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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2008 through April 2009 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 3 Volume 24  July 2008 

24:24 July 16, 2008 August 4, 2008 

24:25 July 30, 2008 August 18, 2008 

24:26 August 13, 2008 September 1, 2008 

FINAL INDEX Volume 24  October 2008 

25:1 August 27, 2008 September 15, 2008 

25:2 September 10, 2008 September 29, 2008 

25:3 September 24, 2008 October 13, 2008 

25:4 October 8, 2008 October 27, 2008 

25:5 October 22, 2008 November 10, 2008 

25:6 November 5, 2008 November 24, 2008 

25:7 November 18, 2008 (Tuesday) December 8, 2008 

INDEX 1 Volume 25  October 2008 

25:8 December 3, 2008 December 22, 2008 

25:9 December 16, 2008 (Tuesday) January 5, 2009 

25:10 December 30, 2008 (Tuesday) January 19, 2009 

25:11 January 14, 2009 February 2, 2009 

25:12 January 28, 2009 February 16, 2009 

25:13 February 11, 2009 March 2, 2009 

25:14 February 25, 2009 March 16, 2009 

INDEX 2 Volume 25  April 2000 

25:15 March 11, 2009 March 30, 2009 

25:16 March 25, 2009 April 13, 2009 

25:17 April 8, 2009 April 27, 2009 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Spring 2008 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 7, dated 
December 10, 2007, and fast-track regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24 Issue 10, dated January 21, 
2008). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final regulations 
are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows action taken, the 
volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2321 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-90-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2322 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-150-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2323 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2326 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-60 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-120 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2328 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-210-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1096 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-210-41 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1097 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-390-180 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/11/08 
2 VAC 5-400-5 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2330 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-420-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2838 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-420-80 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2840 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-501-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2332 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-501-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2336 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2340 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-60 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-70 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-80 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-100 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-120 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-140 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-150 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-160 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-170 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-180 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-190 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
2 VAC 5-510-200 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-220 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-230 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-240 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-250 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-260 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-270 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-290 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-300 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-310 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-320 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-330 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-340 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-350 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-360 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-390 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-400 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-410 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-420 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-500 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-510 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2353 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-531-50 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2235 5/29/08 
2 VAC 5-531-140 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2241 5/29/08 
2 VAC 15-20-81 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2242 4/14/08 
2 VAC 20-20-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-40-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2357 6/12/08 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-50-140 emer Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1344 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-50-145 emer Added 24:11 VA.R. 1345 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-70-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1891 5/1/08 
3 VAC 5-70-225 emer Added 24:10 VA.R. 1257 1/2/08-1/1/09 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 5-50-10 through 4VAC5-50-170 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2357 5/28/08 
4 VAC 15-20-50 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1258 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-130 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1259 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-210 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-5 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-30 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3108 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3108 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-190 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-210 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-220 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-20 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-25 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-81 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-91 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3110 7/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 15-70-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-70-70 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-22 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3112 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-80 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3112 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-90 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3113 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-91 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3114 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-110-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3117 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-110-75 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-11 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-20 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-31 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-40 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3119 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-51 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3119 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-320-25 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1265 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-100 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1274 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-20 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-60 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-70 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-360-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1276 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-410-10 through 4 VAC 15-410-160 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3119-3125 7/1/08 
4 VAC 20-40-10 through 4 VAC 20-40-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-20 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-140-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-140-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-140-25 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-150-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1277 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-55 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-150 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-230 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-56 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-58 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-320-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-20 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1735 2/5/08 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-25 Added 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 960 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2024 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 emer Amended 24:8 VA.R. 962 11/28/07-12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1282 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2025 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-670-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-25 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-700-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-15 emer Added 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-15 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-50 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-751-15 Added 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-752-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2246 4/1/08 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2756 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 4/30/08 
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4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48.1 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2029 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-45 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-47 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-35 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1459 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 965 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2760 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2920 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1130-10 through 4 VAC 20-1130-70 Added 24:8 VA.R. 968-970 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1140-10 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1140-20 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1140-30 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1424 -- 
4 VAC 25-150-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2359 6/12/08 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2842 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1200 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2852 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1210 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2853 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1240 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2856 7/9/08 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1349 2/15/08 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-61-10 through 6 VAC 15-61-300 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 970 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-10 through 6 VAC 15-62-120 Added 24:8 VA.R. 970-979 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-110 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1736 3/3/08 
6 VAC 15-62 (Forms) Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1523 -- 
6 VAC 20-80-10 through 6 VAC 20-80-90 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3127-3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-80-100 Repealed 24:23 VA.R. 3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-80-110 Repealed 24:23 VA.R. 3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-171-10 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3134 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-50 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3137 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-120 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3138 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-230 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3139 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-320 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3141 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-350 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3142 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-360 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3145 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-250-10 through 6 VAC 20-250-380 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3146-3161 8/20/08 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6 VAC 40-50-80 Added 24:9 VA.R. 1103-1104 2/6/08 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2936 9/15/08 
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Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3040 8/6/08 
9 VAC 20-60-18 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1106 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-32 (Forms) Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1738 -- 
9 VAC 25-120-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-50 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1109 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2502 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-40 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-196-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-40 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1125 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2532 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1132 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1136 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-116 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1140 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1142 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1741 * 
9 VAC 25-660-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1144 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1145 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1147 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1156 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1157 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1158 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1159 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1170 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1172 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1174 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1175 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1176 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1188 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1190 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2540 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-720-120 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2940 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-720-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2548 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-820-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2942 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-820-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2944 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-820-70 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2944 8/7/08 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-20-30 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3043 6/23/08 

                                                           
* Effective upon filing notice of U.S. EPA approval with Registrar of Regulations 
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10 VAC 5-40-5 Added 24:22 VA.R. 3045 7/1/08 
10 VAC 5-40-60 Added 24:22 VA.R. 3045 7/1/08 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-20 Repealed 24:16 VA.R. 2248 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-25 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-35 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2251 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-75 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2257 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-85 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2258 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2259 4/14/08 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-90-370 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2777 7/1/08 
12 VAC 5-195-10 through 12 VAC 5-195-670 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2778-2802 5/26/08 
12 VAC 5-220-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1350 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1353 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-371-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1357 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-10 through 12VAC5-381-40 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1358-1361 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-60 through 12VAC5-381-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1361-1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1364 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-30 through 12 VAC 5-391-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1366-1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-250 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-410-230 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1371 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2566 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-20 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-30 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-90 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-150 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-200 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-230 through 12 VAC 5-481-270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594-2595 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2595 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-370 through 12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2597-2607 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-460 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2607 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2608 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2610 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-500 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2619 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2620 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-530 through 12 VAC 5-481-590 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2622-2626 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2624 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-630 through 12 VAC 5-481-760 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2626-2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-780 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-790 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-800 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-810 through 12 VAC 5-481-910 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2630-2631 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-930 through 12 VAC 5-481-1050 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2632-2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-971 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2632 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1090 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1160 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1161 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1190 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2637 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1200 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2638 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1220 through 12 VAC 5-481-1250 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2639-2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1310 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1320 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1380 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1540 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1550 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1570 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1670 through 12 VAC 5-481-2040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647-2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2001 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2649 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2060 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2080 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2230 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2652 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2240 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2260 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2280 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-2330 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2540 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2550 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2572 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2659 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2573 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2660 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2660 through 12 VAC 5-481-2950 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2660-2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2970 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2980 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2662 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3000 through 12 VAC 5-481-3040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2663-2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3070 through 12 VAC 5-481-3140 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2667-2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3051 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2666 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3091 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2668 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3200 through 12 VAC 5-481-3270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671-2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3241 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2673 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3261 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2674 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3290 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3400 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2676 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2677 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2683 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2686 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3580 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3600 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3610 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3650 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3670 through 12 VAC 5-481-3780 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2689-2715 6/12/08 
12 VAC 30-50-130 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3165 7/2/08 - 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-70-221 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2959 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Erratum 24:17 VA.R. 2473 -- 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2962 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-80-75 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2965 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-120-70 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3168 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-90 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3169 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
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12 VAC 30-120-140 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3171 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-211 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3174 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-213 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3177 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-225 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3178 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-229 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3181 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-237 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3182 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-247 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3184 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-700 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3185 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-710 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3189 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-754 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3190 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-758 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3191 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-762 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3192 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-770 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3193 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-900 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3195 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3197 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-920 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3198 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-970 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3200 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3202 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1550 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3204 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2000 emer Added 24:23 VA.R. 3206 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2010 emer Added 24:23 VA.R. 3207 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 35-105-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1372 3/5/08 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-21-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-31 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-41 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-45 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-61 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1896 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-20 through 13 VAC 5-31-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1897-1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-70 through 13 VAC 5-31-170 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1898-1903 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-75 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-85 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1900 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-200 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-210 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-215 through 13 VAC 5-31-270 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1904-1905 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-21 through 13 VAC 5-51-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1907-1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-85 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1921 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-91 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1924 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-130 through 13 VAC 5-51-135 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1925-1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-143 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-145 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-152 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-154 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-155 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1939 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-10 through 13 VAC 5-63-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-70 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-80 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
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13 VAC 5-63-100 through 13 VAC 5-63-130 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-190 through 13 VAC 5-63-260 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-225 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-265 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-267 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-280 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-300 through 13 VAC 5-63-360 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-335 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-400 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-430 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-432 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-434 through 13 VAC 5-63-450 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-470 through 13 VAC 5-63-500 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-520 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-525 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-550 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-100 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-110 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-115 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-120 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1947 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1948 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-112-340 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 979 1/23/08 
13 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1373 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1374 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1376 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1387 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1397 2/4/08 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2153 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-200-185 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2155 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-90 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-100 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-215 (Forms) Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2452 -- 
14 VAC 5-270-10 through 14 VAC 5-270-150 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1460-1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-144 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1467 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-146 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1468 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-148 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1469 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-174 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-180 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
Title 15. Judicial 
15 VAC 5-80-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3211 7/1/08 
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Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3213 8/21/08 
16 VAC 15-30-190 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3214 8/21/08 
16 VAC 20-20-20 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3065 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-40 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3066 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3068 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-60 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3069 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-80 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-110 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/7/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.6 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.68 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.94 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.103 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.107 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.110 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.111 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.132 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.144 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.243 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.251 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.253 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.261 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.152 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.96 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.106 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.95 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 15-20-451 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2455 8/1/08 
18 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1285 2/20/08 
18 VAC 60-20-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2874 7/24/08 
18 VAC 60-20-81 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1949 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-108 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1950 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1287 3/10/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 65-20-151 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/6/08 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 85-20-226 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-400 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2876 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-40-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-40-67 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50-61 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80-26 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80-73 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-40 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
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18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-55 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-60 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-70 Repealed 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-153 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110-161 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-120-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-70 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-90 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-95 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-130-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 90-20-10 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1842 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-40 through 18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843-1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-65 Repealed 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-70 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-90 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-95 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-96 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-110 through 18 VAC 90-20-140 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846-1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-151 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-160 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-190 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-200 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-220 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-230 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-271 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2969 7/23/08 
18 VAC 90-20-275 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-280 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-300 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-370 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-390 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-410 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1853 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-30-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2731-2732 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-121 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1289 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-60-110 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3216 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-20-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-20-175 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2887 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-30-40 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-30-95 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3219 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-30-150 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3220 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-30-180 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3220 9/4/08 
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18 VAC 105-20-75 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3071 8/6/08 
18 VAC 110-20-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 983 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-75 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3071 8/6/08 
18 VAC 110-20-321 Added 24:8 VA.R. 986 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-411 through 18 VAC 110-20-416 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 986-987 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-530 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2265 5/14/08 
18 VAC 110-30-15 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-160 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-170 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-180 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-190 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 115-30-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 115-30-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 125-20-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 125-30-120 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 130-20-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3225 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3229 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-180 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3229 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-200 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3231 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-230 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3231 9/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1408 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-30 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1409 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-101 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1412 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-105 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-180 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-190 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1416 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-210 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-220 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-300 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-345 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-360 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-370 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-390 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1420 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-60-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1230 3/1/08 
18 VAC 140-20-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3234 9/4/08 
18 VAC 140-20-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3235 9/4/08 
18 VAC 140-20-105 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2890 7/24/08 
18 VAC 150-20-135 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2969 7/23/08 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-20-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421 3/6/08 
19 VAC 30-70-6 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-7 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-9 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 989 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 991 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-40 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 994 3/1/08 
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19 VAC 30-70-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 995 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 997 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-80 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 998 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-90 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-110 through 19 VAC 30-70-660 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001-1070 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-190-10 through 19 VAC 30-190-140 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421-1423 3/6/08 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2971 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-80-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2976 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2977 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2983 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-40 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-50 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2985 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-55 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2985 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-60 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2986 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2987 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-70 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2988 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2988 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-80 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2989 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-90 Repealed 24:21 VA.R. 2992 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-95 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2992 7/1/08 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1295 3/6/08 
22 VAC 30-10-10 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3076 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-20 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-40 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 40-470-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-685-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-705-10 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1987 3/1/08-2/28/09 
22 VAC 40-705-30 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1990 3/1/08-2/28/09 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-10-10 through 23 VAC 10-10-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1520-1521 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-10-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1521 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-10-90 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1522 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-210-693 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3240 10/6/08 
23 VAC 10-500-10 through 23 VAC 10-500-820 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3253-3289 10/6/08 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 30-72-10 through 24 VAC 30-72-170 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2458-2466 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-72-30 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2732 -- 
24 VAC 30-155-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3290 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-40 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3291 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3292 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-60 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3294 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3303 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-80 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3303 7/1/08 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation. 

Statutory Authority: §62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: New Kent County. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Amend the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (9VAC25-720), within 
section 9VAC25-720-120 C, to revise the total nitrogen and 
total phosphorus waste load allocations for New Kent 
County's Parham Landing wastewater facility (VPDES Permit 
No. 0088331). The county originally planned to expand the 
plant from 0.568 million gallons per day (MGD) to 3.0 MGD, 
and now intends to construct a smaller addition that will 
increase the design flow to 2.0 MGD. The funds saved by 
constructing the smaller plant will be used by the county to 
build a reuse system that will provide bulk irrigation water to 
aid in preventing groundwater shortages in the area. This 
change will result in lower discharged nutrient waste load 
allocations; the total nitrogen allocation would decrease by 
18,273 lbs/yr (from 54,820 to 36,547 lbs/yr) and the total 
phosphorus allocation would decrease by 2,132 lbs/yr (from 
6,396 to 4,264 lbs/yr). The county asks that since this request 
is expected to be noncontroversial, that the rulemaking be 
"fast-tracked." 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of the Request: Public-notice 
receipt of the petition in the Virginia Register of Regulations 
on August 4, 2008, and provide for a 21-day public comment 
period. Upon close of the public comment period on August 
25, 2008, review any comments received and then make a 
decision to either initiate a rulemaking or place the petition on 
the board's next meeting agenda for their consideration. 

Comments may be submitted until August 25, 2008. 

Agency Contact: John M. Kennedy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-27; Filed July 22, 2008, 1:51 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Initial Agency Notice 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene. 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Dr. Robert G. Sotack. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To create a dental retirement 
license at no charge. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of the Request: The board is 
requesting public comment on the petition to amend rules to 
allow a dental retirement license at no charge.  Comment will 
be considered and a decision made on the petitioner's request 
at the board meeting scheduled for September 12, 2008. 

Comments may be submitted until September 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-26; Filed July 9, 2008, 8:32 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 
intends to consider promulgating the regulation entitled: 
8VAC20-720, Regulations Governing Local School Boards 
and School Divisions and repealing the following regulations 
entitled: 8VAC20-150, Management of the Student's 
Scholastic Record in the Public Schools of Virginia; 
8VAC20-170, Regulations Governing Instructional 
Materials-Selection and Utilization By Local School 
Boards; 8VAC20-180, Regulations Governing School 
Community Programs; 8VAC20-210, Classifications of 
Expenditures; 8VAC20-240, Regulations Governing 
School Activity Funds; 8VAC20-250, Regulations 
Governing the Testing of Sight and Hearing of Pupils; 
8VAC20-310, Rules Governing Instructions Concerning 
Drugs and Substance Abuse; 8VAC20-320, Regulations 
Governing Physical and Health Education; 8VAC20-390, 
Rules Governing Division Superintendent of Schools; 
8VAC20-410, Regulations Governing Allowable Credit 
for Teaching Experience; 8VAC20-420, Regulations 
Governing Personnel in Public School Libraries Operated 
Under Joint Contract Under Control of Local School 
Board or Boards; 8VAC20-460, Regulations Governing 
Sick Leave Plan for Teachers; 8VAC20-490, Regulations 
Governing School Boards Local; 8VAC20-565, 
Regulations for the Protection of Students as Participants 
in Human Research. The purpose of the proposed action is 
to repeal outdated regulations and consolidate necessary 
sections of various regulations into new regulations that 
school divisions will be able to access and implement more 
effectively and efficiently for the management of the public 
schools of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 8, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy & 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1332; Filed July 7, 2008, 11:38 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider promulgating the following regulations: 12VAC5-
650, Schedule of Civil Penalties. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to establish a uniform schedule of civil 
penalties for violations of onsite sewage and alternative 
discharging sewage treatment system regulations. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-12 and 32.1-164 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Allen Knapp, Environmental Health 
Coordinator, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7458, FAX (804) 
864-7475, or email allen.knapp@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1522; Filed July 16, 2008, 11:03 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

PESTICIDE CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC20-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (amending 2VAC20-10-80, 2VAC20-10-100, 
2VAC20-10-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-4007.02 and 3.1-249.30 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
September 3, 2008. 

Effective Date: September 18, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Kathy Dictor, Program Supervisor, Virginia 
Pesticide Control Board, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 786-0685, FAX (804) 786-9149, or 
email kathleen.dictor@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.1-249.30 of the Code of Virginia provides 
the authority to the board to promulgate "such other 
regulations as may be necessary." Section 2.2-4007.02 of the 
Code of Virginia requires the promulgation of public 
participation guidelines. 

Purpose: The amendments allow the regulation to correctly 
cite the current section of the Code of Virginia. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: These amendments 
make no substantive changes to the regulation, but only 
update citations of the Code of Virginia. 

Substance: There are no new substantive provisions. 

Issues: There are no issues associated with the proposed 
regulatory action. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Virginia Pesticide Board (Board) proposes to update citations 
to the Administrative Process Act. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulations cite 
outdated sections of the Code of Virginia. The Board 

proposes to amend the citations to reflect current section 
numbers of the Code of Virginia. The proposed amendments 
have no impact on any requirements. The changes may 
provide a modest benefit in that readers of the regulations will 
find it easier to find relevant sections of the Code. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Public Participation 
Guidelines potentially affect all entities and individuals who 
are interested in Board activity. There are currently 684 
individuals who have signed up to receive notification of 
Virginia Pesticide Board regulatory activity through the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed additional 
language does not particularly affect specific localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed additional 
language will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed additional language will not significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
additional language will not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed additional language will not 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed additional 
language will not significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
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required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis submitted by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The amendments update the citations for sections of the 
Administrative Process Act to the current section of the 
Code of Virginia. 

2VAC20-10-80. Informational proceeding and notice 
thereof. 

A. Informational proceeding. The board may hold an 
informational proceeding pursuant to §9-6.14:7.1 §2.2-
4007.03 of the Code of Virginia on every regulation it 
proposes and on every proposed amendment to each 
regulation, notice for which shall comply with the provisions 
of this section of this chapter. 

B. Notice of informational proceeding. 

1. In addition to the required notice of opportunity for oral 
or written submittals published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations pursuant to 2VAC20-10-70, and in a 
newspaper of general circulation published in the capital 
city, the staff of the Pesticide Control Board shall, at the 
board's direction, publish notice of the board's proposed 
regulation and informational proceeding thereon in: 

a. Other newspapers with substantial readership in 
Virginia, which notice shall meet the same requirements 
for notice to the public of the opportunity for oral or 
written submittals as the notice published in the 
newspaper of general circulation published at the capital 
city;  

b. Press releases;  

c. Mailings to those on its mailing lists; and  

d. Other means as directed by the commissioner or the 
board.  

2. The staff of the Pesticide Control Board is directed to 
mail a copy of the proposed regulation and notice of the 
informational proceeding thereon to everyone who has 
participated in public discussion of the regulation pursuant 
to the current regulation making.  

2VAC20-10-100. Adoption of summary; of statement as to 
basis; and of description of public comment. 

The summary; statement as to basis, purpose, substance, 
issues, and impact of the regulation; and the summary 
description of the nature of the oral and written data, views, 
and arguments presented during the public proceedings and 
the board's comments thereon required by §9-6.14:9 D §2.2-
4012 E of the Code of Virginia, shall be made a part of the 
board's minutes and included as a part of the board's 
regulation file. 

2VAC20-10-110. Application.  

The provisions of these public participation guidelines shall 
not apply to the making of regulations exempted under §9-
6.14:4.1 of the Code of Virginia exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1069; Filed July 3, 2008, 10:25 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to §2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife. The department is required by §2.2-4031 of the 
Code of Virginia to publish all proposed and final wildlife 
management regulations, including length of seasons and bag 
limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 
4VAC15-50-71). 

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the requirement that the ignition 
system of muzzleloading guns used for hunting bear be 
only of the flintlock or percussion type, thereby allowing 
all types of ignition systems to be used on muzzleloading 
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guns, including but not limited to flintlock, percussion, and 
electronic ignition systems.  

4VAC15-50-71. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 
Tuesday prior to the third Monday in November and for three 
consecutive hunting days following, both dates inclusive, 
except in Alleghany, Amherst, Augusta (west of Interstate 81 
and that part east of Interstate 81 that is south of Interstate 
64), Bath, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Buchanan, Campbell 
(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Carroll, Craig, 
Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Grayson, Henry, 
Highland, Lee, Montgomery, Nelson, Patrick, Pittsylvania 
(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski, Roanoke, 
Rockbridge, Rockingham (west of Interstate 81), Russell, 
Scott, Shenandoah (west of Interstate 81), Smyth, Tazewell, 
Washington, Wise and Wythe counties and in the cities of 
Chesapeake, Suffolk and Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt bear with dogs during any 
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns. 

C. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 
means a single shot flintlock or percussion weapon, excluding 
muzzleloading pistols, .45 caliber or larger, firing a single 
projectile or sabot (with a.38 caliber or larger projectile) of 
the same caliber loaded from the muzzle of the weapon and 
propelled by at least 50 grains of black powder (or black 
powder equivalent or smokeless powder). 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 
firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 
muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1295; Filed July 8, 2008, 2:00 p.m. 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to §2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife. The board is required by §2.2-4031 of the Code of 
Virginia to publish all proposed and final wildlife 
management regulations, including length of seasons and bag 
limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 
4VAC15-90-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the requirement that the ignition 
system of muzzleloading guns used for hunting deer be 
only of the flintlock or percussion type, thereby allowing 
all types of ignition systems to be used on muzzleloading 
guns, including but not limited to flintlock, percussion, and 
electronic ignition systems. 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 
Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 
Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 
inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 
with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 
cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 
Line) and Virginia Beach.  

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 18 
consecutive hunting days immediately prior to and inclusive 
of the first Saturday in January, in all cities, towns, and 
counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke 
County and on non-national forest lands in Frederick 
County), and east of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the 
counties (including the cities and towns within) of Amherst 
(west of U.S. Route 29), Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk 
Southern Railroad), Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 
151), Patrick and Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern 
Railroad) and on national forest lands in Frederick County 
and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal 
Swamp line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 
special muzzleloading season in all cities, towns, and counties 
east of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except on national forest 
lands, state forest lands, state park lands except Occoneechee 
State Park, department-owned lands and Philpott Reservoir) 
and on the second Saturday only east of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains on state forest lands, state park lands except 
Occoneechee State Park, department-owned lands and on 
Philpott Reservoir. Deer of either sex may be taken during the 
entire early special muzzleloading season on Occoneechee 
State Park. Deer of either sex may be taken during the early 
special muzzleloading season only on the second Monday in 
November in all counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains 
(except Clarke, Buchanan, Dickenson, Floyd, Lee, Russell, 
Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and in Grayson 
Highlands State Park and national forest lands in Grayson 
County, and on private lands in Frederick, Roanoke, and 
Warren counties) and on national forest and department-
owned lands in Roanoke County and on national forest lands 
in Frederick and Warren counties and on national forest lands 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 4, 2008 

3333 
 

in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties. Additionally, deer 
of either sex may be taken during the entire early special 
muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties and on 
private lands in Frederick, Roanoke and Warren counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire late 
special muzzleloading season in the counties (including the 
cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29 
except on national forest lands), Bedford (except on national 
forest lands), Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 
Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151 except on 
national forest lands), Patrick, and Pittsylvania (west of 
Norfolk Southern Railroad). It shall be lawful to hunt deer of 
either sex during the last six days of the late special 
muzzleloading season in all counties west of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains (except Buchanan, Dickenson, Floyd, in Grayson 
Highlands State Park and national forest lands in Grayson, 
Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and 
on private lands in Roanoke and Warren Counties) and on 
national forest and department-owned lands in Roanoke 
County and on national forest lands in Warren County and on 
national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, Frederick, and 
Nelson counties and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east 
of the Dismal Swamp line), and Virginia Beach. Provided 
further it shall be lawful to hunt deer of either sex during the 
last day only of the late special muzzleloading season in the 
counties of Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, and 
Washington and in Grayson Highlands State Park and 
national forest lands in Grayson County. Additionally, deer of 
either-sex may be taken during the entire late special 
muzzleloading season in Floyd County and on private lands 
in Roanoke and Warren Counties. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 
of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 
hunting except in the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, and 
Wise and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia 
Beach. 

F. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns. 

G. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 
means a single shot flintlock or percussion weapon, excluding 
muzzleloading pistols,.45 caliber or larger, firing a single 
projectile or sabot (with a.38 caliber or larger projectile) of 
the same caliber loaded from the muzzle of the weapon and 
propelled by at least 50 grains of black powder (or black 
powder equivalent or smokeless powder). 

H. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 
firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 
muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1188; Filed July 8, 2008, 2:00 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to §2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
waterfowl. The department is required by §2.2-4031 of the 
Code of Virginia to publish all proposed and final wildlife 
management regulations, including length of seasons and bag 
limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-260. Game: Waterfowl and 
Waterfowl Blinds (amending 4VAC15-260-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds rails, snipe, moorhens, gallinules 
and mergansers to the list of species for which the use of 
nontoxic shot is required when hunting such species. 

4VAC15-260-140. Nontoxic shot required for waterfowl 
hunting requirement for hunting of certain migratory 
game birds. 

It shall be unlawful to take or attempt to take ducks, geese, 
brant, swans, or coots, mergansers, rails, snipe, gallinules or 
moorhens while possessing shotshells loaded with shot other 
than steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron or other nontoxic shot 
approved for such use by the director of the department, if 
such shot is permissible under federal migratory waterfowl 
regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-813; Filed July 8, 2008, 1:58 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to subdivision of §2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife. The board is required by §2.2-4031 
of the Code of Virginia to publish all proposed and final 
wildlife management regulations, including length of seasons 
and bag limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-270. Game: Firearms 
(repealing 4VAC15-270-50). 
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Statutory Authority: §§29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment rescinds the prohibition on the use of high 
velocity, long range-rifles, shotguns loaded with slugs and 
pistols or revolvers of a larger caliber than 22 rim-fire for 
hunting in Northumberland County; the regulation section 
repealed is inconsistent with a local ordinance on firearms 
adopted by the Northumberland County government.  

4VAC15-270-50. Use of certain firearms prohibited in 
Northumberland County. (Repealed.) 

It shall be unlawful to use high velocity, long-range rifles, 
shotguns loaded with slugs and pistols or revolvers of a larger 
calibre than 22 rim-fire for hunting in Northumberland 
County.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1189; Filed July 8, 2008, 1:59 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-130. Coal Surface Mining 
Reclamation Regulations (amending 4VAC25-130-816.22, 
4VAC25-130-816.43, 4VAC25-130-816.116, 4VAC25-130-
817.22, 4VAC25-130-817.43, 4VAC25-130-817.116, 
4VAC25-130-842.15). 

Statutory Authority: §§45.1-161.3 and 45.1-230 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on October 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: David Spears, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 202 N. Ninth 
Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone 
(804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 
(DMME) has authority to promulgate this regulation under 
authority found in §§45.1-161.3, 45.1-230, and 45.1-242 of 
the Code of Virginia. Section 45.1-161.3 of the Code of 
Virginia empowers DMME, with the approval of the director, 
to promulgate regulations necessary or incidental to the 
performance of duties or execution of powers under Title 45.1 
of the Code of Virginia. Section 45.1-230 of the Code of 

Virginia empowers the DMME director to promulgate 
regulations as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of 
the Virginia Coal Surface Mining Control and Reclamation 
Act, (§45.1-226 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Section 
45.1-242 of the Code of Virginia directs the DMME director 
to, by regulation, establish performance standards applicable 
to all surface mining and reclamation operations. 
Establishment of these performance standards by regulation is 
mandatory. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 
Virginia’s Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations to 
make them consistent with federal regulations on topsoil 
redistribution and measurement of revegetation success, to 
allow natural stream restoration design, and to clarify 
requirements for requesting reviews of decisions not to 
inspect or enforce.  The action will produce environmental 
benefits in the form of enabling more successful reforestation 
of reclaimed mine sites, and more natural stream restoration 
channels.  It will also provide clearer instructions to those 
wishing to apply for a review or request a hearing on the 
agency’s decisions not to inspect or enforce sections of the 
regulations on particular sites. 

Substance: The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy is 
proposing amendments to existing sections of 4VAC25-130, 
Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations. 

Amendments to 4VAC25-130-816.22, 4VAC25-130-
816.116, 4VAC25-130-817.22, and 4VAC25-130-817.116 
are proposed to make these sections consistent with 
corresponding federal amendments regarding redistribution of 
topsoil and topsoil substitutes, and measuring success of 
revegetation. The Federal Office of Surface Mining amended 
its rules effective August 30, 2006 (30 CFR Parts 816 and 
817; Fed. Register Vol. 71, No. 168, p. 51684 through p. 
51706). As provided by 4VAC25-130-700.2 of the Virginia 
Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulation, "These 
regulations are promulgated pursuant to Chapter 19, Title 
45.1 of the Code of Virginia (1950) as amended. In order for 
these regulations to receive approval by the United States 
Secretary of the Interior as part of the Commonwealth's 
permanent regulatory program, the Federal Surface Mining 
Control and Reclamation Act requires that these regulations 
be consistent with (as effective as) applicable regulations 
issued by the Secretary, contained in 30 CFR Chapter VII." 
As provided by 4VAC25-130-816.116(b)(3)(i) and 4VAC25-
130-817.116(b)(3)(i), the division consulted with and 
obtained the approval of the proposed amendments from 
Virginia’s Department of Forestry and Department of Game 
and Inland Fisheries. 

4VAC25-130-816.43 and 4VAC25-130-817.43 are being 
amended to allow the approval of natural stream restoration 
channel designs, as approved by the U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers. This will allow the restoration of an impacted 
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stream channel to one that is more natural and 
environmentally sound. 

4VAC25-130-842.15 is being amended to provide a deadline 
for filing applications for review and requests for hearing on 
decisions not to inspect and enforce, and to address such 
requests to the Director of the Division of Mined Land 
Reclamation. These changes will make the section consistent 
with other parts of the chapter and with the Virginia Surface 
Mining Control and Reclamation Act (§45.1-226 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). 

Issues: The proposed action will provide clear benefits to the 
public in the form of improved reforestation success and more 
natural stream restoration channels, thereby facilitating the 
return of more natural conditions to reclaimed mine sites.  
Benefits to be derived from clarified requirements for 
requesting review of decisions not to inspect or enforce 
include certainty about the deadline for making such requests 
and the specific part of the agency to which such requests 
should be addressed.  No disadvantages are anticipated to the 
agency or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) 
proposes to amend its Coal Surface Mining Reclamation 
Regulations to 1) maintain consistency, as mandated by the 
Code of Virginia, with corresponding federal regulations and 
2) allow more flexible standards for forestry reclamation, as 
recommended by the federal Office of Surface Mining and 
Reclamation (OSM). DMME also proposes to amend these 
regulations so that individuals who may be affected by a 
DMME decision to not inspect have 30 days to request an 
informal review of that decision. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently DMME regulations 
have very prescriptive requirements for surface mining land 
reclamation (DMME’s current regulations are consistent with 
older federal regulations that were amended in 2006). 
Currently replacement topsoil, for instance, must be of 
uniform depth and streams must be rebuilt in a set way with 
prescribed replacement rock placement.  Also, current 
regulations require all reclaimed land, except for land which 
will be used for farming, to have 90% herbaceous ground 
cover (grass planting). 

DMME proposes to amend these regulations so that they are 
consistent with current federal regulations or current 
recommendations of OSM. Once these regulations are 
promulgated, topsoil on reclaimed land will be allowed to 
vary in depth, stream rebuilding requirements will be more 
flexible (and will likely require fewer rocks) and all reclaimed 

land will not be subject to the 90% herbaceous ground cover 
requirement.  Herbaceous ground cover, in combination with 
other plantings will have to be sufficient to prevent erosion 
but will not have to be a prescribed percentage of all planting. 

DMME reports that these changes will lead to more 
successful forest reclamation and more natural stream 
restoration channels. Eliminating the requirement for uniform 
topsoil depth, for instance, will eliminate the need for grading 
equipment to make multiple passes over the same piece of 
land (until the depth of the soil is uniform).  Consequently, 
topsoil will be less compacted so it will be a better medium 
for regrowing vegetation.  Since herbaceous ground cover can 
crowd out, and inhibit the new growth of, trees and other 
forest plants, eliminating the 90% herbaceous ground cover 
requirement will encourage replanting that will be more likely 
to turn into forest land. These forests will be much more 
likely to attract wildlife. 

These changes are also very likely to lower costs for 
regulated entities. DMME reports that new topsoil 
requirements will reduce the use of grading equipment. This 
equipment will only have to make one pass over land to be 
reclaimed rather than the three or more passes that DMME 
reports are now required. Regulated entities will likely have 
to purchase less topsoil (or topsoil substitute) on account of 
the proposed regulations. These entities will also likely have 
to purchase less grass seed (or seeding services) under the 
proposed regulations. 

Under current regulations individuals who may be affected by 
a DMME decision to not inspect or take appropriate action 
may request an informal review of that decision at any time; 
DMME has 30 days (from receipt) to respond to such 
requests. DMME proposes to amend these regulations so that 
these individuals have 30 days (after an initial decision) to 
file requests for informal review. DMME reports that affected 
(or potentially affected) entities currently have 30 days to file 
formal requests; so this change will insure consistency 
between informal and formal request procedures. The agency 
and regulated entities will likely benefit from having agency 
decisions reviewable for only a finite period. Individuals who 
feel they are harmed in some way by an agency decision may 
incur some costs on account of this proposed regulatory 
change. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DMME reports that there 
are 60 active surface mines and 120 active underground 
mines in the Commonwealth. The owners of these mines, as 
well as individuals who reside around these mines, will be 
affected by the proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities in Southwestern 
Virginia, where mines operate, will be particularly affected 
by these regulatory changes. DMME does not anticipate these 
localities incurring any costs on account of the regulatory 
changes. 
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Projected Impact on Employment. Companies that sell rocks 
and seeding services to mines will likely see a reduction in 
mining companies’ demand for these goods and services.  
This reduction is not likely, however, to be of great enough 
magnitude to significantly impact employment in these fields. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 
extent that these regulatory changes lower costs, mining 
operations in the Commonwealth may experience increases in 
profits. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DMME reports 
that approximately 150 of the 180 mining operations in the 
Commonwealth qualify as small businesses. None of these 
businesses are likely to incur any costs on account of the 
proposed regulatory changes. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy concurs with the economic 
impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments will maintain consistency with 
corresponding federal regulations, allow more natural 
design of stream restoration channels, and clarify 
requirements for requesting reviews of decisions not to 
inspect or enforce.  The sections being amended for 
consistency with federal regulations deal with 
redistribution of topsoil and topsoil substitutes, and 
measuring success of revegetation efforts. 

4VAC25-130-816.22. Topsoil and subsoil.  

(a) Removal.  

(1)(i) All topsoil shall be removed as a separate layer from 
the area to be disturbed, and segregated.  

(ii) Where the topsoil is of insufficient quantity or poor 
quality for sustaining vegetation, the materials approved 
by the division in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this 
section shall be removed as a separate layer from the area 
to be disturbed, and segregated.  

(2) If topsoil is less than 6 inches thick, the permittee may 
remove the topsoil and the unconsolidated materials 
immediately below the topsoil and treat the mixture as 
topsoil.  

(3) The division may choose not to require the removal of 
topsoil for minor disturbances which--  

(i) Occur at the site of small structures, such as power 
poles, signs, or fence lines; or  

(ii) Will not destroy the existing vegetation and will not 
cause erosion.  

(4) Timing. All material to be removed under this section 
shall be removed after the vegetative cover that would 
interfere with its salvage is cleared from the area to be 
disturbed, but before any drilling, blasting, mining, or other 
surface disturbance takes place.  

(b) Substitutes and supplements.  

(1) Selected overburden materials may be substituted for, 
or used as a supplement to topsoil if the permittee 
demonstrates to the division, in accordance with 4VAC25-
130-780.18, that the resulting soil medium is equal to, or 
more suitable for sustaining vegetation than, the existing 
topsoil, and the resulting soil medium is the best available 
in the permit area to support revegetation.  

(2) Substituted or supplemental material shall be removed, 
segregated, and replaced in compliance with the 
requirements of this section for topsoil. 

(3) Selected overburden materials may be substituted for or 
used as a supplement to topsoil, if the slope of the land 
containing the topsoil is greater than 60 percent (3v:5h) 
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and the selected overburden materials satisfy the following 
criteria:  

(i) The results of the analyses of the overburden required 
in 4VAC25-130-780.18 demonstrates the feasibility of 
using the overburden materials.  

(ii) The substitute material has a pH greater than 5.0, has 
a net acidity of less than five tons per 1,000 tons of 
material or a net alkalinity, and is suitable for sustaining 
vegetation consistent with the standards for vegetation in 
4VAC25-130-816.111 through 4VAC25-130-816.116, 
and the approved postmining land use.  

(c) Storage.  

(1) Materials removed under Paragraph (a) of this section 
shall be segregated and stockpiled when it is impractical to 
redistribute such materials promptly on regraded areas.  

(2) Stockpiled materials shall--  

(i) Be selectively placed on a stable site within the permit 
area;  

(ii) Be protected from contaminants and unnecessary 
compaction that would interfere with revegetation;  

(iii) Be protected from wind and water erosion through 
prompt establishment and maintenance of an effective, 
quick growing vegetative cover or through other 
measures approved by the division; and  

(iv) Not be moved until required for redistribution unless 
approved by the division.  

(3) When long-term surface disturbances will result from 
facilities such as support facilities and preparation plants 
and where stockpiling of materials removed under 
Paragraph (a)(1) of this section would be detrimental to the 
quality or quantity of those materials, the division may 
approve the temporary distribution of the soil materials so 
removed to an approved site within the permit area to 
enhance the current use of that site until the materials are 
needed for later reclamation, provided that--  

(i) Such action will not permanently diminish the 
capability of the topsoil of the host site; and  

(ii) The material will be retained in a condition more 
suitable for redistribution than if stockpiled.  

(d) Redistribution.  

(1) Topsoil materials and substitutes removed under 
Paragraph (a) and (b) of this section shall be redistributed 
in a manner that--  

(i) Achieves an approximately uniform, stable thickness 
when consistent with the approved postmining land use, 
contours, and surface-water drainage systems. Soil 
thickness may also be varied to the extent such variations 
help meet the specific revegetation goals identified in the 
permit;  

(ii) Prevents excess compaction of the materials; and  

(iii) Protects the materials from wind and water erosion 
before and after seeding and planting.  

(2) Before redistribution of the material removed under 
Paragraph (a) of this section, the regraded land shall be 
treated if necessary to reduce potential slippage of the 
redistributed material and to promote root penetration. If 
no harm will be caused to the redistributed material and 
reestablished vegetation, such treatment may be conducted 
after such material is replaced.  

(3) The division may choose not to require the 
redistribution of topsoil or topsoil substitutes on the 
approved postmining embankments of permanent 
impoundments or of roads if it determines that--  

(i) Placement of topsoil or topsoil substitutes on such 
embankments is inconsistent with the requirement to use 
the best technology currently available to prevent 
sedimentation; and  

(ii) Such embankments will be otherwise stabilized.  

(4) Nutrients and soil amendments shall be applied to the 
initially redistributed material when necessary to establish 
the vegetative cover. The types and amounts of nutrients 
and soil amendments shall be determined by soil tests 
performed by a qualified laboratory using standard 
methods which are approved by the division. If seeding is 
done without a site specific soil test--  

(i) Fertilization rates of 300 pounds of 16-27-14 or 500 
pounds of 10-20-10 or equivalents per acre shall be used.  

(ii) Liming rates shall be in accordance with the 
following table: 

  

Tons of Lime Needed per Acre to Increase pH to: Mine Spoil 
pH 

5.1 - 5.5 5.6 - 6.2 

Test Sandstone Shale Mixed Sandstone Shale Mixed 

4.0 - 4.5 2 3 2 3 5 4 

4.6 - 5.0 1 3 2 2 4 3 
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5.1 - 5.5 0 2 1 1 3 2 

5.6 - 6.0 0 1 0 0 2 1 

(iii) Soil tests shall be performed promptly after 
topsoiling but before application of any supplementary 
nutrients and any additional lime and fertilizer applied as 
necessary.  

(e) Subsoil segregation. The division may require that the B 
horizon, C horizon, or other underlying strata, or portions 
thereof, be removed and segregated, stockpiled, and 
redistributed as subsoil in accordance with the requirements 
of Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this section if it finds that such 
subsoil layers are necessary to comply with the revegetation 
requirements of 4VAC25-130-816.111, 4VAC25-130-
816.113, 4VAC25-130-816.114 and 4VAC25-130-816.116.  

4VAC25-130-816.43. Diversions.  

(a) General requirements.  

(1) With the approval of the division, any flow from mined 
areas abandoned before May 3, 1978, and any flow from 
undisturbed areas or reclaimed areas, after meeting the 
criteria of 4VAC25-130-816.46 for siltation structure 
removal, may be diverted from disturbed areas by means of 
temporary or permanent diversions. All diversions shall be 
designed to minimize adverse impacts to the hydrologic 
balance within the permit and adjacent areas, to prevent 
material damage outside the permit area and to assure the 
safety of the public. Diversions shall not be used to divert 
water into underground mines without approval of the 
division under 4VAC25-130-816.41(i).  

(2) The diversion and its appurtenant structures shall be 
designed, located, constructed, maintained, and used to--  

(i) Be stable;  

(ii) Provide protection against flooding and resultant 
damage to life and property;  

(iii) Prevent, to the extent possible using the best 
technology currently available, additional contributions 
of suspended solids to streamflow outside the permit 
area; and  

(iv) Comply with all applicable local, State and Federal 
laws and regulations.  

(3) Temporary diversions shall be removed promptly when 
no longer needed to achieve the purpose for which they 
were authorized. The land disturbed by the removal 
process shall be restored in accordance with this Part. 
Before diversions are removed, downstream water-
treatment facilities previously protected by the diversion 
shall be modified or removed, as necessary, to prevent 
overtopping or failure of the facilities. This requirement 
shall not relieve the permittee from maintaining water-
treatment facilities as otherwise required. A permanent 

diversion or a stream channel reclaimed after the removal 
of a temporary diversion shall be designed and constructed 
so as to restore or approximate the premining 
characteristics of the original stream channel including the 
natural riparian vegetation to promote the recovery and the 
enhancement of the aquatic habitat.  

(4) Diversions which convey water continuously or 
frequently shall be lined with rock rip rap to at least the 
normal flow depth, including an allowance for freeboard. 
Diversions constructed in competent bedrock and portions 
of channels above normal flow depth shall comply with the 
velocity limitations of Paragraph (5) below designed by a 
qualified registered professional engineer and constructed 
to ensure stability and compliance with the standards of 
this Part and any other criteria set by the division.  

(5) The maximum permissible velocity for the following 
methods of stabilization are:  

  Vegetated channel constructed 
in soil 

3.5 feet per 
second 

  Vegetated channel with jute 
netting 

5.0 feet per 
second 

  Rock rip rap lined channel 16.0 feet per 
second 

  Channel constructed in 
competent bedrock 

No limit 

(6) (5) Channel side slopes shall be no steeper than 1.5h:1v 
in soil.  

(7) (6) Adequate freeboard shall be provided to prevent 
overtopping. A minimum of 0.3 feet shall be included, with 
additional freeboard provided at curves, transitions, and 
other critical sections as required.  

(8) (7) When rock rip rap lining is used, consideration shall 
be given to rip rap size, bedding, and filter material. Rock 
used for rip rap shall be non-degradable, and non-acid 
forming such as natural sand and gravel,sandstone or 
limestone. No clay, shale, or coal shall be used.  

(9) (8) Sediment and other debris shall be removed and the 
diversion maintained to provide the design requirements 
throughout its operation.  

(10) (9) The division may specify other criteria for 
diversions to meet the requirements of this section.  

(b) Diversion of perennial and intermittent streams.  

(1) Diversion of perennial and intermittent streams within 
the permit area may be approved by the division after 
making the finding relating to stream buffer zones called 
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for in 4VAC25-130-816.57 that the diversion will not 
adversely affect the water quantity and quality and related 
environmental resources of the stream.  

(2) The design capacity of channels for temporary and 
permanent stream channel diversions shall be at least equal 
to the capacity of the unmodified stream channel 
immediately upstream and downstream from the diversion.  

(3) The requirements of Paragraph (a)(2)(ii) of this section 
shall be met when the temporary and permanent diversions 
for perennial and intermittent streams are designed so that 
the combination of channel, bank and flood-plain 
configuration is adequate to pass safely the peak runoff of 
a 10-year, 6-hour precipitation event for a temporary 
diversion and a 100-year, 6-hour precipitation event for a 
permanent diversion.  

(4) The design and construction of all stream channel 
diversions of perennial and intermittent streams shall be 
certified by a qualified registered professional engineer as 
meeting the standards of this Part and any other criteria set 
by the division.  

(5) Channels which are constructed in backfilled material 
shall be formed during the backfilling and grading of the 
area. Unless the backfill material is of sufficiently low 
permeability, the channel shall be lined to prevent 
saturation of the backfill, loss of stream flow, or 
degradation of groundwater quality.  

(6) Rock rip rap lining shall be placed in the channels of all 
diversions of perennial and intermittent streams to the 
normal flow depth, including adequate freeboard. Channels 
constructed in competent bedrock need not be rip rap lined.  

(c) Diversion of miscellaneous flows.  

(1) Miscellaneous flows, which consist of all flows except 
for perennial and intermittent streams, may be diverted 
away from disturbed areas if required or approved by the 
division. Miscellaneous flows shall include ground-water 
discharges and ephemeral streams.  

(2) The design, location, construction, maintenance, and 
removal of diversions of miscellaneous flows shall meet all 
of the performance standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of 
this section.  

(3) The requirements of Paragraph (a)(2)(ii) of this section 
shall be met when the temporary and permanent diversions 
for miscellaneous flows are designed to pass safely the 
peak runoff of a 2-year, 6-hour precipitation event for a 
temporary diversion and a 10-year, 6-hour precipitation 
event for a permanent diversion.  

(d) Steep slope conveyances.  

(1) A steep slope conveyance, including but not limited to 
a rock rip rap flume, concrete flume, or a pipe, shall be 

used to convey water down steep slopes to stable natural or 
constructed drainways. Steep slope conveyances shall be 
constructed at locations where concentrated flows may 
cause erosion.  

(2) The capacity of the conveyance shall be equal to or 
greater than the capacity of the inlet ditch or drainage 
structure associated with it.  

4VAC25-130-816.116. Revegetation; standards for 
success.  

(a) Success of revegetation shall be judged on the 
effectiveness of the vegetation for the approved postmining 
land use, the extent of cover compared to the cover occurring 
in natural vegetation of the area, and the general requirements 
of 4VAC25-130-816.111.  

(1) Statistically valid sampling techniques shall be used for 
measuring success.  

(2) Ground cover, production, or stocking shall be 
considered equal to the approved success standard when 
they are not less than 90% of the success standard. The 
sampling techniques for measuring success shall use a 90% 
statistical confidence interval (i.e., one-sided test with a 
0.10 alpha error). Sampling techniques for measuring 
woody plant stocking, ground cover, and production shall 
be in accordance with techniques approved by the division.  

(b) Standards for success shall be applied in accordance with 
the approved postmining land use and, at a minimum, the 
following conditions:  

(1) For areas developed for use as grazing land or pasture 
land, the ground cover and production of living plants on 
the revegetated area shall be at least equal to that of a 
reference area or if approved by the division, a vegetative 
ground cover of 90% for areas planted only in herbaceous 
species and productivity at least equal to the productivity 
of the premining soils may be achieved. Premining 
productivity shall be based upon data of the U.S. Natural 
Resources Conservation Service and measured in such 
units as weight of material produced per acre or animal 
units supported.  

(2) For areas developed for use as cropland, crop 
production on the revegetated area shall be at least equal to 
that of a reference area or if approved by the division, crop 
yields shall be at least equal to the yields for reference 
crops from unmined lands. Reference crop yields shall be 
determined from the current yield records of representative 
local farms in the surrounding area or from the average 
county yields recognized by the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture.  

(3) For areas to be developed for fish and wildlife habitat, 
undeveloped land, recreation, shelter belts, or forest 
products, success of vegetation shall be determined on the 
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basis of tree and shrub forestry, the stocking and vegetative 
ground cover of woody plants must be at least equal to the 
rates specified in the approved reclamation plan. To 
minimize competition with woody plants, herbaceous 
ground cover should be limited to that necessary to control 
erosion and support the postmining land use. Seed 
mixtures and seeding rates will be specified in the 
approved reclamation plan. Such parameters are described 
as follows:  

(i) Minimum stocking and planting arrangements shall be 
specified by the division on the basis of local and 
regional conditions and after consultation with and 
approval by the state agencies responsible for the 
administration of forestry and wildlife programs. 
Consultation and approval may occur on either a program 
wide or a permit specific basis.  

(ii) Trees and shrubs that will be used in determining the 
success of stocking and the adequacy of the plant 
arrangement shall have utility for the approved 
postmining land use. Trees and shrubs counted in 
determining such success shall be healthy and have been 
in place for not less than two growing seasons. At the 
time of bond release, at least 80% of the trees and shrubs 
used to determine such success shall have been in place 
for at least three years. Root crown or sprouts over one 
foot in height shall count as one toward meeting the 
stocking requirements. Where multiple stems occur, only 
the tallest stem will be counted.  

(iii) Vegetative ground cover shall not be less than that 
required to control erosion and achieve the approved 
postmining land use.  

(iv) Where commercial forest land is the approved 
postmining land use:  

(A) The area shall have a minimum stocking of 400 trees 
per acre.  

(B) All countable trees shall be commercial species and 
shall be well distributed over each acre stocked.  

(C) Additionally, the area shall have an average of at 
least 40 wildlife food-producing shrubs per acre. The 
shrubs shall be suitably located for wildlife enhancement, 
and may be distributed or clustered.  

(v) Where woody plants are used for wildlife 
management, recreation, shelter belts, or forest uses other 
than commercial forest land:  

(A) The stocking of trees, shrubs, half-shrubs and the 
ground cover established on the revegetated area shall 
approximate the stocking and ground cover on the 
surrounding unmined area and shall utilize local and 
regional recommendations regarding species 
composition, spacing and planting arrangement;  

(B) Areas planted only in herbaceous species shall 
sustain a vegetative ground cover of 90%;  

(C) Areas planted with a mixture of herbaceous and 
woody species shall sustain a herbaceous vegetative 
ground cover of 90% in accordance with guidance 
provided by the division and the approved forestry 
reclamation plan and establish an average of 400 woody 
plants per acre. At least 40 of the woody plants for each 
acre shall be wildlife food-producing shrubs located 
suitably for wildlife enhancement, which may be 
distributed or clustered on the area.  

(4) For areas to be developed for industrial, commercial, or 
residential use less than two years after regrading is 
completed, the vegetative ground cover shall not be less 
than that required to control erosion.  

(5) For areas previously disturbed by mining that were not 
reclaimed to the requirements of this subchapter and that 
are remined or otherwise redisturbed by surface coal 
mining operations, as a minimum, the vegetative ground 
cover shall be not less than the ground cover existing 
before redisturbance, and shall be adequate to control 
erosion.  

(c) (1) The period of extended responsibility for successful 
revegetation shall begin after the last year of augmented 
seeding, fertilizing, irrigation, or other work, excluding 
husbandry practices that are approved by the division in 
accordance with subdivision (c)(3) of this section.  

(2) The period of responsibility shall continue for a period 
of not less than:  

(i) Five full years except as provided in subdivision 
(c)(2)(ii) of this section. The vegetation parameters 
identified in subsection (b) of this section for grazing 
land or pastureland and cropland shall equal or exceed 
the approved success standard during the growing 
seasons of any two years of the responsibility period, 
except the first year. Areas approved for the other uses 
identified in subsection (b) of this section shall equal or 
exceed the applicable success standard during the 
growing season of the last year of the responsibility 
period.  

(ii) Two full years for lands eligible for remining. To the 
extent that the success standards are established by 
subdivision (b)(5) of this section, the lands shall equal or 
exceed the standards during the growing season of the 
last year of the responsibility period.  

(3) The division may approve selective husbandry 
practices, excluding augmented seeding, fertilization, or 
irrigation, without extending the period of responsibility 
for revegetation success and bond liability, if such 
practices can be expected to continue as part of the 
postmining land use or if discontinuance of the practices 
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after the liability period expires will not reduce the 
probability of permanent revegetation success. Approved 
practices shall be normal conservation practices within the 
region for unmined lands having land uses similar to the 
approved postmining land use of the disturbed area, 
including such practices as disease, pest, and vermin 
control; and any pruning, reseeding and/or transplanting 
specifically necessitated by such actions.  

4VAC25-130-817.22. Topsoil and subsoil.  

(a) Removal.  

(1)(i) All topsoil shall be removed as a separate layer from 
the area to be disturbed, and segregated.  

(ii) Where the topsoil is of insufficient quantity or of 
poor quality for sustaining vegetation, the materials 
approved by the division in accordance with Paragraph 
(b) of this section shall be removed as a separate layer 
from the area to be disturbed, and segregated.  

(2) If topsoil is less than six inches thick, the permittee 
may remove the topsoil and the unconsolidated materials 
immediately below the topsoil and treat the mixture as 
topsoil.  

(3) The division may choose not to require the removal of 
topsoil for minor disturbances which -  

(i) Occur at the site of small structures, such as power 
poles, signs, or fence lines; or  

(ii) Will not destroy the existing vegetation and will not 
cause erosion.  

(4) Timing. All materials to be removed under this section 
shall be removed after the vegetative cover that would 
interfere with its salvage is cleared from the area to be 
disturbed, but before any drilling, blasting, mining, or other 
surface disturbance takes place.  

(b) Substitutes and supplements.  

(1) Selected overburden materials may be substituted for, 
or used as a supplement to, topsoil if the permittee 
demonstrates to the division, in accordance with 4VAC25-
130-784.13 that the resulting soil medium is equal to, or 
more suitable for sustaining vegetation than, the existing 
topsoil, and the resulting soil medium is the best available 
in the permit area to support revegetation.  

(2) Substituted or supplemental material shall be removed, 
segregated, and replaced in compliance with the 
requirements of this section for topsoil.  

(3) Selected overburden materials may be substituted for or 
used as a supplement to topsoil, if the slope of the land 
containing the topsoil is greater than 60 percent (3v:5h) 
and the selected overburden materials satisfy the following 
criteria:  

(i) The results of the analyses of the overburden required 
in 4VAC25-130-784.13 demonstrates the feasibility of 
using the overburden materials.  

(ii) The substitute material has a pH greater than 5.0, has 
a net acidity of less than five tons per 1,000 tons of 
material or a net alkalinity, and is suitable for sustaining 
vegetation consistent with the standards for vegetation in 
4VAC25-130-817.111 through 4VAC25-130-817.116, 
and the approved postmining land use.  

(c) Storage.  

(1) Materials removed under Paragraph (a) of this section 
shall be segregated and stockpiled when it is impractical to 
redistribute such materials promptly on regraded areas.  

(2) Stockpiled materials shall-  

(i) Be selectively placed on a stable site within the permit 
area;  

(ii) Be protected from contaminants and unnecessary 
compaction that would interfere with revegetation;  

(iii) Be protected from wind and water erosion through 
prompt establishment and maintenance of an effective, 
quick growing vegetative cover or through other 
measures approved by the division; and  

(iv) Not be moved until required for redistribution unless 
approved by the division.  

(3) Where long term surface disturbances will result from 
facilities such as support facilities and preparation plants 
and where stockpiling of materials removed under 
Paragraph (a)(1) of this section would be detrimental to the 
quality or quantity of those materials, the division may 
approve the temporary distribution of the soil materials so 
removed to an approved site within the permit area to 
enhance the current use of that site until the materials are 
needed for later reclamation, provided that-  

(i) Such action will not permanently diminish the 
capability of the topsoil of the host site; and  

(ii) The material will be retained in a condition more 
suitable for redistribution than if stockpiled.  

(d) Redistribution.  

(1) Topsoil materials and substitutes removed under 
Paragraph (a) and (b) of this section shall be redistributed 
in a manner that-  

(i) Achieves an approximately uniform, stable thickness 
when consistent with the approved postmining land use, 
contours, and surface water drainage systems. Soil 
thickness may also be varied to the extent such variations 
help meet the specific revegetation goals identified in the 
permit;  
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(ii) Prevents excess compaction of the materials; and  

(iii) Protects the materials from wind and water erosion 
before and after seeding and planting.  

(2) Before redistribution of the material removed under 
Paragraph (a) of this section, the regraded land shall be 
treated if necessary to reduce potential slippage of the 
redistributed material and to promote root penetration. If 
no harm will be caused to the redistributed material and 
reestablished vegetation, such treatment may be conducted 
after such material is replaced.  

(3) The division may choose not to require the 
redistribution of topsoil or topsoil substitutes on the 
approved postmining embankments of permanent 
impoundments or of roads if it determines that-  

(i) Placement of topsoil or topsoil substitutes on such 
embankments is inconsistent with the requirement to use 

the best technology currently available to prevent 
sedimentation; and  

(ii) Such embankments will be otherwise stabilized.  

(4) Nutrients and soil amendments shall be applied to the 
initially redistributed material when necessary to establish 
the vegetative cover. The types and amounts of nutrients 
and soil amendments shall be determined by soil tests 
performed by a qualified laboratory using standard 
methods which are approved by the division. If seeding is 
done without a site specific soil test -  

(i) Fertilization rates of 300 pounds of 16-27-14 or 500 
pounds of 10-20-10 or equivalents per acre shall be used.  

(ii) Liming rates shall be in accordance with the 
following table:  

Tons of Lime Needed per Acre to Increase pH to: Mine Spoil 
pH 

5.1 - 5.5 5.6 - 6.2 

Test Sandstone Shale Mixed Sandstone Shale Mixed 

4.0 - 4.5 2 3 2 3 5 4 

4.6 - 5.0 1 3 2 2 4 3 

5.1 - 5.5 0 2 1 1 3 2 

5.6 - 6.0 0 1 0 0 2 1 

(iii) Soil tests shall be performed promptly after 
topsoiling but before application of any supplementary 
nutrients and any additional lime and fertilizer applied as 
necessary.  

(e) Subsoil segregation. The division may require that the B 
horizon, C horizon, or other underlying strata, or portions 
thereof, be removed and segregated, stockpiled, and 
redistributed as subsoil in accordance with the requirements 
of Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this section if it finds that such 
subsoil layers are necessary to comply with the revegetation 
requirements of 4VAC25-130-817.111, 4VAC25-130-
817.113, 4VAC25-130-817.114, and 4VAC25-130-817.116.  

4VAC25-130-817.43. Diversions.  

(a) General requirements.  

(1) With the approval of the division, any flow from mined 
areas abandoned before May 3, 1978, and any flow from 
undisturbed areas or reclaimed areas, after meeting the 
criteria of 4VAC25-130-817.46 for siltation structure 
removal, may be diverted from disturbed areas by means of 
temporary or permanent diversions. All diversions shall be 
designed to minimize adverse impacts to the hydrologic 
balance within the permit and adjacent areas, to prevent 
material damage outside the permit area and to assure the 
safety of the public. Diversions shall not be used to divert 

water into underground mines without approval of the 
division in accordance with 4VAC25-130-817.41(h).  

(2) The diversion and its appurtenant structures shall be 
designed, located, constructed, and maintained to-  

(i) Be stable;  

(ii) Provide protection against flooding and resultant 
damage to life and property;  

(iii) Prevent, to the extent possible using the best 
technology currently available, additional contributions 
of suspended solids to streamflow outside the permit 
area; and  

(iv) Comply with all applicable local, State, and Federal 
laws and regulations.  

(3) Temporary diversions shall be removed when no longer 
needed to achieve the purpose for which they were 
authorized. The land disturbed by the removal process 
shall be restored in accordance with this Part. Before 
diversions are removed, downstream water treatment 
facilities previously protected by the diversion shall be 
modified or removed, as necessary to prevent overtopping 
or failure of the facilities. This requirement shall not 
relieve the permittee from maintaining water treatment 
facilities as otherwise required. A permanent diversion or a 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 4, 2008 

3343 
 

stream channel reclaimed after the removal of a temporary 
diversion shall be designed and constructed so as to restore 
or approximate the premining characteristics of the original 
stream channel including the natural riparian vegetation to 
promote the recovery and the enhancement of the aquatic 
habitat.  

(4) Diversions which convey water continuously or 
frequently shall be lined with rock rip rap to at least the 
normal flow depth, including an allowance for freeboard. 
Diversions constructed in competent bedrock and portions 
of channels above normal flow depth shall comply with the 
velocity limitations of Paragraph (5) below designed by a 
qualified registered professional engineer and constructed 
to ensure stability and compliance with the standards of 
this Part and any other criteria set by the division.  

(5) The maximum permissible velocity for the following 
methods of stabilization are:  

  Vegetated channel constructed 
in soil 

3.5 feet per 
second 

  Vegetated channel with jute 
netting 

5.0 feet per 
second 

  Rock rip rap lined channel 16.0 feet per 
second 

  Channel constructed in 
competent bedrock 

No limit 

(6) (5) Channel side slopes shall be no steeper than 1.5h:1v 
in soil.  

(7) (6) Adequate freeboard shall be provided to prevent 
overtopping. A minimum of 0.3 feet shall be included, with 
additional freeboard provided at curves, transitions, and 
other critical sections as required.  

(8) (7) When rock rip rap lining is used, consideration shall 
be given to rip rap size, bedding, and filter material. Rock 
used for rip rap shall be non-degradable, and non-acid 
forming such as natural sand and gravel, sandstone or 
limestone. No clay, shale, or coal shall be used.  

(9) (8) Sediment and other debris shall be removed and the 
diversion maintained to provide the design requirements 
throughout its operation.  

(10) (9) The division may specify other criteria for 
diversions to meet the requirements of this section.  

(b) Diversion of perennial and intermittent streams.  

(1) Diversion of perennial and intermittent streams within 
the permit area may be approved by the division after 
making the finding relating to stream buffer zones called 
for in 4VAC25-130-817.57 that the diversions will not 
adversely affect the water quantity and quality and related 
environmental resources of the stream.  

(2) The design capacity of channels for temporary and 
permanent stream channel diversions shall be at least equal 
to the capacity of the unmodified stream channel 
immediately upstream and downstream from the diversion.  

(3) The requirements of Paragraph (a)(2)(ii) of this section 
shall be met when the temporary and permanent diversions 
for perennial and intermittent streams are designed so that 
the combination of channel, bank and flood-plain 
configuration is adequate to pass safely the peak runoff of 
a 10-year, 6-hour precipitation event for a temporary 
diversion and a 100-year, 6-hour precipitation event for a 
permanent diversion.  

(4) The design and construction of all stream channel 
diversions of perennial and intermittent streams shall be 
certified by a qualified registered professional engineer as 
meeting the standards of this Part and any other criteria set 
by the division.  

(5) Channels which are constructed in backfilled material 
shall be formed during the backfilling and grading of the 
area. Unless the backfill material is of sufficiently low 
permeability, the channel shall be lined to prevent 
saturation of the backfill, loss of stream flow, or 
degradation of groundwater quality.  

(6) Rock rip rap lining shall be placed in the channels of all 
diversions of perennial and intermittent streams to the 
normal flow depth, including adequate freeboard. Channels 
constructed in competent bedrock need not be rip rap lined.  

(c) Diversion of miscellaneous flows.  

(1) Miscellaneous flows, which consist of all flows except 
for perennial and intermittent streams, may be diverted 
away from disturbed areas if required or approved by the 
division. Miscellaneous flows shall include ground-water 
discharges and ephemeral streams.  

(2) The design, location, construction, maintenance, and 
removal of diversions of miscellaneous flows shall meet all 
of the performance standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of 
this section.  

(3) The requirements of Paragraph (a)(2)(ii) of this section 
shall be met when the temporary and permanent diversions 
for miscellaneous flows are designed to pass safely the 
peak runoff of a 2-year, 6-hour precipitation event for a 
temporary diversion and a 10-year, 6-hour precipitation 
event for a permanent diversion.  

(d) Steep slope water conveyances.  

(1) A steep slope conveyance, including but not limited to 
a rock rip rap flume, concrete flume, or a pipe, shall be 
used to convey water down steep slopes to stable natural or 
constructed drainways. Steep slope conveyances shall be 
constructed at locations where concentrated flows may 
cause erosion.  
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(2) The capacity of the conveyance shall be equal to or 
greater than the capacity of the inlet ditch or drainage 
structure associated with it.  

4VAC25-130-817.116. Revegetation; standards for 
success.  

(a) Success of revegetation shall be judged on the 
effectiveness of the vegetation for the approved postmining 
land use, the extent of cover compared to the cover occurring 
in natural vegetation of the area, and the general requirements 
of 4VAC25-130-817.111.  

(1) Statistically valid sampling techniques shall be used for 
measuring success.  

(2) Ground cover, production, or stocking shall be 
considered equal to the approved success standard when 
they are not less than 90% of the success standard. The 
sampling techniques for measuring success shall use a 90% 
statistical confidence interval (i.e., a one-sided test with a 
0.10 alpha error). Sampling techniques for measuring 
woody plant stocking, ground cover, and production shall 
be in accordance with techniques approved by the division.  

(b) Standards for success shall be applied in accordance with 
the approved postmining land use and, at a minimum, the 
following conditions:  

(1) For areas developed for use as grazing land or pasture 
land, the ground cover and production of living plants on 
the revegetated area shall be at least equal to that of a 
reference area or if approved by the division, a vegetative 
ground cover of 90% for areas planted only in herbaceous 
species and productivity at least equal to the productivity 
of the premining soils may be achieved. Premining 
productivity shall be based upon data of the U.S. Natural 
Resources Conservation Service and measured in such 
units as weight of material produced per acre or animal 
units supported.  

(2) For areas developed for use as cropland, crop 
production on the revegetated area shall be at least equal to 
that of a reference area or if approved by the division, crop 
yields shall be at least equal to the yields for reference 
crops from unmined lands. Reference crop yields shall be 
determined from the current yield records of representative 
local farms in the surrounding area or from the average 
county yields recognized by the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture.  

(3) For areas to be developed for fish and wildlife habitat, 
undeveloped land, recreation, shelter belts, or forest 
products, success of vegetation, shall be determined on the 
basis of tree and shrub forestry, the stocking and vegetative 
ground cover of woody plants must be at least equal to the 
rates specified in the approved reclamation plan. To 
minimize competition with woody plants, herbaceous 
ground cover should be limited to that necessary to control 

erosion and support the postmining land use. Seed 
mixtures and seeding rates will be specified in the 
approved reclamation plan. Such parameters are described 
as follows:  

(i) Minimum stocking and planting arrangements shall be 
specified by the division on the basis of local and 
regional conditions and after consultation with and 
approval by the state agencies responsible for the 
administration of forestry and wildlife programs. 
Consultation and approval may occur on either a program 
wide or a permit specific basis.  

(ii) Trees and shrubs that will be used in determining the 
success of stocking and the adequacy of the plant 
arrangement shall have utility for the approved 
postmining land use. Trees and shrubs counted in 
determining such success shall be healthy and have been 
in place for not less than two growing seasons. At the 
time of bond release, at least 80% of the trees and shrubs 
used to determine such success shall have been in place 
for at least three years. Root crown or root sprouts over 
one foot in height shall count as one toward meeting the 
stocking requirements. Where multiple stems occur, only 
the tallest stem will be counted.  

(iii) Vegetative ground cover shall not be less than that 
required to control erosion and achieve the approved 
postmining land use.  

(iv) Where commercial forest land is the approved 
postmining land use:  

(A) The area shall have a minimum stocking of 400 trees 
per acre.  

(B) All countable trees shall be commercial species and 
shall be well distributed over each acre stocked.  

(C) Additionally, the area shall have an average of at 
least 40 wildlife food-producing shrubs per acre. The 
shrubs shall be suitably located for wildlife enhancement, 
and may be distributed or clustered.  

(v) Where woody plants are used for wildlife 
management, recreation, shelter belts, or forest uses other 
than commercial forest land:  

(A) The stocking of trees, shrubs, half-shrubs and the 
ground cover established on the revegetated area shall 
utilize local and regional recommendations regarding 
species composition, spacing and planting arrangement;  

(B) Areas planted only in herbaceous species shall 
sustain a vegetative ground cover of 90%;  

(C) Areas planted with a mixture of herbaceous and 
woody species shall sustain a herbaceous vegetative 
ground cover of 90% in accordance with guidance 
provided by the division and the approved forestry 
reclamation plan and establish an average of 400 woody 
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plants per acre. At least 40 of the woody plants for each 
acre shall be wildlife food-producing shrubs located 
suitably for wildlife enhancement, which may be 
distributed or clustered on the area.  

(4) For areas to be developed for industrial, commercial, or 
residential use less than two years after regrading is 
completed, the vegetative ground cover shall not be less 
than that required to control erosion.  

(5) For areas previously disturbed by mining that were not 
reclaimed to the requirements of this subchapter and that 
are remined or other wise redisturbed by surface coal 
mining operations, as a minimum, the vegetative ground 
cover shall be not less than the ground cover existing 
before redisturbance and shall be adequate to control 
erosion.  

(c) (1) The period of extended responsibility for successful 
revegetation shall begin after the last year of augmented 
seeding, fertilizing, irrigation, or other work, excluding 
husbandry practices that are approved by the division in 
accordance with subdivision (c)(3) of this section.  

(2) The period of responsibility shall continue for a period 
of not less than  

(i) Five full years except as provided in subdivision 
(c)(2)(ii) of this section. The vegetation parameters 
identified in subsection (b) of this section for grazing 
land or pastureland and cropland shall equal or exceed 
the approved success standard during the growing 
seasons of any two years of the responsibility period, 
except the first year. Areas approved for the other uses 
identified in subsection (b) of this section shall equal or 
exceed the applicable success standard during the 
growing season of the last year of the responsibility 
period.  

(ii) Two full years for lands eligible for remining. To the 
extent that the success standards are established by 
subdivision (b)(5) of this section, the lands shall equal or 
exceed the standards during the growing season of the 
last year of the responsibility period.  

(3) The division may approve selective husbandry 
practices, excluding augmented seeding, fertilization, or 
irrigation, without extending the period of responsibility 
for revegetation success and bond liability, if such 
practices can be expected to continue as part of the 
postmining land use or if discontinuance of the practices 
after the liability period expires will not reduce the 
probability of permanent revegetation success. Approved 
practices shall be normal husbandry practices within the 
region for unmined lands having land uses similar to the 
approved postmining land use of the disturbed area, 
including such practices as disease, pest, and vermin 

control; and any pruning, reseeding and/or transplanting 
specifically necessitated by such actions. 

4VAC25-130-842.15. Review of decision not to inspect or 
enforce.  

(a) Any person who is or may be adversely affected by a 
coal exploration or surface coal mining and reclamation 
operation may ask the division to review informally an 
authorized representative's decision not to inspect or take 
appropriate enforcement action with respect to any violation 
alleged by that person in a request for inspection under 
4VAC25-130-842.12. The request for review shall be in 
writing and include a statement of how the person is or may 
be adversely affected and why the decision merits review.  

(b) The division shall conduct the review and inform the 
person, in writing, of the results of the review within 30 days 
of receipt of the request. The person alleged to be in violation 
shall also be given a copy of the results of the review, except 
that the name of the person who is or may be adversely 
affected shall not be disclosed unless confidentiality has been 
waived or disclosure is required under the Virginia Freedom 
of Information Act (§2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia).  

(c) Informal review under this section shall not affect any 
right to formal review under §45.1-249 of the Act or to a 
citizen's suit under §45.1-246.1 of the Act.  

(d) Any person who requested a review of a decision not to 
inspect or enforce under this section and who is or may be 
adversely affected by any determination made under 
subsection (b) of this section may request review of that 
determination by filing within 30 days of the division’s 
determination an application for formal review and request 
for hearing under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 
(§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). All requests for 
hearing or appeals for review and reconsideration made under 
this section shall be filed with the Director, Division of 
Mined Land Reclamation, Department of Mines, Minerals 
and Energy, Post Office Drawer 900, Big Stone Gap, Virginia 
24219. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-275; Filed July 14, 2008, 11:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with §2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
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which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-200. Payday Lending (adding 
10VAC5-200-115). 

Statutory Authority: §§6.1-453.1, 6.1-460, and 12.1-13 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 
scheduled upon request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 20, 2008. 

Agency Contact: E. J. Face, Jr., Bureau of Finance 
Commissioner, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 
640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9659, FAX 
(804) 371-9416, or email joe.face@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The State Corporation Commission is proposing a 
regulation in connection with Chapter 849 of the 2008 
Acts of Assembly, which generally amends the Payday 
Loan Act. Included in Chapter 849 are provisions that 
require licensed payday lenders to query a database 
before making a payday loan, and to pay a fee to the 
database provider in connection with each consummated 
loan. The amount of the database inquiry fee is required 
to be calculated in accordance with a schedule set by the 
commission. 

The proposed regulation specifies that the transaction fee 
will be no greater than $5.00. 

AT RICHMOND, JULY 10, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2008-00309 

Ex Parte: In re: payday lending  
database inquiry fee 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

WHEREAS, Chapter 849 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly 
("Chapter 849") amends the Payday Loan Act, § 6.1-444 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia, effective January 1, 2009; 

WHEREAS, Chapter 849 requires the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") to certify and contract with one 
or more third parties to develop, implement, and maintain a 
real-time Internet-accessible database that contains such 
payday loan information as the Commission may require; 

WHEREAS, Chapter 849 requires licensed payday lenders 
to query the database before making a payday loan, and to 
pay a fee to the database provider in connection with each 

consummated loan to defray the cost of submitting the 
database inquiry; 

WHEREAS, Chapter 849 provides that the amount of the 
database inquiry fee shall be calculated in accordance with a 
schedule set by the Commission, and shall bear a reasonable 
relationship to the actual cost of the operation of the database;  

WHEREAS, the Commission is in the process of procuring 
a contract or contracts and has not selected a successful 
vendor or vendors so the actual cost of the database is not yet 
known; 

WHEREAS, however, the database must be operational by 
January 1, 2009; 

WHEREAS, § 6.1-458 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Commission to promulgate regulations to effect the 
purposes of the Payday Loan Act; and 

WHEREAS, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions has 
proposed that the Commission adopt a regulation to establish 
the amount of the database inquiry fee that the licensee shall 
pay to the database provider in connection with each 
consummated loan to defray the cost of submitting the 
database inquiry, and to further provide notice that the fee 
will be no greater than $5.00 which is the maximum 
verification fee licensees are allowed to charge by statute; 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulation, 10 VAC 5-200-115, is 
appended hereto and made a part of the record in this 
case. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the transaction 
fee or proposed regulation must be submitted in writing 
to Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, 
c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218, on or before August 20, 
2008. All correspondence shall contain a reference to 
Case No. BFI-2008-00309. Interested persons desiring to 
submit comments or request a hearing electronically may 
do so by following the instructions available at the 
Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The proposed regulation shall be posted on the 
Commission's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 
proposed regulation, shall be sent to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent to the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall forthwith 
mail a copy of this Order and the proposed regulation to all 
licensed payday lenders and such other interested persons as 
he may designate. 
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10VAC5-200-115. Database inquiry fee. 

Pursuant to subdivision B 4 of §6.1-453.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, a licensed payday lender shall pay a database 
inquiry fee to the database provider in connection with every 
payday loan consummated by the licensee. The amount of the 
database inquiry fee shall not exceed $5.00 per loan, which 
shall be remitted by each licensee directly to the database 
provider on a weekly basis. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1401; Filed July 15, 2008, 7:54 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 
Reporting and Control (amending 12VAC5-90-80). 

Statutory Authority: §32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on October 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Diane Woolard, Ph.D., Director, Disease 
Surveillance, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8124, or email 
diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Board of Health to promulgate a list of diseases that must be 
reported to the Department of Health. The department will 
use the data to compile statistics on the occurrences of these 
infections in different localities and populations across 
Virginia. 

Purpose: Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus 
(MRSA) has the potential to cause severe illness.  The public 
has grown increasingly concerned about this threat to the 
health of their communities. The Virginia Department of 
Health is interested in promulgating regulations to require the 
reporting of the most severe MRSA infections confirmed by 
laboratories in order to better characterize and track the 
occurrence of these infections in Virginia communities. 

Substance: 12VAC5-90-80 B is being amended to add 
methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus in normally 
sterile body sites to the requirement to report vancomycin-
intermediate and -resistant Staphylococcus aureus infections. 
The reporting requirement applies only to laboratory 
directors. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that there will 
now be an additional source of information about these 
infections, about which the public has concerns. The primary 
advantage to the agency is that this regulation will allow 
public health scientists to better characterize and track the 
occurrence of these infections in Virginia communities. The 
regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. This requirement will increase the workload 
for laboratory staff to report the infections. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed regulations add permanently Methicillin-Resistant 
Staphylococcus aureus to the list of diseases that must be 
reported to the Virginia Department of Health by laboratories. 
The proposed changes have been in effect since October 2007 
under emergency regulations. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The State Board of Health 
(Board) proposes to make permanent emergency regulations 
that have been in effect since October 2007.  The proposed 
changes require laboratory directors to report Methicillin-
Resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infections 
confirmed from specimens collected from normally sterile 
sites of the body. 

Health professionals generally consider the presence of 
MRSA bacteria on the skin or in the nose normal. Though 
these bacteria are generally harmless, they may cause serious 
illness in individuals with weakened immune systems. Thus, 
the Board proposes to require reporting of cases when 
specimens collected from normally sterile sites of the body 
are infected. 

The compliance costs of the proposed reporting are expected 
to be small. The main compliance costs are the staff time 
devoted to report the confirmed infections and the cost of 
reporting which in most cases would include the cost of 
stationeries and postage. Also, Virginia Department of Health 
(VDH) will have to devote some staff time to process the 
reports it receives.  VDH estimates that approximately 100 
laboratories will be reporting about 2,700 cases annually. 

Expected benefits from the proposed regulations also appear 
to be small. Unlike other reportable diseases on the list, there 
does not appear to be much that VDH can do once a 
confirmed infection is reported. However, the proposed 
reporting would afford VDH an easy way of monitoring 
MRSA infections in the Commonwealth. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to approximately 100 laboratories. 
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Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 
employment is expected other than the increase in staff time 
to report and process about 2,700 occurrences expected per 
year. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant effect is expected on the use and value of private 
property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Approximately 
2/3 of the affected 100 laboratories are believed to be small 
businesses. Laboratories that are small businesses are 
expected to incur small staff time and office expenses needed 
for reporting of MRSA cases. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There is no other known alternative that 
would achieve the same goal less costly. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 
not expected to create any real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department concurs 
generally with the economic impact analysis performed by 
the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

This proposed amendment will make permanent an 
emergency regulation that went into effect on October 
24, 2007. It requires laboratory directors to report 
methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) 
infections confirmed from specimens collected from 
normally sterile sites of the body, which indicate a 
serious, invasive form of the infection. 

Part III  
Reporting of Disease  

12VAC5-90-80. Reportable disease list. 

A. The board declares suspected or confirmed cases of the 
following named diseases, toxic effects, and conditions to be 
reportable by the persons enumerated in 12VAC5-90-90. 
Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) require rapid 
communication to the local health department within 24 hours 
of suspicion or confirmation, as defined in subsection C of 
this section. Other conditions should be reported within three 
days of suspected or confirmed diagnosis.  

Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS)  

Amebiasis  

*Anthrax  

Arboviral infections (e.g., EEE, LAC, SLE, WNV)  

*Botulism  

*Brucellosis  

Campylobacteriosis  

Chancroid  

Chickenpox (Varicella)  

Chlamydia trachomatis infection  

*Cholera  

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease if <55 years of age 

Cryptosporidiosis  

Cyclosporiasis  

*Diphtheria  

*Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 
weapon  

Ehrlichiosis  

Escherichia coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing  

Giardiasis  

Gonorrhea  

Granuloma inguinale  

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive  

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome  
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Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS)  

*Hepatitis A  

Hepatitis B: (acute and chronic)  

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic)  

Hepatitis, other acute viral  

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection  

Influenza  

*Influenza-associated deaths in children <18 years of age 

Kawasaki syndrome  

Lead-elevated blood levels  

Legionellosis  

Leprosy (Hansen's disease)  

Listeriosis  

Lyme disease  

Lymphogranuloma venereum  

Malaria  

*Measles (Rubeola)  

*Meningococcal disease  

*Monkeypox  

Mumps  

Ophthalmia neonatorum  

*Outbreaks, all (including but not limited to foodborne, 
nosocomial, occupational, toxic substance-related, and 
waterborne)  

*Pertussis  

*Plague  

*Poliomyelitis  

*Psittacosis  

*Q fever  

*Rabies, human and animal  

Rabies treatment, post-exposure  

Rocky Mountain spotted fever  

*Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome  

Salmonellosis  

*Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS)  

Shigellosis  

*Smallpox (Variola)  

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive  

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive, in children 
<5 years of age 

Syphilis (report *primary and *secondary syphilis by rapid 
means)  

Tetanus  

Toxic shock syndrome  

Toxic substance-related illness  

Trichinosis (Trichinellosis)  

*Tuberculosis, active disease  

Tuberculosis infection in children <4 years of age 

*Tularemia  

*Typhoid fever  

*Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern  

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event  

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 
Staphylococcus aureus infection  

*Vibrio infection  

*Viral hemorrhagic fever  

*Yellow fever  

Yersiniosis  

B. Conditions reportable by directors of laboratories.  

Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) require rapid 
communication to the local health department within 24 hours 
of suspicion or confirmation, as defined in subsection C of 
this section. Other conditions should be reported within three 
days of suspected or confirmed diagnosis.  

Amebiasis—by microscopic examination, culture, antigen 
detection, nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 
consistent with recent infection  

*Anthrax—by culture, antigen detection or nucleic acid 
detection  

Arboviral infection—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic 
acid detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Botulism—by culture or identification of toxin in a 
clinical specimen  

*Brucellosis—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

Campylobacteriosis—by culture  
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Chancroid—by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid 
detection  

Chickenpox (varicella)—by culture, antigen detection, 
nucleic acid detection, or serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

Chlamydia trachomatis infection—by culture, antigen 
detection, nucleic acid detection or, for lymphogranuloma 
venereum, serologic results consistent with recent infection  

*Cholera—by culture or serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease if <55 years of age—
presumptive diagnosis—by histopathology in patients 
under the age of 55 years 

Cryptosporidiosis—by microscopic examination, antigen 
detection, or nucleic acid detection  

Cyclosporiasis—by microscopic examination or nucleic 
acid detection  

*Diphtheria—by culture  

Ehrlichiosis—by culture, nucleic acid detection, or 
serologic results consistent with recent infection  

Escherichia coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing—by 
culture of E. coli O157 or other Shiga toxin-producing E. 
coli, Shiga toxin detection (e.g., by EIA), or nucleic acid 
detection  

Giardiasis—by microscopic examination or antigen 
detection  

Gonorrhea—by microscopic examination of a urethral 
smear specimen (males only), culture, antigen detection, or 
nucleic acid detection  

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive—by culture, 
antigen detection, or nucleic acid detection from a 
normally sterile site  

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome—by antigen detection 
(immunohistochemistry), nucleic acid detection, or 
serologic results consistent with recent infection  

*Hepatitis A—by detection of IgM antibodies  

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic)—by detection of HBsAg or 
IgM antibodies  

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic)—by hepatitis C virus 
antibody (anti-HCV) screening test positive with a signal-
to-cutoff ratio predictive of a true positive as determined 
for the particular assay as defined by CDC, HCV antibody 
positive by immunoblot (RIBA), or HCV RNA positive by 
nucleic acid test. For all hepatitis C patients, also report 
available results of serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT), 
anti-HAV IgM, anti-HBc IgM, and HBsAg  

Human immunodeficiency virus infection—by culture, 
antigen detection, nucleic acid detection, or detection of 
antibody confirmed with a supplemental test. For HIV-
infected patients, report all results of CD4 and HIV viral 
load tests  

Influenza—by culture, antigen detection by direct 
fluorescent antibody (DFA) or nucleic acid detection  

Lead-elevated blood levels—by blood lead level greater 
than or equal to 10 μg/dL in children ages 0-15 years, or 
greater than or equal to 25 μg/dL in persons older than 15 
years of age  

Legionellosis—by culture, antigen detection including 
urinary antigen), nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 
consistent with recent infection  

Listeriosis—by culture  

Malaria—by microscopic examination, antigen detection, 
or nucleic acid detection  

*Measles (rubeola)—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic 
acid detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Meningococcal disease—by culture or antigen detection 
from a normally sterile site  

*Monkeypox—by culture nucleic acid detection  

Mumps—by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 
results consistent with recent infection  

*Mycobacterial diseases—(See 12VAC5-90-225 B) Report 
any of the following:  

1. Acid fast bacilli by microscopic examination;  

2. Mycobacterial identification—preliminary and final 
identification by culture or nucleic acid detection;  

3. Drug susceptibility test results for M. tuberculosis.  

*Pertussis—by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid 
detection  

*Plague—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Poliomyelitis—by culture  

*Psittacosis—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Q fever—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Rabies, human and animal—by culture, antigen detection 
by direct fluorescent antibody test, nucleic acid detection, 
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or, for humans only, serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

Rocky Mountain spotted fever—by culture, antigen 
detection (including immunohistochemical staining), 
nucleic acid detection, or serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

*Rubella—by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 
results consistent with recent infection  

Salmonellosis—by culture  

*Severe acute respiratory syndrome—by culture, nucleic 
acid detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

Shigellosis—by culture  

*Smallpox (variola)—by culture or nucleic acid detection  

Staphylococcus aureus infection, resistant, as defined 
below: 

1. Methicillin-resistant - by antimicrobial susceptibility 
testing of a Staphylococcus aureus isolate, with a 
susceptibility result indicating methicillin resistance, 
cultured from a normally sterile site; 

2. Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 
Staphylococcus aureus infection - by antimicrobial 
susceptibility testing of a Staphylococcus aureus isolate, 
with a vancomycin susceptibility result of intermediate or 
resistant, cultured from a clinical specimen. 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive—by culture from 
a normally sterile site  

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive, in children 
<5 years of age—by culture from a normally sterile site in 
a child under the age of five years 

*Syphilis—by microscopic examination (including dark 
field), antigen detection (including direct fluorescent 
antibody), or serology by either treponemal or 
nontreponemal methods  

Toxic substance-related illness—by blood or urine 
laboratory findings above the normal range, including but 
not limited to heavy metals, pesticides, and industrial-type 
solvents and gases  

Trichinosis (trichinellosis)—by microscopic examination 
of a muscle biopsy or serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

*Tularemia—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Typhoid fever—by culture  

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event—by culture or nucleic 
acid detection  

Vancomycin—intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 
Staphylococcus aureus infection—by antimicrobial 
susceptibility testing of a Staphylococcus aureus isolate, 
with a vancomycin susceptibility result of intermediate or 
resistant, cultured from a clinical specimen  

*Vibrio infection—by culture  

*Viral hemorrhagic fever—by culture, antigen detection 
(including immunohistochemical staining), nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Yellow fever—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

Yersiniosis—by culture, nucleic acid detection, or 
serologic results consistent with recent infection  

C. Reportable diseases requiring rapid communication. 
Certain of the diseases in the list of reportable diseases, 
because of their extremely contagious nature or their potential 
for greater harm, or both, require immediate identification 
and control. Reporting of persons confirmed or suspected of 
having these diseases, listed below, shall be made within 24 
hours by the most rapid means available, preferably that of 
telecommunication (e.g., telephone, telephone transmitted 
facsimile, pagers, etc.) to the local health director or other 
professional employee of the department. (These same 
diseases are also identified by an asterisk (*) in subsection A 
and subsection B, where applicable, of this section.)  

Anthrax  

Botulism  

Brucellosis  

Cholera  

Diphtheria  

Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 
weapon  

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive  

Hepatitis A  

Influenza deaths in children <18 years of age 

Measles (Rubeola)  

Meningococcal disease  

Monkeypox  

Outbreaks, all  

Pertussis  
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Plague  

Poliomyelitis  

Psittacosis  

Q fever  

Rabies, human and animal  

Rubella  

Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS)  

Smallpox (Variola)  

Syphilis, primary and secondary  

Tuberculosis, active disease  

Tularemia  

Typhoid fever  

Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern  

Vaccinia, disease or adverse event  

Vibrio infection  

Viral hemorrhagic fever  

Yellow Fever  

D. Toxic substance-related illnesses. All toxic substance-
related illnesses, including pesticide and heavy metal 
poisoning or illness resulting from exposure to an 
occupational dust or fiber or radioactive substance, shall be 
reported.  

If such illness is verified or suspected and presents an 
emergency or a serious threat to public health or safety, the 
report of such illness shall be by rapid communication as in 
subsection C of this section.  

E. Outbreaks. The occurrence of outbreaks or clusters of any 
illness which may represent a group expression of an illness 
which may be of public health concern shall be reported to 
the local health department by the most rapid means 
available.  

F. Unusual or ill-defined diseases or emerging or 
reemerging pathogens. Unusual or emerging conditions of 
public health concern shall be reported to the local health 
department by the most rapid means available. In addition, 
the commissioner or his designee may establish surveillance 
systems for diseases or conditions that are not on the list of 
reportable diseases. Such surveillance may be established to 
identify cases (delineate the magnitude of the situation), to 
identify the mode of transmission and risk factors for the 
disease, and to identify and implement appropriate action to 
protect public health. Any person reporting information at the 
request of the department for special surveillance or other 
epidemiological studies shall be immune from liability as 
provided by §32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1024; Filed July 16, 2008, 11:41 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-200. Regulations for Respite 
and Emergency Care Admission to Mental Retardation 
Facilities (amending 12VAC35-200-10, 12VAC35-200-20, 
12VAC35-200-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§37.2-203 and 37.2-807 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on October 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Dawn Traver, Office of Mental Retardation 
Services, Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation 
and Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, 1220 Bank 
Street, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (757) 253-
4316, FAX (757) 253-5440, or email 
dawn.traver@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services Board has the authority under 
§§37.2-203 and 37.2-807 of the Code of Virginia to adopt 
these regulations. The decision to adopt regulations for 
providing admissions for emergency and respite services is 
discretionary, but if the board permits such admissions, the 
regulations are mandatory under §37.2-807 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Purpose: These revisions are necessary to assure consistency 
with statutory requirements and ensure that individuals who 
need respite or emergency services in state facilities have 
accurate legal guidance for seeking such admissions. State 
training centers can provide an important safety net of 
services for persons with mental retardation and their families 
who qualify for respite or emergency services. 

The goal of this action is to ensure that requirements for 
respite or emergency admissions are clearly articulated to 
ensure that citizens have access to such services when it is 
necessary and appropriate. The changes are intended to 
eliminate any confusion for staff and the public, facilitate 
communication, and expedite the admission process for 
emergency or respite services. Therefore, this regulatory 
action is essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of 
citizens. 

Substance: A definition for "authorized representative" has 
been added to be consistent with the terminology in the 
recently amended Human Rights Regulations, 12VAC35-115. 
The definition of "legally authorized representative" has been 
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stricken. The definition of "catastrophe" has been stricken 
because the requirement that an emergency admission be the 
result of a catastrophe has been revised to a more flexible 
interpretation of a "change in an individual’s circumstances." 
A definition of "individual" has been added for clarity. The 
definition of "mental retardation" is updated to reflect the 
current definition in the Code of Virginia. 

The requirements for an application for respite services are 
revised to include a written statement by the individual or 
family member specifically requesting such services. 

Changes are made to more closely align admissions 
requirements with the enrollment requirements for the Mental 
Retardation (MR) Waiver (e.g., regarding psychological 
evaluation requirements), in the event that a facility should be 
a MR Waiver provider of respite services funded by the MR 
Waiver. 

A more precise time limit has been given for facility directors 
to respond to requests for respite admissions (i.e., "by the end 
of the next working day after receipt of a completed 
application package"). 

Issue: Throughout the regulations language changes have 
been made to support the concept of person-centeredness and 
a consumer-driven system of services. These changes include 
the replacement of the word "applicant" with "individual" and 
deletion of "care and supervision" in the provisions in 
12VAC35-200-20 B 2. The admission requirements have also 
been revised to require a statement from an individual or 
family to specifically indicate a desire for respite services in 
the facility. 

The length of time an individual may remain in a facility is 
tied to "…the limits defined in §37.2-807 of the Code of 
Virginia." Therefore, the regulations would be consistent with 
any future change in this Code requirement. 

The definition of "authorized representative" is updated to 
conform to the recently amended Human Rights Regulations. 
This will eliminate confusion and promote consistent 
regulatory and administrative processes. 

There are no other pertinent matters of interest to the 
regulated community, government officials, and the public. 
No disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth are 
noted. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The State Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services 
Board (Board) proposes to revise the existing Regulations for 
Respite and Emergency Care Admissions to Mental 
Retardation Facilities. The required materials for application 
for respite services will be revised to include a written 
statement from the individual, a family member, or 

authorized representative that specifically requests services in 
the facility. The timeframe for decision-making on admission 
requests for respite services will be revised to be more 
specific. Several definitions will be revised for clarity and 
consistency with the Code of Virginia and other regulations 
of the Board. Code references will be updated. 

Results of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Regulations for Respite and 
Emergency Care Admissions to Mental Retardation Facilities 
provide legal guidance for individuals that need respite or 
emergency services in state facilities. According to the 
regulation, applications for respite services in state facilities 
shall be processed through the case management community 
services board (CSB). A parent, guardian or authorized 
representative seeking respite services for an individual with 
mental retardation shall apply first to the CSB that serves the 
area where the individual, or if a minor, his parent or 
guardian, is currently residing. If the CSB determines that 
respite services for the individual are not available in the 
community, it shall forward the application to the facility 
serving individuals with metal retardation from that 
geographic section of the state in which the individual, or his 
parent or guardian, is currently residing. 

The Board proposes to add a provision that requires a 
statement from the individual, a family member, or 
authorized representative that specifically requests services in 
the facility for the application for respite services. No such 
statement is required under the current regulations. This 
additional requirement will help to ensure that the services 
meet the individual’s need and will likely expedite the 
processing of the application. According to DMHMRSAS, a 
handwritten request would be considered adequate. 
Therefore, this proposed change will likely benefit 
individuals who need respite services in state facilities 
without creating any significant costs to the individuals, their 
family members, or authorized representatives. 

Under the current regulations, the facility director, or 
designee, shall provide written notice of his/her decision to 
CSB within a reasonable time of receipt of the completed 
application for respite services. The proposed regulation will 
require that decision be made by the end of the next working 
day following receipt of a complete application package. This 
proposed change will standardize the timeframe for decision-
making and will help to ensure timely response from the 
facility. According to DMHMRSAS, the processing time for 
a respite admission is typically two days. Therefore, the 
proposed change will benefit the individuals seeking respite 
services in state facilities without creating any significant 
costs to the facilities. 

The Board also proposes to revise several definitions for 
clarity and consistency with the Code of Virginia and other 
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regulations of the Board. The title of this regulation will be 
changed from "Regulations for Respite and Emergency Care 
Admissions to Mental Retardation Facilities" to "Regulations 
for Respite and Emergency Care Admission to State Training 
Centers" to be consistent with the language in the Code of 
Virginia.1 Code references in the regulations will be updated 
to reflect the re-codification of §§ 37.1 to §§ 37.2 effective 
October 1, 2005.  These proposed changes will improve 
clarity of the regulations, reduce possible confusion for staff 
and the public, and will likely expedite the admission process 
for respite or emergency services. The proposed regulations 
will ensure that individuals who need respite or emergency 
services in state facilities have access to such services when 
necessary and appropriate, which will better protect the health 
and welfare of the citizens in the Commonwealth. Language 
that quotes the Code of Virginia will be replaced with 
references to the Code, which will save the cost of future time 
spent on revision of the regulations as a consequence of 
statutory changes. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently there are five 
state training centers and 39 local community services boards 
in the Commonwealth of Virginia. DMHMRSAS estimates 
that there are approximately 200-250 annual requests for 
respite admissions statewide.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to all localities in the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes will 
likely not have any impact on employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed changes will likely not have any impact on the use 
and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
changes will not directly affect any small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed changes will not directly 
affect any small businesses. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

___________________________________ 
1 According to § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, "state training center" means a 
facility operated by the Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance 
Abuse Services for the treatment, training, or habilitation of persons with mental 
retardation. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

This action revises the statutory references to reflect the 
recent recodification of Title 37.1 to Title 37.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. Changes have been made to definitions 
of "authorized representative," and "mental retardation" 
and several other terms for clarity and consistency with 
the Code of Virginia and other regulations of the board. 
The application process and requirements for admissions 
for respite and emergency services have been clarified. 
The application materials are revised to require a 
statement from the individual, family member or 
authorized representative specifically requesting services 
in the facility. 

CHAPTER 200  
REGULATIONS FOR RESPITE AND EMERGENCY 
CARE ADMISSION TO MENTAL RETARDATION 

FACILITIES STATE TRAINING CENTERS 

12VAC35-200-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means a person for whom respite care or 
emergency care services are sought.  

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 
law or regulations to authorize the disclosure of information 
or consent to treatment and services, including medical 
treatment, or for the participation in human research on behalf 
of an individual who lacks the mental capacity to make these 
decisions. 

"Case management community services board (CSB)" or 
"CSB" means a citizens board established pursuant to §37.1-
195 §37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia that serves the area in 
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which an adult resides or in which a minor's parent, guardian 
or legally authorized representative resides. The case 
management CSB is responsible for case management, liaison 
with the facility when an individual is admitted to a state 
training center, and predischarge planning. If an individual, or 
the parents, guardian or legally authorized representative on 
behalf of an individual, chooses to reside in a different 
locality after discharge from the facility, the community 
services board serving that locality becomes the case 
management CSB and works with the original case 
management CSB, the individual receiving services and the 
state facility to effect a smooth transition and discharge. For 
the purpose of these regulations, CSB also includes a 
behavioral health authority established pursuant to §37.2-602 
of the Code of Virginia. 

"Catastrophe" means an unexpected or imminent change in 
an individual's living situation or environment that poses a 
risk of serious physical or emotional harm to that individual. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services. 

"Discharge plan" or "predischarge plan" means a written 
plan prepared by the case management CSB in consultation 
with the state facility pursuant to §37.1-197.1 §37.2-505 of 
the Code of Virginia. This plan is prepared when the 
individual is admitted to the facility and documents the 
planning for services after discharge. 

"Emergency care admission" means the temporary 
placement of an individual with mental retardation in a 
facility when immediate care is necessary due to a catastrophe 
and no other community alternatives are available. The total 
number of days that emergency or respite care services, or 
both, are used shall not exceed 21 consecutive days or 75 
days in a calendar year. This emergency care is not intended 
as a means of providing evaluation and program development 
services, nor is it intended to be used to obtain treatment of 
medical or behavioral problems. 

"Facility" means a state training center for individuals with 
mental retardation under the supervision and management of 
the Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"Guardianship Guardian" means: 

1. For minors -- An an adult who is either appointed by the 
court as a legal guardian of said a minor or exercises the 
rights and responsibilities of legal custody by delegation 
from a biological or adoptive parent upon provisional 
adoption or otherwise by operation of law. 

2. For adults -- a person appointed by the court who is 
responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated 
adult under the order of appointment. The responsibilities 
may include making decisions regarding the individual's 

support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education and 
therapeutic treatment. Refer to definition of "incapacitated 
person" at §37.1-134.6 §37.2-1000 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Individual" means a person for whom respite or emergency 
services are sought. 

"Least Less restrictive setting" means the treatment and 
conditions of treatment that, separately or in combination, are 
service location that is no more intrusive or restrictive of 
freedom than reasonably necessary to achieve a substantial 
therapeutic benefit and protection from harm (to self and 
others) based on an individual's needs. 

"Legally authorized representative" means a person 
permitted by law or regulations to give informed consent for 
disclosure of information and give informed consent to 
treatment including medical treatment on behalf of an 
individual who lacks the mental capacity to make these 
decisions. 

"Mental retardation" means the substantial subaverage 
general intellectual functioning that originates during the 
developmental period and is associated with impairment in 
adaptive behavior a disability, originating before the age of 
18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) significantly 
subaverage intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 
performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 
functioning, administered in conformity with accepted 
professional practice, that is at least two standard deviations 
below the mean; and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive 
behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical 
adaptive skills. 

"Respite care" means the placement of an individual with 
mental retardation in a state facility when placement is solely 
for the purpose of providing temporary care and support to an 
individual with mental retardation because of medical or 
other urgent conditions of the caretaking person providing 
care. The total number of days that respite or emergency care 
services, or both, are used is not to exceed 21 consecutive 
days or 75 days in a calendar year. Respite care services are 
not intended as a means of providing evaluations and 
program development services, nor are they intended to be 
used to obtain treatment of medical or behavioral problems or 
both.  

12VAC35-200-20. Respite care admission. 

A. Applications for respite care in state facilities shall be 
processed through the case management CSB. A parent, 
guardian, or legally authorized representative seeking respite 
care services for an individual with mental retardation shall 
apply first to the CSB that serves the area where the applicant 
individual, or if a minor, his parent, or guardian, or legally 
authorized representative is currently residing. If the case 
management CSB determines that respite care services for the 
applicant individual are not available in the community, it 
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shall forward an application to the facility serving individuals 
with mental retardation from that geographic section of the 
state in which the applicant individual or his parent, or 
guardian, or legally authorized representative is currently 
residing. 

The application shall include: 

1. An application for services; 

2. A medical history indicating the presence of any current 
medical problems as well as the presence of any known 
communicable disease. In all cases, the application shall 
include any currently prescribed medications as well as any 
known medication allergies; 

3. A social history and current status; 

4. A psychological evaluation that has been performed in 
the past three years unless the facility director or designee 
determines that sufficient information as to the applicant's 
abilities and needs is included in other reports received 
reflects the individual's current functioning; 

5. A current individualized education plan for school aged 
applicants individuals unless the facility director or 
designee determines that sufficient information as to the 
applicant's individual's abilities and needs is included in 
other reports received; 

6. A vocational assessment for adult applicants adults 
unless the facility director or designee determines that 
sufficient information as to the applicant's individual's 
abilities and needs is included in other reports received; 

7. A statement from the case management CSB that respite 
care services for the applicant individual are not available 
in the community; and 

8. A statement from the case management CSB that the 
appropriate arrangements will be are being made to return 
the individual to the CSB within the time frame required 
under this regulation; and 

9. A statement from the individual, a family member, or 
authorized representative specifically requesting services 
in the facility. 

B. Determination of eligibility for respite care services shall 
be based upon the following criteria: 

1. The applicant individual has a primary diagnosis of 
mental retardation and functions on a level that meets the 
facility's regular admission criteria;  

2. The applicant's individual's needs for care and 
supervision are such that, in the event of a need for 
temporary care, respite care services would not be 
available in a less restrictive setting; and  

3. The facility has appropriate resources to meet the care 
and supervision needs of the applicant individual.  

Within a reasonable time of the receipt of the completed 
application By the end of the next working day following 
receipt of a complete application package, the facility 
director, or his designee, shall provide written notice of his 
decision to the case management CSB. This notice shall state 
the reasons for the decision.  

If it is determined that the applicant individual is not eligible 
for respite care, the person seeking respite care services may 
ask for reconsideration of the decision by submitting a written 
request for such reconsideration to the commissioner. Upon 
receipt of such request, the commissioner or designee shall 
notify the facility director and the facility director shall 
forward the application packet and related information to the 
commissioner or designee within 48 hours. The commissioner 
or designee shall also provide an opportunity for the person 
seeking respite care services to submit for consideration any 
additional information or reasons as to why the admission 
should be approved. The commissioner shall render a written 
decision on the request for reconsideration within 10 days of 
the receipt of such request and notify all involved parties. The 
commissioner's decision shall be binding. 

C. Respite care is shall be provided in state facilities under 
the following conditions: 

1. The length of the respite care stay at the facility shall not 
exceed 21 consecutive days or a total of 75 days in a 
calendar year the limits defined in §37.2-807 of the Code 
of Virginia;  

2. Information on file at the facility is current;  

3. 2. Space and adequate staff coverage are available on a 
unit with an appropriate peer group for the applicant 
individual and suitable resources to meet his care and 
supervision needs; and  

4. 3. A physical examination performed by the facility's 
health service personnel at the time of the respite care 
admission has determined that the applicant's individual's 
health care needs can be met by the facility's resources 
during the scheduled respite care stay. 

If for any reason a person admitted for respite care services 
is not discharged at the agreed upon time, the case 
management CSB shall develop a an updated discharge plan 
as provided in §§37.1-98 and 37.1-197.1 §§37.2-505 and 
37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia. 

Respite care shall not be used as a mechanism to circumvent 
the standard admissions procedures as provided in §37.1-65.1 
§37.2-806 of the Code of Virginia. No person who is 
admitted to a training center in response to under the 
provisions of this chapter shall, during the time of such 
respite care admission, be eligible for admission to any 
training center in response to §37.1-65.1 under §37.2-806 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
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12VAC35-200-30. Emergency care admission. 

A. In the event of a catastrophe change in an individual's 
circumstances necessitating immediate, short-term care for an 
individual with mental retardation, emergency care admission 
may be requested by a parent, guardian, or legally authorized 
representative by calling the case management CSB. If the 
case management CSB determines that respite care services 
for the applicant individual are not available in the 
community, it may request an emergency admission to the 
facility serving that geographic area in which the applicant 
individual, or in case of a minor, his parent, or guardian, or 
legally authorized representative resides. 

The case management CSB shall make every effort to obtain 
the same case information required for respite care 
admissions, as described in 12VAC35-200-20 A, before 
assuming responsibility for the care of the individual in need 
of emergency services. However, if the information is not 
available, this requirement may temporarily be waived if, and 
only if, arrangements have been made for receipt of the 
required information within 48 hours of the emergency care 
admission. 

B. Acceptance for emergency care admissions admission 
shall be based upon the following criteria: 

1. A catastrophe change in the individual's circumstances 
has occurred requiring immediate alternate arrangements to 
protect the individual's health and safety;  

2. The individual has a primary diagnosis of mental 
retardation and functions on a level that meets the facility's 
regular admissions criteria;  

3. All other alternate care resources in the community have 
been explored and found to be unavailable;  

4. Space is available on a unit with appropriate resources to 
meet the individual's care and supervision needs; 

5. The facility's health services personnel have determined 
that the individual's health care needs can be met by the 
facility's resources; and 

6. The length of the emergency care stay at the facility will 
not exceed 21 consecutive days or a total of 75 days in a 
calendar year the limits defined in §37.2-807 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

C. Within 24 hours of receiving a request for emergency 
care admission, the facility director, or his designee, will 
inform the case management CSB whether the applicant 
individual is eligible for emergency care admission and 
whether the facility is able to provide emergency care 
services. 

If the facility is able to provide emergency care services, 
arrangements shall be made to effect the admission as soon as 
possible. 

If the facility is unable to provide emergency care services 
to an eligible applicant individual, the facility director or 
designee shall provide written notice of this determination to 
the case management CSB and may offer to try to obtain 
emergency care services from another appropriate facility. 

If for any reason a person admitted to a facility for 
emergency care services is not discharged at the agreed upon 
time, the case management CSB shall develop a discharge 
plan as provided in §§37.1-98 and 37.1-197.1 §§37.2-505 and 
37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-134; Filed July 15, 2008, 12:56 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 
18VAC65-20-10, 18VAC65-20-15, 18VAC65-20-60, 
18VAC65-20-120, 18VAC65-20-130, 18VAC65-20-153, 
18VAC65-20-170, 18VAC65-20-240, 18VAC65-20-350, 
18VAC65-20-420, 18VAC65-20-440, 18VAC65-20-500, 
18VAC65-20-510, 18VAC65-20-590, 18VAC65-20-700; 
adding 18VAC65-20-171). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments specify the terminology and 
responsibilities for an establishment manager of record, 
revise the renewal schedule for establishments for 
consistency with other licenses, clarify the licensee’s 
responsibility for compliance with continuing education, 
increase the requirement for retention of records from 
one year to three years, and streamline the requirement 
for a detailed embalming report. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
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Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC65-20-10. Definitions.  

Words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
definitions ascribed in §54.1-2800 of the Code of Virginia or 
in 16 CFR Part 453, Funeral Industry Practices, of the Federal 
Trade Commission, which is incorporated by reference in this 
chapter. In addition, the following words and terms when 
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Branch" or "chapel" means a funeral service establishment 
that is affiliated with a licensed main establishment and that 
conforms with the requirements of §54.1-2811 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Courtesy card" means the card issued by the board which 
grants limited and restricted funeral service privileges in the 
Commonwealth to out-of-state funeral service licensees, 
funeral directors, and embalmers.  

"Cremation urn" means a wood, metal, stone, plastic, or 
composition container or a container of other material, which 
is designed for encasing cremated ashes.  

"Cremation vault" or "cremation outer burial container" 
means any container that is designed for encasement of an 
inner container or urn containing cremated ashes. Also known 
as a cremation box.  

"Establishment manager" means a funeral service licensee or 
licensed funeral director designated as the manager of record 
who is responsible for the direct supervision and management 
of a funeral service establishment or branch facility.  

"FTC" means the Federal Trade Commission.  

"Manager of record" means a funeral service licensee or 
licensed funeral director who is responsible for the direct 
supervision and management of a funeral service 
establishment or branch facility. 

18VAC65-20-15. Criteria for delegation of informal fact-
finding proceedings to an agency subordinate.  

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with §54.1-2400 (10) 
of the Code of Virginia, the board may delegate an informal 
fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate upon 
determination that probable cause exists that a practitioner 
may be subject to a disciplinary action.  

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that may not be delegated 
to an agency subordinate, except with the concurrence of a 
committee of the board, are those that involve:  

1. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 
to cause injury;  

2. Conducting the practice of funeral services in such a 
manner as to constitute a danger to the health, safety, and 
well-being of the staff or the public;  

3. Impairment with an inability to practice with skill and 
safety;  

4. Inappropriate handling of dead human bodies;  

5. Sexual misconduct;  

6. Misappropriation of funds; or  

7. Aiding or abetting unauthorized practice; or 

8. Felony conviction by an applicant. 

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate.  

1. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to 
conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding may include 
board members deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their 
training and experience in administrative proceedings 
involving the regulation and discipline of health 
professionals.  

2. The executive director shall maintain a list of 
appropriately qualified persons to whom an informal fact-
finding proceeding may be delegated.  

3. The board may delegate to the executive director the 
selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 
appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on 
the qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case 
being heard.  

18VAC65-20-60. Accuracy of information.  

A. All changes of mailing address, or name, place of 
employment, or change in establishment ownership, manager, 
or name of a licensee or registrant shall be furnished to the 
board within 30 days after the change occurs.  

B. Any change in ownership or manager of record for an 
establishment shall be reported to the board within 14 days of 
the change. 

B. C. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be 
mailed by the board to any registrant or licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address on file with 
the board and shall not relieve the licensee, funeral service 
intern, establishment, or firm of obligation to comply.  

Part II  
Renewals and Reinstatement  

18VAC65-20-120. Expiration dates.  

A. A funeral service establishment license, crematory 
registration, or surface transportation and removal service 
registration shall expire on January March 31 of each 
calendar year.  
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B. The funeral service license, funeral director license, or 
embalmer license shall expire on March 31 of each calendar 
year.  

C. Courtesy cards expire on December March 31 of each 
calendar year.  

18VAC65-20-130. Renewal of license; registration.  

A. A person, establishment, crematory, courtesy card holder 
or surface transportation and removal service that desires to 
renew its license or registration for the next year shall, not 
later than the expiration date as provided in 18VAC65-20-
120, submit the renewal application and applicable fee.  

1. In order to renew an active funeral service, director or 
embalmer license, a licensee shall be required to comply 
with continuing competency requirements set forth in 
18VAC65-20-151.  

2. The board shall not renew a license for any licensee who 
fails to attest to compliance with continuing competency 
requirements on the renewal form. 

B. A person who or entity that desires to renew an expired 
license for up to one year following expiration shall comply 
with requirements of subsection A of this section and also 
submit the applicable fee for late renewal.  

C. A person who or entity which fails to renew a license, 
registration, or courtesy card by the expiration dates 
prescribed in 18VAC65-20-120 shall be deemed to have an 
invalid license, registration, or courtesy card and continued 
practice may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the 
board.  

18VAC65-20-153. Documenting compliance with 
continuing education requirements.  

A. All licensees with active status are required to maintain 
original documentation for a period of two years after 
renewal.  

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 
conduct a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with 
the requirement for that renewal period.  

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation 
within 14 days as follows:  

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned from an 
accredited institution; or  

2. Certificates of completion from approved providers.  

D. Compliance with continuing education requirements, 
including the subject and purpose of the courses as prescribed 
in 18VAC65-20-151 B, the maintenance of records and the 
relevance of the courses to the category of licensure is the 
responsibility of the licensee. The board may request 
additional information if such compliance is not clear from 
the transcripts or certificates.  

E. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary order 
shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

Part III  
Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC65-20-170. Requirements for an establishment 
license.  

A. No person shall maintain, manage, or operate a funeral 
service establishment in the Commonwealth, unless such 
establishment holds a license issued by the board. The name 
of the funeral service licensee or licensed funeral director 
designated by the ownership to be manager of the 
establishment shall be included on the license.  

B. Except as provided in §54.1-2810 of the Code of 
Virginia, every funeral service establishment and every 
branch or chapel of such establishment, regardless of how 
owned, shall have a separate establishment manager who is 
employed full time by the establishment for at least 40 hours 
a week of record who has responsibility for the establishment 
as prescribed in 18VAC65-20-171. The owner of the 
establishment shall not abridge the authority of the manager 
of record relating to compliance with the laws governing the 
practice of funeral services and regulations of the board.  

C. At least 45 days prior to opening an establishment, an 
owner or licensed manager seeking an establishment license 
shall submit simultaneously a completed application, any 
additional documentation as may be required by the board to 
determine eligibility, and the applicable fee. An incomplete 
package will be returned to the licensee. A license shall not 
be issued until an inspection of the establishment has been 
completed and approved.  

D. Within 30 days following a change of ownership, the 
owner or licensed manager shall notify the board, request a 
reinspection of the establishment, submit an application for a 
new establishment license with documentation that identifies 
the new owner, and pay the licensure and reinspection fees as 
required by 18VAC65-20-70. Reinspection of the 
establishment may occur on a schedule determined by the 
board, but shall occur no later than one year from the date of 
the change.  

E. The application for licensure of a branch or chapel shall 
specify the name of the main establishment.  

18VAC65-20-171. Responsibilities of the manager of 
record. 

A. The manager of record shall be employed full time by the 
establishment for at least 40 hours a week. 

B. The manager shall be fully accountable for the operation 
of the establishment as it pertains to the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of funeral services, to include but not 
be limited to: 
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1. Maintenance of the facility within standards established 
in this chapter; 

2. Retention of reports and documents as prescribed by the 
board in 18VAC65-20-700 during the period in which he 
serves as manager of record; and  

3. Reporting to the board of any changes in information as 
required by 18VAC65-20-60. 

18VAC65-20-240. Requirements for funeral service 
licensure by examination.  

A. Application requirements.  

1. With the exception of school transcripts and national 
examination board scores, all parts of an application 
package, including the required fee and any additional 
documentation as may be required to determine eligibility, 
shall be submitted simultaneously.  

2. An individual applying for the state examination shall 
submit the application package within six months and not 
less than 45 30 days prior to an examination date. The 
board may, for good cause shown by the applicant, waive 
the time for the filing of any application.  

B. National examination requirements. Prior to applying for 
licensure by examination, every applicant shall pass the 
National Board Examination of the Conference of Funeral 
Service Examining Boards of the United States, Inc., 
administered in accredited schools of embalming or mortuary 
science.  

C. State examination requirements. All applicants shall pass 
the Virginia State Board Examination.  

18VAC65-20-350. Requirements for licensure by 
reciprocity or endorsement.  

A. Licenses for the practice of funeral service or its 
equivalent issued by other states, territories, or the District of 
Columbia may be recognized by the board and the holder of 
such license or licenses may be granted a license to practice 
funeral service within the Commonwealth, as follows:.  

1. Reciprocity. Licenses may be granted by reciprocity 
provided that the same privileges are granted by the other 
jurisdiction to Virginia funeral service licensees by the 
establishment of substantially similar licensure 
requirements and reciprocity agreements between the two 
jurisdictions; or  

2. Endorsement. Licenses may be granted to applicants by 
the board on a case-by-case basis if the applicant holds a valid 
license for the practice of funeral service or its equivalent in 
another state, territory, or the District of Columbia and 
possesses credentials which are substantially similar to or 
more stringent than required by the Commonwealth for initial 
licensure at the time the applicant was initially licensed.  

B. An applicant for licensure by reciprocity or endorsement 
shall pass the Virginia State Board Examination.  

18VAC65-20-420. Misrepresentation.  

A person employed or operating a surface transportation and 
removal service shall not in any manner misrepresent himself 
to the public as being an official of any local jurisdiction, the 
Commonwealth, federal, or any other governmental body 
unless granted such authority. This shall include the name and 
title of the company or service, uniforms, equipment, 
vehicles, and any other instruments used or proffered by the 
services or its agents. The board shall be the sole determinant 
of the appropriateness of the pertinent qualities of the service 
and staff in enforcing this regulation.  

Part V  
Issuance of Courtesy Cards  

18VAC65-20-440. Courtesy cards.  

A. An out-of-state person applying for a courtesy card 
pursuant to §54.1-2801 B of the Code of Virginia shall hold a 
valid license for funeral service, funeral directing, or 
embalming in another state, territory, or the District of 
Columbia.  

B. An applicant for a courtesy card shall submit:  

1. A completed application and prescribed fee; and  

2. Verification of a current funeral service license in good 
standing from the applicant's licensing authority.  

C. The holder of a Virginia courtesy card shall only engage 
in the practice for which he is currently licensed in another 
jurisdiction.  

Part VI  
Refusal, Suspension, Revocation, and Disciplinary Action  

18VAC65-20-500. Disciplinary action.  

In accordance with the provisions of §54.1-2806 of the Code 
of Virginia, the following practices are considered 
unprofessional conduct and may subject the licensee to 
disciplinary action by the board:  

1. Breach of confidence. The unnecessary or unwarranted 
disclosure of confidences by the funeral licensee.  

2. Unfair competition.  

a. Interference by a funeral service licensee, funeral 
director, or registered surface transportation and removal 
service when another has been called to take charge of a 
dead human body and the caller or agent of the caller has 
the legal right to the body's disposition.  

b. Consent by a funeral service licensee or funeral 
director to take charge of a body unless authorized by the 
person or his agent having the legal right to disposition.  

3. False advertising.  
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a. No licensee or registrant shall make, publish, 
disseminate, circulate or place before the public, or cause 
directly or indirectly to be made, an advertisement of any 
sort regarding services or anything so offered to the 
public which contains any promise, assertion, 
representation, or statement of fact which is untrue, 
deceptive, or misleading.  

b. The following practices, both written and verbal, shall 
constitute false, deceptive, or misleading advertisement 
within the meaning of subdivision 4 of §54.1-2806 of the 
Code of Virginia:  

(1) Advertising containing inaccurate statements; and  

(2) Advertisement which gives a false impression as to 
ability, care, and cost of conducting a funeral, or that 
creates an impression of things not likely to be true.  

c. The following practices are among those which shall 
constitute an untrue, deceptive, and misleading 
representation or statement of fact:  

(1) Representing that funeral goods or services will delay 
the natural decomposition of human remains for a long 
term or indefinite time; and  

(2) Representing that funeral goods have protective 
features or will protect the body from gravesite 
substances over or beyond that offered by the written 
warranty of the manufacturer.  

4. Inappropriate handling of dead human bodies. 
Transportation and removal vehicles shall be of such 
nature as to eliminate exposure of the deceased to the 
public during transportation. During the transporting of a 
human body, consideration shall be taken to avoid 
unnecessary delays or stops during travel.  

5. Failure to furnish price information disclosing the cost to 
the purchaser for each of the specific funeral goods and 
funeral services used in connection with the disposition of 
deceased human bodies.  

6. Conducting the practice of funeral services in such a 
manner as to constitute a danger to the health, safety, and 
well-being of the staff or the public.  

7. Inability to practice with skill or safety because of 
physical, mental, or emotional illness, or substance abuse.  

8. Failure to register as a supervisor for a funeral service 
intern or failure to provide reports to the board as required 
by the Code of Virginia and 18VAC65-40-320.  

9. Failure to comply with applicable federal and state laws 
and regulations, including requirements for continuing 
education.  

Part VII  
Standards for Embalming  

18VAC65-20-510. Embalming report.  

Every funeral establishment shall record and maintain a 
separate, identifiable report on a form as prescribed in 
Appendix IV of this chapter for each embalming procedure 
conducted, which shall at a minimum include the following 
information: 

1. The name of the deceased and the date of death; 

2. The date and location of the embalming; 

3. The name and signature of the embalmer and the 
Virginia license number of the embalmer; and 

4. If the embalming was performed by a funeral service 
intern, the name and signature of the supervisor.  

18VAC65-20-590. Disposal of waste materials.  

Disposal of all waste materials shall be in conformity with 
local, state, and federal law and regulations to avoid 
contagion and the possible spread of disease. Upon 
inspection, the establishment shall provide evidence of 
compliance, such as a copy of a contract with a medical waste 
disposal company.  

18VAC65-20-700. Retention of documents.  

A. The following retention schedule shall apply to retention 
of embalming reports, price lists, and itemized statements:  

1. Price lists shall be retained for one year three years 
after the date on which they are no longer effective;  

2. Itemized statements shall be retained for one year three 
years from the date on which the arrangements were 
made; and 

3. Embalming reports shall be retained at the location of 
the embalming for one year three years after the date of 
the embalming;. 

B. The manager of record shall be responsible for retention 
and maintenance of all required documents. 

4. C. Documents shall be maintained on the premises of the 
funeral establishment and made available for inspection; and.  

5. D. In instances where the funeral establishment is sold, 
documents shall be transferred to the new owner, unless the 
existing firm is relocating to a new facility. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 
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[ FORMS  

Application for a License to Practice Funeral Service 
Provider Application (rev. 6/06) 3/08).  

Application for Courtesy Card (rev. 6/06) 7/08).  

Funeral Service Establishment Application (rev. 3/08). 

Notification of Change Application for New Establishment, 
Branch Establishment, Change of Location, Change of 
Ownership, Change of Trade Name, Change of Manager (rev. 
6/06) 4/08).  

Application for Waiver of Full-time Manager Requirement 
Application (rev. 6/06) 4/08). 

Application for Crematory Registration Application (rev. 
6/06) 4/08). 

Application for Renewal for Waiver of Full-time Manager 
Requirement (rev. 12/02) 7/08).  

Verification of State Licensure Form (rev. 12/02) 3/08). 

Application for Surface Transportation and Removal Service 
Registration Application (rev. 6/06) 6/08).  

Application for Approval as a Continuing Education 
Provider Application (eff. 6/06) (rev. 3/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of Funeral Service License 
Provider (eff. 6/06) (rev. 4/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of Funeral Service 
Establishment (eff. 3/08). 

License Renewal Notice and Application, 0502, Funeral 
Service Providers (rev. 12/02).  

License Renewal Notice and Application, 0501, Funeral 
Establishments (rev. 12/02).  

License Renewal Notice and Application, 0506, Courtesy 
Card (rev. 12/02).  

License Renewal Notice and Application, 0509, Surface 
Transportation (rev. 12/02).  

License Renewal Notice and Application, 0510, Crematories 
(rev. 12/02).  

Appendix I: General Price List (rev. 12/02).  

Appendix II: Casket Price List; Outer Burial Container Price 
List (rev. 12/02).  

Appendix III: Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and 
Services Selected (rev. 12/02).  

Appendix IV: Embalming Record (rev. 12/02). ]  
VA.R. Doc. No. R06-91; Filed July 14, 2008, 3:04 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 
18VAC65-20-10, 18VAC65-20-60, 18VAC65-20-435; 
adding 18VAC65-20-436). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 9, 2008 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor, Suite 201, Conference Room 1, Richmond, 
Virginia 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
October 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapter 24 (§54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia establishes the general powers and duties of 
health regulatory boards including the responsibility of the 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers to promulgate 
regulations, levy fees, administer a registration and renewal 
program, and discipline regulated professionals. 

In addition to the general powers and duties of a health 
regulatory board, the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers has specific statutory authority to regulate funeral 
service establishments in §54.1-2803 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: As a result of the work of a Task Force on 
Cremation laws and regulations, the board has amended its 
regulations for the practice of funeral services to establish 
standards for crematories and the persons who operate them. 
While the board has authority to oversee and inspect 
crematories, it has not had regulatory standards by which to 
determine that a facility is not operating in a manner that 
ensures the integrity of the cremation process and protects 
those who may come in contact with dead human remains. 
The goal of the regulatory action is to establish some 
accountability for the facility, standards for clear 
identification of remains and authorization to cremate, 
acceptable and safe cremation practices, and appropriate 
training for operators to protect the health, safety and welfare 
of the consuming public. 

Substance: The board has amended existing regulations to 
establish the following requirements in regulations governing 
crematories: 

• Crematory to name a manager of record 
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• Training for operators of the crematory, including 
OSHA standards 

• A funeral service licensee to obtain authorization to 
cremate and the content of an authorization form 

• A method for positive identification of remains 

• Maintenance of documentation  

• Standards for proper storage of remains prior to 
cremation 

• A permit to operate the crematory for agencies such 
as the Department of Environmental Quality 

• Acceptable cremation practices, including 
prohibition on multiple cremations at one time 

• A preclusion of the cremation of nonhuman remains 
in same retort 

• Removal and disposal of radioactive devices and 
other nonbiological materials and devices 

• Certification of crematory operators 

The board is acting within its statutory authority to establish 
standards for the practice of funeral service, including 
cremation, and to determine the qualifications to enable any 
person to engage in the practice of funeral service and the 
operation of a funeral service establishment, including a 
crematory. Standards are necessary to ensure that there is a 
responsible party for the operation of the crematory and that 
operators are properly trained for the safe operation of the 
retort, including meeting OSHA and DEQ standards to 
protect the employees of the establishment but also persons in 
the community. Other requirements will ensure that 
cremation is not performed on the wrong remains or against 
the wishes of the next-of-kin. With additional regulatory 
standards, inspectors will be able to ensure cremation is 
practiced in a manner that respects the dignity of human 
remains, provides assurance to families, and protects the 
health and safety of those who may be affected by the 
practices of a crematory. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be greater 
assurance that a cremation would be handled properly, that 
human remains would not be mixed with nonhuman remains, 
that due diligence would be taken to ensure the correct 
remains are cremated, and that operators would be adequately 
trained and crematories accountable. There are no 
disadvantages because the cost of certifying operators 
(approx. $500) should not increase the cost of cremations. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth and the agency 
would be the establishment of standards by which a 
crematory can be judged. The board currently has statutory 
authority to inspect crematories but no regulatory standards 

by which to base a finding or require a correction. There are 
no disadvantages to the agency. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (Board) proposes 
to amend existing regulatory sections in its regulations to: 

• Require crematories to name a manager of record 
who will be responsible for ensuring that the 
crematory follows all relevant laws and regulations,  

• Require that the Board receive written notification 
when a crematory changes mailing address or owner, 

• Require all managers of record and crematory 
operators to become certified by the Cremation 
Association of North America (CANA), 
International Cemetery, Cremation and Funeral 
Association (ICCFA) or any other certification 
program that might, in the future, be recognized by 
the Board, 

• Additionally, the Board proposes to add a new 
section to these regulations that would: 

• Mandate that crematories obtain a signed 
authorization before cremation, 

• Require remains to be transported in a container that 
is combustible, has a cover, is resistant to spillage or 
leakage and is rigid enough to support the weight 
enclosed in it, 

• Require that identifying information be attached to 
any decedent awaiting cremation as well as to the 
outside of the cremation container, 

• Require crematories to maintain all records of 
cremation for three years, 

• Prohibit crematories from requiring remains to be 
placed in a casket before cremation or requiring that 
cremains be placed in an urn, 

• Require crematories to refrigerate remains if they are 
not to be cremated immediately upon receipt (unless 
remains have been embalmed) and 

• Set acceptable cremation standards including 
prohibiting multiple decedents from being cremated 
at one time, in one retort, without specific written 
authorization and prohibiting cremation of non-
human remains in the same retorts that are used to 
cremate human remains. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations contain 
fairly minimal standards for registration of crematories. 
Currently, crematories all must be registered with the Board; 
crematories that offer services directly to the public must also 
be licensed as a funeral service establishment (or be a branch 
of a licensed funeral establishment) and are subject to Board 
discipline if human remains are inappropriately handled or if 
the law is broken. 

The Board proposes to amend this section governing 
registration to require crematories to have a manager of 
record who will be responsible for making sure crematory 
practices do not break the law or requirements of these 
regulations. The Board also proposes to require (in this 
section) that managers of record and crematory operators 
achieve certification by either CANA, the ICCFA or any 
other group that may get Board approval in the future. The 
Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that CANA 
charges $495 for a short (weekend-long) certification class 
that teaches the material that is covered in the crematory 
operators test which costs $175. DHP also reports that CANA 
will come into the state and hold classes at various locations 
(as demand dictates) and that some individuals in the state 
have already taken the certification class and, so, would only 
have to pass the exam to be certified. DHP does not know the 
exact costs for ICCFA certification but believes it is 
equivalent to that for the CANA program. 

Initially, crematory operators and managers who have no 
previous training will likely incur costs for obtaining 
certification that include fees of approximately $670 
($495+$175) plus any travel costs incurred to obtain training 
and the value of the time spent on training and taking the 
certification exam.  Crematory operator and managers who 
have already taken a training class will likely only incur costs 
associated with taking the certification exam ($175 fee plus 
the value of time spent studying for and taking the exam). 
Individuals who have obtained crematory operator 
certification can train others without obtaining any further 
credentials; so once funeral homes/crematories have certified 
individuals on staff, newly hired staff would be likely to 
recieve training in-house.  If this happens, costs for new 
certification would drop to exclude the (CANA, ICCFA) fee 
for training but would newly include the opportunity cost of 
staff time spent training.  Funeral home/crematory staff who 
receive certification will benefit from training that 
concentrates on proper handling of remains and cremation 
processes as well as relevant laws because they will be less 
likely to run afoul of law enforcement or regulatory 
authorities.  The public will likely benefit from certification 
requirements, and from the requirement that crematories have 
a manager of record, because crematory staff who are made 
aware of the law and expected standards, and who are held 
responsible for following those laws and standards, are less 
likely to mishandle decedents.  Benefits likely outweigh costs 
for amendments to this regulatory section. 

In addition to amending existing rules for registration of 
crematories, the Board proposes to add a new regulatory 
section to govern standards for cremation authorization, 
standards for cremation, handling human remains and 
recordkeeping. This new regulatory section consists mostly of 
requirements that are already expected minimal standards of 
practice for the industry/the law.  To the extent that any 
crematories have not been following these standards, they 
will incur costs on account of these proposed regulations.  
Costs will vary according to what standards are not currently 
followed. Crematories that have not been keeping records, for 
instance, would incur costs for compiling required 
information and for storage.  Any costs incurred by the 
regulated community may be offset by the benefit of 
increased clarity of rules under which they are supposed to 
operate. To the extent that these standards have not been 
followed, the public will benefit from having them explicitly 
promulgated into regulations because they will now have 
access to rules that, for instance, prohibit crematories from 
requiring the purchase of expensive caskets or urns.  The 
Board will be better able to enforce these standards once they 
are explicitly written into regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulations 
will affect all funeral homes that operate crematory facilities, 
all independent crematories, managers of crematories and all 
crematory operators. DHP reports that there are 507 licensed 
funeral establishments and 76 registered crematories in the 
Commonwealth. DHP can not easily ascertain how many 
licensed funeral establishments also provide in-house 
crematory services, but it is likely that most of the 76 
crematories registered with the Board fall into this category. 
Because crematory operators are not currently required to 
register with the Board, DHP does not have data that would 
indicate how many of these individuals currently work in the 
Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Because certification 
requirements will slightly increase the cost of becoming a 
crematory operator, slightly fewer people are likely to pursue 
employment in this field.  Given that long-run costs will be 
small ($175 plus cost of time spent taking the certification 
test), this effect will likely be negligible. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 
extent that this regulatory action increases costs for funeral 
homes and crematories, this regulatory action may slightly 
decrease the value of these establishments. This effect may be 
partially or completely offset if this regulatory action 
increases public confidence in, and demand for, crematory 
services. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DHP reports that 
350 of the 507 funeral establishments that the Board licenses 
would qualify as small businesses. To the extent that these 
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establishments have not been following the standards that are 
being promulgated into regulations, they might incur costs. 
These costs will vary according to which standards will be 
newly implemented and might include bookkeeping and 
storage fees for record keeping, costs incurred in purchasing 
sturdier cremation containers, etc. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternative methods to 
accomplish the Board’s goal that would be less costly than 
the methods mandated by these proposed regulations. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Funeral 
Directors and Embalmers concurs with the analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget for amendments to 
18VAC65-20, related to requirements for crematories. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include standards for 
crematories that are registered or are a part of a 
licensed funeral establishment to include requirements 
for (i) a manager of record who is a certified crematory 
operator and who is responsible for compliance with 
state and federal rules for crematories; (ii) certification 
of all persons who operate a retort; (iii) due diligence in 

the identification of the remains and authorization to 
cremate; (iv) safe and ethical operation of a crematory; 
(v) handling of human remains; and (vi) recordkeeping. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC65-20-10. Definitions. 

Words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
definitions ascribed in §54.1-2800 of the Code of Virginia or 
in 16 CFR Part 453, Funeral Industry Practices, of the Federal 
Trade Commission, which is incorporated by reference in this 
chapter. In addition, the following words and terms when 
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Branch" or "chapel" means a funeral service establishment 
that is affiliated with a licensed main establishment and that 
conforms with the requirements of §54.1-2811 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Courtesy card" means the card issued by the board which 
grants limited and restricted funeral service privileges in the 
Commonwealth to out-of-state funeral service licensees, 
funeral directors, and embalmers. 

"Cremation container" means a container in which human 
remains are transported to the crematory and placed in the 
retort for cremation. 

"Cremation urn" means a wood, metal, stone, plastic, or 
composition container or a container of other material, which 
is designed for encasing cremated ashes. 

"Cremation vault" or "cremation outer burial container" 
means any container that is designed for encasement of an 
inner container or urn containing cremated ashes. Also known 
as a cremation box. 

"Establishment manager" means a funeral service licensee or 
licensed funeral director designated as the manager of record 
who is responsible for the direct supervision and management 
of a funeral service establishment or branch facility. 

"FTC" means the Federal Trade Commission. 

18VAC65-20-60. Accuracy of information. 

A. All changes of mailing address, name, place of 
employment, or change in establishment or crematory 
ownership, manager, or name shall be furnished to the board 
within 30 days after the change occurs. 

B. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be 
mailed by the board to any registrant or licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address on file with 
the board and shall not relieve the licensee, funeral service 
intern, establishment, crematory, or firm of obligation to 
comply. 
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18VAC65-20-435. Registration of crematories. 

A. At least 30 days prior to opening a crematory, any person 
intending to own or operate a crematory shall apply for 
registration with the board by submitting a completed 
application and fee as prescribed in 18VAC65-20-70. The 
name of the individual designated by the ownership to be 
manager of record for the crematory shall be included on the 
application. The owner of the crematory shall not abridge the 
authority of the manager of record relating to compliance 
with the laws governing the practice of funeral services and 
regulations of the board. 

B. Every crematory, regardless of how owned, shall have a 
manager of record who has achieved certification by the 
Cremation Association of North America (CANA), the 
International Cemetery, Cremation and Funeral Association 
(ICCFA), or other certification recognized by the board and 
who has received training in compliance with requirements of 
the Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA). 
Every manager of record registered by the board prior to (the 
effective date of this section) shall have one year from that 
date to obtain such certification.  

C. The manager shall be fully accountable for the operation 
of the crematory as it pertains to the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of funeral services, to include but not 
be limited to: 

1. Maintenance of the facility within standards established 
in this chapter; 

2. Retention of reports and documents as prescribed by the 
board in 18VAC65-20-436 during the period in which he 
serves as manager of record; and  

3. Reporting to the board of any changes in information as 
required by 18VAC65-20-60. 

D. All persons who operate the retort in a crematory shall 
have certification by the Cremation Association of North 
America (CANA), the International Cemetery, Cremation and 
Funeral Association (ICCFA), or other certification 
recognized by the board. Every operator in a crematory 
registered by the board prior to (the effective date of this 
section) shall have one year from that date to obtain such 
certification. Persons receiving training toward certification to 
operate a retort shall be allowed to work under the 
supervision of an operator who holds certification for a period 
not to exceed six months. 

B. E. A crematory providing cremation services directly to 
the public shall also be licensed as a funeral service 
establishment or shall be a branch of a licensed establishment. 

C. F. The board may take disciplinary action against a 
crematory registration for a violation of §54.1-2818.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or for the inappropriate handling of dead 
human bodies or cremains. 

18VAC65-20-436. Standards for registered crematories or 
funeral establishments that operate a crematory. 

A. Authorization to cremate. In accordance with §54.1-
2818.1 of the Code of Virginia, a crematory shall require a 
cremation authorization form executed in person or 
electronically in a manner that provides a copy of an original 
signature of the next-of-kin or the person designated pursuant 
to §54.1-2825 of the Code of Virginia. The cremation 
authorization form shall include an attestation of visual 
identification of the deceased from a viewing of the remains 
or a photograph signed by the person making the 
identification. The identification attestation shall either be 
given on the cremation authorization form or on an 
identification form attached to the cremation authorization 
form.  

B. Standards for cremation. The following standards shall be 
required for every crematory: 

1. Every crematory shall provide evidence at the time of an 
inspection of a permit to operate issued by the Department 
of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 

2. A crematory shall not knowingly cremate a body with a 
pacemaker, defibrillator or other potentially hazardous 
implant in place. 

3. A crematory shall not cremate the human remains of 
more than one person simultaneously in the same retort, 
unless the crematory has received specific written 
authorization to do so from the person signing the 
cremation authorization form.  

4. A crematory shall not cremate nonhuman remains in a 
retort permitted by DEQ for cremation of human remains.  

5. Whenever a crematory is unable to cremate the remains 
immediately upon taking custody thereof, the crematory 
shall maintain the remains in refrigeration at 40 degrees 
Fahrenheit or less, unless the remains have been 
embalmed. 

C. Handling of human remains. 

1. Human remains shall be transported to a crematory in a 
cremation container and shall not be removed from the 
container unless the crematory has been provided with 
written instructions to the contrary by the person who 
signed the authorization form. A cremation container shall 
substantially meet all the following standards: 

a. Be composed of readily combustible materials suitable 
for cremation; 

b. Be able to be closed in order to provide complete 
covering for the human remains; 

c. Be resistant to leakage or spillage; and 

d. Be rigid enough for handling with ease. 
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2. No crematory shall require that human remains be 
placed in a casket before cremation nor shall it require that 
the cremains be placed in a cremation urn, cremation vault 
or receptacle designed to permanently encase the cremains 
after cremation. Cremated remains shall be placed in a 
plastic bag inside a rigid container provided by the 
crematory or by the next-of-kin for return to the funeral 
establishment or to the next-of-kin.  

3. The identification of the decedent shall be physically 
attached to the remains and appropriate identification 
placed on the exterior of the cremation container. The 
crematory operator shall verify the identification on the 
remains with the identification attached to the cremation 
container and with the identification attached to the 
cremation authorization. The crematory operator shall also 
verify the identification of the cremains and place evidence 
of such verification in the cremation record. 

D. Recordkeeping. A crematory shall maintain the records 
of cremation for a period of three years from the date of the 
cremation that indicate the name of the decedent, the date and 
time of the receipt of the body, and the date and time of the 
cremation and shall include: 

1. The cremation authorization form signed by the person 
authorized by law to dispose of the remains and the form 
on which the next-of-kin or his designee has made a visual 
identification of the deceased; 

2. The permission form from the medical examiner; 

3. The DEQ permit number of the retort used for the 
cremation and the name of the retort operator; and 

4. The form verifying the release of the cremains, 
including date and time of release, the name of the person 
and the entity to whom the cremains were released and the 
name of the decedent.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-786; Filed July 14, 2008, 3:01 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine has 
claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Board of 
Medicine will receive, consider and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 
and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-225). 

18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Respiratory Care Practitioners (amending 18VAC85-40-
55). 

18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-50-59). 

18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
Occupational Therapists (amending 18VAC85-80-65). 

18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-
Limited (amending 18VAC85-101-145). 

18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Acupuncturists (amending 18VAC85-110-145). 

18VAC85-120. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
Athletic Trainers (amending 18VAC85-120-85). 

Statutory Authority:  §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 
(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 674 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly amended 
§54.1-3801 of the Code of Virginia, which sets out 
exemptions for which the requirement for licensure in the 
healing arts does not apply. The legislation deleted the 
requirement that the volunteer, nonprofit organization 
have no paid employees and the requirement that it 
sponsor health care to populations of underserved people 
throughout the world. It also changed the requirement 
that the board be notified of the dates and location of 
services from 15 days to five business days in advance. 
The regulations are amended accordingly. 

18VAC85-20-225. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licenses.  

Any doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry or 
chiropractic who does not hold a license to practice in 
Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under 
subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia on a 
voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all 
volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that 
sponsors the provision of health care to populations of 
underserved people throughout the world shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least 15 five business days prior 
to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application 
will not be considered;  
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2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 
current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

18VAC85-40-55. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licensees.  

Any respiratory care practitioner who does not hold a 
license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to 
practice under subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly 
supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid 
employees that sponsors the provision of health care to 
populations of underserved people throughout the world 
shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least 15 five business days prior 
to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application 
will not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 
current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

18VAC85-50-59. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licensees.  

Any physician assistant who does not hold a license to 
practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice 
under subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia 
on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly 
supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid 
employees that sponsors the provision of health care to 
populations of underserved people throughout the world 
shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least 15 five business days prior 
to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application 
will not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 
current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

18VAC85-80-65. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licenses.  

Any occupational therapist who does not hold a license to 
practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice 
under subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia 
on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly 
supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid 
employees that sponsors the provision of health care to 
populations of underserved people throughout the world 
shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least 15 five business days prior 
to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application 
will not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 
current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

18VAC85-101-145. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licensees.  

Any radiologic technologist or radiologic technologist-
limited who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia 
and who seeks registration to practice under subdivision 27 of 
§54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis 
under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, 
nonprofit organization with no paid employees that sponsors 
the provision of health care to populations of underserved 
people throughout the world shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least 15 five business days prior 
to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application 
will not be considered;  
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2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 
current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

18VAC85-110-145. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licensees.  

Any licensed acupuncturist who does not hold a license to 
practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice 
under subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia 
on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly 
supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid 
employees that sponsors the provision of health care to 
populations of underserved people throughout the world 
shall:  

1. File an application for registration on a form provided 
by the board at least 15 five business days prior to 
engaging in such practice;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 
current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

18VAC85-120-85. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state trainers.  

Any athletic trainer who does not hold a license to practice 
in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice on a 
voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all 
volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that 
sponsors the provision of health care to populations of 
underserved people throughout the world shall:  

1. File an application for registration on a form provided 
by the board at least 15 five business days prior to 
engaging in such practice;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional certification 
or licensure in each state in which he has held a certificate 
or license and a copy of any current certificate or license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1259; Filed July 14, 2008, 2:58 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 
the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 
18VAC90-30-80, 18VAC90-30-160). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments specify that a person must hold a 
current, unrestricted license as a registered nurse to hold 
a license and practice as a nurse practitioner. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC90-30-80. Qualifications for initial licensure.  

A. An applicant for initial licensure as a nurse practitioner 
shall:  

1. Be currently licensed Hold a current, active license as a 
registered nurse in Virginia or hold a current multistate 
licensure privilege as a registered nurse;  

2. Submit evidence of a graduate degree in nursing or in 
the appropriate nurse practitioner specialty from an 
educational program designed to prepare nurse 
practitioners that is an approved program as defined in 
18VAC90-30-10; 

3. Submit evidence of professional certification that is 
consistent with the specialty area of the applicant's 
educational preparation issued by an agency accepted by 
the boards as identified in 18VAC90-30-90; 

4. File the required application; and  

5. Pay the application fee prescribed in 18VAC90-30-50.  

B. Provisional licensure may be granted to an applicant who 
satisfies all requirements of this section with the exception of 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 4, 2008 

3370 

subdivision A 3 of this section, provided the board has 
received evidence of the applicant's eligibility to sit for the 
certifying examination directly from the national certifying 
body. An applicant may practice with a provisional license 
for either six months from the date of issuance or until 
issuance of a permanent license or until he receives notice 
that he has failed the certifying examination, whichever 
occurs first.  

18VAC90-30-160. Prohibited practice. 

Practice as a licensed nurse practitioner shall be prohibited if 
[ : 1. The license has lapsed; or 2. The the ] license as [ a 
nurse practitioner or ] a registered nurse is lapsed, inactive, 
revoked or suspended. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the regulation are 
not being published; however, the name of each form is listed 
below. The forms are available for public inspection at the 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 1300, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

[ FORMS 

Instructions for Licensure -- Nurse Practitioner (rev. 10/02) 
7/07). 

Application for Licensure as a Nurse Practitioner (rev. 
10/02) 7/07). 

Renewal Notice and Application, Nurse Practitioner, 0024 
(rev. 1/03). 

Application for Reinstatement of License as a Nurse 
Practitioner (eff. 10/02) (rev. 7/07) ]. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-129; Filed July 14, 2008, 3:02 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-
20-10, 18VAC112-20-40, 18VAC112-20-50, 18VAC112-20-
60, 18VAC112-20-65, 18VAC112-20-70, 18VAC112-20-90, 
18VAC112-20-120, 18VAC112-20-131, 18VAC112-20-135, 
18VAC112-20-136, 18VAC112-20-140, 18VAC112-20-150; 
adding 18VAC112-20-160, 18VAC112-20-170, 18VAC112-
20-180, 18VAC112-20-190, 18VAC112-20-200). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and Chapter 34.1 (§54.1-
3473 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2008 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 200, Conference Room #1, Richmond, VA 23233-
1463 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on October 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapter 24 (§54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia establishes the general powers and duties of 
health regulatory boards including the responsibility of the 
Board of Physical Therapy to promulgate regulations, levy 
fees, and administer a licensure and renewal program. 
Chapter 34.1 (§54.1-3473 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia sets forth statutory provisions for the licensure and 
practice of physical therapists. 

Purpose: The board’s purpose is to update and clarify its 
regulations pursuant to recommendations from the 
Regulatory/Legislative Committee, which conducted a 
periodic review of regulations in accordance with Executive 
Order 36 (2006). 

Questions from practitioners about the responsibility of 
physical therapists in discharge of a patient, in the role of 
patient evaluations, in medical recordkeeping and other issues 
relating to practice have been further specified in order to 
ensure that patients receive competent care.  Additional 
requirements for persons applying for PT licensure by 
endorsement will help assure minimal competency in current 
knowledge and skills and will ensure that the Virginia board 
is fully informed about any disciplinary problems or 
malpractice payments. 

The inclusion of standards of practice will further protect 
patient health and safety by setting rules for professional 
behavior in the protection of patient confidentiality, 
disclosure of records, patient communication, sexual contact 
and other issues that may impede patient care or result in 
patient harm.  Standards set in regulations supplement those 
in the law and will provide the board with further grounds to 
discipline practitioners who violate such provisions. 

Substance: The amendments add a definition for "discharge" 
and modified the definitions of "evaluation," "trainee," and 
"traineeship;" add acceptance of TOEFL iBT, the Internet-
based tests of listening, reading, speaking and writing and to 
specify what evidence of English proficiency is acceptable in 
lieu of the required tests; eliminate the specific requirements 
for a "foreign-trained trainee" and refer to general 
requirements for a traineeship in 18VAC112-20-140; and 
clarify the "additional clinical training or course work in the 
deficiency areas of the examination" required for applicants 
who have failed the licensure examination three times. The 
language currently found in a guidance document will be 
incorporated into regulation. 

Also, the board is concerned that it may not have sufficient 
documentation to ensure the competency of applicants 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 4, 2008 

3371 
 

coming from other states, especially since the requirements 
for endorsement were changed to allow evidence of clinical 
practice for five years to replace the educational 
qualifications of applicants for licensure by examination. The 
board will require submission of reports on malpractice 
payments and actions taken by other boards or healthcare 
organizations and evidence of continuing education 
equivalent to that required in Virginia to ensure that the 
applicant has practiced safely and has maintained current 
knowledge and skills. 

In addition, the requirements for an unlicensed graduate 
trainee will be amended in accordance with general 
traineeship requirements and to specify a limitation on the 
amount of time someone who has not passed the national 
examination can serve in a traineeship. 

Provisions of 18VAC112-20-90, 18VAC112-20-100, and 
18VAC112-20-120 are amended to clarify practice questions 
and issues that have come to the attention of the board. The 
board has clarified the role of the physical therapist in 
evaluations and discharges. 

The amendments also add documentation of completion of a 
transitional doctoral program as evidence of satisfying 
continued competency requirements and has clarified that the 
exemption for persons in their first renewal following initial 
licensure is for licensure by examination; distinguish between 
a licensee whose license has lapsed for less than two years, 
who may reinstate by meeting the renewal requirements and 
payment of a late fee, and the licensee whose license is lapsed 
for more than two years who must reinstate by completion of 
a traineeship or evidence of practice in another jurisdiction; 
make 18VAC112-20-140 applicable to all references to 
traineeship with other sections of the regulation amended 
accordingly; and provide for a fee for reinstatement of a 
suspended license. 

The amendments also add regulations specifying standards of 
practice and grounds for unprofessional conduct. Section 
54.1-3483 of the Code of Virginia provides grounds for 
unprofessional conduct by a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant, including conducting one’s practice in 
such a manner as to be a danger to the health and welfare of 
his patients or to the public. The board has determined that it 
needs to establish in regulation requirements for practice that 
may provide greater protection for the health and welfare of 
patients, relating to confidentiality and maintenance of patient 
records, informed consent, termination of care, and 
responsibility for performance of procedures within one’s 
skill and scope of practice. Sections 18VAC112-20-160 
through 18VAC112-20-200 are taken from the standards of 
conduct regulations under the Board of Medicine, as 
applicable to occupational therapists, physician assistants, 
radiologic technologists and other professionals. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be to 
provide greater specificity about the responsibility of the 
physical therapist in the evaluation and discharge of a patient 
and in the standards by which a practitioner should guide his 
practice and interactions with patients. There are no 
advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. There is no other pertinent matter of interest 
related to this action. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Physical Therapy (Board) proposes to amend its 
regulations as a part of the periodic review process.  The 
Board proposes to: 

1) Add several definitions to the regulatory text, 

2) Clarify that applicants educated outside of the United 
States (or Canada) can take the internet version of Test of 
English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL iBT) to prove 
English proficiency, 

3) Clarify what remediation is required of applicants for 
licensure who have failed the national exam three times, 

4) Require applicants for licensure by endorsement to 
provide current reports from both the Healthcare 
Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) and the 
National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB), 

5) Require applicants for licensure by endorsement to 
provide proof of continuing education, 

6) Modify the active practice requirement for applicants 
for licensure by endorsement so that 320 hours of active 
practice are required within the four years immediately 
proceeding the filing of an application, 

7) Limit, to one year, the length of time an unlicensed 
graduate may work in a traineeship after failing the 
national licensure exam and while awaiting re-
examination, 

8) Allow graduation from a transitional Doctor of 
Physical Therapy program to satisfy continuing 
educational requirements for the biennium in which the 
degree is awarded, 

9) Clarify that a licensee who fails to renew his license 
on time, but who seeks license reinstatement within two 
years of the date of license expiration, to reinstate his 
license by paying a renewal and late fee and providing 
proof of continuing education for the biennium before his 
license lapsed and for the period after that but before 
application for reinstatement, 

10) Add a $500 fee for reinstatement of a suspended 
license and  



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 4, 2008 

3372 

11) Add explicit standards of conduct. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
most of these proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 
measure the magnitude of costs versus benefits for continuing 
education that will be required of applicants for licensure by 
endorsement. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Some of the amendments that 
the Board proposes to make to these regulations will likely 
have no significant economic impact.  The Board proposes to 
add several definitions to the regulatory text, for example, 
that will provide the benefit of added clarity for individuals 
who are reading these regulations.  Adding these definitions, 
however, will not increase (or lower) costs for entities that are 
subject to Board regulations in any substantial way.  From the 
numbered list in the Summary of Changes above, proposed 
amendments 1, 2, 3, 9 and 11 fall into this category.  Analysis 
of other changes is below. 

Currently, the section of these regulations that govern 
licensure by endorsement requires applicants to hold a 
current, unrestricted license in another political jurisdiction 
(within the United States, its territories, the District of 
Columbia or Canada) and to meet the same educational 
requirements as applicants for licensure by examination. 
Alternately, these applicants may provide proof that they hold 
a current, unrestricted license and that they have worked at an 
active, clinical practice during the five years immediately 
preceding application.  Applicants for licensure by 
endorsement must also provide documentation that they have 
passed an exam that is equivalent to the Virginia exam or that 
they have passed the exam required by the political 
jurisdiction that issued their license and that they have 
worked at an active, clinical practice during the five years 
immediately preceding application.  Currently, physical 
therapists who are applying for licensure by endorsement, but 
who have not actively practiced at least 160 hours in the last 
two years, must successfully complete a traineeship before 
they can be licensed. 

The Board proposes to amend the conditions under which a 
traineeship would be required of applicants for licensure by 
endorsement so that individuals who have not actively 
practiced at least 320 hours in the last four years (rather than 
160 in two years) must complete a traineeship before they can 
be licensed. The Department of Health Professions (DHP) 
reports that this amendment will better accommodate 
individuals who have taken a leave of absence to raise 
children (or for other reasons) and are reentering the field of 
physical therapy through this licensure program. 

The Board also proposes to amend this section to require 
applicants for licensure by endorsement to submit current 
HIPDB and the NPDB reports. State Boards and insurance 
companies are required, by federal law, to report any 
instances of Board discipline and/or malpractice to these data 
banks. Requiring applicants to provide these reports will 

likely reduce the chance of someone gaining licensure who 
does not meet the Commonwealth’s standards for 
competency and character.  Applicants can obtain both of 
these reports for $16 so the cost of this requirement is 
unlikely to affect an otherwise qualified therapist’s decision 
to apply for Virginia licensure. 

Additionally, the Board proposes to require applicants for 
licensure by endorsement to provide proof of 15 hours 
continuing education for each year of licensure in another 
political jurisdiction or 60 hours of continuing education over 
the four years preceding application for Virginia licensure. 
DHP reports that this change is proposed to ensure that 
individuals who are licensed by endorsement have had the 
same level of training as individuals who are already 
practicing in the state (physical therapist licensed in the 
Commonwealth must complete 30 hours of continuing 
education per biennium for license renewal).  DHP also 
reports that the annual explicit cost of continuing education 
can range from costing nothing (for members of professional 
organizations or for licensees who can take advantage of free 
in-service training) to several hundred dollars (for licensees 
who fulfill continuing education requirements with for-fee 
conferences).  All individuals who are subject to continuing 
education requirements incur implicit cost for their time spent 
on training.  Using Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) data for 
the (2006) average hourly wage for a physical therapist 
($32.72 p/h), these individuals could incur implicit costs 
equal to as much as $1,963.1 The opportunity cost for hours 
spent on continuing education could be lower or higher than 
this depending on how individuals value alternate uses of 
their time. Individuals who want to apply for licensure by 
endorsement, but who have either had fewer continuing 
education hours to complete or who have not been subject to 
continuing education requirements at all where they are 
currently licensed, will have to complete up to 60 hours of 
training before they can be licensed.  This may affect these 
individuals’ willingness to be licensed in Virginia and, so 
may mean that slightly fewer of these individuals end up 
working as physical therapists in the Commonwealth. 

Current regulations contain a fairly generous list of approved 
continuing education.  The Board proposes to add to this list 
by allowing graduation from a transitional Doctor of Physical 
Therapy program to satisfy continuing educational 
requirements for the biennium in which the degree is 
awarded.  This change will benefit licensees by allowing 
them one more continuing education choice. 

Current regulations allow unlicensed graduates to work as 
physical therapy trainees while they are awaiting their scores 
on the national examination.  Traineeships must be terminated 
within two days of trainees receiving their exam scores; 
trainees who do not pass the exam may apply for a new 
traineeship which would last until they retake the exam and 
get their new results. 
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The Board proposes to only allow any traineeship that is 
approved after exam failure to last one year from the date the 
results of the first exam arrive.  DHP reports that this change 
is proposed to ensure that individuals who have completed 
their initial education become licensed in a timely manner.  
The national exam is computerized and is given on demand 
six days a week.  Given that individuals who fail the exam 
initially can avail themselves of multiple opportunities to 
retake the exam during the time period specified by the 
Board, this requirement is unlikely to significantly lower the 
number of individuals who are licensed by examination in 
any given year. 

Finally, current regulation specifies a normal reinstatement 
fee of $180 and a fee for reinstatement of a revoked license 
($1,000) but does not specifically address reinstatement of 
suspended licenses.  This means that individuals who have 
had their license suspended, and who have to undergo an 
investigation and have the Board reinstate them, pay the same 
$180 as someone who just let their license lapse for more 
than two years. 

To help defray the cost of this process, the Board proposes to 
add a $500 fee for reinstatement of a suspended license to the 
fee schedule. This change will increase the cost of 
reinstatement for individuals who have had their licenses 
suspended from $180 to $500. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DHP reports that there are 
4,757 physical therapists and 1,849 physical therapist 
assistants who are licensed by the Commonwealth.  DHP also 
reports that 351 individuals were newly licensed during the 
last fiscal year. All of these individuals will be affected by 
these regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have little to no impact on employment in the 
Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DHP reports that 
some of the 4,757 physical therapists who are licensed by the 
Commonwealth may meet the definition of a small business.  
Physical therapists who are already licensed in the state, and 
who count as proprietors of small businesses, will incur some 
extra cost for license reinstatement if they break the law and 
have their licenses suspended. Out-of-state small business 
physical therapists who are applying for licensure by 
endorsement may incur extra costs due to continuing 
education requirements added by the Board. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternatives to this 

regulatory action that both meet the aims of the Board and 
would further lower costs for small businesses in the 
Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________ 
1 60*32.72=1,963.20 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Physical 
Therapy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget for amendments to 18VAC112-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy, 
relating to recommendations from its periodic review. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments clarify certain definitions and 
requirements for practice by physical therapists, simplify 
regulations for trainees, specify the additional training 
or course work required to retake the examination after 
three failures, add evidence of competency for licensure 
by endorsement, clarify the responsibilities of a physical 
therapist in the evaluation and discharge of a patient, 
modify the requirements for renewal or reinstatement of 
licensure, and add provisions on standards of 
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professional practice and grounds for unprofessional 
conduct. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC112-20-10. Definitions. 

In addition to the words and terms defined in §54.1-3473 of 
the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when 
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 
professional practice as a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant within the 24-month period immediately 
preceding renewal. Active practice may include supervisory, 
administrative, educational or consultative activities or 
responsibilities for the delivery of such services. 

"Approved program" means an educational program 
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical 
Therapy Education of the American Physical Therapy 
Association. 

"CLEP" means the College Level Examination Program. 

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in 
continuing learning activity exclusive of breaks, meals or 
vendor exhibits.  

"Direct supervision" means a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant is physically present and immediately 
available and is fully responsible for the physical therapy 
tasks or activities being performed. 

"Discharge" means the discontinuation of interventions in a 
single episode of care that have been provided in an unbroken 
sequence and related to the physical therapy interventions for 
a given condition or problem. 

"Evaluation" means the examination, assessment or 
screening of a patient a process in which the physical 
therapist makes clinical judgments based on data gathered 
during an examination in order to plan and implement a 
treatment intervention, provide preventive care, reduce risks 
of injury and impairment, or provide for consultation. 

"Face-to-face" means learning activities or courses obtained 
in a group setting or through interactive, real-time 
technology. 

"FCCPT" means the Foreign Credentialing Commission on 
Physical Therapy. 

"General supervision" means a physical therapist shall be 
available for consultation. 

"National examination" means the examinations developed 
and administered by the Federation of State Boards of 
Physical Therapy and approved by the board for licensure as 
a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant. 

"Support personnel" means a person who is performing 
designated routine tasks related to physical therapy under the 
direction and supervision of a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant within the scope of this chapter. 

"TOEFL" means the Test of English as a Foreign Language. 

"Trainee" means a person seeking licensure as a physical 
therapist or physical therapist assistant who is undergoing a 
traineeship. 

1. "Foreign educated trainee" means a physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant who was educated outside the 
United States and did not graduate from an approved 
program and who is seeking licensure to practice in 
Virginia.  

2. "Inactive practice trainee" means a physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant who has previously been 
licensed and has not practiced for at least 320 hours within 
the past four years and who is seeking licensure or 
relicensure in Virginia.  

3. "Unlicensed graduate trainee" means a graduate of an 
approved physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 
program who has not taken the national examination or 
who has taken the examination but not yet received a 
license from the board.  

"Traineeship" means a period of active clinical practice 
during which an unlicensed applicant for licensure as a 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant works under 
the direct supervision of a physical therapist approved by the 
board. 

"TSE" means the Test of Spoken English.  

"Type 1" means face-to face continuing learning activities 
offered by an approved organization as specified in 
18VAC112-20-131.  

"Type 2" means continuing learning activities which may or 
may not be offered by an approved organization but shall be 
activities considered by the learner to be beneficial to practice 
or to continuing learning. 

18VAC112-20-40. Education requirements: graduates of 
approved programs. 

A. An applicant for licensure who is a graduate of an 
approved program shall submit documented evidence of his 
graduation from such a program with the required application 
and fee. 

B. If an applicant is a graduate of an approved program 
located outside of the United States or Canada, he shall 
provide proof of proficiency in the English language by 
passing TOEFL and TSE or the TOEFL iBT, the Internet-
based tests of listening, reading, speaking and writing by a 
score determined by the board or an equivalent examination 
approved by the board. TOEFL iBT or TOEFL and TSE may 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 4, 2008 

3375 
 

be waived upon evidence of English proficiency that the 
applicant's physical therapist assistant program was taught in 
English or that the native tongue of the applicant’s nationality 
is English. 

18VAC112-20-50. Education requirements: graduates of 
schools not approved by an accrediting agency approved 
by the board.  

A. An applicant for initial licensure as a physical therapist 
who is a graduate of a school not approved by an accrediting 
agency approved by the board shall submit the required 
application and fee and provide documentation of the 
physical therapist's certification by a report from the FCCPT 
or of the physical therapist eligibility for licensure as verified 
by a report from any other credentialing agency approved by 
the board that substantiates that the physical therapist has 
been evaluated in accordance with requirements of subsection 
B of this section.  

B. The board shall only approve a credentialing agency that:  

1. Utilizes the Coursework Evaluation Tool for Foreign 
Educated Physical Therapists of the Federation of State 
Boards of Physical Therapy and utilizes original source 
documents to establish substantial equivalency to an 
approved physical therapy program;  

2. Conducts a review of any license or registration held by 
the physical therapist in any country or jurisdiction to 
ensure that the license or registration is current and 
unrestricted or was unrestricted at the time it expired or 
was lapsed; and  

3. Verifies English language proficiency by passage of the 
TOEFL and TSE examination or the TOEFL iBT, the 
Internet-based tests of listening, reading, speaking and 
writing or by review of other evidence of English 
proficiency that the applicant’s physical therapy program 
was taught in English or that the native tongue of the 
applicant’s nationality is English. 

C. An applicant for licensure as a physical therapist assistant 
who is a graduate of a school not approved by the board shall 
submit with the required application and fee the following:  

1. Proof of proficiency in the English language by passing 
TOEFL and TSE or the TOEFL iBT, the Internet-based 
tests of listening, reading, speaking and writing by a score 
determined by the board or an equivalent examination 
approved by the board. TOEFL iBT or TOEFL and TSE 
may be waived upon evidence of English proficiency that 
the applicant’s physical therapist assistant program was 
taught in English or that the native tongue of the 
applicant’s nationality is English. 

2. A copy of the original certificate or diploma that has 
been certified as a true copy of the original by a notary 
public, verifying his graduation from a physical therapy 

curriculum. If the certificate or diploma is not in the 
English language, submit either:  

a. An English translation of such certificate or diploma 
by a qualified translator other than the applicant; or  

b. An official certification in English from the school 
attesting to the applicant's attendance and graduation 
date.  

3. Verification of the equivalency of the applicant's 
education to the educational requirements of an approved 
program for physical therapist assistants from a scholastic 
credentials service approved by the board.  

D. An applicant for initial licensure as a physical therapist or 
a physical therapist assistant who is not a graduate of an 
approved program shall also submit verification of having 
successfully completed a full-time 1,000-hour traineeship as a 
"foreign educated trainee" under the direct supervision of a 
licensed physical therapist.  

1. The traineeship shall be in a facility that serves as an 
education facility for students enrolled in an accredited 
program educating physical therapists in Virginia and is 
approved by the board accordance with requirements in 
18VAC112-20-140.  

1. It shall be the responsibility of the foreign educated 
trainee to make the necessary arrangements for his training 
with the director of physical therapy or the director's 
designee at the facility selected by the trainee.  

2. The physical therapist supervising the foreign educated 
trainee shall submit a completed physical therapy or 
physical therapist assistant clinical performance instrument 
approved by the board.  

3. If the traineeship is not successfully completed, the 
president of the board or his designee shall determine if a 
new traineeship shall commence. If it is determined by the 
board that a new traineeship shall not commence, then the 
application for licensure shall be denied.  

4. The second traineeship may be served under a different 
supervising physical therapist and may be served in a 
different organization than the initial traineeship. If the 
second traineeship is not successfully completed, as 
determined by the supervising physical therapist, then the 
application for licensure shall be denied.  

5. 2. The traineeship requirements of this part may be 
waived if the applicant for a license can verify, in writing, 
the successful completion of one year of clinical physical 
therapy practice as a licensed physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant in the United States, its territories, the 
District of Columbia, or Canada, equivalent to the 
requirements of this chapter.  
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18VAC112-20-60. Requirements for licensure by 
examination.  

A. Every applicant for initial licensure by examination shall 
submit:  

1. Documentation of having met the educational 
requirements specified in 18VAC112-20-40 or 
18VAC112-20-50;  

2. The required application, fees and credentials to the 
board; and  

3. Documentation of passage of the national examination 
as prescribed by the board.  

B. If an applicant fails the national examination three times, 
he shall apply for approval to sit for any subsequent 
examination by submission of evidence satisfactory to the 
board of having successfully completed additional clinical 
training or course work in the deficiency areas of the 
examination the following requirements: 

1. Provide the board with a copy of the deficiency report 
from the examination;  

2. Review areas of deficiency with the applicant’s physical 
therapy educational program and develop a plan, which 
may include additional clinical training or coursework, to 
address deficiency areas; and 

3. Take an examination review course and the practice 
examination. 

18VAC112-20-65. Requirements for licensure by 
endorsement. 

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds a current, unrestricted license in the United States, its 
territories, the District of Columbia, or Canada may be 
licensed in Virginia by endorsement.  

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit: 

1. Documentation of having met the educational 
requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-40 or 
18VAC112-20-50. In lieu of meeting such requirements, 
an applicant may provide evidence of clinical practice 
during the five years immediately preceding application for 
licensure in Virginia with a current, unrestricted license 
issued by another U.S. jurisdiction; 

2. The required application, fees, and credentials to the 
board; and  

3. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and 
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) and a current report from 
the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 

4. Evidence of completion of 15 hours of continuing 
education for each year in which the applicant held a 
license in another U.S. jurisdiction, or 60 hours obtained 
within the past four years; and 

3. 5. Documentation of passage of an examination 
equivalent to the Virginia examination at the time of initial 
licensure or documentation of passage of an examination 
required by another state at the time of initial licensure in 
that state and active, clinical practice with a current, 
unrestricted license for at least five years prior to applying 
for licensure in Virginia. 

For the purpose of this subsection, active, clinical practice 
shall mean at least 2,500 hours of patient care over a five-year 
period. 

C. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 
seeking licensure by endorsement who has not actively 
practiced physical therapy for at least 160 320 hours within 
the two four years immediately preceding his application for 
licensure shall first successfully complete a 480-hour 480 
hours in a traineeship as specified by subsection B of in 
accordance with requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 

18VAC112-20-70. Traineeship for unlicensed graduate 
scheduled to sit for the national examination.  

A. Upon approval of the president of the board or his 
designee, an unlicensed graduate trainee in Virginia may be 
employed as a trainee under the direct supervision of a 
licensed physical therapist until the results of the national 
examination are received.  

B. The traineeship, which shall be in accordance with 
requirements in 18VAC112-20-140, shall terminate two 
working days following receipt by the candidate of the 
licensure examination results.  

C. The unlicensed graduate may reapply for a new 
traineeship while awaiting to take the next examination. A 
new traineeship shall not be approved for more than one year 
following the receipt of the first examination results.  

18VAC112-20-90. General responsibilities.  

A. The physical therapist shall be responsible for managing 
all aspects of the physical therapy care of each patient and 
shall provide:  

1. The initial evaluation for each patient and its 
documentation in the patient record; and  

2. Periodic evaluations prior to patient discharge, including 
documentation of the patient's response to therapeutic 
intervention.  

3. The documented discharge of the patient, including the 
response to therapeutic intervention at the time of 
discharge. 

B. The physical therapist shall communicate the overall plan 
of care to the patient or his legally authorized representative 
and shall also communicate with a referring doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, or dental 
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surgery, nurse practitioner or physician assistant to the extent 
required by §54.1-3482 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. A physical therapist assistant may assist the physical 
therapist in performing selected components of physical 
therapy intervention to include treatment, measurement and 
data collection, but not to include the performance of an 
evaluation as defined in 18VAC112-20-10.  

D. A physical therapist assistant's visits to a patient may be 
made under general supervision.  

18VAC112-20-120. Responsibilities to patients.  

A. The initial patient visit shall be made by the physical 
therapist for evaluation of the patient and establishment of a 
plan of care.  

B. The physical therapist assistant's first visit with the 
patient shall only be made after verbal or written 
communication with the physical therapist regarding patient 
status and plan of care. Documentation of such 
communication shall be made in the patient's record.  

C. Documentation of physical therapy interventions shall be 
recorded on a patient's record by the physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant providing the care.  

D. The physical therapist shall reevaluate the patient as 
needed, but not less than according to the following 
schedules:  

1. For inpatients in hospitals as defined in §32.1-123 of the 
Code of Virginia, it shall be not less than once every seven 
consecutive days.  

2. For patients in other settings, it shall be not less than one 
of 12 visits made to the patient during a 30-day period, or 
once every 30 days from the last evaluation, whichever 
occurs first.  

Failure to abide by this subsection due to the absence of the 
physical therapist in case of illness, vacation, or professional 
meeting, for a period not to exceed five consecutive days, will 
not constitute a violation of these provisions.  

E. The physical therapist shall be responsible for ongoing 
involvement in the care of the patient to include regular 
communication with a physical therapist assistant regarding 
the patient's plan of treatment.  

18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially after 
December 31, 2003, a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant shall complete at least 30 contact hours of 
continuing learning activities within the two years 
immediately preceding renewal. In choosing continuing 
learning activities or courses, the licensee shall consider the 
following: (i) the need to promote ethical practice, (ii) an 

appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient safety, (iv) 
application of new medical technology, (v) appropriate 
communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge of the 
changing health care system.  

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 
maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 
Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 
completion of the following:  

1. A minimum of 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 10 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 face-to-face 
courses. For the purpose of this section, "course" means an 
organized program of study, classroom experience or 
similar educational experience that is directly related to the 
clinical practice of physical therapy and approved or 
provided by one of the following organizations or any of 
its components:  

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association;  

b. The American Physical Therapy Association;  

c. Local, state or federal government agencies;  

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities;  

e. Health care organizations accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations (JCAHO);  

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 
Continuing Medical Education course; and  

g. The National Athletic Trainers Association.  

2. No more than 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 20 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 
courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 
organization but which shall be related to the clinical 
practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 
but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 
independent study, and research or writing on subjects 
related to practice.  

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 
American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 
as evidence of completion of continuing competency 
requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 
or recertification occurs.  

4. Documentation of graduation from a transitional doctor 
of physical therapy program may be provided as evidence 
of completion of continuing competency requirements for 
the biennium in which the physical therapist was awarded 
the degree. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 
competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 
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following the date of initial licensure by examination in 
Virginia.  

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 
form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 
years following the renewal of an active license.  

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 
board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 
Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 
documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 
audit.  

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 
the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 
continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 
good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 
prior to the renewal date.  

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 
licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 
service, or officially declared disasters.  

18VAC112-20-135. Inactive license.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a 
request on the renewal application and submission of the 
required renewal fee of $70 for a physical therapist and $35 
for a physical therapist assistant, be issued an inactive license. 
From January 1, 2006, through December 31, 2006, the 
inactive renewal fee shall be $30 for a physical therapist and 
$15 for a physical therapist assistant.  

1. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 
meet active practice requirements.  

2. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 
act requiring a license to practice physical therapy in 
Virginia.  

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds an inactive license may reactivate his license by:  

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 
inactive license and that of an active license for the 
biennium in which the license is being reactivated; and  

2. Providing proof of:  

a. Active practice hours in another jurisdiction equal to 
those required for renewal of an active license in Virginia 
for the period in which the license has been inactive. If 
the inactive licensee does not meet the requirement for 
active practice, the license may be reactivated by meeting 
the completing 480 hours in a traineeship that meets the 
requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140; and  

b. Completion of the number of continuing competency 
hours required for the period in which the license has 
been inactive, not to exceed four years.  

18VAC112-20-136. Reinstatement requirements.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 
Virginia license is lapsed for two years or less may reinstate 
his license by payment of the renewal and late fees as set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-150 and completion of continued 
competency requirements as set forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 
Virginia license is lapsed for more than two years and who is 
seeking reinstatement shall:  

1. Practice physical therapy in another jurisdiction for at 
least 320 hours within the four years immediately 
preceding applying for reinstatement or successfully 
complete 480 hours as an inactive practice trainee as 
specified in 18VAC112-20-140; and  

2. Complete the number of continuing competency hours 
required for the period in which the license has been 
lapsed, not to exceed four years.  

18VAC112-20-140. Traineeship required requirements. 

The 480 hours of traineeship shall be in a facility that (i) 
serves as a clinical education facility for students enrolled in 
an accredited program educating physical therapists in 
Virginia, (ii) is approved by the board, and (iii) is under the 
direction and supervision of a licensed physical therapist.  

1. The physical therapist supervising the inactive practice 
trainee shall submit a report to the board at the end of the 
480 required number of hours on forms supplied by the 
board.  

2. If the traineeship is not successfully completed at the 
end of the 480 required hours, as determined by the 
supervising physical therapist, the president of the board or 
his designee shall determine if a new traineeship shall 
commence. If the president of the board determines that a 
new traineeship shall not commence, then the application 
for licensure shall be denied.  

3. The second traineeship may be served under a different 
supervising physical therapist and may be served in a 
different organization than the initial traineeship. If the 
second traineeship is not successfully completed, as 
determined by the supervising physical therapist, then the 
application for licensure shall be denied.  

18VAC112-20-150. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable.  

B. Licensure by examination.  
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1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist 
and $100 for a physical therapist assistant.  

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 
paid directly to the examination services.  

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by 
endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 
for a physical therapist assistant.  

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.  

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical 
therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant 
shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in each 
even-numbered year. From January 1, 2006, through 
December 31, 2006, the fee for active license renewal fee 
shall be $60 for a physical therapist and $30 for a physical 
therapist assistant.  

2. A fee of $25 for a physical therapist assistant and $50 
for a physical therapist for processing a late renewal within 
one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal 
fee.  

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 
for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist 
and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be 
submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

E. Other fees.  

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license 
that has been revoked shall be $1,000; the fee for an 
application for reinstatement of a license that has been 
suspended shall be $500. 

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

Part IV  
Standards of Practice  

18VAC112-20-160. Requirements for patient records. 

A. Practitioners shall comply with provisions of §32.1-
127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality 
and disclosure of patient records.  

B. Practitioners shall provide patient records to another 
practitioner or to the patient or his personal representative in a 
timely manner in accordance with provisions of §32.1-
127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Practitioners shall properly manage and keep timely, 
accurate, legible and complete patient records. 

D. Practitioners who are employed by a health care 
institution, school system or other entity, in which the 
individual practitioner does not own or maintain his own 
records, shall maintain patient records in accordance with the 
policies and procedures of the employing entity.  

E. Practitioners who are self-employed or employed by an 
entity in which the individual practitioner does own and is 
responsible for patient records shall: 

1. Maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years 
following the last patient encounter with the following 
exceptions: 

a. Records of a minor child shall be maintained until the 
child reaches the age of 18 or becomes emancipated, with 
a minimum time for record retention of six years from 
the last patient encounter regardless of the age of the 
child; 

b. Records that have previously been transferred to 
another practitioner or health care provider or provided to 
the patient or his personal representative; or 

c. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law may need to be maintained for a longer 
period of time. 

2. From (six months from the effective date of the 
regulation), post information or in some manner inform all 
patients concerning the time frame for record retention and 
destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a 
manner that protects patient confidentiality, such as by 
incineration or shredding. 

F. When a practitioner is closing, selling or relocating his 
practice, he shall meet the requirements of §54.1-2405 of the 
Code of Virginia for giving notice that copies of records can 
be sent to any like-regulated provider of the patient's choice 
or provided to the patient. 

18VAC112-20-170. Confidentiality and practitioner-
patient communication. 

A. A practitioner shall not willfully or negligently breach the 
confidentiality between a practitioner and a patient. A breach 
of confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 
law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 
considered negligent or willful. 

B. Communication with patients. 

1. Except as provided in §32.1-127.1:03 F of the Code of 
Virginia, a practitioner shall accurately present information 
to a patient or his legally authorized representative in 
understandable terms and encourage participation in 
decisions regarding the patient's care.  

2. A practitioner shall not deliberately make a false or 
misleading statement regarding the practitioner's skill or 
the efficacy or value of a treatment or procedure provided 
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or directed by the practitioner in the treatment of any 
disease or condition. 

3. Before any invasive procedure is performed, informed 
consent shall be obtained from the patient and documented 
in accordance with the policies of the health care entity. 
Practitioners shall inform patients of the risks, benefits, and 
alternatives of the recommended invasive procedure that a 
reasonably prudent practitioner in similar practice in 
Virginia would tell a patient. In the instance of a minor or a 
patient who is incapable of making an informed decision 
on his own behalf or is incapable of communicating such a 
decision due to a physical or mental disorder, the legally 
authorized person available to give consent shall be 
informed and the consent documented.  

4. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of §32.1-
162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 
consent from patients prior to involving them as subjects in 
human research with the exception of retrospective chart 
reviews.  

C. Termination of the practitioner/patient relationship. 

1. The practitioner or the patient may terminate the 
relationship. In either case, the practitioner shall make the 
patient record available, except in situations where denial 
of access is allowed by law. 

2. A practitioner shall not terminate the relationship or 
make his services unavailable without documented notice 
to the patient that allows for a reasonable time to obtain the 
services of another practitioner.  

18VAC112-20-180. Practitioner responsibility. 

A. A practitioner shall not: 

1. Perform procedures or techniques that are outside the 
scope of his practice or for which he is not trained and 
individually competent; 

2. Knowingly allow persons under his supervision to 
jeopardize patient safety or provide patient care outside of 
such person's scope of practice or area of responsibility. 
Practitioners shall delegate patient care only to persons 
who are properly trained and supervised;  

3. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or 
interaction in a health care setting that interferes with 
patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely 
impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; or 

4. Exploit the practitioner/patient relationship for personal 
gain.  

B. A practitioner shall not knowingly and willfully solicit or 
receive any remuneration, directly or indirectly, in return for 
referring an individual to a facility or institution as defined in 
§37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, or hospital as defined in 
§32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia.  

Remuneration shall be defined as compensation, received in 
cash or in kind, but shall not include any payments, business 
arrangements, or payment practices allowed by Title 42, 
§1320a-7b(b) of the United States Code, as amended, or any 
regulations promulgated thereto. 

C. A practitioner shall not willfully refuse to provide 
information or records as requested or required by the board 
or its representative pursuant to an investigation or to the 
enforcement of a statute or regulation. 

D. A practitioner shall report any disciplinary action taken 
by a physical therapy regulatory board in another jurisdiction 
within 30 days of final action.  

18VAC112-20-190. Sexual contact. 

A. For purposes of §54.1-3483 (10) of the Code of Virginia 
and this section, sexual contact includes, but is not limited to, 
sexual behavior or verbal or physical behavior that:  

1. May reasonably be interpreted as intended for the sexual 
arousal or gratification of the practitioner, the patient, or 
both; or  

2. May reasonably be interpreted as romantic involvement 
with a patient regardless of whether such involvement 
occurs in the professional setting or outside of it.  

B. Sexual contact with a patient. 

1. The determination of when a person is a patient for 
purposes of §54.1-3483 (10) of the Code of Virginia is 
made on a case-by-case basis with consideration given to 
the nature, extent, and context of the professional 
relationship between the practitioner and the person. The 
fact that a person is not actively receiving treatment or 
professional services from a practitioner is not 
determinative of this issue. A person is presumed to remain 
a patient until the patient-practitioner relationship is 
terminated.  

2. The consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual 
behavior or involvement with a practitioner by a patient 
does not change the nature of the conduct nor negate the 
statutory prohibition.  

C. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a former 
patient. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a former 
patient after termination of the practitioner-patient 
relationship may still constitute unprofessional conduct if the 
sexual contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, 
knowledge, or influence of emotions derived from the 
professional relationship.  

D. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a key third 
party shall constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual 
contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge or 
influence derived from the professional relationship or if the 
contact has had or is likely to have an adverse effect on 
patient care. For purposes of this section, key third party of a 
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patient shall mean spouse or partner, parent or child, 
guardian, or legal representative of the patient. 

E. Sexual contact between a supervisor and a trainee shall 
constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a 
result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge or influence 
derived from the professional relationship or if the contact has 
had or is likely to have an adverse effect on patient care. 

18VAC112-20-200. Advertising ethics. 

A. Any statement specifying a fee, whether standard, 
discounted or free, for professional services that does not 
include the cost of all related procedures, services and 
products which, to a substantial likelihood, will be necessary 
for the completion of the advertised service as it would be 
understood by an ordinarily prudent person shall be deemed 
to be deceptive or misleading, or both. Where reasonable 
disclosure of all relevant variables and considerations is 
made, a statement of a range of prices for specifically 
described services shall not be deemed to be deceptive or 
misleading.  

B. Advertising a discounted or free service, examination, or 
treatment and charging for any additional service, 
examination, or treatment that is performed as a result of and 
within 72 hours of the initial office visit in response to such 
advertisement is unprofessional conduct unless such 
professional services rendered are as a result of a bona fide 
emergency. This provision may not be waived by agreement 
of the patient and the practitioner.  

C. Advertisements of discounts shall disclose the full fee 
that has been discounted. The practitioner shall maintain 
documented evidence to substantiate the discounted fees and 
shall make such information available to a consumer upon 
request.  

D. A licensee shall not use the term "board certified" or any 
similar words or phrase calculated to convey the same 
meaning in any advertising for his practice unless he holds 
certification in a clinical specialty issued by the American 
Board of Physical Therapy Specialties. 

E. A licensee of the board shall not advertise information 
that is false, misleading, or deceptive. For an advertisement 
for a single practitioner, it shall be presumed that the 
practitioner is responsible and accountable for the validity 
and truthfulness of its content. For an advertisement for a 
practice in which there is more than one practitioner, the 
name of the practitioner or practitioners responsible and 
accountable for the content of the advertisement shall be 
documented and maintained by the practice for at least two 
years. 

F. Documentation, scientific and otherwise, supporting 
claims made in an advertisement shall be maintained and 
available for the board's review for at least two years. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-269; Filed July 14, 2008, 3:01 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-
20-90, 18VAC112-20-130, 18VAC112-20-131, 18VAC112-
20-150; adding 18VAC112-20-81). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-3482.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2008 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 200, Conference Room #1, Richmond, VA 23233-
1463 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on October 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: 18VAC112-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physical Therapy, are promulgated under the general 
authority of Chapter 24 (§54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 (6) of the Code of 
Virginia provides the Board of Physical Therapy the authority 
to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 
The mandate for promulgation of regulations to establish a 
certification for direct access authorization for physical 
therapists is found in §54.1-3482 of the Code of Virginia. 

The third enactment provides that the amendments to §54.1-
3482 become effective 180 days after the effective date of 
regulations promulgated under §54.1-3482.1. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is compliance 
with the statute that requires the board to establish criteria for 
certification to provide certain physical therapy services 
without referral. Regulations must provide for promotion of 
patient safety and for continuing education to carry out direct 
access duties. Therefore the qualifications for certification are 
a doctoral or transitional program that includes education in 
screening for medical disorders or differential diagnosis or 
specific continuing education in those areas coupled with at 
least three years of experience in active practice.  In addition, 
a physical therapist who intends to maintain certification will 
have to direct at least four of the required 30 hours of 
continuing education each biennium to topics related to 
practice in a direct access environment. 

In compliance with the law, a physical therapist treating a 
patient without referral will be required to obtain an 
attestation from a patient that he is not currently being treated 
for the same condition by another practitioner and written 
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consent to provide a copy of the patient record to another 
practitioner identified by the patient, if the condition for 
which he is seeking treatment does not improve after the 14-
day period in which the physical therapist is allowed to treat. 

The qualifications required for certification in direct access 
assure that the physical therapist has education and training in 
the recognition of and screening for medical disorders to 
protect patient health and safety while in the care of the 
physical therapist.  The requirement for written consent to 
provide patient records to another health care practitioner will 
assure that the physical therapist is able to work 
collaboratively with other practitioners to provide safe and 
effective treatment. 

Substance: The proposed criteria for direct access 
certification are identical to those set out in the Code of 
Virginia and in the emergency regulations currently in effect. 
For those that do not hold a doctoral degree or a transitional 
doctorate in physical therapy, at least three years of 
postlicensure, active practice with evidence of 15 contact 
hours of continuing education in medical screening or 
differential diagnosis, including passage of a postcourse 
examination are required for certification. The application fee 
for certification is set at $75. 

To maintain certification, the therapist is required to have 
four contact hours related to carrying out direct access duties 
as part of the required 30 contact hours of continuing 
education for biennial renewal in courses relating to clinical 
practice in a direct access setting. The renewal fee is $35 per 
biennium. 

Issues: Since the regulations follow the mandate for criteria 
for certification and the requirement for continuing education 
to practice in a direct access environment, there are no 
particular advantages or disadvantages to the public. There 
are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. These regulations will replace emergency 
regulations that expire October 31, 2008. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Code of Virginia §54.1-3482 and §54.1-3482.1, 
the Board of Physical Therapy (Board) proposes to amend its 
regulations to set rules for direct access certification. These 
rules will allow physical therapists who obtain certification to 
treat patients for a limited time without a physician’s referral.  
These proposed regulations will replace emergency 
regulations that expire October 31, 2008. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits of these proposed changes 
likely exceed their costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Before the legislative change 
that led to these proposed regulations, physical therapists 
could evaluate patients that came directly to them (rather than 

going to a physician first) but could not offer treatment until 
these patients had obtained referrals.  These proposed 
regulations, and authorizing legislation, will allow physical 
therapists who obtain certification to treat a patient for 14 
business days or fewer without first obtaining a referral from 
a physician. As required by legislation, in order to be eligible 
for certification physical therapists must have either: 

• completed a doctor of physical therapy program 
approved by the American Physical Therapy 
Association, 

• completed a Board recognized transitional program 
in physical therapy or 

• worked as a physical therapist for at least three years 
(post-licensure) and have evidence of 15 hours of 
continuing education in medical screening and/or 
differential diagnosis. 

Physical therapists who want to keep their certification 
current must use four of the 30 hours of continuing education 
that they are required to complete biennially to take "courses 
related to clinical practice in a direct access setting". The fee 
for initial certification in these proposed regulations is $75; 
this will replace the $100 fee that currently must be paid 
under emergency regulations. The fee for biennial renewal of 
certification is $35 and the fee for late renewal is an 
additional $15.  In addition to setting certification 
requirements and fees, legislation and these proposed 
regulations require physical therapists providing direct access 
services to have their patients sign a Board approved form. 
This form outlines the patient’s responsibility to see a doctor 
if care is needed for more than 14 days and allows the 
physical therapist to release medical records to the patient’s 
doctor. 

The Department of Health Profession (DHP) reports that most 
physical therapists likely already meet one of the criteria for 
certification.  Since 2004, all accredited physical therapy 
education programs in Virginia have only offered doctoral 
degrees in physical therapy; all physical therapists who have 
graduated from a Virginia program since that time are 
automatically eligible for certification.  Any interested 
individuals who graduated from an accredited program in 
Virginia before 2004, and did not receive a doctoral degree, 
will likely have three years of active practice; these 
individuals will be eligible to apply for certification 
immediately if they have the required continuing education. If 
these individuals haven’t completed the requisite continuing 
education, they will need to take 15 hours of classes before 
they could apply for certification. 

Any interested individuals who received their education in the 
last three years from one of the 21 accredited programs nation 
wide that still offer a master’s degree in physical therapy (or 
individuals who were licensed before 2004 but have not 
actively practiced for three years since then) will have to 
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either work in active practice for three years before applying 
for certification or attend a transitional program. DHP reports 
that transitional programs allow individuals who already have 
a master’s degree in physical therapy to earn a doctoral 
degree.  These programs typically require approximately 
three years of part time schooling to complete. Individuals 
who choose to complete a transitional program will incur 
costs for tuition, books and time spent completing classes 
either on-line and/or at the physical location of the physical 
therapy program.  Because transitional physical therapy 
doctoral programs are part time, licensed physical therapists 
would likely have the time to continue working while they 
complete their education.  In any case, direct access 
certification is not required for physical therapy licensure so 
physical therapists will likely only choose to become certified 
if they expect the benefits of doing so to exceed the costs. 

Physical therapists who choose to pursue direct access 
certification may see their patient base increase if patients 
choose to seek direct access services instead of seeing a 
physician (for problems that turn out to be short lived).  If this 
occurs, physical therapists will likely increase their revenues. 
Individuals with health issues that may be treated through 
physical therapy will likely benefit from these legislative and 
regulatory changes because they will have more choice in 
how they are treated and who they see for treatment.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulations 
will affect all physical therapists who choose to pursue direct 
access certification. DHP reports that, to date, 72 of the 4,757 
physical therapists currently licensed by the Commonwealth 
have applied for certification. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. If a significant percentage 
of individuals who would benefit from short term physical 
therapy choose to directly access those services, demand for 
physical therapist services may increase. If this occurs, more 
individuals may choose to pursue careers in physical therapy. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 
extent that direct access certification increases the profits for 
physical therapists in private practice, the value of their 
practices will increase.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DHP does not 
know how many licensed physical therapists practice 
privately and would qualify as small businesses.  Any 
physical therapists who do qualify as small businesses, and 
who choose to pursue direct access certification, will incur 
costs discussed above.  Physical therapists will likely only 
choose to become certified if they expect the benefits of 
doing so to exceed the costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The rules for this certification program are 

largely set through legislation.  There are likely no changes 
that could be made to these proposed regulations that would 
further minimize costs. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Physical 
Therapy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget for amendments to 18VAC112-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy, 
relating to requirements for direct access certification. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) establish the qualifications 
and application requirements for certification in direct 
access; (ii) set out the responsibility for the physical 
therapist to obtain the medical release and patient consent 
required by the statute; (iii) establish a biennial renewal of 
certification with continuing education hours; and (iv) 
establish the fees for direct access certification. 

Pursuant to Chapter 18 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly, 
emergency regulations establishing requirements for 
certification in direct access care are currently in effect, 
but will expire October 31, 2008. 
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18VAC112-20-81. Requirements for direct access 
certification. 

A. An applicant for certification to provide services to 
patients without a referral as specified in §54.1-3482.1 of the 
Code of Virginia shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a 
physical therapist in Virginia and shall submit evidence 
satisfactory to the board that he has one of the following 
qualifications: 

1. Completion of a doctor of physical therapy program 
approved by the American Physical Therapy Association; 

2. Completion of a transitional program in physical therapy 
as recognized by the board; or 

3. At least three years of postlicensure, active practice with 
evidence of 15 contact hours of continuing education in 
medical screening or differential diagnosis, including 
passage of a postcourse examination. The required 
continuing education shall be offered by a provider or 
sponsor listed as approved by the board in 18VAC112-20-
131 and may be face-to-face or online education courses. 

B. In addition to the evidence of qualification for 
certification required in subsection A of this section, an 
applicant seeking direct access certification shall submit to 
the board: 

1. A completed application as provided by the board; 

2. Any additional documentation as may be required by the 
board to determine eligibility of the applicant; and 

3. The application fee as specified in 18VAC112-20-150. 

18VAC112-20-90. General responsibilities. 

A. The physical therapist shall be responsible for managing 
all aspects of the physical therapy care of each patient and 
shall provide: 

1. The initial evaluation for each patient and its 
documentation in the patient record; and 

2. Periodic evaluations prior to patient discharge, including 
documentation of the patient's response to therapeutic 
intervention. 

B. The physical therapist shall communicate the overall plan 
of care to the patient or his legally authorized representative 
and shall also communicate with a referring doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, or dental 
surgery, nurse practitioner or physician assistant to the extent 
required by §54.1-3482 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. A physical therapist assistant may assist the physical 
therapist in performing selected components of physical 
therapy intervention to include treatment, measurement and 
data collection, but not to include the performance of an 
evaluation as defined in 18VAC112-20-10. 

D. A physical therapist assistant's visits to a patient may be 
made under general supervision. 

E. A physical therapist providing services with a direct 
access certification as specified in §54.1-3482 of the Code of 
Virginia shall utilize the Direct Access Patient Attestation and 
Medical Release Form prescribed by the board or otherwise 
include in the patient record the information, attestation and 
written consent required by subsection B of §54.1-3482 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

18VAC112-20-130. Biennial renewal of license and 
certification. 

A. A physical therapist and physical therapist assistant who 
intends to continue practice shall renew his license biennially 
by December 31 in each even-numbered year and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC112-20-150. 

B. A licensee whose licensure has not been renewed by the 
first day of the month following the month in which renewal 
is required shall pay a late fee as prescribed in 18VAC112-
20-150. 

C. In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall be 
required to: 

1. Complete a minimum of 160 hours of active practice in 
the preceding two years; and 

2. Comply with continuing competency requirements set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

D. In order to renew a direct access certification, a licensee 
shall be required to: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a physical 
therapist; and 

2. Comply with continuing education requirements set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-131 I. 

18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active license biennially after 
December 31, 2003, a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant shall complete at least 30 contact hours of 
continuing learning activities within the two years 
immediately preceding renewal. In choosing continuing 
learning activities or courses, the licensee shall consider the 
following: (i) the need to promote ethical practice, (ii) an 
appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient safety, (iv) 
application of new medical technology, (v) appropriate 
communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge of the 
changing health care system. 

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 
maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 
Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 
completion of the following: 
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1. A minimum of 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 10 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 face-to-face 
courses. For the purpose of this section, "course" means an 
organized program of study, classroom experience or 
similar educational experience that is directly related to the 
clinical practice of physical therapy and approved or 
provided by one of the following organizations or any of 
its components: 

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association; 

b. The American Physical Therapy Association; 

c. Local, state or federal government agencies; 

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities; 

e. Health care organizations accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations (JCAHO); 

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 
Continuing Medical Education course; and  

g. The National Athletic Trainers Association. 

2. No more than 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 20 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 
courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 
organization but which shall be related to the clinical 
practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 
but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 
independent study, and research or writing on subjects 
related to practice. 

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 
American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 
as evidence of completion of continuing competency 
requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 
or recertification occurs. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 
competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 
following the date of initial licensure in Virginia. 

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 
form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 
years following the renewal of an active license. 

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 
board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 
Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 
documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 
audit. 

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 
the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 
continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 
prior to the renewal date. 

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 
licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 
service, or officially declared disasters. 

I. Physical therapists holding certification to provide direct 
access without a referral shall include four contact hours as 
part of the required 30 contact hours of continuing education 
in courses related to clinical practice in a direct access setting. 

18VAC112-20-150. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Licensure by examination. 

1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist 
and $100 for a physical therapist assistant. 

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 
paid directly to the examination services. 

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by 
endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 
for a physical therapist assistant. 

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement. 

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical 
therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant 
shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in each 
even-numbered year. From January 1, 2006, through 
December 31, 2006, the fee for active license renewal fee 
shall be $60 for a physical therapist and $30 for a physical 
therapist assistant. 

2. A fee of $25 for a physical therapist assistant and $50 
for a physical therapist for processing a late renewal within 
one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal 
fee. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 
for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist 
and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be 
submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

E. Other fees. 

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license 
that has been revoked shall be $1,000. 

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another jurisdiction shall be $10. 
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F. Direct access certification fees. 

1. The application fee shall be $75 for a physical therapist 
to obtain certification to provide services without a 
referral. 

2. The fee for renewal on a direct access certification shall 
be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in each even-
numbered year. 

3. A fee of $15 for processing a late renewal of 
certification within one renewal cycle shall be paid in 
addition to the renewal fee. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Application for Licensure by Examination to Practice 
Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist or a Physical 
Therapist Assistant (rev. 7/04) 9/07). 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice 
Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist or a Physical 
Therapist Assistant (rev. 7/04) 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice 
Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist or a Physical 
Therapist Assistant (rev. 7/04) 8/07). 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of an American/Approved Program) (rev. 8/05) 8/07). 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of a Non-American/Nonapproved Program) (rev. 8/05) 8/07). 

Instructions for Licensure by Examination to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of an American/Approved Program) (rev. 8/05) 8/07). 

Instructions for Licensure by Examination to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of a Non-American/Nonapproved Program) (rev. 8/05) 8/07). 

Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Licensure 
Application for Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist 
Assistant (rev. 7/04) 2/05). 

Score Transfer Request Application (rev. 5/03). 

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization (rev. 
7/04) 8/07). 

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization (1,000-
hour traineeship) (rev. 7/04) 8/07). 

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization, 
Relicensure (480-hour traineeship) (rev. 7/04) 8/07). 

Form #A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 7/04). 

Form #B, Employment/Practice Verification of Physical 
Therapy (rev. 7/04). 

Form #C, Verification of State Licensure (rev. 7/04). 

Form #L, Certificate of Physical Therapy Education (rev. 
7/04) 4/07). 

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/04). 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 
7/04) 10/06). 

Instructions for Direct Access Certification (eff. 8/07). 

Application for Direct Access Certification (eff. 8/07). 

Patient Attestation and Medical Release Form for Physical 
Therapy Treatment (eff. 7/07). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-857; Filed July 14, 2008, 3:06 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING  

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 
(amending 18VAC115-20-10, 18VAC115-20-45, 
18VAC115-20-49, 18VAC115-20-51, 18VAC115-20-52, 
repealing 18VAC115-20-120). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-
10, 18VAC115-50-40, 18VAC115-50-55, 18VAC115-50-
60). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 
(amending 18VAC115-60-10, 18VAC115-60-50, 
18VAC115-60-70, 18VAC115-60-80). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The board has amended existing regulations for 
supervision and residency to (i) address what constitutes 
professional training for an approved supervisor, (ii) 
remove contradictory and burdensome language regarding 
face-to-face supervision, and (iii) require registration of 
supervisors regardless of the exemption/nonexempt setting. 
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Further, the board has amended existing regulations 
regarding requirements for licensure by endorsement to 
allow for greater portability of licensure from state to 
state. The regulations include language that will allow for 
the issuance of a license by endorsement to any individual 
who qualifies for such license pursuant to having met the 
qualifications for licensure in another state and 
demonstrated competency by practice for at least five of 
the past six years. The credentials for licensure that are 
filed with a board-recognized credentials registry, such as 
that of the American Association of State Counseling 
Boards, would be acceptable for licensure by endorsement. 

In the adoption of the final regulations, the board 
reinstated recognition of CORE-approved programs for 
meeting degree requirements and added flexibility to the 
requirement for residencies by changing the maximum 
number of hours of supervision that could be counted in 40 
hours of work experience from two to four hours. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC115-20-10.  Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the meaning ascribed to them in §54.1-3500 of the 
Code of Virginia:  

"Appraisal activities"  

"Board"  

"Counseling"  

"Counseling treatment intervention"  

"Professional counselor"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 
official application and paid the application fee for licensure 
as a professional counselor.  

"CACREP" means Council for Accreditation of Counseling 
and Related Educational Programs.  

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 
satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 
requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by 
the board to sit for its examinations.  

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 
possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 
the clinical setting.  

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 
Marriage and Family Therapy Education. 

[ "CORE" means Council on Rehabilitation Education.  ] 

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 
licensure is not required to engage in the practice of 
counseling according to the conditions set forth in §54.1-3501 
of the Code of Virginia.  

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 
supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 
provided by a qualified supervisor.  

"Internship" means supervised, planned, practical, advanced 
experience obtained in the clinical setting, observing and 
applying the principles, methods and techniques learned in 
training or educational settings.  

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province or 
country which has granted a professional certificate or license 
to practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold 
oneself out as a practitioner of that profession.  

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting which does not meet 
the conditions of exemption from the requirements of 
licensure to engage in the practice of counseling as set forth 
in §54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 
accreditation agencies recognized by the United States 
Secretary of Education responsible for accrediting senior 
postsecondary institutions.  

"Residency" means a post-internship, supervised, clinical 
experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 
supervisory contract and has received board approval to 
provide clinical services in professional counseling under 
supervision.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 
supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 
supervised and provides regular, documented face-to-face 
individual or group consultation, guidance and instruction 
with respect to the clinical skills and competencies of the 
person supervised.  

18VAC115-20-45. Prerequisites for licensure by 
endorsement. 

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 
submit in one package the following: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing fee; 

3. Verification of all professional licenses or certificates 
ever held in any other jurisdiction. In order to qualify for 
endorsement the applicant shall have no unresolved action 
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against a license or certificate. The board will consider 
history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis; 

4. Documentation of having completed education and 
experience requirements substantially equivalent to those 
in effect in Virginia at the time of initial licensure as 
verified by an official transcript and a certified copy of the 
original application materials as specified in subsection B 
of this section; 

5. Verification of a passing score on a licensure 
examination in the jurisdiction in which licensure was 
obtained; and  

6. An affidavit of having read and understood the 
regulations and laws governing the practice of professional 
counseling in Virginia.  

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 
one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 
in 18VAC115-20-49 and 18VAC115-20-51 and experience 
requirements consistent with those specified in 
18VAC115-20-52; or  

2. If an applicant does not have educational and experience 
credentials consistent with those required by this chapter, 
he shall provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised 
experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 
in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 
official transcript and a certified copy of the original 
application materials; and  

b. Evidence of clinical practice for five of the last six 
years immediately preceding his licensure application in 
Virginia.  

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 
documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 
may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 
American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 
other board-recognized entity. 

18VAC115-20-49. Degree program requirements.  

A. Programs that are approved by CACREP [ or CORE ] are 
recognized as meeting the definition of graduate degree 
programs that prepare individuals to practice counseling and 
counseling treatment intervention as defined in §54.1-3500 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

B. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 
from a program that prepares individuals to practice 
counseling and counseling treatment intervention, as defined 
in §54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia, which is offered by a 
college or university accredited by a regional accrediting 
agency and which meets the following criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 
expressed intent to prepare counselors as documented by 
the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable counselor training faculty 
and an identifiable body of students who complete that 
sequence of academic study; and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 
primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

18VAC115-20-51. Coursework requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed 60 semester hours or 
90 quarter hours of graduate study in the following core areas 
with a minimum of three semester hours or 4.5 4.0 quarter 
hours in each of the areas identified in subdivisions 1 through 
12 of this subsection:  

1. Professional identity, function and ethics;  

2. Theories of counseling and psychotherapy;  

3. Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

4. Human growth and development;  

5. Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and 
techniques;  

6. Career counseling and development theories and 
techniques;  

7. Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;  

8. Abnormal behavior and psychopathology;  

9. Multicultural counseling, theories and techniques;  

10. Research;  

11. Diagnosis and treatment of addictive disorders;  

12. Marriage and family systems theory; and  

13. Supervised internship of 600 hours to include 240 
hours of face-to-face client contact.  

B. If 60 graduate hours in counseling were completed prior 
to April 12, 2000, the board may accept those hours if they 
meet the regulations in effect at the time the 60 hours were 
completed.  

18VAC115-20-52. Residency.  

A. Registration.  

1. Applicants who render counseling services in a 
nonexempt setting shall:  

a. With their supervisor, register their supervisory 
contract on the appropriate forms for board approval 
before starting to practice under supervision;  

b. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 
graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-20-49 to 
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include completion of the internship requirement 
specified in 18VAC115-20-50 or 18VAC115-20-51; and  

c. Pay the registration fee.  

2. Applicants After [ (effective date of regulations) 
September 3, 2008 ], applicants who are beginning their 
residencies in exempt settings may shall register 
supervision with the board to assure acceptability at the 
time of application.  

B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant for licensure shall have completed a 
4,000-hour supervised residency in counseling practice 
with various populations, clinical problems and theoretical 
approaches in the following areas:  

a. Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

b. Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;  

c. Treatment planning and implementation;  

d. Case management and recordkeeping;  

e. Professional identity and function; and  

f. Professional ethics and standards of practice.  

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 
face-to-face sessions supervision between supervisor and 
resident occurring at a minimum of one hour and a 
maximum of [ two four ] hours per 20 40 hours of work 
experience during the period of the residency. No more 
than half of these hours may be satisfied with group 
supervision. One hour of group supervision will be deemed 
equivalent to one hour of face-to-face individual 
supervision. Face-to-face supervision Supervision that is 
not coincident concurrent with a residency will not be 
accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in the 
absence of approved face-to-face supervision.  

3. The residency shall include 2,000 hours of face-to-face 
client contact.  

4. A graduate-level internship completed in a program that 
meets the requirements set forth in 18VAC115-20-49 may 
count for no more than 600 hours of the required 4,000 
hours of experience. The internship shall include 20 hours 
of face-to-face individual on-site supervision, and 20 hours 
of face-to-face individual or group off-site supervision. In 
order to count toward the residency, internship hours shall 
not begin until completion of 30 semester hours toward the 
graduate degree.  

5. A graduate-level degree internship completed in a 
CACREP- [ , CORE- ] or CORE-approved COAMFTE-
approved program in mental health counseling may count 
for no more than 900 of the required 4,000 hours of 
experience.  

6. In order for any graduate-level internship to be counted 
toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty supervisor 
shall be licensed as set forth in subsection C of this section.  

7. The board may consider special requests in the event 
that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 
geography or disability which limits the resident's access to 
qualified supervision.  

8. For applicants enrolled in an integrated course of study 
in an accredited institution leading to a graduate degree 
beyond the master's level, supervised experience may 
begin after the completion of 30 graduate semester hours 
or 45 graduate quarter hours, including an internship, and 
shall include graduate course work in the core areas as 
prescribed in 18VAC115-20-50 or 18VAC115-20-51.  

9. Residents may not call themselves professional 
counselors, directly bill for services rendered, or in any 
way represent themselves as independent, autonomous 
practitioners or professional counselors. During the 
residency, residents shall use their names and the initials of 
their degree, and the title "Resident in Counseling" in all 
written communications. Clients shall be informed in 
writing of the resident's status and the supervisor's name, 
professional address, and phone number.  

10. Residents shall not engage in practice under 
supervision in any areas for which they have not had 
appropriate education.  

C. Supervisory requirements qualifications. A person who 
provides supervision for a resident in professional counseling 
shall document: 

1. Document two years of post-licensure clinical 
experience; have 

2. Have received professional training in supervision, 
consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 
graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 
hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 
provider approved under 18VAC115-20-106 (Persons who 
have provided supervision for a residency prior to 
[ (effective date of regulations) September 3, 2008, ] shall 
complete such coursework or continuing education by 
[ (two years from the effective date of regulations) 
September 3, 2010 ] ; and shall be licensed 

3. Shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a 
professional counselor, marriage and family therapist, 
substance abuse treatment practitioner, school 
psychologist, clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, 
or psychiatrist in the jurisdiction where the supervision is 
being provided. At least one-half 100 hours of the 
individual face-to-face supervision shall be rendered by a 
licensed professional counselor.  

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 
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1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 
resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 
prohibited.  

2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 
responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 
specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 
the residency.  

3. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 
given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 

4. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 
and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in the six 
areas stated in subdivision B 1 of this section. 

D E. Applicants shall document successful completion of 
their residency on the Verification of Supervision Form at the 
time of application. Applicants must receive a satisfactory 
competency evaluation on each item on the evaluation sheet. 
Supervised experience obtained prior to April 12, 2000, may 
be accepted toward licensure if this supervised experience 
met the board's requirements which were in effect at the time 
the supervision was rendered.  

Part V  
Advisory Committees  

18VAC115-20-120. Advisory committees. (Repealed.) 

A. The board may establish examining and advisory 
committees to assist it in evaluating candidates for licensure.  

B. The board may establish an advisory committee to 
evaluate the mental and emotional competence of any 
licensee or candidate for licensure when such competence is 
in issue before the board.  

Part VI V 
Standards of Practice; Unprofessional Conduct; Disciplinary 

Actions; Reinstatement 

18VAC115-50-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the meaning ascribed to them in §54.1-3500 of the 
Code of Virginia: (i) "board," (ii) "marriage and family 
therapy," (iii) "marriage and family therapist," and (iv) 
"practice of marriage and family therapy."  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 
Counseling and Related Education Programs.  

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 
Marriage and Family Therapy Education.  

"Internship" means a supervised, planned, practical, 
advanced experience obtained in the clinical setting observing 

and applying the principles, methods and techniques learned 
in training or educational settings.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 
accreditation agencies recognized by the United States 
Secretary of Education as responsible for accrediting senior 
post-secondary institutions and training programs.  

"Residency" means a post-internship, supervised clinical 
experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 
supervisory contract to the board and has received board 
approval to provide clinical services in marriage and family 
therapy under supervision.  

"Supervision" means an ongoing process performed by a 
supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 
supervised and provides regular, documented, face-to-face 
individual or group consultation, guidance, and instruction 
with respect to the clinical skills and competencies of the 
person or persons being supervised.  

18VAC115-50-40. Application for licensure by 
endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 
submit in one package:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee 
prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20; and  

3. Documentation of licensure as follows:  

a. Verification of all professional licenses or certificates 
ever held in any other jurisdiction. In order to qualify for 
endorsement the applicant shall have no unresolved 
action against a license or certificate. The board will 
consider history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case 
basis; 

a b. Documentation of a current marriage and family 
therapy license in good standing obtained by standards 
substantially equivalent to those outlined in 18VAC115-
50-50, 18VAC115-50-55, 18VAC115-50-60 and 
18VAC115-50-70 as verified by a current official 
transcript and certified copy of the original application 
materials specified in subsection B of this section; or 

b c. If currently holding an unrestricted license as a 
professional counselor in Virginia, documentation of 
successful completion of the requirements set forth in 
18VAC115-50-50, 18VAC115-50-55 and 18VAC115-
50-60. 

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 
one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 
in 18VAC115-50-50 and 18VAC115-50-55 and experience 
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requirements consistent with those specified in 
18VAC115-50-60; or  

2. If an applicant does not have educational and experience 
credentials consistent with those required by this chapter, 
he shall provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised 
experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 
in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 
official transcript and a certified copy of the original 
application materials; and  

b. Evidence of clinical practice for five of the last six 
years immediately preceding his licensure application in 
Virginia.  

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 
documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 
may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 
American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 
other board-recognized entity. 

18VAC115-50-55. Course work requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed 60 semester hours or 
90 quarter hours of graduate study in the following core areas 
with a minimum of six semester hours or nine quarter hours 
completed in each of core areas identified in subdivisions 1 
and 2 of this subsection, and three semester hours or 4.5 4.0 
quarter hours in each of the core areas identified in 
subdivisions 3 through 6 of this subsection (suggested courses 
are listed in parentheses after each core area):  

1. Marriage and family studies (marital and family 
development; family systems theory);  

2. Marriage and family therapy (systemic therapeutic 
interventions and application of major theoretical 
approaches);  

3. Human development (theories of counseling; 
psychotherapy techniques with individuals; human growth 
and lifespan development; personality theory; 
psychopathology; human sexuality; multicultural issues);  

4. Professional studies (professional identity and function; 
ethical and legal issues);  

5. Research (research methods; quantitative methods; 
statistics);  

6. Assessment and treatment (appraisal, assessment and 
diagnostic procedures); and  

7. Supervised internship of 600 hours to include 240 hours 
of direct client contact. Three hundred of the internship 
hours and 120 of the direct client contact hours shall be 
with couples and families.  

B. If the graduate hours in marriage and family therapy were 
begun prior to January 19, 2000, the board may accept those 

hours if they meet the requirements which were in effect on 
July 9, 1997.  

18VAC115-50-60. Residency.  

A. Registration.  

1. Applicants who render counseling services in a 
nonexempt setting shall:  

a. With their supervisor, register their supervisory 
contract on the appropriate forms for board approval 
before starting to practice under supervision;  

b. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 
graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-50-50 to 
include completion of the internship requirement 
specified in 18VAC115-50-55; and  

c. Pay the registration fee.  

2. Applicants After [ (effective date of regulations) 
September 3, 2008 ], applicants who are beginning their 
residencies in exempt settings may shall register 
supervision with the board to assure acceptability at the 
time of application.   

B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant shall have completed at least two years of 
supervised post-graduate degree experience, representing 
no fewer than 4,000 hours of supervised work experience, 
to include 200 hours of face-to-face supervision with the 
supervisor in the practice of marriage and family therapy. 
Residents shall receive a minimum of one hour and a 
maximum of [ two four ] hours of face-to-face supervision 
for every 20 40 hours of supervised work experience. No 
more than 100 hours of the supervision may be acquired 
through group supervision, with the group consisting of no 
more than six residents. One hour of group supervision will 
be deemed equivalent to one hour of face-to-face 
individual supervision.  

2. Of the 4,000 hours stipulated, at least 2,000 hours must 
be acquired in direct client contact of which 1,000 hours 
shall be with couples or families or both.  

3. The residency shall consist of practice in the core areas 
set forth in 18VAC115-50-55.  

4. The residency shall begin after the completion of a 
master's degree in marriage and family therapy or a related 
discipline as set forth in 18VAC115-50-50.  

5. A graduate-level internship completed in a program that 
meets the requirements set forth in 18VAC115-50-50 may 
count for no more than 600 of the required 4,000 hours of 
experience. The internship shall include 20 hours of face-
to-face individual on-site supervision, and 20 hours of 
face-to-face individual or group off-site supervision. 
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Internship hours shall not begin until completion of 30 
semester hours toward the graduate degree.  

6. A graduate-level degree internship completed in a 
COAMFTE-approved program or a CACREP-approved 
program in marriage and family counseling/therapy may 
count for no more than 900 of the required 4,000 hours of 
experience. 

6. 7. In order for a graduate level internship to be counted 
toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty supervisor 
shall be licensed as set forth in subsection C of this section.  

7. 8. Residents shall not call themselves marriage and 
family therapists, solicit clients, bill for services rendered 
or in any way represent themselves as marriage and family 
therapists. During the residency, they may use their names, 
the initials of their degree and the title "Resident in 
Marriage and Family Therapy." Clients shall be informed 
in writing of the resident's status, along with the name, 
address and telephone number of the resident's supervisor.  

8. 9. Residents shall not engage in practice under 
supervision in any areas for which they do not have 
appropriate education.  

9. 10. Residents who do not become candidates for 
licensure after five years of supervised training shall 
submit an explanation to the board stating reasons the 
residency should be allowed to continue.  

C. Supervisory requirements qualifications. 1. A person who 
provides supervision for a resident in marriage and family 
therapy shall: be licensed  

[ a. 1. ] Hold an active, unrestricted license as a marriage 
and family therapist, professional counselor, clinical 
psychologist, clinical social worker or psychiatrist in the 
jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided. ; 

[ b. 2. ] Supervisors shall document Document two years 
post-licensure marriage and family therapy experience; and 

[ c. 3. ] Have received professional training in supervision, 
consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 
graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 
hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 
provider approved under 18VAC115-50-96. Persons who 
have provided supervision for a residency prior to 
[ (effective date of regulations) September 3, 2008, ] shall 
complete such coursework or continuing education by 
[ (two years from the effective date of regulations) 
September 3, 2010 ] . 

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 
given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 
The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency and 
evaluate the applicant's competency to the board.  

2. Supervision by an individual whose relationship to the 
resident is deemed by the board to compromise the 
objectivity of the supervisor is prohibited.  

3. The supervisor shall assume full responsibility for the 
clinical activities of residents as specified within the 
supervisory contract, for the duration of the residency.   

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC115-60-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the meaning ascribed to them in §54.1-3500 of the 
Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner"  

"Substance abuse"  

"Substance abuse treatment"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 
official application and paid the application fee for licensure 
as a substance abuse treatment practitioner.  

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 
Counseling and Related Education Programs.  

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 
satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 
requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by 
the board to sit for its examinations.  

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 
Marriage and Family Therapy Education.  

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 
possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 
the clinical setting.  

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 
licensure is not required to engage in the practice of substance 
abuse treatment according to the conditions set forth in §54.1-
3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 
supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 
provided by a qualified supervisor.  

"Internship" means supervised, planned, practical, advanced 
experience obtained in the clinical setting, observing and 
applying the principles, methods and techniques learned in 
training or educational settings.  

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province or 
country which has granted a professional certificate or license 
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to practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold 
oneself out as a practitioner of that profession.  

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting which does not meet 
the conditions of exemption from the requirements of 
licensure to engage in the practice of substance abuse 
treatment as set forth in §54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 
accreditation agencies recognized by the United States 
Secretary of Education responsible for accrediting senior 
postsecondary institutions.  

"Residency" means a post-internship, supervised, clinical 
experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 
supervisory contract and has received board approval to 
provide clinical services in substance abuse treatment under 
supervision.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 
supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 
supervised and provides regular, documented face-to-face 
individual or group consultation, guidance and instruction 
with respect to the clinical skills and competencies of the 
person supervised.  

18VAC115-60-50. Prerequisites for licensure by 
endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 
submit in one package:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee;  

3. Verification of all professional licenses or certificates 
ever held in any other jurisdiction. In order to qualify for 
endorsement, the applicant shall have no unresolved 
disciplinary action against a license or certificate. The 
board will consider history of disciplinary action on a case-
by-case basis;  

4. Further documentation of one of the following:  

a. A current substance abuse treatment license in good 
standing in another jurisdiction obtained by meeting 
requirements substantially equivalent to those set forth in 
this chapter; or  

b. A mental health license in good standing in a category 
acceptable to the board which required completion of a 
master's degree in mental health to include 60 graduate 
semester hours in mental health; and  

(1) Board-recognized national certification in substance 
abuse treatment;  

(2) If the master's degree was in substance abuse 
treatment, two years of post-licensure experience in 
providing substance abuse treatment;  

(3) If the master's degree was not in substance abuse 
treatment, five years of post-licensure experience in 
substance abuse treatment plus 12 credit hours of didactic 
training in the substance abuse treatment competencies 
set forth in 18VAC115-60-70 C; or  

(4) Current substance abuse counselor certification in 
Virginia in good standing or a Virginia substance abuse 
treatment specialty licensure designation with two years 
of post-licensure or certification substance abuse 
treatment experience;  

c. Documentation of education and supervised 
experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 
in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 
official transcript and a certified copy of the original 
application materials and evidence of clinical practice for 
five of the last six years immediately preceding his 
licensure application in Virginia.  

5. Verification of a passing score on a licensure 
examination as established by the jurisdiction in which 
licensure was obtained;  

6. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 
completion of the education requirements prescribed in 
18VAC115-60-60 and 18VAC115-60-70; and  

7. An affidavit of having read and understood the 
regulations and laws governing the practice of substance 
abuse treatment in Virginia. 

B. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 
documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 
may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 
American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 
other board-recognized entity.  

18VAC115-60-70. Course work requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed 60 semester hours or 
90 quarter hours of graduate study.  

B. The applicant shall have completed a general core 
curriculum containing a minimum of three semester hours or 
4.5 4.0 quarter hours in each of the areas identified in this 
section:  

1. Professional identity, function and ethics;  

2. Theories of counseling and psychotherapy;  

3. Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

4. Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and 
techniques;  

5. Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;  
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6. Abnormal behavior and psychopathology;  

7. Multicultural counseling, theories and techniques;  

8. Research; and  

9. Marriage and family systems theory.  

C. The applicant shall also have completed 12 graduate 
semester credit hours or 18 graduate quarter hours in the 
following substance abuse treatment competencies.  

1. Assessment, appraisal, evaluation and diagnosis specific 
to substance abuse;  

2. Treatment planning models, client case management, 
interventions and treatments to include relapse prevention, 
referral process, step models and documentation process;  

3. Understanding addictions: The biochemical, 
sociocultural and psychological factors of substance use 
and abuse;  

4. Addictions and special populations including, but not 
limited to, adolescents, women, ethnic groups and the 
elderly; and  

5. Client and community education.  

D. The applicant shall have completed a supervised 
internship of 600 hours to include 240 hours of direct client 
contact. At least 450 of the internship hours and 200 of the 
direct client contact hours shall be in treating substance 
abuse-specific treatment problems.  

E. One course may satisfy study in more than one content 
area set forth in subsections B and C of this section.  

18VAC115-60-80. Residency. 

A. Registration. Applicants who render substance abuse 
treatment services in a nonexempt setting shall: 

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 
on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 
to practice under supervision; 

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 
graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-60-60 to 
include completion of the internship requirement specified 
in 18VAC115-60-70; and 

3. Pay the registration fee. 

B. Applicants After [ (effective date of regulations) 
September 3, 2008 ], applicants who are beginning their 
residencies in exempt settings may shall register supervision 
with the board to assure acceptability at the time of 
application. 

C. Residency requirements. 

1. The applicant for licensure shall have completed a 4,000 
hour supervised residency in substance abuse treatment 

with various populations, clinical problems and theoretical 
approaches in the following areas:  

a. Clinical evaluation; 

b. Treatment planning, documentation and 
implementation; 

c. Referral and service coordination; 

d. Individual and group counseling and case 
management; 

e. Client family and community education; and 

f. Professional and ethical responsibility. 

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 
face-to-face sessions supervision between supervisor and 
resident occurring at [ a ] minimum of one hour and a 
maximum of [ two four ] hours per 20 40 hours of work 
experience during the period of the residency. No more 
than half of these hours may be satisfied with group 
supervision. One hour of group supervision will be deemed 
equivalent to one hour of face-to-face individual 
supervision. Face-to-face supervision Supervision that is 
not coincident concurrent with a residency will not be 
accepted, nor will residency hours [ be ] accrued in the 
absence of approved face-to-face supervision. 

3. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-
to-face client contact with individuals, families or groups 
of individuals suffering from the effects of substance abuse 
or dependence.  

4. A graduate level degree internship completed in a 
program that meets the requirements set forth in 
18VAC115-60-70 may count for no more than 600 hours 
of the required 4,000 hours of experience. The internship 
shall include 20 hours of face-to-face individual on-site 
supervision, and 20 hours of face-to-face individual or 
group off-site supervision. Internship hours shall not begin 
until completion of 30 semester hours toward the graduate 
degree.  

5. A graduate-level degree internship completed in a 
COAMFTE- or CACREP-approved program may count 
for no more than 900 of the required 4,000 hours of 
experience. 

5. 6. In order for a graduate level internship to be counted 
toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty supervisor 
shall be licensed as set forth in subsection D of this section. 

6. 7. The board may consider special requests in the event 
that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 
geography or disability which limits the resident's access to 
qualified supervision.  

7. 8. Residents may not call themselves substance abuse 
treatment practitioners, directly bill for services rendered, 
or in any way represent themselves as independent, 
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autonomous practitioners or substance abuse treatment 
practitioners. During the residency, residents shall use their 
names and the initials of their degree, and the title 
"Resident in Substance Abuse Treatment" in all written 
communications. Clients shall be informed in writing of 
the resident's status, the supervisor's name, professional 
address, and telephone number.  

8. 9. Residents shall not engage in practice under 
supervision in any areas for which they have not had 
appropriate education.  

D. Supervisory requirements qualifications.  

1. A person who provides supervision for a resident in 
substance abuse treatment shall be licensed hold an active, 
unrestricted license as a professional counselor, marriage 
and family therapist, substance abuse treatment 
practitioner, school psychologist, clinical psychologist, 
clinical social worker, clinical nurse specialist or 
psychiatrist in the jurisdiction where the supervision is 
being provided.  

2. All supervisors shall document two years post-licensure 
substance abuse treatment experience, 100 hours of 
didactic instruction in substance abuse treatment, and 
training or experience in supervision. Within three years of 
January 19, 2000, supervisors must document a three-
credit-hour course in supervision, a 4.0-quarter-hour course 
in supervision, or at least 20 hours of continuing education 
in supervision offered by a provider approved under 
18VAC115-60-116.  

E. Supervisory responsibilities. 

3. 1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to 
the resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor 
is prohibited.  

4. 2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 
responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 
specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 
the residency.  

5. 3. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 
given to the resident at the end of each three-month period.  

6. 4. The supervisor shall report the total hours of 
residency and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in 
the six areas stated in subdivision C 1 of this section.  

E F. Documentation of supervision. Applicants shall 
document successful completion of their residency on the 
Verification of Supervision form at the time of application. 
Applicants must receive a satisfactory competency evaluation 
on each item on the evaluation sheet. Supervised experience 
obtained prior to January 19, 2000, may be accepted towards 
licensure if this supervised experience met the board's 
requirements which were in effect at the time the supervision 
was rendered. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-287; Filed July 14, 2008, 3:05 p.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-30. Regulations Governing 
the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers 
(amending 18VAC125-30-50, 18VAC125-30-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 3, 2008 - 10 a.m. - 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor Conference Center, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on October 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4697, FAX (804) 
327-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Psychology the authority to promulgate regulations 
to administer the regulatory system. The specific statutory 
mandate for the board to establish requirements for 
mandatory certification of sex offender treatment providers is 
found in §54.1-3605 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Since courts and other institutions rely on the 
expertise of sex offender treatment providers to assess the 
mental condition of persons who are deemed as sex offenders, 
it is necessary to have a sufficient number of certified 
practitioners available, but also to ensure that those persons 
are competent, knowledgeable and current in that field. The 
purpose of the amended regulation is to recognize the 
postdegree clinical supervision an applicant has already 
attained for a mental health license if the hours were in the 
treatment and assessment of sex offender clients. 
Additionally, a practitioner who holds certification will be 
required to obtain six hours within the annual renewal period 
in topics related to the provision of sex offender treatment. 
The field of sex offender treatment is constantly evolving 
with new developments, research and theories. It is essential 
for the health and safety of the public that persons charged 
with treating these clients are current in those developments 
to provide competent care for their clients and have sufficient 
knowledge to advise courts and others of the potential danger 
a person may pose to the public. 

Substance: An ad hoc committee appointed by the board 
reviewed the petition for rulemaking to amend the regulations 
to ease the supervision requirement for licensed individuals 
attempting to become certified as sex offender treatment 
providers (SOTP) to allow some of the licensure experience 
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to be used to satisfy supervised practice requirements for the 
certification. 

Based on the committee recommendations, the board adopted 
the following: 

1. Allow licensed professionals to count toward requirements 
for certification as a SOTP the hours of supervised experience 
in working with the sex offender population within the past 
10 years by a licensed professional who will attest that he 
provided supervision only for those sex offender treatment 
services that he is qualified to render. 

2. Require that certified SOTPs complete six hours of 
continuing competency related to sex offender treatment each 
renewal year.  The six hours required to satisfy the CE 
requirement for SOTP certification may be hours that are also 
counted toward completion of a CE requirement for another 
license, provided the hours are clearly directed at the 
diagnosis and treatment of the sex offender population.  

Given that the sex offender population is potentially more 
dangerous to the health and safety of the public than the usual 
client or patient under the care of a mental health provider, 
the board has determined that additional education and 
training is essential for public protection.  However, a 
licensed mental health provider whose training and practice 
has included work with that population could be credited with 
some of the hours of supervised experience required for the 
additional certification.  In addition, the demands of treating 
sex offenders and the expansion of knowledge in the field 
were considered in review of this regulation, and the board 
concluded that some requirement for continuing education 
was necessary. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public.  The changes 
will not significantly affect the quality or amount of 
supervision one receives in gaining experience in a mental 
health field but will allow a person to credit experience for 
one license towards SOTP certification. Likewise, continuing 
education obtained for licensure as a psychologist, counselor, 
social worker, etc. will count toward the SOTP certification 
renewal if directed towards treatment of the sex offender 
population. The public should benefit from both changes to 
encourage more certified practitioners who are current in their 
knowledge and skills. There are no advantages or 
disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
current and proposed regulations require 2,000 hours of post-
degree clinical experience in the delivery of clinical 
assessment/treatment services for sex offender treatment 
provider certification.  The Board of Psychology (Board) 
proposes to allow applicants for the sex offender treatment 
provider certification who obtained supervised post-degree 
clinical experience for a mental health license within the past 

ten years to receive credit for that experience toward the 
2,000 hours required for sex offender treatment provider 
certification provided that those supervised hours were in the 
delivery of clinical assessment/treatment services with sex 
offender clients. Also, the Board proposes to require certified 
sex offender treatment providers to annually receive at least 
six hours of continuing education focusing on the treatment 
of sex offenders to qualify for certification renewal. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulations a 
clinical psychologist or other licensed mental health 
professional who has supervised experience in treatment and 
assessment with sex offender clients cannot apply those hours 
of supervised experience toward the hours of supervised 
experience required for the sex offender treatment provider 
certification. In practice, the applicant must repeat those 
supervised hours for certification. Having to repeat those 
hours provides a significant cost and deterrent to licensed 
mental health professionals who may consider seeking 
certification. There is no clear benefit to requiring these 
licensed professionals to repeat such work. Consequently 
repealing the requirement to repeat this supervised work 
provides a net benefit through reduced costs and a likely 
increase in supply of certified sex offender treatment 
providers to serve the public. 

The Board also proposes to initiate a continuing education 
requirement for annual certification renewal. Specifically, the 
Board proposes to require six hours of continuing education 
related to the treatment of sex offenders. According to the 
Department of Health Professionals, 77% of certificate 
holders already hold a mental health license. All mental 
health licenses require in excess of six hours of continuing 
education per annum that could be satisfied by continuing 
education related to the treatment of sex offenders. Thus, for 
those 77% of certificate holders the proposed continuing 
education requirement will not in practice increase the total 
number hours of continuing education they must take. The 
proposed requirement does reduce their choice in courses. It 
does seem reasonable to require that sex offender treatment 
provider certificate holders remain current in the latest 
applicable knowledge related to their certification. Data is not 
available to estimate the benefit of this requirement, but given 
the minimal cost of reduced choice the benefit likely exceeds 
the cost. 

For those 23% of certificate holders who do not also hold a 
mental health license and do not otherwise already obtain six 
hours of continuing education related to the treatment of sex 
offenders, the proposal will increase costs. More than six 
hours of applicable continuing education is available at the 
Annual Training Conference on the Management and 
Treatment of Sex Offenders in Charlottesville, which costs 
$100 for registration. Applicable training is available 
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elsewhere around the Commonwealth.1 As mentioned above, 
data is not available to estimate the benefit of the required 
continuing education, but it is likely valuable. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 358 certified sex offender treatment providers in the 
Commonwealth, as well as potential future certificate 
applicants, patients, and continuing education providers. 
Continuing education providers are typically educational 
institutions or government agencies and not small businesses. 
According to the Department of Health Professions most 
certified sex offender treatment providers work for 
government agencies. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to allow 
licensed mental health professionals to apply previous 
supervised experience toward sex offender treatment provider 
certification requirements may moderately increase the 
supply of sex offender treatment providers. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

____________________ 
1 Source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 
Psychology concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 
18VAC125-30, Regulations Governing the Certification of 
Sex Offender Treatment Providers, relating to changes in 
acceptance of supervised hours and continuing education 
requirements. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) allow credit for supervised 
hours for licensed persons who are able to document that 
those hours were working with the sex offender 
population within the past 10 years and (ii) require that 
certified sex offender treatment providers have at least 
six hours of continuing education focused on the 
treatment of that population for annual renewal. 

18VAC125-30-50. Experience requirements; supervision. 

A. An applicant for certification as a sex offender treatment 
provider shall provide documentation of having 2,000 hours 
of post-degree postdegree clinical experience in the delivery 
of clinical assessment/treatment services. At least 200 hours 
of this experience must be face-to-face treatment and 
assessment with sex offender clients. 

1. The experience shall include a minimum of 100 hours of 
face-to-face supervision within the 2,000 hours experience 
with a minimum of six hours per month. A minimum of 50 
hours shall be in individual face-to-face supervision. Face-
to-face supervision obtained in a group setting shall 
include no more than six trainees in a group. 

2. If the applicant has obtained the required postdegree 
clinical experience for a mental health license within the 
past 10 years, he can receive credit for those hours that 
were in the delivery of clinical assessment/treatment 
services with sex offender clients provided: 

a. The applicant can document that the hours were in the 
treatment and assessment with sex offender clients; and 

b. The supervisor for those hours can attest that he is 
licensed and qualified to render services to sex offender 
clients.  

B. Supervised experience obtained in Virginia without prior 
written board approval shall not be accepted toward 
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certification. Candidates shall not begin the experience until 
after completion of the required degree as set forth in 
18VAC125-30-40. An individual who proposes to obtain 
supervised post-degree postdegree experience in Virginia 
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision, submit a 
supervisory contract along with the application package and 
pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 
18VAC125-30-20. 

C. The supervisor. 

1. The supervisor shall assume responsibility for the 
professional activities of the applicant. 

2. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for 
activities for which the prospective applicant has not had 
appropriate education. 

3. The supervisor shall provide supervision only for those 
sex offender treatment services which he is qualified to 
render. 

4. At the time of formal application for certification, the 
board approved supervisor shall document for the board 
the applicant's total hours of supervision, length of work 
experience, competence in sex offender treatment and any 
needs for additional supervision or training. 

D. Registration of supervision. 

1. In order to register supervision with the board, 
individuals shall submit in one package: 

a. A completed supervisory contract; 

b. The registration fee prescribed in 18VAC125-30-20; 
and 

c. Official graduate transcript. 

2. The board may waive the registration requirement for 
individuals who have obtained at least five years 
documented work experience in sex offender treatment in 
another jurisdiction. 

E. Supervised experience obtained prior to April 10, 2002, 
may be acceptable if they met the board's requirements that 
were in effect at the time the supervision was rendered. 

Part III  
Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC125-30-80. Annual renewal of certificate. 

A. Every certificate issued by the board shall expire on June 
30 of each year. 

B. Along with the renewal application, the certified sex 
offender treatment provider shall submit: 

1. Submit the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC125-30-20; 
and 

2. Attest to having obtained six hours of continuing 
education in topics related to the provision of sex offender 
treatment within the renewal period. Continuing education 
shall be offered by a sponsor or provider approved by the 
Virginia Board of Social Work, Psychology, Counseling, 
Nursing or Medicine or by the Association for the 
Treatment of Sexual Abusers. Hours of continuing 
education used to satisfy the renewal requirements for 
another license may be used to satisfy the six-hour 
requirement for sex offender treatment provider 
certification, provided it was related to the provision of sex 
offender treatment. 

C. Certificate holders shall notify the board in writing of a 
change of address within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 
notice and application form(s) shall not excuse the certified 
sex offender treatment provider from the renewal 
requirement. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-240; Filed July 14, 2008, 3:00 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 
18VAC150-20-10, 18VAC150-20-15, 18VAC150-20-30, 
18VAC150-20-70, 18VAC150-20-115, 18VAC150-20-120, 
18VAC150-20-130, 18VAC150-20-140, 18VAC150-20-172, 
18VAC150-20-180, 18VAC150-20-181, 18VAC150-20-190, 
18VAC150-20-195, 18VAC150-20-200, 18VAC150-20-210, 
adding 18VAC150-20-121). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-3800 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 20, 2008 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on October 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Carter, Executive Director, Board 
of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 662-4426, FAX (804) 
527-4471, or email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of Chapter 24 (§54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board 
of Veterinary Medicine the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 
statutory mandate to regulate veterinary establishments is 
found in §54.1-3804 of the Code of Virginia. The specific 
statutory mandate for licensure in order to practice 
veterinarian medicine is found in §54.1-3805 of the Code of 
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Virginia and for the practice of veterinary medicine is found 
in §54.1-3800 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The board’s purpose is to update and clarify its 
regulations pursuant to recommendations from the 
Regulatory/Legislative Committee, which conducted a 
periodic review of regulations in accordance with Executive 
Order 36 (2006). 

The changes proposed are intended to protect animals in the 
Commonwealth.  For example, clarity about practice in a 
preceptorship or delegation of tasks to unlicensed persons is 
necessary to ensure that the health and safety of animals 
being treated by such persons is overseen by persons licensed 
as competent to practice. Other provisions of this section are 
clarified as necessary for licensees to understand their 
responsibilities.  While release of records is not a requirement 
of law, any failure to provide records that causes harm to an 
animal should not be acceptable.  The health and safety of 
animals treated at licensed veterinary establishments are 
dependent on maintenance of standards set by the board, so 
the board has amended those standards as necessary. 

Substance: Following its review of all provisions of Chapter 
20, the board has proposed the following revisions: 

1. Issues have been raised relating to several words and terms 
defined in 18VAC150-20-10. A "preceptorship" is defined 
but questions about its meaning and interpretation have come 
from educational programs. Additionally, the term 
"externship" is used by schools but not defined in regulation. 
The term "surgery" excludes certain "routine" procedures, but 
there may need to be further clarification about what is 
considered "routine."  Terms newly used in the regulations 
have also been defined, including "companion animal" for 
whom individual records must be maintained. 

2. In order to more fully utilize the agency subordinate 
process, the board adopted an expansion of the types of cases 
that may be delegated to an agency subordinate. The criteria 
for a subordinate was expanded to include former members of 
the board and other persons qualified to conduct 
administrative proceedings for this profession. 

3. Questions have been raised by inspectors and licensees 
about the posting requirement for ambulatory practices and 
for relief veterinarians who do not regularly practice at an 
establishment. Guidance suggested by one of the inspectors 
was incorporated into the regulation for ease of compliance 
and consistency in inspections. 

4. To further specify the renewal requirements, the board 
amended rules stating that practice with an expired or lapsed 
license may be grounds for disciplinary action and that failure 
to receive a renewal notice does not relieve the licensee of his 
responsibility to renew and maintain a current license. 

Requests to expand the acceptable topics of continuing 
education were considered to add courses that enhance safety 

for patients and staff, such as OSHA courses or medical 
recordkeeping. In the listing of approved sponsors, the board 
has added the American Association of Veterinary State 
Boards and has deleted board approval of individual sponsors 
to rely on the approval of courses by sponsors listed in 
regulation. 

5. The board responded to a request from the Canadian 
Veterinary Medicine Association to approve its accreditation 
of veterinary technician programs. 

6. To clarify the requirements for each profession, the board 
has separated the endorsement requirements for veterinary 
technicians into a new section, 18VAC150-20-121. It has 
added the option of either graduation from an AVMA-
accredited program or passage of the national examination for 
technicians who have been licensed or certified in another 
state and have been practicing for at least two of the past four 
years. 

7. In this section and in the definition section, there was 
further clarification on the supervision of preceptees and the 
duties that can be performed. The regulation has specified 
that a preceptee can perform only those services for which he 
has received adequate instruction by the educational program. 
The regulations also added the word extern or externships that 
occur within an education program. 

8. Additional grounds for unprofessional conduct that the 
board include: (i) misrepresentation or falsification of 
information on an application for licensure or employment or 
a renewal form; (ii) failure to report animal abuse; (iii) 
delegation of duties to persons who are not properly trained 
or authorized to perform such duties; and (iv) failure to 
release a client record when such failure results in harm to the 
animal.  

9. Both professional organizations in Virginia (VVMA and 
VALVT) recommended some limitations on the delegation of 
injections by unlicensed personnel to possibly exclude 
anesthetic or chemotherapy drugs and to exclude such 
invasive tasks as the placement of IV catheters. It has also 
been clarified that the veterinarian remains responsible for the 
health and safety of the animals treated by persons under his 
supervision. 

The board has added language on alternative treatments for 
animals, such as chiropractic, massage, acupuncture and 
physical therapy to state that it must be by an order issued by 
a licensed veterinarian. 

10. The board added the language of Guidance Document 
150-2 that states microchips must be implanted in a licensed 
veterinary establishment, but make some exceptions for 
animal shelters. 

11. An amendment was adopted to allow a veterinarian-in-
charge (VIC) to delegate the biennial inventory to another 
licensee, provided the VIC remains responsible for and signs 
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off on the inventory for the facility. It was also clarified that it 
is the responsibility of the VIC to ensure that the facility 
maintains and current and valid license. 

12. To address confusion about the meaning "working stock" 
of Schedule II drugs, the board eliminated the terminology 
and specified that all scheduled drugs must be kept secured 
with access to licensees but not to unlicensed personnel. 
Additional clarification of the drug record requirements is 
recommended by inspectors to ensure that the full name of 
the client is included, as well as the animal identification by 
species. Diversion of drugs places the public at risk, so laws 
and regulations on security and access are necessary for 
public protection. 

13. The board has incorporated language in Guidance 
Document 150-9 on medical records into the regulation and 
on the release of records to a client. 

14. An amendment was added to specify the board’s policy of 
requiring separate facility permits for separate practices that 
share the same location. 

15. Denial of access to an establishment to conduct an 
inspection is currently cause to revoke, suspend or take 
disciplinary action against a permit; the board added denial of 
access during an investigation. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be to 
provide greater specificity about the responsibility of the 
veterinarians for the facility and unlicensed persons who 
work with the practice.  There is also an advantage to more 
specificity on drug security; lack of proper control of drugs 
can sometimes lead to diversion that puts the public at risk.  
There are no disadvantages. There are no advantages or 
disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) proposes to amend its 
regulations as a part of the periodic review process.  The 
Board proposes to: 

1) Modify its rules for delegation of informal fact-finding 
proceedings, 

2) Remove a requirement that the Board must 
specifically approve any sponsors of continuing 
education not enumerated in these regulations and, 
instead, allow licensees to take continuing education 
courses from any entity approved by the American 
Association of Veterinary State Boards, 

3) Allow veterinary technicians to meet education 
requirements for licensure by attending a training 
program approved by the Canadian Veterinary Medicine 
Association (CVMA),  

4) Separate the requirements for licensure by 
endorsement for veterinary technicians from those for 
veterinarians and allow veterinary technicians to be 
eligible for such licensure if they have, along with other 
listed requirements, either graduated from an approved 
veterinary technician program or have passed the 
national exam, 

5) Allow an establishment’s designated veterinarian-in-
charge to delegate biennial inventories to another Board 
licensee, 

6) Add several grounds under which licensees may be 
charged with unprofessional conduct, 

7) Further delimit the responsibilities that a veterinarian 
may delegate to a properly trained assistant, and 

8) Specify that only veterinary establishments and animal 
shelters may inject animals with microchips. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, regulations allow the 
Board to appoint an agency subordinate to conduct informal 
fact-finding proceedings for disciplinary cases that involve 
failure to satisfy continuing education requirements.  
Currently, the Board may only appoint one of its own 
members as an agency subordinate.  The Board proposes to 
allow former Board members to also serve as agency 
subordinates and to allow agency subordinates to conduct 
informal fact-finding proceedings for all disciplinary matters 
that do not involve standards of care.   

Qualified Board members who are used as agency 
subordinates are likely to have more flexible schedules which 
would allow them to convene fact finding proceedings more 
quickly than if the entire Board had to find time to meet. 
Because this regulatory change will allow a greater number of 
people to serve as agency subordinates, and because more 
cases will be eligible for consideration, rules that allow 
greater use of delegation authority would likely result in 
disciplinary cases being resolved in a more timely 
manner. Individuals who have filed complaints against a 
licensee benefit from this regulatory change because these 
individuals will have their complaints resolved more quickly. 
The general public will likely, because of this regulatory 
change, have more expeditious access to information 
(disciplinary hearing outcomes) which might affect the 
decisions they make about their animal’s care.  Regulated 
entities will likely also benefit if disciplinary cases against 
them can be resolved more quickly.  If they are innocent of 
any wrongdoing, quicker proceedings will allow them to clear 
their names more quickly.  If, on the other hand, licensees 
have transgressed the rules that govern veterinary practice, 
fact finding by an agency subordinate will allow them to 
begin, and therefore finish, their punishment more quickly. 
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Current regulations contain a fairly extensive list of 
organizations, like American Veterinary Medicine 
Association (AVMA) approved colleges of veterinary 
medicine, which can approve or sponsor continuing education 
options. Additionally, other sponsors may receive Board 
approval upon submission of required documentation. 

The Board proposes to remove the requirement that possible 
new sponsors submit documentation to the Board, and that 
the Board specifically approve new sponsors. Instead of this 
procedure, the Board will allow classes or activities that are 
taken through any sponsor approved by The American 
Association of Veterinary State Boards to count toward 
licensees’ continuing education requirements. This regulatory 
change will likely benefit both the Board and licensees. The 
Board will no longer have to spend time approving new 
sponsors.  Licensees will likely have a wider array of 
educational opportunities to choose from which may allow 
them to choose less costly classes or classes that interest them 
more. 

Current regulations require veterinary technicians who are 
seeking to be licensed by examination to complete their 
education at a college or school accredited by the AMVA. 
Current regulations also require veterinary technicians who 
are seeking to be licensed by endorsement to meet the 
education and examination requirements that are contained in 
the regulatory section for licensure by examination.  

The Board proposes to make these sections of the regulations 
less restrictive by allowing veterinary technicians to meet 
education requirements for licensure by attending a college or 
school accredited by the Canadian Veterinary Medicine 
Association (CVMA) and by allowing veterinary technicians 
to be eligible for licensure by endorsement if they have, along 
with other listed requirements, either graduated from an 
approved veterinary technician program or have passed the 
national exam. 

Both these changes will benefit individuals who seek to be 
veterinary technicians in the state.  Allowing another 
organization to accredit veterinary technician programs will 
likely result in more programs being accredited; this will 
allow interested individuals more choices as to where they go 
to school and may lower their costs for attaining the required 
education.  Additionally, only requiring that applicants for 
licensure by endorsement prove completion of approved 
education or the national exam will likely slightly increase the 
number of individuals who are willing, and eligible, to move 
their licensure from another state to Virginia. 

Under current regulations, the veterinarian-in-charge (VIC) 
for a veterinary facility must be the one to complete all 
biennial controlled substance inventories. The Board 
proposes to allow VICs to delegate this responsibility to 
another Board licensee. VICs will still have to sign the 
inventory and will retain responsibility for its content and 

accuracy.  This change will likely benefit veterinary practices 
(and VICs) by allowing more flexibility in who spends time 
on inventory.  This would, for instance, allow a veterinary 
technician to perform an inventory at a lower wage cost per 
hour than would have to be paid to the VIC. 

Current regulations contain grounds under which licensees 
may be charged with unprofessional conduct. The Board, 
however, has received consumer complaints which were not 
covered under these current grounds. As a consequence of 
these complaints, the Board proposes to add several grounds 
for disciplinary action against licensees. These new grounds 
are: 1) delegation of tasks to improperly trained individuals or 
individuals who are not authorized to perform the tasks being 
delegated, 2) failure to provide adequate supervision for 
veterinary assistants 3) misrepresenting or falsifying 
information on an application or renewal form, 4) filing to 
report animal abuse to authorities and 5) failure to release 
patient records when such failure could result in immediate 
harm to the (patient) animal. 

Adding these grounds to the regulations will almost certainly 
result in more Board licensees being charged with 
unprofessional conduct.  The costs associated with more 
disciplinary case are likely outweighed, however, by the 
increased protection these grounds will afford the public 
(especially since the grounds being added appear fairly basic 
and reasonable). 

Current regulations contain a list of duties that licensed 
veterinarians may delegate to a properly trained assistant. 
Among other things (like grooming, feeding, prepping for 
surgery, etc) veterinarians may delegate administration 
(including injection) of schedule IV drugs.  The Board 
proposes to clarify that injection of anesthetic and 
chemotherapy drugs, as well as placement of intravenous 
catheters cannot be delegated. The Board also proposes to add 
animal massage and physical therapy to the tasks that may be 
delegated.  The Department of Health Professions (DHP) 
reports that it is likely the current practice for most or all 
veterinary practices is to not allow veterinary assistants to 
administer higher risk injections or insert IV catheters.  To the 
extent that veterinarians currently do delegate these duties, 
prohibiting this delegation will likely increase costs since 
veterinarians earn more than veterinary assistants.  These 
costs, however, are likely outweighed by the benefit to patient 
animals from having higher-risk procedures performed by 
veterinarians.  Additionally, veterinary practices will likely 
benefit from being able to have veterinary assistants perform 
massage and physical therapy.  Allowing this delegation will 
likely decrease costs since veterinarians earn more than 
veterinary assistants. 

Current regulations specify that veterinary medicine may only 
be practiced out of a registered establishment (mobile or 
stationary) except in emergency situations or under limited, 
specialized practice rules.  The Board proposes to incorporate 
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current guideline language that requires micro-chipping for 
identification purposes to be performed, with one exception, 
on the premises of a registered veterinary establishment.  This 
new regulatory requirement will likely not increase costs for 
any affected entity since all establishments, both mobile and 
fixed, will still be able to inject microchips. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DHP reports that the Board 
currently licenses 691 full service veterinary facilities, 223 
restricted service veterinary facilities, 3400 veterinarians and 
1194 veterinary technicians.  These entities and individuals, 
as well as any others that may seek licensure in the future, are 
affected by these regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. To the extent that this 
regulation slightly loosens the requirements for licensure, 
more individuals may choose to be licensed as veterinary 
technicians. Since these technicians would have to practice 
under the supervision of veterinarians, however, the number 
of technicians actually working in the Commonwealth may, 
or may not, increase. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 
extent that these regulatory changes places limits on 
delegation of tasks to lower paid employees, costs of doing 
business for veterinary practices will likely increase slightly.  
To the extent that these regulatory changes allow greater 
delegation of tasks to lower paid employees, costs of doing 
business for veterinary practices will likely decrease slightly.  
Taken together, these regulatory changes will likely have 
little net affect on the use or value of private property in the 
Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DHP reports that 
most of the 691 full service veterinary facilities, 223 
restricted service veterinary facilities and 3400 veterinarians 
currently licensed by the Board would qualify as small 
businesses. These entities are unlikely to incur any 
substantive costs on account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any substantive costs on account of this 
regulatory action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 

regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property. Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 
Veterinary Medicine concurs with the analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget for the proposed action 
on 18VAC150-20-10, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Veterinary Medicine, relating to periodic review 
recommendations. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) expand the criteria for 
cases that may be delegated to an agency subordinate for 
informal fact-finding; (ii) expand the courses and the 
provider list for approved continuing education; (iii) 
accept the accreditation by the Canadian Veterinary 
Medical Association for technician education; (iv) 
provide an additional alternative for meeting 
requirements for licensure by endorsement for veterinary 
technicians; (v) provide additional grounds for 
disciplinary action; (vi) clarify rules for delegation of 
veterinary tasks to unlicensed persons; (vii) establish 
rules for injection of microchips; (viii) allow biennial 
inventory to be performed by licensee other than the 
veterinarian-in-charge; (ix) clarify regulations for drug 
storage, recordkeeping and reconstitution; (x) clarify 
minimal requirements for a patient record; and (xi) 
define companion animals to include horses. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC150-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Animal shelter" means a facility, other than a private 
residential dwelling and its surrounding grounds, that is used 
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to house or contain animals and that is owned, operated, or 
maintained by a nongovernmental entity including, but not 
limited to, a humane society, animal welfare organization, 
society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or any other 
organization operating for the purpose of finding permanent 
adoptive homes for animals. 

"Automatic emergency lighting" is lighting that is powered 
by battery, generator, or alternate power source other than 
electrical power, is activated automatically by electrical 
power failure, and provides sufficient light to complete 
surgery or to stabilize the animal until surgery can be 
continued or the animal moved to another establishment. 

"AVMA" means the American Veterinary Medical 
Association. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine. 

"Companion animal" means any dog, cat, horse, nonhuman 
primate, guinea pig, hamster, rabbit not raised for human food 
or fiber, exotic or native animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, 
or any feral animal or animal under the care, custody or 
ownership of a person or any animal that is bought, sold, 
traded, or bartered by any person. Agricultural animals, game 
species, or any animals regulated under federal law as 
research animals shall not be considered companion animals 
for the purposes of this chapter. 

"CVMA" means the Canadian Veterinary Medical 
Association. 

"Full-service establishment" means a stationary or 
ambulatory facility that provides surgery and encompasses all 
aspects of health care for small or large animals, or both. 

"Immediate and direct supervision" means that the licensed 
veterinarian is immediately available to the licensed 
veterinary technician or assistant, either electronically or in 
person, and provides a specific order based on observation 
and diagnosis of the patient within the last 36 hours. 

"Preceptorship or externship" means a formal arrangement 
between an AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine 
or an AVMA accredited veterinary technology program and a 
veterinarian who is licensed by the board and responsible for 
the practice of the preceptee. A preceptorship or externship 
shall be overseen by faculty of the college or program. 

"Professional judgment" includes any decision or conduct in 
the practice of veterinary medicine, as defined by §54.1-3800 
of the Code of Virginia. 

"Restricted service establishment" means a stationary or 
ambulatory facility which does not meet the requirements of a 
full-service establishment. 

"Surgery" means treatment through revision, destruction, 
incision or other structural alteration of animal tissue. Surgery 
does not include routine dental extractions of single-rooted 

teeth or skin closures performed by a licensed veterinary 
technician upon a diagnosis and pursuant to direct orders 
from a veterinarian. 

"Veterinarian in charge" means a veterinarian who holds an 
active license in Virginia and who is responsible for 
maintaining a veterinary establishment within the standards 
set by this chapter, for complying with federal and state laws 
and regulations, and for notifying the board of the 
establishment's closure. 

"Veterinary establishment" means any fixed or mobile 
practice, veterinary hospital, animal hospital or premises 
wherein or out of which veterinary medicine is being 
conducted. 

18VAC150-20-15. Criteria for delegation of informal fact-
finding proceedings to an agency subordinate. 

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with §54.1-2400 (10) 
of the Code of Virginia, the board may delegate an informal 
fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate upon 
determination that probable cause exists that a practitioner 
may be subject to a disciplinary action. 

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that may be delegated to an 
agency subordinate are those that only involve failure to 
satisfy continuing education requirements do not involve 
standard of care or those that may be recommended by a 
committee of the board. 

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate. An agency 
subordinate authorized by the board to conduct an informal 
fact-finding proceeding shall include current or former board 
members deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their training 
and experience in administrative proceedings involving the 
regulation and discipline of health professionals. 

18VAC150-20-30. Posting of licenses; accuracy of address. 

A. All licenses, registrations and permits issued by the board 
shall be posted in a place conspicuous to the public at the 
establishment where veterinary services are being provided or 
available for inspection at the location where an equine dental 
technician is working. Licensees who do relief or temporary 
work in an establishment shall carry a license with them. 
Ambulatory veterinary practices that do not have an office 
accessible to the public shall carry their licenses and permits 
in their vehicles. 

B. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee, 
registrant and holder of a registration permit to operate a 
veterinary establishment to keep the board apprised at all 
times of his current address. All notices required by law or by 
this chapter to be mailed to any veterinarian, certified 
veterinary technician, registered equine dental technician or 
holder of a permit to operate a veterinary establishment, shall 
be validly given when mailed to the address furnished to the 
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board pursuant to this regulation. All address changes shall be 
furnished to the board within 30 days of such change. 

18VAC150-20-70. Licensure renewal requirements. 

A. Every person licensed by the board shall, by January 1 of 
every year, submit to the board a completed renewal 
application and pay to the board a renewal fee as prescribed 
in 18VAC150-20-100. Failure to renew shall cause the 
license to lapse and become invalid, and practice with a 
lapsed license may subject the licensees to disciplinary action 
by the board. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not 
relieve the licensee of his responsibility to renew and 
maintain a current license. 

B. On and after March 1, 1997, veterinarians Veterinarians 
shall be required to have completed a minimum of 15 hours, 
and veterinary technicians shall be required to have 
completed a minimum of six hours, of approved continuing 
education for each annual renewal of licensure. Continuing 
education credits or hours may not be transferred or credited 
to another year. 

1. Approved continuing education credit shall be given for 
courses or programs related to the treatment and care of 
patients and shall be clinical courses in veterinary medicine 
or veterinary technology or courses that enhance patient 
safety, such as medical recordkeeping or compliance with 
requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety 
Administration (OSHA). 

2. An approved continuing education course or program 
shall be sponsored by one of the following:  

a. The AVMA or its constituent and component/branch 
associations, specialty organizations, and board certified 
specialists in good standing within their specialty board;  

b. Colleges of veterinary medicine approved by the 
AVMA Council on Education;  

c. National or regional conferences of veterinary 
medicine;  

d. Academies or species specific interest groups of 
veterinary medicine;  

e. State associations of veterinary technicians;  

f. North American Veterinary Technicians Association;  

g. Community colleges with an approved program in 
veterinary technology;  

h. State or federal government agencies;  

i. American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) or its 
constituent and component/branch associations;  

j. Journals or veterinary information networks recognized 
by the board as providing education in veterinary 
medicine or veterinary technology; or 

k. A sponsor approved by the Virginia Board of 
Veterinary Medicine provided the sponsor has submitted 
satisfactory documentation on forms provided by the 
board An organization or entity approved by the Registry 
of Approved Continuing Education of the American 
Association of Veterinary State Boards. 

3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 
education requirements and considered in compliance on 
the first renewal date following his initial licensure by 
examination. 

4. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially 
declared disasters. 

5. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 
to one year for the completion of continuing education 
requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 
to the renewal date. Such an extension shall not relieve the 
licensee of the continuing education requirement.  

6. Licensees are required to attest to compliance with 
continuing education requirements on their annual license 
renewal and are required to maintain original documents 
verifying the date and subject of the program or course, the 
number of continuing education hours or credits, and 
certification from an approved sponsor. Original 
documents must be maintained for a period of two years 
following renewal. The board shall periodically conduct a 
random audit to determine compliance. Practitioners 
selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 
documentation within 10 days of receiving notification of 
the audit.  

7. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary 
order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

C. A licensee who has requested that his license be placed 
on inactive status is not authorized to perform acts which are 
considered the practice of veterinary medicine or veterinary 
technology and, therefore, shall not be required to have 
continuing education for annual renewal. To reactivate a 
license, the licensee is required to submit evidence of 
completion of continuing education hours as required by 
§54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia equal to the number of 
years in which the license has not been active for a maximum 
of two years.  

18VAC150-20-115. Requirements for licensure by 
examination as a veterinary technician. 

A. The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board as a 
veterinary technician, shall: 

1. Have received a degree in veterinary technology from a 
college or school accredited by the AVMA or the CVMA. 
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2. Have filed with the board the following documents: 

a. A complete and notarized application on a form 
obtained from the board; 

b. An official copy, indicating a veterinary technology 
degree, of the applicant's college or school transcript; and 

c. Certification that the applicant is in good standing by 
each board from which the applicant holds a license, 
certification or registration to practice veterinary 
technology.  

3. Pass a board-approved, national board examination for 
veterinary technology with a score acceptable to the board.  

4. Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 
understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 
governing veterinary practice in Virginia.  

B. The application for licensure shall be valid for a period of 
one year after the date of initial submission. 

18VAC150-20-120. Requirements for licensure by 
endorsement as a veterinarian or veterinary technician. 

A. The board may, in its discretion, grant a license by 
endorsement to an applicant who is licensed to practice 
veterinary medicine or who is licensed, certified or registered 
to practice as a veterinary technician in another state, the 
District of Columbia or possessions or territories of the 
United States, provided that:  

1. All licenses, certificates or registrations are in good 
standing;  

2. The applicant has been regularly engaged in clinical 
practice for at least two of the past four years; and  

3. The applicant has met all applicable requirements of 
18VAC150-20-110 or 18VAC150-20-115, except foreign-
trained veterinarians who have attained specialty 
recognition by a board recognized by the AVMA are 
exempt from the requirements of ECFVG or any other 
substantially equivalent credentialing body as determined 
by the board. 

B. Provided that the applicant has met the requirements of 
subsection A of this section, the board may, in its discretion, 
waive the requirement that the applicant pass the national 
board exam or the clinical competency test, or both.  

18VAC150-20-121. Requirements for licensure by 
endorsement for veterinary technicians. 

In its discretion, the board may grant a license by 
endorsement to an applicant who is licensed, certified or 
registered to practice as a veterinary technician in another 
state, the District of Columbia or possessions or territories of 
the United States, provided that:  

1. All licenses, certificates or registrations are in good 
standing;  

2. The applicant has been regularly engaged in clinical 
practice for at least two of the past four years; and  

3. The applicant has received a degree in veterinary 
technology from a college or school accredited by the 
AVMA or the CVMA or has passed a board-approved 
national board examination for veterinary technology with 
a score acceptable to the board within the past four years 
immediately preceding application.  

18VAC150-20-130. Requirements for practical training in 
a preceptorship or externship. 

A. The practical training and employment of qualified 
students of veterinary medicine or veterinary technology shall 
be governed and controlled as follows: 

1. No student shall be qualified to receive practical training 
unless such student shall be duly enrolled and in good 
standing in a veterinary college or school or veterinary 
technology program accredited or approved by the AVMA 
and in the final year of his training or after completion of 
an equivalent number of hours as approved by the board. 
The student shall be engaged in a preceptorship or 
externship as defined by the board and authorized by his 
college or school. 

2. A veterinary preceptee or extern may perform duties that 
constitute the practice of veterinary medicine for which he 
has received adequate instruction by the college or school 
and only under the on-premises supervision of a licensed 
veterinarian. 

3. A veterinary technician preceptee or extern may perform 
duties that constitute the practice of veterinary technology 
for which he has received adequate instruction by the 
program and only under the on-premises supervision of a 
licensed veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician. 

B. Prior to allowing a preceptee in veterinary medicine to 
perform surgery on a patient unassisted by a licensed 
veterinarian, a licensed veterinarian shall receive written 
approval from the client. 

Part III  
Unprofessional Conduct  

18VAC150-20-140. Unprofessional conduct. 

Unprofessional conduct as referenced in §54.1-3807(5) of 
the Code of Virginia shall include the following:  

1. Representing conflicting interests except by express 
consent of all concerned given after a full disclosure of the 
facts. Acceptance of a fee from both the buyer and the 
seller is prima facie evidence of a conflict of interest. 
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2. Practicing veterinary medicine or equine dentistry where 
an unlicensed person has the authority to control the 
professional judgment of the licensed veterinarian or the 
equine dental technician. 

3. Issuing a certificate of health unless he shall know of his 
own knowledge by actual inspection and appropriate tests 
of the animals that the animals meet the requirements for 
the issuance of such certificate on the day issued. 

4. Revealing confidences gained in the course of providing 
veterinary services to a client, unless required by law or 
necessary to protect the health, safety or welfare of other 
persons or animals. 

5. Advertising in a manner which is false, deceptive, or 
misleading or which makes subjective claims of 
superiority. 

6. Violating any state law, federal law, or board regulation 
pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 
technology or equine dentistry. 

7. Practicing veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 
technician in such a manner as to endanger the health and 
welfare of his patients or the public, or being unable to 
practice veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 
technician with reasonable skill and safety. 

8. Performing surgery on animals in an unregistered 
veterinary establishment or not in accordance with the 
establishment permit or with accepted standards of 
practice. 

9. Refusing the board or its agent the right to inspect an 
establishment at reasonable hours. 

10. Allowing unlicensed persons to perform acts restricted 
to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 
technology or an equine dental technician including any 
invasive procedure on a patient or delegation of tasks to 
persons who are not properly trained or authorized to 
perform such tasks. 

11. Failing to provide immediate and direct supervision to 
a licensed veterinary technician or an assistant in his 
employ. 

12. Refusing to release a copy of a valid prescription upon 
request from a client. 

13. Misrepresenting or falsifying information on an 
application or renewal form. 

14. Failing to report evidence of animal abuse to the 
appropriate authorities. 

15. Failing to release client records when such failure 
could result in immediate harm to the animal. 

18VAC150-20-172. Delegation of duties to unlicensed 
veterinary personnel. 

A. A licensed veterinarian may delegate the administration 
(including by injection) of schedule VI drugs to a properly 
trained assistant under his direction and immediate and direct 
supervision. The prescribing veterinarian has a specific duty 
and responsibility to determine that the assistant has had 
adequate training to safely administer the drug in a manner 
prescribed. Injections involving anesthetic or chemotherapy 
drugs or the placement of intravenous catheters shall not be 
delegated to an assistant. 

B. Additional tasks that may be delegated by a licensed 
veterinarian to a properly trained assistant include but are not 
limited to the following:  

1. Grooming; 

2. Feeding; 

3. Cleaning; 

4. Restraining; 

5. Assisting in radiology; 

6. Setting up diagnostic tests; 

7. Prepping for surgery; 

8. Dental polishing, but not dental scaling; 

9. Drawing blood samples; or 

10. Filling of schedule VI prescriptions under the direction 
of a veterinarian licensed in Virginia. 

C. A licensed veterinarian may delegate duties electronically 
to appropriate veterinary personnel provided the veterinarian 
has physically examined the patient within the previous 36 
hours. 

D. Animal massage or physical therapy may be delegated by 
a veterinarian to persons qualified by training and experience 
by an order from the veterinarian.  

E. The veterinarian remains responsible for the duties being 
delegated and remains responsible for the health and safety of 
the animal. 

Part V  
Veterinary Establishments  

18VAC150-20-180. Requirements to be registered as a 
veterinary establishment. 

A. Every veterinary establishment shall apply for 
registration on a form provided by the board and may be 
issued a permit as a full-service or restricted service 
establishment. Every veterinary establishment shall have a 
veterinarian-in-charge registered with the board in order to 
operate. 
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1. Veterinary medicine may only be practiced out of a 
registered establishment except in emergency situations or 
in limited specialized practices as provided in 18VAC150-
20-171. The injection of a microchip for identification 
purposes shall only be performed in a veterinary 
establishment, except personnel of animal shelters may 
inject animals while in their possession. 

2. Applications for permits must be made to the board 45 
days in advance of opening or changing the location of the 
establishment or requesting a change in category to a full-
service establishment. 

B. A veterinary establishment will be registered by the board 
when: 

1. It is inspected by the board and is found to meet the 
standards set forth by 18VAC150-20-190 and 18VAC150-
20-200 where applicable. If, during a new or routine 
inspection, violations or deficiencies are found 
necessitating a reinspection, the prescribed reinspection fee 
will be levied. Failure to pay the fee shall be deemed 
unprofessional conduct and, until paid, the establishment 
shall be deemed to be unregistered. 

2. A veterinarian currently licensed by and in good 
standing with the board is registered with the board in 
writing as veterinarian-in-charge and has paid the 
establishment registration fee. 

18VAC150-20-181. Requirements for veterinarian-in-
charge.  

A. The veterinarian-in-charge of a veterinary establishment 
is responsible for:  

1. Regularly being on site on a schedule of no less than 
monthly and providing routine oversight to the veterinary 
establishment.  

2. Maintaining the facility within the standards set forth by 
this chapter.  

3. Performing the biennial controlled substance inventory 
and ensuring compliance at the facility with any federal or 
state law relating to controlled substances as defined in 
§54.1-3404 of the Code of Virginia. The performance of 
the biennial inventory may be delegated to another 
licensee, provided the veterinarian-in-charge signs the 
inventory and remains responsible for its content and 
accuracy. 

4. Notifying the board in writing of the closure of the 
permitted facility 10 days prior to closure.  

5. Notifying the board immediately if no longer acting as 
the veterinarian-in-charge.  

6. Ensuring the establishment maintains a current and valid 
permit issued by the board. 

B. Upon any change in veterinarian-in-charge, these 
procedures shall be followed:  

1. The veterinarian-in-charge registered with the board 
remains responsible for the establishment and the stock of 
controlled substances until a new veterinarian-in-charge is 
registered or for five days, whichever occurs sooner. 

2. An application for a new permit, naming the new 
veterinarian-in-charge, shall be made five days prior to the 
change of the veterinarian-in-charge. If no prior notice was 
given by the previous veterinarian-in-charge, an 
application for a new permit naming a new veterinarian-in-
charge shall be filed as soon as possible but no more than 
10 days after the change. 

3. The previous establishment permit is void on the date of 
the change of veterinarian-in-charge and shall be returned 
by the former veterinarian-in-charge to the board five days 
following the date of change. 

4. Prior to the opening of the business, on the date of the 
change of veterinarian-in-charge, the new veterinarian-in-
charge shall take a complete inventory of all Schedule II-V 
drugs on hand. He shall date and sign the inventory and 
maintain it on premises for two years. That inventory may 
be designated as the official biennial controlled substance 
inventory. 

18VAC150-20-190. Requirements for drug storage, 
dispensing, destruction, and records for all 
establishments, full service and restricted.  

A. All drugs shall be maintained, administered, dispensed, 
prescribed and destroyed in compliance with state and federal 
laws, which include the Drug Control Act (§54.1-3400 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia), applicable parts of the federal Food, 
Drug, and Cosmetic Control Act (21 USC §301 et seq.), the 
Prescription Drug Marketing Act (21 USC §301 et seq.), and 
the Controlled Substances Act (21 USC §801 et seq.), as well 
as applicable portions of Title 21 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations. 

B. All repackaged tablets and capsules dispensed for 
companion animals shall be in approved safety closure 
containers, except safety caps shall not be required when any 
person who requests that the medication not have a safety 
cap, or in such cases in which the medication is of such form 
or size that it cannot be reasonably dispensed in such 
containers (e.g., topical medications, ophthalmic, or otic). A 
client request for nonsafety packaging shall be documented in 
the patient record. 

C. All drugs dispensed for companion animals shall be 
labeled with the following:  

1. Name and address of the facility;  

2. Name (first and last) of client;  
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3. Animal identification;  

4. Date dispensed;  

5. Directions for use;  

6. Name, strength (if more than one dosage form exists), 
and quantity of the drug; and  

7. Name of the prescribing veterinarian.  

D. All drugs shall be maintained in a secured manner with 
precaution taken to prevent diversion.  

1. All Schedule II through V drugs shall be maintained 
under lock at all times, with access to the veterinarian or 
veterinary technician only, provided, however, that a 
working stock of Schedule II drugs under separate lock 
may be accessible to the licensed veterinary technician but 
not to any unlicensed personnel.  

2. Whenever a veterinarian discovers a theft or any unusual 
loss of Schedule II, III, IV, or V drugs, he shall 
immediately report such theft or loss to the Board of 
Veterinary Medicine and to the U.S. Drug Enforcement 
Administration. 

E. Schedule II, III, IV and V drugs may shall be destroyed 
by following the instructions contained in the drug 
destruction packet available from the board office which 
provides the latest U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration 
approved drug destruction guidelines. 

F. The drug storage area shall have appropriate provision for 
temperature control for all drugs and biologics, including a 
refrigerator with the interior thermometer maintained between 
36°F and 46°F. Drugs stored at room temperature shall be 
maintained between 59°F and 86°F. The stock of drugs shall 
be reviewed frequently and removed from the working stock 
of drugs at the expiration date.  

G. A distribution record shall be maintained in addition to 
the patient's record, in chronological order, for the 
administration and dispensing of all Schedule II-V drugs. 

This record is to be maintained for a period of two years 
from the date of transaction. This record shall include the 
following: 

1. Date of transaction;  

2. Drug name, strength, and the amount dispensed, 
administered and wasted;  

3. Client and animal identification; and  

4. Identification of the veterinarian authorizing the 
administration or dispensing of the drug.  

H. Invoices Original invoices for all Schedule II, III, IV and 
V drugs received shall be maintained in chronological order 
on the premises where the stock of drugs is held and actual 
date of receipt is noted. Invoices for Schedule II drugs shall 

be maintained separately from other records. All drug records 
shall be maintained for a period of two years from the date of 
transaction.  

I. A complete and accurate inventory of all Schedule II, III, 
IV and V drugs shall be taken, dated, and signed on any date 
that is within two years of the previous biennial inventory. 
Drug strength must be specified. This inventory shall indicate 
if it was made at the opening or closing of business and shall 
be maintained on the premises where the drugs are held for 
two years from the date of taking the inventory. 

J. Veterinary establishments in which bulk reconstitution of 
injectable, bulk compounding or the prepackaging of drugs is 
performed shall maintain adequate control records for a 
period of one year or until the expiration, whichever is 
greater. The records shall show the name of the drug(s) used; 
strength, if any; date repackaged; quantity prepared; initials of 
the veterinarian verifying the process; the assigned lot or 
control number; the manufacturer's or distributor's name and 
lot or control number; and an expiration date. 

18VAC150-20-195. Recordkeeping. 

A. A daily record of each patient treated shall be maintained 
by the veterinarian at the permitted veterinary establishment 
and shall include pertinent medical data such as drugs 
administered, dispensed or prescribed, and all relevant 
medical and surgical procedures performed. Records should 
contain at a minimum: 

1. Presenting complaint/reason for contact; 

2. Physical examination findings, if appropriate; 

3. Tests performed and results; 

4. Procedures performed/treatment given and results; and 

5. Drugs (and their dosages) administered, dispensed or 
prescribed. 

B. Individual records shall be maintained on each patient, 
except that records for economic animals or litters of 
companion animals under the age of four months may be 
maintained on a per client basis. Client records shall be kept 
for a period of three years following the last office visit or 
discharge of such animal from a veterinary establishment. 

C. An animal identification system must be used by the 
establishment. 

D. Upon the sale or closure of a veterinary establishment 
involving the transfer of patient records to another location, 
the veterinarian shall follow the requirements for transfer of 
patient records in accordance with §54.1-2405 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

E. An initial rabies certification for an animal receiving a 
primary rabies vaccination shall clearly display the following 
information: "An animal is not considered immunized for at 
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least 28 days after the initial or primary vaccination is 
administered." 

18VAC150-20-200. Standards for veterinary 
establishments. 

A. Full-service establishments. A full-service establishment 
shall provide surgery and encompass all aspects of health care 
for small or large animals, or both. All full-service 
establishments shall meet the requirements set forth below:  

1. Buildings and grounds must be maintained to provide 
sanitary facilities for the care and medical well-being of 
patients.  

a. Temperature, ventilation, and lighting must be 
consistent with the medical well-being of the patients. 

b. Water and waste. There shall be on-premises: 

(1) Hot and cold running water of drinking quality, as 
defined by the Virginia Department of Health; 

(2) An acceptable method of disposal of deceased 
animals; and 

(3) Refrigeration exclusively for carcasses of companion 
animals that require storage for 24 hours or more. 

c. Sanitary toilet and lavatory shall be available for 
personnel and clients.  

2. Areas within building. The areas within the facility shall 
include the following:  

a. A reception area separate from other designated 
rooms;  

b. Examination room or rooms;  

c. Surgery room. There shall be a room which is reserved 
only for surgery and used for no other purpose. The walls 
of the surgery room must be constructed of nonporous 
material and extend from the floor to the ceiling. In order 
that surgery can be performed in a manner compatible 
with current veterinary medical practice with regard to 
anesthesia, asepsis, life support, and monitoring 
procedures, the surgery room shall:  

(1) Be of a size adequate to accommodate a surgical 
table, anesthesia support equipment, surgical supplies, 
the veterinarian, an assistant, and the patient;  

(2) Be kept so that storage in the surgery room shall be 
limited to items and equipment normally related to 
surgery and surgical procedures; and  

(3) For small animal facilities, have a door to close off 
the surgery room from other areas of the practice.  

d. Laboratory. The veterinary establishment shall have, 
as a minimum, proof of use of either in-house laboratory 
service or outside laboratory services for performing the 

following lab tests, consistent with appropriate 
professional care for the species treated:  

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of 
sediment;  

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;  

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;  

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;  

(5) Blood chemistries;  

(6) Cultures and sensitivities;  

(7) Biopsy;  

(8) Complete necropses, including histopathology; and  

(9) Serology.  

e. Animal housing areas. These shall be provided with:  

(1) Separate compartments constructed in such a way as 
to prevent residual contamination;  

(2) Accommodations allowing for the effective 
separation of contagious and noncontagious patients; and  

(3) Exercise runs which provide and allow effective 
separation of animals or walking the animals at medically 
appropriate intervals.  

3. Radiology. A veterinary establishment shall:  

a. Have proof of use of either Either have radiology 
service in-house or documentation of outside services for 
obtaining diagnostic-quality radiographs.  

b. If radiology is in-house:  

(1) Each radiograph shall be permanently imprinted with 
the identity of the facility or veterinarian, patient and the 
date of exposure. Each radiograph shall also be clearly 
labeled by permanent imprinting to reflect anatomic 
specificity.  

(2) Document that radiographic equipment complies with 
all requirements of 12VAC5-480-8520, Veterinary 
Medicine Radiographic Installations, of the Virginia 
Department of Health document, "Ionizing Radiation 
Rules and Regulations" (1988), which requirements are 
adopted by this board and incorporated herewith by 
reference in this chapter.  

c. Maintain radiographs as a part of the patient's record. 
If a radiograph is transferred to another establishment or 
released to the client, a record of this transfer must be 
maintained on or with the patient's records.  

4. Equipment; minimum requirements.  

a. Examination room containing a table with nonporous 
surface.  



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 4, 2008 

3410 

b. Surgery suite.  

(1) Surgical table with nonporous surface;  

(2) Surgical supplies, instruments and equipment 
commensurate with the kind of surgical services 
provided;  

(3) Automatic emergency lighting;  

(4) Surgical lighting;  

(5) Instrument table, stand, or tray; and  

(6) Waste receptacle.  

c. Radiology (if in-house).  

(1) Lead aprons and gloves;  

(2) Radiation exposure badges; and  

(3) X-ray machine.  

d. General equipment.  

(1) Steam pressure sterilizer or an appropriate method of 
sterilizing instruments;  

(2) Internal and external sterilization monitors, if steam 
pressure sterilizers are used;  

(3) Stethoscope;  

(4) Thermometer;  

(5) Equipment for delivery of assisted ventilation, 
including but not necessarily limited to:  

(a) A resuscitation bag; and  

(b) Endotracheal tubes.  

(6) Scales; and  

(7) Storage for records.  

B. Restricted establishments. When the scope of practice is 
less than full service, a specifically restricted establishment 
permit shall be required. Upon submission of a completed 
application, satisfactory inspection and payment of the permit 
fee, a restricted establishment permit may be issued. Such 
restricted establishments shall have posted in a conspicuous 
manner the specific limitations on the scope of practice on a 
form provided by the board.  

1. Large animal establishment, ambulatory practice. A 
large animal ambulatory establishment is a mobile practice 
in which health care of large animals is performed at the 
location of the animal. Surgery on large animals may be 
performed as part of a large animal ambulatory practice 
provided the facility has surgical supplies, instruments and 
equipment commensurate with the kind of surgical services 
provided. All large animal ambulatory establishments shall 
meet the requirements of a full-service establishment in 

subsection A of this section with the exception of those set 
forth below:  

a. All requirements for buildings and grounds.  

b. All requirements for an examination room and surgery 
suite.  

c. Equipment for assisted ventilation.  

d. Scales.  

2. Small animal establishment, house call practice. A small 
animal house call establishment is a mobile practice in 
which health care of small animals is performed at the 
residence of the owner of the small animal. Surgery may 
be performed only in a surgical suite that has passed 
inspection. Small animal house call facilities shall meet the 
requirements of a full-service establishment in subsection 
A of this section with the exception of those set forth 
below:  

a. All requirements for buildings and grounds.  

b. All requirements for an examination room or surgery 
suite.  

c. Steam pressure sterilizer.  

d. Internal or external sterilization monitor.  

3. Small animal establishment, outpatient practice. A small 
animal outpatient establishment is a stationary facility or 
ambulatory practice where health care of small animals is 
performed. This practice may include surgery, provided the 
facility is equipped with a surgery suite as required by 
subdivision A 2 c of this section. Overnight hospitalization 
shall not be required. All other requirements of a full-
service establishment shall be met.  

C. A separate facility permit is required for separate 
practices that share the same location. 

18VAC150-20-210. Revocation or suspension of a 
veterinary establishment permit. 

A. The board may revoke or suspend or take other 
disciplinary action deemed appropriate against the 
registration permit of a veterinary establishment if it finds the 
establishment to be in violation of any provisions of laws or 
regulations governing veterinary medicine or if: 

1. The board or its agents are denied access to the 
establishment to conduct an inspection or investigation; 

2. The licensee does not pay any and all prescribed fees or 
monetary penalties; 

3. The establishment is performing procedures beyond the 
scope of a restricted establishment permit; or 

4. The establishment has no veterinarian-in-charge 
registered with the board. 
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B. The Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia) shall apply to any determination under this 
section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-754; Filed July 14, 2008, 2:59 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-211. Resource, Foster and 
Adoptive Family Home Approval Standards (adding 
22VAC40-211-10 through 22VAC40-211-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
October 3, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Quality Review Program 
Manager, Department of Social Services, Division of Family 
Services, 7 North Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7926, FAX (804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The state legal authority to promulgate the new 
Resource, Foster and Adoptive Family Home Approval 
Standards regulation can be found in §§63.2-217 and 63.2-
319 of the Code of Virginia. Section 63.2-217 provides that 
the board shall adopt such regulations not in conflict with 
Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia as may be necessary to 
carry out the purpose of Title 63.2. Section 63.2-319 provides 
that the board shall establish minimum education, 
professional and training requirements and performance 
standards for the personnel employed by the Commissioner 
and local boards in the administration of Title 63.2 and adopt 
regulations to maintain such education, professional and 
training requirements and performance standards. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed action is to adopt a 
new regulation specific to the approval requirements for 
resource, foster and adoptive family homes providers 
approved by local departments. The new regulation will fill 
the void left by the 2007 repeal of 22VAC40-770. The new 
regulation intends to ensure compliance with changes to 
federal and state laws and regulations regarding resource, 
foster and adoptive family homes. Adherence to these 
standards is essential to protect the health, safety and welfare 
of families and children who are part of our foster care 
system. In addition, the new regulations will create 
consistency between providers approved by local departments 

and licensed child-placing agencies. This consistency was an 
action step of the Performance Improvement Plan developed 
in response to the federal Child and Family Services Review 
and is required by federal regulations. 

Substance: Substantive provisions include definitions that are 
consistent with definitions contained in the Code of Virginia 
and other social services regulations; require a Department of 
Motor Vehicles check on applicants; specify barrier crimes 
that would prohibit the provider from being approved; 
mandate training requirements for providers; specify 
acceptable child-sleeping arrangements, the capacity in each 
home; specify medical requirements for providers; mandate 
gun and ammunition safety in a provider's home; specify 
home study requirements; specify applicant grievance 
procedures; and provide for fire safety. In addition, the 
regulation establishes requirements for criminal background 
checks and child protective services central registry searches, 
and provider reapproval requirements. The regulation 
establishes consistency between regulations for approval of 
local departments and private child-placing agency resource, 
foster and adoptive homes. 

Issues: The public is expected to benefit from this new 
regulation as it strengthens the safety requirements for the 
providers who care for the vulnerable children placed in the 
Commonwealth’s foster care system.  It also strengthens the 
authority of the local departments to hear all applicant 
grievances and make the final decision as to who will be 
approved as a resource, foster or adoptive home provider. 
Finally, these new regulations will benefit the local 
departments and individuals providing care for children in 
foster care by ensuring that the regulations are consistent with 
state and federal law and other related social services 
regulations. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to 
promulgate a new, specific, regulation which will address 
requirements for approval of resource, foster, and adoptive 
family home providers by local departments of social services 
(LDSS). These requirements were addressed in 22VAC40-
770 (Standards and Regulations for Agency Approved 
Providers) which had rules for all types of agency approved 
providers. This generic regulation was repealed in 2007. 

In addition to re-promulgating some of the rules for foster and 
adoptive home approval that had been in the regulation that 
was repealed, the Board also proposes several substantive 
changes to the requirements. Such substantive changes 
include the following: 1) changing the definition of infant 
from up to 24 months to 16 months, 2) establishing the 
"resource parent" designation, 3) requiring that LDSS obtain 
DMV driver record check for any resource, foster, and 
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adoptive parents and any other adults in household expected 
to transport children, 4) requiring foster and resource parent 
applicants to submit the results of a physical examination 
performed by a licensed physician within the past 12 months, 
5) requiring that the LDSS conduct at least three face-to-face 
interviews with each applicant, 6) requiring applicants to 
obtain at least three references from persons who have 
knowledge of the applicant’s ability, skill, or experience in 
the provision of services and who is not related to the 
applicant, 7) requiring that LDSS ensure that each provider 
receives annual training, 8) prohibiting providers from having 
children over the age of 16 months sharing a bed, 9) requiring 
that providers store ammunition in a locked cabinet separate 
from firearms, 10) requiring LDSS to verify and document 
that providers protect children from household pets that may 
be a health or safety hazard, 11) adding language stating that 
the provider be able to ensure that they can be responsive to 
special medical needs, including environmental sensitivities, 
of the child, 12) requiring that providers keep legible records 
pertaining to identification, health, education, and safety of 
the child 13) mandating LDSS to obtain criminal record 
background checks at least once every 4 years and 14) 
changing the approval period for providers from 24 to 36 
months. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
most proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 
accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 
costs for other changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under both 22VAC40-770 
(recently repealed) and this proposed regulation, two foster 
parents in a home can have up to 8 foster children and one 
foster parent in a home can have up to four foster children. 
Infants count as two older children for the purposes of this 
cap on number of foster children per foster parent. In the 
recently repealed regulation infant is defined as any child 
from birth up to 24 months of age. Under this proposed 
regulation infant is defined as any child from birth up to 16 
months of age. Thus children between 17 months of age and 
24 months of age count as two children toward the cap under 
the recently repealed regulation and as one child under the 
proposed regulation. This proposed change will allow foster 
parents to accept one additional foster child when one of their 
current foster children is between 17 months of age and 24 
months, or to accept a new foster child between 17 months of 
age and 24 months when they have room for one additional 
child.  In total this proposed change will moderately increase 
the capacity to place foster children statewide. 

The Board proposes to establish a "resource parent" 
designation. A "resource parent" is defined as an approved 
relative or foster family home that agrees to, and is dually 
approved to, both support reunification and be prepared to 
adopt the child if the child and family do not reunify. 
According to the state Department of Social Services (DSS), 
establishing the resource parent designation will allow the 

process by which foster parents can become adoptive parents 
to run more smoothly and quickly, when appropriate. 
Although DSS expects that most applicants will choose to be 
resource parents, individual foster parents or families can 
choose to opt out of the additional approval if they never 
intend to adopt a child. Because foster parents can opt out of 
the additional approval requirements that adoptive parent 
must meet, and because approving a resource parent is likely 
less time and resource consuming than having that parent go 
through two approval processes, this proposal appears to be 
beneficial without creating any accompanying costs. 

Consistent with this regulation, the term "provider" will be 
used throughout this report to represent resource, foster, and 
adoptive parents.1 Recently repealed regulation required that 
providers who transport children have a valid driver’s license. 
This proposed regulation specifies that LDSS must obtain 
from DMV a driver record check for any resource, foster, and 
adoptive parents and any other adults in household expected 
to transport children and may consider the results in the 
approval process of the home. According to DSS the driver 
record checks are provided for free to the LDSS. Specifying 
in this regulation that the LDSS check driver records will 
likely increase the frequency that driver records are checked, 
and will likely increase the frequency that providers with bad 
driving records are detected. This may on a few occasions 
result in foster children being removed from dangerous 
situations. Thus the small addition in time it takes to check 
driving records is likely exceeded by the benefit in improved 
safety for children. 

Recently repealed regulation required that adoptive parent 
applicants submit the results of a physical examination 
performed by a licensed physician within the past 12 months 
to demonstrate they are possess sufficiently health. This 
proposed regulation extends this requirement to foster and 
resource parent applicants. This proposal adds a cost for 
foster and resource parent applicants, but the cost is likely 
exceeded by the benefit of eliminated physically incapable 
applicants. 

Recently repealed regulation required that the provider 
applicants "participate in interviews with the agency." This 
proposed regulation requires that the LDSS conduct at least 
three face-to-face interviews with each applicant. In practice 
this may result in additional interaction with LDSS staff prior 
to approval decisions. This can be beneficial in that the 
additional contact can increase the likelihood that problems 
could be detected. On the other hand, it increases costs for 
LDSS that are not already complying with this proposed 
requirement. 

Under recently repealed regulation and current Board policy, 
provider applicants are required to provide two references 
from persons who have knowledge of the applicant’s ability, 
skill, or experience in the provision of services and who are 
not related to the applicant. This proposed regulation requires 
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three references. Given the great responsibility that providers 
have for the children in their care, the small costs that 
applicants incur by acquiring a third reference is outweighed 
by the benefit of some additional assurance that the applicant 
is indeed competent. 

Recently repealed regulation did not address training. This 
proposed regulation specifies that LDSS ensure that each 
provider receives pre-service and annual training. DSS 
proposes to set areas of competency that must be covered in 
training but does not propose to specify what training 
program must be used.  According to DSS, most, but not all, 
LDSS currently do provide training. This proposed regulation 
also states that DSS will provide opportunities for training on 
an annual basis at no charge.  Depending on the quality of the 
training, this proposed requirement can potentially be 
significantly beneficial toward the care of foster and adopted 
children. The training requirement will create time cost for 
both staff and providers. DSS’s base budget now contains 
funds for provider training so LDSS offices are unlikely to 
incur any additional direct costs on account of training 
requirements. 

Recently repealed regulation stated that children of opposite 
sex should not share a double bed. This proposed regulation 
states that children over the age of 16 months shall not share a 
bed. For those localities where the LDSS permit bed sharing, 
this proposed change will have some impact. This will 
increase costs for what is hopefully a very small number of 
providers.  The cost is likely exceeded by the benefit of 
increased rest for affected children.  Increased rest will 
improve affected children’s health and ability to learn. 

Providers are required to store firearms and ammunition in a 
locked cabinet that is not accessible to children under recently 
repealed regulation. The Board proposes to further require 
that ammunition be stored in a separate locked area. The 
proposal most likely does moderately decrease the likelihood 
of firearm accidents involving children. On the other hand, 
complying with the proposal will make it more difficult for a 
provider to access loaded firearms if needed to confront an 
intruder. The estimated benefit of being able to quickly access 
a loaded firearm for familial protection varies greatly 
depending upon the analyst. Thus, whether the benefit of a 
moderate decrease in the likelihood of firearm accidents 
involving children exceeds the cost of slower access to a 
loaded firearm when family members are threatened cannot 
be accurately estimated at this time. 

Recently repealed regulation required that the provider 
protect their children from household pets which may be a 
health or safety hazard. Under this proposed regulation, 
LDSS must request and document verification of provider 
compliance in the provider record. Documenting verification 
of provider compliance may produce some addition pressure 
for compliance, and may moderately increase compliance in 

practice. This could significantly improve children’s health in 
a small number of circumstances. 

The Board proposes to require that providers be able to 
ensure that they can be responsive to the special medical 
needs, including environmental sensitivities, of the child. This 
is implied, but not specified in the recently repealed 
regulation. Specifying this may encourage LDSS staff to 
focus more on this aspect of care. To the extent that this 
happens, this additional language may in a few situations 
result in improved care for children under foster and adoptive 
care. 

The Board also proposes to require that providers keep 
written legible records pertaining to identification, health, 
education, and safety of the child. Specifically, the legible 
records must include: a) identifying information on the child, 
b) name, address, and work telephone numbers of the LDSS 
caseworker, and LDSS after hours emergency contact 
information, c) name, address, and home and/or work 
telephone numbers of persons authorized to pick up the child 
in care, d) name of persons not authorized to call or visit the 
child, e) educational records, report cards and other school-
related documentation, f) medical information pertinent to the 
health care of the child, g) correspondence related to the 
child, h) the service plan as well as other written child 
information provided by the LDSS, and i) placement 
agreement between the provider and the LDSS.  Keeping 
such organized legible records will cost providers some time, 
but will be significantly beneficial in providing for affected 
children’s health, education, and safety if the provider should 
somehow become incapacitated. 

Recently repealed regulation specified that the provider and 
other adult household members who come into contact with 
children not be convicted of a felony or misdemeanor which 
jeopardizes the safety or proper care of clients. This proposed 
regulation specifies that the LDSS complete criminal 
background checks at the time of application and at least once 
every four years. The requirement for rechecks every four 
years has the potential to significantly affect how often 
criminal background checks are conducted in practice by 
LDSS.  This may create significant benefits in that more 
criminal activity by those in households with children is 
detected; and children can be moved to safer surroundings. 
According to DSS, criminal background checks cost $20 per 
person. 

Recently repealed regulation required that foster homes be re-
approved every 24 months. This proposed regulation allows 
foster and resource families to be approved for 36 months 
before they must be re-approved. This change will likely 
reduce costs for both LDSS offices and foster families since 
time and recourses will be spent on this only every three years 
rather than every two. Since LDSS offices have fairly 
frequent contact with foster and resource families outside of 
the approval process, and since foster and resource families 
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will now be subject to ongoing training, this change will 
likely save money without having the care of affected 
children be adversely affected. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 
affects the 120 LDSS in the Commonwealth, as well as foster 
parents, adoptive parents, resource parents, and children of 
such parents. 

Localities Particularly Affected. This proposed regulation 
affects all localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulation 
may necessitate the hiring of a small number of additional 
staff for LDSS. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Providers 
will encounter small additional compliance costs on account 
of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. This regulatory 
action does not significantly affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. This regulatory action does not significantly 
affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property. Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________________ 

1 When referring to 22VAC40-770, "provider" indicates foster and adoptive parents 
only since the resource parent designation does not exist in 22VAC40-770. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The proposed regulations are intended to ensure 
compliance with changes to federal and state laws and 
regulations regarding resource, foster and adoptive 
family homes. Regulations addressing approval of 
providers by local departments were contained in 
22VAC40-770, which was repealed in 2007. This action 
is necessary to provide local departments with guidance 
in the approval of provider homes. In addition, the new 
regulations will create consistency between providers 
approved by local departments of social services and 
licensed child-placing agencies. This consistency was an 
action step of the Performance Improvement Plan 
developed in response to the federal Child and Family 
Services Review and is required by federal regulations. 

Major components of the regulation include making all 
definitions and requirements consistent with other social 
services regulations and applicable approval 
requirements that fall under the purview of other state 
agencies; mandating training for resource, foster and 
adoptive home providers; requiring a narrative home 
study report; creating one set of standards for the 
approval of all types of family home providers (i.e.; 
resource, foster and adoptive) to streamline the process 
of approval; requiring proof of provider approval to be 
maintained in the child’s file; and ensuring safety 
through standards for the home of the provider and 
requirements for criminal background checks. 

CHAPTER 211  
RESOURCE, FOSTER AND ADOPTIVE FAMILY HOME 

APPROVAL STANDARDS  

22VAC40-211-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and 
approved by a parent or a child-placing agency for the 
placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adult" means any person 18 years of age or over. 

"Applicant" means an individual or couple applying to be 
approved as a resource, foster and/or adoptive home provider. 

"Caretaker" means any individual having the responsibility 
of providing care for a child and includes the following: (i) 
parent or other person legally responsible for the child's care; 
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(ii) any other person who has assumed caretaking 
responsibility by virtue of an agreement with the legally 
responsible person; (iii) person responsible by virtue of their 
position of conferred authority; or (iv) adult person residing 
in the home with the child. 

"Central registry" means a subset of the child abuse and 
neglect information system and is the name index with 
identifying information on an individual named as an abuser 
and/or neglector in founded child abuse and/or neglect 
complaints or reports not currently under administrative 
appeal, maintained by the department. 

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age. 

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 
children in foster homes, adoptive homes or independent 
living arrangements pursuant to §63.2-1819 of the Code of 
Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 
or adoptive homes pursuant to §63.2-900, 63.2-903 or 63.2-
1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or agents 
of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within the scope 
of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain a child-
placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child abuse and neglect information system" means the 
computer system that collects and maintains information 
regarding incidents of child abuse and neglect involving 
parents or other caretakers. The computer system is composed 
of three parts: the statistical information system with 
nonidentifying information, the central registry of founded 
complaints not on appeal, and a database that can be accessed 
only by the department and local departments that contains all 
nonpurged child protective services reports. This system is 
the official state automated system. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 
his designee or authorized representative. 

"Corporal punishment" means punishment administered 
through the intentional infliction of pain or discomfort to the 
body through actions such as, but not limited to, (i) striking, 
or hitting with any part of the body or with an implement; (ii) 
pinching, pulling, or shaking; or (iii) any similar action that 
normally inflicts pain or discomfort. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social 
Services. 

"Dual approval process" means a process that includes a 
home study, mutual selection, interviews, training and 
background checks to be completed on all applicants to be 
considered for approval as a resource, foster and/or adoptive 
family home provider. 

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-
hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 
children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 
agency. 

"Fully approved" means a decision by the local department 
that the provider has met all requirements to be approved as a 
resource, foster and/or adoptive home provider. 

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children" means a 
uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 states, the District 
of Columbia, and the U.S. Virgin Islands that establishes 
orderly procedures for the interstate placement of children 
and sets responsibility for those involved in placing those 
children. 

"Infant" means any child from birth up to 16 months of age. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 
services of any county or city in this Commonwealth. 

"Parent" means the birth or adoptive parent of a child. 

"Provider" means resource, foster and/or adoptive provider. 

"Resource parent" means a provider who is trained and 
committed both to support reunification and also to be 
prepared to adopt the child if the child and family do not 
reunify. 

22VAC40-211-20. Approval of provider homes. 

A. When applicants are approved in accordance with these 
standards, they are approved as foster families and/or 
adoptive families or resource families. The approved provider 
shall, however, be allowed to choose to provide only foster 
care or adoption services should they not wish to serve as a 
resource family. 

B. If the provider cannot meet the standards described in 
these sections, the local department may, upon its discretion, 
allow a variance on certain standards in accordance with 
22VAC40-211-100. If the variance is not allowed, the local 
department shall not approve the home for the placement of 
children.  

C. These standards apply to adoptive home providers until 
the final order of adoption is issued.  

22VAC40-211-30. Background checks and health 
standards. 

A. All local department approved resource, foster and/or 
adoptive providers shall be at least 18 years of age. 

B. All background checks must be in accordance with 
applicable federal and state laws and regulations. Convictions 
of offenses as set out in §63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia 
shall preclude approval an application to become resource, 
foster and/or adoptive provider. 

C. Documentation of the results of the criminal records 
check shall be maintained in the applicant's record. Criminal 
history record information shall not be disseminated to any 
other party, nor shall it be archived except in the local 
department's provider file. 
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D. The resource, foster and/or adoptive home applicant and 
all other household members who come in contact with 
children shall submit to tuberculosis screening or tests in 
compliance with Virginia Department of Health requirements. 
The applicant and other caretakers residing in the home shall 
submit the results of a physical examination administered 
within the 12-month period prior to approval, from a licensed 
health care professional that comments on each applicant's or 
caretaker's mental or physical condition relative to taking care 
of a child. 

E. The local department shall obtain a Department of Motor 
Vehicle driver record check for any resource, foster and/or 
adoptive applicants or other adults in the home who are 
expected to transport children and may consider the results of 
the driver record check in the approval process. 

22VAC40-211-40. Home study requirements. 

A. Applicants for resource, foster and/or adoptive provider 
shall complete and submit an application to become an 
approved provider in accordance with department 
requirements and on department-approved forms or other 
forms that address all of the department's requirements. 

B. Upon submission of a completed provider application, the 
local department is responsible for ensuring the completion of 
the home study process. 

C. Local departments shall conduct a minimum of three 
face-to-face interviews with each applicant, at least one shall 
be in the applicant's home. If there are two individuals listed 
as applicants, at least one interview must be with both 
individuals. At least one interview shall be with all 
individuals who are residing in the home.  

D. The local department shall obtain at least three references 
from persons who have knowledge of each applicant's 
character and applicable experience with children and 
caretaking of others. At least one reference per person shall 
be from a nonrelative. 

E. Local departments shall ask if a prospective resource, 
foster and/or adoptive provider previously applied to, or was 
approved by, another local department or licensed child-
placing agency. The local department shall have the applicant 
sign a request to release information from the other agency in 
order to obtain information about previous applications and 
performance and shall use that information in considering 
approval of the applicant.  

F. The home study shall contain all department-required 
information and be documented by a combination of narrative 
and other data collection formats, and shall be signed and 
dated by the individual completing the home study and the 
director of the local department or his designee. The 
information presented shall include: 

1. Demographic information including: 

a. Age of applicant; 

b. Marital status and history; and 

c. Family composition and history. 

2. Financial information including: 

a. Employment information on applicant; 

b. Assets and resources of applicant; and 

c. Debts and obligations of applicant. 

3. List of individuals involved in completing the home 
study process and their role. 

4. Narrative documentation shall include information from 
the interviews, references, observations and other available 
information, and shall be used to assess and document that 
the applicant: 

a. Is knowledgeable about the necessary care for children 
and physically and mentally capable of providing the 
necessary care for children;  

b. Is able to sustain positive and constructive 
relationships with others in their care, and relate to 
people with respect, courtesy and understanding;  

c. Family is able to articulate a reasonable process for 
managing emergencies and ensuring the adequate care, 
safety and protection of children; 

d. Expresses attitudes that demonstrate the capacity to 
love and nurture a child born to someone else; 

e. Expresses appropriate motivation for reasons to foster 
or adopt;  

f. If married, shows marital stability; and 

g. Has the financial resources to provide for current and 
ongoing household needs. 

5. Documentation of compliance with 22VAC40-211-70. 

6. A confidentiality form signed by the providers, which 
local departments shall keep in the child's file. 

G. Significant changes in the circumstances of the provider 
that would impact the conditions of their approval require an 
updated home study documented through an addendum. This 
does not change the approval period for the provider.  

22VAC40-211-50. Approval period and documentation of 
approval. 

A. The approval period for a provider is 36 months.  

B. The approved provider shall be given an approval 
certificate specifying the following: 

1. Type of approval (resource, foster and/or adoptive 
family home provider); 
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2. Date when the approval became effective and the date 
when the approval lapses;  

3. The gender, age and number of children recommended 
for placement in the home; and 

4. The signature and title of the individual approving the 
home. 

C. Documentation shall be maintained on the provider and 
child: 

1. The local department’s file on the child shall contain: 

a. A copy of the provider’s approval certificate; or 

b. If the provider is licensed by a licensed child placing 
agency, a copy of the licensed child-placing agency 
license and the provider home approval certificate or 
letter. 

2. All information on the provider able to be maintained in 
the department’s official child welfare data system shall be 
maintained in that system. 

3. The local department’s file on the provider shall contain 
but not be limited to: 

a. A copy of the provider’s approval certificate; 

b. A copy of the criminal background check results; 

c. A copy of the Child Protective Services check; 

d. A copy of the application; 

e. Reference letters; 

f. A copy of the home study and supporting 
documentation; 

g. Documentation of orientation and training; and 

h. Documentation of contacts and visits in the provider’s 
home. 

4. Local departments shall require the provider to maintain 
legible written information on each child in their care 
including:  

a. Identifying information on the child;  

b. Name, address, and work telephone number of the 
local department caseworker and local department after 
hours emergency contact information;  

c. Name, address, and home and/or work telephone 
numbers of persons authorized to pick up the child;  

d. Name of persons not authorized to call or visit the 
child; 

e. Educational records, report cards and other school-
related documentation; 

f. Medical information pertinent to the health care of the 
child including all licensed health care providers’ names, 
addresses and telephone numbers;  

g. Correspondence related to the child; 

h. The service plan as well as other written child 
information provided by the local department; and 

i. The placement agreement between the provider and the 
local department. 

5. Providers shall maintain files in a secure location in 
order to protect the confidentiality of that information. The 
file and its contents shall not be shared with anyone other 
than those approved by the local department and shall be 
returned to the local department if the child leaves the 
provider’s home. 

6. The local department and its representatives shall have 
access to all records. 

22VAC40-211-60. Training. 

A. The local department shall ensure that pre-service 
training is provided for resource, foster and adoptive family 
home providers. This training shall address but not be limited 
to the following core competencies: 

1. Factors that contribute to neglect, emotional 
maltreatment, physical abuse, and sexual abuse, and the 
effects thereof; 

2. Conditions and experiences that may cause 
developmental delays and affect attachment; 

3. Stages of normal human growth and development; 

4. Concept of permanence for children and selection of the 
permanency goal; 

5. Reunification as the primary child welfare goal, the 
process and experience of reunification; 

6. Importance of visits and other contacts in strengthening 
relationships between the child and his birth family, 
including his siblings; 

7. Legal and social processes and implications of adoption; 

8. Support of older youth's transition to independent living; 

9. The professional team's role in supporting the transition 
to permanency and preventing unplanned placement 
disruptions; 

10. Relationship between child welfare laws, the local 
department's mandates, and how the local department 
carries out its mandates; 

11. Purpose of service planning; 

12. Impact of multiple placements on a child's 
development; 
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13. Types of and response to loss, and the factors that 
influence the experience of separation, loss, and 
placement; 

14. Cultural, spiritual, social, and economic similarities 
and differences between a child's primary family and foster 
or adoptive family; 

15. Preparing a child for family visits and helping him 
manage his feelings in response to family contacts; 

16. Developmentally appropriate, effective and 
nonphysical disciplinary techniques; 

17. Promoting a child's sense of identity, history, culture, 
and values; 

18. Respecting a child's connection to his birth family, 
previous foster families and/or adoptive families; 

19. Being nonjudgmental in caring for the child, working 
with his family, and collaborating with other members of 
the team; 

20. Roles, rights, and responsibilities of foster parents and 
adoptive parents; and 

21. Maintaining a home and community environment that 
promotes safety and well-being. 

B. Local departments shall ensure that each provider 
receives annual ongoing training. 

1. Training shall be relevant to the needs of children and 
families and may be structured to include multiple types of 
training modalities (for example, online foster parent 
training courses; seminars and conferences). 

2. The department shall provide opportunities for training 
on an annual basis. 

C. The provider is required to complete pre-service and 
annual in-service trainings. 

D. The provider is considered fully approved if he meets all 
other requirements for approval and is enrolled in and 
completes the next available pre-service training. The 
provider shall sign a written agreement to this effect. A 
provider's approval shall be revoked if he does not complete 
the training as per the written agreement. 

E. Local departments shall explain confidentiality 
requirements to providers and require providers keep all 
information regarding the child, his family and the 
circumstances that resulted in the child coming into care 
confidential.  

22VAC40-211-70. Standards for the home of the provider. 

A. The home shall have sufficient appropriate space and 
furnishings for each child receiving care in the home 
including:  

1. Space to keep clothing and other personal belongings;  

2. Accessible basin and toilet facilities;  

3. Comfortable sleeping furnishings;  

4. Sleeping space on the first floor of the home for a child 
unable to use stairs unassisted, other than a child who can 
easily be carried; and 

5. Space for recreational activities.  

B. All rooms used by the child shall be heated in winter, dry, 
and well-ventilated.  

C. Rooms used by the child shall have adequate lighting.  

D. The provider shall have access to a working telephone in 
the home.  

E. Multiple children sharing a bedroom shall each have 
adequate space including closet and storage space. Bedrooms 
shall have adequate square footage for each child to have 
personal space.  

F. Children over the age of 16 months (infants) shall not 
share a bed. 

G. Children over the age of two shall not share a bedroom 
with an adult unless the local department approves and 
documents a plan to allow the child to sleep in the provider's 
bedroom due to documented needs, disabilities or other 
specified conditions.  

H. Children under age seven or children with significant and 
documented cognitive or physical disabilities shall not use the 
top bunk of bunk beds. 

I. The home and grounds shall be free from litter and debris 
and present no hazard to the safety of the child receiving care.  

1. The provider shall permit a fire inspection of the home 
by appropriate authorities if conditions indicate a need and 
the local department requests such an inspection.  

2. Attics or basements used by the child for any reason 
shall have two exits. One of the exits shall lead directly 
outside, and may be an escapable door or an escapable 
window.  

3. Possession of any weapons, including firearms, in the 
home shall comply with federal and state laws and local 
ordinances. The provider shall store any firearms and other 
weapons with the activated safety mechanisms, in a locked 
closet or cabinet. Ammunition shall be stored in a separate 
and locked area. The key or combination to the locked 
closet or cabinet shall be maintained out of the reach of all 
children in the home. 

4. Providers shall ensure that household pets are not a 
health or safety hazard in accordance with state laws and 
local ordinances and the local department shall request 
verification of provider compliance. 
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5. Providers shall keep cleaning supplies and other toxic 
substances stored away from food and locked as 
appropriate.  

6. All homes shall have an ABC class fire extinguisher.  

7. Every home shall have an operable smoke detector, the 
specific requirements of which shall be coordinated 
through the local fire marshal. If a locality does not have a 
local fire marshal, the state fire marshal shall be contacted. 

J. The number of children placed in the provider's home 
shall be determined by the local department based, on but not 
limited to, the following considerations:  

1. The physical accommodations of the home;  

2. The capabilities and skills of the provider to manage the 
number of children;  

3. The needs and special requirements of the child;  

4. Whether the child's best interest requires placement in a 
certain type of home (for example, a home with no young 
children or a home with no other child); 

5. Whether any individuals in the home, including the 
provider's children, require special attention or services of 
the provider that interfere with the provider's ability to 
ensure the safety of all children in the home; and 

6. The foster care provider is also a day care provider. 

K. During the approval process, the provider shall develop a 
written emergency plan that includes, but is not limited to, 
fire and natural disasters. The plan shall include: 

1. How the provider plans to maintain the safety and meet 
the needs of the child in their home during a disaster; 

2. How the provider shall evacuate the home, if necessary, 
in a disaster; and 

3. How the provider shall relocate in the event of a large 
scale evacuation.  

Resource or foster parents shall arrange for responsible 
adults to be available who can serve in the caretaker's role in 
case of an emergency. If the planned or long-term absence of 
the provider is required, the local department shall be notified 
of and approve any substitute arrangements the provider 
wishes to make.  

22VAC40-211-80. Standards of care for continued 
approval. 

A. The provider shall provide care that does not discriminate 
on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin, age, religion, 
political beliefs, sexual orientation, disability, or family 
status.  

B. The provider shall ensure the child receives meals and 
snacks appropriate to his daily nutritional needs. The child 

shall receive a special diet if prescribed by a licensed health 
care provider or designee or in accordance with religious or 
ethnic requirements or other special needs.  

C. The provider shall ensure that he can be responsive to the 
special mental health or medical needs of the child. 

D. The provider shall establish rules that encourage desired 
behavior and discourage undesired behavior. The provider 
shall not use corporal punishment or give permission to 
others to do so and shall sign an agreement to this effect.  

E. The provider shall provide clean and seasonal clothing 
appropriate for the age and size of the child.  

F. If a provider regularly transports the child, the provider 
must have a valid driver's license and automobile liability 
insurance. These will be checked at approval and re-approval 
but verification may be required at any time deemed 
necessary.  

G. The vehicle used to transport the child shall have a valid 
license and inspection sticker.  

H. Providers and any other adults who transport children 
shall use child restraint devices in accordance with 
requirements of Virginia law. 

22VAC40-211-90. Allowing a variance. 

A. The local department may request and the provider may 
receive a variance from the department on a standard if the 
variance does not jeopardize the safety and proper care of the 
child or violate federal or state laws or local ordinances.  

B. If a provider is granted a variance and is in compliance 
with all other requirements of this chapter, the provider is 
considered fully approved.  

C. Any variances granted must be reviewed on an annual 
basis by the department.  

22VAC40-211-100. Monitoring and reapproval of 
providers. 

A. The local department's representative shall visit the home 
of the approved provider as often as necessary but at least 
quarterly to provide support to and monitor the performance 
of the provider and shall document these visits in the provider 
record. 

B. The re-approval process shall include: 

1. A review of the previous home approval information; 

2. Updating any information that has changed and a 
consideration of new information since the previous 
approval; 

3. Completing all state criminal record and child protective 
services background checks; 

4. Obtaining the results of a new tuberculosis screening; 
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5. Reviewing the confidentiality and the corporal 
punishment requirements and completing new 
confidentiality and corporal punishment agreements; 

6. A reassessment of the above information to determine 
reapproval; and 

7. A home study addendum indicating that the above 
requirements were met. 

C. If monitoring efforts indicate that significant changes in 
the circumstances of the provider would impact the 
conditions of their approval have occurred, an addendum 
shall be completed and included with home study.  

D. The home study addendum shall contain all department-
required information and be documented by a combination of 
narrative and other data collection formats, and shall be 
signed and dated by the individual completing the addendum 
and the director of the local department or his designee.  

22VAC40-211-110. Provider's right to grieve. 

A. The applicant shall have the right to grieve the actions of 
the local department to the local board on issues related to 
their application to become a resource, foster and/or adoptive 
home provider. 

B. Decisions on the placement of a specific child with a 
provider are not subject to grievance. The local board shall 
have the final authority to determine appropriate placement 
for children pursuant to §16.1-278.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
Decisions regarding final adoptive placements are made by 
the circuit court pursuant to Chapter 12 (§63.2-1200 et seq.) 
of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-736; Filed July 14, 2008, 1:59 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-690. Virginia Child Care 
Provider Scholarship Program (amending 22VAC40-690-
20, 22VAC40-690-30, 22VAC40-690-40, 22VAC40-690-55, 
22VAC40-690-65). 

Statutory Authority: §63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Zelda Boyd, Program Development 
Consultant, Department of Social Services, Division of Child 
Care and Development, 7 North 8th Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 726-7616, FAX (804) 726-7655, TTY 
(800) 828-1120, or email zelda.boyd@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow scholarship applicants to obtain 
applications from the private vendor that administers this 
program for the Department of Social Services (DSS); (ii) 
give priority to applications for scholarship from 
individuals who already work in child care; (iii) tighten 

restrictions on future scholarship moneys for individuals 
who fail to complete or pass scholarship funded classes; 
and (iv) distribute written policies and procedures, which 
will replace written agreements that are currently required 
between DSS and colleges and universities that have five 
or more scholarship recipients enrolled, to all colleges and 
universities that participate in this scholarship program. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

22VAC40-690-20. Application process. 

A. All persons interested in obtaining a scholarship must 
submit a scholarship application form to the Virginia 
Department of Social Services or its designee as indicated on 
the application. 

Note: Applications are available through the Virginia 
Department of Social Services or the designated third-party 
administrator. 

B. A separate application must be submitted for each 
semester. 

C. Only complete applications, both initial and resubmitted, 
received by the deadline indicated on the application shall be 
considered. 

D. Applicants shall verify that the selected courses are being 
offered by the selected college or university for the applicable 
semester prior to applying for scholarships. 

E. The selection of courses or colleges and universities may 
not be changed once the scholarship has been awarded unless 
the selected class is full or has been cancelled. 

22VAC40-690-30. Selection and eligibility. 

A. Applications will be processed and scholarships awarded 
in order of date received until all available funds designated 
for the semester have been obligated or the application 
deadline has occurred, whichever comes first. Priority will be 
given to applicants currently employed in the field of child 
care. If funds remain available, the applications will be 
processed and scholarships awarded in order of date received. 

B. In order for an applicant to be eligible for a scholarship, 
he must meet all of the following criteria. The applicant must:  

1. Be one of the following: 

a. An employee of a child care program located in 
Virginia; or 

b. Domiciled in Virginia as defined in §23-7.4 of the 
Code of Virginia and (i) employed in a child care 
program outside of Virginia or (ii) have declared an 
intent to become employed in child care. 
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2. Select a department-approved course for which he has 
not previously received scholarship funds; and 

3. Have no more than three occurrences one occurrence of 
the following for courses for which the applicant received 
a Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship: 

a. Did not register for the course after receiving an 
award; 

b. Did not complete the course and received a grade of 
"W" for withdrawal; or 

c. Did not receive a passing grade. 

In the event of such an occurrence, the department will not 
award future scholarships to an individual until the 
applicant reimburses the state for the course(s) tuition and 
fees that were paid to the college or university on behalf of 
the applicant. 

C. An applicant does not have to be enrolled in or have 
already taken a course in early childhood education or a 
related major to be eligible for a scholarship. 

D. Scholarships will only be awarded if the department has 
adequate information to process scholarship requests. The 
department must have received final course grades and 
payment information on courses that have been previously 
approved for scholarships. In addition, scholarships will be 
awarded on a conditional basis for those persons who are in 
jeopardy of becoming ineligible to receive a scholarship as 
specified in subdivision B 3 of this section. In these instances, 
the department will review enrollment and grade information 
when provided by the institution for the current enrollment 
period and if the applicant is in compliance with subdivision 
B 3 of this section, the scholarship will be fully awarded. 

E. The scholarship will only pay tuition and the technology 
fee for each course. 

F. Applicants shall not receive scholarships for more than 
two courses per semester. 

G. Scholarships shall not be transferred between semesters 
or individuals. 

H. Scholarships are awarded only for courses approved by 
the department. The department will determine whether a 
course meets the definition of a "course" as defined in 
22VAC40-690-10. 

I. Recipients may receive a total lifetime award of no more 
than the average tuition for eight community college courses 
or their monetary equivalent. 

J. A recipient may use scholarship funds to attend any 
combination of Virginia public or private accredited two-year 
or four-year institutions over a period of time. 

K. All applicants will be notified in writing regarding the 
acceptance or denial of their application. 

22VAC40-690-40. College and university agreements. 

A. Colleges and universities will be notified in writing when 
scholarships are awarded to applicants planning to attend 
their institutions. 

B. The department shall enter into a written agreement with 
provide written procedures to all colleges and universities that 
ordinarily have five or more students per semester any student 
using scholarship funds regarding the operation of the 
scholarship program. The agreement procedures shall address 
the areas of, but not be limited to, verification of Virginia 
residency, billing procedures, and provision of final course 
grades. Specifically, these institutions shall: 

1. Determine whether applicants that are not employed in 
child care programs located in Virginia are domiciled in 
Virginia as defined in §23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia and 
provide the department with verification of such; 

2. Provide the department each semester, but no later than 
at the time of billing, with the tuition rate category of each 
person for which the institution plans to bill or is billing 
the scholarship program. 

3. Submit one bill to the department per institution per 
semester after the college's or university's published 
add/drop period has occurred. Colleges and universities 
shall submit a request for payment prior to the end of the 
semester for which the scholarship was awarded. Such 
request must be in a department-approved format; and 

4. Provide the department with final course grades for 
classes paid for by the scholarship program within one 
month following the end of each semester. 

C. All other eligible Virginia public and private colleges and 
universities may enter into an agreement follow the 
procedures as outlined in subsection B of this section or place 
the responsibility on the student to seek reimbursement from 
the department.  

22VAC40-690-55. Disbursement of funds. 

For those institutions that have an agreement with the 
department participating in the tuition reimbursement process, 
funds will be disbursed to the colleges and universities upon 
receipt of an Interagency Transfer (IAT) or invoice in 
accordance with the Commonwealth Accounting Policies and 
Procedures. In the event that the department does not have a 
written agreement with a college or university does not 
choose to participate in the tuition reimbursement process, the 
funds will be disbursed to the recipient upon proof of tuition 
payment and course enrollment through the end of the 
college's or university's published add/drop period. 

22VAC40-690-65. Recipient responsibilities. 

A. A recipient must submit final course grades for classes 
paid by the Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship 
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Program to the department within one month of completion 
of the course unless the college or university does so. 

Note: All colleges and universities are requested to provide 
final course grades to the department for the classes paid by 
the scholarship program as outlined in 22VAC40-690-40 B 4. 
Grades will be used to determine eligibility as outlined in 
22VAC40-690-30 B 3. 

B. By accepting the award, the recipient agrees to participate 
in any surveys conducted by the department regarding the 
scholarship program and comply with any requests for 
additional information as stated in 22VAC40-690-60. 

C. The recipient is responsible for all expenses related to 
taking the courses with the exception of the amount of the 
award, which only pays for tuition and the technology fee. 
The total lifetime award will pay the entire tuition and 
technology fee for a maximum of eight courses at the 
community colleges at the in-state tuition rate or the dollar 
equivalent of the total lifetime award, whichever comes first. 
Recipients who attend other types of institutions or are not 
eligible for in-state tuition rates shall be required to pay any 
additional tuition and technology fees that exceed the total 
lifetime award. Additional expenses for all recipients include, 
but are not limited to, other college or university fees, books, 
transportation, and child care. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program 
Application Form to Attend Virginia's Public and Private 
Colleges and Universities, Form # 032-05-032/7 (rev. 6/02) 
032-05-0032-03 [ (rev. 7/07 eff. 3/08 ]). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-214; Filed July 14, 2008, 2:00 p.m.
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Public Hearing 
Pursuant to §3.1-188.23 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services has 
issued a temporary (90-day) quarantine relating to the 
emerald ash borer (Agrilus planipennis).  A copy of the 
temporary quarantine is printed below.  If it appears that a 
quarantine for more than 90 days will be necessary, §3.1-
188.23 provides that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services shall hold a public hearing on extending the 
commissioner’s temporary quarantine.  The Board of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services will hold such a public 
hearing at 2 p.m., August 19, 2008, at the Hilton Garden Inn 
Suffolk and Suffolk Conference Center, 100 East Constance 
Road, Suffolk, Virginia 23434. 

For further information, please contact Frank Fulgham, 
Program Manager, Office of Plant and Pest Services, 102 
Governor Street, Room LL55, Richmond, Virginia 23219; via 
telephone at (804) 786-3515; hearing impaired (800) 828-
1120; FAX (804) 371-7793; or email at 
frank.fulgham@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Emerald Ash Borer Quarantine for 
Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law 

Statutory authority: §3.1-188.23 of the Code of Virginia. 

§1. Declaration of quarantine. 

A quarantine is hereby established to regulate the movement 
of certain articles capable of transporting the highly 
destructive pest of ash (Fraxinus spp.) known as the emerald 
ash borer, Agrilus planipennis (Fairemaire) into uninfested or 
unregulated areas of the state, unless such articles comply 
with the conditions specified herein. 

§2. Purpose of quarantine. 

The emerald ash borer is an introduced beetle that specifically 
attacks and kills ash trees. It has become established in 
Fairfax County, Virginia, and has the potential to spread to 
uninfested counties by both natural means and humans 
moving infested articles. The purpose of this quarantine is to 
prevent the artificial spread of the emerald ash borer to 
uninfested areas of the state by regulating the movement of 
those articles that pose a significant threat of transporting the 
emerald ash borer. 

§3. Definitions. 

The following words and terms shall have the following 
meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Certificate" means a document issued by an inspector or any 
other person operating in accordance with a compliance 

agreement to allow the movement of regulated articles to any 
destination. 

"Compliance agreement" means a written agreement between 
a person engaged in growing, handling, receiving or moving 
regulated articles and the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, the United States Department of 
Agriculture, or both, wherein the former agrees to comply 
with the requirements of the compliance agreement.  

"Emerald ash borer" means the live insect known as the 
emerald ash borer, Agrilus planipennis (Fairemaire), in any 
life stage (egg, larva, pupa, adult). 

"Infestation" means the presence of the emerald ash borer or 
the existence of circumstances that make it reasonable to 
believe that the emerald ash borer is present. 

"Inspector" means any employee of the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services, or other person 
authorized by the commissioner to enforce the provisions of 
the quarantine or regulation. 

"Limited permit (permit)" means a document issued by an 
inspector or other person operating in accordance with a 
compliance agreement to allow the movement of regulated 
articles to a specific destination. 

"Moved (move, movement)" means shipped, offered for 
shipment, received for transportation, transported, carried, or 
allowed to be moved, shipped, transported, or carried. 

"Person" means any association, company, corporation, firm, 
individual, joint stock company, partnership, society, or other 
entity.  

"Virginia Pest Law" means the statute set forth in Article 6 
(§3.1-188.20 et seq.) of Title 3.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

§4. Regulated articles. 

The following articles are regulated under the provisions of 
this quarantine, and shall not be moved out of any regulated 
area within Virginia, except in compliance with the 
conditions prescribed in this quarantine: 

1. The emerald ash borer in any life stage. 

2. Firewood of all hardwood (nonconiferous) species. 

3. Ash (Fraxinus spp.) nursery stock.  

4. Green (nonheat treated) ash lumber. 

5. Other living, dead, cut, or fallen material of the genus 
Fraxinus, including logs, stumps, roots, branches, and 
composted and uncomposted wood chips. 

§5. Regulated areas. 

The following areas in Virginia: 
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The entire county of: 
Arlington 
Fairfax 
Fauquier 
Loudoun 
Prince William 

The entire independent cities of: 
Alexandria 
Fairfax City 
Falls Church 
Manassas 
Manassas Park 

§6. Conditions governing the intrastate movement of 
regulated articles. 

A. Movement within regulated areas – Movement of a 
regulated article solely within the regulated area is allowed 
without restriction. 

B. Any regulated article may be moved intrastate from a 
regulated area only if moved under the following conditions: 

1. With a certificate or limited permit issued and attached 
in accordance with §7 and §10 of this quarantine. 

2. Without a certificate or limited permit, if: 

a. The points of origin and destination are indicated on a 
waybill accompanying the regulated article; and 

b. The regulated article, if moved through the regulated 
area during the period of April 1 through September 30, 
is moved in an enclosed vehicle or is completely covered 
to prevent access by the emerald ash borer; and 

c. The regulated article is moved directly through the 
regulated area without stopping (except for refueling or 
for traffic conditions, such as traffic lights or stop signs), 
or has been stored, packed, or handled at locations 
approved by an inspector as not posing a risk of 
infestation by the emerald ash borer; and 

d. The regulated article has not been combined or 
commingled with other articles so as to lose its individual 
identity. 

3. With a limited permit issued by the Commonwealth if 
the regulated article is moved: 

a. By a state or federal agency for experimental or 
scientific purposes; 

b. Under conditions, specified on the permit, which the 
commissioner has found to be adequate to prevent the 
spread of the emerald ash borer; and 

c. With a tag or label, bearing the number of the permit 
issued for the regulated article, attached to the outside of 
the container of the regulated article or attached to the 

regulated article itself, if the regulated article is not in a 
container. 

§7. Issuance and cancellation of certificates and limited 
permits. 

A. Certificates may be issued by an inspector or any person 
operating under a compliance agreement for the movement of 
regulated articles to any destination within Virginia when: 

1. The articles have been examined by the inspector and 
found to be apparently free of the emerald ash borer; 

2. The articles have been grown, produced, manufactured, 
stored or handled in such a manner that, in the judgment of 
the inspector, their movement does not present a risk of 
spreading the emerald ash borer; 

3. The regulated article is to be moved in compliance with 
any additional conditions deemed necessary under the 
Virginia Pest Law to prevent the spread of the emerald ash 
borer; and 

4. The regulated article is eligible for unrestricted 
movement under all other state or federal domestic plant 
quarantines and regulations applicable to the regulated 
articles. 

B. Limited permits may be issued by an inspector for the 
movement of regulated articles to specific destinations within 
Virginia if: 

1. The regulated article is apparently free of emerald ash 
borer, based on inspection; or the article has been grown, 
produced, manufactured, stored, or handled in a manner 
that, in the judgment of the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, prevents the article 
from presenting a risk of spreading the emerald ash borer; 
or 

2. The regulated article is to be moved intrastate to a 
specified destination under conditions which specify the 
limited handling, utilization, processing or treatment of the 
articles, when the inspector determines that such movement 
will not result in the spread of the emerald ash borer 
because the life stage(s) of the insect will be destroyed by 
such specified handling, utilization, processing or 
treatment; and  

3. The regulated article is to be moved in compliance with 
any additional conditions deemed necessary under the 
Virginia Pest Law to prevent the spread of the emerald ash 
borer; and 

4. The regulated article is eligible for interstate movement 
under all other state or federal domestic plant quarantines 
and regulations applicable to the regulated article. 

C. Certificates and limited permits for use for intrastate 
movement of regulated articles may be issued by an inspector 
or person operating under a compliance agreement. A person 
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operating under a compliance agreement may issue a 
certificate for the intrastate movement of a regulated article if 
an inspector has determined that the regulated article is 
otherwise eligible for a certificate in accordance with 
subsection A of this section. A person operating under a 
compliance agreement may issue a limited permit for 
intrastate movement of a regulated article when an inspector 
has determined that the regulated article is eligible for a 
limited permit in accordance with subsection B of this 
section. 

D. Any certificate or limited permit that has been issued or 
authorized may be withdrawn by the inspector orally, or in 
writing, if he or she determines that the holder of the 
certificate or limited permit has not complied with all 
conditions for the use of the certificate or limited permit or 
with any applicable compliance agreement. If the withdrawal 
is oral, the withdrawal and the reasons for the withdrawal 
shall be confirmed in writing as promptly as circumstances 
allow. 

§8. Compliance agreements and cancellation. 

A. Any person engaged in growing, handling, or moving 
regulated articles may enter into a compliance agreement 
when an inspector determines that the person understands this 
quarantine. The agreement shall stipulate that safeguards will 
be maintained against the establishment and spread of 
infestation, and will comply with the conditions governing 
the maintenance of identity, handling, and subsequent 
movement of such articles, and the cleaning and treatment of 
means of conveyance and containers. 

B. Any compliance agreement may be canceled orally or in 
writing by an inspector whenever the inspector finds that the 
person who has entered into the compliance agreement has 
failed to comply with this quarantine. If the cancellation is 
oral, the cancellation and the reasons for the cancellation shall 
be confirmed in writing as promptly as circumstances allow.  

§9. Assembly and inspection of regulated articles. 

A. Any person (other than a person authorized to issue 
certificates or limited permits under §7) who desires to move 
a regulated article intrastate accompanied by a certificate or 
limited permit shall apply for inspection as far in advance as 
possible, but at least five business days before the services are 
needed.  

B. The regulated article must be assembled at the place and in 
the manner the inspector designates as necessary to facilitate 
inspection and comply with this quarantine. The regulated 
article shall be safeguarded from infestation. 

§10. Attachment and disposition of certificates and limited 
permits. 

A. A certificate or limited permit required for the intrastate 
movement of a regulated article must be attached, at all times 

during the intrastate movement, to the outside of the container 
containing the regulated article, or to the regulated article 
itself, if not in a container. The requirements of this section 
may also be met by attaching the certificate or limited permit 
to the consignee's copy of the waybill, provided the regulated 
article is sufficiently described on the certificate or limited 
permit and on the waybill to identify the regulated article. 

B. The certificate or limited permit for the intrastate 
movement of a regulated article must be furnished by the 
carrier to the consignee at the destination of the regulated 
article. A copy of the certificate and/or limited permit must be 
retained by the sender of the article(s) at the place of origin. 

§11. Inspection and disposal of regulated articles and 
pests. 

Any properly identified inspector is authorized to stop and 
inspect, and to seize, destroy, or otherwise dispose of, or 
require disposal of regulated articles and emerald ash borers 
as provided in the Virginia Pest Law under which this 
quarantine is issued. 

§12. Nonliability of the department. 

The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services shall not be liable for any costs incident to 
inspections required under the provisions of the quarantine 
and regulations, other than for the services of the inspector. 

This Temporary Quarantine becomes effective on July 21, 
2008, and shall continue for a period not to exceed 90 days. 

Issued on July 21, 2008, in Richmond, Virginia. 

/s/ Todd P. Haymore 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

VIRGINIA BIRTH-RELATED NEUROLOGICAL 
INJURY COMPENSATION PROGRAM 

Changes to Program Guidelines 

Notice is hereby given that the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program seeks comment 
on proposed changes to the program guidelines.  The 
proposed changes may be viewed on the program’s website at 
www.vabirthinjury.com on the "Claimants/Families" page. A 
copy of the proposed changes also is available for inspection 
during normal business hours at the program’s office located 
at 7501 Boulders View Drive, Suite 210, Richmond, VA 
23225. The program also will provide a copy in response to 
written requests. All comments must be submitted in written 
form and may be directed to the board of directors at the 
above address. Comments also may be emailed to 
board@vabirthinjury.com. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the submitting party. 
A meeting to receive public comments will be held 
September 8, 2008, from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the Holiday 
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Inn Select Koger South, 10800 Midlothian Turnpike, 
Richmond, VA. This comment period ends September 15, 
2008. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Consent Order - Baltimore Tank Lines 
An enforcement action has been proposed for Baltimore Tank 
Lines, Inc. for alleged violations in Alexandria, Virginia 
stemming from a fuel oil spill at the Mirant Potomac River 
Generating Station.  A description of the proposed action is 
available at the DEQ office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie Bellotti will accept 
comments by email at sbellotti@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (703) 
583-3821, or postal mail Northern Regional Office, 13901 
Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from August 5, 2008, 
through September 4, 2008. 

Proposed Consent Order - Leisure Capital 
Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Leisure Capital 
Corporation for alleged violations in Louisa County at the 
Shenandoah Crossing Sewage Treatment Plant. The consent 
order describes a settlement to resolve permit effluent 
violations at the Shenandoah Crossing Sewage Treatment 
Plant. A description of the proposed action is available at the 
DEQ office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Stephanie Bellotti will accept comments by email at 
sabellotti@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (703) 583-3801, or postal 
mail, Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, from August 5, 2008, through 
September 4, 2008. 

Proposed Consent Order - South Fork Shenandoah 
River 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 
Elkton for alleged violations in Rockingham County. A 
proposed consent order describes a settlement to resolve 
alleged operational violations and unauthorized discharges to 
the South Fork Shenandoah River. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the DEQ office named below 
or online at www.deq.virginia.gov.  Steven W. Hetrick will 
accept comments by email swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 
(540-574-7878) or postal mail Department of Environmental 
Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, 4411 Early 
Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801 from August 4, 2008, to 
September 3, 2008. 

Total Maximum Daily Load - Smith Creek 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) seek 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of a total maximum daily load implementation 

plan (TMDL IP) for Smith Creek in Rockingham and 
Shenandoah counties. The plan will be developed to 
implement bacteria and sediment TMDLs that were 
developed for Smith Creek in 2004.  EPA approved these 
TMDLs on June 29, 2004. 

Virginia's 1997 Water Quality Monitoring, Information, and 
Restoration Act (§§62.1-44.19:4 through 62.1-44.19:8 of the 
Code of Virginia), or WQMIRA, requires the Commonwealth 
to develop TMDL IPs for water bodies that have EPA-
approved TMDLs.  DEQ and DCR are fulfilling this 
requirement in the Smith Creek watershed, and seek public 
input on the development of the plan. 

The first public meeting on the development of this TMDL IP 
will be held on Wednesday, August 6, 2008, 7 p.m. at the 
New Market Town Office Building, 9418 John Sevier Road, 
New Market, Virginia. 

The public comment period for the first public meeting will 
end on September 8, 2008.  Written comments should include 
the name, address, and telephone number of the person 
submitting the comments and should be sent to Robert Brent, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early Road, P.O. 
Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 574-
7848, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
rnbrent@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program 

The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) received 
numerous loan requests and set-aside suggestions following 
our announcement in December 2006, of funds available from 
the Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program. Through 
the Safe Drinking Water Act, Congress authorizes 
capitalization grants to the states but authorization has not 
been finalized. 

The VDH’s Office of Drinking Water (ODW) has prepared a 
draft intended use plan (IUP) using information submitted via 
the loan requests and set-aside suggestions.  This IUP is for 
your review and comment. The document dated December 
29, 2006, and entitled "Virginia Drinking Water State 
Revolving Fund Program – Program Design Manual" is a part 
of the intended use plan.  This document was mailed in our 
December announcement. The draft IUP is available at 
www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinkingwater/financial. 

As previously announced, the VDH will hold a public 
meeting.  The meeting will be on Wednesday, August 27, 
2008, from 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. at the Office of Drinking 
Water East Central Field Office, 300 Turner Road, 
Richmond, VA 23225.  In addition, comments from the 
public are to be postmarked by Wednesday, September 3, 
2008. 
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If you plan to attend, please contact Theresa Hewlett at 
(804) 864-7501 by the close of business on Friday, August 
22, 2008, so that we may properly plan the meeting. 

Please direct your requests for information and forward 
written comments to Steven D. Pellei, P. E., Virginia 
Department of Health, Division for Construction Assistance, 
Planning, and Policy, Office of Drinking Water, James 
Madison Building, Room 622, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7501, FAX 
(804) 864-7521. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on July 17, 2008. The orders may be viewed at 
the State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 910 
Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Thirty (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1037; "Bingo Night" 
(effective 7/14/08) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-One (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1060; "Good Luck Tripler" 
(effective 7/14/08) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Two (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1061; "Dazzler Jewels" 
(effective 7/14/08) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Three (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1062; "$120 Million Cash 
Blowout" (effective 7/14/08) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Four (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1065; "Jewel 7's" (effective 
7/14/08) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Five (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1066; "Triple Dough" 
(effective 7/14/08) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Six (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1067; "Poker Face" (effective 
7/14/08) 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 

Variance Notice 

The State Human Rights Committee considered a request for 
variance to the Rules and Regulations to Assure the Rights of 
Individuals Receiving Services from Providers Licensed, 
Funded or Operated by the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services at its 
meeting on August 1, 2008, at the Region Ten CSB 
Administrative Offices, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903. 

Request for approval of a variance was considered from 
Western State Hospital (12VAC35-115-110, Use of 
Seclusion, Restraint and Time Out). 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Guidance Document 
This guidance memo replaces Guidance Memo No. 03-2011 
and 03-2011 Amendment 1, the implementation guidance for 
the reissuance of General Permit VAG11. On April 10, 2008, 
the State Water Control Board adopted amendments to the 
General VPDES Permit Regulation for Concrete Products 
Facilities, 9VAC25-193, which modified General Permit 
VAG11. These modifications are effective June 11, 2008. 
Copies of the amended permit regulation, fact sheet, modified 
registration statement, modified general permit and other 
items are attached. The purpose of this guidance memo is to 
identify changes that have been made to the General Permit 
VAG11, to provide DEQ staff with guidance on 
implementation of these changes and to provide guidance on 
aspects of the permit that have raised questions. 

The guidance document can be found at 
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=3686. 

Contact Information: Elleanore Daub, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, or email 
emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
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Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Psychology. 

Publication: 24:23 VA.R. 3223-3224 July 21, 2008. 

Corrections to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 3223, the following summary of the proposed regulation 
was inadvertently omitted: 

Summary: 

The proposed action reduces the number of continuing 
education hours that must be gained face-to-face, includes 
real-time interactive hours as face-to-face, recognizes the 
education value in preparation for presentations or 
publication, expands the listing of approved providers, and 
eliminates the process and fee for board approval of 
individual courses and providers. 

Page 3224, after VA.R. Doc. No. change "R07-240" to "R06-
216" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-216 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-155. Traffic Impact Analysis 
Regulations (amending 24VAC30-155-10, 24VAC30-155-
40, 24VAC30-155-50, 24VAC30-155-60, 24VAC30-155-70, 
24VAC30-155-80). 

Publication: 24:23 VA.R. 3290-3304 July 21, 2008. 

Correction to Final regulation: 

Page 3303, 24VAC30-155-80 B, add subdivision C 5 on the 
second and the last lines. Subsection B should read as 
follows: 

B. Proposals containing supplemental traffic analysis as 
described in subdivisions C 1, 2, and 5 of 24VAC30-155-50. 
No fee shall be charged for the review of a subdivision plat, 
site plan, or plan of development submission that properly 
includes a supplemental traffic analysis submitted under 
subdivisions C 1, 2, and 5 of 24VAC30-155-50. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1050 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 




