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Final Regulations


TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

REAL ESTATE BOARD

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 135-20. Virginia Real Estate Board Licensing Regulations (amending 18 VAC 135-20-80, 18 VAC 135-20-120, 18 VAC 135-20-140 and 18 VAC 135-20-370).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113, 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date:  September 1, 2004.

Agency Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, or e-mail reboard@dpor.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendments increase the fees charged by the board.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No public comments were received by the promulgating agency.

18 VAC 135-20-80. Application fees.

A. All application fees for licenses are nonrefundable and the date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date [ which that ] will be used to determine whether it is on time.

B. Application fees are as follows:

	Salesperson by education and examination
	$75 $150

	Salesperson by reciprocity
	$64 $150

	Salesperson's or associate broker's license as a business entity
	$75 $190

	Broker by education and examination 
	$85 $190

	Broker by reciprocity
	$85 $190

	Broker concurrent license
	$65 $140

	Firm license
	$125 $250

	Branch office license
	$65 $190

	Transfer application
	$35 $60

	Activate application
	$35 $60


C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor.  These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 11-35 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts.  The fee shall not exceed $90 per candidate.

18 VAC 135-20-120. Fees for renewal.

A. All fees for renewals are nonrefundable, and the date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date [ which that ] will be used to determine whether it is on time.

B. Renewal fees are as follows:

	Salesperson
	$39 $65

	Salesperson's or associate broker's license as a business entity
	$39 $90

	Broker
	$42 $80

	Concurrent broker 
	$42 $80

	Firm
	$65 $160

	Branch office
	$38 $90


18 VAC 135-20-140. Failure to renew; reinstatement required.

A. All applicants for reinstatement must meet all requirements set forth in 18 VAC 135-20-100.  Applicants for reinstatement of an active license must have completed the continuing education requirement in order to reinstate the license.  Applicants for reinstatement of an inactive license are not required to complete the continuing education requirement for license reinstatement.

B. If the requirements for renewal of a license, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed by the licensee within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the license, a reinstatement fee of $85 is required. as follows:

	Salesperson
	$100

	Salesperson's or associate broker's license as a business entity
	$135

	Broker
	$120

	Concurrent Broker
	$120

	Firm
	$245

	Branch Office
	$135


C. A license may be reinstated for up to one year following the expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee.  After one year, the license may not be reinstated under any circumstances and the applicant must meet all current educational and examination requirements and apply as a new applicant.

D. Any real estate activity conducted subsequent to the expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and be subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 135-20-370. Fees.

A. The application fee for an original certificate for a proprietary school shall be $75 $190.

B. The renewal fee for proprietary school certificates expiring biennially on June 30 shall be $38 $90.

C. If the requirements for renewal of a proprietary school certificate, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the certificate, a reinstatement fee of $85 $135 is required.  A certificate may be reinstated for up to one year following the expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee.  After one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements and apply as a new applicant.

D. The application for an original instructor certificate shall be $100 $190.

E. The renewal fee for an instructor certificate expiring biennially on June 30 shall be $50 $75.

F. If the requirements for renewal of an instructor certificate, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed within 30 days of the expiration date on the certificate, a reinstatement fee of $85 $110 is required.  A certificate may be reinstated for up to one year following the expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee.  After one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements and apply as a new applicant.

G. The board in its discretion may deny renewal of a certificate for the same reasons it may deny initial approval.
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