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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 
quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 
as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 
In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 
executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 
regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 
publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 
the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 
opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 
to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 
easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 
of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 
in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 
60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 
committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 
promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 
Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 
the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 
the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 
the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 
or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 
Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 
of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 
require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 
the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 
of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 
additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 
days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 
determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 
period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 
(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 
authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 
Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 
the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 
from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 
process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 
be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 
10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 
emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 
regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from 
its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. 
The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 
Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 
duration; however, may be extended for six months under the 
circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are 
published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 
Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 
the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 
regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 
expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to 
be followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James A. Leftwich, Jr., Vice-Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole 
Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Christopher R. 
Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; 
Amigo R. Wade; Wren M. Williams. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Senior 
Regulations Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2023 through December 2024 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

40:7 November 1, 2023 November 20, 2023 

40:8 November 14, 2023 December 4, 2023 

40:9 November 29, 2023 December 18, 2023 

40:10 December 13, 2023 January 1, 2024 

40:11 December 27, 2023 January 15, 2024 

40:12 January 10, 2024 January 29, 2024 

40:13 January 24, 2024 February 12, 2024 

40:14 February 7, 2024 February 26, 2024 

40:15 February 21, 2024 March 11, 2024 

40:16 March 6, 2024 March 25, 2024 

40:17 March 20, 2024 April 8, 2024 

40:18 April 3, 2024 April 22, 2024 

40:19 April 17, 2024 May 6, 2024 

40:20 May 1, 2024 May 20, 2024 

40:21 May 15, 2024 June 3, 2024 

40:22 May 29, 2024 June 17, 2024 

40:23 June 12, 2024 July 1, 2024 

40:24 June 26, 2024 July 15, 2024 

40:25 July 10, 2024 July 29, 2024 

40:26 July 24, 2024 August 12, 2024 

41:1 August 7, 2024 August 26, 2024 

41:2 August 21, 2024 September 9, 2024 

41:3 September 4, 2024 September 23, 2024 

41:4 September 18, 2024 October 7, 2024 

41:5 October 2, 2024 October 21, 2024 

41:6 October 16, 2024 November 4, 2024 

41:7 October 30, 2024 November 18, 2024 

41:8 November 13, 2024 December 2, 2024 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Department of Environmental Quality conducted 
a periodic review and a small business impact review of 
9VAC15-40, Small Renewable Energy Projects (Wind) 
Permit by Rule, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained as is. The department is publishing its report of 
findings dated September 19, 2023, to support this decision. 
This regulation enhances the department's ability to ensure 
compliance with all specific requirements under the state code 
through the approval of a wind permit by rule for wind energy 
projects with rated capacity not exceeding 150 megawatts. The 
regulation is necessary for the protection of public health and 
welfare, as it is needed to meet the following goals: (i) to 
protect public health and welfare with the least possible cost 
and intrusiveness to the citizens and businesses of the 
Commonwealth; (ii) to provide a streamlined administrative 
mechanism for a "permit by rule," which means the permit 
requirements are set forth "up front" within the regulation, 
rather than being developed on a case-by-case basis, thus 
reducing burdensome and costly permit application, review, 
and issuance procedures; and (iii) to meet specific 
requirements of the Code of Virginia to develop requirements 
for permits by rule for wind energy projects with rated capacity 
not exceeding 150 megawatts 
The regulation provides a permitting process for small 
renewable energy wind projects with a rated capacity greater 
than five megawatts and less than 150 megawatts that is 
protective of human health and the environment. Section 10.1-
1197.6 B 12 of the Code of Virginia requires other necessary 
environmental permits to be obtained in addition to this permit 
by rule (PBR). The department has determined that the 
regulation is clearly written and easily understandable by the 
individuals and entities it affects. It is written so as to permit 
only one reasonable interpretation, is written to adequately 
identify the affected entity, and, insofar as possible, is written 
in nontechnical language. 
This regulation satisfies the provisions of the law and legally 
binding state requirements and is effective in meeting its goals; 
therefore, the regulation is being retained without amendment. 
This regulation continues to be needed as the regulation 
provides applicants with the most cost-effective means of 
fulfilling ongoing state requirements that protect natural and 
historic resources. The regulation also provides a permitting 
process for small renewable energy wind projects. The 
regulation details the permitting process, and a small 
renewable energy wind project is deemed to operate under the 
PBR provision if it meets the requirements of the regulation. 
Other necessary environmental permits will need to be 
obtained in addition to the PBR. 

DEQ received 11 comments from nine individuals and 
organizations during the public comment period. Comments 
from two individuals and organizations were in favor of 
retaining the regulation as is with no amendments. Comments 
from six of the remaining seven individuals and organizations 
were primarily focused on the Rocky Forge Wind Project in 
Botetourt County, Virginia, which is not the subject of this 
periodic review. Several commenters indicated that the small 
renewable energy wind permit by rule program is not "small." 
The definition of a small renewable energy wind permit by rule 
is provided in the statute, which can only be changed by the 
General Assembly, not by regulatory action. 
The regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure 
that the regulated entity is able to meet the entity's legal 
mandate as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. This 
regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 
state law or other state regulation. This regulation was last 
reviewed in 2019. Prior to the 2009 legislation small renewable 
energy projects were to be permitted on a case-by-case basis 
by the Virginia State Corporation Commission. 
For those considering small wind energy projects, there was 
large uncertainty concerning the requirements and potential 
costs of completing a project, as well as how long the 
permitting process would take. The permit by rule framework 
eliminates much of that uncertainty. Applicants need to meet 
the 14 criteria set forth by § 10.1-1197.6 B of the Code of 
Virginia to obtain a permit by rule. Further, the regulations 
specify that the department must render a decision concerning 
the permit application within 90 days. This significant 
reduction in uncertainty is in itself beneficial and will increase 
the likelihood that net beneficial projects will go forward. To 
date, the Rocky Forge Wind project is the only on-shore wind 
project permitted through the wind PBR process. The 
department authorized the use of the small renewable energy 
wind PBR for the Rocky Forge Wind project on March 2, 2017, 
with a modification of the project authorized on October 16, 
2020. 
The department, through examination of the regulation and 
conversations with developers and others in the renewable 
energy sector, has determined that the regulatory requirements 
currently minimize the economic impact of permitting a small 
wind energy project. The statutes and regulation will increase 
the likelihood that small wind energy projects will go forward. 
Consequently, the proposed regulation may have a small 
positive impact on employment. The statutes and proposed 
regulation will reduce risk, time costs, and administrative costs 
for small firms wishing to develop a small wind energy project. 
Contact Information: Susan Tripp, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 664-
3470, or email susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov
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VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Virginia Waste Management Board conducted a 
periodic review and a small business impact review of 
9VAC20-130, Solid Waste Planning and Recycling 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained as is. The board is publishing its report of findings 
dated October 6, 2023, to support this decision. 
This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare and is clearly written and easily 
understandable. This regulation continues to be needed. The 
regulation contains requirements for the content of solid waste 
management plans and details the options localities have when 
developing such plans. Localities may choose to develop their 
own plans or may join with other localities to form solid waste 
planning units. These plans promote source reduction, reuse, 
and recycling of materials, thereby reducing the amount of 
solid waste that needs to be disposed of in landfills. 23 
comments were received during the public comment period, 19 
of which would require a statutory change to address the 
comment. The regulation is written in nontechnical language. 
This regulation is a state-only regulation; there is no equivalent 
federal regulation. This regulation does overlap to an extent 
with the Solid Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81). 
Both regulations address solid waste and the need to properly 
manage solid waste at permitted facilities. Some facilities that 
manage solid waste receive permits from the department that 
are issued through the Solid Waste Management Regulations. 
The regulation was last amended in 2019 to update references 
and be consistent with changes made to the Virginia Hazardous 
Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-60). The regulation 
is currently undergoing review to update references and be 
consistent with other board regulations. The final stage of that 
review will be published in the Virginia Register on October 
23, 2023. Small businesses are not required to develop solid 
waste management plans. Localities may collect information 
from businesses and industries in their localities in developing 
and implementing their plans. This regulation has minimal 
impact on small businesses. 
Contact Information: Sanjay Thirunagari, Programs Manager, 
Virginia Waste Management Board, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 
1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-
1532, or email sanjay.thirunagari@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Notice 
Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Board of Health is 

conducting a periodic review and a small business impact 
review of 12VAC5-90, Regulations for Disease Reporting 
and Control, and 12VAC5-105, Rabies Regulations. The 
review of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 
Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of this review is to 
determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 
amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 
sought on the review of any issue relating to each regulation, 
including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 
protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 
economical performance of important governmental functions; 
(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 
and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 
Public comment period begins November 6, 2023, and ends 
November 27, 2023. 
Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 
Contact Information: Karen Mask, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Office of Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, James 
Madison Building, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 654-9351, or email 
karen.mask@vdh.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a 
periodic review and a small business impact review of 
18VAC41-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained as is. The 
board is publishing its report of findings dated October 5, 2023, 
to support this decision. 
The board's public participation guidelines mirror the 
Department of Planning and Budget's model public 
participation guidelines. The regulation is necessary to 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of regulations. Further, the regulation is clearly 
written and understandable. 
On August 14, 2023, the board voted to retain this regulation 
as is without any change. The regulation continues to mirror 
the model public participation guidelines from the Department 
of Planning and Budget. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/sanjay.thirunagari@deq.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/karen.mask@vdh.virginia.gov
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There is a continued need for this regulation. The board did not 
receive any comments or complaints during the public 
comment period. The regulation is not complex. The regulation 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any other federal 
or state laws or regulations. The regulation was last evaluated 
in 2019 and does not rely on technology, economic conditions, 
or any other factors due to the nature of public participation. 
This regulation outlines the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall as 
the mechanism for notification, registration, and meeting 
procedures for public participation. The board determined that 
the regulation has no economic impact of small businesses as 
this regulation promotes public involvement in the 
development, amendment, or repeal of the regulations of the 
board. 
Contact Information: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a 
periodic review and a small business impact review of 
18VAC41-20, Barbering and Cosmetology Regulations, 
and determined that this regulation should be retained as is. 
The board is publishing its report of findings dated October 4, 
2023, to support this decision. 
The regulation (i) contains the requirements for obtaining a 
license, renewal and reinstatement of licenses, safety and 
sanitation procedures, and standards of professional conduct to 
ensure competence and integrity of all licensees and that the 
health and sanitary standards and safety are adequate in shops, 
salons, schools, and other facilities where barber, cosmetology, 
wax, and nail technician services are provided and (ii) 
administers the regulatory program in accordance with 
Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 
On August 14, 2023, the board voted to retain the regulation as 
is without amendment. In accordance with the Governor's 
Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board is currently 
undertaking a separate action to perform a comprehensive line-
by-line review of this regulation. 
Section 54.1-201 A 1 and A 5 of the Code of Virginia mandate 
the board promulgate regulations. The continued need for the 
regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 
would remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The board provides protection to the safety and 
welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that 
only those individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in 
the statutes and regulations are eligible to receive a barber, 
cosmetology, or nail or wax technician, instructor, salon, or 
school license or temporary permit. The board is also tasked 

with ensuring that the board's regulants meet standards of 
practice that are set forth in the regulation. 
The comments received during the public comment period did 
not pertain to the regulation. The two identical public 
comments received pertained to the Esthetics Regulations 
(18VAC41-70) and reflected concerns regarding the board's 
future discussion of reducing or combining the Esthetics and 
Master Esthetics curriculum and licenses. The board has 
formed a regulatory advisory panel to review this subject. 
The regulation is clearly written and easily understandable and 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law 
or regulation. The most recent periodic review of the regulation 
occurred in 2019. Currently, the board is conducting a 
comprehensive review of the regulation. 
Contact Information: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a 
periodic review and a small business impact review of 
18VAC41-50, Tattooing Regulations, and determined that 
this regulation should be retained as is. The board is publishing 
its report of findings dated October 5, 2023, to support this 
decision. 
The regulation (i) contains the requirements for obtaining a 
license, renewal and reinstatement of licenses, safety and 
sanitation procedures, and standards of professional conduct to 
ensure competence and integrity of all licensees and that the 
health, sanitary, and safety standards are adequate in salons, 
parlors, schools, and other facilities where tattoo, permanent 
cosmetic tattooing, and master permanent cosmetic tattooing 
services are provided; and (ii) administers the regulatory 
program in accordance with Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 
7 (§ 54.-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 
regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 
On August 14, 2023, the board voted to retain the regulation as 
is without amendment. In accordance with the Governor's 
Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board is currently 
undertaking a separate action to perform a comprehensive line-
by-line review of this regulation. 
Section 54.1-201 A 1 and A 6 of the Code of Virginia mandate 
the board promulgate regulations. The continued need for the 
regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 
would remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The board provides protection to the safety and 
welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that 
only those individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in 
the statutes and regulations are eligible to receive a tattooer, 
permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic 
tattooer instructor, parlor, salon, or school license or temporary 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
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permit. The board is also tasked with ensuring that the board's 
regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth in the 
regulation. 
There were no comments or complaints received during the 
public comment period. The regulation is clearly written and 
easily understandable and does not overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 
periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2019. Currently, 
the board is conducting a comprehensive review of the 
regulation. 
Contact Information: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a 
periodic review and a small business impact review of 
18VAC41-60, Body-Piercing Regulations, and determined 
that this regulation should be retained as is. The board is 
publishing its report of findings dated October 5, 2023, to 
support this decision. 
The regulation (i) contains the requirements for obtaining a 
license, renewal and reinstatement of licenses, safety and 
sanitation procedures, and standards of professional conduct to 
ensure competence and integrity of all licensees and that the 
health and sanitary standards and safety are adequate in salons 
and other facilities where body-piercing and body-piercing ear 
only services are provided; and (ii) administers the regulatory 
program in accordance with Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 
7 (§ 54.-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 
regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 
On August 14, 2023, the board voted to retain the regulation as 
is without amendment. In accordance with the Governor's 
Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board is currently 
undertaking a separate action to perform a comprehensive line-
by-line review of this regulation. 
Section 54.1-201 A 1 and A 2 of the Code of Virginia mandate 
the board promulgate regulations. The continued need for the 
regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 
would remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The board provides protection to the safety and 
welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that 
only those individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in 
the statutes and regulations are eligible to receive a body-
piercing or body-piercing ear only license or temporary permit. 
The board is also tasked with ensuring that the board's 
regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth in the 
regulation. 
There were no comments or complaints received during the 
public comment period. The regulation is clearly written and 
easily understandable and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 
periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2019. Currently, 
the board is conducting a comprehensive review of the 
regulation. 
Contact Information: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a 
periodic review and a small business impact review of 
18VAC41-70, Esthetics Regulations, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained as is. The board is publishing its 
report of findings dated October 10, 2023, to support this 
decision. 
The regulation (i) contains the requirements for obtaining a 
license, renewal and reinstatement of licenses, safety and 
sanitation procedures, and standards of professional conduct to 
ensure competence and integrity of all licensees and that the 
health and sanitary standards and safety are adequate in spas, 
schools, and other facilities where esthetics services are 
provided; and (ii) administers the regulatory program in 
accordance with Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 7 (§ 54.1-
700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 
regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 
On August 14, 2023, the board voted to retain the regulation as 
is without amendment. In accordance with the Governor's 
Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board is currently 
undertaking a separate action to perform a comprehensive line-
by-line review of this regulation. 
Section 54.1-201 A 1 and A 2 of the Code of Virginia mandate 
the board promulgate regulations. The continued need for the 
regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 
would remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The board provides protection to the safety and 
welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that 
only those individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in 
the statutes and regulations are eligible to receive an esthetician 
or a master esthetician instructor, salon, or school license or 
temporary permit. The board is also tasked with ensuring that 
the board's regulants meet standards of practice that are set 
forth in the regulation. 
The public comments received addressed concerns regarding 
the board's future discussion of reducing or combining the 
Esthetics and Master Esthetics curriculum and licenses. The 
board has formed a regulatory advisory panel to review this 
subject. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation. The most recent periodic 
review of the regulation occurred in 2019. Currently, the board 
is conducting a comprehensive review of the regulation. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
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Contact Information: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Agency Notice 
Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Funeral 
Directors and Embalmers is conducting a periodic review and 
a small business impact review of 18VAC65-11, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The review of this regulation will 
be guided by the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The 
purpose of this review is to determine whether this regulation 
should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. 
Public comment is sought on the review of any issue relating 
to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is 
necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 
welfare or for the economical performance of important 
governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 
on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 
objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 
easily understandable. 
Public comment period begins November 6, 2023, and ends 
November 27, 2023. 
Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. 
Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 
both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 
Contact Information: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-
4479, or email fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Agency Notice 
Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia the Department of Health 
Professions is conducting a periodic review and a small 
business impact review of 18VAC76-20, Regulations 
Governing the Prescription Monitoring Program. The 
review of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 
Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of this review is to 
determine whether this regulation should be repealed, 
amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 
sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 
including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 
protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 
economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 
and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 
Public comment period begins November 6, 2023, and ends 
November 27, 2023. 
Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. 
Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 
both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 
Contact Information: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 
Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 
Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 
erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Department of State Police conducted a periodic 
review and a small business impact review of 19VAC30-220, 
Virginia Methamphetamine Precursor Information 
System, and determined that this regulation should be retained 
as is. The department is publishing its report of findings dated 
October 17, 2023, to support this decision. 
The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for use of 
and access to the web-accessed database by pharmacies and 
approved law-enforcement agencies to track pseudoephedrine 
(PSE) products. Pharmacies and retailers are currently required 
to capture certain data regarding ephedrine or PSE sales. The 
system enables pharmacies to easily enter the same PSE sales 
data currently being gathered online rather than recording the 
information into a manual log or in-store computer system. The 
regulation allows retailers to opt out of the electronic reporting 
system. 
The regulation is being retained as is without amendment. 
Continued need for the regulation is necessary to promote 
public safety and reduce the improper and illegal use of PSE to 
manufacture methamphetamine. The department did not 
receive any comments or complaints during the 30-day public 
comment period. The regulation is not complex. 
The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 
other federal or state laws or regulations. The regulation is 
evaluated annually and does not rely on technology, economic 
conditions, or any other factors due to the nature of public 
participation. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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The regulation provides a free, cost effective, and easy to use 
system for the reporting of PSE sales. Small businesses only 
need internet access to utilize the system, and the regulation 
provides for small business to opt out of the electronic 
reporting requirements in certain circumstances. 
Contact Information: Keenon Hook, Law Enforcement 
Manager III, Department of State Police, P. O. Box 27472, 
Richmond, VA 23261-7472, telephone (804) 674-2739, or 
email keenon.hook@vsp.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/PeriodicReview/keenon.hook@vsp.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services intends to consider promulgating 2VAC5-455, 
Regulations for Tradespersons Installing Invasive Plant 
Species. The purpose of the proposed action is to develop and 
adopt regulations requiring tradespersons involved with 
proposing or installing plants to provide written notification to 
property owners for all plants proposed for installation that are 
included on the Virginia Department of Conservation and 
Recreation Invasive Plant Species List. The board is directed 
to promulgate the regulation by Chapter 153 of the 2023 Acts 
of Assembly. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 
Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-109 and 3.2-802 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2023. 
Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 
Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, email 
david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7681; Filed October 11, 2023, 11:50 a.m. 

mailto:david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 
from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 
North Ninth Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-151. Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 
Regulation for Discharges of Stormwater Associated with 
Industrial Activity. 
Agency Contact: Joseph Bryan, VPDES Permit Supervisor, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 
Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 659-2659, 
or email joseph.bryan@deq.virginia.gov. 
FORMS 

Chesapeake Bay TMDL Action Plan Form SWGP-VAR05-
CBAP (eff. 7/2019) 

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division Permit 
Application Fee Form, Form 5 (rev. 10/2018) 

VPDES General Permit for Industrial Activity Stormwater 
Discharges (VAR05) Registration Statement, SWGP VAR05-
RS (eff. 7/2014) 

VPDES General Permit for Industrial Activity Stormwater 
Discharges (VAR05) Notice of Termination, SWGP VAR05-
NOT (eff. 7/2014) 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) (eff. 7/2014) 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Change of 
Ownership Form (undated) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7560; Filed October 10, 2023, 3:26 p.m. 

Forms 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 
from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 
North Ninth Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-193. Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 
for Concrete Products Facilities. 
Agency Contact: Joseph B. Bryan, Guidance and Regulation 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 
Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 659-2659, or email joseph.bryan@deq.virginia.gov. 
FORMS  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division Permit 
Application Fee Form, Form 5 (rev. 10/2018) 

Registration Statement for Dischargers Associated with 
Concrete Products Facilities Authorized under VPDES 
General Permit VAG11 (rev. 1/2019) 

Registration Statement for Dischargers Associated with 
Concrete Products Facilities Authorized under VPDES 
General Permit VAG11 (rev. 1/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7707; Filed October 5, 2023, 11:10 a.m. 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 
revision. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-900. Certification of Nonpoint 
Source Nutrient Credits (amending 9VAC25-900-90). 
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.19:20 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: December 6, 2023. 
Agency Contact: Derick Winn, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 965-4875, or email 
derick.winn@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 526 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments allow the Department of Environmental 
Quality to accelerate the release of nutrient credits 

mailto:joseph.bryan@deq.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/Chesapeake%20Bay%20TMDL%20Action%20Plan%20Form%20SWGP-VAR05-CBAP%20eff.%207.2019-20230504132056.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/Chesapeake%20Bay%20TMDL%20Action%20Plan%20Form%20SWGP-VAR05-CBAP%20eff.%207.2019-20230504132056.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/67baa005735%7E11Y.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/67baa005735%7E11Y.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/9338c003382%7E13.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/9338c003382%7E13.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/9338c003382%7E13.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/0dd87003382%7E12.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/0dd87003382%7E12.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/0dd87003382%7E12.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/7a914003382%7E11.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/7a914003382%7E11.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/055ac003382%7E10.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/055ac003382%7E10.pdf
mailto:joseph.bryan@deq.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/67baa005735%7E11Y.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/67baa005735%7E11Y.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/Concrete_Registration_and_Instructions_2024-20231005105307-20231016103651.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/Concrete_Registration_and_Instructions_2024-20231005105307-20231016103651.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/Concrete_Registration_and_Instructions_2024-20231005105307-20231016103651.pdf
mailto:derick.winn@deq.virginia.gov
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generated by a stream restoration project based on (i) a 
determination that the level of risk for restoration failure 
is low; (ii) the provision of additional financial assurance 
in an amount adequate to cover the cost of project repair 
or replacement in the event of failure; and (iii) the 
experience of the applicant who will implement the stream 
restoration project.  

9VAC25-900-90. Nutrient credit release and registration. 

A. Retirement of credits. 

1. Pursuant to the requirements of § 62.1-44.19:20 of the 
Act, 5.0% of the total credits certified will be retired by the 
department at the time of nutrient credit certification and will 
not be placed on the registry for exchange. 

2. When phosphorus credits are acquired in accordance with 
9VAC25-870-69, the associated nitrogen credits generated 
by the nutrient credit-generating project will be retired and 
removed from the registry by the department. 

3. When nitrogen credits are acquired for purposes other 
than compliance with 9VAC25-870-69, the associated 
phosphorus credits generated by the nutrient credit-
generating project shall not be available for compliance 
under 9VAC25-870-69. 

4. Except as limited by this subsection, associated nitrogen 
and phosphorus credits generated by a nutrient credit-
generating project may be exchanged independently. 

B. Schedule of release of nutrient credits. The department 
shall establish a schedule for release of credits as follows: 

1. For nutrient credit-generating projects using land use 
conversion, 25% of the credits will be released by the 
department after the department has verified completion of the 
conditions of the nutrient credit certification. For afforestation 
projects, an additional 25% of credits will be released by the 
department after the site has been planted with a minimum of 
400 woody stems per acre. The remaining balance of credits 
will be released by the department after it is satisfied that the 
implementation plan's performance criteria required pursuant to 
9VAC25-900-120 has been achieved. When a request for credit 
release is made concurrently with the application for nutrient 
credit certification from land conversion practices, the 
concurrent 25% initial release, and additional 25% release if 
planting has occurred, shall be processed on the same timeline 
as the application as provided in 9VAC25-900-80 C. When the 
request for credit release is from a previously approved land 
conversion project, the department shall schedule a site visit, if 
warranted, within 30 days of the request and shall deny, 
approve, or approve with conditions the release of the 
remaining 75% of the nutrient credits within 15 days of the site 
visit or determination that a site visit is not warranted. 

2. For nutrient credit-generating projects using wetland or 
stream restoration, after construction 25% of the credits may be 
released by the department after the department has verified 
completion of the conditions of the nutrient credit certification. 

Every monitoring year thereafter, 25% of the credits may be 
released if all performance standards are met, the area or 
channel is stable, and, for streams, evidence is presented that a 
bankfull event occurred within the monitoring year. For 
streams, if a bankfull event did not occur, but performance 
standards are met and the channel is stable, 10% of the credits 
may be released. No additional credits will be released after the 
fourth monitoring year until a bankfull event has occurred. 
After the fourth monitoring year, if a bankfull event occurs, the 
channel is stable, and all performance standards are met, 25% 
of the credits may be released that monitoring year, not to 
exceed the remaining credits available. The schedule for 
release of credits shall also require, prior to the release of 
credits, the approval of any required financial assurance 
mechanism established pursuant to Part VI (9VAC25-900-
230 et seq.) of this chapter. The department may accelerate 
the release of a maximum of 50% of nutrient credits from a 
stream restoration project based on (i) a determination that 
the level of risk for restoration failure is low; (ii) the 
provision of additional financial assurance in an amount 
adequate to cover the cost of project repair or replacement in 
the event of failure; and (iii) the experience of the applicant 
or the applicant's agents who will implement the stream 
restoration project. 

3. For nutrient credit-generating projects using practices other 
than land use conversion or wetland or stream restoration, the 
schedule for release of credits will be determined by the 
department on a case-by-case basis and provided to the 
applicant with the nutrient credit certification. For projects 
using structural BMPs, the schedule shall also require, prior to 
release of credits, the approval of any required financial 
assurance mechanism established pursuant to Part VI 
(9VAC25-900-230 et seq.) of this chapter. 

C. Registration of nutrient credits. Credits will be placed on the 
registry and classified as term or perpetual credits by the 
department. The registry will also indicate the number of credits 
that have been released for exchange. Only credits released by the 
department are available for exchange. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7325; Filed October 13, 2023, 9:32 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-46. Regulations for 
Children's Residential Facilities (adding 12VAC35-46-
1260, 12VAC35-46-1270). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-408 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: December 7, 2023. 
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Agency Contact: Susan H. Puglisi, Regulatory Research 
Specialist, Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, 1220 Bank 
Street, 4th Floor South, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8043, FAX (804) 371-4609, TDD (804) 371-8977, or 
email susan.puglisi@dbhds.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Item 318 D of Chapter 552 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 
Special Session 1, requires the State Board of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services to align the 
Regulations for Children's Residential Facilities 
(12VAC35-46) with the requirements of the federal Family 
First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA) for children's 
residential service providers who accept Title IV-E 
funding to meet the standards as qualified residential 
treatment programs (QRTPs). The amendments require 
QRTPs to (i) have a trauma-informed treatment model; 
(ii) have registered licensed nursing staff and licensed 
clinical staff who are available 24 hours a day and seven 
days a week; (iii) facilitate outreach to the family members 
of the child; (iv) facilitate participation of family members 
in the child's treatment program; (v) provide or arrange 
discharge planning and family-based aftercare support 
for at least six months after discharge; and (vi) be licensed 
and accredited by an independent, not-for-profit 
accrediting organization approved by the U.S. Secretary 
of Health and Human Services. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

12VAC35-46-1260. Qualified residential treatment 
programs.  

A. A qualified residential treatment program (QRTP) shall 
have a trauma-informed treatment model that is designed to 
address the needs, including clinical needs as appropriate, of 
children with serious emotional or behavioral disorders or 
disturbances and, with respect to a child, is able to implement 
the treatment identified for the child. 

B. In addition to the staffing requirements within Part II 
(12VAC35-46-170 et seq.) through Part VI (12VAC35-46-
1120 et seq.) of this chapter, a QRTP shall have registered or 
licensed nursing staff and other licensed clinical staff who:  

1. Provide care within the scope of their practice as defined 
by state law; 

2. Are on-site according to the treatment model referred to 
in subsection A of this section; and 

3. Are available 24 hours a day and seven days a week.  

The QRTP is not required to acquire nursing or other clinical 
staff solely through means of a direct employer to employee 
relationship.  

C. To the extent appropriate and in accordance with the 
child's best interests, the QRTP shall facilitate participation of 
family members in the child's treatment program. 

D. The QRTP shall facilitate outreach to the family members 
of the child, including siblings, document how the outreach is 
made, including contact information, and maintain contact 
information for any known biological family and fictive kin of 
the child. Documentation of outreach to family members and 
contact information of family members shall be placed within 
the child's record at the QRTP.  

E. The QRTP shall document how family members are 
integrated into the treatment process for the child, including 
after discharge, and how sibling connections are maintained. 
Documentation of family member integration shall be placed 
within the child's record at the QRTP.  

F. The QRTP shall provide or ensure discharge planning and 
family-based aftercare support for at least six months 
following discharge. 

G. The QRTP shall be licensed in accordance with 42 USC 
§ 471(a)(10) and accredited by any of the following 
independent nonprofit organizations:  

1. The Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 
Facilities (CARF); 

2. The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations (JCAHO); 

3. The Council on Accreditation (COA); or 

4. Any other independent, nonprofit accrediting organization 
approved by the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human 
Services.  

12VAC35-46-1270. Additional requirements for QRTP 
placements for children within the custody of local social 
service boards.  

A. The qualified residential treatment program (QRTP) 
shall coordinate with the local departments of social 
services, the child's biological family members, relative and 
fictive kin of the child, and, as appropriate, professionals 
who are a resource to the family of the child, such as 
teachers, clergy, or medical or mental health providers who 
have treated the child. 

B. All documents related to a child's need for placement 
shall be placed within the child's record at the qualified 
residential treatment program, including the assessment 
determination of the qualified individual, as defined in 
42 USC § 675a(c)(1)(D)(i), and the written documentation 
of the approval or disapproval of the placement in a 
qualified residential treatment program by a court or 
administrative body. 
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C. This section shall not apply to direct parental 
placements of children into the QRTP that are made outside 
of the social services system.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6861; Filed October 17, 2023, 9:18 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 
revision. 
Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-85. Recording and Reporting 
Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (amending 16VAC25-
85-1904.41, Appendix A to Subpart E; adding Appendix B 
to Subpart E). 
Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2024. 
Agency Contact: Cristin Bernhardt, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 
East Main Street, Suite 207, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2392, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 
cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (OSHA) amended its Recording and 
Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses regulation 
to improve tracking of workplace illnesses and injuries by 
requiring certain employers to electronically submit 
injury and illness information to OSHA that employers are 
already required to keep under the recordkeeping 
regulation. The amendments (i) require establishments 
with 100 or more employees in certain designated 
industries to electronically submit information from 
OSHA Form 300 and Form 301 to OSHA once a year; (ii) 
update NAICS codes used in Appendix A of Subpart E, 
which designates the industries required to submit Form 
300A data; (iii) add Appendix B to Subpart E, which 
designates the industries required to submit Form 300 and 
Form 301 data; and (iv) require an establishment to 
include its company name when making electronic 

submissions to OSHA. In this regulatory action, the Safety 
and Health Codes Board is adopting this final rule. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 of 
the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1904 (Recording and 
Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses) is declared a 
document generally available to the public and appropriate for 
incorporation by reference. For this reason, this document will 
not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A copy 
of the document is available for inspection at the Department 
of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 
North Ninth Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
Statement of Final Agency Action: On September 18, 2023, 
the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 
final rule to Improve Tracking of Workplace Injuries and 
Illnesses, as published in 88 FR 47346 through 88 FR 47349 
on July 21, 2023, with an effective date of January 1, 2024. 
Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulation as 
set forth in the final rule for Recording and Reporting 
Occupational Injuries and Illnesses is applied to the 
Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry or to 
Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be 
considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry 

Agency Department 

January 1, 2024 January 1, 2024 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7702; Filed October 17, 2023, 10:00 a.m. 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission is claiming an exemption from 
Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4006 A 15 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 
regulations adopted pursuant to § 65.2-605 of the Code of 
Virginia, including regulations that adopt, amend, adjust, or 
repeal Virginia fee schedules for medical services, provided 
the commission (i) utilizes a regulatory advisory panel 
constituted as provided in § 65.2-605 F 2 of the Code of 
Virginia to assist in the development of such regulations and 
(ii) provides an opportunity for public comment on the 
regulations prior to adoption. The commission will receive, 
consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 16VAC30-110. Medical Fee Schedules 
Regulations (amending 16VAC30-110-10, 16VAC30-110-
20). 
Statutory Authority: § 65.2-605 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: December 6, 2023. 
Agency Contact: James J Szablewicz, Chief Deputy 
Commissioner, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission, 
333 East Franklin Street, Richmond VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 205-3097, FAX (804) 823-6936, or email 
james.szablewicz@workcomp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments include the 2024 Medical Fee Schedules 
that will be applicable to medical services rendered in 
workers' compensation cases during the period from 
January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2025. 

16VAC30-110-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Commission" means the Virginia Workers' Compensation 
Commission. 

"Community" means one of the six medical communities as 
defined in § 65.2-605 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Ground rules" means: 

1. For medical services rendered during the period from 
January 1, 2018, through December 31, 2019, means the 
2018 Medical Fee Schedule Ground Rules adopted by the 
commission on June 13, 2017, and revised on November 14, 
2017 July 18, 2019, incorporated by reference in this chapter 
and available on the commission's website at 
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-
medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules https://www.work 
comp.virginia.gov/documents/2018-mfs-ground-rules. 

2. For medical services rendered during the period from 
January 1, 2020, through December 31, 2021, means the 
2020 Medical Fee Schedule Ground Rules adopted by the 
commission on July 18, 2019, and revised on October 17, 
2019, incorporated by reference in this chapter and available 
on the commission's website at 
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-
medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules https://www.work 
comp.virginia.gov/documents/2020-medical-fee-schedules-
ground-rules. 

3. For medical services rendered during the period from 
January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2023, means the 
2022 Medical Fee Schedule Ground Rules adopted by the 
commission on June 29, 2021, incorporated by reference in 
this chapter and available on the commission's website at 
http://websiteqa/documents/2022-medical-fee-schedules-

ground-rules https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/ 
documents/2022-medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules. 

4. For medical services rendered during the period from 
January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2025, means the 
2024 Medical Fee Schedule Ground Rules adopted by the 
commission on August 17, 2023, incorporated by reference 
in this chapter and available on the commission's website at 
https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/medical-fee-
services/2024-medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules. 

"Medical services" means any medical, surgical, or hospital 
service required to be provided to an injured person pursuant 
to Title 65.2 of the Code of Virginia, exclusive of a medical 
service provided in the treatment of a traumatic injury or 
serious burn as those terms are defined in § 65.2-605 A of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia fee schedules" means: 

1. For medical services rendered during the period from 
January 1, 2018, through December 31, 2019, means the 
2018 Medical Fee Schedules adopted by the commission on 
June 13, 2017, and revised on November 14, 2017, 
incorporated by reference in this chapter and available on the 
commission's website at 
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-
medical-fee-schedules https://www.workcomp.virginia. 
gov/content/2018-medical-fee-schedule. 

2. For medical services rendered during the period from 
January 1, 2020, through December 31, 2021, means the 
2020 Medical Fee Schedules adopted by the commission on 
July 18, 2019, and revised on October 17, 2019, incorporated 
by reference in this chapter and available on the 
commission's website at 
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-
medical-fee-schedules https://www.workcomp.virginia. 
gov/content/2020-virginia-medical-fee-schedules. 

3. For medical services rendered during the period from 
January 1, 2021 2022, through December 31, 2022 2023, 
means the 2022 Medical Fee Schedules adopted by the 
commission on June 29, 2021, incorporated by reference in 
this chapter and available on the commission's website at 
http://websiteqa/content/2022-virginia-medical-fee-
schedules https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/ 
2022-virginia-medical-fee-schedules. 

4. For medical services rendered during the period from 
January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2025, means the 
2024 Medical Fee Schedules adopted by the commission on 
August 17, 2023, incorporated by reference in this chapter 
and available on the commission's website at 
https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/medical-fee-
services/2024-medical-fee-schedules. 
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16VAC30-110-20. Applicability of fee schedules and 
ground rules; determination of communities. 

A. The Virginia fee schedules and ground rules shall apply to 
all medical services rendered on or after January 1, 2018, 
regardless of the date of injury. 

B. The applicable community for providers of medical 
services rendered in the Commonwealth shall be determined 
by the zip code of the location where the services were 
rendered. C. The applicable community for providers of 
medical services rendered outside of the Commonwealth shall 
be determined by the zip code of the principal place of business 
of the employer if located in the Commonwealth or, if no such 
location exists, then the zip code of the location where the 
commission hearing regarding a dispute concerning the 
services would be conducted. 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Virginia Workers' Compensation 2018 Medical Fee 
Schedules Ground Rules, adopted June 13, 2017, revised 
November 14, 2017 July 18, 2019, Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission 

Virginia Workers' Compensation 2020 Medical Fee 
Schedules Ground Rules, adopted July 18, 2019, revised on 
October 17, 2019, Virginia Workers' Compensation 
Commission 

Virginia Workers' Compensation 2022 Medical Fee 
Schedules Ground Rules, adopted June 29, 2021, Virginia 
Workers' Compensation Commission 

Virginia Workers' Compensation 2024 Medical Fee 
Schedules Ground Rules, adopted August 17, 2023, Virginia 
Workers' Compensation Commission 

2018 Virginia Workers' Compensation Medical Fee 
Schedules, adopted June 13, 2017, revised November 14, 
2017, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission, 
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-
fee-schedules https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/ 
2018-medical-fee-schedule 

2020 Virginia Workers' Compensation Medical Fee 
Schedules adopted July 18, 2019, and revised on October 17, 
2019, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission, 
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-
fee-schedules https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/ 
2020-virginia-medical-fee-schedules 

2022 Medical Fee Schedules adopted June 29, 2021, Virginia 
Workers' Compensation Commission, 
http://websiteqa/content/2022-virginia-medical-fee-schedules 
https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/2022-virginia-
medical-fee-schedules 

2024 Medical Fee Schedules adopted August 17, 2023, 
Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission, 

https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/medical-fee-services/ 
2024-medical-fee-schedules 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7711; Filed October 12, 2023, 2:03 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Common Interest Community 
Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 
a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 
necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 
the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 
The board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-45. Time-Share Regulations 
(amending 18VAC48-45-110, 18VAC48-45-130, 18VAC48-
45-160, 18VAC48-45-190, 18VAC48-45-310, 18VAC48-45-
350). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2349 and 55.1-2247 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2024. 
Agency Contact: Tanya Pettus, Administrator, Common 
Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, FAX (866) 
490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Chapters 52 and 53 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly remove 
the requirement under the Virginia Real Estate Time-
Share Act (§ 55.1-2200 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) that 
a time-share instrument state whether the developer 
reserves the right to add or delete any alternative 
purchase and replaces it with a requirement that the 
developer disclose in its public offering statement for a 
time-share program whether the developer will offer any 
alternative purchase. The amendments conform 
applicable provisions of the regulation to the legislation.  

18VAC48-45-110. Prerequisites for registration of a time-
share program. 

The following provisions are prerequisites for registration 
and are supplementary to the provisions of § 55.1-2239 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

1. The developer shall own or have the right to acquire an 
estate in the land constituting or to constitute any time-share 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2018%20Ground%20Rules-20231017164955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2018%20Ground%20Rules-20231017164955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2018%20Ground%20Rules-20231017164955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2018%20Ground%20Rules-20231017164955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2020%20Ground%20Rules-20231017165115.pdf
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2022%20Ground%20Rules-20231017165312.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2024%20Ground%20Rules-20231017165400.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2024%20Ground%20Rules-20231017165400.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2024%20Ground%20Rules-20231017165400.pdf
https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/2018-medical-fee-schedule
https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/2018-medical-fee-schedule
https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/2020-virginia-medical-fee-schedules
https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/2020-virginia-medical-fee-schedules
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https://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/medical-fee-services/2024-medical-fee-schedules
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project included in the time-share program that is of at least 
as great a degree and duration as the estate to be conveyed 
in the time-shares. 

2. The time-share instrument of any time-share project 
included in the time-share program must be adequate to 
bring a time-share project and time-share program into 
existence upon recordation. This subdivision does not apply 
to a time-share instrument that may be recorded after the 
time-share project and time-share program have been 
created. 

3. The time-share instrument must include a statement 
detailing that the developer reserves or does not reserve the 
right to add or delete any alternative purchase. 

4. 3. The current and planned time-share advertising 
activities of the developer shall comply with § 18.2-216 of 
the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

5. 4. If the developer is a firm, it shall be organized as a 
business entity under the laws of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia or otherwise authorized to transact business in 
Virginia. Firms shall register any trade or fictitious names 
with the State Corporation Commission in accordance with 
Chapter 5 of Title 59.1 (§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of the Code of 
Virginia before submitting an application to the board. 

18VAC48-45-130. Minimum application requirements for 
registration of a time-share program. 

A. The documents and information contained in §§ 55.1-
2208, 55.1-2209, 55.1-2210, 55.1-2214, 55.1-2217, and 55.1-
2239 of the Code of Virginia, as applicable, shall be included 
in the application for registration of a time-share program. 

B. The application for registration of a time-share program 
shall include the fee specified in 18VAC48-45-70. 

C. The following documents shall be included in the 
application for registration of a time-share program as exhibits. 
All exhibits shall be labeled as indicated and submitted in a 
format acceptable to the board. 

1. Exhibit A: A copy of the certificate of incorporation or 
certificate of authority to transact business in Virginia 
issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, or 
any other entity formation documents, together with any 
trade or fictitious name certificate. 

2. Exhibit B: A certificate of recordation or other 
acceptable documents from the city or county where the 
time-share is located. 

3. Exhibit C: A copy of the title opinion, the title policy, or 
a statement of the condition of the title to each time-share 
project included in the time-share program, including 
encumbrances as of a specified date within 30 days of the 
date of application by a title company or licensed attorney 
who is not a salaried employee, officer, or director of the 

developer or owner, in accordance with subdivision A 5 of 
§ 55.1-2239 of the Code of Virginia. If the developer is not 
the record owner of the land, a copy of any contract the 
developer has executed to purchase the land, any option the 
developer holds for the purchase of the land, or any lease 
under which the developer holds the land. 

4. Exhibit D: Proof that the applicant or developer owns 
or has the right to acquire an estate in the land constituting 
or to constitute each time-share project included in the 
time-share program, which is of at least as great a degree 
and duration as the estate to be conveyed in the time-
share. 

5. Exhibit E: A statement of the zoning, subdivision, or 
land use obligations or proffers and other governmental 
regulations affecting the use of each time-share project 
included in the time-share program, including the site 
plans and building permits and their status, any existing 
tax, and existing or proposed special taxes or assessments 
that affect the time-share. 

6. Exhibit F: A copy of the time-share instrument, 
including all applicable amendments and exhibits, that 
will be delivered to a purchaser and copies of the 
contracts and other agreements that a purchaser will be 
required to agree to or sign. 

7. Exhibit G: A narrative description of the promotional 
plan for the disposition of the time-shares. 

8. Exhibit H: A copy of the proposed public offering 
statement that complies with § 55.1-2217 of the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter. Pursuant to subsection H of 
§ 55.1-2217, a similar disclosure statement required by 
other situs laws governing time-sharing may be submitted 
for a time-share located outside of the Commonwealth. 

9. Exhibit I: A copy of the buyer's acknowledgment. 
Pursuant to § 55.1-2226 of the Code of Virginia, the 
purchaser shall be given this document prior to signing a 
purchase contract, and the document shall contain the 
information required by subsection B of § 55.1-2226. 

10. Exhibit J: The signed original of (i) any bond or letter 
of credit obtained pursuant to § 55.1-2220 of the Code of 
Virginia in lieu of escrowing deposits and (ii) any bond 
or letter of credit required by subsection B of § 55.1-2234 
of the Code of Virginia, as applicable. 

11. Exhibit K: A copy of any management agreements 
and other contracts or agreements affecting the overall 
use, maintenance, management, or access of all or any 
part of the time-share program. 

12. Exhibit L: A list with the names of every officer, 
manager, owner, or principal, as applicable to the type of 
firm under which the developer is organized to do 
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business, of the developer or persons occupying a similar 
status within or performing similar functions for the 
developer. The list must include each individual's 
residential address or other address valid for receipt of 
service, principal occupation for the past five years, and 
title. 

13. Exhibit M: A statement whether any of the individuals 
or entities named in Exhibit L are or have been involved 
as defendants in any indictment, conviction, judgment, 
decree, or order of any court or administrative agency 
against the developer or managing entity for violation of 
a federal, state, local, or foreign country law or regulation 
in connection with activities relating to time-share sales, 
land sales, land investments, security sales, construction 
or sale of homes or improvements, or any similar or 
related activity. 

14. Exhibit N: A statement whether, during the preceding 
five years, any of the individuals or entities named in 
Exhibit L have been adjudicated bankrupt or have 
undergone any proceeding for the relief of debtors. 

15. Exhibit O: If the developer has reserved the right to 
add to or delete from the time-share program any 
incidental benefit or alternative purchase, a description of 
the incidental benefit or alternative purchase shall be 
provided pursuant to subdivision A 13 of § 55.1-2239 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

16. Exhibit P: For any time-share program containing a 
conversion time-share project, a copy of the notice 
required by subsection D of § 55.1-2217 of the Code of 
Virginia and a certified statement that such notice shall be 
mailed or delivered to each of the tenants in the building 
of each conversion time-share project included in the 
time-share program. 

18VAC48-45-160. Contents of public offering statement. 

A. A cover, if used, must be blank or bear identification 
information only. 

B. The developer may include as part of the public offering 
statement a receipt page printed in such a way that the 
developer may obtain verification that a prospective 
purchaser has received the public offering statement. The 
receipt page shall include the effective date of the public 
offering statement as well as a place for the date of delivery 
and signature lines for the prospective purchaser. The 
authorized receipt page in proper form, duly executed, shall 
be evidence that the public offering statement was 
delivered. 

C. The first page of the public offering statement shall be 
substantially as follows: 

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT FOR 
THE PURCHASER'S PROTECTION 

PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT 

NAME OF 
TIME-SHARE 
PROGRAM: _______________________________ 

LOCATION OF 
TIME-SHARE 
PROJECT: _______________________________ 

NAME OF 
DEVELOPER: _______________________________ 

ADDRESS OF 
DEVELOPER: _______________________________ 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE OF 
PUBLIC 
OFFERING 
STATEMENT: _______________________________ 

REVISED: _______________________________ 

THE PURCHASER OF A TIME-SHARE MAY CANCEL 
THE CONTRACT UNTIL MIDNIGHT OF THE SEVENTH 
CALENDAR DAY FOLLOWING THE EXECUTION OF 
SUCH CONTRACT. THE PURCHASER SHOULD READ 
THIS DOCUMENT FOR THE PURCHASER'S OWN 
PROTECTION. 

Purchasing a time-share carries with it certain rights, 
responsibilities, and benefits, including certain financial 
obligations, rights, and restrictions concerning the use and 
maintenance of units and common elements. The purchaser 
will be bound by the provisions of the time-share instruments 
and should review the Public Offering Statement, the time-
share instruments, and other exhibits carefully prior to 
purchase. 

This Public Offering Statement presents information 
regarding time-share(s) being offered for sale by the developer. 
The Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act (§ 55.1-2200 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia) requires that a Public Offering 
Statement be given to every Purchaser in order to provide full 
and accurate disclosure of the characteristics of and material 
circumstances affecting the time-share program and the 
characteristics of the time-share(s) being offered. The Public 
Offering Statement is not intended, however, to be all-
inclusive. The Purchaser should consult other sources for 
details not covered by the Public Offering Statement. 

The Public Offering Statement summarizes information and 
documents furnished by the developer to the Virginia Common 
Interest Community Board. The Board has carefully reviewed 
the Public Offering Statement but does not guarantee the 
accuracy or completeness of the Public Offering Statement. In 
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the event of any inconsistency between the Public Offering 
Statement and the material it is intended to summarize, the 
material shall control. 

If the Purchaser elects to cancel the contract within the seven-
day cancellation period, all payments made in connection with 
the purchase contract shall be refunded to the Purchaser within 
45 days. If the Purchaser elects to cancel the contract, the 
Purchaser shall do so either by (i) hand-delivering the notice to 
the developer at its principal office or at the project or (ii) 
mailing the notice by certified United States mail, return 
receipt requested, to the developer or its agent designated in 
the contract. 

Allegations of violation of any law or regulation contained in 
the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act or the Time-Share 
Regulations (18VAC48-45) should be reported to the Common 
Interest Community Board, Perimeter Center, Suite 400, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Richmond, Virginia 23233. 

D. A summary of important considerations shall immediately 
follow the first page for the purpose of reinforcing the 
disclosure of significant information. The summary shall be 
titled as such and shall be introduced by the following 
statement: "The following are important matters to be 
considered in acquiring a time-share. They are highlights only. 
The Public Offering Statement should be examined in its 
entirety to obtain detailed information." Appropriate 
modifications shall be made to reflect facts and circumstances 
that may vary. The summary shall consist of, but not be limited 
to, the following, as applicable: 

1. A brief description of the time-share program and any 
time-share project included in the time-share program. 

2. A statement regarding all incidental benefits or alternative 
purchases that may be offered by the developer. 

3. A brief description of all amenities located within or 
outside of any time-share project included in the time-share 
program and available to time-share owners by virtue of 
ownership in the time-share program. If such amenities are 
not common elements of the time-share project, identify who 
owns the amenities and whether time-share owners are 
required to pay to access and use. 

4. A statement describing any exchange program that may 
be offered to the purchaser. 

5. A statement describing (i) the purchaser's responsibility to 
make principal and interest payment in connection with the 
purchase of the time-share as well as to pay maintenance 
fees or assessments, special assessments, user fees, 
insurance premiums, and real estate taxes and (ii) that a time-
share owner cannot reduce the amount of any owner 
obligation for any reason. 

6. A statement regarding the consequences for failure to pay 
maintenance fees or any special assessment when due. The 
statement may reference the enforcement mechanisms 

available to the developer, and if applicable the association, 
by describing (i) any declaration of an owner being an 
"Owner Not in Good Standing"; (ii) any civil action taken 
for the collection of a debt; (iii) means for pursuing 
foreclosure or obtaining a lien against the time-share unit; 
and (iv) denial of access to the time-share project and 
participation in the time-share program. 

7. A statement indicating whether the developer or managing 
agent has indictments, convictions, judgments, decrees, or 
order of any court or administrative agency for matters 
related to fraud or consumer protection violations that may 
be required to be disclosed by subdivisions A 1 c and A 1 d 
of § 55.1-2217 of the Code of Virginia. 

8. A statement indicating the period of time the developer 
will retain control of the association. 

9. A statement disclosing any management agreement with 
a managing agent to perform certain duties for any time-
share project included in the time-share program. 

10. A statement indicating whether the developer may 
expand the time-share program. 

11. A statement indicating whether the right of the time-
share owner to resell or transfer the time-share is subject to 
restrictions. 

12. A statement indicating the time-share units are restricted 
to lodging only. 

13. A statement indicating that the time-share owner may not 
alter the interior or exterior of the time-share unit. 

14. A statement regarding the obligation of the developer or 
association to obtain certain insurance benefiting the time-
share owner. 

15. A statement regarding a time-share estate and time-share 
owner's obligation to pay real estate taxes. 

16. A statement regarding whether or not the developer 
reserves the right to add or delete any alternative purchase. 

E. The content after the summary of important considerations 
shall include the narrative sections in 18VAC48-45-170 
through 18VAC48-45-310. Supplementary sections may be 
included as necessary. 

F. Clear and legible copies of the following documents shall 
be included as either supplements or exhibits to the public 
offering statement: 

1. Time-share instrument; 

2. Association articles of incorporation; 

3. Bylaws; 

4. Association annual report or projected budget for time-
share estate programs; 

5. Rules and regulations of the association, if available; 
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6. Any management contract, if applicable; 

7. Exchange program disclosure document and narrative 
statement required pursuant to subsection B of § 55.1-2217 
of the Code of Virginia, if applicable; and 

8. Other documents obligating the association or time-share 
owner to perform duties or obligations or pay charges or 
fees, if applicable. 

G. Other information and documentation may be included as 
necessary to ensure full and accurate disclosure. The board 
may also require additional information as necessary to ensure 
full and accurate disclosure. 

18VAC48-45-190. Narrative sections; description of time-
share project. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Description of the Time-Share Project." The section 
shall provide a general description of any time-share project 
included in the time-share program and the units and common 
elements promised available to purchasers. This section shall also 
provide the developer's estimated schedule of commencement and 
completion of all promised and incomplete units and common 
elements. 

B. The section shall state whether the developer has reserved the 
right to add and delete from the time-share program a time-share 
project or any incidental benefit or alternative purchase. 

C. The section shall refer the purchaser to the reverter deed for 
an explanation if the developer utilized the possibility of a 
reverter. 

D. The section shall indicate all provisions that have been made 
for public utilities in the time-share project, including water, 
electricity, telephone, and sewerage facilities. 

18VAC48-45-310. Narrative sections; alternative purchase 
and incidental benefit. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section entitled 
"Alternative Purchases and Incidental Benefits." The section 
shall state whether or not the developer has reserved the right 
to add to or delete from the time-share program any incidental 
benefit or. The section must state whether the developer will 
offer any alternative purchase. The section shall state that such 
alternative purchase has been or will be registered with the 
board. 

18VAC48-45-350. Nonmaterial changes to the public 
offering statement. 

Changes to the public offering statement that are not material are 
not required to be filed with the board, shall not be deemed an 
amendment of the public offering statement for the purposes of 
this chapter, and shall not give rise to a renewed right of rescission 
in any purchase. Nonmaterial changes to the public offering 
statement include the following: 

1. Correction of spelling, grammar, omission, or other similar 
errors not affecting the substance of the public offering 
statement; 

2. Changes in presentation or format; 

3. Substitution of an executed, filed, or recorded copy of a 
document for the otherwise substantially identical unexecuted, 
unfiled, or unrecorded copy of the document that was 
previously submitted; 

4. Inclusion of updated information such as identification or 
description of the current officers and directors of the 
developer; 

5. Disclosure of completion of improvements for improvements 
that were previously proposed or not complete; 

6. Changes in real estate tax assessment or rate or modifications 
related to those changes; 

7. Changes in utility charges or rates or modifications related to 
those changes; 

8. Addition or deletion of incidental benefits or alternative 
purchases provided the developer reserved in the time-share 
instrument the right to add or delete incidental benefits or 
alternative purchases; 

9. Adoption of a new budget that does not result in a significant 
change in fees or assessments or significantly impact the rights 
or obligations of the prospective purchasers; 

10. Modifications related to changes in insurance company or 
financial institution, policy, or amount for bonds or letters of 
credit filed with the board in accordance with § 55.1-2220 of 
the Code of Virginia or required pursuant to § 55.1-2234 of the 
Code of Virginia; 

11. Changes in personnel of the managing agent; and 

12. Any change that is the result of orderly development of the 
time-share in accordance with the time-share instruments as 
described in the public offering statement. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 
forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 
the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 
of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 
The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 
be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, 4th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (18VAC48-45) 

Time-Share Registration/Amendment Application A492-
0515REG-v6 (eff. 5/2021) 

Time-Share Registration/Amendment Application A492-
0515REG-v7 (eff. 8/2023) 

Time-Share Program Annual Report A492-0515ANRPT-v6 
(eff. 3/2021) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0515REG-v7_08-24-2023_pdf-20230926163157.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0515REG-v7_08-24-2023_pdf-20230926163157.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0515ANRPT-v6_03-01-2021-20210225141150.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0515ANRPT-v6_03-01-2021-20210225141150.pdf
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Time-Share Building Status Form A492-0515BLDST-v2 
(eff. 3/2021) 

Time-Share Bond/Letter of Credit Verification Form A492-
0515BOND-v4 (eff. 3/2021) 

Time-Share Exchange Program Registration Application 
A492-0516REG-v3 (eff. 4/2020) 

Time-Share Exchange Program Annual Report A492-
0516ANRPT-v2 (eff. 1/2020) 

Alternative Purchase Registration Application A492-
0524REG-v4 (eff. 3/2021) 

Alternative Purchase Annual Report A492-0524ANRPT-v3 
(eff. 3/2021) 

Time-Share Reseller Registration Application A492-
0525REG-v4 (eff. 4/2020) 

Time-Share Reseller Lead Dealer Change Form A492-
0525LDCHG-v2 (eff. 1/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7523; Filed October 11, 2023, 9:18 a.m. 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Common Interest Community 
Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 
a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 
necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 
the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 
The board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC48-50. Common Interest 
Community Manager Regulations (amending 18VAC48-
50-140, 18VAC48-50-190). 
18VAC48-60. Common Interest Community Association 
Registration Regulations (amending 18VAC48-60-14). 
18VAC48-70. Common Interest Community Ombudsman 
Regulations (amending 18VAC48-70-60). 
Statutory Authority: 
§ 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia (18VAC48-50-140, 
18VAC48-50-190, 18VAC48-60-14). 
§§ 54.1-2349 and 54.1-2354.4 of the Code of Virginia 
(18VAC48-70-60). 
Effective Date: January 1, 2024. 
Agency Contact: Tanya Pettus, Administrator, Common 
Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, FAX (866) 
490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 388 of the 2023 Acts of 
Assembly, which repeals provisions pertaining to 

disclosure requirements for the resale of lots or units in 
developments subject to the Property Owners' Association 
Act (§ 55.1-1800 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 
Virginia Condominium Act (§ 55.1-1900 of the Code of 
Virginia), and the Virginia Real Estate Cooperative Act 
(§ 55.1-2100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and 
consolidates these into the new Resale Disclosure Act 
(§ 55.1-2307 of the Code of Virginia), the amendments 
conform applicable provisions of Common Interest 
Community Board regulations to the new provisions of 
Chapter 23.1 of Title 55.1, including (i) providing that the 
board may assess a monetary penalty or issue a cease and 
desist order against a common interest community 
manager for failure to deliver a resale certificate or 
updated resale certificate as required by Chapter 23.1 of 
Title 55.1 of the Code of Virginia; (ii) removing the 
stipulation that a disclosure packet or resale certificate is 
deemed not available if the common interest community 
association does not have a current registration with the 
board; and (iii) prohibiting the collection of authorized 
fees for resale certificates if the certificate is not 
registered with the board, current in filing an annual 
report, and current in paying any assessment made by the 
board pursuant to § 54.1-2354.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-50-140. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

A. The board may place a regulant on probation, impose a 
monetary penalty in accordance with § 54.1-202 A of the Code 
of Virginia, or revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew any license 
or certificate when the regulant has been found to have violated 
or cooperated with others in violating any provisions of the 
regulations of the board or Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-2345 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. In accordance with § 55.1-2314 D of the Code of Virginia, 
the board may assess a monetary penalty or issue a cease and 
desist order against a common interest community manager for 
failure to deliver a resale certificate or updated resale 
certificate as required by Chapter 23.1 (§ 55.1-2307 et seq.) of 
Title 55.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-50-190. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may result 
in disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Violating, inducing another to violate, or cooperating with 
others in violating any of the provisions of any of the 
regulations of the board; Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-2345 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; or Chapter 18 (§ 55.1-
1800 et seq.), Chapter 19 (§ 55.1-1900 et seq.), or Chapter 
21 (§ 55.1-2100 et seq.), or Chapter 23.1 (§ 55.1-2307 et 
seq.) of Title 55.1 of the Code of Virginia or engaging in any 
acts enumerated in §§ 54.1-102 and 54.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

2. Allowing a license or certificate issued by the board to be 
used by another. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0515BLDST-v2_03-01-2021-20210225141440.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0515BLDST-v2_03-01-2021-20210225141440.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0515BOND-v4_03-01-2021-20210225141708.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0515BOND-v4_03-01-2021-20210225141708.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/7109c006308%7E2f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/7109c006308%7E2f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/22a77006328%7E5f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/22a77006328%7E5f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0524REG-v4_03-01-2021-20210225142108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0524REG-v4_03-01-2021-20210225142108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0524ANRPT-v3_03-01-2021-20210225142258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0524ANRPT-v3_03-01-2021-20210225142258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/ceaed006308%7E4f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/ceaed006308%7E4f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0525LDCHG-v2_01-01-2020_pdf-20220404171543.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC48/forms/A492-0525LDCHG-v2_01-01-2020_pdf-20220404171543.pdf
mailto:cic@dpor.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 6  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 6, 2023  

357 

3. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license or certificate 
by false or fraudulent representation, or maintaining, 
renewing, or reinstating a license or certificate by false or 
fraudulent representation. 

4. A regulant having been convicted, found guilty, or 
disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 
enumerated in 18VAC48-50-180. 

5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days that 
the regulant was convicted, found guilty, or disciplined in 
any jurisdiction of any offense or violation enumerated in 
18VAC48-50-180. 

6. Failing to report a change as required by 18VAC48-50-
150 or 18VAC48-50-170. 

7. The intentional and unjustified failure to comply with the 
terms of the management contract, operating agreement, or 
association governing documents. 

8. Engaging in dishonest or fraudulent conduct in providing 
management services. 

9. Failing to satisfy any judgments or restitution orders 
entered by a court or arbiter of competent jurisdiction. 

10. Egregious or repeated violations of generally accepted 
standards for the provision of management services. 

11. Failing to handle association funds in accordance with 
the provisions of § 54.1-2353 A of the Code of Virginia or 
18VAC48-50-160. 

12. Failing to account in a timely manner for all money and 
property received by the regulant in which the association 
has or may have an interest. 

13. Failing to disclose to the association material facts 
related to the association's property or concerning 
management services of which the regulant has actual 
knowledge. 

14. Failing to provide complete records related to the 
association's management services to the association within 
30 days of any written request by the association or within 
30 days of the termination of the contract unless otherwise 
agreed to in writing by both the association and the common 
interest community manager. 

15. Failing upon written request of the association to provide 
books and records such that the association can perform 
pursuant to §§ 55.1-1815 (Property Owners' Association 
Act), 55.1-1945 (Virginia Condominium Act), and 55.1-
2151 (Virginia Real Estate Cooperative Act) of the Code of 
Virginia. 

16. Commingling the funds of any association by a principal, 
his a principal's employees, or his a principal's associates 
with the principal's own funds or those of his the principal's 
firm. 

17. Failing to act in providing management services in a 
manner that safeguards the interests of the public. 

18. Advertising in any name other than the name in which 
licensed. 

19. Failing to make use of a legible, written contract clearly 
specifying the terms and conditions of the management 
services to be performed by the common interest community 
manager. The contract shall include the following: 

a. Beginning and ending dates of the contract; 
b. Cancellation rights of the parties; 
c. Record retention and distribution policy; 
d. A general description of the records to be kept and the 
bookkeeping system to be used; and 
e. The common interest community manager's license 
number. 

20. Performing management services or accepting payments 
prior to the signing of the contract by an authorized official 
of the licensed firm and the client or the client's authorized 
agent. 

18VAC48-60-14. Association registration, generally. 

A. Within the meaning and intent of § 54.1-2349 A 8 of the 
Code of Virginia, an association is registered upon acceptance 
by the board of an a current annual report and issuance of a 
certificate of filing by the board in accordance with 18VAC48-
60-15 and 18VAC48-60-17. 

B. In accordance with §§ 55.1-1808 and 55.1-1990 of the 
Code of Virginia, for an association governing a condominium 
or for any property owners' association that does not have a 
current registration with the board in accordance with §§ 55.1-
1835 and 55.1-1980 of the Code of Virginia, the disclosure 
packet or resale certificate, as applicable, is deemed not 
available. 

C. A property owners' B. In accordance with § 55.1-2316 E 
of the Code of Virginia, an association that is not (i) registered 
with the board, (ii) current in filing the most recent annual 
report with the board pursuant to § 55.1-1835 of the Code of 
Virginia, and (iii) current in paying any assessment made by 
the board pursuant to § 54.1-2354.5 of the Code of Virginia is 
prohibited from collecting fees for disclosure packets resale 
certificates authorized by §§ 55.1-1810 and 55.1-1811 § 55.1-
2316 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. C. In accordance with §§ 54.1-2351 and 54.1-2352 of the 
Code of Virginia, the board may take action against the 
governing board of an association that fails to register in 
accordance with this chapter, which action may include 
issuance of a cease and desist order and an affirmative order to 
file an annual report or assessment of a monetary penalty of 
not more than $1,000. 
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18VAC48-70-60. Distribution of association complaint 
procedure. 

A. The association complaint procedure must be readily 
available upon request to all members of the association and 
citizens. 

B. The association complaint procedure shall be included as 
an attachment to the resale certificate or the association 
disclosure packet described in § 55.1-2310 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7527; Filed October 11, 2023, 9:22 a.m. 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Common Interest Community 
Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 
a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 
necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 
the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 
The board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-70. Common Interest 
Community Ombudsman Regulations (amending 
18VAC48-70-110, 18VAC48-70-120; adding 18VAC48-70-
105). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2349 and 54.1-2354.4 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2024. 
Agency Contact: Tanya Pettus, Administrator, Common 
Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, FAX (866) 
490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 20 and 21 of the 2023 Acts of 
Assembly, the amendments conform applicable provisions 
of the regulation to the legislation. Substantive 
amendments include (i) adding a new section to provide 
that upon receipt of a notice of final adverse decision, the 
Office of the Common Interest Community Ombudsman 
may either refer the adverse decision to the Common 
Interest Community Board for further review of whether 
the adverse decision is in conflict with the laws or board 
regulations governing common interest communities or 
review the adverse decision as provided in the board's 
regulation; (ii) requiring that upon receipt of a notice of 
final adverse decision, the Office of the Common Interest 
Community Ombudsman must provide a written copy of 
the notice to the governing board and, if applicable, the 
common interest community manager of the association 
that made the final adverse decision; (iii) providing that if 
the Director of the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation determines that a final adverse 

decision is in conflict with the laws or regulations 
governing common interest communities, the director 
must provide the governing board and, if applicable, the 
common interest community manager of the association, 
with the determination; and (iv) providing that if within 
365 days of issuing a determination to an association that 
an adverse decision is in conflict with laws or regulations 
governing common interest communities, the director 
receives a subsequent notice of final adverse decision for 
the same violation by the association, the director must 
refer the repeat violation to the Common Interest 
Community Board, which must take action in accordance 
with § 54.1-2351 or 54.1-2352 of the Code of Virginia as 
deemed appropriate by the board. 

18VAC48-70-105. Receipt of notice of final adverse 
decision.  

In accordance with § 54.1-2354.3 B 3 of the Code of Virginia, 
upon receipt of a notice of final adverse decision, the Office of 
the Common Interest Community Ombudsman may either (i) 
refer such adverse decision to the board for further review of 
whether such adverse decision is in conflict with the laws or 
board regulations governing common interest communities or 
interpretations thereof by the board; or (ii) review such adverse 
decision in accordance with the requirements of this part. 

18VAC48-70-110. Review of final adverse decision. 

Upon receipt of the notice of final adverse decision from the 
complainant, along with the filing fee or a board-approved 
waiver of filing fee, the Office of the Common Interest 
Community Ombudsman shall provide written 
acknowledgment of receipt of the notice to the complainant 
and shall provide a copy of the written notice to the governing 
board and, if applicable, the common interest community 
manager of the association that made the final adverse 
decision. The notice of adverse decision will not be reviewed 
until the filing fee has been received or a waiver of filing fee 
has been granted by the board. 

In accordance with § 54.1-2354.4 C of the Code of Virginia, 
additional information may be requested from the association 
that made the final adverse decision. Upon request, the 
association shall provide such information to the Office of the 
Common Interest Community Ombudsman within a 
reasonable time. 

18VAC48-70-120. Decision from the notice of final adverse 
decision. 

A. Upon review of the notice of final adverse decision in 
accordance with § 54.1-2354.4 C of the Code of Virginia, if 
the director determines that the final adverse decision may be 
in conflict with laws or regulations governing common interest 
communities or interpretations thereof by the board, the 
director may, in his sole discretion, must provide the 
complainant and the governing board and, if applicable, the 
common interest community manager of the association with 

mailto:cic@dpor.virginia.gov
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information concerning such laws or regulations governing 
common interest communities or interpretations thereof by the 
board. 

B. The determination of whether the final adverse decision 
may be in conflict with laws or regulations governing common 
interest communities or interpretations thereof by the board 
shall be a matter within the sole discretion of the director. Such 
decision is final and not subject to further review. The 
determination of the director shall not be binding upon the 
complainant or the association that made the final adverse 
decision. 

C. In accordance with § 54.1-2354.4 C of the Code of 
Virginia, if within 365 days of issuing a determination that an 
adverse decision is in conflict with laws or board regulations 
governing common interest communities or interpretations 
thereof by the board, the director receives a subsequent notice 
of final adverse decision for the same violation by the 
association, the director must refer the repeat violation to the 
board, which must take action in accordance with § 54.1-2351 
or 54.1-2352 of the Code of Virginia, as deemed appropriate 
by the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7529; Filed October 11, 2023, 9:24 a.m. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 
Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-10, 
18VAC50-30-30, 18VAC50-30-41, 18VAC50-30-70, 
18VAC50-30-90, 18VAC50-30-140 through 18VAC50-30-
200; adding 18VAC50-30-25; repealing 18VAC50-30-20). 
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

December 12, 2023 - 3 p.m. - Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor Conference Center, Training Room 2, Richmond, 
Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 5, 2024. 
Agency Contact: Marjorie King, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 
email contractor@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia authorizes for 
the Board for Contractors to administer the licensure and 
certification programs for tradesmen, gas fitters, liquefied 
petroleum gas fitters, natural gas fitter providers, water well 
systems providers, elevator mechanics, residential building 
energy analysts, backflow prevention device workers, and 
automatic fire sprinkler inspectors. Section 54.1-201 of the 
Code of Virginia provides the powers and duties of regulatory 
boards, including to establish the qualifications of applicants 
for certification or licensure by any such board and to 

promulgate regulations necessary to ensure continued 
competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 
practitioners, and to effectively administer the regulatory 
system administered by the regulatory board.  
Purpose: The General Assembly has charged the board with 
the responsibility for regulating those who (i) engage, or offer 
to engage in, work as a tradesman (electrician, plumber, and 
HVAC technician), gas fitter, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or 
natural gas fitter provider; (ii) engage in the drilling, 
installation, maintenance, or repair of a water well or water 
well system; (iii) engage in, or offer to engage in, work as an 
elevator mechanic or accessibility mechanic; (iv) engage in, or 
offer to engage in, work as a residential building energy 
analyst; (v) present themselves as a certified backflow 
prevention device worker; and (vi) perform or offer to perform 
inspections of automatic fire sprinkler systems, by requiring 
that such individuals obtain the appropriate licensure or 
certification. 
The performing of trade-related work by those who lack 
sufficient expertise poses a risk to the public health, safety, and 
welfare. These risks include the potential for significant 
damage to property, personal injury, and death. In addition, the 
improper performing of trade-related work can pose a 
substantial risk of financial harm to property owner who will 
be responsible for assuming costs to correct or complete work 
that is defective. 
Substance: The proposed amendments (i) revise numerous 
terms that are used in the regulation, but which are already 
defined in statute; (ii) repeal 18VAC50-30-20 and replace it 
with a new section 18VAC50-30-25, which will provide for 
application procedures that reflects current agency practice and 
is consistent with application procedures for other Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation programs; (iii) 
clarify and simplify provisions pertaining to the disclosure of 
criminal convictions for consistency with § 54.1-204 of the 
Code of Virginia; (iv) revise the application fees; (v) provide 
that the expiration date of a reinstated tradesman is three years 
from the previous expiration date; (vi) clarify the board's 
authority to impose regulatory discipline; and (vii) clarify the 
prohibited acts enumerated in the section for which any 
violation may result in disciplinary action by the board and 
make the regulation more consistent with the provisions of 
§ 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 
Issues: The primary advantages to the public and the regulated 
community are that the amendments to the regulation will 
update and clarify the regulatory provisions; reduce regulatory 
burdens, while still protecting the public health, safety, and 
welfare; and remove requirements in the regulation that are not 
necessary to protect the public welfare. There are no 
identifiable disadvantages to the public, regulated community, 
or the Commonwealth. The primary advantage of the 
regulatory change to the Commonwealth is that it will permit 
the agency to more ably administer the licensure program. 

mailto:contractor@dpor.virginia.gov
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 
the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 
Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 
estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 
analysis.1 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Executive Directive Number One (2022),2 the 
Board for Contractors (board) proposes to clarify the 
regulatory language and repeal provisions that are no longer 
necessary. 
Background. According to the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation (DPOR), the initial impetus for this 
action was Executive Directive Number One (2022), which 
directs executive branch entities under the authority of the 
Governor "to initiate regulatory processes to reduce by at least 
25 percent the number of regulations not mandated by federal 
or state statute..." In order to comply with the directive, the 
board proposes to amend this regulation to update definitions; 
ensure that the language reflects current agency procedures and 
practices; ensure the regulation compliments current Virginia 
law and is clearly written and understandable; and remove 
requirements in the regulation that are not necessary to protect 
the public welfare. 
Estimated Benefits and Costs. One of the proposed changes 
would amend two provisions relating to a plea of nolo 
contendere for felony or misdemeanor charges. One current 
provision is prelicensure, and requires an applicant to disclose 
"a conviction, in any jurisdiction, of any felony or non-
marijuana misdemeanor; the other provision is postlicensure, 
and includes in the list of prohibited acts any situation where a 
regulant has been convicted of any felony or of a misdemeanor 
involving lying, cheating or stealing, sexual offense, non-
marijuana drug distribution, physical injury, or relating to the 
practice of the profession." In both provisions, the current 
regulation states that a plea of nolo contendere is considered to 
be a conviction for the purposes of a disciplinary action by the 
board. However, the board states that treating nolo contendere 
pleas as prima facie evidence of guilt appears to be contrary to 
the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Under the 
regulation, any conviction of a regulant must be considered in 
accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Although 
this provision has never been enforced by the board, its 
removal would be beneficial in that it would remove a potential 
conflict with statute and eliminate potential litigation costs if 
these provisions were enforced in the future. 
All of the remaining changes to the regulation appear to be 
editorial in nature by clarifying or amending the language to 
reflect current practices. Thus, no economic impact is expected 
other than improving the understandability of the regulation. 
Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Currently there are 
31,844 licensed individuals (28,762 tradesman, 1,656 

backflow prevention device workers, 968 elevator mechanics, 
432 water well systems provers, and 26 accessibility 
mechanics) who are subject to this regulation. None of the 
licensed individuals appear to be disproportionately affected. 
The Code of Virginia requires the DPB to assess whether an 
adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.3 An 
adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 
or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 
exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, the repeal 
of the provision regarding the nolo contendere pleas has never 
been enforced and would not be enforced because the board 
believes it contradicts the statute. Also, the remaining changes 
are editorial in nature. For these reasons, no adverse impact on 
any entity is indicated. 
Small Businesses4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do 
not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 
Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 
disproportionately or particularly affect localities nor affect 
costs for local governments. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not appear to affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effect on 
the use and value of private property or real estate development 
costs is expected. 
_____________________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 
(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2 https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-
virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf 
3 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 
on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 
House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 
than $6 million." 
5 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
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have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 
Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
6 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 
likely to occur. 
7 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 
disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
for Contractors concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update and clarify 
provisions of the regulation, ensuring that the regulation 
reflects current agency procedures and practices; (ii) 
ensure the regulation compliments current Virginia law 
and is clearly written and understandable; (iii) remove 
requirements in the regulation that are not necessary to 
protect the public welfare; and (iv) reduce regulatory 
burdens, while still protecting the public health, safety, 
and welfare and include significant changes to definitions, 
application procedures, general requirements for 
licensure or certification, Board for Contractors 
disciplinary authority, and prohibited acts. 

18VAC50-30-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter: 

"Backflow prevention device worker" 

"Board" 

"Liquified petroleum gas fitter" 

"Natural gas fitter provider" 

"Tradesman" 

"Water well systems provider" 

B. Section 54.1-1140 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter: 

"Accessibility mechanic" 

"Certified accessibility mechanic" 

"Elevator mechanic" 

"Limited use/limited application endorsement" 

C. Section 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter: 

"Accredited residential building energy analyst training 
program" 

"Licensed residential building energy analyst" 

"Residential building energy analysis" 

D. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Apprentice" means a person who assists tradesmen while 
gaining knowledge of the trade through on-the-job training and 
related instruction in accordance with the Virginia Voluntary 
Apprenticeship Act (§ 40.1-117 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated by 
the licensee to receive notices and correspondence from the 
board. 

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted an 
application for licensure. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 
submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 
documentation. 

"Backflow prevention device work" means work performed 
by a backflow prevention device worker as defined in § 4.1-
1128 of the Code of Virginia (13VAC5-63) for reconstruction 
or renewal of any part of a backflow prevention device for the 
purpose of returning to service a currently installed device. 
This does not include the removal or replacement of a defective 
device by the installation of a rebuilt or new device. 

"Building official/inspector" is an employee of the state, a 
local building department, or other political subdivision who 
enforces the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

"Certified accessibility mechanic" means an individual who 
is certified by the board who is engaged in erecting, 
constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 
or maintaining wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, dumbwaiters 
with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private residence 
elevators. 

"Certified automatic fire sprinkler inspector" means an 
individual who is certified by this chapter and whose work 
includes the inspection of automatic fire sprinkler systems as 
defined in Section 3.6.4 of NFPA 25 (2014 edition), including 
subsections 3.6.4.1 through 3.6.4.6 the Virginia Construction 
Code (Part I (13VAC5-63-10 et seq.) of 13VAC5-63). 

"Certified elevator mechanic" means an individual who is 
certified by the board who is engaged in erecting, constructing, 
installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, or maintaining 
elevators, escalators, or related conveyances in accordance 
with the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

"Division" means a limited subcategory within any of the 
trades, as approved by the department. 

"Electrical work" consists of, but is not limited to, the 
following: (i) planning and layout of details for installation or 
modifications of electrical apparatus and controls including 
preparation of sketches showing location of wiring and 
equipment; (ii) measuring, cutting, bending, threading, 
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assembling, and installing electrical conduits; (iii) performing 
maintenance on electrical systems and apparatus; (iv) 
observation of installed systems or apparatus to detect hazards 
and need for adjustments, relocation, or replacement; and (v) 
repairing faulty systems or apparatus. 

"Electrician" means a tradesman who does electrical work 
including performs the construction, repair, maintenance, 
alteration, or removal of electrical systems in accordance with 
the National Electrical Code and regulated under the Virginia 
Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). 

"Formal vocational training" means courses in the trade 
administered at an accredited educational facility; or formal 
training, approved by the board, conducted by trade 
associations, businesses, the military, correspondence schools, 
or other similar training organizations. 

"Gas fitter" means an individual a tradesman who does 
performs gas fitting-related work usually as a division within 
the HVAC or plumbing trades in accordance with the regulated 
under Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. This Gas 
fitting related work includes the installation, repair, 
improvement, or removal of industrial gas, fuel gas, gaseous 
hydrogen, liquefied petroleum or natural gas piping, tanks, 
chimneys and vents, direct vents, equipment, and appliances 
annexed to real property. 

"Helper" or "laborer" means a person who assists a licensed 
tradesman and who is not an apprentice as defined in this 
chapter regulant. 

"HVAC tradesman" means an individual whose work 
includes the installation, alteration, repair, or maintenance of 
heating systems, ventilating systems, cooling systems, steam 
and hot water heating systems, boilers, process piping, 
backflow prevention devices, and mechanical refrigeration 
systems, including tanks incidental to the system who performs 
the construction, repair, maintenance, alteration, or removal of 
HVAC systems regulated under the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code. 

"HVAC work" means work that includes the installation, 
alteration, repair, or maintenance of heating systems, 
ventilating systems, cooling systems, steam and hot water 
heating systems, boilers, process piping, backflow prevention 
devices, and mechanical refrigeration systems, including tanks 
incidental to the system. 

"Inactive tradesman" means an individual who meets the 
requirements of 18VAC50-30-73 and is licensed under that 
section. 

"Incidental" means work that is necessary for that particular 
repair or installation and is outside the scope of practice 
allowed to the regulant by this chapter. 

"Journeyman" means a person who possesses the necessary 
ability, proficiency, and qualifications to install, repair, and 
maintain specific types of materials and equipment utilizing a 

working knowledge sufficient to comply with the pertinent 
provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 
and according to plans and specifications. 

"Limited use/limited application endorsement" means an 
addition to the certification record of a certified accessibility 
mechanic authorizing the certificate holder to erect, construct, 
install, alter, service, repair, test, or maintain limited 
use/limited application elevators as defined by the Virginia 
Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

"Liquefied petroleum gas fitter" means any individual who 
engages in or offers to engage in work for the general public 
for compensation in work that includes the installation, repair, 
improvement, alterations, or removal of piping, liquefied 
petroleum gas tanks, and appliances (excluding hot water 
heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require a 
heating, ventilation and air conditioning, or plumbing 
certification) annexed to real property. 

"Maintenance" means the reconstruction or renewal of any 
part of a backflow device for the purpose of maintaining its 
proper operation. This does not include the actions of 
removing, replacing, or installing, except for winterization. 

"Master" means a person who possesses the necessary ability, 
proficiency, and qualifications to plan and lay out the details 
for installation and supervise the work of installing, repairing, 
and maintaining specific types of materials and equipment 
utilizing a working knowledge sufficient to comply with the 
pertinent provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code. 

"Natural gas fitter provider" means any individual who 
engages in, or offers to engage in, work for the general public 
for compensation in the incidental repair, testing, or removal 
of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to real property, 
excluding new installation of gas piping for hot water heaters, 
boilers, central heating systems, or other natural gas equipment 
that requires heating, ventilation, and air conditioning or 
plumbing certification. 

"Periodic inspection" means to examine a cross connection 
control device in accordance with the requirements of the 
locality to be sure that the device is in place and functioning in 
accordance with the standards of the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code. 

"Plumber" means an individual a tradesman who does 
plumbing work in accordance with performs the construction, 
repair, maintenance, alteration, or removal of plumbing 
systems regulated under the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code. 

"Plumbing work" means work that includes the installation, 
maintenance, extension, or alteration or removal of piping, 
fixtures, appliances, and appurtenances in connection with any 
of the following: 

1. Backflow prevention devices; 
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2. Boilers; 

3. Domestic sprinklers; 

4. Hot water baseboard heating systems; 

5. Hydronic heating systems; 

6. Process piping; 

7. Public or private water supply systems within or adjacent 
to any building, structure, or conveyance; 

8. Sanitary or storm drainage facilities; 

9. Steam heating systems; 

10. Storage tanks incidental to the installation of related 
systems; 

11. Venting systems; or 

12. Water heaters. 

These plumbing tradesmen may also install, maintain, extend, 
or alter the following: 

1. Liquid waste systems; 

2. Sewerage systems; 

3. Storm water systems; and 

4. Water supply systems. 

"Regulant" means an individual (i) licensed as a tradesman, 
liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural gas fitter provider, or 
gas fitter; or (ii) certified as a backflow prevention device 
worker, accessibility mechanic, elevator mechanic, water well 
systems provider, or fire sprinkler inspector. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license or certification card 
restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed 
the process and requirements through which an expired license 
can be made valid without the licensee having to apply as a 
new applicant. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license or 
certification card for another period of time the process and 
requirements for periodically approving the continuance of a 
license. 

"Repair" means the reconstruction or renewal of any part of a 
backflow prevention device for the purpose of returning to 
service a currently installed device. This does not include the 
removal or replacement of a defective device by the installation 
of a rebuilt or new device. 

"Supervisor" means the licensed master or journeyman 
tradesman who has the responsibility to ensure that the 
installation is in accordance with the applicable provisions of 
the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, one of whom 
must be on the job site at all times during installation. 

"Testing organization" means an independent testing 
organization whose main function is to develop and administer 
examinations. 

"Trade" means any of the following: electrical, gas fitting, 
HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning), liquefied 
petroleum gas fitting, natural gas fitting, plumbing, and 
divisions within them regulated activity. 

"Water distribution systems" includes fire sprinkler systems, 
highway/heavy, HVAC, lawn irrigation systems, plumbing, or 
water purveyor work. 

18VAC50-30-20. Requirements for licensure or 
certification. (Repealed.) 

Each applicant shall meet or exceed the requirements set forth 
in this section prior to issuance of the license or certification 
card.  

The applicant shall be required to take an examination to 
determine his general knowledge of the regulated activity in 
which he desires licensure or certification. If the applicant 
successfully completes the examination, an application 
furnished by the department shall be completed. The 
application shall contain the applicant's name, home address, 
place of employment, and business address; information on the 
knowledge, skills, abilities and education or training of the 
applicant; and a statement certifying that the information on 
the application is correct. If the application is satisfactory to 
the board, a license or certification card shall be issued.  

18VAC50-30-25. Application procedures.  

A. All applicants seeking licensure or certification must 
submit an application with the appropriate fee specified in 
18VAC50-30-90. Application must be made on forms 
provided by the board or the board's agent. 

1. By submitting the application to the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, the applicant 
certifies that the applicant has read and understands the 
applicable statutes and the board's regulations. 

2. The receipt of an application and the deposit of the fees 
by the board do not indicate approval of the application by 
the board. 

B. The board may make further inquires and investigations 
with respect to the applicant's qualifications to confirm or 
amplify information supplied. All applications must be 
completed in accordance with the instructions contained in this 
section and on the application. Applications will not be 
considered complete until all required documents are received 
by the board. 

C. The applicant will be notified of receipt of initial 
application if the application is incomplete. An individual who 
fails to complete the application process within 12 months of 
receipt of the application in the board's office must submit a 
new application. 
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D. The applicant must immediately report all changes in 
information supplied with the application, if applicable, prior 
to the issuance of the license or expiration of the application. 

18VAC50-30-30. General qualifications requirements for 
licensure or certification. 

Every In addition to the applicable provisions of 18VAC50-
30-40 and 18VAC50-30-41, every applicant to the Board for 
Contractors board for licensure or certification shall must meet 
the requirements and have the qualifications provided in this 
section. 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 

2. Unless otherwise exempted, the The applicant shall meet 
the current educational requirements by passing all required 
courses prior to the time the applicant sits for the 
examination and applies for licensure or certification must 
submit an application on a form provided by the board and 
documentation of identification, vocational training, and 
experience. 

3. Unless exempted, the applicant shall have passed the 
applicable examination provided by the board or by a testing 
organization acting on behalf of the board. 

4. The applicant shall meet the experience requirements as 
set forth in 18VAC50-30-40. 

5. 3. In those instances where the applicant is required to take 
the license or certification examination, the applicant shall 
must follow all rules established by the board with regard to 
conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 
written instructions communicated prior to the examination 
date and any instructions communicated at the site, either 
written or oral, on the date of the examination. Failure to 
comply with all rules established by the board and the testing 
organization with regard to conduct at the examination shall 
be grounds for denial of application. 

6. 4. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical 
home address; a post office box alone is not acceptable must 
provide an address of record. A post office box is only 
acceptable when a physical address is also provided. 

7. Each nonresident applicant for a license or certification 
card shall file and maintain with the department an 
irrevocable consent for the department to serve as service 
agent for all actions filed in any court in this 
Commonwealth. In those instances where service is 
required, the director of the department will mail the court 
document to the individual at the address of record. 

8. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 
statement certifying that the applicant has read and 
understands Article 3 (§ 54.1-1128 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

9. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 
with respect to the qualifications of the applicant or require 
a personal interview with the applicant. 

10 5. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall must disclose a any conviction, in any 
jurisdiction, of any felony or non-marijuana misdemeanor. 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 
for the purpose of this subdivision. The record of conviction 
received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 
evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, at its 
discretion, may deny licensure or certification to any 
applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 
Virginia. The applicant has the right to request further 
review of any such action by the board under the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia). 

11. The applicant shall report any suspensions, revocations, 
or surrendering of a certificate or license in connection with 
a disciplinary action or which has been the subject of 
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 
or certification in Virginia. The board, at its discretion, may 
deny licensure or certification to any applicant based on 
prior suspensions, revocations, or surrender of certifications 
or licenses based on disciplinary action by any jurisdiction. 
6. The applicant must report any action taken by any board 
or administrative body in any jurisdiction against a 
professional or occupational license, certification, or 
registration issued to the applicant, to include any 
suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license, 
certification, or registration, imposition of a monetary 
penalty, or requirement to take remedial education or other 
corrective action. The board in its discretion may deny 
licensure to any applicant for any prior action taken by any 
board or administrative body in any jurisdiction. The 
applicant has the right to request further review of any such 
action by the board under the Administrative Process Act. 

18VAC50-30-41. Evidence of ability and proficiency for 
automatic fire sprinkler inspector. 

Pursuant to § 54.1-1147 B of the Code of Virginia, an 
applicant for certification as an automatic fire sprinkler 
inspector shall must provide satisfactory proof to the board of 
a Level II or higher Inspection and Testing of Water-Based 
Systems Certificate issued through the National Institute for 
Certification in Engineering Technologies or a substantially 
similar certification from a nationally recognized training 
program approved by the board. 

18VAC50-30-70. Other recognized programs. 

Individuals Applicants certified or licensed as a journeyman 
or master tradesman or backflow prevention device worker by 
governing bodies located outside the Commonwealth of 
Virginia shall be are considered to be in compliance with this 
chapter if the board or its designee has determined the 
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certifying system to be requirements and standards under 
which the license or certificate was issued are substantially 
equivalent to the Virginia system those established in this 
chapter. In addition to the requirements set forth in 18VAC50-
30-30, these individuals such applicants must meet the 
following requirements: 

1. The applicant shall must have received the tradesman 
certification or license by virtue of having passed in the 
jurisdiction of original certification or licensing licensure a 
written or oral examination deemed to be substantially 
equivalent to the Virginia examination. 2. The applicant 
shall, and be in good standing as a certified or licensed 
tradesman in every jurisdiction where certified or licensed, 
and the. The applicant shall must not have had a certificate 
or a license as a tradesman which that was suspended, 
revoked, or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary 
action or which that has been the subject of discipline in any 
jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. 

3. 2. Individuals certified or licensed by governing bodies 
other than the Commonwealth of Virginia may sit for the 
same level of tradesman examination by completing the 
required application and providing a copy of a currently 
valid journeyman or master license or certification. 

4. 3. Individuals certified or licensed as backflow prevention 
device workers by governing bodies located outside the 
Commonwealth of Virginia may sit for the Virginia 
backflow prevention device worker examination upon 
presentation of a currently valid certificate or card from such 
jurisdictions with their completed examination application 
and fee. Upon successful completion of this examination, the 
applicant will be provided with the proper application for 
certification as a backflow prevention device worker in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

18VAC50-30-90. Fees for licensure and certification. 

A. Each check or money order shall must be made payable to 
the Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt by 
the department or its agent is the date that will be used to 
determine whether or not it is on time. Fees remain active for 
a period of one year from the date of receipt and all applications 
must be completed within that time frame. 

B. Fees are as follows: 
Original tradesman license by 
examination 

$130 

Original tradesman license without 
examination 

$130 

Card exchange (exchange of locality-
issued card for state-issued Virginia 
tradesman license) 

$95 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter $130 

Natural gas fitter provider $130 

Additional tradesman designation $90 

Backflow prevention device worker 
certification 

$130 

Elevator mechanic certification $130 

Certified accessibility mechanic 
Certified automatic fire sprinkler 
inspector 

$130 
$130 

Water well systems provider 
certification 

$130 

Residential building energy analyst 
license 

$130 

Limited use/limited application 
endorsement 

$65 

18VAC50-30-140. Status of regulant during the period 
prior to reinstatement. 

A. When a regulant is reinstated, the individual shall will 
continue to have the same number and shall be assigned an 
expiration date three years from the previous expiration date 
for tradesman and two years from the previous expiration date 
for all other licensees and certificate holders. 

B. A regulant who reinstates his a license or certification card 
shall will be regarded as having been continuously licensed or 
certified without interruption. Therefore, the regulant shall will 
remain under the disciplinary authority of the board during this 
entire period and may be held accountable for his the regulant's 
activities during this period. Nothing in this chapter shall will 
divest the board of its authority to discipline a regulant for a 
violation of the law or regulations during the period of 
licensure or certification. 

18VAC50-30-150. Adding or deleting trade designations. 

A. A regulant may add designations to a license by 
demonstrating, on a form provided by the board, acceptable 
evidence of experience, and examination if appropriate, in the 
designation sought. The experience, and successful completion 
of examinations, must be demonstrated by meeting the 
requirements found in Part II (18VAC50-30-20 et seq.) of this 
chapter. 

B. The fee for each addition is $90. All fees required by the 
board are nonrefundable. 

C. B. While a regulant may have multiple trade designations 
on his the regulant's license, the renewal date will be based 
upon the date the card was originally issued to the individual 
by the board, not the date of the most recent trade designation 
addition. 

D. C. If a regulant is seeking to delete a designation, then the 
individual must provide a signed statement listing the 
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designation to be deleted. There is no fee for the deletion of a 
designation. If the regulant only has one trade or level 
designation, the deletion of that designation will result in the 
termination of the license. 

18VAC50-30-160. Change of address. 

Any change of address shall must be reported in writing to the 
board within 30 days of the change. The board shall will not be 
responsible for the regulant's failure to receive notices or 
correspondence due to the regulant's failure to report a change 
of address. A post office address box alone is not acceptable. 

18VAC50-30-170. Transfer of license or certification card 
prohibited. 

No license or certification card issued by the board shall may 
be assigned or otherwise transferred. 

18VAC50-30-185. Revocation of licensure or certification 
Grounds for disciplinary action. 

A. Licensure or certification may be revoked for 
misrepresentation or a fraudulent application or for 
incompetence as demonstrated by an egregious or repeated 
violation of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. B. 
The board shall have the power to require remedial education 
and to fine, suspend, revoke or deny renewal of a license or 
certification card of any individual who is found to be in 
violation of the statutes or regulations governing the practice 
of licensed tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas fitters, natural 
gas fitter providers, backflow prevention device workers, 
elevator mechanics, accessibility mechanics, or residential 
building energy analysts in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
The board may impose remedial education, a monetary penalty 
in accordance with § 54.1-202 A of the Code of Virginia or 
revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew any license or certification 
when the licensee or certificate holder has been found to have 
violated or cooperated with others in violating any provision of 
Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the regulations of 
the board. 

18VAC50-30-190. Prohibited acts. 

Any of the following are cause for The following acts are 
prohibited and any violation may result in disciplinary action 
by the board: 

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 
Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the regulations 
of the board; 

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 
information to the board in obtaining, renewing, reinstating, 
or maintaining a license or certification card; 

3. Where the regulant has failed to report to the board, in 
writing, the suspension or revocation of a tradesman, 
liquefied petroleum gas fitter or natural gas fitter provider 

license, certificate or card, or backflow prevention device 
worker, water well systems provider, elevator mechanic, or 
accessibility mechanic license or certification card, by 
another state or a conviction in a court of competent 
jurisdiction of a building code violation; 

4. Negligence or incompetence in the practice of a 
tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, natural gas fitter 
provider, backflow prevention device worker, elevator 
mechanic, accessibility mechanic, water well systems 
provider, or automatic fire sprinkler inspector the licensed or 
certified profession; 

5. Misconduct in the practice of a tradesman, liquefied 
petroleum gas fitter, natural gas fitter provider, backflow 
prevention device worker, elevator mechanic, accessibility 
mechanic, water well systems provider, or automatic fire 
sprinkler inspector the licensed or certified profession; 

6. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the practice 
of a tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, natural gas 
fitter provider, backflow prevention device worker, elevator 
mechanic, accessibility mechanic, or water well systems 
provider by a court of competent jurisdiction; 

7. 6. For licensed tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas fitters 
or, natural gas fitter providers, or gas fitters performing jobs 
under $1,000, or backflow prevention device workers, 
elevator mechanics, accessibility mechanics, or water well 
systems providers performing jobs of any amount, 
abandonment, the intentional and unjustified failure to 
complete work contracted for, or the retention or 
misapplication of funds paid, for which work is either not 
performed or performed only in part (unjustified cessation 
of work under the contract for a period of 30 days or more 
shall be considered evidence of abandonment); 

8. 7. Making any misrepresentation or making a false 
promise of a character likely to influence, persuade, or 
induce; 

9. 8. Aiding or abetting an unlicensed contractor to violate 
any provision of Chapter 1 or Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or these regulations or combining or 
conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or associate for 
an unlicensed contractor; or allowing one's license or 
certification to be used by an unlicensed or uncertified 
individual; 

10. 9. Where the regulant has offered, given, or promised 
anything of value or benefit to any federal, state, or local 
government employee for the purpose of influencing that 
employee to circumvent, in the performance of his the 
employee's duties, any federal, state, or local law, regulation, 
or ordinance governing the construction industry; 

11. 10. Where the regulant has been convicted or found 
guilty, after initial licensure or certification, regardless of 
adjudication, in any jurisdiction of any felony or of a 
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misdemeanor involving lying, cheating or stealing, sexual 
offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, physical injury, or 
relating to the practice of the profession, there being no 
appeal pending therefrom or the time of appeal having 
elapsed. Any pleas of guilty or nolo contendere shall be 
considered a conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. 
The record of a conviction certified or authenticated in such 
form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 
jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such guilt; 

12. 11. Having failed to inform the board in writing, within 
30 days, that the regulant has pleaded guilty or nolo 
contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any felony 
or a misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, stealing, sexual 
offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, physical injury, or 
relating to the practice of the profession; 

13. 12. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, 
or any state or federal governing body for actions relating to 
the practice of any trade, backflow prevention device work, 
elevator or accessibility work, or water well systems 
provider work, which action shall be reviewed by the board 
before it the board takes any disciplinary action of its own; 

14. 13. Failure to comply with the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63); 

15. 14. Practicing in a classification or specialty service for 
which the regulant is not licensed or certified; 

16. 15. Failure to obtain any document required by the 
Virginia Department of Health for the drilling, installation, 
maintenance, repair, construction, or removal of water wells, 
water well systems, water well pumps, or other water well 
equipment; 

17. 16. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable 
inspection where required; 

18. 17. Failure to perform a residential building energy 
analysis consistent with the requirements set forth by the 
board, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. 
Department of Energy, or the Energy Star Program; 

19. 18. Failure of a residential building energy analyst to 
maintain the general liability insurance required in 
18VAC50-30-40 I 4; and 

20. 19. Failure of a certified automatic fire sprinkler 
inspector to continually maintain the certification required in 
§ 54.1-1147 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC50-30-200. Vocational training. 

A. Vocational training courses must be completed through 
accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 
colleges; adult distributive, marketing and formal vocational 
training as defined in this chapter; Virginia Apprenticeship 
Council programs; or proprietary schools approved by the 
Virginia Department of Education. 

B. Backflow prevention device worker courses must be 
completed through schools approved by the board. The board 
accepts the American Society of Sanitary Engineers' (ASSE) 
standards for testing procedures. Other programs could be 
approved after board review. The board requires all backflow 
training to include instruction in a wet lab. 

C. Elevator mechanic courses must be completed through 
schools approved by the board. The board accepts training 
programs approved by the National Elevator Industry 
Education Program (NEIEP). Other programs could be 
approved after board review. D. Water well systems provider 
and certified accessibility courses must be completed through 
schools or programs education providers approved by the 
board. 

E. Certified accessibility courses must be completed through 
education providers approved by the board. 

F. D. Residential building energy analyst courses must be 
completed through programs that meet or exceed the standards 
set forth by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the 
U.S. Department of Energy, or the Home Performance with 
Energy Star Program. Other programs could be approved after 
board review. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7420; Filed October 18, 2023, 10:49 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Forms 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 
from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 
North Ninth Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy. 
Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-
4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 
FORMS 

Application for Licensure by Examination to Practice 
Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice 
Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Reinstatement to Practice Physical Therapy 
(rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Reinstatement to Practice Physical Therapy 
(rev. 8/2023) 

mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Licensure%20by%20Examination%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Licensure%20by%20Examination%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Licensure%20by%20Endorsement%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135327.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Licensure%20by%20Endorsement%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135327.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reinstatement%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20231015132745.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reinstatement%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20231015132745.pdf
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Application for Reinstatement after Disciplinary Action to 
Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Traineeship to Practice Physical Therapy 
Statement of Authorization (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Unlicensed Graduate Traineeship to Practice 
Physical Therapy Statement of Authorization (rev. 8/2023) 

Completion Form for 320-hour Traineeship to Practice 
Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Verification of Physical Therapy Education for Graduates of 
Approved Programs Only (rev. 8/2023) 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 
8/2023) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 
Practice (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Direct Access Certification (rev. 8/2023) 

Direct Access Patient Attestation and Medical Release Form 
(rev. 7/2023) 

Physical Therapy Name/Address Change Form (rev. 8/2023) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia Physical Therapy 
License (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Reactivation (Inactive to Active) to Practice 
Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Out-of-State Practitioner Reporting Form (rev. 7/2023) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7718; Filed October 15, 2023, 1:29 p.m. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Appraiser Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 
revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 
Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-
30). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2024. 
Agency Contact: Anika Coleman, Executive Director, Real 
Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 
826-8863, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
Chapter 106 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly directs the Real 
Estate Appraiser Board to accept the Practical 
Applications of Real Estate Appraisal (PAREA) Program 
as fulfillment of some experience requirements for 
certified general, certified residential, and licensed 
residential real estate appraiser licenses. PAREA is a 
simulated appraisal training program that can be done 
entirely in a virtual environment, is endorsed by the 
Appraisal Foundation, and has federal authorization to 
provide guidance to the states regarding the practice of 
real estate appraisal. The amendments provide the 
experience requirements that PAREA training may fulfill 
for applicants.  

18VAC130-20-30. General qualifications for licensure. 

Every applicant to the Real Estate Appraiser Board for a 
certified general, certified residential, or licensed residential 
real estate appraiser license shall meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be of good moral character, honest, 
truthful, and competent to transact the business of a licensed 
real estate appraiser in such a manner as to safeguard the 
interests of the public. 

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational and 
experience requirements and submit a license application to 
the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation or its agent prior to the time the applicant is 
approved to take the licensing examination. Applications 
received by the department or its the department's agent must 
be complete within 12 months of the date of the receipt of 
the license application and fee by the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation or its the 
department's agent. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 
statement verifying that the applicant has read and 
understands the Virginia real estate appraiser license law and 
the regulations of the Real Estate Appraiser Board. 

4. The applicant shall be in good standing as a real estate 
appraiser in every jurisdiction where licensed or certified; 
the applicant may not have had a license or certification that 
was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with 
a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of discipline 
in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall possess a background that would not 
call into question the public trust. Each applicant shall 
submit to fingerprinting. A background investigation shall 
be conducted, which shall not reveal that the applicant has 
been convicted, found guilty, or pled guilty or nolo 
contendere to a crime that would call into question the 
applicant's fitness or suitability to engage in the profession. 
The applicant must disclose the following: 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reinstatement%20After%20Disciplinary%20Action%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135538.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reinstatement%20After%20Disciplinary%20Action%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135538.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy%20Statement%20of%20Authorization_082023-20230829135723.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy%20Statement%20of%20Authorization_082023-20230829135723.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Unlicensed%20Graduate%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy%20Statement%20of%20Authorization_082023-20230829135846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Unlicensed%20Graduate%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy%20Statement%20of%20Authorization_082023-20230829135846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Completion%20Form%20for%20320-Hour%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829140146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Completion%20Form%20for%20320-Hour%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829140146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Verification%20of%20Physical%20Therapy%20Education%20for%20Graduates%20of%20Approved%20Programs%20Only_082023-20230829140251.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Verification%20of%20Physical%20Therapy%20Education%20for%20Graduates%20of%20Approved%20Programs%20Only_082023-20230829140251.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_ContinuedCompetencyActivityandAssessmentForm_082023-20230829140359.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_ContinuedCompetencyActivityandAssessmentForm_082023-20230829140359.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Continuing%20Education%20CE%20Credit%20Form%20for%20Volunteer%20Practice_082023-20230829140508.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Continuing%20Education%20CE%20Credit%20Form%20for%20Volunteer%20Practice_082023-20230829140508.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Direct%20Access%20Certification_082023-20230829140558.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Direct%20Access%20Patient%20Attestation%20and%20Medical%20Release%20Form_072023-20230829140735.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Direct%20Access%20Patient%20Attestation%20and%20Medical%20Release%20Form_072023-20230829140735.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_NameAddressChangeForm_082023-20230829140903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Request%20for%20Verification%20of%20a%20Virginia%20Physical%20Therapy%20License_082023-20230829140954.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Request%20for%20Verification%20of%20a%20Virginia%20Physical%20Therapy%20License_082023-20230829140954.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reactivation_Inactive%20to%20Active_%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829141134.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reactivation_Inactive%20to%20Active_%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829141134.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/DHP_Out-of-StateTemporaryPractitionerReportingForm_SB317_July%202023_PhysicalTherapy-20230829141041.pdf
mailto:reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov
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a. All felony convictions; and 
b. All misdemeanor convictions except marijuana 
convictions in any jurisdiction that occurred within five 
years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless of 
adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered a 
conviction for purposes of this subdivision. 

6. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 

7. The applicant shall have successfully completed the 
following education: 

a. Licensed residential classification - 150 hours of 
approved real estate appraisal courses, including the 15-
Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice course, from accredited colleges, 
universities, and junior and community colleges; adult 
distributive or marketing education programs; local, state, 
or federal government agencies, boards, or commissions; 
proprietary schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate 
related organizations. The required core curriculum for the 
certified general or certified residential real estate 
appraiser is a bachelor's degree or higher from an 
accredited college or university. The classroom hours 
required for the licensed residential classification may 
include the classroom hours required for the appraiser 
trainee. 
b. Certified residential classification - 200 hours of 
approved real estate appraisal courses, including the 15-
Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice course, from accredited colleges, 
universities, and junior and community colleges; adult 
distributive or marketing education programs; local, state, 
or federal government agencies, boards, or commissions; 
proprietary schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate 
related organizations. The classroom hours required for 
the certified residential classification may include the 
classroom hours required for the appraiser trainee or the 
licensed residential classification. The applicant shall also 
meet one of the following options for the required core 
curriculum: 
(1) A bachelor's degree in any field of study; 
(2) An associate's degree in a field of study related to 
business administration, accounting, finance, economics, 
or real estate; 
(3) Successful completion of 30 semester hours of college-
level courses that cover each of the following specific 
topic areas and hours: English composition (3 three 
hours); microeconomics (3 three hours); macroeconomics 
(3 three hours); finance (3 three hours); algebra, geometry, 
or higher math (3 three hours); statistics (3 three hours); 
computer science (3 three hours); business law or real 
estate law (3 three hours); and two elective courses in any 
of the topics described in this subdivision or in accounting, 

geography, agricultural economics, business management, 
or real estate (3 three hours each); 
(4) Successful completion of at least 30 hours of College 
Level Examination Program (CLEP) examinations that 
cover each of the specific topic areas in subdivision 7 b (3) 
of this section. For purposes of this option, the CLEP 
examination for college algebra (3 three hours) may be 
applied to the topic area of algebra, geometry, or higher 
math; the CLEP examination for college composition (6 
six hours) may be applied to the topic area of English 
composition; the CLEP examination for college 
composition modular (3 three hours) may be applied to the 
topic area of English composition; the CLEP examination 
for college mathematics (6 six hours) may be applied to 
the topic area of algebra, geometry, or higher math or 
statistics; the CLEP examination for principles of 
macroeconomics (3 three hours) may be applied to the 
topic area of macroeconomics or finance; the CLEP 
examination for principles of microeconomics (3 three 
hours) may be applied to the topic area of microeconomics 
or finance; the CLEP examination for introductory 
business law (3 three hours) may be applied to the topic 
area of business law or real estate law; and the CLEP 
examination for information systems (3 three hours) may 
be applied to the topic area of computer science; 
(5) Successful completion of at least 30 hours of any 
combination of college-level courses and CLEP 
examinations that includes all of the topics identified in 
subdivision 7 b (3) of this section; or 
(6) No college-level education. This option applies only to 
applicants who have held a licensed residential credential 
for a minimum of five years and have no record of any 
adverse, final, and nonappealable disciplinary action 
affecting the licensed residential appraiser's legal 
eligibility to engage in appraisal practice within the five 
years immediately preceding the date of application for a 
certified residential credential. 
c. Certified general classification - 300 hours of approved 
real estate appraisal courses, including the 15-Hour 
National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice course, from accredited colleges, universities, and 
junior and community colleges; adult distributive or 
marketing education programs; local, state, or federal 
government agencies, boards, or commissions; proprietary 
schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate related 
organizations. The applicant must complete an advanced 
level appraisal course of at least 30 classroom hours in the 
appraisal of nonresidential properties. The classroom 
hours required for the certified general classification may 
include the classroom hours required for the appraiser 
trainee, the licensed residential classification, or the 
certified residential classification. The required core 
curriculum is a bachelor's degree or higher from an 
accredited college or university. 
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8. The applicant shall, as part of the application for licensure, 
verify the applicant's experience in the field of real estate 
appraisal. All applicants must submit, upon application, 
sample appraisal reports as specified by the board. In 
addition, all experience must be acquired within the five-
year period immediately preceding the date application is 
made and be supported by adequate written reports or file 
memoranda, which shall be made available to the board 
upon request. 

a. The applicant for a licensed residential real estate 
appraiser license shall have a minimum of 1,000 hours of 
appraisal experience, in no fewer than six months. Hours 
may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 
necessary 1,000 hours of appraisal experience. 
b. The applicant for a certified residential real estate 
appraiser license shall have a minimum of 1,500 hours of 
appraisal experience obtained during no fewer than 12 
months. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to 
achieve the necessary 1,500 hours of appraisal experience. 
c. The applicant for a certified general real estate appraiser 
license shall have a minimum of 3,000 hours of appraisal 
experience obtained during no fewer than 18 months. 
Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 
necessary 3,000 hours of appraisal experience. At least 
50% of the appraisal experience required (1,500 hours) 
must be in nonresidential appraisal assignments and 
include assignments that demonstrate the use and 
understanding of the income approach. An applicant 
whose nonresidential appraisal experience is 
predominately in such properties that do not require the 
use of the income approach may satisfy this requirement 
by performing two or more appraisals on properties in 
association with a certified general appraiser that include 
the use of the income approach. The applicant must have 
substantially contributed to the development of the income 
approach in such reports and shall provide evidence or 
verification of such contribution. 
d. Applicants completing a Licensed Residential Practical 
Applications of Real Estate Appraisal (PAREA) Program 
shall receive credit for: 
(1) 100% of the experience required by board regulations 
as a condition of licensure as a licensed residential real 
estate appraiser; 
(2) 67% of the experience required by board regulations 
as a condition of licensure as a certified residential real 
estate appraiser; or 
(3) 33% of the experience required by board regulations 
as a condition of licensure as a certified general real estate 
appraiser. 
e. Applicants completing a Certified Residential PAREA 
Program shall receive credit for: 
(1) 100% of the experience required by board regulations 
as a condition of licensure as a licensed residential real 

estate appraiser or certified residential real estate 
appraiser; or 
(2) 50% of the experience required by board regulations 
as a condition of licensure as a certified general real estate 
appraiser. 

9. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 
take the examination, the applicant shall have registered for 
and passed a written examination developed or endorsed by 
the Appraiser Qualifications Board and provided by the 
board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board. 
Successful completion of the examination is valid for a 
period of 24 months. 

10. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 
requirements set forth in subdivisions 4 and 5 of this section 
may be approved for licensure following consideration of 
their application by the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7605; Filed October 17, 2023, 9:01 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Objection to Fast-Track  
Rulemaking Action 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to § 2.2-4012.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, the State Board of Social Services has filed 
a notice of objection to the fast-track rulemaking action 
published in 40:1 VA.R. 41-52 August 28, 2023. The board 
intends to proceed with the normal promulgation process set 
out in Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 
of the Code of Virginia, with the initial publication of the fast-
track regulation serving as the Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action. 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed 
Assisted Living Facilities (amending 22VAC40-73-10, 
22VAC40-73-430; adding 22VAC40-73-435). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1802, 63.2-
1805, and 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 
The State Board of Social Services received more than the 
requisite 10 objections to the amendments. The objections 
describe concerns about the regulation's clarification of the 
appeals process and procedures, the potential financial burdens 
imposed on the residents and facilities, and the desire for 
utilization of the standard regulatory process to allow further 
analysis and development of the regulation. Due to the 
objections, the board has discontinued using the fast-track 
rulemaking process. The board will proceed with adoption of 
the amendments using the standard process under Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act, and the 
publication on August 28, 2023, will serve as the Notice of 
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Intended Regulatory Action in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1 
of the Code of Virginia. 
Agency Contact: Sharon Lindsay, Associate Director, 
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 972-0676, FAX (804) 
726-7132, or email sharon.lindsay@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7391; Filed October 6, 2023, 9:20 a.m. 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-705. Child Protective 
Services (amending 22VAC40-705-160, 22VAC40-705-170). 
Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 
The Governor has approved the request of the State Board of 
Social Services to extend the expiration date of the emergency 
regulation for 22VAC40-705 for six months as provided for in 
§ 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, the 
emergency regulation is continued in effect through August 31, 
2024. This extension is required because a replacement 
regulation cannot be adopted and effective before the 
expiration of the original 18-month emergency period. The 
regulatory action is necessary to remove the notary 
requirement for the consent an individual signs requesting a 
search of the Central Registry System (CRS) to determine an 
individual has no founded case of child abuse or neglect. The 
purpose of the amendments is to expedite searches by the 
Central Virginia Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry 
Unit of CRS to make it less burdensome for individuals who 
wish to provide services or care to children through 
employment, foster care, adoption, or volunteer opportunities. 
The emergency regulation was published in 39:3 VA.R. 72-74 
September 26, 2022. 
Effective Date Extended Through: August 31, 2024. 
Agency Contact: Kristen Eckstein, Department of Social 
Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7897, or email 
kristen.eckstein@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7198; Filed October 10, 2023, 7:02 p.m. 

mailto:sharon.lindsay@dss.virginia.gov
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10338
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10338
mailto:kristen.eckstein@dss.virginia.gov
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 
comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 
or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 
for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 
Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 
Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Virginia State Plan for Aging Services. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2023. 

Effective Date: December 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst 
and Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Aging and 
Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 
Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, or email 
charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA INFORMATION TECHNOLOGIES AGENCY 
Title of Document: Information Technology Procurement - 
Small Purchase Policy. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2023. 

Effective Date: December 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Joshua Heslinga, Policy Planning Manager, 
Virginia Information Technologies Agency, 7325 Beaufont 
Springs Drive, Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 551-
2902, or email joshua.heslinga@vita.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 
Title of Document: Qualifying for Licensure- Required 
Content for College Coursework and Approval of Nursing 
Home Administrator Administrator-in-Training Training 
Hours. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2023. 

Effective Date: December 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 
Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 
Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 
erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Chapter 2 Provider Requirements. 

Nursing Facility Manual, Chapter 7. 

Nursing Facility Manual, Chapter 9. 

Nursing Facility Manual, Chapter 10. 

Nursing Facility Manual, Chapter 12. 

Psychiatric Services Manual, Chapter 6. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2023. 

Effective Date: December 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and Manuals 
Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East 
Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-0552, or email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Title of Document: Virginia Motor Carrier Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2023. 

Effective Date: December 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas Megibow, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-6701, or email 
nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Title of Document: Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2023. 

Effective Date: December 7, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Michele Thomas, Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program Manager, Department of Social Services, 
801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
726-7866, or email michele.thomas@dss.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C262%5CGDoc_DARS_6663_20231002.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/GuidanceDocs/charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C136%5CGDoc_VITA_6649_20230926.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C136%5CGDoc_VITA_6649_20230926.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/GuidanceDocs/joshua.heslinga@vita.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C223%5CGDoc_DHP_6665_20231002.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C223%5CGDoc_DHP_6665_20231002.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C223%5CGDoc_DHP_6665_20231002.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C223%5CGDoc_DHP_6665_20231002.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/GuidanceDocs/erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_6645_20230922.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_6656_20230927.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_6657_20230927.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_6658_20230927.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_6664_20231002.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_6646_20230922.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/GuidanceDocs/meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/DMV248-09-25-2023.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/GuidanceDocs/nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C765%5CGDoc_DSS_6674_20231006.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C765%5CGDoc_DSS_6674_20231006.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/406/GuidanceDocs/michele.thomas@dss.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Mr. Gurcharan Lail 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mr. Gurcharan 
Lail for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations 
and applicable permit at the One Stop Trailer Park facility 
located in Leesburg, Virginia. The proposed consent order is 
available from the DEQ contact or at 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices. The 
DEQ contact will accept written comments from November 7, 
2023, to December 7, 2023. 

Contact Information: Katherine Mann, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 
Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 
katherine.mann@deq.virgnia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Amherst County 
Service Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Amherst County 
Service Authority (ACSA) for violations in Amherst County, 
Virginia. The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) proposes to issue a special order by consent to ACSA 
to address noncompliance with the State Water Control Law 
and regulations. Descriptions of the proposed actions are 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
listed or online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov. Comments will 
be accepted from November 6, 2023, to December 6, 2023. 

Contact Information: Timothy Fletcher, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, 
telephone (540) 524-0665, or email 
timothy.fletcher@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Intent to Amend Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the 
Social Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) the Virginia 

State Plan for Medical Assistance - Emergency 
Room Charges 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 
amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates - Other Types of Care (12VAC30-
80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 
447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act 
(42 USC § 1396a(a)(13)). A copy of this notice is available for 
public review from the contact listed at the end of this notice. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 
providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 
proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 
inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this 
notice publication to the contact listed at the end of this notice, 
and such comments are available for review at the same 
address. Comments may also be submitted, in writing, on the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-Other 
Types of Care (12VAC30-80)  

Item 313.AAAAA of the 2020 Appropriations Act required 
DMAS to allow the pending, reviewing, and the reducing of 
fees for avoidable emergency room claims for codes 99282, 
99283, and 99284, both physician and facility. DMAS utilized 
the avoidable emergency room diagnosis code list currently 
used for managed care organization (MCO) clinical efficiency 
rate adjustments. If the emergency room claim was identified 
as a preventable emergency room diagnosis, DMAS directed 
the MCO to default to the payment amount for code 99281, 
commensurate with the acuity of the visit. This also applied to 
fee-for-service. 

However, pursuant to a federal court order, dated April 27, 
2023, (Va. Hosp. & Healthcare Assoc. et al. v. Roberts et al., 
No. 3:20-cv-00587-HEH), DMAS must repeal or remove the 
state plan language that fulfilled the 2020 General Assembly 
mandate and can no longer enforce the fee adjustments for 
avoidable emergency room claims for codes 99282, 99283, and 
99284, for both physicians and facilities. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 
$62,024 in state general funds, $8,251 in special funds, and 
$141,666 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024 and 
$62,024 in state general funds, $8,251 in special funds, and 
$141,666 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2025. 

Contact Information: Jimeequa Williams, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, or by email at 
jimeequa.williams@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Scheduling Chemicals in Schedule I pursuant to  
§ 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia 

Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy is giving notice of a public 
hearing to consider placement of chemical substances in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act. The public hearing will be 
conducted at 9:05 a.m. on December 6, 2023. Instructions will 
be included in the agenda for the board meeting, also on 
December 6. Public comment may also be submitted 
electronically or in writing prior to December 6, 2023, to 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices
mailto:katherine.mann@deq.virgnia.gov
file://dlas-ds8/dlsdata/CODEREGS/Regispub/Vol40/Iss05/General%20Notices/generalnotice.cfm
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Caroline Juran, Executive Director, Board of Pharmacy, at 
caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Virginia Department of Forensic Science (DFS) 
has identified two compounds for recommended inclusion into 
the Code of Virginia.  

Based on their chemical structures, the following compounds 
are expected to have hallucinogenic properties. Compounds of 
this type have been placed in Schedule I (subdivision 3 of 
§ 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia) in previous legislative 
sessions. 

1-(3,5-Dimethoxy-4-propoxyphenyl)-2-propanamine (other 
names: 4-propoxy-3,5-DMA; 3C-P; 1-(3,5-Dimethoxy-4-
propoxyphenyl)propan-2-amine), its salts, isomers, and salts of 
isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts 
of isomers is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2-(5-methoxy-1H-indol-3-yl)ethanamine (other names: 5-
methoxytryptamine, 5-MeOT), its salts, isomers (optical, 
position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the 
existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 527-4472, 
or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Public Comment Period Extension -  
Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 

(9VAC25-790) 
The 30-day public comment period on the Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action (NOIRA) for the Sewage Collection and 
Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790) began September 11, 
2023, and ended on October 11, 2023. The public comment 
period is being extended until December 6, 2023.The NOIRA 
was published in Volume 40, Issue 2, VA.R. 68, on September 
11, 2023. 

Comments were to be submitted to the agency by postal mail, 
through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall public comment 
forum, or by email to Scott Van Der Hyde at 
scott.vanderhyde@deq.virginia.gov. This email address did 
not accept email messages for a portion of the comment period 
that ended October 11, 2023. If a commenter submitted or 
attempted to submit comments to the agency using 
scott.vanderhyde@deq.virginia.gov before October 11, 2023, 
please resubmit these comments by postal mail, the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall public comment forum, or email to the 
individual listed at the end of this notice prior to December 6, 
2023, to ensure that the comment has been received. DEQ will 
consider all comments on the NOIRA that are received 
between September 11, 2023, and December 6, 2023. 

The intent of this regulatory action is to require reporting by 
wastewater utilities of all septic systems (or other onsite 
sewage disposal systems) taken offline and connected to 
sewage collection systems. The goal of this new regulatory 
requirement is to ensure a more accurate count of nutrient 
reductions resulting from septic systems connected to sewer, 
which will assist with tracking the Commonwealth's progress 
toward water quality goals, including Chesapeake Bay 
watershed restoration goals. Further information on this 
regulatory action is available on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall website at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ 
ViewAction.cfm?actionid=6231. 

How to comment: Comments may be provided on the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall website's comment forum. 
Additionally, DEQ accepts written comments by hand-
delivery, email, or postal mail. Comments shall include the full 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ by 11:59 p.m. on the last 
day of the comment period. 

Contact Information: Erica Duncan, 1111 East Main Street, 
Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 23218, telephone (804) 
337- 5407, or email erica.duncan@deq.virginia.gov. 

Extension of Public Comment Opportunity - General 
VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities (9VAC25-880) 
The 60-day public comment period on the proposed General 
VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 
Construction Activities (9VAC25-880) began August 14, 
2023, and was scheduled to end October 13, 2023. The public 
comment period is being extended until December 6, 2023. 
The proposed regulation was published in Volume 39, Issue 
26, VA.R. 2858, on August 14, 2023. 

Comments were to be submitted to the agency by postal mail, 
through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall public comment 
forum, or by email to Scott Van Der Hyde at 
scott.vanderhyde@deq.virginia.gov. This email address did 
not accept email messages for a portion of the comment period. 
If a commenter submitted or attempted to submit comments to 
the agency using scott.vanderhyde@deq.virginia.gov before 
October 13, 2023, please resubmit these comments by postal 
mail, the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall public comment 
forum, or by email to the individual listed at the end of this 
notice prior to December 6, 2023, to ensure that the comment 
has been received. DEQ will consider all comments on the 
proposed regulation that are received between August 14, 
2023, and December 6, 2023. 

The General VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater 
from Construction Activities (9VAC25-880) authorizes the 
discharge of stormwater from construction activities equal to 
or greater than one acre of land disturbance or less than one 
acre of land disturbance within a larger common plan of 
development or sale. This regulatory action is needed in order 

chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https:/register.dls.virginia.gov/vol40/iss02/v40i02.pdf
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for existing and new construction activities to be covered under 
this general permit regulation. Further information on this 
regulatory action is available on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall website at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction. 
cfm?actionid=5921. 

How to comment: Comments may be provided on the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall website's comment forum. 
Additionally, DEQ accepts written comments by hand-
delivery, email, or postal mail. Comments shall include the full 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ by 11:59 p.m. on the last 
day of the comment period. 

Contact Information: Rebeccah W. Rochet, 1111 East Main 
Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 23218, 
telephone (804) 801-2950, or email 
rebeccah.rochet@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 
Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 
698-1810; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 
were originally published or last supplemented in the print 
version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 
(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 
closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 
coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 
RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 
sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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