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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Title of Regulation:  22 VAC 40-141. Licensing Standards for Independent Foster Homes (amending 22 VAC 40-141-10 through 22 VAC 40-141-40, 22 VAC 40-141-60 through 22 VAC 40-141-130, 22 VAC 40-141-150, 22 VAC 40-141-170 through 22 VAC 40-141-210; adding 22 VAC 40-141-87).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date:  February 1, 2005.
Agency Contact:  Cynthia Carneal, Operations Consultant, Department of Social Services, 7 N. Eighth St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7140, FAX (804) 726-7132, or e‑mail cynthia.carneal@dss.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendments allow parents and legal guardians to retain the custody of the children placed in an independent foster home, increase the length of time a child may remain in an independent foster home from 90 days to 180 days, and allow placements longer than 180 days in certain cases.  Additionally, numerous health and safety standards are updated.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A summary of comments made by the public and the agency's response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The proposed regulation was adopted as published 20:10 VA.R. 989-1001 January 26, 2004, with the changes identified below. Pursuant to § 2.2-4031 A of the Code of Virginia, the adopted regulation is not published at length; however the sections that have changed since publication of the proposed are set out.

CHAPTER 141.

MINIMUM LICENSING STANDARDS FOR LICENSED INDEPENDENT FOSTER HOMES.

22 VAC 40-141-10. [ No change from proposed. ]

22 VAC 40-141-20. Legal authority.

The licensed independent foster parent is permitted by law to accept children for care who are entrusted to the provider by the parents or legal guardians or whose parents have signed a placing agreement authorizing the child’s temporary placement in the independent foster home.  This A temporary entrustment [ agreement ] transfers custody of the child from the parents or legal guardians to the independent foster parents.  The entrustment must be approved by the juvenile and domestic relations court if the child is to remain in placement more than 90 days.  A placing agreement authorizes the child’s placement in the independent foster home while allowing the parents or guardians to maintain legal custody.  The local juvenile and domestic relations court must approve the temporary entrustment agreement if the child is to remain in the placement for more than 90 days.
Individuals are exempt from licensure if they only provide care to children who are born to or adopted by the individual or children of relatives or personal friends.  Subdivision A 4 of § 16.1-278.2 of the Code of Virginia referenced in the definition of an independent foster home refers to the placement decisions for children by local boards of social services or a public agency designated by the community policy and management team.  Subdivision 6 of § 16.1-278.4 of the Code of Virginia refers to the court transfer of legal custody from the parent to another individual or agency.  Subdivision 13 of § 16.1-278.8 of the Code of Virginia refers to the court's disposition of delinquent juveniles.  Individuals receiving children under these provisions are not subject to licensure under this regulation.

Section 63.1-202 63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia establishes the authority of the State Board of Social Services to promulgate regulations for the activities, services and facilities to be employed by persons and agencies required to be licensed by § 63.1-196 63.2-1701 of the Code of Virginia.  Regulations shall be designed to ensure that such activities, services and facilities are conducive to the welfare of the children under the custody or control of such persons or agencies.  Section 63.1-215 63.2-1712 of the Code of Virginia states that it shall be a misdemeanor to operate or engage in the activities of a child welfare agency without first obtaining a license.

22 VAC 40-141-30 through 22 VAC 40-141-120. [ No change from proposed. ]

22 VAC 40-141-130. Medical care of children.

A. The provider shall have the name, address and telephone number of each child's physician easily accessible.

B. The provider shall have first aid supplies easily accessible to adults in the home, but not accessible to children under the age of 13.

C. First aid supplies shall include scissors, tweezers, sterile nonstick gauze pads, adhesive bandages in assorted sizes, a sealed package of alcohol wipes or antiseptic cleansers, a thermometer, a chemical cold pack if an ice pack is not available, first aid instruction manual or cards, an insect bite or sting preparation, one triangular bandage, current [ activated charcoal and ] syrup of ipecac to be used only when instructed by the regional poison control center or child's physician, flexible roller or stretch gauze, disposable nonporous gloves, and an eye dressing or pad.

D. The provider shall receive medical history information, including immunizations received, for each child at the time of placement.

E. At the time of placement, the provider shall receive documentation of a physical examination of the child completed within 90 days before placement, or the child shall receive a physical examination within 30 days after placement.  The current form required by the Virginia Department of Health or any other form which provides the same information to report immunizations received and the results of the physical examination shall be used.

Exception:  If a child's parent objects to the child receiving immunizations or a physical examination on religious grounds, the parent must submit a signed statement noting the objection on religious grounds and certifying to the best of the parent's knowledge, the status of the child's health.

F. The provider shall ensure that the child receives necessary medical care and follow-up.

G. The provider shall give prescription drugs to children in care only in accordance with an order signed by a licensed physician or authentic prescription label and shall keep all prescription and nonprescription medications locked inaccessible to children under the age of 13 and stored as instructed by the physician or pharmacist.

1. The provider shall keep in the child's record daily documentation of all prescription and nonprescription medication administered to a child in care.

Exception: Providers are not required to record the amount of diaper ointment or sunscreen applied.
2. Out-of-date and unused medications shall be properly discarded or returned to the child's parent or guardian.

H. The provider may permit self-administration of medication by a child in care if:

1. The child is physically and mentally capable of properly taking medication without assistance.

2. The provider maintains a written statement from the parent or a physician documenting the child’s capacity to take medication without assistance.

3. The provider assures that the child’s medications and any other medical supplies are not accessible to children under the age of 13.

H. I. The provider shall report all major illnesses, injuries and , accidents, missing children, the death of a child, and any placement of a child outside of the foster home to the child's parent and to the licensing representative within 24 hours.  If the provider is not able to contact the parent or guardian, attempted contacts shall be documented.
I. J. The provider shall receive written authorization for routine and emergency medical and dental care for each child.

22 VAC 40-141-150 [ No change from proposed. ]

22 VAC 40-141-170. [ No change from proposed. ]

22 VAC 40-141-180. Services to children.

A. The provider shall arrange for necessary services, as specified in the foster care service plan or individual service plan, and as recommended by a licensed physician or other professional working with the child, where applicable.  These services may include, but are not limited to:

1. Professional evaluations and counseling;

2. Educational services and tutoring; and

3. Transportation to necessary appointments and services.

[ Note: Individually planned interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate any diagnosed physical, mental or emotional disabilities should be performed by, in conjunction with, or under the written direction of a licensed practitioner. ]
B. The provider shall enroll each school‑age child in school within five days after placement when school is in session.

C. The provider shall promote the child's education by giving the child educational guidance and counseling in the child's selection of courses, establishing contact with the child's school, and working with the child's school to promote academic achievement and to resolve any problems brought to the provider's attention by the school.

D. In accordance with § 16.1-81 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia, the independent foster home, as a licensed child-welfare agency, shall prepare and submit to the local juvenile and domestic relations court a foster care service plan on every child entrusted to the provider by an entrustment agreement (i) within 30 days of signing the child's entrustment agreement for placements of 90 days or more or (ii) within 60 days of signing the entrustment agreement for placements for less than 90 days, unless the child is returned to the child's parents or guardians within 60 days of placement in the independent foster home.  The foster care service plan shall include:

1. The reasons the child is placed with the independent foster home;

2. A summary of the child's situation at the time of placement in relation to the child's family.  The summary shall include information about the child's health and educational status;

3. The permanency planning goal recommended for the child, including the projected length of stay in the home;

4. A description of the needs of the child and the child's family;

5. The programs, care, services, and other support that the independent foster home will offer or arrange for the child and the child's parents or guardians to meet those needs;

6. The target dates for completion of the services provided or arranged for the child and the child's family;

7. The participation, conduct, and financial support that will be sought from and the responsibilities of the child's parents or guardians;

8. The visitation or other contacts to be held between the child and the child's parents or guardians;

9. In writing and where appropriate for children age 16 and older, the programs and services which will help the child prepare for the transition from foster care to independent living; and

10. A copy of the independent foster home license.

E. For every child placed in the independent foster home by a placing agreement, the provider, with the assistance of the parents or legal guardians, shall prepare an individualized service plan at the time of admission.  The written individualized service plan shall outline the services needed and those that will be provided to the child and his family and identify the goals and objectives designed to reunite the child with his family.  Copies of the child’s individualized service plan shall be provided to the parents or legal guardians, to the child, if age 13 or older or upon the child’s request, and a copy filed in the child’s record.  The individualized service plan shall describe:

1. The reasons why the child is placed in the independent foster home;

2. A summary of the child’s situation at the time of placement in relation to the child’s family, including a statement of the child’s health and educational status;

3. A description of the child’s needs;

4. The goals for the child, including the projected length of placement in the independent foster home;

5. The programs, care, services and other means of support that the independent foster home will offer or the arrangements for the child and the child’s parent or guardian to provide services or supports;

6. Projected dates for completion of services provided or arranged for the child;

7. Projected level of involvement of the child’s parents or guardians and visitation arrangements;

8. Where appropriate for children age 16 and older, the programs and services that will help the child prepare for independent living;

F. The individualized service plan shall be updated at least every 30 days.

E. G. In accordance with federal and state law, the provider shall ensure that the child's health and safety are the paramount concern throughout the placement, case planning, service provision and review process.

F. H. If consistent with the child's health and safety, the foster care plan or individualized service plan shall be designed to support reasonable efforts which lead to the return of the child to his parents or guardians within the shortest practicable feasible time, which shall be specified in the plan.

G. I. If the provider determines that it is not reasonably likely that the child can be returned to the child's prior family within a practicable feasible time, consistent with the best interests of the child, and in a separate section of the foster care plan or individualized service plan, the provider shall:

1. Describe the reasons for this conclusion; and

2. Determine and describe the opportunities for the court to consider placing the child with a relative or for the court to refer the child and the child's family to the local department of social services for further services and permanency planning.

H. J. For children to be in care with the independent foster home for longer than 90 days, The provider shall submit the child's foster care plan or individualized service plan at the time of petitioning the local juvenile and domestic relations court for approval of the entrustment agreement or to assess the care and custody of the child, whichever is appropriate.

I. K. The provider shall participate in all court hearings involving the child's entrustment, service plans, and custody child, as long as the child is placed in the independent foster home.

J. L. The provider shall include the child whenever possible and appropriate to the child's age and development, the parents or prior guardians of the child, and professionals involved with the child in the development of the foster care service plan or individualized service plan.

K. M. The provider shall follow the requirements of § 16.1-282 related to the review of the foster care service plan and shall petition the local juvenile and domestic relations court within five months of the court's approval of the entrustment agreement or within five months of the dispositional hearing at which the initial foster care plan was reviewed.

22 VAC 40-141-190. [ No change from proposed. ]

22 VAC 40-141-200. Home safety.

A. The provider shall have a plan for seeking assistance from police, firefighters, poison control, and medical professionals in an emergency.  The telephone numbers for each shall be posted next to each telephone.

B. The home and grounds shall be in good physical repair and free of litter, debris, peeling or chipped paint, hazardous materials, and infestations of rodents and insects and shall present no hazard to the health and safety of the children receiving care.

C. The provider shall have a written, posted emergency evacuation plan and rehearse the plan at least monthly.  Within the first 48 hours of a child's placement in the home, the provider shall review the plan with each child who is old enough to understand.

D. If the provider possesses firearms, ammunition, and other weapons, the provider shall keep the firearms unloaded and locked as well as the ammunition and other weapons locked.  Ammunition shall be locked in a separate location.

E. The provider shall keep cleaning supplies and other toxic substances stored away from food, and locked and or out of the reach of children under the age of 13.

F. When infants or children who are not developmentally ready to climb or descend stairs are in the home, the provider shall have protective barriers installed securely at each opening to stairways.

G. Swimming and wading pools shall be set up according to the manufacturer's instructions.  Outdoor swimming pools shall be enclosed by safety fences and gates with child-resistant locks.  Wading pools shall be emptied, stored away when not in use and filled with clean water before the next use.

H. Radiators, oil and wood burning stoves, floor furnaces, portable electric space heaters, fireplaces, and similar heating devices used in areas accessible to children under the age of 13 shall have protective barriers or screens.

I. All interior and exterior stairways with over three risers shall have hand rails at a height accessible to the children in the home.

J. Independent foster homes that provide care to preschool-age children or to developmentally delayed children of comparable maturity to a preschool child shall have protective, child-resistant covers over all electrical outlets.  The covers shall not be of a size to present a swallowing or choking hazard.

K. The provider shall comply with the requirements for state regulated care facilities relating to smoke detectors and fire extinguishers.

L. Infants shall be placed to sleep on a firm, tight-fitting mattress in a crib that meets current safety standards.  To reduce the risk of suffocation, soft bedding of any kind shall not be used under or on top of the infant including, but not limited to, pillows, quilts, comforters, sheepskins, or stuffed toys.

M. Infants shall be placed on their backs when sleeping or napping unless otherwise directed by the child’s physician.  If an individual child’s physician contraindicates placing the child in this position, the provider shall maintain a written statement, signed by the physician, in the child’s record.

[ N. Playpens, play yards, and portable cribs shall not be used for sleeping.

O. N. ] Bunk beds or double decker beds shall have safety rails or mechanisms in place to reduce the risk of falls.  Children under age 10 shall not use the upper levels of a double decker or bunk bed.  Children of any age who have motor or developmental delays shall not use the upper bunk.

[ P. O. ] Pets shall be immunized for rabies and shall be treated for fleas, ticks, worms or other diseases as needed.

[ Q. Providers shall instruct children on safe procedures to follow when in close proximity to animals or when feeding animals, and ensure hand washing after handling animals or animal waste. P. Providers shall instruct children on safe and hygienic procedures to follow when handling, feeding or in close proximity to animals. ]
22 VAC 40-141-210. [ No change from proposed. ]

NOTICE:  The form used in administering 22 VAC 40-141, Licensing Standards for Independent Foster Homes, is listed and published below.  

FORMS

Initial Application for State License to Operate an Independent Foster Home for Children, 3/99.

Application for Renewal of State License to Operate an Independent Foster Home for Children, 3/99.

Financial Statement for Independent Foster Homes, 3/99.
Home Study Assessment for Independent Foster Homes, [ 3/99 7/04 ].

[image: image1.png]HOME STUDY ASSESSMENT FOR INDEPENDENT FOSTER HOMES

Please complete the following items as completely as possible. Use additional paper if needed.
Submit this document along with the Initial Application for Licensure as an Independent Foster
Home to the Division of Licensing Programs. If the applicant is a husband and wife, each
individual is to complete this study.

1. Name, Address and Telephone Number of Applicant:
2. Describe your reasons for wishing to become an independent foster home:
3. Describe your experience with children, your own and those not related to you. Include

any previous experience as a foster parent.

4. Describe your abilities and experience in the following areas:

Providing care to and meeting the physical needs of children:

Relating to children with respect, courtesy, patience and affection:

Understanding children from varied backgrounds different from your own:





[image: image2.png]Understanding and respecting the families of children to be placed with you:

Assuring the safety and supervision of children

Handling emergencies:

Describe your current and past employment, giving the name of the company or
individual. Describe your financial resources which demonstrate your ability to meet the
needs of your family.

Describe the discipline techniques and parenting skills you use and will use with the
children in your care:

Do you have any current physical or mental health problems which may negatively
impact the full time care of children in your home? If so, please explain.

Describe your character and reputation.





[image: image3.png]10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

Describe the length and stability of your marriage. How do you resolve differences?

Describe your current relationships with extended family members to include a
discussion of conflicts which may negatively impact children in your care.

Describe any training you have attended related to providing care and services to
children.

How will you provide supervision to the children in your care?

Describe the services you will provide to the children in your care and any services you
will utilize in the community.

What do you believe are valid reasons a child should not be returned to his family?

Describe the general pattern of your family life such as activities and daily routines.





[image: image4.png]16.  Please add any additional information you would like to be considered as part of your
application for licensure as an independent foster parent.

Signature: Date:

Revised 7/2004
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