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THE VIRGINIA REGISTER is an official state publication 
issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and the last index of the year is cumulative. 
THE VIRGINIA REGISTER has several functions. The new and 
amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and as finally 
adopted, are required by law to be published In THE VIRGINIA 
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS. In addition, THE VIRGINIA 
REGISTER is a source of other information about state 
government, including all emergency regulations and executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodica!!y by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must 
first publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 
action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an 
economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning 
and Budget; the agency's response to the economic impact analysis; 
a summary; a notice giving the public an opportunity to comment on 
the proposal; and the text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it 
is necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it 
iJ;. clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses 
to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be 
transmitted to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days 
following the completion of the 60-day public comment period. The 
Governor's comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia 
Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 50-
day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 
regulation. 

The appropriate standing committee of each branch of the General 
Assembly may meet during the promulgation or final adoption 
process and file an objection with the Registrar and the promulgating 
agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia Register. 
Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 
the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting 
legislative committee, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of 
the regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the 
proposed regulation and explaining any substantial changes made 
since publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period 
begins upon final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, 
if he objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the 
end of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a 
directive signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate 
standing committees and the Governor. The Governor's objection or 
suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia 
Register. If the Governor finds that changes made to the proposed 
regulation have substantial impact, he may require the agency to 
provide an additional 30-day public comment period on the changes. 
Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when 
it receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional 
public comment, unless the agency determines that the changes 
have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the 
promulgating agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, 
in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on 
the date specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day 
extension period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require 
the agency to provide for additional public comment, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which 
the Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the 

Governor and the General Assembly exercise their authority to 
suspend the effective date of a regulation until the end of the next 
regular legislative session; or (iv) the agency suspends the regulatory 
process, in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes 
effective on the date specified, which shall be after the expiration of 
the 30-day public comment period. 

Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to 
the public's health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the 
appropriation act, federal taw, or federal regulation requires a 
regulation to take effect no later than (a) 280 days from the 
enactment in the case of Virginia or federal law or the appropriation 
act, or (b) 280 days from the effective date of a federal regulation, it 
then requests the Governor's approval to adopt an emergency 
regulation. The emergency regulation becomes operative upon its 
adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, unless a later 
date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to addressing 
specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months in 
duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) deliver the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to 
the Registrar in time to be published within 60 days of the effective 
date of the emergency regulation: and (ii) deliver the proposed 
regulation to the Registrar in time to be published within 180 days of 
the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency chooses 
not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the 
procedures to be followed. For specific statutory language, it is 
suggested that Article 2 (§ 9-6.14:7.1 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of 
the Code of Virginia be examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, 
and date. 12:8 VA.R. 1096-1106 January 8, 1996, refers to 
Volume 12, Issue 8, pages t 096 through 1106 of the Virginia 
Register issued on January 8, 1996. 

"THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS" (USPS-
001831) is published bi-weekly, with quarterly cumulative indices 
published In January, April, July and October, for $100 per year 
by the Virginia Code Commission, General Assembly Building, 
Capitol Square, Richmond, Virginia 23219. Telephone (804) 786-
3591. Periodical Postage Rates Paid at Richmond, Virginia. 
POSTMASTER: Send address changes to THE VIRGINIA 
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, 910 CAPITOL STREET, 2ND 
FLOOR, RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219. 

The Virginia Register of Regufations is published pursuant to 
Article 7 (§ 9-6.14:22 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Individual copies, if available, may be purchased for 
$4.00 each from the Registrar of Regulations. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Joseph V. Gartlan, 
Jr., Chairman; W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., Vice Chairman; Robert L. 
Calhoun; Russell M. Carneal; Bernard S. Cohen; Jay W. 
DeBoer; Frank S. Ferguson; E. M. Miller, Jr.; Jackson E. 
Reasor, Jr.; James B. Wilkinson. 

Staff of the Virainia Register: E. M. Miller, Jr., Acting Registrar of 
Regulations; Jane D. Chaffin, Deputy Registrar of Regulations. 
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~OTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

Symbol Key 
t Indicates entries since last publication of the. Virginia Register 

STATE MILK COMMiSSION 

t Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action 

The State Milk Commission has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action for amending 2 VAG 15-10-10 et 
seq. Public Participation Guidelines. The notice was initially 
published 12:5 VA.R. 708 November 27, 1995. 

******** 

t Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action 

The State Milk Commission has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action for amending 2 VAG 15-20-10 et 
seq. Rules and Regulations for the Control, Regulation and 
Supervision of the Milk Industry in Virginia. The notice was 
initially published 12:5 VA.R. 708 November 27, 1995. 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

t Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action 

The Department of Social Services has WITHDRAWN the 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for promulgating 22 
VAG 40-675-10 et seq. Performance Standards for Local 
Superintendents/Directors of Social Services. The notice 
was initially published in 12:26 VA.R. 3521 September 16, 
1996. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE VISUALLY HANDICAPPED 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department for the Visually 
Handicapped intends to consider repealing regulations 
entitled: 22 VAG 45-60-10 et seq. Regulations Governing 
Provision of Services for the Infants, Children and Youth 
Program. The purpose of the proposed action is to repeal 
this regulation as the Office of the Attorney General has 
reported that the Department for the Visually Handicapped 
does not have the authority to promulgate such a regulation. 

Statutory Authority: § 63.1-85 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until January 8, 1997. 
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Contact: William J. Pega, Special Assistant to the 
Commissioner, Department for the Visually Handicapped, 
397 Azalea Ave., Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-
3140, FAX (804) 371-3351, toll-free 1-800-662-2155, or (804) 
371-3140fTDD 'R 

VAR. Doc. No. R97-139; Filed NQvember 19, 1996,9:57 a.m. 
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PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS - PROPOSED REGULATIONS 

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS REGARDING STATE AGENCY REGULATIONS 

Effective July 1, 1995, publication of notices of public comment periods in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the state capital is no longer required by the Administrative Process Act (§ 
9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Chapter 717 of the 1995 Acts of Assembly eliminated 
the newspaper publication requirement from the Administrative Process Act. In The Virginia 
Register of Regulations, the Registrar of Regulations has developed this section entitled "Public 
Comment Periods - Proposed Regulations" to give notice of public cpmment periods and public 
hearings to be held on proposed regulations. The notice will be published pn0e .at the same 
time the proposed regulation is published in the Proposed Regulations section of the Virginia 
Register. The notice will continue to be carried in the Calendar of Events section of the Virginia 
Register until the public comment period and public hearing date have passed. 

Notice is given in compliance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the Code of Virginia that the following public hearings and public comment 
periods regarding proposed state agency regulations are set to afford the public an opportunity to express their views. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

January 24, 1997 - 1 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

March 7, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends 
to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 85-80-10 et seq. 
Regulations for the Certification of Occupational 
Therapists. The purpose of the proposed amendments 
is to update the identification of the national accreditation 
body for occupational therapy, clarify the clinical 
supervision of uncertified persons practicing 
occupational therapy, and reduce the application fee for 
certification. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.1 through 
54.1-2956.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7423 
or FAX (804) 662-9943. 

Virginia Register of Regulations 
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS 
For information concerning Proposed Regulations, see Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates proposed new text. 

Language which has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAG 85-80-10 et seq. Regulations 
for the Certification of Occupational Therapists 
(amending 18 VAG 85-80-10, 18 VAG 85-8040, 18 VAG 85-
80-50, 18 VAG 85-80-60, 18 VAG 85-80-80, 18 VAG 85-80-
110, and 18 VAG 85-80-120; repealing 18 VAG 85-80-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.1 through 
54.1-2956.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date: January 24, 1997 - 1 p.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until March 7, 1997. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Basis: Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) ofTitle 54.1 and §§ 
54.1-2956.1 through 54.1-2956.5 of the Code of Virginia 
provide the basis for this regulation. Chapter 24 establishes 
the general powers and duties of the health regulatory boards 
including the power to establish qualifications for licensure 
and the responsibility to promulgate regulations. Sections 
54.1-2956.1 through 54.1-2956.5 establish the Advisory 
Board of Occupational Therapy and set forth statutory 
standards for certification of persons practicing as 
occupational therapists. 

Puroose· The purpose for the proposed amendments is to 
update the identification of the national accreditation body for 
occupational therapy, clarify the clinical supervision of 
uncertified persons practicing occupational therapy, and 
reduce the application fee for certification. Those changes 
will facilitate entry and reduce costs for persons seeking to 
become certified as occupational therapists in the 
Commonwealth and will therefore improve the health and 
welfare of its citizens. Amendments to clarify the clinical 
supervision of uncertified persons practicing occupational 
therapy will ensure that the health safety of the public is not 
compromised by treatment received from uncertified persons 
who are not appropriately supervised. 

Substance: 

18 VAG 85-80-10. Definitions. Definitions which are no 
longer used in regulation, are already set forth in the Code of 
Virginia, or are defined in the context of the regulation have 
been eliminated. A new definition of the acronym for the 
body which currently accredits educational programs is 
added to this section. 

18 VAG 85-80-30. Requirements, General. This section has 
been repealed since requirements are already stated in the 
Code. 

18 VAG 85-80-40. Educational requirements. Amendments 
are proposed to clarify the regulations and to update the 
name of the accrediting body for educational programs. 

18 VAG 85-80-50. Examination requirements. An 
amendment is proposed to clarify that an applicant who has 
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received a degree may practice as an occupational therapist 
for one year or until passage of the national examination. 

18 VAG 85-80-60. Practice requirements. An amendment is 
added to clarify that the supervision of an applicant who has 
not been actively practicing for six or more years is to be 
performed by a certified occupational therapist. 

18 VAG 85-80-80. Reinstatement. An amendment is added 
to clarify that the supervision of uncertified persons seeking 
reinstatement is to be performed by a certified occupational 
therapist. 

18 VAG 85-80-110. Supervisory Responsibilities. 
Amendments are proposed to clarify that the requirements 
established in regulation for the supervisory responsibility of 
an occupational therapist apply to that person providing the 
clinical supervision. 

18 VAG 85-80-120. Fees. The board proposes to reduce the 
application fee from $150 to $100. 

Issues: 

Issue 1: The need for an updating of the name of the body 
responsible for accrediting educational programs in 
occupational therapy. 

Current regulations list the AMAIAOTA as the accrediting 
body; that function is now performed by the ACOTE as 
identified in proposed regulations. 

Issue 2: Tt1e need for additional regulation on certification of 
foreign-trained OT's by the American Occupational Therapy 
Certification Board (AOTCB). 

During the Executive Order Fifteen review, there were 
comments about the need for more stringent regulations to 
ensure the competency of foreign trained applicants. The 
board agreed to review findings of a task force of AOTCB on 
that issue and consider whether there is a need for an 
additional period of supervised practice and for passage of 
the Test of Spoken English (TSE) to provide such assurance. 

Since completion of the Executive Order Review, the AOTCB 
has completed its review of eligibility policies and procedures 
and issued its plan to become effective with the March 1997 
certification examination. New requirements for foreign­
trained candidates (outside the U. S. or its territories or where 
courses are not taught in English) include passage of the 
Test of English as a Foreign Language, the Test of Spoken 
English, and the· Test of Written English. In addition, the 
AOTCB has addressed concerns about the standards and 
accreditation process of the World Federation of 
Occupational Therapy in certifying equivalent education for 
foreign-trained graduates. Additional requirements and more 
stringent credential review by the AOTCB respond to the 
need for additional criteria which was a recommendation of 
the Executive Order Fifteen report, and so only clarifying 
amendments are recommended in Part II on requirements for 
certification. 

Monday, January 6, 1997 



Proposed Regulations 

Issue 3: The need for a regulation stipulating a limitation on 
the number of times an applicant may take the national 
ex2min:;tion_ 

The tJuc.~._ , ~,; 1sidered an alternative of placing a limit of three 
times on the number of times a person may attempt to pass 
the licensing examination, as is done in other professional 
regulations. The board has concern about persons who fail 
the examination repeatedly without receiving additional 
education and training. 

With adoption of new certification policies by the AOTCB 
effective with the March 1997 examination, the board 
determined that its concerns about repeated examinations 
have been appropriately addressed. Applicants who fail the 
national certification examination after three attempts will be 
required by the AOTCB to submit a remediation plan 
designed to prepare them to pass the next examination. 
Acceptance of the AOTCB requirements as the threshold for 
certification in Virginia alleviates the need for additional 
regulation. 

Issue 4: The need for an alternative regulation for applicants 
who have completed educational and field work requirements 
but have not yet received a degree to allow for practice under 
supervision. 

During its review and analysis, the board considered a 
regulation to allow for supervised practice for a limited period 
of time for those who have completed educational 
requirements but have not received a degree. Its 
recommendation was to allow an applicant who has 
completed degree requirements in an accredited program but 
not received a degree to began working for one year prior to 
passage of the examination. 

After a review of the Code, the Advisory Board determined 
that there are no criteria for a person who practices 
occupational therapy under clinical supervision. Therefore, 
no additional regulation is necessary. 

Issue 5: The need for clarification of supervision of 
uncertified persons by occupational therapists. 

First, the board determined that its rule on reinstatement of 
persons who have allowed their certificate to lapse for more 
than six years should specify that supervision of practice 
must be by a certified occupational therapist in accordance 
with the statutory mandate. 

Second, the board considered some changes to its rules on 
supervisory responsibilities of a certified occupational 
therapist. Alternatives considered were (i) a reduction in the 
frequency of review and evaluation of the treatment plan; (ii) 
an increase in the number of persons under the supervision 
of an occupational therapist; or (iii) elimination of the general 
requirement for supervision to be replaced by the specific 
responsibility of the supervising occupational therapist for 
clinical practice and for the treatment actions of the persons 
under supe~lsion. 

The board determined that the third alternative was the most 
reasonable; it narrows the supervisory role to the clinical 
practice where the direct involvement of the occupational 
therapist is critical to the welfare and safety of the patient. 

Issue 6: The need for some regulation on unprofessional 
conduct or standards of conduct. 

The board considered several alternatives: (i) continue 
without any regulation on unprofessional conduct and 
sanctions since Title 54.1, Chapter 29 is applicable to 
occupational therapy; (ii) specify in regulation the acts which 
may subject a certificate holder to disciplinary actions; or (iii) 
reference in regulation the statutory requirements on 
unprofessional conduct and possible sanctions by the board. 

The board determined that the first option was the least 
burdensome and most reasonable. Until there is a problem 
with occupational therapists resulting in complaints from the 
public and ensuing disciplinary actions by the board, there is 
no need for additional regulation. The board has the 
authority under Chapter 29 to take any necessary action. 

Issue 7: The need to adopt a less burdensome application 
fee for persons entering the profession in Virginia. 

The board is required by the § 54.1-2400 (5) to cover all 
expenses of administering a regulatory program for all health 
professions with the fees charged to the regulated entities. It 
is further required to examine its revenues and expenses at 
the end of each biennium and to amend its fees if the 
differential is greater than 10%. At the end of the '92-'94 
biennium, an analysis of revenues and expenses for the 
Board of Medicine was performed, and it was determined that 
its fees were sufficient but not excessive. The advisory 
committee does recommended a reduction in the initial fee 
for certification which is sufficient to cover the expenses of 
processing and approving an application. 

Advantages or disadvantages to the certified occupational 
therapists: 

Clarification and updating of these regulations will answer 
questions by applicants about approved educational 
programs and by supervising occupational therapists about 
their responsibilities. Lowering the application fee will be an 
advantage to applicants for certification in Virginia. There are 
no disadvantages of proposed amendments to occupational 
therapists. 

Advantages or disadvantages to the public: 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public, 
unless it could be argued that lowering the application fee will 
potentially increase the supply of occupational therapists in 
the Commonwealth. 

f.stimated Impact: 

A. Projected number of persons affected and their cost of 
compliance: There are approximately 1 ,400 occupational 
therapists who would be affected by amendments to 
regulation. 

There will be no cost for compliance by regulated entities or 
their employers. Persons who apply for certification in 
Virginia will have a cost benefit of $50 due to a proposed 
reduction in the application fee to the board. 

B. Cost to the agency for implementation: The board will 
incur approximately $1,000 in cost for printing and mailing 
final amended regulations to certificate holders and other 
interested parties. There will be no additional cost for 
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conducting a public hearing, which will be held in conjunction 
with a scheduled committee or board meeting. The board 
.does not anticipate any additional costs for investigations or 
administrative proceedings against occupational therapists 
for violations of these regulations. 

There will a small loss of biennial revenue of approximately 
$25,000 (500 applicants per biennium at $50) as a result of 
the reduction from $150 to $100 in the application fee. 
Within budgeted revenue of approximately $5.5 million for the 
Board of Medicine, the reduction can be absorbed without 
any appreciable impact on the board's ability to perform its 
functions. 

C. Cost to local governments: There will be no impact of 
these regulations on local government. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) 
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13 
(94). Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types 
of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or 
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the 
impact on the use and value of private property. The analysis 
presented below represents DPB's best estimate of these 

·. economic effects. 

.·'summary of the Proposed Regulation. The proposed 
regulation amends current regulations governrng the 
certification of occupational therapists in Virginia. Most of the 
amendments contained in the proposed regulation are simply 
clarifications and will have no substantive economic 
consequences (e.g., changing the phrase "approved 
supervised practice" to "approved practice ... under the 
supervision of a certified occupational therapist" to clarify 
what constitutes approved supervision). The one 
amendment that is anticipated to have economic 
consequences is a proposed reduction in the fee charged for 
initial certification from $150 to $100. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The primary economic effect of 
the proposed regulation would be to reduce the regulatory 
compliance costs incurred by certified occupational 
therapists. According to information provided by the Board of 
Medicine, each biennium approximately 500 applicants pay 
the initial certification fee. This implies that the total biennial 
reduction in regulatory compliance costs occasioned by the 
proposed fee reduction would be roughly $25,000 (500 
applicant times the $50 fee reduction). 

Even though the total reduction in regulatory compliance 
costs occasioned by the proposed fee reductions is 
substantial, from an individual perspective, such fees 
represent only a very small portion of the total cost of 
becoming a certified occupational therapist (e.g., the total 
cost of entry into the profession would include all educational 
and training expenses). As a result, fee changes like the 

'ones contained in the proposed regulation are unlikely to 
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have a significant effect on the decision of individuals to enter 
or exit this profession. For this reason, the proposed 
regulation should have no economic affects beyond the 
anticipated reduction in regulatory compliance costs. 

Businesses and Entities Particularly Affected. The proposed 
regulation particularly affects the approximately 1 ,400 
occupational therapists working in Virginia, their patients, and 
all individuals seeking Virginia certification as occupational 
therapists in the future. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities are particularly 
affected by the proposed regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant 
effect on the use and value of private property. 

Summary of Analysis. The proposed regulation contains 
amendments that (i) clarify certain portions of the existing 
regulation, and (ii) reduce the fee for initial certification of 
occupational therapists from $150 to $100. It is anticipated 
that only the fee reduction will have an economic effect, and 
that the thrust of that effect will be a decrease in total 
regulatory compliance costs of approximately $25,000 per 
biennium. 

Agency's Response to Department of Planning and Budget's 
Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Medicine concurs 
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summarv: 

The proposed amendments repeal some regulations in 
which requirements are already stated in the Code of 
Virgini&, update some definitions, and clarify that 
supervision of uncertified persons is to be performed by 
a certified occupational therapist. The board also 
proposes to lower the application fee from $150 to $100. 

18 VAC 85-80-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board of 
Occupational Therapy. 

"AOTA" means the American Occupational Therapy 
Association, Inc. 

"AOTCB" means the American Occupational Therapy 
Certification Board, Inc., under which the national 
examination for certification is developed and implemented. 

'V'.MA" meaRs tl=le American MeEiica1 /\ssociation. 

''ACOTE" means the Accreditation Council for 
Occupational Therapy Education. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Medicine. 

"Certification examination" means the national examination 
approved and prescribed by AOTCB for certification as an 
occupational therapist. 

Monday, January 6, 1997 
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"Qee&patieAa.' /Rerap~R-5---a--f->NS9R-V.'-!:tG'-i&-tjU-a-HfieG 
by m:lt~catien and trai-R-H~s-admkt:ci-fsi=--,.}n-ewttpffij€Hl-t.~ 

#lemi'J'i>F<>fjH>ffi""Hff€Hl-antl-¥ali<I-Gofli·fiSatie:'l-i:Pf-IRe-loooftl, 

"Occu,ryafional therapy personnel" means per3ons who 
provide occupational therapy services under the supervision 
of a certified occupational therapist 

"TO~Fl" FAeans tee Test of English as a--l"sr.ei!jfl 
Lang"age. 

"Werid ,cedera#on of Ossldpaliena.' Therapists" FAeans the 
asseciatien ef memBer nations Obltsi8e of tho UniteS 2itatos, 
its f3DSsessions or territories whose aca9emic anEI clinical 
f.iel8werl{ re~blirements are in acaon:tance witt! tho /\meRsaA 
OssY~ational Therapy Assosiation Essentials el an 
assreaitee eeYsatienal ~regmFA lor an essY~atieMI therapist 

18 VAC 85-80-30. General reqYirernents. Repealed. 

A. No person shall pmstise as an oGGYpatienal therapist in 
the CoFRFAonwealth e><sept as previaee in this sha~ter. 

8. Certi~sation sy the 13ear8 to prastise as an essYpatienal 
theFapist shall se sy e>raFAinatien as pressri~es in this 
shapter. 

18 VAC 85-80-40. Educational requirements. 

A. An applicant for certification who has received his 
professional education in the United States, its possessions 
or territories, fRHS! shall successfully complete all academic 
and fieldwork requirements of an /\MM0.0TA accredited 
educational program as verified by the sansisate's we§ram 
difootef AGO TE. 

8. An applieant whe sees net rneet the ecl"satieeal 
reqYireFAents as pressril3e8 in s"ssestien A of teis sestien s"t 
'A'ha heiEis certificatioA by the AOTCB as an occupational 
therapist shall previse veri~satien of his eo"satien, training 
and work mrperiense asseptasle to the tJfJC\1'4 

G-c B. An applicant who has received his professional 
education outside the United States, its possessions or 
territories, Rli::J-54 shall successfully complete all academic and 
clinical fieldwork requirements of a program approved by a 
member association of the World Federation of Occupational 
Therapists as verified by the candidate's occupational 
therapy program director and approved by the AOTCB and 
submit proof of proficiency in the English language by 
passing the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) 
with a grade of not less than 560, the Test of E;n§lish as a 
Foreign Lan§"a§e (TOEFL); or an e~"ivalent elCaFAinatien 
appre•;eo by tee bears. TOEFL may be waived upon 
evidence of English proficiency. 

I* C. An applicant who does not meet the educational 
requirements as prescribed in stJI3sectioA C subsections A or 
B of this section but who holds certification by the AOTCB as 
an occupational therapist shall be eligible for certification in 
Virginia and shalf provide the board verification of his 
education, training and work experience acceptable to the 
board. 

18 w,c 85-80-50. CertificatieR by Examination 

A. hn applicant for certification to practice as ar1 
occupational therapist fRHS! shalf submit evidence to the 
board that he holds current and valid certification from the 
AOTCB. 

B. An applicant must submit the application, credentials 
and prescribed fees as required by the board for certification. 

C. An applicant who has wacJ"ates received a degree from 
a duly accredited educational program in occupational 
therapy shall be allowed to practice as an occupational 
therapist for one year from the date of graduation or until he 
has taken and received a passing grade of the certification 
examination, whichever occurs sooner. 

D. An applicant who fails to successfully pass the 
examination within one year after graduation may practice 
occupational therapy under the supervision of a certified 
occupational therapist until successful completion of the 
certification examination and the filing of the required 
application, credentials, and fee. 

E. An applicant who does not qualify by education for the 
AOTCB Certification Examination and who does not hold a 
valid certificate from the AOTCB but who is currently 
practicing occupational therapy may submit, for review and 
recommendation of the advisory board and the approval by 
the board, evidence of his education, training, and experience 
along with a request to take the examination for certification 
as an occupational therapist in Virginia. A person who doe::­
not take the certification examination may continue 
practice occupational therapy under the supervision of a. 
occupational therapist 

18 VAC 85-80-60. Practice requirements. 

An applicant who has met education and examination 
requirements but who has not practiced occupational therapy 
lor a period of six years shall serve a board approved 
wpefVise<l practice of 160 hours which is to be completed in 
two consecutive months under the supervision of a cerlified 
occupational therapist. 

18 VAC 85-80-80. Reinstatement. 

A. An occupational therapist who allows his certification to 
lapse lor a period of two years or more and chooses to 
resume his practice shall make a new application to the 
board and payment of the fee for reinstatement of his 
certification as prescribed in 18 VAC 85-80-120 B of this 
chapter. 

B. An occupational therapist who has allowed his 
ce1iification to lapse for six years or more, mtJ.St and who has 
been professionally inactive, shall serve a board approved, 
sY~ervised practice of 160 hours to be completed in two 
consecutive months under the supervision of a certified 
occupational therapist. 

C. An occupational therapist whose certification has been 
revoked by the board and who wishes to be reinstated -
shall make a new application to the board and payment of thr 
fee for reinstatement of his certification as prescribed in · 
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VAC 85-80-120 F of this chapter pursuant to§ 54.1-2921 of 
the Code of V1rgima. 

'18 VAC 85-80-110. Supervisory responsibilities. 

A. An occupational therapist shall be responsible for 
supervision of occupational therapy personnel who work 
under his direction. 

B. The eC/iOef'o'iGlFf§ occupational therapist providing clinical 
supervision shall meet with the occupational therapy 
personnel to review and evaluate treatment and progress of 
the individual patients at least once every fifth treatment 
session or 21 calendar days, whichever occurs first. 

C. An occupational therapist shall not s"~e"•ise provide 
clinical supervision for more than six occupational therapy 
personnel. 

D. An occupational therapist shall be responsible for aRY 
aslieA the direct treatment actions of persons providing 
occupational therapy under his clinical supervision. 

18 VAC 85-80-120. Fees. 

The following fees have been established by the board: 

1. The initial fee for the occupational therapist 
certification shall be $4W $100. 

2. The fee for reinstatement of the occupational therapist 
certification shall be $150. 

3. The fee for certification renewal shall be $85 and shall 
be due in the birth month of the certified therapist in each 
even-numbered year. 

4. The additional fee to cover administrative costs for 
processing a late application shall be $25 for each 
renewal cycle. 

5. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another state for a license or certification shall be $10. 

6. The fee for reinstatement of revoked certification shall 
be $500. 

FORMS 

Application for Certification to Practice Occupational Therapy, 
DliP G:JG GeG (ell. :J/94) DHP-030-080 (rev. 11/95). 

Verification of Certification - American Occupational Therapy 
Certification Board (elf. 7/93). 

Employment Verification (elf. 7/93). 

Clearance from Other State Board or Regulatory Authority -
Occupational Therapy (elf. 7/93). 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Certification as 
an Occupational Therapist. 
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DHP.roo.oeO 
RF:V.11i95 COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

Board of Medicine 
ill-'~i:;Tr.M; C!" tr_f.:~,:!!C:;s 

Application for 
Certification to Practice 
Occupational Therapy 

To the Board of Medicine of Virginia: 

Department ot Health Professions 
6608 West Broad Street. 4th Floor 
Richmond, Virginia 232JQ-17l7 

I hereby make applicatiorJ lor a license to practice 
Occupational Therapy in the Commonwealth 
ol Virginia and submit the following statements: 

1_ Name in Full (Please Print or Type) 

'"'" I"'" 
Street lc'' 
Date of Binh Place of Sinh 

M;;- o;v -y,-

SCCEC :7 . 
(804) 662-7664 

J~: I 5 

SECURELY PASTE A 
PASSPORT-TYPE 
PHOTOGRAPH IN 

THIS SPACE 

PLEASE SIGN PHOTO 

Middi<wMalden 

State .J ZIP Code 

I Sooal Secunty Number 

Graduatton Date Prof. Sclwol Degree _lSchool. CiTy, Stall! 

--;;,.;- -D;y -y, 

Please submot address changes on wming immediately. 

Please attach check or money order_ Applications woll not be processed wothoutthe appropnata lea 
Do not sub mot fee wothout an applicatoon_ It woll be remmad_ 

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS UNE-FOA OFFICE USE ONLY 

APPROVED BY Data 

CLASS l LICENSE NUMBER J SUFFIX I SCHOOL CODE I FEE I HOW REG. I BASE STATE I 

I 
LICENSE NUMBER 

I 

EXPIRATION DATE DATE ISSUED 

. --

Page 2 

2. List in chronological order all prolessoonaJ activities since graduation (e.g. hospital department. outpatient center'S, etc.)_ Alw list all 
periods of absences from worK and non-prolessoonat activoty or employment lor more than three momhs. Please account lor all 
time. II engaged in private practice. l<st hospotals and other profess•onal practice. 

From To Location and Complete Address Position Held 

"'0 
0 

"t:l 
0 
(/) 

CD 
0.. 

:::0 
CD 
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c 
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Page3 

ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED. 

IF ANY OF THE FOLLOWlNG QUESTIONS IS ANSWERED YES, -EXPlAIN AND SUBSTANTIATE WITH DOCUMENTATION. 

3. List all jurisdictions in which you have been issued a license to practica Occupational Therapy: active. inaC!M:!, or expired: 

Yoo No 

4. Have ycu e-.er been denied the privl!edge ol taking an Oo;upational Tl1er.1py examinallOn Jor licensure or certification 

a-amination? 

5. Have you ever laken the American Oecupa~onal Therapy Certilicalion examination? tl so. proW:~~~_~ __ _ 

6. Have you et~er been denied an Occupational ThefaPYiicefiSCI or certificate? 

7 . .Have you ever been COIIYided of a violation oUor pled Nolo Contendere to any FedeBI, State. or local statute • 

resulaliQn or crdi~Wlce. or entered iniO any plea bargaining relating to a lelony or mii<demeanor?(&c:luding !ro~lfie 

viglations, e><cejlt eorMc!!ons lor drMng under !he influence.) 

8. Have you ever been censured. warned, or requested to withdraw from orO!hefwise disdplined by any hospital.-nurs­

ing home, or otller health care facitity? 

"9. 1-lave you .ever had_any olllle !allowing disdplinary aelions 1aken a~ your license or ~to prutil;:tl 

Qerupatiotlal Therapy, or are ariY $Ueh aetio:w~S pending? 

(e) -su~pensionlrewcalion -(b) prabalion (c) reprirn;andlcease and desist (d) had yo.ir-poc:~ice monilOfed 

10.Have you ever had Nrf membership in a slate Ql' local pralessional society llNCikeclsuspended. Ql' involuntarily 

Mrhdrawn? 

11. Have you had any malpmcrice suil$ brought agail'l$! you in lhe last ten years? II so, how many? ----· 

·l"n:Mde a letter from your artomey e-plaining each cue. 

12. Have you ever been treated by, consulted wirh. or been under care of a profe$$iemal fer substaoce abuse ""'\hin 

lh" tast IWO years? If so, provide-a lener_f,rom the !rearing ~leSSionat wllid'l indudes diagnOS<S. treat"""'', and 

prognGSis. 

13. Do j'OU have a physic:al disease. a menial disorder_, or any condition whiCh et:~Utd aHect your perlormance ol pro­

fessional dutes? If so, provide a tener from j't!Ur treatrng professional to include diagnosrs, treatment prognosrs and 

fr)ness to practice. 

14. AFFIDAVIT OF APPUCANT Page4 

(THIS SECTION MUST BE NOTARIZED) 

I, being first duly sworn, depose and 
say that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents. · 

l hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions. or organizations, my references. personal physicians, employers (paSt and presant), 
bw;iness and professional associates (past and present), and all governmental agencies and instrul!'entalities (lo-cal. state, federal, 
or foreign) to release I~ the V!!Qinia Board of Medicine any information. files. or records requested by the Board in connecnon wrth 
the plQCI!ssing of individuals and groups listed above, any information whfch is matelialto me and my applrcatton. 

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them et:~mpterely. without reservations of any 
kind. and I dec:lam under pl!f1alty-ol perjury that my anSVfflrn and all statements made by m .. herein are true ano co~TeC~. Should t fur· 
rUsh any false information in ltlis application. I ilen!by agree that such act shall constitute cause for ltle den~ar. SUspi!nsron or revo-­
calion of my cenir~cate to practice Occupetional111erapist in ltle Commonwealth of Virginia. 

RIGHT TMUMB PRINT 

Signature of Applicant 

It rfgllt thumb I• mtning • .,.. S.tr lind so indicate . 

City/County of Sta1e of ____________ _ 

Subscribedloandswom bllfon! me this day of---------- "---
Mycomm~e~'-------------

SEAL Signature of Notary Public 

CERTIFICATE-OF PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION 

-llisllerebycertifiedltlal -----------"----;.....,::=,-------------~ 

matriculated in 011 and received 
Course ot Study Dme 

or will rea~n.. a diploma hom lnslilutron 

Q)ll{etring trre degree ol on-~---"',..:~----· 
Oeg<e<~ Oat" 

SCHOOL SEAL 
Dean. Program Olreelor, or Chairman 
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FINAL REGULATIONS 
For·information concerning Final Regulations, see Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regul~tions. Italic type indicates new text. Language which has been stricken indicates 

text to be deleted. [Bracketed language] indicates a substantial change from the proposed text of the regulation. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following fee.r~ductions filed 
by the Board for Barbers are exempt from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with§ 9-6.14:4.1 C 
9 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes reg'tllations of the 
regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 which are 
limited to reducing fees charged to regulants.and applicants. 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 40-20-10 et seq. Board for 
Barbers Regulations (amending 18 VAC 40-20-20, 18 VAC 
40-20-90,18 VAC 40-20-110 through 18 VAC'40-20-140, 18 
VAC 40-20-150, and 18 VAC 40-20-170): 

Statutorv Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The amendments reduce the fees charged to applicants 
for licensure and certification and for renewal of licenses 
and certifications, and eliminate the fee for a temporary 
penn it. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Karen W. O'Neal, Board for Barbers, 3600 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8509. 

18 VAC 40-20-20. General requirements for a barber 
license. 

A. Upon filing an application with the board on forms 
approved by the board, and upon paying the required fee, 
any person shall be granted a license provided the 
application contains evidence satisf<~ctory to the board that 
an applicant has passed the examination administered by the 
board or by independent examiners after having completed 
one of the following: 

1. Has graduated from a school of barbering approved 
by the board; 

2. Has completed a course in a public school with a 
curriculum in barbering approved by the State 
Department of Education; 

3. Has been trained as a barber at any state institution; 

4. Has experience as a barber in the armed forces; or 

5. Has completed an apprenticeship program approved 
by the board. 

B. The barber license application fee shall be m i§Q. 

18 VAC 40-20-90. Barber temporary permit. 

A. A temporary permit to work under the supervision of a 
currently licensed barber may be issued to any person that 

the board finds eligible for examination. Tl1e fee fer tl1e 
tem~erary ~ermit sl1alllle $20. 

B. The temporary permit shall remain in force until 45 days 
following the next examination for which the applicant would 
be eligible. 

C. Any person continuing to practice barbering after a 
temporary permit has expired may be prosecuted under § 
54.1-111 A 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. No applicant for examination shall be issued more than 
two temporary permits. 

18 VAC 40-20-110. Student teacher temporary permit. 

A. A licensed barber or person holding a temporary permit 
may be granted a student teacher temporary permit to 
function under the direct supervision of a barber-teacher. 
The student teacher temporary permit shall remain in force 
for not more than 24 months after the date of issuance and 
shall be nontransferable. Failure to maintain a barber license 
or a temporary permit pending examination shall disqualify an 
individual from holding a student teacher temporary permit. 

B. The fee for a student teacher temporary permit shall be 
ml§§. 

18 VAC 40-20-120. License by endorsement. 

Any person currently licensed to practice as a barber in 
any other state in the United States, the District of Columbia, 
or Puerto Rico may, upon proper application to the board, be 
issued a license to practice as a barber in this 
Commonwealth without being required to pass an 
examination. 

The application fee for a license by endorsement shall be 
~$140. 

18 VAC 40-20-130. Shop license. 

Any person, firm, or corporation operating any place or 
establishment providing barber services must have a valid 
shop or school license. The barber shop license shall not be 
transferable and shall bear the same name and address as 
the business. An application for a barber shop license shall 
be accompanied by an affidavit of inspection required by any 
local health department. Any changes in the name of the 
salon, address, or owners shall be reported to the board in 
writing within 30 days of such changes. 

The application fee for a shop license shall be $'100 ~. 

18 VAC 40-20-140. School license. 

A license may be issued to any school approved by the 
board as meeting the standards set forth in Part V of this 
chapter (18 VAG 40-20-210 et seq.). The barber school 
license shall not be transferable and shall bear the same 
name and address as the business. Any changes in the 
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name of the school, address, or owners shall be reported to 
the board in writing within 30 days of such changes. 

The application fee for a school license shall be $4W 
$150. 

18 VAG 40-20-150. License renewal required. 

A. All licenses issued by the board will expire on March 31 
of each odd-numbered year. 

B. The renewal fee for a barber license shall be $7e $30, 
for a teacher license shall be $-WQ ~. for a shop license 
shall be $-WQ ~. and for a school license shall be $4eQ 
lliQ. 

18 VAG 40-20-170. Failure to renew. 

A Any licen~ee who fails to renew a license within one 
month after the license expires will be required to pay a late 
renewal fee whish shall oe eq"al ta twise the re~"lar reAewal 
fee. The late renewal for a barber license shall be $7e $55, 
for a teacher license shall be $-WQ ~. for a shop license 
shall be $-WQ ~. and for a school license shall be $4eQ 
$140. 

B. Any licensee who fails to renew his license within six 
months after the expiration date of his license must apply for 
reinstatement of the license by submitting to the department 
a reinstatement application and fee whish shall oe eq"al Ia 
!wise the re§"lar reAewal fee with a statement of the reasons 
for failing to renew prior to the expiration date. The fee for 
reinstatement of a barber license shall be $-1-W illi), for a 
teacher license shall be $;100 $155, for a Shop license shall 
be $400 $155, and for a school license shall be $a:w $215. 

C. Upon receipt of the reinstatement application, fee, and 
statement, the board may grant reinstatement of the license 
or require requalification, reexamination, or both before 
granting the reinstatement. 

D. When an individual licensee fails to renew his license 
after a two-year period, the licensee must pass both a 
practical and written examination in order to be reinstated 
unless the requirement is waived by the board. 

E. The date the renewal application is received by the 
department or its agent shall be the factor determining 
whether a license shall be renewed without penalty fees or 
shall be subject to reinstatement procedures. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-194; Filed December 10, 1996, 3:17p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONAL EDUCATION 

Title of Regulation: 6 VAG 10-10-10 et seq. Public 
Participation Guidelines. 

Statutorv Authority: §§ 9-6.14:7.1 and 22.1-343 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 5, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The regulation administers the agency's policy on public 
participation in its regulatory promulgation, amendment 
and repeal processes. This regulation sets out the 
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procedure that the agency follows in the regulatory 
process. In addition, it lays out from whom the agency 
will solicit comments when considering regulatory action 
and how and when the public may participate in the 
agency's regulatory process. The agency's promulgation 
of its Public Participation Guidelines is in full compliance 
with the Virginia Register Act, the Administrative Process 
Act, and Chapter 898 of the 1993 Acts of Assembly. 
These guidelines shall apply to all regulations proposed 
or promulgated by the Board of Correctional Education 
that are subject to the Administrative Process Act. 

Summarv of Public Comment and Agency Response: No 
public comment was received by the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Mark Monson, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of 
Correctional Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 
14th Street, 7th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-4519. 

CHAPTER 10. 
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES. 

6 VAG 10-10-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall mean the following unless the context clearly states 
otherwise: 

''Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 1.1:1 (§ 9-
6.14:1 et seq.) of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Department of Correctional Education. 

"Approving authority" means the Board of Correctional 
Education established pursuant to Chapter 18 (§ 22. 1-339 et 
seq.) of Title 22.1, of the Code of Virginia as the legal 
authority to adopt regulations. 

"Formal hearing" means an agency process other than an 
informational or factual inquiry of an informal nature provided 
in § 9-6.14:7.1 of the Administrative Process Act, and 
includes an opportunity for private parties to submit factual 
proofs in evidential hearings as provided in § 9-6. 14:8 of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

"Locality particularly affected" means a locality that bears 
an identified disproportionate material impact that would not 
be fell by other localities. 

"Participatory approach" means a method for the use of (i) 
standing advisory committees, (ii) ad hoc advisory groups or 
panels, (iii) consultation with groups or individuals registering 
interest in working with the agency, or (iv) a combination of 
these in the formation and development of regulations for 
agency consideration. When an ad hoc advisory group is 
formed, the group shall include representatives of the 
regulated community and the general public. The decisions 
as to membership of the group shall be at the discretion of 
the superintendent. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, governmental body, municipal corporation, or 
other legal entity. 
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"Public hearing" means an informal proceeding, held in 
conjunction with the Notice of Comment Period, and similar to 
that provided for in§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the Administrative Process 
Act, to afford persons an opportunity to submit views and 
data relative to regulations on which a decision of the 
appropriate authority is pending. 

"Public meeting" means an informal proceeding conducted 
by the agency in conjunction with the Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action to afford persons an opportunity to submit 
comments relative to intended regulatory action. 

"Superintendent" means the Superintendent of the 
Department of Correctional Education, or his designee. 

6 VAG 10-10-20. General previsions; petitioning for the 
adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation. 

A. The procedures in 6 VAG 10-10-30 shall be used for 
soliciting input of interested persons in the formation, 
development, amendment or repeal of regulations exempted 
from the previsions of the Administrative Precess Act (§ 9-
6.14:4.1 A and B) or excluded from the operation of Article 2 
(§ 9-6.14:4.1 C) of the Administrative Precess Act. 

B. The failure of any person to receive a notice or copies 
of a document provided under these guidelines shall not 
affect the validity of a regulation. 

C. Any person may petition the approving authority for the 
adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation. The petition, 
at a minimum, shall contain the following information: 

1. Name of the petitioner; 

2. Petitioner's mailing address and telephone number,· 

3. Petitioner's interest in the proposed action; 

4. Recommended regulation or addition, deletion or 
amendment to a specific regulation or regulations; 

[ 5. Statement of need and justification for the proposed 
action; 

6. Statement of impact on the petitioner and other 
affected persons; and 

7. Supporting documents, as applicable. 

D. The approving authority shall provide a written 
response to the petitioners within 180 days from the date the 
petition was received. ] 

6 VAG 10-10-30. Public participation guidelines. 

A. The agency shall establish and maintain a list or lists 
consisting of persons expressing an interest in the adoption, 
amendment or repeal of regulations. Any person wishing to 
be placed on a list may do so by writing the agency. In 
addition, the agency, at its discretion, may add to the list any 
person, organization or publication it believes will be 
interested in participating in the promulgation of regulations. 
Individuals and organizations may be periodically requested 
to state their desire to continue to receive documents or be 
deleted from a list. Individuals and organizations may be 
deleted from a list at the request of the individual or at the 
discretion of the agency when mail is returned as 
undeliverable. 

B. Whenever the approving authority so directs, or on its 
own initiative, the agency may begin the regulatory adoption 
precess and proceed to draft a proposal according to these 
procedures. 

C. The agency shall use the participatory approach to 
assist in the development of the proposal or use one of the 
following alternatives: 

1. Proceed without using the participatory approach if 
the approving authority specifically authorizes the 
agency to proceed without using the participatory 
approach. 

2. Include in the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
(NO/RAJ a statement inviting comment on whether the 
agency should use the participatory approach to assist 
the agency in the development of the proposal. If the 
agency receives written responses from at least five 
persons during the associated comment period indicating 
that the agency should use the participatory approach, 
the agency shall use the participatory approach 
requested. Should different approaches be requested, 
the superintendent shall determine the specific approach 
to be utilized. 

D. The agency shall issue a NO IRA whenever it considers 
the adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation. 

1. The NOIRA shall include at least the following: 

a. A description of the subject matter of the planned 
regulation. 

b. A description of the intent of the planned regulation. 

c. A brief statement as to the need of the regulatory 
action. 

d. A brief description of available alternatives to meet 
the need. 

e. A request for comments on the intended regulatory 
action, to include ideas to assist the agency in the 
development of a proposal. 

f. A request for comments on the costs and benefits of 
the stated alternatives or other alternatives. 

g. A statement of the agency's intent to hold at least 
one public hearing on the proposed regulation after it 
is published in the Virginia Reg1ster of Regulations. [ 
The agency is required to hold a public hearing if (i) a 
hearing is required by the agency's basic law; (ii) the 
agency states an intent to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed regulation in the NOIRA; (iii) the agency's 
public participation guidelines require that a public 
hearing be held; (iv) the Governor directs that the 
agency hold a public hearing; or (v) the agency 
receives requests for a public hearing from at least 25 
persons.] 

h. A statement inviting comment on whether the 
agency should use the participatory approach to assist 
the agency in the development of a proposal. This 
statement shall only be required when the agency 
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makes a decision to pursue the a/lemative provided in 
subdivision C 2 of this section. 

2. The agency shall hold at least one public meeting 
whenever it considers the adoption, amendment or 
repeal of a regulation unless the approving authority 
specifically a•Jthorizes the agency to proceed without 
holdir.g a puDiic meeting. In those cases where the 
public meeting or meetings will be held, the NOIRA shall 
also include the date, not to be less than 30 days after 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations, lime 
and place of the public meeting or meetings. 

3. The public comment period for NOIRAs under this 
section shall be no less than 30 days after publication of 
the NO IRA in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

E. The agency shall disseminate the NOIRA to the public 
via the following: 

1. Distribution to the Registrar of Regulations for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations; and 

2. Distribution by mail to persons on the list or lists 
established under subsection A of this section. 

F. After consideration of public input, the agency may draft 
the proposed regulation and supporting documentation 
required for review. If the participatory approach is being 
used, the draft regulation shall be developed in consultation 
with the participants. A summary or copies of the comments 
received in response to the NOIRA shall be distributed to the 
participants during development of the draft regulation. The 
summary or copies of the comments received in response to 
the NOIRA shall also be distributed to the approving 
authority. 

G. On approval of the draft proposed regulation by the 
approving authority, the agency shall publish a Notice of 
Comment Period (NOCP) and the proposal for public 
comment. 

H. The NOCP shall include at least the following: 

1. The notice of the opportunity to comment on the 
proposed regulation, the location where copies of the 
draft may be obtained, and the name, address and 
telephone number of the individual to contact for further 
information about the proposed regulation. 

2. A request for comments on the costs and benefits of 
the proposal. 

3. The identity of a locality particularly affected by the 
proposed regulation. 

4. A statement that an analysis of the following has been 
conducted by the agency and is available to the public 
on request: 

a. A statement of purpose: the rationale or 
justification for the new provisions of the regulation 
from the standpoint of the public's health, safety or 
welfare. 

b. A statement of estimated impact: 
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(1) Projected number and types of regulations 
entities or persons affected. 

{2) Projected cost, expressed as a dollar figure or 
range, to regulated entities (and to the public, if 
applicable) for implementation and compliance. In 
those instances where the agency is unable to 
quantify projected costs, it shall offer qualitative 
data, if possible, to help define the impact of the 
regulation. Qualitative data shall include, if possible, 
an example or examples of the impact of the 
proposed regulation on a typical member, or on 
members of the regulated community. 

{3) Projected cost to the agency for implementation 
and enforcement. 

(4) The beneficial impact the regulation is designed 
to produce. 

c. An explanation of need for the proposed regulation 
and potential consequences that may result in the 
absence of the regulation. 

d. An estimate of the impact of the proposed 
regulation on small businesses as defined in § 9-199 
of the Code of Virginia or on organizations in Virginia. 

e. A description of provisions of the proposed 
regulation which are more restrictive than applicable 
federal requirements together with the reason why the 
more restrictive provisions are needed. 

f. A discussion of altemative approaches that were 
considered to meet the need the proposed regulation 
addresses, and a statement as to whether the agency 
believes that the proposed regulation is the least 
burdensome altemative to the regulated community 
that fully meets the staled purpose of the proposed 
regulation. 

g. A schedule setting forth when, after the effective 
dale of the regulation, the agency will evaluate it for 
effectiveness and continued need. 

5. The date, time and place of at least one public 
hearing held in accordance with § 9-6. 14:7. 1 of the Code 
of Virginia to receive comments on the proposed 
regulation. The public hearing may be held during the 
p!Jblic comment period, and whenever practicable, no 
less than 15 days before the close of the public comment 
period. The public hearing may be held in a location that 
the agency determines will best facilitate input from 
interested persons. In those cases where the agency 
chooses to [ or is required to ] conduct a formal hearing, 
the notice shall show that the formal hearing will be held 
in accordance with § 9-6. 14:8 of the Administrative 
Process Act. 

I. The public comment period shall close no less than 60 
days after publication of the NOCP in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

J. The agency shall disseminate the NOCP to the public 
via the following: · 
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1. Distribution to the Registrar of Regulations for 
publication 1n the Virginia Register of Regulah"ons. 

2. Publication in a newspaper of general circulation 
published at the state [ Gapitel capital ] and other 
newspapers as the agency may deem appropriate. 

3. Distribution by mail to persons on the list or lists 
established under subsection A of this section. 

K. The agency shall prepare a summary of comments 
received in response to the NOCP and the agency's 
response to the comments received. The agency shall send 
a draft of the summary of comments to the public comment 
participants on the proposed regulation at least five days 
before final adoption of the regulation. The agency shall 
submit the summary and agency response and, if requested, 
submit the full comments to the approving authority. The 
summary, the agency response, and the comments shall 
become a part of the agency file and after final action on the 
regulation by the approving authority, made available, on 
request, to interested persons. 

L. If the agency detennines that the process to adopt, 
amend or repeal a regulation should be ended after approval 
of the draft proposed regulation by the approving authority, 
the agency shall present to the approving authority for their 
consideration a recommendation and rationale for the 
withdrawal of the proposed regulation. 

M. Completion of the rema1ning steps 1n the adoption 
process shall be carried out in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-204; Filed December 17, 1996, 11:11 a.m. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 6 VAC 20-170-10 et seq. Regulations 
Relating to Private Security Services (amending 6 VAC 
20-170-10, 6 VAC 20-170-20, 6 VAC 20-170-50, 6 VAC 20-
170-60, 6 VAC 20-170-80, 6 VAC 20-170-90, 6 VAC 20-170-
100, 6 VAC 20-170-150, 6 VAC 20-170-200, 6 VAC 20-170-
210, 6 VAC 20-170-230 through 6 VAC 20-170-280, 6 VAC 
20-170-340 through 6 VAC 20-170-400, 6 VAC 20-170-430, 
6 VAC 20-170-460, 6 VAC 20-170-470, 6 VAC 20-170-480, 6 
VAC 20-170-520 through 6 VAC 20-170-550, 6 VAC 20-170-
620 through 6 VAC 20-170-650, 6 VAC 20-170-730, 6 VAC 
20-170-760, 6 VAC 20-170-770, 6 VAC 20-170-820, 6 VAC 
20-170-830, 6 VAC 20-170-930 through 6 VAC 20-170-960, 
6 VAC 20-170-1000; adding 6 VAC 20-170-45, 6 VAC 20-
170-55, 6 VAC 20-170-75, 6 VAC 20-170-76, 6 VAC 20-170-
475, 6 VAC 20-170-615 through 6 VAC 20-170-619, 6 VAC 
20-170-625, and 6 VAC 20-170-765; repealing 6 VAC 20-
170-220, 6 VAC 20-170-490, 6 VAC 20-170-500, 6 VAC 20-
170-510, 6 VAC 20-170-560 through 6 VAC 20-170-610, 
and 6 VAC 20-170-840 through 6 VAC 20-170-890). 

Statutory Authority: § 9-182 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 5, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The primary amendments incorporate legislative 
changes including the definitions of "business advertising 
material" and "license number" to establish the regulatory 
procedure for complying with the law requiring all 
advertisements by private security services businesses 
to include their license number issued by DCJS. In 
addition, legislation provided individuals requiring 
registration in any electronic security services category a 
90-day time period in which they may complete the 
required entry-level training. Changes that were not a 
result of legislation include provisions allowing an option 
for a two-year renewal for businesses and training 
schools at a reduced fee; authorization for DCJS to issue 
a temporary business license, training school and 
instructor certification, provided basic requirements are 
met; allowing individuals who have completed security 
officer training to apply for certification by DCJS without 
currently be1ng employed by a licensee, and establishing 
requirements; and establishing the in-service training 
requirements for private security instructors and 
compliance agents. 

Summarv of Public Comment and Agency Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Leon D. Baker, Jr., Department of Criminal Justice 
Services, P.O. Box 10110, Richmond, VA 23240-9998, 
telephone (804) 786-4700. 

PART I. 
DEFINITIONS. 

6 VAG 20-170-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"A/ann respondent" means a natural person who responds 
to the signal of an alarm for the purpose of detecting an 
intrusion of the home, business or property of the end user. 

·~ny person engaged in the business of providing or who 
undertakes to provide" means any person who solicits 
business within the Commonwealth of Virginia through 
advertising, business cards, submission of bids, contracting, 
public notice for private security services, directly or 
indirectly, or by any other means. 

"Anned security officer" means a security officer, as 
defined below, who carries or has immediate access to a 
firearm or other deadly weapon in the performance of his 
duties. 

"Annored car personnel" means persons who transport or 
offer to transport under armed security from one place to 
another, money, negotiable instruments or other valuables in 
a specially equipped motor vehicle with a high degree of 
security and certainty of delivery. 
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"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any 
successor board or agency. 

"Business advertising material" means 
directories, stationery, business cards, local 
advertising and contracts. 

telephone 
newspaper 

"Central station dispatcher" means a natural person who 
monitors burglar alarm signal devices, burglar alarms or any 
other electrical, mechanical or electronic device used to 
prevent or detect burglary, theft, shoplifting, pilferage or 
similar losses; used to prevent or detect intrusion; or used 
primarily to summon aid for other emergencies. 

"Certification" means a method of regulation whereby 
eertaiR iR~i••ie"al persaRRal qualified individuals who are 
eligible to be employed by a private security services 
business or a private security training school are re~"iree te 
ebtaiR eerti~eatiaR Ira"' IRe ~epartffieRI p"rs"aRt Ia IRe Ceee 
ef VirgiRia have met the minimum requirements set forth in 
this chapter. 

"Certified school director" means the chief administrative 
officer of a certified training school. 

"Certified training school" means a training school which 
provides instruction in at least the minimum training 
mandated and is certified by the department for the specific 
purpose of training private security services business 
personnel. 

"Class" means a minimum of 50 minutes of instruction on a 
particular subject. 

"Combat load" means tactical loading of shotgun while 
maintaining coverage of threat area. 

"Compliance agent" means a natural person who is an 
owner of, or employed by, a licensed private security services 
business. The compliance agent shall assure the compliance 
of the private security services business with all applicable 
requirements as provided in § 9-183.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Courier'' means any armed person who transports or 
offers to transport from one place to another documents or 
other papers, negotiable or nonnegotiable instruments, or 
other small items of value that require expeditious service. 

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services or any successor agency. 

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
department. 

"Electronic security business" means any person who 
engages in the business of or undertakes to (i) install, 
service, maintain, design or consult in the design of any 
electronic security equipment to an end user; or (ii) respond 
to or cause a response to electronic security equipment for 
an end user. 

"Electronic security employee" means a natural person 
who is employed by an electronic security business in any 
capacity which may give him access to information 
concerning the design, extent or status of an end user's 
electronic security equipment. 
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"Electronic security equipment" means electronic or 
mechanical alarm signaling devices including burglar alarms 
or holdup alarms or cameras used to detect intrusion, 
concealment or theft. 

"Electronic security safes representative" means a natural 
person who sells electronic security equipment on behalf of 
an electronic security business to the end user. 

"Electronic security technician" means a natural person 
who installs, services, maintains or repairs electronic security 
equipment. 

"Electronic security technician's assistant" means a natural 
person who works as a laborer under the supervision of the 
electronic security technician in the course of his normal 
duties, but who may not make connections to any electronic 
security equipment. 

"End user" means any person who purchases or leases 
electronic security equipment for use in that person's home or 
business. 

"finyaf}iflfJ iR tile lnmiRess ef J3Fe',1flinf} et unde#akinf} le 
pmvide pFivate ses1:1Fity servlses" means aAy persen whe 
selieits b"siRess withiR IRe CemffieRwealtR ef 'lirgiRia 
tRra"gR ae·<ertisiRg, ~"siness saFes, s"b"'issieR ef eies, 
GeRtraeliRg, P"blis Retise fer pri'late see"rity sel\'ises, eireetly 
er iReirestly, er by aRy eiRer "'eaRs. 

"Firearms certification" means the verification of successful 
completion of either initial or retraining requirements for 
handgun or shotgun training, or both. 

"Firm" means a business entity, regardless of method of 
organization, applying for a private security services business 
license or for the renewal or reinstatement of same. 

"Guard dog handler" means any person employed by a 
private security services business to handle dogs in the 
performance of duty in protection of property or persons. 

"Incident" means an event which exceeds the normal 
extent of one's duties. 

"In-service training requirement" means the compulsory in­
service training standards adopted by the Criminal Justice 
Services Board for private security services business 
personnel. 

"License number'' means the official number issued to a 
private security services business licensed by the 
department. 

"Licensed firm" means a business entity, regardless of 
method of organization, which holds a valid private security 
services business license issued by the department. 

"Licensee" means a licensed private security services 
business. 

"Leeksmitll seew#y e~uipment" meaRs meeRaRieal, 
elestrisal er eleetre meGRaRisal leel<iRg eeviees fer IRe senlFel 
af iRgress ar e§ress \hat ee R9\ primarily eetesl iRIF"Si9R, 
GensealmeRt aRe tReft. 

"On duty" means that time during which a registraR! er 
l:JnarmeEt see1:1rity offieer reeeives private security services 
business personnel receive or fs are entitled to receive 
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c::··, \pr;:~ -~·s.:tion for emt,!oyment for which 8 rf'qiBtration or 
3--Fc:i-.-~:ng f'f:rfification is required a-RG---tRat- tlme-\v-Rfte--.RA----is 
tF-;_:,v ~,Jin-g-,----ftY:+fH:;fli Gte~----8efet=e-aM --aftff -f~ ~fJG-ef--aettfa.t 
fl ~-;{ ;\- -k1,_-; nr! --tfem--tR-R 13~0 of duty. 

"f'e; {orrnance of his duties" means on duty in the context of 
this cha,ott:'r. 

"Pe1·son" means any individual, group of individuals, firm, 
company, corporation, partnership, business, trust, 
association, or other legal entity. 

"Personal protection specialist" means any person who 
engages in the business of providing protection from bodily 
harm to another. 

"Principal" means any sole proprietor, offieer or aireetor of 
the eorpora!ioo individual listed as an officer or director with 
the Virginia State Corporation Commission, member of the 
association, or partner of a licensed firm or applicant for 
licensure. 

"Private investigator" means any person who engages in 
the business of, or accepts employment to make, 
investigations to obtain information on (i) crimes or civil 
wrongs; (ii) the location, disposition, or recovery of stolen 
property; (iii) the cause of accidents, fires, damages, or 
injuries to persons or to property; or (iv) evidence to be used 
before any court, board, officer, or investigative committee. 

"Private security services business" means any person 
engaged in the business of providing, or who undertakes to 
provide, (i) armored car personnel, security officers, personal 
protection specialists, private investigators, couriers, or guard 
dog handlers to another person under contract, express or 
implied; or (ii) alarm respondents, central station dispatchers, 
electronic security employees, electronic security sales 
representatives or electronic security technicians to another 
person under contract, express or implied. 

"Pn'vate secun'ty services business personnel" means each 
employee of a private security services business who is 
employed as an unarmed security officer, armed security 
officer/courier, armored car personnel, guard dog handler 
private investigator, personal protection specialist, alarm 
respondent, central station dispatcher, electronic security 
employee, electronic security sales representative, electronic 
security technician or electronic security technician's 
assistant 

"Registrant" means any individual who has met the 
requirements for registration in any of the categories listed 
under "registration category." 

"Registration" means a method of regulation wlclereby 
oertaio ~er-seflflSI 8FR~Ieye8 by a ~rivate sesmity serviees 
booiRess are mquirod to obtaiR a FO§istmtioA fFOFR tAo 
~ent p"rsuant te Part V of IRis re§ulation which 
identifies individuals as having met the mmtmum 
requirements for a particular registration category as set forth 
in this chapter. 

"Registration category" means any one of the following 
categories: (i) armed security officer/courier, (ii) guard dog 
handler, (iii) armored car personnel, (iv) private investigator, 
(v) personal protection specialist, (vi) alarm respondent, (vii) 

----------------

central station dispatcher, (viii) electronic security sales 
represf.!ntative, o!· (ix) electronic security technician. 

"Security officer" means any person employed by a private 
security service business to safeguard and protect persons 
and property or to prevent theft, loss, or concealment of any 
tangible or intangible personal property. 

"Session" means a group of classes comprising the total 
hours of mandated training in any of the following categories: 
unarmed security officer, armed security officer/courier, 
personal protection specialist, armored car personnel, guard 
dog handler, private investigator, alarm respondent, central 
station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, 
electronic security technician, electronic security technician's 
assistant or compliance agent. 

"Stere <ieteeti'ie" R"leaRs a sesurity offieer iR the eontex(.-ef 
IRis sha~ter. 

"This chapter" means the Regulations Relating to Private 
Security Services (6 VAG 20-170-10 et seq.) as part of the 
Virginia Administrative Code. 

"Training certification" means verification of the successful 
completion of any training requirement established in this 
chapter. 

"Training requirement" means any initial or retraining 
standard established in this chapter. 

"Unam1ed security officer" means a security officer who 
does not carry or have immediate access to a firearm or other 
deadly weapon in the performance of his duties. 

"UmJeree·,rer peFSeR" means a wivate investi§ater in tRe 
coRlel<t of this eha~ter. 

"Uniform" means any clothing with a badge, patch or 
lettering which clearly identifies persons to any observer as 
private .security services business personnel, not law­
enforcement officers. 

PART II. 
SCHEDULE OF FEES. 

6 VAG 20-170-20. Schedule of fees. 

The fees listed below reflect the costs of handling, 
issuance, and production associated with administering and 
processing applications for licensing, registration, certification 
and other administrative requests for services relating to 
private security services. 

Categories 

Initial business license 
Business license renewal 

Renewal for one year 
Renewal for two years 

Initial compliance agent 
Initial registration 
Registration renewal 
Initial training school 
Training school renewal 

Renewal for one year 
Renewal for two years 

Instructor 

Fees 

$900$518 

$250 
$450 
$126 
$76 
$35 

$500 

$25r 
$45C 

$91 
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Instructor FeAe1•1al recertification $41) $25 
Initial unarmed security officerlfaiRiAg certification $15 
Unarmed security officer lFaiRiAg certification renewal$15 
Application for training exemption $25 
Fingerprint card processing $41 
Additional registration categories $25 
Replacement photo identification $15 
Training completion roster form $10 
Initial Electronic Security Technician's Assistant 
Certification $56 
Electronic Security Technician's Assistant Certification 
Renewal $15 
Initial Electronic Security Employee Certification $56 
Electronic Security Employee Certification Renewal $15 

PART Ill. 
RENEWAL EXTENSION PROVISIONS. 

6 VAC 20-170-45. Extension of time period to meet 
renewal requirements. 

A An extension of the lime period to meet renewal 
roquirements may be approved only under specific 
circumstances which do not allow the private security 
personnel, businesses, or training schools to complete the 
required procedures within the prescribed time period. The 
private security services person, business, or training school 
shall be nonoperational during the period of extension. The 
following are the only circumstances for which extensions 
may be granted: 

1. Illness, 

2. Injury, or 

3. Military service. 

B. An application for extension shall: 

1. Be submitted prior to the expiration date of the time 
limit required for completion of the requirements; and 

2. Indicate the projected date the person, business, or 
training school will be able to comply with the 
requirements. 

C. No extension will be approved for registrations, 
cerlifications, or business licenses which have expired. 

D. Applications for additional extensions may be approved 
upon written request of the person, business, or training 
school. 

PART llh IV. 
LICENSING PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAC 20-170-50. Initial licensing requirements for a 
private security services business. 

Each person seeking a license as a private security 
services business shall file an application furnished by the 
department accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee 
of $€00 $518. Each principal of the business entity applying 
for a private security services business license must be listed 
on the application and is responsible for the firm's adherence 
to the Code of Virginia and this chapter. Each j'>8fS9fl 

principal listed on the application shall eemplele a 
s"pplemeAial ~"siAess lieeAse appliealieA aAa submit his 
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fiRgeFpFiAt saFes fingerprints on one completed set of two 
fingerprint cards along with a the applicable nonrefundable 
fee ef $41; AeweveF, a ffia"i"'"'" ef !Y.·e sets ef fiAgeFpFiAt 
saFes may assampaRy the applieatieA at Ae aaaitieAal east. 
Initial business licenses shall be issued for a period not to 
exceed 12 months. All forms shall be completed in full 
compliance with the instructions provided by the department. 
Applicants shall meet or exceed the requirements of f0JAG 
20 170 eO thFe"gh e VAG 20 170 1 BQ licensure as set forth 
in this chapter prior to the issuance of a license. 

6 VAC 20-170-55. Temporary business license. 

The department may issue a letter of temporary licensure 
to businesses seeking licensure under§ 9-183.3 of the Code 
of Virginia for not more than 120 days while awaiting the 
results of the state and national fingerprint search conducted 
on the principals and compliance agent of the business, 
provided the applicant has met the conditions and 
requirements set forth in this part. 

6 VAC 20-170-60. Surety bond or insurance required. 

Each peFsan seeking a lieeAse applicant for licensure as a 
private security services business shall secure a surety bond 
in the amount of $25,000, executed by a surety company 
authorized to do business in Virginia, or a certificate of 
insurance showing a policy of comprehensive general liability 
insurance with a minimum coverage of $100,000 and 
$300,000, issued by an insurance company authorized to do 
business in Virginia. Documentation of continuous and 
current coverage of the surety bond or comprehensive 
general liability insurance must be filed and maintained with 
the department 

6 VAC 20-170-75. Corporate authorization. 

Each applicant for a license as a private security services 
business whose legal entity is a corporation or limited liability 
company shall, on a form provided by the department, 
provide the identification number issued by the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission for verification that the entity is 
authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth. 

6 VAC 20-170-76. Private security services business 
license number. 

On or after July 1, 1997, all private security services 
businesses in the Commonwealth shall include their license 
number on all business advertising materials. 

6 VAC 20-170-80. Compliance agent required; 
certification requirements; duties and responsibilities; 
restriction; retention and replacement. 

A. Each firm applying for a license as a private security 
services business shall designate at least one individual as 
compliance agent who is not designated as compliance agent 
for any other licensee. To become a compliance agent, an 
individual shall file a properly completed application furnished 
by the department and conform to the following requirements 
and procedures: 

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age; 

2. Have thfee years of managerial or supervisory 
experience in a private security services business, or in a 
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federal, state, or local law-enforcement agency, or in a 
related field; 

3. Successfully complete the applicable compliance 
agent training requirements pursuant to e VAG 2G 17G 
54G MaRe@ VI\C 2G 17G saG J Part VI (6 VAG 20-170-
360 et seq.) of this chapter and achieve a passing score 
on the compliance agent examination; 

4. Be designated by a licensed private security services 
business as its compliance agent; 

5. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where 
licensed or registered in private security services; and 

6. Submit his fingerprints on two completed fingerprint 
cards, as provided by the department, and a the 
applicable nonrefundable application fee ef-$.1.;!§. 

B. The compliance agent shall at all times comply with the 
following: 

1. Ensure that the licensed firm is in full compliance with 
the Code of Virginia and this chapter; 

2. Ensure that VSP Form-167 has been submitted to the 
Virginia State Police for processing before the individual 
may begin work, and maintain a copy in the firm's files 
for each unarmed §'laf<l security officer as required by § 
9-183.3 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Ensure the maintenance of documentary evidence 
that each unarmed security officer or electronic security 
technician's assistant has complied with, or been 
exempted from, the compulsory minimum training 
standards as required by § 9-183.3 of the Code of 
Virginia; 

4. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer or electronic security technician's assistant in 
excess of 90 days prior to the completion of the 
applicable compulsory minimum training standards; 

5. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer for which the VSP Form-167 reveals a felony or 
misdemeanor conviction involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, drug offense, physical injury or property 
damage without written approval from the department; 

6. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
othe!Wise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer in excess of [ 4M 120] days without the individual 
being issued a certification as an unarrned security 
officer from the department; 

&c 7. Maintain training, employment, and payroll records 
which document the licensee's compliance with the Code 
of Virginia and this chapter; 

~ 8. Ensure that an irrevocable consent for the 
department to serve as service agent for all actions filed 
in any court in this Commonwealth is submitted to the 
department within 30 days after the licensee moves to a 
location outside Virginia-; and 

9. On a form provided by the department, submit a 
report of any incident in which any registrant has 
discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any 
training exercise. This form shall be submitted by the 
licensed firm within 10 days of [ eempletien -ef-aR 

iR'.'eS#fJalien ef] the incident. 

C. No individual shaH be certified by the department as a 
compliance agent for more than one licensee at any given 
time. 

D. 1. Each licensee shall maintain at least one individual 
as a compliance agent who has met the requirements of 
6 VAG 20-170-80 and has been certified by the 
department. 

2. Each licensee shall notify the department in writing 
within 10 calendar days of the termination of employment 
of a certified compliance agent. 

3. Within 90 days of termination of the employment of a 
licensee's sole remaining compliance agent, the licensee 
shall submit the name of a new compliance agent who 
has met the requirements of 6 VAG 20-170-80. 

6 VAC 20-170-90. Criminal history records search. 

U pan application for a private security services business 
license, each compliance agent and principal of the applicant 
firm shall submit to the department their fingerprints on one 
completed set of two fingerprint cards en fenl!S provided by 
the department, and a-$44 the applicable nonrefundable fee 
for each set ef ~R§er~rinl sanls beyeRd the allewaele twe 
sets wevide8 with the iRilial s~siness a~~lisatien. The 
department shall submit those fingerprints to the Virginia 
State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia Criminal 
History Records search and a National Criminal Records 
search to determine whether the individual or individuals 
have a record of conviction. 

6 VAC 20-170-100. Unclassifiabte fingerprint cards. 

Fingerprints cards found to be unclassifiable will be 
returned to the applicant. Action on the application will be 
suspended pending the resubmittal of classifiable fingerprint 
cards. The applicant &Rook~ shall be so notified in writing and 
shall submit new fingerprint cards and a the applicable 
nonrefundable fee ef--$4.1. to the department before the 
processing of his application shall resume. However, no 
such fee may be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are 
included and attached to the new fingerprint cards when 
resubmitted. 

6 VAC 20-170-150. Change of ownership or entity. 

A. Each licensee shall report in writing to the department 
any change in its ownership or principals which does not 
result in the creation of a new legal entity. Such written 
report shall be received by the department within 30 days 
after the occurrence of such change and shall include the 
application form, fingerprint cards and a the applicable 
nonrefundable fee ef.$4-'1. for each new individual. 

B. A new license is required whenever there is any change 
in the ownership or manner of organization of the licensed 
entity which results in the creation of a new legal entity. 
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PART IV. 
RE~IEV\\0,b OF UCE~IaE. 

6 VAG 20-170-200. Renewal notification; invalid license. 

A. The department will mail to the last known address of 
the licensee a renewal notification. Failure of the licensee to 
renew prior to the expiration of the license shall be the sole 
responsibility of the licensed firm's compliance agent. 

B. A private security services business license not 
renewed on or before the expiration date of the license shall 
become null and void. Operating a private security services 
business without a valid private security services business 
license is a violation of § 9-183.3 of the Code of Virginia aA<l 
this sea~ter. 

6 VAG 20-170-21 0. 
reinstatement. 

License expiration; renewal; 

A. /\11 liseAses isstJed te J3Fivate semuity services 
8"siAesses shall 8e valid lor a ~eried ROt to exsee<l---4;1 
FflOA!es. Applicants for license renewal shall have the option 
of renewing for either a period not to exceed 12 months or a 
period not to exceed 24 months. 

B. Applications for license renewal should be received by 
the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. License 
renewal applications received by the department after the 
expiration date shall be subject to all applicable 
nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees. 

C. The department may renew IRe a license ler a ~erled 
Ret te eJ<seed 12 Ff19Aths freffl the ex~iratieA date ef the 
li6eAse when the following are received by the department: 

1. A properly completed renewal application; 

2. A The applicable nonrefundable license renewal fee 
ef-$2W; and 

3. Documentation that the firm has in force a policy of 
comprehensive general liability insurance or a surety 
bond in at least the amount required by 6 VAC 20-170-
60; documentation of continuous and current coverage of 
the surety bond or comprehensive general liability 
insurance must be filed and maintained with the 
department. 

D. Each compliance agent listed on the license renewal 
application shall have satisfactorily completed all applicable 
training requirements. 

E. Each principal or compliance agent listed on the license 
renewal application shall be in good standing and free of 
disciplinary actiCln in every jurisdiction where licensed or 
registered. 

F. A renewal application received by the department within 
180 days following the expiration date of the license shall be 
accompanied by a the applicable nonrefundable renewal fee 
ei-$2W and a the nonrefundable reinstatement fee~-

G. No license shall be renewed or reinstated when the 
application and fee are received by the department more than 
180 days following the expiration date of the license. After 
that date, the applicant shall meet all initial licensing 
requirements. 
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H. The department may deny renewal or reinstatement of 
a license for the same reason as it may refuse initial 
licensure or discipline a licensee. 

6 VAC 20-170-220. E1<lensien ef time ~erie<! te reAew a 
private ses"rity serviees 8usiRess lisense. (Repealed.) 

l\. An OJH:ension of tRe time f)eriod to renew a private 
security services 8t:Jsiness license may 13e Df3J3FoveEI only 
"mter these spesifis sirs.,FflstaAses whish de Ret allew the 
f3Fivate security services bl:lsiness to renew its lisen so witAin 
the ~ressrised liffle peried. The private ses.,rity servises 
b~SiAeSS seall be AOA8j:>eratioAal dYriA§ the peried of 
exteAsioA. The fellewiA§ are the enly sirs"Fflslanses ler 
Whish exteASiOAS Fflay Se graA!eo: 

1. IIIAess, 

2. IAjYry, or 

a. Military servise. 

R AA applisatieA ler eJEieAsieA el the tiffle peried ler 
renewal of a J3Fivate seslo!rity services S!o!siness license sRall: 

1. Be s"sfflilleo iA writiA§ ~rier te the eJ<piratieA date ef 
the J3Fivate sec1:1rity services blo!siness license; ana 

2. IAdisate the prejested date the liseAsee will se asle te 
sefflply with tee re~"ireffleAts ler ~rivate ses"rity 
services 81:1siness license renewal. 

C. 1\A eJEieAsieA will Ret se apprevee fer a ~rivate ses"rity 
seFVtces St:~siAess /iseAse wl=!,icJ:I J:las expireS. 

g_ ApplisatieAS ler additieAal exteAsieAS A1ay se appre·.•ed 
"~""" wriUeA re~"est ef tee prinsipal ef tee ~rivate ses"rity 
services 81:1siness. 

PARTV. 
REGISTRATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAC 20-170-230. Initial registration requirements. 

A. Individuals seeking registration under§ 9-183.3 B of the 
Code of Virginia shall file an application furnished by the 
department which shall be accompanied by a the applicable 
nonrefundable application fee ef4+6. Each applicant shall 
meet or exceed the following requirements prior to the 
issuance of a registration: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Disclose to the department his physical address (a 
post office box is not a physical address); 

3. Submit his fingerprints on twa completed fingerprint 
cards eA lerffls provided by the department; and 

4. til Successfully complete all initial training 
requirements for each registration category requestedi-Bf 
(ii) El"riA!j-IRe--fleried ef d"IY 1, 1998, thro"§h 8e~teff19er 
ao, 1998, eash iAdiviEl"al applyiA§ ler registratioA as a A 
eleG(FOAiS S9GYrily teGhAisiaA, SeAt.<a] statiOA gjspafsAeF, 
elestroAis ses.,rity sales represeAtative er personal 
pFGtection Sf3ecialist may be €JFante8 a temperary waiver 
freffl the re~"ireA1eAI ef sefflplyiA§ with the sefflJ:>"Isery 
minim~;:~m trainin§ stan9ards. ''Vith tAo mmeJ3tion of tAo 
eofflpletieA ef tee FfliAifflYFfl traiAiA§ staAdan:ts, all ether 
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initial rogi<;lratien re~"ireFRents sAall a~~ly. Ins~ 
issHeEt temporary rosistratieAs iR aaoorGianae with tl=lis 
W9'1ision SRall SOFR~Iete the SOFR~"Isory FRiniFRUFR 
trainin§ stansarss OR or sefere Ostoser 31' 1995, 
Individuals se :·in§ re§istration as alarFR res~emlents 

are net eli§iSie umier tAis J3FOYisioR. 

&- lmliviEiuals seel<iR§ re§istratien """"' IRe ~revisiens of 
§--9 18J.J I ef the Ceee of Vir§inia, elfestive fer a ~eriod of 
ooe year !rom-July 1, 1995, sAalllile an a~~lisatien furnished 
by tee ae~ariFRent WAiGh SAall se aGGOFR~anieo sy a 
nenrefunoaille a~~lisation lee of $76. Eiash ·~~lisant sAall 
meet or e><seea the fellmvin§ re~uireFRents wier to tee 
i-ssuarlGe of a re§istratioA: 

1. Be at least 18 years of a§e; 

2. Disslese te IRe se~aflrnent his ~Aysisal aesress (a 
post olfise sex is not a ~hysisal assress); 

J. Susrnit lois lin§er~rints on two sern~letea lin§erwint 
GBFSS wevieee sy the se~aflrnent; ane 

4. Previae sosurnentary evieense of 1"11 tiffi9 astive 
. ern~leyrnent as re~"ires fer easA sate§ory in wloliee 
Fe§istration is re~Hestee: 

a. Eilestrenis sesurily lesAnisian ern~leyrnent fer a 
period of teree years irnrneeiately ~reseein§ the Elate 
of applieation; 

9. Central station eis~atsAer ern~leyrnenl fer a 
perioEl of ORe year irnrneeiately WOGeSiA§ tee eate of 
application; 

e. Eleetrenis ses"rity sales 
ernployrnent fer a periee of one 
preseEliA§ toe sate sf a~~lisatien; 

FOJ3Fesentative 
year irnrnedialely 

d. Alacrn res~onsent ern~loyrnent fer a periee of one 
year irnrneaiately ~reseein§ tAe eate of a~~lisatie"' 

G. lneivia"als seekin§ re§istration "neer tloe wovisiens of 
~41JJ.3 J ef the Coee of Vir§inia, elfestive fer a ~efietl-ef 
ooe year from J"IY 1, 1 995, shall file an a~~lisation fumishee 
tJy tAO <lepaflrnent whislo SAall ee assern~anies sy a 
R<3flfefuAda91e applisation fee of $79. Eiaslol a~~lisant sAall 
meet er e><seed IRe fellewin§ re~"irernents prier to toe 
~ 

~e at least 18 years of 8§8; 

2. Disslese to tee ee~aflrnent Ais ~Rysisal aesress (a 
f3Bst elfise so>< is net a ~Rysisal aeeress); 

a. S"brnit RiS liA§erprints OR !we sernpleted liR!JefJ*iffi 
GOFSS pFO'JideeJ sy tioe ee~aflFReAt; 

4. Pmvido doc~.Jmentary evidence of emj3loyment as a 
personal flFetectien SJ3ecialict fer a period of the three 
yoaFS imrneeiately ~msesin§ the eate of a~~lisatien; and 

f:l. Provide decblmentary eviEience of sblccessfl:ll 
G9R1pletian sf ~ersenal ~retestiSA trainiA§ a~~F9\'0G sy 
the department. 

B. Individuals seeking registration as a/ann respondent, 
central station dispatcher, electronic security sales 
representative or electronic security technician may be 

employed for not more than 90 days while completing the 
compulsory minimum training standards, provided the 
individual has submitted his fingerprints on forms provided by 
the department. An application for registration must be 
received by the department within 10 calendar days of the 
completion of the required training. 

6 VAC 20-170-240. 
certifications. 

Additional categories and 

l<e§istered iAeivi~uals seel<in§ additional re§istmtien 
sategories er eertiHcatisns shall f.i!e an a13plication, fl:Jrnished 
~y the de~artrnent, eoeurnentiA§ tl1at tee lellowin§ tminin§ 
~l:Jirernents fer tAo reql::leste8 categories or certif.isations 
have been met: Individuals seeking certification or 
registration for additional categories must meet the following 
requirements: 

1. The nenref"noaille fee feF eas~ IiiiA§ is $25. 
Successful completion of applicable entry level training 
for each additional registration or certification category; 

2. A property completed application has been received 
by the department; 

3. The applicable nonrefundable fee has been received 
by the department; 

~ 4. Individuals may avoid paying a separate fee for 
additional categories or certifications when the additional 
registration categories or ce.rtifications are requested on 
the application for registration renewal. 

6 VAC 20-170-250. Criminal history records search. 

Upon receipt of an initial registration application, the 
department shall submit the fingerprints of the applicant to 
the Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a 
Virginia Criminal History Records search and a National 
Criminal Records search to determine whether the applicant 
has a record of conviction. Applicants submitting 
unclassifiable fingerprint cards shall be required to submit his 
fingerprints on new fingerprint cards along with a the 
applicable nonrefundable fee ef....$.4+. However, no such fee 
shall be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are included 
and attached to the new fingerprint cards when resubmitted. 
In the case of registration renewal application for armored car 
personnel only, a Virginia Criminal History Records search 
and a national criminal records search to determine whether 
the applicant has a record of conviction shall be conducted. 

6 VAC 20-170-260. Temporary registration. 

The department may issue a letter of temporary 
registration to individuals seeking registration under § 9-
183.3 of the Code of Virginia for not more than 120 days 
while awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint 
search, provided the applicant has met the conditions and 
requirements set forth in €l VAG 20 170 2:l0 thFOU§A €l VP.C 
20 170 270 ana tRe Vir§iAia CriR'liRal l<eserds soareR ~mvee 
""~Part IV (6 VAC 20-170-50 et seq.) of this chapter. 

6 VAC 20-170-270. Duties and responsibilities of 
registrant. 

The registrant must at all times comply with the following: 
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1. Carry a valid registration at all times while on dutyi: 
Individuals requiring registration as alarm respondent, 
central station dispatcher, electronic security sales 
representative or electronic security technician may be 
employed for not more than 90 days while completing 
the compulsory minimum training standards, provided 
the individual has submitted his fingerprints on forms 
provided by the department. An application for 
registration must be received by the department within 
10 calendar days of the completion of the required 
training. 

2. Perform those duties authorized by his registration 
only while employed by a licensed private security 
services business and only for the clients of the licensee. 
This shall not be construed to prohibit an individual who 
is registered as an armed security officer from being 
employed by a nonlicensee as provided for in§ 9-183.2 
of the Code of Virginiai. 

3. Carry or have immediate access to firearms while on 
duty only while possessing a valid firearms certificationi. 

4. Carry a firearm concealed while on duty only with the 
expressed authorization of the licensed private security 
services business employing the registrant and only in 
compliance with § 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginiai. 

5. Transport, carry and utilize firearms while on duty only 
in a manner which does not endanger the public health, 
safety and welfarE!i. 

6. Report to employer any incident in which the 
registrant has discharged a firearm while on duty, 
excluding any training exercise. 

e. 7. If authorized to make arrests, make arrests in full 
compliance with the law and using only the minimum 
force necessary to effect an arrest'f. 

1-. 8. Engage in no conduct which through word, deed or 
appearance suggests that a registrant is a law­
enforcement officer or other government officiali. 

lh 9. Display one's registration while on duty in response 
to the request of a law-enforcement officer, department 
personnel or clienti. [ This shaH Rat appl;• ta a~marod ear 
perseRRe! erpersaRa.' pr:eteetieR speeiatist&. ] 

~ 10. Never perform any unlawful or negligent act 
resulting in a loss, injury or death to any person;. 

4{h 11. Private security personnel are not required to 
wear a uniform while on duty; however, if wearing the 
military style or law-enforcement style uniform of a 
private security licensee while on duty, that uniform must 
have: 

a. At least one insignia clearly identifying the name of 
the licensed firm employing the individual and, except 
armored car personnel, a name plate or tape bearing, 
as a minimum, the individual's last name and first and 
middle initials attached on the outermost garmen~, 
except rainwear worn only to protect from inclement 
weather; and 
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b. No patch or other writing (i) containing the word 
"police" or any other words suggesting a law­
enforcement officer; (ii) containing the word "officer" 
unless used in conjunction with the words "security"; or 
(iii) resembling any uniform patch or insignia of any 
duly constituted law-enforcement agency of this 
Commonwealth, its political subdivisions or of the 
federal government. This restriction shall not apply to 
individuals who are also duly sworn special police 
officers, to the extent that they may display words 
which accurately represent that distinctioni. 

-1-1-, 12. Utilize a vehicle with flashing lights in the 
conduct of a private security services business only as 
provided in § 46.2-1025 of the Code of Virginia aR~ this 
sha~ter;. 

~ 13. Never use or display the state seal of Virginia as 
a part of any logo, stationery, business card, badge, 
patch, insignia or other form of identification or 
advertisementi. 

~ 14. Never display the uniform, badge or other 
insignia while not on dutyi. 

#. 15. QHriRg the se~rse ef aRy ~Fi'late iR•<estigatieR, 
Never provide information obtained by any licensed firm 
and its employees to any person other than the client 
who em~leye~ secured the services of the licensee 1e 
eetaiA that iRfermatieR, without the client's prior written 
consent. Provision of information in response to official 
requests from law-enforcement agencies, or from the 
department, shall not constitute a violation of this 
chapter. Provision of information to law-enforcement 
agencies pertinent to criminal activity or to planned 
criminal activity shall not constitute a violation of this 
chapter;. 

4-&. 16. Inform the department and compliance agent of 
employer in writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or 
nolo contendere or being convicted or found guilty of any 
felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, drug offense, physical injury or property 
damage-;. 

46. 17. Inform the department and compliance agent of 
employer in writing within 30 days after having been 
found guilty by any court or administrative body of 
competent jurisdiction to have violated the private 
security services business statutes or regulations of that 
jurisdiction, there being no appeal therefrom or the time 
for appeal having elapsedi. 

41-. 18. Acting as a registrant only in such a manner as 
to not endanger the public health, safety and welfar9i. 

4& 19. Engage in no unethical, fraudulent, or dishonest 
conducti. 

4ll-c 20. Never represent as one's own a registration 
issued to another individual, or represent oneself as 
certified compliance agent of a licensee, training school, 
school director or instructor unless so certified by the 
departmenti. 

:!lh 21. Never falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, 
training records for the purpose of obtaining a license, 
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registration, tlfl-afffi-e-Ei~----5ccmity officer trainin§ 
certlncation, or certification as a compliance agent, 
training school, school director or instructor. 

6 VAC 20-170-280. Replacement photo identification. 

Registered individuals seeking a replacement photo 
identification shall submit to the department 

1. A properly completed application; and 

2. A The applicable nonrefundable processing fee ef 
$-t{i. 

6 VAC 20-170-340. Registration expiration, renewal, 
reinstatement; exteRsien af time perieEI te revi£PA'. 

A The department will mail a renewal notification to the 
last known address of the registrant. Failure of the registrant 
to renew prior to the expiration date of the registration shall 
be the sole responsibility of the individual registrant. 

B. A private security services registration not renewed on 
or before the expiration date of the registration shall become 
null and void. Performing private security services duties 
without a valid private security se!Vices registration is a 
violation of the Code of Virginia. 

C. 1. All registrations issued on or after July 1, 1993, shall 
be valid for a period not to exceed 12 months. 

2. All registrations issued prior to July 1, 1993, shall 
expire on the expiration date of the registration. 

D. 1. Applications for registration renewal should be 
received by the department at least 30 days prior to 
expiration. A registration renewal application received. by 
the department after the expiration date shall be subject 
to all applicable nonrefundable renewal fees plus 
nonrefundable reinstatement fees. 

2. The department may renew the registration for a 
period not to exceed 12 months from the expiration date 
of the expiring registration when each applicant meets or 
exceeds the following requirements: 

a. Sllllmi1 A properly completed renewal application le 
is received by the department; 

b. Successfully complete the applicable training or 
retraining requirements for each registration category 
and each training certification requested; and 

c. A The applicable nonrefundable registration 
renewal fee ~ is received by the department. 

E. 1. Registration renewal applications received within 180 
days following the expiration date shall be accompanied 
by a the applicable nonrefundable renewal fee ~ 
and a the applicable nonrefundable reinstatement fee ef 
$--l+.W. 

2. No registration shall be renewed or reinstated when 
the appl,ication for renewal and fee are received by the 
department after 180 days following the expiration date 
of the registration. After that date, the applicant shall 
meet then current initial registration requirements. 

3. The date on which the application and fee ar 
received by the department shall determine whether tl 
registrant is eligible for renewal or reinstatement or is 
required to apply for initial registration. 

4. The department may deny renewal or reinstatement 
of a registration for the same reason as it may refuse 
deny initial registration or discipline a registrant. 

F. 1. An maensien of the tiffle ~eriee to renew a privale 
ses"rity servises re§istratien may se appr-eve<J--.eflly 
tlfl<ler these spesifis sirs"mstances whictl eo net allow 
the inrJiviEl"al te renew 11is re§istratien withifl.-!Ae 
pressrieee time ~erierJ. The inrJivirJ"al shall net perferm 
private security fl1Retiens d!:!rin§ tl=le perioEt of mHonsion. 
The lellowin§ are the only sirs"mstanses for whish 
e><lensions may se §ranlerJ: 

a. Illness, 

ll. lnj"F)',-<lf 

s. Military ser;ice. 

2. 1\n applisatien for mdension of t~e time pefioG-fof 
renewal ef a fJFi'.mte secblrity servises rey,istmtioA sAall: 

a. lle sullR'litteo in wriliR§ prior to the e><piralioA-<lete 
of the 13rivate security seFVices registration; and 

IJ. lnrJisate the projestea sate t~e re§istrant Will lle 
aale le SOifl~ly with the re~"irements fer pri•.•ate 
sec~:~rity services registration FOAewaf. 

:l. An e><lension will not se appro'lerJ for a-privf 
secl:lrity services registratien wRicR has expireEI. 

4. Applisatiens for a88itional m<lensions may se 
approves upon written '"~"est of toe re§istrant. 

6 VAC 20-170-350. Firearms certification, expiration, 
renewal. 

A. Firearms certification is required for all registrants who 
carry or have immediate access to a fireann while on duty. 

A B. An individual who has successfully completed the 
handgun training requirements may submit a properly 
completed application for registration with handgun 
certificatiol;. 

1. Handgun certification will be documented on the 
registration and shall expire on the expiration date of the 
registration. 

2. The department may grant a handgun certification 
"pen reseipt ef the following: 

a. Upon receipt of a properly completed application; 
and 

b. Satisfactory completion of the applicable handgun 
training requirements. 

B-e C. An individual who has successfully met the handgun 
training requirements, and has successfully completed the 
shotgun training requirement, may submit a proper!• · 
completed application for registration with shot£ 
certification. 
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1. Shotgun certification will be documented on the 
registration and shall expire on the expiration date of the 
registration. 

2. The department may grant a shotgun certification 
u~oR resei~t eftA~ fellowiR§: 

a. Upon receipt of a properly completed application; 
and 

b. Satisfactory completion of the applicable shotgun 
training requirements. 

Go D. All handgun and shotgun certifications shall be 
issued for a period not to exceed 12 months and shall 
become null and void on the expiration date of the 
registration. "Firearms endorsements" issued prior to July 1, 
1993, shall become null and void on the expiration date of the 
endorsement. 

1* E. The department may renew handgun and shotgun 
certifications for a period not to exceed 12 months from the 
expiration date of the registration: 

1. Upon receipt of a properly completed registration 
renewal application; 

2. Satisfactory completion of all ap~lisable entry level 
training, firearms retraining and applicable in-service 
training requirements for all registration categories; and 

3. A The applicable nonrefundable renewal fee ef-$da is 
received by the department. (One $:la The applicable 
fee for registration renewal includes firearms 
certifications if all requirements have been met.) 

€, F. The department may deny renewal of a firearms 
certification for the same reason as it may relti£e deny initial 
firearms certification or discipline a registrant. 

PART VI. 
CERTIFICATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAG 20-170-360. Initial unarmed security officer 
training certification requirements. 

A. Each person employed or utilized as an unarmed 
security officer shall successfully complete the compulsory 
minimum training standards for unarmed security officers and 
make application to the department for the issuance of an 
unarmed security officer certification, except that such 
persons may be employed for not more than 90 days while 
completing the compulsory minimum training standards. For 
unarmed security officers employed by a licensed private 
security seNices business, the department must receive an 
application for certification within [ 12G 9a)'& ef elllf>lfJ)ment 
10 calendar days of completion of required training]. 

B. Individuals seeking unarmed security officer certification 
shall file an application provided by the department which 
shall be accompanied by a the applicable nonrefundable 
processing fee af-$'1<;. Each applicant shall meet or exceed 
the following requirements prior to issuance of an unarmed 
security officer certification: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Disclose to the department a physical address (a post 
office box is not a physical address); and 
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3. Successfully complete the initial unarmed security 
officer training requirement and, if appropriate, in-service 
training requirements for unarmed security officers;-aOO. 

4. Have toe sem~liaRse age At of A is effl~loyer attest teat 
dosuFRentar=y evi9ence mcists tt:lat an investi~ation to 
eeterffliRe suita9ility ofthe a~~licant eas tleen sond"cte€1 
am:l-re"imve€1 as FeEf"iFed l:ly the Code of >.4rginiao 

C. Each person employed or utilized as an unarmed 
security officer on or after July 13, 1994, shall comply with the 
unarmed security officer trainJ/1g certification requirements. 

6 VAC 20-170-370. Initial electronic security technician's 
assistant certification requirements. 

A. No person shall be employed or utilized as an 
electronic security technician's assistant until he has 
submitted a fingerprint processing application and his 
fingerprints on two cards provided by the department. 

B. Each person employed or utilized as an electronic 
security technician's assistant shall successfully complete the 
compulsory minimum training standards for electronic 
security technician's assistants and make application to the 
department for the issuance of an electronic security 
technician's assistant certification, except that such persons 
may be employed for not more than 90 days while completing 
the compulsory minimum training standards. 

C. Individuals seeking certification as an electronic 
security technician's assistant shall file an application 
provided by the department which shall be accompanied by a 
the applicable nonrefundable processing fee ef-$a6. Each 
applicant shall meet or exceed the following requirements 
prior to the issuance of an electronic security technician's 
assistant certification: 

1. Beatleast18yearsofage; 

2. Disclose to the department his physical address (a 
post office box is not a physical address); 

3. Submit his fingerprints on two completed fingerprint 
cards provided by the department; and 

4. Successfully complete the initial electronic security 
technician's assistant training requirement. 

6 VAC 20-170-380. Initial electronic security employee 
certification requirements. 

A. No person shall be employed or utilized as an 
electronic security employee until he has submitted the 
following to the department: 

1. A fingerprint processing application with his 
fingerprints on two fingerprint cards provided by the 
department; and 

2. A certification application indicating the applicant has 
met or exceeded these requirements: 

a. Be at least 18 years of age; 

b. Disclose to the department his physical address (a 
post office box is not a physical address); and 
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c. A The applicable nonrefundable application lee ef 
$W. 

B. Each person must receive a temporary authorization 
letter from the department before being employed or utilized 
as an electronic security employee. 

6 VAC 20-170-390. Criminal history records search. 

/\. UJ3on Ririn~ a f'>OFson to So employed as an ~:~narmetl 
ses"rity efliser, tee seffl~liaAse a§eAt sf tee ~"siAess seall 
""~"'it SA IRe first eay ef effl~lsyffleAI, VSP ferffl 197 si§Aee 
~y tee a~~lisaAt Is tee Vir§iAia State Pslise fer tee ~"r~ese ef 
sent:h:JGtinfij a Vir§inia Criminal Flistory ResorBs searGh to 
eeterffliAe weeteer tee a~~lisaAI eas a ressre sf ssAviotieA. 
iiA iA<Iivie"al R'lay Ret ~e effl~lsyee fer R'lsre teaR :JQ <lays 
wiles"! esG"R'leA!atisA sf tee seffl~letisA sf tee Vir§iAia 
Criminal Flistory ResorBs seamh. 

8-o Upon receipt of an initial application for certification as 
electronic security technician's assistant or electronic security 
employee, the department shall submit the fingerprints of the 
applicant to the Virginia State Police for the purpose of 
conducting a Virginia Criminal History Records search and a 
National Criminal Records search to determine whether the 
applicant has a record of conviction. Applicants submitting 
unclassifiable fingerprint cards shall be required to submit his 
fingerprints on new fingerprint cards along with a the 
applicable nonrefundable fee ef-$41.. However, no such fee 
shall be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are included 
and attached to the new fingerprint cards when resubmitted. 

6 VAC 20-170-400. Duties and responsibilities of certified 
unarmed security officers, electronic security 
technician's assistants, and electronic security 
employees. 

The unarmed security officer, electronic security 
technician's assistant and electronic security employee must 
at all times comply with the following: 

1. Carry a valid certification card at all times while on 
duty except under the provisions of§ 9-183 D or§ 9-183 
F of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Perform those duties authorized by this chapter only 
while employed by a licensed private security services 
business and only for the clients of the licensee. This 
shall not be construed to prohibit an individual who is 
employed as an unarmed security officer from being 
employed by a nonlicensee as provided for in§ 9-183.2 
of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Never carry or have immediate access to firearms 
while on duty; 

4. Engage in no conduct which through word, deed or 
appearance falsely suggests that an unarmed security 
officer, electronic security technician's assistant or 
electronic security employee is a law-enforcement officer 
or other government official; 

5. Display one's certification while on duty in response to 
the request of a law-enforcement officer, department 
personnel or client; 

6. Never perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting 
in a loss, injury or death to any person; 

7. Private security personnel are not required to wear a 
uniform while on duty; however, if wearing the law­
enforcement style or military style uniform of a private 
security licensee while on duty, that uniform rnust have: 

a. At least one insignia clearly identifying the name of 
the licensed firm employing the individual and a name 
plate or tape bearing, as a minimum, ·~he individual's 
last name and first and middle initials attached on the 
outermost garment, except rainwear worn only to 
protect from inclement weather; and 

b. No patch or other writing (i) containing the word 
"police" or any other words suggesting a law­
enforcement officer; (ii) containing the word "officer" 
unless used in conjunction with the word "security"; or 
(iii) resembling any uniform patch or insignia of any 
duly constituted law-enforcement agency of this 
Commonwealth, its political subdivisions or of the 
federal government. This restriction shall not apply to 
individuals who are also duly sworn special police 
officers, to the extent that they may display words 
which accurately represent that distinction; 

8. Utilize a vehicle with fiashing lights in the conduct of a 
private security services business only as provided in § 
46.2-1025 of the Code of Virginia; 

9. Never use or display the state seal of Virginia as a 
part of any logo, stationery, business card, badge, patch, 
insignia or other form of identification or advertisement; 

10. Never display the uniform, badge or other insignia 
while not on duty; 

11. Inform the department in wriling within 30 days of 
pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 
found guilly of any felony or of a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug offense, physical 
injury or property damage; 

12. Inform the department in writing within 30 days after 
having been found guilty by any court or administralive 
body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the 
private security services business statutes or regulations 
of that jurisdiction, there being no appeal therefrom or 
the time for appeal having elapsed; 

13. Acting as an unarmed security officer, electronic 
security technician's assistant or electronic security 
employee only in such a manner as to not endanger the 
public health, safety and welfare; 

14. Engage in no unethical, fraudulent, or dishonest 
conduct; 

15. Never represent as one's own certification issued to 
another individual, or representing oneself as a certified 
compliance agent of a licensee, school director or 
inslructor unless certified as such by this departmenl; 

16. Never falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, 
training records for the purpose of obtaining a license, 
registration, ldnarmeEI seGidrity offiser training 
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certification, or certification as a compliance agent, 
training school, school director or instructor. 

6 VAC 20-170-430. Replacement photo identification. 

Unarmed security officers, electronic security technician's 
assistants or electronic security employees seeking a 
replacem6rr\ pho\0 identification shall submit to the 
department: 

1. A properly completed application; and 

2. A The applicable nonrefundable processing fee ef.$-H;. 

6 VAC 20-170-460. Certification expiration, renewal, 
reinstatement. 

A. The department will mail a renewal notification to the 
last known address of the individual. Failure of the individual 
to renew prior to the expiration date of the certification shall 
be the sole responsibility of the individual. 

B. A certification not renewed on or before the expiration 
date of the sertifisate certification shall become null and void. 
PerfermiA§ ~rivate sesYrity servises ~Yties eeyeA<I ttle iAitial 
gg ~ays ef em~leymeAt witheut a vali~ sertifisatieA is a 
vielatieA ef the Cede ef Vir§iAia aA~ this shal'ter. 

C. A certification shall be valid for a period not to exceed 
24 months from the date of issue. All such certifications shall 
expire on the expiration date of the certification. 

D. 1. An application for certification renewalll'lll$l should 
be received by the department at least 30 days prior to 
expiration. Certification applications received by the 
department after the expiration date shall be subject to 
all applicable nonrefundable renewal fees plus 
reinstatement fees. 

2. The department may renew a certification for a period 
not to exceed 24 months from the expiration date of the 
certification: 

a. Upon receipt of a properly completed renewal 
application; 

b. Satisfactory completion of the in-service training 
requirements; and 

c. A The applicable nonrefundable renewal fee ef.$.H; 
is received by the department. 

E. 1. Renewal applications received within 180 days 
following the expiration date shall be accompanied by a 
the applicable nonrefundable renewal fee ~ and a 
the applicable nonrefundable reinstatement fee ef $7.§0. 

2. No certification shall be renewed or reinstated when 
the application for renewal and fee are received by the 
department after 180 days following the expiration date 
of the certification. After that date, the applicant shall 
meet then current initial certification requirements. 

3. The date on which the application and fee are 
received by the department shall determine whether the 
individual is eligible for renewal or reinstatement or is 
required to apply for initial certification. 
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4. The department may deny renewal or reinstatement 
of a certification for the same reason as it may refuse the 
initial certification or discipline an unarmed security 
officer. 

PART VII. 
COMPULSORY MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS FOR 

PRIVATE SECURITY SERVICES BUSINESS PERSONNEL. 

Article 1. 
Registration/Certification Category Requirements. 

6 VAC 20-170-470. Entry level training. 

Each person employed by a private security services 
business or applying to the department for registration as an 
armed security officer/courier, personal protection specialist, 
armored car personnel, guard dog handler, private 
investigator, alarm respondent, central station dispatcher, 
electronic security sales representative, or electronic security 
technician as defined by § 9-183.1 of the Code of Virginia, or 
applying to the department for training certification as an 
unarmed security officer or certification as an electronic 
security technician's assistant as required by§ 9-183.3 of the 
Code of Virginia, or for certification as a compliance agent as 
required by § 9-183.3 of the Code of Virginia, who has not 
met the compulsory minimum training standards prior to July 
13, 1 994, must meet the compulsory minimum training 
standards herein established, unless provided for otherwise 
in accordance with e VAG 2G 170 4 8G aR~ e VAG 2G 17G 
4QQ efthis el1a~ter 6 VAC 20-170-475. 

6 VAC 20-170-475. In-service training. 

A. Each person registered with the department as an 
armed security officer/courier, personal protection specialist, 
armored car personnel, guard dog handler, private 
investigator, alarm respondent, central station dispatcher, 
electronic security sales representative, electronic security 
technician, or applying to the department for certification as 
an unarmed security officer or electronic security technician's 
assistant, or certified by the department to act as a 
compliance agent, shall complete the compulsory in-service 
training standard once during each 24-month period of 
registration or certification as determined by the department. 

B. Compliance agent. 

1. Individuals who completed entry level training after 
July 1, 1993, must complete in-service training within 
each 24-month period following the initial entry level 
training date. 

2. Individuals who were certified as compliance agents 
prior to July 1, 1993, must complete compliance agent 
in-service training within each 24-month period following 
the original in-service training date. 

3. In-service training must be completed within 12 
months prior to the established training due date. 

4. Individuals who fail to complete in-service training 
prior to the established training due date may complete 
in-service training within 90 days after the established 
training due ·date if a completed in-service training 
enrollment application and a $25 delinquent training fee 
is received by the department. 
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C. Instructor. 

1. All private security instructors initially certified prior to 
December 31, 1994, must complete instructor in-service 
training prior to his certification expiration in the year 
1997 and thereafter within each 36-month period of 
certification. 

2. All private security instructors initially certified after 
January 1, 1995, but before December 31, 1996, must 
complete instructor in-service training prior to his 
certification expiration in the year 2000 and thereafter 
within each 36-month period of certification. 

3. All private security instructors initially certified on or 
after January 1, 1997, must complete instructor in­
service training within each 36-month period following 
certification. 

6 VAC 20-170-480. Exemptions. 

A. Persons who meet the statutory requirements as set 
forth in§ 9-182 of the Code of Virginia may apply for a partial 
exemption from the compulsory training standards. 
Individuals requesting such partial exemption shall file an 
application furnished by the department and include the 
applicable nonrefundable application fee ~- The 
department may issue such partial exemption on the basis of 
individual qualifications as supported by required 
documentation. Those applying for and receiving exemptions 
must comply with all regulations promulgated by the board. 
Each person receiving a partial exemption must apply to the 
department for registration within 12 months from the date of 
issuance, otherwise the partial exemption shall become null 
and void. The following are the requirements for qualification 
for a partial exemption from the compulsory training 
standards: 

1. Entry level training. 

-t, a. Persons having previous employment previously 
employed as law-enforcement officers who have not 
terminated or been terminated from said employment 
more than five years prior to the application date must 
submit official documentation of the following with the 
application for partial exemption: 

a, (1) Completion of law-enforcement entry level 
training, and 

b. (2) Five continuous years of law-enforcement 
employment provided such employment as a law­
enforcement officer was not terminated due to 
misconduct or incompetence. 

&. b. Persons having previous training or employment 
in any of the classifications defined in § 9-183.1 of the 
Code of Virginia must submit official documentation of 
the following with the application for partial exemption: 

a, (1) Completion of previous private security 
train'ing, which has been approved by the 
department and which meets or exceeds the 
compulsory minimum training standards 
promulgated by the board, or 

. ( 
lh (2) Five years continuous employment in th 
category for which partial exemption is sought, 
provided such employment was not terminated due 
to misconduct or incompetence. 

2. In-service training. Persons who have completed 
training which meets or exceeds the compulsory 
minimum training standards promulgated by the board 
for the in-service training required for the individuals 
particular category may be authorized credit for such 
training, provided the training has been completed within 
24 months of the expiration date of the registration 
period during which in-service training is required. 
Official documentation of the following must accompany 
the application for partial in-service training credit: 

a. Job-related training sessions which meet or exceed 
Department of Criminal Justice Services standards 
and are offered by institutions, associ~tions, or private 
firms may be approved for partial in-service training 
credit. 

b. Applications for partial in-service training credit 
shall include information relating to the sponsoring 
organization and a copy of the training schedule. The 
schedule shall contain the dates, times, subject matter 
and instructor for each session. 

3. Prior firearms credit. Persons having previous 
department-approved firearms training may be 
authorized credit for such training which meets o• 
exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards I 

. private security services business personnel, provide 
such training has been completed within the 12 months 
preceding the date of application. Official documentation 
of completion of department approved firearms training 
and qualification at a Virginia criminal justice agency, 
academy or correctional department must accompany 
the application for partial in-service training credit. 

6 VAC 20-170-490. FiFeaFms !FaiRing. (Repealed.) 

l'iFeaFfAs serti~satioR is Fequimd foF all ~Fi•1ate sesuFity 
seFVioes business raersonnel rarior to GBFPJing er Raving 
imffiediate assess to a ~rearffi iR toe ~erfermaRse of <My. 

6 VAC 20-170-500. In seFVise tFaiRiR!J. (Repealed.) 

Ease ~ersoR registereEI witA toe de~artffieRt as aR armed 
sesurity oFHser/col;Jrier, raersenal rarateetion spesialist, 
arffiored ear ~ersoRRel, guard dog oaRdler, ~ri•.'ate 
iRoestigator, alarffi res~oRdent, sentral statleR dis~atsoer, 
elestrenis sesurity sales reJ)resentative, elestrenis sesurity 
tesAAisiaA, oF a~plyiA§ to toe de~aFlmeRt fer serti~satieR as 
an IJnarrneEI security effiser or eleotronic seo1;1Fity tecAnician's 
assistaRt, or serti~ed 9y toe de~artmeRt to ast as a 
som~lianse ageRt, seal! som~lete toe som~ulsory iA seFVise 
traiAiR!I staAdard eAse duriA§ ease 21 moRIA ~eried of 
registratieA or sertifisatieR as aetermiRed tly toe de~artment. 
ComJ3lianoe a!iJent in soFVioe trainin9 is required witRin 24 
mantAs of entry level trainin!iJ, er tho last oomJ3Ieted in service 
traiRiA§. 
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)lAC 20-170-510. IRslr~ster resertlflsatleR. (Repealed.} 

eastl ~erseR sertifie~ as aR iAstr~ster stlall sem~lete 
resertifisatieR traiRiR§ wittliR eastl 39 maRtA ~erie~ ef iAitial 
sertifisatieA <late. 

6 VAC 20-170-520. Compulsory minimum entry level 
training by category. 

Total hours do not include time for examinations, practical 
exercises and range qualification. Refer to 6 VAC 20-170-
540 for the minimum training requirements for each category. 

Unarmed security officer- 16 hours 

Armed security officer/courier- 24 hours 

Armored car personnel - 20 hours 

Guard dog handler- 28 hours 

Private investigator- 60 hours 

Personal protection specialist - 68 hours 

UAarmes Alarm respondent -.16 hours 

Armes alarm res~eASeAI 24 tle~rs 

Central station dispatcher - 8 hours 

Electronic security sales representative - 8 hours 

Electronic security technician - 14 hours 

Electronic security technician's assistant - 4 hours 

Compliance agent - 6 hours 

6 VAC 20-170-530. Compulsory minimum in-service 
training by category. 

Total hours do not include time for examinations. Refer to 6 
VAC 20-170-550 for the minimum in-service training 
requirements for each category. 

Unarmed security officer- 4 hours 

Armed security officer/courier- 4 hours 

Armored car personnel - 4 hours 

Guard dog handler- 8 hours 

Private investigator- 8 hours 

Personal protection specialist - 16 hours 

UAarmes Alarm respondent- 4 hours 

Armes alarm res~eASeAI 4 tle"rs 

Central station dispatcher - 4 hours 

Electronic security sales representative - 4 hours 

Electronic security technician -@ 4 hours 

Electronic security technician's assistant - 2 hours 

Compliance agent - 4 hours 

Instructor- 8 hours 
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6 VAC 20-170-540. 
requirements. 

Minimum entry level training 

A. Core subjects. The entry level curriculum for unarmed 
security officer, armed security officer/courier, guard dog 
handler, ~Aarffies alarffi res~eAseRt aAs arffieS and alarm 
respondent sets forth the following areas identified as: 

Administration and security orientation/regulations - 2 
hours 

Legal authority and arrest authority and procedures - 6 
hours 

Emergency and defensive procedures - 8 hours 

Written examination 

Total hours (excluding exam)- 16 hours 

B. Armed security officer/courier. 

lA a~sitieA le ltle s"ssessful saffi~lelieA af ltle sere 
s"l:>jasts s"rris"l"ffi (6 'lAC 2Q 17Q §4Q /\), eastl armes 
ses"rily effiser/sa"rier m"sl alss seffi~ly wiiA ~rearms lraiAiA§ 
req"ireffieAis. (Firearffis serti~satisA is rsq"ires fer ali ~ri•;ate 
ses~;~rity ser\'ises busiRess perseRnel f3Fier te sarrying er 
tlaviA§ iffiffiesiate assess Is a ~rearffi iA ttle ~erferffiaAse ef 
<My.1 

1. HaAS!J"A slassFeaffi tr~iAiA!J (refer Ia e VAG 2Q 17Q 
BaG) 8 tla"rs 

2. Stlsi§"A slassresffi iAslr"stisA, if a~~lisaele (refer Is El 
VAC 2Q 17Q BllQ) 2 tle"rs 

J, Written firearms examinatian 

4. RaA!Je q"ali~satieA. Na FfliAiffi~ffi tle"'" req"ires 
(refer te ll VAC 2Q 17Q BllQ). eastl ~erssA whs sarries 
er has immeaiate assess ta firearms in tAe 13erfsrmanse 
ef cJ"IY stlall q"alify wittl eastl ty~e aAcJ salieer sf ~rearffi 
Is wtlish he tlas assess. 

1. Core subjects- 16 hours 

2. Entry level handgun training (refer to Article 2 (6 VAC 
20-170-615 et seq.) of this part)- 8 hours 

3. Entry level shotgun training, if applicable (refer to 
Article 2 (6 VAG 20-170-615 et seq.) of this part)- 1 hour 

Total hours (excluding examination, shotgunt classroom 
instruction and range qualification) - 24 hours 

C. Armored car personnel. 

1. Armored car orientation/slate regulations - 3 hours 

2. Armored car procedures - 9 hours 

3. Written examination 

4. Entry-level firearms training (ll VP.C 2Q 170 §4Q ll) 
(refer to Article 2 (6 VAG 20-170-615 et seq.) of this part) 
- 8 hours 

Total hours ·(excluding examinations and range 
qualification) - 20 hours 
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D. Guard dog handler. 

1. Prerequisites for guard dog handler entry level 
(official documentation required): 

a. Successful completion of the core subjects 
curriculum (6 VAG 2Q 17Q 54Q subsection A of this 
section) - 16 hours 

b. Successful completion of basic obedience training 

2. Following successful completion of the above 
prerequisites, each guard dog handler must also comply 
with the following requirements: 

a. Demonstration of proficiency. The student must 
demonstrate his proficiency in the handling of a 
security canine to satisfy the minimum standards - 2 
hours 

Evaluation by a certified private security guard dog 
handler instructor and 
Basic obedience retraining 

b. Guard dog handler orientation/legal authority - 4 
hours 

c. Canine patrol techniques - 6 hours 

d. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examinations) - 28 hours 

E. Private investigator. 

1. Investigator orientation/regulations- 8 hours 

2. Collecting and reporting information- 6 hours 

3. General investigative techniques- 20 hours 

4. Interviewing techniques- 8 hours 

5. Criminal law, procedure and rules of evidence - 8 
hours 

6. Civil law, procedure and rules of evidence- 10 hours 

7. \'VriUen comweRensive mcaminatien Three practical 
field exercises 

8. +Ares ~rastisal !ieiEl exersises Written comprehensive 
examination 

Total hours in classroom (excluding written examination 
and practical exercises)- 60 hours 

F. Personal protection specialist. 
protection speeialist st1:1Eient must also 
ffillewing re~"irernents: 

Eash ~OfSooal 
sern~ly with tee 

1. Personal protection orientation - 4 hours 

2. Assessment of threat and protectee vulnerability - 8 
hours 

3. Legal authority and issues - 16 hours 

4. Protective detail operations- 28 hours 

5. Emergency procedures- 12 hours 

a. CPR- 8 hours 

b. Emergency first aid 

c. Defensive preparedness 

d. Emergency relocation 

6. PerfOrmance evaluation - Five practical exercises 

7. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding written examination and 
performance evaluation) - 68 hours 

G. ~ Alarm respondent. Eash ~;~narmoEI alarm 
responc:Jent stuc:Jent must sl:lccoscfuUy-oomplete the cere 
~ Vf\C 20 170 540 A) 

Core subjects (refer to subsection A ofthis section) - 16 
hours 

H. P.rR'IeiJ alar.ffi-f~J.,..-~ition to the suooessful 
OOfl'l~letien of the sere subjeGls--surriouluffl •(ll W\G 20 17Q 
§qg ,",), ease armee alarffl respen~t alse sern~ly wite 
firoarFRs trainin§--f€-Etillfements. firearms certification is 
~~usiness ~ersennel 
prior to canying or hav+A§-immodiato aosess to a firearm in 
the ferferrnanoe of 9~ 

1. Flan8§en--slassrooffl instruotion (refer to 6 VAG 20 
170 g§g B) B !WillS 

2. Shol§un olas&f<l&ffl--instruotion (if Of~lisallle) (refer to 
a VAG 20 170 BW-G)---4-hew 

d. V\/ritton...fi.fe.afm&-e*amffia.OOR 

4. RaA§e qualifisatiee. Ne mieire~m ee~rs req~iree. 
~Tioc or hac immediate access to 
~~se of outy sRall-<jualify with 
each type anG caliber of firearm to wAicA Ae Aas assess. 

Total hol:lr~.Ydin§ m:aAlination, &fletgun classreoFR 
~+,-<>R<H:fwlifisation on tee range) 24 ~'leurs 

h H. Electronic security subjects. The entry level 
electronic security subjects curriculum for central station 
dispatcher, electronic secunly sales representative, electronic 
security technician and electronic security technician's 
assistant sets forth the following areas identified as: 

1. Orientation 

2. Code of Virginia 

3. Regulations Relating to Private Security Services 

4. Introduction to electronic security 

5. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examination) 4 hours 

Jo /. Central station dispatcher. 

1. Electronic security subjects (refer to 6 \(~C 2Q 170 
Mil-J subsection H of/his section) - 4 hours 

2. Central slation dispatcher subjects- 4 hours 

a. Duties and responsibilities 

b. Communications skills 
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c. Emergency procedures 

d. False alarm prevention 

3. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examination)- 8 hours 

K. J. Electronic security sales representative. 

1. Electronic security subjects (refer to 6 VAG 2G 17G 
~ subsection H of this section) - 4 hours 

2. Electronic security sales representative subjects - 4 
hours 

a. Duties and responsibilities 

b. System design/components 

c. False alarm prevention 

3. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examination)- 8 hours 

b K Electronic security technician. eash eleGireAis 
seeurity teeAAieiaA stuaeAt . mwst alse semply with the 
felle·'liA~ re~uiremeAts: 

1. Electronic security subjects (refer to 6 VAG 2G 17G 
~ subsection H of this section) - 4 hours 

2. Electronic security technician subjects- 10 hours 

a. Duties and responsibilities 

b. Electronics 

c. Control panels 

d. Protection devices and application 

e. Test equipment 

f. Power and grounding 

g. National electrical code 

h. Job safety 

i. False alarm maRa~emeRI prevention 

3. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examination)- 14 hours 

MeL Compliance agent. 

1. Industry overview and responsibilities: regulations 
review, business practices, ethical standards, records 
requirements and other related issues - 6 hours 

2. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding written examination)- 6 hours 

N. FiFSarms traiAiA§. Firearms eeFtifieatieR is Feqwirea fer 
all ~rivate seeurily serviees eusiRess perssARel prier te 
earryiR§ er RaviA§ imme<liate assess te a firearm iA IRe 
perfermaAee ef £My. Firearms traiRiR!J mwst ee sempletea 
witAiA 12 meRIAs immeaiately ~reseaiR!J swemissieA sf aR 
,a~~lieatieR. Firearms traiRiR~ eempletea laAger tAaA 12 
maRies ~rier te a~~lieatieR &Rail Ret ee valia. 
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1, ~aR!JQUA elassreem traiRiR~ (refer te e V-AG 2Q 170 
BoG) 8 ABUFS 

2. SABI§IIR slassreem iRstruetieR, if applisaele (refer tee 
VAG 2Q 170 SaG) 1 eeur 

a. WritteR firearms m<amiRatieR (refer tee V-AG 2Q 170 
86Gf. 
4. RaRge ~ualifisatieA. ~le miRimum Aeurs re~uirea. 
EasA f39FSOA •.vRo sarries or !=las imA=JeGiate assess to 
firearms iR IRe perfermaASe sf auty seall ~ualify witR 
easA type aAa salieer ef firearm te wAieR ee Aas assess. 

Tetal A8UFS ae Ret iAsluae m<amiRatieR SABI§IIA 
Glassmam instrldotieA er taAge qblaliJisatien 8 Ro~:~rs 

0. PerseRal preteetieA speeialist a~vaRee~ firearms 
lf.liliRiRg. IR additieA te IRe s~ssessful sempletieR sf IRe 
perseRal preteGiieA spesialist eAtry le'/el eurrieul~m (e VAG 
2Q 17G 54G F), easA armea ~erseRal pretestieR s~esialist 
stwaeRI m~sl alse eemply witA IRe perseAal pretestieA 
spesialisl aavaAsed AaRaguR traiAiR!I 24 Aewrs. 

1. \l'Je8J39A selactieA 8A9 ROFfiOAGiatl:JFO 

2. Safety aA<l fuRGiieAiA!I 

a. I'~RaameRials ef marksmaRSAi~ 

4, CeeisieR makiR!I fer tt\e perseRal ~retestieA s~esialist 

e. l'ireamJs skill ae•Jele~meRI 

6. VirgiRia private seswrity sewrse ef fire fer AaAa§~Rs 

7. PerseRal preteetieR spesialisl aavaReea firearms 
se~Fse ef lire fer AaA~!I~Rs 

8. WriUeR eJ<amiAalieA. !;;aee ~ri>•ate sesurity empleyee 
wRe carries or Aas immediate access to Jirearffis iA the 
perfermaRse ef ~~ty seall ~ualify witA eaeA type aR~ 
sali~er ef liFearm te weist\ AS t\as assess. 

Tetal Aeurs (e•~sluaiR§ '•'IFitteR examiAatieA) 24 eeurs 

6 VAC 20-170-550. Compulsory minimum in-service 
training requirements. 

A. Core subjects. Unarmed security officer/armed security 
officer/courier/uRarmea alarm respondentlarme~ alarm 
respeR~eAt. 

Legal authority/regwlatieRs review- 2 hours 

Job related training - 2 hours 

Total hours- 4 hours 

B. Armored car personnel. 

Statutery autAeri~atieAiregulatieAs re•;iew 2 Ae~rs 

Legal authority- 2 hours 

Armored car procedures - 2 hours 

Total hours- 4 hours 

C, Guard dog handler. 

Basic obedience evaluation and retraining - 2 hours 

Legal authority/re§ulatieRs review- 2 hours 
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Job related training - 2 hours 

Canine patrol techniques- 2 hours 

Total hours- 8 hours 

D. Private investigator. 

Legal authority/iss<~es (civil anEI crifJ1inal)/re§Yiatiens 
fel.Jiewcivil and criminal Jaw issues - 4 hours 

Investigative procedures- 4 hours 

Total hours- 8 hours 

E. Personal protection specialist 

Re§Yiatiens review 1 heYr 

Legal authority and issues - 2 hours 

Protective detail operations - 1 0 hours 

Emergency procedures - 3 hours 

Total hours- 16 hours 

F. Central station dispatcher 

Ceae ana re§<~latien review 1 he<~r 

Job related training/false alarm prevention :l he<~rs 

Total hours - 4 hours 

G. Electronic security sales representative 

CeEie ana re§Yiatien review 1 hGYF 

Job related training/false alarm prevention :l he<~rs 

Total hours- 4 hours 

H. Electronic security technician 

CeEle anEl re§Yiatien review 1 he<~r 

Job related training/false alarm prevention :l he<~rs 

Total hours- 4 hours 

I. Electronic security technician's assistant 

Job related training 

Total hours- 2 hours 

J. Compliance agent. 

Ceee ana Fe§Yiatien review e hGYFS 

Jee relates trainin§#alse alam1 preventien · 1.6 he<~rs 

Tetal 4 he"rs 

Industry overview and responsibilities, regulations 
review, business practices, ethical standards, records 
requirements, and other related issues 

Total hours- 4 hours 

K. Instructor. 

Regulations review, legal issues, ethical standards 
records requirements and other related topics - 2 hours 

Techniques of instruction delivery including practica 
exercises - 6 hours 

Total hours- 8 hours 

6 VAC 20-170-560. Partial in servise training sredit. 
(Repealed.) 

A PaFtial in servise training sresit ma;· Be appreved fer 
aUenElance at. traini"§- pre§ rams whish are net senEI<~sled 
thfoo§h a DepaFtment ef Criminal Jystise Servises seFtified 
private ses<~rity trainin§ ssAeel. lnsi•;iEIHal partial iA sePJiGe 
trainin§ sreait applisatiens mYst Be SYBmiUed en farms 
previses By the Elepartment. The fellewing prese<l<~res far 
applying fer partial in service training sredit m<~st Be fallewea: 

1. Je9 related traiAin~ sessionS ·wRisR meet or exseeel 
Department ef CriR1inal JHstise Servises stan<lards and 
are ef.fered by inslitutions, assesiations, or j3Fivate firms 
R1ay Be a~preves far partial in servise tr~ining sreait. 

2. Applisatiens far partial in servise training sredit shall 
insl"se information relating ta the spansaring 
er§aAizatien anEI.a espy ef the trainin§ sshedYie. The 
ssheEI"Ie shall sentain the sates, times, •~~jest matter 
ana instr<~ster far each sessien. 

:l. Applisatiens m<~sl Be s~~mitted within eQ <lays ef the 
last Elay el the trainiA§ sessien. 

8. Partial in servise trainin§ sresit fer re§Hiatiens re•;iew 
may Be appreves <~pen s<~scessf<~l cempletien ef sem~liance 
agent in service training. 

6 VAC 20-170-570. Extensien ef time ~eried te meet In 
servise t•ainin§ reqHirement. (Repealed.) 

A /\n extension of tAo time period to eomplete in service 
traifliflg re~"irements may Be appreve<l anly <~n<ler spesifis 
sirs<~mstanses whish Ele net allew the private ses~rity 
empleyee W- semplete the re~<~ire<l in servise training within 
the pressriBea time perieEI. The fellewin§ are the enly 
cirs"R1slanses fer whish extensiens may lle ~ranted: 

1. Illness, 

2. lnjuPf, or 

:l. Military servise. 

8. An applisatien for extensieA shall: 

1. 8e s<~smitte<l prier te the expiratien <late ef the time 
liR1il re~"ires far seR1pletien ef IRe sempHisery in seFIIise 
trainin§ re~Yirements; ane 

2. lnsicate the prejeste<l eate the ineivi<l<~al will lle aBle 
te ceR1ply with the in servise train in~ re~"irements. 

C. Ne e>ttensien will Be a~preves far registratiens er 
certifisaliens whish have expiree. 

D. ,1\pplisatiens fer aseitienal e><tensiens may lle appreved 
<~pen written re~<~est ef the insivi<l"al. 

6 VAC 20-170-580. Firearms retraining. (Repealed.) 

P.. All armed private secl:lrity serviees 13usiness f30Fsonn 
m<~sl satisfasterily semplete twe he"rs ef firearms slassreen. 
retrainin§, ran§e training, ana re~"alif'j as prescriBes in 6 
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VP.C 20 170 BaQ 8 ana e VAG 20 170 BeG, if applica~le, 
, Ei"rin§ each 12 months of FO§istratien. CertifieEI-sGileels 

providing iirearms retrainin§ must meet the re~l:liFements of 
Part v111 of tR,is eAapter. 

R Each arreeEI re§istrant who has cereplieEI with the initial 
fimarms trainin~ FOElblirement sfla!l eompJy anmJally 'Nith 
firearms retrainin§ within the 12 month perieEI preceain§ the 
m~J3iFatien date of his registration. F=irearms training 
cerepleteEI len§er than 12 reenths prier to the expiration eate 
of his re§istratien is net valiEI. 

C. Firearms classroom retraining. 

HanEigun slassroom retrain in€} 2 ho~:~rs 

Shotg1::1n classroom retrainin9 1 ho~;~r 

Range ~"alifieatien (no minirn"m he"rs req"ireEI). 

Total ho"rs (e><ci"Eiin§ FaR§8 q"alification ana shOt§"" 
classroom troiniA§') 2 Aeblrs 

6 VAG 20-170-590. Personal protection specialist 
advanced handgun retraining 8 he"rs (Repealed.) 

A. Eaeh armed personal flFGlectien SI30Gialist registrant 
m"st satisfactorily complete ei§ht lle"rs of personal 
f3Foteetion speeialist a9vance8 han8gun elassroom training, 
ran§e retraining, ana req"alify, if applica~le. Certifies 
schools proviain§ personal protection specialist aavancee 
hanEI§"n retrainin§ "'"st meet the req"irements of Part VIII of 
this chapter. 

8. Each arreea personal protection specialist registrant 
wee has cem~liee with the ini!ial personal pretectieA 
s~ecialist aEivanceEI firearms trainiA§ req"irement, shall 
cem~ly ann"ally with personal ~rotectien s~ecialist aEivanceEI 
hanEI§"n retrainin§ within the 12 menth perieEI ~receain§ the 
m(piration Gate of l=lis registration. Personal pretestion 
specialist aEI••anceEI haAEI§"A retrainiA!J cef!'l~letee Ienger 
than 12 FflGAths prior to the expiration Elate ef his registration 
is-oot-vali<h 

6 VAG 20-170-600. G~ard <log handler basic ebe<lience 
eval~ation aml retraining 2 Re~rs (Repealed.) 

Each g"arEI Ele§ haneler re§istrant seall cem~ly ann"ally 
with the re~"irement fer ~asic o~edience eval"atien ana 
retraining. 

6 VAG 20-170-610. Instructor recertification training. 
(Repealed.) 

A Reg"latiens review, 'egal issues, ethical stanEiarEis, 
resorEis FOEttlirernents ami other related toJ3ics 2 Ael:lrs 

ll. Techni~"es of instr"ctien <lelivery il he"rs lnci"Eiin§ 
practical exercises. 

Total Re"rs (e>mi"Eiing testing) g he"rs 

Article 2. 
Firearms Training Requirements. 

6 VAG 20-170-615. 
requirements. 

Entry level firearms training 

A. Firearms certification is required for all private security 
services business personnel who carry or have immediate 
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access to a firearm while on duty. Each person who carries 
or has immediate access to firearms while on duty shall 
qualify with each type and caliber of firearm to which he has 
access. 

B. Handgun training. 

1. The entry level handgun classroom training will 
emphasize but not be limited to: 

a. The proper care of the weapon; 

b. Civil liability of the use of firearms; 

c. Criminal liability of the use of firearms; 

d. Weapons retention; 

e. Deadly force; 

f. Justifiable deadly force; 

g. Range safety; 

h. Practical firearms handling; and 

f. Principles of marksmanship. 

Total hours (excluding written examination)- 8 hours 

2. Written examination required. 

3. No minimum hours are required for range 
qualification. The purpose of the range qualification 
course is to provide practical firearms training to 
individuals desiring to become armed pn'vate secun'ty 
services business personnel. 

a. Pn'or to the date of range training, it will be the 
responsibility of the school director to ensure that all 
students are informed of the proper attire and 
equipment to be worn for the firing range portion of the 
training. 

b. Ammunition - 60 rounds - factory loaded semi­
wadcutter or duty ammunition may be used for 
practice or range qualification or both. 

c. Target- Silhouette (M-9, Transitional Target 2, full­
size 821, B21x or B-27) - Alternate targets may be 
utilized with pn'or approval by the department. 

d. With prior approval of the department, a reasonable 
modification of the firearms course may be approved 
to accommodate qualiflcation on indoor ranges. 

e. A certified firearms instructor must be on the range 
during all phases of firearms training. There shall be 
one firearms instructor per tour shooters on the fine. 

f. Directional draw holsters only. 

g. Scoring. 

(1) M-9, Transitional Target 2, 821, B21x, 827 target 
- (use indicated K-value) 8, 9, 10 X rings - value 5 
points, 7 ring - value 4 points, other hits on 
silhouette - value 3 points: divide points scored by 
maximum. possible score to obtain decimal and 
convert to percentage, e.g., 225 + 300 =. 75 = 75%. 
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(2) Q targets - any fired round striking the bottle area 
to include its marked border - value 5 points - any 
fired round striking outside the bottle area - value 3 
points. 

h. Course: Virginia Private Security Course of Fire for 
Handguns. 

(Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in 
firing the weapon. The opposite hand may be used for 
support.) 

Target-- Silhouette (821, 821X, 827), 60 rounds 

Double action, except for single action semi-automatic 
weapons. 

Minimum qualifying score - 75% 

Phase 1 -- 3 yards, point shoulder position, 18 rounds: 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds) 
repeat. 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 6 rounds with strong 
hand. 

Unload, reload 6 rounds and fire 6 rounds with weak 
hand (25 seconds). 

Phase 2 -- 7 yards, point shoulder position, 24 rounds: 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 1 round (2 seconds), 
repeat. 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 
repeat. 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 6 rounds, reload 6 rounds, 
fire 6 rounds (30 seconds). 

Phase 3 -- 15 yards, 70 seconds, 18 rounds: 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, assume kneeling position, draw and fire 
6 rounds with strong hand. 

Assume standing position, unload, reload and fire 6 
rounds from weak hand barricade position. 

Unload, reload and fire 6 rounds from strong hand 
barricade position (70 seconds). 

(Kneeling position may be fired using barricade 
position.) 

C. Shotgun training. 

1. The entry level shotgun classroom instruction will 
emphasize but not be limited to: 

a. Safe and proper use and handling of shotgun; 

b. Nomenclature; and 

c. Positions and combat loading techniques. 

Total hours - 1 hour 

2. No minimum hours required for range filing. The 
purpose of the range firing course is to provide practical 
shotgun training to those individuals who carry or have 
immediate access to a shotgun in the performance of 
their duties. 

3. For certification, 12 gauge, double aught "00" 
buckshot ammunition shall be used. Five rounds. 

4. Scaling - 70% of available pellets must be within 
silhouette. 

5. Course: Virginia Plivate Seculity Course of Fire for 
Shotguns. 

No. 
Distance Position Rounds Target Time 

Combat Standing! B-27 
load & fire 15 Yds. Shoulder 3 Silhouette 20 sec. 

Combat Kneeling! B-27 
load & fire 25 Yds. Shoulder 2 Silhouette 15 sec. 

6. A certified firearms instructor must be on the range 
duling all phases of firearms range training. There shall 
be one certified firearms instructor per four shooters on 
the line. 

D. Personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
training. In order to be eligible for the personal protection 
specialist advanced handgun course of fire, each personal 
protection specialist student must have completed entry level 
handgun training and qualified on the Virginia private security 
course of fire for handgun by shooting a minimum score of 
85%. 

1. The entry level personal protection specialist 
advanced handgun classroom training will emphasize 
but not be limited to: 

a. Weapon selection and nomenclature; 

b. Safety and functioning; 

c. Fundamentals of marksmanship review; and 

d. Decision making for the personal protection 
specialist. 

Total hours (excluding wlitten examination) - 24 hours 

2. Written examination required. 

3. No minimum hours required for range qualification. 
The purpose of this course of fire is to assess and 
improve the tactical, protection-related shooting skills for 
personal protection specialist candidates seeking 
certification to be armed. This course entails five 
increasingly challenging stages of advanced firearms 
exercises with a 92% score required for qualification. 

The advanced handgun course of fire is complised of the 
following exercises: 
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a. Shoot/don't shoot judgment,· 

b. Turn and fire drills; 

c. Failure to stop drills; 

d. Multiple target drills; and 

e. Judgmental shooting. 

4. For all range practicals (stage two through stage 
four), the student will fire at a man-size silhouette target 
with the following requirements: 

a. 4" diameter circle in head; 

b. 8" diameter circle in chest/body area; 

c. Center points of circles - 1314 inches apart; 

d. All rounds fired must hit within these circles; and 

e. Minimum 92% qualification score = 25 rounds total 
requiring 23 hits. 

5. Scoring: 

a. 25 points (1 round is good for 1 point). 

b. 92% of shots must be "in circle" hits for a passing 
grade (2 misses allowed on total course). 

c. Shots not taken during stage five, when a "no­
shoot" situation is presented scores a point, just as an 
accurate shotin a hosWe situation. 

d. 92% is 23 of 25 possible. 

6. A certified personal protection specialist firearms 
instructor must be on the range during all phases of 
personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
training. There shall be one certified personal protection 
specialist firearms instructor per four students. 

7. Virginia private security course of fire for personal 
protection specialist. 

a. Stage One: Shoot/don't shoot drill. Stage one of 
the personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
course of fire is conducted in a classroom using a 16 
mm film or video cassette tape of firearms combat 
scenan·as to assess the student's decision making 
capability given job-related shoot/don't shoot incidents. 

After the interaction of the scenario, the students must 
explain all their commands and actions. 

Dry-fire response from a weapon rendered safe should 
be incorporated into the scenario interaction. 

b. Stage Two: Turn-and-fire drill. Stage two of the 
personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
course of fire is held at a firing range and consists of 
tum-and-fire drills from varying distances (straight 
draw hip holsters only). 

All handguns are loaded with six rounds of ammunition 
and safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with 
their backs to the targets, factng the instructor up­
range. The instructor will command all shooters to 
walk at a normal pace, directly away from the target. 
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Upon the command "fire," the students must quickly 
tum while acquiring a firm grip on the weapon. Once 
facing the target and in a stable position, they must 
safely draw and fire two rounds at the designated 
target circle. After shooting, while facing the target, 
the student must reholster safely, then tum around to 
face up-range, ready to continue the exercise. The 
"fire" commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 5-7 yards, 
and then 8-10 yards. 

c. Stage Three: Failure to stop drill. Stage three of 
the personal protecffon specialist advanced handgun 
course of fire is held at a firing range and consists of 
failure to stop drills fired from the seven-yard line 
(straight draw hip holsters only). 

All handguns are loaded with six rounds of ammunition 
and are safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with 
their backs to the targets, facing the instructor up­
range. The instructor will command all shooters to 
walk at normal pace, directly away from the target. 
Upon the command "fire," given at approximately the 
seven-yard line, each shooter must safely tum around 
while acquiring a firm grip on their weapon as 
performed in the previous drill. Once facing the target, 
the students will draw and fire two rounds at the 8-inch 
body circle, and then one immediate round to the 4-
inch head circle. The student w1ll then safely 
reholster. The drill will be repeated three times. 

d. Stage Four: Multiple target Identification drill. 
Stage four of the personal protection specialist 
advanced handgun course of fire is held at a firing 
range and consists of multiple target identification drills 
fired from varying distances (straight draw hip holsters 
only). 

Each shooter will line up on a set of three targets. 
Only two shooters at one lime can complete this 
exercise on a standard 10-12 station range. However, 
smaller ranges may allow for only 1 shooter at a time. 

Each handgun is loaded with 6 rounds of ammunition 
and safely holstered. The shooters are positioned with 
their backs to the targets, facing the instructor up­
range. The instructor will command all shooters to 
walk at a normal pace, directly away from the targets. 
Upon the command "left," "right," or "center," the 
student must again tum around safely while 
establishing a firm grip on the weapon. Then, once 
stable, the student must quickly draw and fire 2 rounds 
at the designated circle on the "called" target ("L," "R," 
"C'). Then, the shooter, while still facing the targets, 
must safely reholster, turn around to face up-range, 
and continue the exercise. Each two round pair must 
be fired within 4 seconds of the called command. 
Direction commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 5-7 
yards, and then 8-10 yards. 

e. Stage Five: Judgmental shooting. This dnll 
combines the skills developed in the prior four stages. 
The shooter will be required to safely tum and fire at a 
"photograph" type target which may be either friendly 
or hostile. It requires hostile targets to be stopped 
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using deadly force. Necessity (immediate jeopardy) is 
presumed for this exercise. This stage allows the 
instructor to evaluate the decision-making capability of 
the student as well as his shooting accuracy and 
safety 

Shooter is placed on the 10-yard line facing the 
instructor with the target to his rear. The target will be 
placed at any location along the range target line and 
should not be seen by the student until he is given the 
"tum" command during the drill. Each shooter has the 
opportunity to complete this drill four times. Each 
decision is worth one point. If he shoots at a hostile 
target, a hit anywhere on that target will score the 
point. If a friendly target is presented, it is clearly a no­
shoot situation and the student should merely holster 
safely to score the point. There is a four-second time 
limit at this stage for any "shoot" situation. 

The instructor [ may e!Jeese Ia will ] a/low each 
shooter [ eAiy ] two opportunities to complete this drill 
and place two targets downrange for each Four 
points or hits are still necessary at this stage for the 
total score. If two targets are used, then the time limit 
;s raised to six seconds, regardless of whether two 
hostile targets are used or one hostile with one 
friendly. [ This aUmw; lhe inslrHeter tile OfJfJOFI!!R#y-/B 
ohaUeR(Je a slreRger shoe/ere 1 

6 VAG 20-170-616. Firearms retraining. 

A. Handgun retraining. 

1. All armed private security seNices business 
personnel must satisfactorily complete two hours of 
firearms classroom training [ or practical exercises] and 
range training, and requalify as prescribed in 6 VAC 20-
170-615 for handgun within the 12-month period 
immediately preceding the expiration date of his 
registration. 

2. Approved schools providing handgun retraining must 
meet the requirements of Part VIII (6 VAG 20-170-620 et 
seq.) of this chapter. 

3. Handgun classroom retraining. 

Range qualification- (no minimum hours required) 

Total hours (excluding range qualification and shotgun 
classroom training) - 2 hours 

B. Shotgun retraining. 

1. All armed private security services business 
personnel must satisfactorily complete one hour of 
classroom training and range training, and requalify with 
the shotgun as prescribed in 6 VAG 20-170-615, if 
applicable. 

2. Approved schools providing handgun retraining must 
meet the· requirements of Part VIII (6 VAG 20-170-620 et 
seq.) of this chapter 

3. Shotgun classroom retraining. 

Range qualification- (no minimum hours required) 

Total hours (excluding range qualification) - 1 hour 

C. Personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
retraining. 

1. Personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
course of fire [{net inelucliRfi range ~uaYfioa#en) 1 

a. Legal authority and decision making- 4 hours 

b. Handgun safety, marksmanship and skill 
development- 4 hours 

Total hours (excluding range qualification) - 8 hours 

Article 3. 
Guard Dog Handler Retraining. 

6 VAC 20-170-617. Guard dog handler retraining. 

Each guard dog handler registrant shall comply annually 
with the requirement for basic obedience evaluation and 
retraining (refer to Article 1 (6 VAG 20-170-470 et seq.) ofthis 
part). 

Guard dog handler basic obedience evaluation and 
retraining 

Total hours. 2 hours 

6 VAC 20-170-618 and 6 VAG 20-170-619. Reserved. 

PART VIII. 
PRIVATE SECURITY SERVICES TRAINING SCHOOLS. 

Article 1. 
School Certification. 

6 VAC 20-170-620. Initial requirements for the 
certification of a private security services training school. 

In accordance with § 9-182 of the Code of Virginia, the 
department may certify those schools which on the basis of 
curricula, instructors and facilities, provide training which 
meets the compulsory minimum training standards. Each 
person seeking to certify a private security services training 
schooi shall file an application, provided by the department, 
accompanied by a the applicable nonrefundable fee el-$&00. 
Eoch principal of the business entity applying for certification 
as a private security services training school must be listed 
on the application and is responsible for the school's 
adherence to the Code of Virginia and this chapter. Each 
person listed on the application shall complete a 
supplemental fingerprint processing application and submit 
his fingerprints on one completed set of two fingerprint cards 
along with a the applicable nonrefundable fee ef $41; 
OOwever, a rnm:irnurn of two sets of fingefprint sards rnay 
aooeFApany the applioatien at ne additional -GeS!. 
Certifications shall be issued for a period not to exceed 12 
months. All forms shall be completed in full compliance with 
the instructions provided by the department. Applicants shall 
meet or exceed all of the requirements contained in this part 
prior to the issuance of a training school certification. 

6 VAG 20-170-625. 
certification. 

Temporary training school 

The department may issue a letter of temporary 
certification to a training school applicant for not more than 

----------------------~~~~~~~-----------------------­
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120 days while awaiting the results or the state and national 
fingerprint search conducted on the principals of the business 
entity, provided the applicant has met the conditions and 
requirements set forth in this part. 

6 VAC 20-170-630. Certification requirements; 
designation of school director; school director duties 
and responsibilities; retention and replacement of sch~ol 
director. 

A. Each person seeking to establish a certified private 
security services training school Shall designate a school 
director. The school director shall be an individual, who is not 
designated as school director for any otner certified private 
security services training school, and shall possess c11rrent 
certification as a private security instructor. 

B. The certified school djrector shall at all times CQmply 
with the following: · 

1. Ensure that the certified training . school Is in full 
compliance with the Code of Virginia and this chapt~>r; 

2. Ensure that all sessions conducted meet the 
requirements for mandated training; 

3. Ensure that all instructors of the certified training 
school have been certified by the department as private 
security instructors and instruct in accordance with the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter; 

4. Ensure that all training completion rosters are fileq 
with the department within seven business days of the 
training completion date; · 

5. Ensure the maintenance of training, employment a.n~ 
payroll records which document compliance with the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

C. 1. Each certified training school shall maintain an 
individual as school director who has met the 
requirements of this chapter and has been certified by 
the department. · 

2. Each training school shall notify the department in 
writing within 10 calendar days of the termination of 
employment of a certified school director. 

3. Within 90 days of termination of the school's certified 
director, the school shall submit; on a form pr\)Vided by 
the department; the name of a new school dire9tor who 
has met the requirements of this chapter. 

6 VAC 20-170-640. Criminal history records search. 

Upon application for certification as a private security 
services training school, each training director and prin<;ipal 
of the applicant firm shall submit his fingerprints to the 
department on one completed set of two fingerprint cards eA 
fGfms provided by the department, and ~ the applicable 
nonrefundable processing fee fer ea~h set ef fiRgerpFiRI ~r<ls 
l>eyeR~ IRe alle•Nal>le twe sets ~re'<'i~ed with IRe iAiliaiiFaiRiAg 
ssReel a~~lisatieR. The department sh~ll s~bmit thosl' 
fingerprints to the Virginia State Police for the purpose of 
conducting a Virginia Criminal History Recorlls sean;h an~ a 
National Criminal Records search to determine whether the 
individual has a record of conviction. 
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6 VAC 20-170-650. Unclassifiable fingerprint cards. 

Fingerprint cards found to be unclassifiable will be returned 
to the applicant. Action on the application will be suspended 
pending the resubmittal of classifiable fingerprint cards. The 
applicant should be so notified in writing and shall submit his 
fingerprints on new fingerprint cards and a the applicable 
nonrefundable fee ef.-.$4-1- to the department before the 
processing of his application shall resume. However, no 
such fee may be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are 

· included and attached to the new fingerprint cards when 
. resubmitted. 

. 6 VAC 20-170-730. 
. relnstatsment. 

School expiration, renewal, 

A. The department will mail a renewal application to the 
last known address of the certified school director. Failure of 
the certified school director to renew certification prior to the 
expiration date of the certification shall not be the 
responsibility of the department. 

1!. A private security training school not renewed on or 
b01fore the expiration date of the certification shall become 
null and void. Operating a training school without valid 
certification is a violation of the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter. 

C. Ail certifications granted to private security services 
training schools shall be valid for a period not to exceed 42 
24 months. 

D. Applications for renewal must be received 30 days prior 
to expiration. School renewal applications received by the 
department after the. expiration date shall be subject to all 
applicable nonrefundable renewal fees plus nonrefundable 
reinstatement fees. 

E. Applicants far renewal of training school certification 
.shall have the option of renewing for either a period nat to 

· exqeed 12 months or a period not to exceed 24 months. 

+. F. The department may renew the certification of a 
training school for a period not to exceed 42 24 months when 
t~e (allowing are reseived l>y IRe ~e~artmeRI requirements 
are met 

a. 1. A properly completed renewal application is 
submitted to the department; ami 

tr. 2. . A The applicable nonrefundable renewal fee ef 
$2all. is submitted to the department; 

:!, 3. The certified school director and each certified 
instructor listed on the school renewal application must 
have satisfactorily completed all applicable instructor 
training requirements.; and 

3. 4. Each certified director, principal or certified 
instructor listed on the school renewal application shall 
be in good standing and free of disciplinary action in 
every jurisdiction where licensed or certified. 

~ G. A renewal application received by the department 
within 180 days following the expiration date of the 
certification shall· be accompanied by a the applicable 
nonrefundable renewal fee ef $250 and the nonrefundable 
reinstatement fee ~. 
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2~ H. No training school shall be renewed or rei~·stated 
when the renewal application and fee are received by the 
deparlment after 180 days following the expiration date .of the 
approval. After that date, the applicant shall meet. then 
current initial school certification requirements. 

;;., I. The date on which the applicatio~ and feeare 
received by the department shall determine whether the 
applicant is eligible for renewal or reinstatement or is ,required 
to apply for initial certification as a private security training 
school. 

Article 2. 
Instructor Certification. 

6 VAC 20-170-760, Certified instructors. 

A. Instructors desiring to instruct in a certified training 
school shall submit an application for instructor c9rtification. 
The applicant must provide documentation of previ·oUs work 
experience, instructor experience·, trainin9 and· education for 
those subjects in which certification . is requested. The 
department will evaluate qualifications based upon the 
justification provided. In addition, all instructor applicants 
shall meet the following requirements and provide 
documentation thereof: 

1. Have a minimum of three years,.management or 
supervisory experience with a private security services 
business or with any federal, military police, .. state, county 
or municipal law-enforcement agency, or in a related 
field; or have a minimum· of one· year experience ~as an 
instructor or teacher at an accredited educa~onal 
institution or agency in the subject matter for which 
certification is requested, or in a related field; 

2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED); 

3. Successful completion of an instructor development · 
program, within the three years immediately preceding 
the date of the application, that meets or exceeds 
standards established by the department; or successful 
completion of an instructor development program longer . 
than three years prior to the date of application, and has 
provided instruction during the three years immediately 
preceding, or has provided instruction in a related field at 
an institution of higher learning; 

4. Submit his fingerprints on one set of two completed 
fingerprint cards sA fsrffis provided by the. department; 
and 

5. Submit a properly completed instructor application 
and a the applicable nonrefundable application fee ef 
${4, 

B. In addition to the instructor qualification requirements 
described in subsection A of this section, each firearms 
instructor must have completed a firearms instructors school 
specifically designed for law-enforcement or private security 
personnel. Each firearms instructor' candidate must provide · 
documentatio'n of ran§o EtUalification V.'ith a minimum range 
qualification of 85% with each of the following: 

1. A revolver; 

2. A semi-automatic handgun; and 

,, 3. 'A shotgun. 

The fit'ea:rins instructor training must have been completed 
within the three years immediately preceding the date of the 
instructor applicatipn; or in the event that the school 
'completion occurred prior to three years, the applicant shall 
'have provid€d firearms instruction during the three years 
, imn1ediately preceding. 

~ In a88itisA ts tee re~YireR1eRts sf sYssestisA A sf teis 
·'s"Osf.ien,' easA --canditl::ite for ·certification as a §Umd deg 
' AamJier insk!JSter, armtJr-ed sar f30I'£9AAe1 iAstrHster, 13ef66R-al 
~reteGtion S(3ecialist instr(wter, and elestronis security 

' instmstor s~all sY~fRit to tee 8e~artR1eAt offisial 
Eleoumentation ef E!Ualifications in each Sf30GifleEI area. 

6 VAC 20-170-765. Temporary instructor certification. 

The department may issue a letter of temporary 
certification to an instructor applicant for not more than 120 
days While awaifing the results of the state and national 
fingerprint search conducted on the applicant, provided the 
applicant has met the conditions and requirements, set forth 
in this part. 

6 VAc. 20-170-770. Crimina.! history records search. 

'Upon receipt of an initial application for instructor 
certification, the 'department shall submit the fingerprints of 
ihe applicant to the Virginia State Police for the purpose of 
conducting a Virginia Criminal History Records search and a 
national criminal records search to determine whether the 
applicant has a record of conviction. Applicants submittinr 
unclassifiable fingerprint cards shall be required to subm1 
their fingerprints on new fingerprint cards along with a the 
applicable nonrefundable fee ef.-$4-1-. However, no such fee 
shall be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are included 
and attached,\o the new.fingerprint cards when resubmitted. 

6 VAC 20-170'820. Renewal of iAstruster sertilisatisA. 
RegistratiOh/certification in~service training credit. 

A,..----+he 8e~artR1eAt R1ay deny renewal sf inslrYetor 
s6rtifi6atiCm for the same reasen as it may refuse initial 
oe'Ftifioatio'n er' 9isoi~1ine an instrl:loter. 

!>, Instructors certified to teach mandatory in-service 
training classes, except firearms .retraining, may receive 
cr6dit for hourS towards the· in-service training requirements 
for tlie' categories for which they are currently registered. 
Instructors receive credit for classes in which they provide 
instr,u.ction, "~sA sYsR1issioR. sf ~re~er 8sGYR1eAtation aRs 
8e~artR1eRt a~~roval by submitting their names on the 
training completion roster for that session 

C. Ease ~erson sertifie<l as. a ~rivate secYrity instFYG!ef 
shaU semp,1efe tAe JA~tr!Jster resertiHsat.isA FOEft:JiremeAts 9)' 

.GBceR18er. :l1 sf tee teirs calendar year fellswiA§ initial 
certification. .anEI evept tRirG salen9ar year thereafter. 1\11 
WiVate S8GYFity iAStFYGtOFS certifies ~FiSF ts JYRe :JQ, 1994, 
R1YSt SSR1~ly wite teis re~YireffieAt 8y Deseffi~er :J1, 1997. 

,6 VAC 20-170-830. Certification expiration, renewal, 
reinstatement. 

A The department will mail to the last known address c 
the instructor a renewal notification. Failure of the instructor 
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to renew prior to the expiration of the certification shall be the 
sole responsibility of the instructor. 

A private security services instructor certification not 
renewed on or before the expiration date shall become null 
and void. Operating as a private security services instructor 
without a valid private security services instructor certification 
is a violation of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

B. All certifications issued to private security services 
instructors shall be valid for a period not to exceed 'h1 36 
months. 

C. 1. Applications for renewal of instructor certification 
must be received by the department at least 30 days 
prior to expiration. Renewal applications received by the 
department after the expiration date shall be subject to 
all applicable nonrefundable renewal fees plus 
reinstatement fees. 

2. The department may renew the instructor certification 
for a period not to exceed 'h1 36 months from the 
expiration date of the certification when the following are 
received by the department: 

a. A properly completed renewal application; 

b. A The applicable nonrefundable renewal fee ef 
$-W;and 

c. Documentation that the instructor has met the 
applicable recertification training standards. 

3. Each instructor must have satisfactorily completed all 
applicable training requirements. 

4. Each instructor shall be in good standing and free of 
disciplinary action in every jurisdiction where licensed, 
registered or certified. 

5. A renewal application received by the department 
within 180 days following the expiration date of the 
certification shall be accompanied by a the applicable 
nonrefundable renewal fee ef...$.W and a the applicable 
nonrefundable reinstatement fee ef $8.00. 

6. No instructor certification shall be renewed or 
reinstated when the application and fee are received by 
the department more than 180 days following the 
expiration date of the certification. After that date, the 
applicant shall meet all initial instructor certification 
requirements. 

7. The department may deny renewal or reinstatement 
of an instructor for the same reason as it may refuse 
initial certification or discipline a licensee. 

PART IX. 
FIREARMS TRAINING. 

6 VAG 20-170-840. Firearms traiAiA!I re<j~iremeAts. 
(Repealed.) 

/',, Private security services bblsiness J3ersennol whe apf3IY 
fer a.'lf!es re§istratiee sl1all be re~~ires te meet tl1e previsiees 
ef e VAG 20 170 8§0 aes, if a~~lisable, e VAG 20 170 880. 

8. ·Every st"SeRt m~st 'l~alify will1 easo ty~e amJ saliser of 
firearm oe will oa><e assess te WRile OR •~ty. 
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6 VAG 20-170-850. HaRS!J~R traiRiR!J. (Repealed.) 

i\. Toe ei§ol oe~rs ef slassreem traiRiR§ will em~oasize 
s~t Ret se limites te: 

1. Toe ~re~er sare ef t11e wea~ee; 

2. Givilliasilily eftoe "se ef firearms; 

a. Grimiealliasility ef toe "se ef firearms; 

4. Weapons retention; 

a. Deasly terse; 

e. ""stifiasle 8ea81y terse; 

7. RaR§e safety; 

8. Prastisal ~rearms ~anslin~; aes 

9. Priesi~les ef marksmaesoi~; 

B. ~le miRim"m oe~rs are re<j"ires fer raR§e ~"alifisalieR. 
Toe ~"r~ese ef toe raR~e 'l"alifisatieR se"rse is te ~re•;ise 
wastisal firearms !FaiRiR§ te iRsi•;ieJ"als sesiriR§ te seseme 
armeEi flFivate ses1:1rity servises S1:1sinessi f)ersonnel. 

1. Prier te toe sate ef FBR§e traiAiR~, il will se toe 
res~eesisility ef toe ss~eel sireeter te ees"re toat all 
st"seets are infermes ef toe ~re~er attire aes e'l"i~menl 
lese were fer toe firiR~ rae~e ~ertieR ef toe traiRiR§. 

2. ,'\mm"eitiee eG '""""s tastery leases semi 
wass"tter er s"ty amm~nitieR may se "sea fer ~rastise 
er raR§e 'l"alifisalieR er seto. 

a. Tar§et Si.loe"ette (M Q, Traesitieeal Tar§et 2, f"ll 
size 821, 821" or B 27) Altereate tar§ets may se 
"tilizes wito ~rier a~~re•;al sy toe se~artmeRt. 

~. WilR ~rier a~we•;al ef toe se~artmeet, a reaseeasle 
mesifisatieR ef toe firearms se"rse may se a~~re•;es te 
assomffioe:tate ql:Jalifisation en ine:loor ranges. 

a. A serti~es firearms iRstr"ster m~st se en toe raR§e 
s"riR§ all ~oases ef firearms traiAiR~. TRere s~all se eRe 
firearms iAstr"ster ~or fe"r sl1eeters ee tl1e liRe. 

e. DireetieRal sraw Relsters eely. 

7. Sserie~: 

a. M Q, Transitieeal Tar§et 2, 821, 821l<, 827 target 
("se imJisates K val"e) 8, Q, 1Q X riegs 'lal"e a 
~eiets, 7 riRg val"e ~ ~eiAts, etoer tlits ee siloe~elte 
•;al~e a ~OiAts: sivise ~GiRtS Sseres sy mal<im~m 
~essisle SS9Fe te estaiR SOsimal aRS G9R'Iert te 
~erseeta§e, e.~ .• 22§ . aoo .78 - 78%. 

s. Q taF!Jets aRy fires '"""" strikiA§ toe settle area 
te iRsl"se its markes serser •;al"e a ~eiets aRy fires 
re~Rs striking e"tsise toe settle area •;al"e a ~e!Rts, 

B. Col:!rse: Virginia Private Ses~::~rity Ce~oJrse of Fire fer 
HaRS~"RS. 

Ta.'fjet Sil~e~ette (821, 821X, 827) eG re"Ass 

Do~::~Sie astian, C}EGe~t for single aotion semi a~oJtomatis 
wea~ons. 
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MiRimlffiHjualilyin§ score 7§% 

PRase 1 :J yards, fDint shoulder fDSition, 18 rounds: 

bw~@ rounds and holster loaded weapeR. 

On comffland, draw ana lire 2 rounds (:J seconds) 
reyeah 

load ll rounds ana eolster loaaea weafon. 

On GOmfflana, araw ana lire e rounds with stron§ -Unload, releaa 6 rounas and lire 6 rounds witR weak 
Rand (2§ seconds). 

Pease 2 7 yaras, feint seoulder fDSition, 24 rounds: 

boas 6 rounss ana holster leased wea~ 

On GOFflfflan8, araw ana lire 1 FOURS (2 seconss), 
reyeah 

Leas e FOUASS ana ROister loaaea weafon. 

On GOFflfflana, SFaV/ ana lire 2 FOUASS (:J seGOASS), 
reyeah 

Lease rounss ana ROister leases weafOn. 

On commana, sraw ana lire e FOUnds, Feloas e rounss, 
lire 6 rounEis (:JG secenas). 

Phase :J 1 a yarEis, 7G seconas, 18 rounas: 

Lease rounas ana holster leased weafOA. 

On command, assume kneelin§ fDSition, sraw anslire 
6 rounEis with siren§ hans. · 

Assume stanain§ fDSition, unloas, reloas ans lire 6 
rounas fmm weak hana earrioade ~osition. 

ldnloas, reloaa ana lire e rounas from strOA§ ROAS 
earricase ~osition (7G seconas). 

(KneeliA§ ~osition may ee fires USiA§ earricaae 
~osition.) 

6 VAC 20-170-860. Shotgun tFaining. (Repealed.) 

A TAo ene he1:1r ef classroem instrblctien will emFJhasize 
but not ee limitea to: 

1. Safe ans ~FofeF use ana hanalin§ ofshotgun; 

2. NofflenclatuFe; ans 

:J. Positions ana GOFfll:>at loaaiA§ techni~ues. 

8. No minimum houFs re~uima fDF FOA§e firing. --+lle 
f>UFpose of the Fan§e liFing GOUFSe is to frD'IiSe fFOGtical 
shol§un trainin§ to those inEiiviEiuals who oaFry OF have 
irnmeSiate access to a shetgbln in tAo perfermance of their 
OOiie&, 

C. ~or certilication, 12 §OU§e, Elouele OU§RI "GG" eucl<shot 
amFAunition shall 13e 1:1smt Five rmmdc. 

D. ScoriA§ 7G% of availaele fellets must ee witein 
sili'louette. 

E:. Course: Virginia Private Security Cok!rse of ~ire fo 
SROI§uns. -GislaRre PesiliGA Roono's +af§el +ime 

GGmBal S!afl<liA!jl ll-2+ 
tsaEI--&--f+re ~ SeouiEier 3 Silhooelle i1ll-se&. 

G<>ml>al J<<leeijfl§i ll-2+ 
leaG-&-fire ~ SeouiEier 2 SiiRe~;~ette ~ 

F. /\ certifim:l firearFRS instructor FRidSt eo en tAo range 
dldring all phases of f-irearms range trainin§. TAere sAall 13e 
one certifio9 firearms instructor per four shoeters en tAo line. 

6 VAC 20-170-870. Firearms retraining. (Repealed.) 

A. 1\!1 armoEt f3rivate secmity services business J3Crsennel 
ffiUst satisfactorily seffl~lete hve 11ouFs of liFeaFms classmom 
tmining, raR[:JO training, ami reGJUalify as prescribeS in e V-AG 
20 17G 8§0 B fer han~§UA, and one houF of classmom 
trainin§, Fan§e trainin§, ana Fe~~alily with the shot§UA as 
~FessFiee~ in e W\C 2G 17G 860, if afflicasle, 'Niti1in the 12 
monti1 feFioa imfflesiately prece~iA§ tee exfiration date of his 
re§istratien. 

13.---AjlfroveEI sceools fFOviaiA§ liFeaFFflS Fetmining must 
meet tee m~uirefflents of Part VIII of this chafler. 

6 VAC 20-170-880. Personal protection specialist 
aa·.•anse<l i1and§~A IFaining. (Repealed.) 

A. Tee feFsonal frotection Sfecialist aEivanceEI ean<l§un 
training will emfhasize eut not ee limited to: 

1. WeaflOR selection anEI nomenclature; 

2. Safety anEI functionin§; 

d. FunEiamentals of marksmansAiJ3 review; anG 

4. Decision mal"<ing fer tAo J3ersenal J3FOlectien 
specialist 

B. No minimuffl houFS FS~uimd foF mnge ~ualification. The 
J3UrJ3ose of tAis course of fire is to assess an8 imweve tAo 
tastical, fFO!estion FGiates shootin§ skills foF feFsonal 
weteotion SJ3ecialist can8i8ates seel"<ing cer=tification to Sa 
afffieEI. Teis sourse entails five incFeasin§ly ceallengin§ 
-sta§e& of aEivance8 firearms OJ(ercises witl=l a 92% score 
re~uireEI for ~ualilication. 

1. In OFEIOF to ee eli§isle feF the ~ersonal ~rotection 
Sfecialist aEivansea 11ansgun couFce of liFe, eash 
fersonal ~rotection Sfecialist stuaent must ~ualily on the 
Vir§inia J3rivate security course of fire fer Aan8§UR Sy 
sheotin§ a minimum soore of 813%. 

2. Tho a8vanoe8 AanEigun course of fire is cernJ3rise8 of 
tfl.e....fe.l.lowing exercises: 

a. Shoot/Eion't seoot juEigfflent 

e. Tum ana fire Elrills 

c. ~ailure to sto~ Elrills 

El. Mul!ifle tar§et ~Fills 

e. JUEI§mental SRDDiiA§ 
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3. Fer all raAge ~rastisals (stage twa thre~gh stage 
fe~r), the st"aeAt will fire at a maR size silhe"ette target 
with the lsllewiA§ re~"iremeAts: 

a. 4" aiameter SiFGie iA heaa 

e. 8" aiameter sirsle iA shestleeay a<ea 

s. CeAter ~eiAts ef sirsles 13 1.'2 iAshes apaFt 

a. 1\11 re"Aas fire a m~st hit withiA these siFGies 

e. MiAim~m 92% ~"alifisatieR ssere 25 m~R!ls leta! 
re~"iriAg 23 hits 

4. SseriAg: 

a. 25 ~eiAts (1 re~Aa is geealsr 1 peiAI) 

e. 92% ef shets must ee "iA sirsle" hits lsr a passiAg 
graae (2 misses allewea eA leta! GOOf&e) 

s. Shets Ael takeR EluriAg stage fi•1e, wheA a "ne 
sheet" situatieA is ~reseAiea sseres a ~eiRI, j~sl as an 
ass~rate shet iA a heslile sit~atien. 

d. 92% is 23 ef 25 ~essiele 

5. A sertifiea ~ersenal ~reteslien spesialisl fifj!arms 
iAslr~sler must ee eA the range d~riAg all phases ef 
perseAal ~reteGtiBA S~esialisl aEJoaA<;ed haAdguR 
lraiAiA§. There shall ee eRe seFtified personal preleslieR 
spesialist firearms iAslrusler per ls~r st~deAts. 

6. VirgiAia pri'.'ale ses~rity seurse ef ~re lsr per.;enal 
pretestieA s~esialist. 

a. Stage One: SheelldeA't sheet drill Stage eRe ef the 
perseAal pretestieA spesialisl ad•1ansed handg~R 
seurse ef fire is seAd~sled iA a slassreem ~sing a 16 
mm film er viaee sasselle tape ef firearms sembal 
ssenaries te assess the sl~dent's desisien making 
sapaeility gi•leA jee relates sheeV!len'l sheet insidenls. 

Aller the iAterastieA eflhe ssenarie, the sl~denlo m~sl 
e><plain all their semmands and asllens. 

Dry fire res~ense frem a weapeA reRdered sale sheuld 
ee iAser~eratea inle the ssenarie lnlerastlen. 

e. Stage Twe: TUFA and fire Elrill 

Stage twe ef the persenal preleslien spesialisl 
a<J>.<ansea haAdg"" se"rse ef fire is held at a firing 
range ana sensists ef tum ana fire drills frem '.'al)'iRg 
distanses (straight Elraw hip helslers enly). 

1\11 hanaguns are leaded with si>< reunds ef ammunition 
and safely helstered. Sheeters are pesitiened with 
their easks te the targets, lasing the iRslrusler up 
range. The instruster will semmand all sheeters le 
wall< at a Aermal ~ase, direstly away frem the target. 
U~eA the semmaAd "fire," the st~deAts must q~kikly 
l~rA while as~"iriAg a firm grip eA the waapen. Onse 
lasing the target ana iA a stable pesitieR, they m~sl 
safely a raw ana fire ~..,e re~Aas at· the desigAaled 
target sirsle. Aller sheeting, while fasiAg the target, 
the stuaent must rehelster safely, theA turn areund le 
lase "~ raAge, ready Ia seAtiAue the eMersise .. The 
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"fire" semmaAds will be sallea at a li yaras, a 7 yarGs, 
aAd t.heA B 10 yards. 

s. Stage Three: Failure te ste~ arill 

Stage three ef the perseAal pretestieA s~eeialisl 
ad•1ansed handguA se~rse ef fire is hela at a firiAg 
raAge aAd seAsists ef lail~re te ste~ arills firea frem 
the se•leA yard liRe (straight araw hi~ holsters 9Aiyj. 

,A,II hanaguns are leadea with six reuAds ef amm"nilieA 
ana are safely helslerea. Sheeters are ~esitieAea with 
their basks te the targets, lasiAg the iAslr~ster up 
range. The iAstr~sler will semmaA<l all sheeters te 
walk at nermal pase, <lirestly away !rem the target. 
Upen the semmand "fire," gi•,•en at approximately the 
se•1eR yard liRe, eash sheeler must safely !~FA areuAa 
while as~~iriAg a firm grip eA their wea~eA as 
perlsrmed in the pre•1ie"s drill. 0Ase lasiAg the target, 
lhe st"aeAts will draw aA<l fire twe reuAas at the 8 iAsh 
eedy sirsle, aAd theA eRe imme<liate F9~Aa te the 4 
insh hea<l sirsle. The st~aent will theA safely 
rehelsler. The arill •.viii be re~eated three times. 

d. Stage Fe~r: Multi~le target iaeAtifisatieA arill 

Stage fe~r ef the perseAal pretestieA s~esialisl 
advansed haAdg~R se~rse ef fire is hela at a ~riAg 
FaRge aA<l sensists ef multi~le target ideAtifisatieA 
drills fired frem >iaryiRg dislaAS8S (straight araw hi~ 
helsters enly). 

eash sheeter will liRe up en a set ef three targets. 
Only twe sheeters at eRe time saA sem~lete this 
e><ersise en a slanaard 10 12 statieA raAge. Fle••,.e••er, 
smaller ranges may allew fer eAiy 1 sheeter at a time. 

Eash haAagun is leaaea with 6 reuAas ef ammuAitieA 
ana safely helstere<l. The sheeters are pesitieAea with 
their BaSkS 19 the targets, lasiAg the iASIF"Gier ~~ 
range. The instruster will semmaAd all sheeters te 
walk at a nermal pase, airestly away frem the targets. 
UpaA ·the eammaAd "loft," "rif:lht," ar "seAter," the 
student m~st again tum areuA<l safely while 
estaelishiAg a firm grip en the wea~eA. TheA, ense 
stable, the sl~deAI must ~~iskly araw aA<l fire 2 re~Aas 
at the designated sirsle eA the '.'sailed" target ("b," "R," 
"G"). TheA, the sheeler, while still lasiAg the targets, 
must safely rehelsler, t~rA are~A<l le lase ~p raAge, 
aAd SGAiiA"e the eKersise. eash twe reuml ~air m"st 
ee fired within 4 seseAas ef the sallea semmaAa. 
DireslieA semmaAas will ee sallea at J a yaras, a 7 
yaras, aAd theA B 10 yaras. 

e Stage Five: J~agmeAtal sheeting 

This drill sembiAeS the skills de•Jele~ea iA the ~rier 
leur stages. The sheeter will be re~"irea te safely tum 
aAd fire at a "~hetegra~h" ty~e target whish may be 
either friendly er hostile. It re~~ires hostile targets te 
ee steppea ~SiAg aeaaly lsrse. Nesessity (immediate 
jeeparay) is presumea fer this e><ersise. This stage 
allews tfle iAstruster te e•;al"ate the aesisieA makiAg 
sapability e.f the stu<lent as well as his sheetiAg 
assurasy aAd safety. 
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1>00olef-i-s---j31ace8 en the 1 e yaro line .Ia sin§ the 
instrustoF-WillHIHHafc\let to his rear. The target will be 
j>laseo at any losatien aiOAg the range target line ans 
sheulo net be seen by the stusent until he is given the 
"Hlrn" sornmano aurin§ the 8rill. Eash shooter r.as-!Re 
OWGflunity to sern~lete this 8rill leur tiA'JGG. Eash 
8esisien is worth one ~oint If he sheets at a hostile 
target, a hit anywhere en that target will ssere the 
flOinl. If a friendly target is ~resentes, it is clearly a no 
sheet situation ans the stueent sheuls'merely holster 
safely to score the praint. There is a- .fo~;~r secemf time 
limit at this stage lor an1· "sheet" situa\1en. 

The instructor may sheese \e allmv eas.h shee\er only 
\we g~~ertuni\ies \e semple\e \his erill ans piasa two 
targets sewnrange lor a ash. Feur paints er hits are 
still nesessary at this stage fer the \e\al ssere.-lf-twe 
targets are uses, then the time .limit is raised te six 
sesenes, regarsless of whether twe he stile targets are 
usee or one hostile witll one lriensl)'. Tllis alle•.vs the 
instruGter the opportunity to challenge a stronger 
shooter. 

6 VAC 20-170-890. Persenal pFetestien specialist 
advanse<l llane!JUR retraining. (Repealed.) 

1. Legal authority ans 8eGisien making 4 lleurs 

2. f1an8~un safety, rnarl<smanship an~ skill 
<levelepmen\ 4 lleurs 

Personal 13Foteotion specialist aEivanceEI ~qn,Eigt~R coldrse 
of fire total hours (net inslusing range ~ualifioatien) 8 
Roofs 

PART X. 
CERTIFIED PRIVATE SECURITY SERVICES TRAINING 

SCHOOLS ATIENDANCE AND ADMINISTRATIVE 
REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAC 20-170-930. Examination and testing. 

A. A written examination shall be administered at the 
conclusion of each entry level training session. Each 
examination shall include \lwee two questions based on each 
learning objective for the compulsory minimum training 
session. The student must attain a minimum grade of 70% to 
satisfactorily complete the training session. 

B. Firearms classroom training shall be separately tested 
and graded. Individuals must a'chieve a mil1imurif score of 
70% on the firearms classroom training examination. 

C. Failure to achieve a minimum score of 70% on the 
firearms classroom written examination will exclude the 
individual from the firearms range training. 

D. To successfully complete the firearms ·rang·e training, 
the individual must achieve a minimum quallfic8tion score of 
75% of the scoring value of the target. 

E. To successfully complete the private investigator entry 
level training session, the individual must: 

1. Complete each of the three. graded practical 
exercises required; and 

:, 2 ... Pass the written examination with a minimum score o~ 
70%1. 

F. To successfully complete the personal protection 
P.pecialist entry level training session, the individual must: 

1. Complete each of the five graded practical exercises 
required under Protective Detail Operations (the practical 
exerpises in to\al must be passed with a minimum 70% 
score and must be successfully completed prior to the 
Written examination); and 

2. Pass the written examination with a minimum score of 
70%. 

6 VAC 20-170-940. Training completion forms. 

On · forms provided by the department, each training 
director shall iSsue an original training completion form to 
each student who satisfactorily completes a training session, 
no later than seven business days following the training 
completion date. 1\ copy seal! lle retained en lile •A1lh the 
eertifieG tFainin§J schaal for a minimum sf t~ree years. 

6 VAC 20-170-950. Training completion roster. 

The school director shall submit to the department a 
pri~ate . security training roster affirming each student's 
successful completion of the session. The training 
completion roster and the applicable nonrefundable fee shall 
be received by the department within seven business days of 
the completion date of an approved the training session. 
One copy shall be retained on file with the a~~reveEI certifier 
training school for a minimum of three years. +lH. 
nenrefunEiatJie lee lor ~recessing a lrainin§ seffl~le\ien rester 
is $10 per. rester. The tiaining completion roster for each 
session must be accompanied by the applicable 
nof]rBfuQdable processing fee. 

6 VAC 20-170-960. Sanctions. 

The private security services trainin>J school director, 
training school and instructor shall be subject to disciplinary 
action for vio)ation or noncompliance with the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter. Failure to file the forms and reports 
required by the Code of Virginia and this chapter shall be a 
basis for imposition of sanctions. 

PART XI. 
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE 1\ND PROHIBITED ACTS. 

6 VAC 20-170-1.000. Prohibited acts. 

It shall be unlawful for a person to engage in any of the 
following acts. Each. of the acts listed below is cause for 
.disciplinary action: 

· 1. Violating' or aiding and abetting others in violating the 
provisions of Article 2.1 (§ 9-183.1 et seq.) of Chapter 27 
o!Title 9 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

2. Having committed any act or omission which resulted 
in a private security license or registration being 

·suspended, revoked, not renewed or being otherwise 
disctplined in any jurisdiction. 

3. Having been convicted or found guilty, regardless o 
adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States, of 
any felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 
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sexual offense, drug offense, physical injury, or property 
damage, from which no appeal is pending, the time for 
appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere 
shall be considered a conviction for the purpose of this 
chapter. The record of conviction certified or 
authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 
evidence Ui'IG-H the laws of the jurisdiction where 
convicied shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt. 

4. Failing to inform the department in writing within 30 
days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 
convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, 
drug offense, physical injury or property damage. 

5. Obtaining a license, license renewal, registration, 
registration renewal, tFaiflffi§ certification, tFaiflffi§ 
certification renewal, or certification to act as compliance 
agent for a licensee, a training school, school director, or 
instructor, through any fraud or misrepresentation. 

6. Failing or refusing to produce to the department, 
during regular business hours, for inspection or copying 
any document or record in the compliance agent's or the 
licensed firm's possession which is pertinent to the 
records required to be kept by the Code of Virginia or by 
this chapter. 

7. Engaging in conduct which through word, deed, or 
appearance falsely suggests that a private security 
registrant or employee is a law-enforcement officer or 
other government official. 

8. Failing to inform the department in writing within 30 
days after having been found guilty by any court or 
administrative body of competent jurisdiction to have 
violated the private security services business statutes or 
regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no appeal 
therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. 

9. Conducting a private security services business or 
acting as a registrant or compliance agent in such a 
manner as to endanger the public health, safety and 
welfare. 

10. Engaging in unethical, fraudulent or dishonest 
conduct. 

11. Falsifying, or aiding and abetting others in falsifying, 
training records for the purpose of obtaining a license, 
registration, certification, or certification as a compliance 
agent, training school, school director or instructor. 

12. Representing as one's own a license issued to 
another pnvate security services business or a 
registration issued to another individual, or representing 
oneself as a certified compliance agent of a licensee, 
training school, school director or instructor. 

13. Employing individuals who do not possess a valid 
registration issued by the department showing the 
registration categories required to perform one's duties. 
Individuals requiring registration as alarm respondent, 
central station dispatcher, electronic security sales 
representative or electronic security technician may be 
employed for not more than 90 days while completing 
the compulsory minimum training standards, provided 
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the individual has submitted his fingerprints on forms 
provided by the department. An application for 
registration must be received by the department within 
10 calendar days of the completion of the required 
training. 

14. Utilizing a person as an armed security officer who 
has not successfully completed the compulsory minimum 
standards for armed security officers or who does not 
have a valid firearms certification. 

15. Performing any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 
loss, injury or death to any person. 

16. If wearing while on duty the law-enforcement style or 
military style uniform of a private security licensee: 

a. Which does not have at least one insignia clearly 
identifying the name of the licensed firm employing the 
individual and, except armored car personnel, a name 
plate or tape bearing, as a minimum, the individual's 
last name and first and middle initials attached on the 
outermost garment, except rainwear worn only to 
protect from inclement weather; and 

b. Having a patch or other writing containing the word 
"police" or any other words suggesting a law­
enforcement officer, or "officer," unless used in 
conjunction with the word "security"; or resembling any 
uniform patch or insignia of any duly constituted law­
enforcement agency of this Commonwealth, its 
political subdivisions or of the federal government. 
This restriction shall not apply to individuals who are 
also duly sworn special police officers, to the extent 
that they may display words which accurately 
represent that distinction. 

17. Utilizing a vehicle for a private security services 
business which uses or displays a fiashing light not 
specifically authorized by the Code of Virginia. 

18. Using or displaying the state seal of Virginia as a 
part of any licensed firm's logo, stationery, business 
card, badge, patch, insignia or other form of identification 
or advertisement. 

19. Displaying of the uniform, badge or other insignia by 
employees of licensed firms while not on duty. 

20. DuriR~ IRe eourse of aRy ~rivale iRvesti~atioR, 
Providing information obtained by any licensed firm and 
its employees to any person other than the client who 
em~leye~ secured the services of the licensee te ostaiR 
tRat iRfermatieR, without the client's prior written consent. 
Provision of information in response to official requests 
from law-enforcement agencies, [ the courts, ] or from 
the department, shall not constitute a violation of this 
chapter. Provision of information to law-enforcement 
agencies pertinent to criminal activity or to planned 
criminal activity shall not constitute a violation of this 
chapter. 

21. The failure of a licensee's approved compliance 
agent to at all times comply with the following: 

a. Ensure that the licensed firm is at all times in full 
compliance with the Code of Virginia and this chapter; 
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b. Ensure that the documentary evidence concerning 
unarmed security officers required by§ 9-183.3 D of 
the Code of Virginia is maintained; 

c. Ensure that the documentary evidence concerning 
electronic security technician's assistant required by § 
~ 9-183.3 E of the Code of Virginia is 
maintained. 

d. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer or electronic security technicia!l's assistant in 
excess of 90 days prior to the completion of the 
compulsory minimum training standards for unarmed 
security officer or electronic security technician's 
assistant; and 

e. Maintain VSP Forms 167, training, employment and 
payroll records which document the licensed firm's 
compliance with the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

f. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unanned security 
officer for which the VSP Form-167 reveals a felony or 
misdemeanor conviction involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, drug offense, physical injury or 
property damage without written approval from the 
department. 

g. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer in excess of [ -1-W 120 1 days without the 
individual being issued a certification as an unarmed 
security officer from the department. 

22. Failure of the certified school director or certified 
instructor to comply with the following: 

a. Conduct training in compliance with the compulsory 
minimum training standards; 

b. Utilize only certified training instructors; 

c. Provide only accurate and current instruction and 
information to students; 

d. Maintain and file with the department all records 
required by the Code of Virginia and this chapter; 

e. Ensure that the certified training school is in 
compliance with the Code of Virginia and this chapter; 
or 

f. Submit training completion rosters and fees to the 
department within seven business days of the 
completion of training. 

23. Soliciting private security services business through 
advertising, business cards, bidding on contracts, or 
other means without having first obtained a private 
security services business license. 

24. Failing to carry the private security photo 
identification card at all times while on duty. 

25. Failure of an individual to present his private security 
registration photo identification card while on duty in 
response to the request of a law-enforcement officer, 
department personnel or client. [ This shall Ret apply te 

am:1ore8 sar personnel or j30rsonal j:3rotestion spesialist-s 
1 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The forms used in administering the 
Regulations Relating to Private Security Services (6 VAG 20-
170-10 et seq.) are listed below. Added, amended, or 
deleted forms are reflected on the listing. The forms are 
available for review at the office of tile Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Vil'ginia, and at the Department of Criminal 
Justice Serv;ces, 805 E. Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

Initial Lisenso Application Private Security Seruices Initial 
Business (P~£ llb 7 19:J) License Application (PSS LA 1.96) 

S"pplemental Private Ses"rity Services S"siRess bisense 
AwJiGatioo 
CeF!ifjsate sf IRsuranse (P££ llb 7 293) 

Private Ses"rity Servises 8eREl (PSS Sb 7 :JQ:J) 

Irrevocable Consent for Service (PSS 7-493) 

Fingerprint Processing Application (PSS ~p 7 94) (PSS FP 
1.96) 

Application for Compliance Agent Training and Certification 
(PSS CA 7 94) (PSS CA 1.96) 

Private Security Services Business License Renewal 
Application (PSS bR 7 94) (PSS LR 1.96) 

Application for Initial Private Security Registration~. 
Q4) (PSS RA 1.96) 

Renewal Application for Private Security Registration tpSS 
RR 7 94) (PSS RR 1.96) 

URarmeEl Sesurity Offiser TraiRing Certifisatian A~~lisatian 
(PSS UA 7 94) 

Application for Partial Exemption from the Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards for Private Security Services 
Business Personnel (PSS WA 7 94) (PSS WA 1.96) 

Private Security Training Completion Roster~ (PSS 
SA 1.96) 

Private Security Instructor Certification Application (PSS I~ 7 
94) (PSS /A 1. 96) 

Private Security Instructor Certification Renewal Application 
(P~S IR 7 94) (PSS IR 1.96) 

Complaint ~erFR Private Security Services (P8S C 0793) 
Complaint Form (PSS C 1. 96) 

/\pplisatieR far Duplicate/Replacement Photo Identification 
(PS~ ICR S 793) Application (PSS 2MP 1.96) 

Private Security General Instructor School Application tpSS 
Gl 7 94) (PSS [ Q G/111.96) 

Compliance Agent In-Service Training Enrollment (PSS CT) 
(PSS CT 1.96) 

Training Completion Form (Pi>S TCF 7 94) (PSS TCF 1.96) 

Private Security Services Certification Application (PSS UA 
1.96) 
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Private Security Services Certification Renewal Application 
(PSS UR 1.96) 

Application for Additional Registration Category (PSS IMP 
1.96) 

Notification of Private Security Services Training Session 
(PSS TN 1.96) 

Private Security Services Training School Certification 
Application (PSS TA 1.96) 

Private Security Services Traimng School Certification 
Renewal Application (PSS TR 1.96) 

General Instructor Re-Certification Training Enrollment (PSS 
Gl2 1.96) 

Private Security Personal Protection Specialist Advanced 
Fireanns Instructor School Application (PSS Fl3 1.96) 

Private Security Fireanns Instructor School Application (PSS 
F11.96) 

Fireanns Instructor Re-Certification Training Enrollment (PSS 
Fl2 1.96) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-200; Flied December 13, 1996, 10:17 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The amendments to the following 
regulation are exempt from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 C 4 (a) of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The Department of Motor Vehicles will receive, 
consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at 
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 24 VAC 20-110-10 et seq. T&M 
Vehicle, Trailer, and Motorcycle Dealer Advertising 
Practices and Enforcement Regulations. 

Statutory Authority· §§ 46.2-1991, 46.2-1992.85, and 46.2-
1993.82 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 5, 1997. 

Summarv: 

In the 1989 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly it was 
found that it is in the interest of the consuming public and 
legitimate motor vehicle dealers to ensure that the 
advertising of motor vehicles is honest, fair, and clear 
and that deceptive or misleading advertising of the retail 
sales of motor vehicles as described in Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Advertising, Article 9 (§ 46.2-1580 et seq.) of 
Chapter 15 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia should be 
prohibited. In the 1995 Acts of the Virginia General 
Assembly it was found that it is in the interest of the 
consuming public and legitimate T&M vehicle, trailer, and 
motorcycle dealers to ensure that the advertising of 
motor vehicles is honest, fair, and clear and that 
deceptive or misleading advertising of the retail sales of 
vehicles as described in T&M Vehicle Dealer Advertising, 
Chapter 19 (§ 46.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 46.2 of the 

Volume 13, Issue 8 

929 

Final Regulations 

Code of Virginia; Trailer Dealer Advertising, Chapter 19. 1 
(§ 46.2-1992 et seq.) of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia; 
and Motorcycle Dealer Advertising, Chapter 19.2 (§ 46.2-
1993 et seq.) of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia should 
be prohibited. Therefore, the T&M Vehicle, Trailer, and 
Motorcycle Dealer Advertising Practices and 
Enforcement Regulations are promulgated to administer 
the administrative and civil penalties necessary for 
enforcement of prohibited advertising practices. The 
amendments to these regulations are technical in nature. 
They serve to bring the regulations into compliance with 
law and to refer to the proper Code sections. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from L. Steve Stupasky, Department of Motor Vehicles Dealer 
Services, Department of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 27412, 
Richmond, VA 23269, telephone (804) 367-2921. 

CHAPTER 10. 
MOTOR Vei-IICbe T&M VEHICLE, TRAILER, AND 

MOTORCYCLE DEALER ADVERTISING PRACTICES AND 
ENFORCEMENT REGULATIONS FOR REGULATION 

DEVELOPMENT AND PROMULGATION. 

24 VAG 20-110-10. Intent. 

In the 1989 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly it was 
found that it is in the interest of the consuming public and 
legitimate motor vehicle dealers to insure that the advertising 
of motor vehicles is honest, fair, and clear and that deceptive 
or misleading advertising of the retail sales of motor vehicles 
as described In Motor Vehicle Dealer Advertising, Article 9 (§ 
46.2-1580 et seq.) of Chapter 15 of Title 46.2 of the Code of 
Virginia should be prohibited. In the 1995 Acts of the Virginia 
General Assembly it was found that it is in the interest of the 
consuming public and legitimate T&M vehicle, trailer, and 
motorcycle dealers to insure that the advertising of motor 
vehicles is honest, fair, and clear and that deceptive and 
misleading advertising of the retail sales of vehicles as 
described In T&M Vehicle Dealer Advertising, Chapter 19 (§ 
46.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia; Trailer 
Dealer Advertising, Chapter 19.1 (§ 46.2-1992 et seq.) of 
Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia; and Motorcycle Dealer 
Advertising, Chapter 19.2 (§ 46.2-1993 et seq.) of Title 46.2 
of the Code of Virginia should be prohibited. Therefore, the 
following regulations are promulgated to administer the 
administrative and civil penalties necessary for enforcement 
of prohibited advertising practices. 

24 VAG 20-110-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

':<\ct" means Cha~!er 1§ (§ 49.2 1§99 e! se~.) Chapters 19 
(§ 46.2-1900 et seq.), 19.1 (§ 46.2-1992 et seq.), and 19.2 (§ 
46.2-1993 et seq.) ofTitle 46.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Administrative penalties" means the denial, suspension or 
revocation of a license as allowed in § 4€l.2 Hi7€l §§ 46.2-
1986, 46.2-1992.80, and 46.2-1993.77 of the Act and based 
on one or more of the grounds specified in § 4@.2 1 a7a §§ 
46.2-1985, 46.2-1992.79, and 46.2-1996.76 of the Act. 

''Advertiser" means same as licensee. 
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"Civil penalty" means the monetary assessment imposed 
by the commissioner against a licensee not to exceed $1,000 
for any single violation of §-46.2 1§81 §§ 46.2-1900, 46.2-
1992.84, and 46.2-1993.81 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Motor Vehicles of this Commonwealth. 

"Department" means the Department of Motor Vehicles of 
this Commonwealth. 

"Disclaimer" means those words or phrases used to 
provide a clear understanding or limitation to an advertised 
statement but not used to contradict or change the meaning 
of the statement. 

"Disclosure" means a statement in clear terms of the dollar 
amounts, time frames, down payments and other terms which 
may be needed to provide a full understanding of credit 
terms, periodic payment, interest rates, time payment plans, 
etc. 

"License" means the document issued to a Virginia motor 
vehicle dealer and which permits such dealer to engage in 
the business of buying and selling new and used motor 
vehicles or used motor vehicles only. 

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association, 
corporation or entity which is required to be licensed as a 
motor vehicle dealer in this Commonwealth. 

"Line-make marketing group" means an association of 
motor vehicle dealers franchised to sell and advertise the 
same line-make of new motor vehicles. 

"Motorcycle" means every motor vehicle designed to travel 
on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, 
except any vehicle included within the term "farm vehicle" or 
"moped" as defined in§ 46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Motor vehicle" means a T&M vehicle, trailer, and 
motorcycle. 

"New motor vehicle" means a vehicle which meets all of 
the following criteria. The new motor has: 

1. Had limited use necessary in moving or road testing 
the vehicle prior to delivery to a customer; 

2. Been transferred by a manufacturer's or distributor's 
certificate of origin which is the document provided by 
the manufacturer of a new motor vehicle, or its distributor 
to its franchised motor vehicle dealer; 

3. The manufacturer's or distributor's certification that it 
conforms to all applicable federal motor vehicle safety 
and emission standards; 

4. Not been previously sold by a dealer except for the 
purpose of resale and when the exchange is between 
franchised dealers of the same line-make; 

5. Not been used as a rental, driver education, or 
demons{ration motor vehicle; and 

6. Not been used for the personal and business 
transportation of the manufacturer, distributor or dealer 
or any of their employees. 

"Repossessed vehicle" means a vehicle which meets all of 
the following criteria. It has: 

1. Been sold, titled, registered, and taken back from a 
purchaser; and 

2. Not yet been resold to an ultimate user. 

"Sale" means there is a significant reduction from the 
advertiser's usual and customary price of a motor vehicle and 
the offer is for a limited period of time. 

"T&M vehicle" means motor homes and travel trailers as 
defined in§ 46.2-1900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Trailer'' means every vehicle without motive power 
designed for carrying properly or passengers wholly on its 
own structure and for being drawn by a motor vehicle, 
including semitrailers but not mobile homes, sales of which 
are regulated under Chapter 4. 2 (§ 36-85. 16 et seq.) of Title 
36 of the Code of Virginia, and not (i) watercraft as defined in 
this section or (ii) travel trailers as defined in§ 46.2-1900 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Used motor vehicle" means any vehicle other than a new 
motor vehicle as defined in this chapter. 

24 VAG 20-110-30. Practices. 

For purposes of this chapter, a violation of the following 
regulated advertising practices shall be an unfair, deceptive, 
or misleading act or practice. 

A. New motor vehicle. A motor vehicle shall not be 
advertised as new, either by word or implication, unless it i' 
one which conforms to the definition of a "new motor vehicle" 
as defined in J>afl-124 VAG 20-110-20. 

B. Used motor vehicle. 

1. The fact that a motor vehicle is used shouid be clearly 
and unequivocally expressed by the term "used" or by 
such other term as is commonly understood to mean that 
the vehicle is used. For example, "special purchase" by 
itself is not a satisfactory disclosure; however, such 
terms as "demonstrator" or "former leased and/or rental 
vehicles" used alone clearly express that they meet the 
definition of a used vehicle for advertising purposes. 
When in doubt, the dealer should provide more 
information or simply say "used." 

2. Once a certificate of origin as defined in § 4@.2 1600 
§§ 46.2-1900, 46.2-1992, or 46.2-1993 of the Code of 
Virginia has been assigned to a purchaser, the motor 
vehicle becomes a used vehicle and must be advertised 
as such. 

C. Finance charges or interest rates advertisements. 

1. Advertisements of finance charges or other interest 
rates "below market" (or words to that effect) shall not be 
used unless it is manufacturer or distributor sponsored or 
sub&tantiated by a written agreement with the finance 
source. 

2. Advertisement of finance charges or other intereF' 
rates shall not be used when there is a cost to buy-dow 
said charge or rate which is passed on, in whole or in 
part, to the purchaser. 
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D. Terms, conditions, and disclaimers. 
1. When terms, conditions or disclaimers are used, 
they shall always be stated clearly and conspicuously. 
An asterisk or other reference symbol may be used to 
point to a disclaimer or other information; but, the 
disclaimer shall not be used as a means of 
contradicting or changing the meaning of an 
advertised statement. In addition, they must meet the 
Federal Trade Commission Truth in Lending Act 
Requirements 15 USC§§ 1601 et seq., 12 CFR 226 
(Regulation Z) or the Federal Trade Commission Truth 
in Leasing Act Requirements, as applicable. 

2. In all printed media, where terms, conditions or 
disclaimers are used, they shall be clearly and 
conspicuously visible and printed in not less than 6-point 
upper case type print. When billboards, portable signs, 
posters, etc., are used, all terms, conditions or 
disclaimers need to be displayed and phrased in a 
manner which is clear and conspicuous. 

3. In radio ads, where terms, conditions or disclaimers 
are used, they shall be clearly announced during the ad. 
They must be explained clearly and at an 
understandable speed and volume level. 

4. In television ads, where terms, conditions or 
disclaimers are used, they shall be clearly and 
conspicuously displayed or announced, or both, during 
the ad. They shall be at an understandable speed or 
understandable volume level, or both. 

E. Sale or sales. The expiration date of an advertised 
"sale" shall be clearly and conspicuously disclosed. If the 
sale exceeds 30 days, the advertiser should be prepared to 
substantiate that the offering is indeed a valid reduction and 
has not become his regular price. 

F. "List price, 11 "sticker price," "suggested retail price." 
These terms and similar terms shall be used only as follows: 

1. In reference to the manufacturer's or distributor's 
suggested retail price for new vehicles; or 

2. The dealer's own usual and customary price for used 
vehicles. 

G. "Cost" and "invoice price" terms. 

1. "At cost," "below cost," 11$ off cost" shall not be used in 
advertisements because of the difficulty in determining a 
dealer's actual net cost at the time of sale. 

2. "Invoice price," "$ over invoice," may be used, 
provided that the invoice referred to is the manufacturer's 
factory invoice, distributor's invoice, or a bona fide bill of 
sale, as applicable, and that it is available for customer 
inspection. 

3. "Manufacturer's factory invoice" or "distributor's 
invoice" means that document supplied by the 
manufacturer or the distributor listing the manufacturer's 
or distributor's charge to the dealer before any 
deduction for items such as holdback, group advertising, 
factory incentives or rebates, or any governmental 
charges. 
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H. Price or credit terms of advertised vehicles. When the 
price or credit terms of a vehicle are advertised in print, radio, 
or television, the vehicle should be fully identified as to year, 
make, and model. In addition, in all advertisements placed 
by individual dealers and not marketing groups, the stated 
price or credit terms shall include all charges which the buyer 
must pay to the seller including "freight" or "destination 
charges." If there are deferred payments on credit sales 
where accrued finance charges are ultimately charged to the 
consumer for any part of the deferred period, then these 
charges must be clearly stated. State and local fees and 
taxes need not be included in the stated price. If the buyer 
will be required to pay to the seller charges which increase 
the advertised price, the charges must be disclosed and 
priced in the advertisement. 

I. Matching or bettering competitor's price ads. 
Advertisements which set out a policy matching or bettering 
a competito~s price shall not be used unless the terms of the 
offer are specific, verifiable, and reasonable. All terms of the 
offer shall be included in the disclosure and disclaimer area 
and may not say such things as "rules or terms available in 
showroom" or "available before delivery." You must fully 
disclose as a part of the ad any material or significant 
conditions which must be met or the evidence the consumer 
must present to take advantage of the offer. 

J. Advertisements of dealer rebates shall not be used. 
Offers to match down payments or guarantee minimum trade­
in allowances are forms of dealer rebates. 

K. "Free," "at no extra cost" terms. In a negotiated sale no 
"free," "at no cost" (or any words to that effect) offer of 
equipment, accessory, other merchandise or service, shall be 
made. No equipment, accessory, other merchandise or 
service shall be described as "free" or "at no cost, 11 if its cost, 
or any part of its cost, is included in the price of the vehicle, 
or if the vehicle can be purchased for a lesser price without 
accepting the free offer, or if a purchase is required in order 
to receive the free offer. 

L. "Bait advertising" shall not be used. 

1. The purpose of this section is to ensure that 
customers will be informed the vehicle is in limited 
quantity or availability. If a specific vehicle is advertised, 
the seller shall be in possession of a reasonable supply 
of said vehicles and they shall be available at the 
advertised price. If the advertised vehicle is available 
only in limited numbers or only by order, that shall be 
stated in the ad. The listing of vehicles by stock 
numbers or vehicle identification numbers is permissible 
and is one means of satisfactorily disclosing a limitation 
of availability, provided a separate number is used for 
each vehicle. For new vehicles, if the offer is limited, you 
will be able to say such things as "in stock" or "will order" 
provided you can order the vehicle just as advertised and 
delivery can be assured as soon as the manufacturer or 
distributor can confirm the order and deliver it to your 
dealership. If you cannot get an order confirmation 
within 30 days, you must refund all moneys collected 
from the buyer at his request. If the vehicle is available 
only by order then it must be clearly and conspicuously 
disclosed in the advertisement. · 
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2. Advertising a vehicle at a certain wice (including "as 
low as" stcA:'\fYI8nl!_;), but hsvino ~::.-vGJilable for z.ale only 
vehicles ec;uippcd wiii·l dealer added cost "options" 
which increase the Gelling price above the adveitised 
price, rnay also be considered "bait advertising." 

3. If a lease payment is adve1iised, the fact that it is a 
lease arrangement shall be disclosed. 

M. The term "repossessed vehicle" shall not be used 
unless the full criteria of the definition in 24 VAG 20 1 '10 10 
24 VAG 20-110-20 is met. Advertisers offering such vehicles 
for sale shall provide proof of repossession upon request. 

N. "Finance" or "loan." Words such as "finance" or "loan" 
shall not be used in a motor vehicle dealer advertiser's firm 
name or trade name, unless that person is actually engaged 
in the financing of motor vehicles. 

0. "Special arrangement or relationship" advertisements. 
Statements such as "big volume buying power," 
''manufacturer's outlet," "factory authorized outlet," and 
"factory wholesale outlet," shall not be used. Any term that 
gives the consumer the impression the dealer has a special 
arrangement with the manufacturer or distributor as 
compared to similarly situated dealers, is misleading and 
shall not be used. 

P. Records retention. Advertisers shall maintain the 
original or a clear facsimile copy of all ads in a manner that 
permits systematic retrieval for a period of 60 days 
subsequent to the expiration date of the advertisement. 

24 VAG 20-110-40. Administrative and civil penalties. 

A. Violations of any regulated advertising practice may, ·in 
the discretion of the commissioner, be addressed by a written 
warning to the licensee as an initial step in the enforcement 
process. 

B. Any single violation of a regulated advertising practice 
may also, after an informal fact finding proceeding as 
provided in the Administrative Process Act,§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia, result in an assessment of a civil 
penalty up to $1,000. 

C. Subsequent, same or similar violations may, after an 
informal fact finding proceeding as provided in the 
Administrative Process Act,§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia, result in an assessment of a civil penalty up to the 
$1,000 and may also be grounds for denying, suspending or 
revoking a license subject to the hearing requirements 
pursuant to § 46.2 1576 §§ 46.2-1986, 46.2-1992.80, and 
46.2-1993.77 of the Act, either or both. 

24 VAG 20-110-50. Appeals. 

The action of the department in suspending, revoking or 
refusing any license or in imposing a monetary civil penalty 
against the licensee shall be subject to judicial review as 
provided in §§ 48.2 1577 §§ 46.2-1987, 46.2-1992.81, and 
46.2-1993.78 and 4§2 1§78 §§ 46.2-1988, 46.2-1992.82, 
and 46.2-1993.79 of the Act. 

24 VAG 20-110-60. Other enforcement. 

This chapter and the provisions of MiG!e-9-f§-46.2 1 §SQ et 
se<r.) Chapter 19 (§ 46.2-1900 et seq.), Chapter 19.1 (§ 46.2-

1992 et seq.), and Chapter 19.2 (§ 46.2-1993 et seq.) 
Gf<aplm-'1{;--el Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be '· 
addition to and not a substitute for the powers and authority 
granted pursuant to the provisions of the Virginia Consumer 
Protection Act(§ 59.1-196 et seq.) or of any other provision 
of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-207 Filed December 17, 1996, 11:59 a.m. 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Chapter 767 of the 1995 Virginia Acts of 
Assembly separated the regulation of motor vehicle dealers 
from the regulation of trailers, semitrailers, and motorcycles 
(T&M vehicle) dealers. T&M vehicle dealers continue to be 
regulated under the Department of Motor Vehicles and the 
regulation of other vehicle dealers is vested with a newly 
created Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. The third enactment of 
Chapter 767 continued in effect for the Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Board regulations promulgated by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles. The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board took official action 
to adopt the regulations of the Department of Motor Vehicles 
in the area of motor vehicle dealer advertising and the board 
also adopted the department's public participation guidelines. 

Although the following regulations are derived from 24 VAG 
20-10-10 et seq. and 24 VAG 20-110-10 et seq., respectively, 
the regulations are being shown as all new language with 
new numbers assigned to associate the regulations with the 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. The amendments to to· 
regulations are exempt from the Administrative Process I 
in accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 C 4 (a) of the Code c 
Vfrginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency 
discretion is involved. The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will 
receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 24 VAG 22-10-10 et seq. Public 
Participation Guidelines. 

Statutory Authority: § 9-6.14:7.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: Fellruary 5, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The board adopted these regulations to provide a 
process for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 
formation and development of regulations. The 
guidelines set out any methods for the identification and 
notification of interested parties, and any specific means 
of seeking input from interested persons or groups which 
the agency intends to use in addition to the Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action. The guidelines set out a 
general policy for the use of standing or ad hoc advisory 
panels and consultation with groups and individuals 
registering interest in working with the agency, and 
address the circumstances in which the agency 
considers such panels or consultation appropriate and 
intends to make sue of such panels or consultation. Thr 
amendments to these regulations are technical in natw 
and serve primarily to bring the regulations to refer to tt., 
proper entities (i.e., changing "department" to "board'). 
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Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Peggy R. Bailey, Motor Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 
West Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond, Virginia, 23220, 
telephone (804) 367-1100. 

PART/. 
GENERAL PURPOSE. 

24 VAG 22-10-10. General purpose. 

In developing any regulation it proposes, the Motor Vehicle 
Deafer Board (board) is committed to soliciting input and 
comment from interested citizens, professional associations, 
and industry representatives. Such input and participation 
will be actively solicited by the board pursuant to the 
Administrative Process Act, Chapter 1.1:1 (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.) 
of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia. 

Any person who is interested in participating in the 
regulation development process should notify the board 111 
writing. Such notification of interest should be sent to the 
Executive Director, Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. 

PART II. 
/DENT/FICA T/ON OF INTERESTED PARTIES. 

24 VAC 22-10-20. Identification ofinterested parties. 

Prior to the development of any regulation; the board will · 
identify persons whom it feels would be interested or affected 
by the proposal. The methods for identifying interested 
parties will include, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. Obtain annually from the Secretary of the 
Commonwealth a fist of all persons, groups, associations 
and others who have registered as. lobbyists for the 
annual General Assembly session. · 

2. Identify industry and professional associations from 
the statewide listing of business, professional, civic and 
charitable associations and societies in Virginia 
published by the Virginia Chamber of Commerce. 

3. Utilize internal mailing lists of persons,. organizations, 
groups, and agencies that have expressed an interest in 
advising and assisting in the development of regulations. 
Also utilize lists of those who have pa.vious/y raised 
questions or expressed an interest in the subject matter 
under consideration pursuant to 24 VAC 22-10-10, or 
through requests for fonnal rulings or administrative 
appeals. At the discretion of the executive director, 
these fists may be maintained on a program-specific 
basis or be of a general-interest basis. These lists will 
be updated on a regular basis to include any new 
interested parties. 

PART Ill. 
NOT/FICA TION OF INTERESTED PARTIES .. 

24 VAG 22-10-30. Generally. 

The board will prepare a Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action (Fonn RR01) ("notice'J prior to the development of any 
regulation. The notice will identify the subject matter and 
purpose for the development of the new regulation or 
regulations. The notice will state that the board plans to hold 
a public hearing on the proposed regulatio!' after the 
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proposed regulation is published. It also will state the 
statutory authority under which they are promulgated, and will 
specify a time deadline for receipt of responses from persons 
interested in participating 111 the development process. The 
name, address, and telephone number of an agency contact 
will belnc/uded in the notice. 

24VAC 22-10-40. Dissemination ofnob"ce. .,_, 

The methods for disseminating the notice to the public will 
include, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. Send notice to individuals or groups identified in 24 
VAC 22-10-20 as interested or potentially affected 
parties. 

2. Publish the notice in the Virginia Register of 
RegUlations. 

3. Request that industry, professional associations, and 
other groups to whom the notice is sent publish such 
notice in newsletters or journals or use any other means 
available to them . to disseminate the notice to their 
memberships. 

4. Invite participation from the general public through the 
publication of a Notice of Intent in a newspaper of 

. general circulation published in the state capital and, if 
necessary, in other general circulation newspapers. 

5. The notification process delineated in this section 
does not apply to emergency regulations, which are 
excluded from the operation of Article 2 (§ 9-6. 14:7. 1 et 
seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia. 

PART IV. 
REGULATION DEVELOPMENT. 

24 VAC 22-10:50. Response to notice. 

· After interested parties have responded to the notice, the 
board may schedule infonnaf meetings prior to the 
development.- of any regulation to detennine the specific 
areas of interest or concern and to gather factual infonnation 
on the ~wbject matter o( the regulation. F01m RR06, Notice of 
Meeting, Will be used for this purpose. Alternatively, the 
boilrd may request that persons who have responded to the 
notice· Submit written comments, concerns and suggestions 
about oro/1 the proposed regulation. 

. 24 VAG 22-10-60. Establishment of advisory panel. 

When appropriate, the board will utilize an ad hoc advisory 
panel comprised of board representatives, persons who have 
previously participated in public proceedings on similar 
subjects, or selected individuals who responded to a Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action, newsletter or special mailing. 
The board will consider the use of an advisory panel to be 
appropriate whenever individuals request, in writing, to be 
involved directly in the development and promulgation of 
regulations or whenever the board detennines that the 
s!Jbject matter of the regu)ations can be better addressed by 

·· pei-sons"from outside the board who are willing and able to 
· participate directly in the promulgation process. The panel 

will discuss the issues and make recommendations which will 
be considered in drafting regulations. Once the regulations 
have been developed, the panel will review them and 
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continue to participate during the promulgation process as 
directed by the Administrative Process Act. 

24 VAG 22-10-70. Preparation of proposed regulation. 

At its discretion, the board will draft the proposed 
regulation prior to or during any opportunities it provides to 
the public to submit input. In certain instances where the 
technical nature of the subject matter merits, the board may 
request that industry or professional groups develop a 
working draft. A copy of thiS draft will be furnished to all 
persons who responded to the notice indicating an interest in 
the regulation and to those persons participating in the initial 
comment phase of the development process. Persons to 
whom a copy of the working draft is furnished will be invited 
to submit written comments on the draft. If the response 
warrants, additional informal meetings may be held to discuss 
the working draft. 

24 VAG 22-10-80. Submission of proposed reg(.llalion 
submission package. 

Upon the conclusion of the development process, all 
proposed regulations will be subject to t/le most recent 
review procedures published by the Governor. After this 
review, the board will prepare a proposed regulation 
submission package for submission to the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations. The package will include: 

1. Notice of Comment Period (Form RR02) (3 copies); 

2. Proposed Regulation Transmittal Sheet (Form RR03) 
(3 copies); 

3. A statement of basis, purpose, substance, issues and 
impact (2 copies); 

4. A summary of the regulation (2 copies); 

5. Double-spaced text of the proposed regulation (2 
copies); and 

6. Reporting forms used in administering the regulation, 
if any (2 copies). 

Once the Registrar receives all the required documents 
and appropriate number of copies, the proposed regulation, 
summary and notice of opportunity for oral and written 
submittals on the proposed regulation will be pu!)lished in the 
"Proposed Regulation" section of the Virginia Register. 

At the same time that the regulations are filed with the 
Registrar's office, the board will file Form RR09, RegL!Iation 
Review Summary, and a copy of the proposed regulations to 
the Department of Planning and Budget and to the 
Governor's office. 

The notice of comment period will appear in each issue of 
the Virginia Register until the public hearing date or 60-day 
written comments deadline has elapsed, whichever pcc.urs 
last. The summary, provided with the Notice of Comment 
Period form •. will be printed in a newspaper of general 
circulation published in the state capital and, in addition, 
similarly published in newspapers in localities particularly 
affected by the proposed regulations. 

24 VAG 22-10-90. Review of proposed regulation after 
publication. 

The following types of review will occur after the publication 
of the proposed regulations: 

1. Agency review. The board will compare the 
· published copy of the regulation with the agency copy. 

Corrections will be filed with the Registrar. 

2. Gubernatorial review. During the 60-day notice of 
comment period, the Governor will review the proposed 
regulations. The Governor will transmit comments on 
the regulations to the Registrar and the agency. These 
comments will be published in The Virginia Register. 
The board will respond to the Governor's comments 
pursuant to§ 9-6. 14:9. 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The appropriate standing committee of each branch of the 
General Assembly may meet during the promulgation or final 
adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar and 
the promulgating agency. The board will respond to the 
objection pursuant to§ 9-6.14:9.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

24 VAG 22-10-100. Final regulations submission package. 

When the notice of comment period has elapsed, the board 
may take action on the proposed regulations, and will again 
submit for publication the text of the regulation as adopted, 
explaining any substantial changes in the final regulation, 
along with an up-to-date basis, purpose, substance, issues 
and impact statement. A 30-day final adoption period will 
begin upon publication in The Virginia Register. The 
package will contain: 

1. Final Regulation Transmittal Sheet (Form RR04) (3 
copies); 

2. Statement of final agency action (2 copies); 

3. Explanation of substantial changes; 

4. Summary of public comments and agency's 
responses (2 copies); 

5. Summary of regulation; 

6. Statement of basis, purpose, substance, issues and 
impact (2 copies); 

7. Double-spaced text of final regulation (2 copies); and 

8. Reporting forms used in administering the final 
reg(.llation, if any. 

At the same time that the regulations are filed with the 
Registrar's office, the Department of Planning and Budget 
and the Governor's office will receive copies of the final 
regulations. Copies of the board's draft summary description 
of public comment will be sent by the board to all public 
commenters on the proposed regulation at least five days 
before the final adoption of the regulation. 

24 VAG 22-10-110. Petitions relating to regulatory actions. 

The agency regulatory coordinator will establish a 
committee within the board to review, consider and respond 
to (i) all petitions received by the board requesting that it 
develop a new regulation or amend an existing one; or (ii) 
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those petitions received by the board, within 30 days from the 
publication of the final regulation, that request the opportunity 
for oral and written submittals relating to those changes with 
substantial impact that have occurred from the time it is 
published as a proposed regulation to its publication as a 
final regulation. Responses to those petitions requesting new 
or amended regulations will be made within 180 days from 
the day the petition is received by the board. 

When petitions requesting the opportunity for oral or written 
submittals are received from at least 25 persons within 30 
days from the publication of the final regulation, the board will 
suspend the regulatory process in question for 30 days to 
solicit public comment, unless the board detennines in the 
committee meetings that the changes are minor and 
inconsequential in their impact. 

PARTV. 
EFFECTIVE DATE. 

24 VAG 22-10-120. Effective date. 

The final regulation will become effective 30 days after it is 
published in The Virginia Register, or a later date, if specified. 
If there are gubernatorial or legislative objections, the 
procedures specified in the Administrative Process Act, § 9-
6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, will be followed. 

PART VI. 
REGULA T/ON A VAILAt;JILITY. 

24 VAG 22-10-130. Availability affinal regulation. 

The board will make available to the public copies of the 
adopted regulations, together with the summary of the public 
comments and the board's responses. The Governor's 
comments and the board's responses also will be aval1able to 
the public. Copies of the final regulations will be sent to all 
interested parties who have specifically requested them. 

PART VII. 
FORMS. 

24 VAG 22-10-140. Fonns. 

The Registrar of Regulations develops the fonns 
referenced in these guidelines and may change them. 
Copies of fonns in current use may be obtained from the 
Registrar's office or from the board by request. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97~208; Filed December 17, 1996, 11:57 a.m 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 24 VAC 22-30-10 et seq. Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Advertising Practices and Enforcement 
Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1581 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 5, 1997. 

Summary: 

In the 1989 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly it was 
found that it is in the interest of the consuming public and 
legitimate motor vehicle dealers to ensure that the 
adverlising of motor vehicles is honest, fair, and clear 
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and that deceptive or misleading advertising to the retal1 
sales of motor vehicles as described in Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Advertising, Atticle 9 (§ 46.2-1580 et seq.) of 
Chapter 15 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia should be 
prohibited. In the 1995 Acts of the Virginia General 
Assembly it was found that it is in the interest of the 
consuming public and legitimate motor vehicle dealers 
for dealers to be regulated by a board of their peers, 
resulting in the fonnation of the Virginia Motor Vehicle 
Dealer floard. Therefore, the Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Advertising Practices and Enforcement Regulations are 
adopted by the board to administer the administrative 
and civil penalties necessary for enforcement of 
prohibited advertising practices. The amendments to 
these regulations are technical in nature. They serve to 
bring the regulations into compliance with law. For 
example, the Code of Virginia requires that "the amount 
of any such processing fee and freight or destination 
charge not included in the advertised price" be printed in 
not less than eight-point boldface type. The "6-poinl 
upper case type print" reference in the regulations must 
be changed to comply with the statute change. The 
amendments a/so serve to refer to the proper entities 
(i.e., changing "department" to "board'J. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Peggy R. Bailey, Motor Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 
West Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond, Virginia, 23220, 
telephone (804) 367-1100. 

CHAPTER30. 
MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER ADVERTISING PRACTICES 

AND ENFORCEMENT REGULATIONS. 

PART/. 
GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

24 VAG 22-30-10. Intent. 

In the 1989 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly it was 
found that it is in the interest of the consuming public and 
legitimate motor vehicle dealers to ensure that the advertising 
of motor vehicles is honest, fair, and clear and that deceptive 
or misleading advertising of the retail sales of motor vehicles 
as described in Motor Vehicle Dealer Advertising, Arlicle 9 (§ 
46.2-1580 et seq.) of Chapter15 of Title 46.2 of the Code of 
Virginia should be prohibited. In the 1995 Acts of the Virginia 
General Assembly it was found that it is in the interest of the 
consuming public and legitimate motor vehicle dealers for 
dealers to be regulated by a board of their peers, resulting in 
the fonnation of the Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer floard. 
Therefore, the following regulations are promulgated by the 
board to administer the administrative and civil penalties 
necessary for enforcement of prohibited advertising 
practices. 

24 VAG 22-30-20. Definitions. 

The following words and tenns, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means Chapter 15 (§ 46.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 46.2 
of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Administrative penalties" means the denial, suspension or 
revocation of a license as aFowed in§ 46.2-1576 of the Act 
and based on one or more of the grounds specified in § 46.2-
1575 of the Act. 

''Adverliser" means same as licensee. 

"Board" means the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board of this 
Commonwealth. 

"Civil penalty" means the monetary assessment imposed 
by the board or the executive director against a licensee not 
to exceed $1,000 for any single violetion of§ 46.2-1581 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Disclaimer" means those words or phrases used to 
provide a clear understanding or limitation to an advertised 
statement but not used to contradict or change the meaning 
of the statement. 

"Disclosure" means a statement in clear terms of the dollar 
amounts, time frames, down pilyments and other tenns which 
may be needed to provide a full understanding of credit 
tenns, periodic payment, interest rates, time pa'yment plans, 
etc. 

"Executive director" means the Executive Director of the 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board of this Commonwealth. 

"License" means the document issued tO a Virginia motor 
vehicle dealer and which permits such dealer to engage in 
the business of buying and selling new and used motor 
vehicles or used motor vehicles only. 

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association, 
corporation or entity which is required to be licensed as a 
motor vehicle dealer in this Commonwealth. 

"Line-make marketing group" means an association of 
motor vehicle dealers franchised to sell and advertise the 
same line-make of new motor vehicles. 

"New motor vehicle" means a vehicle which meets all of 
the following criteria. The new motor vehicle has: 

1. Had limited use necessary in moving or road testing 
the· vehicle prior to delivery to a customer; 

2. Been transferred by a manufacturer's or distributor's 
certificate of origin which is the document provided by 
the manufacturer of a new motor vehicle, or its distributor 
to its franchised motor vehicle dealef-; 

3. The manufacturer's or distributor's certification that it 
conforms to all applicable federal motor vehicle safety 
and emission standards,· 

4. Not been previously sold by a dealer except for the 
purpose of resale and when the exchange is between 
franchised dealers of the same line-make; 

5. Not been used as a rental, driver education, or 
demonstration motor vehicle; and 

6. Not been used for the personal and business 
transportation of the manufacturer, distributor or dealer 
or any of their employees. 

"Repossessed vehicle" means a vehicle which meets all of 
the following criteria. It has: 

1. Been sold, titled, registered, and taken back from a 
purchaser; and 

2. Not yet been resold to an ultimate user. 

"Sale" means there is a significant reduction from the 
advertiser's usual and customary price of a motor vehicle and 
the offer is for a limited period of time. 

"Used motor vehicle" means any vehicle other than a new 
motor vehicle as defined in this chapter. 

PART /1. 
REGULA TED ADVERTISING PRACTICES. 

24 VAG 22-30-30. Practices. 

For purposes of this chapter, a violation of the following 
regulated advertising practices shall be an unfair, deceptive, 
or misleading act or practice. 

A. New motor vehicle. A motor vehicle shall not be 
advertised as new, either by word or implication, unless it is 
one which conforms .fo the definition of a "new motor vehicle" 
as defined in 24 VAG 22-30-20. 

B. Used motor vehicle. 

1. The fact that a motor vehicle is used should be clearly 
and unequivocally expressed by the term "used" or by 
such other term as is commonly understood to mean that 
the vehicle is used. For example, "special purchase" by 
itself is not a satisfactory disclosure; however, such 
terms as "demonstrator'' or "former leased and/or rental 
vehicles" used alone clearly express that they meet the 
definition of a used vehicle for advertising purposes. 
When in doubt, the dealer should provide more 
information or simply say "used." 

2. Once a certificate of origin as defined in§ 46.2-1500 
has been assigned to a purchaser, the motor vehicle 
becomes a used vehicle and must be advertised as 
such. 

C. Finance charges or interest rates advertisements. 

1. Advertisements of finance charges or other interest 
rates "below market" (or words to that effect) shall not be 
used unless it is manufacturer or distributor sponsored or 
substantiated by a written agreement with the finance 
source. 

2. Advertisement of finance charges or other interest 
rates shall not be used when there is a cost to buy-down 
said charge or rate which is passed on, in whole or in 
part, to the purchaser. 

D. Terms, conditions, and disclaimers. 

1. When terms, conditions or disclaimers are used, they 
shall always be stated clearly and conspicuously. An 
asterisk or other reference symbol may be used to point 
to a disclaimer or other information; but, the disclaimer 
shall not be used as a means of contradicting or 
changing the meaning of an advertised statement. In 
addition, they must meet the Federal Trade Commission 
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Truth in Lending Act Requirements 15 USC§§ 1601 et 
seq., 12 CFR 226 (Regulation Z) or the Federal Trade 
Commission Truth in Leasing Act Requirements, as 
applicable. 

2. In all printed media, where terms, conditions or 
disclaimers are used, they shall be clearly and 
conspicuously visible and printed in not less than 6-point 
upper case type print. If a processing fee or freight or 
destination charges are not included in the advertised 
price, the amount of any such processing fee and freight 
or destination charge must be clearly and conspicuously 
disclosed in not less than eight-point boldface type. 
When billboards, portable signs, posters, etc., are used, 
all terms, conditions or disclaimers need to be displayed 
and phrased in a manner which is clear and 
conspicuous. 

3. In radio ads, where terms, conditions or disclaimers 
are used, they shall be clearly announced during the ad. 
They must be explained clearly and at an 
understandable speed and volume level. 

4. In television ads, where terms, conditions or 
disclaimers are used, they shall be clearly and 
conspicuously displayed or announced, or both, during 
the ad. They shall be at an understandable speed or 
understandable volume level, or both. 

E. Sale or sales. The expiration date of an advertised 
"sale" shall be clearly and conspicuously disclosed. If the 
sale exceeds 30 days, the advertiser should be prepared to 
substantiate that the offering is indeed a valid reduction and 
has not become his regular price. 

F. "List price," "sticker price," "suggested retail price." 
These terms and similar terms shall be used only as follows: 

1. In reference to the manufacturers or distributors 
suggested retail price for new vehicles; or 

2. The dealers own usual and customary price for used 
vehicles. 

G. "Cost" and "invoice price" terms. 

1. "At cost, 11 "below cost," "$ off cost" shall not be used 
in advertisements because of the difficulty in determining 
a dealers actual net cost at the time of sale. 

2. "Invoice price," "$ over invoice," may be used, 
provided that the invoice referred to is the manufacturers 
factory invoice, distributors invoice, or a bona fide bill of 
sale, as applicable, and that it IS available for customer 
inspection. 

3. "Manufacturers factory invoice" or "distributors 
invoice" means that document supplied by the 
manufacturer or the distributor listing the manufacturers 
or distributors charge to the dealer before any 
deduction for items such as holdback, group advertising, 
factory incentives or rebates, or any governmental 
charges. 

H. Price or credit terms of advertised vehicles. When the 
price or credit terms of a vehicle are advertised in print, radio, 
or television, the vehicle should be fully identified as to year, 
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make, and model. In addition, in all advertisements placed 
by individual dealers and not marketing groups, the staled 
price or credit terms shall include all charges which the buyer 
must pay to the seller including "freight" or "destination 
charges." If there are deferred payments on credit sales 
where accrued finance charges are ultimately charged to the 
consumer for any part of the deferred period, then these 
charges must be clearly stated. State and local fees and 
taxes need not be included in the stated price. If the buyer 
will be required to pay to the seller charges which increase 
the advertised price, the charges must be disclosed and 
priced in the advertisement. 

I. Matching or bettering competitors price ads. 
Advertisements which set out a policy matching or bettering 
a competitors price shall not be used unless the terms of the 
offer are specific, verifiable, and reasonable. All terms of the 
offer shall be included in the disclosure and disclaimer area 
and may not say such things as "rules or terms available in 
showroom" or "available before delivery." You must fully 
disclose as a part of the ad any material or significant 
conditions which must be met or the evidence the consumer 
must present to take advantage of the offer. 

J. Advertisements of dealer rebates shall not be used. 
Offers to match down payments or guarantee minimum trade­
in allowances are forms of dealer rebates. 

K. "Free," "at no extra cost" terms. In a negotiated safe no 
"free," "at no cost" (or any words to that effect) offer of 
equipment, accessory, other merchandise or service, shall be 
made. No equipment, accessory, other merchandise or 
service sha/J be described as "free" or "at no cost," if its cost, 
or any part of its cost, is included in the price of the vehicle, 
or if the vehicle can be purchased for a lesser price without 
accepting the free offer, or if a purchase is required in order 
to receive the free offer. 

L. "Bait advertising" shall not be used. 

1. The purpose of this section is to ensure that 
customers will be informed the vehicle is in limited 
quantity or availability. If a specific vehicle is advertised, 
the seller shall be in possession of a reasonable supply 
of said vehicles and they shall be available at the 
advertised price. If the advertised vehicle is available 
only in limited numbers or only by order, that shall be 
slated in the ad. The listing of vehicles by stock 
numbers or vehicle identification numbers is permissible 
and is one means of satisfactorily disclosing a limitation 
of availability, provided a separate number is used for 
each vehicle. For new vehicles, 1f the offer is limited, you 
will be able to say such things as "in stock" or "will order' 
provided you can order the vehicle just as advertised 
and delivery can be assured as soon as the 
manufacturer or distributor can confirm the order and 
deliver it to your dealership. If you cannot get an order 
confirmation within 30 days, you must refund all moneys 
collected from the buyer at his request. If the vehicle is 
available only by order then it must be clearly and 
conspicuously disclosed in the advertisement. 

2. Advertising a vehicle at a certain price (1nclud1ng "as 
low as" statements), but having available for sale only 
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vehicles equipped with dealer added cost "options" 
which increase the selling price above the advertised 
price, may also be considered "bait advertising." 

3. If a lease payment is advertised. the fact that it is a 
lease arrangement shall be disclosed. 

M. The tenn "repossessed vehicle" shall not be used 
unless the full criteria of the definition in 24 VAG 22-30-20 is 
met. Advertisers offering such vehicles for sale shall provide 
proof of repossession upon request. 

N. "Finance" or "loan." Words such as "finance" or "loan" 
shall not be used in a motor vehicle dealer advertiser's finn 
name or trade name unless that person is actually engaged 
in the financing of motor vehicles. 

0. "Special arrangement or relationship" advertisements. 
Statements such as "big volume buying power," 
"manufacturers outlet," "factory authorized outlet," and 
"factory wholesale outlet." shall not be used. Any tenn that 
gives the consumer the impression the dealer has a special 
arrangement with the manufacturer or distributor as 
compared to similarly situated dealers, is misleading and 
shall not be used. 

P. Records retention. Advertisers shall maintain the 
original or a clear facsimile copy of" all ads in a manner that 
pennits systematic retrieval for a period of 60 days 
subsequent to the expiration date of the advertisement. 

PART Ill. 
ENFORCEMENT. 

24 VAG 22-30-40. Administrative and civil penalties. 

A. Violations of any regulated advertising practice may, in 
the discretion of the board or executive director, be 
addressed by a written waming to the licensee as an initial 
step in the enforcement process. 

B. Any single violation of a regulated advertising practice 
may also, after an informal fact finding proceeding as 
provided in the Administrative Process Act, § 9-6.14:1 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia, result in an assessment of a civil 
penally up to $1,000. 

C. Subsequent, same or similar violations may, after an 
infonnal fact finding proceeding as provided in the 
Administrative Process Act, § 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia, result in an assessment of a civil penally up to the 
$1,000 and may a/so be grounds for denying, suspending or 
revoking a license subject to the hearing requirements 
pursuant to§ 46.2-1576 of the Act, either or both. 

24 VAG 22-30-50. Appeals. 

The action of the board in suspending, revoking or refusing 
any license or in imposing a monetary civil penalty against 
the licensee shall be subject to judicial review as provided in 
§§ 46.2-1577 and 46.2-1578 of the Act. 

24 VAG 22-30-60. Other enforcement. 

This chapter and the provisions of Article 9 (§ 46.2-1580 et 
seq.) of Chapter 15 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia shall 
be in addition to and not a substitute for the powers and 
authority granted pursuant to the provisions of the Virginia 

Consumer Protection Act(§ 59.1-196 et seq.) or of any other 
provision of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-206; Filed December 17, 1996, noon. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following fee reductions filed 
by the Real Estate Appraiser Board are exempt from Article 2 
of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 9-
6.14:4.1 C 9 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
regulations of the regulatory boards served by the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
pursuant to Title 54.1 which are limited to reducing fees 
charged to regulants and applicants. 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 130-20-10 et seq. Real Estate 
Appraiser Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18 
VAC 130-20-90 and 18 VAC 130-20-130). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 1997. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce the amount of fees charged to 
applicants for licensure and certification and for renewal 
of licenses and certifications. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2039. 

18 VAG 130-20-90. Application and registration fees. 

There will be no pro rata refund of these fees to licensees 
who resign or upgrade to a higher license or to licensees 
whose licenses are revoked or surrendered for other causes. 
All application fees for licenses and registrations are 
nonrefundable. 

1. Application fees for registrations, certificates and 
licenses are as follows: 

Registration of business entity $100 

Certified General Real Estate 
Appraiser $141 

Temporary Certified General 
Real Estate Appraiser $W $45 

Certified Residential Real 
Estate Appraiser $141 

Temporary Certified 
Residential Real Estate 
Appraiser $W $45 

Licensed Residential Real Estate 
Appraiser $141 

Temporary Licensed Residential 
Real Estate Appraiser $W $45 

Appraiser Trainee $96 
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Upgrade of license 

Instructor Certification 

Bad check penalty 

Duplicate wall certificate 

$65 

$135 

$25 

$25 

Application fees for a certified general real estate 
appraiser, a certified residential real estate appraiser, a 
licensed residential real estate appraiser and an 
appraiser trainee include a $21 fee for a copy of the 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. 
This fee is subject to the fee charged by the Appraisal 
Foundation and may be adjusted and charged to the 
applicant in accordance with the fee charged by the 
Appraisal Foundation. 

2. Examination fees. 

The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 
contracted charges to the department by an outside 
vendor. These contracts are competitively negotiated 
and bargained for in compliance with the Virginia Public 
Procurement Act (§ 11-35 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and charged to the 
candidate in accordance with this contract. 

3. National Registry Fee Assessment for all permanent 
license applicants ....................................................... $50 

To be assessed of each applicant in accordance with § 
1109 of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and 
Enforcement Act of 1989. This fee may be adjusted and 
charged to the applicant in accordance with the Act. If 
the applicant fails to qualify for licensure, then this 
assessment fee will be refunded. 

18 VAC 130-20-130. Fees for renewal and reinstatement. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable. 

B. National registry fee assessment. In accordance with 
the requirements of Section 1109 of the Financial Institutions 
Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989, $50 of the 
biennial renewal or reinstatement fee assessed for all 
certified general real estate appraisers, certified residential 
and licensed residential real estate appraisers shall be 
submitted to the Appraisal Subcommittee. The registry fee 
may be adjusted in accordance with the Act and charged to 
the licensee. 

Renewal and reinstatement fees for a certified general real 
estate appraiser, a certified residential real estate appraiser, 
a licensed residential real estate appraiser and an appraiser 
trainee include a $21 fee for a copy of the Uniform Standards 
of Professional Appraisal Practice. This fee is subject to the 
fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation and may be 
adjusted and charged to the applicant in accordance with the 
fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation. 

C. Renewal fees are as follows: 

Certified general real estate appraiser $-rn $116 

Certified residential real estate appraiser $-rn $116 

Licensed residential real estate appraiser $-rn $116 

Appraiser trainee $66 
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Registered business entity $70 $65 

Certified instructor $-rn) $130 

D. Reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Certified general real estate appraiser $171 

Certified residential real estate appraiser $171 

Licensed residential real estate 
appraiser $71 

Appraiser trainee $121 

Registered business entity $100 

Certified instructor $ml $230 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-193; Filed December 10, 1996, 3;18 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
(COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD) 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Transportation 
has claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 C 3 of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations consisting only of 
changes in style or form or corrections of technical errors and 
in accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 C 4 (a) of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency 
discretion is involved. The Department of Transportation will 
receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 24 VAC 30-111-10 et seq. Hauling 
Permit Manual (amending 24 VAG 30-111-10, 24 VAC 30-
111-50, 24 VAC 30-111-70,24 VAC 30-111-100,24 VAC 30-
111-260,24 VAC 30-111-270, and 24 VAC 30-111-280). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.1-12(3) and 33.1-49 and Article 18 
(§ 46.2-1139 et seq.) of Chapter 10 of Title 46.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 5, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The Hauling Permit Manual of the Commonwealth 
Transportation Board identifies conditions under which 
overweight and oversize hauling permits may be granted, 
and sets forth the fee structure for the permits. 

The amendments (i) add words or a catchline to aid in 
clarity or improve consistency with other portions of the 
text; (ii) change telephone numbers to reflect the 
introduction of new areas codes in certain locations of 
VDOT field offices; or (iii) correct references to a VDOT 
organizational un;t or any inaccurate reference to 
another section of the regulation. In addition, the 
application form (MP-66) has been revised. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from William Childress, Virginia Department of Transportation 
Hauling Permit Section, 1221 East Broad Street, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3676. 
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24 VAC 30-111-10. Definitions. 

"Automobile and watercraft transporters" means a tractor 
truck, lowboy, vehicle, or combination, including vehicles or 
combinations which transport motor vehicles or watercraft on 
their power unit, designed and used exclusively for the 
transportation of motor vehicles or watercraft. 

"8-train assembly" means a rigid frame extension attached 
to the rear frame or a first semitrailer which allows for a fifth 
wheel connection point for the second semitrailer. 

"Irreducible" see definition for "nondivisible." 

"Nondivisible load" means a vehicle configuration 
exceeding applicable size or weight limits which, if separated 
into smaller loads, would: 

1. Compromise the intended use of the vehicle, i.e., 
make it unable to perform the function for which it was 
intended; or 

2. Destroy the value of the load or vehicle, i.e., make it 
unusable for its intended purpose; or 

3. Require more than eight f\oofs workhours to dismantle 
using appropriate equipment. 

The applicant for a nondivisible load permit has the 
burden of proof as to the number of workhours required 
to dismantle the load. 

"Semitrailer" means a vehicle of the trailer type so 
designed and used in conjunction with a motor vehicle that 
some part of its own weight and that of its own load rest on or 
is carried by another vehicle. 

"Stinger-steered automobile and watercraft transporters" 
means an automobile or watercraft transporter configured as 
a semitrailer combination wherein the fifth wheel is located on 
a drop frame behind the rearmost axle of the power unit. 

"Tractor truck" means a motor vehicle designed and used 
primarily for drawing other vehicles and not constructed as to 
carry a load other than a part of the load and weight of the 
vehicle attached to that vehicle. 

"Trailer" means a vehicle without motive power designed 
for carrying property of passengers wholly on its own 
structure and for being drawn by a motor vehicle, including 
mobile homes. 

"Truck" means a motor vehicle designed to transport 
property on its own structure independent of any other 
vehicle and having a registered gross weight in excess of 
7,500 pounds. 

"Truck - tractor semitrailer- semitrailer" means in a truck­
tractor semitrailer combination vehicle, the two trailing units 
are connected with a B-train assembly. 

"Vehicle configuration" means the height, weight, width and 
length of a vehicle to include vehicle axle spacing. 

24 VAC 30-111-50. Primary and secondary systems. 

If the dimensions of the vehicle combination or nondivisible 
load, or both, exceed one of the following statutory limitations 
listed below, a hauling permit is required. 

Single Axle 
Weight 

Tandem Axle 
Weight 

Gross Weight 

Width 

Height 

Length 

20,000 pounds or 650 pounds per inch 
of tire (width) in contact with the surface 
of the highway 

34,000 pounds (more than 40 inches but 
not more than 96 inches between axle 
centers) 

See 24 VAG 30-111-60. Legal weight 
allowed based on axle spacing. 

8 feet 6 inches excluding mirrors. Safety 
devices not to exceed 3 inches on each 
side 

13 feet 6 inches 

Truck -- 40 feet excluding load 

Semitrailer -- 48 feet 

Twin trailers-- 28 1/2 feet 

Tractor semitrailer combination -- 65 feet 
including load 

Combination of a towing vehicle and any 
manufactured housing 60 feet 
including load and coupling 

24 VAC 30-111-70. Maximum weight allowed by permit 
based on axle spacings. 

Maximum weight in pounds according to vehicle axle 
spacings allowed by permit without requiring an engineering 
review from the 8ri9§e aee Structure and Bridge Division for 
any group of two or more consecutive axles. 

All vehicle configurations shall be reduced to the smallest 
dimensions possible and those exceeding the specifications 
identified in this chart will require an engineering review 
before a permit can be issued. 

"L" is defined as the distance in feet between extremes of 
any group of two or more consecutive axles. 

"L" 2 ax!es 3 axles 4 axles 5 axles 6 axles 7 or more 
axles 

4 44,000 
5 44,000 
5 44,000 
7 44,000 
8 48,000 53,500 
9 54,500 
10 55,000 
11 56,000 
12 56,500 63,000 
13 57,500 63,500 
14 58,000 64,500 
15 59,000 65,000 
16 59,500 65,500 72,500 
17 60,500 66,500 73,000 
18 61,000 67,000 74,000 
19 62,000 67,500 74,500 
20 62,500 68,500 75,000 82,000 
21 63,500 69,000 75,500 82,500 
22 64,000 69,500 76,500 83,000 
23 65,000 70,500 77,000 84,000 
24 65,500 71,000 77,500 84,500 91,500 
25 66,500 71,500 78,000 85,000 92,000 
26 67,000 72,500 79,000 85,500 92,500 
27 68,000 73,000 79,500 86,000 93,000 
28 68,500 73,500 80,000 87,000 94,000 
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29 
30 
31 
32 
33 
34 
35 
36 
37 
38 
39 
40 
41 
42 
43 
44 
45 
46 
47 
48 
49 
50 
51 
52 
53 
54 
55 
56 
57 
58 
59 
60 
61 
62 
63 
64 

69,500 
70,000 
71,000 
71,500 

74,500 
75,000 
75,500 
76,500 
77,000 
77,500 
78,500 
79,000 
79,500 
80,500 
81,000 
81,500 
82,500 
83,000 
83,500 
84,500 
85,000 
85,500 
86,500 
87,000 
87,500 
88,500 
89,000 
89,500 
90,500 
91,000 
91,500 
92,500 
93,000 
94,000 
94,500 
95,000 
96,000 

80,500 
81,500 
82,000 
82,500 
83,000 
84,000 
84,500 
85,000 
85,500 
86,500 
87,000 
87,500 
88,000 
89,000 
89,500 
90,000 
90,500 
91,500 
92,000 
92,500 
93,000 
94,000 
94,500 
95,000 
95,500 
96,500 
97,000 
97,500 
98,000 
99,000 
99,500 

100,000 
101,000 
101,500 
102,000 
102,500 

87,500 
88,000 
88,500 
89,000 
90,000 
90,500 
91,000 
91,500 
92,000 
93,000 
93,500 
94,000 
94,500 
95,000 
96,000 
96,500 
97,000 
97,500 
98,000 
99,000 
99,500 

100,000 
100,500 
101,000 
102,000 
102,500 
10~,000 

104,000 
104,500 
105,000 
105,500 
106,000 
106,500 
107,000 
108,000 
108,500 

24 VAC 30-111-100. Restricted blanket permit. 

94,500 
95,000 
95,500 
96,000 
97,000 
97,500 
98,000 
98,500 
99,000 
99,500 

100,500 
101,000 
101,500 
102,000 
102,500 
103,000 
104,000 
104,500 
105,000 
105,500 
106,000 
106,500 
107,500 
108,000 
108,500 
109,500 
109,500 
110,000 
111,000 
111,500 
112,000 
112,500 
113,000 
113,500 
114,500 
115,000 

A restricted blanket permit may be issued when an 
engineering review reveals that the vehicle's configuration 
does not warrant unrestricted travel throughout Virginia and 
therefore should not be granted a general blanket permit. 
Restricted blanket permits can be issued for a period not to 
exceed six months. Results of the engineering review may 
render the vehicle configuration ineligible to receive a 
restricted blanket permit. Requests for restricted blanket 
permits shall be made at least 10 work days prior to the 
anticipated date of movement. 

Restricted blanket permits may be obtained through the 
VDOT Central Office for a cost of $45. The Department of 
Motor Vehicles may assess a monthly fee for each mile the 
vehicle operates under the restricted blanket permit. The fee 
is $.10 per mile and is charged for vehicles that cannot be 
licensed in Virginia due to vehicle or equipment size 
exceeding statutory limitations. 

If the applicant's vehicle configuration exceeds any of the 
parameters listed below and an engineering review had 
determined the configuration ineligible to operate under a 
general or restricted blanket permit, the applicant may apply 
for a single trip or superload permit. 

Width: 14 feet (Manufactured housing-- 14 feet 
plus 12-inch side overhang) 

Weight: See 21 VAG :JQ 111 eO 24 VAG 30-111-70 
-- Maximum weight allowed by permit 
based on axle spacings 

Length: 100 feet 
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Height 14 feet 

24 VAC 30-111-260. Transportation of explosives, 
radioactive and other hazardous materials. 

A. A person, shipper or carrier transporting or proposing to 
transport explosives or other hazardous materials shall do so 
in compliance with all provisions of 49 CFR 100 through 180. 
Hazardous materials are those described by class in 49 CFR 
173 through 180. 

B. All transporters who haul hazardous waste into Virginia 
for the purpose of storage, treatment or disposal shall apply 
for and receive an Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
identification number which is unique to the transporter, and 
apply for a transportation permit from the Virginia Department 
of Health. 

Transporters of hazardous waste generated outside of 
Virginia and designated for delivery to a treatment, storage 
or disposal facility in another state shall conform with the 
manifest requirements of those states or EPA, as prescribed 
in 40 CFR 262. Specific questions regarding the movement 
and permitting of hazardous materials and hazardous waste 
should be addressed to: 

Department of Environmental Quality 
629 East Main Street 
P.O. Box 10009 
Richmond, VA 23240-0009 
Phone: 804 827 8081 698-4247 

Questions regarding the movement of Hazardous Materials 
through tunnels or bridges, or both, shall be addressed to: 

Department of Transportation 
Hazardous Materials Officer 
1221 East Broad Street 
Richmond, VA 23219 
Phone: 804-371-0891 

Questions regarding hazardous material spills or incidents 
shall be addressed to: 

CHEMTREC 
1-800-424-9300 (24 hours a day) 

24 VAC 30-111-270. Virginia Department of 
Transportation contact numbers. 

Central Office: 

Virginia Department of Transportation 
Hauling Permit Section 
1221 East Broad Street 
Richmond, Virginia 23219 
Phone: 804-786-2787 FAX: 804-786-5722 

District Offices : 

Bristol District 
P.O. Box 1768 
870 Bonham Road 
Bristol, VA 24203 
Phone: 540-669-9903 

Monday, January 6, 1997 



Final Regulations 

Culpeper District 
P.O. Box 671 
1601 Orange Road 
Culpeper, VA 22701 
Phone: 540-829-7536 

Residencies 

Fredericksburg District 
P.O. Box 808 
Fredericksburg, VA 22404 
Phone: 540-899-4233 

Lynchburg District 
P.O. Box 11649 
4219 Campbell Avenue 
Lynchburg, VA 24506 
Phone: 804-947-6567 

Northern Virginia District 
3975 Fair Ridge Drive 
Fairfax, VA 22033-2906 
Phone: 703-934-7317 

Richmond District 
2400 Pine Forest Drive 
Colonial Heights, VA 22834 
Phone: 804-524-6004 

Salem District 
731 Harrison Avenue 
Salem, VA 24153 
Phone: 540-387-5346 

Staunton District 
P.O. Box 2249 
Staunton, VA 24401 
Phone: 540-332-9093 

Suffolk District 
1700 North Main Street 
P.O. Box 1070 
Suffolk, VA 23434 
Phone: 004 757-925-2514 

24 VAG 30-111-280. Permanent weigh stations. 

Operators of trucks which have a registered gross weight in 
excess of 7,500 pounds are required by law to drive their 
vehicles onto scales for weight inspection as directed by 
either a police officer or regulatory highway sign. A police 
officer may require the operator of a truck to drive a distance 
not to exceed 1 0 road miles to a scale facility for weight 
inspection. Refusal to drive onto scales for inspection is a 
misdemeanor. Locations and telephone numbers for the 
weigh stations in Virginia are as follows: 

Station Route location Phone 

1. Alberta 85 Alberta 804-949-7336 

2 Ald.le 50 Aldie 703-327-6938 

3 Bland 77 Bland 540-688-4721 

4. Carson 95 Carson 804-861-6565 

5 Dahlgren 301 Dahlgren 540-663-2295 

6. Dumfries 95 Triangle 703-221-5344 

7. New Church 13 Temperanceville 8Q4 757-824-3614 

B. Sandston 64 Sandston 804-328-3057 

9. Stephens City 81 Stephens City 540-869-2833 

10. Suffolk 58 Suffolk W4 757-539-0356 

11. Troutville 81 Troutville 540-992-4291 

FORMS 

GeReral Hauling Permit Application, MP-66 (Rev. -Wiai9J 
4/1/96). 

Facsimile Transmittal Sheet 

Preliminary/Formal Request, (Rev. 11/95). 
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J.U'-66 (ll<•- <-<11-~6) Hauling Permit Application 

Commonwealth ofVirginia 
OcpartlllCRt ofTnn!poru.tinll 

Hauling Permit Stttion 
122; East Broad Street. Richmond, Virginia 23219 

Phone (804) 786-3495 
Fn (804) 786-5722 

Single Trip Permit RequesiS- complete all items. 
Blanket Permit Requests- complete iu:ms I, 2, 6, g, \0, II, 12, J3, 14, IS, \6, 17, \8 andll 

!.Name ____________ _ Permit Number: _______ _ 

Ad&ess __________________________ _ Elfoctivel):m:: ________ _ 

City Stat<: _._Zip Code ___ _ Expiration""~--------

Phone Nwnber ( Fee: VDOT DMV: ______ __ 

Fax Number( Che.::kNwnlx::r.o _________ __ 

Federal Identificallon Number /SSN _______ _ 

l. ~~:~110 ~:;ov~~ve Tow item mentioned in# 2 above. (Chec~=s~sion Company'-----------

). Dateofantici~atedmovement _________________________ _ 

Is commodity hazardous? Y=s Na !fyes, state what type---------------
fuJl!iDz(Ex...:t origin and/or destin.rion in Virginia i< required. Example: Routt ll, 2.5 miles NrutllofRoute 716 in Rockbridge County) 

4. nom(Origill) ____________________________________________________________ _ 

5. To{DestinationL ____________________________ _ 

6. Desiredrouteoftravel ___________________________ __ 

YfbirlrfModn!3r!Mobi!r Home Infnrm•tion 

7. TrnnsportVehicleUcerneNumber, ______ _ Trailo:r Serial (last 5 cl!arn•:rer.i);~--------

8. What weight is vehicle licensed for"? . Licensed for what state?,,_-~--,------~ 

9. Modular/Mobile Home Stria! Number b: th; transporting undercarriage a l<:g;tl.Jy licerned vehicle? __ 

10. Is the transporting undercarriage permanently attached to the hou.sillg unil'l_-,_--'-------'--'--­

Configuratjon Sjn 

II. Overall Height: Feet ___ lnches ___ Widtb: Feet ___ lnches _Lengtll: Feet ___ Inches __ _ 

12. State amount of ovtrhang: Front Rear_-:------

!).If a self-propelled truck crane, what is width measured from outside of tire to outside tire? Feet ___ Inches __ _ 

61lr and Wrjgbt Jnfqrmatjnp 

14. Gross weight ofvehide configuration {including load) ____ . Total number ofades on vehicle configuration. __ _ 

15. List spacing between each axle {measure from center of axle 10 center of next axle): 

Axles\ to2: ____ Axles2to3: ____ Axles) to4: ____ Axles4 to5: _____ AxlesSto6: __ __ 

Axles 6 to 7· Axles 7 to K: Axles 8 to 9: _______ Axles 9to ({)_Axles 10 to 11: __ _ 

16. List axle weights: 

Axle I: ___ Axle 2: ____ Axle 3: ____ Axle 4: ___ . __ Axle 5: ____ /txle 6: _____ Axle 7: __ __ 

Axle ?: ___ Axle 8: _____ Axle 9: _____ Axle tO: _____ Axle II: __ _ 

17. Dr:aw a diagr:am of your vehicle eonllgur:atioo showing total otuuber of ades, spadng ltetwHn ~a~h n!e and ade 
weights (diagram not required if items 15 and 16 are completed) 

15 Pnmjt Iypr• and Fe£$ 

Single Trip Perm.it--li\1.00 each (valid for 13 days} 

Blanket Permits ([s.sued only through the C.,tral Office) 
li45 each- one year or less. Number of perm. its needed----· 
S85 each- two y~. Number of permits need.;_ ___ _ 

Building Movements (l,;ued through Residency office) -li50.00 ea~h. Fee non-refundable. 

l'l Permjts i<sued ~Err:t'' q[Cbargc {In accordance with the Code of Virginia.) 

Coal Hauling Permits (Use Form MP-104) Old Equipment Permits 
Containerized Cargo permits Solid Waste Permits 
Farm Produce Hauling Permits 

Concrete Mixed-in-transit Permits 
Cotton Module Hauling Permits 

Permits issued to any office or agency of the U.S. Government, State or LocM government provided the vehicle is registered in 
the nall!e of such government, its agency, subdivision or municipal corporation. 

10 Agpnrab!e Virginia Qepartmrpr gCMqtqr Yebjsle Ew 

10 cents per mile will be ae1:esscd to pennit!ed vehicles or equipment that cannot be licensed in Virginia due to vehicle or 
equipment exceeding statutory limitations. 

$1.00 per trip fee is levied on all mobile homes that are not licensable in Virginia due to o~erdimensional features. Mobile homes 
;ll"e exempt for paying the 10 cents per mlle fcc. 

lt. Mail-in oermit.rcnue<t 

Prepayment required before a permit can be issued. Please make diD;l or~~ to: Irral!Jrtr Q[Yiryinia. (Do 
not seod cash through the mail). 

Total amount enclosed S . Check or money order number-------

My signature below verifies that aJtinformation contained wit.hin this request is accurate and true. I am aware that the submission 
of false or inaccurate information could result in denial of application or re~ocation of permit privileges and that failure to 

complete all items on this application could result in delay of permit issuance. 

Signature of applicant/designated agent: ___________ _c __ ~--

Date: ________________ _ 

Cu.stOmer comments: 
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STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

BUREAU OF INSURANCE 

December 4, 1996 

ADMINISTRATIVE LEDER 1996-16 

TO: All Insurers, Health Services Plans and Health 
Maintenance Organizations Licensed to Write 
Accident and Sickness Insurance in Virginia 

RE: 14 VAG 5-190-10 et seq. Rules Governing the 
Reporting of Cost and Utilization Data Relating to 
Mandated Benefits and Mandated Providers -
Coverage of Procedures Involving Bones and Joints 

Section 38.2-3418.2 of the Code of Virginia, enacted 
during the 1995 Session of the Virginia General Assembly, 
prohibits the exclusion of coverage for diagnostic and 
surgical treatment involving any bone or joint of the head, 
face, neck or jaw under applicable policies, contracts or plans 
providing coverage for diagnostic or surgical treatment 
involving any bone or joint of the skeletal structure. This 
statute also prohibits the imposition of limits of coverage for 
treatment involving any bone or joint of the head, face, neck 
or jaw that are more restrictive than coverage limitations for 
any bone or joint of the skeletal structure if the treatment is 
required because of a medical condition or injury that 
prevents normal function of the joint or bone and is deemed 
medically necessary to attain functional capacity of the 
affected part. This requirement applies to any applicable 
policy, contract or plan delivered, issued for delivery or 
renewed in Virginia on and after July 1, 1995. 

Cost and utilization information related to this requirement 
must be reported to the Commission pursuant to the 
requirements contained in § 38.2-3419.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, and consistent with the requirements set forth in 14 
VAC 5-190-10 et seq. as currently revised, as well as prior 
Administrative Letters on this subject. The first reporting year 
for this mandated coverage is calendar year 1996, and data 
must therefore be reported in form MB-1 due May 1, 1997. 

In order to avoid confusion and to facilitate the capturing of 
appropriate data relating to this requirement, the Bureau of 
Insurance has identified the appropriate CPT and ICD-9-CM 
codes for reporting this information on the attached listing, 
which is made part of this administrative letter. It is the 
reporting company's responsibility to ensure that the 
procedures listed are reported under this category of 
coverage when such procedures are related specifically to 
the required coverage. 

Please refer any questions regarding this matter to: 

Althelia P. Battle 
Senior Insurance Market Examiner 
State Corporation Commission 
Bureau of Insurance- Life and Health Division 
Post Office Box 1157 
Richmond, Virginia 23218 
Telephone: (804) 371-9495 FAX: (804) 371-9944 

is/ Alfred W. Gross 
Commissioner of Insurance 

VAR Doc. No. R97-199; Filed December 12, 1996, 10:23 a.m. 
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State Corporation Commission 

Attachment to Administrative Letter 1996-16 

Section 38.2-3418.2 of the Code of Virginia 

:ode 
J605 
1010 
1050 
1060 

21070 
21116 
21125 
21127 
21141 
21145 
21146 
21147 
21150 
21151 
211! 

2 10 
2 42 
2 243 
21244 
21245 
21246 

Coverage of Procedures Involving Bones and Joints 

•1996 CPT Codes 

·joint. bursa or I 1 cvst (eo. 
I r joint 

I · ioint 
, Partial or i · ioint 

I 1 procedure for I ·joint 
A 1 i oodv or angle; 
With bond graft, on lay or i i i 

i 'midface. LeFort I 
single piece, : in any i 
two pieces. I in any· 

'i 

1 bone grafts 
1 bone grafts 

1 I , wrist, elbow or ankle, 

three or more pieces, 'in any i 1 bone graf!s 
, LeFort II; anterior i i 

i ' 1 bone grafts 
1_() i • rami, i I. vertical. ' ", or : without bone oraft 

With_bon"-oraft I i t_graft) 
I 10 r rami and/or bodY. saoittal so lit; without internal rigid fixation 

Vith internal riqicl fixation 

• maxilla, 
I 

(eo . und or 
I , facial bones: , or 

Graft, bone; nasal. 
I I 
I 
I 
I 

1 of 
1 ol 

i • or m •lar areas 1 qrafi) 
i · 1 qrafi 

I · int. v. or without ; 
I int. v. 'allograft 
I int, v. :joint I 

i . wi I bone plate (eq, 
i ' or maxilla, su I implant; partial 

'implant) 

i 1 graft) 

i r staple bone plate) 

1 bursa) 

21247 , "."'"" Of , , 
I 

I condyle with bone and cartilage autografts (includes ""'"i""'" grafts) (eg for ,,i, I 

30 
35 

. 2 lO 
29800 
29804 
69535 
70100 
70110 

;Iosee 

Open 
AI 

R 
I 
i 

of· I . I i :initial or • 
(eq, i i 11 rv fixation or i i . initial or 

of I i I i 
r ioir i , with i i I biopsy· 

i r joint, surgical 
I bone, 1 (For middle fossa , see' 

i i I : partial, less than four views 
I 1 for four views 

70328 I I r joint, open and closed mouth; 
70330 Bilateral 

0332 T i ·joint 
0336 ' (eg, proton) 1 

0481) 1 I axial 

i i 1 and 
I ·joint 

I i I area; without i 

I by contrast ) and further i 

* Codes based on CPT 1996 version are subject to change in 1997 CPT version. 

1997 ICD-9-CM Codes 

Code Description 
524.6 Temporomandibular Joint Disorders 
524.60 Temporomandibular Joint Disorders Unspecified 
719.8 Other and Specified Disorders of Joints 
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STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

DIRECTOR'S ORDER NUMBER TWENTY-SIX (96) 

VIRGINIA'S SIXTH ON-LINE LOTTERY; "THE BIG GAME," 
FINAL RULES FOR GAME OPERATION. 

In accordance with the authority granted by Sections 9-
6.14:4.1B(15) and 58.1-4006A of the Code of Virginia, I 
hereby promulgate the final rules for game operation in 
Virginia's sixlh on-line game lottery, "The Big Game." These 
rules amplify and conform to the duly adopted State Lottery 
Board regulations for the conduct of on-tine game lotteries. 

The rules are available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the State Lottery Department 
headquarters, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and 
at each of the State Lottery Department regional offices. A 
copy may be requested by mail by writing to: Public Affairs 
Division, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Penelope W. Kyle 
Director 
Date: November 29, 1996 

VAR. Doc. No. R97~195; Filed December 11, 1996, 11:31 a.m. 

DIRECTOR'S ORDER NUMBER THIRTY-SIX (96) 

VIRGINIA'S SIXTY-SEVENTH INSTANT GAME LOTTERY; 
"HOLIDAY CASH," FINAL RULES FOR GAME OPERATION. 

In accordance with the authority granted by Sections 9-
6.14:4.18(15) and 58.1-4006A of the Code of Virginia, I 
hereby promulgate the final rules for game operation in 
Virginia's sixly-seventh instant game tottery, "Holiday Cash." 
These rules amplify and conform to the duly adopted State 
Lottery Board regulations for the conduct of instant game 
lotteries. 

The rules are available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the State Lottery Department 
headquarters, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and 
at each of the State Lottery Department regional offices. A 
copy may be requested by mail by writing to: Public Affairs 
Division, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Penelope W. Kyle 
Director 
Date: November 29, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-196; Filed December 11, 1996, 11:31 a.m. 

DIRECTOR'S ORDER NUMBER THIRTY-SEVEN (96) 

VIRGINIA'S INSTANT GAME LOTTERY 407; "NEW YEAR'S 
CASH FOR LIFE," FINAL RULES FOR GAME OPERATION. 

In accordance with the authority granted by Sections 9-
6.14:4.1B(15) and 58.1-4006A of the Code of Virginia, I 
hereby promulgate the final rules for game operation in 
Virginia's instant game tottery (Number 0407), "New Year's 
Cash for Life." These rules amplify and conform to the duly 
adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct of 
instant game lotteries. 

The rules are available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the State Lottery Department 
headquarters, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and 
at each of the State Lottery Department regional offices. A 
copy may be requested by mail by writing to: Public Affairs 
Division, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shalt remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

is/ Penelope W. Kyle 
Director 
Date: November 29, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-197; Filed December 11, 1996, 11:32 a.m. 

DIRECTOR'S ORDER NUMBER THIRTY-EIGHT (96) 

VIRGINIA'S SECOND ON-LINE GAME LOTTERY; "LOTTO," 
FINAL RULES FOR GAME OPERATION; FIFTH REVISION. 

In accordance with the authority granted by Sections 9-
6.14:4.1 B(15) and 58.1-4006A of the Code of Virginia, I 
hereby promulgate the revised rules for game operation in 
Virginia's second on-line game tottery, "Lotto." These rules 
amplify and conform to the duly adopted State Lottery Board 
regulations for the conduct of on-line game lotteries. 

The rules are available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the State Lottery Department 
headquarters, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and 
at each of the State Lottery Department regional offices. A 
copy may be requested by mail by writing to: Public Affairs 
Division, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order supersedes Director's Order Number 
Forty-Two (94), issued November 30, 1994. This Order 
becomes effective on the date of its signing and shall remain 
in full force and effect unless amended or rescinded by 
further Director's Order. 

/s/ Penelope W. Kyle 
Director 
Date: November 29, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-19B; Filed December 11, 1996, 11:32 a.m. 
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MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

NOTICE: Effective July 1, 1984, the Marine Resources 
Commission was exempted from the Administrative Process 
Act for the purpose of promulgating certain regulations. 
However, the Commission is required to publish the full text 
of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-252-10 et seq. Pertaining to 
the Taking of Striped Bass. 

Statutorv Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 6, 1996. 

Preamble: 

This regulation establishes a limited commercial and 
recreational fishery for striped bass in Virginia. The 
provisions of this regulation are intended to comply with 
all federal and interstate requirements for fishing for 
striped bass. This regulation also authorizes the 
aquaculture of striped bass and hybrid striped bass and 
sets forth the conditions required for their culture. 

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority 
contained in § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. The 
effective date of these amendments is December 6, 
1996. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Deborah R. Cawthon, Marine Resources Commission, 
Regulatory Coordinator, P.O. Box 756, Newport News, VA 
23607, telephone (757)-247-2248. 

CHAPTER 252. 
PERTAINING TO THE TAKING OF STRIPED BASS. 

4 VAC-20-252-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to provide for the continued 
sustained yield from the recovered striped bass stocks in 

· Virginia and to limit the growth of the number of commercial 
participants in this fishery. The provisions pertaining to 
aquaculture serve to prevent the escape of cultured hybrid 
striped bass into the natural environment and to minimize the 
impact of cultured fish in the market place on the 
enforcement of other provisions of this chapter. 

4 VAC-20-252-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning unless the context cfeariy 
indicates otherwise: 

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters 
of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries within Virginia, 
westward of the shoreward boundary of the T ern'fon'a/ Sea, 
excluding the coastal area as defined by this section, and 
excluding the Potomac River tributaries as defined by this 
section. 

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's 
portion of the Territorial Sea, plus all of the creeks, bays, 
inlets, and tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, 
Northampton County (including areas east of the causeway 
from Fisherm~n Island to the mainland), and the City of 
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Virginia Beach (including federal areas and state parks, 
fronting on the Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point 
where the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the 
mainland at Cape Henry). 

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission. 

"Commercial fishing" or "fishing commercially" or 
"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 
catch is for safe,. barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or 
is intended for safe, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose. 

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 
Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction beginning 
with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to the District 
of Columbia boundary. 

"Recreational fishing" or "fishing recreationa/Jy" or 
"recreational fishery" means fishing by any person; whether 
licensed or exempted from license, where the catch is not for 
safe, barter, trade, or any . commercial purpose, or is not 
intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose. 

"Spawning reaches" means sections within the spawning 
rivers as follows: 

1. James River from a line connecting Dancing Point 
and New Sunken Meadow Creek upstream to a line 
connecting City Point and Packs Point. 

2. Pamunkey River from the Route 33 Bridge at West 
Point upstream to a fine connecting Liberty Half and the 
opposite shore. 

3. Mattaponi River from the Route 33 Bridge at West 
Point upstream to the Route 360 bridge at Aylett. 

4. Rappahannock River from the Route 360 Bridge at 
Tappahannock upstream to the Route 3 bridge at 
Fredericksburg . . 

"Striped Bass" means any fish of the species Marone 
saxaWis, including any hybnd of the species Marone saxati/is. 

4 VAC-20-252-30. General prohibitions and requirements. 

A. II shalf be unlawful for any person to possess any 
striped bass taken from the tidal waters of Virginia, including 
Virginia's portion of the Territorial Sea, except in accord with 
the provisions of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia and in 
accord with the provisions of this chapter. 

B. II shalf be unlawful for any person to possess any 
striped bass taken from the tidal waters of Virginia, including 
Virginia's portion of the Territorial Sea, during a time, from an 
area, and with a gear type when there is no open season set 
forth in this chapter for such time, area, and gear type. 

C. Except for those persons permitted in accordance with 
4 VAC 20-252-170, it shall be unlawful for any person to 
possess any striped bass less than 18 inches total length at 
any time. 

D. II shalf be unlawful for any person to possess any 
striped bass that measures less than the minimum size or 
more than the maximum size applicable to the open season 
when fishing occurs. 
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E. Total length measurement of striped bass shall be in a 
straight line from t1p of nose to tip of ta/1. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person while aboard any boat 
or vessel or while fishing from shore or pier to alter any 
striped bass or to possess any altered striped bass such that 
its Iota/length cannot be determined. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person to spear or gaff, or 
attempt to spear or gaff any striped bass at any time. 

H. It shall be unlawful for any person to use a commercial 
hook-and-line within 300 feet of any bridge, bridge-tunnel, 
jetty, or pier during any open recreational striped bass 
season in the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, except 
during the period midnight Sunday through midnight 
Wednesday. 

/. Unless specified differently in other chapters, it shall be 
unlawful to place, set, or fish any gill net within 300 feet of 
any bridge, bridge-tunnel, jetty, or pier during any open 
recreational striped bass season in the Chesapeake Bay ami 
its tributaries, except during the period midnight Sunday 
through midnight Wednesday. 

J. During the period April 1 through May 31, inclusive, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to set or fish any anchored 
gill net or staked gill net, for any purpose, within the spawning 
reaches of the James, Pamunkey, Mattaponi, and 
Rappahannock Rivers. Drift or float gill nets may be set and 
fished within the spawning reaches of these rivers dunng this 
period, provided that the person setting and fishing the net 
remains with the net during the time it is fishing and all 
striped bass that are caught shall be returned to the water 
immediately. Holding any permit issued by the commission 
to fish for striped bass, recrealionally or commercially, shall 
authorize any commission personnel or their designees to 
inspect, measure, weigh, or take biological samples from any 
striped bass in possession of the permit holder. 

4 VAC-20-252-40. Severability. 

Any provision of this chapter that is held invalid by a court 
of competent jurisdiction shall not affect the validity of other 
provisions of this chapter which can be given effect without 
the invalid provision. 

4 VAC-20-252-50. Concerning recreational fishing: general. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recrealionally 
to take or to catch striped bass with any gear other than hook 
and line, rod and reel, or hand line. 

B. II shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 
to possess any striped bass while fishing 1n an area where or 
at a time when there is no open recreational striped bass 
season. Striped bass caught contrary to this provision shall 
be returned to the water immediately. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recrealionally 
to possess striped bass in excess of the possession limit 
applicable for the area and season being fished. Striped 
bass taken in excess of the possession limit shall be returned 
to the water immediately. When fishing from a boat or vessel 
where the entire catch is held in a common hold or container, 
the possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel and shall 
be equal to the number of persons on board legally eligible to 

fish multiplied by the applicable personal possession limit. 
The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 
responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit. 

D. II shall be unlawful to combine possession limits when 
there is more than one area or season open at the same 
lime. 

E. II shall be unlawful for any person while actively fishing 
pursuant to a recreational fishery to possess any striped bass 
that are smaller than the minimum size limit or larger than the 
maximum size limit for the area and season then open and 
being fished. Any striped bass caught that does not meet the 
applicable size limit shall be returned to the water 
immediately. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, 
trade or barter any striped bass taken by hook and line, rod 
and reel, or hand line provided, however, this provision shall 
not apply to persons possessing a commercial hook-and-line 
license and a striped bass permit and meeting the other 
requirements of this chapter. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 
to transfer any striped bass to another person, while on the 
water or while fishing from a pier or shore. 

H. II shall be unlawful for the captain of any charter boat or 
charter vessel to take hook-and-line, rod-and-reel, or hand 
line fishermen for hire unless the captain has obtained a 
permit from the commission and is the holder of a Coast 
Guard charter license. 

1. Charter boat captains shall report to the commission, on 
forms provided by the commission, all daily quantities of 
striped bass caught and harvested, and daily fishing hours for 
themselves or their customers, respectively. The written 
report shall be forwarded to the commission no later than 15 
days following the last day of any open season. In addition, 
charter boat captains engaging in the Bay and Coastal 
Trophy-size Striped Bass Recreational Fishery and the 
Potomac River Tributaries Trophy-size Striped Bass 
Recreational Fishery shall provide the report required by 4 
VAG 20-252-60 and 4 VAC 20-252-70, respectively. Failure 
to provide these reports is a violation of this chapter. 

4 VAC-20-252-60. Bay and coastal trophy-size striped bass 
recreational fishery. 

A. The open season for this fishery shall be May 1 through 
May 15, inclusive; provided, however, the season may be 
adjusted as set forth in subsection E of this section. 

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the coastal area 
and the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, except the 
spawning reaches of the James, Pamunkey, Mattaponi, and 
Rappahannock Rivers. 

C The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 32 inches 
Iota/length. 

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be one fish 
per person. 

E. This fishery, combined with the fishery defined by 4 
VAG 20-252-70, shall have a target take of 30,000 total fish 
coming from both the Virginia and Maryland portions of the 
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(:;hesapeake Bay and any tributaries of the Chesapeake Bay 
~nd the Potomac River, and includes the area under the 
jurisdiction of the Potomac River Fisheries Commission. The 
season for this fishery shall be closed when it is determined 
that this total target has been reached. 

F. Persons engaging in this fishery shall report the 
retention of any striped bass to the commission. Filing the 
report shall be the responsibility of the person retaining the 
striped bass, or, in the case of any charter boat or vessel, the 
captain of the charter boat or vessel. These reports are due 
15 days after the close of this fishery .and shall be on forms 
provided by the commission. There will be separate forms for 
persons and for charter boats or vessels. 

4 VAC-20-252-70. Potomac River tributaries trophy-size 
striped bass recreational fishery. 

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries 
trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery shall correspond 
to the open season as established by the Potomac River 
Fisheries Commission for the mainstem Potomac River 
trophy-size fishery. 

B. The area open for this fishery shall be those tributaries 
of the Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 
beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to 
the Route 301 bridge. 

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 32 
inches total length. 

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be one fish 
per person. 

E. This fishery, combined with the fishery defined by 4 
VAG 20-252-60 shall have a target take of 30,000 total fish 
coming from both the Virginia and Maryland portions of the 
Chesapeake Bay and any tributanes of the Chesapeake Bay 
and Potomac River, and. includes the area under the 
jurisdiction of the Potomac River Fisheries Commission. The 
season for this fishery shall be closed when it is determined 
that this total target has been reached. 

F. Persons engaging in this fishery shall report the 
retention of any striped bass to the commission. Filing the 
report shall be the responsibility of the person retaining the 
striped bass, or, in the case of any charter boat or vessel, the 
captain of the charter boat or vessel. These reports are due 
15 days after the close of this fishery and shall be on forms 
provided by the Commission. There will be separate forms 
for persons and for charter boats or vessels. 

4 VAC-20-252-BO. Bay Spring striped bass recreational 
fishery. 

A. The open season for the Bay Spring striped bass 
recreational fishery shall be May 16 through June 15 
inclusive. 

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Chesapeake 
Bay and its tributaries. 

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 18 
inches total length, and the maximum size limit for this fishery 
shall be 28 inches total length. 
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D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two fish per 
person. 

4 VAC-20-252-90. Bay Fall striped bass recreational fishery. 

A. The open season for the Bay Fall striped bass 
recreational fishery shall be October 17 through December 
31, inclusive. 

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Chesapeake 
Bay and its tnbutaries. 

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 18 
inches total length. 

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two fish per 
person. 

4 VAC-20-252-100. Potomac River tributaries fall striped 
bass recreational fishery. 

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries fall 
striped bass fishery shall correspond to the open fall season 
as established by the Potomac River Fisheries Commission 
for the mainstem Potomac River. 

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Potomac 
River tributaries. 

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 18 
inches total length. 

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two fish per 
person. 

4 VAC-20-252-110. Coastal striped bass recreational fishery. 

A. The open seasons for the coastal striped bass 
recreational fishery shall be January 1 through March 31 and 
May 16 through December31, inclusive. 

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the coastal area 
as denned In this chapter. 

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 28 
inches total length. 

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two fish per 
person. 

4 VAC-20-252-120. Concerning commercial fishing: general. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the 
commercial fishery for striped bass without first having the 
necessary commercial fisherman's registration license and 
appropriate gear license as required by Title 28.2 of the Code 
of Virginia, and the special permit to fish for striped bass 
established in 4 VAG 20-252-130. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 
to harvest striped bass by any method other than gill net, 
pound net, haul seine, fyke net, or commercial hook and line. 
The harvest of striped bass by any person using any of these 
gear is presumed to be a commercial harvest. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 
to possess any striped bass taken outside any open 
commercial season or area, or with gear inapplicable to the 
season and area, as specified in 4 VAG 20-252-140. Any 
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striped bass caught contrary to this provision shall be 
returned to the water immediately. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person while actively fishing 
pursuant to a commercial fishery to possess any striped bass 
that is less than the minimum size limit applicable for the area 
and season then open and being fished. Any striped bass 
caught that does not meet the applicable minimum size limit 
shall be returned to the water immediately. 

E. All striped bass in the possession of any person for the 
purpose of sale must be identified with a tamper evident 
sealed tag that has been approved and issued by the 
appropriate authority in the jurisdiction of capture. Whole 
striped bass shall have tags attached directly to the fish. 
Processed or filleted striped bass must be accompanied by 
the tags removed from the fish when processed. 

F. When the striped bass are in the possession of any 
person, other than the original harvester, for the purpose of 
resale, the striped bass shall be accompanied by a bill of sale 
which shall include the name of the seller, the permit or 
license number of the seller if such permit or license is 
required in the jurisdiction of harvest, the date of sale, the 
pounds of striped bass in possession, the location of catch 
and the gear type used to harvest the striped bass. If the 
striped bass product for sale is fillets, the bill of sale shall 
also specify the number of fillets. 

4 VAC-20-252-130. Entry limits, permits, and reports. 

A. There is established a special permit for engaging in 
the commercial fishery for striped bass, and it shall be 
unlawful for any person to engage in the commercial fishery 
for striped bass without first having obtained the permit from 
the Commission. This permit will be for a specific gear, and it 
shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the commercial 
fishery for striped bass with any gear not so pennitted, except 
that commercial hook-and-line may be used by any 
permittee. Permits will be issued in number and manner as 
set forth in subdivisions B 1 and B 2 of this section. To be 
qualified to receive a pennit, the applicant must meet the 
conditions of subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4 of this subsection, 
and the conditions of either subdivision 5 a or b of this 
subsection. An applicant meeting the conditions of 
subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 a of this subsection shall be 
considered a priority applicant and qualified for a permit for 
specific gear as set forlh in subdivision 8 2 a of this section. 

1. Applicants shall apply for permits by January 6, 
1997, to be eligible to fish during the commercial season 
beginning February 1. Applicants not in accord with this 
time period will not be accepted. 

Completed permit applications and supporting 
documents may be hand delivered, mailed, or faxed to 
the Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington 
Avenue, P.O. Box 756, Newport News, Virginia 23607. 
Complete applications must be received at this main 
office address of the Commission no later than 5 p.m. on 
the last day of the application period. 

2. Applicants shall apply only for a permit for and use 
only a single type of commercial gear and will be 
restricted to that gear type in future years. For the 1997 

fishing season, an applicant may apply for a pennit for 
any allowed gear, provided the 1997 application will not 
result in a larger allocation of tags to the applicant than 
the 1996 application. 

3. Applicants shall have reported all prior fishing activity 
in accordance with 4 VAG 20-610-10 et seq. such that 
the applicant is not under any sanction by the 
commission for noncompliance. 

4. Applicants shall certify on a form provided by the 
Commission that they harvested and sold at least $5,000 
worth of finfish or shellfish during 1995. Upon request of 
the commission any applicant or permittee shall present 
to the commission such records, sales receipts, or tax 
fonns which may be used to verify that the applicant or 
pennittee meets the above criteria. Failure to present 
sufficient records may result in a revocation of the 
striped bass permit. 

5. Applicants shall meet either of the following 
conditions: 

a. Applicants shall have held a valid striped bass 
commercial gear pennit for 1996. Applicants meeting 
this condition and all prior listed conditions 
(subdivisions 1 through 4 of this subsection) shall be 
considered priority applicants. 

b. All other applicants shall meet the requirements 
described in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 
subsection. 

6. The commission may grant exceptions to the limited 
entry conditions listed above based on hardship. Any 
person requesting an exCeption shall provide in writing 
an explanation of their hardship and all pertinent 
information relating to theSe conditions and the hardship. 
All requests for exceptiOns must be received at the 
commissiOn by December 16. The commission shall 
withhold from distribution to those holding permits three 
percent of the commercial quota which shall be 
distributed to those individuals granted exceptions. 

B. 1. There shall be a limited number of pennits for 
specific gear available for the commercial 
fishery for striped bass for 1997. The 
maximum number of permits for each specific 
gear shall be as follows: 

a. For gill nets 

b. For pound nets 

c. For haul seines 

d. For fyke nets 

e. For commercial hook and line 

382 

57 

10 

7 

39 

2. Permits shall be granted by the commission in the 
following manner and the maximum number of permits 
for a gear may be increased if necessary to comply with 
this manner. 

a. A qualified priority applicant (meets the conditions 
of subdivisions A 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 a of this section) for 
a permit for any gear shall be granted a permit for that 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

950 



jl 

gear. If the number of qualified priority applicants for a 
gear exceeds the maximum number of permits 
available for that gear then the maximum number of 
permits for that gear shall be increased to equal the 
number of qualified priority applicants, thus assuring 
that all qualified priority applicants receive a permit for 
the gear applied for. 

b. In the event the number of qualified priority 
applicants for any gear take. the maximum number of 
permits available for that gear, then all other qualified 
applicants (meets the conditions of subdivisions A 1 
through 4 and 5 b of this section) from the 1996 
waiting list shall be placed, using their relative ranked 
order, on the 1997 waiting list. Additional qualified 
applicants for the fishing year shall be placed by 
lottery on the waiting list in rank order following those 
qualified applicants from the 1996 waiting list. The 
1997 waiting list shall be used to grant any permits in 
subsequent years, provided the applicant remains 
qualified. 

c. In the event the number of qualified priority 
applicants for any gear is less than the maximum 
number of permits available for that gear, then the 
number of permits not issued for that gear shall be 
available to other qualified applicants in order of their 
rank on the 1997 waiting list for that gear. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to purchase striped 
bass taken from Virginia's tidal waters for the purpose of 
resale without first obtaining a permit from the commission. 

D. Permits must be in the possession of the permittee 
while harvesting, selling or possessing striped bass. Failure 
to have the appropriate permit in possession shall be a 
violation of this chapter. 

E. All commercial harvesters of striped bass shall report to 
the commission in accordance with 4 VAG 20-610-10 et seq. 

F. All buyers of striped bass taken from Virginia's tidal 
waters shall provide written reports of daily purchases and 
sales for each commercial fishing season to the commission 
no later than 15 days following the last day of each 
commercial fishing season. 

G. Failure of any person permitted to harvest, buy, or sell 
stnped bass, to submit the required written report for any 
fishing day shall constitute a violation of this chapter. 

4 VAC-20-252-140. Commercial seasons, areas, and size 
limits. 

Except as may be adjusted pursuant to 4 VAG 20-252-150, 
the open commercial striped bass fishing seasons, areas, 
and applicable size limits, by gear, shall be as follows: 

1. In the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the 
Potomac River tributaries, the open commercial season 
for pound net, gill net, haul seine, tyke net, and 
commercial hook and line shall be from February 1 
through December 31, inclusive. The minimum size limit 
shall be 18 inches total length dunng the periods of 
February 1 through December 31. The maximum size 
limit shall be 28 inches from March 15 through June 15. 
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2. In the coastal area, the open commercial season for 
pound net, gill net, haul seine, tyke net, and commercial 
hook and line shall be February 1 through December 31, 
inclusive, and the minimum size limit shall be 28 inches 
total length. 

4 VAC-20-252-150. Commercial harvest quota. 

A. All harvests of striped bass by gill net, pound net, haul 
seine, tyke net, and commercial hook and line shall be used 
in arriving at the total allowable level of commercial harvest. 

B. The total allowable level of all commercial harvest of 
striped bass for all open seasons and for all legal gear shall 
be 1,384,000 pounds of whole fish. At such lime as the total 
harvest of striped bass is projected to reach 1,384,000 
pounds, and announced as such, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to land or possess striped bass caught for commercial 
purposes. Such cessation of landing and possession of 
striped bass shall apply to all gears, even in the event some 
specific gear quotas may not have been reached. At such 
time as the harvest by any specific gear is projected to reach 
the total allowable level of commercial striped bass harvest 
for that gear, as set forth in subsections C, D, E, F, and G of 
this section, and announced as such, it shall be unlawful for 
any person to land or possess striped bass caught by that 
gear. 

C. The total allowable level of commercial striped bass 
harvest by gill net shall be 68. 6% of the total allowable sum 
of pounds of whole fish set forth in subsection B of this 
section. 

D. The total allowable level of commercial striped bass 
harvest by pound net shall be 24.5% of the total allowable 
sum of pounds of whole fish set forth in subsection B of this 
section. 

E. The total allowable level of commercial striped bass 
harvest by haul seine shall be 2. 94% of the total allowable 
sum of pounds of whole fish set forth in subsection B of this 
section. 

F. The total allowable level of commercial striped bass 
harvest by fyke net shall be 1. 96% of the total allowable sum 
of pounds of whole fish set forth in subsection B of this 
section. 

G. The total allowable level of commercial striped bass 
harvest by hook and line shall be 2.0% of the total allowable 
sum of pounds of whole fish set forth in subsection B of this 
section. 

4 VAC-20-252-160. Individual commercial catch limits and 
lagging. 

A. At the place of capture, and as soon as possible after 
capture, tags shall be passed through the mouth of the fish 
and one gill opening, and interlocking ends of the tag shall 
then be connected such that the tag may only be removed by 
breaking. Failure to comply with these provisions shall be a 
violation of this chapter. 

B. It shall be unlawful to bring to shore any commercially 
caught striped bass that has not been m0rked by the 
fisherman with a tamper evident, numbered tag provided by 
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the commission. It shall be unlawful to possess striped bass 
in a quantity greater than the number of tags in possession. 

C. The commission will issue striped bass tags to 
permitted gill net, haul seine, fyke net and commercial hook 
and line fishermen prior to the start of the fishing season. 
Tags will be issued to pound net fishermen three times per 
year. The number of tags distributed shall be based upon the 
available poundage quota converted to number of fish from 
estimates of the gear specific average weight of striped bass 
haNested during the previous fishing period. Any increases 
in the commercial haNest quota beyond the 1996 quota shall 
be distributed such that one-half of the increase is provided 
to current permit holders and one-half is used to provide 
permits and tags to persons on the waiting list in accordance 
with the provision of this chapter. 

D. Striped bass tags are valid only for use by the permittee 
to whom the tags were allotted. It shall be unlawful for any 
permittee to transfer any tag to another person. The 
permittee shall be on board the boat or vessel when striped 
bass are haNested and tags are applied. Nothing in this 
subsection shall prevent a permitted commercial hook-and­
line fisherman from using crew to harvest his allotment of 
striped bass provided each crew member is a registered 
commercial fisherman licensed for use of commercial hook­
and-line. The commiSSioner, when exceptional 
circumstances exist, may authorize in writing, the temporary 
transfer of tags from a permittee to another permittee. 

E. Altering or attempting to alter any tag for the purpose of 
reuse shall constitute a violation of this chapter. 

F. Any tags issued and not used shall be returned to the 
commission by the permittee within 15 days after the close of 
the commercial fishery for the year. 

4 VAC-20-252-170. Aquaculture of striped bass; permit 
required. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a stnped 
bass aquaculture facility without first obtaining a permit from 
the commission. Such permit shall authorize and define the 
limits of activities concerning the purchase, possession, sale, 
giving, receiving, and transportation of striped bass or hybrid 
striped bass in accordance with the other rules contained in 
this chapter. 

B. The application for a striped bass aquaculture facility 
shall state the name and address of the applicant, the type 
and location of the facility, type of water supply, location of 
nearest tidal waters or tributaries to tidal water, and an 
estimate of production capacity. All aquaculture permits shall 
expire on December 31 of the year of issue and are not 
transferable. Permits shall be automatically renewed by the 
commission provided no structural changes in the facility 
have been made, the facility has been adequately 
maintained, and the permittee has complied with all of the 
provisions of _this chapter. 

C. The original of each permit shall be maintained and 
prominently displayed at the aquaculture facility described 
therein. A copy of such permit may be used as evidence of 
authorization to transport striped bass or hybrid striped bass 

or to sell the fish away from the permitted facility under the 
conditions imposed in 4 VAG 20-252-210. 

4 VAC-20-252-180. Water supply; outfall; prevention of entry 
and escapement. 

A. A striped bass or hybrid striped bass aquaculture 
facility may consist of one or more ponds, artificial 
impoundments, c/osttd recirculating systems or a combination 
of the above. 

B. No pond or impoundment used for striped bass or 
hybrid stnped bass aquaculture may be constructed or 
situated on a natural water course that originates beyond the 
boundaries of private land upon which the pond or 
impoundment is located. 

C. There shall be no direct and unscreened discharge 
from any facility to any natural watercourse. Except as 
provided in subsection D of this section, outf!JII from any pond 
or impoundment shall be processed according to one of the 
following systems: 

1. The outfall shall pass over a dry ground percolation 
system in which ground absorption of the water is 
sufficient to prevent the formation of a watercourse which 
is capable of reaching any natural watercourse. The 
outfall shall pass through a screened filter box prior to 
entering the percolation area. 

2. The outfall shall pass through a chlorination process 
and retention pond for dechlorination. The outfall shall 
pass through a filter box prior to entering the chlorination 
system. 

3. Such facilities must also comply with regulations of 
the State Water Control Board. 

D. If the outfall from an aquaculture facility does not 
conform to the systems described in subdivision C 1 or C 2 of 
this section, then all of the following conditions shalf be 
required: 

1. The aquaculture of striped bass or hybrid striped bass 
shall be restricted to the use of cage culture. Such 
cages shall be constructed of a vinyl coated wire or high 
density polyethylene mesh material sufficient in size to 
retain the fish, and all cages must be securely anchored 
to prevent capsizing. Covers shall be required on all 
cages. 

2. The outfall from the pond or impoundment shall pass 
through a screened filter box. Such filter box shalf be 
constructed of a mesh material sufficient in size to retain 
the fish and shalf be maintained free of debris and in 
workable condition at all times. 

3. The outfall from the screened filter box shall pass into 
a containment basin lined and filled with quarry rock or 
other suitable material to prevent the escapement of the 
ftsh from the bastn. 

E. Those facilities utilizing embankment ponds shall 
maintain sufficient freeboard above the spillway to prevent 
overflow. 
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4 VAC-20-252-190. Acquisition of fish, fingerlings, fry, and 
eggs. 

Striped bass or hybrid striped bass fingerlings, fry, or eggs, 
may be obtained only from state permitted fish dealers and 
must be certified by the seller as having a disease free 
status. Each purchase or acquisition of striped bass or 
hybrid striped bass must be accompanied by a receip't or 
other written evidence showing the date, source, species, 
quantity of the acquisition and its destination. Such receipt 
must be in the possession of the permittee prior to 
transportation of such fish, fingerlings, fry, or eggs to the 
permitted facility. All such receipts shall be retained as part 
of the permittee's records. The harvesting of striped bass 
from the tidal waters of Virginia for the purpose of artificially 
spawning in a permitted aquaculture facility shall comply with 
all of the provisions of this chapter and state taw including 
minimum size limits, maximum size limits, and closed 
harvesting seasons and areas. 

4 VAC-20-252-200. Inspection offacilities; diseased fish. 

A. Inspections. Agents of the commission and the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries are authorized to 
make periodic inspection of the facilities and the stock of 
each operation permitted under this section. Every person 
engaged in the business of striped bass aquaculture shall 
allow such inspection at any reasonable lime. 

B. Diseased fish. No person permitted under this chapter 
shall maintain in the permitted facility any fish which shows 
evidence of any contagious disease listed in the most current 
list by the United States Fish and Wildlife Service as 
"certifiable diseases," except for the period required for 
application of standard treatment procedures or for approved 
disposition. 

Marine Resources Commission 

one year by the seller as part of the records of each 
transaction. 

B. ··Each permitted aquaculture facility operator shall 
maintain a chronological fife of.the receipts or copies thereof 
showing the dales and sou tees of acquisitions of striped bass 
or hybrid striped bass and quantities thereof, and a 
chronological file of copies of receipts of his sales required 
under subsection A of this section. Such records shall be 
segregated as to each permit year, shall be made available 
for inspection by any authorized agent of the commission or 
Department of Game and Inland Fishen·es, and shall be 
retained for at least one year following the close of the permit 
yearto which theypertain. 

C. Striped bass or hybnd striped bass which are the 
product of an approved and state permitted aquaculture 
facility in another state may be imported into Virginia for the 
consumer market. Such fish shall be packaged and labeled 
in accordance with the provisions contained in subsection A 
of this section. Any sale of such fish also shall be 
accompanied by receipts as described in subsection A of this 
section. 

D. . Release of live fish. Under no circumstance shall 
striped bass which are the product of an aquaculture facility 
located wilh1n or outside the Commonwealth of Virginia be 
placed into the waters of the Commonwealth without first 
having notified the commission and having received wrilten 
permission from the Commissioner of Marine Resources. 

4 VAC-20-252-220. Penalty. 

As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any person 
violallng any provision of this chapter shall be guilty of a 
Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent violation 
of any provision of this chapter committed by the same 
person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 
misdemeanor. 

4 VAC-20-252-230. Sanctions. 

C. Disposition. No person permitted under this chapter 
shall sell or otherwise transfer possession of any striped bass 
or hybrid striped bass which shows evidence of a "certifiable 
disease" to any person, except that such transfer may be 
made to a fish pathologist for examination and diag_nosis. . A. Any person failing to submit any report required by this 

4 VAC-20-252-210. Sale, records, importation, release. 

A. All striped bass or hybrid striped bass except 
fingerlings, fry, and eggs, which are the product of an 
aquaculture facility pennitted under this section shall be 
packaged with a printed label bearing the name, address, 
and permit number of the aquaculture facility. When so 
packaged and labeled such fish may be transported and sold 
at retail or at wholesale for commercial distribution through 
normal channels of trade until reaching the ultimate 
consumer. Every such sale must be accompanied by a 
receipt showing the date of sale, the name, address and 
permit number of the aquaculture facility, the numbers and 
species of fish sold, and the name of the purchaser. Each 
subsequent resale must be accompanied by a receipt clearly 
identifying the seller by name and address, showing the 
number and species of the fish sold, the date sold, the permit 
number of the aquaculture facility and, if the sale is to other 
than the ultimate consumer, the name and address of the 
purchaser. The purchaser in possession of such fish must 
exhibit the receipt on demand of any law enforcement officer. 
A duplicate copy of each such receipt must be retained for 
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chapter shail be denied a striped bass permit for the following 
year. 

B. Any person found guilty of violating any provision of this 
chapter may have his permit or license revoked at any time 
upon review by the C()mmission as provided for in§ 28.2-232 
of the Code of Virginia. If the commission revokes any 
person's permit for an aquaculture facility, then that person 
shall not be eligible to apply for a like permit for a period of 
two years from the date of revocation. 

/s/ William A. Pruitt 
Commissioner 

VA.R. Doc .. No. R97-182; Filed DecemberS, 1996,3:11 p.m. 

Monday, January 6, 1997 



Marine Resources Commission 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-751-10 et seq. Pertaining to 
the Setting and Mesh Size of Gill Nets (amending 4 VAC 
20-751-10 and 4 VAC 20-751-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 1997. 

Preamble: 

This regulation prohibits the seiling of any gill net with a 
stretched-mesh size between 3-l> inches and six inches 
within western Chesapeake Bay tributaries of Virginia 
from January 1 through March 14 of each year. This 
regulation also prohibits the setting of any gill net with a 
stretched mesh size greater than six inches within 
western Chesapeake Bay tributaries of Virginia from 
March 15 through June 15 of any year. 

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to authority 
contained in § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. This 
action amends 4 VAG 20-751-10 et seq., which was 

. adopted March 28, 1995, and was effective April 14, 
1995. The effective date of these amendments is 
January 1, 1997. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Deborah R. Cawthon, Marine Resources Commission, 
Regulatory Coordinator, P.O. Box 756, Newport News, VA 
23607, telephone (804) 757-247-2248. 

4 VAC 20-751-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to reduce the out-of-seas.on 
by-catch of American shad and to preclude the harvest of 
coastal migratory striped bass, thereby reducing injuries and 
mortalities to these two species. 

4 VAG 20-751-20. Gill net mesh sizes, restricted areas, 
and season. 

From January 1 through 1\~ril 1 a March 14 of each year, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish any gill 
net with a stretched mesh size between 3-Y. inches and 8 six 
inches within the restricted areas as set forth below; . In 
addition, from March 15 through June 15 of each year, it shall 
be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish any gill net 
with a stretched mesh size greater than six inches within the 
restricted areas set forth below: 

1. In James River, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Willoughby Spit and Old Point Comfort; 

2. In Back River, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Factory Point and Plumtree Point; 

3. In Poquoson River, those tidal waters upstream of a 
line connecting Marsh Point and Tue Point; 

4. In York River, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Tue Point and Guinea Marshes; 

5. In Mobjack Bay, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Guinea Marshes and New Point Comfort; 

6. In Milford Haven, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Rigby Island and Sandy Point; 

7. In Piankatank River, those tidal waters upstream of a 
line connecting Cherry Point and Stingray Point; and 

8. In Rappahannock River, those tidal waters upstream 
of a line connecting Stingray Point to Windmill Point. 

Is/ William A. Pruitt 
Commissioner 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-183; Filed December 9, 1996, 3:15p.m. 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

954 



~I 

FORMS 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The following forms have been issued 
by the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. Copies of 
the forms may be obtained from Cheryl Cashman, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Ninth Street 
Office Building, 202 North 9th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 692-3200. . 

Forms Implementing Chapters 14.2 through 14.4 of Title 
45.1 of the Code of Virginia Regarding Coal Mine Safety · 

License Application for Coal Mining, DMME DM-CM-1, Rev. 
9/96 
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Status of Mine 0Active 
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RISK ASSESSMENT INFORMATION 
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GOVERNOR 

GOVERNOR'S COMMENTS ON PROPOSED 
REGULATIONS 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Title of Requlatigrr: 18 VAG 50-30-10 et seq. Tradesman 
Certification Program Regulations. 

Governor's Comment: 

I have reviewed this proposed regulation on a preliminary 
basis. This regulation is mandated by legislation enacted in 
1994. While I reserve the right to take action authorized by 
the Administrative Process Act during the final adoption 
period, I have no objection to the proposed regulation based 
on the information and public comment currently available. 

is/ George Allen 
Governor 
Date: November 22, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-1B4: Filed December 9, 1996, 11:03 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT (BOARD OF) 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-20-10 et seq. Virginia 
Certification Standards (REPEALING). 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-21-10 et seq. Virginia 
Certification Standards. 

Governor's Comment 

t have reviewed this proposed regulation on a preliminary 
basis. While I reserve the right to take action authorized by 
the Administrative Process Act during the final adoption 
period, I have no objection to the proposed regulation based 
on the information and public comment currently available. 

lsi George Allen 
Governor 
Date: November 22, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-185; Filed December 9, 1996, 11:02 a.m. 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-30-10 et seq. Virginia 
Amusement Device Regulations (REPEALING). 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-31-10 et seq. Virginia 
Amusement Device Regulations. 

Governor's Comment: 

I have reviewed this proposed regulation on a preliminary 
basis. While I reserve the right to take action authorized by 
the Administrative Process Act during the final adoption 
period, I have no objection to the proposed regulation based 
on the information and public comment currently available. 

is/ George Allen 
Governor 
Date: November 22, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-186; Filed December 9, 1996, 11:02 a.m. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-50-10 et seq. Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code (REPEALING). 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-51-10 et seq. Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code. 

Governor's Comment: 

I have reviewed this proposed regulation on a preliminary 
basis. While I reserve the right to take action authorized by 
the Administrative Process Act during the final adoption 
period, I have no objection to the proposed regulation based 
on the information and public comment currently available. 

/s/ George Allen 
Governor 
Date: November 22, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-187; Filed December 9, 1996, 11:02 a.m. 

Title of Regulation· 13 VAG 5-60-10 et seq. 
Uniform Statewide Building Code, Volume 
Construction Code/1993 (REPEALING). 

Title of Regulation· 13 VAG 5-70-10 et seq. 
Uniform Statewide Building Code, Volume II -
Maintenance Code/1993 (REPEALING). 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-61-10 et seq. 
Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

Governor's Comment: 

Virginia 
I - New 

Virginia 
Building 

Virginia 

l have reviewed this proposed regulation on a preliminary 
basis. While I reserve the right to take action authorized by 
the Administrative Process Act during the final adoption 
period, I have no objection to the proposed regulation based 
on the information and public comment currently available. 

lsi George Allen 
Governor 
Date: November 22, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97~188; Filed December 9, 1996, 11:02 a.m. 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-90-10 et seq. Virginia 
Industrialized Building and Manufactured Home Safety 
Regulations (REPEALING). 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-91-10 et seq. Virginia 
Industrialized Building Safety Regulations. 

Governor's Comment: 

I have reviewed this proposed regulation on a preliminary 
basis. While I reserve the right to take action authorized by 
the Administrative Process Act during the final adoption 
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period, I have no objection to the proposed regulation based 
on the information and public comment currently available. 

Is/ George Allen 
Governor 
Date: November 22, 1996 

VAR. Doc. No. R97-189; Filed December 9, 1996, 11:02 a.m. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAC 5-95-10 et seq. Virginia 
Manufactured Home Safety Regulations. 

Governor's Comment: 

I have reviewed this proposed regulation on a preliminary 
basis. While I reserve the right to take action authorized by 
the Administrative Process Act during the final adoption 
period, I have no objection to the proposed regulation based 
on the information and public comment currently available. 

/s/ George Allen 
Governor 
Date: November 22, 1996 

VAR. Doc. No. R97-190; Filed December 9, 1996, 11:02 a.m. 

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND 
MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 115-40-10 et seq. Regulations 
Governing the Certification of Rehabilitation Providers. 

Governor's Comment: 

I have reviewed this proposed regulation on a preliminary 
basis. While I reserve the right to take action authorized by 
the Administrative Process Act during the final adoption 
period, I have no objection to the proposed regulation based 
on the information and public comment currently available. 

lsi George Allen 
Governor 
Date: November 22, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-191; Filed December 9, 1996, 11:03 a.m. 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

Symbol Key 
t Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Virginia Coastal Resources Management Program 

t Notice to the Public Regarding Coastal Needs 
Assessment and Strategy 

The Coastal Program is updating its Coastal Needs 
Assessment and Strategy under Section 309 of the Coastal 
Zone Management Act. Section 309 is a voluntary coastal 
zone enhancement grants program which encourages states 
to develop program changes in one or more of nine coastal 
zone enhancement areas, including wetlands, public access, 
coastal hazards, cumulative and secondary impacts, energy 
and government facility siting, marine debris, ocean 
resOurces, special area management plans and aquaculture. 
The Coastal Needs Assessment and Strategy will evaluate 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's priority needs for 
improvement in the above areas, and develop a strategy for 
addressing these top priority needs. A Draft Assessment and 
Strategy Outline is available for review. For copies of this 
draft outline, or to submit written comments, please write 
Laura McKay, Virginia Coastal Program, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, or call (804) 698-4320. Comments must be received 
by January 21, 1997. 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

t Notice of Public Comment Period 

Pursuant to Public Law 104-193, Virginia has filed its State 
Plan lor its Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
program with the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services. The State Plan will become effective 
following a 45-day comment period beginning on December 
6, 1996. 

A public hearing on the TANF State Plan will be conducted by 
the Virginia State Board of Social Services on January 17, 
1997. It will take place at 2 p.m. at the University of Virginia, 
Minor Hall, Room 125, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903. 
Parking is available at the Newcomb Hall Bookstore. The 
public is invited to attend and to comment. 

Written comment may be submitted through January 20, 
1997, to: 

Clarence H. Carter, Commissioner 
Department of Sociai Services 
Theater Row Building 
730 East Broad Street 
Richmond, Virginia 23219 
ATIENTION: TANF STATE Pt.AN COORDINATOR 

Copies of the TANF State Plan may be obtained from the 
Department of Social Services by calling Karen Williamson at 
(804)692-2422 or by writing to Ms. Williamson at: Department 
of Social Services, Theater Row Building, 730 East Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Our mailing address is: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. You may FAX in your 
notice; however, we ask that you FAX two copies and do not 
follow up with a mailed copy. Our FAX number is: (804) 692-
0625. 

Forms for Filing Material on Dates for Publication in 
The Virginia Register of Regulations 

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when 
furnishing material and dates for publication in The Virginia 
Register of Regulations. The forms are supplied by the office 
of the Registrar of Regulations. If you do not have any forms 
or you need additional forms, please contact: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591. 

FORMS: 
NOTICE of INTENDED REGUt.ATORY ACTION- RR01 
NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD - RR02 
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet)- RR03 
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet)- RR04 
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet) - RR05 
NOTICE of MEETING- RR06 
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISt.ATIVE OBJECTIONS 
- RR08 
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS 
Symbol Key 

t Indicates entries since last publlcation of the Virgi!Jia RegiSter 
~ Location accessible to handicapped 

'ii' Telecommunications Device for Deaf (TDO)Noice Designation 

NOTICE 

Only those meetings which are filed with the Registrar of Regulations by the filing deadline noted at the beginning of this 
publication are listed. Since some meetings are called on short notice, please be aware that this listing of meetings may be 
incomplete. Also, all meetings are subject to cancellation and the .Virginia Register deadline may preclude a notice of such 
cancellation. 

For additional information on open meetings and public hearings held by the Standing Committees of the Legislature during 
the interim, please call Legislative Information at (804) 786-6530. · 

EXECUTIVE 

BOARD FOR ACCOUNTANCY 

January 6, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Germanna Community College, 2130 Germanna Highway, 
Room 100, Locust Grove, Virginia.r;l!l (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting of the board's Executive Committee to discuss 
(i) RFP Specifications (Executive Session); (ii) 
Regulatory Review Committee report; (iii) 1997 
legislation preparation; and (iv) other business needing 
action by the committee. This is a work session for the 
committee which consists of two board members and 
staff. All meetings are subject to cancellation. Call the 
board office 24 hours in advance of the scheduled 
meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the meeting 
and requiring special accommodations or interpreter 
services should contact the board at least 1 0 days prior 
to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director, Board 
for Accountancy, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-
4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or 
(804) 367-9753fTDD 'Or 

January 21, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, V1rgima r;l!l 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss regulatory review, committee 
reports, disciplinary cases, and other matters requiring 
board action. A public comment period will be held at 
the beginning of the meeting. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpretive services should contact 
the board at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director, Board 
for Accountancy, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-
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4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or 
(804) 367-9753ffDD 'Or 

GOVERNOR'S ADVISORY BOARD ON AGING 

January 20, 1997- 6 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
January 21,1997-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department for the Agin!h 700 East Franklin Street, 1oth 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia.l\ill (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A meeting to conduct board business. 

Contact: Kimlah Hyatt, Staff to the Board, Department for 
the Aging, 700 E. Franklin St:, 1oth Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219-2327, telephone (804) 225-2801, FAX (804) 371-8381, 
toll-free 1-800-552-3402, or (804) 225-2271ffDD 'Or 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Virginia Horse Industry Board 

t February 4, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Cooperative Extension, Charlottesville-Albemarle 
Unit, 168 Spotnap Road, Lower Level Meeting Room, 
Charlottesville, Virginia. r;l!l 

A meeting to review the budget for the current fiscal 
year, review equine health issues as presented by the 
State Veterinarian's Office, and consider marketing 
efforts, plans and projects. The board will entertain 
public comment at the conclusion of all other business 
for a period notto exceed 30 minutes. Any person who 
needs any accommodations in order to participate at the 
meeting should contact Andrea S. Heid at least five days 
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. 

Contact: Andrea S. Heid, Equine Marketing Specialist, 
Depar1ment of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 1100 
Bank St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-5842. 
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Pesticide Control Board 

January 15, 1997-1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
January 16, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street. Board Room. Room 
204, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

Committee meetings and a general business meeting. 
Portions of the meetings may be held in closed session 
pursuant to§ 2.1-344 of the Code of Virginia. The public 
will have an opportunity to comment on any matter not 
on the board's agenda beginning at 1 p.m. on January 
15. Any person who needs any accommodations in 
order to participate at the meeting should contact Dr. 
Marvin A. Lawson at least 10 days before the meeting 
date so that suitable arrangements can be made. 

Contact: Dr. Marvin A. Lawson, Program Manager, Office of 
Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, 1100 Bank St., Room 401, P.O. Box 1163, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6558. 

Virginia Plant Pollination Advisory Board 

February 7, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 4th Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A regular meeting to receive reports from members on 
the past year's activity in their respective disciplines at it 
relates to apiculture, pollination, education, and the 
production of food and fiber in the Commonwealth, and 
to consider matters for the future in the aforemention,ed 
categories. At the conclusion of this business, the board 
will entertain public comments for a period not to exceed 
30 minutes. Any person who needs any 
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting 
should contact the agency at least five days before the 
meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. 

Contact: Robert G. Wellemeyer, Secretary-Treasurer, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 234 West 
Shirley Ave., Warrenton, VA 22186, telephone (540) 347-
6380, FAX (540) 347-6384, or (804) 371-6344fTDD if 

Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board 

t January 21, 1997 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Boar's Head Inn, 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, 
Virginia.~ 

A regular quarterly meeting to include committee and 
treasurer's reports. The board will entertain public 
comment at the conclusion of all other business for a 
period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs 
any accommodations in order to participate at the 
meeting .should contact Mary E. Davis-Barton at least 1 0 
days before the meeting date so that suitable 
arrangements can be made. 

Contact: Mary E. Davis-Barton, Secretary, Virginia 
Winegrowers Advisory Board, 1100 Bank St., Room 1010, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7685. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

January 8, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Location to be determined. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Cindy M. Berndt, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone 
(804) 698-4378. 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

t January 6, 1997-9:30 a.m.-· Open Meeting 
t January 23, 1997- 9:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t February 3, 1997- 9:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t February 20, 1997 -9:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t March 3, 1997-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t March 17, 1997.9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t March 31, 1997- 9:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Road, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to receive and discuss reports from and 
activities of staff members. 

Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn, Secretary to the Board, 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Rd., P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone (804) 
367-0712 or FAX (804) 367-1802. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS AND LANDSCAPE 

ARCHITECTS 

Board for Land Surveyors 

t January 16, 1997-9 a.m.-- Closed Meeting 
t January 17, 1997-9 a.m.-- Closed Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting of the Land Surveyor Section and invited 
subject matters experts to write and review examination 
questions for the Virginia Land Surveyor A and B 
examinations. This examination workshop is not open to 
the public. 

Contact: George 0. Bridewell, Examination Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-8572 or (804) 367-9743fTDD if 
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COMPREHENSIVE SERVICES ACT FOR AT RISK 
YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES 

State Management Team 

t January 21, 1987-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
St. Joseph's Villa, 8000 Brook Road, Richmond, Virginia.ril! 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss and recommend policy and 
procedure to the State Executive Council. Please 
contact Pamela Fitzgerald Cooper or Gloria Jarrell to be 
added to the agenda. 

Contact: Gloria Jarrell or Pamela Fitzgerald Cooper, 
Secretary, Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation 
and Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, 109 
Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
2177 or FAX (804) 371-0091. 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

January 10, 1997-.10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Omn! Hotel, 100 South 12th Street, Richmond, Virginia. rill 

A meeting to conduct general board business. Persons 
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the 
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made. 
The department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514 or (804) 
367-9753fTDD2 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

February 20, 1997 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.ril! 

A general board meeting. Public comments will be 
received for 15 minutes at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact: Senita Booker, Program Support Technician 
Senior, Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 
6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, 
telephone (804) 662-7390, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-
7197fTDD 2 

Legislative/Regulatory Committee 

January 31, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.r.l.! 
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A meeting to discuss proposed regulations of the board. 
No public comment will be received. 

Contact: Senita Booker, Program Support Technician 
Senior, Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 
6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, 
telephone (804) 662-7390, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-
7197fTDD ~if 

BOARD FOR BARBERS 

January 6, 1997 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.r.l.! 

A general business meeting of the Legislative 
Committee. Persons desiring to participate in the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the department at 
least two weeks prior to the meeting so that suitable 
arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8509, FAX 
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753fTDD 2 

CHESAPEAKE BAY LOCAL ASSISTANCE BOARD 

Northern Area Review Committee 

January 14, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
February 11, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department, 805 East 
Broad Street, Suite 701, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to review Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area 
programs for the Northern Area. Persons interested in 
observing should call the Chesapeake Bay Local 
Assistance Department to verify meeting time, location 
and schedule. No comments from the public will be 
entertained at the meeting; however, written comments 
are welcome. 

Contact: Carolyn J. Elliott, Executive Secretary, 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department, 805 E. Broad 
St., Suite 701, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-
3440, FAX (804) 225-3447 or toll-free 1-800-243-7229fTDD 
2 

Southern Area Review Committee 

January 14,1997-2 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
February 11, 1997 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department, 805 East 
Broad Street, Suite 701, Richmond, Virginia.r.l.! (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to review Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area 
programs for the Southern Area. Persons interested in 
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observing should call the Chesapeake Bay Local 
Assistance Department to verify meeting time, location 
and schedule. No comments from the public will be 
entertained at the meeting; however, written comments 
are welcome. 

Contact: Carolyn J. Elliott, Executive Secretary, 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department, 805 E. Broad 
St., Suite 701, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-
3440, FAX (804) 225-3447 or toll-free 1-800-243-7229ffDD 
'il 

CHILD DAY-CARE COUNCIL 

t January 9, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Theater Row Building, 730 East Broad Street, Lower Level, 
Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

The council will meet to discuss issues and concerns 
that impact child day centers, camps, school age 
programs, and preschool/nursery schools. Public 
comment will be received at noon. Please call ahead of 
time for possible changes in meeting time. 

Contact: Rhonda Harrell, Division of Licensing Programs, 
Department of Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-1775. 

STATE CHILD FATALITY REVIEW TEAM 

January 22, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 1300 East 
Main Street, 3rd Floor Conference Room, Richmond, 
Virginia.r.l! 

A meeting to (i) discuss the status of ongoing studies; (ii) 
review data collection and analysis issues; and (iii) 
update the team on any new legislative or administrative 
matters. The second part of this meeting will be closed 
for specific case discussion. 

Contact: Suzanne J. Keller, Coordinator, 9 N. 14th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1048, FAX (804) 
371-8595, or toll-free 1-800-44 7-1706. 

COMMONWEALTH COMPETITION COUNCIL 

January 6, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, 3rd Floor 
West Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.r.l! (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Peggy Robertson, Staff, Commonwealth 
Competition Council, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 
5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0240 or 
FAX (804) 786-1594. 

STATE BOARD FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGES 

t January 8, 1997- 1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 15th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

State board committee meetings. 

Contact: Dr. Joy S. Graham, Assistant Chancellor, Public 
Affairs, State Board for Community Colleges, James Monroe 
Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2126, FAX (804) 371-0085, or (804) 
371-8504ffDD 'il 

t January 9, 1997-8:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 15th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A regularly scheduled board meeting. 

Contact: Dr. Joy S. Graham, Assistant Chancellor, Public 
Affairs, State Board for Community Colleges, James Monroe 
Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2126, FAX (804) 371-0085, or (804) 
371-8504ffDD 'il 

COMPENSATION BOARD 

t January 7, 1997 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
t January 30, 1997-11 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t February 27, 1997 -11 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Ninth Street Office Building, 202 North Ninth Street, 9th Floor, 
Room 913/913A, Richmond, Virginia.r.l! (Interpreter for the 
deaf provided upon request) 

A routine business meeting. 

Contact: Bruce W. Haynes, Executive Secretary, P.O. Box 
710, Richmond, VA 23218-0710, telephone (804) 786-0786, 
FAX (804) 371-0235, or (804) 786-0786ffDD 'iii' 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Appomattox Scenic River Advisory Board 

January 14, 1997-7 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
1801 Ramblewood Road, Petersburg, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss river issues. 

Contact: Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program 
Manager, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203 
Governor St., Suite 326, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-4132, FAX (804) 371-7899 or (804) 786-2121ffDD 
'il 
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Board of Conservation and Recreation 

t January 29, 1997 - 10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor 
Street, Room 200, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the 
deaf provided upon request) 

A general business meeting to receive an update on the 
status of the Stormwater Management Regulations 
regulatory action. 

Contact: Leon E. App, Conservation and Development 
Programs Supervisor, Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, 203 Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-4570, FAX (804) 786-6124, or 
(804) 786-2121fTDD '.if 

Virginia Cave Board 

January 11, 1997- 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Radford University, Porterfield Hall, Room 180, Radford, 
Virginia. 

A regularly scheduled meeting. A variety of issues 
relating to cave and karst conservation will be discussed. 
No public comment period has been set aside on the 
agenda. 

Contact: Lawrence R. Smith, Natural Area Protection 
'1anager, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 

ivision of Natural Heritage, 1500 E. Main St., Suite 312, 
Kichmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7951, FAX (804) 
371-2674, or (804) 786-2121fTDD '.if 

Falls of the James Scenic River Advisory Board 

January 9, 1997- Noon-- Open Meeting 
Parks and Recreation Conference Room, City Hall, 900 East 
Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

February 6, 1997 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Planning Commission Conference Room, City Hall, 900 East 
Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss river issues and programs. 

Contact: Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program 
Manager, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203 
Governor St., Suite 326, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-4132, FAX (804) 371-7899, or (804) 786-
2121fTDD'.iif 

Goose Creek Seen ic River Advisory Board 

t January 9, 1997-1:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
County Administration Building, Lovettsville Room, Lobby 
Level, Leesburg, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss river issues. 

. ,ontact: Richard G. Gibbons.- Environmental Program 
Manager, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
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Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203 
Governor St., Suite 326, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-4132, FAX (804) 371-7899, or (804) 786-
2121fTDD'.iif 

Moormans Scenic River Advisory Board 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATES 
t January 9, 1997 -1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
t February 13, 1997 -1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Albemarle County Office, 401 Mcintire Road, Charlottesville, 
Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss river issues. 

Contact: Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program 
Manager, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203 
Governor St., Suite 326, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-4132, FAX (804) 371-7899, or (804) 786-
2121n-DD'.iif 

Rappahannock Scenic River Advisory Board 

February 19, 1997-6 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Riverview Restaurant, 1101 Sophia Street, Fredericksburg, 
Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss river issues. 

Contact: Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program 
Manager, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203 
Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
4132, FAX (804) 371-7899, or (804) 786-2121fTDD'.iif 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

January 7, 1997- 5 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Conference Room 4, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

January 30, 1997 --Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors 
intends to adopt regulations entitled: 18 VAC 50-30-10 
et seq. Tradesman Certification Program 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed regulation is 
to provide for the certification of tradesmen by 
establishing fees, entry requirements, standards ,of 
practice and conduct, and other administrative 
procedures. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-11 02 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Steven L. Arthur, Assistant Director, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2945 . 
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t January 8, 1997 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A regularly scheduled meeting of the board to (i) address 
policy and procedural issues; (ii) review and render 
decisions on applications for contractor 
licenses/certificates; and (iii) review and render case 
decisions on matured complaints against 
licensees/certificants. The meeting is open to the public; 
however, a portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in executive session. The department fully 
comp!ies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact Geralde W. Morgan at the Board for 
Contractors. 

Contact: Geralde W. Morgan, Senior Administrator, Board 
for Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-2785 or (804) 367-9753fTDD ir 

Disciplinary Committee 

February 4, 1997 • 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to review board member reports and 
summaries from informal fact-finding conferences held 
pursuant to the Administrative Process Act, and to 
review consent order offers in lieu of further disciplinary 
proceedings. Persons desiring to participate in the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the department at 
least two weeks prior to the meeting so that suitable 
arrangements can be made. The board fully complies 
with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Michelle Couch, Legal Assistant, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
IGiephone (804) 367-8524. 

Recovery Fund Committee 

t March 18, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Depa1!ment of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
:3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to consider claims against the Virginia 
Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund. This meeting 
will be open to the public; however, a portion of the 
discussion may be conducted in executive session. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact Holly Erickson at least two weeks prior to 
the meeti.ng so that suitable arrangements can be made. 
The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Holly Erickson, Assistant Administrator, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8561. 

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONAL EDUCATION 

January 17, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Correctional Education, James Monroe 
Building, 101 North 14th Street, 7th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A monthly meeting to discuss general business. 

Contact: Patty Ennis, Board Clerk, Department of 
Correctional Education, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th 
St., 7th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3678, telephone (804) 
225-3314. 

BOARD FOR COSMETOLOGY 

January 6, 1997-10 a.m.·· Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A general business meeting. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
Karen W. O'Neal. Please notify the department of your 
request at least two weeks in advance. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8509, FAX 
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753fTDD ir 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

t January 7, 1997 - 11 a.m.·· Open Meeting 
Richmond Policy Training_Academy, 1202 
Road, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

West Graham 

A meeting to consider matters related to the board's 
responsibilities for criminal justice training and 
improvement of the criminal justice system. Public 
comments will be heard before adjournment of the 
meeting. 

Contact: Sherri Stader, Assistant to the Director, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 805 E. Broad St., 
10th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8718, 
FAX (804) 371-8981. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE DEAF AND HARD-OF­
HEARING 

Advisory Board 

t February 5, 1996 - 10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, Washington 
Building, 1100 Bank Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly business meeting of the advisory board. 
Public comment will be received with advance notice. 
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Contact: Gloria Cathcart, Human Services Program 
Specialist, Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, 
Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St., 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-7892 (V!TTY), toll-free 1-800-
552-7917(V!TTY), FAX (804) 371-7882. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY. 

t January 23, 1997 - 8 a.m. --Open Meeting 
t January 24, 1997 - 9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A panel of the board to conduct formal hearings to hear 
disciplinary cases. This is a public meeting; however, no 
public comment will be taken. 

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 

t January 24, 1997 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A business meeting to receive committee reports, and 
review consent orders, minutes, and general requests 
made to the board. Public comment will be taken for a 
20-minute period beginning at 1 p.m .. 

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
7197fTDD 'iii' 

Advertising Committee 

t January 23, 1997-3:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss minutes of the December 13 
meeting, and any recommendations that will be 
presented at the board meeting on Friday, January 24. 
This is a public meeting, however, no public comment 
will be taken. 

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
7197fTDD 'iii' 

Continuing Education Committee 

t January 23, 1997- 2 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss dental hygiene audits, expanding 
the continuing education provider list, and disciplinary 
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issues. This is a public meeting; however, no public 
comment will be taken. 

Contact: 'Marcia ·J. >Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-

.. 7197/JDD.'ii' 

· Examination Committee 

t January 24, 1997-3:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th · Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for-the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss calibration exercises with board 
members in ,preparation for the upcoming clinical 
examinations. This .is a public meeting, however, no 
public commenl will' be taken. 

Contact: Marcia · J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
7,197(fDD 'iii' 

· · Executiv'e Committee 

t January 23,.1997- 1:30 p
0
m. -- Open Meeting 

Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th ·Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) . . 

A meeting to discuss general issues affecting the board. 
I~is is a public meetipg, however, no public comment 

·will be"taken·. 

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone , (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
7197ffDD 1iir · 

!',\ ,, 

967 

Legislative/Regulatory Committee 

t January 23, 1997-3 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th •:Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss minutes of the November 22 
meeting, and any recommendations that will be 
pJesented at the. board meeting on Friday, January 24. 
This is a public meeting, however, no public comment 
will be taken. 

Contact: Ma'rcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
719HTDD 'iii' 
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VIRGINIA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
PARTNE~SHIP 

t January 22, 1997 - 10 a.m. -· Open Meeting 
Department of Economic Development, 901 East Byrd Street, 
9th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.r.lll 

A meeting of the Board of Directors of the Virginia 
Tourism Corporation. 

Contact: Judy Bulls, Executive Assistant to the President, 
Virginia Economic Development Partnership, 901 E. Byrd St., 
19th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8174 
or FAX (804) 786-1919. 

BOARD OF EDUCATION 

January 9, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 
Virginia. r.lll (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The Board of Education and the Board of Vocational 
Education will hold a regularly scheduled meeting. 
Business will be conducted according to items listed on 
the agenda. The agenda is available upon request. 

Contact: James E. Laws, Jr., Administrative Assist~nl to the 
Superintendent for Board Relations, Department of 
Education, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, 
telephone (804) 225-2540 or toll-free 1-800-292-3820. 

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEe­
COUNTY OF MONTGOMERY/TOWN OF 

BLACKSBURG 

t January 8, 1997 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
American Red Cross-Montgomery Chapter, 16 East Main 
Street, Training Annex, Conference Room, Christiansburg, 
Virginia.r.lll 

A meeting to focus on updating the emergency plan 
document and to elect officers for the upcoming year. 

Contact: Patrick Burton, Regional Planner, New River Valley 
Planning District Commission, P.O. Box .3726, Radford, VA 
24143, telephone (540) 639-9313. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

January 7, 1997 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearin!j 
Town Council Chambers, 502 Vancey street, South Boston, 
Virginia. 

A public hearing to receive comments on the proposed 
major modification on the Resource Conservation and 
Recovery Act (RCRA) Post-Closure for Teledyne Allvac 
located in South Boston·, 

Contact: Richard Criqui, Office of Permitting Management. 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, 
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4013. 

Virginia Ground Water Protection Steering 
Committee 

January 21, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 1300 East 
Main Street, 8th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, 
Virginia.r.lll 

A meeting concerning ground water protection issues. 
All interested persons are welcome to attend. Meeting 
minutes and agenda are available from Mary Ann 
Massie. 

Contact: Mary Ann Massie, Environmental Program Planner, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P. 0. Box 10009, 
Richmond, VA 23240-0009, telephone (804) 698-4042 or 
FAX (804) 698-4032. 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 

t January 23,1997-10 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Fire Programs, James Monroe Building, 101 
North 14th Street, 18th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

A public hearing to discuss (i) the contract package, (ii) 
financial considerations, and (iii) the use of 
considerations for the burn buildings. 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 
18th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-0220. 

BOARD OF FORESTRY 

t January 9, 1997- 9:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Marriott Hotel, 500 East Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.r.lll 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general business. Any person 
requiring an interpreter for the deaf should notify the 
department at least five days prior to the meeting. 

Contact: Barbara A. Worrell, Administrative Staff Specialist, 
P.O. Box 3758, Charlottesville, VA 22903-0758, telephone 
(894) 977-6555fTDD 'lir 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

January 9, 1997 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A general board meeting. Public comments will be 
received for 15 minutes at the beginning of the meeting. 
Formal hearings will follow. 

Contact: Elizabeth Young Kirksey, Executive Director, Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9907, 
FAX (804) 662-9943, or (804) 662-7197fTDD 'lir 
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BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

January 9, 1997 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
January 10, 1997 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street; Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss general and administrative issues. 
The board may hold an executive session beginning at 9 
a.m., on January 9. If the board completes its entire 
agenda on January 9, it may not convene on January 10. 

Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst Senior, Department of 
Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 W. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or FAX (804) 367-2427. 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Design/Build Construction Management Review 
Board 

January 17, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
February 21,1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of General Services, 805 East Broad Street, 
Room 116, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting of the board to conduct general business and 
review any submissions by local governing bodies for 
proposed use of design/build construction management 
tor specific construction projects. The board meets the 
third Friday of each month. 

Contact: Nathan I. Broocke, Director, Division of 
Engineering and Buildings, Department of General Services, 
805 E. Broad St., Room 101, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3263 or (804) 786-6152/TDD 'il 

STATE HAZARDOUS MATERIALS TRAINING 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE; 

January 11, 1997 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Emergency Services, 310 Turner Road. 
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to discuss curriculum course development 
and review existing hazardous materials courses. 
Individuals with a disability, as defined in the Americans 
with Disabilities Act of 1990, desiring to attend the 
meeting should contact the Department of Emergency 
Serv1ces 10 days prior to the meeting so appropriate 
accommodations can be made. 

Contact: George B. Gotschalk, Jr., Department of Criminal 
Justice Services, 805 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-6001. 
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BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

t January 14, 1997 -1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to receive an update on legislation and on the 
Joint Commission on Health Care's Study on Managed 
Care, and other committee reports. Brief public 
comment will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact: Robert A. Nebiker, Executive Director, Board of 
Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9919 or (804) 662-
7197/TDD 'il 

Compliance and Discipline Committee 

t January 14, 1997 - Following 1 p.m. Board Meeting -­
Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to review the work plan for study into the need 
for conducting routine criminal background checks. Brief 
public comment will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact: Robert A. Nebiker, Executive Director, Department 
of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9919 or 
(804) 662-7197/TDD 'il 

Practitioner Self-Referral Committee 

t January 14, 1997- Noon-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general business. Brief public 
comment will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact: Robert A. Nebiker, Executive Director, Board of 
Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9919 or (804) 662-
7197/TDD 'il 

Regulatory Research Committee 

t January 14, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to receive an update on counseling-related 
professions study. Public comment will be received at 
the beginning of the meeting. 
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Contact: Robert A. Nebiker, Executive Director, Board of 
Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9919 or (804) 662-
7197rrDD 'Iii' 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

January 13, .1997- 8:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 3, Richmond, 
Virginia.r.1'! 

A routine business meeting. A public comment period 
will be held at the beginning of the meeting. Persons 
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact David Dick at least 1 0 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The 
department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, FAX 
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753rrDD 'Iii' 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

t January 9, 1997 - 9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 9th Floor, 
Council Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.r.1'! (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A general business meeting. 

Contact: Michael McDowell, Public Information Director, 
State Council of Higher Education, James Monroe Bldg., 101 
N. 14th St., 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-2637 or FAX (804) 786-0572. 

t January 9, 1997 -Noon-- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 15th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A joint meeting of the council and the Board for 
Community Colleges. 

Contact: Michael McDowell, Public Information Director, 
State Council of Higher Education, James Monroe Bldg., 101 
N. 14th St., 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-2637 or FAX (804) 786-0572. 

HOPEWELL INDUSTRIAL SAFETY COUNCIL 

January 7, 1997- 9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
February 4, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
March 4, 1997- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Hopewell Communi!J.' Center, Second and City Point Road, 
Hopewell, Virginia. M! (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

Local Emergency Preparedness Committee Meeting on 
emergency preparedness as required by SARA Title Ill. 

Contact: Robert Brown, Emergency Services Coordinator, 
300 N. Main St., Hopewell, VA 23860, telephone (804) 541-
2298. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

January 10, 1997-- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-20-10 et seq., Virginia Certification 
Standards/1993 and adopt regulations entitled: 13 VAC 
5-21-10 et seq. Virginia Certification Standards. The 
purpose of this proposal is (i) to delete the tradesmen 
certification requirements since regulatory authority for 
tradesmen certification was transferred to the 
Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, and (ii) to transfer the blaster certification 
requirements from this regulation to the Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 36-98.3 and 36-137 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 

"'"'*****"' 

January 10, 1997-- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-30-10 et seq., Virginia Amusement 
Device Regulations/1993 and adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-31-10 et seq. Virginia Amusement 
Device Regulations. The Virginia Amusement Device 
Regulations provide statewide standards for the 
construction, maintenance, inspection and operation of 
amusement devices. The proposed changes update this 
regulation to reflect current nationally approved 
standards. 

Statutory Authority: § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia. 
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: Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 

******** 

January 10, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-50-10 et seq., Virginia Statewide 
Fire Prevention Code/1993 and adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-51-10 et seq. Virginia Statewide 
Fire' Prevention Code. The proposed regulation sets 
forth performance requirements for the use of 
explosives, and the maintenance and use of structures 
with regard to fire safety. The proposed regulation has 
been updated to refiect current nationally approved 
safety standards, blaster certification requirements have 
been deleted from the Virginia Certification Standards 
and incorporated into this regulation, and the format of 
the regulation has been changed to make it more 
understandable to the regulated community 

Statutory Authority: § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 

*******'* 
January 10, 199.7 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-60-10 et seq., Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code, Volume I New 
Construction Code/1993, and 13 VAC 5-70-10 et seq., 
Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, Volume II 
• New Construction Code/1993, and adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-61-10 et seq., Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code. The Building Code 
prescribes standards for construction, maintenance and 
use of buildings and structures and their equipment. 
This proposal consolidates Volumes I and II of the USBC 
into a single regulation and updates the latest 
construction and maintenance model codes and 
standards. 

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 
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January 10, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-90-10 et seq., Virginia 
Industrialized Building and Manufactured Home and 
Safety Regulations/1993, and adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-91-10 et seq., Virginia 
Industrialized Building Safety Regulations. The 
proposed amendments update documents incorporated 
by reference to refiect current nationally approved safety 
standards and transfer requirements regarding 
manufactured home safety standards from this regulation 
to the Virginia Manufactured Home Safety Regulations 
(13 VAG 5-95-10 et seq.). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-73 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 

January 10, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-95-10 et seq., Virginia 
Manufactured Home Safety Regulations. The Virginia 
Manufactured Home Safety Regulations provide for the 
administration and enforcement of uniform, statewide, 
and safety standards for manufactured homes, wherever 
produced. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 36-85.7 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 

STATEWIDE INDEPENDENT LIVING COUNCIL 

January 23, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department for the Visually Handicapped, 397 Azalea 
Avenue, Library and Resource Center, Richmond, Virginia.!!.! 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct regular business. 

Contact: Jim Rothrock, Statewide Independent Living 
Council Staff, 1802 Marroit Rd., Richmond, VA 23229, 
telephone (804) 673-0119, FAX (804) 282-7112, toll-free 1-
800-552-5019fTDD and Voice, or e:mail jarothrock@aol.com. 
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VIRGINIA INSURANCE COUNSELING AND 
ADVOCACY PROJECT ADVISORY COUNCIL 

January29, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department for the Aging, 700 East Franklin Street, 1Oth 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to conduct advisory council business. 

Contact: Kimlah Hyatt, Program Coordinator, Department 
for the Aging, 700 E. Franklin St., 10th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-2801, FAX (804) 371-8381, toll­
free 1-800-552-3402, or (804) 225-2271fTDD !if 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Safety and Health Codes Board 

January23, 1997-10 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere 
Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

February 28, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes 
Board intends to adopt regulations entitled: 16 VAC 25-
35-10 et seq. Regulation Concerning Certified Lead 
Contractor Notification, Lead Project Permits and 
Permit Fees. The proposed regulation requires all 
certified lead contractors who engage in lead abatement 
projects in Virginia with a contract value of $2,000 or 
more to notify the Department of Labor and Industry in 
writing at least 20 days before the beginning of such lead 
project. Such notification shall be provided on a 
department form accompanied by the payment of a lead 
project permit fee. The regulation also requires filing of 
amended notifications prior to changes in or cancellation 
of lead abatement projects. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-22(5) and 40.1-51.20 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until February 28, 1997, 
to Bonnie H. Robinson, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 
ol Labor and Industry, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 
23219. 

Contact: Clarence H. Wheeling, Director of Occupational 
Health Compliance, Department of Labor and Industry, 13 S. 
13th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0574, 
FAX (804) 786-8418, or (804) 786-2376fTDD !if 

liBRARY BOARD 

January 6, 1997-10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 3rd 
Floor, Supreme Court Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to discuss matters related to the Library of 
Virginia and its board. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

Automation and Networking Committee 

January 6, 1997- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, Office 
of the Division Director, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to discuss automation and networking 
matters. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

Publications and Cultural Affairs Committee 

January 6, 1997- 8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, Office 
of the Division Director, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to discuss matters related to the Publications 
and Cultural Affairs Division and The Library of Virginia. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

Records Management Committee 

January 6, 1997- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Conference Room B, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to discuss matters pertaining to records 
management. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332, 

Research and Information Services Committee 

January6, 1997- 8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Conference Room B, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to discuss research and information services. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

LITTER CONTROL AND RECYCLING FUND 
ADVISORY BOARD 

January10, 1997 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Plantation House, 1108 East Main Street, 2nd Floor 
Conference Center, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the 
deaf provided upon request) 
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A meeting to (i) promote the control, prevention, and 
elimination of litter from the Commonwealth and 
encourage recycling; and (ii) advise the Director of the 
Department of Environmental Quality on other litter 
control and recycling matters. For details call Paddy 
Katzen or e-mail pmkatzen@deq.state.va.us. 

Contact: Paddy Katzen, Special Assistant to the Secretary 
of Natural Resources, Department of Environmental Quality, 
629 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
4488 or FAX (804) 698-4453. 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

t January 6, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Commission on Local Government, 8th Street Office Building, 
805 East Broad Street, Room 702, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting to consider such matters as may be 
presented. Persons desiring to participate in the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the commission. 

Contact: Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant, 
Commission on Local Government, 702 8th Street Office 
Bldg., Richmond, VA 23219-1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, 
FAX (804) 371-7999 or (804) 786-1860ffDD 'if 

t February 17, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Smithfield area; site to be determined. 

Oral presentations regarding the Town of Smithfield and 
Isle of Wight County Voluntary Settlement Agreement. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact the commission. 

Contact: Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant, 
Commission on Local Government, 702 8th Street Office 
Bldg., Richmond, VA 23219-1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, 
FAX (804) 371-7999 or (804) 786-1860ffDD W 

t February 17, 1997 -7 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Smithfield area; site to be determined. 

A public hearing regarding the Town of Smithfield and 
Isle of Wight County Voluntary Settlement Agreement. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact the commission. 

Contact: Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant, 
Commission on Local Government, 702 8th Street Office 
Bldg., Richmond, VA 23219-1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, 
FAX (804) 371-7999 or (804) 786-1860ffDD 'if 

LONGWOOD COLLEGE 

Board of Visitors 

t January 30, 1997 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Omni Charlottesville Hotel, Preston II Room, Charlottesville, 
Virginia.r;!JI 
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A meeting to conduct routine business of the Facilities 
and Services Committee and Finance Committee of the 
Longwood Board of Visitors. 

Contact: Patricia P. Cormier, President, Longwood College, 
201 High St., Farmville, VA 23909, telephone (804) 395-2004 
or FAX (804) 395-2821. 

t January 30, 1997- 4 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Omni Charlottesville Hotel, Preston II Room, Charlottesville, 
Virginia.r;!JI 

A meeting of the Academic Affairs/Student Affairs 
Committees to conduct routine business. 

Contact: Patricia P. Cormier, President, Longwood College, 
201 High St., Farmville, VA 23909, telephone (804) 395-2001 
or FAX (804) 395-2821. 

t January 31, 1997-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Omni Charlottesville Hotel, Preston II Room, Charlottesville, 
Virginia.r;!JI 

A meeting to conduct routine business. 

Contact: Patricia P. Cormier, President, Longwood College, 
201 High St., Farmville, VA 23909, telephone (804) 395-2004 
or FAX (804) 395-2821. 

VIRGINIA MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 

January 15, 1997 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia.r;!JI 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular monthly meeting of the board. 

Contact: Curtis L. Mciver, Associate Director, Department of 
Housing and Community Development, Manufactured 
Housing Office, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7160 or (804) 371-7089ffDD W 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

t February 18,1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting of the board to consider policy issues relating 
to Medicaid. 

Contact: Cynthia A. Klisz, Board Liaison, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8099 or FAX 
(804) 371-4981. 

tl******* 

February 21, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
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Assistance Services intends to consider amending 
regulations entitled: 12 VAC 30-70-10 et seq. Methods 
and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates­
Inpatient Hospital Services and 12 VAC 30-80-10 et 
seq. Methods and Standards lor Establishing 
Payment Rates--Other Types of Care. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to promulgate a new 
reimbursement methodology (diagnosis related 
groupings) for inpatient hospital services to replace the 
current per diem methodology. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until February 21, 1997, 
to Scott Crawford, Division of Financial Operations, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219. 

Contact: Victoria Simmons or Roberta Jonas, Regulatory 
Coordinators, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-8854 or FAX (804) 371-4981. 

******** 

February 21, '1997 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to consider adopting 
regulations entitled: 12 VAC 30-100-250 through 12 
VAC 30-100-370 e! seq. HIV Premium Assistan~e 
Program. The purpose of the proposed regulation is to 
promulgate permanent regulations for the administration 
of the HIV Premium Assistance Program consistent with 
§ 32.1-330.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-325 and 32.1-330.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until February 21, 1997, 
to Michael Lupien, Division of Program Delivery Systems', 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219. 

Contact Victoria Simmons or Roberta Jonas, Regulatory 
Coordinators, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-8854 or FAX (804) 371-4981. 

Medicaid Drug Utilization Review Board 

January 9, 1997 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Depa1tment of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.lll! 

A meeting to conduct routine business. 

Contact: Marianne R. Rollins, Medical Support, Division of 
Program Operations, Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-8056. 

Medicaid Pharmacy Prior Authorization Advisory 
Committee 

January 9, 1997- 10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.l\l! 

A meeting to conduct routine business. 

Contact: Marianne R. Rollins, Medical Support, Division of 
Program Operations, Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-8056. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

t January 24, 1997 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

t March 7, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends 
to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 85-80-10 et seq. 
Regulations for the Certification of Occupational 
Therapists. The purpose of the proposed amendments 
is to update the identification of the national accreditation 
body for occupational therapy, clarify the clinical 
supervision of uncertified persons practicing 
occupational therapy, and reduce the application fee for 
certification. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.1 through 
54.1-2956.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7423 
or FAX (804) 662-9943. 

Informal Conference Committee 

January 8, 1997- 9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Roanoke Airport Marriott, 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, 
Virginia. 

January 14, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Sheraton Inn, 2801 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, Virginia. 

January 16, 1997-8:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

January 24, 1997- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Marriott Hotel, 50 Kingsmill Road, Williamsburg, Virginia. 

The Informal Conference Committee, composed of three 
members of the board, will inquire into allegations that 
certain practitioners may have violated laws and 
regulations governing the practice of medicine and other 
healing arts in Virginia. The committee will meet in open 
and closed sessions pursuant to§ 2.1-344 A 7 and A 15 
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of the Code of Virginia. Public con1ment V1Ii!l 1 10i be 
received. 

Contact: Lorraine McGehee, /\cting D~:)putv b(<:1CUiive 
Director, Board of Medicine, 6600 \N. Broad St., ,.:!111 FlocH, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 6Cl2-76D~!., F/\)< 
(804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-7197rTDIJ 'ill 

Advisory Board on Oc~up~ltiOilal 

January 9, 1997 - 9 •.m. -··Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 \Ne~i: Bro<:~d ~ltrc(~i, 

5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, \/lrgin!:J.~. (\nh:~qJI·eif-:H 
for the deaf provided upon roque"\) 

A meeting to revievv public cornrm::11b-:: and l'n;-:~ke 

recommendations to the board regardinn HiE-. tr::~uubiull/ 
review of 18 VAC 85-80-10 et seq., F~.8~Jul:::-ilionu fu1 
Certification of Occupational Therapists, and sucJ1 nlhc\ 
issues which may be presented. Thtc: board will t~nt<~:rt~Jin 
public comment during the first 15 minutes on ;Joentla 
items. 

Contact: Warren W. Koontz, M.D., ExecutiV(': OirBdc;r, 
Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Hichrnund, 
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FA>( (flO~) GG2-
9943 or (804) 662-7i97rTDD 'iii: 

Advisory Board on 1-'tl\m""' 

January 10, 1997- 9 a.m.-- Open Meelinq 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 \Nest Bro;·!d Sirect, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, \/irqini:-,1.~, (lnterr1relt:1 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to review public comm(,~ni.::; ;Jnc1 tn;:=1ke: 
recommendations to the board reg<:Hl~ing the: n-:::fJLII;•iorv 
review of 18 VAC 85-30-'10 d seq., f<8CJI.I];::riinn:,. 
Governing the Practice of PhysicGll TherDpy, ::.a1d :_;w 11 
other issues which may be presented. Tht~ ho<--Jrd wi!l 
enteliain public comment durin9 the first 1 G rninutot~ oll 

agenda items. 

Contact: Warren W. l<oontz, M.D., Ex(-::c1Jtiv2 Uii·Gr_:i(lr, 
Board of Medicine, 6606 V\1. Broad St., ,clfh Flonr, ~~~idlliVltld, 
VA 23230-1717, telept1one (804) 662-9960. 1-·N:. (.'II.H) r;r;:· 

9943 or (804) 662-719/rTDD ·~ 

Advisory Board on 

January 10, 1997-1 p.m.·- Open Meeiinq 
Department of Health Professiom·., 6606 VV1';Si FJro;~r1 Sfr<"!F/, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Hichrnond, Virginid.f~ (lnl.cq:m·-_:lr;·( 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to review public comrnentG and rncJkc< 
recommendations to the bo.:Jrd regcudinn ihc; n~:urrl::dcwy 

review of 18 VAC 85-50-10 el seq. F(esitll:~liinrlr; 
Governing the Practice of Physici(·m'~ /\:.:t;lsic;nH:;, ···nc! 
such other issues which rnay be prescnil·!d. fh(;; 
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Calendar of Events 

Pilot Leadership Team 

January 9, 1997 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced. 

A meeting to continue the development of plans for 
mental health, mental retardation and substance abuse 
system reform pilot projects. The team will hear the 
reports of the Priority Populations/Case Rate Funding 
Subcommittee; the Consumer and Family Involvement 
Subcommittee; and the POMS Subcommittee. 

Contact: Marion Greenfield, Policy Analyst, P.O. Box 1797, 
Richmond, VA 23214, telephone (804) 786-6431 or FAX 
(804) 786-0092. 

STATE MILK COMMISSION 

February 19, 1997 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
900 Natural Resources Drive, 2nd Floor Board Room, 
Charlottesville, Virginia.!'.!:! 

A regular meeting to (i) discuss industry issues, 
distributor licensing, Virginia base transfers, Virginia 
baseholding license amendments, regulations, and fiscal 
matters and (ii) receive reports from the staff of the Milk 
Commission. The commission may consider other 
matters pertaining to its responsibilities. Any persons 
who require accommodations in order to participate in 
the meeting should contact Edward C. Wilson, Jr., at 
least five days prior to the meeting date so that suitable 
arrangements can be made. 

Contact: Edward C. Wilson, Jr., Deputy Administrator, State 
Milk Commission, 200 N. 9th St., Suite 1015, Richmond, VA 
23219-3414, telephone (804) 786-2013 or (804) 786-
2013/TDDI'if 

GOVERNOR'S MINED LAND RECLAMATION 
ADVISORY BOARD 

January 16, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Buchanan-Smith 
Building, Route 23, Big Stone Gap, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to review and discuss recent Interstate Mining 
Compact Commission issues associated with the coal 
industry. 

Contact: Danny Brown, Division Director, Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mined Land 
Reclamation, P.O. Drawer 900, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219, 
telephone (540) 523-8152, FAX (540) 523-8163 or toll-free 1-
800-828-1120 (VA Relay Center). 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Medical Advisory Board 

t January 8, 1997 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A regular business meeting. 

Contact: Millicent N. Ford, Program Manager, Medical 
Advisory Board, Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 I J 

Broad St., Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-0'132. 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 

t January 21, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.r;l.! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general board business. Persons 
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board at (804) 367-
1100 at least 1 0 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. A 
tentative agenda will be provided upon request by 
contacting the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. A public 
comment period will be provided at the beginning of the 
meeting. Public comment will be subject to the board's 
guidelines for public comment. 

Contact: Mary Beth Blevins, Administrative Assistant, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100 or FAX 
(804) 367-1053. 

Advertising Committee 

t January 20, 1997 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.!'.!:! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general board business. Persons 
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board at (804) 367-
1100 at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. A 
tentative agenda will be provided upon request by 
contacting the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. A public 
comment period will be provided at the beginning of the 
meeting. Public comment will be subject to the board's 
guidelines for public comment. 

Contact: Mary Beth Blevins, Administrative Assistant, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, 
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Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100 or FAX 
(804) 367-1053. 

t January 20, 1997- 10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.r;ll! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general board business. Persons 
desiring to participate in the meeting '!nd requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board at (804) 367-
1100 at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. A 
tentative agenda will be provided upon request by 
contacting the [V1otor Vehicle Dealer Board. A public 
comment period will be provided at the beginning of the 
meeting. Public comment will be subject to the board's 
guid~lines for public comment. 

Contact: Mary Beth Blevins, Administrative Assist~nt, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100 or FAX 
(804) 367-1053. 

Dealer Practices Committee 

t January 20, 1997 -1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.r;ll! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general board business. Persons 
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board at (804) 367-
1100 at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. A 
tentative agenda will be provided upon request by 
contacting the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. A public 
comment period will be provided at the beginning of the 
meeting. Public comment will be subject to the board's 
guidelines for public comment. 

Contact: Mary Beth Blevins, Administrative Assistant, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100 or FAX 
(804) 367-1053. 

Finance Committee 

t January 21, 1997- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.r;ll! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general board business will 
immediately follow the conclusion of the Advertising 
Committee meeting. Persons desiring to participate in 
the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the Motor Vehicle 
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, Dealer Board at (804) 367-1100 at least 10 days prior to 
the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made. 
The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act A tentative agenda will be provided 
upon request by contacting the Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Board. A public comment period will be provided at the 
beginning of the meeting. Public comment will be 
subject to the board's guidelines for public comment. 

Contact: Mary Beth Blevins, Administrative Assistant, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100 or FAX 
(804) 367-1053. 

Franchise Review and Advisory Committee 

t January 21, 1997 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Executive Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.r;ll! 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general board business. Persons 
.desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board at (804) 367-
1100 at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. A 
tentative agenda will be provided upon request by 
contacting the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. A public 
comment period will be provided at the beginning of the 
meeting. Public comment will be subject to the board's 
guidelines for public comment. 

Contact: Mary Beth Blevins, Administrative Assistant, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100 or FAX 
(804) 367-1053. 

Transaction Recovery Fund Committee 

t January 20, 1997-9:15 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.r;ll! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general board business will 
immediately follow the conclusion of the Licensing 
Committee meeting. Persons desiring to participate in 
the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Board at (804) 367-1100 at least 10 days prior to 
the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made. 
The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. A tentative agenda will be provided 
upon request by contacting the Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Board. A public comment period will be provided at the 

: beginning of the meeting. Public comment will be 
subject to the board's guidelines for public comment. 

Contact: Mary Beth Blevins, Administrative Assistant, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad Sf, Suite 104, 

Monday, January 6, 1997 
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Richmond, VA 23220, telephone {804) 367-1100 or FAX 
(804) 367-1053. 

VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS 

Buildings and Ground Committees 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATE AND TIME 
t January 21, 1997-12:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to discuss renovation of the Center for 
Education and Outreach, and ongoing projects. Public 
comment will not be received at the meeting. 

Contact: Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Ave., Richmond, 
VA 23221-2466, telephone (804) 367-0553. 

Communications and Marketing Committee 

January 8, 1997 -10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Auditorium, Richmond, Virginia.r.lil 

A meeting to discuss communication and marketing 
issues for the museum. This is the initial meeting of the 
year. Public comment will not be received at the 
meeting. 

Contact: Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Ave., Richmond, 
VA 23221-2466, telephone (804) 367-0553. 

Finance Committee 

January 16, 1997-11 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.r.lil 

A meeting to review budgets and reports on enterprise 
operations. Public comment will not be received at the 
meeting. 

Contact: Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Ave., Richmond, 
VA 23221-2466, telephone (804) 367-0553. 

Board of Trustees 

January 7, 1997- 8 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.r.lil 

A monthly briefing of the officers of the Board of Trustees 
with the 'director and deputy director. Public comment 
will not be received at the meeting. 

Contact: Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Ave., Richmond, 
VA 23221-2466, telephone (804) 367-0553. 

January 16, 1997 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fihe Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Auditorium, Richmond, Virginia.!\~ 

A regularly scheduled bimonthly meeting to review 
budgets and receive staff and committee reports. Public 
comment will not be received at the meeting. 

Contact: Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Ave., Richmond, 
VA 23221-2466, telephone (804) 367-0553. 

VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY 

Board of Trustees 

t January 23, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Jefferson Hotel, Franklin and Adams Streets, Richmond, 
Virginia.r.lil 

A meeting to include reports from the development, 
executive, finance, legislative, marketing, nominating, 
outreach, personnel, planning and facilities, and 
research and collections committees. Public comment 
will be received following the approval of the minutes of 
the October meeting. 

Contact: Rhonda J. Knighton, Administrative Staff Assistant, 
Virginia Museum of Natural History, 1001 Douglas Ave., 
Martinsville, VA 24112, telephone (540) 666-8616 or (540) 
666-8638fTDD lill 

Development Committee 

t January 23, 1997-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Jefferson Hotel, Lemaire, Franklin and Adams Streets, 
Richmond, Virginia.r.lil 

A meeting to discuss development issues. 

Contact: Rhonda J. Knighton, Administrative Staff Assistant, 
Virginia Museum of Natural History, 1001 Douglas Ave., 
Martinsville, VA 24112, telephone (540) 666-8616 or (540) 
666-8638fTDD 'ii 

BOARD OF NURSING 

January 7,1997-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Carroll County Library, 101 Beaversdam Road, Hillsville, 
Virginia.r.lil (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct informal conferences with certified 
nurse aides. Public comment will not be received. 

Contact: Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board 
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 662-9943 
or (804) 662-7197fTDD 'if 
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BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS 

January 8, 1997- 9:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A general board meeting. Public comments will be heard 
for 15 minutes prior to the meeting. 

Contact: Senita Booker, Program Support Technician 
Senior, Board of Nursing Home Administrators, 6606 W. 
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone 
(804) 662-9911, FAX (804) 662-9943, or (804) 662-7197fTDD 
~ 

BOARD FOR OPTICIANS 

January 10, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. ~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss regulatory review and other matters 
requiring board action, including disciplinary cases. A 
public comment period will be held at the beginning of 
the meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the board at least 10 
days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made for appropriate accommodations. The 
department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, tdephone 
(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804) 367-
9753fTDD'if 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

t January 16, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct informal conferences. Public 
comments will not be received. 

Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board 
of Pharmacy, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9911 or FAX (804) 662-9313. 

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND 
MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

January 24, 1997 --Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Professional 
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Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists intends 
to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 115-40-10 et 
seq. Regulations Governing the Certification of 
Rehabilitation Providers. The purpose of the proposed 
amendment is to establish educational and experience 
requirements for certification. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9575 or 
FAX (804) 662-9943. 

t February 6, 1997 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

An informal conference will be held pursuant § 9-6.14:11 
of the Code of Virginia. Public comment will not be 
heard. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, or Joyce 
Williams, Administrative Assistant, Board of Professional 
Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists, 6606 W. 
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
662-9912 or FAX (804) 662-9943. 

t February 7, 1997-8:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

An Executive Committee meeting to review credentials 
will begin at 8:30a.m. Public comment will not be heard. 
At 1 0 a.m. there will be regular meeting to (i) conduct 
general board business; (ii) consider committee reports, 
correspondence, and any other matters under the 
jurisdiction of the board; and (iii) conduct regulatory 
review. There will be a 30-minute general public 
comment period beginning at 10:15 a.m. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, or Joyce D. 
Williams, Administrative Assistant, Board of Professional 
Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists, 6606 W. 
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
662-9912 or FAX (804) 662-9943. 

VIRGINIA PUBLIC TELECOMMUNICATIONS BOARD 

t January 9, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Information Technology, Richmond Plaza 
Building, 110 South 7th Street, 1st Floor East, Richmond, 
Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular quarterly meeting to include 1997 legislative 
overview and planning process for 98-2000. 

Contact: Suzanne J. Piland, Public Telecommunications 
Manager, Department of Information Technology, 110 S. 7th 
St., 1st Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
5544 or FAX (804) 371-5556. 

Monday, January 6, 1997 
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DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 
(BOARD OF) 

January 23, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A quarterly business meeting of the board. 

Contact: John R. Vaughn, Commissioner, Department of 
Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr., Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7010, toll-free 1-800-552-
5019fTDD and Voice or (804) 662-9040fTDD 'iii 

VIRGINIA RESOURCES AUTHORITY 

January 14, 1997-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Mutual Building, 909 East Main Street, Suite 607, Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

The board will meet to approve minutes of the meeting of 
· the prior month, to review the authority's operations for 

the prior months, and to consider other matters and take 
other actions as it may deem appropriate. The planned 
agenda of the meeting will be available at the offices of 
the authority one week prior to the date of the meeting. 
Public comments will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact: Shockley D. Gardner, Jr., Virginia Resources 
Authority, 909 E. Main St., Suite 607, Mutual Building, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 644-3100 or FAX 
(804) 644-3109. 

RICHMOND HOSPITAL AUTHORITY 

Board of Commissioners 

t January 23, 1997 - 5 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Nursing Home, 1900 Cool Lane, 2nd Floor, 
Classroom, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A monthly board meeting to discuss nursing home 
operations and related matters. 

Contact: Marilyn H. West, Chairman, Richmond Hospital 
Authority, P.O. Box 548, Richmond, VA 23204-0548, 
telephone (804) 782-1938. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

January 10, 1997 -8:15 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting of the Regulatory Committee to plan for 1997 
regulatory/legislative review. 

Contact: Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, Board 
of Social Work, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9575, FAX (804) 662-9943, 
or (804) 662-7197fTDD 'iii 

t January 10, 1997- 9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A business meeting to discuss regulations. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9914, FAX (804) 662-9943, 
or (804) 662-7197fTDD 'iii 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

January 16, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Colonial Farm Credit, 6526 Mechanicsville Turnpike, 
Mechanicsville, Virginia. 

A regular bimonthly business meeting. 

Contact: Linda J. Cox, Administrative Staff Assistant, 
Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board, 203 Governor 
St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
2123 or FAX (804) 786-6141. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

January 15, 1997- 2 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A work session of the board and the Department of 
Transportation staff. 

Contact: Robert E. Martinez, Secretary of Transportation, 
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-8032. 

January 16, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A monthly meeting of the board to vote on proposals 
presented regarding bids, permits, additions and 
deletions to the highway system, and any other matters 
requiring board approval. Public comment will be 
received at the outset of the meeting on items on the 
meeting agenda for which the opportunity for public 
comment has not been afforded the public in another 
forum. Remarks will be limited to five minutes. Large 
groups are asked to select one individual to speak for 
the group. The board reserves the right to amend these 
conditions. Separate committee meetings may be held 
on call of the chairman. Contact Department of 
Transportation Public Affairs at (804) 786-2715 for 
schedule. 
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Contact: Robert E. Martinez, Secretary of Transportation, 
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-8032. 

TREASURY BOARD 

January 16,1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
February 20, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Treasury 
Board Room, 3rd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.r.lll 

In January and February 1997 the board will meet on the 
third Thursday rather than the third Wednesday. 

Contact: Gloria J. Hatchel, Administrative Assistant, 
Department of the Treasury, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6011. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE VISUALLY HANDICAPPED 
(BOARD OF) 

January 22, 1997 - 1 :30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department for the Visually Handicapped, Administrative 
Headquarters, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.r.lll 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The board is responsible for advising the Governor, the 
Secretary of Health and Human Resources, the 
Commissioner, and the General Assembly on the 
delivery of public services to the blind and the protection 
of their rights. The board also reviews and comments on 
policies, budgets and requests for appropriations for the 
department. At this regular quarterly meeting, the board 
members will receive information regarding department 
activities and operations, review expenditures from the 
board's institutional fund, and discuss other issues 
raised by board members. 

Contact: Katherine C. Proffitt, Executive Secretary Senior, 
Department for the Visually Handicapped, 397 Azalea Ave., 
Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-3140, toll-free 1-
800-622-2155, or (804) 371-3140ffDD W 

Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council 

t March 1, 1997-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department for the Visually Handicapped, Administrative 
Headquarters, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.r.lll 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The council meets quarterly to advise the Department for 
the Visually Handicapped on matters related to 
vocational rehabilitation services for blind and visually 
impaired citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Contact: James G. Taylor, Vocational Rehabilitation 
Program Director, Department for the Visually Handicapped, 
397 Azalea Ave., Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-
3140, toll-free 1-800-622-2155, or (804) 371-3140ffDD W 
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VIRGINIA VOLUNTARY FORMULARY BOAHD 

February 6,1997-10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor, Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.r.lll 

A meeting to review public hearing comments and new 
product data for drug products pertaining to the Virginia 
Voluntary Formulary. 

Contact: James K. Thomson, Director, Bureau of Pharmacy 
Services, Virginia Voluntary Formulary, James Monroe Bldg., 
101 N. 14th St., Room S-45, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-4326. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

January 21, 1997-11 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
City of Lexington Municipal Building, 300 East Washington 
Street, 2nd Floor Conference Room, Lexington, Virginia. 

January 22, 1997 - 11 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Prince William County Administration Center, 1 County 
Complex, McCoart Building, Board Chambers, Prince 
William, Virginia. 

January 23, 1997 - 11 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
James City County Board of Supervisors Room, 101 C. 
Mounts Bay Road, Building C, Williamsburg, Virginia. 

February 10, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to adopt regulations entitled: 9 VAC 25-193-10 
et seq. General Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (VPDES) Permit for Ready-Mixed 
Concrete Plants. The proposed regulation establishes 
a general permit for the ready-mixed concrete plant 
category of wastewater discharges under the Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System. 

Question and Answer Period: A question and answer period 
will be held one half hour prior to the public hearing at the 
same location. Interested citizens will have an opportunity to 
ask questions pertaining to the proposal at that time. 

Accessibility to Persons with Disabilities: The public hearing 
will be held at facilities believed to be accessible to persons 
with disabilities: Any person with questions should contact 
Ms. Lily Choi at the address given below. Persons needing 
interpreter services for the deaf should notify Ms. Choi no 
later than January 10, 1997. 

Reguest for Comments: The board is seeking written 
comments from interested persons on both the proposed 
regulatory action and the draft permit, as well as comments 
regarding the costs and benefits of the proposal or any other 
alternatives. Written comments on the proposed issuance of 
the permit and on the proposed regulation must be received 
no later than 4 p.m. on February 10, 1997, and should be 
submitted to Ms. Choi. Comments shall include the name, 
address, and telephone number of the writer, and shall 
contain a complete, concise statement of the factual basis for 
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comments. Only those comments received within this period 
will be considered by the board. 

Other Information: The department has conducted analyses 
on the proposed regulation related to the basis, purpose, 
substance, issues and estimated impacts. These are 
available upon request from Ms. Choi at the address below. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15(10) of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Lily Choi, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-
4054. 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS 

January 9, 1997-8:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. ~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss regulatory review, disciplinary 
cases, and other matters requiring board action. A 
public comment period will be held at the beginning of 
the meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the board at least 1 0 
days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone 
(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804) 367-9753ffDD 
ir 

INDEPENDENT 

STATE LOTTERY BOARD 

t January 22, 1997 -9:30a.m. --Open Meeting 
State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting of the board. Public comment will be 
received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact: Barbara L. Robertson, Board, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, State Lottery Department, 900 E. 
Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7774 or 
FAX (804) 692-7775. 

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST 

OPEN MEETINGS 

January 6, 1997 
Accountancy, Board for 

t Alcoholic Beverage Control, Virginia 
Barbers, Board for 
Competition Council, Commonwealth 
Cosmetology, Board for 
Library Board 

-Automation and Networking Committee 
-Publications and Cultural Affairs Committee 
- Records Management Committee 
- Research and Information Services Committee 

t Local Government, Commission on 

January 7 
t Compensation Board 
t Criminal Justice Services Board 
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 

- Board of Trustees 
Nursing, Board of 

January 8 
Air Pollution Control Board, State 
t Community Colleges, State Board for 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

~ Moormans Scenic River Advisory Board 
t Contractors, Board for 
t Emergency Planning Committee, Local - County of 
Montgomeryffown of Blacksburg 
Medicine, Board of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of 
t Motor Vehicles, Department of 

- Medical Advisory Board 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 

- Communication and Marketing Committee 
Nursing Home Administrators, Board of 

January 9 
t Child Day-Care Council 
t Community Colleges, State Board for 
t Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Falls of the James Scenic River Advisory Board 
- Goose Creek Scenic River Advisory Board 

Education, Board of 
t Forestry, Board of 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of 
Game and Inland Fisheries, Board of 
t Higher Education for Virginia, State Council of 
Medical Assistance Services, Department of 

- Medicaid Drug Utilization Review Board 
- Medicaid Pharmacy Prior Authorization Advisory 
Committee 

Medicine, Board of 
- Advisory Board on Occupational Therapy 
- Advisory Board on Respiratory Therapy 

Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of 

- Pilot Leadership Team 
t Public Telecommunications Board, Virginia 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators, Board 
for 

January 10 
Auctioneers Board 
Game and Inland Fisheries, Board of 
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Litter Control and Recycling Fund Advisory Board 
Medicine, Board of 

- Advisory Board on Physical Therapy 
- Advisory Committee on Physician's Assistant 

Opticians, Board for 
t Social Work, Board of 

January 11 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Virginia Cave Board 
Hazardous Materials Training Advisory Committee; State 

January 13 
Hearing Aid Specialists, Board for 

January 14 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 

- Northern Area Review Committee 
- Southern Area Review Committee 

Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
- Appomattox Scenic River Advisory Board 

t Health Professions, Board of 
- Compliance and Discipline Committee 
- Practitioner Self-Referral Committee 
- Regulatory Research Committee 

Medicine, Board of · 
Resources Authority, Virginia 

January 15 
Agriculture and Consumer Services,. Department of 

- Pesticide Control Board 
Manufactured Housing Board, Virginia 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of 

Priority Populations/Case Rate Fun~ing 
Subcommittee of the Pilot Leadership Team 

Transportation Board, Commonwealth 

January 16 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

- Pesticide Control Board 
t Architects, Professional Engineers, Land surveyors 
and Landscape Architects, Board for 

- Board for Land Surveyors 
Medicine, Board of 
Mined Land Reclamation Advisory Board, Governor's 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia ' 

- Finance Committee 
- Board of Trustees 

t Pharmacy, Board of 
Soil and Water Conservation Board, Virginia 
Transportation Board, Commonwealth 
Treasury Board 

January 17 
t Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors 
and Landscape Architects, Board for 

- Board for Land Surveyors 
Correctional Education, Board of 
General Services, Department of 

- Design/Build Construction Management Review 
Board 

January 20 
Aging, Governor's Advisory Board on 
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t Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
-Advertising Committee 
- Dealer Licensing Committee 
- Dealer Practices Committee 
-Transaction Recovery Fun.d Committee 

January ~1 
Accountancy, Board for 
AginQ, Governor's Advisory Board on 
t Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

• Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board 
t At Risk Youth and Their Families, Comprehensive 
Services for 

- State Management T earn 
Environmental Quality, Department of 

Virginia Ground Water Protection Steering 
Committe.e 

t Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
- Finance Committee 
-Franchise Review and Advisory Committee 

Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
- Building and (3rounds Committee 

January 22 
Child F!ltality Review Team, State 
t Economic Development Partnership, Virginia 
t Lottery Board, State 
Visually Handicapped, Board for the 

January 23 
t Alcoholic Beverage control Board, Virginia 
tDentistry, Board of 
Independent Living Council, Statewide 
t Museum of Natural History, Virginia 

• Development Committee 
- B0ard of Trustees 

Rehabilitative Services, Board of 
t Ric;hmond Hospital Authority 

- Board of Commissioners 

January 24 
t Dentistry, Board of 
Medicine, Board of 

January29 
Aging, Department for the 

- Virginia Insurance Counseling and Advocacy Project 
Advisory Council 

t Conservation and Recreation, Board of 

January 30 
t compensation Board 
t Longwood College 

- Board of Visitors 

Jan11ary 31 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Board of 

- Legislative/Regulatory Committee 
t Longwood College 

- Board of Visitors 

February 3 
t Alcoholic Be.verage Control Board, Virginia 

February 4 
t Agriculture and consumer Services, Department uf 
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-Virginia Horse Industry Board 
Contractors, Board for 

- Disciplinary Committee 
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council 

February 5 
t Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, Department for the 

- Advisory Board 

February 6 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Fails of the James Scenic River Advisory Board 
t Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family 
Therapists, Board of 
Voluntary Formulary Board, Virginia 

February 7 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

-Virginia Plant Pollination Advisory Board 
t Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family 
Therapists, Board of 

February 11 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 

- Northern Area Review Committee 
- Southern Area Review Committee 

February 12 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

w Moormans Scenic River Advisory Board 

February 17 
t Local Government, Commission on 

February 18 
t Medical Assistance Services, Board of 

February 19 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Rappahannock Scenic River Advisory Board 
Milk Commission, State 

February 20 
t Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, Virginia 
Audiology and Speech Language Pathology, Board of 
Treasury Board 

February 21 
General Services, Department of 

- Design/Build Construction Management Review 
Board 

February 27 
t Compensation Board 

March 1 
t Visually Handicapped, Department for the 

- Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council 

March 3 
t Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, Virginia 

March 4 
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council 

March 17 
t Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, Virginia 

March 18 
t Contractors, Board for 

March 31 
t Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, Virginia 

PUBLIC HEARINGS 

January 7, 1997 
Contractors, Board for 
Environmental Quality, Department of 

January 21 
Water Control Board, State 

January 22 
Water Control Board, State 

January 23 
t Fire Services Board, Virginia 
Labor and Industry, Department of 

- Safety and Health Codes Board 
Water Control Board, State 

February 17 
t Local Government, Commission on 
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