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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at https://register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 

date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 

Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 

Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 

Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 

Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 

Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2025 through June 2026 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

42:1 August 6, 2025 August 25, 2025 

42:2 August 20, 2025 September 8, 2025 

42:3 September 3, 2025 September 22, 2025 

42:4 September 17, 2025 October 6, 2025 

42:5 October 1, 2025 October 20, 2025 

42:6 October 15, 2025 November 3, 2025 

42:7 October 29, 2025 November 17, 2025 

42:8 November 10, 2025 (Monday) December 1, 2025 

42:9 November 24, 2025 (Monday) December 15, 2025 

42:10 December 9, 2025 December 29, 2025 

42:11 December 22, 2025 (Monday) January 12, 2026 

42:12 January 6, 2026 (Tuesday) January 26, 2026 

42:13 January 21, 2026 February 9, 2026 

42:14 February 4, 2026 February 23, 2026 

42:15 February 18, 2026 March 9, 2026 

42:16 March 4, 2026 March 23, 2026 

42:17 March 18, 2026 April 6, 2026 

42:18 April 1, 2026 April 20, 2026 

42:19 April 15, 2026 May 4, 2026 

42:20 April 29, 2026 May 18, 2026 

42:21 May 13, 2026 June 1, 2026 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5. None specified. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-2 and 32.1-12 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Names of Petitioners: Réka György, Lily Mullens, Carter 

Satterfield. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Pursuant to § 2.2-4007 of the 

Code of Virginia, the petitioners, who are all female athletes in 

Virginia who have been directly harmed by males competing 

in female collegiate sports, formally request that the State 

Board of Health add or amend regulations within 12VAC5 to 

prevent biological males from participating in organized 

female-only athletic teams and competitions in Virginia and to 

prevent biological males from using designated female spaces 

where females are likely to be in any state of undress. The 

public health of Virginians, particularly of women and girls, 

demands that the Virginia Department of Health take action to 

prevent further harm, both physical and psychological, from 

males claiming or pretending to be females and gaining access 

to female-only athletic competitions and private spaces. The 

State Board of Health has authority to promulgate such 

regulations pursuant to §§ 32.1-2 and 32.1-12 of the Code of 

Virginia. Specifically: 

"§ 32.1-2. Finding and purpose.  

The General Assembly finds that the protection, improvement 

and preservation of the public health…are essential to the 

general welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth. For this 

reason, the State Board of Health…shall administer and 

provide a comprehensive program of preventive…health 

services, … and abate hazards and nuisances to the health…, 

both emergency and otherwise, thereby improving the quality 

of life in the Commonwealth. 

This comprehensive program of preventive…health services 

shall include prevention…focused on women's health, 

including, but not limited to…conditions unique to or more 

prevalent among women."; and 

"§ 32.1-12. Regulations, variances and exemptions.  

The Board may make, adopt, promulgate and enforce such 

regulations…as may be necessary to carry out the provisions 

of this title and other laws of the Commonwealth administered 

by it, the Commissioner or the Department." 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on May 5, 2025. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

opens May 5, 2025, and closes May 26, 2025. Following 

receipt of public comment and within 90 days of the end of the 

public comment period, the board will issue a written decision 

to grant or deny the petition. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Joe Hilbert, Director of Governmental and 

Regulatory Affairs, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7006, or email joe.hilbert@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-432; Filed April 10, 2025, 5:00 p.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry intends to 

consider amending 18VAC105-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to add the requirement that each licensure by 

endorsement application include a National Practitioner Data 

Bank (DPDB) report. The NPDB records all actions taken in 

other jurisdictions against a health care licensee and is a 

standard requirement on applications for licensure and 

licensure by endorsement for many other professions. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Kelli Moss, Executive Director, Board of 

Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 597-4077, FAX (804) 793-9145, or 

email kelli.moss@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8047; Filed April 2, 2025, 7:23 p.m. 

mailto:kelli.moss@dhp.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50, 

4VAC15-20-65, 4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-20-155; 

repealing 4VAC15-20-120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove the requirement that 

a written mandate must be obtained every five years for 

domesticated red foxes and European rabbits; (ii) add a 

resident three-day trip license to hunt and resident and 

nonresident elk hunt lottery applications; (iii) repeal 

4VAC15-20-120 as cash-only license consignment agents 

are no longer utilized by the department; (iv) designate an 

eastern tiger salamander experimental population in 

Sussex County as a listed state endangered species to 

assist with population status recovery; and (v) clarify 

locations where camping is allowed in wildlife 

management areas and other department-owned and 

department-managed lands. 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal," and "domestic animal". 

A. In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them by 

this section when used in regulations of the board: 

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2024 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of 

Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters and 

regional offices of the department. 

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 

wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 

department's 2024 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of 

Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters and 

regional offices of the department. 

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species. 

The following animals are defined as domestic animals: 

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids. 

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines. 

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus. 

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus). 

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus). 

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries), including hybrids with wild 

sheep. 

Domestic goat (Capra hircus). 

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa), including pot-bellied pig and 

excluding any swine that are wild or for which no claim of 

ownership can be made. 

Llama (Lama glama). 

Alpaca (Lama pacos). 

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius). 

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.). 

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink. 

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus). 

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus). 

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger). 

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus). 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus). 

Domesticated breeds of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 

cuniculus) recognized by the American Rabbit Breeders 

Association, Inc. and any lineage resulting from 

crossbreeding recognized breeds. A list of recognized rabbit 

breeds is available on the department's website. 

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus). 

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo). 

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds. 

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons. 

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris). 

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

Domesticated morphs of red cornsnake (Pantherophis 

guttatus) visibly distinguishable from native red cornsnakes 

based on their unique colors and patterns. 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including any native, naturalized, or 

nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, amphibian, reptile, 

mollusk, crustacean, arthropod, or other invertebrate and any 

hybrid of these animals, except as otherwise specified in 

regulations of the board, or part, product, egg, or offspring of 

them, or the dead body or parts thereof. 

B. Exception for red foxes and European rabbits. 

Domesticated red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) having coat colors 

distinguishable from wild red foxes and wild European rabbits 

possessed in captivity on July 1, 2017, may be maintained in 

captivity until the animal dies, but the animal may not be bred 

or sold without a permit from the department. Persons 

possessing domesticated red foxes or European rabbits without 

a permit from the department must declare such possession in 

writing to the department by January 1, 2018. This written 

declaration must include the number of individual animals in 

possession and date acquired, sex, estimated age, coloration, 

and a photograph of each fox or European rabbit. This written 

declaration (i) shall serve as a permit for possession only, and 

(ii) is not transferable, and (iii) must be renewed every five 

years. 

4VAC15-20-65. Hunting, trapping, and fishing license and permit fees. 

In accordance with the authority of the board under subdivision 16 of § 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia, the following fees are 

established for hunting, trapping, and fishing licenses and permits: 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

One-year Resident License to Hunt, for licensees 16 years of age or older $22.00 

Two-year Resident License to Hunt, for licensees 16 years of age or older $43.00 

Three-year Resident License to Hunt, for licensees 16 years of age or older $64.00 

Four-year Resident License to Hunt, for licensees 16 years of age or older $85.00 

Resident Three-Day Trip License to Hunt $11.00 

County or City Resident License to Hunt in County or City of Residence Only, for licensees 16 years of age or older $15.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Annual License to Hunt, for licensees 65 years of age or older $8.00 

Resident Junior License to Hunt, for licensees 12 through 15 years of age, optional for licensees younger than 12 years 

of age 
$7.50 

Resident Youth Combination License to Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to hunt with archery equipment 

during archery hunting season, and to hunt with muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading hunting season, for 

licensees younger than 16 years of age 

$15.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to hunt with archery 

equipment during archery hunting season, to hunt with muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading hunting season, to 

fish in designated stocked trout waters (also listed under Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish) 

$99.00 

Resident Hunting License for Partially Disabled Veterans $11.00 

Resident Infant Lifetime License to Hunt $130.00 

Resident Junior Lifetime License to Hunt, for licensees younger than 12 years of age at the time of purchase $260.00 
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Resident Lifetime License to Hunt, for licensees at the time of purchase:  

through 44 years of age $265.00 

45 through 50 years of age $215.00 

51 through 55 years of age $165.00 

56 through 60 years of age $115.00 

61 through 64 years of age $65.00 

65 years of age and older $25.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident Special Lifetime License to Hunt $15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License to Hunt or Freshwater Fish (also 

listed under Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish) 
no fee 

Virginia Resident Licenses for Additional Hunting Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Resident Deer and Turkey Hunting License, for licensees 16 years of age or older $22.00 

Resident Junior Deer and Turkey Hunting License, for licensees younger than 16 years of age $7.50 

Resident Archery License to Hunt with archery equipment during archery hunting season $17.00 

Resident Bear Hunting License $20.00 

Resident Muzzleloading License to Hunt during muzzleloading hunting season $17.00 

Resident Bonus Deer Permit $17.00 

Resident Fox Hunting License to hunt foxes on horseback with hounds without firearms (not required of an individual holding a 

general License to Hunt) 
$22.00 

Resident Elk Hunt Lottery Application $15.00 

Resident Special Elk Hunting License (not required outside of the Elk Management Zone and only awarded to individuals through 

a department elk license program) 
$40.00 

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Hunt, for licensees 16 years of age or older $110.00 

Nonresident Three-Day Trip License to Hunt $59.00 

Nonresident Youth License to Hunt, for licensees:  

younger than 12 years of age $12.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

Nonresident Youth Combination License to Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to hunt with archery equipment during archery 

hunting season, and to hunt with muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading hunting season, for licensees younger than 16 years of 

age 

$30.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for Partially Disabled Veterans $55.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans $27.50 

Nonresident Infant Lifetime License to Hunt $275.00 

Nonresident Lifetime License to Hunt $580.00 

Virginia Nonresident Licenses for Additional Hunting Privileges 
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Type license or permit Fee 

Nonresident Deer and Turkey Hunting License, for licensees: 
 

16 years of age or older $85.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

younger than 12 years of age $12.00 

Nonresident Bear Hunting License $150.00 

Nonresident Archery License to Hunt with archery equipment during archery hunting season $30.00 

Nonresident Muzzleloading License to Hunt during muzzleloading hunting season $30.00 

Nonresident Shooting Preserve License to Hunt within the boundaries of a licensed shooting preserve $22.00 

Nonresident Bonus Deer Permit $30.00 

Nonresident Fox Hunting License to hunt foxes on horseback with hounds without firearms (not required of an individual 

holding a general License to Hunt) 
$110.00 

Nonresident Elk Hunt Lottery Application $20.00 

Nonresident Special Elk Hunting License (not required outside of the Elk Management Zone and only awarded to 

individuals through a department elk license program) 
$400.00 

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Hunt 

Type license or permit Fee 

Waterfowl Hunting Stationary Blind in Public Waters License $22.50 

Waterfowl Hunting Floating Blind in Public Waters License $40.00 

Foxhound Training Preserve License $17.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands (also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 

Permits to Fish) 
$17.00 

Virginia Resident and Nonresident Licenses to Trap 

Type license Fee 

One-year Resident License to Trap, for licensees 16 years of age or older $45.00 

Two-year Resident License to Trap, for licensees 16 years of age or older $89.00 

Three-year Resident License to Trap, for licensees 16 years of age or older $133.00 

Four-year Resident License to Trap, for licensees 16 years of age or older $177.00 

County or City Resident License to Trap in County or City of Residence Only $20.00 

Resident Junior License to Trap, for licensees younger than 16 years of age $10.00 

Resident Senior Citizen License to Trap, for licensees 65 years of age or older $8.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Lifetime License to Trap, for licensees 65 years of age or older $25.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident Special Lifetime License to Trap $15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License to Trap $15.00 

Nonresident License to Trap $205.00 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 
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One-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $22.00 

Two-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $43.00 

Three-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $64.00 

Four-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $85.00 

County or City Resident License to Freshwater Fish in County or City of Residence Only $15.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish, for licensees 65 years of age or older $8.00 

Resident License to Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters $22.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and Saltwater Fish $38.50 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days $13.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days $23.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to hunt with 

archery equipment during archery hunting season, to hunt with muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, to fish in designated stocked trout waters (also listed under Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt) 

$99.00 

Resident Fishing License for Partially Disabled Veterans $11.00 

Resident Infant Lifetime License to Fish $130.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to Freshwater Fish, for licensees at the time of purchase:  

through 44 years of age $265.00 

45 through 50 years of age $215.00 

51 through 55 years of age $165.00 

56 through 60 years of age $115.00 

61 through 64 years of age $65.00 

65 years of age and older $25.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters, for licensees at the time of 

purchase: 
 

through 44 years of age $265.00 

45 through 50 years of age $215.00 

51 through 55 years of age $165.00 

56 through 60 years of age $115.00 

61 through 64 years of age $65.00 

65 years of age and older $25.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident Special Lifetime License to Freshwater Fish $15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License to Hunt and 

Freshwater Fish (also listed under Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt) 
no fee 

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish $46.00 
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Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters $22.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and Saltwater Fish $70.00 

Nonresident Fishing License for Partially Disabled Veterans $23.00 

Nonresident Annual Fishing License for Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans $11.50 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for One Day $7.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days $20.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days $30.00 

Nonresident Infant Lifetime License to Fish $275.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to Freshwater Fish $580.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to in Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters $580.00 

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Fish 

Type license or permit Fee 

Permit to Fish for One Day at Board-Designated Stocked Trout Fishing Areas with Daily Use Fees $7.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands (also listed under 

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Hunt) 

$17.00 

Special Guest Fishing License $60.00 

4VAC15-20-120. Appointment of new consignment agents for sale of hunting and fishing licenses. (Repealed.) 

A. Except as provided below, no person shall be appointed as a consignment agent for the sale of hunting and fishing licenses 

unless he first sells licenses on a cash basis for at least one year. In addition, the dollar volume of actual or projected sales must 

equal at least 90% of the average hunting and fishing license sales of consignment agents in the locality.  

B. If the cash agent sells the required number of licenses, he may be appointed as a consignment agent, provided he is approved 

for a surety bond by the board's bonding company.  

C. This chapter is applicable to new appointments and not to transfers of existing appointments; provided, that the director may 

appoint consignment agents as needed to provide for a minimum of two consignment agents within a locality. In addition, the 

director may appoint consignment agents on state-owned or state-leased facilities. 

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species; adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated. 

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of December 28, 

1973 (16 USC §§ 1531-1543 1531 through 1543), as amended as of October 10, 2024, and declares all species listed thereon to 

be endangered or threatened species in the Commonwealth. Pursuant to subdivision 12 of § 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia, the 

director is hereby delegated authority to propose adoption of modifications and amendments to the Federal Endangered and 

Threatened Species List in accordance with the procedures of §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A of this section, the following species are declared endangered or threatened in 

the Commonwealth and are afforded the protection provided by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

1. Fish: 

Endangered: 

Dace, Clinch Chrosomus sp. cf. saylori 
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Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus tennesseensis 

Darter, sharphead Etheostoma acuticeps 

Darter, variegate Etheostoma variatum 

Sunfish, blackbanded Enneacanthus chaetodon 

Threatened: 

Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis 

Darter, golden Etheostoma denoncourti 

Darter, greenfin Etheostoma chlorobranchium 

Darter, western sand Ammocrypta clara 

Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti 

Paddlefish Polyodon spathula 

Shiner, emerald Notropis atherinoides 

Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella whipplei 

Shiner, whitemouth Notropis alborus 

2. Amphibians: 

Endangered: 

Salamander, eastern tiger Ambystoma tigrinum 

Threatened: 

Salamander, Mabee's Ambystoma mabeei 

3. Reptiles: 

Endangered: 

Rattlesnake, canebrake (Coastal Plain population of timber rattlesnake) Crotalus horridus 

Turtle, bog Glyptemys muhlenbergii 

Turtle, eastern chicken Deirochelys reticularia 

Threatened: 

Lizard, eastern glass Ophisaurus ventralis 

Turtle, wood Glyptemys insculpta 

4. Birds: 

Endangered: 
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Plover, Wilson's Charadrius wilsonia 

Rail, black Laterallus jamaicensis 

Woodpecker, red-cockaded Dryobates borealis 

Wren, Bewick's Thryomanes bewickii 

Threatened: 

Falcon, peregrine Falco peregrinus 

Shrike, loggerhead Lanius ludovicianus 

Sparrow, Bachman's Aimophila aestivalis 

Sparrow, Henslow's Ammodramus henslowii 

Tern, gull-billed Sterna nilotica 

5. Mammals: 

Endangered: 

Bat, Rafinesque's eastern big-eared Corynorhinus rafinesquii macrotis 

Bat, little brown Myotis lucifugus 

Bat, tri-colored Perimyotis subflavus 

Hare, snowshoe Lepus americanus 

Shrew, American water Sorex palustris 

Vole, rock Microtus chrotorrhinus 

6. Mollusks: 

Endangered: 

Coil, rubble Helicodiscus lirellus 

Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus diadema 

Deertoe Truncilla truncate 

Elephantear Elliptio crassidens 

Elimia, spider Elimia arachnoidea 

Floater, brook Alasmidonta varicose 

Ghostsnail, thankless Holsingeria unthanksensis 

Heelsplitter, Tennessee Lasmigona holstonia 

Lilliput, purple Toxolasma lividus 
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Mussel, slippershell Alasmidonta viridis 

Pigtoe, Ohio Pleurobema cordatum 

Pigtoe, pyramid Pleurobema rubrum 

Springsnail, Appalachian Fontigens bottimeri 

Springsnail (no common name) Fontigens morrisoni 

Supercoil, spirit Paravitrea hera 

Threatened: 

Floater, green Lasmigona subviridis 

Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis 

Pimpleback Quadrula pustulosa 

Pistolgrip Tritogonia verrucosa 

Riversnail, spiny Iofluvialis 

Sandshell, black Ligumia recta 

Supercoil, brown Paravitrea septadens 

7. Arthropods: 

Threatened: 

Amphipod, Madison Cave Stygobromus stegerorum 

Pseudotremia, Ellett Valley Pseudotremia cavernarum 

Xystodesmid, Laurel Creek Sigmoria whiteheadi 

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or offer for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or endangered 

species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by law. 

D. The incidental take of certain species may occur in certain circumstances and with the implementation of certain conservation 

practices as described in this subsection: 

Species Location Allowable Circumstances Required Conservation Measures 

Expected 

Incidental 

Take 

Little 

brown 

bat, 

Tri-

colored 

bat 

Statewide Human health risk – need for 

removal of individual animals 

from human-habited structures. 

Between May 15 and August 31, no exclusion of bats from 

maternity colonies, except for human health concerns. 

Department-permitted nuisance wildlife control operator 

with department-recognized certification in techniques 

associated with removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that allow individual animals to 

escape. 

Manual collection of individual animals incapable of 

sustaining themselves; transport to a willing and 

appropriately permitted wildlife rehabilitator. 

Little to no 

direct lethal 

taking 

expected. 
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Public safety or property damage 

risk – need for tree removal, 

application of prescribed fire, or 

other land management actions 

affecting known roosts; removal 

of animals from known roosts. 

Hibernacula: no tree removal, use of prescribed fire, or 

other land management action within a 250-foot radius 

buffer area from December 1 through April 30. Between 

September 1 and November 30, increase the buffer to a 

1/4-mile radius with the following conditions: for timber 

harvests greater than 20 acres, retain snags and wolf trees 

(if not presenting public safety or property risk) and small 

tree groups up to 15 trees of 3-inch diameter at breast 

height (dbh) or greater, one tree group per 20 acres. 

Otherwise, document the need (public safety, property 

damage risk) for tree removal during this period and verify 

that no known roost trees exist in the buffer area. Tree 

removal and prescribed fire are permitted outside of these 

dates. 

Known roost trees: no tree removal, use of prescribed fire, 

or other land management action within a 150-foot radius 

buffer area from June 1 through July 31, if possible. 

Otherwise, document public safety or property damage 

risk. 

Department-permitted nuisance wildlife control operator 

with department-recognized certification in techniques 

associated with removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that allow individual animals to 

escape. 

Manual collection of individual animals incapable of 

sustaining themselves; transport to a willing and 

appropriately permitted wildlife rehabilitator. 

Little to no 

direct lethal 

taking 

expected. 

E. Experimental populations of certain species are described in the table in this subsection, consistent with the identification of these 

species in state conservation plans. These populations are geographically distinct from naturally occurring populations and are not 

subject to the penalties and prohibitions authorized under § 29.1-568 of the Code of Virginia. 

Species Designated Location of Experimental Population 
County 

or City 
Take Exemptions 

Eastern tiger 

salamander 

(Ambystoma 

tigrinum) 

Lands located within the 2025 boundaries of the 

department's Big Woods Wildlife Management Area and 

The Nature Conservancy's Piney Grove Preserve 

Sussex 

County 
Take is authorized unless 

otherwise prohibited by other 

Virginia laws or regulations 

4VAC15-20-155. Camping on Wildlife Management Areas 

and other department-owned or department-managed 

lands. 

A. Temporary dispersed camping, with no amenities 

provided, may only be performed on Wildlife Management 

Areas (WMAs) and other department-owned or managed lands 

when occupants are engaged in authorized activities and in 

strict compliance with established terms and conditions, 

including those listed in this section. Camping may be 

prohibited on certain portions or entire parcels of department-

owned or managed lands, including certain WMAs. 

B. Authorization. It shall be unlawful to camp without written 

authorization from the department. Written authorization to 

camp is required in addition to any and all other licenses, 

permits, or authorizations that may otherwise be required. 

Written authorization is obtained by completing and 

submitting a Camping Authorization Form. Only an individual 

18 years of age or older who is a member of and accepts 

responsibility for the camp and camping group may be issued 

a camping authorization. 

C. Camping periods. Unless otherwise posted or authorized, 

it shall be unlawful to camp for more than 14 consecutive 

nights, or more than 14 nights in a 28-day period on 

department-owned or controlled lands. At the end of the 

authorized camping period, all personal property and any 

refuse must be removed. 

D. Prohibited Allowed and prohibited locations. Camping 

Back country camping is allowed. Adjacent to roadways, 

camping is allowed only at in previously cleared and 

established sites areas. No vegetation may be cut, damaged, or 
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removed to establish a camp site. Enclosed camping trailers or 

camping vehicles are allowed if they do not occupy the entire 

available parking area in that location. It shall be unlawful to 

camp within 300 feet of any department-owned lake, boat 

ramp, or other facility. It shall be unlawful to camp at other 

specific locations as posted. This section shall not prohibit 

active angling at night along shorelines where permitted. 

E. Removal of personal property and refuse. Any person who 

establishes or occupies a camp shall be responsible for the 

complete removal of all personal property and refuse when the 

camping authorization has expired. Any personal property or 

refuse that remains after the camping authorization has expired 

shall be considered litter and punishable pursuant to § 33.2-802 

of the Code of Virginia. 

F. It shall be unlawful when camping on department-owned 

or managed lands to store or leave unattended any food 

(including food for pets and livestock), refuse, bear attractant, 

or other wildlife attractant unless it is (i) in a bear-resistant 

container; (ii) in a trunk of a vehicle or in a closed, locked, 

hard-sided motor vehicle with a solid top; (iii) in a closed, 

locked, hard-body trailer; or (iv) suspended at least 10 feet 

clear of the ground at all points and at least four feet 

horizontally from the supporting tree or pole and any other tree 

or pole. It shall be unlawful to discard, bury, or abandon any 

food, refuse, bear attractant, or other wildlife attractant unless 

it is disposed of by placing it inside an animal-resistant trash 

receptacle provided by the department. 

G. Any violation of this section or other posted rules shall be 

punishable as a Class III misdemeanor, and the camping permit 

shall become null and void. The permittee shall be required to 

immediately vacate the property upon summons or 

notification. A second or subsequent offense may result in the 

loss of camping privileges on department-owned or managed 

properties. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8246; Filed April 9, 2025, 2:36 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove a requirement to 

report harvested northern snakehead fish, (ii) remove 

exemptions from the permit requirement on the import, 

possession, or sale of prairie dogs in the Commonwealth, 

and (iii) clarify an outdated provision regarding permit 

exemptions. 

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession, and 

sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may be 

issued by the department, if consistent with the department's 

fish and wildlife management program, to import, possess, or 

sell those nonnative (exotic) animals listed in the following 

table and in 4VAC15-20-210 that the board finds and declares 

to be predatory or undesirable within the meaning and intent of 

§ 29.1-542 of the Code of Virginia, in that their introduction 

into the Commonwealth will be detrimental to the native fish 

and wildlife resources of Virginia. 

 

 

AMPHIBIANS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Anura Bufonidae Rhinella marina Cane toad* 
 

Pipidae Hymenochirus spp. 

Pseudohymenochiris merlini 

African dwarf frog 

Xenopus spp. Tongueless or African clawed frog 

Caudata Ambystomatidae All species, except Ambystoma 

mexicanum 

All mole salamanders, except Mexican 

axolotl 

BIRDS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Psittaciformes Psittacidae Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet* 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Anseriformes Anatidae Cygnus olor Mute swan 

FISH 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Cypriniformes Catostomidae Catostomus microps Modoc sucker 

Catostomus santaanae Santa Ana sucker 

Catostomus warnerensis Warner sucker 

Ictiobus bubalus Smallmouth* buffalo 

I. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo 

I. niger Black buffalo* 
 

Characidae Pygopristis spp. 

Pygocentrus spp. 

Rooseveltiella spp. 

Serrasalmo spp. 

Serrasalmus spp. 

Taddyella spp. 

Piranhas 

 

Cobitidae Misgurnus anguillicaudatus Oriental weatherfish 
 

Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp* 

Chrosomus saylori Laurel dace 

Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white amur 

Cyprinella caerulea Blue shiner 

Cyprinella formosa Beautiful shiner 

Cyprinella lutrensis Red shiner 

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver carp* 

Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp* 

Notropis albizonatus Palezone shiner 

Notropis cahabae Cahaba shiner 

Notropis girardi Arkansas River shiner 

Notropis mekistocholas Cape Fear shiner 

Notropis simus pecosensis Pecos bluntnose shiner 

Notropis topeka (= tristis) Topeka shiner 

Phoxinus cumberlandensis Blackside dace 

Rhinichthys osculus lethoporus Independence Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus nevadensis Ash Meadows speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus oligoporus Clover Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus ssp. Foskett speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus thermalis Kendall Warm Springs dace 
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Scardinius erythrophthalmus Rudd 

Tinca tinca Tench* 

Cyprinodontiformes Poeciliidae Gambusia gaigei Big Bend gambusia 

Gambusia georgei San Marcos gambusia 

Gambusia heterochir Clear Creek gambusia 

Gambusia nobilis Pecos gambusia 

Peociliopsis occidentalis Gila topminnow 

Gasterosteiformes Gasterosteidae Gasterosteus aculeatus 

williamsoni 

Unarmored threespine stickleback 

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby 

Neogobius melanostomus Round goby 

Perciformes Centrarchidae Micropterus henshalli Alabama bass 

Channidae 
Channa spp. 

Parachanna spp. 
Snakeheads 

Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia 
 

Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe* 

Elassomatidae Elassoma alabamae Spring pygmy sunfish 

Percidae Crystallaria cincotta Diamond darter 

Etheostoma chermocki Vermilion darter 

Etheostoma boschungi Slackwater darter 

Etheostoma chienense Relict darter 

Etheostoma etowahae Etowah darter 

Etheostoma fonticola Fountain darter 

Etheostoma moorei Yellowcheek darter 

Etheostoma nianguae Niangua darter 

Etheostoma nuchale Watercress darter 

Etheostoma okaloosae Okaloosa darter 

Etheostoma phytophilum Rush darter 

Etheostoma rubrum Bayou darter 

Etheostoma scotti Cherokee darter 

Etheostoma sp. Bluemask (= jewel) darter 

Etheostoma susanae Cumberland darter 

Etheostoma wapiti Boulder darter 

Percina antesella Amber darter 

Percina aurolineata Goldline darter 
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Percina jenkinsi Conasauga logperch 

Percina pantherina Leopard darter 

Percina tanasi Snail darter 

Scorpaeniformes Cottidae Cottus sp. Grotto sculpin 

Cottus paulus (= pygmaeus) Pygmy sculpin 

Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish 

Ictaluridae Noturus baileyi Smoky madtom 

Noturus crypticus Chucky madtom 

Noturus placidus Neosho madtom 

Noturus stanauli Pygmy madtom 

Noturus trautmani Scioto madtom 

Synbranchiformes Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel 

MAMMALS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs,* Wolves, Coyotes or Coyote 

hybrids, Jackals and Foxes 

Ursidae All Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* Relatives 

Mustelidae All Species Weasels, Badgers,* Skunks and Otters 
 

(except Mustela putorius furo) Ferret 

Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* Lingsangs, Mongooses, 

and Fossas 

Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas and Aardwolves* 

Felidae All Species Cats* 

Chiroptera 

 

All Species Bats* 

Lagomorpha Lepridae Brachylagus idahoensis Pygmy rabbit 

Lepus europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit 

Sylvilagus bachmani riparius Riparian brush rabbit 

Sylvilagus palustris hefneri Lower Keys marsh rabbit 

Rodentia 

 

All species native to Africa All species native to Africa 

Dipodidae Zapus hudsonius preblei Preble's meadow jumping mouse 
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Muridae Microtus californicus scirpensis Amargosa vole 

Microtus mexicanus 

hualpaiensis 

Hualapai Mexican vole 

Microtus pennsylvanicus 

dukecampbelli 

Florida salt marsh vole 

Neotoma floridana smalli Key Largo woodrat 

Neotoma fuscipes riparia Riparian (= San Joaquin Valley) woodrat 

Oryzomys palustris natator Rice rat 

Peromyscus gossypinus 

allapaticola 

Key Largo cotton mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

allophrys 

Choctawhatchee beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

ammobates 

Alabama beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

niveiventris 

Southeastern beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

peninsularis 

St. Andrew beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus phasma Anastasia Island beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

trissyllepsis 

Perdido Key beach mouse 

Reithrodontomys raviventris Salt marsh harvest mouse 

Heteromyidae Dipodomys heermanni 

morroensis 

Morro Bay kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys ingens Giant kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys merriami parvus San Bernadino Merriam's kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides exilis Fresno kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides 

nitratoides 

Tipton kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys stephensi (including 

D. cascus) 

Stephens' kangaroo rat 

Perognathus longimembris 

pacificus 

Pacific pocket mouse 

Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs 

Spermophilus brunneus 

brunneus 

Northern Idaho ground squirrel 

Tamiasciurus hudsonicus 

grahamensis 

Mount Graham red squirrel 

Soricomorpha Soricidae Sorex ornatus relictus Buena Vista Lake ornate shrew 

MOLLUSKS 
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Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum New Zealand mudsnail 

Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis Quagga mussel 

Dreissena bugensis Quagga mussel 

REPTILES 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Crocodilia Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans* 

 Crocodylidae All species Crocodiles* 

 Gavialidae All species Gavials* 

Squamata Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

CRUSTACEANS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Decapoda Cambaridae Cambarus aculabrum Cave crayfish 

Cambarus zophonastes Cave crayfish 

Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish 

Orconectes shoupi Nashville crayfish 

Pacifastacus fortis Shasta crayfish 

Procambarus sp. Marbled crayfish 

Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish 

Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 

Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A 

of this section, a person, company, or corporation possessing 

any nonnative (exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) 

in subsection A of this section, prior to July 1, 1992, must 

declare such possession have proof that the animal was 

declared to the department in writing to the department by prior 

to January 1, 1993. This written declaration shall serve as a 

permit for possession only, is not transferable, and must be 

renewed every five years. This written declaration must 

include species name, common name, number of individuals, 

date or dates acquired, sex (if possible), estimated age, height 

or length, and other characteristics such as bands and band 

numbers, tattoos, registration numbers, coloration, and specific 

markings. Possession transfer will require a new permit 

according to the requirements of this subsection. 

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A No permit is not 

required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive 

bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band. 

D. Exception for parts or products. A No permit is not 

required for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) 

animals listed in subsection A of this section that may be used 

for personal use, in the manufacture of products, or used in 

scientific research, provided that such parts or products be are 

packaged outside the Commonwealth by any person, company, 

or corporation duly licensed by the state in which the parts 

originate. Such packages may be transported into the 

Commonwealth, consistent with other state laws and 

regulations, so long as the original package remains unbroken, 

unopened, and intact until its point of destination is reached. 

Documentation The person, business, or institution ordering 

such nonnative (exotic) animal parts shall keep documentation 

concerning the type and cost of the animal parts ordered, the 

purpose and date of the order, point and date of shipping, and 

date of receiving shall be kept by the person, business, or 

institution ordering such nonnative (exotic) animal parts. Such 

documentation shall be open to inspection by a representative 

of the Department of Wildlife Resources. 

E. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing of 

prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be January 
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1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in Virginia on 

December 31, 1997, may be maintained in captivity until the 

animals' deaths, but they may not be sold on or after January 1, 

1998, without a permit. 

F. E. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally 

harvest snakehead fish of the family Channidae, provided that 

they immediately kill such fish and that they notify the 

department, as soon as practicable, of such actions. 

G. F. Exception for feral hogs. Anyone may legally trap feral 

hogs with written permission of the landowner, provided that 

any trapped hogs are not removed from the trap site alive and 

are killed immediately. 

H. G. Exception for grass carp. Anglers may legally harvest 

grass carp of the family Cyprinidae only from public waters of 

the Commonwealth. It is unlawful to harvest grass carp from 

any public inland lake or reservoir. Anglers taking grass carp 

must ensure that harvested grass carp are dead. 

I. H. Exception for Alabama bass. Anglers may possess live 

Alabama bass of the family Centrarchidae only on the body of 

water from which the fish were captured, provided that the 

angler does not live transport these fish outside of the body of 

water from which the fish were captured. Anglers may only 

release live Alabama bass back into the body of water from 

which the fish were captured. Anglers may legally harvest 

Alabama bass, provided that the anglers ensure all harvested 

Alabama bass are dead. 

J. I. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other nonnative 

(exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this section may 

be possessed, purchased, and sold;, provided, that such animals 

shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and federal laws 

and regulations, including those that apply to 

threatened/endangered threatened and endangered species, and 

further provided, that no such animals shall not be liberated 

within the Commonwealth. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8247; Filed April 9, 2025, 2:37 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General 

(amending 4VAC15-40-70, 4VAC15-40-282; adding 

4VAC15-40-61, 4VAC15-40-62, 4VAC15-40-310; repealing 

4VAC15-40-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments (i) separate provisions regarding 

hunting with dogs and those regarding possession of certain 

weapons into separate sections to clarify when weapons may 

be possessed while hunting; (ii) establish provisions outlining 

the period during which hunting and trapping may occur on 

national forest lands, state forest lands, and department-

owned and department-managed lands while maintaining the 

current timeframe for hunting and trapping on these lands; 

(iii) clarify lawful shooting activities on department-owned 

and department-managed lands; (iv) clarify provisions 

regarding the possession of firearms while training dogs; (v) 

remove the requirement that a person be notified by 

department personnel that they are purposefully or 

inadvertently feeding bears prior to being found in violation 

of the regulation; and (vi) establish provisions for 

department staff or designees of department staff to authorize 

citizens to dispatch severely injured or diseased game, fur-

bearing animals, and nonmigratory game birds for animal 

welfare purposes. 

4VAC15-40-60. Hunting with dogs or possession of 

weapons in certain locations during closed season. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Department-owned and national forest lands statewide. It 

shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm or any hunting 

weapon that is not unloaded and cased or dismantled on all 

national forest lands statewide and on department-owned lands 

and on other lands managed by the department under 

cooperative agreement except during the period when it is 

lawful to take bear, deer, grouse, pheasant, quail, rabbit, 

raccoon, squirrel, turkey, waterfowl, or migratory gamebirds 

on these lands. 

B. Certain counties. Except as otherwise provided in 

4VAC15-40-70, it shall be unlawful to have either a shotgun 

or a rifle in one's possession when accompanied by a dog in the 

daytime in the fields, forests or waters of the Counties of 

Augusta, Clarke, Frederick, Page, Shenandoah, and Warren, 

and in the counties east of the Blue Ridge Mountains, except 

Patrick, at any time except the periods prescribed by law to 

hunt game birds and animals. 

C. Shooting ranges and authorized activities. The provisions 

of this section shall not prohibit the conduct of any activities 

authorized by the board or the establishment and operation of 

archery and shooting ranges on the lands described in 

subsections A and B of this section. The use of firearms or any 

hunting weapon in such ranges during the closed season period 

will be restricted to the area within the established range 

boundaries. Such weapons shall be required to be unloaded and 

cased or dismantled in all areas other than the range 

boundaries. The use of firearms or any hunting weapon during 

the closed hunting period in such ranges shall be restricted to 

target shooting only, and no birds or animals shall be molested. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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D. It shall be unlawful to chase with a dog or train dogs on 

national forest lands or department-owned lands except during 

authorized hunting, chase, or training seasons that specifically 

permit these activities on these lands or during raccoon hound 

field trials on these lands between September 1 and March 31, 

both dates inclusive, that are sanctioned by bona fide national 

kennel clubs and authorized by permits issued by the 

department or the U.S. Forest Service. 

E. It shall be unlawful to possess or transport any loaded 

firearm or loaded hunting weapon in or on any vehicle at any 

time on national forest lands or department-owned lands. 

F. The provisions of this section shall not prohibit the 

possession, transport, and use of loaded firearms by employees 

of the Department of Wildlife Resources while engaged in the 

performance of their authorized and official duties, nor shall it 

prohibit possession and transport of loaded concealed 

handguns where the individual possesses a concealed handgun 

permit as defined in § 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. Meaning of "possession" of any hunting weapon and 

definition of "loaded crossbow," "loaded arrowgun," "loaded 

muzzleloader," and "loaded firearm." For the purpose of this 

section, the word "possession" shall include having any firearm 

or weapon used for hunting in or on one's person, vehicle, or 

conveyance. For the purpose of this section, a "loaded firearm" 

means a firearm in which ammunition is chambered or loaded 

in the magazine or clip when such magazine or clip is engaged 

or partially engaged in a firearm. The definition of a "loaded 

muzzleloader" will include a muzzleloading rifle, pistol, or 

shotgun that is capped, has a charged pan, or has a primer or 

battery installed in the muzzleloader. A "loaded crossbow" 

means a crossbow that is cocked and has either a bolt or arrow 

engaged or partially engaged on the shooting rail or track of 

the crossbow, or with a "trackless crossbow" when the 

crossbow is cocked and a bolt or arrow is nocked. "Loaded 

arrowgun" means an arrowgun that has an arrow or bolt 

inserted on the arrow rest or in the barrel. "Hunting weapon" 

means any weapon allowable for hunting as defined in § 29.1-

519 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC15-40-61. Hunting and trapping on national forest, 

state forest, and department-owned or department-

managed lands.  

A. Except as provided in subsection B of this section, it shall 

be unlawful to hunt or trap, as defined in § 29.1-100 of the 

Code of Virginia, on all national forest lands and state forest 

lands statewide and on department-owned and department-

managed lands, except during the period when it is lawful to 

take bear, deer, grouse, pheasant, quail, rabbit, raccoon, 

squirrel, turkey, waterfowl, or migratory game birds on these 

lands. 

B. It shall be lawful to chase with a dog or train dogs on 

national forest lands, state forest lands, or department-owned 

and department-managed lands during authorized hunting, 

chase, or training seasons that specifically permit these 

activities on these lands or during raccoon hound field trials on 

these lands between September 1 and March 31, both dates 

inclusive, that are sanctioned by bona fide national kennel 

clubs and authorized by permits issued by the department or 

the U.S. Forest Service. Otherwise, such activities on these 

lands shall be unlawful. 

4VAC15-40-62. Shooting ranges on department-owned and 

managed lands.  

A. It shall be unlawful to use or discharge a weapon, as described 

in § 29.1-519 of the Code of Virginia, on department-owned and 

department-managed lands other than to take legal wildlife while 

hunting or trapping during open seasons, as defined in 4VAC15-

40-61. 

B. Discharge of a firearm or hunting weapon for target shooting 

is prohibited on department-owned and department-managed 

lands, except on designated shooting ranges designed for specific 

firearms and hunting weapons on posted days and hours during 

which the range is open for operation. 

4VAC15-40-70. Open dog training season. 

A. Private lands and certain military areas. It shall be lawful 

to train dogs during daylight hours on squirrels and 

nonmigratory game birds on private lands, and on rabbits and 

nonmigratory game birds on Fort A. P. Hill, Fort Pickett, and 

Quantico Marine Reservation. Participants in this dog training 

season shall not have use any weapons other than starter pistols 

in their possession to train dogs, must comply with all 

regulations and laws pertaining to hunting, and no game shall 

be taken; provided, however, that weapons may be in 

possession used on private lands when training dogs on captive 

raised and properly marked mallards and pigeons so that they 

may be immediately shot or recovered. 

B. It shall be lawful to train dogs on rabbits on private lands 

from 1/2 hour before sunrise to midnight. 

C. Designated portions of certain department-owned lands. It 

shall be lawful to train dogs on quail on designated portions of 

the Amelia Wildlife Management Area, Cavalier Wildlife 

Management Area, Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area, Chickahominy Wildlife Management Area, Dick Cross 

Wildlife Management Area, Mattaponi Wildlife Management 

Area, and White Oak Mountain Wildlife Management Area 

from September 1 to the day prior to the opening date of the 

quail hunting season, both dates inclusive. Participants in this 

dog training season shall not have use any weapons other than 

starter pistols in their possession to train dogs, shall not release 

pen-raised birds, must comply with all regulations and laws 

pertaining to hunting, and no game shall be taken. 

D. Designated department-owned lands. It shall be lawful to 

train dogs during daylight hours on rabbits and nonmigratory 

game birds on the Weston Wildlife Management Area from 

September 1 to March 31, both dates inclusive. Participants in 

this dog training season shall not have use any weapons other 
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than starter pistols in their possession to train dogs, shall not 

release pen-raised birds, must comply with all regulations and 

laws pertaining to hunting, and no game shall be taken. 

4VAC15-40-282. Unauthorized feeding of bear. 

It shall be unlawful for any person, as defined in § 1-230 of the 

Code of Virginia, to place, distribute, or allow the placement of 

food, minerals, carrion, trash, or similar substances to feed or 

attract bear. Nor, upon notification by department personnel, No 

person shall any person continue to place, distribute, or allow the 

placement of any food, mineral, carrion, trash, or similar 

substances for any purpose if the placement of these materials 

results in the presence of bear. After such notification, such person 

shall be in violation of this section if the placing, distribution, or 

presence of such food, minerals, carrion, trash, or similar 

substances continues. This Nothing in this section shall not apply 

to wildlife management activities conducted or authorized by the 

department. 

4VAC15-40-310. Dispatch of game or furbearers by 

authorized persons.  

A. The director or the director's designee may, at the director's 

discretion, authorize a person to dispatch any nonmigratory 

game bird, fur-bearing animal, or game animal, except elk, as 

those animals are defined in § 29.1-100 of the Code of 

Virginia, provided that the authorizing official is satisfied that 

the animal is actively exhibiting clear signs of severe injury or 

disease. 

B. The authorizing official may award the carcass of such 

animal or bird to any person, along with a call for service or 

report number, provided that no part of any animal dispatched 

pursuant to this section shall be used for the purposes of 

taxidermy, mounts, contests, or any public display, unless 

authorized by the director or the director's designee.  

C. Where a deer is the animal authorized to be dispatched, the 

carcass or parts of it may not be removed from a disease 

management area, except according to the provisions of 

4VAC15-90-293. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8248; Filed April 16, 2025, 11:09 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 

4VAC15-50-11, 4VAC15-50-70, 4VAC15-50-71, 4VAC15-

50-120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include (i) changes to archery, 

muzzleloading, and general firearms seasons for bears in 

various localities to meet population objectives; (ii) 

clarification of weapons possession by persons who are 

lawfully hunting bear; and (iii) increases of bear hound 

chase seasons in certain localities. 
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4VAC15-50-11. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears in the following localities, including the cities and towns therein, during the following seasons: 

Location Season 

Accomack County Closed 

Albemarle County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Alleghany County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Amelia County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Amherst County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Appomattox County 

Friday following the fourth Monday nearest December 2 through in November and for two 

consecutive days following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Arlington County The fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Augusta County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Bath County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Bedford County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Bland County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Botetourt County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Brunswick County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Buchanan County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Buckingham County 

Friday following the fourth Monday nearest December 2 through in November and for two 

consecutive days following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Campbell County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Caroline County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Carroll County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Charles City County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 
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Charlotte County 
Monday nearest December 2 Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Chesapeake (City of) October 1 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Chesterfield County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Clarke County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Craig County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Culpeper County 

Fourth Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Cumberland County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Dickenson County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Dinwiddie County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Essex County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Fairfax County The fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Fauquier County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Floyd County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Fluvanna County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Franklin County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Frederick County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Giles County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Gloucester County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Goochland County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Grayson County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Greene County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Greensville County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Halifax County 
Monday nearest December 2 Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Hanover County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Henrico County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 
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Henry County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Highland County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Isle of Wight County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

James City County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

King and Queen County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

King George County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

King William County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Lancaster County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Lee County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Loudoun County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Louisa County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Lunenburg County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Madison County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Mathews County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Mecklenburg County 
Monday nearest December 2 Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Middlesex County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Montgomery County 

(southeast of I-81) 
Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Montgomery County 

(northwest of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Nelson County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

New Kent County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Northampton County Closed 

Northumberland County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Nottoway County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Orange County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Page County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Patrick County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 
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Pittsylvania County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Powhatan County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Prince Edward County 
Monday nearest December 2 Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive. 

Prince George County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Prince William County The fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Pulaski County  

(southeast of I-81) 
Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Pulaski County  

(northwest of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Rappahannock County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Richmond County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Roanoke County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockbridge County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Rockingham County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Russell County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Scott County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following; and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Shenandoah County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Smyth County 

(southeast of I-81) 
Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Smyth County 

(northwest of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following;, and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Southampton County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Spotsylvania County Fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Stafford County The fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Suffolk (City of) October 1 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Surry County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Sussex County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 
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Tazewell County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following;, and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Virginia Beach (City of) October 1 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Warren County 

The Friday following the fourth Monday in November through and for two consecutive days 

following, and 12 days immediately prior to and including the first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Washington County  

(southeast of I-81) 
Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Washington County 

(northwest of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following;, and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Westmoreland County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Wise County 
Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following;, and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Wythe County  

(southeast of I-81) 
Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

Wythe County  

(northwest of I-81) 

Monday following the last Saturday in September and for two days following;, and the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

York County Monday nearest December 2 through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 

B. Notwithstanding provisions of subsection A of this section, bears may be hunted from the first Saturday in October through 

the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any town or city that allows bear hunting. 

 

4VAC15-50-70. Archery hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special archery 

season with archery equipment from the first Saturday in 

October through the Friday prior to the third Monday in 

November, both dates inclusive, except in the localities listed 

in subsection B of this section. 

B. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special archery 

season with archery equipment from the third Saturday in 

October through the Friday prior to the third Monday in 

November, both dates inclusive, in the following counties, 

including the cities and towns within: Albemarle, Alleghany, 

Amherst, Appomattox, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, 

Buckingham, Clarke, Culpeper, Fauquier, Frederick, Greene, 

Highland, Loudoun, Madison, Nelson, Page, Rappahannock, 

Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah, and Warren. 

C. It shall be unlawful to carry use firearms to hunt any game 

species while hunting with archery equipment during the 

special archery seasons, except that hunters 15 years of age and 

under and apprentice hunters may be in possession of use 

firearms to hunt for bear while hunting on youth and apprentice 

hunter bear hunting weekend as authorized by 4VAC15-50-12 

and except that a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-

50-71, may be in the possession of used by a properly licensed 

muzzleloading gun hunter when and where the early special 

archery bear season overlaps the early special muzzleloading 

bear season. 

C. D. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with 

archery equipment during the special archery season, except 

that hounds may be used by hunters participating in the youth 

and apprentice hunter bear hunting weekend in areas as defined 

in 4VAC15-50-12, and that tracking dogs as described in 

§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-50-71. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears during the special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the second Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 

Virginia Beach, except in the localities listed in subsection B 

of this section. 

B. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Tuesday following the second Monday in November through 

the Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in the following counties, including the cities and 

towns within: Albemarle, Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, 

Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Buckingham, Clarke, 

Culpeper, Fauquier, Frederick, Greene, Highland, Loudoun, 
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Madison, Nelson, Page, Rappahannock, Rockbridge, 

Rockingham, Shenandoah, and Warren. 

C. It shall be unlawful to hunt bear with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 
that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

C. D. Muzzleloading guns, for the purpose of this section, 

include: 

1. Single shot muzzleloading rifles.40 Muzzleloading rifles 

(one or more barrels) .40 caliber or larger, firing a single 

projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger projectile) where 

the projectile is loaded from the muzzle;  

2. Muzzleloading shotguns (one or more barrels) not larger than 

10 gauge where the projectiles are loaded from the muzzle; 

3. Muzzleloading pistols (one or more barrels).45 (one or more 

barrels) .44 caliber or larger, firing a single projectile or sabot 

(with a .35 caliber or larger projectile) per barrel where the 

propellant and projectile are loaded from the muzzle; and 

4. Muzzleloading revolvers .45 caliber or larger, firing a single 

projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger projectile) per 

cylinder where the propellant and projectile are loaded from the 

forward end of the cylinder. 

D. E. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession hunt 

bear with any firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while 

hunting with a muzzleloading gun in a during the special 

muzzleloading bear season. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season. 

A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from August 1 through the last Saturday in 

September, both dates inclusive, in the Counties of Albemarle, 

Alleghany, Amherst, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, 

Brunswick, Buchanan, Carroll, Charlotte, Craig, Culpeper, 

Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Grayson (east of Route 16), 

Greene, Greensville, Highland, Lee, Lunenburg, Madison, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Nelson, Page, Pulaski, 

Rappahannock, Roanoke (west of I-81), Rockbridge, 

Rockingham, Russell, Scott, Shenandoah, Smyth (except for the 

part southeast of I-81 and west of State Route 16), Tazewell, 

Warren, Washington (northwest of I-81), Wise, and Wythe and in 

the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third Monday 

in November and for 14 days following, both dates inclusive, in 

the Counties of Amelia, Appomattox, Buckingham, Brunswick, 

Campbell (east of the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Charles City, 

Charlotte, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Gloucester, 

Greensville, Halifax, Isle of Wight, James City, King and Queen, 

King George, King William, Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, 

Mecklenburg, Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, 

Pittsylvania (east of the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince 

Edward, Prince George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, 

Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third Monday 

in November and for 12 days following, both dates inclusive, in 

the Counties of Appomattox and Buckingham. 

D. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the first Monday of December and for 

19 days following, excluding Sundays, in the Counties of 

Albemarle, Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Augusta, Bath, 

Bedford, Botetourt, Buckingham, Clarke, Culpeper, Fauquier, 

Frederick, Greene, Highland, Madison, Nelson, Page, 

Rappahannock, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah, and 

Warren. 

E. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a use any firearm, 

bow, crossbow, or any weapon capable of legally permissible for 

taking a black bear for the specific purpose of harvesting or killing 

a black bear while participating in the bear hound training season. 

The meaning of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall 

include having a firearm, bow, crossbow, or any weapon capable 

of taking a black bear in or on one's person, vehicle, or 

conveyance. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8259; Filed April 9, 2025, 2:44 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-70. Game: Bobcat (amending 

4VAC15-70-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department of 

Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments clarify language regarding the 

possession of a firearm during the bobcat archery season. 

4VAC15-70-60. Archery hunting with bow and arrow, 

crossbow, or slingbow. 

A. Season. It shall be lawful to hunt bobcats with bow and arrow, 

crossbow, or slingbow from the first Saturday in October through 

October 31, both dates inclusive. 

B. Carrying Using firearms to hunt prohibited. It shall be unlawful 

to carry use firearms to hunt any game species while hunting with bow 

and arrow, crossbow, or slingbow during the special archery seasons. 

C. Use of dogs prohibited during the special archery season. It shall 

be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow and arrow, crossbow, 

or slingbow during any special archery season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8255; Filed April 9, 2025, 2:45 p.m. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 4VAC15-90-10, 4VAC15-90-70, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-90-89, 

4VAC15-90-91, 4VAC15-90-530, 4VAC15-90-540, 4VAC15-90-550). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update deer hunting general firearm seasons, deer hunting archery seasons, and deer hunting 

muzzleloader seasons by management unit; (ii) clarify firearm possession and use terms in accordance with Second 

Amendment provisions; (iii) address which deer management units are part of the Earn A Buck program used to accomplish 

female deer harvest objectives to meet overall deer population harvest goals; (iv) update deer hunting either-sex days as 

part of overall deer seasons by management unit; (v) simplify language and remove unnecessary mandates; and (vi) allow 

the department the appropriate flexibility to take into account wildlife violations for those drawn in the elk lottery and 

landowner lottery. 

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, including the cities and towns therein, during the following seasons, 

all dates inclusive. 

Locality Season 

Accomack County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Albemarle County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Alleghany County (except on national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Alleghany County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Amelia County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the 

James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just 

south of the Town of Amherst continuing north on 

U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following through the first Saturday in January 

Amherst County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29, as 

defined above) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Appomattox County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Arlington County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Arlington County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Augusta County (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Augusta County (national forest and department-

owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Bath County (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Bath County (national forest and department-owned 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Bedford County (except on national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following through the first Saturday in January 

Bedford County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Bedford County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through January 31 

Bland County (except on national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Bland County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Botetourt County (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Botetourt County (national forest and department-

owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Brunswick County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Buchanan County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 28 

consecutive days following 

Buckingham County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Campbell County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Caroline County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Carroll County (private except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following through the first Saturday in January 

Carroll County (public national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 
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Carroll County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Charles City County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Charlotte County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Chesapeake (City of) October 1 through November 30 

Chesterfield County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Clarke County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Clarke County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Craig County (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Craig County (national forest and department-owned 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Culpeper County (except Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Culpeper County (Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Culpeper County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Cumberland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Dickenson County (except on federal lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Dickenson County (federal lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Dinwiddie County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Essex County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Fairfax County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Fairfax County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Fauquier County (except Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 
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Fauquier County (Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Fauquier County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Floyd County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following through the first Saturday in January 

Floyd County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Fluvanna County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Franklin County (except on federal and department-

owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Franklin County (federal and department-owned 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Frederick County (non-national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Frederick County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Frederick County (non-national forest lands 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Giles County (except on national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Giles County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Gloucester County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Goochland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Grayson County (except on national forest lands and 

Grayson Highlands State Park) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Grayson County (national forest lands and Grayson 

Highlands State Park) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Greene County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Greene County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Greensville County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 
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Halifax County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Hanover County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Hanover County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Henrico County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Henrico County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Henry County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Highland County (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Highland County (national forest and department-

owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Isle of Wight County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

James City County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

James City County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

King and Queen County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

King George County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

King William County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Lancaster County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Lee County (except on national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Lee County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Loudoun County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Loudoun County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 
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Louisa County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Lunenburg County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Madison County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Madison County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Mathews County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Mecklenburg County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Middlesex County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Montgomery County (non-national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following through the first Saturday in January 

Montgomery County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Montgomery County (non-national forest lands and 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Nelson County (west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following through the first Saturday in January 

Nelson County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Nelson County (east of Route 151) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

New Kent County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Northampton County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Northumberland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Nottoway County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Orange County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Orange County (private lands and antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 
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Page County (except on national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Page County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Page County (non-national forest lands and 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Patrick County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Pittsylvania County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Powhatan County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Prince Edward County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Prince George County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Prince William County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Prince William County (antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Pulaski County (except on New River Unit of the 

Radford Army Ammunition Plant adjacent to the 

Town of Dublin and national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following through the first Saturday in January 

Pulaski County (New River Unit of the Radford 

Army Ammunition Plant adjacent to the Town of 

Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the second Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Pulaski County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Pulaski County (non-national forest lands and 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Rappahannock County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Rappahannock County (private lands and antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Richmond County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Roanoke County (private except on national forest 

and department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following through the first Saturday in January 
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Roanoke County (public national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Rockbridge County (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Rockbridge County (national forest and department-

owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Rockingham County (except on national forest lands 

and private lands west of Routes 613 and 731) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Rockingham County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Rockingham County (private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Russell County (except on national forest lands, 

Channels State Forest, and department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Russell County (national forest lands, Channels 

State Forest, and department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Scott County (except on national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Scott County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Shenandoah County (except on national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Shenandoah County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Shenandoah County (non-national forest lands 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Smyth County (except on national forest lands, 

Hungry Mother State Park, and department-owned 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Smyth County (national forest lands, Hungry 

Mother State Park, and department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Southampton County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Spotsylvania County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Stafford County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Suffolk (City of) (east of Dismal Swamp Line) October 1 through November 30 

Suffolk (City of) (west of Dismal Swamp Line) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 
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Surry County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Sussex County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Tazewell County (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Tazewell County (national forest and department-

owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Virginia Beach (City of) October 1 through November 30 

Warren County (non-national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Warren County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Warren County (non-national forest lands antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

Washington County (except on national forest lands, 

Channels State Forest, and department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Washington County (national forest lands, Channels 

State Forest, and department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Westmoreland County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Wise County (except on national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 28 

consecutive days following 

Wise County (national forest lands) 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

Wythe County (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

Wythe County (national forest and department-

owned lands) 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following 

York County 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January 

York County (private lands and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March 

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, deer may be hunted from the Saturday prior to the third Monday in 

November through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any city or town that 

allows deer hunting. 

C. In addition to provisions of subsection A of this section, antlerless deer may be taken from the first Saturday in September 

through the Friday prior to the first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first Saturday in January through the last 

Sunday in March, both dates inclusive, within any disease focus zone designated by the department 
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4VAC15-90-70. Archery hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow from the 

first Saturday in October through the Friday prior to the third 

Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 

section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow: 1. From 

from the Sunday following the close of the general firearms 

season on deer through the first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive, (i) in all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue 

Ridge Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national 

forest lands in Frederick County); (ii) in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection with 

U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing north on 

U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson 

(west of Route 151), and Patrick; (iii) on the Chester F. Phelps 

Wildlife Management Area; and (iv) on national forest lands 

in Frederick County. 2. From December 1 through, or portions 

thereof, where the general firearms deer season closes before 

the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in the Cities 

of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and 

Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 

this section. 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry use firearms to hunt any game 

species while hunting with archery equipment during the 

special archery seasons, except that a muzzleloading gun, as 

defined in 4VAC15-90-80, may be in the possession of used 

by a properly licensed muzzleloading gun hunter to hunt for 

deer when and where a special archery deer season overlaps a 

special muzzleloading deer season. 

E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with archery 

equipment during any special archery season, except that 

tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

F. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

urban archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow 

from the first Saturday in September through the Friday prior 

to the first Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, and from 

the Sunday following the first Saturday in January through the 

last Sunday in March, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town in the Commonwealth 

(except on national forest and department-owned lands) and 

counties with a human population density of 300 persons per 

square mile or more (except on national forest and department-

owned lands), provided that its the governing body of the city, 

county, or town submits by certified letter to the department 

prior to April 1, its intent to participate in the special urban 

archery season. Any city, town, or county no longer 

participating in this season shall submit by certified letter to 

the department prior to April 1 notice of its intent not to 

participate in the special urban archery season. When 

consistent with the department's deer management objectives 

and subject to the director's approval, a participating county 

may exclude from this season a geographic area by submitting 

a clear description of such area in a certified letter to the 

department prior to April 1.G. It shall be lawful to hunt 

antlerless deer during the special urban archery season with 

archery equipment or a slingbow during dates specified in 

subsection F of this section within the boundaries of any 

common interest community as defined in § 54.1-2345 of the 

Code of Virginia provided that (i) the association submits by 

certified letter to the department prior to July 1 the association's 

request to participate in the special urban archery season and 

(ii) the department approves such request. 

1. The special urban archery season will in no way supersede 

any local ordinance, any restriction in the association's 

governing documents, or the requirement to obtain a 

landowner's permission to hunt. 

2. An association no longer participating in the special urban 

archery season shall submit notice of the association's intent 

not to participate in the special urban archery season. The 

association shall submit the certified letter to the department 

prior to July 1. 

3. At its discretion, the department may suspend or revoke 

the special urban archery season in any association upon 

written notice to the association. 

For the purposes of this subsection, "association" means the 

governing board or the authorized agent of the governing board 

of an association of property owners, condominium unit 

owners, or proprietary lessees. 

H. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

antlerless archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow 

from the Monday following the last Sunday in March through 

the last Sunday in April, both dates inclusive, in the Counties 

of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William (including 

the cities and towns within). 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 

with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 

Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line), and Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 21 

consecutive days immediately prior to and on the first Saturday 

in January: 1. In in all cities, towns, and counties west of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-
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national forest lands in Frederick County); 2. East of the Blue 

Ridge Mountains in the Counties (including the cities and 

towns within) of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from the 

James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), 

and Patrick; 3. On national forest lands in Frederick County; 

and 4. In the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal 

Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach, or portions thereof, where 

the general firearms deer season closes before the first 

Saturday in January. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains unless otherwise noted in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only of the early special muzzleloading season on state forest 

lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State Park), 

department-owned lands (except on Merrimac Farm 

Wildlife Management Area), and Philpott Reservoir. 

2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season on national 

forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson Counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted in this 

subsection. 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd Counties 

and on private lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, 

Frederick, Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, 

Roanoke, Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), Scott, 

Smyth, Shenandoah, Warren, and Wythe Counties. 

2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

County; on federal lands in Dickenson County; on 

department-owned land in Russell County; on national forest 

lands in Alleghany, Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, Grayson, 

Lee, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, 

Shenandoah, Warren, and Wise Counties; on national forest 

and department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, 

Carroll, Highland (except Highland Wildlife Management 

Area), Roanoke, Rockbridge, Smyth, Tazewell, 

Washington, and Wythe Counties; on Channels State Forest, 

Grayson Highlands State Park, Hungry Mother State Park; 

and on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in 

Rockingham County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 

the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 

in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

entire late special muzzleloading season in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 

lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd, 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands), and Patrick and; on private lands in 

Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Giles, Grayson, 

Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Roanoke, Rockingham (east of 

Routes 613 and 731), Scott, and Smyth, Shenandoah, 

Warren, and Wythe Counties; and on federal and 

department-owned lands in Franklin County. 

2. Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 

the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath, 

Buchanan, Highland, Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise 

Counties; on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 

Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, 

Nelson, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and 

Warren Counties; on national forest and department-owned 

lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Roanoke, Rockbridge, 

Smyth, Washington, and Wythe Counties; on federal lands 

in Dickenson County; and on private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731 in Rockingham County, Channels State Forest, 

Grayson Highlands State Park, and Hungry Mother State 

Park. 

3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

County. 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 

hunting except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 

Virginia Beach. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

H. Muzzleloading guns, for the purpose of this section, 

include: 

1. Single shot muzzleloading rifles .40 Muzzleloading rifles 

(one or more barrels) .40 caliber or larger, firing a single 

projectile or sabot (with a.35 caliber or larger projectile) where 

the projectile is loaded from the muzzle; 

2. Muzzleloading shotguns (one or more barrels) not larger than 

10 gauge where the projectiles are loaded from the muzzle; 

3. Muzzleloading pistols (one or more barrels) .45 caliber or 

larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or 

larger projectile) per barrel where the propellant and projectile 

are loaded from the muzzle; 

4. Muzzleloading revolvers.45 revolvers .44 caliber or larger, 

firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger 
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projectile) per cylinder where the propellant and projectile are 

loaded from the forward end of the cylinder. 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession hunt deer 

with any firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting 

with a muzzleloading gun in a during the special muzzleloading 

deer season. 

4VAC15-90-89. Earn a buck. 

A. For the purposes of this section, the term "license year" 

means the period between July 1 and June 30 of the following 

year. 

B. Within a license year and within in each individual county 

listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least one 

antlerless deer on private lands in that county before taking a 

second antlered deer on private lands in that county. In those 

counties listed in this subsection east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains, a hunter must have taken at least two antlerless 

deer on private lands in that county before taking a third 

antlered deer on private lands in that county. 

The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are 

Accomack, Albemarle, Amherst (west of Route 29), Augusta, 

Bedford, Botetourt, Carroll, Chesterfield, Clarke, Craig, 

Culpeper, Fauquier, Floyd, Franklin, Frederick, Giles, 

Grayson, Greene, Hanover, Henrico, James City, Madison, 

Montgomery, Orange, Page, Prince George, Pulaski, 

Rappahannock, Roanoke, Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 

731), Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren, Wythe, and 

York. 

C. Within a license year and within each individual county 

listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least one 

antlerless deer in that county before taking a second antlered 

deer in that county. A hunter must also have taken at least two 

antlerless deer in that county before taking a third antlered deer 

in that county. 

The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are 

Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William (except on 

Department of Defense lands). 

D. Within a license year and within any city or town, except 

the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach, a hunter 

must have taken at least one antlerless deer in that city or town 

before taking a second antlered deer in that city or town. In 

those cities and towns east of the Blue Ridge Mountains, a 

hunter must have taken at least two antlerless deer in that city 

or town before taking a third antlered deer in that city or town. 

E. The Earn A Buck Program does not apply to the Cities of 

Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach. 

F. No deer taken under the provisions of § 29.1-529 of the 

Code of Virginia fulfills the requirement of subsections B, C, 

or D of this section. 

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 

hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either sex 

may be taken within: 

Accomack County: full season. 

Albemarle County: full season. 

Alleghany County: the second Saturday, second Friday, and 

the last day third Saturday. 

- National forest lands: the last day. 

Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 29 days. 

- Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six 13 days. 

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town 

of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River): 

the second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days full 

season. 

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town 

of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River): 

full season. 

- National forest lands: the last day. 

Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

- Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays. 

- Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days. 

Arlington County: full season. 

Augusta County: full season. 

- National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day. 

Bath County: the second Saturday, second Friday, and the 

last day third Saturday. 

- National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day. 

Bedford County: full season. 

- National forest lands: the last day. 

Bland County: the second Saturday and through the last two 

days third Saturday. 

- National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

two days. 

Botetourt County: full season. 

- National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 19  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 5, 2025  

2078 

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

- Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last six days. 

- Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays. 

- Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days. 

Campbell County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the 

second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days full season. 

Campbell County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): full 

season. 

Caroline County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

- Mattaponi WMA Department-owned lands: the second 

and third Saturdays and the last six days. 

Carroll County: full season. 

- National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day. 

Charles City County: full season. 

- Chickahominy WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

Chesapeake (City of): full season. 

- Cavalier WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Chesterfield County: full season. 

Clarke County: full season. 

Craig County: full season. 

- National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last two days. 

Culpeper County: full season. 

- Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday. 

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 29 days. 

- Cumberland State Forest: the second, and third, and 

fourth Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: the third Saturday. 

- Federal lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Essex County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

Fairfax County: full season. 

Fauquier County: full season. 

- G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 13 days. 

- Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday. 

Floyd County: full season. 

Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 29 

days full season. 

- Hardware River WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last 13 days. 

Franklin County: full season. 

- Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

- Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second and third 

Saturday and the last six days. 

Frederick County: full season. 

- National forest lands: the last day. 

Giles County: full season. 

- National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

two days. 

Gloucester County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 29 days. 

Goochland County: full season. 

Grayson County: full season. 

- National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park: 

the last day. 

Greene County: full season. 

Greensville County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days full season. 

Halifax County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days full season. 

Hanover County: full season. 

Henrico County: full season. 

Henry County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

- Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 
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- Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second and third 

Saturday and the last six days. 

Highland County: the second Saturday, second Friday, and 

the last day third Saturday. 

- National forest lands: the last day. 

- Department-owned lands: the second Saturday, second 

Friday, and the last day third Saturday. 

Isle of Wight County: full season. 

- Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

James City County: full season. 

King and Queen County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

King George County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days full season. 

King William County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Lancaster County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days full season. 

Lee County: the second Saturday, second Friday, and the last 

two days third Saturday. 

- National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Loudoun County: full season. 

Louisa County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

29 days full season. 

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Madison County: full season. 

- Rapidan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Mathews County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

- Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

Middlesex County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Montgomery County: full season. 

- National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day. 

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 29 days full season. 

- James River WMA and Tye River WMA: the second 

Saturday and the last six days. 

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

New Kent County: full season. 

Northampton County: full season. 

Northumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 29 days full season. 

Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 29 days. 

Orange County: full season. 

Page County: full season. 

- National forest lands: the last day. 

Patrick County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

- Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

Pittsylvania County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the 

second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days full season. 

- White Oak Mountain WMA: the second and third 

Saturday and the last three days. 

Pittsylvania County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): 

full season. 

Powhatan County: full season. 

- Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

- Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

- Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days. 

- Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays. 

Prince George County: full season. 

Prince William County: full season. 

Pulaski County: full season. 

- National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day. 

Rappahannock County: full season. 
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Richmond County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days full season. 

Roanoke County: full season. 

- National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day. 

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 

days full season. 

- National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day. 

Rockingham County: full season. 

- National forest lands: the last day. 

- Private lands west of Routes 613 and 731: the second 

Saturday, second Friday, and the last day third Saturday. 

Russell County: the second Saturday and through the last 

two days third Saturday. 

- Department-owned lands and the Channels State Forest: 

the last day. 

Scott County: the second Saturday and through the last six 

days third Saturday. 

- National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Shenandoah County: full season. 

- National forest lands: the last day. 

Smyth County: full season. 

- National forest lands, department-owned lands, and 

Hungry Mother State Park: the last day. 

Southampton County: full season. 

Spotsylvania County: full season. 

- Oakley Forest WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Stafford County: full season. 

Suffolk: full season. 

Surry County: full season. 

- Carlisle and Stewart Tracts of the Hog Island WMA: 

antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 

antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Sussex County: full season. 

- Big Woods WMA, Flippo-Gentry WMA, and Big 

Woods State Forest: full season. 

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and through the last 

two days third Saturday. 

- National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day. 

Virginia Beach (City of): full season. 

Warren County: full season. 

- National forest lands: the last day. 

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six 

days full season. 

- National forest lands, department-owned lands, and the 

Channels State Forest: the last day. 

Westmoreland County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 29 days full season. 

Wise County: the third Saturday. 

- National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Wythe County: full season. 

- National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last two days. 

York County: full season. 

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, deer of 

either sex may be taken full season during the general firearms 

deer season within the incorporated limits of any city or town, 

state park, national wildlife refuge, or military installation that 

allows deer hunting or within any common interest community 

participating in the special urban archery season according to 

provisions of 4VAC15-90-70. 

4VAC15-90-530. Special elk hunting license, random 

drawing license program. 

A. The dates for the annual application period to enter the 

random drawing for a special elk hunting license shall be 

published by the department annually and shall be no less than 30 

days in duration. Individuals selected for special elk hunting 

licenses via the random drawing shall be notified no less than 60 

days prior to the start of the elk hunt, and special elk hunting 

licenses must be purchased from the department within 30 days of 

notification. 

B. To enter the random drawing for a special elk hunting 

license, applicants shall: 

1. Complete the application for a special elk hunting license 

as provided by the department. 

2. Pay a nonrefundable application fee. 

3. Apply only once for each random drawing. 

C. B. Nonresidents shall not comprise more than 10%, or one 

drawn applicant, whichever is greater, of all drawn applicants 

in any application pool for the random drawing license 

program. 

D. C. Applicants who physically reside within the Elk 

Management Zone shall comprise no less than 10%, or a 

minimum of one, whichever is greater, of all drawn applicants 

in any application pool for the random drawing license 

program. 
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E. D. A special elk hunting license awarded through the 

Random Drawing License Program shall not be transferable. 

F. E. An applicant drawn for a special elk hunting license may 

be rejected if it is determined that the applicant has (i) a hunting 

license revocation at the time the applicant is drawn, (ii) been 

convicted of two one or more wildlife violations within three 

five years prior to the last date of the application period, or (iii) 

been convicted of one or more violations involving elk. In 

determining an applicant's eligibility, the director department 

shall take into account the nature and severity of the violations. 

G. The department will award unclaimed special elk hunting 

licenses to alternates who are drawn during the initial application 

and draw period in the order that the alternates are drawn. 

4VAC15-90-540. Special elk hunting license, Landowner 

License Program. 

A. Upon receipt of a valid Landowner License Program 

application from a landowner within the Elk Management 

Zone, the director or the director's designee shall verify the 

application materials and have sole discretion in enrolling the 

property in the Landowner License Program. The application 

deadline shall be published by the department annually no less 

than 30 days prior to the deadline. 

B. A valid Landowner License Program application shall 

include: 

1. Landowner's name, home address, telephone number, and 

address of the property to be enrolled in the program. 

2. A recorded survey or other legal documentation certifying 

the acreage and ownership of the property to be enrolled. 

3. Original signature of the landowner. 

4. Only a single application per license year, per landowner. 

C. B. Landowners enrolled in the Landowner License 

Program maintain the right to limit access to certain areas of 

the property for safety or privacy reasons. Areas of limited 

access must be outlined in the initial application. Enrollment in 

the Landowner License Program does not preclude or limit in 

any way the landowner from allowing other hunting or other 

hunters on the property. 

D. C. The department shall determine and make available to 

the public a program guidance document outlining how 

landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program shall 

accrue points toward a special elk hunting license, the number 

of points necessary to be awarded such license, a list of criteria 

by which applications and associated properties will be 

evaluated for enrollment in the program, and other program 

requirements. The program guidance document will be 

published annually no less than 30 days prior to the application 

deadline. 

E. D. Landowners who accrue the necessary number of 

points, as defined in the program guidance document, on an 

enrolled property may enter a landowner lottery for a special 

elk hunting license. Once a special elk hunting license is 

awarded through the lottery, the landowner loses all accrued 

points. There is no time limit over which a landowner is 

required to accrue license points. Landowners shall not 

combine points from separate enrolled properties. 

F. E. Landowners enrolled in the Landowner License 

Program shall not subdivide contiguous properties under the 

same ownership into multiple, smaller parcels for the purposes 

of this program. 

G. F. License points cannot be sold or traded. License points 

are nontransferable if the property changes ownership, except 

that if the property is inherited from parents, grandparents, or 

children, resident or nonresident, license points may be 

transferred. The department may request documentation to 

certify the relationship between seller and purchaser as well as 

a copy of bill of sale. 

H. G. Landowners receiving a special elk hunting license 

shall comply with all of the requirements established in this 

section as well as 4VAC15-90-510, 4VAC15-90-520, and 

§ 29.1-305.01 of the Code of Virginia. Landowners who fail to 

comply with this chapter may forfeit any accrued license points 

and may not be eligible to accrue new license points. 

I. A special elk hunting license awarded to the landowner 

shall only be used on the property enrolled with the department 

in the Landowner License Program. 

J. A landowner may transfer the special elk hunting license to 

any person eligible to hunt in Virginia. The special elk hunting 

license may not be sold. Transfer of the special elk hunting 

license must be reported to the department no less than one 

month prior to the opening day of the elk hunting season during 

the year in which the special elk hunting license is awarded. To 

report a transfer to the department, the landowner shall provide 

the department with the hunter's: 

1. Name; 

2. Department customer identification number; 

3. Address; and 

4. Telephone number. 

K. A H. No landowner shall not charge a fee for hunters to 

hunt elk on properties enrolled in the Landowner License 

Program except as described in the program guidance 

document. 

L. I. A special elk hunting license transferee may be rejected 

if it is determined that the transferee has (i) a hunting license 

revocation at the time the transferee is drawn, (ii) been 

convicted of two one or more wildlife violations, within three 

five years prior to the last date of the application period, or (iii) 

been convicted of one or more violations involving elk. In 

determining the transferee's eligibility, the director department 

shall take into account the nature and severity of the violations. 
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4VAC15-90-550. Special elk hunting license, Conservation 

License Program. 

A. For the purposes of this section, the following words or terms 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Individual, cooperators, or wildlife conservation 

organizations" means those people or entities whose mission is 

to promote and ensure the conservation of Virginia's wildlife 

resources or to promote opportunities for hunting, fishing, 

trapping, boating, or other wildlife-related recreation within 

Virginia. 

"Proceeds" means the amount of money received by the 

cooperator or organization from the transfer of a reserved 

special elk hunting license minus all expenses, including the 

fees associated with the license, and administrative costs 

directly attributable to the transfer of the permit or the 

implementation of the defined project. 

B. Upon receipt of a valid Conservation License Program 

application from an officer or other designated official 

representative of any individual, cooperator, or wildlife 

conservation organization, the director or the director's designee 

shall verify the application materials and may select a program 

awardee annually. Applications must be received or postmarked 

no later than April 1 to be eligible for the Conservation License 

Program during that calendar year. 

C. A valid Conservation License Program application shall 

include: 

1. Cooperator or organization name, name of the individual 

designated to submit and receive official correspondence, 

address for such correspondence, and a telephone number. 

2. Cooperator or organization mission statement. 

3. A written application describing: 

a. Cooperator or organization role in wildlife conservation in 

Virginia. 

b. Cooperator or organization purpose and intent for 

requesting a reserved special elk hunting license through the 

Conservation License Program. 

c. Cooperator or organization proposal for method of 

generating funds from transfer of the reserved special elk 

hunting license to an eligible individual. 

d. Cooperator or organization strategy to direct proceeds 

received from the transfer of the reserved special elk hunting 

license and any matching funding toward wildlife 

conservation or wildlife-related recreation in Virginia's Elk 

Management Zone. 

D. C. The director shall establish a Conservation License 

Program Committee to review program applications and 

submit a recommendation to the director to reserve no more 

than one special elk hunting license for a cooperator or 

organization whose application is deemed to provide the 

greatest benefit to wildlife elk conservation and wildlife-

related elk-related recreation in Virginia per license year. This 

committee shall be composed of a minimum of three 

individuals and make a recommendation to the director by May 

1 each year. 

E. D. A cooperator or organization receiving a reserved 

special elk hunting license must direct all proceeds from the 

transfer of such reservation, toward a project to improve and 

enhance wildlife elk habitat, wildlife elk populations, or 

wildlife-related elk-related recreation within the Elk 

Management Zone. The proposed strategy and requirements 

will be outlined in a memorandum of agreement between the 

department and the cooperator or organization. 

F. A E. In coordination with the department, a cooperator or 

organization may transfer the reserved special elk hunting 

license to any person eligible to hunt in Virginia. The 

generation of funds from the transfer of the reserved special elk 

hunting license may only be conducted through a raffle. 

G. Transfer of the reserved special elk hunting license must be 

reported to the department no less than one month prior to the 

opening day of the elk hunting season during which the special elk 

hunting license is valid. To report a transfer to the department, the 

cooperator or organization shall provide the department with the 

hunter's: 

1. Name; 

2. Department customer identification number; 

3. Address; and 

4. Telephone number. 

H. F. A special elk hunting license transferee may be rejected 

if it is determined that the transferee has a hunting license 

revocation at the time the transferee is drawn, been convicted 

of two one or more wildlife violations within three five years 

prior to the last date of the application period, or convicted of 

one or more violations involving elk. In determining the 

transferee's eligibility, the director department shall take into 

account the nature and severity of the violations. 

I. A cooperator or organization that receives a reserved special 

elk hunting license shall submit an annual report to the department 

regarding any proceeds received from the transfer of the reserved 

license and an accounting of how those funds were directed 

toward wildlife conservation or wildlife-related recreation in the 

Elk Management Zone. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8245; Filed April 9, 2025, 2:46 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-160. Game: Opossum 

(amending 4VAC15-160-31). 
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Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment adds private lands where 

permission to trap has been granted by the landowner to 

the list of areas where a continuous open trapping season 

for opossum exists. 

4VAC15-160-31. Open season for trapping. 

It shall be lawful to trap opossum from November 15 through 

the last day of February, both dates inclusive, except there shall 

be a continuous open season to trap opossum within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town in the Commonwealth 

and; in the counties Counties of Arlington, Chesterfield, 

Fairfax, Henrico, James City, Loudoun, Prince William, 

Spotsylvania, Stafford, Roanoke, and York; and on private 

lands throughout the Commonwealth with permission of the 

landowner. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8251; Filed April 9, 2025, 2:46 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-170. Game: Otter (amending 

4VAC15-170-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment enables the Department of 

Wildlife Resources to authorize individuals other than 

department staff to affix a Convention on International 

Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora 

(CITES) tag to an otter pelt. 

4VAC15-170-30. Pelts to be sealed before sale, etc. 

It shall be unlawful to buy, sell, barter, exchange, traffic or 

trade in, bargain for, solicit for, purchase, or transport out of 

the Commonwealth, any otter pelts until the pelts have been 

sealed by an agent of or other individual designated by the 

department. This requirement shall not apply to licensed 

taxidermists who ship otter pelts out of state for tanning 

purposes or to individuals who ship otter pelts out of state to 

be tanned for personal use. All otter pelts required to be sealed 

under the provisions of this chapter must be sealed not later 

than April 1 of the license year in which the animal is taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8252; Filed April 9, 2025, 2:47 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-210. Game: Raccoon 

(amending 4VAC15-210-10, 4VAC15-210-51). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify language regarding 

the possession of a firearm and other weapons while 

engaging in the act of chasing a raccoon and (ii) add 

private lands where permission to trap has been granted 

by the landowner to the list of areas where there is a 

continuous open trapping season for raccoon. 

4VAC15-210-10. Open season; raccoon chase on areas 

open to bear hound training; possession of certain devices 

unlawful. 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 

appearing in this chapter, there shall be a continuous open 

season for chasing raccoon with dogs, without capturing or 

taking, except on department-controlled lands west of the Blue 

Ridge Mountains and on national forest lands. 

B. It shall be lawful to chase raccoon with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, on department-controlled lands west of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains and on national forest lands where bear 

hound training is permitted during the season dates specified 

in 4VAC15-50-120. 

C. It shall be unlawful to have in possession use for the 

purpose of chasing or taking a raccoon a firearm, bow, or 

crossbow, or to have in possession an axe, saw, or any tree 

climbing device while hunting during this chase season. The 

meaning of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall 

include, but not be limited to, having these devices in or on 

one's person, vehicle, or conveyance while engaged in the act 

of chasing. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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4VAC15-210-51. Open season for trapping. 

It shall be lawful to trap raccoon from November 15 through 

the last day of February, both dates inclusive, except that there 

shall be a continuous open season to trap raccoon within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town in the Commonwealth 

and; in the counties Counties of Arlington, Chesterfield, 

Fairfax, Henrico, James City, Loudoun, Prince William, 

Spotsylvania, Stafford, Roanoke and York; and on private 

lands throughout the Commonwealth with permission of the 

landowner. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8254; Filed April 9, 2025, 2:48 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey (amending 

4VAC15-240-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment clarifies language regarding 

the possession of a firearm during the archery season for 

turkeys. 

4VAC15-240-60. Archery hunting. 

A. Season. It shall be lawful to hunt turkey with archery 

equipment or a slingbow in those counties and areas open to fall 

turkey hunting from the first Saturday in October through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive. 

B. Bag limit. The daily and seasonal bag limit for hunting turkey 

with archery equipment or a slingbow shall be the same as 

permitted during the general turkey season in those counties and 

areas open to fall turkey hunting, and any turkey taken shall apply 

toward the total season bag limit. 

C. Carrying Using firearms to hunt prohibited. It shall be 

unlawful to carry use firearms to hunt any game species while 

hunting with archery equipment or a slingbow during the special 

archery season. 

D. Use of dogs prohibited during archery season. It shall be 

unlawful to use dogs when hunting with archery equipment from 

the first Saturday in October through the Saturday prior to the 

second Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8256; Filed April 9, 2025, 3:06 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-260. Game: Waterfowl and 

Waterfowl Blinds (amending 4VAC15-260-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments allow for the purchase of new 

riparian stationary waterfowl blind licenses on shore in the 

City of Virginia Beach. 

4VAC15-260-50. Blinds in the City of Virginia Beach. 

In the City of Virginia Beach, except for blinds and floating 

blind sites which that may be erected by the department, no 

new blinds in the public waters shall be erected and no licenses 

shall be issued for the erection of new shore or stationary water 

blinds upon the shores or in the public waters, nor may floating 

or mat blinds anchor within 500 yards of the shores of lands or 

blinds owned or controlled by the department, except that 

floating blinds may be stationed at sites designated by the 

department. Blinds and floating blind sites erected by the 

department shall not be licensed, but there shall be a metal 

plate affixed to such blinds for identification purposes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8253; Filed April 9, 2025, 3:07 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-410. Watercraft: Boating 

Safety Education (amending 4VAC15-410-40, 4VAC15-

410-50, 4VAC15-410-70, 4VAC15-410-90, 4VAC15-410-

100, 4VAC15-410-110, 4VAC15-410-130, 4VAC15-410-

140; repealing 4VAC15-410-30, 4VAC15-410-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
mailto:@aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) repeal requirements for 

phasing in of boater education certification completion, (ii) 

clarify the minimum standards for boating safety education 

course competency, (iii) remove outdated or obsolete 

references to CD-ROM course delivery, (iv) clarify that all 

boating courses offered by providers shall meet certain 

provisions, (v) remove requirements of an open-book test, 

(vi) combine boating course documentation requirements 

into one section, and (vii) repeal outdated or unnecessary 

provisions. 

4VAC15-410-30. Compliance schedule and phase-in 

provisions. (Repealed.) 

The requirements for boating safety education shall be phased 

in according to the following provisions: 

1. Personal watercraft operators 20 years of age or younger 

shall meet the requirements by July 1, 2009; 

2. Personal watercraft operators 35 years of age or younger 

shall meet the requirements by July 1, 2010; 

3. Personal watercraft operators 50 years of age or younger 

and motorboat operators 20 years of age or younger shall 

meet the requirements by July 1, 2011; 

4. All personal watercraft operators, regardless of age, and 

motorboat operators 30 years of age or younger shall meet 

the requirements by July 1, 2012; 

5. Motorboat operators 40 years of age or younger shall meet 

the requirements by July 1, 2013; 

6. Motorboat operators 45 years of age or younger shall meet 

the requirements by July 1, 2014; 

7. Motorboat operators 50 years of age or younger shall meet 

the requirements by July 1, 2015; 

8. All motorboat operators, regardless of age, shall meet the 

requirements by July 1, 2016. 

4VAC15-410-40. Provisions for compliance and minimum 

standards for boating safety education course competency. 

A. A person shall be considered in compliance with the 

requirements for boating safety education if he the person 

meets one or more of the following provisions pursuant to 

§ 29.1-735.2 B 1 through B 9 of the Code of Virginia: 

1. Completes and passes a boating safety education course; 

2. Passes an equivalency exam; 

3. Possesses a valid license to operate a vessel issued to 

maritime personnel by the United States Coast Guard or a 

marine certificate issued by the Canadian government or 

possesses a Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator's Card. For the 

purposes of this subsection, a license is considered valid 

regardless of whether the license is current; 

4. Possesses a temporary operator's certificate; 

5. Possesses a rental or lease agreement from a motorboat or 

personal watercraft rental or leasing business that lists the 

person as the authorized operator of the motorboat; 

6. Operates the motorboat under onboard direct supervision 

of a person who meets the requirements of this section; 

7. Is a nonresident temporarily using the waters of Virginia 

for a period not to exceed 90 days (which means i.e., 

operating a boat not registered in Virginia), and meets any 

applicable boating safety education requirements of the state 

of residency, or possesses a Canadian Pleasure Craft 

Operator's Card; 

8. Has assumed operation of the motorboat or personal 

watercraft due to the illness or physical impairment of the 

initial operator, and is returning the motorboat or personal 

watercraft to shore in order to provide assistance or care for 

the operator; or 

9. Is or was previously registered as a commercial fisherman 

pursuant to § 28.2-241 of the Code of Virginia or is under 

the onboard direct supervision of the commercial fisherman 

while operating the commercial fisherman's boat. For the 

purpose of operating a recreational vessel, a registered 

commercial fishing license is considered valid regardless of 

whether the license is current. 

B. The minimum standards for boating safety education 

course competency required by the department are: 1. 

Successful completion of a classroom boating safety education 

course in person and (i) a passing score of at least 70% on a 

closed-book written test administered closed-book at the 

conclusion of the course by the designated course instructor(s) 

or other designated course assistant; 2. Successful upon 

completion of a an in-person classroom boating safety 

education course in person and; (ii) a passing score of at least 

90% on a an open-book written test administered open-book at 

the conclusion of the upon completion of an in-person 

classroom boating safety education course by the designated 

course instructor(s) or other designated course assistant; 3. 

Successful completion of a boating safety education course 

offered through the Internet or through an electronic format 

such as CD-ROM and (iii) a passing score of at least 90% on a 

self-test administered in conjunction with the course material 

of a boating safety education course delivered through the 

Internet; or 4. A (iv) a score of at least 80% on a proctored 

equivalency exam. 

4VAC15-410-50. Boating safety education course provider 

requirements. 

A. To be an approved course provider, any individual, 

mailto:@aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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business, or organization that instructs or provides a boating 

safety education course shall execute and have on file a 

cooperative agreement with the department. It shall be the 

responsibility of the state boating law administrator to develop 

and execute such agreements. A list of approved course 

providers and boating safety education courses shall be kept by 

the department and made available to the public. Such list does 

not constitute any endorsement of any course or course 

provider by the department or the board. 

B. A. As of January 1, 2009, any boating safety education 

courses offered through the Internet and accepted by the 

department shall: 

1. Be approved by NASBLA in accordance with the 

National Boating Education Standards, updated January 1, 

2012, and the department for course content/testing content 

or testing; and 

2. Be provided only by an approved course provider who has 

executed a valid cooperative agreement with the department. 

Such agreements may be amended at any time by the 

department and may be cancelled canceled with a 30 days 

notice day-notice upon failure of the course provider to 

comply with the terms and conditions of the agreement or its 

amendments. 

C. B. Any material and/or or products to be used by an 

approved course provider that make reference to the 

department must be approved by the department, through the 

state boating law administrator, before publishing and/or or 

distribution to the public. 

D. C. Any fees charged by a course provider are set by the 

course provider, but must be clearly communicated to the 

student prior to taking the course. 

4VAC15-410-70. Boating safety education course 

certificates, recordkeeping, and student records. 

A. Upon successful completion of a boating safety education 

course or proctored equivalency exam, the approved course 

provider shall provide the student with a course certificate 

and/or or pocket-size card. At a minimum, such certificate/card 

certificate or card shall include the student's name and date of 

birth, the issuance date, the name of the course, and indication 

of NASBLA course approval and acceptance by the 

department. On a schedule and in a manner mutually agreed to 

through a cooperative agreement, each approved course 

provider shall provide to the department a copy of the record 

of those students issued a course certificate and/or pocket-size 

card. Upon request by the student and subject to verification of 

successful course completion, it shall be the responsibility of 

each approved course provider to issue duplicate 

certificates/cards. 

B. Upon successful completion of the proctored equivalency 

exam, the department shall issue a completion certificate 

and/or card, which shall include the person's name, date of 

birth, and the issuance date. Upon request by the person to 

whom the certificate/card was originally issued and subject to 

verification of successful completion, the department shall 

issue a duplicate certificate/card. 

B. The department shall maintain a database of all students 

successfully completing the department's classroom-based 

boating safety education course and all persons successfully 

completing the equivalency exam. Such database shall include 

the student's name, address, date of birth, course or 

equivalency exam completion date, and the specific name of 

the course. 

C. Each approved course provider for boating safety 

education course shall maintain a database of all students 

successfully completing such course. The database shall 

include the student's name, address, date of birth, course 

completion date, and the specific name of the course. On a 

schedule and in a manner mutually agreed to through a 

cooperative agreement, each approved course provider shall 

provide to the department a copy of the record of those students 

successfully completing the course. Such record shall include 

the database information referenced in subsection B of this 

section. It shall be the responsibility of each approved course 

provider to ensure that reasonable measures, such as the 

Payment Card Industry (PCI) data security measures, are taken 

to protect any acquired student data. Further, such data shall 

not be sold or otherwise used in any way, except for the 

student's own completion of a boating safety education course 

and issuance of course completion documents. 

4VAC15-410-80. Recordkeeping and student records. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The department shall maintain a database of all students 

successfully completing the department's classroom-based 

boating safety education course and all persons successfully 

completing the equivalency exam. Such database shall include, 

but not be limited to, student name, address, date of birth, 

course/equivalency exam completion date, and the specific 

name of the course. On a schedule and in a manner mutually 

agreed to through a cooperative agreement, each approved 

course provider for other classroom-based boating safety 

education courses shall provide to the department a copy of the 

record of those students successfully completing such course 

and the department may add this information to the student 

database. A change in student address will be made only upon 

receipt of a written request from the affected student. 

B. Each approved course provider for boating safety 

education courses offered over the Internet or through an 

electronic format such as CD-ROM shall maintain a database 

of all students successfully completing such course. The 

database shall include, but not be limited to, student name, 

address, date of birth, course completion date, and the specific 

name of the course. On a schedule and in a manner mutually 

agreed to through a cooperative agreement, each approved 

course provider shall provide to the department a copy of the 
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record of those students successfully completing their course. 

Such record shall include the database information referenced 

in this section. It shall be the responsibility of each approved 

course provider to ensure that reasonable measures, such as the 

Payment Card Industry (PCI) data security measures, are taken 

to protect any acquired student data. Further, such data shall 

not be sold or otherwise used in any way except for the 

student's own completion of a boating safety education course 

and issuance of course completion documents. 

4VAC15-410-90. Instructor certification. 

A. To be certified as a boating safety education course 

instructor for the department's classroom-based boating safety 

education course, a person shall have successfully completed a 

classroom-based boating safety education course and be 

certified as an instructor by the United States Coast Guard 

Auxiliary, or the United States Power Squadrons®, or the 

National Safe Boating Council, or another certification 

program accepted by the department. 

B. Applicants for certified instructor shall submit an 

application to the department on a form and in a manner 

determined by the state boating law administrator. At a 

minimum, the application shall include: 

1. The applicant's name; 

2. The applicant's street address; 

3. The applicant's telephone number; 

4. The applicant's email address, if any; 

5. Information describing the applicant's experience and 

training in boating safety and seamanship and proof of 

completion of a NASBLA-approved boating safety 

education course; and 

6. Any other information deemed necessary after review of 

the initial application. 

C. Applicants may be required to submit a written consent for 

a criminal history background check in a manner determined 

by the Law Enforcement Division of the department. 

4VAC15-410-100. Provisions for open-book tests for 

classroom courses. 

A. A boating safety education course offered in a classroom 

setting by either the department or an approved course provider 

shall offer the student the option of taking the end-of-course 

exam either closed-book or open-book. The minimum 

standards for boating safety education course competency shall 

be as provided for in 4VAC15-410-40 B 1 and 2. 

B. In taking the exam open-book, the student may use the 

course text, instructor handouts, any related course material, 

and any personal notes taken during the class instruction to 

assist in the completion of the exam. The exam must be 

completed in a single session with a time limit not to exceed 

two hours. 

4VAC15-410-110. Equivalency exam criteria. 

A. The department shall develop and make available a written 

equivalency exam to test the knowledge of information 

included in the curriculum of a boating safety education 

course. Such exam shall provide experienced and 

knowledgeable boaters with the opportunity to meet the 

boating safety education compliance requirement set forth in 

§ 29.1-735.2 of the Code of Virginia without having to take 

and successfully complete a boating safety education course. 

B. The equivalency exam shall be proctored by an 

individual(s) individual specifically designated by the 

department. The use of reference materials shall not be allowed 

while the exam is being administered, and the exam shall be 

completed in a single session with a time limit not to exceed 

three hours. A person who fails an equivalency exam the 

second time is required to complete a NASBLA approved 

NASBLA-approved boating safety education course that is 

accepted by the department. 

C. The equivalency exam shall be comprised of no less than 

75 nor more than 100 exam questions and a minimum score of 

at least 80% shall be considered passing. Upon successful 

completion, an exam certificate and/or card shall be issued to 

the person completing the exam. 

4VAC15-410-130. Temporary operator's certificate. 

A. The registered owner(s) owner of a motorboat or personal 

watercraft, if the boat is new or was sold with a transfer of 

ownership, shall be issued with the certificate of number for 

the motorboat or personal watercraft a temporary operator's 

certificate that shall allow the owner(s) owner to operate such 

boat in Virginia for 90 days. 

B. A temporary operator's certificate shall be issued by the 

department, by any person authorized by the director to act as 

an agent to issue a certificate of number pursuant to § 29.1-706 

of the Code of Virginia, or by a license agent of the department 

authorized to issue a temporary registration certificate for a 

motorboat. A temporary operator's certificate shall not be 

renewable. 

4VAC15-410-140. Virginia Boater Education Cards. 

A. The department may establish an optional long-lasting and 

durable Virginia Boater Education Card for issuance to persons 

who can show that they have demonstrably met the minimum 

standard of boating safety education course competency or, 

who possesses possess a valid license to operate a vessel issued 

to maritime personnel by the United States Coast Guard or a 

marine certificate issued by the Canadian government, or 

possesses who possess a Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator's 

Card or possesses a commercial fisherman registration 

pursuant to § 28.2-241 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. To obtain an optional Virginia Boater Education Card, a 

person must provide to the department: 
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1. A completed application on a form provided by the 

department. The application shall require the applicant's 

name, current mailing address, and date of birth. The 

applicant must also sign a statement declaring that 

statements made on the form are true and correct and that all 

documents submitted with the form are true and correct 

copies of documents issued to the applicant. Incomplete 

applications will be returned to the applicant; 

2. A copy of the documentation (such as the boating safety 

education course completion certificate/wallet card or 

equivalency exam completion certificate/card) that indicates 

that the minimum standards for boating safety education 

course competency have been met. Such documents must 

contain the name of the individual applying for the Virginia 

Boater Education Card. The department may require the 

applicant to provide the original document in the event that 

the copy submitted with the application is illegible or if the 

authenticity of the copy is not certain. 

C. Upon receipt by the applicant, the optional Virginia Boater 

Education Card will serve in lieu of any other certificates or cards 

that have been issued to the bearer as a result of meeting the 

minimum standards for boating safety education course 

competency. As such, the Virginia Boater Education Card will not 

be transferable or revocable and will have no expiration date. 

D. A person may apply, on a form provided by the department, 

for a replacement Virginia Boater Education Card. A replacement 

card may be issued if the original card is lost, stolen or destroyed, 

if misinformation is printed on the card, or if the bearer has legally 

changed their name. The application shall include an affidavit 

stating the circumstances that led to the need for replacement of 

the original card. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8243; Filed April 9, 2025, 3:08 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-430. Watercraft: Safety 

Equipment Requirements (amending 4VAC15-430-60, 

4VAC15-430-150, 4VAC15-430-170, 4VAC15-430-210). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department of 

Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove the requirement that 

life jackets be used according to label; (ii) remove 

requirements regarding engine compartment ventilation on 

boats; (iii) remove the requirement that boaters ensure that 

handheld fire extinguishers have a metal information plate 

affixed; and (iv) replace the in-depth requirements for 

backfire flame controls with a requirement that vessels 

comply with backfire flame control regulations at the federal 

level. 

4VAC15-430-60. Personal flotation device condition; size 

and fit; approval marking. 

It shall be unlawful to use a recreational vessel unless each 

PFD required by 4VAC15-430-30 or allowed by 4VAC15-

430-40 is: 

1. In serviceable condition as provided in 4VAC15-430-70; 

2. Of an appropriate size and fit for the intended wearer, as 

marked on the approval label; and 

3. Legibly marked with its U.S. Coast Guard approval 

number; and 

4. Used in accordance with any requirements or restrictions 

on the approval label. 

4VAC15-430-150. Ventilation. 

A. All motorboats or motor vessels, except open boats and as 

provided in subsections D and E of this section, the construction 

or decking over of which is commenced after April 25, 1940, and 

which use fuel having a flashpoint of 110°F, or less, shall have at 

least two ventilator ducts, fitted with cowls or their equivalent, for 

the efficient removal of explosive or flammable gases from the 

bilges of every engine and fuel tank compartment. There shall be 

at least one exhaust duct installed so as to extend from the open 

atmosphere to the lower portion of the bilge and at least one intake 

duct installed so as to extend to a point at least midway to the bilge 

or at least below the level of the carburetor air intake. The cowls 

shall be located and trimmed for maximum effectiveness and in 

such a manner so as to prevent displaced fumes from being 

recirculated. 

B. As used in this section, the term open boats means those 

motorboats or motor vessels with all engine and fuel tank 

compartments, and other spaces to which explosive or flammable 

gases and vapors from these compartments may flow, open to the 

atmosphere and so arranged as to prevent the entrapment of such 

gases and vapors within the vessel. 

C. Vessels built after No person shall operate a boat built after 

July 31, 1980, which are manufactured or used primarily for 

noncommercial use; which are leased, rented, or chartered to 

another for the latter's noncommercial use; which are engaged 

in the carriage of six or fewer passengers for consideration; or 

which are in compliance with the requirements of that has a 

gasoline engine for electrical generation, mechanical power, or 

propulsion, unless the boat is equipped with an operable 
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ventilation system that meets the requirements of 33 CFR 

183.610(a) through (f) and 33 CFR 183.620(a) as established 

by the U.S. Coast Guard are exempted from these 

requirements. 

D. Vessels built after July 31, 1978, which are manufactured 

or used primarily for noncommercial use; which are rented, 

leased, or chartered to another for the latter's noncommercial 

use; or which engage in conveying six or fewer passengers for 

consideration are exempted from the requirements of 

subsection A of this section for fuel tank compartments that: 

1. Contain a permanently installed fuel tank if each electrical 

component is ignition protected; and 

2. Contain fuel tanks that vent to the outside of the boat. 

4VAC15-430-170. Hand-portable fire extinguishers and 

semiportable fire extinguishing systems. 

A. Hand-portable fire extinguishers and semiportable fire 

extinguishing systems are classified by a combination letter 

and number symbol, the letter indicating the type of fire that 

the unit could be expected to extinguish, and the number 

indicating the relative size of the unit. 

B. For the purpose of this section, all required hand-portable 

fire extinguishers and semiportable fire extinguishing systems 

are of the "B" type; that is, suitable for extinguishing fires 

involving flammable liquids, and greases, etc. 

C. All fire extinguishers must be on board and readily 

accessible, in good and serviceable working condition, and 

comply with the following: 

1. If the extinguisher has a pressure gauge reading or 

indicator, it must be in the operable range or position. 

2. The extinguisher may not be expired or appear to have 

been previously used. 

3. The lock pin is firmly in place. 

4. The discharge nozzle is clean and free of obstruction. 

5. The extinguisher does not show shows no visible signs of 

significant corrosion or damage. 

D. All hand-portable fire extinguishers and semiportable fire 

extinguishing systems shall have permanently attached thereto 

a metallic name plate giving the name of the item, the rated 

capacity in gallons, quarts, or pounds, the name and address of 

the person or firm for whom approved, and the identifying 

mark of the actual manufacturer. 

E. D. Vaporizing-liquid type fire extinguishers containing 

carbon tetrachloride or, chlorobromomethane, or other toxic 

vaporizing liquids are not acceptable as equipment required by 

this section. 

F. E. Hand-portable or semiportable extinguishers that are 

required on their by the name plates to be protected from 

freezing shall not be located where freezing temperatures may 

be expected. 

G. F. The use of dry chemical, stored pressure, fire 

extinguishers not fitted with pressure gauges or indicating 

devices, manufactured prior to January 1, 1965, may be 

permitted on motorboats and other vessels so long as such 

extinguishers are maintained in good and serviceable 

condition. The following maintenance and inspections are 

required for such extinguishers: 

1. When the date on the inspection record tag on the 

extinguishers shows that six months have elapsed since last 

weight check ashore, then such extinguisher is no longer 

accepted as meeting required maintenance conditions until 

reweighed ashore and found to be in a serviceable condition 

and within required weight conditions. 

2. If the weight of the container is one-fourth ounce less than 

that stamped on container, it shall be serviced. 

3. If the outer seals (that indicate tampering or use when broken) 

are not intact, the boarding officer or marine inspector will 

inspect such extinguisher to see that the frangible disc in the 

neck of the container is intact;, and if such disc is not intact, the 

container shall be serviced. 

4. If there is evidence of damage, use, or leakage, such as dry 

chemical powder observed in the nozzle or elsewhere on the 

extinguisher, the container shall be replaced with a new one and 

the extinguisher properly serviced or the extinguisher replaced 

with another approved extinguisher. 

H. The G. No dry chemical, stored pressure, fire extinguishers 

without pressure gauges or indicating devices manufactured after 

January 1, 1965, shall not be carried on board motorboats or other 

vessels as required equipment. 

4VAC15-430-210. Backfire flame control. 

A. Every gasoline engine installed in a motorboat or motor, 

except outboard motors, using gasoline as fuel and installed in a 

vessel after April 25, 1940, except outboard motors, shall be 

equipped with an acceptable means of backfire flame control that 

meets the requirements of 46 CFR 25.35. 

B. Installations made before November 19, 1952, may be 

continued in use as long as they are serviceable and in good 

condition. Replacements shall comply with any applicable 

standards established by the U.S. Coast Guard and be marked 

accordingly. The flame arrester must be suitably secured to the air 

intake with a flametight connection. 

C. Installations consisting of backfire flame arresters bearing 

basic approval nos. 162.015 or 162.041 or engine air and fuel 

induction systems bearing basic approval nos. 162.015 or 162.042 

may be continued in use as long as they are serviceable and in 

good condition. New installations or replacements must comply 

with any applicable standards established by the U.S. Coast Guard 

and be marked accordingly. The flame arrester must be suitably 

secured to the air intake with a flametight connection. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8244; Filed April 9, 2025, 3:08 p.m. 
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VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC50-20. Impounding Structure 

Regulations (amending 4VAC50-20-30, 4VAC50-20-40, 

4VAC50-20-54, 4VAC50-20-58, 4VAC50-20-70, 4VAC50-

20-105, 4VAC50-20-150, 4VAC50-20-170, 4VAC50-20-177, 

4VAC50-20-200, 4VAC50-20-350, 4VAC50-20-360, 

4VAC50-20-375, 4VAC50-20-380; adding 4VAC50-20-500 

through 4VAC50-20-508; repealing 4VAC50-20-90 

through 4VAC50-20-104). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-605 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 12, 2025 - 1:30 p.m. - Virginia Department of 

Forestry, Training Room, 900 Natural Resources Drive, 

Charlottesville, VA 22903. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 4, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning Director, 

Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 

Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

4378, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-605 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board (board) to adopt 

regulations to ensure that impounding structures in the 

Commonwealth are properly and safely constructed, 

maintained, and operated. 

Purpose: The proposed amendments protect public safety by 

enabling low hazard dams that are not currently in compliance 

with the Dam Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) to meet requirements that reflect the potential risk 

posed by a dam failure. The amendments will lead to 

significant cost-savings for the owners of low hazard dams 

while maintaining the board's commitment to public safety. 

Additional amendments simplify the emergency preparedness 

plan criteria and reflect potential administrative efficiency 

savings for dam owners. 

Substance: The proposed amendments (i) more closely align 

the regulatory requirements with the statute; (ii) clarify and 

simplify the general permit requirements for dam owners by 

adding Part VII, which adds provisions related to the issuance 

of a conditional general permit in situations where there are 

deficiencies found or where the dam is out of compliance with 

the Dam Safety Act; and (iii) simplify the emergency 

preparedness plan criteria and reflect potential administrative 

efficiency savings for dam owners. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 

proposed amendments represent considerable potential cost-

savings for owners of low hazard dams, both in administrative 

costs and engineering costs. The primary advantage to the 

agency is that the proposed amendments will allow the board 

and the department to focus limited resources on the dams that 

pose more substantial risks to public safety and property. The 

administrative requirements of the general permit should 

represent a cost-savings to the department, as well. There are 

no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a 2023 periodic review, the Virginia Soil and Water 

Conservation Board (board) proposes to fully incorporate the 

use of a general permit for low hazard dams (rather than the 

currently required certificate) in accordance with the Dam 

Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq. of the Code of Virginia.)2 The 

amendments would clarify the existing requirements for the 

general permit to ensure that the requirements reflect statute, 

and refine the processes related to administering the general 

permit.  

Additional amendments simplify the emergency preparedness 

plan criteria. The proposed changes are expected to reduce 

costs to owners of low hazard dams as well as owners of dams 

that do not yet have a hazard classification but are anticipated 

to be classified as low hazard. 

Background. The Department of Conservation and Recreation 

(DCR) reports that there are currently over 3,700 dams in 

DCR's Dam Safety Inventory System, and that slightly over 

2,500 of these dams are regulated under the Dam Safety Act. 

The remaining dams are regulated by other Commonwealth 

statutes (specifically for mining applications) or other state or 

federal agencies. DCR also reports that 350 of the 2,500 dams 

regulated under the Dam Safety Act are classified as having 

low hazard potential because, by definition, a failure would 

result in no expected loss of life and would cause no more than 

minimal economic damage. Further, an additional 1,444 do not 

yet have a hazard classification; however, DCR anticipates that 

the vast majority of these dams would be classified as low 

hazard. At the board's direction, DCR convened a regulatory 

advisory panel consisting of professional engineers, local 

governments, state agencies, and dam owners. The proposed 

amendments reflect a consensus opinion on refining the 

requirements for low hazard dams and simplifying the 

emergency preparedness requirements. The most substantive 

changes are summarized below: 

1. Definitions (section 30) would be amended to specify that 

an Operation and Maintenance Certificate is only required for 

high or significant hazard potential impounding structures and 

to add a definition of general permit as a requirement for the 

operation and maintenance of a low hazard potential 

impounding structure. 
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2. Hazard potential classifications of impounding structures 

(section 40) would be amended so that impounding structures 

that are found to have low hazard potential based on a dam 

break analysis would automatically qualify for a general 

permit. 

3. Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificates (section 

105) would be renamed and amended to specify that it applies 

only to high and significant hazard potential impounding 

structures. A current requirement for low hazard potential 

impounding structures to provide a professional engineer's 

inspection report every six years would be removed. There is 

currently no corresponding requirement for general permit 

holders, and such a requirement would not be added. 

4. Emergency Preparedness Plan for Low hazard impounding 

structures (section 177) currently requires owners of low 

hazard impounding structures to file a dam break inundation 

zone map with DCR (a requirement that also appears in section 

54), the local emergency management coordinator, and the 

Virginia Department of Emergency Management. The board 

proposes to replace this requirement with an identification of 

any downstream roadways that would be impacted by the 

impounding structures failure. This change would conform the 

regulatory requirements to statute, specifically § 10.1-605.3 of 

the Code of Virginia, and is expected to result in significant 

cost savings for owners of low hazard impounding structures, 

which is discussed in the following section. 

5. Fee for coverage for low hazard impounding structures 

(section 375), which specifies fees for the general permit, 

would be renamed to include fees for a conditional general 

permit; this fee would be set at $200. 

6. Conditional general permit for low hazard potential 

impounding structures (section 505), a newly proposed 

section, would address conditional general permits and specify 

that the conditional permit would be valid for two years. While 

the current regulation does not appear to cover conditional 

permits, fees for conditional certificates are listed in section 

390 as being $300 for a two-year certificate and $150 for a one-

year certificate. 

7. Current requirements pertaining to the general permit would 

be moved from sections 90, 101, 102, 103, and 104, to sections 

500-508; these changes would consolidate the sections 

pertaining to the general permit and separate them from the 

construction and alteration permits already established in the 

regulation. 

It should also be noted that the duration of the permit and 

associated fees are currently the same as for a Low Hazard 

Potential Operation and Maintenance Certificate and would 

not be changed by this action; a permit costs $300 and be valid 

for six years. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. As mentioned previously, DCR 

reports that removing the dam break inundation zone map 

requirement would result in significant cost savings for the 

roughly 1,444 dams that have not yet received a certificate, 

most of which are likely to be classified as being low hazard 

potential; DCR estimates the cost for creating and each map at 

$11,400 to $90,000. Although it would no longer be required 

by the regulation, some owners of low hazard potential dams 

may still opt to file a dam break inundation zone map in order 

to be afforded the protections provided in § 10.1-606.3, 

whereby they would not bear the full cost of structural 

improvements should downstream development require 

structural changes to the dam. Once the proposed changes take 

effect, dam owners who currently have a certificate would 

avoid the expense of filing a professional engineer's inspection 

report every six years once the certificate is converted to a 

general permit; DCR estimates the cost of obtaining a report at 

$7,000 to $12,000. Current and future general permit holders 

already avoid these costs. Lowering the barriers to obtaining 

and maintaining a permit would encourage some private 

property owners who have low hazard potential impounding 

structures on their property, but do not currently have a 

certificate or permit, to come into compliance with the Dam 

Safety Act. Although the estimated economic loss from such 

dam breaks is, by definition, very low, greater compliance with 

relatively low-cost requirements (such as the annual inspection 

by the owner and maintaining an emergency preparedness 

plan), could both protect the value of the owner's property and 

generate a significant public benefit if, for example, it 

preserves road access to a neighboring property in the event of 

a dam break. DCR also reports that these changes will enable 

the board and the agency to focus limited financial and staff 

resources on the dams that pose the most risk to public safety 

and property. The agency also anticipates administrative 

efficiencies associated with regulating low hazard dams under 

general permits rather than certificates and expects to absorb 

any expenses arising from the transition from certificates to 

general permits for low hazard dams. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would affect all owners of the roughly 350 low 

hazard dams, as well as owners of the 1,444 dams that have not 

yet been classified, many of which are likely to be low hazard. 

DCR reports that dam owners include some state agencies 

(including the Department of Wildlife Resources), some 

localities, as well as private individuals, homeowners 

associations, institutions of higher education, businesses, and 

other types of entities. The Code of Virginia requires DPB to 

assess whether an adverse impact may result from the proposed 

regulation.3 An adverse impact is indicated if there is any 

increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any entity, 

even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined.4 

Since the proposed amendments would simplify requirements 

and reduce costs for low hazard dams without increasing costs 

or risks to the public, an adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments are 

not expected to increase costs to any small businesses. Small 

businesses that own and maintain low hazard dams would 

benefit from certain cost savings as described above. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments would affect 

localities that own and maintain dams, but they are not 
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expected to create new costs for any local governments. 

Localities that own and maintain low hazard dams would 

benefit from avoiding certain costs as described above. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are not expected to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments could increase the value of private property that 

includes a low hazard dam by reducing the costs associated 

with obtaining and maintaining a general permit. Real estate 

development costs would similarly be reduced for properties 

that include a low hazard dam as certain costs associated with 

obtaining and maintaining a general permit would no longer be 

required. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2485. 

3 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
4 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Virginia Soil and 

Water Conservation Board concurs with the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

As a result of a periodic review, the proposed amendments 

(i) fully incorporate the use of a general permit for low 

hazard dams in the regulation, (ii) clarify the existing 

requirements for the general permit to ensure the 

requirements accurately reflect statute, (iii) refine the 

processes related to administering the general permit, and 

(iv) simplify the emergency preparedness plan criteria. 

4VAC50-20-30. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acre-foot" means a unit of volume equal to 43,560 cubic feet 

or 325,853 gallons (equivalent to one foot of depth over one 

acre of area). 

"Agricultural purpose" means the production of an 

agricultural commodity as defined in § 3.2-3900 of the Code 

of Virginia that requires the use of impounded waters. 

"Agricultural purpose dams" means impounding structures 

which that are less than 25 feet in height or which that create a 

maximum impoundment smaller than 100 acre-feet, and 

operated primarily for agricultural purposes. 

"Alteration" means changes to an impounding structure that 

could alter or affect its structural integrity. Alterations include, 

but are not limited to, changing the height or otherwise 

enlarging the dam, increasing normal pool or principal 

spillway elevation or physical dimensions, changing the 

elevation or physical dimensions of the emergency spillway, 

conducting necessary structural repairs or structural 

maintenance, or removing the impounding structure. Structural 

maintenance does not include routine maintenance. 

"Alteration permit" means a permit required for any alteration 

to an impounding structure. 

"Annual average daily traffic" or "AADT" means the total 

volume of vehicle traffic of a highway or road for a year 

divided by 365 days and is a measure used in transportation 

planning and transportation engineering of how busy a road is. 

"Board" means the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation 

Board. 

"Conditional general permit" means the permit established 

pursuant to § 10.1-605.3 of the Code of Virginia that is 

required for the operation and maintenance of a low hazard 

potential impounding structure with deficiencies.  

"Conditional Operation and Maintenance Certificate" means 

a certificate required for high or significant hazard potential 

impounding structures with deficiencies. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2485
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"Construction" means the construction of a new impounding 

structure. 

"Construction permit Permit" means a permit required for the 

construction of a new impounding structure. 

"Dam break inundation zone" means the area downstream of 

a dam that would be inundated or otherwise directly affected 

by the failure of a dam. 

"Dam Safety Act" means Article 2 (§ 10.1-604 et seq.) of 

Chapter 6 of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Conservation and Recreation. 

"Design flood" means the calculated volume of runoff and the 

resulting peak discharge utilized in the evaluation, design, 

construction, operation, and maintenance of the impounding 

structure. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation or his the director's designee. 

"Drill" means a type of emergency action plan exercise that 

tests, develops, or maintains skills in an emergency response 

procedure. During a drill, participants perform an in-house 

exercise to verify telephone numbers and other means of 

communication along with the owner's response. A drill is 

considered a necessary part of ongoing training. 

"Emergency Action Plan" or "EAP" means a formal 

document that recognizes potential impounding structure 

emergency conditions and specifies preplanned actions to be 

followed to minimize loss of life and property damage. The 

EAP specifies actions the owner must take to minimize or 

alleviate emergency conditions at the impounding structure. It 

contains procedures and information to assist the owner in 

issuing early warning and notification messages to responsible 

emergency management authorities. It shall also contain 

contains dam break inundation zone maps as required to show 

emergency management authorities the critical areas for action 

in case of emergency. 

"Emergency Action Plan Exercise" means an activity 

designed to promote emergency preparedness; test or evaluate 

EAPs, procedures, or facilities; train personnel in emergency 

management duties; and demonstrate operational capability. In 

response to a simulated event, exercises should consist of the 

performance of duties, tasks, or operations very similar to the 

way they would be performed in a real emergency. An exercise 

may include but not be limited to drills and tabletop exercises. 

"Emergency Preparedness Plan" means a formal document 

prepared for Low Hazard low hazard impounding structures 

that provides maps and procedures for notifying owners of 

downstream property that may be impacted by an emergency 

situation at an impounding structure. 

"Existing impounding structure" means any impounding 

structure in existence or under a construction permit 

Construction Permit prior to July 1, 2010. 

"Freeboard" means the vertical distance between the 

maximum water surface elevation associated with the spillway 

design flood and the top of the impounding structure. 

"General permit" means the permit established pursuant to 

§ 10.1-605.3 of the Code of Virginia that is required for the 

operation and maintenance of a low hazard potential 

impounding structure. 

"Height" means the hydraulic height of an impounding 

structure. If the impounding structure spans a stream or 

watercourse, height means the vertical distance from the 

natural bed of the stream or watercourse measured at the 

downstream toe of the impounding structure to the top of the 

impounding structure. If the impounding structure does not 

span a stream or watercourse, height means the vertical 

distance from the lowest elevation of the downstream limit of 

the barrier to the top of the impounding structure. 

"Impounding structure" or "dam" means a man-made 

structure, whether a dam across a watercourse or structure 

outside a watercourse, used or to be used to retain or store 

waters or other materials. The term includes: (i) all dams that 

are 25 feet or greater in height and that create an impoundment 

capacity of 15 acre-feet or greater, and (ii) all dams that are six 

feet or greater in height and that create an impoundment 

capacity of 50 acre-feet or greater. The term "impounding 

structure" shall does not include: (a) dams licensed by the State 

Corporation Commission that are subject to a safety inspection 

program; (b) dams owned or licensed by the United States 

government; (c) dams operated primarily for agricultural 

purposes which that are less than 25 feet in height or which that 

create a maximum impoundment capacity smaller than 100 

acre-feet; (d) water or silt retaining dams approved pursuant to 

§ 45.1-222 or 45.1-225.1 of the Code of Virginia; or (e) 

obstructions in a canal used to raise or lower water. 

"Impoundment" means a body of water or other materials the 

storage of which is caused by any impounding structure. 

"Life of the impounding structure" and "life of the project" 

mean that period of time for which the impounding structure is 

designed and planned to perform effectively, including the 

time required to remove the structure when it is no longer 

capable of functioning as planned and designed. 

"Maximum impounding capacity" means the volume of water 

or other materials in acre-feet that is capable of being 

impounded at the top of the impounding structure. 

"New construction" means any impounding structure issued 

a construction permit or otherwise constructed on or after July 

1, 2010. 

"Normal or typical water surface elevation" means the water 

surface elevation at the crest of the lowest ungated outlet from 
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the impoundment or the elevation of the normal pool of the 

impoundment if different than the water surface elevation at 

the crest of the lowest ungated outlet. For calculating sunny 

day failures for flood control impounding structures, 

stormwater detention impounding structures, and related 

facilities designed to hold back volumes of water for slow 

release, the normal or typical water surface elevation shall be 

measured at the crest of the auxiliary or emergency spillway. 

"Operation and Maintenance Certificate" means a certificate 

required for the operation and maintenance of all impounding 

structures. 

"Owner" means the owner of the land on which an 

impounding structure is situated, the holder of an easement 

permitting the construction of an impounding structure, and 

any person or entity agreeing to maintain an impounding 

structure. The term "owner" may include the Commonwealth 

or any of its political subdivisions, including but not limited to 

sanitation district commissions and authorities, any public or 

private institutions, corporations, associations, firms or 

companies organized or existing under the laws of this 

Commonwealth or any other state or country, as well as any 

person or group of persons acting individually or as a group. 

"Planned land use" means land use that has been approved by 

a locality or included in a master land use plan by a locality, 

such as in a locality's comprehensive land use plan. 

"Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificate" means a 

certificate required for the operation and maintenance of high 

hazard potential or significant hazard potential impounding 

structures. 

"Spillway" means a structure to provide for the controlled 

release of flows from the impounding structure into a 

downstream area. 

"Stage I Condition" means a flood watch or heavy continuous 

rain or excessive flow of water from ice or snow melt. 

"Stage II Condition" means a flood watch or emergency 

spillway activation or impounding structure overtopping where 

a failure may be possible. 

"Stage III Condition" means an emergency spillway 

activation or impounding structure overtopping where 

imminent failure is probable. 

"Sunny day dam failure" means the failure of an impounding 

structure with the initial water level at the normal reservoir 

level, usually at the lowest ungated principal spillway elevation 

or the typical operating water level. 

"Tabletop Exercise exercise" means a type of emergency 

action plan exercise that involves a meeting of the impounding 

structure owner and the state and local emergency management 

officials in a conference room environment. The format is 

usually informal with minimum stress involved. The exercise 

begins with the description of a simulated event and proceeds 

with discussions by the participants to evaluate the EAP and 

response procedures and to resolve concerns regarding 

coordination and responsibilities. 

"Top of the impounding structure" means the lowest point of 

the nonoverflow section of the impounding structure. 

"Watercourse" means a natural channel having a well-defined 

bed and banks and in which water normally flows. 

4VAC50-20-40. Hazard potential classifications of 

impounding structures. 

A. Impounding structures shall be classified in one of three 

hazard classifications as defined in subsection B of this section 

and Table 1 of 4VAC50-20-50. 

B. For the purpose of this chapter, hazards pertain to potential 

loss of human life or damage to the property of others 

downstream from the impounding structure in event of failure 

or faulty operation of the impounding structure or appurtenant 

facilities. Hazard potential classifications of impounding 

structures are as follows: 

1. High Hazard Potential hazard potential is defined where 

an impounding structure failure will cause probable loss of 

life or serious economic damage. "Probable loss of life" 

means that impacts will occur that are likely to cause a loss 

of human life, including but not limited to impacts to 

residences, businesses, other occupied structures, or major 

roadways. Economic damage may occur to, but not be 

limited to, building(s) buildings, industrial or commercial 

facilities, public utilities, major roadways, railroads, 

personal property, and agricultural interests. "Major 

roadways" include, but are not limited to, interstates, 

primary highways, high-volume urban streets, or other high-

volume roadways, except those having an AADT volume of 

400 vehicles or less in accordance with 4VAC50-20-45. 

2. Significant Hazard Potential hazard potential is defined 

where an impounding structure failure may cause the loss of 

life or appreciable economic damage. "May cause loss of 

life" means that impacts will occur that could cause a loss of 

human life, including but not limited to impacts to facilities 

that are frequently utilized by humans other than residences, 

businesses, or other occupied structures, or to secondary 

roadways. Economic damage may occur to, but not be 

limited to, building(s) buildings, industrial or commercial 

facilities, public utilities, secondary roadways, railroads, 

personal property, and agricultural interests. "Secondary 

roadways" include, but are not limited to, secondary 

highways, low-volume urban streets, service roads, or other 

low-volume roadways, except those having an AADT 

volume of 400 vehicles or less in accordance with 4VAC50-

20-45. 

3. Low Hazard Potential hazard potential is defined where 

an impounding structure failure would result in no expected 

loss of life and would cause no more than minimal economic 
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damage. "No expected loss of life" means no loss of human 

life is anticipated. 

C. To support the appropriate hazard potential classification, 

dam break analysis shall be conducted by the owner's engineer 

or the department in accordance with one of the following 

alternatives and utilizing procedures set out in 4VAC50-20-54. 

1. The owner of an impounding structure that does not 

currently hold a regular or conditional certificate or a 

conditional general permit or general permit from the board, 

or the owner of an impounding structure that is already under 

certificate but the owner or general permit who believes that 

a condition has changed downstream of the impounding 

structure that may reduce its hazard potential classification, 

may request in writing that the department conduct a 

simplified dam break inundation zone analysis to determine 

whether the impounding structure has a low hazard potential 

classification. The owner shall pay a fee to the department 

in accordance with 4VAC50-20-395 for conducting each 

requested analysis. The department shall address requests in 

the order received and shall strive to complete analysis 

within 90 days; or 

2. The owner may propose a hazard potential classification 

that shall be subject to approval by the board. To support the 

proposed hazard potential classification, an analysis shall be 

conducted by the owner's engineer and submitted to the 

department. The hazard potential classification shall be 

certified by the owner. 

D. Findings of the analysis conducted pursuant to subsection 

C of this section shall result in one of the following actions: 

1. For findings by the department resulting from analyses 

conducted in accordance with subdivision C 1 of this 

section: 

a. If the department finds that the impounding structure 

appears to have a low hazard potential classification, the 

owner may be is eligible for general permit coverage in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-103 4VAC50-20-503. 

b. If the department finds that the impounding structure 

appears to have a high hazard potential or significant 

hazard potential classification, the owner's engineer shall 

provide further analysis in accordance with the procedures 

set out in 4VAC50-20-54 and this chapter. The owner may 

be eligible for grant assistance from the Dam Safety, Flood 

Prevention, and Protection Assistance Fund in accordance 

with Article 1.2 (§ 10.1-603.16 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. For findings by the owner's engineer resulting from 

analyses conducted in accordance with subdivision C 2 of 

this section: 

a. If the engineer finds that the impounding structure has a 

low hazard potential classification, the owner may be is 

eligible for general permit coverage in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-103 4VAC50-20-503; or 

b. If the engineer finds that the impounding structure 

appears to have a high hazard potential or significant 

hazard potential classification, then the owner shall 

comply with the applicable certification requirements set 

out in this chapter. 

E. An incremental damage analysis in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-52 may be utilized as part of a hazard potential 

classification by the owner's engineer. 

F. Impounding structures shall be subject to reclassification 

by the board as necessary. 

4VAC50-20-54. Dam break inundation zone mapping. 

A. Dam break inundation zone maps and analyses shall be 

provided to the department, except as provided for in 4VAC50-

20-51, to meet the requirements set out in 4VAC50-20-40, and 

4VAC50-20-175, and 4VAC50-20-177, as applicable. In 

accordance with subsection G of this section, a simplified dam 

break inundation zone map and analysis may be completed by 

the department and shall be provided to the impounding 

structure's owner to assist such owner in complying with the 

requirements of this chapter. All analyses shall be completed 

in accordance with 4VAC50-20-20 D. 

B. The location of the end of the inundation mapping should 

be indicated where the water surface elevation of the dam 

break inundation zone and the water surface elevation of the 

spillway design flood during an impounding structure 

nonfailure event converge to within one foot of each other. The 

inundation maps shall be supplemented with water surface 

profiles showing the peak water surface elevation prior to 

failure and the peak water surface elevation after failure. 

C. All inundation zone map(s) maps shall be signed and 

sealed by a licensed professional engineer. 

D. Present and planned land-use land use for which a 

development plan has been officially approved by the locality 

in the dam break inundation zones downstream from the 

impounding structure shall be considered in determining the 

classification. 

E. For determining the hazard potential classification, an 

analysis including, but not limited to, those hazards created by 

flood and nonflood dam failures shall be considered. At a 

minimum, the following shall be provided to the department: 

1. A sunny day dam break analysis utilizing the volume 

retained at the normal or typical water surface elevation of 

the impounding structure; 

2. A dam break analysis utilizing the spillway design flood 

with a dam failure; 

3. An analysis utilizing the spillway design flood without a 

dam failure; and 

4. A dam break analysis utilizing the probable maximum 

flood with a dam failure. 
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F. To meet the Emergency Action Plan requirements set out 

in 4VAC50-20-175 and the Emergency Preparedness Plan 

requirements set out in 4VAC50-20-177, all owners of high 

hazard potential or significant hazard potential impounding 

structures shall provide dam break inundation zone map(s) 

maps representing the impacts that would occur with both a 

sunny day dam failure and a probable maximum flood with a 

dam failure. 

1. The map(s) maps shall be developed at a scale sufficient 

to graphically display downstream inhabited areas and 

structures, roads, public utilities that may be affected, and 

other pertinent structures within the identified inundation 

area. In coordination with the local organization for 

emergency management, a list of downstream inundation 

zone property owners and occupants, including telephone 

numbers, may be plotted on the map or may be provided with 

the map for reference during an emergency. 

2. Each map shall include the following statement: "The 

information contained in this map is prepared for use in 

notification of downstream property owners by emergency 

management personnel." 

Should the department prepare a dam break inundation zone 

map and analysis in response to a request received pursuant to 

4VAC50-20-40 C, the owner shall utilize this map to prepare 

a plan in accordance with this subsection. 

G. Upon receipt of a written request in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-40 C and receipt of a payment in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-395, the department shall conduct a simplified 

dam break inundation zone analysis. In conducting the 

analysis, a model acceptable to the department shall be utilized. 

The analysis shall result in maps produced as Geographic 

Information System shape files for viewing and analyzing and 

shall meet the other analysis criteria of this section. 

Upon completion of the analysis, the department shall issue a 

letter to the owner communicating the results of the analysis, 

including the dam break inundation zone map, stipulating the 

department's finding regarding hazard potential classification 

based on the information available to the department, and 

explaining what the owner needs to do procedurally with this 

information to be compliant with the requirements of the Dam 

Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq.) and this chapter. 

4VAC50-20-58. Local government notifications. 

For each certificate or general permit issued, the impounding 

structure owner shall send a copy of the certificate or general 

permit to the appropriate local government(s) government with 

planning and zoning responsibilities. A project description and 

the map(s) any maps required under 4VAC50-20-54 showing 

the area that could be affected by the impounding structure 

failure shall be submitted with the certificate or general permit. 

The department will provide a standard form cover letter for 

forwarding the certificate copy or general permit and 

accompanying materials. 

Part II 

Construction and Alteration Permit Requirements 

4VAC50-20-70. Construction permits. 

A. Prior to preparing the complete design report for a 

Construction Permit, applicants may submit a preliminary 

design report to the department to determine if the project 

concept is acceptable to the department. The preliminary 

design report should contain, at a minimum, a general 

description of subdivisions 1 through 12 of subsection B of this 

section and subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection: 

1. Proposed design criteria and a description of the size of 

the impounding structure, ground cover conditions, extent of 

current upstream development within the watershed and the 

hydraulic, hydrological and structural features, geologic 

conditions, and the geotechnical engineering assumptions 

used to determine the foundation, impoundment rim 

stability, and materials to be used. 

2. Preliminary drawings of a general nature, including cross 

sections, plans and profiles of the impounding structure, 

proposed pool levels, and types of spillway(s) spillways. 

B. An applicant for a Construction Permit shall submit a 

design report. A form for the design report is available from 

the department (Design Report for the Construction or 

Alteration of Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures). The 

design report shall be prepared in accordance with 4VAC50-

20-240. The design report is a required element of a complete 

application for a Construction Permit and shall include the 

following information: 

1. Project information including a description of the 

proposed construction, name of the impounding structure, 

inventory number if available, name of the reservoir, and the 

purpose of the reservoir. 

2. The proposed hazard potential classification in 

conformance with Table 1 of 4VAC50-20-50. 

3. Location of the impounding structure, including the city 

or county, number of feet or miles upstream or downstream 

of a highway, and the highway number, name of the river or 

the stream, and the latitude and longitude. 

4. Owner's name or representative if corporation, mailing 

address, residential and business telephone numbers, and 

other means of communication. 

5. Owner's engineer's name, firm, professional engineer 

Virginia number, mailing address, and business telephone 

number. 

6. Impounding structure data, including type of material (i.e., 

earth, concrete, masonry, or other), and the following design 

configurations: 

a. Top of impounding structure (elevation); 

b. Downstream toe – lowest (elevation); 
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c. Height of impounding structure (feet); 

d. Crest length – exclusive of spillway (feet); 

e. Crest width (feet); 

f. Upstream slope (horizontal to vertical); and 

g. Downstream slope (horizontal to vertical). 

7. Reservoir data, including the following: 

a. Maximum capacity (acre-feet); 

b. Maximum pool (elevation); 

c. Maximum pool surface area (acres); 

d. Normal capacity (acre-feet); 

e. Normal pool (elevation); 

f. Normal pool surface area (acres); and 

g. Freeboard (feet). 

8. Spillway data, including the type, construction material, 

design configuration, and invert elevation for the low level 

low-level drain, the principal spillway, and the emergency 

spillway. 

9. Watershed data, including drainage area (square miles); 

type and extent of watershed development; time of 

concentration (hours); routing procedure; spillway design 

flood used and state source; design inflow hydrograph 

volume (acre-feet), peak inflow (cfs), and rainfall duration 

(hours); and freeboard during passage of the spillway design 

flood (feet). 

10. A description of properties located in the dam break 

inundation zone downstream from the site of the proposed 

impounding structure, including the location and number of 

structures, buildings, roads, utilities, and other property that 

would be endangered should the impounding structure fail. 

11. Evidence that the local government or governments have 

has been notified of the proposal by the owner to build an 

impounding structure. 

12. Maps showing the location of the proposed impounding 

structure that include: the county or city in which the 

proposed impounding structure would be located, the 

location of roads and access to the site, and the outline of the 

impoundment. Existing aerial photographs or existing 

topographic maps may be used for this purpose. 

13. A report of the geotechnical investigations of the 

foundation soils, or bedrock, or both and of the materials to 

be used to construct the impounding structure. 

14. Design assumptions and analyses sufficient to indicate 

that the impounding structure will be stable during its 

construction and during the life of the impounding structure 

under all conditions of impoundment operations, including 

rapid filling, flood surcharge, seismic loadings, and rapid 

drawdown of the impoundment. 

15. Evaluation of the stability of the impoundment rim area 

to safeguard against impoundment rim slides of such 

magnitude as to create waves capable of overtopping the 

impounding structure and evaluation of rim stability during 

seismic activity. 

16. Design assumptions and analyses sufficient to indicate 

that seepage in, around, through, or under the impounding 

structure, foundation, and abutments will be reasonably and 

practically controlled so that internal or external forces or 

results thereof will not endanger the stability and integrity of 

the impounding structure. The design report shall also 

include information on graded filter design. 

17. Calculations and assumptions relative to hydraulic and 

structural design of the spillway or spillways and energy 

dissipater or dissipaters. Spillway capacity shall conform to 

the criteria of Table 1 and 4VAC50-20-52. 

18. Provisions to ensure that the impounding structure and 

appurtenances will be protected against unacceptable 

deterioration or erosion due to freezing and thawing, wind, 

wave action, and rain or any combination thereof. 

19. Other pertinent design data, assumptions, and analyses 

commensurate with the nature of the particular impounding 

structure and specific site conditions, including, when 

required by this chapter, a plan and water surface profile of 

the dam break inundation zone. 

20. A description of the techniques to be used to divert 

stream flow during construction so as to prevent hazard to 

life, health, and property, including a detailed plan and 

procedures to maintain a stable impounding structure during 

storm events, a drawing showing temporary diversion 

devices, and a description of the potential impoundment 

during construction. Such diversion plans shall also be in 

accordance with applicable environmental laws. 

21. A plan for project construction monitoring and quality 

control testing to confirm that construction materials and 

performance standards meet the design requirements set 

forth in the specifications. 

22. Plans and specifications as required by 4VAC50-20-310. 

23. Certification by the owner's engineer that the 

information provided pursuant to this subsection is true and 

correct in their the engineer's professional judgment. Such 

certification shall include the engineer's signature, printed 

name, Virginia number, date, and the engineer's Virginia 

seal. 

24. Owner's signature certifying receipt of the information 

provided pursuant to this subsection. 

C. A plan of construction is a required element of a complete 

permit application for a Construction Permit and shall include: 

1. A construction sequence with milestones. 
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2. Elements of the work plan that should be considered 

include, but are not limited to, foundation and abutment 

treatment, stream or river diversion, excavation and material 

fill processes, phased fill and compaction, testing and 

control procedures, construction of permanent spillway, and 

drainage devices. 

3. The erosion and sediment control plan, as approved by the 

local government, which that minimizes soil erosion and 

sedimentation during all phases of construction. 

4. The stormwater management plan or stormwater 

management facility plan, as approved by the local 

government, if the impounding structure is a stormwater 

management best management practice. 

D. A Temporary Emergency Action Plan is a required 

element of a complete application for a Construction Permit 

and shall include: 

1. A notification list of state and local emergency response 

agencies; 

2. Provisions for notification of potentially affected 

residences and structures; 

3. Construction site evacuation routes; and 

4. Any other special notes particular to the project. 

E. Within 120 days of receipt of a complete Construction 

Permit Application, the board shall act on the application. If 

the application is not acceptable, the director shall inform the 

applicant within 60 days of receipt and shall explain what 

changes are required for an acceptable application. A complete 

Construction Permit Application consists of the following: 

1. A final design report, submitted on the department form 

(Design Report for the Construction or Alteration of 

Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures), with 

attachments as needed, and certified by the owner and the 

owner's engineer; 

2. A plan of construction that meets the requirements of 

subsection C of this section; and 

3. A Temporary temporary Emergency Action Plan that 

meets the requirements of subsection D of this section. 

F. Prior to and during construction the owner shall provide 

the director with any proposed changes from the approved 

design, plans, specifications, or plan of construction. Approval 

shall be obtained from the director prior to the construction or 

installation of any changes that will affect the integrity or 

impounding capacity of the impounding structure. 

G. The Construction Permit shall be valid for the plan of 

construction specified in the Construction Permit Application. 

H. Construction must commence within two years after the 

permit is issued. If construction does not commence within two 

years after the permit is issued, the permit shall expire, except 

that the applicant may petition the board for extension of the 

two-year period and the board may extend such period for good 

cause with an appropriately updated plan of construction and 

Temporary Emergency Action Plan. 

I. The board, the director, or both may take any necessary 

action consistent with the Dam Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia) if any terms of this section or of the 

permit are violated, if the activities of the owner are not in 

accordance with the approved plans and specifications, if 

construction is conducted in a manner hazardous to 

downstream life or property, or for other cause as described in 

the Dam Safety Act. 

J. Within 90 days after completion of the construction of an 

impounding structure, the owner shall submit: 

1. A complete set of record drawings signed and sealed by a 

licensed professional engineer and signed by the owner: 

2. A complete Record Report (Record Report for Virginia 

Regulated Impounding Structures) signed and sealed by a 

licensed professional engineer and signed by the owner that 

includes: 

a. Project information, including the name and inventory 

number of the structure, name of the reservoir, and 

whether the report is associated with a new or old 

structure; 

b. Location of the impounding structure, including the city 

or county, number of feet or miles upstream or 

downstream of a highway and the highway number, name 

of the river or the stream, and the latitude and longitude; 

c. Owner's name or representative if corporation, mailing 

address, residential and business telephone numbers, and 

other means of communication; 

d. Information on the design report, including who it was 

prepared by, the date of design report preparation, whether 

it was for new construction or for an alteration, and the 

permit issuance date; 

e. Owner's engineer's name, firm, professional engineer 

Virginia number, mailing address, and business telephone 

number; 

f. Impounding structure data, including type of material 

(i.e., earth, concrete, masonry, or other) and the following 

configurations: 

(1) Top of impounding structure (elevation); 

(2) Downstream toe – lowest (elevation); 

(3) Height of impounding structure (feet); 

(4) Crest length – exclusive of spillway (feet); 

(5) Crest width (feet); 

(6) Upstream slope (horizontal to vertical); and 

(7) Downstream slope (horizontal to vertical). 

g. Reservoir data, including the following: 

(1) Maximum capacity (acre-feet); 
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(2) Maximum pool (elevation); 

(3) Maximum pool surface area (acres); 

(4) Normal capacity (acre-feet); 

(5) Normal pool (elevation); 

(6) Normal pool surface area (acres); and 

(7) Freeboard (feet). 

h. Spillway data, including the type, construction material, 

design configuration, and invert elevation for the low level 

drain, the principal spillway, and the emergency spillway; 

a description of the low level low-level drain and principal 

spillway, including dimensions, trash guard information, 

and orientation of intake and discharge to impounding 

structure if looking downstream; and a description of the 

emergency spillway, including dimensions and orientation 

to impounding structure if looking downstream; 

i. Watershed data, including drainage area (square miles); 

type and extent of watershed development; time of 

concentration (hours); routing procedure; spillway design 

flood used and state source; design inflow hydrograph 

volume (acre-feet), peak inflow (cfs), and rainfall duration 

(hours); and freeboard during passage of the spillway 

design flood (feet); 

j. Impounding structure history, including the date 

construction was completed, who it was designed by and 

the date, who it was built by and the date, who performed 

inspections and dates, description of repairs, and 

confirmation as to whether the impounding structure has 

ever been overtopped; 

k. A narrative describing the impounding structure 

procedures for operation, maintenance, filling, emergency 

action plan implementation, and structure evaluation; 

l. A narrative describing the hydraulic and hydrologic data 

on the spillway design flood, hydrologic records, flood 

experience, flood potential, reservoir regulation, and 

comments or recommendations regarding these attributes; 

m. A narrative describing stability of the foundation and 

abutments, embankment materials, and a written 

evaluation of each; 

n. A complete set of record drawings signed and sealed by 

a licensed professional engineer and signed by the owner; 

o. Certification by the owner's engineer that the 

information provided pursuant to this subdivision J 2 of 

this section is true and correct in their the engineer's 

professional judgment. Such certification shall include the 

engineer's signature, printed name, Virginia number, date, 

and the engineer's Virginia seal; and 

p. Owner's signature certifying receipt of the information 

provided pursuant to this subdivision J 2 of this section. 

3. Certification from the licensed professional engineer who 

has monitored construction of the impounding structure 

during construction that, to the best of the engineer's 

judgment, knowledge and belief, the impounding structure 

and its appurtenances were constructed in conformance with 

the plans, specifications, drawings, and other requirements 

approved by the board; 

4. Operation and Maintenance Certificate Application 

(Operation and Maintenance Certificate Application for 

Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) in accordance 

with 4VAC50-20-105 or a registration statement submitted 

in accordance with 4VAC50-20-502; and 

5. Emergency Action Plan or Emergency Preparedness Plan 

in accordance with 4VAC50-20-175 or 4VAC50-20-177. 

K. Upon completion of construction, the impoundment may 

be filled upon board issuance of an Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate or a general permit. 

4VAC50-20-90. Transfer of permits. (Repealed.) 

A. Prior to the transfer of ownership of a permitted 

impounding structure the permittee shall notify the director in 

writing and the new owner shall file a transfer notification with 

the department. A form for the transfer notification is available 

from the department (Transfer of Impounding Structure 

Notification form Past Owner to New Owner). The new owner 

shall amend the existing permit application as necessary and 

shall certify to the director that he is aware of and will comply 

with all of the requirements and conditions of the permit. 

B. The transfer notification shall include the following 

required information: 

1. Project information including the name and inventory 

number of the structure, name of the reservoir, and 

impoundment hazard classification; 

2. Location of the impounding structure including the city or 

county, number of feet or miles upstream or downstream of 

a highway and the highway number, name of the river or the 

stream, and the latitude and longitude; 

3. Type of certificates and permits to be transferred 

including effective date and expiration date of all certificates 

and permits; 

4. Past owner's name, mailing address, and residential and 

business telephone numbers; 

5. New owner's name, mailing address, and residential and 

business telephone numbers; 

6. Request to transfer certification statement signed and 

dated by the past owner; 

7. Certification of compliance with permit or certificate with 

all said terms and conditions signed and dated by the new 

owner; and 

8. Contact information updates for Emergency Action Plan 

or Emergency Preparedness Plan provided by the new 

owner. Such updates shall include the name, mailing 
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address, and residential and business telephone numbers for 

the impounding structure owner, impounding structure 

operator, rainfall and staff gage observer, and alternate 

observer. 

4VAC50-20-101. General permit requirements for low 

hazard potential impounding structures. (Repealed.) 

Any impounding structure owner whose registration 

statement is approved by the board will receive the following 

permit and shall comply with the requirements in it. If the 

failure of a low hazard potential impounding structure is not 

expected to cause loss of human life or economic damage to 

any property except property owned by the owner, the owner 

may follow the special criteria established for certain low 

hazard impounding structures in accordance with 4VAC50-20-

51 in lieu of coverage under the general permit. 

General Permit No.: Dam Safety 1 

Effective Date: (Date of Issuance of Coverage) 

Expiration Date: (6 years following Date of Issuance of 

Coverage) 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR OPERATION OF A LOW 

HAZARD POTENTIAL IMPOUNDING STRUCTURE 

In compliance with the provisions of the Dam Safety Act and 

attendant regulations, owners of an impounding structure 

covered by this permit are authorized to operate and maintain 

a low hazard potential impounding structure. The owner shall 

be subject to the following requirements as set forth herein. 

1. The spillway design of the owner's impounding structure 

shall be able to safely pass a 100-year flood. When 

appropriate, the spillway design flood requirement may be 

further reduced to the 50-year flood in accordance with an 

incremental damage analysis conducted by the owner's 

engineer. 

2. The owner shall develop and maintain an emergency 

preparedness plan in accordance with 4VAC50-20-177. The 

owner shall update and resubmit the emergency 

preparedness plan immediately upon becoming aware of 

necessary changes to keep the plan workable. 

3. The owner shall perform an annual inspection of the 

impounding structure. The owner shall maintain such 

records and make them available to the department upon 

request. The department also shall conduct inspections as 

necessary in accordance with 4VAC50-20-180. 

4. The owner shall ensure that the impounding structure is 

properly and safely maintained and operated and shall have 

the following documents available for inspection upon 

request of the department: 

a. An operating plan and schedule including narrative on 

the operation of control gates and spillways and the 

impoundment drain; 

b. For earthen embankment impounding structures, a 

maintenance plan and schedule for the embankment, 

principal spillway, emergency spillway, low-level outlet, 

impoundment area, downstream channel, and staff gages; 

and 

c. For concrete impounding structures, a maintenance plan 

and schedule for the upstream face, downstream face, crest 

of dam, galleries, tunnels, abutments, spillways, gates and 

outlets, and staff gages. 

Impounding structure owners shall not permit growth of 

trees and other woody vegetation and shall remove any such 

vegetation from the slopes and crest of embankments and the 

emergency spillway area, and within a distance of 25 feet 

from the toe of the embankment and abutments of the dam. 

5. The owner shall file a dam break inundation zone map 

developed in accordance with 4VAC50-20-54 with the 

department and with the offices with plat and plan approval 

authority or zoning responsibilities as designated by the 

locality for each locality in which the dam break inundation 

zone resides. 

6. The owner shall notify the department immediately of any 

change in circumstances that would cause the impounding 

structure to no longer qualify for coverage under the general 

permit. In the event of a failure or an imminent failure of the 

impounding structure, the owner shall immediately notify 

the local emergency services coordinator, the Virginia 

Department of Emergency Management, and the 

department. The department shall take actions in accordance 

with § 10.1-608 or 10.1-609 of the Code of Virginia, 

depending on the degree of hazard and the imminence of 

failure caused by the unsafe condition. 

4VAC50-20-102. Registering for coverage under the 

general permit for low hazard potential impounding 

structures. (Repealed.) 

A. Pursuant to § 10.1-605.3, an impounding structure owner 

may seek general permit coverage from the board for a low 

hazard potential impounding structure in lieu of obtaining a 

Low Hazard Potential Regular Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate in accordance with 4VAC50-20-105 or a 

Conditional Operation and Maintenance Certificate for Low 

Hazard Potential impounding structures in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-150. 

B. An owner shall submit a complete and accurate registration 

statement in accordance with the requirements of this section 

prior to the issuance of coverage under the general permit. A 

complete registration statement shall include the following: 

1. The name and address of the owner; 

2. The location of the impounding structure; 

3. The height of the impounding structure; 

4. The volume of water impounded; 

5. An Emergency Preparedness Plan prepared in accordance 

with 4VAC50-20-101; 
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6. The applicable fee for the processing of registration 

statements as set out in 4VAC50-20-375; 

7. A dam break inundation zone map completed in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-54 and evidence that such map 

has been filed with the offices with plat and plan approval 

authority or zoning responsibilities as designated by the 

locality for each locality in which the dam break inundation 

zone resides; and 

8. A certification from the owner that the impounding 

structure (i) is classified as low hazard pursuant to a 

determination by the department or the owner's professional 

engineer in accordance with § 10.1-604.1 and this chapter; 

(ii) is, to the best of his knowledge, properly and safely 

constructed and currently has no observable deficiencies; 

and (iii) shall be maintained and operated in accordance with 

the provisions of the general permit. 

4VAC50-20-103. Transitioning from regular or conditional 

certificates to general permit coverage for low hazard 

potential impounding structures. (Repealed.) 

A. Holders of a regular certificate to operate a low hazard 

potential impounding structure shall be eligible for general 

permit coverage upon the expiration of their regular certificate. 

In lieu of a regular certificate renewal, registration coverage 

materials pursuant to 4VAC50-20-102 shall be submitted to 

the department 90 days prior to the expiration of the regular 

certificate. 

B. Holders of a conditional certificate to operate a low hazard 

potential impounding structure shall be eligible for general 

permit coverage upon satisfying the registration requirements 

for a general permit pursuant to 4VAC50-20-102. 

4VAC50-20-104. Maintaining general permit coverage for 

low hazard potential impounding structures. (Repealed.) 

Provided that an impounding structure's hazard potential 

classification does not change, an owner's coverage under the 

general permit shall be for a six-year term after which time the 

owner shall reapply for coverage by filing a new registration 

statement and paying the necessary fee. No inspection of the 

impounding structure by a licensed professional engineer shall 

be required if the owner certifies at the time of general permit 

coverage renewal that conditions at the impounding structure 

and downstream are unchanged. If such certification is made, 

the owner is not required to submit an updated dam break 

inundation zone map.  

4VAC50-20-105. Regular Operation and Maintenance 

Certificates for high hazard potential or significant hazard 

potential impounding structures. 

A. A Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificate is 

required for an a high hazard potential or significant hazard 

potential impounding structure. Such six-year certificates shall 

include the following based on hazard classification: 

1. High Hazard Potential Regular Operation and 

Maintenance Certificate; or 

2. Significant Hazard Potential Regular Operation and 

Maintenance Certificate; or 

3. Low Hazard Potential Regular Operation and 

Maintenance Certificate. 

B. The owner of an a high hazard potential or significant 

hazard potential impounding structure shall apply for the 

renewal of the six-year Regular Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate 90 days prior to its expiration. If a Regular 

Operation and Maintenance Certificate is not renewed as 

required, the board shall take appropriate enforcement action. 

C. Any owner of an a high hazard potential or significant 

hazard potential impounding structure that does not have a 

Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificate or any owner 

renewing a Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificate for 

a high hazard potential or significant hazard potential 

impounding structure shall file an Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate Application. A form for the application is available 

from the department (Operation and Maintenance Certificate 

Application for Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures). 

Such application shall be signed by the owner and signed and 

sealed by a licensed professional engineer. The following 

information shall be submitted on or with the application: 

1. The application shall include the following required 

information: 

a. The name of structure and inventory number; 

b. The proposed hazard potential classification; 

c. Owner's name or representative if corporation, mailing 

address, residential and business telephone numbers, and 

other means of communication; 

d. An operating plan and schedule, including a narrative 

on the operation of control gates and spillways and the 

impoundment drain; 

e. For earthen embankment impounding structures, a 

maintenance plan and schedule for the embankment, 

principal spillway, emergency spillway, low-level outlet, 

impoundment area, downstream channel, and staff gages; 

f. For concrete impounding structures, a maintenance plan 

and schedule for the upstream face, downstream face, crest 

of dam, galleries, tunnels, abutments, spillways, gates and 

outlets, and staff gages; 

g. An inspection schedule for operator inspection, 

maintenance inspection, technical safety inspection, and 

overtopping situations; 

h. A schedule including the rainfall amounts, emergency 

spillway flow levels or storm event that initiates the 

Emergency Action or Preparedness Plan and the 

frequency of observations; 

i. A statement as to whether or not the current hazard 

potential classification for the impounding structure is 
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appropriate and whether or not additional work is needed 

to make an appropriate hazard potential designation; 

j. For newly constructed or recently altered impounding 

structures, a certification from a licensed professional 

engineer who has monitored the construction or alteration 

of the impounding structure that, to the best of the 

engineer's judgment, knowledge, and belief, the 

impounding structure and its appurtenances were 

constructed or altered in conformance with the plans, 

specifications, drawings, and other requirements approved 

by the board; 

k. Certification by the owner's engineer that the Operation 

and Maintenance Certificate Application information 

provided pursuant to subdivision 1 of this subsection is 

true and correct in their the engineer's professional 

judgment. Such certification shall include the engineer's 

signature, printed name, Virginia number, date, and the 

engineer's Virginia seal; and 

l. Owner's signature certifying the Operation and 

Maintenance Certificate Application information 

provided pursuant to subdivision 1 of this subsection and 

that the operation and maintenance plan and schedule shall 

be conducted in accordance with this chapter. 

2. An Inspection Report (Annual Inspection Report for 

Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) inspection 

report in accordance with subsection E of this section; 

3. An Emergency Action Plan in accordance with 4VAC50-

20-175 or an Emergency Preparedness Plan in accordance 

with 4VAC50-20-177 and evidence that the required copies 

of such plan have been submitted to the local organization 

for emergency management and the Virginia Department of 

Emergency Management; 

4. Any additional analysis determined necessary by the 

director, the board, or the owner's engineer to address public 

safety concerns. Such additional analysis may include, but 

not be limited to, seismic stability, earthen spillway 

integrity, adequate freeboard allowance, stability assessment 

of the impoundment's foundation, potential liquefaction of 

the embankment, overturning or sliding of a concrete 

structure, and other structural stress issues; and 

5. If applicable, a current certification from the dam owner 

in accordance with 4VAC50-20-53. 

D. If the Operation and Maintenance Certificate Application 

submittal is found to be not complete incomplete, the director 

shall inform the applicant within 30 days and shall explain 

what changes are required for an acceptable submission. 

Within 60 days of receipt of a complete application, the board 

shall act upon the application. Upon finding that the 

impounding structure as currently operating is in compliance 

with this chapter, the board shall issue a Regular Operation and 

Maintenance Certificate. Should the board find that the 

impounding structure as currently operating is not in 

compliance with this chapter, the board may deny the permit 

certificate application or issue a Conditional Operation and 

Maintenance Certificate in accordance with 4VAC50-20-150. 

E. Inspections shall be performed on an impounding structure 

annually. 

1. Inspection Reports (Annual Inspection Report for 

Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) reports signed 

and sealed by a licensed professional engineer shall be 

submitted to the department in accordance with the 

following schedule: 

a. For a High Hazard Potential high hazard potential 

impounding structure, every two years; 

b. For a Significant Hazard Potential significant hazard 

potential impounding structure, every three years; or 

c. For a Low Hazard Potential impounding structure, every 

six years; or d. For a High Hazard Potential high hazard 

potential impounding structure to which 4VAC50-20-53 

applies, annually in accordance with 4VAC50-20-53, 

where applicable. 

In years when an Inspection Report inspection report 

signed and sealed by a licensed professional engineer is 

not required, an owner shall submit the Annual Inspection 

Report for Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures. 

2. The Inspection Report inspection report shall include the 

following required information: 

a. Project information, including the name and inventory 

number of structure, name of the reservoir, and purpose of 

the reservoir; 

b. City or county where the impounding structure is 

located; 

c. Owner's name or representative if corporation, mailing 

address, residential and business telephone numbers, and 

other means of communication; 

d. Owner's engineer's name, firm, professional engineer 

Virginia number, mailing address, and business telephone 

number; 

e. Inspection observation of the impounding structure, 

including the following: 

(1) Earthen embankment information, including any 

embankment alterations; erosion; settlement, 

misalignments, or cracks; seepage and seepage flow rate; 

and location; 

(2) Upstream slope information, including notes on woody 

vegetation removed, rodent burrows discovered, and 

remedial work performed; 

(3) Intake structure information, including notes on 

deterioration of concrete structures, exposure of rebar 

reinforcement, need to repair or replace trash rack, any 

problems with debris in the reservoir, and whether the 

drawdown valve operated; 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 19  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 5, 2025  

2103 

(4) Abutment contacts, including notes on seepage and 

seepage flow rate and location; 

(5) Earthen emergency spillway, including notes on 

obstructions to flow and plans to correct, rodent burrows 

discovered, and deterioration in the approach or discharge 

channel; 

(6) Concrete emergency spillway, including notes on the 

deterioration of the concrete, exposure of rebar 

reinforcement, any leakage below concrete spillway, and 

obstructions to flow and plans to correct; 

(7) Downstream slope information, including notes on 

woody vegetation removed, rodent burrows discovered, 

whether seepage drains are working, and any seepage or 

wet areas; 

(8) Outlet pipe information, including notes on any water 

flowing outside of discharge pipe through the impounding 

structure and a description of any reflection or damage to 

the pipe; 

(9) Stilling basin information, including notes on the 

deterioration of the concrete, exposure of rebar 

reinforcement, deterioration of the earthen basin slopes, 

repairs made, and any obstruction to flow; 

(10) Gates information, including notes on gate 

malfunctions or repairs, corrosion or damage, and whether 

any gates were operated and, if so, how often and to what 

extreme; 

(11) Reservoir information, including notes on new 

developments upstream of the dam, slides or erosion of 

lake banks, and general comments to include silt, algae, or 

other influence factors; 

(12) Instruments information, including any reading of 

instruments and any installation of new instruments; and 

(13) General information, including notes on new 

development in the downstream dam break inundation 

zone that would impact hazard classification or spillway 

design flood requirements, the maximum stormwater 

discharge or peak elevation during the previous year, 

whether general maintenance was performed and when, 

and actions that need to be completed before the next 

inspection. 

f. Evaluation rating of the impounding structure and 

appurtenances (i.e., excellent, good, or poor), general 

comments, and recommendations; 

g. Certification by the owner and date of inspection; and 

h. Certification and seal by the owner's engineer and date 

of inspection, as applicable. 

F. The owner of an impounding structure shall notify the 

department immediately of any change in the use of the area 

downstream that would impose hazard to life or property in the 

event of failure. 

4VAC50-20-150. Conditional operation and maintenance 

certificate Operation and Maintenance Certificate for high 

hazard potential or significant hazard potential 

impounding structures. 

A. During the review of any Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate Application (Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate Application for Virginia Regulated Impounding 

Structures) completed in accordance with 4VAC50-20-105, 

should the director determine that the impounding structure has 

nonimminent deficiencies, the director may recommend that 

the board issue a Conditional Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate. 

B. The Conditional Operation and Maintenance Certificate 

for High, Hazard Potential or Significant, and Low Hazard 

Potential impounding structures shall be for a maximum term 

of two years. This certificate will allow the owner to continue 

normal operation and maintenance of the impounding 

structure, and shall require that the owner correct the 

deficiencies on a schedule approved by the board. 

C. A Conditional Operation and Maintenance Certificate may 

be extended in accordance with the procedures of 4VAC50-20-

155, provided that Inspection Reports (Annual Inspection 

Report for Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) 

inspection reports are on file, and the board determines that the 

owner is proceeding with the necessary corrective actions. 

D. Once the deficiencies are corrected, the board shall issue a 

Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificate based upon the 

impounding structure's meeting the requirements of 4VAC50-

20-105. 

4VAC50-20-170. Transfer of certificates. 

A. Prior to the transfer of ownership of an impounding 

structure, the certificate holder shall notify the director in 

writing and the new owner shall file a transfer notification with 

the department. A form for the transfer notification is available 

from the department (Transfer of Impounding Structure 

Notification from Past Owner to New Owner). The new owner 

may elect to continue the existing operation and maintenance 

certificate for the remaining term or he may apply for a new 

certificate in accordance with 4VAC50-20-105. If the owner 

elects to continue the existing certificate, he the owner shall 

certify to the director that he the owner is aware of and will 

comply with all of the requirements and conditions of the 

certificate. 

B. The transfer notification shall include the following 

required information: 

1. Project information, including the name and inventory 

number of the structure, name of the reservoir, and 

impoundment hazard classification; 

2. Location of the impounding structure, including the city 

or county, number of feet or miles upstream or downstream 
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of a highway and the highway number, name of the river or 

the stream, and the latitude and longitude; 

3. Type of certificates and permits to be transferred, 

including effective date and expiration date of all certificates 

and permits; 

4. Past owner's name, mailing address, and residential and 

business telephone numbers; 

5. New owner's name, mailing address, and residential and 

business telephone numbers; 

6. Request to transfer certification statement signed and 

dated by the past owner; 

7. Certification of compliance with permit or certificate with 

all said terms and conditions signed and dated by the new 

owner; and 

8. Contact information updates for the Emergency Action 

Plan or Emergency Preparedness Plan provided by the new 

owner. Such updates shall include the name, mailing 

address, and residential and business telephone numbers for 

the impounding structure owner, impounding structure 

operator, rainfall and staff gage observer, and alternate 

observer. 

4VAC50-20-177. Emergency Preparedness Plan for Low 

Hazard low hazard impounding structures. 

Low Hazard Owners of low hazard impounding structures 

shall provide information for emergency preparedness to the 

department, the local organization for emergency management 

coordinator, and the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management. A form for the submission is available from the 

department (Emergency Preparedness Plan for Low Hazard 

Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures). The information 

shall include, but not be limited, to the following: 

1. Name and location information for the impounding 

structure, including city or county and latitude and 

longitude; 

2. Name of owner and operator and associated contact 

information, including residential and business telephone 

numbers and other means of communication; 

3. Contact information for relevant the local emergency 

responders including the following: a. Local dispatch center 

or centers governing the impounding structure's dam break 

inundation zone; and b. City or county emergency services 

coordinator's name or names management coordinator; 

4. Procedures for notifying downstream property owners or 

occupants potentially impacted by the impounding 

structure's failure; 

5. A dam break inundation zone map completed in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-54 and evidence that: a. Such 

map has been filed with the offices with plat and plan 

approval authority or zoning responsibilities as designated 

by the locality for each locality in which the dam break 

inundation zone resides; and b. Required copies of such plan 

have been submitted to the local organization for emergency 

management and the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management Identification of any downstream roadways 

that would be impacted by the impounding structure's 

failure; and 

6. Certification of the accuracy of the plan by the owner that 

the plan is accurate and that the owner understands the 

responsibilities included in the plan. 

4VAC50-20-200. Enforcement. 

The provisions of this chapter may be enforced by the board, 

the director, or both in any manner consistent with the 

provisions of the Dam Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). Failure to comply with the provisions of the 

general permit issued in accordance with 4VAC50-20-103 

4VAC50-20-503 may result in enforcement actions, including 

penalties assessed in accordance with §§ 10.1-613.1 and 10.1-

613.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC50-20-350. Fee submittal procedures. 

A. Effective September 26, 2008, fees for all application 

submittals required pursuant to 4VAC50-20-370 through 

4VAC50-20-390 are due prior to issuance of a certificate or 

permit. No application for an Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate or, a Construction Permit, or a general permit will be 

acted upon by the board without full payment of the required fee 

per § 10.1-613.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Fees shall be paid by check, draft, or postal money order 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, or submitted electronically 

(if available), and must be in U.S. United States currency, except 

that agencies and institutions of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

may submit Interagency Transfers interagency transfers for the 

amount of the fee. All fees shall be sent to the following address 

(or submitted electronically, if available): Virginia Department of 

Conservation and Recreation, Division of Finance, Accounts 

Payable, 203 Governor Street, 4th Floor 600 East Main Street, 

24th floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

C. All fee payments shall be accompanied by the following 

information: 

1. Applicant name, address, and daytime phone telephone 

number. 

2. The name of the impounding structure, and the impounding 

structure location. 

3. The type of application or report submitted. 

4. Whether the submittal is for a new permit or certificate 

issuance or permit or certificate reissuance. 

5. The amount of fee submitted. 

6. Impounding structure identification number, if applicable. 

D. No permit fees remitted to the department shall be subject to 

refund except as credits provided for in 4VAC50-20-390 C. 
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4VAC50-20-360. Fee exemptions. 

Impounding structures owned by Virginia Soil and Water 

Conservation Districts shall be exempt from all fees associated 

with this part in accordance with § 10.1-613.5 of the Code of 

Virginia. There will be no fee assessed for a low hazard 

impounding structure exempted from fees pursuant to 

4VAC50-20-51 or 4VAC50-20-501 or for the 

decommissioning of an impounding structure. 

4VAC50-20-375. Fee for coverage under the conditional 

general permit or general permit for low hazard 

impounding structures. 

A. The fee for processing registration statements from 

impounding structure owners seeking to obtain coverage under 

the general permit for low hazard impounding structures shall 

be $300. 

B. There will be no fee assessed for a low hazard impounding 

structure exempted from fees pursuant to 4VAC50-20-51 and 

4VAC50-20-501. 

C. The fee for processing registration statements from 

impounding structure owners obtaining coverage under the 

conditional general permit for low hazard impounding 

structures shall be $200. 

D. The board may allow a partial credit towards the general 

permit fee if the owner of the impounding structure has 

completed, to the director's satisfaction, the conditions of the 

conditional general permit prior to its expiration. 

4VAC50-20-380. Regular Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate application fees. 

A. Any application for a six-year Regular Operation and 

Maintenance Certificate after September 26, 2008, except as 

otherwise exempted, shall be accompanied by a payment as 

determined in subsection B of this section. 

B. Fees for High, Significant, or Low Hazard Potential high 

hazard potential or significant hazard potential impounding 

structures shall be as follows: 

1. $600 for High Hazard Potential high hazard potential. 

2. $600 for Significant Hazard Potential significant hazard 

potential. 

3. $300 for Low Hazard Potential. 

C. Fees for extension of Regular Operation and Maintenance 

Certificates shall be $250 per year or portion thereof of a year. 

Part VII 

General Permit for Low Hazard Potential Impounding 

Structure Requirements 

4VAC50-20-500. Registering for coverage under the 

general permit.  

A. Pursuant to § 10.1-605.3 of the Code of Virginia, the 

owner of a low hazard potential impounding structure shall 

apply for general permit coverage from the board in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-502, except as provided for in 

4VAC50-20-501.  

B. Holders of a either a regular or conditional Operation and 

Maintenance Certificate for a low hazard potential impounding 

structure shall be transitioned to general permit coverage upon 

the expiration of the certificate. In lieu of a certificate renewal, 

registration coverage materials pursuant to 4VAC50-20-502 

shall be submitted to the department 90 days prior to the 

expiration of the certificate. 

4VAC50-20-501. Exemption from general permit 

requirements for certain low hazard potential impounding 

structures.  

A. In accordance with § 10.1-605.3 of the Code of Virginia, 

should the failure of a low hazard potential impounding 

structure cause no expected loss of human life and no 

economic damage to any property except property owned by 

the impounding structure owner, the owner may choose to 

meet the following requirements instead of the requirements 

specified in the general permit for low hazard impounding 

structures:  

1. A licensed professional engineer certifies that the 

impounding structure is a low hazard potential impounding 

structure that will cause no expected loss of human life and 

no economic damage to any property except property owned 

by the impounding structure owner; 

2. The owner of an impounding structure shall notify the 

local emergency management coordinator in the event of a 

failure or emergency condition at the impounding structure; 

however, no emergency preparedness plan prepared 

pursuant to 4VAC50-20-177 shall be required; and 

3. The owner of an impounding structure shall perform 

inspections of the impounding structure annually in 

accordance with the requirements of 4VAC50-20-105.  

B. No specific spillway design flood is required for a dam that 

meets the criteria established in subsection A of this section, 

although the recommended minimum spillway design flood is 

a 50-year flood.  

C. Any owner of an impounding structure electing to utilize 

the requirements of subsection A of this section shall otherwise 

comply with all other requirements of this chapter applicable 

to low hazard impounding structures. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 19  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 5, 2025  

2106 

D. The owner shall notify the department immediately of any 

change in circumstances that would cause the impounding 

structure to no longer qualify to utilize the provisions of this 

section. 

E. No certificate or permit fee established in this chapter shall 

be applicable to the impounding structure.  

4VAC50-20-502. General permit registration statement 

requirements.  

A. A complete and accurate registration statement shall be 

filed by the dam owner in accordance with the requirements of 

this section prior to the issuance of coverage under the general 

permit.  

B. A complete registration statement shall include the 

following: 

1. The name and address of the owner; 

2. The location of the impounding structure; 

3. The height of the impounding structure; 

4. The volume of water impounded; 

5. An Emergency Preparedness Plan prepared in accordance 

with 4VAC50-20-177; 

6. The applicable fee for the processing of registration 

statements as set out in 4VAC50-20-375; and 

7. A certification from the owner that the impounding 

structure (i) is classified as low hazard potential pursuant to 

a determination by the department or the owner's 

professional engineer in accordance with § 10.1-604.1 of the 

Code of Virginia and this chapter; (ii) is, to the best of the 

owner's knowledge, properly and safely constructed and 

currently has no observable deficiencies; and (iii) shall be 

maintained and operated in accordance with the provisions 

of the general permit. 

4VAC50-20-503. General permit requirements for low 

hazard potential impounding structures.  

Any impounding structure owner whose registration 

statement is approved by the board will receive the following 

permit and shall comply with the requirements in it.  

General Permit No.: Dam Safety 1 

Effective Date: (Date of Issuance of Coverage) 

Expiration Date: (six years following Date of Issuance of 

Coverage) 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR OPERATION OF A LOW 

HAZARD POTENTIAL IMPOUNDING STRUCTURE 

In compliance with the provisions of the Dam Safety Act and 

attendant regulations, owners of an impounding structure 

covered by this permit are authorized to operate and maintain 

a low hazard potential impounding structure. The owner shall 

be subject to the following requirements as set forth in this 

general permit. 

1. The spillway design of the owner's impounding structure 

shall be able to safely pass a 100-year flood. When 

appropriate, the spillway design flood requirement may be 

further reduced to the 50-year flood in accordance with an 

incremental damage analysis conducted by the owner's 

engineer. 

2. The owner shall develop and maintain an Emergency 

Preparedness Plan in accordance with 4VAC50-20-177. The 

owner shall update and resubmit the Emergency 

Preparedness Plan immediately upon becoming aware of 

necessary changes to keep the plan workable. 

3. The owner shall perform an annual inspection of the 

impounding structure. The owner shall maintain such 

records and make them available to the department upon 

request. The department also shall conduct inspections as 

necessary in accordance with 4VAC50-20-180. 

4. The owner shall ensure that the impounding structure is 

properly and safely maintained and operated and shall have 

the following documents available for inspection upon 

request of the department: 

a. An operating plan and schedule, including narrative on 

the operation of control gates and spillways and the 

impoundment drain; 

b. For earthen embankment impounding structures, a 

maintenance plan and schedule for the embankment, 

principal spillway, emergency spillway, low-level outlet, 

impoundment area, downstream channel, and staff gages; 

and 

c. For concrete impounding structures, a maintenance plan 

and schedule for the upstream face, downstream face, crest 

of dam, galleries, tunnels, abutments, spillways, gates and 

outlets, and staff gages. 

5. The owner shall not permit growth of trees and other 

woody vegetation and shall remove any such vegetation 

from the slopes and crest of embankments and the 

emergency spillway area, and within a distance of 25 feet 

from the toe of the embankment and abutments of the dam. 

6. The owner shall notify the department immediately of any 

change in circumstances that would cause the impounding 

structure to no longer qualify for coverage under the general 

permit. In the event of a failure or an imminent failure of the 

impounding structure, the owner shall immediately notify 

the local emergency management coordinator, the Virginia 

Department of Emergency Management, and the 

department. The department shall take actions in accordance 

with § 10.1-608 or 10.1-609 of the Code of Virginia, 

depending on the degree of hazard and the imminence of 

failure caused by the unsafe condition. 

7. In order to qualify for the protections established in 

§ 10.1-606.3 of the Code of Virginia, the owner shall file a 

dam break inundation zone map developed in accordance 

with 4VAC50-20-54 with the department and with the 
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offices with plat and plan approval authority or zoning 

responsibilities as designated by the locality for each locality 

in which the dam break inundation zone resides. 

4VAC50-20-504. Issuance of general permit for low hazard 

potential impounding structures.  

If the general permit registration statement submittal is found to 

be incomplete, the director shall inform the applicant within 30 

days and shall explain what changes are required for an acceptable 

submission. Within 60 days of receipt of a complete registration 

statement, the board shall act upon the application. Upon finding 

that the impounding structure as currently operating is in 

compliance with this chapter, the board shall issue a general 

permit for low hazard potential impounding structures. Should the 

board find that the impounding structure as currently operating is 

not in compliance with this chapter, the board may deny the permit 

registration statement or issue a conditional general permit for low 

hazard potential impounding structures in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-505. 

4VAC50-20-505. Conditional general permit for low 

hazard potential impounding structures.  

A. During the review of any general permit for low hazard 

potential impounding structures issued in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-502, should the director determine that the 

impounding structure has nonimminent deficiencies, the director 

may recommend that the board issue a conditional general permit 

for low hazard potential impounding structures.  

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 4VAC50-20-503, the 

conditional general permit for low hazard potential impounding 

structures shall be for a maximum term of two years. This permit 

will allow the owner to continue normal operation and 

maintenance of the impounding structure and shall require that the 

owner correct the deficiencies on a schedule approved by the 

board.  

C. A conditional general permit for low hazard potential 

impounding structures may be extended provided that the owner 

submits a written request justifying an extension, the amount of 

time needed to comply with the requirements set out in the current 

conditional permit for low hazard potential impounding 

structures, and any required fees. The owner must have 

demonstrated substantial and continual progress toward meeting 

the requirements of the conditional permit for low hazard potential 

impounding structures in order to receive an extension.  

D. Once the deficiencies are corrected, the board shall issue a 

general permit for low hazard potential impounding structures 

when the impounding structure meets the requirements of 

4VAC50-20-502. 

4VAC50-20-506. Reapplying for general permit coverage 

for low hazard potential impounding structures.  

A. Provided that an impounding structure's hazard potential 

classification does not change, an owner's coverage under the 

general permit shall be for a six-year term, after which time the 

owner shall reapply for coverage by filing a new registration 

statement and paying the necessary fee. 

B. No less than 90 days prior to the expiration of the general 

permit, the owner shall submit a complete registration 

statement as established in 4VAC50-20-502.  

C. No inspection of the impounding structure by a licensed 

professional engineer shall be required if the owner certifies at 

the time of general permit coverage renewal that conditions at 

the impounding structure and downstream are unchanged.  

4VAC50-20-507. Enforcement of general permit 

requirements for low hazard potential impounding 

structures.  

Failure to comply with the provisions of the general permit 

issued in accordance with 4VAC50-20-503 or the provisions 

of a conditional general permit issued in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-505 may result in enforcement actions pursued in 

accordance with the Dam Safety Act, including penalties 

assessed in accordance with §§ 10.1-613.1 and 10.1-613.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC50-20-508. Transfer of permits.  

A. Prior to the transfer of ownership of a permitted impounding 

structure, the permittee shall notify the director in writing, and the 

new owner shall file a transfer notification with the department. A 

form for the transfer notification is available from the department. 

The new owner shall amend the existing permit application as 

necessary and shall certify to the director that the new owner is 

aware of and will comply with all of the requirements and 

conditions of the permit. 

B. The transfer notification shall include the following 

required information: 

1. Project information, including the name and inventory 

number of the structure and name of the reservoir; 

2. Location of the impounding structure, including the city 

or county and the latitude and longitude; 

3. Effective date and expiration date of the permit to be 

transferred; 

4. Past owner's name, mailing address, and residential and 

business telephone numbers; 

5. New owner's name, mailing address, and residential and 

business telephone numbers; 

6. Request to transfer certification statement signed and 

dated by the past owner; 

7. Certification of compliance with the permit terms and 

conditions signed and dated by the new owner; and 

8. Contact information updates for the new owner, including 

name, mailing address, and residential and business 

telephone numbers. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7875; Filed April 8, 2025, 12:15 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that consist only of 

changes in style or form or corrections of technical errors. The 

State Board of Education will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-30. Regulations Governing 

Adult High School Programs (amending 8VAC20-30-20). 

8VAC20-81. Regulations Governing Special Education 

Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia 

(amending 8VAC20-81-10, 8VAC20-81-40, 8VAC20-81-

110, 8VAC20-81-130, 8VAC20-81-250). 

8VAC20-160. Regulations Governing Secondary School 

Transcripts (amending 8VAC20-160-10). 

8VAC20-521. Regulations Governing Reduction of State 

Aid When Length of School Term Below 180 Teaching 

Days or 990 Teaching Hours (amending 8VAC20-521-10). 

8VAC20-671. Regulations Governing the Operation of 

Private Schools for Students with Disabilities (amending 

8VAC20-671-450). 

8VAC20-740. Regulations Governing Nutritional 

Standards for Competitive Foods Available for Sale in the 

Public Schools (amending 8VAC20-740-10). 

8VAC20-750. Regulations Governing the Use of Seclusion 

and Restraint in Public Elementary and Secondary Schools 

in Virginia (amending 8VAC20-750-20). 

8VAC20-760. Regulations Governing the Designation of 

School Divisions of Innovation (amending 8VAC20-760-

30). 

Statutory Authority: 

§ 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia (8VAC20-160,  

8VAC20-750, 8VAC20-760). 

§§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-98 of the Code of Virginia (8VAC20-521). 

§ 22.1-207.4 of the Code of Virginia (8VAC20-740). 

§§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-224 of the Code of Virginia (8VAC20-30). 

§§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-321 of the Code of Virginia (8VAC20-671). 

§§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia; 20 USC § 

1400 et seq.; 34 CFR Part 300 (8VAC20-81). 

Effective Date: June 4, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace references to Regulations 

Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in 

Virginia (8VAC20-131), which was repealed in 2024, with 

Virginia Standards of Accreditation (8VAC20-132). 

8VAC20-30-20. Minimum requirements for adult high 

school programs. 

Adult high school programs are not part of the 9 through 12 

high school program and shall meet the following minimum 

requirements: 

1. Age. Only those students who are not subject to the 

compulsory attendance requirements of § 22.1-254 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be enrolled in an adult high school 

program. 

2. Credit. 

a. Satisfactory completion of 108 hours of classroom 

instruction in a subject shall constitute sufficient evidence 

for one unit of credit toward a high school diploma. 

b. When, in the judgment of the principal or the 

superintendent, an adult not regularly enrolled in the 

grades 9 through 12 high school program is able to 

demonstrate by examination or other objective evidence, 

satisfactory completion of the work, he may receive credit 

in accordance with policies adopted by the local school 

board. It is the responsibility of the school issuing the 

credit to document the types of examinations employed or 

other objective evidence used, the testing or assessment 

procedures, and the extent of progress in each case. 

c. Credits earned in adult high school programs shall be 

transferable as prescribed in the Regulations Establishing 

Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 

within the sponsoring school division and shall be 

transferable to public secondary schools outside of the 

sponsoring school division. 

3. Diplomas. 

a. A diploma, as provided in 8VAC20-131-50 8VAC20-

132-50, shall be awarded to an adult student who 

completes all requirements of the diploma regulated by the 

Board of Education, with the exception of health and 

physical education requirements, in effect at the time he 

will graduate. 

b. An adult high school diploma shall be awarded to an 

adult student who completes the course credit 

requirements in effect for any Board of Education 

diploma, with the exception of health and physical 

education course requirements, at the time he first entered 

the ninth grade. The requirement for specific assessments 

may be waived if the assessments are no longer 

administered to students in Virginia public schools. 

c. An adult high school diploma shall be awarded to an 

adult student who demonstrates through applied 

mailto:@jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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performance assessment full mastery of the National 

External Diploma Program Competencies, version 5.0, 

January 2013, a CASAS program, as promulgated by the 

American Council on Education and validated and 

endorsed by the U.S. Department of Education. 

d. A general achievement adult high school diploma shall 

be awarded to a student who is not subject to the 

compulsory attendance requirements of § 22.1-254 of the 

Code of Virginia and who: 

(1) Successfully completes a high school equivalency 

examination approved by the Board of Education; 

(2) Earns a Board of Education-approved career and 

technical education credential, such as the successful 

completion of an industry certification, a state licensure 

examination, a national occupational competency 

assessment, or the Virginia Workplace Readiness Skills 

Assessment; and 

(3) Successfully completes the following courses that 

incorporate or exceed the applicable Standards of 

Learning: 

Discipline Area 
Standard Units of Credit 

Required 

English 4 

Mathematics 3 

Science 2 

History and Social 

Sciences 
2 

Electives 9 

TOTAL 20 

Courses completed to satisfy the requirements in 

mathematics and science shall include content in courses 

that incorporate or exceed the content of courses approved 

by the Board of Education to satisfy any other board-

recognized diploma. 

Courses completed to satisfy the history and social 

sciences requirements shall include one unit of credit in 

Virginia and U.S. history and one unit of credit in Virginia 

and U.S. government in courses that incorporate or exceed 

the content of courses approved by the Board of Education 

to satisfy any other board-recognized diploma. 

Courses completed to satisfy the electives requirement 

shall include at least two sequential electives in an area of 

concentration or specialization, which may include career 

and technical education and training. 

8VAC20-81-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means the Individuals with Disabilities Education 

Improvement Act, P.L. 108-446, December 3, 2004, § 1400 et 

seq. (34 CFR 300.4) 

"Age of eligibility" means all eligible children with 

disabilities who have not graduated with a standard or 

advanced studies high school diploma who, because of such 

disabilities, are in need of special education and related 

services, and whose second birthday falls on or before 

September 30, and who have not reached their 22nd birthday 

on or before September 30 (two to 21, inclusive) in accordance 

with the Code of Virginia. A child with a disability whose 22nd 

birthday is after September 30 remains eligible for the 

remainder of the school year. (§ 22.1-213 of the Code of 

Virginia; 34 CFR 300.101(a) and 34 CFR 300.102(a)(3)(ii)) 

"Age of majority" means the age when the procedural 

safeguards and other rights afforded to the parent of a student 

with a disability transfer to the student. In Virginia, the age of 

majority is 18 years of age. (§ 1-204 of the Code of Virginia; 

34 CFR 300.520) 

"Agree" or "agreement" See the definition for "consent." 

"Alternate assessment" means the state assessment program 

and any school divisionwide assessment to the extent that the 

school division has one for measuring student performance 

against alternate achievement standards for students with 

significant intellectual disabilities who are unable to 

participate in statewide Standards of Learning testing, even 

with accommodations. (34 CFR 300.320(a)(2)(ii) and 34 CFR 

300.704(b)(4)(x)) 

"Alternative assessment" means the state assessment program 

for measuring student performance on grade level standards for 

students with disabilities who are unable to participate in 

statewide Standards of Learning testing, even with 

accommodations. 

"Assistive technology device" means any item, piece of 

equipment, or product system, whether acquired commercially 

off the shelf, modified, or customized, that is used to increase, 

maintain, or improve the functional capabilities of a child with 

a disability. The term does not include a medical device that is 

surgically implanted or the replacement of that device. (34 

CFR 300.5) 

"Assistive technology service" means any service that 

directly assists a child with a disability in the selection, 

acquisition, or use of an assistive technology device. The term 

includes: (34 CFR 300.6) 

1. The evaluation of the needs of a child with a disability, 

including a functional evaluation of the child in the child's 

customary environment; 

2. Purchasing, leasing, or otherwise providing for the 

acquisition of assistive technology devices by children with 

disabilities; 
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3. Selecting, designing, fitting, customizing, adapting, 

applying, maintaining, repairing, or replacing assistive 

technology devices; 

4. Coordinating and using other therapies, interventions, or 

services with assistive technology devices, such as those 

associated with existing education and rehabilitation plans 

and programs; 

5. Training or technical assistance for a child with a 

disability or, if appropriate, that child's family; and 

6. Training or technical assistance for professionals, 

including individuals providing education or rehabilitation 

services, employers, or other individuals who provide 

services to employ or are otherwise substantially involved in 

the major life functions of that child. 

"At no cost" means that all specially designed instruction is 

provided without charge but does not preclude incidental fees 

that are normally charged to students without disabilities or 

their parent as part of the regular education program. (34 CFR 

300.39(b)(1)) 

"Audiology" means services provided by a qualified 

audiologist licensed by the Board of Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology and includes: (Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 

18VAC30-20; 34 CFR 300.34(c)(1)) 

1. Identification of children with hearing loss; 

2. Determination of the range, nature, and degree of hearing 

loss, including referral for medical or other professional 

attention for the habilitation of hearing; 

3. Provision of habilitative activities, such as language 

habilitation, auditory training, speech reading (lip-reading), 

hearing evaluation, and speech conservation; 

4. Creation and administration of programs for prevention of 

hearing loss; 

5. Counseling and guidance of children, parents, and 

teachers regarding hearing loss; and 

6. Determination of children's needs for group and 

individual amplification, selecting and fitting an appropriate 

aid, and evaluating the effectiveness of amplification. 

"Autism" means a developmental disability significantly 

affecting verbal and nonverbal communication and social 

interaction, generally evident before three years of age, that 

adversely affects a child's educational performance. Other 

characteristics often associated with autism are engagement in 

repetitive activities and stereotyped movements, resistance to 

environmental change or change in daily routines, and unusual 

responses to sensory experiences. Autism does not apply if a 

child's educational performance is adversely affected primarily 

because the child has an emotional disturbance. A child who 

manifests the characteristics of autism after three years of age 

could be identified as having autism if the criteria in this 

definition are satisfied. (34 CFR 300.8(c)(1)) 

"Behavioral intervention plan" means a plan that utilizes 

positive behavioral interventions and supports to address 

behaviors that interfere with the learning of students with 

disabilities or with the learning of others or behaviors that 

require disciplinary action. 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, except for 

federal and state holidays, unless holidays are specifically 

included in the designation of business days, as in 8VAC20-

81-150 B 4 a (2). (34 CFR 300.11) 

"Calendar days" means consecutive days, inclusive of 

Saturdays and Sundays, unless otherwise designated as a 

business day or a school day. (34 CFR 300.11) 

"Career and technical education" means organized 

educational activities that offer a sequence of courses that: (20 

USC § 2301 et seq.) 

1. Provides individuals with the rigorous and challenging 

academic and technical knowledge and skills the individuals 

need to prepare for further education and for careers other 

than careers requiring a master's or doctoral degree in current 

or emerging employment sectors; 

2. May include the provision of skills or courses necessary 

to enroll in a sequence of courses that meet the description 

in this definition; or 

3. Provides, at the postsecondary level, for a one-year 

certificate, an associate degree, or industry-recognized 

credential and includes competency-based applied learning 

that contributes to academic knowledge, higher-order 

reasoning and problem-solving skills, work attitudes, 

general employability skills, technical skills, and 

occupational-specific skills. 

"Caseload" means the number of students served by special 

education personnel. 

"Change in identification" means a change in the categorical 

determination of the child's disability by the group that 

determines eligibility. 

"Change in placement" or "change of placement" means when 

the local educational agency places the child in a setting that is 

distinguishable from the educational environment to which the 

child was previously assigned and includes: (34 CFR 

300.102(a)(3)(iii), 34 CFR 300.532(b)(2)(ii), and 34 CFR 

300.536) 

1. The child's initial placement from general education to 

special education and related services; 

2. The expulsion or long-term removal of a student with a 

disability; 

3. The placement change that results from a change in the 

identification of a disability; 
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4. The change from a public school to a private day, 

residential, or state-operated program; from a private day, 

residential, or state-operated program to a public school; or 

to a placement in a separate facility for educational purposes; 

5. Termination of all special education and related services; 

or 

6. Graduation with a standard or advanced studies high 

school diploma. 

A "change in placement" also means any change in the 

educational setting for a child with a disability that does not 

replicate the elements of the educational program of the child's 

previous setting. 

"Change in placement" or "change of placement," for the 

purposes of discipline, means: (34 CFR 300.536) 

1. A removal of a student from the student's current 

educational placement is for more than 10 consecutive 

school days; or 

2. The student is subjected to a series of removals that 

constitute a pattern because they cumulate to more than 10 

school days in a school year, and because of factors such as: 

a. The length of each removal; 

b. The child's behavior is substantially similar to the 

child's behavior in previous incidents that resulted in the 

series of removals; 

c. The total amount of time the student is removed; or 

d. The proximity of the removals to one another. 

"Chapter" means Regulations Governing Special Education 

Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-

81). 

"Charter schools" means any school meeting the requirements 

for charter as set forth in the Code of Virginia. (§§ 22.1-212.5 

through 22.1-212.16 of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.7) 

"Child" means any person who has not reached his 22nd 

birthday by September 30 of the current year. 

"Child with a disability" means a child evaluated in 

accordance with the provisions of this chapter as having an 

intellectual disability, a hearing impairment (including 

deafness), a speech or language impairment, a visual 

impairment (including blindness), a serious emotional 

disability (referred to in this part as "emotional disability"), an 

orthopedic impairment, autism, traumatic brain injury, another 

health impairment, a specific learning disability, deaf-

blindness, or multiple disabilities who, by reason thereof, 

needs special education and related services. This also includes 

developmental delay if the local educational agency recognizes 

this category as a disability in accordance with 8VAC20-81-80 

M 3. If it is determined through an appropriate evaluation that 

a child has one of the disabilities identified but only needs a 

related service and not special education, the child is not a child 

with a disability under this part. If the related service required 

by the child is considered special education rather than a 

related service under Virginia standards, the child would be 

determined to be a child with a disability. (§ 22.1-213 of the 

Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.8(a)(1) and 34 CFR 

300.8(a)(2)(i) and (ii)) 

"Collaboration" means interaction among professionals as 

they work toward a common goal. Teachers do not necessarily 

have to engage in coteaching in order to collaborate. 

"Complaint" means a request that the Virginia Department of 

Education investigate an alleged violation by a public agency 

of a right of a parent of a child who is eligible or suspected to 

be eligible for special education and related services based on 

federal and state law and regulations governing special 

education or a right of such child. A complaint is a statement 

of some disagreement with procedures or process regarding 

any matter relative to the identification, evaluation, or 

educational placement of the child, or the provision of a free 

appropriate public education. (34 CFR 300.151) 

"Comprehensive Services Act" or "CSA" means the 

Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk Youth and Families 

that establishes the collaborative administration and funding 

system for services for certain at-risk youths and their families. 

(Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia) 

"Consent" means: (34 CFR 300.9) 

1. The parent or eligible student has been fully informed of 

all information relevant to the activity for which consent is 

sought in the parent's or eligible student's native language or 

other mode of communication; 

2. The parent or eligible student understands and agrees, in 

writing, to the carrying out of the activity for which consent 

is sought, and the consent describes that activity and lists the 

records, if any, that will be released and to whom; and 

3. The parent or eligible student understands that the 

granting of consent is voluntary on the part of the parent or 

eligible student and may be revoked any time. 

a. If a parent revokes consent, that revocation is not 

retroactive (i.e., it does not negate an action that has 

occurred after the consent was given and before the 

consent was revoked. Revocation ceases to be relevant 

after the activity for which consent was obtained is 

completed.) 

b. If a parent revokes consent in writing for their child's 

receipt of special education services after the child is 

initially provided special education and related services, 

the local educational agency is not required to amend the 

child's education records to remove any references to the 

child's receipt of special education and related services 

because of the revocation of consent. 
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The meaning of the term "consent" is not the same as the 

meaning of the term "agree" or "agreement." "Agree" or 

"agreement" refers to an understanding between the parent and 

the local educational agency about a particular matter and as 

required in this chapter. There is no requirement that an 

agreement be in writing, unless stated in this chapter. The local 

educational agency and parent should document their 

agreement. 

"Controlled substance" means a drug or other substance 

identified under Schedule I, II, III, IV, or V in § 202(c) of the 

Controlled Substances Act, 21 USC § 812(c). (34 CFR 

300.530(i)(1)) 

"Core academic subjects" means English, reading or language 

arts, mathematics, science, foreign languages, civics and 

government, economics, arts, history, and geography. (34 CFR 

300.10) 

"Correctional facility" means any state facility of the Virginia 

Department of Corrections or the Virginia Department of 

Juvenile Justice, any regional or local detention home, or any 

regional or local jail. (§§ 16.1-228 and 53.1-1 of the Code of 

Virginia) 

"Coteaching" means a service delivery option with two or 

more professionals sharing responsibility for a group of 

students for some or all of the school day in order to combine 

their expertise to meet student needs. 

"Counseling services" means services provided by qualified 

visiting teachers, social workers, psychologists, guidance 

counselors, or other qualified personnel. (34 CFR 

300.34(c)(2); Licensure Regulations for School Personnel 

(8VAC20-22)) 

"Dangerous weapon" means a weapon, device, instrument, 

material, or substance, animate or inanimate, that is used for or 

is readily capable of causing death or bodily injury, except that 

such term does not include a pocket knife with a blade less than 

three inches in length. (18 USC § 930(g)(2); § 18.2-308.1 of 

the Code of Virginia) 

"Day" means calendar day unless otherwise indicated as 

business day or school day. (34 CFR 300.11) 

"Deaf-blindness" means simultaneous hearing and visual 

impairments, the combination of which causes such severe 

communication and other developmental and educational 

needs that they cannot be accommodated in special education 

programs solely for children with deafness or children with 

blindness. (34 CFR 300.8(c)(2)) 

"Deafness" means a hearing impairment that is so severe that 

the child is impaired in processing linguistic information 

through hearing, with or without amplification, that adversely 

affects the child's educational performance. (34 CFR 

300.8(c)(3)) 

"Destruction of information" means physical destruction or 

removal of personal identifiers from information so that the 

information is no longer personally identifiable. (34 CFR 

300.611(a)) 

"Developmental delay" means a disability affecting a child 

two years of age by September 30 through six years of age, 

inclusive: (34 CFR 300.8(b); 34 CFR 300.306(b)) 

1. Who (i) is experiencing developmental delays, as 

measured by appropriate diagnostic instruments and 

procedures, in one or more of the following areas: physical 

development, cognitive development, communication 

development, social or emotional development, or adaptive 

development or (ii) has an established physical or mental 

condition that has a high probability of resulting in 

developmental delay; 

2. The delay is not primarily a result of cultural factors, 

environmental or economic disadvantage, or limited English 

proficiency; and 

3. The presence of one or more documented characteristics 

of the delay has an adverse effect on educational 

performance and makes it necessary for the student to have 

specially designed instruction to access and make progress 

in the general educational activities for this age group. 

"Direct services" means services provided to a child with a 

disability directly by the Virginia Department of Education, by 

contract, or through other arrangements. (34 CFR 300.175) 

"Due process hearing" means an administrative procedure 

conducted by an impartial special education hearing officer to 

resolve disagreements regarding the identification, evaluation, 

educational placement and services, and the provision of a free 

appropriate public education that arise between a parent and a 

public agency. A due process hearing involves the appointment 

of an impartial special education hearing officer who conducts 

the hearing, reviews evidence, and determines what is 

educationally appropriate for the child with a disability. (34 

CFR 300.507) 

"Early identification and assessment of disabilities in 

children" means the implementation of a formal plan for 

identifying a disability as early as possible in a child's life. (34 

CFR 300.34(c)(3)) 

"Education record" means those records that are directly related 

to a student and maintained by an educational agency or institution 

or by a party acting for the agency or institution. The term has the 

same meaning as "scholastic record." In addition to written 

records, "education record" includes electronic exchanges 

between school personnel and parent regarding matters associated 

with the child's educational program (e.g., scheduling of meetings 

or notices). This term also includes the type of records covered 

under the definition of "education record" in the regulations 

implementing the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act. (20 

USC § 1232g(a)(3); § 22.1-289 of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 

300.611(b)) 
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"Educational placement" means the overall instructional 

setting in which the student receives education, including the 

special education and related services provided. Each local 

educational agency shall ensure that the parents of a child with 

a disability are members of the group that makes decisions on 

the educational placement of their child. (34 CFR 300.327) 

"Educational service agencies and other public institutions or 

agencies" include: (34 CFR 300.12) 

1. Regional public multiservice agencies authorized by state 

law to develop, manage, and provide services or programs 

to local educational agencies; 

2. An agency recognized as an administrative agency for 

purposes of the provision of special education and related 

services provided within public elementary schools and 

secondary schools of the state; 

3. Any other public institution or agency having 

administrative control and direction over a public 

elementary school or secondary school; and 

4. Entities that meet the definition of intermediate 

educational unit in § 1402(23) of the Act as in effect prior to 

June 4, 1997. 

"Eligible student" means a child with a disability who reaches 

the age of majority and to whom the procedural safeguards and 

other rights afforded to the parent are transferred. 

"Emotional disability" means a condition exhibiting one or 

more of the following characteristics over a long period of time 

and to a marked degree that adversely affects a child's 

educational performance: (34 CFR 300.8(c)(4)) 

1. An inability to learn that cannot be explained by 

intellectual, sensory, or health factors; 

2. An inability to build or maintain satisfactory interpersonal 

relationships with peers and teachers; 

3. Inappropriate types of behavior or feelings under normal 

circumstances; 

4. A general pervasive mood of unhappiness or depression; 

or 

5. A tendency to develop physical symptoms or fears 

associated with personal or school problems. 

Emotional disability includes schizophrenia. The term does 

not apply to children who are socially maladjusted, unless it is 

determined that they have an emotional disability as defined in 

this section. 

"Equipment" means machinery, utilities, and built-in 

equipment and any necessary enclosures or structures to house 

machinery, utilities, or equipment and all other items necessary 

for the functioning of a particular facility as a facility for the 

provision of educational services, including items such as 

instructional equipment and necessary furniture; printed, 

published, and audio-visual instructional materials; 

telecommunications, sensory, and other technological aids and 

devices; and books, periodicals, documents, and other related 

materials. (34 CFR 300.14) 

"Evaluation" means procedures used in accordance with this 

chapter to determine whether a child has a disability and the 

nature and extent of the special education and related services 

that the child needs. (34 CFR 300.15) 

"Excess costs" means those costs that are in excess of the 

average annual per-student expenditure in a local educational 

agency during the preceding school year for an elementary 

school or secondary school student, as may be appropriate, and 

that shall be computed after deducting: (34 CFR 300.16) 

1. Amounts received: 

a. Under Part B of the Act; 

b. Under Part A of Title I of the ESEA; and 

c. Under Parts A and B of Title III of the ESEA; and 

2. Any state or local funds expended for programs that would 

qualify for assistance under any of the parts described in 

subdivision 1 a of this definition, but excluding any amounts 

for capital outlay or debt service. 

"Extended school year services" for the purposes of this 

chapter means special education and related services that: (34 

CFR 300.106(b)) 

1. Are provided to a child with a disability: 

a. Beyond the normal school year of the local educational 

agency; 

b. In accordance with the child's individualized education 

program; 

c. At no cost to the parent of the child; and 

2. Meet the standards established by the Virginia 

Department of Education. 

"Federal core academic subjects" means English, reading or 

language arts, mathematics, science, foreign language 

(languages other than English), civics and government, 

economics, arts, history, and geography. (20 USC § 7801(11)) 

"Federal financial assistance" means any grant, loan, contract, 

or any other arrangement by which the U.S. Department of 

Education provides or otherwise makes available assistance in 

the form of funds, services of federal personnel, or real and 

personal property. (34 CFR 104.3(h)) 

"Free appropriate public education" or "FAPE" means special 

education and related services that: (34 CFR 300.17) 

1. Are provided at public expense, under public supervision 

and direction, and without charge; 

2. Meet the standards of the Virginia Board of Education; 
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3. Include an appropriate preschool, elementary school, 

middle school, or secondary school education in Virginia; 

and 

4. Are provided in conformity with an individualized 

education program that meets the requirements of this 

chapter. 

"Functional behavioral assessment" means a process to 

determine the underlying cause or functions of a child's 

behavior that impede the learning of the child with a disability 

or the learning of the child's peers. A functional behavioral 

assessment may include a review of existing data or new 

testing data or evaluation as determined by the IEP team. 

"General curriculum" means the same curriculum used with 

children without disabilities adopted by a local educational 

agency, schools within the local educational agency or, where 

applicable, the Virginia Department of Education for all 

children from preschool through secondary school. The term 

relates to content of the curriculum and not to the setting in 

which it is taught. 

"Hearing impairment" means an impairment in hearing in one 

or both ears, with or without amplification, whether permanent 

or fluctuating, that adversely affects a child's educational 

performance but that is not included under the definition of 

deafness in this section. (34 CFR 300.8(c)(5)) 

"Highly qualified special education teacher" means a teacher 

has met the requirements as specified in 34 CFR 300.18 for 

special education teachers in general, for special education 

teachers teaching core academic subjects, for special education 

teachers teaching to alternate achievement standards, or for 

special education teachers teaching multiple subjects as it 

applies to their teaching assignment. (34 CFR 300.18) 

"Home-based instruction" means services that are delivered 

in the home setting (or other agreed upon setting) in 

accordance with the child's individualized education program. 

"Homebound instruction" means academic instruction 

provided to students who are confined at home or in a health 

care facility for periods that would prevent normal school 

attendance based upon certification of need by a licensed 

physician or licensed clinical psychologist. For a child with a 

disability, the IEP team shall determine the delivery of 

services, including the number of hours of services. 

(Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public 

Schools in Virginia, 8VAC20-131-180) (Virginia Standards of 

Accreditation, 8VAC20-132-170) 

"Home instruction" means instruction of a child by a parent, 

guardian, or other person having control or charge of such child 

as an alternative to attendance in a public or private school in 

accordance with the provisions of the Code of Virginia. This 

instruction may also be termed home schooling. (§ 22.1-254.1 

of the Code of Virginia) 

"Homeless children" has the meaning given the term 

"homeless children and youth" in § 725 (42 USC § 11434a) of 

the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, as amended, 

42 USC § 11431 et seq. and listed below: (34 CFR 300.19) 

The term "homeless children and youth" means individuals 

who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence 

within the meaning of § 103(a)(1) of the McKinney-Vento 

Homeless Assistance Act and includes the following: 

1. Children and youth who are sharing the housing of other 

persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a 

similar reason; are living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or 

camping grounds due to a lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations; are living in emergency or transitional 

shelters; are abandoned in hospitals; or are awaiting foster 

care placement; 

2. Children and youth who have a primary nighttime 

residence that is a public or private place not designed for or 

ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for 

human beings within the meaning of § 103(a)(2)(C); 

3. Children and youth who are living in cars, parks, public 

spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, bus or 

train stations, or similar settings; and 

4. Migratory children (as such term is defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965) who 

qualify as homeless because the children are living in 

circumstances described in subdivisions 1 through 3 of this 

definition. 

The term "unaccompanied youth" includes a youth not in the 

physical custody of a parent or guardian. 

"Home tutoring" means instruction by a tutor or teacher with 

qualifications prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education, 

as an alternative to attendance in a public or private school and 

approved by the division superintendent in accordance with the 

provisions of the Code of Virginia. This tutoring is not home 

instruction as defined in the Code of Virginia. (§ 22.1-254 of 

the Code of Virginia) 

"Illegal drug" means a controlled substance, but does not 

include a controlled substance that is legally possessed or used 

under the supervision of a licensed health-care professional or 

that is legally possessed or used under any other authority 

under the Controlled Substances Act, 21 USC § 812(c), or 

under any other provision of federal law. (34 CFR 

300.530(i)(2)) 

"Impartial special education hearing officer" means a person 

selected from a list maintained by the Office of the Executive 

Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia to conduct a due 

process hearing. 

"Implementation plan" means the plan developed by the local 

educational agency designed to operationalize the decision of 

the hearing officer in cases that are fully adjudicated. 
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"Independent educational evaluation" means an evaluation 

conducted by a qualified examiner who is not employed by the 

local educational agency responsible for the education of the 

child in question. (34 CFR 300.502(a)(3)(i)) 

"Individualized education program" or "IEP" means a written 

statement for a child with a disability that is developed, 

reviewed, and revised in a team meeting in accordance with 

this chapter. The IEP specifies the individual educational needs 

of the child and what special education and related services are 

necessary to meet the child's educational needs. (34 CFR 

300.22) 

"Individualized education program team" means a group of 

individuals described in 8VAC20-81-110 that is responsible 

for developing, reviewing, or revising an IEP for a child with 

a disability. (34 CFR 300.23) 

"Individualized family service plan (IFSP) under Part C of the 

Act" means a written plan for providing early intervention 

services to an infant or toddler with a disability eligible under 

Part C and to the child's family. (34 CFR 303.24; 20 USC 

§ 636) 

"Infant and toddler with a disability" means a child from birth 

to two years of age, inclusive, whose birthday falls on or before 

September 30, or who is eligible to receive services in the Part 

C early intervention system up to three years of age, and who: 

(§ 2.2-5300 of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.25) 

1. Has delayed functioning; 

2. Manifests atypical development or behavior; 

3. Has behavioral disorders that interfere with acquisition of 

developmental skills; or 

4. Has a diagnosed physical or mental condition that has a 

high probability of resulting in delay, even though no current 

delay exists. 

"Informed parental consent" See the definition of "consent." 

"Initial placement" means the first placement for the child to 

receive special education and related services in either a local 

educational agency, other educational service agency, or other 

public agency or institution for the purpose of providing 

special education or related services. 

"Intellectual disability" means the definition formerly known 

as "mental retardation" and means significantly subaverage 

general intellectual functioning, existing concurrently with 

deficits in adaptive behavior and manifested during the 

developmental period that adversely affects a child's 

educational performance. (34 CFR 300.8(c)(6)) 

"Interpreting services" as used with respect to children who 

are deaf or hard of hearing, means services provided by 

personnel who meet the qualifications set forth under 

8VAC20-81-40 and includes oral transliteration services, cued 

speech/language transliteration services, sign language 

transliteration and interpreting services, and transcription 

services, such as communication access real-time translation 

(CART), C-Print, and TypeWell and interpreting services for 

children who are deaf-blind. A child who is not deaf or hard of 

hearing, but who has language deficits, may receive 

interpreting services as directed by the child's individualized 

education program. (Regulations Governing Interpreter 

Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 22VAC20-30; 34 

CFR 300.34(c)(4)(i)) 

"Least restrictive environment" or "LRE" means that to the 

maximum extent appropriate, children with disabilities, 

including children in public or private institutions or other care 

facilities, are educated with children who are not disabled, and 

that special classes, separate schooling, or other removal of 

children with disabilities from the regular educational 

environment occurs only when the nature or severity of the 

disability is such that education in regular classes with the use 

of supplementary aids and services cannot be achieved 

satisfactorily. (34 CFR 300.114 through 34 CFR 300.120) 

"Level I services" means the provision of special education to 

children with disabilities for less than 50% of the instructional 

school day (excluding intermission for meals). The time that a 

child receives special education services is calculated on the 

basis of special education services described in the 

individualized education program, rather than the location of 

services. 

"Level II services" means the provision of special education 

to children with disabilities for 50% or more of the 

instructional school day (excluding intermission for meals). 

The time that a child receives special education services is 

calculated on the basis of special education services described 

in the individualized education program, rather than the 

location of services. 

"Limited English proficient" when used with respect to an 

individual means an individual: (20 USC § 7801(25); 34 CFR 

300.27) 

1. Who is two through 21 years of age; 

2. Who is enrolled or preparing to enroll in an elementary 

school or secondary school; or 

3. Who: 

a. Was not born in the United States or whose native 

language is a language other than English; 

b. Is a Native American or Alaska Native, or a native 

resident of the outlying areas, and comes from an 

environment where a language other than English has had 

a significant impact on the individual's level of English 

language proficiency; or 

c. Is migratory, whose native language is a language other 

than English, and who comes from an environment where 

a language other than English is dominant; and 
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4. Whose difficulties in speaking, reading, writing, or 

understanding the English language may be sufficient to 

deny the individual: 

a. The ability to meet Virginia's proficient level of 

achievement on Virginia's assessments; 

b. The ability to successfully achieve in classrooms where 

the language of instruction is English; or 

c. The opportunity to participate fully in society. 

"Local educational agency" means a local school division 

governed by a local school board, a state-operated program that 

is funded and administered by the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

or the Virginia School for the Deaf and the Blind at Staunton. 

Neither state-operated programs nor the Virginia School for 

the Deaf and the Blind at Staunton are considered a school 

division as that term is used in these regulations. (§ 22.1-346 

C of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.28) 

"Long-term placement" if used in reference to state-operated 

programs as outlined in 8VAC20-81-30 H means those 

hospital placements that are not expected to change in status or 

condition because of the child's medical needs. 

"Manifestation determination review" means a process to 

review all relevant information and the relationship between 

the child's disability and the behavior subject to the 

disciplinary action. 

"Medical services" means services provided by a licensed 

physician or nurse practitioner to determine a child's medically 

related disability that results in the child's need for special 

education and related services. (§ 22.1-270 of the Code of 

Virginia; 34 CFR 300.34(c)(5)) 

"Mental retardation" See the definition of "intellectual 

disability." 

"Multiple disabilities" means simultaneous impairments 

(such as intellectual disability with blindness, intellectual 

disability with orthopedic impairment), the combination of 

which causes such severe educational needs that they cannot 

be accommodated in special education programs solely for one 

of the impairments. The term does not include deaf-blindness. 

(34 CFR 300.8(c)(7)) 

"National Instructional Materials Access Center" or 

"NIMAC" means the national center established to do the 

following: (34 CFR 300.172) 

1. Receive and maintain a catalog of print instructional 

materials prepared in the NIMAS, as established by the U.S. 

Secretary of Education, made available to such center by the 

textbook publishing industry, state educational agencies, and 

local educational agencies; 

2. Provide access to print instructional materials, including 

textbooks, in accessible media, free of charge, to blind or 

other persons with print disabilities in elementary schools 

and secondary schools, in accordance with such terms and 

procedures as the NIMAC may prescribe; and 

3. Develop, adopt, and publish procedures to protect against 

copyright infringement, with respect to print instructional 

materials provided in accordance with the Act. 

"National Instructional Materials Accessibility Standard" or 

"NIMAS" means the standard established by the U.S. 

Secretary of Education to be used in the preparation of 

electronic files suitable and used solely for efficient conversion 

of print instructional materials into specialized formats. (34 

CFR 300.172) 

"Native language" if used with reference to an individual of 

limited English proficiency, means the language normally used 

by that individual, or, in the case of a child, the language 

normally used by the parent of the child, except in all direct 

contact with a child (including evaluation of the child), the 

language normally used by the child in the home or learning 

environment. For an individual with deafness or blindness, or 

for an individual with no written language, the mode of 

communication is that normally used by the individual (such 

as sign language, Braille, or oral communication). (34 CFR 

300.29) 

"Nonacademic services and extracurricular services" may 

include counseling services, athletics, transportation, health 

services, recreational activities, special interest groups or clubs 

sponsored by the local educational agency, referrals to 

agencies that provide assistance to individuals with disabilities, 

and employment of students, including both employment by 

the local educational agency and assistance in making outside 

employment available. (34 CFR 300.107(b)) 

"Notice" means written statements in English or in the 

primary language of the home of the parent, or, if the language 

or other mode of communication of the parent is not a written 

language, oral communication in the primary language of the 

home of the parent. If an individual is deaf or blind, or has no 

written language, the mode of communication would be that 

normally used by the individual (such as sign language, Braille, 

or oral communication). (34 CFR 300.503(c)) 

"Occupational therapy" means services provided by a 

qualified occupational therapist or services provided under the 

direction or supervision of a qualified occupational therapist 

and includes: (Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Occupational Therapists (18VAC85-80-10 et seq.); 34 CFR 

300.34(c)(6)) 

1. Improving, developing, or restoring functions impaired or 

lost through illness, injury, or deprivation; 

2. Improving ability to perform tasks for independent 

functioning if functions are impaired or lost; and 

3. Preventing through early intervention initial or further 

impairment or loss of function. 
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"Orientation and mobility services" means services provided 

to blind or visually impaired children by qualified personnel to 

enable those children to attain systematic orientation to and 

safe movement within their environments in school, home, and 

community; and includes travel training instruction, and 

teaching children the following, as appropriate: (34 CFR 

300.34(c)(7)) 

1. Spatial and environmental concepts and use of 

information received by the senses (e.g., sound, temperature, 

and vibrations) to establish, maintain, or regain orientation 

and line of travel (e.g., using sound at a traffic light to cross 

the street); 

2. To use the long cane or service animal to supplement 

visual travel skills or as a tool for safely negotiating the 

environment for students with no available travel vision; 

3. To understand and use remaining vision and distance low 

vision aids; and 

4. Other concepts, techniques, and tools. 

"Orthopedic impairment" means a severe orthopedic 

impairment that adversely affects a child's educational 

performance. The term includes impairments caused by 

congenital anomaly, impairments caused by disease (e.g., 

poliomyelitis and bone tuberculosis), and impairments from 

other causes (e.g., cerebral palsy, amputations, and fractures or 

burns that cause contractures). (34 CFR 300.8(c)(8)) 

"Other health impairment" means having limited strength, 

vitality, or alertness, including a heightened alertness to 

environmental stimuli, that results in limited alertness with 

respect to the educational environment, that is due to chronic 

or acute health problems such as asthma, attention deficit 

disorder or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, diabetes, 

epilepsy, a heart condition, hemophilia, lead poisoning, 

leukemia, nephritis, rheumatic fever, and sickle cell anemia 

and Tourette syndrome that adversely affects a child's 

educational performance. (34 CFR 300.8(c)(9)) 

"Paraprofessional," also known as paraeducator, means an 

appropriately trained employee who assists and is supervised 

by qualified professional staff in meeting the requirements of 

this chapter. (34 CFR 300.156(b)(2)(iii)) 

"Parent" means: (§ 20-124.6 and § 22.1-213.1 of the Code of 

Virginia; 34 CFR 99.4 and 34 CFR 300.30) 

1. Persons who meet the definition of "parent": 

a. A biological or adoptive parent of a child; 

b. A foster parent, even if the biological or adoptive 

parent's rights have not been terminated, but subject to 

subdivision 8 of this definition; 

c. A guardian generally authorized to act as the child's 

parent, or authorized to make educational decisions for the 

child (but not a guardian ad litem, or the state if the child 

is a ward of the state); 

d. An individual acting in the place of a biological or 

adoptive parent (including a grandparent, stepparent, or 

other relative) with whom the child lives, or an individual 

who is legally responsible for the child's welfare; 

e. If no party qualified under subdivisions 1 a through 1 d 

of this definition can be identified, or those parties are 

unwilling to act as parent, a surrogate parent who has been 

appointed in accordance with requirements detailed under 

8VAC20-81-220; or 

f. A minor who is emancipated under § 16.1-333 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. If a judicial decree or order identifies a specific person 

under subdivisions 1 a through 1 e of this subsection to act 

as the "parent" of a child or to make educational decisions 

on behalf of a child, then such person shall be determined to 

be the "parent" for purposes of this definition. 

3. "Parent" does not include local or state agencies or their 

agents, including local departments of social services, even 

if the child is in the custody of such an agency. 

4. The biological or adoptive parent, when attempting to act 

as the parent under this chapter and when more than one 

party is qualified under this section to act as a parent, shall 

be presumed to be the parent for purposes of this section 

unless the biological or adoptive parent's authority to make 

educational decisions on the child's behalf has been 

extinguished pursuant to § 16.1-277.01, 16.1-277.02, or 

16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia or a comparable law in 

another state. 

5. Noncustodial parents whose parental rights have not been 

terminated are entitled to all parent rights and 

responsibilities available under this chapter, including 

access to their child's records. 

6. Custodial stepparents have the right to access the child's 

record. Noncustodial stepparents do not have the right to 

access the child's record. 

7. A validly married minor who has not pursued 

emancipation under § 16.1-333 of the Code of Virginia may 

assert implied emancipation based on the minor's marriage 

record and, thus, assumes responsibilities of "parent" under 

this chapter. 

8. The local educational agency shall provide written notice 

to the biological or adoptive parents at their last known 

address that a foster parent is acting as the parent under this 

section, and the local educational agency is entitled to rely 

upon the actions of the foster parent under this section until 

such time that the biological or adoptive parent attempts to 

act as the parent. 

"Parent counseling and training" means assisting parents in 

understanding the special needs of their child, providing 

parents with information about child development, and helping 

parents to acquire the necessary skills that will allow them to 
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support the implementation of their child's IEP or IFSP. (34 

CFR 300.34(c)(8)) 

"Participating agency" means a state or local agency 

(including a Comprehensive Services Act team), other than the 

local educational agency responsible for a student's education, 

that is financially and legally responsible for providing 

transition services to the student. The term also means any 

agency or institution that collects, maintains, or uses personally 

identifiable information, or from which information is obtained 

under Part B of the Act. (34 CFR 300.611(c), 34 CFR 

300.324(c) and 34 CFR 300.321(b)(3)) 

"Personally identifiable" means information that contains the 

following: (34 CFR 300.32) 

1. The name of the child, the child's parent, or other family 

member; 

2. The address of the child; 

3. A personal identifier, such as the child's social security 

number or student number; or 

4. A list of personal characteristics or other information that 

would make it possible to identify the child with reasonable 

certainty. 

"Physical education" means the development of: (34 CFR 

300.39(b)(2)) 

1. Physical and motor fitness; 

2. Fundamental motor skills and patterns; and 

3. Skills in aquatics, dance, and individual and group games 

and sports (including intramural and lifetime sports). The 

term includes special physical education, adapted physical 

education, movement education, and motor development. 

"Physical therapy" means services provided by a qualified 

physical therapist or under the direction or supervision of a 

qualified physical therapist upon medical referral and 

direction. (Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical 

Therapy, 18VAC112-20; 34 CFR 300.34(c)(9)) 

"Private school children with disabilities" means children 

with disabilities enrolled by their parent in private, including 

religious, schools or facilities that meet the definition of 

elementary school or secondary school as defined in this 

section other than children with disabilities who are placed in 

a private school by a local school division or a Comprehensive 

Services Act team in accordance with 8VAC20-81-150. (34 

CFR 300.130) 

"Program" means the special education and related services, 

including accommodations, modifications, supplementary 

aids, and services, as determined by a child's individualized 

education program. 

"Psychological services" means those services provided by a 

qualified psychologist or under the direction or supervision of 

a qualified psychologist, including: (34 CFR 300.34(c)(10)) 

1. Administering psychological and educational tests and 

other assessment procedures; 

2. Interpreting assessment results; 

3. Obtaining, integrating, and interpreting information about 

child behavior and conditions relating to learning; 

4. Consulting with other staff members in planning school 

programs to meet the special needs of children as indicated 

by psychological tests, interviews, direct observation, and 

behavioral evaluations; 

5. Planning and managing a program of psychological 

services, including psychological counseling for children 

and parents; and 

6. Assisting in developing positive behavioral intervention 

strategies. 

"Public agency" means the state educational agency, a local 

educational agency, an educational service agency or other 

public institution, or nonprofit public charter schools that are 

not otherwise included as a local educational agency or an 

educational service agency or other public institution and any 

other political subdivision of the Commonwealth that is 

responsible for providing education to children with 

disabilities. 

"Public expense" means that the local educational agency 

either pays for the full cost of the service or evaluation or 

ensures that the service or evaluation is otherwise provided at 

no cost to the parent. (34 CFR 300.502(a)(3)(ii)) 

"Public notice" means the process by which certain 

information is made available to the general public. Public 

notice procedures may include newspaper advertisements, 

radio announcements, television features and announcements, 

handbills, brochures, electronic means, and other methods that 

are likely to succeed in providing information to the public. 

"Qualified person who has a disability" means a "qualified 

handicapped person" as defined in the federal regulations 

implementing the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended. (29 

USC § 701 et seq.) 

"Recreation" includes: (34 CFR 30.34(c)(11)) 

1. Assessment of leisure function; 

2. Therapeutic recreation services; 

3. Recreation program in schools and community agencies; 

and 

4. Leisure education. 

"Reevaluation" means completion of a new evaluation in 

accordance with this chapter. (34 CFR 300.303) 
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"Rehabilitation counseling services" means services provided 

by qualified personnel in individual or group sessions that 

focus specifically on career development, employment 

preparation, achieving independence, and integration in the 

workplace and community of a student with a disability. The 

term also includes vocational rehabilitation services provided 

to students with disabilities by vocational rehabilitation 

programs funded under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 

USC § 701 et seq.), as amended. (34 CFR 300.34(c)(12)) 

"Related services" means transportation and such 

developmental, corrective, and other supportive services as are 

required to assist a child with a disability to benefit from 

special education and includes speech-language pathology and 

audiology services; interpreting services; psychological 

services; physical and occupational therapy; recreation, 

including therapeutic recreation; early identification and 

assessment of disabilities in children; counseling services, 

including rehabilitation counseling; orientation and mobility 

services; and medical services for diagnostic or evaluation 

purposes. Related services also includes school health services 

and school nurse services; social work services in schools; and 

parent counseling and training. Related services do not include 

a medical device that is surgically implanted, including 

cochlear implants, the optimization of device functioning (e.g., 

mapping), maintenance of the device, or the replacement of 

that device. The list of related services is not exhaustive and 

may include other developmental, corrective, or supportive 

services (such as artistic and cultural programs and art, music, 

and dance therapy), if they are required to assist a child with a 

disability to benefit from special education. (§ 22.1-213 of the 

Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.34(a) and (b)) 

Nothing in this section: 

1. Limits the right of a child with a surgically implanted 

device (e.g., cochlear implant) to receive related services 

that are determined by the IEP team to be necessary for the 

child to receive FAPE; 

2. Limits the responsibility of a public agency to 

appropriately monitor and maintain medical devices that are 

needed to maintain the health and safety of the child, 

including breathing, nutrition, or operation of other bodily 

functions, while the child is transported to and from school 

or is at school; or 

3. Prevents the routine checking of an external component 

of a surgically implanted device to make sure it is 

functioning properly. 

"School day" means any day, including a partial day, that 

children are in attendance at school for instructional purposes. 

The term has the same meaning for all children in school, 

including children with and without disabilities. (34 CFR 

300.11) 

"School health services and school nurse services" means 

health services that are designed to enable a child with a 

disability to receive FAPE as described in the child's IEP. 

School nurse services are services provided by a qualified 

school nurse. School health services are services that may be 

provided by either a qualified school nurse or other qualified 

person. (Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.34(c)(13)) 

"Scientifically based research" means research that involves 

the application of rigorous, systematic, and objective 

procedures to obtain reliable and valid knowledge relevant to 

education activities and programs and includes research that: 

(20 USC § 9501(18); 34 CFR 300.35) 

1. Employs systematic, empirical methods that draw on 

observation or experiment; 

2. Involves rigorous data analyses that are adequate to test 

the stated hypotheses and justify the general conclusions 

drawn; 

3. Relies on measurements or observational methods that 

provide reliable and valid data across evaluators and 

observers, across multiple measurements and observations, 

and across studies by the same or different investigators; 

4. Is evaluated using experimental or quasi-experimental 

designs in which individuals, entities, programs, or activities 

are assigned to different conditions and with appropriate 

controls to evaluate the effects of the condition of interest, 

with a preference for random-assignment experiments, or 

other designs to the extent that those designs contain within-

condition or across-condition controls; 

5. Ensures that experimental studies are presented in 

sufficient detail and clarity to allow for replication or, at a 

minimum, offer the opportunity to build systematically on 

their findings; and 

6. Has been accepted by a peer-reviewed journal or approved 

by a panel of independent experts through a comparably 

rigorous, objective, and scientific review. 

"Screening" means those processes that are used routinely 

with all children to identify previously unrecognized needs and 

that may result in a referral for special education and related 

services or other referral or intervention. 

"Section 504" means that section of the Rehabilitation Act of 

1973, as amended, which is designed to eliminate 

discrimination on the basis of disability in any program or 

activity receiving federal financial assistance. (29 USC § 701 

et seq.) 

"Serious bodily injury" means bodily injury that involves 

substantial risk of death, extreme physical pain, protracted and 

obvious disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the 

function of a bodily member, organ, or mental faculty. (18 

USC § 1365(h)(3); 34 CFR 300.530(i)(3)) 

"Services plan" means a written statement that describes the 

special education and related services the local educational 
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agency will provide to a parentally placed child with a 

disability enrolled in a private school who has been designated 

to receive services, including the location of the services and 

any transportation necessary, and is developed and 

implemented in accordance with 8VAC20-81-150. (34 CFR 

300.37) 

"Short-term objectives" means measurable intermediate steps 

that enable an IEP team to monitor a student's progress toward 

achieving the annual goals. 

"Social work services in schools" means those services 

provided by a school social worker or qualified visiting 

teacher, including: (Licensure Regulations for School 

Personnel, 8VAC20-22-660); 34 CFR 300.34(c)(14)) 

1. Preparing a social or developmental history on a child 

with a disability; 

2. Group and individual counseling with the child and 

family; 

3. Working in partnership with parents and others on those 

problems in a child's living situation (home, school, and 

community) that affect the child's adjustment in school; 

4. Mobilizing school and community resources to enable the 

child to learn as effectively as possible in the child's 

educational program; and 

5. Assisting in developing positive behavioral intervention 

strategies for the child. 

A local educational agency, in its discretion, may expand the 

role of a school social worker or visiting teacher beyond those 

services identified in this definition, as long as the expansion 

is consistent with other state laws and regulations, including 

licensure. 

"Special education" means specially designed instruction, at 

no cost to the parent, to meet the unique needs of a child with 

a disability, including instruction conducted in a classroom, in 

the home, in hospitals, in institutions, and in other settings, and 

instruction in physical education. The term includes each of the 

following if it meets the requirements of the definition of 

special education: (§ 22.1-213 of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 

300.39) 

1. Speech-language pathology services or any other related 

service, if the service is considered special education rather 

than a related service under state standards; 

2. Vocational education; and 

3. Travel training. 

"Special education hearing officer" has the same meaning as 

the term "impartial hearing officer" as that term is used in the 

Act and its federal implementing regulations. 

"Specially designed instruction" means adapting, as 

appropriate to the needs of an eligible child under this chapter, 

the content, methodology, or delivery of instruction: (34 CFR 

300.39(b)(3)) 

1. To address the unique needs of the child that result from 

the child's disability; and 

2. To ensure access of the child to the general curriculum so 

that the child can meet the educational standards that apply 

to all children within the jurisdiction of the local educational 

agency. 

"Specific learning disability" means a disorder in one or more 

of the basic psychological processes involved in understanding 

or in using language, spoken or written, that may manifest 

itself in the imperfect ability to listen, think, speak, read, write, 

spell, or to do mathematical calculations, including conditions 

such as perceptual disabilities, brain injury, minimal brain 

dysfunction, dyslexia, and developmental aphasia. 

Specific learning disability does not include learning 

problems that are primarily the result of visual, hearing, or 

motor disabilities; of intellectual disabilities; of emotional 

disabilities; or of environmental, cultural, or economic 

disadvantage. (§ 22.1-213 of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 

300.8(c)(10)) 

Dyslexia is distinguished from other learning disabilities due 

to its weakness occurring at the phonological level. Dyslexia is 

a specific learning disability that is neurobiological in origin. 

It is characterized by difficulties with accurate or fluent word 

recognition and by poor spelling and decoding abilities. These 

difficulties typically result from a deficit in the phonological 

component of language that is often unexpected in relation to 

other cognitive abilities and the provision of effective 

classroom instruction. Secondary consequences may include 

problems in reading comprehension and reduced reading 

experience that can impede growth of vocabulary and 

background knowledge. 

"Speech or language impairment" means a communication 

disorder, such as stuttering, impaired articulation, expressive 

or receptive language impairment, or voice impairment that 

adversely affects a child's educational performance. (34 CFR 

300.8(c)(11)) 

"Speech-language pathology services" means the following: 

(34 CFR 300.34(c)(15)) 

1. Identification of children with speech or language 

impairments; 

2. Diagnosis and appraisal of specific speech or language 

impairments; 

3. Referral for medical or other professional attention 

necessary for the habilitation of speech or language 

impairments; 

4. Provision of speech and language services for the 

habilitation or prevention of communicative impairments; 

and 
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5. Counseling and guidance of parents, children, and 

teachers regarding speech and language impairments. 

"State assessment program" means the state assessment 

program in Virginia under the Act that is the component of the 

state assessment system used for accountability. 

"State educational agency" means the Virginia Department of 

Education. (34 CFR 300.41) 

"State-operated programs" means programs that provide 

educational services to children and youth who reside in 

facilities according to the admissions policies and procedures 

of those facilities that are the responsibility of state boards, 

agencies, or institutions. (§§ 22.1-7, 22.1-340 and 22.1-345 of 

the Code of Virginia) 

"Supplementary aids and services" means aids, services, and 

other supports that are provided in general education classes or 

other education-related settings to enable children with 

disabilities to be educated with children without disabilities to 

the maximum extent appropriate in accordance with this 

chapter. (34 CFR 300.42) 

"Surrogate parent" means a person appointed in accordance 

with procedures set forth in this chapter to ensure that children 

are afforded the protection of procedural safeguards and the 

provision of a free appropriate public education. (34 CFR 

300.519) 

"Timely manner" if used with reference to the requirement for 

National Instructional Materials Accessibility Standard, means 

that the local educational agency shall take all reasonable steps 

to provide instructional materials in accessible formats to 

children with disabilities who need those instructional 

materials at the same time as other children receive 

instructional materials. (34 CFR 300.172(b)(4)) 

"Transition from Part C (Early Intervention Program for 

Infants and Toddlers with Disabilities) services" means the 

steps identified in the Individualized Family Services Plan 

(IFSP) to be taken to support the transition of the child to: (34 

CFR 300.124) 

1. Early childhood special education to the extent that those 

services are appropriate; or 

2. Other services that may be available, if appropriate. 

"Transition services" if used with reference to secondary 

transition means a coordinated set of activities for a student 

with a disability that is designed within a results-oriented 

process that: (34 CFR 300.43) 

1. Is focused on improving the academic and functional 

achievement of the child with a disability to facilitate the 

child's movement from school to post-school activities, 

including postsecondary education, vocational education, 

integrated employment (including supported employment), 

continuing and adult education, adult services, independent 

living, or community participation. 

2. Is based on the individual child's needs, taking into 

account the child's strengths, preferences, and interests and 

includes instruction, related services, community 

experiences, the development of employment and other 

post-school adult living objectives, and, if appropriate, 

acquisition of daily living skills and functional vocational 

evaluation. 

Transition services for students with disabilities may be 

special education if provided as specially designed instruction 

or related services if they are required to assist a student with 

a disability to benefit from special education. 

"Transportation" includes: (34 CFR 300.34(c)(16)) 

1. Travel to and from school and between schools; 

2. Travel in and around school buildings; and 

3. Specialized equipment (such as special or adapted buses, 

lifts, and ramps) if required to provide special transportation 

for a child with a disability. 

"Traumatic brain injury" means an acquired injury to the 

brain caused by an external physical force or by other medical 

conditions, including stroke, anoxia, infectious disease, 

aneurysm, brain tumors, and neurological insults resulting 

from medical or surgical treatments, resulting in total or partial 

functional disability or psychosocial impairment, or both, that 

adversely affects a child's educational performance. Traumatic 

brain injury applies to open or closed head injuries resulting in 

impairments in one or more areas, such as cognition; language; 

memory; attention; reasoning; abstract thinking; judgment; 

problem-solving; sensory, perceptual, and motor abilities; 

psychosocial behavior; physical functions; information 

processing; and speech. Traumatic brain injury does not apply 

to brain injuries that are congenital or degenerative or to brain 

injuries induced by birth trauma. (34 CFR 300.8(c)(12)) 

"Travel training" means providing instruction, as appropriate, 

to children with significant cognitive disabilities and any other 

children with disabilities who require this instruction to enable 

the child to: (34 CFR 300.39(b)(4)) 

1. Develop an awareness of the environment in which the 

child lives; and 

2. Learn the skills necessary to move effectively and safely 

from place to place within that environment (e.g., in school, 

in the home, at work, and in the community). 

"Universal design" has the meaning given the term in § 3 of 

the Assistive Technology Act of 1998, as amended, 29 USC 

§ 3002. The term "universal design" means a concept or 

philosophy for designing and delivering products and services 

that are usable by people with the widest possible range of 

functional capabilities, which include products and services 

that are directly usable (without requiring assistive 

technologies) and products and services that are made usable 

with assistive technologies. (34 CFR 300.44) 
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"Virginia School for the Deaf and the Blind at Staunton" 

means the Virginia school under the operational control of the 

Virginia Board of Education. The Superintendent of Public 

Instruction shall approve the education programs of this 

school. (§ 22.1-346 of the Code of Virginia) 

"Visual impairment including blindness" means an 

impairment in vision that, even with correction, adversely 

affects a child's educational performance. The term includes 

both partial sight and blindness. (34 CFR 300.8(c)(13)) 

"Vocational education," for the purposes of special education, 

means organized educational programs that are directly related 

to the preparation of individuals for paid or unpaid 

employment or for additional preparation for a career not 

requiring a baccalaureate or advanced degree, and includes 

career and technical education. (34 CFR 300.39(b)(5)) 

"Ward of the state" means a child who, as determined by the 

state where the child resides, is: (34 CFR 300.45) 

1. A foster child; 

2. A ward of the state; or 

3. In the custody of a public child welfare agency. 

"Ward of the state" does not include a foster child who has a 

foster parent who meets the definition of a "parent." 

"Weapon" means dangerous weapon under 18 USC 

§ 930(g)(2). (34 CFR 530(i)(4)) 

8VAC20-81-40. Special education staffing requirements. 

A. School age programs. The following specifies the staffing 

patterns for special education services for school age (five to 

21, inclusive) children, in addition to the Standards of Quality 

(§ 22.1.253.13:2 of the Code of Virginia) and Regulations 

Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in 

Virginia (8VAC20-131-240) Virginia Standards of Education 

(8VAC20-132-230). 

1. Staffing shall be in accordance with the requirements of 

8VAC20-81-340 in the following settings. 

a. Students with disabilities shall be instructed with 

students without disabilities in general education settings 

and classrooms, as appropriate, and in accordance with the 

Individualized Education Program (IEP). The service 

level, Level I or II, is based on the amount of time the 

student receives special education. 

b. When children with disabilities are removed from the 

general education setting and classroom to provide 

instruction, special education and related services, they 

may receive services with children with the same 

disability or with children with different disabilities. 

2. Personnel assignment. 

a. Each student shall receive special education services 

from special education personnel assigned in accordance 

with the Virginia Licensure Regulations for School 

Personnel (8VAC20-22). 

b. Special education teachers who are the teachers of 

record shall be highly qualified. 

c. General education qualified personnel who are 

knowledgeable about the students and their special 

education, may implement special education services in 

collaboration with special education personnel. 

d. Special education services include those services 

provided directly to the student and those provided 

indirectly. 

3. Caseload standards. 

a. The maximum instructional caseloads for special 

education teachers and speech-language pathologists, for 

which public schools receive state funds in accordance 

with the Virginia Appropriation Act are listed in 8VAC20-

81-340. Special education services for children with visual 

impairment are established, maintained, and operated 

jointly by the local school board and the Virginia 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired. 

b. If children with disabilities in a single building receive 

academic content area instruction from multiple special 

education teachers, the teachers' caseloads shall be 

determined by using a building average. 

(1) A building average is computed by dividing the total 

weights (found in 8VAC20-81-340) for all children served 

in this fashion by the number of special education teachers 

providing services. Any itinerant teacher shall be counted 

according to the amount of time the teacher spends in the 

school. Subdivision 3 d of this subsection applies for any 

teacher assigned to administrative duties or to providing 

services to children who do not have disabilities. 

(2) The building average shall not exceed 20 points if 

services are provided to students receiving Level I services 

and to children receiving Level II services. The building 

average shall not exceed 24 points if services are provided 

only to children receiving Level I services. 

(3) No more than 14 children shall be assigned to a single 

class period if there are similar achievement levels and one 

subject area and level are taught. No more than 10 students 

shall be assigned to a single class period when there are 

varying achievement levels. 

c. Special education personnel may also be assigned to 

serve children who are not eligible for special education 

and related services under this chapter, as long as special 

education personnel hold appropriate licenses and 

endorsements for such assignments. 

d. When special education personnel are assigned to 

provide services for children who do not have a disability 

under this chapter or are assigned to administrative duties, 

a reduction in the caseload specified in the Virginia 
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Appropriation Act shall be made in proportion to the 

percentage of school time on such assignment. 

(1) This provision does not apply when special education 

and related services are provided in a general education 

class, based on the goals of the IEP of at least one child in 

that classroom, and children without disabilities 

incidentally benefit from such services. 

(2) When special education personnel provide services in 

a general education classroom based on the IEP goals of 

at least one child in that classroom, the special education 

caseloads do not include children with disabilities who 

incidentally benefit from such services. 

B. Staffing for early childhood special education. 

1. Children of preschool ages (two to five, inclusive) who 

are eligible for special education receive early childhood 

special education. The amount of services is determined by 

the child's individualized education program (IEP) team. A 

schedule comparable in length to school age students shall 

be made available if determined appropriate by the IEP 

team. 

2. Staffing requirements. 

a. Children receiving early childhood special education 

services may receive services together with other 

preschool-aged children with the same or with different 

disabilities. 

b. Each student shall receive special education services 

from special education personnel assigned in accordance 

with the Virginia Licensure Regulations for School 

Personnel (8VAC20-22). 

c. The maximum special education caseloads, with and 

without paraprofessionals, are set and funded in the 

Virginia Appropriation Act. See 8VAC20-81-340 for the 

funded caseloads. Special education services for children 

with visual impairment are established, maintained, and 

operated jointly by the local school board and the Virginia 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired. 

C. Staffing for education programs in regional and local jails. 

Special education personnel with any special education 

endorsement, except early childhood special education, may 

provide instructional services to eligible students with 

disabilities incarcerated in a regional or local jail. 

D. Alternative special education staffing plan. School 

divisions and private special education schools may offer for 

consideration of approval, an alternative staffing plan in 

accordance with Virginia Department of Education 

procedures. The Virginia Department of Education may grant 

approval for alternative staffing levels upon request from local 

school divisions and private special education schools seeking 

to implement innovative programs that are not consistent with 

these staffing levels. 

E. Educational interpreting services. 

1. The qualification requirements for personnel providing 

interpreting services for children who are deaf or hard of 

hearing are as follows: 

a. Personnel providing educational interpreting services 

for children using sign language shall: 

(1) Have a valid Virginia Quality Assurance Screening 

(VQAS) Level III; or 

(2) Have a passing score on the Educational Interpreter 

Performance Assessment (EIPA) Written Test along with 

a minimum of a Level 3.5 on the EIPA Performance Test 

or any other state qualification or national certification 

(excluding Certificate of Deaf Interpretation) recognized 

by the Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard of 

Hearing as equivalent to or exceeding the VQAS Level III. 

b. Personnel providing educational interpreting services 

for children using cued speech/language shall have a 

Virginia Quality Assurance Screening Level III for cued 

speech or hold a national Transliteration Skills Certificate 

from the Testing, Evaluation and Certification Unit (TEC 

Unit) or equivalent recognized by the Virginia Department 

for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. 

c. Personnel providing educational interpreting services 

for children requiring oral interpreting shall meet 

minimum requirements for competency on the Virginia 

Quality Assurance Screening written assessment of the 

Code of Ethics. 

2. Personnel who provide interpreting services for children 

who use sign language or cued speech/language and who do 

not hold the required qualifications may be employed in 

accordance with the following criteria: 

a. Personnel shall have a valid Virginia Quality Assurance 

Screening Level I, or its equivalent, as determined by the 

Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing; or 

b. Personnel shall have a passing score on the EIPA 

Written Test and a minimum score of 2.5 on the EIPA 

Performance Test upon hiring date in any local 

educational agency in Virginia. 

3. The following qualification requirements for personnel 

providing interpreting services for students who are deaf or 

hard of hearing will become effective in 2010: 

a. Personnel providing educational interpreting services 

for children using sign language shall hold: 

(1) A valid Virginia Quality Assurance Screening (VQAS) 

Level III; or 

(2) A passing score on the Educational Interpreter 

Performance Assessment (EIPA) Written Test along with 

a minimum of a Level 3.5 on the EIPA Performance Test 

or any other state qualification or national certification 

(excluding Certificate of Deaf Interpretation) recognized 

by the Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard of 

Hearing as equivalent to or exceeding the VQAS Level III. 
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(3) Under no circumstances shall local educational 

agencies or private special education schools hire 

interpreters who hold qualifications below a VQAS 

Level II, EIPA Level 3.0 or the equivalent from another 

state. 

(4) Interpreters hired with a VQAS Level II, EIPA Level 

3.0 or the equivalent shall have two years from the date of 

hire to reach the required qualifications. 

b. Personnel providing educational interpreting services 

for children using cued speech/language shall have a valid 

Virginia Quality Assurance Screening Level III for cued 

speech/language or hold a national Transliteration Skills 

Certificate from the Testing, Evaluation and Certification 

Unit (TEC Unit) or equivalent recognized by the Virginia 

Department for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. 

(1) Under no circumstances shall local educational 

agencies or private special education schools hire 

educational interpreters to provide cued speech services 

who hold qualifications below a VQAS Level I or the 

equivalent from another state. 

(2) Educational Interpreters to provide cued speech hired 

with a VQAS Level I or the equivalent have three years 

from the date of hire to reach the required qualifications. 

c. Personnel providing educational interpreting services 

for children requiring oral interpreting shall hold a 

national Oral Transliteration Certificate (OTC) or 

equivalent recognized by the Virginia Department of Deaf 

and Hard of Hearing. 

4. For a child who is not deaf or hard of hearing but for 

whom sign language services are specified in the IEP to 

address expressive or receptive language needs, the sign 

language services shall be provided by an individual meeting 

the requirements determined appropriate by the local 

educational agency. 

8VAC20-81-110. Individualized education program. 

A. Responsibility. The local educational agency shall ensure 

that an IEP is developed and implemented for each child with 

a disability served by that local educational agency, including 

a child placed in a private special education school by: (34 CFR 

300.112) 

1. A local school division; or 

2. A noneducational placement by a Comprehensive 

Services Act team that includes the school division. The 

local school division's responsibility is limited to special 

education and related services. 

B. Accountability. 

1. At the beginning of each school year, each local 

educational agency shall have an IEP in effect for each child 

with a disability within its jurisdiction, with the exception of 

children placed in a private school by parents when a free 

appropriate public education is not at issue. (34 CFR 

300.323(a)) 

2. Each local educational agency shall ensure that an IEP: 

(34 CFR 300.323(c)) 

a. Is in effect before special education and related services 

are provided to an eligible child; 

b. Is developed within 30 calendar days of the date of the 

initial determination that the child needs special education 

and related services; 

c. Is developed within 30 calendar days of the date the 

eligibility group determines that the child remains eligible 

for special education and related services following 

reevaluation, if the IEP team determines that changes are 

needed to the child's IEP, or if the parent requests it; and 

d. Is implemented as soon as possible following parental 

consent to the IEP. 

3. Each local educational agency shall ensure that: (34 CFR 

300.323(d)) 

a. The child's IEP is accessible to each regular education 

teacher, special education teacher, related service 

provider, and other service provider who is responsible for 

its implementation; and 

b. Teachers and providers are informed of: 

(1) Their specific responsibilities related to implementing 

the child's IEP; and 

(2) The specific accommodations, modifications, and 

supports that shall be provided for the child in accordance 

with the IEP. 

4. Each local educational agency is responsible for initiating 

and conducting meetings to develop, review, and revise the 

IEP of a child with a disability. 

5. Each local educational agency shall ensure that the IEP 

team reviews the child's IEP periodically, but not less than 

annually, to determine whether the annual goals are being 

achieved and to revise its provisions, as appropriate, to 

address: (34 CFR 300.324(b)) 

a. Any lack of expected progress toward the annual goals 

and in the general curriculum, if appropriate; 

b. The results of any reevaluation conducted under this 

chapter; 

c. Information about the child provided to or by the parent; 

d. The child's anticipated needs; or 

e. Other matters. 

6. Each local educational agency shall provide special 

education and related services to a child with a disability in 

accordance with the child's IEP. (34 CFR 300.323(c)(2)) 

7. Nothing in this section limits a parent's right to ask for 

revisions of the child's IEP if the parent feels that the efforts 

required by this chapter are not being met. 
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8. To the extent possible, the local educational agency shall 

encourage the consolidation of reevaluation and IEP team 

meetings for the child. (34 CFR 300.324(a)(5)) 

9. In making changes to a child's IEP after the annual IEP 

team meeting for the school year, the parent and the local 

educational agency may agree not to convene an IEP team 

meeting for the purposes of making those changes and 

instead may develop a written document to amend or modify 

the child's current IEP. (34 CFR 300.324(a)(4) and (6)) 

a. If changes are made to the child's IEP, the local 

educational agency shall ensure that the child's IEP team 

is informed of those changes. 

b. Upon request, a parent shall be provided with a revised 

copy of the IEP with the amendments incorporated. 

c. This meeting is not a substitute for the required annual 

IEP meeting. 

C. IEP team. 

1. General. The local educational agency shall ensure that 

the IEP team for each child with a disability includes: (34 

CFR 300.321(a), (c) and (d)) 

a. The parent of the child; 

b. Not less than one regular education teacher of the child 

(if the child is or may be participating in the regular 

educational environment); 

c. Not less than one special education teacher of the child 

or, if appropriate, not less than one special education 

provider of the child. For a child whose only disability is 

speech-language impairment, the special education 

provider shall be the speech-language pathologist; 

d. A representative of the local educational agency who is: 

(1) Qualified to provide or supervise the provision of 

specially designed instruction to meet the unique needs of 

children with disabilities; 

(2) Knowledgeable about the general education 

curriculum; and 

(3) Knowledgeable about the availability of resources of 

the local education agency. A local educational agency 

may designate another member of the IEP team to serve 

simultaneously as the agency representative if the 

individual meets the criteria in this subdivision; 

e. An individual who can interpret the instructional 

implications of evaluation results. This individual may be 

a member of the team serving in another capacity, other 

than the parent of the child; 

f. At the discretion of the parent or local educational 

agency, other individuals who have knowledge or special 

expertise regarding the child, including related services 

personnel, as appropriate. The determination of 

knowledge or special expertise of any individual shall be 

made by the party (parent or local educational agency) 

who invited the individual to be a member of the team; and 

g. Whenever appropriate, the child. 

2. The local educational agency determines the school 

personnel to fill the roles of the required IEP team members 

in subdivisions 1 b through 1 e of this subsection. 

3. Secondary transition service participants. (34 CFR 

300.321(b)) 

a. The local educational agency shall invite a student with 

a disability of any age to attend the student's IEP meeting 

if a purpose of the meeting will be the consideration of: 

(1) The student's postsecondary goals; 

(2) The needed transition services for the student; or 

(3) Both. 

b. If the student does not attend the IEP meeting, the local 

educational agency shall take other steps to ensure that the 

student's preferences and interests are considered. 

c. To the extent appropriate and with the consent of the 

parent or a child who has reached the age of majority, the 

local educational agency shall invite a representative of 

any participating agency that is likely to be responsible for 

providing or paying for transition services. If an agency 

invited to send a representative to a meeting does not do 

so, the local educational agency shall take other steps to 

obtain the participation of the other agency in the planning 

of any transition services. 

4. Part C transition participants. In the case of a child who 

was previously served under Part C of the Act, the local 

educational agency shall, at the parent's request, invite the 

Part C service coordinator or other representatives of the Part 

C system to the initial IEP meeting to assist with the smooth 

transition of services. (34 CFR 300.321(f)) 

D. IEP team attendance. (34 CFR 300.321(e)) 

1. A required member of the IEP team described in 

subdivisions C 1 b through C 1 e of this section is not 

required to attend an IEP team meeting, in whole or in part, 

if the parent and the local educational agency agree, in 

writing, that the attendance of this member is not necessary 

because the member's area of the curriculum or related 

services is not being modified or discussed in the meeting. 

2. A required member of the IEP team may be excused from 

attending the IEP team meeting, in whole or in part, when 

the meeting involves a modification to or discussion of the 

member's area of curriculum or related services, if: 

a. The parent and the local educational agency consent in 

writing to the excusal; and 

b. The member submits, in writing, to the parent and the 

IEP team input into the development of the IEP prior to 

the meeting. 

E. Parent participation. 
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1. Each local educational agency shall take steps to ensure 

that one or both of the parents of the child with a disability 

are present at each IEP meeting or are afforded the 

opportunity to participate, including: (34 CFR 300.322(a)) 

a. Notifying the parent of the meeting early enough to 

ensure that they will have an opportunity to attend; and 

b. Scheduling the meeting at a mutually agreed on time 

and place. 

2. Notice. (34 CFR 300.322(b)) 

a. General notice. The notice given to the parent: 

(1) May be in writing or given by telephone or in person 

with proper documentation; 

(2) Shall indicate the purpose, date, time, and location of 

the meeting, and who will be in attendance; and 

(3) Shall inform the parent of the provisions relating to the 

participation of other individuals on the IEP team who 

have knowledge or special expertise about the child under 

subdivision C 1 f of this section. 

b. Additional notice requirements are provided if 

transition services are under consideration. 

(1) For Part C transition, the notice shall inform the 

parents of the provisions relating to the participation of the 

Part C service coordinator or other representative of the 

Part C system under subdivision C 4 of this section. 

(2) For secondary transition, the notice shall also: 

(a) Indicate that a purpose of the meeting will be the 

consideration of the postsecondary goals and transition 

services for the child; 

(b) Indicate that the local educational agency will invite 

the student; and 

(c) Identify any other agency that will be invited to send a 

representative. 

3. If neither parent can attend, the local educational agency 

shall use other methods to ensure parent participation, 

including individual or conference telephone calls and audio 

conferences. If the local educational agency uses an 

alternative means of meeting participation that results in 

additional costs, the local educational agency is responsible 

for those costs. (34 CFR 300.322(c)) 

4. A meeting may be conducted without a parent in 

attendance if the local educational agency is unable to 

convince the parent that they should attend. In this case, the 

local educational agency shall have a record of the attempts 

to arrange a mutually agreed on time and place, such as: (34 

CFR 300.322(d)) 

a. Detailed records of telephone calls made or attempted 

and the results of those calls; 

b. Copies of correspondence (written, electronic, or 

facsimile) sent to the parent and any responses received; 

or 

c. Detailed records of visits made to the parent's home or 

place of employment and the results of those visits. 

5. The local educational agency shall take whatever action is 

necessary to ensure that the parent understands the 

proceedings at the IEP meeting, including arranging for an 

interpreter for parents with deafness or whose native 

language is other than English. (34 CFR 300.322(e)) 

6. At the IEP meeting, the IEP team shall provide the parent 

of a child with a disability with a written description of the 

factors in subdivisions F 1 and F 2 of this section that will 

be considered during the IEP meeting. The description shall 

be written in language understandable by the general public 

and provided in the native language of the parent or other 

mode of communication used by the parent, unless it is 

clearly not feasible to do so. 

7. The local educational agency shall give the parent a copy 

of the child's IEP at no cost to the parent at the IEP meeting, 

or within a reasonable period of time after the IEP meeting, 

not to exceed 10 calendar days. (34 CFR 300.322(f)) 

8. If the local educational agency elects to use a draft version 

of an IEP in any IEP team meeting, such draft shall be 

developed and a copy shall be provided to the parent at least 

two business days in advance of the IEP meeting. 

F. Development, review, and revision of the IEP. (34 CFR 

300.324(a)) 

1. In developing each child's IEP, the IEP team shall 

consider and document in the IEP: 

a. The strengths of the child; 

b. The concerns of the parent, and child whenever 

appropriate, for enhancing the education of the child; 

c. The results of the initial or most recent evaluation of the 

child; and 

d. The academic, developmental, and functional needs of 

the child. 

2. The IEP team also shall: (34 CFR 300.324(a)) 

a. In the case of a child whose behavior impedes the child's 

learning or that of others, consider the use of positive 

behavioral interventions, strategies, and supports to 

address the behavior; 

b. In the case of a child with limited English proficiency, 

consider the language needs of the child as those needs 

relate to the child's IEP; 

c. In the case of a child who is blind or visually impaired, 

provide for instruction in Braille and the use of Braille 

unless the IEP team determines after an evaluation of the 

child's reading and writing skills, needs, and appropriate 

reading and writing media, including an evaluation of the 

child's future needs for instruction in Braille or the use of 

Braille, that instruction in Braille or the use of Braille is 

not appropriate for the child; 
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d. Consider the communication needs of the child; 

e. Consider the child's needs for benchmarks or short-term 

objectives; 

f. In the case of a child who is deaf or hard of hearing, 

consider the child's language and communication needs, 

opportunities for direct communications with peers and 

professional personnel in the child's language and 

communication mode, academic level, and full range of 

needs, including opportunities for direct instruction in the 

child's language and communication mode; and 

g. Consider whether the child requires assistive 

technology devices and services. 

3. If, in considering the special factors, the IEP team 

determines that a child needs a particular device or service, 

including an intervention, accommodation, or other program 

modification in order for the child to receive a free 

appropriate public education, the IEP team shall include a 

statement to that effect in the child's IEP. (34 CFR 

300.324(b)(2)) 

4. The regular education teacher of a child with a disability, 

as a member of the IEP team, shall participate, to the extent 

appropriate, in the development, review, and revision of the 

child's IEP, including assisting in the determination of: (34 

CFR 300.324(a)(3)) 

a. Appropriate positive behavioral interventions and 

supports and other strategies for the child; and 

b. Supplementary aids and services, accommodations, 

program modifications, or supports for school personnel 

that will be provided for the child. 

5. Nothing in this section shall be construed to require: (34 

CFR 300.320(d)) 

a. The IEP team to include information under one 

component of a child's IEP that is already contained under 

another component of the child's IEP; or 

b. That additional information be included in the child's 

IEP beyond what is explicitly required in this chapter. 

6. The IEP team shall consider all factors identified under a 

free appropriate public education in 8VAC20-81-100, as 

appropriate, and work toward consensus. If the IEP team 

cannot reach consensus, the local educational agency shall 

provide the parent with prior written notice of the local 

educational agency's proposals or refusals, or both, 

regarding the child's educational placement or provision of 

a free appropriate public education in accordance with 

8VAC20-81-170 C. 

G. Content of the individualized education program. The IEP 

for each child with a disability shall include: 

1. A statement of the child's present levels of academic 

achievement and functional performance, including how the 

child's disability affects the child's involvement and progress 

in the general curriculum or, for preschool children, as 

appropriate, how the disability affects the child's 

participation in appropriate activities. (34 CFR 

300.320(a)(1)) 

a. The statement shall be written in objective measurable 

terms, to the extent possible. Test scores, if appropriate, 

shall be self-explanatory or an explanation shall be 

included. 

b. The present level of performance shall directly relate to 

the other components of the IEP. 

2. A statement of measurable annual goals, including 

academic and functional goals designed to: (34 CFR 

300.320(a)(2)) 

a. Meet the child's needs that result from the child's 

disability to enable the child to be involved in and progress 

in the general curriculum, or for preschool children, as 

appropriate, to participate in appropriate activities; and 

b. Meet each of the child's other educational needs that 

result from the child's disability. 

3. If determined appropriate by the IEP team, as outlined in 

subdivision F 2 of this section, a description of benchmarks 

or short-term objectives. For children with disabilities who 

take alternate assessments aligned to alternate achievement 

standards, the IEP shall include a description of benchmarks 

or short-term objectives. (34 CFR 300.320(a)(2)) 

The IEP team shall document its consideration of the 

inclusion in the child's IEP of benchmarks or short-term 

objectives. 

4. A statement of the special education and related services 

and supplementary aids and services, based on peer-

reviewed research to the extent practicable, to be provided 

for the child, or on behalf of the child, and a statement of the 

program modifications or supports for school personnel that 

will be provided to enable the child: (34 CFR 300.320(a)(4)) 

a. To advance appropriately toward attaining the annual 

goals; 

b. To be involved and progress in the general curriculum 

and to participate in extracurricular and other 

nonacademic activities; and 

c. To be educated and participate with other children with 

disabilities and children without disabilities in the 

activities described in this section. 

5. An explanation of the extent, if any, to which the child 

will not participate with children without disabilities in the 

regular class and in the activities described in this section. 

(34 CFR 300.320(a)(5)) 

6. The following information concerning state and 

divisionwide assessments shall be included: (34 CFR 

300.320(a)(6)) 

a. A statement of any individual appropriate 

accommodations or modifications that are necessary to 
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measure the child's academic achievement and functional 

performance, in accordance with the guidelines approved 

by the Board of Education, in the administration of state 

assessments of student achievement that are needed in 

order for the child to participate in the assessment; 

b. If the IEP team determines that the child must take an 

alternate assessment instead of a particular state 

assessment of student achievement (or part of an 

assessment), a statement of: 

(1) Why the child cannot participate in the regular 

assessment; 

(2) Why the particular assessment selected is appropriate 

for the child, including that the child meets the criteria for 

the alternate assessment; and 

(3) How the child's nonparticipation in the assessment will 

impact the child's promotion; graduation with a modified 

standard, standard, or advanced studies diploma; or other 

matters; 

c. A statement that the child shall participate in either a 

state assessment for all children that is part of the state 

assessment program or the state's alternate assessment; 

d. A statement of any individual appropriate 

accommodations or modifications approved for use in the 

administration of divisionwide assessments of student 

achievement that are needed in order for the child to 

participate in the assessment; and 

e. If the IEP team determines that the child must take an 

alternate assessment instead of a particular divisionwide 

assessment of student achievement (or part of an 

assessment), a statement of: 

(1) Why the child cannot participate in the regular 

assessment; 

(2) Why the particular alternate assessment selected is 

appropriate for the child; and 

(3) How the child's nonparticipation in the assessment will 

impact the child's courses; promotion; graduation with a 

modified standard, standard, or advanced studies diploma; 

or other matters. 

7. The projected dates (month, day, and year) for the 

beginning of the services and modifications and the 

anticipated frequency, location, and duration of those 

services and modifications. (34 CFR 300.320(a)(7)) 

8. A statement of: (34 CFR 300.320(a)(3)) 

a. How the child's progress toward the annual goals will 

be measured; and 

b. When periodic reports on the progress the child is 

making toward meeting the annual goals will be provided; 

for example, through the use of quarterly or other periodic 

reports, concurrent with the issuance of report cards, and 

at least as often as parents are informed of the progress of 

children without disabilities. 

9. Initial transition services (34 CFR 300.101(b) and 34 CFR 

300.323(b)) 

a. In the case of a preschool-age child with a disability, 

two (on or before September 30) through five years of age 

(on or before September 30), whose parent elects to 

receive services under Part B of the Act, the local 

educational agency shall develop an IEP. 

b. The IEP team shall consider an IFSP that contains the 

IFSP content described under Part C of the Act (§ 1431 et 

seq.) including: 

(1) A statement regarding natural environments; and 

(2) A component that promotes school readiness and 

incorporates pre-literacy, language, and numeracy skills. 

c. These components of the child's IFSP may be 

incorporated into the child's IEP. 

10. Secondary transition services. (34 CFR 300.43 and 34 

CFR 300.320(b)) 

a. Prior to the child entering secondary school but not later 

than the first IEP to be in effect when the child turns 14 

years of age, or younger if determined appropriate by the 

IEP team, and updated annually thereafter, the IEP shall 

include age-appropriate: 

(1) Measurable postsecondary goals based upon age-

appropriate transition assessments related to training, 

education, employment, and where appropriate, 

independent living skills; and 

(2) Transition services, including courses of study, needed 

to assist the child in reaching those goals. Transition 

services shall be based on the individual child's needs, 

taking into account the child's strengths, preferences, and 

interests. 

b. Beginning not later than the first IEP to be in effect 

when the child turns 16 years of age, or younger if 

determined appropriate by the IEP team, and updated 

annually, in addition to the requirements of subdivision 10 

a of this subsection, the IEP shall also include a statement, 

if appropriate, of interagency responsibilities or any 

linkages. 

c. For a child pursuing a modified standard diploma, the 

IEP team shall consider the child's need for occupational 

readiness upon school completion, including 

consideration of courses to prepare the child as a career 

and technical education program completer. 

11. Beginning at least one year before a student reaches the 

age of majority, the student's IEP shall include a statement 

that the student and parent have been informed of the rights 

under this chapter, if any, that will transfer to the student on 

reaching the age of majority. (34 CFR 300.320(c)) 

H. Agency responsibilities for secondary transition services. 

(34 CFR 300.324(c)) 
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1. If a participating agency other than the local educational 

agency fails to provide the transition services described in 

the IEP of a student with a disability, the local educational 

agency shall reconvene the IEP team to identify alternative 

strategies to meet the transition objectives for the student set 

out in the IEP. 

2. Nothing in this part relieves any participating agency, 

including a state vocational rehabilitation agency, of the 

responsibility to provide or pay for any transition service that 

the agency would otherwise provide to students with 

disabilities who meet the eligibility criteria of that agency. 

I. Additional requirements for eligible students with 

disabilities in state, regional, or local adult or juvenile 

correctional facilities. (34 CFR 300.324(d) and 34 CFR 

300.102(a)(2); Virginia Standards of Accreditation (8VAC20-

132)) 

1. A representative of the state from a state, regional, or local 

adult or juvenile correctional facility may participate as a 

member of the IEP team. 

2. All requirements regarding IEP development, review, and 

revision in this section apply to students with disabilities in 

state, regional, or local adult or juvenile correctional 

facilities, including assessment requirements to graduate 

with a modified standard, standard, or advanced studies 

diploma. The requirements related to least restrictive 

environment in 8VAC20-81-130 do not apply. 

3. The following additional exceptions to subdivision 2 of 

this subsection apply only to students with disabilities who 

are convicted as an adult under state law and incarcerated in 

adult prisons: 

a. The IEP team may modify the student's IEP or 

placement if the state has demonstrated to the IEP team a 

bona fide security or compelling penological interest that 

cannot be otherwise accommodated. 

b. IEP requirements regarding participation in state 

assessments, including alternate assessments, do not 

apply. 

c. IEP requirements regarding transition planning and 

transition services do not apply to students whose 

eligibility for special education and related services will 

end because of their age before they will be eligible for 

release from the correctional facility based on 

consideration of their sentence and eligibility for early 

release. 

8VAC20-81-130. Least restrictive environment and 

placements. 

A. General least restrictive environment requirements. 

1. Each local educational agency shall ensure: (34 CFR 

300.114) 

a. That to the maximum extent appropriate, children with 

disabilities, aged two to 21, inclusive, including those in 

public or private institutions or other care facilities, are 

educated with children without disabilities; and 

b. That special classes, separate schooling, or other 

removal of children with disabilities from the regular 

educational environment occurs only if the nature or 

severity of the disability is such that education in regular 

classes with the use of supplementary aids and services 

cannot be achieved satisfactorily. 

2. In providing or arranging for the provision of 

nonacademic and extracurricular services and activities, 

including meals, recess periods, and other nonacademic and 

extracurricular services and activities provided for children 

without disabilities, each local educational agency shall 

ensure that each child with a disability participates with 

children without disabilities in those services and activities 

to the maximum extent appropriate to the needs of the child 

with a disability. The local educational agency shall ensure 

that each child with a disability has the supplementary aids 

and services determined by the child's IEP team to be 

appropriate and necessary for the child to participate in 

nonacademic settings. (See also 8VAC20-81-100 H.) (34 

CFR 300.117) 

3. For children placed by local school divisions in public or 

private institutions or other care facilities, the local 

educational agency shall, if necessary, make arrangements 

with public and private institutions to ensure that 

requirements for least restrictive environment are met. (See 

also 8VAC20-81-150.) (34 CFR 300.114 and 34 CFR 

300.118) 

B. Continuum of alternative placements. (§ 22.1-213 of the 

Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.115) 

1. Each local educational agency shall ensure that a 

continuum of alternative placements is available to meet the 

needs of children with disabilities, aged two to 21, inclusive, 

for special education and related services. 

2. The continuum shall: 

a. Include the alternative placements listed in the term 

"special education" at 8VAC20-81-10, including 

instruction in regular classes, special classes, special 

schools, home instruction, and instruction in hospitals and 

institutions; and 

b. Make provision for supplementary services (e.g., 

resource room or services or itinerant instruction) to be 

provided in conjunction with regular education class 

placement. The continuum includes integrated service 

delivery, which occurs when some or all goals, including 

benchmarks and objectives if required, of the student's IEP 

are met in the general education setting with age-

appropriate peers. 
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3. No single model for the delivery of services to any specific 

population or category of children with disabilities is 

acceptable for meeting the requirement for a continuum of 

alternative placements. All placement decisions shall be 

based on the individual needs of each child. 

4. Local educational agencies shall document all alternatives 

considered and the rationale for choosing the selected 

placement. 

5. Children with disabilities shall be served in a program 

with age-appropriate peers unless it can be shown that for a 

particular child with a disability, the alternative placement is 

appropriate as documented by the IEP. 

C. Placements. (Regulations Establishing Standards for 

Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia (8VAC20-131) 

(Virginia Standards of Accreditation (8VAC20-132); 34 CFR 

300.116) 

1. In determining the educational placement of a child with 

a disability, including a preschool child with a disability, 

each local educational agency shall ensure that: 

a. The placement decision is made by the IEP team in 

conformity with the least restrictive environment 

provisions of this chapter. 

b. The child's placement is: 

(1) Determined at least annually; 

(2) Based on the child's IEP; and 

(3) As close as possible to the child's home. 

c. Unless the IEP of a child with a disability requires some 

other arrangement, the child is educated in the school that 

the child would attend if a child without a disability. 

d. In selecting the least restrictive environment, 

consideration is given to any potential harmful effect on 

the child or on the quality of services which the child 

needs. 

e. A child with a disability is not removed from education 

in age-appropriate regular classrooms solely because of 

needed modifications in the general curriculum. 

2. Home-based instruction shall be made available to 

children whose IEPs require the delivery of services in the 

home or other agreed-upon setting. 

3. Homebound instruction shall be made available to 

children who are confined for periods that would prevent 

normal school attendance based upon certification of need 

by a licensed physician or clinical psychologist. For students 

eligible for special education and related services, the IEP 

team shall revise the IEP, as appropriate, and determine the 

delivery of homebound services, including the number of 

hours of services. 

8VAC20-81-250. State funds for local school divisions. 

A. State funds to assist local school divisions with the cost of 

providing special education and related services for children 

with disabilities shall be provided through the Virginia 

Department of Education's appropriation as provided in this 

section. 

B. Children with disabilities enrolled in programs operated by 

a local school board: 

1. Public school programs. In addition to the funds received 

for each pupil from state basic aid, local school divisions 

shall receive payment to support the state share of the 

number of special education teachers and paraprofessionals 

required by the Standards of Quality. (Chapter 13.2 (§ 22.1-

253.13:1 et seq.) of Title 22.1 of the Code of Virginia) 

2. Homebound instruction. Subject to availability, local 

school divisions shall receive funds to assist with the cost of 

educating students who are temporarily confined for medical 

or psychological reasons. Such students may continue to be 

counted in the average daily membership (ADM) while 

receiving homebound instruction. In addition, costs will be 

reimbursed based on the composite index, the hourly rate 

paid to homebound teachers by the local educational agency, 

and the number of instructional hours delivered. 

Reimbursement is made in the year following delivery of 

instruction. (Regulations Establishing Standards for 

Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia (8VAC20-131)) 

(Virginia Standards of Accreditation (8VAC20-132)) 

C. Children with disabilities enrolled in regional special 

education programs: (Virginia Appropriation Act; § 22.1-218 

of the Code of Virginia) 

1. Subject to availability, reimbursement may be made 

available for a portion of the costs associated with placement 

of children with disabilities in public regional special 

education programs pursuant to policies and procedures 

established by the Superintendent of Public Instruction or 

designee. 

2. Such reimbursement shall be in lieu of other state 

education funding available for each child. 

D. Applicability of least restrictive environment and FAPE 

provision in state-funded placements. No state-funding 

mechanism shall result in placements that deny children with 

disabilities their right to be educated with children without 

disabilities to the maximum extent appropriate, or otherwise 

result in a failure to provide a child with a disability a free 

appropriate public education. (34 CFR 300.114(b)) 

E. Children with disabilities receiving special education and 

related services in regional or local jails. Local school divisions 

are reimbursed for the instructional costs of providing required 

special education and related services to children with 

disabilities in regional or local jails. (Virginia Appropriation 

Act) 
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F. Funds under the Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk 

Youth and Families. (§§ 2.2-5211 through 2.2-5212 of the 

Code of Virginia) 

1. Funds are available under the Comprehensive Services 

Act to support the cost of: 

a. Special education and related services for children with 

disabilities whose IEPs specify private day or private 

residential placement; 

b. Certain nonspecial education services for children with 

disabilities whose Comprehensive Services Act team 

identifies that such services are necessary to maintain the 

child in a less restrictive special education setting, in 

accordance with Comprehensive Services Act 

requirements; and 

c. Special education and related services for children with 

disabilities who are placed by a Comprehensive Services 

Act team in a private residential placement for 

noneducational reasons. 

2. Local school divisions shall be responsible for payment of 

transportation expenses associated with implementing the 

child's IEP. 

3. Comprehensive Services Act reimbursement 

requirements shall be applicable. 

4. When a parent unilaterally places a child with a disability 

in an approved private nonsectarian school for children with 

disabilities, the local school division shall not be responsible 

for the cost of the placement. If a special education hearing 

officer or court determines that such placement, rather than 

the IEP proposed by the local school division, is appropriate 

and no appeal is perfected from that decision, the local 

school division is responsible for placement and funds are 

available under the Comprehensive Services Act to support 

the costs. 

G. Reimbursement shall be made for the education of children 

with disabilities who: (§ 22.1-101.1 B and C of the Code of 

Virginia) 

1. Have been placed in foster care or other custodial care 

within the geographical boundaries of the school division by 

a Virginia agency; 

2. Have been placed in an orphanage or children's home, 

which exercises legal rights; or 

3. Is a resident of Virginia, and has been placed, not solely 

for school purposes, in a child-caring institution or group 

home licensed in accordance with the Code of Virginia. 

8VAC20-160-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accelerated course" means a course that can be completed 

in less than the normal amount of time; the process of 

progressing through the school grades at a rate faster than that 

of the average student, either by skipping grades or by rapidly 

mastering the work of one course and moving on to the next 

higher course. 

"Advanced-level courses/programs" means those academic, 

career/technical, fine and performing arts, or interdisciplinary 

high school courses/programs that enable students to acquire 

and master advanced knowledge. Such courses may be suitable 

for weighted credit in order to encourage students to take these 

courses and to be rewarded for the extra endeavor and 

academic performance these courses/programs require. 

"Advanced Placement (AP) course" means an advanced-level 

course with a syllabus equivalent to the relevant Advanced 

Placement syllabus disseminated by the College Board. 

"Assessment component" means any of the means by which 

one obtains information on the progress of the learner and the 

effectiveness of instruction; quantitative data, objective 

measures, subjective impressions, tests, and observations may 

all serve as instruments for deciding whether instructional 

objectives have been attained. 

"Certificate of Program Completion award date" means the 

date when a Certificate of Program Completion is awarded. A 

Certificate of Program Completion is not to be included as a 

diploma option. 

"Commonwealth College Course Collaborative (CCCC)" 

means a set of approved courses taken in high school that fully 

transfer as core requirements and degree credits at Virginia 

colleges and universities. 

"Commonwealth Scholar" means a student who completes all 

of the requirements for at least a Standard Diploma and 

additional prescribed rigorous coursework in foreign language, 

history, mathematics, science, and other approved discipline 

areas consistent with the United States Department of 

Education's State Scholars Initiative. 

"Credit" means a standard or a verified credit as specified in 

Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public 

Schools in Virginia (8VAC20-131) Virginia Standards of 

Accreditation (8VAC20-132). 

"Credit summary" means the number of courses successfully 

completed in each discipline as required for graduation. 

"Curriculum" means an official guide prepared for use by 

administrators, supervisors, and teachers of a particular school 

or school system as an aid to teaching in a given subject or area 

of study for a given grade; includes the goals and objectives of 

the course, the expected outcomes, assessment component, and 

the scope and nature of the materials to be studied. 

"Dual enrollment course" means a course that carries both 

high school and college credit. 
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"Early College Scholar" means a student who signs the Early 

College Scholars agreement and completes the requirements of 

the program, which includes a prescribed number of potentially 

transferable college credits, maintaining a "B" average or 

better, and earning an Advanced Studies diploma. 

"Grade point average" means a measure of average scholastic 

success in all high school credit-bearing courses taken by a 

student during a certain term or semester, or accumulated for 

several terms or semesters; obtained by dividing grade points 

by number of courses taken. 

"Graduation date" means the date when diploma requirements 

have been met and a diploma is awarded. 

"Honors course" means a course offered to academically 

advanced students to provide opportunities to study and learn 

with other advanced students and to accelerate their learning in 

a specific content area. These courses are designed to be more 

challenging by covering additional topics or some topics in 

greater depth. 

"Industry certification credential" means a career and 

technical education credential that is earned by successfully 

completing a Board of Education-approved industry 

certification examination, a state-issued professional license, 

or an occupational competency examination. 

"International Baccalaureate (IB) course" means an 

advanced-level course with a syllabus approved by the 

International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO) and meeting 

the criteria offered through the IBO program. 

"Secondary course" means a high school-level course of 

study that awards high school credits. In addition to providing 

content and knowledge, secondary courses encourage students 

to develop higher level thinking skills such as problem solving, 

critical analyses and syntheses of ideas. Students are 

encouraged to understand, appreciate, and formulate ideas 

related to scientific, technical and social concepts. 

"Secondary school profile data" means information given in 

a summary format of a particular secondary school, such as 

location; description; achievement data; definition of 

curriculum; grading scale, grade distribution; weighted grades; 

rank in class, if a ranking procedure is used; graduation 

requirements; and an explanation of advanced-level, 

accelerated, and honors courses, industry certifications, and 

other specialized programs. 

"Secondary school transcript" means an official list of 

secondary courses taken by a student, except those purged 

from a middle school record in accordance with 8VAC20-131 

8VAC20-132, Regulations Establishing Standards for 

Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia, showing the final 

grade received for each course, with definitions of the various 

grades given. 

"Weighted course" means an advanced-level course in which 

credit is increased as determined by local school board policies 

and defined on the school profile. 

8VAC20-521-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Declared state of emergency" means the declaration of an 

emergency before or after an event by the Governor or by 

officials in a locality that requires the closure of any or all 

schools within a school division. 

"Instructional time" means the period that students are in 

school on a daily or annual basis as defined in the Regulations 

Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in 

Virginia, 8VAC20-131 Virginia Standards of Accreditation 

(8VAC20-132). 

"Severe weather conditions or other emergency situations" 

means those circumstances presenting a threat to the health or 

safety of students that result from severe weather conditions or 

other emergencies, including, but not limited to, natural and 

man-made disasters, energy shortages or power failures. 

"Teaching days" means days when instruction is provided. 

"Teaching hours" means hours when instruction is provided. 

8VAC20-671-450. Student achievement expectations. 

A. Schools shall develop strategies to address the learning, 

behavior, and communication needs of individual students in 

collaboration with the parent. 

B. Participation in the Virginia assessment program by 

students with disabilities shall be prescribed by provisions of 

their IEPs or 504 Plans. 

C. Each school that serves students who anticipate earning a 

diploma and graduating from a public Virginia high school 

must follow the requirements for graduation outlined in the 

Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public 

Schools in Virginia (8VAC20-131) Virginia Standards of 

Accreditation (8VAC20-132). 

D. The school shall cooperate with the public school in the 

administration of SOL tests. 

E. The school shall use testing and evaluation materials that 

are not racially or culturally discriminatory and do take into 

consideration the student's disabling condition(s), racial 

background, and cultural background. 

8VAC20-740-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 
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"A la carte item" means an individually priced food item 

served by the local school nutrition department that may or 

may not be part of the reimbursable meal under the federal 

Child Nutrition Programs. 

"After school activities" means activities that occur on the 

school campus after the school day. 

"Beverage" means a drinkable liquid. 

"Calorie" means the amount of heat required to change the 

temperature of one gram of water from 14.5°C to 15.5°C. 

Calorie is used synonymously with kilocalorie as a unit of 

measure for energy obtained from food and beverages. 

"Child nutrition programs" means school meal programs 

funded and regulated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture 

(USDA) and includes the National School Lunch Program 

(NSLP), School Breakfast Program (SBP), Afterschool Snack 

Programs (ASP), Child and Adult Care Food Program 

(CACFP), Summer Food Service Program (SFSP), and Special 

Milk Program (SMP). 

"Combination foods" means products that contain two or 

more components representing two or more of the 

recommended food groups: fruit, vegetable, dairy, protein, or 

grains. 

"Competitive food" means all food available for sale to 

students on the school campus during the school day other than 

meals reimbursed under programs authorized by the Richard 

B. Russell National School Lunch Act (42 USC § 1751 et seq.) 

and the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 USC § 1771 et seq.). 

"Competitive food" includes all foods available for sale to 

students: 

1. In school cafeterias as a la carte items. 

2. In vending machines located on the school campus during 

the school day. 

3. As fundraisers held on the school campus during the 

school day. 

4. In school snack bars on the school campus during the 

school day. 

5. In school stores operated on the school campus during the 

school day by the school, a student association, or other 

school-sponsored organization. 

6. At school activities such as special fundraisers, 

achievement rewards, classroom parties, school 

celebrations, classroom snacks, or school meetings held on 

the school campus during the school day. 

7. In culinary education programs where food prepared as 

part of the educational curriculum is sold to students; 

however, this provision does not apply if food is sold to 

adults only. 

This term does not apply to food a student brings from home 

for consumption at school or items available for sale to adults 

only in areas not accessible to students (e.g., teachers lounges). 

"Dietary Guidelines for Americans" means guidelines jointly 

issued by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

and U.S. Department of Agriculture and revised every five 

years and that provide authoritative advice based on current 

scientific evidence and medical knowledge for people two 

years of age and older about how good dietary habits can 

promote health and reduce risk for major chronic diseases. 

"Entree item" means an item that is either (i) a combination 

food of meat or meat alternate and whole grain rich food; (ii) a 

combination food of vegetable or fruit and meat or meat 

alternate; or (iii) a meat or meat alternate alone with the 

exception of yogurt; low-fat or reduced fat cheese; nuts, seeds, 

and nut or seed butters; and meat snacks (e.g., dried beef jerky). 

"Fundraiser" means a school-sponsored activity where food 

or nonfood items are sold on the school campus during regular 

school hours by the school-sponsored organization to raise 

money for a school-related program or activity. One fundraiser 

is defined as one or more fundraising activities by one or more 

school-sponsored organizations that last one school day. 

"Fundraising exemption" means an exception that allows a 

school-sponsored organization to sell on the school campus 

during regular school hours (i) food or beverages that do not 

meet the nutrition standards established in this chapter and (ii) 

items that do not meet the U.S. Department of Agriculture's 

Smart Snacks in Schools regulation. Fundraisers that sell 

nonfood items or that sell foods or beverages that meet the 

nutrition standards are not subject to this chapter or the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture's Smart Snacks in Schools 

regulation. 

"Obesity" means obesity in children and adolescents referring 

to the age-specific and sex-specific body mass index (BMI) 

that is equal to or greater than the 95th percentile of the BMI 

charts of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

(CDC). 

"Regular school hours" means the standard school day, as 

defined in 8VAC20-131-5 8VAC20-132-10, except for the 

purpose of fundraiser exemptions, breaks for meals and recess 

are included in the regular school hours. 

"School campus" means, for the purpose of competitive food 

standards implementation, all areas of the property under the 

jurisdiction of the school that are accessible to students during 

the school day. 

"School day" means, for the purpose of competitive food 

standards implementation, the period from the midnight before 

to 30 minutes after the end of the official school day. 

"School food authority" or "SFA" means, under the federal 

child nutrition laws, the entity that is legally responsible for the 
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operations and administration of the local school nutrition 

programs (i.e., school division). 

"Trans fat" means food items containing vegetable 

shortening, margarine, or any partially hydrogenated vegetable 

oil unless the label required on the food, pursuant to applicable 

federal and state law, lists the trans fat content as zero grams 

per serving. 

"Wellness policy" means a policy required for public schools 

participating in a nutrition program authorized by the Richard 

B. Russell National School Lunch Act (42 USC § 1751 et seq.) 

or the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 USC § 1771 et seq.) that 

meets minimum standards designed to support school 

environments that promote student wellness. 

"Whole grains" means grains that are made with enriched and 

whole grain meal or flour in accordance with the most recent 

grains guidance from the U.S. Department of Agriculture Food 

and Nutrition Service. 

"Whole-grain rich" means products that contain at least 50% 

whole grains and the remaining grains in the product must be 

enriched. 

8VAC20-750-20. General definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Behavioral intervention plan" or "BIP" means a plan that 

utilizes positive behavioral interventions and supports to 

address (i) behaviors that interfere with a student's learning or 

that of others or (ii) behaviors that require disciplinary action. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Education. 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, 12 months of 

the year, exclusive of federal and state holidays (unless 

holidays are specifically included in the designation of 

business days). 

"Chapter" means these regulations, that is, Regulations 

Governing the Use of Seclusion and Restraint in Public 

Elementary and Secondary Schools in Virginia, 8VAC20-750. 

"Calendar days" means consecutive days, inclusive of 

Saturdays and Sundays. Whenever any period of time fixed by 

this chapter expires on a Saturday, Sunday, federal holiday, or 

state holiday, the period of time for taking such action shall be 

extended to the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, federal 

holiday, or state holiday. 

"Child with a disability" or "student with a disability" means 

a public elementary or secondary school student evaluated in 

accordance with the provisions of 8VAC20-81 as having an 

intellectual disability, a hearing impairment (including 

deafness), a speech or language impairment, a visual 

impairment (including blindness), a serious emotional 

disability (referred to in 8VAC20-81 as an emotional 

disability), an orthopedic impairment, autism, traumatic brain 

injury, other health impairment, a specific learning disability, 

deaf-blindness, or multiple disabilities who, by reason thereof, 

requires special education and related services. This also 

includes developmental delay if the school division recognizes 

this category as a disability under 8VAC20-81-80 M 3. If it is 

determined through an appropriate evaluation that a child has 

one of the disabilities identified but only needs related services 

and not special education, the child is not a child with a 

disability under 8VAC20-81. If the related service required by 

the child is considered special education rather than a related 

service under Virginia standards, the child would be 

determined to be a child with a disability. As used in this 

chapter, the disability categories set forth in this definition and 

the terms "special education" and "related services" shall have 

the meanings set forth in 8VAC20-81-10. 

"Day" means calendar day unless otherwise designated as 

business day or school day. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education. 

"Evaluation" means procedures used in accordance with 

8VAC20-81 to determine whether a child has a disability and 

the nature and extent of the special education and related 

services the child needs. 

"Functional behavioral assessment" or "FBA" means a 

process to determine the underlying cause or functions of a 

student's behavior that impede the learning of the student or the 

learning of the student's peers. A functional behavioral 

assessment may include a review of existing data or new 

testing data or evaluation as determined as set forth in 

8VAC20-750-70. 

"Individualized education program" or "IEP" means a written 

statement for a child with a disability that is developed, 

reviewed, and revised at least annually in a team meeting in 

accordance with the Regulations Governing Special Education 

Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-

81). The IEP specifies the individual educational needs of the 

child and what special education and related services are 

necessary to meet the child's educational needs. 

"Individualized education program team" or "IEP team" 

means a group of individuals described in 8VAC20-81-110 

that is responsible for developing, reviewing, or revising an 

IEP for a child with a disability. 

"School day" means any day, including a partial day, that 

students are in attendance at school for instructional purposes. 

The term has the same meaning for all students in school, 

including students with and without disabilities. 

"School personnel" means individuals employed by the 

school division on a full-time or part-time basis or as 

independent contractors or subcontractors as instructional, 

administrative, and support personnel and include individuals 
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serving as a student teacher or intern under the supervision of 

appropriate school personnel. 

"Section 504 plan" means a written plan of modifications and 

accommodations under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 

of 1973 (29 USC § 794). 

"Student" means any student, with or without a disability, 

enrolled in a public elementary or secondary school as defined 

in § 22.1-1 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. For purposes of this chapter, the term "student" shall also 

include those students (i) attending a public school on a less-

than-full-time basis, such as those students identified in § 

22.1-253.13:2 N of the Code of Virginia; (ii) receiving 

homebound instruction pursuant to 8VAC20-131-180 

8VAC20-132-170 and as defined in 8VAC20-81-10, 

without regard to special education status; (iii) receiving 

home-based instruction pursuant to 8VAC20-81-10; and (iv) 

who are preschool students enrolled in a program operated 

by a school division or receiving services from school 

personnel. 

2. As used in this chapter, "student" shall not include 

children meeting compulsory attendance requirements of § 

22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia by (i) enrollment in private, 

denominational, or parochial schools; (ii) receipt of 

instruction by a tutor or teacher of qualifications prescribed 

by the Board of Education and approved by the relevant 

division superintendent; (iii) receipt of home instruction 

pursuant to § 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia or (iv) receipt 

of instruction in a secure facility or detention home as 

defined in § 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia or in a facility 

operated by the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. With regard to restraint and 

seclusion, students placed through public or private means 

in a private day or residential school for students with -

disabilities shall be afforded the protections set forth in 

8VAC20-671. 

"Traumatic brain injury" means an acquired injury to the 

brain caused by an external physical force or by other medical 

conditions, including stroke, anoxia, infectious disease, 

aneurysm, brain tumors, and neurological insults resulting 

from medical or surgical treatments, resulting in total or partial 

functional disability or psychosocial impairment, or both, that 

adversely affects a child's educational performance. 

"Traumatic brain injury" applies to open or closed head injuries 

resulting in impairments in one or more areas, such as 

cognition; language; memory; attention; reasoning; abstract 

thinking; judgment; problem-solving; sensory, perceptual, and 

motor abilities; psychosocial behavior; physical functions; 

information processing; and speech. "Traumatic brain injury" 

does not apply to brain injuries that are congenital or 

degenerative, or to brain injuries induced by birth trauma. 

8VAC20-760-30. Exemption from regulatory provisions. 

A. In conjunction with the designation of an SDI, the board 

may exempt a local school board from board regulations as 

requested in a school division's plan of innovation. However, 

the board shall not grant exemptions from the following 

provisions: 

1. Regulations mandated by state or federal law; 

2. Regulations designed to promote health or safety; 

3. Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for 

Children with Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-81); 

4. Student achievement expectations (8VAC20-131-30) 

(8VAC20-132-40); 

5. Requirements for graduation (8VAC20-131-50 and 

8VAC20-131-51) (8VAC20-132-50 and 8VAC20-132-51); 

6. Program of instruction and learning objectives (8VAC20-

131-70) (8VAC20-132-70); or 

7. Part VIII of the Regulations Establishing Standards for 

Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia, School 

Accreditation (8VAC20-131-370 through 8VAC20-131-

430) Parts VIII and IX of the Virginia Standards of 

Accreditation (8VAC20-132-260 through 8VAC20-132-

320). 

B. The board may grant all or a portion of any request for such 

an exemption and designate conditions as appropriate. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8235; Filed April 16, 2025, 11:09 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-70; repealing 12VAC30-50-470). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (repealing 12VAC30-60-160). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-

120-630). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 19, 2025. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 19  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 5, 2025  

2136 

Agency Contact: Syreeta Stewart, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 298-

3863, FAX (804) 786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance, and 

§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Director of 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance 

according to the board's requirements. The Medicaid authority, 

as established by § 1902(a) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 

§ 301 et seq.), provides governing authority for payments for 

services. 

Purpose: These amendments remove outdated language related 

to case management services for recipients of auxiliary grants. 

These services have not been provided in over 10 years and the 

requirements can be repealed. The changes are essential to the 

health, safety, and welfare of Medicaid recipients because the 

changes ensure that the regulations align with current DMAS 

practices and the state plan. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is expected to be noncontroversial and therefore 

appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process because 

DMAS has not provided case management services to 

recipients of auxiliary grants in over 10 years, and the 

provisions have had no effect since then. 

Substance: The amendments remove outdated language related 

to case management services for recipients of auxiliary grants 

and bring the regulations into alignment with the state plan and 

DMAS current practices. 

Issues: These changes create no disadvantages to the public, 

the agency, the Commonwealth, or the regulated community. 

The primary advantage is that the changes repeal outdated 

language to align the regulations with the state plan and DMAS 

current practices. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Director of Medical Assistance Services, on behalf of the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services (board), proposes to 

repeal the regulation concerning the provision of case 

management services to assisted living facility residents who 

receive auxiliary grants. 

Background. This action would repeal coverage for case 

management services provided to assisted living facility 

residents who receive auxiliary grants. Auxiliary grants are a 

state supplement to supplemental security income, or for 

individuals who are aged, blind, or disabled. Previously, 

auxiliary grant recipients that resided in assisted living 

facilities were provided case management services through 

Medicaid. However, the utilization of this service was very 

low. Only 11 persons received services in 2011 and none since 

that time. The last claims paid for this service were in calendar 

year 2012. As a result, the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) submitted a state plan amendment to the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to remove the 

outdated case management language from the state plan and 

the change was approved on September 11, 2024. The 

proposed repeal of the regulation would align the Virginia 

Administrative Code with the state plan language. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: The proposed changes would 

eliminate language pertaining to the provision of Medicaid 

case management services to auxiliary grant recipients residing 

in assisted living facilities. Since these services have not been 

provided under the regulatory authority being repealed in this 

action for over 10 years, no significant economic impact is 

expected other than aligning the regulatory text with the state 

plan and eliminating the potential for confusion. Further, 

DMAS states that if these individuals met the criteria, they may 

receive other types of state plan case management services 

(e.g., developmental disabilities case management, mental 

health case management, substance use disorder case 

management). 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments should not affect any entity since no services have 

been provided under the regulatory authority for over 10 years. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.2 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.3 Since the proposal 

does not increase net costs or reduce net benefits for any entity, 

no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs, nor do they disproportionally affect localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property nor on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
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affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

3 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

5 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

6 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

7 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and raises no issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove provisions associated with case 

management services for assisted living facility residents 

receiving auxiliary grants. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) has not provided this service 

for over 10 years, so the regulations are outdated, and the 

provisions must be removed to align with current 

practices. DMAS submitted a state plan amendment (SPA) 

to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to 

remove the outdated case management language from the 

state plan. The SPA was approved on September 11, 2024, 

and this action will align the Virginia Administrative Code 

with state plan language.  

12VAC30-50-70. Services or devices not provided to the 

medically needy. 

The following services and devices shall not be provided to 

the medically needy: 

1. Chiropractor services. 

2. Private duty nursing services. 

3. Dentures. 

4. Diagnostic or preventive services other than those 

provided elsewhere in the State Plan. 

5. Inpatient hospital services, skilled nursing facility 

services, and intermediate care facility services for 

individuals 65 years of age or older in institutions for mental 

diseases. 

6. Intermediate care facility services (other than such 

services in an institution for mental diseases) for persons 

determined in accordance with § 1905(a)(4)(A) of the Social 

Security Act (the Act), to be in need of such care in a public 

institution, or a distinct part thereof, for persons with 

intellectual or developmental disability or related 

conditions. 

7. (Reserved.) 

8. Special tuberculosis services under § 1902(z)(2)(F) of the 

Act. 

9. Respiratory care services (in accordance with 

§ 1920(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the Act). 

10. Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women furnished 

during a presumptive eligibility period by a qualified 

provider (in accordance with § 1920 of the Act). 

11. Personal care services in a recipient's home, prescribed 

in accordance with a plan of treatment and provided by a 

qualified person under supervision of a registered nurse. 

12. Home and community care for functionally disabled 

elderly individuals, as defined, described and limited in 

12VAC30-50-470. 

13. Personal care services furnished to an individual who is 

not an inpatient or resident of a hospital, nursing facility, 

intermediate care facility for intellectually or 

developmentally disabled persons, or institution for mental 

disease that are (i) authorized for the individual by a 

physician in accordance with a plan of treatment, (ii) 

provided by an individual who is qualified to provide such 

services and who is not a member of the individual's family, 

and (iii) furnished in a home. 

12VAC30-50-470. Case management for recipients of 

auxiliary grants. (Repealed.) 

A. Target group. Recipients of optional state supplements 

(auxiliary grants) as defined in 12VAC30-40-350 (Attachment 

2.6 B), who reside in licensed adult care residences.  

B. Services will be provided in the entire state.  

C. Services are not comparable in amount, duration, and 

scope. Authority of § 1915(g)(1) of the Act is invoked to 
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provide services without regard to the requirements of 

§ 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Act.  

D. Definition of services. The case management services will 

provide assessment, service location, coordination and 

monitoring for aged, blind and disabled individuals who are 

applying for or receiving an optional state supplement 

(auxiliary grant) to pay the cost of residential or assisted living 

care in a licensed adult care residence in order to facilitate 

access to and receipt of the most appropriate placement. In 

addition, the case management services will provide for 

periodic reassessment to determine whether the placement 

continues to meet the needs of the recipient of optional state 

supplement (auxiliary grant) and to arrange for transfer to a 

more appropriate placement or arrange for supplemental 

services as the needs of the individual change.  

E. Qualifications of providers. A qualified case manager for 

recipients of auxiliary grants must be a qualified employee of 

a human service agency as required in § 63.1-25.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. To qualify as a provider of case management for 

auxiliary grant recipients, the human service agency:  

1. Must employ or contract for case managers who have 

experience or have been trained in establishing, and in 

periodically reviewing and revising, individual community 

care plans and in the provision of case management services 

to elderly persons and to disabled adults;  

2. Must have signed an agreement with the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services to deliver case management 

services to aged, blind and disabled recipients of optional 

state supplements (auxiliary grants);  

3. Shall have written procedures for assuring the quality of 

case management services; and  

4. Must ensure that claims are submitted for payment only 

when the services were performed by case managers 

meeting these qualifications. The case manager must possess 

a combination of work experience in human services or 

health care and relevant education which indicates that the 

individual possesses the following knowledge, skills, and 

abilities at entry level. These must be documented on the job 

application form or supporting documentation.  

a. Knowledge of:  

(1) Aging;  

(2) The impact of disabilities and illnesses on elderly and 

nonelderly persons;  

(3) Conducting client assessments (including 

psychosocial, health and functional factors) and their uses 

in care planning;  

(4) Interviewing techniques;  

(5) Consumers' rights;  

(6) Local human and health service delivery systems, 

including support services and public benefits eligibility 

requirements;  

(7) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 

relationships;  

(8) Effective oral, written, and interpersonal 

communication principles and techniques;  

(9) General principles of record documentation; and  

(10) Service planning process and the major components 

of a service plan.  

b. Skills in:  

(1) Negotiating with consumers and service providers;  

(2) Observing, recording and reporting behaviors;  

(3) Identifying and documenting a consumer's needs for 

resources, services and other assistance;  

(4) Identifying services within the established services 

system to meet the consumer's needs;  

(5) Coordinating the provision of services by diverse 

public and private providers; and  

(6) Analyzing and planning for the service needs of elderly 

or disabled persons.  

c. Abilities to:  

(1) Demonstrate a positive regard for consumers and their 

families;  

(2) Be persistent and remain objective;  

(3) Work as a team member, maintaining effective inter- 

and intra-agency working relationships;  

(4) Work independently, performing position duties under 

general supervision;  

(5) Communicate effectively, verbally and in writing;  

(6) Develop a rapport and communicate with different 

types of persons from diverse cultural backgrounds; and  

(7) Interview.  

d. Individuals meeting all the above qualifications shall be 

considered a qualified case manager; however, it is 

preferred that the case manager possess a minimum of an 

undergraduate degree in a human services field, or be a 

licensed nurse. In addition, it is preferable that the case 

manager have two years of experience in the human 

services field working with the aged or disabled.  

e. To obtain DMAS payment, the case management 

provider must maintain in a resident's record a copy of the 

resident's assessment, plan of care, all reassessments, and 

documentation of all contacts, including but not limited to 

face-to-face contacts with the resident, made in regard to 

the resident.  

F. The state assures that the provision of case management 

services will not restrict an individual's free choice of providers 

in violation of § 1902(a)(23) of the Act.  

G. Payment for case management services under the plan 

does not duplicate payments made to public agencies or private 

entities under other program authorities for this same purpose.  
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H. Payment for case management services is limited to no 

more than one visit during each calendar quarter. In order to 

bill for case management services during a calendar quarter, 

the case manager must comply with the documentation 

requirements of subdivision E 4 e of this section and have 

documented contact with the resident during that quarter.  

12VAC30-60-160. Utilization review of case management 

for recipients of auxiliary grants. (Repealed.) 

A. Criteria of need for case management services. It shall be 

the responsibility of the assessor who identifies the individual's 

need for residential or assisted living in an adult care residence 

to assess the need for case management services. The case 

manager shall, at a minimum, update the assessment and make 

any necessary referrals for service as part of the case 

management annual visit. Case management services may be 

initiated at any time during the year that a need is identified.  

B. Coverage limits. DMAS shall reimburse for one case 

management visit per year for every individual who receives 

an auxiliary grant. For individuals meeting the following 

ongoing case management criteria, DMAS shall reimburse for 

one case management visit per calendar quarter:  

1. The individual needs the coordination of multiple services 

and the individual does not currently have support available 

that is willing to assist in the coordination of and access to 

services, and a referral to a formal or informal support 

system will not meet the individual's needs; or  

2. The individual has an identified need in his physical 

environment, support system, financial resources, emotional 

or physical health which must be addressed to ensure the 
individual's health and welfare and other formal or informal 

supports have either been unsuccessful in their efforts or are 

unavailable to assist the individual in resolving the need.  

C. Documentation requirements.  

1. The update to the assessment shall be required annually 

regardless of whether the individual is authorized for ongoing 

case management.  

2. A care plan and documentation of contacts must be 

maintained by the case manager for persons authorized for 

ongoing case management.  

a. The care plan must be a standardized written description of 

the needs which cannot be met by the adult care residence and 

the resident-specific goals, objectives and time frames for 

completion. This care plan must be updated annually at the 

time of reassessment, including signature by both the resident 

and case manager.  

b. The case manager shall provide ongoing monitoring and 

arrangement of services according to the care plan and must 

maintain documentation recording all contacts made with or 

on behalf of the resident.  

12VAC30-120-630. Covered services. 

A. The MCO shall, at a minimum, provide all medically 

necessary Medicaid covered services required under the state plan 

(12VAC30-50-10 through 12VAC30-50-310, 12VAC30-50-410 

through 12VAC30-50-430, and 12VAC30-50-470 12VAC30-50-

480 through 12VAC30-50-580) and; Elderly and Disabled with 

Consumer Direction waiver regulations (12VAC30-120-924 and 

12VAC30-120-927) and the Technology Assisted waiver 

regulations (12VAC30-120-1720); and, effective January 1, 2018, 

community mental health services (12VAC30-50-130 and 

12VAC30-50-226). 

B. The following services are not covered by the MCO and shall 

be provided through fee-for-service outside the CCC Plus MCO 

contract: 

1. Dental services (12VAC30-50-190); 

2. School health services (12VAC30-50-130); 

3. Preadmission screening (12VAC30-60-303); 

4. Individual and Developmental Disability Support waiver 

services (12VAC30-120-700 et seq.); 

5. Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et seq.); 

or 

6. Day Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-1500 et seq.); or 

4. Community waiver services for individuals with 

developmental disabilities (12VAC30-122). 

C. The Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly, or PACE, 

is not available to CCC Plus members. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8111; Filed April 15, 2025, 2:20 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC80-20. Hearing Aid Specialists 

Regulations (amending 18VAC80-20-10, 18VAC80-20-30, 

18VAC80-20-40, 18VAC80-20-50, 18VAC80-20-80, 

18VAC80-20-90, 18VAC80-20-140, 18VAC80-20-220, 

18VAC80-20-230, 18VAC80-20-250, 18VAC80-20-270; 

repealing 18VAC80-20-20, 18VAC80-20-100 through 

18VAC80-20-130, 18VAC80-20-150, 18VAC80-20-160, 

18VAC80-20-210, 18VAC80-20-240). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information: 

June 3, 2025 - 10:25 a.m. - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 200, 

Board Room One, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 4, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board for 

Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (866) 245-9693, or email hasopt@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians to promulgate 

regulations necessary to ensure continued competency and 

prevent deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners and 

to effectively administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The board protects the public welfare in part by 

establishing through regulation (i) the minimum qualifications 

of applicants for licensure, provided that all qualifications are 

necessary to ensure either competence or integrity to engage in 

the profession or occupation; (ii) minimum standards to ensure 

continued competency and to prevent deceptive or misleading 

practices by practitioners; and (iii) requirements to effectively 

administer the regulatory system administered by the board. To 

the extent that any provision of this chapter is not necessary to 

protect the public health, safety, and welfare, or not necessary 

to effectively administer the licensure program, the board 

proposes to eliminate or reduce the burden of the requirement. 

Substance: The proposed amendments: 

1. Revise and remove definitions. 

2. Revise subjects for training and experience as qualification 

for licensure. 

3. Add registered apprenticeship as a new training option for 

licensure. 

4. Revise requirements for disclosure of prior criminal history 

to reduce the stringency of the current criminal history 

disclosure requirement. 

5. Revise provisions for temporary permits, including (i) 

extending the term of such permits to 18 months, (ii) allowing 

a registered apprenticeship under the Virginia Department of 

Workforce Development and Advancement (VDWDA) to be 

considered a temporary permit, and (iii) adding stipulations 

that sponsors cannot refer permit holders for the license 

examination until the permit holder has accrued six months of 

experience. 

6. Revise provisions related to individuals licensed as a hearing 

aid specialist in another jurisdiction, including (i) replacing the 

term "reciprocity" with the term "endorsement" to describe the 

licensure of such individuals and (ii) providing that individuals 

who can demonstrate active engagement in the profession for 

the preceding five years need only take the rules and 

regulations portion of the license examination. 

7. Increase to four the number of attempts a temporary permit 

holder has to pass any section of the license examination before 

the temporary permit automatically expires and clarify 

components of the examination. 

8. Provide that licenses expire two years from the effective date 

and that the board may use email to send renewal notices. 

9. Revise provisions related to reinstatement of licenses, 

including consolidating reinstatement provisions. 

10. Repeal provisions requiring certain disclosures to a 

purchaser or prospective purchaser when first contact is 

established. 

11. Remove vague requirements pertaining to compliance with 

various federal and state statutes and regulations, disclosures 

on hearing aid containers, charging of nonrefundable fees, and 

a requirement to disclose hearing aid warranty. 

12. Remove a requirement that a hearing aid specialist 

ascertain whether a child has been examined by an 

otolaryngologist prior to fitting. 

13. Repeal requirements that a regulant must (i) recommend 

that an adult client obtain a written statement from a licensed 

physician that the patient's hearing loss has been medically 

evaluated or (ii) obtain a waiver from the client in the event the 

client declines such recommendation. 

14. Clarify that air conduction tests and bone conduction tests 

must be performed in accordance with American National 

Standards Institute standards. 

15. Revise prohibited acts to (i) remove a prohibited act 

relating to advertising of hearing aids and (ii) reduce reporting 

requirements for criminal convictions. 

Issues: This action offers several advantages for both the 

regulated community (i.e., applicants and licensees) and the 

public. The action allows registered apprentices to qualify for 

licensure, providing more avenues for individuals to enter the 

profession; reduces the stringency of criminal conviction 

disclosure requirements; and removes burdensome 

requirements in the standards of practice and conduct. One 

advantage to the public is that the action better ensures 

minimum competency by allowing temporary permit holders 

to have minimum experience requirements before taking the 

license examination. The proposed amendment may have 

potential disadvantages for the regulated community, 

including that temporary permit holders may experience a 

delay in taking the licensing exam due to the new experience 

requirement. Additionally, some stakeholders may view the 

removal of requirements in standards of practice and conduct 

as weakening protections for the public. There are no 

identifiable advantages or disadvantages to the agency or 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 
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estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (board) 

proposes to (i) reduce the stringency of licensure by 

endorsement for those who have been active in the profession 

during the past five years, (ii) change the expiration date of 

licenses, (iii) afford one more chance to temporary permit 

holders to pass any part of the license examination, (iv) reduce 

the stringency of disclosure of criminal convictions, and (v) 

allow a post office box as a secondary address. 

Background. This regulation governs those who engage in the 

practice of fitting or dealing in prescription hearing aids. 

DPOR states that to comply with Executive Directive Number 

One (2022), the board reviewed discretionary requirements 

imposed on regulated parties. The proposed amendments to the 

regulation discussed below reflect the board's consideration in 

eliminating current substantive requirements that are not 

deemed necessary to protect public health, safety, and welfare, 

or to effectively administer the licensure program. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: One of the proposed changes 

would reduce the requirements associated with the licensing 

examination. The examination is composed of three sections 

(with the associated fees in parentheses) as follows: written 

($250), practical ($90), and rules and regulations ($35). 

Currently, license applicants by reciprocity or endorsement 

may be required to take certain sections if the licensing state 

did not administer that section of the examination. The board 

would instead stipulate that individuals licensed as hearing aid 

specialists in another jurisdiction who have been actively 

engaged in the profession for the past five years would be only 

required to take the rules and regulations section. According to 

DPOR, in the past four years, 17 of 59 reciprocity candidates 

were required to take the practical section, and 10 of 59 were 

required to take the written section. Under the proposed 

change, such applicants would only be required to take the 

rules and regulations section. Thus, the expected annualized 

fee savings to regulants amounts to $382.50 from the practical 

section (17 candidates multiplied by $90 exam fee per four 

years), $625 from the written section (10 candidates multiplied 

by $250 exam fee per four years) and the time, travel, and other 

expenses to take these examinations. The written examination 

fees are collected by a vendor while the practical examination 

fees are collected by DPOR. Hence, the estimated written and 

practical examination fee savings to the regulants would also 

represent a revenue reduction for both the vendor and DPOR, 

respectively. The board also proposes to change the expiration 

date of all licenses from December 31 on an even-numbered 

year to two years after the effective date. For example, under 

the current regulation if someone received a license on August 

1, 2022, it would expire on December 31, 2022. As a result, 

they would only have the license for four months before 

needing to pay for a renewal. The proposed change would 

extend the duration of the initial license, thereby reducing early 

renewal costs to the licensees and associated revenues to 

DPOR. According to DPOR, 112 license renewals were issued 

between February 1, 2023, and September 2024 that expired 

before two years of the issuance date. Another proposed 

change would allow a temporary permit holder four successive 

examinations, rather than three, to achieve a passing score on 

any section of the licensing examination in order to avoid 

expiration of the temporary permit and the need to request an 

extension. This change would afford one more chance to pass 

any part of the examination to become fully licensed and likely 

reduce the number of extension requests. DPOR reports that 

over the past four years, 29 out of 237 temporary permit 

holders requested an extension. This equates to an average of 

seven extension requests per year. Under the proposal, the 

average extension requests should be fewer than seven per 

year. The board also proposes changes involving convictions. 

One change would reduce the look-back period for 

misdemeanor convictions involving sexual offense or physical 

injury from within five years prior to application for licensure 

to three years. Additionally, the board proposes to limit the 

required disclosure of felony convictions to those involving 

sexual offense, physical injury, drug distribution, or that 

involve the practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids; 

currently, any felony conviction must be disclosed. Both of 

these disclosure requirements are less stringent and may 

increase the number of individuals applying who may have 

previously been discouraged from applying based on their 

criminal history. Additionally, the use of less stringent criminal 

disclosure requirements may reduce the number of cases the 

board may have to consider, given that criminal convictions do 

not automatically disqualify an applicant from obtaining a 

license and are decided on a case-by-case basis by the board. 

Finally, this action would allow an applicant to provide a post 

office box as a secondary address, providing more 

administrative flexibility. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. According to DPOR, 

as of February 1, 2025, there were 917 hearing aid specialists 

and 56 temporary permit holders in the Commonwealth. None 

of the affected entities appear to be disproportionately affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.2 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.3 No longer requiring 

the written part of the exam for certain applicants is expected 

to reduce vendor revenues by $625 per year. Thus, an adverse 

impact on the written exam vendor is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 The vendor for the written exam 

is likely a small business. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected: 

There is a single vendor that conducts the written exams. 

Costs and Other Effects: The vendor would likely see 

approximately $625 per year in exam revenue reduction. 
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Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact: There are no 

clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact and 

meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not introduce 

costs for localities nor do they disproportionately affect any 

locality. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The use of less stringent 

disclosure requirements may expand the pool of potential 

applicants. However, the impact on total employment is not 

known, but would likely be small if any. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Although many 

licensed hearing aid specialist professionals are likely owners or 

employees of business entities, the proposed rules apply to 

licensed individuals. The asset value of the written exam vendor 

may be negatively affected due to moderate revenue loss. No 

impact on real estate development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (i) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (ii) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (iii) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (iv) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(v) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

3 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

5 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (i) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (iii) a statement of the 

probable effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and 

(iv) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 

2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed 

regulation may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint 

Commission on Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

6 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

7 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board for 

Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians concurs with the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update and revise 

definitions, (ii) update entry requirements, (iii) reduce the 

stringency of licensure by endorsement for those who have 

been active in the profession during the past five years, 

(iv) revise renewal and reinstatement provisions, (v) 

update standards of practice and conduct, (vi) change the 

expiration date of licenses to two years after the effective 

date, (vii) afford one more chance to temporary permit 

holders to pass any part of the license examination, (viii) 

reduce the stringency of disclosure of criminal 

convictions, and (ix) allow a post office box as a 

secondary address.  

18VAC80-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-1500 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Audiologist" 

"Board" 

"Hearing aid" 

"Licensed hearing aid specialist" 

"Licensed physician" 

"Practice of audiology" 

"Practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids" 

"Prescription hearing aid" 

"Sell" or "sale" 

"Temporary permit" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Audiologist" means any person who engages in the practice 

of audiology as defined by § 54.1-2600 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Board" means Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and 

Opticians. 

"ANSI" means the American National Standards Institute. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. 

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state. 

"Hearing aid specialist" means a person who engages in the 

practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids or who advertises 
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or displays a sign or represents himself as a person who 

practices the fitting or dealing in hearing aids. 

"Licensed sponsor" means a licensed hearing aid specialist 

who is responsible for training one or more individuals holding 

a temporary permit. 

"Licensee" means any person holding a valid license issued 

by the Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians for the 

practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids, as defined in 

§ 54.1-1500 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Otolaryngologist" means a licensed physician specializing in 

ear, nose, and throat disorders. 

"Reciprocity" means an agreement between two or more 

states to recognize and accept one another's regulations and 

laws. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for 

another period of time. 

"Temporary permit holder" means any person who holds a 

valid temporary permit under this chapter. 

18VAC80-20-20. Explanation of terms. (Repealed.) 

Each reference in this chapter to a person shall be deemed to 

refer, as appropriate, to the masculine and the feminine, to the 

singular and the plural, and to the natural persons and 

organizations.  

18VAC80-20-30. Basic qualifications for licensure. 

A. Every applicant for a license shall must provide 

information on his an application establishing that: 

1. The applicant is at least 18 years of age. 

2. The applicant has successfully completed high school or 

a high school equivalency course. 

3. The applicant has training and experience that covers the 

following subjects as they the subjects pertain to hearing aid 

fitting and the sale of hearing aids, accessories, and services: 

a. Basic physics of sound; 

b. Basic maintenance and repair of hearing aids; 

c. The anatomy and physiology of the ear; 

d. Introduction to psychological aspects of hearing loss; 

e. d. The function of hearing aids and amplification; 

f. e. Visible disorders of the ear requiring medical 

referrals; 

g. f. Practical tests utilized for selection or modification of 

hearing aids; 

h. Pure g. Audiometric testing, including pure tone 

audiometry, including air conduction, and bone 

conduction, and related tests speech reception threshold 

testing, and speech discrimination testing; 

i. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry, 

including speech reception threshold testing and speech 

discrimination testing; 

j. h. Masking when indicated; 

k. i. Recording and evaluating audiograms and speech 

audiometry to determine the proper selection and 

adaptation of hearing aids; 

l. j. Taking earmold impressions; 

m. k. Proper earmold selection; 

n. l. Adequate instruction in proper hearing aid orientation; 

o. m. Necessity of proper procedures in after-fitting 

checkup; and 

p. n. Availability of social service resources and other 

special resources for the hearing impaired. 

4. The applicant has provided one of the following as 

verification of completion of training and experience as 

described in subdivision 3 of this subsection: 

a. A statement on a form provided by the board signed by 

the licensed sponsor certifying that the requirements have 

been met and the applicant has completed at least six 

months of experience under the temporary permit; or 

b. A certified true copy of a transcript of courses 

completed at an accredited college or university, or other 

notarized documentation of completion of the required 

experience and training; or 

c. An apprenticeship completion form from the Virginia 

Department of Workforce Development and 

Advancement reflecting completion of a registered 

apprenticeship, including all required related instruction, 

or an equivalent out-of-state registered apprenticeship. 

5. The applicant has not been convicted or found guilty of 

any crime directly related to the practice of fitting or dealing 

in hearing aids, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in 

any jurisdiction of the United States. Except for 

misdemeanor marijuana convictions and misdemeanor 

convictions that occurred five or more years prior to the date 

of application, with no subsequent convictions, all criminal 

convictions shall be considered as part of the totality of the 

circumstances of each applicant. The applicant review of 

prior convictions shall be subject to the requirements of In 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

purposes of this subdivision, each applicant must disclose 

the following information regarding criminal convictions in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. Misdemeanor convictions that occurred within three 

years of the date of application involving sexual offense 

or physical injury; and 
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b. Felony convictions involving sexual offense, physical 

injury, or drug distribution or felony convictions involving 

the practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids. 

The record of a conviction authenticated in such form as to 

be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such conviction or guilt. The board has the authority to 

determine, based upon all the information available, 

including the applicant's record of prior convictions, if the 

applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the hearing aid 

specialist profession. 

6. The applicant is in good standing as a licensed hearing aid 

specialist in every jurisdiction where licensed. The applicant 

must disclose if he the applicant has had a license as a 

hearing aid specialist that was suspended, revoked, or 

surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or that 

has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to 

applying for licensure in Virginia. At the time of application 

for licensure, the applicant must also disclose any 

disciplinary action taken in another jurisdiction in 

connection with the applicant's practice as a hearing aid 

specialist. The applicant must also disclose whether he has 

been previously licensed in Virginia as a hearing aid 

specialist. 

7. The applicant has disclosed his the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable may be provided 

as a secondary address. 

8. The nonresident applicant for a license has filed and 

maintained with the department an irrevocable consent for 

the department to serve as service agent for all actions filed 

in any court in Virginia. 

9. The applicant has submitted the required application with 

the proper fee as referenced in 18VAC80-20-70 and signed, 

as part of the application, a statement that the applicant has 

read and understands Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the qualifications of the applicant or require a 

personal interview or both. The board may refuse initial 

licensure due to the applicant's failure to comply with entry 

requirements. The licensee is entitled to a review of such 

action. Appeals from such actions shall, which will be in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Process 

Act, Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia). 

18VAC80-20-40. Temporary permit. 

A. Any individual may apply for a temporary permit, which 

is to be used solely for the purpose of gaining the training and 

experience required to become a licensed hearing aid specialist 

in Virginia. The licensed sponsor shall must be identified on 

the application for a temporary permit, and the licensed 

sponsor shall must comply strictly with the provisions of 

subdivisions B D 1 and B D 2 of this section. 

1. A temporary permit shall will be issued for a period of 12 

months and may be extended once for not longer than six 18 

months. After a period of 18 months an extension is no 

longer possible and, the former temporary permit holder 

shall must sit for the examination in accordance with this 

section. 

2. The board may, at its discretion, extend the temporary 

permit for a temporary permit holder who suffers serious 

personal illness or injury, or a death in his the permit holder's 

immediate family, or for obligation of military service or 

service in the Peace Corps, or for other good cause of similar 

magnitude approved by the board. Documentation of these 

circumstances must be received by the board no later than 

12 months after the date of the expiration of the temporary 

permit or within six months of the completion of military or 

Peace Corps service, whichever is later. 

B. A registered apprenticeship under the Virginia Department 

of Workforce Development and Advancement is held to be a 

board-approved temporary permit. 

C. Every applicant for a temporary permit shall must provide 

information upon application establishing that: 

1. The applicant for a temporary permit is at least 18 years 

of age. 

2. The applicant for a temporary permit has successfully 

completed high school or a high school equivalency course. 

3. The applicant has not been convicted or found guilty of 

any crime directly related to the practice of fitting or dealing 

in hearing aids, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in 

any jurisdiction of the United States. Except for 

misdemeanor marijuana convictions and misdemeanor 

convictions that occurred five or more years prior to the date 

of application, with no subsequent convictions, all criminal 

convictions shall be considered as part of the totality of the 

circumstances of each applicant. Review of prior 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of In 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

purposes of this subdivision, each applicant for a temporary 

permit must disclose the following information regarding 

criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. Misdemeanor convictions that occurred within three 

years of the date of application involving sexual offense 

or physical injury; and 

b. Felony convictions involving sexual offense, physical 

injury, or drug distribution or felony convictions involving 

the practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids. 

The record of a conviction authenticated in such form as to 

be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 
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of such conviction or guilt. The board has the authority to 

determine, based upon all the information available, 

including the applicant's record of prior convictions, if the 

applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the hearing aid 

specialist profession. 

4. The applicant for a temporary permit is in good standing 

as a licensed hearing aid specialist in every jurisdiction 

where licensed. The applicant for a temporary permit must 

disclose if he the applicant has had a license as a hearing aid 

specialist that was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in 

connection with a disciplinary action or that has been the 

subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for 

licensure in Virginia. At the time of application, the 

applicant for a temporary permit must also disclose any 

disciplinary action taken in another jurisdiction in 

connection with the applicant's practice as a hearing aid 

specialist. The applicant for a temporary permit must also 

disclose whether he has been licensed previously in Virginia 

as a hearing aid specialist. 

5. The applicant for a temporary permit has disclosed his the 

applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 

acceptable may be provided as a secondary address. 

6. The applicant for a temporary permit has submitted the 

required application with the proper fee referenced in 

18VAC80-20-70 and has signed, as part of the application, 

a statement that the applicant has read and understands 

Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter. 

C. D. The licensed hearing aid specialist who agrees to 

sponsor the applicant for a temporary permit shall must certify 

on the application that as sponsor, he the licensed hearing aid 

specialist: 

1. Assumes full responsibility for the competence and proper 

conduct of the temporary permit holder with regard to all 

acts performed pursuant to the acquisition of training and 

experience in the fitting or dealing of hearing aids; 

2. Will not assign the temporary permit holder to carry out 

independent field work without on-site direct supervision by 

the sponsor until the temporary permit holder is adequately 

trained for such activity; 

3. Will personally provide and make available 

documentation, upon request by the board or its 

representative, showing the number of hours that direct 

supervision has occurred throughout the period of the 

temporary permit; and 

4. Will return the temporary permit to the department should 

the training program be discontinued for any reason; and 

5. Will not refer the temporary permit holder for testing until 

the temporary permit holder has completed at least six 

months of training under the permit. 

D. E. The licensed sponsor shall must provide training and 

shall must ensure that the temporary permit holder under his 

the licensed sponsor's supervision gains experience that covers 

the following subjects as they pertain to hearing aid fitting and 

the sale of hearing aids, accessories, and services: 

1. Basic physics of sound; 

2. Basic maintenance and repair of hearing aids; 

3. The anatomy and physiology of the ear; 

4. Introduction to psychological aspects of hearing loss; 

5. 4. The function of hearing aids and amplification; 

6. 5. Visible disorders of the ear requiring medical referrals; 

7. 6. Practical tests utilized for selection or modification of 

hearing aids; 

8. Pure 7. Audiometric testing, including pure tone 

audiometry, including air conduction, and bone conduction, 

speech reception threshold testing, and related tests speech 

discrimination testing; 

9. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry, 

including speech reception threshold testing and speech 

discrimination testing; 

10. 8. Masking when indicated; 

11. 9. Recording and evaluating audiograms and speech 

audiometry to determine the proper selection and adaptation 

of hearing aids; 

12. 10. Taking earmold impressions; 

13. 11. Proper earmold selection; 

14. 12. Adequate instruction in proper hearing aid 

orientation; 

15. 13. Necessity of proper procedures in after-fitting 

checkup; and 

16. 14. Availability of social service resources and other 

special resources for the hearing impaired. 

E. F. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the qualifications of the applicant for a 

temporary permit or require a personal interview, or both. 

F. G. All correspondence from the board to the temporary 

permit holder not otherwise exempt from disclosure, shall must 

be addressed to both the temporary permit holder and the 

licensed sponsor and shall must be sent to the business address 

of the licensed sponsor. 

18VAC80-20-50. Qualifications for licensure by reciprocity 

endorsement. 

A. Every applicant for Virginia licensure through reciprocity 

endorsement who is currently licensed as a hearing aid 

specialist in good standing in another jurisdiction shall must 
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provide information upon application establishing that the 

requirements and standards under which the license was issued 

are substantially equivalent to and not conflicting with the 

provisions of this chapter. The applicant shall must file the 

application for reciprocity endorsement with, and pay a fee to, 

the board, and must successfully complete the specified 

sections of the examination. 

B. Every applicant for Virginia licensure through 

endorsement that can demonstrate active engagement in the 

profession for the preceding five years will only be required to 

take the rules and regulations portion of the examination. 

18VAC80-20-80. Examinations. 

A. All examinations required for licensure shall must be 

approved by the board and administered by the board, a testing 

service acting on behalf of the board, or another governmental 

agency or organization. 

B. The candidate for examination shall must follow all rules 

established by the board with regard to conduct at the 

examination. Such rules shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on 

the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all rules 

established by the board with regard to conduct at the 

examination shall will be grounds for denial of the application. 

C. Applicants for licensure shall must pass a two part 

examination, of which Part I is a written examination and Part 

II is a, a rules and regulations examination, and all portions of 

the practical examination exam. 

1. The applicant shall must pass each section of the written 

and practical examination administered by the board. 

Candidates failing one or more sections of the written or 

practical examination will be required to retake only those 

sections failed. 

2. Any candidate failing to achieve a passing score on all 

sections in two years from the initial test date must reapply 

as a new applicant for licensure and repeat all sections of the 

written and practical examination examinations. 

3. If the temporary permit holder fails to achieve a passing 

score on any section of the examination in three four 

successive scheduled examinations, the temporary permit 

shall will expire upon receipt of the examination failure 

letter resulting from the third fourth attempt. 

18VAC80-20-90. License renewal required. 

A. Licenses issued under this chapter shall will expire on 

December 31 of each even-numbered year as indicated on the 

license two years from the license effective date. 

B. The board will mail or email a renewal notice to the 

licensee at the last known address. Failure to receive this notice 

does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. Prior 

to the expiration date shown on the license, each licensee 

desiring to renew a license must return to the board all required 

forms and the appropriate fee as outlined in 18VAC80-20-70. 

C. Licensees will be required to renew a license by submitting 

the proper fee made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. Any 

licensee who fails to renew within 30 days after the license 

expires will be required to apply for reinstatement. 

D. The board may deny renewal of a license for the same 

reasons as the board may refuse initial licensure as set forth in 

Part II (18VAC80-20-30 et seq.) of this chapter or discipline a 

licensee as set forth in Part V (18VAC80-20-180 et seq.) of this 

chapter. The licensee is entitled to a review of such action. 

Review of such actions will be in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

18VAC80-20-100. Procedures for renewal. (Repealed.) 

The board will mail a renewal application form to the licensee 

at the last known address. Failure to receive this notice shall 

not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. Prior to the 

expiration date shown on the license, each licensee desiring to 

renew his license must return to the board all required forms 

and the appropriate fee as outlined in 18VAC80-20-70 of this 

chapter.  

18VAC80-20-110. Fees for renewal. (Repealed.) 

Licensees shall be required to renew their license by 

submitting the proper fee made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia. Any licensee who fails to renew within 30 days after 

the license expires shall be required to apply for reinstatement.  

18VAC80-20-120. Board discretion to deny renewal. 

(Repealed.) 

The board may deny renewal of a license for the same reasons 

as it may refuse initial licensure as set forth in Part II or 

discipline a licensee as set forth in Part V of this chapter. The 

licensee is entitled to a review of such action. Appeals from 

such actions shall be in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act, Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of 

Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC80-20-130. Qualifications for renewal. (Repealed.) 

Applicants for renewal of a license shall continue to meet the 

standards of entry as set forth in 18VAC80-20-30 A 2, 

18VAC80-20-30 A 3 and, 18VAC80-20-30 A 5 through 

18VAC80-20-30 A 9.  

18VAC80-20-140. Reinstatement required. 

A. If a licensee fails to meet the requirements for renewal and 

submit the renewal fee within 30 days after the expiration date 

on the license, the licensee must apply for reinstatement on a 

form provided by the board. 

1. Applicants for reinstatement shall continue to meet the 

standards of entry in 18VAC80-20-30 A 2, 18VAC80-20-30 

A 3 and 18VAC80-20-30 A 5 through 18VAC80-20-30 A 9. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 19  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 5, 2025  

2147 

2. 1. Applicants for reinstatement shall must submit the 

required fee referenced in 18VAC80-20-70. 

3. 2. Two years after the expiration date on the license, 

reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume practice as a 

hearing aid specialist, the former licensee must apply as a 

new applicant for licensure, meeting all educational, 

examination, and experience requirements as listed in the 

regulations current at the time of reapplication. 

4. Any hearing aid specialist activity conducted subsequent 

to the expiration date of the license may constitute 

unlicensed activity and may be subject to prosecution by the 

Commonwealth under §§ 54.1-111 and 54.1-202 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

B. The board may deny reinstatement of a license for the same 

reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 

licensee. The licensee is entitled to a review of such action, 

which will be in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

C. When a license is reinstated, the license will continue to 

have the same license number and will be assigned an 

expiration date two years from the previous expiration date of 

the license, which is the expiration date assigned to all licenses 

at the time of reinstatement. 

D. A licensee who reinstates a license will be regarded as 

having been continually licensed without interruption. 

Therefore, the licensee shall remain under the disciplinary 

authority of the board during the entire period and may be held 

accountable for activities during this period. Nothing in this 

chapter will divest the board of authority to discipline a 

licensee for a violation of the law or regulations during the 

period of licensure. 

18VAC80-20-150. Board discretion to deny reinstatement. 

(Repealed.) 

The board may deny reinstatement of a license for the same 

reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 

licensee. The licensee is entitled to a review of such action. 

Appeals from such actions shall be in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act, Chapter 40 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC80-20-160. Status of license during the period prior 

to reinstatement. (Repealed.) 

A. When a licensee is reinstated, the license shall continue to 

have the same license number and shall be assigned an 

expiration date two years from the previous expiration date of 

the license, which is the expiration date assigned to all licenses 

at the time the license is reinstated.  

B. A licensee who reinstates his license shall be regarded as 

having been continually licensed without interruption. 

Therefore, the licensee shall remain under the disciplinary 

authority of the board during the entire period and may be held 

accountable for his activities during this period. Nothing in this 

chapter shall divest the board of its authority to discipline a 

licensee for a violation of the law or regulations during the 

period of licensure.  

18VAC80-20-210. Measures to take when first contact is 

established with any purchaser or prospective purchaser. 

(Repealed.) 

A. When first contact is established with any purchaser or 

prospective purchaser outside the hearing aid specialist's 

principal place of business, the licensee shall provide a 

disclosure form prescribed by the board containing 

information that the purchaser or prospective purchaser will 

need to obtain service/maintenance. The disclosure form shall 

include:  

1. Address and telephone number where the hearing aid 

specialist can be reached.  

2. Days and hours contact can be made;  

3. Whether service/maintenance will be provided in the 

office or in the home of the purchaser or prospective 

purchaser; and  

4. If the hearing aid specialist has no principal place of 

business in Virginia, a clear statement that there is no 

principal place of business in Virginia.  

B. When first contact is established with any purchaser or 

prospective purchaser the licensee shall:  

1. Advise the purchaser or prospective purchaser that 

hearing aid specialists are not licensed to practice medicine; 

and  

2. Advise the purchaser or prospective purchaser that no 

examination or representation made by the specialist should 

be regarded as a medical examination, opinion, or advice.  

a. A statement that this initial advice was given to the 

purchaser or prospective purchaser shall be entered on the 

purchase agreement in print as large as the other printed 

matter on the receipt.  

b. Exemption: Hearing aid specialists who are physicians 

licensed to practice medicine in Virginia are exempt from 

the requirements of this subsection.  

18VAC80-20-220. Purchase agreement. 

A. Each hearing aid shall must be sold through a purchase 

agreement that shall must: 

1. Show the licensee's business address, license number, 

business telephone number, and signature; 

2. Comply with federal and Virginia laws and regulations, 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations, the 

Virginia Home Solicitation Sales Act (Chapter 2.1 (§ 59.1-

21.1 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia), and the 
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Virginia Consumer Protection Act (Chapter 17 (§ 59.1-196 

et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia); 

3. 2. Clearly state, if the hearing aid is not new and is sold or 

rented, that it is "used" or "reconditioned," whichever is 

applicable, including the terms of warranty, if any. The 

hearing aid container shall be clearly marked with the same 

information contained in the purchase agreement; 

4. 3. Identify the brand names and model of the hearing aid 

being sold, and the serial number of the hearing aid shall 

must be provided, in writing, to the purchaser or prospective 

purchaser at the time of delivery of the hearing aid; 

5. 4. Disclose the full purchase price; 

6. 5. Disclose the down payment and periodic payment terms 

in cases where the purchase price is not paid in full at 

delivery; 

7. 6. Disclose any nonrefundable fees established in 

accordance with § 54.1-1505 of the Code of Virginia. 

Nonrefundable fees shall not be a percentage of the purchase 

price of the hearing aid; 

8. Disclose any warranty; 

9. 7. Explain the provisions of § 54.1-1505 of the Code of 

Virginia, which entitles the purchaser to return the hearing 

aid, in 10-point bold face type that is bolder than the type in 

the remainder of the purchase agreement; and 

10. 8. Disclose that the licensee or temporary permit holder 

is not a physician licensed to practice medicine in Virginia 

and that no examination or representation made shall will be 

regarded as a medical examination, opinion, or advice. 

B. Subdivision A 10 8 of this section shall will not apply to 

sales made by a licensed hearing aid specialist who is a 

physician licensed to practice medicine in Virginia. 

18VAC80-20-230. Fitting or sale of hearing aids for 

children. 

A. Any person engaging in the fitting or sale of hearing aids 

for a child under 18 years of age shall ascertain whether such 

child has been examined by an otolaryngologist or licensed 

physician within six months prior to fitting. 

B. A. No child under younger than 18 years of age shall will 

be initially fitted with a hearing aid or hearing aids unless the 

licensed hearing aid specialist has been presented with a 

written statement signed by an otolaryngologist stating the 

child's hearing loss has been medically evaluated and the child 

may be considered a candidate for a hearing aid. The medical 

evaluation must have taken place within the preceding six 

months. 

C. B. No child under younger than 18 years of age shall will 

be subsequently fitted with a hearing aid or hearing aids unless 

the licensed hearing aid specialist has been presented with a 

written statement signed by a licensed physician stating the 

child's hearing loss has been medically evaluated and the child 

may be considered a candidate for a hearing aid. The medical 

evaluation must have taken place within the preceding six 

months. 

18VAC80-20-240. Physician statement regarding adult 

client's medical evaluation of hearing loss. (Repealed.) 

A. Each licensee or holder of a temporary permit, in 

counseling and instructing adult clients and prospective adult 

clients related to the testing, fitting, and sale of hearing aids, 

shall be required to recommend that the client obtain a written 

statement signed by a licensed physician stating that the 

patient's hearing loss has been medically evaluated within the 

preceding six months and that the patient may be a candidate 

for a hearing aid.  

B. Should the client decline the recommendation, a statement 

of such declination shall be obtained from the client over his 

signature. Medical waivers that are a part of purchase 

agreements shall be in a separate section, which shall be signed 

by the client indicating his understanding of the medical 

waiver. A separate, additional client signature space shall be 

provided in all purchase agreements for the client to sign 

acknowledging his understanding of the purchase terms and 

conditions established by 18VAC80-20-200.  

1. Fully informed adult patients (18 years of age or older) 

may waive the medical evaluation.  

2. The hearing aid specialist is prohibited from actively 

encouraging a prospective user to waive a medical 

examination.  

C. The information provided in subsection A of this section 

must be made a part of the client's record kept by the hearing 

aid specialist.  

18VAC80-20-250. Testing procedures. 

It shall be is the duty of each licensee and holder of a 

temporary permit engaged in the fitting and sale of hearing aids 

to use appropriate testing procedures for each hearing aid 

fitting. All tests and case history information must be retained 

in the records of the specialist. The established requirements 

shall be are: 

1. Air Conduction Tests A.N.S.I. conduction tests are to be 

made on every client using ANSI standard frequencies of 

500-1000-2000-4000-6000-8000 Hertz. Intermediate 

frequencies shall must be tested if the threshold difference 

between octaves exceeds 15dB. Appropriate masking must 

be used if the difference between the two ears is 40 dB or 

more at any one frequency. 

2. Bone Conduction Tests conduction tests are to be made 

on every client--A.N.S.I. using ANSI. standards at 500-

1000-2000-4000 Hertz. Proper masking is to be applied if 

the air conduction and bone conduction readings for the test 
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ear at any one frequency differ by 15 dB or if lateralization 

occurs. 

3. Speech testings shall must be made before fittings and 

shall must be recorded with the type of test, method of 

presentation, and the test results. 

4. The specialist shall must check for the following 

conditions and, if they are found to exist, shall must refer the 

client to a licensed physician unless the client can show that 

his the client's present condition is under treatment or has 

been treated: 

a. Visible congenital or traumatic deformity of the ear. 

b. History of active drainage from the ear within the 

previous 90 days. 

c. History of sudden or rapidly progressive hearing loss 

within the previous 90 days. 

d. Acute or chronic dizziness. 

e. Unilateral hearing loss. 

f. Audiometric air bone gap equal to or greater than 15 dB 

at 500 Hertz, 1000 Hertz, and 2000 Hertz. 

g. Visible evidence or significant cerumen accumulation 

or a foreign body in the ear canal. 

h. Tinnitus as a primary symptom. 

i. Pain or discomfort in the ear. 

5. All tests shall must have been conducted no more than six 

months prior to the fitting. 

6. Post-fitting testing shall must be made and recorded with 

type of test, method of presentation and the test results. 

18VAC80-20-270. Grounds for discipline. 

The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any temporary permit holder or licensee, 

and or suspend, place on probation, or revoke, or refuse to 

renew any temporary permit or license or deny any application 

issued under the provisions of Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

Disciplinary procedures are governed by the Administrative 

Process Act, Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the 

Code of Virginia). In exercising its disciplinary function, the 

board will consider the totality of the circumstances of each 

case. Any licensee is subject to board discipline for any of the 

following: 

1. Improper conduct, including: 

a. Obtaining, renewing, or attempting to obtain a license 

by false or fraudulent representation; 

b. Obtaining any fee or making any sale by fraud or 

misrepresentation; 

c. Employing to fit or sell hearing aids a person who does 

not hold a valid license or a temporary permit, or whose 

license or temporary permit is suspended; 

d. Using, causing, or promoting the use of any misleading, 

deceptive, or untruthful advertising matter, promotional 

literature, testimonial, guarantee, warranty, label, brand, 

insignia, or any other representation, whether 

disseminated orally or published; 

e. Advertising a particular model or type of hearing aid for 

sale when purchasers or prospective purchasers 

responding to the advertisement cannot purchase the 

advertised model or type; 

f. e. Representing that the service or advice of a person 

licensed to practice medicine or audiology will be used in 

the selection, fitting, adjustment, maintenance, or repair of 

hearing aids when that is not true, or using the words 

"physician," "audiologist," "clinic," "hearing service," 

"hearing center," or similar description of the services and 

products provided when such use is not accurate; 

g. f. Directly or indirectly giving or offering to give favors, 

paid referrals, or anything of value to any person who in 

his professional capacity uses his position to influence 

third parties to purchase products offered for sale by a 

hearing aid specialist; or 

h. g. Failing to provide expedient, reliable, or dependable 

services when requested by a client or client's guardian. 

2. Failure to include on the purchase agreement a statement 

regarding home solicitation when required by federal and state 

law. 

3. Incompetence or negligence, as those terms are generally 

understood in the profession, in fitting or selling hearing aids. 

4. Failure to provide required or appropriate training resulting 

in incompetence or negligence, as those terms are generally 

understood in the profession, by a temporary permit holder 

under the licensee's sponsorship. 

5. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any 

provisions of Chapters Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 

(§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), and or 15 (§ 54.1-

1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this 

chapter. 

6. The licensee, temporary permit holder, or applicant has 

been convicted or found guilty of any crime directly related 

to the practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids, regardless 

of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the 

United States. Except for misdemeanor marijuana 

convictions and misdemeanor convictions involving sexual 

offense or physical injury that occurred five three or more 

years prior to the date of application, with no subsequent 

convictions, and all felony convictions involving sexual 

offense, physical injury, or drug distribution that occurred 

10 or more years prior to the date of application with no 

subsequent convictions, all criminal convictions shall will be 

considered as part of the totality of the circumstances of each 

applicant. Review of prior convictions shall will be subject 

to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Any pleas of nolo contendere shall will be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this subdivision. The record of 

a conviction authenticated in such form as to be admissible 

in evidence of the law of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall will be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or guilt. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7493; Filed April 15, 2025, 4:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-305. Rules for Electricity and 

Natural Gas Submetering and for Energy Allocation 

Equipment (amending 20VAC5-305-10, 20VAC5-305-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-245.3 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Mike Cizenski, Deputy Director, Public 

Utility Regulation Division, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9441, or email mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 557 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments clarify that residential and nonresidential 

unit owners shall be considered tenants for purposes of 

rules for electricity and natural gas submetering and for 

energy allocation equipment. 

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 14, 2025 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2024-00186 

Ex Parte: In the matter of amending regulations  

governing gas and electric submetering of tenants 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

The Rules for Electricity and Natural Gas Submetering and for 

Energy Allocation Equipment, 20VAC5-305-10 et seq. 

(Submetering Rules), adopted by the State Corporation 

Commission (Commission) pursuant to § 56-245.3 of the Code 

of Virginia (Code), establish requirements for owners using 

submetering and energy allocation equipment to measure and 

fairly allocate the costs of electric or gas to tenants of 

residential, commercial, or mixed-use properties.  

Chapter 557 (House Bill 1376) of the 2024 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly (Chapter 557) added the following language to § 56-

245.3 of the Code of Virginia to make clear that residential and 

non-residential unit owners shall be considered tenants for 

purposes of the Submetering Rules: 

"D. For the purposes of rules promulgated pursuant to this 

section, billing requirements and all other rules related to 

submetering or energy allocation equipment use by tenants of 

an apartment house, office building, shopping center, or 

campground shall apply to residential and nonresidential unit 

owners." 

On November 18, 2024, the Commission entered an Order 

Establishing Proceeding ("Procedural Order") for the purpose 

of revising the current Submetering Rules to reflect the change 

set forth in Chapter 557. The Commission appended to its 

Procedural Order proposed amendments to Rules 20VAC5-

305-10 and 20VAC5-305-20 of the Submetering Rules 

("Proposed Amendments"), which were prepared by 

Commission Staff (Staff). The Procedural Order, among other 

things, directed the Commission’s Office of General Counsel 

to forward a copy of the Procedural Order to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations; directed Staff to provide copies of the Procedural 

Order to individuals, organizations, and companies that were 

identified by Staff as potentially being interested in this 

proceeding; provided interested persons an opportunity to 

comment and request a hearing on the Proposed Amendments; 

and directed Staff to file a report (Report) on or a response to 

any comments or requests for hearing submitted to the 

Commission on the Proposed Amendments. 

On November 19, 2024, Staff provided copies of the 

Procedural Order and Proposed Amendments to individuals, 

organizations, and companies who were identified by Staff as 

potentially being interested in this proceeding, and Staff filed 

its proof of notice on the same date. On December 16, 2024, 

notice of the proceeding and the Proposed Amendments were 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. Electronic 

versions of the Procedural Order and Proposed Amendments 

were posted on the Commission’s website. As directed in the 

Procedural Order, interested persons were instructed to 

comment on or request a hearing on the Proposed Amendments 

by January 13, 2025. 

Kentucky Utilities Company d/b/a Old Dominion Power 

Company filed a letter stating that it had no comments on the 

Proposed Amendments. No comments or requests for hearing 

on the Proposed Amendments were received. 

On February 28, 2025, Staff filed its Report concluding that 

the Proposed Amendments appear sufficient to meet the 

requirements of Chapter 557 and recommending that the 

Commission adopt the Proposed Amendments.1 

mailto:mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov
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NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this matter, 

is of the opinion and finds that the Proposed Amendments, 

attached hereto as Appendix A, should be adopted as final 

rules. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's Rules for Electricity and Natural Gas 

Submetering and for Energy Allocation Equipment, 20VAC5-

305-10 et seq., are amended as shown in Appendix A attached 

to this Order and shall become effective on June 1, 2025. 

(2) The Commission's Office of General Counsel shall forward 

a copy of this Order, with Appendix A, to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(3) An electronic copy of this Order with Appendix A, 

including the amended Rules for Electricity and Natural Gas 

Submetering and for Energy Allocation Equipment, shall be 

made available on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/regulated-industries/utility-regulation/pur-

responsibilities/rulemaking. 

(4) This docket is dismissed. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of the 

Commission to all persons on the official Service List in this 

matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission.  

_____________________________ 
1 Report at 2. 

20VAC5-305-10. Definitions. 

Certain words as used in this chapter shall be understood to 

have the following meaning: 

"Apartment house" means a building or buildings with the 

primary purpose of residential occupancy containing more 

than two dwelling units, all of which are rented primarily for 

nontransient use, with rental paid at intervals of one week or 

longer. Apartment house includes residential condominiums 

and cooperatives whether rented or owner-occupied. 

"Building" means all of the individual units served through 

the same utility-owned meter within an apartment house, office 

building, or shopping center as defined in this section. 

"Campground" means and includes but is not limited to a 

travel trailer camp, recreation camp, family campground, 

camping resort, camping community, or any other area, place, 

parcel, or tract of land, by whatever name called, on which 

three or more campsites are occupied or intended for 

occupancy, or facilities are established or maintained, wholly 

or in part, for the accommodation of camping units for periods 

of overnight or longer, whether the use of the campsites and 

facilities is granted gratuitously, or by rental fee, lease, or 

conditional sale, or by covenants, restrictions, and easements. 

"Campground" does not include a summer camp, migrant labor 

camp, or park for mobile homes as defined in §§ 32.1-203 and 

35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia, or a construction camp, storage 

area for unoccupied camping units, or property upon which the 

individual owner may choose to camp and not be prohibited or 

encumbered by covenants, restrictions, and conditions from 

providing sanitary facilities within the individual owner's 

property lines. 

"Campsite" means and includes any plot of ground within a 

campground used or intended for occupation by the camping 

unit. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission of 

Virginia. 

"Dwelling" means a room or rooms suitable for occupancy as 

a residence containing kitchen and bathroom facilities. 

"Energy allocation equipment" means any device, other than 

submetering equipment, used to determine approximate 

electric or natural gas usage for any dwelling unit, 

nonresidential rental unit, or campsite within an apartment 

house, office building, shopping center, or campground. 

"Energy unit" means the billing units for energy delivered to 

the master-metered customer. For electricity, the units are 

generally kilowatt hours (Kwh). For natural gas, the units are 

generally therms, but may be dekatherms (Dth), cubic feet (cf), 

hundreds of cubic feet (Ccf), or thousands of cubic feet (Mcf). 

"Master meter" means a meter used to measure for billing 

purposes, all electric or natural gas usage of an apartment 

house, office building, shopping center, or campground, 

including common areas, common facilities, and dwelling or 

rental units therein. 

"Month" or "monthly" means the period between two 

consecutive meter readings, either actual or estimated, at 

approximately 30-day intervals. 

"Nonresidential rental unit" means a room or rooms in which 

retail or commercial services, clerical work, or professional 

duties are carried out. 

"Office building" means a building or buildings containing 

more than two rental units which that are rented primarily for 

retail, commercial, or professional use, with rental paid at 

intervals of one month or longer. Office buildings can include 

residential and nonresidential unit owners. 

"Owner" means any owner, operator, or manager of an 

apartment house, office building, shopping center, or 

campground engaged in electrical or natural gas submetering 

or the use of energy allocation equipment. 

"Owner-paid areas" means those areas for which the owner 

bears financial responsibility for energy costs, which include 

but are not limited to areas outside individual residential or 

nonresidential units or in owner-occupied or - shared areas 

such as maintenance shops, vacant units, meeting units, 

meeting rooms, offices, swimming pools, laundry rooms, or 

model apartments. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8108/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/regulated-industries/utility-regulation/pur-responsibilities/rulemaking
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8108/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/regulated-industries/utility-regulation/pur-responsibilities/rulemaking
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"Shopping center" means a building or buildings containing 

more than two stores which that are rented primarily for 

commercial, retail, or professional use. Shopping centers can 

include residential and nonresidential unit owners. 

"Submeter" means electric energy or natural gas 

measurement device used in submetering. 

"Submetering" means dwelling or rental unit electrical or 

natural gas direct remetering performed by the owner to 

measure the tenant's electrical or natural gas usage and to 

render a bill for such usage. 

"Submetering equipment" means equipment used to measure 

actual electricity or natural gas usage in any dwelling unit, 

nonresidential rental unit, or campsite when such equipment is 

not owned or controlled by the electric or natural gas utility 

serving the apartment house, office building, shopping center, 

or campground in which the dwelling unit, nonresidential 

rental unit, or campsite is located. 

"Tenant" means the occupant or occupants or residential or 

nonresidential unit owner of a submetered dwelling, rental 

unit, or campsite. 

"Utility" means the supplier of electric service or natural gas 

service to a master meter. 

20VAC5-305-20. General requirements. 

Residential and nonresidential unit owners shall be 

considered tenants for billing requirements and all other rules 

in this chapter related to submetering or energy allocation 

equipment. 

Submetering or energy allocation equipment may not be used 

in any dwelling unit unless all dwelling units in the apartment 

house utilize such equipment to the extent permitted by the 

physical facilities. 

Any individual nonresidential rental unit, store, or 

campground may utilize submetering or energy allocation 

equipment, provided the rental agreement or lease between the 

owner and the tenant clearly states that the nonresidential rental 

unit, store, or campsite is or will be using submetering or 

energy allocation equipment. 

All rental agreements and leases between the owner and the 

tenants shall clearly state that the dwelling unit, nonresidential 

rental unit, or campsite utilizes submetering or energy 

allocation equipment, that the basis of bills for electric or 

natural gas consumption will be rendered based on readings of 

such equipment, and that any disputes relating to the amount 

of the tenant's bill and the accuracy of the equipment will be 

between the tenant and the owner. Where applicable, the 

provisions of the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act 

(§ 55-248.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) will govern the 

landlord-tenant relationship concerning the use of submetering 

or energy allocation equipment on all related issues other than 

those covered by these rules. 

Each owner shall be responsible for providing, installing, sealing 

(if necessary), and maintaining all submetering or energy 

allocation equipment necessary for the measurement or allocation 

of the costs for electrical energy or natural gas consumed by 

tenants. 

Any electric submeter installed will be of a type and class to 

register properly the electrical consumption of the dwelling unit, 

nonresidential rental unit, or campsite, and such meter will meet 

the standards of the American National Standards Institute, Inc., 

Standard C12.1-2008 Code for Electricity Metering (ANSI 

C12.1). 

Any natural gas submeter installed will be of a type and class to 

register properly the natural gas consumption of the dwelling, 

nonresidential rental unit, or campsite, and such meter will meet 

the standards of the American National Standard Institute 

Standards ANSI B109.1 (2000) and B109.2 (2000) for Diaphragm 

Type Gas Displacement Meters and ANSI B109.3 (2000) for 

Rotary Type Gas Displacement Meters (hereafter, ANSI B109). 

Any energy allocation equipment installed will be of a type 

and class appropriate to the heating, ventilation, and air 

conditioning (HVAC) system of the apartment house, office 

building, shopping center, or campground and used in 

accordance with the manufacturer's installation specifications 

and procedures for such energy allocation equipment. 

Any owner installing submetering or energy allocation 

equipment shall notify the commission and the utility 

providing electric or natural gas service to the apartment house, 

office building, shopping center, or campground in writing 

within 90 days of completion of such installation that the 

equipment has been installed and shall give the name of the 

apartment house, office building, shopping center, or 

campground; number of dwelling units, nonresidential rental 

units, or campsites in the project; location; mailing address of 

the owner; the approximate date of installation of the 

equipment; and the type, manufacturer, and model number of 

such equipment. 

Natural gas submetering and energy allocation equipment, 

including related piping and materials, for which the owner is 

responsible shall be installed, operated, and maintained by the 

owner in conformity with all municipal, state, and federal 

requirements, including but not limited to § 56-257.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, and with the 2006 edition of the National 

Fuel Gas Code. 

No building or buildings which qualify that qualifies as an 

apartment house, office building, or shopping center shall be 

excluded from this chapter because the apartment house, office 

building, or shopping center contains a mixture of dwelling 

units and nonresidential rental units. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8108; Filed April 15, 2025, 9:04 a.m. 
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Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-314. Regulations Governing 

Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators and 

Storage (amending 20VAC5-314-10, 20VAC5-314-20, 

20VAC5-314-38, 20VAC5-314-39, 20VAC5-314-70, 

20VAC5-314-100, 20VAC5-314-150, 20VAC5-314-160, 

20VAC5-314-170). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-578 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Mike Cizenski, Deputy Director, Division of 

Public Utility Regulation, State Corporation Commission, P.O. 

Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9441, 

or email mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) define "distributed energy 

resources" or "DER," (ii) specify treatment of material 

modifications to DER interconnection requests, (iii) 

modify the provisions for dispute resolution applicable to 

utilities and interconnecting generators, (iv) revise the 

insurance requirements applicable to DERs, (v) require 

DERs to follow cybersecurity standards, and (vi) revise 

schedules. 

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 15, 2025 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2023-00069 

Ex Parte: In the matter of revising  

the Commission's Regulations Governing  

Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators 

and Storage 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

On May 8, 2009, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") adopted Regulations Governing 

Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators, 20VAC5-314-

10 et seq. ("Interconnection Regulations") in Case No. PUE-

2008-00004.1 The Commission initiated that rulemaking in 

accordance with § 56-578 C of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides, in part: 

The Commission shall establish interconnection standards to 

ensure transmission and distribution safety and reliability, 

which standards shall not be inconsistent with nationally 

recognized standards acceptable to the Commission. In 

adopting standards pursuant to this subsection, the 

Commission shall seek to prevent barriers to new technology 

and shall not make compliance unduly burdensome and 

expensive. 

On July 29, 2020, in Case No. PUR-2018-00107, the 

Commission revised the Interconnection Regulations.2 

Subsequently, in Case No. PUR-2022-00073, a docket initiated 

to explore interconnection issues related to utility distribution 

energy resources (DER), the Commission determined it would 

be appropriate to initiate a rulemaking proceeding, in a 

separate docket, to examine certain potential changes to the 

Interconnection Regulations.3 

On May 2, 2023, the Commission entered an Order Initiating 

Rulemaking Proceeding that, among other things, directed the 

Commission's Staff ("Staff") to solicit comments from, and to 

schedule a meeting or meetings (as necessary) with, 

stakeholders and persons having an interest in the 

Commission's Interconnection Regulations and the 

interconnection of small electrical generators and storage in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, and to file a report ("Report") that 

included any proposed revisions to the current Interconnection 

Regulations that are developed with appropriate input from 

stakeholders and other interested persons. On January 21, 

2025, Staff filed its Report and proposed regulations. On April 

11, 2025, Virginia Electric and Power Company (DEV) filed a 

Motion of Virginia Electric and Power Company for Leave to 

File Comments to the Commission Staff Report.4 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, is of the opinion and finds that the Staff's proposed 

revisions, as appended hereto ("Proposed Rules"), should be 

considered for adoption. We further find that a copy of the 

Proposed Rules should be sent to the Registrar of Regulations 

for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's Division of Information Resources shall 

forward a copy of this Order for Notice and Comment 

("Order"), including a copy of the Proposed Rules, to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(2) Within five business days of the filing of this Order with 

the Clerk of the Commission, Staff shall electronically transmit 

copies of this Order to those persons and entities identified by 

Staff as potentially having an interest in this matter. Staff shall 

maintain a list of names and addresses of the persons and 

entities to whom the Order was transmitted. Within five 

business days of the filing of this Order, Staff shall also include 

a copy of the Proposed Rules on the Division of Public Utility 

Regulation's website: scc.virginia.gov/pages/rulemaking. 

(3) A copy of the Proposed Rules may be requested from 

Michael Cizenski, Division of Public Utility Regulation, at the 

following email address: mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. An 

electronic copy of the Proposed Rules can also be found at the 

Division of Public Utility Regulation's website: 

mailto:mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8227/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/rulemaking
mailto:mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov
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scc.virginia.gov/pages/rulemaking. Interested persons may 

also download unofficial copies of the Order and the Proposed 

Rules from the Commission's website: 

www.scc.virginia.gov/case-information/. 

(4) On or before June 9, 2025, any interested person may 

comment on, propose modifications or supplements to, or 

request a hearing on the Proposed Rules following the 

instructions on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/case-information/submit-public-comments. 

Those unable, as a practical matter, to submit such documents 

electronically may file such comments by U.S. mail to the 

Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-

2118. All such documents shall refer to Case No. PUR-2023-

00069. Individuals should be specific in their comments, 

proposals, or supplements to the Proposed Rules and shall 

address only those issues directly related to the Proposed 

Rules. Any request for hearing shall state with specificity why 

the issues raised in the request for hearing cannot be adequately 

addressed in written comments. 

(5) All documents filed with the Office of the Clerk of the 

Commission in this docket may use both sides of the paper. In 

all other respects, all filings shall comply fully with the 

requirements of 5VAC5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure, 5VAC5-20-10 

et seq. ("Rules of Practice"). 

(6) All comments and other documents and pleadings filed in 

this matter shall be submitted electronically to the extent 

authorized by Rule 5VAC5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 

Rules of Practice. Confidential and Extraordinarily Sensitive 

Information shall not be submitted electronically and shall 

comply with Rule 5VAC5-20-170, Confidential information, 

of the Rules of Practice. Any person seeking to hand deliver 

and physically file or submit any pleading or other document 

shall contact the Clerk's Office Document Control Center at 

(804) 371-9838 to arrange the delivery. 

(7) Pursuant to 5VAC5-20-140, Filing and service, of the Rules 

of Practice, the Commission directs that service on parties and 

the Staff in this matter shall be accomplished by electronic 

means. Concerning Confidential or Extraordinarily Sensitive 

Information, parties and the Staff are instructed to work 

together to agree upon the manner in which documents 

containing such information shall be served upon one another, 

to the extent practicable, in an electronically protected manner, 

even if such information is unable to be filed in the Office of 

the Clerk. 

(8) On or before July 16, 2025, the Staff shall file with the 

Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to any 

comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to the 

Commission on the Proposed Rules. 

(9) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of the 

Commission to all persons on the official Service List in this 

matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

_____________________________ 
1 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: 

In the matter of establishing interconnection standards for distributed electric 

generation, Case No. PUE-2008-00004, 2009 S.C.C. Ann. Rept. 287, Order 

Adopting Regulations (May 8, 2009). 

2 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: 

In the matter of revising the Commission's Regulations Governing 

Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators, Case No. PUR-2018-00107, 

2020 S.C.C. Ann. Rept. 226, Order Adopting Regulations (July 29, 2020). In 

its Order Adopting Regulations, the Commission revised the title of the chapter 

to be "Regulations Governing Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators 

and Storage." 

3 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: 

In the matter considering utility distributed energy resource interconnection-

related issues and questions, Case No. PUR-2022-00073, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 

230310110, Order (Mar. 3, 2023). 

4 Attachment A to DEV’s Motion included proposed comments. The 

Commission will consider DEV’s comments as part of its rulemaking process 

and notes that DEV may file additional comments on the Proposed Rules 

consistent with Ordering Paragraph 4. 

20VAC5-314-10. Applicability and scope; waiver. 

A. This chapter is promulgated pursuant to § 56-578 of the 

Virginia Electric Utility Regulation Act (§ 56-576 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). This chapter establishes standardized 

interconnection and operating requirements for the safe 

operation of electric generating facilities in Virginia. This 

chapter applies to utilities providing interconnections to retail 

electric customers, independently owned generators, and any 

other parties operating, or intending to operate, a distributed 

generating facility in parallel with utility systems. This chapter 

also applies to equipment used for the storage of electricity for 

later injection to utility systems. This chapter does not apply to 

customer generators operating pursuant to the Virginia State 

Corporation Commission's Regulations Governing Net Energy 

Metering (20VAC5-315) or those that fall under the 

jurisdiction of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 

(FERC). 

If the utility has turned over control of its transmission system 

to a Regional Transmission Entity (RTE), and if the small 

generator interconnection process identifies upgrades to the 

transmission system as necessary to interconnect the small 

generating facility, then the utility will coordinate with the 

RTE, and the procedures in this chapter will be adjusted as 

necessary to satisfy the RTE's requirements with respect to 

such upgrades. 

There are three review paths for the interconnection of 

generating facilities subject to this chapter in Virginia: 

Level 1 - A request to interconnect a certified small 

generating facility (SGF) no larger than 500 kilowatts (kW) 

shall be evaluated under the Level 1 process. 

Level 2 - A request to interconnect a certified SGF no larger 

than 2 MW and not qualifying for the Level 1 process shall 

be evaluated under the Level 2 process. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8227/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/rulemaking
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case-information/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8227/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/case-information/submit-public-comments
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Level 3 - A request to interconnect an SGF not qualifying 

for the Level 1 process or Level 2 process, shall be evaluated 

under the Level 3 process. 

The utility may place restrictions upon the interconnection of 

an SGF to a distribution feeder depending upon the 

characteristics of that feeder and the potential for upgrading it, 

as well as the nature of the loads and other generation on the 

feeder relative to the proposed point of interconnection. If the 

SGF cannot be safely and reliably interconnected to the utility's 

distribution feeder, the utility shall work with the 

interconnection customer (IC) to interconnect the SGF to the 

utility's transmission system. In such cases, the interconnection 

of the SGF may be governed by the regulations promulgated 

by FERC rather than the regulation of the Virginia State 

Corporation Commission. 

The utility shall designate an employee or office from which 

the IC may request information concerning the interconnection 

application process. The name, telephone number, and email 

address of such contact employee or office shall be made 

available on the utility's website. Readily available electric 

system information relevant to the location of the proposed 

SGF shall be provided to the IC upon request, in writing, and 

may include interconnection studies and any other relevant 

materials, to the extent such provision does not violate 

confidentiality provisions of prior agreements or release 

critical infrastructure information. The utility shall comply 

with reasonable requests for such information unless the 

information is proprietary or confidential and cannot be 

provided pursuant to a prior confidentiality agreement. If the 

information is proprietary or confidential and cannot be 

provided, the utility shall state as such. Any one developer 

shall have no more than five active informal requests for 

information at one time. 

The utility shall make reasonable efforts to meet all 

timeframes provided in these regulations unless the utility and 

the IC agree to a different schedule. If the utility cannot meet a 

deadline provided in this chapter, it shall notify the IC in 

writing, explain the reason for the failure to meet the deadline, 

and provide an estimated time by which it will complete the 

applicable interconnection procedure in the process. 

Should an IC fail to meet a timeframe or default on another 

requirement under this chapter or fail to respond to a request 

for information from the utility, the utility shall also provide 

the IC written notice identifying the missed deadline or 

requirement and allow the IC an opportunity to cure on or 

before the close of business on the 10th business day following 

the posted date of such notice to cure, prior to the utility taking 

action to withdraw the IC's interconnection request. 

Each utility shall have on file with the commission terms and 

conditions applicable to the interconnection of SGFs. Such 

terms and conditions shall, at a minimum, incorporate this 

chapter by reference, shall set forth terms and conditions 

applicable to SGFs for which no Small Generator 

Interconnection Agreement (SGIA) is executed, and shall not 

conflict with the provisions of this chapter. The terms and 

conditions applicable to SGFs for which no SGIA is executed 

shall be reasonably consistent with the terms and conditions of 

the SGIA. 

B. The commission may waive any or all parts of the 

provisions of this chapter for good cause shown. 

C. This chapter shall not apply to SGFs already 

interconnected as of October 15, 2020, unless: 

1. The IC proposes a material modification; or 

2. Application of this chapter is agreed to in writing by the 

utility and the IC. 

D. This chapter shall apply if the IC has not actually 

interconnected the SGF as of October 15, 2020. 

Any IC that has not executed an interconnection agreement 

with the utility prior to October 15, 2020, shall have 30 

calendar days following the later of October 15, 2020, or the 

posted date of notice in writing from the utility to (i) 

demonstrate site control pursuant to Schedule 5 or 6 of 

20VAC5-314-170; (ii) execute a combined study agreement as 

provided for in 20VAC5-314-70 or individual revised study 

agreements conforming with those set forth in Schedules 7, 8, 

and 9 of 20VAC5-314-170; and (iii) to post the deposit as 

specified in Schedule 6 of 20VAC5-314-170 minus any study 

costs previously paid. 

Any IC that has executed an interconnection agreement with 

the utility prior to October 15, 2020, but where the utility has 

not actually interconnected the SGF or where the IC has not 

begun making payments, shall have 60 calendar days 

following the later of October 15, 2020, or the posted date of 

notice in writing from the utility to submit upgrade and 

interconnection facility payments (or financial security 

acceptable to the utility for attachment facilities and 

distribution upgrades) required pursuant to 20VAC5-314-50 F 

2. Any amount previously paid by the IC at the time the deposit 

or payment is due under this subsection shall be credited 

toward the deposit amount or other payment required under 

this subsection. 

Should an IC fail to comply with the provisions of this 

subsection following receipt of a written notice specifying how 

the IC failed to comply and the expiration of an opportunity to 

cure by the close of business on the 10th business day 

following the posted date of such notice to cure, the IC will 

lose its queue number and the interconnection request shall be 

deemed withdrawn. 

E. Each SGF shall comply with IEEE 1547 Standard for 

Interconnection and Interoperability of Distributed Energy 

Resources with Associated Electric Power Systems Interfaces, 

2018, and shall conform with the following minimum 

requirements:  
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1. Abnormal operating performance category: Category III 

capabilities must be supported for inverter-based SGFs. 

Rotating SGFs must meet Category I capabilities; and  

2. Normal operating performance category: inverter-based 

SGFs must meet Category B capabilities and rotating SGFs 

must meet Category A capabilities.  

F. Each utility shall post the utility's preferred settings in the 

utility's public-facing technical interconnection and 

interoperability requirements (TIIR) document. TIIR documents 

shall be submitted to the commission for approval with 

opportunity for public comment. Subsequent changes to TIIRs 

shall also be submitted to the commission for approval with 

opportunity for public comment. At a minimum, the following 

shall be identified in the TIIR documents: (i) voltage and 

frequency trip settings, (ii) frequency drop settings, (iii) activated 

reactive power control function and settings, (iv) voltage-active 

power mode activation and settings, (v) enter service settings, and 

(vi) communication protocols and ports requirements. 

G. Each utility shall establish the utility's own utility-specific 

minimum cybersecurity standards based on, and not in conflict 

with, nationally recognized guidelines, including IEEE Standard 

1547.3, Guide for Cybersecurity of Distributed Energy Resources 

Interconnected with Electric Power Systems, 2023, and the 

National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners' 

Cybersecurity Baselines for Electric Distribution Systems and 

DERs. These standards shall also include requirements for testing, 

validation, and auditing of the implemented cybersecurity 

measures. Each utility shall ensure these standards are publicly 

accessible by publishing these standards on the utility's respective 

websites. 

20VAC5-314-20. Definitions. 

The following terms when used in this chapter shall have the 

following meaning unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Affected system" means an electric utility system other than 

that of the utility that may be affected by the proposed 

interconnection. 

"Affected system operator" means an entity that operates an 

affected system or, if the affected system is under the 

operational control of an independent system operator or a 

regional transmission entity, such independent entity. 

"Applicable laws and regulations" means all duly 

promulgated applicable federal, state, and local laws, 

regulations, rules, ordinances, codes, decrees, judgments, 

directives, or judicial or administrative orders, permits, and 

other duly authorized actions of any government authority. 

"Attachment facilities" means the facilities and equipment 

owned, operated, and maintained by the utility that are built 

new in order to physically connect the customer's 

interconnection facilities to the utility system. Attachment 

facilities shall not include distribution upgrades or previously 

existing distribution and transmission facilities. 

"Bulk power system" means any electric generation 

resources, transmission lines, interconnections with 

neighboring systems, and associated equipment. 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, excluding 

federal holidays. 

"Calendar day" means Sunday through Saturday, including 

all holidays. 

"Certified" has the meaning ascribed to it in Schedule 2 of 

20VAC5-314-170. 

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission. 

"Customer's interconnection facilities" means all of the 

facilities and equipment owned, operated, and maintained by 

the IC, between the small generating facility and the point of 

interconnection necessary to physically and electrically 

interconnect the small generating facility to the utility system. 

"Default" means the failure of a breaching party to cure its 

breach under the SGIA. 

"Distribution system" means the utility's facilities and 

equipment generally delivering electricity to ultimate 

customers from substations supplied by higher voltages 

(usually at transmission level). For purposes of this chapter, all 

portions of the utility's transmission system regulated by the 

commission for which interconnections are not within FERC 

jurisdiction are considered also to be subject to this chapter. 

"Distributed energy resource" or "DER" means a source of 

electric power that is not directly connected to the bulk power 

system. A DER includes both generators and energy storage 

facilities operating in parallel to the distribution system and 

capable of exporting active power to an electric power system. 

"Distribution upgrades" means the additions, modifications, 

and enhancements made to the utility's distribution system on 

the utility's side of the point of interconnection necessary to 

ensure continued system reliability and power quality on the 

utility's distribution system caused by the interconnection of 

the SGF. Distribution upgrades do not include network 

upgrades or the customer's interconnection facilities or the 

utility's attachment facilities. 

"Electric power system" means a facility that delivers electric 

power to a load. 

"Energy storage system" has the meaning ascribed to it in 

20VAC5-335-20. 

"Facilities study" has the meaning ascribed to it in 20VAC5-

314-70 E. 

"Feasibility study" has the meaning ascribed to it in 20VAC5-

314-70 C. 

"FERC" means the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. 
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"Good Utility Practice" means any of the practices, methods, 

and acts engaged in or approved by a significant portion of the 

electric industry during the relevant time period, or any of the 

practices, methods, and acts that, in the exercise of reasonable 

judgment in light of the facts known at the time the decision 

was made, could have been expected to accomplish the desired 

result at a reasonable cost, consistent with good business 

practices, reliability, safety, and expedition. Good Utility 

Practice is not intended to be limited to the optimum practice, 

method, or act to the exclusion of all others, but rather to 

include practices, methods, or acts generally accepted in the 

region. 

"Governmental authority" means any federal, state, local, or 

other governmental regulatory or administrative agency, court, 

commission, department, board, or other governmental 

subdivision, legislature, rulemaking board, tribunal, or other 

governmental authority having jurisdiction over the parties, 

their respective facilities, or the respective services they 

provide, and exercising or entitled to exercise any 

administrative, executive, police, or taxing authority or power; 

provided that such term does not include the IC, the utility, or 

a utility affiliate. 

"Interconnection customer" or "IC" means any entity 

proposing to interconnect a new small generating facility with 

the utility system. 

"Interconnection request" means the IC's request, in 

accordance with this chapter, to interconnect a new small 

generating facility, or to increase the capacity of, or make a 

material modification to the operating characteristics of, an 

existing small generating facility that is interconnected with 

the utility system. 

"Interconnection studies" means the studies conducted by the 

utility, or, if agreed to by the utility and the IC, a third party 

supervised by the utility, in order to determine the interaction 

of the small generating facility with the utility system and the 

affected systems in order to specify any modifications to the 

small generating facility or the electric systems studied to 

ensure safe and reliable operation of the small generating 

facility in parallel with the utility system. 

"Interdependent customer" or "interdependent project" means 

an IC or project whose upgrades to the utility system or 

attachment facilities are impacted by another earlier-queued 

generating facility, as determined by the utility. 

"Material modification" has the meaning ascribed to it in 

20VAC5-314-39. 

"Maximum generating capacity" means the maximum 

continuous electrical output of the SGF at any time as 

measured at the point of interconnection or the maximum kW 

delivered to the utility during any metering period, whichever 

is greater. Requested maximum generating capacity will be 

specified by the IC in the interconnection request and an 

approved maximum generating capacity will subsequently be 

included as a limitation in the interconnection agreement. 

"Network upgrades" means additions, modifications, and 

enhancements to the utility's transmission system that are 

required in order to accommodate the interconnection of the 

small generating facility with the utility's system. Network 

upgrades do not include distribution upgrades. 

"Operating requirements" means any operating and technical 

requirements that may be applicable due to regional 

transmission entity, independent system operator, control area, 

or the utility's requirements, including those set forth in the 

SGIA. 

"Party" means the utility or the IC. 

"Point of interconnection" means the point where the 

customer's interconnection facilities connect physically and 

electrically to the utility's system. 

"Processing fee" means a nonrefundable cost to administer or 

file an application. 

"Project A" means any interconnection request that is not 

interdependent with another interconnection request. 

"Project B" means any interconnection request that is 

interdependent with only one other interconnection request and 

has a higher queue number than a designated Project A. 

"Queue number" refers to the number assigned by the utility, 

establishing a customer's interconnection request position in 

the study queue relative to all other valid interconnection 

requests. A lower queue number will be studied prior to a 

higher queue number, except in the case of interdependent 

projects. 

"Regional Transmission Entity" or "RTE" means an entity 

having the management and control of a utility's transmission 

system as further set forth in § 56-579 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Small generating facility" or "generating facility" or 

"generator" or "SGF" means the IC's equipment used for the 

production of electricity, as identified in the interconnection 

request. 

"Small Generator Interconnection Agreement" or "SGIA" 

means the agreement between the utility and the IC as set forth 

in Schedule 10 of 20VAC5-314-170. 

"Standby generating facility" means an electric generating 

facility primarily designed for standby or backup power in the 

event of a loss of power supply from the utility. Such facilities 

may operate in parallel with the utility for a brief period of time 

when transferring load back to the utility after an outage, or 

when testing the operation of the facility and transferring load 

from and back to the utility. 

"Supplemental review" has the meaning ascribed to it in 

20VAC5-314-60 H. 
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"System" or "utility system" means the distribution and 

transmission facilities owned, controlled, or operated by the 

utility that are used to deliver electricity. 

"System impact study" has the meaning ascribed to in 

20VAC5-314-70 D. 

"System upgrades" means distribution upgrades and network 

upgrades collectively. 

"Tariff" means the rates, terms, and conditions filed by the 

utility with the commission for the purpose of providing 

commission-regulated electric service to retail customers. 

"Technical interconnection and interoperability 

requirements" or "TIIR" means the public documents, often 

utility specific, that include requirements for interconnection, 

interoperability, capabilities, their utilization (settings), and 

grid integration. 

"Transmission system" means the utility's facilities and 

equipment delivering electric energy to the distribution system, 

such facilities being operated at voltage levels above the 

utility's typical distribution system voltage levels. 

"Utility" means the public utility company subject to 

regulation by the commission pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-

232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia with regard to 

rates or service quality, to whose system the IC proposes to 

interconnect a small generating facility. 

20VAC5-314-38. Queue number and interdependent 

projects. 

A. Queue number and queue position. The utility shall assign 

a queue number to an interconnection request based upon the 

date-stamp and time-stamp of receipt of a completed 

Interconnection Request Form by the utility. A later received 

Interconnection Request Form shall be assigned a higher 

numerical queue number than an earlier received 

Interconnection Request Form. The queue number and relative 

position of each interconnection request will be used to 

determine the cost responsibility for the upgrades necessary to 

accommodate the interconnection. 

B. Interdependent projects. 

1. Upon an IC's submission of an interconnection request for 

the 20VAC5-314-40 Level 1 interconnection process, 

20VAC5-314-60 Level 2 interconnection process, or 

20VAC5-314-70 Level 3 interconnection process, the utility 

shall review the interconnection request and make a 

preliminary determination of whether any interdependencies 

exist between the IC's proposed SGF and any other IC with 

a lower queue number. If the interconnection request is for a 

standby SGF with zero export, then the proposed SGF shall 

be studied as a Project A. For all other interconnections, any 

preliminary determination by the utility that the SGF does 

not create an interdependency will result in the 

interconnection request being preliminarily designated as a 

Project A, and the utility shall proceed immediately to either 

the 20VAC5-314-40, 20VAC5-314-60, or 20VAC5-314-70 

Level 1, 2, or 3 study process, as applicable. At the 20VAC5-

314-70 B scoping meeting, the utility shall advise the IC 

regarding its preliminary determination of whether 

interdependency would be created by the SGF. If no 

20VAC5-314-70 B scoping meeting is scheduled, then the 

utility shall notify the IC in writing within five business days 

after making its preliminary determination of whether 

interdependency would be created by the SGF. If applicable, 

the Project A IC will pay the interconnection request study 

deposit required for the 20VAC5-314-70 Level 3 study 

process as identified in Schedule 6 of 20VAC5-314-170 in 

conjunction with the execution of the initial study agreement 

delivered by the utility pursuant to 20VAC5-314-70. An 

SGF preliminarily reviewed for system impacts and 

designated as a Project A may still be determined later to 

create an interdependency and may then be redesignated by 

the utility as an interdependent project during the 

20VAC314-70 D system impact study process, thereby 

losing its Project A designation. Once the system impact 

study report is issued by the utility and the report designates 

an SGF as a Project A for purposes of the 20VAC314-70 E 

facilities study, the interconnection request shall retain this 

Project A designation during the facilities study, without 

change. 

2. If the utility determines that the IC's proposed SGF is 

interdependent with one other interconnection request with 

a lower queue number (i.e., an earlier submitted 

interconnection request), the utility shall notify the IC in 

writing or at the 20VAC5-314-70 B scoping meeting that the 

interconnection request is designated as a Project B. 

a. Following the 20VAC5-314-70 B scoping meeting, the 

Project B IC shall then have the option to either: 

(1) Wait without further advancement of the 

interconnection request until Project A has executed a 

final interconnection agreement and begun making 

payments for any required upgrades, customer 

interconnection facilities, and other charges under 

20VAC314-50 F. Under this option, Project B is not 

required to adhere to the timeline in 20VAC5-314-70 C 

until Project A has signed an SGIA and begun making 

payments or withdrawn its interconnection request; or 

(2) Proceed Wait without further advancement of the 

interconnection request until Project A has received the 

Facilities Study Agreement pursuant to the 20VAC314-70 

D system impact study process 10. If the Project B IC 

chooses this option, the utility shall provide the Project B 

IC a Feasibility Study Agreement pursuant to 20VAC5-

314-70 C or a System Impact Study Agreement pursuant 

to 20VAC5-314-70 D within 10 business days. If the 

Project B IC signs a System Impact Study Agreement and 

pays the interconnection request study deposit pursuant to 

Schedule 6 of 20VAC5-314-170, the Project B shall 
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receive a system impact study report that assumes the 

Project A interconnection request with the lower queue 

number completes construction and interconnection, and 

another system impact study report that assumes the 

Project A interconnect request with the lower queue 

number is not constructed and is withdrawn. The Project 

B IC is responsible for all costs for studying with and 

without Project A. 

b. The utility shall not proceed to a Project B facilities 

study until after the Project B IC returns a signed Facilities 

Study Agreement to the utility and the utility has issued 

the 20VAC314-70 E facilities study report for Project A. 

Once the Project A facilities study report has been issued, 

the Project B IC shall then have the option to either: 

(1) Wait without further advancement of the 

interconnection request until Project A has executed a 

final interconnection agreement and begun making 

payments for any required upgrades, customer 

interconnection facilities, and other charges under 

20VAC314-50 F. Under this option, Project B is not 

required to adhere to the timeline in 20VAC5-314-70 E 

until Project A has signed an SGIA and begun making 

payments or withdrawn its interconnection request; or 

(2) Proceed with a 20VAC314-70 E facilities study 

process. If the Project B IC chooses this option, the utility 

shall provide the Project B IC a Facilities Study 

Agreement pursuant to 20VAC5-314-70 E within 10 

business days. If the Project B IC signs a Facilities Study 

Agreement prior to Project A committing to construction 

by signing the final interconnection agreement and 

beginning to make payments, then Project B's facilities 

study shall assume that the Project A interconnection 

request with the lower queue number will complete 

construction and interconnection. If Project A is later 

canceled prior to the Project A IC making payment for the 

required upgrades, the utility shall revise the Project B 

facilities study at the Project B IC's expense. 

3. If the utility determines that the IC's proposed SGF is 

interdependent with more than one other interconnection 

request with a lower queue number (i.e., an earlier submitted 

interconnection request), the utility shall notify the IC at the 

20VAC5-314-70 B scoping meeting and describe generally 

the number and type of interdependencies of interconnection 

requests with lower queue numbers. 

a. The utility shall not study a project if it is interdependent 

with more than one earlier queued project. The utility will 

study a project when interdependency with only one 

earlier queued project exists. The removal of 

interdependency with multiple projects may be the result 

of (i) upgrades to the utility system that eliminate the cause 

of the interdependency, (ii) withdrawal of interdependent 

projects with lower queue numbers, or (iii) a lower queue 

number project signing an interconnection agreement and 

making payments identified in their SGIA. 

b. Within five business days of an interconnection request 

becoming a Project B interconnection request that is 

interdependent with only one other interconnection 

request with a lower queue number, the utility shall 

schedule the 20VAC5-314-70 B scoping meeting and 

provide the new Project B IC the options specified in 

subdivision 2 a of this subsection. Upon being designated 

by the utility as a Project B, the IC's queue number shall 

be used to determine the order in which the 

interconnection request is studied under 20VAC314-70 D 

relative to all other interconnection requests. 

C. Interconnection requests submitted prior to October 15, 

2020. Other than as set forth in 20VAC5-314-10 C, nothing in 

this chapter affects an IC's queue number assigned before 

October 15, 2020. Interconnection requests that have received 

a system impact study report as of October 15, 2020, that did 

not identify any interdependency with another project shall be 

deemed a Project A. Any interconnection requests for which 

the utility has not completed the system impact study and 

issued a system impact study report (or combined study report, 

as applicable) to the IC as of October 15, 2020, shall be 

reviewed for interdependency pursuant to this section. 

Should an IC fail to comply with 20VAC5-314-10 C 

following receipt of written notice specifying how the IC failed 

to comply and the expiration of an opportunity to cure by the 

close of business on the 10th business day following the posted 

date of such notice to cure, the IC shall lose its queue number 

and the interconnection request shall be deemed withdrawn. 

20VAC5-314-39. Modification of the interconnection 

request. 

A. As used in this chapter, "material modification" means a 

modification to machine data or equipment configuration or to 

the interconnection site of the SGF that has a material impact 

on the cost, timing, or design of any customer interconnection 

facilities or upgrades or that may adversely impact other 

interdependent interconnection requests with higher queue 

numbers. Material modifications include certain project 

revisions as defined in subsection B of this section, but exclude 

certain project revisions as defined in subsection C of this 

section. 

B. Changes that qualify as material modifications are described 

as follows: 

1. A change in point of interconnection to a new location, unless 

the change in a point of interconnection is on the same circuit 

less than two poles away from the original location, and the new 

point of interconnection is within the same protection zone as 

the original location and the change in the point of 

interconnection is agreeable to the utility; 

2. A change or replacement of generating equipment, such as 

generators, inverters, transformers, relaying, or controls, that is 

not a like-kind substitution in size, ratings, impedances, 

efficiencies, or capabilities of the equipment specified in the 

original or preceding interconnection request; 
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3. A change from certified to noncertified devices 

("Certified" means certified by an Occupational Safety and 

Health Administration recognized Nationally Recognized 

Test Laboratory, to relevant Underwriters Laboratories and 

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers standards, 

authorized to perform tests to such standards.); 

4. A change of transformer connections or grounding from 

that originally proposed; 

5. A change to certified inverters with different 

specifications or different inverter control specifications or 

set-up than originally proposed; 

6. An increase of the maximum generating capacity of an 

SGF; or 

7. A change reducing the maximum generating capacity of 

the SGF (i) by more than 25% before the Feasibility Study 

Agreement or Combined Study Agreement has been 

executed the amount specified in subdivision C 3 of this 

section or (ii) by more than 10% after the Feasibility Study 

Agreement or Combined Study Agreement has been 

executed through more than one request. 

C. Changes that do not qualify as material modifications are 

described as follows: 

1. A change in ownership of an SGF; the new owner, 

however, will be required to execute a new Interconnection 

Request Form and study agreements for any study that has 

not been completed and the report issued by the utility; 

2. A change or replacement of generating equipment, such 

as generators, inverters, solar panels, transformers, relaying, 

or controls, that is a like-kind substitution in size, ratings, 

impedances, efficiencies, or capabilities of the equipment 

specified in the original or preceding interconnection 

request; 

3. A one-time change reducing the maximum generating 

capacity of the SGF by up to 75% before the Facilities Study 

Agreement; 

4. An increase in the DC/AC ratio that does not increase the 

maximum AC output capability of the generating facility; 

4. 5. A decrease in the DC/AC ratio that does not reduce the 

AC output capability of the generating facility by more than 

the amount specified in subdivision B 7 C 3 of this section. 

5. 6. A change in the DC system configuration to include 

additional equipment that does not impact the maximum 

generating capacity, daily production profile, or the 

proposed AC configuration of the SGF or energy storage 

device system, including DC optimizers, DC-DC converters, 

DC charge controllers, powerplant controllers, and energy 

storage devices systems such that the output is delivered 

during the same periods and with the same profile 

considered during the system impact study. 

D. To the extent an IC proposes to modify any information 

provided in the interconnection request deemed complete by 

the utility, the IC shall submit any such modifications to the 

utility in writing. If the utility determines that the proposed 

modifications constitute a material modification, the utility 

shall notify the IC in writing within 10 business days that the 

modification is a material modification, and the 

interconnection request shall be withdrawn from the queue 

unless the IC withdraws the proposed material modification 

within 10 business days of receipt of the utility's written 

notification. If the modification is determined by the utility not 

to be a material modification, then the utility shall notify the 

IC in writing that the modification has been accepted and that 

the IC shall retain its queue number. An IC may seek an 

informal determination from the utility of whether a proposed 

modification constitutes a material modification in accordance 

with subdivision E of this section. 

E. Modification inquiry. 

1. Prior to making any modification, the IC may submit an 

informal modification inquiry in writing that requests the 

utility to evaluate whether the proposed modifications to the 

original or most recent interconnection request is a material 

modification. The IC shall provide specific details on all 

changes that are to be considered by the utility. 

2. In response to IC's informal request, if the utility evaluates 

the proposed modifications and determines that the changes 

are not material modifications, the utility shall inform the IC 

in writing within 10 business days. If the IC wishes to 

proceed with the proposed modifications, the IC shall submit 

a revised Interconnection Request Form that reflects the 

approved modifications. 

20VAC5-314-70. Level 3 interconnection process. 

A. The Level 3 interconnection process shall be used by an 

IC proposing to interconnect an SGF with the utility system if 

the SGF does not pass or qualify for the Level 1 or Level 2 

interconnection processes. As needed, a scoping meeting, 

feasibility study, system impact study, and facilities study shall 

precede the preparation of an SGIA (Schedule 10 of 20VAC5-

314-170). Any of the studies may be combined by mutual, 

written agreement of the parties along with payment of 

applicable interconnection study deposit, set forth in Schedule 

6 of 20VAC5-314-170. Such agreement for a combined study 

shall, at a minimum, include milestones for completion. The 

combined study timeframes and fees shall not exceed the 

aggregate timeframes and fees of the individual studies as 

specified in this section. To maintain its position in the utility's 

interconnection queue, the IC must execute the agreement for 

combined study, return it to the utility, and pay the 

interconnection request study deposit set forth in Schedule 6 of 

20VAC5-314-170 within 15 business days after receipt of the 

agreement. If the IC fails to return the executed agreement for 

combined study or make the full payment of the 

interconnection request study deposit within 15 business days 
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after receipt of the agreement, the interconnection request shall 

be deemed withdrawn, and the interconnection request shall 

lose its place in the utility's interconnection queue. 

B. Scoping meeting. 

1. The purpose of the scoping meeting is to discuss the 

interconnection request and the utility's preliminary 

interdependency determination. The parties shall discuss the 

studies potentially required to safely and reliably 

interconnect the IC to the utility's system, including the cost 

responsibilities for the studies. 

2. A scoping meeting shall be held no later than 10 business 

days after the Interconnection Request Form is deemed 

complete or as otherwise mutually agreed to in writing by 

the parties. The utility and the IC shall bring to the meeting 

all resources as may be reasonably required to accomplish 

the purpose of the meeting, such as system engineers and 

other personnel. 

3. The scoping meeting may be omitted by mutual, written 

agreement of the parties. 

C. Feasibility study. 

1. If the parties agree that a feasibility study should be 

performed, the utility shall provide the IC with a Feasibility 

Study Agreement (Schedule 7 of 20VAC5-314-170), 

including an outline of the scope of the feasibility study and 

an estimate of the cost to perform the study, no later than 10 

business days after the scoping meeting or 10 business days 

after the decision is made to not have a scoping meeting and 

otherwise pursuant to subsection D of this section. 

If the parties agree to not perform a feasibility study, the 

utility shall provide the IC a System Impact Study 

Agreement (Schedule 8 of 20VAC5-314-170) including an 

outline of the scope of the study and an estimate of the cost 

to perform the study no later than 10 business days after the 

scoping meeting or five business days after the decision is 

made to not have a scoping meeting. 

2. To maintain its position in the utility's interconnection 

queue, the IC must execute the Feasibility Study Agreement, 

return it to the utility, and pay the interconnection request 

study deposit set forth in Schedule 6 of 20VAC5-314-170 

within 15 business days after receipt of the agreement. If the 

IC fails to return the executed Feasibility Study Agreement 

or make the full payment of the interconnection request 

study deposit within 15 business days after receipt of the 

agreement, the interconnection request shall be deemed 

withdrawn and the interconnection request shall lose its 

place in the utility's interconnection queue. 

3. A feasibility study shall identify any potential adverse 

system impacts that would result from the interconnection of 

the SGF. 

4. Feasibility study costs will be deducted from the 

interconnection request study deposit pursuant to Schedule 

7 of 20VAC5-314-170. 

5. The feasibility study shall be based on the technical 

information provided by the IC in the Interconnection 

Request Form, as may be modified as the result of the 

scoping meeting. The utility reserves the right to request 

additional technical information from the IC as may 

reasonably become necessary consistent with Good Utility 

Practice during the course of the feasibility study and as 

designated in accordance with the standard small generator 

interconnection procedures. All modifications made to the 

interconnection request shall be made in writing to the 

utility. If the IC submits a modification to its interconnection 

request in writing and the utility determines the modification 

is not a material modification, the time to complete the 

feasibility study may be extended by mutual, written 

agreement of the parties. 

6. In performing the feasibility study, the utility shall rely, to 

the extent reasonably practicable, on recent studies. The IC 

shall not be charged for such existing studies; however, the 

IC shall be responsible for charges associated with any new 

study or modifications to existing studies that are reasonably 

necessary to perform the feasibility study. 

7. The feasibility study report shall provide the following 

analyses for the purpose of identifying any potential adverse 

system impacts that would result from the interconnection of 

the SGF: 

a. Initial identification of any circuit breaker short circuit 

capability limits exceeded; 

b. Initial identification of any thermal overload or voltage 

limit violations; 

c. Initial review of grounding requirements and electric 

system protection; and 

d. Description and estimated cost of facilities and 

estimated construction time required to interconnect the 

SGF and to address the identified short circuit and power 

flow issues. 

8. The feasibility study shall model the impact of the SGF 

for all purposes identified in the Interconnection Request 

Form in order to avoid the further expense and interruption 

of operation for reexamination of feasibility and impacts if 

the IC later changes the purpose for which the SGF is being 

installed. 

9. The feasibility study shall include a determination of the 

feasibility of all potential points of interconnection for an 

SGF at the specified site as requested by the IC and shall be 

at the IC's cost. 

10. A feasibility study report shall be prepared and 

transmitted to the IC within 30 business days of the utility's 

receipt of the complete executed Feasibility Study 
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Agreement and required deposit. If the utility expects to miss 

the 30-business-day deadline, the utility must notify the IC 

in writing at least five business days before the deadline and 

provide a new expected completion date. 

11. If the feasibility study shows no potential for adverse 

system impacts, then within 10 business days of the 

completion of the study, the utility shall send the IC either 

an SGIA (Schedule 10 of 20VAC5-314-170) or a Facilities 

Study Agreement (Schedule 9 of 20VAC5-314-170), 

including an outline of the scope of the facilities study and 

an estimate of the cost to perform the study. 

12. If the feasibility study shows potential for adverse 

system impacts, the review process shall proceed to the 

system impact study. 

D. System impact study. 

1. No later than 10 business days after the parties agree that 

a system impact study should be performed, the utility shall 

provide the IC a System Impact Study Agreement (Schedule 

8 of 20VAC5-314-170), including an outline of the scope of 

the system impact study and an estimate of the cost to 

perform the study. 

2. To maintain its position in the utility's interconnection 

queue, the IC must execute the System Impact Study 

Agreement, return it to the utility, and if applicable, pay the 

interconnection request study deposit set forth in Schedule 6 

of 20VAC5-314-170 within 15 business days after receipt of 

the agreement. If the IC fails to return the executed System 

Impact Study Agreement or make the full payment of the 

applicable interconnection request study deposit within 15 

business days after receipt of the agreement, the 

interconnection request shall be deemed withdrawn, and the 

interconnection request shall lose its place in the utility's 

interconnection queue. 

3. System impact study costs will be deducted from the 

interconnection request study deposit pursuant to Schedule 

8 of 20VAC5-314-170. 

4. A system impact study shall identify and detail the electric 

system impacts that would result if the SGF were 

interconnected without project modifications or electric 

system modifications, including addressing any adverse 

electric system impacts identified in the feasibility study or 

in the scoping meeting. A system impact study shall evaluate 

the impact of the proposed interconnection on the reliability 

of the electric system. 

5. A system impact study will be based upon the results of 

the feasibility study, if applicable, and the technical 

information provided by the IC in the interconnection 

request. The utility reserves the right to request additional 

technical information from the IC as may reasonably 

become necessary consistent with Good Utility Practice 

during the course of the system impact study. If the IC 

modifies its designated point of interconnection or 

interconnection request or the technical information 

provided in the connection request, the time to complete the 

system impact study may be extended by written, mutual 

agreement. 

6. A system impact study shall consist of a study of the 

potentially impacted transmission and distribution systems, 

a short circuit analysis, a stability analysis, a power flow 

analysis, voltage drop and flicker studies, grounding 

reviews, distribution load flow study, analysis of equipment 

interrupting ratings, protection coordination study, 

communications study, and impacts on electric system 

operation, as necessary. A system impact study shall state 

the assumptions upon which it is based, state the results of 

the analyses, and provide the requirement or potential 

impediments to providing the requested interconnection 

service, including a preliminary indication of the cost and 

length of time that would be necessary to correct any 

problems identified in those analyses and implement the 

interconnection. A system impact study shall provide a list 

of facilities and modifications that would be required as a 

result of the interconnection along with estimates of cost 

responsibility and time to construct. If arranged with the 

utility prior to the utility preparing the System Impact Study 

Agreement, the system impact study may, at the IC's cost, 

include one or more alternatives to the point of 

interconnection; however, such alternative points must be on 

the same distribution circuit as the point of interconnection 

the IC specified as the proposed point of interconnection and 

the SGF must be at the same site. 

7. Affected systems may participate in the preparation of a 

system impact study, with a division of costs among such 

entities as they may agree. All affected systems shall be 

afforded an opportunity to review and comment upon a 

system impact study that covers potential adverse system 

impacts on their electric systems, and the utility has 20 

additional business days to complete a system impact study 

requiring review by affected systems. 

8. If the utility uses a queuing procedure for sorting or 

prioritizing projects and their associated cost responsibilities 

for any required network upgrades, the system impact study 

shall consider all generating facilities, and with respect to 

clause iii of this subdivision, any identified upgrades 

associated with such higher queued interconnection) that, on 

the date the system impact study is commenced are (i) 

directly interconnected with the utility system or (ii) 

interconnected with affected systems and may have an 

impact on the proposed interconnection and (iii) have a 

pending higher queued interconnection request to 

interconnect with the utility system. 

9. A system impact study, if required, shall be completed and 

the results transmitted to the IC within 45 business days after 

the System Impact Study Agreement is signed by the parties. 
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If the utility expects to miss the 45-business-day deadline, 

the utility must notify the IC in writing at least five business 

days before the deadline and provide a new expected 

completion date. 

10. If the system impact study shows that facility 

modifications are needed to accommodate the SGF, then 

within 10 business days following transmittal of the system 

impact study report, the IC may request a one-time change 

reducing the maximum generating capacity according to the 

amount specified in 20VAC5-314-39 C 3 or the utility shall 

send the IC a Facilities Study Agreement (Schedule 9 of 

20VAC5-314-170), including an outline of the scope of the 

study and an estimate of the cost to perform the study. The 

IC is responsible for all costs for the restudies required for 

the downsized SGF. 

E. Facilities study. 

1. The facilities study shall specify and estimate the cost of 

the equipment, engineering, procurement, and construction 

work needed to implement the conclusion of the feasibility 

impact study or system impact study and to allow the SGF 

to be interconnected and operate safely and reliably. 

2. To maintain its position in the utility's interconnection 

queue, the IC must execute the Facilities Study Agreement 

and return it to the utility and, if applicable, pay the 

interconnection request study deposit set forth in Schedule 6 

of 20VAC5-314-170 within 30 business days after receipt of 

the agreement, unless an extension has been agreed to in 

writing with the utility. Otherwise, the interconnection 

request shall be deemed withdrawn, and the interconnection 

request shall lose its place in the utility's interconnection 

queue. 

3. Facilities study costs will be deducted from the 

interconnection request deposit pursuant to Schedule 9 of 

20VAC5-314-170. 

4. Design for any required customer's interconnection 

facilities, attachment facilities, or upgrades shall be 

performed under the facilities study. The utility may contract 

with consultants to perform activities required under the 

facilities study. The IC and the utility may agree in writing 

to allow the IC to separately arrange for the design of some 

of the customer's interconnection facilities. In such cases, 

facilities design will be reviewed or modified prior to 

acceptance by the utility, under the provisions of the 

facilities study. If the parties agree to separately arrange for 

design and construction, and provided security and 

confidentiality requirements can be met, the utility shall 

make sufficient information available to the IC in 

accordance with confidentiality and critical infrastructure 

requirements, to permit the IC to obtain an independent 

design and cost estimate for any necessary facilities. 

5. The facilities study shall identify (i) the electrical 

switching configuration of the equipment, including 

transformer, switchgear, meters, and other station 

equipment; (ii) the nature and estimated cost of the 

attachment facilities and distribution upgrades necessary to 

accomplish the interconnection; and (iii) an estimate of the 

time required to complete the construction and installation 

of such facilities. 

6. The utility may propose to group facilities required for 

more than one IC in order to minimize facilities costs 

through economies of scale, but any IC may direct the utility 

to install those facilities required for only the IC's own SGF 

if it pays the costs of those facilities. 

7. In cases where system upgrades are required, the utility 

shall transmit the facilities study report within 45 business 

days after receipt of the completed Facilities Study 

Agreement. In cases where no system upgrades are 

necessary and the required facilities are limited to the IC's 

interconnection facilities and attachment facilities only, the 

utility shall transmit the facilities study report within 30 

business days after receipt of the completed Facilities Study 

Agreement. If the utility expects to miss the 45-business-day 

or 30-business-day deadline, the utility must notify the IC in 

writing at least five business days before the deadline and 

provide a new expected completion date. 

F. Construction planning meeting. 

1. Within 15 business days of receipt of the report for the 

final study (i.e., the facilities study or, if applicable, a 

combined study that satisfies all study requirements), the IC 

shall request a construction planning meeting where failure 

to comply shall result in the interconnection request being 

deemed withdrawn. The construction planning meeting 

request shall be in writing and shall include the IC's 

reasonably requested date for completion of the construction 

of the customer's interconnection facilities and upgrades. 

2. The construction planning meeting shall be scheduled 

within 15 business days of the request from the IC as stated 

in subdivision F 1 of this section, or as otherwise mutually 

agreed to in writing by the parties. 

3. The purpose of the construction planning meeting is to 

identify the tasks for each party and discuss and determine 

the milestones for the construction of the system upgrades 

and attachment facilities. Agreed upon milestones shall be 

specific as to scope of action, responsible party, and dates of 

deliverables and shall be recorded in the SGIA (see Schedule 

10 of 20VAC5-314-170) to be provided to the IC. 

G. Small Generator Interconnection Agreement. No later than 

10 business days after the construction planning meeting, the 

utility shall provide the IC an executable SGIA as set forth in 

20VAC5-314-50 F (Schedule 10 of 20VAC5-314-170). 
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20VAC5-314-100. Disputes. 

A. The parties agree to attempt to resolve all disputes arising 

out of the interconnection process according to the provisions 

of this section. 

B. In the event of a dispute, either party shall provide the other 

party with a written notice of dispute. The notice shall describe 

in detail the nature of the dispute. The parties shall make a good 

faith effort to resolve the dispute informally within 10 business 

days. 

C. If the dispute has not been resolved within 10 business 

days after receipt of the notice, either party may seek resolution 

assistance from the Division of Public Utility Regulation 

where the matter will be handled as an informal complaint.  

Alternatively, the parties may, upon mutual agreement, seek 

resolution through the assistance of a dispute resolution 

service. The dispute resolution service will assist the parties in 

either resolving the dispute or in selecting an appropriate 

dispute resolution venue (e.g., mediation, settlement judge, 

early neutral evaluation, or technical expert) to assist the 

parties in resolving their dispute. Each party shall conduct all 

negotiations in good faith and shall be responsible for one-half 

of any costs paid to neutral third parties. 

D. If the dispute remains unresolved, either party may petition 

the commission to handle the dispute as a formal complaint or 

may exercise whatever rights and remedies it may have in 

equity or law. 

E. The specified time periods for the interconnection request 

shall be tolled during the period in which the parties are 

engaged in any of the dispute resolution processes described in 

this section. Tolling shall commence upon the initiation of a 

dispute resolution process and shall end upon the termination 

of such process. This tolling ensures that neither party is 

prejudiced by the time taken to resolve the dispute through 

informal or formal mechanisms. If the dispute remains 

unresolved after 20 business days, the utility shall provide a 

written notice to commission staff at the Division of Public 

Utility Regulation. 

20VAC5-314-150. Capacity of the small generating facility. 

A. If the interconnection request is for an increase in capacity 

for an existing SGF, the interconnection request shall be 

evaluated on the basis of the new total capacity of the SGF. 

B. If the interconnection request is for a facility that includes 

multiple energy production or energy storage devices systems 

at a site for which the IC seeks a single point of 

interconnection, the interconnection request shall be evaluated 

on the basis of the maximum generating capacity of the facility. 

C. The interconnection request shall be evaluated using the 

maximum capacity that the SGF is capable of injecting into the 

utility's electric system. However, if the maximum generating 

capacity that the SGF is capable of injecting into the utility's 

electric system is limited (e.g., through use of a control system, 

power relays, or other similar device settings or adjustments), 

then the IC must obtain the utility's agreement, with such 

agreement not to be unreasonably withheld, that the manner in 

which the IC proposes to implement such a limit will not 

adversely affect the safety and reliability of the utility's system. 

If the utility does not so agree, then the interconnection request 

must be withdrawn or revised to specify the maximum capacity 

that the SGF is capable of injecting into the utility's electric 

system without such limitations. Nothing in this section shall 

prevent a utility from considering an output higher than the 

limited output, if appropriate, when evaluating system 

protection impacts. 

20VAC5-314-160. Insurance, liability, and 

indemnification. 

A. For an SGF with a rated capacity not exceeding 10 kW, 

the IC, at its own expense, shall secure and maintain in effect 

during the term of the agreement, liability insurance with a 

combined single limit for bodily injury and property damage 

of not less than $100,000 for each occurrence. 

For an SGF with a rated capacity exceeding 10 kW but not 

exceeding 500 kW, the IC, at its own expense, shall secure and 

maintain in effect during the term of the agreement, liability 

insurance with a combined single limit for bodily injury and 

property damage of not less than $300,000 for each occurrence. 

For an SGF with a rated capacity exceeding 500 kW, the IC, 

at its own expense, shall secure and maintain in effect during 

the term of the agreement, liability insurance with a combined 

single limit for bodily injury and property damage of not less 

than $2 million for each occurrence. 

An IC of sufficient creditworthiness, as determined by the 

utility, may propose to provide this insurance via a self-

insurance program if it has a self-insurance program 

established in accordance with commercially acceptable risk 

management practices, and such a proposal shall not be 

reasonably rejected. 

B. Certificates of insurance evidencing the requisite coverage 

and provision shall be furnished to the utility prior to the date 

of interconnection of the SGF, as required by the utility. The 

utility shall be permitted to periodically obtain proof of current 

insurance coverage from the IC in order to verify continuing 

proper liability insurance coverage. The utility reserves the 

right to refuse to commence or continue interconnected 

operations unless evidence is provided that required insurance 

coverage is in effect at all times. 

C. Utility and IC liability to the other party for any loss, cost, 

claim, injury, liability, or expense, including reasonable 

attorney fees, relating to or arising from any act or omission 

pursuant to this chapter shall be limited to the amount of direct 

damage actually incurred. In no event shall either party be 

liable to the other party for any indirect, special, incidental, 

consequential, or punitive damages of any kind. 
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D. The utility and the IC shall at all times indemnify, defend, 

and save the other party harmless from any damages; losses; 

claims, including claims and actions relating to injury or death 

of any person or damage to property; demand; suits; 

recoveries; costs and expenses; court costs; attorney fees; and 

all other obligations by or to third parties arising out of or 

resulting from the other party's action or inaction of its 

obligations pursuant to this chapter on behalf of the 

indemnifying party, except in cases of gross negligence or 

intentional wrongdoing by the indemnified party. 

20VAC5-314-170. Schedules for Chapter 314. 

The following schedules shall be used in the administration 

of this chapter. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Schedules 1 and 2 of 20VAC5-314-170 

are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

Schedule 3 

Certification Codes and Standards 

Attachment 3 of the FERC Small Generator Interconnection 

Procedures (SGIP) in 70 FR 34189 (June 13, 2005): 

IEEE Std 1547 Standard for Interconnecting Distributed 

Resources with Electric Power Systems (including use of 

IEEE Std 1547.1 testing protocols to establish conformity 

and IEEE Std 1547.3 cybersecurity) 

UL 1741 Inverters, Converters, and Controllers for Use in 

Independent Power Systems 

IEEE Std 929-2000 IEEE Recommended Practice for Utility 

Interface of Photovoltaic (PV) Systems 

NFPA 70 (2005), National Electrical Code 

IEEE Std C37.90.1-1989 (R1994), IEEE Standard Surge 

Withstand Capability (SWC) Tests for Protective Relays and 

Relay Systems 

IEEE Std C37.90.2 (1995), IEEE Standard Withstand 

Capability of Relay Systems to Radiated Electromagnetic 

Interference from Transceivers 

IEEE Std C37.108-1989 (R2002), IEEE Guide for the 

Protection of Network Transformers 

IEEE Std C57.12.44-2000, IEEE Standard Requirements for 

Secondary Network Protectors 

IEEE Std C62.41.2-2002, IEEE Recommended Practice on 

Characterization of Surges in Low Voltage (1000V and 

Less) AC Power Circuits 

IEEE Std C62.45-1992 (R2002), IEEE Recommended 

Practice on Surge Testing for Equipment Connected to Low-

Voltage (1000V and Less) AC Power Circuits 

ANSI C84.1-1995 Electric Power Systems and Equipment – 

Voltage Ratings (60 Hertz) 

IEEE Std 100-2000, IEEE Standard Dictionary of Electrical 

and Electronic Terms 

NEMA MG 1-1998, Motors and Small Resources, Revision 

3 

IEEE Std 519-1992, IEEE Recommended Practices and 

Requirements for Harmonic Control in Electrical Power 

Systems 

NEMA MG 1-2003 (Rev 2004), Motors and Generators, 

Revision 1 

NARUC Cybersecurity Baselines for Electric Distribution 

Systems and Distributed Energy Resources 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Schedules 4, 5, and 6 of 20VAC5-314-

170 are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

Schedule 7 

LEVEL 3 FEASIBILITY STUDY AGREEMENT FOR 

SMALL GENERATING FACILITIES 

This Agreement is made and entered into this _____day of 

________20___ by and 

between___________________________________________

__________________, a 

____________________________organized and existing 

under the laws of the state of 

__________________________________________, 

("Interconnection Customer,") and 

____________________________________, 

a________________existing under the laws of the state 

of____________________________________, ("Utility"). 

Interconnection Customer and Utility each may be referred to 

as a "Party" or collectively as the "Parties." 

RECITALS 

WHEREAS, Interconnection Customer is proposing to 

develop an SGF or generating capacity addition to an existing 

SGF consistent with the interconnection request completed by 

Interconnection Customer on_________________________; 

and 

WHEREAS, Interconnection Customer desires to 

interconnect the SGF with the Utility's system; and 

WHEREAS, Interconnection Customer has requested the 

Utility to perform a feasibility study to assess the feasibility of 

interconnecting the proposed SGF with the Utility's system, 

and of any affected systems; 

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of and subject to the 

mutual covenants contained in this Agreement the Parties 

agreed as follows: 

1.0 The terms defined in Schedule 1 of 20VAC5-314-170 

shall apply to this Schedule 7 of 20VAC 5-314-170. 

2.0 The Interconnection Customer elects and the Utility shall 

cause to be performed an interconnection feasibility study 
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consistent with the standard small generator interconnection 

procedures. 

3.0 The scope of the feasibility study shall be subject to the 

assumptions set forth in Attachment A to this Agreement. 

4.0 Feasibility study costs will be deducted from the 

interconnection request study deposit, as set forth in 

Schedule 6 of 20VAC5-314-170. 

4.1 Study cost shall be the Utility's actual incremental 

costs and will be invoiced to the Interconnection Customer 

no later than 60 business days after the study is completed 

and delivered and will include a summary of professional 

time. Actual study costs may be reconciled during the final 

accounting process described in Article 6 of the 

Interconnection Agreement, as applicable. 

4.2 The Interconnection Customer shall pay any study 

costs that exceed the deposit within 20 business days after 

receipt of the invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the 

deposit exceeds the invoiced fees, the Utility shall refund 

the excess within 20 business days of the invoice without 

interest unless additional studies are required. 

5.0 The feasibility study shall be based on the technical 

information provided by the Interconnection Customer in the 

interconnection request, as may be modified as the result of 

the scoping meeting. The Utility reserves the right to request 

additional technical information from the Interconnection 

Customer as may reasonably become necessary consistent 

with Good Utility Practice during the course of the 

feasibility study and as designated in accordance with the 

standard small generator interconnection procedures. If the 

information requested by the Utility is not provided by the 

Interconnection Customer within a reasonable timeframe to 

be identified by the Utility in writing, the Utility shall 

provide the Interconnection Customer written notice 

providing an opportunity to cure such failure by the close of 

business on the 10th business day following the posted date 

of such notice, where failure to provide the information 

requested within this period shall result in the study being 

terminated and the interconnection request being deemed 

withdrawn. The period of time for the Utility to complete the 

feasibility study shall be tolled during any period that the 

Utility has requested information in writing from the 

Interconnection Customer necessary to complete the study 

and such request is outstanding. 

6.0 In performing the study, the Utility shall rely, to the 

extent reasonably practicable, on recent studies. The 

Interconnection Customer shall not be charged for such 

existing studies; however, the Interconnection Customer 

shall be responsible for charges associated with any new 

study or modifications to existing studies that are reasonably 

necessary to perform the feasibility study. 

7.0 The feasibility study report shall provide the following 

analyses for the purpose of identifying any potential adverse 

system impacts that would result from the interconnection of 

the SGF as proposed: 

7.1 Initial identification of any circuit breaker short circuit 

capability limits exceeded as a result of the 

interconnection; 

7.2 Initial identification of any thermal overload or voltage 

limit violations resulting from the interconnection; 

7.3 Initial review of grounding requirements and electric 

system protection; and 

7.4 Description and nonbinding estimated cost of facilities 

required to interconnect the proposed SGF and to address 

the identified short circuit and power flow issues. 

8.0 The feasibility study shall model the impact of the SGF 

for all purposes identified in the Interconnection Request 

Form in order to avoid the further expense and interruption 

of operation for reexamination of feasibility and impacts if 

the Interconnection Customer later changes the purpose for 

which the SGF is being installed. 

9.0 The study shall include the feasibility of all potential 

points of interconnection as requested by the Interconnection 

Customer and at the Interconnection Customer's cost. 

10.0 A feasibility study report shall be prepared and 

transmitted to the Interconnection Customer within 30 

business days of the Utility's receipt of the complete 

executed feasibility study agreement and required deposit. If 

the Utility expects to miss the 30-business-day deadline, it 

must notify the Interconnection Customer in writing at least 

five business days before the deadline and provide a new 

expected completion date. 

11.0 If the feasibility study shows no potential for adverse 

system impacts, then within 10 business days, the Utility 

shall send the Interconnection Customer either an executable 

Small Generator Interconnection Agreement (Schedule 10 

of 20VAC5-314-170) or a Facilities Study Agreement, 

including an outline of the scope of the study. 

12.0 If the feasibility study shows potential for adverse 

system impacts, the review process shall proceed to the 

system impact study. 

13.0 Governing law, regulatory authority, and rules. The 

validity, interpretation, and enforcement of this Agreement 

and each of its provisions shall be governed by the laws of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, without regard to its 

conflicts of law principles. This Agreement is subject to all 

applicable laws and regulations. Each Party expressly 

reserves the right to seek changes in, appeal, or otherwise 

contest any laws, orders, or regulations of a governmental 

authority. 

14.0 Amendment. The Parties may amend this Agreement 

by a written instrument duly executed by both Parties. 
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15.0 No third-party beneficiaries. This Agreement is not 

intended to and does not create rights, remedies, or benefits 

of any character whatsoever in favor of any persons, 

corporations, associations, or entities other than the Parties, 

and the obligations in this Agreement assumed are solely for 

the use and benefit of the Parties, their successors in interest 

and where permitted, their assigns. 

16.0 Waiver. 

16.1 The failure of a Party to this Agreement to insist, on 

any occasion, upon strict performance of any provision of 

this Agreement will not be considered a waiver of any 

obligation, right, or duty of or duty imposed upon such 

Party. 

16.2 Any waiver at any time by either Party of its rights 

with respect to this Agreement shall not be deemed a 

continuing waiver or a waiver with respect to any other 

failure to comply with any other obligation, right, or duty 

of this Agreement. Termination or default of this 

Agreement for any reason by an Interconnection Customer 

shall not constitute a waiver of the Interconnection 

Customer's legal rights to obtain an interconnection from 

the Utility. Any waiver of this Agreement shall, if 

requested, be provided in writing. 

17.0 Entire agreement. This Agreement, including all 

attachments, constitutes the entire agreement between the 

Parties with reference to the subject matter hereof and 

supersedes all prior and contemporaneous understandings or 

agreements, oral or written, between the Parties with respect 

to the subject matter of this Agreement. There are no other 

agreements, representations, warranties, or covenants that 

constitute any part of the consideration for, or any condition 

to, either Party's compliance with its obligations under this 

Agreement. 

18.0 Multiple counterparts. This Agreement may be 

executed in two or more counterparts, each of which is 

deemed an original but all constitute one and the same 

instrument. 

19.0 No partnership. This Agreement shall not be interpreted 

or construed to create an association, joint venture, agency 

relationship, or partnership between the Parties or to impose 

any partnership obligation or partnership liability upon 

either Party. Neither Party shall have any right, power, or 

authority to enter into any agreement or undertaking for, or 

act on behalf of, or to act as or be an agent or representative 

of, or to otherwise bind, the other Party. 

20.0 Severability. If any provision or portion of this 

Agreement shall for any reason be held or adjudged to be 

invalid or illegal or unenforceable by any court of competent 

jurisdiction or other governmental authority, (i) such portion 

or provision shall be deemed separate and independent, (ii) 

the Parties shall negotiate in good faith to restore insofar as 

practicable the benefits to each Party that were affected by 

such ruling, and (iii) the remainder of this Agreement shall 

remain in full force and effect. 

21.0 Subcontractors. Nothing in this Agreement shall 

prevent a Party from utilizing the services of any 

subcontractor as it deems appropriate to perform its 

obligations under this Agreement; however, each Party shall 

require its subcontractors to comply with all applicable 

terms and conditions of this Agreement in providing such 

services and each Party shall remain primarily liable to the 

other Party for the performance of such subcontractor. 

21.1 The creation of any subcontract relationship shall not 

relieve the hiring Party of any of its obligations under this 

Agreement. The hiring Party shall be fully responsible to 

the other Party for the acts or omissions of any 

subcontractor the hiring Party hires as if no subcontract 

had been made; provided that in no event shall the Utility 

be liable for the actions or inactions of the Interconnection 

Customer or its subcontractors with respect to obligations 

of the Interconnection Customer under this Agreement. 

Any applicable obligation imposed by this Agreement 

upon the hiring Party shall be equally binding upon and 

shall be construed as having application to any 

subcontractor of such Party. 

21.2 The obligations under this Section 21.0 of this 

Agreement will not be limited in any way by any 

limitation of subcontractor's insurance. 

22.0 Reservation of rights. The Utility shall have the right to 

make a unilateral filing with the State Corporation 

Commission to modify this Agreement with respect to any 

rates, terms, and conditions, charges, or classifications of 

service, and the Interconnection Customer shall have the 

right to make a unilateral filing with the State Corporation 

Commission to modify this Agreement; provided that each 

Party shall have the right to protest any such filing by the 

other Party and to participate fully in any proceeding before 

the State Corporation Commission in which such 

modifications may be considered. Nothing in this 

Agreement shall limit the rights of the Parties except to the 

extent that the Parties otherwise agree as provided in this 

Agreement. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Parties have caused this 

Agreement to be duly executed by their duly authorized 

officers or agents on the day and year of this Agreement. 

(Insert name of Utility) (Insert name of Interconnection 

Customer) 

________________________________ 

________________________________ 

Signed: _________________________ 

Signed:__________________________ 

Name (Printed): Name (Printed): 
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________________________________ 

_________________ 

Title: ___________________________ Title: 

____________________________ 

Feasibility Study Due Date: 

______________________________________ 

Attachment A to Schedule 7 

Feasibility Study Agreement 

Assumptions Used in Conducting the Feasibility Study 

The feasibility study will be based upon the information set 

forth in the interconnection request and agreed upon in the 

scoping meeting held on _____________________: 

1. Designation of point of interconnection and configuration 

to be studied. 

2. Designation of alternative points of interconnection and 

configuration. 

Questions 1 and 2 are to be completed by the Interconnection 

Customer. Any other assumptions are to be provided by the 

Interconnection Customer and the Utility. 

_______________________________________________

______________ 

_______________________________________________

______________ 

Schedule 8 

LEVEL 3 SYSTEM IMPACT STUDY AGREEMENT 

FOR SMALL GENERATING FACILITIES 

This Agreement is made and entered into this _____day 

of___________________20_______by and 

between______________________ 

_________________________________________________

___________________, a ___________________________ 

organized and existing under the laws of the state 

of__________________________________________, 

("Interconnection Customer,") 

and__________________________________________, 

a_________________existing under the laws of the state 

of________, ("Utility"). Interconnection Customer and Utility 

each may be referred to as a "Party," or collectively as the 

"Parties." 

RECITALS 

WHEREAS, the Interconnection Customer is proposing to 

develop an SGF or generating capacity addition to an existing 

SGF consistent with the interconnection request completed by 

the Interconnection Customer on______________________; 

and 

WHEREAS, the Interconnection Customer desires to 

interconnect the SGF with the Utility's system; and 

WHEREAS, the Utility has completed a feasibility study and 

provided the results of said study to the Interconnection 

Customer (This recital to be omitted if the Parties have agreed 

to forgo the feasibility study.); and 

WHEREAS, the Interconnection Customer has requested the 

Utility to perform a system impact study to assess the impact 

of interconnecting the SGF with the Utility's system, and of 

any affected systems; 

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of and subject to the 

mutual covenants contained in this Agreement the Parties 

agreed as follows: 

1.0 The terms defined in Schedule 1 of 20VAC5-314-170 

shall apply to this Schedule 8 of 20VAC 5-314-170. 

2.0 The Interconnection Customer elects and the Utility shall 

cause to be performed a system impact study consistent with 

the standard small generator interconnection procedures. 

3.0 System impact study costs will be deducted from the 

interconnection request study deposit as set forth in 

Schedule 6 of 20VAC5-314-170. 

3.1 Study cost shall be the Utility's actual incremental 

costs and will be invoiced to the Interconnection Customer 

no later than 60 business days after the study is completed 

and delivered and will include a summary of professional 

time. Actual study costs may be reconciled during the final 

accounting process described in Article 6 of the 

Interconnection Agreement, as applicable. 

3.2 The Interconnection Customer shall pay any study 

costs that exceed the deposit within 20 business days after 

receipt of the invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the 

deposit exceeds the invoiced fees, the Utility shall refund 

the excess within 20 business days of the invoice without 

interest unless additional studies are required. 

4.0 A system impact study shall identify and detail the 

electric system impacts that would result if the SGF were 

interconnected without project modifications or electric 

system modifications, focusing on the adverse electric 

system impacts identified in the feasibility study or in the 

scoping meeting. A system impact study shall evaluate the 

impact of the proposed interconnection on the reliability of 

the electric system. 

5.0 A system impact study will be based upon the results of 

the feasibility study and the technical information provided 

by Interconnection Customer in the interconnection request. 

The Utility reserves the right to request additional technical 

information from the Interconnection Customer as may 

reasonably become necessary consistent with Good Utility 

Practice during the course of the system impact study. If the 

information requested by the Utility is not provided by the 

Interconnection Customer within a reasonable timeframe to 

be identified by the Utility in writing, the Utility shall 

provide the Interconnection Customer written notice 
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providing an opportunity to cure such failure by the close of 

business on the 10th business day following the posted date 

of such notice, where failure to provide the information 

requested within this period shall result in the study being 

terminated, and the interconnection request being deemed 

withdrawn. The period of time for the Utility to complete the 

system impact study shall be tolled during any period that 

the Utility has requested information in writing from the 

Interconnection Customer necessary to complete the study 

and such request is outstanding. 

6.0 A system impact study shall consist of a study of the 

potentially impacted transmission and distribution systems, 

a short circuit analysis, a stability analysis, a power flow 

analysis, voltage drop and flicker studies, grounding 

reviews, distribution load flow study, analysis of equipment 

interrupting ratings, protection coordination study, and 

impacts on electric system operation, as necessary. A system 

impact study shall state the assumptions upon which it is 

based, state the results of the analyses, and provide the 

requirement or potential impediments to providing the 

requested interconnection service, including a preliminary 

indication of the cost and length of time that would be 

necessary to correct any problems identified in those 

analyses and implement the interconnection. A system 

impact study shall provide a list of facilities and 

modifications that would be required as a result of the 

interconnection along with estimates of cost responsibility 

and time to construct. If arranged with the Utility prior to the 

Utility preparing the system impact study agreement, the 

system impact study may, at the Interconnection Customer's 

cost, include one or more alternatives to the point of 

interconnection; however, such alternative points must be on 

the same distribution circuit as the point of interconnection 

the Interconnection Customer specified as the proposed 

point of interconnection. 

7.0 Affected systems may participate in the preparation of a 

system impact study, with a division of costs among such 

entities as they may agree. All affected systems shall be 

afforded an opportunity to review and comment upon a 

system impact study that covers potential adverse system 

impacts on their electric systems, and the Utility has 20 

additional business days to complete a system impact study 

requiring review by affected systems. 

8.0 If the Utility uses a queuing procedure for sorting or 

prioritizing projects and associated cost responsibilities for 

any required network upgrades, the system impact study 

shall consider all generating facilities (and with respect to 

Section 8.3 of this Agreement, any identified upgrades 

associated with such higher queued interconnection) that, on 

the date the system impact study is commenced: 

8.1 Are directly interconnected with the Utility's system; 

or 

8.2 Are interconnected with affected systems and may 

have an impact on the proposed interconnection; and 

8.3 Have a pending higher queued interconnection request 

to interconnect with the Utility's system. 

9.0 A system impact study, if required, shall be completed 

and the results transmitted to the Interconnection Customer 

within 45 business days after this Agreement is signed by the 

Parties or in accordance with the Utility's queuing 

procedures. If the Utility expects to miss the 45-business-

day deadline, it must notify the Interconnection Customer in 

writing at least five business days before the deadline and 

provide a new expected completion date. 

10.0 If the system impact study shows that facility 

modifications are needed to accommodate the SGF, then 

within 10 business days following transmittal of the system 

impact study report, the Utility shall send the 

Interconnection Customer a Facilities Study Agreement, 

including an outline of the scope of the study. 

11.0 Governing law, regulatory authority, and rules. The 

validity, interpretation, and enforcement of this Agreement 

and each of its provisions shall be governed by the laws of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, without regard to its 

conflicts of law principles. This Agreement is subject to all 

applicable laws and regulations. Each Party expressly 

reserves the right to seek changes in, appeal, or otherwise 

contest any laws, orders, or regulations of a governmental 

authority. 

12.0 Amendment. The Parties may amend this Agreement 

by a written instrument duly executed by both Parties. 

13.0 No third-party beneficiaries. This Agreement is not 

intended to and does not create rights, remedies, or benefits 

of any character whatsoever in favor of any persons, 

corporations, associations, or entities other than the Parties, 

and the obligations pursuant to this Agreement assumed are 

solely for the use and benefit of the Parties, their successors 

in interest, and where permitted, their assigns. 

14.0 Waiver. 

14.1 The failure of a Party to this Agreement to insist, on 

any occasion, upon strict performance of any provision of 

this Agreement will not be considered a waiver of any 

obligation, right, or duty of or duty imposed upon such 

Party. 

14.2 Any waiver at any time by either Party of its rights 

with respect to this Agreement shall not be deemed a 

continuing waiver or a waiver with respect to any other 

failure to comply with any other obligation, right, or duty 

of this Agreement. Termination or default of this 

Agreement for any reason by Interconnection Customer 

shall not constitute a waiver of the Interconnection 

Customer's legal rights to obtain an interconnection from 

the Utility. Any waiver of this Agreement shall if 

requested, be provided in writing. 
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15.0 Entire agreement. This Agreement, including all 

attachments, constitutes the entire agreement between the 

Parties with reference to the subject matter hereof and 

supersedes all prior and contemporaneous understandings or 

agreements, oral or written, between the Parties with respect 

to the subject matter of this Agreement. There are no other 

agreements, representations, warranties, or covenants that 

constitute any part of the consideration for, or any condition 

to, either Party's compliance with its obligations under this 

Agreement. 

16.0 Multiple counterparts. This Agreement may be 

executed in two or more counterparts, each of which is 

deemed an original but all constitute one and the same 

instrument. 

17.0 No partnership. This Agreement shall not be interpreted 

or construed to create an association, joint venture, agency 

relationship, or partnership between the Parties or to impose 

any partnership obligation or partnership liability upon 

either Party. Neither Party shall have any right, power, or 

authority to enter into any agreement or undertaking for, or 

act on behalf of, or to act as or be an agent or representative 

of, or to otherwise bind, the other Party. 

18.0 Severability. If any provision or portion of this 

Agreement shall for any reason be held or adjudged to be 

invalid or illegal or unenforceable by any court of competent 

jurisdiction or other governmental authority, (i) such portion 

or provision shall be deemed separate and independent, (ii) 

the Parties shall negotiate in good faith to restore insofar as 

practicable the benefits to each Party that were affected by 

such ruling, and (iii) the remainder of this Agreement shall 

remain in full force and effect. 

19.0 Subcontractors. Nothing in this Agreement shall 

prevent a Party from utilizing the services of any 

subcontractor as it deems appropriate to perform its 

obligations under this Agreement; however, each Party shall 

require its subcontractors to comply with all applicable 

terms and conditions of this Agreement in providing such 

services, and each Party shall remain primarily liable to the 

other Party for the performance of such subcontractor. 

19.1 The creation of any subcontract relationship shall not 

relieve the hiring Party of any of its obligations under this 

Agreement. The hiring Party shall be fully responsible to 

the other Party for the acts or omissions of any 

subcontractor the hiring Party hires as if no subcontract 

had been made; provided that in no event shall the Utility 

be liable for the actions or inactions of the Interconnection 

Customer or its subcontractors with respect to obligations 

of the Interconnection Customer under this Agreement. 

Any applicable obligation imposed by this Agreement 

upon the hiring Party shall be equally binding upon and 

shall be construed as having application to any 

subcontractor of such Party. 

19.2 The obligations under this Section 19.0 of this 

Agreement will not be limited in any way by any 

limitation of subcontractor's insurance. 

20.0 Reservation of rights. The Utility shall have the right to 

make a unilateral filing with the State Corporation 

Commission to modify this Agreement with respect to any 

rates, terms and conditions, charges, or classifications of 

service, and the Interconnection Customer shall have the 

right to make a unilateral filing with the State Corporation 

Commission to modify this Agreement; provided that each 

Party shall have the right to protest any such filing by the 

other Party and to participate fully in any proceeding before 

the State Corporation Commission in which such 

modifications may be considered. Nothing in this 

Agreement shall limit the rights of the Parties except to the 

extent that the Parties otherwise agree as provided in this 

Agreement. 

IN WITNESS THEREOF, the Parties have caused this 

Agreement to be duly executed by their duly authorized 

officers or agents on the day and year of this Agreement. 

(Insert name of Utility) (Insert name of Interconnection 

Customer) 

_______________________________________________

____________________ 

Signed: _________________________ Signed: 

____________________________ 

Name (Printed): Name (Printed): 

__________________________________ 

______________________________ 

Title: ______________________________ Title: 

__________________________ 

System Impact Study Due Date: 

__________________________ 

Schedule 9 

LEVEL 3 FACILITIES STUDY AGREEMENT FOR 

SMALL GENERATING FACILITIES 

This Agreement is made and entered into this _____day 

of______________20___ by and 

between_____________________________________________

___________, a ____________________________organized and 

existing under the laws of the state 

of____________________________________________, 

("Interconnection Customer,") 

and_________________________________________________

_______________, a__________________existing under the 

laws of the state 

of__________________________________________________

__________, ("Utility"). Interconnection Customer and Utility 

each may be referred to as a "Party," or collectively as the 

"Parties." 
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RECITALS 

WHEREAS, the Interconnection Customer is proposing to 

develop an SGF or generating capacity addition to an existing 

SGF consistent with the interconnection request completed by 

the Interconnection Customer on______________________; 

and 

WHEREAS, the Interconnection Customer desires to 

interconnect the SGF with the Utility's system; and 

WHEREAS, the Utility has completed a system impact study 

and provided the results of the study to the Interconnection 

Customer; and 

WHEREAS, the Interconnection Customer has requested the 

Utility to perform a facilities study to specify and estimate the 

cost of the equipment, engineering, procurement, and 

construction work needed to implement the conclusions of the 

system impact study in accordance with Good Utility Practice 

to physically and electrically connect the SGF with the Utility's 

system. 

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of and subject to the 

mutual covenants contained in this Agreement the Parties 

agreed as follows: 

1.0 The terms defined in Schedule 1 of 20VAC5-314-170 

shall apply to this Schedule 9 of 20VAC 5-314-170. 

2.0 The Interconnection Customer elects and the Utility shall 

cause a facilities study consistent with the standard small 

generator interconnection procedures. 

3.0 The scope of the facilities study shall be subject to data 

provided in Attachment A to this Agreement. 

4.0 The facilities study shall specify and estimate the cost of 

the equipment, engineering, procurement, and construction 

work needed to implement the conclusions of the feasibility 

study or system impact study and to allow the SGF to be 

interconnected and operate safely and reliably. 

5.0 Facilities study costs will be deducted from the 

interconnection request study deposit, as set forth in 

Schedule 6 of 20VAC5-314-170. 

5.1 Study cost shall be the Utility's actual incremental 

costs and will be invoiced to the Interconnection Customer 

no later than 60 business days after the study is completed 

and delivered and will include a summary of professional 

time. Actual study costs may be reconciled during the final 

accounting process described in Article 6 of the 

Interconnection Agreement, as applicable. 

5.2 The Interconnection Customer shall pay any study 

costs that exceed the deposit within 20 business days on 

receipt of the invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the 

deposit exceeds the invoiced fees, the Utility shall refund 

the excess within 20 business days of the invoice without 

interest. 

6.0 Design for any required customer's interconnection 

facilities, attachment facilities, or distribution upgrades shall 

be performed under the facilities study. The Utility may 

contract with consultants to perform activities required 

under the facilities study. The Interconnection Customer and 

the Utility may agree to allow the Interconnection Customer 

to separately arrange for the design of some of the customer's 

interconnection facilities. In such cases, facilities design will 

be reviewed or modified prior to acceptance by the Utility, 

under the provisions of the facilities study. If the Parties 

agree to separately arrange for design and construction, and 

provided security and confidentiality requirements can be 

met, the Utility shall make sufficient information available 

to the Interconnection Customer in accordance with 

confidentiality and critical infrastructure requirements, to 

permit the Interconnection Customer to obtain an 

independent design and cost estimate for any necessary 

facilities. 

7.0 The facilities study shall also identify (i) the electrical 

switching configuration of the equipment, including 

transformer, switchgear, meters, and other station 

equipment; (ii) the nature and estimated cost of the 

attachment facilities and distribution upgrades necessary to 

accomplish the interconnection; and (iii) an estimate of the 

time required to complete the construction and installation 

of such facilities. 

8.0 The Utility may propose to group facilities required for 

more than one Interconnection Customer in order to 

minimize facilities costs through economies of scale, but any 

Interconnection Customer may require the installation of 

facilities required for its own SGF if it is willing to pay the 

costs of those facilities. 

9.0 In cases where system upgrades are required, the Utility 

shall transmit the facilities study report within 45 business 

days after receipt of the complete Facilities Study 

Agreement and the deposit. In cases where no system 

upgrades are necessary, and the required facilities are limited 

to customer's interconnection facilities and attachment 

facilities only, the Utility shall transmit the facilities study 

report within 30 business days after receipt of this 

Agreement and the deposit. The Utility reserves the right to 

request additional technical information from the 

Interconnection Customer as may reasonably become 

necessary consistent with Good Utility Practice during the 

course of the facilities study. If the information requested by 

the Utility is not provided by the Interconnection Customer 

within a reasonable timeframe to be identified by the Utility 

in writing, the Utility shall provide the Interconnection 

Customer written notice providing an opportunity to cure 

such failure by the close of business on the 10th business day 

following the posted date of such notice, where failure to 

provide the information requested within this period shall 

result in the study being terminated, and the interconnection 

request being deemed withdrawn. The period of time for the 

Utility to complete the facilities study shall be tolled during 

any period that the Utility has requested information in 
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writing from the Interconnection Customer necessary to 

complete the study and such request is outstanding. If the 

Utility expects to miss the 45-business-day or 30-business-

day deadline, it must notify the Interconnection Customer in 

writing at least five business days before the deadline and 

provide a new expected completion date. 

10.0 Governing law, regulatory authority, and rules. The 

validity, interpretation, and enforcement of this Agreement 

and each of its provisions shall be governed by the laws of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, without regard to its 

conflicts of law principles. This Agreement is subject to all 

applicable laws and regulations. Each Party expressly 

reserves the right to seek changes in, appeal, or otherwise 

contest any laws, orders, or regulations of a governmental 

authority. 

11.0 Amendment. The Parties may amend this Agreement 

by a written instrument duly executed by both Parties. 

12.0 No third-party beneficiaries. This Agreement is not 

intended to and does not create rights, remedies, or benefits 

of any character whatsoever in favor of any persons, 

corporations, associations, or entities other than the Parties, 

and the obligations assumed in this Agreement are solely for 

the use and benefit of the Parties, their successors in interest 

and where permitted, their assigns. 

13.0 Waiver. 

13.1 The failure of a Party to this Agreement to insist, on 

any occasion, upon strict performance of any provision of 

this Agreement will not be considered a waiver of any 

obligation, right, or duty of or duty imposed upon such 

Party. 

13.2 Any waiver at any time by either Party of its rights 

with respect to this Agreement shall not be deemed a 

continuing waiver or a waiver with respect to any other 

failure to comply with any other obligation, right, or duty 

of this Agreement. Termination or default of this 

Agreement for any reason by the Interconnection 

Customer shall not constitute a waiver of the 

Interconnection Customer's legal rights to obtain an 

interconnection from the Utility. Any waiver of this 

Agreement shall, if requested, be provided in writing. 

14.0 Entire agreement. This Agreement, including all 

attachments, constitutes the entire agreement between the 

Parties with reference to the subject matter hereof and 

supersedes all prior and contemporaneous understandings or 

agreements, oral or written, between the Parties with respect 

to the subject matter of this Agreement. There are no other 

agreements, representations, warranties, or covenants that 

constitute any part of the consideration for, or any condition 

to, either Party's compliance with its obligations under this 

Agreement. 

15.0 Multiple counterparts. This Agreement may be 

executed in two or more counterparts, each of which is 

deemed an original but all constitute one and the same 

instrument. 

16.0 No partnership. This Agreement shall not be interpreted or 

construed to create an association, joint venture, agency 

relationship, or partnership between the Parties or to impose any 

partnership obligation or partnership liability upon either Party. 

Neither Party shall have any right, power, or authority to enter 

into any agreement or undertaking for, or act on behalf of, or to 

act as or be an agent or representative of, or to otherwise bind, 

the other Party. 

17.0 Severability. If any provision or portion of this Agreement 

shall for any reason be held or adjudged to be invalid or illegal 

or unenforceable by any court of competent jurisdiction or other 

governmental authority, (i) such portion or provision shall be 

deemed separate and independent, (ii) the Parties shall negotiate 

in good faith to restore insofar as practicable the benefits to each 

Party that were affected by such ruling, and (iii) the remainder 

of this Agreement shall remain in full force and effect. 

18.0 Subcontractors. Nothing in this Agreement shall 

prevent a Party from utilizing the services of any 

subcontractor as it deems appropriate to perform its 

obligations under this Agreement; however, each Party shall 

require its subcontractors to comply with all applicable 

terms and conditions of this Agreement in providing such 

services, and each Party shall remain primarily liable to the 

other Party for the performance of such subcontractor. 

18.1 The creation of any subcontract relationship shall not 

relieve the hiring Party of any of its obligations under this 

Agreement. The hiring Party shall be fully responsible to the 

other Party for the acts or omissions of any subcontractor the 

hiring Party hires as if no subcontract had been made; 

provided that in no event shall the Utility be liable for the 

actions or inactions of the Interconnection Customer or its 

subcontractors with respect to obligations of the 

Interconnection Customer under this Agreement. Any 

applicable obligation imposed by this Agreement upon the 

hiring Party shall be equally binding upon and shall be 

construed as having application to any subcontractor of such 

Party. 

18.2 The obligations under this Section 18.0 of this 

Agreement will not be limited in any way by any limitation 

of subcontractor's insurance. 

19.0 Reservation of rights. The Utility shall have the right to 

make a unilateral filing with the State Corporation Commission 

to modify this Agreement with respect to any rates, terms and 

conditions, charges, or classifications of service, and the 

Interconnection Customer shall have the right to make a 

unilateral filing with the State Corporation Commission to 

modify this Agreement; provided that each Party shall have the 

right to protest any such filing by the other Party and to 

participate fully in any proceeding before the State Corporation 

Commission in which such modifications may be considered. 

Nothing in this Agreement shall limit the rights of the Parties 

except to the extent that the Parties otherwise agree as provided 

in this Agreement. 
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Parties have caused this 

Agreement to be duly executed by their duly authorized 

officers or agents on the day and year of this Agreement. 

(Insert name of Utility) (Insert name of Interconnection 

Customer) 

___________________________________ 

_________________________________ 

Signed______________________________ 

Signed___________________________ 

Name (Printed): Name (Printed): 

___________________________________ 

______________________________ 

Title_______________________________ 

Title___________________________ 

Facilities Study Due Date: ______________________ 

Attachment A to Schedule 9 

Facilities Study Agreement 

Data to Be Provided by the Interconnection Customer 

with the Facilities Study Agreement 

1. Provide a location plan and simplified one-line diagram of 

the plant and station facilities. For staged projects, indicate 

future generation, future transmission circuits, and other major 

future facilities. On the one-line diagram, show (i) each 

generator, its electric connection configuration, and its 

generation capacity; (ii) the location and capacity of auxiliary 

power; and (iii) minimum load on CT/PT. 

2. One set of metering is required for each generation 

connection to the new ring bus or existing Utility station. 

Indicate the number of generation connections requiring a 

metering set:_______ 

3. Indicate whether an alternate source of auxiliary power will 

be available during CT/PT maintenance. Yes_______ 

No_______ 

4. Indicate whether a transfer bus on the generation side of 

the metering will require that each meter set be designed for 

the total plant generation. Indicate such on the one-line 

diagram. 

5. State the type of control system or programmable logic 

controller (PLC) that will be located at the SGF. 

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________

___________________________ 

6. State the protocol used by the control system or PLC. 

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________

___________________________ 

7. Describe the operation sequence and timing of the 

protection scheme during disconnection and reconnection to 

the Utility by the SGF. 

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________

___________________________ 

8. Provide a 7.5-minute quadrangle map of the site. Indicate 

the plant, station, transmission line, and property lines. 

9. State the physical dimensions of the proposed 

interconnection station. 

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________

___________________________ 

10. State the bus length from generation to interconnection 

station. 

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________

___________________________ 

11. Provide a diagram or description of the point of 

interconnection desired by the Interconnection Customer that 

is to be the point of interconnection in the system impact study 

report. 

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________

___________________________ 

12. State the line length from interconnection station to Utility 

system. 

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________

___________________________ 

13. State the pole or tower number observed in the field 

affixed to the pole or tower leg. 

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________

___________________________ 

14. State the number of third-party easements required for 

distribution or transmission lines. 

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________

___________________________ 

15. Provide the following proposed schedule dates: 

a. Date Interconnection Customer to begin construction: 

___________________ 

b. Date generator step-up transformers to receive back feed 

power: __________________ 
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c. Date Interconnection Customer will test SGF: 

______________________ 

d. Date Interconnection Customer will place SGF into 

commercial operation: ______________________ 

Schedule 10 

SMALL GENERATOR INTERCONNECTION 

AGREEMENT (SGIA) 

This Small Generator Interconnection Agreement 

("Agreement") is made and entered into this ______ day of 

____________, 20__, by __________________ ("Utility"), 

and _________________________________ 

("Interconnection Customer" or "IC"), each sometimes 

referred to individually as "Party" or both referred to 

collectively as the "Parties." 

Utility Information 

Utility:__________________________________________

______ 

Attention:_______________________________________

______ 

Address:________________________________________

______ 

City, State, 

Zip:_________________________________________ 

Phone:_____________________ 

Fax:______________________ 

Interconnection Customer Information 

Interconnection 

Customer:________________________________ 

Attention:_______________________________________

______ 

Site 

Address:________________________________________

__ 

City, State, 

Zip:_________________________________________ 

Phone:_____________________ 

Fax:______________________ 

Interconnection Customer Application 

No:____________________ 

If not available prior to the completion of the Agreement, the 

Interconnection Customer must provide an address for the 

small generating facility ("small generating facility" or "SGF") 

that has been issued conforming to the 911 emergency 

response group for the area to the Utility within 15 business 

days of issuance. 

In consideration of the mutual covenants set forth in this 

Agreement, the Parties agree as follows: 

Article 1. Scope and Limitations of Agreement 

1.1 This Agreement shall be used for all interconnection 

requests for generators in excess of 500 kW submitted 

pursuant to the Regulations Governing Interconnection of 

Small Electrical Generators (20VAC5-314). 

1.2 This Agreement governs the terms and conditions under 

which the Interconnection Customer's small generating 

facility will interconnect with and operate in parallel with 

the Utility system. 

1.3 This Agreement does not constitute an agreement to 

purchase or deliver the IC's power. The purchase or delivery 

of power and other services, including station service or 

backup power, that the IC may require will be covered under 

separate agreements, possibly with other parties. The IC will 

be responsible for separately making all necessary 

arrangements (including scheduling) for delivery of 

electricity with the applicable Utility and provider of 

transmission service. 

1.4 Nothing in this Agreement is intended to affect any other 

agreement between the Utility and the IC. 

1.5 Responsibilities of the Parties. 

1.5.1 The Parties shall perform all obligations of this 

Agreement in accordance with all applicable laws and 

regulations, operating requirements, and Good Utility 

Practice. 

1.5.2 The IC shall construct, interconnect, operate, and 

maintain its SGF and construct, operate, and maintain its 

customer's interconnection facilities in accordance with 

the applicable manufacturer's recommended maintenance 

schedule, all applicable operating requirements, and in 

accordance with this Agreement and with Good Utility 

Practice. 

1.5.3 The Utility shall construct, operate, and maintain its 

distribution and transmission system and attachment 

facilities in accordance with this Agreement and with 

Good Utility Practice. 

1.5.4 The IC agrees to construct its facilities in accordance 

with applicable specifications that meet or exceed those 

provided by the National Electrical Safety Code, 

American National Standards Institute, Institute of 

Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), 

Underwriter's Laboratory, and operating requirements in 

effect at the time of construction and other applicable 

national and state codes and standards. The IC agrees to 

design, install, maintain, and operate its SGF so as to 

reasonably minimize the likelihood of a disturbance 

adversely affecting or impairing the system or equipment 

of the Utility or affected systems and to otherwise 

maintain and operate its SGF in accordance with the 
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specifications and certifications under which the SGF was 

initially installed and interconnected. 

1.5.5 Each Party shall operate, maintain, repair, and 

inspect and shall be fully responsible for the facilities that 

it now or subsequently may own unless otherwise 

specified in the Attachments to this Agreement. Each 

Party shall be responsible for the safe installation, 

maintenance, repair, and condition of their respective lines 

and appurtenances on their respective sides of the point of 

change of ownership. The Utility and the IC, as 

appropriate, shall provide attachment facilities and 

customer's interconnection facilities that adequately 

protect the Utility's personnel and other persons from 

damage and injury. The allocation of responsibility for the 

design, installation, operation, maintenance, and 

ownership of attachment facilities and Interconnection 

Customer's interconnection facilities shall be delineated in 

the Attachments to this Agreement. The design, 

installation, operation, and maintenance of such facilities 

shall be the responsibility of the owner except as otherwise 

provided for in this Agreement. 

1.5.6 The Utility shall coordinate with all affected systems 

to support the interconnection. 

1.5.7 The IC shall ensure "frequency ride through" 

capability and "voltage ride through" capability of its 

SGF. At the discretion of the Utility, the IC shall enable 

these capabilities such that its SGF shall not disconnect 

automatically or instantaneously from the system or 

equipment of the Utility and any affected systems for a 

defined under-frequency or over-frequency condition or 

for an under-voltage or over-voltage condition. The 

defined conditions shall be in accordance with Good 

Utility Practice and consistent with any standards and 

guidelines that are applied to other generating facilities in 

the balancing authority area on a comparable basis. The 

SGF's protective equipment settings shall comply with the 

Utility's automatic load-shed program. The Utility shall 

review the protective equipment settings to confirm 

compliance with the automatic load-shed program. The 

term "ride through" as used in this Agreement shall mean 

the ability of an SGF to stay connected to and 

synchronized with the system or equipment of the Utility 

and any affected systems during system disturbances 

within a range of conditions, in accordance with Good 

Utility Practice and consistent with any standards and 

guidelines that are applied to other generating facilities in 

the balancing authority on a comparable basis. The term 

"frequency ride through" as used in this Agreement shall 

mean the ability of an SGF to stay connected to and 

synchronized with the system or equipment of the Utility 

and any affected systems during system disturbances 

within a range of under-frequency and over-frequency 

conditions, in accordance with Good Utility Practice and 

consistent with any standards and guidelines that are 

applied to other generating facilities in the balancing 

authority area on a comparable basis. The term "voltage 

ride through" as used in this Agreement shall mean the 

ability of an SGF to stay connected to and synchronized 

with the system or equipment of the Utility and any 

affected systems during system disturbances within a 

range of under-voltage and over-voltage conditions, in 

accordance with Good Utility Practice and consistent with 

any standards and guidelines that are applied to other 

generating facilities in the balancing authority area on a 

comparable basis. 

1.5.8 The IC shall not operate the SGF in such a way that 

the SGF would exceed the maximum generating capacity. 

1.6 Parallel operation obligations. Once the SGF has been 

authorized to commence parallel operation, the IC shall 

abide by all rules and procedures pertaining to the parallel 

operation of the SGF in the applicable control area, 

including (i) any rules and procedures concerning the 

operation of generation set forth in commission-approved 

tariffs or by the applicable system operator for the Utility's 

system and (ii) the operating requirements set forth in 

Attachment 5 of this Agreement. 

1.7 Metering. The IC shall be responsible for the Utility's 

reasonable and necessary cost for the purchase, installation, 

operation, maintenance, testing, repair, and replacement of 

metering and data acquisition equipment specified in 

Attachments 2 and 3 of this Agreement. The IC's metering 

(and data acquisition, as required) equipment and reporting 

shall conform to applicable industry rules and operating 

requirements. 

1.8 Reactive power. 

1.8.1 The IC shall design its SGF to maintain a composite 

power delivery at continuous rated power output at the 

point of interconnection at a power factor within the range 

of 0.95 leading to 0.95 lagging, unless mutually agreed 

upon or the Utility has established different requirements 

that apply to all similarly situated generators in the control 

area on a comparable basis. The requirements of this 

article shall not apply to wind generators. 

1.8.2 The Utility is required to pay the IC for reactive 

power that the IC provides or absorbs from the SGF when 

the Utility requests the IC to operate its SGF outside the 

range specified in Section 1.8.1 of this Agreement, unless 

mutually agreed upon by the Parties. In addition, if the 

Utility pays its own or affiliated generators for reactive 

power service within the specified range, it must similarly 

pay the IC. 

1.8.3 Payments shall be in accordance with the IC's 

applicable rate schedule as may be in effect and accepted 

by the appropriate government authority. To the extent 

that no rate schedule is in effect at the time the IC is 

required to provide or absorb reactive power under this 

Agreement, the IC may expeditiously file such rate 

schedule with the appropriate government authority, and 
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the Utility agrees to support any request for waiver of any 

prior notice requirement of such authority in order to 

permit compensation to the IC from the time service 

commenced. 

1.9 Terms used in this Agreement shall have the meanings 

specified in the definitions in Attachment 1 of this 

Agreement. 

Article 2. Inspection, Testing, Authorization, and Right of 

Access 

2.1 Equipment testing and inspection. 

2.1.1 The IC shall test and inspect its SGF and 

interconnection facilities prior to interconnection. The IC 

shall notify the Utility of such activities no fewer than 10 

business days (or as may be agreed to by the Parties) prior 

to such testing and inspection. Testing and inspection shall 

occur on a business day, unless otherwise agreed to by the 

Parties. The Utility may, at its own expense, send qualified 

personnel to the SGF site to inspect the interconnection 

and observe the testing. The IC shall provide the Utility a 

written test report when such testing and inspection is 

completed. 

2.1.2 The Utility shall provide the IC written 

acknowledgment that it has received the IC's written test 

report. Such written acknowledgment shall not be deemed 

to be or construed as any representation, assurance, 

guarantee, or warranty by the Utility of the safety, 

durability, suitability, or reliability of the SGF or any 

associated control, protective, and safety devices owned 

or controlled by the IC or the quality of power produced 

by the SGF. 

2.1.3 In addition to the Utility's observation of this IC's 

testing and inspection of its SGF and interconnection 

facilities pursuant to this Agreement, the Utility may also 

require inspection and testing of interconnection facilities 

that can impact the integrity or safety of the Utility's 

system or otherwise cause adverse operating effects, as 

described in Section 3.4.4 of this Agreement and in 

accordance to Good Utility Practice. Such inspection and 

testing activities will be performed by the Utility or a 

third-party independent contractor approved by the Utility 

and at a time mutually agreed to with the IC and will be 

performed at the IC's expense. The scope of required 

inspection and testing will be consistent across similar 

types of generating facilities. 

2.2 Authorization required prior to parallel operation. 

2.2.1 The Utility shall make reasonable efforts to list 

applicable parallel operation requirements in Attachment 

5 of this Agreement. Additionally, the Utility shall notify 

the IC of any changes to these requirements as soon as 

they are known. The Utility shall make reasonable efforts 

to cooperate with the IC in meeting requirements 

necessary for the IC to commence parallel operations by 

the in-service date. 

2.2.2 The IC shall not operate its SGF in parallel with the 

Utility's system without prior written authorization of the 

Utility. The Utility will provide such authorization once 

the Utility receives notification that the IC has complied 

with all applicable parallel operation requirements. Such 

authorization shall not be unreasonably withheld, 

conditioned, or delayed. 

2.3 Right of access. 

2.3.1 Upon reasonable notice, the Utility may send a 

qualified person to the premises of the IC at or before the 

time the SGF first produces energy to inspect the 

interconnection, and observe the commissioning of the 

SGF (including any required testing), startup, and 

operation for a period of up to three business days after 

initial start-up of the unit. In addition, the IC shall notify 

the Utility at least five business days prior to conducting 

any on-site verification testing of the SGF. 

2.3.2 Following the initial inspection process described in 

Section 2.3 of this Agreement at reasonable hours and 

upon reasonable notice or at any time without notice in the 

event of an emergency or hazardous condition, the Utility 

shall have access to the IC's premises for any reasonable 

purpose in connection with the performance of the 

obligations imposed on it by this Agreement or if 

necessary to meet its legal obligation to provide service to 

its customers. 

2.3.3 Each Party shall be responsible for its own costs 

associated with this article. 

Article 3. Effective Date, Term, Termination, and 

Disconnection 

3.1 Effective date. This Agreement shall become effective 

upon execution by the Parties. 

3.2 Term of agreement. This Agreement shall remain in 

effect for a period of 10 years from the effective date or such 

other longer period as the IC may request and shall be 

automatically renewed for each successive one-year period 

thereafter, unless terminated earlier in accordance with 

Section 3.3 of this Agreement. 

3.3 Termination. No termination shall become effective until 

the Parties have complied with all laws and regulations 

applicable to such termination, such as any local or Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality decommissioning 

requirements. 

3.3.1 The IC may terminate this Agreement at any time by 

giving the Utility 20 business days written notice and 

physically and permanently disconnecting the SGF from 

the Utility's system. 

3.3.2 The Utility may terminate this Agreement upon the 

IC's failure to timely make the payment required by 
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Section 6.1 of this Agreement pursuant to the milestones 

specified in Attachment 4 to this Agreement, or to comply 

with the requirements of Section 7.1.2 or 7.1.3 of this 

Agreement. 

3.3.3 Either Party may terminate this Agreement after 

default pursuant to Section 7.6 of this Agreement. 

3.3.4 Upon termination of this Agreement, the small 

generating facility will be disconnected from the Utility 

system. The termination of this Agreement shall not 

relieve either Party of its liabilities and obligations, owed 

or continuing, at the time of the termination. 

3.4 Temporary disconnection. Temporary disconnection 

shall continue only for so long as reasonably necessary under 

Good Utility Practice. 

3.4.1 "Emergency conditions" means a condition or 

situation that (i) in the judgment of the Party making the 

claim is imminently likely to endanger life or property; (ii) 

in the case of the Utility, is imminently likely (as 

determined in a nondiscriminatory manner) to cause a 

material adverse effect on the security of or damage to the 

utility system, the attachment facilities, or the electrical 

facilities of others to which the utility system is directly 

connected; or (iii) in the case of the IC, is imminently 

likely (as determined in a nondiscriminatory manner) to 

cause a material adverse effect on the security of or 

damage to the SGF or the customer's interconnection 

facilities. Under emergency conditions, the Utility may 

immediately suspend interconnection service and 

temporarily disconnect the SGF. The Utility shall notify 

the IC promptly when it becomes aware of an emergency 

condition that may reasonably be expected to affect the 

IC's operation of the SGF. The IC shall notify the Utility 

promptly when it becomes aware of an emergency 

condition that may reasonably be expected to affect the 

utility system or other affected systems. To the extent 

information is known, the notification shall describe the 

emergency condition, the extent of the damage or 

deficiency, the expected effect on the operation of both 

Parties' facilities and operations, its anticipated duration, 

and the necessary corrective action. 

3.4.2 Routine maintenance, construction, and repair. The 

Utility may interrupt interconnection service or curtail the 

output of the SGF and temporarily disconnect the SGF 

from the Utility's system when necessary for routine 

maintenance, construction, and repairs on the Utility 

system. The Utility shall provide the IC with at least five 

business days' notice prior to such interruption unless 

circumstances require shorter notice. The Utility shall use 

reasonable efforts to coordinate such reduction or 

temporary disconnection with the IC. 

3.4.3 Forced outages. During any forced outage, the 

Utility may suspend interconnection service to effect 

immediate repairs on the Utility system. The Utility shall 

use reasonable efforts to provide the IC with prior notice. 

If prior notice is not given, the Utility shall, upon request, 

provide the IC written documentation after the fact 

explaining the circumstances of the disconnection. 

3.4.4 Adverse operating effects. The Utility shall notify 

the IC as soon as practicable if based on Good Utility 

Practice, operation of the SGF may cause disruption or 

deterioration of service to other customers served from the 

Utility system or affected systems or if operating the SGF 

could cause damage to the Utility system or affected 

systems. Supporting documentation used to reach the 

decision to disconnect shall be provided to the IC upon 

request. If, after notice, the IC fails to remedy the adverse 

operating effect within a reasonable time, the Utility may 

disconnect the SGF. The Utility shall provide the IC with 

a five-business-day notice of such disconnection, unless 

the provisions of Section 3.4.1 of this Agreement apply. 

3.4.5 Modification of the small generating facility. The IC 

must receive written authorization from the Utility before 

making changes to the SGF or mode of operations that 

may have a material impact on the safety or reliability of 

the utility system or affected system. Such authorization 

shall not be unreasonably withheld. Modifications shall be 

done in accordance with Good Utility Practice. If the IC 

makes such modifications without the Utility's prior 

written authorization, the latter shall have the right to 

temporarily disconnect the SGF. 

3.4.6 Reconnection. The Parties shall cooperate with each 

other to restore the SGF, interconnection facilities, and the 

utility system to their normal operating state as soon as 

reasonably practicable following a temporary 

disconnection. 

Article 4. Cost Responsibility for Interconnection 

Customer's Interconnection Facilities, Attachment 

Facilities, and Distribution Upgrades 

4.1 Customer's interconnection facilities. The IC shall be 

responsible for the costs associated with owning, operating, 

maintaining, repairing, and replacing the customer's 

interconnection facilities. 

4.2 Attachment facilities. The IC shall pay for one-time and 

ongoing costs of installing, owning, operating, maintaining, and 

replacing the attachment facilities itemized in Attachment 2 of 

this Agreement. The Utility shall provide an estimated cost for 

the purchase and construction of the attachment facilities and 

provide a detailed itemization of such costs. Costs associated 

with attachment facilities may be shared with other entities that 

may benefit from such facilities by agreement of the IC, such 

other entities, and the Utility. 

4.3 Distribution upgrades. The Utility shall design, procure, 

construct, install, and own the distribution upgrades described 

in Attachment 6 of this Agreement. The actual cost of the 

distribution upgrades shall be directly assigned to the IC. If the 

Utility and the IC agree, the IC may construct distribution 

upgrades that are located on land owned by the IC. 
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Article 5. Transmission System 

5.1 Transmission system upgrades. 

5.1.1 No portion of Section 5.1 of this Agreement shall 

apply unless the interconnection of the SGF requires 

transmission system upgrades. 

5.1.2 The Utility shall design, procure, construct, install, 

and own the transmission system upgrades described in 

Attachment 6 of this Agreement. If the Utility and the IC 

agree, the IC may construct transmission system upgrades 

that are located on land owned by the IC. The costs of the 

transmission system upgrades shall be borne by the IC. 

5.1.3 Notwithstanding any other provision of Section 5.1 

of Agreement, in the event and to the extent an RTE has 

rules, tariffs, agreements, or procedures properly applying 

to transmission system upgrades, the provisions of Section 

5.2 of this Agreement shall apply to such upgrades. 

5.2 Regional transmission entities. Notwithstanding any 

other provision of this Agreement, if the Utility's 

transmission system is under the control of an RTE and the 

RTE has rules, tariffs, agreements, or procedures properly 

governing operation of the SGF, transmission of the output 

of the SGF, sale of the output of the SGF, system upgrades 

required for interconnection of the SGF, or other aspects of 

the interconnection and operation of the SGF, the IC and the 

Utility shall comply with the applicable agreements, rules, 

tariffs, or procedures. 

5.3 Rights under other agreements. Notwithstanding any 

other provision of this Agreement, nothing in this 

Agreement shall be construed as relinquishing or foreclosing 

any rights, including firm transmission rights, capacity 

rights, transmission congestion rights, or transmission 

credits, that the IC shall be entitled to now or in the future 

under any other agreement or tariff as a result of or otherwise 

associated with system upgrades, including the right to 

obtain cash reimbursements or transmission credits for 

transmission service that is not associated with the SGF. 

Article 6. Billing, Payment, Milestones, and Financial 

Security 

6.1 Billing and payment procedures and final accounting. 

The IC shall be responsible for pre-payment of all estimated 

Interconnection Facilities, Attachment Facilities, and 

Upgrade costs identified in Attachment 2 and Attachment 6 

to this Agreement, or the provision of financial security, if 

acceptable to the Utility as provided for in Section 6.3. 

Payment or financial security must be received by close of 

business 30 business days after the date the SGIA is 

delivered to the IC for signature. Failure to comply with the 

requirements of this section after an opportunity to cure shall 

result in the interconnection request being deemed 

withdrawn. Within 120 business days of the Utility 

completing the construction and installation of the 

attachment facilities or distribution upgrades described in 

the Attachments to this Agreement, the Utility shall provide 

the IC with a final accounting report of any difference 

between (i) the IC's cost responsibility for the actual cost of 

such facilities or upgrades and (ii) the IC's previous 

aggregate payments to the Utility for such facilities or 

upgrades. The Utility shall make reasonable efforts to meet 

the timeframe for issuance of the Final Accounting Report. 

If the Utility is unable to timely issue the Final Accounting 

Report, the Utility shall provide written notice to the IC 

explaining the reason or reasons for the delay and provide an 

estimated time by which it can issue the Final Accounting 

Report. If the IC's cost responsibility exceeds its previous 

aggregate payments, the Utility shall invoice the IC for the 

amount due, and the IC shall make payment to the Utility 

within 20 business days. If the IC's previous aggregate 

payments exceed its cost responsibility under this 

Agreement, the Utility shall refund to the IC an amount 

equal to the difference within 20 business days of the final 

accounting report. 

6.2 Milestones. The Parties shall agree on milestones for 

which each Party is responsible, and such milestone shall be 

listed in Attachment 4 of this Agreement. A Party's 

milestones obligations may be modified by agreement. If a 

Party anticipates that it will be unable to meet a milestone 

for any reason other than a force majeure event, it shall 

immediately (i) notify the other Party of the reason for not 

meeting the milestone, (ii) propose the earliest reasonable 

alternate date by which it can attain this and future 

milestones, and (iii) request appropriate amendments to 

Attachment 4. The Party affected by the failure to meet a 

milestone shall not withhold agreement to such an 

amendment unless it will suffer uncompensated economic or 

operational harm from the delay, the delay will materially 

affect the schedule of another IC with subordinate queue 

position, attainment of the same milestone has previously 

been delayed, or it has reason to believe that the delay in 

meeting the milestone is intentional or unwarranted 

notwithstanding the circumstances explained by the Party 

proposing the amendment. 

6.3 Financial security arrangements. Within the timeframe 

provided for in Section 6.1, the IC may provide the Utility, 

at the IC's option, in lieu of prepayment, a guarantee, a surety 

bond, letter of credit, or other form of security that is 

reasonably acceptable to the Utility and is consistent with 

the Uniform Commercial Code of Virginia. Such security for 

payment shall be accepted prior to the Utility's 

commencement of the design, procurement, installation, or 

construction of a discrete portion of the attachment facilities 

and distribution upgrades and shall be in an amount 

sufficient to cover the costs for designing, procuring, 

installing, and constructing the applicable portion of the 

attachment facilities and distribution upgrades. The IC's 

financial security under this provision shall be reduced on a 

dollar-for-dollar basis for payments made to the Utility 
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under this Agreement during its term pursuant to the 

milestone schedule established in Appendix 4. In addition: 

6.3.1 The guarantee must be made by an entity that meets 

the creditworthiness requirements of the Utility and 

contain terms and conditions that guarantee payment of 

any amount that may be due from the IC, up to an agreed-

to maximum amount. 

6.3.2 The letter of credit or surety bond must be issued by 

a financial institution or insured reasonably acceptable to 

the Utility and must specify a reasonable expiration date. 

Article 7. Assignment, Liability, Indemnity, Force 

Majeure, Consequential Damages, and Default 

7.1 Assignment. 

7.1.1 The IC shall notify the Utility of the pending sale of 

an existing SGF in writing. The IC shall provide the Utility 

with information regarding whether the sale is a change of 

ownership of the SGF to a new legal entity or a change of 

control of the existing legal entity. 

7.1.2 The IC shall promptly notify the Utility of the final 

date of sale and transfer date of ownership in writing. The 

purchaser of the SGF shall confirm to the Utility the final 

date of sale and transfer date of ownership in writing. 

7.1.3 This Agreement shall not survive the transfer of 

ownership of the SGF to a new legal entity owner. The 

new owner shall submit a new interconnection request 

along with a processing fee of $500 to the Utility within 

20 business days of the transfer of ownership or, if the 

facility has been constructed, the Utility's interconnection 

facilities shall be removed or disabled and the SGF 

disconnected from the Utility's system. The Utility shall 

not study or inspect the SGF unless the new owner's 

interconnection request indicates that a material 

modification has occurred or is proposed. 

7.1.4 This Agreement shall survive a change of control of 

the SGF's legal entity owner, where only the contact 

information in the interconnection agreement must be 

modified. The new owner shall submit a new 

interconnection request along with a processing fee of 

$500 to the Utility within 20 business days of the change 

of control and provide the new contact information. The 

Utility shall not study or inspect the SGF unless the new 

owner's interconnection request indicates that a material 

modification has occurred or is proposed. 

7.1.5 The IC shall have the right to assign this Agreement, 

without the consent of the Utility, for collateral security 

purposes to aid in providing financing for the SGF, 

provided that the IC will promptly notify the Utility of any 

such assignment. Assignment shall not relieve a Party of 

its obligations, nor shall a Party's obligations be enlarged, 

in whole or in part, by reason thereof. 

7.1.6 Any attempted assignment that violates this article is 

void and ineffective. 

7.2 Limitation of liability. Each Party's liability to the other 

Party for any loss, cost, claim, injury, liability, or expense, 

including reasonable attorney fees, relating to or arising 

from any act or omission in its performance of this 

Agreement shall be limited to the amount of direct damage 

actually incurred. In no event shall either Party be liable to 

the other Party for any indirect, special, incidental, 

consequential, or punitive damages of any kind, except as 

authorized by this Agreement. 

7.3 Indemnity. 

7.3.1 This provision protects each Party from liability 

incurred to third parties as a result of carrying out the 

provisions of this Agreement. Liability under this 

provision is exempt from the general limitations on 

liability found in Section 7.2 of this Agreement. 

7.3.2 The Parties shall at all times indemnify, defend, and 

hold the other Party harmless from all damages; losses; 

claims, including claims and actions relating to injury to 

or death of any person or damage to property; demand; 

suits; recoveries; costs and expenses; court costs; attorney 

fees; and all other obligations by or to third parties arising 

out of or resulting from the other Party's action or failure 

to meet its obligations under this Agreement on behalf of 

the indemnifying Party, except in cases of gross 

negligence or intentional wrongdoing by the indemnified 

Party. 

7.3.3 If an indemnified Party is entitled to indemnification 

under this Article 7 of this Agreement as a result of a claim 

by a third party, and the indemnifying Party fails, after 

notice and reasonable opportunity, to proceed under this 

Article 7 of this Agreement to assume the defense of such 

claim, such indemnified person may at the expense of the 

indemnifying Party contest, settle, or consent to the entry 

of any judgment with respect to, or pay in full, such claim. 

7.3.4 If an indemnifying Party is obligated to indemnify 

and hold any indemnified person harmless under this 

Article 7 of this Agreement, the amount owing to the 

indemnified person shall be the amount of such 

indemnified person's actual loss, net of any insurance or 

other recovery. 

7.3.5 Promptly after receipt by an indemnified person of 

any claim or notice of the commencement of any action or 

administrative or legal proceeding or small generator 

investigation as to which the indemnity provided for in 

this Article 7 of this Agreement may apply, the 

indemnified person shall notify the indemnifying Party of 

such fact. Any failure of or delay in such notification shall 

not affect a Party's indemnification obligation unless such 

failure or delay is materially prejudicial to the 

indemnifying Party. 

7.4 Consequential damages. Other than as expressly 

provided for in this Agreement, neither Party shall be liable 

under any provision of this Agreement for any losses, 
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damages, costs, or expenses for any special, indirect, 

incidental, consequential, or punitive damages, including 

loss of profit or revenue; loss of the use of equipment; cost 

of capital; cost of temporary equipment or services, whether 

based in whole or in part in contract; in tort, including 

negligence, strict liability; or any other theory of liability; 

provided that damages for which a Party may be liable to the 

other Party under another agreement will not be considered 

to be special, indirect, incidental, or consequential damages. 

7.5 Force majeure. 

7.5.1 As used in this article, "force majeure event" means 

any act of God; labor disturbance; act of the public enemy; 

war; insurrection; riot; fire; storm or flood; explosion; 

breakage or accident to machinery or equipment; any 

order, regulation, or restriction imposed by governmental, 

military, or lawfully established civilian authorities; or 

any other cause beyond a Party's control. A "force majeure 

event" does not include an act of negligence or intentional 

wrongdoing. 

7.5.2 If a force majeure event prevents a Party from 

fulfilling any obligation under this Agreement, the Party 

affected by the force majeure event ("Affected Party") 

shall promptly notify the other Party, either in writing or 

via the telephone, of the existence of the force majeure 

event. The notification must specify in reasonable detail 

the circumstances of the force majeure event, its expected 

duration, and the steps that the Affected Party is taking to 

mitigate the effects of the event on its performance. The 

Affected Party shall keep the other Party informed on a 

continuing basis of developments relating to the force 

majeure event until the event ends. The Affected Party will 

be entitled to suspend or modify its performance of 

obligations under this Agreement (other than the 

obligation to make payments) only to the extent that the 

effect of the force majeure event cannot be mitigated by 

the use of reasonable efforts. The Affected Party will use 

reasonable efforts to resume its performance as soon as 

possible. 

7.6 Default. 

7.6.1 No default shall exist where such failure to discharge 

an obligation (other than the payment of money) is the 

result of a force majeure event as defined in this 

Agreement or the result of an act or omission of the other 

Party. Upon a default, the nondefaulting Party shall give 

written notice of such default to the defaulting Party. 

Except as provided in Section 7.6.2 of this Agreement, the 

defaulting Party shall have 40 business days from receipt 

of the default notice within which to cure the default; 

however, if the default is not capable of cure within 40 

business days, the defaulting Party shall commence the 

cure within 10 business days after notice and continuously 

and diligently complete the cure within six months from 

receipt of the default notice, and if cured within such time, 

the default specified in such notice shall cease to exist. 

7.6.2 If a default is not cured as provided in this Article 7 

of this Agreement or if a default is not capable of being 

cured within the period provided for in this Article 7 of 

this Agreement, the nondefaulting Party shall have the 

right to terminate this Agreement by written notice at any 

time until cure occurs and be relieved of any further 

obligation in this Agreement, and whether or not that Party 

terminates this Agreement, to recover from the defaulting 

Party all amounts due pursuant to this Agreement, plus all 

other damages and remedies to which it is entitled at law 

or in equity. The provisions of this Article 7 of this 

Agreement will survive termination of this Agreement. 

Article 8. Insurance 

8.1 The IC shall, at its own expense, maintain in force 

general liability insurance without any exclusion for 

liabilities related to the interconnection undertaken pursuant 

to this Agreement. The amount of such insurance shall be in 

accordance with 20VAC5-314-160. The IC shall obtain 

additional insurance only if necessary as a function of 

owning and operating a generating facility. Insurance shall 

be obtained from an insurance provider authorized to 

conduct business in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Certification that such insurance is in effect shall be 

provided upon request of the Utility, except that the IC shall 

show proof of insurance to the Utility no later than 10 

business days prior to the anticipated commercial operation 

date of the SGF. An IC of sufficient creditworthiness may 

propose to self-insure for such liabilities, and such a 

proposal shall not be unreasonably rejected. 

8.2 The Utility agrees to maintain general liability insurance 

or self-insurance consistent with the Utility's commercial 

practice. Such insurance or self-insurance shall not exclude 

coverage for the Utility's liabilities undertaken pursuant to 

this Agreement. 

8.3 The Parties further agree to notify each other whenever 

an accident or incident occurs resulting in any injuries or 

damages that are included within the scope of coverage of 

such insurance, whether or not such coverage is sought. 

Article 9. Confidentiality 

9.1 Confidential information shall mean any confidential or 

proprietary information provided by one Party to the other 

Party that is clearly marked or otherwise designated 

"Confidential." For purposes of this Agreement all design, 

operating specifications, and metering data provided by the 

IC shall be deemed confidential information regardless of 

whether it is clearly marked or otherwise designated as such. 

9.2 Confidential information does not include information 

previously in the public domain, required to be publicly 

submitted or divulged by governmental authorities (after 

notice to the other Party and after exhausting any 

opportunity to oppose such publication or release), or 

necessary to be divulged in an action to enforce this 
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Agreement. Each Party receiving confidential information 

shall hold such information in confidence and shall not 

disclose it to any third party or the public without the prior 

written authorization from the Party providing that 

information, except to fulfill obligations under this 

Agreement or to fulfill legal or regulatory requirements. 

9.2.1 Each Party shall employ at least the same standard 

of care to protect confidential information obtained from 

the other Party as it employs to protect its own confidential 

information. 

9.2.2 Each Party is entitled to equitable relief, by 

injunction or otherwise, to enforce its rights under this 

provision to prevent the release of confidential 

information without bond or proof of damages and may 

seek other remedies available at law or in equity for breach 

of this provision. 

9.3 Notwithstanding anything in this Agreement to the 

contrary, if the Virginia State Corporation Commission 

("Commission"), during the course of an investigation or 

otherwise, requests information from one of the Parties that 

is otherwise required to be maintained in confidence, the 

Party shall provide the requested information to the 

commission, within the time provided for in the request for 

information. In providing the information to the 

commission, the Party may request that the information be 

treated as confidential and nonpublic by the commission and 

that the information be withheld from public disclosure. 

Parties are prohibited from notifying the other Party prior to 

the release of the confidential information to the 

commission. A Party shall notify the other Party when it is 

notified by the commission that a request to release 

confidential information has been received by the 

commission, at which time either Party may respond to the 

commission before such information would be made public. 

Article 10. Disputes 

10.1 The Parties agree to attempt to resolve all disputes 

arising out of the interconnection process according to the 

provisions of this Article 10 of this Agreement. 

10.2 In the event of a dispute, either Party shall provide the 

other Party with a written notice of dispute. Such notice shall 

describe in detail the nature of the dispute. The Parties shall 

make a good faith effort to resolve the dispute informally 

within 10 business days. 

10.3 If the dispute has not been resolved within 10 business 

days after receipt of the notice, either Party may seek 

resolution assistance from the Division of Public Utility 

Regulation where the matter will be handled as an informal 

complaint. 

Alternatively, either Party may, upon mutual agreement, 

seek resolution through the assistance of a dispute resolution 

service. The dispute resolution service will assist the Parties 

in either resolving the dispute or in selecting an appropriate 

dispute resolution venue (e.g., mediation, settlement judge, 

early neutral evaluation, or technical expert) to assist the 

Parties in resolving their dispute. Each Party shall conduct 

all negotiations in good faith and shall be responsible for 

one-half of any costs paid to neutral third parties. 

10.4 If the dispute remains unresolved, either Party may 

petition the commission to handle the dispute as a formal 

complaint or may exercise whatever rights and remedies it 

may have in equity or law consistent with the terms of this 

Agreement. 

Article 11. Taxes 

11.1 The Parties agree to follow all applicable tax laws and 

regulations. 

11.2 Each Party shall cooperate with the other to maintain 

the other Party's tax status. Nothing in this Agreement is 

intended to adversely affect the Utility's tax exempt status 

with respect to the issuance of bonds including local 

furnishing bonds. 

Article 12. Miscellaneous 

12.1 Governing law, regulatory authority, and rules. The 

validity, interpretation, and enforcement of this Agreement 

and each of its provisions shall be governed by the laws of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia without regard to its 

conflicts of law principles. This Agreement is subject to all 

applicable laws and regulations. Each Party expressly 

reserves the right to seek changes in, appeal, or otherwise 

contest any laws, orders, or regulations of a governmental 

authority. 

12.2 Amendment. The Parties may amend this Agreement 

by a written instrument duly executed by both Parties. 

12.3 No third-party beneficiaries. This Agreement is not 

intended to and does not create rights, remedies, or benefits 

of any character whatsoever in favor of any persons, 

corporations, associations, or entities other than the Parties, 

and the obligations in this Agreement assumed are solely for 

the use and benefit of the Parties, their successors in interest, 

and where permitted, their assigns. 

12.4 Waiver. 

12.4.1 The failure of a Party to this Agreement to insist, 

on any occasion, upon strict performance of any provision 

of this Agreement will not be considered a waiver of any 

obligation, right, or duty of or duty imposed upon such 

Party. 

12.4.2 Any waiver at any time by either Party of its rights 

with respect to this Agreement shall not be deemed to be 

a continuing waiver or a waiver with respect to any other 

failure to comply with any other obligation, right, or duty 

of this Agreement. Termination or default of this 

Agreement for any reason by the IC shall not constitute a 

waiver of the IC's legal rights to obtain an interconnection 
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from the Utility. Any waiver of this Agreement shall, if 

requested, be provided in writing. 

12.5 Entire agreement. This Agreement, including all 

Attachments to this Agreement, constitutes the entire 

agreement between the Parties with reference to the subject 

matter hereof and supersedes all prior and contemporaneous 

understandings or agreements, oral or written, between the 

Parties with respect to the subject matter of this Agreement. 

There are no other agreements, representations, warranties, 

or covenants that constitute any part of the consideration for, 

or any condition to, either Party's compliance with its 

obligations under this Agreement. 

12.6 Multiple counterparts. This Agreement may be 

executed in two or more counterparts, each of which is 

deemed an original but all constitute one and the same 

instrument. 

12.7 No partnership. This Agreement shall not be interpreted 

or construed to create an association, joint venture, agency 

relationship, or partnership between the Parties or to impose 

any partnership obligation or partnership liability upon 

either Party. Neither Party shall have any right, power, or 

authority to enter into any agreement or undertaking for, or 

act on behalf of, or to act as or be an agent or representative 

of, or to otherwise bind, the other Party. 

12.8 Severability. If any provision or portion of this 

Agreement shall for any reason be held or adjudged to be 

invalid or illegal or unenforceable by any court of competent 

jurisdiction or other governmental authority, (i) such portion 

or provision shall be deemed separate and independent, (ii) 

the Parties shall negotiate in good faith to restore insofar as 

practicable the benefits to each Party that were affected by 

such ruling, and (iii) the remainder of this Agreement shall 

remain in full force and effect. 

12.9 Environmental releases. Each Party shall notify the 

other Party, first orally and then in writing, of the release of 

any hazardous substances, any asbestos or lead abatement 

activities, or any type of remediation activities related to the 

SGF, the customer's interconnection facilities, or attachment 

facilities, each of which may reasonably be expected to 

affect the other Party. The notifying Party shall (i) provide 

the notice as soon as practicable, provided such Party makes 

a good faith effort to provide the notice no later than 24 hours 

after such Party becomes aware of the occurrence, and (ii) 

promptly furnish to the other Party copies of any publicly 

available reports filed with any governmental authorities 

addressing such events. 

12.10 Subcontractors. Nothing in this Agreement shall 

prevent a Party from utilizing the services of any 

subcontractor as it deems appropriate to perform its 

obligations under this Agreement; however, each Party shall 

require its subcontractors to comply with all applicable 

terms and conditions of this Agreement in providing such 

services, and each Party shall remain primarily liable to the 

other Party for the performance of such subcontractor. 

12.10.1 The creation of any subcontract relationship shall 

not relieve the hiring Party of any of its obligations under 

this Agreement. The hiring Party shall be fully responsible 

to the other Party for the acts or omissions of any 

subcontractor the hiring Party hires as if no subcontract 

had been made; however, in no event shall the Utility be 

liable for the actions or inactions of the IC or its 

subcontractors with respect to obligations of the IC under 

this Agreement. Any applicable obligation imposed by 

this Agreement upon the hiring Party shall be equally 

binding upon and shall be construed as having application 

to any subcontractor of such Party. 

12.10.2 The obligations under this article will not be 

limited in any way by any limitation of subcontractor's 

insurance. 

12.11 Reservation of rights. The Utility shall have the right 

to make a unilateral filing with the commission to modify 

this Agreement with respect to any rates, terms and 

conditions, charges, classifications of service, rule, or 

regulation, and the IC shall have the right to make a 

unilateral filing with the commission to modify this 

Agreement; provided that each Party shall have the right to 

protest any such filing by the other Party and to participate 

fully in any proceeding before the commission in which such 

modifications may be considered. Nothing in this 

Agreement shall limit the rights of the Parties except to the 

extent that the Parties otherwise agree as provided in this 

Agreement. 

Article 13. Notices 

13.1 General. Unless otherwise provided in this Agreement, 

any written notice, demand, or request required or 

authorized in connection with this Agreement shall be 

deemed properly given if delivered in person, delivered by 

recognized national courier service, or sent by first class 

mail, postage prepaid, to the person listed: 

If to the Interconnection Customer: 

Interconnection 

Customer:____________________________________ 

Attention:______________________________________

___________ 

Address:_______________________________________

__________ 

City, State, 

Zip:__________________________________________

__ 

Phone:___________________________ 

Fax:____________________ 

If to the Utility: 
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Utility:________________________________________

___ 

Attention:______________________________________

___________ 

Address:_______________________________________

__________ 

City, State, 

Zip:__________________________________________

__ 

Phone:___________________________ 

Fax:____________________ 

13.2 Billing and payment. 

Billings and payments shall be sent to the addresses listed: 

If to the Interconnection Customer: 

Interconnection 

Customer:____________________________________ 

Attention:______________________________________

___________ 

Address:_______________________________________

__________ 

City, State, 

Zip:__________________________________________

__ 

If to the Utility: 

Utility:________________________________________

___ 

Attention:______________________________________

___________ 

Address:_______________________________________

__________ 

City, State, 

Zip:__________________________________________

__ 

13.3 Alternative forms of notice. Any notice or request 

required or permitted to be given by either Party to the other 

and not required by this Agreement to be given in writing 

may be so given by telephone, facsimile, or email to the 

telephone numbers and email addresses listed: 

If to the Interconnection Customer: 

Interconnection 

Customer:____________________________________ 

Attention:______________________________________

___________ 

Address:_______________________________________

__________ 

City, State, 

Zip:__________________________________________

__ 

Phone:___________________________ 

Fax:____________________ 

If to the Utility: 

Utility:________________________________________

___ 

Attention:______________________________________

___________ 

Address:_______________________________________

__________ 

City, State, 

Zip:__________________________________________

__ 

Phone:___________________________ 

Fax:____________________ 

13.4 Designated operating representative. The Parties may also 

designate operating representatives to conduct the 

communications that may be necessary or convenient for the 

administration of this Agreement. This person will also serve as 

the point of contact with respect to operations and maintenance 

of the Party's facilities. 

Interconnection Customer's Operating Representative: 

Interconnection 

Customer:_____________________________________

__ 

Attention:______________________________________

___________ 

Address:_______________________________________

__________ 

City, State, 

Zip:__________________________________________

__ 

Phone:___________________________ 

Fax:____________________ 

Utility's Operating Representative: 

Utility:_______________________________________ 

Attention:______________________________________

___________ 

Address:_______________________________________

__________ 

City, State, 

Zip:__________________________________________

__ 

Phone:___________________________ 

Fax:____________________ 

13.5 Changes to the notice information. Either Party may 

change this information by giving five business days' written 

notice prior to the effective date of the change. 
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Article 14. Signatures 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Parties have caused this 

Agreement to be executed by their respective duly authorized 

representatives. 

For the Utility 

Name:________________________________________

_______________ 

Title:_________________________________________

_______________ 

Date:_____________________ 

For the Affected System Utility 

Name:________________________________________

_______________ 

Title:_________________________________________

_______________ 

Date:_____________________ 

For the Interconnection Customer 

Name:________________________________________

_______________ 

Title:_________________________________________

_______________ 

Date:_____________________ 

Attachment 1 to Schedule 10 

Glossary of Terms 

The following terms when used in Schedule 10 of 20VAC5-

314-170 will have the following meanings: 

"Affected system" means an electric utility system other than 

that of the Utility that may be affected by the proposed 

interconnection. 

"Affected system operator" means an entity that operates an 

affected system, or if the affected system is under the 

operational control of an independent system operator or a 

regional transmission entity, such independent entity. 

"Applicable laws and regulations" means all duly 

promulgated applicable federal, state, and local laws, 

regulations, rules, ordinances, codes, decrees, judgments, 

directives, or judicial or administrative orders; permits; and 

other duly authorized actions of any governmental authority. 

"Attachment facilities" means the facilities and equipment 

owned, operated, and maintained by the Utility that are built 

new in order to physically connect the customer's 

interconnection facilities to the Utility system. Attachment 

facilities shall not include distribution upgrades or previously 

existing distribution and transmission facilities. 

"Balancing authority" means the responsible entity that 

integrates resource plans ahead of time, maintains load-

interchange-generation balance within a balancing authority 

area, and supports interconnection frequency in real time. 

"Balancing authority area" means the collection of 

generation, transmission, and loads within the metered 

boundaries of the balancing authority. The balancing authority 

maintains load-resource balance within this area. 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, excluding 

federal holidays. 

"Calendar day" means Sunday through Saturday, including 

all holidays. 

"Certified" has the meaning ascribed to it in Schedule 2 of 

20VAC5-314-170. 

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission. 

"Customer's interconnection facilities" means all the facilities 

and equipment owned, operated and maintained by the IC, 

between the SGF and the point of interconnection necessary to 

physically and electrically interconnect the SGF to the utility 

system. 

"Default" means the failure of a breaching Party to cure its 

breach under the Small Generator Interconnection Agreement. 

"Distribution system" means the Utility's facilities and 

equipment generally delivering electricity to ultimate 

customers from substations supplied by higher voltages 

(usually at transmission level). For purposes of this 

Agreement, all portions of the Utility's transmission system 

regulated by the commission for which interconnections are 

not within Federal Energy Regulatory Commission jurisdiction 

are considered also to be subject to commission regulations. 

"Distribution upgrades" means the additions, modifications, 

and enhancements made to the Utility's distribution system on 

the Utility's side of the point of interconnection necessary to 

ensure continued system reliability and power quality on the 

Utility's distribution system caused by the interconnection of 

the small generating facility. Distribution upgrades do not 

include network upgrades or the customer's interconnection 

facilities or the Utility's attachment facilities. 

"Facilities study" has the meaning ascribed to it in 20VAC5-

314-70 E. 

"Feasibility study" has the meaning ascribed to it in 20VAC5-

314-70 C. 

"FERC" means the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. 

"Good Utility Practice" means any of the practices, methods, 

and acts engaged in or approved by a significant portion of the 

electric industry during the relevant time period, or any of the 

practices, methods, and acts that, in the exercise of reasonable 

judgment in light of the facts known at the time the decision 

was made, could have been expected to accomplish the desired 

result at a reasonable cost, consistent with good business 
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practices, reliability, safety, and expedition. Good Utility 

Practice is not intended to be limited to the optimum practice, 

method, or act to the exclusion of all others but rather to 

include practices, methods, or acts generally accepted in the 

region. 

"Governmental authority" means any federal, state, local, or 

other governmental regulatory or administrative agency, court, 

commission, department, board, or other governmental 

subdivision or legislature or rulemaking board, tribunal, or 

other governmental authority having jurisdiction over the 

Parties, their respective facilities, or the respective services 

they provide and exercising or entitled to exercise any 

administrative, executive, police, or taxing authority or power; 

provided that such term does not include the IC, the Utility, or 

a Utility affiliate. 

"Interconnection Customer" or "IC" means any entity 

proposing to interconnect a new SGF with the utility system. 

"Interconnection request" means the IC's request, in 

accordance with the Regulations Governing Interconnection of 

Small Electrical Generators (20VAC5-314), to interconnect a 

new small generating facility or to increase the capacity of or 

make a material modification to the operating characteristics 

of an existing small generating facility that is interconnected 

with the Utility system. 

"Interconnection studies" means the studies conducted by the 

Utility or a third party agreed to by the Utility and the IC in 

order to determine the interaction of the SGF with the Utility 

system and the affected systems in order to specify any 

modifications to the SGF or the electric systems studied to 

ensure safe and reliable operation of the SGF in parallel with 

the Utility system. 

"Material modification" has the meaning ascribed to it in 

20VAC5-314-39. 

"Maximum generating capacity" means the maximum 

continuous electrical output of the SGF at any time as 

measured at the point of interconnection or the maximum kW 

delivered to the Utility during any metering period, whichever 

is greater. Requested maximum generating capacity will be 

specified by the IC in the interconnection request and an 

approved maximum generating capacity will subsequently be 

included as a limitation in the interconnection agreement. 

"Network upgrades" means additions, modifications, and 

enhancements to the Utility's transmission system that are 

required in order to accommodate the interconnection of the 

small generating facility with the Utility's system. Network 

upgrades do not include distribution system upgrades. 

"Operating requirements" means any operating and technical 

requirements that may be applicable due to regional 

transmission entity, independent system operator, control area, 

or the Utility's requirements, including those set forth in this 

Small Generator Interconnection Agreement. 

"Party" means the Utility or the IC. 

"Point of interconnection" means the point where the 

customer's interconnection facilities connect physically and 

electrically to the Utility system. 

"Processing fee" means a nonrefundable cost to administer or 

file an application. 

"Queue number" refers to the number assigned by the Utility 

that establishes a customer's interconnection request's position 

in the study queue relative to all other valid interconnection 

requests. A lower queue number will be studied prior to a 

higher queue number, except in the case of interdependent 

projects. The queue number of each interconnection request 

shall be used to determine the cost responsibility for the 

upgrades necessary to accommodate the interconnection. 

"Queue position" means the order of a valid interconnection 

request relative to all other pending valid interconnection 

request based on queue number. 

"Regional Transmission Entity" or "RTE" shall refer to an 

entity having the management and control of a Utility's 

transmission system as further set forth in § 56-579 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Small generating facility" or "generating facility" or 

"generator" or "SGF" means the IC's equipment used for the 

production of electricity, as identified in the interconnection 

request. 

"Small Generator Interconnection Agreement" or "SGIA" 

means the agreement between the Utility and the IC as set forth 

in this Schedule 10 of 20VAC5-314-170. 

"Supplemental review" has the meaning ascribed to it in 

20VAC5-314-60 H. 

"System" or "Utility system" means the distribution and 

transmission facilities owned, controlled, or operated by the 

Utility that are used to deliver electricity. 

"System impact study" has the meaning ascribed to it in 

20VAC5-314-70 D. 

"Tariff" means the rates, terms, and conditions filed by the 

Utility with the commission for the purpose of providing 

commission-regulated electric service to retail customers. 

"Transmission system" means the Utility's facilities and 

equipment delivering electric energy to the distribution 

system; such facilities usually being operated at voltage levels 

above the Utility's typical distribution system voltage levels. 

"Utility" means the public utility company subject to 

regulation by the Commission pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-

232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia with regard to 

rates or service quality to whose system the IC proposes to 

interconnect a small generating facility. 
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Attachment 2 to Schedule 10 

Description and Costs of the Small Generating Facility, 

Customer's 

Interconnection Facilities, Attachment Facilities, and 

Metering Equipment 

The following shall be provided in this exhibit: 

1. An itemization of the major equipment components 

owned by the IC and the Utility, including components of 

the SGF, the customer's interconnection facilities, 

attachment facilities, and metering equipment. Such 

itemization shall identify the owner of each item listed. 

2. The Utility's estimated itemized cost of its attachment 

facilities and its metering equipment. 

3. The Utility's estimated cost of its annual operation and 

maintenance expenses associated with attachment facilities 

and metering equipment to be charged to the IC. 

Attachment 3 to Schedule 10 

One-line Diagram Depicting the Small Generating 

Facility, Customer's 

Interconnection Facilities, Attachment Facilities, 

Metering Equipment, and Distribution Upgrades 

(Diagram and description to be provided by IC unless the Utility 

elects to prepare this schedule. If this schedule is prepared by the 

Utility, the IC shall provide a one-line diagram of the SGF and 

IC's interconnection facilities for the Utility to use as a data source 

for preparing this schedule.) 

Attachment 4 to Schedule 10 

Milestones 

In-Service Date:___________________ 

Critical milestones and responsibility as agreed to by the 

Parties: 

Milestone/Date Responsible Party 

1.  

2.  

3.  

4.  

5.  

6.  

7.  

8.  

9.  

10.  

Agreed to by: 

For the Utility__________________ Date__________ 

For the Transmission Owner (if applicable)_____________ 

Date__________ 

For the Interconnection Customer____________________ 

Date__________ 

Attachment 5 to Schedule 10 

Additional Operating Requirements for the Utility 

System 

and Affected Systems Needed to Support the 

Interconnection Customer's Needs 

The Utility shall provide requirements that must be met by 

the IC prior to initiating parallel operation with the utility 

system. 

Attachment 6 to Schedule 10 

Utility's Description of its Distribution and 

Transmission Upgrades and Estimate of Upgrade Costs 

The Utility shall provide the following in this attachment: 

1. An itemized list of the upgrades required to be constructed 

by the Utility prior to interconnection of the SGF, with 

transmission and distribution related upgrades shown 

separately. 

2. An estimate of the cost of each item listed pursuant to Item 

1 of this Attachment. 

3. An estimate of annual operation and maintenance 

expenses associated with such upgrades that are to be 

charged to the IC, shown separately for transmission and 

distribution related items. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(20VAC5-314) 

IEEE Standard for Interconnection and Interoperability of 

Distributed Energy Resources with Associated Electric Power 

Systems Interfaces, The Institute of Electrical and Electronics 

Engineers, Inc., Standard 1547, 2018. 

IEEE Standard Conformance Test Procedures for Equipment 

Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric Power 

Systems, The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, 

Inc., Standard 1547.1, July 1, 2005. 

IEEE Standard 1547.3, Guide for Cybersecurity of 

Distributed Energy Resources Interconnected with Electric 

Power Systems, June 5, 2023 

National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners 

Cybersecurity Baselines for Electric Distribution Systems and 

DER, February 2024 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8227; Filed April 15, 2025, 11:11 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/dibr/4National%20Association%20of%20Regulatory%20Utility%20Commissioners'%20Cybersecurity%20Baselines%20for%20Electric%20Distribution%20Systems%20and%20DERs-20250416154917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/dibr/4National%20Association%20of%20Regulatory%20Utility%20Commissioners'%20Cybersecurity%20Baselines%20for%20Electric%20Distribution%20Systems%20and%20DERs-20250416154917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/dibr/4National%20Association%20of%20Regulatory%20Utility%20Commissioners'%20Cybersecurity%20Baselines%20for%20Electric%20Distribution%20Systems%20and%20DERs-20250416154917.pdf
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-880. Child Support 

Enforcement Program (amending 22VAC40-880-10, 

22VAC40-880-90, 22VAC40-880-240, 22VAC40-880-250, 

22VAC40-880-350, 22VAC40-880-430, 22VAC40-880-480; 

repealing 22VAC40-880-320). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 651 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 19, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Matthew Gomez, Director, Program 

Initiatives, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7437, or 

email matthew.gomez@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

State Board of Social Services to promulgate rules and 

regulations to administer child support enforcement in the 

Commonwealth under Chapter 19 (§ 63.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 

63.2 of the Code of Virginia. Sections 63.2-1914, 63.2-1918, 

and 63.2-1946 of the Code of Virginia authorize the board to 

adopt regulations related to specific aspects of the child support 

enforcement program. In addition, the updates in 22VAC40-

880-240 are made to align with 45 CFR § 302.56(c)(1). 

Purpose: This action is essential to protect the welfare of the 

public because clear regulations help parents, courts, and the 

Department of Social Services participate in the child support 

process and support participants in understanding their rights 

and responsibilities. The goal of the amendments is to make 

technical and clarifying amendments to the regulation. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

board believes this action will be noncontroversial and 

therefore appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process 

because the amendments improve consistency with federal and 

state law. 

Substance: The amendments (i) modernize definitions to be 

consistent with technological and legal changes, (ii) conform 

22VAC40-88-240 to federal regulations on imputation; (iii) 

remove an obsolete threshold for when parents may request 

review of child support obligations, and (iv) clarify language. 

Issues: The board is unaware of any disadvantages to the public 

or the Commonwealth. The primary advantage to the public 

and the Commonwealth is that the amendments will improve 

the effectiveness of the child support enforcement program. 

The primary advantage to the agency is that improved 

definitions and an expanded description of services provided 

will improve the agency's service delivery. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a 2019 periodic review, the Board of Social Services 

(board) seeks to make technical corrections and updates to the 

regulation governing the Child Support Enforcement 

Program.2  

Background. The Department of Social Services (DSS) Child 

Support Enforcement Program promotes the efficient and 

accurate collection, accounting, and receipt of financial 

support for dependent children and custodial parents. The 

regulation governing this program, 22VAC40-880, specifies 

the processes and requirements for DSS Division of Child 

Support Enforcement (DCSE) as well as for custodial and 

noncustodial parents. The board seeks to update the regulation 

to enhance consistency with the Code of Virginia and 

applicable federal law and to reflect current practice. The most 

substantive changes are summarized below. 

1. Section 240, Administrative deviation from the child support 

guideline. This section would be updated to reflect changes in 

federal law (45 CFR § 302.56(c)(1)), which now requires that 

if actual income information is not available, this information 

will be imputed based on several factors. The current language 

uses the federal minimum wage to establish the noncustodial 

parent's wage. The proposed language would specify that 

"imputation shall take into consideration the specific 

circumstances of the noncustodial parent to the extent known, 

including such factors as the noncustodial parent's assets, 

residence, employment and earnings history, job skills, 

educational attainment, literacy, age, health, criminal record 

and other employment barriers, and record of seeking work, as 

well as the local job market, the availability of employers 

willing to hire the noncustodial parent, prevailing earnings 

level in the local community, and other relevant background 

factors in the case."3 

2. Section 250, Periodic reviews of the child support 

obligation. The regulation currently allows the child support 

obligation to be changed in order to require the natural or 

adoptive parents to share the costs of unreimbursed medical or 

dental expenses exceeding $250 per child per year. The $250 

threshold was removed by the 2014 Acts of Assembly, which 

instead refers to any reasonable and necessary unreimbursed 

medical or dental expenses.4 Accordingly, the board proposes 

to replace that limit with any reasonable and necessary 

unreimbursed medical or dental expenses for the child. 

3. Section 320, Initiated withholding of income. This section 

would be repealed in its entirety based on a recommendation 

by the Office of the Attorney General (OAG). The language 

mailto:matthew.gomez@dss.virginia.gov
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currently in this section was considered redundant, since the 

Code of Virginia provides for income withholding by DCSE.5 

4. Section 430, Validity of the appeal. The proposed changes 

to this section also result from a recommendation by the OAG. 

All of the current text containing the deadlines and other 

requirements for an appeal to be considered valid was 

considered redundant, since these requirements are contained 

in state and federal code and also in forms received by DCSE 

customers. 

5. Section 480, Cooperation with other state IV-D agencies. 

The proposed changes would clarify DSS authority to pursue 

direct enforcement when a parent lives in another state by 

removing language requiring coordination with the other 

state's Title IV-D agency in all such cases. DSS reports that 

direct enforcement is often faster in obtaining support for the 

custodial parent and child living in Virginia, and these orders 

are routine for employers. 

All other changes to the proposed text, including in Sections 

10, 90, and 350, appear to be merely clarifying in nature. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Since the proposed changes all 

reflect current practice and would conform the regulation to 

state and federal law, the primary benefit would be to provide 

readers of the regulation with accurate and current information 

regarding the child support enforcement program. The 

proposed changes would not create new costs either to DSS or 

to custodial or noncustodial parents.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. This regulation 

pertains to the processes used by DCSE to establish and 

enforce child support payments made to custodial parents of 

dependent children by noncustodial parents. Accordingly, the 

proposed changes would primarily affect DCSE and the 

families they serve. In addition, all of the proposed changes 

have already been implemented, and no entity would be newly 

affected by the proposed changes. The following table 

provided by DSS indicates the rates at which income has been 

imputed since federal fiscal year 2020; these imputations occur 

when actual income information is not available and are 

performed in obligation calculation worksheets. 

FFY Imputations All OCWs Rate 

2020 243 18,369 1.32% 

2021 851 17,477 4.87% 

2022 208 16,265 1.28% 

2023 33 19,056 0.17% 

The proposed changes would indirectly affect certain 

employers in other states who would be contacted to collect 

child support payments. However, these changes have been 

implemented in practice because all states have adopted the 

2008 Uniform Family Support Act, which allows direct 

income withholding.6 DSS also notes that direct income 

withholding has been found to be more cost-effective than 

requesting another state's assistance.7 The Code of Virginia 

requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result 

from the proposed regulation.8 An adverse impact is indicated 

if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue 

for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all 

entities combined.9 Because the proposed changes would 

conform the regulation to federal and state law and reflect 

current practice, an adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses10 Affected.11 The proposed amendments 

would not create any new costs for small businesses. 

Localities12 Affected.13 The proposed changes would not 

disproportionately affect any particular locality and would not 

affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are not likely to have a substantive impact on total 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not affect the value of private property or 

real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1753.  

3 See https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/45/302.56. The proposed changes 

are identical to the language in the federal regulation. 

4 See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=ch6

67. 

5 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73\5858\10059\AGme

mo_DSS_10059_v1.pdf. 

6 See https://www.uniformlaws.org/committees/community-home?Communit

yKey=71d40358-8ec0-49ed-a516-93fc025801fb. Virginia's version appears in 

§ 20-88.32 et seq of the Code of Virginia. 

7 A detailed discussion of this topic appears at Office of Child Support 

Services, Interstate Child Support Payment Processing (2017) at 

https://www.acf.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/documents/ocse/at_17_07_a.pdf. 

8 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

9 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

10 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

11 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1753
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/45/302.56
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=ch667
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=ch667
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73/5858/10059/AGmemo_DSS_10059_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73/5858/10059/AGmemo_DSS_10059_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73/5858/10059/AGmemo_DSS_10059_v1.pdf
https://www.uniformlaws.org/committees/community-home?CommunityKey=71d40358-8ec0-49ed-a516-93fc025801fb
https://www.uniformlaws.org/committees/community-home?CommunityKey=71d40358-8ec0-49ed-a516-93fc025801fb
https://www.uniformlaws.org/committees/community-home?CommunityKey=71d40358-8ec0-49ed-a516-93fc025801fb
https://www.uniformlaws.org/committees/community-home?CommunityKey=71d40358-8ec0-49ed-a516-93fc025801fb
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/documents/ocse/at_17_07_a.pdf
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include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

12 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

13 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The State Board of 

Social Services has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and 

concurs. 

Summary: 

In response to a periodic review, the amendments (i) 

modernize definitions to be consistent with technological 

and legal changes, (ii) conform 22VAC40-88-240 to federal 

regulations on imputation, (iii) remove an obsolete 

threshold for when parents can request review of child 

support obligations, and (iv) clarify language. 

22VAC40-880-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative referral" means when a unit of the 

department or executive branch makes a referral for a parent or 

case. 

"Appeal" means a request for a review of an administrative 

action taken by the division, or an action taken to contest a 

court order. 

"Applicant" or "applicant/recipient" means a party who 

applies for and receives services from the division. 

"Application" means a written document requesting or 

electronic request for child support enforcement services, 

which on a form that the department provides to the individual 

or agency applying for services and which that is signed by the 

applicant, including by electronic means. 

"Arrearage" means unpaid child or medical support 

payments, interest, and other costs for past periods owed by a 

parent to the state or obligee. This may include unpaid spousal 

support when child support is also being enforced. 

"Bad check" means a check not honored by the bank on which 

it is drawn. 

"Case management services" means individualized services 

provided by a trained case manager. 

"Case summary" means a written statement outlining the 

actions taken by the department on a case that has been 

appealed. 

"Child support guideline" means a method for calculating a 

child support obligation as set out in § 20-108.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Delinquency" means an unpaid child or medical support 

obligation. The obligation may include spousal support when 

child support is also being enforced. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"District office" means a local office of the Division of Child 

Support Enforcement responsible for the operation of the child 

support enforcement program. 

"Division" means the Division of Child Support Enforcement 

of the Virginia Department of Social Services, also known as 

a IV-D agency. 

"Enforcement" means ensuring the payment of child support 

through the use of administrative or judicial means. 

"Family engagement services" means services through which 

the department identifies barriers to providing support and 

provides case management services to address those barriers. 

"Federal foster care" means foster care that is established 

under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act. This is a category 

of financial assistance paid on behalf of children who 

otherwise meet the eligibility criteria for TANF and who are in 

the custody of local social service agencies. 

"Financial statement" means the provision of financial 

information from the natural or adoptive parents. 

"Good cause" means, as it pertains to TANF public assistance 

applicants and recipients, an agency determination that the 

individual is not required to cooperate with the division in its 

efforts to collect child support. 

"Hearing officer" means an impartial person charged by the 

Commissioner of the Department of Social Services to hear 

appeals and decide if an agency followed its policy and 

procedures. 

"IV-D agency" means a governmental entity administering 

the child support enforcement program under Title IV-D of the 

Social Security Act. In Virginia, the IV-D agency is the 

Division of Child Support Enforcement. 

"Locate services" means obtaining information that is 

sufficient and necessary to take action on a child support case, 

including information concerning (i) the physical whereabouts 

of the obligor or the obligor's employer or (ii) other sources of 

income or assets, as appropriate. Certain individuals and 

entities, such as courts and other state child support 

enforcement agencies, can receive locate-only services from 

the department. 
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"Medicaid-only" means a category of public assistance 

whereby a family receives Medicaid but is not eligible for or 

receiving TANF. 

"Medical support services" means the establishment of a 

medical support order and the enforcement of health insurance 

coverage or, if court ordered, medical expenses. 

"Obligation" means the amount and frequency of payments 

that the obligor is legally bound to pay as set out in a court or 

administrative support order. 

"Occupational license" means any license, certificate, 

registration, or other authorization to engage in a business, 

trade, profession, or occupation issued by the Commonwealth 

pursuant to Title 22.1, 38.2, 46.2, or 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or any other provision of law. 

"Parent" means any natural or adoptive parent; the natural or 

adoptive parent with whom the child resides; a stepparent or 

other person who has physical custody of the child and with 

whom the child resides; a local board that has legal custody of 

a child in foster care; or a responsible person who is or may be 

obligated under Virginia law for support of a dependent child 

or child's caretaker. 

"Past due support" means support payments determined under 

a court or administrative order that have not been paid. 

"Pendency of an appeal" means the period of time after an 

administrative appeal has been made and before the final 

disposition by an administrative hearing officer, or between the 

time a party files an appeal with the court and the court renders 

a decision. 

"Putative father" means a person alleged to be the father of a 

child whose paternity has not been established. 

"Recipient" means a person or agency that has applied for or 

receives public assistance or child support enforcement 

services. 

"Recreational license" means any license, certificate, or 

registration used for the purpose of participation in games, 

sports, or hobbies or for amusement or relaxation. 

"Referral" means when one entity or organization formally or 

informally requests action by another with respect to an item. 

"Service of process" means the delivery to or leaving of a 

child support document, in a manner prescribed by state 

statute, giving the party reasonable notice of the action being 

taken. 

"Summons" means a document notifying a parent or other 

person that the parent or other person must appear at a time and 

place named in the document to provide information needed to 

pursue child support actions. 

22VAC40-880-90. Case assessment. 

After establishing a case record, the department shall (i) 

assess the case information to determine if sufficient 

information to establish or enforce a child support obligation 

is available and verified, (ii) attempt to obtain additional case 

information if the information is not sufficient, (iii) gather all 

relevant documents, and (iv) verify case information which is 

not verified initiate verification of unverified case information. 

22VAC40-880-240. Administrative deviation from the 

child support guideline. 

There shall be a rebuttable presumption that the amount of 

child support that results from the application of the guidelines 

is the correct amount of child support pursuant to §§ 20-108.1, 

20-108.2, and 63.2-1918 of the Code of Virginia. Deviations 

from the guidelines shall be allowed as follows: 

1. When either natural or adoptive parent is found to be 

voluntarily unemployed or fails to provide financial 

information upon request, income shall be imputed except as 

indicated in this subdivision. A natural or adoptive parent is 

determined to be voluntarily unemployed when the parent 

quits a job without good cause or is fired for cause. 

a. The current or last available monthly income shall be 

used to determine the obligation if that income is 

representative of what the natural or adoptive parent could 

earn or otherwise receive. 

b. If actual income is not available, use the federal 

minimum wage multiplied by 40 hours per week and 

converted to a monthly amount by multiplying the result 

by 4.333 imputation shall take into consideration the 

specific circumstances of the noncustodial parent to the 

extent known, including such factors as the noncustodial 

parent's assets, residence, employment and earnings 

history, job skills, educational attainment, literacy, age, 

health, criminal record and other employment barriers, 

and record of seeking work, as well as the local job market, 

the availability of employers willing to hire the 

noncustodial parent, prevailing earnings level in the local 

community, and other relevant background factors in the 

case. 

2. In non-TANF cases, where there is a signed, written 

agreement for child support, the child support obligation 

may be set at the agreed amount but at no less than the 

statutory minimum pursuant to § 20-108.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

3. No other deviations from the child support guidelines may 

be made in establishing or adjusting administrative support 

orders or reviewing court orders. Should potential deviation 

factors exist, as stated in § 20-108.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

refer the case to court for additional action. 
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22VAC40-880-250. Periodic reviews of the child support 

obligation. 

A. Either parent may request a review of the child support 

obligation once every three years. Additional requests may be 

made earlier by providing documentation that a material 

change of circumstance has occurred that potentially affects 

the child support obligation. Such changes shall be limited to 

the following: 

1. An additional child needs to be added to the order; 

2. A child is no longer eligible to receive current support due 

to a change of custody or emancipation and needs to be 

removed from an existing order that includes other children; 

3. A provision for health care coverage needs to be added; 

4. A provision ordering the natural or adoptive parents to 

share the costs of all any reasonable and necessary 

unreimbursed medical/dental medical or dental expenses 

exceeding $250 per for the child per year covered by the 

order needs to be added; or 

5. A change of at least 25% can be documented by the 

requesting parent in the following circumstances: 

a. Income of either natural or adoptive parent; 

b. Amount of medical insurance; or 

c. Cost of employment-related child-care costs. 

B. The department shall adjust an administrative obligation 

when the results of the review indicate a change of at least 10% 

in the monthly obligation but not less than $25. 

22VAC40-880-320. Initiated withholding of income. 

(Repealed.) 

In all initial and modified administrative support orders, the 

department shall initiate an income withholding order unless 

the parties agree to a written alternative payment arrangement. 

The department shall initiate an income withholding order to 

the noncustodial parent's employer requiring the withholding 

of the child support obligation from the noncustodial parent's 

income under the following circumstances:  

1. When a payment is delinquent in an amount equal to or 

exceeding one month's child support obligation, or  

2. When either parent requests that withholding begin 

regardless of whether past due support is owed.  

22VAC40-880-350. Distraint, seizure, and sale. 

A. The department may use distraint, including booting of 

vehicle, seizure, and sale, against the real or personal property 

of a noncustodial parent when: 

1. There is an arrearage of at least $1,000 for a case with a 

current support obligation and at least $500 for an arrearage-

only case; 

2. Conventional enforcement remedies have failed or are not 

appropriate; and 

3. A lien has been filed pursuant to § 63.2-1927 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

B. Assets that may be targeted for distraint, including booting 

of vehicle, seizure, and sale, are: 

1. Solely owned by the noncustodial parent. 

2. Co-owned by the noncustodial parent and current spouse. 

3. Owned by a business in which the noncustodial parent is 

the sole proprietor. Assets owned by business partnerships 

or corporations which that are co-owned with someone other 

than a noncustodial parent's current spouse do not qualify for 

booting of vehicle, or seizure and sale. 

C. The director of the division or his the director's designee 

shall give final approval for the use of distraint, seizure, and 

sale. This includes immobilizing a vehicle using vehicle boots. 

D. When initiating booting, or seizure and sale of vehicle, the 

department shall check with the Department of Motor Vehicles 

for vehicles registered in the noncustodial parent's name, the 

address on the vehicle registration, and the name of any lien 

holder on the vehicle. 

E. Once a lien has been filed pursuant to § 63.2-1927 of the 

Code of Virginia, the department shall send a notice of intent 

to the noncustodial parent before initiating distraint, including 

booting of vehicle, seizure, and sale action. 

F. If the noncustodial parent contacts the department in 

response to the intent notice, the department shall request 

payment of the arrearage in full. The department shall 

negotiate a settlement if the noncustodial parent cannot pay the 

arrearage in full. The least acceptable settlement is 5.0% of the 

arrearage owed or $500, whichever is greater, with additional 

monthly payments towards toward the arrearage that will 

satisfy the arrearage within 10 years. The department may 

initiate distraint, including booting of vehicle, seizure, and 

sale, without further notice to the noncustodial parent if the 

noncustodial parent defaults on the payments as agreed. 

G. The department shall send a fieri facias request to each 

county or city where a lien is filed and a levy is being executed 

if the noncustodial parent does not contact the department in 

response to the intent notice. 

H. The department shall set a target date for seizure or booting 

and have the sheriff levy the property or boot the vehicle. 

I. Once property has been seized or booted by the sheriff, the 

department must (i) reach a payment agreement with the 

noncustodial parent of 5.0% of the arrearage owed or $500, 

whichever is greater, with additional monthly payments 

towards toward the arrearage that will satisfy the arrearage 

within 10 years and release the vehicle to the owner; (ii) 

proceed with the sale of the vehicle pursuant to § 63.2-1933 of 
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the Code of Virginia; or (iii) at the end of 90 days from the 

issuance of the writ of fieri facias, release the vehicle to the 

owner. 

J. The department shall send a cancellation notice to the 

sheriff if a decision is made to terminate the seizure action 

before the asset is actually seized. 

K. If the department sells an asset and it is a motor vehicle, 

the department shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles 

to issue clear title to the new owner of the vehicle. 

22VAC40-880-430. Validity of the appeal. 

A. The department shall determine the validity of an 

administrative appeal. 

1. The appeal must be in writing. 

2. If the appeal is personally delivered, the appeal must be 

received within 10 business days of service of process of the 

notice of the proposed action on the appellant. 

3. If mailed, the postmark must be within 10 business days 

from the date of service of process of the notice of the 

proposed action on the appellant. 

B. For appeals of federal and state tax intercepts, the appellant 

shall have 30 days to note an appeal to the department. 

To the extent not otherwise provided for in state or federal 

law, requests for administrative hearings and appeals shall be 

in writing and shall be deemed timely filed if postmarked or if 

received by the department within the applicable deadline. 

22VAC40-880-480. Cooperation with other state IV-D 

agencies. 

A. When the parents reside in different states, cooperation 

between these state agencies may be necessary. 

B. The department shall provide the same services to other 

state IV-D cases that it provides to its own cases with the 

following conditions: 

1. The request for services must shall be in writing; and 

2. The request for services must shall list the specific 

services needed. 

C. The department shall request in writing the services of 

other state IV-D agencies when one parent resides in Virginia, 

but the other parent resides in another state. 

D. C. Other department responsibilities in providing services 

to other state IV-D cases and obtaining services from other 

state IV-D agencies are defined in 45 CFR 303.7 and §§ 63.2-

1902 and Chapter 5.3 (§ 20-88.32 through 20-88.82 et seq.) of 

Title 20 and § 63.2-1902 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-6081; Filed April 2, 2025, 2:26 p.m. 
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Guidance Document

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Title IX Policy and Procedure Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst 

and Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23299, telephone (804) 662-7093, or email 

charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Definition of Students with Limited or 

Interrupted Formal Education. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 

Title of Document: Mineral Mine Operator's Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Larry Corkey, Energy and Regulatory 

Program Manager, Department of Energy, 1100 Bank Street, 

Eighth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone (804) 

692-3239, or email larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Title of Document: Real Estate Board Application Review 

Matrix. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Joseph Haughwout, Regulatory Affairs 

Manager, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8566, or email 

joseph.haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Title of Document: Virginia Official State Transportation Map 

Policy and Procedures. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Steven Jack, Regulatory Manager, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3886, or email 

steven.jack@vdot.virginia.gov. 

  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_8180_20250325.pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_8061_20250303.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_8061_20250303.pdf
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/409/GDoc_NRG_8179_20250318.pdf
mailto:larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/222/GDoc_DPOR_8202_20250409.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/222/GDoc_DPOR_8202_20250409.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4119/GuidanceDocs/joseph.haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/501/GDoc_VDOT_8206_20250410.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/501/GDoc_VDOT_8206_20250410.pdf
mailto:steven.jack@vdot.virginia.gov


Guidance Documents 

Volume 41, Issue 19  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 5, 2025  

2194 

 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for deletion and the listed agency has opened up a 30-day public 

comment period. The listed agency previously identified these documents as certified guidance documents, pursuant to § 2.2-

4002.1 of the Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

guidance document to view the deleted document and comment. This information is also available on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact. 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Answering Telephone Requests for 

Pesticide Applicator or Pesticide Business License 

Examination Scores. 

Certification of Individuals Treating Cooling Towers or 

Swimming Pools. 

Commercial Carpet Cleaners Who Apply Pesticides for Flea 

and Tick Control. 

Production Registration - Submission of Labels. 

Registration Label Review. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Nicole Wilkins, Program Manager, Office of 

Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 371-6559, or email nicole.wilkins@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Titles of Documents: Air Compliance Guidance for Violations 

of 9VAC5 Chapter 40 Part II Article 37 and Related Federal 

Rules in Accordance with EPA Letters regarding No Action 

Assurance dated September 13, 2018. 

Inspections. 

Particulate Testing: Role of Agency Observer. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Sam Jasinski, Department of Environmental 

Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 659-2655, or email samuel.jasinski@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

AUCTIONEER'S BOARD 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

CEMETERY BOARD 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

FAIR HOUSING BOARD 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS, 
WETLAND PROFESSIONALS, AND GEOLOGISTS 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Titles of Documents: Employee Use of Social Media. 

Ethics. 

Gifts and Honoraria. 

Purchasing. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Joe Haughwout, Regulatory Affairs 

Manager, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8566, or email 

joseph.haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2700
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2700
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2700
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2704
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2704
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2701
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2701
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2702
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2703
mailto:nicole.wilkins@vdacs.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2709
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2709
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2709
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2709
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2709
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2709
mailto:samuel.jasinski@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2710
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2710
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2710
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2710
mailto:joseph.haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov
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BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Title of Document: Random Inspections of Board for Barbers 

and Cosmetology Licensees. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Joe Haughwout, Regulatory Affairs 

Manager, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8566, or email 

joseph.haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Pharmacy Manual, Appendix D. 

Pharmacy Manual, Appendix E. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Syreeta Stewart, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 298-

3863, or email syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE MILK COMMISSION 

Title of Document: Virginia State Milk Commission Monthly 

Report Audit Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Crafton Wilkes, Administrator for the State Milk 

Commission, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 

Oliver Hill Building, 102 Governor Street, Room 206, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2013, or email 

crafton.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Title of Document: Interagency Scenic Roads Map Advisory 

Committee Policy and Selection Criteria. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 4, 2025. 

Effective Date: June 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Steven Jack, Regulatory Manager, Department 

of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3886, or email 

steven.jack@vdot.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2710
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2710
mailto:joseph.haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2715
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2715
mailto:syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2705
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2705
mailto:crafton.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2716
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2716
mailto:steven.jack@vdot.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for 6th Street Solar 1 
LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for 6th Street Solar 1 LLC for 

violations of State Water Control Law and regulations at 

Poorhouse Road Solar in Victoria, Virginia. The proposed 

order is available from the DEQ contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from May 5, 2025, to June 4, 2025. 

Contact Information: Kristen Sadtler, Interim Director of 

Enforcement; Water Enforcement Coordinator, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, or email 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Crown Auto Parts 
and Recycling 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Crown Auto Parts and 

Recycling for violations of State Water Control Law and 

regulations in Elkton, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

from the DEQ contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from May 5, 2025, through June 5, 2025. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, or email 

russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for DF Lunsford 
Construction LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for DF Lunsford 

Construction LLC for violations of State Water Control Law 

and regulations in Prince George County, Virginia. The 

proposed order is available from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from May 5, 2025, through June 4, 2025. 

Contact Information: Gary Wooldridge, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, or email 

gary.wooldridge@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Aaron and Mary 
Stoltzfus 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for Aaron and Mary Stoltzfus for 

alleged violations of the State Water Control Law at the 

Peacock Hill Cheese House, 917 Calvary Church Road, 

Warsaw, Virginia. The proposed order is available from the 

DEQ contact listed at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforce

ment-actions. The DEQ contact will accept comments by email 

or postal mail from May 5, 2025, to June 4, 2025. 

Contact Information: Cara Witte, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4949 Cox Road, Suite 

A, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 712-4192, or email 

cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov. 

Horus Virginia 1 LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Clarke County 

Horus Virginia 1 LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Clarke County pursuant to 9VAC15-

60. The proposed Bellringer Solar Project will be located at 

1030 Bellringer Lane, Town of Berryville, Clarke County, 

Virginia, on Clarke County Parcel No. 13-A-13. The project 

area includes approximately 390 acres, and the geographic 

information system (GIS) centroid is Latitude 39.156816, 

Longitude -78.009956. The DEQ project number is 

RE0000348. The facility is proposed as a 50-megawatt 

alternating current solar energy generation project and is 

anticipated to utilize approximately 117,740 solar panels. 

Contact Information: Matthew Snow, Small Renewable 

Energy Permit by Rule Program Specialist, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond VA 23233, telephone (804) 718-9569, or email 

matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov. 

Withdrawn: Notice of Intent for Gateway Grid 
Battery Storage Facility  

The notice of intent submitted September 25, 2024, by 

Gateway Grid LLC for a 100-megawatt rated capacity permit 

by rule for a small renewable energy project (energy storage) 

off Lee Highway, Botetourt County has been withdrawn. The 

DEQ project number was RE0000329. The notice of intent was 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall on September 

25, 2024, and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations 

on October 21, 2024. 

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Renewable Energy Permit 

by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 774-8474, or email 

amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:Gary.Wooldridge@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov
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Public Comment Opportunity for Air Quality Plan 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air 

quality standards (NAAQS). The Commonwealth intends to 

submit the plan as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia 

state implementation plan (SIP) in accordance with the 

requirements of § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act (42 USC 

§ 7401 et seq.). The SIP is the plan developed by the 

Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under the 

Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the NAAQS promulgated 

by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether certain regulatory amendments that implement 

requirements for transfer of authority and requests for certain 

public hearings (Regulation Revision D22) should be 

submitted as a revision to the SIP. The regulatory action has 

not been amended; the revision consists of corrected SIP-

specific materials. 

Public comment period: May 5, 2025, to June 4, 2025. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a request 

is made in writing to the contact listed in this notice. In order 

to be considered, the request must include the full name, 

address, and telephone number of the person requesting the 

hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the comment 

period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any requested 

public hearing will be announced in a separate notice, and 

another 30-day comment period will be conducted. 

Public comment stage: The amendments that are necessary to 

conform to Virginia statute are exempt from the standard 

regulatory adoption process by § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia. The technical corrections are exempt by the 

provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 3 of the Code of Virginia. Because 

the amendments have already been adopted and are exempt 

from administrative procedures for the adoption of regulations, 

DEQ is accepting comment only on the issue cited under 

"purpose of notice" and not on the content of the amendments. 

Description of proposal: Chapter 356 of the 2022 Acts of 

Assembly limits the authority of the State Air Pollution Control 

Board to the issuance of regulations and transfers the board's 

existing authority to issue permits, orders, and variances to 

DEQ. The regulations were amended accordingly under 

Regulation Revision D22; additional information is available 

from the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9789. 

As a proposed SIP revision, the adopted D22 amendments 

originally underwent public comment in accordance with 40 

CFR 51.102(a); no comments were received, and the SIP 

revision was submitted on July 7, 2023. Subsequently, EPA 

determined that the SIP submittal incorrectly identified what 

provisions were intended to be part of the SIP and what 

provisions were not intended to be part of the SIP. The original 

submittal was withdrawn, and a corrected version of the SIP 

submittal is now undergoing a new public comment period 

prior to a new final submittal. 

This comment period and the new SIP submittal are 

administrative in nature; no changes to the adopted regulations 

are proposed, and there is no impact to the environment. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 

CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a revision to 

the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the Clean 

Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. Provisions that are 

not pertinent to the SIP and, therefore, not being submitted as 

part of the SIP revision are identified. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email 

and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments must 

include the full name, address, and telephone number of the 

person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last day of 

the comment period. All materials received are part of the 

public record. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices 

website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/air. The documents may also be obtained by contacting 

the DEQ contact listed in this notice. Members of the public 

may schedule an appointment to review the documents 

between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until the 

close of the public comment period at the following DEQ 

locations: 

1. Main Street Office, 22nd Floor, 1111 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4000; 

2. Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (540) 676-4800; 

3. Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 

24153, telephone (540) 562-6700; 

4. Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 

22801, telephone (540) 574-7800; 

5. Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5020; 

6. Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-3800; and 

7. Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Policy Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1973, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9789
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/air
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/air
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
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DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES  

Revision to Fees for Drinking Water Laboratory 
Certification - Final Notice - 

The Department of General Services, Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services (DCLS) published a general notice in 41:15 

VA.R. 1719-1720 March 10, 2025, seeking comment on the 

revision to fees charged for certifying drinking water laboratories 

under 1VAC30-41-270 as required by subdivision I 2 of 1VAC30-

41-270. 

No comments were received on the revision to the fees. The 

revision to the fees will stand as published. The following fees are 

effective May 1, 2025, through April 30, 2026, for drinking water 

laboratory certification under 1VAC30-41. 

TESTING CATEGORY FEE ($) 

Microbiological Testing   

1 - 2 methods 808 

3 - 5 methods 942 

6+ methods 1076 

Inorganic Chemistry, 

Nonmetals Testing  
 

1 - 2 methods 874 

3 - 5 methods 1141 

6 - 8 methods 1413 

9+ methods 1679 

Inorganic Chemistry, 

Metals Testing  
 

1 - 2 methods 1413 

3 - 5 methods 1679 

6 - 8 methods 1949 

9+ methods 2219 

Radiochemistry   

1 - 2 methods 1479 

3 - 5 methods 1747 

6+ methods 2016 

Asbestos   

1 - 2 methods 1209 

3 - 5 methods 1479 

6+ methods 1747 

How fees are calculated: DCLS calculates a laboratory's total 

fee by adding the fees for the number of test methods in each 

category in the fee table for which the laboratory is certified or 

applies to be certified. Contact lab_cert@dgs.virginia.gov for 

more information about the fee category for a specific method. 

Additional fees apply when a laboratory: 

1. Applies for modification of certification under 1VAC30-41-

110; 

2. Moves location, if the move requires DCLS to perform an 

onsite assessment; or 

3. Requests reinstatement of certification when DCLS requires 

an onsite assessment. 

Hourly review fee and calculation of total fee: The fee to be 

charged is the sum of the total hourly charges for all reviewers 

and any onsite assessment costs incurred. The hourly charge 

per reviewer is $82. The charge per reviewer is determined by 

multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 

$82. 

Onsite review and travel expenses: If an onsite review is 

required, travel time and onsite review time will be charged at 

the same hourly rate of $82 and any travel expenses will be 

added. 

When to pay: Payment is due when the initial application is 

processed or annually thereafter upon receipt of the invoice 

from DCLS. Annual billing precedes the expiration of the 

current certificate. 

How to pay: Fees may be paid by check or credit card via an 

electronic payment portal provided by DCLS, or other payment 

arrangements may be made by contacting 

lab_cert@dgs.virginia.gov. All payments are made after an 

invoice is issued by DCLS in accordance with instructions on 

the invoice or in accordance with special arrangements made 

by contacting DCLS. 

Contact Information: Kimberly Freiberger, Policy Planning 

Specialist III, Department of General Services, 1100 Bank 

Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

3311, or email kimberly.freiberger@dgs.virgnia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Scheduling Chemicals in Schedule I 
pursuant to § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia 

Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy is giving notice of a public 

hearing to consider placement of chemical substances in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). The public hearing will be conducted at 9:05 

a.m. on May 19, 2025. Instructions will be included in the 

agenda for the board meeting, also on May 19. Public comment 

mailto:lab_cert@dgs.virginia.gov
mailto:lab_cert@dgs.virginia.gov
mailto:kimberly.freiberger@dgs.virgnia.gov
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may also be submitted electronically or in writing prior to May 

19, 2025, to the contact listed at the end of this notice. 

Pursuant to article § 54.1-3443 D of the Code of Virginia, the 

Virginia Department of Forensic Science (DFS) has identified 

two compounds for recommended inclusion into Schedule I of 

the Drug Control Act. 

1. Based on its chemical structure, the following compound is 

expected to have hallucinogenic properties. Compounds of this 

type have been placed in Schedule I (subdivision 3 of § 54.1-

3446 of the Code of Virginia) in previous legislative sessions. 

N,N-dipropyl-1H-indole-3-ethanamine (other names: 

Dipropyltryptamine; N,N-DPT), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers, whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

2. The following compound is classified as a cannabimimetic 

agent. Compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule I 

(subdivision 6 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia) in 

previous legislative sessions. 

N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-3-

(dimethylsulfamoyl)-4-methylbenzamide (other name: AB-

MDMSBA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 527-4472, 

or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-510. Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Production, Processing, and Sale of Ice 

Cream, Frozen Desserts, and Similar Products. 

Publication: 41:10 VA.R. 1125-1152 December 30, 2024. 

Correction to Fast-Track Regulation: 

Page 1150, 2VAC5-510-550 B 2, line 4, after "suitable;" delete 

"or" and insert "and" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7817; Filed April 15, 2025, 3:27 p.m. 


