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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (I) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (I) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2008 through August 2009 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

FINAL INDEX Volume 24  October 2008 

25:3 September 24, 2008 October 13, 2008 

25:4 October 8, 2008 October 27, 2008 

25:5 October 22, 2008 November 10, 2008 

25:6 November 5, 2008 November 24, 2008 

25:7 November 18, 2008 (Tuesday) December 8, 2008 

INDEX 1 Volume 25  January 2009 

25:8 December 3, 2008 December 22, 2008 

25:9 December 16, 2008 (Tuesday) January 5, 2009 

25:10 December 30, 2008 (Tuesday) January 19, 2009 

25:11 January 14, 2009 February 2, 2009 

25:12 January 28, 2009 February 16, 2009 

25:13 February 11, 2009 March 2, 2009 

25:14 February 25, 2009 March 16, 2009 

INDEX 2 Volume 25  April 2009 

25:15 March 11, 2009 March 30, 2009 

25:16 March 25, 2009 April 13, 2009 

25:17 April 8, 2009 April 27, 2009 

25:18 April 22, 2009 May 11, 2009 

25:19 May 6, 2009 May 25, 2009 

25:20 May 20, 2009 June 8, 2009 

INDEX 3 Volume 25  July 2009 

25:21 June 3, 2009 June 22, 2009 

25:22 June 17, 2009 July 6, 2009 

25:23 July 1, 2009 July 20, 2009 

25:24 July 15, 2009 August 3, 2009 

25:25 July 29, 2009 August 17, 2009 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Spring 2008 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 7, dated 
December 10, 2007, and fast-track regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24 Issue 10, dated January 21, 
2008). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final regulations 
are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows action taken, the 
volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 30-45-10 through 1 VAC 30-45-860 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3449-3506 10/1/08 
1 VAC 30-46-10 through 1 VAC 30-46-210 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3506-3523 10/1/08 
1 VAC 50-10-60 through 1 VAC 50-10-150 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 119 10/29/08 
1 VAC 50-11-10 through 1 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 119-122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-10-10 through 1 VAC 55-10-50 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-11-10 through 1 VAC 55-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 122-125 10/29/08 
1 VAC 75-10-10 through 1 VAC 75-10-40 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3523 9/17/08 
1 VAC 75-11-10 through 1 VAC 75-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3523-3526 9/17/08 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2321 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-90-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2322 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-100-10 through 2 VAC 5-100-40 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3707 10/18/08 
2 VAC 5-150-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2323 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2326 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-60 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-120 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2328 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-206-10 through 2 VAC 5-206-50 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3527-3531 10/3/08 
2 VAC 5-210-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1096 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-210-41 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1097 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 126 10/15/08 
2 VAC 5-335-10 through 2 VAC 5-335-130 Added 25:2 VA.R. 126-129 10/15/08 
2 VAC 5-390-180 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/11/08 
2 VAC 5-400-5 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2330 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-420-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2838 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-420-80 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2840 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-501-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2332 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-501-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2336 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2340 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-60 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
2 VAC 5-510-70 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-80 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-100 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-120 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-140 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-150 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-160 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-170 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-180 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-190 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-200 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-220 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-230 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-240 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-250 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-260 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-270 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-290 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-300 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-310 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-320 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-330 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-340 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-350 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-360 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-390 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-400 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-410 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-420 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-500 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-510 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2353 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-531-50 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2235 5/29/08 
2 VAC 5-531-140 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2241 5/29/08 
2 VAC 15-20-81 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2242 4/14/08 
2 VAC 20-10-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3331 9/18/08 
2 VAC 20-10-100 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3331 9/18/08 
2 VAC 20-10-110 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3331 9/18/08 
2 VAC 20-20-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-40-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2357 6/12/08 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-50-140 emer Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1344 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-50-145 emer Added 24:11 VA.R. 1345 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-70-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1891 5/1/08 
3 VAC 5-70-225 emer Added 24:10 VA.R. 1257 1/2/08-1/1/09 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 3-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-11-10 through 4 VAC 3-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 130-132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-11-10 through 4 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 133-136 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-50-10 through 4VAC5-50-170 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2357 5/28/08 
4 VAC 15-20-50 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1258 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-130 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1259 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-210 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-5 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-30 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3108 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3108 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-190 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-210 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-220 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-20 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-25 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-71 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3332 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-50-81 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-91 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3110 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-70-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-70-70 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-22 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3112 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-80 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3112 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3332 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-90-90 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3113 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-91 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3114 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-110-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3117 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-110-75 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-11 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-20 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-31 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-40 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3119 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-51 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3119 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-260-140 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3333 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-270-50 Repealed 24:24 VA.R. 3334 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-320-25 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1265 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-100 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
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4 VAC 15-340-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1274 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-20 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-60 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-70 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-360-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1276 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-410-10 through 4 VAC 15-410-160 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3119-3125 7/1/08 
4 VAC 20-40-10 through 4 VAC 20-40-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-20 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-140-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-140-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-140-25 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-150-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1277 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-55 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-150 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-230 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-56 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-58 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-320-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-20 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1735 2/5/08 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-25 Added 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 960 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2024 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 emer Amended 24:8 VA.R. 962 11/28/07-12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1282 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2025 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-670-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-25 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
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4 VAC 20-670-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-700-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-15 emer Added 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-15 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-106 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 24 9/1/08-9/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-50 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-751-15 Added 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-752-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2246 4/1/08 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2756 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3537 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48.1 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2029 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-45 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-47 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-35 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1459 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 965 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2760 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2920 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1130-10 through 4 VAC 20-1130-70 Added 24:8 VA.R. 968-970 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1140-10 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1140-20 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1140-30 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1150-10 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1150-20 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1424 -- 
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4 VAC 25-150-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2359 6/12/08 
4 VAC 50-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-11-10 through 4 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 138-141 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-20-20 through 4 VAC 50-20-90 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3539-3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-51 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3544 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-52 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-54 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-58 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-59 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-100 through 4 VAC 50-20-140 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3554-3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-105 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-125 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3557 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-150 through 4 VAC 50-20-240 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3558-3563 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-155 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-165 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3559 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-175 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3560 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-177 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3561 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-250 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3564 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-260 through 4 VAC 50-20-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3564-3565 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-330 through 4 VAC 50-20-400 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3565-3567 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2842 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1200 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2852 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1210 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2853 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1240 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2856 7/9/08 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1349 2/15/08 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-31-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3568 9/18/08 
6 VAC 15-61-10 through 6 VAC 15-61-300 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 970 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-10 through 6 VAC 15-62-120 Added 24:8 VA.R. 970-979 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-110 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1736 3/3/08 
6 VAC 15-62 (Forms) Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1523 -- 
6 VAC 20-80-10 through 6 VAC 20-80-90 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3127-3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-80-100 Repealed 24:23 VA.R. 3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-80-110 Repealed 24:23 VA.R. 3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 141 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 143 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-70 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-80 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-100 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

321 
 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
6 VAC 20-160-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-171-10 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3134 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-50 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3137 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-120 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3138 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-230 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3139 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-320 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3141 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-350 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3142 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-360 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3145 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-250-10 through 6 VAC 20-250-380 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3146-3161 8/20/08 
6 VAC 35-10-10 through 6 VAC 35-10-150 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3573 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-11-10 through 6 VAC 35-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3574-3576 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-51-10 through 6 VAC 35-51-1100 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3577-3610 9/17/08 
6 VAC 40-10-10 through 6 VAC 40-10-90 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 146 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-11-10 through 6 VAC 40-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 147-149 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-20-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-120 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-130 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-160 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6 VAC 40-50-80 Added 24:9 VA.R. 1103-1104 2/6/08 
Title 7. Economic Development 
7 VAC 10-20-10 through 7 VAC 10-20-350 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3719 9/1/08 
7 VAC 10-21-10 through 7 VAC 10-21-610 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3719-3729 9/1/08 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2936 9/15/08 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3040 8/6/08 
9 VAC 20-60-18 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1106 2/6/08 
9 VAC 20-80-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 150 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 160 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 166 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-260 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 176 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-270 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 183 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-280 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 191 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-485 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 193 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-500 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 200 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-510 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 203 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32 (Forms) Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1738 -- 
9 VAC 25-120-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-50 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1109 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2502 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-40 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-196-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-40 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1125 2/6/08 
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9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2532 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1132 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1136 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-116 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1140 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1142 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1741 * 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amending 24:26 VA.R. 3747 8/12/08 
9 VAC 25-640 Appendices I through IX Amended  25:2 VA.R. 217-231 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 206 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-50 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-70 through 9 VAC 25-640-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210-213 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-130 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 213 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-150 through 9 VAC 25-640-230 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 213-217 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 217 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-660-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1144 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1145 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1147 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1156 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1157 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1158 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1159 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1170 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1172 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1174 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1175 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1176 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1188 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1190 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2540 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-720-120 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2940 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-720-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2548 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-740-10 through 9 VAC 25-740-210 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3748-3773 10/1/08 
9 VAC 25-820-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2942 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-820-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2944 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-820-70 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2944 8/7/08 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-20-30 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3043 6/23/08 
10 VAC 5-40-5 Added 24:22 VA.R. 3045 7/1/08 
10 VAC 5-40-60 Added 24:22 VA.R. 3045 7/1/08 
10 VAC 5-160-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3775 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-70 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-80 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
Title 11. Gaming 

                                                           
* Effective upon filing notice of U.S. EPA approval with Registrar of Regulations 
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11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-20 Repealed 24:16 VA.R. 2248 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-25 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-35 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2251 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-75 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2257 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-85 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2258 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2259 4/14/08 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-90-370 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2777 7/1/08 
12 VAC 5-195-10 through 12 VAC 5-195-670 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2778-2802 5/26/08 
12 VAC 5-220-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1350 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1353 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-160 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 25 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-371-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1357 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-10 through 12VAC5-381-40 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1358-1361 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-60 through 12VAC5-381-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1361-1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1364 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-30 through 12 VAC 5-391-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1366-1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-250 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-410-230 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1371 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2566 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 231 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-20 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-30 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-90 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-150 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-200 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-230 through 12 VAC 5-481-270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594-2595 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2595 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-370 through 12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2597-2607 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-390 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-400 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 257 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-451 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3612 10/3/08 
12 VAC 5-481-460 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2607 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2608 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2610 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 260 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-500 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2619 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2620 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-530 through 12 VAC 5-481-590 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2622-2626 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2624 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-630 through 12 VAC 5-481-760 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2626-2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-780 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-790 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-800 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-810 through 12 VAC 5-481-910 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2630-2631 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-930 through 12 VAC 5-481-1050 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2632-2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-971 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2632 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1090 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1160 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1161 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1190 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2637 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1200 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2638 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1220 through 12 VAC 5-481-1250 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2639-2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1310 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1320 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1380 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1540 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1550 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1570 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1670 through 12 VAC 5-481-2040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647-2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2001 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2649 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2060 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2080 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-2100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2230 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2652 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2240 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2260 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2280 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2330 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2540 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2550 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2572 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2659 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2573 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2660 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2660 through 12 VAC 5-481-2950 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2660-2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2870 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2970 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2980 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2662 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3000 through 12 VAC 5-481-3040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2663-2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3070 through 12 VAC 5-481-3140 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2667-2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3051 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2666 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3091 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2668 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3200 through 12 VAC 5-481-3270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671-2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3241 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2673 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3261 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2674 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3290 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3400 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2676 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2677 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2683 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2686 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3580 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3600 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3610 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3650 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-3670 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2689 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3680 through 12 VAC 5-481-3780 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2689-2715 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3710 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 35 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-50-130 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3165 7/2/08 - 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-70-221 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2959 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-70-311 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-70-321 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Erratum 24:17 VA.R. 2473 -- 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2962 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3617 8/4/08-8/3/09 
12 VAC 30-80-75 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2965 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-80-190 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 41 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-90-41 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-100-170 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/2/08 
12 VAC 30-120-70 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3168 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-90 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3169 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3781 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-120-140 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3171 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-211 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3174 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-213 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3177 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-225 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3178 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-229 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3181 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-237 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3182 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-247 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3184 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-700 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3185 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-710 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3189 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-754 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3190 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-758 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3191 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-762 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3192 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-770 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3193 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-900 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3195 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3197 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-920 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3198 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-970 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3200 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3202 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1550 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3204 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2000 emer Added 24:23 VA.R. 3206 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2010 emer Added 24:23 VA.R. 3207 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-135-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-70 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/16/08 
12 VAC 35-11-10 through 12 VAC 35-11-110 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 271 10/29/08 
12 VAC 35-12-10 through 12 VAC 35-12-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 271-274 10/29/08 
12 VAC 35-105-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1372 3/5/08 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-21-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-31 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
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13 VAC 5-21-41 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-45 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-61 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1896 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-20 through 13 VAC 5-31-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1897-1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-70 through 13 VAC 5-31-170 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1898-1903 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-75 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-85 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1900 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-200 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-210 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-215 through 13 VAC 5-31-270 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1904-1905 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-21 through 13 VAC 5-51-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1907-1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-85 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1921 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-91 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1924 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-130 through 13 VAC 5-51-135 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1925-1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-143 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-145 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-152 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-154 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-155 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1939 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-10 through 13 VAC 5-63-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-70 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-80 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-100 through 13 VAC 5-63-130 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-190 through 13 VAC 5-63-260 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-225 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-265 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-267 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-280 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-300 through 13 VAC 5-63-360 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-335 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-400 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-430 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-432 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-434 through 13 VAC 5-63-450 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-470 through 13 VAC 5-63-500 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-520 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-525 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-550 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-100 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-110 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-115 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-120 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
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13 VAC 5-91-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1947 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1948 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-112-340 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 979 1/23/08 
13 VAC 5-200-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-40 through 13 VAC 5-200-80 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784-3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1373 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1374 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1376 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1387 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1397 2/4/08 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2153 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-200-185 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2155 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-90 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-100 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-215 (Forms) Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2452 -- 
14 VAC 5-270-10 through 14 VAC 5-270-150 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1460-1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-144 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1467 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-146 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1468 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-148 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1469 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-174 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-180 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-395-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3811 8/29/08 
Title 15. Judicial 
15 VAC 5-80-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3211 7/1/08 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3213 8/21/08 
16 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/18/08 
16 VAC 15-30-190 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3214 8/21/08 
16 VAC 20-20-20 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3065 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-40 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3066 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3068 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-60 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3069 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-80 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-110 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/7/08 
16 VAC 25-10-10 through 16 VAC 25-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3811 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-11-10 through 16 VAC 25-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3811-3814 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.6 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.68 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.94 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.103 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.107 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.110 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.111 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.132 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.144 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.243 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.251 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.253 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.261 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.152 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.96 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.106 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.95 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 15-10-10 through 18 VAC 15-10-90 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 55 10/15/08 
18 VAC 15-11-10 through 18 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 55-58 10/15/08 
18 VAC 15-20-451 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2455 8/1/08 
18 VAC 30-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3814 -- 
18 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1285 2/20/08 
18 VAC 45-10-10 through 18 VAC 45- 10-90 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3815 10/2/08 
18 VAC 45-11-10 through 18 VAC 45-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3815-3818 10/2/08 
18 VAC 60-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 58 -- 
18 VAC 60-20-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2874 7/24/08 
18 VAC 60-20-81 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1949 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-108 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1950 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1287 3/10/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 65-10-10 through 18 VAC 65-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 291 10/29/08 
18 VAC 65-11-10 through 18 VAC 65-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 291-294 10/29/08 
18 VAC 65-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 
18 VAC 65-20-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-15 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-120 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-130 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-151 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/6/08 
18 VAC 65-20-153 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-170 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-171 Added 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-240 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-350 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-420 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-440 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-500 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-510 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3361 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-590 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3361 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-700 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3361 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 
18 VAC 75-10-10 through 18 VAC 75-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 294 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-11-10 through 18 VAC 75-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 295-297 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 -- 
18 VAC 76-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3819 -- 
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18 VAC 76-30-10 through 18 VAC 76-30-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-31-10 through 18 VAC 76-31-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3633-3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3820 -- 
18 VAC 85-10-10 through 18 VAC 85-10-110 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-11-10 through 18 VAC 85-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 85-20-225 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3367 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-20-226 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-400 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2876 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-40-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-40-55 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-40-67 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-50-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50-59 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-50-61 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-80-26 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80-65 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-80-73 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-101 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-40 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-55 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-60 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-70 Repealed 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-145 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-101-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-153 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-110-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110-145 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3369 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-110-161 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-120 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-120-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-70 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-85 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3369 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-120-90 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-95 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-130 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-130-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 90-10-10 through 18 VAC 90-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-11-10 through 18 VAC 90-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3636-3639 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
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18 VAC 90-20-10 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1842 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-40 through 18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843-1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-65 Repealed 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-70 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-90 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-95 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-96 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-110 through 18 VAC 90-20-140 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846-1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-151 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-160 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-190 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-200 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-220 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-230 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-271 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2969 7/23/08 
18 VAC 90-20-275 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-280 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-300 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-370 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-390 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-410 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1853 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-25 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2731-2732 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3369 9/3/08 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-121 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1289 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-160 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3370 9/3/08 
18 VAC 90-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-60-110 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3216 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 95-20-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-20-175 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2887 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-30 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 95-30-40 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-30-95 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3219 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-30-150 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3220 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-30-180 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3220 9/4/08 
18 VAC 105-10-10 through 18 VAC 105-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3828 10/1/08 
18 VAC 105-11-10 through 18 VAC 105-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3828-3831 10/1/08 
18 VAC 105-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3639 -- 
18 VAC 105-20-75 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3071 8/6/08 
18 VAC 110-10-10 through 18 VAC 110-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 298 10/29/08 
18 VAC 110-11-10 through 18 VAC 110-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 298-301 10/29/08 
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18 VAC 110-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 983 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-75 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3071 8/6/08 
18 VAC 110-20-321 Added 24:8 VA.R. 986 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-411 through 18 VAC 110-20-416 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 986-987 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-530 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2265 5/14/08 
18 VAC 110-30 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-30-15 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-50-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-160 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-170 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-180 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-190 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 112-10-10 through 18 VAC 112-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 61 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-11-10 through 18 VAC 112-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 62-64 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3831 -- 
18 VAC 115-10-10 through 18 VAC 115-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3832 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-11-10 through 18 VAC 115-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3832-3835 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-20-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3387 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-45 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3387 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-49 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3388 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-51 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3388 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-52 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3388 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-120 Repealed 24:24 VA.R. 3390 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-30-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 115-30-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 115-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-50-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3390 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-50-40 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3390 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-50-55 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3391 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-50-60 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3391 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-60-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3392 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60-50 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3393 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60-70 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3393 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3394 9/3/08 
18 VAC 120-10-100 through 18 VAC 120-10-180 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3835 10/2/08 
18 VAC 120-11-10 through 18 VAC 120-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3836-3838 10/2/08 
18 VAC 125-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 125-20-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 125-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 125-30-120 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 130-20-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3225 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3229 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-180 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3229 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-200 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3231 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-230 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3231 9/1/08 
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18 VAC 135-20-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1408 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-30 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1409 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-101 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1412 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-105 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-180 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-190 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1416 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-210 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-220 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-300 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-345 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-360 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-370 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-390 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1420 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-60-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1230 3/1/08 
18 VAC 140-10-10 through 18 VAC 140-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3641 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-11-10 through 18 VAC 140-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3641-3644 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 67 -- 
18 VAC 140-20-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3234 9/4/08 
18 VAC 140-20-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3235 9/4/08 
18 VAC 140-20-105 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2890 7/24/08 
18 VAC 150-10-10 through 18 VAC 150-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 68 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-11-10 through 18 VAC 150-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 68-71 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3838 -- 
18 VAC 150-20-135 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2969 7/23/08 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-10-10 through 19 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3839 10/1/08 
19 VAC 30-11-10 through 19 VAC 30-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3839-3842 10/1/08 
19 VAC 30-20-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421 3/6/08 
19 VAC 30-70-6 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-7 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-9 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 989 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 991 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-40 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 994 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 995 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 997 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-80 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 998 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-90 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-110 through 19 VAC 30-70-660 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001-1070 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-190-10 through 19 VAC 30-190-140 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421-1423 3/6/08 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-315-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3846 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-50 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3847 8/25/08 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

334 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2971 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-80-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2976 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2977 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2983 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-40 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-50 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2985 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-55 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2985 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-60 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2986 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2987 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-70 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2988 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2988 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-80 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2989 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-90 Repealed 24:21 VA.R. 2992 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-95 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2992 7/1/08 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 5-30-10 through 22 VAC 5-30-60 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3665-3669 1/1/09 
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1295 3/6/08 
22 VAC 30-10-10 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3076 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-10 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-20 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-20 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-40 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-50 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-60 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-11-10 through 22 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 72-74 10/15/08 
22 VAC 40-11-10 through 22 VAC 40-11-70 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 74 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-12-10 through 22 VAC 40-12-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 74-78 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-470-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-685-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-690-20 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3420 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-30 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3420 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-40 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3421 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-55 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3421 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-65 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3421 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-705-10 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1987 3/1/08-2/28/09 
22 VAC 40-705-30 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1990 3/1/08-2/28/09 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-10-10 through 23 VAC 10-10-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1520-1521 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-10-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1521 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-10-90 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1522 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-20-155 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3848 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-210-20 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3849 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-210-693 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3240 10/6/08 
23 VAC 10-500-10 through 23 VAC 10-500-820 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3253-3289 10/6/08 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 27-30-10 through 24 VAC 27-30-190 Added 25:1 VA.R. 78-89 10/15/08 
24 VAC 30-72-10 through 24 VAC 30-72-170 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2458-2466 7/1/08 
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24 VAC 30-72-30 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2732 -- 
24 VAC 30-155-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3290 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-40 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3291 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3292 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-60 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3294 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3303 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-80 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3303 7/1/08 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene. 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Len Futerman. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To establish a registration 
process for those qualified to administer sedation and 
anesthesia. 

Agency's Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board is advised by 
Counsel that it does not have statutory authority to establish 
registration and issue permits for administration of anesthesia 
and sedation. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-21; Filed September 12, 2008, 2:29 p.m. 

Agency Decision 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene. 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Dr. Robert G. Sotack. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To create a dental retirement 
license at no charge. 

Agency's Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: Licensees of the board 
may allow a license to lapse or may choose to hold an 
inactive license or apply for a restricted volunteer license; the 
board did not choose to establish another category of 
licensure at no cost. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-26; Filed September 12, 2008, 2:29 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 
intends to consider repealing the following regulations: 
8VAC20-370, Rules Governing Fees and Charges and 
promulgating 8VAC20-720, Regulations Governing Local 
School Boards and School Divisions. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal current regulations governing 
fees and charges and create a new regulation that will contain 
specific provisions regarding permissible fees, impermissible 
fees, policies for families that cannot afford the fees, and 
permissible and impermissible actions for the failure to pay 
the fees. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§22.1-16 and 22.1-321 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 14, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy & 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1531; Filed September 24, 2008, 9:54 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 
intends to consider repealing the following regulations: 
8VAC20-670, Regulations Governing the Operation of 
Private Day Schools for Students with Disabilities, and 
promulgating 8VAC20-671, Regulations Governing the 
Operation of Private Day Schools for Students with 
Disabilities and Educational Programs Offered in Group 
Homes and Residential Facilities in the Commonwealth. 
Effective October 31, 2009, the provisions of the Code of 
Virginia are revised pursuant to legislation passed by the 
2008 Acts of Assembly and signed by the Governor. The 
legislation eliminated the interdepartmental regulation of 
children's residential facilities. Thus, new regulations are 
needed to govern the operation of educational programs and 
services in children's residential facilities and group homes. 
The new regulations will provide provisions for the operation 
of schools for students with disabilities and hold all private 
providers of special education to consistent standards. The 
new regulations will allow consistency in the operation and 
management of these education programs. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§22.1-16 and 22.1-321 of Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 14, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy & 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1552; Filed September 24, 2008, 9:50 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider repealing the following regulations: 12VAC5-610, 
Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations and 
promulgating 12VAC5-611, Onsite Sewage Regulations. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to adopt new 
performance-based regulations pertaining to locating, 
designing, constructing and operating onsite sewage systems 
and repeal existing regulations. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-12 and 32.1-164 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Donald Alexander, Director, Division of 
Sewage and Water Services, Department of Health, 109 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-
7473, FAX (804) 864-7475, or email 
don.alexander@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1634; Filed September 23, 2008, 10:03 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 12VAC5-590, 
Waterworks Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to provide additional enforcement tools for 
addressing chronically noncompliant waterworks. 
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The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-12 and 32.1-170 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Robert A. K. Payne, Compliance Manager, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7498, or email 
rob.payne@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1136; Filed September 19, 2008, 10:16 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 12VAC30-80, Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rate; Other Types of Care. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to implement 
reimbursement changes for Ambulatory Surgery Centers 
(ASCs). The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) implemented a new reimbursement system for ASCs 
in calendar year 2007. This action will also implement 
reimbursement changes for outpatient rehabilitation facilities 
that are currently reimbursed on a cost basis.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1405; Filed September 24, 2008, 10:27 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING  

VIRGINIA MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Manufactured Housing Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 

13VAC6-20, Manufactured Housing Licensing and 
Transaction Recovery Fund Regulations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to bring the regulation into compliance 
with 2008 legislation; assess adequacy of licensure fees; 
delete and add text based on recommendations from the 
Office of Attorney General; and clarify application of 
regulations for claims against the regulants. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §36-85.18 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 5 
p.m. on November 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Steve Calhoun, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501 
North Second Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-7015, FAX (804) 371-7090, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1572; Filed September 23, 2008, 11:11 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 18VAC60-20, 
Virginia Board of Dentistry Regulations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to promulgate regulations for 
registration of dental assistants II as required by Chapters 84 
and 264 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4538, FAX (804) 527-
4428, or email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1526; Filed September 23, 2008, 11:03 a.m.  
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BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 18VAC110-20, 
Virginia Board of Pharmacy Regulations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to set the renewal dates in regulation as 
prescribed in Chapter 330 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, 
FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1311; Filed September 23, 2008, 1:34 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given that the State Board of Social Services 
has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
for 22VAC44-35, Virginia Independence Program, which 
was published in 22:26 VA. R 3992 September 4, 2006. The 
intent of the notice of intended regulatory action was 
accomplished with the adoption of an exempt final regulation 
that was approved by the State Board of Social Services on 
June 20, 2007, and was published in the Virginia Register on 
July 23, 2007.  

Contact: Richard Martin, Department of Social Services, 7 N. 
8th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7902, 
FAX (804) 726-7906, or email 
richard.martin@dss.virginia.gov 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-328; Filed September 24, 2008,  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Notice of Suspension of Regulatory Process 
Titles of Regulations: 1VAC30-45. Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories. 

1VAC30-46. Accreditation for Commercial 
Environmental. 

Statutory Authority: §2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia. 

Publication of final regulations: 24:25 VA.R. 3449-3523 
August 18, 2008.  

Suspension of final stage: The final stage of the regulatory 
process was suspended on Wednesday, September 17, 2008, 
pursuant to §2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia. The reason 
for the suspension is that at least 25 persons requested 
additional public comment. 

Delay of effective date: The effective date of this regulatory 
action will be delayed. 

Additional public comment: The Division of Consolidated 
Laboratory Services of the Department of General Services 
(DGS-DCLS) will hold a 30-day public comment period on 
the issues raised by those who requested additional public 
comment. A summary of these issues is provided below. 
DGS-DCLS will only take comments on the issues that were 
raised and the specific regulatory provisions set out below. 

DGS-DCLS will receive public comments until 5 p.m. on 
November 12, 2008. DGS-DCLS will not hold a public 
hearing. Comments may be sent by email or letter to the 
contact listed below. Any comment sent by email must 
include the name, address, and phone number of the person 
sending the comment.  

Contact person: Nancy S. Saylor, Consultant to the Division 
of Consolidated Laboratory Services, Department of General 
Services, 600 North 5th Street, Richmond, VA, 23219, 
telephone (804) 231-7980, email nssaylor@verizon.net. 

Summary of issues raised by those persons requesting 
additional public comment: Citizen water quality monitoring 
groups have two main concerns. First, fees charged under the 
environmental laboratory certification program will severely 
affect the ability of citizen monitoring groups to continue 
operation. Citizen monitoring groups are funded through 
grants from the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 
Grant money is limited. If citizen monitoring groups are 

charged fees, this grant money will be diverted to DCLS and 
not used for its intended purpose, to fund the operation of 
these groups. Second, the final regulations do not take into 
account the recent changes DEQ has made to its citizen water 
quality monitoring program. This leads to a conflict between 
the certification program and the citizen monitoring program. 
Since 2004, DEQ has developed a three-tiered system to 
define how the agency will use citizen monitoring data. DEQ 
has assigned quality assurance and quality control (QA/QC) 
requirements for each of the tiers. DEQ has approved many 
QA/QC plans developed by citizen monitoring groups during 
this time. 

Environmental research laboratories at Virginia’s institutions 
of higher education also raised concerns.  First, the impacts of 
the regulations on research conducted by these laboratories 
are unclear because the regulations do not specifically address 
whether these laboratories would be commercial or 
noncommercial.  One commenter from a university laboratory 
stated that the laboratory performs both research and permit 
monitoring analysis. Second, these laboratories are concerned 
about the fees and other costs of the certification program. 
These costs could have an adverse impact on the operation of 
the laboratories. Third, providing research analysis to DEQ is 
different than submitting data for the purpose of complying 
with a permit. Laboratories providing research analysis 
should not be subject to the same requirements as those 
submitting compliance data. 

Background: The regulations establish the certification 
program required by §2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia for 
environmental laboratories submitting data to the Department 
of Environmental Quality under the state’s air, water and 
waste laws. There are two regulations, one for 
noncommercial environmental laboratories (1VAC30-45) and 
one for commercial environmental laboratories (1VAC30-
46). Each regulation is organized into two parts. Part I of each 
regulation contains the provisions pertaining to the 
administration of the program. This part describes the process 
that owners of environmental laboratories must use to be 
certified and to maintain certification under the program. Part 
II of each regulation contains the quality assurance and 
quality control standards that environmental laboratories must 
meet to be certified under the program. The standards in Part 
II of Chapter 45 have been developed for Virginia 
noncommercial environmental laboratories. The standards in 
Part II of Chapter 46 are the 2003 National Environmental 
Laboratory Accreditation Conference standards, which are 
incorporated by reference into the regulation. 
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The regulations were first proposed in February 2004. DGS-
DCLS took written comments for 60 days. DGS-DCLS also 
held public hearings statewide to hear public comments. At 
the end of the 60-day public comment period, DGS-DCLS 
reviewed the public comments and revised the regulations. 
Because some of the revisions were significant, DGS-DCLS 
announced an additional 30-day public comment period in 
September 2004. Following this public comment period, 
DGS-DCLS made additional changes to the regulations. One 
of these changes was the elimination from the definition of 
environmental analysis and from the program requirements of 
taxonomic identification of samples for which there is no 
national accreditation standard such as algae or benthic 
macroinvertebrates. This change was made in response to 
comments from citizen monitoring groups who commented 
during the second public comment period, for the first time. 
DGS-DCLS sent the draft final regulation package for review 
to the Department of Planning and Budget, the Secretary of 
Administration, and the Governor’s Policy Office, in March 
2005. This executive review was ongoing until July 10, 2008, 
when the Governor’s Office approved the final regulations to 
be promulgated in the Virginia Register. 

Provisions to be added to 1VAC30-45-30: DGS-DCLS and 
DEQ have been working together to draft regulatory 
provisions that address the issues raised by both citizen 
monitoring groups and laboratories at institutions of higher 
education. These proposed new provisions are set out below. 
DGS-DCLS requests comments on the specific language of 
1VAC30-45-30 C and D. 1VAC30-45-30 is provided in its 
entirety. Please comment only on the proposed additional 
language, which is underlined. 

The citizen water quality monitoring program at DEQ has 
grown since 2004, when DEQ and DGS-DCLS last discussed 
how the certification program would affect citizen monitoring 
groups. At that time, seven laboratories were affected and 
only three of these laboratories would incur significant fees. 
The program to use citizen monitors was at the beginning of 
its development. Since 2004, Virginia’s General Assembly 
and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) have 
encouraged DEQ to increase its use of citizen monitors of the 
state’s waters. Since 2004, DEQ has created a program that 
provides separate tiers for different levels of citizen 
monitoring data usage. As the significance of the data use 
increases, the requirements for quality assurance and quality 
control increase. For Tier III, the highest tier, where data are 
used to list or delist waters on the 303(d) impaired water list, 
to assess waters for the 305(b) report to EPA, or to use with 
DEQ data for TMDL development, DEQ requires a quality 
assurance project plan, laboratory audit, and the submittal of 
calibration and quality control associated information to DEQ 
when submitting data. DGS-DCLS and DEQ are proposing 
(see 1VAC30-45-30 C) to allow citizen monitoring groups 
and certain affiliated environmental laboratories to meet 
DEQ’s quality assurance and quality control requirements in 

lieu of the requirements of the certification program. DGS-
DCLS sees no need to override the working quality assurance 
program that DEQ has developed for citizen monitoring 
groups. In addition, these groups have limited funds. Any 
increase in costs would hamper their ability to provide data to 
DEQ. 

DEQ works with many environmental laboratories at 
institutions of higher education on various research projects 
that provide information on the environmental health of the 
state’s waters. Some examples are fish health studies that 
analyze blood chemistry and organ condition; water quality 
studies focusing on storm-event patterns to assess metals, 
pesticides, and organics; benthic biomonitoring; and an 
assessment of chemistry from fish kill vs. nonfish kill areas. 
Most of these laboratories only perform research analyses. 
Some of the laboratories eventually provide analyses that 
support water standards development or that may be 
associated with permitting. DEQ proposes to identify and 
require these laboratories to be certified (see 1VAC30-45-30 
D). 

DEQ believes that analyses performed by laboratories at 
institutions of higher education that are used by DEQ and are 
directly associated with DEQ regulations, permits, 
compliance and/or enforcement activities must be certified by 
DGS-DCLS. Analyses performed by laboratories at 
institutions of higher education and used by DEQ as 
environmental research do not require certification. 

DGS-DCLS and DEQ will treat environmental laboratories at 
institutions of higher education that perform environmental 
analysis required by permits or compliance orders for 
themselves or for others just as they would laboratories 
owned commercially or by local governments or authorities. 
If the laboratory does work for other persons, the laboratory 
would be deemed a commercial laboratory under 1VAC30-
46. If the laboratory does work for the institution of higher 
education of which it is a part, the laboratory would be 
deemed a noncommercial laboratory and be subject to 
1VAC30-45. If the laboratory is a state institution of higher 
education and works for another state agency, the laboratory 
would be deemed noncommercial. 

Regulatory provisions for review: 

1VAC30-45-30. Applicability. 

A. This chapter applies to any owner of a noncommercial 
environmental laboratory. 

B. Any environmental laboratory owned by an agency of the 
federal government may be certified as follows: 

1. By DGS-DCLS to the standards set out in this chapter, 
or 
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2. By a federal primary accrediting authority to the 
standards established by the National Environmental 
Laboratory Accreditation Conference. 

C. Citizen monitoring groups. Section 62.1-44.19:11 of the 
Code of Virginia both establishes a citizen water quality 
monitoring program for Virginia and encourages the growth 
of the program. The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) has a separate program of quality assurance and 
quality control (QA/QC) standards for citizen monitoring 
groups and their laboratories to follow. The following 
laboratories shall meet the DEQ QA/QC requirements 
developed for the purposes of citizen monitoring of water 
quality in lieu of the requirements of 1VAC30, Chapter 45 or 
1VAC30, Chapter 46: 

1. Laboratories owned by citizen monitoring groups. 

2. Laboratories at institutions of higher education affiliated 
with citizen monitoring groups for the purposes of 
analyzing samples for the groups. 

D. Environmental research performed by environmental 
laboratories owned by institutions of higher education. 
Environmental laboratories owned by institutions of higher 
education located in Virginia that perform analyses for the 
purpose of providing environmental research data to DEQ at 
DEQ’s request shall meet the QA/QC requirements specified 
by DEQ. An environmental laboratory owned by an 
institution of higher education located in Virginia that 
performs environmental research for DEQ shall not be subject 
to the requirements of either 1VAC30, Chapter 45 or 
1VAC30, Chapter 46 unless DEQ requires the laboratory to 
do so. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-312; Filed September 17, 2008, 10:21 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§2.2-4006 
et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia 
pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 2VAC5-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 2VAC5-10-10 through 2VAC5-10-
70). 

2VAC5-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
2VAC5-11-10 through 2VAC5-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-4007.02 and 3.2-109 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Roy E. Seward, Jr., Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Oliver W. 
Hill, Sr., Building, 102 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-3535, FAX (804) 371-7679, or 
email roy.seward@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies 
adopt model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 
2008. Public participation guidelines exist to promote 
public involvement in the development, amendment, or 
repeal of an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of 
the 2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments 
on regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period 
during which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) 
providing that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be 
indicated in any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) 
providing for the appointment, when necessary, of 
regulatory advisory panels to provide professional 
specialization or technical assistance and negotiated 
rulemaking panels if a regulatory action is expected to be 
controversial; and (vi) providing for the periodic review 
of regulations. 
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CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

2VAC5-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services or the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services. This chapter does not apply to regulations, 
guidelines, or other documents exempted or excluded from 
the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

2VAC5-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services or the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, which is the unit of state government empowered by 
the agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 
Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 
employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by §2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 

or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

2VAC5-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 
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F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

2VAC5-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 2VAC5-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to §2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

2VAC5-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with §2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to §2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

2VAC5-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in §2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to §2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

2VAC5-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
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when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

2VAC5-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

2VAC5-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with §2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

2VAC5-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

2VAC5-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in §2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1421; Filed September 22, 2008, 3:56 p.m.  

PESTICIDE CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC20-51. Regulations Governing 
Pesticide Applicator Certification Under Authority of 
Virginia Pesticide Control Act (amending 2VAC20-51-10 
through 2VAC20-51-210). 

Statutory Authority: §3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Liza Fleeson, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P. O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX 
(804) 786-9149, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments (i) add new definitions to clarify who 
must be certified and keep pesticide application records; 
(ii) add new definitions to clarify the required supervision 
standard for people training to become applicators; (iii) 
add categories and subcategories of pesticide applicators; 
(iv) establish minimum standards for on-the-job training 
for registered technicians when working in different 
categories or subcategories; (v) establish a time frame 
within which a person would have to finish training and 
take the registered technician examination; (vi) eliminate 
the provision allowing businesses or agencies to proctor 
the registered technician examination to their own 
employees; and (vii) require applicators not for hire to 
keep records of all pesticides applied, not just those that 
are restricted use. 

Changes from the proposed regulation include additional 
language that requires that if an applicant fails the 
registered technician examination, he must reapply and 
retake the exam within 30 days. If the exam is failed again, 
or not taken within 30 days, the individual may not apply 
pesticides commercially until the exam is passed. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

2VAC20-51-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. An asterisk or double asterisk following 
a definition indicates that the definition has been taken from 
the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, Article 1 ([ §3.1-249.27 
(§3.2-3900 ] et seq.) or Article 4 ([ §3.1-249.59 (§3.2-3935 ] 
et seq.), respectively, of Chapter [ 14.1 39 ] of Title [ 3.1 3.2 ] 
of the Code of Virginia. 

"Accident" means an unexpected, undesirable event, 
involving the use or presence of a pesticide, that adversely 
affects man or the environment. 

"Act" means the Virginia Pesticide Control Act ([ §3.1-
249.27 (§3.2-3900 ] et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Adjuvant" means any substance added to a pesticide 
formulation to enhance the effect of the active ingredient. 

"Agricultural commodity" means any plant or part thereof, 
or animal, or animal product, produced by a person, including 
farmers, ranchers, vineyardists, plant propagators, Christmas 
tree growers, aquaculturists, floriculturists, orchardists, 
foresters, nurserymen, wood treaters not for hire, or other 
comparable persons, primarily for sale, consumption, 
propagation, or other use by man or animals.* 

"Board" means the Pesticide Control Board.* 

"Board-approved training" means a course which includes, 
at a minimum, study and review of all the material contained 
in an edition used in Virginia of (i) a basic pesticide 
applicator certification training core manual and (ii) a 
certification training manual for each specific category 
pertaining to the type of pesticide application to be done. 

"Certificate" means the document issued to a certified 
applicator or registered technician who has completed all the 
requirements of Article 3 ([ §3.1-249.51 (§3.2-3929 ] et seq.) 
of Chapter [ 14.1 39 ] of Title [ 3.1 3.2 ] of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Certification" or "certified" means the recognition granted 
by the Pesticide Control Board to an applicator upon 
satisfactory completion of board-approved requirements.* 

"Chemigation" means the application of any pesticide 
through an irrigation system. 

"Commercial applicator" means any applicator who has 
completed the requirements as determined by the board, 
including appropriate training and time in service, to apply 
for a certification, and who uses or supervises the use of any 
pesticide for any purpose or on any property, other than as 
provided in the definition of private applicator.* 

"Commercial applicator not for hire" means any commercial 
applicator who uses or supervises the use of pesticides as part 
of his job duties only on property owned or leased by him or 
his employer. This definition shall It also apply applies to 
governmental employees who use or supervise the use of 
pesticides, whether on property owned or leased by them or 
their employers or not, in the performance of their official 
duties. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services.* 

"Competent person" means a person having the 
demonstrated ability to perform the task to which he is 
assigned. 

"Department" means the Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services.* 

"Drift" means the physical movement of pesticide through 
the air at the time of pesticide application or soon thereafter 
from the target site to any nontarget or off-target site. 
Pesticide drift will not include movement of pesticides to 
nontarget or off-target sites caused by erosion, migration, 
volatility, or windblown soil particles that occurs after 
application unless specifically addressed on the pesticide 
product label with respect to drift control requirements. 

"EPA" means the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency. 

"Fumigant" means any substance which by itself or in 
combination with any other substance emits or liberates a gas 
or gases, fumes or vapors, which gas or gases, fumes or 
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vapors, when liberated and used, that will destroy vermin, 
rodents, insects, and other pests, and are usually lethal, 
poisonous, noxious, or dangerous to human life. 

"Fungicide" means any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 
any fungi or plant disease.* 

"Herbicide" means any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling or mitigating 
any weed.* 

"Incident" means a definite and separate occurrence or 
event, involving the use or presence of a pesticide, that 
adversely affects man or the environment. 

"Insecticide" means any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling or mitigating 
any insects which may be present in any environment 
whatsoever.* 

"Knowledge" means the possession and comprehension of 
pertinent facts, together with the ability to use them in dealing 
with specific problems and situations within the pesticide 
context. 

"Label" means the written, printed, or graphic matter on, or 
attached to, the pesticide or device, or the immediate 
container thereof, and the outside container or wrapper of the 
retail package, if any, of the pesticide or device.* 

"Labeling" means all labels and other written, printed, or 
graphic matter (i) upon the pesticide or device or any of its 
containers or wrappers, (ii) accompanying the pesticide or 
device at any time, or (iii) to which reference is made on the 
label or in literature accompanying the pesticide or device, 
except when accurate, nonmisleading reference is made to 
current official publications of the agricultural experiment 
station, the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State 
University, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, the State Board of Health, or similar federal 
institutions or other official agencies of the Commonwealth 
or other states when such states are authorized by law to 
conduct research in the field of pesticides.* 

"Licensed" or "licensee" means those businesses which, 
when meeting the requirements established by the Pesticide 
Control Board, are issued a license to engage in the sale, 
storage, distribution, recommend the use, or application of 
pesticides in Virginia in exchange for compensation.* 

"Marine antifoulant paint" means any compound, coating, 
paint or treatment applied or used for the purpose of 
controlling freshwater or marine fouling organisms on 
vessels.** 

"Nontarget organism" means any living organism, including 
but not limited to animals, insects, and plants, other than the 
one against which the pesticide is intended to be applied. 

"Pesticide" means (i) any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 
any insects, rodents, fungi, bacteria, weeds, or other forms of 
plant or animal life or viruses, except viruses on or in living 
man or other animals, which the commissioner shall declare 
to be a pest; (ii) any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for use as a plant regulator, defoliant, or desiccant; 
and (iii) any substance which is intended to become an active 
ingredient thereof.* 

"Pesticide business" means any person engaged in the 
business of: distributing, applying or recommending the use 
of a product; or storing, selling, or offering for sale pesticides 
directly to the user. The term "pesticide business" does not 
include (i) wood treaters not for hire; (ii) seed treaters not for 
hire; (iii) operations which produce agricultural products 
unless the owners or operators of such operations described in 
clauses (i), (ii), and (iii) are engaged in the business of selling 
or offering for sale pesticides, or distributing pesticides to 
persons outside of that agricultural producing operation in 
connection with commercial transactions; or (iv) businesses 
exempted by regulations adopted by the board.* 

"Private applicator" means an applicator who uses or 
supervises the use of any pesticide which is classified for 
restricted use for purposes of producing any agricultural 
commodity on property owned or rented by him or his 
employer or, if applied without compensation other than 
trading of personal services between producers of agricultural 
commodities, on the property of another person.* 

"Reentry interval" as noted on the pesticide label, means the 
amount of time which must elapse between the time of a 
pesticide application and the time when it is safe for a person 
to enter the treated area without label-required personal 
protective equipment. 

"Registered technician" means an individual who renders 
services similar to those of a certified commercial applicator, 
but who has not completed all the training or time in service 
requirements to be eligible for examination for certification as 
a commercial applicator and is limited to application of 
general use pesticides. However, if he applies restricted use 
pesticides he shall do so only under the direct supervision of a 
certified commercial applicator.* 

"Registered technician not for hire" means any registered 
technician who uses or supervises the use of pesticides as part 
of his job duties only on property owned or leased by him or 
his employer. It also applies to governmental employees who 
use or supervise the use of pesticides, whether on property 
owned or leased by them or their employers or not, in the 
performance of their official duties. 

"Repeat violation" means another violation following the 
first violation of the same provision of the Virginia Pesticide 
Control Act or the federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and 
Rodenticide Act (7 USC §136 et seq.), or regulations adopted 
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pursuant thereto, committed within a three-year period 
commencing with the date of official notification of the first 
violation of the provision. 

"Restricted entry interval" means the time after the end of a 
pesticide application during which entry into the treated area 
is restricted. 

"Restricted use pesticide" or "pesticide classified for 
restricted use" means any pesticide classified for restricted 
use by the administrator of the EPA under the provisions of 
1947 (7 USC §3(d)(1)(c)) of the federal Insecticide, 
Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (as amended). 

"Rodenticide" means any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 
rodents or any other vertebrate animal which the 
commissioner shall declare to be a pest.* 

"Synergism" means the interaction of two or more active 
ingredients in a pesticide formulation which produce a total 
pesticidal effect that is greater than the sum of the ingredients. 

"Tributyltin compounds" means any compound having three 
normal butyl groups attached to a tin atom and with or 
without an anion such as chloride, fluoride, or oxide.** 

"Under the direct supervision of" means the act or process 
whereby the application of a pesticide is made by a competent 
person acting under the instructions and control of a certified 
applicator who is responsible for the actions of that person.* 

"Under the direct on-site supervision of" means the act or 
process whereby the application of a pesticide is made by a 
competent person acting under the instructions and control of 
a certified applicator who is responsible for the actions of that 
person and is physically present on the property upon which 
the pesticides are pesticide is being applied, and is in constant 
visual contact with the person applying the pesticide. 

"Unreasonable adverse effects on the environment" means 
any unreasonable risk to man or the environment, taking into 
account the economic, social, and environmental costs and 
benefits of the use of any pesticide.* 

"Use" means the employment of a pesticide for the purposes 
of (i) preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating any pest 
or (ii) regulating plant growth, causing defoliation or 
desiccation of plants. The term "use" shall include application 
or mixing, and shall include handling or transfer of a pesticide 
after the manufacturer's original seal is broken. The term 
"use" shall also include any act with respect to a particular 
pesticide which is consistent with the label directions for that 
particular pesticide.* 

"Vessel" means every description of watercraft, other than a 
seaplane, used or capable of being used as a means of 
transportation on the water, whether self-propelled or 
otherwise, and includes barges and tugs.** 

Part II  
Certification of Pesticide Applicators  

2VAC20-51-20. General requirements for certification.  

A. The following persons must be certified as pesticide 
applicators: 

1. Commercial applicators; 

2. Registered technicians; and 

3. Private applicators. 

B. Commercial applicators not for hire must be certified 
only when using any pesticide in the following areas except 
as noted in subsection C of this section: 

1. Areas open to the general public at daycare facilities, 
educational institutions, health care facilities, and 
convalescent facilities; 

2. Areas where open food is stored, processed, or sold; and 

3. Recreational lands over five acres in size. 

C. Employees of local, state, and federal governmental 
agencies who use or supervise the use of any pesticides 
pesticide on any area in the performance of their official 
duties must be certified as either commercial applicators not 
for hire or registered technicians, but they are exempt from 
any certification fees. 

D. All persons desiring certification as pesticide applicators 
must: 

1. Complete board-approved training appropriate for the 
desired classification; and 

2. Submit a completed application to the commissioner; 
and 

2. 3. Pass required examination(s). 

a. Applicants who do not pass the examination on their 
first attempt are eligible to be reexamined for the same 
category 10 days from the date of the first examination. 

b. Applicants who fail on the second or subsequent 
attempts must wait 30 days from the date of the last 
examination before being reexamined in the same 
category. 

c. Applicants requesting reexamination must resubmit a 
completed application to the commissioner or his duly 
authorized agent and pay the nonrefundable applicator 
certification fee again as determined by 2VAC20-30, 
Rules and Regulations Governing the Pesticide Fees 
Charged by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services Under the Virginia Pesticide Control Act. 

E. Persons with a history of repeat violations of federal or 
state pesticide laws or whose certification or pesticide 
business license has been revoked within the two-year period 
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immediately prior to application are not eligible for 
certification. Persons Such persons may appear before the 
board to show why they should be granted certification as 
outlined under provisions of [ §3.1-249.63 D §3.2-3940 E ] of 
the Code of Virginia. 

F. Applicants for certification cannot engage in the activity 
for which they are requesting certification, unless 
participating in supervised direct on-site training, until 
certification has been issued by the commissioner. 
Commercial applicators may not apply pesticides in any 
category or subcategory activity until they have passed the 
category-specific examination and obtained the appropriate 
certification. 

G. A commercial or private applicator or registered 
technician may request a duplicate of the certification card if 
the applicator's or technician's card has been lost, stolen, 
mutilated or destroyed. The department shall issue a duplicate 
card to the applicator or technician upon payment of the costs 
of duplication. 

2VAC20-51-30. Specific certification requirements for 
commercial applicators.  

A. In addition to the general requirements listed in 2VAC20-
51-20, applicants for commercial applicator certification shall 
meet the following requirements: 

1. Certification as a registered technician, as well as 
employment as a registered technician for at least a year; or 

2. One year of education, training, or experience in a 
pesticide related field which provides the equivalent 
practical knowledge of proper pesticide use required of a 
registered technician. 

B. The application process for commercial applicators is as 
follows: 

1. The application must be in writing to the commissioner; 
and 

2. The application must contain: 

a. Name; 

b. Principal business address in the Commonwealth and 
elsewhere; 

c. Qualifications and proposed operations; and 

d. Classification(s) desired. 

Individuals seeking certification as commercial applicators 
must pay a fee as determined by regulations promulgated by 
the Pesticide Control Board 2VAC20-30, Rules and 
Regulations Governing the Pesticide Fees Charged by the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Under the 
Virginia Pesticide Control Act. 

C. Applicants shall, within 90 days after submitting the 
application and paying the fee, report to an authorized testing 
location and take the required examinations. 

D. Aerial pesticide application applicants must meet the 
requirements of the Federal Aviation Agency, the Department 
of Aviation of the Commonwealth, and any other applicable 
federal or state laws or regulations to operate aerial 
equipment. 

2VAC20-51-40. Specific certification requirements for 
private applicators.  

A. Each applicant for a private applicator's certificate shall 
apply to the commissioner and then report to an authorized 
testing location within 90 days and take an examination for 
each certification category, specified in 2VAC20-51-80, 
applicable to his operation. The application shall contain the 
applicant's name, address and classification desired for 
certification. 

B. Persons who cannot read or understand labels will shall 
not be certified as private applicators unless they demonstrate 
competence to apply restricted use pesticides on their own 
properties. After consulting the appropriate Virginia 
Cooperative Extension Service agent, a department pesticide 
investigator may recommend that the board grant a waiver of 
the literacy requirement. Persons certified under this waiver 
shall obtain certification in the categories of limited 
certificate or single product certification as described in 
2VAC20-51-80. Recommendations shall be based upon 
personal knowledge of the individuals' competence to apply 
restricted use pesticides on their own properties. 

2VAC20-51-50. Certification procedures for registered 
technicians.  

A. In addition to the general requirements listed in 2VAC20-
51-20, individuals seeking certification as registered 
technicians must: 

1. Receive on-the-job training in the proper application of 
pesticides under the direct on-site supervision of a certified 
commercial applicator for at least 20 hours during the six-
month period prior to applying for certification; 

2. Complete at least 20 hours of board-approved training; 

3. Submit an application form with the fee established by 
regulations of the Pesticide Control Board; and 

4. Pass Take the examination within 90 days after 
submitting the application and paying the fee an individual 
is hired or transferred into a position where duties and 
functions involve the commercial use of pesticides. 
Individuals not passing the examination [ must follow the 
procedures outlined in 2VAC20-51-20 D 3 on the first 
attempt must reapply, following the procedures outlined in 
2VAC20-51-20 D 3, and retake the examination within 30 
days after the first attempt.  Individuals failing to take and 
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pass the exam within 30 days of the initial exam may not 
apply pesticides commercially, even under direct on-site 
supervision, until they pass the examination ] . 

B. Certified commercial applicators may apply to the 
commissioner, or his duly authorized agent, in writing, for 
authorization to proctor the registered technician exam. 
Authorized proctors may administer and grade the 
examinations, and shall notify the commissioner, or his duly 
authorized agent, of the grade received by the applicant. 
Failure to safeguard examination materials or follow testing 
procedures shall result in revocation of authority to proctor 
the registered technician examination. Before registered 
technicians begin working in any application category or 
subcategory that is different from the category in which they 
received their original training, they shall receive additional 
training from a commercial applicator in the following 
aspects of pesticide application as it relates to the proposed 
category or subcategory of work: 

1. Pesticides to be used, including reading and 
understanding the label; 

2. Application equipment and techniques; 

3. Pests to be controlled; 

4. Personal protective equipment and clothing; and 

5. Environmental concerns, including storage and disposal 
of pesticides applied. 

The commercial applicator providing training to a registered 
technician shall be certified in the category or subcategory for 
which he is providing the training and shall provide proof to 
the department of such training on forms provided by the 
department. Such forms must be received by the department 
within 10 calendar days of the completion of such training. 

2VAC20-51-70. Categories for commercial applicator 
certification.  

A. Commercial applicators must be certified in one or more 
of the following commercial applicator categories or 
subcategories: 

1. Agricultural pest control. 

a. Agricultural plant pest control. This subcategory is for 
commercial applicators who will be using or supervising 
the use of pesticides in production of agricultural crops, 
or on grasslands, or noncrop agricultural lands. 

b. Agricultural animal pest control. This subcategory is 
for commercial applicators who will be using or 
supervising the use of pesticides on agriculturally related 
animals. 

c. Fumigation of soil and agricultural products. This 
subcategory is for commercial applicators who will be 
using or supervising the use of pesticides for soil 
fumigation in production of an agricultural commodity 

and the application of pesticides for fumigation of 
agricultural products. Certification in this subcategory 
requires concurrent certification in the agricultural plant 
pest control category. 

d. Chemigation. This subcategory is for commercial 
applicators who will be using or supervising the use of 
pesticides through an irrigation system. Certification in 
this subcategory requires concurrent certification in the 
agricultural plant pest control category. 

2. Forest pest control. This category is for commercial 
applicators who will be using or supervising the use of 
pesticides in forests, forest nurseries, and seed orchards. 

3. Ornamental and turf pest control. 

a. Ornamental pest control. This subcategory is for 
commercial applicators who will be using or supervising 
the use of pesticides in the maintenance and production 
of ornamental trees, shrubs, and flowers in and out-of-
doors. 

b. Turf pest control. This subcategory is for commercial 
applicators who will be using or supervising the use of 
pesticides in the production and maintenance of turf, 
including, but not limited to, turf in golf courses, 
residential lawns, parks, and cemeteries. 

4. Seed treatment (excluding fumigation). This category is 
for commercial applicators who will be using or 
supervising the use of pesticides on seeds. 

5. Aquatic pest control. 

a. Aquatic pest control - general. This subcategory is for 
commercial applicators who will be using or supervising 
the use of pesticides in or on standing or running water, 
for the express purpose of controlling pests. This 
excludes applicators engaged in public health related 
activities included in subdivision 8 of this subsection, 
public health pest control. 

b. Marine antifoulant paints. This subcategory is for 
commercial applicators who will be using or supervising 
the use of marine antifoulant paints containing tributyltin 
or other restricted use pesticides. 

6. Right-of-way pest control. This category is for 
commercial applicators who will be using or supervising 
the use of pesticides in the maintenance of public rights-of-
way and in the maintenance of fence lines, structural 
perimeters or other similar areas. 

7. Industrial, institutional, structural, and health-related 
pest control. 

a. General pest control (excluding fumigation). This 
subcategory is for commercial applicators who will be 
using or supervising the use of pesticides to control 
household type pests, pests that inhabit or infest 
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structures, stored products, and residential food 
preparation areas, and pests capable of infesting or 
contaminating foods and foodstuffs at any stage of 
processing facilities. 

b. Wood-destroying pest control (excluding fumigation). 
This subcategory is for commercial applicators who will 
be using or supervising the use of pesticides to control 
organisms that destroy structures made of wood. 

c. Fumigation. This subcategory is for commercial 
applicators who will be using or supervising the use of 
fumigant-type pesticides. 

d. Vertebrate pest control (excluding structural invaders). 
This subcategory is for commercial applicators who will 
be using or supervising the use of pesticides to control 
vertebrate pest animals. 

e. Sewer root pest control. This subcategory is for 
commercial applicators who use pesticides for sewer line 
root control. 

8. Public health pest control. This category is for 
commercial applicators who will be using or supervising 
the use of pesticides for the management and control of 
pests having medical and public health significance. 

9. Regulatory pest control. This category is for federal, 
state, and local governmental employee applicators who 
will be using or supervising the use of pesticides in the 
control of regulated pests. 

10. Demonstration and research pest control. This category 
is for commercial applicators who will be demonstrating 
the proper use and techniques of application of pesticides 
(including classroom demonstration), or who will be 
supervising such demonstration. It also includes 
applicators who will be conducting pesticide research on 
greenhouse or field plots. 

11. Aerial pesticide application. This category is for 
commercial applicators who will be using or supervising 
the use of any pesticide applied by fixed- or rotary-wing 
aircraft. 

12. Wood preservation and wood product treatment. This 
category is for commercial applicators who will be using 
or supervising the use of pesticides at treating plants and 
sawmills for preservative treatment of wood and wood 
products. 

13. Miscellaneous. This category is to be used to designate 
categories or subcategories of commercial applicators 
using specific pesticides or uses for which the U.S. EPA 
may mandate certification in order to allow for the 
pesticide or use. 

B. A commercial applicator certified in one category and 
seeking initial certification in one or more additional 

categories shall meet the certification requirements of each of 
the new categories in which he desires certification. 

2VAC20-51-90. Determination of general knowledge and 
qualifications for private and commercial applicators and 
registered technicians.  

A. Applicants shall be tested on their knowledge and 
qualifications concerning the use and handling of pesticides. 
The examination will test the applicants' general knowledge 
required for all categories, and the additional knowledge 
specifically required for each category or subcategory in 
which an applicator desires to be certified. 

B. All applicants for certification as private or commercial 
applicators or registered technicians shall demonstrate 
practical knowledge of the principles and practices of pest 
control and the safe use of pesticides, as contained in a basic 
pesticide applicator certification training core manual. Testing 
will be based on problems and situations in the following 
areas: 

1. Federal and Commonwealth of Virginia pesticide laws 
and regulations; 

2. Understanding and interpreting pesticide labels; 

3. Handling of accidents and incidents; 

4. Proper methods of storing, mixing/loading, transporting, 
handling, applying, and disposing of pesticides; 

5. Safety and health, including proper use of personal 
protective equipment; 

6. Potential adverse effects caused by the application of 
pesticides under various climatic or environmental 
conditions, such as drift from the target area, pesticide run-
off, ground water and drinking water contamination, and 
hazard to endangered species; and 

7. Recognizing common pests and general pest biology. 

2VAC20-51-100. Specific knowledge required for the 
categories of commercial applicators.  

Applicants for commercial applicator certification shall 
possess the skills and knowledge associated with the chosen 
category(s) as they pertain to those items listed in 2VAC20-
51-90 B 1 through 6, including recognizing category specific 
pests and their biology as contained in a the appropriate 
Virginia category specific training manual(s). 

2VAC20-51-160. Revocation of certificate by the board.  

A. Any of the violative acts listed under §3.1-249.63 C of 
the Code of Virginia shall constitute grounds for revocation 
by the board of a certificate. The board may, after opportunity 
for a hearing, deny, suspend, revoke or modify a certificate 
upon any violation of any act set out in [ §3.1-249.63 C §3.2-
3940 B ] of the Code of Virginia. 
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B. The board shall suspend the license or certificate of an 
individual if a civil penalty issued to the person is not paid 
within 60 days of issuance unless the business or person 
challenges such civil penalty pursuant to §3.1-249.70 F of the 
Code of Virginia. If the board imposes a civil penalty upon a 
person and such civil penalty is not paid within 60 days 
thereof, the certificate of such person shall automatically be 
suspended until payment in full is made. If the person appeals 
the board’s order imposing the civil penalty, then the person 
may forward the proposed amount of the civil penalty to the 
commissioner’s office for placement in an interest-bearing 
trust account in the State Treasurer’s office. Upon such an 
amount being held, the suspension shall not be imposed or 
shall be lifted, as the case may be. This provision relates only 
to a suspension caused by a failure to pay the civil penalty 
and does not affect any suspension or revocation of a 
certificate for any other reason. 

Part VII  
Reporting of Pesticide Accidents, Incidents, or Loss  

2VAC20-51-170. Reporting of pesticide accidents and 
incidents.  

A. Commercial or private applicators or registered 
technicians shall report any pesticide accident or incident in 
which they are involved that constitutes a threat to any 
person, to public health or safety, or to the environment, as a 
result of the use or presence of any pesticide. The accident or 
incident shall be reported whether or not a restricted use 
pesticide is involved. 

B. The applicator shall make the initial notification to the 
department's Office of Pesticide Services by telephone within 
a reasonable time, not to exceed 48 hours after the accident or 
incident occurrence, should circumstances prevent immediate 
notification. The applicator shall prepare and submit a full 
written report of the accident or incident to the Office of 
Pesticide Services within 10 days after the initial notification. 

C. B. When the accident or incident involves a discharge or 
spillage of a pesticide, the applicator shall contact the 
department for guidance to determine whether the discharged 
or spilled amount is a reportable quantity. 

D. C. The applicator shall make the initial notification to the 
department's Office of Pesticide Services by telephone within 
a reasonable time, not to exceed 48 hours after the accident or 
incident occurrence, should circumstances prevent immediate 
notification. The applicator shall prepare and submit a written 
report of the accident or incident to the Office of Pesticide 
Services within 10 working days after the initial notification. 
The report shall include the following: 

1. Name of individuals involved in accident or incident; 

2. Name of pesticide involved; 

3. Quantity of pesticide spilled, and containment 
procedures; 

4. Time, date, and location of accident or incident; 

5. Mitigating actions taken; and 

6. Bodies Name (or description if unnamed) and location 
of bodies of water nearby where contamination of such 
bodies of water could reasonably be expected to occur due 
to natural or manmade actions. 

2VAC20-51-200. General recordkeeping requirements for 
commercial applicators not for hire and registered 
technicians not for hire. 

A. Commercial applicators not for hire and registered 
technicians not for hire, being exempt from the pesticide 
business license requirement of the board and the 
recordkeeping requirements under this license, are required to 
maintain pesticide application records as prescribed in this 
chapter. These records shall be maintained by the commercial 
applicator not for hire and the registered technician not for 
hire for a period of two years. 

B. Records governed by this regulation shall be made 
available for inspection by the commissioner, or his duly 
authorized agent, during normal business hours upon written 
request. Records not readily available shall be submitted to 
the commissioner within 72 hours, if so requested in writing. 

C. Persons possessing records governed by this part shall 
fully comply with the requirements contained in 7 USC §136f 
and regulations adopted pursuant thereto. 

2VAC20-51-210. Specific recordkeeping requirements for 
commercial applicators not for hire and registered 
technicians not for hire. 

Commercial applicators not for hire and registered 
technicians not for hire shall maintain a record of each 
restricted use pesticide applied, containing the following: 

1. Name of property owner, address or location, and, as 
applicable, phone number of the site of application; 

2. Name and certification number (or certification number 
of the supervising certified applicator) of the person 
making the application; 

3. Day, month, and year of application; 

4. Type of plants, crops, animals, or sites treated and 
principle principal pests to be controlled; 

5. Acreage, area, or number of plants or animals treated; 

6. Brand name or common product name of pesticide used; 

7. EPA registration number; 

8. Amounts of pesticide concentrate and amount of diluent 
used, by weight or volume, in mixture applied; and 

9. Type of application equipment used. 
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NOTICE: The forms used in administering 2VAC20-51, 
Regulations Governing Pesticide Applicator Certification 
Under Authority of Virginia Pesticide Control Act, are not 
being published; however, the name of each form is listed 
below.  The forms are available for public inspection at the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 1100 
Bank Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS  

Record of Required Additional Registered Technician 
Training [ (proposed) (eff. 12/08) ]. 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification Application - 
A, Form VDACS-07211 (eff. 11/98 11/01). 

Pesticide Registered Technician Application [ , ] Form 
VDACS-07212 (eff. 11/98 11/01). 

Private Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization to 
Take Pesticide Applicator Examination at Department of 
Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center (eff. 12/98). 

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator Certificate, 
Form VDACS-07210 (eff. 7/95 7/00). 

Power of Attorney (not dated). 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization 
to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination - B, Form 
VDACS-07218 (eff. 11/98 11/01). 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification Exam, Form 
VDACS-07216 (not dated) bubble answer sheet, 2003. 

Private Pesticide Applicator Certification Exam bubble 
answer sheet, 2003. 

Virginia Registered Technician Certification Examination 
Answer Sheet (eff. 2/98). 

Not-For-Hire Virginia Registered Technician Certification 
Examination Answer Sheet (eff. 2/98). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R04-77; Filed September 23, 2008, 9:24 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-260. Pertaining to 
Designation of Seed Areas and Clean Cull Areas 
(amending 4VAC20-260-35, 4VAC20-260-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201, 28.2-210 and 28.2-507 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2008, through October 31, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendments establish a maximum cull size of 4-1/4 
inches for harvested oysters, culling tolerances for 
undersized and oversized oysters, and stricter penalties for 
the Lower Rappahannock River, Rotation Areas 1 through 
3, in the 2008-2009 public oyster harvest season. 

4VAC20-260-35. Maximum cull size in the Rappahannock 
River. 

In order to protect potentially disease tolerant oysters in the 
Lower Rappahannock River, maximum size limits are hereby 
established. In the Lower Rappahannock River, Rotation 
Areas 1 through 6 3, oysters larger than the maximum size 
limit shall either be collected by the Marine Resources 
Commission or returned immediately to the natural beds, 
rocks, or shoals when taken. Allowance for oversized oysters 
and shells incidentally retained during culling are described in 
4VAC20-260-40. 

Oysters taken for direct human consumption from Rotation 
Areas 1 through 6 3 in the Lower Rappahannock River shall 
not have shells greater than 4-1/4 inches in length. 

4VAC20-260-40. Culling tolerances or standards. 

A. In the clean cull areas, except the Lower Rappahannock 
River, Rotation Areas 1 through 6 3, if more than one four-
quart measure of undersized oysters or shells is found per 
bushel inspected, it shall constitute a violation of this 
emergency chapter. 

B. In the Lower Rappahannock River, Rotation Areas 1 
through 6 3, if more than one four-quart measure of 
undersized or oversized oysters or shells is found per bushel 
inspected, it shall constitute a violation of this emergency 
chapter. 

C. In the James River seed areas, if more than one six-quart 
measure of shells is found per bushel of seed oysters 
inspected, it shall constitute a violation of this chapter. 

D. In the James River seed areas, if more than one four-
quart measure of undersized oysters or shells are found per 
bushel of clean cull oysters inspected, it shall constitute a 
violation of this chapter. 

E. On the seaside of Eastern Shore seed areas, if more than 
one four-quart measure of undersized (less than three inches) 
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oysters and shell is found per bushel of oysters to be 
marketed for direct consumption, it shall constitute a 
violation of this chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1628; Filed September 29, 2008, 7:25 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 
Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-20, 4VAC20-620-30, 
4VAC20-620-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201 and 28.2-204 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) delay opening of the fall-directed 
commercial flounder fishery until the first Monday in 
December; (ii) delay opening the winter-directed 
commercial flounder fishery until the last Monday in 
February; (iii) extend the 10-day landing period to a 12-
day landing period in the winter directed commercial 
flounder fishery; (iv) redefine “land” or “landing” as to 
offload; (v) establish the quota as a total of allowable 
landings; (vi) modify the possession limit from 12,500 
pounds to 25,000 pounds for the last Monday in February 
through the day preceding the first Monday in December; 
(vii) modify the possession limit from 10,000 pounds to 
20,000 pounds from the first Monday in December through 
December 31 of each year; (viii) establish that upon 
request by a marine police officer, the seafood buyer or 
processor shall offload and accurately determine the total 
weight of all Summer Flounder aboard any vessel landing 
Summer Flounder in Virginia; and (ix) establish that when 
contacting the VMRC operations station the buyer shall 
provide an estimate of the landings weight. 

These amendments make it unlawful to (i) land in Virginia 
any amount of Summer Flounder more than once in any 
consecutive five-day period and (ii) possess aboard any 
vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer Founder in 
excess of 10% by weight of all other landed species on 
board the vessel once it has been projected and announced 
that 85% of the allowable landings has been taken. The 

Marine Resources Commission will give timely notice of 
any changes in possession limits.  

4VAC20-620-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context 
indicates otherwise:  

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters 
of Virginia, including the Potomac River tributaries but 
excluding the coastal area as defined in this section.  

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's 
portion of the Territorial Sea and all of the creeks, bays, 
inlets, and tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, 
Northampton County, including areas east of the causeway 
from Fisherman Island to the mainland and the City of 
Virginia Beach, including federal areas and state parks 
fronting on the Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point 
where the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the 
mainland at Cape Henry.  

"Land" or "landing" means to enter port with finfish, 
shellfish, crustaceans or other marine seafood on board any 
boat or vessel, to begin offloading offload or attempt to 
offload finfish, shellfish, crustaceans or other marine seafood, 
or to offload finfish, shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine 
seafood.  

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 
Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 
beginning with, and including, Flag Pond, thence upstream to 
the District of Columbia boundary.  

"Safe harbor" means that a vessel has been authorized by the 
commissioner to enter Virginia waters from federal waters 
solely to either dock temporarily at a Virginia seafood buyer's 
place of business or traverse the Intracoastal Waterway from 
Virginia to North Carolina.  

4VAC20-620-30. Commercial harvest quotas quota and 
allowable landings. 

A. During each calendar year, allowable commercial 
landings of Summer Flounder shall be limited to the a quota 
in total pounds calculated pursuant to the joint Mid-Atlantic 
Fishery Management Council/Atlantic States Marine 
Fisheries Commission Summer Flounder Fishery 
Management Plan, as approved by the National Marine 
Fisheries Service on August 6, 1992 (50 CFR Part 625); and 
shall be distributed as described in subsections B through G 
of this section.  

B. The commercial harvest of Summer Flounder from 
Virginia tidal waters for each calendar year shall be limited to 
300,000 pounds of the annual quota described in subsection A 
of this section. Out of Of this amount, 142,114 pounds shall 
be set aside for a Chesapeake Bay-wide harvest quota.  
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C. From the first Monday in January through the day 
preceding the last first Monday in October of each calendar 
year, December allowable landings of Summer Flounder 
harvested outside of Virginia shall be limited to an amount of 
pounds equal to 70.7% of the total quota described in 
subsection A of this section after deducting the amount 
specified in subsection B of this section. 

D. From the last first Monday in October December through 
December 31 of each calendar year, allowable landings of 
Summer Flounder harvested outside of Virginia shall be 
limited to an amount of pounds equal to 29.3% of the total 
quota, as described in subsection A of this section, after 
deducting the amount specified in subsection B of this 
section, and as may be further modified by subsection E.  

E. During the period set forth in subsection C of this section, 
should Should landings from the first Monday in January 
through the day preceding the first Monday in December 
exceed or fall short of the quota specified for that period 
70.7% of the quota described in subsection A of this section, 
any such excess shall be deducted from allowable landings 
described in subsection D of this section, and any such 
shortage shall be added to, the quota for the period set forth 
the allowable landings as described in subsection D of this 
section. Should landings the commercial harvest specified in 
subsection B of this section be projected to fall short of the 
quota specified for that period as less than 300,000 pounds, 
any such shortage shall be added to the quota for the period 
set forth allowable landings described in subsection D of this 
section.  

F. For each of the time periods and quotas set forth in 
subsections C and D of this section, the The Marine 
Resources Commission will give timely notice to the industry 
of the calculated poundages and any adjustments thereto to 
any allowable landings described in subsections C and D of 
this section. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or 
to land Summer Flounder for commercial purposes after the 
commercial harvest or landing quota any allowable landings 
as described in this section has have been attained and 
announced as such. If a any person lands Summer Flounder 
after the commercial harvest or landing quota has any 
allowable landing have been attained and announced as such, 
the entire amount of Summer Flounder in that person's 
possession shall be confiscated.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 
any Summer Flounder after any commercial harvest or 
landing quota as described in this section has been attained 
and announced as such.  

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 
landing limitations. 

A. From January 1 through the day preceding the first last 
Monday in February, it shall be unlawful for any person 
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to 

possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer 
Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed 
species on board the vessel. 

B. From the first last Monday in February through the day 
preceding the last first Monday in October December, it shall 
be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer Flounder 
outside of Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters an any 
amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 12,500 25,000 
pounds.  

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial 
purposes more than twice within during each consecutive 
10-day 12-day period, with the first 10-day 12-day period 
beginning on the the first last Monday in February.  

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,500 pounds of 
Summer Flounder during each consecutive 10-day 12-day 
period, with the first 10-day 12-day period beginning on 
the first last Monday in February. 

4. Land in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder more 
than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

5. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of 
Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other 
landed species on board the vessel once it has been 
projected and announced that 85% of the allowable 
landings have been taken. The Marine Resources 
Commission will give timely notice of any changes in 
possession limits. 

C. When it is projected and announced that 85% of the 
quota, for the period from the first Monday in January 
through the day preceding the last Monday in October has 
been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting 
Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to possess 
aboard any vessel, in Virginia, any amount of Summer 
Flounder, in excess of 10%, by weight, of all other landed 
species on board the vessel. 

D. C. From the last first Monday in October December 
through December 31 of each year, it shall be unlawful for 
any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia 
waters to do any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters an any 
amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 10,000 20,000 
pounds.  

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial 
purposes more than twice within during each consecutive 
10-day 12-day period, with the first 10-day 12-day period 
beginning on the last first Monday in October December.  

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 pounds of 
Summer Flounder during each consecutive 10-day 12-day 
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period, with the first 10-day 12-day period beginning on 
the last first Monday in October December.  

4. Land in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder more 
than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

4. 5. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of 
Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other 
landed species on board the vessel once it has been 
projected and announced that 85% of the quota has 
allowable landings described in 4VAC20-620-30 D have 
been taken, except as described in subdivision 5 6 of this 
subsection. The Marine Resources Commission will give 
timely notice of any changes in possession limits. 

5. 6. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of 
Summer Flounder once it has projected and announced that 
100% of the quota described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has 
been taken. 

E. For each of the time periods set forth in subsections A, B, 
C and D of this section, the Marine Resources Commission 
will give timely notice of any changes in possession limits.  

D. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 
buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 
total weight of all Summer Flounder aboard any vessel 
landing Summer Flounder in Virginia. 

F. Each E. Any possession limit described in subsections A, 
B, C and D of this section shall be determined by the net 
weight in pounds of Summer Flounder as customarily packed, 
boxed and weighed by the seafood buyer or processor. The 
net weight of any Summer Flounder in pounds found in 
excess of this any possession limit described in subsections 
A, B, C and D of this section shall be prima facie evidence of 
violation of this chapter. Persons in possession of Summer 
Flounder, aboard any vessel, in excess of the possession limit 
shall be in violation of this chapter, unless that vessel has 
requested and been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or 
processor offloading or accepting any quantity of Summer 
Flounder from any vessel in excess of the possession limit 
shall be in violation of this chapter, except as described by 
subsection I H of this section. A buyer or processor may 
accept or buy Summer Flounder from a vessel that has 
secured safe harbor, provided that vessel has satisfied the 
requirements described in subsection I H of this section.  

G. F. If a person violates the possession limits described in 
this section, the entire amount of Summer Flounder in that 
person's possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated 
Summer Flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 
appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 
confiscation, the marine patrol police officer shall inventory 
the confiscated Summer Flounder and, at a minimum, secure 
two bids for purchase of the confiscated Summer Flounder 
from approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated 
fish will be sold to the highest bidder and all funds derived 
from such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth 

pending court resolution of the charge of violating the 
possession limits established by this chapter. All of the 
collected funds will be returned to the accused upon a finding 
of innocence or forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a 
finding of guilty.  

H.. G. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 
federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 
Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 
offloading Summer Flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 
The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 
the name of the vessel, and its captain, an estimate of the 
amount in pounds of Summer Flounder on board that vessel, 
and the anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once 
offloading of any vessel is complete and the weight of the 
landed Summer Flounder has been determined, the buyer 
shall contact the Marine Resources Commission Operations 
Station and report the vessel name and corresponding weight 
of Summer Flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any 
person to offload from a boat or vessel for commercial 
purposes any Summer Flounder during the period of 10 6 
p.m. to 7 a.m.  

I. H. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 
safe harbor shall only offload Summer Flounder when the 
state that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to 
Virginia, in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's 
possession limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that 
transfer of quota.  

J. I. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 
described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 
announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing Summer 
Flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 
but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 
Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 
waters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1627; Filed September 30, 2008, 3:19 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 
Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-
20, 4VAC20-720-40, 4VAC20-720-50, 4VAC20-720-60, 
4VAC20-720-70, 4VAC20-720-75, 4VAC20-720-80, 
4VAC20-720-95, 4VAC20-720-100, 4VAC20-720-106). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201, 28.2-507 and 28.2-518 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2008.  
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Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

These amendments establish open harvest seasons in the 
James River Seed Area, October 1, 2008, through April 30, 
2009; James River Hand Scrape Area and Thomas Rock 
Hand Scrape Area, November 1, 2008, through January 
31, 2009; Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2, December 
1, 2008, through January 31, 2008, and Rappahannock 
River Rotation Area 4, October 1, 2008, through 
November 30, 2008; and February 1, 2009, through March 
31, 2009; Great Wicomico River, Chesapeake Bay 
(Blackberry Hangs and Deep Rock), York River, 
Rappahannock River Area 9, and Mobjack Bay, December 
1, 2008, through February 28, 2009; Tangier - Pocomoke 
Sounds, Rotation Area 2, December 1, 2008, through 
February 28, 2009; and the seaside of the Eastern Shore, 
November 1, 2008, through February 28, 2009. The 
commission will consider alternate season dates. These 
amendments also define the Mobjack Bay hand scrape 
area.  

4VAC20-720-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Coan River Area" means that area of the Coan River to the 
Virginia-Maryland state line (PRV1A to PRV1B), except for 
that area above a line from Walnut Point (Survey Station 
Walnut) to Stephens Point (Survey Station Arthur).  

"Deep Rock Patent Tong Area (Lower Chesapeake Bay)" 
means the area described as follows: starting at Cherry Point, 
Gwynns Island, thence northeast to G"1P" along the south 
side of the channel to Piankatank River; thence east-southeast 
to G"1R"; thence southwest to Sandy Point, Gwynns Island, 
North of Hole-in the-Wall.  

"Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area (DWS)" 
in the James River (574.66 Acres) means the areas beginning 
at a point approximately 530 feet west of Deep Water Shoal 
Light, said point being Corner 1 as located by Virginia State 
Plane Coordinates, South Zone, NAD 1927, north 
302,280.00, east 2,542,360.00; thence north azimuth 
30°49'59", 4,506.99 feet to Corner 2, north 306,150.00, east 
2,544,670.00; thence north azimuth 135°08'57", 5,430.60 feet 
to Corner 3, north 302,300.00, east 2,548,500.00; thence 
north azimuth 212°13'54", 3,487.42 feet to Corner 4, north 
299,350.00, east 2,546,640.00; thence north azimuth 
269°10'16", 2,765.29 feet to Corner 5, north 299,310.00, east 

2,543,875.00; thence north azimuth 332°58'26", 3,334.09 feet 
to Corner 1, being the point of beginning.  

"Great Wicomico River Hand Scrape Area" means that area 
east of a line drawn from Sandy Point to Cockrell Point.  

"Hand scrape" means any device or instrument with a 
catching bar having an inside measurement of no more than 
22 inches, which is used or usable for the purpose of 
extracting or removing shellfish from a water bottom or the 
bed of a body of water.  

"James River Hand Scrape Area" means those public oyster 
grounds of the James River west of the Monitor and 
Merrimac Bridge Tunnel and northeast of the Mills E. 
Godwin/Nansemond River Bridge (Route 17) to the James 
River Bridge (Route 17).  

"Lower Machodoc Area" means that area of the Lower 
Machodoc River to the Virginia-Maryland state line (PRV5A 
to PRV5C).  

"Mobjack Bay Hand Scrape Area" shall consist of all of 
Public Ground No. 25, Gloucester County (Towe Stake) 
within these coordinates: 37° 20.59', N., 76° 23.24', W.; 37° 
20.38', N., 76° 22.72', W.; 37° 19.86', N., 76° 23.59', W.; 37° 
20.03', N. 76° 23.77', W.; and 37° 20.39', N., 76° 23.58', W. 
and that portion of Public Ground No. 2, Mathews County 
(Pultz Bar), within these coordinates: 37° 21.25', N., 76° 
21.37', W.; 37° 21.27', N., 76° 20.96', W.; 37° 21.02', N., 76° 
20.94', W.; and 37° 21.05', N., 76° 21.33', W. 

"Nomini River Hand Scrape Area" means that area of the 
Nomini River inside of Public Ground #1 No.1 to the 
Virginia-Maryland state line (PRV6A to PRV6B) 
(Kingscopsico), Public Ground 26 (Deans) and Public 
Ground 28 (Cut).  

"Oyster Patent Tong" means any patent tong not exceeding 
100 pounds in gross weight, including any attachment other 
than rope and with the teeth not to exceed four inches in 
length. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Management Area 
(PTSMA)" means the area as defined in §28.2-524 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Public oyster ground" means all those grounds defined in 
§28.2-551 of the Code of Virginia, all ground set aside as 
public oyster ground by court order, and all ground set aside 
as public oyster ground by order of the Marine Resources 
Commission.  

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
defined as beginning at the MLW west of Broad Creek (37° 
33.952', N., 76° 19.309', W.); thence north to a VMRC buoy 
on the Baylor line (37° 34.539', N., 76° 19.022', W.) to 
VMRC buoy (37° 34.683', N., 76° 19.100' W.); thence, 
northeasterly to VMRC Buoy (37° 35.017', N., 76° 19.450', 
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W.); thence, northeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Light (7R) (37° 
35.150', N., 76° 19.733', W.); thence, continuing northwest to 
Mosquito Point Light (8R) (37° 36.100', N., 76° 21.300', W.); 
thence to the house on Mosquito Point (37° 36.523, N., 76° 
21.595', W.) bounded on the east by a line from Windmill 
Point (37° 35.793', N., 76° 14.180', W.); thence, southeast to 
Windmill Point Light (37° 35.793', N., 76° 14.180', W.); 
thence southwesterly to Stingray Point Light (37° 33.673', N., 
76° 16.362', W.); thence, westerly to Stingray Point (37° 
33.692', N., 76° 17.986', W.) 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
on the east side defined as beginning at the house at Mosquito 
Point (37° 36.523', N., 76° 21.595', W.); thence, southeast to 
Mosquito Point Light "8R" (37° 36.100', N., 76° 21.300', W.); 
thence, continuing southeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Beacon 
"7R" (37° 35.150', N., 76° 19.733', W.); thence, 
southwesterly to VMRC buoy (37° 34.933', N., 76° 21.050', 
W.); thence, southwesterly to VMRC buoy (37° 34.883', N., 
76° 21.100', W.); thence, to a pier west of Hunting Creek at 
Grinels (37° 34.436', N., 76° 26.288', W.). Rappahannock 
River Rotation Area 2 is bordered on the west by a line 
beginning at Mill Creek channel marker "4" (37° 35.083', N., 
76° 26.950', W.); thence, northeasterly to Mill Creek channel 
marker "2" (37° 35.483', N., 76° 24.567', W.); thence, 
northeasterly to the house at Mosquito Point (37° 36.523', N., 
76° 21.595', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
defined as beginning from the north channel fender at the 
Norris Bridge (37° 37.483', N., 76° 25.035', W.); thence, 
southeast to the house on Mosquito Point (37° 36.523', N., 
76° 21.595', W.); thence southwest to Mill Creek channel 
marker "2" (37° 35.483', N., 76° 24.567', W.); thence 
southwesterly to Mill Creek channel marker "4" (37° 35.083', 
N., 76° 24.950', W.); thence northeasterly to Parrotts Creek 
channel marker "1" (37° 36.033', N., 76° 25.417', W.); thence 
northerly to VMRC buoy (37° 36.333', N., 76° 25.200', W.); 
thence returning northerly to the Norris Bridge north channel 
fender. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with the boundary 
defined as beginning at the White Stone end of the Norris 
Bridge (37° 38.129', N., 76° 24.722', W.); thence, along the 
Norris Bridge to the north channel fender (37° 37.483', N., 
76° 25.035 25.345', W.); thence westerly to the VMRC buoy 
5-4 (36° 38.005', N., 76° 30.028', W.); thence, north to Old 
House Point (37° 39.139', N., 76° 29.685', W.); thence, 
northerly to Ball Point (37° 41.660', N., 76° 28.632', W.); 
thence, continuing northerly to Bar Point (37° 41.666', N., 
76° 28.866', W.); thence easterly to Black Stump Point (37° 
41.737', N., 76° 28.111', W.); thence, southeasterly to the 
western headland of Taylor Creek (37° 40.983', N., 76° 
27.602', W.); thence, southwesterly to VMRC Buoy at Ferry 

Bar north (37° 40.300', N., 76° 28.500', W.); thence, 
southeasterly to VMRC Buoy at Ferry Bar South (37° 
40.167', N., 76° 28.583, W.); thence, southwesterly to 
Corrotoman Point Duck Blind (37° 39.945 39.876', N., 76° 
28.467 28.420', W.); thence, southerly to VMRC Buoy 543 
(37° 39.267', N., 76° 27.850', W.); thence, southerly to 
VMRC Buoy at Drumming West (37° 38.833 38.883', N., 76° 
27.683', W.); thence, southerly to VMRC buoy at Drumming 
East (37° 38.833', N., 76° 27.567', W.); thence, northeasterly 
to Orchard Point (37° 38.924', N., 76° 27.126', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5" shall consist of 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
defined as beginning east of a line from the east headland of 
Whiting Creek (37° 36.658', N., 76° 30.312', W.); thence, 
north to Towlest Pt. Towles Point buoy "6" (37° 38.033', N., 
76° 30.283', W.); thence, easterly to VMRC buoy 5-4 (37° 
38.005', N., 76° 30.028', W.) continuing easterly to the Norris 
Bridge north channel fender (37° 37.483', N., 76° 25.035 
25.345', W.); thence, along the Norris Bridge southwest to 
Grey's Point (37° 36.833', N., 76° 25.999', W.).  

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
defined as beginning from Balls Point (37° 39.355', N., 76° 
34.444', W.); thence, northeast to the flashing red buoy "8" 
off Rogue Pt. (37° 40.158', N., 76° 32.939', W.); thence, 
southeasterly to VMRC Towles Point Area buoy (37° 
38.833', N., 76° 31.536', W.); thence, southwesterly to 
VMRC White House Sanctuary buoy (37° 38.150', N., 76° 
30.533', W.); thence, southeasterly to red buoy "6" (37° 
38.033', N., 76° 30.283', W.); thence, southerly to the eastern 
headland of the mouth of Whiting Creek (37° 36.658', N., 76° 
30.312', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Area 7" shall consist of all public 
grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary defined 
as beginning south of a line from Punchbowl Point (37° 
44.675', N., 76° 37.325', W.) to Monaskon Point (37° 44.063', 
N., 76° 34.108', W.) to a line from Rogue's Point (37° 
40.040', N., 76° 32.253', W.); thence, northwest to flashing 
red buoy "8" (37° 40.158', N., 76° 32.939', W.) continuing 
southwest to Balls Point (37° 39.355', N., 76° 34.444', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Area 8" shall consist of all public 
grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary defined 
as beginning east and south of a line from Jones Point (37° 
46.786', N., 76° 40.835', W.) to Sharps Point (37° 49.364', N., 
76° 42.087', W.) to a line from Punchbowl Point (37° 44.675', 
N., 76° 37.325', W.) to Monaskon Point (37° 44.063', N., 76° 
34.108', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Area 9" shall consist of all public 
grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary defined 
as beginning west of the line drawn from Sharps Pt. (37° 
49.364', N., 76° 42.087', W.) to Jones Pt (37° 46.786', N., 76° 
40.835', W.) to the Route 360 (Drumming (Downing Bridge).  
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"Standard oyster dredge" means any device or instrument 
having a maximum weight of 150 pounds with attachments, 
maximum width of 50 inches and maximum tooth length of 
four inches.  

"Tangier-Pocomoke Sounds Rotation Area 1" shall include 
all public and unassigned grounds within the PTSMA, in 
Tangier Sound, that are west and south of a line beginning at 
the Maryland-Virginia Line (37° 54.61360', N., 75° 
53.97396', W.) continuing south on Great Fox Island (37° 
53.69465', N., 75° 53.88988', W.); thence continuing west to 
point "Area 2-NW" (37° 53.36335', N., 75° 56.55896', W.); 
thence south to a point "Area 2-SW" (37° 48.44291', N., 75° 
56.48836', W.); thence continuing east to the north end of 
Watts Island (37° 48.77578', N., 75° 53.59941', W.). Area 1 
shall also include all of the public and unassigned grounds in 
the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound south and west of a line 
beginning at the house on Great Fox Island (37° 53.69465', 
N., 75° 53.88988', W.); thence east southeast to Red Channel 
Marker # 8 (37° 52.45833', N., 75° 49.40000', W.); thence 
south southeast to Green Channel Marker "C – 1" (37° 
52.10000', N., 75° 47.80833', W.) thence southeast to 
Flashing Red "2+1" (37° 50.95333', N., 75° 46.64167', W.); 
thence south to the northernmost tip of Russell Island (37° 
48.38796', N., 75° 47.02241', W.). 

"Tangier-Pocomoke Sounds Rotation Area 2" shall include 
all public and unassigned grounds in the PTSMA with a 
boundary defined as beginning at the house on Great Fox 
Island (37° 53.69465', N., 75° 53.88988', W.); thence south to 
the north end of Watts Island (37° 48.77578', N., 75° 
53.59941', W.); thence west to a point "Area 2-SW" (37° 
48.44291', N., 75° 56.48836', W.); thence north to point 
"Area 2-NW" (37° 53.36335', N., 75° 56.55896', W.); thence 
back east to the house on Great Fox Island. This area includes 
Public Ground # No. 7, known as "Thoroughfare Rock" and 
Public Ground # No. 8, known as "California Rock" in 
Tangier Sound. Area 2 shall also include all public and 
unassigned grounds in the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound 
northeast of a line beginning at the house on Great Fox Island 
(37° 53.69465', N., 75° 53.88988', W.); thence east southeast 
to Red Channel Marker # 8 (37° 52.45833', N., 75° 49.40000', 
W.); thence south southeast to Green Channel Marker "C – 1" 
(37° 52.10000', N., 75° 47.80833', W.); thence southeast to 
Flashing Red "2+1" (37° 50.95333', N., 75° 46.64167', W.); 
thence south to the northernmost tip of Russell Island (37° 
48.38796', N., 75° 47.02241', W.). 

"Tangier Sound Hand Tong Area" means that area in the 
PTSMA south and west of a line from Fishbone Island thence 
southeast to bell buoy #5, thence south southwest to buoy #3 
(such area to include all of Public Ground 3 and Flat Rock) 
and shall be a hand tong area only and Cod Harbor 
(approximately 1,124 acres) beginning at a point of East Point 
Marsh, said point having the Virginia state coordinates, south 
section, coordinates of north 555,414.89, east 2,730,388.85; 

thence south 79°59', east 2,260 feet to a line designating the 
western extent of the PTSMA as described in §28.2-524 of 
the Code of Virginia; thence south 10°16', west 2,800 feet; 
thence south 28°46', west 8,500 feet to a point on Sand Spit, 
position north 545,131.78, east, 2,728,014.94; thence along 
the mean low water line of Cod Harbor in a west, north and 
northeast direction crossing Canton Creek and Mailboat 
Harbor from headland to headland to the point of beginning.  

"Thomas Rock Hand Scrape Area" means an area in the 
James River with an eastern boundary being the James River, 
Route 17 bridge and a western boundary being a line drawn 
from the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm Point; 
thence to the channel buoy green #5; and thence to Blunt 
Point on the north side of the river.  

"Unassigned ground" means all grounds other than public 
oyster ground as defined by this chapter and which have not 
been set aside or assigned by lease, permit, or easement by 
the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Upper Chesapeake Bay (Blackberry Hangs Hand Scrape 
Area)" means the area in Public Ground Number 118, south 
from the Smith Point Light to the Great Wicomico Light.  

"Yeocomico River Area" means that area of the Yeocomico 
River inside Public Grounds 102, 104, 107, 112 and 113.  

"York River Hand Scrape Area" means an area above the 
Route 17 or Coleman Bridge in Public Ground No. 30, along 
the north side of the river, to just above Aberdeen Creek.  

4VAC20-720-40. Open season and areas.  

The lawful seasons and areas for the harvest of oysters from 
the public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds are as 
follows:  

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 
State Replenishment Seed Area: October 1, 2007 2008, 
through April 30, 2008 2009.  

2. Seaside of Eastern Shore: for clean cull oysters only, 
October 1, 2007 November 1, 2008, through January 31, 
2008 February 28, 2009. 

3. The following areas shall be opened from October 1, 
2007 December 1, 2008, through December 31, 2007 
February 28, 2009: the Rappahannock River Areas 8 and 
Area 9; the Nomini Great Wicomico River Hand Scrape 
Area; the Upper Chesapeake Bay (Blackberry Hangs Hand 
Scrape Area); the York River and Mobjack Bay Hand 
Scrape Area Areas; and Deep Rock Patent Tong Area 
(Lower Chesapeake Bay).  

4. The Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 1 and 6 Area 
4: October 1, 2007 2008, through November 30, 2007 
2008, and February 1, 2009, through March 31, 2009. 
Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2: December 1, 2008, 
through January 31, 2009. 
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5. Tangier - Pocomoke Sounds Rotation Area 1 2: 
December 1, 2007 2008, through February 29, 2008 28, 
2009.  

6. The James River Hand Scrape Area and the Thomas 
Rock Hand Scrape Area (James River): October November 
1, 2007 2008, through December 31, 2007, and February 1, 
2008, through March 31, 2008 January 31, 2009. 

4VAC20-720-50. Closed harvest season and areas.  

It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters from 
the following areas during the specified periods:  

1. All public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds in the 
Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, including the 
tributaries of the Potomac River, except those areas listed 
in 4VAC20-720-40, are closed: October 1, 2007 2008, 
through September 30, 2008 2009.  

2. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 
State Replenishment Seed Area: May 1, 2008 2009, 
through September 30, 2008 2009.  

3. All public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds on the 
Seaside of Eastern Shore: for clean cull oysters, October 1, 
2008, through October 31, 2008, and February March 1, 
2008 2009, through September 30, 2008 2009, and for seed 
oysters, all year.  

4. The following areas shall be closed from January 1, 
2008, October 1, 2008, through November 30, 2008, and 
March 1, 2009, through September 30, 2008 2009: 
Rappahannock River Areas 8 and Area 9; the Nomini 
River Hand Scrape Area Great Wicomico River (Hand 
Scrape Area); Deep Rock Patent Tong Area (Lower 
Chesapeake Bay); the Upper Chesapeake Bay (Blackberry 
Hangs Hand Scrape Area); and the York River and 
Mobjack Bay Hand Scrape Area Areas.  

5. The Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 1 and 6 Area 
2: December 1, 2007 October 1, 2008, through November 
30, 2008, and February 1, 2009, through September 30, 
2008 2009. Rotation Area 4: December 1, 2008, through 
January 31, 2009, and April 1, 2009, through September 
30, 2009. 

6. Tangier - Pocomoke Sounds Rotation Area 1 2: October 
1, 2007 2008, through November 30, 2007 2008, and 
March 1, 2008 2009, through September 30, 2008 2009.  

7. The James River Hand Scrape Area and the Thomas 
Rock Hand Scrape Area (James River): January 1, 2008, 
through January 31, 2008, and April 1, 2008, October 1, 
2008, through October 31, 2008, and February 1, 2009, 
through September 30, 2008 2009. 

4VAC20-720-60. Day and time limit.  

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch or possess oysters on 
Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia, except that this provision shall not apply to any 
person harvesting no more than one bushel per day by hand 
or ordinary tong for household use only during the season 
when the public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds are 
legally open for harvest. The presence of any gear normally 
associated with the harvesting of oysters on board the boat or 
other vehicle used during any harvesting under this exception 
shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this chapter. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 
to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m. from the 
areas described in subdivisions 1, 3, 5, and 6 of 4VAC20-
720-40, except as described in 4VAC20-720-106. In addition, 
it shall be unlawful for any boat with an oyster dredge aboard 
to leave the dock until one hour before sunrise or return to the 
dock after sunset, and it shall be unlawful for any boat with a 
hand scrape aboard to leave the dock until one-half hour 
before sunrise or return to the dock after sunset. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 
to harvest oysters in the Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 
1 and 6 2 and 4 prior to 7 a.m. and after 1 p.m. 

D. It shall be unlawful for a boat with an oyster dredge 
aboard to leave the dock until one hour before sunrise or 
return to the dock after sunset. 

E. It shall be unlawful for a boat with a hand scrape aboard 
to leave the dock until one-half hour before sunrise or return 
to the dock after sunset. 

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 
the James River Seed Areas, including the Deep Water Shoal 
State Replenishment Seed Area , and the Rappahannock 
River Area 9, except by hand or ordinary tong. It shall be 
unlawful for any person to have a hand scrape on board a boat 
that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters from public 
grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the seaside of 
the Eastern Shore, except by hand. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in the 
Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1 or 6 Areas 2 and 4, 
Rappahannock River Area 8; James River Hand Scrape Area, 
Thomas Rock Hand Scrape Area, Nomini River Hand Scrape 
Area, Upper Chesapeake Bay (Blackberry Hangs Hand 
Scrape Area), and York River, Great Wicomico and Mobjack 
Bay Hand Scrape Area Areas, except by hand scrape. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than one 
hand scrape on board any boat that is harvesting oysters or 
attempting to harvest oysters from public grounds. It shall be 
unlawful for any person to have a hand tong on board a boat 
that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters from public 
grounds by hand scrape. 
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E. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Tangier – 
Pocomoke Rotation Area 1 2, except by a standard oyster 
dredge. 

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Deep 
Rock Patent Tong Area, except by a standard oyster patent 
tong. 

4VAC20-720-75. Gear license.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish, 
from the hand scrape areas in the Rappahannock River, James 
River, Upper Chesapeake Bay, York River, Mobjack Bay and 
Nomini River Area Great Wicomico River, unless that person 
has first obtained a current hand scrape license.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish, 
with a dredge from the public oyster grounds in the Tangier – 
Pocomoke Sounds Rotation Area 1 2, unless that person has 
first obtained a current dredge license.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish, 
with a patent tong from the public oyster grounds in the Deep 
Rock Patent Tong Area unless that person has first obtained a 
current patent tong license. 

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. In the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water 
Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, there shall be an oyster 
harvest quota of 80,000 bushels of seed oysters. It shall be 
unlawful for any person to harvest seed oysters from the 
James River Seed Area after the 80,000 bushel quota has been 
reached. In the James River Seed Area, including the Deep 
Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, there shall be an 
oyster harvest quota of 15,000 bushels of clean cull oysters. It 
shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clean cull oysters 
from the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water 
Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, after the 15,000 bushel 
quota has been reached. 

B. The lawful daily limit of clean cull oysters harvested 
from the areas as described in subdivisions 3, 4, and 6 of 
4VAC20-720-40 shall be determined by the number of 
registered commercial fishermen licensees on board the 
vessel multiplied by eight bushels. It shall be unlawful to 
possess on board any vessel or to land more than the daily 
limit of clean cull oysters. 

C. In the Tangier - Pocomoke Sounds Rotation Area 1 2, 
where harvesting is allowed by dredge, there shall be a 
harvest limit of eight bushels per registered commercial 
fisherman licensee on board the vessel. It shall be unlawful 
for any registered commercial fisherman licensee to possess 
more than eight bushels per day. No blue crab bycatch is 
allowed. It shall be unlawful to possess on board any vessel 
more than 250 hard clams. 

D. Harvesters who export the oysters to an out-of-state 
market or do not sell the oysters to a licensed and Department 

of Health certified Virginia buyer but sell the oysters directly 
to the public for human consumption shall report oysters 
harvested on a daily basis and pay oyster taxes weekly. 

4VAC20-720-95. Harvesting permit required for the 
Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 1 through 6. 

A harvesting permit is required for the Rappahannock River 
rotation areas Rotation Areas 1 through 6. Included with this 
permit will be a map of the two rotation areas that are open 
for harvesting in any given year and a culling stick specific to 
management provisions for these areas. It shall be unlawful 
for any person to harvest or attempt to harvest oysters from 
the Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 1 through 6 without 
first obtaining and having on board a harvest permit, with a 
map of lower Rappahannock Rotation Areas 1 through 6, and 
culling stick specific to these areas that are open for 
harvesting in any given year. 

4VAC20-720-100. Seed oyster planting procedures.  

A. The marine police officer at the point of seed harvest may 
require that an officer be present during the seed planting. 
When this is required, it will be specified on the seed transfer 
permit. If an officer is required to be present at planting, the 
planter shall notify the law-enforcement marine police officer 
in the area prior to planting. It shall be unlawful for the 
permittee or planter to plant the oysters without a marine 
police officer being present.  

B. The planting of seed oysters shall consist of spreading the 
oysters loosely on the bottom of the planting area. It shall be 
unlawful to plant seed oysters in any manner except by 
spreading the oysters loosely on the bottom.  

C. Seed oysters shall be placed on a designated and marked 
area of the private ground from which said oysters are not to 
be removed until after March 31. It shall be unlawful to 
reharvest these seed oysters prior to April 1.  

4VAC20-720-106. Public health and warm water harvest 
restrictions. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to have any cat, dog, 
or other animal on board a vessel during the harvest of 
oysters. 

B. From May 1 through September 30, any vessel used for 
the harvest of oysters for human consumption from either 
public or private grounds shall have shading over the area that 
serves as storage for the oysters (except as described in 
subsection C of this section), and all oysters in the vessel 
shall be offloaded every day. 

C. From May 1 through September 30, any vessel used for 
the harvest of oysters for human consumption that are placed 
in an aquaculture container completely covered by a lid or 
top, shall not be required to have shading over that container. 
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D. From May 1 June 15 through September 30 August 31, it 
shall be unlawful for any person, or person aboard a vessel, to 
leave the dock or shore prior to one hour before sunrise to 
harvest or attempt to harvest oysters from public or private 
grounds. 

E. From May 1 through June 14, it shall be unlawful to 
harvest oysters for human consumption from public or private 
grounds after 11 a.m., and oysters harvested before 11 a.m. 
shall be refrigerated by 11 a.m. that same day. 

E. F. From May 1 June 15 through September 30 August 31, 
it shall be unlawful to harvest oysters for human consumption 
from public or private grounds after 10 a.m., and oysters 
harvested before 10 a.m. shall be refrigerated by 10 a.m. that 
same day, except as described below:. 

G. From September 1 through September 30, it shall be 
unlawful to harvest oysters for human consumption from 
public or private grounds after 12 p.m., and oysters harvested 
before 12 p.m. shall be refrigerated by 12 p.m. that same day. 

1. This H. Subsections E, F, and G of this section shall not 
apply to the harvest of seed oysters or the customary 
husbandry processes associated with aquaculture of oysters. 

2. I. Oysters may be harvested after 10 a.m. the end of the 
designated harvesting time in subsections E, F, and G of this 
section provided there is a Virginia Department of Health, 
Division of Shellfish Sanitation-approved refrigeration 
system or ice storage area for the oysters on board the harvest 
vessel that is in use for cooling oysters at all times after 10 
a.m or the total time expended on harvesting those oysters 
does not exceed two hours from start of harvest to 
refrigeration of those oysters, and there is verifiable 
documentation, such as a log book or GPS trip log that 
corresponds to that harvesting event. 

3. The total time expended on harvesting those oysters 
does not exceed two hours from start of harvest to 
refrigeration of those oysters, and there is verifiable 
documentation, such as a log book or GPS trip log that 
corresponds to that harvesting event. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1600; Filed September 29, 2008, 7:27 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-751. Pertaining to the Setting 
and Mesh Size of Gill Nets (amending 4VAC20-751-10, 
4VAC20-751-15, 4VAC20-751-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 29, 2008, through October 28, 
2008. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendment makes it unlawful for any person to place 
any unattended gill net within 500 yards of the mean high-
water mark, on the ocean side of Northampton and 
Accomack counties, north of a line, beginning at the 
southern most point of Smith Island and thence extending 
due east to the three-mile limit line. 

4VAC20-751-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this emergency chapter is to reduce the out-
of-season by-catch of American shad and to preclude the 
harvest of coastal migratory striped bass, thereby reducing 
injuries and mortalities to these two species. This emergency 
chapter is also intended to reduce the strandings and 
mortalities of threatened and endangered sea turtles.  

4VAC20-751-15. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this 
emergency chapter shall have the following meaning unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Unattended gill net" means any gill net set in Virginia tidal 
waters, described in 4VAC20-751-20 E, that is located more 
than one mile from the licensee of that gill net. 

4VAC20-751-20. Gill net mesh sizes, restricted areas, and 
season.  

A. From January 1 through March 25 of each year, it shall 
be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish any gill net 
with a stretched mesh size between 3-3/4 inches and six 
inches within the restricted areas as set forth below, except 
that during the month of February any legally licensed 
fisherman may place, set, or fish any gill net with a stretched 
mesh size from five inches to six inches within the restricted 
areas described in this subsection. From March 26 through 
June 15 of each year, it shall be unlawful for any person to 
place, set, or fish any gill net with a stretched mesh size 
greater than six inches within the restricted areas set forth 
below, except as described in 4VAC20-252-135:  

1. In James River, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Willoughby Spit and Old Point Comfort;  

2. In Back River, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Factory Point and Plumtree Point;  

3. In Poquoson River, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Marsh Point and Tue Point;  

4. In York River, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Tue Point and Guinea Marshes;  

5. In Mobjack Bay, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Guinea Marshes and New Point Comfort;  
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6. In Milford Haven, those tidal waters upstream of a line 
connecting Rigby Island and Sandy Point;  

7. In Piankatank River, those tidal waters upstream of a 
line connecting Cherry Point and Stingray Point; and  

8. In Rappahannock River, those tidal waters upstream of a 
line connecting Stingray Point to Windmill Point.  

B. During the period May 1 through June 30, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to have aboard any vessel or to place, 
set, or fish more than 8,400 feet of gill net.  

C. During the period May 1 through June 30, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to have aboard any vessel or to place, 
set, or fish any gill net in the Chesapeake Bay or in Virginia's 
portion of the Territorial Sea, that is made, set or fished in a 
tied-down manner, by connecting the net's head rope and foot 
rope with lines, which cause the net to form a pocket of 
webbing.  

D. During the period June 1 through June 30, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to have aboard any vessel or to place, 
set, or fish any gill net with a stretched mesh greater than six 
inches in the Virginia portion of the Territorial Sea, south of a 
line connecting Smith Island Light and the three-mile limit 
line.  

E. From June 1 through October 15, it shall be unlawful for 
any person to place any anchored, weighted, or unattended 
gill net, within 500 yards of the mean high-water mark, on the 
ocean side of Northampton and Accomack counties, north of 
a line, beginning at the southern most point of Smith Island 
and thence extending due east to the three-mile limit line. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1629; Filed October 28, 2008, 7:28 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

STATE BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§2.2-4006 
et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia 
pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 6VAC15-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 6VAC15-10-10 through 6VAC15-
10-100). 

6VAC15-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
6VAC15-11-10 through 6VAC15-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-4007.02 and 53.1-5 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 15, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Janice Dow, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 
Richmond, VA 23235, telephone (804) 674-3303 ext: 1128, 
FAX (804) 674-3017, or email 
janice.dow@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies 
adopt model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 
2008. Public participation guidelines exist to promote 
public involvement in the development, amendment, or 
repeal of an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of 
the 2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments 
on regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period 
during which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) 
providing that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be 
indicated in any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) 
providing for the appointment, when necessary, of 
regulatory advisory panels to provide professional 
specialization or technical assistance and negotiated 
rulemaking panels if a regulatory action is expected to be 
controversial; and (vi) providing for the periodic review 
of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

6VAC15-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Department of Corrections. This chapter 
does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

6VAC15-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 
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"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Department of Corrections, which is 
the unit of state government empowered by the agency's basic 
law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in 
this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated 
by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by §2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 

consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

6VAC15-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

6VAC15-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 6VAC15-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to §2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 
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Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

6VAC15-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with §2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to §2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

6VAC15-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in §2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to §2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

6VAC15-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

6VAC15-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

366 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

6VAC15-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with §2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

6VAC15-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

6VAC15-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 

effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in §2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1434; Filed September 24, 2008, 9:48 a.m.  

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

STATE BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Corrections is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to §2.2-4002 B 9 and 10 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts agency action relating to inmates of prisons or 
other such facilities or parolees therefrom and the custody of 
persons in, or sought to be placed in, mental, penal or other 
state institutions as well as the treatment, supervision, or 
discharge of such persons. 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC15-70. Standards for 
Community Residential Programs (amending 6VAC15-
70-10 through 6VAC15-70-160). 

Statutory Authority: §53.1-5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 15, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Beverly Hill-Murray, Compliance and 
Accreditation Unit, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23235, telephone (804) 674-3499 ext: 
1145, FAX (804) 674-3587, or email beverly.hill-
murray@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include requirements for an annual 
review of the operations manual; require procedures 
governing residents’ money to be incompliance with 
current Community Corrections Operating Procedures; 
require the agency administrator to distribute designated 
documents to the governing authority annually; include 
fraternization procedures (per Prison Rape Elimination 
Act) in the list of written personnel policies approved by 
the governing authority; add formal training in addition to 
orientation as a requirement prior to an employee 
assuming sole responsibility for any working shift; clarify 
staffing schedules; amend a population count conducted by 
staff from every two hours to three times daily; allow 
random as well as monthly fire drills; and add sexual 
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abuse history (per Prison Rape Elimination Act) to the list 
of initial intake information form on each resident.   

6VAC15-70-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in these 
standards shall have the following meaning, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Agency" means the public or private organization that has 
direct responsibility for the operation of a community 
residential program including the implementation of policy 
established by the governing authority.  

"Agency staff" means any agency administrator, facility 
director, counselor, case manager, clerical worker or 
supervisor or others who are employed by, contract with, or 
volunteer services to the program.  

"Community residential program" means any group home, 
halfway house, or other physically unrestricting facility used 
for the housing treatment or care of adult offenders 
established or operated with funds appropriated to the 
Department of Corrections from the state treasury and 
maintained or operated by any political subdivision, 
combination of political subdivisions or privately operated 
agency within the Commonwealth.  

"Contraband" means items prohibited on facility premises 
by statute, regulation, or policy.  

"Facility" means the physical plant.  

"Foot-candle" means a unit for measuring the intensity of 
illumination defined as the amount of light thrown on a 
surface one foot away from the light source.  

"Furlough" means a written approval that allows a resident 
to leave the facility for a period of time, including overnight.  

"Governing authority" means those persons responsible for 
facilitating communication with program administrators, 
establishing policy, exploring problems, ensuring conformity 
to legal and fiscal requirements, and implementing 
community residential programs.  

"Pass" means a written approval that allows a resident to 
leave the facility for a period of time, other than overnight.  

"Program" means the plan or system of residential services 
of a public or private agency.  

"Recognized health authority" means health authority as 
defined by the American Red Cross or the American Heart 
Association. 

"Resident" means an individual participating in a 
community residential program under the purview of a 
contractual agreement.  

6VAC15-70-40. Organization and administration.  

A. The agency shall appoint a governing authority that 
serves as a link between the residential program and the 
community.  

B. The governing authority of the public or private 
community residential program shall hold meetings at least 
quarterly with the community residential program 
administrator in order to facilitate communication, establish 
policy, explore problems, ensure conformity to legal and 
fiscal requirements, and implement community residential 
programs.  

C. A single administrative officer who reports directly to the 
governing authority shall manage the agency and its 
programs.  

D. The agency shall have an operations manual which 
summarizes approved methods of implementing agency 
policies and procedures and provides details for daily 
operations of the program that is available to all employees.  

E. The governing authority or agency administrator shall 
annually review the operations manual at least every two 
years and update when necessary.  

F. The administrator or designated agency staff shall 
monitor implementation of policies and procedures set forth 
in the operations manual through a review that occurs at least 
every 12 months.  

G. There shall be a written policy that persons connected 
with the agency shall not use their official position to secure 
privileges or advantages for themselves.  

H. Any community residential program operated exclusively 
by the Department of Corrections shall have a written policy 
that ensures to ensure that the program it conforms to 
governmental statutes and regulations relating to 
campaigning, lobbying and political practices.  

I. The agency shall have a current organizational chart that 
accurately reflects the structure of authority and 
accountability within the agency.  

J. Agency staff shall identify and document the agency's tax 
status with the Internal Revenue Service.  

K. The agency shall have by-laws, approved by the 
governing authority, which shall be filed with the appropriate 
local, state or federal body.  

L. The agency by-laws for the governing authority shall 
include:  

1. Membership;  

2. Size of the governing authority;  

3. Method of selection;  

4. Terms of office;  
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5. Duties and responsibilities of officers;  

6. Times authority will meet;  

7. Committees;  

8. Quorums;  

9. Parliamentary procedures;  

10. Recording of minutes;  

11. Method of amending by-laws;  

12. Conflict of interest provisions; and  

13. Specification of the relationship of the agency 
administrator to the governing authority.  

M. A permanent record shall be kept of all meetings meeting 
minutes of the governing authority.  

6VAC15-70-50. Fiscal management.  

A. The agency administrator shall prepare an annual written 
budget of anticipated revenues and expenditures which shall 
be approved by the governing authority.  

B. The agency administrator shall participate in budget 
reviews conducted by the governing authority.  

C. Written procedures shall govern revisions in to the 
budget.  

D. Written fiscal procedures shall provide for accounting of 
all income and expenditures.  

E. D. Written procedure shall govern the handling and use of 
residents' money. This procedure shall comply with current 
Department of Corrections community corrections operating 
procedures.  

F. E. An annual independent financial audit of the agency 
shall be performed by a certified public accounting firm or a 
governmental auditing agency.  

G. Agency staff F. The agency administrator shall prepare 
and distribute the following documents to its governing 
authority and the Department of Corrections upon request 
annually:  

1. Annual budget;  

2. Income and expenditure statements;  

3. Funding source financial reports; and  

4. Independent audit report.  

H. G. Written fiscal policies and procedures, which are 
adopted by the governing authority shall include at a 
minimum:  

1. Internal controls;  

2. Petty cash;  

3. Bonding;  

4. Signature control on checks;  

5. Resident funds; and  

6. Employee expense reimbursement. ; and  

7. Accounting of income and expenditures. 

I. H. The agency shall have insurance coverage which 
includes coverage for:  

1. Physical plant;  

2. Equipment;  

3. Personal and property injury to employees, residents and 
third parties; and  

4. Comprehensive general liability.  

J. I. Written procedure shall govern vendor selection and 
purchasing and requisitioning of supplies and equipment.  

K. J. There shall be written procedure for documenting and 
authorizing compensation to consultants.  

6VAC15-70-60. Personnel.  

A. Written personnel policies and procedures, which are 
approved by the governing authority, shall include at a 
minimum:  

1. Recruitment;  

2. Employment practices and procedures including in-
service training and staff development;  

3. Promotion;  

4. Fraternization (per Prison Rape Elimination Act); 

4. 5. Grievance and appeal;  

5. 6. Personnel records and contents;  

6. 7. Benefits;  

7. 8. Holidays;  

8. 9. Leave;  

9. 10. Hours of work;  

10. 11. Salaries;  

11. 12. Disciplinary action procedures; and  

12. 13. Termination and resignation.  

B. Agency staff Written personnel policies and procedures 
shall make be made available to all employees a copy of all 
personnel policies and procedures. Each employee shall 
confirm in writing the availability and review of current 
policies and procedures.  
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C. The agency administrator shall maintain written job 
descriptions and job qualifications for all positions in the 
agency.  

D. Confidentiality of personnel records shall be governed by 
written procedure.  

E. Written procedure shall allow an employee to challenge 
information in their personnel file and have it corrected or 
removed if proven inaccurate.  

F. All employees shall have a performance evaluation every 
12 months. This evaluation shall be in writing and shall be 
based upon defined criteria. Each performance evaluation 
shall be reviewed and discussed with the employee.  

G. Agency staff shall provide all new employees orientation, 
to include a review of all policies and procedures, beginning 
the first day of employment and concluding within 30 days. 
The employee shall sign and date a statement that orientation 
has been completed.  

H. An employee shall not assume sole responsibility for any 
working shift prior to the completion of orientation and 
formal training.  

I. The agency shall not discriminate or exclude from 
employment women from working in men's programs or nor 
men from working in women's programs.  

J. The agency shall comply with all governmental regulatory 
requirements related to employment and personnel practices.  

K. Written policy shall govern experience and education 
equivalents necessary for employment.  

L. Criminal records checks shall be performed on all 
employees prior to hiring. The Department of Corrections 
regional administrator regional director must provide written 
authorization prior to the hiring of any exoffender who has 
been convicted of an offense for which a sentence of 12 
months or more could have been imposed.  

Part III  
Facility  

6VAC15-70-70. Facility operation.  

A. The agency administrator shall ensure that the facility 
conforms to all applicable laws, codes and zoning ordinances 
or, through legal means, attempts to comply with or change 
such laws, codes, or zoning ordinances.  

B. The agency administrator shall ensure that the facility 
complies with applicable state and local building codes.  

C. The agency administrator shall ensure that the facility 
complies with sanitation and health codes of the state or local 
jurisdiction. Any sanitation and health deficiencies shall have 
a documented plan of corrective action that has been 
approved by the appropriate state or local inspector.  

D. The agency administrator shall ensure that the facility 
complies with the regulations of the state or local fire safety 
authority that has jurisdiction over the facility. Any fire safety 
deficiencies shall have a documented plan of corrective action 
that has been approved by the appropriate state or local 
inspector.  

E. Smoke detectors shall be installed, operational and 
inspected as recommended by the fire marshal or fire 
department representative.  

F. Automatic, permanent emergency lights shall be installed, 
operational, and inspected as recommended by the fire 
marshal or fire department representative.  

G. Agency staff shall have a housekeeping and maintenance 
plan. The facility shall be clean and in good repair.  

H. The facility shall be located within 10 city blocks of 
public transportation or other means of transportation shall be 
available.  

I. Sleeping quarters and bathroom areas shall have a 
minimum of 20 foot-candles of light.  

J. Sleeping quarters shall be properly ventilated.  

K. Sleeping quarters shall have a minimum of 60 square feet 
of floor space per resident.  

L. Male and female residents shall not occupy the same 
sleeping quarters.  

M. Each resident shall be provided, at a minimum, the 
following:  

1. Bed;  

2. Mattress and pillow;  

3. Supply of bed linens;  

4. Chair; and  

5. Closet or locker space.  

N. Residents shall be afforded space in the facility for:  

1. Private counseling;  

2. Group meetings; and 

3. Visitation.  

O. The facility shall have a minimum of one toilet and one 
shower or bathing facility for every 10 residents.  

P. The facility shall have a minimum of one wash basin for 
every six residents.  

Q. The facility shall have a minimum of one shower or 
bathing facility for every 10 residents.  
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R. Q. The facility shall have one washer and one dryer for 
every 16 residents, or equivalent laundry service shall be 
available in the immediate vicinity of the facility.  

S. R. Rules and regulations pertaining to residents shall be 
conspicuously posted in the facility.  

T. S. Written procedures shall govern transportation of 
residents that ensure at a minimum:  

1. Those staff providing transportation shall have a valid 
operator's license;  

2. Reporting of accidents; and  

3. The vehicle's operation is in accordance with all state 
and local laws or ordinances.  

U. T. Reasonable accommodations shall be available for the 
disabled.  

6VAC15-70-80. Staffing.  

A. The staffing pattern of the facility shall concentrate 
agency staff when the majority of residents are available to 
use facility resources schedule shall be formulated to 
accommodate the best possible ratio of staff to residents.  

B. There shall be at least one agency staff person on facility 
premises who is awake, available and responsive to residents' 
needs available to the residents 24 hours a day.  

6VAC15-70-90. Resident movement.  

A. Resident movement into and out of the facility shall be 
governed by written procedure. The procedure shall include, 
at a minimum, a sign-in and sign-out system that includes:  

1. Destination and phone number;  

2. Reason for signing out;  

3. Time and date out;  

4. Expected time of return;  

5. Resident's signature at time of departure;  

6. Staff signature or initials at time of departure;  

7. Date of return;  

8. Time of return;  

9. Resident's signature at time of return; and 

10. Staff signature or initials at time of return.  

B. Passes and furloughs shall be issued in conformance with 
Department of Corrections operating procedures.  

C. Movement within the facility shall be governed by 
procedures that provide for:  

1. An account of the residents' whereabouts in the facility 
at all times;  

2. A population count, by resident name, conducted by 
staff every two hours three times daily;  

3. Visual contact with each resident in the facility during 
the count; and  

4. Count results documented and initialed by staff.  

D. Verification of a resident's whereabouts when not in the 
facility shall be governed by written procedures. The forms of 
verification may include but not be limited to:  

1. Random telephone contacts to the authorized 
destination;  

2. Documentation from authorized destination that 
includes:  

a. Signature of individual visited;  

b. Date and time of visit; and  

3. Random on-site visits to authorized destination.  

6VAC15-70-100. Special procedures.  

A. There shall be written emergency procedures that shall 
include the following:  

1. Fire;  

2. Evacuation;  

3. Bomb or bomb threat;  

4. Hostage;  

5. Disturbances, which at a minimum include riots, 
assaults, and fights;  

6. Deaths;  

7. Power failure;  

8. Loss of heat;  

9. Loss of water;  

10. Escape or absconding; and  

11. Employee work stoppage.  

B. Fire emergency procedures shall be posted conspicuously 
in the facility.  

C. Agency staff shall conduct and document monthly and 
random emergency fire drills, including evacuation of 
residents.  

D. No resident or group of residents shall be in a position of 
control or authority over other residents.  

E. Written procedure shall restrict the use of physical force 
to instances of justifiable self-protection, protection of others, 
and the minimum degree necessary to control the situation.  

F. Agency staff administrator shall maintain and make 
available to all employees written procedures for conducting 
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searches of residents, agency staff, visitors and the facility in 
order to control contraband.  

G. Written procedures shall govern the disposal of 
contraband.  

H. Written procedures for reporting absconders shall comply 
with Department of Corrections operating procedures.  

I. Written policy shall prohibit the carrying and use of 
weapons in the facility by both agency staff and residents.  

J. Agency staff shall maintain a log of occurrences and daily 
events that shall:  

1. Be kept in a bound book for permanent residence 
retention;  

2. Be written legibly in ink;  

3. At each entry, contain the full names, at least once, of 
the residents involved in the events;  

4. Document a briefing of occurrences and important 
events between outgoing and incoming staff; and 

5. Contain a signature or initials of staff at the conclusion 
of their shift; and  

6. Become a legal document of the facility and shall be 
maintained as such.  

Part IV  
Program Services  

6VAC15-70-110. Intake.  

A. Criteria for acceptance into the program and intake shall 
be governed by written procedure.  

B. Agency staff shall complete an initial intake information 
form on each resident admitted which, unless prohibited by 
statute, includes at a minimum:  

1. Name;  

2. Address;  

3. Date of birth;  

4. Social Security number;  

5. Current photograph;  

6. Sex Gender;  

7. Race or ethnic origin;  

8. Reason for referral;  

9. Whom to notify in case of emergency;  

10. Date information gathered;  

11. Signature of both interviewee resident and employee 
gathering information;  

12. Name and telephone number of referring agency or 
committing authority;  

13. Special medical problems or needs;  

14. Personal physician, if applicable; and  

15. Legal status, including jurisdiction, and length and 
conditions of sentence. ; and 

16. Sexual abuse history (per Prison Rape Elimination 
Act). 

C. Agency staff shall distribute a copy of the criteria for 
acceptance into the program and intake procedures to referral 
agencies and interested parties.  

D. Agency staff shall provide in writing to the referral 
agency and prospective resident, reasons for nonacceptance 
into the program.  

E. At the time of intake, agency staff shall review goals, 
services available, program rules, and disciplinary actions 
with the resident. This procedure shall be documented by 
employee and resident signatures.  

F. Written procedure shall govern the assignment of case 
management of each resident to a staff member.  

G. Where a language or literacy problem exists which can 
may lead to a resident's misunderstanding of agency rules and 
regulations, assistance shall be provided to the resident either 
by staff or by another qualified individual under the 
supervision of a staff member.  

6VAC15-70-120. Programs.  

A. Agency staff shall design a personalized program with 
and for each resident that includes:  

1. Measurable criteria of expected behavior and 
accomplishments;  

2. Time schedule for achievement; and  

3. Staff and resident signatures Signatures of employee and 
resident.  

B. Agency staff shall review changes in the personalized 
program with the resident and document this procedure with 
staff employee and resident signatures.  

C. Agency staff shall review resident progress with the 
resident every two weeks. The outcome of each review shall 
be documented in the resident's case file.  

D. Written procedures shall provide residents increasing 
involvement with family and community activities prior to 
final release.  

E. Residents' attendance and participation in religious 
services and activities shall be voluntary. Residents shall be 
permitted to attend religious services of their choice in the 
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community once eligible to go out on pass and to receive 
visits from representatives of their respective faiths religious 
affiliation.  

F. Written procedures shall ensure that residents receive 
approved visitors during established visiting hours, except 
where there is substantial evidence that a visitor poses a threat 
to the safety of the resident or the security of the facility.  

G. Agency staff The agency program shall provide for 
recreational and leisure time activities.  

H. Agency staff shall provide, or make referrals when 
needed, for the following services:  

1. Supervision in the community;  

2. Shelter;  

3. Food service (where applicable);  

4. Financial assistance;  

5. Individual counseling;  

6. Assistance with transportation;  

7. Medical health services;  

8. Mental health services;  

9. Vocational evaluation, counseling and training;  

10. Employment counseling and placement;  

11. Education or training counseling and placement; and  

12. Group counseling.  

I. Agency staff shall use community resources, either 
through referrals for service or by contractual agreement, to 
provide residents with the services to become self-sufficient.  

J. Agency staff shall ensure that residents' mail, both 
incoming and outgoing, is not read or withheld and that 
inspection of residents' mail for money or contraband shall 
occur in the presence of the resident.  

K. Resident grievances shall be governed by written 
procedures that shall include an appeals process.  

6VAC15-70-130. Case records.  

A. Agency staff shall maintain a case record for each 
resident in which all significant decisions and events are 
recorded. The records shall include, at a minimum, but are not 
limited to, the following information:  

1. Initial intake information form;  

2. Case information from referral source;  

3. Case and social history;  

4. Emergency contact information;  

5. Medical record, when available;  

6. Individual plan or program, group and family counseling 
shall be documented;  

7. Signed release of information forms;  

8. Evaluation and progress reports;  

9. Current employment data;  

10. Program rules and disciplinary policy, signed by 
resident and agency staff Documentation that program 
rules and policies have been reviewed with the resident;  

11. Grievance and disciplinary record;  

12. Subsequent referrals to other agencies by the program; 
and  

13. Termination summary.  

B. Agency staff shall make entries into the case records and 
date and initial each entry.  

C. Case records shall be marked "confidential" and 
maintained in locked file cabinets or rooms to minimize the 
possibility of theft, loss, destruction or unauthorized use.  

D. Supervisory staff or a designee shall review case records 
monthly to ensure that the case is current and accurate.  

E. The confidentiality of case records shall be maintained in 
accordance with federal and state laws. Written procedures 
shall govern access to case records and designate personnel 
responsible for release of resident information.  

F. Written procedure shall govern the retention and 
destruction of case records in accordance with state law.  

G. Agency staff shall provide a "Release of Information 
Consent Form" which at a minimum complies with applicable 
federal and state laws and includes:  

1. Person, agency or organization requesting information;  

2. Person, agency or organization releasing information;  

3. Specific information to be disclosed;  

4. Purpose or need for the information;  

5. Expiration date;  

6. Date consent form is signed;  

7. Signature of the resident; and  

8. Signature of individual witnessing resident's signature.  

6VAC15-70-160. Medical care and health services.  

A. Agency staff shall maintain first aid equipment approved 
by a recognized health authority for medical emergencies.  

B. Written procedure shall ensure perpetual availability of 
first aid equipment and supplies.  
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C. Agency staff shall maintain a current inventory control 
list of first aid equipment and supplies.  

D. One agency staff employee on each shift of the 
community residential program shall be trained in emergency 
first aid procedures, including cardiopulmonary resuscitation.  

E. Routine medical services care and 24-hour emergency 
medical services shall be available to residents.  

F. At the time of the offender's resident’s referral, a medical 
assessment shall be completed to determine if the resident has 
any special medical needs. Agency staff shall be made aware 
of offenders' residents’ special medical problems.  

G. Written procedures shall provide for medical examination 
of any agency staff employee or resident suspected of having 
a communicable disease.  

H. Written procedures shall address the management of 
serious and infectious diseases for residents and agency staff.  

I. When a urine surveillance screening program is in effect, 
written procedures shall govern collection of samples and 
interpretation of results.  

J. Written procedures shall govern the possession and 
control of prescribed medications and over-the-counter drugs 
medication.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1632; Filed September 24, 2008, 9:46 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT (BOARD) OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-20. Regulations Governing 
the Monitoring, Approval, and Certification of Juvenile 
Justice Programs (amending 6VAC35-20-37). 

Statutory Authority: §§16.1-233 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: August 1, 2007, through January 31, 2009. 

The Department of Juvenile Justice requested an extension of 
the emergency regulations, 6VAC35-20, pursuant to §2.2-
4011 of the Code of Virginia to allow time for the permanent 
fast-track regulations to complete the executive review 
process and the requirements of the Administrative Process 
Act. The emergency regulations were published in 23:25 
VA.R. 4180-4181 August 20, 2007 
(http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/vol23/iss25/ 
v23i25.pdf) with effective dates of August 1, 2007, through 
July 31, 2008.  

The Governor approved the department's request to extend 
the expiration date of the emergency regulations for six 
months as provided in §2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 
Therefore, the regulations will continue in effect through 
January 31, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Deron Phipps, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, Dept of Juvenile Justice, PO 
Box 1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 746-
6407, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
deron.phipps@djj.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-639; Filed September 16, 2008, 10:11 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation  
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-140. Standards for Juvenile 
Residential Facilities (adding 6VAC35-140-46). 

Statutory Authority: §§16.1-309.9, 66-10 and 66-25.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
November 12, 2008. 

Effective Date: December 12, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Janet P. VanCuyk, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 
E. Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone 
(804) 371-4097, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Juvenile Justice is entrusted with general 
authority to promulgate regulations by §66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia, which states the board may "promulgate such 
regulations as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of 
this title and other laws of the Commonwealth administered 
by the Director or the Department." Additional statutory 
provisions address the board’s responsibility to promulgate 
regulations governing residential facilities. These are §§16.1-
309.9, governing facilities receiving funding through the 
Virginia Juvenile Community Crime Control Act (Chapter 
11, Article 12.1 of Title 16.1 of the Code of Virginia); 16.1-
322.5, governing local or regional detention homes; and 66-
24, governing community group homes and other residential 
facilities. 

Purpose: Juvenile residential facilities regulated by the Board 
of Juvenile Justice currently must meet the requirements of 
the Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of Children’s 
Residential Facilities (22VAC42-11) and the Standards for 
Juvenile Residential Facilities (6VAC35-140). 22VAC42-11-
830 of the Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children’s Residential Facilities (22VAC42-11) regulates the 
staff supervision of residents in all children’s residential 
facilities.  This provision specifies that "The Board of 
Juvenile Justice shall determine the supervision ratios for 
facilities regulated by the Department of Juvenile Justice." No 
regulations or policies adopted by the Board of Juvenile 
Justice set the required staffing ratio for the nonsecure 
facilities it regulates. 
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Prior to December 27, 2007, when the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children’s Residential 
Facilities were amended, all nonsecure children’s residential 
facilities were subject to the same staffing ratio, which 
required each facility to have one staff person supervising 
every 10 residents during scheduled awake hours. As 
amended, the Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children’s Residential Facilities (22VAC42-11), 6VAC42-
11-830 provides that facilities regulated by the Departments 
of Education, Social Services, and Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation, and Substance Abuse Services must maintain a 
staffing ratio of one staff person for each eight residents.  
22VAC42-11-830 specifically excludes facilities regulated by 
the Board of Juvenile Justice and provides that the Board of 
Juvenile Justice shall determine the applicable supervision 
ratios. This exclusion applies to both secure and nonsecure 
facilities regulated by the board. 

6VAC35-140-545 sets the staffing pattern for secure facilities 
regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice.  No regulations or 
policies adopted by the Board of Juvenile Justice set the 
required staffing ratio for the nonsecure facilities it regulates.  
This regulation is essential to protect the health, safety, or 
welfare of both juveniles who reside in juvenile residential 
facilities and the staff who work there.  Absent this 
regulation, an operator of a nonsecure residential facility 
regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice may elect to set a 
higher staffing ratio that could potentially adversely affect the 
care of the residents and result in the residents’ needs being 
unmet.  This proposed regulatory action would close that gap. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This regulation is 
being promulgated through the fast-track process because it is 
expected to be noncontroversial as the proposed section: (i) 
adopts the prior regulatory requirements (which were required 
of these facilities before the December 2007 amendments to 
the Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of Children’s 
Residential Facilities); (ii) makes current practice a regulatory 
requirement (as the affected facilities have continued to 
operate under the prior regulatory requirement); (iii) corrects 
a gap in the current regulatory scheme; and (iv) results in 
continued uniform staffing patterns in these facilities 
throughout the Commonwealth. 

Under the current regulatory scheme, there is a gap in which 
no staffing ratio has been set for nonsecure residential 
facilities regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice.  The 
proposed section would adopt the same language governing 
the staffing pattern for secure residential facilities regulated 
by the Board of Juvenile Justice and apply it to the nonsecure 
juvenile residential facilities regulated by the board. 

This staffing ratio is also consistent with the ratio required by 
the Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of Children’s 
Residential Facilities (22VAC42-11) prior to its amendment 
in December 2007.  The proposed staffing ratio is different 
from the general rule currently governing residential 

programs regulated by the Departments of Education, Social 
Services, and Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and 
Substance Abuse Services. However, 22VAC42-11-830 of 
the Standards for the Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children’s Residential Facilities allows each of these boards 
to, upon request of a provider, approve a ratio that allows a 
higher number of residents to be supervised by one staff if the 
requested staffing ratio will not adversely affect the care of 
the residents and if the residents’ needs will continue to be 
met on an individual as well as a group basis.  The 
department asserts that the requested staffing ratio will not 
adversely affect the care of the residents and the residents’ 
needs will continue to be met on an individual as well as a 
group basis and thus expects this regulatory action to be 
noncontroversial. 

Substance: This action will create a new section (6VAC35-
140-46) in the Board of Juvenile Justice’s Standards for 
Juvenile Residential Facilities (6VAC35-140).  The proposed 
section adopts the prior regulatory requirements (which were 
required of these facilities before the December 2007 
amendments to the Standards for Interdepartmental 
Regulation of Children’s Residential Facilities), will make 
current practice a regulatory requirement, and will result in 
continued uniform application in these facilities throughout 
the Commonwealth. 

This new section sets the staffing pattern for nonsecure 
facilities regulated by the board.  The amendment sets the 
staffing ratio at one staff for 10 residents during scheduled 
awake hours (except independent living programs where it is 
set at one to 15) and one staff for every 16 residents during 
scheduled sleep hours.  Additionally, when the residents are 
sleeping, at least one staff member must be in each building 
and on each floor where residents sleep (except independent 
living programs). 

Issues: 22VAC42-11-830 of the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children’s Residential 
Facilities (22VAC42-11) provides that facilities regulated by 
the Departments of Education, Social Services, and Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse Services 
must maintain a staffing ratio of one staff person for each 
eight residents.  22VAC42-11-830 specifically excludes 
facilities regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice and 
provides the Board of Juvenile Justice shall determine the 
applicable supervision ratios. This exclusion applies to both 
secure and nonsecure facilities regulated by the board. 

6VAC35-140-545 sets the staffing pattern for secure facilities 
regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice.  No regulations or 
policies adopted by the Board of Juvenile Justice set the 
required staffing ratio for nonsecure facilities it regulates.  
Thus, the proposed regulation is essential to protect the 
health, safety, or welfare of both juveniles who reside in 
juvenile residential facilities and the staff who work there.  
Absent this regulation, an operator of a nonsecure residential 
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facility regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice may elect 
to set a higher staffing ratio that could potentially adversely 
affect the care of the residents and result in the residents’ 
needs being unmet.  This proposed regulatory action could 
close that gap. 

Thus, the proposed provision is advantageous to the public 
because it provides additional protections for the health, 
safety, and welfare of the residents in juvenile residential 
facilities regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice. 

There are no known disadvantages to this regulation. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Juvenile Justice proposes to adopt staffing ratios for 
non-secure juvenile residential facilities. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
this proposed action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to December, 2007, the 
Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of Children’s 
Residential facilities set staffing ratios for non-secure juvenile 
residential facilities.  Under Interdepartmental Regulations, 
most of these facilities maintained a staff to child ratio of at 
least one staff member for every ten children during hours 
when the children were awake.  During sleeping hours, the 
general staff to child ratio had to be, at most, one to sixteen.  
Of the staff required during sleeping hours: 1) at least one 
staff member had to be on duty in each building where 
children were sleeping and 2) there had to be at least one staff 
member on duty on floors where children were sleeping for 
every thirty children on that floor. 

Under pre-December 2007 Interdepartmental Regulations, 
independent living programs had different staffing ratio 
requirements.  During waking hours independent living 
programs had to have at least one staff member on duty for 
every fifteen teenagers/young adults.  There were no staffing 
requirements for independent living programs during 
traditional sleeping hours. 

In December 2007 new Interdepartmental Regulations were 
promulgated that allowed the Board of Juvenile Justice to 
determine staffing ratios for its own facilities.  The Board of 
Juvenile Justice now proposes to adopt staffing ratios that 
were set by pre-December 2007 Interdepartmental 
Regulations.  These staffing ratios represent current practice 
so there will likely be no costs that will be accrued on account 
of these proposed standards.  To the extent that any interested 
parties may have been unsure as to what staffing standards 
are, promulgating these standards will provide the benefit of 
clarity. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Juvenile 
Justice reports that this regulatory action will affect 29 non-

secure juvenile residential facilities.  Some of these facilities 
are private, for-profit operations and would, therefore, qualify 
as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Juvenile Justice concurs with the economic impact analysis as 
submitted by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
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Summary: 

The amendment adds a new section that sets the staffing 
pattern for nonsecure facilities regulated by the board. 
The amendment sets the staffing ratio at one staff for 
every 10 residents during scheduled awake hours (except 
independent living programs where it is set at one for 
every 15) and one staff for every 16 residents during 
scheduled sleep hours. Additionally, when the residents 
are sleeping, at least one staff member must be in each 
building and at least one staff member for every 30 
residents must be on each floor where residents sleep 
(except independent living programs). 

6VAC35-140-46. Staffing pattern. 

A. During the hours that residents are scheduled to be 
awake, there shall be at least one child care staff member 
awake, on duty, and responsible for supervision of every 10 
residents, or portion thereof, on the premises or participating 
in off-campus, facility-sponsored activities except that 
independent living programs shall have at least one child care 
staff member awake, on duty, and responsible for supervision 
of every 15 children on the premises or participating in off-
campus, facility-sponsored activities. 

B. During the hours that residents are scheduled to sleep 
there shall be no less than one child care staff member on 
duty and responsible for supervision of every 16 residents, or 
portion thereof, on the premises. 

C. There shall be at least one child care staff member on 
duty and responsible for the supervision of residents in each 
building where residents are sleeping. This requirement does 
not apply to approved independent living programs. 

D. On each floor where children are sleeping, there shall be 
at least one child care staff member awake and on duty for 
every 30 children or portion thereof.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1344; Filed September 18, 2008, 12:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION  

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA  

Final Regulation  
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§2.2-4006 
et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia 
pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC40-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 8VAC40-10-10 through 8VAC40-
10-90). 

8VAC40-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
8VAC40-11-10 through 8VAC40-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-4007.02 and 23-9.6:1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Linda H. Woodley, Regulatory Coordinator, 
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, James 
Monroe Bldg., 101 North 14th St., 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2938, FAX (804) 786-2027, or 
email lindawoodley@schev.edu. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 
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CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

8VAC40-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the State Council of Higher Education for 
Virginia. This chapter does not apply to regulations, 
guidelines, or other documents exempted or excluded from 
the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

8VAC40-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the State Council of Higher Education for 
Virginia, which is the unit of state government empowered by 
the agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 
Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 
employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by §2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

8VAC40-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

378 

notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

8VAC40-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 8VAC40-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to §2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

8VAC40-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with §2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to §2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

8VAC40-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in §2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to §2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

8VAC40-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 
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B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

8VAC40-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

8VAC40-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with §2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

8VAC40-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

8VAC40-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in §2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1440; Filed September 22, 2008, 10:19 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§2.2-4006 
et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia 
pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-5. Public Participation 
Guidelines (adding 12VAC30-5-10 through 12VAC30-5-
110). 

12VAC30-100. State Programs (repealing 12VAC30-100-
10 through 12VAC30-100-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-4007.02 et seq. and 32.1-324 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2008. 
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Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., 
Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8856, 
FAX (804) 786-1680, TTY (800) 343-0634, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 5  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

12VAC30-5-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. This chapter does not apply to regulations, 
guidelines, or other documents exempted or excluded from 
the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

12VAC30-5-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, which is the unit of state government empowered by 

the agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 
Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 
employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by §2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
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which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

12VAC30-5-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

12VAC30-5-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
12VAC30-5-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to §2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

12VAC30-5-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with §2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
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adoption of the regulation pursuant to §2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

12VAC30-5-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in §2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to §2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

12VAC30-5-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

12VAC30-5-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

12VAC30-5-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with §2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

12VAC30-5-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

12VAC30-5-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
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effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in §2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

Part I  
Public Participation Guidelines  

12VAC30-100-10. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

The following words and terms, when used in this part, shall 
have the following meaning, unless the content clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Board" means the Board of Medical Assistance Services.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services.  

"Department" or "DMAS" means the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services.  

"Formation and development process" means those activities 
with respect to a specific regulation which occur between the 
publication of a notice of intent to develop or modify 
regulations, and the release of the proposed regulation for 
public comment.  

"Regulation" means any statement of general application, 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, promulgated by an agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable basic law.  

12VAC30-100-20. General information. (Repealed.) 

A. Authority. Chapter 1.1:1 of Title 9 of the Code of 
Virginia, deals with the promulgation of rules and 
regulations. Specifically, §9.6.14:7.1 directs agencies of the 
Commonwealth to develop public participation guidelines for 
soliciting the input of interested parties in the formation and 
development of regulations. Section 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia empowers the Board of Medical Assistance Services 
to make, adopt, and promulgate regulations.  

B. Purpose. This part is designed to provide consistent, 
written guidelines in order to ensure input from interested 
parties at all stages of the regulatory process.  

C. Administration. The Board of Medical Assistance 
Services shall have the responsibility for promulgating 
regulations pertaining to public input in the regulatory 
process. Pursuant to §32.1-324 C, the director shall have this 
responsibility and authority when the board is not in session, 

subject to such rules and regulations as may be prescribed by 
the board.  

D. Application of regulations. This part shall have general 
application throughout the Commonwealth.  

E. Application of the Administrative Process Act. The 
provisions of the Virginia Administrative Process Act, which 
is codified as Chapter 1.1:1 of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia, 
shall govern the adoption, amendment, modification, and 
revision of these regulations. All hearings deemed necessary 
by the director on such regulations, shall be conducted in 
accordance with §9-6.14:7.1.  

12VAC30-100-30. Identification of interested parties. 
 (Repealed.) 

A. Existing data. The department will maintain a list of 
those persons and organizations who have demonstrated an 
interest in certain program regulations in the past through 
participation in regulatory hearings, correspondence, or other 
activities with the department.  

B. Development of new lists. Periodically, the department 
shall publish a notice in The Virginia Register of Regulations, 
in a newspaper published in Richmond, and in other 
newspapers in Virginia localities, a request that any 
individual or organization interested in participating in the 
development of specific rules and regulations notify the office 
of the director. Any persons or organizations identified in this 
process will be incorporated in the lists developed under 
12VAC30-100-30 A. The director may periodically remove 
from the lists persons or organizations that request to be 
removed or who fail to respond to an inquiry regarding 
continued interest.  

12VAC30-100-40. Notification of interested parties. 
  (Repealed.) 

A. Individual mailings. When the Director of DMAS 
determines that specific regulations need to be developed or 
modified, the program shall notify by mail the individuals and 
organizations identified in 12VAC30-100-30. The notice 
shall include the title of the regulation to be developed or 
modified; a summary of the subject matter; the program 
contact person, mailing address, and telephone number; and 
the date by which a notice of a desire to participate in the 
formation and development process must be received. This 
rule shall not be mandatory where the department is 
formulating and developing regulations pursuant to court 
order, or federally required action or General Assembly 
action, but whenever time permits every effort will be made 
to provide such notice.  

B. Notice of intent. When the department determines that 
specific regulations need to be developed or modified, the 
department will publish a Notice of Intent in The Virginia 
Register of Regulations. This notice will include the title of 
the regulation to be developed or modified; a summary of the 
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subject matter; the program contact person, mailing address 
and telephone number; and the date by which a notice of a 
desire to participate must be received.  

C. An announcement shall be sent to members of the 
Governor's Advisory Committee on Medicare and Medicaid 
and the board of the department.  

12VAC30-100-50. Solicitation of input from interested 
parties.   (Repealed.) 

A. Advisory panels. The department's rule-making is so 
frequent that the Governor's Advisory Committee on 
Medicare and Medicaid will function as the department's on-
going advisory panel. Based on the scope and nature of the 
regulatory issue, the director may, at his discretion, establish 
a sole function advisory panel to assist in this development or 
modification.  

B. Membership of panels. Members of these sole-function 
advisory panels will be individuals and organization 
representatives identified under 12VAC30-100-30 and who 
have expressed the desire to participate in the department's 
regulatory process. Panel membership will consist of 
individuals oriented to the department, program issues and 
constraints of the intended regulations and representatives of 
entities governed by the proposed regulations. Advisory 
panels will consist of no less than three nor more than seven 
members.  

C. Operation of panels. Individual panels will establish their 
own operating procedures, but in every case a panel will meet 
once and then will decide on subsequent meetings. All panel 
comments and other comments on proposed regulations will 
be documented by the program and a response will be 
developed for each comment. A written report on the public 
and panel comments will be prepared and the subsequent 
decision or action recommended shall be prepared by 
departmental staff and submitted to the Board of the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services for review and 
approval.  

D. Exceptions. The use of an advisory panel may be waived 
at the director's discretion when:  

1. There is no response to the notice of intent,  

2. The office of the Attorney General determines that 
regulations are promulgated to comply with state or federal 
law or federal regulation and that no agency discretion is 
involved, or  

3. When the program is formulating and developing 
regulations pursuant to a court order.  

E. Other comments. All persons and organizations who 
notify the Department of Medical Assistance Services under 
12VAC30-100-40 of their desire to comment shall be 
provided an opportunity to examine regulations in their 
developmental stage and to provide written comments on 

these regulations to the department. The department shall 
document the receipt of these comments and will respond to 
all comments. This rule shall not be mandatory when the 
department is formulating and developing regulations 
pursuant to a court order but every effort will be made to 
comply.  

12VAC30-100-60. Administrative Process Act procedures. 
(Repealed.) 

After regulations have been developed according to these 
guidelines they shall be submitted for public comment in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1451; Filed September 16, 2008, 4:19 p.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 
and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care (adding 
12VAC30-60-500).  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: August 8, 2007, through February 7, 2009. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services requested an 
extension of the emergency regulations, 12VAC30-60, 
pursuant to §2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia. The 
emergency regulations, relating to disease management, were 
published in 23:26 VA.R. 4427-4429 September 3, 2007 
(http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/vol23/iss26/ 
v23i26.pdf) with effective dates of August 8, 2007, through 
August 7, 2008.  
The original emergency regulation was followed by a 
proposed regulation. Upon further research it was determined 
that the national evidence-based guidelines for the specialized 
conditions were designed for individuals 18 years and older. 
Therefore, substantive changes were made to the original 
proposed regulation specifically dropping the age limit of 21 
years and older to 18 years and older for individuals in the 
fee-for service, who have congestive heart failure (CHF), 
coronary artery disease (CAD), or chronic obstructive 
pulmonary disease (COPD). Due to unforeseen delays, it is 
not possible that the regulatory process will be complete prior 
to the expiration of the emergency regulation, despite the best 
efforts of those involved.  
The Governor approved the department's request to extend 
the expiration date of the emergency regulations for six 
months as provided in §2.2-4011D of the Code of Virginia.  
Therefore, the regulations will continue in effect through 
February 2, 2009. 
Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Health Care Services 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-5040, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-738; Filed September 16, 2008, 10:11 a.m.  
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Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-70. Methods and 
Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient 
Hospital Services (amending 12VAC30-70-70, 12VAC30-
70-261, 12VAC30-70-271, 12VAC30-70-500). 

12VAC30-90. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates for Long-Term Care (amending 
12VAC30-90-264). 

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
November 12, 2008. 

Effective Date: November 27, 2008.  

Agency Contact: James Branham, Project Manager, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4587, 
FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
james.branham@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of DMAS to administer and amend the Plan for 
Medical Assistance according to the board's requirements. 
The Medicaid authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC §1396a) provides governing 
authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulation is to simplify hospital 
and specialized care nursing facility reimbursement either by 
eliminating unnecessary hospital and specialized care nursing 
facility requirements or by making the specialized care 
nursing facility reimbursement similar to the regular nursing 
facility reimbursement. Both proposals are budget neutral and 
the reimbursement impact on providers would be negligible. 
Both proposals would reduce DMAS and provider 
administrative costs associated with reporting and 
recordkeeping activities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: DMAS consulted 
with the Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association and the 
Association (VHHA) representative indicated that the VHHA 
would not object to eliminating recapture of hospital 
depreciation. Medicare has already eliminated hospital 
depreciation recapture.  Sometimes hospital depreciation 
recapture benefits DMAS and other times it benefits the 
provider. However, in either case the funds involved are not 
material and it is necessary for DMAS and the provider to 
review cost reports related to the original hospital 
depreciation, which may be many years old.  Neither party 

considers the recordkeeping a good use of resources. The 
VHHA also agrees that it is not necessary to have the hospital 
outlier methodology illustration in regulation.  DMAS intends 
to put an outlier calculation spreadsheet on its website. 

DMAS consulted with the Virginia Health Care Association 
and providers receiving specialized care reimbursement under 
the current system.  DMAS presented information regarding 
how the proposed simplification would have effected 
reimbursement if the simplification had been in place.  
Providers agreed that simplification would reduce 
administrative reporting requirements and make it easier for 
providers to estimate reimbursement. 

Substance:  

Eliminate Recapture of Hospital Depreciation 

Under current policy, DMAS must “recapture” depreciation 
when a hospital is sold.  DMAS reimburses hospitals for 
depreciation based on standard depreciation schedules.  When 
a hospital is sold, the seller may experience a windfall if the 
sale price exceeds the reimbursed depreciation or the seller 
may experience a loss if the sale price is less than the 
reimbursed depreciation.  If the seller experiences a windfall, 
DMAS will recapture hospital depreciation; if the seller 
experiences a loss, DMAS will cover the loss.  When a sale 
occurs, therefore, the seller and DMAS have to calculate the 
windfall or loss based on the original records.  Hospital sales 
are relatively infrequent, the windfall or loss is usually not 
large and the net payments/recoveries for DMAS are close to 
zero.  In many cases, this is the only reason for storing older 
cost reports since Medicare eliminated recapture of hospital 
depreciation a number of years ago.  DMAS and the hospital 
association agree that there is little cost/benefit in continuing 
the recapture of hospital depreciation and therefore this 
regulation would eliminate it.  

Eliminate Hospital Outlier Illustration 

12VAC30-70-261 are the regulations for the hospital outlier 
methodology.  The subsection to be eliminated is only an 
illustration that is now more than 10 years out of date.  
DMAS intends to publish annual hospital outlier calculation 
worksheets on the DMAS website and therefore it makes 
more sense to eliminate this subsection than to revise it. 

Simplify Reimbursement of Specialized Care Nursing 
Facility Services 

The goals of the planned regulatory action are to reduce 
unnecessary complexity and reduce administrative burden 
associated with the method used to determine nursing facility 
payment rates for adult and pediatric specialized care. 

The current specialized care payment rate calculation method 
uses the Resource Utilization Group System (RUGS III) 
nursing only index to calculate each facility’s average 
normalized case mix index (NCMI), which is the measure of 
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each facility’s average patient severity level normalized by 
the average of all specialized care patients in the state.  
Ceilings and payment rates are adjusted by the NCMI, in 
order to avoid overpayments to facilities with a less severe 
patient population and to ensure adequate payments to 
facilities that have a more severe patient population, relative 
to the state average.  When this reimbursement methodology 
was developed there were approximately 40 adult specialized 
care providers serving recipients with ventilator, 
rehabilitation and complex care needs.  Since 2003, however, 
adult specialized care serves only ventilator patients.  As a 
result, there are less than 10 adult specialized care providers 
with a much more homogenous patient population.  Pediatric 
specialized care still covers all categories, but the patients in 
the two pediatric specialized care facilities have very similar 
resource needs.  In both the adult and pediatric specialized 
care facilities, specialized care facility NCMI scores are very 
close to 1.0 (the same as the state average) and application of 
the NCMI adjustment has a negligible effect on payment rates 
and is unnecessary. 

Based on the provider and patient changes, there is no longer 
a compelling reason to continue adjusting rates and ceilings 
by the NCMI, especially given the extra work this requires 
and other disadvantages.  DMAS uses the services of an 
outside accounting firm to calculate specialized care NCMI 
scores and rate adjustments.  Specialized care facilities are 
required to send in additional MDS data on a monthly basis 
and the calculations cannot be completed until all facilities 
have sent in this data.  Providers have indicated to DMAS 
that the additional work is a burden and the lack of timeliness 
in finalizing rates is frustrating. 

Along with eliminating the NCMI, DMAS is proposing two 
additional changes to further simplify the methodology by 
conforming the inflation adjustment and occupancy 
requirements to the methodology used in regular nursing 
facility reimbursement. 

The current inflation methodology for specialized care 
reimbursement was also used for regular nursing facility 
reimbursement until July 1, 2002.  This methodology 
involves a combination of historical and anticipated inflation, 
annual revisions and quarterly inflation updates.  The new, 
simpler inflation methodology adopted effective July 1, 2002, 
for regular nursing facility reimbursement updates inflation 
annually using a single inflation factor.  The inflation 
methodology used for specialized care reimbursement, 
however, was not changed.  This regulation would require 
that the specialized care reimbursement use the simpler 
inflation methodology utilized for regular nursing facility 
reimbursement. 

Additionally, this regulatory action will require adult 
specialized care reimbursement to use the same 90% 
occupancy requirement used in the regular nursing facility 
reimbursement.  Under current regulations the occupancy 

requirement only applies to regular nursing facilities not to 
adult specialized care even though occupancy is already 
calculated by using total facility paid days, including 
specialized care days, as a percentage of total available days.  
DMAS does not anticipate that capital reimbursement for 
specialized care facilities would be frequently affected by this 
change, but, in any event, the special consideration is not 
justified. The lower 70% occupancy requirement for pediatric 
specialized care would not change. 

Issues: The advantage to both the hospital and nursing facility 
providers of this change is the reduction of paperwork that is 
required by the policies being changed by this action. The 
advantage to DMAS with this change will be the 
simplification of both the inpatient hospital and nursing 
facility cost settlement process. There are no disadvantages to 
the Commonwealth for this action. The changes do not have a 
fiscal impact and they eliminate unnecessary administrative 
burdens on both DMAS and providers. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed regulations will simplify Medicaid hospital and 
specialized care reimbursement methodologies. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) proposes to simplify Medicaid 
hospital and specialized care reimbursement methodologies. 

The specialized care nursing facility reimbursement will be 
simplified by eliminating the case mix adjustment and using 
the same inflation method used in the regular nursing facility 
reimbursement methodology. The reason for eliminating case 
mix adjustment is the fact that these facilities currently cover 
only ventilator dependent patients leading to very 
homogeneous mix of cases. In the past, the patient mix was 
heterogeneous because complex health and comprehensive 
services were covered by adult specialized care facilities. 

Also, the specialized care nursing facility inflation 
methodology is much more complex than the inflation 
methodology for regular nursing facilities. The proposed 
changes will adopt the simpler regular nursing facility 
inflation methodology for specialized care nursing facilities. 

Furthermore, DMAS proposes a new statewide ceiling so as 
to maintain the budget neutrality after the proposed changes. 
So, there is no net significant fiscal effect is expected as a 
result of the proposed changes. However, simplified 
reimbursement methodology is expected to reduce 
administrative costs and staff time at DMAS. Providers are 
expected to experience similar benefits. 

Another change proposed will eliminate recapture of hospital 
depreciation when a provider hospital is sold. DMAS 
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currently reimburses hospitals for depreciation. Any loss or 
gain that may accrue to the seller when a hospital is sold is 
paid or recovered by DMAS. It is reported that hospital sales 
are rare, the seller losses or gains are insignificant, and net 
payments or recoveries by DMAS are close to zero. Thus, no 
large fiscal effect is expected from eliminating the recapture 
of hospital depreciation as proposed. However, this proposed 
change will remove the sole reason that many hospitals and 
DMAS have been storing older cost reports and provide some 
savings. 

The fiscal savings in administrative expenses and staff time at 
DMAS are estimated to be about $50,000. Similar savings are 
likely to accrue to the providers as well. 

Finally, DMAS is proposing to remove an example contained 
in the regulations. DMAS intends to provide access to a 
similar example on its website. Thus, while providers will 
likely still have access to the same information through the 
website, DMAS will not be required to update its regulations 
every time when assumptions in the example changes. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations apply to 
8 providers of specialized care and approximately 95 
hospitals. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed simplified 
methodologies and reduced recordkeeping requirements are 
expected to reduce demand for labor.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant effect on the use and value of private property is 
expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. None of the 
effected entities are believed to be small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed changes are not estimated to 
have an adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant effect on the 
real estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 

proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations 
concerning Simplify Hospital and Specialized Care 
Reimbursement (12VAC30-70-70, 12VAC30-70-261, 
12VAC30-70-271, 12VAC30-70-500 and 12VAC30-90-264). 

Summary: 

The amendments accomplish several reimbursement 
methodology changes designed to simplify provider 
reimbursement. The first is to simplify hospital 
reimbursement by eliminating recapture of hospital 
depreciation when a hospital is sold; this also eliminates 
the associated recordkeeping. The amendments also 
eliminate the hospital outlier illustration, which is 
outdated. 

The regulation simplifies reimbursement for specialized 
care nursing facilities by (i) eliminating the case mix 
adjustment and (ii) using the same inflation method and 
capital rate calculation used in the regular nursing facility 
reimbursement methodology. After recent changes to the 
covered groups, there is no longer a justification for the 
case mix adjustment and the associated reporting. The 
changes are budget neutral. 

12VAC30-70-70. Revaluation of assets. 

A. Effective October 1, 1984 July 1, 2008, the valuation of 
an asset of a hospital or long-term care facility which has 
undergone a change of ownership on or after July 18, 1984, 
shall be the lesser of the seller's allowable acquisition 
depreciated historical cost to (net book value) as determined 
for Medicaid reimbursement of the owner of record as of July 
18, 1984, or the acquisition cost to the new owner. 

B. In the case of an asset not in existence as of July 18, 
1984, the valuation of an asset of a hospital or long-term care 
facility shall be the lesser of the seller's allowable depreciated 
historical cost (net book value) as determined for Medicaid 
reimbursement of the first owner of record, or the acquisition 
cost to the new owner. 
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C. In establishing appropriate allowance for depreciation, 
interest on capital indebtedness, and return on equity (if 
applicable prior to July 1, 1986) the base to be used for such 
computations shall be limited to subsection A or B above of 
this section. 

D. Costs (including legal fees, accounting and 
administrative costs, travel costs, and feasibility studies) 
attributable to the negotiation or settlement of the sale or 
purchase of any capital asset (by acquisition or merger) shall 
be reimbursable only to the extent that they have not been 
previously reimbursed by Medicaid. 

E. The recapture of depreciation up to the full value of the 
asset is required.  

F. E. Rental charges in sale and leaseback agreements shall 
be restricted to the depreciation, mortgage interest and (if 
applicable prior to July 1, 1986) return on equity based on 
cost of ownership as determined in accordance with 
subsections A. and B. above of this section. 

12VAC30-70-261. Outlier operating payment. 

A. An outlier operating payment shall be made for outlier 
cases. This payment shall be added to the operating payments 
determined in 12VAC30-70-231 and 12VAC30-70-251. 
Eligibility for the outlier operating payment and the amount 
of the outlier operating payment shall be determined as 
follows:  

1. The hospital's adjusted operating cost for the case shall 
be estimated. This shall be equal to the hospital's total 
charges for the case times the hospital's operating cost-to-
charge ratio, as defined in subsection C of 12VAC30-70-
221, times the adjustment factor specified in 12VAC30-70-
331 B.  

2. The adjusted outlier operating fixed loss threshold shall 
be calculated as follows:  

a. The outlier operating fixed loss threshold shall be 
multiplied by the statewide average labor portion of 
operating costs, yielding the labor portion of the outlier 
operating fixed loss threshold. Hence, the nonlabor 
portion of the outlier operating fixed loss threshold shall 
constitute one minus the statewide average labor portion 
of operating costs times the outlier operating fixed loss 
threshold.  

b. The labor portion of the outlier operating fixed loss 
threshold shall be multiplied by the hospital's Medicare 
wage index, yielding the wage adjusted labor portion of 
the outlier operating fixed loss threshold.  

c. The wage adjusted labor portion of the outlier 
operating fixed loss threshold shall be added to the 
nonlabor portion of the outlier operating fixed loss 
threshold, yielding the wage adjusted outlier operating 
fixed loss threshold.  

3. The hospital's outlier operating threshold for the case 
shall be calculated. This shall be equal to the wage 
adjusted outlier operating fixed loss threshold times the 
adjustment factor specified in 12VAC30-70-331 B plus the 
hospital's operating payment for the case, as determined in 
12VAC30-70-231 or 12VAC30-70-251.  

4. The hospital's outlier operating payment for the case 
shall be calculated. This shall be equal to the hospital's 
adjusted operating cost for the case minus the hospital's 
outlier operating threshold for the case. If the difference is 
less than or equal to zero, then no outlier operating 
payment shall be made. If the difference is greater than 
zero, then the outlier operating payment shall be equal to 
the difference times the outlier adjustment factor.  

B. An illustration of the above methodology is found in 
12VAC30-70-500.  

C. B. The outlier operating fixed loss threshold shall be 
recalculated using base year data when the DRG payment 
system is recalibrated and rebased. The threshold shall be 
calculated so as to result in an expenditure for outlier 
operating payments equal to 5.1% of total operating 
payments, including outlier operating payments, for DRG 
cases. The methodology described in subsection A of this 
section shall be applied to all base year DRG cases on an 
aggregate basis, and the amount of the outlier operating fixed 
loss threshold shall be calculated so as to exhaust the 
available pool for outlier operating payments.  

12VAC30-70-271. Payment for capital costs. 

A. Inpatient capital costs shall be determined on an 
allowable cost basis and settled at the hospital's fiscal year 
end. Allowable cost shall be determined following the 
methodology described in Supplement 3 (12VAC30-70-10 
through 12VAC30-70-130). Inpatient capital costs of Type 
One hospitals shall continue to be settled at 100% of 
allowable cost. For services beginning July 1, 2003, inpatient 
capital costs of Type Two hospitals shall be settled at 80% of 
allowable cost. For hospitals with fiscal years that do not 
begin on July 1, 2003, inpatient capital costs for the fiscal 
year in progress on that date shall be apportioned between the 
time period before and the time period after that date based on 
the number of calendar months before and after that date. 
Capital costs apportioned before that date shall be settled at 
100% of allowable cost, and those after at 80% of allowable 
cost.  

B. The exception to the policy in subsection A of this 
section is that the hospital specific rate per day for services in 
freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, as 
determined in 12VAC30-70-321 B, shall be an all-inclusive 
payment for operating and capital costs.  

C. Until prospective payment for capital costs is 
implemented, the provisions of 12VAC30-70-70 regarding 
recapture of depreciation shall remain in effect.  
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12VAC30-70-500. Outlier methodology illustration. 
(Repealed.) 

OUTLIER METHODOLOGY ILLUSTRATION 
(dollar amounts and other values are for illustration 
purposes only) 

  Assume the Following:     

  Medicare: Fixed Loss 
Cost Outlier Threshold 
for Fiscal Year 1996 

  $15,150.00 

  Medicare: Marginal 
Cost Factor for Cost 
Outliers for Fiscal 
Year 1996 

  0.8000 

  Hospital X Operating 
Cost-to-Charge Ratio 

  0.7200 

  Hospital X Capital 
Cost-to-Charge Ratio 

  0.0600 

  Medicare Wage Index 
for Hospital X 

  0.9413 

  Statewide Average 
Labor Portion of 
Operating Costs 

  0.5977 

  Hospital X Billed 
Charges for Case Y 

  $100,000.0
0 

  Total Adjusted Costs 
per Case for Hospital 
X 

  $3,115.00 

  Relative Weight for 
Case Y 

  3.1790 

  Adjustment Factor for 
DRG Cases 

  0.6197 

Step 1 Calculate Hospital X 
Operating Costs for 
Case Y: 

    

  Hospital X Billed 
Charges for Case Y 

  $100,000.0
0 

  Hospital X Operating 
Cost-to-Charge Ratio 

x .7200 

  Hospital X Operating 
Costs for Case Y 

  $72,000.00 

Step 2 Calculate Hospital X 
DRG Operating 
Amount for Case Y: 

    

  Total Adjusted 
Operating Costs per 

  $3,115.00 

Case for Hospital X 

  Relative Weight for 
Case Y 

x 3.1790 

  Hospital X DRG 
Operating Amount for 
Case Y 

  $9,902.59 

Step 3 Calculate Hospital X 
Cost Outlier Threshold 
for Case Y: 

    

  Fixed Loss Cost 
Outlier Threshold 

  $15,150.00 

  Statewide Average 
Labor Portion of 
Operating Costs 

x 0.5977 

  Labor Portion of Fixed 
Loss Cost Outlier 
Threshold 

  $9,055.16 

  Wage Index for 
Hospital X 

x 0.9413 

  Wage Adjusted Labor 
Portion of Fixed Loss 
Cost Outlier Threshold 

  $8,523.62 

  Non-Labor Portion of 
Fixed Loss Cost 
Outlier Threshold 

+ $6,094.85 

  Wage Adjusted Fixed 
Loss Cost Outlier 
Threshold 

  $14,618.46 

  Hospital X DRG 
Operating Amount for 
Case Y 

+ $9,902.59 

  Hospital X Cost 
Outlier Threshold for 
Case Y 

  $24,521.05 

Step 4 Calculate Hospital X 
Operating Outlier 
Amount for Case Y: 

    

  Hospital X Operating 
Costs for Case Y 

  $72,000.00 

  Hospital X Cost 
Outlier Threshold for 
Case Y 

- $24,521.05 

  Hospital X Operating 
Outlier Costs for Case 
Y 

  $47,478.95 
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  Marginal Cost Factor 
for Cost Outliers 

x 0.8000 

  Hospital X Operating 
Outlier Amount for 
Case Y 

  $37,983.16 

        

Step 5 Calculate Hospital X 
Total Payment for 
Case Y: 

    

  Hospital X DRG 
Operating Amount for 
Case Y 

  $9,902.59 

  Hospital X Operating 
Outlier Amount for 
Case Y 

+ $37,983.16 

  Hospital X Total 
Amount for Case Y 

  $47,885.75 

  Adjustment Factor for 
DRG Cases 

x 0.6197 

  Hospital X Total 
Payment for Case Y 

  $29,674.80 

Subpart XVII  
Specialized Care Services  

12VAC30-90-264. Specialized care services.  

Specialized care services provided in conformance with 
12VAC30-60-40 E and H, 12VAC30-60-320 and 12VAC30-
60-340 shall be reimbursed under the following methodology. 
The nursing facilities that provide adult specialized care for 
the categories of Ventilator Dependent Care, will be placed in 
one group for rate determination. The nursing facilities that 
provide pediatric specialized care in a dedicated pediatric unit 
of eight beds or more will be placed in a second group for rate 
determination.  

1. Routine operating cost. Routine operating cost shall be 
defined as in 12VAC30-90-271 and 12VAC30-90-272. To 
calculate the routine operating cost reimbursement rate, 
routine operating cost shall be converted to a per diem 
amount by dividing it by actual patient days.  

2. Allowable cost identification and cost reimbursement 
limitations. The provisions of Article 5 (12VAC30-90-50 
et seq.) of Subpart II of Part II of this chapter and of 
Appendix III (12VAC30-90-290) of Part III of this chapter 
shall apply to specialized care cost and reimbursement.  

3. Routine operating cost rates. Each facility shall be 
reimbursed a prospective rate for routine operating costs. 
This rate will be the lesser of the facility-specific 
prospective routine operating ceiling, or the facility-
specific prospective routine operating cost per day plus an 

efficiency incentive. This efficiency incentive shall be 
calculated by the same method as in 12VAC30-90-41.  

4. Facility-specific prospective routine operating ceiling. 
Each nursing facility's prospective routine operating 
ceiling shall be calculated as:  

a. Statewide ceiling. The statewide routine operating 
ceiling shall be $415 as of July 1, 2002. the weighted 
average (weighted by 1994 days) of specialized care rates 
in effect on July 1, 1996, reduced by statewide weighted 
average ancillary and capital cost per day amounts based 
on audited 1994 cost data from the 12 facilities whose 
1994 FY specialized care costs were audited during 
1996. This routine operating ceiling amount shall be 
adjusted for inflation by the percentage of change in the 
moving average of the Virginia specific Skilled Nursing 
Facility Market Basket of Routine Service Costs, as 
developed by DRI/McGraw-Hill, using the second 
quarter 1996 DRI table. The respective statewide 
operating ceilings will be adjusted each quarter in which 
the provider's most recent fiscal year ends, by adjusting 
the most recent interim ceiling by 100% of historical 
inflation and 50% of forecasted inflation to the end of the 
provider's next fiscal year based on 12VAC30-90-41.  

b. The portion of the statewide routine operating ceiling 
relating to nursing salaries (as determined by the 1994 
audited cost report data, or 67.22%) will be wage 
adjusted using a normalized wage index. The normalized 
wage index shall be the wage index applicable to the 
individual provider's geographic location under Medicare 
rules of reimbursement for skilled nursing facilities, 
divided by the statewide average of such wage indices 
across the state. This normalization of wage indices shall 
be updated January 1, after each time the Health Care 
Financing Administration (HCFA) publishes wage 
indices for skilled nursing facilities. Updated 
normalization shall be effective for fiscal years starting 
on and after the January 1 for which the normalization is 
calculated.  

c. The percentage of the statewide routine operating 
ceiling relating to the nursing labor and nonlabor costs 
(as determined by the 1994 audited cost report data or 
71.05%) will be adjusted by the nursing facility's 
specialized care average Resource Utilization Groups, 
Version III (RUG-III) Nursing-Only Normalized Case 
Mix Index (NCMI). The NCMI for each nursing facility 
will be based on all specialized care patient days 
rendered during the six-month period prior to that in 
which the ceiling applies (see subdivision 6 of this 
section).  

5. Normalized case mix index (NCMI). Case mix shall be 
measured by RUG-III nursing-only index scores based on 
Minimum Data Set (MDS) data. The RUG-III nursing-only 
weights developed at the national level by the Health Care 
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Financing Administration (HCFA) (see 12VAC30-90-320) 
shall be used to calculate a facility-specific case mix index 
(CMI). The facility-specific CMI, divided by the statewide 
CMI shall be the facility's NCMI. The steps in the 
calculation are as follows:  

a. The facility-specific CMI for purposes of this rate 
calculation shall be the average of the national RUG-III 
Nursing-Only weights calculated across all patient days 
in the facility during the six months prior to the six-
month period to which the NCMI shall be applied to the 
facility's routine operating cost and ceiling.  

b. The statewide CMI for purposes of this rate calculation 
shall be the average of the national RUG-III Nursing-
Only weights calculated across all specialized care 
patient days in all Specialized Care Nursing facilities in 
the state during the six months prior to the six-month 
period to which the NCMI shall be applied. A new 
statewide CMI shall be calculated for each six-month 
period for which a provider-specific rate must be set.  

c. The facility-specific NCMI for purposes of this rate 
calculation shall be the facility-specific CMI from 
subdivision 5 a of this section divided by the statewide 
CMI from subdivision 5 b of this section.  

d. Each facility's NCMI shall be updated semiannually, at 
the start and the midpoint of the facility's fiscal year.  

e. Patient days for which the lowest RUG-III weight is 
imputed, as provided in subdivision 14 c of this section, 
shall not be included in the calculation of the NCMI.  

6. 5. Facility-specific prospective routine operating base 
cost per day: The facility-specific routine operating cost 
per day to be used in the calculation of the routine 
operating rate and the efficiency incentive shall be the 
actual routine cost per day from the most recent fiscal 
year's cost report, adjusted (using DRI-Virginia inflation 
factors) by 50% of historical inflation and 50% of the 
forecasted inflation, and adjusted for case mix as described 
below: for inflation based on 12VAC30-90-41.  

a. An NCMI rate adjustment shall be applied to each 
facility's prospective routine nursing labor and nonlabor 
operating base cost per day for each semiannual period of 
the facility's fiscal year.  

b. The NCMI calculated for the second semiannual 
period of the previous fiscal year shall be divided by the 
average of that (previous) fiscal year's two semiannual 
NCMIs to yield an "NCMI cost rate adjustment" to the 
prospective nursing labor and nonlabor operating cost 
base rate in the first semiannual period of the subsequent 
fiscal year.  

c. The NCMI determined in the first semiannual period 
of the subsequent fiscal year shall be divided by the 

average of the previous fiscal year's two semiannual 
NCMIs to determine the NCMI cost rate adjustment to 
the prospective nursing labor and nonlabor operating 
base cost per day in the second semiannual period of the 
subsequent fiscal year.  

See 12VAC30-90-310 for an illustration of how the 
NCMI is used to adjust routine operating cost ceilings 
and semiannual NCMI adjustments to the prospective 
routine operating base cost rates.  

7. 6. Interim rates. Interim rates, for processing claims 
during the year, shall be calculated from the most recent 
settled cost report and Minimum Data Set (MDS) data 
available at the time the interim rates must be set, except 
that failure to submit a cost and MDS data report timely 
may result in adjustment to interim rates as provided 
elsewhere. 

8. 7. Ancillary costs. Specialized care ancillary costs will 
be paid on a pass-through basis for those Medicaid 
specialized care patients who do not have Medicare or any 
other sufficient third-party insurance coverage. Ancillary 
costs will be reimbursed as follows:  

a. All covered ancillary services, except kinetic therapy 
devices, will be reimbursed for reasonable costs as 
defined in the current NHPS. Effective for specialized 
care days on or after January 15, 2007, reimbursement 
for reasonable costs shall be subject to a ceiling. The 
ceiling shall be $238.81 per day for calendar year 2004 
(150% of average costs) and shall be inflated to the 
appropriate provider fiscal year. For cost report years 
beginning in each calendar year, ancillary ceilings will be 
inflated  using the moving average for the second quarter 
of the year, taken from the Virginia Specific Nursing 
Home Input Price Index published by Global Insight or 
its successor for the fourth quarter of the previous year 
based on 12VAC30-90-41. See 12VAC30-90-290 for the 
cost reimbursement limitations.  

b. Kinetic therapy devices will have a limit per day 
(based on 1994 audited cost report data inflated to the 
rate period). See 12VAC30-90-290 for the cost 
reimbursement limitations.  

c. Kinetic therapy devices will be reimbursed only if a 
resident is being treated for wounds that meet the 
following wound care criteria. Residents receiving this 
wound care must require kinetic bed therapy (that is, low 
air loss mattresses, fluidized beds, and/or rotating/turning 
beds) and require treatment for a grade (stage) IV 
decubitus, a large surgical wound that cannot be closed, 
or second to third degree burns covering more than 10% 
of the body.  

9. 8. Covered ancillary services are defined as follows: 
laboratory, X-ray, medical supplies (e.g., infusion pumps, 
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incontinence supplies), physical therapy, occupational 
therapy, speech therapy, inhalation therapy, IV therapy, 
enteral feedings, and kinetic therapy. The following are not 
specialized care ancillary services and are excluded from 
specialized care reimbursement: physician services, 
psychologist services, total parenteral nutrition (TPN), and 
drugs. These services must be separately billed to DMAS. 
An interim rate for the covered ancillary services will be 
determined (using data from the most recent settled cost 
report) by dividing allowable ancillary costs by the number 
of patient days for the same cost reporting period. The 
interim rate will be retroactively cost settled based on the 
specialized care nursing facility cost reporting period.  

10. 9. Capital costs. Effective July 1, 2001, capital cost 
reimbursement shall be in accordance with 12VAC30-90-
35 through 12VAC30-90-37 inclusive, except that the 90% 
occupancy requirement shall not be separately applied to 
specialized care. Capital cost related to specialized care 
patients will be cost settled on the respective nursing 
facility's cost reporting period. In this cost settlement the 
90% occupancy requirement shall be applied to all the 
nursing facility's licensed nursing facility beds inclusive of 
specialized care.  

To apply this requirement, the following calculation shall 
be carried out:  

a. Licensed beds, including specialized care beds, times 
days in the cost reporting period shall equal available 
days.  

b. 90% of available days shall equal 90% occupancy 
days.  

c. 90% occupancy days, minus actual resident days 
including specialized care days shall equal the shortfall 
of days if it is positive. It shall be set to zero if it is 
negative.  

d. Actual resident days not including specialized care 
days, plus the shortfall of days shall equal the minimum 
number of days to be used to calculate the capital cost 
per day.  

11. 10. Nurse aide training and competency evaluation 
programs and competency evaluation programs (NATCEP) 
costs. NATCEPS costs will be paid on a pass-through basis 
in accordance with the current NHPS.  

12. 11. Pediatric routine operating cost rate. For pediatric 
specialized care in a distinct part pediatric specialized care 
unit, one routine operating cost ceiling will be developed. 
The routine operating cost ceiling will be computed as 
follows: $418 as of July 1, 2002. 

a. The Complex Health Care Payment Rate effective July 
1, 1996, and updated for inflation, will be reduced by (i) 
the weighted average capital cost per day developed from 
the 1994 audit data and (ii) the weighted average 

ancillary cost per day from the 1994 audit data updated 
for inflation in the same manner as described in 
subdivision 4 a of this subsection.  

b. a. The statewide operating ceiling shall be adjusted for 
each nursing facility in the same manner as described in 
subdivisions subdivision 4 and 5 of this section.  

c. b. The final routine operating cost reimbursement rate 
shall be computed as described for other than pediatric 
units in subdivision 3 of this section.  

13. 12. Pediatric unit capital cost. Pediatric unit capital 
costs will be reimbursed in accordance with the current 
NHPS, except that the occupancy requirement shall be 
70% rather than 90%.  

14. MDS data submission. MDS data relating to 
specialized care patients must be submitted to the 
department in a submission separate from that which 
applies to all nursing facility patients.  

a. Within 30 days of the end of each month, each 
specialized care nursing facility shall submit to the 
department, separately from its submission of MDS data 
for all patients, a copy of each MDS Version 2.0 which 
has been completed in the month for a Medicaid 
specialized care patient in the nursing facility. This shall 
include (i) the MDS required within 14 days of 
admission to the nursing facility (if the patient is 
admitted as a specialized care patient), (ii) the one 
required by the department upon admission to specialized 
care, (iii) the one required within 12 months of the most 
recent full assessment, and (iv) the one required 
whenever there is a significant change of status.  

b. In addition to the monthly data submission required in 
subdivision 14 a of this section, the same categories of 
MDS data required in subdivision 14 a of this section 
shall be submitted for all patients receiving specialized 
care from January 1, 1996, through December 31, 1996, 
and shall be due February 28, 1997.  

c. If a provider does not submit a complete MDS record 
for any patient within the required timeframe, the 
department shall assume that the RUG-III weight for that 
patient, for any time period for which a complete record 
is not provided, is the lowest RUG-III weight in use for 
specialized care patients. A complete MDS record is one 
that is complete for purposes of transmission and 
acceptance by the Health Care Financing Administration.  

15. Case mix measures in the initial semiannual periods. In 
any semiannual periods for which calculations in 
12VAC39-90-310 requires an NCMI from a semiannual 
period beginning before January 1996, the case mix used 
shall be the case mix applicable to the first semiannual 
period beginning after January 1, 1996, that is a 
semiannual period in the respective provider's fiscal 
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period. For example, December year-end providers' rates 
applicable to the month of December 1996, would 
normally require (in Appendix I (12VAC30-90-270 et seq.) 
of Part III of this chapter) an NCMI from July to December 
1995, and one from January to June 1996, to calculate a 
rate for July to December 1996. However, because this 
calculation requires an NCMI from a period before January 
1996, the NCMIs that shall be used will be those 
applicable to the next semiannual period. The NCMI from 
January to June 1996, and from July to December 1996, 
shall be applied to December 1996, as well as to January to 
June 1997. Similarly, a provider with a March year end 
would have it's rate in December 1996, through March 
1997, calculated based on an NCMI from April through 
September 1996, and October 1996, through March 1997.  

16. Cost reports of specialized care providers are due not 
later than 150 days after the end of the provider's fiscal 
year. Except for this provision, the 13. The cost reporting 
requirements of 12VAC30-90-70 and 12VAC30-90-80 
shall apply to specialized care providers. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1360; Filed September 24, 2008, 9:54 a.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(amending 12VAC30-120-370, 12VAC30-120-380).  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 1, 2007, through March 3, 2009. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services requested an 
extension of the emergency regulations, 12VAC30-120, 
pursuant to §2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia. The 
emergency regulations were published in 23:24 VA.R. 4030-
4034 August 6, 2007 
(http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/vol23/iss24/v23i2
4.pdf) with effective dates of September 1, 2007, through 
August 31, 2008.  

Acute and long-term care is a new initiative that has an 
impact on almost all aspects of the Medicaid program.  It is a 
large and complex overlay on the entire Medicaid program.  
Although the initiative focuses on the integration of acute and 
long-term care, the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services (DMAS) has had to develop and implement the 
program while integrating its various features into every 
aspect of Medicaid.  The difficulties involved in the seamless 
integration of acute and long-term care created unforeseen 
delays, including harmonizing state program features with 
applicable federal requirements.  Quite simply, despite the 
best efforts of those involved, DMAS has concluded that it 
will not be able to complete the regulatory process prior to the 
expiration of the emergency regulations. 

The Governor approved the department's request to extend 
the expiration date of the emergency regulations for six 
months as provided in §2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia.  
Therefore, the regulations will continue in effect through 
March 3, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Adrienne Fegans, Program Operations 
Administrator, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4112, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
adrienne.fegans@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-729; Filed September 16, 2008, 10:11 a.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(amending 12VAC30-50-140, 12VAC30-50-150, 
12VAC30-50-180; adding 12VAC30-50-228, 12VAC30-50-
491). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 
Assure High Quality Care (adding 12VAC30-60-180, 
12VAC30-60-185). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; other Types of Care (adding 12VAC30-
80-32). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-
120-310, 12VAC30-120-380). 

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 1, 2007, through December 29, 2008. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services requested an 
extension of the above-referenced emergency regulations 
pursuant to §2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia. The 
emergency regulations were published in 23:21 3510-3519 
June 25, 2007 
(http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/vol23/iss21/v23i2
1.pdf) with effective dates of July 1, 2007, through June 30, 
2008.   

The 2007 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 847, Item 302 PPP 
required that the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
provide coverage of substance abuse treatment services for 
children and adults, effective July 1, 2007.  Substance Abuse 
Treatment Services were implemented on that date, with a 
proposed regulation following the emergency regulation.  
Following the implementation of the services, DMAS 
submitted to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS), the federal agency that authorizes states to make 
changes to their Medicaid programs, would require 
substantial changes to Virginia’s new coverage of Substance 
Abuse Treatment Services (SAS).  DMAS is still involved in 
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protracted negotiations with CMS regarding reimbursement 
for SAS, as well the implementation of case management 
services for SAS. This last issue is one of national 
importance, with Congress currently passing legislation to put 
a moratorium on CMS’ regulations on this issue.  The final 
nature of the SAS regulations is therefore yet to be 
determined. 

The Governor approved the department's request to extend 
the expiration date of the emergency regulations for six 
months as provided in §2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia.  
Therefore, the regulations will continue in effect through 
December 29, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Catherine Hancock, Policy & Research 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-4272, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
catherine.hancock@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-262; Filed September 16, 2008, 10:10 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§2.2-4006 
et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia 
pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 13VAC6-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 13VAC6-10-10 through 13VAC6-
10-120). 

13VAC6-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
13VAC6-11-10 through 13VAC6-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-4007.02 and 36-85.18 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 13, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Lorenzo Dyer, State Building Code 
Administrator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, The Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., 
Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7163, FAX 
(804) 371-7092, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
lorenzo.dyer@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies 
adopt model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 
2008. Public participation guidelines exist to promote 

public involvement in the development, amendment, or 
repeal of an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of 
the 2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments 
on regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period 
during which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) 
providing that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be 
indicated in any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) 
providing for the appointment, when necessary, of 
regulatory advisory panels to provide professional 
specialization or technical assistance and negotiated 
rulemaking panels if a regulatory action is expected to be 
controversial; and (vi) providing for the periodic review 
of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

13VAC6-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Virginia Manufactured Housing Board. 
This chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or 
other documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of 
the Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia). 

13VAC6-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Virginia Manufactured Housing Board, 
which is the unit of state government empowered by the 
agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 
Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 
employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by §2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 
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''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

13VAC6-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

13VAC6-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 13VAC6-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to §2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

13VAC6-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

396 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with §2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to §2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

13VAC6-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in §2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to §2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

13VAC6-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

13VAC6-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

13VAC6-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
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requirement is any meeting held in accordance with §2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

13VAC6-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

13VAC6-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in §2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1454; Filed September 23, 2008, 9:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC10-20. Board for Architects, 
Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations 
(amending 18VAC10-20-10, 18VAC10-20-120, 18VAC10-
20-280, 18VAC10-20-295, 18VAC10-20-310, 18VAC10-20-
340, 18VAC10-20-350, 18VAC10-20-360, 18VAC10-20-
380, 18VAC10-20-760; adding 18VAC10-20-382, 
18VAC10-20-392, 18VAC10-20-395). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-201, 54.1-404, and 54.1-411 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, 
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape 
Architects, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 527-4294, or 
email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement a regulatory program for 
photogrammetrists, including standards for determination 
of topography, as permitted by Chapter 440 of the 2005 
Acts of Assembly. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
General  

18VAC10-20-10. Definitions.  

Section 54.1-400 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter:  

Architect  

Board  

Certified interior designer  

Certified landscape architect  

Interior design by a certified interior designer  
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Land surveyor. When used in this chapter, land surveyor 
shall include surveyor photogrammetrist unless stated 
otherwise or the context requires a different meaning. 

Practice of architecture  

Practice of engineering  

Practice of land surveying  

Practice of landscape architecture  

Professional engineer  

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 
chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them except 
where the context clearly indicates or requires different 
meanings:  

"Application" means a completed application with the 
appropriate fee and any other required documentation, 
including, but not limited to, references, employment 
verification, degree verification, and verification of 
examination and licensure or certification.  

"Certified" means an individual holding a valid certification 
issued by the board that has not been suspended, revoked, or 
surrendered, and is currently registered with the board to 
practice in the Commonwealth in accordance with §54.1-405 
or 54.1-414 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Comity" means the recognition of licenses or certificates 
issued by other states, the District of Columbia, or any 
territory or possession of the United States as permitted by 
§54.1-103 C of the Code of Virginia.  

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation.  

"Direct control and personal supervision" shall be that 
degree of supervision by a person overseeing the work of 
another whereby the supervisor has both control over and 
detailed professional knowledge of the work prepared under 
his supervision and words and phrases of similar import mean 
that the professional shall have control over the decisions on 
technical matters of policy and design, and exercises his 
professional judgment in all professional matters that are 
embodied in the work and the drawings, specifications, or 
other documents involved in the work; and the professional 
has exercised critical examination and evaluation of an 
employee's, consultant's, subcontractor's, or project team 
members' work product, during and after preparation, for 
purposes of compliance with applicable laws, codes, 
ordinances, regulations and usual and customary standards of 
care pertaining to professional practice. Further, it is that 
degree of control a professional is required to maintain over 
decisions made personally or by others over which the 
professional exercises direct control and personal supervision. 
"Direct control and personal supervision" also includes the 
following:  

1. The degree of control necessary for a professional to be 
in direct control and personal supervision shall be such that 
the professional:  

a. Personally makes professional decisions or reviews 
and approves proposed decisions prior to their 
implementation, including the consideration of 
alternatives, whenever professional decisions that could 
affect the health, safety, and welfare of the public are 
made; and  

b. Determines the validity and applicability of 
recommendations prior to their incorporation into the 
work, including the qualifications of those making the 
recommendations.  

2. Professional decisions that must be made by and are the 
responsibility of the professional in direct control and 
personal supervision are those decisions concerning 
permanent or temporary work that could affect the health, 
safety, and welfare of the public, and may include, but are 
not limited to, the following:  

a. The selection of alternatives to be investigated and the 
comparison of alternatives for designed work; and  

b. The selection or development of design standards and 
materials to be used.  

3. A professional shall be able to clearly define the scope 
and degree of direct control and personal supervision and 
how it was exercised and to demonstrate that the 
professional was answerable within said scope and degree 
of direct control and personal supervision necessary for the 
work for which the professional has signed and sealed; and  

4. No sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited 
liability company, joint venture, professional corporation, 
professional limited liability corporation, or other entity 
shall practice, or offer to practice, any profession regulated 
under this chapter unless there is a resident professional for 
that service providing direct control and personal 
supervision of such service in each separate office in which 
such service is performed or offered to be performed.  

"Good moral character" may be established if the applicant 
or regulant:  

1. Has not been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor that 
has a reasonable relationship to the functions of the 
employment or category for which the license or 
certification is sought;  

2. Has not, within 10 years of application for licensure, 
certification, or registration, committed any act involving 
dishonesty, fraud, misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary 
duty, negligence, or incompetence reasonably related to the 
applicant's proposed area of practice;  
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3. Has not engaged in fraud or misrepresentation in 
connection with the application for licensure, certification, 
or registration, or related examination;  

4. Has not had a license, certification or registration 
revoked or suspended for cause by this state or by any 
other jurisdiction, or surrendered a license, certificate, or 
registration in lieu of disciplinary action;  

5. Has not practiced without the required license, 
registration, or certification in this state or in another 
jurisdiction within the five years immediately preceding 
the filing of the application for licensure, certification, or 
registration by this Commonwealth; or  

6. Has not, within 10 years of application for licensure, 
certification, or registration, committed an act that would 
constitute unprofessional conduct, as set forth in Part XII 
of this chapter.  

"Landscape architect" means an individual who has been 
certified as a landscape architect pursuant to the provisions of 
this chapter and is in good standing with the board to practice 
in the Commonwealth in accordance with §54.1-409 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Licensed" means an individual who holds a valid license 
issued by the board that has not been suspended, or revoked, 
or surrendered and who is currently registered with the board 
to practice in the Commonwealth in accordance with §54.1-
405 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Place of business" means any location which offers to 
practice or practices through licensed or certified 
professionals the services of architecture, engineering, land 
surveying, certified landscape architecture or certified interior 
design, or any combination thereof. A temporary field office 
established and utilized for the duration of a specific project 
shall not qualify as a place of business under this chapter.  

"Profession" means the practice of architecture, engineering, 
land surveying, certified landscape architecture, or certified 
interior design.  

"Professional" means an architect, professional engineer, 
land surveyor, landscape architect or interior designer who is 
licensed or certified, as appropriate, pursuant to the 
provisions of this chapter and is in good standing with the 
board to practice his profession in this Commonwealth.  

"Registrant" means a business currently registered with the 
board to offer or provide one or more of the professions 
regulated by the board.  

"Regulant" means a licensee, certificate holder or registrant.  

"Resident" means physically present in said place of 
business a majority of the operating hours of the place of 
business.  

"Responsible person" means the individual named by the 
entity to be responsible and have control of the regulated 
services offered, or rendered, or both, by the entity.  

"Surveyor photogrammetrist" means a person who by reason 
of specialized knowledge in the area of photogrammetry has 
been granted a license by the board to survey land in 
accordance with Chapter 4 (§54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia for the determination of topography, 
contours and/or location of planimetric features using 
photogrammetric methods or similar remote sensing 
technology. 

[ 18VAC10-20-120. Experience.  

A. The successful completion of the National Council of 
Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) Intern 
Development Program (IDP) shall be required of all 
applicants for original licensure. IDP training requirements 
shall be in accordance with NCARB's Handbook for Interns 
and Architects, 2006-2007 2008-2009 Edition.  

B. All applicants must have a minimum of 36 months 
experience/training prior to submitting an application for 
examination. Any experience/training of less than eight 
consecutive weeks will not be considered in satisfying this 
requirement.  

C. All applicants must have a minimum of 12 months 
experience/training in architecture as an employee in the 
office of a licensed architect prior to submitting an 
application for examination. An organization will be 
considered to be an office of a licensed architect if:  

1. The architectural practice of the organization in which 
the applicant works is under the charge of a person 
practicing as a principal, where a principal is a licensed 
architect in charge of an organization's architectural 
practice either alone or with other licensed architects, and 
the applicant works under the direct supervision of a 
licensed architect; and  

2. The practice of the organization encompasses the 
comprehensive practice of architecture, including the 
categories set forth in the NCARB IDP requirements. ]  

Part V  
Qualifications for Licensing and Standards of Procedure for 

Land Surveyors  

18VAC10-20-280. Fee schedule.  

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

  Application for Fundamentals of Land 
Surveying 

$60 

  Application for Principles and Practice of 
Land Surveying 

$90 

  Application for Surveyor Photogrammetrist $90 
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  Application for Land Surveyor B $90 

  Renewal $90 

  Comity $90 

  Out-of-state proctor $100 

18VAC10-20-295. Definitions.  

"Absolute horizontal positional accuracy" means the value 
expressed in feet or meters that represents the uncertainty due 
to systematic and random errors in measurements in the 
location of any point on a survey relative to the defined datum 
at the 95% confidence level. 

"Approved land surveying experience" means a record of 
progressive experience under the direct control and personal 
supervision of a licensed land surveyor, or an individual 
authorized by statute to practice land surveying, on land 
surveying work during which the applicant has made practical 
utilization of acquired knowledge and has demonstrated 
continuous improvement, growth, and development through 
the utilization of that knowledge as revealed in the 
complexity and technical detail of the applicant's work 
product or work record. The applicant must show continuous 
assumption of greater individual responsibility for the work 
product over the relevant period. The progressive experience 
on land surveying work shall be of a grade and character that 
indicates to the board that the applicant is minimally 
competent to practice land surveying. Notwithstanding the 
definition of "approved land surveying experience," the 
requirements set forth in 18VAC10-20-310 shall not be 
waived. 

"Approved photogrammetric surveying or similar remote 
sensing technology experience" means diversified training in 
photogrammetric land surveying under the supervision and 
direction of a licensed land surveyor, licensed surveyor 
photogrammetrist, or under the supervision and direction of 
an individual authorized by statute to practice land surveying 
or photogrammetry. This experience shall have been acquired 
in positions requiring the exercise of independent judgment, 
initiative and professional skill in the office and field and 
written verification of such work experience shall be on forms 
provided by the board. Experience may be gained either prior 
to or after education is obtained. Notwithstanding the 
definition of "approved photogrammetric surveying or similar 
remote sensing technology experience," the requirements set 
forth in 18VAC10-20-310 shall not be waived. 

"Relative horizontal positional accuracy" means the value 
expressed in feet or meters that represents the uncertainty due 
to random errors in measurements in the location of any point 
on a survey relative to any other point on the same survey at 
the 95% confidence level. 

18VAC10-20-310. Requirements for a licensed land 
surveyor or surveyor photogrammetrist. 

A. An SIT who, after meeting the requirements of 
18VAC10-20-300, has a minimum of four years of approved 
land surveying experience, and has been land surveying under 
the direct control and personal supervision of a licensed land 
surveyor, shall be admitted to an examination in the 
Principles and Practice of Land Surveying and the Virginia 
state-specific examination, provided the applicant is 
otherwise qualified. Upon passing such examination, the 
applicant shall be granted a license to practice land surveying, 
provided the applicant is otherwise qualified. 

B. An SIT who, after meeting the requirements of 
18VAC10-20-300, has a specific record of four years of 
approved photogrammetric surveying or similar remote 
sensing technology experience of which a minimum of three 
years experience has been progressive in complexity and has 
been on photogrammetric surveying or similar remote sensing 
technology projects under the supervision of a licensed land 
surveyor or licensed surveyor photogrammetrist shall be 
admitted to a board-approved surveyor photogrammetrist 
examination and the Virginia state specific examination. 
Upon passing such examinations, the applicant shall be 
granted a license to practice photogrammetric surveying, 
provided the applicant is otherwise qualified. 

C. In lieu of the provisions of subsection B of this section, 
any person presently providing photogrammetric or similar 
remote sensing technology services with any combination of 
at least eight years of board-approved education and 
progressive experience in photogrammetry or similar remote 
sensing technology, four or more of which shall have been in 
responsible charge of photogrammetric mapping projects 
meeting National Map Accuracy Standards or National 
Standard for Spatial Data Accuracy, or equivalent, may be 
licensed to practice photogrammetric surveying provided an 
individual submits an application to the board that provides 
evidence to the satisfaction of the board of the following: 

1. The applicant submits to the board certified proof of 
graduation from high school or high school equivalency 
that is acceptable to the board, both with evidence of 
successful completion of courses in algebra, geometry and 
trigonometry either by transcript or examination, or 
certified proof of a related higher degree of education, or 
other evidence of progressive related higher education 
acceptable to the board; 

2. The applicant submits to the board satisfactory proof and 
evidence of employment as a photogrammetrist or similar 
remote sensing technology in responsible charge as defined 
in 18VAC10-20-310 D providing such services within any 
of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, or any territory 
or possession of the United States. Evidence of 
employment shall include verification of the applicant’s 
progressive experience by his supervisor and by the 
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applicant’s clients of the applicant’s personal involvement 
in a minimum of five projects; 

3. The applicant must submit three references with the 
application, all of whom shall be licensed land surveyors in 
a state or territory of the United States; 

4. The applicant shall certify that they have read and 
understood Chapter 4 (§54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 and 
Chapter 17 (§54.1-1700 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of 
Virginia, and this chapter; and 

5. The applicant shall apply to the board and submit an 
application fee for licensure within one year of [ (insert the 
effective date of these regulations) December 1, 2008 ] or 
until such time as the examinations required by 18VAC10-
20-310 B are available, whichever is later. After [ (insert 
the effective date of these regulations plus one 
year) December 1, 2009 ] , or when the examinations 
required by subsection B of this section become available, 
whichever is later, no person shall be eligible to apply for 
licensure as a surveyor photogrammetrist pursuant to this 
section. 

D. Within the context of subsection C of this section, 
responsible charge of photogrammetric or similar remote 
sensing technology mapping projects means technical 
supervision of: 

1. Assessing the project needs and constraints and 
accuracies; 

2. Creating the project plan including determining data 
standards; 

3. Creating overall project specifications; 

4. Determining flight lines and appropriate 
photogrammetric control required for project accuracies 
and constraints; 

5. Reviewing and approval of aerotriangulation results, 
prior to map compilation and certification of the final 
report of project control; 

6. Determining the appropriate features to be collected, 
how they are to be collected, annotated, stored; 

7. Editing and reviewing of collected data and features; 

8. Reviewing of equipment, technology, and procedures 
that meet project requirements; 

9. Determining final data standards and quality control for 
a project; 

10. Reviewing and approving the final map products, 
deliverables, files, and spatial data; 

11. Checking and editing final map data for specified 
completeness and accuracies including project reports, 
metadata, and any associated databases; 

12. Project management; and 

13. Other duties requiring decision-making, control, 
influence, and accountability of the project. 

E. Any person licensed pursuant to the terms of subsection 
B or C of this section shall be licensed as a surveyor 
photogrammetrist. 

18VAC10-20-340. Experience standards.  

An applicant shall submit written verification from each 
employment engagement that has been gained under the 
direct control and personal supervision of a licensed land 
surveyor, licensed surveyor photogrammetrist or an 
individual authorized by statute to practice land surveying on 
forms provided by the board to be considered by the board as 
approved land surveying experience. 

18VAC10-20-350. Examinations.  

A. The Fundamentals of Land Surveying examination 
consists of the National Council of Examiners for 
Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) examination on the 
fundamentals of land surveying. 

B. The Principles and Practice of Land Surveying 
examination consists of an NCEES examination on applied 
land surveying, or a board-approved surveyor 
photogrammetrist examination, and a Virginia state-specific 
examination. 

C. The examination for land surveying under §54.1-408 of 
the Code of Virginia (Land Surveyor B) shall be given at 
times designated by the board. 

D. Unless otherwise stated, applicants approved to sit for an 
examination must register and submit the required 
examination fee to be received in the board office, or by the 
board's designee, at a time designated by the board. 
Applicants not properly registered will not be allowed into 
the examination site. 

E. Applicants shall be notified by the board of passing or 
failing the examination but shall not be notified of actual 
scores. Only the board and its staff shall have access to 
examination papers, scores, and answer sheets. Examinations 
may not be reviewed. 

F. Should the applicant fail to pass an examination within 
three years after being authorized to take the examination, the 
applicant must reapply and meet all current entry 
requirements at the time of reapplication. 

18VAC10-20-360. Licensure by comity.  

A. A person in good standing and holding a valid license to 
engage in the practice of land surveying in another state, the 
District of Columbia, or any territory or possession of the 
United States may be licensed, provided the applicant submits 
verifiable documentation to the board that the education, 
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experience, and examination requirements by which the 
applicant was first licensed in the original jurisdiction were 
substantially equivalent to those existing in Virginia at the 
time of the applicant's original licensure. No person shall be 
so licensed, however, who has not passed an examination in 
another jurisdiction that was substantially equivalent to that 
approved by the board at the time of the applicant's original 
licensure. If the applicant does not meet the requirements for 
licensure in Virginia that were in effect at the time of original 
licensure, the applicant shall be required to meet the entry 
requirements current at the time the completed application for 
comity is received in the board's office. All applicants shall 
be required to pass a written Virginia state-specific 
examination. The examination shall include questions on law, 
procedures and practices pertaining to land surveying in 
Virginia. 

B. A person holding a current license to engage in the 
practice of land surveying or photogrammetric surveying 
issued to the applicant by other states, the District of 
Columbia or any territory or possession of the United States 
based on requirements that do not conflict with and are at 
least as rigorous as the provisions contained in 18VAC10-20-
310 C may be licensed as a surveyor photogrammetrist 
without further examination except for the Virginia state 
examination provided that the applicant was originally 
licensed prior to the ending date of the provisions contained 
in 18VAC10-20-310 C. 

18VAC10-20-380. Minimum standards and procedures 
for surveys determining the location of physical 
improvements; field procedures; office procedures.  

A. The following minimum standards and procedures are to 
be used for surveys determining the location of physical 
improvements on any parcel of land or lot containing less 
than two acres or metric equivalent (sometimes also known as 
"building location survey," "house location surveys," 
"physical surveys," and the like) in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. The application of the professional's seal, signature 
and date as required by these regulations shall be evidence 
that the survey determining the location of physical 
improvements is correct to the best of the professional's 
knowledge, information, and belief, and complies with the 
minimum standards and procedures set forth in this chapter. 

B. The professional shall determine the position of the lot or 
parcel of land in accordance with the intent of the original 
survey and shall set or verify permanent monumentation at 
each corner of the property, consistent with the 
monumentation provisions of subdivision C 4 of 18VAC10-
20-370. All such monumentation, other than natural 
monumentation, shall, when feasible, be identified by 
temporary witness markers. 

When the professional finds discrepancies of sufficient 
magnitude to warrant, in his opinion, the performance of a 
land boundary survey (pursuant to the provisions of 

18VAC10-20-370), he shall so inform the client or the client's 
agent that such land boundary survey is deemed warranted as 
a requisite to completion of the physical improvements 
survey. 

The location of the following shall be determined in the 
field: 

1. Fences in near proximity to the land boundary lines and 
other fences which may reflect lines of occupancy or 
possession. 

2. Other physical improvements on the property and all 
man-made or installed structures, including buildings, 
stoops, porches, chimneys, visible evidence of 
underground features (such as manholes, catch basins, 
telephone pedestals, power transformers, etc.), utility lines 
and poles. 

3. Cemeteries, if known or disclosed in the process of 
performing the survey; roads or travelways crossing the 
property which serve other properties; and streams, creeks, 
and other defined drainage ways. 

4. Other visible evidence of physical encroachment on the 
property. 

C. The plat reflecting the work product shall be drawn to 
scale and shall show the following, unless requested 
otherwise by the client and so noted on the plat: 

1. The bearings and distances for the boundaries and the 
area of the lot or parcel of land shall be shown in 
accordance with record data, unless a current, new land 
boundary survey has been performed in conjunction with 
the physical improvements survey. If needed to produce a 
closed polygon, the meander lines necessary to verify 
locations of streams, tidelands, lakes and swamps shall be 
shown. All bearings shall be shown in a clockwise 
direction, unless otherwise indicated. 

2. North arrow, in accordance with record data. 

3. Fences in the near proximity to the land boundary lines 
and other fences which may reflect lines of occupancy or 
possession. 

4. Improvements and other pertinent features on the 
property as located in the field pursuant to subsection B of 
this section. 

5. Physical encroachment, including fences, across a 
property line shall be identified and dimensioned with 
respect to the property line. 

6. On parcels where compliance with restriction is in 
question, provide the closest dimension (to the nearest 0.1 
foot or metric equivalent) from the front property line, side 
property line, and if pertinent, rear property line to the 
principal walls of each building. Also, all principal 
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building dimensions (to the nearest 0.1 foot or metric 
equivalent). 

7. Building street address numbers, as displayed on the 
premises, or so noted if no numbers are displayed. 

8. Stoops, decks, porches, chimneys, balconies, floor 
projections, and other similar type features. 

9. Street name(s), as posted or currently identified, and as 
per record data, if different from posted name. 

10. Distance to nearest intersection, based upon record 
data. If not available from record data, distance to nearest 
intersection may be determined from best available data, 
and so qualified. 

11. Building restriction or setback line(s) per restrictive 
covenants, if shown or noted on the record subdivision 
plat. 

12. The caption or title of the plat shall include the type of 
survey performed; lot number, block number, section 
number, and name of subdivision, as appropriate, or if not 
in a subdivision, the name(s) of the record owner; town or 
county, or city; date of survey; and scale of drawing. 

13. Adjoining property identification. 

14. Easements and other encumbrances set forth on the 
record subdivision plat, and those otherwise known to the 
professional. 

15. A statement as to whether or not a current title report 
has been furnished to the professional. 

16. The professional shall clearly note inconsistencies 
found in the research of common boundaries between the 
land being surveyed and the adjoining land(s). 

17. Professional's seal, signature and date. 

18. Name and address of the land surveyor or registered 
business. 

D. Notwithstanding the monumentation provisions of 
subsection B of this section or any other provision of these 
regulations, a professional, in performing a physical 
improvements survey, shall not be required to set corner 
monumentation on any property when corner monumentation 
is otherwise required to be set pursuant to the provisions of a 
local subdivision ordinance as mandated by §15.2-2240 of the 
Code of Virginia, or by subdivision A 7 of §15.2-2241 of the 
Code of Virginia, or where the placing of such 
monumentation is covered by a surety bond, cash escrow, set-
aside letter, letter of credit, or other performance guaranty. 
When monumentation is not required, the surveyor shall 
clearly note on the plat "no corner markers set" and the reason 
to include name of guarantors. 

E. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this chapter, 
this chapter shall be construed as to comply in all respects 
with §54.1-407 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. In no event may this chapter be interpreted or construed 
to require the professional to perform work of a lesser quality 
or quantity than that which is prudent or warranted under the 
existing field conditions and circumstances. 

18VAC10-20-382. Minimum standards and procedures 
for surveys determining topography; field procedures; 
office procedures. 

A. The minimum standards and procedures set forth in this 
section are to be used for topographic surveys performed in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia pursuant to Chapter 4 (§54.1-
400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 
application of the professional's seal, signature and date as 
required by these regulations shall be evidence that the 
topographic survey is correct to the best of the professional's 
knowledge and belief, and complies with the minimum 
standards and procedures. 

B. Minimum field and office procedures. The following 
information shall be shown on or contained in all plats, maps, 
or digital geospatial data including metadata used to depict 
the results of the topographic survey: 

1. Physical improvements on the property, all man-made or 
installed structures, as well as visible evidence of 
underground features (such as manholes, catch basins, 
telephone pedestals, power transformers, etc.), and utility 
lines and poles shall be shown or depicted when they are 
visible based on the methodology and scale. If the 
methodology or scale prevents the depiction of physical 
improvements on the property, all man-made or installed 
structures, as well as visible evidence of underground 
features (such as manholes, catch basins, telephone 
pedestals, power transformers, etc.), and utility lines and 
poles, then such notice shall be clearly stated on or 
contained in the map, plat, or digital geospatial data 
including metadata. 

2. Elevations shall be provided as spot elevations, contours 
or digital terrain models. 

3. Onsite bench mark(s) shall be established with reference 
to vertical datum, preferably North American Vertical 
Datum (NAVD), and shown in the correct location. 

4. The title of the topographic survey identifying the land 
surveyed and showing the state, county or city in which 
property is located. 

5. Name of the individual or entity for whom the survey is 
being performed. 

6. Date, graphic scale, numerical scale, and contour 
interval of plat, map, or digital geospatial data including 
metadata. 
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7. Depiction and definition of north used for the survey. 

8. Names of highways, streets and named waterways shall 
be shown. 

9. The horizontal and vertical unit of measurement, 
coordinate system, and datums, including adjustments if 
applicable. 

10. The following minimum positional accuracies shall be 
met: 

a. Scale and contour interval combinations. 

Map or Plat Scale Contour Interval 

1" = 20' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 30' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 40' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 50' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 100' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 200' 2, 4 or 5 feet 

1" = 400' 4, 5 or 10 feet 

b. Vertical accuracy standards. 

  

Contours - 
Vertical 

Positional 
Accuracy 

Spot Elevations - 
Vertical 

Positional 
Accuracy 

Contour line 1' 
interval 

± 0.60 feet ± 0.30 feet 

Contour line 2' 
interval 

± 1.19 feet ± 0.60 feet 

Contour line 4' 
interval 

± 2.38 feet ± 1.19 feet 

Contour line 5' 
interval 

± 2.98 feet ± 1.49 feet 

Contour line 
10' interval 

± 5.96 feet ± 2.98 feet 

Positional Accuracy is given at the 95% confidence level.  

c. Horizontal accuracy standards. 

Well defined ground points - Horizontal (Radial) Positional 
Accuracy 

Map or Plat 
Scale 

Absolute 
Horizontal 
Positional 
Accuracy 

Relative 
Horizontal 
Positional 
Accuracy 

1" = 20' ± 0.8 feet ± 0.20 feet 

1" = 30' ± 1.1 feet ± 0.30 feet 

1" = 40' ± 1.5 feet ± 0.40 feet 

1" = 50' ± 1.9 feet ± 0.50 feet 

1" = 100' ± 3.8 feet ± 1.00 feet 

1" = 200' ± 7.6 feet ± 2.00 feet 

1" = 400' ± 15.2 feet ± 4.00 feet 

Positional Accuracy is given at the 95% confidence level. 

The accuracy standards tables as shown are not intended to 
be acceptable in all situations. The professional shall be 
responsible to perform the work to the appropriate quality 
and extent that is prudent or warranted under the existing 
field conditions and circumstances. 

Metric or other unit of measurements shall meet an 
equivalent positional accuracy. 

Map or plat scales, or contour intervals, other than those 
defined in these tables shall meet an equivalent positional 
accuracy. 

11. A statement, in the following form, shall be shown on 
or contained in plats, maps, or digital geospatial data 
including metadata: 

This ________________ (provide description of the 
project) was completed under the direct and responsible 
charge of, _______________________________ (Name of 
Surveyor or Surveyor Photogrammetrist) from an actual � 
Ground or � Airborne (check the one that is applicable) 
survey made under my supervision; that the imagery and/or 
original data was obtained on ______________ (Date); and 
that this plat, map, or digital geospatial data including 
metadata meets minimum accuracy standards unless 
otherwise noted. 

18VAC10-20-392. Photogrammetric surveys. 

The use of photogrammetric methods or similar remote 
sensing technology to perform any part of the practice of land 
surveying as defined in Chapter 4 (§54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, shall be performed under the 
direct control and supervision of a licensed land surveyor or a 
licensed surveyor photogrammetrist. 

18VAC10-20-395. Standard of care. 

In no event may the requirements contained in 18VAC10-
20-280 through 18VAC10-20-392 be interpreted or construed 
to require the professional to perform work of a lesser quality 
or quantity than that which is prudent or warranted under the 
existing field conditions and circumstances. 

18VAC10-20-760. Use of seal. 

A. The application of a professional seal shall indicate that 
the professional has exercised direct control and personal 
supervision over the work to which it is affixed. Therefore, no 
professional shall affix a name, seal or certification to a plat, 
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design, specification or other work constituting the practice of 
the professions regulated which has been prepared by an 
unlicensed or uncertified person unless such work was 
performed under the direct control and personal supervision 
of the professional while said unlicensed or uncertified person 
was an employee of the same firm as the professional or was 
under written contract to the same firm that employs the 
professional. If the original professional of record is no longer 
employed by the regulant or is otherwise unable to seal 
completed professional work, such work may be sealed by 
another professional, but only after a thorough review of the 
work by the professional affixing the professional seal to 
verify that the work has been accomplished to the same extent 
that would have been exercised if the work had been done 
under the direct control and personal supervision of the 
professional affixing the professional seal.  

B. An appropriately licensed or certified professional shall 
apply a seal to final and complete original cover sheets of 
plans, drawings, plats, technical reports and specifications 
and to each original sheet of plans, drawings or plats, 
prepared by the professional or someone under his direct 
control and personal supervision.  

1. All seal imprints on the cover or first sheet of final 
documents shall bear an original signature and date. "Final 
Documents" are completed documents or copies submitted 
on a client's behalf for approval by authorities or 
recordation. In such cases, the cover sheet of the 
documents or copies shall contain a list of drawings or 
plats included in the set on which a seal, original signature 
and date shall be affixed for all regulated disciplines. Every 
page of the submission, other than the cover, may be 
reproduced from originals which contain the seal, original 
signature and date by each discipline responsible for the 
work.  

a. An electronic seal, signature and date are permitted to 
be used in lieu of an original seal, signature and date 
when the following criteria, and all other requirements of 
this section, are met:  

(1) It is a unique identification of the professional;  

(2) It is verifiable; and  

(3) It is under the professional's direct control.  

b. A professional should not seal original documents 
made of mylar, linen, sepia, or other materials, or that are 
transmitted electronically, which can be changed by the 
person or entity with whom the documents are filed, 
unless the professional accompanies such documents 
with a signed and sealed letter making the recipient of 
such documents aware that copies of the original 
documents as designed by the professional have been 
retained by the professional and that the professional 
cannot assume responsibility for any subsequent changes 
to the reproducible original documents that are not made 
by the professional or those working under his direct 
control and personal supervision.  

2. Incomplete plans, documents and sketches, whether 
advance or preliminary copies, shall be so identified on the 
plan, document or sketch and need not be sealed, signed or 
dated.  

3. All plans, drawings or plats prepared by the professional 
shall bear the professional's name or firm name, address 
and project name.  

4. The seal of each professional responsible for each 
profession shall be used and shall be on each document 
that was prepared under the professional's direction and for 
which that professional is responsible. If one of the 
exemptions found in §54.1-402 of the Code of Virginia is 
applicable, a professional licensed or certified by this 
board shall nevertheless apply his seal to the exempt work.  

5. Application of the seal and signature indicates 
acceptance of responsibility for work shown thereon.  

6. The seal shall conform in detail and size to the design 
illustrated below and shall be two inches in diameter. The 
designs below may not be shown to scale:  
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*The number referred to is the last six-digit number as shown on the license or certificate. The number is permanent. 
Leading zeros contained in the six-digit number may be omitted from the seal.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

[ FORMS 

Architect License Application, 0401LIC (rev. 5/16/07). 

Verification of Architect Examination and Licensure Form, 
0401ELVF (rev. 3/1/02). 

Architect Experience Verification Form, 0401 EXP (rev. 
3/26/02). 

Architect Client Experience Verification Form, 0401CEXP 
(rev. 3/1/02). 

Architect Degree Verification Form, 0401DEG (rev. 
3/1/02). 

Architect Reference Form, 0401REF (rev. 2/23/05). 

Architect License Reinstatement Application, 0401REI (rev. 
12/1/04). 

Architect License Renewal Form, 0401REN, (eff. 4/11/05). 

Professional Engineer License Application, 0402LIC (rev. 
2/1/07). 

Professional Engineer Reference Form, 0402REF (rev. 
3/1/02). 

Professional Engineer License Reinstatement Application, 
0402REI (rev. 12/1/04). 

Professional Engineer and Engineer-in-Training Degree 
Verification Form, 04EDEG (rev. 3/1/02). 

Professional Engineer and Engineer-in-Training Experience 
Verification Form, 04EEXP (rev. 2/19/04). 

Engineer Verification of Examination and Licensure Form, 
04EELVF (rev. 3/1/02). 

Engineer-in-Training Designation Application, 0420DES 
(rev. 2/1/07). 

Engineer-in-Training Reference Form, 0420REF (rev. 
3/1/02). 

Course Requirements for Engineering Technology Program, 
0402CREQ (eff. 2/19/03). 

Professional Engineer License Renewal Form, 0402REN, 
(eff. 4/11/05). 

Land Surveyor License Application, 0403LIC (rev. 2/1/07). 
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Land Surveyor License Reinstatement Application, 0403REI 
(rev. 12/1/04). 

Land Surveyor B License Application, 0404LIC (rev. 
2/1/07). 

Land Surveyor B License Reinstatement Application, 
0404REI (rev. 12/1/04). 

Land Surveyor and Surveyor-in-Training Degree 
Verification Form, 04LSDEG (rev. 2/1/07). 

Land Surveyor Verification of Examination and Licensure 
Form, 04LSELVF (rev. 2/1/07). 

Land Surveyor & Surveyor-in-Training Experience 
Verification Form, 04LSEXP (rev. 2/1/07). 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Application, 0408LIC 
(9/19/08). 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Renewal Form, 
0408REN (9/19/08). 

"Grandfather" Surveyor Photogrammetrist Reference Form, 
0408REF (9/19/08). 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Experience Verification Form, 
0408EXP (9/19/08). 

"Grandfather" Surveyor Photogrammetrist Experience 
Verification Form, 0408GXP (9/19/08). 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Reinstatement 
Application, 0408REI (9/19/08). 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Degree Verification Form, 
0408DEG (9/19/08). 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Verification of Examination and 
Licensure Form, 0408ELVF (9/19/08). 

Surveyor-In-Training Designation Application, 0430DES 
(rev. 2/1/07). 

Land Surveyor License Renewal Form, 04LSREN, (eff. 
4/11/05). 

Landscape Architect Certificate Application, 0406CERT 
(rev. 2/1/07). 

Verification of Landscape Architect Examination and 
Certification Form, 0406ELVF (rev. 3/1/02). 

Landscape Architect Experience Verification Form for 
Examination and Comity Applicants, 0406EXP (rev. 
6/23/05). 

Landscape Architect Degree Verification Form, 0406DEG 
(rev. 3/1/02). 

Landscape Architect Certificate Reinstatement Application, 
0406REI (rev. 12/1/04). 

Landscape Architect Certificate Renewal Form, 0406REN, 
(eff. 4/11/05). 

Interior Design Certificate Application, 0412CERT (rev. 
2/1/07). 

Verification of Interior Designer Examination and 
Certification Form, 0412ELVF (rev. 3/1/02). 

Interior Designer Degree Verification Form, 0412DEG (rev. 
3/1/02). 

Interior Designer Experience Verification Form, 0412EXP 
(rev. 8/11/05). 

Interior Designer Certificate Reinstatement Application, 
0412REI (rev. 3/1/02). 

Interior Design Certificate Renewal Form, 0412REN, (eff. 
4/11/05). 

Professional Corporation Registration Application, 
04PCREG (rev. 6/2/06). 

Professional Corporation Branch Office Registration 
Application, 04BRPC (eff. 6/7/06). 

Business Entity Registration Application, 04BUSREG, (rev. 
6/2/06). 

Business Entity Branch Office Registration Application, 
04BRBUS (rev. 1/3/07). 

Professional Limited Liability Company Application Form, 
04PLCREG (rev. 6/2/06). 

Professional Limited Liability Company Branch Office 
Registration Application, 04BRPLC (rev. 6/7/06). ] 

[ DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE  

Handbook for Interns and Architects, 2006-2007 2008-2009 
Edition, National Council of Architectural Registration 
Boards, 1801 K Street, NW, Suite 1100-K, Washington, DC 
20006, www.ncarb.org. ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-86; Filed September 19, 2008, 11:39 a.m.  

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 
Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-160; adding 
18VAC30-20-185). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-2604 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
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Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 
the general powers and duties of the Board of Audiology & 
Speech-Language Pathology, including the authority to 
establish qualifications for licensure and promulgate 
regulations. Section 54.1-2604 establishes the board’s 
authority to issue a provisional license in audiology. 

Purpose: The board’s purpose is to modify requirements for 
initial licensure to allow an applicant who has been licensed 
and has practiced in another jurisdiction but who does not 
possess current certification from the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) or the American 
Board of Audiology (ABA) to present other qualifications 
that indicate current competency to practice.  The board has 
also amended requirements for reinstatement of a lapsed 
license to allow someone who has not practiced in recent 
years to work with a provisional license under direct 
supervision for a specified period of time.  The goal of the 
amended regulations is to remove any barriers to licensure 
that are not necessary to ensure an ability to practice with 
safety and competency.  Evidence of continuing education, 
current licensure and practice in another jurisdiction, and/or 
provisional practice under supervision will assure that 
applicants are adequately competent to protect the health and 
safety of the clients they serve. Access to audiology and 
speech-language pathology services should not be hampered 
by enacting unreasonable rules that make it overly 
burdensome for a qualified person to be licensed. Conversely, 
the board has an obligation to ensure that requirements in 
Virginia are not distinctly less restrictive than other states to 
the point that persons who would be unqualified in other 
states are able to obtain a Virginia license. 

Substance: Currently, regulations of the board require an 
applicant for licensure as an audiologist to hold a current and 
unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence in the area in 
which he seeks licensure issued by the American 
Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) or 
certification issued by the American Board of Audiology 
(ABA).  For an applicant who has been licensed in another 
state, the requirement for current certification may be 
problematic.  The purpose of certification is to provide 
evidence of completion of a degree, educational courses, a 
practicum, and clinical experience required for licensure.  If 
an applicant met that requirement at the time of initial 
licensure and has evidence of continuing education and 
clinical practice, it may not be necessary to show evidence of 
holding current certification from ASHA or ABA.  Therefore, 

the board adopted endorsement provisions that allow an 
applicant three pathways in which to be licensed: (i) meet the 
qualifications for licensure as prescribed by 18VAC30-20-
170 of this chapter; (ii) provide documentation of continuing 
education, a current license in another jurisdiction in the 
United States and evidence of active practice for at least three 
of the past five years; or (iii) if the applicant does not meet 
the those qualifications, he may be qualified by practicing 
under supervision for six months with a provisional license in 
audiology if he can provide evidence of having met the 
educational qualifications and passed the qualifying 
examination at the time of initial licensure. Additionally, an 
applicant who has been licensed in another jurisdiction must 
submit documentation of 15 continuing competency hours for 
each year in which he has been licensed in the other 
jurisdiction, not to exceed 60 hours.  

To reinstate a lapsed license within five years, an applicant is 
required to provide evidence of continuing education equal to 
the number of hours required for the years the license was 
lapsed, not to exceed 60 hours.  To reinstate a license lapsed 
for more than five years, an applicant is required to meet the 
requirements for initial licensure.  The board has adopted 
provisions for reinstatement of a lapsed license identical to 
those for endorsement of a license from another jurisdiction. 
The intent of requirements for licensure, whether by 
endorsement or reinstatement, is to ensure that an applicant is 
competent to practice in Virginia in a safe, professional 
manner with current skills and abilities. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be the 
possibility of increasing the number of licensees available in 
audiology and speech-language pathology. By adding 
pathways to licensure for persons who have "retired" from 
practice to raise a family or who are moving to Virginia from 
another state, the board has made it less burdensome to obtain 
a license but has concurrently retained the essential 
requirements for evidence of competency to practice. There 
are no disadvantages. There are no advantages or 
disadvantages to the agency. There are no other pertinent 
matters of interest. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (Board) 
proposes to amend its regulations to make requirements for 
reinstatement of lapsed audiology and speech-language 
pathology licenses less restrictive.  The Board also proposes 
to allow licensure by endorsement for individuals who hold a 
current license from another jurisdiction of the United States.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, audiologists and 
speech-language pathologists may reinstate a lapsed license 
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within four years of license expiration by paying a 
reinstatement fee and providing proof that they have 
completed 15 hours of continuing education for each year that 
the license has been lapsed (up to 60 hours total).  Individuals 
whose licenses have lapsed for more than four years must 
meet all requirements for initial licensure in effect at the time 
of new application. 

To gain initial licensure currently, audiologists must hold 
either: 1) a current and unrestricted certificate of clinical 
competence from the American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association (ASHA), 2) a certification from the American 
Board of Audiology (ABA) or 3) certification from any other 
Board recognized accrediting body.  Audiologists must also 
have passed a qualifying examination from a Board 
recognized accrediting body within three years of the date of 
initial licensure application or have actively practiced their 
profession during one of the past three consecutive years.  In 
general, speech-language pathologists must hold a doctoral 
degree from a speech-language program accredited by ASHA 
(or an equivalent accrediting body) and must have passed a 
qualifying examination within three years of the date of initial 
licensure application or have actively practiced their 
profession during one of the past three consecutive years.  
School speech-language pathologists need only hold a 
master’s degree in speech-language pathology and hold an 
endorsement in their field from the Virginia Department of 
Education. 

The Board proposes to amend reinstatement of lapsed license 
requirements so that licensees may reinstate their licenses 
within five (rather than four) years.  The Board also proposes 
to allow all licensees the option of reapplying for licensure 
when their Virginia licenses has lapsed for more than five 
years if they can show proof of completion of 60 hours of 
continuing education since their license lapsed, have a current 
license from another jurisdiction in the United States and 
have actively practiced their profession for at least three of 
the past five years. Additionally, the Board proposes to allow 
audiologists whose licenses have lapsed for more than five 
years to practice under supervision with a provisional license 
for six months. After that six month period, with their 
supervisors’ recommendation, provisionally licensed 
audiologists may reinstate their original license.  To gain 
provisional licensure, an applicant must meet the educational 
requirements for initial licensure and must have passed a 
qualifying exam when they were initially licensed.  The fee 
for application for provisional licensure is $50.  

Under these proposed regulations, individuals will have one 
more year than they currently do to reinstate their licenses 
and may be able to avail themselves of several other paths, 
depending on what type of license they hold and whether they 
have been working in another state, to bring their licenses 
current without going through the expense of initial licensure 
again. Specifically, licensees who meet any of the criteria for 

reinstating a lapsed license will not have to bear the direct and 
indirect costs of preparing for, and taking, a qualifying 
examination.   These costs would include the fee required to 
take the exam ($80) as well as the price of any study 
materials that would need to be purchased and the value of 
the time spent on studying and taking the exam.  Because 
these changes will likely lower the cost of reinstatement of 
Virginia licensure for audiologists and speech-language 
pathologists with lapsed licenses, a slightly greater number of 
these individuals may choose to reinstate licensure.  To the 
extent that this slightly increases the pool of audiologists and 
speech-language pathologists practicing in the 
Commonwealth, the cost of their services may be slightly 
reduced. Consumers will likely benefit from having greater 
choice as to whom they see for these services and may also 
see costs for these services reduced. 

Current regulations do not have a special provision for 
audiologists and speech language pathologists who are 
licensed in another political jurisdiction but want to begin 
practicing in Virginia. Currently, these individuals would 
have to apply for initial licensure and meet all the 
requirements listed above.  

The Board proposes to allow licensure by endorsement for 
individuals who hold current licensure in another state or 
United States territory.  Individuals who are to be licensed 
under this provision must provide evidence of a current 
license and must have actively practiced their profession for 
three of the last five years.  Individuals who do not meet these 
criteria, but who want to be licensed by endorsement in 
audiology, may follow the same provisional licensure path 
that is available to individuals whose Virginia licenses have 
lapsed for longer than five years. 

Applicants for Virginia licensure who are currently licensed 
in another jurisdiction will likely benefit from this regulatory 
change because they will likely be able to avoid the expense 
of retaking an exam that they have already passed.  Because 
these changes will likely lower the cost of Virginia licensure 
for audiologists and speech-language pathologists coming 
from other political jurisdictions, a slightly greater number of 
these individuals may seek licensure.  To the extent that this 
slightly increases the pool of audiologists and speech-
language pathologists practicing in the Commonwealth, the 
cost of their services may be slightly reduced Consumers will 
likely benefit from having greater choice as to whom they see 
for these services and may also see costs for these services 
reduced. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulatory changes 
will affect all audiologists and speech-language pathologists 
licensed by the Board and any audiologists and speech-
language pathologists who are licensed by another state or 
U.S. Territory but who want to gain Virginia licensure.  The 
Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that the 
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Board currently licenses 413 audiologists and 2408 speech-
language pathologists. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action may 
slightly increase the number of audiologists and speech-
language pathologists licensed by the Commonwealth. To the 
extent that these individuals practice independently, 
employment in these fields will likely be slightly increased. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 
extent that this regulatory action slightly decreases the cost of 
hiring audiologists and speech-language pathologists, firms 
that employ these professionals may see a very slight increase 
in the value of their businesses. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action but may see some cost 
savings cost savings. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology concurs with the 
analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget on the 
amendments for endorsement and reinstatement for 
18VAC30-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow an applicant whose license has 
been lapsed for five or more years to apply for 
reinstatement based on documentation of meeting current 
requirements for education, examination and 
certification or documentation of a current license in 
another jurisdiction in the United States and evidence of 
active practice for at least three of the past five years.  If 
an applicant for reinstatement in audiology cannot meet 
the current licensure requirements or cannot document 
current licensure and active practice for three years, a 
third option is provided in the amended regulation.  The 
applicant who has the educational qualifications and has 
passed the examination may be granted a provisional 
license and practice under supervision for six months 
and must be recommended for licensure by his 
supervisor. 

New regulations for licensure by endorsement mirror the 
provisions for reinstatement of a lapsed Virginia license 
as evidence of current competency to practice. 

18VAC30-20-160. Reinstatement of lapsed license.  

A. When a license has not been renewed within one year of 
the expiration date, a person may apply to reinstate his license 
by submission of a reinstatement application, payment of the 
reinstatement fee, and submission of documentation of 15 
continuing competency hours equal to the requirement for the 
number of years for each year the license has been lapsed, not 
to exceed four years, in which the license has been lapsed 60 
hours obtained during the time the license in Virginia was 
lapsed.  

B. A licensee who does not reinstate within four five years 
as prescribed by subsection A of this section shall either: 

reapply 1. Reapply for licensure as prescribed by Part III 
(18VAC30-20-170 et seq.) of this chapter 18VAC30-20-
170 and meet the qualifications for licensure in effect at the 
time of the new application; or 

2. Meet the continuing competency requirements specified 
in subsection A of this section and provide documentation 
of a current license in another jurisdiction in the United 
States and evidence of active practice for at least three of 
the past five years.  

C. An applicant for reinstatement in audiology who does not 
meet one of the qualifications of subsection B of this section 
may qualify for reinstatement by practice under supervision 
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with a provisional license for six months and a 
recommendation for reinstatement by his supervisor. The 
board may issue a provisional license to an applicant who can 
provide evidence of having met the applicable educational 
qualifications prescribed in 18VAC30-20-170 and passage of 
the qualifying examination at the time of initial licensure. 
Provisional licensure shall be practiced in accordance with 
subsections C, D, and E of 18VAC30-20-171.  

C. D. If the licensee holds licensure in any other state or 
jurisdiction, he shall provide evidence that no disciplinary 
action has been taken or is pending. The board reserves the 
right to deny a request for reinstatement to any licensee who 
has been determined to have committed an act in violation of 
18VAC30-20-280.  

18VAC30-20-185. Licensure by endorsement. 

A. An applicant who has been licensed in another 
jurisdiction in the United States may apply for licensure in 
Virginia by submission of a completed application, payment 
of the application fee, and submission of documentation of 15 
continuing competency hours for each year in which he has 
been licensed in the other jurisdiction, not to exceed 60 hours.  

B. An applicant shall either: 

1. Meet the qualifications for licensure as prescribed by 
18VAC30-20-170; or 

2. Provide documentation of a current license in another 
jurisdiction in the United States and evidence of active 
practice for at least three of the past five years. 

C. An applicant for licensure by endorsement in audiology 
who does not meet one of the qualifications of subsection B 
of this section may qualify for endorsement by practice under 
supervision with a provisional license for six months and a 
recommendation for licensure by his supervisor.  The board 
may issue a provisional license to an applicant who can 
provide evidence of having met the educational qualifications 
prescribed in 18VAC30-20-170 and passage of the qualifying 
examination at the time of initial licensure.  Provisional 
licensure shall be practiced in accordance with subsections C, 
D, and E of 18VAC30-20-171. 

D. An applicant shall provide evidence that no disciplinary 
action has been taken or is pending against his license in 
another jurisdiction. The board reserves the right to deny a 
request for licensure to any applicant who has been 
determined to have committed an act in violation of 
18VAC30-20-280. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1218; Filed September 23, 2008, 1:35 p.m.  

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§2.2-4006 
et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia 
pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (adding 18VAC48-10-10 through 18VAC48-
10-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2349 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 13, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 
FAX (804) 527-4298, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 10  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

18VAC48-10-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Common Interest Community Board. This 
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chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other 
documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

18VAC48-10-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Common Interest Community Board, 
which is the unit of state government empowered by the 
agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 
Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 
employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by §2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

18VAC48-10-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

18VAC48-10-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
18VAC48-10-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 
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2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to §2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC48-10-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with §2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to §2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

18VAC48-10-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in §2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to §2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

18VAC48-10-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 
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2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

18VAC48-10-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

18VAC48-10-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with §2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

18VAC48-10-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. The agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 

notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

18VAC48-10-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in §2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1471; Filed September 18, 2008, 2:32 p.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 
Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-40, 18VAC50-22-50, 
18VAC50-22-60; adding 18VAC50-22-300 through 
18VAC50-22-350). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Eric Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement new prelicense education 
requirements as mandated by Chapters 454 and 475 of the 
2006 Acts of Assembly and promulgated as emergency 
regulations by the board on August 21, 2006. 

The regulations amend entry requirements for Class A, B 
and C contractors by adding the requirement of successful 
completion of board-approved prelicense education for the 
designated employee or responsible management. A new 
section (Part VI) is added to the regulations to provide 
eligibility and reporting criteria for education providers 
and education courses. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
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response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part II  
Entry  

18VAC50-22-40. Requirements for a Class C license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class C license must meet the 
requirements of this section. 

B. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 
seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 
individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of two years experience in the 
classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 
chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 
the firm; 

4. Where appropriate, has passed the trade-related 
examination or has completed an education and training 
program approved by the board and required for the 
specialties listed below: 

Blast/explosive contracting 

Electrical 

Fire sprinkler 

Gas fitting 

HVAC 

Plumbing 

Blast/explosive contracting 

Radon mitigation 

Water well drilling 

Fire sprinkler 

5. Has obtained, pursuant to the tradesman regulations, a 
master tradesman license as required for those 
classifications and specialties listed in 18VAC50-22-20 
and 18VAC50-22-30. 

C. The firm shall provide information for the past five years 
prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 
judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 
pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its qualified 
individual or individuals, and all members of the responsible 
management of the firm shall submit information on any past-
due debts and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related 
to the practice of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§54.1-
1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The firm, the qualified individual, and all members of the 
responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the time 
of application any current or previous contractor licenses held 
in Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary 
actions taken on these licenses. This includes but is not 
limited to any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, 
revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 
disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license in 
Virginia or in any other jurisdiction. 

E. In accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose the following information about 
the firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 
qualified individual or individuals for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 
date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 
conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 
in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 
accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. A member of responsible management shall have 
successfully completed a board-approved basic business 
course. 

18VAC50-22-50. Requirements for a Class B license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class B license must meet the 
requirements of this section. 

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 
following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 
chapter, or is a member of responsible management as 
defined in this chapter; 

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 
by §54.1-1108 of the Code of Virginia or has been 
exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 
§54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 
testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 
conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 
written instructions communicated prior to the examination 
date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 
the date of the exam. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 
seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 
individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 
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2. Has a minimum of three years experience in the 
classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 
chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 
the firm; 

4. Where appropriate, has passed the trade-related 
examination or has completed an education and training 
program approved by the board and required for the 
classifications and specialties listed below: 

Blast/explosive contracting 

Electrical 

Fire sprinkler 

Gas fitting 

HVAC 

Plumbing 

Radon mitigation 

Water well drilling 

5. Has obtained, pursuant to the tradesman regulations, a 
master tradesman license as required for those 
classifications and specialties listed in 18VAC50-22-20 
and 18VAC50-22-30. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 
position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 
entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $15,000 
or more. 

E. Each firm shall provide information for the five years 
prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 
judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 
pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 
employee, qualified individual or individuals, and all 
members of the responsible management of the firm shall 
submit information on any past-due debts and judgments or 
defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of 
contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§54.1-1100 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The firm, the designated employee, the qualified 
individual, and all members of the responsible management 
of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current 
or previous substantial identities of interest with any 
contractor licenses issued in Virginia or in other jurisdictions 
and any disciplinary actions taken on these licenses. This 
includes but is not limited to any monetary penalties, fines, 
suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license in 
connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 
discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 
the parties listed above have had a substantial identity of 
interest (as deemed in §54.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia) 
with any firm that has had a license suspended, revoked, 

voluntarily terminated or surrendered in connection with a 
disciplinary action in Virginia or any other jurisdiction. 

G. In accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose the following information about 
the firm, designated employee, all members of the responsible 
management, and the qualified individual or individuals for 
the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 
date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 
conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 
in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 
accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 
management shall have successfully completed a board-
approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-60. Requirements for a Class A license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class A license shall meet all of the 
requirements of this section.  

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 
following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 
chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 
the firm as defined in this chapter;  

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 
by §54.1-1106 of the Code of Virginia or has been 
exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 
§54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and  

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 
testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 
conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 
written instructions communicated prior to the examination 
date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 
the day of the exam.  

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 
seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 
individual who meets the following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Has a minimum of five years of experience in the 
classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier;  

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 
chapter or is a member of the firm as defined in this 
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chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 
the firm;  

4. Where appropriate, has passed the trade-related 
examination or has completed an education and training 
program approved by the board and required for the 
classifications and specialties listed below:  

Blast/explosive contracting  

Electrical  

Fire sprinkler  

Gas fitting  

HVAC  

Plumbing  

Radon mitigation  

Water well drilling  

5. Has obtained, pursuant to the tradesman regulations, a 
master tradesman license as required for those 
classifications and specialties listed in 18VAC50-22-20 
and 18VAC50-22-30.  

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 
position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 
entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $45,000.  

E. The firm shall provide information for the five years prior 
to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 
judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 
pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 
employee, qualified individual or individuals, and all 
members of the responsible management of the firm shall 
submit information on any past-due debts and judgments or 
defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of 
contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§54.1-1100 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. The firm, the designated employee, the qualified 
individual, and all members of the responsible management 
of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current 
or previous substantial identities of interest with any 
contractor licenses issued in Virginia or in other jurisdictions 
and any disciplinary actions taken on these licenses. This 
includes but is not limited to, any monetary penalties, fines, 
suspensions, revocations, or surrender of a license in 
connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 
discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 
the parties listed above have had a substantial identity of 
interest (as deemed in §54.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia) 
with any firm that has had a license suspended, revoked, 
voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in connection with a 
disciplinary action in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction.  

G. In accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, the 
designated employee and the qualified individual or 
individuals for the firm:  

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 
date of application; and  

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 
conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 
in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 
accordance with §54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.  

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 
management shall have successfully completed a board-
approved basic business course. 

Part VI 
Prelicense Education 

18VAC50-22-300. Prelicense education courses. 

All courses offered by prelicense education providers must 
be approved by the board prior to the initial offering of the 
course, and shall cover business principles related to the 
standards of conduct found in 18VAC50-22-260 B and other 
applicable requirements of continued licensure set forth in 
this chapter. Courses must be eight hours in length. 
Correspondence and other distance learning courses must 
include appropriate testing procedures to verify completion of 
the course. 

18VAC50-22-310. Requirements for prelicense education 
providers. 

A. Each provider of a prelicense education course shall 
submit an application for course approval on a form provided 
by the board. The application shall include but is not limited 
to: 

1. The name of the provider; 

2. Provider contact person, address and telephone number; 

3. Course contact hours; 

4. Schedule of courses, if established, including dates, time 
and locations; 

5. Instructor information, including name, license 
number(s) if applicable, and a list of other appropriate 
trade designations; 

6. Course and material fees; and 

7. Course syllabus. 

B. All providers must establish and maintain a record for 
each student. The record shall include: the student’s name and 
address; social security number or DMV control number; the 
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course name and clock hours attended; the course syllabus or 
outline; the name or names of the instructor; the date of 
successful completion; and the board’s course code. Records 
shall be available for inspection during normal business hours 
by authorized representatives of the board. Providers must 
maintain class records for a minimum of five years. 

18VAC50-22-320. Reporting of course completion. 

All prelicense education providers shall electronically 
transmit course completion data to the board in an approved 
format within seven days of the completion of each individual 
course. The transmittal will include each student’s name, 
social security number or DMV control number, the date of 
successful completion of the course and the board’s course 
code.  

18VAC50-22-330. Posting prelicense education course 
certificates of approval. 

Copies of prelicense education course certificates of 
approval must be available at the location a course is taught. 

[ 18VAC50-30-340 18VAC50-22-340 ]. Reporting of 
changes. 

Any change in the information provided in 18VAC50-22-
310 A must be reported to the board within 30 days of the 
change with the exception of changes in the schedule of 
courses, which must be reported within 10 days of the 
change. Failure to report the changes as required may result in 
the withdrawal of approval of a prelicense education provider 
by the board.  

[ 18VAC50-30-350 18VAC50-22-350 ]. Denial or 
withdrawal of approval. 

The board may deny or withdraw approval of any prelicense 
education provider for the following reasons: 

1. The courses being offered no longer meet the standards 
established by the board.  

2. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises 
its services in a fraudulent or deceptive way. 

3. The provider, instructor, or designee of the provider 
falsifies any information relating to the application for 
approval, course information, student records or fails to 
produce records required by the Board for Contractors 
Tradesman Regulations. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

[ FORMS 

Introduction Contractor Licensing Information, 27INTRO 
(6/00 8/07). 

Trade-Related Examinations and Qualifications Information, 
27EXINFO (6/00 8/07). 

License Application, 27LIC (rev. 8/05 8/08). 

Class C License Application (Short Form), 27CSF (rev. 8/05 
8/08). 

Sample.  

Sample Guidelines.  

Additional License Classification/Specialty Designation 
Application, 27ADDCL (rev. 8/05 8/07). 

Change of Qualified Individual Application, 27CHQI (rev. 
8/05 8/07). 

Change of Designated Employee Application, 27CHDE 
(rev. 8/05 8/07). 

Change of Corporate Officers Form, 27CHCO (6/00). 

Changes of Responsible Management Form, 27CHRM (eff. 
8/07). 

Experience Reference, 27EP 27EXP (6/00 8/07). 

Contractor Examination Candidate Information Bulletin, 
copyright 2002 by PSI Corporation. 

Virginia Contractors Registration Form (7/02). 

Building Technical Examination Requirements (4/00). 

Certificate of License Termination, 27TERM (6/00 8/07). 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval, 
27CONTEDREG, (eff. 4/08). 

Education Provider Listing Form, 27EDLIST, (eff. 4/08). 

Financial Statement, 27FINST, (eff. 8/07). 

Additional Qualified Individual Experience Reference Form, 
27QIEXP, (eff. 8/07). ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-340; Filed September 11, 2008, 2:57 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§2.2-4006 
et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia 
pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 18VAC60-10-10 through 18VAC60-
10-120). 
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18VAC60-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
18VAC60-11-10 through 18VAC60-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies 
adopt model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 
2008. Public participation guidelines exist to promote 
public involvement in the development, amendment, or 
repeal of an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of 
the 2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments 
on regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period 
during which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) 
providing that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be 
indicated in any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) 
providing for the appointment, when necessary, of 
regulatory advisory panels to provide professional 
specialization or technical assistance and negotiated 
rulemaking panels if a regulatory action is expected to be 
controversial; and (vi) providing for the periodic review 
of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

18VAC60-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Board of Dentistry. This chapter does not 
apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

18VAC60-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Board of Dentistry, which is the unit of 
state government empowered by the agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in this 
chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated by 
the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by §2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 
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"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

18VAC60-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

18VAC60-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
18VAC60-11-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to §2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC60-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
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changes in accordance with §2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to §2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

18VAC60-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in §2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to §2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

18VAC60-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

18VAC60-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

18VAC60-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with §2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

18VAC60-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  
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18VAC60-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in §2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1474; Filed September 23, 2008, 1:34 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-10, 
18VAC110-20-20 through 18VAC110-20-70, 18VAC110-
20-80 through 18VAC110-20-104, 18VAC110-20-106 
through 18VAC110-20-120, 18VAC110-20-130, 
18VAC110-20-140, 18VAC110-20-180 through 
18VAC110-20-210, 18VAC110-20-240, 18VAC110-20-270, 
18VAC110-20-275, 18VAC110-20-280, 18VAC110-20-320, 
18VAC110-20-340, 18VAC110-20-350, 18VAC110-20-355, 
18VAC110-20-395, 18VAC110-20-410, 18VAC110-20-425, 
18VAC110-20-440, 18VAC110-20-450, 18VAC110-20-460, 
18VAC110-20-490, 18VAC110-20-500, 18VAC110-20-520 
through 18VAC110-20-555, 18VAC110-20-570, 
18VAC110-20-580, 18VAC110-20-590, 18VAC110-20-610, 
18VAC110-20-620, 18VAC110-20-621, 18VAC110-20-622, 
18VAC110-20-680 through 18VAC110-20-710, adding 
18VAC110-20-286, 18VAC110-20-391, 18VAC110-20-535, 
18VAC110-20-536). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 and Chapters 33 (§54.1-3300 
et seq.) and 34 (§54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, 
FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system. 

The specific authority to issue licenses and permits to 
pharmacists and pharmacies and to control the sale and 
dispensing of prescription drugs is found in Chapters 33 
(§54.1-3300 et seq.) and 34 (§54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Regulations of the Board of Pharmacy are complex 
and broad in scope and applicability to a variety of practice 
settings. Periodically, it is necessary to review and revise to 
clarify existing requirements, add new language to address 
problems that have arisen, delete outmoded regulation, or 
revise requirements to allow for newer technologies. In 
revising requirements adapted to the current practice of 
pharmacy, the board has acted to preserve or construct 
appropriate safeguards to help ensure safety in practice and in 
the efficacy and integrity of the drugs being dispensed. 

In its promulgation of amended regulations as described in 
the substance section of this document, the board has 
incorporated interpretative language now found in several 
guidance documents and included some provisions that have 
been tested in pilot programs that are currently approved. 
While guidance statements advise practitioners on policy 
matters, they are not enforceable and cannot be relied upon 
for compliance. Therefore, incorporation of guidance into 
regulation will make policies more explicitly clear for 
licensees. Likewise, less restricted policies in pilot programs 
that have shown to be effective and efficient without any 
increased risk of medication error have been incorporated in 
regulations. 

The board identified issues with regulations that restrict 
practice or inhibit modernization and utilization of newer 
technology, provided the change is within the parameters of 
law and federal rules and provided it is good policy that 
protects the health, safety and welfare of the public. 

Substance: The following sections of the regulations have 
been addressed in the promulgation of amended regulations: 

18VAC110-20-10. Definitions. Several definitions were 
added to clarify existing or amended regulations. For 
example, the definition of a correctional facility was added to 
clarify the term and be more inclusive of all types of 
facilities. Some terms were defined, such as "chart order," for 
more flexibility, and others, such as "NABP" were defined to 
enable use of the acronym in regulation. 

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. Since there is an expectation that 
pharmacy technician programs are modified frequently to 
reflect changes in medications and pharmacy practice, the 
board is adding a fee of $75 for renewal of program approval 
every two years; there are associated fees for late renewal and 
reinstatement. 
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18VAC110-20-30. Requirements for practical experience. 
Current requirements of the board were made consistent with 
new ACPE standards for preceptors and experiential training, 
so amendments to this section conform to national standards 
for pharmaceutical preceptors and practical experience in 
order to facilitate reciprocity. 

Subsection C requires practical experience can be gained only 
after completion of the first professional year, but it is unclear 
when the first professional year ends as some schools now 
operate year-round rather than in semesters. The board has set 
completion of certain core curricula as criteria for practical 
experience and set time limitations on the credit that can be 
given. 

18VAC110-20-40. Procedure for gaining practical 
experience. Currently, pharmacy intern permits are issued for 
the period of pharmacy schooling.  The board will consider an 
extension of that time frame for good cause and with a 
specified expiration date and a limitation of the years of an 
internship. 

The number of interns that may be supervised may be 
problematic when the internship programs at different 
pharmacy schools overlap. The board eliminated the 
restriction on supervision of one pharmacy intern during the 
same time period to alleviate a barrier to obtaining a 
preceptor, but retained the principle that the primary 
assignment of an intern to a preceptor must be one-to-one. 

18VAC110-20-60. Content of the examination and grades 
required; limitation on admittance to examination. The 
current regulation does not require an applicant to wait a 
certain time period to take the jurisprudence exam if he has 
failed it multiple times. There is concern with the security of 
test items for computerized testing, so the board has set a 30-
day requirement for retesting. Provisions of Guidance 
Document 110-39 relating to Americans with Disabilities 
accommodations for taking the NAPLEX and law 
examination have been incorporated into this section. 

18VAC110-20-70. Requirements for foreign-trained 
applicants. The regulations are amended to clarify that an 
applicant must pass the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate 
Equivalency Examination before becoming an intern. If an 
applicant cannot pass the FPGEE, the years spent in an 
internship may be wasted and the public may not be well 
protected.   

18VAC110-20-80. Renewal and reinstatement of license. The 
board added a provision to allow electronic notification when 
there is a change of address and also added a time frame of 14 
days for notification, rather than "immediately." 

18VAC110-20-90. Requirements for continuing education. In 
subsection A, the date listed is unnecessary and is deleted.  
Subsection D is amended to require maintenance of CE 

documentation for three years if the board chooses to audit 
for the previous two renewal cycles. 

18VAC110-20-100. Approval of continuing education 
programs. Amendments will require a board-approved 
program to have an expiration date; ACPE has an expiration 
of three years for a written program and one year for a live 
program. If a live program is to be given more than once, all 
dates must be on the original application or provided in 
advance of the program.  In addition, the requirement for 
maintenance of records should be increased from three years 
to five years for auditing purposes; ACPE requires approved 
programs to maintain documentation for five years. 

18VAC110-20-101. Application for registration as a 
pharmacy technician. An amendment will clarify that an 
individual enrolled in a board-approved pharmacy technician 
training program may work for a maximum of nine months 
prior to board registration (would include language from 
18VAC110-20-111 C). 

18VAC110-20-102. Criteria for approval for training 
programs. There are amendments to further specify a process 
and requirement for submitting changes to programs and to 
require programs to self-evaluate the currency of a training 
program and renew with the board every two years.  

18VAC110-20-103. Examination. Provisions of Guidance 
Document 110-39 relating to Americans with Disabilities 
accommodations for taking the pharmacy technician 
examination were incorporated into this section. 

18VAC110-20-104. Address of record. The current provision 
allows 30 days for notification of a change of address; the 
board added a more restrictive requirement (14 days) but not 
as restrictive as the current requirement for pharmacists, 
which is to notify "immediately." There should be 
consistency in the rules.  The board also will allow for 
electronic communication and will require the technician to 
maintain a copy of current registration at his principal place 
of practice. 

18VAC110-20-106. Requirements for continued competency. 
Subsection B should appropriately reference 18VAC110-20-
100, which sets out requirements for board approval of 
continuing education providers. The requirement to maintain 
documentation of CE has been changed from two years to 
three years to ensure CE certificates are available for board 
audits. 

18VAC110-20-110. Pharmacy permits generally. 
Amendments will delete the requirement for the outgoing PIC 
to take a final inventory but will allow him to do so unless the 
owner objects and submits written notice to the board. An 
amendment is added to ensure that a permit cannot be issued 
to operate a pharmacy from a private residence or dwelling 
and that more than one permit may not be issued to operate 
other types of permits out of the same Rx department space; 
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e.g. a pharmacy could not also get a second pharmacy permit, 
or a manufacturer's permit to operate both businesses out of 
the same physical space.  There may be an exception for 
special or limited-use pharmacy permits. 

18VAC110-20-111. Pharmacy technicians. The board has 
added a requirement for a pharmacy to maintain the start date 
and completion date for each pharmacy technician in training; 
there is a nine-month limitation on performing pharmacy 
technician related duties when in training, but inspectors are 
not readily able to check whether the individual is in 
compliance. 

18VAC110-20-120. Special or limited-use pharmacy permits. 
Guidance Document 110-22 provides guidelines for granting 
waivers relating to restricted access to a free clinic pharmacy 
under a special-use permit; the board has placed the criteria in 
regulation. 

18VAC110-20-130. Pharmacy closings; going out of 
business; change of ownership. An amendment is needed to 
require a closing pharmacy to transfer prescription files 
somewhere where a patient can access. 

18VAC110-20-140. New pharmacies, acquisitions and 
changes to existing pharmacies. Language is added to specify 
that once a pharmacy permit is issued, drugs cannot be 
stocked earlier than two weeks prior to the opening date, and 
that a pharmacist must be present on a daily bases to ensure 
safety and integrity of the drugs.  If the pharmacy is not ready 
to open within two weeks, the permit holder must notify the 
board. 

18VAC110-20-180. Security system. The regulation requires 
all alarms to be monitored in accordance with accepted 
industry standards and be capable of sending a signal to the 
monitoring entity. The board will require an alarm that was 
"grandfathered" to be upgraded if there is a break-in and loss 
of drugs. If a pharmacy that is open 24 hours a day changes 
its hours, it must have an alarm system installed before it 
closes. 

18VAC110-20-190. Prescription department enclosures; 
access to prescription department. Subsection A is amended 
to eliminate the specific requirement for a door to the 
prescription enclosure and provided that the enclosure must 
be locked and alarmed when the pharmacist is not on duty 
and that it must be capable of being locked whenever the 
pharmacist is out of the prescription department. Subsection 
B is clarified with updated terminology.  Language is added 
to allow interns, technicians and other persons authorized by 
the pharmacist to possess a means of entry only when a 
pharmacist is on duty. 

18VAC110-20-200. Storage of drugs, devices, and controlled 
paraphernalia; expired drugs. There is a clarification of the 
storage and security of will-call drugs, and the board has 
added medical devices similar to drug paraphernalia that 
cannot be displayed outside the Rx department. It has also 

clarified that adulterated or misbranded drugs must be 
separated from other stock used for dispensing. 

18VAC110-20-210. Disposal of drugs by pharmacies. The 
board has added "other board-approved methods" to disposal 
by incineration, in case other methods become DEA or EPA 
approved. 

18VAC110-20-240. Manner of maintaining records, 
prescriptions, inventory records. The board has required a 
perpetual inventory for Schedule II drugs to include a 
monthly count-back to reconcile count at least every 30 days.  
Electronic monitoring is acceptable provided alerts of 
discrepancies are reviewed at least monthly. 

The board has clarified that storage of records for Schedule II 
through V drugs must be at the same address as the pharmacy 
within the building where drugs are located, but amendments 
provide for an electronic database or storage offsite for 
Schedule VI drugs provided they are retrievable within 48 
hours of request.  The records are required to be maintained 
for not less than two years from the date of transaction. 

18VAC110-20-270. Dispensing of prescriptions; certification 
of completed prescriptions; supervision of pharmacy 
technicians. The board has eliminated the ratios of pharmacist 
to technician trainee and pharmacy technicians; the 
pharmacist may determine the number that he can safety and 
competently supervise at any one time. 

In subsection E, the board added a requirement to retain 
knowingly forged prescriptions for at least 30 days in the 
event it is needed for an investigation.  

18VAC110-20-275. Delivery of dispensed prescriptions. A 
rule is necessary to require that the contract and policy and 
procedure manual for alternate delivery sites be maintained at 
both pharmacy and the alternate site. A controlled substance 
registration can only be issued for alternate delivery sites if 
there are patient safety reasons not to deliver directly to the 
consumer and if compliance are not being compromised for 
convenience. The language "if required by law" will be 
removed in subsections B and C. 

18VAC110-20-280. Transmission of a prescription order by 
facsimile machine. The rule is clarified to mean that a hospice 
can be home hospice, and the term "nursing home" should be 
changed to long-term care facility.  Amendments will also 
provide that a nurse may fax a verbal order as a prescriber's 
agent even though the order is not being faxed from 
prescriber's practice location. 

18VAC110-20-286. Chart orders for outpatients. New 
language was added to set out conditions from guidance 
document 110-35 that would allow retail pharmacies to use 
chart orders. 

18VAC110-20-320. Refilling of Schedule III through VI 
prescriptions. Subsection D is amended to allow for early 
refill due to good cause or absence (vacation). That 
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subsection is also amended to clarify that the intent is 
referring to the timing of refills and not about the ability to 
change Rx based on the strength of drug in stock.  

18VAC110-20-340. Packaging standards for dispensed 
prescriptions. The board has included provisions of Guidance 
Document 110-12 and Guidance Document 110-23 on 
packaging. 

18VAC110-20-350. Special packaging. Amendments 
eliminate language redundant with the statute and update the 
language consistent with electronic records. 

18VAC110-20-355. Pharmacy repackaging of drug; records 
required; labeling requirements. An amendment will require 
pharmacist's initials to filling record for automated counting 
devices or dispensers to verify process as stated in subsection 
A. Amendments to add language from Guidance Document 
110-16 related to returning drugs to stock that are dispensed 
to a patient but not picked up from the pharmacy. 

18VAC110-20-391. Prescription blanks. Language from a 
board guidance document related to what can be on the face 
of a prescription blank provided by a pharmacy to a provider 
is included in regulation.  It prohibits nonessential 
information from being put on the face of the prescription 
blank. 

18VAC110-20-395. Purchase of drugs. An amendment is 
necessary to allow for a nonlicensed warehouse to sell to 
pharmacy through intra-company sales. 

18VAC110-20-425. Robotic pharmacy systems. The board 
has eliminated the requirement for an application and 
approval of a robotic pharmacy system and included the 
requirements for such a system in regulation. Among the 
rules set out are packaging standards for drugs stored in 
robotics and consistency with USP standards. 

18VAC110-20-440. Responsibilities of the pharmacist-in-
charge. An amendment is for clarity only. 

18VAC110-20-450. After-hours access to the pharmacy. The 
rules for after-hours access to pharmacy are now in conflict 
with JCHAO standards, so the board has revised this section 
to permit a nurse to have access to drugs maintained by the 
pharmacy outside the pharmacy.  There are also provisions 
for security of such drugs. 

18VAC110-20-460. Floor stock drugs; proof of delivery; 
distribution records. Amendments were added to (i) require a 
pharmacist to check drugs before leaving the pharmacy to be 
stocked on the floor, (ii) require maintenance of manual or 
electronic delivery records for at least 2 years, and (iii) 
require records to be maintained for Schedule VI, as well as 
II-V, but allow the records to be kept off site. 

18VAC110-20-490. Automated devices for dispensing and 
administration of drugs. The board tracked the language in 
subdivision 5 of 18VAC110-20-555 related to requiring a 

pharmacist to check delivery orders before they leave the 
pharmacy.  It requires maintenance of records of filling for 
Schedule VI and auditing records of Schedule VI, but allows 
pharmacies to keep these records electronically or off site.  
There is a clarification of what a "sample of administration" 
and a requirement to retain all records required by this section 
for 24 months. 

18VAC110-20-500. Licensed emergency medical services 
agencies program. Amendments will (i) require a pharmacist 
to check before sealing the drug kit used by EMS agencies, 
and (ii) allow for intravenous solutions to be stored outside 
the drug box. 

18VAC110-20-535. Repackaging of already dispensed 
prescriptions. This is a new section that incorporates a board 
guidance document into regulation. This section will allow a 
provider pharmacy for a LTCF to repackage a patient's 
medications that have been dispensed by another pharmacy 
into unit-dose or compliance packaging to conform to the 
system used in the LTCF under certain conditions. 

18VAC110-20-536. Prescription drugs sent outside the 
facility. This new section, which incorporates language from 
a board guidance document into regulation, allows a long-
term care facility to send a patient's medication out on pass 
with the patient, provided the medication is appropriately 
packaged and labeled for outpatient use. 

18VAC110-20-540. Emergency drug kit and 18VAC110-20-
550. Stat-drug box. These section was amended by 
incorporating language from guidance document 110-11 to 
clarify that emergency drug kits and stat-drug boxes may only 
be provided to those facilities that have licensed individuals 
to access the drugs, so assisted living facilities that use med 
aides to administer could have a stat-drug box if they have a 
nurse on duty for accessing the box. 

18VAC110-20-555. Use of automated dispensing devices. 
Amendments allow the device in nursing homes to be use to 
house drugs that would be in the emergency kit and be 
accessed prior to receiving electronic authorization from the 
pharmacy reviewer.  They also require that the device be able 
to produce a record of each distribution from the device.  This 
is consistent with hospital language for these devices. 

18VAC110-20-570. Drugs in infirmaries/first aid rooms. 
Subsection D was deleted as it pertains to administration of 
over-the-counter drugs, which are not regulated by the Board 
of Pharmacy. 

18VAC110-20-580. Humane societies and animal shelters. 
An amendment specifies that the record of training for 
persons at a humane society or animal shelter should be 
maintained at the facility and retained for two years.  It is also 
clarified that only euthanasia drugs can be stored or 
administered at permitted facility. 
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18VAC110-20-590. Drugs in correctional institutions. 
Amendments allow for the use of other types of forms to 
accompany returned drugs to the pharmacy; it is currently 
restricted to drug administration record and facilities to stock 
certain prescription drugs, including vaccines, with a 
controlled substances registration. 

18VAC110-20-690. Persons or entities authorized or required 
to obtain a controlled substances registration. Amendments 
conform requirements for inspection to other pharmacy types 
and clearly specify who can be a responsible party for a 
controlled substance registration (CSR).  

18VAC110-20-700. Requirements for supervision for 
controlled substances registrants. The board has amended to 
(i) require the responsible party to inform the board of a 
change within 14 days and submit a new application naming 
the responsible party for the CSR, (ii) allow pharmacy techs 
to have access to the controlled substances to perform certain 
tasks, and (iii) clarify who may qualify as supervising 
practitioner to include all practitioners with prescriptive 
authority. 

18VAC110-20-710. Requirements for storage and security 
for controlled substances registrants. Changes were made to 
the requirements for the security system to mirror the 
language for pharmacies. 

Issues: There are no particular advantages or disadvantages to 
the public or the Commonwealth.  Amendments that clarify 
the requirements for regulants may reduce noncompliance.  
Amendments that facilitate the use of technology, such as 
those for robotic pharmacy systems, may improve access and 
accuracy in the dispensing process. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to make many 
clarifying and substantive changes to its regulations as a part 
of the periodic review process. The Board proposes to: 

1. Add several definitions to aid readers in understanding 
these regulations,  

2. Require pharmacy technician training programs to 
apply for renewal every two years; to pay for staff time 
to process renewal and other forms, the Board has added 
fees for program renewal, late renewal and reinstatement; 
the Board also proposes that pharmacy continuing 
education programs expire after two years, 

3. Remove a requirement for the Board to approve 
robotic pharmacy systems and also remove the fee that 
pharmacies were charged for this from the fee schedule, 

4. Rewrite requirements and procedures for gaining 
pharmacy practical experience so these requirements 
apply to all individuals seeking practical experience and 

so pharmacists are not limited to supervising one intern 
at a time, 

5. Require foreign trained pharmacy students to get their 
certification from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate 
Equivalency Committee (FPGEC) before they apply to 
be interns, 

6. Require a 30 day waiting period before an applicant 
who has taken and failed the jurisprudence exam can take 
it again, 

7. Require pharmacy interns to report within 14 days (by 
email or regular mail) any change of address; the Board 
also proposes to extend to 14 days the time that Board 
licensees have to report a change of address, shorten the 
time registration certificate holders have to report a 
change of address to 14 days and to require pharmacy 
technician training programs to report any substantive 
changes to the program within 14 days, 

8. Require licensees to maintain proof of completion of 
continuing education for three (rather than two) years 
following license renewal; continuing education 
providers will be required to maintain records on all 
programs, program participants and continuing education 
hours earned for five (rather than three) years, 

9. Specify that pharmacy technician trainees may only 
perform tasks restricted to pharmacy technicians for nine 
months and require pharmacies to maintain employment 
records that show a start and end date for employment of 
trainees, 

10. Allow pharmacists with restricted licenses to serve as 
program directors for pharmacy technician training 
programs, 

11. Require pharmacy technicians to maintain their 
certificates at their principal places of practice.  
Pharmacy technicians who work at more than one 
pharmacy will be able to keep their certificates either at 
the home addresses that they have reported to the Board 
or at one of their workplaces, 

12. Restrict private residences from being licensed as 
pharmacies, 

13. Require that pharmacies maintain a perpetual 
inventory with reconciliation of that inventory every 
thirty days, 

14. Move guidance language for approving special use 
pharmacies within free clinics to these regulations, 

15. Require pharmacies that are going out of business to 
transfer prescription files to another pharmacy so that 
customers can still access their records, 

16. Specify that drugs may not be stocked by a new 
pharmacy more than two weeks before the pharmacy 
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opens and require that a pharmacist be at the pharmacy 
on a daily basis while drugs are stocked but the pharmacy 
has yet to open so that security for all drug supplies is 
maintained, 

17. Clarify that all pharmacies that have any hours that 
they are not open, whether daily or sporadically, must 
have an approved alarm system in place before they 
close, 

18. Simplify rules for prescription department enclosures 
to allow greater flexibility to pharmacies, 

19. Clarify standards for storage of drugs and require 
pharmacies to put medical devises that require a 
prescription where the pharmacist can supervise who 
accesses them, 

20. Allow drugs to be destroyed by incineration or any 
other method that the Board approves, 

21. Require that all records for schedule six drugs be 
maintained under the same rules as records for schedule 
II through V drugs; all records for these drugs will have 
to be kept for at least two years, 

22. Eliminate restrictions on the number of pharmacy 
technician trainees that a pharmacist can supervise at one 
time and require pharmacies to retain forged 
prescriptions at least 30 days, 

23. Require all contracts, agreements and policy and 
procedures manuals for alternate delivery sites be 
maintained both at the alternate site and the originating 
pharmacy, 

24. Clarify that hospices that can fax chart orders to 
pharmacies include home hospices and that nurses may 
fax verbal orders.  Additionally, the Board proposes to 
transfer language from guidance that would allow chart 
orders to serve as valid prescriptions that may be filled at 
a retail pharmacy, 

25. Allow prescriptions refills to be dispensed early so 
long as the pharmacist documents a valid reason for 
doing so, 

26. Move guidance language that outline packaging 
standards for dispensed prescriptions to these regulations, 

27. Update special packaging rules to allow for electronic 
recordkeeping, 

28. Limit the time that a bulk bin filling record must be 
maintained to one year and require a pharmacist’s initials 
in this record as verification that he has checked the 
accuracy the bin, 

29. Move guidance language for the re-dispensing of 
prescription drugs to these regulations, 

30. Move guidance language that prohibits pharmacies 
from printing non-essential information on the front of 
prescription pads that they provide to prescribers to these 
regulations, 

31. Allow licensed warehouses to sell Schedule II 
through VI drugs to pharmacies, 

32. Allow nurses to access a “supply of drugs maintained 
by the pharmacy at a location outside of the pharmacy in 
order to obtain emergency medication during hours that 
the pharmacy is closed”; the location of any supply of 
medication in such cases must be kept secure, 

33. Require pharmacists to check all Schedule II-VI 
drugs as floor stock before they are delivered to a 
hospital unit and to initial or sign that the record of 
distribution is accurate; all records will have to be 
maintained for two years, 

34. Requires all records required for automated devises 
for dispensing and administration of drugs be retained for 
two years, 

35. Allow intravenous solutions provided by a hospital 
pharmacy to an emergency services agency to be stored 
outside of a secured drug kit, 

36. Allow pharmacies that serve long-term care facilities 
to repackage residents’ medicines as unit doses to 
facilitate dispensing of medication in an institutional 
setting, 

37. Move guidance language the governs how 
prescription drugs may be sent outside of a long-term 
care facility (when the resident is leaving for a short time 
or is being discharged from the facility altogether) to 
these regulations, 

38. Clarify rules governing emergency drug kits by 
listing the licensed entities that are allowed to access 
these kits, 

39. Allow drugs stocked in automated dispensing devises 
that would be appropriate for an emergency drug kit to be 
accessed prior to authorization from a pharmacist if not 
accessing the drugs would threaten the survival of a 
patient; these devises will have to be able to produce a 
hard-copy record of all distributions, 

40. Require training records for animal shelter and 
humane society staff that are trained to euthanize animals 
be retained for two years, 

41. Allow correctional facilities greater flexibility to 
return drugs to a provider pharmacy accompanied by one 
of a number of forms that would contain the same 
information, 

42. Clarify rules that govern application for controlled 
substances registration and  
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43. Require any change in the responsible party for 
controlled substance registration to be reported to the 
Board within 14 days. 

Result of Analysis. For many of these proposed changes, 
benefits likely outweigh the costs. For several other changes 
there is insufficient information to measure the magnitude of 
costs versus benefits. Costs and benefits for proposed changes 
are discussed below.  

Estimated Economic Impact. About a quarter of the 
regulatory changes listed above (specifically, changes 
numbered 1, 9, 14, 16, 17, 19, 24, 26, 29, 30, 37, 38 and 42) 
are being made to bring greater clarity to these regulations.  
These changes are either standing Board policy being moved 
to regulation or other clarifications; for example, listing the 
specific licensed entities who are allowed to access 
emergency drug kits rather than stating that “only those 
persons licensed to administer drugs” are allowed access. 
These changes ought not represent a change in practice for 
regulated entities of the Board and, so, regulated entities will 
likely not incur any costs on account of these changes.  
Having these rules more clearly spelled out ought to, 
however, provide a benefit for individuals who are either 
affected by these regulations or are interested in knowing the 
rules under which Board licensees and certificate holders 
must operate. 

Current regulations do not specify an expiration date for 
pharmacy continuing education or pharmacy technician 
training programs.  Regulations for pharmacy continuing 
education classes state that continuing education programs 
must be approved by the Accreditation Council of Pharmacy 
Education (ACPE), be approved as a Category I continuing 
Medical Education (CME) course or be approved by the 
Board.  While ACPE courses are not approved for more than 
two years before they have to be re-approved and CME 
courses already require periodic re-approval, there has been 
no such limitation on Board approved classes.   

In order to make sure all types of continuing education 
classes are consistent and to insure that class materials and 
subjects are not outdated, the Board proposes to require that 
all Board approved continuing education classes expire after 
two years. After that, old but still relevant, and new programs 
can be approved by meeting Board criteria for continuing 
educational programs and paying the $100 fee for program 
approval. Individuals and groups who teach continuing 
education programs approved by the Board will incur extra 
costs in time and resources for getting course materials re-
approved, or for gathering and submitting new course 
material, and for the fee charged by the Board.  Individuals 
who take continuing education classes that are Board 
approved will benefit from this regulatory change if 
continuing education classes do a better job of keeping course 
material current and relevant than they would absent Board 
action. Whether benefits for this change outweigh costs will 

depend on whether courses improve enough, on average, to 
outweigh the costs of going through the program approval 
process again. 

The Board also proposes to amend regulations to require 
pharmacy technician training programs be re-approved every 
two years and to add fees to the fee schedule to cover re-
approval of a training program, late (within two years of 
approval expiration) re-approval of a program and 
reinstatement of approval of a program when approval has 
expired more than two years ago. These fees are $75, $15 and 
$75, respectively. The Board proposes this change to address 
problems with programs that change instructors, programs 
that teach out-dated material and programs that just go out of 
business without informing the Board. Individuals and groups 
who teach training programs approved by the Board will 
incur extra costs in time and resources for getting course 
materials re-approved and for fees charged by the Board.  
Individuals who take continuing education classes that are 
Board approved will benefit from this regulatory change to 
the extent that it is easier to find correct information about 
available programs and to the extent that classes do a better 
job of keeping course material current and relevant.  Whether 
benefits for this change outweigh costs will depend on 
whether the value of more accurate information on available 
courses plus the value of courses improvement, on average, 
outweighs the costs of re-approval.  

Current regulations require that all robotic pharmacy systems 
be approved by the Board.  The fee for this approval is $150.  
The Board proposes to eliminate both the requirement that all 
robotic systems be approved by the Board and the fee that 
paid for staff time for that approval. Instead of requiring all 
pharmacies go through the time and expense of gaining 
approval for each robotic system, the Board proposes to put 
the requirements that are currently part of each approval order 
into the text of these regulations. These changes are likely to 
lower costs for pharmacies wanting to install these labor 
saving robotic systems while still protecting the public from 
any harm caused by prescription errors.  

Current requirements that govern how and when pharmacy 
students can gain practical experience before they are 
licensed require licensure applicants who graduated from an 
approved school of pharmacy before January 1, 2003 to work 
at least 1,000 in a practical setting; at least 300 of those hours 
had to be worked outside of a school of pharmacy’s practical 
experience program. Students graduating after January 1, 
2003 are required to complete 1,500 hours of practical 
experience, 300 of these hours outside of any school practical 
experience program, before they could be licensed.  

Because ACPE accredited schools now require at least 1,700 
hours of practical experience before graduation, the Board 
proposes to eliminate the requirement that pharmacy 
graduates gain 300 hours of experience outside of their school 
setting.  The Board also proposes to eliminate the language 
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that allowed pre-2003 graduates to be licensed with only 
1,000 hours of practical experience. The Board believes that 
any individuals who graduated that long ago and still have not 
been licensed likely would need the extra hours of practical 
experience should they choose to pursue licensure at this late 
date.  Pharmacists who were licensed in other states that 
require fewer hours of pre-licensure practical experience, and 
who want to be licensed in Virginia, may count hours worked 
post-licensure toward practical experience requirements. 
Some individuals who graduated from pharmacy school 
before 2003 may incur extra costs for gaining practical 
experience if they choose to seek licensure after these 
amended regulations are promulgated.  These costs are likely 
outweighed by the benefit to the public of ensuring 
individuals who have been out of school, and away from a 
pharmacy setting, for a number of years gain additional 
practical experience before they are licensed. 

Current regulations only allow pharmacists to supervise one 
pharmacy intern and two pharmacy technician trainees at one 
time. Currently, pharmacists are allowed to supervise no more 
than four individuals performing technician functions 
(pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technician trainees) at 
one time. The Board proposes to eliminate these restrictions 
and allow pharmacists to determine how many interns, 
technician trainees and technicians he can safely and 
effectively supervise at one time. These proposed changes 
will give pharmacists greater flexibility to staff their 
pharmacy in the way that works most efficiently for them. 
Pharmacists will still be accountable for the accuracy of 
prescriptions that are dispensed under their supervision so 
these changes should not adversely affect the public.  

Currently, foreign-trained pharmacy students are required to 
go through several steps before they are eligible for licensure. 
They must 1) obtain verification from the FPGEC that they 
are a graduate of a foreign school of pharmacy, 2) pass the 
Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Examination 
(FPGEE), 3) pass the Test of English as a Foreign Language 
(TOEFL) or TOEFL iBT (internet based test), 4) pass the 
Test of Spoken English (TSE) and 5) complete practical 
experience requirements before they can sit for the other 
exams required for Virginia licensure.  Regulations do not, 
however, list the order in which these steps must be 
accomplished.  As a consequence, there has been some 
confusion as to whether foreign-trained pharmacy applicants 
need to prove proficiency in English before they become 
pharmacy interns. 

The Board proposes to simplify rules for foreign-trained 
pharmacy graduates by removing requirements 1 through 4 in 
the preceding paragraph and, instead, only requiring that 
applicants obtain an FPGEC certificate.  FPGEC verifies that 
applicants have graduated from a foreign school of pharmacy, 
that they have passed the FPGEE and that they are proficient 
in English.  The Board also proposes to specify that an 

FPGEC certificate must be obtained before foreign students 
can register as pharmacy interns and complete their practical 
experience requirements. 

Only requiring a FPGEC certificate will likely eliminate 
duplicative record keeping on the part of the Board and the 
FPGEC.  This will also save foreign-trained applicants for 
licensure some amount of time, effort and expense that they 
previously would have spent gathering all their records and 
getting them to Board staff. Requiring that these applicants 
attain FPGEC certification before they can complete practical 
experience hours may cause some applicants to incur costs 
(foregone wages, time spent waiting for the certification 
process to be completed, etc) that they would not have under 
the current regulatory scheme. Foreign-trained student 
interns, and the public they will work with, may, however, 
benefit from these interns mastering the language that is in 
predominant use in Virginia before they are thrown into 
situations where such proficiency is necessary. 

Currently, there is no practical limit on the frequency with 
which applicants for pharmacy licensure can take the required 
jurisprudence exam.  As a consequence, problems have arisen 
with the integrity of the test question bank.  The Board 
proposes to require applicants who have failed this exam to 
wait 30 days before they take it again.  This change may 
slightly inconvenience applicants but will also help insure 
that current test bank questions are not available to applicants 
before they actually take the test. 

Current regulations do not contain a requirement that 
pharmacy interns report any changes of address of record to 
the Board. Since the Board has an interest in having a way to 
communicate with these interns, the Board proposes to 
require interns to report any change of address, in writing, 
within 14 day.  Interns will likely incur minimal cost for 
complying with this requirement because they have the option 
of notifying the Board electronically.  The benefit to them of 
the Board having a valid address (so they can get notices from 
the Board in a timely fashion) very likely outweigh the costs. 

To make all such reporting consistent, the Board also 
proposes to lengthen the time that licensees have to report a 
change of address from “immediately” to 14 days, shorten the 
time that certificate holders have to report address changes 
from 30 days to 14 days (both of these groups can 
electronically correct this information on the Board’s 
website), require pharmacy technician training programs to 
report any substantive changes within 14 days and require 
that any change in the responsible party for a controlled 
substances registration be reported within 14 days. Again the 
costs of these changes are likely very minimal, even for 
certificate holders whose time limit is being shortened.  The 
benefits of having a consistent, easily remembered, standard 
likely outweigh any costs. 
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Current regulations require licensees to maintain proof of 
continuing education completed for two years; continuing 
education providers are currently required to retain records 
for three years on all programs, program participants and 
continuing education hours earned through them.  Because 
record auditing lags behind the renewal cycle, this can mean 
that some licensees will have gotten rid of half the records 
required for an audit before the audit can occur. The Board 
proposes to extend these record keeping requirements so that 
licensees will have to retain their records for three years and 
continuing education programs will have to retain their 
records for five years. These changes will increase record 
keeping costs for affected entities but will also make auditing 
these records for regulatory compliance much easier. 

The Board has also addressed other record keeping 
requirements in this regulatory action. Records for drug floor 
stocks delivered to hospital units, records for automated 
devises for dispensing and administration of drugs, records of 
inventories for schedule II through VI and records that 
document euthanasia training for humane society workers 
will all need to be retained for two years. Although these 
record keeping requirements are new to regulations, they are 
already Board policy and are consistent with the time 
inspectors would be auditing drug records. Any increased 
record keeping costs that may be incurred by affected entities 
will likely be outweighed by the benefit of more effective 
drug auditing. 

Currently, regulations require that program directors for 
pharmacy technician training programs have current, 
unrestricted pharmacy licenses. The Board proposes to allow 
pharmacists with restricted licenses to serve as directors of 
such programs.  The Board feels that license restrictions 
should not preclude an otherwise qualified candidate from 
serving as a program director. This regulatory change will 
likely increase the number of pharmacists who are willing to 
take on this job.  This may encourage more programs to open 
and may increase the number of pharmacy technicians 
available for employment in Virginia. 

Current regulations do not require pharmacy technicians to 
keep their certificates where they are readily available for 
inspection. The Board proposes to require technicians to 
maintain their certificates at their principal place of 
employment.  Technicians who work at more than one 
location will be able to maintain their certificates either at 
their address of record with the Board or at one of their 
workplaces.  Technicians are unlikely to incur anything but 
trivial costs on account of this regulatory change.  Any costs 
that are incurred will likely be outweighed by the benefit of 
having these certificates readily available for inspectors and 
any other interested parties. 

Currently, regulations for permitting of pharmacies have 
many requirements and restrictions but there is no restriction 
on opening a pharmacy in a private residence.  Two years 

ago, an individual applied to operate a pharmacy in her 
garage.  Since this space met all requirements for pharmacies, 
the Board issued a permit.  The Board believes that a 
residential setting is not conducive to maintaining security 
and accountability of drug stocks, and is proposing to prohibit 
any other residences from being permitted as pharmacies. A 
Board representative reports that there have been no security 
violations or instances of drugs going missing from this 
residential pharmacy thus far.  Individuals who may have 
wanted to open pharmacies in their residences at some point 
in the future would lose that opportunity on account of this 
proposed regulatory change.  Whether the benefits of this 
proposed change outweigh the costs will depend on whether 
any actual improvements in drug security outweigh the profits 
lost to future entrepreneurs who might have chosen to open 
such a pharmacy. 

Current regulations require pharmacies to take an inventory 
of schedule I through VI drugs at least biennially. The Board 
reports that, in the past, there have been instances where “tens 
of thousands of dosage units of (schedule II) drugs were 
diverted without detection for a year or more in some cases.” 
Because of this, the Board proposes to require that all 
pharmacies maintain a perpetual inventory of schedule II 
drugs and that this inventory be reconciled against actual drug 
stocks monthly.  The Board reports that all hospital 
pharmacies and most chain drug stores already maintain a 
perpetual inventory but they may or may not review them for 
discrepancies on a monthly basis.  This regulatory change 
may drive up costs for some pharmacies, particularly small 
pharmacies that don’t already have some kind of electronic 
record of drug stores.  Overall, pharmacies may actually save 
money from an inventory system that helps them quickly 
catch or even prevent drug losses. 

Currently there is no regulatory provision for pharmacies that 
go out of business to make sure their customers can still 
access pertinent records. Although this lack of regulatory 
provision is apparently not usually a problem, the Board 
reports that these records are a salable asset, there have been 
instances where pharmacies have closed and just abandoned 
customer records.  The Board proposes to require that 
customer records be transferred to another pharmacy where 
customers can access them when the originating pharmacy 
closes.  Both customers and receiving pharmacies will likely 
benefit from this required records transfer. 

Current regulations contain very specific, prescriptive 
requirements for prescription department enclosures.  For 
example, entrances to enclosed areas must currently have 
doors with no more than a six inch gap from the floor. The 
Board proposes to remove some of the more prescriptive 
requirements for these enclosures and instead allow 
pharmacies more flexibility in securing the drugs they are 
responsible for.  Instead of exactly describing how far from 
the floor a door may be, for instance, the proposed regulations 
only stipulate that an enclosure must be capable of being 
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securely locked when the pharmacist is not present.  This 
proposed change will benefit pharmacies which will now 
have the flexibility to meet security requirements in the most 
cost effective manner available.  Since drugs will still be 
required to be secured, there will likely be no offsetting costs. 

Current regulations only allow drugs to be destroyed by 
incineration.  The Board proposes to also allow drugs to be 
destroyed in other Board approved ways.  Although there are 
no methods for disposal of drugs currently that are as safe and 
effective as incineration, the Board wants the freedom to 
approve other methods when they are developed.  This 
change will give the Board benefit of flexibility. 

Current regulations do not allow prescriptions to be refilled 
early to accommodate patients who are, for instance, going on 
vacation.  The Board proposes to allow pharmacists to 
dispense refills early so long as they can document good 
cause for doing so.  This change will likely benefit pharmacy 
customers who will have greater flexibility to coordinate drug 
refills so that they do not interfere with other plans.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulatory changes 
will affect 1,647 pharmacies that are permitted in Virginia, 
513 non-resident pharmacies, 9,491 pharmacists, 1,415 
pharmacist interns, 8,750 pharmacist technicians and all 
pharmacist technician trainees working in the 
Commonwealth. These regulatory changes will also affect 
613 controlled substance registrations and 34 humane 
societies.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Requiring English 
proficiency before internship may lower in the short-term the 
number of foreign-trained pharmacy students that are 
available for employment as interns.  This effect will likely be 
short lived as current and future students will adjust to the 
time-table of licensure requirements. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Putting an 
expiration date on continuing education programs and 
pharmacy technician training programs will increase costs for 
these programs. To the extent that these programs are a profit-
making venture, these regulatory changes will likely decrease 
profits. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The Department 
of Health Professions (DHP) reports that the number of 
pharmacies that qualify as small businesses is unknown but is 
likely a small minority of 1,647 pharmacies in Virginia. 
These businesses may incur some additional bookkeeping 
costs because of some of these regulatory changes.  These 
costs will likely be outweighed by savings accrued on 
account of other regulatory changes in this action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Absent proof that home pharmacies are 

inherently more likely to be unsafe and non-securable, the 
Board may wish to reconsider banning licensure for 
pharmacies in private residences. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Pharmacy 
concurs with the economic impact analysis (EIA) of the 
Department of Planning and Budget on proposed regulations 
resulting from a periodic review with one exception.  On 
pages 10 and 11, the EIA questions whether benefits 
outweigh costs for persons who will not be allowed to open a 
pharmacy in a private residence.  The primary concern of the 
board in restricting licensure of a pharmacy in a private 
residence is security of such a pharmacy and the inherent risk 
to the residents and neighbors.  The availability of quantities 
of drugs in a private residence makes that location vulnerable 
to criminal activity.  In 2005, there were 13 armed robberies 
of pharmacies and 17 night break-ins; in 2006, there were 11 
armed robberies and 18 night break-ins in Virginia. In 
addition, there are numerous attempted robberies that are 
foiled or aborted.  It appears to the board that there are 
significant costs in terms of public safety and loss of 
property, so the benefit of avoiding those costs would 
outweigh any lost entrepreneurial opportunity. 

Summary:  
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The agency is amending regulations to address the 
numerous questions and recommendations that arose 
from the periodic review conducted by board members 
and advisors from all aspects of pharmacy practice.  In 
some cases, there is a need for clarification of a rule; in 
others there is a need to amend the regulation to allow 
the practice of pharmacy to be more responsive to 
patient needs and changing times. 

Some of the issues addressed include: (i) practical 
experience leading up to licensure by allowing interns to 
count hours within the school curriculum and by clearly 
delineating expiration dates for internships; (ii) oversight 
of continuing education approval by setting expiration 
dates for courses; (iii) guidance for free clinics to allow 
greater access to areas where drugs are kept; (iv) 
oversight of pharmacy technician training by setting a 
time limit on work by a person engaged in a program 
and an expiration for programs approved by the board; 
and (v) elimination of board approval of robotic systems 
by incorporating criteria for such systems in regulation. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC110-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to words and terms defined in §§54.1-3300 and 
54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 
terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 
Education.  

"Acquisition" of an existing entity permitted, registered or 
licensed by the board means (i) the purchase or transfer of all 
or substantially all of the assets of the entity or of any 
corporation that owns or controls the entity; (ii) the creation 
of a partnership by a sole proprietor or change in partnership 
composition; (iii) the acquiring of 50% or more of the 
outstanding shares of voting stock of a corporation owning 
the entity or of the parent corporation of a wholly owned 
subsidiary owning the entity, except that this shall not apply 
to any corporation the voting stock of which is actively traded 
on any securities exchange or in any over-the-counter market; 
or (iv) the merger of a corporation owning the entity, or of the 
parent corporation of a wholly owned subsidiary owning the 
entity, with another business or corporation.  

"Alternate delivery site" means a location authorized in 
18VAC110-20-275 to receive dispensed prescriptions on 
behalf of and for further delivery or administration to a 
patient. 

"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the 
integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug can 
no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be adulterated 

or misbranded as defined in §§54.1-3461 and 54.1-3462 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 
licensure by the Board of Pharmacy.  

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 
as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.  

"Chart order" means a lawful order for a drug or device 
entered on the chart or in a medical record of a patient by a 
prescriber or his designated agent. 

"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed 
drugs which is comprised of a series of containers for solid 
oral dosage forms and which is designed to assist the user in 
administering or self-administering the drugs in accordance 
with directions for use.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 
minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 
continuing education program.  

"Correctional facility" means any prison, penitentiary, penal 
facility, jail, detention unit, or other facility in which persons 
are incarcerated by government officials. 

"DEA" means the United States Drug Enforcement 
Administration.  

"Electronic transmission prescription" means any 
prescription, other than an oral or written prescription or a 
prescription transmitted by facsimile machine, that is 
electronically transmitted from a practitioner authorized to 
prescribe directly to a pharmacy without interception or 
intervention from a third party, or from one pharmacy to 
another pharmacy.  

"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug package 
by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the product 
may not be dispensed or used.  

"Facsimile (FAX) prescription" means a written prescription 
or order which is transmitted by an electronic device over 
telephone lines which sends the exact image to the receiver 
(pharmacy) in a hard copy form.  

"FDA" means the United States Food and Drug 
Administration.  

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs that have been 
distributed for the purpose of general administration by a 
prescriber or other authorized person pursuant to a valid order 
of a prescriber.  

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 
United States and its territories offering a course of study in 
basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 
years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 
to practice pharmacy in that country. 
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"Forgery" means a prescription that was falsely created, 
falsely signed, or altered. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 
Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 
certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 
Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 
review of foreign training to establish educational 
equivalency to board approved schools of pharmacy, and has 
passed approved examinations establishing proficiency in 
English.  

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name listed 
in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-
NF) or in the USAN and the USP Dictionary of Drug Names.  

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as 
defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in 
regulations by the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Inactive license" means a license which is registered with 
the Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to 
practice, the holder of which is not required to submit 
documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license.  

"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement 
care, mental care or other facility or institution which 
provides extended health care to resident patients.  

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 
Pharmacy. 

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing 
radiopharmaceutical services.  

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 
address of the permitted pharmacy and is available as needed.  

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed 
pursuant to §54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense 
drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services are 
not reasonably available.  

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for 
recording quantities of drugs received, dispensed or otherwise 
distributed, and drugs on hand by a pharmacy. 

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be 
physically present and render direct, personal control over the 
entire service being rendered or act being performed. Neither 
prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor, shall 
supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by 
any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient.  

"Pharmacy closing" means that the permitted pharmacy 
ceases pharmacy services or fails to provide for continuity of 
pharmacy services or lawful access to patient prescription 
records or other required patient records for the purpose of 
continued pharmacy services to patients.  

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 
currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician 
training program and is performing duties restricted to 
pharmacy technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical 
experience in accordance with §54.1-3321 D of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge of a permitted 
pharmacy.  

"Practice location" means any location in which a prescriber 
evaluates or treats a patient.  

"Prescription department" means any contiguous or 
noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing 
and storage of all Schedule II through VI drugs and devices 
and any Schedule I investigational drugs.  

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 
Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 
Association and the American Society of Health System 
Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary 
examination and certification of pharmacy technicians.  

"Quality assurance plan" means a plan approved by the 
board for continuous ongoing monitoring, measuring, 
evaluating, and, if necessary, improving the performance of a 
pharmacy function or system.  

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any drug that exhibits 
spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the 
emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any 
nonradioactive reagent kit or radionuclide generator that is 
intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance, 
but does not include drugs such as carbon-containing 
compounds or potassium-containing salts that include trace 
quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides. The term also 
includes any biological product that is labeled with a 
radionuclide or intended solely to be labeled with a 
radionuclide.  

"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the 
manufacturer's original package and placed in different 
packaging.  

"Robotic pharmacy system" means a mechanical system 
controlled by a computer that performs operations or 
activities relative to the storage, packaging, labeling, 
dispensing, or distribution of medications, and collects, 
controls, and maintains all transaction information.  

"Safety closure container" means a container which meets 
the requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging 
Act of 1970 (15 USC §§1471-1476), i.e., in testing such 
containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 children of ages 
41-52 months are unable to open the container in a five-
minute period and that 80% fail in another five minutes after 
a demonstration of how to open it and that 90% of a test 
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group of 100 adults must be able to open and close the 
container.  

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy which is 
noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a 
hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy 
permit.  

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 
constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five 
years of age to open to obtain a toxic or harmful amount of 
the drug contained therein within a reasonable time and not 
difficult for normal adults to use properly, but does not mean 
packaging which all such children cannot open or obtain a 
toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time.  

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a 
pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any way 
from the provisions of any board regulation.  

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions stated 
in some monographs with respect to the temperatures at 
which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is 
considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature may 
produce undesirable results. The conditions are defined by the 
following terms:  

1. "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C 
(46°F). A refrigerator is a cold place in which temperature 
is maintained thermostatically between 2° and 8°C (36° 
and 46°F). A freezer is a cold place in which the 
temperature is maintained thermostatically between -20° 
and -10°C (-4° and 14°F).  

2. "Room temperature" means the temperature prevailing 
in a working area.  

3. "Controlled room temperature" means a temperature 
maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual 
and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68° 
to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature 
calculated to be not more than 25°C; and that allows for 
excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 86°F) that are 
experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and warehouses.  

4. "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and 40°C 
(86° and 104°F).  

5. "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C 
(104°F).  

6. "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition to 
the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects a 
product to loss of strength or potency, or to the destructive 
alteration of its characteristics, the container label bears an 
appropriate instruction to protect the product from 
freezing.  

7. "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C 
(46° and 59°F).  

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as 
defined in §54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Unit dose container" means a container that is a single-unit 
container, as defined in United States Pharmacopeia-National 
Formulary, for articles intended for administration by other 
than the parenteral route as a single dose, direct from the 
container.  

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a 
particular dose ordered for a patient.  

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple drugs 
in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single container, 
such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only with patient 
name and location. Directions for administration are not 
provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or container 
but are obtained by the person administering directly from a 
prescriber's order or medication administration record.  

"USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-National 
Formulary.  

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects the 
contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the drug 
under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling, 
shipment, storage, and distribution.  

18VAC110-20-20. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 
examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 
as specified by the board.  

C. Initial application fees.  

  1. Pharmacist license $180 

  2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

  4. Pharmacy permit $270 

  5. Permitted physician licensed to dispense 
drugs 

$270 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 

  7. Humane society permit $20 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy $270 

  9. Controlled substances registrations 
(Between November 2, 2005, and 
December 31, 2006, the application fee for 
a controlled substance registration shall be 
$50) 

$90 

  10. Robotic pharmacy system approval $150 

  11. 10. Innovative program approval. $250 
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If the board determines that a technical 
consultant is required in order to make a 
decision on approval, any consultant fee, 
not to exceed the actual cost, shall also be 
paid by the applicant in addition to the 
application fee. 

  12. 11. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$150 

  13. 12. Approval of a continuing education 
program 

$100 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

  1. Pharmacist active license $90 

  2. Pharmacist inactive license $45 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

  4. Pharmacy permit $270 

  5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $270 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 

  7. Humane society permit $20 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy $270 

  9. Controlled substances registrations $90 

  10. Innovative program continued 
approval based on board order not to 
exceed $200 per approval period. 

  

  11. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$75 
every 

two 
years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 
to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 
one year of the expiration date or within two years in the case 
of a pharmacy technician training program. In addition, 
engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 
or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 
board.  

  1. Pharmacist license $30 

  2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 

  4. Pharmacy permit $90 

  5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $90 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 

  7. Humane society permit $5 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy $90 

  9. Controlled substances registrations $30 

  10. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$15 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 
renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year 
after the expiration date, or more than two years after the 
expiration date in the case of a pharmacy technician training 
program, shall submit an application for reinstatement with 
any required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 
board and, except for reinstatement following license 
revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 
director of the board upon completion of an application and 
payment of any required fees.  

  1. Pharmacist license $210 

  2. Pharmacist license after revocation or 
suspension 

$500 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

  4. Pharmacy technician registration after 
revocation or suspension 

$125 

  5. Facilities or entities that cease operation 
and wish to resume shall not be eligible 
for reinstatement but shall apply for a new 
permit or registration. Facilities or entities 
that failed to renew and continued to 
operate for more than one renewal cycle 
shall pay the current and all back renewal 
fees for the years in which they were 
operating plus the following reinstatement 
fees: 

  

    a. Pharmacy permit $240 

    b. Physician permit to practice 
pharmacy 

$240 

    c. Medical equipment supplier permit $210 

    d. Humane society permit $30 

    e. Nonresident pharmacy $115 

    f. Controlled substances registration $180 

    g. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$75 

G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 
other entities.  

  1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 

  2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 

  3. Inspection for remodeling or change of 150 
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location for any facility 

  4. Reinspection of any facility $150 

  5. Board-required inspection for a robotic 
pharmacy system 

$150 

  6. Board-required inspection of an 
innovative program location 

$150 

  7. Change of pharmacist responsible for an 
approved innovative program 

$25 

H. Miscellaneous fees.  

  1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

  2. Returned check $35 

I. For the annual renewal due on or before December 31, 
2006, the following fees shall be imposed for a license, 
permit or registration:  

  1. Pharmacist active license $50 

  2. Pharmacist inactive license $25 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $15 

  4. Pharmacy permit $210 

  5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $210 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit $140 

  7. Humane society permit $20 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy $210 

  9. Controlled substances registrations $50 

Part II  
Licensure Requirements for Pharmacists  

18VAC110-20-30. Requirements for pharmacy practical 
experience.  

A. Each applicant for licensure by examination as a 
pharmacist shall have gained practical experience in the 
practice of pharmacy, to include no less than 300 hours in the 
area of prescription compounding and dispensing within a 
pharmacy as set forth in this section and 18VAC110-20-40.  

B. An applicant who graduated from an approved school of 
pharmacy after January 1, 2003 shall accumulate for licensure 
as a pharmacist shall attain a minimum of 1,500 hours of 
practical experience, of which at least 300 hours shall be 
gained outside of a school of pharmacy practical experience 
program. For purposes of this chapter, credit will not be given 
for more than 50 hours in any one week. Applicants who 
graduated from an approved school of pharmacy prior to 
January 1, 2003 shall have gained at least 1,000 hours of 
practical experience.  

C. Practical experience that is gained within an ACPE-
accredited school of pharmacy, that conforms to the current 

ACPE standards, and that allows the student to gain at least 
1,500 hours of practical experience, shall meet the board's 
practical experience requirements for licensure as a 
pharmacist.  

C. D. All practical experience credit required gained outside 
of an ACPE-accredited school of pharmacy program shall 
only be gained after successful completion of the first 
professional year in an approved school of pharmacy 
equivalent of at least two semesters in an ACPE-accredited 
school of pharmacy. Credit shall not be given for more than 
50 hours in one week and not less than an average of 20 hours 
per week averaged over a month. The board may grant an 
exception to the minimum number of hours for good cause 
shown. 

D. Practical experience gained in a school of pharmacy 
which has a program designed to provide the applicant with 
practical experience in all phases of pharmacy practice and 
which program is approved by the American Council on 
Pharmaceutical Education will be accepted by the board for 
the time period during which the student is actually enrolled. 
The applicant will be required to gain any additional 
experience outside the school program as needed to meet the 
requirements of subsections A and B of this section.  

E. In accordance with §54.1-3312 of the Code of Virginia, 
all practical experience required by this section shall be 
gained within the United States.  

18VAC110-20-40. Procedure for gaining practical 
experience.  

A. Each pharmacy student or graduate of an approved 
school of pharmacy who desires to gain practical experience 
in a pharmacy within the Commonwealth shall person 
desiring to gain practical pharmacy experience in Virginia 
shall first register with the board as a pharmacy intern on a 
form provided by the board prior to becoming so engaged as a 
pharmacy intern. This requirement shall also apply to 
students any person gaining practical experience within the 
Commonwealth whether for licensure in Virginia or in 
another state.  

B. In order to be eligible to register as a pharmacy intern, an 
applicant shall meet at least one of the following criteria: 

1. The applicant shall be enrolled in and have started 
course work in a professional degree program of a board-
approved school of pharmacy. Such registration is only 
valid while the student is enrolled in the school of 
pharmacy and is satisfactorily progressing toward meeting 
the requirements for licensure as a pharmacist. An 
expiration date shall be assigned to the registration to cover 
the estimated time period for the student to complete the 
school program and pass the required examinations. If the 
student is no longer enrolled in the school program, takes a 
voluntary break from the program, or is otherwise not 
actively participating in the school program, except for 
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regularly scheduled school breaks, the registration is no 
longer valid and shall be returned to the board 
immediately;  

2. The applicant is a graduate of a board-approved school 
of pharmacy or a graduate of a foreign school of pharmacy, 
has established educational equivalency and proficiency in 
English by obtaining the FPGEC certificate, and desires to 
gain required practical experience required for licensure as 
a pharmacist. Such applicant shall provide documentation 
on a board-approved form of current employment or an 
employment start date within 90 days in a pharmacy in 
Virginia with approval by the supervising pharmacist. An 
expiration date shall be assigned to cover the estimated 
time period needed to obtain the required practical 
experience hours and take the required examinations to 
become licensed as a pharmacist; 

3. The applicant has already gained the required practical 
experience, but is an otherwise qualified applicant awaiting 
examination for licensure. A three-month expiration date 
shall be assigned to allow the applicant time to take 
required examinations; or  

4. The applicant is an applicant for reactivation or 
reinstatement of a previously issued pharmacist license and 
is meeting board requirements for relicensure. An 
expiration date shall be assigned to reasonably cover the 
period of time necessary to meet the board requirements. 

C. For documented, good cause shown, the executive 
director of the board may extend the expiration date of the 
intern registration upon submission of an application form 
approved by the board and payment of the initial application 
fee. 

B. The applicant D. A pharmacy intern shall be supervised 
by a pharmacist who holds an a current, unrestricted license 
and assumes full responsibility for the training, supervision 
and conduct of the intern. The supervising pharmacist shall 
not supervise more than one pharmacy intern during the same 
time period.  

C. E. The intern registration of a pharmacy student shall be 
valid only while the student is enrolled in a school of 
pharmacy. The registration card issued by the board shall be 
returned to the board upon failure to be enrolled.  

D. F. Practical experience gained within any other state must 
be registered with and certified by the board of that state in 
order to be accepted or certified by this board. In the event 
that a state does not use internships to gain practical 
experience in pharmacy but relies on the pharmacy school to 
certify the hours of experience, an affidavit from the 
pharmacy school certifying the hours of experience gained in 
the United States may be accepted in lieu of board 
certification.  

E. G. All practical experience of the pharmacy intern shall 
be evidenced by an affidavit approved by the board, which 
shall be filed prior to or with the application for examination 
for licensure.  

F. H. An applicant for licensure by endorsement may 
provide verification acceptable to the board of practical 
experience hours worked as a pharmacist in another state 
within the United States in lieu of prelicensure intern hours in 
order to meet the practical experience requirement 

I. A pharmacy intern shall notify the board in writing of any 
change in address of record within 14 days of such change.  

18VAC110-20-50. Curriculum and approved schools of 
pharmacy.  

A. The following minimum educational requirements for the 
specified periods shall be recognized by the board for the 
purpose of licensure.  

1. On and after June 1, 1928, but before June 1, 1936, the 
applicant for licensure shall have been graduated from a 
three-year course of study with a pharmacy graduate or 
pharmacy college degree in pharmacy awarded.  

2. 1. On and after June 1, 1936, but before June 1, 1964, 
the applicant for licensure shall have been graduated from 
a four-year course of study with a Bachelor of Science 
degree in pharmacy awarded.  

3. 2. On and after June 1, 1964, the applicant for licensure 
shall have been graduated from at least a five-year course 
of study with a Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy or 
a Doctorate of Pharmacy degree awarded.  

B. In order to be licensed as a pharmacist within this 
Commonwealth, the applicant shall have been granted the 
first professional degree from a program of a school of 
pharmacy which meets the requirements of §54.1-3312 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

18VAC110-20-60. Content of the examination and grades 
required; limitation on admittance to examination.  

A. Prior to admission to any examination required for 
licensure, the applicant shall have met all other requirements 
to include education and practical experience requirements, 
but in no case shall the applicant be admitted if grounds exist 
to deny licensure under §54.1-3316 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The applicant shall achieve a passing score as determined 
by the board on the licensure examination which is approved 
by the board and which shall consist of an integrated 
examination of pharmacy practice, pharmacology, pharmacy 
mathematics, and such other subjects as are necessary to 
assure that the candidate possesses the necessary knowledge 
and skills to practice pharmacy.  

C. The applicant shall also achieve a passing score as 
determined by the board on an examination which tests the 
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candidate's knowledge of federal and state laws related to 
pharmacy practice.  

D. C. When an applicant for licensure by examination fails 
to meet the passing requirements of the board-approved 
integrated pharmacy examination on three occasions, he shall 
not be readmitted to the examination until he has completed 
an additional 1,000 hours of practical experience as a 
pharmacy intern as set forth in 18VAC110-20-40.  

D. The applicant shall also achieve a passing score as 
determined by the board on an examination that tests the 
candidate's knowledge of federal and state laws related to 
pharmacy practice. 

E. When an applicant fails to pass the law examination, he 
shall not be allowed to retake it for a period of 30 days. 

F. If an applicant requests a testing accommodation for 
either examination based on a physical or mental impairment 
that substantially limits one or more major life activities, 
subject to the Americans with Disabilities Act, the board may 
approve a reasonable accommodation that does not 
compromise the security or integrity of the examination. 

1. Supporting documentation shall be provided by the 
applicant to include the following to be considered for 
review: 

a. A letter of request from the candidate that specifies the 
testing accommodation requested; 

b. A written report of an evaluation (educational, 
psychological, or physical) within the preceding two 
years from a qualified professional that states a diagnosis 
of the disability, describes the disability, recommends 
specific accommodations, and provides justification that 
the accommodation is appropriate and necessary for the 
diagnosed disability. If the comprehensive evaluation 
was done more than two years ago and the condition is 
one that is not subject to change, the original evaluation 
report may be submitted along with a current letter from 
the qualified professional stating that there has been no 
change in the condition since the time of the evaluation; 
and 

c. A written statement from the appropriate person at the 
applicant’s school of pharmacy that describes any testing 
accommodations made while the student was enrolled, if 
applicable.  

2. The applicant will be notified in writing of the decision. 
If the request for accommodation is granted, the approval 
information will be forwarded to the examination 
contractor and the form of the accommodation will be 
coordinated with the contractor.  

18VAC110-20-70. Requirements for foreign-trained 
applicants.  

A. Applicants for licensure who were trained in foreign 
schools of pharmacy shall meet the following additional 
requirements obtain the FPGEC certificate prior to being 
allowed to take the examinations required by 18VAC110-20-
60: register as a pharmacy intern and gain required practical 
experience in Virginia.  

1. Obtain verification from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate 
Examination Committee (FPGEC) of the National 
Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) that the 
applicant is a graduate of a foreign school of pharmacy.  

2. Complete and receive a score acceptable to the board on 
the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Examination 
(FPGEE).  

3. Complete and receive a score acceptable to the board on 
the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or on 
the TOEFL iBT, the Internet-based tests of listening, 
reading, speaking and writing.  

4. Complete the Test of Spoken English (TSE) or the 
TOEFL iBT as given by the Educational Testing Service 
with a score acceptable to the board.  

5. Fulfill B. After obtaining the FPGEC certificate, the 
applicant may apply for a pharmacy intern registration and 
shall fulfill the requirements for practical experience as 
prescribed set forth in 18VAC110-20-30 A, B and E and 
18VAC110-20-40 A, B, D, E and F before being admitted to 
examinations required by 18VAC110-20-60.  

B. C. Applicants for licensure who were trained in foreign 
schools of pharmacy shall also complete and achieve passing 
scores on the examinations as prescribed set forth in 
18VAC110-20-60 before being licensed as a pharmacist. 

18VAC110-20-80. Renewal and reinstatement of license.  

A. Pharmacist licenses expire on December 31 and shall be 
renewed annually prior to that date by the submission of a 
renewal fee, renewal form, and statement of compliance with 
continuing education requirements.  

B. A pharmacist newly licensed on or after October 1 shall 
not be required to renew that license until December 31 of the 
following year.  

C. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license by the 
expiration date may renew his license at any time within one 
year of its expiration by submission of the renewal fee and 
late fee, renewal form, and statement of compliance with 
continuing education requirements.  

D. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license for more than 
one year following expiration and who wishes to reinstate 
such license shall submit an application for reinstatement, pay 
the current renewal fee and a reinstatement fee, and submit 
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documentation showing compliance with continuing 
education requirements. Reinstatement is at the discretion of 
the board and may be granted by the executive director of the 
board provided no grounds exist to deny said reinstatement.  

E. A pharmacist who has been registered as inactive for 
more than one year must apply for reinstatement, submit 
documentation showing compliance with continuing 
education requirements, and pay the current year active 
renewal fee in order to resume active licensure.  

F. In order to reactivate or reinstate a license to active status, 
a pharmacist who holds an inactive license, who has allowed 
his license to lapse, or who has had his license suspended or 
revoked must submit evidence of completion of CEU's or 
hours equal to the requirements for the number of years in 
which his license has not been active, not to exceed a total of 
60 hours of CE.  

G. A pharmacist whose license has been lapsed, in inactive 
status, or suspended or revoked for more than five years shall, 
as a condition of reinstatement in addition to 60 hours CE, 
take and receive a passing score on the board-approved law 
examination and furnish acceptable documentation of one of 
the following:  

1. Active pharmacy practice within the past five years as a 
properly licensed pharmacist in another state; or 

2. Practical experience as a pharmacy intern registered 
with the board of at least 160 hours within six months 
immediately prior to being reinstated. 

H. The practice of pharmacy without a current, active 
pharmacist license is unlawful and shall constitute grounds 
for disciplinary action by the board. 

I. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee to 
inform the board of his current address. A licensee shall 
immediately notify the board within 14 days in writing or 
electronically of any change of an address of record. Properly 
updating address of record directly through the board’s web-
based application or other approved means shall constitute 
lawful notification. All notices required by law or by these 
rules and regulations are deemed to be legally given when 
mailed to the address given of record and shall not relieve the 
licensee of the obligation to comply. 

18VAC110-20-90. Requirements for continuing education.  

A. On and after December 31, 1993, a A pharmacist shall be 
required to have completed a minimum of 1.5 CEUs or 15 
contact hours of continuing pharmacy education in an 
approved program for each annual renewal of licensure. 
CEUs or hours in excess of the number required for renewal 
may not be transferred or credited to another year. 

B. A pharmacy education program approved for continuing 
pharmacy education is:  

1. One that is approved by the Accreditation Council for 
Pharmacy Education (ACPE); 

2. One that is approved as a Category I Continuing 
Medical Education (CME) course, the primary focus of 
which is pharmacy, pharmacology or drug therapy; or  

3. One that is approved by the board in accordance with the 
provisions of 18VAC110-20-100. 

C. The board may grant an extension pursuant to §54.1-3314 
§54.1-3314.1 E of the Code of Virginia. Any subsequent 
extension shall be granted only for good cause shown.  

D. Pharmacists are required to attest to compliance with CE 
requirements in a manner approved by the board at the time 
of their annual license renewal. Following each renewal 
period, the board may conduct an audit of the immediate past 
two years' CE documents to verify compliance with 
requirements. Pharmacists are required to maintain, for two 
three years following renewal, the original certificates 
documenting successful completion of CE, showing date and 
title of the CE program or activity, the number of CEU's or 
contact hours awarded, and a certifying signature or other 
certification of the approved provider. Pharmacists selected 
for audit must provide these original documents to the board 
by the deadline date specified by the board in the audit notice.  

18VAC110-20-100. Approval of continuing education 
programs.  

A. The board will approve without application or further 
review any program offered by an ACPE-approved provider 
and will accept for credit certificates bearing the official 
ACPE logo and program number.  

B. The board may approve an individual CE program under 
the following provisions:  

1. An approved individual program is a course, activity, or 
lecture which includes subject matter related to the 
competency of the practice of pharmacy and which has 
been approved for CE credit by the board.  

2. In order to receive approval for an individual program, 
the sponsor or provider must make application apply prior 
to the program offering on a form provided by the board. 
The information which must be provided shall include but 
not be limited to: name of provider, location, date and time 
of program, charges to participants, description of program 
content and objectives, credentials of speaker or author, 
method of delivery, evaluation procedure, evidence of a 
pre and post test assessment, credits requested, mechanism 
for recordkeeping, and any such information as the board 
deems necessary to assure quality and compliance.  

3. The sponsor making application applying for board 
approval of an individual program must pay a fee as 
required in 18VAC110-20-20 C 18.  
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4. The board shall notify the provider or sponsor within 60 
days following the receipt of a completed application of 
approval or disapproval of a program and the number of 
credits which may be awarded. The board shall also assign 
an expiration date for approval of the program not to 
exceed two years from the date of approval. 

5. The provider of an approved program shall provide to 
each participant who completes the required hours and 
passes the post test a certification with the name of the 
provider, name of the participant, description of course and 
method of delivery, number of hours credited, date of 
completion, and program identification number.  

6. The provider of an approved program shall maintain all 
records on that program, its participants, and hours 
awarded for a period of three five years and shall make 
those records available to the board upon request.  

7. The board shall periodically review and monitor 
programs. The provider of a CE program shall waive 
registration fees for a representative of the board for that 
purpose.  

8. Any changes in the information previously provided 
about an approved program or provider must be submitted 
or the board may withdraw its approval. If a provider 
wants to give a live program more than once, all program 
dates must either be submitted on the original application 
or provided to the board in subsequent correspondence at 
least five days prior to giving the program.  

Part III  
Requirements for Pharmacy Technician Registration  

18VAC110-20-101. Application for registration as a 
pharmacy technician.  

A. Any person wishing to apply for registration as a 
pharmacy technician shall submit the application fee and an 
application on a form approved by the board.  

B. In order to be registered as a pharmacy technician, an 
applicant shall provide evidence of the following:  

1. Satisfactory completion of an approved training 
program, and  

2. A passing score on a board-approved examination.  

C. In lieu of the requirements of subsection B of this section, 
an applicant may provide evidence of current PTCB 
certification.  

D. A pharmacy technician trainee may perform tasks 
restricted to pharmacy technicians for no more than nine 
months without becoming registered as a pharmacy 
technician. 

18VAC110-20-102. Criteria for approval for training 
programs.  

A. Any person wishing to apply for approval of a pharmacy 
technician training program shall submit the application fee 
and an application on a form approved by the board and meet 
the criteria established in this section.  

B. The curriculum of a training program for pharmacy 
technicians shall include instruction in applicable, current 
laws and regulations and in the tasks that may be performed 
by a pharmacy technician to include the following or any 
other task restricted to pharmacy technicians in regulation:  

1. The entry of prescription information and drug history 
into a data system or other recordkeeping system;  

2. The preparation of prescription labels or patient 
information;  

3. The removal of the drug to be dispensed from inventory;  

4. The counting, measuring, or compounding of the drug to 
be dispensed;  

5. The packaging and labeling of the drug to be dispensed 
and the repackaging thereof;  

6. The stocking or loading of automated dispensing devices 
or other devices used in the dispensing process; and  

7. The acceptance of refill authorization from a prescriber 
or his authorized agent provided there is no change to the 
original prescription.  

C. Instructors Each program shall have a program director 
who shall be either (i) a pharmacist with a current unrestricted 
license in any jurisdiction and who is not currently suspended 
or revoked in any jurisdiction in the United States; (ii) a 
pharmacy technician with at least one year of experience 
performing technician tasks who holds a current unrestricted 
registration in Virginia or a current PTCB certification and 
who is not currently suspended or revoked as a pharmacy 
technician in any jurisdiction; or (iii) other person approved 
and deemed qualified by the board to be an instructor a 
program director.  

D. Instructors for the core components listed in subsection B 
of this section shall meet the requirements for the program 
director listed in subsection C of this section. The program 
director may serve as an instructor.  

D. E. The length of the program shall be sufficient to 
prepare a program participant to sit for the board-approved 
examination and demonstrate entry-level competency.  

E. F. The program shall maintain records of program 
participants either on-site or at another location where the 
records are readily retrievable upon request for inspection. A 
program shall provide a certificate of completion to 
participants who successfully complete the program and 
provide verification of completion of the program for a 
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participant upon request by the board. Records shall be 
maintained for two years from date of completion or 
termination of program.  

G. The program shall report within 14 days any substantive 
change in the program to include a change in program name, 
program director, instructors, name of institution or business 
if applicable, address, program content, length of program, or 
location of records.  

H. A pharmacy technician training program approval expires 
after two years, after which the program may apply for 
renewal. For continued approval, the program shall submit 
the renewal application, renewal fee, and a self-evaluation 
report on a form provided by the board at the time of renewal 
notification. Renewal of a program's approval is at the 
discretion of the board, and the decision to renew shall be 
based on documentation of continued compliance with the 
criteria set forth in this section.  

18VAC110-20-103. Examination.  

A. The board shall approve one or more examinations to test 
entry-level competency for pharmacy technicians. In order to 
be approved, a competency examination shall be developed in 
accordance with and meet the recognized acceptable test 
measurement standards of the Joint Technical Standards for 
Education and Psychological Testing (American 
Psychological Association, current edition), and shall be 
administered by an independent third party.  

B. The board may contract with an examination service for 
the development and administration of a competency 
examination.  

C. The board shall determine the minimum passing standard 
on the competency examination.  

D. Any requests for testing accommodations under the 
Americans with Disabilities Act shall be in accordance with 
the provisions of 18VAC110-20-60 F.  

18VAC110-20-104. Address of record; maintenance of 
certificate. 

A. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each pharmacy 
technician to inform the board of his current address. A 
pharmacy technician shall notify the board in writing or 
electronically of any change of an address of record within 30 
14 days. Properly updating address of record directly through 
the board’s web-based application or other approved means 
shall constitute lawful notification. All notices required by 
law or by these rules and regulations are deemed to be legally 
given when mailed to the address given of record and shall 
not relieve the registrant of the obligation to comply. 

B. A pharmacy technician shall maintain his current 
registration certificate at his principal place of practice 
available for inspection upon request.  A pharmacy technician 
who does not have a principal place of practice may maintain 

it at any pharmacy in which he practices or his address of 
record. 

18VAC110-20-106. Requirements for continued 
competency.  

A. A pharmacy technician shall be required to have 
completed a minimum of 0.5 CEUs or five contact hours of 
approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 
registration. Hours in excess of the number required for 
renewal may not be transferred or credited to another year.  

B. An approved continuing education program shall meet 
the requirements as set forth in subsection B of 18VAC110-
20-90 18VAC110-20-100.  

C. Upon written request of a pharmacy technician, the board 
may grant an extension of up to one year in order for the 
pharmacy technician to fulfill the continuing education 
requirements for the period of time in question. The granting 
of an extension shall not relieve the pharmacy technician 
from complying with current year requirements. Any 
subsequent extension shall be granted for good cause shown.  

D. Original certificates showing successful completion of 
continuing education programs shall be maintained by the 
pharmacy technician for a period of two three years following 
the renewal of his registration. The pharmacy technician shall 
provide such original certificates to the board upon request in 
a manner to be determined by the board.  

Part IV  
Pharmacies  

18VAC110-20-110. Pharmacy permits generally.  

A. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to a pharmacist to 
be simultaneously in charge of more than two pharmacies.  

B. The pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) or the pharmacist on 
duty shall control all aspects of the practice of pharmacy. Any 
decision overriding such control of the PIC or other 
pharmacist on duty shall be deemed the practice of pharmacy 
and may be grounds for disciplinary action against the 
pharmacy permit.  

C. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmacy or no longer 
wishes to be designated as PIC, he shall take a complete and 
accurate inventory of all Schedule II through V controlled 
substances on hand and shall immediately return the 
pharmacy permit to the board indicating the effective date on 
which he ceased to be the PIC.  

D. Although not required by law or regulation, an outgoing 
PIC shall have the opportunity to take a complete and 
accurate inventory of all Schedule II through V controlled 
substances on hand on the date he ceases to be the PIC, unless 
the owner submits written notice to the board showing good 
cause as to why this opportunity should not be allowed.  
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E. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 
consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. 
Pharmacists-in-charge having knowledge of upcoming 
absences for longer than 30 days shall be responsible for 
notifying the board, returning the permit, and taking the 
required inventory. For unanticipated absences by the PIC, 
which exceed 15 days with no known return date within the 
next 15 days, the owner shall immediately notify the board 
and shall obtain a new PIC.  

D. F. An application for a permit designating the new PIC 
shall be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the 
original date of resignation or termination of the PIC on a 
form provided by the board. It shall be unlawful for a 
pharmacy to operate without a new permit past the 14-day 
deadline unless the board receives a request for an extension 
prior to the deadline. The executive director for the board 
may grant an extension for up to an additional 14 days for 
good cause shown.  

G. Only one pharmacy permit shall be issued to conduct a 
pharmacy occupying the same designated prescription 
department space. A pharmacy shall not engage in any other 
activity requiring a license or permit from the board, such as 
manufacturing or wholesale-distributing, out of the same 
designated prescription department space. 

H. Before any permit is issued, the applicant shall attest to 
compliance with all federal, state and local laws and 
ordinances. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to any 
person to operate from a private dwelling or residence after 
(effective date of this subsection).  

18VAC110-20-111. Pharmacy technicians.  

A. Every pharmacy that employs or uses pharmacy 
technicians shall maintain a site-specific training program and 
manual for training pharmacy technicians to work at that 
pharmacy. The program shall include training consistent with 
that specific pharmacy practice to include, but not be limited 
to, training in proper use of site-specific computer programs 
and equipment, proper use of other equipment used at the 
pharmacy in performing technician duties, and pharmacy 
calculations consistent with the duties at that pharmacy.  

B. Every pharmacy shall maintain documentation of 
successful completion of the site specific training program for 
each pharmacy technician for the duration of the employment 
and for a period of two years from date of termination of 
employment. Documentation for currently employed 
pharmacy technicians shall be maintained on site or at another 
location where the records are readily retrievable upon 
request for inspection. After employment is terminated, such 
documentation may be maintained at an off-site location 
where it is retrievable upon request.  

C. Every pharmacy that employs or uses a person enrolled in 
an approved pharmacy technician training program pursuant 
to §54.1-3321 D of the Code of Virginia shall allow such 

person to conduct tasks restricted to pharmacy technicians for 
no more than nine months without that person becoming 
registered as a pharmacy technician with the board as set 
forth in 18VAC110-20-101. Every pharmacy using such a 
person shall have documentation on site and available for 
inspection showing that the person is currently enrolled in an 
approved training program and the start date for each 
pharmacy technician in training.  

18VAC110-20-120. Special or limited-use pharmacy 
permits.  

A. For good cause shown, the board may issue a special or 
limited-use pharmacy permit, when the scope, degree or type 
of pharmacy practice or service to be provided is of a special, 
limited or unusual nature as compared to a regular pharmacy 
service. The permit to be issued shall be based on special 
conditions of use requested by the applicant and imposed by 
the board in cases where certain requirements of regulations 
may be waived. The following conditions shall apply:  

1. The application shall list the regulatory requirements for 
which a waiver is requested and a brief explanation as to 
why each requirement should not apply to that practice.  

2. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 
method of operation, hours of operation, schedules of 
drugs to be maintained by the pharmacy, and method of 
documentation of continuing pharmacist control must 
accompany the application.  

3. The issuance and continuation of such permits shall be 
subject to continuing compliance with the conditions set 
forth by the board. 

B. For a special-use pharmacy located in or providing 
services to a free clinic that uses volunteer pharmacists on a 
part-time basis with pharmacy business hours less than 20 
hours a week, the board may grant a waiver to the restricted 
access provisions of 18VAC110-20-190 under the following 
conditions:  

1. The access is only for the purpose of repairing or 
upgrading essential equipment or for the purpose of 
securing a delivered drug order in the pharmacy. 

2. The PIC shall be notified prior to each entry and give 
permission for the designated, specific individuals to enter. 

3. If entry is by a nonpharmacist, two persons must enter 
together, one of whom must be an employee or volunteer 
of the free clinic who holds a license as a nurse, physician, 
or a physician assistant. Both persons must remain in the 
pharmacy the entire time that access is required. 

4. The key or other means of unlocking the pharmacy and 
the alarm access code shall be maintained in a secure 
location within the facility in a sealed envelope or other 
container with the name of the "sealing" pharmacist written 
across the seal. If a nonpharmacist accesses the pharmacy, 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

443 
 

this means of access may be used, and the licensed health 
professional, as set forth in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection, is responsible for resealing the means of access 
and writing his name across the seal. The PIC shall ensure 
that the alarm access code is changed within 48 hours. In 
lieu of the pharmacist's signature across a seal, the 
executive director for the board may approve other 
methods of securing the emergency access to the 
prescription department. 

5. A log must be maintained of each nonpharmacist entry 
showing date and time of entry, names of the two persons 
entering, purpose for entry, and notation that permission 
was granted by the pharmacist-in-charge and the date it 
was granted. Such log shall be maintained on premises for 
one year. 

18VAC110-20-130. Pharmacy closings; going out of 
business; change of ownership.  

A. At least 14 days prior to the date a pharmacy closes in 
accordance with §54.1-3434.01 of the Code of Virginia or 
goes out of business, the owner shall notify the board. The 
proposed disposition of all Schedule II through VI drugs, 
prescription dispensing records, patient information records, 
and other required records shall be reported to the board. If 
the pharmacy drug stock and records are to be transferred to 
another licensee, the owner shall inform the board of the 
name and address of the licensee to whom the drugs and 
records are being transferred and the date of transfer. 
Prescription records for prescriptions with active refills shall 
be transferred to another pharmacy where a patient may 
obtain access for the purpose of obtaining refills either at that 
location or in accordance with the transfer provisions of 
18VAC110-20-360.  

B. Exceptions to the public notice as required in §54.1-
3434.01 of the Code of Virginia and the notice required in 
subsection A of this section shall be approved by the board 
and may include sudden closing due to fire, destruction, 
natural disaster, death, property seizure, eviction, bankruptcy, 
or other emergency circumstances. If the pharmacy is not able 
to meet the notification requirements of §54.1-3434.01, the 
owner shall ensure that the board and public are properly 
notified as soon as he knows of the closure and shall disclose 
the emergency circumstances preventing the notification 
within the required deadlines.  

C. In the event of an exception to the notice as required in 
§54.1-3434.01 of the Code of Virginia and in subsection A of 
this section, the PIC or owner shall provide notice as far in 
advance of closing as allowed by the circumstances.  

D. At least 14 days prior to any change in ownership of an 
existing pharmacy, the owner shall notify the board of the 
pending change.  

1. Upon any change in ownership of an existing pharmacy, 
the prescription dispensing records for the two years 
immediately preceding the date of change of ownership 
and other required patient information shall be provided to 
the new owners on the date of change of ownership in 
substantially the same format as previously used 
immediately prior to the transfer to provide continuity of 
pharmacy services.  

2. The previous owner shall be held responsible for 
assuring the proper and lawful transfer of records on the 
date of the transfer.  

3. The format of the prescription dispensing records which 
are transferred to a new owner shall comply with the 
requirements of Chapter 34 (§54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, and this chapter. Failure to 
comply with this chapter during a change in ownership 
shall be deemed to be a closing of the existing pharmacy 
for which the existing pharmacy owner shall be required to 
provide notice to the board and public in accordance with 
§54.1-3434.01 of the Code of Virginia and subsection A of 
this section.  

18VAC110-20-140. New pharmacies, acquisitions and 
changes to existing pharmacies.  

A. Any person wishing to open a new pharmacy, engage in 
the acquisition of an existing pharmacy, change the location 
of an existing pharmacy, move the location or make structural 
changes to an existing prescription department, or make 
changes to a previously approved security system shall file an 
application with the board.  

B. In the acquisition of an existing pharmacy, if prescription 
records are to be accessible to anyone for purposes other than 
for continuity of pharmacy services at substantially the same 
level offered by the previous owner or for the necessary 
transfer of prescription records, the owner of the pharmacy 
acquiring the records shall disclose such information in 
writing to each patient 14 days prior to the acquisition. Such 
release of prescription records shall be allowed only to the 
extent authorized by §32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. The proposed location or structural changes shall be 
inspected by an authorized agent of the board prior to 
issuance of a permit.  

1. Pharmacy permit applications which indicate a requested 
inspection date, or requests which are received after the 
application is filed, shall be honored provided a 14-day 
notice is allowed prior to the requested inspection date.  

2. Requested inspection dates which do not allow a 14-day 
notice to the board may be adjusted by the board to provide 
14 days for the scheduling of the inspection.  

3. At the time of the inspection, the dispensing area shall 
comply with 18VAC110-20-150, 18VAC110-20-160, 
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18VAC110-20-170, 18VAC110-20-180, and 18VAC110-
20-190.  

4. If an applicant substantially fails to meet the 
requirements for issuance of a permit and a reinspection is 
required, or if the applicant is not ready for the inspection 
on the established date and fails to notify the inspector or 
the board at least 24 hours prior to the inspection, the 
applicant shall pay a reinspection fee as specified in 
18VAC110-20-20 prior to a reinspection being conducted.  

D. Drugs shall not be stocked within the proposed pharmacy 
or moved to a new location until approval is granted by the 
inspector or board staff.  

E. Once the permit is issued, prescription drugs may not be 
stocked earlier than two weeks prior to the designated 
opening date. Once prescription drugs have been placed in the 
pharmacy, a pharmacist shall be present on a daily basis to 
ensure the safety and integrity of the drugs. If there is a 
change in the designated opening date, the pharmacy shall 
notify the board office, and a pharmacist shall continue to be 
on site on a daily basis. 

18VAC110-20-180. Security system.  

A. A device for the detection of breaking shall be installed 
in each prescription department of each pharmacy. The 
installation and the device shall be based on accepted burglar 
alarm industry standards, and shall be subject to the following 
conditions:  

1. The device shall be a sound, microwave, photoelectric, 
ultrasonic, or any other generally accepted and suitable 
device.  

2. The device shall be monitored in accordance with 
accepted industry standards, maintained in operating order 
and shall , have an auxiliary source of power, and be 
capable of sending an alarm signal to the monitoring entity 
when breached if the communication line is not 
operational.  

3. The device shall fully protect the prescription 
department and shall be capable of detecting breaking by 
any means when activated.  

4. Access to the alarm system for the prescription 
department area of the pharmacy shall be restricted to the 
pharmacists working at the pharmacy, except for access by 
other persons in accordance with 18VAC110-20-190 B 2, 
and the system shall be activated whenever the prescription 
department is closed for business.  

B. Exceptions to provisions in this section: 

5. This regulation shall not apply to pharmacies which 
have been granted a permit 1. Alarm systems approved 
prior to November 4, 1993, will be deemed to meet the 
requirements of subdivisions A 1, 2, and 3, provided that a 
previously approved security alarm system is in place, that 

no structural changes are made in the prescription 
department, that no changes are made in the security 
system, that the prescription department is not closed while 
the rest of the business remains open, and provided further 
that a breaking and loss of drugs does not occur. If a 
breaking with a loss of drugs occurs, the pharmacy shall 
immediately upgrade the alarm to meet the current 
standards and shall file an application with the board in 
accordance with 18VAC110-20-140 A. 

6. 2. If the prescription department was located in a 
business with extended hours prior to November 4, 1993, 
and had met the special security requirements by having a 
floor to ceiling enclosure, a separately activated alarm 
system shall not be required.  

7. 3. This section shall not apply to pharmacies which are 
open and staffed by pharmacists 24 hours a day. If the 
pharmacy changes its hours or if it must be closed for any 
reason, the PIC or owner must immediately notify the 
board, file an application in accordance with 18VAC110-
20-140 A, and have installed within 72 hours prior to 
closing, a security system which that meets the 
requirements of subdivisions A 1 through 4 of this section.  

18VAC110-20-190. Prescription department enclosures; 
access to prescription department.  

A. The prescription departments department of each 
pharmacy shall be provided with enclosures subject to the 
following conditions:  

1. The enclosure shall be constructed in such a manner that 
it protects the controlled drug stock prescription drugs 
from unauthorized entry and from pilferage at all times 
whether or not a pharmacist is on duty.  

2. The enclosure shall be of sufficient height as to prevent 
a person from reaching over to gain access to the drugs 
locked and alarmed at all times when a pharmacist is not 
on duty. 

3. Entrances to the enclosed area must have a door with no 
more than a six-inch gap from the floor and which is at 
least as high as the adjacent structure. The requirement for 
a maximum six-inch gap shall not apply to those 
pharmacies in existence prior to February 3, 1999, with the 
exception of any pharmacy which experiences a related 
diversion or theft. The enclosure shall be capable of being 
locked in a secure manner at any time the pharmacist on 
duty is not present in the prescription department. 

4. Doors to the area must have locking devices which will 
prevent unauthorized entry in the absence of the 
pharmacist.  

B. The door keys or other means of entry into a locked 
prescription department and the alarm access code to the 
dispensing areas shall be subject to the following 
requirements: 1. Only restricted to pharmacists practicing at 
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the pharmacy and authorized by the PIC shall be in 
possession of any keys to or other means of opening the 
locking device on the door to such enclosure, or to the alarm 
access code. with the following exceptions: 

2. 1. The PIC or a pharmacist on duty, for emergency 
access, may place a key or other means of opening the 
locking device unlocking the prescription department and 
the alarm access code in a sealed envelope or other 
container with the pharmacist's signature across the seal in 
a safe or vault or other secured place within the pharmacy 
or other secured place. This key or code means of 
emergency access shall only be used to allow entrance to 
the prescription department by other pharmacists, or by a 
pharmacy technician in accordance with subsection D of 
this section. In lieu of the pharmacist's signature across a 
seal, the executive director for the board may approve 
other methods of securing the emergency keys or access 
codes to the prescription department.  

2. Pharmacy interns, pharmacy technicians, and other 
persons authorized by the PIC or pharmacist on duty may 
possess a key or other means of entry into a locked 
prescription department only when a pharmacist is on duty. 
Such key or other means of entry shall not allow entry 
when a pharmacist is not on duty.  

C. The prescription department is restricted to pharmacists 
who are practicing at the pharmacy. Interns Pharmacy interns, 
pharmacy technicians, and other persons designated by the 
pharmacist on duty may be allowed access by the pharmacist 
but only during the hours when the pharmacist is on duty. 
Each pharmacist while on duty shall be responsible for the 
security of the pharmacy, including provisions for effective 
control against theft or diversion of prescription drugs and 
devices. 

D. Upon a request by a patient to obtain an already-
dispensed prescription, a pharmacy technician may enter the 
pharmacy for the sole purpose of retrieving filled 
prescriptions that have already been reviewed and certified 
for accuracy by a pharmacist and deemed ready for delivery 
to the patient if:  

1. There is an unforeseen, unplanned absence of a 
pharmacist scheduled to work during regular prescription 
department hours;  

2. Alternate pharmacist coverage cannot immediately be 
obtained;  

3. The technician is accompanied by a member of the 
pharmacy's management or administration; and  

4. All requirements of subsection E of this section are met.  

E. Requirements for entry into the prescription department 
in the absence of a pharmacist.  

1. The requirements for prescriptions awaiting delivery in 
subsection A of 18VAC110-20-200 are followed.  

2. Prior to entry into the prescription department, the 
pharmacy technician shall obtain verbal permission from 
the PIC or another pharmacist regularly employed by that 
pharmacy to obtain and use the emergency key or other 
access and alarm access code and enter the pharmacy.  

3. A record shall be made by the pharmacy technician of 
the entry to include the date and time of entry; the name 
and signature of the pharmacy technician; the name, title, 
and signature of the person accompanying the pharmacy 
technician; the pharmacist's name granting permission to 
enter and telephone number where the pharmacist was 
reached; the name of the patient initially requesting needed 
medication and the nature of the emergency; a listing of all 
prescriptions retrieved during that entry; and the time of 
exit and re-securing of the prescription department.  

4. The pharmacy technician shall reseal the key and alarm 
access code after the pharmacy is re-secured, and the PIC 
shall have the alarm access code changed within 48 hours 
of such an entry and shall document that this has been 
accomplished on the record of entry.  

5. All records related to entry by a pharmacy technician 
shall be maintained for a period of one year on premises.  

18VAC110-20-200. Storage of drugs, devices, and 
controlled paraphernalia; expired drugs.  

A. Prescriptions awaiting delivery. Prescriptions prepared 
for delivery to the patient may be placed in a secure place 
secured area outside of the prescription department and, not 
accessible to the public, where access to the prescriptions is 
restricted to individuals designated by the pharmacist to 
designated clerical assistants. With the permission of the 
pharmacist, the prepared prescriptions may be transferred to 
the patient at a time when the pharmacist is not on duty. If a 
prescription is delivered at a time when the pharmacist is not 
on duty, written procedures shall be established and followed 
by the pharmacy which detail security of the dispensed 
prescriptions and a method of compliance with counseling 
requirements of §54.1-3319 of the Code of Virginia. 
Additionally, a log shall be made and maintained of all 
prescriptions delivered to a patient when a pharmacist is not 
present to include the patient's name, prescription number(s), 
date of delivery, and the signature of the person receiving the 
prescription. Such log shall be maintained for a period of one 
year.  

B. Dispersion of Schedule II drugs. Schedule II drugs shall 
either be dispersed with other schedules of drugs or shall be 
maintained within a securely locked cabinet, drawer, or safe. 
The cabinet, drawer, or safe may remain unlocked during 
hours that the prescription department is open and a 
pharmacist is on duty.  
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C. Safeguards for controlled paraphernalia and Schedule VI 
medical devices. Controlled paraphernalia and Schedule VI 
medical devices shall not be placed in an area completely 
removed from the prescription department whereby patrons 
will have free access to such items or where the pharmacist 
cannot exercise reasonable supervision and control.  

D. Expired, or otherwise adulterated or misbranded drugs; 
security. Any drug which has exceeded the expiration date, or 
is otherwise adulterated or misbranded, shall not be dispensed 
or sold; it shall be separated from the stock used for 
dispensing. Expired prescription drugs shall be maintained in 
a designated area within the prescription department until 
proper disposal.  

18VAC110-20-210. Disposal of drugs by pharmacies.  

If a PIC wishes to dispose of unwanted drugs, he shall use 
one of the following procedures:  

1. Transfer the drugs to another person or entity authorized 
to possess or provide for proper disposal of such drugs; or  

2. Destroy the drugs by burning in an incinerator, or other 
board-approved method, in compliance with all applicable 
local, state, and federal laws and regulations. If Schedule II 
through V drugs are to be destroyed, the following 
procedures shall apply:  

a. At least 14 days prior to the destruction date, the PIC 
shall provide a written notice to the board office; the 
notice shall state the following:  

(1) Date, time, manner, and place of destruction.  

(2) The names of the pharmacists who will witness the 
destruction process.  

b. If the destruction date is to be changed or the 
destruction does not occur, a new notice shall be 
provided to the board office as set forth above in 
subdivision 2 of this section.  

c. The actual destruction shall be witnessed by the PIC 
and another pharmacist not employed by the pharmacy.  

d. The DEA drug destruction form shall be fully 
completed and used as the record of all drugs to be 
destroyed. A copy of the destruction form shall be 
retained at the pharmacy with other inventory records.  

Part VI  
Drug Inventory and Records  

18VAC110-20-240. Manner of maintaining records, 
prescriptions, inventory records.  

A. Each pharmacy shall maintain the inventories and records 
of drugs as follows:  

1. Inventories and records of all drugs listed in Schedules I 
and II shall be maintained separately from all other records 
of the pharmacy. Each pharmacy shall maintain a perpetual 

inventory of all Schedule II drugs received and dispensed, 
with reconciliation at least every 30 days. Electronic 
monitoring at the pharmacy or by another entity that 
provides alerts for discrepancies between drugs received 
and drugs dispensed is acceptable provided such alerts are 
reviewed at least monthly. 

2. Inventories and records of drugs listed in Schedules III, 
IV, and V may be maintained separately or with records of 
Schedule VI drugs but shall not be maintained with other 
records of the pharmacy.  

3. All executed order forms, prescriptions, and inventories 
of Schedule II through V drugs shall be maintained at the 
same location address as the stock of drugs to which the 
records pertain. If authorized by DEA, other records 
pertaining to Schedule II through V drugs, such as 
invoices, may be maintained in an off-site database or in 
secured storage. All records in off-site storage shall be 
retrieved and made available for inspection or audit within 
48 hours of a request by the board or an authorized agent.  

4. In the event that an inventory is taken as the result of a 
theft of drugs pursuant to §54.1-3404 of the Drug Control 
Act, the inventory shall be used as the opening inventory 
within the current biennial period. Such an inventory does 
not preclude the taking of the required inventory on the 
required biennial inventory date.  

5. 4. All inventories required by §54.1-3404 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be signed and dated by the person taking the 
inventory and shall indicate whether the inventory was 
taken prior to the opening of business or after close of 
business. A 24-hour pharmacy with no opening or closing 
of business shall clearly document whether the receipt or 
distribution of drugs on the inventory date occurred before 
or after the inventory was taken.  

5. Invoices or other records showing receipts of Schedule 
VI drugs shall be maintained, but may be stored in an 
electronic database or record as an electronic image that 
provides an exact, clearly legible, image of the document 
or in secured storage either on or off site. All records in 
off-site storage or database shall be retrieved and made 
available for inspection or audit within 48 hours of a 
request by the board or an authorized agent.  

6. All records required by this section shall be filed 
chronologically and maintained for a period of not less 
than two years from the date of transaction.  

B. Prescriptions.  

1. A hard copy prescription shall be placed on file for 
every initial prescription dispensed and be maintained for 
two years from the date of last refill. All prescriptions shall 
be filed chronologically by date of initial dispensing.  

2. Schedule II drugs. Prescriptions for Schedule II drugs 
shall be maintained in a separate prescription file.  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

447 
 

3. Schedule III through V drugs. Prescriptions for Schedule 
III through V drugs shall be maintained either in a separate 
prescription file for drugs listed in Schedules III, IV, and V 
only or in such form that they are readily retrievable from 
the other prescriptions of the pharmacy. Prescriptions will 
be deemed readily retrievable if, at the time they are 
initially filed, the face of the prescription is stamped in red 
ink in the lower right corner with the letter "C" no less than 
one inch high and filed in the prescription file for drugs 
listed in the usual consecutively numbered prescription file 
for Schedule VI drugs. However, if a pharmacy employs 
an automated data processing system or other electronic 
recordkeeping system for prescriptions which permits 
identification by prescription number and retrieval of 
original documents by prescriber's name, patient's name, 
drug dispensed, and date filled, then the requirement to 
mark the hard copy prescription with a red "C" is waived.  

C. Chart orders.  

1. A chart order written for a patient in a hospital or long-
term care facility, a patient receiving home infusion 
services, or a hospice patient pursuant to §54.1-3408.01 A 
of the Code of Virginia shall be exempt from having to 
contain all required information of a written prescription 
provided:  

a. This information is contained in other readily 
retrievable records of the pharmacy; and  

b. The pharmacy maintains a current policy and 
procedure manual that sets out where this information is 
maintained and how to retrieve it and the minimum 
requirements for chart orders consistent with state and 
federal law and accepted standard of care.  

2. A chart order may serve as the hard copy prescription 
for those patients listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

3. Requirements for filing of chart orders.  

a. Chart orders shall be filed chronologically by date of 
initial dispensing with the following exception: If 
dispensing data can be produced showing a complete 
audit trail for any requested drug for a specified time 
period and each chart order is readily retrievable upon 
request, chart orders may be filed using another method. 
Such alternate method shall be clearly documented in a 
current policy and procedure manual.  

b. If a single chart order contains both an order for a 
Schedule II drug and one or more orders for a drug in 
another schedule, where the Schedule II drug is not floor 
stocked, but is dispensed from the pharmacy pursuant to 
this order for the specific patient, the original order must 
be filed with records of dispensing of Schedule II drugs 
and a copy of the order placed in the file for other 
schedules.  

Part VII  
Prescription Order and Dispensing Standards  

18VAC110-20-270. Dispensing of prescriptions; 
certification of completed prescriptions; supervision of 
pharmacy technicians.  

A. In addition to the acts restricted to a pharmacist in §54.1-
3320 A of the Code of Virginia, a pharmacist shall provide 
personal supervision of compounding of extemporaneous 
preparations by pharmacy technicians.  

B. A pharmacist directly monitoring the activities of a 
person enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician training 
program who is performing the tasks restricted to a pharmacy 
technician prior to registration in accordance with §54.1-3321 
D of the Code of Virginia shall not monitor more than two 
such trainees at the same time, and at no time shall a 
pharmacist supervise more than four persons performing 
technician functions to include technicians and trainees. A 
pharmacist shall determine the number of pharmacy interns, 
pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy technician trainees he 
can safely and competently supervise at one time.  

C. After the prescription has been prepared and prior to the 
delivery of the order, the pharmacist shall inspect the 
prescription product to verify its accuracy in all respects, and 
place his initials on the record of dispensing as a certification 
of the accuracy of, and the responsibility for, the entire 
transaction. Such record showing verification of accuracy 
shall be maintained on a pharmacy record for the required 
time period of two years, unless otherwise specified in 
regulation. 

D. If a pharmacist declines to fill a prescription for any 
reason other than the unavailability of the drug prescribed, he 
shall record on the back of the prescription the word 
"declined"; the name, address, and telephone number of the 
pharmacy; the date filling of the prescription was declined; 
and the signature of the pharmacist.  

E. If a pharmacist determines from a prescriber or other 
means that a prescription presented for dispensing is a 
forgery, the pharmacist shall not return the forged 
prescription to the person presenting it. The forged 
prescription may be given to a law-enforcement official 
investigating the forgery; or it shall be retained for a 
minimum of 30 days before destroying it, in the event it is 
needed for an investigative or other legitimate purpose. 

18VAC110-20-275. Delivery of dispensed prescriptions.  

A. Pursuant to §54.1-3420.2 B of the Code of Virginia, in 
addition to direct hand delivery to a patient or patient's agent 
or delivery to a patient's residence, a pharmacy may deliver 
prescriptions to another pharmacy, to a practitioner of the 
healing arts licensed to practice pharmacy or to sell controlled 
substances, or to an authorized person or entity holding a 
controlled substances registration issued for this purpose in 
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compliance with this section and any other applicable state or 
federal law.  

B. Delivery to another pharmacy.  

1. One pharmacy may fill prescriptions and deliver the 
prescriptions to a second pharmacy for patient pickup or 
direct delivery to the patient provided the two pharmacies 
have the same owner, or have a written contract or 
agreement specifying the services to be provided by each 
pharmacy, the responsibilities of each pharmacy, and the 
manner in which each pharmacy will comply with all 
applicable federal and state law.  

2. Each pharmacy using such a drug delivery system shall 
maintain and comply with all procedures in a current 
policy and procedure manual that includes the following 
information:  

a. A description of how each pharmacy will comply with 
all applicable federal and state law;  

b. The procedure for maintaining required, retrievable 
dispensing records to include which pharmacy maintains 
the hard-copy prescription, which pharmacy maintains 
the active prescription record for refilling purposes, how 
each pharmacy will access prescription information 
necessary to carry out its assigned responsibilities, 
method of recordkeeping for identifying the pharmacist 
or pharmacists responsible for dispensing the prescription 
and counseling the patient, and how and where this 
information can be accessed upon request by the board;  

c. The procedure for tracking the prescription during 
each stage of the filling, dispensing, and delivery 
process;  

d. The procedure for identifying on the prescription label 
all pharmacies involved in filling and dispensing the 
prescription;  

e. The policy and procedure for providing adequate 
security to protect the confidentiality and integrity of 
patient information;  

f. The policy and procedure for ensuring accuracy and 
accountability in the delivery process;  

g. The procedure and recordkeeping for returning to the 
initiating pharmacy any prescriptions that are not 
delivered to the patient; and  

h. The procedure for informing the patient and obtaining 
consent if required by law for using such a dispensing 
and delivery process.  

3. Drugs waiting to be picked up at or delivered from the 
second pharmacy shall be stored in accordance with 
subsection A of 18VAC110-20-200.  

C. Delivery to a practitioner of the healing arts licensed by 
the board to practice pharmacy or to sell controlled 

substances or other authorized person or entity holding a 
controlled substances registration authorized for this purpose.  

1. A prescription may be delivered by a pharmacy to the 
office of such a practitioner or other authorized person 
provided there is a written contract or agreement between 
the two parties describing the procedures for such a 
delivery system and the responsibilities of each party.  

2. Each pharmacy using this delivery system shall maintain 
a policy and procedure manual that includes the following 
information:  

a. Procedure for tracking and assuring security, 
accountability, integrity, and accuracy of delivery for the 
dispensed prescription from the time it leaves the 
pharmacy until it is handed to the patient or agent of the 
patient;  

b. Procedure for providing counseling;  

c. Procedure and recordkeeping for return of any 
prescription medications not delivered to the patient;  

d. The procedure for assuring confidentiality of patient 
information; and  

e. The procedure for informing the patient and obtaining 
consent if required by law for using such a delivery 
process.  

3. Prescriptions waiting to be picked up by a patient at the 
alternate site shall be stored in a lockable room or lockable 
cabinet, cart, or other device that cannot be easily moved 
and that shall be locked at all times when not in use. 
Access shall be restricted to the licensed practitioner of the 
healing arts or the responsible party listed on the 
application for the controlled substances registration, or 
either person's designee.  

D. The contracts or agreements and the policy and procedure 
manuals required by this section for alternate delivery shall be 
maintained both at the originating pharmacy as well as the 
alternate delivery site. 

E. A controlled substances registration as an alternate 
delivery site shall only be issued to an entity without a 
prescriber or pharmacist present at all times the site is open if 
there is a valid patient health or safety reason not to deliver 
dispensed prescriptions directly to the patient and if 
compliance with all requirements for security, policies, and 
procedures can be reasonably assured. 

18VAC110-20-280. Transmission of a prescription order 
by facsimile machine.  

A. Prescription orders for Schedule III through VI drugs 
may be transmitted to pharmacies by facsimile device (FAX) 
upon the following conditions:  

1. The prescription shall be faxed only to the pharmacy of 
the patient's choice.  
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2. A valid faxed prescription shall contain all required 
information for a prescription. A written prescription shall 
include the prescriber's signature.  

3. An authorized agent, as defined in §54.1-3408.01 D of 
the Code of Virginia, may transmit an oral prescription by 
facsimile and shall record on the faxed prescription the 
agent's full name and wording that clearly indicates that the 
prescription being transmitted is an oral prescription.  

4. A faxed prescription shall be valid only if faxed from the 
prescriber's practice location, except in the following 
situations: 

for forwarding a. Forwarding a faxed chart order from a 
long-term care facility or from a hospice, including a 
home hospice; 

b. Faxing an oral prescription by authorized agent under 
the conditions set forth in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection; or 

c. Forwarding a written prescription by an authorized 
agent from a long-term care facility, provided the 
provider pharmacy maintains written procedures for such 
transactions, and provided the original prescription is 
obtained by the provider pharmacy within seven days of 
dispensing.  The original prescription shall be attached to 
the faxed copy. 

5. The following additional information shall be recorded 
on the faxed prescription: 

a. The date that the prescription was faxed; 

b. The printed name, address, phone number, and fax 
number of the authorized prescriber; and 

c. The institution, if applicable, from which the 
prescription was faxed, including address, phone number 
and fax number. 

B. Prescription orders for Schedule II drugs may only be 
faxed for information purposes and may not serve as the 
original written prescription authorizing dispensing, except 
for orders to be administered to nursing home long-term care 
facility and home infusion patients in accordance with §54.1-
3408.01 C B of the Code of Virginia and except for 
prescriptions written for a Schedule II narcotic substance for 
patients residing in a hospice certified by Medicare under 
Title XVIII or licensed by the state, which may include home 
hospice. The prescriber shall note on the prescription if the 
patient is a hospice patient, and the prescription shall meet all 
requirements for a written prescription, including the 
prescriber's signature.   

C. If the faxed prescription is of such quality that the print 
will fade and not remain legible for the required retention 
period, the receiving pharmacist shall copy or transcribe the 
faxed prescription on paper of permanent quality.  

D. Authorizations for refills may be faxed by the prescriber 
to the pharmacy provided the authorization includes patient 
name, address, drug name and strength, quantity, directions 
for use, prescriber's name, prescriber's signature or agent's 
name, and date of authorization.  

18VAC110-20-286. Chart orders for outpatients. 

A chart order may be filled by an outpatient 
(community/retail) pharmacy for outpatient use provided the 
following conditions are met: 

1. The chart order was written for a patient while in a 
hospital or long-term care facility. 

2. The pharmacist has all information necessary to 
constitute a valid outpatient prescription. 

3. The pharmacist in an outpatient setting has direction, 
either written or obtained verbally, that the chart order is 
actually intended to be outpatient or discharge prescription 
orders, and not merely a listing drugs the patient was 
taking while an inpatient. 

4. The orders include some direction related to quantity to 
be dispensed or authorized duration of the order by which 
the pharmacist can calculate the authorized quantity using 
directions for use and duration. 

18VAC110-20-320. Refilling of Schedule III through VI 
prescriptions.  

A. A prescription for a drug listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 
shall not be dispensed or refilled more than six months after 
the date on which such prescription was issued, and no such 
prescription authorized to be filled may be refilled more than 
five times.  

1. Each refilling of a prescription shall be entered on the 
back of the prescription or on another record in accordance 
with §54.1-3412 and 18VAC110-20-255, initialed and 
dated by the pharmacist as of the date of dispensing. If the 
pharmacist merely initials and dates the prescription, it 
shall be presumed that the entire quantity ordered was 
dispensed.  

2. The partial dispensing of a prescription for a drug listed 
in Schedule III, IV, or V is permissible, provided that:  

a. Each partial dispensing is recorded in the same manner 
as a refilling;  

b. The total quantity of drug dispensed in all partial 
dispensing does not exceed the total quantity prescribed; 
and  

c. No dispensing occurs after six months after the date on 
which the prescription order was issued.  

B. A prescription for a drug listed in Schedule VI shall be 
refilled only as expressly authorized by the practitioner. If no 
such authorization is given, the prescription shall not be 
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refilled, except as provided in §54.1-3410 C or subdivision 4 
of §54.1-3411 of the Code of Virginia.  

A prescription for a Schedule VI drug or device shall not be 
dispensed or refilled more than one year after the date on 
which it was issued unless the prescriber specifically 
authorizes dispensing or refilling for a longer period of time 
not to exceed two years.  

C. As an alternative to all manual recordkeeping 
requirements provided for in subsections A and B of this 
section, an automated data processing system as provided in 
18VAC110-20-250 may be used for the storage and retrieval 
of all or part of dispensing information for prescription drugs 
dispensed.  

D. Authorized refills of all prescription drugs may only be 
dispensed in The timing of dispensing an authorized refill of a 
prescription shall be within reasonable conformity with the 
directions for use as indicated by the practitioner; if directions 
have not been provided, then any authorized refills may only 
be dispensed in reasonable conformity with the recommended 
dosage and with the exercise of sound professional judgment. 
 An authorized refill may be dispensed early provided the 
pharmacist documents a valid reason for the necessity of the 
early refill. 

18VAC110-20-340. Packaging standards for dispensed 
prescriptions.  

A. A drug shall be dispensed only in packaging approved by 
the current U.S.P.-N.F. for that drug. In the absence of such 
packaging standard for that drug, it shall be dispensed in a 
well-closed container.  

B. Drugs may be dispensed in compliance packaging for 
self-administration when requested by the patient or for use in 
hospitals or long-term care facilities provided that such 
packaging meets all current U.S.P.-N.F. standards for 
packaging, labeling and record keeping. Compliance 
packaging that is comprised of a series of individual 
containers or pockets labeled with the specific date and time 
when the contents of that container are to be taken, and which 
may contain more than one different drug, shall comply with 
USP-NF standards for customized patient medication 
packages to include: 

1. If the packaging allows for the separation of the 
individual containers, the labels for each individual 
container shall be labeled with the identity of each of the 
drug products contained within; and 

2. The main packaging label shall contain all the required 
elements for any outpatient prescription label and shall 
contain a physical description identifying each solid 
dosage form contained within the individual containers.  

18VAC110-20-350. Special packaging.  

A. Each drug dispensed to a person in a household shall be 
dispensed in special packaging except when otherwise 
directed in a prescription by a practitioner, when otherwise 
requested by the purchaser, or when such drug is exempted 
from 16 CFR §1702.1 et seq. promulgated pursuant to the 
Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970 (15 USC §§1471-
1476).  

B. Each pharmacy may have a sign posted near the 
prescription department advising the patients that nonspecial 
packaging may be requested.  

C. B. If nonspecial packaging is requested, a release of such 
request shall be obtained from the patient or the patient's 
authorized agent and maintained for two years from the date 
of dispensing a notation shall be made on the dispensing 
record or other retrievable record.  

18VAC110-20-355. Pharmacy repackaging of drug; 
records required; labeling requirements.  

A. Pharmacies in which bulk reconstitution of injectable, 
bulk compounding or the repackaging or prepackaging of 
drugs is performed shall maintain adequate control records 
for a period of one year or until the expiration, whichever is 
greater. The records shall show the name of the drug(s) used; 
strength, if any; date repackaged; quantity prepared; initials of 
the pharmacist verifying the process; the assigned lot or 
control number; the manufacturer's or distributor's name and 
lot or control number; and an expiration date.  

B. The drug name; strength, if any; the assigned lot or 
control number or the manufacturer's or distributor's name 
and lot or control number; and an appropriate expiration date 
determined by the pharmacist in accordance with USP 
guidelines shall appear on any subsequently repackaged or 
reconstituted units.  

C. Pharmacies using automated counting devices or 
dispensers in which drugs are removed from manufacturer's 
original packaging and placed in bulk bins shall comply with 
the following requirements:  

1. A bin filling record shall be maintained, manually or in a 
computerized record for a period of one year from date of 
filling from which information can be readily retrieved, for 
each bin including: 

a. The drug name and strength, if any;  

b. The name of the manufacturer or distributor;  

c. Manufacturer's control or lot number(s) and expiration 
date for all lots placed into the bin at the time of filling;  

d. Any assigned lot number; and 

e. An expiration date determined according to USP 
guidelines for repackaging; 
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f. The date of filling; and 

g. The pharmacist's initials verifying the accuracy of the 
process. 

2. If more than one lot is added to a bin at the same time, 
the lot which expires first shall be used to determine the 
expiration date if shorter than a calculated date based on 
USP guidelines. 

3. Each bin shall be labeled in such a manner as to cross-
reference the information on the filling record with the 
correct expiration date. 

4. If only one lot is added to a bin at one time, but a second 
subsequent lot may be added before the first has cleared, 
the automated device shall be constructed to reasonably 
dispense the first lot before the second lot is dispensed, the 
expiration date on the bin's label shall reflect the expiration 
date assigned to the earlier lot, and the bin shall be allowed 
to "run dry" where all product is completely removed prior 
to filling at least once every 60 days with a record made of 
the run dry dates. 

D. A pharmacy may return a dispensed drug to stock for 
redispensing that has never left the pharmacy premises or the 
control of the pharmacy delivery agent pursuant to §54.1-
3411.1 A 3 of the Code of Virginia under the following 
conditions: 

1. An expiration date shall be placed on the label prior to 
returning the drug to stock.  In the absence of stability data 
to the contrary, the date on the label may not exceed the 
expiration date on the manufacturer’s container or one year 
from the date the drug was originally dispensed and placed 
in the prescription vial, whichever date is earlier.  

2. The restocked drug shall be used to fill the next 
prescription received for that product.  In the event that the 
drug is not dispensed prior to the new assigned expiration 
date, it shall be removed from working stock as expired, 
and disposed of in accordance with 18VAC110-20-210. 

3. If there is no lot number on the label of a drug returned 
to stock or on the prescription records that can be cross-
referenced from the prescription label, the drug shall be 
removed from stock upon any recall of that drug product 
and returned to the manufacturer or otherwise disposed of 
in accordance with 18VAC110-20-210.  

18VAC110-20-391. Prescription blanks. 

If a pharmacy provides prescription blanks to prescribers, no 
advertising or other information shall be on the face of the 
prescription blank other than prompts for essential 
information required by law to be on a written prescription. 
Any nonessential information such as coupons or pharmacy 
name may be placed on the back of the prescription blank or 
on a separate sheet of paper, but shall not be on or attached to 
the face of the blank. 

18VAC110-20-395. Purchase of drugs.  

Except for an emergency purchase from another pharmacy, a 
pharmacist may only purchase Schedule II through VI drugs 
from a wholesale distributor or warehouser licensed or 
registered by the board.  

18VAC110-20-410. Permitted physician licensed by the 
board.  

A. Pursuant to §54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia, 
physicians licensed by the board to dispense drugs, when 
pharmacy services are not reasonably available, shall be 
subject to the following sections of this chapter. For purposes 
of this section, the terms "pharmacist," "pharmacist-in-
charge," "pharmacy," and "PIC" in the following shall be 
deemed to mean the physician permitted by the board:  

1. 18VAC110-20-110 C and D;  

2. 18VAC110-20-130 A;  

3. 18VAC110-20-140 A and C;  

4. 18VAC110-20-150 except that these requirements shall 
not apply to physicians licensed prior to August 25, 2004, 
unless the dispensing area is relocated or remodeled;  

5. 18VAC110-20-160;  

6. 18VAC110-20-180;  

7. 18VAC110-20-190 A, B and C;  

8. 18VAC110-20-200;  

9. 18VAC110-20-210; and  

10. 18VAC110-20-240 through 18VAC110-20-410.  

B. A physician may apply for a special or limited use permit 
in accordance with 18VAC110-20-120.  

18VAC110-20-425. Robotic Pharmacy Systems pharmacy 
systems.  

A. A pharmacy providing services to a hospital or a long-
term care facility using a unit dose dispensing system may 
apply for approval of operate a robotic pharmacy system and 
a waiver of 18VAC110-20-270 B dispensing unit dose, bar-
coded drugs, and is exempted from 18VAC110-20-270 C, 
provided the accuracy of the final dispensed prescription 
product is determined by complies with a written quality 
assurance plan and requirements of this chapter. An applicant 
shall apply using a form provided by the board and shall pay 
a fee as set forth in 18VAC110-20-20. The following 
requirements for operation of a robotic pharmacy system shall 
apply: 

1. Pharmacists shall review for accuracy and 
appropriateness of therapy all data entry of prescription 
orders into the computer operating the system. 
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2. The packaging, repackaging, stocking and restocking of 
the robotic pharmacy system shall be performed by 
pharmacy technicians or pharmacists. 

3. Pharmacists shall verify and check for the accuracy of 
all drugs packaged or repackaged for use by the robot by a 
visual check of both labeling and contents prior to stocking 
the drugs in the robotic pharmacy system. A repackaging 
record shall be maintained in accordance with 18VAC110-
20-355 A, and the verifying pharmacist shall initial the 
record. Packaging and labeling, including the appropriate 
beyond-use date, shall conform to requirements of this 
chapter and current USP-NF standards. 

4. A written policy and procedure must be maintained and 
shall include at a minimum, procedures for ensuring: 

a. Accurate packaging and repackaging of all drugs for 
use in the robotic pharmacy system, to include properly 
labeled barcodes, and method for ensuring pharmacist 
verification of all packaged and repacked drugs 
compliant with this chapter;  

b. Accurate stocking and restocking of the robotic 
pharmacy system; 

c. Removing expired drugs; 

d. Proper handling of drugs that may be dropped by the 
robotic pharmacy system;  

e. Performing routine maintenance of robotic pharmacy 
system as indicated by manufacturer’s schedules and 
recommendations; 

f. Accurate dispensing of drugs via robotic pharmacy 
system for cart fills, first doses, and cart fill updates 
during normal operation and during any scheduled or 
unscheduled downtime; 

g. Appropriately investigating, identifying and correcting 
sources of discrepancies or errors associated with the 
robotic pharmacy system; and 

h. Maintaining quality assurance reports. 

5. Pharmacists shall perform a daily random check of 
medications picked by the robot for 5.0% of all patients' 
bins and 5.0% of all first doses or cart updates. 
Documentation of this check shall include the pharmacist’s 
initials for each medication checked and a description of 
all discrepancies found. 

6. All manual picks shall be checked by pharmacists. 

7. If the robot picks an incorrect medication, the pharmacy 
shall immediately institute a 100% check of all patients’ 
bins or doses and shall immediately report the error to the 
board. The 100% check procedure shall continue until such 
time as the pharmacy provides documentation to the board 
showing that the cause of the error has been determined 
and addressed and that the robot is no longer making 

errors, and the board allows the pharmacy to return to a 
reduction in checking. 

8. Quarterly quality assurance reports demonstrating the 
accuracy of the robot shall be maintained. At a minimum, 
these reports shall include:  

a. A summary indicating the date and description of all 
discrepancies that include but are not limited to 
discrepancies involving the packaging, repackaging and 
dispensing of drugs via the robotic pharmacy system 
found during that quarter plus a cumulative summary 
since initiation of the robotic pharmacy system. 

b. The total number of doses packaged for the robotic 
pharmacy system and total number of doses picked by 
the robot during the quarter. 

c. The total number of doses picked by the robot that 
were checked in conducting the 5.0% patient bin check, 
5.0% cart updates check, and 5.0% first dose check. 

d. Dates and time associated with any scheduled or 
unanticipated downtime with an explanation of the 
problem to include the time span of the downtime and the 
resolution.  

9. All unanticipated downtime shall be immediately 
reported to the board. 

10. All records required by this section shall be maintained 
at the address of the pharmacy for a minimum of two 
years. Records may be maintained in offsite storage or as 
an electronic image that provides an exact image of the 
document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 
electronic storage is retrievable and made available for 
inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 
board or an authorized agent.  

B. A copy of the quality assurance plan shall be submitted as 
a part of the application and shall include at a minimum the 
following:  

1. Method of ensuring accurate packaging and loading of 
the robotic pharmacy system.  

2. Procedures for conducting quality control checks of final 
dispensing for accuracy.  

3. Manufacturer's schedules and recommendations for 
maintenance of the device.  

4. Plan for maintenance of all related documentation for a 
minimum of two years.  

C. The application shall be reviewed by an informal 
conference committee of the board, consisting of no less than 
two members of the board.  

1. The informal conference committee may approve or 
deny the application, or may approve the application upon 
terms and conditions.  
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2. The committee may require an inspection of a new or 
modified robotic pharmacy system prior to approval.  

3. The committee may require that periodic reports be 
submitted detailing frequency and types of errors 
determined by the continuous quality assurance checks.  

4. The board may withdraw the approval of a waiver for 
failure to comply with the quality assurance plan or with 
other terms and conditions which have been established by 
the board.  

D. The board shall be notified prior to implementing any 
modification to the approved application and no modification 
may be implemented until approved by the board.  

E. If a robotic pharmacy system is used, a pharmacist shall 
review all data entry of prescription orders into the computer 
operating the system for accuracy and appropriateness of 
therapy and shall check all repackaged medication prior to 
use in loading the system.  

Part XI  
Pharmacy Services to Hospitals  

18VAC110-20-440. Responsibilities of the pharmacist-in-
charge.  

A. The PIC in a pharmacy located within a hospital or the 
PIC of any outside pharmacy providing pharmacy services to 
a hospital shall be responsible for establishing procedures for 
and assuring maintenance of the proper storage, security, and 
dispensing of all drugs used throughout the hospital.  

B. The PIC of a pharmacy serving a hospital shall be 
responsible for maintaining a policy and procedure for 
providing reviews of drug therapy to include at a minimum 
any irregularities in drug therapy, drug interactions, drug 
administration, or transcription errors. All significant 
irregularities shall be brought to the attention of the attending 
practitioner or other person having authority to correct the 
potential problem consistent with §54.1-3319 A of the Code 
of Virginia.  

C. Prior to the opening of a satellite pharmacy within the 
hospital, the PIC shall notify the board as required by 
18VAC110-20-140 and shall ensure compliance with 
subsections B through G of 18VAC110-20-150, 18VAC110-
20-160, 18VAC110-20-170, 18VAC110-20-180 and 
18VAC110-20-190. No drugs shall be stocked in a satellite 
pharmacy until an inspection has been completed and 
approval given for opening.  

D. For the following list of Schedule VI controlled 
substances, the PIC of a pharmacy serving a hospital may 
authorize the storage in an area of the hospital outside the 
pharmacy, and may delegate the ordering and distribution 
within the hospital to nonpharmacy personnel provided the 
conditions for proper storage and adequate security and the 
procedures for distribution are set forth in the pharmacy's 

policy and procedure manual, and provided that the PIC 
assures that these storage areas are checked monthly for 
compliance. The storage areas must be locked when 
authorized staff is not present in the area. Except for nitrous 
oxide, medical gases may be stored in an unlocked area.  

1. Large volume parenteral solutions that contain no active 
therapeutic drugs other than electrolytes;  

2. Irrigation solutions;  

3. Contrast media;  

4. Medical gases;  

5. Sterile sealed surgical trays that may include a Schedule 
VI drug; and  

6. Blood components and derivatives, and synthetic blood 
components and products that are classified as prescription 
drugs.  

18VAC110-20-450. After-hours access to the pharmacy.  

A. When authorized by the PIC, an authorized nurse may 
have access to the pharmacy in the absence of the pharmacist 
a supply of drugs maintained by the pharmacy at a location 
outside the pharmacy in order to obtain emergency 
medication during hours the pharmacy is closed, provided 
that such drug is available in the manufacturer's original 
package or in units which have been prepared and labeled by 
a pharmacist and provided further that a separate record shall 
be made and left within the pharmacy at the location of the 
stock of drugs on a form prescribed by the PIC and such 
records are maintained within the pharmacy for a period of 
one year showing:  

1 The date of withdrawal;  

2. The patient's name;  

3. The name of the drug, strength, dosage form and dose 
prescribed;  

4. Number of doses removed; and  

5. The signature of the authorized nurse.  

B. If the after-hours supply of drugs is in an area that is 
continuously open and staffed, such as a patient floor or 
emergency room, then the area does not need to be alarmed.  
If the after-hours supply is maintained in an area of the 
hospital that is not open and continuously staffed, such as a 
floor that primarily houses departments that are closed daily, 
then an alarm that meets the requirements of 18VAC110-20-
180 shall be installed and activated at all times. 

18VAC110-20-460. Floor stock drugs; proof of delivery; 
distribution records.  

A. A pharmacist shall check all Schedule II-VI drugs 
delivered to a hospital unit as floor-stock before the drugs 
leave the pharmacy and shall initial or sign manually or 
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electronically the record of distribution verifying the accuracy 
of the distribution.  

B. A delivery receipt shall be obtained for Schedule II 
through V drugs supplied as floor stock. This record shall 
include the date, drug name and strength, quantity, hospital 
unit receiving drug and the manual or electronic signatures of 
the dispensing pharmacist and the receiving nurse. Receipts 
shall be maintained in the pharmacy for a period of two years 
or in off-site storage which shall be retrievable and made 
available for inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request 
by the board or an authorized agent.  

B. C. A record of disposition/administration shall be used to 
document administration of Schedule II through V drugs 
when a floor stock system is used for such drugs. The record 
shall be returned to the pharmacy within three months of its 
issue. The PIC or his designee shall:  

1. Match returned records with delivery receipts to verify 
that all records are returned;  

2. Periodically audit returned administration records for 
completeness as to patient's names, dose, date and time of 
administration, signature or initials of person administering 
the drug, and date the record is returned;  

3. Verify that all additions to inventory are recorded, that 
all additions to and deductions from inventory are correctly 
calculated, that sums carried from one record to the next 
are correctly recorded, and periodically verify that doses 
documented on administration records are reflected in the 
medical record; and  

4. Initial the returned record, file chronologically by date 
of issue, and retain for two years from the date of return or 
in off-site storage which shall be retrievable and made 
available for inspection or audit within 48 hours of a 
request by the board or an authorized agent.  

C. D. All records required by this section shall be filed 
chronologically by date of issue, and retained for two years 
from the date of return at the address of the pharmacy. 
Schedule VI records may be maintained in offsite storage or 
as an electronic image that provides an exact image of the 
document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 
electronic storage is retrievable and made available for 
inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the board 
or an authorized agent. Schedule II-V records may only be 
stored offsite or electronically as described in this subsection 
if authorized by DEA or in federal law or regulation. The 
filing requirements of 18VAC110-20-240 A 1 for separation 
of Schedule II records shall be met for administration records 
if the Schedule II drugs are listed in a separate section on a 
page that contains other schedules of drugs.  

18VAC110-20-490. Automated devices for dispensing and 
administration of drugs.  

A hospital may use automated devices for the dispensing 
and administration of drugs pursuant to §54.1-3301 of the 
Code of Virginia and §§54.3401 and 54.1-3434.02 of the 
Drug Control Act and in accordance with 18VAC110-20-270, 
18VAC110-20-420 or 18VAC110-20-460 as applicable. The 
following conditions shall apply:  

1. Prior to removal of drugs from the pharmacy, a delivery 
record shall be generated for all drugs to be placed in an 
automated dispensing device which shall include the date; 
drug name, dosage form, and strength; quantity; hospital 
unit and a unique identifier for the specific device 
receiving the drug; initials of the person loading the 
automated dispensing device; and initials of the pharmacist 
reviewing the transaction checking the drugs to be 
removed from the pharmacy and the delivery record for 
accuracy.  

2. At the time of loading, the delivery record for all 
Schedule II through V drugs shall be signed by a nurse or 
other person authorized to administer drugs from that 
specific device, and the record returned to the pharmacy 
and maintained in chronological order for a period of two 
years from date of delivery. The delivery record and 
required signatures may be generated or maintained 
electronically provided the system being used has the 
capability of recording an electronic signature which is a 
unique identifier and restricted to the individual receiving 
the drugs and provided that this record is maintained in a 
"read-only" format which cannot be altered after the 
information is recorded. The electronic record shall be 
readily retrievable, maintained for a period of two years, 
and the system used shall be capable of producing a hard-
copy printout of the record upon request.  

3. At the time of loading any Schedule II through V drug, 
the person loading will verify that the count of that drug in 
the automated dispensing device is correct. Any 
discrepancy noted shall be recorded on the delivery record 
and immediately reported to the pharmacist in charge, who 
shall be responsible for reconciliation of the discrepancy or 
properly reporting of a loss.  

4. Automated dispensing devices in hospitals shall be 
capable of producing a hard-copy record of distribution 
which shall show patient name, drug name and strength, 
dose withdrawn, dose to be administered, date and time of 
withdrawal from the device, and identity of person 
withdrawing the drug.  

5. The PIC or his designee shall conduct at least a monthly 
audit to review distribution and administration of Schedule 
II through V drugs from each automated dispensing device 
as follows:  
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a. The audit shall reconcile records of all quantities of 
Schedule II through V drugs dispensed from the 
pharmacy with records of all quantities loaded into each 
device to detect whether any drugs recorded as removed 
from the pharmacy were diverted rather than being 
placed in the proper device.  

b. A discrepancy report shall be generated for each 
discrepancy in the count of a drug on hand in the device. 
Each such report shall be resolved by the PIC or his 
designee within 72 hours of the time the discrepancy was 
discovered or, if determined to be a theft or an unusual 
loss of drugs, shall be immediately reported to the board 
in accordance with §54.1-3404 E of the Drug Control 
Act.  

c. The audit shall include a review of a sample of 
administration records from each device per month for 
possible diversion by fraudulent charting. A sample from 
each device shall not be less than 24 consecutive hours 
within the month being audited shall include all Schedule 
II-V drugs administered for a time period of not less than 
24 consecutive hours during the audit period.  

d. The audit shall include a check of medical records to 
ensure that a valid order exists for a random sample of 
doses recorded as administered.  

e. The audit shall also check for compliance with written 
procedures for security and use of the automated 
dispensing devices, accuracy of distribution from the 
device, and proper recordkeeping.  

f. The hard-copy distribution and administration records 
printed out and reviewed in the audit shall be initialed 
and dated by the person conducting the audit and 
maintained in the pharmacy for a period of two years. If 
nonpharmacist personnel conduct the audit, a pharmacist 
shall review the record and shall initial and date the 
record. These distribution records reviewed in 
conducting the audit may be maintained electronically 
provided they can be readily retrieved upon request; 
provided they are maintained in a read-only format which 
does not allow alteration of the records; and provided a 
log is maintained for a period of two years showing dates 
of audit and review, the identity of the automated 
dispensing device being audited, the time period covered 
by the audit and review, and the initials of all reviewers.  

6. If an automated dispensing device is used to obtain 
drugs for dispensing from an emergency room, a separate 
dispensing record is not required provided the automated 
record distinguishes dispensing from administration and 
records the identity of the physician who is dispensing.  

7. Automated dispensing devices shall be inspected 
monthly by pharmacy personnel to verify proper storage, 

proper location of drugs within the device, expiration 
dates, the security of drugs and validity of access codes.  

8. Personnel allowed access to an automated dispensing 
device shall have a specific access code which records the 
identity of the person accessing the device.  

9. Proper use of the automated dispensing devices and 
means of compliance with requirements shall be set forth 
in the pharmacy's policy and procedure manual.  

10. All records required by this section shall be filed in 
chronological order from date of issue and maintained for a 
period of not less than two years. Records shall be 
maintained at the address of the pharmacy providing 
services to the hospital except:  

a. Manual Schedule VI distribution records may be 
maintained in offsite storage or electronically as an 
electronic image that provides an exact image of the 
document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 
electronic records are retrievable and made available for 
inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 
board or an authorized agent. 

b. Distribution and delivery records and required 
signatures may be generated or maintained electronically 
provided: 

(1) The system being used has the capability of recording 
an electronic signature that is a unique identifier and 
restricted to the individual required to initial or sign the 
record. 

(2) The records are maintained in a read-only format that 
cannot be altered after the information is recorded. 

(3) The system used is capable of producing a hard-copy 
printout of the records upon request.  

c. Schedule II-V distribution and delivery records may 
only be stored offsite or electronically as described in 
subdivisions 10 a and b of this section if authorized by 
DEA or in federal law or regulation.  

d. Hard-copy distribution and administration records that 
are printed and reviewed in conducting required audits 
may be maintained at an off-site location or 
electronically provided they can be readily retrieved 
upon request; provided they are maintained in a read-
only format that does not allow alteration of the records; 
and provided a separate log is maintained for a period of 
two years showing dates of audit and review, the identity 
of the automated dispensing device being audited, the 
time period covered by the audit and review, and the 
initials of all reviewers.  
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18VAC110-20-500. Licensed emergency medical services 
agencies program.  

The pharmacy may prepare a drug kit for a licensed 
emergency medical services agency provided:  

1. The PIC of the hospital pharmacy shall be responsible 
for all controlled prescription drugs contained in this drug 
kit. A pharmacist shall check each drug kit after filling the 
kit, and initial the filling record certifying the accuracy and 
integrity of the contents of the kit.  

2. The drug kit is sealed in such a manner that it will 
preclude any possibility of deter theft or loss of drugs and 
aid in detection of such.  

3. Drugs may be administered by an emergency medical 
technician upon an oral order or written standing order of 
an authorized medical practitioner in accordance with 
§54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia. Oral orders shall be 
reduced to writing by the technician and shall be signed by 
a medical practitioner. Written standing orders shall be 
signed by the operational medical director for the 
emergency medical services agency. The emergency 
medical technician shall make a record of all drugs 
administered to a patient. This administration record shall 
be signed by the medical practitioner who assumes 
responsibility for the patient at the hospital. If the patient is 
not transported to the hospital or if the attending medical 
practitioner at the hospital refuses to sign the record, a 
copy of this record shall be signed and placed in delivery 
to the hospital pharmacy who was responsible for that kit 
exchange by the agency's operational medical director 
within seven days of the administration.  

4. When the drug kit has been opened, the kit shall be 
returned to the pharmacy and exchanged for an unopened 
kit. The record of the drugs administered shall accompany 
the opened kit when exchanged. An accurate record shall 
be maintained by the pharmacy on the exchange of the 
drug kit for a period of one year.  

5. The record of the drugs administered shall be maintained 
as a part of the pharmacy records pursuant to state and 
federal regulations for a period of not less than two years.  

6. Intravenous solutions provided by a hospital pharmacy 
to an emergency medical services agency may be stored 
separately outside the drug kit. 

18VAC110-20-520. Drugs in long-term care facilities.  

Drugs Prescription drugs, as defined in the Drug Control 
Act, shall not be floor stocked by a long-term care facility, 
except those in the stat drug box or emergency drug box or as 
provided for in 18VAC110-20-560 within this chapter.  

Part XII  
Pharmacy Services to Long-Term Care Facilities  

18VAC110-20-530. Pharmacy's responsibilities to long-
term care facilities.  

The pharmacy serving a long-term care facility shall:  

1. Receive a valid order prior to the dispensing of any 
drug.  

2. Ensure that personnel administering the drugs are 
trained in using the dispensing system provided by the 
pharmacy.  

3. Ensure that the drugs for each patient are kept and stored 
in the originally received containers and that the 
medication of one patient shall not be transferred to 
another patient.  

4. Ensure that each cabinet, cart or other area utilized for 
the storage of drugs is locked and accessible only to 
authorized personnel.  

5. Ensure that the storage area for patients drugs is well 
lighted, of sufficient size to permit storage without 
crowding, and is maintained at appropriate temperature.  

6. Ensure that poison and drugs for "external use only" are 
kept in a cabinet and separate from other medications.  

7. Provide for the disposition of discontinued drugs under 
the following conditions:  

a. Discontinued drugs may be returned to the pharmacy 
for resale or transferred to another pharmacy for 
redispensing to the indigent if authorized by §54.1-
3411.1 and 18VAC110-20-400, or destroyed disposed of 
by appropriate means in compliance with 18VAC110-20-
210 and with any applicable local, state, and federal laws 
and regulations.  

b. Drug destruction at the pharmacy shall be witnessed 
by the PIC and by another pharmacy employee. The 
pharmacy may transfer the drugs for destruction to an 
entity appropriately licensed to accept returns for 
destruction. Drug destruction at the facility shall be 
witnessed by the director of nursing or, if there is no 
director, then by the facility administrator and by a 
pharmacist providing pharmacy services to the facility or 
by another employee authorized to administer 
medication.  

c. A complete and accurate record of the drugs returned 
or destroyed or both shall be made. The original of the 
record of destruction shall be signed and dated by the 
persons witnessing the destruction and maintained at the 
long-term care facility for a period of two years. A copy 
of the destruction record shall be maintained at the 
provider pharmacy for a period of two years.  
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d. Long-term care facilities shall destroy discontinued or 
unused drugs or return them to the pharmacy without 30 
days of the date the drug was discontinued.  

8. Ensure that appropriate drug reference materials are 
available in the facility units.  

9. Ensure that a monthly review of drug therapy by a 
pharmacist is conducted for each patient in long-term care 
facilities except those licensed under Title 63.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. Such review shall be used to determine any 
irregularities, which may include but not be limited to drug 
therapy, drug interactions, drug administration or 
transcription errors. The pharmacist shall sign and date the 
notation of the review. All significant irregularities shall be 
brought to the attention of the attending practitioner or 
other party having authority to correct the potential 
problem.  

18VAC110-20-535. Repackaging of already dispensed 
prescriptions. 

The primary provider pharmacy for a long-term care facility 
may, but shall not be required to, repackage a resident's 
prescription drugs dispensed by another pharmacy into the 
unit-dose or compliance packaging system used by the long-
term care facility to assist in maintaining a uniform or more 
accurate system of administration. 

1. Such repackaging shall only be done at the provider 
pharmacy.  

2. Unit dose repackaging shall comply with requirements 
of 18VAC110-20-420 and compliance packaging shall 
comply with 18VAC110-20-340 B. 

3. Records shall be maintained of all such repackaging of 
previously dispensed medications to include date; 
repackaging pharmacist's initials (or those of the checking 
pharmacist); and the pharmacy name, address, and 
prescription number of the original dispensing.  

4. Any portion of a resident's medication not placed into 
unit dose or compliance packaging may be returned to the 
resident or kept for subsequent repackaging at the provider 
pharmacy in the original labeled container. If kept at the 
pharmacy, the medication shall be stored within the 
prescription department but separate from any working 
stock of drugs used for dispensing by the pharmacy, and 
shall only be used for the patient to whom the medication 
was originally dispensed. 

18VAC110-20-536. Prescription drugs sent outside the 
facility. 

A. The provider pharmacy shall assure that residents who 
leave a long-term care facility for short periods of time or are 
discharged and who are allowed to take dispensed 
prescription medications with them, do so only in appropriate 
packaging, properly labeled for outpatient use. 

B. Pharmacies that provide medication to residents in 
compliance packaging that meets the requirements of 
18VAC110-20-340 B, shall assure that if the facility 
separates and sends only the individual containers needed 
during the time the resident is away without the main package 
label, that the resident is also given a copy of the main 
package label or other appropriate documentation that 
contains the complete labeling information on the main 
package label.  

18VAC110-20-540. Emergency drug kit.  

The pharmacist providing services may prepare an 
emergency kit for a long-term care facility in which only 
those persons licensed to administer are administering drugs 
access to the kit is restricted to a licensed nurse, pharmacist, 
or prescriber and only these licensed individuals may 
administer a drug taken from the kit and only under the 
following conditions:  

1. The contents of the emergency kit shall be of such a 
nature that the absence of the drugs would threaten the 
survival of the patients.  

2. The contents of the kit shall be determined by the 
provider pharmacist in consultation with the medical and 
nursing staff of the institutions and shall be limited to 
drugs for administration by injection or inhalation only, 
except that Nitroglycerin SL may be included.  

3. The kit is sealed in such a manner that it will preclude 
any possible loss of the drug.  

a. The dispensing pharmacy must have a method of 
sealing such kits so that once the seal is broken, it cannot 
be reasonably resealed without the breach being detected.  

b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 
alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication and/or 
resealing. The pharmacy shall maintain a record of the 
seal identifiers when placed on a box or kit and maintain 
the record until such time as the seal is replaced.  

c. In lieu of seals, a kit with a built-in mechanism 
preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 
the provider pharmacy is also acceptable.  

4. The kit shall have a form to be filled out upon opening 
the kit and removing contents to write the name of the 
person opening the kit, the date, time and name and 
quantity of item(s) removed. The opened kit is maintained 
under secure conditions and returned to the pharmacy 
within 72 hours for replenishing.  

5. Any drug used from the kit shall be covered by a 
prescription, signed by the prescriber, when legally 
required, within 72 hours.  
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18VAC110-20-550. Stat-drug box.  

An additional drug box called a stat-drug box may be 
prepared by a pharmacy to provide for initiating therapy prior 
to the receipt of ordered drugs from the pharmacy. Access to 
the stat-drug box is restricted to a licensed nurse, pharmacist, 
or prescriber and only these licensed individuals may 
administer a drug taken from the stat-drug box. Additionally, 
a valid prescription or lawful order of a prescriber must exist 
prior to the removal of any drug from the stat-drug box. A 
stat-drug box shall be provided to those facilities in which 
only those persons licensed to administer are administering 
drugs and shall be subject to the following conditions:  

1. The box is sealed in such a manner that will preclude the 
loss of drugs.  

a. The dispensing pharmacy must have a method of 
sealing such boxes so that once the seal is broken, it 
cannot be reasonably resealed without the breach being 
detected.  

b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 
alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication or 
resealing, or both. The pharmacy shall maintain a record 
of the seal identifiers when placed on a box and maintain 
the record until such time as the seal is replaced.  

c. In lieu of seals, a box with a built-in mechanism 
preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 
the provider pharmacy is also acceptable.  

2. The box shall have a form to be filled out upon opening 
the box and removing contents to write the name of the 
person opening the box, the date, time and name and 
quantity of item(s) removed. When the stat-drug box has 
been opened, it is returned to the pharmacy.  

3. Any drug used from the box shall be covered by a drug 
order signed by the prescriber, when legally required, 
within 72 hours.  

4. 3. There shall be a listing of the contents of the box 
maintained in the pharmacy and also attached to the box in 
the facility. This same listing shall become a part of the 
policy and procedure manual of the facility served by the 
pharmacy.  

5. 4. The drug listing on the box shall bear an expiration 
date for the box. The expiration date shall be the day on 
which the first drug in the box will expire.  

6. 5. The contents of the box shall be limited to those drugs 
in which a delay in initiating therapy may result in harm to 
the patient.  

a. The listing of drugs contained in the stat-drug box 
shall be determined by the provider pharmacist in 
consultation with the medical and nursing staff of the 
long-term care facility.  

b. The stat-drug box shall contain no Schedule II drugs.  

c. The stat-drug box shall contain no more than one 
Schedule III through V drug in each therapeutic class and 
no more than five doses of each.  

18VAC110-20-555. Use of automated dispensing devices.  

Nursing homes licensed pursuant to Chapter 5 (§32.1-123 et 
seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia may use automated 
drug dispensing systems, as defined in §54.1-3401 of the 
Code of Virginia, upon meeting the following conditions:  

1. Drugs placed in an automated drug dispensing system in 
a nursing home shall be under the control of the pharmacy 
providing services to the nursing home, the pharmacy shall 
have on-line communication with and control of the 
automated drug dispensing system, and access to any drug 
for a patient shall be controlled by the pharmacy.  

2. A nursing home without an in-house pharmacy shall 
obtain a controlled substances registration prior to using an 
automated dispensing system.  

3. Removal of drugs from any automated drug dispensing 
system for administration to patients can only be made 
pursuant to a valid prescription or lawful order of a 
prescriber. under the following conditions:  

a. A drug may not be administered to a patient from an 
automated dispensing device until a pharmacist has 
reviewed the prescription order and electronically 
authorized the access of that drug for that particular 
patient in accordance with the order.  

b. The PIC of the provider pharmacy shall ensure that a 
pharmacist who has on-line access to the system is 
available at all times to review a prescription order as 
needed and authorize administering pursuant to the order 
reviewed. 

c. Drugs that would be stocked in an emergency drug kit 
pursuant to 18VAC110-20-540 may be accessed prior to 
receiving electronic authorization from the pharmacist 
provided that the absence of the drugs would threaten the 
survival of the patients. 

d. Automated dispensing devices shall be capable of 
producing a hard-copy record of distribution that shall 
show patient name, drug name and strength, dose 
withdrawn, dose to be administered, date and time of 
withdrawal from the device, and identity of person 
withdrawing the drug. 

4. Drugs placed in automated dispensing devices shall be 
in the manufacturer's sealed original unit dose or unit-of-
use packaging or in repackaged unit-dose containers in 
compliance with the requirements of 18VAC110-20-355 
relating to repackaging, labeling, and records.  
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5. Prior to the removal of drugs from the pharmacy, a 
delivery record shall be generated for all drugs to be placed 
in an automated dispensing device which shall include the 
date; drug name, dosage form, and strength; quantity; 
nursing home; a unique identifier for the specific device 
receiving drugs; and initials of the pharmacist checking the 
order of drugs to be removed from the pharmacy and the 
records of distribution for accuracy. 

6. At the direction of the PIC, drugs may be loaded in the 
device by a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician 
adequately trained in the proper loading of the system.  

7. At the time of loading, the delivery record for all 
Schedule II through V VI drugs shall be signed by a nurse 
or other person authorized to administer drugs from that 
specific device, and the record returned to the pharmacy 
and maintained in chronological order for a period of two 
years from date of delivery. The delivery record and 
required signatures may be generated or maintained 
electronically provided the system being used has the 
capability of recording an electronic "signature" which is a 
unique identifier and restricted to the individual receiving 
the drugs and provided that this record is maintained in a 
"read-only" format which cannot be altered after the 
information is recorded. The electronic record shall be 
readily retrievable, maintained for a period of two years, 
and the system used shall be capable of producing a hard 
copy printout of the record upon request. 

8. At the time of loading any Schedule II through V drug, 
the person loading will verify that the count of that drug in 
the automated dispensing device is correct. Any 
discrepancy noted shall be recorded on the delivery record 
and immediately reported to the PIC, who shall be 
responsible for reconciliation of the discrepancy or the 
proper reporting of a loss. 

9. The PIC of the provider pharmacy or his designee shall 
conduct at least a monthly audit to review distribution and 
administration of Schedule II through V drugs from each 
automated dispensing device as follows:  

a. The audit shall reconcile records of all quantities of 
Schedule II through V drugs dispensed from the 
pharmacy with records of all quantities loaded into each 
device to detect whether any drugs recorded as removed 
from the pharmacy were diverted rather than being 
placed in the proper device.  

b. A discrepancy report shall be generated for each 
discrepancy in the count of a drug on hand in the device. 
Each such report shall be resolved by the PIC or his 
designee within 72 hours of the time the discrepancy was 
discovered or, if determined to be a theft or an unusual 
loss of drugs, shall be immediately reported to the board 
in accordance with §54.1-3404 E of the Drug Control 
Act.  

c. The audit shall include a review of a sample of 
administration records from each device per month for 
possible diversion by fraudulent charting. A sample from 
each device shall not be less than 24 consecutive hours 
within the month being audited shall include all Schedule 
II-V drugs administered for a time period of not less than 
24 consecutive hours during the audit period. 

d. The audit shall include a check of medical records to 
ensure that a valid order exists for a random sample of 
doses recorded as administered. 

e. The audit shall also check for compliance with written 
procedures for security and use of the automated 
dispensing devices, accuracy of distribution from the 
device, and proper recordkeeping. 

f. The hard copy distribution and administration records 
printed out and reviewed in the audit shall be initialed 
and dated by the person conducting the audit and 
maintained in the pharmacy for a period of two years. If 
nonpharmacist personnel conduct the audit, a pharmacist 
shall review the record and shall initial and date the 
record. These distribution records reviewed in 
conducting the audit may be maintained electronically 
provided they can be readily retrieved upon request; 
provided they are maintained in a "read-only' format 
which does not allow alteration of the records; and 
provided a log is maintained for a period of two years 
showing the dates of audit and review, the identity of the 
automated dispensing device being audited, the time 
period covered by the audit and review, and the initials of 
all reviewers. 

10. Automated dispensing devices shall be inspected 
monthly by pharmacy personnel to verify proper storage, 
proper location of drugs within the device, expiration 
dates, the security of drugs and validity of access codes. 

11. Personnel allowed access to an automated dispensing 
device shall have a specific access code which records the 
identity of the person accessing the device.  

12. The PIC of the pharmacy providing services to the 
nursing home shall establish, maintain, and assure 
compliance with written policy and procedure for the 
accurate stocking and proper storage of drugs in the 
automated drug dispensing system, accountability for and 
security of all drugs maintained in the automated drug 
dispensing system, preventing unauthorized access to the 
system, tracking access to the system, complying with 
federal and state regulations related to the storage and 
dispensing of controlled substances, maintaining patient 
confidentiality, maintaining required records, and assuring 
compliance with the requirements of this chapter. The 
manual shall be capable of being accessed at both the 
pharmacy and the nursing home. 
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13. All records required by this section shall be filed in 
chronological order from date of issue and maintained for a 
period of not less than two years. Records shall be 
maintained at the address of the pharmacy providing 
services to the nursing home except:  

a. Manual Schedule VI distribution records may be 
maintained in offsite storage or electronically as an 
electronic image that provides an exact image of the 
document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 
electronic storage is retrievable and made available for 
inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 
board or an authorized agent. 

b. Distribution and delivery records and required 
signatures may be generated or maintained electronically 
provided: 

(1) The system being used has the capability of recording 
an electronic signature that is a unique identifier and 
restricted to the individual required to initial or sign the 
record. 

(2) The records are maintained in a read-only format that 
cannot be altered after the information is recorded. 

(3) The system used is capable of producing a hard-copy 
printout of the records upon request. 

c. Schedule II-V distribution and delivery records may 
only be stored offsite or electronically as described in 
subdivisions 13 a and b of this section if authorized by 
DEA or in federal law or regulation.  

d. Hard-copy distribution and administration records that 
are printed and reviewed in conducting required audits 
may be maintained off site or electronically provided 
they can be readily retrieved upon request; provided they 
are maintained in a read-only format that does not allow 
alteration of the records; and provided a separate log is 
maintained for a period of two years showing dates of 
audit and review, the identity of the automated 
dispensing device being audited, the time period covered 
by the audit and review, and the initials of all reviewers.  

Part XIII  
Other Institutions and Facilities  

18VAC110-20-570. Drugs in infirmaries/first aid rooms.  

A. Controlled Prescription drugs purchased by an institution, 
agency, or business within the Commonwealth, having been 
purchased in the name of a practitioner licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia and who is employed by an 
institution, agency, or business which does not hold a 
pharmacy permit, shall be used only for administering to 
those persons at that institution, agency, or business.  

B. All controlled prescription drugs shall be maintained and 
secured in a suitable locked storage area, the key to which 

will be in the possession of the practitioner or nurse who is 
under the direction and supervision of the practitioner.  

C. Such institution, agency, or business shall adopt a 
specific protocol for the administration of prescription drugs, 
listing the inventory of such drugs maintained, and 
authorizing the administering of such drugs in the absence of 
a practitioner in an emergency situation when the timely prior 
verbal or written order of a prescriber is not possible. 
Administering of such drugs shall be followed by written 
orders.  

1. For the purpose of this chapter, "emergency" means a 
circumstance requiring administration of controlled 
prescription drugs necessary to preserve life or to prevent 
significant or permanent injury or disability.  

2. The protocol shall be maintained for inspection and 
documentation purposes.  

D. A nurse may, in the absence of a practitioner, administer 
and provide nonprescription drugs in unit dose containers in 
quantities which in the professional judgment of the nurse 
will maintain the person at an optimal comfort level until the 
person's personal practitioner can be consulted. The 
administering and providing of such medication must be in 
accordance with explicit instructions of a specific protocol 
promulgated by the practitioner in charge of the institution, 
agency, or business.  

18VAC110-20-580. Humane societies and animal shelters.  

A humane society or animal shelter, after having obtained 
the proper permits pursuant to state and federal laws, may 
purchase, possess and administer any drug approved by the 
State Veterinarian to euthanize injured, sick, homeless and 
unwanted domestic pets and animals provided that these 
procedures are followed:  

1. Drugs ordered by a humane society for euthanasia shall 
only be stored and administered at the address of the 
humane society. Humane societies shall not order or 
possess a stock of drugs for any purpose other than 
euthanasia.  

1. 2. A veterinarian shall provide general supervision for 
the facility and shall provide and certify training in 
accordance with guidelines set forth by the State 
Veterinarian to the person(s) responsible for administration 
of the drugs. Certification of training signed by the 
veterinarian providing the training shall be maintained at 
the facility for each person administering drugs and must 
be retained for not less than two years after the person 
ceases administering.  

2. 3. The person in charge of administration of drugs for 
euthanasia for the facility shall obtain the required permit 
and controlled substances registration from the board and 
shall be responsible for maintaining proper security and 
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required records of all controlled substances obtained and 
administered.  

a. If that person ceases employment with the facility or 
relinquishes his position, he shall immediately return the 
permit to the board and shall take a complete and 
accurate inventory of all drugs in stock.  

b. An application for a new permit shall be filed with the 
required fee within 14 days on a form provided by the 
board. At that time, the new responsible person shall take 
a complete and accurate inventory of all drugs in stock.  

3. 4. Drugs shall be stored in a secure, locked place and 
only the person(s) responsible for administering may have 
access to the drugs.  

4. 5. Any drug used shall be obtained and administered in 
the injectable form only.  

5. 6. All invoices and order forms shall be maintained for a 
period of two years.  

6. 7. Complete and accurate records shall be maintained for 
two years on the administration of the drug. The record 
shall show the name and strength of the drug, date of 
administration, the species of the animal, the weight of 
animal, the amount of drug administered and the signature 
of the person administering the drug.  

18VAC110-20-590. Drugs in correctional institutions 
facilities.  

A. All prescription drugs at any correctional unit facility 
shall be obtained only on an individual prescription basis 
from a pharmacy and subject to the following conditions:  

1. All prepared drugs shall be maintained in a suitable 
locked storage area with only the person responsible for 
administering the drugs having access.  

2. Complete and accurate records shall be maintained of all 
drugs received, administered and discontinued. The 
administration record shall show the:  

a. Patient name;  

b. Drug name and strength;  

c. Number of dosage units received;  

d. Prescriber's name; and  

e. Date, time and signature of the person administering 
the individual dose of drug.  

3. All unused or discontinued drugs shall be sealed and the 
amount in the container at the time of the sealing shall be 
recorded on the drug administration record. Such drugs 
shall be returned to the provider pharmacy or to a 
secondary pharmacy along with the drug administration 
record, a copy of the drug administration record, or other 

form showing substantially the same information, within 
30 days of discontinuance. 

a. The provider or secondary pharmacy shall conduct 
random audits of returned drug administration records for 
accountability.  

b. The drug administration records shall be filed in 
chronological order by the provider or secondary 
pharmacy and maintained for a period of one year or, at 
the option of the facility, the records may be returned by 
the pharmacy to the facility.  

c. Drugs may be returned to pharmacy stock in 
compliance with the provisions of 18VAC110-20-400.  

d. Other drugs shall be disposed of or destroyed by the 
provider pharmacy in accordance with local, state, and 
federal regulations.  

4. Alternatively, drugs for destruction may be forwarded 
by a pharmacist directly from the correctional facility to a 
returns company after performing the audit required by 
subdivision 3 a of this subsection and ensuring the proper 
maintenance of the administration records.  

B. Emergency and stat-drug box. An emergency box and a 
stat-drug box may be prepared for the a correctional facility 
served by the pharmacy pursuant to 18VAC110-20-540 and 
18VAC110-20-550 provided that the facility employs one or 
more full-time physicians, registered nurses, licensed 
practical nurses, or physician assistants or correctional health 
assistants.  

C. Prescription drugs, including but not limited to vaccines, 
may be stocked floor-stocked only at a medical clinic or 
surgery center that is part of a correctional facility and that is 
staffed by one or more physicians prescribers during the 
hours of operation, provided the clinic first obtains a 
controlled substances registration and complies with the 
requirements of 18VAC110-20-690, 18VAC110-20-700, 
18VAC110-20-710, and 18VAC110-20-720. 

18VAC110-20-610. Exempted chemical preparations.  

The list of exempt chemical preparations set forth in 
pursuant to 21 CFR §1308.24 and maintained by the 
administrator of DEA is adopted pursuant to the authority set 
forth in §§54.1-3443, 54.1-3450 and 54.1-3452 of the Drug 
Control Act. 

18VAC110-20-620. Exempted prescription products.  

The list of exempt prescription products set forth in pursuant 
to 21 CFR 1308.32 and maintained by the administrator of 
DEA is adopted pursuant to the authority set forth in §§54.1-
3443, 54.1-3450 and 54.1-3452 of the Drug Control Act; the 
exempted prescription products are drugs which are subject to 
the provisions of §54.1-3455 of the Drug Control Act. 
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18VAC110-20-621. Exempted anabolic steroid products.  

The list of exempt anabolic steroid products set forth in 
pursuant to 21 CFR 1308.34 and maintained by the 
administrator of DEA is adopted pursuant to the authority set 
forth in §§54.1-3443, 54.1-3450 and 54.1-3452 of the Drug 
Control Act; the exempted anabolic steroid products are drugs 
which are subject to the provisions of §54.1-3455 of the Drug 
Control Act.  

18VAC110-20-622. Excluded veterinary anabolic steroid 
implant products.  

The list of excluded veterinary anabolic steroid implant 
products set forth in pursuant to 21 CFR 1308.26 and 
maintained by the administrator of DEA is adopted only for 
legitimate veterinary use pursuant to the authority set forth in 
§§54.1-3443, 54.1-3450 and 54.1-3452 of the Drug Control 
Act; the exempted anabolic steroid products are drugs which 
are subject to the provisions of §54.1-3455 of the Drug 
Control Act when used for implant to cattle or other 
nonhuman species. These products are not excluded from 
Schedule III if prescribed, administered, dispensed, or 
otherwise distributed for human use.  

18VAC110-20-680. Medical equipment suppliers.  

A. A medical equipment supplier's location shall be 
inspected by the board prior to engaging in business. The 
location shall be clean and sanitary and shall have a system of 
temperature control to provide for specified storage 
conditions for any Schedule VI drug or device.  

B. Hypodermic needles and syringes and Schedule VI drugs 
shall not be placed on open display or in an open area where 
patrons will have access to such items. No Schedule VI 
devices shall be placed in an area where responsible parties 
cannot exercise reasonable supervision and control.  

C. A medical equipment supplier shall receive a valid order 
from a practitioner prior to dispensing and shall maintain this 
order on file on the premises for a period of two years from 
date of last dispensing. The original order may be kept at a 
centralized office as long as it is readily retrievable within 48 
hours and a copy of the order is kept on the premises of the 
dispensing supplier. In lieu of a hard copy, an electronic 
image of an order may be maintained in an electronic 
database provided it preserves and provides an exact image of 
the order that is clearly legible and made available within 48 
hours of a request by a person authorized by law to have 
access to prescription information. 

D. Medical equipment suppliers shall make a record at the 
time of dispensing. This record shall be maintained on the 
premises for two years from date of dispensing and shall 
include:  

1. Name and address of patient;  

2. Item dispensed and quantity, if applicable; and  

3. Date of dispensing.  

Part XVI  
Controlled Substances Registration for Other Persons or 

Entities  

18VAC110-20-690. Persons or entities authorized or 
required to obtain a controlled substances registration.  

A. A person or entity which maintains or intends to maintain 
a supply of Schedule II through Schedule VI controlled 
substances, other than manufacturers' samples, in order to 
administer such drugs in accordance with provisions of the 
Drug Control Act (§54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) may apply for a controlled substances registration 
on forms approved by the board.  

B. Persons or entities which may be registered by the board 
shall include, but not be limited to, hospitals without in-house 
pharmacies, nursing homes without in-house pharmacies that 
use automated drug dispensing systems, ambulatory surgery 
centers, outpatient clinics, alternate delivery sites, and 
emergency medical services agencies provided such persons 
or entities are otherwise authorized by law and hold required 
licenses or appropriate credentials to administer the drugs for 
which the registration is being sought.  

C. In determining whether to register an applicant, the board 
shall consider factors listed in subsections A and D of §54.1-
3423 of the Code of Virginia and compliance with applicable 
requirements of this chapter.  

1. The proposed location shall be inspected by an 
authorized agent of the board prior to issuance of a 
controlled substances registration. 

2. Controlled substances registration applications that 
indicate a requested inspection date, or requests that are 
received after the application is filed, shall be honored 
provided a 14-day notice is allowed prior to the requested 
inspection date.  

3. Requested inspection dates that do not allow a 14-day 
notice to the board may be adjusted by the board to provide 
14 days for the scheduling of the inspection. 

4. Any person wishing to change an approved location of 
the drug stock, make structural changes to an existing 
approved drug storage location, or make changes to a 
previously approved security system shall file an 
application with the board and be inspected consistent with 
subsection B of this section.  

5. Drugs shall not be stocked within the proposed drug 
storage location or moved to a new location until approval 
is granted by the board. 

D. The application shall be signed by a person who will act 
as a responsible party for the controlled substances. The 
responsible party may be a prescriber, nurse, pharmacist, or 
pharmacy technician for alternate delivery sites or other 
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person approved by the board who is authorized to administer 
or otherwise possess the controlled substances for that type 
entity. 

D. E. The board may require a person or entity to obtain a 
controlled substances registration upon a determination that 
Schedule II through VI controlled substances have been 
obtained and are being used as common stock by multiple 
practitioners and that one or more of the following factors 
exist:  

1. A federal, state, or local government agency has 
reported that the person or entity has made large purchases 
of controlled substances in comparison with other persons 
or entities in the same classification or category.  

2. The person or entity has experienced a diversion, theft, 
or other unusual loss of controlled substances which 
requires reporting pursuant to §54.1-3404 of the Drug 
Control Act.  

3. The person or entity has failed to comply with 
recordkeeping requirements for controlled substances.  

4. The person or entity or any other person with access to 
the common stock has violated any provision of federal, 
state, or local law or regulation relating to controlled 
substances. 

18VAC110-20-700. Requirements for supervision for 
controlled substances registrants.  

A. A practitioner licensed in Virginia shall provide 
supervision for all aspects of practice related to the 
maintenance and use of controlled substances as follows:  

1. In a hospital or nursing home without an in-house 
pharmacy, a pharmacist shall supervise.  

2. In an emergency medical services agency, the 
operational medical director shall supervise.  

3. For any other person or entity approved by the board, a 
practitioner of pharmacy, medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, 
dentistry, or veterinary medicine type of applicant or 
registrant, a pharmacist or a prescriber whose scope of 
practice is consistent with the practice of the person or 
entity applicant or registrant and who is approved by the 
board shall may provide the required supervision.  

B. The supervising practitioner shall approve the list of 
drugs which may be ordered by the holder of the controlled 
substances registration; possession of controlled substances 
by the entity shall be limited to such approved drugs. The list 
of drugs approved by the supervising practitioner shall be 
maintained at the address listed on the controlled substances 
registration.  

C. Access to the controlled substances shall be limited to the 
supervising practitioner or to those persons who are 
authorized by the supervising practitioner and who are 

authorized by law to administer drugs in Virginia, or to other 
such persons as designated by the supervising practitioner or 
the responsible party to have access in an emergency 
situation. If approved by the supervising practitioner, 
pharmacy technicians may have access for the purpose of 
delivering controlled substances to the registrant, stocking 
controlled substances in automated dispensing devices, 
conducting inventories, audits and other recordkeeping 
requirements, and overseeing delivery of dispensed 
prescriptions at an alternate delivery site. 

D. The supervising practitioner shall establish procedures 
for and provide training as necessary to ensure compliance 
with all requirements of law and regulation, including, but not 
limited to, storage, security, and recordkeeping.  

E. Within 14 days of a change in the responsible party or 
supervising practitioner assigned to the registration, either the 
responsible party or outgoing responsible party shall inform 
the board and a new application shall be submitted indicating 
the name and license number, if applicable, of the new 
responsible party or supervising practitioner. 

18VAC110-20-710. Requirements for storage and security 
for controlled substances registrants.  

A. Drugs shall be stored under conditions which meet USP-
NF specifications or manufacturers' suggested storage for 
each drug.  

B. Any drug which has exceeded the expiration date shall 
not be administered; it shall be separated from the stock used 
for administration and maintained in a separate, locked area 
until properly disposed.  

C. If a controlled substances registrant wishes to dispose of 
unwanted or expired Schedule II through VI drugs, he shall 
transfer the drugs to another person or entity authorized to 
possess and to provide for proper disposal of such drugs.  

D. Drugs shall be maintained in a lockable cabinet, cart, 
device or other area which shall be locked at all times when 
not in use. The keys or access code shall be restricted to the 
supervising practitioner and persons designated access in 
accordance with 18VAC110-20-700 C.  

E. In a facility not staffed 24 hours a day, the drugs shall be 
stored in a fixed and secured room, cabinet or area which has 
a security device for the detection of breaking which meets 
the following conditions:  

1. The device shall be a sound, microwave, photoelectric, 
ultrasonic, or any other generally accepted and suitable 
device.  

2. The installation shall be hard wired and both the 
installation and device shall be based on accepted burglar 
alarm industry standards.  
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3. The device shall be maintained in operating order and 
shall, have an auxiliary source of power, be monitored in 
accordance with accepted industry standards, be 
maintained in operating order; and shall be capable of 
sending an alarm signal to the monitoring entity if 
breached and the communication line is not operational. 

4. The device shall fully protect all areas where 
prescription drugs are stored and shall be capable of 
detecting breaking by any means when activated.  

5. Access to the alarm system shall be restricted to only 
designated and necessary persons, and the system shall be 
activated whenever the drug storage areas are closed for 
business.  

6. An alarm system is not required for researchers, animal 
control officers, humane societies, or alternate delivery 
sites as provided in 18VAC110-20-275.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-753; Filed September 23, 2008, 1:32 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 
18VAC110-20-20). 

18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing Wholesale 
Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers 
(amending 18VAC110-50-20). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 23, 2008, through September 22, 
2009. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, 
FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Chapter 330 of the 2008 Acts of the Assembly eliminated 
the specified date of December 31 for renewal of various 
permits and registrations under the Board of Pharmacy 
and added that a date must be determined by the board 
in regulation. The second enactment on Chapter 330 
requires that the board promulgate regulations to 
implement the provisions of the act to be effective within 
280 days of its enactment. Therefore, there is an 
"emergency situation" as defined in §2.2-4011 of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

All licenses, permits and registrations have expired on 
December 31 of each year, which has created an 
exceptional workload for staff during one period of time. 
The board sought legislation to allow expiration dates 
for permitted or registered facilities to be set on dates 

different from those of licensed pharmacists or registered 
technicians to distribute the renewals. 

All facility permits or registrations that currently expire 
on December 31 will continue to be in effect until the 
next renewal date as set by the board in regulation. 
Resident and nonresident pharmacy permits will next 
expire on April 30, 2009, so they will get an extra four 
months on their permits. Manufacturers, wholesale 
distributors, warehousers, physicians permitted to 
practice pharmacy, medical equipment suppliers, 
humane societies, and controlled substance registrations 
will expire on February 28, 2009, so they will get an 
extra two months. The goal is to distribute the workload 
for board and department staff and to make it less 
burdensome for pharmacies, some of which pay the 
renewal for the pharmacy permit and all licensed or 
registered staff. 

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 
examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 
as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees.  

  1. Pharmacist license $180 

  2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

  4. Pharmacy permit $270 

  5. Permitted physician licensed to dispense 
drugs 

$270 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 

  7. Humane society permit $20 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy $270 

  9. Controlled substances registrations 
(Between November 2, 2005, and 
December 31, 2006, the application fee for 
a controlled substance registration shall be 
$50) 

$90 

  10. Robotic pharmacy system approval $150 

  11. Innovative program approval. 

If the board determines that a technical 
consultant is required in order to make a 
decision on approval, any consultant fee, 
not to exceed the actual cost, shall also be 
paid by the applicant in addition to the 
application fee. 

$250 
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  12. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$150 

  13. Approval of a continuing education 
program 

$100 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

  1. Pharmacist active license – due 
December 31 

$90 

  2. Pharmacist inactive license – due 
December 31 

$45 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration – due 
December 31 

$25 

  4. Pharmacy permit – due April 30 $270 

  5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy – 
due February 28 

$270 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit – 
due February 28 

$180 

  7. Humane society permit – due February 
28 

$20 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy – due April 30 $270 

  9. Controlled substances registrations – 
due February 28 

$90 

  10. Innovative program continued 
approval based on board order not to 
exceed $200 per approval period. 

  

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 
to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 
one year of the expiration date. In addition, engaging in 
activities requiring a license, permit, or registration after the 
expiration date of such license, permit, or registration shall be 
grounds for disciplinary action by the board.  

  1. Pharmacist license $30 

  2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 

  4. Pharmacy permit $90 

  5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $90 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 

  7. Humane society permit $5 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy $90 

  9. Controlled substances registrations $30 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 
renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year 
after the expiration date shall submit an application for 
reinstatement with any required fees. Reinstatement is at the 

discretion of the board and, except for reinstatement 
following license revocation or suspension, may be granted 
by the executive director of the board upon completion of an 
application and payment of any required fees.  

  1. Pharmacist license $210 

  2. Pharmacist license after revocation or 
suspension 

$500 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

  4. Pharmacy technician registration after 
revocation or suspension 

$125 

  5. Facilities or entities that cease operation 
and wish to resume shall not be eligible for 
reinstatement but shall apply for a new 
permit or registration. Facilities or entities 
that failed to renew and continued to 
operate for more than one renewal cycle 
shall pay the current and all back renewal 
fees for the years in which they were 
operating plus the following reinstatement 
fees: 

  

    a. Pharmacy permit $240 

    b. Physician permit to practice 
pharmacy 

$240 

    c. Medical equipment supplier permit $210 

    d. Humane society permit $30 

    e. Nonresident pharmacy $115 

    f. Controlled substances registration $180 

G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 
other entities.  

  1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 

  2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 

  3. Inspection for remodeling or change of 
location for any facility 

150 

  4. Reinspection of any facility $150 

  5. Board-required inspection for a robotic 
pharmacy system 

$150 

  6. Board-required inspection of an 
innovative program location 

$150 

  7. Change of pharmacist responsible for an 
approved innovative program 

$25 

H. Miscellaneous fees.  

  1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

  2. Returned check $35 
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I. For the annual renewal due on or before December 31, 
2006, the following fees shall be imposed for a license, 
permit or registration:  

  1. Pharmacist active license $50 

  2. Pharmacist inactive license $25 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $15 

  4. Pharmacy permit $210 

  5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $210 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit $140 

  7. Humane society permit $20 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy $210 

  9. Controlled substances registrations $50 

18VAC110-50-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Initial application fees. 

  1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 

  2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 

  3. Wholesale distributor license $270 

  4. Warehouser permit $270 

  5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $270 

  6. Controlled substances registration $90 

C. Annual renewal fees shall be due on February 28 of each 
year. 

  1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 

  2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 

  3. Wholesale distributor license $270 

  4. Warehouser permit $270 

  5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $270 

  6. Controlled substances registration $90 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 
addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 
license within one year of the expiration date. In addition, 
engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 
or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 
board. 

  1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $90 

  2. Restricted manufacturer permit $60 

  3. Wholesale distributor license $90 

  4. Warehouser permit $90 

  5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $90 

  6. Controlled substances registration $30 

E. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Any entity attempting to renew a license, permit, or 
registration more than one year after the expiration date 
shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 
required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 
board and, except for reinstatement following license 
revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 
director of the board upon completion of an application 
and payment of any required fees.  

2. Engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, 
permit, or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary 
action by the board. Facilities or entities that cease 
operation and wish to resume shall not be eligible for 
reinstatement, but shall apply for a new permit or 
registration. 

3. Facilities or entities that failed to renew and continued to 
operate for more than one renewal cycle shall pay the 
current and all back renewal fees for the years in which 
they were operating plus the following reinstatement fees: 

  a. Nonrestricted manufacturer 
permit 

$240 

  b. Restricted manufacturer permit $210 

  c. Wholesale distributor license $240 

  d. Warehouser permit $240 

  e. Nonresident wholesale distributor $240 

  f. Controlled substances registration $180 

F. Application for change or inspection fees.  

  1. Reinspection fee $150 

  2. Inspection fee for change of location, 
structural changes, or security system 
changes 

$150 

  3. Change of ownership fee $50 

  4. Change of responsible party $50 

G. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

H. For the annual renewal due on or before December 31, 
2006, the following fees shall be imposed for a license or 
permit:  

  1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $210 

  2. Restricted manufacturer permit $140 

  3. Wholesale distributor license $210 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

467 
 

  4. Warehouser permit $210 

  5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $210 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1311; Filed September 23, 2008, 1:34 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-
20-90, 18VAC112-20-130, 18VAC112-20-131, 18VAC112-
20-150; adding 18VAC112-20-81). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-3482.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 1, 2007, through April 29, 2009. 

The Board of Physical Therapy requested an extension of the 
emergency regulations, 18VAC112-20, pursuant to §2.2-4011 
of the Code of Virginia to allow time for the permanent 
regulations to complete the executive review process and the 
requirements of the Administrative Process Act.  The 
emergency regulations, relating to direct access certification, 
were published in 24:4 VA.R. 496-500 October 29, 2007 
(http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/vol24/iss04/ 
v24i04.pdf) with effective dates of November 1, 2007, 
through October 31, 2008.  

The Governor approved the department's request to extend 
the expiration date of the emergency regulations for six 
months as provided in §2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 
Therefore, the regulations will continue in effect through 
April 29, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-857; Filed September 23, 2008, 2:48 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-35. Virginia Independence 
Program (amending 22VAC40-35-10, 22VAC40-35-20, 
22VAC40-35-40 through 22VAC40-35-120, 22VAC40-35-
130; repealing 22VAC40-35-5, 22VAC40-35-125, 
22VAC40-35-126, 22VAC40-35-127, 22VAC40-35-128). 

Statutory Authority: §63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
December 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Mark L. Golden, TANF Program Manager, 
Department of Social Services, Division of Benefit Programs, 
7 North Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
726-7385, FAX (804) 726-7356, TTY (800) 828-1120, or 
email mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Pursuant to §63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia, the 
State Board of Social Services has authority to promulgate 
rules and regulations necessary for operation of all assistance 
programs. The amendments to the regulations are 
discretionary changes that will make the regulations more 
complete and consistent with state law. 

Purpose: The AFDC program was replaced by the TANF 
program with passage of the Personal Responsibility and 
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act. The term AFDC is 
therefore obsolete and needs to be updated. 

The Virginia Targeted Jobs Grant Program has been 
discontinued by the General Assembly. The references to the 
program are obsolete and need to be removed. 

The pertinent sections of the Virginia State Code regarding 
the TANF program were recodified.  The state code citations 
in the regulation are out of date and need to be updated. 

The exemptions from VIEW are being updated for 
consistency with state code. While all of the exemptions 
listed in state code were allowed in practice, they were not all 
listed in the regulation. Having a complete, comprehensive 
list will make the regulation more complete and 
understandable for citizens. 

Allowing greater participation in educational activities for 
those participating in work experience will provide for better 
long-range outcomes for recipients of TANF. 

Former VIEW participants in the period of ineligibility after 
VIEW participation should have the opportunity to receive 
additional months of TANF assistance in certain 
circumstances.  This is addressed by expanding the 
opportunity to request an evaluation for a hardship exception 
to include requests received from former VIEW participants 
in the period of ineligibility after VIEW participation, and 
from individuals who are participating in VIEW and within 
60 days of the scheduled closure of their TANF case due to 
the receipt of 24 months of TANF benefits. 

The change to the regulation regarding noncooperation in 
establishing paternity was made at the request of the Office of 
the Attorney General to avoid the potential for litigation.  It 
was determined that the regulation concerning cooperation in 
establishing paternity was not comprehensive and did not 
address the situation of a client naming numerous potential 
putative fathers. 
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Substance: The regulation will be amended by updating state 
code citations that changed as a result of recodification, 
removing obsolete references to Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children (AFDC) and adding references to the 
current Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
program, updating the VIEW exemptions and definitions, 
removing obsolete language concerning the receipt of federal 
waivers, removing obsolete references to the Virginia 
Targeted Jobs Grant Program, allowing greater participation 
in educational activities when a participant is participating in 
community work experience, expanding opportunities for 
hardship exceptions, and addressing situations when an 
applicant for TANF names multiple putative fathers.  If an 
applicant names multiple potential fathers, the applicant will 
be considered cooperating until five named fathers have been 
eliminated by genetic testing, which will be paid for by the 
Division of Child Support Enforcement.  If the applicant fails 
to assume full responsibility for any additional genetic 
testing, it will be considered noncooperation. 

Issues: Removal of obsolete language and references (such as 
AFDC and Virginia Targeted Jobs Grant) will make the 
regulation easier to understand for both citizens and local 
department of social services staff. 

Revising the VIEW exemptions and definitions will provide a 
clearer understanding of all individuals who will be required 
to participate in the VIEW program. 

By allowing VIEW participants to participate in educational 
activities once the participant has met the required 20 hours 
per week of participation in a core work activity, the 
regulation will provide the participant the opportunity to 
improve his education and skill level to enhance his future 
employability while concurrently meeting the participation 
requirements of the VIEW program. 

Revising the number of days that the local social services 
agency has to determine eligibility for diversionary assistance 
from within 45 days to within 30 days of the date of the 
receipt of the signed application or within five working days 
of the receipt of the final verification that substantiates 
eligibility, whichever occurs first, will allow this policy to 
match the policy for processing other Temporary Assistance 
for Needy Families (TANF) applications. 

By allowing former VIEW participants in the period of 
ineligibility after VIEW participation the opportunity to 
request a hardship exception, the regulation will provide these 
individuals the same opportunity to receive additional months 
of TANF assistance as those individuals who request a 
hardship exception while still participating in the VIEW 
program (in the 60 days prior to the closure of the TANF case 
due to receipt of 24 months of TANF benefits).  This will 
establish a uniform guideline for all VIEW participants to be 
evaluated for a hardship exception regardless of when the 
request is made – either prior to or after the TANF case 
closure. 

The regulation will allow the client an opportunity to provide 
a reasonable number (five) of possible fathers in situations 
when the client does not know the identity of the father to 
establish paternity and a child support obligation.  By 
establishing uniform guidelines, the client, as well as the local 
department of social services, can be assured that the same 
process is applied to each client without variation. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 
regulation governing the Virginia Independence Program to 
eliminate references to the obsolete (since 2003) Virginia 
Targeted Jobs Grant (VTJG) program, and corresponding 
statutory citations, and replace references to the Aid to 
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) with Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF).  The Board also 
proposes to 1) reduce the allowable processing time for 
TANF applications from 45 days to 30 days, 2) revise the 
definition of “job search” to reflect a federal requirement that 
states count hours spent searching for jobs rather than number 
of job searches, 3) clarify requirements for hardship 
exemptions for the TANF program and 4) set limits on the 
number of paternity tests (per child) for which the Division of 
Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) will pay. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Because the Virginia 
Independence Program has not been amended in many years, 
there are references to federal and state programs that either 
no longer exist (VTJG) or have been modified and renamed 
(AFDC).  The Board proposes to update this regulation so 
that obsolete references are eliminated and out-of-date 
references are updated.  There are likely no costs associated 
with these changes; individuals who read this regulation will 
likely benefit from the additional clarity that is gained from 
eliminating potentially confusing obsolete language. 

Of the other changes that are proposed by the Board only one 
is likely to (marginally) change the costs that regulated 
entities or the state will incur.  Currently, mothers who are 
applying for TANF must name the potential father(s) of their 
child so that he can be tested.  Once paternity is established, 
the Department of Social Services (DSS) can recover the 
public monies spent on that child from his/her father.  
Currently DCSE will pay for an unlimited number of 
paternity tests for each child that will be covered by TANF 
(DCSE currently requires fathers to reimburse the costs of 
testing once paternity is established).  The Board proposes to 
amend this rule so that DCSE will only pay for testing of five 
potential fathers for each covered child.  If more than five 
tests are needed to establish paternity, the mother of the child 
will be responsible for paying for the additional testing.  
Refusal to pursue such testing will be deemed as non-
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cooperation with the department and can lead to suspension 
of TANF benefits. 

This regulatory change will likely not cause any new costs to 
be accrued, as no increase or decrease in the cost of testing is 
anticipated, but it will redistribute some costs from the 
agency to the mothers of children who are covered by TANF.  
DCSE does not know how large this redistribution would be 
because it apparently does not keep data on how many tests it 
pays for per child.  DCSE does report, however, that 6,471 
tests were performed in FY2007; these tests cost $634,197.  
DCSE was able to recover approximately half of this cost 
($318,717) from the fathers of the children tested.  This likely 
means that only half of the tests run ended with paternity 
being established. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 
will affect all individuals who apply for or receive TANF 
benefits. DSS reports that, on average, 33,312 TANF 
payments were made per month in FY2007. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no affect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments eliminate references to the 
obsolete Virginia Targeted Jobs Grant (VTJG) program 
and corresponding statutory citations, and replace 
applicable references to the Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children (AFDC) with Temporary Assistance 
for Needy Families (TANF).  The proposed amendments 
also (i) update statutory references, (ii) reduce the 
allowable processing time for TANF applications from 45 
days to 30 days, (iii) revise the definition of “job search” 
to reflect a federal requirement that states count hours 
spent searching for jobs rather than number of job 
searches, (iv) align exemptions from the Virginia Initiative 
for Employment Not Welfare (VIEW) with those listed in 
state code, (v) expand opportunities for hardship 
exceptions in the TANF program, (vi) allow greater 
participation in educational activities when participating 
in community work experience, and (vii) set limits on the 
number of paternity tests (per child) for which the Division 
of Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) will pay. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

22VAC40-35-5. Federal waivers. (Repealed.) 

The provisions of this regulation requiring additional federal 
waivers (22VAC40-35-20 A 6, 22VAC40-35-100 B 1 d and 
D 2 c, and 22VAC40-35-110) shall become effective only 
upon the receipt of such waivers and completion of the 
promulgation of these regulations.  

22VAC40-35-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Actively seeking employment" means satisfactorily 
participating in any assigned job-seeking activity while in the 
program.  
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"Adult portion" means the TANF amount paid on behalf of 
the parent or other caretaker-relative with whom the TANF 
child resides, including a minor parent. This amount is the 
difference in the standard of assistance for a family size 
which includes the adult and the standard of assistance for a 
family size of one less person.  

"AFDC-Foster Care" means a federal program authorized 
under §472 of the Social Security Act (42 USC §672) and 
administered by the Virginia Department of Social Services, 
which provides financial assistance on behalf of qualifying 
children.  

"Agreement" means the written individualized agreement of 
personal responsibility required by §63.2-608 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Allotment" means the monthly food stamp benefit given to 
a household.  

"Applicant" means a person who has applied for TANF or 
TANF-UP benefits and the disposition of the application has 
not yet been determined.  

"Assistance unit" means those persons who have been 
determined categorically and financially eligible to receive 
assistance.  

"Caretaker-relative" means the natural or adoptive parent or 
other relative, as specified in 45 CFR 233.90(c)(1)(v), who is 
responsible for supervision and care of the needy child.  

"Case management" means the process of assessing, 
coordinating, monitoring, delivering or brokering activities 
and services necessary for VIEW participants to enter 
employment or employment-related activities as quickly as 
possible.  

"Case management services" means services which include, 
but are not limited to, job development and job placement, 
community work experience, education, skills training, and 
support services.  

"Case manager" means the worker designated by the local 
department of social services, a private-sector contractor or a 
private community-based organization including nonprofit 
entities, churches, or voluntary organizations that provide 
case management services.  

"Child day care" means those services for which a 
participant is eligible pursuant to child day care services 
policy.  

"Child day care services/program" means a regularly 
operating service arrangement for children where, during the 
absence of a parent or guardian, a person or organization has 
agreed to assume responsibility for the supervision, 
protection, and well-being of children under the age of 13 (or 
children up to 18 years of age if they are physically or 
mentally incapable of caring for themselves or subject to 
court supervision) for less than a 24-hour period.  

"Community work experience" means work for benefits in a 
public or private organization that serves a community/public 
function.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 
Services.  

"Diversionary cash assistance" means a one-time lump sum 
payment to an individual or third-party vendor to prevent 
long-term receipt of TANF.  

"Division of Child Support Enforcement" or "DCSE" means 
that division of the Virginia Department of Social Services 
which is responsible under Title IV-D of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC §§651-669) to locate noncustodial parents, 
establish paternity, establish child support and health care 
orders, enforce payment of delinquent support, and collect 
and distribute support payments.  

"Employer tax credit" means a tax credit available to an 
employer pursuant to §58.1-439.9 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Family" means a TANF assistance unit.  

"Food Stamp Program" means the program administered 
through the Virginia Department of Social Services through 
which a household can receive food stamps with which to 
purchase food products.  

"Full Employment Program" or "FEP" means subsidized, 
training-oriented, employment which replaces the TANF and 
food stamp benefits of a participant. This component of 
VIEW is designed to train the recipient for a specific job, 
increase his self-sufficiency and improve his competitiveness 
in the labor market.  

"Full-time unsubsidized employment" means employment 
which is considered by the employer to be full time, but in no 
case less than 30 hours per week, and for which no JOBS, 
VIEW, TANF, or food stamp funds are used to pay the 
individual's salary.  

"Grant" means the monthly TANF benefit payment.  

"Hardship exceptions" means prescribed reasons which, if 
applicable, would allow an extension of receipt of TANF 
benefits.  

"He" means a male or female, as applicable.  

"Hiring authority" means an individual with the authority to 
hire employees for a business.  

"In loco parentis" means an adult relative or other adult who 
is acting in place of a parent.  

"Incapacitated" means a medically verified condition which 
renders an individual unable to work.  

"Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training Program 
(JOBS)" means the program authorized by Title IV-F of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC §§681-687). This program 
provides education, training and work experience to enhance 
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employment opportunities for TANF recipients who are not 
exempt from participation.  

"Job finding" means identification of available jobs.  

"Job matching" means matching a participant's minimum 
skills or prior work experience to available job openings.  

"Job placement" means placing a participant in an 
unsubsidized or subsidized job. Job placement is the result of 
job finding and job matching.  

"Job search" means a structured, time-limited period in 
which the participant is required to search for employment. 
To complete the job search, the participant must search and 
apply for a set number of jobs. The participant must complete 
a set number of hours searching for employment. 

"Job skills training" means training in technical job skills or 
required knowledge in a specific occupational area in the 
labor market.  

"Local agency" or "local department" means any one of the 
local social services or welfare agencies throughout the 
Commonwealth which administers the VIP program.  

"Minor parent" means any parent under 18 years of age.  

"On-the-job training" means training which is provided by 
an employer during routine performance of a job.  

"Parent" means a mother or father, married or unmarried, 
natural, or adoptive following entry of an interlocutory order. 
The parent may be a minor parent.  

"Participant" means a TANF or TANF-UP recipient who is 
participating in the VIEW program.  

"Participating family" means an assistance unit including a 
parent who participates in the Virginia Initiative for 
Employment not Welfare (VIEW) Program.  

"Part-time unsubsidized employment" means employment of 
at least eight 10 hours but less than 30 hours per week and for 
which no JOBS, VIEW, TANF, or food stamp funds are used 
to pay the individual's salary.  

"Post-secondary education" means formal instruction at an 
institution of higher education or vocational school leading to 
the attainment of a certificate, an associate degree, or a 
baccalaureate degree.  

"Qualified business employer" means an employer whose 
business employed not more than 100 employees at the time 
that the employer first hired a qualified employee.  

"Qualified employee" means an employee who is a Virginia 
resident and is a recipient of Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF).  

"Qualified employer" means an employer who may 
participate in the Virginia Targeted Jobs Grant Program by 
virtue of meeting all of the program criteria for employers.  

"Qualified participant" means a Virginia Initiative for 
Employment not Welfare participant who meets all of the 
program criteria and may be hired by a qualified employer.  

"Recipient" means an individual who is presently receiving 
a TANF assistance payment or whose eligibility exists even 
though the assistance payment is zero.  

"Recipient family" means an assistance unit in which the 
caretaker-relative is a parent of the eligible child and the 
parent's needs may or may not be included on the grant.  

"Relative" means spouse, child, grandchild, parent, or 
sibling of a qualified employer.  

"Sanction" means to reduce or suspend a participant's TANF 
grant or food stamp allotment or both, where applicable, for 
noncompliance with these regulations or the statute.  

"School" means (i) any public school from kindergarten 
through grade 12 operated under the authority of any locality 
within this Commonwealth or (ii) any private or parochial 
school that offers instruction at any level or grade from 
kindergarten through grade 12.  

"Support services" means services such as child care or 
transportation provided to program participants to enable the 
participant to work or to receive training or education which 
are intended to lead to employment.  

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" or "TANF" 
means the program authorized in §406 of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC §606) and administered by the Virginia 
Department of Social Services, through which a relative can 
receive monthly cash assistance for the support of his eligible 
children.  

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families-Unemployed 
Parent" or "TANF-UP" means the program authorized in 
§63.2-602 of the Code of Virginia and administered by the 
Virginia Department of Social Services, which provides aid 
to two-parent families with dependent children who are in 
financial need.  

"Time limitations" means a specified period of time, under 
the statute, to receive TANF.  

"Transitional support services" means child care, 
transportation, medical assistance or employment and training 
services provided to working participants whose TANF has 
been terminated either voluntarily, although still eligible for 
TANF, or involuntarily, due to time limitations.  

"Truant" means a child who (i) fails to report to school for 
three consecutive school days, or for a total of five scheduled 
school days per month or an aggregate of seven scheduled 
school days per school calendar quarter, whichever occurs 
sooner, and no indication has been received by school 
personnel that the child's parent or guardian is aware of the 
child's absence, and a reasonable effort by school personnel to 
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notify the parent or guardian has failed; or (ii) is not enrolled 
in school at any time during the month.  

"Underemployed" means working at a job for less than the 
federal hourly minimum wage.  

"Unsubsidized employment" means employment in which 
no government funds are used to subsidize directly the wages 
earned by a participant.  

"Virginia Independence Program" or "VIP" means the 
program in the Commonwealth of Virginia which is made up 
of the TANF Program and the Virginia Initiative for 
Employment not Welfare.  

"Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare" or 
"VIEW" means the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills 
Training Program as implemented in the Commonwealth 
employment program for TANF recipients.  

"Virginia Targeted Jobs Grant" or "VTJG" means a grant 
paid to an employer in accordance with §63.1-25.3 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Work activity" means participation in unsubsidized 
employment, FEP, part-time work, community work 
experience, on-the-job training, job search, job readiness, 
community service, job skills training directly related to 
employment, satisfactory attendance at secondary school, or 
in a course of study leading to a certificate of general 
equivalence.  

Part II  
Eligibility Requirements  

22VAC40-35-20. Cooperation in obtaining support.  

A. As a condition of eligibility, each applicant for or 
recipient of AFDC TANF shall be required to cooperate 
(unless good cause for refusing to do so is determined to exist 
in accordance with federal regulations at 45 CFR 232.40 
through 232.43). Cooperation shall mean all of the following 
actions necessary for the identification and location of 
noncustodial parents and the establishment and collection of 
child support owed to the person applying for or receiving 
public assistance:  

1. Identifying the parent of a child for whom aid is 
requested. The applicant or recipient shall provide, under 
penalty of perjury, the first and last name of the individual 
against whom paternity or an obligation to provide support 
is sought to be established, modified, or enforced. If the 
applicant or recipient is not certain of the child's paternity, 
he shall identify all individuals with whom the mother had 
sexual intercourse who may be the father.  

2. Providing, under penalty of perjury, additional 
informational items sufficient to verify the parent's identity 
including, at a minimum, three of the following: the 
noncustodial parent's social security number; race; date of 
birth; place of birth; telephone number; address; schools 

attended; occupation; employer; driver's license number; 
make and model of motor vehicle; motor vehicle license 
plate number; places of social contact; banking institutions 
utilized; and names, addresses or telephone number of 
parents, friends, or relatives.  

3. Appearing at an office of the local social services 
agency or the Division of Child Support Enforcement as 
necessary to provide verbal or written information or 
documentary evidence known to, possessed by, or 
reasonably attainable by the applicant.  

4. Appearing as a witness at judicial or administrative 
hearings or proceedings.  

5. Providing information, or attesting to the lack of 
information, under penalty of perjury.  

6. 22VAC40-35-20 A 5 shall be repealed upon receipt of 
appropriate waiver or other authorization from the federal 
government.  

B. If the caretaker-relative is not a parent of the child for 
whom aid is requested or received, subdivisions A 1 and 2 of 
this section shall not be required.  

C. If the parent is unsure of the identity of the father of the 
child, she is to name all potential persons who may be the 
father of the child. The Division of Child Support 
Enforcement will provide paternity testing for up to five 
potential fathers at its expense. After five potential fathers 
have been tested, the parent must assume full responsibility 
for any additional testing. If the parent fails or refuses to pay 
for further paternity testing, this will be considered to be 
noncooperation. 

22VAC40-35-40. Diversionary assistance program 
eligibility criteria.  

A. An assistance unit shall be eligible to receive 
diversionary cash assistance if:  

1. Verification is provided to the local department of social 
services that the assistance unit has a temporary loss of 
income or delay in starting to receive income resulting in 
an emergency;  

2. The assistance unit meets AFDC requirements specified 
in §63.1-105 §63.2-617 of the Code of Virginia; and  

3. The local department of social services determines that 
diversionary assistance will resolve the emergency.  

B. The amount of assistance provided shall be up to the 
maximum AFDC TANF amount for 120 days that the family 
would otherwise be eligible to receive. The amount of the 
payment is based on immediate needs of the applicant. Local 
agencies shall strive to provide the most cost-effective 
solution to the one-time emergency.  

C. If an assistance unit receives a diversionary assistance 
payment, all assistance unit members shall be ineligible for 
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AFDC TANF for 1.33 times the number of days for which 
assistance is granted, beginning with the date that the 
diversionary assistance is issued.  

D. An assistance unit shall be eligible to receive 
diversionary assistance once in a 60-month period.  

E. Receipt of diversionary assistance is voluntary.  

F. Local social services agencies shall determine eligibility 
for diversionary assistance within five working days of the 
receipt of the final verification that substantiates eligibility, or 
within 45 30 days of the date of the receipt of the signed 
application, whichever occurs first.  

22VAC40-35-50. School attendance.  

A. The Virginia Department of Social Services shall develop 
procedures with the Department of Education to receive 
notification from local school divisions of any student who is 
truant. If notification is received from another source, the 
local department shall verify such truancy by contacting the 
school.  

B. When verified by the school of such truancy, the local 
social services department shall do the following:  

1. The local department shall send a written notice to the 
caretaker-relative advising him that the truant recipient is 
in jeopardy of losing eligibility for AFDC TANF benefits. 
The caretaker-relative must contact the local department 
within five days of the notice to cooperate in developing a 
plan to achieve compliance with compulsory school 
attendance laws. The notice must also specify that failure 
to contact the local department may result in the truant 
recipient's ineligibility for AFDC TANF due to 
noncooperation.  

2. If the caretaker-relative fails to respond within five days 
of the notice, the local department shall make a personal 
contact which may include a direct telephone contact with 
the caretaker-relative to explain the requirement to develop 
a plan to return the child to school and the result of not 
cooperating with the requirement.  

3. If the local department is unable to make personal 
contact, the local department shall mail a written advance 
notice of proposed action to the caretaker-relative advising 
that AFDC TANF benefits will be reduced if the caretaker-
relative fails to contact the local department to develop a 
plan to return the child to school.  

C. If the local department of social services denies or 
terminates AFDC TANF for noncompliance, the caretaker-
relative shall notify the local department in writing of the 
truant individual's compliance with this section and file a new 
application for AFDC TANF. The local department shall 
verify compliance by contacting the school.  

22VAC40-35-60. Minor parent residency requirement. 

A. To be eligible to receive AFDC TANF, a minor parent 
shall reside in the home maintained by his parent or person 
standing in loco parentis unless he meets the good cause 
exception outlined in subsection B of this section. The local 
department shall ensure that the following priority order for 
the minor parent's living arrangements is considered: in a 
home maintained by a parent, other adult relative, legal 
guardian, or other adult determined by the department to be 
acting in place of a parent. 

B. The minor parent residency requirement shall not apply if 
the local department of social services determines, by clear 
and convincing evidence, that the physical or emotional 
health or safety of the minor parent or his dependent child 
would be jeopardized if the minor parent and dependent lived 
in the same residence with the minor parent's parent or person 
standing in loco parentis. Such a claim shall be corroborated 
by evidence such as court, medical, criminal, child protective 
services, psychological, or law-enforcement records. 

C. The local department of social services shall maintain a 
list of available housing to be used to refer a minor parent 
who is in need of an adult-supervised supportive living 
arrangement. If the local department of social services makes 
a referral, it will be deemed that the local department has 
made diligent efforts to locate such housing.  

D. As a condition of eligibility, the minor parent shall reside 
at the local housing to which he is referred by the local 
department.  

22VAC40-35-70. Limitation on AFDC TANF benefits.  

A. A recipient family is not entitled to an increase in AFDC 
TANF benefits if the mother of such recipient family gives 
birth to an additional child during the period of the family's 
eligibility for financial assistance.  

B. Applicants for AFDC TANF financial assistance shall 
receive notice of the provisions of this section at the time of 
application. At application or redetermination, such applicant 
or recipient shall sign a notification acknowledging that they 
have read and understand the notice.  

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to a child 
born or adopted during the 10 months following the 
implementation effective date nor to a child born or adopted 
during the 10 full calendar months following the month in 
which the initial assistance check is issued.  

D. The provisions of this section shall apply equally to 
recipient families who adopt a child except that the provision 
shall be applied using the date of entry of the interlocutory 
order instead of the child's birthdate.  
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Part III  
Virginia Initiative for Employment Not Welfare (VIEW)  

22VAC40-35-80. Participant eligibility.  

A. Individuals The following individuals shall be exempt 
from mandatory participation in VIEW: 

1. Any individual, including all minor caretakers, under 16 
years of age; 

2. Any individual at least 16 but no more than 19 years of 
age who is enrolled full time in elementary or secondary 
school, including career and technical education programs. 
The career and technical education program must be 
equivalent to secondary school. Whenever feasible, such 
recipients should participate in summer work.  

3. Any individual unable to participate because of a 
temporary medical condition that prevents entry into 
employment or training, as determined by a physician, . 
Such individuals must provide to the local department a 
written statement from a physician to specify that he is 
incapacitated, the nature and scope of the incapacity, and 
the duration of the incapacity. The worker must reevaluate 
the participant's incapacity at the time prescribed by the 
medical statement or every 60 days, whichever comes first. 
The recipient must provide verification that he continues to 
be incapacitated.  

4. Any individual who is receiving Social Security 
Disability Benefits or Supplemental Security Income. 

B. 5. Any individual who is the sole caregiver of another 
member of the household who is incapacitated, and whose 
presence is essential for the care of the other member on a 
substantially continuous basis, shall be exempt from 
participation in VIEW. Incapacity is determined by receipt 
of Social Security Disability Benefits or, Supplemental 
Security Income. The sole other condition under which an 
individual may be determined incapacitated is by, or a 
written medical statement from a physician.  

6. Any individual who is age 60 or older. 

C. AFDC recipients who meet an exemption from 
participation in VIEW may volunteer for the program.  

D. 7. A parent of a child under 12 months of age who 
personally provides care for the child. A parent of a child 
not considered part of the TANF public assistance unit due 
to the provisions listed in §63.2-604 of the Code of 
Virginia may be granted a temporary exemption of not 
more than six weeks after the birth of such child. 

E. B. Nonparents who receive TANF shall participate in 
VIEW if not otherwise exempt. 

F. C. Pregnant women shall participate in VIEW if not 
otherwise exempt. Pregnant women shall be assigned to job 

readiness, training, and educational activities during the last 
trimester of pregnancy. 

D. TANF recipients who meet an exemption from 
participation in VIEW may volunteer for the program.  

22VAC40-35-90. Services. 

A. The participant shall have the primary responsibility to 
arrange transportation to be employed or participate in 
activities required by the Agreement of Personal 
Responsibility. Transportation shall be provided only when 
the participant is unable to make the necessary arrangements.  

B. The local department shall provide transitional medical 
assistance in accordance with the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services State Plan and regulations.  

C. B. The local departments may provide those services 
itemized in §63.2-611 B of the Code of Virginia.  

D. C. Transitional employment and training services shall be 
through the VIEW program to certain individuals.  

1. Transitional employment and training services can be 
provided if the following criteria are met:  

a. The individual is already employed or the provisions 
of the employment and training services would allow the 
individual to become reemployed within 60 days.  

b. The activities are designed to maintain employment 
income, increase employment income or prevent the loss 
of employment income by the participant.  

c. The individual had been enrolled in the VIEW 
program.  

d. The TANF case of which the individual was a member 
is closed.  

e. The case had not been in a VIEW sanction at the time 
of closure.  

f. The individual has not completed an associate degree 
or four-year degree.  

2. The individual can only receive up to 12 months of 
transitional employment and training services available 
through the VIEW program.  

3. The individual shall enroll in an activity which can be 
completed within the 12-month time period.  

4. An individual can only be enrolled in an activity if 
approved by a VIEW employment services worker.  

5. Individuals may be enrolled only in education and 
training activities for which there are jobs in the 
community or jobs are projected to become available in the 
community.  
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6. Continued enrollment in education and skills training 
activities is dependent upon meeting the satisfactory 
progress requirements for participation in these activities.  

a. For education below the post-secondary level (Adult 
Basic Education and General Equivalency Diploma), the 
individual must obtain one grade level increase every 
three months.  

b. For certificate and job skills training activities, the 
participant must meet the satisfactory progress 
requirements of the institution providing the training.  

7. Participants shall not be assigned to FEP (Full 
Employment Program).  

E. D. A VIEW participant shall be eligible for a transitional 
job retention assistance payment of $50 per month for up to 
one year after the end of TANF cash assistance. To qualify 
the participant shall: 

1. Be employed at the end of TANF cash assistance; 

2. Maintain employment of at least 30 hours per week; and 

3. Provide verification of earnings and continued 
employment of at least 30 hours per week.  

22VAC40-35-100. VIEW activities.  

A. VIEW recognizes that parents have the obligation to 
support their children through work/employment 
employment.  

B. VIEW shall recognize clearly defined responsibilities and 
obligations on the part of public assistance recipients. VIEW 
shall require an Agreement of Personal Responsibility and the 
obligation to seek and obtain employment. Refusal to sign the 
Agreement of Personal Responsibility shall result in 
termination of AFDC and food stamps TANF. The 
Agreement of Personal Responsibility shall be written for 
each nonexempt participant specifying, among other 
applicable requirements, the following:  

1. The participant's obligations and responsibilities:  

a. That it is the participant's responsibility to seek 
employment to support his own family.  

b. That it is the participant's responsibility to participate 
in assignments made by the case manager.  

c. That it is the participant's responsibility to notify the 
case manager of any change in the participant's 
circumstances which would impact the participant's 
ability to satisfactorily participate in the program.  

d. That it is the participant's responsibility to accept 
offers of suitable employment. Refusal to accept offers of 
suitable employment will result in the loss of the 
participant household's AFDC and food stamps. Loss of 
food stamps for refusal to accept offers of suitable 

employment will result in the entire household's food 
stamp allotment being terminated when the participant is 
the head of household. If the participant is not the head of 
the household, only the participant's prorata share shall 
be removed from the allotment TANF.  

e. That it is the participant's responsibility to arrange and 
find transportation and day care. The agency will provide 
for transportation and day care, to the extent funding is 
available, only when the participant is unable to make his 
own arrangements.  

2. Explanation of the two-year time limit.  

C. Modification of the Agreement of Personal 
Responsibility shall not impact or change the two-year time 
limit for receipt of AFDC TANF benefits.  

D. A VIEW participant who does not meet an exemption 
shall be required to participate in a work activity. The 
department shall ensure that participants are assigned to one 
of the following employment categories not less than 90 days 
after AFDC TANF eligibility determination and entry into the 
VIEW program:  

1. Unsubsidized private sector employment (full-time, part-
time or temporary) is the preferred employment category. 
A participant shall be required to accept any offers of 
suitable employment as defined in §60.2-618 of the 
Virginia Unemployment Compensation Act.  

2. Subsidized employment as follows:  

a. The department shall conduct a work activity which 
shall be known as the Full Employment Program (FEP), 
which shall replace AFDC and food stamp TANF 
benefits with subsidized employment.  

b. The local department, employer and the full 
employment participant shall sign a written agreement. 
At the expiration of this full employment agreement or 
when the participant leaves FEP, he will be reassessed 
and a modified Activity and Service Plan will be 
developed to reassign the participant to an appropriate 
employment category.  

c. The employer is reimbursed for the wages paid to the 
participant up to the combined value of the participant's 
AFDC and food stamps TANF benefits as contained in 
the agreement signed between the department and the 
employer.  

(1) The employer subsidy will be based on the actual 
hours the participant works.  

(2) The value of the participant's AFDC and food stamp 
TANF benefits will be based on the benefits received 
over the period of assignment to a Full Employment 
Program placement.  

3. Community work experience.  
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a. The participant can be placed into community work 
experience. Job placements shall serve a useful public 
purpose as provided in §482 (f) of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC §682 F).  

b. The department and local departments shall work with 
other state, regional, and local agencies and governments 
in developing job placements. Placements shall be 
selected to provide skills that will make the participant 
more employable and serve a public function. 
Participation in community work experience shall be for 
an initial period of six months. Program participants shall 
not displace regular workers.  

c. At the expiration of the community work experience 
assignment or when the participant leaves community 
work experience, he will be reassessed and a modified 
Activity and Service Plan will be developed to reassign 
the participant to an appropriate employment category.  

d. There shall be no sick leave benefit attached to this 
component since participants work in exchange for their 
AFDC TANF and food stamp benefits. Participants who 
are ill or incapacitated will continue to receive their 
benefits.  

4. In order to be considered a work activity in VIEW, on-
the-job training must be provided by an employer. This is 
typically employer-required unpaid training by an 
employer which must be completed before an individual 
will be hired.  

E. Other VIEW activities include:  

1. Education.  

a. Education may only be provided in conjunction with 
work-related activities during the participant's two-year 
time period.  

(1) Only eight Assigned hours per week of community 
work experience hours can be provided substituted for 
educational activities during the participant's initial six-
month placement in community work experience as long 
as the participant is engaged in community work 
experience for at least 20 hours per week. After six 
months of participation in community work experience, 
the number of hours required in the work activity can be 
reduced to allow participation in education to further the 
participant's employability.  

(2) Participants who enroll into education or training 
programs prior to coming in VIEW shall be required to 
meet the requirements of the program.  

b. Post-secondary education. Participants assigned to 
post-secondary education should have demonstrated the 
capability to successfully complete the educational 
activity in the prescribed time period in an occupational 
area for which there is demand in the community.  

2. Job skills training may only be provided in conjunction 
with work-related activities during the participant's two-
year time period. The choice of occupational skills training 
offered will vary in each jurisdiction depending upon local 
labor market conditions. However, skills training must be 
related to the types of jobs which are available or are likely 
to become available in the community.  

3. Job search and job readiness. 

4. Community service. 

5. Vocational education. 

22VAC40-35-110. Sanctions.  

Local departments of social services shall be authorized to 
sanction participants in the Food Stamp Program as allowed 
pursuant to 7 CFR 273.7(g) and in the AFDC TANF Program 
up to the full amount of the AFDC TANF grant for 
noncompliance, without good cause as defined by the JOBS 
State Plan, as follows:  

1. A participant assigned to the Full Employment Program 
who does not work the required hours will only be paid for 
the actual hours worked. Participants that are terminated 
from FEP by the employer due to problems with 
attendance or performance or both will be sanctioned the 
full amount of the AFDC and food stamp benefits TANF 
grant.  

2. A recipient assigned to VIEW who is determined to be 
in noncompliance with the VIEW Program shall be 
sanctioned as follows:  

a. For the first offense, the full amount of AFDC TANF 
benefits for the family shall be suspended for at least one 
calendar month or until the individual complies with the 
program requirements, whichever is longer.  

b. For the second offense, the full amount of AFDC 
TANF benefits for the family shall be suspended for at 
least three calendar months or until the individual 
complies with the program requirements, whichever is 
longer.  

c. For the third or subsequent offenses, the full amount of 
AFDC TANF benefits for the family shall be suspended 
for at least six calendar months or until the individual 
complies with the program requirements, whichever is 
longer.  

22VAC40-35-120. Hardship exceptions. 

A. In certain circumstances, hardship exceptions may be 
made to the time limitations for receipt of AFDC TANF 
benefits. A request for a hardship exception may be made by 
an individual who is either a current VIEW participant in the 
60-day period prior to the closure of the TANF case due to 
the receipt of 24 months of TANF benefits or a former VIEW 
participant in the period of ineligibility following the receipt 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

477 
 

of 24 months of TANF benefits. If the participant requests a 
hardship exception, the local department shall make an 
evaluation of participation while in VIEW and, if applicable, 
the period of ineligibility after VIEW participation. This 
evaluation will determine if a hardship exception may be 
granted to allow the participant to continue receiving AFDC 
TANF and to continue to participate in VIEW after the 
receipt of 24 months of TANF benefits. Once a participant 
has exhausted the time limit extended to him under a hardship 
exception, he may not apply for another extension based upon 
the same hardship.  

A participant is not eligible for a hardship exception unless 
he has complied with the requirements of the program, which 
are satisfactory participation in assigned program activities, 
not having been sanctioned more than once during the two-
year period for failing to comply with the requirements of the 
program, and not leaving a job, without good cause as defined 
by the JOBS State Plan, at any time during the program. 
Former participants will not be eligible for a hardship 
exception unless the individual has complied with the 
requirements of the program while in VIEW and has not lost 
employment as a result of factors unrelated to his job 
performance since entering the period of ineligibility. Factors 
unrelated to job performance are defined as those situations in 
which the Virginia Employment Commission would 
determine that the individual would be eligible for 
unemployment compensation if the participant had worked 
sufficient hours to qualify. 

B. If the above criteria are met, a hardship exception may be 
granted by the local agency for up to one year if one of the 
following conditions exists:  

1. If the unemployment rate in the participant's locality for 
the two most recent quarters for which data is available 
from the Virginia Employment Commission prior to the 
individual's two-year time limit elapsed request for a 
hardship exception was 10% or greater. In order to qualify 
for this exception the participant must also be actively 
seeking employment as defined in §60.2-612 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

2. If extension of benefits for up to one year will enable a 
participant to complete employment-related education or 
training and the participant had been making satisfactory 
progress per program requirements.  

Participants granted a hardship exception under this 
subsection shall be reevaluated at least every 90 days to 
determine if a basis for the hardship exception continues to 
exist. If a hardship exception is granted, the participant must 
continue to participate in the program and work activities.  

C. A hardship exception shall be granted, if the local 
department determines that the participant meets all criteria, 
for up to 90 days if the following conditions exist:  

1. If the participant has been actively seeking employment 
by engaging in job-seeking activities required pursuant to 
§60.2-612 of the Code of Virginia and is unable to find 
employment that would, in combination with any other 
income sources of assistance that the individual is 
receiving, pay an amount equal to or exceeding the case's 
AFDC TANF cash benefits and standard work deduction. 
The local department may extend benefits for up to three 
months 90 days to allow the participant to find 
employment.  

2. If the program participant loses his job as a result of 
factors unrelated to his job performance. Factors unrelated 
to job performance are defined as those situations in which 
the Virginia Employment Commission would determine 
that the individual would be eligible for unemployment 
compensation if the participant had worked sufficient 
hours to qualify. The local department may extend benefits 
for up to three months 90 days to allow the participant to 
find employment.  

Extensions of hardship exceptions will be granted in this 
subsection in very limited circumstances and only to those 
persons who demonstrate an extreme hardship. The local 
department shall refer the case to a panel composed of the 
Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social Services, 
the Commissioner of the Virginia Employment Commission, 
and the Executive Director of the Governor's Employment 
and Training Department or designee. The panel 
commissioner or designee shall evaluate each request 
individually and grant or deny the request for an extension. 
The panel commissioner or designee will reevaluate the 
individual's case as it determines necessary, but at least every 
90 days, in order to determine whether the conditions 
justifying the exception continue to exist.  

22VAC40-35-125. The Virginia Targeted Jobs Grant 
Program. (Repealed.) 

A. In order to enhance the employment opportunities of 
participants, the VIEW program shall administer a grant 
program called the Virginia Targeted Jobs Grant Program 
(VTJG).  

1. The Virginia Targeted Jobs Grant Program shall pay a 
grant not to exceed $1,000 to participating qualified 
employers. For the purpose of this section, a qualified 
employer may not claim a grant if the qualified employee 
was employed within one year of the date of the current 
hiring.  

2. Participating employers shall sign an agreement with the 
Virginia Department of Social Services which will outline 
the program requirements for both the employer and the 
Commonwealth.  
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B. In order to be a qualified employee, the individual must 
have been a recipient of TANF for at least nine months prior 
to hiring.  

1. The employee must be unemployed or underemployed at 
the time he is hired by the employer.  

2. The employee shall not be a relative of the hiring 
authority. For the purpose of this section, a relative means 
a spouse, child, grandchild, parent or sibling of the 
employer.  

3. The employee must have worked for the employer for at 
least 1,000 hours during the taxable year.  

4. The employee must have been placed with the employer 
as a result of his participation in the Department of Social 
Services' VIEW Program.  

C. In order to make application for the Virginia Targeted 
Jobs Grant Program grant, a participating employer shall 
complete the application form supplied by the Department of 
Social Services. The application form shall be submitted to 
the Virginia Department of Social Services, Division of 
Financial Management with certification of the participant's 
employment for the period in question. The application must 
be filed no later than the last day of the third month following 
the close of the taxable year for which the grant is claimed. 
Grants will be awarded by May 30 of each year. If funds are 
not sufficient to cover the cost of the VTJGs to which each 
employer is entitled, each employer will be authorized a 
credit proportionate to his share of the available funding. 
Grants for applications received after April 15 will not be 
awarded until the following fiscal year. A VTJG Certification 
of Participant Placement must accompany the application.  

D. The Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 
or his designee, may examine the books, records, and other 
applicable documents to determine that the employer has 
satisfied the above requirements and is eligible for a VTJG.  

Part IV  
Employer Tax Credit  

22VAC40-35-126. Employer eligibility. (Repealed.) 

A. For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 1999, 
a qualified business employer shall be allowed a credit 
imposed against taxes imposed by Articles 2 (§58.1-320 et 
seq.), 6 (§58.1-360 et seq.), and 10 (§58.1-400 et seq.) of 
Chapter 3 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia in an amount 
equal to 5.0% of the annual salary paid during the taxable 
year to a qualified employee; however, in no case shall the 
credit exceed $750 per qualified employee.  

B. For the purposes of this section, the amount of any credit 
attributable to a partnership, electing small business 
corporation (S corporation), or limited liability company shall 
be allocated to the individual partners, shareholders, or 

members, respectively, in proportion to their ownership or 
interest in such business.  

C. Any credit not usable for a taxable year may be carried 
over to the next three taxable years. The amount of any credit 
allowed shall not exceed the tax imposed for the taxable year. 
A credit may not be carried back to a prior taxable year. If a 
qualified business that is subject to the tax limitation is 
allowed another credit under another provision of the Code of 
Virginia, or has a credit carryover from a preceding taxable 
year, such employer must first utilize any credit which does 
not have a carry over provision, and then any credit which is 
carried forward from a prior taxable year, prior to using a 
credit allowed under this section.  

D. The amount of tax credits available, when added to the 
amount of grants made to employers under the Virginia 
Targeted Jobs Grant Program for the fiscal year, shall not 
exceed the amount appropriated to the Virginia Targeted Jobs 
Grant Fund as provided in the general appropriation act.  

E. No qualified business employer shall be eligible to claim 
a credit for any taxable year that the employer is the recipient 
of a grant for the same qualified employee under the Virginia 
Targeted Jobs Grant Program.  

Part V  
Procedures for Claiming a Virginia Targeted Jobs Grant or 

Employer Tax Credit  

22VAC40-35-127. Procedures for claiming a Virginia 
Targeted Jobs Grant. (Repealed.) 

A. No later than three months following the close of a 
taxable year, but no later than April 15 of each year, any 
employer who hires a qualified employee during the taxable 
year must submit an application for a Virginia Targeted Jobs 
Grant (VTJG) to the Virginia Department of Social Services, 
Division of Financial Management, pursuant to 22VAC40-
35-125.  

B. The employer will include on the application:  

1. The taxable year for which the qualified employee was 
hired;  

2. The employee name and SSN;  

3. The date the qualified employee was hired;  

4. Total wages paid to the qualified employee during the 
taxable year;  

5. Total hours worked by the employee during the taxable 
year;  

6. The employer federal ID number;  

7. A statement that the qualified employee was not 
previously employed by the employer within 12 months of 
the date the qualified employee was hired; and  
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8. A certification that the employee is not a relative and has 
worked for more than 1,000 hours at a rate of pay which is 
at least the minimum wage during the taxable year for 
which the employer is claiming the VTJG.  

C. By May 15 of each year the total amount of VTJGs will 
be calculated and grants will be issued by the DSS in 
accordance with 22VAC40-35-125 C.  

D. Unused balances for a fiscal year will be issued to 
qualifying employers as an employer tax credit.  

22VAC40-35-128. Procedures for claiming an employer 
tax credit. (Repealed.) 

A. By April 15 of each year, any qualified business 
employer who hires a qualified employee during a taxable 
year beginning on or after January 1, 1999, must submit a 
Virginia Employer Tax Credit Application Form to the 
Virginia Department of Social Services, Division of Financial 
Management.  

B. The request will include:  

1. A certification that the company meets the definition of 
a qualified business employer as defined in §58.1-439.9 of 
the Code of Virginia;  

2. The employee name and SSN;  

3. The taxable year for which the qualified employee was 
hired;  

4. The date the qualified employee was hired;  

5. Total wages paid to the qualified employee during the 
taxable year;  

6. Total hours worked by the employee during the taxable 
year; and  

7. The employer federal ID number.  

C. After the department calculates and issues VTJG 
payments, the unexpended VTJG appropriation, as set forth in 
22VAC40-35-127 D, will be used to determine each qualified 
employer's entitlement to a employer tax credit. Based upon 
the number of employer tax credit requests received and the 
balance of VTJG funds, the department will determine the 
maximum employer tax credits (MTC) allowed, not to exceed 
$750 per qualified employee. If funds are not sufficient to 
cover the cost of the MTC to which each employer is entitled, 
each employer will be authorized a credit proportionate to his 
share of the available funding. The department will notify 
each qualified employer of the employer tax credit allowable 
for the taxable year which will be the MTC or a lesser amount 
based upon wages paid or maximum funding available. By 
June 15 of each year, the department will issue certifications 
of allowable employer tax credits to each qualified employer. 
The employer may amend their tax return for the taxable year 

for which the credit was earned or may apply the credit to a 
future year pursuant to §58.1-439.9 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. The department will notify the Virginia Department of 
Planning and Budget of the combined VTJG issued and MTC 
certified in the fiscal year by June 30 of each year.  

Part VI IV 
Appeals  

22VAC40-35-130. Appeals process. 

A participant aggrieved by the decision of a local board 
granting, denying, changing, or discontinuing assistance may 
appeal such decision pursuant to §63.1-116 §63.2-517 of the 
Code of Virginia. A participant cannot appeal the provisions 
of the Agreement of Personal Responsibility which was 
mutually developed by the participant and the local agency.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

FORMS  

View Agreement of Personal Responsibility.  

View Activity and Service Plan.  

View Full Employment Agreement.  

Virginia Employer Tax Credit Application Form.  
VA.R. Doc. No. R07-732; Filed September 23, 2008, 1:39 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-151. Standards for Licensed 
Children's Residential Facilities (adding 22VAC40-151-10 
through 22VAC40-151-1020). 

Statutory Authority: §§63.2-217 and 63.2-1737 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
November 12, 2008. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Joni S. Baldwin, M.Ed., Program 
Development Consultant, Department of Social Services, 7 
North Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 23231, telephone (804) 
726-7162, FAX (804) 726-7132, or email 
joni.baldwin@dss.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: The following sections of the Code of Virginia are the 
sources of legal authority to promulgate the regulation: §63.2-
217 (mandatory) states that the State Board of Social Services 
shall adopt regulations as may be necessary or desirable to 
carry out the purpose of Title 63.2. Chapter 873 of  the 2008 
Acts of Assembly and §63.2-1737 (mandatory) states that the 
board shall adopt regulations establishing the Department of 
Social Services as the single licensing agency for the 
regulation of children’s residential facilities, including group 
homes, that provide social services programs. 

Purpose: The proposed regulation is required as a result of the 
passage of Chapter 873 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly, 
legislation that dissolves the interdepartmental model for the 
regulation of children’s residential facilities and creates the 
department as the single licensing agency for regulation and 
licensure of children’s residential facilities and group homes 
that provide social services programs.  This regulation applies 
only to the department. All references therefore regarding 
interdepartmental regulation and the Departments of Juvenile 
Justice Services and Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services have been removed. This proposed 
regulation comports with the General Procedures and 
Information for Licensure, 22VAC40-80, and it is essential to 
protecting the health, safety and welfare of children placed in 
children’s residential facilities in Virginia. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 
process is being used because Chapter 873 of the 2008 Acts 
of Assembly and §63.2-1737 mandate the board to 
promulgate regulations to implement these provisions no later 
than October 31, 2009. 

The agency expects this rulemaking to be noncontroversial 
because the department involved providers of licensed 
children’s residential facilities, provider associations and 
other interested state agencies in the development of the 
proposed changes and there appears to be agreement 
regarding the revisions. 

The following persons serve on the Children’s Residential 
Facility Advisory Committee and were involved in the 
revision process: Martha Stone, licensed provider Harvest 
Child Care Ministries, representing the Virginia Association 
of Children’s Homes; Cindi McGirt, licensed provider New 
Beginnings, representing mother/baby programs; Dave 
Ottinger, licensed provider  New Dominion School, 
representing wilderness and adventure activities facilities; 
Chris Schultz, licensed provider Virginia Home for Boys and 
Girls, representing larger campus style programs; Brady 
Nemeyer, representing the Office of Comprehensive Services; 
Sandra Ruffin, representing the Virginia Department of 
Education; Robin Ely, Licensing Administrator for children’s 
residential facilities, Virginia Department of Social Services; 
Stacey Cook, licensed provider Destiny’s Fulfilled, 
representing group homes under eight persons; Terri Stott, 
licensed provider Prince William County, representing 

publicly operated facilities; Travis Baisden, licensed provider 
Elk Hill, representing independent living programs; Mark 
Stevens, Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy; 
Douglas Newsome, Virginia Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services; Letha 
Moore-Jones, representing independent living, Division of 
Family Services, Virginia Department of Social Services; 
Leslie Knachel, Program Manager of Program Development 
Unit and Acting-Division Director, Division of Licensing 
Programs, Virginia Department of Social Services; Jeff 
Williams, Program Development Consultant, Division of 
Licensing, Virginia Department of Social Services; and Joni 
Baldwin, Program Development Consultant, Division of 
Licensing, Virginia Department of Social Services. The 
department contacted the Virginia Association of Independent 
Special Education Facilities and the Virginia Coalition of 
Private Providers Association with a request for each 
organization to appoint someone to serve on the committee. 
They did not respond. 

Substance: This proposed regulation is a new regulation. It 
abolishes the interdepartmental model for the regulation of 
children’s residential facilities. In place of the 
interdepartmental model, it established the department as the 
single licensing agency for regulation and licensure of 
children’s residential facilities and group homes that provide 
social services programs. 

The basis for this regulation is the current Standards for 
Regulation of Interdepartmental Regulation of Children’s 
Residential Facilities, 22VAC42-11. This proposed regulation 
incorporates the existing standards but removes all references 
regarding interdepartmental regulation and the Departments 
of Juvenile Justice Services and Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services.  This proposed 
regulation comports with the General Procedures and 
Information for Licensure, 22VAC40-80. 

This regulation does not contain any substantive change from 
current practice. 

Issues: The advantage of this proposed regulation is to 
provide for the protection of children. The proposed 
regulation defines for the public and providers of children’s 
residential care, the requirements necessary to ensure the 
health, safety and well-being of children. 

There are no known disadvantages to the public, individual 
private citizens or the Commonwealth. A disadvantage to 
some group home businesses currently licensed by the 
Departments of Education or Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services is that, effective 
July 1, 2008, some of these businesses may be required to 
change their regulatory agency because they are under the 
purview of the department. The legislation requires programs 
providing social services to be under the regulatory purview 
of the department. 
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The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Chapter 873 of the 2008 Acts of the Assembly dissolves the 
interdepartmental model for regulation of licensure of 
children’s residential facilities and directs each affected 
agency to promulgate separate regulations for facilities they 
license.  Pursuant to this legislative action, the Board of 
Social Services (Board) proposes to promulgate Standards for 
Licensed Children’s Residential Facilities. These proposed 
regulations eliminate references to other agencies and to 
interdepartmental regulations that currently set standards for 
facilities.  Interdepartmental Regulations for Licensed 
Children’s Residential Facilities will be repealed in a 
separate, exempt, action. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, children’s residential 
facilities can be licensed by one of several different agencies, 
depending on the population that they serve.  As a 
consequence, the agencies involved, the Department of Social 
Service (DSS), the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) and 
the Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services (DMHMRSAS) jointly 
promulgated and maintained regulations to set standards for 
licensure of facilities. 

Pursuant to legislation passed in the last legislative session, 
which dissolved the interdepartmental model for regulating 
licensure of children’s residential facilities, the Board 
proposes to promulgate replacement regulations.  These new 
regulations do not vary from current regulations, and practice, 
in any substantive way.  Language that references the soon to 
be repealed interdepartmental regulations, as well as 
references to DJJ and DMHMRSAS, have been removed 
from the regulatory text.  Because the Board is not imposing 
any new obligations on affected facilities, regulated entities 
will not incur any additional costs on account of this 
regulatory action.  To the extent that promulgating new 
regulations, and repealing current regulations, eliminates now 
obsolete regulatory language, regulated entities will benefit 
from additional regulatory clarity. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DSS reports that it 
currently licenses 107 children’s residential facilities.  All of 
these facilities will be affected by this regulatory action. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DSS reports that 
all affected entities qualify as small businesses. None of these 
entities are likely to incur any costs on account of this 
regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Chapter 873 of the 2008 Acts of the Assembly dissolves the 
interdepartmental model for regulation of licensure of 
children’s residential facilities and directs each affected 
agency to promulgate separate regulations for facilities 
they license. Pursuant to this legislative action, the State 
Board of Social Services proposes to promulgate 
Standards for Licensed Children’s Residential Facilities. 
This regulation incorporates the existing standards, but 
eliminates references to other agencies and to 
interdepartmental regulations that currently set standards 
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for facilities. Interdepartmental Regulations for Licensed 
Children’s Residential Facilities (22VAC42-11) will be 
repealed in a separate regulatory action. 

CHAPTER 151 
STANDARDS FOR LICENSED CHILDREN'S 

RESIDENTIAL FACILITIES 

22VAC40-151-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Allegation" means an accusation that a facility is operating 
without a license or receiving public funds for services it is 
not certified to provide. 

"Allowable variance" means temporary or permanent waiver 
of compliance with a standard or portion of a standard, or 
permission to meet the intent of the standard by a method 
other than that specified in the standard, when the regulatory 
authority, in its sole discretion, determines (i) enforcement 
will create an undue hardship and (ii) resident care will not be 
adversely affected. 

"Annual" means within 13 months of the previous event or 
occurrence. 

"Applicable state regulation" means any regulation that the 
promulgating state agency determines applies to the facility. 
The term includes, but is not necessarily limited to, modules, 
standards, and other regulations promulgated by the 
Departments of Education; Health; Housing and Community 
Development; Social Services; or other state agencies. 

"Applicant" means the person, corporation, partnership, 
association, limited liability company or public agency that 
has applied for a license or certificate. 

"Aversive stimuli" means physical forces (e.g., sound, 
electricity, heat, cold, light, water, or noise) or substances 
(e.g., hot pepper, pepper sauce, or pepper spray) measurable 
in duration and intensity that when applied to a resident, are 
noxious or painful to the individual, but in no case shall the 
term "aversive stimuli" include striking or hitting the 
individual with any part of the body or with an implement or 
pinching, pulling, or shaking the resident. 

"Behavior support" means those principles and methods 
employed by a provider to help a child achieve positive 
behavior and to address and correct a child’s inappropriate 
behavior in a constructive and safe manner in accordance 
with written policies and procedures governing program 
expectations, treatment goals, child and staff safety and 
security, and the child’s service plan. 

"Behavior support assessment" means identification of a 
resident’s behavior triggers, successful intervention strategies, 
anger and anxiety management options for calming, 
techniques for self-management, and specific goals that 

address the targeted behaviors that lead to emergency safety 
interventions. 

"Body cavity search" means any examination of a resident's 
rectal or vaginal cavities, except the performance of medical 
procedures by medical personnel. 

"Case record" or "record" means up-to-date written or 
electronic information relating to one resident. This 
information includes social data, agreements, all 
correspondence relating to care of the resident, service plans 
with periodic revisions, aftercare plans and discharge 
summary, and any other data related to the resident. 

"Child" means any person legally defined as a child under 
state law. The term includes residents and other children 
coming in contact with the resident or facility (e.g., visitors). 
When the term is used, the requirement applies to every child 
at the facility regardless of whether the child has been 
admitted to the facility for care (e.g., staff/child ratios apply 
to all children present even though some may not be 
residents). 

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 
children in foster homes, adoptive homes or independent 
living arrangements pursuant to §63.2-1819 of the Code of 
Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 
or adoptive homes pursuant to §§63.2-900, 63.2-903 and 
63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Children’s residential facility" or "facility" means any 
facility, child-caring institution, or group home that is 
maintained for the purpose of receiving children separated 
from their parents or guardians for full-time care, 
maintenance, protection and guidance, or for the purpose of 
providing independent living services to persons between 18 
and 21 years of age who are in the process of transitioning out 
of foster care. Children’s residential facility shall not include:  

1. A licensed or accredited educational institution whose 
pupils, in the ordinary course of events, return annually to 
the homes of their parents or guardians for not less that two 
months of summer vacation; 

2. An establishment required to be licensed as a summer 
camp by §35.1-18 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. A licensed or accredited hospital legally maintained as 
such; and 

4. Any facility licensed by the Department of Social 
Services as a child caring institution as of January 1, 1987, 
and that receives no public funds. 

"Complaint" means an accusation against a licensed or 
certified facility regarding an alleged violation of standards or 
law. 

"Contraband" means any item prohibited by law or by the 
rules and regulations of the agency, or any item that conflicts 
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with the program or safety and security of the facility or 
individual residents. 

"Corporal punishment" means punishment administered 
through the intentional inflicting of pain or discomfort to the 
body through actions such as, but not limited to (i) striking or 
hitting with any part of the body or with an implement; (ii) 
pinching, pulling, or shaking; or (iii) any similar action that 
normally inflicts pain or discomfort. 

"Corrective action plan" means violations documented by 
the department and the facility’s submitted pledged corrective 
action to the documented violations cited by the regulatory 
authority. 

"Day" means calendar day unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social 
Services. 

"Electronic record" means a record created, generated, sent, 
communicated, received, or stored by electronic means. 

"Emergency" means a sudden, generally unexpected 
occurrence or set of circumstances demanding immediate 
action. Emergency does not include regularly scheduled time 
off for permanent staff or other situations that should 
reasonably be anticipated. 

"Emergency admission" means the sudden, unplanned, 
unexpected admittance of a child who needs immediate care 
except self-admittance to a temporary emergency shelter 
facility or a court-ordered placement. 

"Goal" means expected results or conditions that usually 
involve a long period of time and that are written in 
behavioral terms in a statement of relatively broad scope. 
Goals provide guidance in establishing specific short-term 
objectives directed toward the attainment of the goal. 

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 
established and knowledgeable and objective people agree 
that the individual maintains business or professional, family 
and community relationships that are characterized by 
honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and dependability, and has a 
history or pattern of behavior that demonstrates that the 
individual is suitable and able to care for, supervise, and 
protect children. Relatives by blood or marriage, and persons 
who are not knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent 
acquaintances, shall not be considered objective references. 

"Group home" means a children’s residential facility that is 
a community-based, home-like single dwelling, or its 
acceptable equivalent, other than the private home of the 
operator, and serves up to 12 residents. 

"Health record" means the file maintained by a provider that 
contains personal health information.  

"Human research" means any systematic investigation 
including research development, testing, and evaluation, 
utilizing human subjects, that is designed to develop or 
contribute to generalized knowledge. Human research shall 
not include research exempt from federal research regulations 
pursuant to 45 CFR 46.101(b). 

"Immediately" means directly without delay. 

"Independent living program" means a competency-based 
program that is specifically approved by the department to 
provide the opportunity for the residents to develop the skills 
necessary to live successfully on their own following 
completion of the program.  

"Independent living services" means those services and 
activities designed  to assist in self-sufficiency preparation of 
children aged 14 and older or individuals who have turned 18 
but not yet turned 21 years old. Such services shall include 
but not be limited to counseling, education, housing, 
employment, and money management, skills development 
and access to essential documents and other appropriate 
services. 

"Individualized service plan" means a written plan of action 
developed, and modified at intervals, to meet the needs of a 
specific resident. It specifies measurable short and long-term 
goals, objectives, strategies and time frames for reaching the 
goals and the individuals responsible for carrying out the 
plan. 

"Legal guardian" means the natural or adoptive parents or 
other person, agency, or institution that has legal custody of a 
child. 

"License" means a document verifying approval to operate a 
children’s residential facility and that indicates the status of 
the facility regarding compliance with applicable state 
regulations. 

"Live-in staff" means staff who are required to be on duty 
for a period of 24 consecutive hours or more during each 
work week. 

"Living unit" means the space in which a particular group of 
children in care of a residential facility reside. A living unit 
contains sleeping areas, bath and toilet facilities, and a living 
room or its equivalent for use by the residents of the unit. 
Depending upon its design, a building may contain one living 
unit or several separate living units. 

"Mechanical restraint" means the use of an approved 
mechanical device that involuntarily restricts the freedom of 
movement or voluntary functioning of a limb or portion of a 
person’s body as a means to control his physical activities 
when the individual receiving services does not have the 
ability to remove the device. 

"Medication error" means an error made in administering a 
medication to a resident including the following: (i) the 
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wrong medication is given to a resident; (ii) the wrong 
resident is given the medication; (iii) the wrong dosage is 
given to a resident; (iv) medication is given to a resident at 
the wrong time or not at all; and (v) the proper method is not 
used to give the medication to a resident. A medication error 
does not include a resident’s refusal of offered medication. 

"Objective" means expected short-term results or conditions 
that must be met in order to attain a goal. Objectives are 
stated in measurable, behavioral terms and have a specified 
time for achievement. 

"On duty" means that period of time during which a staff 
person is responsible for the supervision of one or more 
children. 

"Parent" means a natural or adoptive parent. "Parent" means 
either parent unless the facility has been provided 
documentation that there is a legally binding instrument, a 
state law or a court order governing such matters as divorce, 
separation, or custody, that provides to the contrary. 

"Pat down" means a thorough external body search of a 
clothed resident. 

"Personal health information" means the information that 
encompasses the universe of oral, written or otherwise 
recorded information that is created or received by an entity 
relating to either an individual’s physical or mental health or 
the provision of or payment for health care to an individual.  

"Pharmacological restraint" means the use of a medication 
that is administered involuntarily for the emergency control 
of an individual’s behavior when the individual’s behavior 
places him or others at imminent risk and the administered 
medication is not a standard treatment for the individual’s 
medical or psychiatric condition. 

"Physical restraint" (also referred to as a "manual hold") 
means use of a physical intervention or "hands-on" hold to 
prevent an individual from moving his body when that 
individual’s behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Placement" means an activity by any person that provides 
assistance to a parent or legal guardian in locating and 
effecting the movement of a child to a foster home, adoptive 
home, or children’s residential facility. 

"Premises" means the tracts of land on which any part of a 
residential facility for children is located and any buildings on 
such tracts of land. 

"Provider" or "licensee" or "sponsor" means the person, 
corporation, partnership, association, or public agency to 
whom a license is issued and who is legally responsible for 
compliance with the regulatory and statutory requirements 
relating to the facility. 

"Resident" means a person admitted to a children's 
residential facility for supervision, care, or training on a 24-
hour per day basis.  

"Rest day" means a period of not less than 24 consecutive 
hours during which a staff person has no responsibility to 
perform duties related to the facility.  

"Routine admission" means the admittance of a child 
following evaluation of an application for admission and 
execution of a written placement agreement. 

"Rules of conduct" means a listing of a facility’s rules or 
regulations that is maintained to inform residents and others 
about behaviors that are not permitted and the consequences 
applied when the behaviors occur. 

"Sanitizing agent" means any substance approved by the 
Environmental Protection Agency to destroy bacteria.  

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an 
individual alone, in an area secured by a door that is locked or 
held shut by a staff person by physically blocking the door or 
by any other physical or verbal means so that the individual 
cannot leave it.  

"Self-admission" means the admittance of a child who seeks 
admission to a temporary emergency shelter facility as 
permitted by Virginia statutory law without completing the 
requirements for "routine admission." 

"Severe weather" means extreme environment or climate 
conditions that pose a threat to the health, safety, or welfare 
of residents. 

"Standard" means a statement that describes in measurable 
terms a required minimum performance level. The term 
standard and the term regulation may be used 
interchangeably. 

"Strategies" means a series of steps and methods used to 
meet goals and objectives. 

"Strip search" means a visual inspection of the body of a 
resident when that resident's outer clothing or total clothing is 
removed and an inspection of the removed clothing. Strip 
searches are conducted for the detection of contraband. 

"Structured program of care" means a comprehensive 
planned daily routine including appropriate supervision that 
meets the needs of each resident both individually and as a 
group. 

"Student/intern" means an individual who simultaneously is 
affiliated with an educational institution and a residential 
facility. Every student/intern who is not an employee is either 
a volunteer or contractual service provider depending upon 
the relationship among the student/intern, educational 
institution, and facility. 

"Substantial compliance" means that while there may be 
noncompliance with one or more standards that represents 
minimal risk, compliance clearly and obviously exists with 
most of the standards as a whole.  
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"Target population" means individuals with a similar, 
specified characteristic or disability. 

"Temporary contract worker" means an individual who is 
not a direct salaried employee of the provider but is employed 
by a third party and is not a consistently scheduled staff 
member.  

"Temporary emergency shelter facility" means an 
emergency shelter specifically approved to provide a range of 
services, as needed, on an individual basis not to exceed 90 
days, except that this term does not include secure detention 
facilities. 

"Therapy" means provision of direct diagnostic, preventive 
and treatment services where functioning is threatened or 
affected by social and psychological stress or health 
impairment. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of a resident by a 
staff person from a source of reinforcement to a different 
open location for a specified period of time or until the 
problem behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce the 
frequency of problematic behavior. 

"Volunteers" means any individual or group who of their 
own free will, and without any financial gain, provides goods 
and services to the program without compensation. 

"Wilderness program" means a facility specifically approved 
to provide a primitive camping program with a nonpunitive 
environment and an experience curriculum for residents nine 
years of age and older who cannot presently function in 
home, school, or community. In lieu of or in addition to 
dormitories, cabins or barracks for housing residents, 
primitive campsites are used to integrate learning, mentoring, 
and group process with real living needs and problems for 
which the resident can develop a sense of social responsibility 
and self worth. 

22VAC40-151-20. Investigation. 

The department will arrange and conduct an on-site 
inspection of the facility, a thorough review of the activities 
and services, and an investigation of the financial 
responsibility, character, and reputation of the applicant.  

22VAC40-151-30. Inspection of facilities. 

A. Representatives of the department shall make announced 
and unannounced inspections during the effective dates of the 
license. The purpose of these inspections is to monitor 
compliance with applicable standards. 

B. The department shall notify relevant local governments 
and placing and funding agencies, including the Office of 
Comprehensive Services, of multiple health and safety or 
human rights violations in children’s residential facilities 
when such violations result in the lowering of the license or 
certificate to provisional status. 

22VAC40-151-40. Posting of information. 

A. Information concerning the application for initial 
licensure of children’s residential facilities shall be posted by 
locality on the department’s website. 

B. An accurate listing of all licensed facilities including 
information on renewal, denial, or provisional licensure, and 
services shall be posted by locality on the department’s 
website. 

22VAC40-151-50. General requirements. 

A. The provider shall demonstrate substantial compliance 
with these standards to demonstrate that its program and 
physical plant provide reasonably safe and adequate care 
while approved plans of action to correct findings of 
noncompliance are being implemented and there are no 
noncompliances that pose an immediate and direct danger to 
residents. 

B. Corporations sponsoring residential facilities for children 
shall maintain their corporate status in accordance with 
Virginia law.  

C. Each provider shall self-report within 10 days, to the 
department, lawsuits against or settlements with residential 
facility operators relating to the health and safety or human 
rights of residents and any criminal charges against staff that 
may have been made relating to the health and safety or 
human rights of residents. 

D. The provider shall comply with all other applicable 
federal, state, or local laws and regulations. 

E. The provider’s current policy and procedure manual shall 
be readily accessible to all staff. 

F. The provider shall comply with its own policies and 
procedures. 

22VAC40-151-60. Application fees. 

A. There shall be a $500 nonrefundable initial application 
fee. If the application is closed, denied, or withdrawn all 
subsequent initial applications shall require another $500 fee. 

B. There shall be a $100 nonrefundable renewal application 
fee. 

C. A renewal fee shall not be charged to providers directly 
following the issuance of a conditional license. 

D. The application fee shall not apply to state or locally 
owned, operated, or contracted facilities. 

E. Application fees shall be used for the development and 
delivery of training for operators and staff of children’s 
residential facilities. 
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22VAC40-151-70. Modification. 

A. A contemplated change in operation that would affect the 
terms of the license shall not be implemented prior to 
approval by the department. The provider will be notified in 
writing within 60 days following receipt of the request as to 
whether the modification is approved or a new license is 
required. 

B. The department may modify the term of a facility’s 
license at any time during the licensure period based on a 
change in the facility’s compliance with these standards and 
other applicable statutes and regulations. 

22VAC40-151-80. Revocation. 

A. A license may be revoked when the provider: 

1. Violates any provision of applicable laws or regulations; 

2. Engages in conduct or practices that are in violation of 
statutes related to abuse or neglect of children; 

3. Deviates significantly from the program or services for 
which a license was issued without obtaining prior written 
approval from the department or fails to correct such 
deviations within the specified time; or 

4. Engages in a willful action or gross negligence that 
jeopardizes the care or protection of residents. 

B. If revocation of a license is recommended, the facility 
shall be notified in writing of the noncompliances, the 
proposed action, the right to appeal, and the appeal process. 

22VAC40-151-90. Summary suspension. 

A. In conjunction with any proceeding for revocation, 
denial, or other action, when conditions or practices exist that 
pose an immediate and substantial threat to the health, safety, 
and welfare of the residents, the commissioner may issue an 
order of summary suspension of the license to operate a 
children’s residential facility when he believes the operation 
of the facility should be suspended during the pendency of 
such proceeding. 

B. Prior to the issuance of an order of summary suspension, 
the department shall contact the Executive Secretary of the 
Supreme Court of Virginia to obtain the name of a hearing 
officer. The department shall schedule the time, date, and 
location of the administrative hearing with the hearing officer. 

C. The order of summary suspension shall take effect upon 
its issuance. It shall be delivered by personal service and 
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of 
record of the facility as soon as practicable. The order shall 
set forth: 

1. The time, date, and location of the hearing; 

2. The procedures for the hearing; 

3. The hearing and appeal rights; and 

4. Facts and evidence that formed the basis for the order of 
summary suspension. 

D. The hearing shall take place within three business days of 
the issuance of the order of summary suspension. 

E. The department shall have the burden of proving in any 
summary suspension hearing that it had reasonable grounds to 
require the facility to cease operations during the pendency of 
the concurrent revocation, denial, or other proceeding. 

F. The administrative hearing officer shall provide written 
findings and conclusions, together with a recommendation as 
to whether the license or certificate should be summarily 
suspended, to the commissioner within five business days of 
the hearing. 

G. The commissioner shall issue a final order of summary 
suspension or make a determination that the summary 
suspension is not warranted based on the facts presented and 
the recommendation of the hearing officer within seven 
business days of receiving the recommendation of the hearing 
officer. 

H. The commissioner shall issue and serve on the children’s 
residential facility or its designee by personal service or by 
certified mail, return receipt requested, either: 

1. A final order of summary suspension including (i) the 
basis for accepting or rejecting the hearing officer’s 
recommendations and (ii) notice that the children’s 
residential facility may appeal the commissioner’s decision 
to the appropriate circuit court no later than 10 days 
following issuance of the order; or 

2. Notification that the summary suspension is not 
warranted by the facts and circumstances presented and 
that the order of summary suspension is rescinded. 

I. The facility may appeal the commissioner’s decision on 
the summary suspension to the appropriate circuit court no 
more than 10 days after issuance of the final order. 

J. The outcome of concurrent revocation, denial, and other 
proceedings shall not be affected by the outcome of any 
hearing pertaining to the appropriateness of the order of 
summary suspension. 

K. At the time of the issuance of the order of summary 
suspension, the department shall contact the appropriate 
agencies to inform them of the action and the need to develop 
relocation plans for residents, and ensure that parents and 
guardians are informed of the pending action. 

22VAC40-151-100. Allowable variances. 

A. Any request for an allowable variance shall be submitted 
in writing to the department and shall include all required 
elements specified in the General Procedures and Information 
for Licensure (22VAC40-80). 
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B. An allowable variance shall not be implemented prior to 
approval of the department. 

22VAC40-151-110. Governing body. 

A. The provider shall clearly identify the corporation, 
association, partnership, individual, limited liability company 
or public entity that is the licensee. 

B. The provider shall clearly identify any governing board, 
body, entity or person to whom it delegates the legal 
responsibilities and duties of the provider. 

22VAC40-151-120. Responsibilities of the provider. 

A. The provider shall appoint a qualified chief 
administrative officer to whom it delegates, in writing, the 
authority and responsibility for administrative direction of the 
facility. 

B. The provider shall develop and implement a written 
decisionmaking plan that shall provide for a staff person with 
the qualifications of the chief administrative officer or 
program director to be designated to assume the temporary 
responsibility for the operation of the facility. Each plan shall 
include an organizational chart. 

C. The provider shall develop a written statement of the 
objectives of the facility including a description of the target 
population and the programs to be offered. 

D. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to monitor and evaluate service 
quality and effectiveness on a systematic and on-going basis. 
The provider shall implement improvements when indicated. 

22VAC40-151-130. Fiscal accountability. 

A. Facilities operated by corporations, unincorporated 
organizations or associations, individuals, or partnerships 
shall prepare at the end of each fiscal year: 

1. An operating statement showing revenue and expenses 
for the fiscal year just ended; 

2. A working budget showing projected revenue and 
expenses for the next fiscal year that gives evidence that 
there are sufficient funds to operate; and 

3. A balance sheet showing assets and liabilities for the 
fiscal year just ended. 

B. There shall be a system of financial recordkeeping that 
shows a separation of the facility's accounts from all other 
records. 

C. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures that address the day-to-day handling 
of facility funds to include: 

1. Handling of deposits; 

2. Writing of checks; and 

3. Handling of petty cash. 

22VAC40-151-140. Insurance. 

A. The provider shall maintain liability insurance covering 
the premises and the facility's operations. 

B. The provider shall provide documentation that all 
vehicles used to transport residents are insured, including 
vehicles owned by staff. 

C. The members of the governing body and staff who have 
been authorized to handle the facility’s or residents' funds 
shall be bonded or otherwise indemnified against employee 
dishonesty. 

22VAC40-151-150. Fundraising. 

The provider shall not use residents in its fundraising 
activities without written permission of the legal guardian and 
the permission of residents 14 years or older. 

22VAC40-151-160. Weapons. 

The provider shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures governing the possession and use of firearms, 
pellet guns, air guns, and other weapons on the facility’s 
premises and during facility-related activities. The policy 
shall provide that no firearms, pellet guns, air guns, or other 
weapons shall be permitted on the premises or at facility-
sponsored activities unless the weapons are: 

1. In the possession of licensed security personnel or law-
enforcement officers; 

2. Kept securely under lock and key; or 

3. Used by a resident with the legal guardian’s permission 
under the supervision of a responsible adult in accord with 
policies and procedures developed by the facility for the 
weapons’ lawful and safe use. 

22VAC40-151-170. Relationship to regulatory authority. 

The governing body or its official representative shall notify 
the department within five working days of any change in 
administrative structure or newly hired chief administrative 
officer or program director. 

22VAC40-151-180. Facilities serving persons over the age 
of 17 years. 

Facilities that are approved to serve persons over the age of 
17 years shall comply with these standards for all occupants 
regardless of age, except when it is determined by the 
department that housing, programs, services, and supervision 
for such persons are provided separately from those for the 
other residents. 
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22VAC40-151-190. Health information and reporting of 
disease. 

A. Health information required by this section shall be 
maintained for each staff member and for each individual 
who resides in a building occupied by residents, including 
each person who is not a staff member or resident of the 
facility. Health information is to be handled, maintained and 
stored in a fashion that maintains confidentiality of the 
information at all times. 

B. Tuberculosis evaluation. 

1. At the time of hire or residency at the facility, each 
individual shall submit the results of a screening 
assessment documenting the absence of tuberculosis in a 
communicable form as evidenced by the completion of a 
form containing, at a minimum, the elements of a current 
screening form published by the Virginia Department of 
Health. The screening assessment shall be no older than 30 
days. 

2. Each individual shall annually submit the results of a 
screening assessment, documenting that the individual is 
free of tuberculosis in a communicable form as evidenced 
by the completion of a form containing, at a minimum, the 
elements of a current screening form published by the 
Virginia Department of Health. 

C. Subsequent evaluations for tuberculosis. 

1. An individual who comes in contact with a known case 
of infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as determined 
appropriate based on consultation with the local health 
department. 

2. An individual who develops chronic respiratory 
symptoms of three weeks duration shall be evaluated 
immediately for the presence of infectious tuberculosis. 

D. An individual suspected of having infectious tuberculosis 
shall not be permitted to return to work or have contact with 
staff or residents until a physician has determined that the 
individual is free of infectious tuberculosis. 

E. The provider shall report any active case of tuberculosis 
developed by a staff member or a resident to the local health 
department. 

F. The chief administrative officer shall immediately make 
or cause to be made a report of an outbreak of disease as 
defined by the State Board of Health. Such report shall be 
made by rapid means to the local health director or to the 
Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Health.  

22VAC40-151-200. Physical or mental health of 
personnel. 

A. The provider or the department may require a report of 
examination by a licensed physician or mental health 
professional when there are indications that an individual's 

physical, mental, or emotional health may jeopardize the care 
of residents. 

B. An individual who is determined by a licensed physician 
or mental health professional to show an indication of a 
physical or mental condition that may jeopardize the safety of 
residents or that would prevent the performance of duties 
shall be removed immediately from contact with residents 
and food served to residents until the condition is cleared as 
evidenced by a signed statement from the physician or mental 
health professional. 

22VAC40-151-210. Qualifications. 

A. Standards establishing minimum position qualifications 
shall be applicable to all providers. In lieu of the minimum 
position qualifications contained in this chapter, providers 
subject to (i) the regulations of the Virginia Department of 
Human Resource Management or (ii) the regulations of a 
local government personnel office may develop written 
minimum entry-level qualifications in accord with the 
regulations of the supervising personnel authority. 

B. A person who assumes or is designated to assume the 
responsibilities of a position or any combination of positions 
described in these standards shall: 

1. Meet the qualifications of the position or positions; 

2. Fully comply with all applicable standards for each 
function; and 

3. Demonstrate a working knowledge of the policies and 
procedures that are applicable to his specific position or 
positions. 

C. When services or consultations are obtained on a 
contractual basis they shall be provided by professionally 
qualified personnel. 

22VAC40-151-220. Job descriptions. 

A. There shall be a written job description for each position 
that, at a minimum, includes the: 

1. Job title; 

2. Duties and responsibilities of the incumbent; 

3. Job title of the immediate supervisor; and 

4. Minimum education, experience, knowledge, skills, and 
abilities required for entry-level performance of the job. 

B. A copy of the job description shall be given to each 
person assigned to a position at the time of employment or 
assignment. 

22VAC40-151-230. Written personnel policies and 
procedures. 

A. The provider shall have and implement provider-
approved written personnel policies and make its written 
personnel policies readily accessible to each staff member. 
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B. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to assure that persons employed in or 
designated to assume the responsibilities of each position 
possess the education, experience, knowledge, skills, and 
abilities specified in the job description for the position. 

22VAC40-151-240. Personnel records. 

A. Separate up-to-date written or automated personnel 
records shall be maintained for each employee, student/intern, 
volunteer, and contractual service provider for whom 
background investigations are required by Virginia statute. 
Content of personnel records of volunteers, students/interns 
and contractual service providers may be limited to 
documentation of compliance with requirements of Virginia 
laws regarding child protective services and criminal history 
background investigations. 

B. The records of each employee shall include: 

1. A completed employment application form or other 
written material providing the individual’s name, address, 
phone number, and social security number or other unique 
identifier; 

2. Educational background and employment history; 

3. Written references or notations of oral references; 

4. Reports of required health examinations; 

5. Annual performance evaluations; 

6. Date of employment for each position held and 
separation;  

7. Documentation of compliance with requirements of 
Virginia laws regarding child protective services and 
criminal history background investigations; 

8. Documentation of educational degrees and of 
professional certification or licensure;  

9. Documentation of all training required by these 
standards and any other training received by individual 
staff; and 

10. A current job description. 

C. Personnel records, including separate health records, shall 
be retained in their entirety for at least three years after 
separation from employment, contractual service, 
student/intern, or volunteer service. 

22VAC40-151-250. Staff development. 

A. Required initial training: 

1. Within seven days following their begin date, each staff 
member responsible for supervision of children shall 
receive basic orientation to the facility's behavior 
intervention policies, procedures and techniques regarding 

less restrictive interventions, timeout, and physical 
restraint.  

2. Within 14 days following an individual’s begin date, or 
before an individual is alone supervising children, the 
provider shall conduct emergency preparedness and 
response training that shall include: 

a. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

b. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of residents with special needs (i.e., deaf, 
blind, nonambulatory); 

c. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

d. Accessing emergency information for residents 
including medical information; and 

e. Utilizing community support services. 

3. Within 14 days following their begin date, new 
employees transferring from other facilities operated by the 
same provider, relief staff, volunteers and students/interns 
shall be given orientation and training regarding: 

a. The objectives of the facility;  

b. Practices of confidentiality; 

c. The decisionmaking plan;  

d. The Standards for Licensed Children’s Residential 
Facilities, including the prohibited actions as outlined in 
this regulation; and  

e. Other policies and procedures that are applicable to 
their positions, duties and responsibilities. 

4. Within 30 days following their begin date, all staff 
working with residents shall be enrolled in a standard first 
aid class and in a cardiopulmonary resuscitation class 
facilitated by the American Red Cross or other recognized 
authority, unless the individual is currently certified in first 
aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

5. Within 30 days following their begin date, all staff 
working with residents shall be trained in child abuse and 
neglect, mandatory reporting, maintaining appropriate 
professional relationships and interaction among staff and 
residents, and suicide prevention. 

6. Within 30 days following their begin date, all staff shall 
be trained on the facility’s policies and procedures 
regarding standard precautions. 

7. Within 30 days following their begin date, all staff shall 
be trained on appropriate siting of children’s residential 
facilities and good neighbor policies and community 
relations. 
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8. Before they can administer medication, all staff 
responsible for medication administration shall have 
successfully completed a medication training program 
approved by the Board of Nursing or be licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications.  

9. All staff shall be trained in any area of quality 
improvement as identified from the results of the quality 
improvement plan.  

B. Required annual retraining. 

1. All employees, contractors, students/interns, and 
volunteers shall complete an annual refresher emergency 
preparedness and response training that shall include: 

a. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

b. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of residents with special needs (i.e., deaf, 
blind, nonambulatory); 

c. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

d. Accessing emergency information for residents 
including medical information; and 

e. Utilizing community support services. 

2. All staff who administer medication shall complete 
annual refresher medication training. 

3. All child care staff shall receive annual retraining on the 
provider’s behavior intervention and timeout policies and 
procedures. 

4. All staff working with residents shall receive annual 
retraining in child abuse and neglect, mandatory reporting, 
maintaining appropriate professional relationships and 
interaction among staff and residents, and suicide 
prevention. 

5. All staff shall receive annual retraining on the provider’s 
policies and procedures regarding standard precautions. 

C. Each full-time staff person who works with residents 
shall complete an additional 15 hours of annual training 
applicable to their job duties.  

D. Providers shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures to ensure that part-time staff receive training 
applicable to their positions. 

E. Training provided shall be comprehensive and based on 
the needs of the population served to ensure that staff have 
the competencies to perform their jobs. 

22VAC40-151-260. Staff supervision. 

The provider shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures regarding the supervision of staff, volunteers, 
contractors and students/interns. These policies and 
procedures shall include: 

1. Type of supervision; 

2. Frequency of supervision; and 

3. How the supervision will be documented. 

22VAC40-151-270. Applicant. 

A. Each applicant shall provide documentation that they 
have been trained on appropriate siting of children’s 
residential facilities and good neighbor policies and 
community relations. 

B. The applicant shall be interviewed in person by the 
department to determine the qualifications of the owner or 
operator as set out in these standards. 

C. Should the applicant not be qualified to perform the 
duties of the chief administrative officer, the applicant shall 
hire an individual with the qualifications, as set out in these 
standards, to perform the duties of the chief administrative 
officer. 

22VAC40-151-280. Chief administrative officer. 

A. The chief administrative officer shall have the following 
responsibilities: 

1. Responsibility for compliance with the Standards for 
Licensed Children’s Residential Facilities and other 
applicable standards; 

2. Responsibility for all personnel; 

3. Responsibility for overseeing the facility operation in its 
entirety, including the approval of the design of the 
structured program of care and its implementation; and 

4. Responsibility for the facility’s financial integrity. 

B. A chief administrative officer shall have at least: 

1. A master’s degree in social work, psychology, 
counseling or administration and a combination of two 
years professional experience working with children and in 
administration and supervision;  

2. A baccalaureate degree in social work, psychology, 
counseling or administration and three years of combined 
professional experience with children, and in 
administration and supervisory experience; or  

3. A baccalaureate degree and a combination of four years 
professional experience in a children’s residential facility 
and in administration and supervision. 

C. Any applicant for the chief administrative officer position 
shall submit the following to demonstrate compliance with 
the qualifications required by this regulation for the chief 
administrative officer: 

1. Official transcripts from the accredited college or 
university of attendance within 30 days of hire; and 

2. Documentation of prior relevant experience. 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

491 
 

22VAC40-151-290. Program director. 

A. The facility’s program shall be directed by one or more 
qualified persons. 

B. Persons directing programs shall be responsible for the 
development and implementation of the programs and 
services offered by the facility, including overseeing 
assessments, service planning, staff scheduling, and 
supervision. 

C. Persons directing programs of a facility licensed or 
certified to care for 13 or more residents shall be full time, 
qualified staff members. 

D. A person appointed to direct programs shall have at least: 

1. A master’s degree in social work, psychology or 
counseling and a combination of two years professional 
experience with children, in a children’s residential facility 
and in administration or supervision;  

2. A baccalaureate degree in social work, psychology or 
counseling and a combination of three years professional 
experience with children, in a children’s residential facility 
and in administration or supervision; or 

3. A baccalaureate degree and a combination of four years 
of professional experience with children, in a children’s 
residential facility and in administration or supervision. 

E. Any applicant for the program director position shall 
submit the following to demonstrate compliance with the 
qualifications required by this regulation for the program 
director: 

1. Official transcripts from the accredited college or 
university of attendance within 30 days of hire; and 

2. Documentation of prior relevant experience. 

22VAC40-151-300. Case manager. 

A. Case managers shall have the responsibility for: 

1. Coordination of all services offered to each resident; and 

2. Provision of case management services as required in 
22VAC40-151-700. 

B. Case managers shall have: 

1. A master’s degree in social work, psychology, or 
counseling; 

2. A baccalaureate degree in social work or psychology 
with documented field work experience and must be 
supervised by the program director or other staff employed 
by the provider with the same qualifications as required by 
22VAC40-151-290 D; or 

3. A baccalaureate degree and three years of professional 
experience working with children. 

22VAC40-151-310. Child care supervisor. 

A. Child care supervisors shall have responsibility for the: 

1. Development of the daily living program within each 
child care unit; and 

2. Orientation, training and supervision of direct care 
workers. 

B. Child care supervisors shall have: 

1. A baccalaureate degree in social work or psychology 
and two years of professional experience working with 
children one year of which must have been in a residential 
facility for children;  

2. A high school diploma or a General Education 
Development Certificate (G.E.D.) and a minimum of five 
years professional experience working with children with 
at least two years in a residential facility for children; or 

3. A combination of education and experience working 
with children as approved by the department. 

22VAC40-151-320. Child care staff. 

A. The child care worker shall have responsibility for 
guidance and supervision of the children to whom he is 
assigned including: 

1. Overseeing physical care; 

2. Development of acceptable habits and attitudes; 

3. Management of resident behavior; and 

4. Helping to meet the goals and objectives of any required 
service plan.  

B. A child care worker and a relief child care worker shall: 

1. Have a baccalaureate degree in human services; 

2. Have an associates degree and three months experience 
working with children; or 

3. Be a high school graduate or have a General Education 
Development Certificate (G.E.D.) and have six months of 
experience working with children. 

C. Child care staff with a high school diploma or G.E.D. 
with no experience working with children may not work 
alone, but may be employed as long as they are working 
directly with the chief administrative officer, program 
director, case manager, child care supervisor or a child care 
worker with one or more years professional experience 
working with children. 

D. An individual hired, promoted, demoted, or transferred to 
a child care worker’s position shall be at least 21 years old. 

E. The provider shall not be dependent on temporary 
contract workers to provide resident care. 
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22VAC40-151-330. Relief staff. 

Qualified relief staff shall be employed as necessary to meet 
the needs of the programs and services offered and to 
maintain a structured program of care in accordance with 
22VAC40-151-720. 

22VAC40-151-340. Volunteers and student/interns. 

A. A facility that uses volunteers or students/interns shall 
develop and implement written policies and procedures 
governing their selection and use. 

B. The facility shall not be dependent upon volunteers or 
students/interns to provide basic services. 

C. Responsibilities of volunteers and students/interns shall 
be clearly defined in writing. 

D. Volunteers and students/interns shall have qualifications 
appropriate to the services they render. 

22VAC40-151-350. Support functions. 

A. Child care workers and other staff responsible for child 
care may assume the duties of nonchild care personnel only 
when these duties do not interfere with their child care 
responsibilities. 

B. Residents shall not be solely responsible for support 
functions, including but not necessarily limited to, food 
service, maintenance of building and grounds, and 
housekeeping. 

22VAC40-151-360. Buildings, inspections and building 
plans. 

A. All buildings and building related equipment shall be 
inspected and approved by the local building official. 
Approval shall be documented by a certificate of occupancy. 

B. The facility shall document at the time of its original 
application evidence of consultation with state or local fire 
prevention authorities. 

C. The facility shall document annually after the initial 
application that buildings and equipment are maintained in 
accordance with the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code 
(13VAC5-51). 

D. At the time of the original application and at least 
annually thereafter the buildings shall be inspected and 
approved by state or local health authorities, whose inspection 
and approval shall include: 

1. General sanitation; 

2. The sewage disposal system; 

3. The water supply; and 

4. Food service operations. 

E. The buildings and physical environment shall provide 
adequate space and shall be of a design that is suitable to 

house the programs and services provided and meet 
specialized needs of the residents. 

F. Building plans and specifications for new construction, 
change in use of existing buildings, and any structural 
modifications or additions to existing buildings shall be 
submitted to and approved by the department and by other 
appropriate regulatory authorities. 

G. Swimming pools shall be inspected annually by the state 
or local health authorities or by a swimming pool business. 

22VAC40-151-370. Heating systems, ventilation and 
cooling. 

A. Heat shall be evenly distributed in all rooms occupied by 
the residents such that a temperature no less than 68°F is 
maintained, unless otherwise mandated by state or federal 
authorities. 

B. Natural or mechanical ventilation to the outside shall be 
provided in all rooms used by residents. 

C. Air conditioning or mechanical ventilating systems, such 
as electric fans, shall be provided in all rooms occupied by 
residents when the temperature in those rooms exceeds 80°F. 

22VAC40-151-380. Lighting. 

A. Artificial lighting shall be by electricity. 

B. All areas within buildings shall be lighted for safety and 
the lighting shall be sufficient for the activities being 
performed. 

C. Lighting in halls shall be adequate and shall be 
continuous at night. 

D. Operable flashlights or battery-powered lanterns shall be 
available for each staff member on the premises between dusk 
and dawn to use in emergencies. 

E. Outside entrances and parking areas shall be lighted for 
protection against injuries and intruders. 

22VAC40-151-390. Plumbing. 

A. Plumbing shall be maintained in good operational 
condition. 

B. An adequate supply of hot and cold running water shall 
be available at all times. 

C. Precautions shall be taken to prevent scalding from 
running water. Water temperatures should be maintained at 
100°F - 120°F. 

22VAC40-151-400. Toilet facilities. 

A. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or bathtub in each living unit. 

B. There shall be at least one bathroom equipped with a 
bathtub in each facility. 
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C. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or tub for every eight residents for facilities licensed 
before July 1, 1981. 

D. There shall be one toilet, one hand basin, and one shower 
or tub for every four residents in any building constructed or 
structurally modified after July 1, 1981. 

E. The maximum number of staff members on duty in the 
living unit shall be counted in determining the required 
number of toilets and hand basins when a separate bathroom 
is not provided for staff. 

F. There shall be at least one mirror securely fastened to the 
wall at a height appropriate for use in each room where hand 
basins are located. 

22VAC40-151-410. Personal necessities. 

A. An adequate supply of personal necessities shall be 
available to the residents at all times for purposes of personal 
hygiene and grooming.  

B. Clean, individual washcloths and towels shall be in good 
repair and available once each week and more often if 
needed. 

C. When residents are incontinent or not toilet trained: 

1. Provision shall be made for sponging, diapering or other 
similar care on a nonabsorbent changing surface that shall 
be cleaned with warm soapy water after each use. 

2. A covered diaper pail, or its equivalent, with leak proof 
disposable liners shall be used to dispose of diapers. If both 
cloth and disposable diapers are used there shall be a 
diaper pail for each. 

3. Adapter seats and toilet chairs shall be cleaned 
immediately after each use with appropriate cleaning 
materials. 

4. Staff shall thoroughly wash their hands with warm soapy 
water immediately after assisting a child or themselves 
with toileting.  

5. Appropriate privacy, confidentiality and dignity shall be 
maintained for residents during toileting and diapering. 

22VAC40-151-420. Sleeping areas. 

A. When residents are four years of age or older, boys and 
girls shall have separate sleeping areas. 

B. No more than four children shall share a bedroom or 
sleeping area.  

C. Children who use wheelchairs, crutches, canes, or other 
mechanical devices for assistance in walking shall be 
provided with a planned, personalized means of effective 
egress for use in emergencies. 

D. Beds shall be at least three feet apart at the head, foot, 
and sides and double-decker beds shall be at least five feet 
apart at the head, foot, and sides. 

E. Sleeping quarters in facilities licensed by DSS prior to 
July 1, 1981, and facilities established, constructed or 
structurally modified after July 1, 1981, except for primitive 
campsites, shall have: 

1. At least 80 square feet of floor area in a bedroom 
accommodating one person; 

2. At least 60 square feet of floor area per person in rooms 
accommodating two or more persons; and 

3. Ceilings with a primary height at least 7-1/2 feet in 
height exclusive of protrusions, duct work, or dormers. 

F. Each child shall have a separate, clean, comfortable bed 
equipped with a clean mattress, clean pillow, clean blankets, 
clean bed linens, and, if needed, a clean waterproof mattress 
cover. 

G. Bed linens shall be changed at least every seven days and 
more often if needed. 

H. Mattresses shall be fire retardant as evidenced by 
documentation from the manufacturer except in buildings 
equipped with an automated sprinkler system as required by 
the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-
63). 

I. Cribs shall be provided for residents under two years of 
age. 

J. Each resident shall be assigned drawer space and closet 
space, or their equivalent, which is accessible to the sleeping 
area for storage of clothing and personal belongings. 

K. The environment of sleeping areas shall be conducive to 
sleep and rest. 

22VAC40-151-430. Smoking prohibition. 

Smoking shall be prohibited in living areas and in areas 
where residents participate in programs. 

22VAC40-151-440. Residents' privacy. 

A. When bathrooms are not designated for individual use: 

1. Each toilet shall be enclosed for privacy; and 

2. Bathtubs and showers shall provide visual privacy for 
bathing by use of enclosures, curtains or other appropriate 
means. 

B. Windows in bathrooms, sleeping areas, and dressing 
areas shall provide for privacy. 

C. Every sleeping area shall have a door that may be closed 
for privacy or quiet and this door shall be readily opened in 
case of fire or other emergency. 
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D. Residents shall be provided privacy from routine sight 
supervision by staff members of the opposite gender while 
bathing, dressing, or conducting toileting activities. This 
section does not apply to medical personnel performing 
medical procedures, to staff providing assistance to infants, or 
to staff providing assistance to residents whose physical or 
mental disabilities dictate the need for assistance with these 
activities as justified in the resident’s record. 

E. Video and audio monitoring shall be permitted only with 
the approval of the department. 

22VAC40-151-450. Living rooms and indoor recreation 
space. 

A. Each living unit shall have a living room, or other area 
for informal use, for relaxation and entertainment. The 
furnishings shall provide a comfortable, home like 
environment that is appropriate to the ages of the residents. 

B. All facilities shall have indoor recreation space that 
contains indoor recreation materials appropriate to the ages 
and interests of the residents. 

C. Facilities licensed or certified to care for 13 or more 
residents shall have indoor recreation space distinct from the 
living room. Recreation space is not required in every living 
unit. 

22VAC40-151-460. Study space. 

A. Facilities serving a school-age population shall provide 
study space. Study space may be assigned in areas used 
interchangeably for other purposes. 

B. Study space shall be well lighted, quiet, and equipped 
with tables or desks and chairs. 

22VAC40-151-470. Kitchen and dining areas. 

A. Meals shall be served in areas equipped with sturdy 
tables and benches or chairs that are size and age appropriate 
for the residents. 

B. Adequate kitchen facilities and equipment shall be 
provided for preparation and serving of meals. 

C. Walk-in refrigerators, freezers, and other enclosures shall 
be equipped to permit emergency exits. 

22VAC40-151-480. Laundry areas. 

Appropriate space and equipment in good repair shall be 
provided if laundry is done at the facility. 

22VAC40-151-490. Storage. 

Space shall be provided for safe storage of items such as 
first-aid equipment, household supplies, recreational 
equipment, luggage, out-of-season clothing, and other 
materials. 

22VAC40-151-500. Staff quarters. 

A. A separate, private bedroom shall be provided for staff 
and their families when a staff member is on duty for 24 
consecutive hours or more. 

B. A separate private bathroom shall be provided for staff 
and their families when there are more than four persons in 
the living unit and the staff person is on duty for 24 
consecutive hours or more. 

C. Staff and members of their families shall not share 
bedrooms with residents. 

22VAC40-151-510. Office space. 

Space shall be provided for administrative activities 
including, as appropriate to the program, confidential 
conversations and provision for storage of records and 
materials. 

22VAC40-151-520. Buildings and grounds. 

A. The facility’s grounds shall be safe, properly maintained, 
and free of clutter and rubbish. The grounds include, but are 
not limited to, all areas where residents, staff, and visitors 
may reasonably be expected to have access, including roads, 
pavements, parking lots, open areas, stairways, railings, and 
potentially hazardous or dangerous areas. 

B. The interior and exterior of all buildings shall be safe, 
properly maintained, clean and in good working order. This 
includes, but is not limited to, required locks, mechanical 
devices, indoor and outdoor equipment, and furnishings. 

C. Outdoor recreation space shall be available and 
appropriately equipped for the residents’ use. 

22VAC40-151-530. Equipment and furnishings. 

A. All furnishings and equipment shall be safe, clean, and 
suitable to the ages and number of residents. 

B. There shall be at least one continuously operable, nonpay 
telephone accessible to staff in each building in which 
children sleep or participate in programs. 

22VAC40-151-540. Housekeeping and maintenance. 

A. All buildings shall be well ventilated and free of stale, 
musty, or foul odors. 

B. Adequate provision shall be made for the collection and 
legal disposal of garbage and waste materials. 

C. Buildings shall be kept free of flies, roaches, rats, and 
other vermin. 

D. A sanitizing agent shall be used in the laundering of bed, 
bath, table, and kitchen linens. 

22VAC40-151-550. Farm and domestic animals. 

A. Horses and other animals maintained on the premises 
shall be quartered at a reasonable distance from sleeping, 
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living, eating and food preparation areas, as well as a safe 
distance from water supplies.  

B. Animals maintained on the premises shall be tested, 
inoculated and licensed as required by law. 

C. The premises shall be kept free of stray domestic animals. 

D. Pets shall be provided with clean quarters and adequate 
food and water. 

22VAC40-151-560. Acceptance of children. 

Children shall be accepted only by written placement 
agreement with legal guardians or by court order. This 
requirement does not apply to temporary emergency shelter 
facilities when self-admission is made according to Virginia 
law. 

22VAC40-151-570. Admission procedures. 

A. The facility shall have written criteria for admission that 
shall include: 

1. A description of the population to be served;  

2. A description of the types of services offered;  

3. Intake and admission procedures; 

4. Exclusion criteria to define those behaviors or problems 
that the facility does not have the staff with experience or 
training to manage; and 

5. Description of how educational services will be 
provided to the population being served. 

B. The facility shall accept and serve only those children 
whose needs are compatible with the services provided 
through the facility unless a child's admission is ordered by a 
court of competent jurisdiction. 

C. Each facility shall provide documentation showing proof 
of contractual agreements or staff expertise to provide 
educational services, counseling services, psychological 
services, medical services, or any other services needed to 
serve the residents in accordance with the facility’s program 
description as defined by the facility’s criteria of admission. 

22VAC40-151-580. Maintenance of residents' records. 

A. A separate written or electronic case record shall be 
maintained for each resident. In addition, all correspondence 
and documents received by the facility relating to the care of 
that resident shall be maintained as part of the case record. A 
separate health record may be kept on each resident. 

B. Each case record and health record shall be kept up to 
date and in a uniform manner. 

C. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures for management of all records, 
written and electronic, that shall describe confidentiality, 

accessibility, security, and retention of records pertaining to 
residents, including: 

1. Access, duplication, dissemination, and acquiring of 
information only to persons legally authorized according to 
federal and state laws; 

2. Facilities using electronic records shall address 
procedures that include: 

a. How records are protected from unauthorized access; 

b. How records are protected from unauthorized Internet 
access; 

c. How records are protected from loss; 

d. How records are protected from unauthorized 
alteration; and 

e. How records are backed up; 

3. Security measures to protect records from loss, 
unauthorized alteration, inadvertent or unauthorized 
access, disclosure of information and transportation of 
records between service sites; 

4. Designation of person responsible for records 
management; and 

5. Disposition of records in the event the facility ceases to 
operate. 

D. The policy shall specify what information is available to 
the resident. 

E. Active and closed records shall be kept in areas that are 
accessible to authorized staff and protected from unauthorized 
access, fire, and flood. 

1. When not in use written records shall be stored in a 
metal file cabinet or other metal compartment. 

2. Facility staff shall assure the confidentiality of the 
residents’ records by placing them in a locked cabinet or 
drawer or in a locked room when the staff member is not 
present. 

F. Each resident’s written case and health records shall be 
stored separately subsequent to the resident’s discharge 
according to applicable statutes and regulations. 

G. Written and electronic records shall be retained in their 
entirety for a minimum of three years after the date of 
discharge unless otherwise specified by state or federal 
requirements. 

H. The face sheet shall be retained permanently unless 
otherwise specified by state or federal requirements. 
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22VAC40-151-590. Interstate Compact on the Placement 
of Children. 

A. Documentation of the prior approval of the administrator 
of the Virginia Interstate Compact on the Placement of 
Children, Virginia Department of Social Services shall be 
retained in the record of each resident admitted from outside 
Virginia. The requirements of this section shall not apply to a 
facility providing documentation that the administrator of the 
Virginia Interstate Compact has determined the facility is 
statutorily exempt from the compact's provisions. 

B. Documentation that the provider has sent copies of all 
serious incident reports regarding any child placed through 
the Interstate Compact to the administrator of the Virginia 
Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children shall be kept 
in the resident’s record. 

C. No later than five days after a resident has been 
transferred to another facility operated by the same sponsor, 
the resident’s record shall contain documentation that the 
administrator of the Virginia Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children was notified in writing of the 
resident’s transfer. 

D. No later than 10 days after discharge the resident's record 
shall contain documentation that the administrator of the 
Virginia Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children 
was notified in writing of the discharge. 

E. The provider shall not discharge or send out-of-state 
youth in the custody of out-of-state social services agencies 
and courts to reside with a parent, relative, or other individual 
who lives in Virginia without the approval of the 
administrator of the Virginia Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children. 

22VAC40-151-600. Participation of residents in human 
research. 

The provider shall: 

1. Implement a written policy stating that residents will not 
be used as subjects of human research; or 

2. Document approval, as required by the department, for 
each research project using residents as subjects of human 
research, unless such research is exempt from review. 

22VAC40-151-610. Emergency and self-admissions. 

Providers accepting emergency or self-admissions shall: 

1. Develop and implement written policies and procedures 
governing such admissions that shall include procedures to 
make and document prompt efforts to obtain (i) a written 
placement agreement signed by the legal guardian or (ii) 
the order of a court of competent jurisdiction; 

2. Place in each resident's record the order of a court of 
competent jurisdiction, a written request for care, or 
documentation of an oral request for care; and justification 

of why the resident is to be admitted on an emergency 
basis; and 

3. Clearly document in written assessment information 
gathered for the emergency admission that the individual 
meets the facility’s criteria for admission. 

22VAC40-151-620. Application for admission. 

A. Admission shall be based on evaluation of an application 
for admission. The requirements of this section do not apply 
to court-ordered placements or transfer of a resident between 
residential facilities located in Virginia and operated by the 
same sponsor. 

B. Providers shall develop, and fully complete prior to 
acceptance for care, an application for admission that is 
designed to compile information necessary to determine: 

1. The educational needs of the prospective resident; 

2. The mental health, emotional, and psychological needs 
of the prospective resident; 

3. The physical health needs, including the immunization 
needs, of the prospective resident; 

4. The protection needs of the prospective resident; 

5. The suitability of the prospective resident's admission; 

6. The behavior support needs of the prospective resident; 
and 

7. Information necessary to develop a service plan and a 
behavior support plan. 

C. The resident's record shall contain a completed 
application for admission at the time of a routine admission or 
within 30 days after an emergency admission. 

D. Each facility shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to assess each prospective resident as 
part of the application process to ensure that: 

1. The needs of the prospective resident can be addressed 
by the facility’s services;  

2. The facility’s staff are trained to meet the prospective 
resident’s needs; and 

3. The admission of the prospective resident would not 
pose any significant risk to (i) the prospective resident or 
(ii) the facility’s residents or staff. 

22VAC40-151-630. Written placement agreement. 

A. The facility, except a facility that accepts admission only 
upon receipt of the order of a court of competent jurisdiction, 
shall develop a written placement agreement that: 

1. Authorizes the resident's placement; 

2. Addresses acquisition of and consent for any medical 
treatment needed by the resident; 
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3. Addresses the rights and responsibilities of each party 
involved; 

4. Addresses financial responsibility for the placement; 

5. Addresses visitation with the resident; and 

6. Addresses the education plan for the resident and the 
responsibilities of all parties. 

B. Each resident's record shall contain, prior to a routine 
admission, a completed placement agreement signed by a 
facility representative and the legal guardian or placing 
agency, except as permitted for temporary emergency shelters 
pursuant to §63.2-1817 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The record of each person admitted based on a court 
order shall contain a copy of the court order. 

22VAC40-151-640. Face sheet. 

A. At the time of admission, each resident’s record shall 
include a completed face sheet that contains (i) the resident’s 
full name, last known residence, birth date, birthplace, 
gender, race, social security number or other unique 
identifier, religious preference, and admission date; and (ii) 
names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the resident’s 
legal guardians, placing agency, emergency contacts and 
parents, if appropriate. 

B. Information shall be updated when changes occur. 

C. The face sheet for pregnant teens shall also include the 
expected date of delivery and the name of the hospital to 
provide delivery services to the resident. 

D. The face sheet of residents who are transferred to 
facilities operated by the same sponsor shall indicate the 
address and dates of placement and transfer at each location. 

E. At the time of discharge the following information shall 
be added to the face sheet: 

1. Date of discharge; 

2. Reason for discharge; 

3. Names and addresses of persons to whom the resident 
was discharged; and 

4. Forwarding address of the resident, if known. 

22VAC40-151-650. Initial objectives and strategies. 

Within three days following admission, individualized, 
measurable objectives and strategies for the first 30 days shall 
be developed, distributed to affected staff and the resident, 
and placed in the resident’s record. The objectives and 
strategies shall be based on the reasons for admitting the 
resident.  

22VAC40-151-660. Service plan/quarterly reports. 

A. An individualized service plan shall be developed and 
placed in the resident’s record within 30 days following 
admission and implemented immediately thereafter. 

B. Individualized service plans shall describe in measurable 
terms the: 

1. Strengths and needs of the resident; 

2. Resident's current level of functioning; 

3. Goals, objectives and strategies established for the 
resident; 

4. Projected family involvement; 

5. Projected date for accomplishing each objective; and 

6. Status of the projected discharge plan and estimated 
length of stay except that this requirement shall not apply 
to a facility that discharges only upon receipt of the order 
of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

C. The initial service plan shall be reviewed within 60 days 
of the initial plan and within each 90-day period thereafter 
and revised as necessary.  

D. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to document progress of the resident 
towards meeting goals and objectives of the service plan that 
shall include the: 

1. Format; 

2. Frequency; and 

3. Person responsible. 

E. There shall be a documented quarterly review of each 
resident’s progress 60 days following the initial service plan 
and within each 90-day period thereafter and shall report the: 

1. Resident’s progress toward meeting the plan’s 
objectives; 

2. Family’s involvement; 

3. Continuing needs of the resident; 

4. Resident’s progress towards discharge; and 

5. Status of discharge planning. 

F. Each plan and quarterly progress report shall include the 
date it was developed and the signature of the person who 
developed it. 

G. Staff responsible for daily implementation of the 
resident's individualized service plan shall be able to describe 
the resident’s behavior in terms of the objectives in the plan. 

H. There shall be documentation showing the involvement 
of the following parties unless clearly inappropriate, in 
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developing and updating the individualized service plan and 
in developing the quarterly progress report: 

1. The resident; 

2. The resident's family, if appropriate, and legal guardian; 

3. The placing agency; and 

4. Facility staff. 

I. The initial individualized service plan, each update, and 
all quarterly progress reports shall be distributed to the 
resident; the resident’s family, legal guardian, or legally 
authorized representative; the placing agency; and appropriate 
facility staff if allowed by federal guidelines and using all 
procedures as required by federal guidelines.  

22VAC40-151-670. Resident transfer between residential 
facilities located in Virginia and operated by the same 
sponsor. 

A. Except when transfer is ordered by a court of competent 
jurisdiction, the receiving provider shall document at the time 
of transfer: 

1. Preparation through sharing information with the 
resident, the family and the placing agency about the 
facility, the staff, the population served, activities and 
criteria for admission; 

2. Notification to the family, if appropriate; the resident, 
the placement agency and the legal guardian; 

3. Receipt from the sending facility of a written summary 
of the resident's progress while at the facility, justification 
for the transfer, and the resident's current strengths and 
needs; and 

4. Receipt of the resident's record. 

B. The sending facility shall retain a copy of the face sheet 
and a written summary of the child's progress while at the 
facility and shall document the date of transfer and the name 
of the facility to which the resident has been transferred. 

22VAC40-151-680. Discharge. 

A. The provider shall have written criteria for discharge that 
shall include: 

1. Criteria for a resident's completing the program that are 
consistent with the facility's programs and services;  

2. Conditions under which a resident may be discharged 
before completing the program; and 

3. Procedures for assisting placing agencies in placing the 
residents should the facility cease operation. 

B. The provider’s criteria for discharge shall be accessible to 
prospective residents, legal guardians, and placing agencies. 

C. The record of each resident discharged upon receipt of 
the order of a court of competent jurisdiction shall contain a 
copy of the court order. 

D. Residents shall be discharged only to the legal guardian 
or legally authorized representative. 

E. Information concerning current medications, need for 
continuing therapeutic interventions, educational status, and 
other items important to the resident’s continuing care shall 
be provided to the legal guardian or legally authorized 
representative, as appropriate. 

F. Unless discharge is ordered by a court of competent 
jurisdiction, prior to the planned discharge date, each 
resident's record shall contain: 

1. Documentation that discharge has been planned and 
discussed with the parent, legal guardian, child-placing 
agency, and resident; and 

2. A written discharge plan. 

G. Discharge summaries. 

1. No later than 30 days after discharge, a comprehensive 
discharge summary shall be placed in the resident's record 
and sent to the persons or agency that made the placement. 
The discharge summary shall review: 

a. Services provided to the resident; 

b. The resident’s progress toward meeting service plan 
objectives; 

c. The resident’s continuing needs and recommendations 
if any, for further services and care; 

d. Reasons for discharge and names of persons to whom 
resident was discharged; 

e. Dates of admission and discharge; and 

f. Date the discharge summary was prepared and the 
signature of the person preparing it. 

2. In lieu of a comprehensive discharge summary, the 
record of each resident discharged upon receipt of the 
order of a court of competent jurisdiction shall contain a 
copy of the court order. 

22VAC40-151-690. Placement of residents outside the 
facility. 

A resident shall not be placed outside the facility prior to the 
facility's obtaining a child-placing agency license from the 
Department of Social Services, except as permitted by statute 
or by order of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

22VAC40-151-700. Case management services. 

A. The program of the facility shall be designed to provide 
case management services. Case management services shall 
address: 
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1. Helping the resident and the parents or legal guardian to 
understand the effects on the resident of separation from 
the family and the effect of group living; 

2. Assisting the resident and the family to maintain their 
relationships and prepare for the resident’s future care;  

3. Utilizing appropriate community resources to provide 
services and maintain contacts with such resources; 

4. Helping the resident strengthen his capacity to function 
productively in interpersonal relationships; 

5. Conferring with the child care staff to help them 
understand the resident’s needs in order to promote 
adjustment to group living; and 

6. Working with the resident and with the family or any 
placing agency that may be involved in planning for the 
resident’s future and in preparing the resident for the return 
home or to another family, for independent living, or for 
other residential care. 

B. The provision of case management services shall be 
documented in each resident's record. 

22VAC40-151-710. Therapy. 

Therapy, if provided, shall be provided by an individual (i) 
licensed as a therapist by the Department of Health 
Professions or (ii) who is licensure eligible and working 
under the supervision of a licensed therapist, unless exempted 
from these requirements under the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-151-720. Structured program of care. 

A. There shall be evidence of a structured program of care 
designed to: 

1. Meet the residents’ physical and emotional needs; 

2. Provide protection, guidance, and supervision; and 

3. Meet the objectives of any required service plan. 

B. There shall be evidence of a structured daily routine 
designed to ensure the delivery of program services. 

C. A daily communication log shall be maintained to inform 
staff of significant happenings or problems experienced by 
residents. 

D. Health and dental complaints and injuries shall be 
recorded and shall include the (i) resident’s name, complaint, 
and affected area and (ii) time of the complaint. 

E. The identity of the individual making each entry in the 
daily communication log shall be recorded. 

F. Routines shall be planned to ensure that each resident 
receives the amount of sleep and rest appropriate for his age 
and physical condition. 

G. Staff shall promote good personal hygiene of residents by 
monitoring and supervising hygiene practices each day and 
by providing instruction when needed. 

H. The structured daily routine shall comply with any 
facility and locally imposed curfews. 

22VAC40-151-730. Health care procedures. 

A. The provider shall have and implement written 
procedures for promptly: 

1. Providing or arranging for the provision of medical and 
dental services for health problems identified at admission;  

2. Providing or arranging for the provision of routine 
ongoing and follow-up medical and dental services after 
admission; 

3. Providing emergency services for each resident as 
provided by statute or by the agreement with the resident's 
legal guardian;  

4. Providing emergency services for any resident 
experiencing or showing signs of suicidal or homicidal 
thoughts, symptoms of mood or thought disorders, or other 
mental health problems; and 

5. Ensuring that the required information in subsection B 
of this section is accessible and up to date. 

B. The following written information concerning each 
resident shall be readily accessible to staff who may have to 
respond to a medical or dental emergency: 

1. Name, address, and telephone number of the physician 
and dentist to be notified; 

2. Name, address, and telephone number of a relative or 
other person to be notified; 

3. Medical insurance company name and policy number or 
Medicaid number; 

4. Information concerning: 

a. Use of medication; 

b. All allergies, including medication allergies; 

c. Substance abuse and use; and 

d. Significant past and present medical problems.  

5. Written permission for emergency medical care, dental 
care, and obtaining immunizations or a procedure and 
contacts for obtaining consent. 

22VAC40-151-740. Medical examinations and treatment. 

A. Each child accepted for care shall have a physical 
examination by or under the direction of a licensed physician 
no earlier than 90 days prior to admission to the facility or no 
later than seven days following admission, except (i) the 
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report of an examination within the preceding 12 months 
shall be acceptable if a child transfers from one residential 
facility licensed or certified by a state agency to another, (ii) a 
physical examination shall be conducted within 30 days 
following an emergency admission if a report of physical 
examination is not available, and (iii) this requirement does 
not apply if a child is admitted to a temporary emergency 
shelter facility. 

B. Within seven days of placement, each resident shall have 
had a screening assessment for tuberculosis as evidenced by 
the completion of a screening form containing, at a minimum, 
the elements found on the current screening form published 
by the Virginia Department of Health. The screening 
assessment shall be no older than 30 days. 

C. A screening assessment for tuberculosis shall be 
completed annually on each resident as evidenced by the 
completion of a form containing, at a minimum, the elements 
of the screening form published by the Virginia Department 
of Health.  

D. Each resident’s health record shall include written 
documentation of (i) the initial physical examination, (ii) an 
annual physical examination by or under the direction of a 
licensed physician including any recommendation for follow-
up care, and (iii) documentation of the provision of follow-up 
medical care recommended by the physician or as indicated 
by the needs of the resident.  

E. Each physical examination report shall include: 

1. Information necessary to determine the health and 
immunization needs of the resident, including: 

a. Immunizations administered at the time of the exam; 

b. Vision exam; 

c. Hearing exam; 

d. General physical condition, including documentation 
of apparent freedom from communicable disease 
including tuberculosis;  

e. Allergies, chronic conditions, and handicaps, if any; 

f. Nutritional requirements, including special diets, if 
any; 

g. Restrictions on physical activities, if any; and 

h. Recommendations for further treatment, 
immunizations, and other examinations indicated; 

2. Date of the physical examination; and 

3. Signature of a licensed physician, the physician's 
designee, or an official of a local health department. 

F. A child with a communicable disease shall not be 
admitted unless a licensed physician certifies that: 

1. The facility is capable of providing care to the child 
without jeopardizing residents and staff; and 

2. The facility is aware of the required treatment for the 
child and the procedures to protect residents and staff. 

The requirements of this subsection shall not apply to 
temporary emergency shelter facilities. 

G. Each resident’s health record shall include written 
documentation of (i) an annual examination by a licensed 
dentist and (ii) documentation of follow-up dental care 
recommended by the dentist or as indicated by the needs of 
the resident. This requirement does not apply to temporary 
emergency shelter facilities,. 

H. Each resident's health record shall include notations of 
health and dental complaints and injuries and shall summarize 
symptoms and treatment given. 

I. Each resident's health record shall include, or document 
the facility’s efforts to obtain, treatment summaries of 
ongoing psychiatric or other mental health treatment and 
reports, if applicable.  

J. The provider shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures that include use of standard precautions and 
addresses communicable and contagious medical conditions. 
These policies and procedures shall be approved by a medical 
professional. 

K. A well-stocked first-aid kit shall be maintained and 
readily accessible for minor injuries and medical 
emergencies. 

22VAC40-151-750. Medication. 

A. All medication shall be securely locked and properly 
labeled. 

B. All staff responsible for medication administration shall 
have successfully completed a medication training program 
approved by the Board of Nursing or be licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications before 
they can administer medication. 

C. Staff authorized to administer medication shall be 
informed of any known side effects of the medication and the 
symptoms of the effects. 

D. A program of medication, including over-the-counter 
medication, shall be initiated for a resident only when 
prescribed in writing by a person authorized by law to 
prescribe medication. 

E. Medication prescribed by a person authorized by law 
shall be administered as prescribed. 

F. A medication administration record shall be maintained 
of all medicines received by each resident and shall include: 

1. Date the medication was prescribed; 
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2. Drug name; 

3. Schedule for administration; 

4. Strength; 

5. Route; 

6. Identity of the individual who administered the 
medication; and 

7. Dates the medication was discontinued or changed. 

G. In the event of a medication error or an adverse drug 
reaction, first aid shall be administered if indicated. Staff shall 
promptly contact a poison control center, pharmacist, nurse, 
or physician and shall take actions as directed. If the situation 
is not addressed in standing orders, the attending physician 
shall be notified as soon as possible and the actions taken by 
staff shall be documented. 

H. Medication refusals shall be documented including action 
taken by staff.  

I. The provider shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures for documenting medication errors, reviewing 
medication errors and reactions and making any necessary 
improvements, the disposal of medication, the storage of 
controlled substances, and the distribution of medication off 
campus. The policy and procedures must be approved by a 
health care professional. The provider shall keep 
documentation of this approval. 

J. The telephone number of a regional poison control center 
and other emergency numbers shall be posted on or next to 
each nonpay telephone that has access to an outside line in 
each building in which children sleep or participate in 
programs. 

K. Syringes and other medical implements used for injecting 
or cutting skin shall be stored in a locked area. 

22VAC40-151-760. Nutrition. 

A. Each resident shall be provided a daily diet that (i) 
consists of at least three nutritionally balanced meals and an 
evening snack, (ii) includes an adequate variety and quantity 
of food for the age of the resident, and (iii) meets minimum 
nutritional requirements and the U.S. Dietary Guidelines. 

B. Menus of actual meals served shall be kept on file for at 
least six months. 

C. Special diets shall be provided when prescribed by a 
physician and the established religious dietary practices of the 
resident shall be observed. 

D. Staff who eat in the presence of the residents shall be 
served the same meals as the residents unless a special diet 
has been prescribed by a physician for the staff or residents or 
the staff or residents are observing established religious 
dietary practices. 

E. There shall not be more than 15 hours between the 
evening meal and breakfast the following day. 

F. Providers shall assure that food is available to residents 
who need to eat breakfast before the 15 hours have expired. 

G. Providers shall receive approval from the department if 
they wish to extend the time between meals on weekends and 
holidays. There shall never be more than 17 hours between 
the evening meal and breakfast the following day on 
weekends and holidays. 

22VAC40-151-770. Staff supervision of residents. 

A. No member of the child care staff shall be on duty more 
than six consecutive days without a rest day, except in an 
emergency or as approved by the department for live-in staff. 

B. Child care staff shall have an average of at least two rest 
days per week in any four-week period. Rest days shall be in 
addition to vacation time and holidays. 

C. Child care staff other than live-in staff shall not be on 
duty more than 16 consecutive hours, except in an 
emergency. 

D. There shall be at least one trained child care worker, on 
duty and actively supervising residents at all times that one or 
more residents are present. 

E. Whenever children are being supervised by staff there 
shall be at least one staff person present with a current basic 
certificate in standard first aid and a current certificate in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation issued by the American Red 
Cross or other recognized authority. 

F. Supervision policies. 

1. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures that address staff supervision of 
children including contingency plans for resident illnesses, 
emergencies, off-campus activities, and resident 
preferences. These policies and procedures shall be based 
on the: 

a. Needs of the population served; 

b. Types of services offered;  

c. Qualifications of staff on duty; and 

d. Number of residents served. 

2. At all times the ratio of staff to residents shall be at least 
one staff to eight residents for facilities during the hours 
residents are awake, except when the department has 
approved or required a supervision plan with a different 
ratio based on the needs of the population served.  

3. Providers requesting a ratio that allows a higher number 
of residents to be supervised by one staff person than was 
approved or required shall submit a justification to the lead 
regulatory agency that shall include: 
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a. Why resident care will not be adversely affected; and 

b. How residents’ needs will be met on an individual as 
well as group basis.  

4. Written policies and procedures governing supervision 
of residents and any justifications for a ratio deviation that 
allows a higher number of residents to be supervised by 
one staff than was approved or required, shall be reviewed 
and approved by the regulatory authority prior to 
implementation. 

5. The supervision policies or a summary of the policies 
shall be provided, upon request, to the placing agency or 
legal guardian prior to placement. 

22VAC40-151-780. Emergency telephone numbers. 

A. There shall be an emergency telephone number where a 
staff person may be immediately contacted 24 hours a day. 

B. Residents who are away from the facility and the adults 
responsible for their care during the absence shall be 
furnished with the emergency phone number. 

22VAC40-151-790. Searches. 

A. Strip searches and body cavity searches are prohibited. 

B. A provider that does not conduct pat downs shall have a 
written policy prohibiting them. 

C. A provider that conducts pat downs shall develop and 
implement written policies and procedures governing them 
that shall provide that: 

1. Pat downs shall be limited to instances where they are 
necessary to prohibit contraband; 

2. Pat downs shall be conducted by personnel of the same 
gender as the resident being searched; 

3. Pat downs shall be conducted only by personnel who are 
specifically authorized to conduct searches by the written 
policies and procedures; and 

4. Pat downs shall be conducted in such a way as to protect 
the subject’s dignity and in the presence of one or more 
witnesses. 

22VAC40-151-800. Behavior support. 

A. Within 30 days of admission, the provider shall develop 
and implement a written behavior support plan that allows the 
resident to self-manage his own behaviors. Each 
individualized plan shall include:  

1. Identification of positive and problem behavior; 

2. Identification of triggers for behaviors; 

3. Identification of successful intervention strategies for 
problem behavior; 

4. Techniques for managing anger and anxiety; and 

5. Identification of interventions that may escalate 
inappropriate behaviors. 

B. Individualized behavior support plans shall be developed 
in consultation with the: 

1. Resident; 

2. Legal guardian; 

3. Resident’s parents, if applicable; 

4. Program director; 

5. Placing agency staff; and 

6. Other applicable individuals. 

C. Prior to working alone with an assigned resident each 
staff member shall demonstrate knowledge and understanding 
of that resident’s behavior support plan. 

22VAC40-151-810. Timeout. 

A. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures governing the conditions under which 
a resident may be placed in timeout and the maximum period 
of timeout. The conditions and maximum period of timeout 
shall be based on the resident’s chronological and 
developmental level. 

B. The area in which a resident is placed shall not be locked 
nor the door secured in a manner that prevents the resident 
from opening it. 

C. A resident in timeout shall be able to communicate with 
staff. 

D. Staff shall check on the resident in the timeout area at 
least every 15 minutes and more often depending on the 
nature of the resident’s disability, condition, and behavior. 

E. Use of timeout and staff checks on the residents shall be 
documented. 

22VAC40-151-820. Prohibitions. 

The following actions are prohibited: 

1. Deprivation of drinking water or food necessary to meet 
a resident's daily nutritional needs, except as ordered by a 
licensed physician for a legitimate medical purpose and 
documented in the resident's record; 

2. Limitation on contacts and visits with the resident’s 
attorney, a probation officer, regulators, or placing agency 
representative; 

3. Bans on contacts and visits with family or legal 
guardians, except as permitted by order of a court of 
competent jurisdiction; 

4. Delay or withholding of incoming or outgoing mail, 
except as permitted by order of a court of competent 
jurisdiction; 
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5. Any action that is humiliating, degrading, or abusive; 

6. Corporal punishment; 

7. Subjection to unsanitary living conditions; 

8. Deprivation of opportunities for bathing or access to 
toilet facilities, except as ordered by a licensed physician 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record; 

9. Deprivation of medical, dental or mental health care; 

10. Deprivation of appropriate and necessary services; 

11. Application of aversive stimuli; 

12. Administration of laxatives, enemas, or emetics, except 
as ordered by a licensed physician or poison control center 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record;  

13. Deprivation of opportunities for sleep or rest, except as 
ordered by a licensed physician for a legitimate medical 
purpose and documented in the resident's record; and 

14. Limitation on contacts and visits with advocates 
employed by the Virginia Office for Protection and 
Advocacy. 

22VAC40-151-830. Pharmacological or mechanical 
restraints. 

A. Use of mechanical restraints is prohibited. 

B. Use of pharmacological restraints is prohibited. 

22VAC40-151-840. Behavior interventions. 

A. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures for behavioral interventions and for 
documenting and monitoring the management of resident 
behavior. Rules of conduct shall be included in the written 
policies and procedures. These policies and procedures shall: 

1. Define and list techniques that are used and available for 
us in the order of their relative degree of restrictiveness; 

2. Specify the staff members who may authorize the use of 
each technique; and 

3. Specify the processes for implementing such policies 
and procedures.   

B. Written information concerning the policies and 
procedures of the provider’s behavioral support and 
intervention programs shall be provided prior to admission to 
prospective residents, legal guardians, and placing agencies. 
For emergency and court-ordered admissions, this 
information shall be provided to: 

1. Residents within 12 hours following admission; 

2. Placing agencies within 72 hours following the resident's 
admission; and 

3. Legal guardians within 72 hours following the resident's 
admission. 

C. When substantive revisions are made to policies and 
procedures governing management of resident behavior, 
written information concerning the revisions shall be 
provided to: 

1. Residents prior to implementation; and 

2. Legal guardians and placing agencies prior to 
implementation. 

D. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures governing use of physical restraint 
that shall include: 

1. The staff position who will write the report and 
timeframe;  

2. The staff position who will review the report and 
timeframe; and 

3. Methods to be followed should physical restraint, less 
intrusive interventions, or measures permitted by other 
applicable state regulations prove unsuccessful in calming 
and moderating the resident's behavior. 

E. All physical restraints shall be reviewed and evaluated to 
plan for continued staff development for performance 
improvement. 

F. Use of physical restraint shall be limited to that which is 
minimally necessary to protect the resident or others. 

G. Trained staff members may physically restrain a resident 
only after less restrictive interventions have failed or when 
failure to restrain would result in harm to the resident or 
others. 

H. Only trained staff members may manage resident 
behavior. 

I. Each application of physical restraint shall be fully 
documented in the resident's record including: 

1. Date; 

2. Time; 

3. Staff involved; 

4. Justification for the restraint; 

5. Less restrictive interventions that were unsuccessfully 
attempted prior to using physical restraint; 

6. Duration; 

7. Description of method or methods of physical restraint 
techniques used;  
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8. Signature of the person completing the report and date; 
and 

9. Reviewer’s signature and date. 

J. Providers shall ensure that restraint may only be 
implemented, monitored, and discontinued by staff who have 
been trained in the proper and safe use of restraint, including 
hands-on techniques. 

K. The provider shall review the facility’s behavior 
intervention techniques and policies and procedures at least 
annually to determine appropriateness for the population 
served. 

L. Any time children are present staff must be present who 
have completed all trainings in behavior intervention. 

22VAC40-151-850. Seclusion. 

Seclusion is prohibited. 

22VAC40-151-860. Education. 

A. Each resident of compulsory school attendance age shall 
be enrolled, as provided in the Code of Virginia, in an 
appropriate educational program within five school business 
days. Documentation of the enrollment shall be kept in the 
resident’s record. 

B. The provider shall ensure that educational guidance and 
counseling in selecting courses is provided for each resident 
and shall ensure that education is an integral part of the 
resident's total program. 

C. Providers operating educational programs for children 
with disabilities shall operate those programs in compliance 
with applicable state and federal statutes and regulations. 

D. When a child with a disability has been placed in a 
residential facility, the facility shall contact the division 
superintendent of the resident’s home locality. 
Documentation of the contact with the resident’s home school 
shall be kept in the resident’s record. 

E. A provider that has an academic or vocational program 
that is not certified or approved by the Department of 
Education shall document that teachers meet the 
qualifications to teach the same subjects in the public schools. 

F. Each provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to ensure that each resident has 
adequate study time. 

22VAC40-151-870. Religion. 

A. The provider shall have and implement written policies 
regarding opportunities for residents to participate in religious 
activities. 

B. The provider's policies on religious participation shall be 
available to residents and any individual or agency 
considering placement of a child in the facility. 

C. Residents shall not be coerced to participate in religious 
activities. 

22VAC40-151-880. Recreation. 

A. The provider shall have a written description of its 
recreation program that describes activities that are consistent 
with the facility's total program and with the ages, 
developmental levels, interests, and needs of the residents that 
includes: 

1. Opportunities for individual and group activities; 

2. Free time for residents to pursue personal interests that 
shall be in addition to a formal recreation program; 

3. Use of available community recreational resources and 
facilities; 

4. Scheduling of activities so that they do not conflict with 
meals, religious services, educational programs or other 
regular events; and 

5. Regularly scheduled indoor and outdoor recreational 
activities that are structured to develop skills and attitudes. 

B. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to ensure the safety of residents 
participating in recreational activities that include: 

1. How activities will be directed and supervised by 
individuals knowledgeable in the safeguards required for 
the activities; 

2. How residents are assessed for suitability for an activity 
and the supervision provided; and 

3. How safeguards for water-related activities will be 
provided including ensuring that a certified life guard 
supervises all swimming activities.  

C. For all overnight recreational trips away from the facility 
the provider shall document trip planning to include:  

1. A supervision plan for the entire duration of the activity 
including awake and sleeping hours; 

2. A plan for safekeeping and distribution of medication; 

3. An overall emergency, safety, and communication plan 
for the activity including emergency numbers of facility 
administration; 

4. Staff training and experience requirements for each 
activity; 

5. Resident preparation for each activity; 

6. A plan to ensure that all necessary equipment for the 
activity is in good repair and appropriate for the activity; 

7. A trip schedule giving addresses and phone numbers of 
locations to be visited and how the location was 
chosen/evaluated; 
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8. A plan to evaluate residents’ physical health throughout 
the activity and to ensure that the activity is conducted 
within the boundaries of the resident’s capabilities, dignity, 
and respect for self-determination; 

9. A plan to ensure that a certified life guard supervises all 
swimming activities in which residents participate; and 

10. Documentation of any variations from trip plans and 
reason for the variation. 

D. All out-of-state or out-of-country recreational trips 
require written permission from each resident’s legal 
guardian. Documentation of the written permission shall be 
kept in the resident’s record. 

22VAC40-151-890. Community relationships. 

A. Opportunities shall be provided for the residents to 
participate in activities and to utilize resources in the 
community. 

B. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures for evaluating persons or 
organizations in the community who wish to associate with 
residents on the premises or take residents off the premises. 
The procedures shall cover how the facility will determine if 
participation in such community activities or programs would 
be in the residents’ best interest. 

C. Each facility shall have a staff community liaison who 
shall be responsible for facilitating cooperative relationships 
with neighbors, the school system, local law enforcement, 
local government officials, and the community at large. 

D. Each provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures for promoting positive relationships 
with the neighbors that shall be approved by the department. 

22VAC40-151-900. Clothing. 

A. Provision shall be made for each resident to have an 
adequate supply of clean, comfortable, and well-fitting 
clothes and shoes for indoor and outdoor wear. 

B. Clothes and shoes shall be similar in style to those 
generally worn by children of the same age in the community 
who are engaged in similar activities.  

C. Residents shall have the opportunity to participate in the 
selection of their clothing. 

D. Residents shall be allowed to take personal clothing when 
leaving the facility. 

22VAC40-151-910. Allowances and spending money. 

A. The provider shall provide opportunities appropriate to 
the ages and developmental levels of the residents for 
learning the value and use of money. 

B. There shall be a written policy regarding allowances that 
shall be made available to legal guardians at the time of 
admission. 

C. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies for safekeeping and for recordkeeping of any money 
that belongs to residents. 

D. A resident’s funds, including any allowance or earnings, 
shall be used for the resident’s benefit. 

22VAC40-151-920. Work and employment. 

A. Assignment of chores, that are paid or unpaid work 
assignments, shall be in accordance with the age, health, 
ability, and service plan of the resident. 

B. Chores shall not interfere with school programs, study 
periods, meals, or sleep. 

C. Work assignments or employment outside the facility, 
including reasonable rates of pay, shall be approved by the 
program director with the knowledge and consent of the legal 
guardian. 

D. In both work assignments and employment, the program 
director shall evaluate the appropriateness of the work and the 
fairness of the pay. 

22VAC40-151-930. Visitation at the facility and to the 
resident's home. 

A. The provider shall have and implement written visitation 
policies and procedures that allow reasonable visiting 
privileges and flexible visiting hours. 

B. Copies of the written visitation policies and procedures 
shall be made available to the parents, when appropriate, legal 
guardians, the resident, and other interested persons important 
to the resident no later than the time of admission except that 
when parents or legal guardians do not participate in the 
admission process, visitation policies and procedures shall be 
mailed to them within 24 hours after admission. 

C. In temporary emergency shelter facilities, written 
visitation policies and procedures shall be provided upon 
request to parents, legal guardians, residents, and other 
interested persons important to the residents. 

22VAC40-151-940. Resident visitation at the homes of 
staff. 

If a provider permits staff to take residents to the staff’s 
home, the facility must receive written permission of the 
resident’s legal guardian or placing agency before the visit 
occurs. The written permission shall be kept in the resident’s 
record. 

22VAC40-151-950. Vehicles and power equipment. 

A. Transportation provided for or used by children shall 
comply with local, state, and federal laws relating to: 
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1. Vehicle safety and maintenance; 

2. Licensure of vehicles; 

3.Licensure of drivers; and 

4. Child passenger safety, including requiring children to 
wear appropriate seat belts or restraints for the vehicle in 
which they are being transported. 

B. There shall be written safety rules for transportation of 
residents appropriate to the population served that shall 
include taking head counts at each stop. 

C. The provider shall develop and implement written safety 
rules for use and maintenance of vehicles and power 
equipment. 

22VAC40-151-960. Serious incident reports. 

A. Any serious incident, accident or injury to the resident; 
any overnight absence from the facility without permission; 
any runaway; and any other unexplained absence shall be 
reported within 24 hours to the placing agency, and to either 
the parent or legal guardian, or both as appropriate. The 
provider shall make a written reference in the child’s record 
that a report was made. 

B. The provider shall document the following: 

1. The date and time the incident occurred; 

2. A brief description of the incident; 

3. The action taken as a result of the incident; 

4. The name of the person who completed the report; and 

5. The name of the person to whom the report was made. 

C. The provider shall notify the department within 24 hours 
of any serious illness or injury, any death of a resident, and all 
other situations as required by the department. Such reports 
shall include: 

1. The date and time the incident occurred; 

2. A brief description of the incident; 

3. The action taken as a result of the incident; 

4. The name of the person who completed the report; 

5. The name of the person who made the report to the 
placing agency and to either the parent or legal guardian; 
and 

6. The name of the person to whom the report was made. 

22VAC40-151-970. Suspected child abuse or neglect. 

A. Written policies and procedures related to child abuse 
and neglect shall be distributed to all staff members. These 
shall include procedures for: 

1. Handling accusations against staff; and 

2. Promptly referring, consistent with requirements of the 
Code of Virginia, suspected cases of child abuse and 
neglect to the local child protective services unit and for 
cooperating with the unit during any investigation. 

B. Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect shall be 
reported to the local child protective services unit as required 
by the Code of Virginia. The provider shall make a written 
reference in the child’s record that a report was made.  

C. Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect occurring at 
the facility, on a facility-sponsored event or excursion, or 
involving facility staff shall be reported immediately to the 
department, the placing agency, and to either the resident’s 
parent or legal guardian, or both, as appropriate. The provider 
shall make a written reference in the child’s record that a 
report was made.  

D. When a case of suspected child abuse or neglect is 
reported to child protective services, the provider shall 
document the following: 

1. The date and time the suspected abuse or neglect 
occurred; 

2. A description of the suspected abuse or neglect; 

3. Action taken as a result of the suspected abuse or 
neglect; 

4. The name of the person who made the report to child 
protective services; and  

5. The name of the person to whom the report was made at 
the local child protective services unit or the department’s 
toll free child abuse and neglect hotline. 

22VAC40-151-980. Grievance procedures. 

A. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures governing the handling of grievances 
by residents. If not addressed by other applicable standards, 
the policies and procedures shall: 

1. Be written in clear and simple language; 

2. Be communicated to the residents in an age or 
developmentally appropriate manner; 

3. Be posted in an area easily accessible to residents and 
their parents and legal guardians; 

4. Ensure that any grievance shall be investigated by an 
objective employee who is not the subject of the grievance; 
and 

5. Require continuous monitoring by the provider of any 
grievance to assure there is no retaliation or threat of 
retaliation against the child.  

B. All documentation regarding grievances shall be kept on 
file at the facility for three years unless other regulations 
require a longer retention period.  
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22VAC40-151-990. Emergency and evacuation 
procedures. 

A. The provider shall develop a written emergency 
preparedness and response plan for all locations. The plan 
shall address: 

1. Documentation of contact with the local emergency 
coordinator to determine (i) local disaster risks, (ii) 
communitywide plans to address different disasters and 
emergency situations, and (iii) assistance, if any, that the 
local emergency management office will provide to the 
facility in an emergency; 

2. Analysis of the provider’s capabilities and potential 
hazards, including natural disasters, severe weather, fire, 
flooding, work place violence or terrorism, missing 
persons, severe injuries, or other emergencies that would 
disrupt the normal course of service delivery; 

3. Written emergency management policies outlining 
specific responsibilities for provision of administrative 
direction and management of response activities, 
coordination of logistics during the emergency, 
communications, life safety of employees, contractors, 
students/intern, volunteers, visitors and residents, property 
protection, community outreach, and recovery and 
restoration; 

4. Written emergency response procedures for assessing 
the situation; protecting residents, employees, contractors, 
students/interns, volunteers, visitors, equipment and vital 
records; and restoring services. Emergency procedures 
shall address: 

a. Communicating with employees, contractors and 
community responders; 

b. Warning and notification of residents; 

c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors; 

d. Conducting evacuations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites and accounting for all residents; 

e. Relocating residents, if necessary; 

f. Notifying family members and legal guardians; 

g. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 
and 

h. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; 

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, designated escape 
routes, and list of major resources such as local emergency 
shelters; and 

6. Schedule for testing the implementation of the plan and 
conducting emergency preparedness drills. 

B. The provider shall develop emergency preparedness and 
response training for all employees, contractors, 
students/interns, and volunteers that shall include 
responsibilities for: 

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

2. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of residents with special needs (i.e., deaf, blind, 
nonambulatory); 

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

4. Accessing emergency information for residents 
including medical information; and 

5. Utilizing community support services. 

C. The provider shall document the review of the emergency 
preparedness plan annually and make necessary revisions. 
Such revisions shall be communicated to employees, 
contractors, students/interns, and volunteers and incorporated 
into training for employees, contractors, students/interns and 
volunteers and orientation of residents to services. 

D. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of residents, the provider shall take appropriate action to 
protect the health, safety and welfare of the residents and take 
appropriate action to remedy the conditions as soon as 
possible. 

E. Employees, contractors, students/interns, and volunteers 
shall be knowledgeable in and prepared to implement the 
emergency preparedness plan in the event of an emergency.  

F. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of residents, the provider should first respond and stabilize 
the disaster/emergency. After the disaster/emergency is 
stabilized, the provider shall report the disaster/emergency to 
the legal guardian and the placing agency as soon as possible 
of the conditions at the facility and report the 
disaster/emergency to the department as soon as possible, but 
no later than 72 hours after the incident occurs. 

G. Floor plans showing primary and secondary means of 
egress shall be posted on each floor in locations where they 
can easily be seen by staff and residents. 

H. The procedures and responsibilities reflected in the 
emergency procedures shall be communicated to all residents 
within seven days following admission or a substantive 
change in the procedures. 
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I. At least one evacuation drill (the simulation of the 
facility’s emergency procedures) shall be conducted each 
month in each building occupied by residents. 

J. Evacuation drills shall include, at a minimum: 

1. Sounding of emergency alarms;  

2. Practice in evacuating buildings;  

3. Practice in alerting emergency authorities;  

4. Simulated use of emergency equipment; and 

5. Practice in securing resident emergency information. 

K. During any three consecutive calendar months, at least 
one evacuation drill shall be conducted during each shift. 

L. A record shall be maintained for each evacuation drill and 
shall include the following: 

1. Buildings in which the drill was conducted;  

2. Date and time of drill;  

3. Amount of time to evacuate the buildings;  

4. Specific problems encountered;  

5. Staff tasks completed including:  

a. Head count; and 

b. Practice in notifying emergency authorities; and   

6. The name of the staff members responsible for 
conducting and documenting the drill and preparing the 
record. 

M. The record for each evacuation drill shall be retained for 
three years after the drill. 

N. The facility shall assign one staff member who shall 
ensure that all requirements regarding the emergency 
preparedness and response plan and the evacuation drill 
program are met. 

22VAC40-151-1000. Independent living programs. 

A. Each independent living program must demonstrate that a 
structured program using materials and curriculum, approved 
by the department, is being used to teach independent living 
skills. The curriculum must include information regarding 
each of the following areas: 

1. Money management and consumer awareness; 

2. Food management; 

3. Personal appearance; 

4. Social skills; 

5. Health/sexuality; 

6. Housekeeping; 

7. Transportation; 

8. Educational planning/career planning; 

9. Job-seeking skills; 

10. Job maintenance skills; 

11. Emergency and safety skills; 

12. Knowledge of community resources; 

13. Interpersonal skills/social relationships; 

14. Legal skills; 

15. Leisure activities; and 

16. Housing. 

B. Within 14 days of placement the provider must complete 
an assessment, including strengths and needs, of the 
resident’s life skills using an independent living assessment 
tool approved by the department. The assessment must cover 
the following areas:  

1. Money management and consumer awareness; 

2. Food management; 

3. Personal appearance; 

4. Social skills; 

5. Health/sexuality; 

6. Housekeeping; 

7. Transportation; 

8. Educational planning/career planning; 

9. Job-seeking skills; 

10. Job maintenance skills; 

11. Emergency and safety skills; 

12. Knowledge of community resources; 

13. Interpersonal skills/social relationships; 

14. Legal skills; 

15. Leisure activities; and 

16. Housing. 

C. The resident’s individualized service plan shall include, 
in addition to the requirements found in 22VAC40-151-660, 
goals, objectives, and strategies addressing each of the 
following areas, as applicable: 

1. Money management and consumer awareness; 

2. Food management; 

3. Personal appearance; 

4. Social skills; 
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5. Health/sexuality; 

6. Housekeeping; 

7. Transportation; 

8. Educational planning/career planning; 

9. Job-seeking skills; 

10. Job maintenance skills; 

11. Emergency and safety skills; 

12. Knowledge of community resources; 

13. Interpersonal skills/social relationships; 

14. Legal skills; 

15. Leisure activities; and 

16. Housing. 

D. Each independent living program shall develop and 
implement policies and procedures to train all direct care staff 
within 14 days of employment on the content of the 
independent living curriculum, the use of the independent 
living materials, the application of the assessment tool, and 
the documentation methods used. Documentation of the 
orientation shall be kept in the employee’s staff record. 

E. If residents age 18 years or older are to share in the 
responsibility for their own medication with the provider, the 
independent living program shall develop and implement 
written policies and procedures that include: 

1. Training for the resident in self administration and 
recognition of side effects; 

2. Method for storage and safekeeping of medication; 

3. Method for obtaining approval for the resident to self 
administer medication from a person authorized by law to 
prescribe medication; and  

4. Method for documenting the administration of 
medication. 

F. Each independent living program shall develop and 
implement written policies and procedures that ensure that 
each resident is receiving adequate nutrition as required in 
22VAC40-151-760 A, B and C. 

22VAC40-151-1010. Mother/baby programs. 

A. Each provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to orient direct care staff within 14 
days of hire regarding the following: 

1. Responsibilities of mothers regarding the child;  

2. Child development including age-appropriate behavior 
for each stage of development;  

3. Appropriate behavioral interventions for infants and 
toddlers;  

4. Basic infant and toddler care including but not limited to 
nutritional needs, feeding procedures, bathing techniques; 
and  

5. Safety issues for infants and toddlers.  

B. Each direct care worker shall have certification in infant 
CPR and first aid prior to working alone with infants or 
toddlers.  

C. A placement agreement shall be signed by the legal 
guardian for each adolescent mother and a separate placement 
agreement shall be signed for each child at the time of 
admission.  

D. In addition to the requirements of 22VAC40-151-620 B, 
the application for admission for the adolescent’s child must 
include: 

1. The placement history of the child; 

2. The developmental milestones of the child; and 

3. The nutritional needs of the child. 

E. In addition to the requirements of 22VAC40-151-640, the 
face sheet for the adolescent’s child shall also include: 

1. Type of delivery; 

2. Weight and length at birth; 

3. Any medications or allergies; and 

4. Name and address, if known, of the biological father.  

F. A combined service plan following the requirements of 
22VAC40-151-660 must be written for the adolescent mother 
and her child within 30 days of the admission of the 
adolescent’s child.  

G. There shall be a combined documented review of the 
adolescent mother’s and her child’s progress following the 
requirements of the quarterly report 60 days following the 
first combined service plan and within each 90-day period 
thereafter.  

H. The developmental milestones of the adolescent’s child 
must be documented in each quarterly progress report. 

I. The record of each child 18 months or younger shall 
include the child’s feeding schedule and directions for 
feeding. This information shall be posted in the kitchen. 

J. The provider shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures for tracking: 

1. What a child 18 months or younger is eating;  

2. How much a child 18 months or younger is eating; and  
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3. The response to newly introduced foods of the child 18 
months or younger. 

K. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to record all diaper changes. 

L. The provider shall monitor that all infants are held and 
spoken to and placed in a position to observe activities when 
they are awake.  

M. Bottle-fed infants who cannot hold their own bottles 
shall be held when fed. Bottles shall not be propped. 

N. The provider shall monitor that all children of adolescent 
mothers have access to age-appropriate toys and are provided 
opportunity for visual and sound stimulation. 

O. The provider shall ensure that when an adolescent mother 
is in school or is working, her child is appropriately cared for, 
either in a licensed child day program or at the facility. 

P. A daily activity log must be kept for each child of the 
adolescent mother showing what activities the child actually 
participated in during the day. The daily log must show that 
children have the opportunity to participate in sensory, 
language, manipulative, building, large muscle and learning 
activities. 

Q. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures regarding health care of the 
adolescent’s child including: 

1. Obtaining health care: 

2. Ensuring follow-up care is provided; 

3. Ensuring adolescent mothers administer to their children 
only prescription and nonprescription medication 
authorized by a health care professional licensed to 
prescribe medication; and 

4. Medication administration. 

R. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to ensure that all toys and equipment 
to be used by children are sturdy, are of safe construction, are 
nontoxic and free of hazards, and meet industry safety 
standards. 

S. The facility shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures for inspecting toys and equipment on a 
regular basis for cleanliness and safety. 

T. Cribs shall be placed where objects outside the crib such 
as cords from the blinds or curtains are not within reach of 
infants or toddlers. 

U. Pillows and filled comforters shall not be used by 
children under two years of age. 

V. Infant walkers shall not be used. 

W. Adolescent mothers and their babies may share a 
bedroom as allowed by 22VAC40-151-420, but shall not 
share a room with other adolescents or their children.  

X. Pregnant adolescents may share a room as allowed by 
22VAC40-151-420. 

Y. Providers shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures to protect infants, toddlers, and young 
children from dangers in their environment. The policies and 
procedures must include but not be limited to protection 
from: 

1. Electrocution; 

2. Falling down steps or ramps or gaining access to 
balconies, porches or elevated areas; 

3. Poisons, including poisonous plants; and 

4. Drowning. 

22VAC40-151-1020. Campsite programs or adventure 
activities. 

A. All wilderness campsite programs and providers that take 
residents on wilderness/adventure activities shall develop and 
implement policies and procedures that include: 

1. Staff training and experience requirements for each 
activity; 

2. Resident training and experience requirements for each 
activity; 

3. Specific staff-to-resident ratio and supervision plan 
appropriate for each activity, including sleeping 
arrangements and supervision during night time hours; 

4. Plans to evaluate and document each participant’s 
physical health throughout the activity; 

5. Preparation and planning needed for each activity and 
time frames; 

6. Arrangement, maintenance, and inspection of activity 
areas; 

7. A plan to ensure that any equipment and gear that is to 
be used in connection with a specified 
wilderness/adventure activity is appropriate to the activity, 
certified if required, in good repair, in operable condition, 
and age and body size appropriate; 

8. Plans to ensure that all ropes and paraphernalia used in 
connection with rope rock climbing, rappelling, high and 
low ropes courses or other adventure activities in which 
ropes are used are approved annually by an appropriate 
certifying organization, and have been inspected by staff 
responsible for supervising the adventure activity before 
engaging residents in the activity;  

9. Plans to ensure that all participants are appropriately 
equipped, clothed, and wearing safety gear, such as a 
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helmet, goggles, safety belt, life jacket or a flotation 
device, that is appropriate to the adventure activity in 
which the resident is engaged; 

10. Plans for food and water supplies and management of 
these resources;  

11. Plans for the safekeeping and distribution of 
medication; 

12. Guidelines to ensure that participation is conducted 
within the boundaries of the resident’s capabilities, dignity 
and respect for self-determination; 

13. Overall emergency, safety, and communication plans 
for each activity including rescue procedures, frequency of 
drills, resident accountability, prompt evacuation, and 
notification of outside emergency services; and 

14. Review of trip plans by the trip coordinator.  

B. All wilderness campsite programs and providers that take 
residents on wilderness/adventure activities must designate 
one staff person to be the trip coordinator who will be 
responsible for all facility wilderness or adventure trips. 

1. This person must have experience in and knowledge 
regarding wilderness activities and be trained in wilderness 
first aid. The individual must also have at least one year 
experience at the facility and be familiar with the facility 
procedures, staff, and residents. 

2. Documentation regarding this knowledge and 
experience shall be found in the individual’s staff record. 

3. The trip coordinator will review all trip plans and 
procedures and will ensure that staff and residents meet the 
requirements as outlined in the facility’s policy regarding 
each wilderness/adventure activity to take place during the 
trip. 

C. The trip coordinator shall conduct a posttrip debriefing 
within 72 hours of the group’s return to base to evaluate 
individual and group goals as well as the trip as a whole. 

D. The trip coordinator will be responsible for writing a 
summary of the debriefing session and shall be responsible 
for ensuring that procedures and policies are updated to 
reflect improvements needed. 

E. A trip folder will be developed for each 
wilderness/adventure activity conducted away from the 
facility and shall include: 

1. Medical release forms including pertinent medical 
information on the trip participants;  

2. Phone numbers for administrative staff and emergency 
personnel; 

3. Daily trip logs; 

4. Incident reports; 

5. Swimming proficiency list if trip is near water; 

6. Daily logs; 

7. Maps of area covered by the trip; and 

8. Daily plans.  

F. Initial physical forms used by wilderness campsite 
programs and providers that take residents on wilderness or 
adventure activities shall include: 

1. A statement notifying the doctor of the types of 
activities the resident will be participating in; and 

2. A statement signed by the doctor stating the individual’s 
health does not prevent him from participating in the 
described activities. 

G. First aid kits used by wilderness campsite programs and 
providers that take residents on adventure activities shall be 
activity appropriate and shall be accessible at all times.  

H. Direct care workers hired by wilderness campsite 
programs and providers that take residents on 
wilderness/adventure activities shall be trained in a 
wilderness first aid course.  

I. The provider shall ensure that before engaging in any 
aquatic activity, each resident shall be classified by the trip 
coordinator or his designee according to swimming ability in 
one of two classifications: swimmer and nonswimmer. This 
shall be documented in the resident’s record and in the trip 
folder. 

J. The provider shall ensure that lifesaving equipment is 
provided for all aquatic activities and is placed so that it is 
immediately available in case of an emergency. At a 
minimum, the equipment shall include: 

1. A whistle or other audible signal device; and 

2. A lifesaving throwing device. 

K. A separate bed, bunk or cot shall be made available for 
each person. 

L. A mattress cover shall be provided for each mattress. 

M. Sleeping areas shall be protected by screening or other 
means to prevent admittance of flies and mosquitoes. 

N. Bedding shall be clean, dry, sanitary, and in good repair. 

O. Bedding shall be adequate to ensure protection and 
comfort in cold weather. 

P. Sleeping bags, if used, shall be fiberfill and rated for 0°F. 

Q. Linens shall be changed as often as required for 
cleanliness and sanitation but not less frequently than once a 
week. 
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R. Each resident shall be provided with an adequate supply 
of clean clothing that is suitable for outdoor living and is 
appropriate to the geographic location and season. 

S. Sturdy, water-resistant, outdoor footwear shall be 
provided for each resident. 

T. Each resident shall have adequate personal storage area. 

U. Fire extinguishers of a 2A 10BC rating shall be 
maintained so that it is never necessary to travel more than 75 
feet to a fire extinguisher from combustion-type heating 
devices, campfires, or other source of combustion. 

V. Artificial lighting shall be provided in a safe manner. 

W. All areas of the campsite shall be lighted for safety when 
occupied by residents. 

X. Staff of the same sex may share a sleeping area with the 
residents. 

Y. A telephone or other means of communication is required 
at each area where residents sleep or participate in programs. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1310; Filed September 24, 2008, 9:22 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation  
Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-410. Entitlement Date in 
the General Relief Program (repealing 22VAC40-410-10, 
22VAC40-410-20). 

22VAC40-411. General Relief Program (adding 
22VAC40-411-10 through 22VAC40-411-220). 

22VAC40-570. General Relief (GR) Program - Locality 
Options (repealing 22VAC40-570-10 through 22VAC40-
570-100). 

22VAC40-640. General Relief Program - Deeming Income 
from Alien Sponsors (repealing 22VAC40-640-10 through 
22VAC40-640-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§63.2-217 and 63.2-802 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
December 12, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Mark Golden, TANF Program Manager, 
Department of Social Services, 7 North Eighth Street, Room 
5214, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7385, FAX 
(804) 726-7356, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Pursuant to §63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia the State 
Board of Social Services has authority to promulgate rules 
and regulations necessary for the operation of all assistance 
programs.  Section 63.2-802 of the Code of Virginia provides 
for the establishment of a General Relief Program. 

Purpose: General Relief provides assistance to vulnerable 
populations that cannot receive assistance in other programs. 
Some of the populations targeted by the General Relief 
program include children living with unrelated adults and 
single disabled adults. In many situations, General Relief is 
the only means of support available. Providing a basic level 
of subsistence is important for the health, safety, and welfare 
of disadvantaged individuals in the Commonwealth. Four 
regulations will be repealed. They are General Relief Program 
Locality Options (22VAC40-570), General Relief Program 
Entitlement Date (22VAC40-410), General Relief Disability 
Advocacy Project (22VAC40-630), and General Relief 
Program-Deeming Income from Alien Sponsors (22VAC40-
640). The new comprehensive regulation will make the 
program easier to administer by local agencies and be 
understood by the public. 

Substance: The regulation defines the different types of 
assistance available. The regulation provides the rules for the 
disability advocacy project, which will be made available to 
recipients who have received written notification that their 
SSI disability claim has been denied and they want legal 
representation during the appeal process. Obsolete terms, 
such as references to the Aid to Families with Dependent 
Children program, were updated. 

Issues: The regulation will be an advantage to the vulnerable 
population that cannot receive assistance in other programs. 
General Relief is often the only means to support those 
individuals. The consolidated regulation simplifies the 
regulatory structure of the program. The regulation poses no 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to combine the 
rules for its general relief program into one regulation. At the 
same time, the Board proposes to repeal the four regulations 
that currently contain portions of these rules. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits very likely exceed the costs 
for this proposed regulatory action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, rules set by the Board 
for Local Departments of Social Services’ participation in the 
general relief program are contained in four separate 
regulations: 22VAC40-410, 22VAC40-570, 22VAC40-630 
and 22VAC40-640. Taken together, these regulations set the 
rules for aid given to: 

Adults who are unemployable because of a medical condition, 

Adults who are unemployable because of lack of training, 

Adults who are employable but who live in a locality where 
there are no employment opportunities, 
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Individuals who have applied for SSI benefits but have not 
received them yet (any aid given in this case would be repaid 
if and when SSI benefits are approved) and  

Children who are in the custody of unrelated adults. 

The general relief program also covers burial assistance for 
indigent decedents. 

The Board proposes to combine all rules for the general relief 
program into one regulation and, at the same time, repeal the 
four regulations that currently compose these rules.  Because 
the Board is not proposing any changes, substantive or 
otherwise, to these rules, affected entities are unlikely to incur 
any costs on account of this regulatory action. Local 
Departments of Social Services, and the populations that are 
covered by the general relief program, will likely only benefit 
from having all the rules for this program in one regulation 
where they will be easier to find. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposes regulatory 
action will likely benefit any local Departments of Social 
Services that participate in some or all of the parts of the 
general relief program.  Individuals who receive benefits 
under this program will also be (likely positively) affected. 
The State Department of Social Services (DSS) reports that 
83 local departments participate in this program and that 
3,183 individuals, on average, receive benefits through this 
program each month. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities that participate in 
the general relief program will likely benefit from this 
proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no affect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The General Relief Program provides assistance to 
individuals who are not eligible for other forms of 
assistance and is an optional program at the local level. 
The proposed regulation defines the different types of 
assistance available, how income and resources are 
evaluated for aliens, how recipients can receive assistance 
through the disability advocacy project, and establishes the 
date for which eligibility for general relief begins. This 
action combines the provisions of four existing regulations 
into one comprehensive set of rules for the General Relief 
Program. 

CHAPTER 411  
GENERAL RELIEF PROGRAM  

22VAC40-411-10. Definitions. 

The following words or terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Advocacy services" means legal services to help establish 
eligibility for federal disability benefits. 

"Affidavit of support" or "Form I-134" means a statement of 
a sponsor's income, resources, and willingness to support. 
Form I-134 or similar form is filed with the Citizenship and 
Immigrant Services (USCIS) by a United States resident who 
sponsors an alien seeking admission to the United States as a 
permanent resident. The affidavit is made for the purpose of 
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assuring the United States government that the sponsored 
alien will not become a public charge in the United States. 

"Agency" means the local department of social services. 

"Agency action" or "action" means action taken by the 
superintendents or directors or local board certifying the 
individual or family is eligible for maintenance or emergency 
assistance. 

"Agency contract" means the local department of social 
services has an agreement with a pharmacy to provide 
prescription drugs for recipients of General Relief. 

"Appeal process" means a review of the decision on the 
disability claim that can involve four steps: reconsideration, 
hearing before an administrative law judge, review by 
Appeals Council, and hearing in a federal court. 

"Assistance for unattached children" means a component of 
the General Relief Program that can provide assistance to 
children who would be eligible for Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families (TANF) if the relationship requirement were 
met.  

"Assistance for unemployable individuals" means a 
component of the General Relief Program that can provide 
assistance to individuals who are unable to work because of 
physical or mental disability, age or lack of training, illness in 
the family, or home responsibilities.  

"Assistance for unemployed employable individuals" means 
a component of the General Relief Program that can provide 
assistance to individuals who are not working but are able to 
work.  

"Assistance unit" means the individual or group of 
individuals whose needs, income, and resources are 
considered in determining eligibility for a component. 

"Bar association" means a professional association for 
attorneys.  

"Clothing assistance" means a component of the General 
Relief Program that can be used to purchase clothing for 
individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Component" means a specific type of assistance provided 
under the General Relief Program.  

"Disability" means a physical or mental condition rendering 
a person unable to perform any meaningful work and this 
condition is expected to last at least 12 months or result in 
death. 

"Disability Determination Services" means a program 
administered by the Virginia Department of Rehabilitative 
Services that makes decisions on disability claims for the 
Social Security Administration.  

"Disability insurance benefits" means Title II of the Social 
Security Act that provides benefits to disabled persons who 

have worked for a substantial period in employment covered 
by Social Security.  

"Entitlement date or entitlement" means the date eligibility 
begins. 

"Emergency medical assistance" means a component of the 
General Relief Program that can be used to purchase medical 
assistance for individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Equal Access to Justice Act" means an act that allows a 
federal court to grant an attorney a fee for proceedings before 
an administrative agency.  

"Food credit authorization assistance" means a component 
of the General Relief Program that can be used to purchase 
food for individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Federal disability benefits" means disability insurance 
benefits or Supplemental Security Income.  

"Foster child" means a child who is entrusted or committed 
to a state mandated service and the child is identified as "at 
risk" or "in crisis." 

"General Relief Plan" means the document completed by a 
local department of social services to identify the components 
included in the General Relief Program for the locality.  

"General Relief Program (GR)" means an optional program 
funded by state (62.5%) and local funds (37.5%) with the 
primary purpose of assisting individuals who do not qualify 
for aid in a federal category. The program is supervised by 
the State Department of Social Services and administered by 
local agencies. Each agency chooses the components and 
subcomponents to be included in its General Relief Program.  

"Hearing before an administrative law judge" means the first 
level formal fair hearing of decisions of the Social Security 
Administration to deny federal disability benefits. The 
hearing is conducted by an attorney who is an official of the 
Social Security Administration. 

"Interim assistance" means a component of the General 
Relief Program that can provide assistance to individuals who 
have applied for Supplemental Security Income (SSI), who 
must apply for SSI, or are appealing an SSI decision. 
Individuals receiving interim assistance must sign an 
authorization allowing the Social Security Administration to 
send their initial retroactive Supplemental Security Income 
benefits to the local agency, which then reimburses its general 
relief budget for the amount of financial assistance given the 
individuals while their Supplemental Security Income 
benefits were pending approval.  

"Legal aid attorney" means an attorney who provides legal 
services at no cost to people within certain income guidelines.  

"Maximum for the locality" means the amount of 
reimbursable assistance applicable to some components based 
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on the agency group. Agencies are placed in one of three 
groups based on shelter expenses in the area.  

"Maintenance payments" or "maintenance" means ongoing 
financial assistance from the general relief program. 

"Monthly maximum" means the dollar amount of assistance 
specified in the General Relief Plan for some components.  

"Ongoing medical assistance" means a component of the 
General Relief Program that can be used to provide 
individuals continuing medical assistance. The component is 
composed of 10 subcomponents including prescription drugs.  

"Permanent resident status" means having been lawfully 
accorded the privilege of residing permanently in the United 
States as an immigrant. 

"Private attorney" means an attorney engaged in the private 
practice of law for which a fee is charged.  

"Provider" means an attorney, or an individual working 
under the supervision of an attorney legally allowed to do so, 
who provides assistance in establishing an individual's 
eligibility for federal disability benefits. 

"Recipient" means an individual who is receiving interim 
assistance. 

"Reconsideration" means a review of the disability claim by 
the Disability Determination Services.  

"Reimbursable" means the amount an assistance unit can 
receive per month for which the state/local match is available.  

"Rent/house payments" means a subcomponent of the 
shelter assistance component that can be used to pay housing 
expenses. 

"Recoupment" means the amount reimbursed to the general 
relief or state and local foster care funds from an individual's 
retroactive Supplemental Security Income benefits for 
assistance to that individual while approval for federal 
disability benefits was pending approval.  

"Review by the Appeals Council" means a review of the 
decisions of the administrative law judge by a review unit of 
the Social Security Administration. The Appeals Council 
either decides the case or issues an order returning it to an 
administrative law judge for further review.  

"Shelter assistance" means a component of the General 
Relief Program that can be used to provide for the shelter 
needs of individuals. The component's two subcomponents 
are rent/house payments and utility payments.  

"Sponsor" means a person, or any public or private agency 
or organization, that executed an affidavit of support or 
similar agreement on behalf of an alien as a condition of the 
alien's entry into the United States as a permanent resident.  

"Sponsored alien" means an immigrant who due to the 
likelihood of his becoming a public charge would have been 
excluded from lawful admission into the United States. As a 
condition of this immigrant's admission, a person or public or 
private agency or organization executed an affidavit of 
support or similar agreement guaranteeing the federal, state, 
and local governments that the immigrant would not become 
a public charge.  

"Standard of assistance" means the amount of reimbursable 
assistance based on the size of the assistance unit and the 
local department of social services group. Local agencies are 
placed in one of three groups based on shelter expenses in the 
area.  

"Standard of assistance at 90% of need" means the amount 
of reimbursable assistance applicable to some components 
based on the size of the assistance unit and the agency group. 
Agencies are placed in one of three groups based on shelter 
expenses in the area.  

"Subcomponent" means a part of a component.  

"Supplemental Security Income" means Title XVI of the 
Social Security Act that provides benefits to a disabled person 
based on financial need.  

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" (TANF) means 
the federal program administered by the Virginia Department 
of Social Services that provides assistance for families with 
children.  

"United States Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS)" is a branch of the United States Department of 
Homeland Security delegated authority to enforce the 
Immigration and Nationality Act and all other laws relating to 
the immigration and naturalization of aliens.  

"Utility payments" means a subcomponent of the shelter 
assistance component that can be used to pay for items, such 
as electricity, oil, water, and natural gas.  

22VAC40-411-20. General Relief Plan. 

The General Relief Program is an optional program 
designed to provide assistance, either maintenance or 
emergency, that cannot be provided through other means.  
Local departments of social services that operate a General 
Relief Program may offer one or more components. Each 
local department of social services must submit a plan to the 
Virginia Department of Social Services indicating which 
components are operated. 

22VAC40-411-30. Assistance for unemployed employable 
individuals. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the types of assistance units served. 
The choices are:  

1. Parents and their minor children;  
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2. A parent and minor children;  

3. A married couple with no children;  

4. One individual; or  

5. An unmarried pregnant woman.  

22VAC40-411-40. Assistance for unemployable 
individuals. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance that can be 
received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive months. The 
choices are:  

1. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times three;  

2. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times six;  

3. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times nine; or  

4. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times 12 or 
the maximum for the locality times 12.  

22VAC40-411-50. Ongoing medical assistance. 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance 
that can be received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive 
months. The choices are:  

1. Three times the monthly maximum;  

2. Six times the monthly maximum;  

3. Nine times the monthly maximum; or  

4. Twelve times the monthly maximum.  

B. An agency electing to provide for the purchase of 
prescription drugs will specify in its General Relief Plan 
whether recipients are required to obtain drugs at a pharmacy 
with an agency contract. The choices are:  

1. Recipients are not required to buy prescription drugs 
from a contracted pharmacy; or  

2. Recipients are required to buy prescription drugs from a 
contracted pharmacy. 

22VAC40-411-60. Interim assistance. 

An agency that elects to provide this component but does 
not elect to provide assistance for unemployable individuals 
will specify in its General Relief Plan whether interim 
assistance will be restricted to assistance units with an 
individual with a disability that will last 12 months, has lasted 
12 months, or will result in death. The choices are:  

1. Assistance will not be restricted; or  

2. Assistance will be restricted.  

22VAC40-411-70. Assistance for unattached children. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance that can be 
received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive months. The 
choices are:  

1. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times three;  

2. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times six;  

3. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times nine; or  

4. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times 12 or 
the maximum for the locality times 12.  

22VAC40-411-80. Food credit authorization assistance. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of months 
that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. The 
choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  

22VAC40-411-90. Shelter assistance. 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 
months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 
The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  

B. An agency electing to provide rent/house payments will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 
months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 
The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  

C. An agency electing to provide utility payments will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 
months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 
The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  
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22VAC40-411-100. Emergency medical assistance. 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 
months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 
The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  

B. An agency electing to provide prescription drugs will 
specify in its General Relief Plan whether recipients are 
required to obtain drugs at a pharmacy with an agency 
contract. The choices are:  

1. Recipients are not required to buy prescription drugs 
from a contracted pharmacy; or  

2. Recipients are required to buy prescription drugs from a 
contracted pharmacy.  

22VAC40-411-110. Clothing assistance. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of months 
that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. The 
choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months.  

22VAC40-411-120. Entitlement date. 

When an individual or family has been found by agency 
action to be eligible, entitlement shall begin no later than the 
first day of the month following the month of application 
provided the individual or family meets all eligibility 
conditions at that time. In the following situations, the date of 
entitlement shall be the first of the month in which the 
application was made:  

1. Action is taken during the month of application.  

2. Action is taken in a month later than the month of 
application:  

a. For reasons beyond the control of the applicant as 
determined by the agency; and  

b. The applicant received general relief maintenance 
from another locality in Virginia for the month prior to 
the month of application.  

22VAC40-411-130. Disability advocacy referral. 

The agency electing to provide disability advocacy services 
will identify recipients of the interim assistance component of 

general relief who have received written notification from the 
Social Security Administration that their disability claims at 
the application or reconsideration level have been denied. 
Within five working days after the identification, the agency 
will send letters to the interim assistance recipients explaining 
advocacy services, offering to refer them to advocacy 
providers for legal representation during the appeal process, 
providing information on how the appeal would affect their 
general relief benefits, and advising them that they have five 
days from the receipt of this letter to contact the agency 
requesting advocacy services.  

If the interim assistance recipient chooses to participate in 
the Disability Advocacy Project, he will be allowed to select a 
provider from a list of qualified advocacy providers with 
whom the agency has contracts or be allowed to select 
another provider if that provider meets the qualifications and 
agrees to enter into a contract with the agency.  

The agency will have the interim assistance recipient sign a 
Confidentiality Form (VDSS Form 032-01-040/2) giving the 
agency permission to refer the recipient to the selected 
provider.  

Within five working days after the selection, a referral letter 
will be sent by the agency to the selected advocacy provider.  

22VAC40-411-140. Duties of the disability advocacy 
provider. 

Advocacy providers will perform the following services:  

1. Within five working days of receipt of a referral letter 
from the agency, send a letter to the interim assistance 
recipient or the child's representative, acknowledging the 
referral and instructing the recipient or child's 
representative to protect the filing date by filing a Request 
for Reconsideration or Request for a Hearing with the 
Social Security Administration within 60 days of the date 
of his denial notice.  

2. Contact the interim assistance recipient or child's 
representative by mail and telephone, if necessary, to 
schedule an appointment for an interview. If the provider 
cannot contact the recipient or the recipient does not keep 
the appointment, the provider will promptly notify the 
agency.  

3. During the interview with the interim assistance 
recipient or child's representative, provide legal advice and 
counsel regarding federal disability benefits and the appeal 
process. The provider will assess the potential eligibility of 
the recipient or child for federal disability benefits. The 
decision whether to proceed or not proceed in the appeal 
process must be made by the recipient or the child's 
representative after receiving legal advice from the 
provider. The recipient or the child's representative must 
request the services of the advocacy provider by signing 
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the Social Security Form SSA-1696-U4 under the 
Appointment of Representative section.  

4. Within 15 working days of the initial interview with the 
recipient or child's representative, send a notification letter 
to the recipient or child's representative with a copy to the 
agency stating whether or not the provider will accept this 
case for legal representation.  

5. If the provider agrees to provide advocacy services, sign 
Social Security Form SSA-1696-U4 under the Acceptance 
of Appointment and Waiver of Fee sections. Copies of the 
form will be sent within five working days to the Social 
Security Administration and to the agency.  

6. Assist in the completion and timely filing of any 
necessary Social Security forms requesting a 
reconsideration, hearing, or review of the hearing decision.  

7. Assist in obtaining and using medical, social, vocational 
evidence, or expert testimony that may substantiate the 
presence and severity of the disability.  

8. Assist the recipient in making and keeping appointments 
for examinations.  

9. Prepare for and adequately represent the recipient or 
child at interviews, hearings, or appeals related to 
application for Supplemental Security Income.  

10. Notify the recipient or the child's representative of any 
denial and the right to appeal to the next level in the appeal 
process.  

11. Notify the agency of any denial and the recipient's or 
child's representative's decision to proceed or not proceed 
to the next level in the appeal process.  

12. Notify the recipient, the child's representative, and the 
agency when advocacy services have ended.  

22VAC40-411-150. Disability advocacy contracts. 

Agencies shall contract with licensed legal aid or private 
attorneys or advocates working under the supervision of an 
attorney who may lawfully do so to provide legal 
representation in the appeal process. The providers must have 
previously provided successful representation to disability 
claimants during the reconsideration, administrative law 
judge hearing, Appeals Council, or federal district court 
levels of the federal disability adjudication process.  

Qualified attorneys will be recruited by agencies giving 
written notice to their local legal aid and bar associations that 
contracts for legal representation of interim assistance 
recipients and foster children in the federal disability benefits 
appeal process will be available.  

22VAC40-411-160. Disability advocacy disbursement. 

To receive payment, the advocacy provider must submit a 
petition and copy of the favorable Social Security 

Administration decision to the agency within 60 days of such 
a decision. Disbursement for legal representation will be 
made by the agency within 20 working days after the agency 
receives the initial Supplemental Security Income payment 
due the recipient or child.  

No disbursement will be made unless the following have 
occurred:  

1. The agency referred the recipient or child's 
representative for legal representation;  

2. The recipient or child's representative requested the legal 
representation by signing the Appointment of 
Representative section of Social Security Form SSA-1696-
U4;  

3. The advocacy provider signed the Acceptance of 
Appointment and Waiver of Fee sections of Social Security 
Form SSA-1696-U4; and  

4. The agency received the initial Supplemental Security 
Income payment for the recipient or child.  

No disbursement will be made for legal services given 
before the date of the agency's referral letter. Providers shall 
not require from the recipient or child's representative 
prepayment of any fees, costs, or disbursement.  

The disbursement made by the agency will represent 
payment in full for all legal services to the recipient or child 
in this process with no further obligation on the part of the 
state or local department of social services, the recipient, nor 
the child's representative.  

Neither the recipient, the child's representative, the State 
Department of Social Services, nor local agency shall be 
obligated to pay any additional fees, costs, or disbursement 
related to the provision of legal services in the appeal process 
including, but not limited to, payment for medical, 
psychological, or vocational consultations obtained to 
substantiate the disability claim. Under most circumstances, if 
preapproved by Disability Determination Services, the Social 
Security Administration will cover the cost of these 
consultations.  

Contracting attorneys will agree to waive their right to legal 
fees paid by the Social Security Administration from the 
initial check for retroactive disability insurance benefits due 
the recipient or child should he be found eligible for both 
disability insurance benefits and Supplemental Security 
Income. An award for attorney's fees under the Equal Access 
to Justice Act will not be required to be waived.  

The provider's fee will be paid entirely from the recoupment 
from the initial Supplemental Security Income payment for 
state and local financial assistance given the recipient or child 
while the Supplemental Security Income application was 
pending approval. The fee per favorable decision at the 
reconsideration level will be $300; at the hearing before an 
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administrative law judge, $600; and at the Appeals Council or 
federal district court, $750. The fee may in no event exceed 
the recoupment for the state and local assistance paid.  

22VAC40-411-170. Alien three-year limit. 

For a period of three years from the month the United States 
Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) grants the 
alien permanent resident status, the income and resources of 
the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse if they are living 
together shall be considered to be the unearned income of the 
alien.  

The spouse's income and resources will be counted even if 
the sponsor and spouse married after the agreement to 
sponsor was signed.  

22VAC40-411-180. Alien program ineligibility. 

Any alien sponsored by a public or private agency or 
organization shall be ineligible for general relief for a period 
of three years following entry unless the sponsored alien can 
provide documentation that the sponsor no longer exists or is 
unable to meet the alien's needs.  

If a sponsored alien has been found ineligible for Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families or Supplemental Security 
Income due to sponsorship, eligibility for general relief does 
not exist.  

22VAC40-411-190. Responsibility of alien. 

A sponsored alien is responsible for obtaining the 
cooperation of his sponsor and supplying the local department 
of social services with any information and documentation 
necessary to determine the alien's eligibility for general relief 
benefits.  

22VAC40-411-200. Income of sponsor deemed to a 
sponsored alien. 

The gross amount (with certain deductions) of earned and 
unearned income of the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse if 
living together shall be considered available as unearned 
income available to the alien or aliens being sponsored. Items 
that will be deducted from the sponsor's income are:  

1. 20% of net earned income not exceeding $175;  

2. The standard of assistance (at 100% of need) for the 
sponsor and those individuals living in the household who 
the sponsor claims as dependents on his federal income tax 
statement excluding any members of the assistance unit;  

3. Any amounts paid by the sponsor or the sponsor's 
spouse to individuals not living in the household who are 
claimed by him as dependents on his federal income tax 
statement; and  

4. Any payments of alimony or child support for 
individuals not living in the household.  

22VAC40-411-210. Resources of sponsor deemed to a 
sponsored alien. 

The resources of the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse 
determined to be available to the alien shall be the total 
amount of their nonexempt resources reduced by $1,500.  

22VAC40-411-220. Exception of deeming. 

The deeming of a sponsor's income and resources is not 
applicable to any alien who:  

1. Entered the United States as a refugee, parolee, or 
political asylee;  

2. Is a Cuban or Haitian entrant;  

3. Is sponsored by a person receiving Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families, Supplemental Security 
Income, or general relief;  

4. Is an Amerasian from Vietnam; or  

5. Is the spouse of the sponsor.  
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-978; Filed September 23, 2008, 1:38 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF RAIL AND PUBLIC 
TRANSPORTATION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Department of Rail and 
Public Transportation is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4002 B 4 
of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to 
grants of state or federal funds or property. 

Titles of Regulations: 24VAC25-10. Policy and Procedures 
for Rail Industrial Access Program (repealing 24VAC25-
10-10). 

24VAC25-20. Policy and Procedures for Railroad 
Preservation Program (repealing 24VAC25-20-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§33.1-221.1:1 and 33.1-391.5 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 13, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Pickett, Public Information Officer, 
Department of Rail And Public Transportation, 1313 E. Main 
Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
7432, FAX (804) 225-3664, or email 
jennifer.pickett@drpt.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

This action repeals the regulations governing the Rail 
Industrial Access Program and the Railroad Preservation 
Program.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1614; Filed September 15, 2008, 2:40 p.m.  

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with §2.2-4006 A 2, which excludes regulations that establish 
or prescribe agency organization, internal practice or 
procedures, including delegations of authority. The 
Department of Transportation will receive, consider and 
respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 
respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-16. Internal Audit Charter 
(repealing 24VAC30-16-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-1601 and 33.1-8 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Bradley Gales, Internal Audit Director, 
Department of Transportation, 1401 E. Broad Street, 14th 
Floor Annex, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
2825, or email bradley.gales@vdot.gov. 

Summary: 

This action repeals the regulation governing VDOT's 
Internal Audit Division. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1633; Filed September 22, 2008, 2:46 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-73. Access Management 
Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and Local 
Streets (adding 24VAC30-73-10 through 24VAC30-73-
170). 

Statutory Authority: §33.1-198.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 28, 2008 - 1 p.m. - (Richmond) John Tyler 
Community College, Chester Campus, Bird Hall, Room 
B124, Chester, VA 

October 30, 2008 - 1 p.m. - (Staunton) Augusta County 
Government Center, Supervisors' Board Room, Verona, 
VA 

November 5, 2008 - 10 a.m. - (Northern Virginia) 
Virginia Department of Transportation, Northern 

Virginia District Office, Fairfax Conference Room, 1st 
Floor, Chantilly, VA 

November 12, 2008 - 1 p.m. - (Dublin (West of 
Blacksburg) New River Community College, Edwards 
Hall, Room 206, Dublin, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
December 15, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Paul Grasewicz, AICP, Access Management 
Program Administrator, Department of Transportation, 
Maintenance Division, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0778, FAX (804) 662-9405, 
or email paul.grasewicz@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapters 863 and 928 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly 
(HB 2228 and SB 1312, respectively) amended §§33.1-13, 
33.1-198 and 33.1-199 of the Code of Virginia, and added 
§33.1-198.1 to the Code of Virginia.  The legislation requires 
the Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner to develop 
comprehensive highway access management regulations and 
standards. 

In response to this directive, regulations (Access Management 
Regulations (12/07)) were drafted, along with related access 
management design standards for entrances and intersections. 
The regulations and design standards were to be used to 
manage the location, number, and spacing and design of 
entrances and intersections, including median openings, turn 
lanes, traffic signals, and interchanges on the systems of state 
highways. 

Although initial promulgation of the regulations was exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act (APA) (§2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia), the legislation directed the 
commissioner to solicit and consider public comment in their 
development.  The commissioner was further directed by the 
legislation to publish the regulations no later than December 
31, 2007, to be effective July 1, 2008. 

These new access management regulations and design 
standards were to replace and supersede the Minimum 
Standards of Entrances to State Highways (24VAC30-71) and 
Part IV, Entrance Permits, of the Land Use Permit Manual 
(24VAC30-150). 

The mandate to develop and promulgate access management 
regulations is new, but the regulation of entrances is not. The 
Highway Commission, predecessor to the Commonwealth 
Transportation Board, originally established minimum 
standards for entrances in 1946. Part IV of the Land Use 
Permit Manual (24VAC30-150), along with the Minimum 
Standards of Entrances to State Highways (24VAC30-71), 
served as the basis for the Access Management Regulations 
(12/07) and the access management design standards for 
entrances and intersections.  

During the 2008 General Assembly session, Chapters 274 and 
454 were enacted to provide that the Access Management 
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Regulations (12/07) be promulgated in phases. The first phase 
(initial promulgation of regulations applicable to highways 
with a functional classification as a principal arterial) was 
exempt from the APA, and the regulations went into effect 
July 1, 2008. Subsequent phases (promulgation of regulations 
applicable to highways classified as a minor arterials, 
collectors, and local streets) are subject to the APA and will 
go into effect October 1, 2009. The legislation provided that 
the general notice concerning proposed Access Management 
Regulations published in The Virginia Register on October 
15, 2007, shall be considered a valid Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action pursuant to the APA for promulgation of 
this second phase. 

To accommodate the mandate of Chapters 274 and 454 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly for promulgation of the first phase of 
regulations, VDOT revised 24VAC30-72-30 of the Access 
Management Regulations (12/07) and the related access 
management design standards for entrances and intersections 
to remove language related to minor arterials, collectors, and 
local streets.  In response to these directives, the Access 
Management Regulations: Principal Arterials and the related 
access management design standards for entrances and 
intersections for principal arterials only apply to highways 
with a functional classification of principal arterial. The 
Access Management Regulations: Principal Arterials and the 
related access management design standards for entrances and 
intersections for principal arterials went into effect July 1, 
2008. 

The access management design standards for principal 
arterials are included as a new Appendix F in the Road 
Design Manual, which are incorporated by reference in the 
final Access Management Regulations: Principal Arterials.  
Access management design standards for minor arterials, 
collectors, and local streets are included as new Appendix G 
in the Road Design Manual, which are incorporated by 
reference in the proposed Access Management Regulations: 
Minor Arterials, Collectors, and Local Streets. They are 
available at http://www.vdot.virginia.gov/accessmgt/. 

To satisfy the second phase of the promulgation of access 
management regulations in accordance with Chapters 274 and 
454 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly, VDOT is publishing the 
proposed Access Management Regulations: Minor Arterials, 
Collectors, and Local Streets, which include the related 
access management design standards to be applicable to 
highways with a functional classification of minor arterial, 
collector, and local. These design standards are incorporated 
by a reference in the regulations to the Road Design Manual, 
an approach which was used previously when the Access 
Management Regulations:  Principal Arterials were 
published. These proposed regulations are being processed in 
accordance with the APA and are mandated to go into effect 
October 1, 2009, after their approval by the commissioner. 
 The Commonwealth Transportation Board will need to 

repeal the Minimum Standards of Entrances to State 
Highways (24VAC30-71) prior to the October 1, 2009, 
effective date. Minor revisions will also be necessary to the 
General Rules and Regulations of the Commonwealth 
Transportation Board (24VAC30-20), since these regulations 
refer to the Minimum Standards and regulation of entrances. 

Purpose: Section 33.1-198.1 of the Code of Virginia directs 
the commissioner to develop comprehensive highway access 
management regulations and standards with the purpose to 
preserve and improve the efficient operation of the systems of 
state highways through the regulation of access to state 
highways. The final Access Management Regulations: 
Principal Arterials, proposed Access Management 
Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and Local Streets, 
and related access management design standards for entrances 
and intersections were prepared in response to this legislative 
directive. 

The legislation declares it to be in the public interest that 
access management regulations and design standards for 
entrances and intersections be developed and implemented to 
enhance the operation and safety of the systems of state 
highways in order to protect the public health, safety, and 
general welfare while ensuring that private property is 
entitled to reasonable access to the systems of state highways. 
The stated goals for the access management regulations and 
design standards are to:  

1. Reduce traffic congestion and impacts to the level of 
service of highways, leading to reduced fuel consumption 
and air pollution;  

2. Enhance public safety by decreasing traffic crash rates;  

3. Support economic development in the Commonwealth 
by promoting the efficient movement of people and goods;  

4. Reduce the need for new highways and road widening 
by improving the performance of the existing systems of 
state highways; and  

5. Preserve public investment in new highways by 
maximizing their performance.  

Note on Functional Classification 

Functional classification means the federal system of 
classifying groups of highways according to the character of 
service they are intended to provide and classifications made 
by the VDOT Commissioner based on the operational 
characteristics of a highway.  Each highway is assigned a 
functional classification based on the highway’s intended 
purpose for through traffic movement vs. providing access to 
property.  The functional classification system groups 
highways into three basic categories identified as (i) arterial, 
with two subclasses of “principal” and “minor,” with the 
primary function to provide through-movement of traffic; (ii) 
collector, with the function of supplying a combination of 
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through-movement and access to property; and (iii) local, 
with the primary function of providing access to property. 

This regulation applies to minor arterials, collectors, and local 
streets. Minor arterials interconnect with and augment the 
principal arterial system which serves traffic of statewide and 
regional importance.  Minor arterials distribute traffic to 
smaller geographic areas, providing service between and 
within communities. 

Collectors provide land access service and traffic circulation 
by distributing trips throughout the community to the ultimate 
destination. Conversely, collectors also collect traffic from 
local streets in residential neighborhoods and help channel it 
into the arterial system. 

Local streets comprise all facilities that are not collectors or 
arterials.  Local streets serve primarily to provide direct 
access to abutting land and help disperse traffic. 

Maps of the minor arterials, collectors, and local streets by 
locality will be available at http://www.vdot.virginia.gov/ 
prior to the effective date of the regulation. 

Substance: The intent of the final Access Management 
Regulations: Principal Arterials, proposed Access 
Management Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and 
Local Streets, and the related access management design 
standards for entrances and intersections is to enhance and 
improve the operation and safety of the systems of state 
highways and the goals are to: (i) reduce traffic congestion 
and impacts to the level of service of highways, leading to 
reduced fuel consumption and air pollution; (ii) enhance 
public safety by decreasing traffic crash rates; (iii) support 
economic development in the Commonwealth by promoting 
the efficient movement of people and goods; (iv) reduce the 
need for new highways and road widening by improving the 
performance of the existing systems of state highways; and 
(v) preserve public investment in new highways by 
maximizing their performance. 

Generally, this regulation combines content from the existing 
Minimum Standards of Entrances to State Highways and Part 
IV of the Land Use Permit Manual. A Technical Advisory 
Committee composed of personnel from VDOT’s engineering 
and planning divisions and the Virginia Transportation 
Research Council, plus representatives from the VDOT 
districts and residencies, reviewed access management 
regulations and standards from many different sources to 
compile the new regulations and related design standards 
mandated by the legislature.  These sources included access 
management regulations and standards from other states (such 
as New Mexico, Maryland, North Carolina, Florida, and 
Michigan), as well as information from the Transportation 
Research Board (TRB), the Federal Highway Administration 
(FHWA), the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE), and 
the American Association of State Highway and 
Transportation Officials (AASHTO). 

In addition, a Policy Committee, comprised of representatives 
from the Home Builders Association of Virginia, Virginia 
Association of Commercial Real Estate, Virginia Association 
of Counties, the Virginia Section of the Institute of 
Transportation Engineers, and the Piedmont Environmental 
Council, as well as from VDOT management and the Office 
of the Secretary of Transportation, evaluated and refined the 
Access Management Regulations and the access management 
design standards for all VDOT highways (principal and minor 
arterials, collectors, and local streets) with input from their 
organizations. 

The Access Management Regulations: Minor Arterials, 
Collectors, and Local Streets contain definitions of pertinent 
words and terms, information on access management 
principles, administration of the permit process (how to 
obtain a permit, making appeals and requesting exceptions), 
general provisions concerning entrances, private and 
commercial entrance requirements, entrance design rules, cost 
responsibilities, commercial entrance access management 
requirements, coordination with local governments,  tenure of 
entrances, and documents incorporated by reference. The 
access management design standards for entrances and 
intersections that are included in the Road Design Manual 
address the following topics: definitions of pertinent words 
and terms; access management concepts; functional 
classifications of state highways; design principles and 
spacing standards for intersections, entrances, traffic signals 
and median openings; sight distance standards; turning lane 
criteria; and design principles concerning private and 
commercial entrances. 

Pursuant to Chapters 274 and 454 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly, the Access Management Regulations: Principal 
Arterials apply to highways with a functional classification of 
principal arterial, and the Access Management Regulations: 
Minor Arterials, Collectors, and Local Streets apply to 
highways with a functional classification of minor arterial, 
collector, and local. 

Issues: The implementation of this regulation will be 
advantageous to the residents of Virginia.  Access 
management regulations and standards can help reduce traffic 
congestion and its impact on a highway’s level of service. 
These regulations can reduce traffic crash rates, resulting in 
increased public safety, fewer injuries and fatalities, and less 
property loss. A California study found that improved access 
control reduced crash rates by 42% on rural highways, and a 
Minnesota study indicated a direct and statistically significant 
correlation between crash rates and the number of driveway 
entrances. This suggests that implementation of the 
regulations and standards can reduce the personal and fiscal 
costs of crashes to Virginians. 

Access management regulations and standards also promote 
more efficient movement of goods and people that will 
support state, regional and local economic development 
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efforts. For businesses, well access-managed corridors can 
operate at higher speeds, increasing the market area of a 
business and providing better customer exposure.  The 
reduced delay associated with well access-managed roads can 
result in lower transportation costs and shorter delivery times 
for businesses. In addition, the Urban Land Institute’s 
Shopping Center Development Handbook states that "poorly 
designed entrances and exits not only present a traffic hazard, 
but also cause congestion that can create a negative image of 
the center." 

At a micro level, sharing entrances can lead to lower costs per 
entrance applicant, and vehicular and pedestrian connections 
between properties can increase the customer base for 
neighboring businesses. 

Reduced traffic congestion due to access management can 
lead to reduced fuel consumption and therefore reduced costs 
as well as lower air pollution from vehicles. Effective access 
management ensures that pedestrians and bicyclists face 
fewer and less frequent motor vehicle highway entrances, 
thereby making it safer to walk and cycle along the roadway. 

An advantage to VDOT and, by extension, the citizens of the 
Commonwealth will come about as a result of the improved 
performance of the existing road infrastructure, reducing the 
need for new or wider highways and preserving the public’s 
investment in existing and new highways. 

There will be some disadvantages related to the 
implementation of the regulation.  Industry and the public 
will need time to adjust and familiarize themselves with the 
new regulation and standards, which may in some instances 
result in limitations on the number of new entrances and the 
allowable turning movements at new entrances.  Developers 
will need to investigate the possibility of the joint use of 
desired entrances with adjoining property owners in 
accordance with the regulations and §33.1-198 of the Code of 
Virginia.  Complete implementation of the new regulation 
will require coordination among developers, state and local 
governments, and the public. VDOT will provide outreach 
and training for all interested parties to facilitate a smooth 
implementation of this regulation. 

The time required for industry and the public to become 
familiar with the new regulations and standards, and the costs 
to VDOT and localities to conduct outreach and training, will 
be reduced because industry, the public, and localities should 
already be familiar with Access Management Regulations: 
Principal Arterials, which went into effect July 1, 2008, and 
because of the additional opportunities for involvement in 
development of the regulation provided by the public 
comment period. 

To facilitate outreach, a web page 
(http://www.virginiadot.org/accessmgt) was added to the 
VDOT website.  This web page provides information on the 
background and purpose of the access management 

legislation, access management concepts and policies, 
benefits that accrue from managing access to state highways, 
a description of key proposed regulatory provisions, the 
public input process, and opportunities to provide input.  The 
proposed Access Management Regulations: Minor Arterials, 
Collectors, and Local Streets and related access management 
design standards for highways with these functional 
classifications will be posted on the web page and published 
in the Virginia Register. 

Pursuant to Chapters 274 and 454 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly, the publication of the General Notice regarding 
Access Management Regulations in the October 15, 2007, 
Virginia Register served as a valid NOIRA for purposes of 
meeting the requirements of the APA for promulgation of 
access management regulations for minor arterials, collectors, 
and local streets. 

VDOT will provide multiple opportunities for people 
throughout the Commonwealth to participate in the public 
input process.  Informational workshops and public hearings 
are planned in different regions of the Commonwealth after 
the proposed regulations are made available to the public.  
Statewide organizations that may be interested in the 
proposed regulations and standards will be contacted about 
the opportunities for public input. Notice of the public 
hearings will appear in newspapers across the 
Commonwealth, on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
website (www.townhall.virginia.gov), in The Virginia 
Register, and on the access management web page on the 
VDOT website (http://www.virginiadot.org/accessmgt). 

Once the public comment period closes, personnel from 
VDOT’s access management, policy, engineering, and 
planning divisions and the Virginia Transportation Research 
Council, plus representatives from the VDOT districts, 
residencies, and regional operations will evaluate the 
comments and use the comments to revise the draft 
regulations and standards. 

The final Access Management Regulations: Minor Arterials, 
Collectors, and Local Streets and related access management 
design standards for entrances and intersections will be 
forwarded to the commissioner for review and approval with 
an effective date of October 1, 2009, in accordance with the 
statutory deadline.  The Commonwealth Transportation 
Board will repeal the Minimum Standards of Entrances to 
State Highways (24VAC30-71) effective October 1, 2009. 
 Also, the Access Management Regulations: Principal 
Arterials (24VAC30-72) and Part IV Entrance Permits of the 
current Land Use Permit Manual (24VAC30-150) may need 
to be adjusted to assure consistency with the final Access 
Management Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and 
Local Streets.  The regulations will proceed through the 
remaining steps in the APA review process and will become 
effective on October 1, 2009. 
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The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapters 863 and 928 of the 2007 Acts of 
Assembly and Chapters 274 and 454 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly, the Virginia Department of Transportation 
(VDOT) proposes to promulgate new Access Management 
Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and Local Streets,1 
which will revise and replace the existing Minimum 
Standards of Entrances to State Highways (24VAC30-71) and 
Part IV (Entrance Permits) of the existing Land Use Permit 
Manual (24VAC30-150). Major changes include: 

1. The definition of "private entrance" is revised to include 
entrance to agricultural fields and entrance to 
communication infrastructure that generate 10 or fewer 
trips per day such as cell towers, pump stations, and 
stormwater management basins. 

2. The proposed regulation establishes that the VDOT will 
permit reasonably convenient access to a parcel of record, 
but that VDOT is not obligated to permit the most 
convenient access or the permit applicant's preferred 
entrance location or entrance design. 

3. Drainage pipes where private entrance driveways meet 
public roads will no longer be installed by VDOT at no 
cost. The property owners will be responsible for the 
installation of the pipes. 

4. A deadline is included for VDOT to make a decision on 
an appeal from the entrance permit applicants. 

5. A grandfather provision is included that locations of 
entrances that are approved prior to the effective date of 
the proposed regulations shall remain valid. 

6. The proposed regulation requires that the permit 
applicant contact the local government to identify possible 
conflicts with local, state, or federal regulations and plans. 

7. The proposed regulation adds a few requirements to the 
commercial entrance access management, including 
requirements on shared entrances, spacing of entrances and 
intersections, vehicular/pedestrian circulation between 
adjoining undeveloped properties, and traffic signal 
spacing. 

8. The proposed regulation requires additional signage and 
certified flaggers for temporary entrances in the event that 
adequate sight distance is not achieved. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. "Access management" means 
the systematic control of the location, spacing, design, and 
operation of entrances, median openings, traffic signals, and 
interchanges for the purpose of providing vehicular access to 
land development in a manner that preserves the safety and 

efficiency of the transportation system. Each proposed 
highway entrance creates a potential conflict point that 
impacts the safe and efficient flow of traffic on the highway. 
In order to balance private property interests in access to the 
highway and public interests of safety and mobility, the board 
proposed to promulgate a new Access Management 
Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and Local Streets, 
which will combine and replace the existing Minimum 
Standards of Entrances to State Highways (24VAC30-71) and 
Part IV, Entrance Permits, of the existing land Use permit 
Manual (24VAC30-150). Managing access to highways can 
reduce traffic congestion, help maintain the levels of service, 
enhance public safety by decreasing traffic conflict points, 
support economic development by promoting the efficient 
movement of people and goods, reduce the need for new 
highways and road widening by improving the performance 
of existing highways, preserve the public investment in new 
highways by maximizing their efficient operation, and better 
coordinate transportation and land use decisions. 

The proposed regulation establishes that the Virginia 
Department of Transportation will permit reasonably 
convenient access to a parcel of record. But VDOT is not 
obligated to permit the most convenient access or the permit 
applicant's preferred entrance location or entrance design. The 
proposed regulations will grandfather commercial entrance 
locations identified on rezoning proffered plans of 
development, site plans, and subdivision plats that are 
approved prior to the effective date of the regulations. 
Therefore, applicants meeting this deadline would not be 
required to alter the location of their previously approved 
entrances. 

The board proposes to revise the definition of "private 
entrance" to include entrance to agricultural fields and 
entrance to communication infrastructure that generate 10 or 
fewer trips per day such as cell towers, pump stations, and 
stormwater management basins. Since private entrances are 
built to a lower standard and cost less than the commercial 
entrances, the proposed regulation will allow the entrances 
with low volume of usage to be built to a lower standard at a 
lower cost. This proposed change will likely save money for 
the corresponding entrance permit applicants without causing 
any significant affect on public safety. 

The proposed regulation requires that the permit applicant 
contact the local government to identify possible conflicts 
with local, state, or federal regulations and plans. VDOT will 
not approve an entrance permit for a proposed development 
until the development has been approved by the locality. This 
proposed change will help coordinate the local land 
development review process with VDOT's entrance permit 
process and will likely avoid any possible conflicts between 
the entrance locations that locality approves as part of their 
site plan or subdivision plat review and the entrance locations 
that VDOT approves. Since VDOT's analysis of the entrance 
permit design is dependent on the final design of the 
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development, this proposed requirement will make sure that 
the locality and VDOT step in the approval of the design of a 
land development in a proper order. The permit applicant will 
likely benefit from savings in time and money in the case that 
there is a conflict between the entrance locations approved by 
the locality and by VDOT. Also the site plan and subdivision 
plats are forwarded to VDOT for comment and approval, so 
VDOT can inform the locality and the applicant on the proper 
location and design of entrances before an entrance permit is 
submitted later. 

The proposed regulation includes a deadline for VDOT to 
make a decision on an appeal from the entrance permit 
applicant. The district administrator will advise the permit 
applicant in writing regarding the decision on the appeal 
within 60 days of receipt of the written appeal request or a 
longer timeframe jointly agreed to by the parties. The current 
entrance permit appeal process contains no such deadlines. 
VDOT estimates that currently the appeal process may take 
30 days to 6 months. Adding a deadline to the appeal process 
will assure that entrance permit applicants receive timely 
responses to their concerns. 

The board also proposes to establish that VDOT will no 
longer be responsible for installing the drainage pipes where 
private entrance driveways meet public roads. The property 
owners will be responsible for the installation of the pipes. 
Currently, if the property owner purchases the pipe for the 
entrance, VDOT maintenance forces would install the pipe at 
no cost.  According to VDOT, the average cost for pipe 
installation is approximately $750 to $1000 per private 
entrance. Relieving VDOT from the commitment of installing 
drainage pipes at entrances to private property will shift the 
installation cost from public construction funds onto private 
property owners and will provide the VDOT maintenance 
forces with more time for necessary roadwork. To the private 
property owner, this proposed change causes an increase in 
cost of $750 to $1,000. However, this increase in cost is 
likely not large enough to have a significant impact on the 
behavior of property owners. 

The proposed regulation will add a few requirements to the 
commercial entrances access management. Firstly, the 
proposed regulation promotes entrance sharing so as to 
reduce the number of entrances to state highways. Shared 
entrances shall be created and designed to serve adjoining 
parcels unless the permit applicant submits compelling 
evidence that a reasonable agreement cannot be reached with 
adjoining property owners or that there are physical to 
creating a shared entrance. Although the businesses may not 
get the entrance that is most convenient to them, they may 
benefit from the shared entrance besides the savings from the 
construction, because shared entrances and connections 
between the businesses will likely make it easier for the 
businesses to share customers. Also, fewer roadway delays 

and better traffic flow will likely preserve and even enhance 
the market reach of these businesses. 

Secondly, the proposed regulation requires spacing of the 
commercial entrances and intersections on minor arterials and 
collectors, as well as spacing between traffic signals. The 
current regulations do not have such requirements. Study has 
shown that greater spacing is related to reduce crash rates.2 
 These proposed changes will likely reduce traffic congestion, 
which will reduce fuel consumption and air pollution; reduce 
traffic crashes and improve public safety; reserve critical 
roadway capacity and reduce the need for new highways and 
adding lanes to highways, which will save the taxpayer’s 
money. At the same time, the proposed regulations respect 
property owners’ rights to reasonable access.  

The proposed regulation also requires that the permit 
applicant record access easements and to construct vehicular 
connections on a minor arterial highway, or on a collector 
when required by the district administrator’s designee. Where 
appropriate, the permit applicant also shall construct 
pedestrian connections to the boundary lines of adjoining 
undeveloped properties. This proposed change will facilitate 
traffic circulation between adjacent properties, reduce the 
number of entrances to the highway, and maximize use of 
new signalized intersections. 

The board also proposes that for temporary entrances, in the 
event that adequate sight distance is not achieved, additional 
signage that meets the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control 
Devices standards (see 24VAC30-73-170 D) and certified 
flaggers shall be used to ensure safe ingress and egress. 
According to VDOT, currently possible need for trained 
flaggers and signage is already addressed in "Virginia Work 
Area Protection Manual for Temporary Traffic Control."3 
Therefore, this proposed change will likely not cause any 
significant impact on the permit applicants. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 
will likely affect any party that applies for an entrance permit. 
The public will likely benefit with reduced traffic congestion, 
reduced fuel consumption, and improved public safety. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation will 
affect counties and smaller towns in which VDOT regulates 
access to state controlled highways. It will not affect cities, 
larger towns, and Henrico and Arlington Counties, which 
maintain and control access to their roads. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
will improve traffic flow and facilitate the customers' access 
to the businesses near the entrances and intersections, which 
will likely have a positive impact on the number of people 
employed by these businesses. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The private 
property owners will be responsible for the installation of the 
drainage pipes, which will cost approximately $750 to $1000 
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on average. On the other hand, managing access to highways 
will reduce traffic congestion and improve public safety, 
which will likely enhance the market reach of the businesses 
near the entrances. This will have a positive impact on the use 
and value of their property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
regulation will reduce traffic congestion and improve public 
safety, which may enhance the market reach for the small 
businesses. Although small businesses may not get the 
entrance that is most convenient for them, they may receive 
more customers by sharing entrances and connections with 
other businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses will likely benefit from the 
proposed regulations. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations 
will affect the real estate developers who will apply for an 
entrance permit. The private property owners will be 
responsible for the installation of drainage pipes, which will 
cost $750 to $1,000 approximately. The real estate developers 
may not have the permit for entrance or signal that is most 
convenient for them. However, they will likely benefit from 
the reduced traffic congestion and improved safety as well as 
reduced construction cost.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

________________________________________ 
1 Highway is defined as a public way for purposes of vehicular travel, including the 
entire area within the right-of-way.  Highways are classified as a principal arterial, 

minor arterial, collector, or local, based on their intended function. The access 
management regulations for principal arterials took effect July 1, 2008. 
2 Source: http://www.virginiadot.org/projects/accessmgt/Benefits_of_Access_Mgt.pdf. 
3 Source: http://www.virginiadot.org/business/resources/1-WEBwapmCOVER.pdf. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Virginia 
Department of Transportation concurs with the economic 
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 
Budget concerning the replacement regulation for the Access 
Management Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and 
Local Streets (24VAC30-73). 

Summary: 

This action promulgates a new regulation; however, the 
proposed regulation carries over and consolidates existing 
regulations in the Minimum Standards of Entrances 
(24VAC30-71) and the entrance regulations in the Land 
Use Permit Manual (24VAC30-150). Items appearing in 
the Minimum Standards such as entrance illustrations and 
sight distance standards are relocated to the Road Design 
Manual and incorporated by reference.  

Significant proposed changes are as follows: 

1. The definition of “private entrance” is revised to 
include entrance to agricultural fields and entrance to 
communication infrastructure that generate 10 or fewer 
trips per day such as cell towers, pump stations, and 
stormwater management basins. 

2. The proposed regulation establishes that the 
Department of Transportation (VDOT) will permit 
reasonably convenient access to a parcel of record, but 
that VDOT is not obligated to permit the most convenient 
access or the permit applicant's preferred entrance 
location or entrance design. 

3. Drainage pipes where private entrance driveways meet 
public roads will no longer be installed by VDOT at no 
cost. The property owners will be responsible for the 
installation of the pipes. 

4. A deadline is included for VDOT to make a decision on 
an appeal from the entrance permit applicants. 

5. A grandfather provision is included that locations of 
entrances that are approved prior to the effective date of 
the proposed regulations shall remain valid. 

6. The proposed regulation requires that the permit 
applicant contact the local government to identify possible 
conflicts with local, state, or federal regulations and plans. 

7. The proposed regulation adds a few requirements to the 
commercial entrance access management, including 
requirements on shared entrances, spacing of entrances 
and intersections, vehicular/pedestrian circulation between 
adjoining undeveloped properties, and traffic signal 
spacing. 
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8. The proposed regulation requires additional signage 
and certified flaggers for temporary entrances in the event 
that adequate sight distance is not achieved. 

CHAPTER 73  
ACCESS MANAGEMENT REGULATIONS: MINOR 

ARTERIALS, COLLECTORS, AND LOCAL STREETS  

24VAC30-73-10. Definitions. 

"Access management" means the systematic control of the 
location, spacing, design, and operation of entrances, median 
openings, traffic signals, and interchanges for the purpose of 
providing vehicular access to land development in a manner 
that preserves the safety and efficiency of the transportation 
system. 

"Collectors" means the functional classification of highways 
that provide land access service and traffic circulation within 
residential, commercial, and industrial areas. The collector 
system distributes trips from principal and minor arterials 
through the area to the ultimate destination. Conversely, 
collectors also collect traffic from local streets in residential 
neighborhoods and channel it into the arterial system.  

"Commercial entrance" means any entrance serving land 
uses other than two or fewer individual private residences. 
(See "private entrance.") 

"Commissioner" means the individual who serves as the 
chief executive officer of the Department of Transportation or 
his designee. 

"Commonwealth" means the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Crossover" or "median opening" means an opening in a 
nontraversable median (such as a concrete barrier or raised 
island) that provides for crossing and turning traffic.  

"Design speed" means the selected speed used to determine 
the geometric design features of the highway.  

"District" means each of the nine areas in which VDOT is 
divided to oversee the maintenance and construction on the 
state-maintained highways, bridges and tunnels within the 
boundaries of the area.  

"District administrator" means the VDOT employee 
assigned to supervise the district.  

"District administrator’s designee" means the VDOT 
employee or employees designated by the district 
administrator.  

"Entrance" means any driveway, street, or other means of 
providing for movement of vehicles to or from the highway. 

"Frontage road" means a road that generally runs parallel to 
a highway between the highway right-of-way and the front 
building setback line of the abutting properties and provides 
access to the abutting properties for the purpose of reducing 

the number of entrances to the highway and separating the 
abutting property traffic from through traffic on the highway.  

"Functional area" means the area of the physical highway 
feature, such as an intersection, roundabout, railroad grade 
crossing, or interchange, plus that portion of the highway that 
comprises the decision and maneuver distance and required 
vehicle storage length to serve that highway feature. 

"Functional area of an intersection" means the physical area 
of an at-grade intersection plus all required storage lengths for 
separate turn lanes and for through traffic, including any 
maneuvering distance for separate turn lanes. 

"Functional classification" means the federal system of 
classifying groups of highways according to the character of 
service they are intended to provide and classifications made 
by the commissioner based on the operational characteristics 
of a highway. Each highway is assigned a functional 
classification based on the highway’s intended purpose of 
providing priority to through traffic movement or adjoining 
property access. The functional classification system groups 
highways into three basic categories identified as (i) arterial, 
with the function to provide through movement of traffic; (ii) 
collector, with the function of supplying a combination of 
through movement and access to property; and (iii) local, 
with the function of providing access to property.  

"Highway," "street," or "road" means a public way for 
purposes of vehicular travel, including the entire area within 
the right-of-way. 

"Intersection" means any at-grade connection with a 
highway, including two highways or an entrance and a 
highway. 

"Legal speed limit" means the speed limit set forth on signs 
lawfully posted on a highway or, in the absence of such signs, 
the speed limit established by Article 8 (§46.2-870 et seq.) of 
Chapter 8 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Level of service" means a qualitative measure describing 
the operational conditions within a vehicular traffic stream, 
generally in terms of such service measures as speed, travel 
time, freedom to maneuver, traffic interruptions, and comfort 
and convenience. "Level-of-service" is defined and 
procedures are presented for determining the level of service 
in the Highway Capacity Manual (see 24VAC30-73-170 I). 

"Limited access highway" means a highway especially 
designed for through traffic over which abutting properties 
have no easement or right of light, air, or access by reason of 
the fact that those properties abut upon the limited access 
highway. 

"Local streets" means the functional classification for 
highways that comprise all facilities that are not collectors or 
arterials.  Local streets serve primarily to provide direct 
access to abutting land and to other streets. 
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"Median" means the portion of a divided highway that 
separates opposing traffic flows. 

"Minor arterials" means the functional classification for 
highways that interconnect with and augment the principal 
arterial system.  Minor arterials distribute traffic to smaller 
geographic areas providing service between and within 
communities. 

"Operating speed" means the speed at which drivers are 
observed operating their vehicles during free-flow conditions 
with the 85th percentile of the distribution of observed speeds 
being the most frequently used measure of the operating 
speed of a particular location or geometric feature.  

"Permit" or "entrance permit" means a document that sets 
the conditions under which VDOT allows a connection to a 
highway.  

"Permit applicant" means the person or persons, firm, 
corporation, government, or other entity that has applied for a 
permit.  

"Permittee" means the person or persons, firm, corporation, 
government, or other entity that has been issued a permit. 

"Preliminary subdivision plat" means a plan of development 
as set forth in §15.2-2260 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Principal arterials" means the functional classification for 
major highways intended to serve through traffic where 
access is carefully controlled, generally highways of regional 
importance, with moderate to high volumes of traffic 
traveling relatively long distances and at higher speeds. 

"Private entrance" means an entrance that serves up to two 
private residences and is used for the exclusive benefit of the 
occupants or an entrance that allows agricultural operations to 
obtain access to fields or an entrance to civil and 
communication infrastructure facilities that generate 10 or 
fewer trips per day such as cell towers, pump stations, and 
stormwater management basins. 

"Professional engineer" means a person who is qualified to 
practice engineering by reason of his special knowledge and 
use of mathematical, physical and engineering sciences and 
the principles and methods of engineering analysis and design 
acquired by engineering education and experience, and whose 
competence has been attested by the Virginia Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects through 
licensure as a professional engineer. 

"Reverse frontage road" means a road that is located to the 
rear of the properties fronting a highway and provides access 
to the abutting properties for the purpose of reducing the 
number of entrances to the highway and removing the 
abutting property traffic from through traffic on the highway. 

"Right-of-way" means that property within the systems of 
state highways that is open or may be opened for public travel 

or use or both in the Commonwealth. This definition includes 
those public rights-of-way in which the Commonwealth has a 
prescriptive easement for maintenance and public travel.  

"Roadside" means the area adjoining the outer edge of the 
roadway. The median of a divided highway may also be 
considered a "roadside." 

"Roadway" means the portion of a highway, including 
shoulders, for vehicular use. A divided highway has two or 
more roadways. 

"Shared entrance" means a single entrance serving two or 
more adjoining parcels. 

"Sight distance" means the distance visible to the driver of a 
vehicle when the view is unobstructed by traffic. 

"Site plan" and "subdivision plat" mean a plan of 
development approved in accordance with §§15.2-2286 and 
15.2-2241 through 15.2-2245 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Systems of state highways" means all highways and roads 
under the ownership, the control, or the jurisdiction of 
VDOT, including but not limited to, the primary, secondary 
and interstate highways.  

"Traveled way" means the portion of the roadway for the 
movement of vehicles, exclusive of shoulders and turn lanes. 

"Trip" means a single or one-directional vehicle movement 
either entering or exiting a property; a vehicle leaving the 
property is one trip and a vehicle returning to the property is 
one trip. 

"Turn lane" means a separate lane for the purpose of 
enabling a vehicle that is entering or leaving a highway to 
increase or decrease its speed to a rate at which it can more 
safely merge or diverge with through traffic; an acceleration 
or deceleration lane. 

"Urban area" means an urbanized area with a population of 
50,000 or more, or an urban place (small urban area) as 
designated by the Bureau of the Census having a population 
of 5,000 or more and not within any urbanized area. The 
Federal Highway Administration defines "urban area" in 
more detail based on the federal-aid highway law (23 USC 
§101). 

"VDOT" means the Virginia Department of Transportation, 
its successor, the Commonwealth Transportation 
Commissioner, or his designees.  

24VAC30-73-20. Authority to regulate entrances to 
highways. 

A. VDOT’s authority to regulate highway entrances and 
manage access to highways is provided in §§33.1-13, 33.1-
197, 33.1-198, 33.1-198.1, and 33.1-199 of the Code of 
Virginia, and its authority to make regulations concerning the 
use of highways generally is provided in §33.1-12 (3) of the 
Code of Virginia. Each proposed highway entrance creates a 
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potential conflict point that impacts the safe and efficient flow 
of traffic on the highway; therefore, private property interests 
in access to the highway must be balanced with public 
interests of safety and mobility. Managing access to highways 
can reduce traffic congestion, help maintain the levels of 
service, enhance public safety by decreasing traffic conflict 
points, support economic development by promoting the 
efficient movement of people and goods, reduce the need for 
new highways and road widening by improving the 
performance of existing highways, preserve the public 
investment in new highways by maximizing their efficient 
operation, and better coordinate transportation and land use 
decisions. 

B. Where a plan of development with the specific location 
of an entrance or entrances was proffered pursuant to §15.2-
2297, 15.2-2298, or 15.2-2303 of the Code of Virginia prior 
to October 1, 2009, such entrances shall be exempt from the 
spacing standards for entrances and intersections in Appendix 
G of the Road Design Manual (see 24VAC30-70-170 A), 
provided the requirements of §15.2-2307 of the Code of 
Virginia have been met. Entrances shown on a subdivision 
plat, site plan, or preliminary subdivision plat that is valid 
pursuant to §§15.2-2260 and 15.2-2261 and approved in 
accordance with §§15.2-2286 and 15.2-2241 through 15.2-
2245 prior to October 1, 2009, shall be exempt from the 
spacing standards for entrances and intersections in Appendix 
G of the Road Design Manual. 

C. The Commonwealth Transportation Board has the 
authority to designate highways as limited access and to 
regulate access rights to those facilities as provided in §33.1-
58 of the Code of Virginia. No private or commercial 
entrances shall be permitted within limited access rights-of-
way except as may be provided for by the regulation titled 
Change of Limited Access Control (24VAC30-401). 

D. Notwithstanding Part IV (24VAC30-150-1680 et seq.) of 
the Land Use Permit Manual, after the effective 
implementation date as set forth in 24VAC30-73-30, the 
district administrators or their designees are authorized to 
issue private entrance permits and commercial entrance 
permits in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 

E. In cases where the provisions and requirements of this 
chapter conflict with the Land Use Permit Manual 
(24VAC30-150), the provisions and requirements of this 
chapter shall govern.  

24VAC30-73-30. Application to minor arterials, 
collectors, and local streets. 

A. This chapter shall apply on October 1, 2009, to any 
highway with a functional classification as a minor arterial, 
collector, or local street.  Any highway with a functional 
classification as a principal arterial is governed by the 
provisions of 24VAC30-72. 

B. The commissioner shall publish maps of the 
Commonwealth on the VDOT website that show all highways 
with the above functional classifications and shall 
periodically update such maps.   

24VAC30-73-40. Administrative procedures and rules for 
obtaining commercial and private entrance permits. 

All applications for entrance permits shall be obtained from 
and submitted to the district administrator’s designee for the 
county in which the work is to be performed. The permit 
applicant shall submit the permit application form, and the 
entrance permit, if approved, will be issued in accordance 
with the applicable administrative rules, requirements and 
procedures of this chapter and the Land Use Permit Manual 
(24VAC30-150).  

24VAC30-73-50. Appeal and exception procedure. 

A. The permit applicant may appeal denial or revocation or 
conditions imposed by a permit in writing to the district 
administrator with a copy to the district administrator’s 
designee and the chief administrative officer of the locality 
where the entrance is proposed.  

1. All appeals must be received within 30 days of receipt of 
written notification of denial or revocation or issuance of a 
permit with contested conditions and must set forth the 
grounds for the appeal and include copies of all prior 
correspondence with any local government official and 
VDOT representatives regarding the issue or issues. The 
permit applicant may request a meeting with the district 
administrator concerning the appeal and the district 
administrator will set a date, time, and location for such 
meeting.  

2. After reviewing all pertinent information, the district 
administrator will advise the permit applicant in writing 
regarding the decision on the appeal within 60 days of 
receipt of the written appeal request or such longer 
timeframe jointly agreed to by the parties, with a copy to 
the district administrator’s designee and the chief 
administrative officer of the locality where the entrance is 
proposed. 

3. The permit applicant may further appeal the district 
administrator's decision to the commissioner within 30 
days of receipt of written notification of the district 
administrator’s decision. The commissioner will advise the 
permit applicant in writing regarding the decision on the 
appeal within 60 days of receipt of the written appeal 
request, with a copy to the district administrator and the 
chief administrative officer of the locality where the 
entrance is proposed.  

B. The commissioner may grant an exception to the required 
sight distance after a traffic engineering investigation has 
been performed.  
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1. If a sight distance exception is requested, the permit 
applicant shall provide such request in writing to the 
commissioner with a copy to the district administrator’s 
designee and the chief administrative officer of the locality 
where the entrance is proposed and shall furnish the 
commissioner with a traffic engineering investigation 
report, prepared by a professional engineer. The 
methodology and format of the report shall be in 
conformance with requirements set forth in the Manual on 
Uniform Traffic Control Devices (see 24VAC30-73-170 
D).  

2. The commissioner will advise the permit applicant in 
writing regarding the decision on the sight distance 
exception request within 60 days of receipt of the written 
exception request or such longer timeframe jointly agreed 
to by the parties, with a copy to the district administrator’s 
designee and the chief administrative officer of the locality 
where the entrance is proposed.  

24VAC30-73-60. General provisions governing 
commercial and private entrances. 

A. No entrance of any nature may be constructed within the 
right-of-way until the location has been approved by VDOT 
and an entrance permit has been issued. The violation of any 
provision of this chapter and any condition of approval of an 
entrance permit shall be subject to the penalties for violations 
specified in the Land Use Permit Manual (24VAC30-150). 

B. VDOT will permit reasonably convenient access to a 
parcel of record. VDOT is not obligated to permit the most 
convenient access, nor is VDOT obligated to approve the 
permit applicant's preferred entrance location or entrance 
design. If a parcel is served by more than one road in the 
systems of state highways, the district administrator's 
designee shall determine upon which road or roads the 
proposed entrance or entrances is or are to be constructed.  

C. When two or more properties are to be served by the 
same entrance, the permit applicant shall ensure that there is a 
recorded agreement between the parties specifying the use 
and future maintenance of the entrance. A copy of this 
recorded agreement shall be included in the entrance permit 
application submitted to the district administrator’s designee. 
The shared entrance shall be identified on any site plan or 
subdivision plat of the property. 

D. Entrance standards established by localities that are 
stricter than those of VDOT shall govern.  

24VAC30-73-70. Commercial entrance design. 

A. All commercial entrance design and construction shall 
comply with the provisions of this chapter and the standards 
in the Road Design Manual (see 24VAC30-73-170 A), the 
Road and Bridge Standards (see 24VAC30-73-170 C), the 
Road and Bridge Specifications (see 24VAC30-73-170 B), 
other VDOT engineering and construction standards as may 

be appropriate, and any additional conditions, restrictions, or 
modifications deemed necessary by the district administrator's 
designee to preserve the safety, use and maintenance of the 
systems of state highways. Entrance design and construction 
shall comply with applicable guidelines and requirements of 
the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (42 USC §12101 
et seq.). Ramps for curb sections shall be provided as required 
in §15.2-2021 of the Code of Virginia. The standard drawing 
for depressed curb ramp as shown in the Road and Bridge 
Standards (see 24VAC30-73-170 C) shall be utilized in the 
design. 

1. In the event an entrance is proposed within the limits of 
a funded roadway project that will ultimately change a 
highway, the permit applicant may be required to 
construct, to the extent possible, entrances compatible with 
the roadway's ultimate design. 

2. All entrance design and construction shall accommodate 
pedestrian and bicycle users of the abutting highway in 
accordance with the Commonwealth Transportation 
Board's "Policy for Integrating Bicycle and Pedestrian 
Accommodations" (see 24VAC30-73-170 H). 

3. All entrance design and construction shall accommodate 
transit users of the abutting highway where applicable and 
provide accommodations to the extent possible. 

4. Based on the existing and planned developments, the 
district administrator's designee will determine the need for 
curb and gutter, sidewalks, or other features within the 
general area of the proposed entrance in accordance with 
the requirements of this chapter and the design standards in 
Appendix G of the Road Design Manual (see 24VAC30-
73-170 A).  

5. Sites accessed by an entrance shall be designed so as to 
prevent unsafe and inefficient traffic movements from 
impacting travel on the abutting highway. At the request of 
the district administrator's designee, the permit applicant 
shall furnish a report that documents the impact of 
expected traffic movements upon the function of the 
abutting highway during the peak hours of the abutting 
highway. 

B. It is essential that entrance and site design allow safe and 
efficient movements of traffic using the entrance while 
minimizing the impact of such movements on the operation 
of the systems of state highways.  

1. The permit applicant shall supply sufficient information 
to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the district 
administrator's designee that neither the entrance, nor the 
proposed traffic circulation patterns within the parcel, will 
compromise the safety, use, operation, or maintenance of 
the abutting highway. A rezoning traffic impact statement 
or a site plan/subdivision plat supplemental traffic analysis 
submitted for a proposed development of a parcel in 
accordance with the Traffic Impact Analysis Regulations 
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(24VAC30-155) may be used for this purpose, provided 
that it adequately documents the effect of the proposed 
entrance and its related traffic on the operation of the 
highway to be accessed.  

2. If the proposed entrance will cause the systems of state 
highways to experience degradation in safety or a 
significant increase in delay or a significant reduction in 
capacity beyond an acceptable level of service, the 
applicant shall be required to submit a plan to mitigate 
these impacts and to bear the costs of such mitigation 
measures. 

3. Proposed mitigation measures must be approved by the 
district administrator's designee prior to permit approval. 
Mitigation measures that may be considered include but 
are not limited to: 

a. Construction of auxiliary lanes or turning lanes, or 
pavement transitions/tapers; 

b. Construction of new crossovers, or the relocation, 
removal, or consolidation of existing crossovers; 

c. Installation, modification, or removal of traffic signals 
and related traffic control equipment; 

d. Provisions to limit the traffic generated by the 
development served by the proposed entrance; 

e. Dedication of additional right-of-way or easement, or 
both, for future road improvements;  

f. Reconstruction of existing roadway to provide required 
vertical and horizontal sight distances;  

g. Relocation or consolidation of existing entrances; or 

h. Recommendations from adopted corridor studies, 
design studies, other access management practices and 
principles, or any combination of these, not otherwise 
mentioned in this chapter. 

4. If an applicant is unwilling or unable to mitigate the 
impacts identified in the traffic impact analysis, the 
entrance shall be physically restricted to right-in or right-
out movements or both or similar restrictions such that the 
public interests in a safe and efficient flow of traffic on the 
systems of state highways are protected. 

24VAC30-73-80. Minimum sight distance for commercial 
entrances. 

A. No less than minimum intersection sight distance shall be 
obtained for any commercial entrance. Sight distances shall 
be measured in accordance with VDOT practices, and sight 
distance requirements shall conform to VDOT standards as 
described in Appendix G of the Road Design Manual (see 
24VAC30-73-170 A). The legal speed limit shall be used 
unless the design speed is available and approved for use by 
VDOT.  

B. The operating speed may be used in lieu of the legal 
speed limit in cases where the permit applicant furnishes the 
district administrator's designee with a speed study prepared 
in accordance with the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control 
Devices (see 24VAC30-73-170 D) methodology that 
demonstrates the operating speed of the segment of highway 
is lower than the legal speed limit and, in the judgment of the 
district administrator's designee, use of the operating speed 
will not compromise safety for either a driver at an entrance 
or a driver on the abutting highway.  

C. VDOT may require that the vertical or horizontal 
alignment of the existing roadway be adjusted to 
accommodate certain design elements of a proposed 
commercial entrance including, but not limited to, median 
openings, crossovers, roundabouts, and traffic signals, where 
adjustment is deemed necessary. The cost of any work 
performed to adjust the horizontal or vertical alignment of the 
roadway to achieve required intersection sight distance at a 
proposed entrance shall be borne by the permit applicant.  

24VAC30-73-90. Private entrances. 

A. The property owner shall identify the desired location of 
the private entrance with the assistance of the district 
administrator's designee. If the minimum intersection sight 
distance standards specified in Appendix G of the Road 
Design Manual (see 24VAC30-73-180) cannot be met, the 
entrance should be placed at the location with the best 
possible sight distance as determined by the district 
administrator's designee. The district administrator's designee 
may require the property owner to grade slopes, clear brush, 
remove trees, or conduct other similar efforts, or any 
combination of these, to provide the safest possible means of 
ingress and egress that can be reasonably achieved.  

B. The property owner shall obtain an entrance permit and, 
on shoulder and ditch section roads, shall be responsible for 
installing the private entrance in accordance with VDOT 
policies and engineering standards. The property owner may 
request VDOT to perform the stabilization of the shoulder 
and installation of the entrance pipe. In such cases, VDOT 
may install the private entrance pipe and will stabilize the 
shoulder at the property owner's expense. If VDOT installs 
these portions of the entrance, a cost estimate for the 
installation will be provided to the property owner; however, 
VDOT will bill the property owner the actual cost of 
installation. The property owner shall be responsible for all 
grading beyond the shoulder. 

C. Grading and installation of a driveway from the edge of 
the pavement to the right-of-way line shall be the 
responsibility of the property owner.  

D. Installation of a private entrance on a curb and gutter 
street shall be the responsibility of the property owner. 
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E. Maintenance of private entrances shall be by the owner of 
the entrance, except that VDOT shall maintain: 

1. On shoulder section roadways, that portion of the 
entrance within the normal shoulder portion of the 
roadway. 

2. On roadways with ditches, the drainage pipe at the 
entrance. 

3. On roadways with curb, gutter, and sidewalk belonging 
to VDOT, that portion of the entrance that extends to the 
back of the sidewalk. If a sidewalk is not present, to the 
back of the curb line. 

4. On roadways with curb, gutter, and sidewalk not 
belonging to VDOT, only to the flow line of the gutter pan. 

5. On roadways with shoulders, ditches, and sidewalk 
belonging to VDOT, that portion of the entrance that 
extends to the back of the sidewalk.  

24VAC30-73-100. Commercial entrances - coordination 
with local governments. 

A. For all commercial entrances, the permit applicant shall 
contact and coordinate with appropriate local government 
agencies to identify possible conflicts with local, state or 
federal regulations and plans, including but not limited to 
local zoning and subdivision regulations, environmental 
regulations, land use plans, transportation plans, corridor 
studies, and access management plans. 

B. If local governments have established site 
plan/subdivision plat approval processes for developments, 
VDOT will not approve a commercial entrance permit for the 
development prior to the local government's approval of the 
site plan or subdivision plat for the development. If neither a 
local government site plan nor a subdivision plat approval 
process is applicable, VDOT will not approve a commercial 
entrance permit for the development prior to the local 
government's approval of any applicable land use 
authorization for the development. 

C. Any transportation-related funds, real property, or 
improvements committed to or received by a local 
government through the land use regulatory process does not 
release the applicant from fees and improvements required by 
VDOT. When a local government requires improvements to 
the abutting state highway in accordance with the locality's 
adopted transportation plan, VDOT may require additional 
improvements to ensure the safety and capacity of the 
proposed entrances and to manage existing entrances along 
the highway.  

24VAC30-73-110. Tenure of commercial entrances. 

A. The tenure of a commercial entrance to any highway is 
conditional. Reconstruction, relocation, commercial entrance 
consolidation, or upgrading, or a combination of these, may 
be required at the owner's cost when the district 

administrator's designee determines after review that one of 
the conditions listed below exists. If the necessary changes 
are not made, the entrance may be closed at the direction of 
the district administrator's designee.  

1. Safety - When the entrance has been found to be unsafe 
for public use in its present condition because of physical 
degradation of the entrance, increase in motor vehicle 
traffic, or some other safety-related condition. 

2. Use - When traffic in and out of the entrance has 
changed significantly to require modifications or 
reconstruction, or both. Such changes may include, but are 
not limited to, changes in traffic volume or operational 
characteristics of the traffic.  

3. Maintenance - When the entrance becomes 
unserviceable due to heavy equipment damage or 
reclamation by natural causes. 

B. VDOT will maintain the commercial entrance only 
within the normal shoulder of the roadway or to the flow line 
of the gutter pan. The owner shall maintain all other portions 
of the entrance, including entrance aprons, curb and gutter, 
culvert and drainage structures. 

C. Commercial entrances may also be reviewed by the 
district administrator's designee when any of the following 
occur: 

1. The property is being considered for rezoning or other 
local legislative action that involves a change in use of the 
property. 

2. The property is subject to a site plan or subdivision plat 
review. 

3. There is a change in commercial use either by the 
property owner or by a tenant.  

4. Vehicular/pedestrian circulation between adjoining 
properties becomes available. 

These periodic reviews are necessary to provide both the 
driver and other highway users with a safe and operationally 
efficient means of travel on state highways.  

24VAC30-73-120. Commercial entrance access 
management. 

A. As commercial entrance locations and designs are 
prepared and reviewed, appropriate access management 
regulations and standards shall be utilized to ensure the 
safety, integrity and operational characteristics of the 
transportation system are maintained. The proposed 
commercial entrance shall meet the access management 
standards contained in Appendix G of the Road Design 
Manual (see 24VAC30-73-170 A) and the regulations in this 
chapter to provide the users of such entrance with a safe 
means of ingress and egress while minimizing the impact of 
such ingress and egress on the operation of the highway. As 
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part of any commercial entrance permit review, the district 
administrator's designee will determine what improvements 
are needed to preserve the operational characteristics of the 
highway, accommodate the proposed traffic and, if entrance 
design modifications are needed, incorporate them 
accordingly to protect the transportation corridor. If the 
location of the entrance is within the limits of an access 
management plan approved by the local government and 
VDOT, the plan should guide the district administrator's 
designee in determining the appropriate design and location 
of the entrance. Access management requirements, in addition 
to other regulations in this chapter, include but are not limited 
to: 

1. Restricting commercial entrance locations. To prevent 
undue interference with free traffic movement and to 
preserve safety, entrances to the highways shall not be 
permitted within the functional areas of intersections, 
roundabouts, railroad grade crossings, interchanges or 
similar areas with sensitive traffic operations. Subsection B 
of this section provides the procedures for requesting an 
exception to this requirement.  

2. Entrances shared with adjoining properties on minor 
arterials and collectors. To reduce the number of entrances 
to state highways, the district administrator's designee shall 
require that shared entrances be created and designed to 
serve adjoining parcels unless the permit applicant submits 
compelling evidence that a reasonable agreement cannot be 
reached with adjoining property owners or that there are 
physical constraints, including but not limited to 
topography, environmentally sensitive areas, and 
hazardous uses, to creating a shared entrance. A copy of 
the property owners' recorded agreement to share use of 
and maintain the entrance shall be submitted with the 
permit application for a shared entrance. The shared 
entrance shall be identified on any site plan or subdivision 
plat of the property. A permit applicant shall not be 
required to follow the procedures for an appeal set forth in 
24VAC30-73-50 to receive an exception to the 
requirements of this subdivision. 

3. Spacing of entrances and intersections. The spacing of 
proposed entrances and intersections shall comply with the 
spacing standards for entrances and intersections in 
Appendix G of the Road Design Manual (see 24VAC30-
73-170 A) except as specified below. 

a. On older, established business corridors of a locality 
within an urban area where existing entrances and 
intersections did not meet the spacing standards prior to 
October 1, 2009, spacing for new entrances and 
intersections may be allowed by the district 
administrator's designee that is consistent with the 
established spacing along the highway, provided that 
reasonable efforts are made to comply with the other 
access management requirements of this section 

including restricting entrances within the functional areas 
of intersections, sharing entrances with and providing 
vehicular and pedestrian connections between adjoining 
properties, and physically restricting entrances to right-in 
or right-out or both movements.  

b. Where a developer proposes a development within a 
designated urban development area as defined in §15.2-
2223.1 of the Code of Virginia and other comparable 
local designations that fully incorporates principles of 
new urbanism and traditional neighborhood 
development, which may include but need not be limited 
to (i) pedestrian-friendly road design, (ii) interconnection 
of new local streets with existing local streets and roads, 
(iii) connectivity of road and pedestrian networks, (iv) 
preservation of natural areas, (v) satisfaction of 
requirements for stormwater management, (vi) mixed-use 
neighborhoods, including mixed housing types, (vii) 
reduction of front and side yard building setbacks, and 
(viii) reduction of subdivision street widths and turning 
radii at subdivision street intersections, the district 
administrator's designee may approve spacing standards 
for entrances and intersections internal to the 
development that differ from the otherwise applicable 
spacing standards, provided that such entrances and 
intersections meet the intersection sight distance 
standards specified in Appendix G of the Road Design 
Manual (see 24VAC30-73-170 A).  

c. Where a development's second or additional 
commercial entrances are necessary for the streets in the 
development to be eligible for acceptance into the 
secondary system of state highways and such commercial 
entrances cannot meet the spacing standards for 
highways, the following shall apply: 

(1) For highways with a functional classification as a 
collector or local street, the district administrator’s 
designee may approve spacing standards that differ from 
the otherwise applicable spacing standards to allow the 
approval of the entrance or entrances. Such commercial 
entrances shall be required to meet the intersection sight 
distance standards specified in Appendix G of the Road 
Design Manual (see 24VAC30-73-180). 

(2) For highways with a functional classification as a 
minor arterial, the district administrator’s designee shall, 
in consultation with the developer and the locality within 
which the development is proposed, either approve 
spacing standards that differ from the otherwise 
applicable spacing standards to allow the approval of the 
entrance or entrances, or waive such state requirements 
that necessitate second or additional commercial 
entrances.  

4. Vehicular/pedestrian circulation between adjoining 
undeveloped properties. To facilitate traffic circulation 
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between adjacent properties, reduce the number of 
entrances to the highway, and maximize use of new 
signalized intersections, the permit applicant shall be 
required on a highway with a functional classification as a 
minor arterial highway, and may be required by the district 
administrator’s designee on a highway with a functional 
classification as a collector, to record access easements and 
to construct vehicular connections (which may include 
frontage roads or reverse frontage roads) in such a manner 
that affords safe and efficient future access between the 
permit applicant's property and adjoining undeveloped 
properties. Where appropriate, the permit applicant also 
shall construct pedestrian connections to the boundary 
lines of adjoining undeveloped properties.  

a. Such connections shall not be required if there are 
physical constraints to making such connections between 
properties, including but not limited to topography, 
environmentally sensitive areas, and hazardous uses.  

b. At such time that a commercial entrance permit 
application is submitted for the adjoining property, a 
condition of permit issuance shall be to extend such 
vehicular/pedestrian connections into the proposed 
development.  

c. If a permit applicant cannot or does not wish to comply 
with this requirement, the permit applicant's entrance 
shall be physically restricted to right-in or right-out 
movements or both or similar restrictions such that the 
public interests in a safe and efficient flow of traffic on 
the systems of state highways are protected.  

d. Development sites under the same ownership or 
consolidated for the purposes of development and 
comprised of more than one building site shall provide a 
unified access and circulation system between the sites. 

5. Traffic signal spacing. To promote the efficient 
progression of traffic on highways, commercial entrances 
that are expected to serve sufficient traffic volumes and 
movements to require signalization shall not be permitted 
if the spacing between the entrance and at least one 
adjacent signalized intersection is below signalized 
intersection spacing standards in Appendix G of the Road 
Design Manual (see 24VAC30-73-170 A). If sufficient 
spacing between adjacent traffic signals is not available, 
the entrance shall be physically restricted to right-in or 
right-out movements or both or similar restrictions such 
that the public interests in a safe and efficient flow of 
traffic on the systems of state highways are protected and 
preserved. 

6. Limiting entrance movements. To preserve the safety 
and function of certain highways, the district 
administrator's designee may require an entrance to be 
designed and constructed in such a manner as to physically 
prohibit certain traffic movements. 

B. A request for an exception from the access management 
requirements in subsection A of this section (excluding 
subdivision A 2) shall follow the procedures for an appeal set 
forth in 24VAC30-73-50 except where the District 
Administrator’s designee is specifically authorized to approve 
such request. In addition such request shall include specific 
and documented reasons based on a traffic engineering 
investigation report prepared showing that highway operation 
and safety will not be adversely impacted by the requested 
exception. 

C. VDOT may work with a locality or localities on access 
management corridor plans. Such plans may allow for 
spacing standards that differ from and supersede the spacing 
standards for entrances and intersections in Appendix G of 
the Road Design Manual (see 24VAC30-73-170 A), subject 
to approval by the commissioner. 

24VAC30-73-130. Drainage. 

A. Commercial and private entrances shall be constructed so 
as not to impair drainage within the right-of-way and so that 
surface water shall drain from the roadway. 

B. Where deemed necessary by the district administrator's 
designee, a commercial entrance applicant shall provide 
copies of a complete drainage layout based on a drainage 
study by a licensed design professional. This layout shall 
clearly show how the permit applicant proposes to handle the 
drainage and run-off from applicant's development. 

C. Pipe ends of culverts shall be reviewed independently by 
the district administrator's designee and grading or treatment 
at pipe ends shall minimize any hazard the pipe ends or 
structures may present to an errant vehicle.  

24VAC30-73-140. Drive-in theaters. 

A drive-in theater is a specialized commercial entrance. In 
addition to the commercial entrance regulations set forth in 
this part, the conditions set forth in §33.1-12 (15) of the Code 
of Virginia shall be satisfied in order to construct entrances to 
drive-in theaters.  

24VAC30-73-150. Temporary entrances 
(construction/logging entrances). 

A. Construction of temporary construction or logging 
entrances upon the systems of state highways shall be 
authorized in accordance with the provisions in the Land Use 
Permit Manual (24VAC30-150). The permit applicant must 
contact the appropriate district administrator's designee to 
approve the location prior to installing an entrance or utilizing 
an existing entrance. The district administrator's designee 
shall also be contacted to arrange and conduct a final 
inspection prior to closing a temporary construction or 
logging entrance. In the event that adequate sight distance is 
not achieved, additional signage that meets the Manual on 
Uniform Traffic Control Devices standards (see 24VAC30-
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73-170 D) and certified flaggers shall be used to ensure safe 
ingress and egress. 

B. Entrances shall be designed and operated in such a 
manner as to prevent mud and debris from being tracked from 
the site onto the highway's paved surface. If debris is tracked 
onto the highway, it shall be removed by the permittee 
immediately as directed by the district administrator's 
designee. 

C. The permittee must restore, at the permittee's cost, all 
disturbed highway rights-of-way, including, but not limited 
to, ditches, shoulders, roadside and pavement, to their original 
condition when removing the entrance. All such restorations 
are subject to approval by the district administrator's 
designee.  

24VAC30-73-160. Access to public waters. 

VDOT may grant the use of portions of the highway right-
of-way for access to public waters upon written request from 
the Executive Director of the Virginia Department of Game 
and Inland Fisheries to the commissioner. The district 
administrator's designee may require that a commercial 
entrance permit be obtained in accordance with the provisions 
of this chapter for entrances that will provide access to 
landings, wharves, and docks.  

24VAC30-73-170. Documents incorporated by reference. 

A. Road Design Manual (effective January 1, 2005, revised 
October 2009). 

Note: Appendices F and G (Access Management Design 
Standards for Entrances and Intersections) contains the access 
management standards referenced in Chapters 863 and 928 of 
the 2007 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 274 and 454 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. 

Location and Design Division (VDOT) 

Location and Design Engineer 

1401 E. Broad Street 

Richmond, Virginia 23219 

B. 2007 Road and Bridge Specifications (effective July 
2008). 

Scheduling and Contract Division (VDOT) 

State Contract Engineer 

1401 E. Broad Street 

Richmond, Virginia 23219 

C. Road and Bridge Standards (effective February 1, 2001). 

Location and Design Division (VDOT) 

Location and Design Engineer 

1401 E. Broad Street 

Richmond, Virginia 23219 

D. The Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for 
Streets and Highways, 2003 Edition (effective December 22, 
2003, revised November 2004). 

Federal Highway Administration 

Superintendent of Documents 

U.S. Government Printing Office 

P.O. Box 371954 

Pittsburgh, PA 15250-7954 

E. A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets, 
Fifth Edition, 2004. 

American Association of State Highway and Transportation 
Officials (AASHTO) 

444 North Capitol St. N.W., Suite 225 

Washington, D.C. 20001 

F. Change of Limited Access Control, 24VAC30-401. 

Traffic Engineering Division (VDOT) 

1401 E. Broad St. 

Richmond, VA 23219 

G. Land Use Permit Manual, 24VAC30-150. 

Asset Management Division (VDOT) 

1401 E. Broad St. 

Richmond, VA 23219 

H. Policy for Integrating Bicycle and Pedestrian 
Accommodations, eff. March 18, 2004. 

Asset Management Division (VDOT) 

1401 E. Broad St. 

Richmond, VA 23219 

I. Highway Capacity Manual, 2000. 

Transportation Research Board 

500 Fifth Street, NW 

Washington, DC 20001 

J. Traffic Impact Analysis Regulations, 24VAC30-155. 

Asset Management Division (VDOT) 

1401 E. Broad St. 

Richmond, VA 23219  
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NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

LUP-A - Land Use Permit Application (revised 1/2005). 

LUP-SP - Land Use Permit Special Provisions (Notice of 
Permittee Liability) (revised 11/2007). 

LUP-CSB - Land Use Permit Corporate Surety Bond 
(revised 1/2005). 

LUP-LC - Land Use Permit Irrevocable Letter of Credit 
Bank Agreement (revised 1/2005). 

LUP-SB - Land Use Permit Surety Bond (revised 1/2005). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1410; Filed September 24, 2008, 11:56 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 77 (2008) 

DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCY IN 
SUPPORT OF THE EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT 
ASSISTANCE COMPACT TO RESPOND TO THE 

IMPACT OF HURRICANE GUSTAV AND 
HURRICANE IKE IN THE GULF COAST STATES 

On September 10, 2008, I expanded the state of emergency 
declared on August 29, 2008 for the Commonwealth in 
support of the Emergency Management Assistance Compact 
(EMAC), of which the Commonwealth of Virginia is a 
member, to assist the Gulf Coast States respond to and 
recover from the impact of Hurricane Gustav and Hurricane 
Ike. In accordance with §44-146.28:1, the Commonwealth 
will provide resources and assistance to the fullest extent 
possible to the impacted states that suffer significant damages 
from Hurricane Gustav and Hurricane Ike. 

To increase the availability of gasoline in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia following the disruption in the normal flow of 
petroleum products caused by Hurricanes Gustav and Ike, on 
September 16, 2008, I further ordered the waiver of the Class 
C-3 gasoline volatility specifications in table 4 of ASTM 
D4814, Standard Specification for Automotive Spark Ignition 
Engine Fuel, as referenced in 2VAC5-420, Regulations for 
the Enforcement of the Virginia Gasoline and Motor Fuel 
Law, and allow the sale of gasoline meeting Class D-4 
volatility specifications. This waiver shall be in effect 
immediately and through midnight on September 30, 2008. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by §44-
146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 
of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 
vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 
Virginia and by §44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as 
Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of 
the Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 
ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 
hereby confirm, ratify, and memorialize in writing my verbal 
orders issued August 29, 2008, wherein I proclaimed that a 
state of emergency exists and directed that appropriate 
assistance be rendered by agencies of  the state government to 
respond to needs in the impacted states to alleviate adverse 
conditions created by the hurricane.  Pursuant to §44-75.1 A 3 
and A 4 of the Code of Virginia, I directed that the Virginia 
National Guard be called forth to state duty to assist in 
providing such aid. This shall include such functions as the 
State Coordinator of Emergency Management, the Adjutant 
General, and the Secretary of Public Safety, may find 
necessary. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 
preparedness, response and recovery measures to meet this 
potential threat and recover from its effects, and in 
accordance with my authority contained in §44-146.17 of the 

Emergency Services and Disaster Laws, I hereby order the 
following measures: 

A. The limited implementation by agencies of the state and 
local governments of the Commonwealth of Virginia 
Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP), as amended along 
with other appropriate state agency plans. 

B. Limited activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations 
Center (VEOC) and Virginia Emergency Response Team 
(VERT) to coordinate the provision of assistance to the 
impacted Gulf States. I am directing that the VEOC and 
VERT coordinate state operations in support of the EMAC 
agreement, other mission assignments to agencies designated 
in the Commonwealth of Virginia Emergency Operations 
Plan (COVEOP) and other measures that may be identified 
by the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, in 
consultation with the Secretary of Public Safety, which are 
needed to provide assistance for the preservation of life, 
protection of property, and implementation of recovery 
activities. 

C. The activation, implementation and coordination of 
appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, including 
the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC), 
and the authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 
Management to enter into any other supplemental 
agreements, pursuant to §§44-146.17(5) and 44-146.28:1 of 
the Code of Virginia to provide for the exchange of medical, 
fire, police, National Guard personnel and equipment, public 
utility, reconnaissance, welfare, transportation and 
communications personnel, and equipment and supplies.  The 
State Coordinator of Emergency Management is hereby 
designated as Virginia’s authorized representative within the 
meaning of the Emergency Management Assistance Compact, 
§44-146.28:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The authorization of the Departments of State Police, 
Transportation and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 
overweight, over width, registration, or license exemptions to 
all carriers transporting essential commodities in and through 
any area of the Commonwealth in order to support the 
emergency conditions, regardless of their point of origin or 
destination. 

The axle and gross weights shown below are the maximum 
allowed, unless otherwise posted. 

Any One Axle 24,000 Pounds 
Tandem Axles (more than 40 inches 
but not more than 96 inches spacing 
between axle centers) 

44,000 Pounds 

Single Unit (2 Axles) 44,000 Pounds 
Single Unit (3 Axles) 54,500 Pounds 
Tractor-Semi trailer (4 Axles) 64,500 Pounds 
Tractor-Semi trailer (5 or more 
Axles) 

90,000 Pounds 



Governor 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

538 

Tractor-Twin Trailers (5 or more 
Axles) 

90,000 Pounds 

 Other Combinations (5 or more 
Axles) 

90,000 Pounds 

Per Inch of Tire Width in Contact 
with Road Surface 

850 Pounds 

All over width loads, up to a maximum of 12 feet, must 
follow Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (VDMV) 
hauling permit and safety guidelines. 

In addition to described overweight/over width transportation 
privileges, carriers are also exempt from registration with the 
Department of Motor Vehicles. This includes the vehicles 
enroute and returning to their home base.  The above-cited 
agencies shall communicate this information to all staff 
responsible for permit issuance and truck legalization 
enforcement. 

This authorization shall apply to hours worked by any carrier 
when transporting passengers, property, equipment, food, 
fuel, construction materials and other critical supplies to or 
from any portion of the Commonwealth for purpose of 
providing relief or assistance as a result of this disaster, 
pursuant to §52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

The foregoing overweight/over width transportation 
privileges as well as the regulatory exemption provided by 
§52-8.4 A of the Code of Virginia, and implemented in 
19VAC30-20-40 B of the "Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations," shall remain in effect for 30 days from the 
onset of the disaster, or until emergency relief is no longer 
necessary, as determined by the Secretary of Public Safety in 
consultation with the Secretary of Transportation, whichever 
is earlier. 

E. This state of emergency constitutes a major medical 
emergency under the Rules and Regulations of the Board of 
Health Governing Emergency Medical Services, pursuant to 
Article 3.01 (§32.1-111.1 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 32.1, 
of the Code of Virginia, Statewide Emergency Medical 
Services System and Services, and exemptions specified in 
the Rules and Regulations regarding patient transport and 
provider certification in disasters apply. 

F. The implementation by public agencies under my 
supervision and control of their emergency assignments as 
directed in the COVEOP without regard to normal procedures 
pertaining to performance of public work, entering into 
contracts, incurring of obligations, or other logistical and 
support measures of the Emergency Services and Disaster 
Laws, as provided in §44-146.28 (b) of the Code of Virginia. 
Section 44-146.24 of the Code of Virginia also applies to the 
disaster activities of state agencies. 

G. Designation of members and personnel of volunteer, 
auxiliary and reserve groups including search and rescue 
(SAR), Virginia Associations of Volunteer Rescue Squads 
(VAVRS), Civil Air Patrol (CAP), member organizations of 

the Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (VOAD), 
Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES), 
volunteer fire fighters, and others identified and tasked by the 
State Coordinator of Emergency Management for specific 
disaster-related mission assignments as representatives of the 
Commonwealth engaged in emergency services activities 
within the meaning of the immunity provisions of §44-146.23 
(a) of the Code of Virginia, in the performance of their 
specific disaster-related mission assignments. 

H. I hereby authorize the Superintendent of Public Instruction 
to issue such guidance to local school divisions as may be 
necessary to facilitate enrollment of students displaced by 
Hurricane Gustav and Ike. 

I. The temporary waiver, for a period of 90 days, of the 
enforcement by the Board of Pharmacy of statutory and 
regulatory provisions which, in the judgment of the Director 
of the Department of Health Professions, impede the ability 
of Virginia pharmacies to provide assistance to patients who 
have been displaced by the effects of Hurricane Gustav and 
Ike. 

J. The following conditions apply to the deployment of the 
Virginia National Guard: 

1. The Adjutant General of Virginia, after consultation with 
the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, shall 
make available on state active duty such units and members 
of the Virginia National Guard and such equipment as may 
be necessary or desirable to assist in alleviating the human 
suffering and damage to property. 

2. Pursuant to §52-6 of the Code of Virginia, I authorize 
and direct the Superintendent of State Police to appoint any 
and all such Virginia Army and Air National Guard 
personnel called to state active duty as additional police 
officers. These police officers shall have the same powers 
and perform the same duties as the regular State Police 
officers appointed by the Superintendent.  However, they 
shall nevertheless remain members of the Virginia National 
Guard, subject to military command as members of the 
State Militia. Any bonds and/or insurance required by §52-
7 of the Code of Virginia shall be provided for them at the 
expense of the Commonwealth. 

3. In all instances, members of the Virginia National Guard 
shall remain subject to military command as prescribed by 
§44-78.1 of the Code of Virginia and not subject to the 
civilian authorities of county or municipal governments. 
This shall not be deemed to prohibit working in close 
cooperation with members of the Virginia Departments of 
State Police or Emergency Management or local law 
enforcement or emergency management authorities or 
receiving guidance from them in the performance of their 
duties. 

4. Should service under this Executive Order result in the 
injury or death of any member of the Virginia National 
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Guard, the following will be provided to the member and 
the member’s dependents or survivors: 

(a) Workers Compensation benefits provided to 
members of the National Guard by the Virginia 
Workers Compensation Act, subject to the 
requirements and limitations thereof; and, in 
addition, 

(b) The same benefits, or their equivalent, for injury, 
disability and/or death, as would be provided by the 
federal government if the member were serving on 
federal active duty at the time of the injury or death.  
Any such federal-type benefits due to a member and 
his or her dependents or survivors during any 
calendar month shall be reduced by any payments 
due under the Virginia Workers Compensation Act 
during the same month.  If and when the time period 
for payment of Workers Compensation benefits has 
elapsed, the member and his or her dependents or 
survivors shall thereafter receive full federal-type 
benefits for as long as they would have received 
such benefits if the member had been serving on 
federal active duty at the time of injury or death.  
Any federal-type benefits due shall be computed on 
the basis of military pay grade E-5 or the member’s 
military grade at the time of injury or death, 
whichever produces the greater benefit amount.  
Pursuant to § 44-14 of the Code of Virginia, and 
subject to the availability of future appropriations 
which may be lawfully applied to this purpose, I 
now approve of future expenditures out of 
appropriations to the Department of Military Affairs 
for such federal-type benefits as being manifestly for 
the benefit of the military service. 

5. The costs incurred by the Department of Military Affairs 
in performing these missions shall be paid from state funds. 

K. The activation of the statutory provisions in §59.1-525 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. Price 
gouging at any time is unacceptable. Price gouging is even 
more reprehensible after a natural disaster. I have directed all 
applicable executive branch agencies to take immediate 
action to address any verified reports of price gouging of 
necessary goods or services.  I make the same request of the 
Office of Attorney General and appropriate local officials. 

L. I hereby authorize the heads of executive branch agencies, 
acting when appropriate on behalf of their regulatory boards, 
to waive any state requirement or regulation for which the 
federal government has issued a waiver of the corresponding 
federal or state regulation based on the impact of Hurricane 
Gustav and Ike. 

M. I hereby authorize the presidents of colleges and 
universities in the Commonwealth to waive the requirements 
of any state law or regulation for good cause to facilitate 

enrollment of students displaced by Hurricane Gustav and 
Ike. 

N. A state of emergency exists for the Commonwealth in 
support of the proper management, care and support of 
persons who may be displaced by Hurricane Gustav and Ike, 
evacuated from states impacted by Hurricane Gustav and Ike, 
and relocated to the Commonwealth (Evacuees). These 
evacuees will require a variety of services including, but not 
limited to health and medical care, social services, 
transportation and security services.  I hereby order the 
following measures: 

1. Designation of physicians, nurses, and other licensed and 
non-licensed health care providers and other individuals as 
well as hospitals, nursing facilities and other licensed and 
non-licensed health care organizations and other private 
entities by agencies of the Commonwealth, including but 
not limited to the Department of Health, Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of Emergency Management, 
Department of Transportation, Department of State Police, 
Department of Motor Vehicles, and Department of Social 
Services, as representatives of the Commonwealth engaged 
in emergency services activities, at sites designated by the 
Commonwealth, within the meaning of the immunity 
provisions of §44-146.23 (a) of the Code of Virginia, in the 
performance of their disaster-related mission assignments. 

2. During the next 120 days, The Director of the 
Department of Health Professions shall issue temporary 
licenses, registrations, and certifications to practice in the 
Commonwealth, for a period not to exceed one year, to 
qualified health care practitioners who are displaced 
residents of Hurricane Gustav and Ike affected states, who 
hold like unrestricted licenses, registrations, or 
certifications in their resident states, and who may be 
unable to furnish or have furnished on their behalf 
complete documentation of their credentials and license 
status as otherwise required by Virginia law or regulation.  
The Director shall also have authority to defer the payment 
of licensing fees.  Any license, registration or certification 
so issued may be revoked by for cause without a hearing by 
the Director. 

O. Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies 
and other agents in performing mission assignments through 
the VEOC of the Commonwealth as defined herein and in 
§44-146.24 of the Code of Virginia, other than costs defined 
in Item 5 of the paragraphs above pertaining to the Virginia 
National Guard, in performing these missions shall be paid 
out of the sum sufficient appropriation or other funding as 
approved by DPB for Disaster Planning and Operations 
contained in the Appropriation Act.  In addition, up to 
$50,000 shall be made available to VDEM for Response and 
Recovery Operations with the Department of Planning and 
Budget overseeing the release of these funds. 
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This Executive Order shall be effective September 10, 2008, 
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2009, 
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. Termination of the Executive Order is not intended to 
terminate any Federal-type benefits granted or to be granted 
due to injury or death as a result of service under this 
Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 18th day of September, 
2008. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Consent Order - Chesapeake Marine 
Railway, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Chesapeake 
Marine Railway, LLC for alleged violations in Deltaville, 
Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 
consent special order to Chesapeake Marine Railways, LLC, 
to address noncompliance with their VPDES permit. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ 
office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Cynthia Akers will accept comments by email at 
ecakers@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 527-5106 or postal 
mail Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 
Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060 
from October 13, 2008, to November 12, 2008. 

Study to Restore Water Quality to Powell River 

Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in the 
Powell River including the North Fork Powell River, the 
South Fork Powell River, Butcher Fork, Wallen Creek, 
Bailey’s Trace, Ely Creek, Gin Creek, Lick Branch, Puckett 
Creek, and Stone Creek in Lee and Wise County, Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Pennington Gap Town Hall, October 
21, 2008, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation are announcing a 
study to restore water quality, a public comment opportunity, 
and public meeting. 

Meeting description: First public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ is working to identify sources of 
pollutants affecting the aquatic organisms and sources of 
bacteria contamination in the waters of the Powell River 
including the North Fork Powell River, the South Fork 
Powell River, Butcher Fork, Wallen Creek, Bailey’s Trace, 
Ely Creek, Gin Creek, Lick Branch, Puckett Creek, and Stone 
Creek in Lee and Wise County, Virginia. The stream is 
impaired for failing to meet the aquatic life use based on 
violations of the general standard for aquatic organisms and 
failure to meet the recreational use because of fecal coliform 
bacteria violations, as well as violating of the E. coli standard. 

During the study, the pollutants impairing the aquatic 
community will be identified and total maximum daily loads, 
or TMDLs, developed for the impaired waters. A TMDL is 
the total amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and 
still meet water quality standards. DEQ will also determine 
the sources of bacteria contamination and develop a TMDL 
for bacteria.  To restore water quality, contamination levels 
must be reduced to the TMDL amount.  

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment:  DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, October 21, 2008, to November 21, 2008. DEQ also 
accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl.  

Contact for additional information: Shelley D. Williams, 
SWRO/TMDL Coordinator, Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355 
Deadmore Street, P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-
1688, telephone (276) 676-4845, FAX (276) 676-4899, or 
email sdwilliams@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on September 16, 2008. The orders may be 
viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Fifty (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1070; "Match 3" (effective 
9/15/08) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-One (08) 

"Match 3 20th Birthday Sweepstakes" (effective 9/15/08) 

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 
REGULATION 

Notice of Public Comment Period and Study 
The Board of Professional and Occupational Regulation is 
conducting a study to determine whether the sign language 
and transliterator industry needs to be regulated.  The board 
invites public comment on this issue.  This review is being 
conducted pursuant to §§54.1-310 A 6 and 54.1-311 of the 
Code of Virginia.  The board welcomes written comments on 
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whether the sign language and transliterator industry needs to 
be regulated. 

Written comments will be received until 5 p.m. on Friday, 
December 12, 2008, and may be sent to the address below or 
sent to bpor@dpor.virginia.gov.  Comments or questions 
should be sent to: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director, 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, email bpor@dpor.virginia.gov, 
telephone (804) 367-8537.  

Public hearings will be held on the following dates and times at 
the following locations: 

10 a.m., Friday, October 17, 2008, City of Hampton 
Council Chambers, 22 Lincoln Street, 8th Floor, Hampton, 
VA 23669 

10 a.m., Monday, October 20, 2008, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, 2nd Floor, Board Room #2, Richmond, VA 23233 

10 a.m., Friday, October 24, 2008, Roanoke City Council 
Chambers, Noel C. Taylor Municipal Bldg, 215 Church 
Ave, SW, 4th Floor, Roanoke, VA 24011 

10 a.m., Friday, November 7, 2008, #1 Courthouse Plaza, 
2100 Clarendon Blvd., Arlington County Board Room 307, 
Arlington, VA 22201 

10 a.m., Monday, November 10, 2008, Woodrow Wilson 
Rehabilitation Center, Watsons Activities Building, 394 
Hornet Road, Fishersville, VA 22939 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order - JIM, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for JIM, Inc., for 
alleged violations in Amelia, Virginia. The State Water 
Control Board proposes to issue a consent special order to 
JIM, Inc., to address noncompliance with underground 
storage tank regulations.  A description of the proposed action 
is available at the DEQ office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Cynthia Akers will accept comments 
by email at ecakers@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 527-5106 
or postal mail Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060 from October 13, 2008, to November 12, 2008. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC50-20. Impounding Structure 
Regulations. 

Publication:  24:25 VA.R. 3538-3567 August 18, 2008 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3543, 4VAC50-20-50, in the paragraph following 
"TABLE 1 Impounding Structure Regulations":  

in line 1, insert "are" before "25 feet"  

in line 3, after "exempt" change "form" to "from" 
VA.R. Doc. No. R06-130 
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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-740. Water Reclamation and 
Reuse Regulation (adding 9VAC25-740-10 through 
9VAC25-740-210). 

Publication: 24:26 VA.R. 3747-3773 September 1, 2008. 

Correction to final regulation: 

Page 3773, Forms, change date of form to 9/3/2008. 
VA.R. Doc. No. R06-33 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 
Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 
General Industry Standards (repealing 16VAC25-90-
1910.151). 

16VAC25-95. Medical Services and First Aid Standards 
for General Industry (adding 16VAC25-95-10). 

16VAC25-175. Federal Identical Construction Industry 
Standards (repealing 16VAC25-175-1926.50). 

16VAC25-177. Medical Services and First Aid Standards 
for the Construction Industry (adding 16VAC25-177-10). 

Publication: 25:2 VA.R. 277-291 September 29, 2008. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 289, 16VAC25-90-1910.151, reinsert text beginning 
with Appendix A to §1910.151—First aid kits (Non-
Mandatory) through the end of the section, which was 
inadvertently stricken. 

Page 290, 16VAC25-175-1926.50, reinsert text beginning 
with Appendix A to §1926.50—First aid Kits (Non-
Mandatory) through the end of the section, which was 
inadvertently stricken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-05 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 
Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Rules and Regulations.  

Publication:  24:8 VA.R. 987-1071 December 24, 2007 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1045, 19VAC30-70-470, following subdivision 15 b, 
second column, first line of chart should read: 

Wheel size: 16 17 inches or less - 1/4 inch (6.5mm) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-953 

BOARD OF TOWING AND RECOVERY OPERATORS 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC27-30. General Regulations for 
Towing and Recovery Operators.  

Publication:  25:1 VA.R. 78-89 September 15, 2008 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 82, 24VAC27-30-70, line 3 of subdivision 2 should 
read:  

as defined in §46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

Page 82, 24VAC27-30-70, line 1 of subdivision 3 should 
read:  

"Household goods carriers" as defined in [ §46.2-100 
§46.2-2100 ] of the Code of Virginia ..." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-270 

 



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 25, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 13, 2008 

544 

CALENDAR OF EVENTS 

 


