorporates in the regulatory text 

language from Chapter 758 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, 

which repealed the restriction prohibiting retail sales and use 

tax dealers from absorbing the payment of the tax. Prior to this 

law change, dealers were generally prohibited from absorbing 

or advertising or holding out to the public that they will absorb 

payment of all or any part of the sales or use tax due on a 

taxable transaction. Under the amended statute, a dealer is now 

allowed to absorb all, or a portion of the sales tax provided it 

separately states the sales price of the item and the full amount 

of tax due on the item at the point of sale and remits to the 

Department the full amount of tax due. This action would also 

edit the regulatory text to incorporate the 2019 legislative 

change. 

The last proposed change would remove references, in the 

rules applicable to overcollection of the tax, to specific areas 

of the Commonwealth that have a different sales tax rate than 

the 5.3% generally applicable statewide rate. The proposed text 

would reference the Department's website on sales and use tax 

for the statutory rates applicable at different areas of the 

Commonwealth. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The main impact of the 

incorporation of the legislative changes in the regulatory text 

is to make the text consistent with the statutes and prevent 
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possible confusion from conflicting language. Although the 

anticipated impact of incorporation of the two changes in 

regulation is relatively small, the legislative changes 

themselves appear to be substantial. 

The 2017 legislation appears to have eliminated a significant 

source of confusion with respect to collection and remittance 

of the sales tax by contractors that sold and installed the 

specific list of tangible property on real estate. Because of the 

general rule, most contractors have grown accustomed to 

purchasing tangible property from their suppliers with sales tax 

and not collecting the tax from their customers. However, 

according to the Department, the exemption from this general 

rule at that time had required the contractors to obtain materials 

from their suppliers without paying the tax using an exemption 

certificate and instead collecting the tax from their customers 

and later remitting the amount collected to the Department. 

The Department acknowledges that there were significant 

compliance issues as a result of that exempt treatment of such 

items from the general rule. Additionally, contractors usually 

add a markup to the items they resell to their customers. This 

practice has a direct impact on the amount subject to the sales 

tax. Since the collection of the sales tax on the certain items 

affected by the legislation changed from the sales price charged 

by the contractor to the price charged by the contractor's 

vendor, a reduction on sales tax due would have likely 

occurred. However, the Department has no information on the 

data elements needed to estimate the magnitude of the likely 

revenue impact (e.g., compliance rates with the exemption to 

the general rule, statewide vendor sales of affected items, and 

the markup contractors charge). 

Similarly, the impact of the 2019 legislative change that 

allowed absorption of the sales tax by retailers likely included 

providing more flexibility in advertising or an additional 

promotional tool. It is not unusual to hear or see commercials 

during the sales tax holidays in order to promote sales of items 

that are temporarily exempt from sales tax under Virginia law. 

With the 2019 legislation, retailers have been free to absorb the 

sales tax due for a variety of purposes, such as to promote the 

goods they sell or to show customer appreciation. To the extent 

this legislative change enhanced the availability of marketing 

approaches and had promoted sales, a positive sales tax 

revenue impact would have likely occurred. 

Finally, the proposed edits to the text regarding the 

overcollection of the tax strike references to specific areas of 

the Commonwealth that have different sales tax rate than the 

5.3% rate otherwise applicable statewide. Instead, the 

proposed text would reference the Department's website on 

sales and use tax for the statutory rates applicable at different 

areas of the Commonwealth. According to the Department, this 

change would eliminate the need for future regulatory 

amendments of the section whenever there is a legislative rate 

change. Thus, this change appears to be mainly editorial in 

nature and is not expected to create any other economic effects. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments to the regulatory text apply to all entities subject 

to Virginia sales and use tax. Suppliers, contractors and 

installers of fences, venetian blinds, window shades, awnings, 

storm windows and doors, floor coverings, cabinets, 

countertops, kitchen equipment, window air conditioning units 

or other like or comparable items may be particularly affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.5 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, this action 

incorporates legislative changes that occurred a number of 

years ago and the proposed discretionary change is editorial in 

nature with no adverse impact. Thus, no adverse impact on any 

entity is indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7  The proposed amendments to the 

regulatory text do not appear to adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments to the 

regulatory text do not introduce costs for local governments or 

affect any locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

to the regulatory text do not appear to affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments to the regulatory text do not affect the use and 

value of private property or real estate development costs. 

______________________ 

1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2187 

3https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0436 & 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0449 

4https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0758 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 

7If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2187
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0436
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0449
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0758
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include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

9Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) pursuant to Chapter 758 of the 2019 

Acts of Assembly, allow Retail Sales and Use Tax dealers to 

absorb the payment of tax, provided that such dealer 

separately states the sales price of the item and the full 

amount of tax due on the item at the point of sale and remits 

to the Department of Taxation the full amount of tax due with 

the return that covers the period in which the dealer 

completed the sale or transaction; (ii) pursuant to Chapter 

436 and 449 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, change the 

treatment of Retail Sales and Use Tax from being charged to 

the persons who sell certain items of tangible personal 

property to those who install such items onto a customer's 

real property; and (iii) remove language listing the different 

tax rates in different areas of the Commonwealth. 

23VAC10-210-340. Collection of tax by dealers. 

A. Generally. The tax must be paid to the state by the dealer, 

but the dealer must separately state the amount of the tax and 

add the tax to the sales price or charge. Thereafter, the tax is a 

debt from the purchaser, consumer, or lessee to the dealer until 

paid and is recoverable at law in the same manner as other 

debts. 

Identification of the tax by a separate writing or symbol is not 

required provided the amount of the tax is shown as a separate 

item on the record of the transaction. For special rules relating 

to vending machines sales, see 23VAC10-210-6040 through 

23VAC10-210-6043. 

B. Advertising absorption of tax by dealers. It is a 

misdemeanor for a dealer to advertise or hold out to the public 

in any manner, directly or indirectly, that he will absorb all or 

any part of the sales or use tax, or that he will relieve the 

purchaser, consumer or lessee of the payment of all or any part 

of the tax, except as may be authorized under the bracket 

system or the special provisions relating to vending machine 

sales. This prohibition does not apply during the sales tax 

holiday provided under §§ 58.1-609.1, 58.1-611.2, and 58.1-

611.3 of the Code of Virginia, nor for the 14 days immediately 

preceding the commencement of the sales tax holiday. During 

this 17-day period, dealers may advertise that they will absorb 

the tax on any or all nonqualifying items. The dealer may not 

absorb the tax prior to or following the sales tax holiday period 

and may not advertise that he will do so. A dealer may absorb 

and assume payment of all or any part of the sales or use tax 

otherwise due from the purchaser, consumer, or lessee 

provided such dealer separately states the sales price of an item 

and the full amount of sales and use tax due on such item at the 

point of the sale or transaction, and such dealer remits to the 

Department of Taxation the full amount of tax due with the 

return that covers the period in which the dealer completed the 

sale or transaction. 

C. Erroneous collection of tax on nontaxable transactions. All 

sales and use tax collected by a dealer is held in trust for the 

state. Therefore, any dealer collecting the sales or use tax on 

nontaxable transactions must remit to the Department of 

Taxation such erroneously or illegally collected tax unless he 

the dealer can show that the tax has been refunded to the 

purchaser or credited to the purchaser's account. 

D. Overcollection of the tax. Any dealer who collects tax in 

excess of a 5.3% (6.0% in the Hampton Roads and Northern 

Virginia Regions) the statutory rate or who otherwise 

overcollects the tax, except as may be authorized under the 

bracket system or the special provisions relating to vending 

machine sales, must remit any amount overcollected to the 

state on a timely basis. Failure to do so will result in a penalty 

of 25% of the amount of the overcollection. For definitions of 

the "Hampton Roads Region" and the "Northern Virginia 

Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070. Statutory rates are listed on 

the Department of Taxation's website at 

https://www.tax.virginia.gov/retail-sales-and-use-tax. 

23VAC10-210-410. Contractors respecting real estate. 

A. Basic rules. A contractor is defined as any person who 

contracts to perform construction, reconstruction, installation, 

repair, or any other service with respect to real estate or fixtures 

thereon, including highways, and in connection therewith to 

furnish tangible personal property, whether such person be a 

prime contractor or subcontractor. Unless otherwise noted, the 

law treats every contractor as the user or consumer of all 

tangible personal property furnished to him the contractor or 

by him the contractor in connection with real property 

construction, reconstruction, installation, repair, and similar 

contracts. 

Tangible personal property incorporated in real property 

construction which that loses its identity as tangible personal 

property and becomes real property is deemed to be tangible 

personal property used or consumed by the contractor. Any 

sale, distribution, or lease to or storage for such a contractor is 

deemed a sale, distribution, or lease to or storage for the 

ultimate consumer (the contractor), and not for resale by the 

contractor. The dealer (supplier) making the sale, distribution, 
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or lease to or storage for such a contractor must collect the tax 

from him the contractor. No sale to a contractor is exempt on 

the ground that the other party to the contract is a governmental 

agency, a public service corporation, a nonprofit school, or 

nonprofit hospital, or on the ground that the contract is a cost-

plus contract. 

A contractor must remit the use tax on any tangible personal 

property purchased exclusive of the tax and furnished to him 

the contractor except when such property is purchased and 

furnished to a contractor by a governmental unit or agency. 

Property which that is exempt from the tax when purchased by 

a manufacturer, processor, miner, public service corporation, 

commercial radio, television or cable television operation, 

farmer, or shipbuilding and repair business may also be 

furnished to a contractor without such contractor becoming 

subject to use tax. Contractors may also purchase machinery 

and tools to be used directly in industrial manufacturing or 

processing (see 23VAC10-210-920) exempt from the tax. 

A contractor, whether he the contractor be a prime contractor 

or subcontractor, does not pass the sales or use tax on to anyone 

else as a tax. He The contractor will take the amount of the tax 

into consideration in submitting bids. 

If a supplier of a contractor doing work in Virginia does not 

collect the Virginia tax from the contractor, the contractor will 

be liable for the use tax on his the contractor's purchases from 

the supplier. 

B. Person who is a using or consuming contractor and also a 

seller. A person who is a using or consuming contractor, as 

explained in subsection A of this section, may also be engaged 

in the business of selling tangible personal property to 

customers, including contractors, for use or consumption by 

them such customers. If so, the person is a dealer with respect 

to such sales, and is required to obtain a Certificate of 

Registration. 

After obtaining a Certificate of Registration as a dealer 

because he the contractor is engaged in the business of selling 

tangible personal property to customers for use or consumption 

by them the customers, a contractor may purchase the tangible 

personal property under a resale exemption certificate. He The 

contractor may not purchase under a resale exemption 

certificate any tangible personal property which he the 

contractor knows at the time of purchase will be furnished by 

him the contractor in connection with any specific contract. If 

such a person, as a using or consuming contractor, removes 

from his the contractor's sales inventory for use in the 

performance of any contract any tangible personal property 

purchased under a resale certificate, he the contractor must 

include the cost to him such contractor of such tangible 

personal property on his the contractor's dealer's return and pay 

the tax. 

C. Fabricator (manufacturer, processor, or miner) who 

fabricates tangible personal property and sells it to customers. 

A person who fabricates tangible personal property and sells it 

to customers, including contractors, for use or consumption by 

them, must add the sales tax to the sales price and collect it 

from the customer for payment to the state. Raw materials, 

component parts, and other tangible personal property to be 

fabricated for sale may be purchased under a resale certificate 

of exemption. 

D. Fabricator (manufacturer, processor, or miner) who 

fabricates tangible personal property exclusively for use and 

consumption in real property construction contracts. A 

fabricator who contracts to perform services with respect to 

real estate construction, and in connection therewith to furnish 

tangible personal property for incorporation in real estate 

construction thereby causing it to lose its identity as tangible 

personal property by becoming real property, is classified as a 

using or consuming contractor and must pay the tax on the cost 

price of the raw materials which that make up such fabricated 

property. The tax must be paid at the time of purchase to all 

suppliers who are authorized to collect the tax. In instances 

where the supplier is not authorized to collect the tax or fails to 

collect the tax, the tax must be remitted directly to the 

Department of Taxation on Form ST-7, Consumer's Use Tax 

Return. 

E. Fabricator (manufacturer, processor, or miner) who 

operates in a dual capacity of fabricating tangible personal 

property for sale or resale and fabricating for its own use and 

consumption in the performance of real property construction 

contracts. A manufacturer, processor, or miner who operates in 

a dual capacity of fabricating tangible personal property for 

sale or resale and fabricating for his the manufacturer's, 

processor's, or miner's own use and consumption in the 

performance of real property construction contracts shall 

follow a primary purpose rule based on gross receipts in 

determining sales and use tax application. 

Any person who is principally fabricating tangible personal 

property for sale or resale shall apply the tax according to 

subsection C above of this section. Such fabricators should 

collect and remit the tax based upon the total amount for which 

tangible personal property and services are sold, except that 

charges for labor and services rendered in installing, applying, 

remodeling, or repairing property sold may be excluded from 

the tax when separately stated or charged. In addition, any 

person who withdraws tangible personal property from 

inventory for use and consumption in the performance of real 

property construction contracts is liable for the tax based on 

the fabricated cost price of the tangible personal property 

withdrawn. Fabricated cost price is computable by totaling the 

cost of materials, labor, and overhead charged to work in 

process. Freight inward at the plant is treated as an element of 

the cost of the materials. 

Any person who is principally fabricating tangible personal 

property for his that person's own use and consumption in real 

property construction contracts shall apply the tax according to 
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subsection D above in this section. In addition, persons who 

sell tangible personal property to consumers must register, 

collect, and pay the tax on the retail selling price of the tangible 

personal property. Such person is entitled to purchase exempt 

from the tax only that tangible personal property which that can 

be identified at the time of purchase as purchases for resale. If 

the person is unable to identify at the time of purchase the 

tangible personal property which that will be resold, such 

person is required to pay the tax to his the person's supplier. If 

at a later date, the person sells the tangible personal property at 

retail, the tax is collected upon retail selling price. Such 

persons are not entitled to credit for the tax paid to suppliers 

since the transactions are separate and distinct taxable 

transactions. 

A person who fabricates tangible personal property, both for 

sale or resale and for use in real property construction 

contracts, may apply to the Tax Commission to pay any tax 

directly to the state and avoid the collection of tax by suppliers, 

if his such person's purchases are made under circumstances 

which that normally make it impossible at the time of sale to 

determine the manner in which such property will be used. (See 

23VAC10-210-510 on direct payment permits.) 

F. Fabricator's production exemptions, when allowable. 

Fabricators of tangible personal property may take the status of 

industrial manufacturers, processors, or miners under 

23VAC10-210-920 or 23VAC10-210-960, and when they 

fabricate fabricating tangible personal property for sale or 

resale, they such fabricators may enjoy the production 

exemptions set out in 23VAC10-210-920 or the mining 

exemptions set out in 23VAC10-210-960. The production and 

mining exemptions are not available to a fabricator of tangible 

personal property who fabricates for his the fabricator's own 

use or consumption (as a contractor or otherwise) and not for 

sale or resale. However, a fabricator whose principal or 

primary business is the fabrication of tangible personal 

property for sale or resale, and who, as a lesser or minor part 

of this business, fabricates for his such fabricator's own use and 

consumption, will not be deprived of the production 

exemptions set out in 23VAC10-210-920, or the mining 

exemptions set out in 23VAC10-210-960. 

G. Contractor or retailer selling and installing tangible 

personal property that becomes real property after installation 

(including fences, venetian blinds, window shades, awnings, 

storm windows and doors, floor coverings, cabinets, kitchen 

equipment, window air conditioning units, and other like or 

comparable items). 

A person selling and installing tangible personal property that 

becomes real property after installation is generally considered 

a contractor, except that a retailer selling and installing fences, 

venetian blinds, window shades, awnings, storm windows and 

doors, floor coverings (as distinguished from floors 

themselves), cabinets, kitchen equipment, window air 

conditioning units or other like or comparable items is not 

classified as a using or consuming contractor with respect to 

them. 

For purposes of this subsection only, a "retailer" shall be 

deemed to be any person who maintains a retail or wholesale 

place of business, an inventory of the aforementioned items 

and/or materials which enter into or become a component part 

of the aforementioned items, and who performs installation as 

part of or incidental to the sale of the aforementioned items. As 

so defined, a retailer is not classified as a using or consuming 

contractor with respect to installations of the aforementioned 

items. A retailer must treat such transactions as taxable sales 

except that installation charges when separately stated on an 

invoice are exempt from tax. 

Persons who are not classified as retailers within the 

definition set forth above and who sell and install fences, 

venetian blinds, etc., are deemed to be contractors and must 

pay the sales tax on such items at the time of purchase. 

"Floor coverings" (as distinguished from the floors 

themselves) include rugs, mats, padding, wall-to-wall carpets 

when installed by the tack strip or stretch-in methods, and other 

floor coverings which are not glued, cemented, or otherwise 

permanently attached to the floor below. Persons selling and 

installing floor coverings which become permanently attached 

to floors are deemed to be using or consuming contractors with 

respect to such items. Such floor coverings include carpet, 

wood block, cork, tile, linoleum, and vinyl floor coverings 

when glued, cemented or otherwise permanently attached to 

floors or plywood and concrete subflooring. 

Both retailers and contractors are deemed to be the users or 

consumers of supplies used in installing tangible personal 

property that becomes real property after installation. 

Therefore, retailers and contractors are subject to the tax on 

their purchases of tacks, stripping, glue, cement, and other 

supplies purchased. 

Subsection B is applicable to persons engaged as contractors 

with respect to the installation of fences, venetian blinds, etc., 

and also as sellers of such items at retail to customers, 

including contractors, on an uninstalled basis for use or 

consumption by them. Reserved. 

H. Retailer selling and installing tangible personal property. 

Any person who sells tangible personal property at retail and 

installs such property as part of or incidental to the sale is a 

retailer and is required to add the sales tax to the sales price. 

The tax does not apply to installation charges when separately 

stated on a sales invoice. If the installation charge is not 

separately stated, the tax must be computed on the total charge. 

Retailers are deemed to be the users or consumers of all 

supplies used in installing tangible personal property. 

Therefore, retailers are subject to the tax on all such supplies 

purchased. 
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I. Construction materials temporarily stored in Virginia. 

Construction contractors may purchase exempt from tax 

construction materials for temporary storage in Virginia to be used 

in exempt construction projects in other states or foreign countries. 

Contractors entitled to this exemption may obtain certificates of 

exemption upon written request to the Department of Taxation. 

The request should include information to show that the 

construction materials could be purchased by the contractor free 

from sales or use tax in the other state or foreign country. 

This exemption is restricted to construction materials 

incorporated into exempt real property construction. The tax 

applies to equipment, tools, supplies, etc., used in performance of 

the construction contract. The tax applies to all other construction 

materials, temporarily stored in Virginia, that will be incorporated 

into real estate construction projects outside Virginia. 

J. Government contracts. Generally, purchases of tangible 

personal property by contractors in connection with real property 

construction contracts with the governments of Virginia or the 

United States or political subdivisions thereof, are sales to such 

contractors for their such contractors' own use or consumption and 

contractors are subject to the tax on such transactions. This applies 

regardless of whether title to such property passes directly to the 

governmental entity upon purchase by the contractor or if the 

contractor is reimbursed directly by the government entity for the 

cost of such property. 

Only in instances where the credit of a governmental entity is 

bound directly and the contractor has been officially designated as 

the purchasing agent for such governmental entity will such 

purchases be deemed exempt from the tax. 

Contractors are not subject to the use tax when provided with 

tangible personal property purchased by a governmental entity for 

use in real property construction contracts. For further information 

relating to the sales and use tax exemption for purchases by 

governments generally, see 23VAC10-210-690 on Governments. 

For pollution control equipment and facilities, see 23VAC10-

210-2070; use tax generally, see 23VAC10-210-6030; highway 

contractors specifically, see 23VAC10-210-410. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7462; Filed June 21, 2023, 1:26 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-640. Parking on Primary and 

Secondary Highways (adding 24VAC30-640-10 through 

24VAC30-640-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1223 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 16, 2023. 

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, Department of 

Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 225-4700, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The action establishes a new regulation to address the 

parking-related issues of concern to the Virginia 

Department of Transportation (VDOT) that are not in 

conflict with any locality's authority to regulate parking 

under the Code of Virginia, including (i) the specific 

factors that VDOT will consider in determining whether 

to restrict or prohibit parking, stopping, or standing on a 

portion of a primary or secondary highway; (ii) a 

requirement that any restriction or prohibition shall be 

indicated by signs that meet the relevant standards for 

traffic control devices; (iii) enforcement provisions that 

meet the requirements specified in § 46.2-1227 of the Code 

of Virginia; and (iv) instances when VDOT will not 

regulate parking, such as where localities or other state 

agencies have authority to regulate parking pursuant to 

the Code of Virginia. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

Chapter 640 

Parking on Primary and Secondary Highways 

24VAC30-640-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Bicycle lane" means that portion of a roadway designated by 

signs or pavement markings for the preferential use of bicycles, 

electric power-assisted bicycles, motorized skateboards or 

scooters, and mopeds. 

"Business district" means the territory contiguous to a 

highway where 75% or more of the property contiguous to a 

highway, on either side of the highway, for a distance of 300 

feet or more along the highway, is occupied by land and 

buildings actually in use for business purposes. 

"Clear zone" means the total border area of a roadway, 

including, if any, parking lanes or planting strips, that is 

sufficiently wide for an errant vehicle to avoid a serious 

accident. Details on the clear zone are in VDOT's Road Design 

Manual (see 24VAC30-151-760). 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Highways, the 

individual who serves as the chief executive officer of the 

Virginia Department of Transportation or his designee. 

"Department" or "VDOT" means the Virginia Department of 

Transportation. 

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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"Highway" means the entire width between the boundary 

lines of every way or place open to the use of the public for 

purposes of vehicular travel in the Commonwealth, including 

the streets and alleys, and, for law-enforcement purposes, (i) 

the entire width between the boundary lines of all private roads 

or private streets that have been specifically designated 

"highways" by an ordinance adopted by the governing body of 

the county, city, or town in which such private roads or streets 

are located and (ii) the entire width between the boundary lines 

of every way or place used for purposes of vehicular travel on 

any property owned, leased, or controlled by the United States 

government and located in the Commonwealth. 

"Parking" means halting a vehicle, whether occupied or not, 

other than "stopping" or "standing," for an appreciable period 

of time. 

"Primary highway" means any highway in or component of 

the primary state highway system as defined in § 33.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Residence district" means the territory contiguous to a 

highway, not comprising a business district, where 75% or 

more of the property abutting such highway, on either side of 

the highway, for a distance of 300 feet or more along the 

highway consists of (i) land improved for dwelling purposes or 

is occupied by dwellings, (ii) land or buildings in use for 

business purposes, or (iii) territory zoned residential or 

territory in residential subdivisions created under Chapter 22 

(§ 15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Secondary highway" means any highway in or component 

of the secondary state highway system as defined in § 33.2-100 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Shared-use path" means a bikeway that is physically 

separated from motorized vehicular traffic by an open space or 

barrier and is located either within the highway right-of-way or 

within a separate right-of-way. Shared-use paths may also be 

used by pedestrians, skaters, users of wheel chairs or wheel 

chair conveyances, joggers, and other nonmotorized users and 

personal delivery devices. 

"Shoulder" means that part of a highway between the portion 

regularly traveled by vehicular traffic and the lateral curbline 

or ditch. 

"Standing" means the halting of a vehicle, while still 

occupying the vehicle, for the purpose of and while actually 

engaged in receiving or discharging passengers. 

"Stopping" means the momentary halting of a vehicle, 

whether occupied or not, except when necessary to avoid 

conflict with other traffic or in compliance with the directions 

of a police officer or official traffic-control device. 

"Travel lane" means that portion of a roadway designed or 

designated to accommodate the forward movement of a single 

line of vehicles. 

"Vehicle" means every device in, on, or by which any person 

or property is or may be transported or drawn on a highway, 

except personal delivery devices and devices moved by human 

power or used exclusively on stationary rails or tracks. 

24VAC30-640-20. Regulation of parking generally.  

A. The commissioner may restrict or prohibit parking, 

stopping, or standing on any portion of the right-of-way of a 

primary or secondary highway where, in the commissioner's 

discretion, such parking, stopping, or standing impedes the 

safe or intended use of the highway. 

B. Parking, stopping, or standing is prohibited on any bridge 

or in any tunnel and on any sidewalk, bicycle lane, or shared-

use path unless otherwise indicated by the department. 

C. The commissioner shall consider the following factors 

when determining whether to restrict or prohibit parking, 

stopping, or standing in a location pursuant to subsection A of 

this section: 

1. The intended use of the highway. Generally, highways 

with a federal functional classification of arterial or collector 

facilitate the mobility of traffic and typically have higher 

speed limits (such as greater than 35 miles per hour). 

Highways with a federal functional classification of local 

generally serve to provide access, including parking to 

adjacent residences and businesses, and generally have 

speed limits of 35 miles per hour or less, such as in a business 

district or residence district. 

2. The roadway design, speed, and traffic. Generally, 

parking, stopping, or standing may be prohibited where the 

roadway features, traffic and speeds do not conform to 

VDOT's design standards for the provision of parking (such 

design standards include design speed, traffic volume, truck 

percentage and the widths of pavement, travel lane, 

shoulder, parking lane, clear zone as well as geometric and 

sight distance standards). The proximity of parking to 

horizontal or vertical curves, intersections, entrances, or 

crosswalks should be considered as parking may impede the 

ability of vehicles or pedestrians to safely see the highway 

and other vehicles or pedestrians ahead or for vehicles to 

negotiate a turn onto or off the highway. 

3. Potential damage to the highway or right of way. Where 

parking, stopping, or standing may cause undue damage to 

any portion of the highway or right of way maintained by 

VDOT. 

4. Potential for obstruction. Where parking, stopping, or 

standing obstructs the actions required by VDOT for 

operating, maintaining, or constructing the highway or right 

of way. 
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24VAC30-640-30. Signs.  

A. Any restriction or prohibition on parking, stopping, or 

standing pursuant to 24VAC30-640-20 shall be indicated by 

signs erected in the area of the restriction or prohibition. 

B. All signs erected in accordance with this section shall 

conform in content, location, and design with the uniform 

standards for traffic control devices established by the 

commissioner pursuant to § 46.2-830 of the Code of Virginia. 

24VAC30-640-40. Enforcement.  

A. Any vehicle parked, stopped, or standing in violation of 

this chapter may be issued a citation by an appropriate law-

enforcement officer for a traffic infraction and shall be subject 

to penalties set in accordance with § 46.2-113 of the Code of 

Virginia and the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

B. Citations issued under the provisions of this chapter that 

are uncontested shall be paid to the administrative official 

appointed under the provisions of § 46.2-1227 of the Code of 

Virginia in the locality in which the part of the highway lies, 

or for any locality where there is no such appointed 

administrative official, the citations shall be paid to the local 

treasurer, who shall promptly pay them into the general fund 

of the state treasury. 

C. Citations issued under the provisions of this section that 

are contested or delinquent shall be certified or a complaint, 

summons, or warrant shall be issued as provided in § 46.2-

1225 of the Code of Virginia to the general district court in 

whose jurisdiction the part of the highway lies. Any sums 

collected by such court minus court costs shall be promptly 

paid by the clerk into the general fund of the state treasury.  

24VAC30-640-50. Exceptions and authority of localities.  

A. Any restriction or prohibition on parking pursuant to this 

chapter shall not apply to law-enforcement vehicles, 

emergency vehicles, and VDOT vehicles being operated in the 

performance of the operator's official duties. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed so as to infringe 

on locality authority to regulate or prohibit parking in 

accordance with the Code of Virginia. 

C. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed so as to infringe 

on the authority of any board of visitors or other governing 

body of an educational institution relating to parking on 

property owned by the institution in accordance with the Code 

of Virginia. 

D. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed so as to infringe 

on the authority of the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services relating to parking on property owned 

by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services in accordance with the Code of Virginia. 

E. Notwithstanding the provisions of 24VAC30-640-30, no 

signs shall be required to be posted at the locations specified in 

§ 46.2-1239 of the Code of Virginia. The provisions of § 46.2-

1239 shall be valid and enforceable whether or not signs are 

placed prohibiting or restricting parking at those locations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5832; Filed June 15, 2023, 6:43 a.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Virginia Informed Choice. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 16, 2023. 

Effective Date: August 17, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6550_20230531.pdf
mailto:Meredith.Lee@dmas.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Public Comment Opportunity on a Proposed Update 
to the Mobile Vehicle Emission Budgets for 

Nitrogen Oxides and Volatile Organic Compounds 
Applicable to the Northern Virginia 2008 Ozone 

National Ambient Air Quality Standards 
Maintenance Area 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is seeking comments and announcing a public comment 

period on a proposed update to the mobile vehicle emission 

budgets (MVEBs) for nitrogen oxides (NOX) and volatile 

organic compounds (VOC) applicable to the Northern Virginia 

2008 ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards 

(NAAQS) maintenance area. The Commonwealth intends to 

submit the updated MVEBs as a revision to the Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP) in accordance with the federal 

Clean Air Act. The SIP is the plan developed by Virginia to 

fulfill its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to 

attain and maintain the NAAQS promulgated by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comments on the MVEB 

updates associated with the 2008 ozone maintenance plan 

covering the Northern Virginia portion of the Metropolitan 

Washington, DC-MD-VA 2008 ozone NAAQS maintenance 

area. The Northern Virginia portion of the Metropolitan 

Washington, DC-MD-VA 2008 ozone maintenance area 

consists of the Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and 

Prince William and the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls 

Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park. 

Public comment period: July 17, 2023, through August 16, 

2023. 

Public hearing: DEQ will hold a public hearing on August 16, 

2023, 11 a.m. in Conference Room #2, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA, 22193. 

Description of proposal: The proposal consists of updates to 

the MVEBs as well as a description of the techniques used to 

develop those budgets. The proposal was prepared by the 

Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee (MWAQC), 

which consists of elected officials from the affected localities 

and representatives of state transportation and air quality 

planning agencies. 

The complete proposal is available at 

https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2023/06/13/washington-

dc-md-va-2008-ozone-naaqs-maintenance-plan-air-quality-

air-quality-conformity-ozone/. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of 40 CFR 51.102. The 

proposed inventory and supporting technical documents will 

be submitted as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia 

SIP under § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act in accordance 

with 40 CFR 51.104. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. To be considered, comments must include 

the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by DEQ no later than the last day 

of the comment period. A cover page with recipient 

designation must be part of each fax. DEQ prefers that all 

comments be provided in writing, along with any supporting 

documents or exhibits. Comments must be submitted to Doris 

A. McLeod, Air Quality Planner, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 659-1990, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. All 

materials received are part of the public record. 

To review the proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the Metropolitan Washington 

Council of Governments website at 

https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2023/06/13/washington-

dc-md-va-2008-ozone-naaqs-maintenance-plan-air-quality-

air-quality-conformity-ozone/. 

The documents may also be obtained by contacting the DEQ 

representative listed. The public may review the documents 

between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until the 

close of the public comment period at the following DEQ 

locations: 

Main Street Office, 1111 East Main Street, 22nd Floor, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 659-1990; and 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

Contact Information: Doris A. McLeod, Air Quality Planner, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 659-

1990, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Central Crossing LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Central Crossing 

LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations 

at Central Crossing Section 2 located in King William County, 

Virginia. The proposed order is available from the Department 

of Environment Quality contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept 

written comments from July 17, 2023, to August 17, 2023. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 
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Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
LCVA Holdings LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for LCVA Holdings 

LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations 

and applicable permit at the Chantilly Place sewage treatment 

plant facility located in Chantilly, Virginia. The proposed 

consent order is available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices. The 

DEQ contact will accept written comments from July 17, 2023, 

through August 16, 2023. 

Contact Information: Katherine Mann, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

katherine.mann@deq.virgnia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Pilot Travel Centers LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Pilot Travel 

Centers LLC for violations near Buchanan, Virginia on 

Interstate-81 at mile marker 164.3. The Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) proposes to issue a special order 

by consent to Pilot Travel Centers LLC to address 

noncompliance with the State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the DEQ office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

The staff contact will accept comments by email or postal mail 

from July 17, 2023, through August 16, 2023. 

Contact Information: Timothy Fletcher, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 901 

Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, or email 

timothy.fletcher@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Harold A. Puryear Trucking Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Harold A. 

Puryear Trucking Inc. for violations of the State Water Control 

Law and regulations in Russell County, Virginia. The proposed 

order is available from the Department of Environmental 

Quality contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 

permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact 

will accept written comments from July 17, 2023, through 

August 16, 2023. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 
Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Supplemental 
Payments for Services Provided by Physicians at 

Freestanding Children's Hospitals 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates - Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from the agency contact listed. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted in writing within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Meredith Lee, and such comments are 

available for review at the same address. Comments may also 

be submitted, in writing, on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

public comment forum at https://townhall.virginia.gov/ 

L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80) 

In accordance with the Virginia Medicaid State Plan 

(Supplement 6 to Attachment 4.19-B) and 12VAC30-80-300, 

the state plan is being amended to update the average 

commercial rate calculation for supplemental payments for 

services provided by physicians at Virginia's freestanding 

children's hospitals effective July 1, 2023. The updated average 

commercial rate percentage of Medicare will be 191%. 

The anticipated expenditures are $345,331 in state general 

funds and $391,768 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2023, 

and $1,427,172 in state general funds and $1,521,225 in federal 

funds in federal fiscal year 2024. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Draft Addiction and Recovery Treatment Services 
Provider Manual Chapters II, IV, and VI Available for 

Review and Comment 

The draft Addiction and Recovery Treatment Services 

Provider Manual Chapters II, IV, and VI are now available on 
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the Department of Medical Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/ for public 

comment until July 22, 2023. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Draft Opioid Treatment Services Provider Manual 
Supplement Available for Review and Comment 

The draft Opioid Treatment Services Provider Manual 

Supplement is now available for public comment on the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/ until July 22, 

2023. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENTS OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 

DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Notice of Public Comment Period for § 1915(c) 
Home and Community Based Services Medicaid 

Waivers 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) and 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) will welcome public comment regarding 

the submission to the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) amended applications for the following 

§ 1915(c) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) 

Medicaid Waivers: Community Living (CL) Waiver; Family 

and Individual Supports (FIS) Waiver; and Commonwealth 

Coordinated Care Plus (CCC+) Waiver. 

This notice serves to inform interested parties that a 30-day 

public comment period opens June 27, 2023, and closes at 5 

p.m. July 27, 2023. The § 1915(c) HCBS Waiver amendment 

applications can be located at https://dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/long-term-care/waivers/. 

The state is requesting amendments to the CL, FIS, and CCC+ 

Waivers to revise the following: 

Updating language for the permanent allowance of spouses and 

parents of minors, otherwise known as legally responsible 

individuals, to be compensated to provide the personal care or 

personal assistance service when extraordinary care is being 

provided and no one else is available to provide the care. 

Instructions for public comment submissions: Comments 

should be submitted via the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

public comment forum at https://townhall.virginia.gov/ 

L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=2618 or via postal mail to 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, ATTN: Andrew 

Greer, Senior Policy Analyst, Office of Community Living, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov.  

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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