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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates new text. Language which has been stricken indicates 
text to be deleted. [Bracketed language] indicates a change from the proposed text of the regulation.

Final Regulations


TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE

PESTICIDE CONTROL BOARD

Title of Regulation:  2 VAC 20-30. Rules and Regulations Governing the Pesticide Fees Charged by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Under the Virginia Pesticide Control Act (amending 2 VAC 20-30-20, 2 VAC 20-30-30 and 2 VAC 20-30-40).

Statutory Authority:  § 3.1-249.30 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date:  August 26, 2004.
Agency Contact:  Marvin A. Lawson, Ph.D., Director, Pesticide Control Board, 1100 Bank Street, Room 401, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3534, FAX (804) 786-5112, or e-mail mlawson@vdacs.state.va.us.

Summary:

The existing regulations establish fees, renewal dates, and late fees for the registration of pesticides, certification of commercial applicators and registered technicians and licensing of pesticide businesses.  The amendments (i) delete obsolete references to pesticide product registration fees; (ii) establish certification periods and fees for commercial applicators and registered technicians; and (iii) establish fees for adding a category or subcategory to an existing commercial pesticide applicator’s certificate.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A summary of comments made by the public and the agency's response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

2 VAC 20-30-20. Pesticide product registration fee; registration of new pesticide products; renewal of pesticide product registration.

A. Every pesticide product which is to be manufactured, distributed, sold, offered for sale, used or offered for use within the Commonwealth shall be registered with the commissioner. The fee for registering each brand shall be $140 for the product registration period beginning January 1, 1995; $150 for the product registration period beginning January 1, 1997; and $160 for the product registration period beginning January 1, 1999. If a brand has more than one grade, each grade shall be registered, not the brand at the registration fee then in effect. The registration for a new pesticide product shall be effective upon receipt by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services of the application form accompanied by the required registration fee.

B. All pesticide product registrations shall expire on December 31 of each year unless canceled or otherwise terminated for cause. A registration not canceled or otherwise terminated for cause will be renewed upon receipt of the annual registration fee as set forth in subsection A of this section accompanied by the application renewal form. A registration that has been canceled or otherwise terminated for cause prior to December 31 may be resubmitted as a new registration when the conditions resulting in the cancellation or termination have been resolved. The registration of each brand or grade shall be renewed with the commissioner prior to December 31 of each year. If the registration is not renewed prior to December 31 of each year, the commissioner shall assess a late fee of 20% which that shall be added to the registration fee. The late fee shall apply to all renewal registrations submitted to the department any time during the 12‑month period following the expiration of the registration. Registrants who permit a registration to lapse for more than one year shall thereafter register the product as a new product. The applicant shall pay the total fee prior to the issuance of the registration by the commissioner.

2 VAC 20-30-30. Commercial applicator certificate fee.

Any person applying for a certificate as a commercial applicator shall pay to the department an initial nonrefundable certificate fee of $35 $70 and an annual a biennial nonrefundable renewal fee of $35 $70 thereafter. All certificates shall expire at midnight on June 30 of each in the second year after issuance unless suspended or revoked for cause. All certificates not suspended or revoked for cause will be renewed upon receipt of the annual biennial renewal fee. If the applicator does not file an application for renewal of his certificate prior to COB June 30, the commissioner shall assess a late filing fee of 20% which that shall be added to the renewal fee. The applicant shall pay the total fee prior to the commissioner's issuance of the renewal. However, if the certificate is not renewed within 60 days following the expiration of the certificate, then such certificate holder shall be required to take another examination. The fee for this reexamination or for any commercial applicator reexamination pursuant to subsection C of § 3.1-249.52 of the Code of Virginia shall be $35 $70 and shall be nonrefundable. Any person applying to add a category or subcategory to his certificate shall pay to the department a nonrefundable fee of $35.  Federal, state, and local government employees certified to use, or supervise the use of, pesticides in government programs shall be exempt from any certification fees.

2 VAC 20-30-40. Registered technician certificate fee.

Any person applying for a certificate as a registered technician shall pay to the department an initial nonrefundable certificate fee of $15 $30 and an annual a biennial nonrefundable renewal fee of $15 $30 thereafter. All certificates shall expire at midnight on June 30 of each in the second year after issuance unless suspended or revoked for cause. A certificate not suspended or revoked for cause will be renewed upon receipt of the annual biennial renewal fee. If the application for renewal of any certificate is not filed prior to COB June 30, a late filing fee of 20% shall be assessed and added to the renewal fee and shall be paid by the applicant before the renewal shall be issued. If the certificate is not renewed within 60 days following the expiration of the certificate, then such certificate holder shall be required to take another examination. The fee for this reexamination [ or for any commercial applicator reexamination ] pursuant to subsection C of § 3.1‑249.52 of the Code of Virginia shall be $15 $30 and shall be nonrefundable. Federal, state and local government employees certified to use pesticides in government programs shall be exempt from any certification fees.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 2 VAC 20-30, Rules and Regulations Governing the Pesticide Fees Charged by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Under the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, are not being published due to the large number; however, the name of each form is listed below.  The forms are available for public inspection at the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 1100 Bank Street, Room 401, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
FORMS

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License to sell, distribute, store, apply, or recommend pesticides for use, VDACS - 07209, eff. 2/02.

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification Application/Eligibility Requirements for Commercial Applicator Certification, VDACS - 07211, eff. 11/01.

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination/Commercial Pesticide Applicator Categories, VDACS - 07218, eff. 11/01.

Application for New Pesticide Product Registration/Additional Information and Instructions, VDACS - 07208, eff. 8/02.

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator Certificate/Commercial Pesticide Applicator Categories, VDACS - 07210, eff. 07/00.

Pesticide Registered Technician Application/General Training Requirements for Registered Technicians, VDACS - 07212, eff. 11/01.
VA.R. Doc. No. R02-298; Filed June 28, 2004, 1:32 p.m.
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