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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. Leftwich, Jr., Vice-Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven 

Popps; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade; Wren 

M. Williams. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

September 2023 through September 2024 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

40:2 August 23, 2023 September 11, 2023 

40:3 September 6, 2023 September 25, 2023 

40:4 September 20, 2023 October 9, 2023 

40:5 October 4, 2023 October 23, 2023 

40:6 October 18, 2023 November 6, 2023 

40:7 November 1, 2023 November 20, 2023 

40:8 November 14, 2023 (Tuesday) December 4, 2023 

40:9 November 29, 2023 December 18, 2023 

40:10 December 13, 2023 January 1, 2024 

40:11 December 27, 2023 January 15, 2024 

40:12 January 10, 2024 January 29, 2024 

40:13 January 24, 2024 February 12, 2024 

40:14 February 7, 2024 February 26, 2024 

40:15 February 21, 2024 March 11, 2024 

40:16 March 6, 2024 March 25, 2024 

40:17 March 20, 2024 April 8, 2024 

40:18 April 3, 2024 April 22, 2024 

40:19 April 17, 2024 May 6, 2024 

40:20 May 1, 2024 May 20, 2024 

40:21 May 15, 2024 June 3, 2024 

40:22 May 29, 2024 June 17, 2024 

40:23 June 12, 2024 July 1, 2024 

40:24 June 26, 2024 July 15, 2024 

40:25 July 10, 2024 July 29, 2024 

40:26 July 24, 2024 August 12, 2024 

41:1 August 7, 2024 August 26, 2024 

41:2 August 21, 2024 September 9, 2024 

41:3 September 4, 2024 September 23, 2024 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5. None specified. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 3.2-109 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: animal partisan. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services promulgate 

regulations setting minimum standards of care for the 

transportation, handling, and lairage of poultry prior to 

slaughter within the Commonwealth. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The Board of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services will consider this request 

at the board's next scheduled meeting following the public 

comment period. This meeting will occur on December 7, 

2023. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 18, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, Oliver Hill Building, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-4560, or email 

carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-06; Filed August 7, 2023, 2:39 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jonathan Williams, Virginia Academy of 

Physician Assistants. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Medicine amend subdivision 1 of 18VAC85-50-110 

to state that the patient care team physician or podiatrist shall 

provide appropriate consultation or collaboration for complex 

clinical cases and patient emergencies as noted in the written 

or electronic practice agreement for the patient evaluation 

process. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Medicine 

voted to amend subdivision 1 of 18VAC85-50-110 to state that 

the patient care team physician or podiatrist shall provide 

appropriate consultation or collaboration for complex clinical 

cases and patient emergencies as noted in the written or 

electronic practice agreement for the patient evaluation 

process. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Deschenes, Acting Executive 

Director, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4462, or email 

jennifer.deschenes@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR23-31; Filed August 4, 2023, 11:02 a.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jonathan Williams, Virginia Academy of 

Physician Assistants. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Medicine amend 18VAC85-50-160 A to remove the 

requirement that the patient care team physician's name be 

included on any prescription for Schedules II through V drugs. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Medicine will 

amend 18VAC85-50-160 A to remove the requirement that the 

patient care team physician's name be included on any 

prescription for Schedules II through V drugs. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Deschenes, Acting Executive 

Director, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4462, or email 

jennifer.deschenes@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR23-32; Filed August 4, 2023, 10:58 a.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Radiologic Technology. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jeffrey LaPole. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Medicine amend 18VAC85-101-92 to permit remote 

supervision of radiologist assistants for minimally invasive 

procedures and diagnostic imaging. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Medicine 

voted at its meeting on August 4, 2023, to take no action on the 

mailto:Carolynn.Bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:jennifer.deschenes@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jennifer.deschenes@dhp.virginia.gov
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petition because the issue presented was not defined or 

developed enough for the board to understand the scope of the 

changes requested. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804)67-4558, or email 

william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR23-30; Filed August 4, 2023, 10:46 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 

Program Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2 -270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "Under § 2.2-4007, I submit the 

following petition, including attached documents: 

July 2012: Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) 

Interlock Inception. Paradoxically, the Virginia interlock 

performance standard was set as "alcohol specific," and the 

design standard was set as the fuel cell. (24VAC35-60-70 "the 

machines shall be specific to alcohol," 24VAC35-60-20 

"Alcohol is defined as ethanol (C2H5OH)") 

August 2020: Virginia Town Hall Form: TH-02 "Section 

24VAC35-60-70 F 3 removes the reference to ignition 

interlocks being "alcohol specific" to prevent the public from 

assuming the device only detects ethanol to the exclusion of 

other types of alcohol." 

January 2021: Virginia Town Hall, Form: TH-03: "VASAP 

recognizes that ignition interlocks can detect alcohols other 

than ethanol…" 

March 2021: VASAP removes Virginia's interlock 

performance standard: "The term "alcohol specific" is being 

deleted to remove any suggested claim that interlocks will only 

detect ethanol," Virginia Register of Regulations Volume 37, 

Issue 14. 

December 2021: Minutes of Quarterly VASAP Meeting, Chief 

Legislative Officer for Lifesafer, "Mr. Ken Denton clarified 

that ignition interlocks are screening devices unlike 

evidentiary breath alcohol machines..." 

I submit the addition of the following verbiage to the end of 

24VAC35-60-70 F 5: "Under no circumstance shall ignition 

interlock test results be used as evidence of noncompliance." 

An ignition interlock device (IID) "prevents a motor vehicle 

ignition from starting if a driver's blood alcohol content 

exceeds 0.02%." (§ 18.2-270.1 of the Code of Virginia). If the 

IID test result is under 0.02% BrAC, the car is allowed to start. 

If the IID test result is over 0.02% BrAC, the car's engine will 

not start. This is the breadth and scope of the ignition interlock; 

it either allows the driver to start the car or it doesn't. 

The IID fulfills the intent of the law, in its limited capacity as 

a preliminary breath test (PBT) for ethanol, by locking the 

ignition when a certain level of alcohol is detected. The only 

function of the device is to either lock the car's ignition or allow 

it to start. That is the punishment, and interlock installation is 

the compliance. This device will always stop the drunk driver 

from starting the car. 

VASAP has criminalized a screening device by using IID 

readings as evidence of noncompliance. Chief Legislative 

Officer for Lifesafer "Mr. Ken Denton clarified that ignition 

interlocks are screening devices unlike evidentiary breath 

alcohol machines..." (12/2021 VASAP Quarterly Meeting 

minutes) 

VASAP's IID program was based on the false premise that IID 

devices detect only alcohol. This is not true, as they detect 

many hydroxyl compounds, aka "alcohols." Sober people can 

receive failed readings for all sorts of causes, beyond their 

control, due to sources other than consumed alcohol. Routine 

metabolic processes and biomarkers for disease are just a few 

causes of sober failed readings. 

Virginia Town Hall August 2020 states: "Section 24VAC35-

60-70 F 3 removes the reference to ignition interlock being 

"alcohol specific" to prevent the public from assuming the 

device only detects ethanol to the exclusion of other types of 

alcohol." In January 2021 it was revealed on the same public 

forum that "VASAP recognizes that ignition interlocks can 

detect alcohols other than ethanol...The term "alcohol specific" 

is being deleted to remove any suggested claim that ignition 

interlocks will only detect ethanol." 

In March of 2021, the law was changed to be even more 

deceptive. The required performance standard of being 

"alcohol specific" was removed, and the law now implies 

interlocks react to and measure only ethanol, neither of which 

is true. 

It's also very important to understand that just because an 

interlock is calibrated for ethanol doesn't mean it can't detect 

other compounds at failing levels. In this case, being properly 

calibrated merely means that when ethanol is detected, the 

reading will be accurate. It doesn't mean the instrument detects 

only ethanol. 

mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
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These devices are being grossly misused, but the solution is 

simple and cost effective. No IID readings can be used as 

evidence against someone. Interlocks are not rolling 

breathalyzers that have the capability of determining alcohol 

consumption. They interlock with the ignition if one or more 

hydroxyl compounds are detected; their function ceases once 

the ignition is on. 

These instruments detect many compounds, that's why they're 

just screening devices for alcohol. VASAP has removed the 

standard for IIDs to be "alcohol specific" because the fuel cell 

cannot meet it, yet they are still holding Virginians to that 

standard, and this is unethical. Interlock readings cannot be 

used as evidence of noncompliance. 

The VASAP IID User Agreement requires users to sign a 

document stating "Breath tests above the fail point...are 

considered violations," yet VASAP now understands it cannot 

be assumed a failed reading is due to ethanol. 

Fuel cells are very sensitive to and very accurate for hydroxyls. 

They will lock the car every time a breath sample over 0.02% 

BrAC is registered, but IIDs can never determine which 

compounds within the alcohol family are being detected. Fuel 

cells can't qualify compounds, therefore can't quantify 

compounds. 

In 2021, according to FOIA, there were 7,889 IIDs installed in 

Virginia. During this same timeframe, according to the 2021 

VASAP Annual Executive Summary, there were 6,843 

requests for secondary interlock reviews. This is an 86% 

failure rate. In 2022 there were 7,474 IIDs installed (FOIA) and 

6,378 secondary reviews. (2022 VASAP Annual Executive 

Summary) This is an 85% failure rate. 

These statistics are astronomically high and unacceptable, any 

way you interpret them. Either you have thousands of people 

trying to drive drunk with an interlock, which is bad, or you 

have thousands of fails for non-consumed alcohol, which is 

bad. 

The fuel cell has extremely limited capability, and an interlock 

can only be used according to the law; as a screening lockout 

device. VASAP has been going above and beyond the law to 

keep people on the interlock in perpetuity by using failed 

readings as evidence. 

The readings from this instrument do not qualify as an 

evidential breath test (EBT) because it's just a PBT. VASAP 

should never restart anyone's six month interlock time based 

on a failed IID reading because it can, knowingly, be a false 

positive for ethanol. 

Interlocks can only be installed for a predetermined length of 

time because failed readings are expected with a non-alcohol-

specific device, and now VASAP admits the interlock is non-

alcohol specific. They quietly changed the law to reflect this 

but are still penalizing people for failed IID readings they know 

can be generated from many compounds other than drinking 

alcohol. 

VASAP has monetized the interlock requirement by 

criminalizing readings from a screening device. This entire 

program is based on the DUI catching, alcohol-specific fallacy 

when the ignition interlock is just a DUI preventing lockout 

device that should be installed only for a predetermined 

duration. 

Humbly submitted, Cynthia Hites" 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: This petition will be 

considered at the December 8, 2023, commission meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 18, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Christopher Morris, Special Programs 

Coordinator, Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety 

Action Program, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-5895, or email 

chris.morris@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-02; Filed August 2, 2023, 9:13 a.m. 

mailto:Chris.Morris@vasap.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 1VAC50-20, Organization and Regulations of 

Procedure. The review of this regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a 

periodic review is to determine whether this regulation should 

be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 

the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 28, 2023, and ends 

September 18, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: LeGrand Northcutt, Senior Policy 

Analyst, Department of Housing and Community 

Development, Main Street Center, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 310-7151. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-780, 

Local and Regional Water Supply Planning, and determined 

that this regulation should be retained as is. The board is 

publishing its report of findings dated July 13, 2023, to support 

this decision. 

This regulation continues to be needed to protect public health, 

safety, and welfare. The regulation establishes criteria that 

local and regional water supply plans must contain, and water 

supply planning plays a crucial role in ensuring that water will 

be available in the future for public use while maintaining 

beneficial uses of state waters. The regulation is clearly written 

and easily understandable. This regulation is currently being 

amended to incorporate changes made to state law in 2020. 

Revisions to this regulation are currently underway to 

incorporate changes that were made to state law in 2020. A 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) was published 

in 2021 to initiate the process to amend this regulation. The 

proposed regulatory amendments were published in Virginia 

Register Volume 39, Issue 20, on May 22, 2023, and comment 

was accepted on the proposed amendments through July 21, 

2023. Since the process for making these changes is already 

underway, the result of this periodic review is to retain the 

regulation as is and continue processing the regulatory 

revisions to the regulation through the previously initiated 

regulatory action. 

The regulation contains requirements for water supply 

planning to be conducted on local and regional levels. 

Localities also must plan how to meet future water supply 

needs and potentially increased demands for the future. The 

regulation has been written in a format to minimize its 

complexity. Under the current regulation, localities can choose 

to develop a plan independently (local plan) or may choose to 

plan regionally with other localities (regional plan). In total, 48 

water supply plans were submitted in 2008, of which 10 were 

local plans and 38 were regional plans with the majority of 

those consisting of one county and one or more cities or 

incorporated towns located within the boundaries of the 

county. Planning regions were not specifically determined 

based on river basin or with respect to shared sources of water 

supply. In response to changes to state law, the proposed 

regulatory amendment requires that each locality in a particular 

regional planning area participate in cross jurisdictional, 

coordinated water resource planning, and all localities in each 

area shall together develop and submit a single regional plan. 

One commenter noted that the regulation as currently written 

was not consistent with current requirements of state law but 

acknowledged that amendments were proposed to this 

regulation. 

The requirement for local and regional water supply plans to 

be developed is a state requirement; no equivalent federal 

requirement for these plans to be developed exists. This 

regulation is currently being amended to be consistent with 

current state law. 

This regulation was last amended in 2015 to correct citations 

referenced in the regulation. The regulation requires local plans 

to be updated and resubmitted every 10 years, and changes in 

technology or economic conditions are reflected in the revised 

plan. There are no regulatory changes associated with this 

periodic review. A NOIRA was initiated to amend this 

regulation prior to the start of this periodic review. After 

comments are received on the proposed amendments, a final 

regulation will be presented to the State Water Control Board 

for consideration. 
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This regulation does not directly regulate small businesses. 

Localities develop local water supply plans and may choose to 

include provisions in their plan that minimize impacts on small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Hannah Somers, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 814-

2780. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Nursing conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC90-25, 

Regulations Governing Certified Nurse Aides, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended. The board 

is publishing its report of findings dated July 31, 2023, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because the regulation sets the 

requirements for certification and standards of practice for 

nurse aides. The regulation is necessary to continue to renew 

certifications for nurse aides and to issue new certifications for 

nurse aides, which the General Assembly determined is a 

necessary component of the provision of health care in the 

Commonwealth. The regulation is additionally necessary to 

protect public health, safety, and welfare by providing a basis 

for disciplinary actions against practitioners. The Board of 

Nursing has reviewed this regulation and determined that it is 

clearly written and understandable. 

The board received no comments on this regulation. The 

regulation is not complex and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with state law or regulation. This chapter has been 

amended by regulatory action nine times since 2004. The 

board's decision will not minimize economic impacts on small 

businesses. The board's decision to retain and amend the 

regulation does not create an economic impact of any kind 

because specific amendments have not been considered or 

decided on by the board. 

Contact Information: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive 

Director, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Nursing conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC90-27, 

Regulations for Nursing Education Programs, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended. The board 

is publishing its report of findings dated July 18, 2023, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because the regulation sets the 

requirements for education of nurses in the Commonwealth. 

The regulation is necessary to continue to educate nurses and 

to approve new nursing educational programs, which the 

General Assembly determined is a necessary component of the 

provision of health care in the Commonwealth. The Board of 

Nursing has reviewed this regulation and determined that it is 

clearly written and understandable. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of the public. 

Additionally, the General Assembly directed the board to 

oversee and regulate nursing education programs in the 

Commonwealth. The board has noted that regulatory 

amendments should be initiated and has determined it will 

amend the regulation. 

The comments received regarding this regulation are 

summarized in the agency background document available on 

the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. Comments generally 

pertain to nursing faculty requirements, simulation, and 

clinical site requirements. The regulation is not complex and 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with state law or 

regulation. This is the first time this regulation, which was 

promulgated in 2017, has undergone a periodic review. The 

chapter has been revised three times since it was created. The 

board's decision will not minimize economic impacts on small 

businesses. The board's decision to amend the regulation does 

not create an economic impact of any kind because specific 

amendments have not been considered or decided on by the 

board. 

Contact Information: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive 

Director, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Nursing conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC90-50, 

Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage 

Therapists, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained as is. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated July 31, 2023, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because the regulation sets the 

requirements for licensure and standards of practice for 
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massage therapists. The regulation is necessary to continue to 

renew licenses for massage therapists and to issue new licenses 

for massage therapists, which the General Assembly 

determined is a necessary component of the provision of health 

care in the Commonwealth. The regulation is additionally 

necessary to protect public health, safety, and welfare by 

providing a basis for disciplinary actions against practitioners. 

The Board of Nursing has reviewed this regulation and 

determined that it is clearly written and understandable. 

The comment received on this regulation requested a 

regulatory amendment, which is not a topic the board generally 

places in regulation. The regulation is not complex and does 

not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with state law or regulation. 

This regulation has been amended by regulatory action 12 

times since 2001. The board's decision will not minimize 

economic impacts on small businesses. The board's decision to 

retain the regulation as is does not create an economic impact 

of any kind because specific amendments have not been 

considered or decided on by the board. 

Contact Information: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive 

Director, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 24VAC30-73, Access Management Regulations. 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to amend 

24VAC30-73, which is published in this issue of the Virginia 

Register, serves as the agency notice of announcement. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 

225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 

 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 24VAC30-121, Comprehensive Roadside 

Management Program. 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to amend 

24VAC30-121, which is published in this issue of the Virginia 

Register, serves as the agency notice of announcement. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 

225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

 

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Department of Transportation 

(VDOT) intends to consider amending 24VAC30-73, Access 

Management Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to undertake a comprehensive review of the 

regulation, which enables VDOT to control access to state 

highways and set standards and policies for the entrances that 

provide this access. The intent of this action is to remove 

redundant or obsolete language, with the goal of identifying 

opportunities for regulatory reduction and streamlining in 

accordance with Executive Order 19 (2022). In addition, 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, VDOT is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact review 

of this regulation to determine whether this regulation should 

be terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 

the protection of public health, safety, and welfare; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-245 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, Governance and 

Legislative Affairs, Department of Transportation, 1401 East 

Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

1830, email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7633; Filed August 3, 2023, 10:20 a.m. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Commonwealth Transportation 

Board (CTB) intends to consider amending 24VAC30-92, 

Secondary Street Acceptance Requirements. Chapter 425 of 

the 2022 Acts of Assembly directs the Department of 

Transportation (VDOT) to convene a stakeholder advisory 

group for the purpose of developing and recommending 

amendments to the Secondary Street Acceptance 

Requirements (SSAR) of the CTB. This mandate requires that 

the regulatory provisions of the SSARs contain flexibility 

related to its connectivity elements. VDOT established the 

stakeholder advisory group, which was composed of 

representatives from the development industry, local 

governments, environmental advocacy organizations, and 

VDOT. The purpose of the proposed action is to implement the 

changes recommended by the advisory group and adopted by 

the CTB. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.2-210 and 33.2-334 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, Governance and 

Legislative Affairs, Department of Transportation, 1401 East 

Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

1830, email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7622; Filed August 3, 2023, 10:20 a.m. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Commonwealth Transportation 

Board (CTB) intends to consider amending 24VAC30-121, 

Comprehensive Roadside Management Program. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to undertake a comprehensive 

review of the regulation, which establishes a program that 

enables private businesses, civic organizations, communities, 

individuals, and local governments to improve the appearance 

and safety of a state-maintained right-of-way by participating 

in project development, establishment, and maintenance of 

landscaping activities within the right-of-way. The intent of 

this action is to remove redundant or obsolete language, with 

the goal of identifying opportunities for regulatory reduction 

and streamlining in accordance with Executive Order 19 

(2022). In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, the CTB is conducting a periodic review and small 

business impact review of this regulation to determine whether 

this regulation should be terminated, amended, or retained in 

its current form. Public comment is sought on the review of 

any issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.2-210 and 33.2-265 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, Governance and 

Legislative Affairs, Department of Transportation, 1401 East 

Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

1830, email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7634; Filed August 3, 2023, 10:20 a.m. 

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-620. Requirements Pertaining 

to the Establishment of the Dangerous Dog Registry. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-4560, or email 

carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

FORMS  

Dangerous Dog Registration Form and Registration 

Certificate, VDACS DDR 07 (eff. 12/12). 

Dangerous Dog Renewal Form, VDACS DDR 08 (eff. 

12/12). 

Dangerous Dog Secondary Owner Form, VDACS DDR 09 

(eff. 12/12). 

Dangerous Dog Registration Form and Registration 

Certificate, VDACS DDR 07 (rev. 11/2018) 

Dangerous Dog Renewal Form, VDACS DDR 08 (rev. 

12/2018) 

Dangerous Dog Secondary Owner Form, VDACS DDR 09 

(rev. 11/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7646; Filed July 27, 2023, 11:57 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts general permits issued by the State Water Control 

Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 (§ 62.1-254 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board (i) 

provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 

publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms 

a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-193. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

for Concrete Products Facilities (amending 9VAC25-193-

10, 9VAC25-193-15, 9VAC25-193-40 through 9VAC25-

193-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia, 

40 CFR, § 42 of the Clean Water Act, Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Allan Brockenbrough, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 836-

2321, or email allan.brockenbrough@deq.virginia.gov. 

Background: Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) General Permit Regulation for Concrete Products 

Facilities (9VAC25-193) specifies requirements for concrete 

products facilities to discharge process wastewater and 

industrial stormwater to protect water quality. The regulation 

must be updated to reissue the permit for the next five-year 

term. This regulatory action is proposed to amend and reissue 

the existing general permit, which expires on December 31, 

2023. 

mailto:carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/dangerous-dog-registration-form-20230726135720.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/dangerous-dog-registration-form-20230726135720.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/dangerous-dog-renewal-form-20230726140933.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/dangerous-dog-renewal-form-20230726140933.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/dangerous-dog-secondary-owner-form-20230726141038.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/dangerous-dog-secondary-owner-form-20230726141038.pdf
mailto:allan.brockenbrough@deq.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

Substantive amendments include (i) adding a new 

definition for "corrective action"; (ii) clarifying that 

consistency with a total maximum daily load (TMDL) is 

based on an applicable TMDL that is approved prior to 

the term of the general permit; (iii) clarifying registration 

questions; (iv) adding electronic submission registration 

requirements for reports when these are made available 

by the department; and (v) in the permit requirements, 

clarifying dust suppression allowances and updating 

TMDL requirements. Additionally, updates to the 

stormwater management requirements conform the 

requirements with the VPDES General Permit Regulation 

for Discharges of Stormwater Associated with Industrial 

Activity (9VAC25-151), including adding a section on 

corrective actions. Clarifying changes to the proposed 

regulation have been made in response to feedback on the 

regulation by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and 

include moving the definition of the acronym for total 

petroleum hydrocarbons, removing "discharge 

limitations" from the column heading for a table, and 

revising a table footnote.  

Chapter 193 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit Regulation for Concrete Products Facilities 

9VAC25-193-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in § 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia 

(State Water Control Law) and 9VAC25-31 (VPDES Permit 

Regulation), unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, 

except that for the purposes of this chapter: 

"Best management practices" or "BMPs" means schedules of 

activities, practices and prohibitions of practices, structures, 

vegetation, maintenance procedures, and other management 

practices to prevent or reduce the discharge of pollutants to 

surface waters. BMPs also include treatment requirements, 

operating procedures, and practices to control plant site runoff, 

spillage or leaks, sludge or waste disposal, or drainage from 

raw material storage. 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. When used 

outside the context of the promulgation of regulations, 

including regulations to establish general permits, "board" 

means the Department of Environmental Quality. 

"Corrective action" means any action to (i) repair, modify, or 

replace any stormwater control used at the facility; (ii) clean 

up and properly dispose of spills, releases, or other deposits at 

the facility; or (iii) return to compliance with permit 

requirements. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the [ Virginia ] Department 

of Environmental Quality. 

"Industrial activity" means facilities or those portions of a 

facility where the primary purpose is classified as: 

1. North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 

Code 327331 - Concrete Block and Brick Manufacturing, 

(Executive Office of the President, Office of Management 

and Budget, United States, 2017) and Standard Industrial 

Classification (SIC) Code 3271 - Concrete Block and Brick 

(Office of Management and Budget (OMB) SIC Manual, 

1987); 

2. NAICS Code 327332 Concrete Pipe Manufacturing, 

NAICS Code 327390 Other Concrete Product 

Manufacturing, NAICS Code 327999 All Other 

Miscellaneous Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing 

(dry mix concrete manufacturing only) and SIC Code 3272 

- Concrete Products, Except Block and Brick; or 

3. NAICS Code 327320 Ready-Mix Concrete 

Manufacturing and SIC Code 3273 - Ready-Mixed 

Concrete, including both permanent and portable plants. 

These facilities are collectively defined as "Concrete Products 

Facilities." 

"Minimize" means reduce or eliminate to the extent 

achievable using control measures, including best management 

practices, that are technologically available and economically 

practicable and achievable in light of best industry practice. 

"No discharge system" means process, commingled, or 

stormwater systems designed to operate so that there is no 

discharge of wastewater or pollutants, except in storm events 

greater than a 25-year, 24-hour storm event. 

"Runoff coefficient" means the fraction of total rainfall that 

will appear at the conveyance as runoff. 

"Significant spills" includes releases of oil or hazardous 

substances in excess of reportable quantities under § 311 of the 

Clean Water Act (see 40 CFR 110.10 and 40 CFR 117.21) or 

§ 102 of the Comprehensive Environmental Response, 

Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA) (42 USC § 9601 

et seq.) (see 40 CFR 302.4). 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a calculation 

of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a waterbody water 

body can receive and still meet water quality standards and an 

allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A TMDL 

includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point source 

discharges and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources or 

natural background, or both, and must include a margin of 

safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"25-year, 24-hour storm event" means the maximum 24-hour 

precipitation event with a probable recurrence interval of once 

in 25 years as established by the National Weather Service or 

appropriate regional or state rainfall probability information. 

"Vehicle or equipment degreasing" means the washing or 

steam cleaning of engines or other drive components of a 
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vehicle or piece of equipment in which the purpose is to 

degrease and clean petroleum products from the equipment for 

maintenance purposes. Removing sediment and concrete 

residue is not considered vehicle or equipment degreasing. 

"Virginia Environmental Excellence Program" or "VEEP" 

means a voluntary program established by the department to 

provide public recognition and regulatory incentives to 

encourage higher levels of environmental performance for 

program participants that develop and implement 

environmental management systems (EMSs). The program is 

based on the use of EMSs that improve compliance, prevent 

pollution, and utilize other measures to improve environmental 

performance. 

9VAC25-193-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations is referenced or adopted in this chapter and 

incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it exists 

and has been published as of July 1, 2018 2022. 

9VAC25-193-40. Effective date of the permit. 

This general VPDES permit will become effective on January 

1, 2019 2024, and it will expire on December 31, 2023 2028. 

This general permit is effective for any covered owner upon 

compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-193-50. 

9VAC25-193-50. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge process water, stormwater associated 

with this industrial activity, or commingled discharges of these 

types to surface waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

provided that: 

1. The owner submits a registration statement in accordance 

with 9VAC25-193-60, and that registration statement is 

accepted by the board department; 

2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 

3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-193-70; and 

4. The board department has not notified the owner that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage in accordance with 

subsection B of this section. 

B. The board department will notify an owner that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage under this general permit 

in the event of any of the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges; 

3. The discharge would violate the antidegradation policy in 

the Water Quality Standards at 9VAC25-260-30; or 

4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved applicable TMDL approved 

prior to the term of this general permit. 

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with §§ 301, 302, 

306, 307, 318, 403, and 405(a) through 405(b) of the federal 

Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) and the State Water 

Control Law, with the exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of 

the VPDES Permit Regulation. Approval for coverage under 

this general permit does not relieve any owner of the 

responsibility to comply with any other applicable federal, 

state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

D. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Permit coverage shall expire at the end of its term. 

However, expiring permit coverages are automatically 

continued if the owner has submitted a complete registration 

statement at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the 

permit, or a later submittal established by the board 

department, which cannot extend beyond the expiration date 

of the permit. The permittee is authorized to continue to 

discharge until such time as the board department either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board department may choose 

to do any or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 

permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 

denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

discharges authorized by the continued general permit 

coverage or be subject to enforcement action for 

discharging without a permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-193-60. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. Any 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall submit 

a complete VPDES general permit registration statement in 
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accordance with this section chapter, which shall serve as a 

notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES permit 

for concrete products facilities. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 60 

days prior to the date planned for commencement of the 

discharge or a later submittal established by the board 

department. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit that 

is proposing to be covered by this general permit shall 

submit a complete registration statement at least 240 days 

prior to the expiration date of the individual VPDES 

permit or a later submittal established by the department. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

expiring general VPDES permit for concrete products 

facilities and who that intends to continue coverage under 

this general permit shall submit a complete registration 

statement to the board department at least 60 days prior to 

the expiration date of the existing permit or a later 

submittal established by the board department. 

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 

existing facilities covered under subdivision A 2 b of this 

section will be accepted after the expiration date of this permit, 

but authorization to discharge will not be retroactive. 

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information: 

1. Facility name and address, owner name, mailing, address, 

and telephone number, and email address (if available); 

2. Operator or other Facility, owner and permit contact 

name, mailing address, telephone number, and email address 

(if available) if different from owner; 

3. Facility's Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes; 

4. Nature of business at facility; 

5. Indicate if the facility is proposed or existing; if the facility 

has a current VPDES or VPA Permit; and Permit Numbers 

for any current VPDES or VPA Permits; 

6. Description of the wastewater treatment or reuse or 

recycle systems; 

7. Indicate if there are any process wastewater, commingled 

process wastewater, and stormwater or stormwater treatment 

units designed to operate as "no discharge"; 

8. If settling basins are used for treatment and control of 

process wastewater or commingled process wastewater and 

stormwater, indicate the original date of construction, and 

describe the materials lining the process or commingled 

settling basins; 

9. Indicate if there are vehicle or equipment degreasing 

activities performed on site. If yes, indicate if there is any 

process wastewater generated from these activities; 

10. Description of any measures employed to reclaim, reuse, 

or dispose of the residual concrete materials; 

11. A schematic drawing that shows the sources of water 

used on the property, the industrial operations contributing 

to or using water, the conceptual design of the methods of 

treatment and disposal of wastewater and solids, and the 

stormwater pollution prevention plan site map (see pursuant 

to 9VAC25-193-70 Part II F 6 c) D 2 b (2) for existing 

covered facilities and for new facilities if operations have 

commenced. See 9VAC25-193-70 Part II D 1 for due dates; 

12. A USGS 7.5 minute 7.5-minute topographic map or 

equivalent computer generated computer-generated map, 

extending to at least one mile beyond property boundary, 

which shows the property boundary, the location of each of 

its existing and proposed intake and discharge points, and 

the locations of any wells, springs, and other surface water 

bodies; 

13. Discharge outfall information, including outfall 

numbers, description of wastewater discharged from each 

outfall, estimated flow (gallons per day), receiving water 

bodies, duration and frequency of each discharge (hours per 

day and days per week), and latitude and longitude of outfall 

location; 

14. Indicate which stormwater outfalls will be could operate 

as substantially identical or representative outfalls (if any). 

For stormwater outfalls that are to be represented by other 

outfall discharges, provide Provide the following for each: 

a. The locations of the outfalls; 

b. Why the outfalls are expected to discharge substantially 

identical effluents, including, where available, evaluation 

of monitoring data; 

c. Estimates of the size of the total (pervious and 

impervious within property boundaries) drainage area (in 

acres or square feet) for each of the outfalls; and 

d. An estimate of the runoff coefficient of the drainage 

areas (low: under 40%; medium: 40% to 65%; high: above 

65%); 

15. Indicate if a Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan 

stormwater pollution prevention plan has been prepared and 

the date of the plan or the most recent update or review of 

the plan; 

16. Whether the facility will discharge to a municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4). If "yes," the facility 

owner shall notify provide evidence that the MS4 owner has 

been notified of the existence of the discharge at the time of 

registration under this permit and include that notification 

with the registration statement. The notification shall include 

the following information: the name of the facility, a contact 
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person and contact information (telephone number and 

email), the location of the discharge, the nature of the 

discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit number 

(if assigned by DEQ); 

17. For portable concrete products operations, submit a 

closure plan and include the requirements specified by the 

operation and maintenance manual in 9VAC25-193-70 Part 

I B 8 a (4) of the permit; 

18. For applicants other than a sole proprietor, the State 

Corporation Commission entity identification number if the 

facility is required to obtain an entity identification number 

by law; and 

19. The following certification: "I hereby grant to duly 

authorized agents of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, upon presentation of credentials, permission to 

enter the property where the treatment works is located for 

the purpose of determining compliance with or the 

suitability of coverage under the General Permit. I certify 

under penalty of law that this document and all attachments 

were prepared under my direction or supervision in 

accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified 

personnel properly gather and evaluate the information 

submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or persons 

who manage the system or those persons directly responsible 

for gathering the information, the information submitted is 

to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and 

complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information including the possibility of fine 

and imprisonment for knowing violations." 

D. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with the requirements of 9VAC25-31-110 of the VPDES 

Permit Regulation. 

E. Where to submit. The registration statement shall be 

delivered by either postal or electronic mail to the DEQ 

regional office serving the area where the facility is located. 

Following notification from the department of the start date for 

the required electronic submission of Notice of Intent to 

Discharge forms (i.e., registration statements) as provided for 

in 9VAC25-31-1020, such forms submitted after that date shall 

be electronically submitted to the department in compliance 

with 9VAC25-31-1020 and this section. There shall be at least 

a three-month notice provided between the notification from 

the department and the date after which such forms must be 

submitted electronically. 

9VAC25-193-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board department will receive coverage under the following 

general permit and shall comply with the requirements in the 

general permit and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-

31-170 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

General Permit No: VAG11 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019 2024 

Expiration Date: December 31, 2023 2028 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR CONCRETE PRODUCTS 

FACILITIES AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE 

UNDER THE VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE 

WATER CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as 

amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of concrete 

products facilities are authorized to discharge to surface waters 

within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

except those specifically named in board regulations that 

prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I-Effluent Limitations, Monitoring 

Requirements, and Special Conditions, Part II-Stormwater 

Management, and Part III-Conditions Applicable to All 

VPDES Permits, as set forth in this permit. 

Part I 

Effluent Limitations, Monitoring Requirements, Special 

Conditions. 

A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements. 

1. Process wastewater. During the period beginning with the 

permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting 

until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is authorized 

to discharge process wastewater that may contain input from 

vehicle wash water, or vehicle or equipment degreasing 

activities, and may be commingled with stormwater 

associated with industrial activity, or both. Samples taken in 

compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 

below in the table in Part I A 1 shall be taken at outfalls: 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 

permittee as specified below as follows: 

 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Average Maximum Minimum Frequency (3) Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NL NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Total Suspended Solids (mg/l) 30 60 NA 1/3 Months Grab 
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pH (standard units) NA 9.0(1) 6.0(1) 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons(2) (mg/l) NA 15 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 

discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons [ (TPH) ] limitation and monitoring are only required where a discharge contains process 

wastewater generated from the vehicle or equipment degreasing activities. [ Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons TPH ] shall be 

analyzed using EPA SW-846 Method 8015 B (1996), 8015C (2000), 8015C (2007), 8015 D (2003) for diesel range organics 

or EPA 40 CFR Part 136.  
(3)1/3 months means one sample collected per calendar quarter with reports due to the DEQ regional office no later than the 

10th day of April, July, October, and January. 

2. Stormwater associated with industrial activity from concrete products facilities. During the period beginning with the 

permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is authorized to 

discharge stormwater associated with industrial activity that does not combine with other process wastewaters prior to 

discharge. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified below in the table in Part I A 2 shall be 

taken at outfalls: 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below as follows: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

[ DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS ] 

BENCHMARK MONITORING 

MONITORING REQUIREMENTS(3), 

(5) 

Maximum Minimum Frequency(4) Sample Type 

Flow (MG) NL NA 1/Year Estimate(1) 

Total Suspended Solids (mg/l) [ NL 100 ](2) NA 1/Year Grab(2) 

pH (standard units) [ NL 9.0 ](2) [ NL 6.0 ](2) 1/Year Grab(2) 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Estimate of the total volume of the discharge during the storm event in accordance with the operation and maintenance 

manual. 
(2) If the benchmark monitoring for total suspended solids (TSS) exceeds 100 mg/l maximum or the pH falls outside of the 

range of 6.0-9.0 standard units, the permittee shall evaluate the overall effectiveness of the stormwater pollution prevention 

plan (SWPPP) in controlling the discharge of pollutants to receiving waters [ or if corrective actions are needed (Part II A 4) 

]. Benchmark concentration values are not effluent limitations. Exceedance of a benchmark concentration does not constitute 

a violation of this permit and does not indicate that violation of a water quality standard has occurred; however, it does signal 

that modifications to the SWPPP are necessary, unless justification is provided in the routine facility inspection. 
(3)Specific storm event data shall be reported with the Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) in accordance with Part II A.  
(4)1/year means one sample taken per calendar year with the annual DMR due to the DEQ regional office no later than the 

10th day of January of each year.  
(5)Quarterly visual monitoring shall be performed and recorded in accordance with Part II [ C A 1 ].  

B. Special conditions. 

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts. There shall be no solids 

deposition or oil sheen from petroleum products in surface 

water as a result of the industrial activity in the vicinity of 

the outfall. 

2. Except as expressly authorized by this permit, no product, 

materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes resulting from 

the purchase, sale, mining, extraction, transport, preparation, 

or storage of raw or intermediate materials, final product, 

byproduct, or wastes shall be handled, disposed of, or stored 

so as to permit a discharge of such product, materials, 

industrial wastes, or other wastes to surface waters. 

3. Vehicles and equipment utilized during the industrial 

activity on a site must be operated and maintained in such a 

manner as to minimize the potential or actual point source 

pollution of surface waters. Fuels, lubricants, coolants, and 
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hydraulic fluids, or any other petroleum products, shall not 

be disposed of by discharging on the ground or into surface 

waters. Spent fluids shall be disposed of in a manner so as 

not to enter the surface or ground waters of the state and in 

accordance with the applicable state and federal disposal 

regulations. Any spilled fluids shall be cleaned up and 

disposed of in a manner so as not to allow their entry into the 

surface or ground waters of the state. 

4. All washdown and washout of trucks, mixers, transport 

buckets, forms, or other equipment shall be conducted 

within designated washdown and washout areas. All 

washdown and washout water shall be collected for recycle 

or collected and treated to meet the limits in Part I A prior to 

discharge to the receiving stream. 

5. Any waste concrete and any dredged solids from the 

settling basins shall be managed within a designated area, 

and any wastewaters, including stormwater generated from 

these activities, shall be collected for recycle or treated prior 

to discharge. 

6. Wastewater should be reused or recycled whenever 

feasible. 

7. No sewage discharges to surface waters are permitted 

under this general permit. 

8. Operation and maintenance (O&M) manual. 

a. Within 180 days after the date of coverage under this 

general permit, the permittee shall develop or review and 

update, as appropriate, an O&M manual for the permitted 

facility. The O&M manual shall include procedures and 

practices for the mitigation of pollutant discharges for the 

protection of state waters from the facility's operations and 

to ensure compliance with the requirements of the permit. 

The manual shall address, at a minimum: 

(1) O&M practices for the process wastewater treatment 

units, if applicable, and chemical and material storage 

areas; 

(2) Methods for estimating process wastewater flows, if 

applicable; 

(3) Management and disposal procedures of process 

wastewater solids, if applicable; 

(4) Temporary and long-term facility closure plans that 

shall include (i) treatment, removal, and final disposition 

of residual wastewater, if applicable, contaminated 

stormwater held at the facility, and solids; (ii) fate of 

structures; (iii) a removal plan for all exposed industrial 

materials; and (iv) description of the stabilization of land 

in which they were stored or placed; 

(5) Testing requirements and procedures; 

(6) Recordkeeping and reporting requirements; and 

(7) Duties and roles of responsible officials. 

b. The permittee shall operate the treatment works in 

accordance with the O&M manual. The O&M manual 

shall be reviewed and updated at least annually and shall 

be signed and certified in accordance with Part III K of 

this permit. The O&M manual shall be made available for 

review by department personnel upon request. 

c. For facilities that do not operate process wastewater 

treatment units, O&M requirements included in Part I B 8 

a (4) through 8 a (7) shall be included in either the O&M 

manual or the SWPPP stormwater pollution prevention 

plan. 

9. If the concrete products facility discharges through a 

municipal separate storm sewer system to surface waters, the 

permittee shall notify the owner of the municipal separate 

storm sewer system of the existence of the discharge and 

include that notification with the registration statement. The 

notification shall include the following information: the 

name of the facility, a contact person and contact 

information (telephone and email), the location of the 

discharge, the nature of the discharge, and the facility's 

VPDES general permit number. 

10. The permittee shall ensure that all process wastewater 

basins and lagoons maintain a minimum freeboard of one 

foot at all times except during a 72-hour transition period 

after a measurable rainfall event that results in a discharge 

from the site. During the 72-hour transition period, no 

discharge from the basins and lagoons shall occur unless it 

is in accordance with this permit. Within 72 hours after a 

measurable rainfall event that results in a discharge from the 

site, the freeboard in all basins and lagoons shall be returned 

to the minimum freeboard of one foot. Where basins are 

operated in a series mode of operation, the one-foot 

freeboard requirement for the upper basins may be waived 

provided the final basin will maintain the freeboard 

requirements of this special condition. A description of how 

the permittee will manage the facility to adhere to one foot 

of freeboard shall be included in the O&M manual required 

in Part I B 8 a (1). Should the one-foot freeboard not be 

restored by the end of the 72-hour transition period, the 

permittee shall take measures to correct the problem before 

the next rain event. In addition, the permittee shall 

immediately begin to monitor and document the freeboard 

on a daily basis until the freeboard is returned to the 

minimum of one foot. 

11. Process wastewater, commingled process wastewater, 

and stormwater or stormwater treatment units designed to 

operate as "no discharge" shall have no discharge of 

wastewater or pollutants except in storm events greater than 

a 25-year, 24-hour storm event. In the event of such a 

discharge, the permittee shall report an unusual or 

extraordinary discharge per Part III H of this permit. No 

sampling or DMR is required for these discharges as they are 

considered to be discharging in emergency discharge 

conditions. All other conditions in Part I B, Part II, and Part 

III apply. Any other discharge from this type of system is 

prohibited and shall be reported as an unauthorized 
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discharge per Part III G of this permit. The operation of these 

systems shall not contravene the Water Quality Standards 

(9VAC25-260), as adopted and amended by the board, or 

any provision of the State Water Control Law. 

12. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as he 

the permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 

any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit if that 

discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 µg/l) of the 

toxic pollutant; 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 µg/l) for 

acrolein and acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per 

liter (500 µg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-

dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for 

antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board department in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-220 F. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur which that 

would result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or 

infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant which that is not 

limited in this permit if that discharge will exceed the 

highest of the following notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 µg/l) of the 

toxic pollutant; 

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board department in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-220 F. 

13. All settling basins used for treatment and control of 

process wastewater or process wastewater commingled with 

stormwater that were constructed on or after February 2, 

1998, shall be lined with concrete or any other impermeable 

materials. Regardless of date of construction, all settling 

basins used for treatment and control of process wastewater 

or process wastewater commingled with stormwater that are 

expanded or dewatered for major structural repairs shall be 

lined with concrete or any other impermeable materials. 

14. Settled wastewater may be used on site for the purposes 

of dust suppression or for spraying stockpiles. Dust 

suppression shall be carried out as a best management 

practice but not as a wastewater disposal method provided 

that ponding or direct run-off from the site does not occur 

during or immediately following its application. Water used 

for dust suppression may be discharged provided that it has 

been filtered, settled, or similarly treated. Settled wastewater 

may be used on site for the purpose of dust suppression or 

for spraying stockpiles. Dust suppression shall not occur 

during a "measurable" rain event (a storm event that results 

in an actual discharge from the site). 

15. Compliance reporting under Part I A. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be less than or equal 

to the following concentrations: 

Effluent Characteristic Quantification Level 

TSS 1.0 mg/l 

TPH 5.0 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 

calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 

procedures published for the test method. 

b. Reporting. 

(1) Monthly average. Compliance with the monthly 

average limitations or reporting requirements for the 

parameters listed in Part I A shall be determined as 

follows: All concentration data below the QL listed in [ 

subdivision Part I B ] 15 a [ of this subsection ] shall be 

treated as zero. All concentration data equal to or above 

the QL listed shall be treated as it is reported. An 

arithmetic average shall be calculated using all reported 

data, including the defined zeros, for the month. This 

arithmetic average shall be reported on the DMR as 

calculated. If all data are below the QL then the average 

shall be reported as "<QL." If reporting for quantity is 

required on the DMR and the calculated concentration is 

[ <QL less than QL ] then report "<QL" for the quantity, 

otherwise use the calculated concentration. 

(2) Daily maximum. Compliance with the daily maximum 

limitations or reporting requirements for the parameters 

listed in Part I A shall be determined as follows: All 

concentration data below the QL listed in [ subdivision 

Part I B ] 15 a [ of this subsection ] shall be treated as zero. 

All concentration data equal to or above the QL shall be 

treated as reported. An arithmetic average of the values 

shall be calculated using all reported data, including the 

defined zeros, collected for each day during the reporting 

month. The maximum value of these daily averages thus 

determined shall be reported on the DMR as the daily 

maximum. If all data are below the QL then the average 

shall be reported as "<QL." If reporting for quantity is 

required on the DMR and the calculated concentration is 

[ <QL less than QL ] then report "<QL" for the quantity, 

otherwise use the calculated concentration. 

(3) Any single datum required shall be reported as "<QL" 

if it is less than the QL listed in [ subdivision Part I B ] 15 

a [ of this subsection ]. Otherwise the numerical value 

shall be reported. The QL must be less than or equal to the 

QL in [ subdivision Part I B ] 15 a [ of this subsection ]. 
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(4) The permittee shall report at least two significant digits 

for a given parameter. Regardless of the rounding 

convention used (i.e., five always rounding up or to the 

nearest even number) by the permittee, the permittee shall 

use the convention consistently and shall ensure that 

consulting laboratories employed by the permittee use the 

same convention. 

16. Discharges to waters with an approved total maximum 

daily load (TMDL). Owners of facilities that are a source of 

the specified pollutant of concern to waters where an 

approved TMDL has been established a TMDL has been 

approved prior to the term of this permit shall implement 

measures and controls that are consistent with the 

assumptions and requirements of the TMDL. The 

department will provide written notification to the owner 

that a facility is subject to the TMDL requirements. If the 

TMDL establishes a numeric wasteload allocation that 

applies to discharges from the facility, the owner shall 

perform monitoring for the pollutant of concern in 

accordance with the monitoring frequencies in Part I A and 

implement measures necessary to meet that allocation. At 

permit reissuance, the permittee shall submit a 

demonstration with the registration statement to show the 

wasteload allocation is being met. 

17. Adding or deleting outfalls. The permittee may add new 

or delete existing outfalls at the facility as necessary and 

appropriate. The permittee shall update the O&M manual 

and stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) and 

notify the department of all outfall changes within 60 days 

of the change. The permittee shall submit an updated 

registration statement including an updated SWPPP site 

map. 

18. Notice of termination. 

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 

department. The notice of termination may be filed after 

one or more of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility, and there are no 

longer discharges of process wastewater or stormwater 

associated with the industrial activity; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility. A notice of termination does not have to be 

submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement 

form has been submitted; 

(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit or an alternative 

VPDES permit; or 

(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for another 

reason, provided the board department agrees that 

coverage under this general permit is no longer needed. 

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available); 

(2) Facility name and location; 

(3) VPDES general permit registration number for the 

facility; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including: 

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility; 

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility, a closure plan has been implemented 

according to the O&M manual, and there are no longer 

discharges from the facility; 

(c) A statement indicating that all discharges have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit; or 

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason (state the reason). 

c. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that all concrete products waste water wastewater and 

stormwater discharges from the identified facility that are 

authorized by this VPDES general permit have been 

eliminated, or covered under a VPDES individual or 

alternative permit, or that I am no longer the owner of the 

facility, or permit coverage should be terminated for 

another reason listed above. I understand that by 

submitting this notice of termination, that I am no longer 

authorized to discharge concrete products waste water 

wastewater or stormwater in accordance with the general 

permit, and that discharging pollutants to surface waters is 

unlawful where the discharge is not authorized by a 

VPDES permit. I also understand that the submittal of this 

notice of termination does not release an owner from 

liability for any violations of this permit or the Clean 

Water Act." 

d. The notice of termination shall be signed in accordance 

with Part III K. 

e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the DEQ 

regional office serving the area where the concrete 

products facility discharge is located. 

19. Temporary closure at inactive and unstaffed sites waiver. 

a. A waiver of the effluent monitoring, benchmark 

monitoring, visual monitoring, and routine facility 

inspections may be granted by the board department at a 

facility that is both inactive and unstaffed and there are no 

industrial materials or activities exposed to stormwater. 

The waiver request shall be submitted to the board 

department for approval and shall include the information 

in the temporary closure plan specified in Part I B 8 a (4),; 

the facility's VPDES general permit registration number; 

a contact person, telephone number, and email address (if 

available); the reason for the request; the date the facility 

became or will become inactive and unstaffed; and the 
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date the closure plan will be completed. The waiver shall 

be signed and certified in accordance with Part III K. If 

this waiver is granted, the permittee must retain a copy of 

the request and the board's department's written approval 

of the waiver in the SWPPP. The permittee is required to 

conduct an annual routine facility inspection in 

accordance with Part II F 6 f (5) D 2 e. A stormwater 

discharge is not required at the time of this annual routine 

facility inspection. 

b. To reactivate the site the permittee must notify the 

department within 30 days of reopening the facility and 

commencing any point source discharges of either treated 

process wastewater or stormwater runoff associated with 

industrial activities. Upon reactivation all effluent 

monitoring, benchmark monitoring, visual monitoring, 

and routine facility inspections shall resume immediately. 

This notification must be submitted to the department, 

signed in accordance with Part III K, and retained on site 

at the facility covered by this permit in accordance with 

Part III B. 

c. The board department retains the right to revoke this 

waiver when it is determined that the discharge is causing, 

has a reasonable potential to cause, or contributes to a 

water quality standards violation. 

20. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards. 

21. Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 

other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation. 

Part II 

Stormwater Management. 

A. Monitoring instructions requirements. 

1. Quarterly visual monitoring. The permittee shall perform 

and document visual monitoring of stormwater discharges 

associated with industrial activity from each outfall, except 

discharges waived in Part II A 1 d. The visual monitoring 

must be made during normal working hours, at least once in 

each of the following three-month periods: January through 

March, April through June, July through September, and 

October through December. 

a. Samples shall be collected in accordance with Part II A 

3. No analytical tests are required to be performed on the 

samples. 

b. Samples will be in a clean, colorless glass or plastic 

container and examined in a well-lit area. 

c. The examination shall observe color, odor, clarity, 

floating solids, settled solids, suspended solids, foam, oil 

sheen, and other obvious indicators of stormwater 

pollution. 

d. If no storm event resulted in discharge from the facility 

during a monitoring quarter, the permittee is excused from 

visual monitoring for that quarter provided that 

documentation is included with the monitoring records. 

e. When adverse weather conditions prevent the collection 

of samples, a substitute sample may be taken during a 

storm event that results in a discharge from the site in the 

next monitoring period. Adverse weather conditions are 

those that are dangerous or create inaccessibility for 

personnel and may include such things as local flooding, 

high winds, electrical storms, or situations that otherwise 

make sampling impracticable, such as drought or extended 

frozen conditions. Narrative documentation of conditions 

necessitating the use of the waiver shall be kept with the 

stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP). 

f. Visual monitoring documentation shall be maintained 

on site with the SWPPP and shall include: 

(1) Outfall location; 

(2) Monitoring date and time; 

(3) Monitoring personnel; 

(4) Nature of the discharge (i.e., runoff or snow melt); 

(5) Visual quality of the stormwater discharge, including 

observations of color, odor, clarity, floating solids, settled 

solids, suspended solids, foam, oil sheen, and other 

obvious indicators of stormwater pollution; and 

(6) Probable sources of any observed stormwater 

contamination. 

2. Benchmark monitoring. If the benchmark monitoring for 

total suspended solids exceeds 100 mg/l maximum or the pH 

falls outside of the range of 6.0 to 9.0 standard units, the 

permittee shall evaluate the overall effectiveness of the 

SWPPP in controlling the discharge of pollutants to 

receiving waters [ or if corrective actions (Part II A 4) are 

needed ]. Benchmark concentration values are not effluent 

limitations. Exceedance of a benchmark concentration does 

not constitute a violation of this permit and does not indicate 

that violation of a water quality standard has occurred; 

however, it does signal that modifications to the SWPPP are 

necessary, unless justification is provided in a routine 

facility inspection. 

3. Monitoring instructions. 

1. a. Collection and analysis of samples. Sampling 

requirements shall be assessed on an outfall by outfall 

basis. Samples shall be collected and analyzed in 

accordance with the requirements of Part III A. 

2. b. When and how to sample. A minimum of one grab 

sample shall be taken resulting from a storm event that 

results in an actual discharge from the site (defined as a 

"measureable storm event"), providing the interval from 

the preceding measurable storm event discharge is at least 

72 hours. The 72-hour storm interval is waived if the 

permittee is able to document with the DMR that less than 
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a 72-hour interval is representative for local storm events 

during the sampling period. The grab sample shall be 

taken during the first 30 minutes of the discharge. If it is 

not practicable to take the sample during the first 30 

minutes, the sample may be taken during the first three 

hours of discharge provided that the permittee explains 

with the SWPPP why a grab sample during the first 30 

minutes was impractical. 

3. c. Recording of results. For each discharge 

measurement or sample taken pursuant to the storm event 

monitoring requirements of this permit, the permittee shall 

record and report with the DMR the following 

information: 

a. (1) Date and duration (in hours) of the storm events 

sampled; 

b. (2) Rainfall measurements or estimates (in inches) of 

the storm event that generated the sampled discharge; and 

c. Duration (3) Interval between the storm event sampled 

and the end of the previous measurable storm event that 

resulted in a discharge from the site. 

4. Corrective actions. The permittee shall review the SWPPP 

and modify it as necessary to address any deficiencies noted 

in Part II A 4 a and 4 b. Revisions to the SWPPP shall be 

completed within 60 days following the discovery of the 

deficiency. When control measures need to be modified or 

added, implementation shall be completed before the next 

anticipated storm event if possible, but no later than 60 days 

after the deficiency is discovered, or as otherwise provided 

or approved by the department. In cases where construction 

is necessary to implement control measures, the permittee 

shall include a schedule in the SWPPP that provides for the 

completion of the control measures as expeditiously as 

practicable, but no later than three years after the deficiency 

is discovered. Where a construction compliance schedule is 

included in the SWPPP, the SWPPP shall include 

appropriate nonstructural and temporary controls to be 

implemented in the affected portion of the facility prior to 

completion of the permanent control measure. The amount 

of time taken to modify a control measure or implement 

additional control measures shall be documented in the 

SWPPP. The permittee shall take corrective action 

whenever: 

a. Benchmark monitoring; routine facility inspections; 

inspections by local, state, or federal officials; or any other 

process, observation, or event result in a determination 

that modifications to the stormwater control measures are 

necessary to meet the permit requirements; or 

b. The department determines or the permittee becomes 

aware that the stormwater control measures are not 

stringent enough for the discharge to meet applicable 

water quality standards. 

Any corrective actions taken shall be documented and 

retained with the SWPPP. 

B. Representative outfalls - substantially identical outfalls. If 

a facility has two or more exclusively stormwater outfalls that 

discharge substantially identical effluents, based on 

similarities of the industrial activities, significant materials, 

size of drainage areas, and stormwater management practices 

occurring within the drainage areas of the outfalls, frequency 

of discharges, and stormwater management practices occurring 

within the drainage areas of the outfalls, the permittee may 

monitor the effluent stormwater of just one of the outfalls and 

report that the observations also apply to the substantially 

identical outfall. Representative outfalls must be identified in 

the registration statement submitted for coverage under this 

permit. Substantially identical outfall monitoring can apply to 

quarterly visual and benchmark monitoring. The permittee 

must include the following information in the SWPPP: 

1. The locations of the outfalls; 

2. Why An evaluation, including available monitoring data, 

indicating the outfalls are expected to discharge substantially 

identical effluents, including evaluation of monitoring data 

where available; 

3. Estimates of the size of the drainage area (in square feet) 

for each of the outfalls; and 

4. An estimate of the runoff coefficient of the drainage areas 

(low: under 40%; medium: 40% to 65%; high: above 65%). 

C. Quarterly visual monitoring of stormwater quality. The 

permittee shall perform and document visual monitoring of 

stormwater discharges associated with industrial activity from 

each outfall, except discharges waived in Part II C 4 . The 

visual monitoring must be made during normal working hours, 

at least once in each of the following three-month periods: 

January through March, April through June, July through 

September, and October through December. 

1. Samples will be in a clean, colorless glass or plastic 

container and examined in a well-lit area. 

2. Samples will be collected within the first 30 minutes (or 

as soon thereafter as practical, but not to exceed three hours, 

provided that the permittee explains in the SWPPP why an 

examination during the first 30 minutes was impractical) of 

when the runoff or snowmelt begins discharging. All such 

samples shall be collected from the discharge resulting from 

a storm event that results in an actual discharge from the site 

(defined as a "measurable storm event") providing the 

interval from the preceding measurable storm event is at 

least 72 hours. The required 72-hour storm event interval is 

waived where the preceding measurable storm event did not 

result in a measurable discharge from the facility. The 72-

hour storm event interval may also be waived where the 

permittee documents that less than a 72-hour interval is 

representative for local storm events during the season when 

sampling is being conducted. 
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3. The examination shall observe color, odor, clarity, 

floating solids, settled solids, suspended solids, foam, oil 

sheen, and other obvious indicators of stormwater pollution. 

4. If no qualifying storm event resulted in discharge from the 

facility during a monitoring period, or adverse weather 

conditions create dangerous conditions for personnel during 

each measurable storm event during a monitoring period, 

visual monitoring is exempted provided this is documented 

in the SWPPP. 

5. Visual monitoring reports shall be maintained onsite with 

the SWPPP. The report shall include the outfall location, the 

monitoring date and time, monitoring personnel, the nature 

of the discharge (i.e., runoff or snow melt), visual quality of 

the stormwater discharge (including observations of color, 

odor, clarity, floating solids, settled solids, suspended solids, 

foam, oil sheen, and other obvious indicators of stormwater 

pollution), and probable sources of any observed stormwater 

contamination. 

6. Whenever the visual monitoring shows obvious indicators 

of stormwater pollution, the SWPPP and stormwater 

controls shall be updated per Part II F. 

D. Allowable nonstormwater discharges. The following 

nonstormwater discharges are authorized by this permit. 

1. Discharges from emergency firefighting activities; 

2. Fire hydrant flushings; 

3. Potable water including water line flushings; 

4. Uncontaminated condensate from air conditioners, 

coolers, and other compressors and from the outside storage 

of refrigerated gases or liquids; 

5. Irrigation drainage; 

6. Landscape watering provided all pesticides, herbicides, 

and fertilizer have been applied in accordance with the 

approved labeling; 

7. Pavement wash waters where no detergents or hazardous 

cleaning products are used and no spills or leaks of toxic or 

hazardous materials have occurred (unless all spilled 

material has been removed). Pavement wash waters shall be 

managed to prevent the discharge of pollutants; 

8. Routine external building washdown that does not use 

detergents or hazardous cleaning products; 

9. Uncontaminated ground water or spring water; 

10. Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 

contaminated with process materials; and 

11. Incidental windblown mist from cooling towers that 

collects on rooftops or adjacent portions of the facility, but 

not intentional discharges from the cooling tower (e.g., 

"piped" cooling tower blowdown or drains). 

E. C. Releases of hazardous substances or oil in excess of 

reportable quantities. The discharge of hazardous substances 

or oil in the stormwater discharges from this facility shall be 

prevented or minimized in accordance with the SWPPP for the 

facility. This permit does not authorize the discharge of 

hazardous substances or oil resulting from an onsite on-site 

spill. This permit does not relieve the permittee of the reporting 

requirements of 40 CFR Part 110, 40 CFR Part 117, and 

40 CFR Part 302 or § 62.1-44.34:19 of the Code of Virginia. 

Where a release containing a hazardous substance or oil in an 

amount equal to or in excess of a reportable quantity 

established under either 40 CFR Part 110, 40 CFR Part 117, or 

40 CFR Part 302 occurs during a 24-hour period: 

1. The permittee is required to notify the department in 

accordance with the requirements of Part III G as soon as he 

the permittee has knowledge of the discharge; 

2. Where a release enters a municipal separate storm sewer 

system (MS4), the permittee shall also notify the owner of 

the MS4; and 

3. The SWPPP required by this permit shall be reviewed to 

identify measures to prevent the reoccurrence of such 

releases and to respond to such releases, and the plan must 

be modified where appropriate. 

F. D. Stormwater pollution prevention plans (SWPPP). A An 

SWPPP shall be developed and implemented for the facility 

covered by this permit. The SWPPP shall include best 

management practices (BMPs) that are reasonable, 

economically practicable, and appropriate in light of current 

industry practices. The BMPs shall be selected, designed, 

installed, implemented, and maintained in accordance with 

good engineering practices to eliminate or reduce the 

pollutants in all stormwater discharges from the facility. The 

SWPPP shall also include any control measures necessary for 

the stormwater discharges to meet applicable water quality 

standards. The SWPPP is intended to document the selection, 

design, and installation of control measures, including BMPs, 

to minimize the pollutants in all stormwater discharges from 

the facility and to meet applicable effluent limitations and 

water quality standards. 

The SWPPP requirements of this general permit may be 

fulfilled, in part, by incorporating by reference other plans or 

documents, such as an erosion and sediment control plan, a 

spill prevention control and countermeasure (SPCC) plan 

developed for the facility under § 311 of the Clean Water Act, 

or BMP programs otherwise required for the facility provided 

that the incorporated plan meets or exceeds the SWPPP 

requirements of Part II F 6 (Contents of SWPPP) D 2. All plans 

incorporated by reference into the SWPPP become enforceable 

under this permit. If a plan incorporated by reference does not 

contain all the requirements of Part II F 6 D 2, the permittee 

shall develop the missing SWPPP elements and include them 

in the required plan. 
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1. Deadlines for SWPPP preparation and compliance. 

a. Owners of existing facilities that were covered under the 

2013 Concrete Products General Permit who are 

continuing coverage under this general permit shall update 

and implement any revisions to the SWPPP within 60 days 

of the board department granting coverage under this 

permit. 

b. Owners of new facilities, facilities previously covered 

by an expiring individual permit, and existing facilities not 

currently covered by a VPDES permit who that elect to be 

covered under this general permit shall prepare the 

SWPPP 60 days prior to commencing operations and 

implement the SWPPP prior to commencing operations a 

stormwater discharge. 

c. Where the owner of an existing facility that is covered 

by this permit changes, the new owner of the facility shall 

update and implement any revisions to the SWPPP within 

60 days of the ownership change. 

d. Upon a showing of good cause, the director may 

establish a later date in writing for the preparation and 

compliance with the SWPPP. 

2. Signature and SWPPP review. 

a. The SWPPP shall be signed in accordance with Part III 

K and be retained on-site at the facility covered by this 

permit in accordance with Part III B. For inactive sites, the 

SWPPP may be kept at the nearest office of the permittee. 

b. The permittee shall make the SWPPP or other 

information available to the department upon request. 

c. The director, or his designee, may notify the permittee 

in writing at any time that the SWPPP, BMPs, or other 

components of the facility's stormwater program do not 

meet one or more of the requirements of this part. Such 

notification shall identify specific provisions of the permit 

that are not being met and may include required 

modifications to the stormwater program, additional 

monitoring requirements, and special reporting 

requirements. Within 60 days of such notification from the 

director, or as otherwise provided by the director, the 

permittee shall make the required changes to the SWPPP 

and shall submit to the department a written certification 

that the requested changes have been made. 

3. Maintaining an updated SWPPP. The permittee shall 

review and amend the SWPPP as appropriate whenever: 

a. There is construction or a change in design, operation, 

or maintenance that has a significant effect on the 

discharge or the potential for the discharge of pollutants to 

surface waters; 

b. Routine inspections or visual monitoring determine that 

there are deficiencies in the BMPs; 

c. Inspections by local, state, or federal officials determine 

that modifications to the SWPPP are necessary; 

d. There is a spill, leak, or other release at the facility; or 

e. There is an unauthorized discharge from the facility. 

4. SWPPP modifications shall be made within 60 calendar 

days after discovery, observation, or event requiring a 

SWPPP modification. Implementation of new or modified 

BMPs (distinct from regular preventive maintenance of 

existing BMPs described in Part II F 7) shall be initiated 

before the next storm event if possible, but no later than 60 

days after discovery, or as otherwise provided or approved 

by the director. The amount of time taken to modify a BMP 

or implement additional BMPs shall be documented in the 

SWPPP. 

5. If the SWPPP modification is based on a release or 

unauthorized discharge, include a description and date of the 

release, the circumstances leading to the release, actions 

taken in response to the release, and measures to prevent the 

recurrence of such releases. Unauthorized releases and 

discharges are subject to the reporting requirements of Part 

III G of this permit. 

6. 2. Contents of SWPPP. The SWPPP shall include, at a 

minimum, the following items: 

a. Pollution prevention team. Each SWPPP shall identify 

the staff individuals by name or title that comprise the 

facility's stormwater pollution prevention team. The 

pollution prevention team is responsible for assisting the 

facility or plant manager in developing, implementing, 

maintaining, revising, and ensuring compliance with the 

facility's SWPPP. Specific responsibilities of each staff 

individual on the team shall be identified and listed. 

b. Site description. The site description shall include the 

following: 

(1) A description of the industrial activities at the facility. 

(2) A site map identifying the following: 

(a) Boundaries of the property and the size of the property 

in acres; 

(b) Location and extent of significant structures and 

impervious surfaces; 

(c) Locations of all stormwater conveyances, including 

ditches, pipes, swales, and inlets, and the directions of 

stormwater flow using arrows to indicate which direction 

stormwater will flow; 

(d) Locations of stormwater control measures, including 

BMPs; 

(e) Locations of all surface water bodies, including 

wetlands; 

(f) Locations of identified potential pollutant sources 

identified in Part II D 2 c; 

(g) Locations where significant spills or leaks identified 

under Part II D 2 c (3) have occurred; 

(h) Locations of stormwater outfalls, monitoring 

locations, an approximate outline of the area draining to 

each outfall, the drainage area of each outfall in acres, the 
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longitude and latitude of each outfall, the location of any 

municipal separate storm system (MS4) conveyance 

receiving discharge from the facility, and each outfall 

identified with a unique numerical identification code. For 

example: Outfall number 001, Outfall Number 002; 

(i) Location and description of all nonstormwater 

discharges; 

(j) Location of any storage piles containing salt; 

(k) Location and source of suspected run-on to the site 

from an adjacent property if the run-on is suspected of 

containing significant quantities of pollutants; and 

(l) Locations of fueling stations, vehicle or equipment 

degreasing activities, maintenance areas, loading or 

unloading areas, vehicle washdown areas, vehicle 

washout areas, bag house or other dust control device, 

recycle ponds, sedimentation ponds, or clarifiers or other 

devices used for the treatment of process wastewater (and 

the areas that drain to the treatment device). 

c. Summary of potential pollutant sources. The plan 

SWPPP shall identify each separate area at the facility 

where industrial materials or activities at the facility are 

exposed to stormwater. Industrial materials or activities 

include: material handling equipment or activities, 

industrial machinery, raw materials, industrial production 

and processes, intermediate products, byproducts, final 

products, and waste products. Material handling activities 

include: the storage, loading and unloading, 

transportation, disposal, or conveyance of any raw 

material, intermediate product, final product, or waste 

product. The description shall include: 

(1) Activities in area. A list of the industrial activities (e.g., 

material storage, equipment fueling and cleaning, cutting 

steel beams); and exposed to stormwater. 

(2) Pollutants. A list of the associated pollutants, pollutant 

constituents, or industrial chemicals for each industrial 

activity that could potentially be exposed to stormwater. 

The pollutant list shall include all significant materials 

handled, treated, stored, or disposed that have been 

exposed to stormwater in the three years prior to the date 

this SWPPP was prepared or amended. This list shall 

include any hazardous substances or oil at the facility. 

c. Site map. The site map shall document: 

(1) An outline of the drainage area of each stormwater 

outfall that are within the facility boundaries; 

(2) Each existing structural control measure to reduce 

pollutants in stormwater runoff; 

(3) Surface water bodies; 

(4) Locations where materials are exposed to 

precipitation; 

(5) Locations where major spills or leaks identified under 

Part II F 6 d have occurred; 

(6) Locations of fueling stations, vehicle or equipment 

degreasing activities, maintenance areas, loading or 

unloading areas, vehicle wash down areas, vehicle wash 

out areas, bag house or other dust control device, recycle 

ponds, sedimentation ponds, or clarifiers or other devices 

used for the treatment of process wastewater (and the areas 

that drain to the treatment device); 

(7) Locations used for the storage or disposal of wastes; 

liquid storage tanks; processing areas; and storage areas; 

(8) Outfall locations, designation (e.g., 001) and the types 

of discharges contained in the drainage areas of the 

outfalls; 

(9) For each area of the facility that generates stormwater 

discharges associated with industrial activity with a 

potential for containing significant amounts of pollutants, 

locations of stormwater conveyances including ditches, 

pipes, swales, and inlets, and the directions of stormwater 

flow and an identification of the types of pollutants that 

are likely to be present in stormwater discharges 

associated with industrial activity. Factors to consider 

include the toxicity of the chemicals; quantity of 

chemicals used, produced, or discharged; the likelihood of 

contact with stormwater; and history of leaks or spills of 

toxic or hazardous pollutants; and 

(10) Flows with a potential for causing erosion shall be 

identified. 

d. (3) Spills and leaks. A The SWPPP shall clearly identify 

areas where potential spills and leaks that can contribute 

pollutants to stormwater discharges can occur and their 

corresponding outfalls. The SWPPP shall include a list of 

significant spills and leaks of toxic or hazardous pollutants 

that actually occurred at exposed areas or that are exposed 

to precipitation or that otherwise drain to a stormwater 

conveyance at the facility after the date of three years prior 

to the date of coverage under this general permit. Such list 

shall be updated as appropriate during the term of the 

permit drained to a stormwater conveyance during the 

three-year period prior to the date this SWPPP was 

prepared or amended. The list shall be updated within 60 

days of the incident if significant spills or leaks occur in 

exposed areas of the facility during the term of the permit. 

e. (4) Sampling data. The plan SWPPP shall include a 

summary of existing stormwater discharge sampling data 

taken at the facility. The summary shall include, at a 

minimum, any data collected during the previous three 

years. 

f. d. Stormwater controls. 

(1) BMPs Control measures shall be implemented for all 

areas identified in Part II F 6 b D 2 c to prevent or control 

pollutants in stormwater discharges from the facility. All 

reasonable steps shall be taken to control or address the 

quality of discharges from the site that may not originate 

at the facility If applicable, regulated stormwater 
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discharges from the facility include stormwater run-on 

that commingles with stormwater discharges associated 

with industrial activity at the facility. The SWPPP shall 

describe the type, location, and implementation of all 

BMPs control measures for each area where industrial 

materials or activities are exposed to stormwater. 

Selection of control measures shall take into 

consideration: 

(a) That preventing stormwater from coming into contact 

with polluting materials is generally more effective and 

less costly than trying to remove pollutants from 

stormwater; 

(b) Control measures generally must be used in 

combination with each other for most effective water 

quality protection; 

(c) Assessing the type and quantity of pollutants, including 

their potential to impact receiving water quality, is critical 

to designing effective control measures; 

(d) That minimizing impervious areas at the facility can 

reduce runoff and improve groundwater recharge and 

stream base flows in local streams; however, care must be 

taken to avoid groundwater contamination; 

(e) Flow attenuation by use of open vegetated swales and 

natural depressions can reduce instream impacts of erosive 

flows; 

(f) Conservation or restoration of riparian buffers will help 

protect streams from stormwater runoff and improve water 

quality; and 

(g) Treatment interceptors (e.g., swirl separators and sand 

filters) may be appropriate in some instances to minimize 

the discharge of pollutants. 

(2) Good housekeeping measures. Good housekeeping 

requires the clean and orderly maintenance of areas that 

may contribute pollutants to stormwater discharges. The 

permittee shall keep clean all exposed areas of the facility 

that are potential sources of pollutants in stormwater. 

Particular attention should be paid to areas where raw 

materials are stockpiled, material handling areas, storage 

areas, liquid storage tanks, vehicle fueling and 

maintenance areas, and loading or unloading areas. The 

SWPPP shall describe procedures performed to prevent 

The permittee shall perform the following good 

housekeeping measures to minimize pollutant discharges: 

(a) Include a schedule for regular pickup and disposal of 

waste materials, along with routine inspections for leaks 

and conditions of drums, tanks, and containers; 

(b) Sweep or vacuum as feasible; 

(c) Store materials in containers constructed of appropriate 

materials; 

(d) Manage all waste containers to prevent a discharge of 

pollutants; 

(e) Minimize the potential for waste, garbage, and 

floatable debris to be discharged by keeping areas exposed 

to stormwater free of such materials or by intercepting 

such materials prior to discharge; and 

(f) Prevent or minimize the discharge of: spilled cement, 

aggregate (, including sand and gravel), kiln dust, fly ash, 

settled dust, or other significant material in stormwater 

from paved portions of the site that are exposed to 

stormwater. Sweep or vacuum paved surfaces of the site 

that are exposed to stormwater at regular intervals or use 

other equivalent measures to minimize the potential 

discharge of these materials in stormwater. Indicate in the 

SWPPP the frequency of sweeping, vacuuming, or other 

equivalent measures (e.g., wash down the area and collect 

or treat and properly dispose of the washdown water). 

Determine the frequency based on the amount of industrial 

activity occurring in the area and the frequency of 

precipitation, but sweeping, vacuuming, or other 

equivalent measures shall be performed at least once a 

week in areas where cement, aggregate, kiln dust, fly ash, 

or settled dust are being handled or processed. Prevent the 

exposure of fine granular solids (, including cement, fly 

ash, and kiln dust), to stormwater, where practicable, by 

storing these materials in enclosed silos, hoppers, or 

buildings or under other covering. The generation of dust 

and off-site vehicle tracking of raw, final, or waste 

materials, or sediments shall be minimized. 

(3) Preventive maintenance. A preventive maintenance 

program shall involve regular inspection, testing, 

maintenance, and repairing of all industrial equipment and 

systems to avoid breakdowns or failures that could result 

in leaks, spills, and other releases. This program is in 

addition to the specific BMP maintenance required under 

Part II F 7 (Maintenance of BMPs) E. 

(4) Spill prevention and response procedures. The SWPPP 

shall describe the procedures that will be followed for 

preventing and responding to spills and leaks., including: 

(a) Preventive measures include, such as barriers between 

material storage and traffic areas, secondary containment 

provisions, and procedures for material storage and 

handling; 

(b) Response procedures shall include (i), including 

notification of appropriate facility personnel, emergency 

agencies, and regulatory agencies and (ii) procedures for 

stopping, containing, and cleaning up spills. Measures for 

cleaning up hazardous material spills or leaks shall be 

consistent with applicable RCRA Resource Conservation 

and Recovery Act regulations at 40 CFR Part 264 and 

40 CFR Part 265. Employees who may cause, detect, or 

respond to a spill or leak shall be trained in these 

procedures and have necessary spill response equipment 

available. If possible, one of these individuals shall be a 

member of the pollution prevention team; 
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(c) Procedures for plainly labeling containers (e.g., "used 

oil," "spent solvents," "fertilizers and pesticides," etc.) that 

could be susceptible to spillage or leakage to encourage 

proper handling and facilitate rapid response if spills or 

leaks occur; and 

(d) Contact information for individuals and agencies that 

must be notified in the event of a spill shall be included in 

the SWPPP and in other locations where it will be readily 

available. 

(5) Routine facility inspections. 

(a) During normal facility operating hours inspections of 

areas of the facility covered by the requirements in this 

permit must be conducted and shall include observations 

of the following: 

(i) Areas where industrial materials or activities are 

exposed to stormwater, including material handling areas, 

above ground storage tanks, hoppers or silos, dust 

collection or containment systems, and truck wash down 

or equipment cleaning areas; 

(ii) Discharge points; and 

(iii) Best management practices. 

(b) Inspections shall be conducted at least quarterly. At 

least once each calendar year, the routine facility 

inspection should be conducted during a period when a 

stormwater discharge is occurring. 

(c) Inspections shall be performed by personnel who 

possess the knowledge and skills to assess conditions and 

activities that could impact stormwater quality at the 

facility and who can also evaluate the effectiveness of 

BMPs. At least one member of the stormwater pollution 

prevention team shall participate. 

(d) Routine facility inspections shall be documented and 

maintained with the SWPPP. Document all findings 

including: 

(i) Inspection date; 

(ii) Names of the inspectors; and 

(iii) Observations of any discharges; the physical 

condition of and around all outfalls (e.g., concrete product 

in the stream or turbidity); leaks or spills from industrial 

equipment, drums, tanks or other containers; offsite 

tracking of industrial materials or sediment; any additional 

best management practices that need to be repaired, 

maintained, or added; and any incidents of 

noncompliance. 

(e) A set of tracking or followup procedures shall be used 

to ensure that appropriate actions are taken in response to 

the inspections. Records of inspections shall be 

maintained with the SWPPP. Any deficiencies in the 

implementation of the SWPPP that are found shall be 

corrected as soon as practicable, but not later than within 

60 days of the inspection, unless permission for a later date 

is granted in writing by the director. The results of the 

inspections shall be documented in the SWPPP, along 

with the dates and descriptions of any corrective actions 

that were taken in response to any deficiencies or 

opportunities for improvement that were identified. 

(f) The requirement for routine facility inspections is 

waived for facilities that have maintained an active VEEP 

E3/E4 status. 

(5) Eliminating and minimizing exposure. To the extent 

practicable, manufacturing, processing, and material 

storage areas, including loading and unloading, storage, 

disposal, cleaning, maintenance, and fueling operations, 

shall be located inside or protected by a storm-resistant 

covering to prevent exposure to rain, snow, snowmelt, and 

runoff. Unless infeasible, facilities shall implement the 

following: 

(a) Use grading, berming, or curbing to prevent runoff of 

contaminated flows and divert run-on away from potential 

sources of pollutants; 

(b) Locate materials, equipment, and activities so that 

potential leaks and spills are contained or able to be 

contained or diverted before discharge; 

(c) Clean up spills and leaks immediately upon discovery 

of the spills or leaks, using dry methods (e.g., adsorbents) 

to prevent the discharge of pollutants; 

(d) Store leaking vehicles and equipment indoors, or if 

leaking vehicles and equipment must be stored outdoors, 

use drip pans and adsorbents; 

(e) Utilize appropriate spill or overflow protections 

equipment; 

(f) Perform all vehicle maintenance or equipment 

maintenance or equipment cleaning operations indoors, 

under cover, or in bermed areas that prevent runoff and 

run-on and also capture any overspray; and 

(g) Drain fluids from equipment and vehicles that will be 

decommissioned, and for any equipment and vehicles that 

remain unused for extended periods of time, inspect at 

least monthly for leaks. 

(6) Employee training. The permittee shall implement a 

stormwater employee training program for the facility. 

The SWPPP shall include a schedule for all types of 

necessary training and shall document all training sessions 

and the employees who received the training. Training 

shall be provided at least annually for all employees who 

work in areas where industrial materials or activities are 

exposed to stormwater and for employees who are 

responsible for implementing activities identified in the 

SWPPP (e.g., inspectors, maintenance personnel, etc.). 

The training shall cover the components and goals of the 

SWPPP and include such topics as spill response, good 

housekeeping, material management practices, BMP 

operation, and maintenance, etc. The SWPPP shall include 

a summary of any training performed. 
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(7) Sediment and erosion control. The SWPPP shall 

identify areas at the facility that, due to topography, land 

disturbance (e.g., construction, landscaping, sit grading), 

or other factors, have a potential for soil erosion. The 

permittee shall identify and implement structural, 

vegetative, or stabilization BMPs control measures to 

prevent or control on-site and off-site erosion and 

sedimentation. Flow velocity dissipation devices shall be 

placed at discharge locations and along the length of any 

outfall channel if the flows would otherwise create erosive 

conditions. 

(8) Management of runoff. The SWPPP shall describe the 

stormwater run-off management practices (i.e., permanent 

structural BMPs control measures) for the facility. These 

types of [ BMPs ] are typically control measures shall be 

used to divert, infiltrate, reuse, or otherwise reduce 

pollutants in stormwater discharges from the site. 

Appropriate measures may include: vegetative swales and 

practices, reuse of collected stormwater (such as for a 

process or as an irrigation source), inlet controls (such as 

oil/water separators), snow management activities, 

infiltration devices, wet detention/retention devices; or 

other equivalent measures. Some structural BMPs 

Structural control measures may require a separate permit 

under § 404 of the Clean Water Act and the Virginia Water 

Protection Permit Program Regulation (9VAC25-210) 

before installation begins. 

7. e. Routine facility inspections. Personnel who possess 

the knowledge and skills to assess conditions and activities 

that could impact stormwater quality at the facility and 

who can also evaluate the effectiveness of control 

measures shall regularly inspect all areas of the facility 

where industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

stormwater. At least one member of the stormwater 

pollution prevention team shall participate. 

(1) Inspections include areas where industrial materials or 

activities are exposed to stormwater, including material 

handling areas, aboveground storage tanks, hoppers or 

silos, dust collection or containment systems, and truck 

washdown or equipment cleaning areas, discharge points, 

and control measures. 

(2) Inspections shall be conducted at least quarterly during 

normal facility operating hours. At least once each 

calendar year, the routine facility inspection should be 

conducted during a period when a stormwater discharge is 

occurring. 

(3) The inspections shall include at a minimum: 

(a) Inspection date; 

(b) Names of the inspectors; and 

(c) Observations of any discharges; the physical condition 

of and around all outfalls (e.g., concrete product in the 

stream or turbidity); leaks or spills from industrial 

equipment, drums, tanks or other containers; off-site 

tracking of industrial materials or sediment; any additional 

best management practices that need to be repaired, 

maintained, or added; and any incidents of 

noncompliance. 

(4) A set of tracking or follow-up procedures shall be used 

to ensure that appropriate actions are taken in response to 

the inspections. Records of inspections shall be 

maintained with the SWPPP. Any deficiencies in the 

implementation of the SWPPP that are found shall be 

corrected as soon as practicable, but not later than within 

60 days of the inspection, unless permission for a later date 

is granted in writing by the director. The results of the 

inspections shall be documented in the SWPPP, along 

with the dates and descriptions of any corrective actions 

that were taken in response to any deficiencies or 

opportunities for improvement that were identified. 

(5) The requirement for routine facility inspections is 

waived for facilities that have maintained an active 

Virginia Environmental Excellence Program E3 or E4 

status. 

E. Maintenance of BMPs. All BMPs identified in the SWPPP 

shall be maintained in effective operating condition. 

Stormwater BMPs identified in the SWPPP shall be observed 

during active operation where feasible (i.e., during a 

stormwater runoff event) to ensure that they are functioning 

correctly. Where discharge locations are inaccessible, nearby 

downstream locations shall be observed. The observations 

shall be documented in the SWPPP. 

1. The SWPPP shall include a description of procedures and 

a regular schedule for preventive maintenance of all BMPs 

control measures and shall include a description of the back-

up practices that are in place should a runoff event occur 

while a BMP control measure is off line off-line. The 

effectiveness of nonstructural BMPs shall also be 

maintained by appropriate means (e.g., spill response 

supplies available and personnel trained, etc.). 

2. All control measures identified in the SWPPP shall be 

maintained in effective operating condition and shall be 

observed at least annually when a stormwater discharge is 

occurring to ensure that they are functioning correctly. 

Where discharge locations are inaccessible, nearby 

downstream locations shall be observed. The observations 

shall be documented in the SWPPP. 

3. If site routine facility inspections required by Part II F 6 f 

(5) (Routine facility inspections) D 2 d identify BMPs 

control measures that are not operating effectively, repairs 

or maintenance shall be performed before the next 

anticipated storm event. If maintenance prior to the next 

anticipated storm event is not possible, maintenance shall be 

scheduled and accomplished as soon as practicable. In the 

interim, back-up measures shall be employed and 

documented in the SWPPP until repairs or maintenance is 

complete. Documentation shall be kept with the SWPPP of 
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maintenance and repairs of BMPs, including the dates of 

regular maintenance, dates of discovery of areas in need of 

repair or replacement, and for repairs, dates that the BMPs 

returned to full function, and the justification for any 

extended maintenance or repair schedules. 

8. F. Nonstormwater discharges. 

a. Except for flows from emergency firefighting activities, 

the SWPPP must include: 

(1) Identification of each allowable nonstormwater 

source; 

(2) The location where it is likely to be discharged; and 

(3) Descriptions of appropriate BMPs for each source. 

b. Documentation that all outfalls have been evaluated 

annually for the presence of unauthorized discharges (i.e., 

discharges other than stormwater, the authorized 

nonstormwater discharges described in Part II D, or 

discharges covered under a separate VPDES permit or this 

permit). 

1. Discharges of certain sources of nonstormwater listed in 

Part II F 3 are allowable discharges under this permit. All 

other nonstormwater discharges are not authorized and shall 

be either eliminated or covered under a separate VPDES 

permit. 

2. Annual outfall evaluation for unauthorized discharges. 

The SWPPP shall include documentation that all stormwater 

outfalls associated with industrial activity have been 

evaluated annually for the presence of unauthorized 

discharges. The documentation shall include: 

(1) a. The date of the evaluation; 

(2) b. A description of the evaluation criteria used; 

(3) c. A list of the outfalls or onsite on-site drainage points 

that were directly observed during the evaluation; 

(4) d. A description of the results of the evaluation for the 

presence of unauthorized discharges; and 

(5) e. The actions taken to eliminate identified 

unauthorized discharges. 

3. The following nonstormwater discharges are authorized 

by this permit: 

a. Discharges from emergency firefighting activities; 

b. Fire hydrant flushing, managed in a manner to avoid an 

instream impact; 

c. Potable water, including water line flushing, managed 

in a manner to avoid an instream impact; 

d. Uncontaminated condensate from air conditioners, 

coolers, and other compressors and from the outside 

storage of refrigerated gases or liquids; 

e. Irrigation drainage; 

f. Landscape watering; provided all pesticides, herbicides, 

and fertilizers have been applied in accordance with the 

approved labeling; 

g. Pavement wash waters where no detergents or 

hazardous cleaning products are used and no spills or leaks 

of toxic or hazardous materials have occurred, unless all 

spilled material has been removed. Pavement wash waters 

shall be managed in a manner to avoid an instream impact; 

h. Routine external building washdown that does not use 

detergents or hazardous cleaning products; 

i. Uncontaminated groundwater or spring water; 

j. Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 

contaminated with process materials; and 

k. Incidental windblown mist from cooling towers that 

collects on rooftops or adjacent portions of the facility, but 

not intentional discharges from the cooling tower (e.g., 

"piped" cooling tower blowdown or drains). 

G. Signature and SWPPP review. 

1. Signature and location. The SWPPP, including any 

revisions to the SWPPP to document any corrective actions 

taken as required by Part II A 4, shall be signed in 

accordance with Part III K, dated, and retained on site at the 

facility covered by this permit. All other changes to the 

SWPPP, and other permit compliance documentation, must 

be signed and dated by the person preparing the change or 

documentation. For inactive or unstaffed facilities, the plan 

may be kept at the nearest office of the permittee. 

2. Availability. The permittee shall retain a copy of the 

current SWPPP required by this permit at the facility, and it 

shall be immediately available to the department, EPA, or 

the operator of an MS4 receiving discharges from the site at 

the time of an on-site inspection or upon request.  

3. Required modifications. The permittee shall modify the 

SWPPP whenever necessary to address all corrective actions 

required by Part II A 4. Changes to the SWPPP shall be made 

in accordance with the corrective action deadlines in Part II 

A 4 and shall be signed and dated in accordance with Part III 

K. The director may notify the permittee at any time the 

SWPPP, control measures, or other components of the 

facility's stormwater program do not meet one or more of the 

requirements of this permit. The notification shall identify 

specific provisions of the permit that are not being met and 

may include required modifications to the stormwater 

program, additional monitoring requirements, and special 

reporting requirements. The permittee shall make any 

required changes to the SWPPP within 60 days of receipt of 

such notification, unless permission for a later date is 

granted in writing by the director, and shall submit a written 

certification to the director that the requested changes have 

been made. 
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H. Maintaining an updated SWPPP. 

1. The permittee shall review and amend the SWPPP as 

appropriate whenever: 

a. There is construction or a change in design, operation, 

or maintenance at the facility that has an effect on the 

discharge, or the potential for the discharge, of pollutants 

from the facility; 

b. Routine inspections or visual monitoring determine that 

there are deficiencies in the control measures, including 

BMPs; 

c. Inspections by local, state, or federal officials determine 

that modifications to the SWPPP are necessary; 

d. There is a significant spill, leak, or other release at the 

facility; 

e. There is an unauthorized discharge from the facility; or 

f. The department notifies the permittee that a TMDL has 

been developed and applies to the permitted facility, 

consistent with Part I B 16. 

2. SWPPP modifications shall be made within 60 calendar 

days after the discovery, observation, or event requiring an 

SWPPP modification. Implementation of new or modified 

control measures shall be initiated before the next storm 

event if possible but no later than 60 days after discovery or 

as otherwise provided or approved by the director. The 

amount of time taken to modify a control measure or 

implement additional control measures shall be documented 

in the SWPPP. 

3. If the SWPPP modification is based on a significant spill, 

leak, release, or unauthorized discharge, a description and 

date of the incident, the circumstances leading to the 

incident, actions taken in response to the incident, and 

measures to prevent the recurrence of such releases must be 

included. Unauthorized discharges are subject to the 

reporting requirements of Part III G of this permit. 

Part III  

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits. 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be analyzed 

in accordance with 1VAC30-45 (Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories) or 1VAC30-

46 (Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories). 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements; 

c. The dates and times analyses were performed; 

d. The individuals who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. The permittee shall retain (i) records of all monitoring 

information including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous 

monitoring instrumentation, (ii) copies of all reports 

required by this permit, and (iii) records of all data used to 

complete the registration statement for this permit for a 

period of at least three years from the date that coverage 

under this permit expires or is terminated. This period of 

retention shall be extended automatically during the course 

of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity 

or regarding control standards applicable to the permittee, or 

as requested by the board department. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department's regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) DMR or on forms provided, 

approved, or specified by the department. Following 

notification from the department of the start date for the 

required electronic submission of monitoring reports, as 

provided for in 9VAC25-31-1020, such forms and reports 

submitted after that date shall be electronically submitted to 

the department in compliance with 9VAC25-31-1020 and 

this section. There shall be at least a three-month notice 

provided between the notification from the department and 

the date after which such forms and reports must be 

submitted electronically. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
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submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board department may request to determine whether 

cause exists for terminating coverage under this permit or to 

determine compliance with this permit. The board department 

may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such plans, 

specifications, and other pertinent information as may be 

necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from its the 

permittee's discharge on the quality of state waters, or such 

other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department upon request copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit, or another permit issued by the board department, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, industrial 

waste, other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substance 

into or upon state waters in violation of Part III F; or who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may reasonably 

be expected to enter state waters in violation of Part III F, shall 

notify the department of the discharge immediately upon 

discovery of the discharge, but in no case later than 24 hours 

after said discovery. A written report of the unauthorized 

discharge shall be submitted to the department, within five 

days of discovery of the discharge. The written report shall 

contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or upset 

should occur from a treatment works and the discharge enters 

or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee shall 

promptly notify (see Part III I 3), in no case later than 24 hours, 

the department by telephone after the discovery of the 

discharge. This notification shall provide all available details 

of the incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

reduce the report to writing and shall submit it to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 

accordance with Part III I 1 b. Unusual and extraordinary 

discharges include any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. 

1. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 

adversely affect state waters or may endanger public health. 

a. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this subdivision: 

(1) Any unanticipated bypass; and 

(2) Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters. 

b. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

(1) A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

(2) The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and 
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(3) Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board department may waive the written report on a 

case-by-case basis for reports of noncompliance under Part 

III I if the oral report has been received within 24 hours and 

no adverse impact on state waters has been reported. 

2. The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Part III I 1 a or 1 b, in writing, at the time 

the next monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall 

contain the information listed in Part III I 1 b. 

NOTE: 3. The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Part III G, H, and I may shall be made to the department's 

regional office by telephone, FAX, or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP

reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. Reports may be made by 

telephone, FAX, or online at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 

get-involved/pollution-response (online reporting 

preferred). For reports outside normal working hours, leave 

a message and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting 

requirement the online portal shall be used. For emergencies, 

call the Virginia Department of Emergency Services 

maintains a 24 hour telephone service Management's 

Emergency Operations Center (24-hours) at 1-800-468-

8892. 

3. 4. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement, 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. 

J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of Clean Water Act that are applicable to such 

source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the 

nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged. 

This notification applies to pollutants that are subject 

neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change 

in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, and 

such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit registration process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity 

that may result in noncompliance with permit requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statements. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means (i) president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated facility 

including having the explicit or implicit duty of making 

major capital investment recommendations and initiating 

and directing other comprehensive measures to assure 

long-term environmental compliance with environmental 

laws and regulations; the manager can ensure that the 

necessary systems are established or actions taken to 

gather complete and accurate information for permit 

registration requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager 

in accordance with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports and other information. All reports required by 

permits and other information requested by the board 

department shall be signed by a person described in Part III 

K 1, or by a duly authorized representative of that person. A 

person is a duly authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part III K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-response
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the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or an 

individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly authorized 

representative may thus be either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a named position; and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports, or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or 

persons who manage the system, or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information, including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing 

violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the State 

Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 

coverage termination; or denial of a permit coverage renewal 

registration. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water Act 

for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge use 

or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water Act 

within the time provided in the regulations that establish these 

standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge use or 

disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified to 

incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain coverage under 

a new permit. All permittees with currently effective permit 

coverage shall submit a new application at least 60 days before 

the expiration date of the existing permit, unless permission for 

a later date has been granted by the board department. The 

board department shall not grant permission for applications to 

be submitted later than the expiration date of the existing 

permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights, or any infringement of 

federal, state, or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypass" ( in Part 

III U), and "upset" ( in Part III V), nothing in this permit shall 

be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation 

and maintenance also includes effective plant performance, 

adequate funding, adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory 

and process controls, including appropriate quality assurance 

procedures. This provision requires the operation of back-up or 

auxiliary facilities or similar systems that are installed by the 

permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 
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U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 

from any portion of a treatment facility. The permittee may 

allow any bypass to occur that does not cause effluent 

limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential 

maintenance to assure efficient operation. These bypasses 

are not subject to the provisions of Part III U 2 and U 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, if 

possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part III I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board department may 

take enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such 

as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of 

untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 

adequate back-up equipment should have been installed in 

the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass that occurred during normal periods of 

equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under Part 

III U 2. 

b. The board department may approve an anticipated 

bypass, after considering its adverse effects, if the board 

department determines that it will meet the three 

conditions listed in Part III U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology based 

technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 

requirements of Part III V 2 are met. A determination made 

during administrative review of claims that noncompliance 

was caused by upset, and before an action for 

noncompliance, is not a final administrative action subject 

to judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence 

that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part III I; and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part III S. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or his designee the director's authorized 

representative, including an authorized contractor acting as a 

representative of the administrator, upon presentation of 

credentials and other documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy at reasonable times any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, any 

substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours and 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained herein 

in this section shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permit coverage may be terminated for 

cause. The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit 

termination, or a notification of planned changes or anticipated 

noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permit coverage. 

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 

notice to the department. 

2. Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if: 

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 30 

days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board department; 

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

c. The board department does not notify the existing 

permittee and the proposed new permittee of its intent to 

deny the new permittee coverage under the permit. If this 
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notice is not received, the transfer is effective on the date 

specified in the agreement mentioned in Part III Y 2 b. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, the 

application of such provision to other circumstances, and the 

remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6952; Filed August 4, 2023, 2:18 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.Registrar Notice is not available 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-50. Tattooing Regulations. 

18VAC41-60. Body-Piercing Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Tamika Rodriguez, Regulatory Operations 

Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Perimeter Center, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 

245-9693, or email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC41-50) 

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A450-

1231EXLIC-v16 (eff. 5/2022) 

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A450-

1231EXLIC-v17 (rev. 9/2023) 

Training Verification Form, A450-1213TR-vs1 (eff. 5/2022) 

Tattooing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A450-

12TATSPON-v5 (eff. 7/2015) 

Tattooing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A450-

12TATSPON-v6 (rev. 9/2023) 

Tattooer Apprenticeship Certification Application, A450-

TAT_SOA-v3 (rev. 3/2015) 

Tattoo Apprenticeship Completion Form, A450-12TAC-v8 

(rev. 1/2020) 

Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A450-12TDIS-v3 (rev. 

1/2020) 

Limited Term Tattooer License Application, A450-1233LIC-

v12 (rev. 9/2022) 

Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A450-

1235LIC-v9 (rev. 9/2022) 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A450-1236EXLIC-v15 (eff. 5/2022) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A450-1237EXLIC-v13 (eff. 5/2022) 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A450-1236EXLIC-v16 (rev. 9/2023) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A450-1237EXLIC-v14 (rev. 9/2023) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v18 

(rev. 9/2022) 

Body Piercing, Tattoo, Perm Cos Tattoo Experience 

Verification Form, A450-12BPTATT_EXP-v2 (rev. 7/2022) 

Body Piercing Salon/Tattooing Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-12TATBP_BUS-v4 (rev. 9/2022) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License-Reinstatement 

Application A450-1213BUS-v17 (rev. 9/2023)  

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v11 (rev. 9/2022) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-vs17 

(rev. 10/2022) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-vs18 

(rev. 9/2023) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v13 

(rev. 9/2022) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v18 (rev. 

5/2023) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v19 (rev. 

9/2023) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCHL-REIN-

v9 (rev. 9/2022) 

Tattoo-Body Piercing Universal App A450-1231-41ULR-v1 

(eff. 7/2023) 

FORMS (18VAC41-60) 

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A450-

1241EXLIC-v15 (eff. 5/2022) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A450-

12BPSPON-v5 (eff. 7/2015) 

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A450-

1241EXLIC-v16 (rev. 9/2023) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A450-

12BPSPON-v6 (rev. 9/2023) 

mailto:barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A450-1231EXLIC-v17%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230804173342.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A450-1231EXLIC-v17%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230804173342.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Training%20Verification%20Form%20A450-1213TR-vs1_05-24-2022_pdf-20230614153716.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooing%20Apprenticeship%20Sponsor%20Application,%20A450-12TATSPON-v6%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230804173526.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooing%20Apprenticeship%20Sponsor%20Application,%20A450-12TATSPON-v6%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230804173526.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Apprenticeship%20Certification%20Application%20A450-TAT_SOA-v3_03-31-2015_pdf-20230804172741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Apprenticeship%20Certification%20Application%20A450-TAT_SOA-v3_03-31-2015_pdf-20230804172741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo%20Apprenticeship%20Completion%20Form%20A450-12TAC-v8_01-01-2020_pdf-20230706120223.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo%20Apprenticeship%20Completion%20Form%20A450-12TAC-v8_01-01-2020_pdf-20230706120223.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo%20Client%20Disclosure%20Form%20A450-12TDIS-v3_01-06-2020_pdf-20230706120244.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo%20Client%20Disclosure%20Form%20A450-12TDIS-v3_01-06-2020_pdf-20230706120244.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Limited%20Term%20Tattooer%20License%20Application%20A450-1233LIC-v12%20(9-2022)-20230706113748.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Limited%20Term%20Tattooer%20License%20Application%20A450-1233LIC-v12%20(9-2022)-20230706113748.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Limited%20Term%20Tattoo%20Parlor%20License%20Application%20A450-1235LIC-v9%20(9-2022)-20230706113731.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Limited%20Term%20Tattoo%20Parlor%20License%20Application%20A450-1235LIC-v9%20(9-2022)-20230706113731.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Permanent%20Cosmetic%20Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A450-1236EXLIC-v16%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804171510.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Permanent%20Cosmetic%20Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A450-1236EXLIC-v16%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804171510.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Master%20Permanent%20Cosmetic%20Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A450-1237EXLIC-v14%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804171459.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Master%20Permanent%20Cosmetic%20Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A450-1237EXLIC-v14%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804171459.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/License%20by%20Endorsement%20Application,%20A450-1213END-v18%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804164621.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/License%20by%20Endorsement%20Application,%20A450-1213END-v18%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804164621.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercing,%20Tattoo,%20Perm%20Cos%20Tattoo%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A450-12BPTATT_EXP-v2%20(eff.%207-2022)-20230804165714.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercing,%20Tattoo,%20Perm%20Cos%20Tattoo%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A450-12BPTATT_EXP-v2%20(eff.%207-2022)-20230804165714.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercing,%20Tattoo,%20Perm%20Cos%20Tattoo%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A450-12BPTATT_EXP-v2%20(eff.%207-2022)-20230804165714.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Salon,%20Shop,%20Spa%20&%20Parlor%20License-Reinstatement%20Application%20A450-1213BUS-v17%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804163225.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Salon,%20Shop,%20Spa%20&%20Parlor%20License-Reinstatement%20Application%20A450-1213BUS-v17%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804163225.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Licensure%20Fee%20Notice,%20A450-1213FEE-v11%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804163257.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Instructor%20Certification%20Application,%20A450-1213INST-v18%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804171304.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Instructor%20Certification%20Application,%20A450-1213INST-v18%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804171304.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Individuals%20-%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213REI-v13%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804163337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Individuals%20-%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213REI-v13%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804163337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/School%20License%20Application,%20A450-1213SCHL-v19%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804171012.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/School%20License%20Application,%20A450-1213SCHL-v19%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804171012.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/School%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213SCHL-REIN-v9%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804171036.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/School%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213SCHL-REIN-v9%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804171036.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo-Body%20Piercing%20Universal%20App%20A450-1231-41ULR-v1%20(eff.%207-2023)-20230804163158.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo-Body%20Piercing%20Universal%20App%20A450-1231-41ULR-v1%20(eff.%207-2023)-20230804163158.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A450-1241EXLIC-v16%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230804165619.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A450-1241EXLIC-v16%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230804165619.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Apprenticeship%20Sponsor%20Application,%20A450-12BPSPON-v5%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230804165337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Apprenticeship%20Sponsor%20Application,%20A450-12BPSPON-v5%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230804165337.pdf
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Body-Piercing Apprentice Certification Application, A450-

BP_SOA-v3 (rev. 3/2015) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Completion Form, A450-

12BPAC-v8 (rev. 1/2020) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A450-12BPDIS-v2 

(rev. 4/2013) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC-

v9 (rev. 9/2022) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC-

v10 (rev. 9/2023) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v18 

(rev. 9/2022) 

Body Piercing, Tattoo, Perm Cos Tattoo Experience 

Verification Form, A450-12BPTATT_EXP-v2 (rev. 7/2022) 

Body Piercing Salon/Tattooing Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-12TATBP_BUS-v4 (rev. 9/2022) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License-Reinstatement 

Application A450-1213BUS-v17 (rev. 9-2023) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v11 (rev. 9/2022) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v13 

(rev. 9/2022) 

Tattoo-Body Piercing Universal App A450-1231-41ULR-v1 

(rev. 7/2023) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7658; Filed August 4, 2023, 5:52 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts amendments to regulations of the board to 

schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to subsection 

D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 27, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments add five compounds into Schedule I as 

recommended by the Department of Forensic Science 

pursuant to § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. These 

compounds added by regulatory action will remain in 

effect for 18 months or until the compounds are placed in 

Schedule I by legislative action of the General Assembly. 

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. 1-(4-cinnamyl-2,6-dimethylpiperazin-1-yl) 

propan-1-one (other name: AP-238), its isomers, esters, 

ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 4-methallyloxy-3,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other 

name: Methallylescaline), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. Alpha-pyrrolidino-2-phenylacetophenone (other name: 

alpha-D2PV), its salts, isomers (optical, position, and 

geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. Ethyl 2-[1-pentyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido]-3,3-

dimethylbutanoate (other name: EDMB-PINACA), its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-

phenethyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 

ADB-PHETINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 16, 2023, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. 2-(4-ethoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1- 

(2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl)-1H-benzimidazole (other names: 

N-pyrrolidino etonitazene, etonitazepyne), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Apprentice%20Certification%20Application%20A450-BP_SOA-v3%20(rev.%203-2015)-20230804172935.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Apprentice%20Certification%20Application%20A450-BP_SOA-v3%20(rev.%203-2015)-20230804172935.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Apprenticeship%20Completion%20Form,%20A450-12BPAC-v8%20(eff.%201-2020)-20230804165147.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Apprenticeship%20Completion%20Form,%20A450-12BPAC-v8%20(eff.%201-2020)-20230804165147.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Client%20Disclosure%20Form,%20A450-12BPDIS-v2%20(eff.%204-2013)-20230804165318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Client%20Disclosure%20Form,%20A450-12BPDIS-v2%20(eff.%204-2013)-20230804165318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercer%20Ear%20Only%20License%20Application,%20A450-1245LIC-v10%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804165109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercer%20Ear%20Only%20License%20Application,%20A450-1245LIC-v10%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804165109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/License%20by%20Endorsement%20Application,%20A450-1213END-v18%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804164621.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/License%20by%20Endorsement%20Application,%20A450-1213END-v18%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804164621.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercing,%20Tattoo,%20Perm%20Cos%20Tattoo%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A450-12BPTATT_EXP-v2%20(eff.%207-2022)-20230804165714.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercing,%20Tattoo,%20Perm%20Cos%20Tattoo%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A450-12BPTATT_EXP-v2%20(eff.%207-2022)-20230804165714.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Salon,%20Shop,%20Spa%20&%20Parlor%20License-Reinstatement%20Application%20A450-1213BUS-v17%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804163225.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Salon,%20Shop,%20Spa%20&%20Parlor%20License-Reinstatement%20Application%20A450-1213BUS-v17%20(rev.%209-2023)-20230804163225.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Licensure%20Fee%20Notice,%20A450-1213FEE-v11%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804163257.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Individuals%20-%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213REI-v13%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804163337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Individuals%20-%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213REI-v13%20(rev.%209-2022)-20230804163337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo-Body%20Piercing%20Universal%20App%20A450-1231-41ULR-v1%20(eff.%207-2023)-20230804163158.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo-Body%20Piercing%20Universal%20App%20A450-1231-41ULR-v1%20(eff.%207-2023)-20230804163158.pdf
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 1  Virginia Register of Regulations  August 28, 2023  

35 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(propylamino)-1-butanone 

(other names: 3,4-Methylenedioxy-alpha-

propylaminobutiophenone; N-propyl butylone), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 2-(ethylamino)-1-phenylpentan-1-one (other names:  

N-ethylpentedrone, alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

c. 3,4-methylenedioxy-alpha-cyclohexylaminopropiophenone 

(other name: Cyputylone), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

d. 3,4-methylenedioxy-alpha-cyclohexylmethylaminopro 

piophenone (other name: 3,4-Methylenedioxy-N,N-

cyclohexylmethcathinone), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

e. 3,4-methylenedioxy-alpha-isopropylaminobutiophenone 

(other name: N-isopropyl butylone), its salts, isomers 

(optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

f. 4-chloro-N-butylcathinone (other names: 4-chloro 

butylcathinone, para-chloro-N-butylcathinone), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

g. 4-hydroxy-N-methyl-N-ethyltryptamine (other names: 

4-hydroxy MET, Metocin), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Central nervous system stimulant.  

4-methylmethamphetamine (other names: N-alpha, 

4-trimethyl-benzeneethanamine, 4-MMA), including its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers. 

4. Cannabimimetic agent. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl- 

1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-acetamide 

(other names: ADB-FUBIATA, AD-18, FUB-ACADB), its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 14, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. N,N-diethyl-2-[5-nitro-2-(4-

propoxybenzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl]ethanamine (other 

name: Protonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(cyclohexylamino)butan-1-one 

(other names: Cybutylone, N-cyclohexyl Butylone), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

3. Compounds expected to have depressant properties.  

8-bromo-6-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo 

[4,3-a][1,4]benzodiazepine (other names: Clobromazolam, 

Phenazolam), its salts, isomers (optical, position, and 

geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

4. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. 5-bromo-N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-

1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-5Br-

INACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-5-bromo-

1-butylindazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-5'Br-

BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until July 31, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. 2-methyl-N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenyl 

ethyl)piperidin-4-yl]butanamide (other name: 2-methyl 
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butyryl fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts 

of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and 

salts is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 1-(7-methoxy-1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)propan-2-amine 

(other names: 5-methoxy-3,4-methylenedioxy 

amphetamine, 3-methoxy MDA, MMDA), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 1-[1-(3-chlorophenyl)cyclohexyl]-piperidine (other 

names: 3-Chloro Phencyclidine, 3Cl-PCP, 3-chloro PCP), 

its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Compound expected to have depressant properties.  

7-bromo-5-phenyl-1,3-dihydro-1,4-benzodiazepin-2-one 

(other names: Desalkylgidazepam, Bromonordiazepam), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

4. Compound classified as a cannabimimetic agent. Methyl 

N-[(5-bromo-1H-indazol-3-yl)carbonyl]-3-methyl-valinate 

(other name: MDMB-5Br-INACA), its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until October 12, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

E. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic compounds.  

a. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl) 

pentanamide (other names: para-fluoro valeryl fentanyl, 

para-fluoro pentanoyl fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl] 

acetamide (other name: para-fluoroacetyl fentanyl), its 

isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 

and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties.  

a. 1-[1-(3-fluorophenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other names: 

3-fluoro Phencyclidine, 3F-PCP), its salts, isomers 

(optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 2-(ethylamino)-2-(2-fluorophenyl)-cyclohexanone (other 

names: 2-fluoro-2-oxo PCE, 2-fluoro NENDCK), its salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

3. Central nervous system stimulant. 2-(3-chlorophenyl)-3-

methylmorpholine (other name: 3-chlorophenmetrazine), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 27, 2025, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7478; Filed August 4, 2023, 10:39 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts amendments to regulations of the board to 

schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to subsection 

D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 27, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add five compounds into Schedule I as 

recommended by the Department of Forensic Science 

pursuant to § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. These 

compounds added by regulatory action will remain in 

effect for 18 months or until the compounds are placed in 

Schedule I by legislative action of the General Assembly. 

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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1. Synthetic opioid. 1-(4-cinnamyl-2,6-dimethylpiperazin-1-yl) 

propan-1-one (other name: AP-238), its isomers, esters, 

ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 4-methallyloxy-3,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other 

name: Methallylescaline), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. Alpha-pyrrolidino-2-phenylacetophenone (other name: 

alpha-D2PV), its salts, isomers (optical, position, and 

geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. Ethyl 2-[1-pentyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido]-3,3-

dimethylbutanoate (other name: EDMB-PINACA), its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-phenethyl-

1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-

PHETINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 16, 2023, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. 2-(4-ethoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1-(2-

(pyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl)-1H-benzimidazole (other names: N-

pyrrolidino etonitazene, etonitazepyne), its isomers, esters, 

ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(propylamino)-1-butanone 

(other names: 3,4-Methylenedioxy-alpha-

propylaminobutiophenone; N-propyl butylone), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 2-(ethylamino)-1-phenylpentan-1-one (other names: N-

ethylpentedrone, alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

c. 3,4-methylenedioxy-alpha-cyclohexylaminopropiophenone 

(other name: Cyputylone), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

d. 3,4-methylenedioxy-alpha-cyclohexylmethylaminopro 

piophenone (other name: 3,4-Methylenedioxy-N,N-

cyclohexylmethcathinone), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

e. 3,4-methylenedioxy-alpha-isopropylaminobutiophenone 

(other name: N-isopropyl butylone), its salts, isomers 

(optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

f. 4-chloro-N-butylcathinone (other names: 4-chloro 

butylcathinone, para-chloro-N-butylcathinone), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

g. 4-hydroxy-N-methyl-N-ethyltryptamine (other names: 

4-hydroxy MET, Metocin), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Central nervous system stimulant. 4-methyl 

methamphetamine (other names: N-alpha,4-trimethyl-

benzeneethanamine, 4-MMA), including its salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers. 

4. Cannabimimetic agent. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-

oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-acetamide 

(other names: ADB-FUBIATA, AD-18, FUB-ACADB), its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 14, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. N,N-diethyl-2-[5-nitro-2-(4-

propoxybenzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl]ethanamine (other 
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name: Protonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(cyclohexylamino)butan-1-one 

(other names: Cybutylone, N-cyclohexyl Butylone), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

3. Compounds expected to have depressant properties. 8-

bromo-6-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo 

[4,3-a][1,4]benzodiazepine (other names: Clobromazolam, 

Phenazolam), its salts, isomers (optical, position, and 

geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

4. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. 5-bromo-N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-

1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-5Br-

INACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-5-bromo-

1-butylindazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-5'Br-

BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until July 31, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. 2-methyl-N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-

phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]butanamide (other name: 2-

methyl butyryl fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 1-(7-methoxy-1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)propan-2-amine 

(other names: 5-methoxy-3,4-methylenedioxy 

amphetamine, 3-methoxy MDA, MMDA), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 1-[1-(3-chlorophenyl)cyclohexyl]-piperidine (other 

names: 3-Chloro Phencyclidine, 3Cl-PCP, 3-chloro PCP), 

its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Compound expected to have depressant properties. 7-

bromo-5-phenyl-1,3-dihydro-1,4-benzodiazepin-2-one 

(other names: Desalkylgidazepam, Bromonordiazepam), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

4. Compound classified as a cannabimimetic agent. Methyl 

N-[(5-bromo-1H-indazol-3-yl)carbonyl]-3-methyl-valinate 

(other name: MDMB-5Br-INACA), its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until October 12, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

E. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioids: 

a. 2-(4-isopropoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1-[2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl) 

ethyl]-1H-benzo[d]imidazole (other name: N-Pyrrolidino 

Isotonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 

and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 5-nitro-2-(4-propoxybenzyl)-1-[2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl) 

ethyl]-1H-benzo[d]imidazole (other names: N-

Pyrrolidino Protonitazene, Protonitazepyne), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

c. N-phenyl-N-(1-propionyl-4-piperidinyl)-propanamide 

(other name: N-propionyl Norfentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have depressive properties:  

a. 6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-a] 

[1,4]benzodiazepine (other names: 4'-chloro 

Deschloroalprazolam, 4'Cl-Deschloroalprazolam), its 
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salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

b. 7-chloro-5-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-3H-1,4-benzo 

diazepin-2-one (other names: Diclazepam, 2-Chloro 

diazepam), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 27, 2025, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7580; Filed August 4, 2023, 10:38 a.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS  

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as Nonresident Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Third Party Logistics 

Provider Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Warehouser 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Outsourcing Facility 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Medical Equipment Supplier Permit (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Non-Restricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as Warehouser (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Non-resident Medical 

Equipment Supplier (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 10/2020) 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 8/2023) 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 

Donated Drugs (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Facility to be an Authorized Collector for 

Drug Disposal (rev. 5.2018) 

Application for Re-inspection of a Facility (rev. 3/2023) 

Notification of Distribution Cessation due to Suspicious 

Orders (rev. 5/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7659; Filed August 7, 2023, 11:13 a.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Social Work is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 27, 2023. 
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Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 498 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly expands the 

powers and duties of the Board of Social Work to require 

the board to maintain a list of the names and contact 

information of persons approved by the board to supervise 

candidates for licensure as a clinical social worker and 

allows supervisees pursuing licensure as a clinical social 

worker to change or add a supervisor from the board's list 

of currently approved supervisors without prior approval 

from the board. In response to Chapter 498, the 

amendment changes a requirement to allow that an 

individual obtaining supervised experience who changes 

or adds a supervisor during clinical training only needs to 

register the new supervisor if that supervisor is not 

already board approved. 

18VAC140-20-50. Experience requirements for a licensed 

clinical social worker. 

A. Supervised experience. Supervised post-master's degree 

experience without prior written board approval will not be 

accepted toward licensure, except supervision obtained in 

another United States jurisdiction may be accepted if it met the 

requirements of that jurisdiction. Prior to registration for 

supervised experience, a person shall satisfactorily complete 

the educational requirements of 18VAC140-20-49. 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain 

supervised post-master's degree experience in Virginia shall, 

prior to the onset of such supervision, or whenever there is 

an addition or change of a supervisor to a supervisor not 

currently approved by the board: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board; 

b. Submit a copy of a supervisory contract completed by 

the supervisor and the supervisee; 

c. Submit an official transcript documenting a graduate 

degree and clinical practicum as specified in 18VAC140-

20-49; and 

d. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 

18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Hours. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of 

3,000 hours of supervised post-master's degree experience in 

the delivery of clinical social work services and in ancillary 

services that support such delivery. A minimum of one hour 

and a maximum of four hours of face-to-face supervision 

shall be provided per 40 hours of work experience for a total 

of at least 100 hours. No more than 50 of the 100 hours may 

be obtained in group supervision, nor shall there be more 

than six persons being supervised in a group unless approved 

in advance by the board. The board may consider 

alternatives to face-to-face supervision if the applicant can 

demonstrate an undue burden due to hardship, disability, or 

geography. 

a. Supervised experience shall be acquired in no less than 

two nor more than four consecutive years. 

b. Supervisees shall obtain throughout their hours of 

supervision a minimum of 1,380 hours of supervised 

experience in face-to-face client contact in the delivery of 

clinical social work services. The remaining hours may be 

spent in ancillary services supporting the delivery of 

clinical social work services. 

3. An individual who does not complete the supervision 

requirement after four consecutive years of supervised 

experience may request an extension of up to 12 months. The 

request for an extension shall include evidence that 

demonstrates extenuating circumstances that prevented 

completion of the supervised experience within four 

consecutive years. 

B. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor shall hold an active, unrestricted license as 

a licensed clinical social worker in the jurisdiction in which 

the clinical services are being rendered with at least two 

years of post-licensure clinical social work experience. The 

board may consider supervisors with commensurate 

qualifications if the applicant can demonstrate an undue 

burden due to geography or disability or if supervision was 

obtained in another United States jurisdiction. 

2. The supervisor shall have received professional training 

in supervision, consisting of a three-credit-hour graduate 

course in supervision or at least 14 hours of continuing 

education offered by a provider approved under 18VAC140-

20-105. The graduate course or hours of continuing 

education in supervision shall be obtained by a supervisor 

within five years immediately preceding registration of 

supervision. 

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a family 

member or provide supervision for anyone with whom he 

the supervisor has a dual relationship. 

4. The board may consider supervisors from jurisdictions 

outside of Virginia who provided clinical social work 

supervision if they have commensurate qualifications but 

were either (i) not licensed because their jurisdiction did not 

require licensure or (ii) were not designated as clinical social 

workers because the jurisdiction did not require such 

designation. 

C. Responsibilities of supervisors. The supervisor shall: 

1. Be responsible for the social work activities of the 

supervisee as set forth in this subsection once the 

supervisory arrangement is accepted; 

2. Review and approve the diagnostic assessment and 

treatment plan of a representative sample of the clients 
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assigned to the applicant during the course of supervision. 

The sample should be representative of the variables of 

gender, age, diagnosis, length of treatment, and treatment 

method within the client population seen by the applicant. It 

is the applicant's responsibility to assure ensure the 

representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 

supervisor; 

3. Provide supervision only for those social work activities 

for which the supervisor has determined the applicant is 

competent to provide to clients; 

4. Provide supervision only for those activities for which the 

supervisor is qualified by education, training, and 

experience; 

5. Evaluate the supervisee's knowledge and document 

minimal competencies in the areas of an identified theory 

base, application of a differential diagnosis, establishing and 

monitoring a treatment plan, development and appropriate 

use of the professional relationship, assessing the client for 

risk of imminent danger, understanding the requirements of 

law for reporting any harm or risk of harm to self or others, 

and implementing a professional and ethical relationship 

with clients; 

6. Be available to the applicant on a regularly scheduled 

basis for supervision; 

7. Maintain documentation, for five years post-supervision, 

of which clients were the subject of supervision; and 

8. Ensure that the board is notified of any change in 

supervision or if supervision has ended or been terminated 

by the supervisor. 

D. Responsibilities of supervisees. 

1. Supervisees may not directly bill for services rendered or 

in any way represent themselves as independent, 

autonomous practitioners, or licensed clinical social 

workers. 

2. During the supervised experience, supervisees shall use 

their names and the initials of their degree, and the title 

"Supervisee in Social Work" in all written communications. 

3. Clients shall be informed in writing of the supervisee's 

status and the supervisor's name, professional address, and 

phone telephone number. 

4. Supervisees shall not supervise the provision of clinical 

social work services provided by another person. 

5. While providing clinical social work services, a 

supervisee shall remain under board approved supervision 

until licensed in Virginia as a licensed clinical social worker. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7588; Filed July 31, 2023, 2:47 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities (amending 22VAC40-73-10, 

22VAC40-73-430; adding 22VAC40-73-435). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1802, 63.2-

1805, and 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Effective Date: November 27, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Sharon Lindsay, Associate Director, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 972-0676, FAX (804) 

726-7132, or email sharon.lindsay@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Social Services has the legal 

authority to adopt regulations and requirements for licensing 

assisted living facilities (ALFs) in accordance with §§ 63.2-

217, 63.2-217.1, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1805, and 63.2-1808 of the 

Code of Virginia. The Code of Virginia mandates 

promulgation of regulations to address involuntary discharge 

of ALF residents, including timeframes, notification 

requirements, conditions, and the process for appeal. This 

regulatory action will provide direction for involuntary 

discharge pursuant to § 63.2-1805 of the Code of Virginia as 

required by amendments made by Chapter 706 of the 2022 

Acts of Assembly. 

Purpose: This regulatory change is essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of residents residing in an ALF by 

clearly describing conditions for involuntary discharge from an 

ALF, and requirements to notify residents of their right to 

appeal an involuntary discharge. This action will ensure that 

ALF residents are not discharged inappropriately, and allow 

residents a legal remedy to appeal the discharge if discharge 

requirements are not followed. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking action is expected to be noncontroversial as it is 

required by § 63.2-1805 of the Code of Virginia and therefore 

appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process. This action 

provides ALF and residents requirements for involuntary 

discharge situations and creates a discharge appeal process to 

follow should one be needed. This action is intended to expand 

protections and offer clarification for facilities and residents. 

Substance: The amendments add a definition of "involuntary 

discharge" and clarify the terms and conditions for when and 

how this type of discharge is permitted, including timeframes 

and the option for a resident to appeal the facility's decision to 

discharge as well as providing requirements for an ALF 

resident to appeal certain discharge decisions should that 

resident choose to do so. 
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Issues: The primary advantage of this action for the public is 

allowing residents in an ALF to appeal an involuntary 

discharge, which has not previously been permitted. There are 

no disadvantages to the public from this action. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the agency or Commonwealth, 

as this action is required by § 63.2-1805 of the Code of 

Virginia. There could be disadvantages to the regulated 

programs (ALFs) if the programs do not follow requirements 

when involuntarily discharging residents, as the residents can 

now appeal the discharge, and there is a legal remedy for 

residents that previously did not exist. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a 2022 legislative mandate, the State Board of Social 

Services (Board) is proposing to update the regulation 

governing assisted living facilities (ALFs) to add requirements 

that address the involuntary discharge of a resident, including 

an appeals process.2 

Background. ALFs are nonmedical residential settings that 

provide or coordinate personal and health care services, 24-

hour supervision, and assistance for the care of four or more 

adults who are aged, infirm or disabled.3 Chapter 706 of the 

2022 Acts of Assembly created specific requirements for the 

regulation governing ALFs with respect to the circumstances 

in which residents may be involuntarily discharged, the 

opportunity to appeal an involuntary discharge, and the process 

for such an appeal.4 The legislation specifies that residents may 

only be involuntarily discharged in accordance with Board 

regulations, provided that the ALF has met the regulatory 

requirements and has made reasonable efforts to meet the 

needs of the resident. Further, an involuntary discharge may 

only occur for one of the following reasons: (i) nonpayment of 

contracted charges, provided that the resident has been given 

at least thirty days to cure the delinquency after notice was 

provided to the resident and the resident's legal representative 

or designated contact person; (ii) for the resident's failure to 

substantially comply with the terms and conditions of the 

resident agreement between the resident and the ALF; (iii) if 

the ALF closes in accordance with the regulations;5 or (iv) 

when the resident develops a condition or care need that the 

Code of Virginia or regulation indicate ALFs are not licensed 

to handle.6 

Chapter 706 also requires ALFs to "make reasonable efforts, 

as appropriate, to resolve any issues with the resident upon 

which the decision to discharge is based and document such 

efforts in the resident's file" except when "an emergency 

discharge is necessary due to an immediate and serious risk to 

the health, safety, or welfare of the resident or others." Further, 

the legislation requires an ALF to provide a written discharge 

notice to the resident and the resident's legal 

representative/designated contact person, as well as a copy of 

that notice to the Department of Social Services (DSS) and the 

State Long-Term Care Ombudsman at least 30 days prior to 

the involuntary discharge.7 This notice is required to include 

the ALF's decision to discharge the resident, the reasons for the 

discharge, the date on which the discharge will occur, and 

information regarding the resident's right to appeal within the 

30-day notice period.8 Additionally, the legislation provides 

that the ALF shall provide relocation assistance to the resident 

prior to the involuntary discharge.9 Lastly, the legislation 

directs the Board to "adopt regulations that establish a process 

for appeals filed pursuant to this [legislation]." 

Accordingly, the proposed changes include adding a definition 

in 22VAC40-73-10 for "involuntary discharge" as "when a 

facility requires a resident to move out of the [ALF] and not be 

allowed to return." 22VAC40-73-430 (Discharge of residents) 

would be revised significantly to reorder current requirements 

and incorporate the changes required by Chapter 706. These 

changes are summarized as follows: 

The current requirement that the ALF adopt and conform to a 

written policy that provides for a general notice of an intent to 

move within a certain timeframe would be replaced with the 

more specific requirement that the ALF provide written notice 

30 days prior to discharge. The written notice must include the 

decision to discharge, the reason for discharge, discharge date, 

and the place the resident will be discharged to. 

Reasons for involuntary discharge would be added, identical to 

those listed in statute, as well as the requirement that the 

written notice inform residents and their legal representatives 

of their right to file an appeal within the 30-day notice period. 

Language stating that "the responsibility of moving the 

resident's belongings would rest with the resident or his legal 

representative" would be removed since the regulation does not 

otherwise address residents' responsibilities.10 

Emergency discharge requirements would be updated to 

conform to the changes to § 63.2-1805 of the Code of Virginia 

pursuant to Chapter 706, including that the ALF shall provide 

a copy of the department's discharge notice form to the regional 

licensing office and the State Long-Term Ombudsman within 

five days after the emergency discharge. The emergency 

discharge notice would also have to include information 

regarding the resident's right to appeal within 30 days from the 

emergency discharge date, plus the additional five days granted 

to the ALF to provide the discharge notice following an 

emergency. 

References to "eligibility worker" would be changed to 

"assigned staff at the local department of social services" to 

reflect current terminology. A current requirement that such 

staff be informed at least 14 days prior to the discharge date, 

as well as current exemptions from this requirement for 

emergencies, would be preserved as is. 
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Lastly, 22VAC40-73-435 would be added to incorporate 

requirements promulgated by Chapter 706 relating to appeals 

of emergency or involuntary discharge. This section contains 

the following requirements for ALFs: (i) ALFs shall "assist the 

resident and the resident's legal representative, if any, when the 

resident is filing an appeal";11 (ii) ALFs shall allow the resident 

to continue to reside in the facility, free from retaliation, until 

the appeal has reached its final department case decision, 

except in the case of emergency discharges or if the resident 

has developed a condition or care need prohibited by § 63.2-

1805 D; (iii) the ALF must inform the resident of their 

continued right to reside in accordance with this requirement; 

and (iv) the ALF shall provide a postage prepaid envelope 

addressed to the department to use if the appeal is mailed, if 

requested by the resident. This section would also state that 

residents who have been removed pursuant to an emergency 

discharge can still file an appeal, and note that appeals are 

considered filed upon receipt by the agency's Division of 

Appeals and Fair Hearings. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed changes would 

primarily benefit residents of ALF by clarifying the grounds 

for involuntary discharge, providing them with 30-day written 

notice of an involuntary discharge (or within five days after an 

emergency discharge), establishing a process to appeal the 

involuntary discharge with DSS during the 30-day advance 

notice period (or following an emergency discharge), as well 

as the right to remain in the ALF until the DSS Commissioner 

has made a final case decision (unless an emergency discharge 

has already occurred).12 These changes broadly serve to help 

residents and their families better plan for the residents' 

accommodation and care needs post-discharge. However, 

these changes would create new costs for DSS as well as for 

ALFs. 

DSS reports that their Division of Appeals and Fair Hearings 

would need two staff, a Senior Hearing Officer and an 

Administrative Technician, to process ALF involuntary 

discharge appeals. The reported cost for the staff is $198,034 

for fiscal year (FY) 2023 and $187,708 each year thereafter; 

DSS reports that appropriations for these positions have been 

provided in the state budget.13 In addition, DSS Licensing 

would need to upgrade the licensing information system to 

track and monitor ALF discharges and appeals. The estimated 

one-time cost is $500,000 for FY2023; this amount has also 

been appropriated in the state budget. 

ALFs would incur initial costs relating to updating their 

documentation procedures for involuntary and emergency 

discharges to comply with the written notice and 

recordkeeping requirements. Costs relating to the appeals may 

arise from helping the resident or resident's legal representative 

compile the appeal and send it to DSS. Most of these costs 

would depend on the number of involuntary and emergency 

discharges, and the number of such decisions that are 

appealed.14 An ALF could be particularly impacted if a 

resident appealed an involuntary discharge that was based on 

nonpayment and remained in the facility until DSS made a 

final case determination, while continuing not to pay.15 

However, the likelihood of this happening is unknown; thus, 

while it does not directly create a cost for ALFs, it increases 

the financial risk that they are subject to. 

Generally, ALFs would face reduced flexibility and increased 

oversight in determining whether residents need to be 

discharged. Currently, ALF decisions to discharge individuals 

can only be appealed with the facility, if they have an appeals 

process. The proposed changes may reduce the number of 

discharges if ALFs were discharging individuals on grounds 

that would not meet the new criteria for involuntary or 

emergency discharges or would be likely to face an appeal. 

Essentially, ALFs' ability to turnover residents that were 

expensive to accommodate or care for would be reduced. To 

this extent this occurs it could affect the composition of payors 

in the ALF's resident pool, or the mix of residents' care needs, 

such that the ALFs revenues are decreased or operating costs 

(mainly staffing needs) are increased. However, these costs are 

unavoidable and can be attributed to the legislation requiring 

these changes. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. DSS reports that there 

are currently 564 licensed ALFs. Most are considered small 

businesses. As of March 2022, four ALFs were operated by 

community services boards and one ALF is operated by a 

locality health center commission. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.16 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, the new 

requirements would create new costs for DSS and for ALFs. 

Thus, an adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses17 Affected.18 The proposed amendments do 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected: 

As indicated, DSS reports that most of the 564 licensed ALFs 

would be considered small businesses. DSS does not collect 

information on whether individual licensees meet the criteria 

for small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects: The proposed amendments create 

direct costs in terms of required documentation and procedural 

changes. ALFs may incur costs depending on the number of 

involuntary or emergency discharges they make and the 

number of such discharges that are appealed, as well as face 

additional financial risk since the number and nature of appeals 

may be difficult to predict. ALFs may also incur other indirect 

economic impacts by being restricted in their ability to 

discharge residents. Thus, an adverse economic impact is 

indicated for ALFs. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact: There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and implement the requirements of Chapter 706 or the 2022 

Acts of Assembly. 
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Localities19 Affected.20 As mentioned previously, four ALFs 

are operated by community services boards and one ALF is 

operated by a locality health center commission. These local 

governments would be affected to the extent that any higher 

costs incurred by the ALF are passed on to them. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to impact total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would increase costs and financial risks for ALFs, 

thereby making them less profitable and reducing the value of 

these businesses. The proposed amendment would not affect 

real estate development costs. 

_____________________ 

1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewmandate.cfm?mandateid=1299. 

3See https://www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/alf.cgi. The website further 

specifies that, "Assisted living facilities are not nursing homes. A nursing 

home is a facility in which the primary function is the provision, on a 
continuing basis, of nursing services and health-related services for the 

treatment and inpatient care of two or more non-related individuals. Nursing 

homes are regulated by the Virginia Department of Health." 

4See https://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?221+ful+CHAP0706. 

5The legislation states that a resident may appeal any of the discharge decisions 

based on the other factors, but that an involuntary discharged based on a 
facility's closure is not appealable. 

6Some of these include ventilator dependency, certain types of ulcers, 

intravenous therapy or injections, airborne infectious disease, and individuals 
who present an imminent physical threat or danger to self or others. The list of 

these conditions appears in § 63.2-1805 D of the Code of Virginia. See 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter18/section63.2-1805/. 

7The legislation provides an exception for emergency discharges and requires 

that notice be "provided as soon as possible but not later than five days" after 

the emergency discharge. According to the legislation, these residents retain 
the right to appeal even if they no longer reside in the facility. 

8DSS is required to furnish a discharge notice form that includes information 

regarding the process for initiating an appeal, the number for a toll-free 
information line, a hearing request form, the facility's obligation to assist the 

resident in filing an appeal and provide, upon request, a postage prepaid 

envelope addressed to the agency, and a statement of the resident's right to 
continue to reside in the facility, free from retaliation, until the appeal has a 

final department case decision, subject to an emergency discharge or 

development of a certain type of condition or care need. 

9DSS reports that this requirement appears in the current regulation at 

22VAC40-73-430, and that it does not mean the ALF has to find the resident 

another placement. Rather, the requirement applies to situational assistance 
such as packing belongings, providing a list of possible alternative 

accommodations, working with the family to help the person transition to 

another level of care, and preparing copies of records. 

10See Agency Background Document (ABD), page 7: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73\6132\9853\AgencyState

ment_DSS_9853_v4.pdf. 

11DSS does not believe that this requirement is a conflict of interest, since 

residents "commonly need at least minimal support for instrumental activities 
of daily living," and that this assistance could include contacting family 

members or connecting the resident with an advocate. 

12This decision may be further appealed in court, and it is unclear if the 
resident's right to remain in the ALF would extend through any subsequent 

court proceedings. 

13ABD, page 4. 

14DSS reports that they do not have data on the number of involuntary 

decisions in recent years or how many may be appealed going forward. 

15DSS reports that the Division of Appeals and Fair Hearings has a procedure 
to hold hearings within 90 days of the appeal. Involuntary discharge based on 

nonpayment requires that residents and their representatives be given 30-days' 

notice of nonpayment. Thus, it is possible that a resident may stay for up to 
five months without the ALF receiving payment. 

16Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 
on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 
House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

17Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 

18If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

19"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

20Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 706 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments (i) add a definition of "involuntary 

discharge"; (ii) provide the terms and conditions for an 

involuntary discharge; and (iii) outline an appeal process 

for an assisted living facility resident to appeal certain 

discharge decisions should a resident choose to do so. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewmandate.cfm?mandateid=1299
https://www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/alf.cgi
https://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?221+ful+CHAP0706
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter18/section63.2-1805/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73/6132/9853/AgencyStatement_DSS_9853_v4.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73/6132/9853/AgencyStatement_DSS_9853_v4.pdf
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22VAC40-73-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control, 

and eating/feeding. A person's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining appropriate 

level of care and services. 

"Administer medication" means to open a container of 

medicine or to remove the ordered dosage and to give it to the 

resident for whom it is ordered. 

"Administrator" means the licensee or a person designated by 

the licensee who is responsible for the general administration 

and management of an assisted living facility and who oversees 

the day-to-day operation of the facility, including compliance 

with all regulations for licensed assisted living facilities. 

"Admission" means the date a person actually becomes a 

resident of the assisted living facility and is physically present 

at the facility. 

"Advance directive" means, as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the 

Code of Virginia, (i) a witnessed written document, voluntarily 

executed by the declarant in accordance with the requirements 

of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) a witnessed oral 

statement, made by the declarant subsequent to the time he the 

declarant is diagnosed as suffering from a terminal condition 

and in accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-2983 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a resident who is 

physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 

evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 

defined by 13VAC5-63, the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 

from the structure itself without the assistance of another 

person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, even 

if such resident may require the assistance of a wheelchair, 

walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal command to 

evacuate. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by an 

assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 

with the activities of daily living. Included in this level of 

service are individuals who are dependent in behavior pattern 

(i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. 

"Assisted living facility" means, as defined in § 63.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential setting that 

provides or coordinates personal and health care services, 24-

hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) 

for the maintenance or care of four or more adults who are 

aged, infirm, or disabled and who are cared for in a primarily 

residential setting, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility 

licensed by the State Board of Health or the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, but including 

any portion of such facility not so licensed; (ii) the home or 

residence of an individual who cares for or maintains only 

persons related to him that individual by blood or marriage; 

(iii) a facility or portion of a facility serving infirm or disabled 

persons between the ages of 18 and 21 years, or 22 years if 

enrolled in an educational program for the handicapped 

pursuant to § 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such 

facility is licensed by the department as a children's residential 

facility under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, but including any portion of the facility 

not so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for persons 62 

years of age or older or the disabled that provides no more than 

basic coordination of care services and is funded by the U.S. 

Department of Housing and Urban Development, by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, or by the Virginia Housing 

Development Authority. Included in this definition are any two 

or more places, establishments, or institutions owned or 

operated by a single entity and providing maintenance or care 

to a combined total of four or more aged, infirm, or disabled 

adults. Maintenance or care means the protection, general 

supervision, and oversight of the physical and mental well-

being of an aged, infirm, or disabled individual. 

"Attorney-in-fact" means strictly, one who is designated to 

transact business for another: a legal agent. 

"Behavioral health authority" means the organization, 

appointed by and accountable to the governing body of the city 

or county that established it, that provides mental health, 

developmental, and substance abuse services through its own 

staff or through contracts with other organizations and 

providers. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services. 

"Building" means a structure with exterior walls under one 

roof. 

"Cardiopulmonary resuscitation" or "CPR" means an 

emergency procedure consisting of external cardiac massage 

and artificial respiration; the first treatment for a person who 

has collapsed, has no pulse, and has stopped breathing; and 

attempts to restore circulation of the blood and prevent death 

or brain damage due to lack of oxygen. 

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 

link clients to appropriate services. Case management may 

include a variety of common components such as initial 

screening of needs, comprehensive assessment of needs, 

development and implementation of a plan of care, service 

monitoring, and client follow-up. 

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 

services agency who is qualified and designated to develop and 

coordinate plans of care. 
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"Chapter" or "this chapter" means these regulations, that is, 

Standards for Licensed Assisted Living Facilities, 22VAC40-

73, unless noted otherwise. 

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug that 

is used for discipline or convenience and not required to treat 

the resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from mental 

illness or intellectual disability and that prohibits the resident 

from reaching his highest level of functioning. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his the commissioner's designee, or authorized representative. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means a public body 

established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia that 

provides mental health, developmental, and substance abuse 

programs and services within the political subdivision or 

political subdivisions participating on the board. 

"Companion services" means assistance provided to residents 

in such areas as transportation, meal preparation, shopping, 

light housekeeping, companionship, and household 

management. 

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person and, where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary conservator." 

The term includes (i) a local or regional program designated by 

the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services as a 

public conservator pursuant to Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of 

Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) any local 

or regional tax-exempt charitable organization established 

pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code to 

provide conservatorial services to incapacitated persons. Such 

tax-exempt charitable organization shall not be a provider of 

direct services to the incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt 

charitable organization has been designated by the Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator, 

it may also serve as a conservator for other individuals. 

"Continuous licensed nursing care" means around-the-clock 

observation, assessment, monitoring, supervision, or provision 

of medical treatments provided by a licensed nurse. Individuals 

requiring continuous licensed nursing care may include: 

1. Individuals who have a medical instability due to 

complexities created by multiple, interrelated medical 

conditions; or 

2. Individuals with a health care condition with a high 

potential for medical instability. 

"Days" means calendar days unless noted otherwise. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services, acting 

as an authorized agent of the Commissioner of Social Services. 

"Dietary supplement" means a product intended for ingestion 

that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary supplement, is 

not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, and contains a 

dietary ingredient or ingredients, (e.g., vitamins, minerals, 

amino acids, herbs or other botanicals, dietary substances (such 

as enzymes), and concentrates, metabolites, constituents, 

extracts, or combinations of the preceding types of 

ingredients). Dietary supplements may be found in many 

forms, such as tablets, capsules, liquids, or bars. 

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 

other staff of a facility who assist residents in the performance 

of personal care or daily living activities. 

"Discharge" means the movement of a resident out of the 

assisted living facility. 

"Electronic record" means a record created, generated, sent, 

communicated, received, or stored by electronic means. 

"Electronic signature" means an electronic sound, symbol, or 

process attached to or logically associated with a record and 

executed or adopted by a person with the intent to sign the 

record. 

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 

individual in an assisted living facility when the person's health 

and safety would be jeopardized by denying entry into the 

facility until the requirements for admission have been met. 

"Emergency restraint" means a restraint used when the 

resident's behavior is unmanageable to the degree an 

immediate and serious danger is presented to the health and 

safety of the resident or others. 

"General supervision and oversight" means assuming 

responsibility for the well-being of residents, either directly or 

through contracted agents. 

"Guardian" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated person, 

including responsibility for making decisions regarding the 

person's support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education, 

therapeutic treatment, and, if not inconsistent with an order of 

involuntary admission, residence. Where the context plainly 

indicates, the term includes a "limited guardian" or a 

"temporary guardian." The term includes (i) a local or regional 

program designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public guardian pursuant to Article 

6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of the Code 

of Virginia or (ii) any local or regional tax-exempt charitable 

organization established pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of the Internal 

Revenue Code to provide guardian services to incapacitated 

persons. Such tax-exempt charitable organization shall not be 

a provider of direct services to the incapacitated person. If a 

tax-exempt charitable organization has been designated by the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services as a public 

guardian, it may also serve as a guardian for other individuals. 
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"Habilitative service" means activities to advance a normal 

sequence of motor skills, movement, and self-care abilities or 

to prevent avoidable additional deformity or dysfunction. 

"Health care provider" means a person, corporation, facility, 

or institution licensed by this Commonwealth to provide health 

care or professional services, including a physician or hospital, 

dentist, pharmacist, registered or licensed practical nurse, 

optometrist, podiatrist, chiropractor, physical therapist, 

physical therapy assistant, clinical psychologist, or health 

maintenance organization. 

"Household member" means any person domiciled in an 

assisted living facility other than residents or staff. 

"Imminent physical threat or danger" means clear and present 

risk of sustaining or inflicting serious or life threatening 

injuries. 

"Independent clinical psychologist" means a clinical 

psychologist who is chosen by the resident of the assisted 

living facility and who has no financial interest in the assisted 

living facility, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer, or 

employee or as an independent contractor with the facility. 

"Independent living status" means that the resident is assessed 

as capable of performing all activities of daily living and 

instrumental activities of daily living for himself without 

requiring the assistance of another person and is assessed as 

capable of taking medications without the assistance of another 

person. If the policy of a facility dictates that medications are 

administered or distributed centrally without regard for the 

residents' capacity, this policy shall not be considered in 

determining independent status. 

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen by 

the resident of the assisted living facility and who has no 

financial interest in the assisted living facility, directly or 

indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an 

independent contractor with the facility. 

"Individualized service plan" or "ISP" means the written 

description of actions to be taken by the licensee, including 

coordination with other services providers, to meet the 

assessed needs of the resident. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing these 

activities is a part of determining appropriate level of care and 

services. 

"Intellectual disability" means disability, originating before 

the age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) 

significantly subaverage intellectual functioning as 

demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 

intellectual functioning, administered in conformity with 

accepted professional practice, that is at least two standard 

deviations below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in 

adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 

practical adaptive skills. 

"Intermittent intravenous therapy" means therapy provided 

by a licensed health care professional at medically predictable 

intervals for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 

basis. 

"Involuntary discharge" means when a facility requires a 

resident to move out of the assisted living facility and not be 

allowed to return. 

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible for 

representing or standing in the place of the resident for the 

conduct of his affairs. This may include a guardian, 

conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power of attorney 

("durable power of attorney" defines the type of legal 

instrument used to name the attorney-in-fact and does not 

change the meaning of attorney-in-fact), trustee, or other 

person expressly named by a court of competent jurisdiction or 

the resident as his the resident's agent in a legal document that 

specifies the scope of the representative's authority to act. A 

legal representative may only represent or stand in the place of 

a resident for the function or functions for which he the legal 

representative has legal authority to act. A resident is presumed 

competent and is responsible for making all health care, 

personal care, financial, and other personal decisions that 

affect his the resident's life unless a representative with legal 

authority has been appointed by a court of competent 

jurisdiction or has been appointed by the resident in a properly 

executed and signed document. A resident may have different 

legal representatives for different functions. For any given 

standard, the term "legal representative" applies solely to the 

legal representative with the authority to act in regard to the 

function or functions relevant to that particular standard. 

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 

professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to practice within the scope of his that health care 

professional's profession, such as a nurse practitioner, 

registered nurse, licensed practical nurse (nurses may be 

licensed or hold multistate licensure pursuant to § 54.1-3000 

of the Code of Virginia), clinical social worker, dentist, 

occupational therapist, pharmacist, physical therapist, 

physician, physician assistant, psychologist, and speech-

language pathologist. Responsibilities of physicians referenced 

in this chapter may be implemented by nurse practitioners or 

physician assistants in accordance with their protocols or 

practice agreements with their supervising physicians and in 

accordance with the law. 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, 

corporation, company, or public agency to whom the license is 

issued. 

"Manager" means a designated person who serves as a 

manager pursuant to 22VAC40-73-170 and 22VAC40-73-180. 
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"Mandated reporter" means persons specified in § 63.2-1606 

of the Code of Virginia who are required to report matters 

giving reason to suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an 

adult. 

"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual has 

a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 

activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. An individual who can participate in 

any way with performance of the activity is not considered to 

be totally dependent. 

"Medical/orthopedic restraint" means the use of a medical or 

orthopedic support device that has the effect of restricting the 

resident's freedom of movement or access to his the resident's 

body for the purpose of improving the resident's stability, 

physical functioning, or mobility. 

"Medication aide" means a staff person who has current 

registration with the Virginia Board of Nursing to administer 

drugs that would otherwise be self-administered to residents in 

an assisted living facility in accordance with the Regulations 

Governing the Registration of Medication Aides (18VAC90-

60). This definition also includes a staff person who is an 

applicant for registration as a medication aide in accordance 

with subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-73-670. 

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, emotion, 

perception, or orientation that significantly impairs judgment, 

behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to address 

basic life necessities and requires care and treatment for the 

health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the safety of 

others. 

"Mental impairment" means a disability that reduces an 

individual's ability to reason logically, make appropriate 

decisions, or engage in purposeful behavior. 

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one activity 

of daily living or dependency in one or more of the 

instrumental activities of daily living as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. 

"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more of 

the activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. 

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a resident who by 

reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of self-

preservation without the assistance of another person. 

"Nonemergency restraint" means a restraint used for the 

purpose of providing support to a physically weakened 

resident. 

"Physical impairment" means a condition of a bodily or 

sensory nature that reduces an individual's ability to function 

or to perform activities. 

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical or 

mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or adjacent 

to the resident's body that the resident cannot remove easily, 

which restricts freedom of movement or access to his the 

resident's body. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in any of the 50 states or the 

District of Columbia. 

"Premises" means a building or group of buildings, under one 

license, together with the land or grounds on which located. 

"Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 

to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to issue 

a prescription. 

"Private duty personnel" means an individual hired, either 

directly or through a licensed home care organization, by a 

resident, family member, legal representative, or similar entity 

to provide one-on-one services to the resident, such as a private 

duty nurse, home attendant, personal aide, or companion. 

Private duty personnel are not hired by the facility, either 

directly or through a contract. 

"Private pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is not eligible for an auxiliary grant. 

"Psychopharmacologic drug" means any drug prescribed or 

administered with the intent of controlling mood, mental 

status, or behavior. Psychopharmacologic drugs include not 

only the obvious drug classes, such as antipsychotic, 

antidepressants, and the antianxiety/hypnotic class, but any 

drug that is prescribed or administered with the intent of 

controlling mood, mental status, or behavior, regardless of the 

manner in which it is marketed by the manufacturers and 

regardless of labeling or other approvals by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration. 

"Public pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is eligible for an auxiliary grant. 

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and 

experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities, or if 

referring to a professional, possessing an appropriate degree or 

having documented equivalent education, training, or 

experience. There are specific definitions for "qualified 

assessor" and "qualified mental health professional" in this 

section. 

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 

to perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of 

care for an applicant to or resident of an assisted living facility. 

For public pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an employee 

of a public human services agency trained in the completion of 

the uniform assessment instrument (UAI). For private pay 

individuals, a qualified assessor is an employee of the assisted 

living facility trained in the completion of the UAI or an 

independent private physician or a qualified assessor for public 

pay individuals. 
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"Qualified mental health professional" means a behavioral health 

professional who is trained and experienced in providing 

psychiatric or mental health services to individuals who have a 

psychiatric diagnosis, including (i) a physician licensed in 

Virginia; (ii) a psychologist: an individual with a master's degree 

in psychology from a college or university accredited by an 

association recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education, with at 

least one year of clinical experience; (iii) a social worker: an 

individual with at least a master's degree in human services or 

related field (e.g., social work, psychology, psychiatric 

rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, or 

human services counseling) from a college or university 

accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education, with at least one year of clinical experience providing 

direct services to persons with a diagnosis of mental illness; (iv) a 

registered psychiatric rehabilitation provider (RPRP) registered 

with the International Association of Psychosocial Rehabilitation 

Services (IAPSRS); (v) a clinical nurse specialist or psychiatric 

nurse practitioner licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia with 

at least one year of clinical experience working in a mental health 

treatment facility or agency; (vi) any other licensed mental health 

professional; or (vii) any other person deemed by the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services as having 

qualifications equivalent to those described in this definition. Any 

unlicensed person who meets the requirements contained in this 

definition shall either be under the supervision of a licensed 

mental health professional or employed by an agency or 

organization licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Rehabilitative services" means activities that are ordered by 

a physician or other qualified health care professional that are 

provided by a rehabilitative therapist (e.g., physical therapist, 

occupational therapist, or speech-language pathologist). These 

activities may be necessary when a resident has demonstrated 

a change in his the resident's capabilities and are provided to 

restore or improve his the resident's level of functioning. 

"Resident" means any adult residing in an assisted living 

facility for the purpose of receiving maintenance or care. The 

definition of resident also includes adults residing in an 

assisted living facility who have independent living status. 

Adults present in an assisted living facility for part of the day 

for the purpose of receiving day care services are also 

considered residents. 

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided by 

an assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require only minimal assistance with 

the activities of daily living. Included in this level of service 

are individuals who are dependent in medication 

administration as documented on the uniform assessment 

instrument, although they may not require minimal assistance 

with the activities of daily living. This definition includes the 

services provided by the facility to individuals who are 

assessed as capable of maintaining themselves in an 

independent living status. 

"Respite care" means services provided in an assisted living 

facility for the maintenance or care of aged, infirm, or disabled 

adults for a temporary period of time or temporary periods of 

time that are regular or intermittent. Facilities offering this type 

of care are subject to this chapter. 

"Restorative care" means activities designed to assist the 

resident in reaching or maintaining his the resident's level of 

potential. These activities are not required to be provided by a 

rehabilitative therapist and may include activities such as range 

of motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, assistance 

and instruction in the activities of daily living, psychosocial 

skills training, and reorientation and reality orientation. 

"Restraint" means either "physical restraint" or "chemical 

restraint" as these terms are defined in this section. 

"Safe, secure environment" means a self-contained special care 

unit for residents with serious cognitive impairments due to a 

primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who cannot recognize 

danger or protect their own safety and welfare. There may be one 

or more self-contained special care units in a facility or the whole 

facility may be a special care unit. Nothing in this definition limits 

or contravenes the privacy protections set forth in § 63.2-1808 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Sanitizing" means treating in such a way to remove bacteria and 

viruses through using a disinfectant solution (e.g., bleach solution 

or commercial chemical disinfectant) or physical agent (e.g., 

heat). 

"Serious cognitive impairment" means severe deficit in mental 

capability of a chronic, enduring, or long-term nature that affects 

areas such as thought processes, problem-solving, judgment, 

memory, and comprehension and that interferes with such things 

as reality orientation, ability to care for self, ability to recognize 

danger to self or others, and impulse control. Such cognitive 

impairment is not due to (i) acute or episodic conditions, nor (ii) 

conditions arising from treatable metabolic or chemical 

imbalances, or caused by (iii) reactions to medication or toxic 

substances. For the purposes of this chapter, serious cognitive 

impairment means that an individual cannot recognize danger or 

protect his the individual's own safety and welfare. 

"Significant change" means a change in a resident's condition 

that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does not include 

short-term changes that resolve with or without intervention, a 

short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a well-established, 

predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs and symptoms 

associated with a previously diagnosed condition where an 

appropriate course of treatment is in progress. 

"Skilled nursing treatment" means a service ordered by a 

physician or other prescriber that is provided by and within the 

scope of practice of a licensed nurse. 

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex objectives 

for role performance into simpler components, including basic 
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cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate learning and 

competency. 

"Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a facility 

who are compensated or have a financial interest in the facility, 

regardless of role, service, age, function, or duration of 

employment at the facility. "Staff" or "staff person" also includes 

those individuals hired through a contract with the facility to 

provide services for the facility. 

"Substance abuse" means the use of drugs enumerated in the 

Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), without a compelling medical reason, or alcohol that (i) 

results in psychological or physiological dependence or danger to 

self or others as a function of continued and compulsive use or (ii) 

results in mental, emotional, or physical impairment that causes 

socially dysfunctional or socially disordering behavior; and (iii) 

because of such substance abuse, requires care and treatment for 

the health of the individual. This care and treatment may include 

counseling, rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric care. All 

determinations of whether a compelling medical reason exists 

shall be made by a physician or other qualified medical personnel. 

"Systems review" means a physical examination of the body to 

determine if the person is experiencing problems or distress, 

including cardiovascular system, respiratory system, 

gastrointestinal system, urinary system, endocrine system, 

musculoskeletal system, nervous system, sensory system, and the 

skin. 

"Transfer" means movement of a resident to a different assigned 

living area within the same licensed facility. 

"Trustee" means one who stands in a fiduciary or confidential 

relation to another; especially, one who, having legal title to 

property, holds it in trust for the benefit of another and owes a 

fiduciary duty to that beneficiary. 

"Uniform assessment instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department designated assessment form. There is an alternate 

version of the form that may be used for private pay residents. 

Social and financial information that is not relevant because of the 

resident's payment status is not included on the private pay version 

of the form. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at an assisted living 

facility who is not compensated. An exception to this definition is 

a person who, either as an individual or as part of an organization, 

is only present at or facilitates group activities on an occasional 

basis or for special events. 

22VAC40-73-430. Discharge of residents. 

A. The facility shall adopt and conform to a written policy 

regarding the number of days' notice that is required when a 

resident wishes to move from the facility. The policy shall not 

require more than 30 days' notice for a resident-initiated 

discharge. 

B. When actions, circumstances, conditions, or care needs, or 

resident's preferences occur that will result in the discharge of 

a resident, discharge planning shall begin immediately, and 

there shall be documentation of such, including the beginning 

date of discharge planning. The resident shall be moved within 

30 days, except that if persistent efforts have been made and 

the time frame is not met, the facility shall document the reason 

and the efforts that have been made. The date that discharge 

planning began shall be documented. 

1. The facility shall assist the resident and resident's legal 

representative, if any, in the discharge or transfer process. 

The facility shall help the resident prepare for relocation, 

including discussing the resident's destination. 

2. The facility shall notify the resident, the resident's legal 

representative, and designated contact person, if any, of the 

reason of the discharge and the plan for the discharge to take 

place. 

3. The facility shall provide written discharge notice to the 

resident, the resident's legal representative, and contact 

person, if any, at least 30 days preceding the actual discharge 

date. 

4. The discharge notice shall be dated and include the 

following:  

a. Facility's decision to discharge the resident;  

b. Reasons for discharge;  

c. Date on which the discharge will occur; and  

d. Place the resident will be discharged to. 

5. If the discharge timeframe is not met, although persistent 

efforts have been made, the facility shall document the 

reason. 

B. As soon as discharge planning begins, the assisted living 

facility shall notify the resident, the resident's legal 

representative and designated contact person if any, of the 

planned discharge, the reason for the discharge, and that the 

resident will be moved within 30 days unless there are 

extenuating circumstances relating to inability to place the 

resident in another setting within the time frame referenced in 

subsection A of this section. Written notification of the actual 

discharge date and place of discharge shall be given to the 

resident, the resident's legal representative and contact person, 

if any, and additionally for public pay residents, the eligibility 

worker and assessor, C. The assigned staff at the local 

department of social services and the assessor for public pay 

residents shall be notified at least 14 days prior to the date that 

the resident will be discharged. 

C. The assisted living facility shall adopt and conform to a 

written policy regarding the number of days notice that is 

required when a resident wishes to move from the facility. Any 

required notice of intent to move shall not exceed 30 days. 

D. The facility shall assist the resident and his legal 

representative, if any, in the discharge or transfer process. The 

facility shall help the resident prepare for relocation, including 

discussing the resident's destination. Primary responsibility for 
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transporting the resident and his possessions rests with the 

resident or his legal representative. 

E. When a resident's condition presents an immediate and 

serious risk to the health, safety, or welfare of the resident or 

others and emergency discharge is necessary, the 14-day 

advance notification of planned discharge does not apply, 

although the reason for the relocation shall be discussed with 

the resident and, when possible, his legal representative prior 

to the move. 

F. Under emergency conditions, the D. Emergency discharge 

of residents. 

1. The resident's legal representative, designated contact 

person, family, caseworker, social worker, or any other 

persons, as appropriate, shall be informed as rapidly as 

possible, but no later than the close of the day following 

discharge, of the reasons reason for the move. For public pay 

residents, the eligibility worker and assessor shall also be so 

informed of the emergency discharge within the same time 

frame. No 

2. When an emergency discharge is necessary due to an 

immediate and serious risk to the health, safety, or welfare 

of the resident or others, the department's discharge notice 

form shall be provided as soon as possible, but no later than 

five days after the emergency discharge, the information 

shall be provided in writing to all those notified. The 

department's discharge notice form for emergency discharge 

shall be dated and include the: 

a. Facility's decision to discharge the resident; 

b. Reasons for discharge; 

c. Date on which the discharge will occur; 

d. Place the resident will be discharged to; and 

e. Information regarding the resident's right to appeal 

within 30 days from the emergency discharge date. An 

additional five days is permitted for the resident to appeal 

to allow time for the assisted living facility to provide the 

department's discharge notice form pursuant to § 63.2-

1805 A 5 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. For public pay residents, the assigned staff at the local 

department of social services and assessor shall be informed 

as rapidly as possible of the reason to move. The 14-day 

advance notice of planned discharge described in subsection 

C of this section does not apply when a resident's condition 

presents an immediate and serious risk to the health, safety, 

or welfare to the resident or others, necessitating an 

emergency discharge.  

4. The assisted living facility shall provide a copy of the 

department's discharge notice form to the regional licensing 

office and the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman within 

five days after the emergency discharge. 

E. Involuntary discharge of residents may occur under the 

following circumstances: 

1. For nonpayment of contracted charges, provided that the 

resident has been given at least 30 days to cure the 

delinquency after notice of such nonpayment was provided 

to the resident and the resident's legal representative or 

designated contact person. 

2. For the resident's failure to substantially comply with the 

terms and conditions, as allowed by this chapter, of the 

resident agreement between the resident and assisted living 

facility. 

3. The facility closes in accordance with regulations. 

4. The resident develops a condition or care need that is 

prohibited pursuant to § 63.2-1805 D of the Code of Virginia 

and 22VAC40-73-310 H. 

5. The assisted living facility has met the following 

requirements and the facility has made reasonable efforts to 

meet the needs of the resident: 

a. The facility administrator or designated staff member 

shall ensure that an evaluation of the individual is or has 

been conducted by a qualified mental health professional 

as defined in 22VAC40-73-10 if there are observed 

behaviors or patterns of behavior indicative of mental 

illness, intellectual disability, substance abuse, or 

behavioral disorders, as documented in the uniform 

assessment instrument completed pursuant to § 63.2-1804 

of the Code of Virginia. 

b. If the evaluation indicates a need for mental health, 

developmental, substance abuse, or behavioral disorder 

services, the facility shall provide a notification of the 

resident's need for such services to the designated contact 

person of record when available and a notification of the 

resident's need for such services to the community 

services board or behavioral health authority established 

pursuant to Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia that serves 

the city or county in which the facility is located or other 

appropriate licensed provider. 

c. Unless an emergency discharge is necessary due to an 

immediate and serious risk to the health, safety, or welfare 

of the resident or others, the facility shall, prior to 

involuntarily discharge of a resident, make reasonable 

efforts, as appropriate, to resolve any issues with the 

resident upon which the decision to discharge is based. 

The decision and such efforts shall be documented in the 

resident's file. 

d. The department shall not take adverse action against a 

facility that has demonstrated and documented a continual 

good faith effort to meet the requirements of this 

subsection. 

6. The department's discharge notice form for involuntary 

discharges shall include all requirements of subdivisions B 

3 and B 4 of this section and shall include information 

regarding the resident's right to appeal within the 30-day 

notice period.  
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7. The assisted living facility shall provide a copy of the 

department's discharge notice form to the regional licensing 

office and the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman at least 30 

days prior to an involuntary discharge. 

G. F. For public pay residents, in the event of a resident's 

death, the assisted living facility shall provide written 

notification to the eligibility worker assigned staff at the local 

department of social services and assessor within five days 

after the resident's death. 

H. G. Discharge statement. 

1. At the time of discharge, the assisted living facility shall 

provide to the resident and, as appropriate, his the resident's 

legal representative and designated contact person a dated 

statement signed by the licensee or administrator that 

contains the following information: 

a. The date on which the resident, his the resident's legal 

representative, or designated contact person was notified 

of the planned discharge and the name of the legal 

representative or designated contact person who was 

notified; 

b. The reason or reasons for the discharge; 

c. The actions taken by the facility to assist the resident in 

the discharge and relocation process; and 

d. The date of the actual discharge from the facility and 

the resident's destination. 

2. A copy of the written discharge statement shall be retained 

in the resident's record. 

I. H. When the resident is discharged and moves to another 

caregiving facility, the assisted living facility shall provide to 

the receiving facility such information related to the resident as 

is necessary to ensure continuity of care and services. Original 

information pertaining to the resident shall be maintained by 

the assisted living facility from which the resident was 

discharged. The assisted living facility shall maintain a listing 

of all information shared with the receiving facility. 

J. I. Within 60 days of the date of discharge, each resident or 

his resident's legal representative shall be given a final 

statement of account, any refunds due, and return of any 

money, property, or things of value held in trust or custody by 

the facility. 

22VAC40-73-435. Appeal of an emergency or involuntary 

discharge.  

A. A resident may appeal any involuntary or emergency 

discharge other than discharges resulting from the assisted 

living facility closing in accordance with this chapter. 

B. The facility shall provide the resident with the 

department’s discharge notice form describing the resident’s 

right to appeal and the appeal process pursuant to § 63.2-1805 

of the Code of Virginia. The form shall state that the appeal 

notice shall be sent to the department's Division of Appeals and 

Fair Hearings. 

1. In the event of an emergency discharge, the facility shall 

provide the department's discharge notice form as soon as 

possible, but no later than five days after the emergency 

discharge. 

2. In the event of an involuntary discharge, the facility shall 

provide the department's discharge notice form at least 30 

days prior to an involuntary discharge. 

C. The facility shall assist the resident and resident’s legal 

representative, if any, when the resident is filing an appeal. 

D. The facility shall provide a postage prepaid envelope 

addressed to the department to use if the appeal is mailed, if 

requested by the resident. 

E. The facility shall inform the resident of the resident's rights 

to continue to reside in the facility, free from retaliation, until 

the appeal has a final department case decision unless the 

discharge is an emergency discharge or the resident has 

developed a condition or care need that is prohibited by 

22VAC40-73-310 H in accordance with § 63.2-1805 D of the 

Code of Virginia. 

F. Any appeal of an involuntary discharge must be filed 

within the 30-day discharge notice period. 

G. A resident removed under an emergency discharge and 

who no longer resides in the facility retains the right to file an 

appeal pursuant to § 63.2-1805 of the Code of Virginia and 

22VAC40-73-430 D. 

H. An appeal is considered filed upon receipt by the 

department's Division of Appeals and Fair Hearings.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC40-73) 

Report of Tuberculosis Screening (eff. 10/2011) 

Virginia Department of Health Report of Tuberculosis 

Screening Form (undated) 

Virginia Department of Health TB Control Program Risk 

Assessment Form, TB 512 (eff. 9/2016) 

Assisted Living Facilities Discharge Notice (eff. 8/2023) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7391; Filed July 24, 2023, 9:01 a.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/ALF%20Discharge%20Notice%20and%20Hearing%20Request%20Form%2008-2023-20230808082527.pdf
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Title of Document: Continuing Professional Education 

Violation Penalties Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Effective Date: September 28, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Vasa Clarke, Regulatory Coordinator, Board 

of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, Henrico, VA 

23233, email vasa.clarke@boa.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Career and Technical Education High 

Quality Work-Based Learning Guide 2023-2024. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Effective Date: September 28, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Title of Document: Guidance on Surface Transportation and 

Removal Services. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Effective Date: September 28, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Title of Document: Subaqueous Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Effective Date: September 28, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or 

email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Titles of Documents: Continued Competency Violations for 

Nurses and Licensed Massage Therapists. 

Scope of Practice for Registered Nurses and Licensed Practical 

Nurses. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Effective Date: September 28, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Title of Document: Guidance on Light Adjustable Lens. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Effective Date: September 28, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/226/GDoc_BOA_6553_20230711.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/226/GDoc_BOA_6553_20230711.pdf
mailto:vasa.clarke@boa.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6513_20230424.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6513_20230424.pdf
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6570_20230713.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6570_20230713.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/402/GDoc_MRC_6588_20230725.pdf
mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6575_20230721.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6575_20230721.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6576_20230721.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6576_20230721.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6574_20230721.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Titles of Documents: Approved Chemicals for Use as 

Hydrocarbon or Other Flammable Solvents by Pharmaceutical 

Processors. 

Cannabis Product Packaging Requirements. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2023. 

Effective Date: September 28, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6555_20230615.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6555_20230615.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6555_20230615.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6554_20230614.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Charles City County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for Charles City County for violations 

of State Water Control Law and regulations in Charles City 

County at the Charles City County Administration Building 

sewage treatment plant, Ruthville Community Center 

wastewater treatment plant, Mt. Zion and Rustic water 

treatment plant, and the Hideaway sewage treatment plant. The 

proposed order is available from the DEQ contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforce 

ment-orders. The DEQ contact will accept written comments 

from August 28, 2023, through September 27, 2023. 

Contact Information: Kristen Sadtler, Water Enforcement 

Coordinator and Adjudication Officer, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 664-3864, or email 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Christendom 
Educational Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Christendom 

Educational Corporation for alleged violations in Warren 

County, Virginia. The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) proposes to issue a consent order with penalty to 

Christendom Educational Corporation to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A description 

of the proposed action is available at the DEQ office named 

listed in this notice or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Celeste 

Horton will accept comments from August 28, 2023, through 

September 27, 2023. 

Contact Information: Celeste Horton, Senior Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early 

Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email celeste.horton@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Gardy's Mill Solar LLC 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for Gardy's Mill Solar LLC for 

violations of State Water Control Law and regulations in 

Westmoreland County. The proposed order is available from 

the DEQ contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/ 

enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact will accept written 

comments from August 28, 2023, through September 27, 2023. 

Contact Information: Gary Wooldridge, Enforcement 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 584-6716, 

or email gary wooldridge@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
GDC Contractors Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for GDC 

Contractors Inc. for violations of State Water Control Law and 

regulations and applicable permit at the Range 1 and Range 

14C facilities located in Quantico, Virginia. The proposed 

consent order is available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices. The 

DEQ contact will accept written comments from August 28, 

2023, to September 28, 2023. 

Contact Information: Katherine Mann, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

katherine.mann@deq.virgnia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for William A. Hamp 
III, Trustee, for William A. Hamp III Revocable Trust 

An enforcement action has been proposed for William A. 

Hamp III, Trustee, for William A. Hamp III Revocable Trust 

for violations of State Water Control Law, regulations, and 

applicable permit at the Eastern Clearing Inc. facility located 

in Bealeton, Virginia. The proposed consent order is available 

from the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) contact 

or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices. The 

DEQ contact will accept written comments from August 28, 

2023, to September 28, 2023. 

Contact Information: Jim Datko, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

james.datko@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Dinesh Patel 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for Dinesh Patel for violations of State 

Water Control Law and regulations in Petersburg, Virginia at 

the Traveler's Inn wastewater treatment plant. The proposed 

order is available from the DEQ contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/ 

enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact will accept written 

comments from August 28, 2023, through September 27, 2023. 

Contact Information: Kristen Sadtler, Water Enforcement 

Coordinator and Adjudication Officer, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 664-3864, or email 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:celeste.horton@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Gary%20Wooldridge@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices
mailto:katherine.mann@deq.virgnia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices
mailto:james.datko@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
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Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment 
for a Cleanup Study for the Mountain Run 

Watershed in Culpeper County 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) seeks public comment on the development of a cleanup 

study, also known as a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

report, for the Mountain Run Watershed in Culpeper County. 

These streams are listed as impaired since monitoring data does 

not meet Virginia's water quality standards for polychlorinated 

biphenyls (PCBs). Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and 

§ 62.1-44.19:7 C of the State Water Control Law requires DEQ 

to develop cleanup studies to address pollutants responsible for 

causing waters to be on Virginia's § 303(d) list of impaired 

waters. A component of a cleanup study is the waste load 

allocation (WLA); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant 

to § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code of Virginia for adoption of the 

WLA into the Water Quality Management Planning 

Regulation (9VAC25-720) after completion of the study. The 

adoption of the WLA may require new or additional 

requirements for entities holding a Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permit in the 

Mountain Run Watershed. 

A study has been completed for the Mountain Run Watershed 

to identify pollutant sources and recommend reductions 

needed from the sources to meet water quality standards. At 

the meeting, DEQ will present the results of the study and 

provide an overview of the draft report. Citizens are invited to 

provide comment on the study. 

Cleanup study location: The cleanup study addresses the 

following impaired stream segments: Mountain Run, located 

in Culpeper County, is 24.53 miles long and begins at the outlet 

of Lake Pelham and continues downstream to the confluence 

with the Rappahannock River. Unnamed tributary to Mountain 

Run (stream code 3-XBE), located in Culpeper County, is 0.6 

mile long and begins at the perennial headwaters and continues 

downstream to the confluence with Mountain Run. Unnamed 

tributary to Mountain Run (stream code 3-XIH), located in 

Culpeper County, is 1.12 miles long and begins at the perennial 

headwaters and continues downstream to the confluence with 

Mountain Run. 

Advisory Committee: TMDL Technical Advisory Committee 

meetings to assist in development of this cleanup study were 

convened on January 12, 2021, and July 26, 2022. 

Public meeting: The final public meeting on the development 

of the cleanup study will be held at Culpeper County Board of 

Supervisors conference room, 302 North Main Street, 

Culpeper, Virginia, on September 6, 2023, at 5:30 p.m. In the 

event of inclement weather, the meeting will be held on 

September 14, 2023, at the same time and location provided. 

Public comment period: September 6, 2023, through October 

6, 2023. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, or postal mail. All comments must be received by DEQ 

during the comment period. Submittals must include the name, 

organization being represented (if any), mailing addresses, and 

telephone numbers of the commenter or requester. 

Contact the agency staff listed for public comments, document 

requests, and additional information. The public may review 

the cleanup study at the following website address: 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-

quality/tmdl-development/tmdls-under-development. 

Contact Information: Rebecca Shoemaker, TMDL 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, Northern 

Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, Virginia 

23193, telephone (571) 866-6502, or email 

rebecca.shoemaker@deq.virginia.gov. 

Staunton PV-UT LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - City of Staunton 

Staunton PV-UT LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in the City of Staunton. The project name 

is Staunton Utility Solar Project, the owner is Staunton PV-UT 

LLC, and the project number is RE0000292. The proposed 

project is located on the east side of U.S. Route 11 (Lee 

Highway and Commerce Road) north of State Route 254 on 

approximately 65 acres. The centroid coordinates are 

38.1564100, -79.0462167. The project will have up to a rated 

capacity of 11 megawatts alternating current and use 

approximately 25,000 photovoltaic solar modules affixed to a 

fixed-tilt racking system. The project developer is Oikos Solar 

System Inc. 

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Renewable Energy Permit 

by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

774-8474, or email amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Public Notice for Tidal Wetlands 

Pursuant to Chapter 13 (§ 28.2-1300 et seq.) of Title 28.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, the public is hereby notified that a public 

hearing will be held by the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission (VMRC) at the commission's meeting beginning 

at 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday, August 22, 2023, in the commission 

meeting room at 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, 

Virginia, to consider an application submitted by John Bland 

to construct a new 130-foot long bulkhead two feet 

channelward of an existing bulkhead, four 18-foot long low 

profile groins, each with an eight-foot long T-head and nourish 

the groin areas with beach quality sand, along the York River 

at 361 Simpson Creek Road in King and Queen County. The 

project requires a Tidal Wetlands Permit. View the project 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/tmdl-development/tmdls-under-development
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/tmdl-development/tmdls-under-development
mailto:rebecca.shoemaker@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov
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drawings by selecting 2023-0844 at 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/habitat. 

Comments and inquiries may be submitted prior to the hearing 

to Marine Resources Commission, Habitat Management 

Division, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, 

Virginia 23651. 

If an individual needs reasonable accommodations due to a 

disability, please advise the Commission Secretary at 

telephone (757) 247-2215 no less than five work days prior to 

the meeting time and identify necessary accommodations for 

attendance. 

Contact Information: Beth Howell, Office Manager, Marine 

Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2214.  

Bland Tidal Wetlands Board Meeting 

Pursuant to Chapter 13 (§ 28.2-1300 et seq.) of Title 28.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, the public is hereby notified that a public 

hearing will be held by the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission (VMRC) at the commission's meeting beginning 

at 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday, August 22, 2023, in the commission 

meeting room at 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, 

Virginia, to consider an application submitted by John Bland 

to construct two low profile groins extending 50 feet 

channelward of mean high water, each with a 30-foot long T-

head, along the York River at 195 Shore Drive in King and 

Queen County. The project requires a Tidal Wetlands Permit. 

View the project drawings by selecting 2023-1639 at 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/habitat. 

Comments or inquiries may be submitted prior to the hearing 

to Marine Resources Commission, Habitat Management 

Division, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, 

Virginia 23651. 

If an individual needs reasonable accommodations due to a 

disability, please advise the Commission Secretary at 

telephone (757) 247-2215 no less than five work days prior to 

the meeting time and identify necessary accommodations for 

attendance. 

Contact Information: Beth Howell, Office Manager, Marine 

Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2241. 

Gill Tidal Wetlands Board Meeting 

Pursuant to Chapter 13 (§ 28.2-1300 et seq.) of Title 28.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, the public is hereby notified that a public 

hearing will be held by the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission (VMRC) at the commission's meeting beginning 

at 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday, August 22, 2023, in the commission 

meeting room at 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, 

Virginia, to consider an application submitted by Ranjodh and 

Tejinder Gill to install one riprap revetment, extending a 

maximum six-feet channelward of mean high water, at2030 

Channel View Terrace, which is situated along the James River 

in Chesterfield County. The project requires a Tidal Wetlands 

Permit. View the project drawings by selecting 2019-1126 at 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/habitat. 

Comments or inquiries may be submitted prior to the hearing 

to Marine Resources Commission, Habitat Management 

Division, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, 

Virginia 23651. 

If an individual needs reasonable accommodations due to a 

disability, please advise the Commission Secretary at 

telephone (757) 247-2215 no less than five work days prior to 

the meeting time and identify necessary accommodations for 

attendance. 

Contact Information: Beth Howell, Office Manager, Marine 

Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2241. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Public Hearing for Scheduling Chemicals 
in Schedule I Pursuant to § 54.1-3443 of the  

Code of Virginia 

Pursuant to § 54.1-3443 D of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Pharmacy is giving notice of a public hearing to consider 

placement of chemical substances in Schedule I of the Drug 

Control Act. The public hearing will be conducted at 9:05 a.m. 

on September 26, 2023. Instructions will be included in the 

agenda for the board meeting, also on September 26, 2023. 

Public comment may also be submitted electronically or in 

writing prior to September 26, 2023, via email to Caroline 

Juran, Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy at 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Pursuant to § 54.1-3443 D of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Department of Forensic Science (DFS) has identified two 

compounds for recommended inclusion into Schedule I of the 

Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

The following compound is classified as a synthetic opioid. 

Compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule I 

pursuant to subdivision 1 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of 

Virginia in previous legislative sessions. 

N-ethyl-2-[5-nitro-2-[(4-propan-2-yloxyphenyl)methyl] 

benzimidazol-1-yl]ethanamine (other name: N-desethyl 

Isotonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and 

salts is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

The following compound is classified as a cannabimimetic 

agent. Compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule I 

via subdivision 6 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia in 

previous legislative sessions. 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/habitat.
https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/habitat.
https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/habitat.
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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Ethyl-3,3-dimethyl-2-[(1-(pent-4-enylindazole-3-carbonyl) 

amino]butanoate (other name: EDMB-4en-PINACA), its salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 527-4472. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-410. Regulations for 

the Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia. 

Publication: 37:19 VA.R. 2838-2842 May 10, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2842, DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY 

REFERENCE (12VAC5-410) line 6, remove the link 

behind the words "Facility Guidelines Institute," 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-23; Filed August 21, 2023, 11:30 a.m. 
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