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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2009 through March 2010 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 2 Volume 25  April 2009 

25:20 May 20, 2009 June 8, 2009 

INDEX 3 Volume 25  July 2009 

25:21 June 3, 2009 June 22, 2009 

25:22 June 17, 2009 July 6, 2009 

25:23 July 1, 2009 July 20, 2009 

25:24 July 15, 2009 August 3, 2009 

25:25 July 29, 2009 August 17, 2009 

25:26 August 12, 2009 August 31, 2009 

FINAL INDEX Volume 25  October 2009 

26:1 August 26, 2009 September 14, 2009 

26:2 September 9, 2009 September 28, 2009 

26:3 September 23, 2009 October 12, 2009 

26:4 October 7, 2009 October 26, 2009 

26:5 October 21, 2009 November 9, 2009 

26:6 November 4, 2009 November 23, 2009 

26:7 November 17, 2009 (Tuesday) December 7, 2009 

INDEX 1 Volume 26  January 2010 

26:8 December 2, 2009 December 21, 2009 

26:9 December 15, 2009 (Tuesday) January 4, 2010 

26:10 December 29, 2009 (Tuesday) January 18, 2010 

26:11 January 13, 2010 February 1, 2010 

26:12 January 27, 2010 February 15, 2010 

26:13 February 10, 2010 March 1, 2010 

26:14 February 24, 2010 March 15, 2010 

INDEX 2 Volume 26  January 2010 

26:15 March 10, 2010 March 29, 2010 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Spring 2009 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 13, dated 
March 2, 2009). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-100-10 through 2VAC5-100-40 Repealed 25:16 VA.R. 2831 5/13/09 
2 VAC 5-320-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-325-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2710 3/9/09 
2 VAC 5-340-140 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-340-170 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-350-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-370-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-380-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-80 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-400-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-440-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2831 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-60 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-395-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3289 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3289 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3290 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-40 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3290 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-490-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2593 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-30 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-41 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-530-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-20 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-31 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-530-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-560-40 emer Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3292 5/1/09-5/30/09 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2598 3/1/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-950-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-10 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-20 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-30 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-10 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-20 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-30 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-30 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 25-31 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2835 -- 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2836 -- 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2838 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1100 through 4VAC50-60-1140 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2849-2851 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1150 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2851 5/13/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1160 through 4 VAC 50-60-1180 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2853-2868 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1182 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1184 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1186 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2870 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1188 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-80 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-100 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-120 through 5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2603-2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-180 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-240 through 5 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605-2608 3/11/09 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-80-10 through 8VAC20-80-190 Repealed 25:16 VA.R. 2872 ***** 
8 VAC 20-81-10 through 8VAC20-81-340 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2872-2967 ***** 
8 VAC 20-521-60 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3295 7/15/09 
8 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3297 7/15/09 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3298 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-30-15 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-30-80 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1170 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 20-80 (Forms) Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3149 -- 
9 VAC 25-32-480 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
9 VAC 25-151-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3306 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-151-40 through 9 VAC 25-151-290 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3308-3379 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-151-310 through 9 VAC 25-151-370 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3379-3385 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3385 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3386 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-50 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3386 6/24/09 

                                                           
***** Regulatory process suspended in 25:16 VA.R. 2968 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
9 VAC 25-190-60 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3387 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-65 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3388 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-70 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3389 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-580 (Forms) Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3154 -- 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Erratum 25:19 VA.R. 3464 -- 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-110 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-130 Added 25:14 VA.R. 2613 3/1/09 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-20-330 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3162 6/1/09 
11 VAC 10-50-30 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3005 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-70-90 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-110-90 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3407 6/1/09 
11 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3006 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3008 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3009 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3010 5/27/09 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-230-540 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2316 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-550 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-560 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
12 VAC 30-10-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2614 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-10-930 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-500 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-520 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Erratum 25:19 VA.R. 3464 -- 
12 VAC 30-50-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-80-40 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3408 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-110-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-370 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-380 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-670 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-680 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-700 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-741 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-980 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-990 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1000 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1040 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2624 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3410 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-130-260 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-270 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-290 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2627 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-370 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
12 VAC 30-130-380 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-410 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-540 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2629 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-800 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2630 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-820 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2632 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-890 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2633 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-910 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2634 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-120 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-660 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2969 5/13/09 
12 VAC 30-141-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-740 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3411 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-141-760 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-150-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2636 4/15/09 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-63-220 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3013 6/1/09 
13 VAC 5-100-10 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2363 2/12/09 
13 VAC 5-100-20 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2364 2/12/09 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-43-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3413 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-43-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3413 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-43-30 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3414 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-170-20 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3186 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-30 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3186 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-50 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3188 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-60 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3188 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-70 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3190 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-75 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3194 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-80 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3196 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-85 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3197 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-150 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3199 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-215 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3237 5/21/09 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 10-20-683 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 48-60-13 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-17 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-60 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
18 VAC 60-20-16 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3015 7/1/09 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2970 5/13/09 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 65-30-180 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 76-20-60 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-20-70 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-40-20 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3239 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-25-15 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-30-100 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-50-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-60-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-60-90 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
18 VAC 90-60-91 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
18 VAC 90-60-92 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2973 5/13/09 
18 VAC 95-20-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3418 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-20-70 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 7/1/09 
18 VAC 95-20-175 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3419 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-20-390 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3419 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-30-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-30-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 7/1/09 
18 VAC 105-20-60 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3240 7/1/09 
18 VAC 110-20-10 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-21 Added 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 110-20-400 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-740 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-750 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-760 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-770 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-780 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-790 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-800 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 112-20-25 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 112-20-81 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3240 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-90 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-130 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-131 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-150 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3242 6/10/09 
18 VAC 120-40-15 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-85 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-240 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2775 5/14/09 
18 VAC 125-20-120 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 125-30-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 130-20-30 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 140-20-100 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3247 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3421 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-74 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3424 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-76 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3424 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-80 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3425 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-82 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3425 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-84 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3426 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-90 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3427 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-94 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3429 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-96 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3430 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-97 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3431 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-98 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3432 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-102 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-104 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-106 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-109 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3434 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-140 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3435 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-145 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3435 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-150 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3436 7/1/09 
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Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 40-35-5 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3438 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3438 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3440 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-40 through 22 VAC 40-35-120 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3441-3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-125 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-126 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-127 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-128 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-130 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3448 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-160 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3453 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-210 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3453 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-660 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3454 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-670 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3455 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-170-10 through 22 VAC 40-170-230 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3456 7/1/09 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 30-92-10 through 24 VAC 30-92-150 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2777-2801 3/9/09 
24 VAC 30-280-20 through 24 VAC 30-280-70 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3456 7/1/09 
24 VAC 30-281-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3457 7/1/09 
24 VAC 30-300-10 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3457 4/29/09 
24 VAC 30-301-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3458 4/29/09 
24 VAC 30-301-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3458 4/29/09 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 2VAC5-140, Health Requirements 
Governing the Admission of Livestock, Poultry, 
Companion Animals, and Other Animals or Birds into 
Virginia. The purpose of the proposed action is to establish 
the requirements for testing and documentation of livestock 
and certain other animals to be allowed to come into Virginia. 
The existing regulation will be reviewed and updated where 
appropriate to require the use of appropriate testing methods 
for those animals entering Virginia permanently and for 
exhibition. The regulation currently requires that animals 
coming into Virginia shall be accompanied by a certificate of 
veterinary inspection to create a record to document the 
origin, destination, test results, and relevant vaccinations of 
animals coming into Virginia from other states. The 
information required on the certificates of veterinary 
inspection will be reviewed for compatibility with current 
epidemiology practices and record management systems. The 
regulations will also be reviewed for continuing need and 
effectiveness. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-6001, 3.2-6002, and 3.2-6004 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Richard D. Saunders, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 692-0601, FAX 
(804) 371-2380, or email doug.saunders@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1891; Filed May 12, 2009, 12:37 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 2VAC5-320, Regulations for the 
Enforcement of the Endangered Plant and Insect Species 
Act. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend the lists 
of endangered and threatened plant and insect species by (i) 
removing from the regulation a plant species that is no longer 
globally rare, (ii) transferring certain plant species from the 
endangered list to the threatened list to reflect the improved 
status of those species, and (iii) adding to the endangered and 

threatened lists certain plant and insect species that are 
considered in danger of extinction, or which are likely to 
become endangered in the foreseeable future throughout all or 
a significant portion of their native range. This action reflects 
the imperiled status of the various species and it seeks to 
protect them from take and destruction. It will also stimulate 
conservation programs to preserve and protect the affected 
species. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-1002 and 3.2-1005 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Frank Fulgham, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P. O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-0440, FAX 
(804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
frank.fulgham@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1869; Filed May 12, 2009, 12:31 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Forestry intends 
to consider amending the following regulations: 4VAC10-30, 
Virginia State Forest Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to allow the lawful carrying of concealed 
handguns with a concealed handgun permit. Once the State 
Forest regulations are successfully amended, the requirements 
for carrying handguns on State Forests will be similar to those 
governing handguns on State Parks. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1101 of the Code of Virginia.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Ronald S. Jenkins, Administrative Officer, 
Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 
800, Charlottesville, VA 22903, telephone (434) 977-6555, 
FAX (434) 293-2768, or email ron.jenkins@dof.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1822; Filed May 11, 2009, 3:55 p.m.  
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  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Corrections intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 6VAC15-80, 
Standards for Planning, Design, Construction and 
Reimbursement of Local Correctional Facilities. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to establish requirements 
for planning, design and construction of local and regional 
correctional facilities, as well as reimbursement guidelines. 
Revised regulations will provide for easier comprehension by 
those localities directly affected. The standards include, but 
are not limited to design requirements for secure local 
correctional facilities, community custody facilities and 
lockups, submission schedules for reviews, reimbursement 
requests, requirements for submission of Community-Based 
Corrections Plans and planning study, methods of 
reimbursement, and project documentation. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 53.1-5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Brooks Ballard, Architectural & 
Engineering Services, Department of Corrections, 6900 
Atmore Drive, Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-
3102, FAX (804) 674-3529, or email 
brooks.ballard@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1823; Filed May 18, 2009, 1:31 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management 
Board intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 9VAC20-85, Coal Combustion Byproduct 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
provide for the use, reuse and reclamation of coal combustion 
byproducts (CCB). Administrative procedures are provided 
for the submission of appropriate documentation for the use 
of CCB. In addition, the regulation establishes appropriate 

standards for siting, design, construction, operation, and 
closure of projects using CCB. During the development of 
amendment 7 to the Virginia Solid Waste Management 
Regulations (VSWMR), the Amendment 7 Technical 
Advisory Committee (TAC) discussed (i) incorporating the 
Coal Combustion Byproducts Regulation into the VSWMR 
and (ii) areas of the Coal Combustion Byproducts 
Regulations that should be reviewed. As a result of those 
discussions, 7 TAC recommended that the Coal Combustion 
Byproducts Regulation remain separate from the VSWMR 
and that any necessary revisions to the program should be 
undertaken in a separate rulemaking. The CCB regulations 
will be updated to incorporate changes to statute enacted by 
the 2009 General Assembly. These statutory changes address 
the placement of CCB in an area located within a 100-year 
floodplain. This amendment will also consider including 
additional restrictions on the use and placement of CCB. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 6941; and 40 CFR Part 257. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 10, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Melissa S. Porterfield, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email msporterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1912; Filed May 12, 2009, 9:33 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 12VAC30-120, Waivered Services. The purpose 
of the proposed action is to update the Alzheimer's Assisted 
Living Waiver program to create greater capacity for provider 
enrollment. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Steve Ankiel, Long Term Care Division, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
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Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 317-8894, 
FAX (804) 371-4986, or email 
steve.ankiel@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1909; Filed May 13, 2009, 1:40 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 13VAC5-21, Virginia Certification 
Standards. The purpose of the proposed action is to update 
the regulation to coordinate with the building and fire 
regulations of the department, which are being updated to 
reference the newest available nationally recognized model 
codes and standards. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 36-137 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Steve Calhoun, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501 
North Second Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-7015, FAX (804) 371-7090, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1897; Filed May 12, 2009, 9:43 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 13VAC5-31, Virginia Amusement 
Device Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
update the regulation to incorporate by reference the newest 
available nationally recognized codes and standards. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, The Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., 
Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX 

(804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1892; Filed May 12, 2009, 9:44 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 13VAC5-51, Virginia Statewide Fire 
Prevention Code. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
update the regulation to incorporate by reference the newest 
available nationally recognized codes and standards. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, The Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX 
(804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1893; Filed May 12, 2009, 9:44 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 13VAC5-63, Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to update the regulation to incorporate by reference 
the newest available nationally recognized model building 
codes and standards produced by the International Code 
Council. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, The Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX 
(804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1894; Filed May 12, 2009, 9:45 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
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Community Development intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 13VAC5-91, Virginia Industrialized 
Building Safety Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to  update the regulation to incorporate by reference 
the newest available nationally recognized model building 
codes and standards produced by ICC. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 36-73 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, The Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX 
(804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1895; Filed May 12, 2009, 9:46 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 13VAC5-95, Virginia Manufactured 
Home Safety Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to update the Manufactured Housing Safety 
Regulations to incorporate by reference the recent changes 
and additions to the federal construction standards of the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 36-85.7 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, The Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX 
(804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1896; Filed May 12, 2009, 9:45 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Accountancy intends 
to consider amending the following regulations: 18VAC5-21, 
Board of Accountancy Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to reduce the number of educational hours 
needed before an individual can sit for the the uniform 
certified public accountant examination. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Mike D. Roger, Acting Executive Director, 
Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Perimeter 
Center, Suite 402, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 
367-0290, FAX (804) 527-4409, or email 
mike.rogers@boa.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1099; Filed May 14, 2009, 3:37 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Physical Therapy 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
18VAC112-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physical Therapy. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
amend the regulation to provide more flexibility and 
accountability in traineeships and provide more opportunities 
for obtaining continuing education hours. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1926; Filed May 11, 2009, 2:17 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider promulgating the following regulations: 
22VAC40-221, Additional Daily Supervision Rate 
Structure. The purpose of the proposed action is to establish 
a requirement for the use of an approved Department of 
Social Services process to assess a child for the purpose of 
determining the additional daily supervision component of 
the foster care maintenance payment. It will also establish 
standards for local departments of social services to use when 
providing additional daily supervision. This regulation is 
needed to ensure that Virginia meets federal requirements for 
seeking federal reimbursement by having a statewide rate 
structure for local departments to use in determining the 
additional daily supervision component of the foster care 
maintenance payment. Standards for providing additional 
daily supervision are needed to ensure a comprehensive 
approach and consistency statewide. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Program Manager, Policy and 
Legislation, Department of Social Services, Division of 
Family Services, 7 North Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 726-7926, FAX (804) 726-7985, TTY 
(800) 828-1849, or email phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1868; Filed May 20, 2009, 10:34 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
22VAC40-601, Food Stamp Program. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to change all references to the Food Stamp 
Program to the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP) and food stamp benefits to SNAP benefits. The U.S. 
Congress enacted legislation to rename the program and 
adoption of the name lessens potential confusion. 22VAC40-
601-50 amends the regulation to address handling pending 
applications for the Food Stamp Program. Federal regulations 
allow states an option to either deny applications after 30 
days if the local department of social services is unable to 
process the application, or to hold the application, as pending 
for an additional 30-day period. The State Board of Social 
Services would like to adopt the provision to deny an 
application after 30 days instead of holding it as pending for 

an additional 30-day period before disposing of it. This 
process would require reopening denied applications if an 
applicant subsequently supplied needed information to 
determine eligibility and benefit level after the 30th day but 
before the 60th day following the application date. 
22VAC40-601-60 amends the regulation to allow an 
extension of food stamp transitional benefits to state-funded 
public assistance programs. Transitional benefits are currently 
limited to Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
cases. This amendment would allow transitional food stamp 
benefits when state-funded programs close. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Celestine Jackson, Program Consultant, 
Department of Social Services, Division of Benefit Programs, 
7 North 8th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
726-7376, FAX (804) 726-7356, TTY (800) 828-1120, or 
email celestine.jackson@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1977; Filed May 13, 2009, 3:32 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-40. Safety and Health 
Regulations for Mineral Mining (amending 4VAC25-40-
25, 4VAC25-40-90, 4VAC25-40-120, 4VAC25-40-130, 
4VAC25-40-190, 4VAC25-40-260, 4VAC25-40-350, 
4VAC25-40-410, 4VAC25-40-720, 4VAC25-40-780, 
4VAC25-40-800, 4VAC25-40-810, 4VAC25-40-880, 
4VAC25-40-890, 4VAC25-40-1600, 4VAC25-40-2790, 
4VAC25-40-2800, 4VAC25-40-2980, 4VAC25-40-3800, 
4VAC25-40-3830, 4VAC25-40-3840, 4VAC25-40-3990, 
4VAC25-40-4060, 4VAC25-40-4240, 4VAC25-40-4260, 
4VAC25-40-4400; adding 4VAC25-40-365, 4VAC25-40-
893, 4VAC25-40-925, 4VAC25-40-1095, 4VAC25-40-4061, 
4VAC25-40-4062, 4VAC25-40-4063, 4VAC25-40-4064, 
4VAC25-40-4065, 4VAC25-40-4066; repealing 4VAC25-
40-3050, 4VAC25-40-3060, 4VAC25-40-3070, 4VAC25-40-
3080, 4VAC25-40-3090, 4VAC25-40-3110, 4VAC25-40-
3120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3, 45.1-161.294, and 45.1-
161.305 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: David Spears, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Washington 
Building, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As a result of a periodic review, the Department of Mines, 
Minerals and Energy (DMME) has amended 4VAC25-40, 
Safety and Health Regulations for Mineral Mining. The 
amendments improve this chapter by making technical 
corrections, clarifying unclear language, updating 
references, making the regulation internally consistent and 
consistent with the Code of Virginia, and strengthening 
certain provisions relating to mine safety. Sections 
strengthened relate to blasting, mine rescue, and 
construction and maintenance of mine structures. 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: Also as a result of the periodic 
review, DMME moved the designations for Articles 6 and 
10 of Part XV such that they precede 4VAC25-40-3560 
and 4VAC25-40-4070, respectively.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

4VAC25-40-25. Purpose and authority. 

The purpose of this chapter is to provide for the protection 
of persons and property on and around mineral mines. The 
chapter works with the Virginia Mineral Mine Safety Act 
(§ 45.1-161.292:1 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia (as shown 
in Mineral Mine Safety Laws of Virginia, 1997 2005 edition). 
Refer to the Act for other definitions and requirements related 
to this chapter.  

4VAC25-40-90. Documents incorporated by reference.  

A. 1996 Threshold Limit Values and Biological Exposure 
Indices published by the American Conference of 
Governmental Industrial Hygienists.  

B. American Table of Distances, 1991 edition, published by 
the Institute of Makers of Explosives.  

C. National Electrical Code, 1996 2008 edition, published 
by the National Fire Protection Association.  

D. Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, Boiler and 
Pressure Vessel Safety Division, Boiler and Pressure Vessel 
Regulations, amended 1995 2007 by the Virginia Department 
of Labor and Industry.  

E. Bureau of Mines Instruction Guide 19, Mine Emergency 
Training, U.S. Department of Labor, 1972 edition.  

F. Blasting Guidance Manual, U.S. Department of Interior, 
Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, 
1987 edition.  

G. The American National Standard for Wire Rope for 
Miners, M11.1-1980, published by the American National 
Standards Institute.  

H. Addresses for references may be obtained from the 
division.  

4VAC25-40-120. When foreman required.  

When three or more persons are working in a mine, a 
certified mine foreman shall be employed who shall ensure 
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that all activities under the foreman's supervision are 
conducted in a safe manner in compliance with applicable 
laws and regulations adopted by the department. The director 
may designate an approved competent person to perform the 
duties of a certified surface mine foreman except for the 
preshift examination made at the beginning of each shift. 

4VAC25-40-130. Examination by foreman. 

The certified mine foreman shall examine active workings at 
the beginning of each shift. Any hazardous or unsafe 
condition shall be corrected prior to personnel starting work 
in the affected area. If the hazardous or unsafe condition 
cannot be corrected immediately, the affected area shall be 
barricaded and posted with warning signs. A documented 
record of the examination shall be made and shall include the 
date, areas examined, time work began in the area, and time 
of examination. A documented record of hazards found and 
corrective actions taken shall also be made. The records shall 
be signed or certified by the certified mine foreman making 
the examination. A record Records of the daily inspection 
examinations made at the beginning of each shift shall be 
kept for one year.  

4VAC25-40-190. Compliance with regulations.  

Mine employees Miners shall comply with all state safety 
and health regulations applicable to their task or duties.  

4VAC25-40-260. Posting hazards. 

Areas containing safety or health hazards that are not 
immediate immediately obvious to personnel shall be 
barricaded or posted with warning signs specifying the hazard 
and proper safety procedures.  

4VAC25-40-350. Repairing machinery. 

Repairs or maintenance shall not be performed on 
machinery until the power is off and the machinery is blocked 
against motion, except where machinery motion is necessary 
to make adjustments. Energy sources, other than those related 
to electricity (which are covered under 4VAC25-40-2140 and 
4VAC25-40-2150) or internal combustion (which are covered 
under 4VAC25-40-1685), which pose a hazard to miners, 
shall be tagged out and signed by marked by a means that 
identifies the individuals doing the work, and locked out if 
practical, by each authorized person exposed to the hazard. 
Tags or locks shall be removed only by the persons who 
installed them or by an authorized person, after ensuring that 
affected persons are in the clear. 

4VAC25-40-365. Construction and maintenance of 
structures. 

Structures shall be of substantial construction and 
maintained in safe condition. 

4VAC25-40-410. Benches.  

Benches shall be wide enough to allow safe operation and 
passage of equipment.  

Part V  
Air Quality and Physical Agents—Surface and Underground  

4VAC25-40-720. Employee exposure limits to airborne 
contaminants.  

With respect to airborne contaminants, the following shall 
apply:  

1. Employees shall be withdrawn from areas where 
airborne contaminants given a "C" designation in 
Threshold Limit Values and Biological Exposure Indices 
are present in concentrations that exceed specified TLVs.  

2. Control of employee exposure to harmful airborne 
contaminants shall be by feasible engineering control 
methods. If such control measures are not available, an 
approved program of controlling employee exposure to 
airborne contaminants shall be implemented by the 
operator. Miners exposed for short periods to gas, dust, 
fumes and mist-inhalation hazards shall wear permissible 
acceptable respiratory equipment appropriate for the 
hazard. When the exposure is for prolonged periods, other 
measures to protect workers or to reduce the hazard shall 
be taken.  

Part VI  
Explosives—Surface and Underground  

4VAC25-40-780. Storage of explosive materials.  

A. Detonators and explosives, other than blasting agents, 
shall be stored in magazines accepted by the Institute of 
Makers of Explosives or other approved agency.  

B. Detonators shall not be stored in the same magazine with 
explosives.  

C. Explosives magazines shall be:  

1. Located in accordance with the American Table of 
Distances;  

2. Detached structures located away from power lines, fuel 
storage areas, and other possible sources of fire;  

3. Constructed substantially Of substantial construction 
and constructed of noncombustible material or covered 
with fire-resistant material;  

4. Reasonably bullet resistant;  

5. Electrically bonded and grounded if constructed of 
metal;  

6. Made of nonsparking material on the inside, including 
floors;  
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7. Provided with adequate and effectively screened 
ventilation openings near the floor and ceiling;  

8. Kept locked securely when unattended;  

9. Posted with suitable danger signs so located that a bullet 
passing through the sign will not strike the magazine;  

10. Used exclusively for storage of explosives or 
detonators and blasting-related materials;  

11. Kept clean and dry in the interior and in good repair;  

12. Unheated, unless heated in a manner that does not 
create a fire or explosion hazard. Electrical heating devices 
shall not be used inside a magazine; and  

13. Located at least 300 feet away from any underground 
mine opening, occupied building, public road, or private 
road not used in connection with the mine.  

D. An accurate inventory log of explosives stored in the 
magazine shall be maintained on site.  

E. Any theft or unaccounted loss of explosives shall be 
reported immediately by telephone to local police, state 
police, the U.S. Department of Treasury Justice, [ The ] 
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and, Firearms, and Explosives 
and the Division of Mineral Mining.  

F. Smoking or open flames shall be prohibited within 50 feet 
of explosives magazines or blasting agents storage facilities.  

G. Areas surrounding magazines and facilities for the 
storage of blasting agents shall be kept clear of combustible 
materials, except live trees over 10 feet tall, for a distance of 
50 feet in all directions.  

H. Prior to repairs of a magazine which may cause a fire or 
explosion, the contents shall be removed to a safe location 
and guarded.  

I. Explosives stored in magazines shall be:  

1. Arranged so that the oldest stock is used first;  

2. Separated by brand and type;  

3. Stored with their top sides up; and  

4. Stacked in a stable manner not over eight feet high.  

J. When stored with other explosives, ammonium nitrate 
fuel oil blasting agents shall be physically separated to 
prevent contamination.  

K. Damaged or deteriorated explosives and blasting agents 
shall be destroyed in a safe manner by a certified blaster.  

4VAC25-40-800. Use of explosives. 

A. A certified blaster shall be in direct charge of blasting 
activities. 

B. Persons who assist in blasting activities shall be under the 
direct supervision of the certified blaster in charge and shall 
be alerted to the hazards involved. 

C. Black powder or safety fuse shall not be used without 
approval from the director. Special approvals shall specify 
use restrictions and procedures necessary for safe storage, 
transportation, and use. 

D. The design and loading of a blast shall provide sufficient 
burden, spacing, and stemming to prevent flyrock or other 
dangerous effects. Flyrock incidents shall be reported to the 
division immediately and details noted in the blast record.  

E. Boreholes shall not be drilled where there is a danger of 
intersecting a loaded or misfired hole.  

F. No person shall smoke or use an open flame within 50 
feet of explosives or detonators.  

G. Prior to bringing explosives and detonators to the blast 
site, the certified blaster in charge shall:  

1. Weather Monitor weather conditions shall be monitored 
to ensure safe loading and firing;  

2. The Inspect the blast site shall be inspected for hazards;  

3. The Inspect and clear the boreholes shall be inspected 
and cleared of obstructions; and  

4. Personnel Remove personnel and equipment, except 
those used in loading the shot, shall be removed from the 
blast site.  

H. The certified blaster in charge shall review the drill logs 
to determine specific downhole conditions prior to loading 
the shot. 

H. I. Boreholes to be blasted shall be loaded as near to the 
blasting time as practical. Loaded shots shall be blasted as 
soon as possible upon completion of loading and connection 
to the initiation device. Surface blasting shall be conducted 
during daylight hours only.  

I. J. Explosives shall be kept a safe distance from detonators 
until they are made into a primer.  

J. K. Primers shall not be made up or assembled in advance 
of the borehole being loaded.  

K. L. Only wooden or other nonsparking implements shall 
be used to punch holes in an explosive cartridge.  

L. M. Detonators shall be inserted completely and securely 
into explosive cartridges used as primers. Priming shall be 
sufficient to detonate the explosive column in the borehole.  

M. N. Primers shall be inserted into the borehole slowly to 
prevent accidental detonation from impact, and tamping shall 
not be done directly on the primer.  

N. O. Tamping poles shall be constructed of wood and/or 
nonsparking materials.  
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O. P. Unused explosives, detonators, and blasting agents 
shall be returned to the magazine or storage facility upon 
completion of loading activities and prior to firing the blast.  

P. Q. Equipment and machinery used to load or stem 
boreholes shall not be operated over loaded boreholes for any 
reason. Areas containing loaded boreholes shall be guarded or 
barricaded and posted to prevent unauthorized entry.  

Q. R. Blast warning signals shall be established and posted 
at the mine. Audible warning signals shall be given prior to 
firing a blast.  

R. S. All personnel shall be removed from the blast area 
prior to connection to the initiation device and the firing of a 
blast.  

S. T. Blasting personnel shall fire shots from a safe location.  

T. U. A post-blast examination of the blast area shall be 
made by the certified blaster in charge. Other personnel shall 
not return to the blasting area until an all clear signal is 
received from the certified blaster in charge.  

4VAC25-40-810. Recordkeeping.  

A detailed record of each surface blast shall be prepared 
immediately by the certified blaster. Records shall be 
maintained for three years and subject to inspection by the 
division mine inspectors. Records shall contain the following 
information:  

1. Name of company or contractor;  

2. Location, date, and time of blast;  

3. Name, signature, and certification number of the 
certified blaster in charge;  

4. Type of material blasted;  

5. Number of holes, and burden and spacing for each hole;  

6. Diameter, depth and condition Drill logs of boreholes as 
required by 4VAC25-40-1095;  

7. Types of explosives used;  

8. Total amount of explosives used;  

9. Maximum amount of explosives per delay period of 
eight milliseconds or greater;  

10. Method of firing and type of circuit;  

11. Direction and distance in feet to nearest dwelling 
house, public building, school, church, commercial or 
institutional building neither owned nor leased by the 
person conducting the blasting;  

12. Weather conditions (including such factors as wind 
directions, etc.);  

13. Height or length of stemming;  

14. Whether mats or other protections were used;  

15. Type of detonators used and delay periods used timing 
of detonation for each detonator used;  

16. The person taking the seismograph reading shall 
accurately indicate exact location of seismograph, if used, 
and shall also show the distance of seismograph from blast;  

17. Seismograph records, including seismograph readings, 
where required:  

a. Name and signature of person operating seismograph;  

b. Name of person analyzing the seismograph record; and  

c. Seismograph reading; and  

18. Maximum number of holes per delay period of eight 
milliseconds or greater; and  

19. All anomalies or abnormalities occurring during the 
execution of the blast and actions taken to correct or 
address them. 

4VAC25-40-880. Ground vibration from blasting.  

A. Ground vibration, measured as peak particle velocity 
resulting from blasting, shall not exceed the limits set forth 
below at any inhabited building not owned or leased by the 
operator, without approval of the director. A seismographic 
record shall be provided for each blast.  

Distance (D) to 
nearest 

inhabited 
building, feet 

Peak Particle 
Velocity, 
inches per 

second 

Ds (when not 
using a 

seismograph) 

0 - 300 1.25 50 

301 - 5,000 1.00 55 

5,001 and 
beyond 

0.75 65 

B. If seismic Seismic monitoring of each blast is not shall be 
conducted, blasting shall be in accordance unless the scaled 
distance, Ds, as calculated with the following scaled distance 
formulas, is 90 or greater:  

 
W = Maximum charge weight of explosives per delay 
period of 8.0 milliseconds or more.  

D = Distance in feet from the blast site to the nearest 
inhabited building not owned or leased by the mine 
operator.  

Ds = Scaled distance factor shown in table in subsection A 
of this section.  

C. The operator may use the alternative ground vibration 
limits shown below to determine the maximum allowable 
ground vibration. If these limits are used, a seismographic 
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record including both particle velocity and vibration 
frequency levels shall be kept for each blast. Ground 
vibration levels and airblast levels are taken from the Blasting 
Guidance Manual.  

 
4VAC25-40-890. Airblast Air overpressure limits. 

Airblast Air overpressure resulting from surface blasting 
shall not exceed 129 133 decibels, as measured with a 2Hz or 
lower flat response microphone, at any private inhabited 
building not owned or leased by the operator unless an 
alternate level based on the sensitivity of the seismograph 
microphone as specified below is being used.  

Lower Frequency Limit of 
Measuring System, in Hz 

Max. Level in dB 
(3dB) 

1 Hz or lower--flat response* 134 peak 

2 Hz or lower--flat response 133 peak 

6 Hz or lower--flat response 129 peak 

C-weighted slow response 105 peak dBC 

*Only when approved by the director.  

4VAC25-40-893. Action plans. 

Each operator shall maintain a plan to control the effects of 
blasting on areas adjacent to the operation.  This plan will be 
documented and made available for review by the Division of 
Mineral Mining upon request. 

4VAC25-40-925. Electronic detonators. 

Electronic detonation systems shall be approved by the 
director as providing performance equivalent to that required 

in 4VAC25-40-920, and shall be used in accordance with the 
manufacturer's instructions. 

4VAC25-40-1095. Drill logs required for boreholes 
intended for blasting. 

For each borehole intended for blasting, the driller shall 
produce a drill log as each hole is being drilled.  The drill log 
shall include, at minimum, the name of the driller, borehole 
diameter, borehole depth, depth of broken material at the 
collar, and other geological conditions (for example, cracks, 
seams, voids, mud, or any other anomalies that could affect 
the blast) encountered during drilling.  A signed copy of the 
drill log shall be provided to the mine operator and a copy 
shall be included in the record of the blast. 

4VAC25-40-1600. Avoiding loaders mobile equipment in 
operation.  

Persons shall remain clear of mobile equipment in operation 
and shall not work or pass under the buckets or booms of 
loaders equipment in operation.  

4VAC25-40-2790. Inspection of work area.  

Miners shall examine and test, where possible, the back, 
face, and ribs of their working areas, visually and by 
sounding, at the beginning of each shift and frequently 
thereafter. Competent persons shall examine the ground 
conditions during daily visits to ensure that proper testing and 
ground control practices are being followed. Loose ground 
shall be taken down or adequately supported before any other 
work is done. Ground conditions along haulageways and 
travelways shall be examined periodically and scaled or 
supported as necessary.  

4VAC25-40-2800. Scaling bar to be provided.  

A scaling bar of proper length and blunt on one end design 
shall be provided where manual scaling may be required. 
Picks or other short tools shall not be used for scaling when 
this use places the user in danger of from falling material.  

4VAC25-40-2980. Open flame restrictions.  

Fires shall not be built underground; open flame torches and 
candles shall not be left underground shall be attended at all 
times while lit.  

4VAC25-40-3050. Mine rescue stations. (Repealed.) 

A mine rescue station equipped with at least 10 sets of 
approved and properly maintained two-hour, self-contained, 
breathing apparatus, adequate supplies, and spare parts shall 
be maintained at mines employing 75 or more persons 
underground or, in lieu thereof, the mine shall be affiliated 
with a central mine rescue station.  
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4VAC25-40-3060. Central or cooperative stations. 
(Repealed.) 

Mines at which individual mine rescue stations are not 
maintained shall affiliate with central or cooperative mine 
rescue stations.  

4VAC25-40-3070. Rescue apparatus. (Repealed.) 

Mine rescue apparatus acceptable to the MSHA or other 
approved agency shall be properly maintained for immediate 
use. The equipment shall be tested at least once a month and 
records kept of the test.  

4VAC25-40-3080. Rescue crews to be provided. 
(Repealed.) 

At any mine employing 75 or more persons underground, at 
least two rescue crews (10 persons) shall be trained at least 
annually in the use, care, and limitations of self-contained 
breathing and firefighting apparatus and in mine rescue 
procedures. Smaller mines shall have at least one person so 
trained for each 10 persons employed underground. These 
persons shall complete, at minimum, an approved course of 
instruction as prescribed by MSHA's Office of Educational 
Policy and Development in the use, care, and maintenance of 
the type of breathing apparatus which will be used by the 
mine rescue team. The instruction shall be given by division 
personnel or by persons approved to give such instruction.  

4VAC25-40-3090. Rescue crew personnel. (Repealed.) 

Rescue crews shall include supervisory and key personnel 
familiar with all mine installations that could prove vital to 
firefighting and rescue operations.  

4VAC25-40-3110. Mine evacuation drills. (Repealed.) 

Mine evacuation drills shall be held for each shift once 
every six months. These evacuation drills shall involve all 
employees each shift and shall include:  

1. Activation of the fire alarm system; and  

2. Evacuation of all persons from their work areas to the 
surface or to designated central evacuation points at some 
time other than a shift change.  

Records of such drills, showing the time and date, shall be 
kept for at least two years after each drill.  

4VAC25-40-3120. Instruction in escape plans. (Repealed.) 

All employees involved in the escape and evacuation plan 
for an underground operation shall be instructed at least once 
each calendar year on current escape and evacuation plans, 
fire alarm signals, and applicable procedures to be followed 
in case of fire or other emergency. New employees shall 
receive such instructions before going underground. 
Whenever an employee is assigned to work in another area of 
the mine, he shall be instructed on the escapeway for that area 
at the time of such assignment. However, employees who 

normally work in more than one area of the mine shall be 
instructed at least once each calendar year in the location of 
escapeways for all areas of the mine in which they normally 
work or travel. Whenever a change is made in escape and 
evacuation plans and procedures for any area of the mine, all 
affected employees shall be instructed of such change. 
Records of instruction shall be kept for two years.  

4VAC25-40-3800. Steep Fixed ladders.  

Ladders with an inclination of more than 70° off the 
horizontal shall be offset and have landing gates, backguards 
or substantial landings at least every 30 feet. Fixed ladders 
shall be equipped with backguards starting at a point not more 
than seven feet from the bottom of the ladder meet the 
requirements of 4VAC25-40-1990 and 4VAC25-40-2000.  

4VAC25-40-3830. Refuge areas.  

Refuge areas shall be:  

1. Of fire-resistant construction, preferably in untimbered 
areas of the mine;  

2. Large enough to accommodate readily the normal 
number of persons in the particular area of the mine;  

3. Constructed so they can be made gas-tight; and  

4. Provided with compressed air lines, waterlines 
telephones, adequate air and water supplies, suitable hand 
tools, and stopping materials. 

4VAC25-40-3840. Development of escape and evacuation 
plan.  

A specific escape and evacuation plan, and revisions thereof, 
suitable to the conditions and mining system of the mine and 
showing assigned responsibilities of all key personnel in the 
event of an emergency shall be developed by the operator and 
set out in written form. A copy of the plan and revisions 
thereof shall be available to the director or an authorized 
representative, and any affiliated mine rescue teams. Also 
copies of the plans and revisions thereof shall be posted at 
locations convenient to all persons on the surface and 
underground. Such a plan shall be updated as necessary and 
shall be reviewed jointly by the operator and the director or 
his authorized representative at least once every six months 
from the date of the last review. The plan shall include:  

1. Mine maps or diagrams showing all underground 
workings, locations of surface and underground ventilation 
fans and ventilation controls, directions of principal air 
flow, locations of refuge chambers, locations of first aid 
supplies and firefighting equipment, locations of main 
electrical installations and disconnects, locations of surface 
and underground fuel storage, locations of surface and 
underground facilities to store explosives and detonators, 
location of escape routes and locations of existing 
telephones or other voice communication devices (see 
4VAC25-40-3120 and 4VAC25-40-3850);  
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2. A plan for fire prevention, warning, emergency 
evacuation, firefighting plan and emergency medical 
assistance;  

3. Surface procedure to follow in an emergency, including 
the notification of proper authorities and preparing rescue 
equipment and other equipment which may be used in 
rescue and recovery operations; and  

4. A statement of the location and availability of mine 
rescue personnel and equipment; 

5. A plan for instruction of mine workers and rescue 
personnel; and 

4. 6. A statement of the availability of emergency 
communication and communications, transportation 
facilities, emergency power and ventilation and location of 
rescue personnel and equipment.  

4VAC25-40-3990. Self-rescue devices to be made available 
requirements. 

A Each mine having underground workings shall submit to 
the [ Division division ] a plan for the number, type, and 
location(s) of self-rescue devices sufficient for the number of 
persons working underground and the hazards particular to 
the underground workings of the mine. At a minimum, a one 
hour filter self-rescue device approved by the MSHA shall be 
made available by the operator to all personnel underground. 
The filter self-rescue devices shall be maintained in a good 
condition by a daily visual check and weighing of the devices 
every six months, with maintenance records kept.  

Article 9  
Safety Program  

4VAC25-40-4060. Mine emergency and self-rescue 
training.  

A. On an annual basis all persons who are required to go 
underground shall be instructed in an approved course 
contained in applicable sections of the Bureau of Mines 
Instruction Guide 19, Mine Emergency Training.  

B. On an annual basis all persons who are required to go 
underground shall be instructed in the use of the individual 
self-rescuer self-rescue device provided to them. The 
instruction shall be given by division personnel or by persons 
who are approved by the MSHA to give such instructions; 
provided, however, that if a division instructor or an approved 
instructor is not immediately available, such instruction of 
new employees in self-rescuers may be conducted by 
competent persons a competent person using a training model 
of the same type as the self-rescue device provided to the 
employee.  

4VAC25-40-4061. Mine rescue stations. 

Mines employing 75 or more persons underground shall 
either: 

1. Maintain a mine rescue station equipped with at least 10 
self-contained oxygen breathing apparatus, each with a 
minimum of two hours capacity, along with adequate 
supplies and spare parts; or 

2. Affiliate with central or cooperative mine rescue stations 
that can provide two fully equipped mine rescue teams in 
the event of an emergency. Such affiliations shall be in 
writing and must be approved annually by the director. 

4VAC25-40-4062. Rescue apparatus. 

Mine rescue apparatus shall be acceptable to the MSHA or 
other approved agency and shall be properly maintained for 
immediate use. The equipment shall be tested at least once a 
month and records kept of the tests for at least one year. 

4VAC25-40-4063. Rescue crews to be provided. 

At any mine employing 75 or more persons underground, at 
least two rescue crews of five persons each shall be trained at 
least annually in the use, care, and limitations of self-
contained oxygen breathing and firefighting apparatus and in 
mine rescue procedures. The training shall be given by 
division personnel or by persons approved to give such 
instruction. Rescue crews shall include supervisory and key 
personnel familiar with all mine installations that could prove 
vital to firefighting and rescue operations. 

4VAC25-40-4064. Alternative mine rescue capability. 

Mines employing fewer than 75 persons underground shall 
maintain mine rescue capabilities as described in 4VAC25-
40-4061 through 4VAC25-40-4063, or the operator may 
request in writing and obtain approval from the director for an 
alternative mine rescue capability. Such alternative mine 
rescue plans shall be subject to annual review and approval. 

4VAC25-40-4065. Mine evacuation drills. 

Mine evacuation drills shall be held for each shift once 
every six months. These evacuation drills shall involve all 
employees each shift and shall include:  

1. Activation of the fire alarm system; and  

2. Evacuation of all persons from their work areas to the 
surface or to designated central evacuation points at some 
time other than a shift change.  

Records of such drills, showing the time and date, shall be 
kept for at least two years after each drill.  

4VAC25-40-4066. Instruction in escape plans. 

All persons who work underground shall be instructed at 
least once each calendar year on current escape and 
evacuation plans, fire alarm signals, and applicable 
procedures to be followed in case of fire or other emergency. 
New employees shall receive such instructions before going 
underground. Whenever an employee is assigned to work in 
another area of the mine, he shall be instructed on the 
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escapeway for that area at the time of such assignment. 
However, employees who normally work in more than one 
area of the mine shall be instructed at least once each calendar 
year in the location of escapeways for all areas of the mine in 
which they normally work or travel. Whenever a change is 
made in escape and evacuation plans and procedures for any 
area of the mine, all affected employees shall be instructed of 
such change. Records of instruction shall be kept for two 
years.  

4VAC25-40-4240. Installation of wire ropes.  

At installation, the nominal strength (manufacturer's 
published catalog strength) of wire ropes used for hoisting 
shall meet the minimum rope strength values obtained by the 
following formulas in which "L" equals the maximum 
suspended rope length in feet:  

1. Winding drum ropes (all constructions, including 
rotation resistant):  

For rope lengths less than 3,000 feet:  

Minimum Value = Static Load X (7.0 - 0.001L)  

For rope lengths 3,000 feet or greater:  

Minimum Value = Static Load X 4.0  

2. Friction drum ropes:  

For rope lengths less than 4,000 feet:  

Minimum Value = Static Load X (7.0 - 0.005L) (7.0 - 
 0.0005L)  

For rope lengths 4,000 feet or greater:  

Minimum Value = Static Load X 5.0  

3. Tall Tail ropes (balance ropes):  

Minimum Value = Weight of Rope X 7.0  

4VAC25-40-4260. Wire rope examination.  

A. Wire rope attachments shall be replaced when cracked, 
deformed, or excessively worn.  

B. At least once every 14 calendar days, each wire rope in 
service shall be visually examined along its entire active 
length for visible structural damage, corrosion, and improper 
lubrication or dressing. In addition, visual examination for 
wear and broken wires shall be made at stress points, 
including the area near attachments, where the rope rests on 
sheaves, where the rope leaves the drum, at drum crossovers, 
and at change of layer regions. When any visible condition 
that results in a reduction of rope strength is present, the 
affected portion of the rope shall be examined on a daily 
basis.  

C. Before any person is hoisted with a newly installed wire 
rope or any wire rope that has not been examined in the 

previous 14 calendar days, the wire rope shall be examined in 
accordance with subsection B of this section.  

D. At least once every six months, nondestructive tests shall 
be conducted of the active length of the rope, or rope 
diameter measurements shall be made:  

1. Wherever wear is evident;  

2. Where the hoist rope rests on sheaves at regular stopping 
points; and  

3. Where the hoist rope leaves the drum at regular stopping 
points and at drum crossover and change of layer regions.  

E. At the completion of each examination required by 
subsections B, C and D of this section, the person making the 
examination shall certify by signature and date that the 
examination has been made. If any condition listed in 
subsection D B of this section is present, the person 
conducting the examination shall make a record of the 
condition and the date. Certifications and records of 
examinations shall be retained for one year.  

F. The person making the measurements or nondestructive 
tests as required by subsection D of this section shall record 
the measurements or test results and the date. This record 
shall be retained until the rope is retired from service.  

4VAC25-40-4400. Specifications for buckets used to hoist 
persons.  

Buckets used to hoist persons during shaft sinking 
operations shall be provided with adequate guide ropes and 
shall have crossheads equipped with safety catches and 
protective bonnets when the shaft depth exceeds 50 feet.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-944; Filed May 19, 2009, 11:49 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Due to the length, the following 
regulations filed by the State Air Pollution Control Board are 
not being published. However, in accordance with § 2.2-4031 
of the Code of Virginia, the summary is being published in 
lieu of the full text. The full text of the regulations are 
available for public inspection at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations and at the State Air Pollution Control Board (see 
contact information below) and are accessible on the Virginia 
Register of Regulations website at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol25/Welcome.htm. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-20. General Provisions 
(amending 9VAC5-20-21). 
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9VAC5-45. Consumer and Commercial Products (adding 
9VAC5-45-10 through 9VAC5-45-850). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 22, 2009 - 10 a.m. - Department of Environmental 
Quality, Northern Regional Office, Conference Room 1, 
13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 10, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Gary E. Graham, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email gegraham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the State Air Pollution Control Board to promulgate 
regulations abating, controlling, and prohibiting air pollution 
in order to protect public health and welfare. 

Purpose: The purpose of these regulations is to require 
owners to limit emissions of air pollution from portable fuel 
containers, certain consumer products, architectural and 
industrial maintenance coatings, and paving operations to the 
level necessary for (i) the protection of public health and 
welfare, and (ii) the attainment and maintenance of the air 
quality standards. The proposed amendments are being made 
to adopt new and revised standards for the control of VOC 
emissions from adhesive and sealants, portable fuel 
containers, and certain consumer products within the 
Northern Virginia and Fredericksburg VOC Emissions 
Control Areas. This action is being taken to allow Virginia to 
meet its obligation to implement control measures in areas 
designated as nonattainment under the eight-hour ozone 
standard and to implement contingency measures within 
former nonattainment areas that have been redesignated as 
ozone maintenance areas. 

Substance: The proposed regulatory action adds a new 
chapter (9VAC5-45) specifically for regulations pertaining to 
consumer and commercial products and is applicable to 
specific product types and the owners that are involved in the 
manufacture, distribution, retail sales, and in some cases, the 
marketing and use of those products. In Part I of the new 
chapter, special provisions specify the general testing, 
monitoring, compliance, notification, recordkeeping, and 
reporting requirements that are applicable to all articles in the 
new chapter and specify certain other sections of the 
regulations that are not generally applicable.  Exceptions to 
the special provisions are addressed in each individual article 
of the new chapter. 

In Part II of Chapter 45: 

1. The proposed regulatory action establishes standards for 
portable fuel containers for products manufactured before and 

after January 1, 2009, as new Articles 1 and 2 in Chapter 45, 
respectively, and applies to all of the products subject to the 
current provisions of Chapter 40, Article 42, Portable Fuel 
Container Spillage. Article 1 clarifies some Article 42 
exemptions and definitions, adds another exemption category, 
removes obsolete standards and their associated 
administrative requirements, and provides criteria for sell-
through of products. Because Article 1 applies to all products 
manufactured before January 1, 2009, and is designed to 
replace Chapter 40, Article 42, the compliance schedule 
proposed for Article 1 is the same as that in Chapter 40, 
Article 42. Article 2 applies to all portable fuel container 
products manufactured on or after January 1, 2009, and 
requires board precertification of new portable fuel container 
products as compliant with new labeling requirements and 
with new and more stringent design and performance 
standards. Article 2 also includes applicability to a new 
category of owner, and adds (i) new and revised exemptions, 
(ii) new certification procedures, (iii) new testing standards, 
and (iv) alternative compliance provisions for innovative 
products over those provisions now applicable under Chapter 
40, Article 42. The new Article 2 specifies a compliance 
deadline no later than January 1, 2009.  Chapter 40, Article 
42 will be repealed at an appropriate time after the standards 
in the new Articles 1 and 2 are effective. 

2. The proposed regulatory action establishes standards 
Consumer Products for products manufactured before and 
after January 1, 2009, as a new Articles 3 and 4 in Chapter 
45, respectively and applies to all of the products subject to 
the current provisions of Chapter 40, Article 50 Consumer 
Products. Article 3 pertains to consumer products 
manufactured before January 1, 2009, clarifies some 
definitions and standards, makes the Alternative Control Plan 
procedures more flexible, revises labeling, reporting and other 
administrative requirements, and clarifies sell-through 
criteria. Because Article 3 applies to all products 
manufactured before January 1, 2009, and is designed to 
replace Chapter 40, Article 50, the compliance schedule 
proposed for Article 3 is the same as Chapter 40, Article 50. 
Article 4 applies to all consumer products manufactured after 
January 1, 2009, and includes all of the changes made in 
Article 3, adds more definitions and standards for some new 
product categories and establishes new labeling and other 
administrative requirements. Article 4 specifies a compliance 
deadline no later than January 1, 2009. Chapter 40, Article 50 
will be repealed at an appropriate time after the standards in 
the new Articles 3 and 4 are effective. 

3. The proposed regulatory action establishes standards for 
Architectural and Industrial Maintenance Coatings and 
incorporates all of the provisions of Chapter 40, Article 49 
Emission Standards for Architectural and Industrial 
Maintenance Coatings into a new Article 5 in Chapter 45, 
except that the new Article 5 removes some obsolete 
reporting requirements and changes the remaining one to a 
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recordkeeping requirement.  Because the standards and other 
provisions of the new Article 5 are not substantively changed 
from what is in Chapter 40, Article 49, no new compliance 
dates are proposed.  Chapter 40, Article 49 will be repealed at 
an appropriate time after the new Article 5 standards are 
effective. 

4. The proposed regulatory action will add a new regulation, 
Article 6 in the new chapter 45 that establishes new emission 
standards for Adhesives and Sealants. The provisions of this 
article apply to owners who sell, supply, offer for sale or 
manufacture for sale commercial adhesives, sealants, 
adhesive primers, or sealant primers that contain volatile 
organic compounds within the Northern Virginia and 
Fredericksburg VOC Emissions Control Areas. The 
provisions will also apply to owners that use, apply for 
compensation, or solicit the use or application of such 
products in those areas. Exempted from the regulation is any 
such product manufactured in the Northern Virginia or 
Fredericksburg VOC Emissions Control Areas for shipment 
and use outside of these areas. The provisions of this 
regulation will not apply to a manufacturer or distributor who 
sells, supplies, or offers for sale such products that do not 
comply with the VOC standards as long as the manufacturer 
or distributor can demonstrate both that the product is 
intended for shipment and use outside of those areas and that 
the manufacturer or distributor has taken reasonable prudent 
precautions to assure that the product is not distributed in 
those areas.  A number of product-specific exemptions are 
also allowed. VOC content limits are specified for different 
product categories. Control technology guidelines are offered 
as an alternate means of achieving compliance with the 
standards. Test methods, registration requirements, and 
recordkeeping procedures are provided. This article specifies 
a compliance deadline of January 1, 2009. 

5. The proposed regulatory action establishes standards for 
asphalt paving operations and incorporates all of the 
provisions of Chapter 40, Article 39 Emission Standards for 
Asphalt Paving Operations as a new Article 7 in Chapter 45. 
Applicability provisions in Article 7 apply to owners instead 
of sources and a new definition of paving operations is added 
that clarifies the types of operations to which the provisions 
of the regulation apply. Since the standards and other 
provisions in this article are not substantively changed, no 
new compliance date is proposed. Chapter 40, Article 39 will 
be repealed at an appropriate time after the new Article 7 
standards are effective. 

Issues: 1. Public: The primary advantage to the public is that 
the adoption of these regulations will significantly decrease 
emissions of VOCs in the Northern Virginia and 
Fredericksburg areas, thus benefiting public health and 
welfare. There are no disadvantages to the public. 

2. Regulated Community: The primary advantage to the 
regulated community is that the new regulations are clearer 

and have fewer reporting requirements than some of the 
regulations they replace. The primary disadvantages are that 
there may be fewer days that certain products may be applied, 
and there may be a need for worker training for some users to 
learn how to apply some of the compliant products correctly. 

3. Department: The primary advantages to the department are 
that the adoption of these regulations will allow Virginia (i) to 
attain and maintain air quality standards and improve public 
health of Virginians, and (ii) to uphold its promise to its 
jurisdictional neighbors (Maryland and Washington, D.C.) to 
all take similar regulatory action in order to minimize 
regulatory differences across the affected borders. The 
primary disadvantage to the department is increased 
compliance cost to administer the new regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected: The localities particularly 
affected by the proposed regulations are the counties of 
Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William, Stafford, and 
Spotsylvania; and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls 
Church, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Fredericksburg. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 
order to comply with Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) and statutory mandates, the Virginia Air Pollution 
Control Board (board) proposes several regulatory changes 
including: 1) amending the portable fuel container spillage 
and consumer products provisions to conform to the strategies 
recommended by the OTC, 2) prohibiting owners from 
manufacturing, distributing, selling, and using noncompliant 
consumer and commercial adhesive and sealant products and 
architectural and industrial maintenance coating products, and 
3) prohibiting the mixing, storage, and application of 
noncompliant emulsified asphalt coating products, with an 
exception for coating residential driveways. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 
accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 
costs for other changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2004, the Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated the Phase 1 Ozone 
Implementation Regulation to provide a process for 
classifying volatile organic compound (VOC) Emissions 
Control Areas, based on the severity of their ozone problems, 
and establishing deadlines for state and local governments to 
reduce ozone levels.  The phase 1 regulation established a 
process for transitioning from implementation of the 1-hour 
ozone air quality standard to the more protective 8-hour 
ozone air quality standard.  

The Phase 2 Ozone Implementation Regulation was 
promulgated by the EPA in 2005 to provide the remaining 
elements of the process to implement the 8-hour ozone air 
quality standard. The phase 2 EPA regulation outlines 
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emissions control and planning requirements for states to 
address as they develop their state implementation plans 
(SIPs) demonstrating how they will reduce ozone pollution to 
meet the 8-hour ozone standard. Additionally, the regulation 
requires states to demonstrate that non-attainment areas will 
attain the 8-hour ozone standard as expeditiously as 
practicable. 

Four areas of Virginia are designated as non-attainment areas 
under the 8-hr ozone standard: Northern Virginia, Hampton 
Roads, Richmond, and Western Virginia. These areas have 
been classified as VOC emissions control areas and must 
implement the control and contingency measures necessary to 
attain the 8-hour ozone standard.  Fredericksburg has been 
designated as an attainment area. Accordingly, it is 
considered to be a “maintenance area” and thus, must 
maintain original controls as well as implement additional 
ones as needed to maintain the 8-hour ozone standard. 

The federal Ozone Transport Commission (OTC) has 
identified what are considered the least cost methods of ozone 
control that will enable states to attain the 8-hour ozone 
standard within Ozone Transport Regions (OTR). The board 
proposed consumer and commercial product requirements for 
these regulations are consistent with these least cost methods 
recommended by the OTC in order for the Commonwealth to 
meet the EPA mandated 8-hour ozone standard. 

As mentioned above, the board proposed requirements 
include: 1) amending the portable fuel container spillage and 
consumer products provisions to conform to the strategies 
recommended by the OTC, 2) prohibiting owners from 
manufacturing, distributing, selling, and using noncompliant 
consumer and commercial adhesive and sealant products and 
architectural and industrial maintenance coating products, and 
3) prohibiting the mixing, storage, and application of 
noncompliant emulsified asphalt coating products, with an 
exception for coating residential driveways. 

Altogether, the proposed amendments would enable the 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) to implement 
control and contingency measures in the Northern Virginia 
VOC Emissions Control Area to demonstrate that the 
Northern Virginia non-attainment area will meet its goal of 
attainment by June 15, 2010. The new and revised regulations 
would also be implemented in the Fredericksburg 
Maintenance Area in order to provide the most cost-effective 
additional VOC contingency measures for the Fredericksburg 
Maintenance Area. 

The following costs and savings are projected for all 
regulated entities in the Northern Virginia and Fredericksburg 
VOC Emissions Control Areas for implementation and 
compliance and include projected reporting, recordkeeping 
and other administrative costs: 1) Portable Fuel Containers: 
insignificant cost to Virginia small businesses or individuals, 
2) Consumer Products: up to, but likely somewhat less than 
$6,500,000 cost per year for manufacturers, distributors and 

retailers of consumer products in the region combined, 3) 
Architectural and Industrial Coatings: $3,200 savings 
annually per reporting facility, 4) Adhesives and Sealants: 
$1,200,000 per year cost shared between manufacturers, 
distributors, and contractors, 5) Asphalt Paving: no 
significant net cost or savings. 

The adoption of this regulation will decrease emissions of 
VOC in the Northern Virginia and Fredericksburg areas by an 
estimated total of 8.3 tons per day or more.1 This significant 
emissions reduction will benefit public health and welfare by 
reducing ozone.  Ozone injures vegetation, has adverse 
effects on materials (rubber and fabrics), and is a pulmonary 
irritant that affects respiratory mucous membranes, lung 
tissues, and respiratory functions.  Reducing ozone will thus 
likely result in healthier citizens and reduce property damage. 
It will also allow Virginia to avoid federal sanctions that 
would be imposed for violating the SIP provisions of the 
Clean Air Act and to uphold its promise to its jurisdictional 
neighbors (Maryland and Washington, D.C.) to take this 
action. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
potentially affect 476 manufacturers, distributors and retailers 
of consumer products, one manufacturer of architectural and 
industrial coatings, approximately 2500 firms who either 
produce or use or apply adhesives and sealants, and 78 
asphalt paving contractors, most of whom qualify as small 
businesses.2 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
particularly affect the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, 
Loudoun, Prince William, Stafford and Spotsylvania and the 
cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, 
Manassas Park and Fredericksburg. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The increased costs for 
manufacturers, distributors and retailers of consumer products 
and manufacturers of adhesives and sealants and contractors 
who use adhesives and sealants will likely reduce profitability 
for some products.  This will consequently have a likely 
moderate negative impact on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. 
Manufacturing that produces VOC will be altered in ways 
that will reduce VOC emission.  This will increase costs and 
consequently moderately reduce the value of some firms. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments will increase costs for some small businesses 
such as manufacturers, distributors and retailers of consumer 
products and manufacturers of adhesives and sealants and 
contractors who use adhesives and sealants. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Though the board’s proposals add costs for 
some small businesses, there is not a clear alternative that 
reduces the adverse impact and still enables the 
Commonwealth to meet EPA requirements. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
may moderately, but probably not significantly, add to real 
estate development costs via increased costs associated with 
adhesives, sealants, and consumer products. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_____________________________ 
1 Data source: Department of Environmental Quality 
2 Data source: via Department of Environmental Quality, the Virginia 
Employment Commission database on April 21, 2008. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department has 
reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

A new chapter (9VAC5-45) is established for the control 
of volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions from 
various consumer and commercial products in the 
Northern Virginia and Fredericksburg VOC Emissions 
Control Areas. The new chapter consists of two parts. 
The first part of the new chapter contains general 
requirements pertaining to all of the types of consumer 
and commercial products regulated. The second part is 
composed of articles that contain VOC content and 
emission standards for individual types of consumer 
products and contain the control technology, testing, 
monitoring, administrative, recordkeeping, and reporting 
requirements necessary to determine compliance with 
each of the applicable standards. 

The new chapter includes two articles that control VOC 
emissions from portable fuel containers and spouts. 
These articles implement design, performance, and 
labeling standards for portable fuel container products 
before and after January 1, 2009, and prohibit owners 
from manufacturing, distributing, and selling 
noncompliant products. 

The new chapter includes two articles that control VOC 
emissions from certain types of consumer products. 
These articles implement VOC content standards for 
some individual product categories before and after 
January 1, 2009, and prohibit owners from 
manufacturing, distributing, advertising, or selling 
noncompliant products. 

The new chapter includes an article for the control of 
VOC emissions from architectural and industrial 
maintenance coatings that implements VOC content 
standards for all such coating products and prohibits 
owners from manufacturing, distributing, selling, and 
using noncompliant products. 

The new chapter includes an article that controls VOC 
emissions from adhesives, adhesive primers, sealants, 
and sealant primers that implements VOC content limits 
for those products and prohibits owners from 
manufacturing, distributing, selling, or applying 
noncompliant products. 

Finally, the new chapter includes an article that controls 
VOC emissions from asphalt paving operations, which 
prescribes the use of emulsified asphalt coatings except 
for the purpose of coating residential driveways and 
prohibits the mixing, storage, and application of 
noncompliant products. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-264; Filed May 18, 2009, 11:59 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-80. Permits for Stationary 
Sources (amending 9VAC5-80-1615, 9VAC5-80-1625, 
9VAC5-80-1695, 9VAC5-80-1925, 9VAC5-80-1935, 
9VAC5-80-1945, 9VAC5-80-1955, 9VAC5-80-1965, 
9VAC5-80-2010, 9VAC5-80-2020, 9VAC5-80-2140, 
9VAC5-80-2200, 9VAC5-80-2210, 9VAC5-80-2220, 
9VAC5-80-2230, 9VAC5-80-2240; adding 9VAC5-80-
1915, 9VAC5-80-2195). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Gary E. Graham, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
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Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, or email 
gegraham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the State Air Pollution Control Board to promulgate 
regulations abating, controlling, and prohibiting air pollution 
in order to protect public health and welfare. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulations is to (i) require the 
owner of a proposed new or modified facility to provide such 
information as may be needed to enable the board to conduct 
a preconstruction review in order to determine compliance 
with applicable control technology and other standards and to 
assess the impact of the emissions from the facility on air 
quality and (ii) provide the basis for the board's final action 
(approval or disapproval) on the permit depending upon the 
results of the preconstruction review. 

The proposed amendments are being made to allow the terms 
and conditions of the various elements of the new source 
review (NSR) program to be combined into a single permit. 
These amendments will protect the health and welfare of 
citizens because they will (i) make issuance of NSR permits 
more effective and efficient, (ii) clarify understanding of the 
permitting process, (iii) make the permitting process more 
transparent, and (iv) redirect limited department resources to 
issues of greater concern to the public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Virginia’s NSR 
program consists of several regulations: two for major NSR 
(PSD or nonattainment), one for minor NSR, and one for 
major sources of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs). It is 
possible that an individual source could simultaneously need 
permits for the purposes of major NSR, minor NSR, and 
HAPs.  In the interest of efficiency, provisions allowing 
permits to be combined were created to allow owners to have 
a single application for these permits, and to allow the agency 
to issue a single permit. 

The ability to combine multiple permit elements into a single 
NSR permit was accepted by EPA when initially established 
as an element of the NSR program.  Recently, during the 
public comment period on a state regulatory action developed 
in response to an EPA major NSR reform initiative, EPA 
objected to these provisions and indicated that the regulations 
would not be approved into the SIP if combining permits was 
allowed.  Although the department did not concur with the 
basis for EPA’s objections, these provisions were removed 
from the major NSR rules in order to ensure approvability of 
the SIP. 

The inability to combine permits creates significant negative 
effects: 

1. If major and minor NSR permits cannot be combined, 
virtually every major NSR change will result in two 
permits.  Generating two different sets of permit terms and 
conditions results in a significant workload increase. 

2. Keeping major NSR and minor NSR terms and 
conditions separated into two different permits does not 
preserve any terms and conditions as purely major NSR or 
minor NSR terms or conditions. 

3. The opportunity for public review and comment is 
reduced. 

4. Compliance issues result from confusion about where 
the applicable terms and conditions for a pollutant reside 
when there is more than one effective permit. 

In developing this proposal, EPA was consulted to determine 
how combining permits could be restored while addressing 
their concerns. Language acceptable to EPA was developed, 
and combining permits is now considered to be SIP-
approvable by EPA. 

The ability to combine permits will be a great benefit to the 
department, the regulated community, and the public, with 
EPA’s concurrence. Therefore, no objections to the 
restoration of the program are anticipated, and the fast-track 
process is appropriate. 

Substance:  

1. Provisions have been added to allow the terms and 
conditions of the various elements of the NSR program to be 
combined into a single permit. 

2. Provisions that specify the NSR programs to be used for 
the issuance of PAL permits have been revised in order to 
limit the issuance of these permits via a state operating 
permit. 

3. Provisions that provide certain exemptions related to the 
use of alternative fuels or raw materials have been updated to 
comply with recent amendments to § 10.1-1322.4 of the Code 
of Virginia and restructured to ensure no conflict with federal 
law or regulation. 

Issues:  

1. Public: Advantages to the general public include more 
effective and efficient issuance of NSR permits, which will 
contribute to the protection of health and welfare. The general 
public will also benefit from a clearer understanding of the 
permitting process, as well as a more transparent process. The 
regulated community will enjoy the same benefits in addition 
to the benefits of avoiding unnecessary permitting. 

2. Department: The department will benefit by avoiding 
unnecessary and duplicative permitting efforts, and will be 
better able to direct limited resources in a more effective and 
efficient manner. Compliance and enforcement activities will 
also benefit from focus on a single, comprehensive permit 
rather than many competing permits. 

3. There are no disadvantages associated with this action. 
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The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Air Pollution Control Board (Board) proposes to revise 
the current new source review (NSR) permit requirements to 
combine the terms and conditions of the various elements of 
the NSR program into a single permit. The proposed changes 
would add a new section to set out the procedure for 
combining permits.  The proposed changes would also 
exempt alternative fuels or raw materials from the permit 
requirements to conform with new provisions in the Code and 
to ensure that there are no conflicts with federal law or 
regulation. The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
worked with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) to develop these provisions.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Virginia’s NSR program 
consists of several regulations: two for major NSR 
(prevention of significant deterioration or nonattainment), one 
for minor NSR, and one for major sources of hazardous air 
pollutants (HAPs). It is possible that an individual source 
could simultaneously need permits for the purposes of major 
NSR, minor NSR, and HAPs. In the interest of efficiency, 
provisions allowing permits to be combined were created to 
allow owners to have a single application for these permits, 
and to allow the agency to issue a single permit. 

According to DEQ the ability to combine multiple permit 
elements into a single NSR permit was accepted by EPA 
when initially established as an element of the NSR program. 
Recently, during the public comment period on a state 
regulatory action developed in response to an EPA major 
NSR reform initiative, EPA objected to these provisions and 
indicated that the regulations would not be approved into the 
State Implementation Plan (SIP) if combining permits was 
allowed. Although DEQ did not concur with the basis for 
EPA’s objections, these provisions were removed from the 
major NSR rules in order to ensure approvability of the SIP. 

The inability to combine permits creates significant negative 
effects. First, if major and minor NSR permits cannot be 
combined, virtually every major NSR change will result in 
two permits. Generating two different sets of permit terms 
and conditions results in a significant workload increase.  
DEQ estimates that it takes 1000 hours of staff time to 
review, negotiate, write and issue a prevention of significant 
deterioration major NSR permit, 667 hours of staff time to 
review, negotiate, write and issue a nonattainment major NSR 
permit, and 175 hours of staff time to review, negotiate, write 
and issue a minor NSR permit. On the other hand combining 
a prevention of significant deterioration major NSR permit 
with a minor NSR permit, for example, would only require 
approximately 1000 hours, saving 175 hours of staff time. 

Regulated entities also must use significantly more staff time 
with separate permits. 

Second, keeping major NSR and minor NSR terms and 
conditions separated into two different permits does not 
preserve any terms and conditions as purely major NSR or 
minor NSR terms or conditions, prompting confusion. Third, 
the opportunity for public review and comment is reduced. 
Fourth, compliance issues result from confusion about where 
the applicable terms and conditions for a pollutant reside 
when there is more than one effective permit. 

In developing this proposal, DEQ consulted EPA to 
determine how combining permits could be restored while 
addressing their concerns. The Board with DEQ assistance 
developed language acceptable to EPA. Combining permits 
as proposed by the Board is now considered to be SIP-
approvable by EPA. 

The proposal to allow the combination of multiple permit 
elements into a single NSR permit will be beneficial to the 
public in that there will be more effective and efficient 
issuance of NSR permits, which will contribute to the 
protection of health and welfare. The general public will also 
benefit from a clearer understanding of the permitting 
process, as well as a more transparent process. The regulated 
community will enjoy the same benefits in addition to the 
benefits of avoiding the time, dollars and confusion 
associated with unnecessary permitting. DEQ will benefit by 
avoiding unnecessary and duplicative permitting efforts that 
consume significant amounts of staff time, and will be better 
able to direct limited resources in a more effective and 
efficient manner. Compliance and enforcement activities will 
also benefit from focus on a single, comprehensive permit 
rather than many competing permits. There are no known cost 
increases due to the proposal. Therefore the proposal will 
produce net benefits. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect any owner who constructs a new major stationary 
source of air pollutants or makes a major modification to any 
major stationary source, as well as DEQ. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Significantly reducing the 
amount of staff time required to handle permitting will reduce 
costs for firms, allowing them to be moderately more 
profitable. This may result in a small gain in employment in 
the long run. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal to allow the combination of multiple permit 
elements into a single NSR permit will reduce costs for firms 
that must obtain such permits. This will commensurately 
increase the value of such firms. 
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Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to 
allow the combination of multiple permit elements into a 
single NSR permit will reduce costs for small businesses that 
must obtain such permits. This will commensurately increase 
the value of such small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not produce 
adverse impact for small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
can potentially moderately reduce real estate development 
costs in some cases. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, Section 
2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department has 
reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The existing regulations establish a new source review 
(NSR) permit program whereby owners of sources 
locating in prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) 
and nonattainment areas are required to obtain a permit 
prior to construction of a new major source or a major 
modification (physical or operational change) to an 
existing one. The regulations are being amended to: 

1. Add provisions to allow the terms and conditions of 
the various elements of the NSR program to be combined 
into a single permit. 

2. Revise the provisions that specify the NSR programs to 
be used for the issuance of PAL permits in order to limit 
the issuance of these permits via a state operating permit. 

3. Update and restructure the provisions that provide 
certain exemptions related to the use of alternative fuels 
or raw materials to comply with recent amendments to 
§ 10.1-1322.4 of the Code of Virginia and to ensure no 
conflict with federal law or regulation. 

9VAC5-80-1615. Definitions. 

A. As used in this article, all words or terms not defined 
herein shall have the meaning given them in 9VAC5-10 
(General Definitions), unless otherwise required by context.  

B. For the purpose of this article, 9VAC5-80-280 and 
applying this article in the context of the Regulations for the 
Control and Abatement of Air Pollution and related uses, the 
words or terms shall have the meaning given them in 
subsection C of this section:  

C. Terms defined.  

"Actual emissions" means the actual rate of emissions of a 
regulated NSR pollutant from an emissions unit, as 
determined in accordance with subdivisions a through c of 
this definition, except that this definition shall not apply for 
calculating whether a significant emissions increase has 
occurred, or for establishing a PAL under 9VAC5-80-1865. 
Instead, the definitions of "projected actual emissions" and 
"baseline actual emissions" shall apply for those purposes.  

a. In general, actual emissions as of a particular date shall 
equal the average rate, in tons per year, at which the unit 
actually emitted the pollutant during a consecutive 24-
month period that precedes the particular date and that is 
representative of normal source operation. The board will 
allow the use of a different time period upon a 
determination that it is more representative of normal 
source operation. Actual emissions shall be calculated 
using the unit's actual operating hours, production rates, 
and types of materials processed, stored, or combusted 
during the selected time period.  

b. The board may presume that source-specific allowable 
emissions for the unit are equivalent to the actual 
emissions of the unit.  

c. For any emissions unit that has not begun normal 
operations on the particular date, actual emissions shall 
equal the potential to emit of the unit on that date.  

"Actuals PAL for a major stationary source" means a PAL 
based on the baseline actual emissions of all emissions units 
at the source that emit or have the potential to emit the PAL 
pollutant.  

"Administrator" means the administrator of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or an authorized 
representative.  
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"Adverse impact on visibility" means visibility impairment 
that interferes with the management, protection, preservation 
or enjoyment of the visitor's visual experience of the federal 
class I area. This determination shall be made on a case-by-
case basis taking into account the geographic extent, 
intensity, duration, frequency and time of visibility 
impairment, and how these factors correlate with (i) times of 
visitor use of the federal class I areas, and (ii) the frequency 
and timing of natural conditions that reduce visibility.  

"Allowable emissions" means the emissions rate of a 
stationary source calculated using the maximum rated 
capacity of the source (unless the source is subject to 
federally and state enforceable limits that restrict the 
operating rate, or hours of operation, or both) and the most 
stringent of the following:  

a. The applicable standards as set forth in 40 CFR Parts 60, 
61, and 63;  

b. The applicable implementation plan emissions limitation 
including those with a future compliance date; or  

c. The emissions limit specified as a federally and state 
enforceable permit condition, including those with a future 
compliance date.  

For the purposes of actuals PALs, "allowable emissions" 
shall also be calculated considering any emission limitations 
that are enforceable as a practical matter on the emissions 
unit's potential to emit.  

"Applicable federal requirement" means all of, but not 
limited to, the following as they apply to emissions units in a 
source subject to this article (including requirements that have 
been promulgated or approved by the administrator through 
rulemaking at the time of permit issuance but have future-
effective compliance dates):  

a. Any standard or other requirement provided for in an 
implementation plan established pursuant to § 110 or 
§ 111(d) of the federal Clean Air Act, including any 
source-specific provisions such as consent agreements or 
orders.  

b. Any limit or condition in any construction permit issued 
under the new source review program or in any operating 
permit issued pursuant to the state operating permit 
program.  

c. Any emission standard, alternative emission standard, 
alternative emission limitation, equivalent emission 
limitation or other requirement established pursuant to 
§ 112 or § 129 of the federal Clean Air Act as amended in 
1990.  

d. Any new source performance standard or other 
requirement established pursuant to § 111 of the federal 
Clean Air Act, and any emission standard or other 

requirement established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 
Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.  

e. Any limitations and conditions or other requirement in a 
Virginia regulation or program that has been approved by 
EPA under subpart E of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes 
of implementing and enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean 
Air Act.  

f. Any requirement concerning accident prevention under 
§ 112(r)(7) of the federal Clean Air Act.  

g. Any compliance monitoring requirements established 
pursuant to either § 504(b) or § 114(a)(3) of the federal 
Clean Air Act.  

h. Any standard or other requirement for consumer and 
commercial products under § 183(e) of the federal Clean 
Air Act.  

i. Any standard or other requirement for tank vessels under 
§ 183(f) of the federal Clean Air Act.  

j. Any standard or other requirement in 40 CFR Part 55 to 
control air pollution from outer continental shelf sources.  

k. Any standard or other requirement of the regulations 
promulgated to protect stratospheric ozone under Title VI 
of the federal Clean Air Act unless the administrator has 
determined that such requirements need not be contained in 
a permit issued under this article.  

l. With regard to temporary sources subject to 9VAC5-80-
130, (i) any ambient air quality standard, except applicable 
state requirements, and (ii) requirements regarding 
increments or visibility as provided in this article.  

"Baseline actual emissions" means the rate of emissions, in 
tons per year, of a regulated NSR pollutant, as determined in 
accordance with the following:  

a. For any existing electric utility steam generating unit, 
baseline actual emissions means the average rate, in tons 
per year, at which the unit actually emitted the pollutant 
during any consecutive 24-month period selected by the 
owner within the five-year period immediately preceding 
when the owner begins actual construction of the project. 
The board will allow the use of a different time period 
upon a determination that it is more representative of 
normal source operation.  

(1) The average rate shall include fugitive emissions to 
the extent quantifiable, and emissions associated with 
startups, shutdowns, and malfunctions.  

(2) The average rate shall be adjusted downward to 
exclude any noncompliant emissions that occurred while 
the source was operating above any emission limitation 
that was legally enforceable during the consecutive 24-
month period.  
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(3) For a regulated NSR pollutant, when a project 
involves multiple emissions units, only one consecutive 
24-month period shall be used to determine the baseline 
actual emissions for the emissions units being changed. 
The same consecutive 24-month period shall be used for 
each different regulated NSR pollutant unless the owner 
can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that a 
different consecutive 24-month period for a different 
pollutant or pollutants is more appropriate due to 
extenuating circumstances.  

(4) The average rate shall not be based on any 
consecutive 24-month period for which there is 
inadequate information for determining annual 
emissions, in tons per year, and for adjusting this amount 
if required by subdivision a (2) of this definition.  

b. For an existing emissions unit (other than an electric 
utility steam generating unit), baseline actual emissions 
means the average rate, in tons per year, at which the 
emissions unit actually emitted the pollutant during any 
consecutive 24-month period selected by the owner within 
the five-year period immediately preceding either the date 
the owner begins actual construction of the project, or the 
date a complete permit application is received by the board 
for a permit required under this article, whichever is 
earlier, except that the five-year period shall not include 
any period earlier than November 15, 1990. The board will 
allow the use of a different time period upon a 
determination that it is more representative of normal 
source operation.  

(1) The average rate shall include fugitive emissions to 
the extent quantifiable, and emissions associated with 
startups, shutdowns, and malfunctions.  

(2) The average rate shall be adjusted downward to 
exclude any noncompliant emissions that occurred while 
the source was operating above any emission limitation 
that was legally enforceable during the consecutive 24-
month period.  

(3) The average rate shall be adjusted downward to 
exclude any emissions that would have exceeded an 
emission limitation with which the major stationary 
source must currently comply, had such major stationary 
source been required to comply with such limitations 
during the consecutive 24-month period. However, if an 
emission limitation is part of a maximum achievable 
control technology standard that the administrator 
proposed or promulgated under 40 CFR Part 63, the 
baseline actual emissions need only be adjusted if the 
board has taken credit for such emissions reductions in 
an attainment demonstration or maintenance plan 
consistent with the requirements of 9VAC5-80-2120 K.  

(4) For a regulated NSR pollutant, when a project 
involves multiple emissions units, only one consecutive 

24-month period shall be used to determine the baseline 
actual emissions for all the emissions units being 
changed. The same consecutive 24-month period shall be 
used for each different regulated NSR pollutant unless 
the owner can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 
board that a different consecutive 24-month period for a 
different pollutant or pollutants is more appropriate due 
to extenuating circumstances.  

(5) The average rate shall not be based on any 
consecutive 24-month period for which there is 
inadequate information for determining annual 
emissions, in tons per year, and for adjusting this amount 
if required by subdivisions b (2) and (3) of this 
definition.  

c. For a new emissions unit, the baseline actual emissions 
for purposes of determining the emissions increase that 
will result from the initial construction and operation of 
such unit shall equal zero; and thereafter, for all other 
purposes, shall equal the unit's potential to emit.  

d. For a PAL for a stationary source, the baseline actual 
emissions shall be calculated for existing electric utility 
steam generating units in accordance with the procedures 
contained in subdivision a of this definition, for other 
existing emissions units in accordance with the procedures 
contained in subdivision b of this definition, and for a new 
emissions unit in accordance with the procedures contained 
in subdivision c of this subsection.  

"Baseline area":  

a. Means any intrastate area (and every part thereof) 
designated as attainment or unclassifiable under 
§ 107(d)(1)(C) of the federal Clean Air Act in which the 
major source or major modification establishing the minor 
source baseline date would construct or would have an air 
quality impact equal to or greater than 1 μg/m³ (annual 
average) of the pollutant for which the minor source 
baseline date is established.  

b. Area redesignations under § 107(d)(3) of the federal 
Clean Air Act cannot intersect or be smaller than the area 
of impact of any major stationary source or major 
modification that:  

(1) Establishes a minor source baseline date; or  

(2) Is subject to this article or 40 CFR 52.21 and would 
be constructed in the same state as the state proposing the 
redesignation.  

c. Any baseline area established originally for the TSP 
increments shall remain in effect and shall apply for 
purposes of determining the amount of available PM10 
increments, except that such baseline area shall not remain 
in effect if the board rescinds the corresponding minor 
source baseline date in accordance with subdivision d of 
the definition of "baseline date."  
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"Baseline concentration"  

a. Means that ambient concentration level that exists in the 
baseline area at the time of the applicable minor source 
baseline date. A baseline concentration is determined for 
each pollutant for which a minor source baseline date is 
established and shall include:  

(1) The actual emissions representative of sources in 
existence on the applicable minor source baseline date, 
except as provided in subdivision b of this definition; and  

(2) The allowable emissions of major stationary sources 
that commenced construction before the major source 
baseline date, but were not in operation by the applicable 
minor source baseline date.  

b. The following will not be included in the baseline 
concentration and will affect the applicable maximum 
allowable increase(s):  

(1) Actual emissions from any major stationary source on 
which construction commenced after the major source 
baseline date; and  

(2) Actual emissions increases and decreases at any 
stationary source occurring after the minor source 
baseline date.  

"Baseline date"  

a. "Major source baseline date" means:  

(1) In the case of particulate matter and sulfur dioxide, 
January 6, 1975; and  

(2) In the case of nitrogen dioxide, February 8, 1988.  

b. "Minor source baseline date" means the earliest date 
after the trigger date on which a major stationary source or 
a major modification subject to this article submits a 
complete application under this article. The trigger date is:  

(1) In the case of particulate matter and sulfur dioxide, 
August 7, 1977; and  

(2) In the case of nitrogen dioxide, February 8, 1988.  

c. The baseline date is established for each pollutant for 
which increments or other equivalent measures have been 
established if:  

(1) The area in which the proposed source or 
modification would construct is designated as attainment 
or unclassifiable under § 107(d)(1)(C) of the federal 
Clean Air Act for the pollutant on the date of its 
complete application under this article or 40 CFR 52.21; 
and  

(2) In the case of a major stationary source, the pollutant 
would be emitted in significant amounts, or, in the case 
of a major modification, there would be a significant net 
emissions increase of the pollutant.  

d. Any minor source baseline date established originally 
for the TSP increments shall remain in effect and shall 
apply for purposes of determining the amount of available 
PM10 increments, except that the board may rescind any 
such minor source baseline date where it can be shown, to 
the satisfaction of the board, that the emissions increase 
from the major stationary source, or the net emissions 
increase from the major modification, responsible for 
triggering that date did not result in a significant amount of 
PM10 emissions.  

"Begin actual construction" means, in general, initiation of 
physical on-site construction activities on an emissions unit 
that are of a permanent nature. Such activities include, but are 
not limited to, installation of building supports and 
foundations, laying of underground pipework, and 
construction of permanent storage structures. With respect to 
a change in method of operation, this term refers to those on-
site activities other than preparatory activities that mark the 
initiation of the change.  

"Best available control technology" means an emissions 
limitation (including a visible emissions standard) based on 
the maximum degree of reduction for each regulated NSR 
pollutant that would be emitted from any proposed major 
stationary source or major modification that the board, on a 
case-by-case basis, taking into account energy, 
environmental, and economic impacts and other costs, 
determines is achievable for such source or modification 
through application of production processes or available 
methods, systems, and techniques, including fuel cleaning or 
treatment or innovative fuel combustion techniques for 
control of such pollutant. In no event shall application of best 
available control technology result in emissions of any 
pollutant that would exceed the emissions allowed by any 
applicable standard under 40 CFR Parts 60, 61, and 63. If the 
board determines that technological or economic limitations 
on the application of measurement methodology to a 
particular emissions unit would make the imposition of an 
emissions standard infeasible, a design, equipment, work 
practice, operational standard, or combination thereof, may be 
prescribed instead to satisfy the requirement for the 
application of best available control technology. Such 
standard shall, to the degree possible, set forth the emissions 
reduction achievable by implementation of such design, 
equipment, work practice or operation, and shall provide for 
compliance by means that achieve equivalent results.  

"Building, structure, facility or installation" means all of the 
pollutant-emitting activities that belong to the same industrial 
grouping, are located on one or more contiguous or adjacent 
properties, and are under the control of the same person (or 
persons under common control) except the activities of any 
vessel. Pollutant-emitting activities shall be considered as part 
of the same industrial grouping if they belong to the same 
"Major Group" (i.e., that have the same first two-digit code) 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3496 

as described in the Standard Industrial Classification Manual 
(see 9VAC5-20-21).  

"Clean coal technology" means any technology, including 
technologies applied at the precombustion, combustion, or 
post combustion stage, at a new or existing facility that will 
achieve significant reductions in air emissions of sulfur 
dioxide or oxides of nitrogen associated with the utilization of 
coal in the generation of electricity, or process steam that was 
not in widespread use as of November 15, 1990.  

"Clean coal technology demonstration project" means a 
project using funds appropriated under the heading 
"Department of Energy-Clean Coal Technology," up to a total 
amount of $2,500,000,000 for commercial demonstration of 
clean coal technology, or similar projects funded through 
appropriations for EPA. The federal contribution for a 
qualifying project shall be at least 20% of the total cost of the 
demonstration project.  

"Commence" as applied to construction of a major 
stationary source or major modification, means that the owner 
has all necessary preconstruction approvals or permits and 
either has:  

a. Begun, or caused to begin, a continuous program of 
actual on-site construction of the source, to be completed 
within a reasonable time; or  

b. Entered into binding agreements or contractual 
obligations, that cannot be canceled or modified without 
substantial loss to the owner, to undertake a program of 
actual construction of the source, to be completed within a 
reasonable time.  

"Complete" means, in reference to an application for a 
permit, that the application contains all of the information 
necessary for processing the application and the provisions of 
§ 10.1-1321.1 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law have 
been met. Designating an application complete for the 
purposes of permit processing does not preclude the board 
from requesting or accepting any additional information.  

"Construction" means any physical change or change in the 
method of operation (including fabrication, erection, 
installation, demolition, or modification of an emissions unit) 
that would result in a change in emissions.  

"Continuous emissions monitoring system" or "CEMS" 
means all of the equipment that may be required to meet the 
data acquisition and availability requirements of this article, 
to sample, condition (if applicable), analyze, and provide a 
record of emissions on a continuous basis.  

"Continuous emissions rate monitoring system" or 
"CERMS" means the total equipment required for the 
determination and recording of the pollutant mass emissions 
rate (in terms of mass per unit of time).  

"Continuous parameter monitoring system" or "CPMS" 
means all of the equipment necessary to meet the data 
acquisition and availability requirements of this article, to 
monitor process and control device operational parameters 
(for example, control device secondary voltages and electric 
currents) and other information (for example, gas flow rate, 
O2 or CO2 concentrations), and to record average operational 
parameter value(s) on a continuous basis.  

"Electric utility steam generating unit" means any steam 
electric generating unit that is constructed for the purpose of 
supplying more than one-third of its potential electric output 
capacity and more than 25 MW electrical output to any utility 
power distribution system for sale. Any steam supplied to a 
steam distribution system for the purpose of providing steam 
to a steam-electric generator that would produce electrical 
energy for sale is also considered in determining the electrical 
energy output capacity of the affected facility.  

"Emissions unit" means any part of a stationary source that 
emits or would have the potential to emit any regulated NSR 
pollutant and includes an electric utility steam generating 
unit. For purposes of this definition, there are two types of 
emissions units: (i) a new emissions unit is any emissions unit 
that is (or will be) newly constructed and that has existed for 
less than two years from the date such emissions unit first 
operated; and (ii) an existing emissions unit is any emissions 
unit that is not a new emissions unit.  

"Enforceable as a practical matter" means that the permit 
contains emission limitations that are enforceable by the 
board or the department and meet the following criteria:  

a. Are permanent;  

b. Contain a legal obligation for the owner to adhere to the 
terms and conditions;  

c. Do not allow a relaxation of a requirement of the 
implementation plan;  

d. Are technically accurate and quantifiable;  

e. Include averaging times or other provisions that allow at 
least monthly (or a shorter period if necessary to be 
consistent with the implementation plan) checks on 
compliance. This may include, but not be limited to, the 
following: compliance with annual limits on a rolling 
basis, monthly or shorter limits, and other provisions 
consistent with this article and other regulations of the 
board; and  

f. Require a level of recordkeeping, reporting and 
monitoring sufficient to demonstrate compliance.  

"Federal land manager" means, with respect to any lands in 
the United States, the secretary of the department with 
authority over such lands.  

"Federally enforceable" means all limitations and conditions 
that are enforceable by the administrator and citizens under 
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the federal Clean Air Act or that are enforceable under other 
statutes administered by the administrator. Federally 
enforceable limitations and conditions include, but are not 
limited to, the following:  

a. Emission standards, alternative emission standards, 
alternative emission limitations, and equivalent emission 
limitations established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 
Clean Air Act as amended in 1990.  

b. New source performance standards established pursuant 
to § 111 of the federal Clean Air Act, and emission 
standards established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 
Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.  

c. All terms and conditions (unless expressly designated as 
not federally enforceable) in a federal operating permit, 
including any provisions that limit a source's potential to 
emit.  

d. Limitations and conditions that are part of an 
implementation plan established pursuant to § 110, 
§ 111(d) or § 129 of the federal Clean Air Act.  

e. Limitations and conditions (unless expressly designated 
as not federally enforceable) that are part of a federal 
construction permit issued under 40 CFR 52.21 or a new 
source review permit issued under regulations approved by 
the EPA into the implementation plan.  

f. Limitations and conditions (unless expressly designated 
as not federally enforceable) that are part of a state 
operating permit where the permit and the permit program 
pursuant to which it was issued meet all of the following 
criteria:  

(1) The operating permit program has been approved by 
the EPA into the implementation plan under § 110 of the 
federal Clean Air Act;  

(2) The operating permit program imposes a legal 
obligation that operating permit holders adhere to the 
terms and limitations of such permits and provides that 
permits that do not conform to the operating permit 
program requirements and the requirements of EPA's 
underlying regulations may be deemed not "federally 
enforceable" by EPA;  

(3) The operating permit program requires that all 
emission limitations, controls, and other requirements 
imposed by such permits will be at least as stringent as 
any other applicable limitations and requirements 
contained in the implementation plan or enforceable 
under the implementation plan, and that the program may 
not issue permits that waive, or make less stringent, any 
limitations or requirements contained in or issued 
pursuant to the implementation plan, or that are 
otherwise "federally enforceable";  

(4) The limitations, controls, and requirements in the 
permit in question are permanent, quantifiable, and 
otherwise enforceable as a practical matter; and  

(5) The permit in question was issued only after adequate 
and timely notice and opportunity for comment by the 
EPA and the public.  

g. Limitations and conditions in a regulation of the board 
or program that has been approved by the EPA under 
subpart E of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes of 
implementing and enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean Air 
Act.  

h. Individual consent agreements that the EPA has legal 
authority to create.  

"Federal operating permit" means a permit issued under the 
federal operating permit program.  

"Federal operating permit program" means an operating 
permit system (i) for issuing terms and conditions for major 
stationary sources, (ii) established to implement the 
requirements of Title V of the federal Clean Air Act and 
associated regulations, and (iii) codified in Article 1 (9VAC5-
80-50 et seq.), Article 2 (9VAC5-80-310 et seq.), Article 3 
(9VAC5-80-360 et seq.), and Article 4 (9VAC5-80-710 et 
seq.) of this part.  

"Fugitive emissions" means those emissions that could not 
reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or other 
functionally equivalent opening.  

"High terrain" means any area having an elevation 900 feet 
or more above the base of the stack of a source.  

"Indian governing body" means the governing body of any 
tribe, band, or group of Indians subject to the jurisdiction of 
the United States and recognized by the United States as 
possessing power of self-government.  

"Indian reservation" means any federally recognized 
reservation established by treaty, agreement, executive order, 
or act of Congress.  

"Innovative control technology" means any system of air 
pollution control that has not been adequately demonstrated 
in practice, but would have substantial likelihood of 
achieving greater continuous emissions reduction than any 
control system in current practice or of achieving at least 
comparable reductions at lower cost in terms of energy, 
economics, or nonair quality environmental impacts.  

"Lowest achievable emission rate" or "LAER" is as defined 
in 9VAC5-80-2010 C.  

"Locality particularly affected" means any locality that bears 
any identified disproportionate material air quality impact that 
would not be experienced by other localities.  

"Low terrain" means any area other than high terrain.  
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"Major emissions unit" means (i) any emissions unit that 
emits or has the potential to emit 100 tons per year or more of 
the PAL pollutant in an attainment area; or (ii) any emissions 
unit that emits or has the potential to emit the PAL pollutant 
for nonattainment areas in an amount that is equal to or 
greater than the major source threshold for the PAL pollutant 
in subdivision a (1) of the definition of "major stationary 
source " in 9VAC5-80-2010 C.  

"Major modification"  

a. Means any physical change in or change in the method 
of operation of a major stationary source that would result 
in a significant emissions increase of a regulated NSR 
pollutant, and a significant net emissions increase of that 
pollutant from the major stationary source.  

b. Any significant emissions increase from any emissions 
units or net emissions increase at a major stationary source 
that is significant for volatile organic compounds or NOX 
shall be considered significant for ozone.  

c. A physical change or change in the method of operation 
shall not include the following:  

(1) Routine maintenance, repair and replacement.  

(2) Use of an alternative fuel or raw material by reason of 
an order under § 2 (a) and (b) of the Energy Supply and 
Environmental Coordination Act of 1974 (or any 
superseding legislation) or by reason of a natural gas 
curtailment plant pursuant to the federal Power Act.  

(3) Use of an alternative fuel by reason of any order or 
rule under § 125 of the federal Clean Air Act.  

(4) Use of an alternative fuel at a steam generating unit to 
the extent that the fuel is generated from municipal solid 
waste.  

(5) Use of an alternative fuel or raw material by a 
stationary source that:  

(a) The source was capable of accommodating before 
January 6, 1975, unless such change would be prohibited 
under any federally and state enforceable permit 
condition that was established after January 6, 1975, 
pursuant to 40 CFR 52.21 or this chapter; or  

(b) The source is approved to use under any permit 
issued under 40 CFR 52.21 or this chapter; and.  

(c) The owner demonstrates to the board that as a result 
of trial burns at the source or other sources or other 
sufficient data that the emissions resulting from the use 
of the alternative fuel or raw material supply are 
decreased.  

(6) An increase in the hours of operation or in the 
production rate, unless such change is prohibited under 
any federally and state enforceable permit condition that 

was established after January 6, 1975, pursuant to 40 
CFR 52.21 or this chapter.  

(7) Any change in ownership at a stationary source.  

(8) The installation, operation, cessation, or removal of a 
temporary clean coal technology demonstration project, 
provided that the project complies with:  

(a) The applicable implementation plan, and  

(b) Other requirements necessary to attain and maintain 
the ambient air quality standards during the project and 
after it is terminated.  

(9) The installation or operation of a permanent clean 
coal technology demonstration project that constitutes 
repowering, provided that the project does not result in 
an increase in the potential to emit of any regulated 
pollutant emitted by the unit. This exemption shall apply 
on a pollutant-by-pollutant basis.  

(10) The reactivation of a very clean coal-fired electric 
utility steam generating unit.  

d. This definition shall not apply with respect to a 
particular regulated NSR pollutant when the major 
stationary source is complying with the requirements under 
9VAC5-80-1865 for a PAL for that pollutant. Instead, the 
definition of "PAL major modification" shall apply.  

"Major new source review (NSR) permit" means a permit 
issued under the major new source review program.  

"Major new source review (major NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for new major 
stationary sources or major modifications (physical changes 
or changes in the method of operation), (ii) established to 
implement the requirements of §§ 112, 165 and 173 of the 
federal Clean Air Act and associated regulations, and (iii) 
codified in Article 7 (9VAC5-80-1400 et seq.), Article 8 
(9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and Article 9 (9VAC5-80-2000 et 
seq.) of this part.  

"Major stationary source"  

a. Means:  

(1) Any of the following stationary sources of air 
pollutants that emits, or has the potential to emit, 100 
tons per year or more of any regulated NSR pollutant:  

(a) Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants of more than 
250 million British thermal units per hour heat input.  

(b) Coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers).  

(c) Kraft pulp mills.  

(d) Portland cement plants.  

(e) Primary zinc smelters.  

(f) Iron and steel mill plants.  
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(g) Primary aluminum ore reduction plants.  

(h) Primary copper smelters.  

(i) Municipal incinerators capable of charging more than 
250 tons of refuse per day.  

(j) Hydrofluoric acid plants.  

(k) Sulfuric acid plants.  

(l) Nitric acid plants.  

(m) Petroleum refineries.  

(n) Lime plants.  

(o) Phosphate rock processing plants.  

(p) Coke oven batteries.  

(q) Sulfur recovery plants.  

(r) Carbon black plants (furnace process).  

(s) Primary lead smelters.  

(t) Fuel conversion plants.  

(u) Sintering plants.  

(v) Secondary metal production plants.  

(w) Chemical process plants.  

(x) Fossil fuel boilers (or combination of them) totaling 
more than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 
input.  

(y) Petroleum storage and transfer units with a total 
storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels.  

(z) Taconite ore processing plants.  

(aa) Glass fiber processing plants.  

(bb) Charcoal production plants.  

(2) Notwithstanding the stationary source size specified 
in subdivision a (1) of this definition, any stationary 
source that emits, or has the potential to emit, 250 tons 
per year or more of a regulated NSR pollutant; or  

(3) Any physical change that would occur at a stationary 
source not otherwise qualifying under subdivision a (1) 
or a (2) of this definition as a major stationary source, if 
the change would constitute a major stationary source by 
itself.  

b. A major stationary source that is major for volatile 
organic compounds or NOX shall be considered major for 
ozone.  

c. The fugitive emissions of a stationary source shall not be 
included in determining for any of the purposes of this 
article whether it is a major stationary source, unless the 

source belongs to one of the following categories of 
stationary sources:  

(1) Coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers).  

(2) Kraft pulp mills.  

(3) Portland cement plants.  

(4) Primary zinc smelters.  

(5) Iron and steel mills.  

(6) Primary aluminum ore reduction plants.  

(7) Primary copper smelters.  

(8) Municipal incinerators capable of charging more than 
250 tons of refuse per day.  

(9) Hydrofluoric, sulfuric, or nitric acid plants.  

(10) Petroleum refineries.  

(11) Lime plants.  

(12) Phosphate rock processing plants.  

(13) Coke oven batteries.  

(14) Sulfur recovery plants.  

(15) Carbon black plants (furnace process).  

(16) Primary lead smelters.  

(17) Fuel conversion plants.  

(18) Sintering plants.  

(19) Secondary metal production plants.  

(20) Chemical process plants.  

(21) Fossil-fuel boilers (or combination of them) totaling 
more than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 
input.  

(22) Petroleum storage and transfer units with a total 
storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels.  

(23) Taconite ore processing plants.  

(24) Glass fiber processing plants.  

(25) Charcoal production plants.  

(26) Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants of more than 
250 million British thermal units per hour heat input.  

(27) Any other stationary source category that, as of 
August 7, 1980, is being regulated under 40 CFR Parts 
60 and 61.  

"Minor new source review (NSR) permit" means a permit 
issued under the minor new source review program.  

"Minor new source review (minor NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for new 
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stationary sources or modifications (physical changes or 
changes in the method of operation) which do not qualify for 
that are not subject to review under the major new source 
review program, (ii) established to implement the 
requirements of §§ 110(a)(2)(C) and 112 of the federal Clean 
Air Act and associated regulations, and (iii) codified in 
Article 6 (9VAC5-80-1100 et seq.) of this part.  

"Necessary preconstruction approvals or permits" means 
those permits required under NSR programs that are part of 
the applicable implementation plan.  

"Net emissions increase"  

a. Means, with respect to any regulated NSR pollutant 
emitted by a major stationary source, the amount by which 
the sum of the following exceeds zero:  

(1) The increase in emissions from a particular physical 
change or change in the method of operation at a 
stationary source as calculated pursuant to 9VAC5-80-
1605 G; and  

(2) Any other increases and decreases in actual emissions 
at the major stationary source that are contemporaneous 
with the particular change and are otherwise creditable. 
Baseline actual emissions for calculating increases and 
decreases under this subdivision shall be determined as 
provided in the definition of "baseline actual emissions," 
except that subdivisions a (3) and b (4) of that definition 
shall not apply.  

b. An increase or decrease in actual emissions is 
contemporaneous with the increase from the particular 
change only if it occurs between:  

(1) The date five years before construction on the 
particular change commences; and  

(2) The date that the increase from the particular change 
occurs.  

c. An increase or decrease in actual emissions is creditable 
only if (i) it occurs between the date five years before 
construction on the particular change commences and the 
date that the increase from the particular change occurs; 
and (ii) the board has not relied on it in issuing a permit for 
the source under this article (or the administrator under 40 
CFR 52.21), which permit is in effect when the increase in 
actual emissions from the particular change occurs.  

d. An increase or decrease in actual emissions of sulfur 
dioxide, particulate matter, or nitrogen oxides that occurs 
before the applicable minor source baseline date is 
creditable only if it is required to be considered in 
calculating the amount of maximum allowable increases 
remaining available.  

e. An increase in actual emissions is creditable only to the 
extent that the new level of actual emissions exceeds the 
old level.  

f. A decrease in actual emissions is creditable only to the 
extent that:  

(1) The old level of actual emissions or the old level of 
allowable emissions, whichever is lower, exceeds the 
new level of actual emissions;  

(2) It is enforceable as a practical matter at and after the 
time that actual construction on the particular change 
begins;  

(3) It has approximately the same qualitative significance 
for public health and welfare as that attributed to the 
increase from the particular change.  

g. An increase that results from a physical change at a 
source occurs when the emissions unit on which 
construction occurred becomes operational and begins to 
emit a particular pollutant. Any replacement unit that 
requires shakedown becomes operational only after a 
reasonable shakedown period, not to exceed 180 days.  

h. Subdivision a of the definition of "actual emissions" 
shall not apply for determining creditable increases and 
decreases.  

"New source review (NSR) permit" means a permit issued 
under the new source review program.  

"New source review (NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for new 
stationary sources or modifications (physical changes or 
changes in the method of operation); (ii) established to 
implement the requirements of §§ 110(a)(2)(C), 112 (relating 
to permits for hazardous air pollutants), 165 (relating to 
permits in prevention of significant deterioration areas), and 
173 (relating to permits in nonattainment areas) of the federal 
Clean Air Act and associated regulations; and (iii) codified in 
Article 6 (9VAC5-80-1100 et seq.), Article 7 (9VAC5-80-
1400 et seq.), Article 8 (9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and Article 
9 (9VAC5-80-2000 et seq.) of this part.  

"Plantwide applicability limitation (PAL)" means an 
emission limitation expressed in tons per year, for a pollutant 
at a major stationary source, that is enforceable as a practical 
matter and established sourcewide in accordance with 
9VAC5-80-1865.  

"PAL effective date" generally means the date of issuance of 
the PAL permit. However, the PAL effective date for an 
increased PAL is the date any emissions unit that is part of 
the PAL major modification becomes operational and begins 
to emit the PAL pollutant.  

"PAL effective period" means the period beginning with the 
PAL effective date and ending five years later.  

"PAL major modification" means, notwithstanding the 
definitions for major modification and net emissions increase, 
any physical change in or change in the method of operation 
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of the PAL source that causes it to emit the PAL pollutant at a 
level equal to or greater than the PAL.  

"PAL permit" means the major NSR permit, the minor NSR 
permit, the state operating permit, or the federal operating 
permit issued by the board that establishes a PAL for a major 
stationary source.  

"PAL pollutant" means the pollutant for which a PAL is 
established at a major stationary source.  

"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a 
stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical and 
operational design. Any physical or operational limitation on 
the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant, including air 
pollution control equipment, and restrictions on hours of 
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted, 
stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design if the 
limitation or the effect it would have on emissions is federally 
and state enforceable. Secondary emissions do not count in 
determining the potential to emit of a stationary source. For 
the purposes of actuals PALs, any physical or operational 
limitation on the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant, 
including air pollution control equipment, and restrictions on 
hours of operation or on the type or amount of material 
combusted, stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its 
design only if the limitation or the effect it would have on 
emissions is federally enforceable or enforceable as a 
practical matter by the state.  

"Predictive emissions monitoring system" or "PEMS" means 
all of the equipment necessary to monitor process and control 
device operational parameters (for example, control device 
secondary voltages and electric currents) and other 
information (for example, gas flow rate, O2 or CO2 
concentrations), and calculate and record the mass emissions 
rate (for example, pounds per hour) on a continuous basis.  

"Project" means a physical change in, or change in the 
method of operation of, an existing major stationary source.  

"Projected actual emissions" means the maximum annual 
rate, in tons per year, at which an existing emissions unit is 
projected to emit a regulated NSR pollutant in any one of the 
five years (12-month period) following the date the unit 
resumes regular operation after the project, or in any one of 
the 10 years following that date, if the project involves 
increasing the emissions unit's design capacity or its potential 
to emit that regulated NSR pollutant and full utilization of the 
unit would result in a significant emissions increase or a 
significant net emissions increase at the major stationary 
source. In determining the projected actual emissions (before 
beginning actual construction), the owner of the major 
stationary source:  

a. Shall consider all relevant information, including but not 
limited to, historical operational data, the company's own 
representations, the company's expected business activity 
and the company's highest projections of business activity, 

the company's filings with the state or federal regulatory 
authorities, and compliance plans under the approved 
implementation plan;  

b. Shall include fugitive emissions to the extent 
quantifiable and emissions associated with startups, 
shutdowns, and malfunctions; and  

c. Shall exclude, in calculating any increase in emissions 
that results from the particular project, that portion of the 
unit's emissions following the project that an existing unit 
could have emitted during the consecutive 24-month 
period used to establish the baseline actual emissions and 
that are also unrelated to the particular project, including 
any increased utilization due to product demand growth, 
provided such exclusion shall not reduce any calculated 
increases in emissions that are caused by, result from, or 
are related to the particular project; or  

d. In lieu of using the method set out in subdivisions a 
through c of this definition, may elect to use the emissions 
unit's potential to emit, in tons per year.  

"Reactivation of a very clean coal-fired electric utility steam 
generating unit" means any physical change or change in the 
method of operation associated with the commencement of 
commercial operations by a coal-fired utility unit after a 
period of discontinued operation where the unit:  

a. Has not been in operation for the two-year period prior 
to the enactment of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments 
of 1990, and the emissions from such unit continue to be 
carried in the department's emissions inventory at the time 
of enactment;  

b. Was equipped prior to shut-down with a continuous 
system of emissions control that achieves a removal 
efficiency for sulfur dioxide of no less than 85% and a 
removal efficiency for particulates of no less than 98%;  

c. Is equipped with low-NOX burners prior to the time of 
commencement of operations following reactivation; and  

d. Is otherwise in compliance with the requirements of the 
federal Clean Air Act.  

"Reasonably available control technology" or "RACT" 
means the lowest emission limit that a particular source is 
capable of meeting by the application of control technology 
that is reasonably available, considering technological and 
economic feasibility.  

"Regulated NSR pollutant" means:  

a. Any pollutant for which an ambient air quality standard 
has been promulgated and any constituents or precursors 
for such pollutants identified by the administrator (e.g., 
volatile organic compounds and NOX are precursors for 
ozone);  
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b. Any pollutant that is subject to any standard 
promulgated under § 111 of the federal Clean Air Act;  

c. Any class I or II substance subject to a standard 
promulgated under or established by Title VI of the federal 
Clean Air Act; or  

d. Any pollutant that otherwise is subject to regulation 
under the federal Clean Air Act; except that any or all 
hazardous air pollutants either listed in § 112 of the federal 
Clean Air Act or added to the list pursuant to § 112(b)(2), 
which have not been delisted pursuant to § 112(b)(3), are 
not regulated NSR pollutants unless the listed hazardous 
air pollutant is also regulated as a constituent or precursor 
of a general pollutant listed under § 108 of the federal 
Clean Air Act.  

"Repowering" means:  

a. Replacement of an existing coal-fired boiler with one of 
the following clean coal technologies: atmospheric or 
pressurized fluidized bed combustion, integrated 
gasification combined cycle, magnetohydrodynamics, 
direct and indirect coal-fired turbines, integrated 
gasification fuel cells, or as determined by the 
administrator, in consultation with the Secretary of Energy, 
a derivative of one or more of these technologies, and any 
other technology capable of controlling multiple 
combustion emissions simultaneously with improved 
boiler or generation efficiency and with significantly 
greater waste reduction relative to the performance of 
technology in widespread commercial use as of November 
15, 1990.  

b. Repowering shall also include any oil and/or gas-fired 
unit which has been awarded clean coal technology 
demonstration funding as of January 1, 1991, by the 
Department of Energy.  

c. The board may give expedited consideration to permit 
applications for any source that satisfies the requirements 
of this definition and is granted an extension under § 409 
of the federal Clean Air Act.  

"Secondary emissions" means emissions that would occur as 
a result of the construction or operation of a major stationary 
source or major modification, but do not come from the major 
stationary source or major modification itself. For the purpose 
of this article, secondary emissions shall be specific, well 
defined, quantifiable, and affect the same general area as the 
stationary source or modification that causes the secondary 
emissions. Secondary emissions include emissions from any 
offsite support facility that would not be constructed or 
increase its emissions except as a result of the construction or 
operation of the major stationary source or major 
modification. Secondary emissions do not include any 
emissions that come directly from a mobile source, such as 
emissions from the tailpipe of a motor vehicle, from a train, 
or from a vessel.  

"Significant" means:  

a. In reference to a net emissions increase or the potential 
of a source to emit any of the following pollutants, a rate of 
emissions that would equal or exceed any of the following 
rates:  

  Pollutant Emissions Rate 

  Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year (tpy) 

  Nitrogen Oxides 40 tpy 

  Sulfur Dioxide 40 tpy 

  Particulate Matter (TSP) 25 tpy 

  PM10 15 tpy 

  PM2.5 10 tpy 

  Ozone 40 tpy of volatile 
organic compounds or 

NOX 

  Lead 0.6 tpy 

  Fluorides 3 tpy 

  Sulfuric Acid Mist 7 tpy 

  Hydrogen Sulfide (H2S) 10 tpy 

  Total Reduced Sulfur 
(including H2S) 

10 tpy 

  Reduced Sulfur 
Compounds (including 
H2S) 

10 tpy 

  Municipal waste 
combustor organics 
(measured as total tetra-
through octa-chlorinated 
dibenzo-p-dioxins and 
dibenzofurans) 

3.5 x 10-6 tpy 

  Municipal waste 
combustor metals 
(measured as particulate 
matter) 

15 tpy 

  Municipal waste 
combustor acid gases 
(measured as the sum of 
SO2 and HCl) 

40 tpy 

  Municipal solid waste 
landfills emissions 
(measured as nonmethane 
organic compounds) 

50 tpy 

b. In reference to a net emissions increase or the potential 
of a source to emit a regulated NSR pollutant that 
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subdivision a of this definition does not list, any emissions 
rate.  

c. Notwithstanding subdivision a of this definition, any 
emissions rate or any net emissions increase associated 
with a major stationary source or major modification that 
would construct within 10 kilometers of a class I area, and 
have an impact on such area equal to or greater than 1 
μg/m³ (24-hour average).  

"Significant emissions increase" means, for a regulated NSR 
pollutant, an increase in emissions that is significant for that 
pollutant.  

"Significant emissions unit" means an emissions unit that 
emits or has the potential to emit a PAL pollutant in an 
amount that is significant for that PAL pollutant, but less than 
the amount that would qualify the unit as a major emissions 
unit.  

"Small emissions unit" means an emissions unit that emits or 
has the potential to emit the PAL pollutant in an amount less 
than the significant level for that PAL pollutant.  

"State enforceable" means all limitations and conditions that 
are enforceable as a practical matter, including any regulation 
of the board, those requirements developed pursuant to 
9VAC5-170-160, requirements within any applicable order or 
variance, and any permit requirements established pursuant to 
this chapter.  

"State operating permit" means a permit issued under the 
state operating permit program.  

"State operating permit program" means an operating permit 
program (i) for issuing limitations and conditions for 
stationary sources; (ii) promulgated to meet the EPA's 
minimum criteria for federal enforceability, including 
adequate notice and opportunity for the EPA and public 
comment prior to issuance of the final permit, and practicable 
enforceability; and (iii) codified in Article 5 (9VAC5-80-800 
et seq.) of this part.  

"Stationary source" means any building, structure, facility, 
or installation that emits or may emit a regulated NSR 
pollutant.  

"Temporary clean coal technology demonstration project" 
means a clean coal technology demonstration project that is 
operated for a period of five years or less, and that complies 
with the applicable implementation plan and other 
requirements necessary to attain and maintain the ambient air 
quality standards during the project and after it is terminated.  

9VAC5-80-1625. General.  

A. No owner or other person shall begin actual construction 
of any new major stationary source or major modification 
without first obtaining from the board a permit to construct 
and operate such source. The permit will state that the major 

stationary source or major modification shall meet all the 
applicable requirements of this article.  

B. The requirements of this article apply to the construction 
of any new major stationary source or the major modification 
of any existing major stationary source, except as this article 
otherwise provides.  

C. No owner or other person shall relocate any emissions 
unit from one stationary source to another without first 
obtaining a permit from the board to relocate the unit.  

D. Prior to the decision of the board, all permit applications 
will be subject to a public comment period, a public hearing 
will be held as provided in 9VAC5-80-1775.  

E. If the board and the owner make a mutual determination 
that it facilitates the efficient processing and issuing of 
permits for projects that are to be constructed concurrently, 
the board may combine the requirements of and the permits 
for emissions units within a stationary source subject to the 
major new source review program into one permit. Likewise 
the board may require that applications for permits for 
emissions units within a stationary source required by any 
provision of the major new source review program be 
combined into one application The board will take actions to 
combine permit terms and conditions as provided in 9VAC5-
80-1915. Actions to combine permit terms and conditions 
involve relocating the terms and conditions contained in two 
or more permits issued to single stationary source to a single 
permit document. Actions to combine permit terms and 
conditions in and of themselves are not a mechanism for 
making changes to permits; such actions shall be taken under 
9VAC5-80-1925 as explained in subsection F of this section.  

F. The board may not incorporate the terms and conditions 
of a state operating permit, a minor new source review 
permit, or a PAL permit into a permit issued pursuant to this 
article The board will take actions to make changes to permit 
terms and conditions as provided in 9VAC5-80-1925. 
Nothing in this subsection is intended to imply that once an 
action has been taken to make a change to a permit, the 
resulting permit change may not be combined with other 
terms and conditions in a single permit document as provided 
in subsection E of this section.  

G. All terms and conditions of any permit issued under this 
article shall be federally enforceable except those that are 
designated state-only enforceable under subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. Any term or condition that is not federally 
enforceable shall be designated as state-only enforceable as 
provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

1. A term or condition of any permit issued under this 
article shall not be federally enforceable if it is derived 
from or is designed to implement Article 2 (9VAC5-40-
130 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 40 9VAC5-40 (Existing 
Stationary Sources), Article 2 (9VAC5-50-130 et seq.) of 
9VAC5 Chapter 50 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified 
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Stationary Sources), Article 4 (9VAC5-60-200 et seq.) of 
9VAC5 Chapter 60 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 
Sources), or Article 5 (9VAC5-60-300) of 9VAC5 Chapter 
60 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources).  

2. Any term or condition of any permit issued under this 
article that is not federally enforceable shall be marked in 
the permit as state-only enforceable and shall only be 
enforceable by the board. Incorrectly designating a term or 
condition as state-only enforceable shall not provide a 
shield from federal enforcement of a term or condition that 
is legally federally enforceable.  

H. Nothing in the regulations of the board shall be construed 
to prevent the board from granting permits for programs of 
construction or modification in planned incremental phases. 
In such cases, all net emissions increases from all emissions 
units covered by the program shall be added together for 
determining the applicability of this article.  

9VAC5-80-1695. Exemptions.  

A. The requirements of this article shall not apply to a 
particular major stationary source or major modification; if:  

1. The source or modification would be a major stationary 
source or major modification only if fugitive emissions, to 
the extent quantifiable, are considered in calculating the 
potential to emit of the stationary source or modification 
and the source does not belong to any of the following 
categories:  

a. Coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers).  

b. Kraft pulp mills.  

c. Portland cement plants.  

d. Primary zinc smelters.  

e. Iron and steel mills.  

f. Primary aluminum ore reduction plants.  

g. Primary copper smelters.  

h. Municipal incinerators capable of charging more than 
250 tons of refuse per day.  

i. Hydrofluoric acid plants.  

j. Sulfuric acid plants.  

k. Nitric acid plants.  

l. Petroleum refineries.  

m. Lime plants.  

n. Phosphate rock processing plants.  

o. Coke oven batteries.  

p. Sulfur recovery plants.  

q. Carbon black plants (furnace process).  

r. Primary lead smelters.  

s. Fuel conversion plants.  

t. Sintering plants.  

u. Secondary metal production plants.  

v. Chemical process plants.  

w. Fossil-fuel boilers (or combination of them) totaling 
more than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 
input.  

x. Petroleum storage and transfer units with a total 
storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels.  

y. Taconite ore processing plants.  

z. Glass fiber processing plants.  

aa. Charcoal production plants.  

bb. Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants of more than 
250 million British thermal units per hour heat input.  

cc. Any other stationary source category which, as of 
August 7, 1980, is being regulated under 40 CFR Part 60 
or 61; or  

2. The source or modification is a portable stationary 
source that has previously received a permit under this 
article, and  

a. The owner proposes to relocate the source and 
emissions of the source at the new location would be 
temporary;  

b. The emissions from the source would not exceed its 
allowable emissions;  

c. The emissions from the source would affect no class I 
area and no area where an applicable increment is known 
to be violated; and  

d. Reasonable notice is given to the board prior to the 
relocation identifying the proposed new location and the 
probable duration of operation at the new location. Such 
notice shall be given to the board not less than 10 days in 
advance of the proposed relocation unless a different 
time duration is previously approved by the board.  

B. The requirements of this article shall not apply to a major 
stationary source or major modification with respect to a 
particular pollutant if the owner demonstrates that, as to that 
pollutant, the source or modification is located in an area 
designated as nonattainment in 9VAC5-20-204.  

C. The requirements of 9VAC5-80-1715, 9VAC5-80-1735, 
and 9VAC5-80-1755 shall not apply to a major stationary 
source or major modification with respect to a particular 
pollutant, if the allowable emissions of that pollutant from the 
source, or the net emissions increase of that pollutant from the 
modification:  
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1. Would affect no class I area and no area where an 
applicable increment is known to be violated, and  

2. Would be temporary.  

D. The requirements of 9VAC5-80-1715, 9VAC5-80-1735, 
and 9VAC5-80-1755 as they relate to any maximum 
allowable increase for a class II area shall not apply to a 
major modification at a stationary source that was in 
existence on March 1, 1978, if the net increase in allowable 
emissions of each regulated NSR pollutant from the 
modification after the application of best available control 
technology would be less than 50 tons per year.  

E. The board may exempt a proposed major stationary 
source or major modification from the requirements of 
9VAC5-80-1735 with respect to monitoring for a particular 
pollutant if:  

1. The emissions increase of the pollutant from the new 
source or the net emissions increase of the pollutant from 
the modification would cause, in any area, air quality 
impacts less than the following amounts:  

Carbon monoxide -- 575 μg/m3, 8-hour average  

Nitrogen dioxide -- 14 μg/m3, annual average  

Particulate matter -- 10 μg/m3 of PM10, 24-hour average  

Sulfur dioxide -- 13 μg/m3, 24-hour average  

Ozone*  

Lead -- 0.1 μg/m3, 3-month average  

Fluorides -- 0.25 μg/m3, 24-hour average  

Total reduced sulfur -- 10 μg/m3, 1-hour average  

Hydrogen sulfide -- 0.2 μg/m3, 1-hour average  

Reduced sulfur compounds -- 10 μg/m3, 1-hour average; 
or  
*No de minimis air quality level is provided for ozone. 
However, any net increase of 100 tons per year or more 
of volatile organic compounds or NOX subject to this 
article would be required to perform an ambient impact 
analysis including the gathering of ambient air quality 
data.  

2. The concentrations of the pollutant in the area that the 
source or modification would affect are less than the 
concentrations listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection, or 
the pollutant is not listed in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection.  

F. The requirements of this article shall not apply to a 
particular major stationary source with respect to the use of 
an alternative fuel or raw material if the following conditions 
are met: 

1. The owner demonstrates to the board that, as a result of 
trial burns at the owner’s facility or other facilities or other 
sufficient data, the emissions resulting from the use of the 
alternative fuel or raw material supply are decreased. No 
demonstration will be required for the use of processed 
animal fat, processed fish oil, processed vegetable oil, 
distillate oil, or any mixture thereof in place of the same 
quantity of residual oil to fire industrial boilers. 

2. The use of an alternative fuel or raw material would not 
be subject to review under this article as a major 
modification. 

9VAC5-80-1915. Actions to combine permit terms and 
conditions. 

A. General requirements for actions to combine permit 
terms and conditions are as follows: 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 
the board may take actions to combine permit terms and 
conditions as provided under subsections B through E of 
this section. 

2. Requests to combine permit terms and conditions may 
be initiated by the permittee or by the board. 

3. Under no circumstances may an action to combine 
permit terms and conditions be used for any of the 
following: 

a. To combine the terms and conditions of (i) a federal 
operating permit, (ii) a PAL permit, or (iii) any permit 
that is or will be part of the implementation plan. 

b. To take an action to issue a permit or change a permit 
for the fabrication, erection, installation, demolition, 
relocation, addition, replacement, or modification of an 
emissions unit that would result in a change in emissions 
that would otherwise (i) be subject to review under this 
article or (ii) require a permit or permit amendment under 
the new source review program. 

c. To allow any stationary source or emissions unit to 
violate any federal requirement. 

d. To take an action to issue a permit or change a permit 
for any physical change in or change in the method of 
operation of a major stationary source that is subject to 
the provisions in 9VAC5-80-1605 C (restrictions on 
relaxing enforceable emission limitations that the major 
stationary source used to avoid applicability of the major 
NSR program). 

B. The board may take actions to combine the terms and 
conditions of state operating permits and new source review 
permits along with any changes to state operating permits and 
new source review permits. 

C. If the board and the owner make a mutual determination 
that it facilitates improved compliance or the efficient 
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processing and issuing of permits, the board may take an 
action to combine the terms and conditions of permits for 
emissions units within a stationary source into one or more 
permits. Likewise the board may require that applications for 
permits for emissions units within a stationary source 
required by any permit program be combined into one 
application. 

D. Actions to combine the terms and conditions of permits 
are subject to the following conditions: 

1. Each term or condition in the combined permit shall be 
accompanied by a statement that specifies and references 
the origin (enabling permit program) of, along with the 
regulatory or any other authority for, the term or condition. 

2. Each term or condition in the combined permit shall be 
accompanied by a statement that specifies the effective 
date of the term or condition. 

3. Each term or condition in the combined permit shall be 
identified by its original designation (i.e., state-only 
enforceable or federally and state enforceable) consistent 
with the applicable enforceability designation of the term 
or condition in the contributing permit. 

4. Except as provided in subsection E of this section, all 
terms and conditions in the contributing permits shall be 
included in the combined permit without change. The 
combined permit will supersede the contributing permits, 
which will no longer be effective. 

E. Actions to make changes to permit terms and conditions 
as may be necessary to facilitate actions to combine permit 
terms and conditions may be accomplished in accordance 
with the minor amendment procedures (unless specified 
otherwise in this section) of the enabling permit program (i.e., 
the permit program that is the origin of the term or condition), 
subject to the following conditions: 

1. Updates to regulatory or other authorities may be 
accomplished in accordance with the administrative 
amendment procedures of the enabling permit program. 

2. If two or more terms or conditions apply to the same 
emissions unit or emissions units and are substantively 
equivalent, the more restrictive of the duplicate terms or 
conditions may be retained and the less restrictive one 
removed, subject to the provisions of subdivision 4 of this 
subsection. 

3. If two or more similar terms or conditions apply to the 
same emissions unit or emissions units and one is 
substantively more restrictive than the others, the more 
restrictive of the terms or conditions shall be retained, 
regardless of whether the less restrictive terms or 
conditions are removed. If the less restrictive of the similar 
terms or conditions is removed, the provisions of 
subdivision 4 of this subsection apply. 

4. The removal of similar terms or conditions from 
contributing permits is subject to the following conditions: 

a. If any one of the terms or conditions removed is 
federally and state enforceable, the more restrictive term 
or condition that is retained in the combined permit shall 
be federally and state enforceable. 

b. If any one of the terms or conditions originates in a 
permit subject to a major NSR program, that major NSR 
program shall become the effective enabling permit 
program for the more restrictive term or condition that is 
retained in the combined permit. If more than one major 
NSR program is the basis for a term or condition, all of 
the applicable major NSR programs shall be the enabling 
permit program for that term or condition. 

c. The regulatory basis for all of the similar terms or 
conditions that are removed shall be included in the 
reference for the term or condition that is retained.  

9VAC5-80-1925. Changes to Actions to change permits.  

A. The general requirements for making actions to make 
changes to permits issued under this article are as follows:  

1. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection 
changes to a permit issued under this article shall be made 
as specified under subsections B and C of this section and 
9VAC5-80-1935 through 9VAC5-80-1965.  

2. Changes to a permit issued under this article may be 
initiated by the permittee as specified in subsection B of 
this section or by the board as specified in subsection C of 
this section.  

3. Changes to a permit issued under this article and 
incorporated into a permit issued under Article 1 (9VAC5-
80-50 et seq.) or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this 
part shall be made as specified in Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 
et seq.) or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this part.  

4. Under no circumstances may a permit issued under this 
article be changed in order to (i) incorporate the terms and 
conditions necessary to implement any provision of the 
new source review program for a project that qualifies as a 
modification under the new source review program or (ii) 
incorporate the terms and conditions necessary to 
implement any provision of the new source review 
program for a PAL permit.  

B. The requirements for changes initiated by the permittee 
are as follows:  

1. The permittee may initiate a change to a permit by 
submitting a written request to the board for an 
administrative permit amendment, a minor permit 
amendment or a significant permit amendment. The 
requirements for these permit changes can be found in 
9VAC5-80-1935 through 9VAC5-80-1955.  
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2. A request for a change by a permittee shall include a 
statement of the reason for the proposed change.  

C. The board may initiate a change to a permit through the 
use of permit reopenings as specified in 9VAC5-80-1965.  

9VAC5-80-1935. Administrative permit amendments.  

A. Administrative permit amendments shall be required used 
for and limited to the following:  

1. Correction of typographical or any other error, defect or 
irregularity which does not substantially affect the permit.  

2. Identification of a change in the name, address, or phone 
number of any person identified in the permit, or of a 
similar minor administrative change at the source.  

3. Change in ownership or operational control of a source 
where the board determines that no other change in the 
permit is necessary, provided that a written agreement 
containing a specific date for transfer of permit 
responsibility, coverage, and liability between the current 
and new permittee has been submitted to the board and the 
requirements of 9VAC5-80-2170 have been fulfilled.  

B. The administrative permit amendment procedures are as 
follows:  

1. The board will normally take final action on a request 
for an administrative permit amendment no more than 60 
days from receipt of the request.  

2. The board will incorporate the changes without 
providing notice to the public under 9VAC5-80-1775. 
However, any such permit revisions shall be designated in 
the permit amendment as having been made pursuant to 
this section.  

3. The owner may implement the changes addressed in the 
request for an administrative amendment immediately 
upon submittal of the request.  

9VAC5-80-1945. Minor permit amendments.  

A. Minor permit amendment procedures shall be used only 
for those permit amendments that meet all of the following 
criteria:  

1. Do not violate any applicable federal requirement.  

2. Do not involve significant changes to existing 
monitoring, reporting, or recordkeeping requirements that 
would make the permit requirements less stringent, such as 
a change to the method of monitoring to be used, a change 
to the method of demonstrating compliance or a relaxation 
of reporting or recordkeeping requirements.  

3. Do not require or change a case-by-case determination 
of an emission emissions limitation or other standard 
requirement.  

4. Do not seek to establish or change a permit term or 
condition (i) for which there is no corresponding 
underlying applicable regulatory requirement and (ii) that 
the source has assumed to avoid an applicable regulatory 
requirement to which the source would otherwise be 
subject. Such terms and conditions include, but are not 
limited to, an emissions cap assumed to avoid 
classification as a modification under the new source 
review program.  

5. Are not required to be processed as a significant 
amendment under 9VAC5-80-1955; or as an administrative 
permit amendment under 9VAC5-80-1935.  

B. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, minor 
permit amendment procedures may be used for permit 
amendments that meet any of the following criteria:  

1. Involve the use of economic incentives, emissions 
trading, and other similar approaches, to the extent that 
such minor permit amendment procedures are explicitly 
provided for in a regulation of the board or a federally-
approved program.  

2. Require new or more frequent monitoring or reporting 
by the permittee.  

3. Designate any term or permit condition that meets the 
criteria in 9VAC5-80-1625 G 1 as state-only enforceable 
as provided in 9VAC5-80-1625 G 2 for any permit issued 
under this article or any regulation from which this article 
is derived.  

C. Minor permit amendment procedures may be used for 
permit amendments involving the rescission of a provision of 
a permit if the board and the owner make a mutual 
determination that the provision is rescinded because all of 
the underlying statutory or regulatory requirements (i) upon 
which the provision is based or (ii) that necessitated inclusion 
of the provision are no longer applicable. In order for the 
underlying statutory or regulatory requirements to be 
considered no longer applicable, the provision of the permit 
that is being rescinded must not cover a regulated NSR 
pollutant.  

D. A request for the use of minor permit amendment 
procedures shall include all of the following: 1. A a 
description of the change, the emissions resulting from the 
change, and any new applicable regulatory requirements that 
will apply if the change occurs. 2. A, along with a request that 
such procedures be used. The applicant may, at the 
applicant’s discretion, include a suggested proposed permit 
amendment. 

E. The public participation requirements of 9VAC5-80-1775 
shall not extend to minor permit amendments.  

F. Normally within 90 days of receipt by the board of a 
complete request under minor permit amendment procedures, 
the board will do one of the following:  
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1. Issue the permit amendment as proposed.  

2. Deny the permit amendment request.  

3. Determine that the requested amendment does not meet 
the minor permit amendment criteria and should be 
reviewed under the significant amendment procedures.  

G. The requirements for making changes are as follows:  

1. The owner may make the change proposed in the minor 
permit amendment request immediately after the request is 
filed.  

2. After the change under subdivision 1 of this subsection 
is made, and until the board takes any of the actions 
specified in subsection F of this section, the source shall 
comply with both the applicable regulatory requirements 
governing the change and the proposed permit terms and 
conditions amendment.  

3. During the time period specified in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection, the owner need not comply with the existing 
permit terms and conditions the owner seeks to modify if 
the applicant has submitted a proposed permit amendment. 
However, if the owner fails to comply with the proposed 
permit terms and conditions during this time period, the 
existing permit terms and conditions the owner seeks to 
modify may be enforced against the owner.  

9VAC5-80-1955. Significant amendment procedures.  

A. The criteria for use of significant amendment procedures 
are as follows:  

1. Significant amendment procedures shall be used for 
requesting permit amendments that do not qualify as minor 
permit amendments under 9VAC5-80-1945 or as 
administrative amendments under 9VAC5-80-1935.  

2. Significant amendment procedures shall be used for 
those permit amendments that meet any of the following 
criteria:  

a. Involve significant changes to existing monitoring, 
reporting, or recordkeeping requirements that would 
make the permit requirements less stringent, such as a 
change to the method of monitoring to be used, a change 
to the method of demonstrating compliance or a 
relaxation of reporting or recordkeeping requirements.  

b. Require or change a case-by-case determination of an 
emission emissions limitation or other standard 
requirement.  

c. Seek to establish or change a permit term or condition 
(i) for which there is no corresponding underlying 
applicable regulatory requirement and (ii) that the source 
has assumed to avoid an applicable regulatory 
requirement to which the source would otherwise be 
subject. Such terms and conditions include, but are not 
limited to, an emissions cap assumed to avoid 

classification as a modification under the new source 
review program.  

B. A request for a significant permit amendment shall 
include a description of the change, the emissions resulting 
from the change, and any new applicable regulatory 
requirements that will apply if the change occurs. The 
applicant may, at the applicant's discretion, include a 
suggested draft permit amendment.  

C. The provisions of 9VAC5-80-1775 shall apply to 
requests made under this section.  

D. The board will normally take final action on significant 
permit amendments within 180 days after receipt of a 
complete request, except in cases where direct consideration 
of the request by the board is granted pursuant to 9VAC5-80-
25. The board may extend this time period if additional 
information is needed.  

E. The owner shall not make the change applied for in the 
significant amendment request until the amendment is 
approved by the board under subsection D of this section.  

9VAC5-80-1965. Reopening for cause.  

A. A permit may be reopened and amended under any of the 
following situations:  

1. Additional regulatory requirements become applicable 
to the emissions units covered by the permit after a permit 
is issued but prior to commencement of construction.  

2. The board determines that the permit contains a material 
mistake or that inaccurate statements were made in 
establishing the emissions standards or other terms or 
conditions of the permit.  

3. The board determines that the permit must be amended 
to assure compliance with the applicable regulatory 
requirements or that the terms and conditions of the permit 
are not sufficient to meet all of the standards and 
requirements contained in this article.  

B. Proceedings to reopen and reissue a permit shall follow 
the same procedures as apply to initial permit issuance and 
shall affect only those parts of the permit for which cause to 
reopen exists. Such reopening shall be made as expeditiously 
as practicable.  

C. Reopenings shall not be initiated before a notice of such 
intent is provided to the source by the board at least 30 days 
in advance of the date that the permit is to be reopened, 
except that the board may provide a shorter time period in the 
case of an emergency.  

9VAC5-80-2010. Definitions. 

A. As used in this article, all words or terms not defined here 
shall have the meanings given them in 9VAC5 Chapter 10 
(9VAC5-10) 9VAC5-10 (General Definitions), unless 
otherwise required by context. 
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B. For the purpose of this article, 9VAC5-50-270 and any 
related use, the words or terms shall have the meanings given 
them in subsection C of this section. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Actual emissions" means the actual rate of emissions of a 
regulated NSR pollutant from an emissions unit, as 
determined in accordance with subdivisions a through c of 
this definition, except that this definition shall not apply for 
calculating whether a significant emissions increase has 
occurred, or for establishing a PAL under 9VAC5-80-2144. 
Instead, the definitions of "projected actual emissions" and 
"baseline actual emissions" shall apply for those purposes. 

a. In general, actual emissions as of a particular date shall 
equal the average rate, in tons per year, at which the unit 
actually emitted the pollutant during a consecutive 24-
month period which precedes the particular date and which 
is representative of normal source operation. The board 
will allow the use of a different time period upon a 
determination that it is more representative of normal 
source operation. Actual emissions shall be calculated 
using the unit's actual operating hours, production rates, 
and types of materials processed, stored, or combusted 
during the selected time period.  

b. The board may presume that the source-specific 
allowable emissions for the unit are equivalent to the actual 
emissions of the unit.  

c. For any emissions unit that has not begun normal 
operations on the particular date, actual emissions shall 
equal the potential to emit of the unit on that date.  

"Actuals PAL for a major stationary source" means a PAL 
based on the baseline actual emissions of all emissions units 
at the source, that emit or have the potential to emit the PAL 
pollutant.  

"Administrator" means the administrator of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or an authorized 
representative.  

"Allowable emissions" means the emissions rate of a 
stationary source calculated using the maximum rated 
capacity of the source (unless the source is subject to 
federally and state enforceable limits which restrict the 
operating rate, or hours of operation, or both) and the most 
stringent of the following:  

a. The applicable standards set forth in 40 CFR Parts 60, 
61 and 63;  

b. Any applicable implementation plan emissions 
limitation including those with a future compliance date; or  

c. The emissions limit specified as a federally and state 
enforceable permit condition, including those with a future 
compliance date.  

For the purposes of actuals PALs, "allowable emissions" 
shall also be calculated considering any emission limitations 
that are enforceable as a practical matter on the emissions 
unit's potential to emit.  

"Applicable federal requirement" means all of, but not 
limited to, the following as they apply to emissions units in a 
source subject to this article (including requirements that have 
been promulgated or approved by the administrator through 
rulemaking at the time of permit issuance but have future-
effective compliance dates):  

a. Any standard or other requirement provided for in an 
implementation plan established pursuant to § 110 or 
§ 111(d) of the federal Clean Air Act, including any 
source-specific provisions such as consent agreements or 
orders.  

b. Any limit or condition in any construction permit issued 
under the new source review program or in any operating 
permit issued pursuant to the state operating permit 
program.  

c. Any emission standard, alternative emission standard, 
alternative emission limitation, equivalent emission 
limitation or other requirement established pursuant to 
§ 112 or § 129 of the federal Clean Air Act as amended in 
1990.  

d. Any new source performance standard or other 
requirement established pursuant to § 111 of the federal 
Clean Air Act, and any emission standard or other 
requirement established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 
Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.  

e. Any limitations and conditions or other requirement in a 
Virginia regulation or program that has been approved by 
EPA under subpart E of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes 
of implementing and enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean 
Air Act.  

f. Any requirement concerning accident prevention under 
§ 112(r)(7) of the federal Clean Air Act.  

g. Any compliance monitoring requirements established 
pursuant to either § 504(b) or § 114(a)(3) of the federal 
Clean Air Act.  

h. Any standard or other requirement for consumer and 
commercial products under § 183(e) of the federal Clean 
Air Act.  

i. Any standard or other requirement for tank vessels under 
§ 183(f) of the federal Clean Air Act.  

j. Any standard or other requirement in 40 CFR Part 55 to 
control air pollution from outer continental shelf sources.  

k. Any standard or other requirement of the regulations 
promulgated to protect stratospheric ozone under Title VI 
of the federal Clean Air Act, unless the administrator has 
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determined that such requirements need not be contained in 
a permit issued under this article.  

l. With regard to temporary sources subject to 9VAC5-80-
130, (i) any ambient air quality standard, except applicable 
state requirements, and (ii) requirements regarding 
increments or visibility as provided in Article 8 (9VAC5-
80-1605 et seq.) of this part.  

"Baseline actual emissions" means the rate of emissions, in 
tons per year, of a regulated NSR pollutant, as determined in 
accordance with the following:  

a. For any existing electric utility steam generating unit, 
baseline actual emissions means the average rate, in tons 
per year, at which the unit actually emitted the pollutant 
during any consecutive 24-month period selected by the 
owner within the five-year period immediately preceding 
when the owner begins actual construction of the project. 
The board may allow the use of a different time period 
upon a determination that it is more representative of 
normal source operation.  

(1) The average rate shall include fugitive emissions to 
the extent quantifiable, and emissions associated with 
startups, shutdowns, and malfunctions.  

(2) The average rate shall be adjusted downward to 
exclude any noncompliant emissions that occurred while 
the source was operating above any emission limitation 
that was legally enforceable during the consecutive 24-
month period.  

(3) For a regulated NSR pollutant, when a project 
involves multiple emissions units, only one consecutive 
24-month period shall be used to determine the baseline 
actual emissions for the emissions units being changed. 
The same consecutive 24-month period shall be used for 
each different regulated NSR pollutant unless the owner 
can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that a 
different consecutive 24-month period for a different 
pollutant or pollutants is more appropriate due to 
extenuating circumstances.  

(4) The average rate shall not be based on any 
consecutive 24-month period for which there is 
inadequate information for determining annual 
emissions, in tons per year, and for adjusting this amount 
if required by subdivision a (2) of this definition.  

b. For an existing emissions unit other than an electric 
utility steam generating unit, baseline actual emissions 
means the average rate, in tons per year, at which the 
emissions unit actually emitted the pollutant during any 
consecutive 24-month period selected by the owner within 
the five-year period immediately preceding either the date 
the owner begins actual construction of the project, or the 
date a complete permit application is received by the board 
for a permit required either under this section or under a 

plan approved by the administrator, whichever is earlier, 
except that the five-year period shall not include any 
period earlier than November 15, 1990. The board will 
allow the use of a different time period upon a 
determination that it is more representative of normal 
source operation.  

(1) The average rate shall include fugitive emissions to 
the extent quantifiable, and emissions associated with 
startups, shutdowns, and malfunctions.  

(2) The average rate shall be adjusted downward to 
exclude any noncompliant emissions that occurred while 
the source was operating above any emission limitation 
that was legally enforceable during the consecutive 24-
month period.  

(3) The average rate shall be adjusted downward to 
exclude any emissions that would have exceeded an 
emission limitation with which the source shall currently 
comply, had such source been required to comply with 
such limitations during the consecutive 24-month period. 
However, if an emission limitation is part of a maximum 
achievable control technology standard that the 
administrator proposed or promulgated under 40 CFR 
Part 63, the baseline actual emissions need only be 
adjusted if the state has taken credit for such emissions 
reductions in an attainment demonstration or 
maintenance plan consistent with the requirements of 
9VAC5-80-2120 K.  

(4) For a regulated NSR pollutant, when a project 
involves multiple emissions units, only one consecutive 
24-month period shall be used to determine the baseline 
actual emissions for the emissions units being changed. 
The same consecutive 24-month period shall be used for 
each different regulated NSR pollutant unless the owner 
can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that a 
different consecutive 24-month period for a different 
pollutant or pollutants is more appropriate due to 
extenuating circumstances.  

(5) The average rate shall not be based on any 
consecutive 24-month period for which there is 
inadequate information for determining annual 
emissions, in tons per year, and for adjusting this amount 
if required by subdivisions b (2) and b (3) of this 
definition.  

c. For a new emissions unit, the baseline actual emissions 
for purposes of determining the emissions increase that 
will result from the initial construction and operation of 
such unit shall equal zero; and thereafter, for all other 
purposes, shall equal the unit's potential to emit.  

d. For a PAL for a major stationary source, the baseline 
actual emissions shall be calculated for existing electric 
utility steam generating units in accordance with the 
procedures contained in subdivision a of this definition, for 
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other existing emissions units in accordance with the 
procedures contained in subdivision b of this definition, 
and for a new emissions unit in accordance with the 
procedures contained in subdivision c of this definition.  

"Begin actual construction" means, in general, initiation of 
physical on-site construction activities on an emissions unit 
which are of a permanent nature. Such activities include, but 
are not limited to, installation of building supports and 
foundations, laying of underground pipework, and 
construction of permanent storage structures. With respect to 
a change in method of operation, this term refers to those on-
site activities other than preparatory activities which mark the 
initiation of the change.  

"Best available control technology" means an emissions 
limitation (including a visible emissions standard) based on 
the maximum degree of reduction for each regulated NSR 
pollutant that would be emitted from any proposed major 
stationary source or major modification that the board, on a 
case-by-case basis, taking into account energy, 
environmental, and economic impacts and other costs, 
determines is achievable for such source or modification 
through application of production processes or available 
methods, systems, and techniques, including fuel cleaning or 
treatment or innovative fuel combustion techniques for 
control of such pollutant. In no event shall application of best 
available control technology result in emissions of any 
pollutant that would exceed the emissions allowed by any 
applicable standard under 40 CFR Parts 60, 61, and 63. If the 
board determines that technological or economic limitations 
on the application of measurement methodology to a 
particular emissions unit would make the imposition of an 
emissions standard infeasible, a design, equipment, work 
practice, operational standard, or combination thereof, may be 
prescribed instead to satisfy the requirement for the 
application of best available control technology. Such 
standard shall, to the degree possible, set forth the emissions 
reduction achievable by implementation of such design, 
equipment, work practice or operation, and shall provide for 
compliance by means that achieve equivalent results.  

"Building, structure, facility, or installation" means all of the 
pollutant-emitting activities which belong to the same 
industrial grouping, are located on one or more contiguous or 
adjacent properties, and are under the control of the same 
person (or persons under common control) except the 
activities of any vessel. Pollutant-emitting activities shall be 
considered as part of the same industrial grouping if they 
belong to the same "major group" (i.e., which have the same 
two-digit code) as described in the "Standard Industrial 
Classification Manual," as amended by the supplement (see 
9VAC5-20-21).  

"Clean coal technology" means any technology, including 
technologies applied at the precombustion, combustion, or 
post-combustion stage, at a new or existing facility that will 

achieve significant reductions in air emissions of sulfur 
dioxide or nitrogen oxides associated with the utilization of 
coal in the generation of electricity, or process steam that was 
not in widespread use as of November 15, 1990.  

"Clean coal technology demonstration project" means a 
project using funds appropriated under the heading 
"Department of Energy-Clean Coal Technology," up to a total 
amount of $2,500,000,000 for commercial demonstration of 
clean coal technology, or similar projects funded through 
appropriations for the U.S. EPA. The federal contribution for 
a qualifying project shall be at least 20% of the total cost of 
the demonstration project.  

"Commence," as applied to construction of a major 
stationary source or major modification, means that the owner 
has all necessary preconstruction approvals or permits and 
either has:  

a. Begun, or caused to begin, a continuous program of 
actual on-site construction of the source, to be completed 
within a reasonable time; or  

b. Entered into binding agreements or contractual 
obligations, which cannot be canceled or modified without 
substantial loss to the owner, to undertake a program of 
actual construction of the source, to be completed within a 
reasonable time.  

"Complete application" means that the application contains 
all the information necessary for processing the application 
and the provisions of § 10.1-1321.1 of the Virginia Air 
Pollution Control Law have been met. Designating an 
application complete for purposes of permit processing does 
not preclude the board from requesting or accepting 
additional information.  

"Construction" means any physical change or change in the 
method of operation (including fabrication, erection, 
installation, demolition, or modification of an emissions unit) 
that would result in a change in actual emissions.  

"Continuous emissions monitoring system (CEMS)" means 
all of the equipment that may be required to meet the data 
acquisition and availability requirements of this section, to 
sample, condition (if applicable), analyze, and provide a 
record of emissions on a continuous basis.  

"Continuous emissions rate monitoring system (CERMS)" 
means the total equipment required for the determination and 
recording of the pollutant mass emissions rate (in terms of 
mass per unit of time).  

"Continuous parameter monitoring system (CPMS)" means 
all of the equipment necessary to meet the data acquisition 
and availability requirements of this section, to monitor 
process and control device operational parameters (for 
example, control device secondary voltages and electric 
currents) and other information (for example, gas flow rate, 
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O2 or CO2 concentrations), and to record average operational 
parameter values on a continuous basis.  

"Electric utility steam generating unit" means any steam 
electric generating unit that is constructed for the purpose of 
supplying more than one-third of its potential electric output 
capacity and more than 25 megawatt electrical output to any 
utility power distribution system for sale. Any steam supplied 
to a steam distribution system for the purpose of providing 
steam to a steam-electric generator that would produce 
electrical energy for sale is also considered in determining the 
electrical energy output capacity of the affected facility.  

"Emissions cap" means any limitation on the rate of 
emissions of any air pollutant from one or more emissions 
units established and identified as an emissions cap in any 
permit issued pursuant to the new source review program or 
operating permit program.  

"Emissions unit" means any part of a stationary source 
which emits or would have the potential to emit any regulated 
NSR pollutant and includes an electric steam generating unit. 
For purposes of this article, there are two types of emissions 
units: (i) a new emissions unit is any emissions unit that is (or 
will be) newly constructed and that has existed for less than 
two years from the date such emissions unit first operated; 
and (ii) an existing emissions unit is any emissions unit that is 
not a new emissions unit.  

"Enforceable as a practical matter" means that the permit 
contains emission limitations that are enforceable by the 
board or the department and meet the following criteria:  

a. Are permanent;  

b. Contain a legal obligation for the owner to adhere to the 
terms and conditions;  

c. Do not allow a relaxation of a requirement of the 
implementation plan;  

d. Are technically accurate and quantifiable;  

e. Include averaging times or other provisions that allow at 
least monthly (or a shorter period if necessary to be 
consistent with the implementation plan) checks on 
compliance. This may include, but not be limited to, the 
following: compliance with annual limits in a rolling basis, 
monthly or shorter limits, and other provisions consistent 
with this article and other regulations of the board; and  

f. Require a level of recordkeeping, reporting and 
monitoring sufficient to demonstrate compliance.  

"Federal land manager" means, with respect to any lands in 
the United States, the secretary of the department with 
authority over such lands.  

"Federally enforceable" means all limitations and conditions 
which are enforceable by the administrator and citizens under 
the federal Clean Air Act or that are enforceable under other 

statutes administered by the administrator. Federally 
enforceable limitations and conditions include, but are not 
limited to the following:  

a. Emission standards, alternative emission standards, 
alternative emission limitations, and equivalent emission 
limitations established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 
Clean Air Act as amended in 1990.  

b. New source performance standards established pursuant 
to § 111 of the federal Clean Air Act, and emission 
standards established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 
Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.  

c. All terms and conditions (unless expressly designated as 
not federally enforceable) in a federal operating permit, 
including any provisions that limit a source's potential to 
emit.  

d. Limitations and conditions that are part of an 
implementation plan established pursuant to § 110, 
§ 111(d), or § 129 of the federal Clean Air Act.  

e. Limitations and conditions (unless expressly designated 
as not federally enforceable) that are part of a federal 
construction permit issued under 40 CFR 52.21 or any 
construction permit issued under regulations approved by 
EPA into the implementation plan.  

f. Limitations and conditions (unless expressly designated 
as not federally enforceable) that are part of a state 
operating permit where the permit and the permit program 
pursuant to which it was issued meet all of the following 
criteria:  

(1) The operating permit program has been approved by 
the EPA into the implementation plan under § 110 of the 
federal Clean Air Act.  

(2) The operating permit program imposes a legal 
obligation that operating permit holders adhere to the 
terms and limitations of such permits and provides that 
permits that do not conform to the operating permit 
program requirements and the requirements of EPA's 
underlying regulations may be deemed not "federally 
enforceable" by EPA.  

(3) The operating permit program requires that all 
emission limitations, controls, and other requirements 
imposed by such permits will be at least as stringent as 
any other applicable limitations and requirements 
contained in the implementation plan or enforceable 
under the implementation plan, and that the program may 
not issue permits that waive, or make less stringent, any 
limitations or requirements contained in or issued 
pursuant to the implementation plan, or that are 
otherwise "federally enforceable."  
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(4) The limitations, controls, and requirements in the 
permit in question are permanent, quantifiable, and 
otherwise enforceable as a practical matter.  

(5) The permit in question was issued only after adequate 
and timely notice and opportunity for comment by the 
EPA and the public.  

g. Limitations and conditions in a regulation of the board 
or program that has been approved by EPA under subpart 
E of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes of implementing and 
enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act.  

h. Individual consent agreements that EPA has legal 
authority to create.  

"Federal operating permit" means a permit issued under the 
federal operating permit program.  

"Federal operating permit program" means an operating 
permit system (i) for issuing terms and conditions for major 
stationary sources, (ii) established to implement the 
requirements of Title V of the federal Clean Air Act and 
associated regulations, and (iii) codified in Article 1 (9VAC5-
80-50 et seq.), Article 2 (9VAC5-80-310 et seq.), Article 3 
(9VAC5-80-360 et seq.), and Article 4 (9VAC5-80-710 et 
seq.) of this part.  

"Fugitive emissions" means those emissions that could not 
reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or other 
functionally equivalent opening.  

"Lowest achievable emissions rate (LAER)" means for any 
source, the more stringent rate of emissions based on the 
following:  

a. The most stringent emissions limitation which is 
contained in the implementation plan of any state for such 
class or category of stationary source, unless the owner of 
the proposed stationary source demonstrates that such 
limitations are not achievable; or  

b. The most stringent emissions limitation which is 
achieved in practice by such class or category of stationary 
sources. This limitation, when applied to a modification, 
means the lowest achievable emissions rate for the new or 
modified emissions units within the stationary source. In 
no event shall the application of this term permit a 
proposed new or modified stationary source to emit any 
pollutant in excess of the amount allowable under an 
applicable new source standard of performance.  

"Major emissions unit" means (i) any emissions unit that 
emits or has the potential to emit 100 tons per year or more of 
the PAL pollutant in an attainment area; or (ii) any emissions 
unit that emits or has the potential to emit the PAL pollutant 
in an amount that is equal to or greater than the major source 
threshold for the PAL pollutant for nonattainment areas in 
subdivision a (1) of the definition of "major stationary 
source."  

"Major modification"  

a. Means any physical change in or change in the method 
of operation of a major stationary source that would result 
in (i) a significant emissions increase of a regulated NSR 
pollutant; and (ii) a significant net emissions increase of 
that pollutant from the source.  

b. Any significant emissions increase from any emissions 
units or net emissions increase at a source that is 
considered significant for volatile organic compounds shall 
be considered significant for ozone.  

c. A physical change or change in the method of operation 
shall not include the following:  

(1) Routine maintenance, repair and replacement.  

(2) Use of an alternative fuel or raw material by reason of 
an order under § 2 (a) and (b) of the Energy Supply and 
Environmental Coordination Act of 1974 (or any 
superseding legislation) or by reason of a natural gas 
curtailment plan pursuant to the Federal Power Act.  

(3) Use of an alternative fuel by reason of an order or 
rule § 125 of the federal Clean Air Act.  

(4) Use of an alternative fuel at a steam generating unit to 
the extent that the fuel is generated from municipal solid 
waste.  

(5) Use of an alternative fuel or raw material by a 
stationary source which that:  

(a) The source was capable of accommodating before 
December 21, 1976, unless such change would be 
prohibited under any federally and state enforceable 
permit condition which was established after December 
21, 1976, pursuant to 40 CFR 52.21 or this chapter; or  

(b) The source is approved to use under any permit 
issued under 40 CFR 52.21 or this chapter; and. 

(c) The owner demonstrates to the board that as a result 
of trial burns at the source or other sources or other 
sufficient data that the emissions resulting from the use 
of the alternative fuel or raw material supply are 
decreased. 

(6) An increase in the hours of operation or in the 
production rate, unless such change is prohibited under 
any federally and state enforceable permit condition 
which was established after December 21, 1976, pursuant 
to 40 CFR 52.21 or this chapter.  

(7) Any change in ownership at a stationary source.  

(8) The installation, operation, cessation, or removal of a 
temporary clean coal technology demonstration project, 
provided that the project complies with:  

(a) The applicable implementation plan, and  
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(b) Other requirements necessary to attain and maintain 
the national ambient air quality standard during the 
project and after it is terminated.  

d. This definition shall not apply with respect to a 
particular regulated NSR pollutant when the source is 
complying with the requirements under 9VAC5-80-2144 
for a PAL for that pollutant. Instead, the definition for 
"PAL major modification" shall apply.  

"Major new source review (NSR) permit" means a permit 
issued under the major new source review program.  

"Major new source review (major NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for new major 
stationary sources or major modifications (physical changes 
or changes in the method of operation), (ii) established to 
implement the requirements of §§ 112, 165 and 173 of the 
federal Clean Air Act and associated regulations, and (iii) 
codified in Article 7 (9VAC5-80-1400 et seq.), Article 8 
(9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and Article 9 (9VAC5-80-2000 et 
seq.) of this part.  

"Major stationary source"  

a. Means:  

(1) Any stationary source of air pollutants which emits, 
or has the potential to emit, (i) 100 tons per year or more 
of a regulated NSR pollutant, (ii) 50 tons per year or 
more of volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides in 
ozone nonattainment areas classified as serious in 
9VAC5-20-204, (iii) 25 tons per year or more of volatile 
organic compounds or nitrogen oxides in ozone 
nonattainment areas classified as severe in 9VAC5-20-
204, or (iv) 100 tons per year or more of nitrogen oxides 
or 50 tons per year of volatile organic compounds in the 
Ozone Transport Region; or  

(2) Any physical change that would occur at a stationary 
source not qualifying under subdivision a (1) of this 
definition as a major stationary source, if the change 
would constitute a major stationary source by itself.  

b. A major stationary source that is major for volatile 
organic compounds shall be considered major for ozone.  

c. The fugitive emissions of a stationary source shall not be 
included in determining for any of the purposes of this 
article whether it is a major stationary source, unless the 
source belongs to one of the following categories of 
stationary sources:  

(1) Coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers).  

(2) Kraft pulp mills.  

(3) Portland cement plants.  

(4) Primary zinc smelters.  

(5) Iron and steel mills.  

(6) Primary aluminum ore reduction plants.  

(7) Primary copper smelters.  

(8) Municipal incinerators (or combinations of them) 
capable of charging more than 250 tons of refuse per day.  

(9) Hydrofluoric acid plants.  

(10) Sulfuric acid plants.  

(11) Nitric acid plants.  

(12) Petroleum refineries.  

(13) Lime plants.  

(14) Phosphate rock processing plants.  

(15) Coke oven batteries.  

(16) Sulfur recovery plants.  

(17) Carbon black plants (furnace process).  

(18) Primary lead smelters.  

(19) Fuel conversion plants.  

(20) Sintering plants.  

(21) Secondary metal production plants.  

(22) Chemical process plants.  

(23) Fossil-fuel boilers (or combination of them) totaling 
more than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 
input.  

(24) Petroleum storage and transfer units with a total 
storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels.  

(25) Taconite ore processing plants.  

(26) Glass fiber manufacturing plants.  

(27) Charcoal production plants.  

(28) Fossil fuel steam electric plants of more than 250 
million British thermal units per hour heat input.  

(29) Any other stationary source category which, as of 
August 7, 1980, is being regulated under 40 CFR Part 60, 
61 or 63.  

"Minor new source review (NSR) permit" means a permit 
issued under the minor new source review program.  

"Minor new source review (minor NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for new 
stationary sources or modifications (physical changes or 
changes in the method of operation) that do not qualify for are 
not subject to review under the major new source review 
program, (ii) established to implement the requirements of §§ 
110(a)(2)(C) and 112 of the federal Clean Air Act and 
associated regulations, and (iii) codified in Article 6 (9VAC5-
80-1100 et seq.) of this part.  
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"Necessary preconstruction approvals or permits" means 
those permits required under the NSR program that are part of 
the applicable implementation plan.  

"Net emissions increase"  

a. Means, with respect to any regulated NSR pollutant 
emitted by a major stationary source, the amount by which 
the sum of the following exceeds zero:  

(1) The increase in emissions from a particular physical 
change or change in the method of operation at a 
stationary source as calculated pursuant to 9VAC5-80-
2000 H; and  

(2) Any other increases and decreases in actual emissions 
at the major stationary source that are contemporaneous 
with the particular change and are otherwise creditable. 
Baseline actual emissions for calculating increases and 
decreases under this subdivision shall be determined as 
provided in the definition of "baseline actual emissions," 
except that subdivisions a (3) and b (4) of that definition 
shall not apply.  

b. An increase or decrease in actual emissions is 
contemporaneous with the increase from the particular 
change only if it occurs before the date that the increase 
from the particular change occurs. For sources located in 
ozone nonattainment areas classified as serious or severe in 
9VAC5-20-204, an increase or decrease in actual 
emissions of volatile organic compounds or nitrogen 
oxides is contemporaneous with the increase from the 
particular change only if it occurs during a period of five 
consecutive calendar years which includes the calendar 
year in which the increase from the particular change 
occurs.  

c. An increase or decrease in actual emissions is creditable 
only if:  

(1) It occurs between the date five years before 
construction on the particular change commences and the 
date that the increase from the particular change occurs; 
and  

(2) The board has not relied on it in issuing a permit for 
the source pursuant to this article which permit is in 
effect when the increase in actual emissions from the 
particular change occurs.  

d. An increase in actual emissions is creditable only to the 
extent that the new level of actual emissions exceeds the 
old level.  

e. A decrease in actual emissions is creditable only to the 
extent that:  

(1) The old level of actual emissions or the old level of 
allowable emissions, whichever is lower, exceeds the 
new level of actual emissions;  

(2) It is enforceable as a practical matter at and after the 
time that actual construction on the particular change 
begins;  

(3) The board has not relied on it in issuing any permit 
pursuant to this chapter or the board has not relied on it 
in demonstrating attainment or reasonable further 
progress in the implementation plan; and  

(4) It has approximately the same qualitative significance 
for public health and welfare as that attributed to the 
increase from the particular change.  

f. An increase that results from a physical change at a 
source occurs when the emissions unit on which 
construction occurred becomes operational and begins to 
emit a particular pollutant. Any replacement unit that 
requires shakedown becomes operational only after a 
reasonable shakedown period, not to exceed 180 days.  

g. Subdivision a of the definition of "actual emissions" 
shall not apply for determining creditable increases and 
decreases or after a change.  

"New source review (NSR) permit" means a permit issued 
under the new source review program.  

"New source review (NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for new 
stationary sources or modifications (physical changes or 
changes in the method of operation); (ii) established to 
implement the requirements of §§ 110(a)(2)(C), 112 (relating 
to permits for hazardous air pollutants), 165 (relating to 
permits in prevention of significant deterioration areas), and 
173 (relating to permits in nonattainment areas) of the federal 
Clean Air Act and associated regulations; and (iii) codified in 
Article 6 (9VAC5-80-1100 et seq.), Article 7 (9VAC5-80-
1400 et seq.), Article 8 (9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and Article 
9 (9VAC5-80-2000 et seq.) of this part.  

"Nonattainment major new source review (NSR) program" 
means a preconstruction review and permit program (i) for 
new major stationary sources or major modifications 
(physical changes or changes in the method of operation), (ii) 
established to implement the requirements of § 173 of the 
federal Clean Air Act and associated regulations, and (iii) 
codified in Article 9 (9VAC5-80-2000 et seq.) of this part. 
Any permit issued under such a program is a major NSR 
permit.  

"Nonattainment pollutant" means, within a nonattainment 
area, the pollutant for which such area is designated 
nonattainment. For ozone nonattainment areas, the 
nonattainment pollutants shall be volatile organic compounds 
(including hydrocarbons) and nitrogen oxides.  

"Ozone transport region" means the area established by 
§ 184(a) of the federal Clean Air Act or any other area 
established by the administrator pursuant to § 176A of the 
federal Clean Air Act for purposes of ozone. For the purposes 
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of this article, the Ozone Transport Region consists of the 
following localities: Arlington County, Fairfax County, 
Loudoun County, Prince William County, Stafford County, 
Alexandria City, Fairfax City, Falls Church City, Manassas 
City, and Manassas Park City.  

"Plantwide applicability limitation (PAL)" means an 
emission limitation expressed in tons per year, for a pollutant 
at a major stationary source, that is enforceable as a practical 
matter and established sourcewide in accordance with 
9VAC5-80-2144.  

"PAL effective date" generally means the date of issuance of 
the PAL permit. However, the PAL effective date for an 
increased PAL is the date any emissions unit that is part of 
the PAL major modification becomes operational and begins 
to emit the PAL pollutant.  

"PAL effective period" means the period beginning with the 
PAL effective date and ending five years later.  

"PAL major modification" means, notwithstanding the 
definitions for "major modification" and "net emissions 
increase," any physical change in or change in the method of 
operation of the PAL source that causes it to emit the PAL 
pollutant at a level equal to or greater than the PAL.  

"PAL permit" means the major NSR permit, the minor NSR 
permit, the state operating permit, or the federal operating 
permit issued by the board that establishes a PAL for a major 
stationary source.  

"PAL pollutant" means the pollutant for which a PAL is 
established at a major stationary source.  

"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a 
stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical and 
operational design. Any physical or operational limitation on 
the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant, including air 
pollution control equipment, and restrictions on hours of 
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted, 
stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design only 
if the limitation or the effect it would have on emissions is 
federally and state enforceable. Secondary emissions do not 
count in determining the potential to emit of a stationary 
source. For the purposes of actuals PALs, any physical or 
operational limitation on the capacity of the source to emit a 
pollutant, including air pollution control equipment, and 
restrictions on hours of operation or on the type or amount of 
material combusted, stored, or processed, shall be treated as 
part of its design only if the limitation or the effect it would 
have on emissions is federally enforceable or enforceable as a 
practical matter by the state.  

"Predictive emissions monitoring system (PEMS)" means all 
of the equipment necessary to monitor process and control 
device operational parameters (for example, control device 
secondary voltages and electric currents) and other 
information (for example, gas flow rate, O2 or CO2 

concentrations), and calculate and record the mass emissions 
rate (for example, pounds per hour) on a continuous basis.  

"Prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) program" 
means a preconstruction review and permit program (i) for 
new major stationary sources or major modifications 
(physical changes or changes in the method of operation), (ii) 
established to implement the requirements of § 165 of the 
federal Clean Air Act and associated regulations, and (iii) 
codified in Article 8 (9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) of this part.  

"Project" means a physical change in, or change in the 
method of operation of, an existing major stationary source.  

"Projected actual emissions" means the maximum annual 
rate, in tons per year, at which an existing emissions unit is 
projected to emit a regulated NSR pollutant in any one of the 
five years (12-month period) following the date the unit 
resumes regular operation after the project, or in any one of 
the 10 years following that date, if the project involves 
increasing the emissions unit's design capacity or its potential 
to emit of that regulated NSR pollutant and full utilization of 
the unit would result in a significant emissions increase or a 
significant net emissions increase at the source. In 
determining the projected actual emissions before beginning 
actual construction, the owner shall:  

a. Consider all relevant information, including but not 
limited to, historical operational data, the company's own 
representations, the company's expected business activity 
and the company's highest projections of business activity, 
the company's filings with the state or federal regulatory 
authorities, and compliance plans under the approved plan;  

b. Include fugitive emissions to the extent quantifiable, and 
emissions associated with startups, shutdowns, and 
malfunctions; and  

c. Exclude, in calculating any increase in emissions that 
results from the particular project, that portion of the unit's 
emissions following the project that an existing unit could 
have emitted during the consecutive 24-month period used 
to establish the baseline actual emissions and that are also 
unrelated to the particular project, including any increased 
utilization due to product demand growth, provided such 
exclusion shall not reduce any calculated increases in 
emissions that are caused by, result from, or are related to 
the particular project; or  

d. In lieu of using the method set out in subdivisions a 
through c of this definition, may elect to use the emissions 
unit's potential to emit, in tons per year, as defined under 
the definition of potential to emit.  

"Public comment period" means a time during which the 
public shall have the opportunity to comment on the new or 
modified source permit application information (exclusive of 
confidential information), the preliminary review and analysis 
of the effect of the source upon the ambient air quality, and 
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the preliminary decision of the board regarding the permit 
application.  

"Reasonable further progress" means the annual incremental 
reductions in emissions of a given air pollutant (including 
substantial reductions in the early years following approval or 
promulgation of an implementation plan and regular 
reductions thereafter) which are sufficient in the judgment of 
the board to provide for attainment of the applicable ambient 
air quality standard within a specified nonattainment area by 
the attainment date prescribed in the implementation plan for 
such area.  

"Regulated NSR pollutant" means any of the following:  

a. Nitrogen oxides or any volatile organic compound;  

b. Any pollutant for which an ambient air quality standard 
has been promulgated; or  

c. Any pollutant that is a constituent or precursor of a 
general pollutant listed under subdivisions a and b of this 
definition, provided that a constituent or precursor 
pollutant may only be regulated under NSR as part of 
regulation of the general pollutant.  

"Secondary emissions" means emissions which would occur 
as a result of the construction or operation of a major 
stationary source or major modification, but do not come 
from the major stationary source or major modification itself. 
For the purpose of this article, secondary emissions shall be 
specific, well defined, quantifiable, and affect the same 
general area as the stationary source or modification which 
causes the secondary emissions. Secondary emissions include 
emissions from any off-site support facility which would not 
be constructed or increase its emissions except as a result of 
the construction or operation of the major stationary source or 
major modification. Secondary emissions do not include any 
emissions which come directly from a mobile source, such as 
emissions from the tailpipe of a motor vehicle, from a train, 
or from a vessel.  

"Significant" means, in reference to a net emissions increase 
or the potential of a source to emit any of the following 
pollutants, a rate of emissions that would equal or exceed any 
of the following rates:  

a. Ozone nonattainment areas classified as serious or 
severe in 9VAC5-20-204.  

  POLLUTANT EMISSIONS RATE 

  Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year (tpy) 

  Nitrogen Oxides 25 tpy 

  Sulfur Dioxide 40 tpy 

  Particulate Matter 25 tpy 

  Ozone 25 tpy of volatile organic 
compounds 

  Lead 0.6 py 

b. Other nonattainment areas.  

  POLLUTANT EMISSIONS RATE 

  Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year (tpy) 

  Nitrogen Oxides 40 tpy 

  Sulfur Dioxide 40 tpy 

  Particulate Matter 25 tpy 

  PM10 15 tpy 

  PM2.5 10 tpy 

  Ozone 40 tpy of volatile organic 
compounds 

  Lead 0.6 tpy 

"Significant emissions increase" means, for a regulated NSR 
pollutant, an increase in emissions that is significant for that 
pollutant.  

"Significant emissions unit" means an emissions unit that 
emits or has the potential to emit a PAL pollutant in an 
amount that is equal to or greater than the significant level for 
that PAL pollutant, but less than the amount that would 
qualify the unit as a major emissions unit.  

"Small emissions unit" means an emissions unit that emits or 
has the potential to emit the PAL pollutant in an amount less 
than the significant level for that PAL pollutant.  

"State enforceable" means all limitations and conditions that 
are enforceable as a practical matter, including any regulation 
of the board, those requirements developed pursuant to 
9VAC5-170-160, requirements within any applicable order or 
variance, and any permit requirements established pursuant to 
this chapter.  

"State operating permit" means a permit issued under the 
state operating permit program.  

"State operating permit program" means an operating permit 
program (i) for issuing limitations and conditions for 
stationary sources, (ii) promulgated to meet the EPA's 
minimum criteria for federal enforceability, including 
adequate notice and opportunity for the EPA and public 
comment prior to issuance of the final permit, and practicable 
enforceability, and (iii) codified in Article 5 (9VAC5-80-800 
et seq.) of this part.  

"Stationary source" means any building, structure, facility, 
or installation which emits or may emit a regulated NSR 
pollutant.  

"Synthetic minor" means a stationary source whose potential 
to emit is constrained by state-enforceable and federally 
enforceable limits, so as to place that stationary source below 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3518 

the threshold at which it would be subject to permit or other 
requirements governing major stationary sources in 
regulations of the board or in the federal Clean Air Act.  

"Temporary clean coal technology demonstration project" 
means a clean coal technology demonstration project that is 
operated for a period of five years or less, and that complies 
with the applicable implementation plan and other 
requirements necessary to attain and maintain the national 
ambient air quality standards during the project and after it is 
terminated.  

9VAC5-80-2020. General.  

A. No owner or other person shall begin actual construction 
or modification of any new major stationary source or major 
modification without first obtaining from the board a permit 
to construct and operate such source. The permit will state 
that the major stationary source or major modification shall 
meet all the applicable requirements of this article.  

B. No owner or other person shall relocate any emissions 
unit from one stationary source to another without first 
obtaining from the board a permit to relocate the unit.  

C. If the board and the owner make a mutual determination 
that it facilitates the efficient processing and issuing of 
permits for projects that are to be constructed concurrently, 
the board may combine the requirements of and the permits 
for emissions units within a stationary source subject to the 
major new source review program into one permit. Likewise 
the board may require that applications for permits for 
emissions units within a stationary source required by any 
provision of the major new source review program be 
combined into one application The board will take actions to 
combine permit terms and conditions as provided in 9VAC5-
80-2195. Actions to combine permit terms and conditions 
involve relocating the terms and conditions contained in two 
or more permits issued to single stationary source to a single 
permit document. Actions to combine permit terms and 
conditions in and of themselves are not a mechanism for 
making changes to permits; such actions shall be taken under 
9VAC5-80-2200 as explained in subsection D of this section.  

D. The board may not incorporate the terms and conditions 
of a state operating permit, a minor new source review 
permit, or a PAL permit into a permit issued pursuant to this 
article The board will take actions to make changes to permit 
terms and conditions as provided in 9VAC5-80-2200. 
Nothing in this subsection is intended to imply that once an 
action has been taken to make a change to a permit, the 
resulting permit change may not be combined with other 
terms and conditions in a single permit document as provided 
in subsection C of this section.  

E. All terms and conditions of any permit issued under this 
article shall be federally enforceable except those that are 
designated state-only enforceable under subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. Any term or condition that is not federally 

enforceable shall be designated as state-only enforceable as 
provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

1. A term or condition of any permit issued under this 
article shall not be federally enforceable if it is derived 
from or is designed to implement Article 2 (9VAC5-40-
130 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 40 9VAC5-40 (Existing 
Stationary Sources, Article 2 (9VAC5-50-130 et seq.) of 
9VAC5 Chapter 50 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified 
Stationary Sources), Article 4 (9VAC5-60-200 et seq.) of 
9VAC5 Chapter 60 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 
Sources), or Article 5 (9VAC5-60-300) of 9VAC5 Chapter 
60 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources).  

2. Any term or condition of any permit issued under this 
article that is not federally enforceable shall be marked in 
the permit as state-only enforceable and shall only be 
enforceable by the board. Incorrectly designating a term or 
condition as state-only enforceable shall not provide a 
shield from federal enforcement of a term or condition that 
is legally federally enforceable.  

F. Nothing in the regulations of the board shall be construed 
to prevent the board from granting permits for programs of 
construction or modification in planned incremental phases. 
In such cases, all net emissions increases from all emissions 
units covered by the program shall be added together for 
determining the applicability of this article.  

9VAC5-80-2140. Exception Exemptions.  

A. The provisions of this article do not apply to a source or 
modification that would be a major stationary source or major 
modification only if fugitive emissions, to the extent 
quantifiable, are considered in calculating the potential to 
emit of the source or modification and the source does not 
belong to any of the following categories:  

1. Coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers);  

2. Kraft pulp mills;  

3. Portland cement plants;  

4. Primary zinc smelters;  

5. Iron and steel mills;  

6. Primary aluminum ore reduction plants;  

7. Primary copper smelters;  

8. Municipal incinerators capable of charging more than 
250 tons of refuse per day;  

9. Hydrofluoric acid plants;  

10. Sulfuric acid plants;  

11. Nitric acid plants;  

12. Petroleum refineries;  

13. Lime plants;  
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14. Phosphate rock processing plants;  

15. Coke oven batteries;  

16. Sulfur recovery plants;  

17. Carbon black plants (furnace process);  

18. Primary lead smelters;  

19. Fuel conversion plants;  

20. Sintering plants;  

21. Secondary metal production plants;  

22. Chemical process plants;  

23. Fossil-fuel boilers (or combination of them) totaling 
more than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 
input;  

24. Petroleum storage and transfer units with a total storage 
capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels;  

25. Taconite ore processing plants;  

26. Glass fiber processing plants;  

27. Charcoal production plants;  

28. Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants of more than 250 
million British thermal units per hour heat input; and  

29. Any other stationary source category which, as of 
August 7, 1980, is being regulated under 40 CFR Parts 60, 
61 or 63.  

B. The requirements of this article shall not apply to a 
particular major stationary source with respect to the use of 
an alternative fuel or raw material if the following conditions 
are met: 

1. The owner demonstrates to the board that, as a result of 
trial burns at the owner’s facility or other facilities or other 
sufficient data, the emissions resulting from the use of the 
alternative fuel or raw material supply are decreased. No 
demonstration will be required for the use of processed 
animal fat, processed fish oil, processed vegetable oil, 
distillate oil, or any mixture thereof in place of the same 
quantity of residual oil to fire industrial boilers. 

2. The use of an alternative fuel or raw material would not 
be subject to review under this article as a major 
modification. 

9VAC5-80-2195. Actions to combine permit terms and 
conditions. 

A. General requirements for actions to combine permit 
terms and conditions are as follows: 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 
the board may take actions to combine permit terms and 
conditions as provided under subsections B through E of 
this section. 

2. Requests to combine permit terms and conditions may 
be initiated by the permittee or by the board. 

3. Under no circumstances may an action to combine 
permit terms and conditions be used for any of the 
following: 

a. To combine the terms and conditions of (i) a federal 
operating permit, (ii) a PAL permit, or (iii) any permit 
that is or will be part of the implementation plan. 

b. To take an action to issue a permit or change a permit 
for the fabrication, erection, installation, demolition, 
relocation, addition, replacement, or modification of an 
emissions unit that would result in a change in emissions 
that would otherwise (i) be subject to review under this 
article or (ii) require a permit or permit amendment under 
the new source review program. 

c. To allow any stationary source or emissions unit to 
violate any federal requirement. 

d. To take an action to issue a permit or change a permit 
for any physical change in or change in the method of 
operation of a major stationary source that is subject to 
the provisions in 9VAC5-80-2000 D (restrictions on 
relaxing enforceable emission limitations that the major 
stationary source used to avoid applicability of the major 
NSR program). 

B. The board may take actions to combine the terms and 
conditions of state operating permits and new source review 
permits, along with any changes to state operating permits 
and new source review permits. 

C. If the board and the owner make a mutual determination 
that it facilitates improved compliance or the efficient 
processing and issuing of permits, the board may take an 
action to combine the terms and conditions of permits for 
emissions units within a stationary source into one or more 
permits. Likewise the board may require that applications for 
permits for emissions units within a stationary source 
required by any permit program be combined into one 
application. 

D. Actions to combine the terms and conditions of permits 
are subject to the following conditions: 

1. Each term or condition in the combined permit shall be 
accompanied by a statement that specifies and references 
the origin (enabling permit program) of, along with the 
regulatory or any other authority for, the term or condition. 

2. Each term or condition in the combined permit shall be 
accompanied by a statement that specifies the effective 
date of the term or condition. 

3. Each term or condition in the combined permit shall be 
identified by its original designation (i.e., state-only 
enforceable or federally and state enforceable) consistent 
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with the applicable enforceability designation of the term 
or condition in the contributing permit. 

4. Except as provided in subsection E of this section, all 
terms and conditions in the contributing permits shall be 
included in the combined permit without change. The 
combined permit will supersede the contributing permits, 
which will no longer be effective. 

E. Actions to make changes to permit terms and conditions 
as may be necessary to facilitate actions to combine permit 
terms and conditions may be accomplished in accordance 
with the minor amendment procedures (unless specified 
otherwise in this section) of the enabling permit program (i.e., 
the permit program that is the origin of the term or condition), 
subject to the following conditions: 

1. Updates to regulatory or other authorities may be 
accomplished in accordance with the administrative 
amendment procedures of the enabling permit program. 

2. If two or more terms or conditions apply to the same 
emissions unit or emissions units and are substantively 
equivalent, the more restrictive of the duplicate terms or 
conditions may be retained and the less restrictive one 
removed, subject to the provisions of subdivision 4 of this 
subsection. 

3. If two or more similar terms or conditions apply to the 
same emissions unit or emissions units and one is 
substantively more restrictive than the others, the more 
restrictive of the terms or conditions shall be retained, 
regardless of whether the less restrictive terms or 
conditions are removed. If the less restrictive of the similar 
terms or conditions is removed, the provisions of 
subdivision 4 of this subsection apply. 

4. The removal of similar terms or conditions from 
contributing permits is subject to the following conditions: 

a. If any one of the terms or conditions removed is 
federally and state enforceable, the more restrictive term 
or condition that is retained in the combined permit shall 
be federally and state enforceable. 

b. If any one of the terms or conditions originates in a 
permit subject to a major NSR program, that major NSR 
program shall become the effective enabling permit 
program for the more restrictive term or condition that is 
retained in the combined permit. If more than one major 
NSR program is the basis for a term or condition, all of 
the applicable major NSR programs shall be the enabling 
permit program for that term or condition. 

c. The regulatory basis for all of the similar terms or 
conditions that are removed shall be included in the 
reference for the term or condition that is retained.  

9VAC5-80-2200. Changes to Actions to change permits.  

A. The general requirements for making actions to make 
changes to permits issued under this article are as follows:  

1. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 
changes to a permit issued under this article shall be made 
as specified under subsections B and C of this section and 
9VAC5-80-2210 through 9VAC5-80-2240.  

2. Changes to a permit issued under this article may be 
initiated by the permittee as specified in subsection B of 
this section or by the board as specified in subsection C of 
this section.  

3. Changes to a permit issued under this article and 
incorporated into a permit issued under Article 1 (9VAC5-
80-50 et seq.) or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this 
part shall be made as specified in Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 
et seq.) or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this part.  

4. Under no circumstances may a permit issued under this 
article be changed in order to (i) incorporate the terms and 
conditions necessary to implement any provision of the 
new source review program for a project that qualifies as a 
modification under the new source review program or (ii) 
incorporate the terms and conditions necessary to 
implement any provision of the new source review 
program for a PAL permit.  

B. The requirements for changes initiated by the permittee 
are as follows:  

1. The permittee may initiate a change to a permit by 
submitting a written request to the board for an 
administrative permit amendment, a minor permit 
amendment or a significant permit amendment. The 
requirements for these permit changes can be found in 
9VAC5-80-2210 through 9VAC5-80-2230.  

2. A request for a change by a permittee shall include a 
statement of the reason for the proposed change.  

C. The board may initiate a change to a permit through the 
use of permit reopenings as specified in 9VAC5-80-2240.  

9VAC5-80-2210. Administrative permit amendments.  

A. Administrative permit amendments shall be required used 
for and limited to the following:  

1. Correction of typographical or any other error, defect or 
irregularity that does not substantially affect the permit.  

2. Identification of a change in the name, address, or phone 
number of any person identified in the permit, or of a 
similar minor administrative change at the source.  

3. Change in ownership or operational control of a source 
where the board determines that no other change in the 
permit is necessary, provided that a written agreement 
containing a specific date for transfer of permit 
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responsibility, coverage, and liability between the current 
and new permittee has been submitted to the board and the 
requirements of 9VAC5-80-2170 have been fulfilled.  

B. The administrative permit amendment procedures are as 
follows:  

1. The board will normally take final action on a request 
for an administrative permit amendment no more than 60 
days from receipt of the request.  

2. The board will incorporate the changes without 
providing notice to the public under 9VAC5-80-2070. 
However, any such permit revisions shall be designated in 
the permit amendment as having been made pursuant to 
this section.  

3. The owner may implement the changes addressed in the 
request for an administrative amendment immediately 
upon submittal of the request.  

9VAC5-80-2220. Minor permit amendments.  

A. Minor permit amendment procedures shall be used only 
for those permit amendments that meet all of the following 
criteria:  

1. Do not violate any applicable federal requirement.  

2. Do not involve significant changes to existing 
monitoring, reporting, or record keeping requirements that 
would make the permit requirements less stringent, such as 
a change to the method of monitoring to be used, a change 
to the method of demonstrating compliance or a relaxation 
of reporting or record keeping requirements.  

3. Do not require or change a case-by-case determination 
of an emission emissions limitation or other standard 
requirement.  

4. Do not seek to establish or change a permit term or 
condition (i) for which there is no corresponding 
underlying applicable regulatory requirement and (ii) that 
the source has assumed to avoid an applicable regulatory 
requirement to which the source would otherwise be 
subject. Such terms and conditions include, but are not 
limited to, an emissions cap assumed to avoid 
classification as a modification under the new source 
review program.  

5. Are not required to be processed as a significant 
amendment under 9VAC5-80-2230 or as an administrative 
permit amendment under 9VAC5-80-2210.  

B. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, minor 
permit amendment procedures may be used for permit 
amendments that meet any of the following criteria:  

1. Involve the use of economic incentives, emissions 
trading, and other similar approaches, to the extent that 
such minor permit amendment procedures are explicitly 

provided for in a regulation of the board or a federally-
approved program.  

2. Require new or more frequent monitoring or reporting 
by the permittee.  

3. Designate any term or permit condition that meets the 
criteria in 9VAC5-80-2020 E 1 as state-only enforceable as 
provided in 9VAC5-80-2020 E 2 for any permit issued 
under this article or any regulation from which this article 
is derived.  

C. Minor permit amendment procedures may be used for 
permit amendments involving the rescission of a provision of 
a permit if the board and the owner make a mutual 
determination that the provision is rescinded because all of 
the underlying statutory or regulatory requirements (i) upon 
which the provision is based or (ii) that necessitated inclusion 
of the provision are no longer applicable. In order for the 
underlying statutory and regulatory requirements to be 
considered no longer applicable, the provision of the permit 
that is being rescinded must not cover a regulated NSR 
pollutant.  

D. A request for the use of minor permit amendment 
procedures shall include all of the following: 1. A a 
description of the change, the emissions resulting from the 
change, and any new applicable regulatory requirements that 
will apply if the change occurs. 2. A, along with a request that 
such procedures be used. The applicant may, at the 
applicant’s discretion, include a suggested proposed permit 
amendment. 

E. The public participation requirements of 9VAC5-80-2070 
shall not extend to minor permit amendments.  

F. Normally within 90 days of receipt by the board of a 
complete request under minor permit amendment procedures, 
the board will do one of the following:  

1. Issue the permit amendment as proposed.  

2. Deny the permit amendment request.  

3. Determine that the requested amendment does not meet 
the minor permit amendment criteria and should be 
reviewed under the significant amendment procedures.  

G. The requirements for making changes are as follows:  

1. The owner may make the change proposed in the minor 
permit amendment request immediately after the request is 
filed.  

2. After the change under subdivision 1 of this subsection 
is made, and until the board takes any of the actions 
specified in subsection F of this section, the source shall 
comply with both the applicable regulatory requirements 
governing the change and the proposed permit terms and 
conditions amendment.  
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3. During the time period specified in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection, the owner need not comply with the existing 
permit terms and conditions the owner seeks to modify if 
the applicant has submitted a proposed permit amendment. 
However, if the owner fails to comply with the proposed 
permit terms and conditions during this time period, the 
existing permit terms and conditions the owner seeks to 
modify may be enforced against the owner.  

9VAC5-80-2230. Significant amendment procedures.  

A. The criteria for use of significant amendment procedures 
are as follows:  

1. Significant amendment procedures shall be used for 
requesting permit amendments that do not qualify as minor 
permit amendments under 9VAC5-80-2220 or as 
administrative amendments under 9VAC5-80-2210.  

2. Significant amendment procedures shall be used for 
those permit amendments that meet any of the following 
criteria:  

a. Involve significant changes to existing monitoring, 
reporting, or record keeping requirements that would 
make the permit requirements less stringent, such as a 
change to the method of monitoring to be used, a change 
to the method of demonstrating compliance or a 
relaxation of reporting or recordkeeping requirements.  

b. Require or change a case-by-case determination of an 
emission emissions limitation or other standard 
requirement.  

c. Seek to establish or change a permit term or condition 
(i) for which there is no corresponding underlying 
applicable regulatory requirement and (ii) that the source 
has assumed to avoid an applicable regulatory 
requirement to which the source would otherwise be 
subject. Such terms and conditions include, but are not 
limited to, an emissions cap assumed to avoid 
classification as a modification under the new source 
review program.  

B. A request for a significant permit amendment shall 
include a description of the change, the emissions resulting 
from the change, and any new applicable regulatory 
requirements that will apply if the change occurs. The 
applicant may, at the applicant's discretion, include a 
suggested draft permit amendment.  

C. The provisions of 9VAC5-80-2070 shall apply to 
requests made under this section.  

D. The board will normally take final action on significant 
permit amendments within 180 days after receipt of a 
complete request except in cases where direct consideration 
of the request by the board is granted pursuant to 9VAC5-80-
25. The board may extend this time period if additional 
information is needed.  

E. The owner shall not make the change applied for in the 
significant amendment request until the amendment is 
approved by the board under subsection D of this section.  

9VAC5-80-2240. Reopening for cause.  

A. A permit may be reopened and amended under any of the 
following situations:  

1. Additional regulatory requirements become applicable 
to the emissions units covered by the permit after a permit 
is issued but prior to commencement of construction.  

2. The board determines that the permit contains a material 
mistake or that inaccurate statements were made in 
establishing the emissions standards or other terms or 
conditions of the permit.  

3. The board determines that the permit must be amended 
to assure compliance with the applicable regulatory 
requirements or that the terms and conditions of the permit 
are not sufficient to meet all of the standards and 
requirements contained in this article.  

B. Proceedings to reopen and reissue a permit shall follow 
the same procedures as apply to initial permit issuance and 
shall affect only those parts of the permit for which cause to 
reopen exists. Such reopening shall be made as expeditiously 
as practicable.  

C. Reopenings shall not be initiated before a notice of such 
intent is provided to the source by the board at least 30 days 
in advance of the date that the permit is to be reopened, 
except that the board may provide a shorter time period in the 
case of an emergency.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1158; Filed May 19, 2009, 11:38 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The State Water Control Board will 
receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-
720-50, 9VAC25-720-60, 9VAC25-720-90, 9VAC25-720-
110). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 33 
USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2009. 
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Agency Contact: David Lazarus, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4299, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email david.lazarus@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation include nine new total maximum daily 

load (TMDL) wasteload allocations. The amendments are 
to the following river basins:  Potomac-Shenandoah River 
Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A), James River Basin (9VAC25-
720-60 A), Tennessee - Big Sandy River Basin (9VAC25-
720-90 A), and the Chesapeake Bay-Small Coastal Basin 
(9VAC25-720-110 A). 

9VAC25-720-50. Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin. 

A. Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDLs). 

TMDL 
# Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA Units 

1. Muddy Creek 

Nitrate TMDL 
Development for Muddy 
Creek/Dry River, 
Virginia 

Rockingham B21R Nitrate 49,389.00 LB/YR 

2. Blacks Run 
TMDL Development for 
Blacks Run and Cooks 
Creek 

Rockingham B25R Sediment 32,844.00 LB/YR 

3. Cooks Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Blacks Run and Cooks 
Creek 

Rockingham B25R Sediment 69,301.00 LB/YR 

4. Cooks Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Blacks Run and Cooks 
Creek 

Rockingham B25R Phosphorus 0 LB/YR 

5. Muddy Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Muddy Creek and 
Holmans Creek, Virginia 

Rockingham B22R Sediment 286,939.00 LB/YR 

6. Muddy Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Muddy Creek and 
Holmans Creek, Virginia 

Rockingham B22R Phosphorus 38.00 LB/YR 

7. Holmans 
Creek 

TMDL Development for 
Muddy Creek and 
Holmans Creek, Virginia 

Rockingham/ 
Shenandoah B45R Sediment 78,141.00 LB/YR 

8. Mill Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Mill Creek and Pleasant 
Run 

Rockingham B29R Sediment 276.00 LB/YR 

9. Mill Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Mill Creek and Pleasant 
Run 

Rockingham B29R Phosphorus 138.00 LB/YR 

10. Pleasant Run 
TMDL Development for 
Mill Creek and Pleasant 
Run 

Rockingham B27R Sediment 0.00 LB/YR 

11. Pleasant Run 
TMDL Development for 
Mill Creek and Pleasant 
Run 

Rockingham B27R Phosphorus 0.00 LB/YR 

12. Linville Creek Total Maximum Load Rockingham B46R Sediment 5.50 TONS/YR 
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Development for Linville 
Creek: Bacteria and 
Benthic Impairments 

13. Quail Run Benthic TMDL for Quail 
Run Rockingham B35R Ammonia 7,185.00 KG/YR 

14. Quail Run Benthic TMDL for Quail 
Run Rockingham B35R Chlorine 27.63 KG/YR 

15. Shenandoah 
River 

Development of 
Shenandoah River PCB 
TMDL (South Fork and 
Main Stem) 

Warren & 
Clarke 

B41R 
B55R 
B57R 
B58R 

PCBs 179.38 G/YR 

16. Shenandoah 
River 

Development of 
Shenandoah River PCB 
TMDL (North Fork) 

Warren & 
Clarke B51R PCBs 0.00 G/YR 

17. Shenandoah 
River 

Development of 
Shenandoah River PCB 
TMDL (Main Stem) 

Warren & 
Clarke WV PCBs 179.38 G/YR 

18. Cockran 
Spring 

Benthic TMDL Reports 
for Six Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-Shenandoah 
and James River Basins  

Augusta B10R Organic 
Solids 1,556.00 LB/YR 

19. Lacey Spring 

Benthic TMDL Reports 
for Six Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-Shenandoah 
and James River Basins  

Rockingham B47R Organic 
Solids 680.00 LB/YR 

20. Orndorff 
Spring 

Benthic TMDL Reports 
for Six Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-Shenandoah 
and James River Basins  

Shenandoah B52R Organic 
Solids 103.00 LB/YR 

21. Toms Brook 
Benthic TMDL for Toms 
Brook in Shenandoah 
County, Virginia  

Shenandoah B50R Sediment 8.1 T/YR 

22. Goose Creek Benthic TMDLs for the 
Goose Creek Watershed 

Loudoun, 
Fauquier A08R Sediment 1,587 T/YR 

23. Little River Benthic TMDLs for the 
Goose Creek Watershed Loudoun A08R Sediment 105 T/YR 

24. Christians 
Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and 
General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for 
Impaired Streams in the 
Middle River and Upper 
South River Watersheds, 
Augusta County, VA 

Augusta B14R Sediment 145 T/YR 

25. Moffett Creek Fecal Bacteria and Augusta B13R Sediment 0 T/YR 
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General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for 
Impaired Streams in the 
Middle River and Upper 
South River Watersheds, 
Augusta County, VA 

26. Upper Middle 
River 

Fecal Bacteria and 
General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for 
Impaired Streams in the 
Middle River and Upper 
South River Watersheds, 
Augusta County, VA 

Augusta B10R Sediment 1.355 T/YR 

27. Mossy Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Mossy Creek and Long 
Glade Run: Bacteria and 
General Standard 
(Benthic) Impairments 

Rockingham B19R Sediment 0.04 T/YR 

28. Smith Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for Smith 
Creek 

Rockingham, 
Shenandoah B47R Sediment 353,867 LB/YR 

29. Abrams Creek 

Opequon Watershed 
TMDLs for Benthic 
Impairments: Abrams 
Creek and Lower 
Opequon Creek, 
Frederick and Clarke 
counties, Virginia 

Frederick B09R Sediment 478 T/YR 

30. 
Lower 
Opequon 
Creek 

Opequon Watershed 
TMDLs for Benthic 
Impairments: Abrams 
Creek and Lower 
Opequon Creek, 
Frederick and Clarke 
counties, Virginia 

Frederick, 
Clarke B09R Sediment 1,039 T/YR 

31. Mill Creek 

Mill Creek Sediment 
TMDL for a Benthic 
Impairment, Shenandoah 
County, Virginia 

Shenandoah B48R Sediment 0.9 T/YR 

32. South Run 
Benthic TMDL 
Development for South 
Run, Virginia 

Fauquier A19R Phosphorus 0.038 T/YR 

33. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Augusta B12R Sediment 40 T/YR 
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34. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Augusta B12R Lead 0 KG/YR 

35. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Augusta B12R PAHs 0 KG/YR 

36. Bull Run 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Loudoun, 
Fairfax, and 
Prince William 
counties, and 
the Cities of 
Manassas and 
Manassas Park 

A23R-
01 Sediment 5,986.8 T/TR 

37. Popes Head 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Fairfax County 
and Fairfax City 

A23R-
02 Sediment 1,594.2 T/YR 

38. Accotink Bay 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A15R PCBs 0.0992 G/YR 

39. Aquia Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Stafford A28E PCBs 6.34 G/YR 

40. 
Belmont Bay/ 
Occoquan 
Bay 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A25E PCBs 0.409 G/YR 

41. Chopawamsic 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A26E PCBs 1.35 G/YR 

42. Coan River 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Northumberland A34E PCBs 0 G/YR 

43. Dogue Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A14E PCBs 20.2 G/YR 
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44. Fourmile Run 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Arlington A12E PCBs 11 G/YR 

45. Gunston Cove 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A15E PCBs 0.517 G/YR 

46. 
Hooff Run & 
Hunting 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A13E PCBs 36.8 G/YR 

47. Little Hunting 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A14E PCBs 10.1 G/YR 

48. Monroe Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A31E PCBs .0177 G/YR 

49. Neabsco 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A25E PCBs 6.63 G/YR 

50. Occoquan 
River 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A25E PCBs 2.86 G/YR 

51. 
Pohick 
Creek/Pohick 
Bay 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A16E PCBs 13.5 G/YR 

52. Potomac 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Stafford A29E PCBs 0.556 G/YR 

53. 

Potomac 
River, 
Fairview 
Beach 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

King George A29E PCBs 0.0183 G/YR 
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54. Powells Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A26R PCBs 0.0675 G/YR 

55. Quantico 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A26R PCBs 0.742 G/YR 

56. 
Upper 
Machodoc 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

King George A30E PCBs 0.0883 G/YR 

57. Difficult 
Creek 

Benthic TMDL 
Development for 
Difficult Run, Virginia  

Fairfax A11R Sediment 3,663.2 T/YR 

58. Abrams Creek 
Opequon Watershed 
TMDLs for Benthic 
Impairments 

Frederick and 
Clark B09R Sediment 1039 T/YR 

59. Lower 
Opequon 

Opequon Watershed 
TMDLs for Benthic 
Impairments 

Frederick and 
Clark B09R Sediment 1039 T/YR 

B. Non-TMDL waste load allocations. 

Water 
Body Permit No. Facility Name Outfall 

No. 
Receiving 

Stream 
River 
Mile 

Parameter 
Description WLA Units 

WLA 

VAV-
B02R VA0023281 Monterey STP 001 West Strait 

Creek 3.85 CBOD5 11.4 KG/D 

VAV-
B08R VA0065552 

Opequon Water 
Reclamation 
Facility 

001 Opequon 
Creek 32.66 BOD5, JUN-NOV 207 KG/D 

    
AKA Winchester 
- Frederick 
Regional 

      CBOD5, DEC-
MAY 1514 KG/D 

VAV-
B14R VA0025291 Fishersville 

Regional STP 001 Christians 
Creek 12.36 BOD5 182 KG/D 

VAV-
B23R VA0060640 North River 

WWTF 001 North River 15.01 CBOD5, JAN-
MAY 700 KG/D 

CBOD5, JUN-
DEC 

800 KG/D 

TKN, JUN-DEC 420 KG/D   7.23.04 

AKA 
Harrisonburg - 
Rockingham 
Reg. Sewer Auth. 

      

TKN, JAN-MAY 850 KG/D 

VAV-
B32R VA0002160 

INVISTA - 
Waynesboro 
Formerly Dupont 

001 South River 25.3 BOD5 272 KG/D 
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- Waynesboro 

CBOD5 227 KG/D 
VAV-
B32R VA0025151 Waynesboro STP 001 South River 23.54 CBOD5, JUN-

OCT 
113.6 KG/D 

VAV-
B32R VA0028037 Skyline 

Swannanoa STP 001 South River 
UT 2.96 BOD5 8.5 KG/D 

VAV-
B35R VA0024732 

Massanutten 
Public Service 
STP 

001 Quail Run 5.07 BOD5 75.7 KG/D 

BOD5 1570 KG/D 
VAV-
B37R VA0002178 Merck & 

Company 001 
S.F. 
Shenandoah 
River 

88.09 AMMONIA, AS 
N 645.9 KG/D 

VAV-
B49R VA0028380 

Stoney Creek 
Sanitary District 
STP 

001 Stoney Creek 19.87 BOD5, JUN-NOV 29.5 KG/D 

VAV-
B53R VA0020982 Middletown STP 001 Meadow 

Brook 2.19 CBOD5 24.0 KG/D 

VAV-
B58R VA0020532 Berryville STP 001 Shenandoah 

River 24.23 CBOD5 42.6 KG/D 

C. Nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations to restore the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. The following table 
presents nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations for the identified significant dischargers and the total nitrogen and total 
phosphorus waste load allocations for the listed facilities. 

Virginia 
Waterbody 

ID 
Discharger Name VPDES 

Permit No. 

Total Nitrogen (TN) 
Waste Load 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

Total Phosphorus 
(TP) Waste Load 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

B37R Coors Brewing Company  VA0073245 54,820 4,112 

B14R Fishersville Regional STP VA0025291 48,729 3,655 

B32R INVISTA - Waynesboro (Outfall 
101) VA0002160 78,941 1,009 

B39R Luray STP VA0062642 19,492 1,462 

B35R Massanutten PSA STP VA0024732 18,273 1,371 

B37R Merck - Stonewall WWTP (Outfall 
101)  VA0002178 14,619 1,096 

B12R Middle River Regional STP VA0064793 82,839 6,213 

B23R North River WWTF (2)  VA0060640 253,391 19,004 

B22R VA Poultry Growers -Hinton VA0002313 27,410 1,371 

B38R Pilgrims Pride - Alma VA0001961 18,273 914 

B31R Stuarts Draft WWTP VA0066877 48,729 3,655 

B32R Waynesboro STP VA0025151 48,729 3,655 

B23R Weyers Cave STP VA0022349 6,091 457 
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B58R Berryville STP VA0020532 8,528 640 

B55R Front Royal STP VA0062812 48,729 3,655 

B49R Georges Chicken LLC VA0077402 31,065 1,553 

B48R Mt. Jackson STP (3)  VA0026441 8,528 640 

B45R New Market STP VA0022853 6,091 457 

B45R North Fork (SIL) WWTF VA0090263 23,390 1,754 

B49R Stoney Creek SD STP VA0028380 7,309 548 

B50R North Fork Regional WWTP (1) VA0090328 9,137 685 

B51R Strasburg STP VA0020311 11,939 895 

B50R Woodstock STP VA0026468 24,364 1,827 

A06R Basham Simms WWTF (4)  VA0022802 18,273 1,371 

A09R Broad Run WRF (5)  VA0091383 134,005 3,350 

A08R Leesburg WPCF MD0066184 121,822 9,137 

A06R Round Hill Town WWTF VA0026212 9,137 685 

A25R DSC - Section 1 WWTF (6)  VA0024724 42,029 2,522 

A25R DSC - Section 8 WWTF (7)  VA0024678 42,029 2,522 

A25E H L Mooney WWTF VA0025101 219,280 13,157 

A22R UOSA - Centreville VA0024988 1,315,682 16,446 

A19R Vint Hill WWTF (8)  VA0020460 8,680 868 

B08R Opequon WRF VA0065552 102,336 7,675 

B08R Parkins Mills STP (9)  VA0075191 60,911 4,568 

A13E Alexandria SA WWTF VA0025160 493,381 29,603 

A12E Arlington County Water PCF VA0025143 365,467 21,928 

A16R Noman M Cole Jr PCF VA0025364 612,158 36,729 

A12R Blue Plains (VA Share) DC0021199 581,458 26,166 

A26R Quantico WWTF VA0028363 20,101 1,206 

A28R Aquia WWTF VA0060968 73,093 4,386 

A31E Colonial Beach STP VA0026409 18,273 1,827 

A30E Dahlgren WWTF VA0026514 9,137 914 

A29E Fairview Beach MD0056464 1,827 183 

A30E US NSWC-Dahlgren WWTF VA0021067 6,578 658 

A31R Purkins Corner STP VA0070106 1,096 110 

  TOTALS:   5,156,169 246,635 

NOTE: (1) Shenandoah Co. - North Fork Regional WWTP waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 
0.75 million gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.75 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 
2010, the WLAs will be deleted and facility removed from Significant Discharger List. 
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(2) Harrisonburg-Rockingham Regional S.A.-North River STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow 
capacity of 20.8 million gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 20.8 MGD design flow capacity by 
December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease to TN = 194,916 lbs/yr; TP = 14,619 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 
16.0 MGD. 

(3) Mount Jackson STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 0.7 million gallons per day 
(MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.7 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease 
to TN = 7,309 lbs/yr; TP = 548 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 0.6 MGD. 

(4) Purcellville-Basham Simms STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 1.5 million gallons 
per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 1.5 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will 
decrease to TN = 12,182 lbs/yr; TP = 914lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 1.0 MGD. 

(5) Loudoun Co. S.A.-Broad Run WRF: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 11.0 million 
gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 11.0 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the 
WLAs will decrease to TN = 121,822 lbs/yr; TP = 3,046 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 10.0 MGD. 

(6) Dale Service Corp.-Section 1 WWTF: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 4.6 million 
gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 4.6 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the 
WLAs will decrease to TN = 36,547 lbs/yr; TP = 2,193 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 4.0 MGD. 

(7) Dale Service Corp.-Section 8 WWTF: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 4.6 million 
gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 4.6 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the 
WLAs will decrease to TN = 36,547 lbs/yr; TP = 2,193 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 4.0 MGD. 

(8) Fauquier Co. W&SA-Vint Hill STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 0.95 million 
gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.95 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the 
WLAs will decrease to TN = 5,482 lbs/yr; TP = 548 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 0.6 MGD. 

(9) Parkins Mill STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 5.0 million gallons per day (MGD). 
If plant is not certified to operate at 5.0 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease to TN = 
36,547 lbs/yr; TP = 2,741 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 3.0 MGD. 

9VAC25-720-60. James River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily load (TMDLs).  

TMDL 
# Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA Units 

1. Pheasanty Run 

Benthic TMDL Reports 
for Six Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-Shenandoah and 
James River Basins 

Bath I14R Organic 
Solids 1,231.00 LB/YR 

2. Wallace Mill 
Stream 

Benthic TMDL Reports 
for Six Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-Shenandoah and 
James River Basins 

Augusta I32R Organic 
Solids 2,814.00 LB/YR 

3. Montebello Sp. 
Branch 

Benthic TMDL Reports 
for Six Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-Shenandoah and 
James River Basins 

Nelson H09R Organic 
Solids 37.00 LB/YR 

4. 
Unnamed 
Tributary to 
Deep Creek 

General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load for 
Unnamed Tributary to 
Deep Creek 

Nottoway J11R Raw Sewage 0 GAL/YR 
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5.  

Unnamed 
Tributary to 
Chickahominy 
River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the 
Unnamed Tributary to the 
Chickahominy River 

Hanover G05R Total 
Phosphorus 409.35 LB/YR 

6. Rivanna River 
Benthic TMDL 
Development for the 
Rivanna River Watershed 

Albemarle, 
Greene, 

Nelson, and 
Orange 

H27R 

H28R 
Sediment 10,229 Lbs/Day 

B. Stream segment classifications, effluent limitations including water quality based effluent limitations, and waste load 
allocations.  

TABLE B1 - UPPER JAMES RIVER BASIN RECOMMENDED SEGMENT CLASSIFICATION 

Stream Name Segment No. Mile to Mile Classification Comments 

Maury River 2-4 80.3-0.0 E.L. Main & tributaries 

James River 2-5 271.5-266.0 W.Q. Main only 

James River 2-6 266.0-115.0 E.L. Main & tributaries except Tye & 
Rivanna River 

Tye River 2-7 41.7-0.0 E.L. Main & tributaries except Rutledge 
Creek 

Rutledge Creek 2-8 3.0-0.0 W.Q. Main only 

Piney River 2-9 20.6-0.0 E.L. Main & tributaries 

Rivanna River 2-10 20.0-0.0 E.L. Main & tributaries 

Rivanna River 2-11 38.1-20.0 W.Q. Main only 

Rivanna River 2-12 76.7-38.1 E.L. Main & tributaries 

S.F. Rivanna River 2-13 12.2-0.0 E.L. Main & tributaries 

Mechum River 2-14 23.1-0.0 E.L. Main & tributaries 

N.F. Rivanna River 2-15 17.0-0.0 E.L. Main & tributaries except 
Standardsville Run 

Standardsville Run 2-16 1.2-0.0 W.Q. Main only 

Appomattox River 2-17 156.2-27.7 E.L. 
Main & tributaries except Buffalo 
Creek, Courthouse Branch, and Deep 
Creek 

Buffalo Creek 2-18 20.9-0.0 E.L. Main & tributaries except Unnamed 
Tributary @ R.M. 9.3 

Unnamed Tributary of 
Buffalo Creek @ 
R.M. 9.3 

2-19 1.3-0.0 W.Q. Main only 

Courthouse Branch 2-20 0.6-0.0 W.Q. Main only 

Deep Creek 2-21 29.5-0.0 E.L. Main & tributaries except Unnamed 
Tributary @ R.M. 25.0 

Unnamed Tributary of 
Deep Creek @ R.M. 
25.0 

2-22 2.2-0.0 W.Q. Main only 
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TABLE B2 - UPPER JAMES RIVER BASIN LOAD ALLOCATIONS BASED ON EXISTING DISCHARGE POINT7 

Stream Name Segment 
Number Classification Mile to 

Mile 
Significant 
Discharges 

Total 
Assimilative 
Capacity of 

Stream 
BOD5 
lbs/day 

Wasteload 
Allocation 

BOD5 
lbs/day2 

Reserve 
BOD5 

lbs/day5 

Cedar Creek 2-3 E.L. 1.9-
0.0 

Natural Bridge, 
Inc. STP 35.0 28.0 7.0 (20%) 

Elk Creek 2-3 E.L. 2.8-
0.0 

Natural Bridge 
Camp for Boys 
STP 

7.0 3.3 3.7 (53%) 

Little 
Calfpasture 
River 

2-4 E.L. 10.9-
4.0 Craigsville 12.0 9.6 2.4 (20%) 

Cabin River 2-4 E.L. 1.7-
0.0 Millboro Self -

sustaining None None 

Maury River 2-4 E.L. 19.6-
12.2 Lexington STP 380.0 380.0 None 

Maury River 2-4 E.L. 12.2-
1.2 

Georgia Bonded 
Fibers 760.0 102.03 238.0 (31%) 

        Buena Vista 
STP   420.0   

Maury River 2-4 E.L. 1.2-
0.0 Lees Carpets 790.0 425.03 290.0 (37%) 

        Glasgow STP   75.0   

James River 2-5 W.Q. 271.5-
266.0 Owens-Illinois 4,640.0 4,640.03 None 

James River 2-6 E.L. 257.5-
231.0 Lynchburg STP 10,100.0 8,000.0 2,060.0 

(20%) 

        Babcock & 
Wilcox- NNFD   40.03   

James River 2-6 E.L. 231.0-
202.0 Virginia Fibre 3,500.0 3,500.0 None 

Rutledge 
Creek 2-8 W.Q. 3.0-

0.0 Amherst STP 46.0 37.0 9.0 (20%) 

Town Creek 2-7 E.L. 2.1-
0.0 Lovingston STP 26.0 21.0 5.0 (20%) 

Ivy Creek 2-6 E.L. 0.1-
0.0 Schuyler 13.8 11.0 2.8 (20%) 

James River 2-6 E.L. 186.0-
179.0 Uniroyal, Inc. 1,400.0 19.36 1,336.0 

(95%) 

        Scottsville STP   45.0   
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North Creek 2-6 E.L. 3.1-
0.0 Fork Union STP 31.0 25.0 6.0 (20%) 

Howells 
Branch and 
Licking Hole 
Creek 

2-14 E.L. 0.7-
0.0 

Morton Frozen 
Foods 20.0 20.03 None 

Standardsville 
Run 2-16 W.Q. 1.2-

0.0 
Standardsville 
STP 17.9 14.3 3.6 (20%) 

Rivanna River 2-11 W.Q. 23.5-
20.0 

Lake Monticello 
STP 480.0 380.0 100.0 (20%) 

Rivanna River 2-10 E.L. 15.0-
0.0 Palmyra 250.0 4.0 158.0 (63%) 

        Schwarzenbach 
Huber   88.03   

Unnamed 
Tributary of 
Whispering 
Creek 

2-6 E.L. 1.2-00 Dillwyn STP 38.0 30.0 8.0 (21%) 

South Fork 
Appomattox 
River 

2-17 E.L. 5.5-
0.0 

Appomattox 
Lagoon 18.8 15.0 3.8 (20%) 

Unnamed 
Tributary of 
Buffalo Creek 

2-19 W.Q. 1.3-
0.0 

Hampden-
Sydney Coll. 
STP 

10.0 8.0 2.0 (20%) 

Appomattox 
River 2-17 E.L. 106.1-

88.0 Farmville STP 280.0 220.0 60.0 (21%) 

Unnamed 
Tributary of 
Little Guinea 
Creek 

2-17 E.L. 2.5-
1.3 

Cumberland 
H.S. Lagoon 0.6 0.5 0.1 (20%) 

Unnamed 
Tributary of 
Tear Wallet 
Creek 

2-17 E.L. 0.68-
0.0 

Cumberland 
Courthouse 8.8 7.0 1.8 (20%) 

Courthouse 
Branch 2-22 W.Q. 2.2-

0.0 Amelia STP 21.0 17.0 4.0 (20%) 

Unnamed 
Tributary of 
Deep Creek 

2-22 W.Q. 2.2-
0.0 Crewe STP 50.311,12 50.111, 12 0.2 

(0.4%)11,12,13 

1Recommended classification. 
2Based on 2020 loads or stream assimilative capacity less 20%. 
3Load allocation based on published NPDES permits. 
4This assimilative capacity is based upon an ammonia loading no greater than 125.1 lbs/day. 
5Percentages refer to reserve as percent of total assimilative capacity. Minimum reserve for future growth and modeling 
accuracy is 20% unless otherwise noted. 
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6No NPDES Permits published (BPT not established) allocation base on maximum value monitored. 
7This table is for the existing discharge point. The recommended plan may involve relocation or elimination of stream 
discharge. 
8Assimilative capacity will be determined upon completion of the ongoing study by Hydroscience, Inc. 
9Discharges into Karnes Creek, a tributary to the Jackson River. 
10Discharges into Wilson Creek, near its confluence with Jackson River. 
11Five-day Carbonaceous Biological Oxygen Demand (cBOD5). 
12Revision supersedes all subsequent Crewe STP stream capacity, allocation, and reserve references. 
130.4 percent reserve: determined by SWCB Piedmont Regional Office. 

Source: Wiley & Wilson, Inc. 

TABLE B3 - UPPER JAMES RIVER BASIN ADDITIONAL LOAD ALLOCATIONS  
BASED ON RECOMMENDED DISCHARGE POINT 

Stream Name Segment 
Number Classification1   Significant 

Discharges 

Total 
Assimilative 
Capacity of 

Stream BOD5 
lbs/day 

Wasteload2 
Allocation 

BOD5 
lbs/day 

Reserve4 
BOD5 

lbs/day5 

Mill Creek 2-4 E.L. 5.5-
0.0 Millboro 30.0 7.3 22.7 

(76%) 

Calfpasture 
River 2-4 E.L. 4.9-

0.0 Goshen 65.0 12.0 53.0 
(82%) 

Maury River 2-4 E.L. 1.2-
0.0 Lees Carpet 790.0 425.03 235.0 

(30%) 

        Glasgow 
Regional S.T.P.   130.0   

Buffalo River 2-7 E.L. 9.6-
0.0 Amherst S.T.P. 150.0 120.0 30.0 

(20%) 

Rockfish River 2-6 E.L. 9.5-
0.0 Schuyler S.T.P. 110.0 25.0 85.0 

(77%) 

Standardsville 
Run   E.L.   Standardsville Land Application 

Recommended   

South Fork 
Appomattox 
River 

  E.L.   Appomattox 
Lagoon 

Connect to Recommended Facility in 
Roanoke River Basin 

Buffalo Creek 2-17 E.L. 9.3-
7.7 

Hampden-Sydney 
College 46.0 23.0 23.0 

(50%) 

Unnamed trib. 
of Tear Wallet 
Creek 

  E.L.   Cumberland 
Courthouse 

Land Application 
Recommended   

Courthouse 
Branch   E.L.   Amelia Land Application 

Recommended   

Deep Creek 2-17 E.L. 25.0-
12.8 Crewe S.T.P. 69.0 55.0 14.0 

(20%) 
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1Recommended classification. 
2Based on 2020 loads or stream assimilative capacity less 20%. 
3Load allocation based on published NPDES permit. 
4Percentages refer to reserve as percent of total assimilative capacity. Minimum reserve for future growth and modeling 
accuracy is 20% unless otherwise noted. 
5Assimilative capacity will be determined upon completion of the ongoing study by Hydroscience, Inc. 

Source: Wiley & Wilson, Inc. 

TABLE B4 - SEGMENT CLASSIFICATION UPPER JAMES-JACKSON RIVER SUBAREA 

Stream Name Segment 
Number Mile to Mile Stream 

Classification Comments 

Back Creek 2-1 16.06-8.46 W.Q. Main Only 

Jackson River 2-1 95.70-24.90 E.L. Main and Tributaries 

Jackson River 2-2 24.90-0.00 W.Q. Main Only 

Jackson River 2-2 24.90-0.00 E.L. Tributaries Only 

James River 2-3 349.50-308.50 E.L. Main and Tributaries 

James River 2-3 308.50-279.41 E.L. Main and Tributaries 

  
TABLE B5 - UPPER JAMES-JACKSON RIVER SUBAREA WASTELOAD ALLOCATIONS BASED ON EXISTING DISCHARGE POINT1 

MAP 
LOCATION 

STREAM 
NAME 

SEGMENT 
NUMBER 

SEGMENT 
CLASSIFI-
CATION 

STANDARDS 

MILE to2 
MILE DISCHARGER 

VPDES  
PERMIT 

NUMBER 

VPDES 
PERMIT 
LIMITS 
BOD5 
kg/day 

303(e)3 
WASTELOAD 
ALLOCATIO

N BOD5 
kg/day 

1 Jackson 
River 2-1 E.L. 93.05- Virginia Trout VA0071722 N/A Secondary 

B 
Warm 
Springs 
Run 

2-1 E.L. 3.62-0.00 Warm Springs 
STP VA0028233 9.10 Secondary 

3 Back Creek 2-1 W.Q. 16.06-
8.46 VEPCO VA0053317 11.50 11.50 

C 
X-trib to 
Jackson 
River 

2-1 E.L. 0.40-0.0 Bacova VA0024091 9.10 Secondary 

D Hot Springs 
Run 2-1 E.L. 5.30-0.00 Hot Springs 

Reg. STP VA0066303 51.10 Secondary 

E 
X-trib to 
Cascades 
Creek 

2-1 E.L. 3.00-0.00 
Ashwood-
Healing 
Springs STP 

VA0023726 11.30 Secondary 

F Jackson 
River 2-1 E.L. 50.36- 

U.S. Forest 
Service Bolar 
Mountain 

VA0032123 1.98 Secondary 

G Jackson 
River 2-1 E.L. 43.55 

U.S. Army 
COE Morris 
Hill Complex 

VA0032115 1.70 Secondary 
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H Jackson 
River 2-1 E.L. 29.84- 

Alleghany 
County 
Clearwater 
Park 

VA0027955 5.70 Secondary 

4 Jackson 
River 2-1 E.L. 25.99 

Covington City 
Water 
Treatment 
Plant 

VA0058491 N/A Secondary 

5 Jackson 
River 2-2 W.Q. 24.64-

19.03 Westvaco VA0003646 4,195.00 4,195.004 

6         
Covington 
City5 Asphalt 
Plant 

VA0054411 N/A N/A 

7         Hercules, Inc6 VA0003450 94.00 94.00 

J Jackson 
River 2-2 W.Q. 19.03-

10.5 Covington STP VA0025542 341.00 341.00 

K Jackson 
River     10.5-0.0 Low Moor 

STP7 VA0027979 22.70 22.70 

M         D.S. Lancaster 
CC8 VA0028509 3.60 3.60 

L         Selma STP9 VA0028002 59.00 59.00 

10         The Chessie 
System10 VA0003344 N/A N/A 

N         Clifton Forge 
STP11 VA0002984 227.00 227.00 

11         Lydall12 VA0002984 6.00 6.00 

P         Iron Gate 
STP13 VA0020541 60.00 60.00 

8 Paint Bank 
Branch 2-2 E.L. 1.52 VDGIF Paint 

Bank Hatchery VA0098432 N/A Secondary 

I Jerrys Run 2-2 E.L. 6.72- VDOT 1-64 
Rest Area VA0023159 0.54 Secondary 

AA 

East 
Branch 
(Sulfer 
Spring) 

2-2 E.L. 2.16 Norman F. 
Nicholas VA0078403 0.05 Secondary 

BB 

East 
Branch 
(Sulfer 
Spring) 

2-2 E.L. 1.91- Daryl C. Clark VA0067890 0.068 Secondary 

9 Smith 
Creek 2-2 E.L. 3.44- 

Clifton Forge 
Water 
Treatment 
Plant 

VA0006076 N/A Secondary 

O Wilson 
Creek 2-2 E.L. 0.20-0.0 Cliftondale14 

Park STP VA0027987 24.00 Secondary 

2 Pheasanty 
Run 2-3 E.L. 0.01- Coursey 

Springs VA0006491 434.90 Secondary 

Q Grannys 
Creek 2-3 E.L 1.20- 

Craig Spring 
Conference 
Grounds 

VA0027952 3.40 Secondary 

CC X-trib to 
Big Creek 2-3 E.L 1.10- Homer Kelly 

Residence VA0074926 0.05 Secondary 
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12 Mill Creek 2-3 E.L 0.16- 
Columbia Gas 
Transmission 
Corp. 

VA0004839 N/A Secondary 

R John Creek 2-3 E.L 0.20- New Castle 
STP(old) VA0024139 21.00 Secondary 

S Craig 
Creek 2-3 E.L 48.45-

36.0 
New Castle 
STP (new) VA0064599 19.90 Secondary 

T Craig 
Creek 2-3 E.L 46.98- 

Craig County 
Schools 
McCleary E.S. 

VA0027758 0.57 Secondary 

DD Eagle Rock 
Creek 2-3 E.L. 0.08- Eagle Rock 

STP15 (Proposed) VA0076350 2.30 Secondary 

U 
X-trib to 
Catawba 
Creek 

2-3 E.L. 0.16 
VDMH & R 
Catawba 
Hospital 

VA0029475 13.60 Secondary 

14 Catawba 
Creek 2-3 E.L. 23.84 Tarmac-

Lonestar VA0078393 0.80 Secondary 

FF Borden 
Creek 2-3 E.L 2.00- 

Shenandoah 
Baptist Church 
Camp 

VA0075451 0.88 Secondary 

EE 
X-trib to 
Borden 
Creek 

2-3 E.L 0.36 David B. Pope VA0076031 0.07 Secondary 

V 
X-trib to 
Catawba 
Creek 

2-3 E.L 3.21- U.S. FHA 
Flatwood Acres VA0068233 0.03 Secondary 

W Catawba 
Creek 2-3 E.L 11.54- Fincastle STP VA0068233 8.50 Secondary 

X Looney 
Mill Creek 2-3 E.L 1.83- VDOT I-81 

Rest Area VA0023141 0.91 Secondary 

Y X-trib to 
Stoney 2-3 E.L 0.57 

VDOC Field 
Unit No. 25 
Battle Creek 

VA0023523 1.10 Secondary 

Z James 
River 2-3 E.L. 308.5-

286.0 Buchanan STP VA0022225 27.00 Secondary 

TABLE B5 - NOTES: 

N/A Currently No BOD5 limits or wasteload have been imposed by the VPDES permit. Should BOD5 limits (wasteload) be 
imposed a WQMP amendment would be required for water quality limited segments only. 
1Secondary treatment levels are required in effluent limiting (E.L.) segments. In water quality limiting (W.Q.) segments 
quantities listed represent wasteload allocations. 
2Ending river miles have not been determined for some Effluent Limited segments. 
3These allocations represent current and original (1977 WQMP) modeling. Future revisions may be necessary based on 
Virginia State Water Control Board modeling. 
4The total assimilative capacity at critical stream flow for this portion of Segment 2-2 has been modeled and verified by 
Hydroscience, Inc. (March 1977) to be 4,914 kg/day BOD5. 
5The discharge is to an unnamed tributary to the Jackson River at Jackson River mile 22.93. 
6The discharge is at Jackson River mile 19.22. 
7The discharge is to the mouth of Karnes Creek, a tributary to the Jackson River at Jackson River mile 5.44. 
8The discharge is at Jackson River mile 6.67. 
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9The discharge is at Jackson River mile 5.14. 
10The discharge is at Jackson River mile 4.72. 
11The discharge is at Jackson River mile 3.46. 
12The discharge is at Jackson River mile 1.17 
13The discharge is at Jackson River mile 0.76 
14The discharge is to the mouth of Wilson Creek, a tributary to the Jackson River at Jackson River mile 2.44. 
15The discharge is to the mouth of Eagle Rock Creek, a tributary to the Jackson River at Jackson River mile 330.35. 

TABLE B6 - RICHMOND CRATER INTERIM WATER QUALITY MANAGEMENT PLAN STREAM CLASSIFICATIONS - JAMES 
RIVER BASIN 

SEGMENT SEGMENT 
NUMBER MILE TO MILE CLASSIFICATION 

USGS HUC02080206 James River 2-19 115.0-60.5 W.Q. 

USGS HUC02080207 Appomattox 2-23 30.1-0.0 W.Q. 

TABLE B6 - *Note: A new stream segment classification for the Upper James Basin was adopted in 1981. The SWCB will 
renumber or realign these segments in the future to reflect these changes. This Plan covers only a portion of these segments. 

TABLE B7 - RICHMOND CRATER INTERIM WATER QUALITY MANAGEMENT PLAN – CURRENT PERMITTED WASTE LOADS 
(March 1988) 

SUMMER (June-October) WINTER (November-May) 

BOD5 NH3-N1 BOD5 NH3-N1   FLOW 
(mgd) (lbs/d) (mg/l) (lbs/d) (mg/l) 

DO2 
(mg/l) 

  FLOW 
(mgd) (lbs/d) (mg/l) (lbs/d) (mg/l) 

DO2 
(mg/l) 

City of 
Richmond 
STP3 

45.00 3002 8.0 - - - 45.00 5367 14.3 - - - 

E.I. DuPont-
Spruance 8.68 936 - - - - 8.68 936 - - - - 

Falling Creek 
STP 9.00 1202 16.0 - - 5.9 9.00 2253 30.0 - - 5.9 

Proctor's Creek 
STP 6.40 1601 30.0 - - 5.9 11.80 2952 30.0 - - 5.9 

Reynolds 
Metals 
Company 

0.39 138 - 7 - - 0.39 138 - 7 - - 

Henrico STP 30.00 3005 12.0 - - 5.9 30.00 7260 29.0 - - 5.9 

American 
Tobacco 
Company 

1.94 715 - - - - 1.94 716 - - - - 

ICI Americas, 
Inc. 0.20 152 - - - - 0.20 152 - - - - 

Phillip Morris- 
Park 500 1.50 559 - - - - 1.50 557 - - - - 

Allied 
(Chesterfield) 51.00 1207 - - - - 51.00 1207   - - - 

Allied 
(Hopewell) 150.00 2500 - - - - 

  

150.00 2500 - - - - 
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Hopewell 
Regional WTF 34.08 12507 44.0 - - 4.8 34.08 12507 44.0 - - 4.8 

Petersburg 
STP 15.00 2804 22.4 - - 5.0 15.00 2804 22.4 - - 5.0 

TOTAL 353.19 30328         358.59 39349         
1NH3-N values represent ammonia as nitrogen. 
2Dissolved oxygen limits represent average minimum allowable levels. 
3Richmond STP's BOD5 is permitted as CBOD5 

 
TABLE B7 - WASTE LOAD ALLOCATIONS FOR THE YEAR 1990  

SUMMER (June-October) WINTER (November-May) 

CBOD5 NH3-N1,3 CBOD5 NH3-N1   FLOW 
(mgd) (lbs/d) (mg/l) (lbs/d) (mg/l) 

DO2 
(mg/l) 

  

(lbs/d) (mg/l) (lbs/d) (mg/l) 
DO2 

(mg/l) 

City of Richmond 
STP 45.00 3002 8.0 2403 6.4 5.6 5367 14.3 5707 15.2 5.6 

E.I. DuPont-
Spruance 11.05 948   590   4.4 948   756   2.9 

Falling Creek STP 10.10 1348 16.0 539 6.4 5.9 2023 24.0 1281 15.2 5.9 

Proctor's Creek STP 12.00 1602 16.0 961 9.6 5.9 2403 24.0 1402 14.0 5.9 

Reynolds Metals 
Co. 0.49 172   8   6.5 172   8   6.5 

Henrico STP 30.00 3002 12.0 2403 9.6 5.6 4756 19.0 3504 44.0 5.6 

American Tobacco 
Co. 2.70 715   113   5.8 715   113   5.8 

ICI Americas, Inc. 0.20 167   8   5.8 167   8   3.1 

Phillip Morris- Park 
500 2.20 819   92   4.6 819   92   4.6 

Allied 
(Chesterfield) 53.00 1255   442   5.7 1255   442   5.7 

Allied (Hopewell) 165.00 2750   10326   6.1 2750   10326   6.1 

Hopewell Regional 
WTF 34.07 12502 44.0 12091 36.2 4.8 12502 44.0 10291 36.2 4.8 

Petersburg STP 15.00 2802 22.4 801 6.4 5.0 2802 22.4 2028 16.2 5.0 

TOTAL 380.81 31084   28978     

  

36679 35958       
1NH3-N values represent ammonia as nitrogen. 
2Dissolved oxygen limits represent average minimum allowable levels. 
3Allied (Hopewell) allocation may be redistributed to the Hopewell Regional WTF by VPDES permit. 
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TABLE B7 - WASTE LOAD ALLOCATION FOR THE YEAR 2000 

SUMMER (June-October) WINTER (November-May) 

CBOD5 NH3-N1,3 CBOD5 NH3-N1   FLOW 
(mgd) (lbs/d) (mg/l) (lbs/d) (mg/l) 

DO2 
(mg/l)

  

(lbs/d) (mg/l) (lbs/d) (mg/l) 
DO2 

(mg/l) 

City of 
Richmond STP 45.08 3002 8.0 2403 6.4 5.6 5367 14.3 5707 15.2 5.6 

E.I. DuPont-
Spruance 196.99 948   590   4.4 948   756   2.9 

Falling Creek 
STP 10.10 1348 16.0 539 6.4 5.9 2023 24.0 1281 15.2 5.9 

Proctor’s Creek 
STP 16.80 1602 11.4 961 6.9 5.9 2403 17.1 1402 10.0 5.9 

Reynolds 
Metals Co. 0.78 172   13   6.5 172   13   6.5 

Henrico STP 32.80 3002 11.0 2403 8.8 5.6 4756 17.4 3504 12.8 5.6 

American 
Tobacco Co. 3.00 715   113   5.8 715   113   5.8 

ICI Americas, 
Inc. 0.20 167   8   5.8 167   8   3.1 

Phillip Morris- 
Park 500 2.90 819   92   4.6 819   92   4.6 

Allied 
(Chesterfield) 56.00 1255   442   5.7 1255   442   5.7 

Allied 
(Hopewell) 170.00 2750   10326   6.1 2750   10326   6.1 

Hopewell 
Regional WTF 36.78 12502 40.7 12091 33.5 4.8 12502 40.7 10291 33.5 4.8 

Petersburg STP 15.00 2802 22.4 801 6.4 5.0 2802 22.4 2028 16.2 5.0 

TOTAL 406.43 31084   28982     

  

36679   35963     
1NH3-N values represent ammonia as nitrogen. 
2Dissolved oxygen limits represent average minimum allowable levels. 
3Allied (Hopewell) allocation may be redistributed to the Hopewell Regional WTF by VPDES permit. 
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TABLE B7 - WASTE LOAD ALLOCATIONS FOR THE YEAR 2010 

SUMMER (June-October) WINTER (November-May) 

CBOD5 NH3-N1,3 CBOD5 NH3-N1   FLOW 
(mgd) (lbs/d) (mg/l) (lbs/d) (mg/l) 

DO2 
(mg/l)

  

(lbs/d) (mg/l) (lbs/d) (mg/l) 
DO2 
(mg/l) 

City of 
Richmond STP 45.86 3002 7.8 2403 6.3 5.6 5367 14.0 5707 14.9 5.6 

E.I. DuPont-
Spruance 16.99 948   590   4.4 948   756   2.9 

Falling Creek 
STP 10.10 1348 16.0 539 6.4 5.9 2023 24.0 1281 15.2 5.9 

Proctor’s Creek 
STP 24.00 1602 8.0 961 4.8 5.9 2403 12.0 1402 7.0 5.9 

Reynolds 
Metals Co. 0.78 172   13   6.5 172   13   6.5 

Henrico STP 38.07 3002 9.5 2403 7.6 5.6 4756 15.0 3504 11.0 5.6 

American 
Tobacco Co. 3.00 715   113   5.8 715   113   5.8 

ICI Americas, 
Inc. 0.20 167   8   5.8 167   8   3.1 

Phillip Morris- 
Park 500 2.90 819   92   4.6 819   92   4.6 

Allied 
(Chesterfield) 56.00 1255   442   5.7 1255   442   5.7 

Allied 
(Hopewell) 180.00 2750   10326   6.1 2750   10326   6.1 

Hopewell 
Regional WTF 39.61 12502 37.8 10291 31.1 4.8 12502 37.8 10291 31.1 4.8 

Petersburg STP 15.00 2802 22.4 801 6.4 5.0 2802 22.4 2028 16.2 5.0 

TOTAL 432.1 31084   28982     

  

36679   35963     
1NH3-N values represent ammonia as nitrogen. 
2Dissolved oxygen limits represent average minimum allowable levels. 
3Allied (Hopewell) allocation may be redistributed to the Hopewell Regional WTF by VPDES permit. 

C. Nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations to restore the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. 

The following table presents nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations for the identified significant dischargers and the 
total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load allocations for the listed facilities.  
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Virginia 
Waterbody ID Discharger Name VPDES Permit 

No. 

Total Nitrogen (TN) 
Waste Load 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

Total Phosphorus 
(TP) Waste Load 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

I37R Buena Vista STP VA0020991 41,115 3,426 

I09R Clifton Forge STP VA0022772 36,547 3,046 

I09R Covington STP VA0025542 54,820 4,568 

H02R Georgia Pacific VA0003026 122,489 49,658 

I37R Lees Carpets VA0004677 30,456 12,182 

I35R Lexington-Rockbridge WQCF VA0088161 54,820 4,568 

I09R Low Moor STP VA0027979 9,137 761 

I09R Lower Jackson River STP VA0090671 27,410 2,284 

I04R MeadWestvaco VA0003646 394,400 159,892 

H12R Amherst STP VA0031321 10,964 914 

H05R BWX Technologies Inc. VA0003697 187,000 1,523 

H05R Greif Inc. VA0006408 73,246 29,694 

H31R Lake Monticello STP VA0024945 18,182 1,515 

H05R Lynchburg STP (1) VA0024970 536,019 33,501 

H28R Moores Creek Regional STP VA0025518 274,100 22,842 

H38R Powhatan CC STP VA0020699 8,588 716 

J11R Crewe WWTP VA0020303 9,137 761 

J01R Farmville WWTP VA0083135 43,856 3,655 

G02E R. J. Reynolds VA0002780 25,583 1,919 

G01E E I du Pont - Spruance VA0004669 201,080 7,816 

G01E Falling Creek WWTP VA0024996 153,801 15,380 

G01E Henrico County WWTP VA0063690 1,142,085 114,209 

G03E Honeywell – Hopewell VA0005291 1,090,798 51,592 

G03R Hopewell WWTP VA0066630 1,827,336 76,139 

G15E HRSD – Boat Harbor STP VA0081256 740,000 76,139 

G11E HRSD – James River STP VA0081272 1,250,000 60,911 

G10E HRSD – Williamsburg STP VA0081302 800,000 68,525 

G02E Philip Morris – Park 500 VA0026557 139,724 2,650 

G01E Proctors Creek WWTP VA0060194 411,151 41,115 

G01E Richmond WWTP (1) VA0063177 1,096,402 68,525 

G02E Dominion-Chesterfield (2) VA0004146 352,036 210 

J15R South Central WW Authority VA0025437 350,239 35,024 

G07R Chickahominy WWTP VA0088480 6,167 123 
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G05R Tyson Foods – Glen Allen VA0004031 19,552  409 

G11E HRSD – Nansemond STP VA0081299 750,000 91,367 

G15E HRSD – Army Base STP VA0081230 610,000 54,820 

G15E HRSD – VIP WWTP VA0081281 750,000 121,822 

G15E JH Miles & Company VA0003263 153,500 21,500 

C07E HRSD – Ches.-Elizabeth STP VA0081264 1,100,000 108,674 

  TOTALS   14,901,739 1,354,375 

NOTES: (1) Waste load allocations for localities served by combined sewers are based on dry weather design flow capacity. 
During wet weather flow events the discharge shall achieve a TN concentration of 8.0 mg/l and a TP concentration of 1.0 
mg/l.  

(2) Waste load allocations are “net” loads, based on the portion of the nutrient discharge introduced by the facility’s process 
waste streams, and not originating in raw water intake. 

9VAC25-720-90. Tennessee-Big Sandy River Basin.  

A. Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDLs).  

TMDL 
# 

Stream 
Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA Units 

1. Guest 
River 

Guest River Total Maximum 
Load Report Wise P11R Sediment 317.92 LB/YR 

2. Cedar 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily Load 
(TMDL) Development for 
Cedar Creek, Hall/Byers 
Creek and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 1,789.93 LB/YR 

3. Hall/Byers 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily Load 
(TMDL) Development for 
Cedar Creek, Hall/Byers 
Creek and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 57,533.49 LB/YR 

4. Hutton 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily Load 
(TMDL) Development for 
Cedar Creek, Hall/Byers 
Creek and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 91.32 LB/YR 

5. Clinch 
River 

Total Maximum Daily Load 
Development for the Upper 
Clinch River Watershed 

Tazewell P01R Sediment 206,636 LB/YR 

6. Lewis 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily Load 
Development for the Lewis 
Creek Watershed 

Russell P04R Sediment 40,008 LB/YR 

7. Black 
Creek 

General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for Black 
Creek, Wise County, Virginia 

Wise P17R Manganese 2,127 KG/YR 

8. Dumps 
Creek 

General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for Dumps 
Creek, Russell County, 
Virginia 

Russell P08R 
Total 

Dissolved 
Solids 

1,631,575 KG/YR 
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9. Dumps 
Creek 

General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for Dumps 
Creek, Russell County, 
Virginia 

Russell P08R 
Total 

Suspended 
Solids 

316,523 KG/YR 

10. Beaver 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily Load 
Development for the Beaver 
Creek Watershed 

Washington O07R Sediment 784,036 LB/YR 

11. Stock 
Creek 

General Standard (Benthic) 
Total Maximum Daily Load 
Development for Stock Creek 

Scott P13R Sediment 0 T/YR 

12. Lick 
Creek 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 
Benthic Impairments-
Dickenson, Russell and Wise 
Counties 

Dickenson, 
Russell and 

Wise 
P10R Sediment 63 T/YR 

13. Cigarette 
Hollow 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 
Benthic Impairments-
Dickenson, Russell and Wise 
Counties 

Dickenson, 
Russell and 

Wise 
P10R Sediment 0.4 T/YR 

14. Laurel 
Branch 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 
Benthic Impairments-
Dickenson, Russell and Wise 
Counties 

Dickenson, 
Russell and 

Wise 
P10R Sediment 3.9 T/YR 

15. Right 
Fork 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 
Benthic Impairments-
Dickenson, Russell and Wise 
Counties 

Dickenson, 
Russell and 

Wise 
P10R Sediment 1.3 T/YR 

B. Non-TMDL waste load allocations. 

Water 
Body 

Permit No. Facility Name Receiving 
Stream 

River 
Mile 

Outfall 
No. 

Parameter 
Description 

WLA Units 
WLA 

CBOD5, JUN-
NOV 

28 KG/D 

CBOD5, DEC-
MAY 

47 KG/D VAS-
Q13R VA0061913 Pound WWTP Pound 

River 33.26 001 

TKN, JUN-NOV 28 KG/D 

VAS-
Q14R VA0026565 Clintwood 

WWTP 
Cranes 

Nest River 9.77 001 BOD5 30 KG/D 

VAS-
O06R VA0026531 

Wolf Creek 
Water 
Reclamation 
Facility 

Wolf Creek 7.26 001 CBOD5 249.8 KG/D 

VAS-
P01R VA0026298 Tazewell 

WWTP 
Clinch 
River 346.26 001 CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 76 KG/D 

VAS-
P03R VA0021199 

Richlands 
Regional 
WWTF 

Clinch 
River 317.45 001 BOD5, JUN-

NOV 273 KG/D 
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VAS-
P06R VA0020745 Lebanon 

WWTP 
Big Cedar 

Creek 5.22 001 BOD5 91 KG/D 

CBOD5, JUN-
NOV 

303 KG/D 
VAS-
P11R VA0077828 

Coeburn 
Norton Wise 
Regional 
WWTP 

Guest 
River 7.56 001 

CBOD5, DEC-
MAY 

379 KG/D 

VAS-
P15R VA0029564 

Duffield 
Industrial Park 
WWTP 

North Fork 
Clinch 
River 

21.02 001 BOD5 36 KG/D 

VAS-
P17R VA0020940 

Big Stone Gap 
Regional 
WWTP 

Powell 
River 177.38 001 CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 110 KG/D 

9VAC25-720-110. Chesapeake Bay -- Small Coastal -- Eastern Shore River Basin.  

A. Total maximum Daily Load (TMDLs).  

TMDL 
# 

Stream 
Name 

TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA Units 

1. Parker 
Creek 

Benthic Total Maximum 
Daily Load (TMDL) 

Development for Parker 
Creek, Virginia 

Accomack D03E Total 
Phosphorus 

664.2 Lbs/YR 

B. Stream segment classifications, effluent limitations including water quality based effluent limitations, and waste load 
allocations.  

Small Coastal and Chesapeake Bay-  

TABLE B1—CURRENT STREAM SEGMENT CLASSIFICATION  

Segment No. Name Current State Class 

7-12A Pocomoke Sound EL 

7-12B Messongo Creek EL 

7-12C Beasley Bay EL 

7-12D Chesconessex Creek EL 

7-13 Onancock Creek WQ 

7-14 Pungoteague WQ 

7-12E Nandua Creek EL 

7-15 Occohannock Creek WQ 

7-12F Nassawadox Creek EL 

7-12G Hungars Creek EL 

7-12H Cherrystone Inlet EL 

7-12I South Bay EL 

7-12J Tangier Island _____ 

7-11A Chincoteague EL 

7-11B Hog Bogue EL 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3547 

7-11C Metomkim Bay EL 

7-11D Machipongo River EL 

7-11E South Ocean EL 

Small Coastal and Chesapeake Bay 

TABLE B2 - EASTERN SHORE WASTELOAD ALLOCATIONS 

    INTERIM WASTELOAD 
ALLOCATIONS(1) FINAL WASTELOAD ALLOCATIONS 

    (Current Permit Limits) 

NAME 
RECEIVING 
STREAM OR 

ESTUARY 

BOD5 
(lb/d) 

SUSPENDED 
SOLIDS (lb/d)

OIL & 
GREASE 

(lb/d) 

BOD5 
(lb/d) 

SUSPENDED 
SOLIDS (lb/d) 

OIL & 
GREASE 

(lb/d) 

Commonwealth of 
Va. Rest Area 

Pitts Cr. 4.3 4.3 -- 4.3 4.3 -- 

Edgewood Park Bullbegger Cr. 0.80 0.80 -- 0.80 0.80 -- 

Holly Farms Sandy Bottom 
Cr. 

167(3) 167(3) 10 mg/l Stream survey/model and determination of 
final wasteload allocations planned for the 
summer of 1980. 

Taylor Packing 
Company 

Messongo Cr. 7006(3) 13010(3) -- Stream survey/model was run previously. 
No change in permit anticipated. 

No. Accomack 
E.S. 

Messongo Cr. 1.8 1.4 -- 1.8 1.4 -- 

Messick & 
Wessels Nelsonia 

Muddy Cr. 30mg/l(4) 30mg/l(4) -- Interim wasteload allocations may be 
changed based on BAT guidance. 

Whispering Pines 
Motel 

Deep Cr. 4.8 4.8 -- 4.8 4.8 -- 

Town of Onancock Onancock Cr. 21 21 -- 21 21 -- 

Messick & 
Wessels 

Onancock Cr. 30mg/l(4) 30mg/l(4) -- Interim wasteload allocations may be 
changed based on guidance. 

So. Accomack E.S. Pungoteague 
Cr. 

1.8 1.4 -- 1.8 1.4 -- 

A & P Exmore Nassawadox 
Cr. 

0.38 0.38 -- 0.38 0.38 -- 

Norstrom Coin 
Laundry 

Nassawadox 
Cr. 

60mg/l(4) 
max. 

60mg/l(4) 
max. 

-- Interim wasteload allocation may be 
changed based on BAT guidance. 

NH-Acc. 
Memorial Hospital 

Warehouse Cr. 12.5 12.5 -- 21.5 12.5 -- 

Machipongo E.S. 
& H.H. Jr. High 

Trib. To 
Oresbus Cr. 

5.2 5.2 -- 5.2 5.2 -- 

Town of Cape 
Charles 

Cape Charles 
Harbor 

62.6 62.6 -- 62.6 62.6 -- 

America House Chesapeake 
Bay 

5 5 -- 5 5 -- 
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U.S. Coast Guard 
Chesapeake Bay 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

-- -- 10/mgl(5) -- -- 10/mgl(5) 

U.S. Government 
Cape Charles 
AFB 

Magothy Bay Currently No Discharge 

Exmore Foods 
(Process Water) 

Trib. To 
Parting Cr. 

200 100 -- Stream survey/model and determination of 
final wasteload allocations planned for the 
summer of 1980. 

Exmore Foods 
(Sanitary) 

Trib. To 
Parting Cr. 

30mg/l(5) 30mg/l(5) -- 30mg/l(5) 30mg/l(5) -- 

Perdue Foods 
(process water) 

Parker Cr. May-Oct 
275 367 

Nov-Apr. 
612 797 

-- -- Interim Permit in process. Stream 
survey/models were run. No substantial 
change in permit anticipated. 

Perdue Foods 
(parking lot) 

Parker Cr. 30mg/l(5) 30mg/l(5) -- 30mg/l(5) 30mg/l(5) -- 

Accomack Nursing 
Home 

Parker Cr. 2.7 2.6 -- 2.7 2.6 -- 

U.S. Gov't NASA 
Wallops Island 

Mosquito Cr. 75 75 -- 75 75 -- 

U.S. Gov't NASA 
Wallops Island 

Cat Cr. 1.25 1.25 -- 1.25 1.25 -- 

F & G 
Laundromat 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

10 4.8 -- Interim wasteload allocations may be 
changed based on BAT guidance. 

U.S. Coast Guard Chincoteatue 
Channel 

-- -- 15mg/l 
(max.) 

-- -- 15mg/l 
(max.) 

Virginia- Carolina 
Seafood 

Chincoteague 
Bay 

342 264 5.5 342 264 5.5 

Reginald Stubbs 
Seafood Co. 
(VA0005813) 

Assateague 
Channel 

-- 20 95 -- 20 95 

Reginald Stubbs 
Seafood Co. 
(VA00056421) 

Assateague 
Channel 

-- 20 98 -- 20.4(2) 98 

Shreaves Chincoteague 
Bay 

-- 16(2) 1.4(2) -- 16(2) 1.4(2) 

Chincoteague 
Seafood 

Chincoteague 
Bay 

342 264 5.5 342 264 5.5 
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TABLE B3 - EXISTING OR POTENTIAL SOURCES OF WATER POLLUTION 

Location 
No. Name Receiving 

Estuary Stream Flow 
(MGD) 

CBOD 
(mgl/#D) 

NBOD 
(mgl/#D) 

Total 
Suspended 

Solids 
(mgl/#D) 

D.O. 
(mgl) 

FC 
(MPN/ 
100ml) 

Treatment/ 
Operation 

1 Comm. Va. 
Rest Area 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

Pitts Cr. .003 7/0.18   10/0.3 7.5 1 Extended 
aeration. Sec. 
Holding 
pond, CL2 

2 H.E. Kelley Pocomoke 
Sound 

Pitts Cr.             Currently no 
discharges. 
Out of 
business 

3 Edgewood 
Park 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

Bullbegger 
Creek 

.006(3) 16/0.8(2)   16/0.8(2)     PRI, CL2. 
Holding 
Pond 

4 Holly Farms Pocomoke 
Sound 

Sand Bottom 
Creek 

0.18 6/40   15/100 8.0 100 Aerated 
Lagoons, CL2 

5 J.W. Taylor Messongo 
Creek 

Trib. To 
Messongo 

.001 60/50   150/125 8.0   Aerated 
Lagoons 

6 No. Accomack 
E.S. 

Messongo 
Creek 

Trib. To 
Messongo 

.005 22/0.9   30/1.3 9.0   Sec., Septic 
Tank, Sand 
Filter 
Holding 
Pond 

7 Messick & 
Wessells-
Nelsonia 

Beasly Bay Muddy Creek .005 125/5.2   100/4.2     Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration 

8 Willets 
Laundromat 

Beasly Bay Hunting 
Creek 

            Prl., Septic 
Tank 

9 Byrd Food Beasly Bay               No discharge 
industry 

10 Whispering 
Pines Motel 

Beasly Bay Deep Creek .009 25/1.9   30/2.3 6.0   Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration 
Holding 
Pond, CL2 

11 Town of 
Onancock 

Onancock 
Creek 

North Fork .19 2/3.2   3/4.8 7.5 3 Primary, 
Primary 
Settling 
Sludge 
Digestion, 
CL2 

12 Messick & 
Wessels-Onley 

Onancock 
Creek 

Joynes 
Branch 

.005 100/4.2   150/6.3     Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration 

13 So. Accomack 
E.S. 

Pungoteague Trib. To 
Pungoteague 

  24/1.8(2)   19/1.4(2)     Sec., Septic 
Tank, Grease 
Trap, Sand 
Filter, 
Holding 
Pond. No 
discharge in 
4 yrs. 

14 Great Atlantic 
& Pacific Tea 
Company 

Nassawadox Nassawadox .001 140/1.2   150/1.3   6.5 Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration CL2 
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15 Norstrom Coin 
Laundry 

Nassawadox Trib. To 
Nassawadox 

.008           Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration, 
permit in 
process 

17 N.H.-Acc. 
Memorial 
Hospital 

Nassawadox Warehouse 
Creek 

.03 25/1.6   35/2.2 6.5 750 Secondary 
Aerated 
Lagoon, CL2 
Holding pond 
Stab-Lagoon 

18 Machipongo 
E.S. & N.H. 
Jr. High 
School 

Hungars 
Creek 

Trib. To 
Oresbus 

0.3(1) 30/5.2(2)   30/5.2(2)     Sec., Stab-
Lagoon, 
Holding 
Pond no 
discharge in 
4 yrs. 

19 B & B 
Laundromat 

Cherry Stone 
Inlet 

Old Castle 
Creek 

            Prl. Septic 
Tank w/ 
discharger 

20 KMC Foods, 
Inc. 

Cherry Stone 
Inlet 

              No-
Discharge 
industry 

21 Herbert West 
Laundromat 

Cherry Stone 
Inlet 

Kings Creek             Prl. Septic 
Tank w/ 
Discharger 

22 Town of Cape 
Charles 

Cape Charles 
Harbor 

Cape Charles 
Harbor 

.165(2) 290/400(3)   139/192(3)     Raw Sewage, 
Sewage 
Treatment to 
be completed 
by 1982 

23 American 
House Inn 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

  30/5(2)   30/5(2)       

24 U.S. Coast 
Guard 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

.001(2) 30/     5.0(2) 200(2) Bilgewater 

25 U.S. Gov't 
Cape Charles 
AFS 

Magothy Magothy .001(2)       5.0(3)   Sec., CL2, 
Aerated 
Lagoon, 
currently no-
discharge 

27 Exmore 
Frozen Foods 

Machipongo Trib. To 
Parting Cr. 

.56 29/135   18/84 6.5   Grass Bays, 
Screening 

28 Exmore Foods 
(Domestic) 

Machipongo Trib. To 
Parting Cr. 

.02 5/0.8   9/1.5     Septic Tank, 
Sand Filter 

30 Perdue Foods Metomkin 
Bay 

Parker Creek 1.7 11/156   15/213 6.5 150 Sec., Aerated 
Lagoon, 
Holding 
Pond, CL2 

31 Perdue Foods Metomkin 
Bay 

Parker Cr. .01(4)     15/1.3       

32 Accomack Co. 
Nursing Home 

Metomkin 
Bay 

Parker Cr. 
North Fork 

.011 20/1.8   28/2.6 6.5 100 Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration, 
Holding 
Pond, CL2 

33 U.S. Gov't 
NASA 
(Wallops 
Island) 

Hog Creek Cat Creek .005 30/   30/     Sec., Stab., 
Pond, 
Holding 
Pond, CL2 
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34 Robo 
Automatic Car 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Little 
Simoneaton 

              

35  U.S. Gov't 
NASA 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Mosquito 
Creek 

.105 10.6/9.3(3) 112/28 2.0/1.8     Sec., 
Trickling 
Filter 

36 Trail's End 
Rec. Vehicle 
Dev. 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Trib to 
Mosquito Cr. 

            Septic Tank 
and 
Drainfield 

37 Coin-Op 
Laundromat 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

            No discharge 

38 F & G 
Laundromat 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

.005             

39 U.S. Coast 
Guard 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

.001(2)     30/0.2(2)   200(2) Discharge-
Bilgewater 

40 Phillip Custis Ramshorn 
Bay 

              Spray 
Irrigation, no 
Discharge 

43 Boggs (Melfa) Nickowampus 
Creek 

              Septic tank 
waste 
lagoons, no 
discharge 

44 Blake 
(Greenbush) 

Deep Creek               Septic tank 
waste lagoon, 
no discharge 

45 Cherrystone 
Campground 

Kings Creek 
or 
Cherrystone 
Inlet 

              Stab-Lagoon, 
Holding 
pond, no 
discharge 

46 Wallops 
Sanitary 
Landfill 

                Solid waste 
disposal site, 
no discharge 

47 Chincoteague 
Dumpsite 

                Solid waste 
disposal site, 
no discharge 

48 Bob Town 
Sanitary 
Landfill 

                Solid waste 
disposal site, 
no discharge 

49 Northampton 
Sanitary 
Landfill 

                Solid waste 
site, no 
discharge 

52 Dorsey's 
Seafood 
Market 

Chincoteague               Oysters(5) 

1152(2) 

Clams 

68(2) 

Oysters 

54 Va-Carolina 
Seafood 
Company, Inc. 

Hog-Bogue         

7.0(2) 

Scallops 

    Surf Clams, 
Oysters, 
Scallops 
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55 Chincoteague 
Island Oyster 
Farm 

Chincoteague                (Oyster-Boat 
Operation 
(grows 
oysters & 
clams from 
larvae)(6) 

  Reginald 
Stubbs 
Seafood 
Company 

Assateague 
Channel 

  .002(4) 4.2   2.8     Oyster 

58 Shreaves Bros. Chincoteague    .002(4) 2.07   8.0     Oyster 

60 Chincoteague 
Seafood Co. 

Chincoteague   .063(4) 972   79.9     Surf-Clam 

61 Ralph E. 
Watson Oyster 
Co. 

Chincoteague    .003(4) 57   53     Oyster 

62 McCready 
Bros. Inc. 

Chincoteague               Oyster, no 
discharge 

63 Wm. C. 
Bunting 

Chincoteague   .001(4) 12   4.8     Oyster 

64 Carpenters 
Seafood 

Chincoteague   .001(4) 4.1   2.1     Oyster 

64a Burtons 
Seafood, Inc. 

Chincoteague   .006(4) 10.3   .35     Oyster shell 
stock deal no 
discharge 

69 Jones Bros. 
Seafood 

Chincoteague Sheepshead 
Cr. 

            Oyster & 
Clams 

70 W.E. Jones 
Seafood 

Chincoteague Sheepshead 
Creek 

      46.4(2)     Oyster & 
Clams 

71 Conner & 
McGee 
Seafood 

Chincoteague Sheepshead 
Creek 

            Oyster & 
Clams(6) 

72  Hills Oyster 
Farm 

Chincoteague               Oyster & 
Clams(5) 

73 Thomas E. 
Reed Seafood 

Chincoteague Deep Hole 
Creek 

            Oyster & 
Clams(6) 

74 Mears & 
Powell 

Metomkin               Oyster-
Building, 
also used to 
clean fish(5) 

75 Wachapreague 
Seafood 
Company 

Metomkin Finney Creek .036(4)     144     Sea Clam 

76 George D. 
Spence and 
Son 

Machipongo               Crab 
Shedding(6) 

77 George D. 
Spence and 
Son 

Machipongo               Crab Picking, 
no discharge 

78 George T. Bell Machipongo               No 
Discharge, 
Oyster 

79 George D. 
Spence and 
Son 

Machipongo Upshur Bay             Oyster(6) 
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80 Peters Seafood Machipongo               Oyster(6) 

81 J.E. Hamblin Machipongo               Oyster, No 
discharge 

83 Nathan Bell 
Seafood 

Machipongo               Clams, 
Hard(5) 

84 John L. 
Marshall 
Seafood 

Machipongo               Clams(5) 

85 American 
Original 
Foods, Inc. 

Machipongo Parting Creek .151(4) 2632   1337       

86 Harvey & 
Robert Bowen 

Machipongo Parting Creek .0006(4) 6.2   1.7     Oyster 

87 H.M. Terry Machipongo Parting Creek .0004(4) 3.3   .62     Oyster 

89 Webb's Island 
Seafood 

South Ocean 
Area 

              Clams(6) 

90 Cliff's Seafood South Ocean 
Area 

Mockhorn 
Bay 

            Oyster & 
Clam (6) 

92 H. Allen 
Smith 

South Ocean 
Area 

  .037(4) 213   522     Sea Clam 

204 sea 
clam 

94 C & D 
Seafood, Inc. 

South Ocean 
Area 

Oyster 
Harbor 

.04(4) 427   

34(2) 

oyster 

    Sea Clam, 
Oyster 

95 B.L. Bell & 
Sons 

South Ocean 
Area 

Oyster 
Harbor 

.001(4) 12   .9     Oyster 

98 Lance Fisher 
Seafood Co. 

Pocomoke   .02(4) 38   12.8     Oyster and 
Clam 

99 Fisher & 
Williams/Lest
er Fisher 

Messongo               Building 
used to shed 
soft crabs(5) 

100 Grady Rhodes 
Seafood 

Messongo               Sold 
business, 
Building 
used to shed 
soft crabs(5) 

101 Bonowell 
Bros. 

Messongo Pocomoke 
Sound 

.001(4) 12   2.5     Oyster 

102 John H. Lewis 
& Co. 

Messongo Starling 
Creek 

            Oyster SS 
only, no 
discharge 

103 Eastern Shore 
Seafood 

Beasly               Crab, no 
discharge 

106 Ashton's 
Seafood, Inc. 

Pungoteague               Shell stock 
dealer-no 
discharge 

107 Nandua 
Seafood Co. 

Nandua   .0001(4) .2   .9     Crab 

108 A.M. Acuff Cherrystone               Building 
used for 
storage, no 
discharge 
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110 D.L. Edgerton 
Co. 

Cherrystone Mud Creek             Conch. In 
operation. 
Retort drains 
overboard & 
fish wash-
down(6) 

111 & 
112 

Tangier Island 
Seafood, Inc. 

Tangier               Crab(5) 

113 Tangier Chesapeake 
Bay 

              1000 KW 
Power 
Station 

114 Chincoteague Chincoteague 
Channel 

              2100 KW 
Power 
Station 

115 Parksley                 2400 KW 
Power 
Station 

116 Tasley                 1400 KW 
Power 
Station 

117 Bayview                 10,000 KW 
Power 
Station 

118 Cape Charles Cape Charles 
Harbor 

              1200 KW 
Power 
Station 

119 Burdick Well 
& Pump 
Company 

                Holding 
Pond, no 
discharge 

120 Marshall & 
Son Crab 
Company 

Messongo Cr.               Crab 
Shedding(6) 

  Linton & 
Lewis Crab 
Co. 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

              Crab 
Shedding(6) 

122 D.L. Edgerton Chincoteague               Fish Wash-
down(6) 

123 Evans Bros. 
Seafood Co. 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

              Crab 
Shedding(6) 

124 Stanley F. 
Linton 

Messongo Starling Cr.             Crab 
Shedding(6) 

.035(4) 349 736-clam 125 H.V. Drewer 
& Son 

Messongo Starling Cr. 

.018(4) 180 

  

198-
oyster 

    Oyster & 
Clam 

126 Chincoteague 
Fish Co., Inc. 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

              Fish 
Washdown(6) 

127 Chincoteague 
Crab 
Company 

Assateague 
Channel 

    .18(2)   .54(2)     Crab & Crab 
Shedding 

128  Aldon Miles & 
Sons 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

              Crab 
Shedding(6) 

129 Saxis Crab Co. Messongo Starling Cr.             Crab 
Shedding(6) 
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  Paul 
Watkinson 
SFD 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

              Crab 
Shedding(6) 

131 Russell Fish 
Co., Inc 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

              Fish(6) 

132 Mason 
Seafood Co. 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

  .002(4) 7.7   13.7     Oysters 

NOTE: (1)Water quality data taken from Discharge Monitoring Reports or special studies unless indicated. 
(2)NPDES Permit limits given since the permit is new and discharge monitoring reports not yet available. 
(3)Data from Accomack-Northampton Co. Water Quality Management Plan. 
(4)Estimated. 
(5)May need a permit--either company has not responded to SWCB letter or operation has just started up. 
(6)No limits -- has an NPDES permit, but is not required to monitor. 

C. Nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations to restore the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. The following table 
presents nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations for the identified significant dischargers and the total nitrogen and total 
phosphorus waste load allocations for the listed facilities.  

Virginia 
Waterbody ID Discharger Name VPDES Permit 

No. 

Total Nitrogen 
(TN) Waste Load 
Allocation (lbs/yr) 

Total Phosphorus 
(TP) Waste Load 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

C16E Cape Charles Town WWTP (1) VA0021288 6,091 457 

C11E Onancock WWTP (2) VA0021253 9,137 685 

C13E Shore Memorial Hospital VA0027537 1,218 91 

C10E Tangier WWTP VA0067423 1,218 91 

C10R Tyson Foods – Temperanceville VA0004049 22,842 1,142 

  TOTALS:   40,506 2,467 

NOTE: (1) Cape Charles STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 0.5 million gallons per day 
(MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.5 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease 
to TN = 3,046 lbs/yr; TP = 228 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 0.25 MGD. 

(2) Onancock STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 0.75 million gallons per day (MGD). If 
plant is not certified to operate at 0.75 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease to TN = 
3,046 lbs/yr; TP = 228 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 0.25 MGD. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1955; Filed May 15, 2009, 12:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-110. Regulations for the 
Immunization of School Children (amending 12VAC5-
110-10, 12VAC5-110-20, 12VAC5-110-30, 12VAC5-110-
70, 12VAC5-110-80, 12VAC5-110-90, 12VAC5-110-100, 
12VAC5-110-130). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-271.2, 32.1-12, and 32.1-46 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: James Farrell, Director, Division of 
Immunization, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8055, or email 
james.farrell@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 22.1-271.2 and 32.1-46 of the Code of 
Virginia authorize the State Board of Health to promulgate 
regulations relating to immunization requirements for school 
children. 

Purpose: Regulations are necessary to ensure children are 
protected to the extent possible from vaccine-preventable 
diseases and to indirectly protect the health of Virginians. 
Legislation enacted by the 2006 Virginia General Assembly 
requires the regulations to be updated to reflect current 
immunization recommendations and also added two new 
required vaccines. Legislation enacted by the 2007 Virginia 
General Assembly added an additional new vaccine 
requirement. The regulations must be amended to bring them 
into conformance with the new legislation as well as with 
current immunization recommendations. 

Substance: Amendments to the current regulations will (i) 
update and clarify definitions; (ii) update childhood 
immunizations required for attendance at Virginia schools 
and day cares to include additional required vaccines and 
reflect current recommended immunization practices; (iii) add 
requirements for demonstrating existing immunity to 
varicella; and (iv) update responsibilities of admitting 
officials. 

Issues: The proposed regulations will ensure that children are 
protected to the extent possible from vaccine-preventable 
diseases and will indirectly protect the health of all citizens of 
Virginia. Disadvantages may include increased costs 
associated with providing additional required vaccines. 
Additional time may be needed for parents to obtain and 
providers to document required vaccines. 

The Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Health (Board) proposes to amend its 
regulations governing the immunization of school children to 
incorporate immunization requirements enacted by the 
legislature in 2006 and 2007 and to reflect changes in the 
current immunization schedule recommended by the 
American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Academy 
of Family Physicians (this is also required by statute).  The 
Board also proposes to add registered nurses to the list of 
entities that can administer immunizations and can provide 
certification that required vaccines would be detrimental to a 
child’s health. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 
accurately gauge whether benefits will outweigh costs for this 
proposed regulatory action.  Benefits and costs are discussed 
below. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, parents must make 
sure that their children have received a specified number of 
immunizations for specified diseases before they are enrolled 
in school (and continue receiving specified immunizations as 
a condition for staying enrolled).  Alternately, parents may 
present a Certificate of Religious Exemption (CRE), 
certification from a physician or local health department that 
the required vaccines would be detrimental to their child’s 
health or, for rubeola and rubella, proof that the child already 
has antibodies and would not, therefore need to be vaccinated. 

The current regulatory vaccination schedule requires: 

•   Three doses of Diphtheria and Tetanus toxiods and 
Pertussis vaccine (DPT) before the child is seven years old; 
One of these doses must be administered after the child is 
four years old, 

•   A minimum of three doses of the polio vaccine, one of 
which must be administered after a child is four years old, 

•   Two doses of live Rubeola (measles) vaccine, one 
administered at age 12 months or older and one administered 
prior to entering kindergarten (this requirement is clarified in 
the proposed regulations and will have the second dose 
administered between the ages of four and six), 

•   A minimum of one dose of Rubella (German measles) 
vaccine administered at age 12 months or older, 

•   A minimum of one dose of mumps vaccine administered at 
12 months of age or older, 

•   A maximum of four doses of Haemophilus Influenza type 
b (Hib) vaccine on an approved schedule that is “appropriate 
to the age of  child and the age at which the immunization 
series was initiated” and  

•   A minimum of three doses of the Hepatitis B vaccine. 
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According to current regulatory text, a physician or his 
designee or a local Departments of Health can attest to the 
administration of immunizations (or attest that a child would 
be harmed by same). 

The Board proposes to update this regulatory vaccination 
schedule to reflect changes in statutory requirements and 
changes in the current immunization schedule recommended 
by the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American 
Academy of Family Physicians.  The Board proposes to list 
the three component parts of the DPT vaccine separately and 
add the requirement that a booster of each must be given prior 
to a child’s enrollment in sixth grade, provided that at least 
five years had passed since the child’s last dose of each.  
Even though these components will be listed separately in 
these regulations, they are normally combined into one shot 
for the purposes of childhood immunization. The proposed 
regulations include a required second dose of the mumps 
vaccine, to be administered between the ages of four and six, 
and an addition to the requirements for the Hepatitis B 
vaccine that allows children between the ages of 11 and 15 to 
only take two (rather than three) doses of this vaccine so long 
as they are taking the newly approved RECOMBIVAX HB 
produced by Merck.   

The proposed regulations also include recently (in the last two 
years) passed legislative requirements that children born on or 
after January 1, 1997 receive two doses of the Varicella 
(chickenpox) vaccine, one dose on or after the age of 12 
months and one dose between the ages of four and six, that all 
children under the age of 24 months receive a maximum of 
four doses of Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV) to 
protect against pneumonia and that girls must have three 
doses of the Human Papillomavirus (HPV), the first of which 
must be administered before admittance to sixth grade. 
Because HPV is not a disease that is communicable in a 
school setting and because requiring this vaccine is not 
without controversy, parents (guardians) may choose not to 
allow the HPV vaccine to be give to their daughters (charges). 
These parents (guardians) must review materials describing 
the link between certain HPV strains and cervical cancer prior 
to deciding whether to allow the vaccine to be given but do 
not have to sign a waiver. 

The proposed regulations also includes chickenpox among 
the diseases for which a child does not need the vaccine if he 
already has antibodies and clarifies by explicitly listing 
registered nurses as individuals empowered to give vaccines 
or to certify, when necessary, that vaccines cannot be given 
because they would be harmful to a child. 

Requiring a booster of each of the components of the DPT 
vaccine before a child enters sixth grade currently entails 
either an extra visit to the child’s doctor (either completely 
paid for by the parent or with the cost split between the parent 
and their insurance company) or a visit to a local Department 
of Health where the vaccine will be given at no fee to the 

parent but where the parent may spend many hours waiting 
for the shot to be given.  Parents who choose to allow their 
daughters to receive the HPV vaccine would likely choose to 
have this vaccine given at the same time as the DPT booster 
and, so, could lower the per shot cost (of time or money or 
both). Parents who do not choose to allow their daughters to 
receive the HPV virus will incur the cost of time spent 
reading Board approved materials about the link between 
HPV and cervical cancer.  

Parents who will be immunizing infants and toddlers with the 
PCV vaccine, and parents whose children will be required to 
be vaccinated against chickenpox, will likely be able to have 
these vaccines administered with other required vaccines at 
normal well child visits. Any costs for parents for the PCV 
and chickenpox vaccines will likely be limited to any out of 
pocket costs for the vaccine doses themselves (this would 
likely only be an issue for parents paying all costs themselves 
since most insurance plans cover vaccines in the copay cost 
of well child visits).   

The requirement for an additional dose of mumps vaccine and 
the allowance for a two dose course of Hepatitis B vaccine 
will likely not raise the total cost (in time or money) of 
immunization for parents who are having their children 
immunized on the recommended schedule because the 
recommended schedule already includes two doses of the 
combined measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine and 
because parents are unlikely to choose the two dose Hepatitis 
B vaccine unless they receive some benefit over the normal 
three dose course.  

The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) reports that the 
state will incur extra costs for vaccines paid for by the state, 
and administered through local Departments of Health, and 
that local Departments of Health will likely lose revenue 
(costs for office visit and administration of vaccine) that they 
have received from parents paying for the optional second 
dose of chickenpox vaccine. The state has budgeted $1.4 
million per year to cover the cost of the HPV vaccine and 
$280,110 per year to cover the (local Department of Health) 
cost of requiring the DPT booster before sixth grade. Local 
Departments of Health currently charge approximately $30 
per child for administering a second chickenpox 
immunization; the state already pays for the actual vaccine 
doses. 

To the extent that the new immunization schedule lowers the 
incidence of the diseases covered by the required vaccines, 
the public will benefit from fewer costs for illness (misery, 
permanent injury or death for the sick children, costs for 
medication to ameliorate symptoms and lost wages for 
parents) and, for diseases that are easily spread in a school 
setting, greater herd immunity. Any extra benefit from the 
changes to required immunizations have to be weighed 
against the not insignificant increases in costs to the state, to 
parents and to insurance companies.  
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Businesses and Entities Affected. VDH reports that these 
proposed regulations will affect parents and their children, all 
public and private health care providers who administer 
covered vaccines as well as school staff who must verify that 
children are in compliance with the required vaccine 
schedule.  These proposed regulations will also likely affect 
insurance companies that cover required vaccinations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. All local Departments of 
Health will likely lose revenue (costs for office visit and 
administration of vaccine) that they have received from 
parents paying for the optional second dose of chickenpox 
vaccine. Local Departments of Health currently charge 
approximately $30 per child for administering a second 
chickenpox immunization; the state pays for the actual 
vaccine doses. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget Economic Impact Analysis: Virginia Department of 
Health concurs substantially with the economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 
on this proposed regulation. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) incorporate immunization 
requirements enacted by the legislature in 2006 and 2007, 
(ii) reflect changes in the current immunization schedule 
recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics and 
the American Academy of Family Physicians, and (iii) add 
registered nurses to the list of entities that can administer 
immunizations and can provide certification that required 
vaccines would be detrimental to a child’s health. 

Part I  
Definitions  

12VAC5-110-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Adequate immunization" means the immunization 
requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70.  

"Admit" or "admission" means the official enrollment or 
reenrollment for attendance at any grade level, whether full-
time or part-time, of any student by any school.  

"Admitting official" means the school principal or his 
designated representative if a public school; if a nonpublic 
school or child care center, the principal, headmaster or 
director of the school or center.  

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Compliance" means the completion of the immunization 
requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70.  

"Conditional enrollment" means the enrollment of a student 
for a period of 90 days contingent upon the student having 
received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines and 
the student possessing a plan, from a physician or local health 
department, for completing his immunization requirements 
within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the student requires 
more than two doses of Hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional 
enrollment period shall be 180 calendar days. 

"Documentary proof" means an appropriately completed 
copy of Form MCH 213B and the temporary certification 
form for Haemophilus influenzae type b disease where 
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applicable, Form MCH 213C or a computer generated 
facsimile of Form 213C 213F signed by a physician or his 
designee, registered nurse, or an official of a local health 
department. The MCH 213C SUPPLEMENT A copy of the 
immunization record signed or stamped by a physician or his 
designee, registered nurse, or an official of a local health 
department indicating the dates of administration including 
month, day, and year of the required vaccines, shall be 
acceptable in lieu of recording these dates on Form MCH 
213C 213F, as long as the supplement record is attached to 
Form MCH 213C 213F and the remainder of Form MCH 
213C 213F has been appropriately completed. For a new 
student transferring from an out-of-state school, any 
immunization record, which contains the exact date 
(month/day/year) of administration of each of the required 
doses of vaccines when indicated, is signed by a physician of 
his designee or registered nurse, and complies fully with the 
requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70 shall be 
acceptable.  

"Immunization" means the administration of a product 
licensed by the FDA to confer protection against one or more 
specific pathogens.  

"Immunization schedule" means the schedule developed and 
published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
(CDC), the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices 
(ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the 
American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). 

"Physician" means any person licensed to practice medicine 
in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia.  

"School" means:  

1. Any public school from kindergarten through grade 12 
operated under the authority of any locality within this 
Commonwealth;  

2. Any private or parochial religious school that offers 
instruction at any level or grade from kindergarten through 
grade 12;  

3. Any private or parochial religious nursery school or 
preschool, or any private or parochial religious child care 
center required to be licensed by this Commonwealth; and  

4. Any preschool handicapped classes or Head Start classes 
operated by the school divisions within this 
Commonwealth.  

"Student" means any person less than 20 years of age who 
seeks admission to any Virginia school, or for whom 
admission to any Virginia school is sought by a parent or 
guardian who seeks admission to a school, or for whom 
admission to a school is sought by a parent or guardian, and 
who will not have attained the age of 20 years by the start of 
the school term for which admission is sought. 

"Twelve months of age" means the 365th day following the 
date of birth. For the purpose of evaluating records, vaccines 
administered up to four days prior to the first birthday (361 
days following the date of birth) will be considered valid. 

Part II  
General Information 

12VAC5-110-20. Purpose. 

This chapter is designed to ensure that all students attending 
any public, private or parochial school and all attendees of 
licensed child care centers in the Commonwealth, are 
adequately immunized and protected against diphtheria, 
pertussis, tetanus, poliomyelitis, rubeola, rubella, mumps, 
haemophilus influenzae type b, and hepatitis B, varicella, 
pneumococcal, and human papillomavirus disease as 
appropriate for the age of the student. 

12VAC5-110-30. Administration. 

A. The Board of Health has the responsibility for 
promulgating regulations pertaining to the implementation of 
the school immunization law and standards of immunization 
by which a child attending a any school or child care center 
may be judged to be adequately immunized. 

B. The State Health Commissioner is the executive officer 
for the State Board of Health with the authority of the board 
when it is not in session, subject to the rules and regulations 
of the board. 

C. The local health director is responsible for providing 
assistance in implementing this chapter to the school 
divisions in his jurisdiction and for providing immunizations 
to children determined not to be adequately immunized, who 
present themselves to the local health department for 
immunization. 

D. The school principals of public schools and the 
principals, headmasters and directors of nonpublic schools 
and child care centers shall require each student attending 
their institutions to provide documentary proof of 
immunization against the diseases listed in 12VAC5-110-70.  

Part III  
Immunization Requirements  

12VAC5-110-70. Immunization requirements. 

Every new student and every child attending a licensed child 
care center enrolling in a school shall provide documentary 
proof of adequate immunization with the prescribed number 
of doses of each of the vaccines and toxoids listed in the 
following subdivisions, as appropriate for his age according 
to the immunization schedule. Spacing, minimum ages, and 
minimum intervals shall be in accordance with the 
immunization schedule. A copy of every student's 
immunization record shall be on file in his school record. 
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1. Diphtheria and Tetanus Toxoids and Pertussis Vaccine 
(DTP). For students less than seven years of age, a 
minimum of three doses of DTP,with one dose 
administered after the student's fourth birthday. If any of 
these three doses must be administered on or after the 
seventh birthday, Td (adult tetanus toxoid full dose and 
diphtheria toxoid reduced dose) should be used instead of 
DTP.  

1. Diphtheria Toxoid. A minimum of four or more properly 
spaced doses of diphtheria toxoid. One dose shall be 
administered on or after the fourth birthday. A booster dose 
shall be administered prior to entering the sixth grade if at 
least five years have passed since the last dose of 
diphtheria toxoid. 

2. Tetanus Toxoid. A minimum of four or more properly 
spaced doses of tetanus toxoid. One dose shall be 
administered on or after the fourth birthday. A booster dose 
shall be administered prior to entering the sixth grade if at 
least five years have passed since the last dose of tetanus 
toxoid. 

3. Acellular Pertussis Vaccine. A minimum of four or more 
properly spaced doses of acellular pertussis vaccine. One 
dose shall be administered on or after the fourth birthday. 
A booster dose shall be administered prior to entering the 
sixth grade if at least five years have passed since the last 
dose of pertussis vaccine. 

2. 4. Poliomyelitis Vaccine. A minimum of three doses of 
all trivalent oral poliomyelitis vaccine (OPV) or all 
inactivated polio vaccine (IPV), with one dose 
administered after the fourth birthday or three doses of 
enhanced-potency inactivated poliomyelitis vaccine (IPV), 
with one dose administered after the fourth birthday when 
OPV is contraindicated. 

3. 5. Measles (Rubeola) Vaccine. For students enrolling in 
kindergarten or first grade on and after July 1, 1991, one 
One dose of live measles vaccine administered at age 12 
months or older, and a second dose administered at four to 
six years of age or prior to entering kindergarten or first 
grade, whichever occurs first. The two doses must be 
administered at least one month apart. Students entering 
sixth grade on and after July 1, 1992, shall also have 
received two doses of live measles vaccine, with the first 
dose administered at age 12 months or older and the 
second dose at least one month after the first dose. All 
other students shall have received at least one dose of live 
measles vaccine. Any measles immunization received after 
1968 should be considered to have been administered using 
a live virus vaccine. 

4. German Measles (Rubella) 6. Rubella Vaccine. A 
minimum of one dose of rubella virus vaccine administered 
at age 12 months or older.  

5. 7. Mumps Vaccine. A minimum of one One dose of 
mumps virus vaccine administered at age 12 months or 
older and a second dose administered at four to six years of 
age or prior to entering kindergarten. The requirement for 
mumps vaccine shall not apply to any child admitted for 
the first time to any grade level, kindergarten through 
grade 12 of a school prior to August 1, 1981.  

6. 8. Haemophilus Influenzae Type b (Hib) Vaccine. A 
complete series of Hib vaccine i.e., up to a maximum of 
four doses of vaccine as appropriate for the age of the child 
and the age at which the immunization series was initiated. 
The number of doses administered shall be in accordance 
with current immunization schedule recommendations of 
either the American Academy of Pediatrics or those of the 
U.S. Public Health Service. Attestation by the physician or 
his designee, registered nurse, or an official of a local 
health department on the temporary form documenting 
immunizations against Hib, that portion of Form MCH 
213C 213F pertaining to Hib vaccine, a computer 
generated facsimile of MCH 213C, or on the MCH 213C 
Supplement as defined in 12VAC5-110-10 under 
"documentary proof" shall mean that the child has satisfied 
the requirements of this section. This section shall not 
apply to children older than 30 60 months of age or for 
admission to any grade level, kindergarten through grade 
12.  

The dosage schedule for Hib vaccine varies with the 
manufacturer. The number of doses of vaccine required is 
also governed by the age at which immunization is 
initiated. Hence the reason why the requirements for Hib 
vaccine are prescribed in a manner different from those for 
the other vaccines.  

7. 9. Hepatitis B Vaccine. A minimum of three doses of 
hepatitis B vaccine for all children born on or after January 
1, 1994. The FDA has approved a two-dose schedule only 
for adolescents 11 through 15 years of age and only when 
the Merck brand (RECOMBIVAX HB) Adult Formulation 
Hepatitis B vaccine is used. The two RECOMBIVAX HB 
adult doses must be separated by a minimum of four 
months. The two dose schedule using the adult formulation 
must be clearly documented in the Hepatitis B section on 
Form MCH 213F.  

10. Varicella (Chickenpox) Vaccine. All susceptible 
children born on and after January 1, 1997, shall be 
required to have one dose of chickenpox vaccine on or 
after 12 months of age and a second dose administered at 
four to six years of age or prior to entering kindergarten. 

11. Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV). A complete 
series of PCV, i.e., up to a maximum of four doses of 
vaccine as appropriate for the age of the child and the age 
at which the immunization series was initiated. The 
number of doses administered shall be in accordance with 
current immunization schedule recommendations. 
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Attestation by the physician or his designee, registered 
nurse, or an official of a local health department on that 
portion of Form MCH 213F pertaining to PCV vaccine 
shall mean that the child has satisfied the requirements of 
this section. This section shall not apply to children older 
than 24 months of age. 

12. Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Vaccine. Three doses of 
properly spaced HPV vaccine for females, effective 
October 1, 2008. The first dose shall be administered 
before the child enters the sixth grade. 

12VAC5-110-80. Exemptions from immunization 
requirements. 

A. Religious and medical exemptions. No certificate of 
immunization shall be required of any student for admission 
to school if:  

1. The student or his parent or guardian submits a 
Certificate of Religious Exemption (Form CRE 1), to the 
admitting official of the school to which the student is 
seeking admission. Form CRE 1 is an affidavit stating that 
the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with the 
student's religious tenets or practices. For a student 
enrolled before July 1, 1983, any document present in the 
student's permanent school record claiming religious 
exemption shall be acceptable, The form is available on the 
Division of Immunization website at 
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov//Epidemiology/Immunization/
requirements.htm; or  

2. The school has written certification on any either of the 
documents specified under "documentary proof" in 
12VAC5-110-10 from a physician, registered nurse, or a 
local health department that one or more of the required 
immunizations may be detrimental to the student's health. 
Such certification of medical exemption shall specify the 
nature and probable duration of the medical condition or 
circumstance that contraindicates immunization. For a 
student enrolled before July 1, 1983, any document 
attesting to the fact that one or more of the required 
immunizations may be detrimental to the student's health 
shall be acceptable.  

3. Upon the identification of an outbreak, potential 
epidemic, or epidemic of a vaccine-preventable disease in 
a public or private school, the commissioner has the 
authority to require the exclusion from such school of all 
children who are not immunized against that disease. 

B. Demonstration of existing immunity. The demonstration 
in a student of antibodies against either rubeola or, rubella, or 
varicella in sufficient quantity to ensure protection of that 
student against that disease, shall render that student exempt 
from the immunization requirements contained in 12VAC5-
110-70 for the disease in question. Such protection should be 
demonstrated by means of a serological testing method 
appropriate for measuring protective antibodies against 

rubeola or, rubella, or varicella respectively. Reliable history 
of chickenpox disease diagnosed or verified by a health care 
provider shall render students exempt from varicella 
requirements. 

C. HPV vaccine. Because the human papillomavirus is not 
communicable in a school setting, a parent or guardian, at the 
parent's or guardian's sole discretion, may elect for the 
parent's or guardian's child not to receive the HPV vaccine, 
after having reviewed materials describing the link between 
the human papillomavirus and cervical cancer approved for 
such use by the board. 

Part IV  
Procedures and Responsibilities  

12VAC5-110-90. Responsibilities of admitting officials. 

A. Procedures for determining the immunization status of 
students. Each admitting official or his designee shall review, 
before the first day of each school year, the school medical 
record of every new student seeking admission to his school, 
and that of every student enrolling in grade six for 
compliance with the measles vaccine requirements prescribed 
in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of 12VAC5-110-70 3. Such review 
shall determine into which one of the following categories 
each student falls:  

1. Students whose immunizations are adequately 
documented and complete in conformance with 12VAC5-
110-70. Students with documentation of existing immunity 
to measles, rubella, or varicella as defined in 12VAC5-
110-80 B shall be considered to be adequately immunized 
for such disease.  

2. Students who are exempt from the immunization 
requirements of 12VAC5-110-70 because of medical 
contraindications or religious beliefs provided for by 
12VAC5-110-80.  

3. Students whose immunizations are inadequate according 
to the requirements of 12VAC5-110-70.  

4. Students without any documentation of having been 
adequately immunized.  

B. Notification of deficiencies. Upon identification of the 
students described in subdivisions A 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-
110-90 A this section, the admitting official shall notify the 
student or his parent or guardian of the student: 

1. That there is no, or insufficient, documentary proof of 
adequate immunization in the student's school records.  

2. That the student cannot be admitted to school unless he 
has documentary proof that he is exempted from 
immunization requirements pursuant to 12VAC5-110-70. 

3. That the student may be immunized and receive 
certification by a licensed physician, registered nurse, or an 
official of a local health department. 
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4. How to contact the local health department to receive 
the necessary immunizations. 

C. Conditional enrollment. Any student whose 
immunizations are incomplete may be admitted conditionally 
if that student provides documentary proof at the time of 
enrollment of having received at least one dose of the 
required immunizations accompanied by a schedule for 
completion of the required doses within 90 calendar days, 
during which time that student shall complete the 
immunizations required under 12VAC5-110-70. The 
following table contains a suggested plan for ensuring the 
completion of these requirements within the 90 day 
conditional enrollment period. If the student requires more 
than two doses of Hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional 
enrollment period shall be 180 calendar days. If a student is a 
homeless child or youth and does not have documentary 
proof of necessary immunizations or has incomplete 
immunizations and is not exempted from immunization as 
described in 12VAC5-110-80, the school administrator shall 
immediately admit such student and shall immediately refer 
the student to the local school division liaison, who shall 
assist in obtaining the documentary proof of, or completing, 
immunizations. The admitting official should examine the 
records of any conditionally enrolled student at regular 
intervals to ensure that such a student remains on schedule 
with his plan of completion. 

A SUGGESTED PLAN FOR ENSURING COMPLIANCE 

TIME ACTION STEP 

Day 0 Conditional enrollment period starts. If 
student has not received first dose(s) of 
required vaccines, exclude student. 

Day 1 to Day 
42 

Student should have received second 
dose(s) of required vaccines. 

Day 43 to Day 
88 

Student should have received third 
dose(s) of required vaccines. 

Day 89 and 
Day 90 

Confirm that immunizations are 
completed; exclude children not in 
compliance. 

D. Exclusion. The admitting official shall, at the end of the 
conditional enrollment period, exclude any student who is not 
in compliance with the immunization requirements under 
12VAC5-110-70 and who has not been granted an exemption 
under 12VAC5-110-80 until that student provides 
documentary proof that his immunization schedule has been 
completed, unless documentary proof, that a medical 
contraindication developed during the conditional enrollment 
period, is submitted. 

E. Transfer of records. The admitting official of every 
school shall be responsible for sending a student's 
immunization records or a copy thereof, along with his 
permanent academic or scholastic records, to the admitting 

official of the school to which a student is transferring within 
30 days of his transfer to the new school. 

F. Report of student immunization status. Each admitting 
official shall, within 30 days of the beginning of each school 
year or entrance of a student, or by October 15 of each school 
year, file with the State Health Department through the health 
department for his locality, a report summarizing the 
immunization status of the students in his school. This report 
shall be filed using the web-enabled reporting system or on 
Form SIS 1, the Student Immunization Status Report, and 
shall contain the number of students admitted to that school 
with documentary proof of immunization, the number of 
students who have been admitted with a medical or religious 
exemption and the number of students who have been 
conditionally admitted. The report for students entering the 
sixth grade shall include the number with a booster dose of 
tetanus, diphtheria, or pertussis containing vaccine within the 
last five years. 

G. Each admitting official shall ensure that the parent or 
guardian of a female to be enrolled in the sixth grade receives 
educational materials describing the link between the human 
papillomavirus and cervical cancer. Materials shall be 
approved by the board and provided to the parent or guardian 
prior to the child's enrollment in the sixth grade. 

12VAC5-110-100. Responsibilities of physicians and local 
health departments. 

A. Documentary proof for students immunized in Virginia. 
Every physician, registered nurse, and local health department 
providing immunizations to a child shall provide 
documentary proof, as defined in 12VAC5-110-10, to the 
child or his parent or guardian of all immunizations 
administered. 

B. Documentary proof for out-of-state students. For a 
student transferring from an out-of-state school to a Virginia 
school, the admitting official may accept as documentary 
proof any immunization record for that student which that is 
signed by a physician or nurse and that contains the exact date 
(month/day/year) of administration of each of the required 
doses of vaccines when indicated and which that complies 
fully with the requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-
70. Any immunization record which that does not contain the 
signature of a physician or a nurse and does not contain the 
month/day/year of administration of each of the required 
vaccine doses shall not be accepted by the admitting official 
as documentary proof of adequate immunization with the 
exception of immunization against Hib. Such a student's 
record shall be evaluated by an official of the local health 
department who shall determine if that student is adequately 
immunized in accordance with the provisions of 12VAC5-
110-70. Should the local health department determine that 
such a student is not adequately immunized, that student shall 
be referred to his private physician or local health department 
for any required immunizations. 
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12VAC5-110-130. Responsibility of parent to have a child 
immunized. 

In accordance with § 32.1-46 of the Code of Virginia, "the 
parent, guardian or person standing in loco parentis of each 
child within this Commonwealth shall cause such child to be 
ensure such child is immunized by vaccine against diphtheria, 
tetanus, whooping cough and poliomyelitis and hepatitis B 
before such child attains the age of one year, against 
Haemophilus influenzae type b before he attains the age of 30 
months, and against measles (rubeola), German measles 
(rubella) and mumps before such child attains the age of two 
years. All children shall also be required to receive a second 
dose of measles (rubeola) vaccine in accordance with the 
regulations of the board. The board's regulations shall require 
that all children receive a second dose of measles (rubeola) 
vaccine prior to first entering kindergarten or first grade and 
that all children who have not yet received a second dose of 
measles (rubeola) vaccine receive such second dose prior to 
entering the sixth grade." in accordance with the 
immunization schedule.  

The parent or guardian of a child who is home instructed 
shall ensure such child is immunized in accordance with 
§ 22.1-271.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Penalties for noncompliance shall be in accordance with 
§ 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (12VAC5-110) 

Certificate of Religious Exemption, CRE 1 (Eff. CRE-1, 
Rev. 00/92 (eff. 7/83). 

School Entrance Physical Examination and Immunization 
Certification, MCH-213C (Rev. 10/91) MCH 213F (rev. 
04/07). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC5-110) 

2009 Recommended Immunization Schedule for Persons 
Aged 0 through 6 Years, U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services. 

2009 Recommended Immunization Schedule for Persons 
Aged 7 through 18 Years, U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1339; Filed May 15, 2009, 1:05 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-612. Regulations to 
Implement the Onsite Sewage Indemnification Fund 
(adding 12VAC5-612-10 through 12VAC5-612-100). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-164.1:01 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Allen Knapp, Environmental Health 
Coordinator, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7458, FAX (804) 
864-7476, or email allen.knapp@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-164.1:01 of the Code of Virginia gives 
the Board of Health authority to adopt regulations and 
administer Virginia’s onsite sewage indemnification fund 
program. The Code of Virginia states that the Board of Health 
"may promulgate regulations pursuant to the Administrative 
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) for the administration of the 
fund consistent with this chapter." The authority is 
discretionary. 

Purpose: The VDH proposes regulations to administer the 
fund. The regulation is essential because implementing the 
code through policy has led to uncertain outcomes, 
inconsistent results, and lengthy decision processes. The 
regulations will encourage owners to repair failing systems as 
quickly as possible. 

The goals of the regulations are to provide notice of the fund, 
establish the application for reimbursement from the fund, 
and establish the procedure for investigating and processing 
requests for assistance. 

Substance: The regulations will require all provisions and 
mandates in § 32.1-164.1:01 of the Code of Virginia. The 
regulations will require owners to submit complete 
applications within one year of the date of first failure. The 
regulations will specify the requirements for a complete 
application, which will include the actual cost of 
reimbursement. In cases of demonstrated financial hardship, 
the regulations will provide an opportunity for partial 
reimbursement before the complete system is actually 
installed.  Before receiving payment, an owner must sign a 
release and hold harmless agreement. The regulations will 
include requirements for decisions and how owners may 
challenge decisions. The regulations will also state that the 
commissioner may assist owners whose sewage systems fail 
within three years of construction from private party error. 

Issues: The public’s primary advantage is getting a clear and 
simple application to seek reimbursement. The public will 
also have a clearly outlined evaluation process for 
considering reimbursement requests. Owners can anticipate 
consistent and fair outcomes with the regulations. In cases of 
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financial hardship, the public will have opportunity for 
reimbursement before the failing system is repaired. Because 
the regulation reimburses qualified owners, has financial 
hardship allowances, and provides an appeal process for 
unwanted outcomes, the agency does not foresee a 
disadvantage to the public, private citizens, or businesses.  

The primary advantage to the agency is getting an established 
process with public input. An established process by 
regulation will assure that decisions are fair and consistent 
with the mandates of the Code of Virginia. The agency does 
not foresee any disadvantage with the regulations. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. Per 
Virginia Code § 32.1-164.1:01, the Onsite Sewage 
Indemnification Fund’s purpose is to assist any Virginia real 
property owner holding a valid permit to operate an onsite 
sewage system when such system or components thereof fail 
within three years of construction and such failure results 
from the negligence of the Department of Health 
(Department). Currently, the fund is administered in 
accordance with a guidance document issued by the 
Department. This document establishes the application 
procedure for property owners to apply for assistance from 
the fund and establishes the procedure for investigating and 
processing requests for assistance from the fund. 
Additionally, it specifies what information must be included 
and which actions the owner must take in order to file a 
complete application for assistance from the fund. 

The Board of Health (Board) proposes to incorporate the 
provisions of the guidance document into new regulations. 
 Also, the proposed regulations would add a new provision 
which allows individuals who demonstrate a financial 
inability to repair the onsite sewage system to receive 
financial assistance before the onsite sewage system is 
repaired. Individuals who have the financial ability to repair 
the onsite sewage system must apply for assistance in the 
form of a reimbursement after the repairs are complete. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Establishing the procedures and 
rules within the guidance document in regulation will be 
beneficial in that the public will have a clearly outlined and 
consistent evaluation process for considering reimbursement 
requests.  Since guidance documents do not have the same 
binding legal authority as regulations, according to the 
Department property owners seeking assistance from the 
Fund have, in some cases, endured a long, unpredictable 
review process.  Specifically, cases with similar facts have 
had different outcomes depending on the individual members 
of the Sewage Handling and Disposal Appeal Review 
Board’s willingness to adhere to the procedures and rules 

within the guidance document that did not carry the force of 
law. The Department expects that there will be more 
consistency and less delay with the procedures and rules in 
regulation. 

The proposed new provision which allows individuals who 
demonstrate a financial inability to repair the onsite sewage 
system to receive financial assistance before the onsite 
sewage system is repaired will clearly be beneficial for such 
individuals without producing significant costs.  Thus a net 
benefit will be created. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect Virginia real property owners with an onsite sewage 
system that fails within three years of its construction date 
and who believe the failure is due to the negligence of the 
Department. The Department estimates that there are 24 to 30 
such cases per year. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal to allow individuals who demonstrate a financial 
inability to repair the onsite sewage system to receive 
financial assistance before the onsite sewage system is 
repaired will likely speed and perhaps increase the frequency 
that such sewage systems are repaired. This will increase the 
value of associated properties. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposals do 
not adversely affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposals do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 
unlikely to significantly affect real estate development. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
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reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis submitted by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The regulations administer § 32.1-164.1:01 of the Code 
of Virginia, which creates the Onsite Sewage 
Indemnification Fund. The fund reimburses Virginia real 
property owners whose onsite sewage systems fail within 
three years of construction from the negligence of the 
Virginia Department of Health (VDH).  In order to 
receive assistance, the commissioner must find that the 
Virginia real property owner:  

1. Meets the statutory requirements specified in the Code 
of Virginia (i.e., valid permit, failure of onsite sewage 
system within three years from installation, negligent 
actions by VDH caused failure);  

2. Submits a complete application within one year of the 
date of failure;  

3. Follows the requirements to repair or replace the 
failed system; and  

4. Executes a release of claims against the 
Commonwealth related to the failed system. 

If the commissioner finds that the onsite sewage system 
failed within three years from faulty construction or 
other private party error, then the commissioner may 
assist the owner in seeking redress from the system’s 
builder or other private party. 

CHAPTER 612  
REGULATIONS FOR THE ONSITE SEWAGE 

INDEMNIFICATION FUND  

12VAC5-612-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to: 

1. Provide notice of and administer the Onsite Sewage 
Indemnification Fund (hereinafter, the fund) as established 
by § 32.1-164.1:01 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Establish the application for Virginia real property 
owners to use for reimbursement from the fund. 

3. Establish the procedure for investigating, processing, 
and evaluating requests for assistance from the fund. 

12VAC5-612-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"An onsite sewage system that has been permitted by the 
Department of Health" means that the Department of Health 
issued an operation permit in accordance with the Sewage 
Handling and Disposal Regulations, 12VAC5-610, or its 
successor.  

"Appeal Review Board" means the Sewage Handling and 
Disposal Appeal Review Board as established by § 32.1-
166.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Health, 
Virginia Department of Health. 

"Date of first failure" means the date that a Virginia real 
property owner submits a repair application to the local health 
department or the date that a local health department sends a 
notice to the owner that acknowledges that an apparent failure 
exists, whichever occurs first.  

 "Date of system construction" means the date that the local 
health department inspected and approved the onsite sewage 
system's construction or the date that the contractor or person 
who installed the onsite sewage system certifies that the 
onsite sewage system was installed properly (as evidenced by 
a completion statement), whichever occurs first.  The date of 
construction is not the date that the local health department 
issued a permit to operate the sewage system.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Division" means the Division of Onsite Sewage and Water 
Services, Virginia Department of Health. 

"Holding a valid permit to operate an onsite sewage system" 
means that the Virginia real property owner received a valid 
operation permit for the onsite sewage system that failed.  

"Onsite sewage system" means a treatment works approved 
in accordance with the Sewage Handling and Disposal 
Regulations, 12VAC5-610, or its successor. 

"Onsite sewage system failure" means an onsite sewage 
system is not operating in a normal or usual manner as 
defined by the Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations, 
12VAC5-610, or its successor. 

"Onsite sewage system component failure" means that a part 
or discreet element of the onsite sewage system is not 
operating in a normal or usual manner, which, when 
corrected, repaired, or replaced, will return the system to 
normal function.  
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"Specific actions of the department were negligent and that 
those actions caused the failure" means (i) the department had 
a duty to perform, (ii) the department breached or failed to 
perform the duty, (iii) the breach of duty or failure to perform 
the duty proximately caused the actual damage or injury, and 
(iv) the owner incurred damage or injury. 

12VAC5-612-30. Applicability. 

This regulation applies to construction permits issued and 
approved in accordance with the Sewage Handling and 
Disposal Regulations (12VAC5-610), or its successor.  The 
department will look to the Sewage Handling and Disposal 
Regulations to resolve any technical issue associated with a 
request for reimbursement from the fund,  

12VAC5-612-40. Complete application. 

A. To file a request for reimbursement, the Virginia real 
property owner must submit a complete application within 
one year of the date that the system or components thereof 
failed. The request must be sent by certified mail in a form 
approved by the division. If the owner was under a disability 
at the time the cause of action accrued, the tolling provisions 
of § 8.01-229 of the Code of Virginia will apply. In any 
action contesting the filing of the request for payment, the 
burden of proof will be on the Virginia real property owner to 
establish mailing and receipt.  

B. A complete application shall contain all information 
required by the division, including, but not limited to the 
following: 

1. The owner's name, current address, telephone numbers, 
and property identification; 

2. The property address where the sewage system failed; 

3. The date the contractor installed the sewage system; 

4. The date the health department approved the sewage 
system (issued an operation permit); 

5. The date the Virginia real property owner filed an 
application to repair the failed system with the local health 
department; 

6. The date the Virginia real property owner received a 
notice from the local health department indicating that the 
sewage system had apparently or actually failed; 

7. The date(s) the Virginia real property owner made or 
hired a contractor to make repairs to the failed sewage 
system; 

8. A description of the repairs made, the date for each 
repair, and the itemized cost for repairs on each date; and 

9. The Virginia real property owner's signature. 

C. The Virginia real property owner must attach a copy of 
receipts, invoices, bills of sale, and canceled checks to 
substantiate the costs incurred to repair the failed sewage 

system.  The division may request original receipts, invoices, 
or canceled checks. The commissioner may withhold 
reimbursement to the Virginia real property owner pending 
submission of the original receipts, invoices, or canceled 
checks. 

D. Except as provided in 12VAC5-612-50, the 
commissioner will not act on an incomplete application. A 
complete application means that the onsite sewage system or 
components thereof that failed have been repaired or replaced 
in accordance with the Board of Health's applicable 
regulations.  

E. By completing the application, the Virginia real property 
owner provides consent for the Virginia Department of 
Health, the division, the local health department, or other 
experts deemed necessary by the division to enter onto the 
property during normal business hours and to perform all 
tests and analysis deemed necessary to evaluate the request 
for assistance. 

12VAC5-612-50. Financial hardship. 

For situations where an application is incomplete because 
the Virginia real property owner cannot afford or does not 
have the financial ability to install the repair system or 
components thereof to comply with the Board of Health's 
regulations, then the commissioner may consider the 
incomplete application, subject to the following conditions: 

1. The owner must substantiate and verify that he does not 
have the financial means to install the repair or 
components thereof. Acceptable verification of financial 
status may include, but is not limited to, the following: pay 
stubs, federal tax returns, written statements from 
employers, social security or retirement awards, 
unemployment compensation, child or spousal support 
from nondependant household members, or a bank loan 
denial letter. 

a. For Virginia real property owners whose adjusted 
gross income is below 250% of the federal poverty 
guidelines as published each year in the Federal Register, 
the commissioner may review the incomplete 
application. 

b. For owners whose adjusted gross income is 250% or 
greater than the federal poverty guidelines as published 
each year in the Federal Register, the commissioner may 
review the incomplete application when the Virginia real 
property owner has been denied a loan.  The bank loan 
denial letter must cite that the Virginia real property 
owner cannot qualify for a personal loan, a home equity 
line of credit loan, or any other loan offered by the bank 
for the amount needed to repair the onsite sewage system 
or components thereof. 

2. The Virginia real property owner must submit three 
estimates from properly licensed contractors based on the 
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repair permit issued by the local health department to 
install the repair system or components thereof. The 
commissioner may consider fewer estimates if requested 
by the Virginia real property owner and a sufficient reason 
is provided as to why three estimates cannot be obtained. 

12VAC5-612-60. Informal fact-finding conference. 

A. Following submission of a complete application, a 
Virginia real property owner may request an informal fact-
finding conference in accordance with the Administrative 
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia to 
assist the division in gathering facts for an application to the 
fund. 

B. A verbatim record of the informal fact-finding conference 
is not required. Any party may request a verbatim record and 
the requesting party is responsible for making a verbatim 
record. When a verbatim record is made at the 
commissioner's direction, it shall constitute the official record 
of the proceedings. The commissioner shall review the facts 
presented and render a case decision based upon those facts. 

12VAC5-612-70. Decision. 

A.  The division will evaluate complete applications and 
provide a recommendation to the commissioner.  Upon the 
commissioner's finding that (i) the onsite sewage system or 
components thereof failed within three years of construction; 
(ii) specific actions of the department were negligent and that 
those actions caused the failure; and (iii) the owner filed a 
request for payment from the fund within one year from the 
date the system or components thereof failed, then the 
commissioner will reimburse the Virginia real property owner 
for the reasonable cost of following the Board of Health's 
regulations to repair or replace the failed onsite sewage 
system or components thereof and subject to the limitations 
and conditions in this chapter and § 32.1-164.1:01 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

B. If the commissioner finds that (i) the Virginia real 
property owner's onsite sewage system was permitted by the 
department, (ii) the system failed within three years of 
construction, and (iii) the failure resulted from faulty 
construction or other private party error (the department's 
negligence, if any, did not cause the sewage system to fail), 
then the commissioner may assist the owner of the failed 
system in seeking redress from the system's builder or other 
private party. The assistance will be limited to providing 
expert services and information.  

12VAC5-612-80. Release and hold harmless agreement. 

Reimbursement from the fund is conditioned upon the 
Virginia real property owner completing a release and hold 
harmless agreement as required by the division and in a form 
approved by the division. The Virginia real property owner 
must release and hold harmless the Commonwealth, its 
political subdivisions, agencies and instrumentalities, and any 

officer or employee of the Commonwealth in connection with 
or arising out of the occurrence complained of. 

12VAC5-612-90. Appeal Review Board. 

A. The Appeal Review Board may review the 
commissioner's decision to reimburse or to deny 
reimbursement under this chapter. To request a review, the 
Virginia real property owner must file a written request for 
review to the Appeal Review Board and in accordance with 
the Appeal Review Board's directives and authority. 

B. In reviewing cases and rendering final administrative 
decisions, the Appeal Review Board is bound by statutes and 
the Board of Health's regulations in the same manner as 
implemented or directed by the department, the 
commissioner, or the local and district health departments. 

C. The Appeal Review Board must cite in its written 
decision whether the appellant proved by a preponderance of 
the evidence that (i) the onsite sewage system or components 
thereof failed within three years of construction; (ii) specific 
actions of the department were negligent and that those 
actions caused the failure; and (iii) the owner filed a request 
for payment from the fund within one year from the date the 
system or components thereof failed. The decision must cite 
the date of construction, the date of first failure, and the date 
that the owner filed a request for payment from the fund. The 
decision must explain the specific actions of the department 
that were or were not negligent and how those actions did or 
did not cause the failure. 

D. The Appeal Review Board may provide the Virginia real 
property owner and the department an opportunity to 
reconsider its written decision. Any party requesting a 
rehearing of the Appeal Review Board's decision must file a 
written request for rehearing to the secretary to the Appeal 
Review Board within 14 calendar days of the Appeal Review 
Board's decision. The request for rehearing must explain why 
it is requested and necessary. Upon such request, the Appeal 
Review Board may, at its own discretion, schedule a 
rehearing to reconsider or clarify its decision. The Appeal 
Review Board must notify the department and the Virginia 
real property owner within 14 calendar days of the request 
whether a rehearing will be granted or whether a new 
decision will be made. If the Appeal Review Board grants a 
rehearing of the case decision, then the prior case decision 
will be vacated. 

E. In accordance with § 32.1-166.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
the Appeal Review Board shall render the final administrative 
decision, which may be appealed by a named party to the 
appropriate circuit court in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 
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12VAC5-612-100. Prohibitions and limitations. 

A. A Virginia real property owner cannot be reimbursed for 
both the cost of the failed system and the cost for repairs or 
components thereof. If the costs to repair the system or 
components thereof are less than the cost of the failed system, 
only the costs to repair the system or components thereof can 
be reimbursed.  

B. If the cost to repair the system or components thereof 
exceeds the cost of the failed system, only those costs that are 
directly attributed to labor (which includes design) and 
equipment (which includes materials) will be reimbursed.  

C. Virginia real property owners will not be reimbursed for 
consequential damages in accordance with § 32.1-164.1:01 E 
of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Installing or modifying a sewage system without a valid 
construction or repair permit automatically voids any 
application for assistance from the fund. Any Virginia real 
property owner who did not possess a valid operation permit 
for the onsite sewage system's installation or who operated 
the onsite sewage system without a valid permit will not be 
entitled to assistance from the fund. 

E. In issuing a construction permit pursuant to § 32.1-163.5 
of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Health will not 
assume liability for actions and decisions made by private 
parties. 

F. The fund will not reimburse any Virginia real property 
owner more than $30,000 for an onsite sewage system failure 
or component thereof. 

G. In the event the fund is insufficient to meet requests for 
payment, the creation of the fund shall not be construed to 
provide liability on the part of the department or any of its 
personnel where no such liability existed prior to July 1, 
1994. 

H. Before payment or assistance is disbursed, the Virginia 
real property owner must: 

1. Submit an application to repair the sewage system or 
components thereof to the local health department in the 
city, county, or town where the property is located. 

2. Receive a repair permit from the local health 
department. 

3. Complete the requirements in the repair permit and 
receive an operation permit unless exempted by 12VAC5-
612-50. 

4. Sign the required release and hold harmless agreement. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 

regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (12VAC5-612) 

Release and Hold Harmless Agreement, IF (eff. XX/XX).  

Application for Indemnification, IF 2 (eff. XX/XX). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1337; Filed May 19, 2009, 12:45 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES  

Fast-Track Regulation  
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 
Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-210). 

12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions and Requirements 
(amending 12VAC30-40-10). 

12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected 
Services (amending 12VAC30-130-750, 12VAC30-130-
790; repealing 12VAC30-130-780). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of DMAS to administer and amend the Plan for 
Medical Assistance according to the board's requirements. 
The Medicaid authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC §1396a) provides governing 
authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: In 1990 in an effort to achieve Medicaid cost 
savings, Congress added § 1906 to the Social Security Act, to 
provide for the mandatory enrollment of Medicaid eligibles in 
cost effective group health plans as a condition of Medicaid 
eligibility.  States were required to pay premiums, 
deductibles, and coinsurance on behalf of Medicaid 
beneficiaries eligible for enrollment in employer-based group 
health plans when it was determined cost effective to do so.  
Thus the Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) 
program was born. However, as a result of low enrollments 
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and difficulties encountered by states with implementing the 
requirements, § 4741 of the Balanced Budget Act (BBA) of 
1997 amended §§ 1902(a)(25) and 1906(a)(1) of the Act 
making this provision optional, effective August 5, 1997. 

The purpose of this regulatory change is to amend current 
Medicaid regulations to remove the requirement for 
enrollment in an employer-based group health plan, if such 
plan is available to the individual and is cost effective, as a 
condition of Medicaid eligibility. DMAS believes that the 
proposed amendment of current regulations contributes to 
preserving the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 
process is being utilized to promulgate this change in 
regulatory language as it is expected to be a noncontroversial 
amendment to existing regulations. The result of the change 
would relieve the current administrative burden to obtain and 
process HIPP applications placed on Medicaid applicants, 
employers, DSS eligibility staff, and HIPP unit staff that do 
not result in increased cost savings to the state. Additionally, 
the workload decrease for application processing would likely 
result in the program being more cost effective as a result of 
lower administrative costs. Reducing the administrative time 
required by this regulation would immediately increase the 
time available for HIPP and DSS eligibility staff to complete 
existing application processing requirements and reduce or 
eliminate the potential for increasing staff as a result of 
increased workloads. 

Substance: The current HIPP regulations require as a 
condition of Medicaid eligibility that a Medicaid applicant or 
enrollee who has access to employer group health insurance 
must complete a HIPP application and enroll the Medicaid 
eligible household members in the employer's health 
insurance if it is determined to be cost effective. Cost 
effective means that it is likely to cost the state less to pay the 
employee's share of the health insurance premium and any 
cost-sharing items for the Medicaid eligible household 
members, than it would cost otherwise under Medicaid. 

All applicants or enrollees must complete a HIPP application 
when a member of the household is working 30 hours or 
more a week and has access to employer-sponsored health 
insurance.  In addition to the HIPP application form, an 
Employer Insurance Verification must be completed by the 
employer. The HIPP application forms are forwarded to 
DMAS HIPP unit staff to determine program eligibility, 
perform a cost effectiveness evaluation, and enroll in the 
HIPP program if eligible. 

The current mandatory requirement for HIPP is 
administratively burdensome, time consuming, and inefficient 
for the Department of Social Services (DSS) eligibility staff, 
the DMAS HIPP unit staff, the Medicaid applicant/enrollee 
and employer. A significant amount of administrative time is 
expended to obtain and process HIPP applications as a result 

of this mandatory requirement. Seventy percent of these HIPP 
applications received by DMAS result in a denial, primarily 
because the Medicaid application does not coincide with the 
employer’s health insurance open enrollment period.  As a 
result DMAS loses much of the savings this program is 
projected to achieve. Changing the HIPP program to an 
optional program will result in a reduction of wasted 
administrative efforts on behalf of applicants, employers, 
DSS eligibility staff, and DMAS HIPP unit staff. Individuals 
will still be able to apply for the HIPP program on a voluntary 
basis.  As a voluntary program, the number of applications 
would decrease to only those cases where the Medicaid 
eligible child is enrolled in the employer health plan or is 
being added to the plan during the open enrollment period. 
Cost savings to the state will continue for those Medicaid 
applicants/enrollees who desire to participate requiring less 
administrative effort while reducing the efforts currently 
expended with requiring everyone to apply even if they are 
not able to currently enroll in the health plan. 

With the change to make the HIPP program optional, 
recipient eligibility should be expanded to include any 
Medicaid eligible family member covered under the 
employer's health insurance regardless of whether they reside 
in the same household. Currently as a mandatory requirement, 
all household members residing in the same household who 
were eligible for coverage under the group health plan and 
eligible for Medicaid are eligible for consideration for HIPP. 
Medicaid enrollees who do not reside in the same household 
as the family member who had access to employer health 
insurance are not eligible to participate in HIPP.  With the 
proposed change to expand recipient eligibility, if a family 
member moved out of the household, eligibility for HIPP 
participation could continue. 

Nearly 20% of the current enrollees are disabled adults, who 
are eligible to continue health insurance coverage on their 
parent's health plan as a result of meeting certain disability 
criteria. Currently, if the disabled adult elects to move out of 
the household, they would no longer remain eligible for 
enrollment in the HIPP program. The premise of the HIPP 
program is to enroll Medicaid eligible family members in an 
employer's group health plan when it is cost effective to do 
so. Whether a family member lives in the same household as 
the policy holder has no bearing on whether the employer 
health insurance plan is cost effective. Therefore, this 
regulation makes a change to permit an adult disabled child 
who remains eligible under a parent's health insurance plan 
after they turn 18 to remain eligible for HIPP even if they 
move out of their parent's home into their own residence or a 
group home setting.  Individuals would be able to continue 
medical care with existing providers who have in many cases 
provided care throughout the individual's lifetime. For 
children in situations where parents separate or divorce and 
leave the household, the child would be able to continue care 
under current medical providers. If the employer health 
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insurance is dropped, the child would most likely be enrolled 
in a Medicaid Managed Care Organization with new medical 
provider. Medical continuity of care would be lost. 

This regulation change has little impact on the HIPP program 
and would clarify current regulations regarding eligibility 
requirements and improve program operations. The change 
would provide greater stability and retention in employer's 
health insurance coverage. The regulation changes in 
12VAC30-130-750, Time frames for determining cost 
effectiveness, and 12VAC30-130-790, Information required 
of applicants and recipients, is a clarification of existing 
policy. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth in this regulation. The advantage is to 
applicants and employers who would no longer be required to 
complete HIPP forms unnecessarily; eligibility and HIPP unit 
staff would not be burdened with obtaining and processing 
applications in which a majority were denied because the 
Medicaid eligible household member was not enrolled or 
could not enroll in the employer’s health plan. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed regulations will make the currently mandatory 
participation in the Health Insurance Premium Payment 
program optional and extend the eligibility for participation to 
the family members who are not living in the same household 
but have coverage under the same group health plan. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the participation in 
the Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) program is 
mandatory and a condition of Medicaid eligibility. All 
Medicaid applicants who have access to employer-sponsored 
health insurance are required to apply, and if found cost 
effective, are required to enroll in the HIPP program. Under 
HIPP, Medicaid pays for employee’s share of the health 
insurance premium and any other cost sharing fees. The 
proposed regulations will make the currently mandatory 
participation in HIPP optional. 

According to the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS), current regulations necessitate that all eligible HIPP 
applicants are considered while only a fraction is approved 
rendering the administration of the program costly. Based on 
Fiscal Year 2007 data, a total of 2,308 applications were 
received, 702 were approved, and 1,606 were denied. 
According to the same data, more than one half of the denials 
occurred when either the employee had employee-only 
coverage or it was not open-enrollment period. The proposed 
optional enrollment feature is expected to provide some 
administrative cost savings to Medicaid, to the participant, 
and to the employers. 

Another proposed change will no longer require that the 
family members must be living in the same household for 
eligibility to participate in the program. Over the years, 
DMAS discovered that there are certain situations where a 
family member may be covered under the same group plan 
but may not be necessarily living within the same household. 
For example, a mentally ill adult sibling may be cared for in a 
non-household setting but may be covered under parent’s 
group insurance. Thus, the proposed change is expected to 
make the HIPP program accessible to those individuals if 
they choose to participate. The main effect of additional 
participation would be increased savings. 

However, it is worth noting that if the HIPP program is 
optional, there may not be any appealing reason for an 
applicant to apply for participation. Thus, the proposed 
optional enrollment feature is expected to result in very low 
enrollment levels. Given the fixed costs associated with 
keeping any program operational, it may be worthwhile for 
DMAS to evaluate the cost effectiveness of the HIPP 
program as an optional program. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
will no longer mandate the application for enrollment in the 
HIPP program. In fiscal year 2007, approximately 2,300 
applications were received.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 
are expected to reduce administrative costs and therefore 
demand for administrative labor. However, the reduced 
administrative savings may be directed to other areas. Thus, 
the net effect of the proposed changes on employment is 
uncertain. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulations are not expected to have a significant 
effect on the use and value of private property. However, 
reduced administrative costs on employers may contribute to 
their business’ asset values. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most of the 
employers that may be affected are probably small 
businesses. The proposed regulations would reduce 
administrative costs on employers by no longer mandating 
application for enrollment in the HIPP program. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations are not expected to 
result in adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 
not expected to have any effect on real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
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Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency has 
reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations 
concerning HIPP Program Modifications (12VAC30-40-10, 
General conditions of eligibility; 12VAC30-20-210 State 
method on cost effectiveness of employer-based group health 
plans under § 1902(a)(25) and 1906(a)(1) of the Act; 
12VAC30-130-750, Time frames for determining cost 
effectiveness; 12VAC 30-130-790, Information required of 
applicants and recipients). The agency raises no issues with 
this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the Health Insurance Premium 
Payment (HIPP) program change the participation 
requirement from a mandatory requirement and a 
condition of Medicaid eligibility, to an optional program. 
In 1997 the federal statute governing HIPP, 42 USC § 
1396e, was amended to make the program optional. The 
mandatory requirement is inefficient, administratively 
time consuming and does not result in additional cost 
savings to the state. The amendments expand the 
eligibility requirement to allow family members who are 
not living in the same household but who have coverage 
under the group health plan to participate in HIPP. 

12VAC30-20-210. State method on cost effectiveness of 
employer-based group health plans. 

1. A. Definitions. The following words and terms, when 
used in these regulations, shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Case" means all persons who are living in the same 
household family members who are eligible for coverage 
under the group health plan and who are eligible for 
Medicaid. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Cost effective" and "cost effectiveness" mean the reduction 
in Title XIX expenditures, which are likely to be greater than 
the additional expenditures for premiums and cost-sharing 
items required under § 1906 of the Social Security Act (the 
Act), with respect to such enrollment. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 
Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia, Chapter 10, Title 32.1, 
§§ 32.1-323 et seq.  

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services consistent 
with Chapter 1 (§ 63.2-100 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code 
of Virginia, Chapter 1, Title 63.1, § 63.1-1.1 et seq.  

"Family member" means individuals who are related by 
blood, marriage, or adoption. 

"Group health plan" means a plan which meets § 5000(b)(1) 
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, and includes 
continuation coverage pursuant to Title XXII of the Public 
Health Service Act, § 4980B of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, or Title VI of the Employee Retirement Income 
Security Act of 1974. Section 5000(b)(1) of the Internal 
Revenue Code provides that a group health plan is any a plan, 
including a self-insured plan, of, or contributed to by, an 
employer (including a self-insured plan) person) or employee 
association to provide health care (directly or otherwise) to 
the employer's employees, former employees, or the families 
of such employees or former employees, or the employer. 

"HIPP" means the Health Insurance Premium Payment 
Program administered by DMAS consistent with § 1906 of 
the Act.  

"Premium" means that portion of the cost for the group 
health plan which is the responsibility of the person carrying 
the group health plan policy.  

"Premium assistance" means the portion that DMAS will 
pay of the family's cost of participating in an employer's 
health plan to cover the Medicaid eligible members under the 
employer-sponsored plan if DMAS determines it is cost 
effective to do so. 

"Recipient" means a person who is eligible for Medicaid, as 
determined by the Department of Social Services.  

2. B. Program Purpose purpose. The purpose of the HIPP 
Program shall be to:  

A. To identify cases in which enrollment of a recipient in 
1. Enroll recipients who have an available group health 
plan that is likely to be cost effective;  
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B. To require that recipients in those cases enroll in the 
available group health plan as a condition of Medicaid 
eligibility;  

C. To provide 2. Provide for payment of the premiums and 
other cost-sharing obligations for items and services 
otherwise covered under the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance (the Plan); and  

D. To treat 3. Treat coverage under such group health plan 
as a third party liability consistent with § 1906 of the Act.  

3. C. Recipient Eligibility eligibility. All persons who are 
living in the same household family members who are 
eligible for coverage under the group health plan and who are 
eligible for Medicaid shall be eligible for consideration for 
HIPP, except those identified below. The agency will 
consider recipients in § 3 A through § 3 D this subsection for 
consideration for HIPP when extraordinary circumstances 
indicate the group health plan might be cost effective.  

A. 1. The recipient is Medicaid eligible due to "spend-
down";  

B. 2. The recipient is only retroactively eligible for 
Medicaid;  

C. 3. The recipient is in a nursing home or has a deduction 
from patient pay responsibility to cover the insurance 
premium; or  

D. 4. The recipient is eligible for Medicare Part B, but is 
not enrolled in Part B.  

4. Condition of Medicaid eligibility. When DMAS 
determines that a group health plan is likely to be cost 
effective based on the DMAS established methodology, DSS 
or DMAS shall require recipients to enroll in that group 
health plan as a condition of Medicaid eligibility. Non-
compliance creates ineligibility for Medicaid until the 
recipient demonstrates a willingness to comply.  

A. Cooperation required. The recipient shall, as a condition 
of Medicaid eligibility, obtain the required information on 
the group health plans available to the recipient, shall 
provide this information to DSS or DMAS, and shall apply 
for enrollment in the group health plan, as directed by DSS 
or DMAS unless good cause for failure to cooperate has 
been established or unless the recipient is unable to enroll 
on his own behalf. Once the good cause circumstances no 
longer exist, the recipient shall be required to comply.  

B. Non-cooperation of parent or spouse. When a parent or 
spouse fails to provide DSS or DMAS with the required 
information necessary to determine availability of a group 
health plan, fails to enroll in the group health plan that 
DMAS has determined to be cost effective, as directed by 
DMAS, or disenrolls from a group health plan that DMAS 
has determined to be cost effective, eligibility for Medicaid 

benefits for the recipient child or recipient spouse shall not 
be affected.  

C. Application required. If the recipient is not already 
enrolled in a group health plan at the time the cost 
effectiveness determination is made, the recipient may not 
be able to enroll in such group health plan until a later date 
(such as an open enrollment period). The recipient shall 
provide to DSS or DMAS a completed application for 
enrollment in the group health plan which DMAS has 
determined to be cost effective as proof of cooperation 
within 30 days of receipt of such request from DSS or 
DMAS. The recipient shall, as a condition of Medicaid 
eligibility, enroll in the group health plan at the earliest 
date in which enrollment is possible, unless good cause for 
failure to cooperate has been established or unless the 
recipient is unable to enroll on his own behalf.  

D. Non-compliance. If a recipient refuses to obtain the 
required information on group health plans available to the 
recipient or refuses to provide such information to DSS or 
DMAS or does not enroll in the group health plan which 
DMAS has determined to be cost effective, as directed by 
DMAS, or refuses to provide DSS or DMAS a completed 
application for enrollment in the group health plan within 
the deadline given, the recipient shall lose eligibility for 
Medicaid. Medicaid eligibility shall end after appropriate 
written notice is given to the recipient as required by 42 
CFR 431.211. This ineligibility shall remain effective until 
the recipient demonstrates willingness to enroll in the 
group health plan.  

E. Disenrollment. If a recipient disenrolls from a group 
health plan which DMAS has determined to be cost 
effective, or fails to pay the premium to maintain the group 
health plan, the recipient shall lose eligibility for Medicaid. 
Medicaid eligibility shall end after appropriate written 
notice is given to the recipient as required by 42 CFR 
431.211. This ineligibility shall remain effective until the 
recipient demonstrates willingness to enroll in the group 
health plan.  

F. Multiple group health plans. When more than one group 
health plan is available to the recipient, the recipient shall, 
as a condition of Medicaid eligibility, enroll in one of the 
group health plans which DMAS has determined to be cost 
effective, as directed by DSS or DMAS unless good cause 
for failure to cooperate has been established or unless the 
recipient is unable to enroll on his own behalf or unless 
DMAS has determined that none of the available group 
health plan would be cost effective.  

G. All of the requirements pertaining to recipients also 
apply to parents, spouses, and persons who are acting on 
behalf of recipients.  

D. Application required. A completed HIPP application 
must be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for eligibility 
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and cost effectiveness. The HIPP application consists of 
the forms prescribed by DMAS and any necessary 
information as required by the program to evaluate 
eligibility and perform a cost-effectiveness evaluation. 

5. E. Payments. When DMAS determines that a group health 
plan is likely to be cost effective based on the DMAS 
established methodology, DMAS shall provide for the 
payment of premiums and other cost-sharing obligations for 
items and services otherwise covered under the Plan, except 
for the nominal cost sharing amounts permitted under § 1916.  

A. 1. Effective date of premiums. Payment of premiums 
shall become effective on the first day of the month 
following the month in which DMAS makes the cost 
effectiveness determination or the first day of the month in 
which the group health plan coverage becomes effective, 
whichever is later. Payments shall be made to either the 
employer, the insurance company or to the individual who 
is carrying the group health plan coverage.  

B. 2. Termination date of premiums. Payment of premiums 
shall end:  

1. a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 
Medicaid ends;  

2. b. The last day of the month in which the recipient 
loses eligibility for coverage in the group health plan, or  

3. c. The last day of the month in which adequate notice 
has been given (consistent with federal requirements) 
that DMAS has redetermined that the group health plan 
is no longer cost effective, whichever comes later.  

C. 3. Non-Medicaid eligible family members. Payment of 
premiums for non-Medicaid eligible family members shall 
may be made when their enrollment in the group health 
plan is required in order for the recipient to obtain the 
group health plan coverage. Such payments shall be treated 
as payments for Medicaid benefits for the recipient. No 
payments for deductibles, coinsurances and other cost-
sharing obligations for non-Medicaid eligible family 
members shall be made by DMAS.  

D. 4. Evidence of Enrollment Required enrollment 
required. A person to whom DMAS is paying the group 
health plan premium shall, as a condition of receiving such 
payment, provide to DSS or DMAS, upon request, written 
evidence of the payment of the group health plan premium 
for the group health plan which DMAS determined to be 
cost effective.  

6. F. Guidelines for determining cost effectiveness.  

A. 1. Enrollment limitations. DMAS shall take into 
account that a recipient may only be eligible to enroll in 
the group health plan at limited times and only if other 
non-Medicaid eligible family members are also enrolled in 
the plan simultaneously.  

B. 2. Plans provided at no cost. Group health plans for 
which there is no premium to the person carrying the 
policy shall be considered to be cost effective.  

C. 3. Non-Medicaid eligible family members. When non-
Medicaid eligible family members must enroll in a group 
health plan in order for the recipient to be enrolled, DMAS 
shall consider only the premiums of non-Medicaid eligible 
family members in determining the cost effectiveness of 
the group health plan.  

D. 4. [Reserved.]  

E. 4. DMAS shall make the cost effectiveness 
determination based on the following methodology:  

1. a. Recipient and group health plan information. DMAS 
shall obtain demographic information on each recipient 
in the case, including, but not limited to: federal program 
designation, age, sex, geographic location. DMAS [or 
DSS] shall obtain specific information on all group 
health plans available to the recipients in the case, 
including, but not limited to:, the effective date of 
coverage, the services covered by the plan, the exclusions 
to the plan, and the amount of the premium.  

2. b. Average estimated Medicaid expenditures. DMAS 
shall estimate the average Medicaid expenditures for a 12 
month 12-month period for each recipient in the case 
based on the expenditures for persons similar to the 
recipient in demographic and eligibility characteristics. 
Expenditures shall be adjusted accordingly for inflation 
and scheduled provider reimbursement rate increases. 
Average estimated Medicaid expenditures shall be 
updated periodically.  

3. c. Medicaid expenditures covered by the group health 
plan. DMAS shall compute the percentage of 
expenditures for group health plan services against the 
expenditures for the same Medicaid services and then 
adjust the average estimated Medicaid expenditures by 
this percentage for each recipient in the case. These 
adjusted expenditures shall be added to obtain a total for 
the case.  

4. d. Group health plan allowance. DMAS shall multiply 
an allowance factor by the Medicaid expenditures 
covered by the group health plan to produce the 
estimated group health plan allowance. The allowance 
factor shall be based on a state specific factor, a national 
factor or a group health plan specific factor.  

5. e. Covered expense amount. DMAS shall multiply an 
average group health plan payment rate by the group 
health plan allowance to produce an estimated covered 
expense amount. The average group health plan payment 
rate shall be based on a state specific rate, national rate or 
group health plan specific rate.  
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6. f. Administrative cost. DMAS shall total the 
administrative costs of the HIPP program and estimate an 
average administrative cost per recipient. DMAS shall 
add to the administrative cost any pre-enrollment costs 
required in order for the recipient to enroll in the group 
health plan.  

7. G. Determination of cost effectiveness. DMAS shall 
determine that a group health plan is likely to be cost 
effective if a. subdivision 1 of this subsection is less than b. 
below subdivision 2 of this subsection:  

a. the 1. The difference between the group health plan 
allowance and the covered expense amount, added to the 
premium and the administrative cost; and  

b. the 2. The Medicaid expenditures covered by the group 
health plan.  

8. If a. subdivision 1 of this subsection is not less than b. 
above subdivision 2 of this subsection, DMAS shall adjust 
the amount in b. subdivision 2 of this subsection using past 
medical utilization data on the recipient, provided by the 
Medicaid claims system or by the recipient, to account for 
any higher than average expected Medicaid expenditures. 
DMAS shall determine that a group health plan is likely to 
be cost effective if a. subdivision 1 of this subsection is 
less than b. subdivision 2 of this subsection once this 
adjustment has been made.  

F. 3. Redetermination. DMAS shall redetermine the cost 
effectiveness of the group health plan periodically, not to 
exceed every twelve 12 months. DMAS shall also 
redetermine the cost effectiveness of the group health plan 
whenever there is a change to the recipient and group 
health plan information which that was used in determining 
the cost effectiveness of the group health plan. When only 
part of the household loses Medicaid eligibility, DMAS 
shall redetermine the cost effectiveness to ascertain 
whether payment of the group health plan premiums 
continue to be cost-effective cost effective. 

G. 4. Multiple group health plans. When a recipient is 
eligible for more than one group health plan, DMAS shall 
perform the cost effectiveness determination on the group 
health plan in which the recipient is enrolled. If the 
recipient is not enrolled in a group health plan, DMAS 
shall perform the cost effectiveness determination on each 
group health plan available to the recipient. 

7. H. Third party liability. When recipients are enrolled in 
group health plans, these plans shall become the first sources 
of health care benefits, up to the limits of such plans, prior to 
the availability of Title XIX benefits.  

8. I. Appeal Rights rights. Recipients shall be given the 
opportunity to appeal adverse agency decisions consistent 
with agency regulations for client appeals (12VAC30-110-10 
et seq.) (12VAC30-110). 

9. J. Provider requirements. Providers shall be required to 
accept the greater of the group health plan's reimbursement 
rate or the Medicaid rate as payment in full and shall be 
prohibited from charging the recipient or Medicaid amounts 
that would result in aggregate payments greater than the 
Medicaid rate as required by 42 CFR 447.20.  

10. HIPP Program Phase-in across the Commonwealth. The 
Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program will be 
implemented in phases. The first phase will be implemented 
in certain pilot areas, full statewide implementation will occur 
once the pilot phase is completed. DMAS has the Health Care 
Financing Administration's (HCFA) approval for conducting 
a pilot phase before full statewide implementation. The pilot 
phase of the program will be implemented March 1, 1993.  

Part I  
General Conditions of Eligibility  

12VAC30-40-10. General conditions of eligibility.  

Each individual covered under the plan:  

1. Is financially eligible (using the methods and standards 
described in Parts II and III of this chapter) to receive 
services.  

2. Meets the applicable nonfinancial eligibility conditions.  

a. For the categorically needy:  

(i) Except as specified under items (ii) and (iii) below, 
for AFDC-related individuals, meets the nonfinancial 
eligibility conditions of the AFDC program.  

(ii) For SSI-related individuals, meets the nonfinancial 
criteria of the SSI program or more restrictive SSI-related 
categorically needy criteria.  

(iii) For financially eligible pregnant women, infants or 
children covered under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), and 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX) of the Act, meets the nonfinancial 
criteria of § 1902(l) of the Act.  

(iv) For financially eligible aged and disabled individuals 
covered under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(X) of the Act, meets 
the nonfinancial criteria of § 1902(m) of the Act.  

b. For the medically needy, meets the nonfinancial 
eligibility conditions of 42 CFR 435.  

c. For financially eligible qualified Medicare 
beneficiaries covered under § 1902(a)(10)(E)(i) of the 
Act, meets the nonfinancial criteria of § 1905(p) of the 
Act.  

d. For financially eligible qualified disabled and working 
individuals covered under § 1902(a)(10)(E)(ii) of the 
Act, meets the nonfinancial criteria of § 1905(s).  

3. Is residing in the United States and:  
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a. Is a citizen; or  

b. Is a qualified alien as defined under Public Law 104-
193 who arrived in the United States prior to August 22, 
1996;  

c. Is a qualified alien as defined under Public Law 104-
193 who arrived in the United States on or after August 
22, 1996, and whose coverage is mandated by Public 
Law 104-193;  

d. Is an alien who is not a qualified alien, or who is a 
qualified alien who arrived in the United States on or 
after August 22, 1996, whose coverage is not mandated 
by Public Law 104-193 (coverage must be restricted to 
certain emergency services).  

4. Is a resident of the state, regardless of whether or not the 
individual maintains the residence permanently or 
maintains it a fixed address.  

The state has open agreement(s).  

5. Is not an inmate of a public institution. Public 
institutions do not include medical institutions, nursing 
facilities and intermediate care facilities for the mentally 
retarded, or publicly operated community residences that 
serve no more than 16 residents, or certain child care 
institutions.  

6. Is required, as a condition of eligibility, to assign rights 
to medical support and to payments for medical care from 
any third party, to cooperate in obtaining such support and 
payments, and to cooperate in identifying and providing 
information to assist in pursuing any liable third party. The 
assignment of rights obtained from an applicant or 
recipient is effective only for services that are reimbursed 
by Medicaid. The requirements of 42 CFR 433.146 
through 433.148 are met.  

An applicant or recipient must also cooperate in 
establishing the paternity of any eligible child and in 
obtaining medical support and payments for himself or 
herself and any other person who is eligible for Medicaid 
and on whose behalf the individual can make an 
assignment; except that individuals described in § 
1902(1)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act (pregnant women 
and women in the post-partum period) are exempt from 
these requirements involving paternity and obtaining 
support. Any individual may be exempt from the 
cooperation requirements by demonstrating good cause for 
refusing to cooperate.  

An applicant or recipient must also cooperate in identifying 
any third party who may be liable to pay for care that is 
covered under the state plan and providing information to 
assist in pursuing these third parties. Any individual may 
be exempt from the cooperation requirements by 
demonstrating good cause for refusing to cooperate.  

7. a. Is required, as a condition of eligibility, to furnish his 
social security account number (or numbers, if he has more 
than one number) except for aliens seeking medical 
assistance for the treatment of an emergency medical 
condition under § 1903(v)(2) of the Social Security Act (§ 
1137(f)). 

b. Applicant or recipient is required, under § 1903(x) to 
furnish satisfactory documentary evidence of both 
identity and of U.S. citizenship upon signing the 
declaration of citizenship required by § 1137(d). 
Qualified aliens signing the declaration of satisfactory 
immigration status required by § 1137(d) must also 
present and have verified documents establishing the 
claimed immigration status under § 137(d). Exception: 
Nonqualified aliens seeking medical assistance for the 
treatment of an emergency medical condition under 
§ 1903(v)(2) as described in § 1137(f). 

8. Is not required to apply for AFDC benefits under Title 
IV-A as a condition of applying for, or receiving Medicaid 
if the individual is a pregnant women, infant, or child that 
the state elects to cover under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV) and 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX) of the Act.  

9. Is not required, as an individual child or pregnant 
woman, to meet requirements under § 402(a)(43) of the 
Act to be in certain living arrangements. (Prior to 
terminating AFDC individuals who do not meet such 
requirements under a state's AFDC plan, the agency 
determines if they are otherwise eligible under the state's 
Medicaid plan.)  

10. Is required to apply for enrollment in an employer-
based cost-effective group health plan (as determined by 
the state agency), if such plan is available to the individual. 
Enrollment is a condition of eligibility except for the 
individual who is unable to enroll on his own behalf 
(failure of a parent to enroll a child does not affect a child's 
eligibility).  

11. 10. Is required to apply for coverage under Medicare 
A, B and/or D if it is likely that the individual would meet 
the eligibility criteria for any or all of those programs. The 
state agrees to pay any applicable premiums and cost-
sharing (except those applicable under Part D) for 
individuals required to apply for Medicare. Application for 
Medicare is a condition of eligibility unless the state does 
not pay the Medicare premiums, deductibles or co-
insurance (except those applicable under Part D) for 
persons covered by the Medicaid eligibility group under 
which the individual is applying. 

12. 11. Is required, as a condition of eligibility for 
Medicaid payment of long-term care services, to disclose 
at the time of application for or renewal of Medicaid 
eligibility, a description of any interest the individual or his 
spouse has in an annuity (or similar financial instrument as 
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may be specified by the Secretary of Health and Human 
Services). By virtue of the provision of medical assistance, 
the state shall become a remainder beneficiary for all 
annuities purchased on or after February 8, 2006. 

13. 12. Is ineligible for Medicaid payment of nursing 
facility or other long-term care services if the individual's 
equity interest in his home exceeds $500,000. This dollar 
amount shall be increased beginning with 2011 from year 
to year based on the percentage increase in the Consumer 
Price Index for all Urban Consumers rounded to the 
nearest $1,000. 

This provision shall not apply if the individual's spouse, or 
the individual's child who is under age 21 or who is 
disabled, as defined in § 1614 of the Social Security Act, is 
lawfully residing in the individual's home. 

12VAC30-130-750. Time frames for determining cost 
effectiveness. 

A. The department (DMAS) shall determine cost 
effectiveness of the group health plan eligibility for the 
program and shall provide notice to the recipient within 45 
calendar days from the date the completed Insurance 
Information Request Form is received from DSS of receiving 
an application that contains all information and verifications 
necessary to determine eligibility. 

B. Incomplete applications shall be held for a period of 30 
calendar days to enable applicants to provide outstanding 
information needed for an eligibility determination. Any 
applicant who fails to provide information or verifications 
necessary to determine eligibility within 30 calendar days of 
the receipt of the initial application shall have his application 
denied. 

12VAC30-130-780. Good cause for failure to cooperate. 
(Repealed.) 

Good cause for failure to cooperate shall be established 
when the recipient, parent, spouse, or person acting on behalf 
of the recipient demonstrates one or more of the following 
conditions:  

1. There was a serious illness or death of the parent, spouse 
or a member of the parent's family.  

2. There was a family emergency or household disaster, 
such as fire, flood, or tornado.  

3. The parent or spouse offers a good cause beyond the 
parent's or spouse's control.  

4. There was a failure to receive DMAS' request for 
information or notification for a reason not attributable to 
the parent or spouse. Lack of a forwarding address is 
attributable to the parent or spouse.  

5. The required information on the group health plan could 
not be obtained from the employer.  

6. The recipient demonstrates a medical need for specific 
coverage provided by an available group health plan which 
does not meet the DMAS established cost effectiveness 
criteria. This specific coverage is not provided by 
Medicaid or other group health plans which do meet the 
DMAS established cost effectiveness criteria.  

12VAC30-130-790. Information required of applicants 
and recipients.  

All applicants and recipients shall be required to provide all 
the information contained in the DMAS form Insurance 
Information Request Form required on the prescribed DMAS 
HIPP applications forms and all requested information to 
determine eligibility and cost effectiveness. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1721; Filed May 14, 2009, 3:57 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 c of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary meet the requirements of federal law or 
regulations, provided such regulations do not differ materially 
from those required by federal law or regulation. The 
Department of Medical Assistance Services will receive, 
consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at 
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and 
Agencies Responsible for Eligibility Determination 
(amending 12VAC30-30-10). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Current Medicaid regulations provide that a child born to 
a mother eligible for Medicaid coverage on the date of the 
child's birth is automatically eligible for Medicaid for one 
year as long as certain conditions are met. The conditions 
require that a newborn is only deemed eligible for 
Medicaid coverage through age one as long as he remains 
in the mother's household and the mother remains eligible 
for Medicaid (or would have remained eligible if pregnant 
during the one-year period). The requirement to remain in 
the mother's home and for the mother to otherwise remain 
eligible for Medicaid is problematic as many children 
never go home with their mothers, leading to loss of 
Medicaid coverage for the children. 
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A provision in CHIPRA mandates continuous eligibility for 
newborns through age one regardless of the child's living 
arrangement or the mother's eligibility. The amendment 
removes the requirement for the child to live in the home 
with the mother and the mother to remain eligible for 
Medicaid to ensure that the child will receive ongoing 
Medicaid coverage through his first year of life. 

12VAC30-30-10. Mandatory coverage: Categorically 
needy and other required special groups.  

The Title IV-A agency or the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services Central Processing Unit determines 
eligibility for Title XIX services.  

1. Recipients of AFDC.  

a. The approved state AFDC plan includes:  

(1) Families with an unemployed parent for the 
mandatory six-month period and an optional extension of 
0 months.  

(2) AFDC children age 18 who are full-time students in a 
secondary school or in the equivalent level of vocational 
or technical training.  

b. The standards for AFDC payments are listed in 
12VAC30-40-220.  

2. Deemed recipients of AFDC.  

a. Individuals denied a Title IV-A cash payment solely 
because the amount would be less than $10.  

b. Effective October 1, 1990, participants in a work 
supplementation program under Title IV-A and any child 
or relative of such individual (or other individual living 
in the same household as such individuals) who would be 
eligible for AFDC if there were no work supplementation 
program, in accordance with § 482(e)(6) of the Act.  

c. Individuals whose AFDC payments are reduced to 
zero by reason of recovery of overpayment of AFDC 
funds.  

d. An assistance unit deemed to be receiving AFDC for a 
period of four calendar months because the family 
becomes ineligible for AFDC as a result of collection or 
increased collection of support and meets the 
requirements of § 406(h) of the Act.  

e. Individuals deemed to be receiving AFDC who meet 
the requirements of § 473(b)(1) or (2) for whom an 
adoption of assistance agreement is in effect or foster 
care maintenance payments are being made under Title 
IV-E of the Act.  

3. Effective October 1, 1990, qualified family members 
who would be eligible to receive AFDC under § 407 of the 
Act because the principal wage earner is unemployed.  

4. Families terminated from AFDC solely because of 
earnings, hours of employment, or loss of earned income 
disregards entitled up to 12 months of extended benefits in 
accordance with § 1925 of the Act.  

5. Individuals who are ineligible for AFDC solely because 
of eligibility requirements that are specifically prohibited 
under Medicaid. Included are:  

a. Families denied AFDC solely because of income and 
resources deemed to be available from:  

(1) Stepparents who are not legally liable for support of 
stepchildren under a state law of general applicability;  

(2) Grandparents;  

(3) Legal guardians; and  

(4) Individual alien sponsors (who are not spouses of the 
individual or the individual's parent);  

b. Families denied AFDC solely because of the 
involuntary inclusion of siblings who have income and 
resources of their own in the filing unit.  

c. Families denied AFDC because the family transferred 
a resource without receiving adequate compensation.  

6. Individuals who would be eligible for AFDC except for 
the increases in OASDI benefits under P.L. 92-336 (July 1, 
1972), who were entitled to OASDI in August 1972 and 
who were receiving cash assistance in August 1972.  

a. Includes persons who would have been eligible for 
cash assistance but had not applied in August 1972 (this 
group was included in the state's August 1972 plan).  

b. Includes persons who would have been eligible for 
cash assistance in August 1972 if not in a medical 
institution or intermediate care facility (this group was 
included in this state's August 1972 plan).  

7. Qualified pregnant women and children.  

a. A pregnant woman whose pregnancy has been 
medically verified who:  

(1) Would be eligible for an AFDC cash payment if the 
child had been born and was living with her;  

(2) Is a member of a family that would be eligible for aid 
to families with dependent children of unemployed 
parents if the state had an AFDC-unemployed parents 
program; or  

(3) Would be eligible for an AFDC cash payment on the 
basis of the income and resource requirements of the 
state's approved AFDC plan.  

b. Children born after September 30, 1973 (specify 
optional earlier date), who are under age 19 and who 
would be eligible for an AFDC cash payment on the 
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basis of the income and resource requirements of the 
state's approved AFDC plan.  

12VAC30-40-280 and 12VAC30-40-290 describe the 
more liberal methods of treating income and resources 
under § 1902(r)(2) of the Act.  

8. Pregnant women and infants under one year of age with 
family incomes up to 133% of the federal poverty level 
who are described in §§ 1902(a) (10)(A)(i)(IV) and 
1902(l)(A) and (B) of the Act. The income level for this 
group is specified in 12VAC30-40-220.  

9. Children:  

a. Who have attained one year of age but have not 
attained six years of age, with family incomes at or 
below 133% of the federal poverty levels.  

b. Born after September 30, 1983, who have attained six 
years of age but have not attained 19 years of age, with 
family incomes at or below 100% of the federal poverty 
levels.  

Income levels for these groups are specified in 
12VAC30-40-220.  

10. Individuals other than qualified pregnant women and 
children under subdivision 7 of this section who are 
members of a family that would be receiving AFDC under 
§ 407 of the Act if the state had not exercised the option 
under § 407(b)(2)(B)(i) of the Act to limit the number of 
months for which a family may receive AFDC.  

11. a. A woman who, while pregnant, was eligible for, 
applied for, and receives Medicaid under the approved 
state plan on the day her pregnancy ends. The woman 
continues to be eligible, as though she were pregnant, for 
all pregnancy-related and postpartum medical assistance 
under the plan for a 60-day period (beginning on the last 
day of her pregnancy) and for any remaining days in the 
month in which the 60th day falls.  

b. A pregnant women who would otherwise lose 
eligibility because of an increase in income (of the family 
in which she is a member) during the pregnancy or the 
postpartum period which extends through the end of the 
month in which the 60-day period (beginning on the last 
day of pregnancy) ends.  

12. A child born to a woman who is eligible for and 
receiving Medicaid as categorically needy on the date of 
the child's birth. The child is deemed eligible for one year 
from birth as long as the mother remains eligible or would 
remain eligible if still pregnant and the child remains in the 
same household as the mother.  

13. Aged, blind and disabled individuals receiving cash 
assistance.  

a. Individuals who meet more restrictive requirements for 
Medicaid than the SSI requirements. (This includes 
persons who qualify for benefits under § 1619(a) of the 
Act or who meet the eligibility requirements for SSI 
status under § 1619(b)(1) of the Act and who met the 
state's more restrictive requirements for Medicaid in the 
month before the month they qualified for SSI under § 
1619(a) or met the requirements under § 1619(b)(1) of 
the Act. Medicaid eligibility for these individuals 
continues as long as they continue to meet the § 1619(a) 
eligibility standard or the requirements of § 1619(b) of 
the Act.)  

b. These persons include the aged, the blind, and the 
disabled.  

c. Protected SSI children (pursuant to § 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(II) of the Act) (P.L. 105-33 § 4913). 
Children who meet the pre-welfare reform definition of 
childhood disability who lost their SSI coverage solely as 
a result of the change in the definition of childhood 
disability, and who also meet the more restrictive 
requirements for Medicaid than the SSI requirements.  

d. The more restrictive categorical eligibility criteria are 
described below:  

(1) See 12VAC30-30-40.  

(2) Financial criteria are described in 12VAC30-40-10.  

14. Qualified severely impaired blind and disabled 
individuals under age 65 who:  

a. For the month preceding the first month of eligibility 
under the requirements of § 1905(q)(2) of the Act, 
received SSI, a state supplemental payment under § 1616 
of the Act or under § 212 of P.L. 93-66 or benefits under 
§ 1619(a) of the Act and were eligible for Medicaid; or  

b. For the month of June 1987, were considered to be 
receiving SSI under § 1619(b) of the Act and were 
eligible for Medicaid. These individuals must:  

(1) Continue to meet the criteria for blindness or have the 
disabling physical or mental impairment under which the 
individual was found to be disabled;  

(2) Except for earnings, continue to meet all 
nondisability-related requirements for eligibility for SSI 
benefits;  

(3) Have unearned income in amounts that would not 
cause them to be ineligible for a payment under 
§ 1611(b) of the Act;  

(4) Be seriously inhibited by the lack of Medicaid 
coverage in their ability to continue to work or obtain 
employment; and  

(5) Have earnings that are not sufficient to provide for 
himself or herself a reasonable equivalent of the 
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Medicaid, SSI (including any federally administered 
SSP), or public funded attendant care services that would 
be available if he or she did have such earnings.  

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 
for Medicaid than under SSI and under 42 CFR 435.121. 
Individuals who qualify for benefits under § 1619(a) of the 
Act or individuals described above who meet the eligibility 
requirements for SSI benefits under § 1619(b)(1) of the 
Act and who met the state's more restrictive requirements 
in the month before the month they qualified for SSI under 
§ 1619(a) or met the requirements of § 1619(b)(1) of the 
Act are covered. Eligibility for these individuals continues 
as long as they continue to qualify for benefits under 
§ 1619(a) of the Act or meet the SSI requirements under 
§ 1619(b)(1) of the Act.  

15. Except in states that apply more restrictive 
requirements for Medicaid than under SSI, blind or 
disabled individuals who:  

a. Are at least 18 years of age;  

b. Lose SSI eligibility because they become entitled to 
OASDI child's benefits under § 202(d) of the Act or an 
increase in these benefits based on their disability. 
Medicaid eligibility for these individuals continues for as 
long as they would be eligible for SSI, absence their 
OASDI eligibility.  

c. The state does not apply more restrictive income 
eligibility requirements than those under SSI.  

16. Except in states that apply more restrictive eligibility 
requirements for Medicaid than under SSI, individuals who 
are ineligible for SSI or optional state supplements (if the 
agency provides Medicaid under § 435.230 of the Act), 
because of requirements that do not apply under Title XIX 
of the Act.  

17. Individuals receiving mandatory state supplements.  

18. Individuals who in December 1973 were eligible for 
Medicaid as an essential spouse and who have continued, 
as spouse, to live with and be essential to the well-being of 
a recipient of cash assistance. The recipient with whom the 
essential spouse is living continues to meet the December 
1973 eligibility requirements of the state's approved plan 
for OAA, AB, APTD, or AABD and the spouse continues 
to meet the December 1973 requirements for have his or 
her needs included in computing the cash payment.  

In December 1973, Medicaid coverage of the essential 
spouse was limited to: the aged; the blind; and the 
disabled.  

19. Institutionalized individuals who were eligible for 
Medicaid in December 1973 as inpatients of Title XIX 
medical institutions or residents of Title XIX intermediate 

care facilities, if, for each consecutive month after 
December 1973, they:  

a. Continue to meet the December 1973 Medicaid State 
Plan eligibility requirements;  

b. Remain institutionalized; and  

c. Continue to need institutional care.  

20. Blind and disabled individuals who:  

a. Meet all current requirements for Medicaid eligibility 
except the blindness or disability criteria; and  

b. Were eligible for Medicaid in December 1973 as blind 
or disabled; and  

c. For each consecutive month after December 1973 
continue to meet December 1973 eligibility criteria.  

21. Individuals who would be SSI/SSP eligible except for 
the increase in OASDI benefits under P.L. 92-336 (July 1, 
1972), who were entitled to OASDI in August 1972, and 
who were receiving cash assistance in August 1972.  

This includes persons who would have been eligible for 
cash assistance but had not applied in August 1972 (this 
group was included in this state's August 1972 plan), and 
persons who would have been eligible for cash assistance 
in August 1972 if not in a medical institution or 
intermediate care facility (this group was included in this 
state's August 1972 plan).  

22. Individuals who:  

a. Are receiving OASDI and were receiving SSI/SSP but 
became ineligible for SSI/SSP after April 1977; and  

b. Would still be eligible for SSI or SSP if cost-of-living 
increases in OASDI paid under § 215(i) of the Act 
received after the last month for which the individual was 
eligible for and received SSI/SSP and OASDI, 
concurrently, were deducted from income.  

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 
than those under SSI and the amount of increase that 
caused SSI/SSP ineligibility and subsequent increases are 
deducted when determining the amount of countable 
income for categorically needy eligibility.  

23. Disabled widows and widowers who would be eligible 
for SSI or SSP except for the increase in their OASDI 
benefits as a result of the elimination of the reduction 
factor required by § 134 of P.L. 98-21 and who are 
deemed, for purposes of Title XIX, to be SSI beneficiaries 
or SSP beneficiaries for individuals who would be eligible 
for SSP only, under § 1634(b) of the Act.  

The state does not apply more restrictive income eligibility 
standards than those under SSI.  
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24. Disabled widows, disabled widowers, and disabled 
unmarried divorced spouses who had been married to the 
insured individual for a period of at least 10 years before 
the divorce became effective, who have attained the age of 
50, who are receiving Title II payments, and who because 
of the receipt of Title II income lost eligibility for SSI or 
SSP which they received in the month prior to the month in 
which they began to receive Title II payments, who would 
be eligible for SSI or SSP if the amount of the Title II 
benefit were not counted as income, and who are not 
entitled to Medicare Part A.  

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 
for its blind or disabled than those of the SSI program.  

25. Qualified Medicare beneficiaries:  

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 
Medicare Part A (but not pursuant to an enrollment under 
§ 1818 of the Act);  

b. Whose income does not exceed 100% of the federal 
level; and  

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 
standard under SSI.  

(Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare 
cost sharing as defined in item 3.2 of this plan.)  

26. Qualified disabled and working individuals:  

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 
Medicare Part A under § 1818A of the Act;  

b. Whose income does not exceed 200% of the federal 
poverty level; and  

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 
standard under SSI.  

d. Who are not otherwise eligible for medical assistance 
under Title XIX of the Act.  

(Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare 
Part A premiums under §§ 1818 and 1818A of the Act.)  

27. Specified low-income Medicare beneficiaries:  

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 
Medicare Part A (but not pursuant to an enrollment under 
§ 1818A of the Act);  

b. Whose income for calendar years 1993 and 1994 
exceeds the income level in subdivision 25 b of this 
section, but is less than 110% of the federal poverty 
level, and whose income for calendar years beginning 
1995 is less than 120% of the federal poverty level; and  

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 
standard under SSI.  

(Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare 
Part B premiums under § 1839 of the Act.)  

28. a. Each person to whom SSI benefits by reason of 
disability are not payable for any month solely by reason of 
clause (i) or (v) of § 1611(e)(3)(A) shall be treated, for 
purposes of Title XIX, as receiving SSI benefits for the 
month.  

b. The state applies more restrictive eligibility standards 
than those under SSI.  

Individuals whose eligibility for SSI benefits are based 
solely on disability who are not payable for any months 
solely by reason of clause (i) or (v) of § 1611(e)(3)(A) 
and who continue to meet the more restrictive 
requirements for Medicaid eligibility under the state plan, 
are eligible for Medicaid as categorically needy.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1939; Filed May 18, 2009, 3:47 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 
Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 
12VAC30-50-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia; 42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Catherine Hancock, Project Manager, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-4272, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
catherine.hancock@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of DMAS to administer and amend the Plan for 
Medical Assistance according to the board's requirements. 
The Medicaid authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing 
authority for payments for services. 

Chapter 879 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly (Item 306 OO) 
provides DMAS the authority to implement prior 
authorization and utilization review for community-based 
mental health services for children and adults. 

Purpose: This regulatory action will help protect the health, 
safety and welfare of Medicaid recipients by minimizing 
inappropriate utilization of unnecessary services, thereby 
preserving these important medical services for the recipients 
who truly need them. 

Substance: This action implements new prior authorization 
requirements for intensive in-home services for children and 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3581 

adolescents.  DMAS already has regulations that address 
prior authorization for children’s group home services (Levels 
A & B) and performs utilization review for community-based 
mental health services.  Therefore those aspects of the Item 
306 OO of the 2008 Acts of Assembly are already in 
operation and need not be addressed in this package. 

The particular change implemented in this action is directed 
to 12VAC30-50-130 B 5 a (community mental health 
services).  This subdivision describes intensive in-home 
services to children and adolescents under age 21, which 
includes the following:  crisis treatment; individual and 
family counseling; and communication skills (e.g., counseling 
to assist the child and his parents to understand and practice 
appropriate problem solving, anger management, and 
interpersonal interaction, etc.); case management activities 
and coordination with other required services; and 24-hour 
emergency response.  Intensive in-home services are already 
limited annually to 26 weeks.  In this action DMAS is adding 
the requirement for prior authorization that providers must 
obtain in order for them to be reimbursed for these services. 

Issues: The addition of prior authorization will help ensure 
that services are provided to individuals who meet medical 
necessity criteria.  This will prevent inappropriate utilization 
of the services and preclude expenditures for unnecessary 
services. 

This regulatory action will require providers to request prior 
authorization for this service.  DMAS made efforts to 
minimize the amount of documents required for authorization 
and the frequency for requesting authorization to mitigate the 
impact on providers. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 879, Item 306 OO of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly, the proposed changes implement a prior 
authorization and utilization review program for community-
based mental health services for children and adults. The 
proposed changes have already been implemented under 
emergency regulations since July 2008. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 879, Item 
306 OO of the 2008 Acts of Assembly, the proposed changes 
implement a prior authorization and utilization review 
program for community-based mental health services for 
children and adults.  

According to Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS), the utilization of intensive in-home services has 
increased substantially in recent years and the expenditures 
are expected to increase by 25% in fiscal year 2008. As a 
result, the General Assembly passed legislation to implement 

a prior authorization and utilization review for intensive in-
home services to ensure that the services are provided to 
those who truly need them. 

Under the proposed regulations, after an initial period 
(currently 12 weeks), prior authorization will be required for 
reimbursement.  Prior authorization is a well known cost-
containment mechanism. DMAS estimates that it will cost 
$1.4 million per year in total funds to implement the prior 
authorization program through a contractor. The savings in 
term of reduced expenditures is expected to be about $2.9 
million per year in total funds. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to intensive in-home services. In fiscal year 2007 there 
were 10,316 recipients. Also, there are approximately 279 
providers that may be affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed prior 
authorization program will create additional demand for labor 
to administer the prior authorization program. However, a 
reduction in demand for in-home service providers is also 
expected. The net of the two opposing effects on employment 
is unknown. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulations do not have a direct effect on the use 
and value of private property. However, increased demand for 
administrative services may have a positive effect on the asset 
value of the contracted prior authorization businesses and 
reduced demand for in-home services may have a negative 
effect on the asset value of Medicaid in-home services 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. All of the 279 
affected providers are believed to be small businesses. So, the 
costs and other affects discussed above apply to them. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Given the legislative language, there does 
not seem to be an alternative method that would minimize the 
adverse impact. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 
not anticipated to have an impact on real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
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the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations 
concerning Prior Authorization of Intensive In-Home 
Services (12VAC30-50-130). 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment implements Item 306 OO of 
Chapter 879 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly by requiring 
providers to obtain prior authorization in order to be 
reimbursed for intensive in-home services to children and 
adolescents. This requirement has been in effect since July 
2, 2008, under emergency regulations. 

12VAC30-50-130. Skilled nursing facility services, 
EPSDT, school health services and family planning. 

A. Skilled nursing facility services (other than services in an 
institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 
or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 
the healing arts. 

B. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of individuals 
under 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 
behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are 
Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 
care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 
care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 
services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 
treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 
examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 
provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 
well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 

covered for foster children of the local social services 
departments on specific referral from those departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 
medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 
an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 
shall place appropriate utilization controls upon this 
service. 

4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, diagnostic, 
and treatment services means the following services: 
screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing 
services, and such other necessary health care, diagnostic 
services, treatment, and other measures described in Social 
Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and 
physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by 
the screening services and which are medically necessary, 
whether or not such services are covered under the State 
Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to 
recipients ages 21 and over, provided for by the Act 
§ 1905(a). 

5. Community mental health services. 

a. Intensive in-home services to children and adolescents 
under age 21 shall be time-limited interventions provided 
typically but not solely in the residence of a child who is 
at risk of being moved into an out-of-home placement or 
who is being transitioned to home from out-of-home 
placement due to a documented medical need of the 
child. These services provide crisis treatment; individual 
and family counseling; and communication skills (e.g., 
counseling to assist the child and his parents to 
understand and practice appropriate problem solving, 
anger management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); 
case management activities and coordination with other 
required services; and 24-hour emergency response. 
These services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 
After an initial period, prior authorization is required for 
Medicaid reimbursement. 

b. Therapeutic day treatment shall be provided two or 
more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 
interventions. Day treatment programs, limited annually 
to 780 units, provide evaluation; medication; education 
and management; opportunities to learn and use daily 
living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills 
(e.g., problem solving, anger management, community 
responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate 
peer relations, etc.); and individual, group and family 
psychotherapy. 

c. Community-Based Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level A). 

(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 
services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 
services will provide structure for daily activities, 
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psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision and psychiatric 
treatment to ensure the attainment of therapeutic mental 
health goals as identified in the individual service plan 
(plan of care). Individuals qualifying for this service 
must demonstrate medical necessity for the service 
arising from a condition due to mental, behavioral or 
emotional illness that results in significant functional 
impairments in major life activities in the home, school, 
at work, or in the community. The service must 
reasonably be expected to improve the child's condition 
or prevent regression so that the services will no longer 
be needed. DMAS will reimburse only for services 
provided in facilities or programs with no more than 16 
beds. 

(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 
receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 
provided by a licensed mental health professional. 

(3) Individuals must be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 

(4) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 

(5) Room and board costs are not reimbursed. Facilities 
that only provide independent living services are not 
reimbursed. 

(6) Providers must be licensed by the Department of 
Social Services, Department of Juvenile Justice, or 
Department of Education under the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities (22VAC42-10). 

(7) Psychoeducational programming must include, but is 
not limited to, development or maintenance of daily 
living skills, anger management, social skills, family 
living skills, communication skills, and stress 
management. 

(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 
with other providers. 

d. Therapeutic Behavioral Services (Level B). 

(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 
in a residential setting that provides structure for daily 
activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision and 
psychiatric treatment to ensure the attainment of 
therapeutic mental health goals as identified in the 
individual service plan (plan of care). Individuals 
qualifying for this service must demonstrate medical 
necessity for the service arising from a condition due to 
mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results in 
significant functional impairments in major life activities 
in the home, school, at work, or in the community. The 
service must reasonably be expected to improve the 
child's condition or prevent regression so that the 

services will no longer be needed. DMAS will reimburse 
only for services provided in facilities or programs with 
no more than 16 beds. 

(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 

(3) Room and board costs are not reimbursed. Facilities 
that only provide independent living services are not 
reimbursed. 

(4) Providers must be licensed by the Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse 
Services (DMHMRSAS) under the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities (22VAC42-10). 

(5) Psychoeducational programming must include, but is 
not limited to, development or maintenance of daily 
living skills, anger management, social skills, family 
living skills, communication skills, and stress 
management. This service may be provided in a program 
setting or a community-based group home. 

(6) The child must receive, at least weekly, individual 
psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group psychotherapy 
that is provided as part of the program. 

(7) Individuals must be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 
individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 
stays for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of mental 
health and behavioral disorders identified under EPSDT 
when such services are rendered by: 

a. A psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 
program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 
on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; or a 
psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 
Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 
Services for Families and Children or the Council on 
Quality and Leadership. 

b. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at general 
acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 
hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 
12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-
25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to residential 
treatment facilities shall also be subject to the 
requirements of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of 
this chapter. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 
when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 
42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, as contained in 42 CFR 
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441.151 (a) and (b) and 441.152 through 441.156. Each 
admission must be preauthorized and the treatment must 
meet DMAS requirements for clinical necessity. 

7. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 
than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 
provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice 
of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 
July 1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 
screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 
treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 
and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 
shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 
to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 
enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 
receive screenings from those organizations. School 
divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 
from DMAS for these children. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) and covered 
under one or more of the service categories described in 
§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 
necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 
mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Service providers shall be licensed under the applicable 
state practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the 
Virginia Department of Education, and shall meet 
applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. 
Identification of defects, illnesses or conditions and 
services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall be 
performed by practitioners qualified to make those 
determinations within their licensed scope of practice, 
either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified 
practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Service providers shall be employed by the school 
division or under contract to the school division.  

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 
subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 
under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 
law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 
may also be available in the community from other 
providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 
control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 
described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 
medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 
in accordance with standards of medical practice. 
Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 
providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 
providers to make the medical necessity determination in 
accordance with their scope of practice. The services 
must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for 
individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders, 
performed by, or under the direction of, providers who 
meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This 
coverage includes audiology services; 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 
to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 
Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 
licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 
may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 
accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 
Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 
tasks and procedures. the licensed practical nurse is 
under the supervision of a registered nurse.  

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 
level of complexity and sophistication (based on 
assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation) 
that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 
performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 
practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 
include, but not necessarily be limited to dressing 
changes, maintaining patent airways, medication 
administration/monitoring and urinary catheterizations.  

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 
specifically related to an active, written plan of care 
developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 
order from a physician, physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 
be recertified on an annual basis.  

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 
licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 
defined under state law or regulations and covered as 
physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 
other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 
outpatient services include individual medical 
psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 
and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 
neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 
purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 
admission, evaluation of an individual with mental 
retardation prior to admission to a nursing facility, or any 
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placement issue. These services are covered in the 
nonschool settings also. School providers who may 
render these services when licensed by the state include 
psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, school 
psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 
professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 
specialist, marriage and family therapists, and school 
social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 
subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 
DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 
is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 
develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 
child, which is implemented by the assistant. The 
assistant must have qualifications comparable to those 
for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 
Department of Medical Assistance Services. The 
assistant performs services such as assisting with 
toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve 
as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that 
enables transportation to or from the school or school 
contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 
a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Children 
requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 
adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 
services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 
remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 
these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 
assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 
identify the nature or extent of a child's medical or other 
health related condition.  

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 
431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D. 
Transportation shall be rendered only by school division 
personnel or contractors. Transportation is covered for a 
child who requires transportation on a specially adapted 
school vehicle that enables transportation to or from the 
school or school contracted provider on days when the 
student is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the 
IEP. Transportation shall be listed in the child's IEP. 
Children requiring an aide during transportation on a 
specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.  

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 
reassess the need for medical services in a child's IEP 
and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 
practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 
and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the child 
shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 
that duplication of services will be monitored. School 
divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child is 

receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 
there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication 
of service.  

D. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 
child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 
of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 
services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 
services shall not include services to treat infertility nor 
services to promote fertility. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1328; Filed May 13, 2009, 2:40 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 
and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care (adding 
12VAC30-60-500). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Suzanne Gore, Policy & Research Division, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-1609, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
suzanne.gore@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments establish a voluntary alternative benefit 
package (known as the Healthy ReturnsSM program) that 
combines traditional Medicaid services with 
comprehensive disease management (DM) services. 
Previous emergency regulations provided that (i) both 
adults and children in fee-for-service who are determined 
to have asthma and diabetes could participate in this 
program and (ii) individuals 21 years and older having 
coronary artery disease (CAD), congestive heart failure 
(CHF), and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease 
(COPD) were eligible for the Healthy ReturnsSM program. 
The substantive change to the regulation drops the age 
limit of 21 years for CHF, CAD, and COPD to age 18 
years and older. 

Changes are made to the proposed regulation clarifying 
that designated disease management program 
administrators may also perform disease management 
services. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
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12VAC30-60-500. Disease management services. 

A. The Commonwealth elects to provide secretary-approved 
coverage as appropriate for the population served under § 
1937 of the Social Security Act (the Act). Virginia's disease 
management program is designed to help patients better 
understand and manage their condition or conditions through 
prevention, education, lifestyle changes, and adherence to 
their physician-prescribed plans of care (POC). The purpose 
of the program is not to offer medical advice, but rather to 
support providers in reinforcing patients' POCs. 

B. Populations. 

1. The Commonwealth shall provide the alternative benefit 
package to individuals who voluntarily enroll in the 
program (opt-in). Individuals shall be informed of the 
available benefit options prior to having the option to 
voluntarily enroll. 

a. Opt-in alternative coverage will be offered to the 
following populations of Medicaid recipients: 

(1) All individuals in fee-for-service who have asthma or 
diabetes. 

(2) All individuals in fee-for-service age 18 and over 
who have congestive heart failure (CHF), coronary artery 
disease (CAD), or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease 
(COPD). 

b. Individuals who choose to participate in the opt-in 
program shall maintain their eligibility for the regular 
Medicaid benefits at all times. 

2. Persons excluded from this program shall be those: 

a. Who have third-party insurance; 

b. Who are enrolled in Medicaid managed care 
organizations; 

c. Who reside in institutional settings; 

d. Who are enrolled in both Medicare and Medicaid (dual 
eligibles); or 

e. Who are children enrolled in Virginia's Title XXI 
program, Family Access to Medical Insurance Security 
(FAMIS). Children enrolled in FAMIS receive disease 
management services through the FAMIS program 
pursuant to 12VAC30-141-200. 

3. The Commonwealth shall inform each individual that 
such enrollment is voluntary, that such individual may opt 
out of such alternative benefit package at any time, and 
retain eligibility for the standard Medicaid program under 
the State Plan. 

4. Individuals are to be encouraged to participate in the 
program through mailings and telephonic outreach by 
DMAS or the [ designated ] disease management program 
administrator. 

C. Benchmark benefits. In addition to all regular Medicaid 
program benefits, the alternative benefit package includes at 
least the following disease management services: 

1. Condition-specific education on an ongoing basis; 

2. Access to a 24-hour nurse call line; 

3. Regularly scheduled telephonic condition management, 
support and referrals (for individuals identified by DMAS 
[ or the designated disease management program 
administrator ] as having more acute or intensive health 
care needs); and 

4. Patient health activity monitoring and providing 
information feedback to primary care physicians to help 
facilitate changes to patients' plans of care pursuant to the 
provision of disease management services (for individuals 
identified by DMAS [ or the designated disease 
management program administrator ] as having more acute 
or intensive health care needs). 

D. Geographical classification. Services under this 
alternative benefit package shall be available statewide. 

E. Service delivery system. Alternative benefits shall be 
offered through a prepaid ambulatory health plan, under 
contract with the Commonwealth. All other Medicaid State 
Plan services shall be provided on a fee-for-service basis.  

F. Additional assurances. 

1. The Commonwealth assures that individuals shall have 
access, through benchmark coverage, benchmark-
equivalent coverage, or otherwise, to rural health clinic 
services and federally qualified health center services as 
defined in § 1905(a)(2) (B) and (C) of the Act. 

2. The Commonwealth assures that payment for rural 
health clinic and federally qualified health clinic services 
shall be made in accordance with the requirements of § 
1902(bb) of the Act. 

G. Cost effectiveness of plans. Benchmark or benchmark-
equivalent coverage and any additional benefits are provided 
in accordance with economy and efficiency principles. 

H. Compliance with the law. The Commonwealth shall 
continue to comply with all other provisions of the Social 
Security Act in the administration of the Commonwealth's 
disease management program under this chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-738; Filed May 14, 2009, 3:52 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Keith Hayashi, Project Manager, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-2773, or email keith.hayashi@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of DMAS to administer and amend the Plan for 
Medical Assistance according to the board's requirements. 
The Medicaid authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing 
authority for payments for services. 

Item 306 CC of Chapter 879 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly 
directed DMAS to promulgate emergency regulations to 
provide for this new specialty drug reimbursement 
methodology. DMAS complied with that mandate and is 
currently reimbursing for the drug products affected by this 
action under that new reimbursement methodology. 

Purpose: The department is promulgating this regulation to 
create a specialty drug reimbursement methodology based 
upon the Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) of designated 
specialty drugs. Specialty drug products are products used to 
treat chronic, high-cost or rare diseases, including drugs for 
the treatment of Hepatitis C and Multiple Sclerosis, as well as 
drugs such as growth hormone agents and interferon. These 
drugs tend to be much higher in cost than standard 
pharmaceutical products and also tend to have significantly 
higher per patient costs. This action implements a new 
methodology to help contain the higher costs associated with 
these drugs. This action is not expected to affect the health, 
safety, or welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth as it is a 
reimbursement methodology change. DMAS paid for these 
drugs prior to the current emergency regulations but with a 
methodology that was not as well controlled and lacked the 
care management component. 

Substance: Currently, DMAS' regulations contain no specific 
provisions for the reimbursement of specialty drugs. These 
drugs are currently paid for, along with all other covered 
pharmaceuticals, under the existing reimbursement 
methodology set out in 12VAC30-80-40. The payment 
algorithm pays for drugs at the lowest of either: (i) the federal 
Upper Drug Limit, (ii) the higher of either the lowest 
Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10%, or the second 
lowest WAC plus 6.0%, (iii) the provider’s usual and 
customary charge to the public, or (iv) the Estimated 
Acquisition Cost.  Generally, these drugs are being 
reimbursed at the rate of the Wholesale Acquisition Cost plus 

4.75%. Due to advances in pharmaceutical technology which 
typically produce ever more expensive and complex 
pharmaceutical products, DMAS has determined that it would 
be appropriate to separate out this particular group of drugs 
for a unique payment and care management methodology. 

Specialty (or "biotechnology") drugs are a category of drugs 
resulting from advances in drug development research, 
technology, and design. These drugs are used to treat specific 
chronic or genetic conditions. Specialty drugs include 
biological drugs, blood-derived products, complex molecules, 
and select oral, injectable and infused medications. They also 
typically include tailored patient education for safe and cost-
effective use, patient-specific dosing, close patient 
monitoring, and can require special handling (such as 
refrigeration). Examples of some conditions that specialty 
drugs address include Acromegaly, Cancer, Chronic 
Granulomatous Disease, Cystic Fibrosis, HIV/AIDS, Multiple 
Sclerosis, Psoriasis, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Hepatitis C, and 
Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV). 

Specialty drugs have a direct impact on any health benefit 
program’s prescription drug expenditures. A 2004 DMAS 
analysis revealed that nationwide, total population spending 
on specialty medications grew 26.6% in 2003 with surges in 
treatments for Rheumatoid Arthritis and Cancer.  According 
to the 2004 analysis, annual per patient costs of specialty drug 
therapies can range from $6,000 to $350,000 annually.  Total 
public and private sector spending reached $54 billion by the 
end of 2007 and is expected to reach $100 billion by 2010. 

In Virginia, it is estimated that within the fee-for-service 
component of the Medicaid program, about $18 million 
annually is expended on specialty drugs related to only five 
chronic or genetic conditions. This point-of-sale data 
represented 9,000 claims and affected only 2,700 individual 
recipients. 

Recipients who receive care through managed care 
organizations (MCOs) currently get their prescriptions 
through the MCO’s network of providers.  MCOs, via the 
capitation payments received from Medicaid, provide all 
required prescription drugs and assume the risk that one of 
their members will require such specialty prescriptions. No 
additional payments are made to MCOs in such instances. 

A 2005 article from a Cigna Pharmacy Management 
newsletter indicates that the cost of specialty drugs is 
increasing up to 30% annually, and utilization of these 
medications is increasing at a rate near 20%. Furthermore, at 
any given time approximately 800 new specialty drugs are 
under development; these new specialty drugs drive 
significant increases in medical expenditures.  The rapid 
expansion of biotechnology drugs makes it the fastest 
growing segment for drug costs in America. 

In an effort to control the growing costs of specialty drugs 
and improve the health outcomes of these affected recipients, 
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DMAS has proposed the development of a specialty drug 
program. Appropriation Act language was included in the 
2006-2008 budget language during the 2006 General 
Assembly to support the funding of a specialty drug program. 
In implementing a specialty drug program, DMAS has 
focused on (i) implementing an appropriate care management 
model for those patients who require specialty drug therapy 
and (ii) establishing a discounted pricing model.  In achieving 
these objectives, DMAS is working to limit disruption in the 
specialty drug market, maintain patient access to specialty 
drugs, and minimize administrative requirements. 

This action implements a new methodology for the 
reimbursement of designated specialty drugs. The new 
methodology, described in the new subdivision 5 of 
12VAC30-80-40, is a formula based upon the Wholesale 
Acquisition Cost (WAC) of these specialty drugs. The 
methodology computes a price above a given percentage of 
the WAC for each specified drug.  The current percentage 
value is 4.75%. In addition to the formula, the new subsection 
also references the location of the list of designated drugs 
subject to the new methodology on the DMAS website, and 
states that the new pricing methodology is reviewed and 
subject to the same dispute resolution and appeal rights as the 
standard Maximum Allowable Cost pricing methodology. 
Lowering the percentage of Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 
that DMAS pays for the specified specialty drugs will help 
limit some of the rising costs associated with specialty drugs. 

Presently, both physicians and pharmacies are permitted to 
obtain these specialty drugs from manufacturers and bill their 
costs to the Medicaid program for Medicaid recipients. As a 
result of federal statutory requirements in the Deficit 
Reduction Act of 2005, DMAS is now securing rebates from 
the pharmaceutical manufacturers for these drugs. This open 
access by all such providers will not be affected by this 
regulatory action. 

Specialty drugs are a dynamic group of emerging 
medications, and different strategies will have to be employed 
to better manage these expenditures, and coordinate patient 
care. The department will work with its Pharmacy Liaison 
Committee and other interested parties to develop appropriate 
care coordination models as part of the later phase of the 
specialty drug program. Through this process, DMAS and its 
partners will further identify additional disease conditions 
that lend themselves to improved outcomes when under 
specialty drug management and develop a program design 
that will most effectively manage these conditions. 

DMAS may contract with a vendor to create a care 
management program for recipients with selected conditions 
requiring specialty drugs. Care management is expected to 
provide monitoring of patients’ utilization of services and 
relevant clinical data specific to each condition. The patient 
would be contacted directly and care coordination would be 
provided, when necessary. This program would be similar to 

the current disease management model being used by DMAS 
to manage selected health conditions (e.g., asthma, chronic 
obstructive pulmonary disease, congestive heart failure, 
coronary artery disease, and diabetes). Some recipients of 
specialty drugs already receive care management services 
from their specialty pharmacy providers, such as confidential 
counseling, compliance monitoring, educational information, 
and health care coordination. DMAS will continue to research 
opportunities to improve care management for recipients with 
hemophilia and implement services directly and/or through 
coordination with specialty pharmacies. 

Issues: Specialty pharmaceuticals represent the fastest 
growing segment of the prescription drug market in the U.S. 
Industry projections estimate the growth rate at 20% per year. 
Typically, these products are used to treat complex chronic 
and/or rare diseases, are high cost, and can be administered 
by injection, infusion inhalation, or orally. DMAS is 
promulgating this regulation in an effort to help contain the 
costs of these complex and expensive drugs and to improve 
care management for these affected recipients. Pharmacy 
reimbursement is one of the highest dollar expenditures in the 
Medicaid budget. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth of this 
regulatory action is expected to be improved health outcomes 
for these affected recipients as well as some cost savings for 
the agency and Commonwealth. The disadvantage to the 
pharmaceutical industry will be reduced profits due to 
reduced payments for these drugs. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 879 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly, Item 
306 CC, the proposed regulations establish a new 
reimbursement methodology for specialty drugs. The 
proposed regulations have already been in effect under 
emergency regulations since October 2008. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 879 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly, Item 306 CC, the proposed 
regulations establish a new reimbursement methodology for 
specialty drugs. Specialty drugs are drugs that are bio-
engineered in laboratories from living cells rather than 
chemicals to treat diseases such as cancer, multiple sclerosis, 
and hepatitis-C. They may also include growth hormone 
agents. Unlike most other drugs, their production may not be 
replicated easily. The key element in their production is not 
the chemicals used but rather the process by which the living 
cells are bio-engineered. This bio-engineering process is non-
public information often considered “a trade secret” which is 
not subject to expiration like a patent may be. These 
characteristics create a monopolistic market for specialty 
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drugs. In the absence of competition, the market price is set 
by the seller (irrespective of the cost of production) that 
maximizes the revenues. For example, even though a 
specialty drug may cost only a few dollars to produce, its 
price may be in thousands of dollars. 

According to a 2004 analysis by the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS), annual per patient costs of 
specialty drug therapies can range from $6,000 to $350,000 
annually. Also, it is estimated within the fee-for-service 
component of the Virginia Medicaid program, about $18 
million annually is spent on specialty drugs related to only 
five chronic or genetic conditions. Also, DMAS analysis 
revealed that nationwide total population spending on 
specialty medications grew 26.6% in 2003. Given the high 
per patient costs and the fast growth in utilization and 
innovation, Medicaid specialty drug expenditure growth 
appears to be vulnerable. 

Prior to the emergency regulations, specialty drugs were 
reimbursed just like any other drugs. The reimbursement was 
the lowest of i) the federal Upper Drug Limit, ii) the higher of 
either the lowest Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 
10%, or the second lowest WAC plus 6%, iii) the provider’s 
usual and customary charge to the public, or iv) the estimated 
Acquisition Cost. The proposed regulations establish that 
specialty drugs shall be reimbursed by the lowest of i through 
iv and also WAC price plus WAC percentage which is 
identified each year for all generic code numbers. This year 
WAC percentage in effect is 4.75%. The proposed changes 
give DMAS the ability to apply a different reimbursement 
price specific to specialty drugs and also the ability to 
designate specialty drugs by publishing them on its website. 

Economic theory supports the use of concentrated market 
buying power (such as the one Medicaid has) to negotiate and 
reduce the price set by a monopoly (such as the producers of 
specialty drugs). Note that neither the monopolistic seller nor 
the monopsonistic buyer even consider the cost of production 
while trying to determine the prevailing market price. Instead, 
the market price is determined by the relative bargaining 
powers of the unique seller and large buyer. In that sense, the 
proposed regulations are well justified in the sense that it 
gives DMAS an additional bargaining power when 
purchasing these drugs for the Medicaid recipients. 

Since the proposed regulations are already implemented 
under emergency regulations, no savings are expected 
immediately upon promulgation of the proposed regulations. 
However, DMAS estimates that roughly about $250,000 
annually may be saved in total funds upon promulgation of 
the proposed new pricing methodology for specialty drugs. 
Due to Medicaid funding mechanism, one half of the savings 
are expected to accrue to the Commonwealth while the rest 
are expected to accrue to the federal government. On the 
other hand, DMAS estimates that approximately $63,750 
initially and approximately $75,000 on ongoing basis is 

needed to be paid to private contractors to implement and 
maintain the proposed new specialty drug reimbursement 
methodology. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
affect the prices of specialty drugs. Roughly about 20 
manufacturers are estimated to be supplying the specialty 
drugs whose prices may be affected by the proposed changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The effect on the 
employment in Virginia may be positive as the demand for 
contractor services to administer the new methodology is 
likely to increase. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The direct 
effect on the use and value of private property in Virginia is 
not known with any certainty but not anticipated to be 
significant. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
regulations are not likely to directly affect small businesses as 
the directly affected entities are drug manufacturers that 
cannot be considered small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations are not anticipated 
to directly affect any entity that may be considered a small 
business. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No real estate development 
costs are expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
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the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations 
concerning MAC Reimbursement for Specialty Drugs 
(12VAC30-80-40). 

Summary:  

This proposed action creates a method of reimbursement 
for specialty drugs, which are covered by the Virginia 
Medicaid program, based on the Wholesale Acquisition 
Cost of the drug.  Specialty drug products are those 
which are used to treat chronic, high-cost or rare 
diseases, including drugs for the treatment of Hepatitis C 
and Multiple Sclerosis, as well as drugs such as growth 
hormone agents and interferon.  These drugs tend to be 
much higher in cost than standard pharmaceutical 
products, can sometimes require special handling 
techniques and typically also require unique patient 
education and monitoring.  This action implements a new 
methodology to help contain the higher costs associated 
with these drugs. 

12VAC30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy. 

Payment for pharmacy services shall be the lowest of items 
1 through 5 (except that items 1 and 2 will not apply when 
prescriptions are certified as brand necessary by the 
prescribing physician in accordance with the procedures set 
forth in 42 CFR 447.331 (c) 42 CFR 447.512(c) if the brand 
cost is greater than the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) upper limit of VMAC cost) subject to the 
conditions, where applicable, set forth in subdivisions 6 and 7 
of this section:  

1. The upper limit established by the CMS for multiple 
source drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.331 42 CFR 447.512 
and 447.332 447.514, as determined by the CMS Upper 
Limit List plus a dispensing fee. If the agency provides 
payment for any drugs on the HCFA Upper Limit List, the 
payment shall be subject to the aggregate upper limit 
payment test.  

2. The methodology used to reimburse for generic drug 
products shall be the higher of either (i) the lowest 
Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10% or (ii) the 
second lowest WAC plus 6.0%. This methodology shall 
reimburse for products' costs based on a Maximum 
Allowable Cost (VMAC) list to be established by the 
single state agency.  

a. In developing the maximum allowable reimbursement 
rate for generic pharmaceuticals, the department or its 
designated contractor shall: 

(1) Identify three different suppliers, including 
manufacturers that are able to supply pharmaceutical 
products in sufficient quantities. The drugs considered 
must be listed as therapeutically and pharmaceutically 
equivalent in the Food and Drug Administration's most 
recent version of the Approved Drug Products with 
Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book). 
Pharmaceutical products that are not available from three 
different suppliers, including manufacturers, shall not be 
subject to the VMAC list. 

(2) Identify that the use of a VMAC rate is lower than the 
Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for the drug. The FUL is a 
known, widely published price provided by CMS; and 

(3) Distribute the list of state VMAC rates to pharmacy 
providers in a timely manner prior to the implementation 
of VMAC rates and subsequent modifications. DMAS 
shall publish on its website, each month, the information 
used to set the Commonwealth's prospective VMAC 
rates, including, but not necessarily limited to: 

(a) The identity of applicable reference products used to 
set the VMAC rates; 

(b) The Generic Code Number (GCN) or National Drug 
Code (NDC), as may be appropriate, of reference 
products; 

(c) The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the 
appropriate WAC price; and 

(d) The identity and date of the published compendia 
used to determine reference products and set the VMAC 
rate. The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds 
the appropriate WAC price shall be at least or equal to 
10% above the lowest-published wholesale acquisition 
cost for products widely available for purchase in the 
Commonwealth and shall be included in national pricing 
compendia. 

b. Development of a VMAC rate that does not have a 
FUL rate shall not result in the use of higher-cost 
innovator brand name or single source drugs in the 
Medicaid program. 

c. DMAS or its designated contractor shall: 

(1) Implement and maintain a procedure to add or 
eliminate products from the list, or modify VMAC rates, 
consistent with changes in the fluctuating marketplace. 
DMAS or its designated contractor will regularly review 
manufacturers' pricing and monitor drug availability in 
the marketplace to determine the inclusion or exclusion 
of drugs on the VMAC list; and 

(2) Provide a pricing dispute resolution procedure to 
allow a dispensing provider to contest a listed VMAC 
rate. DMAS or its designated contractor shall confirm 
receipt of pricing disputes within 24 hours, via telephone 
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or facsimile, with the appropriate documentation of 
relevant information, e.g., invoices. Disputes shall be 
resolved within three business days of confirmation. The 
pricing dispute resolution process will include DMAS' or 
the contractor's verification of accurate pricing to ensure 
consistency with marketplace pricing and drug 
availability. Providers will be reimbursed, as appropriate, 
based on findings. Providers shall be required to use this 
dispute resolution process prior to exercising any 
applicable appeal rights. 

3. The provider's usual and customary charge to the public, 
as identified by the claim charge. 

4. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC), which shall be 
based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 
minus a percentage discount established by the General 
Assembly (as set forth in subdivision 8 9 of this section) 
or, in the absence thereof, by the following methodology 
set out in subdivisions a through c below of this 
subdivision. 

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a statewide 
survey of providers' acquisition cost. 

b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual 
provider purchase invoices. 

c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals deemed 
necessary by DMAS. 

5. MAC methodology for specialty drugs. Payment for 
drug products designated by DMAS as specialty drugs 
shall be the lesser of subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 
section or the following method, whichever is least: 

a. The methodology used to reimburse for designated 
specialty drug products shall be the WAC price plus the 
WAC percentage. The WAC percentage is a constant 
percentage identified each year for all GCNs. 

b. Designated specialty drug products are certain 
products used to treat chronic, high-cost or rare diseases; 
the drugs subject to this pricing methodology and their 
current reimbursement rates are listed on the DMAS 
website at the following internet address: 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/pharm-
special_mac_list.pdf. 

c. The MAC reimbursement methodology for specialty 
drugs shall be subject to the pricing review and dispute 
resolution procedures described in subdivisions 2 c (1) 
and 2 c (2) of this section. 

5. 6. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described 
above; however, payment for legend drugs will include the 
allowed cost of the drug plus only one dispensing fee per 
month for each specific drug. Exceptions to the monthly 
dispensing fees shall be allowed for drugs determined by 
the department to have unique dispensing requirements. 

The dispensing fee for brand name and generic drugs is 
$3.75.  

6. 7. The Program pays additional reimbursement for unit 
dose dispensing systems of dispensing drugs. DMAS 
defines its unit dose dispensing system coverage consistent 
with that of the Board of Pharmacy of the Department of 
Health Professions (18VAC110-20-420). This service is 
paid only for patients residing in nursing facilities. 
Reimbursements are based on the allowed payments 
described above plus the unit dose per capita fee to be 
calculated by DMAS' fiscal agent based on monthly per 
nursing home resident service per pharmacy provider. Only 
one service fee per month may be paid to the pharmacy for 
each patient receiving unit dose dispensing services. 
Multisource drugs will be reimbursed at the maximum 
allowed drug cost for specific multiple source drugs as 
identified by the state agency or CMS' upper limits as 
applicable. All other drugs will be reimbursed at drug costs 
not to exceed the estimated acquisition cost determined by 
the state agency. The original per capita fee shall be 
determined by a DMAS analysis of costs related to such 
dispensing, and shall be reevaluated at periodic intervals 
for appropriate adjustment. The unit dose dispensing fee is 
$5.00 per recipient per month per pharmacy provider. 

7. 8. Determination of EAC was the result of a report by 
the Office of the Inspector General that focused on 
appropriate Medicaid marketplace pricing of 
pharmaceuticals based on the documented costs to the 
pharmacy. An EAC of AWP minus 10.25% shall become 
effective July 1, 2002. 

The dispensing fee for brand name and generic drugs of 
$3.75 shall remain in effect, creating a payment 
methodology based on the previous algorithm (least of 
subdivisions 1 through 5 of this subsection above section) 
plus a dispensing fee where applicable. 

8. 9. Home infusion therapy.  

a. The following therapy categories shall have a 
pharmacy service day rate payment allowable: hydration 
therapy, chemotherapy, pain management therapy, drug 
therapy, total parenteral nutrition (TPN). The service day 
rate payment for the pharmacy component shall apply to 
the basic components and services intrinsic to the therapy 
category. Submission of claims for the per diem rate shall 
be accomplished by use of the CMS 1500 claim form.  

b. The cost of the active ingredient or ingredients for 
chemotherapy, pain management and drug therapies shall 
be submitted as a separate claim through the pharmacy 
program, using standard pharmacy format. Payment for 
this component shall be consistent with the current 
reimbursement for pharmacy services. Multiple 
applications of the same therapy shall be reimbursed one 
service day rate for the pharmacy services. Multiple 
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applications of different therapies shall be reimbursed at 
100% of standard pharmacy reimbursement for each 
active ingredient.  

9. 10. Supplemental rebate agreement. Based on the 
requirements in § 1927 of the Social Security Act, the 
Commonwealth of Virginia has the following policies for 
the supplemental drug rebate program for Medicaid 
recipients:  

a. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 
Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 
legend drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted 
to CMS on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia 
Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract A and 
Amendment #2 to Contract A has been authorized by 
CMS.  

b. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 
Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 
drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 
on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 
Drug Rebate Agreement Contract B and Amendment #2 
to Contract B has been authorized by CMS.  

c. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 
Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 
drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 
on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 
Drug Rebate Agreement Contract C, and Amendments 
#1 and #2 to Contract C has been authorized by CMS.  

d. Supplemental drug rebates received by the state in 
excess of those required under the national drug rebate 
agreement will be shared with the federal government on 
the same percentage basis as applied under the national 
drug rebate agreement.  

e. Prior authorization requirements found in § 1927(d)(5) 
of the Social Security Act have been met.  

f. Nonpreferred drugs are those that were reviewed by the 
Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee and not included 
on the preferred drug list. Nonpreferred drugs will be 
made available to Medicaid beneficiaries through prior 
authorization.  

g. Payment of supplemental rebates may result in a 
product's inclusion on the PDL.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1319; Filed May 18, 2009, 3:48 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-30, 12VAC30-80-190). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Carla Russell, Health Care Reimbursement 
Manager, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-4586, FAX (804) 371-8892, or email 
carla.russell@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
director of DMAS to administer and amend the Plan for 
Medical Assistance according to the board's requirements. 
The Medicaid authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing 
authority for payments for services. 

In Chapter 879 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly, Item 306 PP 
directed DMAS to recalibrate its Resource Based Relative 
Value System (RBRVS) physician reimbursement rates by 
implementing a site of service differential payment policy. 

Purpose: This proposed regulation is not essential to protect 
the health, safety, or welfare of citizens. This proposed action 
modifies the methodology for reimbursing physicians based 
on the site of the service delivery. There are no expected 
environmental benefits from this change. 

Substance: Currently, the DMAS-portion of the Virginia 
Administrative Code contains a Resource Based Relative 
Value System (RBRVS) for computing reimbursement for 
physician services (12VAC30-80-190). This RBRVS method 
was originally developed by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services for use in the Medicare program for 
reimbursing physicians. In addition to this regulation, DMAS 
also has a secondary regulation (12VAC30-80-30) that 
reduced the amount of reimbursement to physicians when 
services were performed in the hospital setting as compared 
to the physicians’ offices. 

Currently, the DMAS methodology uses only the nonfacility 
Relative Value Unit (RVU) in calculating rates. Beginning in 
1999, and fully phased in by 2002, Medicare adjusted its 
physician fees based on the setting in which the service was 
taking place.  Medicare paid a lower fee for a service 
provided in a facility setting (i.e., outpatient hospital) than for 
the same service provided in a nonfacility setting (i.e., 
physician’s office). As a result of computer system 
limitations at that time, DMAS did not implement a site of 
service differential and adopted the nonfacility RVU in the 
calculation of its physician reimbursement fees. 

Over time the gap in the Medicare RVUs between facility and 
nonfacility sites of service has widened and the use of site of 
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service differentials has expanded to many more procedure 
codes. As a result of this growing disconnect between the 
Medicare physician methodology and the DMAS 
methodology, DMAS is now paying very different fees for 
many services than Medicare now pays when the service is 
performed in the facility setting. In many of these cases, the 
DMAS fee for a service in a facility setting is much higher 
than the Medicare fee, sometimes even higher than 
physicians’ charges. 

12VAC30-80-190 is being amended to implement a site of 
service differential for RBRVS physician rates. Payment for 
physician services in some cases will be recalibrated to 
implement different rates for services depending on the site of 
service, based on the relative value units (RVUs) for a 
procedure code published by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS).  For procedure codes that can be 
performed in either a facility or nonfacility, CMS has been 
publishing separate RVUs for several years and Medicare 
rates are based on site of service. 

Different Medicaid rates calculated by site of service will be 
phased-in over a four-year period. In FY09, DMAS will add 
75% of the difference between the facility RVU and 
nonfacility RVU to the facility RVU. In FY10, DMAS will 
add 50% of the difference between the facility RVU and 
nonfacility RVU to the facility RVU. In FY11, DMAS will 
add 25% of the difference between the facility RVU and 
nonfacility RVU to the facility RVU. In subsequent fiscal 
years, DMAS will use the Medicare facility RVU. 

Different rates based on site of service will be implemented in 
a budget neutral manner. Any savings in total reimbursement 
to physicians as a result of the implementation of site of 
service rates will be reallocated proportionately to all 
physician categories of service as a percentage increase. The 
annual RBRVS update to physician services will be 
performed in conjunction with the implementation of site of 
service. 

Issues: Implementation of site of service will align the DMAS 
physician methodology more closely to the Medicare 
physician methodology. This change will increase the 
efficiency and effectiveness of payments made by DMAS to 
physician providers. The intent of legislative changes to 
adjust physician rates will be applied more appropriately. 
There are no advantages or disadvantages to the citizens of 
the Commonwealth for this change. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 879 of the 2008 Acts of the Assembly, 
Item 306 PP, the proposed regulations implement a site of 
service differential in physician reimbursement rates in a 
budget neutral manner. The proposed regulations have been 
in effect since July 2008 under emergency regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 879 of the 
2008 Acts of the Assembly, Item 306 PP, the proposed 
regulations implement a site of service differential in 
physician reimbursement rates in a budget neutral manner. 
The proposed regulations have been in effect since July 2008 
under emergency regulations. 

While the Virginia Medicaid physician reimbursement 
methodology and rates have been closely modeled after 
Medicare methodology, due to computer system limitations at 
the time, Virginia Medicaid could not implement the site of 
service differential that was adopted by Medicare in 1999 and 
fully phased in by 2002. Instead, Virginia Medicaid had 
reimbursed for all physician services as if they were all 
performed in a non-facility (i.e. physician office) setting. 
Non-facility rates are higher than facility setting (i.e. 
outpatient hospital) rates because the physician cost of 
providing care in a non-facility setting is higher as there is no 
other entity such as a hospital to pay for a significant portion 
of the physicians’ associated costs. Simply put, the cost of 
providing care to the physicians in their office is higher than 
the cost of providing care in a hospital setting. Over the years, 
the site of service difference has grown significantly and 
caused Virginia Medicaid to pay significantly higher rates 
than Medicare for physician services performed in a facility 
setting. 

Currently, Virginia Medicaid has the technical capability to 
incorporate the site of service differential in physician 
reimbursement rates. Pursuant to the legislative mandate, the 
proposed regulations implement differential reimbursement 
rates for services provided in a facility and in a non-facility. 
Because all physician services prior to emergency regulations 
were reimbursed at non-facility rates and non-facility rates 
are higher, the estimated reduction in total physician 
reimbursements, holding everything else constant, would 
have been about $6 million in total funds. However, the 
proposed regulations provide a percentage increase phased in 
over a four-year period in all physician categories of service 
that offsets the site of service differential reduction. In other 
words, one fourth of the difference between the facility and 
non-facility rates and the corresponding percentage increase 
in other rates will be implemented this year, another one 
fourth next year, and so on. 

At the aggregate, the total amount paid by Virginia Medicaid 
to all of the physicians is expected to stay the same. However, 
it is possible that physicians that provide most of their 
services in a non-facility setting may experience a reduction 
in their total reimbursement as the percentage increase in 
other rates may not fully compensate the reduction due to site 
of service differential. Also, recognition of differential costs 
arising from site of service in reimbursement methodology is 
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expected to improve allocative efficiency of Virginia 
Medicaid dollars. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
recalibrate the physician rates in a budget neutral fashion. 
Approximately 65,290 physicians and other practitioners are 
enrolled in the Virginia Medicaid program. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 
net employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant impact on the net use and value of private property 
is expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. On net, no costs 
or other effects are expected on small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. On net, no costs or other adverse effects are 
expected on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No effect on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations 

concerning recalibrating physician services by implementing 
site of service (12VAC30-80-30 and 12VAC30-80-190). 

Summary:  

Item 306 PP of Chapter 879 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly 
directed DMAS to recalibrate its Resource Based 
Relative Value System (RBRVS) physician reimbursement 
rates by implementing a site of service differential 
payment policy. 

12VAC30-80-190 is being amended to implement a site 
of service differential for RBRVS physician rates. 
Payment for physician services in some cases will be 
recalibrated to implement different rates for services 
depending on the site of service based on the relative 
value units (RVUs) for a procedure code published by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). For 
procedures that can be performed in either a facility or 
nonfacility, CMS has been publishing separate RVUs for 
several years and Medicare rates are based on site of 
service. Different Medicaid rates by site of service will be 
phased in over a four-year period. 

12VAC30-80-30 is being amended to remove the long-
standing payment reduction applied to physician services 
when performed in hospital settings, as compared to 
physicians’ offices. 

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers. 

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 
services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 
(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 
schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public): 

1. Physicians' services (12VAC30-80-160 has 
obstetric/pediatric fees). Payment for physician services 
shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual 
charge (charge to the general public), except that 
reimbursement rates for designated physician services 
when performed in hospital outpatient settings shall be 
50% of the reimbursement rate established for those 
services when performed in a physician's office. The 
following limitations shall apply to emergency physician 
services. 

a. Definitions. The following words and terms, when 
used in this subdivision 1 shall have the following 
meanings when applied to emergency services unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"All-inclusive" means all emergency service and 
ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 
emergency department visit, with the exception of 
laboratory services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) 
of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Emergency physician services" means services that are 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 
the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 
of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 
accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 
the services. 

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 
than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit. 

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 
attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 
routinely rendered in emergency departments and 
reimburse physicians for nonemergency care rendered in 
emergency departments at a reduced rate. 

(1) DMAS shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 
reimbursement rate for all physician services, including 
those obstetric and pediatric procedures contained in 
12VAC30-80-160, rendered in emergency departments 
that DMAS determines are nonemergency care. 

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 
emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 
methodologies and at the existing rates. 

(3) Services determined by the attending physician that 
may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 
services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 
methodology in subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 
Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 
the methodology in subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 
Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to: 

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 
injury. 

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 
hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 
symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 
stabilization. 

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 
including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 
gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 
of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 
considered life threatening. 

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 
immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 
facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 
recipient dies. 

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 
specified in the provider manual. 

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 
with one or more of the other guidelines. 

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes and necessary supporting documentation. 

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 
effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 
and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 
Program components may be revised subject to achieving 
program intent objectives, the accuracy and effectiveness 
of the ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on 
recipients and providers. 

2. Dentists' services. 

3. Mental health services including: (i) community mental 
health services; (ii) services of a licensed clinical 
psychologist; or (iii) mental health services provided by a 
physician. 

a. Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 
shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 
psychiatrists. 

b. Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 
clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors 
or licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric shall be 
reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for licensed 
clinical psychologists. 

4. Podiatry. 

5. Nurse-midwife services. 

6. Durable medical equipment (DME). 

a. For those items that have a national Healthcare 
Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) code, the 
rate for durable medical equipment shall be set at the 
Durable Medical Equipment Regional Carrier (DMERC) 
reimbursement level. 

b. The rate paid for all items of durable medical 
equipment except nutritional supplements shall be the 
lower of the state agency fee schedule that existed prior 
to July 1, 1996, less 4.5%, or the actual charge. 

c. The rate paid for nutritional supplements shall be the 
lower of the state agency fee schedule or the actual 
charge. 

d. Certain durable medical equipment used for 
intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled 
under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as 
determined by the agency. Certain services/durable 
medical equipment such as service maintenance 
agreements shall be bundled under specified procedure 
codes and reimbursed as determined by the agency. 

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 
administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 
established service day rate for the bundled durable 
medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 
consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 
12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 
dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 
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shall be included in one service day rate of 
reimbursement. Multiple applications of different 
therapies administered in one day shall be reimbursed for 
the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate 
as follows: the most expensive therapy shall be 
reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all 
subsequent most expensive therapies shall be reimbursed 
at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies administered in one 
day shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy service day rate 
plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient in the 
compound (at the lowest ingredient cost methodology) 
plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing fee. 

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 
shall have supplies or components bundled under a 
service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood 
gas levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy 
may have ancillary components bundled with the main 
component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 
be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or 
a total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 
Such respiratory equipment shall include, but not be 
limited to, oxygen tanks and tubing, ventilators, 
noncontinuous ventilators, and suction machines. 
Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and suction 
machines may be purchased based on the individual 
patient's medical necessity and length of need. 

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 
made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 
and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 
reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 
owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 
either monthly or in units per year based on the 
individual agreement between the DME provider and 
DMAS. Such bundled agreements may apply to, but not 
necessarily be limited to, either respiratory equipment or 
apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services. 

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). 

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory 
specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited 
to payment for handling). 

10. X-Ray services. 

11. Optometry services. 

12. Medical supplies and equipment. 

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 
reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A 
rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth 
by 12VAC30-80-180. 

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 
hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 
noninstitutionalized recipients. 

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90. 

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type 
I physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this State Plan, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Type I physicians for 
furnished services provided on or after July 2, 2002. A 
Type I physician is a member of a practice group 
organized by or under the control of a state academic 
health system or an academic health system that operates 
under a state authority and includes a hospital, who has 
entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of 
payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 2, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for Type I physician services and Medicare rates. 
Effective August 13, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 143% of Medicare rates. 
This percentage was determined by dividing the total 
commercial allowed amounts for Type I physicians for at 
least the top five commercial insurers in CY 2004 by 
what Medicare would have allowed. The average 
commercial allowed amount was determined by 
multiplying the relative value units times the conversion 
factor for RBRVS procedures and by multiplying the unit 
cost times anesthesia units for anesthesia procedures for 
each insurer and practice group with Type I physicians 
and summing for all insurers and practice groups. The 
Medicare equivalent amount was determined by 
multiplying the total commercial relative value units for 
Type I physicians times the Medicare conversion factor 
for RBRVS procedures and by multiplying the Medicare 
unit cost times total commercial anesthesia units for 
anesthesia procedures for all Type I physicians and 
summing.  

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly. 

d. Payment will not be made to the extent that this would 
duplicate payments based on physician costs covered by 
the supplemental payments. 

17. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned 
or operated clinics.  

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 
elsewhere in the regulations, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate 
government-owned or operated clinics for outpatient 
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services provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 2, 
2002. Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital 
but is organized and operated to provide medical care to 
outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished 
by or under the direction of a physician, dentist or other 
medical professional acting within the scope of his 
license to an eligible individual. Effective July 1, 2005, a 
qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a community 
services board. The state share for supplemental clinic 
payments will be funded by general fund appropriations.  

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 
each qualifying nonstate government-owned or operated 
clinic is determined by:  

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference 
between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic 
according to subdivision 17 d and the amount otherwise 
actually paid for the services by the Medicaid program;  

(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 17 
b (1) for each qualifying clinic by the aggregate 
difference for all such qualifying clinics; and  

(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 
(2) of this subdivision 17 b by the aggregate upper 
payment limit amount for all such clinics as determined 
in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less all payments 
made to such clinics other than under this section.  

c. Payments for furnished services made under this 
section may be made in one or more installments at such 
times, within the fiscal year or thereafter, as is 
determined by DMAS.  

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit 
referred to in subdivision 17 b (3), Medicaid payments to 
nonstate government-owned or operated clinics will be 
divided by the "additional factor" whose calculation is 
described in Attachment 4.19-B, Supplement 4 
(12VAC30-80-190 B 2) in regard to the state agency fee 
schedule for RBRVS. Medicaid payments will be 
estimated using payments for dates of service from the 
prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments. 
Additional adjustments will be made for any program 
changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments.  

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the 
amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of 
Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board 
furnished by the facility, equal to at least 95% of the rate that 
would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility 
services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services 
shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery 
and not the location of the agency's home office. 

12VAC30-80-190. State agency fee schedule for RBRVS. 

A. Reimbursement of fee-for-service providers. Effective for 
dates of service on or after July 1, 1995, the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) shall reimburse fee-
for-service providers, with the exception of home health 
services (see 12VAC30-80-180) and durable medical 
equipment services (see 12VAC30-80-30), using a fee 
schedule that is based on a Resource Based Relative Value 
Scale (RBRVS). 

B. Fee schedule. 

1. For those services or procedures which are included in 
the RBRVS published by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) as amended from time to time, 
DMAS' fee schedule shall employ the Relative Value Units 
(RVUs) developed by CMS as periodically updated. 

a. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 
DMAS shall implement site of service differentials and 
employ both nonfacility and facility RVUs. The 
implementation shall be budget neutral using the 
methodology in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

b. The implementation of site of service shall be 
transitioned over a four-year period. 

(1) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 
DMAS shall calculate the transitioned facility RVU by 
adding 75% of the difference between the facility RVU 
and nonfacility RVU to the facility RVU. 

(2) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2009, 
DMAS shall calculate the transitioned facility RVU by 
adding 50% of the difference between the facility RVU 
and nonfacility RVU to the facility RVU. 

(3) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2010, 
DMAS shall calculate the transitioned facility RVU by 
adding 25% of the difference between the facility RVU 
and nonfacility RVU to the facility RVU. 

(4) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2011, 
DMAS shall use the unadjusted Medicare facility RVU. 

2. DMAS shall calculate the RBRVS-based fees using 
conversion factors (CFs) published from time to time by 
CMS. DMAS shall adjust CMS' CFs by additional factors 
so that no change in expenditure will result solely from the 
implementation of the RBRVS-based fee schedule. DMAS 
may revise the additional factors when CMS updates its 
RVUs or CFs so that no change in expenditure will result 
solely from such updates. Except for this adjustment, 
DMAS' CFs shall be the same as those published from 
time to time by CMS. The calculation of the additional 
factors shall be based on the assumption that no change in 
services provided will occur as a result of these changes to 
the fee schedule. The determination of the additional 
factors required above shall be accomplished by means of 
the following calculation: 

a. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures if 
DMAS were to use Medicare's RVUs and CFs without 
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modification, is equal to the sum, across all relevant 
procedure codes, of the RVU value published by the 
CMS, multiplied by the applicable conversion factor 
published by the CMS, multiplied by the number of 
occurrences of the procedure code in DMAS patient 
claims in the most recent period of time (at least six 
months). 

b. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures, if 
DMAS were not to calculate new fees based on the new 
CMS RVUs and CFs, is equal to the sum, across all 
relevant procedure codes, of the existing DMAS fee 
multiplied by the number of occurrences of the 
procedures code in DMAS patient claims in the period of 
time used in subdivision 2 a of this subsection. 

c. The relevant additional factor is equal to the ratio of 
the expenditure estimate (based on DMAS fees in 
subdivision 2 b of this subsection) to the expenditure 
estimate based on unmodified CMS values in subdivision 
2 a of this subsection. 

d. DMAS shall calculate a separate additional factor for: 

(1) Emergency room services (defined as the American 
Medical Association's (AMA) publication of the Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes 99281, 99282, 
99283, 99284, and 992851 in effect at the time the 
service is provided);  

(2) Obstetrical/gynecological services (defined as 
maternity care and delivery procedures, female genital 
system procedures, obstetrical/gynecological-related 
radiological procedures, and mammography procedures, 
as defined by the American Medical Association's 
(AMA) publication of the Current Procedural 
Terminology (CPT) manual in effect at the time the 
service is provided); 

(3) Pediatric preventive services (defined as preventive 
E&M procedures, excluding those listed in subdivision 
2 d (1) of this subsection, as defined by the AMA's 
publication of the CPT manual, in effect at the time the 
service is provided, for recipients under age 21); 

(4) Pediatric primary services (defined as evaluation and 
management (E&M) procedures, excluding those listed 
in subdivisions 2 d (1) and 2 d (3) of this subsection, as 
defined by the AMA's publication of the CPT manual, in 
effect at the time the service is provided, for recipients 
under age 21); 

(5) Adult primary and preventive services (defined as 
E&M procedures, excluding those listed in subdivision 2 
d (1) of this subsection, as defined by the AMA's 
publication of the CPT manual, in effect at the time the 
service is provided, for recipients age 21 and over); and 

(6) All other procedures set through the RBRVS process 
combined. 

3. For those services or procedures for which there are no 
established RVUs, DMAS shall approximate a reasonable 
relative value payment level by looking to similar existing 
relative value fees. If DMAS is unable to establish a 
relative value payment level for any service or procedure, 
the fee shall not be based on a RBRVS, but shall instead be 
based on the previous fee-for-service methodology. 

4. Fees shall not vary by geographic locality. 

5. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, 
fees for emergency room services (defined in subdivision 2 
d (1) of this subsection) shall be increased by 5.0% relative 
to the fees that would otherwise be in effect.  

C. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2006, 
fees for obstetrical/gynecological services (defined in 
subdivision B 2 d (2) of this section) shall be increased by 
2.5% relative to the fees in effect on July 1, 2005.  

D. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2006, 
fees for pediatric services (defined in subdivisions B 2 d (3) 
and (4) of this section) shall be increased by 5.0% relative to 
the fees in effect on July 1, 2005. Effective for dates of 
service on or after July 1, 2006, fees for pediatric services 
(defined in subdivisions B 2 d (3) and (4) of this section) shall 
be increased by 5.0% relative to the fees in effect on May 1, 
2006. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, 
fees for pediatric primary services (defined in subdivision B 2 
d (4) of this section) shall be increased by 10% relative to the 
fees that would otherwise be in effect. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, fees 
for pediatric preventive services (defined in subdivision B 2 d 
(3) of this section) shall be increased by 10% relative to the 
fees that would otherwise be in effect. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2006, 
fees for adult primary and preventive services (defined in 
subdivision B 2 d (4) of this section) shall be increased by 
5.0% relative to the fees in effect on July 1, 2005. Effective 
for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, fees for adult 
primary and preventive services (defined in subdivision B 2 d 
(5) of this section) shall be increased by 5.0% relative to the 
fees that would otherwise be in effect. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, 
fees for all other procedures set through the RBRVS process 
combined (defined in subdivision B 2 d (6) of this section) 
shall be increased by 5.0% relative to the fees that would 
otherwise be in effect. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1331; Filed May 14, 2009, 3:56 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(amending 12VAC30-120-70, 12VAC30-120-90, 
12VAC30-120-140, 12VAC30-120-211, 12VAC30-120-213, 
12VAC30-120-225, 12VAC30-120-229, 12VAC30-120-237, 
12VAC30-120-247, 12VAC30-120-700, 12VAC30-120-710, 
12VAC30-120-754, 12VAC30-120-758, 12VAC30-120-762, 
12VAC30-120-770, 12VAC30-120-900, 12VAC30-120-910, 
12VAC30-120-920, 12VAC30-120-970, 12VAC30-120-
1500, 12VAC30-120-1550; adding 12VAC30-120-2000, 
12VAC30-120-2010). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations establish a Medicaid waiver program 
known as "Money Follows the Person." Nationally, this 
program is designed to create a system of long-term 
services and supports that enables available funds to 
"follow the person" by supporting the transition of 
individuals from institutional long-term care settings into 
community-based care settings. 

DMAS made only two technical, nonsubstantive changes in 
the final regulations that were not in the proposed 
regulations. In 12VAC30-120-247 A 3, a reference to "an 
employment assistant as defined in 12VAC30-120-211" is 
replaced with the term "a job coach." And in 12VAC30-
120-900, the definition of "assistive technology" is 
clarified. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part II 
Home and Community-Based Services for Technology 

Assisted Individuals 

12VAC30-120-70. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this part, shall 
have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living (ADL)" means personal care 
tasks, i.e., bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, 
bowel/bladder control, and eating/feeding. A person's degree 
of independence in performing these activities is a part of 
determining appropriate level of care and services. 

"Adult" means an individual who either is 21 years of age or 
is past 21 years of age. 

"Assistive technology" means specialized medical 
equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 
appliances specified in the plan of care but not available 
under the State Plan for Medical Assistance that enable 
individuals to increase their abilities to perform activities of 
daily living, or to perceive, control, or communicate with the 
environment in which they live, or that are necessary to the 
proper functioning of the specialized equipment. 

"Child" means an individual who has not yet reached his 
21st birthday. 

"Congregate living arrangement" means one in which two or 
more recipients live in the same household and may share 
receipt of health care services from the same provider or 
providers. 

"Congregate private duty nursing" means nursing provided 
to two or more recipients in a group setting. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"Environmental modifications" means physical adaptations 
to a house, or place of residence, which shall be necessary to 
ensure the individual's health or safety, or enable functioning 
with greater independence when the adaptation is not being 
used to bring a substandard dwelling up to minimum 
habitation standards and is of direct medical or remedial 
benefit to the individual. Such modifications must exceed 
reasonable accommodation requirements of the Americans 
with Disabilities Act (42 USC § 1201 et seq.). 

"Health care coordinator" means the registered nurse who is 
responsible for ensuring that the assessment, care planning, 
monitoring, and review activities as required by DMAS are 
accomplished. This individual may be either an employee of 
DMAS or a DMAS contractor. 

"Health care coordination" means a comprehensive needs 
assessment, determination of cost effectiveness, and the 
coordination of the service efforts of multiple providers in 
order to avoid duplication of services and to ensure the 
individual's access to and receipt of needed services. 

"Health care coordinator" means the registered nurse who is 
responsible for ensuring that the assessment, care planning, 
monitoring, and review activities as required by DMAS are 
accomplished. This individual may be either an employee of 
DMAS or a DMAS contractor. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living (IADL)" means social 
tasks, i.e., meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, 
laundry, money management. A person's degree of 
independence in performing these activities is a part of 
determining appropriate level of care and services. The 
provision of IADLs is limited to the individual receiving 
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services and not to family members or other persons in the 
household. Meal preparation is planning, preparing, cooking 
and serving food. Shopping is getting to and from the store, 
obtaining/paying for groceries and carrying them home. 
Housekeeping is dusting, washing dishes, making beds, 
vacuuming, cleaning floors, and cleaning kitchen/bathroom. 
Laundry is washing/drying clothes. Money management is 
paying bills, writing checks, handling cash transactions, and 
making change. 

"Medical equipment and supplies" means those articles 
prescribed by the attending physician, generally recognized 
by the medical community as serving a diagnostic or 
therapeutic purpose and as being a medically necessary 
element of the home care plan. Items covered are medically 
necessary equipment and supplies needed to assist the 
individual in the home environment, without regard to 
whether those items are covered by the Plan. 

"Objective Scoring Criteria" means the evaluative tool to be 
used to determine the appropriateness for an individual's 
admission to these services. 

"Personal assistance" means care provided by an aide or 
respiratory therapist trained in the provision of assistance 
with ADLs or IADLs. 

"Personal emergency response systems" or "PERS" means 
an electronic device and monitoring service that enable 
certain individuals at high risk of institutionalization to secure 
help in an emergency. PERS services are limited to those 
individuals who live alone or are alone for significant parts of 
the day and who have no regular caregiver for extended 
periods of time, and who would otherwise require extensive 
routine supervision. 12VAC30-120-970 provides the service 
description, criteria, service units and limitations, and 
provider requirements for this service. 

"Plan of care" means the written plan of services and 
supplies certified by the attending physician needed by the 
individual to ensure optimal health and safety for an extended 
period of time. 

"Primary caregiver" means either a family member or other 
person who takes primary responsibility for providing 
assistance to the recipient or recipients for care they are 
unable to provide for himself or themselves the primary 
person who consistently assumes the role of providing direct 
care and support of the individual to live successfully in the 
community without compensation for such care. 

"Private duty nursing" means individual and continuous 
nursing care provided by a registered nurse or a licensed 
practical nurse under the supervision of a registered nurse. 

"Providers" means those individuals or facilities registered, 
licensed, or certified, or both, as appropriate, and enrolled by 
DMAS to render services to Medicaid recipients eligible for 
services. 

"Respite care services" means temporary skilled nursing 
services designed to relieve the family of the care of the 
technology assisted individual for a short period or periods of 
time (a maximum of 15 days per year or 360 hours per 12-
month period). In a congregate living arrangement, this same 
limit shall apply per household. Respite care shall be 
provided in the home of the individual's family or caretaker. 

"Routine respiratory therapy" means services that can be 
provided on a regularly scheduled basis. Therapy 
interventions may include: (i) monitoring of oxygen in blood; 
(ii) evaluation of pulmonary functioning; and (iii) 
maintenance of respiratory equipment.  

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" means the 
document containing the covered groups, covered services 
and their limitations, and provider reimbursement 
methodologies as provided for under Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. 

"Technology assisted" means any individual defined as 
chronically ill or severely impaired who needs both a medical 
device to compensate for the loss of a vital body function and 
substantial and ongoing skilled nursing care to avert death or 
further disability and whose illness or disability would, in the 
absence of services approved under this waiver, require 
admission to or prolonged stay in a hospital, nursing facility, 
or other medical long-term care facility. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 
who are transitioning from an institution or licensed or 
certified provider-operated living arrangement to a living 
arrangement in a private residence where the person is 
directly responsible for his own living expenses. 12VAC30-
120-2010 provides the service description, criteria, service 
units and limitations, and provider requirements for this 
service. 

12VAC30-120-90. Covered services and provider 
requirements. 

A. Private duty nursing service shall be covered for 
individuals enrolled in the technology assisted waiver 
services. This service shall be provided through either a home 
health agency licensed or certified by the Virginia 
Department of Health for Medicaid participation and with 
which DMAS has a contract for private duty nursing or a day 
care center licensed by the Virginia Department of Social 
Services which employs registered nurses and is enrolled by 
DMAS to provide congregate private duty nursing. At a 
minimum, the private duty nurse shall either be a licensed 
practical nurse or a registered nurse with a current and valid 
license issued by the Virginia State Board of Nursing. 

1. For individuals under 21 whether living separately or 
congregately, during the first 30 days after the individual's 
admission to the waiver service, private duty nursing is 
covered for 24 hours per day if needed and appropriate to 
assist the family in adjustment to the care associated with 
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technology assistance. After 30 days, private duty nursing 
shall be reimbursed for a maximum of 16 hours per 24-
hour period per household. The department may grant 
individual exceptions, not to exceed 30 total days per 
annum, to these maximum limits based on documented 
emergency needs of the individual and the case, which 
continue to meet requirements for cost effectiveness of 
community services. Such consideration of documented 
emergency needs shall not include applicable additional 
emergency costs. 

2. For individuals over the age of 21 years whether living 
separately or congregately, private duty nursing shall be 
reimbursed for a maximum of 16 hours within a 24-hour 
period per household provided that the cost-effectiveness 
standard is not exceeded for the individual's care. 

3. In no instance, shall DMAS approve an ongoing plan of 
care or ongoing multiple plans of care per household which 
result in approval of more than 16 hours of private duty 
nursing in a 24-hour period per household. 

4. Individuals who no longer meet the patient 
qualifications for either children or adults cited in 
12VAC30-120-80 may be eligible for private duty nursing 
for the number of hours per 24-hour period previously 
approved in the plan of care not to exceed two weeks from 
the date the attending physician certifies the cessation of 
daily technology assistance. 

5. The hours of private duty nursing approved for coverage 
shall be limited by either medical necessity or cost 
effectiveness or both. 

6. Congregate private duty nursing shall be limited to a 
maximum ratio of one private duty nurse to two waiver 
recipients. When three or more waiver recipients share a 
home, ratios will be determined by the combined needs of 
the residents. 

B. Provided that the cost-effectiveness standard shall not be 
exceeded, respite care service shall be covered for a 
maximum of 360 hours within a 12-month period calendar 
year per household for individuals who are qualified for 
technology assisted waiver services and who have a primary 
caregiver, other than the provider, who requires relief from 
the burden of caregiving. This service shall be provided by 
skilled nursing staff (registered nurse or licensed practical 
nurse licensed to practice in the Commonwealth) under the 
direct supervision of a home health agency licensed or 
certified by the Virginia Department of Health for Medicaid 
participation and with which DMAS has a contract to provide 
private duty nursing. 

C. Provided that the cost-effectiveness standard shall not be 
exceeded, durable medical equipment and supplies shall be 
provided for individuals qualified for technology services. All 
durable medical equipment and supplies, including nutritional 
supplements, which are covered under the State Plan and 

those medical equipment and supplies, including such items 
which may be defined as assistive technology and 
environmental modifications which are not covered under the 
State Plan but are medically necessary and cost effective for 
the individual's maintenance in the community, shall be 
covered. This service shall be provided by persons qualified 
to render it. Durable medical equipment and supplies shall be 
necessary to maintain the individual in the home 
environment. 

1. Medical equipment and supplies shall be prescribed by 
the attending physician and included in the plan of care, 
and must be generally recognized as serving a diagnostic 
or therapeutic purpose and being medically necessary for 
the home care of the individual. 

2. Vendors of durable medical equipment and supplies 
related to the technology upon which the individual is 
dependent shall have a contract with DMAS to provide 
services. 

3. In addition to providing the ventilator or other 
respiratory-deviced support and associated equipment and 
supplies, the vendor providing the ventilator shall ensure 
the following: 

a. 24 hour on-call for emergency services; 

b. Technicians to make regularly scheduled maintenance 
visits at least every 30 days and more often if called; 

c. Replacement or repair of equipment and supplies as 
required; and 

d. Respiratory therapist registered or certified with the 
National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) on call 24 
hours per day and stationed within two hours of the 
individual's home to facilitate immediate response. The 
respiratory therapist shall be available for routine 
respiratory therapy as well as emergency care. In the 
event that the Department of Health Professions 
implements through state law a regulation requiring 
registration, certification or licensure for respiratory 
therapists to practice in the Commonwealth, DMAS shall 
require all respiratory therapists providing services to this 
technology assisted population to be duly registered, 
licensed or certified. 

D. Provided that the cost-effectiveness standard shall not be 
exceeded, personal assistance services shall be covered for 
individuals over the age of 21 who require some assistance 
with activities of daily living and instrumental activities of 
daily living but do not require and are able to do without 
skilled interventions during portions of their day or are able to 
self perform a portion of their ADLs or IADLs or direct their 
skilled care needs during the period when personal assistance 
would be provided. Personal assistance services shall be 
rendered by a provider who has a DMAS provider agreement 
to provide personal care, home health care, and private duty 
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nursing. At a minimum, the staff providing personal 
assistance must have been certified through coursework as 
either personal care aides, home health aides, homemakers, 
personal care attendants, or registered or certified respiratory 
therapists. 

E. Assistive technology services shall be covered for 
individuals enrolled in the technology assisted waiver. 
12VAC30-120-762 provides the service description, criteria, 
service units and limitations, and provider requirements for 
this service. 

F. Environmental modifications services shall be covered for 
individuals enrolled in the technology assisted waiver. 
12VAC30-120-758 provides the service description, criteria, 
service units and limitations, and provider requirements for 
this service. 

G. Transition services shall be covered for individuals 
enrolled in the technology assisted waiver. 12VAC30-120-
2010 provides the service description, criteria, service units 
and limitations, and provider requirements for this service. 

Part III  
Home and Community-Based Services for Individuals with 
Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS) and AIDS-

Related Complex  

12VAC30-120-140. Definitions. 

"Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome" or "AIDS" means 
the most severe manifestation of infection with the Human 
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). The Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention (CDC) lists numerous opportunistic 
infections and cancers that, in the presence of HIV infection, 
constitute an AIDS diagnosis. 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADL" means personal care 
tasks, e.g., bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 
eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is part of determining appropriate 
level of care and service needs. 

"Agency-directed services" means services for which the 
provider agency is responsible for hiring, training, 
supervising, and firing of the staff. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge DMAS when 
it takes action or proposes to take action that will adversely 
affect, reduce, or terminate the receipt of benefits. 

"Assistive technology" means specialized medical 
equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 
appliances specified in the plan of care but not available 
under the State Plan for Medical Assistance that enable 
individuals to increase their abilities to perform activities of 
daily living, or to perceive, control, or communicate with the 
environment in which they live, or that are necessary to the 
proper functioning of the specialized equipment. 12VAC30-
120-762 provides the service description, criteria, service 

units and limitations, and provider requirements for this 
service. This service shall be available only to those AIDS 
waiver enrollees who are also enrolled in the Money Follows 
the Person demonstration program. 

"Asymptomatic" means without symptoms. This term is 
usually used in the HIV/AIDS literature to describe an 
individual who has a positive reaction to one of several tests 
for HIV antibodies but who shows no clinical symptoms of 
the disease. 

"Case management" means continuous reevaluation of need, 
monitoring of service delivery, revisions to the plan of care 
and coordination of services for individuals enrolled in the 
HIV/AIDS waiver. 

"Case manager" means the person who provides services to 
individuals who are enrolled in the waiver that enable the 
continuous assessment, coordination, and monitoring of the 
needs of the individuals who are enrolled in the waiver. The 
case manager must possess a combination of work experience 
and relevant education that indicates that the case manager 
possesses the knowledge, skills, and abilities at entry level, as 
established by the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
in 12VAC30-120-170 to conduct case management. 

"Cognitive impairment" means a severe deficit in mental 
capability that affects areas such as thought processes, 
problem solving, judgment, memory, or comprehension and 
that interferes with such things as reality orientation, ability to 
care for self, ability to recognize danger to self or others, or 
impulse control. 

"Consumer-directed services" means services for which the 
individual or family/caregiver is responsible for hiring, 
training, supervising, and firing of the staff. 

"Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitator" means the 
DMAS-enrolled provider who is responsible for supporting 
the individual and family/caregiver by ensuring the 
development and monitoring of the consumer-directed plan of 
care, providing employee management training, and 
completing ongoing review activities as required by DMAS 
for consumer-directed personal assistance and respite care 
services. The CD services facilitator cannot be the individual, 
the individual's case manager, direct service provider, spouse, 
or parent of the individual who is a minor child, or a 
family/caregiver who is responsible for employing the 
assistant. 

"Current functional status" means the degree of dependency 
in performing activities of daily living. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"DMAS-96 form" means the Medicaid Funded Long-Term 
Care Service Authorization Form, which is a part of the 
preadmission screening packet and must be completed by a 
Level One screener on a Preadmission Screening Team. It 
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designates the type of service the individual is eligible to 
receive. 

"DMAS-122 form" means the Patient Information Form 
used by the provider and the local DSS to exchange 
information regarding the responsibility of a Medicaid-
eligible individual to make payment toward the cost of 
services or other information that may affect the eligibility 
status of an individual. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Designated preauthorization contractor" means the entity 
that has been contracted by DMAS to perform 
preauthorization of services. 

"Enteral nutrition products" means enteral nutrition listed in 
the durable medical equipment manual that is prescribed by a 
physician to be necessary as the primary source of nutrition 
for the individual's health care plan (due to the prevalence of 
conditions of wasting, malnutrition, and dehydration) and not 
available through any other food program. 

"Environmental modifications" means physical adaptations 
to a house, place of residence, primary vehicle or work site, 
when the work site modification exceeds reasonable 
accommodation requirements of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (42 USC § 1201 et seq.), necessary to ensure 
the individuals' health and safety or enable functioning with 
greater independence when the adaptation is not being used to 
bring a substandard dwelling up to minimum habitation 
standards and is of direct medical or remedial benefit to 
individuals. 12VAC30-120-758 provides the service 
description, criteria, service units and limitations, and 
provider requirements for this service. This service shall be 
available only to those AIDS waiver enrollees who are also 
enrolled in the Money Follows the Person demonstration 
program. 

"Fiscal agent" means an agency or organization that may be 
contracted by DMAS to handle employment, payroll, and tax 
responsibilities on behalf of the individual who is receiving 
consumer-directed personal assistance services and 
consumer-directed respite services. 

"HIV-symptomatic" means having the diagnosis of HIV and 
having symptoms related to the HIV infection. 

"Home and community-based care" means a variety of in-
home and community-based services reimbursed by DMAS 
(case management, personal care, private duty nursing, 
respite care consumer-directed personal assistance, consumer-
directed respite care, and enteral nutrition products) 
authorized under a Social Security Act § 1915(c) AIDS 
Waiver designed to offer individuals an alternative to 
inpatient hospital or nursing facility placement. Individuals 
may be preauthorized to receive one or more of these services 
either solely or in combination, based on the documented 
need for the service or services to avoid inpatient hospital or 

nursing facility placement. DMAS, or the designated 
preauthorization contractor, shall give prior authorization for 
any Medicaid-reimbursed home and community-based care. 

"Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)" means the virus 
which leads to acquired immune deficiency syndrome 
(AIDS). The virus weakens the body's immune system and, in 
doing so, allows "opportunistic" infections and diseases to 
attack the body. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADL" means 
tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, 
laundry, and money management. 

"Participating provider" means an individual, institution, 
facility, agency, partnership, corporation, or association that 
has a valid contract with DMAS and meets the standards and 
requirements set forth by DMAS and has a current, signed 
provider participation agreement with DMAS to provide 
Medicaid waiver services. 

"Personal assistant" means a domestic servant for purposes 
of this part and exemption from Worker's Compensation. 

"Personal emergency response systems" or "PERS" means 
an electronic device and monitoring service that enable 
certain individuals at high risk of institutionalization to secure 
help in an emergency. PERS services are limited to those 
individuals who live alone or are alone for significant parts of 
the day and who have no regular caregiver for extended 
periods of time, and who would otherwise require extensive 
routine supervision. 12VAC30-120-970 provides the service 
description, criteria, service units and limitations, and 
provider requirements for this service. 

"Personal assistance services" or "PAS" means long-term 
maintenance or support services necessary to enable an 
individual to remain at or return home rather than enter an 
inpatient hospital or a nursing facility. Personal assistance 
services include care specific to the needs of a medically 
stable, physically disabled individual. Personal assistance 
services include, but are not limited to, assistance with ADLs, 
bowel/bladder programs, range of motion exercises, routine 
wound care that does not include sterile technique, and 
external catheter care. Supportive services are those that 
substitute for the absence, loss, diminution, or impairment of 
a physical function. When specified, supportive services may 
include assistance with IADLs that are incidental to the care 
furnished or that are essential to the health and welfare of the 
individual. Personal assistance services shall not include 
either practical or professional nursing services as defined in 
Chapters 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, as appropriate.  

"Personal care agency" means a participating provider that 
renders services designed to offer an alternative to 
institutionalization by providing eligible individuals with 
personal care aides who provide personal care services. 
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"Personal care services" means long-term maintenance or 
support services necessary to enable the individual to remain 
at or return home rather than enter an inpatient hospital or a 
nursing facility. Personal care services are provided to 
individuals in the areas of activities of daily living, 
instrumental activities of daily living, access to the 
community, monitoring of self-administered medications or 
other medical needs, and the monitoring of health status and 
physical condition. It shall be provided in home and 
community settings to enable an individual to maintain the 
health status and functional skills necessary to live in the 
community or participate in community activities. 

"Personal services" or "PAS" means long-term maintenance 
or support services necessary to enable an individual to 
remain at or return home rather than enter an inpatient 
hospital or a nursing facility. Personal assistance services 
include care specific to the needs of a medically stable, 
physically disabled individual. Personal assistance services 
include, but are not limited to, assistance with ADLs, 
bowel/bladder programs, range of motion exercises, routine 
wound care that does not include sterile technique, and 
external catheter care. Supportive services are those that 
substitute for the absence, loss, diminution, or impairment of 
a physical function. When specified, supportive services may 
include assistance with IADLs that are incidental to the care 
furnished or that are essential to the health and welfare of the 
individual. Personal assistance services shall not include 
either practical or professional nursing services as defined in 
§ 32.1-162.7 of the Code of Virginia and 12VAC5-381-360, 
as appropriate. 

"Plan of care" means the written plan developed by the 
provider related solely to the specific services required by the 
individual to ensure optimal health and safety for the delivery 
of home and community-based care. 

"Preadmission Screening Authorization Form" means a part 
of the preadmission screening packet that must be filled out 
by a Level One screener on a preadmission screening team. It 
gives preadmission authorization to the provider and the 
individual for Medicaid services, and designates the type of 
service the individual is authorized to receive. 

"Preadmission screening committee/team" or "PAS 
committee" or "PAS team" means the entity contracted with 
DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 
screening. For individuals in the community, this entity is a 
committee comprised of a nurse from the local health 
department and a social worker from the local department of 
social services. For individuals in an acute care facility who 
require preadmission screening, this entity is a team of 
nursing and social work staff. A physician must be a member 
of both the local committee and the acute care team.  

"Preadmission screening" or "PAS" means the process to (i) 
evaluate the functional, nursing, and social needs of 
individuals referred for preadmission screening; (ii) analyze 

what specific services the individuals need; (iii) evaluate 
whether a service or a combination of existing community 
services are available to meet the individuals' needs; and (iv) 
develop the service plan. 

"Preadmission screening committee/team" or "PAS 
committee" or "PAS team" means the entity contracted with 
DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 
screening. For individuals in the community, this entity is a 
committee comprised of a nurse from the local health 
department and a social worker from the local department of 
social services. For individuals in an acute care facility who 
require preadmission screening, this entity is a team of 
nursing and social work staff. A physician must be a member 
of both the local committee and the acute care team.  

"Private duty nursing" means individual and continuous 
nursing care provided by a registered nurse or a licensed 
practical nurse under the supervision of a registered nurse. 

"Program" means the Virginia Medicaid program as 
administered by DMAS. 

"Reconsideration" means the supervisory review of 
information submitted to DMAS or the designated 
preauthorization contractor in the event of a disagreement of 
an initial decision that is related to a denial in the 
reimbursement of services already rendered by a provider. 

"Respite care" means services specifically designed to 
provide a temporary, periodic relief to the primary caregiver 
of an individual who is incapacitated or dependent due to 
AIDS. Respite care services include assistance with personal 
hygiene, nutritional support and environmental maintenance 
authorized as either episodic, temporary relief or as a routine 
periodic relief of the caregiver. 

Consumer-directed respite care services may only be offered 
to individuals who have an unpaid primary caregiver who 
requires temporary relief to avoid institutionalization of the 
individual. Respite services are designed to focus on the need 
of the unpaid caregiver for temporary relief and to help 
prevent the breakdown of the unpaid caregiver due to the 
physical burden and emotional stress of providing continuous 
support and care to the individual. 

"Respite care agency" means a participating provider that 
renders services designed to prevent or reduce inappropriate 
institutional care by providing eligible individuals with 
respite care aides who provide respite care services. 

"Service plan" means the written plan of services certified 
by the PAS team physician as needed by the individual to 
ensure optimal health and safety for the delivery of home and 
community-based care. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" or "the 
State Plan" means the document containing the covered 
groups, covered services and their limitations, and provider 
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reimbursement methodologies as provided for under Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 
who are transitioning from an institution or licensed or 
certified provider-operated living arrangement to a living 
arrangement in a private residence where the person is 
directly responsible for his own living expenses. 12VAC30-
120-2010 provides the service description, criteria, service 
units and limitations, and provider requirements for this 
service. 

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 
standardized multidimensional questionnaire that assesses an 
individual's social, physical health, mental health, and 
functional abilities. 

Part IV 
Mental Retardation Waiver 

Article 1 
Definitions and General Requirements 

12VAC30-120-211. Definitions. 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADL" means personal care 
tasks, e.g., bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 
eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is a part of determining 
appropriate level of care and service needs. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge adverse 
actions regarding services, benefits and reimbursement 
provided by Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 
12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560.  

"Assistive technology" or "AT" means specialized medical 
equipment and supplies to include devices, controls, or 
appliances, specified in the consumer service plan but not 
available under the State Plan for Medical Assistance, which 
enable individuals to increase their abilities to perform 
activities of daily living, or to perceive, control, or 
communicate with the environment in which they live. This 
service also includes items necessary for life support, 
ancillary supplies and equipment necessary to the proper 
functioning of such items, and durable and nondurable 
medical equipment not available under the Medicaid State 
Plan. 

"Behavioral health authority" or "BHA" means the local 
agency, established by a city or county under Chapter 1 
(§ 37.2-100) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia that plans, 
provides, and evaluates mental health, mental retardation, and 
substance abuse services in the locality that it serves. 

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services, which is the unit of the federal Department of 
Health and Human Services that administers the Medicare 
and Medicaid programs. 

"Case management" means the assessing and planning of 
services; linking the individual to services and supports 
identified in the consumer service plan; assisting the 
individual directly for the purpose of locating, developing or 
obtaining needed services and resources; coordinating 
services and service planning with other agencies and 
providers involved with the individual; enhancing community 
integration; making collateral contacts to promote the 
implementation of the consumer service plan and community 
integration; monitoring to assess ongoing progress and 
ensuring services are delivered; and education and counseling 
that guides the individual and develops a supportive 
relationship that promotes the consumer service plan. 

"Case manager" means the individual on behalf of the 
community services board or behavioral health authority 
possessing a combination of mental retardation work 
experience and relevant education that indicates that the 
individual possesses the knowledge, skills and abilities as 
established by the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
in 12VAC30-50-450. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the local 
agency, established by a city or county or combination of 
counties or cities under Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 
37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that plans, provides, and 
evaluates mental health, mental retardation, and substance 
abuse services in the jurisdiction or jurisdictions it serves. 

"Companion" means, for the purpose of these regulations, a 
person who provides companion services. 

"Companion services" means nonmedical care, support, and 
socialization, provided to an adult (age 18 and over). The 
provision of companion services does not entail hands-on 
care. It is provided in accordance with a therapeutic goal in 
the consumer service plan and is not purely diversional in 
nature. 

"Comprehensive assessment" means the gathering of 
relevant social, psychological, medical and level of care 
information by the case manager and is used as a basis for the 
development of the consumer service plan. 

"Consumer-directed model" means services for which the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, is responsible for hiring, training, supervising, 
and firing of the staff. 

"Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitator" means the 
DMAS-enrolled provider who is responsible for supporting 
the individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, by ensuring the development and monitoring of 
the Consumer-Directed Services Individual Service Plan, 
providing employee management training, and completing 
ongoing review activities as required by DMAS for 
consumer-directed companion, personal assistance, and 
respite services. 
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"Consumer service plan" or "CSP" means documents 
addressing needs in all life areas of individuals who receive 
mental retardation waiver services, and is comprised of 
individual service plans as dictated by the individual's health 
care and support needs. The individual service plans are 
incorporated in the CSP by the case manager. 

"Crisis stabilization" means direct intervention to persons 
with mental retardation who are experiencing serious 
psychiatric or behavioral challenges that jeopardize their 
current community living situation, by providing temporary 
intensive services and supports that avert emergency 
psychiatric hospitalization or institutional placement or 
prevent other out-of-home placement. This service shall be 
designed to stabilize the individual and strengthen the current 
living situation so the individual can be supported in the 
community during and beyond the crisis period. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services. 

"DMHMRSAS" means the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"DMHMRSAS staff" means persons employed by the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services. 

"DRS" means the Department of Rehabilitative Services. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Day support" means training, assistance, and specialized 
supervision in the acquisition, retention, or improvement of 
self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills, which typically 
take place outside the home in which the individual resides. 
Day support services shall focus on enabling the individual to 
attain or maintain his maximum functional level. 

"Developmental risk" means the presence before, during or 
after an individual's birth of conditions typically identified as 
related to the occurrence of a developmental disability and for 
which no specific developmental disability is identifiable 
through existing diagnostic and evaluative criteria. 

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting directly or 
indirectly door-to-door, telephonic or other "cold call" 
marketing of services at residences and provider sites; (ii) 
mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees"; (iv) offering 
financial incentives, rewards, gifts or special opportunities to 
eligible individuals and the individual's family/caregivers, as 
appropriate, as inducements to use the providers' services; (v) 
continuous, periodic marketing activities to the same 
prospective individual and the individual's family/caregiver, 
as appropriate, for example, monthly, quarterly, or annual 
giveaways as inducements to use the providers' services; or 
(vi) engaging in marketing activities that offer potential 

customers rebates or discounts in conjunction with the use of 
the providers' services or other benefits as a means of 
influencing the individual's and the individual's 
family/caregiver's, as appropriate, use of the providers' 
services. 

"Enroll" means that the individual has been determined by 
the case manager to meet the eligibility requirements for the 
MR Waiver and DMHMRSAS has verified the availability of 
a MR Waiver slot for that individual, and DSS has 
determined the individual's Medicaid eligibility for home and 
community-based services. 

"Entrepreneurial model" means a small business employing 
eight or fewer individuals who have disabilities on a shift and 
usually involves interactions with the public and with 
coworkers without disabilities. 

"Environmental modifications" means physical adaptations 
to a house, place of residence, primary vehicle or work site 
(when the work site modification exceeds reasonable 
accommodation requirements of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act) that are necessary to ensure the individual's 
health and safety or enable functioning with greater 
independence when the adaptation is not being used to bring a 
substandard dwelling up to minimum habitation standards 
and is of direct medical or remedial benefit to the individual. 

"EPSDT" means the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment program administered by DMAS for children 
under the age of 21 according to federal guidelines that 
prescribe preventive and treatment services for Medicaid-
eligible children as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Fiscal agent" means an agency or organization within 
DMAS or contracted by DMAS to handle employment, 
payroll, and tax responsibilities on behalf of individuals who 
are receiving consumer-directed personal assistance, respite, 
and companion services. 

"Health Planning Region" or "HPR" means the federally 
designated geographical area within which health care needs 
assessment and planning takes place, and within which health 
care resource development is reviewed. 

"Health, welfare, and safety standard" means that an 
individual's right to receive a waiver service is dependent on a 
finding that the individual needs the service, based on 
appropriate assessment criteria and a written individual 
service plan and that services can safely be provided in the 
community. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 
services" means the range of community support services 
approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social Security Act to be 
offered to persons with mental retardation and children 
younger than age six who are at developmental risk who 
would otherwise require the level of care provided in an 
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Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded 
(ICF/MR.) 

"ICF/MR" means a facility or distinct part of a facility 
certified by the Virginia Department of Health, as meeting the 
federal certification regulations for an Intermediate Care 
Facility for the Mentally Retarded and persons with related 
conditions. These facilities must address the total needs of the 
residents, which include physical, intellectual, social, 
emotional, and habilitation, and must provide active 
treatment. 

"Individual" means the person receiving the services or 
evaluations established in these regulations. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the service plan 
related solely to the specific waiver service. Multiple ISPs 
help to comprise the overall consumer service plan. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 
tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, 
laundry, and money management. 

"ISAR" means the Individual Service Authorization Request 
and is the DMAS form used by providers to request prior 
authorization for MR waiver services. 

"Mental retardation" or "MR" means mental retardation a 
disability as defined by the American Association on Mental 
Retardation (AAMR) Intellectual and Developmental 
Disabilities (AAIDD). 

"Participating provider" means an entity that meets the 
standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and 
DMHMRSAS, and has a current, signed provider 
participation agreement with DMAS.  

"Pend" means delaying the consideration of an individual's 
request for services until all required information is received 
by DMHMRSAS. 

"Personal assistance services" means assistance with 
activities of daily living, instrumental activities of daily 
living, access to the community, self-administration of 
medication, or other medical needs, and the monitoring of 
health status and physical condition. 

"Personal assistant" means a person who provides personal 
assistance services. 

"Personal emergency response system (PERS)" is an 
electronic device that enables certain individuals at high risk 
of institutionalization to secure help in an emergency. PERS 
services are limited to those individuals who live alone or are 
alone for significant parts of the day and who have no regular 
caregiver for extended periods of time, and who would 
otherwise require extensive routine supervision. 

"Preauthorized" means that an individual service has been 
approved by DMHMRSAS prior to commencement of the 

service by the service provider for initiation and 
reimbursement of services. 

"Prevocational services" means services aimed at preparing 
an individual for paid or unpaid employment. The services do 
not include activities that are specifically job-task oriented 
but focus on concepts such as accepting supervision, 
attendance, task completion, problem solving and safety. 
Compensation, if provided, is less than 50% of the minimum 
wage.  

"Primary caregiver" means the primary person who 
consistently assumes the role of providing direct care and 
support of the individual to live successfully in the 
community without compensation for providing such care.  

"Qualified mental retardation professional" or "QMRP" 
means a professional possessing: (i) at least one year of 
documented experience working directly with individuals 
who have mental retardation or developmental disabilities; 
(ii) a bachelor's degree in a human services field including, 
but not limited to, sociology, social work, special education, 
rehabilitation counseling, or psychology; and (iii) the required 
Virginia or national license, registration, or certification in 
accordance with his profession, if applicable.  

"Residential support services" means support provided in the 
individual's home by a DMHMRSAS-licensed residential 
provider or a DSS-approved provider of adult foster care 
services. This service is one in which training, assistance, and 
supervision is routinely provided to enable individuals to 
maintain or improve their health, to develop skills in activities 
of daily living and safety in the use of community resources, 
to adapt their behavior to community and home-like 
environments, to develop relationships, and participate as 
citizens in the community.  

"Respite services" means services provided to individuals 
who are unable to care for themselves, furnished on a short-
term basis because of the absence or need for relief of those 
unpaid persons normally providing the care.  

"Services facilitator" means the DMAS-enrolled provider 
who is responsible for supporting the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, by ensuring the 
development and monitoring of the Consumer-Directed 
Services Individual Service Plan, providing employee 
management training, and completing ongoing review 
activities as required by DMAS for services with an option of 
a consumer-directed model. These services include 
companion, personal assistance, and respite services. 

"Skilled nursing services" means services that are ordered 
by a physician and required to prevent institutionalization, 
that are not otherwise available under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and that are provided by a licensed 
registered professional nurse, or by a licensed practical nurse 
under the supervision of a licensed registered professional 
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nurse, in each case who is licensed to practice in the 
Commonwealth. 

"Slot" means an opening or vacancy of waiver services for 
an individual. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "Plan" means the 
Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 
identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 
limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 
provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Supported employment" means work in settings in which 
persons without disabilities are typically employed. It 
includes training in specific skills related to paid employment 
and the provision of ongoing or intermittent assistance and 
specialized supervision to enable an individual with mental 
retardation to maintain paid employment.  

"Support plan" means the report of recommendations 
resulting from a therapeutic consultation.  

"Therapeutic consultation" means activities to assist the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, staff of residential support, day support, and any 
other providers in implementing an individual service plan. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 
who are transitioning from an institution or licensed or 
certified provider-operated living arrangement to a living 
arrangement in a private residence where the person is 
directly responsible for his own living expenses. 12VAC30-
120-2010 provides the service description, criteria, service 
units and limitations, and provider requirements for this 
service. 

12VAC30-120-213. General coverage and requirements 
for MR waiver services. 

A. Waiver service populations. Home and community-based 
waiver services shall be available through a § 1915(c) of the 
Social Security Act waiver for the following individuals who 
have been determined to require the level of care provided in 
an ICF/MR. 

1. Individuals with mental retardation; or 

2. Individuals younger than the age of six who are at 
developmental risk. At the age of six years, these 
individuals must have a diagnosis of mental retardation to 
continue to receive home and community-based waiver 
services specifically under this program. Mental 
Retardation (MR) Waiver recipients who attain the age of 
six years of age, who are determined to not have a 
diagnosis of mental retardation, and who meet all IFDDS 
Waiver eligibility criteria, shall be eligible for transfer to 
the IFDDS Waiver effective up to their seventh birthday. 
Psychological evaluations (or standardized developmental 
assessment for children under six years of age) confirming 
diagnoses must be completed less than one year prior to 

transferring to the IFDDS Waiver. These recipients 
transferring from the MR Waiver will automatically be 
assigned a slot in the IFDDS Waiver, subject to the 
approval of the slot by CMS. The case manager will 
submit the current Level of Functioning Survey, CSP and 
psychological evaluation (or standardized developmental 
assessment for children under six years of age) to DMAS 
for review. Upon determination by DMAS that the 
individual is appropriate for transfer to the IFDDS Waiver, 
the case manager will provide the family with a list of 
IFDDS Waiver case managers. The case manager will 
work with the selected IFDDS Waiver case manager to 
determine an appropriate transfer date and submit a 
DMAS-122 to the local DSS. The MR Waiver slot will be 
held by the CSB until the child has successfully 
transitioned to the IFDDS Waiver. Once the child has 
successfully transitioned, the CSB will reallocate the slot. 

B. Covered services. 

1. Covered services shall include: residential support 
services, day support, supported employment, personal 
assistance (both consumer-directed and agency-directed), 
respite services (both consumer-directed and agency-
directed), assistive technology, environmental 
modifications, skilled nursing services, therapeutic 
consultation, crisis stabilization, prevocational services, 
personal emergency response systems (PERS), and 
companion services (both consumer-directed and agency-
directed.), and transition services. 

2. These services shall be appropriate and necessary to 
maintain the individual in the community. Federal waiver 
requirements provide that the average per capita fiscal year 
expenditures under the waiver must not exceed the average 
per capita expenditures for the level of care provided in 
Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded an 
ICF/MR under the State Plan that would have been 
provided had the waiver not been granted. 

3. Waiver services shall not be furnished to individuals 
who are inpatients of a hospital, nursing facility, ICF/MR, 
or inpatient rehabilitation facility. Individuals with mental 
retardation who are inpatients of these facilities may 
receive case management services as described in 
12VAC30-50-450. The case manager may recommend 
waiver services that would promote exiting from the 
institutional placement; however, these services shall not 
be provided until the individual has exited the institution. 

4. Under this § 1915(c) waiver, DMAS waives § 
1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act related to 
comparability. 

C. Requests for increased services. All requests for 
increased waiver services by MR Waiver recipients will be 
reviewed under the health, welfare, and safety standard. This 
standard assures that an individual's right to receive a waiver 
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service is dependent on a finding that the individual needs the 
service, based on appropriate assessment criteria and a written 
ISP and that services can safely be provided in the 
community. 

D. Appeals. Individual appeals shall be considered pursuant 
to 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. Provider 
appeals shall be considered pursuant to 12VAC30-10-1000 
and 12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560. 

E. Urgent criteria. The CSB/BHA will determine, from 
among the individuals included in the urgent category, who 
should be served first, based on the needs of the individual at 
the time a slot becomes available and not on any 
predetermined numerical or chronological order. 

1. The urgent category will be assigned when the 
individual is in need of services because he is determined 
to meet one of the criteria established in subdivision 2 of 
this subsection and services are needed within 30 days. 
Assignment to the urgent category may be requested by the 
individual, his legally responsible relative, or primary 
caregiver. The urgent category may be assigned only when 
the individual, the individual's spouse, or the parent of an 
individual who is a minor child would accept the requested 
service if it were offered. Only after all individuals in the 
Commonwealth who meet the urgent criteria have been 
served can individuals in the nonurgent category be served. 
Individuals in the nonurgent category are those who meet 
the diagnostic and functional criteria for the waiver, 
including the need for services within 30 days, but who do 
not meet the urgent criteria. In the event that a CSB/BHA 
has a vacant slot and does not have an individual who 
meets the urgent criteria, the slot can be held by the 
CSB/BHA for 90 days from the date it is identified as 
vacant, in case someone in an urgent situation is identified. 
If no one meeting the urgent criteria is identified within 90 
days, the slot will be made available for allocation to 
another CSB/BHA in the Health Planning Region (HPR). 
If there is no urgent need at the time that the HPR is to 
make a regional reallocation of a waiver slot, the HPR 
shall notify DMHMRSAS. DMHMRSAS shall have the 
authority to reallocate said slot to another HPR or 
CSB/BHA where there is unmet urgent need. Said 
authority must be exercised, if at all, within 30 days from 
receiving such notice. 

2. Satisfaction of one or more of the following criteria shall 
indicate that the individual should be placed on the urgent 
need of waiver services list: 

a. Both primary caregivers are 55 years of age or older, 
or if there is one primary caregiver, that primary 
caregiver is 55 years of age or older; 

b. The individual is living with a primary caregiver, who 
is providing the service voluntarily and without pay, and 

the primary caregiver indicates that he can no longer care 
for the individual with mental retardation; 

c. There is a clear risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; 

d. A primary caregiver has a chronic or long-term 
physical or psychiatric condition or conditions which 
significantly limits the abilities of the primary caregiver 
or caregivers to care for the individual with mental 
retardation; 

e. Individual is aging out of publicly funded residential 
placement or otherwise becoming homeless (exclusive of 
children who are graduating from high school); or 

f. The individual with mental retardation lives with the 
primary caregiver and there is a risk to the health or 
safety of the individual, primary caregiver, or other 
individual living in the home due to either of the 
following conditions: 

(1) The individual's behavior or behaviors present a risk 
to himself or others which cannot be effectively managed 
by the primary caregiver even with generic or specialized 
support arranged or provided by the CSB/BHA; or 

(2) There are physical care needs (such as lifting or 
bathing) or medical needs that cannot be managed by the 
primary caregiver even with generic or specialized 
supports arranged or provided by the CSB/BHA. 

F. Reevaluation of service need and utilization review. Case 
managers shall complete reviews and updates of the CSP and 
level of care as specified in 12VAC30-120-215 D. Providers 
shall meet the documentation requirements as specified in 
12VAC30-120-217 B. 

12VAC30-120-225. Consumer-directed model of service 
delivery. 

A. Criteria. 

1. The MR Waiver has three services, companion, personal 
assistance, and respite, which that may be provided 
through a consumer-directed model. 

2. Individuals who choose the consumer-directed model 
must have the capability to hire and, train, and fire their 
own personal assistants assistant or companions 
companion and supervise the assistant's or companion's 
performance. If an individual is unable to direct his own 
care or is under 18 years of age, a family/caregiver may 
serve as the employer on behalf of the individual. 

3. The individual, or if the individual is unable, then 
family/caregiver, shall be the employer in this service, and 
therefore shall be responsible for hiring, training, 
supervising, and firing assistants and companions. Specific 
employer duties include checking of references of personal 
assistants/companions, determining that personal 
assistants/companions meet basic qualifications, training 
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assistants/companions, supervising the 
assistant's/companion's performance, and submitting 
timesheets to the fiscal agent on a consistent and timely 
basis. The individual and the individual's family/caregiver, 
as appropriate, must have a back-up plan in case the 
assistant/companion does not show up for work as 
expected or terminates employment without prior notice. 

4. Individuals choosing consumer-directed models of 
service delivery must receive support from a CD services 
facilitator. This is not a separate waiver service, but is 
required in conjunction with consumer-directed personal 
assistance, respite, or companion services. The CD services 
facilitator will be responsible for assessing the individual's 
particular needs for a requested CD service, assisting in the 
development of the ISP, providing training to the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, on his responsibilities as an employer, and 
providing ongoing support of the consumer-directed 
models of services. The CD services facilitator cannot be 
the individual, the individual's case manager, direct service 
provider, spouse, or parent of the individual who is a minor 
child, or a family/caregiver employing the 
assistant/companion. If an individual enrolled in consumer-
directed services has a lapse in services facilitator for more 
than 90 consecutive days, the case manager must notify 
DMHMRSAS and the consumer-directed services will be 
discontinued. 

5. DMAS shall provide for fiscal agent services for 
consumer-directed personal assistance services, consumer-
directed companion services, and consumer-directed 
respite services. The fiscal agent will be reimbursed by 
DMAS to perform certain tasks as an agent for the 
individual/employer who is receiving consumer-directed 
services. The fiscal agent will handle the responsibilities of 
employment taxes for the individual. The fiscal agent will 
seek and obtain all necessary authorizations and approvals 
of the Internal Revenue Services in order to fulfill all of 
these duties.  

B. Provider qualifications. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
services participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-
120-217 and 12VAC30-120-219, the CD services facilitator 
must meet the following qualifications:  

1. To be enrolled as a Medicaid CD services facilitator and 
maintain provider status, the CD services facilitator shall 
have sufficient resources to perform the required activities. 
In addition, the CD services facilitator must have the 
ability to maintain and retain business and professional 
records sufficient to document fully and accurately the 
nature, scope, and details of the services provided.  

2. It is preferred that the CD services facilitator possess a 
minimum of an undergraduate degree in a human services 
field or be a registered nurse currently licensed to practice 

in the Commonwealth. In addition, it is preferable that the 
CD services facilitator have two years of satisfactory 
experience in a human service field working with persons 
with mental retardation. The facilitator must possess a 
combination of work experience and relevant education 
that indicates possession of the following knowledge, 
skills, and abilities. Such knowledge, skills, and abilities 
must be documented on the provider's application form, 
found in supporting documentation, or be observed during 
a job interview. Observations during the interview must be 
documented. The knowledge, skills, and abilities include:  

a. Knowledge of:  

(1) Types of functional limitations and health problems 
that may occur in persons with mental retardation, or 
persons with other disabilities, as well as strategies to 
reduce limitations and health problems;  

(2) Physical assistance that may be required by people 
with mental retardation, such as transferring, bathing 
techniques, bowel and bladder care, and the approximate 
time those activities normally take;  

(3) Equipment and environmental modifications that may 
be required by people with mental retardation that reduce 
the need for human help and improve safety;  

(4) Various long-term care program requirements, 
including nursing home and ICF/MR placement criteria, 
Medicaid waiver services, and other federal, state, and 
local resources that provide personal assistance, respite, 
and companion services;  

(5) MR waiver requirements, as well as the 
administrative duties for which the services facilitator 
will be responsible;  

(6) Conducting assessments (including environmental, 
psychosocial, health, and functional factors) and their 
uses in service planning;  

(7) Interviewing techniques;  

(8) The individual's right to make decisions about, direct 
the provisions of, and control his consumer-directed 
personal assistance, companion and respite services, 
including hiring, training, managing, approving time 
sheets, and firing an assistant/companion; 

(9) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 
relationships; and  

(10) General principles of record documentation.  

b. Skills in:  

(1) Negotiating with individuals and the individual's 
family/caregivers, as appropriate, and service providers;  

(2) Assessing, supporting, observing, recording, and 
reporting behaviors;  
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(3) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 
individuals with mental retardation; and  

(4) Identifying services within the established services 
system to meet the individual's needs.  

c. Abilities to:  

(1) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 
either in writing or an alternative format for individuals 
who have visual impairments;  

(2) Demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and 
their families;  

(3) Be persistent and remain objective;  

(4) Work independently, performing position duties 
under general supervision;  

(5) Communicate effectively, orally and in writing; and  

(6) Develop a rapport and communicate with persons of 
diverse cultural backgrounds.  

3. If the CD services facilitator is not a RN, the CD 
services facilitator must inform the primary health care 
provider that services are being provided and request 
skilled nursing or other consultation as needed. 

4. Initiation of services and service monitoring.  

a. For consumer-directed services, the CD services 
facilitator must make an initial comprehensive home visit 
to collaborate with the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, to identify the needs, 
assist in the development of the ISP with the individual 
and the individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, and 
provide employee management training. The initial 
comprehensive home visit is done only once upon the 
individual's entry into the consumer-directed model of 
service regardless of the number or type of consumer-
directed services that an individual chooses to receive. If 
an individual changes CD services facilitators, the new 
CD services facilitator must complete a reassessment 
visit in lieu of a comprehensive visit.  

b. After the initial visit, the CD services facilitator will 
continue to monitor the companion, or personal assistant 
ISP quarterly and on an as-needed basis. The CD services 
facilitator will review the utilization of consumer-
directed respite services, either every six months or upon 
the use of 300 respite services hours, whichever comes 
first. 

c. A face-to-face meeting with the individual must be 
conducted at least every six months to reassess the 
individual's needs and to ensure appropriateness of any 
CD services received by the individual. 

5. During visits with the individual, the CD services 
facilitator must observe, evaluate, and consult with the 

individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, and document the adequacy and 
appropriateness of consumer-directed services with regard 
to the individual's current functioning and cognitive status, 
medical needs, and social needs. 

6. The CD services facilitator must be available to the 
individual by telephone. 

7. The CD services facilitator must submit a criminal 
record check pertaining to the assistant/companion on 
behalf of the individual and report findings of the criminal 
record check to the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, and the program's fiscal 
agent. If the individual is a minor, the assistant/companion 
must also be screened through the DSS Child Protective 
Services Central Registry. Assistants/companions will not 
be reimbursed for services provided to the individual 
effective the date that the criminal record check confirms 
an assistant/companion has been found to have been 
convicted of a crime as described in § 37.2-416 of the 
Code of Virginia or if the assistant/companion has a 
confirmed record on the DSS Child Protective Services 
Central Registry. The criminal record check and DSS 
Child Protective Services Central Registry finding must be 
requested by the CD services facilitator within 15 calendar 
days of employment. The services facilitator must maintain 
evidence that a criminal record check was obtained and 
must make such evidence available for DMAS review.  

8. The CD services facilitator shall review timesheets 
during the face-to-face visits or more often as needed to 
ensure that the number of ISP-approved hours is not 
exceeded. If discrepancies are identified, the CD services 
facilitator must discuss these with the individual to resolve 
discrepancies and must notify the fiscal agent.  

9. The CD services facilitator must maintain a list of 
persons who are available to provide consumer-directed 
personal assistance, consumer-directed companion, or 
consumer-directed respite services. 

10. The CD services facilitator must maintain records of 
each individual as described in 12VAC30-120-217, 
12VAC30-120-223, and 12VAC30-120-233. 

11. Upon the individual's request, the CD services 
facilitator shall provide the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, with a list of persons who 
can provide temporary assistance until the 
assistant/companion returns or the individual is able to 
select and hire a new personal assistant/companion. If an 
individual is consistently unable to hire and retain the 
employment of an assistant/companion to provide 
consumer-directed personal assistance, companion, or 
respite services, the CD services facilitator will make 
arrangements with the case manager to have the services 
transferred to an agency-directed services provider or to 
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discuss with the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, other service options. 

12VAC30-120-229. Day support services. 

A. Service description. Day support services shall include a 
variety of training, assistance, support, and specialized 
supervision for the acquisition, retention, or improvement of 
self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills. These services are 
typically offered in a nonresidential setting that allows peer 
interactions and community and social integration.  

B. Criteria. For day support services, individuals must 
demonstrate the need for functional training, assistance, and 
specialized supervision offered primarily in settings other 
than the individual's own residence that allows an opportunity 
for being productive and contributing members of 
communities.  

C. Types of day support. The amount and type of day 
support included in the individual's service plan is determined 
according to the services required for that individual. There 
are two types of day support: center-based, which is provided 
primarily at one location/building, or noncenter-based, which 
is provided primarily in community settings. Both types of 
day support may be provided at either intensive or regular 
levels.  

D. Levels of day support. There are two levels of day 
support, intensive and regular. To be authorized at the 
intensive level, the individual must meet at least one of the 
following criteria: (i) requires physical assistance to meet the 
basic personal care needs (toileting, feeding, etc); (ii) has 
extensive disability-related difficulties and requires 
additional, ongoing support to fully participate in 
programming and to accomplish his service goals; or (iii) 
requires extensive constant supervision to reduce or eliminate 
behaviors that preclude full participation in the program. In 
this case, written behavioral objectives are required to address 
behaviors such as, but not limited to, withdrawal, self-injury, 
aggression, or self-stimulation.  

E. Service units and service limitations. Day support 
services are billed in units. Units shall be defined as: 
according to the DMAS fee schedule. 

1. One unit is 1 to 3.99 hours of service a day.  

2. Two units are 4 to 6.99 hours of service a day.  

3. Three units are 7 or more hours of service a day. 

Day support cannot be regularly or temporarily provided in 
an individual's home or other residential setting (e.g., due to 
inclement weather or individual illness) without prior written 
approval from DMHMRSAS. Noncenter-based day support 
services must be separate and distinguishable from either 
residential support services or personal assistance services. 
There must be separate supporting documentation for each 
service and each must be clearly differentiated in 

documentation and corresponding billing. The supporting 
documentation must provide an estimate of the amount of day 
support required by the individual. Service providers are 
reimbursed only for the amount and level of day support 
services included in the individual's approved ISP based on 
the setting, intensity, and duration of the service to be 
delivered. This service shall be limited to 780 units, or its 
equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per CSP year. If 
this service is used in combination with prevocational and/or 
group supported employment services, the combined total 
units for these services cannot exceed 780 units, or its 
equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per CSP year. 

F. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, day support providers need to meet 
additional requirements. 

1. The provider of day support services must be licensed 
by DMHMRSAS as a provider of day support services. 

2. In addition to licensing requirements, day support staff 
must also have training in the characteristics of mental 
retardation and appropriate interventions, training 
strategies, and support methods for persons with mental 
retardation and functional limitations. All providers of day 
support services must pass an objective, standardized test 
of skills, knowledge, and abilities approved by 
DMHMRSAS and administered according to 
DMHMRSAS' defined procedures. 

3. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider must maintain records of each individual 
receiving services. At a minimum, these records must 
contain the following: 

a. A functional assessment conducted by the provider to 
evaluate each individual in the day support environment 
and community settings. 

b. An ISP that contains, at a minimum, the following 
elements: 

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports and training needs;  

(2) The individual's goals and measurable objectives to 
meet the above identified outcomes;  

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives;  

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives as appropriate;  

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and  
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(6) The provider staff responsible for the overall 
coordination and integration of the services specified in 
the ISP.  

c. Documentation confirming the individual's attendance 
and amount of time in services and specific information 
regarding the individual's response to various settings 
and supports as agreed to in the ISP objectives. An 
attendance log or similar document must be maintained 
that indicates the date, type of services rendered, and the 
number of hours and units, or their equivalent under the 
DMAS fee schedule, provided. 

d. Documentation indicating whether the services were 
center-based or noncenter-based.  

e. Documentation regarding transportation. In instances 
where day support staff are required to ride with the 
individual to and from day support, the day support staff 
time can be billed as day support, provided that the 
billing for this time does not exceed 25% of the total time 
spent in the day support activity for that day. 
Documentation must be maintained to verify that billing 
for day support staff coverage during transportation does 
not exceed 25% of the total time spent in the day support 
for that day.  

f. If intensive day support services are requested, 
documentation indicating the specific supports and the 
reasons they are needed. For ongoing intensive day 
support services, there must be clear documentation of 
the ongoing needs and associated staff supports. 

g. Documentation indicating that the ISP goals, 
objectives, and activities have been reviewed by the 
provider quarterly, annually, and more often as needed. 
The results of the review must be submitted to the case 
manager. For the annual review and in cases where the 
ISP is modified, the ISP must be reviewed with the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate. 

h. Copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
form. The provider must clearly document efforts to 
obtain the completed DMAS-122 form from the case 
manager. 

12VAC30-120-237. Prevocational services. 

A. Service description. Prevocational services are services 
aimed at preparing an individual for paid or unpaid 
employment, but are not job-task oriented. Prevocational 
services are provided to individuals who are not expected to 
be able to join the general work force without supports or to 
participate in a transitional sheltered workshop within one 
year of beginning waiver services, (excluding supported 
employment programs). Activities included in this service are 
not primarily directed at teaching specific job skills but at 

underlying habilitative goals such as accepting supervision, 
attendance, task completion, problem solving, and safety. 

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for prevocational services, the 
individual shall have a demonstrated need for support in skills 
that are aimed toward preparation of paid employment that 
may be offered in a variety of community settings. 

C. Service units and service limitations. Billing is for one 
unit of service in accordance with the DMAS fee schedule. 

1. Units shall be defined as:  

a. One unit is 1 to 3.99 hours of service a day.  

b. Two units are 4 to 6.99 hours of service a day.  

c. Three units are 7 or more hours of service a day.  

1. This service is limited to 780 units, or its equivalent 
under the DMAS fee schedule, per CSP year. If this service 
is used in combination with day support and /or group-
supported employment services, the combined total units 
for these services cannot exceed 780 units, or its equivalent 
under the DMAS fee schedule, per CSP year. 

2. Prevocational services can be provided in center- or 
noncenter-based settings. Center-based means services are 
provided primarily at one location/building and noncenter-
based means services are provided primarily in community 
settings. Both center-based or noncenter-based 
prevocational services may be provided at either regular or 
intensive levels. 

3. Prevocational services can be provided at either a 
regular or intensive level. For prevocational services to be 
authorized at the intensive level, the individual must meet 
at least one of the following criteria: (i) require physical 
assistance to meet the basic personal care needs (toileting, 
feeding, etc); (ii) have extensive disability-related 
difficulties and require additional, ongoing support to fully 
participate in programming and to accomplish service 
goals; or (iii) require extensive constant supervision to 
reduce or eliminate behaviors that preclude full 
participation in the program. In this case, written 
behavioral objectives are required to address behaviors 
such as, but not limited to, withdrawal, self-injury, 
aggression, or self-stimulation. 

4. There must be documentation regarding whether 
prevocational services are available in vocational 
rehabilitation agencies through § 110 of the Rehabilitation 
Act of 1973 or through the Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA). If the individual is not eligible for 
services through the IDEA, documentation is required only 
for lack of DRS funding. When services are provided 
through these sources, the ISP shall not authorize them as a 
waiver expenditure. 
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5. Prevocational services can only be provided when the 
individual's compensation is less than 50% of the 
minimum wage. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
services participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-
120-217 and 12VAC30-120-219, prevocational providers 
must also meet the following qualifications: 

1. The provider of prevocational services must be a vendor 
of extended employment services, long-term employment 
services, or supported employment services for DRS, or be 
licensed by DMHMRSAS as a provider of day support 
services. 

2. Providers must ensure and document that persons 
providing prevocational services have training in the 
characteristics of mental retardation and appropriate 
interventions, training strategies, and support methods for 
persons with mental retardation and functional limitations. 
All providers of prevocational services must pass an 
objective, standardized test of skills, knowledge, and 
abilities approved by DMHMRSAS and administered 
according to DMHMRSAS' defined procedures. 

3. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider must maintain a record regarding each individual 
receiving prevocational services. At a minimum, the 
records must contain the following: 

a. A functional assessment conducted by the provider to 
evaluate each individual in the prevocational 
environment and community settings. 

b. An ISP, which contains, at a minimum, the following 
elements: 

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports, and training needs; 

(2) The individual's goals and measurable objectives to 
meet the above identified outcomes; 

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives;  

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives; 

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and 

(6) The provider staff responsible for the overall 
coordination and integration of the services specified in 
the ISP. 

c. Documentation indicating that the ISP goals, 
objectives, and activities have been reviewed by the 
provider quarterly, annually, and more often as needed, 
modified as appropriate, and that the results of these 
reviews have been submitted to the case manager. For the 

annual review and in cases where the ISP is modified, the 
ISP must be reviewed with the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate. 

d. Documentation confirming the individual's attendance, 
amount of time spent in services, and type of services 
rendered, and specific information regarding the 
individual's response to various settings and supports as 
agreed to in the ISP objectives. An attendance log or 
similar document must be maintained that indicates the 
date, type of services rendered, and the number of hours 
and units, or their equivalent under the DMAS fee 
schedule, provided. 

e. Documentation indicating whether the services were 
center-based or noncenter-based. 

f. Documentation regarding transportation. In instances 
where prevocational staff are required to ride with the 
individual to and from prevocational services, the 
prevocational staff time can be billed for prevocational 
services, provided that billing for this time does not 
exceed 25% of the total time spent in prevocational 
services for that day. Documentation must be maintained 
to verify that billing for prevocational staff coverage 
during transportation does not exceed 25% of the total 
time spent in the prevocational services for that day.  

g. If intensive prevocational services are requested, 
documentation indicating the specific supports and the 
reasons they are needed. For ongoing intensive 
prevocational services, there must be clear 
documentation of the ongoing needs and associated staff 
supports.  

h. Documentation indicating whether prevocational 
services are available in vocational rehabilitation 
agencies through § 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 
or through the Individuals with Disabilities Education 
Act (IDEA). 

i. A copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122. 
The provider must clearly document efforts to obtain the 
completed DMAS-122 form from the case manager. 

12VAC30-120-247. Supported employment services. 

A. Service description. 

1. Supported employment services are provided in work 
settings where persons without disabilities are employed. It 
is especially designed for individuals with developmental 
disabilities, including individuals with mental retardation, 
who face severe impediments to employment due to the 
nature and complexity of their disabilities, irrespective of 
age or vocational potential. 

2. Supported employment services are available to 
individuals for whom competitive employment at or above 
the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing supports 
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and who because of their disability need ongoing support 
to perform in a work setting. 

3. Supported employment can be provided in one of two 
models. Individual supported employment shall be defined 
as intermittent support, usually provided one-on-one by [ a 
job coach an employment assistant as defined in 
12VAC30-120-211 ] to an individual in a supported 
employment position. Group supported employment shall 
be defined as continuous support provided by staff to eight 
or fewer individuals with disabilities in an enclave, work 
crew, bench work, or entrepreneurial model. The 
individual's assessment and CSP must clearly reflect the 
individual's need for training and supports. 

B. Criteria. 

1. Only job development tasks that specifically include the 
individual are allowable job search activities under the MR 
waiver supported employment and only after determining 
this service is not available from DRS. 

2. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall 
have demonstrated that competitive employment at or 
above the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing 
supports, and that because of his disability, he needs 
ongoing support to perform in a work setting. 

3. A functional assessment must be conducted to evaluate 
the individual in his work environment and related 
community settings. 

4. The ISP must document the amount of supported 
employment required by the individual. Service providers 
are reimbursed only for the amount and type of supported 
employment included in the individual's ISP based on the 
intensity and duration of the service delivered. 

C. Service units and service limitations. 

1. Supported employment for individual job placement is 
provided in one hour units. This service is limited to 40 
hours per week. 

2. Group models of supported employment (enclaves, work 
crews, bench work and entrepreneurial model of supported 
employment) will be billed at the unit rate. For group 
models of supported employment, units shall be defined as: 
according to the DMAS fee schedule. 

a. One unit is 1 to 3.99 hours of service a day.  

b. Two units are 4 to 6.99 hours of service a day.  

c. Three units are 7 or more hours of service a day. 

This service is limited to 780 units, or its equivalent under 
the DMAS fee schedule, per CSP year. If this service is 
used in combination with prevocational and day support 
services, the combined total units for these services cannot 
exceed 780 units, or its equivalent under the DMAS fee 
schedule, per CSP year. 

3. For the individual job placement model, reimbursement 
of supported employment will be limited to actual 
documented interventions or collateral contacts by the 
provider, not the amount of time the individual is in the 
supported employment situation. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, supported employment provider 
qualifications include: 

1. Supported Group and agency-directed individual 
supported employment shall be provided only by agencies 
that are DRS vendors of supported employment services; 

2. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider must maintain a record regarding each individual 
receiving supported employment services. At a minimum, 
the records must contain the following:  

a. A functional assessment conducted by the provider to 
evaluate each individual in the supported employment 
environment and related community settings. 

b. Documentation indicating individual ineligibility for 
supported employment services through DRS or IDEA. If 
the individual is not eligible through IDEA, 
documentation is required only for the lack of DRS 
funding; 

c. An ISP that contains, at a minimum, the following 
elements: 

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, 
required/desired supports and training needs; 

(2) The individual's goals and, for a training goal, a 
sequence of measurable objectives to meet the above 
identified outcomes; 

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives; 

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives; 

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and 

(6) Provider staff responsible for the overall coordination 
and integration of the services specified in the plan. 

d. The ISP goals, objectives, and activities must be 
reviewed by the provider quarterly, annually, and more 
often as needed, modified as appropriate, and the results 
of these reviews submitted to the case manager. For the 
annual review and in cases where the ISP is modified, the 
ISP must be reviewed with the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate. 
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e. In instances where supported employment staff are 
required to ride with the individual to and from supported 
employment activities, the supported employment staff 
time can be billed for supported employment provided 
that the billing for this time does not exceed 25% of the 
total time spent in supported employment for that day. 
Documentation must be maintained to verify that billing 
for supported employment staff coverage during 
transportation does not exceed 25% of the total time 
spent in supported employment for that day. 

f. There must be a copy of the completed DMAS-122 in 
the record. Providers must clearly document efforts to 
obtain the DMAS-122 form from the case manager. 

Part VIII 
Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities Support 

Waiver 

Article 1 
General Requirements 

12VAC30-120-700. Definitions. 

"Activities of daily living (ADL)" means personal care 
tasks, e.g., bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 
eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is a part of determining 
appropriate level of care and services. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge adverse 
actions regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement 
provided by Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110, Eligibility 
and Appeals, and 12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-
560. 

"Assistive technology" means specialized medical 
equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 
appliances specified in the plan of care but not available 
under the State Plan for Medical Assistance that enable 
individuals to increase their abilities to perform activities of 
daily living, or to perceive, control, or communicate with the 
environment in which they live, or that are necessary to the 
proper functioning of the specialized equipment. 

"Behavioral health authority" or "BHA" means the local 
agency, established by a city or county or a combination of 
counties or cities or cities and counties under Chapter 6 (§ 
37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that 
plans, provides, and evaluates mental health, mental 
retardation, and substance abuse services in the jurisdiction or 
jurisdictions it serves. 

"CARF" means the Rehabilitation Accreditation 
Commission, formerly known as the Commission on 
Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities. 

"Case management" means services as defined in 
12VAC30-50-490. 

"Case manager" means the provider of case management 
services as defined in 12VAC30-50-490. 

"Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services" or "CMS" 
means the unit of the federal Department of Health and 
Human Services that administers the Medicare and Medicaid 
programs. 

"Community-based waiver services" or "waiver services" 
means a variety of home and community-based services paid 
for by DMAS as authorized under a § 1915(c) waiver 
designed to offer individuals an alternative to 
institutionalization. Individuals may be preauthorized to 
receive one or more of these services either solely or in 
combination, based on the documented need for the service or 
services to avoid ICF/MR placement. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the local 
agency established by a city or county or combination of 
counties or cities, or cities and counties, under Chapter 5 (§ 
37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that 
plans, provides, and evaluates mental health, mental 
retardation, and substance abuse services in the jurisdiction or 
jurisdictions it serves. 

"Companion" means, for the purpose of these regulations, a 
person who provides companion services. 

"Companion services" means nonmedical care, supervision 
and socialization provided to an adult (age 18 and older). The 
provision of companion services does not entail hands-on 
care. It is provided in accordance with a therapeutic goal in 
the plan of care and is not purely diversional in nature. 

"Consumer-directed employee" means, for purposes of these 
regulations, a person who provides consumer-directed 
services, personal care, companion services, and/or respite 
care, who is also exempt from workers' compensation. 

"Consumer-directed services" means personal care, 
companion services, and/or respite care services where the 
individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, is 
responsible for hiring, training, supervising, and firing of the 
employee or employees. 

"Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitator" means the 
provider enrolled with DMAS who is responsible for 
management training and review activities as required by 
DMAS for consumer-directed services. 

"Crisis stabilization" means direct intervention for persons 
with related conditions who are experiencing serious 
psychiatric or behavioral challenges, or both, that jeopardize 
their current community living situation. This service must 
provide temporary intensive services and supports that avert 
emergency psychiatric hospitalization or institutional 
placement or prevent other out-of-home placement. This 
service shall be designed to stabilize individuals and 
strengthen the current living situations so that individuals 
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may be maintained in the community during and beyond the 
crisis period. 

"Current functional status" means an individual's degree of 
dependency in performing activities of daily living. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"DMAS staff" means DMAS employees who perform 
utilization review, preauthorize service type and intensity, 
provide technical assistance, and review of individual level of 
care criteria. 

"DMHMRSAS" means the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"DRS" means the Department of Rehabilitative Services. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Day support" means training in intellectual, sensory, motor, 
and affective social development including awareness skills, 
sensory stimulation, use of appropriate behaviors and social 
skills, learning and problem solving, communication and self 
care, physical development, services and support activities. 
These services take place outside of the individual's 
home/residence. 

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting directly or 
indirectly door-to-door, telephonic, or other "cold call" 
marketing of services at residences and provider sites; (ii) 
mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees"; (iv) offering 
financial incentives, rewards, gifts, or special opportunities to 
eligible individuals or family/caregivers as inducements to 
use the providers' services; (v) continuous, periodic marketing 
activities to the same prospective individual or his 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, for example, monthly, 
quarterly, or annual giveaways as inducements to use the 
providers' services; or (vi) engaging in marketing activities 
that offer potential customers rebates or discounts in 
conjunction with the use of the providers' services or other 
benefits as a means of influencing the individual's or his 
family/caregiver's, as appropriate, use of the providers' 
services. 

"Enroll" means that the individual has been determined by 
the IFDDS screening team to meet the eligibility 
requirements for the waiver, DMAS has approved the 
individual's plan of care and has assigned an available slot to 
the individual, and DSS has determined the individual's 
Medicaid eligibility for home and community-based services. 

"Entrepreneurial model" means a small business employing 
eight or fewer individuals with disabilities on a shift and may 
involve interactions with the public and coworkers with 
disabilities. 

"Environmental modifications" means physical adaptations 
to a house, place of residence, primary vehicle or work site, 
when the work site modification exceeds reasonable 

accommodation requirements of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act, necessary to ensure individuals' health and 
safety or enable functioning with greater independence when 
the adaptation is not being used to bring a substandard 
dwelling up to minimum habitation standards and is of direct 
medical or remedial benefit to individuals. 

"EPSDT" means the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment program administered by DMAS for children 
under the age of 21 according to federal guidelines that 
prescribe specific preventive and treatment services for 
Medicaid-eligible children as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Face-to-face visit" means the case manager or service 
provider must meet with the individual in person and that the 
individual should be engaged in the visit to the maximum 
extent possible. 

"Family/caregiver training" means training and counseling 
services provided to families or caregivers of individuals 
receiving services in the IFDDS Waiver. 

"Fiscal agent" means an entity handling employment, 
payroll, and tax responsibilities on behalf of individuals who 
are receiving consumer-directed services. 

"Home" means, for purposes of the IFDDS Waiver, an 
apartment or single family dwelling in which no more than 
four individuals who require services live with the exception 
of siblings living in the same dwelling with family. This does 
not include an assisted living facility or group home. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" means a 
variety of home and community-based services reimbursed by 
DMAS as authorized under a § 1915(c) waiver designed to 
offer individuals an alternative to institutionalization. 
Individuals may be preauthorized to receive one or more of 
these services either solely or in combination, based on the 
documented need for the service or services to avoid ICF/MR 
placement. 

"ICF/MR" means a facility or distinct part of a facility 
certified as meeting the federal certification regulations for an 
Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded and 
persons with related conditions. These facilities must address 
the residents' total needs including physical, intellectual, 
social, emotional, and habilitation. An ICF/MR must provide 
active treatment, as that term is defined in 42 CFR 
483.440(a). 

"IFDDS screening team" means the persons employed by 
the entity under contract with DMAS who are responsible for 
performing level of care screenings for the IFDDS Waiver. 

"IFDDS Waiver" means the Individual and Family 
Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver. 

"In-home residential support services" means support 
provided primarily in the individual's home, which includes 
training, assistance, and specialized supervision to enable the 
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individual to maintain or improve his health; assisting in 
performing individual care tasks; training in activities of daily 
living; training and use of community resources; providing 
life skills training; and adapting behavior to community and 
home-like environments. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living (IADL)" means meal 
preparation, shopping, housekeeping, laundry, and money 
management.  

"Mental retardation" means a disability as defined by the 
American Association on Mental Retardation (AAMR) 
Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD). 

"MR Waiver" means the mental retardation waiver. 

"Participating provider" means an entity that meets the 
standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and has a 
current, signed provider participation agreement with DMAS. 

"Pend" means delaying the consideration of an individual's 
request for authorization of services until all required 
information is received by DMAS. 

"Person-centered planning" means a process, directed by the 
individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, intended to 
identify the strengths, capacities, preferences, needs and 
desired outcomes of the individual. 

"Personal care provider" means a participating provider that 
renders services to prevent or reduce inappropriate 
institutional care by providing eligible individuals with 
personal care aides to provide personal care services. 

"Personal care services" means long-term maintenance or 
support services necessary to enable individuals to remain in 
or return to the community rather than enter an Intermediate 
Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded. Personal care 
services include assistance with activities of daily living, 
instrumental activities of daily living, access to the 
community, medication or other medical needs, and 
monitoring health status and physical condition. This does not 
include skilled nursing services with the exception of skilled 
nursing tasks that may be delegated in accordance with 
18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460. 

"Personal emergency response system (PERS)" is an 
electronic device that enables certain individuals to secure 
help in an emergency. PERS services are limited to those 
individuals who live alone or are alone for significant parts of 
the day and who have no regular caregiver for extended 
periods of time, and who would otherwise require extensive 
routine supervision. 

"Plan of care" means a document developed by the 
individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, and the 
individual's case manager addressing all needs of individuals 
of home and community-based waiver services, in all life 
areas. Supporting documentation developed by waiver service 
providers is to be incorporated in the plan of care by the case 

manager. Factors to be considered when these plans are 
developed must include, but are not limited to, individuals' 
ages, levels of functioning, and preferences. 

"Preauthorized" means the preauthorization agent has 
approved a service for initiation and reimbursement prior to 
the commencement of the service by the service provider. 

"Primary caregiver" means the main primary person who 
consistently assumes the role of providing direct care and 
support of the individual to live successfully in the 
community without compensation for such care. 

"Qualified developmental disabilities professional" or 
"QDDP" means a professional who (i) possesses at least one 
year of documented experience working directly with 
individuals who have related conditions; (ii) is one of the 
following: a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, a registered 
nurse, a provider holding at least a bachelor's degree in a 
human service field including, but not limited to, sociology, 
social work, special education, rehabilitation engineering, 
counseling or psychology, or a provider who has documented 
equivalent qualifications; and (iii) possesses the required 
Virginia or national license, registration, or certification in 
accordance with his profession, if applicable. 

"Related conditions" means those persons who have autism 
or who have a severe chronic disability that meets all of the 
following conditions identified in 42 CFR 435.1009: 

1. It is attributable to: 

a. Cerebral palsy or epilepsy; or 

b. Any other condition, other than mental illness, found 
to be closely related to mental retardation because this 
condition results in impairment of general intellectual 
functioning or adaptive behavior similar to that of 
persons with mental retardation, and requires treatment 
or services similar to those required for these persons. 

2. It is manifested before the person reaches age 22. 

3. It is likely to continue indefinitely. 

4. It results in substantial functional limitations in three or 
more of the following areas of major life activity: 

a. Self-care. 

b. Understanding and use of language. 

c. Learning. 

d. Mobility. 

e. Self-direction. 

f. Capacity for independent living. 

"Respite care" means services provided for unpaid 
caregivers of eligible individuals who are unable to care for 
themselves and are provided on an episodic or routine basis 
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because of the absence of or need for relief of those unpaid 
persons who routinely provide the care. 

"Respite care provider" means a participating provider that 
renders services designed to prevent or reduce inappropriate 
institutional care by providing respite care services for unpaid 
caregivers of eligible individuals. 

"Screening" means the process conducted by the IFDDS 
screening team to evaluate the medical, nursing, and social 
needs of individuals referred for screening and to determine 
eligibility for an ICF/MR level of care. 

"Skilled nursing services" means nursing services (i) listed 
in the plan of care that do not meet home health criteria, (ii) 
required to prevent institutionalization, (iii) not otherwise 
available under the State Plan for Medical Assistance, (iv) 
provided within the scope of the state's Nursing Act (§ 54.1-
3000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Drug Control Act 
(§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and (v) 
provided by a registered professional nurse or by a licensed 
practical nurse under the supervision of a registered nurse 
who is licensed to practice in the state. Skilled nursing 
services are to be used to provide training, consultation, nurse 
delegation as appropriate and oversight of direct care staff as 
appropriate. 

"Slot" means an opening or vacancy of waiver services for 
an individual. 

"Specialized supervision" means staff presence necessary 
for ongoing or intermittent intervention to ensure an 
individual's health and safety. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" means the 
document containing the covered groups, covered services 
and their limitations, and provider reimbursement 
methodologies as provided for under Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. 

"Supporting documentation" means the specific plan of care 
developed by the individual and waiver service provider 
related solely to the specific tasks required of that service 
provider. Supporting documentation helps to comprise the 
overall plan of care for the individual, developed by the case 
manager and the individual. 

"Supported employment" means work in settings in which 
persons without disabilities are typically employed. It 
includes training in specific skills related to paid employment 
and provision of ongoing or intermittent assistance and 
specialized supervision to enable an individual to maintain 
paid employment. 

"Therapeutic consultation" means consultation provided by 
members of psychology, social work, rehabilitation 
engineering, behavioral analysis, speech therapy, 
occupational therapy, psychiatry, psychiatric clinical nursing, 
therapeutic recreation, or physical therapy or behavior 
consultation to assist individuals, parents, family members, 

in-home residential support, day support and any other 
providers of support services in implementing a plan of care. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 
who are transitioning from an institution or licensed or 
certified provider-operated living arrangement to a living 
arrangement in a private residence where the person is 
directly responsible for his or her own living expenses. 
12VAC30-120-2010 provides the service description, criteria, 
service units and limitations, and provider requirements for 
this service. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

12VAC30-120-710. General coverage and requirements 
for all home and community-based waiver services. 

A. Waiver service populations. Home and community-based 
services shall be available through a § 1915(c) waiver. 
Coverage shall be provided under the waiver for individuals 
six years of age and older with related conditions as defined 
in 12VAC30-120-700, including autism, who have been 
determined to require the level of care provided in an 
ICF/MR. The individual must not have a diagnosis of mental 
retardation as defined by the American Association on Mental 
Retardation (AAMR) Intellectual and Developmental 
Disabilities (AAIDD). Mental Retardation (MR) Waiver 
recipients who are six years of age on or after October 1, 
2002, who are determined to not have a diagnosis of mental 
retardation, and who meet all IFDDS Waiver eligibility 
criteria, shall be eligible for and shall transfer to the IFDDS 
Waiver effective with their sixth birthday. Psychological 
evaluations confirming diagnoses must be completed less 
than one year prior to the child's sixth birthday. These 
recipients transferring from the MR Waiver will 
automatically be assigned a slot in the IFDDS Waiver. Such 
slot shall be in addition to those slots available through the 
screening process described in 12VAC30-120-720 B and C. 

B. Covered services. 

1. Covered services shall include in-home residential 
supports, day support, prevocational services, supported 
employment, personal care (both agency-directed and 
consumer-directed), respite care (both agency-directed and 
consumer-directed), assistive technology, environmental 
modifications, skilled nursing services, therapeutic 
consultation, crisis stabilization, personal emergency 
response systems (PERS), family/caregiver training, and 
companion services (both agency-directed and consumer-
directed), and transition services. 

2. These services shall be appropriate and medically 
necessary to maintain these individuals in the community. 
Federal waiver requirements provide that the average per 
capita fiscal year expenditures under the waiver must not 
exceed the average per capita expenditures for the level of 
care provided in ICFs/MR under the State Plan that would 
have been made had the waiver not been granted. 
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3. Under this § 1915(c) waiver, DMAS waives subdivision 
(a)(10)(B) of § 1902 of the Social Security Act related to 
comparability. 

C. Eligibility criteria for emergency access to the waiver. 

1. Subject to available funding and a finding of eligibility 
under 12VAC30-120-720, individuals must meet at least 
one of the emergency criteria of this subdivision to be 
eligible for immediate access to waiver services without 
consideration to the length of time an individual has been 
waiting to access services. In the absence of waiver 
services, the individual would not be able to remain in his 
home. The criteria are as follows: 

a. The primary caregiver has a serious illness, has been 
hospitalized, or has died; 

b. The individual has been determined by the DSS to 
have been abused or neglected and is in need of 
immediate waiver services; 

c. The individual demonstrates behaviors that present risk 
to personal or public safety; 

d. The individual presents extreme physical, emotional, 
or financial burden at home, and the family or caregiver 
is unable to continue to provide care; or 

e. The individual lives in an institutional setting and has a 
viable discharge plan in place.  

2. When emergency slots become available: 

a. All individuals who have been found eligible for the 
IFDDS Waiver but have not been enrolled shall be 
notified by either DMAS or the individual's case 
manager. 

b. Individuals and their family/caregivers shall be given 
30 calendar days to request emergency consideration. 

c. An interdisciplinary team of DMAS professionals shall 
evaluate the requests for emergency consideration within 
10 calendar days from the 30-calendar day deadline using 
the emergency criteria to determine who will be assigned 
an emergency slot. If DMAS receives more requests than 
the number of available emergency slots, then the 
interdisciplinary team will make a decision on slot 
allocation based on need as documented in the request 
for emergency consideration. A waiting list of emergency 
cases will not be kept. 

D. Appeals. Individual appeals shall be considered pursuant 
to 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. Provider 
appeals shall be considered pursuant to 12VAC30-10-1000 
and 12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-599. 

12VAC30-120-754. Supported employment services. 

A. Service description. 

1. Supported employment services shall include training in 
specific skills related to paid employment and provision of 
ongoing or intermittent assistance or specialized training to 
enable an individual to maintain paid employment. Each 
supporting documentation must confirm whether supported 
employment services are available to the individual in 
vocational rehabilitation agencies through the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or in special education services 
through 20 USC § 1401 of the Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA). Providers of these DRS and IDEA 
services cannot be reimbursed by Medicaid with the 
IFDDS Waiver funds. Waiver service providers are 
reimbursed only for the amount and type of habilitation 
services included in the individual's approved plan of care 
based on the intensity and duration of the service delivered. 
Reimbursement shall be limited to actual interventions by 
the provider of supported employment, not for the amount 
of time the recipient is in the supported employment 
environment. 

2. Supported employment may be provided in one of two 
models. Individual supported employment is defined as 
intermittent support, usually provided one on one by a job 
coach for an individual in a supported employment 
position. Group supported employment is defined as 
continuous support provided by staff for eight or fewer 
individuals with disabilities in an enclave, work crew, or 
bench work/entrepreneurial model. The individual's 
assessment and plan of care must clearly reflect the 
individual's need for training and supports. 

B. Criteria for receipt of services. 

1. Only job development tasks that specifically include the 
individual are allowable job search activities under the 
IFDDS Waiver supported employment and only after 
determining this service is not available from DRS or 
IDEA. 

2. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall 
have a demonstrated need for training, specialized 
supervision, or assistance in paid employment and for 
whom competitive employment at or above the minimum 
wage is unlikely without this support and who, because of 
the disability, needs ongoing support, including 
supervision, training and transportation to perform in a 
work setting. 

3. A functional assessment must be conducted to evaluate 
each individual in his work environment and related 
community settings. 

4. The supporting documentation must document the 
amount of supported employment required by the 
individual. Service providers are reimbursed only for the 
amount and type of supported employment included in the 
plan of care based on the intensity and duration of the 
service delivered. 
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C. Service units and service limitations. 

1. Supported employment for individual job placement is 
provided in one-hour units. This service is limited to 40 
hours per week. 

2. Group models of supported employment (enclaves, work 
crews, bench work, and entrepreneurial model of supported 
employment) will be billed at the unit rate according to the 
DMAS fee schedule. 

a. One unit is 1 to 3.99 hours of service a day. 

b. Two units are 4 to 6.99 or more hours of service a day. 

c. Three units are 7 or more hours of service a day. 

3. Supported employment services are limited to 780 units 
per plan of care year. If used in combination with 
prevocational and day support services, the combined total 
units for these services cannot exceed 780 units, or its 
equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per plan of care 
year. 

4. For the individual job placement model, reimbursement 
of supported employment will be limited to actual 
documented interventions or collateral contacts by the 
provider, not the amount of time the individual is in the 
supported employment situation. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
care participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-
730 and 12VAC30-120-740, supported employment 
providers must meet the following requirements: 

1. Supported employment services shall be provided by 
agencies that are programs certified by CARF the 
Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities 
(CARF) to provide supported employment services or are 
DRS vendors of supported employment services. 

2. Individual ineligibility for supported employment 
services through DRS or IDEA must be documented in the 
individual's record, as applicable. If the individual is 
eligible ineligible to receive services through the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act IDEA, 
documentation is required only for lack of DRS funding. 
Acceptable documentation would include a copy of a letter 
from DRS or the local school system or a record of a phone 
telephone call (name, date, person contacted) documented 
in the case manager's case notes, Consumer Profile/Social 
assessment or on the supported employment supporting 
documentation. Unless the individual's circumstances 
change, the original verification may be forwarded into the 
current record or repeated on the supporting documentation 
or revised Social Assessment on an annual basis. 

3. Supporting documentation and ongoing documentation 
consistent with licensing regulations, if a DMHMRSAS 
licensed program. 

4. For non-DMHMRSAS programs certified as supported 
employment programs, there must be supporting 
documentation that contains, at a minimum, the following 
elements: 

a. The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, 
required/desired supports and training needs; 

b. The individual's goals and, for a training goal, a 
sequence of measurable objectives to meet the above 
identified outcomes; 

c. Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives; 

d. All entities that will provide the services specified in 
the statement of services; 

e. A timetable for the accomplishment of the individual's 
goals and objectives; 

f. The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and 

g. Entities responsible for the overall coordination and 
integration of the services specified in the plan of care. 

5. Documentation must confirm the individual's 
attendance, the amount of time the individual spent in 
services, and must provide specific information regarding 
the individual's response to various settings and supports as 
agreed to in the supporting documentation objectives. 
Assessment results should be available in at least a daily 
note or weekly summary. 

6. The provider must review the supporting documentation 
with the individual, and this written review submitted to 
the case manager, at least semi-annually, with goals, 
objectives and activities modified as appropriate. For the 
annual review and in cases where the plan of care is 
modified, the plan of care must be reviewed with the 
individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate. 

7. In instances where supported employment staff are 
required to ride with the individual to and from supported 
employment activities, the supported employment staff 
time may be billed for supported employment provided 
that the billing for this time does not exceed 25% of the 
total time spent in supported employment for that day. 
Documentation must be maintained to verify that billing 
supported employment staff coverage during transportation 
does not exceed 25% of the total time spent in supported 
employment for that day. 

8. There must be a copy of the completed DMAS-122 form 
in the record. Providers must clearly document efforts to 
obtain the DMAS-122 form from the case manager. 

12VAC30-120-758. Environmental modifications. 

A. Service description. Environmental modifications shall 
be defined as those physical adaptations to the individual's 
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primary home or primary vehicle used by the individual, 
documented in the individual's plan of care, that are necessary 
to ensure the health, welfare, and safety of the individual, or 
that enable the individual to function with greater 
independence in the primary home and, without which, the 
individual would require institutionalization. Such 
adaptations may include the installation of ramps and grab-
bars, widening of doorways, modification of bathroom 
facilities, or installation of specialized electrical and 
plumbing systems that are necessary to accommodate the 
medical equipment and supplies that are necessary for the 
welfare of the individual. Excluded are those adaptations or 
improvements to the home that are of general utility and are 
not of direct medical or remedial benefit to the individual, 
such as carpeting, roof repairs, central air conditioning, etc. 
Adaptations that add to the total square footage of the home 
shall be excluded from this benefit, except when necessary to 
complete an adaptation, as determined by DMAS or its 
designated agent. All services shall be provided in the 
individual's primary home in accordance with applicable state 
or local building codes. All modifications must be prior 
authorized by the prior authorization agent. Modifications 
may be made to a vehicle if it is the primary vehicle being 
used by the individual. This service does not include the 
purchase of vehicles. 

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the 
individual must have a demonstrated need for equipment or 
modifications of a remedial or medical benefit offered in an 
individual's primary home, primary vehicle used by the 
individual, community activity setting, or day program to 
specifically improve the individual's personal functioning. 
This service shall encompass those items not otherwise 
covered in the State Plan for Medical Assistance or through 
another program. Environmental modifications shall be 
covered in the least expensive, most cost-effective manner. 
For enrollees in the Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome 
(AIDS) waiver (12VAC30-120-140 through 12VAC30-120-
201) or the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction 
(EDCD) waiver (12VAC30-120-900 through 12VAC30-120-
980), environmental modification services shall be available 
only to those AIDS and EDCD enrollees who are also 
enrolled in the Money Follows the Person demonstration. 

C. Service units and service limitations. Environmental 
modifications shall be available to individuals who are 
receiving case management services in addition to at least one 
other waiver service. To receive environmental modifications 
in the EDCD waiver, the individual must be receiving at least 
one other waiver service. To receive environmental 
modifications in the IFDDS waiver, the individual must be 
receiving case management services and at least one other 
waiver service. A maximum limit of $5,000 may be 
reimbursed per plan of care or calendar year, as appropriate to 
the waiver in which the individual is enrolled. Costs for 
environmental modifications shall not be carried over from 

year to year. All environmental modifications must be prior 
authorized by the prior authorization agent prior to billing. 
Modifications shall not be used to bring a substandard 
dwelling up to minimum habitation standards. Also excluded 
are modifications that are reasonable accommodation 
requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the 
Virginians with Disabilities Act, and the Rehabilitation Act. 

Case managers or transition coordinators must, upon 
completion of each modification, meet face-to-face with the 
individual and his family/caregiver, as appropriate, to ensure 
that the modification is completed satisfactorily and is able to 
be used by the individual. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
waiver services participating providers as specified in 
12VAC30-120-160, 12VAC30-120-730 and, 12VAC30-120-
740, and 12VAC30-120-930, as appropriate, environmental 
modifications must be provided in accordance with all 
applicable state or local building codes by contractors who 
have a provider agreement with DMAS. Providers may not be 
spouses or parents of the individual. Modifications must be 
completed within the plan of care or the calendar year in 
which the modification was authorized, as appropriate to the 
waiver in which the individual is enrolled. 

12VAC30-120-762. Assistive technology. 

A. Service description. Assistive technology (AT) is 
available to recipients who are receiving at least one other 
waiver service and may be provided in a residential or 
nonresidential setting. Assistive technology (AT) AT is the 
specialized medical equipment and supplies, including those 
devices, controls, or appliances, specified in the plan of care, 
but not available under the State Plan for Medical Assistance, 
that enable individuals to increase their abilities to perform 
activities of daily living, or to perceive, control, or 
communicate with the environment in which they live. This 
service also includes items necessary for life support, 
ancillary supplies, and equipment necessary to the proper 
functioning of such items. 

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the 
individual must have a demonstrated need for equipment or 
modification for remedial or direct medical benefit primarily 
in an individual's primary home, primary vehicle used by the 
individual, community activity setting, or day program to 
specifically serve to improve the individual's personal 
functioning. This shall encompass those items not otherwise 
covered under the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Assistive technology shall be covered in the least expensive, 
most cost-effective manner. For enrollees in the Acquired 
Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS) waiver (12VAC30-
120-140 through 12VAC30-120-201) or the Elderly or 
Disabled with Consumer Direction (EDCD) waiver 
(12VAC30-120-900 through 12VAC30-120-980), assistive 
technology services shall be available only to those AIDS and 
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EDCD enrollees who are also enrolled in the Money Follows 
the Person demonstration. 

C. Service units and service limitations. Assistive 
technology (AT) AT is available to individuals receiving at 
least one other waiver service and may be provided in the 
individual's home or community setting. A maximum limit of 
$5,000 may be reimbursed per plan of care year or the 
calendar year, as appropriate to the waiver in which the 
individual is enrolled or calendar year, as appropriate to the 
waiver being received. Costs for assistive technology cannot 
be carried over from year to year and must be preauthorized 
each plan of care year. AT will not be approved for purposes 
of convenience of the caregiver/provider or restraint of the 
individual. An independent, professional consultation must be 
obtained from qualified professionals who are knowledgeable 
of that item for each AT request prior to approval by the prior 
authorization agent, and may include training on such AT by 
the qualified professional. All assistive technology AT must 
be prior authorized by the prior authorization agent prior to 
billing. Also excluded are modifications that are reasonable 
accommodation requirements of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act, the Virginians with Disabilities Act, and the 
Rehabilitation Act. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
care participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-
160, 12VAC30-120-730 and, 12VAC30-120-740, assistive 
technology and 12VAC30-120-930, AT shall be provided by 
providers having a current provider participation agreement 
with DMAS as durable medical equipment and supply 
providers. Independent, professional consultants include 
speech/language therapists, physical therapists, occupational 
therapists, physicians, behavioral therapists, certified 
rehabilitation specialists, or rehabilitation engineers. 
Providers that supply assistive technology AT for an 
individual may not perform assessment/consultation, write 
specifications, or inspect the assistive technology AT for that 
individual. Providers of services may not be spouses or 
parents of the individual. AT must be delivered within the 
plan of care year, or within a year from the start date of the 
authorization, as appropriate to the waiver, in which the 
individual is enrolled. 

12VAC30-120-770. Consumer-directed model of service 
delivery. 

A. Criteria. 

1. The IFDDS Waiver has three services, companion, 
personal care, and respite services, that may be provided 
through a consumer-directed model. 

2. Individuals who are eligible for consumer-directed 
services must have the capability to hire and, train, and fire 
their consumer-directed employees and supervise the 
employee's work performance. If an individual is unable to 

direct his own care or is under 18 years of age, a 
family/caregiver may serve as the employer on behalf of 
the individual. 

3. Responsibilities as employer. The individual, or if the 
individual is unable, then a family caregiver, is the 
employer in this service and is responsible for hiring, 
training, supervising, and firing employees. Specific duties 
include checking references of employees, determining 
that employees meet basic qualifications, training 
employees, supervising the employees' performance, and 
submitting timesheets to the fiscal agent on a consistent 
and timely basis. The individual or his family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, must have an emergency back-up plan in case 
the employee does not show up for work. 

4. DMAS shall contract for the services of a fiscal agent 
for consumer-directed personal care, companion, and 
respite care services. The fiscal agent will be paid by 
DMAS to perform certain tasks as an agent for the 
individual/employer who is receiving consumer-directed 
services. The fiscal agent will handle responsibilities for 
the individual for employment taxes. The fiscal agent will 
seek and obtain all necessary authorizations and approvals 
of the Internal Revenue Services in order to fulfill all of 
these duties. 

5. Individuals choosing consumer-directed services must 
receive support from a CD services facilitator. Services 
facilitators assist the individual or his family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, as they become employers for consumer-
directed services. This function includes providing the 
individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, with 
management training, review and explanation of the 
Employee Management Manual, and routine visits to 
monitor the employment process. The CD services 
facilitator assists the individual/employer with employer 
issues as they arise. The services facilitator meeting the 
stated qualifications may also complete the assessments, 
reassessments, and related supporting documentation 
necessary for consumer-directed services if the individual 
or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, chooses for the CD 
services facilitator to perform these tasks rather than the 
case manager. Services facilitation services are provided 
on an as-needed basis as determined by the individual, 
family/caregiver, and CD services facilitator. This must be 
documented in the supporting documentation for 
consumer-directed services and the services facilitation 
provider bills accordingly. If an individual enrolled in 
consumer-directed services has a lapse in consumer-
directed services for more than 60 consecutive calendar 
days, the case manager must notify DMAS so that 
consumer-directed services may be discontinued and the 
option given to change to agency-directed services. 

B. Provider qualifications. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
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care participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-
730 and 12VAC30-120-740, services facilitators providers 
must meet the following qualifications: 

1. To be enrolled as a Medicaid CD services facilitation 
provider and maintain provider status, the CD services 
facilitation provider must operate from a business office 
and have sufficient qualified staff who will function as CD 
services facilitators to perform the service facilitation and 
support activities as required. It is preferred that the 
employee of the CD services facilitation provider possess a 
minimum of an undergraduate degree in a human services 
field or be a registered nurse currently licensed to practice 
in the Commonwealth. In addition, it is preferable that the 
CD services facilitator has two years of satisfactory 
experience in the human services field working with 
individuals with related conditions. 

2. The CD services facilitator must possess a combination 
of work experience and relevant education which indicates 
possession of the following knowledge, skills, and 
abilities. Such knowledge, skills and abilities must be 
documented on the application form, found in supporting 
documentation, or be observed during the job interview. 
Observations during the interview must be documented. 
The knowledge, skills, and abilities include: 

a. Knowledge of: 

(1) Various long-term care program requirements, 
including nursing home, ICF/MR, and assisted living 
facility placement criteria, Medicaid waiver services, and 
other federal, state, and local resources that provide 
personal care services; 

(2) DMAS consumer-directed services requirements, and 
the administrative duties for which the individual will be 
responsible; 

(3) Interviewing techniques; 

(4) The individual's right to make decisions about, direct 
the provisions of, and control his consumer-directed 
services, including hiring, training, managing, approving 
time sheets, and firing an employee; 

(5) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 
relationships; and 

(6) General principles of record documentation. 

(7) For CD services facilitators who also conduct 
assessments and reassessments, the following is also 
required. Knowledge of: 

(a) Types of functional limitations and health problems 
that are common to different disability types and the 
aging process as well as strategies to reduce limitations 
and health problems; 

(b) Physical assistance typically required by people with 
developmental disabilities, such as transferring, bathing 
techniques, bowel and bladder care, and the approximate 
time those activities normally take; 

(c) Equipment and environmental modifications 
commonly used and required by people with 
developmental disabilities that reduces the need for 
human help and improves safety; 

(d) Conducting assessments (including environmental, 
psychosocial, health, and functional factors) and their 
uses in care planning. 

b. Skills in: 

(1) Negotiating with individuals or their 
family/caregivers, as appropriate, and service providers; 

(2) Observing, recording, and reporting behaviors; 

(3) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 
persons with developmental disabilities; and 

(4) Identifying services within the established services 
system to meet the individual's needs. 

c. Abilities to: 

(1) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 
either in writing or an alternative format for persons who 
have visual impairments; 

(2) Demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and 
their families; 

(3) Be persistent and remain objective; 

(4) Work independently, performing position duties 
under general supervision; 

(5) Communicate effectively, orally and in writing;  

(6) Develop a rapport and communicate with different 
types of persons from diverse cultural backgrounds; and 

(7) Interview. 

3. If the CD services facilitator is not an RN, the CD 
services facilitator must inform the primary health care 
provider that services are being provided and request 
skilled nursing or other consultation as needed. 

4. Initiation of services and service monitoring. 

a. If the services facilitator has responsibility for 
individual assessments and reassessments, these must be 
conducted as specified in 12VAC30-120-766 and 
12VAC30-120-776. 

b. Management training. 

(1) The CD services facilitation provider must make an 
initial visit with the individual or his family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, to provide management training. The initial 
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management training is done only once upon the 
individual's entry into the service. If an individual served 
under the waiver changes CD services facilitation 
providers, the new CD services facilitator must bill for a 
regular management training in lieu of initial 
management training. 

(2) After the initial visit, two routine visits must occur 
within 60 days of the initiation of care or the initial visit 
to monitor the employment process. 

(3) For personal care services, the CD services 
facilitation provider will continue to monitor on an as 
needed basis, not to exceed a maximum of one routine 
visit every 30 calendar days but no less than the 
minimum of one routine visit every 90 calendar days per 
individual. After the initial visit, the CD services 
facilitator will periodically review the utilization of 
companion services at a minimum of every six months 
and for respite services, either every six months or upon 
the use of 300 respite care hours, whichever comes first. 

5. The CD services facilitator must be available to the 
individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, by 
telephone during normal business hours, have voice mail 
capability, and return phone calls within 24 hours or have 
an approved back-up CD services facilitator. 

6. The CD services fiscal contractor for DMAS must 
submit a criminal record check within 15 calendar days of 
employment pertaining to the consumer-directed 
employees on behalf of the individual or family/caregiver 
and report findings of the criminal record check to the 
individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate. 

7. The CD services facilitator shall verify bi-weekly 
timesheets signed by the individual or his family caregiver, 
as appropriate, and the employee to ensure that the number 
of plan of care approved hours are not exceeded. If 
discrepancies are identified, the CD services facilitator 
must contact the individual to resolve discrepancies and 
must notify the fiscal agent. If an individual is consistently 
being identified as having discrepancies in his timesheets, 
the CD services facilitator must contact the case manager 
to resolve the situation. 

8. Consumer-directed employee registry. The CD services 
facilitator must maintain a consumer-directed employee 
registry, updated on an ongoing basis. 

9. Required documentation in individuals' records. CD 
services facilitators responsible for individual assessment 
and reassessment must maintain records as described in 
12VAC30-120-766 and 12VAC30-120-776. For CD 
services facilitators conducting management training, the 
following documentation is required in the individual's 
record: 

a. All copies of the plan of care, all supporting 
documentation related to consumer-directed services, and 
all DMAS-122 forms. 

b. CD services facilitator's notes recorded and dated at 
the time of service delivery. 

c. All correspondence to the individual, others 
concerning the individual, and to DMAS. 

d. All training provided to the consumer-directed 
employees on behalf of the individual or his 
family/caregiver, as appropriate. 

e. All management training provided to the individuals or 
his family/caregivers, as appropriate, including the 
responsibility for the accuracy of the timesheets. 

f. All documents signed by the individual or his 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, that acknowledge the 
responsibilities of the services. 

Part IX 
Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver 

12VAC30-120-900. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 
have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means tasks such as 
bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and eating/feeding. 
An individual's degree of independence in performing these 
activities is a part of determining appropriate level of care and 
service needs.  

"Adult day health care center" or "ADHC" means a DMAS-
enrolled provider that offers a community-based day program 
providing a variety of health, therapeutic, and social services 
designed to meet the specialized needs of those elderly and 
disabled individuals at risk of placement in a nursing facility. 
The ADHC must be licensed by DSS as an ADHC.  

"Adult day health care services" means services designed to 
prevent institutionalization by providing participants with 
health, maintenance, and coordination of rehabilitation 
services in a congregate daytime setting.  

"Agency-directed services" means services provided by a 
personal care agency.  

"Americans with Disabilities Act" or "ADA" means the 
United States Code pursuant to 42 USC § 12101 et seq.  

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge adverse 
actions regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement 
provided by Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 
12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560.  

"Assistive technology" means specialized medical 
equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 
appliances specified in the plan of care but not available 
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under the State Plan for Medical Assistance that enable 
individuals to increase their abilities to perform activities of 
daily living, or to perceive, control, or communicate with the 
environment in which they live, or that are necessary to the 
proper functioning of the specialized equipment. [ 12VAC30-
120-762 provides the service description, criteria, service 
units and limitations, and provider requirements for this 
service. ] This service shall be available only to those EDCD 
waiver enrollees who are participants in the Money Follows 
the Person demonstration. 

"Barrier crime" means those crimes as defined at § 32.1-
162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services, which is the unit of the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services that administers the Medicare and 
Medicaid programs.  

"Cognitive impairment" means a severe deficit in mental 
capability that affects an individual's areas of functioning 
such as thought processes, problem solving, judgment, 
memory, or comprehension that interferes with such things as 
reality orientation, ability to care for self, ability to recognize 
danger to self or others, or impulse control.  

"Consumer-directed services" means services for which the 
individual or family/caregiver is responsible for hiring, 
training, supervising, and firing of the personal care aide.  

"Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitator" or 
"facilitator" means the DMAS-enrolled provider who is 
responsible for supporting the individual and family/caregiver 
by ensuring the development and monitoring of the 
Consumer-Directed Services Plan of Care, providing 
employee management training, and completing ongoing 
review activities as required by DMAS for consumer-directed 
personal care and respite services.  

"Designated preauthorization contractor" means DMAS or 
the entity that has been contracted by DMAS to perform 
preauthorization of services.  

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting either 
directly or indirectly door-to-door, telephonic, or other "cold 
call" marketing of services at residences and provider sites; 
(ii) using direct mailing; (iii) paying "finders fees"; (iv) 
offering financial incentives, rewards, gifts, or special 
opportunities to eligible individuals or family/caregivers as 
inducements to use the providers' services; (v) providing 
continuous, periodic marketing activities to the same 
prospective individual or family/caregiver, for example, 
monthly, quarterly, or annual giveaways as inducements to 
use the providers' services; or (vi) engaging in marketing 
activities that offer potential customers rebates or discounts in 
conjunction with the use of the providers' services or other 
benefits as a means of influencing the individual's or 
family/caregiver's use of the providers' services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services.  

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services.  

"DRS" means the Department of Rehabilitative Services.  

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services.  

"Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver" or 
"EDCD waiver" means the CMS-approved waiver that covers 
a range of community support services offered to individuals 
who are elderly or disabled who would otherwise require a 
nursing facility level of care.  

"Environmental modifications" means physical adaptations 
to a house, place of residence, primary vehicle or work site, 
when the work site modification exceeds reasonable 
accommodation requirements of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (42 USC § 1201 et seq.), necessary to ensure 
the individuals' health and safety or enable functioning with 
greater independence when the adaptation is not being used to 
bring a substandard dwelling up to minimum habitation 
standards and is of direct medical or remedial benefit to 
individuals. 12VAC30-120-758 provides the service 
description, criteria, service units and limitations, and 
provider requirements for this service. This service shall be 
available only to those EDCD waiver enrollees who are 
participants in the Money Follows the Person demonstration. 

"Fiscal agent" means an agency or division within DMAS or 
contracted by DMAS to handle employment, payroll, and tax 
responsibilities on behalf of individuals who are receiving 
consumer-directed personal care services and respite services.  

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 
services" means the range of community support services 
approved by the CMS pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social 
Security Act to be offered to persons who are elderly or 
disabled who would otherwise require the level of care 
provided in a nursing facility. DMAS or the designated 
preauthorization contractor shall only give preauthorization 
for medically necessary Medicaid reimbursed home and 
community care.  

"Individual" means the person receiving the services 
established in these regulations.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 
tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping and 
laundry. An individual's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is a part of determining 
appropriate level of care and service needs.  

"Medication monitoring" means an electronic device, which 
is only available in conjunction with Personal Emergency 
Response Systems, that enables certain individuals at high 
risk of institutionalization to be reminded to take their 
medications at the correct dosages and times.  
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"Participating provider" means an entity that meets the 
standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and has a 
current, signed provider participation agreement with DMAS.  

"Personal care agency" means a participating provider that 
provides personal care services.  

"Personal care aide" means a person who provides personal 
care services.  

"Personal care services" means long-term maintenance or 
support services necessary to enable the individual to remain 
at or return home rather than enter a nursing facility. Personal 
care services are provided to individuals in the areas of 
activities of daily living, access to the community, monitoring 
of self-administered medications or other medical needs, and 
the monitoring of health status and physical condition. Where 
the individual requires assistance with activities of daily 
living, and where specified in the plan of care, such 
supportive services may include assistance with instrumental 
activities of daily living. Services may be provided in home 
and community settings to enable an individual to maintain 
the health status and functional skills necessary to live in the 
community or participate in community activities.  

"Personal emergency response system (PERS)" means an 
electronic device and monitoring service that enable certain 
individuals at high risk of institutionalization to secure help in 
an emergency. PERS services are limited to those individuals 
who live alone or are alone for significant parts of the day and 
who have no regular caregiver for extended periods of time, 
and who would otherwise require extensive routine 
supervision.  

"PERS provider" means a certified home health or a 
personal care agency, a durable medical equipment provider, 
a hospital, or a PERS manufacturer that has the ability to 
provide PERS equipment, direct services (i.e., installation, 
equipment maintenance, and services calls), and PERS 
monitoring. PERS providers may also provide medication 
monitoring.  

"Plan of care" means the written plan developed by the 
provider related solely to the specific services required by the 
individual to ensure optimal health and safety while 
remaining in the community.  

"Preadmission screening" means the process to: (i) evaluate 
the functional, nursing, and social supports of individuals 
referred for preadmission screening; (ii) assist individuals in 
determining what specific services the individuals need; (iii) 
evaluate whether a service or a combination of existing 
community services are available to meet the individuals' 
needs; and (iv) refer individuals to the appropriate provider 
for Medicaid-funded nursing facility or home and 
community-based care for those individuals who meet 
nursing facility level of care.  

"Preadmission Screening Committee/Team" means the 
entity contracted with DMAS that is responsible for 
performing preadmission screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Primary caregiver" means the primary person who 
consistently assumes the rule of providing direct care and 
support of the individual to live successfully in the 
community without compensation for providing such care.  

"Respite care agency" or "respite care facility" means a 
participating provider that renders respite services.  

"Respite services" means those short-term personal care 
services provided to individuals who are unable to care for 
themselves because of the absence of or need for the relief of 
those unpaid caregivers who normally provide the care.  

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "State Plan" means 
the regulations identifying the covered groups, covered 
services and their limitations, and provider reimbursement 
methodologies as provided for under Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act.  

"Transition coordinator" means the DMAS-enrolled 
provider who is responsible for supporting the individual and 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, with the activities associated 
with transitioning from an institution to the community. 
12VAC30-120-2000 provides the service description, criteria, 
service units and limitations, and provider requirements for 
this service. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 
who are transitioning from an institution or licensed or 
certified provider-operated living arrangement to a living 
arrangement in a private residence where the person is 
directly responsible for his own living expenses. 12VAC30-
120-2010 provides the service description, criteria, service 
units and limitations, and provider requirements for this 
service. 

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 
standardized multidimensional questionnaire that is 
completed by the Preadmission Screening Team that assesses 
an individual's physical health, mental health, and social and 
functional abilities to determine if the individual meets the 
nursing facility level of care. 

12VAC30-120-910. General coverage and requirements 
for Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver 
services. 

A. EDCD Waiver services populations. Home and 
community-based waiver services shall be available through a 
§ 1915(c) of the Social Security Act waiver for the following 
Medicaid-eligible individuals who have been determined to 
be eligible for waiver services and to require the level of care 
provided in a nursing facility: 
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1. Individuals who are elderly as defined by § 1614 of the 
Social Security Act; or  

2. Individuals who are disabled as defined by § 1614 of the 
Social Security Act. 

B. Covered services. 

1. Covered services shall include: adult day health care, 
personal care (both consumer-directed and agency-
directed), respite services (both (consumer-directed, 
agency-directed, and facility-based), and PERS, assistive 
technology, environmental modifications, transition 
coordinator and transition services. Assistive technology 
and environmental modification services shall be available 
only to those EDCD waiver enrollees who are participants 
in the Money Follows the Person demonstration. 

2. These services shall be medically appropriate and 
medically necessary to maintain the individual in the 
community and prevent institutionalization. 

3. A recipient of EDCD Waiver services may receive 
personal care (agency- and consumer-directed), respite 
care (agency- and consumer-directed), adult day health 
care, transition services, transition coordination, assistive 
technology, environmental modifications, and PERS 
services in conjunction with hospice services, regardless of 
whether the hospice provider receives reimbursement from 
Medicare or Medicaid for the services covered under the 
hospice benefit. Services under this waiver will not be 
available to hospice recipients unless the hospice can 
document the provision of at least 21 hours per week of 
homemaker/home health aide services and that the 
recipient needs personal care-type services that exceed this 
amount. Assistive technology and environmental 
modification services shall be available only to those 
EDCD waiver enrollees who are participants in the Money 
Follows the Person demonstration. 

4. Under this § 1915(c) waiver, DMAS waives 
§§ 1902(a)(10)(B) and (C) of the Social Security Act 
related to comparability of services. 

12VAC30-120-920. Individual eligibility requirements. 

A. The Commonwealth has elected to cover low-income 
families with children as described in § 1931 of the Social 
Security Act; aged, blind, or disabled individuals who are 
eligible under 42 CFR 435.121; optional categorically needy 
individuals who are aged and disabled who have incomes at 
80% of the federal poverty level; the special home and 
community-based waiver group under 42 CFR 435.217; and 
the medically needy groups specified in 42 CFR 435.320, 
435.322, 435.324, and 435.330. 

1. Under this waiver, the coverage groups authorized under 
§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VI) of the Social Security Act will be 
considered as if they were institutionalized for the purpose 
of applying institutional deeming rules. All recipients 

under the waiver must meet the financial and nonfinancial 
Medicaid eligibility criteria and meet the institutional level 
of care criteria. The deeming rules are applied to waiver 
eligible individuals as if the individual were residing in an 
institution or would require that level of care. 

2. Virginia shall reduce its payment for home and 
community-based services provided to an individual who 
is eligible for Medicaid services under 42 CFR 435.217 by 
that amount of the individual's total income (including 
amounts disregarded in determining eligibility) that 
remains after allowable deductions for personal 
maintenance needs, deductions for other dependents, and 
medical needs have been made, according to the guidelines 
in 42 CFR 435.735 and § 1915(c)(3) of the Social Security 
Act as amended by the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1986. DMAS will reduce its 
payment for home and community-based waiver services 
by the amount that remains after the following deductions: 

a. For individuals to whom § 1924(d) applies (Virginia 
waives the requirement for comparability pursuant to 
§ 1902(a)(10)(B)), deduct the following in the respective 
order: 

(1) An amount for the maintenance needs of the 
individual that is equal to 165% of the SSI income limit 
for one individual. Working individuals have a greater 
need due to expenses of employment; therefore, an 
additional amount of income shall be deducted. Earned 
income shall be deducted within the following limits: (i) 
for individuals employed 20 hours or more per week, 
earned income shall be disregarded up to a maximum of 
both earned and unearned income up to 300% of SSI and 
(ii) for individuals employed at least eight but less than 
20 hours per week, earned income shall be disregarded 
up to a maximum of both earned and unearned income up 
to 200% of SSI. However, in no case, shall the total 
amount of income (both earned and unearned) that is 
disregarded for maintenance exceed 300% of SSI. If the 
individual requires a guardian or conservator who 
charges a fee, the fee, not to exceed an amount greater 
than 5.0% of the individual's total monthly income, is 
added to the maintenance needs allowance. However, in 
no case shall the total amount of the maintenance needs 
allowance (basic allowance plus earned income 
allowance plus guardianship fees) for the individual 
exceed 300% of SSI. (The guardianship fee is not to 
exceed 5.0% of the individual's total monthly income.); 

(2) For an individual with only a spouse at home, the 
community spousal income allowance determined in 
accordance with § 1924(d) of the Social Security Act; 

(3) For an individual with a family at home, an additional 
amount for the maintenance needs of the family 
determined in accordance with § 1924(d) of the Social 
Security Act; and 
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(4) Amounts for incurred expenses for medical or 
remedial care that are not subject to payment by a third 
party, including Medicare and other health insurance 
premiums, deductibles, or coinsurance charges and 
necessary medical or remedial care recognized under the 
state law but not covered under the State Plan. 

b. For individuals to whom § 1924(d) of the Social 
Security Act does not apply, deduct the following in the 
respective order: 

(1) An amount for the maintenance needs of the 
individual that is equal to 165% of the SSI income limit 
for one individual. Working individuals have a greater 
need due to expenses of employment; therefore, an 
additional amount of income shall be deducted. Earned 
income shall be deducted within the following limits: (i) 
for individuals employed 20 hours or more, earned 
income shall be disregarded up to a maximum of 300% 
of SSI and (ii) for individuals employed at least eight but 
less than 20 hours, earned income shall be disregarded up 
to a maximum of 200% of SSI. However, in no case, 
shall the total amount of income (both earned and 
unearned) that is disregarded for maintenance exceed 
300% of SSI. If the individual requires a guardian or 
conservator who charges a fee, the fee, not to exceed an 
amount greater than 5.0% of the individual's total 
monthly income, is added to the maintenance needs 
allowance. However, in no case shall the total amount of 
the maintenance needs allowance (basic allowance plus 
earned income allowance plus guardianship fees) for the 
individual exceed 300% of SSI. (The guardianship fee is 
not to exceed 5.0% of the individual's total monthly 
income.); 

(2) For an individual with a family at home, an additional 
amount for the maintenance needs of the family that shall 
be equal to the medically needy income standard for a 
family of the same size; and 

(3) Amounts for incurred expenses for medical or 
remedial care that are not subject to payment by a third 
party including Medicare and other health insurance 
premiums, deductibles, or coinsurance charges and 
necessary medical or remedial care recognized under 
state law but not covered under the State Plan. 

B. Assessment and authorization of home and community-
based services. 

1. To ensure that Virginia's home and community-based 
waiver programs serve only Medicaid eligible individuals 
who would otherwise be placed in a nursing facility, home 
and community-based waiver services shall be considered 
only for individuals who are eligible for admission to a 
nursing facility. Home and community-based waiver 
services shall be the critical service to enable the individual 

to remain at home and in the community rather than being 
placed in a nursing facility. 

2. The individual's eligibility for home and community-
based services shall be determined by the Preadmission 
Screening Team after completion of a thorough assessment 
of the individual's needs and available support. If an 
individual meets nursing facility criteria, the Preadmission 
Screening Team shall provide the individual and 
family/caregiver with the choice of Elderly or Disabled 
with Consumer Direction Waiver services or nursing 
facility placement. 

3. The Preadmission Screening Team shall explore 
alternative settings or services to provide the care needed 
by the individual. When Medicaid-funded home and 
community-based care services are determined to be the 
critical services necessary to delay or avoid nursing facility 
placement, the Preadmission Screening Team shall initiate 
referrals for services. 

4. Medicaid will not pay for any home and community-
based care services delivered prior to the individual 
establishing Medicaid eligibility and prior to the date of the 
preadmission screening by the Preadmission Screening 
Team and the physician signature on the Medicaid Funded 
Long-Term Care Services Authorization Form (DMAS-
96). 

5. Before Medicaid will assume payment responsibility of 
home and community-based services, preauthorization 
must be obtained from the designated preauthorization 
contractor on all services requiring preauthorization. 
Providers must submit all required information to the 
designated preauthorization contractor within 10 business 
days of initiating care or within 10 business days of 
receiving verification of Medicaid eligibility from the local 
DSS. If the provider submits all required information to the 
designated preauthorization contractor within 10 business 
days of initiating care, services may be authorized 
beginning from the date the provider initiated services but 
not preceding the date of the physician's signature on the 
Medicaid Funded Long-Term Care Services Authorization 
Form (DMAS-96). If the provider does not submit all 
required information to the designated preauthorization 
contractor within 10 business days of initiating care, the 
services may be authorized beginning with the date all 
required information was received by the designated 
preauthorization contractor, but in no event preceding the 
date of the Preadmission Screening Team physician's 
signature on the DMAS-96 form. 

6. Once services for the individual have been authorized by 
the designated preauthorization contractor, the 
provider/services facilitator will submit a Patient 
Information Form (DMAS-122), along with a written 
confirmation of level of care eligibility from the designated 
preauthorization contractor, to the local DSS to determine 
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financial eligibility for the waiver program and any patient 
pay responsibilities. After the provider/services facilitator 
has received written notification of Medicaid eligibility by 
DSS and written enrollment from the designated 
preauthorization contractor, the provider/services 
facilitator shall inform the individual or family/caregiver 
so that services may be initiated. 

7. The provider/services facilitator with the most billable 
hours must request an updated DMAS-122 form from the 
local DSS annually and forward a copy of the updated 
DMAS-122 form to all service providers when obtained. 

8. Home and community-based care services shall not be 
offered or provided to any individual who resides in a 
nursing facility, an intermediate care facility for the 
mentally retarded, a hospital, an assisted living facility 
licensed by DSS or an Adult Foster Care provider certified 
by DSS, that serves five or more individuals, or a group 
home licensed by the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services with the 
exception of transition coordination and transition services. 
Additionally, home and community-based care services 
shall not be provided to any individual who resides outside 
of the physical boundaries of the Commonwealth, with the 
exception of brief periods of time as approved by DMAS 
or the designated preauthorization contractor. Brief periods 
of time may include, but are not necessarily restricted to, 
vacation or illness. 

9. Certain home and community-based services shall not 
be available to individuals residing in an assisted living 
facility licensed by DSS that serves four individuals. These 
services are: respite, PERS, environmental modifications 
and transition services. Personal care services are limited 
to five hours per day of ADL care. 

C. Appeals. Recipient appeals shall be considered pursuant 
to 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. Provider 
appeals shall be considered pursuant to 12VAC30-10-1000 
and 12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560. 

12VAC30-120-970. Personal emergency response system 
(PERS). 

A. Service description. PERS is a service that monitors 
individual safety in the home and provides access to 
emergency assistance for medical or environmental 
emergencies through the provision of a two-way voice 
communication system that dials a 24-hour response or 
monitoring center upon activation and via the individual's 
home telephone line. PERS may also include medication 
monitoring devices. 

B. Standards for PERS equipment. All PERS equipment 
must be approved by the Federal Communications 
Commission and meet the Underwriters' Laboratories, Inc. 
(UL) safety standard Number 1635 for digital alarm 
communicator system units and Number 1637 for home 

health care signaling equipment. The UL listing mark on the 
equipment will be accepted as evidence of the equipment's 
compliance with such standard. The PERS device must be 
automatically reset by the response center after each 
activation, ensuring that subsequent signals can be 
transmitted without requiring manual reset by the recipient. 

C. Criteria. PERS services are limited to those individuals 
ages 14 and older who live alone or are alone for significant 
parts of the day and who have no regular caregiver for 
extended periods of time and who would otherwise require 
extensive routine supervision. PERS may only be provided in 
conjunction with personal care (agency- or consumer-
directed), respite (agency- or consumer-directed), or adult day 
health care. An individual may not receive PERS if he has a 
cognitive impairment as defined in 12VAC30-120-900. 

1. PERS can be authorized when there is no one else, other 
than the individual, in the home who is competent and 
continuously available to call for help in an emergency. If 
the individual's caregiver has a business in the home, such 
as, but not limited to, a day care center, PERS will only be 
approved if the individual is evaluated as being dependent 
in the categories of "Behavior Pattern" and "Orientation" 
on the Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI). 

2. Medication monitoring units must be physician ordered. 
In order to receive medication monitoring services, an 
individual must also receive PERS services. The physician 
orders must be maintained in the individual's file. 

D. Services units and services limitations. 

1. A unit of service shall include administrative costs, time, 
labor, and supplies associated with the installation, 
maintenance, adjustments, and monitoring of the PERS. A 
unit of service equals the one-month rental of PERS, the 
price of which is set by DMAS. The one-time installation 
of the unit includes installation, account activation, and 
individual and caregiver instruction. The one-time 
installation fee shall also include the cost of the removal of 
the PERS equipment. 

2. PERS service must be capable of being activated by a 
remote wireless device and be connected to the individual's 
telephone line. The PERS console unit must provide 
hands-free voice-to-voice communication with the 
response center. The activating device must be waterproof, 
automatically transmit to the response center an activator 
low battery alert signal prior to the battery losing power, 
and be able to be worn by the individual.  

3. In cases where medication monitoring units must be 
filled by the provider, the person filling the unit must be a 
registered nurse, a licensed practical nurse, or a licensed 
pharmacist. The units can be refilled every 14 days. There 
must be documentation of this in the individual's record.  
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E. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
waiver participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-
80, 12VAC30-120-160, and 12VAC30-120-930, PERS 
providers must also meet the following qualifications and 
requirements:  

1. A PERS provider must be either a personal care agency, 
a durable medical equipment provider, a hospital, a 
licensed home health provider, or a PERS manufacturer. 
All such providers shall have the ability to provide PERS 
equipment, direct services (i.e., installation, equipment 
maintenance, and service calls), and PERS monitoring;  

2. The PERS provider must provide an emergency 
response center with fully trained operators who are 
capable of (i) receiving signals for help from an 
individual's PERS equipment 24 hours a day, 365 or 366 
days per year as appropriate; (ii) determining whether an 
emergency exists; and (iii) notifying an emergency 
response organization or an emergency responder that the 
PERS individual needs emergency help;  

3. A PERS provider must comply with all applicable 
Virginia statutes, all applicable regulations of DMAS, and 
all other governmental agencies having jurisdiction over 
the services to be performed;  

4. The PERS provider has the primary responsibility to 
furnish, install, maintain, test, and service the PERS 
equipment, as required, to keep it fully operational. The 
provider shall replace or repair the PERS device within 24 
hours of the individual's notification of a malfunction of 
the console unit, activating devices, or medication 
monitoring unit and shall provide temporary equipment 
while the original equipment is being repaired;  

5. The PERS provider must properly install all PERS 
equipment into a PERS individual's functioning telephone 
line within seven days of the request unless there is 
appropriate documentation of why this timeframe cannot 
be met. The PERS provider must furnish all supplies 
necessary to ensure that the system is installed and 
working properly. The PERS provider must test the PERS 
device monthly, or more frequently if needed, to ensure 
that the device is fully operational;  

6. The PERS installation shall include local seize line 
circuitry, which guarantees that the unit will have priority 
over the telephone connected to the console unit should the 
telephone be off the hook or in use when the unit is 
activated;  

7. A PERS provider must maintain a data record for each 
PERS individual at no additional cost to DMAS or the 
individual. The record must document all of the following:  

a. Delivery date and installation date of the PERS;  

b. Individual/caregiver signature verifying receipt of the 
PERS device;  

c. Verification by a test that the PERS device is 
operational, monthly or more frequently as needed;  

d. Updated and current individual responder and contact 
information, as provided by the individual or the 
individual's caregiver; and  

e. A case log documenting the individual's utilization of 
the system, all contacts, and all communications with the 
individual, caregiver, and responders; 

8. The PERS provider must have backup monitoring 
capacity in case the primary system cannot handle 
incoming emergency signals; 

9. All PERS equipment must be approved by the Federal 
Communications Commission and meet the Underwriters' 
Laboratories, Inc. (UL) Safety Standard Number 1635 for 
digital alarm communicator system units and Safety 
Standard Number 1637 for home health care signaling 
equipment. The UL listing mark on the equipment will be 
accepted as evidence of the equipment's compliance with 
such standard. The PERS device must be automatically 
reset by the response center after each activation, ensuring 
that subsequent signals can be transmitted without 
requiring a manual reset by the individual; 

10. A PERS provider must furnish education, data, and 
ongoing assistance to DMAS and the designated 
preauthorization contractor to familiarize staff with the 
services, allow for ongoing evaluation and refinement of 
the program, and instruct the individual, caregiver, and 
responders in the use of the PERS services; 

11. The emergency response activator must be activated 
either by breath, by touch, or by some other means, and 
must be usable by individuals who are visually or hearing 
impaired or physically disabled. The emergency response 
communicator must be capable of operating without 
external power during a power failure at the individual's 
home for a minimum period of 24 hours and automatically 
transmit a low battery alert signal to the response center if 
the backup battery is low. The emergency response console 
unit must also be able to self-disconnect and redial the 
backup monitoring site without the individual resetting the 
system in the event it cannot get its signal accepted at the 
response center; 

12. PERS providers must be capable of continuously 
monitoring and responding to emergencies under all 
conditions, including power failures and mechanical 
malfunctions. It is the PERS provider's responsibility to 
ensure that the monitoring agency and the monitoring 
agency's equipment meets the following requirements. The 
PERS provider must be capable of simultaneously 
responding to multiple signals for help from individuals' 
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PERS equipment. The PERS provider's equipment must 
include the following: 

a. A primary receiver and a backup receiver, which must 
be independent and interchangeable; 

b. A backup information retrieval system; 

c. A clock printer, which must print out the time and date 
of the emergency signal, the PERS individual's 
identification code, and the emergency code that 
indicates whether the signal is active, passive, or a 
responder test; 

d. A backup power supply; 

e. A separate telephone service; 

f. A toll-free number to be used by the PERS equipment 
in order to contact the primary or backup response 
center; and 

g. A telephone line monitor, which must give visual and 
audible signals when the incoming telephone line is 
disconnected for more than 10 seconds; 

13. The PERS provider must maintain detailed technical 
and operation manuals that describe PERS elements, 
including the installation, functioning, and testing of PERS 
equipment; emergency response protocols; and 
recordkeeping and reporting procedures; 

14. The PERS provider shall document and furnish within 
30 days of the action taken a written report for each 
emergency signal that results in action being taken on 
behalf of the individual. This excludes test signals or 
activations made in error. This written report shall be 
furnished to the personal care provider, the respite care 
provider, the CD services facilitation provider, the 
transition coordinator, case manager, as appropriate to the 
waiver in which the individual is enrolled or, in cases 
where the individual only receives ADHC services, to the 
ADHC provider; 

15. The PERS provider is prohibited from performing any 
type of direct marketing activities to Medicaid individuals; 
and  

16. The PERS provider must obtain and keep on file a copy 
of the most recently completed Patient Information form 
(DMAS-122). Until the PERS provider obtains a copy of 
the DMAS-122 form, the PERS provider must clearly 
document efforts to obtain the completed DMAS-122 form 
from the personal care provider, respite care provider, the 
CD services facilitation provider, the transition 
coordinator, the case manager, or the ADHC provider, as 
appropriate to the waiver in which the individual is 
enrolled. 

Part X 
Day Support Waiver for Individuals with Mental Retardation 

12VAC30-120-1500. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 
have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge adverse 
actions regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement 
provided by Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 
12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560.  

"Behavioral health authority" or "BHA" means the local 
agency, established by a city or county under Chapter 6 
(§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that 
plans, provides, and evaluates mental health, mental 
retardation, and substance abuse services in the locality that it 
serves. 

"Case management" means the assessing and planning of 
services; linking the individual to services and supports 
identified in the consumer service plan; assisting the 
individual directly for the purpose of locating, developing or 
obtaining needed services and resources; coordinating 
services and service planning with other agencies and 
providers involved with the individual; enhancing community 
integration; making collateral contacts to promote the 
implementation of the consumer service plan and community 
integration; monitoring to assess ongoing progress and 
ensuring services are delivered; and education and counseling 
that guides the individual and develops a supportive 
relationship that promotes the consumer service plan.  

"Case manager" means the individual who performs case 
management services on behalf of the community services 
board or behavioral health authority, and who possesses a 
combination of mental retardation work experience and 
relevant education that indicates that the individual possesses 
the knowledge, skills and abilities as established by the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services in 12VAC30-50-
450.  

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services, which is the unit of the federal Department of 
Health and Human Services that administers the Medicare 
and Medicaid programs.  

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the local 
agency, established by a city or county or combination of 
counties or cities under Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 
37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that plans, provides, and 
evaluates mental health, mental retardation, and substance 
abuse services in the jurisdiction or jurisdictions it serves.  

"Comprehensive assessment" means the gathering of 
relevant social, psychological, medical, and level of care 
information by the case manager and is used as a basis for the 
development of the consumer service plan.  
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"Consumer service plan" or "CSP" means documents 
addressing needs in all life areas of individuals who receive 
Day Support Waiver services, and is comprised of individual 
service plans as dictated by the individual's health care and 
support needs. The case manager incorporates the individual 
service plans in the CSP. 

"Date of need" means the date of the initial eligibility 
determination assigned to reflect that the individual is 
diagnostically and functionally eligible for the waiver and is 
willing to begin services within 30 days. The date of need is 
not changed unless the person is subsequently found 
ineligible or withdraws their request for services. 

"Day support services" means training, assistance, and 
specialized supervision in the acquisition, retention, or 
improvement of self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills, 
which typically take place outside the home in which the 
individual resides. Day support services shall focus on 
enabling the individual to attain or maintain his maximum 
functional level.  

"Day Support Waiver for Individuals with Mental 
Retardation" or "Day Support Waiver" means the program 
that provides day support, prevocational services, and 
supported employment to individuals on the Mental 
Retardation Waiver waiting list who have been assigned a 
Day Support Waiver slot. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services. 

"DMHMRSAS" means the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"DMHMRSAS staff" means persons employed by the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services. 

"DRS" means the Department of Rehabilitative Services. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Enroll" means that the individual has been determined by 
the case manager to meet the eligibility requirements for the 
Day Support Waiver and DMHMRSAS has verified the 
availability of a Day Support Waiver slot for that individual, 
and DSS has determined the individual's Medicaid eligibility 
for home and community-based services. 

"EPSDT" means the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment program administered by DMAS for children 
under the age of 21 according to federal guidelines that 
prescribe preventive and treatment services for Medicaid-
eligible children as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 
services" means the range of community support services 

approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social Security Act to be 
offered to persons with mental retardation who would 
otherwise require the level of care provided in an 
Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded 
(ICF/MR). 

"Individual" means the person receiving the services or 
evaluations established in these regulations. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the service plan 
related solely to the specific waiver service. Multiple ISPs 
help to comprise the overall consumer service plan.  

"Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded" or 
"ICF/MR" means a facility or distinct part of a facility 
certified by the Virginia Department of Health as meeting the 
federal certification regulations for an intermediate care 
facility for the mentally retarded and persons with related 
conditions. These facilities must address the total needs of the 
residents, which include physical, intellectual, social, 
emotional, and habilitation, and must provide active 
treatment. 

"Mental retardation" or "MR" means mental retardation a 
disability as defined by the American Association on Mental 
Retardation (AAMR) Intellectual and Developmental 
Disabilities (AAIDD). 

"Participating provider" means an entity that meets the 
standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and 
DMHMRSAS, and has a current, signed provider 
participation agreement with DMAS. 

"Preauthorized" means that an individual service has been 
approved by DMHMRSAS prior to commencement of the 
service by the service provider for initiation and 
reimbursement of services. 

"Prevocational services" means services aimed at preparing 
an individual for paid or unpaid employment, but are not job-
task oriented. Prevocational services are provided to 
individuals who are not expected to be able to join the general 
work force without supports or to participate in a transitional 
sheltered workshop within one year of beginning waiver 
services (excluding supported employment programs). The 
services do not include activities that are specifically job-task 
oriented but focus on concepts such as accepting supervision, 
attendance, task completion, problem solving and safety. 
Compensation, if provided, is less than 50% of the minimum 
wage. 

"Slot" means an opening or vacancy of waiver services for 
an individual. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "Plan" means the 
Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 
identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 
limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 
provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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"Supported employment" means work in settings in which 
persons without disabilities are typically employed. It 
includes training in specific skills related to paid employment 
and the provision of ongoing or intermittent assistance and 
specialized supervision to enable an individual with mental 
retardation to maintain paid employment.  

12VAC30-120-1550. Services: day support services, 
prevocational services and supported employment 
services. 

A. Service descriptions. 

1. Day support means training, assistance, and specialized 
supervision in the acquisition, retention, or improvement of 
self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills, which typically 
take place outside the home in which the individual 
resides. Day support services shall focus on enabling the 
individual to attain or maintain his maximum functional 
level. 

2. Prevocational services means services aimed at 
preparing an individual for paid or unpaid employment, but 
are not job-task oriented. Prevocational services are 
provided to individuals who are not expected to be able to 
join the general work force without supports or to 
participate in a transitional sheltered workshop within one 
year of beginning waiver services (excluding supported 
employment programs). The services do not include 
activities that are specifically job-task oriented but focus 
on concepts such as accepting supervision, attendance, task 
completion, problem solving and safety. Compensation, if 
provided, is less than 50% of the minimum wage. 

3. Supported employment services are provided in work 
settings where persons without disabilities are employed. It 
is especially designed for individuals with developmental 
disabilities, including individuals with mental retardation, 
who face severe impediments to employment due to the 
nature and complexity of their disabilities, irrespective of 
age or vocational potential. 

a. Supported employment services are available to 
individuals for whom competitive employment at or 
above the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing 
supports and who because of their disability need 
ongoing support to perform in a work setting. 

b. Supported employment can be provided in one of two 
models. Individual supported employment shall be 
defined as intermittent support, usually provided one-on-
one by a job coach to an individual in a supported 
employment position. Group-supported employment 
shall be defined as continuous support provided by staff 
to eight or fewer individuals with disabilities in an 
enclave, work crew, bench work, or entrepreneurial 
model. The individual's assessment and CSP must clearly 
reflect the individual's need for training and supports. 

B. Criteria.  

1. For day support services, individuals must demonstrate 
the need for functional training, assistance, and specialized 
supervision offered primarily in settings other than the 
individual's own residence that allow an opportunity for 
being productive and contributing members of 
communities. 

2. For prevocational services, the individual must 
demonstrate the need for support in skills that are aimed 
toward preparation of paid employment that may be 
offered in a variety of community settings. 

3. For supported employment, the individual shall have 
demonstrated that competitive employment at or above the 
minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing supports, and 
that because of his disability, he needs ongoing support to 
perform in a work setting. 

a. Only job development tasks that specifically include 
the individual are allowable job search activities under 
the Day Support waiver supported employment and only 
after determining this service is not available from DRS. 

b. A functional assessment must be conducted to evaluate 
the individual in his work environment and related 
community settings. 

C. Service types. The amount and type of day support and 
prevocational services included in the individual's service 
plan is determined according to the services required for that 
individual. There are two types of services: center-based, 
which is provided primarily at one location/building, and 
noncenter-based, which is provided primarily in community 
settings. Both types of services may be provided at either 
intensive or regular levels. For supported employment, the 
ISP must document the amount of supported employment 
required by the individual. Service providers are reimbursed 
only for the amount and type of supported employment 
included in the individual's ISP. 

D. Intensive level criteria. For day support and prevocational 
services to be authorized at the intensive level, the individual 
must meet at least one of the following criteria: (i) require 
physical assistance to meet the basic personal care needs 
(toileting, feeding, etc); (ii) have extensive disability-related 
difficulties and require additional, ongoing support to fully 
participate in programming and to accomplish his service 
goals; or (iii) require extensive constant supervision to reduce 
or eliminate behaviors that preclude full participation in the 
program. In this case, written behavioral objectives are 
required to address behaviors such as, but not limited to, 
withdrawal, self-injury, aggression, or self-stimulation.  

E. Service units. Day support, prevocational and group 
models of supported employment (enclaves, work crews, 
bench work and entrepreneurial model of supported 
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employment) are billed in units. Units shall be defined as: 
accordance with the DMAS fee schedule. 

1. One unit is 1 to 3.99 hours of service a day.  

2. Two units are 4 to 6.99 hours of service a day.  

3. Three units are 7 or more hours of service a day. 

4. Supported employment for individual job placement is 
provided in one-hour units.  

F. Service limitations. 

1. There must be separate supporting documentation for 
each service and each must be clearly differentiated in 
documentation and corresponding billing.  

2. The supporting documentation must provide an estimate 
of the amount of services required by the individual. 
Service providers are reimbursed only for the amount and 
type of services included in the individual's approved ISP 
based on the setting, intensity, and duration of the service 
to be delivered.  

3. Day support, prevocational and group models of 
supported employment services shall be limited to a total 
of 780 units per CSP year, or its equivalent under the 
DMAS fee schedule. If an individual receives a 
combination of day support, prevocational and/or 
supported employment services, the combined total shall 
not exceed 780 units per CSP year, or its equivalent under 
the DMAS fee schedule. 

4. The individual job placement model of supported 
employment is limited to 40 hours per week. 

5. For day support services:  

a. Day support cannot be regularly or temporarily 
provided in an individual's home or other residential 
setting (e.g., due to inclement weather or individual 
illness) without prior written approval from 
DMHMRSAS.  

b. Noncenter-based day support services must be separate 
and distinguishable from other services.  

6. For the individual job placement model, reimbursement 
of supported employment will be limited to actual 
documented interventions or collateral contacts by the 
provider, not the amount of time the individual is in the 
supported employment situation. 

G. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, service providers must meet the 
following requirements:  

1. The provider of day support services must be licensed 
by DMHMRSAS as a provider of day support services. 
The provider of prevocational services must be a vendor of 

extended employment services, long-term employment 
services, or supported employment services for DRS, or be 
licensed by DMHMRSAS as a provider of day support 
services. 

2. Supported employment shall be provided only by 
agencies that are DRS vendors of supported employment 
services; 

3. In addition to any licensing requirements, persons 
providing day support or prevocational services are 
required to participate in training in the characteristics of 
mental retardation and appropriate interventions, training 
strategies, and support methods for persons with mental 
retardation and functional limitations prior to providing 
direct services. All providers of services must pass an 
objective, standardized test of skills, knowledge, and 
abilities approved by DMHMRSAS and administered 
according to DMHMRSAS' defined procedures. 

4. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider agency must maintain records of each individual 
receiving services. At a minimum these records must 
contain the following: 

a. A functional assessment conducted by the provider to 
evaluate each individual in the service environment and 
community settings.  

b. An ISP that contains, at a minimum, the following 
elements:  

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports and training needs;  

(2) The individual's goals and, a sequence of measurable 
objectives to meet the above identified outcomes;  

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives;  

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives as appropriate;  

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and  

(6) The provider staff responsible for the overall 
coordination and integration of the services specified in 
the ISP.  

d. c. Documentation confirming the individual's 
attendance and amount of time in services, type of 
services rendered, and specific information regarding the 
individual's response to various settings and supports as 
agreed to in the ISP objectives. An attendance log or 
similar document must be maintained that indicates the 
date, type of services rendered, and the number of hours 
and units provided. 
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e. d. Documentation indicating whether day support or 
prevocational services were center-based or noncenter-
based.  

f. e. In instances where staff are required to ride with the 
individual to and from the service in order to provide 
needed supports as specified in the ISP, the staff time can 
be billed as day support, prevocational or supported 
employment services, provided that the billing for this 
time does not exceed 25% of the total time spent in the 
day support, prevocational or supported employment 
activity for that day. Documentation must be maintained 
to verify that billing for staff coverage during 
transportation does not exceed 25% of the total time 
spent in the service for that day.  

g. f. If intensive day support or prevocational services are 
requested, there shall be documentation indicating the 
specific supports and the reasons they are needed. For 
ongoing intensive services, there must be clear 
documentation of the ongoing needs and associated staff 
supports.  

h. g. The ISP goals, objectives, and activities must be 
reviewed by the provider quarterly, and annually, and or 
more often as needed and the results of the review 
submitted to the case manager. For the annual review and 
in cases where the ISP is modified, the ISP must be 
reviewed with the individual or family/caregiver.  

i. h. Copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
form. The provider must clearly document efforts to 
obtain the completed DMAS-122 form from the case 
manager. 

j. i. For prevocational or supported employment services, 
documentation regarding whether prevocational or 
supported employment services are available through 
§ 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or through the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). If 
the individual is not eligible for services through the 
IDEA, documentation is required only for lack of DRS 
funding. When services are provided through these 
sources, the ISP shall not authorize such services as a 
waiver expenditure.  

k. j. Prevocational services can only be provided when 
the individual's compensation is less than 50% of the 
minimum wage. 

12VAC30-120-2000. Transition coordinator. 

A. Service description. 

1. Transition coordination means the DMAS-enrolled 
provider who is responsible for supporting the individual 
and family/caregiver, as appropriate, with the activities 
associated with transitioning from an institution to the 
community pursuant to the Elderly or Disabled with 
Consumer Direction waiver. 

2. Transition coordination services include, but are not 
limited to, the development of a transition plan; the 
provision of information about services that may be 
needed, in accordance with the timeframe specified by 
federal law, prior to the discharge date, during and after 
transition; the coordination of community-based services 
with the case manager if case management is available; 
linkage to services needed prior to transition such as 
housing, peer counseling, budget management training, 
and transportation; and the provision of ongoing support 
for up to 12 months after discharge date. 

B. Criteria. 

1. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall 
have a demonstrated need for transition coordination of 
any of these services. Documented need shall indicate that 
the service plan cannot be implemented effectively and 
efficiently without such coordination from this service. 
Transition coordination services must be prior authorized 
by DMAS or its designated agent. 

2. The individual's service plan shall clearly reflect the 
individual's needs for transition coordination provided to 
the individual, family/caregivers, and providers in order to 
implement the service plan effectively. The service plan 
includes, at a minimum: (i) a summary or reference to the 
assessment; (ii) goals and measurable objectives for 
addressing each identified need; (iii) the services, supports, 
and frequency of service to accomplish the goals and 
objectives; (iv) target dates for accomplishment of goals 
and objectives; (v) estimated duration of service; (vi) the 
role of other agencies if the plan is a shared responsibility; 
and (vii) the staff responsible for coordination and 
integration of services, including the staff of other agencies 
if the plan is a shared responsibility. 

C. Service units and limitations. The unit of service shall be 
specified by the DMAS fee schedule. The services shall be 
explicitly detailed in the supporting documentation. Travel 
time is an in-kind expense within this service and is not 
billable as a separate item. Transition coordination may not 
be billed solely for purposes of monitoring. Transition 
coordination shall be available to individuals who are 
transitioning from institutional care to the community. 
Transition coordination service providers shall be reimbursed 
according to the amount and type of service authorized in the 
service plan based on a monthly fee for service. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home- and community-based 
care participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-
217 and 12VAC30-120-219, transition coordinators shall 
meet the following qualifications: 

1. Transition coordinators shall be employed by one of the 
following: a local government agency; a private, nonprofit 
organization qualified under 26 USC § 501(c)(3); or a 
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fiscal management service with experience in providing 
this service. 

2. A qualified transition coordinator shall possess, at a 
minimum, a bachelor's degree in human services or health 
care and relevant experience that indicates the individual 
possesses the following knowledge, skills, and abilities. 
These shall be documented on the transition coordinator's 
job application form or supporting documentation, or 
observable in the job or promotion interview. The 
transition coordinator shall be at least 21 years of age. 

3. Transition coordinators shall have knowledge of aging, 
independent living, the impact of disabilities and transition 
planning; individual assessments (including psychosocial, 
health, and functional factors) and their uses in service 
planning, interviewing techniques, individuals' rights, local 
human and health service delivery systems, including 
support services and public benefits eligibility 
requirements, principles of human behavior and 
interpersonal relationships, interpersonal communication 
principles and techniques, general principles of file 
documentation, the service planning process, and the major 
components of a service plan. 

4. Transition coordinators shall have skills in negotiating 
with individuals and service providers; observing, and 
reporting behaviors; identifying and documenting an 
individual's needs for resources, services and other 
assistance; identifying services within the established 
services system to meet the individual's needs; 
coordinating the provision of services by diverse public 
and private providers; analyzing and planning for the 
service needs of the individual; and assessing individuals 
using DMAS' authorized assessment forms. 

5. Transition coordinators shall have the ability to 
demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and their 
families or designated guardian; be persistent and remain 
objective; work as a team member, maintaining effective 
interagency and intraagency working relationships; work 
independently, performing position duties under general 
supervision; communicate effectively, both verbally and in 
writing; develop a rapport; communicate with different 
types of persons from diverse cultural backgrounds; and 
interview. 

12VAC30-120-2010. Transition services. 

A. Service description. "Transition services" means set-up 
expenses for individuals who are transitioning from an 
institution or licensed or certified provider-operated living 
arrangement to a living arrangement in a private residence, 
which may include an adult foster home, where the person is 
directly responsible for his own living expenses. 12VAC30-
120-2010 provides the service description, criteria, service 
units and limitations, and provider requirements for this 
service. 

The individual's transition from an institution to the 
community shall have a transition coordinator in order to 
receive EDCD Waiver services or a case manager or health 
care coordinator if he shall be receiving services through 
either the HIV/AIDS, IFDDS, MR or Technology Assisted 
Waivers. 

B. Criteria for receipt of services. In order to be provided, 
transition services shall be prior authorized by DMAS or its 
designated agent. These services include rent or utility 
deposits, basic furniture and appliances, health and safety 
assurances, and other reasonable expenses incurred as part of 
a transition. For the purposes of transition services, an 
institution means an ICF/MR, a nursing facility, or a 
specialized care facility/hospital as defined at 42 CFR 
435.1009. Transition services do not apply to an acute care 
admission to a hospital. 

C. Service units and limitations. 

1. Services are available for one transition per individual 
and must be expended within nine months from the date of 
authorization. The total cost of these services shall not 
exceed $5,000, per person lifetime limit coverage of 
transition costs to residents of nursing facilities, specialized 
care facility/hospitals, or ICF/MR, who are Medicaid 
recipients and are able to return to the community.  The 
$5,000 maximum allowance must be expended within nine 
months from the date of authorization for transition 
services. It shall not be available to the individual after that 
period of time. The DMAS designated fiscal agent shall 
manage the accounting of the transition service. The 
transition coordinator for the EDCD Waiver or the case 
manager or health care coordinator, as appropriate to the 
waiver, shall ensure that the funding spent is reasonable 
and does not exceed the $5,000 maximum limit. 

2. Allowable costs include, but are not limited to:  

a. Security deposits that are required to obtain a lease on 
an apartment or home; 

b. Essential household furnishings required to occupy 
and use a community domicile, including furniture, 
window coverings, food preparation items, and bed/bath 
linens; 

c. Set-up fees or deposits for utility or services access, 
including telephone, electricity, heating and water; 

d. Services necessary for the individual's health, safety, 
and welfare such as pest eradication and one-time 
cleaning prior to occupancy; 

e. Moving expenses; 

f. Fees to obtain a copy of a birth certificate or an 
identification card or driver's license; and 

g. Activities to assess need, arrange for, and procure 
needed resources. 
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3. The services are furnished only to the extent that they 
are reasonable and necessary as determined through the 
service plan development process, are clearly identified in 
the service plan and the person is unable to meet such 
expense, or when the services cannot be obtained from 
another source. The expenses do not include monthly 
rental or mortgage expenses, food, regular utility charges, 
or household items that are intended for purely 
diversional/recreational purposes. This service does not 
include services or items that are covered under other 
waiver services such as chore, homemaker, environmental 
modifications and adaptations, or specialized supplies and 
equipment. 

D. Provider requirements. Providers must be enrolled as a 
Medicaid Provider for Transition Coordination or Case 
Management and work with the DMAS designated agent to 
receive reimbursement for the purchase of appropriate 
transition goods or services on behalf of the individual. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (12VAC30-120) 

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) (1994).  

Consent to Exchange Information, DMAS-20 (rev. 4/03).  

Provider Aide/LPN Record Personal/Respite Care, DMAS-
90 (rev. 12/02).  

LPN Skilled Respite Record, DMAS-90A (eff. 7/05).  

Personal Assistant/Companion Timesheet, DMAS-91 (rev. 
8/03).  

Questionnaire to Assess an Applicant's Ability to 
Independently Manage Personal Attendant Services in the 
CD-PAS Waiver or DD Waiver, DMAS-95 Addendum (eff. 
8/00).  

Medicaid Funded Long-Term Care Service Authorization 
Form, DMAS-96 (rev. 10/06).  

Screening Team Plan of Care for Medicaid-Funded Long 
Term Care, DMAS-97 (rev. 12/02).  

Provider Agency Plan of Care, DMAS-97A (rev. 9/02).  

Consumer Directed Services Plan of Care, DMAS-97B (rev. 
1/98).  

Community-Based Care Recipient Assessment Report, 
DMAS-99 (rev. 4/03).  

Consumer-Directed Personal Attendant Services Recipient 
Assessment Report, DMAS-99B (rev. 8/03).  

MI/MR Level I Supplement for EDCD Waiver Applicants, 
DMAS-101A (rev. 10/04).  

Assessment of Active Treatment Needs for Individuals with 
MI, MR, or RC Who Request Services under the Elder or 
Disabled with Consumer-Direction Waivers, DMAS-101B 
(rev. 10/04).  

AIDS Waiver Evaluation Form for Enteral Nutrition, 
DMAS-116 (6/03).  

Patient Information Form, DMAS-122 (rev. 12/98) 11/07).  

Technology Assisted Waiver/EPSDT Nursing Services 
Provider Skills Checklist for Individuals Caring for 
Tracheostomized and/or Ventilator Assisted Children and 
Adults, DMAS-259.  

Home Health Certification and Plan of Care, CMS-485 (rev. 
2/94).  

IFDDS Waiver Level of Care Eligibility Form (eff. 5/07). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC30-120) 

Mental Retardation: Definition, Classification, and Systems 
of Supports, 10th Edition, 2002, American Association on 
Mental Retardation. 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fourth Edition (DMS-IV-TR), 2000, American Psychiatric 
Association. 

Underwriter's Laboratories Safety Standard 1635, Standard 
for Digital Alarm Communicator System Units, Third 
Edition, January 31, 1996, with revisions through August 15, 
2005. 

Underwriter's Laboratories Safety Standard 1637, Standard 
for Home Health Care Signaling Equipment, Fourth Edition, 
December 29, 2006. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1107; Filed May 19, 2009, 3:57 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Department of Labor and 
Industry is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Department of Labor and 
Industry will receive, consider and respond to petitions from 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 16VAC15-21. Maximum Garnishment 
Amounts (amending 16VAC15-21-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 34-29 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 24, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Wendy Inge, Director, Division of Labor 
and Employment Law, Department of Labor and Industry, 
Powers-Taylor Building, 13 South Thirteenth Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3224, FAX (804) 
371-2324, TTY (804) 786-2376, or email 
wendy.inge@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In 2007 Congress passed HR2206, U.S. Troop Readiness, 
Veterans’ Care, Katrina Recovery, and Iraq Accountability 
Appropriations Act, which includes a provision that raises 
the federal minimum wage rate to $7.25 per hour as of 
July 24, 2009. The amendments reflect this change in the 
minimum wage. 

16VAC15-21-30. Calculation of maximum garnishment 
amounts for an ordinary debt.  

A. Weekly earnings.  

1. If the amount of weekly disposable earnings equals 40 
times the federal minimum wage rate (F.M.W.R.) or less, 
nothing may be withheld for garnishment.  

2. If the weekly disposable earnings exceed 40 times the 
federal minimum wage rate (F.M.W.R.), the maximum 
amount that can be withheld for garnishment shall be either 
25% of the weekly disposable earnings or the amount by 
which the weekly disposable earnings exceed 40 times the 
F.M.W.R., whichever is less, so long as the amount 
withheld does not reduce the weekly disposable earnings 
below 40 times the F.M.W.R. Based on a federal minimum 
wage rate of $6.55 $7.25 per hour, 40 times the F.M.W.R. 
is $262 $290. Thus, for example, as of July 24, 2008 2009, 
if the weekly disposable earnings are less than or equal to 
$262 $290, nothing may be withheld for garnishment. An 
increase in the F.M.W.R. will increase the amount of 
weekly disposable earnings that would be shielded from 
garnishment.  

B. Biweekly earnings. The maximum amount which may be 
withheld for garnishment from biweekly earnings shall be 
calculated in the same manner as described for weekly 
earnings in subsection A of this section, except that the 
corresponding weekly amounts in subdivisions A 1 and A 2 
of this section shall be multiplied by 2.  

C. Semimonthly earnings. The maximum amount which 
may be withheld for garnishment from semimonthly earnings 
shall be calculated in the same manner as described for 
weekly earnings in subsection A of this section, except that 
the corresponding weekly amounts in subdivisions A 1 and A 
2 of this section shall be multiplied by 2.16665.  

D. Monthly earnings. The maximum amount of monthly 
disposable earnings which may be withheld for garnishment 
shall be calculated in the same manner as weekly earnings in 
subsection A of this section, except that the corresponding 
weekly amounts in subdivisions A 1 and A 2 of this section 
shall be multiplied by 4.33330.  

E. Earnings for a period of more than one month. The 
maximum amount which may be withheld in garnishment for 
work periods in excess of one month shall be calculated in the 
same manner as described for weekly earnings in subsection 
A of this section, except that the corresponding weekly 
amounts in subdivisions A 1 and A 2 of this section shall be 
multiplied by the number of weeks worked. The number of 
weeks worked shall be calculated by dividing the total 
number of days in the period worked by 7, calculated to 4 
decimal places.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1971; Filed May 18, 2009, 10:39 a.m.  

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulations are 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 
will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 
General Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-
1910.95, 16VAC25-90-1910.134, 16VAC25-90-1910.156, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1001, 16VAC25-90-1910.1003, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1017, 16VAC25-90-1910.1018, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1025, 16VAC25-90-1910.1026, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1027, 16VAC25-90-1910.1028, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1029, 16VAC25-90-1910.1030, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1043, 16VAC25-90-1910.1044, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1045, 16VAC25-90-1910.1047, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1048, 16VAC25-90-1910.1050, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1051, 16VAC25-90-1910.1052; adding 
16VAC25-90-1910.9). 

16VAC25-100. Federal Identical Shipyard Employment 
Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-1915.1001, 16VAC25-
90-1915.1026; adding 16VAC25-100-1915.9). 

16VAC25-120. Federal Identical Marine Terminals 
Standards (adding 16VAC25-120-1917.5). 

16VAC25-130. Federal Identical Longshoring Standards 
for Hazard Communications (adding 16VAC25-130-
1918.5). 
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16VAC25-175. Federal Identical Construction Industry 
Standards (amending 16VAC25-175-1926.60, 16VAC25-
175-1926.62, 16VAC25-175-1926.761, 16VAC25-175-
1926.1101, 16VAC25-175-1926.1126, 16VAC25-175-
1926.1127; adding 16VAC25-175-1926.20). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 15, 2009. 

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Building, 13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Federal OSHA revised the language of the initial 
respirator paragraphs, adopted in the 1998 respiratory 
protection rule, in its general industry, maritime and 
construction standards (29 CFR Parts 1910, 1915, 1917, 
1918 and 1926 of the Code of Federal Regulations) to 
add language clarifying that the personal protective 
equipment (PPE) and training requirements in safety and 
health standards in these parts impose a compliance duty 
to each and every employee covered by the standards 
and that noncompliance may expose the employer to 
liability on a per-employee basis.  

The amendments revised the language of those initial 
training paragraphs that required the employer to 
institute or provide a training program to explicitly state 
that the employer must train each employee.  This 
revision added a new section to the introductory subparts 
of each part to clarify that standards requiring the 
employer to provide PPE, including respirators, or to 
provide training to employees, impose a separate 
compliance duty to each employee covered by the 
requirement and that each instance of an employee who 
does not receive the required PPE or training may be 
considered a separate violation. 

Following the December 12, 2008, publication of the 
final rule for the Clarification of Employer Duty to 
Provide Personal Protective Equipment and Train Each 
Employee (73 FR 75568), federal OSHA discovered an 
error in the amendatory language of that final rule.  The 
correction, located in 29 CFR 1926.1101 on page 75589, 
in the first column, Subpart Z, item 44, consisted of 
substituting "(h)(2)(i)" for "(h)(2)".  The corrected 
language now reads as follows:  "In section 1926.1101, 
paragraphs (h)(1) introductory text, (h)(2)(i), and 
(k)(9)(i) are revised to read as follows" (74 FR 858). 

The amendments added no new compliance obligations.  

Note on Incorporation by Reference: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 
1910, General Industry Standards; 29 CFR Part 1915, 
Shipyard Employment Standards; 29 CFR Part 1917, Marine 
Terminals Standards; 29 CFR Part 1918, Longshoring 
Standards for Hazard Communications; 29 CFR Part 1926, 
Construction Industry Standards, are declared documents 
generally available to the public and appropriate for 
incorporation by reference. For this reason the document will 
not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A copy 
of the document is available for inspection at the Department 
of Labor and Industry, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219, and in the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad 
Streets, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: 

On April 16, 2009, the Safety and Health Codes Board 
adopted federal OSHA’s final rule on the Clarification of 
Employer Duty to Provide Personal Protective Equipment 
(PPE) and Train Each Employee, as published in 73 FR 
75568 on December 12, 2008, with an effective date of July 
15, 2009. 

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: 

When the regulations, as set forth in the Clarification to the 
final rule on Employer Duty to Provide Personal Protective 
Equipment and Train Each Employee, are applied to the 
Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry or to 
Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be 
considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms   VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR   VOSH Standard 

Assistant 
Secretary 

  Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry 

Agency   Department 

January 11, 2009   July 15, 2009 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1944; Filed May 12, 2009, 10:16 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 
General Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-
1910.303, 16VAC25-90-1910.304). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 15, 2009. 

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Building, 13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

On February 14, 2007, federal OSHA published a revision 
of its electrical installation standard for general industry, 
29 CFR Part 1910, subpart S, which the Safety and Health 
Codes Board subsequently adopted at its June 26, 2007, 
meeting. In this current action, federal OSHA corrected 
two typographical errors that were also corrected in Table 
S-3 of 29 CFR 1910.303 of the final rule. Federal OSHA 
corrected “2.81" and “9.01,” the first entries under the 
column heads “m” and “ft,” to read “2.8" and “9.0," 
respectively. 

Following the promulgation of the final rule in 2007, 
federal OSHA received numerous questions from the 
public concerning the application of 29 CFR 
1910.304(b)(3)(ii), questions stemming from the structure 
of the text of the provision, questions concerning whether 
the standard recognizes all forms of ground-fault 
protection devices, and questions about whether the 
standard requires Ground Fault Circuit Interrupters 
(GFCI) to be used with branch circuits supplying 
temporary lighting. 

Federal OSHA determined that 29 CFR 1910.304(b)(3)(ii) 
was intended to apply to temporary wiring installations 
used during the performance of construction-like activities, 
including certain maintenance, remodeling, or repair 
activities, involving buildings, structures or equipment. 

In response to questions about temporary wiring, federal 
OSHA stated that, for purposes of 29 CFR 
1910.304(b)(3)(ii), it considers as “temporary wiring” the 
use of more than one extension cord (connected in series 
or otherwise) to be a permanent outlet, or the temporary 
connection of more than one piece of utilization equipment 
to an extension cord set that is connected to a permanent 
receptacle outlet.  Federal OSHA notes that this temporary 
wiring would only be covered by 29 CFR 
1910.304(b)(3)(ii) if it is used during “construction-like 
activities.” 

Additionally, federal OSHA decided that 29 CFR 
1910.304(b)(3)(ii) applies only to branch circuits, which 
are "the circuit conductors between the final overcurrent 
device (circuit breaker or fuse) protecting the circuit and 
the outlets". 

It also determined that 29 CFR 1910.304(b)(3)(ii)(A) 
requires ground-fault circuit interrupters (GFCI) for 
personnel protection and as electric equipment that must 
be approved by nationally recognized testing laboratories 
(NRTL). 

Lastly, federal OSHA determined that the standard 
requires GFCI protection for temporary circuits supplying 
lighting only when those circuits also supply receptacles. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 
1910, General Industry Standards, is declared a document 
generally available to the public and appropriate for 
incorporation by reference. For this reason the document will 
not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A copy 
of the document is available for inspection at the Department 
of Labor and Industry, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219, and in the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad 
Streets, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: 

On April 16, 2009, the Safety and Health Codes Board 
adopted the Clarifications and Correcting Amendments to 
federal OSHA’s final rule on the Electrical Standard, Subpart 
S of 29 CFR Part 1910, 29 CFR 1910.303 and 1910.304, as 
published in 73 FR 64202 on October 29, 2008, with an 
effective date of July 15, 2009. 

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: 

When the regulations, as set forth in the clarifications and 
correcting amendments to the final rule for the Electrical 
Standard, Subpart S of Part 1910, 29 CFR 1910.303 and 
1910.304, are applied to the Commissioner of the Department 
of Labor and Industry or to Virginia employers, the following 
federal terms shall be considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms   VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR   VOSH Standard 

Assistant 
Secretary 

  Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry 

Agency   Department 

October 29, 2008   July 15, 2009 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1930; Filed May 12, 2009, 10:16 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-120. Federal Identical 
Marine Terminals Standards (amending 16VAC25-120-
1917.71). 

16VAC25-130. Federal Identical Longshoring Standards 
for Hazard Communications (amending 16VAC25-130-
1918.85). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 15, 2009. 

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Building, 13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

Federal OSHA revised the Marine Terminals Standard and 
related sections of the Longshoring Standard by issuing 
new provisions in the Marine Terminals Standard (29 CFR 
Part 1917) to regulate the use of Vertical Tandem Lifts 
(VTLs). The Longshoring Standard (29 CFR Part 1918) 
incorporates those requirements by reference. The new 
requirements are related to the practice of a container 
crane lifting two intermodal containers together, one on 
top of the other, connected by semiautomatic twistlocks 
(SATLs). This practice is known as a vertical tandem lift. 
SATLs were designed to connect and secure intermodal 
containers that are stowed on the deck of a vessel. The 
final standard permits VTLs of no more than two empty 
containers provided certain safeguards are followed. 

The amendments include (i) additional provisions limiting 
the type of crane that may be used in VTLs, requiring a 
prelift, prohibiting handling containers below deck as a 
VTL, limiting VTL operations in windy conditions, and 
prohibiting VTLs of platform containers; (ii) new 
requirements for employee training and the safe ground 
transport of vertically coupled containers; and (iii) 
specifications on the strength of interbox connectors used 
in VTLs. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 
1917, Marine Terminals Standards, and 29 CFR Part 1918, 
Longshoring Standards for Hazard Communications, are 
declared documents generally available to the public and 
appropriate for incorporation by reference. For this reason the 
document will not be printed in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. A copy of the document is available for 
inspection at the Department of Labor and Industry, 13 South 
13th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of 
the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 9th 
and Broad Streets, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: 

On April 16, 2009, the Safety and Health Codes Board 
adopted federal OSHA’s revisions to its final rule on 
Longshoring and Marine Terminals; Vertical Tandem Lifts, 
29 CFR 1917.71 and 1918.85, Public Sector Only, as it 
appeared in 73 FR 75245 on December 12, 2008, with an 
effective date of July 15, 2009. 

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: 

When the regulations, as set forth in the final rule for 
Longshoring and Marine Terminals; Vertical Tandem Lifts, 
29 CFR 1917.71 and 1918.85, Public Sector Only, are applied 
to the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry 
or to Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be 
considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms   VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR   VOSH Standard 

Assistant 
Secretary 

  Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry 

Agency   Department 

April 9, 2009   July 15, 2009 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1943; Filed May 12, 2009, 10:15 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC5-21. Board of Accountancy 
Regulations (amending 18VAC5-21-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: May 14, 2009, through May 13, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Mike D. Roger, Acting Executive Director, 
Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Perimeter 
Center, Suite 402, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 
367-0290, FAX (804) 527-4409, or email 
mike.rogers@boa.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The regulation is needed to avoid a significant reduction in 
the board’s revenues and to remove an impediment to 
doing business in Virginia. The board believes the change 
would not harm the public and would help persons start 
their accounting careers sooner. 

Although the CPA examination is a uniform, national 
examination, it is administered through the individual 
states for a fee set by the state. Each state has 
requirements for how much education is required for 
licensure and how much of that education must be 
obtained prior to taking the CPA examination through the 
state.  The education required for licensure in Virginia is 
the same as the education required for licensure in 
substantially all other states.  However, Virginia’s 
requirement that all of the education required for licensure 
must be obtained prior to taking the CPA examination 
through Virginia is more restrictive than the requirement 
of most of the other states. The relatively recent 
computerization of the CPA examination has made taking 
the examination through another state easier.   

The Virginia Board of Accountancy (board) is 
promulgating an emergency regulation to reduce the 
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amount of education required for licensure that must be 
obtained prior to taking the CPA examination through 
Virginia so that the requirement is no more restrictive than 
the requirement of most of the other states.  The board 
believes that the reduction will not harm the public interest 
and that the change is necessitated by an emergency 
situation for three reasons: 

1. Continuing a requirement that causes a person to take 
the additional steps needed to take the CPA examination 
through another state creates an impediment to doing 
business in Virginia. The Commonwealth has a long-
standing commitment to eliminate impediments to doing 
business in Virginia. 

2. Without this change, as knowledge of the ability to take 
the CPA examination through another state becomes more 
widespread, applications to take the CPA examination 
through Virginia will decrease significantly.  The resulting 
significant reduction in the board’s revenues will occur 
relatively quickly. 

3. The General Assembly in Chapter 804 of the 2007 Acts 
of Assembly gave the board emergency authority to 
promulgate this new regulation within 280 days of July 1, 
2007.  

The emergency regulation also defines "accounting 
concentration or equivalent," which is a requirement for 
licensure and for taking the CPA examination through 
Virginia. 

18VAC5-21-30. Qualifications for CPA certificate. 

A. Each applicant must be a person of good character as 
defined in 18VAC5-21-10.  

B. Education prior to taking the CPA exam.  

1. Each candidate whose application to sit for a CPA exam 
administered prior to July 1, 2006, shall have received a 
baccalaureate degree or its equivalent conferred by an 
accredited college or university as required by § 54.1-4409 
B 1 of the Code of Virginia and shall at the time the 
application is received have completed the following 
courses at the undergraduate or graduate level to meet the 
accounting concentration requirement of § 54.1-4409 B 1 
of the Code of Virginia:  

a. At least 24 semester hours of accounting including 
courses covering the subjects of financial accounting, 
auditing, taxation, and management accounting; and  

b. At least 18 semester hours in business courses (other 
than the courses described in subdivision 1 a of this 
subsection).  

A candidate whose application is received under the 
requirements of this subdivision may take the CPA exam 
so long as the requirements of subsection C of this section 
are met.  

2. Each candidate whose application to sit for a CPA exam 
administered on or after July 1, 2006, shall meet the 
requirements of § 54.1-4409 B 2 of the Code of Virginia 
and shall at the time the application is received have 
completed the following courses at the undergraduate or 
graduate level to meet the accounting concentration 
requirement of § 54.1-4409 B 2 of the Code of Virginia:  

a. At least 30 semester hours of accounting, including 
courses covering the subjects of financial accounting, 
auditing, taxation, and management accounting; and  

b. At least 24 semester hours in business courses (other 
than the courses described in subdivision 2 a of this 
subsection).  

3. A quarter hour of coursework shall be considered the 
equivalent of two-thirds of a semester hour of coursework.  

4. Each candidate with a degree or coursework earned at a 
nonaccredited college or university shall, if credit for such 
degree or coursework is to be considered by the board, (i) 
have his educational credentials evaluated by an academic 
credentials service approved by the board or an accredited 
institution, as defined in 18VAC5-21-10, to determine the 
extent to which such credentials are equivalent to the 
education requirements set forth in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
this subsection and (ii) submit such evaluations to the 
board, which may accept or reject the evaluator's 
recommendations in whole or in part.  

5. Evidence of having obtained the required education shall 
be submitted in the form of official transcripts transmitted 
in a manner determined by the board. In unusual 
circumstances, the board may accept other evidence it 
deems to be substantially equivalent.  

B. Education.  

1. In order for a person to take the CPA examination 
through Virginia, he must have obtained from one or more 
accredited institutions or from the National College at least 
120 semester hours of education, a baccalaureate or higher 
degree, and an accounting concentration or equivalent prior 
to taking any part of the CPA examination. 

2. For the purpose of complying with subdivision B 1 of 
this section and with subsection A 1 a of § 54.1-4409.2 of 
the Code of Virginia, obtaining an accounting 
concentration or equivalent requires obtaining at a 
minimum:  

a. 24 semester hours of accounting courses, including 
courses in auditing, financial accounting, management 
accounting, and taxation; and 

b. 24 semester hours of business courses, no more than 
six semester hours of which could be considered 
accounting courses. 
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Principles or introductory accounting courses cannot be 
considered in determining whether a person has obtained the 
48 minimum number of semester hours required for an 
accounting concentration or equivalent. 

C. CPA exam.  

1. Each candidate shall pass (i) a national uniform CPA 
exam, as approved by the board, in auditing and attestation, 
regulation, business environment and concepts, business 
law and professional responsibilities, accounting and 
reporting (taxation, managerial, governmental and not-for-
profit organizations), financial accounting and reporting, 
and other such related subject areas as deemed appropriate 
by the board and (ii) an ethics exam approved by the board. 
Each part of the CPA exam must be passed by attaining a 
uniform passing grade established through a 
psychometrically acceptable standard-setting procedure 
approved by the board.  

2. The following rules for granting CPA exam credits are 
applicable until the computer-based CPA exam becomes 
effective.  

If at a given sitting of the CPA exam a candidate passes 
two or more but not all sections, then the candidate shall be 
given credit for those sections that the candidate has passed 
and need not sit for reexamination in those sections 
provided the following conditions are met:  

a. At that sitting, the candidate wrote all sections of the 
CPA exam for which the candidate did not have credit;  

b. The candidate attained a minimum grade of 50 on each 
section taken at that sitting when the first two sections 
were passed and in each subsequent sitting attains a 
minimum grade of 50 on all sections taken at that sitting;  

c. The candidate passes the remaining sections of the 
CPA exam within six consecutive CPA exams 
(irrespective of the date on which the CPA exam credit 
was earned) given after the one at which the first sections 
were passed; and  

d. At each subsequent sitting at which the candidate 
seeks to pass any additional sections, the candidate writes 
all sections for which the candidate does not have credit.  

3. The following rules for granting CPA exam credits will 
take effect beginning with the first computer-based CPA 
exam:  

a. Granting of credit.  

(1) Candidates will be allowed to sit for each section of 
the CPA exam individually and in any order.  

(2) Candidates will retain credit for any section(s) passed 
for 18 months, without having to attain a minimum score 
on failed sections and without regard to whether they 
have taken other sections. Candidates will not be allowed 

to retake a failed section(s) within the same CPA exam 
window.  

(3) Candidates must pass all four sections of the CPA 
exam within a "rolling" 18-month period, which begins 
on the date that the first section(s) passed is taken.  

(4) In the event all four sections of the CPA exam are not 
passed within the rolling 18-month period, credit for any 
section(s) passed outside that 18-month period will 
expire and that section(s) must be retaken.  

b. Conditional CPA exam credits.  

(1) Candidates who have earned conditional credits on 
the noncomputer-based CPA exam as of the date of the 
first computer-based CPA exam will be given credits for 
the corresponding sections of the computer-based CPA 
exam as follows:  

  Noncomputer-Based CPA 
Exam 

Computer-Based 
CPA Exam 

  Auditing Auditing and 
Attestation 

  Financial Accounting and 
Reporting (FARE) 

Financial 
Accounting and 
Reporting 

  Accounting and Reporting 
(ARE) Regulation 

  Business Law and 
Professional 
Responsibilities (LPR) 

Business 
Environment and 
Concepts 

(2) Candidates who have attained conditional status as of 
the launch date of the first computer-based CPA exam 
will be allowed a transition period to complete any 
remaining test sections of the CPA exam. The transition 
is the maximum number of opportunities that a candidate 
who has conditioned under the noncomputer-based CPA 
exam has remaining, at the launch of the computer-based 
CPA exam, to complete all remaining test sections, or the 
number of remaining opportunities under the 
noncomputer-based CPA exam, multiplied by six 
months, which is first exhausted.  

4. The board may, at its discretion, waive any of the above 
requirements for carryover CPA exam credits, if such 
waiver is in the public interest.  

5. Each candidate shall follow all rules and regulations 
established by the board with regard to conduct at the CPA 
exam. Such rules shall include instructions communicated 
prior to the CPA exam date and instructions communicated 
at the CPA exam site on the date of the CPA exam.  

6. Failure to comply with the rules and regulations 
governing conduct in the CPA exam may result in the loss 
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of established eligibility to sit for the CPA exam or credit 
for CPA exam parts passed.  

7. A candidate to sit for the CPA exam shall obtain an 
application form from the board or its designee, complete 
the application in accordance with the instructions on the 
application, and submit the application together with all 
required documents to the board or its designee by the date 
determined by the board or its designee.  

8. A candidate who fails to appear for the CPA exam or 
reexamination shall forfeit the fees charged for that CPA 
exam or reexamination unless excused by the board.  

9. The fee to sit for the CPA exam is established in 
18VAC5-21-20 G, whether paid directly to the board or to 
a designee under contract to the board.  

10. The board or its designee will forward notification of 
eligibility for the computer-based CPA exam to NASBA's 
National Candidate Database.  

11. Cheating by a candidate in applying for, taking or 
subsequent to the CPA exam will be deemed to invalidate 
any grade otherwise earned by a candidate on any test 
section of the CPA exam, and may warrant summary 
expulsion from the CPA exam site and disqualification 
from taking the CPA exam for a specified period of time.  

12. Notwithstanding any other provisions under these 
rules, the board may postpone scheduled CPA exams, the 
release of grades, or the issuance of certificates due to a 
breach of CPA exam security; unauthorized acquisition or 
disclosure of the contents of a CPA exam; suspected or 
actual negligence, errors, omissions, or irregularities in 
conducting a CPA exam; or for any other reasonable cause 
or unforeseen circumstances.  

D. Experience.  

1. Each applicant for initial issuance of a CPA certificate 
under this section shall provide documentation of having 
met the experience requirements established by § 54.1-
4409 C of the Code of Virginia, which requires at least one 
year of acceptable experience in accounting or a related 
field. The experience may include providing any type of 
service or advice involving the use of accounting, 
management, financial, tax, or consulting advisory skills or 
services. Acceptable experience shall include employment 
in government, industry, academia or public accounting or 
related services. The applicant's experience may be 
supervised by a non-CPA certificate holder, although, 
when completing the application for the CPA certificate, 
the experience must be verified by a CPA certificate 
holder.  

2. One year of experience shall consist of full- or part-time 
employment that extends over a period of no less than a 
year and no more than three years and includes no fewer 

than 2,000 hours of performance of services described in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1099; Filed May 14, 2009, 3:37 p.m.  

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Virginia Certified Home 
Inspectors Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-10, 
18VAC15-40-30, 18VAC15-40-50, 18VAC15-40-80, 
18VAC15-40-90, 18VAC15-40-100, 18VAC15-40-120, 
18VAC15-40-130, 18VAC15-40-140, 18VAC15-40-190; 
adding 18VAC15-40-45, 18VAC15-40-48, 18VAC15-40-
52, 18VAC15-40-72, 18VAC15-40-85, 18VAC15-40-105; 
repealing 18VAC15-40-70, 18VAC15-40-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 10, 2009 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
200, Board Room 4, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Justin Garofalo, Board Administrator, 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead and Home Inspectors, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-2567, FAX (804) 527-4297, or email 
justin.garofalo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Subdivision 7 of § 54.1-501 states that the board shall 
promulgate regulations regarding the professional 
qualifications of home inspectors applicants, the requirements 
necessary for passing home inspectors examinations in whole 
or in part, the proper conduct of its examinations, the proper 
conduct of the home inspectors certified by the board, the 
implementation of exemptions from certifications 
requirements, and the proper discharge of its duties. 

The imperative form of the verb "shall" is used, making the 
board’s authority to regulate mandatory rather than 
discretionary. 

Purpose: Purchasing a home is the largest financial decision 
and investment made by most Virginia citizens. A competent 
home inspection is critical to the purchase decision to avoid 
unexpected expenses thus protecting the welfare of Virginia's 
citizens. 

The current regulations were the first to be promulgated under 
the statutory authority granted by the 2001 Session of the 
Virginia General Assembly and have been in effect since July 
1, 2003, without amendment.  The passing of four years since 
initial promulgation and the board’s experience with the 
current regulations led the board to conclude that a general 
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review as well as consideration of continuing professional 
education (CPE) provisions is appropriate. 

The board conducted a general review of its current 
regulation’s provisions with emphasis on the definitions, 
entry standards, experience requirements, standards of 
practice, and the need to add continuing professional 
education (CPE) requirements. 

Substance: Sixteen hours of continuing professional 
education (CPE) will be required during each 24-month 
certificate renewal cycle beginning with the certificate 
renewal cycle that ends two years after the amendment 
becomes effective. 

Two definitions are added to the definition section to clarify 
words used in the regulation language and two definitions are 
deleted because the terms are not used in the regulation text. 

Two new entry standards are added to allow a home inspector 
certificate to be issued to individuals who have completed 
fewer home inspections when those inspections were 
completed under the direct supervision of a Virginia-certified 
home inspector. 

Amendments are made to the language allowing applicants 
with 10 years of home inspection experience to qualify for a 
certificate without classroom training.  The amendments 
require documentation of a minimum of 250 home 
inspections completed in substantial compliance with the 
board’s regulations in order to qualify. 

Amendments are made to the certificate renewal procedure to 
specify that the act of submitting a renewal application is an 
affirmation that the renewal applicant maintains the required 
insurance, has completed the CPE requirements, and is in 
continued compliance with the board’s regulations.  The 
current regulation is less specific.  The board’s staff sends a 
renewal notice to expiring regulants stating that the act of 
returning the renewal notice is the renewal applicant’s 
certification that he continued to maintain the required 
insurance and is in continued compliance with the board’s 
regulations.  Those that apply for renewal without returning 
the renewal application are sent a statement to sign indicating 
they are in compliance.  The regulation amendment will 
streamline the renewal process for the regulant and for board 
staff by eliminating the need for documentation from the 
applicant to confirm compliance; renewal of the certification 
infers compliance. 

Amendments are made to the home inspection contract 
section addressing the inspection for asbestos, lead-based 
paint, mold and radon, and the inspection of outbuildings as 
well as the presence of components involved in 
manufacturers’ recalls.  An amendment is also made to allow 
the home inspection client’s authorized representative to sign 
the home inspection contract. 

Amendments are made to the certified home inspection report 
section allowing the client to be represented by an authorized 
representative and emphasizing that the report must describe 
in writing the conditions of readily accessible components 
and readily observable defects.  Amendments are also made 
to address certain components that are adjacent, but not 
attached, to the property being inspected, the inspection of 
garages and railings, the inspection of garage door openers, 
the inspection of arc fault interrupters, and the inspection of 
systems that are turned off, winterized, or otherwise secured. 

Amendments are made to the conflict of interest section 
allowing certified home inspectors to perform certain types of 
inspections or refer clients to others only after the home 
inspector’s involvement or interest in the property to be 
inspected is disclosed. 

Amendments are made to the unworthiness and incompetence 
section empowering the board to take disciplinary action 
against those home inspectors who perform home inspections 
when they are not qualified by training or experience to 
conduct the specific inspection.  The amendments also 
empower disciplinary action against certificate holders who 
fail to maintain the proficiency necessary to perform home 
inspections. 

A number of nonsubstantive amendments are made to 
rearrange the current regulation provisions to conform to the 
DPOR model regulations. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the new and amended 
provisions to the public is the availability of minimally 
competent home inspectors using contracts designed to 
disclose the scope and limitations of the planned home 
inspection and using inspection reports that document, in 
writing, any defects found.  Further, the public will benefit 
from certified home inspectors who keep up with changes in 
technology and other aspects of housing construction through 
continuing professional education (CPE). Revising contracts 
and inspection reports currently in use as well as completing 
CPE will add some costs; however, these are expected to be 
minor. Many regulants belong to professional organizations 
that already require CPE as a condition of continued 
membership. 

The primary advantage to DPOR and the Commonwealth is 
an amended regulation that can be administered effectively 
and is anticipated to provide a reasonable level of public 
protection with a minimum intrusion into the conduct of 
commerce.  No disadvantage has been identified. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Asbestos, Lead and Home Inspectors (Board) 
proposes to amend its Certified Home Inspectors Regulation 
as part of the periodic review process. The Board proposes to: 
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•   Require certificate holders to complete 16 hours of 
continuing education during each biennial renewal cycle, 

•   Institute two new certificate qualification standards 
which will allow applicants to complete fewer home 
inspections if those home inspections are completed 
under the supervision of a Board certified home 
inspector, 

•   Require home inspectors who are applying for 
certification with 10 years or more of experience as a 
home inspector provide documentation of “a minimum of 
250 home inspections completed in substantial 
compliance with” Board standards for home inspection, 
and 

•   Allow certified home inspectors to inspect residential 
buildings that they have repaired or modified (within the 
last 12 months), or refer clients to another party to make 
repairs of modifications on a residential building that 
they have inspected, only after they have disclosed their 
interest to their clients. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
several of these proposed changes.  There is insufficient data 
to determine whether benefits exceed costs for at least one 
proposed change.  Detailed analysis of major costs and 
benefits can be found below. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the Certified Home 
Inspectors Regulations (promulgated in 2003) do not include 
any requirement for continuing education. The Board 
proposes to require certified home inspectors to complete 16 
hours of continuing education during each biennial renewal 
cycle. Continuing education hours will have to cover only the 
content areas of the Board’s examination for initial 
certification. The Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation (DPOR) reports that home building 
technology is subject to change and that home inspectors will 
need continuing education to adequately inspect new 
equipment/systems. 

If home building technology does change fairly continuously, 
certified building inspectors may benefit from continuing 
education requirements only to the extent that 1) the initial 
Board examination has content areas that are sufficiently 
broad that they cover any possible new technology or 2) this 
exam evolves to include knowledge of any new 
equipment/systems.  Any benefit that might be realized from 
requiring certified home inspectors to keep abreast of new 
developments in their field must be weighed against both the 
explicit and implicit costs of continuing education. DPOR 
reports that the fees for each hour of continuing education 
range from $30 to $90, so certified home inspectors will incur 
fees of $480 to $1,440 during each biennial renewal period. 
Additionally, certified home inspectors may incur other 
explicit costs for any required books/supplies and will incur 
implicit costs for time spent traveling to, and participating in, 

required continuing education.  If these costs outweigh any 
benefits accrued, this continuing education requirement will 
serve as a barrier to entry to, and continuing participation in, 
this profession. 

Currently, these regulations include several paths to 
certification that combine differing levels of education and 
experience.  Applicants may currently complete: 

•   35 hours of classroom instruction and a minimum of 
100 home inspections, 

•   70 hours of classroom instruction and a minimum of 
50 home inspections, or  

•   Have ten years of verifiable experience as a home 
inspector. 

The Board proposes to add two new paths to certification. 
Applicants who have completed 35 hours of classroom 
instruction would only need to complete 50 home inspections, 
and applicants who have completed 70 hours of classroom 
instruction would only need to complete 25 home inspections, 
if they complete those inspections under the supervision of an 
already certified home inspector. 

These proposed new paths will provide the benefit of 
increased options for individuals seeking certification as 
home inspectors.  No cost is likely to be incurred on account 
of these proposed changes; if these paths turn out to cost 
more than paths to certification that are currently open to 
applicants, they will likely just choose not to use them. 

Currently, individuals with ten years of experience as home 
inspectors may qualify for certification without completing 
classroom instruction.  Board staff must currently evaluate 
and approve proof of experience offered by individuals taking 
this path to certification.  The Board proposes to make this 
path more specific by requiring that these individuals provide 
documentation of at least 250 home inspections completed in 
substantial compliance with current Board regulations. DPOR 
does not anticipate that individuals who currently qualify for 
this path to certification would be excluded under the 
proposed new regulatory language. If this turns out to be the 
case, costs for affected individuals are unlikely to increase on 
account of these proposed regulations. 

Current regulations do not allow certified home inspectors to 
inspect residential buildings that they have repaired or 
modified or refer clients to another party to make repairs of 
modifications on a residential building that they have 
inspected. These proposed regulations will allow inspectors to 
complete such inspections, and make such referrals, after they 
have disclosed their former actions or interest to their clients. 
This regulatory change will benefit certified home inspectors 
as they will be able to do work that they are currently not 
allowed to do. No cost is likely to be associated with this 
change as the clients of these inspectors will be making 
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decisions with full knowledge of any possible conflict of 
interest.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. DPOR reports that there are 
256 certified home inspectors in the Commonwealth; all of 
these individuals likely qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. To the extent that 
continuing education requirements increase costs for 
continuing certification, fewer individuals will likely enter 
and/or remain in this profession. To the extent that instituting 
two new paths to certification may tend to decrease costs for 
entry into this field, more individuals may choose to become 
certified home inspectors. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely increase costs for affected small 
businesses by imposing continuing education requirements. 
These extra costs will likely decrease profits for these 
businesses and, therefore, will decrease their value. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DPOR reports 
that there are 256 certified home inspectors in the 
Commonwealth; all of these individuals likely qualify as 
small businesses.  These certified home inspectors will incur 
costs associated with completing continuing education 
required by these proposed regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Since this certification program is relatively 
new, and continuing education requirements will be 
absolutely new, the Board may find that building technology 
does not change frequently enough to justify the amount of 
continuing education proposed here. If this turns out to be the 
case, the Board will be able to decrease costs for affected 
small businesses by decreasing or eliminating continuing 
education requirements. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: Concur with approval. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) update the definitions, the 
qualifications for certification, the certified home 
inspection contract provisions, the certified home 
inspection report provisions, the conflict of interest 
provisions, and the unworthiness and incompetence 
provisions; (ii) add continuing professional education 
requirements; and (iii) change several sections to 
conform to DPOR’s model regulations with no 
substantive impact. 

Part I  
General  

18VAC15-40-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless a different meaning 
is provided or is plainly required by the context:  

"Adjacent" means structures, grading, drainage, or 
vegetation within three feet of the residential building that 
may affect the building. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and 
Home Inspectors.  

"Certificate holder" means any person holding a valid 
certificate as a certified home inspector issued by the board.  

"Certification" means an authorization issued to an 
individual by the board to perform certified home inspections 
by meeting the entry requirements established in these 
regulations.  

"Client" means a person who engages or seeks to engage the 
services of a certified home inspector for the purpose of 
obtaining an inspection of and a written report upon the 
condition of a residential building. 

"Compensation" means the receipt of monetary payment or 
other valuable consideration for services rendered. 

"Component" means a part of a system.  
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"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 
structured training activity. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation. 

"Fireplace" means an interior fire-resistant masonry 
permanent or prefabricated fixture that can be used to burn 
fuel and is either vented or unvented. 

"Foundation" means the base upon which the structure or a 
wall rests, usually masonry, concrete, or stone, and generally 
partially underground.  

"Function" means the action for which an item, component 
or system is specially fitted or used, or for which an item, 
component or system exists.  

"Inspect" or "inspection" means to visually examine readily 
accessible systems and components of a building established 
in this chapter.  

"Outbuilding" means any building on the property that is 
more than three feet from the residential building that might 
burn or collapse and affect the residential building. 

"Readily accessible" means available for visual inspection 
without requiring moving of personal property, dismantling, 
destructive measures, or any action that will likely involve 
risk to persons or property. 

"Reinstatement" means having a certificate restored to 
effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a 
certificate for another period of time. 

"Residential building" means, for the purposes of home 
inspection, a structure consisting of one to four dwelling units 
used or occupied, or intended to be used or occupied, for 
residential purposes. 

"Solid fuel burning appliances" means a hearth and fire 
chamber or similarly prepared place in which a fire may be 
built and that is built in conjunction with a chimney, or a 
listed assembly of a fire chamber, its chimney and related 
factory-made parts designed for unit assembly without 
requiring field construction. 

"Structural component" means a component that supports 
nonvariable forces or weights (dead loads) and variable forces 
or weights (live loads).  

"System" means a combination of interacting or 
interdependent components, assembled to carry out one or 
more functions.  

Terms not defined in this chapter have the same definitions 
as those set forth in § 54.1-500 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC15-40-30. Qualifications for certification. 

Every applicant for an individual home inspector certificate 
shall have the following qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

2. The applicant shall meet the following educational and 
experience requirements:  

a. High school diploma or equivalent; and  

b. One of the following:  

(1) Completed 35 contact hours of classroom instruction 
and have completed a minimum of 100 home 
inspections; or  

(2) Completed 35 contact hours of classroom instruction 
and have completed a minimum of 50 certified home 
inspections in compliance with this chapter under the 
direct supervision of a certified home inspector, who 
shall certify the applicant's completion of each inspection 
and shall be responsible for each inspection; 

(2) (3) Completed 70 contact hours of classroom 
instruction and have completed a minimum of 50 home 
inspections; or 

(4) Completed 70 contact hours of classroom instruction 
and have completed a minimum of 25 certified home 
inspections in compliance with this chapter under the 
direct supervision of a certified home inspector, who 
shall certify the applicant's completion of each inspection 
and shall be responsible for each inspection. 

Instruction courses shall cover the content areas of the 
board-approved examinations.  

An applicant who cannot fulfill the classroom instruction 
requirement as outlined in this subsection may substitute 
provide documentation of a minimum of 10 years of 
experience as a home inspector with a minimum of 250 
home inspections completed in substantial compliance with 
this chapter to satisfy this requirement. The experience 
substitution documentation is subject to board review and 
approval.  

3. The applicant shall have passed a written competency 
examination approved by the board.  

4. The board may accept proof of membership in good 
standing, in a national or state professional home 
inspectors association approved by the board, as 
satisfaction of subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this section, 
provided that the requirements for the applicant's class of 
membership in such association are equal to or exceed the 
requirements established by the board for all applicants.  

5. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty, 
truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact 
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the business of a home inspector in such a manner as to 
safeguard the interests of the public.  

6. The applicant shall disclose whether a certificate or 
license as a home inspector from any jurisdiction where 
certified or licensed has ever been suspended, revoked or 
surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or 
which has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction 
prior to applying for certification in Virginia. The board 
may deny certification to any applicant so disciplined after 
examining the totality of the circumstances.  

7. The applicant shall disclose any conviction or finding of 
guilt, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the 
United States of any misdemeanor involving violence, 
repeat offenses, multiple offenses, or crimes that 
endangered public health or safety, or of any felony, there 
being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal 
having elapsed. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of 
the Code of Virginia, the board shall have the authority to 
determine, based upon all the information available, 
including the applicant's record of prior convictions, if the 
applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of 
residential home inspections. The board will decide each 
case by taking into account the totality of the 
circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 
considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A 
certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 
court with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree 
or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such conviction or guilt.  

8. Procedures and appropriate conduct established by either 
the board or any testing service administering an 
examination approved by the board or both shall be 
followed by the applicant. Such procedures shall include 
any written instructions communicated prior to the 
examination date and any instructions communicated at the 
site, either written or oral, on the date of the examination. 
Failure to comply with all procedures established by the 
board or the testing service with regard to conduct at the 
examination shall be grounds for denial of the application.  

9. Applicants shall show evidence of having obtained 
general liability insurance with minimum limits of 
$250,000.  

18VAC15-40-45. Application denial. 

The board may refuse initial certification due to an 
applicant's failure to comply with entry requirements or for 
any of the reasons it may discipline a regulant.  

18VAC15-40-48. General fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 
date on which the fee is received by the department or its 
agent will determine whether the fee is on time. Checks or 

money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-50. Application fees. 

A. All application fees for certificates are nonrefundable and 
the date of actual receipt by the board or its agent is the date 
that will be used to determine whether it is timely received 
The application fee for an initial home inspector certification 
shall be $25. 

B. The fee for an initial application for Certified Home 
Inspector shall be $25.  

18VAC15-40-52. Renewal and reinstatement fees. 

Renewal and reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Fee type Fee amount When due 

Renewal $25 With renewal 
application 

  

Late renewal 

  $25 (renewal) 
+ $25 (late fee) 
= $50 total fee 

With renewal 
application 

  

Reinstatement 

$75 (reinstatement) 
+ $25 (renewal) 
= $100 total fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

18VAC15-40-70. Qualification for renewal. (Repealed.) 

A. As a condition of renewal, all certified home inspectors 
shall be required to affirm that they continue to maintain 
insurance as required by 18VAC15-40-30. Failure to maintain 
the required insurance as directed by the board will result in 
the certification not being renewed or disciplinary action 
pursuant to this chapter, or both.  

B. Each certificate holder desiring to renew the certificate 
shall return to the board the renewal application form and the 
appropriate fee as outlined in 18VAC15-40-100.  

18VAC15-40-72. Continuing professional education 
(CPE) required. 

A. Each certificate holder shall have completed 16 contact 
hours of continuing professional education (CPE) during each 
certificate renewal cycle, beginning with the certificate 
renewal cycle that ends (insert date two years after the 
effective date of this chapter). 

B. The subject matter addressed during CPE contact hours 
shall be limited to the content areas covered by the board's 
examination. 

C. The following shall be maintained by the certificate 
holder to document completion of the hours of CPE specified 
in subsection A of this section: 

1. Evidence of completion that shall contain the name, 
address, and telephone number of the training sponsor; 

2. The dates the applicant participated in the training; 
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3. Descriptive material of the subject matter presented 
documenting that it covers the content areas covered by the 
board's examination; and 

4. A statement from the sponsor verifying the number of 
CPE contact hours completed. 

D. Each certificate holder shall maintain evidence of the 
satisfactory completion of CPE for at least three years 
following the end of the certificate renewal cycle for which 
the CPE was taken. Such documentation shall be in the form 
required by subsection C of this section and shall be provided 
to the board or its duly authorized agents upon request. 

E. The certificate holder shall not receive CPE credit for the 
same training course more than once during a single 
certificate renewal cycle. 

F. Distance learning courses that comply with subsection B 
of this section and provide the documentation required by 
subsection C of this section shall comply with the CPE 
requirement. 

G. The certificate holder may request additional time to 
meet the CPE requirement; however, CPE hours earned 
during a certificate renewal cycle to satisfy the CPE 
requirement of the preceding certificate renewal cycle shall 
be valid only for that preceding certificate renewal cycle. 

18VAC15-40-80. Procedures for renewal.  

A. The board will mail a renewal application form to the 
certificate holder at the last known home address of record. 
These notices shall outline the procedures for renewal. Failure 
of the board to mail or of the certificate holder to receive 
these notices does not relieve the certificate holder of the 
obligation to renew.  

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the certificate, 
regulants desiring to renew their certificate shall return the 
renewal application form to the board together with the 
appropriate fee specified in 18VAC15-40-52. If the regulant 
fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the certificate 
may be submitted with the required fee as an application for 
renewal. The date on which the fee is received by the 
department or its agent will determine whether the fee is on 
time. 

C. By causing a renewal application to be sent to the board 
or its authorized agent, the regulant is affirming that the 
insurance required by 18VAC15-40-30 continues to be in 
effect, that the CPE requirements of 18VAC15-40-72 have 
been met, and that he is in continued compliance with this 
chapter.  

18VAC15-40-85. Late renewal. 

If the renewal requirements of 18VAC15-40-80 are met 
more than 30 days but less than six months after the 
expiration date on the certificate, a late renewal fee shall be 
required as established in 18VAC15-40-52. The date on 

which the renewal application and the required fees are 
actually received by the board or its agent shall determine 
whether the certificate holder must pay the renewal fee only 
or whether the late renewal fee must be paid.  

18VAC15-40-90. Failure to renew; reinstatement required 
Reinstatement. 

A. If the requirements for renewal of a certificate, including 
receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed by the 
certificate holder within 30 days of the expiration date noted 
on the certificate, a late renewal fee shall be required in 
addition to the renewal fee.  

B. A. If the requirements for renewal of a certificate, 
including receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed 
by the certificate holder within six months of after the 
expiration date noted on the certificate, a reinstatement fee 
shall be required.  

C. B. All applicants for reinstatement shall meet all 
requirements set forth in 18VAC15-40-30, 18VAC15-40-72 
and 18VAC15-40-80. 

D. C. A certificate may be reinstated for up to two years 
following the expiration date with payment of the 
reinstatement fee. After two years, the certificate shall not be 
reinstated under any circumstances and the applicant shall 
apply as a new applicant, requiring the applicant to retake the 
examination.  

E. The certificate holder who reinstates his certification shall 
be regarded as having been continuously certified without 
interruption. Therefore, the certificate holder shall remain 
under the disciplinary authority of the board during this entire 
period and shall be held accountable for his activities during 
this period.  

18VAC15-40-100. Fees for renewal, reinstatement and 
examination. (Repealed.) 

A. All fees for renewal and reinstatement are nonrefundable, 
and the date of actual receipt by the board or its agent is the 
date that will be used to determine whether it is timely 
received.  

B. Renewal and reinstatement fees are as follows:  

  Renewal fee $25 

  Late renewal fee $25 

  Reinstatement fee $100 

C. The examination fee shall consist of the administration 
expenses of the department ensuing from the board's 
examination procedures and contract charges. Examination 
service contracts shall be established through competitive 
negotiations in compliance with the Virginia Public 
Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  
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18VAC15-40-105. Status of certificate holder during the 
period prior to reinstatement. 

A certificate holder who reinstates his certificate shall be 
regarded as having been continuously certified without 
interruption and shall remain under the disciplinary authority 
of the board during this entire period and shall be held 
accountable for activities during this period. 

18VAC15-40-110. Board discretion to deny renewal or 
reinstatement. (Repealed.) 

A. The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a 
certificate for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 
certification or discipline a current certificate holder.  

B. The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a 
certificate if the applicant has not met the terms of an 
agreement for certification or not fully paid monetary 
penalties, satisfied sanctions and paid costs imposed by the 
board, plus any accrued interest.  

Part IV  
Minimum Standards for Conducting Certified Home 

Inspections  

18VAC15-40-120. Certified home inspection contract.  

A. For the protection of both the client and the certificate 
holder, both parties shall sign a legible written contract 
clearly specifying the terms, conditions, and limitations and 
exclusions of the work to be performed.  

B. At a minimum, the written contract shall include:  

1. Name, business name (if applicable), business address, 
and telephone number of the certified home inspector.  

2. Certificate number and expiration date of the certified 
home inspector.  

3. Name of the clients.  

4. Physical address of the residential properties to be 
inspected.  

5. Cost and method of payment of the certified home 
inspection.  

6. A listing of all areas, and systems, and components to be 
inspected, including those inspections that are either partial 
or limited in scope.  

7. To the extent that any of the following categories are not 
covered by the home inspection, they shall be noted as 
exclusions in the inspection contract:  

a. The condition of systems or components that are not 
readily accessible.  

b. The remaining life of any system or component.  

c. The strength, adequacy, effectiveness, or efficiency of 
any system or component.  

d. The causes of any condition or deficiency.  

e. The methods, materials, or costs of corrections.  

f. Future conditions including, but not limited to, failure 
of systems and components.  

g. The suitability of the property for any specialized use.  

h. Compliance with regulatory requirements (codes, 
including the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, 
regulations, laws, ordinances, etc.).  

i. The market value of the property or its marketability.  

j. The advisability of the purchase of the property.  

k. The presence of diseases harmful to humans or 
potentially hazardous plants or animals including, but not 
limited to, wood destroying organisms and mold.  

l. The presence of any environmental hazards including, 
but not limited to, toxins, carcinogens, noise, asbestos, 
lead-based paint, mold, radon, and contaminates in soil, 
water, and air.  

m. The effectiveness of any system installed or methods 
utilized to control or remove suspected hazardous 
substances.  

n. The operating costs of systems or components.  

o. The acoustical properties of any system or component. 

p. The presence of components involved in 
manufacturer's recalls. 

q. The inspection of outbuildings. 

To the extent any other items are not specifically included 
in the home inspection by agreement of the parties, they 
shall also be noted as exclusions in the inspection contract.  

8. Expected delivery date to the client of the certified home 
inspection report.  

9. Dated signatures of both the certified home inspector 
and the client or the client's authorized representative.  

C. The certified home inspection contract shall make written 
disclosure that the certified home inspection report is based 
upon visual observation of existing conditions of the 
inspected property at the time of the inspection and is not 
intended to be, or to be construed as, a guarantee, warranty, or 
any form of insurance.  

18VAC15-40-130. Certified home inspection report. 

A. Certified home inspection reports shall contain:  

1. The name, business address and telephone number of the 
certificate holder as well as his certificate number and 
expiration date;  
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2. The name, address, and telephone number of the clients 
client or the client's authorized representative, if available 
at the time of the inspection;  

3. The physical address of the residential properties 
inspected; and  

4. The date, time (to include both start and finish times of 
the inspection), and weather conditions at the time of the 
certified home inspection.  

B. In conducting a certified home inspection and reporting 
its findings, the certified home inspector, at a minimum, shall 
inspect the condition of and shall describe in writing the 
composition/characteristics of the following readily 
accessible components and readily observable defects, except 
as may be limited in the certified home inspection contract 
agreement:  

1. Structural system.  

a. Foundation.  

b. Framing.  

c. Stairs.  

d. Crawl space, the method of inspecting the crawl space 
shall be noted and explained in the inspection report. If 
the crawl space cannot be inspected, the certificate holder 
shall explain in the inspection report why this component 
was not inspected.  

e. Crawl space ventilation and vapor barriers.  

f. Slab floor, when present.  

g. Floors, ceilings, and walls.  

2. Roof structure, attic, and insulation.  

a. Roof covering. The method of inspecting the roof 
covering shall be noted and explained in the inspection 
report. If the roof covering cannot be inspected, the 
certificate holder shall explain in the inspection report 
why this component was not inspected.  

b. Roof ventilation.  

c. Roof drainage system, to include gutters and 
downspouts.  

d. Roof flashings, if readily visible.  

e. Skylights, chimneys, and roof penetrations, but not 
antennae or other roof attachments.  

f. Roof framing and sheathing.  

g. Attic, unless area is not readily accessible due to size 
or condition of structure.  

h. Attic insulation.  

3. Exterior of dwelling.  

a. Wall covering, flashing, and trim, and protective 
coatings.  

b. Readily accessible doors and windows, but not the 
operation of associated security locks, devices, or 
systems.  

c. Attached, or adjacent and on the same property, decks, 
balconies, stoops, steps, porches, carports, and any 
associated railings, but not associated screening, shutters, 
awnings, storm windows, garages, or storm doors.  

d. Eaves, soffitts, and fascias where readily accessible 
from ground level.  

e. Walkways, grade steps, patios, and driveways, but not 
fences or privacy walls.  

f. Vegetation, trees, grading, drainage, and any retaining 
walls in contact with or immediately adjacent to the 
dwelling that may affect the dwelling.  

g. Visible exterior portions of chimneys.  

4. Interior of dwelling.  

a. Readily accessible interior walls, ceilings, and floors 
of dwelling and any attached or adjacent garage.  

b. Steps, stairways, railings, and balconies and associated 
railings.  

c. Countertops and installed cabinets, including 
hardware.  

d. Readily accessible doors and windows, but not the 
operation of associated security locks, devices, or 
systems.  

e. Garage doors and permanently mounted and installed 
garage door operators.  The automatic safety reverse 
function of garage door openers shall be tested, either by 
physical obstruction as specified by the manufacturer, or 
by breaking the beam of the electronic photo eye but only 
when the test can be safely performed and will not risk 
damage to the door, the opener, any nearby structure, or 
any stored items.  

f. Fireplaces, including flues, venting systems, hearths, 
dampers, and fireboxes, but not mantles, fire screens and 
doors, seals and gaskets.  

g. Solid fuel burning appliances if applicable.  

5. Plumbing system.  

a. Interior water supply and distribution systems, 
including water supply lines and all fixtures and faucets, 
but not water conditioning systems or fire sprinkler 
systems.  

b. Water drainage, waste, and vent systems, including all 
fixtures.  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3654 

c. Drainage sumps, sump pumps, and related piping.  

d. Water heating equipment, including heat energy 
source and related vent systems, flues, and chimneys, but 
not solar water heating systems.  

e. Fuel storage and distribution systems for visible leaks.  

6. Electrical system.  

a. Service drop.  

b. Service entrance conductors, cables, and raceways.  

c. Service equipment and main disconnects.  

d. Service grounding.  

e. Interior components of service panels and sub panels, 
including feeders.  

f. Conductors.  

g. Overcurrent protection devices.  

h. Readily accessible installed lighting fixtures, switches, 
and receptacles.  

i. Ground fault circuit interrupters.  

j. Presence or absence of smoke detectors.  

k. Presence of solid conductor aluminum branch circuit 
wiring. 

l. Arc fault interrupters shall be noted if installed but not 
tested if equipment is attached to them.  

7. Heating system.  

a. Heating equipment, including operating controls, but 
not heat exchangers, gas logs, built-in gas burning 
appliances, grills, stoves, space heaters, solar heating 
devices, or heating system accessories such as 
humidifiers, air purifiers, motorized dampers, and heat 
reclaimers.  

b. Energy source.  

c. Heating distribution system.  

d. Vent systems, flues, and chimneys, including dampers. 

8. Air conditioning system.  

a. Central and installed window/wall wall air 
conditioning equipment.  

b. Operating controls, access panels, and covers.  

c. Energy source.  

d. Cooling distribution system.  

C. Systems in the home that are turned off, winterized, or 
otherwise secured so that they do not respond to normal 
activation using standard operating controls need not be put 
into operating condition.  The certified home inspector shall 

state, in writing, the reason these systems or components 
were not tested. 

Part V  
Standards of Conduct and Practice  

18VAC15-40-140. Conflict of interest. 

A. The certificate holder shall not:  

1. Design or perform repairs or modifications to a 
residential building on which he has performed a certified 
home inspection as a result of the findings of the certified 
home inspection within 12 months after the date he 
performed the certified home inspection, except in cases 
where the home inspector purchased the residence after he 
performed the inspection;  

2. Perform a certified home inspection of a residential 
building upon which he has designed or performed repairs 
or modifications within the preceding 12 months without 
disclosing to the client in the certified home inspection 
contract the specifics of the repairs or modifications he 
designed or performed;  

3. Refer his client to another party to make repairs or 
modifications to a residential building on which he has 
performed a certified home inspection within the preceding 
12 months. However, such inspection may be performed if 
such repairs or modifications are disclosed to the client or 
to the client's authorized representative; or  

4. Represent the financial interests, either personally or 
through his employment, of any of the parties to the 
transfer or sale of a residential building on which he has 
performed a certified home inspection; or 

5. Perform a certified home inspection of a residential 
building under a contingent agreement whereby any 
compensation or future referrals are dependent on the 
reported findings or on the sale of the property. 

B. The certificate holder shall not disclose any information 
concerning the results of the certified home inspection 
without the approval of the client for whom the certified 
home inspection was performed. However, the certificate 
holder may disclose information in situations where there is 
an imminent endangerment to life and health.  

C. The certificate holder will not accept compensation, 
financial or otherwise, from more than one interested party 
for the same service on the same property without the consent 
of all interested parties.  

D. The certificate holder shall not accept nor offer 
commissions or allowances, directly or indirectly, from other 
parties dealing with the client in connection with work for 
which the certificate holder is responsible. Additionally, the 
certificate holder shall not enter into any financial 
relationship with any party that may compromise the 
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certificate holder's commitment to the best interest of his 
client.  

E. The certified home inspection shall not be used as a tool 
pretext by the certificate holder to solicit or obtain work in 
another field, except for additional diagnostic inspections or 
testing.  

18VAC15-40-190. Unworthiness and incompetence. 

Actions constituting The following shall constitute unworthy 
and incompetent conduct include and may result in 
disciplinary action by the board:  

1. Obtaining a certificate by false or fraudulent 
representation.  

2. Performing improvements or repairs to a residential 
building as a result of the findings of the certified home 
inspection within 12 months before or after performing a 
certified home inspection on it, except in cases where the 
home inspector purchased the residential building after he 
performed the inspection.  

3. Violating or inducing another person to violate any of 
the provisions of Chapter 1, 2, 3, or 5 of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

4. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 
Virginia, having been convicted or found guilty, regardless 
of adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States, of 
any misdemeanor involving violence, repeat offenses, 
multiple offenses, or crimes that endangered public health 
or safety, or of any felony, there being no appeal pending 
therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Any plea 
of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purposes of this subdivision. A certified copy of a final 
order, decree, or case decision by a court with the lawful 
authority to issue such order, decree or case decision shall 
be admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction 
or guilt.  

5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 
pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 
found guilty, regardless of adjudication in any jurisdiction 
of the United States of any misdemeanor involving 
violence, repeat offenses, multiple offenses, or crimes that 
endangered public health or safety, or of any felony, there 
being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal 
having elapsed.  

6. Failing to act as a certificate holder in such a manner as 
to safeguard the interests of the public.  

7. Engaging in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct 
in conducting a certified home inspection.  

8. Having been found guilty by the board, an 
administrative body, or by any court of any 
misrepresentation in the course of performing home 
inspections.  

9. Having performed a certified home inspection when not 
qualified by training or experience to competently perform 
any part of the certified home inspection. 

10. Failing to maintain, through training, the proficiency to 
perform Virginia certified home inspections. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1010; Filed May 20, 2009, 11:41 a.m.  

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 
Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-160; adding 
18VAC30-20-185). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow an applicant whose license has 
been lapsed for five or more years to apply for 
reinstatement based on documentation of meeting current 
requirements for education, examination and certification 
or documentation of a current license in another 
jurisdiction in the United States and evidence of active 
practice for at least three of the past five years. If an 
applicant for reinstatement in audiology cannot meet the 
current licensure requirements or cannot document current 
licensure and active practice for three years, a third option 
is provided in the amended regulation. The applicant who 
has the educational qualifications and has passed the 
examination may be granted a provisional license and 
practice under supervision for six months and must be 
recommended for licensure by his supervisor. 

New regulations for licensure by endorsement mirror the 
provisions for reinstatement of a lapsed Virginia license as 
evidence of current competency to practice. 

There are changes made to the proposed regulation. 
Subsection C of 18VAC30-20-171 provides that the holder 
of a provisional license in audiology shall only practice 
under the supervision of a licensed audiologist in order to 
obtain clinical experience as required for certification by 
the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. The 
purpose of provisional licensure for an applicant for 
licensure by endorsement is to gain experience if he has 
not actively practiced for three of the past five years; it is 
not to obtain clinical experience as required for ASHA 
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certification, therefore, the reference to subsection C of 
18VAC30-20-171 is eliminated and the requirement for 
supervision by a licensed audiologist is added to 
18VAC30-20-160 and 18VAC30-20-185. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC30-20-160. Reinstatement of lapsed license.  

A. When a license has not been renewed within one year of 
the expiration date, a person may apply to reinstate his license 
by submission of a reinstatement application, payment of the 
reinstatement fee, and submission of documentation of 15 
continuing competency hours equal to the requirement for the 
number of years for each year the license has been lapsed, not 
to exceed four years, in which the license has been lapsed 60 
hours obtained during the time the license in Virginia was 
lapsed.  

B. A licensee who does not reinstate within four five years 
as prescribed by subsection A of this section shall either: 

reapply 1. Reapply for licensure as prescribed by Part III 
(18VAC30-20-170 et seq.) of this chapter 18VAC30-20-
170 and meet the qualifications for licensure in effect at the 
time of the new application; or 

2. Meet the continuing competency requirements specified 
in subsection A of this section and provide documentation 
of a current license in another jurisdiction in the United 
States and evidence of active practice for at least three of 
the past five years.  

C. An applicant for reinstatement in audiology who does not 
meet one of the [ qualifications requirements ] of subsection 
B of this section may qualify for reinstatement by practice 
under supervision with a provisional license for six months 
and a recommendation for reinstatement by his supervisor. 
The board may issue a provisional license to an applicant who 
can provide evidence of having met the applicable 
educational qualifications prescribed in 18VAC30-20-170 
and passage of the qualifying examination at the time of 
initial licensure. Provisional licensure shall be practiced 
[ under the supervision of a licensed audiologist and ] in 
accordance with subsections [ C,  ] D [ , ] and E of 
18VAC30-20-171.  

C. D. If the licensee holds licensure in any other state or 
jurisdiction, he shall provide evidence that no disciplinary 
action has been taken or is pending. The board reserves the 
right to deny a request for reinstatement to any licensee who 
has been determined to have committed an act in violation of 
18VAC30-20-280.  

18VAC30-20-185. Licensure by endorsement. 

A. An applicant who has been licensed in another 
jurisdiction in the United States may apply for licensure in 
Virginia by submission of a completed application, payment 
of the application fee, and submission of documentation of 15 
continuing competency hours for each year in which he has 
been licensed in the other jurisdiction, not to exceed 60 hours.  

B. An applicant shall either: 

1. Meet the qualifications for licensure as prescribed by 
18VAC30-20-170; or 

2. Provide documentation of a current license in another 
jurisdiction in the United States and evidence of active 
practice for at least three of the past five years. 

C. An applicant for licensure by endorsement in audiology 
who does not meet one of the [ qualifications requirements ] 
of subsection B of this section may qualify for endorsement 
by practice under supervision with a provisional license for 
six months and a recommendation for licensure by his 
supervisor. The board may issue a provisional license to an 
applicant who can provide evidence of having met the 
educational qualifications prescribed in 18VAC30-20-170 
and passage of the qualifying examination at the time of 
initial licensure. Provisional licensure shall be practiced 
[ under the supervision of a licensed audiologist and ] in 
accordance with subsections [ C, ] D [ , ] and E of 18VAC30-
20-171. 

D. An applicant shall provide evidence that no disciplinary 
action has been taken or is pending against his license in 
another jurisdiction. The board reserves the right to deny a 
request for licensure to any applicant who has been 
determined to have committed an act in violation of 
18VAC30-20-280. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

[ FORMS (18VAC30-20)  

Application for Audiology License by ASHA or ABA 
Certification (rev. 6/08). 

Application Checklist for Audiology License by ASHA or 
ABA Certification (rev. 5/08). 

Application for a License to Practice Audiology by 
Endorsement (eff. 5/09). 

Application Checklist for Applicants by Endorsement - 
Audiology (eff. 5/09). 
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Application for Provisional Licensure to Practice Audiology 
(rev. 9/07). 

Application Checklist for Applicants Requesting Provisional 
Licensure (rev. 9/07). 

Application for Provisional Audiologist to Apply for Full 
Audiology License (rev. 7/08). 

Application Checklist for Provisional Applicants Requesting 
Full Audiologist Licensure (eff. 8/08). 

Application for a License to Practice Speech-Language 
Pathology by Education (rev. 9/07). 

Application Checklist for Applicants by Education (rev. 
9/07). 

Application for a License to Practice Speech-Language 
Pathology by ASHA Certification (rev. 5/08). 

Application Checklist for Applicants by ASHA Certification 
(rev. 5/08). 

Application for a License to Practice Speech-Language 
Pathology by Endorsement (eff. 5/09). 

Application Checklist for Applicants by Endorsement - 
Speech-Language Pathology (eff. 5/09). 

Application for a License to Practice as a School Speech-
Language Pathologist (rev. 7/07). 

Application Checklist for Applicants for School Speech-
Language Pathology License (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice (rev. 
11/07). 

Reinstatement Application Checklist for Audiology and 
Speech-Language Pathology (rev. 8/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of School Speech Language 
Pathology License (rev. 11/07). 

Reinstatement Application Checklist for School Speech-
Language Pathologists Applicants (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Inactive License to 
Practice (rev. 11/07). 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 
7/07). 

Application for Approval as a Continuing Competency 
Sponsor (rev. 7/07). ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1218; Filed May 20, 2009, 11:10 a.m.  

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Common Interest Community 
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Common Interest 
Community Board will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions from any interested person at any time with respect 
to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-20. Condominium 
Regulations (adding 18VAC48-20-10 through 18VAC48-
20-800). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 
FAX (804) 527-4298, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 851 and 871 of the Code of Virginia, 
this regulatory action administratively transfers the 
regulation from the Real Estate Board to the Common 
Interest Community Board. 

The regulation establishes the registration requirements 
for condominium projects in the Commonwealth.  In 
addition, the regulation provides annual reporting 
requirements, information regarding implementation and 
amendment of public offering statements, and marketing 
standards.  The only change in transferring the regulation 
from the Real Estate Board to the Common Interest 
Community Board is the replacement of all references to 
"Real Estate Board" with "Common Interest Community 
Board." 

CHAPTER 20  
CONDOMINIUM REGULATIONS  

Part I  
General  

18VAC48-20-10. Purpose. 

This chapter governs the exercise of powers granted to and 
the performance of duties imposed upon the Common Interest 
Community Board by the Horizontal Property Act (§ 55-79.1 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia ) and by the Condominium Act 
(§ 55-79.39 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

18VAC48-20-20. Definitions. 

The definitions provided in § 55-79.41 of the Code of 
Virginia, as they may be supplemented herein, shall apply to 
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this chapter. The corresponding meanings assigned to certain 
terms by § 55-79.41 of the Code of Virginia shall be 
applicable in this chapter.  

18VAC48-20-30. Explanation of terms. 

Each reference in this chapter to a "declarant," "purchaser," 
and "unit owner" or to the plural of those terms shall be 
deemed to refer, as appropriate, to the masculine and the 
feminine, to the singular and the plural and to natural persons 
and organizations. The term "declarant" shall refer to any 
successors to the persons referred to in § 55-79.41 who come 
to stand in the same relation to the condominium as their 
predecessors in that they assumed rights reserved for the 
benefit of a declarant that (i) offers to dispose of his or its 
interest in a condominium unit not previously disposed of, (ii) 
reserves or succeeds to any special declarant right, or (iii) 
applies for registration of the condominium.  

18VAC48-20-40. Condominiums located outside of 
Virginia. 

A. In any case involving a condominium located outside of 
Virginia in which the laws or practices of the jurisdiction in 
which such condominium is located prevent compliance with 
a provision of these condominium regulations, the board or its 
subordinate shall prescribe, by order, a substitute provision to 
be applicable in such case that is as nearly equivalent to the 
original provision as is reasonable under the circumstances.  

B. The words "declaration," "bylaws," "plats," and "plans," 
when used in these condominium regulations with reference 
to a condominium located outside of Virginia, shall refer to 
documents, portions of documents, or combinations thereof, 
by whatever name denominated, which have a content and 
function identical or substantially equivalent to the content 
and function of their Virginia counterparts.  

C. The words "recording" or "recordation," when used with 
reference to condominium instruments of a condominium 
located outside of Virginia, shall refer to a procedure which, 
in the jurisdiction in which such condominium is located, 
causes the condominium instruments to become legally 
effective.  

D. This chapter shall apply to a contract for the disposition 
of a condominium unit located outside of Virginia only to the 
extent permissible under the provisions of § 55-79.40 B of the 
Code of Virginia.  

18VAC48-20-50. Condominium advisory committee. 

A condominium advisory committee, appointed by the 
board, may advise the board in the exercise of its powers and 
the performance of its duties under the Horizontal Property 
Act (§ 55-79.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the 
Condominium Act (§ 55-79.39 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia).  

18VAC48-20-60. Property registration administrator. 

A property registration administrator, employed and 
designated as such by the Director of the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, shall function as a 
subordinate of the board within the meaning of § 2.2-4001 of 
the Code of Virginia for the purpose of carrying out the 
routine daily operations of the board with respect to 
condominium regulations, including, without limitation, the 
entry of any orders provided for in these condominium 
regulations, the issuance of public reports and the 
administration of oaths and affirmations in connection with 
investigations or other proceedings. The administrator shall 
act as secretary of the condominium advisory committee.  

Part II  
Application for Registration  

18VAC48-20-70. Application for registration. 

Application for registration of condominium units shall be 
filed at the offices of the board. The application shall contain 
all of the documents and information required by the standard 
application form.  

18VAC48-20-80. Applications not in proper form. 

Upon receipt of an application for registration not in proper 
form, the board shall return the application to the declarant 
with a statement specifying the deficiencies in its form; 
however, if the board has reason to believe that the 
application may readily be put into proper form it may retain 
the application and notify the declarant of the steps that must 
be taken to put the application in proper form.  

18VAC48-20-90. Form of the application; submission of 
documents. 

The board may establish specific guidelines that establish 
the form for preparation of the application for registration. 
These guidelines shall set forth reasonable requirements for 
paper size, binding and organization that assure uniformity in 
the manner disclosures are made to prospective purchasers.  

18VAC48-20-100. Procedure upon receipt of application 
for registration. 

A. Upon receipt of an application for registration and the fee 
required by § 55-79.89 D of the Code of Virginia, the board 
shall issue the notice of filing required by § 55-79.92 A of the 
Code of Virginia and shall conduct an inquiry and 
investigation to determine whether the prerequisites for 
registration set out in § 55-79.91 of the Code of Virginia and 
18VAC48-20-130 have been met. In conducting such inquiry 
and investigation, the board shall take cognizance of any 
reliable information concerning the declarant or the 
condominium coming to the board's attention.  

B. If any of the prerequisites for registration appear to the 
board not to have been met, the board may informally advise 
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the declarant of such fact and indicate in detail the nature of 
the failure to meet the prerequisites.  

C. If the document review conducted by the administrator 
reveals that the prerequisites for registration have not been 
met, the board shall issue the correction notification required 
by § 55-79.92 C of the Code of Virginia.  

D. A request for an extension of the 60-day application 
period shall be in writing and shall be delivered to the board 
prior to the expiration of the period being extended. The 
request shall be for an extension of definite duration. The 
board may grant in writing a request for an extension of the 
application period and it may limit the extension to a period 
not longer than is reasonably necessary to permit correction 
of the application. An additional extension of the application 
period may be obtained, subject to the conditions applicable 
to the initial request. A request for an extension of the 
application period shall be deemed a consent to delay within 
the meaning of § 55-79.92 A of the Code of Virginia.  

E. If the prerequisites for registration are not met within the 
application period or a valid extension thereof, the board 
shall, upon the expiration of such period, enter an order 
rejecting registration as required by § 55-79.92 C of the Code 
of Virginia.  

F. The board shall receive and act upon corrections to the 
application for registration at any time prior to the effective 
date of an order rejecting registration.  

G. At such time as the board affirmatively determines that 
the prerequisites for registration have been met, the board 
shall enter an order registering the condominium. The order 
shall designate the form and content of the public offering 
statement, substituted disclosure document or prospectus to 
be used and, in the case of application for registration made 
pursuant to 18VAC48-20-680 D, shall provide that previous 
orders designating the form and content of the public offering 
statement, substituted disclosure document or prospectus to 
be used are superseded.  

18VAC48-20-110. Application for registration of 
expandable condominium. 

In accordance with the practice contemplated by § 55-79.74 
A of the Code of Virginia, the declarant may register all units 
for which development rights have been reserved.  

18VAC48-20-120. Filing fee. 

Each application shall be accompanied by a fee in an 
amount equal to $35 per unit, except that the initial 
application fee shall be not less than $1,750 nor more than 
$3,500, and the fee for any application for registration of 
additional units shall be not less than $875 nor more than 
$3,500.  

Part III  
Registration  

18VAC48-20-130. Prerequisites for registration. 

The following provisions are prerequisites for registration 
and are supplementary to the provisions of § 55-79.91 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

1. The declarant shall own or have the right to acquire an 
estate in the land constituting or to constitute the 
condominium that is of at least as great a degree and 
duration as the estate to be conveyed in the condominium 
units.  

2. The condominium instruments must be adequate to 
bring a condominium into existence upon recordation 
except that the certification requirements of § 55-79.58 of 
the Code of Virginia need not be complied with as a 
prerequisite for registration. This subsection does not apply 
to condominium instruments that may be recorded after the 
condominium has been created.  

3. The declarant shall have filed with the board evidence of 
its ability to complete all proposed improvements on the 
condominium. Such evidence shall consist of the 
commitment of an institutional lender to advance 
construction funds to the declarant and, to the extent that 
any such commitments will not furnish all the necessary 
funds, other evidence, satisfactory to the board, of the 
availability to the declarant of necessary funds. A lender's 
commitment may be subject to such conditions, including 
registration of the condominium units and presale 
requirements as are normal for loans of the type and as to 
which nothing appears to indicate that the conditions will 
not be complied with or fulfilled. In the case of a 
condominium located in Virginia, proposed improvements 
are uncompleted improvements that the declarant is 
affirmatively and unconditionally obligated to complete 
under §§ 55-79.58 and 55-79.67 (a1) of the Code of 
Virginia and applicable provisions of the condominium 
instruments or which the declarant would be so obligated 
to complete, if plats and plans filed with the board in 
accordance with 18VAC48-20-140 A were recorded. In the 
case of a condominium located outside of Virginia, 
"proposed improvements" are all uncompleted 
improvements that the declarant intends, without condition 
or limitation, to build or place on the condominium.  

4. The current and planned condominium marketing 
activities of the declarant shall comply with § 18.2-216 of 
the Code of Virginia, and 18VAC48-20-160, 18VAC48-
20-180 and 18VAC48-20-190.  

5. The declarant shall have filed with the board: (i) a 
proposed public offering statement that complies with 
§ 55-79.90 A of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC48-20-
210 through 18VAC48-20-440 and 18VAC48-20-540 
through 18VAC48-20-650 and, if applicable, § 55-79.94 A 
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of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC48-20-470 through 
18VAC48-20-520; (ii) a substituted disclosure document 
that complies with 18VAC48-20-450; or (iii) a prospectus 
that complies with 18VAC48-20-460.  

18VAC48-20-140. Requirements for plats and plans. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C hereof, improvements 
shall be depicted on plats filed with the application for 
registration exactly as the declarant has depicted or intends to 
depict them on the recorded plats and "(NOT YET BEGUN)" 
and "(NOT YET COMPLETED)" labels shall be used with 
respect to such improvements exactly as the declarant has 
used or intends to use them on the recorded plats. Copies of 
plats and plans as recorded by the declarant shall be filed with 
the board if such plats and plans are different from those filed 
with the application for registration.  

B. The requirement of § 55-79.58 B of the Code of Virginia 
that plans shall show the location and dimensions of the 
boundaries of each unit shall be deemed satisfied, in the case 
of units that are identical (within normal constructions 
tolerances), by depiction of the location and dimensions of 
the vertical boundaries and horizontal boundaries, if any, of 
one such unit. The identifying numbers of all units 
represented by such depiction shall be indicated. Each 
structure within which any such units are located shall be 
depicted so as to indicate the exact location of each such unit 
within the structure.  

C. In the case of a condominium located outside Virginia, 
certain materials may be filed with the application for 
registration in lieu of plats and plans complying with the 
provisions of § 55-79.58 of the Code of Virginia. Such 
materials shall contain, as a minimum, (i) a plat of survey 
depicting all existing improvements and all improvements 
that the declarant intends, without condition or limitation to 
build or place on the condominium and (ii) legally sufficient 
descriptions of each unit. Any improvements whose 
completion is subject to conditions or limitations shall be 
appropriately labeled to indicate that such improvements may 
not be completed. Unit descriptions may be written or 
graphic, shall demarcate each unit vertically and, if 
appropriate, horizontally, and shall indicate each unit's 
location relative to established points or datum.  

D. The plats and plans must bear the form of the 
certification statement required by § 55-79.58 A and B of the 
Code of Virginia. However, such certification may appear in 
a separate document to be recorded with the plats and plans. 
As stated in subdivision 2 of 18VAC48-20-130, the statement 
need not be executed prior to recordation. 

18VAC48-20-150. Exemption from registration of 
nonresidential condominiums. 

The exemption from registration of condominiums in which 
all units are restricted to nonresidential use provided in § 55-
79.87 A shall not be deemed to apply to any condominium as 

to which there is a substantial possibility that a unit therein 
other than a unit owned by the declarant or the unit owners' 
association will be used as permanent or temporary living 
quarters or as a site upon which vehicular or other portable 
living quarters will be placed and occupied. Residential use 
for the purposes of these regulations includes transient 
occupancy.  

Part IV  
Marketing  

18VAC48-20-160. Preregistration offers prohibited. 

A. No declarant or individual or entity acting on behalf of 
the declarant shall offer a condominium unit prior to its 
registration.  

B. No condominium marketing activity shall be deemed an 
offer unless, by its express terms, it induces, solicits, or 
encourages a prospective purchaser to execute a contract of 
sale of the condominium unit or lease of a leasehold 
condominium unit or perform some other act that would 
create or purport to create a legal or equitable interest in the 
condominium unit other than a security interest in or a 
nonbinding reservation of the condominium unit.  

18VAC48-20-170. Condominium marketing activities. 

Condominium marketing activities shall include every 
contact for the purpose of promoting disposition of a 
condominium unit. Such contacts may be personal, by 
telephone, by mail, or by advertisement. A promise, assertion, 
representation, or statement of fact or opinion made in 
connection with a condominium marketing activity may be 
oral, written, or graphic. With respect to condominiums 
located outside of Virginia, the application of these 
regulations is limited to those condominiums for which 
contracts are executed in Virginia as required by § 55-79.40 B 
of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC48-20-180. Condominium marketing standards. 

A. No promise, assertion, representation or statement of fact 
or opinion in connection with a condominium marketing 
activity shall be made that is false, inaccurate, or misleading 
by reason of inclusion of an untrue statement of a material 
fact or omission of a statement of a material fact relative to 
the actual or intended characteristics, circumstances, or 
features of the condominium or a condominium unit. 

B. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 
or opinion made in connection with a condominium 
marketing activity shall indicate that an improvement will be 
built or placed on the condominium unless the improvement 
is a proposed improvement within the meaning of subdivision 
3 of 18VAC48-20-130; except that, if the condominium is 
one for which no application for registration has been filed, 
there shall be no indication that an improvement will be built 
or placed on the condominium unless the declarant has 
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sufficient financial assets and a bona fide intention to 
complete the improvement as represented.  

C. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 
or opinion made in connection with a condominium 
marketing activity and relating to a condominium unit not 
registered shall, by its express terms, induce, solicit, or 
encourage a prospective purchaser to leave Virginia for the 
purpose of executing a contract for sale or lease of the 
condominium unit or performing some other act that would 
create or purport to create a legal or equitable interest in the 
condominium unit other than a security interest in or a 
nonbinding reservation of the condominium unit.  

18VAC48-20-190. Offering literature. 

A. Offering literature is any written promise, assertion, 
representation, or statement of fact or opinion made in 
connection with a condominium marketing activity mailed or 
delivered directly to a specific prospective purchaser, except 
that information printed in a publication shall not be deemed 
offering literature solely by virtue of the fact that the 
publication is mailed or delivered directly to a prospective 
purchaser.  

B. Offering literature mailed or delivered prior to the 
registration of the condominium that is the subject of the 
offering literature shall bear a conspicuous legend containing 
the substance of the following language:  

Identification of the condominium has not been registered 
by the Common Interest Community Board. A condominium 
unit may be reserved on a nonbinding reservation agreement, 
but no contract of sale or lease may be entered into prior to 
registration.  

C. Prior to registration a copy of every item of offering 
literature other than a personal communication shall be filed 
with the board prior to its use. A personal communication is a 
communication directed to a particular prospective purchaser 
that has not been and is not intended to be directed to any 
other prospective purchaser.  

D. The declarant of a condominium shall provide with the 
application for registration a narrative description of the 
promotional plan for the condominium.  

E. Offering literature or marketing activities violative of the 
Virginia Fair Housing Law, Chapter 5.1 (§ 36-96.1 et seq.) of 
Title 36 of the Code of Virginia, and the Virginia 
Condominium Act, § 55-79.52 C of the Code of Virginia is 
prohibited.  

F. Offering literature shall indicate that the property being 
offered is under the condominium form of ownership. The 
requirement of this subsection is satisfied by including the 
full name of the condominium in all offering literature.  

18VAC48-20-200. Exemption from marketing regulations. 

Nothing in 18VAC48-20-160, 18VAC48-20-180, and 
18VAC48-20-190 shall apply in the case of a condominium 
exempted from registration by § 55-79.87 of the Code of 
Virginia, or condominiums located outside of Virginia for 
which no contracts are to be signed in Virginia.  

Part V  
Public Offering Statement  

18VAC48-20-210. Scope of public offering statement. 

A public offering statement shall make disclosure relative to 
a single offering and to the entire condominium in which the 
condominium units being offered are located. Not more than 
one version of a public offering statement shall be authorized 
for use or used at any given time with respect to a particular 
condominium.  

18VAC48-20-220. Offering defined. 

As used in these condominium regulations, the word 
"offering" shall refer to the continuing act of the declarant in 
making condominium units owned by the declarant within a 
particular condominium available for acquisition by 
purchasers or, where appropriate, to the aggregate of the 
condominium units thus made available.  

18VAC48-20-230. Preparation of public offering 
statement. 

The public offering statement shall be clear and legible with 
pages numbered sequentially. A blank cover or a cover 
bearing identification information only may be used. Except 
as elsewhere provided, no portion of the public offering 
statement may be printed in larger, heavier, or different color 
type than the remainder of the public offering statement. The 
first page of the public offering statement shall be 
substantially as follows.  

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT FOR 
HIS OWN PROTECTION 

PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT 

NAME OF CONDOMINIUM: 

LOCATION OF CONDOMINIUM: 

NAME OF DECLARANT: 

ADDRESS OF DECLARANT: 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF PUBLIC OFFERING 
STATEMENT: _______________________ 

AMENDED: ________________________ 

REVISED: ________________________ 

This public offering statement presents information 
regarding condominium units being offered for sale by the 
declarant. Virginia law requires that a public offering 
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statement be given to every purchaser in order to provide full 
and accurate disclosure of the significant features of the 
condominium units being offered. The public offering 
statement is not intended, however, to be all-inclusive. The 
purchaser should consult other sources for details not covered 
by the public offering statement. 

The public offering statement summarizes information and 
documents furnished by the declarant to the Virginia 
Common Interest Community Board. The board has carefully 
reviewed the public offering statement to ensure that it is an 
accurate summary but does not guarantee its accuracy. In the 
event of any inconsistency between the public offering 
statement and the material it is intended to summarize, the 
latter will control. 

Under Virginia law a purchaser of a condominium unit is 
afforded a 10-day period during which he may cancel the 
contract of sale and obtain a full refund of any sums deposited 
in connection with the contract. The 10-day period begins 
running on the contract date or the date of delivery of a public 
offering statement, whichever is later. The purchaser should 
inspect the condominium unit and all common areas and 
obtain professional advice. If the purchaser elects to cancel, 
he must deliver notice of cancellation to the declarant by hand 
or by United States mail, return receipt requested. 

The following are violations of Virginia law and should be 
reported to the Virginia Common Interest Community Board, 
Perimeter Center, Suite 400, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, 
Virginia 23233: 

1. A misrepresentation made in the public offering 
statement.  

2. An oral modification of the public offering statement. 

3. A representation that the board has passed on the merits 
of the condominium units being offered or endorses the 
condominium. 

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT FOR 
HIS OWN PROTECTION 

18VAC48-20-240. Nature of information to be included. 

A. The provisions of §§ 55-79.90 A and 55-79.94 A of the 
Code of Virginia, and 18VAC48-20-210 through 18VAC48-
20-720 shall be strictly construed to promote full and accurate 
disclosure in the public offering statement and, thereby, to 
protect the interests of purchasers.  

B. The requirements for disclosure are not exclusive. In 
addition to expressly required information, the declarant shall 
disclose all other available information that may reasonably 
be expected to affect the decision of the ordinarily prudent 
purchaser to accept or reject the offer of a condominium unit. 
The declarant shall disclose any additional information 
necessary to make the required information not misleading. 
No information may be presented in such a fashion as to 

obscure the facts, to encourage a misinterpretation of the 
facts, or otherwise to mislead a purchaser.  

C. No information shall be incorporated by reference to an 
extrinsic source that is not readily available to an ordinary 
purchaser. Whenever required information is not known or 
not reasonably available, such fact shall be stated in the 
public offering statement with a brief explanation. Whenever 
special circumstances exist that would render required 
disclosure inaccurate or misleading, the required disclosure 
shall be modified to accomplish the purpose of the 
requirement or the disclosure shall be omitted, provided that 
such modification or omission promotes full and accurate 
disclosure.  

D. Disclosure shall be made of pertinent facts, events, 
conditions, or other states of affairs that the declarant has 
reason to believe will occur or exist in the future or which the 
declarant intends to cause to occur or exist in the future. 
Disclosure relating to future facts, events, conditions or states 
of affairs shall be limited by the provisions of subsection F of 
this section.  

E. The public offering statement shall be as brief as is 
consistent with full and accurate disclosure. In no event shall 
the public offering statement be made so lengthy or detailed 
as to discourage close examination.  

F. Expressions of opinion in the public offering statement 
shall be deemed inconsistent with full and accurate disclosure 
unless there is ample foundation in fact for the opinion; 
provided, however, that this sentence shall not affect in any 
way the declarant's duty to set forth a projected budget for the 
condominium's operation.  

G. Except for brief excerpts therefrom, the public offering 
statement shall not incorporate verbatim portions of the 
condominium instruments or other documents. The 
purchaser's attention may be directed to pertinent portions of 
the declaration, bylaws, or other documents attached to the 
public offering statement that are too lengthy to incorporate 
verbatim.  

H. Maps, photographs, and drawings may be utilized in the 
public offering statement, provided that such utilization 
promotes full and accurate disclosure.  

18VAC48-20-250. Readability. 

The public offering statement shall be clear and 
understandable. Determinations as to compliance with the 
standards of this paragraph are within the exclusive discretion 
of the board.  

18VAC48-20-260. Summary of important considerations. 

A. Immediately following the first page and before the table 
of contents, the public offering statement shall include a 
summary of important considerations consisting of 
particularly noteworthy items of disclosure. Certain summary 
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statements are required by subsection D of this section. Other 
summary statements may be proposed by the declarant or 
included by order of the board for the purpose of reinforcing 
the disclosure of significant information not otherwise 
included in the summary of important considerations. No 
summary statement shall be included for the sole purpose of 
enhancing the sales appeal of condominium units.  

B. The summary shall be titled as such and shall be 
introduced by the following statement: "Following are 
important matters to be considered in acquiring a 
condominium unit. They are highlights only. The narrative 
sections should be examined to obtain detailed information." 
Each summary statement shall include a reference to pertinent 
portions, if any, of the public offering statement for details 
respecting the information summarized. Each summary 
statement, exclusive of any reference to other portions of the 
public offering statement, shall be limited to not more than 
three sentences except that the board may, by order, permit or 
require additional sentences.  

C. Whenever the board finds that the significance to 
purchasers of certain information requires that it be disclosed 
more conspicuously than by regular presentation in the 
summary of important considerations, it may provide, by 
order, that a summary statement of the information shall be 
underscored, italicized, or printed in a larger or heavier or 
different color type than the remainder of the public offering 
statement.  

D. Summary statements shall be made of the substance of 
the following facts and circumstances, to the extent that each 
is applicable. Specific information shall be substituted for the 
general information indicated by brackets. Appropriate 
modifications shall be made to reflect facts and circumstances 
varying from those indicated herein:  

1. The condominium will be governed by a unit owners' 
association. Each unit owner will have a vote on certain 
decisions of the association and will be bound by all 
decisions of the association including those with which he 
disagrees.  

2. Certain decisions of the unit owners' association will be 
made by an executive organ.  

3. The expenses of operating the unit owners' association 
will be paid by the unit owners on the basis of a periodic 
budget. Each unit owner will pay a periodic assessment. A 
unit owner cannot reduce the amount of his assessment by 
refraining from use of the common elements.  

4. If a unit owner fails to pay an assessment when due, the 
unit owners' association will have a lien against his 
condominium unit. Certain other penalties may be applied.  

5. The declarant must pay assessments on unsold 
condominium units.  

6. The declarant, its predecessors or principal officer has 
undergone a debtor's relief proceeding.  

7. The declarant will retain control of the unit owners' 
association for an initial period.  

8. A managing agent will perform the routine operations of 
the unit owners' association. The managing agent is related 
to the declarant, director, or officer of the unit owners' 
association.  

9. The declarant may rent unsold condominium units. The 
right of any unit owner to rent his unit is subject to 
restrictions.  

10. The declarant may expand or contract the 
condominium or convert convertible land or space without 
the consent of any unit owner.  

11. The right of the unit owner to resell his condominium 
unit is subject to restrictions.  

12. The units are restricted to residential use.  

13. The unit owner may not alter the structure of his unit or 
modify the exterior of his unit without the approval of the 
declarant or unit owners' association.  

14. The unit owners' association will obtain certain 
insurance benefiting the unit owner, but the unit owner 
should obtain other insurance on his own.  

15. The unit owner will pay real estate taxes on his 
condominium unit.  

16. The unit owner's right to bring legal action against the 
declarant is limited by certain provisions of the purchase 
contract; specifically the contract requires the unit owner 
or the association to pay the attorney's fee of the declarant; 
requires the unit owner to waive trial by jury in any civil 
action against the declarant.  

17. The condominium is (is not) subject to development as 
a time-share.  

18. Marketing and sale of condominium units will be 
conducted in accordance with the Virginia Fair Housing 
Law, Chapter 5.1 (§ 36-96.1 et seq.) of Title 36 of the 
Code of Virginia and the Virginia Condominium Act 
(§ 55-79.52 C of the Code of Virginia).  

18VAC48-20-270. Narrative sections. 

The information to be presented in the public offering 
statement shall be broken down into sections in order to 
facilitate reading and comprehension. Certain sections are 
required by 18VAC48-20-280 through 18VAC48-20-430. 
Supplementary sections may be included whenever necessary 
to incorporate information that cannot properly be placed 
within one of the required sections. Supplementary section 
captions that indicate the nature of the material presented 
thereunder shall be utilized. The sections may be set out in 
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any order that lends itself to the organized presentation of 
information. Section captions may be underscored, italicized, 
or printed in larger or heavier or different color type than the 
remainder of the public offering statement. A table of 
contents shall be utilized.  

18VAC48-20-280. Narrative sections; condominium 
concept. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "The Condominium Concept." The section shall 
consist of a brief discussion of the condominium form of 
ownership. The section shall discuss the distinction among 
units, common elements, and limited common elements, if 
any, and shall explain ownership of an undivided interest in 
the common elements. Attention shall be directed to any 
features of ownership of the condominium units being offered 
which are different from typical condominium unit 
ownership. 

18VAC48-20-290. Narrative sections; creation of 
condominium. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Creation of the Condominium." The section shall 
briefly explain the manner in which the condominium was or 
will be created and shall briefly describe each of the 
condominium instruments, their functions, and the procedure 
for their amendment. The section shall indicate where each of 
the condominium instruments or copies thereof may be 
found. In the case of a condominium located in Virginia or in 
a jurisdiction having a law similar to § 55-79.96 of the Code 
of Virginia, the section shall indicate the purchaser will 
receive copies of the recorded declaration and bylaws, or 
amendments, as appropriate, within the time provided for in 
the applicable statute.  

18VAC48-20-300. Narrative sections; description of 
condominium. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Description of the Condominium." The section 
shall contain a narrative description of the condominium. The 
description shall include statements of (i) the land area of the 
condominium; (ii) the number of units in the condominium; 
(iii) the number of units in the offering; (iv) the number of 
units in the condominium planned to be rented; and (v) 
whether at the time of registration the declarant intends to sell 
more than 20% of the units to persons who do not intend to 
occupy the units as their primary residence.  

B. If the condominium is contractable, expandable or 
includes convertible land or space, the section shall contain a 
brief description of each such feature including the land area 
and the maximum number of units or maximum number of 
units per acre that may be added, withdrawn, or converted, as 
the case may be, together with a statement of the declarant's 
plans for the implementation of each such feature. In the case 
of a contractable or expandable condominium, the section 

shall contain the substance of the following statement: "The 
construction and development of the condominium may be 
abandoned or altered, at the declarant's option, short of 
completion and land or buildings originally intended for 
condominium development may be put to other uses or sold." 
In the case of a condominium including convertible land, the 
section shall contain the substance of the following 
statements: "Until such time as the declarant converts the 
convertible land into units or limited common elements, the 
declarant is required by the Virginia Condominium Act to 
pay for the upkeep of the convertible land. Once the 
convertible land has been converted, maintenance and other 
financial responsibilities associated with the land so 
designated become the responsibility of the unit owners and, 
therefore, may be reflected in the periodic assessment for the 
condominium." If the common expense assessments are 
expected to increase should convertible land be converted, 
this section shall also disclose an estimate of the approximate 
percentage by which such assessments are expected to 
increase by reason of any such conversion.  

C. The section shall state whether or not the units are 
restricted solely to residential use and shall state where this 
and other use and occupancy restrictions are to be found in 
the condominium instruments.  

18VAC48-20-310. Narrative section; individual units. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Individual Units." The section shall contain a 
general description of the various type units being offered, 
together with the dates on which substantial completion of 
unfinished units is anticipated. The section shall discuss what 
restrictions, if any, exist as to changes unit owners may make 
to the structure or exterior of their units, whether or not said 
exterior is a portion of the common elements.  

18VAC48-20-320. Narrative sections; common elements. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Common Elements." The section shall contain a 
general description of the common elements.  

B. A statement of the anticipated completion dates of 
unfinished common elements shall be included except that no 
such statement shall be necessary with respect to common 
elements that are completed or expected to be substantially 
complete when the units are completed.  

C. With respect to common elements that the declarant 
intends to build or place on the condominium but which are 
not expected to be substantially complete when the units are 
completed, the section shall state: (i) in the case of a 
condominium located in Virginia, the nature, source and 
extent of the obligation to complete such common elements 
that the declarant has incurred or intends to incur upon 
recordation of the condominium instruments pursuant to 
§§ 55-79.58 A and 55-79.67(a)(1) of the Code of Virginia and 
applicable provisions of the condominium instruments and 
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pursuant to § 55-79.58:1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
declarant has filed with the Common Interest Community 
Board a bond to insure completion of improvements to the 
common elements that the declarant has incurred or intends to 
incur upon recordation of the condominium instruments; and 
(ii) in the case of a condominium located outside of Virginia, 
the nature, source, and extent of the obligation to complete 
such common elements that the declarant has incurred or 
intends to incur under the law of the jurisdiction in which the 
condominium is located.  

D. The section shall describe any limited common elements 
that are assigned or that may be assigned and shall indicate 
the reservation of exclusive use. In the case of limited 
common elements that may be assigned, the section shall 
state the manner of such assignment or reassignment.  

E. The section shall indicate the availability of vehicular 
parking spaces including the number of spaces available per 
unit and restrictions on or charges for the use of spaces.  

18VAC48-20-330. Narrative sections; declarant. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "The Declarant." The section shall contain a brief 
history of the declarant with emphasis on its experience in 
condominium development.  

B. The following information shall be stated with regard to 
persons immediately responsible for the development of the 
condominium: (i) name; (ii) length of time associated with 
the declarant; (iii) role in the development of the 
condominium; and (iv) experience in real estate development. 
If different from the persons immediately responsible for the 
development of the condominium, the principal officers of the 
declarant shall be identified.  

C. If the declarant or its parent or predecessor organization 
has, during the preceding 10 years, been adjudicated a 
bankrupt or has undergone any proceeding for the relief of 
debtors, such fact or facts shall be stated. If any of the persons 
identified pursuant to subsection B of this section has, during 
the preceding three years, been adjudicated a bankrupt or 
undergone any proceeding for the relief of debtors, such fact 
or facts shall be stated.  

D. The section shall indicate any final action taken by an 
administrative agency or civil or criminal court that reflects 
adversely upon the performance of the declarant as a 
developer of real estate projects. The section shall also 
indicate any current or past proceedings brought against the 
declarant by any condominium unit owners' association or by 
its executive organ or any managing agent on behalf of such 
association or that has been certified as a class action on 
behalf of some or all of the unit owners. For the purposes of 
the previous sentence with respect to past proceedings, if the 
ultimate disposition of those proceedings is one that reflects 
adversely upon the performance of the declarant, that 
disposition shall be disclosed. The board has the sole 

discretion to require additional disclosure of any legal 
proceedings where it finds such disclosure necessary to assure 
full and accurate disclosure.  

18VAC48-20-340. Narrative sections; terms of offering. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Terms of the Offering." The section shall discuss 
the expenses to be borne by a purchaser in acquiring a 
condominium unit and present information regarding the 
settlement of purchase agreements as provided in subsections 
B through G of this section.  

B. The section shall indicate the offering prices for 
condominium units or a price range for condominium units, if 
either is established.  

C. The section shall set forth the significant terms of any 
financing offered by or through the declarant to purchasers. 
Such discussion shall include the substance of the following 
statement: "Financing is subject to additional terms and 
conditions stated in the loan commitment or instruments."  

D. The section shall discuss in detail any settlement costs 
that are not normal for residential real estate transactions 
including, without limitation, any contribution to the initial or 
working capital of the unit owners' association to be paid by a 
purchaser at settlement.  

E. The section shall discuss any penalties or forfeitures to be 
incurred by a purchaser upon default in performance of a 
purchase agreement that are not normal for residential real 
estate transactions. Penalties or forfeitures to be discussed 
include, without limitation, the declarant's right to retain sums 
deposited in connection with a purchase agreement in the 
event of a refusal by a lending institution to provide financing 
to a purchaser who has made proper application for same.  

F. The section shall discuss the right of the declarant to 
cancel a purchase agreement upon failure of the declarant to 
obtain purchase agreements on a given number or percentage 
of condominium units being offered or upon failure of the 
declarant to meet other conditions precedent to obtaining 
necessary financing.  

G. The section shall set forth any provisions in the contract 
that require the unit owner or the association to pay the 
attorney's fee of the declarant or require the unit owner to 
waive trial by jury in any civil action against the declarant 
and the section shall set forth the paragraph or section and 
page number of the contract where such provision is located.  

18VAC48-20-350. Narrative sections; encumbrances. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Encumbrances." The section shall include the 
significant terms of any encumbrances, easements, liens and 
matters of title affecting the condominium as provided in 
subsections B through I of this section.  
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B. Except to the extent that such encumbrances are required 
to be satisfied or released by § 55-79.46 A of the Code of 
Virginia, or a similar law, the section shall describe every 
mortgage, deed of trust, other perfected lien or choate 
mechanics or materialmen's lien affecting all or any portion 
of the condominium other than those placed on condominium 
units by their purchasers or owners. Such description shall 
identify the lender secured or the lien holder shall state the 
nature and original amount of the obligation secured, shall 
identify the party having primary responsibility for 
performance of the obligation secured and shall indicate the 
practical effect upon unit owners of failure of said party to 
perform the obligation.  

C. Normal easements for utilities, municipal rights-of-way, 
and emergency access shall be described only as such, 
without reference to ownership, location or other details.  

D. Easements reserved to the declarant to facilitate 
conversion, expansion, or sales shall be briefly described.  

E. Easements reserved to the declarant or to the unit owners' 
association or its representatives or agents for access to units 
shall be briefly described. In the event that access to a unit 
may be had without notice to the unit owner, such fact shall 
be stated.  

F. Easements across the condominium reserved to the 
owners or occupants of land located in the vicinity of the 
condominium including, without limitation, easements for the 
use of recreational areas shall be briefly described.  

G. Covenants, servitudes, or other devices that create an 
actual or potential restriction on the right of any unit owner to 
use and enjoy his unit or any portion of the common elements 
other than limited common elements shall be briefly 
described.  

H. Any matter of title that is not otherwise required to be 
disclosed by the provisions of this section and that has or may 
have a substantial adverse impact upon units owners' interests 
in the condominium shall be described. Under normal 
circumstances, an easement for encroachments and an 
easement running in favor of unit owners for ingress and 
egress across the common elements shall be deemed not to 
have a substantial adverse impact upon unit owners' interest 
in the condominium.  

I. The section need not include any information required to 
be disclosed by 18VAC48-20-300 C, 18VAC48-20-310, or 
18VAC48-20-360.  

18VAC48-20-360. Narrative sections; restrictions on 
transfer. 

The public offering statement shall include a section 
captioned "Restrictions on Transfer." The section shall 
describe and explain any rights of first refusal, preemptive 
rights, limitations on leasing, or other restraints on free 
alienability created by the condominium instruments or the 

rules and regulations of the unit owners' association and that 
affect the unit owners' right to resell, lease, or otherwise 
transfer an interest in his condominium unit.  

18VAC48-20-370. Narrative sections; unit owners' 
association. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Unit Owners' Association." The section shall 
discuss the manner in which the condominium is governed 
and administered and shall include the information required 
by subsections B through J of this section.  

B. The section shall state in summary fashion the functions 
of the unit owners' association.  

C. The section shall describe the organizational structure of 
the unit owners' association. Such description shall indicate 
(i) the existence of or provision for an executive organ, 
officers and managing agent, if any; (ii) the relationships 
between such persons or bodies; (iii) the manner of their 
election or appointment; and (iv) the assignment or delegation 
of responsibility for the performance of the functions of the 
unit owners' association.  

D. The section shall describe the allocation of voting power 
among the unit owners.  

E. The section shall discuss any retention by the declarant of 
control over the unit owners' association.  

F. The managing agent, if any, shall be identified. If a 
managing agent is to be employed in the future, the criteria, if 
any, for selection of the managing agent shall be briefly 
stated. The section shall indicate any relationship between the 
managing agent and the declarant or a member of the 
executive organ or an officer of the unit owners' association. 
The duration of any management agreement shall be stated.  

G. Except to the extent otherwise disclosed in connection 
with discussion of a management agreement, the significant 
terms of any lease of recreational areas or similar contract or 
agreement affecting the use, maintenance, or access of all or 
any part of the condominium shall be stated. The section shall 
include a brief narrative statement of the effect of each such 
agreement upon a purchaser.  

H. Rules and regulations of the unit owners' association and 
the authority to promulgate rules and regulations shall be 
discussed. Particular provisions of the rules and regulations 
shall not be discussed except as required by other provisions 
of these condominium regulations. The purchaser's attention 
shall be directed to the copy of rules and regulations, if any, 
attached to the public offering statement.  

I. Any standing committees established or to be established 
to perform functions of the unit owners' association shall be 
discussed. Such committees include, without limitation, 
architectural control committees and committees having the 
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authority to interpret condominium instruments, rules and 
regulations, or other operative provisions.  

J. Unless required to be disclosed by 18VAC48-20-350 E, 
any power of the declarant or of the unit owners' association 
or its representatives or agents to enter units shall be 
discussed. To the extent each is applicable, the following 
facts shall be stated: (i) a unit may be entered without notice 
to the unit owner; (ii) the declarant or the unit owners' 
association or its representatives or agents are empowered to 
take actions or perform work in a unit without the consent of 
the unit owner; and (iii) the unit owner may be required to 
bear the costs of actions so taken or work so performed.  

18VAC48-20-380. Narrative sections; surrounding area. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Surrounding Area." The section shall briefly 
describe the zoning of the immediate neighborhood of the 
condominium. The section may indicate the existence and 
proximity of community facilities available to unit owners.  

18VAC48-20-390. Narrative sections; financial matters. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Financial Matters." The section shall discuss the 
expenses incident to the ownership of a condominium unit, 
excluding certain taxes, in the manner provided in subsections 
B through I of this section.  

B. The section shall distinguish, in general terms, the 
following categories of costs of operation, maintenance, 
repair, and replacement of various portions of the 
condominium: (i) common expenses apportioned among and 
assessed to all of the condominium units pursuant to § 55-
79.83 C of the Code of Virginia or similar law or 
condominium instrument provision (referred to elsewhere in 
these regulations as "regular common expenses"); (ii) 
common expenses, if any, apportioned among and assessed to 
less than all of the condominium units pursuant to § 55-79.83 
A and B of the Code of Virginia or similar law or 
condominium instrument provisions; and (iii) costs borne 
directly by individual unit owners. The section need not 
discuss taxes assessed against individual condominium units 
and payable directly by their owners.  

C. A projected budget shall be prepared showing regular 
common expenses to be assessed for the first year of the 
condominium's operation or, if different, the latest year for 
which projections are available; provided, however, that in no 
event shall the year for which the budget is projected have 
commenced more than six months prior to the date 
application for registration is filed. The projected budget shall 
be attached to the public offering statement as an exhibit and 
the section shall direct the purchaser's attention thereto. The 
section shall describe the manner in which the projected 
budget is established.  

D. The section shall describe the manner in which regular 
common expenses are apportioned among and assessed to the 
condominium units. The section shall include the substance 
of the following statement, if applicable: "A unit owner 
cannot obtain a reduction of the regular common expenses 
assessed against his unit by refraining from use of any of the 
common elements."  

E. The section shall describe budget provisions for reserves 
for capital expenditures and for contingencies, if any.  

F. The section shall describe provisions for special 
assessments to be levied in the event that budgeted 
assessments provide insufficient funds for operation of the 
unit owners' association.  

G. The section shall discuss any common expenses actually 
planned to be specially assessed pursuant to § 55-79.83 A and 
B of the Code of Virginia or similar law or condominium 
instrument provisions.  

H. The section shall indicate any fee, rental, or other charge 
to be payable by unit owners other than through common 
expense assessments to any party for use of the common 
elements or for use of recreational or parking facilities in the 
vicinity of the condominium. As an exception to the 
provisions of this subsection, the section need not discuss any 
fees provided for in §§ 55-79.84 H and 55-79.85 of the Code 
of Virginia, or similar laws or condominium instrument 
provisions or any costs for certificates for resale.  

I. The section shall discuss the effect of failure of a unit 
owner to pay when due assessments levied against his 
condominium unit. Such discussion shall indicate provisions 
for penalties to be applied in the case of overdue assessments 
and for acceleration of unpaid assessments. The section shall 
indicate the existence of a lien for unpaid assessments and 
where applicable the bond conditioned on the payment of 
assessments filed with the board in accordance with § 55-
79.84:1 of the Code of Virginia. The section shall include, to 
the extent applicable, the substance of the following 
statement: "The unit owners' association may obtain payment 
of overdue assessments by foreclosure of the lien resulting in 
a forced sale of the condominium unit or by suing the unit 
owner." 

18VAC48-20-400. Narrative sections; insurance. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Insurance." The section shall describe generally 
the insurance on the condominium to be maintained by the 
unit owners' association. The section shall state, with respect 
to such insurance, each of the following circumstances, to the 
extent applicable: (i) property damage coverage will not 
insure personal property belonging to unit owners; (ii) 
property damage coverage will not insure improvements to a 
unit that increase its value beyond the limits of coverage 
provided in the unit owners' association's policy, and (iii) 
liability coverage will not insure against liability arising from 
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an accident or injury occurring within a unit or as a result of 
the act or negligence of a unit owner. The section shall 
indicate any conditions imposed by the condominium 
instruments or rules and regulations to which insurance 
obtained directly by unit owners will be subject. Such 
indication may be made by reference to pertinent provisions 
of the condominium instruments or rules and regulations.  

18VAC48-20-410. Narrative sections; taxes. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Taxes." The section shall describe all existing or 
proposed taxes to be levied against condominium units 
individually including, without limitation, real property taxes, 
sewer connection charges, and other special assessments.  

B. With respect to real property taxes, the section shall state 
the tax rate currently in effect. The section shall also state a 
procedure or formula by means of which the taxes may be 
estimated.  

C. With respect to other taxes, the section shall describe 
each tax in sufficient detail as to indicate the time at which 
the tax will be levied and the actual or estimated amount to be 
levied. 

18VAC48-20-420. Narrative sections; governmental 
approval. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Governmental Approval." The section shall 
discuss approval of a site plan and issuance of a building 
permit by appropriate governmental authorities. The section 
shall also discuss compliance with all zoning ordinances, 
building codes, housing codes, and similar laws affecting the 
condominium.  

18VAC48-20-430. Narrative sections; warranties. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Warranties." The section shall describe any 
warranties provided by or through the declarant on the units 
or the common elements. If any such warranty is different 
from the warranty provided by § 55-79.79 B of the Code of 
Virginia or a similar applicable law, the section shall include 
the substance of the following statement: "Nothing contained 
in the warranty provided by the declarant shall limit the 
protection afforded by the statutory warranty."  

18VAC48-20-440. Documents to be included. 

Copies of the following documents shall be attached as 
exhibits to the public offering statement: (i) the declaration; 
(ii) the bylaws; (iii) the projected budget; (iv) rules and 
regulations of the unit owners' association; (v) any 
management contract; (vi) any lease of recreational areas; and 
(vii) any similar contract or agreement affecting the use, 
maintenance or access of all or any part of the condominium. 
Other pertinent documents may be attached to the public 
offering statement including, without limitation, a purchase 

agreement, a certificate of warranty, a warranty limitation 
agreement, and a depiction of unit layouts.  

18VAC48-20-450. Documents from other jurisdictions. 

A. A substituted disclosure document is a document 
originally prepared in compliance with the laws of another 
jurisdiction and modified in accordance with the provisions of 
this section in order to fulfill the disclosure requirements 
established for public offering statements by §§ 55-79.90 A 
and, if applicable, 55-79.94 A of the Code of Virginia. A 
substituted disclosure document shall not be employed in the 
case of a condominium located in Virginia.  

B. The substituted disclosure document shall be prepared by 
deleting from the original disclosure document: (i) references 
to any governmental agency of another jurisdiction to which 
application has been made or will be made for registration or 
related action; (ii) references to the action of such 
governmental agency relative to the condominium; (iii) 
statements of the legal effect in another jurisdiction of 
delivery, failure to deliver, acknowledgement of receipt, or 
related events involving the disclosure document; (iv) the 
effective date or dates in another jurisdiction of the disclosure 
document; and (v) all other information that is untrue, 
inaccurate, or misleading with respect to marketing, offers or 
disposition of condominium units in Virginia.  

C. The substituted disclosure document shall incorporate all 
information not otherwise included that is necessary to effect 
fully and accurately the disclosures required by §§ 55-79.90 
A and, if applicable, 55-79.94 A of the Code of Virginia. The 
substituted disclosure document shall clearly explain any 
nomenclature that is different from the definitions provided in 
§ 55-79.41 of the Code of Virginia or that, for any other 
reason, may confuse purchasers in Virginia. Any information 
not required by §§ 55-79.90 A and 55-79.94 A of the Code of 
Virginia may be deleted, provided that such deletion does not 
render the required information misleading.  

D. The first page of the substituted disclosure document 
shall be prepared to conform as closely as possible to the 
specimen appended as Appendix A to these regulations and 
made a part hereof. The three blanks in the first sentence of 
the third paragraph of the specimen shall be completed by 
insertion of the following information: (i) the designation by 
that the original disclosure document is identified in the 
jurisdiction pursuant to whose laws it was prepared; (ii) the 
governmental agency of such other jurisdiction with that the 
original disclosure document is or will be filed; and (iii) the 
jurisdiction of such filing.  

E. No portion of the substituted disclosure document may be 
underscored, italicized or printed in larger, heavier, or 
different color type than the remainder of the substituted 
disclosure document, except: (i) as required by subsection D 
of this section; (ii) as required or permitted in the original 
disclosure document by the laws of the jurisdiction pursuant 
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to which it was prepared; and (iii) as provided by order of the 
board in cases in which it finds that the significance to 
purchasers of certain information requires that such 
information be disclosed more conspicuously than by regular 
presentation in the substituted disclosure document.  

F. The provisions of subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88, §§ 55-
79.90, and 55-79.94 A of the Code of Virginia and 
18VAC48-20-210, 18VAC48-20-230, 18VAC48-20-240, 
18VAC48-20-250, 18VAC48-20-440, and 18VAC48-20-450 
shall apply to substituted disclosure documents in the same 
manner and to the same extent that they apply to public 
offering statements. 

18VAC48-20-460. Condominium securities. 

A prospectus used in lieu of a public offering statement shall 
contain or have attached thereto copies of documents, other 
than the projected budget required to be attached to a public 
offering statement by 18VAC48-20-440. Such prospectus 
shall be deemed to satisfy all of the disclosure requirements 
of 18VAC48-20-260 through 18VAC48-20-440 and Part VII 
(18VAC48-20-540 through 18VAC48-20-650) of this 
chapter. In the case of a conversion condominium, the 
prospectus shall have attached thereto, in suitable form, the 
information required by 18VAC48-20-500, 18VAC48-20-510 
C and D, and 18VAC48-20-520 to be disclosed in public 
offering statements for conversion condominiums. The 
provisions of subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88 of the Code of 
Virginia shall apply to the delivery of the prospectus in the 
same manner and to the same extent that they apply to the 
delivery of a public offering statement.  

Part VI  
Conversion Condominiums  

18VAC48-20-470. Public offering statement for 
conversion condominium; general instructions. 

The public offering statement for a conversion 
condominium shall conform in all respects to the 
requirements of 18VAC48-20-210 through 18VAC48-20-460 
and Part VII (18VAC48-20-540 through 18VAC48-20-650) 
of this chapter. In addition, the public offering statement for a 
conversion condominium shall (i) contain special disclosures 
in the narrative sections captioned "Description of the 
Condominium," "Terms of the Offering" and "Financial 
Matters"; and (ii) incorporate narrative sections captioned 
"Present Condition of the Condominium" and "Replacement 
Requirements." Provisions for such additional disclosure are 
set forth in 18VAC48-20-490 through 18VAC48-20-520. 

18VAC48-20-480. Public offering statement for 
conversion condominium; special definitions. 

As used in this section and in 18VAC48-20-490 through 
18VAC48-20-520:  

"Class of physical assets" means two or more physical assets 
that are substantially alike in function, manufacture, date of 

construction or installation, and history of use and 
maintenance.  

"Expected useful life" means the estimated number of years 
from the date on that such estimate is made until the date 
when, because of the effects of time, weather, stress, or wear, 
a physical asset will become incapable of performing its 
intended function and will have to be replaced.  

"Major utility installation" means a utility installation or 
portion thereof that is a common element or serves more than 
one unit.  

"Physical asset" is a generic term and means either a 
structural component or a major utility installation.  

"Present condition" means condition as of the date of the 
inspection by means of which condition is determined.  

"Replacement cost" means the expenditure that would be 
necessary to replace a physical asset with an identical or 
substantially equivalent physical asset as of the date on which 
replacement cost is determined and includes all costs of 
removing the physical asset to be replaced, of obtaining its 
replacement and of erecting or installing the replacement.  

"Structural component" means a component constituting any 
portion of the structure of a unit or common element and in 
which a defect would reduce the stability or safety of all or a 
part of the structure below accepted standards or restrict the 
normal intended use of all or a part of the structure.  

"Structural defect" shall have the meaning given in § 55-
79.79 B of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-20-490. Description of conversion 
condominium. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-
300, the section captioned "Description of the Condominium" 
shall indicate that the condominium is a conversion 
condominium. The term conversion condominium shall be 
defined and the particular circumstances that bring the 
condominium within the definition shall be stated. The nature 
and inception date of prior occupancy of the property being 
converted shall be stated.  

18VAC48-20-500. Financial matters, conversion 
condominium. 

A. The provisions for capital reserves described in the 
section captioned "Financial Matters" shall be supplemented 
by the information set forth in subsections B and C of this 
section.  

B. The section shall state the aggregate replacement cost of 
all physical assets whose replacement costs will constitute 
regular common expenses and whose expected useful lives 
are 10 years or less. For the purposes of this subsection, an 
expected useful life which is stated as being within a range of 
years pursuant to 18VAC48-20-520 E shall be deemed to be 
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10 years or less, if the lower limit of such range is 10 years or 
less. The total common expense assessments per unit that 
would be necessary in order to accumulate an amount of 
capital reserves equal to such aggregate replacement cost 
shall be stated.  

C. The section shall state the amount of capital reserves that 
will be accumulated by the unit owners' association during 
the period of declarant's control together with any provisions 
of the condominium instruments specifying the rate at which 
reserves are to be accumulated thereafter. If any part of the 
capital reserves will or may be obtained other than through 
regular common expense assessments, such fact shall be 
stated.  

D. The actual expenditures made over a three-year period on 
operation, maintenance, repair, or other upkeep of the 
property prior to its conversion to condominium shall be set 
forth in tabular form as an exhibit immediately preceding or 
following the budget attached to the public offering statement 
pursuant to 18VAC48-20-390 C. Distinction shall be made 
between expenditures that would have constituted regular 
common expenses and expenditures that would have been 
borne by unit owners individually if the property had been 
converted to condominium prior to the commencement of the 
three-year period. To the extent that it is impossible or 
impracticable to so distinguish the expenditures it shall be 
assumed that they would have constituted regular common 
expenses.  

Both types of expenditures shall be cumulatively broken 
down on a per unit basis in the same proportion that common 
expenses are or will actually be assessed against the 
condominium units. The three-year period to which this 
subsection refers shall be the most recent three-year period 
prior to application for registration during which the property 
was occupied and for which expenditure information is 
available. The expenditure information shall indicate the 
years for which expenditures are stated. If any portion of the 
property being converted to condominium was not occupied 
for the full three-year period, expenditure information shall be 
set forth for the maximum period the property was occupied. 
The "Financial Matters" section shall direct the purchaser's 
attention to the expenditure information. 

18VAC48-20-510. Present condition of conversion 
condominium. 

A. The section captioned "Present Condition of the 
Condominium" shall contain a statement of the approximate 
dates of original construction or installation of all physical 
assets in the condominium. A single construction or 
installation date may be stated for all of the physical assets: 
(i) in the condominium; (ii) within a distinctly identifiable 
portion of the condominium; or (iii) within a distinctly 
identifiable category of physical assets. A statement made 
pursuant to the preceding sentence shall include a separate 
reference to the construction or installation date of any 

physical asset within a stated group of physical assets that 
was constructed or installed significantly earlier than the 
construction or installation date indicated for the group 
generally. No statement shall be made that a physical asset or 
portion thereof has been repaired, altered, improved, or 
replaced subsequent to its construction or installation unless 
the approximate date, nature and extent of such repair, 
alteration, improvement or replacement is also stated.  

B. Subject to the exceptions provided in subsections D, E 
and F of this section, the section captioned "Present Condition 
of the Condominium" shall contain a description of the 
present condition of all physical assets within the 
condominium. The description of present condition shall 
disclose all structural defects and incapacities of major utility 
installations to perform their intended functions as would be 
observable, detectable, or deducible by means of standard 
inspection and investigative techniques employed by 
architects or professional engineers, as the case may be.  

C. The section shall indicate the dates of inspection by 
means of which the described present condition was 
determined; provided, however, that such inspections shall 
have been conducted not more than one year prior to the date 
of filing the application for registration. The section shall 
identify the party or parties by whom present condition was 
ascertained and shall indicate the relationship of such party or 
parties to the declarant.  

D. A single statement of the present condition of a class of 
physical assets shall suffice to disclose the present condition 
of each physical asset within the class; provided, however, 
that, unless subsection F of this section applies, such 
statement shall include a separate reference to the present 
condition of any physical asset within the class that is 
significantly different from the present condition indicated for 
the class generally.  

E. The description of present condition may include a 
statement that all structural components in the condominium 
or in a distinctly identifiable portion thereof are in sound 
condition except those for which structural defects are noted.  

F. In a case in which there are numerous physical assets 
within a class of physical assets and inspection of each such 
physical asset is impracticable, the description of present 
condition of all the physical assets within the class may be 
based upon an inspection of a number of them selected at 
random, provided that the number selected is large enough to 
yield a reasonably reliable sample and that the total number 
of physical assets within the class and the number selected are 
disclosed. 

18VAC48-20-520. Replacement requirements in 
conversion condominium. 

A. Subject to the exceptions provided in subsections B and 
H of this section, the section captioned "Replacement 
Requirements" shall state the expected useful lives of all 
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physical assets in the condominium. The section shall state 
that expected useful lives run from the date of the inspection 
by means of which the expected useful lives were determined. 
Such inspection date shall be stated.  

B. A single statement of the expected useful life of a class of 
physical assets shall suffice to disclose the expected useful 
life of each physical asset within the class; provided, 
however, that such statement shall include a separate 
reference to the expected useful life of any physical asset 
within such class that is significantly shorter than the 
expected useful life indicated for the class generally.  

C. An expected useful life may be qualified. A qualified 
expected useful life is an expected useful life expressly 
conditioned upon a given use or level of maintenance or other 
factor affecting longevity. No use, level of maintenance or 
other factor affecting longevity shall be stated as a 
qualification unless such use, level of maintenance or factor 
affecting longevity is normal or reasonably anticipated for the 
physical asset involved. If appropriate, an expected useful life 
may be stated as being indefinite, subject to the stated 
qualification that the physical asset involved must be properly 
used and maintained. An expected useful life may be stated as 
being within a range of years, provided that the range is not 
so broad as to render the statement meaningless. In no event 
shall the number of years constituting the lower limit of such 
range be less than two-thirds of the number of years 
constituting the upper limit.  

D. Subject to the exceptions provided in subsections E and 
H of this section, the section captioned "Replacement 
Requirements" shall state the replacement costs of all 
physical assets in the condominium including those whose 
expected useful lives are stated as being indefinite.  

E. A statement of the replacement cost of a representative 
member of a class of physical assets shall suffice to disclose 
the replacement cost of each physical asset within the class; 
provided, however, that such statement shall include a 
separate reference to the replacement cost of any physical 
asset within the class which is significantly greater than the 
replacement cost indicated for the representative member of 
the class.  

F. Distinction shall be made between replacement costs that 
will be common expenses and replacement costs that will be 
borne by unit owners individually. The latter type of 
replacement costs shall be broken down on a per unit basis. 
The purchaser's attention shall be directed to the "Financial 
Matters" section for an indication of the amount of the former 
type or replacement costs.  

G. In any case in which the replacement cost of a physical 
asset may vary depending upon the circumstances 
surrounding its replacement, the stated replacement cost shall 
reflect the circumstances under which replacement will most 
probably be undertaken.  

H. A single expected useful life and an aggregate 
replacement cost may be stated for all of the structural 
components of a building or structure that have both (i) the 
same expected useful lives and (ii) replacement costs that will 
constitute regular common expenses. A statement made 
pursuant to the preceding sentence shall be accompanied by 
statements of the expected useful lives and replacement costs, 
stated on a per unit basis, of all of the structural components 
of the building or structure whose expected useful lives differ 
from the general expected useful life or whose replacement 
costs will be borne by unit owners individually. 

18VAC48-20-530. Notice to tenants. 

No notice to terminate a tenancy provided for by § 55-79.94 
B of the Code of Virginia shall be given prior to the 
registration of the condominium unit as to which the tenancy 
is to be terminated.  

Part VII  
Time-Share Condominiums  

18VAC48-20-540. Public offering statement for time-
share condominiums; general instructions. 

This Part VII of the Condominium Regulations applies to 
those property developments in which purchasers are offered 
both condominium and time-share interests. The developer of 
a time-share condominium shall prepare one public offering 
statement that complies with the requirements of this part 
even though the developer may be required to register under 
both the Condominium Act (§ 55-79.39 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) and Real Estate Time-Share Act (§ 55-360 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia).  

The public offering statement for a time-share condominium 
shall conform in all respects to the requirements of 
18VAC48-20-210 and 18VAC48-20-230 through 18VAC48-
20-460. In addition, the public offering statement for a time-
share condominium shall (i) contain special disclosures in the 
narrative sections captioned "Condominium Concept," 
"Description of Condominium," "Declarant," "Terms of 
Offering," "Encumbrances," "Unit Owners' Association," 
"Financial Matters," "Insurance," and "Taxes," and (ii) 
contain a narrative section entitled "Exchange Program."  

18VAC48-20-550. Summary of important considerations. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-260 
in the case of a time-share program, summary statements 
shall be made of the substance of the following facts and 
circumstances. Specific information shall be substituted for 
the general information indicated by brackets. Appropriate 
modifications shall be made to reflect facts and circumstances 
varying from those indicated herein:  

1. The time-share program will [will not] be governed by a 
time-share owners' association.  
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2. Decisions affecting the time-share project will be made 
by the developer.  

3. Each time-share owner cannot reduce the amount of his 
assessment by refraining from use of his time-share or the 
projects' facilities.  

4. If a time-share owner fails to pay an assessment when 
due, the developer may impose certain sanctions or 
penalties, including the forfeiture of the time-share.  

5. The developer, its principals, officers, directors, 
partners, or trustees have undergone [a debtor's relief 
proceeding].  

6. A managing agent may perform routine operations for 
the operation, maintenance and upkeep of the time-share 
project, as determined by the developer. The managing 
agent is [affiliated with] the [developer, or a director or 
officer thereof].  

7. The developer may rent on a transient basis, unsold 
time-shares. The right of a time-share use owner to rent his 
time-share is subject to [restrictions].  

8. The right of a time-share owner to resell his time-share 
is subject to [restrictions].  

9. The time-shares are restricted to residential use.  

10. The time-share owner may not alter the structure or 
exterior of the unit in which his time-share is located.  

11. The developer will obtain certain insurance benefiting 
the time-share use owner, but the time-share use owner 
should obtain additional insurance on his own.  

12. The time-share owner may be required to pay 
applicable taxes imposed on the project similar in scope 
and design to taxes applicable to hotels, motels or other 
transient type accommodations.  

13. Marketing and sale of time-shares will be conducted in 
accordance with Virginia Fair Housing Law (§ 36-96.1 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

14. A time-share purchaser is required to make certain 
disclosures to purchasers in the resale of his time-share. 

18VAC48-20-560. Condominium concept, time-share 
condominium. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-
280, this section shall consist of discussion of the time-share 
form of ownership and shall include a detailed explanation of 
the type of time-share arrangement employed in the project.   

18VAC48-20-570. Description of condominium, time 
share condominium. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-
300, this section shall consist of a general description of the 
time-share program, the units, amenities and type of time-

shares being made available to purchasers. The section shall 
include, without limitation, statements indicating:  

1. The land area of the time-share project;  

2. The number of units in the project;  

3. The number of units in the project to be organized on a 
time-share basis;  

4. An identification of units that are subject to time-sharing 
and the type of time-shares being offered;  

5. The duration of the time-shares;  

6. The different types of units available;  

7. Provisions, if any, that have been made for public 
utilities in the time-share project, including water, 
electricity, telephone, and sewerage facilities;  

8. Restrictions, if any, as to what changes a time-share 
owner may make to his unit in which his time-share is 
located; and  

9. Whether or not the units are restricted solely to 
residential use. 

18VAC48-20-580. Declarant/developer, time-share 
condominium. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-
330, the following information shall be stated with regard to 
every director, partner or trustee of the declarant/developer: 
(i) name and address; and (ii) principal occupation. The name 
and address of each person owning or controlling an interest 
of 20% or more in the time-share project shall also be 
indicated. 

18VAC48-20-590. Terms of offering, time-share 
condominium. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-340 
A, this section shall set forth provisions with respect to the 
purchaser's right to cancel his purchase contract. Such 
disclosure shall be consistent with the applicable statutory 
provision, subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88 or § 55-376 of the 
Code of Virginia. Special escrow requirements of § 55-375 of 
the Code of Virginia shall be likewise described in this 
section.  

18VAC48-20-600. Encumbrances, time-share 
condominium. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-
350, regardless of the form of time-share project, the section 
shall describe the extent to which a time-share unit may 
become subject to a tax or other lien arising out of claims 
against other owners of the same unit. The section shall 
discuss the consequences that the filing of federal tax liens 
would have on the project.  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3673 

18VAC48-20-610. Unit owners' association, time-share 
condominium. 

A. In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-
370, this section shall contain either a section captioned 
"Administration of Time-Share Estate Program" or a section 
captioned "Administration of Time-Share Use Program," 
depending upon the form of time-shares being offered by the 
developer. The section shall discuss the manner in which the 
time-share program will be governed and administered.  

B. "Administration of time-share estate program."  

1. The section shall describe the functions and the 
organization's structure of the time-share estate owners' 
association formed pursuant to the Virginia Nonstock 
Corporation Act. The description shall indicate:  

a. The existence or provisions for a board of directors 
and officers;  

b. The manner of their election or appointment;  

c. The assignment or delegation of responsibility for 
performance of the functions of the unit owners' 
association; and  

d. Those items outlined in subdivisions 2 through 10 of 
§ 55-368 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The section shall describe the allocation of voting power 
among the time-share estate owners and will explain how 
votes will be cast. Any provision in the time-share 
instruments for regular meetings of the estate owners shall 
be mentioned.  

3. The significant terms of any lease of recreational areas 
or similar contract or agreement affecting the use, 
maintenance or access of all or any part of the time-share 
shall be stated. A brief narrative statement of the effect of 
each of any such agreement shall be included.  

4. Rules and regulations for the use, enjoyment, and 
occupancy of units, and the authority to promulgate and 
amend such rules shall be discussed. Included shall be a 
description of the method, if any, to be employed to assign 
or reserve occupancy periods for the time-share owners. 
Methods for providing alternate use periods or monetary 
compensation to a time-share owner if his contracted-for 
unit cannot be made available for the period to which the 
owner is entitled by schedule or by confirmed reservation 
shall be discussed.  

5. Any standing committees established or to be 
established to perform functions of the time-share estate 
owners' association shall be discussed. Such committees 
include, without limitation, executive committees, 
architectural control committees, and committees, having 
the authority to interpret time-share instruments or rules 
and regulations.  

6. Any power of the developer or of the time-share estate 
owners' association to enter units shall be discussed. To the 
extent each is applicable, the following facts shall be 
stated:  

a. A unit may be entered without notice to the time-share 
owners;  

b. The developer or representatives of the time-share 
estate owners' association are empowered to take actions 
or perform work in a unit without the consent of the units 
owners; and  

c. The time-share owners may be required to bear the 
costs of actions so taken or work so performed.  

7. The section shall describe any routine janitorial 
procedures that are to occur between occupancy periods of 
time-share owners, as well as any maintenance program 
that is to take place on an annual or semi-annual basis.  

8. The managing agent, if any, shall be identified. If a 
managing agent is to be employed in the future, the 
criteria, if any, for selection of the managing agent shall be 
briefly stated. The section shall indicate any relationship 
between the managing agent and the developer or a 
member of the board of directors or an officer of the time-
share estate owners' association. The duration of any 
management agreement shall be stated.  

9. The section shall discuss any retention by the developer 
of control over the time-share estate owners' association. 
The association's power to pass special assessments against 
and raise the annual assessments of the time-share owners 
upon the termination of the developer control shall also be 
discussed.  

C. "Administration of time-share use program." The section 
shall provide the information required by § 55-371 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-20-620. Financial matters, time-share 
condominium. 

A. In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-
390, this section shall contain either a section captioned 
"Finances of Time Share Estate Ownership" or a section 
captioned "Finances of Time-Share Use Ownership," 
depending upon the form of time-share development used in 
the projects. The section shall discuss the expenses incident to 
the ownership of a time-share in the manner provided in 
subsections B through H of this section.  

B. The section shall describe the nature of the costs and 
expenses of operating the time-share program and shall 
distinguish between those to be paid by the developer and 
those to be paid by the time-share owners. The section shall 
explain how the responsibilities for payment of operating 
costs will be apportioned among the time-share owners. In the 
case of a time-share estate program, this section shall describe 
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and distinguish between developer expenses and time-share 
estate occupancy expenses as well as the meaning of the 
"Developer Control Period" as outlined in § 55-369 of the 
Code of Virginia, and when it commences and ends. Mention 
shall be made of the developer's right to collect a periodic fee 
from the time-share estate owner for the payment of the latter 
expenses; the method of apportionment between time-share 
estate owners shall be explained.  

C. The section shall contain a statement describing any 
current or expected fees or charges to be paid by time-share 
owners for the use and enjoyment of any facilities related to 
the project. This shall include, without limitation, any fee 
attributable to the use of recreational facilities mentioned in 
any of the time-share documents or during the marketing 
activities.  

D. The section shall contain a statement describing the 
extent to which financial arrangements, if any, have been 
provided for completion of any time-share unit offered for 
sale.  

E. The section shall describe any services that the developer 
provides or expenses it pays that may become at any 
subsequent time a time-share expense of the time-shares, and 
the projected time-share expense liability attributable to each 
of those services or expenses for each time-share.  

F. The section shall contain the latest annual balance sheet 
and a projected budget for the program for one year after the 
date of the first transfer to a purchaser. After that one-year 
period, a current budget shall be included in lieu of the 
projected budget and annual balance sheet mentioned above. 
All budgets shall be accompanied by a statement indicating 
the name of the preparer of the budget, and a statement 
explaining all budgetary assumptions concerning occupancy 
and inflation. All budgets must include, without limitation: (i) 
a statement of the amount, or a statement that there is no 
amount, included in the budget as a reserve for repairs and 
replacements; and (ii) a statement of any other reserves. If the 
project is a time-share estate project and if the developer 
control period has not ended, the budget shall also include: (i) 
the projected common expense liability for all time-share 
owners; (ii) the projected common expense liability by 
category of expenditures; and (iii) a statement of the amount 
included in the budget reserved for repairs to and refurbishing 
of the project and the replacement of the personalty situated 
therein.  

G. The "Finances of Time-Share Use Ownership" section 
shall, where the developer's equity in the project is less than 
$250,000, include a current audited financial statement 
disclosing the developer's net worth. Such statement shall 
specifically state the amount of equity in the project.  

H. The section shall discuss the effect of failure of a time-
share owner to pay when due the assessments, fees or charges 
levied against his time-share. Such discussion shall indicate 

provisions for penalties to be applied in the case of overdue 
assessments including the lien authorized by § 55-370 B of 
the Code of Virginia, and for the acceleration of unpaid 
assessments. 

18VAC48-20-630. Insurance, time-share condominium. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-
400, this section shall describe the insurance coverage 
provided for the benefit of time-share owners. Included shall 
be a discussion of the comprehensive general liability 
insurance for death, bodily injury, and property damage 
arising out of, or in connection with, the use and enjoyment 
of units by time-share estate owners or time-share use owners 
or their guests. It shall be made clear that in the case of a 
time-share estate project the costs associated with this 
liability insurance will be borne by the developer during the 
developer control period, and thereafter, the costs will be 
assumed by the time-share estate owners' association; and that 
in the case of a time-share use project, the costs associated 
with securing and maintaining such insurance shall be borne 
by the developer.  

Depending on the time-share organization employed by the 
developer, subdivision 7 of § 55-368 or subdivision 7 of § 55-
371 of the Code of Virginia shall be included in this 
discussion. 

18VAC48-20-640. Taxes, time-share condominium. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-20-
410, this section shall describe all existing or proposed taxes 
to be levied against time-shares individually including, 
without limitation, real property taxes, transient taxes, and 
other special assessments. 

18VAC48-20-650. Exchange program, time-share 
condominium. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 
captioned "Exchange Program." if, at the time of purchase of 
a time-share, the purchaser is permitted or required to become 
a member of or a participant in an exchange program. An 
"exchange program" is a program offered by the developer or 
an independent exchange agent for the exchange of 
occupancy rights with the owners of time-shares of other 
time-share projects. This section shall contain the information 
required by § 55-374 B of the Code of Virginia.  

Part VIII  
Post-Registration Provisions  

18VAC48-20-660. Material change defined. 

As used in 18VAC48-20-670 through 18VAC48-20-700, 
"material change" means a change that renders inaccurate, 
incomplete, or misleading, any information or document 
disclosed in or attached to a public offering statement whose 
form and content are designated for use pursuant to 
18VAC48-20-100 G or 18VAC48-20-680 B. Without 
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limiting the generality of the preceding sentence, a material 
change shall be whenever (i) information or a document 
required to be disclosed in or attached to a public offering 
statement but not so disclosed or attached by reason of its 
previous unavailability or nonexistence becomes available or 
comes into existence and (ii) a new budget is adopted.  

18VAC48-20-670. Amendment of public offering 
statement. 

A. Prior to or upon the occurrence of a material change, the 
declarant shall amend the public offering statement to 
disclose the modified or additional information or to include 
the modified or additional document, as the case may be. The 
declarant may amend the public offering statement other than 
in connection with a material change.  

B. Amendment of the public offering statement may be 
accomplished in any intelligible manner and, to the extent 
that strict compliance with any of the provisions of these 
regulations governing the form of presentation of information 
in the public offering statement would be unduly 
burdensome, the declarant may deviate therefrom in 
amending the public offering statement, provided that (i) no 
such deviation shall be more extensive than is necessary and 
appropriate under the circumstances; (ii) the requirements of 
18VAC48-20-230 and 18VAC48-20-280 are strictly observed 
and (iii) the presentation of information in the amended 
public offering statement is organized so as to facilitate 
reading and comprehension. Nothing contained herein shall 
authorize a deviation from strict compliance with a provision 
of these regulations governing the substance of disclosure in 
the public offering statement. If any information has become 
inaccurate or misleading by reason of the material change and 
is not deleted from the public offering statement in 
connection with its amendment, such fact shall be clearly 
noted.  

C. Correction of spelling, grammar, omission or other 
similar errors not affecting the substance of a public offering 
statement shall not be deemed an amendment of the public 
offering statement for the purposes of these regulations; 
provided, however, that the declarant shall file with the board 
a copy of a public offering statement so corrected.  

18VAC48-20-680. Filing of amended public offering 
statement. 

A. The declarant shall promptly file with the board a copy of 
an amended public offering statement. Unless subsection D of 
this section applies, the declarant shall, as part of such filing, 
update the application for registration on file with the board 
either by filing a new application or by advising the board of 
changes in the information contained in a previously filed 
application or file new or substitute documents. In the case of 
a public offering statement (i) amended other than in 
connection with a material change or (ii) presumed current 

pursuant to 18VAC48-20-700, the filing shall indicate the 
date of amendment.  

B. Unless subsection D of this section applies, the board 
shall issue a notice of filing within five business days 
following receipt in proper form of the materials required by 
subsection A of this section. The board shall review the 
amended public offering statement and supporting materials 
to determine whether the amendment complies with 
18VAC48-20-670. At such time as the board affirmatively 
determines that the amendment complies with 18VAC48-20-
670, but not later than the 30th day following issuance of the 
notice of filing, it shall enter an order designating the 
amended form and content of the public offering statement to 
be used. Such order shall provide that previous orders 
designating the form and content of the public offering 
statement for use are superseded.  

C. If the board determines, pursuant to subsection B of this 
section, that an amendment to the public offering statement 
does not comply with 18VAC48-20-670, it shall immediately, 
but in no event later than the 30th day following issuance of 
the notice of filing enter an order declaring the amendment 
not in compliance with 18VAC48-20-670 and specifying the 
particulars of such noncompliance. In the case of a public 
offering statement amended other than in connection with a 
material change, the order shall relate back to the date of 
amendment. If neither of the orders provided for by this 
subsection and subsection B of this section are entered within 
the time allotted, the amendment shall be deemed to comply 
with 18VAC48-20-670, except that the 30-day period may be 
extended in the manner provided for extension of the 
correction period by 18VAC48-20-100 D. The declarant may, 
at any time correct and refile an amended public offering 
statement; provided, however, that if an order of 
noncompliance has been entered with respect to the 
amendment, all of the provisions of subsections A and B of 
this section and this subsection shall apply to such refiling.  

D. If the material change that resulted in amendment of the 
public offering statement was an expansion of the 
condominium or the formation of units out of convertible 
land or convertible space, the declarant shall file a complete 
application for registration of the additional units, provided, 
that no such application need be filed for units previously 
registered. Such application for registration shall be subject to 
all of the provisions of 18VAC48-20-70 through 18VAC48-
20-150 and the board shall observe the procedures of 
18VAC48-20-100 in regard to the application. Documents 
then on file with the board and not changed in connection 
with the creation of additional units need not be refiled, 
provided that the application indicates that such documents 
are unchanged.  

E. In each case in which an amended document is filed 
pursuant to this paragraph and the manner of its amendment 
is not apparent on the face of the document, the declarant 
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shall provide an indication of the manner and extent of 
amendment.  

18VAC48-20-690. Current public offering statement. 

A. A public offering statement is current if its form and 
content are designated for use pursuant to 18VAC48-20-100 
G or 18VAC48-20-680 B and remains current so long as no 
material change occurs and any amendment of the public 
offering statement other than in connection with a material 
change is made in compliance with 18VAC48-20-670.  

B. A public offering statement ceases to be current upon the 
occurrence of a material change and, subject to the exception 
provided in 18VAC48-20-700, does not thereafter become 
current unless and until (i) it is amended pursuant to 
18VAC48-20-670 and (ii) the board, with respect to such 
amendment, enters an order pursuant to 18VAC48-20-100 G 
or 18VAC48-20-680 B or fails to enter, within the times 
allotted therefor, any of the orders provided for by 18VAC48-
20-100 E and G or 18VAC48-20-680 B and C.  

C. If the board determines that the public offering statement 
amended other than in connection with a material change fails 
to comply with 18VAC48-20-670 that public offering 
statement ceases to be current as of the date of amendment. 
Such cessation shall be affected retroactively by the board's 
entry of an order of noncompliance and nothing contained 
herein shall limit the declarant's right to use the public 
offering statement as current prior to the entry of an order of 
noncompliance. The public offering statement does not 
thereafter become current unless and until it is corrected and 
refiled and the board, with respect to such amendment, enters 
an order pursuant to 18VAC48-20-680 B or fails to enter 
either of the orders provided for by 18VAC48-20-680 B or C.  

D. Upon issuance of a public offering statement amended 
because of the occurrence of a change that materially and 
adversely affects the purchaser's bargain, that was caused by 
the declarant or any agent or affiliate of the declarant, and of 
the possibility of which the purchaser was not forewarned in 
the public offering statement given him pursuant to 
subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88 of the Code of Virginia, then the 
purchaser's 10-day rescission right afforded by subdivision 2 
of § 55-79.88 of the Code of Virginia is renewed. The 
declarant shall deliver the public offering statement so 
amended and give the purchaser notice of his renewed 
rescission right as required by 18VAC48-20-710. 

18VAC48-20-700. Certain amended public offering 
statements presumed current. 

A. A public offering statement amended by the declarant to 
disclose any material change that is an aspect or result of the 
orderly development of the condominium or the normal 
functioning of the unit owners' association shall be presumed 
current immediately upon its amendment, subject, however, 
to the condition that the board shall subsequently determine 
that the amendment was made in compliance with 18VAC48-

20-670. An amended public offering statement presumed 
current pursuant to this subsection shall be referred to 
elsewhere in these regulations as a presumptively current 
public offering statement.  

B. The declarant shall file with the board a copy of a 
presumptively current public offering statement and all of the 
provisions of 18VAC48-20-680 shall apply to such filing 
except that, in addition: (i) filing shall be made not later than 
10 business days following the occurrence of the material 
change which necessitated the amendment, and (ii) the filing 
shall indicate the declarant's plans, if any, to deliver the 
presumptively current public offering statement to purchasers 
pursuant to subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

C. A board order declaring that an amendment that resulted 
in a presumptively current public offering statement is not in 
compliance with 18VAC48-20-670 shall render ineffective 
the presumption that the public offering statement is current. 
In that event, the public offering statement shall be deemed to 
have ceased being current upon the occurrence of the material 
change which necessitated the amendment. Nothing contained 
herein shall limit the declarant's right to use a presumptively 
current public offering statement prior to entry of the order of 
noncompliance. A presumptively current public offering 
statement also ceases being current upon the declarant's 
failure to file within the time provided in subsection B of this 
section, but such cessation shall have no retroactive effect. A 
presumptively current public offering statement that ceases to 
be current pursuant to this subsection does not thereafter 
become current unless and until it is filed or refiled with the 
board pursuant to 18VAC48-20-680 and the board, with 
respect to such public offering statement, enters an order 
pursuant to 18VAC48-20-100 G or 18VAC48-20-680 B or 
fails to enter, within the times allotted therefor, any of the 
orders provided for in 18VAC48-20-100 E and G or 
18VAC48-20-680 B and C. 

18VAC48-20-710. Public offering statement not current; 
notification of purchasers. 

The declarant shall notify every purchaser to whom has been 
delivered a public offering statement that was subsequently 
determined not to have been current at the time of its 
delivery. Such notification shall indicate that any contract for 
disposition of a condominium unit may be cancelled unless 
and until the declarant complies with the provisions of 
subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88 of the Code of Virginia. The 
declarant shall file a copy of the notification with the board 
and provide proof that such notification has been delivered to 
all purchasers under contract.  

18VAC48-20-720. Annual report by declarant. 

Prior to filing the annual report required by § 55-79.93 of 
the Code of Virginia, the declarant shall review the public 
offering statement then being delivered to purchasers. If such 
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public offering statement is current, the declarant shall so 
certify in the annual report and include a copy thereof in the 
report. If such public offering statement is not current, the 
declarant shall amend the public offering statement and the 
annual report shall, in that event, consist of a filing complying 
with the requirements of 18VAC48-20-680. In addition, the 
annual report shall indicate the number of condominium units 
(i) conveyed, (ii) under contract for disposition, (iii) being 
rented by the declarant and (iv) still being offered. The annual 
report shall indicate the status of declarant's control retained 
pursuant to § 55-79.74 of the Code of Virginia. The annual 
report may be in any form suitable for compliance with the 
provisions of this section and § 55-79.93 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

18VAC48-20-730. Provisions applicable to substituted 
disclosure document, prospectus. 

A. The provisions of 18VAC48-20-660 through 18VAC48-
20-720 shall apply to a substituted disclosure document in the 
same manner and to the same extent that they apply to public 
offering statements.  

B. The provisions of 18VAC48-20-660 through 18VAC48-
20-700 shall apply to a prospectus only to the extent that 
amendment of the information or documents attached to the 
prospectus pursuant to 18VAC48-20-460  is required or 
permitted. The body of the prospectus shall be amended only 
as provided in applicable securities law. The declarant shall 
immediately file with the board any amendments to the body 
of the prospectus and, upon receipt thereof, the board shall 
enter an order designating the form and content of the 
prospectus to be used and providing that previous orders 
designating the form and content of the prospectus for use are 
superseded. A prospectus is current so long as it is effective 
under applicable securities law and the information and 
documents attached thereto are current under the provisions 
of 18VAC48-20-690 and 18VAC48-20-700. The declarant 
shall immediately notify the board if the prospectus ceases 
being effective. If no prospectus is effective and the declarant 
proposes to continue offering condominium units, the 
declarant shall file a public offering statement with the board 
pursuant to 18VAC48-20-680.  

C. The provisions of 18VAC48-20-710  shall apply to a 
prospectus in the same manner and to the same extent that 
they apply to a public offering statement.  

D. In an annual report involving a prospectus the declarant 
shall comply with all of the provisions of 18VAC48-20-720 
applicable to public offering statements and, in addition, shall 
certify that an effective prospectus is available for delivery to 
purchasers and shall indicate the declarant's plans or 
expectations regarding the continuing effectiveness of the 
prospectus. 

Part IX 
Horizontal Property Regimes 

18VAC48-20-740. Horizontal property regime; special 
definitions. 

The definitions provided in § 55-79.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, as they may be supplemented herein, shall apply to 
18VAC48-20-740 through 18VAC48-20-800. A 
condominium established in Virginia prior to July 1, 1974, 
shall be referred to in 18VAC48-20-740 through 18VAC48-
20-800 as a "horizontal property regime."  

18VAC48-20-750. Horizontal property regime; provisions 
applicable. 

A horizontal property regime and board action with respect 
thereto shall be subject to:  

1. All of the provisions of 18VAC48-20-10 through 
18VAC48-20-120; and  

2. All of the provisions of 18VAC48-20-160 through 
18VAC48-20-190, except 18VAC48-20-180 B, provided 
that each reference therein to registration shall be deemed 
to refer also to the issuance of a final public report.  

18VAC48-20-760. Notice of intention. 

A developer shall notify the board of its intention to offer 
apartments in a horizontal property regime in Virginia by 
completing and filing at the offices of the board a notice of 
intention containing substantially all of the information and 
documents required by the standard notice of intention. The 
notice of intention may request issuance of a preliminary, 
final, substitute or supplementary public report. 

18VAC48-20-770. Inspection by board. 

Upon receipt of a notice of intention requesting issuance of a 
final, substitute or supplementary public report the board 
shall determine whether an inspection of the horizontal 
property regime is necessary. If the board determines that 
inspection is necessary, it shall so notify the developer within 
10 days following receipt of the notice of intention. The 
developer shall pay an inspection fee of $75 plus the 
reasonable expenses of first-class travel incurred in such 
inspection. The duty of conducting the inspection and 
preparing the public report is delegated to the property 
registration administrator. Inspection fees shall be placed to 
the credit of the special fund established by § 55-79.31 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

18VAC48-20-780. Public report. 

Five copies of each public report issued by the board shall 
be furnished to the developer without charge. Additional 
copies may be secured by the developer at its own expense. A 
developer shall not represent or cause a purchaser to believe 
that the board's issuance of a public report is an approval of 
any horizontal property regime. The public report shall be 
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used only in its entirety. The developer shall not cause any 
portion of a public report to be underscored, italicized, or 
printed in larger, heavier or different color type than the 
remainder of the public report unless the original issued by 
the board is so prepared.  

18VAC48-20-790. Supplementary public report. 

A. Whenever, following the first filing of a notice of 
intention with the board, a material change in the setup, value, 
or use of a horizontal property regime occurs, the developer 
shall so notify the board. If the board has issued a final, 
substitute, or supplementary public report relative to the 
horizontal property regime, the notification provided for in 
the preceding sentences shall be accomplished by the filing of 
a notice of intention requesting issuance of a supplementary 
report. Previously issued final, substitute or supplementary 
public reports shall not be delivered to purchasers following 
the occurrence of a material change in the setup, use, or value 
of the horizontal property regime.  

B. For the purposes of this section, a material change in the 
setup, use, or value of a horizontal property regime shall 
include, without limitation, a change in the number of 
apartments, a change in the land area, a change in the 
percentage of ownership of the common elements by any co-
owner including the developer as owner of unsold apartments, 
a change in common elements constituting amenities, and a 
change of the developer whereby a party other than the 
developer identified in the most recently issued public report 
succeeds to the rights and interests of such original developer 
in the horizontal property regime. Upon the request of a 
developer in a specific case, the board shall determine 
whether a particular change constitutes a material change in 
the setup, use or value; provided, however, that the 
presentation of information to the board in connection with 
such request shall not relieve the developer of any 
requirement for filing a notice of intention in the event that 
the board determines that a material change in the setup, use, 
or value has occurred or will occur.  

C. Upon receipt of a notice of intention filed pursuant to this 
section, the board shall issue a supplementary public report 
and the developer shall deliver a true copy thereof to all 
purchasers who have executed but not settled contracts for 
acquisition of an apartment in the horizontal property regime.  

D. The developer may amend a final, substitute, or 
supplementary public report to reflect changes not 
constituting material changes in the setup, value or use, 
provided that a copy thereof is filed with the board prior to its 
delivery to any prospective purchaser.  

18VAC48-20-800. Horizontal property regime 
constituting conversion condominium. 

A. A notice of intention requesting issuance of a final public 
report on a horizontal property regime that is a conversion 
condominium shall have attached thereto the information 

required by 18VAC48-20-500 B, C and D, 18VAC48-20-510, 
and 18VAC48-20-520 to be disclosed in public offering 
statements for conversion condominiums. Such information 
shall be prepared by the developer and submitted in a form 
suitable for presentation in the final public report. The board 
shall make any revisions in such information as are necessary 
to effect full compliance with the applicable regulations and 
shall incorporate the information into the final public report.  

B. A notice of intention requesting issuance of a final public 
report on a horizontal property regime that is a conversion 
condominium shall have attached thereto a copy of the notice 
to be given to tenants pursuant to § 55-79.94 B of the Code of 
Virginia. The declarant shall certify that such notice to 
tenants shall be, at the time of issuance of the final public 
report, mailed or delivered to each of the tenants in the 
building or buildings in the horizontal property regime. No 
such notice shall be mailed or delivered to a tenant prior to 
the issuance of the final public report on the horizontal 
property regime.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1969; Filed May 12, 2009, 2:23 p.m.  

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 
18VAC65-20-10, 18VAC65-20-60, 18VAC65-20-435; 
adding 18VAC65-20-436). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The  amendments include standards for crematories that 
are registered or are a part of a licensed funeral 
establishment to include requirements for (i) a manager of 
record who is a certified crematory operator and who is 
responsible for compliance with state and federal rules for 
crematories; (ii) certification of all persons who operate a 
retort; (iii) due diligence in the identification of the 
remains and authorization to cremate; (iv) safe and ethical 
operation of a crematory; (v) handling of human remains; 
and (vi) recordkeeping. 

Changes made to the proposed regulation (i) require a 
crematory to observe a 24-hour waiting period between the 
time of death and the cremation when a visual 
identification is not made, (ii) allow a crematory 24 hours 
to cremate remains after taking custody rather than 
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immediately, (iii) require a biodegradable bag to be used if 
a biodegradable container is used for remains, and (iv) 
allow cremated remains in a container designed for 
scattering to be placed directly in the container if the next-
of-kin so authorizes in writing. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC65-20-10. Definitions. 

Words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
definitions ascribed in § 54.1-2800 of the Code of Virginia or 
in 16 CFR Part 453, Funeral Industry Practices, of the Federal 
Trade Commission, which is incorporated by reference in this 
chapter. In addition, the following words and terms when 
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Branch" or "chapel" means a funeral service establishment 
that is affiliated with a licensed main establishment and that 
conforms with the requirements of § 54.1-2811 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

"Courtesy card" means the card issued by the board which 
grants limited and restricted funeral service privileges in the 
Commonwealth to out-of-state funeral service licensees, 
funeral directors, and embalmers. 

"Cremation container" means a container in which human 
remains are transported to the crematory and placed in the 
retort for cremation. 

"Cremation urn" means a wood, metal, stone, plastic, or 
composition container or a container of other material, which 
is designed for encasing cremated ashes. 

"Cremation vault" or "cremation outer burial container" 
means any container that is designed for encasement of an 
inner container or urn containing cremated ashes. Also known 
as a cremation box. 

"FTC" means the Federal Trade Commission. 

"Manager of record" means a funeral service licensee or 
licensed funeral director who is responsible for the direct 
supervision and management of a funeral service 
establishment or branch facility. 

18VAC65-20-60. Accuracy of information. 

A. All changes in the address of record or the public 
address, if different from the address of record, or in the name 
of a licensee or registrant shall be furnished to the board 
within 30 days after the change occurs.  

B. Any change in ownership or manager of record for an 
establishment [ or crematory ] shall be reported to the board 
within 14 days of the change. 

C. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be 
mailed by the board to any registrant or licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address of record on 
file with the board and shall not relieve the licensee, funeral 
service intern, establishment, crematory, or firm of obligation 
to comply.  

18VAC65-20-435. Registration of crematories. 

A. At least 30 days prior to opening a crematory, any person 
intending to own or operate a crematory shall apply for 
registration with the board by submitting a completed 
application and fee as prescribed in 18VAC65-20-70. The 
name of the individual designated by the ownership to be 
manager of record for the crematory shall be included on the 
application. The owner of the crematory shall not abridge the 
authority of the manager of record relating to compliance 
with the laws governing the practice of funeral services and 
regulations of the board. 

B. Every crematory, regardless of how owned, shall have a 
manager of record who has [ (i) ] achieved certification by the 
Cremation Association of North America (CANA) [ , ; ] the 
International Cemetery, Cremation and Funeral Association 
(ICCFA) [ , ; ] or other certification recognized by the board 
and [ who has (ii) ] received training in compliance with 
requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety 
Administration (OSHA). Every manager of record registered 
by the board prior to [ (the effective date of this section) July 
8, 2009, ] shall have one year from that date to obtain such 
certification.  

C. The manager shall be fully accountable for the operation 
of the crematory as it pertains to the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of funeral services, to include but not 
be limited to: 

1. Maintenance of the facility within standards established 
in this chapter; 

2. Retention of reports and documents as prescribed by the 
board in 18VAC65-20-436 during the period in which he 
serves as manager of record; and  

3. Reporting to the board of any changes in information as 
required by 18VAC65-20-60. 

D. All persons who operate the retort in a crematory shall 
have certification by the Cremation Association of North 
America (CANA) [ , ; ] the International Cemetery, 
Cremation and Funeral Association (ICCFA) [ , ; ] or other 
certification recognized by the board. Every operator in a 
crematory registered by the board prior to [ (the effective date 
of this section) July 8, 2009, ] shall have one year from that 
date to obtain such certification. Persons receiving training 
toward certification to operate a retort shall be allowed to 
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work under the supervision of an operator who holds 
certification for a period not to exceed six months. 

B. E. A crematory providing cremation services directly to 
the public shall also be licensed as a funeral service 
establishment or shall be a branch of a licensed establishment. 

C. F. The board may take disciplinary action against a 
crematory registration for a violation of § 54.1-2818.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or for the inappropriate handling of dead 
human bodies or cremains. 

18VAC65-20-436. Standards for registered crematories or 
funeral establishments that operate a crematory. 

A. Authorization to cremate.  

[ 1. ] In accordance with § 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, a crematory shall require a cremation 
authorization form executed in person or electronically in a 
manner that provides a copy of an original signature of the 
next-of-kin or the person designated pursuant to § 54.1-
2825 of the Code of Virginia.  

[ 2. ] The cremation authorization form shall include an 
attestation of visual identification of the deceased from a 
viewing of the remains or a photograph signed by the 
person making the identification. The identification 
attestation shall either be given on the cremation 
authorization form or on an identification form attached to 
the cremation authorization form.  

[ 3. In the event visual identification is not made, a 
crematory shall observe a 24-hour waiting period between 
the time of death and the cremation pursuant to § 54.1-
2818.1 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

B. Standards for cremation. The following standards shall be 
required for every crematory: 

1. Every crematory shall provide evidence at the time of an 
inspection of a permit to operate issued by the Department 
of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 

2. A crematory shall not knowingly cremate a body with a 
pacemaker, defibrillator or other potentially hazardous 
implant in place. 

3. A crematory shall not cremate the human remains of 
more than one person simultaneously in the same retort, 
unless the crematory has received specific written 
authorization to do so from the person signing the 
cremation authorization form.  

4. A crematory shall not cremate nonhuman remains in a 
retort permitted by DEQ for cremation of human remains.  

5. Whenever a crematory is unable to cremate the remains 
[ immediately within 24 hours ] upon taking custody 
thereof, the crematory shall maintain the remains in 
refrigeration at 40 degrees Fahrenheit or less, unless the 
remains have been embalmed. 

C. Handling of human remains. 

1. Human remains shall be transported to a crematory in a 
cremation container and shall not be removed from the 
container unless the crematory has been provided with 
written instructions to the contrary by the person who 
signed the authorization form. A cremation container shall 
substantially meet all the following standards: 

a. Be composed of readily combustible materials suitable 
for cremation; 

b. Be able to be closed in order to provide complete 
covering for the human remains; 

c. Be resistant to leakage or spillage; and 

d. Be rigid enough for handling with ease. 

2. No crematory shall require that human remains be 
placed in a casket before cremation nor shall it require that 
the cremains be placed in a cremation urn, cremation vault 
or receptacle designed to permanently encase the cremains 
after cremation. Cremated remains shall be placed in a 
plastic bag inside a rigid container provided by the 
crematory or by the next-of-kin for return to the funeral 
establishment or to the next-of-kin. [ If cremated remains 
are placed in a biodegradable container, a biodegradable 
bag shall be used. If placed in a container designed for 
scattering, the cremated remains may be placed directly 
into the container if the next-of-kin so authorized in 
writing. ]  

3. The identification of the decedent shall be physically 
attached to the remains and appropriate identification 
placed on the exterior of the cremation container. The 
crematory operator shall verify the identification on the 
remains with the identification attached to the cremation 
container and with the identification attached to the 
cremation authorization. The crematory operator shall also 
verify the identification of the cremains and place evidence 
of such verification in the cremation record. 

D. Recordkeeping. A crematory shall maintain the records 
of cremation for a period of three years from the date of the 
cremation that indicate the name of the decedent, the date and 
time of the receipt of the body, and the date and time of the 
cremation and shall include: 

1. The cremation authorization form signed by the person 
authorized by law to dispose of the remains and the form 
on which the next-of-kin or his designee has made a visual 
identification of the deceased; 

2. The permission form from the medical examiner; 

3. The DEQ permit number of the retort used for the 
cremation and the name of the retort operator; and 

4. The form verifying the release of the cremains, 
including date and time of release, the name of the person 
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and the entity to whom the cremains were released and the 
name of the decedent.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

[ FORMS (18VAC65-20)  

Funeral Service Provider Application (rev. 3/08).  

Application for Courtesy Card (rev. 7/08).  

Funeral Service Establishment Application (rev. 3/08). 

Notification of Change Application (rev. 4/08).  

Waiver of Full-time Manager Application (rev. 4/08). 

Application for Crematory Registration Application (rev. 
4/08) 4/09). 

Application for Renewal for Waiver of Full-time Manager 
(rev. 7/08).  

Verification of State Licensure Form (rev. 3/08). 

Surface Transportation and Removal Service Application 
(rev. 6/08).  

Continuing Education Provider Application (rev. 3/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of Funeral Service Provider 
(rev. 4/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of Funeral Service 
Establishment (eff. 3/08). 

Appendix I: General Price List (rev. 12/02).  

Appendix II: Casket Price List; Outer Burial Container Price 
List (rev. 12/02).  

Appendix III: Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and 
Services Selected (rev. 12/02). ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-786; Filed May 20, 2009, 11:22 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing 
the Licensure of Occupational Therapists (amending 
18VAC85-80-10, 18VAC85-80-26, 18VAC85-80-40, 
18VAC85-80-45, 18VAC85-80-50, 18VAC85-80-65, 
18VAC85-80-70, 18VAC85-80-72, 18VAC85-80-73, 
18VAC85-80-80, 18VAC85-80-90, 18VAC85-80-100, 
18VAC85-80-110; adding 18VAC85-80-111; repealing 
18VAC85-80-61). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 28, 2009 - 10 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX (804) 
527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia which 
provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

In the Medical Practice Act (§ 54.1-2900 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia), the Board of Medicine is mandated to set in 
regulation the requirements for licensure as an occupational 
therapy assistant. 

Purpose: The board has reviewed the role delineations for 
occupational therapy and adopted regulations that specify the 
extent of responsibilities within the education and experience 
of the two levels of licensees. While the occupational 
therapist assistant (OTA) can be an active participant in 
patient care from the initial assessment through discharge 
decisions and planning, the occupational therapist (OT) is 
ultimately responsible and accountable for patient care and 
outcomes under clinical supervision. The role of an OTA is to 
perform those tasks assigned, document in the patient record, 
consult with the OT on patient responses and functionality, 
and provide for resources necessary upon discharge.  The 
OTA renders services under the supervision of an OT that do 
not require the clinical decision or specific knowledge, skills 
and judgment of a licensed OT and do not include the 
discretionary aspects of the initial assessment, evaluation or 
development of a treatment plan for a patient.  By clearly 
specifying the scope of practice for an OTA and the 
requirements of the OT for supervision, co-signing patient 
records and reevaluating patients, there is some assurance that 
the health and safety of citizens receiving occupational 
therapy services are protected. 

Substance: The intent of the regulatory action is compliance 
with the statute that requires the board to establish licensure 
for OTAs and to promulgate regulations for that purpose.  
The substance of the regulation is to set the minimum criteria 
necessary for initial licensure and continued licensure and to 
establish an appropriate scope of practice for an OTA who 
practices in coordination with and under the supervision of an 
OT. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this proposal to the public is 
more accountability for occupational therapist assistants by 
becoming a licensed profession. As such, their scope of 
practice is more defined and more inclusive, so their ability to 
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provide services to populations of patients is enhanced. The 
availability of additional licensed practitioners has the 
potential to improve accessibility and the quality of 
occupational therapy services. There are no disadvantages. 

There are no disadvantages of these provisions to the agency 
or the Commonwealth; licensure is required by law and 
already in effect under emergency regulations.  More 
specificity about the scope of practice and supervision of 
OTAs allows board staff to direct persons with questions 
about those issues to the regulations. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapters 64 and 89 of the 2008 Acts of the 
Assembly, the Board of Medicine proposes to promulgate 
regulations to govern the licensure of occupational therapy 
assistants. These proposed regulations will replace identical 
emergency regulations that will expire October 31, 2009. 

Result of Analysis. Costs likely outweigh benefits for this 
licensure program. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Until legislation mandated it in 
2008, occupational therapy assistants were not required to be 
licensed. Individuals who engaged in the work of an 
occupational therapy assistant were, however, subject to title 
protection legislation that did not allow them to call 
themselves occupational therapy assistants (OTAs) unless 
they were certified by National Board of Certification in 
Occupational Therapy (NBCOT). 

These proposed regulations, and the emergency regulations 
that they replace, require that OTAs pay a licensure fee of 
$70 and attain the identical NBCOT certification that has 
been required by the title protection legislation in order to 
attain initial licensure. NBCOT requires that candidates for 
initial certification: 

•   complete a one year certificate program or a two year 
associates degree program (cost will vary from program 
to program but will likely be at least several thousand 
dollars),  

•   complete clinical field work as required to get their 
degree, 

•   pass the national examination ($520 fee), and  

•   pay a certification fee that is prorated depending on 
when certificate holders would be eligible to renew. 

The Board will require OTAs to renew their licenses 
biennially. Candidates for renewal will have to complete 20 
hours of continuing education and pay a $70 fee.  Individuals 
who are more than 30 day late in renewing their licenses will 
be subject to a late fee. Any OTA who allows his or her 
license to lapse for two or more years will have to reinstate 
that license.  Individuals whose licenses have been lapsed for 

at least two years but not more than six years will have to 
complete a Board approved practice of 160 hours and pay a 
reinstatement fee of $90.  Individuals whose licenses have 
been lapsed for more than six years will have to complete a 
Board approved practice of 320 hours and pay the 
reinstatement fee.   

Additionally, the Board proposes to change supervision 
requirements in these regulations.  Prior to the promulgation 
of emergency regulations, occupational therapists have to 
meet with their personnel (including OTAs) to review and 
evaluate treatment and progress of individual patients every 
fifth treatment session or 21 calendar days, whichever occurs 
first.  These proposed regulations, and the emergency 
regulations that they replace, allow occupational therapists to 
meet with their personnel every 10 treatment sessions or 
every 30 calendar days, whichever occurs first. For facilities 
with larger occupational therapy programs, this change may 
allow occupational therapists to supervise a greater number of 
OTAs at one time.  This may allow these facilities to realize 
some savings on labor costs as they may be  able to have a 
staff consisting of a greater number of lower paid OTAs 
supervised by a fewer number of higher paid occupational 
therapists.  This staff substitution effect, however, will be 
limited by other regulatory language that limits the number of 
OTAs occupational therapists may supervise to three. 

OTAs that are subject to these regulations will incur the 
education (both initial and continuing education) and 
examination costs, as well as fees, listed above.  Additionally, 
these individuals will incur opportunity costs for time spent 
gaining credentials needed for licensure rather than working 
in their chosen field and opportunity costs for time spent 
maintaining licensure.  To the extent that non-certified 
individuals have been able to do the job of an occupational 
therapy assistant, even if they could not legally call 
themselves OTAs, these increased costs may lead to fewer 
people working in this field as some of these individuals may 
choose to not seek licensure.  This may increase the price of 
OTA services in the Commonwealth (increase the wage that 
licensed OTAs can demand).   

These costs must be weighed against any possible benefit that 
might be gained by requiring licensure.  The individuals who 
need occupational therapy might benefit, for instance, if the 
requirements for licensure increase OTA competency and 
decrease any instances of harm done to patients by 
incompetent practice.  OTAs who gain licensure may benefit 
from higher wages if this licensure program serves as a 
barrier to entry for this field. Additionally, some businesses 
that have need for a larger number of occupational therapy 
personnel may save on labor costs due to less frequently 
required reviews and evaluations of individual patients’ 
treatment plans and progress.  

The Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that the 
Board of Health Professions completed a study on the 
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appropriate level of regulation for OTAs in 2001. This study 
concluded that there was not enough risk of harm to patients 
to warrant licensure. This finding combined with the fact that 
OTAs must still practice under the supervision of an 
occupational therapist, who has "ultimately responsible and 
accountable for patient care and occupational therapy 
outcomes," points to a conclusion that the public will get 
minimal benefit from this licensure program. Because of this, 
the costs of this licensure requirement likely outweigh its 
benefits.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 
Professions (DHP) reports that there are currently 204 OTAs 
that are licensed by the Board. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The legislation that 
mandates this regulatory action may have the effect of 
decreasing the number of individuals who choose to work in 
this field. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth who employ OTAs may incur extra 
labor costs if this licensure program decreases the number of 
OTAs that are available for hire. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternatives available to 
the Board that would minimize costs for small businesses. 
Any meaningful changes to the costs associated with this 
licensure program would require legislative action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: 

The agency does not concur with the conclusion of the 
economic impact analysis that the costs of licensure of 
occupational therapy assistants outweigh the benefits. 

First, the economic analysis does not account for the fact 
that licensure is a mandate of the Code of Virginia, not a 
result of this regulatory proposal.  The EIA appears to be an 
analysis of the legislation passed by the General Assembly in 
2008 rather than an analysis on regulations adopted by the 
Board of Medicine.  By adopting the COTA (Certified 
Occupational Therapy Assistant) certification as the criteria 
for licensure, the board has accepted the credential already 
specified and already held by persons who call themselves 
occupational therapy assistants (OTAs); therefore no 
additional education and examination is required to qualify 
for licensure.  

Second, the economic analysis does not take into account 
the increased responsibilities for OTAs and additional 
occupational therapy services that OTAs will be able to 
perform – services that are presently reserved for licensed 
occupational therapists, who are higher-salaried individuals. 
The primary intent of the legislative action was to more fully 
utilize the professional services of OTAs by distinguishing 
them from unlicensed personnel. It is entirely possible that 
the costs of occupational therapy services will be reduced 
since the proposed (and emergency) regulations permit 
providers to employ OTAs to perform the following 
occupational therapy tasks:  

1. Participation in the evaluation or assessment of a patient 
by gathering data, administering tests and reporting 
observations and client capacities to the occupational 
therapist; 

2. Participation in intervention planning, implementation 
and review; 

3. Implementation of interventions as determined and 
assigned by the occupational therapist; 

4. Documentation of patient responses to interventions and 
consultation with the occupational therapist about patient 
functionality; 

5. Assistance in the formulation of the discharge summary 
and follow-up plans; and 
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6. Implementation of outcome measurements and provision 
of needed patient discharge resources.  

Third, by the proposed regulation, unlicensed occupational 
therapy personnel may now be supervised by an OTA, thus 
increasing the utilization of OTAs at a lower cost for services. 

Fourth, since the OTA is now a licensed individual, the 
requirement for review and evaluation of services for 
individual patients by the occupational therapist has been 
extended from at least once every fifth treatment to once 
every tenth treatment session or every 30 calendar days, 
rather the previous requirement of every 21 days. Again, 
these changes will enable more occupational therapy services 
to be provided by a lower paid professional, so institutions 
such as long-term care may employ more OTAs for direct 
patient services with an OT as the supervisor of those 
services. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments establish requirements for the 
licensure of occupational therapy assistants as mandated 
by Chapters 64 and 89 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. The 
regulations will replace existing emergency regulations 
that will expire October 31, 2009. 

The regulations specify the national credential for 
licensure, the requirements for continuing competency 
and renewal, fees for licensure as an occupational 
therapy assistant (OTA), the provisions for supervision of 
OTAs, and the perimeters for practice. In order to be 
licensed, an applicant must pass the certification 
examination for an occupational therapy assistant from 
the National Board for Certification in Occupational 
Therapy (NBCOT). Practice by an OTA must be 
supervised by an occupational therapist (OT) and 
include services that do not require the clinical decision 
or specific knowledge, skills and judgment of a licensed 
OT nor the discretionary aspects of the initial 
assessment, evaluation or development of a treatment 
plan. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC85-80-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of 
the Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Occupational therapy assistant" 

"Practice of occupational therapy" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"ACOTE" means the Accreditation Council for 
Occupational Therapy Education.  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 
professional practice as an occupational therapist or an 
occupational therapy assistant within the 24-month period 
immediately preceding renewal or application for licensure, if 
previously licensed or certified in another jurisdiction. The 
active practice of occupational therapy may include 
supervisory, administrative, educational or consultative 
activities or responsibilities for the delivery of such services.  

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board of 
Occupational Therapy.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Medicine.  

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in continued 
learning activity.  

"NBCOT" means the National Board for Certification in 
Occupational Therapy, under which the national examination 
for certification is developed and implemented.  

"National examination" means the examination prescribed 
by NBCOT for certification as an occupational therapist or an 
occupational therapy assistant and approved for licensure in 
Virginia.  

"Occupational therapy personnel" means appropriately 
trained individuals who provide occupational therapy services 
under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist.  

18VAC85-80-26. Fees.  

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  

1. The initial fee for the occupational therapist license shall 
be $130; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be 
$70.  

2. The fee for reinstatement of the occupational therapist 
license that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be 
$180; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $90.  

3. The fee for active license renewal for an occupational 
therapist shall be $135 and; for inactive license renewal 
shall be $70 and an occupational therapy assistant, it shall 
be $70. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be $70 
for an occupational therapist and $35 for an occupational 
therapy assistant.  Renewals shall be due in the birth month 
of the licensed therapist licensee in each even-numbered 
year.  

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 
application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for an 
occupational therapist and $30 for an occupational therapy 
assistant.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 
another state for a license shall be $10.  
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6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 
a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 
licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 
licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 
shall not be refundable.  

18VAC85-80-40. Educational requirements.  

A. An applicant who has received his professional education 
in the United States, its possessions or territories, shall 
successfully complete all academic and fieldwork 
requirements of an accredited educational program as verified 
by the ACOTE.  

B. An applicant who has received his professional education 
outside the United States, its possessions or territories, shall 
successfully complete all academic and clinical fieldwork 
requirements of a program approved by a member association 
of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists as 
verified by the candidate's occupational therapy program 
director and as required by the NBCOT and submit proof of 
proficiency in the English language by passing the Test of 
English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with a score 
acceptable to the board. TOEFL may be waived upon 
evidence of English proficiency.  

C. An applicant who does not meet the educational 
requirements as prescribed in subsection A or B of this 
section but who has received certification by the NBCOT as 
an occupational therapist or an occupational therapy assistant 
shall be eligible for licensure in Virginia and shall provide the 
board verification of his education, training and work 
experience acceptable to the board.  

18VAC85-80-45. Practice by a graduate awaiting 
examination results.  

A. A graduate of an accredited occupational therapy 
educational program may practice with the designated title of 
"Occupational Therapist, License Applicant" or "O.T.L.-
Applicant" until he has taken and received the results of the 
licensure examination from NBCOT or for one year six 
months from the date of graduation, whichever occurs sooner. 
The graduate shall use one of the designated titles on any 
identification or signature in the course of his practice. 

B. A graduate of an accredited occupational therapy 
assistant educational program may practice with the 
designated title of "Occupational Therapy Assistant-License 
Applicant" or "O.T.A.-Applicant" until he has taken and 
received the results of the licensure examination from 

NBCOT or for six months from the date of graduation, 
whichever occurs sooner. The graduate shall use one of the 
designated titles on any identification or signature in the 
course of his practice.  

18VAC85-80-50. Examination requirements. 

A. An applicant for licensure to practice as an occupational 
therapist shall submit evidence to the board that he has passed 
the certification examination for an occupational therapist and 
any other examination required for initial certification from 
the NBCOT. 

B. An applicant for licensure to practice as an occupational 
therapy assistant shall submit evidence to the board that he 
has passed the certification examination for an occupational 
therapy assistant and any other examination required for 
initial certification from the NBCOT. 

18VAC85-80-61. Certification of occupational therapy 
assistants. (Repealed.) 

Effective July 26, 2005, a person who holds himself out to 
be or advertises that he is an occupational therapy assistant or 
uses the designation "O.T.A." or any variation thereof shall 
have obtained initial certification by the National Board for 
Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) as a certified 
occupational therapy assistant.  

18VAC85-80-65. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licenses licensees. 

Any occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia 
and who seeks registration to practice under subdivision 27 of 
§ 54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis 
under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, 
nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision of health 
care to populations of underserved people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least five business days prior to 
engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 
not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 
current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 27 of § 54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
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Part III  
Renewal of Licensure; Reinstatement  

18VAC85-80-70. Biennial renewal of licensure.  

A. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant shall renew his license biennially during his birth 
month in each even-numbered year by:  

1. Paying to the board the renewal fee prescribed in 
18VAC85-80-26;  

2. Indicating that he has been engaged in the active 
practice of occupational therapy as defined in 18VAC85-
80-10; and  

3. Attesting to completion of continued competency 
requirements as prescribed in 18VAC85-80-71.  

B. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant whose license has not been renewed by the first day 
of the month following the month in which renewal is 
required shall pay an additional fee as prescribed in 
18VAC85-80-26.  

18VAC85-80-72. Inactive licensure. 

A. A licensed occupational therapist or an occupational 
therapy assistant who holds a current, unrestricted license in 
Virginia shall, upon a request on the renewal application and 
submission of the required fee, be issued an inactive license. 
The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 
maintain hours of active practice or meet the continued 
competency requirements of 18VAC85-80-71 and shall not 
be entitled to perform any act requiring a license to practice 
occupational therapy in Virginia. 

B. An inactive licensee may reactivate his license upon 
submission of the following: 

1. An application as required by the board; 

2. A payment of the difference between the current renewal 
fee for inactive licensure and the renewal fee for active 
licensure; 

3. If the license has been inactive for two to six years, 
documentation of having engaged in the active practice of 
occupational therapy or having completed a board-
approved practice of 160 hours within 60 consecutive days 
under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist; 
and 

4. Documentation of completed continued competency 
hours equal to the requirement for the number of years, not 
to exceed four years, in which the license has been 
inactive. 

C. An occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant who has had an inactive license for six years or more 
and who has not engaged in active practice, as defined in 
18VAC85-80-10, shall serve a board-approved practice of 

320 hours to be completed in four consecutive months under 
the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist. 

D. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 
reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to have 
committed an act in violation of § 54.1-2915 of the Code of 
Virginia or any provisions of this chapter. 

18VAC85-80-73. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant who held an unrestricted license issued by the 
Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in another state as a 
licensee in good standing at the time the license expired or 
became inactive may be issued a restricted volunteer license 
to practice without compensation in a clinic that is organized 
in whole or in part for the delivery of health care services 
without charge in accordance with § 54.1-106 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, an 
occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant shall 
submit an application to the board that documents compliance 
with requirements of § 54.1-2928.1 of the Code of Virginia 
and the application fee prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26. 

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 
restricted volunteer license shall renew biennially during his 
birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 
prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26.  

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 
required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 
renewal of such a license. For each renewal thereafter, the 
licensee shall attest to obtaining 10 hours of continuing 
education during the biennial renewal period with at least five 
hours of Type 1 and no more than five hours of Type 2 as 
specified in 18VAC85-80-71.  

18VAC85-80-80. Reinstatement.  

A. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant who allows his license to lapse for a period of two 
years or more and chooses to resume his practice shall submit 
a reinstatement application to the board and information on 
any practice and licensure or certification in other 
jurisdictions during the period in which the license was 
lapsed, and shall pay the fee for reinstatement of his licensure 
as prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26.  

B. An occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant who has allowed his license to lapse for two years 
but less than six years, and who has not engaged in active 
practice as defined in 18VAC85-80-10, shall serve a board-
approved practice of 160 hours to be completed in two 
consecutive months under the supervision of a licensed 
occupational therapist.  
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C. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant who has allowed his license to lapse for six years or 
more, and who has not engaged in active practice, shall serve 
a board-approved practice of 320 hours to be completed in 
four consecutive months under the supervision of a licensed 
occupational therapist.  

D. An applicant for reinstatement shall meet the continuing 
competency requirements of 18VAC85-80-71 for the number 
of years the license has been lapsed, not to exceed four years.  

E. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant whose license has been revoked by the board and 
who wishes to be reinstated shall make a new application to 
the board and payment of the fee for reinstatement of his 
license as prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26 pursuant to § 54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Part IV  
Practice of Occupational Therapy  

18VAC85-80-90. General responsibilities.  

A. An occupational therapist renders services of assessment, 
program planning, and therapeutic treatment upon request for 
such service. The practice of occupational therapy may 
include supervisory, administrative, educational or 
consultative activities or responsibilities for the delivery of 
such services. 

B. An occupational therapy assistant renders services under 
the supervision of an occupational therapist that do not 
require the clinical decision or specific knowledge, skills and 
judgment of a licensed occupational therapist and do not 
include the discretionary aspects of the initial assessment, 
evaluation or development of a treatment plan for a patient.  

18VAC85-80-100. Individual responsibilities.  

A. An occupational therapist provides assessment by 
determining the need for, the appropriate areas of, and the 
estimated extent and time of treatment. His responsibilities 
include an initial screening of the patient to determine need 
for services and the collection, evaluation and interpretation 
of data necessary for treatment.  

B. An occupational therapist provides program planning by 
identifying treatment goals and the methods necessary to 
achieve those goals for the patient. The therapist analyzes the 
tasks and activities of the program, documents the progress, 
and coordinates the plan with other health, community or 
educational services, the family and the patient. The services 
may include but are not limited to education and training in 
activities of daily living (ADL); the design, fabrication, and 
application of orthoses (splints); guidance in the selection and 
use of adaptive equipment; therapeutic activities to enhance 
functional performance; prevocational evaluation and 
training; and consultation concerning the adaptation of 
physical environments for individuals who have disabilities.  

C. An occupational therapist provides the specific activities 
or therapeutic methods to improve or restore optimum 
functioning, to compensate for dysfunction, or to minimize 
disability of patients impaired by physical illness or injury, 
emotional, congenital or developmental disorders, or by the 
aging process.  

D. An occupational therapy assistant is responsible for the 
safe and effective delivery of those services or tasks delegated 
by and under the direction of the occupational therapist. 
Individual responsibilities of an occupational therapy 
assistant may include: 

1. Participation in the evaluation or assessment of a patient 
by gathering data, administering tests, and reporting 
observations and client capacities to the occupational 
therapist; 

2. Participation in intervention planning, implementation, 
and review; 

3. Implementation of interventions as determined and 
assigned by the occupational therapist; 

4. Documentation of patient responses to interventions and 
consultation with the occupational therapist about patient 
functionality; 

5. Assistance in the formulation of the discharge summary 
and follow-up plans; and 

6. Implementation of outcome measurements and provision 
of needed patient discharge resources. 

18VAC85-80-110. Supervisory responsibilities of an 
occupational therapist. 

A. Delegation to unlicensed occupational therapy personnel 
an occupational therapy assistant. 

1. An occupational therapist shall be responsible for 
supervision of occupational therapy personnel who work 
under his direction ultimately responsible and accountable 
for patient care and occupational therapy outcomes under 
his clinical supervision. 

2. An occupational therapist shall not delegate the 
discretionary aspects of the initial assessment, evaluation 
or development of a treatment plan for a patient to 
unlicensed occupational therapy personnel nor shall he 
delegate any task requiring a clinical decision or the 
knowledge, skills, and judgment of a licensed occupational 
therapist.  

3. Delegation shall only be made if, in the judgment of the 
occupational therapist, the task or procedures do not 
require the exercise of professional judgment, can be 
properly and safely performed by an appropriately trained 
unlicensed occupational therapy personnel occupational 
therapy assistant, and the delegation does not jeopardize 
the health or safety of the patient. 
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4. Delegated tasks or procedures shall be communicated to 
an occupational therapy assistant on a patient-specific basis 
with clear, specific instructions for performance of 
activities, potential complications, and expected results. 

B. The frequency, methods, and content of supervision are 
dependent on the complexity of patient needs, number and 
diversity of patients, demonstrated competency and 
experience of the assistant, and the type and requirements of 
the practice setting. The occupational therapist providing 
clinical supervision shall meet with the occupational therapy 
personnel to review and evaluate treatment and progress of 
the individual patients at least once every fifth tenth treatment 
session or 21 30 calendar days, whichever occurs first. For 
the purposes of this subsection, group treatment sessions shall 
be counted the same as individual treatment sessions. 

C. An occupational therapist shall not may provide clinical 
supervision for more than up to six occupational therapy 
personnel, to include no more than three occupational therapy 
assistants at any one time. 

D. An occupational therapist shall be responsible and 
accountable for the services provided by occupational therapy 
personnel under his clinical supervision. The occupational 
therapy assistant shall document in the patient record any 
aspects of the initial evaluation, treatment plan, discharge 
summary, or other notes on patient care performed by the 
assistant, and the supervising occupational therapist shall 
review and countersign within 10 days of such information 
being recorded. 

18VAC85-80-111. Supervision of unlicensed occupational 
therapy personnel. 

A. Unlicensed occupational therapy personnel may be 
supervised by an occupational therapist or an occupational 
therapy assistant. 

B. Unlicensed occupational therapy personnel may be 
utilized to perform: 

1. Nonclient-related tasks including, but not limited to, 
clerical and maintenance activities and the preparation of 
the work area and equipment; and 

2. Certain routine patient-related tasks that, in the opinion 
of and under the supervision of an occupational therapist, 
have no potential to adversely impact the patient or the 
patient's treatment plan. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC85-80) 

Instructions for Completing an Occupational Therapist 
Licensure Application (rev. 12/07).  

Application for a License to Practice as an Occupational 
Therapist (rev. 12/07).  

Instructions for Completing an Occupational Therapy 
Assistant Licensure Application (eff. 11/08). 

Application for a License to Practice as an Occupational 
Therapy Assistant (eff. 11/08). 

Form A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 8/07).  

Form A, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Claims History 
Sheet (eff. 11/08). 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 8/07).  

Form B, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Activity 
Questionnaire (eff. 11/08). 

Form C, Clearance from Other State Boards (rev. 10/07).  

Form C, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Clearance from 
Other State Boards (eff. 11/08). 

Form L, Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 8/07).  

Form L, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Certificate of 
Professional Education (eff. 11/08). 

Board Approved Practice, Occupational Therapist 
Traineeship (rev. 8/07).  

Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Occupational 
Therapy Licensure (rev. 8/07).  

Reinstatement Application Instructions for Occupational 
Therapy Practitioner Licensure after Mandatory Suspension, 
Suspension or Surrender (rev. 10/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice 
Occupational Therapy (rev. 8/07).  

Instructions for Supervised Practice, Occupational Therapy 
Reinstatement (rev. 8/07).  

Supervised Practice Application, Occupational Therapy 
Reinstatement (rev. 8/07).  

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 
4/00).  

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 
8/07).  

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08).  
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1387; Filed May 20, 2009, 11:25 a.m.  
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-40, 
18VAC105-20-45). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 22, 2009 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive 
Director, Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4426, FAX 
(804) 527-4466, or email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Optometry the authority to promulgate regulations 
to administer the regulatory system. 

Section 54.1-3215 of the Code of Virginia establishes 
grounds for disciplinary actions by the Board of Optometry 
against its licensees.  Regulations on standards of conduct 
expand and clarify the statutory provisions. 

Purpose: In its proposed regulatory action, the board clarifies 
and amends certain provisions of the section on 
unprofessional conduct to address issues and licensee conduct 
that have been problematic. The board added language 
relating to retention and destruction of patient records, 
disclosure of disciplinary actions in other states or 
malpractice judgments or settlements, prescribing and treating 
self or family members, practicing with an expired license or 
registration, sexual misconduct and other areas of practitioner 
conduct. Provisions are set out in regulation to ensure that the 
board has the necessary authority to protect the public health 
and safety from unprofessional conduct or substandard care. 

Substance: The board reviewed unprofessional conduct 
regulations of other boards within the Virginia Department of 
Health Professions and the optometry regulations of other 
states. The following changes were made in the standards of 
conduct: 

1. Adding language relating to treating self and family; 

2. Adding language on record retention and a requirement 
to post or inform patients of patient record retention and 
destruction policies; 

3. Adding a prohibition against failure to disclose 
disciplinary action in another state and malpractice cases; 

4. Renaming of the section on Unprofessional Conduct to 
Standards of Conduct; 

5. Including violation of Drug Control Act in the standards 
of conduct; 

6. Requiring provisions for access to the practice for 24-
hour patient care coverage; 

7. Referencing § 54.1-2405 (transfer of patient records, 
closure or sale of practice). 

8. Including language regarding the practice on an expired 
or unregistered professional designation. 

9. Including provisions for boundary violation or sexual 
misconduct as grounds for disciplinary action. 

10. Including compliance with general provisions of law 
and law relating to controlled substances and patient 
confidentiality. 

11. Revising and updating requirements for content of a 
patient record for consistency with current practice and 
federal rules. 

Issues: The advantage to the public may be that optometrists 
will become more aware of their professional responsibilities 
and compliance with state and federal law relating to 
provision of prescriptions, maintenance of records, protection 
of patient confidentiality and continuity of care. 

Amended regulations will require that patients are informed 
about how long an optometrist will keep records, so a request 
for a patient record can be made and responded to in a timely 
manner. There are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. Clarification of the board’s intent and 
policies relating to professional conduct and standards of 
practice will enhance public protection.  

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Optometry (Board) proposes several amendments to 
the regulations concerning standards of conduct. Most of the 
proposed changes are clarifications. Additionally the Board 
proposes to: 1) add language describing what types of 
relationships with clients constitutes grounds for disciplinary 
action and 2) explicitly require that optometrists ensure their 
"access to the practice location during hours in which the 
practice is closed in order to be able to properly evaluate and 
treat a patient in an emergency." 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
one or more proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulations do not 
address unprofessional relationships between optometrist and 
patient. The Board proposes to add the following to a list of 
standards of conduct for which practitioners may be subject to 
discipline for violating: 

Not enter into a relationship with a patient that constitutes 
a professional boundary violation in which the practitioner 
uses his professional position to take advantage of the 
vulnerability of a patient or his family, to include but not 
limited to actions that result in personal gain at the expense 
of the patient, a nontherapeutic personal involvement or 
sexual conduct with a patient. The determination of when a 
person is a patient is made on a case-by-case basis with 
consideration given to the nature, extent, and context of the 
professional relationship between the practitioner and the 
person. The fact that a person is not actively receiving 
treatment or professional services from a practitioner is not 
determinative of this issue. The consent to, initiation of, or 
participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 
practitioner by a patient does not change the nature of the 
conduct nor negate the prohibition. 

It does seem prudent to include not taking advantage of 
patients to the list of standards of conduct for the profession. 
The Board having the ability to deny, suspend or revoke the 
license to practice of optometrists who harm their patients 
would seem to be one of the primary arguments in favor of 
requiring licensure for the profession. Thus, this proposed 
new language should provide benefit for the public. 

The Board proposes to require that optometrists ensure their 
"access to the practice location during hours in which the 
practice is closed in order to be able to properly evaluate and 
treat a patient in an emergency." According to the Department 
of Health Professions, this proposed language is intended to 
address problems that have arisen when an optometrist 
practice is located in conjunction with a mall, big box store or 
other entity; the optometrist needs to ensure access to his 
records and practice location in case of a patient emergency 
after hours. 

Having this language in the regulation may help optometrists 
to convince owners or managers of relevant malls, etc., that 
they do truly need access to their office through a key or other 
means in off hours. On the other hand, this requirement may 
effectively reduce potential office location possibilities, 
which in turn could raise costs for some optometrists who 
would have preferred to locate in such facilities. Given that 
there likely are some relatively infrequent instances where 
having access to records off hours can make a significant 
difference in health outcomes for a small number of patients, 
the cumulative benefit for these improved health outcomes 
likely exceed the cost of some instances where location 
choices are slightly reduced. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 1436 licensed 
optometrists1 and 470 offices of optometrists2 in Virginia who 

would be affected by these amendments. All 470 offices of 
optometrists qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposals do not 
disproportionately affect specific localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are not anticipated to have any significant impact on 
employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal to require that optometrists ensure their "access to 
the practice location during hours in which the practice is 
closed in order to be able to properly evaluate and treat a 
patient in an emergency" may in a small number of 
incidences effectively reduce potential office location 
possibilities, which in turn could raise costs for some 
optometrists who would have preferred to locate in such 
facilities. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect costs for most 
small businesses. The proposal to require that optometrists 
ensure their "access to the practice location during hours in 
which the practice is closed in order to be able to properly 
evaluate and treat a patient in an emergency" may in a small 
number of incidences effectively reduce potential office 
location possibilities, which in turn could raise costs for some 
optometrists who would have preferred to locate in such 
facilities. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There are no clear alternative methods that 
both achieve intended policy goals and reduce adverse 
impact. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not create additional costs related to the development of 
real estate for commercial or residential purposes. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
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including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

________________________ 
1Source: Department of Health Professions 
2Source: Virginia Employment Commission 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 
Optometry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed regulations for 18VAC105-
20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Optometry, 
relating to standards of professional conduct. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments to the board's standards of 
conduct and standards of practice provide authority to 
address unprofessional actions or substandard patient 
care by optometrists. The amendments specify policy on 
patient records, continuity of care, prescribing for self or 
family, boundary violations, and compliance with law 
and regulations.  The standard for content of a record 
during an eye examination is updated and clarified, and 
the specific requirements of federal rule for contact lens 
and eyeglass prescriptions are referenced. 

18VAC105-20-40. Unprofessional Standards of conduct. 

It shall be deemed unprofessional conduct for any licensed 
optometrist in the Commonwealth to violate any statute or 
regulation governing the practice of optometry or to fail to 
The board has the authority to deny, suspend, revoke or 
otherwise discipline a licensee for a violation of the following 
standards of conduct. A licensed optometrist shall: 

1. Use in connection with the optometrist's name wherever 
it appears relating to the practice of optometry one of the 
following: the word "optometrist," the abbreviation "O.D.," 
or the words "doctor of optometry." 

2. Maintain records on each patient for not less than five 
years from the date of the most recent service rendered 
Disclose to the board any disciplinary action taken by a 
regulatory body in another jurisdiction. 

3. Post in an area of the optometric office which is 
conspicuous to the public, a chart or directory listing the 
names of all optometrists practicing at that particular 
location. 

4. Maintain patient records, perform procedures or make 
recommendations during any eye examination, contact lens 
examination or treatment as necessary to protect the health 

and welfare of the patient and consistent with requirements 
of 18VAC105-20-45. 

5. Notify patients in the event the practice is to be 
terminated or relocated, giving a reasonable time period 
within which the patient or an authorized representative 
can request in writing that the records or copies be sent to 
any other like-regulated provider of the patient's choice or 
destroyed in compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2405 
of the Code of Virginia on the transfer of patient records in 
conjunction with closure, sale, or relocation of practice. 

6. Ensure his access to the practice location during hours in 
which the practice is closed in order to be able to properly 
evaluate and treat a patient in an emergency. 

7. Provide for continuity of care in the event of an absence 
from the practice or, in the event the optometrist chooses to 
terminate the practitioner-patient relationship or make his 
services unavailable, document notice to the patient that 
allows for a reasonable time to obtain the services of 
another practitioner. 

8. Comply with the provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 
Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality and 
disclosure of patient records and related to the provision of 
patient records to another practitioner or to the patient or 
his personal representative. 

9. Treat or prescribe based on a bona fide practitioner-
patient relationship consistent with criteria set forth in 
§ 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia. A licensee shall not 
prescribe a controlled substance to himself or a family 
member other than Schedule VI as defined in § 54.1-3455 
of the Code of Virginia. When treating or prescribing for 
self or family, the practitioner shall maintain a patient 
record documenting compliance with statutory criteria for 
a bona fide practitioner-patient relationship. 

10. Comply with provisions of statute or regulation, state 
or federal, relating to the diversion, distribution, 
dispensing, prescribing or administration of controlled 
substances as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

11. Not enter into a relationship with a patient that 
constitutes a professional boundary violation in which the 
practitioner uses his professional position to take 
advantage of the vulnerability of a patient or his family to 
include, but not limited to, actions that result in personal 
gain at the expense of the patient, a nontherapeutic 
personal involvement, or sexual conduct with a patient. 
The determination of when a person is a patient is made on 
a case-by-case basis with consideration given to the nature, 
extent, and context of the professional relationship between 
the practitioner and the person. The fact that a person is not 
actively receiving treatment or professional services from a 
practitioner is not determinative of this issue. The consent 
to, initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior or 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3692 

involvement with a practitioner by a patient does not 
change the nature of the conduct nor negate the 
prohibition. 

12. Cooperate with the board or its representatives in 
providing information or records as requested or required 
pursuant to an investigation or the enforcement of a statute 
or regulation. 

13. Not practice with an expired or unregistered 
professional designation. 

14. Not violate or cooperate with others in violating any of 
the provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 24 
(§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) or 32 (§ 54.1-3200 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia or regulations of the board. 

18VAC105-20-45. Standards of practice. 

A. A complete record of all examinations made of a patient 
shall include a diagnosis and any treatment and shall also 
include but not be limited to An optometrist shall legibly 
document in a patient record the following:  

1. During a comprehensive routine or medical eye 
examination:  

a. Case An adequate case history, including the patient's 
chief complaint;  

b. Acuity measure The performance of appropriate 
testing;  

c. Internal health evaluation The establishment of an 
assessment or diagnosis; and 

d. External health evaluation; and  

e. Recommendations and directions to the patients, 
including prescriptions d. A recommendation for an 
appropriate treatment or management plan, including any 
necessary follow up.  

2. During an initial contact lens examination:  

a. The requirements of a comprehensive routine or 
medical eye examination as prescribed in subdivision 1 
of this subsection;  

b. Assessment of corneal curvature;  

c. Assessment of corneal/contact lens relationship 
Evaluation of contact lens fitting;  

d. Acuity through the lens; and  

e. Directions for the wear, care, and handling of lenses 
and an explanation of the implications of contact lenses 
with regard to eye health and vision.  

3. During a follow-up contact lens examination:  

a. Assessment Evaluation of corneal/contact contact lens 
relationship fitting and anterior segment health;  

b. Acuity through the lens; and  

c. Such further instructions as in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection, as necessary for the individual patient.  

4. In addition, the record of any examination shall include 
the signature of the attending optometrist and, if indicated, 
refraction of the patient.  

B. The following information shall appear on a prescription 
for ophthalmic goods:  

1. The printed name of the prescribing optometrist;  

2. The address and telephone number at which the patient's 
records are maintained and the optometrist can be reached 
for consultation;  

3. The name of the patient;  

4. The signature of the optometrist;  

5. The date of the examination and an expiration date, if 
medically appropriate; and  

6. Any special instructions.  

C. Sufficient information for complete and accurate filling 
of an established contact lens prescription shall include but 
not be limited to the power, the material or manufacturer or 
both, the base curve or appropriate designation, the diameter 
when appropriate, and medically appropriate expiration date 
An optometrist shall provide a patient with a copy of the 
patient's contact lens prescription in accordance with the 
Federal Trade Commission Contact Lens Rule (16 CFR Part 
315). 

D. A licensed optometrist shall provide a written 
prescription for spectacle lenses upon the request of the 
patient once all fees have been paid. In addition, he shall 
provide a written prescription for contact lenses upon the 
request of the patient once all fees have been paid and the 
prescription has been established and the follow-up care 
completed. Follow-up care will be presumed to have been 
completed if no reappointment is recommended within 60 
days after the last visit in accordance with the Federal Trade 
Commission Eyeglass Rule (16 CFR Part 456).  

E. Practitioners shall maintain a patient record for a 
minimum of five years following the last patient encounter 
with the following exceptions:  

1. Records that have previously been transferred to another 
practitioner or health care provider or provided to the 
patient or his personal representative; or  

2. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time.  

F. From (one year after the effective date of this regulation), 
practitioners shall post information or in some manner inform 
all patients concerning the time frame for record retention and 
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destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a 
manner that protects patient confidentiality. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1098; Filed May 20, 2009, 11:16 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 22, 2009 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive 
Director, Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4426, FAX 
(804) 527-4466, or email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Optometry the authority to promulgate regulations 
to administer the regulatory system. 

There is a statutory mandate for the Board of Optometry to 
require continuing education for renewal of licensure 
provided in § 54.1-3219 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Issues relating to the validity and value of 
continuing education for the optometrist have been apparent 
to the board through audits of continuing education, 
disciplinary cases and personal observation by members. For 
example, the current regulation allows courses that are 
primarily a sales pitch for a manufacturer product, so long as 
the course offers a miniscule segment relating to patient care. 
The board has determined that such courses should not be 
counted toward a practitioner’s renewal requirement. 
Likewise, prescribing and treating with therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents privileges has been expanded with 
many more classes of drugs available to optometrists, so the 
subject of required continuing education in treatment with 
pharmaceutical agents has been clarified. By adding value 
and substance to the continuing education requirements, the 
board intends to address the need to ensure continuing 
competency for the health and safety of consumers of 
optometric services. 

Substance: The following substantive changes are proposed: 

1. Affirmatively state in regulation that falsifying the 
attestation or failure to comply with continuing education 
requirements may subject a licensee to disciplinary action by 
the board, consistent with § 54.1-3215 of the Code of 
Virginia. Currently, falsifying an application is grounds for 
disciplinary action, so this change is a clarification that makes 

it clear that falsifying or failure to comply with requirements 
for a renewal application may provide grounds. 

2. Specify that an approved continuing education sponsor 
must provide a certificate of attendance that shows the date, 
location, lecturer, content hours of the course, and contact 
information of the provider/sponsor. The certificate of 
attendance must be based on verification by the sponsor of 
the attendee’s presence throughout the course – either 
provided by a post-test or by an independent monitor. The 
proposal also adds a requirement for an approved continuing 
education provider/sponsor to maintain documentation about 
the course and attendance for at least three years following its 
completion. Specifying the provision and content of a 
certificate of attendance and the length of time that records 
must be maintained by a continuing education 
sponsor/provider is consistent with current expectations and 
practices and should not represent any change or increased 
burden. 

Issues: The advantage to the public may be that optometrists 
will take continuing education more closely related to patient 
care and to the treatment of the eye with prescription drugs. 
Further specification of requirements for approved sponsors 
will necessitate closer monitoring of participation. 
Optometrists will benefit from assuring that sponsors are able 
to verify continuing education attendance during a board 
audit. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. Clarification of the board’s intent and 
policies relating to continuing education should alleviate 
some misunderstanding by licensee relating to approval of 
sponsors and filing for extensions. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Optometry (Board) proposes to make amendments 
to the regulations that include: (1) requiring that in order to 
maintain approval for continuing education courses, providers 
or sponsors provide a certificate of attendance that shows the 
date, location, presenter or lecturer, content hours of the 
course, and contact information of the provider/sponsor for 
verification, and maintain documentation about the course 
and attendance for at least three years following its 
completion, (2) requiring that requests for the extension or 
waiver for the fulfillment of continuing education hours must 
be received by the Continuing Education Committee prior to 
December 31 of each year, and 3) changing the requirement 
that optometrists who are certified in the use of therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents have at least two hours of continuing 
education "directly related to the prescribing and 
administration of such drugs" to "directly related to the 
treatment of the human eye and its adnexa with 
pharmaceutical agents," 
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Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 
accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 
costs for other changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed regulation 
includes language that requires providers or sponsors to do 
two things in order to maintain approval for continuing 
education courses. First, providers or sponsors must provide a 
certificate of attendance that shows the date, location, 
presenter or lecturer, content hours of the course, and contact 
information of the provider/sponsor for verification. This 
certificate of attendance must be based on verification by the 
sponsor of the attendee’s presence throughout the course, 
either provided by a post-test or by an independent monitor. 
Second, providers or sponsors must maintain documentation 
about the course and attendance for at least three years 
following its completion. This amendment is being proposed 
because by observation and experience with audits of 
continuing education, the Board is concerned that some 
sponsors do not provide a certificate of completion that gives 
sufficient information about the course, nor do they provide 
verification of attendance. These requirements will ensure 
that the certificate of attendance and all necessary information 
can be verified. The requirement that continuing education 
providers/sponsors maintain documentation about the course 
and attendance for at least three years following its 
completion came about because in conducting an audit of a 
licensee continuing education, it is often necessary to contact 
a sponsor or provider to request additional information about 
a course or about the licensee’s attendance. 

The cost of these amendments will most likely be born by the 
continuing education provider. Since most providers offer a 
certificate of completion—the Board’s concern is that the 
certificates do not give sufficient information—this 
amendment should not impose prohibitively high costs. For 
those who do not currently provide certificates, it does not 
seem that the cost need exceed $0.50 per participant, which is 
a cost that will probably be born either by the provider, or 
passed on to the participant. For those course providers who 
do not provide a post-test, the proposed amendment would 
require them to verify the attendee’s presence in the course 
through an independent monitor. The cost of the monitor is 
difficult to ascertain since, according to the Department of 
Health Professions (Department), the cost of the monitor is 
likely to vary widely depending upon how different vendors 
work out staffing across the different kinds of venues. Some 
vendors might pay an independent monitor, while some may 
ask staff members to monitor as a part of their regular duties. 
The costs associated with the certificate and the three years of 
recordkeeping are likely to be outweighed by the benefits of 
being able to conduct an accurate audit of continuing 
education acquisition, especially since many providers and 
sponsors already provide certificates and maintain 
documentation. Many courses already provide post-tests and 

independent monitors and for those courses, the benefits of 
this amendment are likely to outweigh the costs. For those 
courses that, under this proposal, will have to provide an 
independent monitor for each course delivered, however, it is 
not clear if the benefits of this particular amendment will 
outweigh the costs.  

The proposed regulation includes language that “A request 
for an extension or a waiver [for meeting continuing 
education requirements] shall be received prior to December 
31 of each year.” This change is being proposed because the 
Board has had instances in which licensees realize that they 
are missing continuing education hours at the time of renewal 
and request an extension after the renewal date has passed. 
The license renewal period is January 1 to December 31, so 
this amendment ensures that the hours be completed, or an 
extension be granted, before the renewal deadline. This 
proposal should not impose any cost on licensees. Therefore, 
the benefit of this amendment outweighs the cost. 

Under current regulation, for optometrists who are certified in 
the use of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, at least two of 
the 16 required continuing education hours must be "directly 
related to the prescribing and administration of such drugs." 
The Board proposes to amend "prescribing and 
administration of such drugs" to "treatment of the human eye 
and its adnexa with pharmaceutical agents." The Board feels 
that the new language of "treatment of the human eye and its 
adnexa…" is more inclusive and descriptive of the types of 
courses related to patient care. The proposed language is 
more inclusive and remains directly relevant to patient care, 
this proposed amendment likely provides a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 1444 
optometrists1 and 470 offices of optometrists2 in Virginia who 
would be affected by these amendments. Of those 
optometrists, 1194 are TPA-certified (i.e., who are certified 
for treatment of diseases or abnormal conditions with 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents) and therefore would be 
subject to all of the amendments. All 470 offices of 
optometrists qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposals do not 
disproportionately affect specific localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are not anticipated to have any significant impact on 
employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The cost of 
providing an independent monitor could increase costs for 
certain course providers, thereby moderately decreasing the 
value of their business.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to 
require continuing education course providers to provide 
either a post-test or an independent monitor will increase 
costs for those providers who do not already do so.  The 
requirement is reasonable though, so as to ensure actual 
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course attendance by the licensee claiming continuing 
education credits. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No alternative methods would reduce cost 
while still achieving the desired policy goals.  

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not create additional costs related to the development of 
real estate for commercial or residential purposes. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

______________________________ 
1 Source: Department of Health Professions 
2 Source: Virginia Employment Commission 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 
Optometry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed regulations for 18VAC105-
20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Optometry, 
relating to continuing education requirements. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments (i) require that, in order to 
maintain approval for continuing education courses, 
providers or sponsors provide a certificate of attendance 
that shows the date, location, presenter or lecturer, 
content hours of the course, and contact information of 
the provider/sponsor for verification, and maintain 
documentation about the course and attendance for at 
least three years following its completion; (ii) require 

that requests for the extension or waiver for the 
fulfillment of continuing education hours must be 
received by the Continuing Education Committee prior to 
December 31 of each year; and (iii) require that 
optometrists who are certified in the use of therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents have at least two hours of 
continuing education "directly related to the treatment of 
the human eye and its adnexa with pharmaceutical 
agents." 

18VAC105-20-70. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. Each license renewal shall be conditioned upon 
submission of evidence to the board of 16 hours of continuing 
education taken by the applicant during the previous license 
period.  

1. Fourteen of the 16 hours shall pertain directly to the care 
of the patient. The 16 hours may include up to two hours of 
recordkeeping for patient care and up to two hours of 
training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).  

2. For optometrists who are certified in the use of 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, at least two of the 
required continuing education hours shall be directly 
related to the prescribing and administration of such drugs 
treatment of the human eye and its adnexa with 
pharmaceutical agents.  

3. Courses that are solely designed for which the primary 
purpose is to promote the sale of specific instruments or 
products and courses offering instruction on augmenting 
income are excluded and will not receive credit by the 
board.  

B. Each licensee shall attest to fulfillment of continuing 
education hours on the required annual renewal form. All 
continuing education shall be completed prior to December 
31 unless an extension or waiver has been granted by the 
Continuing Education Committee. A request for an extension 
or waiver shall be received prior to December 31 of each 
year. 

C. All continuing education courses shall be offered by an 
approved sponsor listed in subsection G or accredited as 
provided in subsection H of this section. Courses that are not 
approved by a board-recognized sponsor in advance shall not 
be accepted for continuing education credit. For those courses 
that have a post-test requirement, credit will only be given if 
the optometrist receives a passing grade as indicated on the 
certificate.  

D. Licensees shall maintain continuing education 
documentation for a period of not less than three years. A 
random audit of licensees may be conducted by the board 
which will require that the licensee provide evidence 
substantiating participation in required continuing education 
courses within 14 days of the renewal date.  
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E. Documentation of hours shall clearly indicate the name of 
the continuing education provider and its affiliation with an 
approved sponsor as listed in subsection G or accredited as 
provided in subsection H of this section. Documents that do 
not have the required information shall not be accepted by the 
board for determining compliance. Correspondence courses 
shall be credited according to the date on which the post-test 
was graded as indicated on the continuing education 
certificate.  

F. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 
competency requirements for the first renewal following the 
date of initial licensure by examination in Virginia.  

G. An approved continuing education course or program, 
whether offered by correspondence, electronically or in 
person, shall be sponsored or approved by one of the 
following:  

1. The American Optometric Association and its 
constituent organizations.  

2. Regional optometric organizations.  

3. State optometric associations and their affiliate local 
societies.  

4. Accredited colleges and universities providing 
optometric or medical courses.  

5. The American Academy of Optometry and its affiliate 
organizations.  

6. The American Academy of Ophthalmology and its 
affiliate organizations.  

7. The Virginia Academy of Optometry.  

8. Council on Optometric Practitioner Education 
(C.O.P.E.).  

9. 8. State or federal governmental agencies.  

10. 9. College of Optometrists in Vision Development.  

11. The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical 
Education of the American Medical Association for 
Category 1 or Category 2 credit.  

12. 10. Providers of training in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR). 

13. 11. Optometric Extension Program. 

H. Courses accredited by the Council on Optometric 
Practitioner Education (COPE) or the Accreditation Council 
for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) of the 
American Medical Association for Category 1 or Category 2 
credit shall be approved. 

I. In order to maintain approval for continuing education 
courses, providers or sponsors shall: 

1. Provide a certificate of attendance that shows the date, 
location, presenter or lecturer, content hours of the course, 
and contact information of the provider/sponsor for 
verification. The certificate of attendance shall be based on 
verification by the sponsor of the attendee's presence 
throughout the course, either provided by a post-test or by 
an independent monitor. 

2. Maintain documentation about the course and attendance 
for at least three years following its completion. 

J. Falsifying the attestation of compliance with continuing 
education on a renewal form or failure to comply with 
continuing education requirements may subject a licensee to 
disciplinary action by the board, consistent with § 54.1-3215 
of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-238; Filed May 20, 2009, 11:16 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 
18VAC110-20-20). 

18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing Wholesale 
Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers 
(amending 18VAC110-50-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 10, 2009 - 9 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, 
FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system. 

The legal authority to promulgate regulations to set the 
renewal date for permitted and registered facilities is found in 
Chapter 330 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

Purpose: All licenses, permits and registrations have expired 
on December 31 of each year, which has created an 
exceptional workload for staff during one period of time. The 
board sought legislation to allow expiration dates for 
permitted or registered facilities to be set on dates different 
from those of licensed pharmacists or registered technicians. 
All facility permits or registrations that currently expire on 
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December 31 will continue to be in effect until the next 
renewal date as set by the board in regulation. The goal is to 
distribute the workload for board and department staff and to 
make it less burdensome for pharmacies, some of which pay 
the renewal for the pharmacy permit and all licensed or 
registered staff. 

A single expiration date means that the Board of Pharmacy 
staff annually renews all of its 20,000+ licenses at the same 
time. This creates a very unequal workload during this time of 
the year. Because of recent significant increases in numbers 
of licensees, the addition of registered pharmacy technicians, 
and increases in nonresident facility licenses, the board's 
ability to renew licenses in a timely manner is being 
challenged. Even though a number of persons use online 
licensure renewal, many facilities choose not to do so, and 
nonresident facilities are not able to do this because of the 
requirement to show proof of resident licensure and a 
pharmacist-in-charge who holds a Virginia license. 

The action is necessary to protect the health and safety of the 
citizens because a staggered renewal system will assist staff 
in assuring that all requirements of renewal have been met. 

Substance: Renewal dates for pharmacies and other types of 
licenses and permits, other than pharmacists and technicians, 
have been changed to February 28 or April 30. 

Issues: There are no particular advantages or disadvantages to 
the public. 

There is an advantage to the agency in greater distribution of 
the workload associated with renewals.  

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to amend its 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy and its 
Regulations Governing Wholesale Distributers, 
Manufacturers and Warehousers so the licenses, permits and 
registrations issued under these regulations do not all expire 
on the same day each year.  These amended regulations will 
replace emergency provisions that are set to expire September 
22, 2009. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to the promulgation of 
emergency regulations (effective September 23, 2008), all 
Board licenses, permits and registrations expired on 
December 31 each year. The Department of Health 
Professions (DHP) reports that this not only led to an uneven 
workload for Board staff but was also burdensome for 
pharmacies that chose to pay for the renewal of the 
pharmacy’s permit and also for the renewal of licenses and 
registrations held by pharmacy staff. 

These proposed regulations, and the emergency regulations 
that they replace, institute a staggered schedule for renewal. 
Under these regulations, pharmacist active license, 
pharmacist inactive license and pharmacist technician 
registration renewals are still due December 31 each year. 
Physician permit to practice pharmacy, medical equipment 
supplier permit, Humane Society permit and controlled 
substances registration renewals are due February 28 each 
year. Pharmacy permit and nonresident pharmacy permit 
renewals are due April 30 each year. All licenses, permits and 
registrations issued under 18 VAC 110-50 will need to be 
renewed February 28th each year. Current facility permits and 
registrations that would have expired on the 31st of December 
will be valid until the new expiration dates set out in these 
proposed regulations. 

It is unlikely that any regulated entity will incur any costs on 
account of these proposed regulations. Both Board employees 
and regulated entities will likely benefit under these 
regulatory changes.  Board employees will likely benefit from 
having their renewal workload more widely distributed. 
Pharmacies that choose to pay for renewal of employee 
licenses and registrations as well as paying for the renewal of 
their pharmacy permit will likely benefit from having these 
fees due over a span of several months rather than all at once. 
Permit and registration holders who would have had to renew 
on December 31, but will now have until the end of February 
or the end of April to do so, will receive a one time benefit as 
their permits/registrations will be good for 14 or 16 months 
rather than 12 months.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulations 
will affect all pharmacies, non-resident pharmacies, drug 
manufacturers, drug wholesale distributors, drug 
warehousers, physicians who are permitted to practice 
pharmacy, medical equipment suppliers and holders of 
controlled substance registrations in the Commonwealth.  
DHP reports that the Board currently permits 1,663 
pharmacies, 541 nonresident pharmacies, 96 manufacturers, 
42 warehousers, 14 physicians who are permitted to practice 
pharmacy and 421 medical equipment suppliers.  DHP also 
reports that there are 746 wholesale distributors currently 
licensed by the Board and that there are 673 controlled 
substance registrations held in the Commonwealth. DHP does 
not know the exact number of affected license, permit or 
registration holders that would qualify as small businesses but 
suspects it is a small number since most pharmacies are now 
owned by large national chains. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 
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Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Pharmacy 
concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and 
Budget on proposed amended regulations for 18VAC110-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy, and 
18VAC110-50, Regulations Governing Wholesale 
Distributors, Manufacturers and Warehousers relating to a 
change in renewal dates. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments establish annual renewal dates 
for various licenses, permits, and registrations under the 
Board of Pharmacy. The amendments are currently in 
effect under emergency regulations that will expire 
September 22, 2009. 

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 
examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 
as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees.  

 1. Pharmacist license $180 

 2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

 3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

 4. Pharmacy permit $270 

 5. Permitted physician licensed to dispense 
drugs 

$270 

 6. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 

 7. Humane society permit $20 

 8. Nonresident pharmacy $270 

 9. Controlled substances registrations 
(Between November 2, 2005, and December 
31, 2006, the application fee for a controlled 
substance registration shall be $50) 

$90 

 10. Robotic pharmacy system approval $150 

 11. Innovative program approval. 

If the board determines that a technical 
consultant is required in order to make a 
decision on approval, any consultant fee, not 
to exceed the actual cost, shall also be paid 
by the applicant in addition to the 
application fee. 

$250 

 12. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$150 

 13. Approval of a continuing education 
program 

$100 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

 1. Pharmacist active license – due December 
31 

$90 

 2. Pharmacist inactive license – due 
December 31 

$45 

 3. Pharmacy technician registration – due 
December 31 

$25 

 4. Pharmacy permit – due April 30 $270 

 5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy – 
due February 28 

$270 

 6. Medical equipment supplier permit – due $180 
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February 28 

  7. Humane society permit – due February 28 $20 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy – due April 30 $270 

  9. Controlled substances registrations – due 
February 28 

$90 

  10. Innovative program continued approval 
based on board order not to exceed $200 per 
approval period. 

  

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 
to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 
one year of the expiration date. In addition, engaging in 
activities requiring a license, permit, or registration after the 
expiration date of such license, permit, or registration shall be 
grounds for disciplinary action by the board.  

  1. Pharmacist license $30 

  2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 

  4. Pharmacy permit $90 

  5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $90 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 

  7. Humane society permit $5 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy $90 

  9. Controlled substances registrations $30 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 
renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year 
after the expiration date shall submit an application for 
reinstatement with any required fees. Reinstatement is at the 
discretion of the board and, except for reinstatement 
following license revocation or suspension, may be granted 
by the executive director of the board upon completion of an 
application and payment of any required fees.  

  1. Pharmacist license $210 

  2. Pharmacist license after revocation or 
suspension 

$500 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

  4. Pharmacy technician registration after 
revocation or suspension 

$125 

  5. Facilities or entities that cease operation 
and wish to resume shall not be eligible for 
reinstatement but shall apply for a new 
permit or registration. Facilities or entities 
that failed to renew and continued to operate 
for more than one renewal cycle shall pay 
the current and all back renewal fees for the 
years in which they were operating plus the 

  

following reinstatement fees: 

   a. Pharmacy permit $240 

   b. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $240 

   c. Medical equipment supplier permit $210 

   d. Humane society permit $30 

   e. Nonresident pharmacy $115 

   f. Controlled substances registration $180 

G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 
other entities.  

 1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 

 2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 

 3. Inspection for remodeling or change of 
location for any facility 

150 

 4. Reinspection of any facility $150 

 5. Board-required inspection for a robotic 
pharmacy system 

$150 

 6. Board-required inspection of an 
innovative program location 

$150 

 7. Change of pharmacist responsible for an 
approved innovative program 

$25 

H. Miscellaneous fees.  

 1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

 2. Returned check $35 

I. For the annual renewal due on or before December 31, 
2006, the following fees shall be imposed for a license, 
permit or registration:  

 1. Pharmacist active license $50 

 2. Pharmacist inactive license $25 

 3. Pharmacy technician registration $15 

 4. Pharmacy permit $210 

 5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $210 

 6. Medical equipment supplier permit $140 

 7. Humane society permit $20 

 8. Nonresident pharmacy $210 

 9. Controlled substances registrations $50 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 
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FORMS (18VAC110-20)  

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern (rev. 
8/07).  

Affidavit of Practical Experience, Pharmacy Intern (rev. 
8/07).  

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Examination 
(rev. 8/07).  

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist 
License (rev. 11/07). 

Application to Reinstate or Reactivate a Pharmacist License 
(rev. 11/07).  

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education 
Program (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Approval of ACPE Pharmacy School 
Course(s) for Continuing Education Credit (rev. 8/07) 4/09).  

Application for License to Dispense Drugs (permitted 
physician) (rev. 8/07).  

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 8/07) 3/09).  

Application for a Nonresident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 
7/08).  

Application for a Permit as a Medical Equipment Supplier 
(rev. 8/07) 3/09).  

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 
Certificate (rev. 8/07).  

Application for a Permit as a Humane Society (rev. 8/07) 
3/09).  

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern for 
Graduates of a Foreign College of Pharmacy (rev. 8/07).  

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Approval of a Robotic Pharmacy System 
(rev. 8/07).  

Inspection Required for Approval of a Robotic Pharmacy 
System (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 
(rev. 8/07).  

Pharmacy Technician Registration Instructions and 
Application (rev. 7/08) 3/09).  

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician 
Registration (rev. 11/07). 

Application to Reinstate a Pharmacy Technician 
Registration (rev. 11/07). 

Application for Approval of a Pharmacy Technician 
Training Program (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 
8/07).  

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/07).  

Preceptor Verification Form (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Registration as a Pharmacy 
Intern (eff. 9/07). 

Affidavit for Limited-Use Pharmacy Technician (rev. 8/07). 

Limited-Use Pharmacy Technician Registration Instructions 
and Application (rev. 7/08). 

Application for Registration as a Limited-Use Pharmacy 
Technician (eff. 7/08). 

18VAC110-50-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Initial application fees. 

 1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 

 2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 

 3. Wholesale distributor license $270 

 4. Warehouser permit $270 

 5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $270 

 6. Controlled substances registration $90 

C. Annual renewal fees shall be due on February 28 of each 
year. 

 1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 

 2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 

 3. Wholesale distributor license $270 

 4. Warehouser permit $270 

 5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $270 

 6. Controlled substances registration $90 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 
addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 
license within one year of the expiration date. In addition, 
engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 
or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 
board. 

 1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $90 

 2. Restricted manufacturer permit $60 

 3. Wholesale distributor license $90 

 4. Warehouser permit $90 

 5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $90 

 6. Controlled substances registration $30 
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E. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Any entity attempting to renew a license, permit, or 
registration more than one year after the expiration date 
shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 
required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 
board and, except for reinstatement following license 
revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 
director of the board upon completion of an application 
and payment of any required fees.  

2. Engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, 
permit, or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary 
action by the board. Facilities or entities that cease 
operation and wish to resume shall not be eligible for 
reinstatement, but shall apply for a new permit or 
registration. 

3. Facilities or entities that failed to renew and continued to 
operate for more than one renewal cycle shall pay the 
current and all back renewal fees for the years in which 
they were operating plus the following reinstatement fees: 

  a. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $240 

  b. Restricted manufacturer permit $210 

  c. Wholesale distributor license $240 

  d. Warehouser permit $240 

  e. Nonresident wholesale distributor $240 

  f. Controlled substances registration $180 

F. Application for change or inspection fees.  

  1. Reinspection fee $150 

  2. Inspection fee for change of location, 
structural changes, or security system 
changes 

$150 

  3. Change of ownership fee $50 

  4. Change of responsible party $50 

G. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

H. For the annual renewal due on or before December 31, 
2006, the following fees shall be imposed for a license or 
permit:  

  1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $210 

  2. Restricted manufacturer permit $140 

  3. Wholesale distributor license $210 

  4. Warehouser permit $210 

  5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $210 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC110-50)  

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 
8/07) 3/09). 

Application for a Permit as a Nonrestricted Manufacturer 
(rev. 8/07) 3/09). 

Application for a Permit as a Warehouser (rev. 8/07) 3/09). 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 
8/07) 3/09). 

Application for a Nonresident Wholesale Distributor 
Registration (rev. 8/07) 9/08). 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor -- 
Limited Use for Distribution of Medical Gases Only (rev. 
8/07) 3/09). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1311; Filed May 20, 2009, 11:13 a.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 
(amending 18VAC115-20-45, 18VAC115-20-130). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-
40, 18VAC115-50-110). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 
(amending 18VAC115-60-50, 18VAC115-60-130). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 8, 2009. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate regulations 
to administer the regulatory system. 
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Purpose: The purpose of the action is to clarify and correct an 
oversight in the recent revisions of regulations. In an action 
that became final on September 3, 2008, the board added 
provisions for licensure by endorsement to allow persons who 
did not have educational and residency experience consistent 
with what is required for licensure in Virginia to be licensed 
based in part on their clinical experience in another state. It 
was assumed that the "clinical practice for five of the last six 
years" immediately preceding a licensure application in 
Virginia was "post-licensure" experience, so there would be a 
history of ethical, competent practice in another state on 
which to base a licensure decision in Virginia. Since the 
regulation does not specify "post-licensure" experience, a 
person has applied for licensure based on years of 
prelicensure experience in internship or residency. The board 
must clarify its intent in order to ensure that an applicant who 
does not otherwise meet its licensure requirements is 
competent and safe to practice – based on years of 
independent clinical practice as a licensee of another state 
board. 

The Board of Counseling has two certified and three licensed 
professions.  For many years, all of those professions, as well 
as those regulated by the Boards of Psychology and Social 
Work, have had a regulatory requirement for a practitioner to 
report incompetent or unprofessional conduct by another 
practitioner within the same profession and regulated by the 
same board.  Several years ago, the Board of Counseling 
revised its regulations for the three licensed professions to 
require reporting of any mental health provider licensed by 
any health regulatory board. Board counsel subsequently 
decided that the mandate for reporting on any mental health 
provider exceeded the mandate in § 54.1-2400.6, which 
requires a practitioner to inform his patient of his right to 
report misconduct. Therefore, in an action that became final 
on July 25, 2007, regulations were changed from requiring 
reporting of any other mental health provider to informing the 
client of his right to report. At that time, the board failed to 
recapture the older language about reporting of another 
practitioner within the same profession. The reinstatement of 
the reporting requirement in the fast-track action will make all 
five Board of Counseling regulations consistent with each 
other and with regulations for psychology and social work. 
Without the amendment, the misconduct of another 
counselor, marriage and family therapy or licensed substance 
abuse may go unreported and harm to patients or their 
families would continue. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 
process is being used to promulgate the amendments because 
there is unanimous agreement with the changes proposed.  
The action is not controversial and will resolve questions and 
issues that have come to the board in recent months. 

Substance: The proposed action would insert “post-licensure” 
to the clinical experience required for licensure by 
endorsement and would reinsert a requirement to report 

misconduct by another licensee within the same profession in 
the standards of conduct. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public. For 
applicants who do not meet Virginia’s requirements for 
education and experience, the years of post-licensure clinical 
practice in another state provide a measure of competency 
that is important to persons who will receive mental health 
services by those licensees. A requirement for the licensee to 
report known or suspected violations of law or regulation 
within his profession also protects the public from persons 
who are incompetent or unethical in their practice. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. Clarification of the regulations will resolve 
some issues or questions that have been raised in recent 
months. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Counseling (Board) proposes to amend its 
regulations governing the practices of professional 
counseling, marriage and family therapy and licensed 
substance abuse practitioners.  Specifically, the Board 
proposes to clarify that experience required for licensure by 
endorsement in these fields must be post-licensure 
experience.  The Board also proposes to require that all 
individuals licensed under these regulations must report 
incompetent or unprofessional behavior on the part of other 
individuals licensed under the same regulations (i.e., 
professional counselors will be required to report incompetent 
practice of other professional counselors).  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to gauge 
whether benefits will likely outweigh costs for these proposed 
changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board recently promulgated 
standards for licensure by endorsement for professional 
counselors, marriage and family therapists and licensed 
substance abuse practitioners.  Amongst these standards is a 
requirement that applicants for licensure by endorsement 
provide evidence of active clinical practice for five of the six 
years immediately preceding application for Virginia 
licensure. The Department of Health Professions (DHP) 
reports that the Board assumed it was understood that the 
clinical experience required would be experience post-
licensure such that the applicant had a "history of ethical, 
competent practice in another state on which to base a 
licensure decision in Virginia". Since standards for licensure 
by endorsement became final (September 3, 2008), the Board 
has received an application from an individual who submitted 
evidence of pre-licensure experience (during internship or 
residency) to meet the Board’s requirements. 

Since the Board did not originally specify that experience for 
this program must be post-licensure, it proposes to amend 
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these regulations with that stipulation. DHP reports that the 
Board intends to allow pre-licensure experience to be counted 
toward meeting the requirements for licensure by 
endorsement until these proposed changes are promulgated. 
This proposed regulatory change will bring current 
regulations into line with the Board’s original intent. To the 
extent that independent, post-licensure experience is a better 
indicator of future competence of practice than would be 
supervised, pre-licensure experience, this proposed change 
may prove beneficial for the future patients of individuals 
licensed by endorsement.  Individuals who have not been 
licensed for at least five years in another state, but who would 
meet experience requirements for licensure by endorsement if 
their pre-licensure experience were counted, will not be able 
to qualify for licensure by endorsement under these proposed 
standards. These individuals may incur costs if other avenues 
for Virginia licensure require more resources or if these 
individuals are required to wait (for perhaps several years) 
before being able to qualify for licensure by endorsement.  

For many years the Board required licensed or certified 
professionals that were subject to its regulations to report 
incompetent or unlawful conduct by any other practitioner 
within the same profession and regulated by the same board.  
Several years ago, the Board changed this rule so that 
individuals licensed by the Board were required to report 
unprofessional or unlawful conduct for any mental health 
provider licensed by any health regulatory board. On advice 
of Board counsel, this provision was emended in 2007 to 
instead require these licensees to inform their patients of the 
patients’ right to report misconduct.  

The Board now proposes to amend these regulations by 
reinserting old language that requires licensees to report 
incompetent or unlawful conduct by other practitioners within 
the same profession. This proposed change will make 
reporting requirements for the three professions covered by 
these regulations consistent with those of other Board 
regulants.  DHP reports that licensees covered by these 
regulations are likely not cognizant of the fact that that 
reporting requirements were inadvertently left out of these 
regulations when they were last amended.  Accordingly, this 
proposed amendment may not have the affect of changing 
current licensee behavior. To the extent that some licensees 
may begin reporting misconduct that they formerly would not 
have, patients may be better protected from unprofessional or 
unlawful conduct on the part of their counselors/therapists. 
On the other hand, licensees will now be liable for reporting 
known or suspected misconduct and so may run afoul of the 
Board for not reporting bad conduct if the Board decides that 
conduct should have been reported. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulations 
will affect all individuals licensed by the Board of 
Counseling. DHP reported in 2007 that the Board then 
licensed 2,884 licensed professional counselors, 838 marriage 

and family therapists and 177 licensed substance abuse 
practitioners. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. If this regulatory action 
leads to a smaller number of individuals being licensed by 
endorsement, there may end up being marginally fewer 
professionals in these fields practicing in the Commonwealth 
than there would be under current regulations. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 
Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
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Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 
18VAC115-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Professional Counselors, 18VAC115-50, Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, 
18VAC115-60, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) specify that clinical 
practice experience required for licensure by 
endorsement must be post-licensure and (ii) requires 
licensees to report known or suspected violations of 
another licensee. 

18VAC115-20-45. Prerequisites for licensure by 
endorsement. 

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 
submit in one package the following: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing fee; 

3. Verification of all professional licenses or certificates 
ever held in any other jurisdiction. In order to qualify for 
endorsement the applicant shall have no unresolved action 
against a license or certificate. The board will consider 
history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis; 

4. Documentation of having completed education and 
experience requirements as specified in subsection B of 
this section; 

5. Verification of a passing score on a licensure 
examination in the jurisdiction in which licensure was 
obtained; and  

6. An affidavit of having read and understood the 
regulations and laws governing the practice of professional 
counseling in Virginia.  

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 
one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 
in 18VAC115-20-49 and 18VAC115-20-51 and experience 
requirements consistent with those specified in 
18VAC115-20-52; or  

2. If an applicant does not have educational and experience 
credentials consistent with those required by this chapter, 
he shall provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised 
experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 
in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 
official transcript and a certified copy of the original 
application materials; and  

b. Evidence of post-licensure clinical practice for five of 
the last six years immediately preceding his licensure 
application in Virginia.  

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 
documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 
may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 
American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 
other board-recognized entity. 

Part V  
Standards of Practice; Unprofessional Conduct; Disciplinary 

Actions; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-20-130. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 
Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 
phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 
practice of counseling. 

B. Persons licensed by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 
based on their education, training, supervised experience 
and appropriate professional experience and represent their 
education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new counseling information, concepts, 
applications and practices that are necessary to providing 
appropriate, effective professional services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 
necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 
purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 
counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 
client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 
assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements 
for the continuation of treatment for clients, when 
necessary, following termination of a counseling 
relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 
services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 
vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 
and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 
treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no 
way compromised in any experimentation or research 
involving those clients; 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3705 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 
procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 
services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 
and other pertinent information when counseling is 
initiated and throughout the counseling process as 
necessary. Provide clients with accurate information 
regarding the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 
tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 
and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 
individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 
another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 
from providing services to the client without having an 
informed consent discussion with the client and having 
been granted communication privileges with the other 
professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 
health professional those educational and professional 
degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 
university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 
by the United States Department of Education, or 
credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and 
that are counseling in nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 
a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 
shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 
client to include treatment dates and identifying 
information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 
client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 
of the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 
expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 
representative in accordance with § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 
Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 
clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 
clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third 
party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 
and clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 
presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 
as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 
of the counseling relationship with the following 
exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 
maintained for five years after attaining the age of 
majority (18) or 10 years following termination, 
whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 
or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 
service provider or given to the client or his legally 
authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 
board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 
professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 
clients. Examples of such relationships include, but are not 
limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 
close personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall 
take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 
relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 
consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 
judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of sexual intimacies with clients 
or those included in a collateral relationship with the client 
and not counsel persons with whom they have had a sexual 
relationship. Counselors shall not engage in sexual 
intimacies with former clients within a minimum of five 
years after terminating the counseling relationship. 
Counselors who engage in such relationship after five 
years following termination shall have the responsibility to 
examine and document thoroughly that such relations do 
not have an exploitive nature, based on factors such as 
duration of counseling, amount of time since counseling, 
termination circumstances, client's personal history and 
mental status, or adverse impact on the client. A client's 
consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual behavior 
or involvement with a counselor does not change the 
nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual relationship or establish a 
counseling or psychotherapeutic relationship with a 
supervisee. Counselors shall avoid any nonsexual dual 
relationship with a supervisee in which there is a risk of 
exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or the 
potential for interference with the supervisor's professional 
judgment; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 
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E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 
known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of professional counseling. 

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 
their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 
any information of which the licensee may become aware in 
his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 
probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental 
health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent 
or unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent 
licensing statutes and regulations. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC115-20) 

Registration of Supervision, LPC Form 1– Post Graduate 
Degree Supervised Experience, (rev. 8/08).  

Quarterly Evaluation, LPC Form 1-QE (rev. 8/08). 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, LPC 
Form 1-LV (rev. 8/08).  

Licensure Application, LPC Form 2 (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Supervision – Post-Graduate Degree 
Supervised Experience, Form LPC 2-VS (rev. 8/08). 

Coursework Outline Form, Form LPC 2-CO (rev. 8/08). 

Verification of Internship Hours Towards the Residency, 
Form LPC 2-IR (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Internship, Form LPC 2-VI (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Licensure, Form LPC 2-VL (rev. 8/08).  

Supervision Outline Form – Examination Applicants Only, 
Form LPC 2-SO (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Post-Licensure Clinical Practice, 
Endorsement Applicants Only, Form LPC-ECP (rev. 8/08) 
8/09). 

Continuing Education Summary Form (LPC) (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed License (rev. 
8/07).  

18VAC115-50-40. Application for licensure by 
endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 
submit in one package:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee 
prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20; and  

3. Documentation of licensure as follows:  

a. Verification of all professional licenses or certificates 
ever held in any other jurisdiction. In order to qualify for 
endorsement the applicant shall have no unresolved 
action against a license or certificate. The board will 
consider history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case 
basis; 

b. Documentation of a marriage and family therapy 
license obtained by standards specified in subsection B of 
this section; or 

c. If currently holding an unrestricted license as a 
professional counselor in Virginia, documentation of 
successful completion of the requirements set forth in 
18VAC115-50-50, 18VAC115-50-55 and 18VAC115-
50-60. 

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 
one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 
in 18VAC115-50-50 and 18VAC115-50-55 and experience 
requirements consistent with those specified in 
18VAC115-50-60; or  

2. If an applicant does not have educational and experience 
credentials consistent with those required by this chapter, 
he shall provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised 
experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 
in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 
official transcript and a certified copy of the original 
application materials; and  

b. Evidence of post-licensure clinical practice for five of 
the last six years immediately preceding his licensure 
application in Virginia.  

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 
documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 
may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 
American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 
other board-recognized entity. 

18VAC115-50-110. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public's health, safety and welfare 
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 
Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 
phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 
practice of marriage and family therapy. 

B. Persons licensed by the board shall: 
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1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 
based on their education, training, supervised experience 
and appropriate professional experience and represent their 
education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new marriage and family therapy 
information, concepts, applications and practices that are 
necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 
services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 
necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 
purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 
counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 
client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 
assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements 
for the continuation of treatment for clients, when 
necessary, following termination of a counseling 
relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 
services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 
vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 
and inform client of the risks and benefits of any such 
treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the client is not 
compromised in any experimentation or research involving 
those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 
procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 
services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 
and other pertinent information when counseling is 
initiated and throughout the counseling process as 
necessary. Provide clients with accurate information 
regarding the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 
tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 
and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 
individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 
another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 
from providing services to the client without having an 
informed consent discussion with the client and having 
been granted communication privileges with the other 
professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 
health professional those educational and professional 
degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 
university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 
by the United States Department of Education, or 
credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and 
that are counseling in nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 
a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 
shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 
client to include treatment dates and identifying 
information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 
client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 
of the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release client records to others only with 
clients' expressed written consent or that of their legally 
authorized representative in accordance with § 32.1-
127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 
clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 
clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third 
party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 
and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 
presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 
as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 
of the counseling relationship with the following 
exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 
maintained for five years after attaining the age of 
majority (18) or 10 years following termination, 
whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 
or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 
service provider or given to the client or his legally 
authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 
board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 
professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 
clients. Examples of such relationships include, but are not 
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limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 
close personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall 
take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 
relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 
consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 
judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of sexual intimacies with clients 
or those included in a collateral relationship with the client 
and not counsel persons with whom they have had a sexual 
relationship. Marriage and family therapists shall not 
engage in sexual intimacies with former clients within a 
minimum of five years after terminating the counseling 
relationship. Marriage and family therapists who engage in 
such relationship after five years following termination 
shall have the responsibility to examine and document 
thoroughly that such relations do not have an exploitive 
nature, based on factors such as duration of counseling, 
amount of time since counseling, termination 
circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, 
or adverse impact on the client. A client's consent to, 
initiation of or participation in sexual behavior or 
involvement with a marriage and family therapist does not 
change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory 
prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual relationship or establish a 
counseling or psychotherapeutic relationship with a 
supervisee. Marriage and family therapists shall avoid any 
nonsexual dual relationship with a supervisee in which 
there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm to the 
supervisee or the potential for interference with the 
supervisor's professional judgment; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 
known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of marriage and family therapy.  

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 
their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 
any information of which the licensee may become aware in 
his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 
probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental 
health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent 
or unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent 
licensing statutes and regulations. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC115-50) 

Marriage and Family Therapist Licensure Application, MFT 
Form 2 (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Licensure, MFT Form 2-VL (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Supervision – Post-Graduate Degree 
Supervised Experience, MFT Form 2-VS (rev. 8/08).  

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, MFT 
Form 1-LV (rev. 8/08).  

Quarterly Evaluation, MFT Form 1-QE (rev. 8/08). 

Coursework Outline Form for Marriage and Family 
Therapist Licensure, MFT Form 2-CO (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Internship, MFT Form 2-VI (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Internship Hours Towards the Residency, 
MFT Form 2-IR (rev. 8/08).  

Supervision Outline Examination Applicants Only, MFT 
Form 2-SO (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Post-Licensure Clinical Practice, 
Endorsement Applicants Only, Form MFT-ECP (rev. 8/08) 
8/09). 

Registration of Supervision - Marriage and Family Therapist 
Licensure, MFT Form 1 (rev. 8/08).  

Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed License (rev. 
8/07).  

Continuing Education Summary Form (LMFT) (rev. 8/07). 

18VAC115-60-50. Prerequisites for licensure by 
endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 
submit in one package:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee;  

3. Verification of all professional licenses or certificates 
ever held in any other jurisdiction. In order to qualify for 
endorsement, the applicant shall have no unresolved 
disciplinary action against a license or certificate. The 
board will consider history of disciplinary action on a case-
by-case basis;  

4. Further documentation of one of the following:  

a. A current substance abuse treatment license in good 
standing in another jurisdiction obtained by meeting 
requirements substantially equivalent to those set forth in 
this chapter; or  

b. A mental health license in good standing in a category 
acceptable to the board which required completion of a 
master's degree in mental health to include 60 graduate 
semester hours in mental health; and  
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(1) Board-recognized national certification in substance 
abuse treatment;  

(2) If the master's degree was in substance abuse 
treatment, two years of post-licensure experience in 
providing substance abuse treatment;  

(3) If the master's degree was not in substance abuse 
treatment, five years of post-licensure experience in 
substance abuse treatment plus 12 credit hours of didactic 
training in the substance abuse treatment competencies 
set forth in 18VAC115-60-70 C; or  

(4) Current substance abuse counselor certification in 
Virginia in good standing or a Virginia substance abuse 
treatment specialty licensure designation with two years 
of post-licensure or certification substance abuse 
treatment experience;  

c. Documentation of education and supervised 
experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 
in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 
official transcript and a certified copy of the original 
application materials and evidence of post-licensure 
clinical practice for five of the last six years immediately 
preceding his licensure application in Virginia.  

5. Verification of a passing score on a licensure 
examination as established by the jurisdiction in which 
licensure was obtained;  

6. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 
completion of the education requirements prescribed in 
18VAC115-60-60 and 18VAC115-60-70; and  

7. An affidavit of having read and understood the 
regulations and laws governing the practice of substance 
abuse treatment in Virginia. 

B. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 
documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 
may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 
American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 
other board-recognized entity.  

Part V  
Standards of Practice; Unprofessional Conduct; Disciplinary 

Actions; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-60-130. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 
Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 
phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 
practice of substance abuse treatment. 

B. Persons licensed by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 
based on their education, training, supervised experience 
and appropriate professional experience and represent their 
education, training and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new substance abuse treatment 
information, concepts, application and practices that are 
necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 
services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 
necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 
purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 
counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 
client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 
assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements 
for the continuation of treatment for clients, when 
necessary, following termination of a counseling 
relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 
services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 
vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 
and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 
treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no 
way compromised in any experimentation or research 
involving those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 
procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 
services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 
and other pertinent information when counseling is 
initiated and throughout the counseling process as 
necessary. Provide clients with accurate information 
regarding the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 
tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 
and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 
individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 
another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 
from providing services to the client without having an 
informed consent discussion with the client and having 
been granted communication privileges with the other 
professional; 
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12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 
health professional those educational and professional 
degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 
university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 
by the United States Department of Education, or 
credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and 
that are counseling in nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 
a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 
shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 
client to include treatment dates and identifying 
information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 
client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 
of the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 
expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 
representative in accordance with § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 
Code of Virginia; 

4. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 
as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 
of the substance abuse treatment relationship with the 
following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 
maintained for five years after attaining the age of 
majority (18) or 10 years following termination, 
whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 
or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 
service provider or given to the client; and 

5. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 
clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 
clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third 
party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 
and clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 
presentations. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 
board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 
professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 
clients. Examples of such relationships include, but are not 
limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 

close personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall 
take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 
relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 
consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 
judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of sexual intimacies with clients 
or those included in a collateral relationship with the client 
and not counsel persons with whom they have had a sexual 
relationship. Licensed substance abuse treatment 
practitioners shall not engage in sexual intimacies with 
former clients within a minimum of five years after 
terminating the counseling relationship. Licensed 
substance abuse treatment practitioners who engage in 
such relationship after five years following termination 
shall have the responsibility to examine and document 
thoroughly that such relations do not have an exploitive 
nature, based on factors such as duration of counseling, 
amount of time since counseling, termination 
circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, 
or adverse impact on the client. A client's consent to, 
initiation of or participation in sexual behavior or 
involvement with a licensed substance abuse treatment 
practitioner does not change the nature of the conduct nor 
lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual relationship or establish a 
counseling or psychotherapeutic relationship with a 
supervisee. Licensed substance abuse treatment 
practitioners shall avoid any nonsexual dual relationship 
with a supervisee in which there is a risk of exploitation or 
potential harm to the supervisee or the potential for 
interference with the supervisor's professional judgment; 
and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 
known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of substance abuse treatment.  

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 
their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 
any information of which the licensee may become aware in 
his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 
probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental 
health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent 
or unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent 
licensing statutes and regulations. 

 

 

 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3711 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC115-60) 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioner Licensure 
Application, LSATP Form 2 (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Licensure, Form LSATP 2-VL (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Supervision – Post Graduate Degree 
Supervised Experience, LSATP 2-VS (rev. 8/08).  

 Supervisor's Experience and Education, (rev. 8/08).  

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, LSATP 
Form 1-LV (rev. 8/08).  

Coursework Outline Form, Form LSATP 2-CO (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Internship, Form LSATP 2-VI (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Internship Hours Towards the Residency, 
Form LSATP 2-IR (rev. 8/08).  

Registration of Supervision – Post Graduate Degree 
Supervised Experience, LSATP Form 1 (rev. 8/08).  

Quarterly Evaluation Form, LSATP Form 1-QE (rev. 8/08).  

Supervision Outline Form – Examination Applicants Only, 
Form LSATP 2-SO (rev. 8/08).  

Verification of Post-Licensure Clinical Practice, 
Endorsement Applicants Only, Form LSATP-ECP (rev. 8/08) 
8/09). 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioner 
Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate (rev. 
8/07).  

Continuing Education Summary Form (LSATP) (rev. 8/07). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1724; Filed May 20, 2009, 11:18 a.m.  

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-30. Regulations Governing 
the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers 
(amending 18VAC125-30-50, 18VAC125-30-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4697, FAX (804) 
327-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow credit for supervised hours for 
licensed persons who are able to document that those 
hours were working with the sex offender population 
within the past 10 years and (ii) require that certified sex 
offender treatment providers have at least six hours of 
continuing education focused on the treatment of that 
population for annual renewal. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC125-30-50. Experience requirements; supervision. 

A. An applicant for certification as a sex offender treatment 
provider shall provide documentation of having 2,000 hours 
of post-degree postdegree clinical experience in the delivery 
of clinical assessment/treatment services. At least 200 hours 
of this experience must be face-to-face treatment and 
assessment with sex offender clients. 

1. The experience shall include a minimum of 100 hours of 
face-to-face supervision within the 2,000 hours experience 
with a minimum of six hours per month. A minimum of 50 
hours shall be in individual face-to-face supervision. Face-
to-face supervision obtained in a group setting shall 
include no more than six trainees in a group. 

2. If the applicant has obtained the required postdegree 
clinical experience for a mental health license within the 
past 10 years, he can receive credit for those hours that 
were in the delivery of clinical assessment/treatment 
services with sex offender clients provided: 

a. The applicant can document that the hours were in the 
treatment and assessment with sex offender clients; and 

b. The supervisor for those hours can attest that he is 
licensed and qualified to render services to sex offender 
clients.  

B. Supervised experience obtained in Virginia without prior 
written board approval shall not be accepted toward 
certification. Candidates shall not begin the experience until 
after completion of the required degree as set forth in 
18VAC125-30-40. An individual who proposes to obtain 
supervised post-degree postdegree experience in Virginia 
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision, submit a 
supervisory contract along with the application package and 
pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 
18VAC125-30-20. 

C. The supervisor. 

1. The supervisor shall assume responsibility for the 
professional activities of the applicant. 

2. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for 
activities for which the prospective applicant has not had 
appropriate education. 
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3. The supervisor shall provide supervision only for those 
sex offender treatment services which he is qualified to 
render. 

4. At the time of formal application for certification, the 
board approved supervisor shall document for the board 
the applicant's total hours of supervision, length of work 
experience, competence in sex offender treatment and any 
needs for additional supervision or training. 

D. Registration of supervision. 

1. In order to register supervision with the board, 
individuals shall submit in one package: 

a. A completed supervisory contract; 

b. The registration fee prescribed in 18VAC125-30-20; 
and 

c. Official graduate transcript. 

2. The board may waive the registration requirement for 
individuals who have obtained at least five years 
documented work experience in sex offender treatment in 
another jurisdiction. 

E. Supervised experience obtained prior to April 10, 2002, 
may be acceptable if they met the board's requirements that 
were in effect at the time the supervision was rendered. 

Part III  
Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC125-30-80. Annual renewal of certificate. 

A. Every certificate issued by the board shall expire on June 
30 of each year. 

B. Along with the renewal application, the certified sex 
offender treatment provider shall submit: 

1. Submit the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC125-30-20; 
and 

2. Attest to having obtained six hours of continuing 
education in topics related to the provision of sex offender 
treatment within the renewal period. Continuing education 
shall be offered by a sponsor or provider approved by the 
Virginia Board of Social Work, Psychology, Counseling, 
Nursing or Medicine or by the Association for the 
Treatment of Sexual Abusers. Hours of continuing 
education used to satisfy the renewal requirements for 
another license may be used to satisfy the six-hour 
requirement for sex offender treatment provider 
certification, provided it was related to the provision of sex 
offender treatment. 

C. Certificate holders shall notify the board in writing of a 
change of address within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 
notice and application form(s) shall not excuse the certified 
sex offender treatment provider from the renewal 
requirement. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC125-30) 

[ General Information for Certification as a Sex Offender 
Treatment Provider (rev. 8/07) 4/09).  

Application for Certification as a Sex Offender Treatment 
Provider, Form 1 (rev. 8/07).  

Licensure or Certification Verification of Applicant, SOTP 
Form 2 (rev. 8/07).  

Sex Offender Treatment Provider, Verification of 
Supervision, SOTP Form 3 (rev. 8/07) 4/09).  

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, SOTP 
Form 4 (rev. 8/07).  

Registration of Supervision Instructions (rev. 8/07) 4/09).  

Registration of Supervision, Post-Graduate Degree 
Supervised Experience, Form 5 (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Reinstatement of Certification as a Sex 
Offender Treatment Provider (rev. 8/07). ]   

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-240; Filed May 20, 2009, 11:23 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-314. Regulations Governing 
Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators (adding 
20VAC5-314-10 through 20VAC5-314-170). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-578 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 21, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Mike Martin, Senior Utilities Engineer, 
State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, 
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VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9336, FAX (804) 371-9350, 
or email mike.martin@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 56-578 A of the Virginia Electric Utility 
Restructuring Act, Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 
56 of the Code of Virginia (Restructuring Act), all 
electric energy distributors have the obligation to 
connect any retail customer, including those using 
distributed generation, located within its service territory 
to the distributor's facilities used for delivery of retail 
electric energy, subject to State Corporation Commission 
(commission) rules and regulations and approved tariff 
provisions relating to connection of service. In 
accordance with § 56-578 C of the Restructuring Act, the 
commission proposed interconnection standards, not 
inconsistent with nationally recognized standards, to 
ensure transmission and distribution safety and 
reliability. The interconnection regulations establish 
standardized interconnection and operating requirements 
for the safe operation of electric generating facilities 
with a rated capacity of 20 MW or less connected to the 
distribution systems of electric utilities under the 
jurisdiction of the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission. These requirements apply to retail electric 
customers, independently owned generators or any other 
parties operating or intending to operate a distributed 
generation facility. The regulations establish three 
interconnection review paths for interconnection of 
customer-sited generation in Virginia - Level 1, Level 2 
and Level 3. Level 1 interconnections must include a 
request to interconnect a certified inverter-based 
generating facility no larger than 500 kW. To qualify for 
a Level 2 interconnection request, the generating facility 
can be no larger than 2 MW and the proposed generator 
must meet certain specified codes, standards, and 
certification requirements. Level 3 interconnection 
requests apply to generating facilities larger than 2 MW 
but no larger than 20 MW or a generating facility that 
does not pass the Level 1 or Level 2 Process.  

The changes in the final regulation are in response to 
comments received from interested parties and are 
intended to address the recovery of costs by utilities from 
interconnection customers, insurance provisions, and 
interconnections to network circuits.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

AT RICHMOND, MAY 8, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2008-00004 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing 
interconnection standards for distributed 
electric generation 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On February 26, 2008, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") issued an Order Establishing Proceeding in 
the above-captioned case to consider interconnection 
standards for distributed generation for the Commonwealth in 
accordance with § 56-578 A1 of the Virginia Electric Utility 
Restructuring Act, Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 
of the Code of Virginia ("Code"). The Staff of the 
Commission developed proposed rules ("Staff's Proposed 
Rules") to meet the requirement of § 56-578 C2 of the 
Restructuring Act, which proposed rules have been published 
in the Virginia Register on March 17, 2008, as Chapter 314 of 
the Virginia Administrative Code (20 VAC 5-314-10 et seq.), 
Regulations Governing Interconnection of Small Electrical 
Generators. The Commission directed that notice be given to 
the public and invited comments on Staff's Proposed Rules. 

In response to the Commission's February 26, 2008 Order, 
the following filed on July 21 and 22, 2008, comments on 
Staff's Proposed Rules, all proposing certain revisions: 
Virginia Electric and Power Company ("Virginia Power"), 
Appalachian Power Company ("APCO"), the Potomac Edison 
Company ("Potomac Edison"), the Virginia Electric 
Cooperatives3 ("Cooperatives"), and the Interstate Renewable 
Energy Council ("IREC"). Columbia Gas of Virginia 
("Columbia") filed comments supporting Staff's Proposed 
Rules. These comments, as a group, are referred to as the 
"Initial Comments." 

On August 28, 2008, the Commission granted Staff leave to 
file its response to the Initial Comments.4 Accordingly, on 
October 27, 2008, Staff filed its report ("Staff Report") and 
attached Staff Revised Rules, which are reported by Staff to 
be responsive to the Initial Comments in providing improved 
readability and clarity, and include certain substantive 
revisions.5  

The Commission issued an Order on November 26, 2008, 
which among other things, directed that notice be given to the 
public of Staff's Revised Rules, and invited comments 
thereon. Staff's Revised Rules were published on 
December 22, 2008, as Chapter 314. On January 15, 2009, 
the following filed comments addressing Staff's Revised 
Rules, all proposing certain revisions: Virginia Power, 
APCO, Potomac Edison, Cooperatives, and the IREC. 
Columbia filed comments supporting Staff's Revised Rules. 
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These comments as a group are referred to as "Further 
Comments." 

NOW UPON CONSIDERATION of the Initial Comments, 
the Staff Report, and the Further Comments, we find that we 
should adopt Chapter 314, Regulations Governing 
Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators 
("Interconnection Rules"), appended hereto as Attachment A, 
effective May 21, 2009.6 We find that such rules are 
reasonable and are within the Commission's authority under 
§ 56-578 of the Code. 

The Commission is directed by § 56-578 C of the Code to 
"establish interconnection standards to ensure transmission 
and distribution safety and reliability, which standards shall 
not be inconsistent with nationally recognized standards 
acceptable to the Commission." (Emphasis added.) We 
previously noted, with regard to the existence of nationally 
recognized standards, that the Federal Energy Regulatory 
Commission ("FERC") has asserted jurisdiction over certain 
generator interconnections.7 FERC's Order No. 2006, 
Standardization of Small Generator Interconnection 
Agreements and Procedures, and FERC's subsequent 
amendments thereto ("FERC Rules"),8 address the 
interconnection of distributed generators. We find that for 
purposes of our rulemaking under § 56-578 C of the Code, 
that the FERC Rules constitute reasonable nationally 
recognized standards. The Staff reports that the FERC Rules 
provide the basis for Staff's Proposed Rules and Staff's 
Revised Rules. 

The Interconnection Rules we adopt herein contain a 
number of modifications to Staff's Revised Rules. These 
modifications (shown in brackets) follow our consideration of 
changes suggested by the parties in their written comments 
and our analysis of the entire record in this proceeding. We 
will comment on certain of the modifications made in the 
Interconnection Rules. 

First, some commenters urged that less restrictive deadlines 
be set in the Interconnection Rules.  

Virginia Power comments that many deadlines set in the 
Interconnection Rules are overly aggressive. Virginia Power 
states that regardless of whether the interconnection customer 
is following a Level 1, 2, or 3 track toward interconnection,9 
the procedures applicable to the customer's small generating 
facility must accommodate the possibility that modifications 
to the utility system, as well as to the customer's small 
generating facility, will be required.10  

The Cooperatives have stated that their limited staffs cannot 
abandon other responsibilities in order to quickly respond to 
the numerous technical questions that would arise from a 
proposed interconnection.11 The Cooperatives continue to 
object to timelines set in the Interconnection Rules that they 
consider to be unnecessarily conforming to the FERC Rules 
without there being evidence that such restrictive timelines 

need to be imposed for Virginia interconnections. The 
Cooperatives represent that their distribution systems include 
essentially no FERC-jurisdictional transmission facilities and 
are otherwise exempt from FERC regulation because they are 
subject to regulation by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's 
Rural Utilities Service. The Cooperatives recommend that we 
lengthen certain deadlines from the FERC Rules in setting 
deadlines for the Interconnection Rules.  

We note that the deadlines set in the Interconnection Rules 
are no more stringent than those imposed by the FERC Rules. 
If the deadlines present obstacles, we expect the parties to 
work together to resolve any timing issues. In addition, the 
Interconnection Rules, as the Cooperatives' Further 
Comments recognize, specifically address situations in which 
specified time frames cannot be met: 

The utility shall make reasonable efforts to meet all time 
frames provided in these regulations unless the utility and 
the IC [interconnection customer] agree to a different 
schedule. If the utility cannot meet a deadline provided 
herein, it shall notify the IC, explain the reason for the 
failure to meet the deadline, and provide an estimated time 
by which it will complete the applicable interconnection 
procedure in the process. 

20 VAC 5-314-10. 

Although the Cooperatives are concerned that negotiating 
timing extensions under this rule may become routine and 
will be disruptive of the interconnection process,12 we find 
that expansion of the Interconnection Rules deadlines is 
unwarranted at this time. 

Second, IREC and the Cooperatives propose further 
modification to the interconnection customer insurance 
requirements specified in 20 VAC 5-314-160. 

IREC requests that any insurance requirements for a Level 1 
small generating facility up to 500 kW be waived; and that 
the insurance requirements for larger systems be lowered to 
avoid what IREC considers to be an unreasonable barrier to 
new technology deployment. IREC suggests that Level 2 
insurance requirements be set no higher than $1 million, and 
Level 3 insurance requirements be set no higher than 
$2 million, and in particular, that Level 3 insurance amounts 
not be determined "on a case-by-case" basis. IREC also 
requests that the requirement in 20 VAC 5-314-160 B stating 
that the utility be named as an additional insured be 
eliminated from the Interconnection Rules. 

The Cooperatives comment that the insurance provisions of 
20 VAC 5-314-160 are insufficient and recommend that any 
interconnection customer owning small generating facilities 
for interconnection be required to carry such insurance 
coverage as a utility would carry for comparable utility 
facilities that present the same kinds and levels of hazard risk. 
The Cooperatives suggest that such risk covered by a utility 
would be met by maintaining general liability insurance, 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3715 

including premises liability coverage for operations, in an 
amount of $2 million per occurrence, with no upper limit on 
the aggregate, as well as an all-risk property policy and 
umbrella policies with even higher limits. 

We note that the FERC Rules defer to the states in setting 
minimum limits for insurance coverage for interconnections 
falling under the Small Generator 10 kW processes.13 With 
regard to all other interconnections, the FERC Rules at 
Article 8.1 of the Small Generator Interconnection Agreement 
require that insurance coverage shall be sufficient to insure 
against all reasonably foreseeable direct liabilities, given the 
size and nature of the generating equipment being 
interconnected, the interconnection itself, and the 
characteristics of the system to which the interconnection is 
made.14 

We find reasonable insurance limits should be set, as 
proposed by Staff, for smaller systems at $100,000 for those 
with a rated capacity not exceeding 10 kW, and $300,000 for 
those with a rated capacity exceeding 10 kW but not 
exceeding 500 kW; and for larger systems at $2 million for 
those with a rated capacity exceeding 500 kW but not 
exceeding 2 MW, and determined on a case-by-case basis for 
those with a rated capacity exceeding 2 MW. These limits are 
reflected in 20 VAC 5-314-160 A of the Interconnection 
Rules. We have eliminated the requirement in 20 VAC 5-314-
160 B of the Staff's Revised Rules that the utility be named as 
an additional insured. 

Third, the Staff's Revised Rules for the Level 2 
interconnection process, 20 VAC 5-314-60, did not require 
that a Level 2 small generating facility be connected under 
the Small Generator Interconnection Agreement ("SGIA"). 
Virginia Power cites the FERC Rules15 requiring all 
generators of 20 MW or less to enter into an SGIA. We agree 
with Virginia Power that an SGIA should be required for 
small generating facilities having capacity exceeding 500 kW 
that make application under the Level 2 process.  

Fourth, IREC comments that a utility-accessible, external 
disconnect switch ("UEDS") does not provide a sufficient 
additional safety benefit to justify its cost to the 
interconnection customer and should not be required under a 
utility's tariff, pursuant to 20 VAC 5-314-40 B 2 and 3. IREC 
argues that concern for a utility line worker's safety as 
reflected in the requirement for a UEDS fails to recognize 
that all modern inverters stop power flow to the grid from the 
interconnected distributed generator automatically. IREC 
proposes that 20 VAC 5-315 B 2 and 3 be modified to either 
prohibit the installation of a UEDS, or allow a utility to elect 
to install a UEDS at its own expense, for inverter-based 
systems sized less than or equal to 10 kW. 

We recognize that there are reasonable arguments to support 
the utility's requirement for a UEDS. For instance, the 
Commission has recognized the need for this safety device 
and requires a UEDS as a safety measure in the Net Metering 

Rules set out in 20 VAC 5-315-40 A 2. Consistent with our 
requirement in the Net Metering Rules, we decline to modify 
20 VAC 5-314-40 B 2 and 3 as requested by IREC. 

Fifth, the Cooperatives seek release from any obligations to 
purchase reactive power from an interconnection customer 
that may arise under Article 1.8 of the SGIA (Schedule 6 of 
20 VAC 5-314-170). The Cooperatives rely upon their 
wholesale power suppliers for all their power requirements 
and object to Article 1.8 requiring a utility to compensate the 
interconnection customer to the extent an electric cooperative 
calls upon the interconnection customer to provide reactive 
power. The Cooperatives maintain that any obligation arising 
under Article 1.8 must be taken up with the Cooperatives' 
wholesale power suppliers. 

As Article 1.8 does not impose any obligation to purchase 
reactive power, we find that the Cooperative's requested 
exception is unnecessary. 

Sixth, Virginia Power and the Cooperatives request that 
20 VAC 5-314-110 be revised to state that, prior to the 
Commission releasing and making public confidential 
information that the Commission has received from either 
party, the parties shall have an opportunity to respond. Such a 
provision had appeared in the Staff's Proposed Rules, and we 
find that it should be restored, with minor editing, to 
20 VAC 5-314-110 C. 

Seventh, Virginia Power comments that the Interconnection 
Rules at 20 VAC 5-314-60 C 8 should be clarified to require 
that a Small Generating Facility ("SGF") cannot be 
interconnected to a network distribution system before all 
required modifications to the SGF are made. To that end, 
Virginia Power requests that the words, "except minor 
modification" be eliminated from 20 VAC 5-314-60 C 8. We 
agree. 

Eighth, Virginia Power seeks recovery of overhead costs 
from the interconnection customer when performing 
interconnection studies, pursuant to 20 VAC 5-314-70 C 4 a, 
D 3 a, and E 3 a. The Commission finds that recovery of such 
overhead costs should not be permitted by the Interconnection 
Rules at this time. Rather, we find that it is reasonable for 
utilities to recover only their incremental costs in this regard, 
as is currently reflected in the Revised Rules. The recovery of 
overhead costs by the utility could significantly increase the 
cost of interconnection for the interconnection customer, 
which may unreasonably impede the development of 
distributed generation in the Commonwealth. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) We hereby adopt Chapter 314, Regulations Governing 
Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators (20 VAC 5-
314-10, et seq.) of the Virginia Administrative Code, all as 
set forth in Attachment A appended hereto, to be effective 
May 21, 2009. The provisions of Chapter 314 shall become 
effective as of July 1, 2009, for eligible farms as defined in 
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H.B. 2171, enacted by the 2009 Session of the Virginia 
General Assembly. 

(2) A copy of this Order and the rules adopted herein shall 
be forwarded promptly for publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations.  

(3) This case is dismissed and the papers herein shall be 
placed in the files for ended causes. 

Commissioner Dimitri did not participate in this matter. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: T. Borden Ellis, Senior Attorney, Legal, 
NiSource Corporate Services Company, 1809 Coyote Drive, 
Chester, Virginia 23836; Noelle J. Coates, Esquire, Hunton & 
Williams LLP, Riverfront Plaza, East Tower, 951 East Byrd 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219-4074; Horace P. Payne, Jr., 
Esquire, Dominion Resources Services, Inc., 120 Tredegar 
Street, RS-2, Richmond, Virginia 23219; John A. Pirko, 
Esquire, LeClairRyan, P.C., 4201 Dominion Boulevard, 
Suite 200, Glen Allen, Virginia 23060; Charles E. Bayless, 
Esquire, Appalachian Power Company, P.O. Box 1986, 
Charleston, West Virginia 25327; Kevin Fox, Esquire, 
Keyes & Fox LLP, 5727 Keith Avenue, Oakland, California 
94618; C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney 
General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of Attorney 
General, 900 East Main Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219; and the Commission's Office of General 
Counsel and Divisions of Energy Regulation and Economics 
and Finance. 

 
1Section 56-578 A of the Code states:  
A. All distributors shall have the obligation to connect any retail customer, 
including those using distributed generation, located within its service 
territory to those facilities of the distributor that are used for delivery of retail 
electric energy, subject to Commission rules and regulations and approved 
tariff provisions relating to connection of service. 
2Section 56-578 C of the Code, states: 
C. The Commission shall establish interconnection standards to ensure 
transmission and distribution safety and reliability, which standards shall not 
be inconsistent with nationally recognized standards acceptable to the 
Commission. In adopting standards pursuant to this subsection, the 
Commission shall seek to prevent barriers to new technology and shall not 
make compliance unduly burdensome and expensive. The Commission shall 
determine questions about the ability of specific equipment to meet 
interconnection standards. 
3The Virginia Electric Cooperatives consist of A&N Electric Cooperative, 
BARC Electric Cooperative, Central Virginia Electric Cooperative, 
Community Electric Cooperative, Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative, 
Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative, Northern Neck Electric Cooperative, 
Northern Virginia Electric Cooperative, Prince George Electric Cooperative, 
Rappahannock Electric Cooperative, Shenandoah Valley Electric 
Cooperative, Southside Electric Cooperative, and the Virginia, Maryland & 
Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives. 
4The Staff was granted a filing extension to October 24, 2008, by Order 
Granting Extension to Staff issued September 24, 2008, and a further 
extension by Order issued November 26, 2008, which also granted leave to 
interested persons to file comments on Staff's Revised Rules on or before 
January 15, 2009. 
5Staff Report, pp. 3-26. 

6The provisions of the Interconnection Rules will become effective as of 
July 1, 2009, for "eligible farms," as defined in HB 2171, enacted by the 
2009 Session of the Virginia General Assembly. (2009 Va. Acts Ch. 746) 
7Order Establishing Proceeding, Case No. PUE-2008-00004, February 26, 
2008, p. 2, n.2. 
8Standardization of Small Generator Interconnection Agreements and 
Procedures, Order No. 2006, FERC Stats. & Regs. ¶ 31,180 (2005), order on 
reh'g, Order No. 2006-A, FERC Stats. & Regs. ¶ 31,196 (2005), order 
granting clarification, Order No. 2006-B, FERC Stats. & Regs. ¶ 31,221 
(2006), appeal pending sub nom., Consolidated Edison Co. of New York, 
Inc. v FERC, Nos. 06-1018, 06-1036 (D.C. Cir.). 
920 VAC 5-314-10. 
10Virginia Power Comments filed January 15, 2009, p. 15. 
11Cooperatives Comments filed January 15, 2009, p. 9. 
12Cooperatives' comments filed January 15, 2009, p. 11. 
13See FERC Rules, Appendix E (Small Generator Interconnection 
Procedures), Attachment 5 (10 kW Inverter Process), Terms and Conditions 
for Interconnecting an Inverter-Based Small Generator Facility no larger than 
10 kW, Section 7.0. 
14See Appendix F (Small Generator Interconnection Agreement), Article 8., 
Insurance, Paragraph 8.1. 
15See Order No. 2006-B, Sections 2.4.1 and 3.5.7. 

CHAPTER 314  
REGULATIONS GOVERNING INTERCONNECTION OF 

SMALL ELECTRICAL GENERATORS  

20VAC5-314-10. Applicability and scope [ ; waiver ]. 

[ A. ] These regulations are promulgated pursuant to § 56-
578 of the Virginia Electric Utility Restructuring Act (§ 56-
576 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). They establish 
standardized interconnection and operating requirements for 
the safe operation of electric generating facilities with a rated 
capacity of 20 megawatts (MW) or less connected to 
distribution companies' electric utility distribution (and in 
certain cases transmission) systems in Virginia. These 
requirements regulations apply [ to utilities providing 
interconnections ] to retail electric customers, independently 
owned generators or and any other parties operating, or 
intending to operate, a distributed generation facility in 
parallel with [ a utility's system and to the ] utility [ systems ]. 
Interconnections These regulations do not apply to customer 
generators operating pursuant to the [ commission's Virginia 
State Corporation Commission's ] Regulations Governing Net 
Energy Metering (20VAC5-315) or those that fall under the 
jurisdiction of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 
[ (FERC) ] are not subject to these regulations. 

If the utility has turned over control of its transmission 
system to a Regional Transmission Entity (RTE), and if the 
small generator interconnection process identifies upgrades to 
the transmission system as necessary to interconnect the small 
generating facility, then the utility will coordinate with the 
RTE, and the procedures herein will be adjusted as necessary 
to satisfy the RTE's requirements with respect to such 
upgrades. 
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There are three interconnection review paths for the 
interconnection of customer-sited generation in Virginia 
having an output of not more than 20 MW: 

Level 1 - A request to interconnect a certified inverter-
based small generating facility (SGF) no larger than 500 
kilowatts (kW) shall be evaluated under the Level 1 
process. 

Level 2 - A request to interconnect a certified small 
generating facility SGF no larger than 500 kW but no 
larger than 2 MW and not qualifying for the Level 1 
process shall be evaluated under the Level 2 process. 

Level 3 - A request to interconnect a small generating 
facility larger than 2 MW but an SGF no larger than 20 
MW or a small generating facility that does not pass and 
not qualifying for the Level 1 process or Level 2 process, 
shall be evaluated under the Level 3 process. 

[ An SGF proposed to be interconnected to a distribution 
feeder may be limited The utility may limit the 
interconnection of an SGF to a distribution feeder ] to a 
capacity substantially less than 20 MW, depending upon the 
characteristics of that feeder and the potential for upgrading 
it, as well as the nature of the loads and other generation on 
the feeder relative to the proposed point of interconnection. 
[ If the SGF cannot be safely and reliably interconnected to 
the utility's distribution feeder, the utility shall work with the 
IC to interconnect the SGF to the utility's transmission 
system. In such cases, the interconnection of the SGF may be 
governed by the regulations promulgated by FERC rather 
than the regulation of the State Corporation Commission. ]  

The utility shall designate an employee or office from which 
the interconnection customer [ ("IC") (IC) ] may informally 
request information on concerning the application process can 
be obtained through informal requests from the 
interconnection customer presenting a proposed project for a 
specific site. The name, telephone number, and email address 
of such contact employee or office shall be made available on 
the utility's Internet [ web site website ]. Electric system 
information for specific locations, feeders, or small areas 
relevant to the location of the proposed SGF shall be provided 
to the interconnection customer IC upon request and may 
include relevant system studies, interconnection studies, and 
any other relevant materials useful to an understanding of an 
interconnection at a particular point on the utility's system, to 
the extent such provision does not violate confidentiality 
provisions of prior agreements or release critical 
infrastructure requirements information. The utility shall 
comply with reasonable requests for such information unless 
the information is proprietary or confidential and cannot be 
provided pursuant to a confidentiality agreement. 

The utility shall make reasonable efforts to meet all time 
frames provided in these procedures regulations unless the 
utility and the interconnection customer IC agree to a 

different schedule. If the utility cannot meet a deadline 
provided herein, it shall notify the interconnection customer 
IC, explain the reason for the failure to meet the deadline, and 
provide an estimated time by which it will complete the 
applicable interconnection procedure in the process. 

[ Each utility shall have on file with the commission terms 
and conditions applicable to the interconnection of SGFs. 
Such terms and conditions shall, at a minimum, incorporate 
this chapter by reference, shall set forth terms and conditions 
applicable to SGFs for which no Small Generator 
Interconnection Agreement (SGIA) is executed, and shall not 
conflict with the provisions of this chapter. The terms and 
conditions applicable to SGFs for which no SGIA is executed 
shall be reasonably consistent with the terms and conditions 
of the SGIA. 

B. The commission may waive any or all parts of the 
provisions of this chapter for good cause shown. ]  

20VAC5-314-20. Definitions. 

The following terms when used in this chapter shall have the 
following meaning unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise: 

"Affected system" means an electric utility system other 
than that of the utility's distribution system utility that may be 
affected by the proposed interconnection. 

"Affected system operator" means an entity that operates an 
affected system or, if the affected system is under the 
operational control of an independent system operator or a 
regional transmission entity, such independent entity. 

"Applicable laws and regulations" means all duly 
promulgated applicable federal, state and local laws, 
regulations, rules, ordinances, codes, decrees, judgments, 
directives, or judicial or administrative orders, permits and 
other duly authorized actions of any government authority. 

"Attachment facilities" means the facilities and equipment 
owned, operated, and maintained by the utility that are built 
new in order to physically connect the customer's 
interconnection facilities to the utility system. Attachment 
facilities shall not include distribution upgrades or previously 
existing distribution and transmission facilities. 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, excluding 
federal holidays. 

"Certified" has the meaning ascribed to it in Schedule 2 of 
this chapter. 

[ "Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission. 

"Competitive service provider" means any entity, other than 
the utility, supplying electric energy service to the 
interconnection customer. ]  
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"Customer's interconnection facilities" means all of the 
facilities and equipment owned, operated and maintained by 
the interconnection customer, between the small generating 
facility and the point of interconnection necessary to 
physically and electrically interconnect the small generating 
facility to the utility system. 

[ "Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission. ]  

"Distribution company" means the utility that owns and/or 
operates the distribution system located in Virginia to which 
the small generation facility proposes to interconnect its small 
generating facility. 

"Default" means the failure of a breaching party to cure its 
breach under the small generator interconnection agreement. 

"Distribution system" means a the utility's facilities and 
equipment generally delivering electricity to ultimate 
customers from substations supplied by higher voltages 
(usually at transmission level). For purposes of these 
interconnection rules regulations, all portions of the 
distribution company's utility's transmission system regulated 
by the commission for which interconnections are not within 
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) jurisdiction 
are considered also to be part of subject to these 
interconnection rules regulations. 

"Distribution upgrades" means the additions, modifications, 
and upgrades to the utility's distribution system at or beyond 
the point of interconnection to facilitate necessary to abate 
problems on the utility's distribution system caused by the 
interconnection of the small generating facility and to render 
the service necessary to effect the interconnection customer's 
operation of on-site generation. Distribution upgrades do not 
include customer's interconnection facilities or attachment 
facilities. 

[ "Energy service provider" means any entity supplying 
electric energy service to the ] producer, either as tariffed, 
competitive, or default service pursuant to § 56-585 of the 
Code of Virginia [ interconnection customer. ]  

"Facilities study" has the meaning ascribed to it in 20VAC5-
314-70 E. 

"Feasibility study" has the meaning ascribed to it in 
20VAC5-314-70 C. 

"FERC" means the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. 

"Good Utility Practice" means any of the practices, methods 
and acts engaged in or approved by a significant portion of 
the electric industry during the relevant time period, or any of 
the practices, methods and acts which, in the exercise of 
reasonable judgment in light of the facts known at the time 
the decision was made, could have been expected to 
accomplish the desired result at a reasonable cost consistent 
with good business practices, reliability, safety and 

expedition. Good Utility Practice is not intended to be limited 
to the optimum practice, method, or act to the exclusion of all 
others, but rather to be acceptable practices, methods, or acts 
generally accepted in the region. 

"Governmental authority" means any federal, state, local or 
other governmental regulatory or administrative agency, 
court, commission, department, board, or other governmental 
subdivision, legislature, rulemaking board, tribunal, or other 
governmental authority having jurisdiction over the parties, 
their respective facilities, or the respective services they 
provide, and exercising or entitled to exercise any 
administrative, executive, police, or taxing authority or 
power; provided that such term does not include the 
interconnection customer, the utility or a utility affiliate. 

"Interconnection customer" or "IC" means any entity, 
including the utility, any affiliates or subsidiaries of either, 
proposing to interconnect a new small generating facility with 
the utility's utility system under this chapter. 

"Interconnection facilities" means the utility's 
interconnection facilities and the interconnection customer's 
interconnection facilities. Collectively, interconnection 
facilities include all facilities and equipment between the 
small generating facility and the point of interconnection, 
including any modification, additions or upgrades that are 
necessary to physically and electrically interconnect the small 
generating facility to the utility's distribution system. 
Interconnection facilities are sole use facilities and shall not 
include distribution upgrades. 

"Interconnection request" means the interconnection 
customer's IC's request, in accordance with [ the tariff this 
chapter ], to interconnect a new small generating facility, or 
to increase the capacity of, or make a material modification to 
the operating characteristics of, an existing small generating 
facility that is interconnected with the utility's utility system. 

"Interconnection study studies" means the study that is 
undertaken studies conducted by the company utility, or a 
mutually agreed upon third party agreed to by the company 
utility and the producer interconnection customer, in order to 
determine the interaction of the small generating facility and 
with the distribution utility system, and the affected systems 
in order to specify any modification modifications to the 
small generating facility or the distribution system needed 
electric systems studied to ensure safe and reliable operation 
of the small generating facility in parallel with the 
distribution utility system.  

"Material modification" means a modification that has a 
material impact on the cost or timing of any interconnection 
request with a later queue priority date. 

"Operating requirements" means any operating and technical 
requirements that may be applicable due to regional 
transmission entity, independent system operator, control 
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area, or the utility's requirements, including those set forth in 
the Small Generator Interconnection Agreement. 

"Party" or "parties" means the utility, interconnection 
customer, or any combination thereof both. 

"Point of interconnection" means the point where the 
customer's interconnection facilities connect with to the 
utility's utility system. 

"Producer" means a person operating a small generating 
facility interconnected to the distribution system of a utility 
for the purpose of parallel operation. 

"Regional Transmission Entity" or "RTE" means an entity 
having the management and control of a utility's transmission 
system as further set forth in § 56-579 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Small generating facility" or "generator" or "SGF" means 
the interconnection customer's device equipment for the 
production of electricity identified in the interconnection 
request, but shall not include the interconnection facilities not 
owned by the interconnection customer. 

"Study process" means the procedure for evaluating an 
interconnection request that includes the Level 3 scoping 
meeting, feasibility study, system impact study, and facilities 
study. 

"Small Generator Interconnection Agreement" or "SGIA" 
means the agreement between the utility and the 
interconnection customer as set forth in Schedule 6 of 
20VAC5-314-170. 

"Supplemental review" has the meaning ascribed to it in 
20VAC5-314-60 [ G I ]. 

"System" or "utility system" means the distribution and 
transmission facilities owned, controlled, or operated by the 
utility that are used to provide electric service under the tariff 
deliver electricity. 

"System impact study" has the meaning ascribed to in 
20VAC5-314-70 [ E D ]. 

"Tariff" means the rates, terms and conditions filed by the 
utility with the commission for the purpose of providing 
commission-regulated electric service to retail customers. 

"Transmission system" means the utility's facilities and 
equipment delivering electric energy to the distribution 
system, such facilities being operated at voltages above the 
utility's typical distribution system voltages. 

"Utility" means the public utility company subject to 
regulation by the commission pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-
232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia with regard to 
rates and/or service quality to which the interconnection 
customer proposes to interconnect a small generating facility. 

20VAC5-314-30. Siting of distributed generation facilities. 

Prior to installing a small generating facility, the IC 
interconnection customer must ensure compliance with local, 
state and federal laws and regulations, including siting. If the 
producer has satisfied the requirements of this chapter and has 
submitted a copy of his interconnection notification form to 
the commission's Division of Energy Regulation, the statutory 
requirements of § 56-580 D all applicable easements and 
permits, and §§ 56-265.2 and 56-580 of the Code of Virginia 
shall be deemed to have been met, as applicable. 

20VAC5-314-40. Level 1 interconnection process. 

A. The Level 1 interconnection path process is available to 
any IC interconnection customer proposing to interconnect a 
small generating facility with the utility's distribution utility 
system if the small generating facility SGF is no larger than 
500 kW. In order to interconnect under this path, the small 
generating facility shall complete the streamlined 
Interconnection Request Form contained in 20VAC5-314-170 
as Schedule 1. The utility shall follow the same time line 
established by the commission in 20VAC5-315-30 of the Net 
Metering Regulations. 

[ B. An IC may begin operation of a small generating 
facility when: 

1. The IC has completed the Level 1 Interconnection 
Request Form (Schedule 1 in 20VAC5-314-170) and 
submitted it to the utility with the required $100 processing 
fee attached. The utility shall submit a copy of the 
Interconnection Notification Form to the commission's 
Division of Energy Regulation. The utility may supply a 
commission-approved Interconnection Request Form 
similar to Schedule 1; 

B. The IC shall submit a complete Level 1 Interconnection 
Request Form (Schedule 1 in 20VAC5-314-170) to the utility 
with the required $100 processing fee attached. Alternatively, 
the utility may require use of a commission-approved 
Interconnection Request Form similar to Schedule 1, which 
shall be made available to customers on the utility's Internet 
website. The Interconnection Request Form shall be date- and 
time-stamped upon receipt by the utility. The date- and time-
stamp shall be used as the qualifying date- and time-stamp for 
the purpose of any timetable in these procedures.  

The IC shall be notified of receipt by the utility within three 
business days of receiving the interconnection request, which 
notification may be by United States mail, email address or 
fax number provided by the IC. As soon as practicable after 
receipt, but not later than 10 business days after the date of 
receipt, the utility shall notify the IC if there are any 
deficiencies in the IC's submittal. If there are deficiencies, 
such notice shall include a written list detailing all 
information that must be provided to complete the 
interconnection request.  
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The IC shall have 10 business days after receipt of the notice 
of incomplete information to submit the listed information or 
to request an extension of time to provide such information. If 
the IC does not provide the listed information or a request for 
an extension of time within the deadline, the Interconnection 
Request Form will be deemed withdrawn. 

The utility shall provide a copy of the final completed date- 
and time-stamped Interconnection Request Form to the 
Commission's Division of Energy Regulation. 

C. Within 15 business days after the date the IC submits a 
complete Interconnection Request Form and requisite fee, the 
utility shall evaluate the request and inform the IC what 
utility modifications are required to interconnect the SGF.  

1. If the interconnection can be accomplished with minor 
modifications to the utility system, the IC and the utility 
may informally agree upon a plan to effectuate the required 
installations and modifications. The utility shall perform all 
installations and modifications of the utility system and the 
IC shall reimburse the utility for the cost of such 
installations and modifications. The IC shall perform all 
required modifications to its SGF.  

2. Absent an agreement between the parties regarding 
modifications to the utility system, the interconnection 
request will be transferred to the Level 2 process or 
handled according to 20VAC5-314-100 (Disputes) at the 
IC's option. 

D. An IC may begin operation of an SGF when any required 
modifications or additions as provided for in subsection C of 
this section are complete and when the following additional 
requirements are satisfied: ]  

[ 2. 1. ] If required by the utility's tariff, the IC has installed 
a lockable, utility-accessible, load breaking manual 
disconnect switch; 

[ 3. 2. ] A licensed electrician has certified, by signing the 
Interconnection Request Form, that any required manual 
disconnect switch has been installed properly and that the 
small generating facility has been installed in accordance 
with the manufacturer's specifications as well as all 
applicable provisions of the National Electrical Code; 

[ 4. 3. ] The vendor of the SGF has certified on the 
Interconnection Request Form that the SGF equipment is 
in compliance with the requirements established by 
Underwriters Laboratories or other national testing 
laboratories in accordance with IEEE Standard 1547, 
Standard for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with 
Electric Power Systems; 

[ 5. 4. ] In the case of a static inverter-connected SGF with 
an alternating current capacity in excess of 10 kilowatts, 
the IC has had the inverter settings inspected by the utility. 
The utility may not impose a charge for the inspection; 

[ 6. 5. ] In the case of a nonstatic inverter-connected SGF, 
the IC has interconnected according to the utility's 
interconnection guidelines, and the utility has inspected all 
protective equipment settings. The utility may not impose a 
charge for such inspection. 

[ 6. The IC has paid, or has made arrangements satisfactory 
to the utility to pay the cost of the SGF metering pursuant 
to 20VAC5-314-80. ]  

7. [ In the case of an An ] SGF having an alternating 
current capacity greater than 25 kilowatts [ , shall meet ] 
the following [ additional ] requirements [ shall be met ] 
before interconnection may occur: 

a. Distribution facilities and customer impact limitations. 
An SGF shall not be permitted to interconnect to 
distribution facilities if the interconnection would 
reasonably lead to damage to any of the utility's facilities 
or would reasonably lead to voltage regulation or power 
quality problems at other customer revenue meters due to 
the incremental effect of the SGF on the performance of 
the system, unless the IC reimburses the utility for its 
cost to modify any facilities needed to accommodate the 
interconnection [ and such modifications are completed ]. 

b. Secondary, service, and service entrance limitations. 
The capacity of the SGF shall be less than the capacity of 
the utility-owned secondary, service, and service 
entrance cable connected to the point of interconnection, 
unless the IC reimburses the utility for its cost to modify 
any facilities needed to accommodate the interconnection 
[ and such modifications are completed ]. 

c. Transformer loading limitations. The SGF shall not 
have the ability to overload the utility's distribution 
transformer, or any distribution transformer winding, 
beyond manufacturer or nameplate ratings, unless the IC 
reimburses the utility for its cost to modify any facilities 
needed to accommodate the interconnection [ and such 
modifications are completed ]. 

d. Integration with utility's grounding. The grounding 
scheme of the SGF shall comply with the IEEE 1547, 
Standard for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with 
Electric Power Systems, and shall be consistent with the 
grounding scheme used by the utility. If requested by an 
IC, the utility shall assist the IC in selecting a grounding 
scheme that coordinates with its distribution system. 

e. [ Voltage ] Balance limitation. The SGF shall not 
create a voltage imbalance of more than 3.0% at any 
other customer's revenue meter if the utility distribution 
transformer, with the secondary connected to the point of 
interconnection, is a three-phase transformer, unless the 
IC reimburses the utility for its cost to modify any 
facilities needed to accommodate the interconnection 
[ and such modifications are completed ]. 
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[ E. Site control documentation must be submitted with the 
Interconnection Request Form. Any information appearing in 
public records may not be labeled Confidential. (Confidential 
information is discussed in 20VAC5-314-110.) Site control 
may be demonstrated through: 

1. Ownership of, a leasehold interest in, or a right to 
develop a site for the purpose of constructing the SGF; 

2. An option to purchase or acquire a leasehold site for 
such purpose; 

3. An exclusive or other business relationship between the 
IC and the entity having the right to sell, lease, or grant the 
IC the right to possess or occupy a site for such purpose; or 

4. An existing permanent service metered account with the 
utility at the site and in the name of the IC. ]  

[ C. Neither F. Except as otherwise provided herein, 
neither ] the utility nor the [ energy competitive ] service 
provider shall impose any charges upon an IC for any 
interconnection requirements specified by this chapter [ , 
except as may be incurred in providing off-site metering ]. 

[ D. G. ] The IC shall immediately notify the utility of any 
changes in the ownership of, operational responsibility for, or 
contact information for the SGF. 

[ E. H. ] The utility shall not be required to maintain an 
interconnection with an SGF if the SGF or associated 
equipment is found to be out of compliance with the codes, 
standards [ , ] and certifications applicable to the SGF. 

[ I. Any IC that is not able to interconnect under the Level 1 
interconnection process may apply for interconnection under 
the Level 2 process or Level 3 process. ]  

20VAC5-314-50. Levels 1 2 and 2 3 interconnection 
request general requirements. 

A. The interconnection customer shall submit it's a 
completed Levels 2 and 3 Interconnection Request Form 
contained in (Schedule 4 of 20VAC5-314-170 (Schedule 4) to 
the utility, with the processing fee or deposit specified in the 
Interconnection Request Form. The utility shall provide a 
copy of the Interconnection Request Form to the 
commission's Division of Energy Regulation. The 
Interconnection Request Form shall be date- and time-
stamped upon receipt by the utility, which. The date- and 
time-stamp of a completed Interconnection Request Form 
shall be used as the qualifying date- and time-stamp for the 
purposes of any timetable in these procedures. The 
interconnection customer shall be notified of receipt by the 
utility within three business days of receiving the 
interconnection request, which notification may be to an by 
US mail, email address [ , ] or fax number provided by the IC. 

The utility shall notify the interconnection customer within 
10 business days of the receipt of the Interconnection Request 
Form as to whether the Interconnection Request Form is 

complete or incomplete. If the Interconnection Request Form 
is incomplete, the utility shall provide, along with the notice 
that the Interconnection Request Form is incomplete, so 
notify the IC, including a written list detailing all information 
that must be provided to complete the Interconnection 
Request Form. 

The interconnection customer will shall have 10 business 
days after receipt of the notice of incomplete information to 
submit the listed information or to request an extension of 
time to provide such information. If the interconnection 
customer IC does not provide the listed information or a 
request for an extension of time within the deadline, the 
Interconnection Request Form will be deemed withdrawn. An 
Interconnection Request Form will be deemed complete upon 
submission of the listed information to the utility. 

The utility shall provide a copy of the final completed date- 
and time-stamped Interconnection Request Form to the 
commission's Division of Energy Regulation. 

B. Any material modification to machine data or equipment 
configuration or to the interconnection site of the small 
generating facility as specified in the Interconnection Request 
Form but not agreed to in writing by the utility and the 
interconnection customer IC may be deemed a withdrawal of 
the Interconnection Request Form and may require 
submission of a new Interconnection Request Form, unless 
proper notification of each party by the other and a reasonable 
time to cure the problems created by the changes are 
undertaken. 

C. Site control documentation must be submitted with the 
interconnection request Interconnection Request Form. Any 
information appearing in public records may not be labeled 
Confidential. (Confidential information is discussed in 
20VAC5-314-110.) Site control may be demonstrated 
through: 

1. Ownership of, a leasehold interest in, or a right to 
develop a site for the purpose of constructing the small 
generating facility; 

2. An option to purchase or acquire a leasehold site for 
such purpose; 

3. An exclusivity or other business relationship between 
the interconnection customer and the entity having the 
right to sell, lease, or grant the interconnection customer IC 
the right to possess or occupy a site for such purpose. 

[ 4. An existing permanent service metered account with 
the utility at the site and in the name of the IC. ]  

D. The utility shall place interconnection requests in into a 
[ first come, first served first-come, first-served ] order per 
queue that is based on the interconnection's distribution 
feeder and per distribution substation. The queue position 
shall be based upon the date- and time-stamp of the 
completed Interconnection Request Form. The order of each 
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Interconnection Request Form queue position of an 
interconnection request will be used to determine the cost 
responsibility for the necessary upgrades necessary to 
accommodate the interconnection. At the utility's option, 
interconnection requests may be studied serially or in clusters 
for the purpose of the system impact study. 

E. The utility shall not be required to maintain an 
interconnection with an SGF if the SGF or associated 
equipment is found to be out of compliance with the codes, 
standards and certification applicable to the SGF. 

20VAC5-314-60. Level 2 interconnection process. 

A. The Level 2 interconnection process is available to an 
interconnection customer proposing to interconnect a small 
generating facility with the utility's distribution utility system 
if the small generating facility SGF is no larger than 2 MW 
and if the interconnection customer's proposed small 
generating facility does not qualify for the Level 1 process, 
and meets the codes, standards, and certification requirements 
of Schedules 2 and 3 in 20VAC5-314-170. 

B. Within 15 business days after the utility notifies the 
interconnection customer IC it has received a complete 
interconnection request Interconnection Request Form, the 
utility shall perform an initial review using the screens set 
forth below [ (20VAC5-314-60 C or 20VAC5-314-60 D, as 
applicable) ] and shall notify the interconnection customer IC 
of the results [ , ] including copies of the analysis and data 
underlying the utility's determinations under the screens. 

1. The proposed small generating facility's point of 
interconnection must be on a portion of the utility's 
distribution system that is subject to the tariff. 

C. [ Interconnection Screens for interconnections ] to radial 
circuits. 

2. 1. For interconnection of a proposed small generating 
facility to a radial distribution circuit, the aggregated 
generation, including the proposed small generating 
facility, on the circuit shall not exceed 15% of the line 
section's annual peak load as most recently measured at the 
substation or calculated for the line segment section. A line 
section is that portion of a utility's electric system 
distribution circuit connected to a customer that is bounded 
by automatic sectionalizing devices or the end of the 
distribution line circuit. 

3. 2. The proposed small generating facility SGF, in 
aggregation with other generation on the distribution 
circuit, shall not contribute more than 10% to the 
distribution circuit's maximum fault current at the point on 
the distribution feeder feeder's (primary) voltage (primary) 
level that is nearest the proposed point of change of 
ownership interconnection. 

4. 3. The proposed small generating facility SGF, in 
aggregate with other generation on the distribution circuit, 

shall not cause any distribution protective devices and 
equipment (including, but not limited to, substation 
breakers, fuse fused cutouts, and line reclosers), or 
interconnection customer equipment on the system to 
exceed 87.5% of the short circuit interrupting capability; 
nor shall the interconnection be proposed for permitted on 
a circuit that already exceeds where 87.5% of the short 
circuit interrupting capability is already exceeded. 

5. Using 4. For interconnections to the distribution primary 
voltage, use the table below, to determine the acceptable 
type of interconnection to a primary distribution line 
circuit. This screen includes a review of the type of 
electrical service provided to the interconnection customer 
IC, including line configuration and the transformer 
connection, to limit the potential for creating over-voltages 
on the utility's electric power distribution system due to a 
loss of ground during the operating time of any anti-
islanding function. 

 
Primary 

Distribution 
Line Type 

Type of 
Interconnection 

to Primary 
Distribution Line 

Result/Criteria 

  Three-phase, 
three wire 

Three-phase, or 
single phase, 

phase-to-phase 
Pass screen 

  

Three-phase, 
four wire 

Effectively-
grounded three 

phase, or single-
phase, line-to-

neutral 

Pass screen 

6. 5. If the proposed small generating facility is to be 
interconnected on to a single-phase shared secondary, the 
aggregate generation capacity on the shared secondary, 
including the proposed small generating facility SGF, shall 
not exceed 20 kW.  

7. 6. If the proposed small generating facility SGF is 
single-phase and is to be interconnected on a center tap 
neutral of a 240 volt service, its addition shall not create an 
imbalance between the two sides of the 240 volt service of 
more than 20% of the nameplate rating of the service 
transformer. 

8. 7. The small generating facility SGF, in aggregate with 
other generation interconnected to the transmission side of 
a the substation transformer feeding that feeds the 
distribution circuit where the small generating facility SGF 
proposes to interconnect, shall not exceed 10 MW in an 
area where there are known, or posted, transient stability 
limitations to generating units located in the general 
electrical vicinity (e.g., [ within ] three or four transmission 
busses from the point of interconnection). 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3723 

9. 8. No construction of facilities by the utility on its own 
system shall be required to accommodate the small 
generating facility SGF [ , except minor modifications ]. 

C. D. [ Interconnections to ] distribution systems 
[ secondary voltage networks (120 volts to 480 volts) Screens 
for interconnections involving networks ]. 

1. For interconnection of a proposed small generating 
facility to the load side of spot network protectors serving 
more than a single customer, the proposed small generating 
facility SGF must utilize an inverter-based equipment 
package and, together with the aggregated other inverter-
based generation, shall not exceed the smaller of 5.0% of a 
spot network's maximum load or 300 kW. For spot 
networks serving a single customer, the small generating 
facility SGF must use an inverter-based equipment 
package and either meet the requirements above, or shall 
use a protection scheme, or operate the generator so as not 
to exceed on-site load or otherwise prevent nuisance 
operation of the spot network protectors. 

2. For interconnection of a proposed small generating 
facility an SGF to the load side of area network protectors, 
the proposed small generating facility SGF must utilize an 
inverter-based equipment package and, together with the 
aggregated other inverter-based generation, shall not 
exceed the smaller of 10% of an area network's minimum 
load, or 500 kW. 

[ 3. If the SGF is single-phase, the IC's load net of 
generation on each phase shall not create an imbalance 
between the phases of a polyphase service, or if applicable, 
between each leg of single-phase service. 

4. For interconnection of an SGF to a distribution circuit in 
an area where there are known or posted transient stability 
limitations to generating units located in the general 
electrical vicinity (e.g., within three or four transmission 
busses from the point of interconnection), the SGF, in 
aggregate with generation interconnected to the 
transmission side of the substation transformer that feeds 
the distribution circuit, shall not exceed the following 
limits: 

a. For a distribution circuit that supplies only secondary 
voltage networks, 30% of the distribution circuit's load. 

b. For a distribution circuit not exclusively supplying 
secondary networks, 10 MW. 

5. For interconnection of an SGF to the line side of 
network protectors: 

a. For a distribution circuit that supplies only secondary 
networks, the interconnection fails the screen.  

b. For a distribution circuit not exclusively supplying 
secondary networks, the interconnections shall be 
evaluated in accordance with 20VAC5-314-60 C. 

6. No construction of facilities by the utility on its own 
system shall be required to accommodate the SGF. ]  

[ 3. 7. ] Notwithstanding subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
subsection, each utility may incorporate into its 
interconnection standards any change in interconnection 
guidelines related to networks pursuant to standards 
developed under IEEE 1547 for interconnections to 
networks. To the extent the any new IEEE standards 
conflict with this chapter, in particular IEEE 1547, the new 
standards shall apply. In addition, and with the consent of 
the utility, a small generating facility may be 
interconnected consent shall not be unreasonably withheld 
from an SGF interconnecting to a spot or area network 
provided the facility SGF utilizes a protection scheme that 
will prevent any power export from the customer's IC's site 
including inadvertent export under fault conditions or, and 
otherwise prevent nuisance operation of the network 
protectors. 

D. E. If the proposed interconnection passes the screens, the 
interconnection request shall be approved and the utility will 
provide the interconnection customer an executable 
interconnection agreement within 10 five business days after 
the determination. 

E. F. If the proposed interconnection fails any screens, but 
the utility determines that the small generating facility may 
nevertheless be interconnected consistent with safety, 
reliability, and power quality standards, the utility shall 
provide the interconnection customer IC an executable 
interconnection agreement within five business days after the 
determination.  

F. G. If the proposed interconnection fails the any screens, 
but the utility does not or cannot determine from the initial 
review that the small generating facility SGF may 
nevertheless be interconnected consistent with safety, 
reliability, and power quality standards, unless the 
interconnection customer IC is willing to consider minor 
modifications or further study, the utility shall provide the 
interconnection customer IC with the opportunity to attend a 
customer options meeting. 

G. H. If the utility determines [ that ] the Interconnection 
Request Form interconnection cannot be approved without 
minor modifications at minimal cost; a supplemental [ study 
review ] or other [ additional ] studies or actions; or 
[ modifications or installations ] at significant cost to address 
safety, reliability, or power quality problems, within the five 
business day period after the determination, the utility shall 
notify the interconnection customer IC and provide copies of 
the data and analyses underlying its conclusion within five 
business days after determination. Within 10 business days of 
the utility's determination, the utility shall offer to convene a 
customer options meeting with the utility to review possible 
interconnection customer IC facility modifications, or the 
screen analysis and related results, to determine what further 
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steps are needed to permit the small generating facility SGF 
to be connected safely and reliably. At the time of notification 
of the utility's determination, or at the customer options 
meeting, the utility shall:  

1. Offer to perform facility modifications or minor 
modifications to the [ utility's electric utility ] system (e.g., 
changing meters, fuses, [ and ] relay settings) and provide a 
nonbinding good faith an estimate of the limited cost to 
make such modifications to the [ utility's electric utility ] 
system; 

2. Offer to perform a supplemental review if the utility 
concludes that the supplemental review might determine 
that the small generating facility SGF could continue to 
qualify for interconnection pursuant to the fast track Level 
2 process, and provide a nonbinding good faith an estimate 
of the costs and time of such review; or  

3. Obtain the interconnection customer's agreement Offer 
to continue evaluating the interconnection request, but 
under the Level 3 study interconnection process.  

H. I. Supplemental review. If the interconnection customer 
agrees to a supplemental review, is offered to the 
interconnection customer shall agree in writing within 15 
business days of the offer and submit a deposit for the 
estimated costs provided in subdivision G 2 of this section 
and the IC agrees to the supplemental review, the utility shall, 
within 10 business days of the request, provide to the IC an 
appropriate supplemental review agreement. To maintain its 
position in the utility's interconnection queue, the IC must 
execute the supplemental review agreement and return it to 
the utility, along with a deposit for the estimated cost of the 
supplemental review, within 15 business days after receipt of 
the agreement. If the IC fails to return the executed 
supplemental review agreement along with the deposit within 
15 business days after receipt, the interconnection request 
shall be deemed withdrawn and shall lose its place in the 
utility's interconnection queue. 

The interconnection customer IC shall be responsible for the 
utility's actual costs for of conducting the supplemental 
review. The interconnection customer IC shall pay any review 
costs that exceed the deposit within 20 30 business days of 
receipt of the invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the 
deposit exceeds the invoiced costs, the utility will return such 
excess within 20 30 business days of the invoice without 
interest. 

Within 10 business days following receipt of the 
supplemental review agreement and deposit for a 
supplemental review, the utility will determine if the small 
generating facility SGF can be interconnected safely and 
reliably. 

1. If so, and if the supplemental review reveals that no 
[ modification modifications ] are required to the 
[ customer's IC's ] interconnection facilities, or to the 

system, or to an affected system, the utility shall forward 
an executable [ interconnection agreement SGIA ] to the 
interconnection customer within five business days after 
the determination. 

2. If so, and interconnection customer facility [ the 
customer's interconnection facilities ] modifications are 
required to [ the IC's interconnection facilities that ] allow 
the small generating facility SGF to be interconnected 
consistent with safety, reliability, and power quality 
standards under these procedures, the utility shall forward 
an executable [ interconnection agreement SGIA ] to the 
interconnection customer IC within five business days after 
confirmation that the interconnection customer IC has 
agreed to make the necessary changes at the 
interconnection customer's IC's cost. 

3. If so, and minor modifications to the [ utility's electric 
utility ] system are required to allow the small generating 
facility SGF to be interconnected consistent with safety, 
reliability, and power quality standards under [ the Level 2 
process these procedures ], the utility shall [ , within 10 
business days after the determination, ] forward an 
executable [ interconnection agreement SGIA ] to the 
interconnection customer IC [ within 10 business days after 
the determination ] that requires the interconnection 
customer IC to pay the costs of such system modifications 
prior to interconnection. 

4. If not, the interconnection request will continue to be 
evaluated under elevated to the Level 3 study 
interconnection process. 

[ Interconnection may occur when, as may be required under 
the applicable subdivisions 1, 2, or 3 of this subsection, the 
SGIA is fully executed and returned to the utility, the IC has 
made required payments to the utility, and required 
modifications are complete. If subdivision I 4 of this section 
is applicable, interconnection shall occur in accordance with 
the Level 3 interconnection process. 

J. Small generating facilities of 500 kW or less. For an SGF 
of 500 kW or less, the requirements in this section shall be 
deemed satisfied when: (i) an Interconnection Request Form 
as required under 20VAC5-314-40 B is properly completed 
and all of the certifications and acknowledgements required 
in Sections 5, 6, and 7 of the Interconnection Request Form 
are affixed and (ii) the IC and the utility have exchanged 
appropriate written commitments to effect the necessary 
installations and modifications to the SGF and the utility 
system. The timing of such commitments shall follow the 
timing prescribed in this section. ]  

20VAC5-314-70. Level 3 interconnection process. 

A. The Level 3 interconnection process shall be used by an 
IC interconnection customer proposing to interconnect a 
small generating facility with the utility's distribution utility 
system if the small generating facility SGF is (i) larger than 2 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3725 

MW but no larger than 20 MW, (ii) not certified, or (iii) 
certified but did and does not pass or qualify for the Level 1 
or Level 2 interconnection process processes. A study process 
consisting of As needed, a scoping meeting, feasibility study, 
system impact study, and facilities study shall precede the 
preparation of an interconnection agreement a Small 
Generator Interconnection Agreement (Schedule 6 of 
20VAC5-314-170). Feasibility studies, scoping studies, and 
facility Any of the studies may be combined for simpler 
projects by mutual agreement of the utility and the parties. 

B. Scoping study meeting. 

1. A scoping meeting will be held within 10 business days 
after the interconnection request Interconnection Request 
Form is deemed complete, or as otherwise mutually agreed 
to by the parties. The utility and the interconnection 
customer IC shall bring to the meeting personnel, including 
system engineers and other resources as may be reasonably 
required to accomplish the purpose of the meeting. 

2. The purpose of the scoping meeting is to discuss the 
interconnection request. The parties shall further discuss 
whether the utility should perform a feasibility study or 
proceed directly to a system impact study, or a facilities 
study, or an interconnection agreement the studies and the 
cost responsibilities for the studies. If the parties agree that 
a feasibility study should be performed, the utility shall 
provide the interconnection customer, as soon as possible, 
but not later than five business days after the scoping 
meeting, a feasibility study agreement including an outline 
of the scope of the study and a nonbinding good faith 
estimate of the cost to perform the study. 

3. The scoping meeting may be omitted by mutual 
agreement. In order to remain in consideration for 
interconnection, an interconnection customer who has 
requested a feasibility study must return the executed 
feasibility study agreement within 15 business days. If the 
parties agree not to perform a feasibility study, the utility 
shall provide the interconnection customer, no later than 
five business days after the scoping meeting, a system 
impact study agreement including an outline of the scope 
of the study and a nonbinding good faith estimate of the 
cost to perform the study. 

C. Feasibility study. 

1. If the parties agree that a feasibility study should be 
performed, the utility shall provide the IC with a feasibility 
study agreement, including an outline of the scope of the 
feasibility study and an estimate of the cost to perform the 
study no later than five business days after the scoping 
meeting or five business days after the decision is made to 
not have a scoping meeting [ and otherwise pursuant to 
subsection D of this section ]. 

If the parties agree to not perform a feasibility study, the 
utility shall provide the IC a system impact study 

agreement including an outline of the scope of the study 
and an estimate of the cost to perform the study no later 
than five business days after the scoping meeting, or five 
business days after the decision is made to not have a 
scoping meeting. 

2. To maintain its position in the utility's interconnection 
queue, the IC must execute the feasibility study agreement 
and return it to the utility along with the deposit for the 
feasibility study within 15 business days after receipt of the 
agreement. If the IC fails to return the executed feasibility 
study agreement along with the deposit within 15 business 
days after receipt of the agreement, the interconnection 
request shall be deemed withdrawn and the interconnection 
request shall lose its place in the utility's interconnection 
queue. 

1. 3. A feasibility study shall identify any potential adverse 
system impacts that would result from the interconnection 
of the small generating facility SGF. 

2. 4. A deposit of the lesser of no more than 50% of the 
good faith estimated feasibility study costs or earnest 
money of $1,000 may be required from the interconnection 
customer. 

a. Any study fees Study costs shall be based on the 
distribution company's utility's actual incremental costs 
and will be invoiced to the interconnection customer IC 
after the study is completed and delivered and will 
include a summary of professional time. 

b. The interconnection customer must IC shall pay any 
study costs that exceed the deposit without interest within 
30 calendar days on receipt of the invoice or resolution of 
any dispute. If the deposit exceeds the invoiced fees, the 
distribution company utility shall refund such excess 
within 30 calendar days of the invoice without interest. 

3. 5. The feasibility study shall be based on the technical 
information provided by the interconnection customer IC 
in the interconnection request Interconnection Request 
Form, as may be modified as the result of the scoping 
meeting. The distribution company utility reserves the right 
to request additional technical information from the 
interconnection customer IC as may reasonably become 
necessary consistent with Good Utility Practice during the 
course of the feasibility study and as designated in 
accordance with the standard small generator 
interconnection procedures. All modification made to the 
interconnection request shall be made in writing to the 
utility. If the interconnection customer modifies its 
interconnection request, the time to complete the feasibility 
study may be extended by agreement of the parties. 

4. 6. In performing the feasibility study, the distribution 
company utility shall rely, to the extent reasonably 
practicable, on recent studies. The interconnection 
customer IC shall not be charged for such existing studies; 
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however, the interconnection customer IC shall be 
responsible for charges associated with any new study or 
modifications to existing studies that are reasonably 
necessary to perform the feasibility study. 

5. 7. The feasibility study report shall provide the 
following analyses for the purpose of identifying any 
potential adverse system impacts that would result from the 
interconnection of the small generating facility as proposed 
SGF: 

a. Initial identification of any circuit breaker short circuit 
capability limits exceeded as a result of the 
interconnection; 

b. Initial identification of any thermal overload or voltage 
limit violations resulting from the interconnection; 

c. Initial review of grounding requirements and electric 
system protection; and 

d. Description and nonbonding estimated cost of facilities 
and estimated construction time required to interconnect 
the proposed small generating facility SGF and to 
address the identified short circuit and power flow issues. 

6. 8. The feasibility study shall model the impact of the 
small generating facility regardless of purpose SGF for all 
purposes identified in the Interconnection Request Form in 
order to avoid the further expense and interruption of 
operation for reexamination of feasibility and impacts if 
the interconnection customer IC later changes the purpose 
for which the small generating facility SGF is being 
installed. 

7. 9. The feasibility study shall include the feasibility of 
any interconnection at a proposed project site where there 
could be multiple all potential points of interconnection, as 
requested by the interconnection customer IC and at the 
interconnection customer's IC's cost. 

8. Once the feasibility study is completed, a 10. A 
feasibility study report shall be prepared and transmitted to 
the interconnection customer. Barring unusual 
circumstances, the feasibility study must be completed and 
the feasibility study report transmitted IC within 30 
business days of the interconnection customer's agreement 
to conduct a feasibility study utility's receipt of the 
complete executed feasibility study agreement and required 
deposit. 

9. 11. If the feasibility study shows no potential for adverse 
system impacts, then within five business days the utility 
shall send the interconnection customer IC either an 
executable Small Generator Interconnection Agreement 
(Schedule 5, 20VAC5-314-170) or a facilities study 
agreement, including an outline of the scope of the study 
and a nonbinding good faith an estimate of the cost to 
perform the study. 

10. 12. If the feasibility study shows the potential for 
adverse system impacts, the review process shall proceed 
to the appropriate system impact study or studies. 

D. System impact study. 

1. No later than five business days after the parties agree 
that a system impact study should be performed, the utility 
shall provide the IC a system impact study agreement 
including an outline of the scope of the system impact 
study and an estimate of the cost to perform the study.  

2. To maintain its position in the utility's interconnection 
queue, the IC must execute the system impact study 
agreement and return it to the utility along with the deposit 
for the system impact study within 15 business days after 
receipt of the agreement. If the IC fails to return the 
executed system impact study agreement along with the 
deposit within 15 business days after receipt of the 
agreement, the interconnection request shall be deemed 
withdrawn and the interconnection request shall lose its 
place in the utility's interconnection queue. 

3. A deposit equal to the estimated cost of a system impact 
study may be required from the IC. 

a. Study cost shall be the utility's actual incremental costs 
and will be invoiced to the IC after the study is 
completed and delivered and will include a summary of 
professional time. 

b. The IC shall pay any study costs that exceed the 
deposit within 30 calendar days on receipt of the invoice 
or resolution of any dispute. If the deposit exceeds the 
invoiced fees, the utility shall refund the excess within 30 
calendar days of the invoice without interest. 

1. 4. A system impact study shall identify and detail the 
electric system impacts that would result if the proposed 
small generating facility SGF were interconnected without 
project modifications or electric system modifications, 
focusing on the adverse electric system impacts identified 
in the feasibility study, or to study potential impacts, 
including but not limited to those identified in the scoping 
meeting. A system impact study shall evaluate the impact 
of the proposed interconnection on the reliability of the 
electric system. 

2. 5. A system impact study will be based upon the results 
of the feasibility study and the technical information 
provided by the interconnection customer in the 
interconnection request. The distribution company utility 
reserves the right to request additional technical 
information from the interconnection customer IC as may 
reasonably become necessary consistent with Good Utility 
Practice during the course of the system impact study. If 
the interconnection customer IC modifies its designated 
point of interconnection, or interconnection request, or the 
technical information provided therein is modified, the 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3727 

time to complete the system impact study may be 
extended. 

3. 6. A system impact study shall consist of a study of the 
potentially impacted transmission and distribution systems, 
a short circuit analysis, a stability analysis, a power flow 
analysis, voltage drop and flicker studies, protection and 
set point coordination studies, and grounding reviews, 
distribution load flow study, analysis of equipment 
interrupting ratings, protection coordination study, and 
impacts on electric system operation, as necessary. A 
system impact study shall state the assumptions upon 
which it is based, state the results of the analyses, and 
provide the requirement or potential impediments to 
providing the requested interconnection service, including 
a preliminary indication of the cost and length of time that 
would be necessary to correct any problems identified in 
those analyses and implement the interconnection. A 
system impact study shall provide a list of facilities and 
modifications that are would be required as a result of the 
interconnection request and nonbinding good faith along 
with estimates of cost responsibility and time to construct. 
If arranged with the utility prior to the utility preparing the 
system impact study agreement, the system impact study 
may, at the IC's cost, include one or more alternatives to 
the point of interconnection; however, such alternative 
points must be on the same distribution circuit as the point 
of interconnection the IC specified as the proposed point of 
interconnection.  

4. A distribution system impact study shall incorporate a 
distribution load flow study, an analysis of equipment 
interrupting ratings, protection coordination study, voltage 
drop and flicker studies, protection and set point 
coordination studies, grounding reviews, and the impact on 
electric system operation, as necessary. 

5. 7. Affected systems may participate in the preparation of 
a system impact study, with a division of costs among such 
entities as they may agree. All affected systems shall be 
afforded an opportunity to review and comment upon a 
system impact study that covers potential adverse system 
impacts on their electric systems, and the distribution 
company utility has 20 additional business days to 
complete a system impact study requiring review by 
affected systems. 

6. 8. If the utility uses a queuing procedure for sorting or 
prioritizing projects and their associated cost 
responsibilities for any required network upgrades, the 
system impact study shall consider all generating facilities 
(and with respect to clause iii below, any identified 
upgrades associated with such higher queued 
interconnection) that, on the date the system impact study 
is commenced are: (i) directly interconnected with the 
distribution company's electric utility system; or (ii) 
interconnected with affected systems and may have an 

impact on the proposed interconnection; and (iii) have a 
pending higher queued interconnection request to 
interconnect with the utility's electric utility system. 

7. 9. A distribution system impact study, if required, shall 
be completed and the results transmitted to the 
interconnection customer IC within 30 45 business days 
after an agreement is signed by the parties. A transmission 
system impact study, if required, shall be completed and 
the results transmitted to the interconnection customer 
within 45 business days after an agreement is signed by the 
parties, or in accordance with the utility's queuing 
procedures. 

8. A deposit of the equivalent of the good faith estimated 
cost of a distribution system impact study and one-half of 
the good faith estimated cost of a transmission system 
impact study may be required from the interconnection 
customer. 

9. Any study fees shall be based on the utility's actual costs 
and will be invoiced to the interconnection customer after 
the study is completed and delivered and will include a 
summary of professional time. 

10. The interconnection customer shall pay any study costs 
that exceed the deposit within 30 calendar days on receipt 
of the invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the deposit 
exceeds the invoiced fees, the utility shall refund such 
excess within 30 calendar days of the invoice. Interest shall 
not apply. 

11. If no transmission system impact study is required, 
adverse distribution system impacts are identified in the 
scoping meeting or shown in the feasibility study, a 
distribution system impact study shall be performed. The 
utility shall send the interconnection customer a 
distribution system impact study agreement within 15 
business days of transmittal of the feasibility study report, 
including an outline of the scope of the study and a 
nonbinding good faith estimate of the cost to perform the 
study, or following the scoping meeting if no feasibility 
study is to be performed. 

12. In instances where the feasibility study or the 
distribution system impact study shows potential for 
transmission system adverse system impacts, within five 
business days following transmittal of the feasibility study 
report, the utility shall send the interconnection customer a 
transmission system impact study agreement, including an 
outline of the scope of the study and a nonbinding good 
faith estimate of the cost to perform the study, if such a 
study is required. 

13. If a transmission system impact study is not required, 
but adverse distribution system impacts are shown by the 
feasibility study to be possible and no distribution system 
impact study has been conducted, the utility shall send the 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2009 

3728 

interconnection customer a distribution system impact 
study agreement. 

14. If the feasibility study shows no potential for 
transmission system or distribution system adverse 
impacts, the utility shall send the interconnection customer 
either an executable Small Generator Interconnection 
Agreement (SGIA) included in this chapter as Schedule 5 
in 20VAC5-314-170, or a facilities study agreement, 
including an outline of the scope of the study and a 
nonbinding good faith estimate of the cost to perform the 
study, as applicable. 

15. In order to remain under consideration for 
interconnection, the interconnection customer shall return 
executed system impact study agreements, if applicable, 
within 30 business days. 

10. If the system impact study shows that facility 
modifications are needed to accommodate the SGF, then 
within five business days following transmittal of the 
system impact study report, the utility shall send the IC a 
facilities study agreement, including an outline of the 
scope of the study and an estimate of the cost to perform 
the study. 

E. Facilities study. 

1. Once the required system impact study (or studies) is 
completed, a system impact study report shall be prepared 
and transmitted to the interconnection customer along with 
a facilities study agreement within five business days, 
including an outline of the scope of the study and a 
nonbinding good faith estimate of the cost to perform the 
facilities study. In the case where one or both impact 
studies are determined to be unnecessary, a notice of the 
fact shall be transmitted to the interconnection customer 
within the same timeframe. The facilities study shall 
specify and estimate the cost of the equipment, 
engineering, procurement, and construction work needed to 
implement the conclusion of the feasibility and/or system 
impact study and to allow SGF to be interconnected and 
operate safely and reliably. 

2. In order to remain under consideration for 
interconnection, or, as appropriate, in the utility's 
interconnection queue, the interconnection customer shall 
provide the following information, or a request for an 
extension of time within 30 business days, and the facilities 
study shall be based on the responses of the IC to the 
following queries: 

a. Provide a location plan and simplified one-line 
diagram of the plant and station facilities. For staged 
projects, please indicate future generation, transmission 
circuits, etc. On the one-line diagram, indicate the 
generation capacity attached at each metering location. 
(Maximum load on CT (current transformer)/PT (partial 
transformer) On the one-line diagram, indicate the 

location of auxiliary power. (Minimum load on CT/PT) 
Amps 

b. One set of metering is required for each generation 
connection to the new ring bus or existing distribution 
company station.  

Number of generation connections: 
_____________________ 

c. Will an alternate source of auxiliary power be 
available during CT/PT maintenance?  

Yes ___________ No ___________ 

d. Will a transfer bus on the generation side of the 
metering require that each meter set be designed for the 
total plant generation? 

Yes ___________ No ___________ (Please indicate on 
the one-line diagram). 

e. What type of control system or Programmable Logic 
Controller (PLC) will be located at the small generating 
facility? 

______________________________________________ 

f. What protocol does the control system or PLC use? 

______________________________________________ 

g. Provide a 7.5-minute quadrangle map of the site. 
Indicate the plant, station, transmission line, and property 
lines.  

h. Physical dimensions of the proposed interconnection 
station: 
______________________________________________ 

i. Bus length from generation to interconnection station: 
______________________________ 

j. Line length from interconnection station to utility's 
transmission system. 
________________________________________ 

k. Tower number observed in the field. (Painted on tower 
leg)*: 
______________________________________________ 

l. Number of third party easements required for 
transmission lines*: 
_____________________________________________ 

*To be completed in coordination with distribution 
company. 

m. Is the small generating facility located in utility's 
service area?Yes ___________ No___________; 

If No, please provide name of local provider: 

______________________________________________ 
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n. Please provide the following proposed schedule dates: 

Begin Construction 
Date:____________________________ 

Generator step-up transformers receive back feed power 
date: ___________________ 

Generation Testing 
Date:____________________________ 

Commercial Operation 
Date:_________________________ 

3. The facilities study shall specify and estimate the cost of 
the equipment, engineering, procurement, and construction 
work (including overheads) needed to implement the 
conclusions of the system impact study or studies. 

4. A deposit of the good faith estimated facilities study 
costs may be required from the interconnection customer. 

5. Any study fees shall be based on the distribution 
company's actual costs and will be invoiced to the 
interconnection customer after the study is completed and 
delivered and will include a summary of professional time. 

6. The interconnection customer shall pay any study costs 
that exceed the deposit within 30 calendar days on receipt 
of the invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the deposit 
exceeds the invoiced fees, the distribution company shall 
refund such excess within 30 calendar days of the invoice. 
Interest shall not apply. 

2. To maintain its position in the utility's interconnection 
queue, the IC must execute the facilities study agreement 
and return it to the utility along with a completed Facilities 
Study Information Form (Schedule 5, 20VAC5-314-170) 
and deposit for the facilities study within 30 business days 
after receipt of the agreement, unless an extension has been 
agreed to with the utility. Otherwise, the interconnection 
request shall be deemed withdrawn and the interconnection 
request shall lose its place in the utility's interconnection 
queue. 

3. A deposit equal to the estimated cost of a facilities study 
may be required from the IC. 

a. Study cost shall be the utility's actual incremental costs 
and will be invoiced to the IC after the study is 
completed and delivered and will include a summary of 
professional time. 

b. The IC shall pay any study costs that exceed the 
deposit within 30 calendar days after receipt of the 
invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the deposit 
exceeds the invoiced fees, the utility shall refund the 
excess within 30 calendar days of the invoice without 
interest. 

7. 4. Design for any required customer's interconnection 
facilities, attachment facilities, and/or upgrades shall be 

performed under the facilities study agreement. The utility 
may contract with consultants to perform activities 
required under the facilities study agreement. The 
interconnection customer IC and the utility may agree to 
allow the interconnection customer IC to separately 
arrange for the design of some of the customer's 
interconnection facilities. In such cases, facilities design 
will be reviewed and/or modified prior to acceptance by 
the utility, under the provisions of the facilities study 
agreement. If the parties agree to separately arrange for 
design and construction, and provided security and 
confidentiality requirements can be met, the utility shall 
make sufficient information available to the 
interconnection customer IC in accordance with 
confidentiality and critical infrastructure requirements, to 
permit the interconnection customer IC to obtain an 
independent design and cost estimate for any necessary 
facilities.  

8. 5. The facilities study shall specify and estimate the cost 
of the equipment, engineering, procurement and 
construction work (including overheads) needed to 
implement the conclusions of the system impact study or 
studies. The facilities study shall also identify (i) the 
electrical switching configuration of the equipment, 
including, without limitation, transformer, switchgear, 
meters, and other station equipment, (ii) the nature and 
estimated cost of the utility's interconnection attachment 
facilities and distribution upgrades necessary to accomplish 
the interconnection, and (iii) an estimate of the time 
required to complete the construction and installation of 
such facilities. 

9. 6. The utility may propose to group facilities required 
for more than one interconnection customer IC in order to 
minimize facilities costs through economies of scale, but 
any interconnection customer IC may require the 
installation of facilities required for its own small 
generating facility if it is willing to pay pays the costs of 
those facilities. 

10. Once the facilities study is completed, a facilities study 
report shall be prepared and transmitted to the 
interconnection customer. Barring unusual circumstances, 
the facilities study must be completed and the facilities 
study report transmitted within 30 business days of the 
interconnection customer's agreement to conduct a 
facilities study 11. In cases where upgrades are required, 
the facilities study must be completed within 45 business 
days of the receipt of this facilities study agreement. In 
cases where no upgrades are necessary, and the required 
facilities are limited to interconnection facilities, the 
facilities study must be completed within 30 business days. 

7. In cases where system upgrades are required, the utility 
shall transmit the facilities study report within 45 business 
days after receipt of the complete facilities study 
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agreement, Facilities Study Information Form, and the 
deposit. In cases where no system upgrades are necessary, 
and the required facilities are limited to customer's 
interconnection facilities and attachment facilities only, the 
utility shall transmit the facilities study report within 30 
business days after receipt of the complete facilities study 
agreement, Facilities Study Information Form and the 
deposit. 

F. Interconnection agreement Small Generator 
Interconnection Agreement. 

1. Upon completion of the facilities study, and with the 
agreement of the interconnection customer to pay for 
interconnection facilities and upgrades identified in the 
facilities study, the utility shall provide the interconnection 
customer an executable SGIA within five business days 
Within five business days after transmittal of the final 
study (i.e. the facilities study, or if applicable, a combined 
study that satisfies all study requirements), the utility shall 
provide the interconnection customer an executable SGIA 
(Schedule 6, 20VAC5-314-170). 

2. After receiving an interconnection agreement the SGIA 
from the utility, the interconnection customer IC shall have 
30 business days or another mutually agreeable time frame 
deadline, to sign and return the interconnection agreement, 
or request that the utility file an unexecuted 
interconnection agreement with the commission SGIA. If 
the interconnection customer IC does not sign return the 
interconnection agreement, or ask that it be filed 
unexecuted by the utility within 30 business days SGIA 
within the deadline, the interconnection request shall be 
deemed withdrawn and the IC shall lose its place in the 
utility's queue. After the interconnection agreement SGIA 
is signed by the parties, the interconnection of the small 
generating facility SGF shall proceed under the provisions 
of the SGIA. 

20VAC5-314-80. Interconnection metering. 

Any metering [ , including telemetering, ] necessitated by 
the use of the small generating facility [ and any additional 
utility metering requested by the interconnection customer 
and agreed to by the utility ] shall be [ installed provided by 
the utility ] at the [ interconnection customer's IC's ] expense 
in accordance with commission requirements or the utility's 
specifications. [ The IC shall be responsible for the utility's 
reasonable and necessary cost for the purchase, installation, 
operation, maintenance, testing, repair, and replacement of 
metering and telemetering equipment. ]  

20VAC5-314-90. Commissioning tests. 

Commissioning tests of the interconnection customer's 
installed equipment shall be performed pursuant to applicable 
codes and standards, including IEEE 1547.1 2005 "IEEE 
Standard Conformance Test Procedures for Equipment 
Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric Power 

Systems." The utility shall be given at least five business days 
written notice, or notice as otherwise mutually agreed to by 
the parties, of the tests and may the utility shall be allowed to 
be present to witness the commissioning tests. The utility 
shall not be compensated by the interconnection customer IC 
for its expense in witnessing Level 2 and Level 3 
commissioning tests. 

20VAC5-314-100. Disputes. 

A. The parties agree to attempt to resolve all disputes arising 
out of the interconnection process according to the provisions 
of this section. 

B. In the event of a dispute, either party shall provide the 
other party with a written notice of dispute. The notice shall 
describe in detail the nature of the dispute. If the dispute has 
not been resolved within five business days after receipt of 
the notice, either party may contact a mutually agreed upon 
third party dispute resolution service for assistance in 
resolving the dispute The parties shall make a good faith 
effort to resolve the dispute informally within 10 business 
days. 

C. If the dispute has not been resolved within 10 business 
days after receipt of the notice, either party may seek 
resolution assistance from the commission’s Division of 
Energy Regulation where the matter will be handled as an 
informal complaint. [ If that process is unsatisfactory, either 
party may petition the commission to handle the dispute as a 
formal complaint. ]  

Alternatively, the parties may [ , upon mutual agreement, ] 
seek resolution through the assistance of a dispute resolution 
service. The dispute resolution service will assist the parties 
in either resolving the dispute or in selecting an appropriate 
dispute resolution venue (e.g., mediation, settlement judge, 
early neutral evaluation, or technical expert) to assist the 
parties in resolving their dispute. Each party [ agrees to shall ] 
conduct all negotiations in good faith and [ will shall ] be 
responsible for [ one half one-half ] of any costs paid to 
neutral third parties. 

D. Each party agrees to conduct all negotiations in good 
faith and will be responsible for 1/2 of any costs paid to 
neutral third parties. 

E. D. If neither party elects to seek assistance from the 
dispute resolution service, or if the [ attempted dispute 
resolution fails to satisfy one or both of the parties, then the 
dispute remains unresolved ] either party may [ petition the 
commission to handle the dispute as a formal complaint or 
may ] exercise whatever rights and remedies it may have in 
equity or law [ consistent with the terms of the ] agreements 
between the parties or it may seek resolution at the 
commission [ agreement ]. 
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20VAC5-314-110. Confidential information. 

A. Confidential information shall mean any confidential 
and/or proprietary information provided by one party to the 
other party that is clearly marked or otherwise designated 
"Confidential." All design, operating specifications, and 
metering data provided by the interconnection customer IC 
shall be deemed confidential information regardless of 
whether it is clearly marked or otherwise designated as such. 

B. Confidential information does not include information 
previously in the public domain, required to be publicly 
submitted or divulged by governmental authorities (after 
notice to the other party and after exhausting any opportunity 
to oppose such publication or release), or necessary to be 
divulged in an action to enforce an agreement between the 
parties. Each party receiving confidential information shall 
hold such information in confidence and shall not disclose it 
to any third party nor to the public without the prior written 
authorization from the party providing that information, 
except to fulfill obligations under agreements between the 
parties, or to fulfill legal or regulatory requirements. 

1. Each party shall employ at least the same standard of 
care to protect confidential information obtained from the 
other party as it employs to protect its own confidential 
information. 

2. Each party is entitled to equitable relief, by injunction or 
otherwise, to enforce its rights under this section to prevent 
the release of confidential information without bond or 
proof of damages, and may seek other remedies available 
at law or in equity for breach of this provision. 

C. Notwithstanding anything in this chapter to the contrary, 
if the commission, during the course of an investigation or 
otherwise, requests information from one of the parties that is 
otherwise required to be maintained in confidence, the party 
shall provide the requested information to the commission, 
within the time provided for in the request for information. In 
providing the information to the commission, the party may 
request that the information be treated as confidential and 
nonpublic by the commission and that the information be 
withheld from public disclosure. Parties are prohibited from 
notifying the other party prior to the release of the 
confidential information to the commission. The party shall 
notify the other party when it is notified by the commission 
that a request to release confidential information has been 
received by the commission, at which time either of the 
parties may respond before such information would be made 
public. [ A party shall notify the other party when it is 
notified by the commission that a request to release 
confidential information has been received by the 
commission, at which time either party may respond to the 
commission before such information would be made public. ]  

20VAC5-314-120. Comparability Equal treatment. 

The utility shall receive, process, and analyze all 
interconnection requests in a timely manner as set forth in this 
chapter. The utility shall use the same reasonable efforts in 
processing and analyzing interconnection requests from all 
Interconnection customers, whether the small generating 
facility SGF is owned or operated by the utility, its 
subsidiaries or affiliates, or others. 

20VAC5-314-130. Record retention. 

The utility shall maintain, subject to audit, records for three 
years of (i) all interconnection requests received pursuant to 
this chapter, (ii) the times required to complete 
interconnection request approvals and disapprovals, and (iii) 
justification for the actions taken on the interconnection 
requests. 

20VAC5-314-140. Coordination with affected systems. 

The utility shall coordinate the conduct of any studies 
required to determine the impact of the interconnection 
request small generating facility on affected systems with 
affected system operators and, if possible, include those 
results (if available) in its applicable interconnection study 
studies within the time frame specified in this chapter. The 
utility will include such affected system operators in all 
meetings held with the interconnection customer IC as 
required by this chapter. The interconnection customer IC 
shall cooperate with the utility in all matters related to the 
conduct of studies and the determination of modifications to 
affected systems. A utility which that may be an affected 
system shall cooperate with the utility with whom which 
interconnection has been requested in all matters related to 
the conduct of studies and the determination of modifications 
to affected systems. The utility owning or operating the 
system to which the IC desires to interconnect shall not be 
held responsible or liable for any delays in the 
interconnection process attributable to the lack of information 
or cooperation from the owners or operators of affected 
systems. 

20VAC5-314-150. Capacity of the small generating 
facility. 

A. If the interconnection request is for an increase in 
capacity for an existing small generating facility, the 
interconnection request shall be evaluated on the basis of the 
new total capacity of the small generating facility SGF. 

B. If the interconnection request is for a small generating 
facility SGF that includes multiple energy production devices 
at a site for which the interconnection customer seeks a single 
point of interconnection, the interconnection request shall be 
evaluated on the basis of the aggregate capacity of the 
multiple devices. 

C. The interconnection request shall be evaluated using the 
maximum rated capacity of the small generating facility SGF. 
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20VAC5-314-160. Insurance. 

A. For systems of 500 kW or less a small generating facility 
with a rated capacity not exceeding 10 kW, the IC, at its own 
expense, shall secure and maintain in effect during the term of 
the agreement liability insurance with a combined single limit 
for bodily injury and property damage of not less than 
$300,000 $100,000 for each occurrence. 

For an SGF with a rated capacity exceeding 10 kW but not 
exceeding 500 kW, the IC, at its own expense, shall secure 
and maintain in effect during the term of the agreement 
liability insurance with a combined single limit for bodily 
injury and property damage of not less than $300,000 for each 
occurrence. 

For systems greater than an SGF with a rated capacity 
exceeding 500 kW but smaller than not exceeding 2 MW, the 
IC, at its own expense, shall secure and maintain in effect 
during the term of the agreement liability insurance with a 
combined single limit for bodily injury and property damage 
of not less than $2 million for each occurrence. Insurance 
coverage for systems greater than an SGF with a rated 
capacity exceeding 2 MW shall be determined on a case-by-
case basis by the utility and shall reflect the size of the 
installation and the potential for system damage. 

[ B. Except for those photovoltaic inverter-based systems 
installed on a residential premise that have a design rated 
capacity of 500 kW or less, the utility shall be named as an 
additional insured by endorsement to the insurance policy and 
the policy shall provide that written notice be given to the 
utility at least 30 days prior to any cancellation or reduction 
of any coverage. Such liability insurance shall provide, by 
endorsement to the policy, that the utility shall not by reason 
of its inclusion as an additional insured incur liability to the 
insurance carrier for the payment of premium of such 
insurance. For all photovoltaic inverter-based systems, the 
liability insurance shall not exclude coverage for any incident 
related to the subject generator or its operation. 

C. B. ] Certificates of insurance evidencing the requisite 
coverage and provision shall be furnished to a the utility prior 
to the date of interconnection of the small generating facility 
SGF. Utilities The utility shall be permitted to periodically 
obtain proof of current insurance coverage [ form from ] the 
producer IC in order to verify continuing proper liability 
insurance coverage. The IC will not be allowed to commence 
or continue interconnected operations unless evidence is 
provided that satisfactory required insurance coverage is in 
effect at all times. 

20VAC5-314-170. Schedules for Chapter 314. 

The following schedules shall be used in the administration of this chapter. 

Schedule 1 

LEVEL 1 INTERCONNECTION REQUEST FORM FOR SMALL GENERATING FACILITY LESS THAN NOT 
EXCEEDING 500 kW  

PURSUANT TO 20VAC5-314-40 OF THE COMMISSION'S REGULATIONS GOVERNING INTERCONNECTION OF 
SMALL [ ELECTRIC ELECTRICAL ] GENERATORS, APPLICANT HEREBY GIVES NOTICE OF INTENT TO 
OPERATE A GENERATING FACILITY. 

Section 1. Applicant Interconnection Customer Information 

Name:___________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:___________________________________________________ 

City: ____________________________State: _____________ Zip Code:_____ 

City, State, Zip:_____________________________________________________ 

Street Address:____________________________________________________ 

City: ____________________________State: _____________ Zip Code: _____ 

City, State, Zip:____________________________________________________ 

Phone Number(s):__________________________________________________ 

Fax Number:______________________ Email Address:__________________ 

Facility location (if different from above): _________________________________ 

Distribution Company Utility: __________________________________________ 

Distribution Company Utility Account Number:_____________________________ 
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[ Energy Competitive ] Service Provider (ESP) (if different than electric distribution 
company):________________________________ 

ESP [ CSP ] Account Number (if applicable):_____________________________ 

Proposed Interconnection Date:_______________________________________ 

Section 2. Processing Fee [ or Deposit ]  

The nonrefundable processing fee payable to the utility is $100. 

Section 2. 3. Small Generating Facility Information 

Facility owner and/or Operator name (if different from Applicant): _____________ 

SGF owner:_____________________________________________________ 

SGF operator:___________________________________________________ 

Business relationship to applicant:____________________________________ 

Mailing address:__________________________________________________ 

City: _____________________________State: ____________ Zip Code: ____ 

City, State, Zip:__________________________________________________ 

Street SGF Address: _______________________________________________ 

City: _____________________________State: ____________ Zip Code: ____ 

City, State, Zip:__________________________________________________ 

Phone Number(s):________________________________________________ 

Fax Number:_________________________ Email Address:______________ 

Fuel Type:______________________________________________________ 

Generator Manufacturer and Model:___________________________________ 

Rated Capacity in kilowatts: AC:_________________________ DC:________ 

Inverter Manufacturer and Model:_____________________________________ 

Battery Backup (circle one): Yes_____ No_____ 

[ Facility schematic and equipment layout must be attached to this form. ]  

Section 3 4. Information for Generators with an AC capacity in excess of 25 kilowatts kW 

Is the proposed generator inverter based? Yes ____ No ____  

Generator Type (circle one): Inverter Induction Synchronous 

Frequency: ____________ Hz; Number of phases (circle one): One___ Three___ 

Rated Capacity: DC _________ [ W kW ]; AC apparent ___________ [ KVA kVA ]; AC real _________ [ W 
kW ];  

Power factor ____________%; AC voltage _________; AC amperage___________ 

Facility schematic and equipment layout must be attached to this form.  

Section 4. 5. Vendor Certification 

The system hardware SGF equipment is listed by Underwriters Laboratories to be in compliance with UL-1741.  

Signed (Vendor):____________________________________ Date:_________ 

Name (printed):___________________________________________________ 
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Company:_______________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:___________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:__________________________________________________ 

City: __________________________ State: _____________ Zip Code: ______ 

City, State, Zip:_____________________________________________________ 

Section 5 6. Electrician Certification 

The system generator equipment has been installed in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications as well as 
all applicable provisions of the National Electrical Code.  

Signed (Licensed Electrician):__________________________ Date:_________ 

Name (printed):___________________________________________________ 

License Number:__________________________ Phone Number:___________ 

Mailing Address:__________________________________________________ 

City: ___________________________ State: _____________ Zip Code: _____ 

City, State, Zip:____________________________________________________ 

Utility signature signifies only receipt of this form, in compliance with the State Corporation Commission's net 
energy metering regulations, 20 VAC 5-315-30.  

Signed (Utility Representative): _________________________ Date: ________ 

Section 7. Applicant Signature 

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, all of the information provided in this Request Form is true and 
correct.  

Signature of Applicant:___________________________________________  

Date:________________________ 

Section 8. Utility Acknowledgement of Receipt 

Signed:_______________________________________________________  

Title:_________________________________________________________  

Utility:________________________________________________________  

Date:______________________________ 

Utility signature signifies only receipt of this form, in compliance with 20VAC5-314-40, the State Corporation 
Commission's Regulations Governing Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators. 

Schedule 2 

Certification of Small Generator Equipment Packages 

Small generating facility equipment proposed for use separately or packaged with other equipment in an interconnection 
system shall be considered certified for interconnected operation if (i) it has been tested in accordance with industry standards 
for continuous utility interactive operation in compliance with the appropriate codes and standards referenced below by any 
Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL) recognized by the United States Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration to test and certify interconnection equipment pursuant to the relevant codes and standards listed in SGIP 
Schedule 3, (ii) it has been labeled and is publicly listed by such NRTL at the time of the interconnection application, and (iii) 
such NRTL makes readily available for verification all test standards and procedures it utilized in performing such equipment 
certification, and, with consumer approval, the test data itself. The NRTL may make such information available on its website 
and by encouraging such information to be included in the manufacturer's literature accompanying the equipment. 
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The interconnection customer must verify that the intended use of the equipment falls within the use or uses for which the 
equipment was tested, labeled, and listed by the NRTL. 

Certified equipment shall not require further type-test review, testing, or additional equipment to meet the requirements of this 
interconnection procedure; however, nothing herein shall preclude the need for an on-site commissioning test by the parties to 
the interconnection nor follow up production testing by the NRTL. 

If the certified equipment package includes only interface components (switchgear, inverters, or other interface devices), then 
an interconnection customer IC must show that the generator or other electric source being utilized with the equipment package 
is compatible with the equipment package and is consistent with the testing and listing specified for this type of interconnection 
equipment. 

Provided the generator or electric source, when combined with the equipment package, is within the range of capabilities for 
which it was tested by the NRTL, and does not violate the interface components' labeling and listing performed by the NRTL, 
no further design review, testing or additional equipment on the customer side of the point of common coupling interconnection 
shall be required to meet the requirements of this interconnection procedure. 

An equipment package does not include equipment provided by the utility. 

Schedule 3 

Certification Codes and Standards 

IEEE [ Std ] 1547 Standard for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric Power Systems (including use of IEEE 
[ Std ] 1547.1 testing protocols to establish conformity)  

UL 1741 Inverters, Converters, and Controllers for Use in Independent Power Systems  

IEEE Std 929-2000 IEEE Recommended Practice for Utility Interface of Photovoltaic (PV) Systems  

NFPA 70 (2005), National Electrical Code  

IEEE Std C37.90.1-1989 (R1994), IEEE Standard Surge Withstand Capability (SWC) Tests for Protective Relays and Relay 
Systems  

IEEE Std C37.90.2 (1995), IEEE Standard Withstand Capability of Relay Systems to Radiated Electromagnetic Interference 
from Transceivers  

IEEE Std C37.108-1989 (R2002), IEEE Guide for the Protection of Network Transformers  

IEEE Std C57.12.44-2000, IEEE Standard Requirements for Secondary Network Protectors  

IEEE Std C62.41.2-2002, IEEE Recommended Practice on Characterization of Surges in Low Voltage (1000V and Less) AC 
Power Circuits  

IEEE Std C62.45-1992 (R2002), IEEE Recommended Practice on Surge Testing for Equipment Connected to Low-Voltage 
(1000V and Less) AC Power Circuits  

ANSI C84.1-1995 Electric Power Systems and Equipment – Voltage Ratings (60 Hertz)  

IEEE Std 100-2000, IEEE Standard Dictionary of Electrical and Electronic Terms  

NEMA MG 1-1998, Motors and Small Resources, Revision 3  

IEEE Std 519-1992, IEEE Recommended Practices and Requirements for Harmonic Control in Electrical Power Systems  

NEMA MG 1-2003 (Rev 2004), Motors and Generators, Revision 1 

Schedule 4 

LEVEL LEVELS 2 AND 3 INTERCONNECTION REQUEST FORM FOR SMALL GENERATING FACILITIES 
FACILITY LESS THAN 20 MW 

Distribution Company:________________________________________ 

Designated Contact Person: ___________________________________ 

Address: __________________________________________________ 
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Telephone Number: ____________________ 

Fax:________________________________ 

E-Mail Address: ____________________________________________ 

An Interconnection Request is considered complete when it provides all applicable and correct information required below. 

Processing Fee or Deposit 

If the Interconnection Request is submitted as Level 2, the nonrefundable processing fee payable to the distribution company 
is $500. 

If the interconnection request is submitted as Level 3, the interconnection customer shall submit to the distribution company a 
deposit not to exceed $1,000 towards the cost of the feasibility study. 

Interconnection Customer Information 

Legal Name of the Interconnection Customer (or, if an individual, individual's name) 

Name:___________________________________________________ 

Account Number: ___________________________________________ 

Contact person:_____________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:___________________________________________ 

City: State: Zip:____________________________________________ 

Facility location (if different from above):_________________________ 

Telephone (Day): _______________ Telephone (Evening): __________ 

Fax: _________________________ E-Mail Address:______________ 

Alternative contact information (if different from the interconnection customer) 

Contact Name: ____________________________________________ 

Title: ____________________________________________________ 

Address:_________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________ 

Telephone (Day): _____________ Telephone (Evening): ____________ 

Fax: _______________________ E-Mail Address: ________________ 

  

New Small Generating Facility Application is for: 

Capacity addition to Existing Small Generating Facility 

If capacity addition to existing facility, please describe: 
________________________________________________________ 

Will the Small Generating Facility be used for any of the following? 

To supply power to the interconnection customer? Yes ___No ___   

To supply power to others? Yes ___ No ___ 

Contact Name: ___________________________________________ 

Title: ___________________________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________________________ 
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Telephone (Day): ______________ Telephone (Evening): __________ 

Fax: ________________________ E-Mail Address: ______________ 

Requested point of interconnection: ___________________________ 

Interconnection customer's requested in-service date: ______________ 

  

Section 1. Interconnection Customer Information 

Name:_________________________________________________ 

Contact person:__________________________________________ 

Mailing address:_________________________________________ 

[ City: State: Zip City, State, Zip ]:____________________________ 

Utility and account number:_________________________________ 

Energy Service Provider and account number:__________________ 

Facility address:_________________________________________ 

Telephone (Day):________________ (Evening):________________ 

Fax:__________________________ E-Mail:__________________ 

Alternative contact information  

Contact Name:__________________________________________ 

Title:__________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:_________________________________________ 

[ City: State: Zip City, State, Zip ]:____________________________ 

Telephone (Day):________________ (Evening):________________ 

Fax:__________________________ E-Mail:___________________ 

Application is for: New Small Generating Facility ______ Capacity addition ____ 

If capacity addition to existing facility, please describe:  
______________________________________________________ 

The Small Generating Facility will supply: Interconnection Customer __ others __ 

Point of Interconnection:____________________________________ 

Interconnection Customer's requested in-service date:_____________ 

Section 2. Processing Fee or Deposit 

If the Interconnection Request is submitted as Level 2, the nonrefundable processing fee payable to the utility is $500. 

If the Interconnection Request is submitted as Level 3, the Interconnection Customer shall submit to the Utility the deposit is 
$1,000, or 50% of the estimated cost of the Feasibility Study, whichever is less. 

Section 3. Small Generating Facility Information 

Data apply only to the small generating facility, not the interconnection facilities. 

Energy Source: Solar ___ Wind ___ Hydro ___ Hydro Type (e.g. Run-of-River):_________  

Diesel ___ Natural Gas ___ Fuel Oil ___ Other (state type) (describe) 
______________________________ 

Prime Mover: Fuel Cell___ Recip Engine___ Gas Turb___ Steam Turb___ Microturbine___ PV___ 
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Other (describe)__________________________ 

Type of Generator: ____ Synchronous_____Induction_____ Inverter_____ 

Generator Nameplate Rating: ________kW (Typical) [ ___ ] Generator Nameplate kVAR:______ 

  

Interconnection customer or customer-site load: __________kW (if none, so state) 

  

Typical reactive load (if known):_________________ 

  

Maximum physical export capability requested: ______________ kW 

  

List components of the small generating facility equipment package that are currently certified: 

Equipment Type  Certifying Entity 

1.____________________________ 1.____________________________ 

2.____________________________ 2.____________________________ 

3.____________________________ 3.____________________________ 

4.____________________________ 4.____________________________ 

5.____________________________ 5.____________________________ 

  

Is the prime mover compatible with the certified protective relay package? 
____Yes____ No____ 

  

Generator (or solar collector) 

Manufacturer, model name & number:_______________________________ 

Version Number:_______________________________________________ 

  

Nameplate Output Power Rating in kW: (Summer)_________ (Winter)______ 

Nameplate Output Power Rating in kVA: (Summer)________ (Winter)______ 

  

Individual Generator Power Factor 

Rated Power Factor: Leading:_____________ Lagging:________________ 

  

Total number of generators in wind farm to be interconnected pursuant to this Interconnection Request: 
_______ Elevation: Single phase___ Three phase_____ 

Inverter manufacturer, model name & number (if used):__________________ 

  

List of adjustable set points for the protective equipment or software:________ 
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Note: A completed power systems load flow data sheet must be supplied with the Interconnection 
Request. 

  

Small Generating Facility Characteristic Data (for inverter-based machines) 

Max design fault contribution current:______ Instantaneous___ or RMS?_______ 

Harmonics characteristics:__________________________________________ 

Start-up requirements:_____________________________________________ 

  

Small Generating Facility Characteristic Data (for rotating machines) 

RPM Frequency:__________________________________________ 

(*) Neutral Grounding Resistor (If Applicable):____________________ 

Synchronous Generators: 

  

Direct Axis Synchronous Reactance, [ Xd Xd ]:_______ P.U. 

Direct Axis Transient Reactance, X'd:___________ P.U. 

Direct Axis Subtransient Reactance, X"d:______________P.U. 

Negative Sequence Reactance, X2:_________ P.U. 

Zero Sequence Reactance, X0:____________ P.U. 

KVA Base:__________________________ 

Field Volts:______________ 

Field Amperes:______________ 

  

Induction Generators: 

Motoring Power (kW):______________ 

I2 2t I2t or K (Heating Time Constant):______________ 

Rotor Resistance, [ Rr Rr ]:______________ 

Stator Resistance, [ Rs Rs ]:______________ 

Stator Reactance, [ Xs Xs ]:______________ 

Rotor Reactance, [ Xr Xr ]:______________ 

Magnetizing Reactance, [ Xm Xm ]:______________ 

Short Circuit Reactance, [ Xd" Xd" ]':______________ 

Exciting Current:______________ 

Temperature Rise:______________ 

Frame Size:______________ 

Design Letter:______________ 

Reactive Power Required In Vars (No Load):______________ 
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Reactive Power Required In Vars (Full Load):______________ 

Total Rotating Inertia, H: _____________ Per Unit on kVA Base base 

  

Excitation and Governor System Data for Synchronous Generators Only [ : ]  

Provide appropriate IEEE model block diagram of excitation system, governor system and power system stabilizer (PSS) in 
accordance with the regional reliability council criteria. A PSS may be determined to be required by applicable studies. A 
copy of the manufacturer's block diagram may not be substituted. 

Section 4. Customer's Interconnection Facilities Information 

Will a transformer be used between the generator and the point of common coupling interconnection ? ___ 
Yes____ No____  

Will the transformer be provided by the interconnection customer? ____ Yes____ No____ 

  

Transformer Data (If applicable, for interconnection customer-owned transformer): 

Is the transformer: ____ single phase_____ three phase?___ Size:_________ kVA_____ 

Transformer Impedance:_______% on __________kVA Base base 

  

If Three Phase: 

Transformer Primary: _____Volts _____Delta _____Wye _____Wye Grounded 

Transformer Secondary: __Volts _____Delta _____Wye _____Wye Grounded 

Transformer Tertiary: _____Volts _____Delta _____Wye _____Wye Grounded 

  

Transformer Fuse Data (If applicable, for interconnection customer-owned fuse): 

(Attach copy of fuse manufacturer's minimum melt and total clearing time-current curves) 

Manufacturer:____________ Type:__________ Size:______ Speed:_______ 

  

Interconnecting Circuit Breaker (if applicable): 

Manufacturer:____________________________ Type:__________ 

Load Rating (Amps):___ Interrupting Rating (Amps):___ Trip Speed (Cycles):___ 

Interconnection Protective Relays (If Applicable): 

  

If microprocessor-controlled: 

Manufacturer:__________________________ Type:____________________ Model No. ___________ 
Firmware ID:_______ Instruction Book No. _________ 

List of functions and adjustable setpoints for the protective equipment or software: 

Setpoint Function Minimum Maximum 

1.________________________________ ____________ __________ 

2.________________________________ ____________ __________ 

3.________________________________ ____________ __________ 
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4.________________________________ ____________ __________ 

5.________________________________ ____________ __________ 

6.________________________________ ____________ __________ 

  

If Discrete Components: 

(Enclose copy of any proposed time-overcurrent coordination curves) 

  

Manufacturer:___________ Type:_______ Style/Catalog No.:______ Proposed Setting:______ 

Manufacturer:___________ Type:_______ Style/Catalog No.:______ Proposed Setting:______ 

Manufacturer:___________ Type:_______ Style/Catalog No.:______ Proposed Setting:______ 

Manufacturer:___________ Type:_______ Style/Catalog No.:______ Proposed Setting:______ 

Manufacturer:___________ Type:_______ Style/Catalog No.:______ Proposed Setting:______ 

  

Current Transformer Data (If applicable): 

(Enclose copy of manufacturer's excitation and ratio correction curves) 

Manufacturer:_________________________________________________ 

Type:_______ Accuracy Class:________ Proposed Ratio Connection:____ 

Manufacturer:_________________________________________________ 

Type:_______ Accuracy Class:________ Proposed Ratio Connection:____ 

  

Potential Transformer Data (If applicable): 

Manufacturer:_________________________________________________ 

Type:________ Accuracy Class:_______ Proposed Ratio Connection:____ 

Manufacturer:_________________________________________________ 

Type:________ Accuracy Class:_______ Proposed Ratio Connection:____ 

Section 5. General Information 

Enclose a copy of the site electrical one-line diagram showing the configuration of all the small generating facility equipment, 
current and potential circuits, and protection and control schemes.  

Enclose a copy of any site documentation that indicates the precise physical location of the proposed small generating facility 
SGF (e.g., United States Geological Survey (USGS) topographic map or other diagram or documentation). 

Proposed Describe the proposed location of the protective interface equipment on the property (include address if different 
from the interconnection customer's address) [ : ] ____________________________________________________ 

Enclose a copy of any site documentation that describes and details the operation of the protection and control schemes. Is 
available documentation enclosed? Yes____ No____ 

Enclose copies of schematic drawings for all protection and control circuits, relay current circuits, relay potential circuits, and 
alarm/monitoring circuits (if applicable). 

Are schematic drawings enclosed?___ Yes ____ No____ 
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Applicant Section 6. Interconnection Customer Signature 

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, all the information provided in this Interconnection Request is true and 
correct. 

For Interconnection Customer Signature:_____________________________ Date:_____________ 

Section 7. Utility Acknowledgement of Receipt 

Signed:__________________________________ 

Title:____________________________________ 

Utility:___________________________________ 

Date:____________________________________ 

Utility signature signifies only receipt of this form, in compliance with 20VAC5-314-50 of the State Corporation 
Commission's Regulations Governing Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators. 

Schedule 5 

LEVELS 2 AND 3 FACILITIES STUDY INFORMATION FORM FOR SMALL GENERATING FACILITIES LESS 
THAN 20 MW 

1. Provide a location plan and simplified one-line diagram of the plant and station facilities. For staged projects, indicate future 
generation, future transmission circuits, and other major future facilities. On the one-line diagram, show (i) each generator, its 
electric connection configuration, and its generation capacity, (ii) the location and capacity of auxiliary power, and (iii) 
minimum load on CT/PT. 

2. One set of metering is required for each generation connection to the new ring bus or existing utility station. Indicate the 
number of generation connections requiring a metering set:_____________________ 

3. Indicate whether an alternate source of auxiliary power will be available during CT/PT maintenance. Yes ____ No ____ 

4. Indicate whether a transfer bus on the generation side of the metering will require that each meter set be designed for the total 
plant generation. Indicate such on the one-line diagram. [ Yes ________ No _____ ]  

5. State the type of control system or Programmable Logic Controller (PLC) that will be located at the small generating facility. 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

6. State the protocol used by the control system or PLC. 
_____________________________________________________________________ 

7. [ Describe the operation sequence and timing of the protection scheme during disconnection and reconnection to the utility 
by the SGF. 

8. ] Provide a 7.5-minute quadrangle map of the site. Indicate the plant, station, transmission line, and property lines.  

[ 8. 9. ] State the physical dimensions of the proposed interconnection station. 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

[ 9. 10. ] State the bus length from generation to interconnection station.  

______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

[ 10. 11. ] Provide a diagram or description of the point of interconnection desired by the IC that is to be the point of 
interconnection in the system impact study report. 

[ 11. 12. ] State the line length from interconnection station to utility system.  

______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

[ 12. 13. ] State the pole or tower number observed in the field affixed to the pole or tower leg. 
_________________________________________ 

[ 13. 14. ] State the number of third party easements required for distribution or transmission lines.  
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______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

[ 14. 15. ] Provide the following proposed schedule dates: 

a. Date IC to begin construction:_________________________________________________ 

b. Date generator step-up transformers to receive back feed power:______________________ 

c. Date IC will test SGF:_______________________________________________________ 

d. Date IC will place SGF into commercial operation:_________________________________ 

  

Schedule 5 6 

[ LEVEL 3 ] SMALL GENERATOR INTERCONNECTION AGREEMENT (SGIA) 
(For Small Generating Facilities Subject to the Level 3 Process) 

This Small Generator Interconnection Agreement ("Agreement") is made and entered into this ______ day of ____________, 
20__, by __________________ ("Distribution Company Utility"), and _________________________________ 
("Interconnection Customer") each hereinafter sometimes referred to individually as "Party" or both referred to collectively as 
the "Parties." 

Distribution Company Utility Information 

Distribution Company Utility:_________________________________________ 

Attention:_______________________________________________________ 

Address:_______________________________________________________ 

City: ________________________ State: ________________ Zip: _________ 

City, State, Zip:__________________________________________________ 

Phone:_____________________ Fax:_______________________________ 

  

Interconnection Customer Information 

Interconnection Customer:__________________________________________ 

Attention:_______________________________________________________ 

Address:_______________________________________________________ 

City: _________________________ State: _______________ Zip: _________ 

City, State, Zip:__________________________________________________ 

Phone:_______________________ Fax:_____________________________ 

Interconnection Customer Application No:_____________ 
In consideration of the mutual covenants set forth herein, the Parties agree as follows: 

Article 1. Scope and Limitations of Agreement 

1.1 This Agreement shall be used for all Interconnection 
Requests [ for generators in excess of 500 kW ] submitted 
[ under the ] Small Generator Interconnection Procedures 
(SGIP) [ Level 3 interconnections ] pursuant to the 
Commission's Regulations Governing Interconnection of 
Small Electrical Generators, Chapter 314 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code. 

1.2 This Agreement governs the terms and conditions under 
which the Interconnection Customer's ("IC") Small 
Generating Facility ("SGF") will interconnect with, and 
operate in parallel with, the utility's distribution utility 
system. 

1.3 This Agreement does not constitute an agreement to 
purchase or deliver the Interconnection Customer's power. 
The purchase or delivery of power and other services, 
including station service or backup power, that the 
Interconnection Customer IC may require will be covered 
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under separate agreements, possibly with other parties. The 
Interconnection Customer IC will be responsible for 
separately making all necessary arrangements (including 
scheduling) for delivery of electricity with the applicable 
Distribution Company utility and provider of transmission 
service. 

1.4 Nothing in this Agreement is intended to affect any other 
agreement between the Distribution Company utility and the 
Interconnection Customer IC. 

1.5 Responsibilities of the Parties 

1.5.1 The Parties shall perform all obligations of this 
Agreement in accordance with all applicable laws and 
regulations, operating requirements, and Good Distribution 
Company Utility Practice. 

1.5.2 The Interconnection Customer IC shall construct, 
interconnect, operate and maintain its Small Generating 
Facility SGF and construct, operate, and maintain its 
Customer's Interconnection Facilities in accordance with 
the applicable manufacturer's recommended maintenance 
schedule, in accordance with this Agreement, and with 
Good Distribution Company Utility Practice. 

1.5.3 The Distribution Company utility shall construct, 
operate, and maintain its distribution and transmission 
system and interconnection attachment facilities in 
accordance with this Agreement, and with Good 
Distribution Company Utility Practice. 

1.5.4 The Interconnection Customer IC agrees to construct 
its facilities or systems in accordance with applicable 
specifications that meet or exceed those provided by the 
National Electrical Safety Code, the American National 
Standards Institute, IEEE, Underwriter's Laboratory, and 
operating requirements in effect at the time of construction 
and other applicable national and state codes and 
standards. The Interconnection Customer IC agrees to 
design, install, maintain, and operate its small generating 
facility SGF so as to reasonably minimize the likelihood of 
a disturbance adversely affecting or impairing the system 
or equipment of the Distribution Company utility or 
affected systems and to otherwise maintain and operate its 
SGF in accordance with the specifications and 
certifications under which the SGF was initially installed 
and interconnected. 

1.5.5 Each Party shall operate, maintain, repair, and 
inspect, and shall be fully responsible for the facilities that 
it now or subsequently may own unless otherwise specified 
in the Attachments to this Agreement. Each Party shall be 
responsible for the safe installation, maintenance, repair 
and condition of their respective lines and appurtenances 
on their respective sides of the point of change of 
ownership. The Distribution Company utility and the 
Interconnection Customer IC, as appropriate, shall provide 
Interconnection Attachment Facilities and Customer's 

Interconnection Facilities that adequately protect the 
Distribution Company's Transmission System, utility's 
personnel, and other persons from damage and injury. The 
allocation of responsibility for the design, installation, 
operation, maintenance and ownership of Interconnection 
Attachment Facilities and Customer's Interconnection 
Facilities shall be delineated in the Attachments to this 
Agreement. The design, installation, operation, and 
maintenance of such facilities shall be the responsibility of 
the owner except as otherwise provided for in this 
Agreement. 

1.5.6 The Distribution Company utility shall coordinate 
with all affected systems to support the interconnection. 

1.6 Parallel operation obligations 

Once the small generating facility SGF has been authorized 
to commence parallel operation, the Interconnection 
Customer IC shall abide by all rules and procedures 
pertaining to the parallel operation of the small generating 
facility SGF including, but not limited to the rules and 
procedures concerning the operation of generation set forth in 
the tariff. 

1.7 Metering 

The Interconnection Customer IC shall be responsible for 
the Distribution Company's utility's reasonable and necessary 
cost for the purchase, installation, operation, maintenance, 
testing, repair, and replacement of metering and data 
acquisition equipment specified in Attachments 2 and 3 of 
this Agreement. The Interconnection Customer's IC's 
metering (and data acquisition, as required) equipment shall 
conform to applicable industry rules and operating 
requirements. 

1.8 Reactive power 

1.8.1 The Interconnection Customer IC shall design its 
small generating facility SGF to maintain a composite 
power delivery at continuous rated power output at the 
point of interconnection at a power factor within the range 
of 0.95 leading to 0.95 lagging, unless the Distribution 
Company utility has established different requirements that 
apply to all similarly situated generators in the control area 
on a comparable basis. The requirements of this paragraph 
shall not apply to wind generators.  

1.8.2 The Distribution Company utility is required to pay 
the Interconnection Customer for reactive power that the 
Interconnection Customer IC provides or absorbs from the 
small generating facility SGF when the Distribution 
Company utility requests the Interconnection Customer IC 
to operate its small generating facility SGF outside the 
range specified in article 1.8.1. In addition, if the 
Distribution Company utility pays its own or affiliated 
generators for reactive power service within the specified 
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range, it must also similarly pay the Interconnection 
Customer IC. 

1.8.3 Payments shall be in accordance with the 
Interconnection Customer's IC's applicable rate schedule 
then as may be in effect and accepted by the appropriate 
government authority. To the extent that no rate schedule is 
in effect at the time the Interconnection Customer is 
required to provide or absorb reactive power under this 
Agreement, the Parties agree to IC may expeditiously file 
such rate schedule and agree with the appropriate 
government authority, and the utility agrees to support any 
request for waiver of the State Corporation Commission's 
any prior notice requirement of such authority in order to 
compensate permit compensation to the Interconnection 
Customer IC from the time service commenced. 

1.9 Capitalized terms used herein shall have the meanings 
specified in the Glossary of Terms definitions in Attachment 
1 to Schedule 5 6 or in the body of this Agreement. 

Article 2. Inspection, Testing, Authorization, and Right of 
Access 

2.1 Equipment testing and inspection 

2.1.1 The Interconnection Customer shall test and inspect 
its small generating facility and interconnection facilities 
prior to interconnection. The Interconnection Customer IC 
shall notify the Distribution Company utility of such 
activities no fewer than five business days (or as may be 
agreed to by the Parties) prior to such testing and 
inspection. Testing and inspection shall occur on a 
business day. The Distribution Company utility may, at its 
own expense, send qualified personnel to the small 
generating facility SGF site to inspect the interconnection 
and observe the testing. The Interconnection Customer IC 
shall provide the Distribution Company utility a written 
test report when such testing and inspection is completed.  

2.1.2 The Distribution Company utility shall provide the 
Interconnection Customer IC written acknowledgment that 
it has received the Interconnection Customer's IC's written 
test report. Such written acknowledgment shall not be 
deemed to be or construed as any representation, 
assurance, guarantee, or warranty by the Distribution 
Company utility of the safety, durability, suitability, or 
reliability of the small generating facility SGF or any 
associated control, protective, and safety devices owned or 
controlled by the Interconnection Customer IC or the 
quality of power produced by the small generating facility 
SGF. 

2.2 Authorization required prior to parallel operation 

2.2.1 The Distribution Company utility shall use 
reasonable efforts to list applicable parallel operation 
requirements in Attachment 5 of this Agreement. 
Additionally, the Distribution Company utility shall notify 

the Interconnection Customer of any changes to these 
requirements as soon as they are known. The Distribution 
Company utility shall make reasonable efforts to cooperate 
with the Interconnection Customer IC in meeting 
requirements necessary for the Interconnection Customer 
IC to commence parallel operations by the in-service date. 

2.2.2 The Interconnection Customer IC shall not operate its 
small generating facility SGF in parallel with the 
Distribution Company's utility's system without prior 
written authorization of the Distribution Company utility. 
The Distribution Company utility will provide such 
authorization once the Distribution Company utility 
receives notification that the Interconnection Customer IC 
has complied with all applicable parallel operation 
requirements. Such authorization shall not be unreasonably 
withheld, conditioned, or delayed. 

2.3 Right of access 

2.3.1 Upon reasonable notice, the Distribution Company 
utility may send a qualified person to the premises of the 
Interconnection Customer at or immediately before the 
time the small generating facility SGF first produces 
energy to inspect the interconnection, and observe the 
commissioning of the small generating facility SGF 
(including any required testing), startup, and operation for 
a period of up to three business days after initial start-up of 
the unit. In addition, the Interconnection Customer IC shall 
notify the Distribution Company utility at least five 
business days prior to conducting any on-site verification 
testing of the small generating facility SGF. 

2.3.2 Following the initial inspection process described 
above, at reasonable hours, and upon reasonable notice, or 
at any time without notice in the event of an emergency or 
hazardous condition, the Distribution Company utility shall 
have access to the Interconnection Customer's premises for 
any reasonable purpose in connection with the 
performance of the obligations imposed on it by this 
Agreement or if necessary to meet its legal obligation to 
provide service to its customers. 

2.3.3 Each Party shall be responsible for its own costs 
associated with following this article. 

Article 3. Effective Date, Term, Termination, and 
Disconnection 

3.1 Effective date 

This Agreement shall become effective upon execution by 
the Parties subject to acceptance by the State Corporation 
Commission's Division of Energy Regulation (if applicable), 
or if filed unexecuted, upon the date specified by the State 
Corporation Commission's Division of Energy Regulation. 
The Distribution Company utility shall promptly file this 
Agreement with the State Corporation Commission's Division 
of Energy Regulation upon execution, if required. 
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3.2 Term of Agreement 

This Agreement shall become effective on the effective date 
and shall remain in effect for a period of 10 years from the 
effective date or such other longer period as the 
Interconnection Customer may request and shall be 
automatically renewed for each successive one-year period 
thereafter, unless terminated earlier in accordance with article 
3.3 of this Agreement. 

3.3 Termination 

No termination shall become effective until the Parties have 
complied with all applicable laws and regulations applicable 
to such termination, including the filing with the State 
Corporation Commission's Division of Energy Regulation of 
a notice of termination of this Agreement (if required), which 
notice has been accepted for filing by commission's Division 
of Energy Regulation. 

3.3.1 The Interconnection Customer may terminate this 
Agreement at any time by giving the Distribution 
Company utility 20 business days written notice. 

3.3.2 Either Party may terminate this Agreement after 
default pursuant to article 7.6. 

3.3.3 Upon termination of this Agreement, the small 
generating facility Small Generating Facility will be 
disconnected from the Distribution Company's utility 
system. The termination of this Agreement shall not relieve 
either Party of its liabilities and obligations, owed or 
continuing at the time of the termination. 

3.3.4 This provisions of this article shall survive 
termination or expiration of this Agreement. 

3.4 Temporary disconnection 

Temporary disconnection shall continue only for so long as 
reasonably necessary under Good Distribution Company 
Utility Practice. 

3.4.1 Emergency Conditions -- "Emergency Condition" 
shall mean a condition or situation: (i) that in the judgment 
of the Party making the claim is imminently likely to 
endanger life or property; or (ii) that, in the case of the 
Distribution Company utility, is imminently likely (as 
determined in a non-discriminatory manner) to cause a 
material adverse effect on the security of, or damage to the 
distribution utility system, the Distribution Company's 
Interconnection Attachment Facilities or the electrical 
facilities of others to which the Distribution Company's 
distribution utility system is directly connected; or (iii) 
that, in the case of the Interconnection Customer, is 
imminently likely (as determined in a non-discriminatory 
manner) to cause a material adverse effect on the security 
of, or damage to, the small generating facility Small 
Generating Facility or the Interconnection Customer's 
interconnection facilities Interconnection Facilities. Under 

emergency conditions, the Distribution Company utility 
may immediately suspend interconnection service and 
temporarily disconnect the small generating facility SGF. 
The Distribution Company utility shall notify the 
Interconnection Customer IC promptly when it becomes 
aware of an emergency condition that may reasonably be 
expected to affect the Interconnection Customer's IC's 
operation of the small generating facility SGF. The 
Interconnection Customer IC shall notify the Distribution 
Company utility promptly when it becomes aware of an 
emergency condition that may reasonably be expected to 
affect the Distribution Company's utility system or other 
affected systems. To the extent information is known, the 
notification shall describe the emergency condition, the 
extent of the damage or deficiency, the expected effect on 
the operation of both Parties' facilities and operations, its 
anticipated duration, and the necessary corrective action. 

3.4.2 Routine maintenance, construction, and repair 

The Distribution Company utility may interrupt 
interconnection service or curtail the output of the small 
generating facility SGF and temporarily disconnect the 
small generating facility SGF from the Distribution 
Company's distribution utility's system when necessary for 
routine maintenance, construction, and repairs on the 
Distribution Company's distribution utility system. The 
Distribution Company utility shall provide the 
Interconnection Customer IC with at least five business 
days notice prior to such interruption unless circumstances 
require shorter notice. The Distribution Company utility 
shall use reasonable efforts to coordinate such reduction or 
temporary disconnection with the Interconnection 
Customer IC. 

3.4.3 Forced outages 

During any forced outage, the Distribution Company utility 
may suspend interconnection service to effect immediate 
repairs on the Distribution Company's distribution utility 
system. The Distribution Company utility shall use 
reasonable efforts to provide the Interconnection Customer 
IC with prior notice. If prior notice is not given, the 
Distribution Company utility shall, upon request, provide 
the Interconnection Customer IC written documentation 
after the fact explaining the circumstances of the 
disconnection. 

3.4.4 Adverse operating effects 

The Distribution Company utility shall notify the 
Interconnection Customer IC as soon as practicable if, 
based on Good Distribution Company Utility Practice, 
operation of the small generating facility SGF may cause 
disruption or deterioration of service to other customers 
served from the same electric utility system or affected 
systems, or if operating the small generating facility SGF 
could cause damage to the Distribution Company's 
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distribution utility system or affected systems. Supporting 
documentation used to reach the decision to disconnect 
shall be provided to the Interconnection Customer IC upon 
request. If, after notice, the Interconnection Customer IC 
fails to remedy the adverse operating effect within a 
reasonable time, the Distribution Company utility may 
disconnect the small generating facility SGF. The 
Distribution Company utility shall provide the 
Interconnection Customer IC with a five business day 
notice of such disconnection, unless the provisions of 
article 3.4.1 apply. 

3.4.5 Modification of the small generating facility Small 
Generating Facility 

The Interconnection Customer must receive written 
authorization from the Distribution Company utility before 
making any change changes to the small generating facility 
SGF or mode of operations that may have a material 
impact on the safety or reliability of the Distribution 
Company's utility system or affected system. Such 
authorization shall not be unreasonably withheld. 
Modifications shall be done in accordance with Good 
Distribution Company Utility Practice. If the 
Interconnection Customer IC makes such modification 
modifications without the Distribution Company's utility's 
prior written authorization, the latter shall have the right to 
temporarily disconnect the small generating facility SGF. 

3.4.6 Reconnection 

The Parties shall cooperate with each other to restore the 
small generating facility SGF, interconnection facilities, 
and the Distribution Company's distribution utility system 
to their normal operating state as soon as reasonably 
practicable following a temporary disconnection. 

Article 4. Cost Responsibility for Customer's 
Interconnection Facilities, Attachment Facilities, and 
Distribution Upgrades 

4.1 Customer's Interconnection facilities Facilities 

The IC shall be responsible for the costs associated with 
owning, operating, maintaining, repairing, and replacing 
the Customer's Interconnection Facilities. 

4.1.1 4.2 Attachment Facilities 

The Interconnection Customer IC shall pay for the cost of 
one-time and ongoing costs of installing, owning, 
operating, maintaining and replacing the interconnection 
attachment facilities itemized in Attachment 2 of this 
Agreement. The Distribution Company utility shall provide 
a best estimate an estimated cost, including overheads, for 
the purchase and construction of its interconnection the 
attachment facilities and provide a detailed itemization of 
such costs. Costs associated with interconnection 
attachment facilities may be shared with other entities that 
may benefit from such facilities by agreement of the 

Interconnection Customer IC, such other entities, and the 
Distribution Company utility. 

4.1.2 The Interconnection Customer shall be responsible 
for its share of all reasonable expenses, including 
overheads, associated with (i) owning, operating, 
maintaining, repairing, and replacing its own 
interconnection facilities, and (ii) operating, maintaining, 
repairing, and replacing the Distribution Company's 
interconnection facilities. 

4.2 4.3 Distribution upgrades 

The Distribution Company utility shall design, procure, 
construct, install, and own the distribution upgrades 
described in Attachment 6 of this Agreement. The actual 
cost of the distribution upgrades shall be directly assigned 
to the IC. If the Distribution Company utility and the 
Interconnection Customer IC agree, the Interconnection 
Customer IC may construct distribution upgrades that are 
located on land owned by the Interconnection Customer 
IC. The actual cost of the distribution upgrades, including 
overheads, shall be directly assigned to the Interconnection 
Customer. 

Article 5. Cost Responsibility for System Upgrades 

5.1 Applicability 

No portion of this article 5 shall apply unless the 
interconnection of the small generating facility requires 
system upgrades. 

5.2 System upgrades 

The Distribution Company shall design, procure, construct, 
install, and own the system upgrades described in Attachment 
3 of this Agreement. If the Distribution Company and the 
Interconnection Customer agree, the Interconnection 
Customer may construct system upgrades that are located on 
land owned by the Interconnection Customer. Unless the 
Distribution Company elects to pay for system upgrades, the 
actual cost of the system upgrades, including overheads, shall 
be borne initially by the Interconnection Customer. 

5.2.1 Repayment of amounts advanced for system 
upgrades 

The Interconnection Customer shall be entitled to a cash 
repayment, equal to the total amount paid to the 
Distribution Company and affected system operator, if any, 
for system upgrades, including any tax gross-up or other 
tax-related payments associated with the system upgrades, 
and not otherwise refunded to the Interconnection 
Customer, to be paid to the Interconnection Customer on a 
dollar-for-dollar basis for the nonusage sensitive portion of 
transmission charges, as payments are made under the 
Distribution Company's tariff and affected system's tariff 
for distribution services with respect to the small 
generating facility. Upgrades through the date on which the 
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Interconnection Customer receives a repayment of such 
payment pursuant to this subparagraph. The 
Interconnection Customer may assign such repayment 
rights to any person. 

5.2.1.1 Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Interconnection 
Customer, the Distribution Company, and affected system 
operator may adopt any alternative payment schedule that 
is mutually agreeable so long as the Distribution Company 
and affected system operator take one of the following 
actions no later than five years from the commercial 
operation date: (i) return to the Interconnection Customer 
any amounts advanced for system upgrades not previously 
repaid, or (ii) declare in writing that the Distribution 
Company or affected system operator will continue to 
provide payments to the Interconnection Customer on a 
dollar-for-dollar basis for the nonusage sensitive portion of 
transmission charges, or develop an alternative schedule 
that is mutually agreeable and provides for the return of all 
amounts advanced for system upgrades not previously 
repaid; however, full reimbursement shall not extend 
beyond 20 years from the commercial operation date. 

5.2.1.2 If the small generating facility fails to achieve 
commercial operation, but it or another generating facility 
is later constructed and requires use of the system 
upgrades, the Distribution Company and affected system 
operator shall at that time reimburse the Interconnection 
Customer for the amounts advanced for the system 
upgrades. Before any such reimbursement can occur, the 
Interconnection Customer, or the entity that ultimately 
constructs the generating facility, if different, is 
responsible for identifying the entity to which 
reimbursement must be made. 

5.3 Special provisions for affected systems 

Unless the Distribution Company provides, under this 
Agreement, for the repayment of amounts advanced to 
affected system operator for system upgrades, the 
Interconnection Customer and affected system operator shall 
enter into an agreement that provides for such repayment. The 
agreement shall specify the terms governing payments to be 
made by the Interconnection Customer to affected system 
operator as well as the repayment by affected system 
operator. 

Article 5. Transmission System 

5.1 Transmission system upgrades 

5.1.1 No portion of section 5.1 of this article 5 shall apply 
unless the interconnection of the Small Generating Facility 
requires transmission system upgrades. 

5.1.2 The utility shall design, procure, construct, install, 
and own the transmission system upgrades described in 
Attachment 6 of this Agreement. If the utility and the 
Interconnection Customer agree, the IC may construct 

transmission system upgrades that are located on land 
owned by the IC. The costs of the transmission system 
upgrades shall be borne by the IC. 

5.1.3 Notwithstanding any other provision of section 5.1 of 
article 5, in the event and to the extent an RTE has rules, 
tariffs, agreements, or procedures properly applying to 
transmission system upgrades, the provisions of section 5.2 
of article 5 shall apply to such upgrades. 

5.2 Regional Transmission Entities 

Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, if 
the utility's transmission system is under the control of an 
RTE and the RTE has rules, tariffs, agreements or procedures 
properly governing operation of the SGF, transmission of the 
output of the SGF, sale of the output of the SGF, system 
upgrades required for interconnection of the SGF, or other 
aspects of the interconnection and operation of the SGF, the 
IC and the utility shall comply with the applicable of such 
agreements, rules, tariffs, or procedures. 

5.4 5.3 Rights under other agreements 

Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, 
nothing herein shall be construed as relinquishing or 
foreclosing any rights, including but not limited to firm 
transmission rights, capacity rights, transmission congestion 
rights, or transmission credits, that the Interconnection 
Customer IC shall be entitled to, now or in the future, under 
any other agreement or tariff as a result of, or otherwise 
associated with system upgrades, including the right to obtain 
cash reimbursements or transmission credits for transmission 
service that is not associated with the small generating facility 
SGF. 

Article 6. Billing, Payment, Milestones, and Financial 
Security 

6.1 Billing and payment procedures and final accounting 

6.1.1 The Distribution Company utility shall bill the 
Interconnection Customer IC for the design, engineering, 
construction, and procurement costs of interconnection 
attachment facilities and upgrades contemplated by this 
Agreement on a monthly basis, or as otherwise agreed by 
the Parties. The Interconnection Customer IC shall pay 
each bill within 30 calendar days of receipt, or as otherwise 
agreed to by the Parties. 

6.1.2 Within three months 120 calendar days of completing 
the construction and installation of the Distribution 
Company's interconnection attachment facilities and/or 
distribution upgrades described in the Attachments to this 
Agreement, the Distribution Company utility shall provide 
the Interconnection Customer IC with a final accounting 
report of any difference between (i) the Interconnection 
Customer's IC's cost responsibility for the actual cost of 
such facilities or upgrades, and (ii) the Interconnection 
Customer's IC's previous aggregate payments to the 
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Distribution Company utility for such facilities or 
upgrades. If the Interconnection Customer's IC's cost 
responsibility exceeds its previous aggregate payments, the 
Distribution Company utility shall invoice the 
Interconnection Customer IC for the amount due and the 
Interconnection Customer IC shall make payment to the 
Distribution Company utility within 30 calendar days. If 
the Interconnection Customer's IC's previous aggregate 
payments exceed its cost responsibility under this 
Agreement, the Distribution Company utility shall refund 
to the Interconnection Customer IC an amount equal to the 
difference within 30 calendar days of the final accounting 
report. 

6.2 Milestones 

The Parties shall agree on milestones for which each Party is 
responsible and list them such milestone shall be listed in 
Attachment 4 of this Agreement. A Party's milestones 
obligations under this provision may be extended modified by 
agreement. If a Party anticipates that it will be unable to meet 
a milestone for any reason other than a Force Majeure Event 
event, it shall immediately (i) notify the other Party of the 
reason(s) for not meeting the milestone, and (i) (ii) propose 
the earliest reasonable alternate date by which it can attain 
this and future milestones, and (ii) requesting (iii) request 
appropriate amendments to Attachment 4. The Party affected 
by the failure to meet a milestone shall not unreasonably 
withhold agreement to such an amendment unless it will 
suffer significant uncompensated economic or operational 
harm from the delay, attainment of the same milestone has 
previously been delayed, or it has reason to believe that the 
delay in meeting the milestone is intentional or unwarranted 
notwithstanding the circumstances explained by the Party 
proposing the amendment. 

6.3 Financial security arrangements 

At least 20 business days prior to the commencement of the 
design, procurement, installation, or construction of a discrete 
portion of the Distribution Company's interconnection 
attachment facilities and distribution upgrades, the 
Interconnection Customer shall provide the Distribution 
Company utility, at the Interconnection Customer's IC's 
option, a guarantee, a surety bond, letter of credit or other 
form of security that is reasonably acceptable to the 
Distribution Company utility and is consistent with the 
Uniform Commercial Code of the jurisdiction where the point 
of interconnection is located. Such security for payment shall 
be in an amount sufficient to cover the costs for constructing, 
designing, procuring, and installing, and constructing the 
applicable portion of the Distribution Company's 
interconnection attachment facilities and distribution 
upgrades and shall be reduced on a dollar-for-dollar basis for 
payments made to the Distribution Company utility under this 
Agreement during its term. In addition:  

6.3.1 The guarantee must be made by an entity that meets 
the creditworthiness requirements of the Distribution 
Company utility, and contain terms and conditions that 
guarantee payment of any amount that may be due from 
the Interconnection Customer IC, up to an agreed-to 
maximum amount. 

6.3.2 The letter of credit or surety bond must be issued by a 
financial institution or insured reasonably acceptable to the 
Distribution Company utility and must specify a 
reasonable expiration date.  

Article 7. Assignment, Liability, Indemnity, Force 
Majeure, Consequential Damages, and Default 

7.1 Assignment 

This Agreement may be assigned by either Party upon 15 
business days prior written notice and opportunity to object 
by the other Party; provided that: 

7.1.1 Either Party may assign this Agreement without the 
consent of the other Party to any affiliate of the assigning 
Party with an equal or greater credit rating and with the 
legal authority and operational ability to satisfy the 
obligations of the assigning Party under this Agreement; 

7.1.2 The Interconnection Customer shall have the right to 
assign this Agreement, without the consent of the 
Distribution Company utility, for collateral security 
purposes to aid in providing financing for the small 
generating facility SGF, provided that the Interconnection 
Customer IC will promptly notify the Distribution 
Company utility of any such assignment. 

7.1.3 Any attempted assignment that violates this article is 
void and ineffective. 

Assignment shall not relieve a Party of its obligations, nor 
shall a Party's obligations be enlarged, in whole or in part, 
by reason thereof. An assignee is responsible for meeting 
the same financial, credit, and insurance obligations as the 
Interconnection Customer IC. Where required, consent to 
assignment will not be unreasonably withheld, conditioned 
or delayed. 

7.2 Limitation of liability 

Each Party's liability to the other Party for any loss, cost, 
claim, injury, liability, or expense, including reasonable 
attorney's fees, relating to or arising from any act or omission 
in its performance of this Agreement, shall be limited to the 
amount of direct damage actually incurred. In no event shall 
either Party be liable to the other Party for any indirect, 
special, consequential, or punitive damages, except as 
authorized by this Agreement. 

7.3 Indemnity 

7.3.1 This provision protects each Party from liability 
incurred to third parties as a result of carrying out the 
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provisions of this Agreement. Liability under this 
provision is exempt from the general limitations on 
liability found in article 7.2. 

7.3.2 The Parties shall at all times indemnify, defend, and 
hold the other Party harmless from, any and all damages, 
losses, claims, including claims and actions relating to 
injury to or death of any person or damage to property, 
demand, suits, recoveries, costs and expenses, court costs, 
attorney fees, and all other obligations by or to third 
parties, arising out of or resulting from the other Party's 
action or failure to meet its obligations under this 
Agreement on behalf of the indemnifying Party, except in 
cases of gross negligence or intentional wrongdoing by the 
indemnified Party. 

7.3.3 If an indemnified person Party is entitled to 
indemnification under this article as a result of a claim by a 
third party, and the indemnifying Party fails, after notice 
and reasonable opportunity to proceed under this article, to 
assume the defense of such claim, such indemnified person 
may at the expense of the indemnifying Party contest, 
settle or consent to the entry of any judgment with respect 
to, or pay in full, such claim. 

7.3.4 If an indemnifying party Party is obligated to 
indemnify and hold any indemnified person harmless 
under this article, the amount owing to the indemnified 
person shall be the amount of such indemnified person's 
actual loss, net of any insurance or other recovery. 

7.3.5 Promptly after receipt by an indemnified person of 
any claim or notice of the commencement of any action or 
administrative or legal proceeding or small generator 
investigation as to which the indemnity provided for in this 
article may apply, the indemnified person shall notify the 
indemnifying party Party of such fact. Any failure of or 
delay in such notification shall not affect a Party's 
indemnification obligation unless such failure or delay is 
materially prejudicial to the indemnifying party. 

7.4 Consequential damages 

Other than as expressly provided for in this Agreement, 
neither Party shall be liable under any provision of this 
Agreement for any losses, damages, costs or expenses for any 
special, indirect, incidental, consequential, or punitive 
damages, including but not limited to loss of profit or 
revenue, loss of the use of equipment, cost of capital, cost of 
temporary equipment or services, whether based in whole or 
in part in contract, in tort, including negligence, strict 
liability, or any other theory of liability; provided that 
damages for which a Party may be liable to the other Party 
under another agreement will not be considered to be special, 
indirect, incidental, or consequential damages hereunder. 

7.5 Force Majeure 

7.5.1 As used in this article, a Force Majeure Event event 
means "any act of God, labor disturbance, act of the public 
enemy, war, insurrection, riot, fire, storm or flood, 
explosion, breakage or accident to machinery or 
equipment, any order, regulation or restriction imposed by 
governmental, military or lawfully established civilian 
authorities, or any other cause beyond a Party's control. A 
Force Majeure Event event does not include an act of 
negligence or intentional wrongdoing." 

7.5.2 If a Force Majeure Event event prevents a Party from 
fulfilling any obligations under this Agreement, the Party 
affected by the Force Majeure Event event ("Affected 
Party") shall promptly notify the other Party, either in 
writing or via the telephone, of the existence of the Force 
Majeure Event event. The notification must specify in 
reasonable detail the circumstances of the Force Majeure 
Event event, its expected duration, and the steps that the 
Affected Party is taking to mitigate the effects of the event 
on its performance. The Affected Party shall keep the other 
Party informed on a continuing basis of developments 
relating to the Force Majeure Event event until the event 
ends. The Affected Party will be entitled to suspend or 
modify its performance of obligations under this 
Agreement (other than the obligation to make payments) 
only to the extent that the effect of the Force Majeure 
Event event cannot be mitigated by the use of reasonable 
efforts. The Affected Party will use reasonable efforts to 
resume its performance as soon as possible. 

7.6 Default 

7.6.1 No default shall exist where such failure to discharge 
an obligation (other than the payment of money) is the 
result of a Force Majeure Event event as defined in this 
Small Generator Interconnection Agreement or the result 
of an act or omission of the other Party. Upon a default, the 
nondefaulting Nondefaulting Party shall give written notice 
of such default to the defaulting Defaulting Party. Except 
as provided in article 7.6.2, the defaulting Defaulting Party 
shall have 60 calendar days from receipt of the default 
notice within which to cure the default; however, if the 
default is not capable of cure within 60 calendar days, the 
defaulting Defaulting Party shall commence the cure 
within 20 calendar days after notice and continuously and 
diligently complete the cure within six months from receipt 
of the default notice; and, if cured within such time, the 
default specified in such notice shall cease to exist. 

7.6.2 If a default is not cured as provided in this article, or 
if a default is not capable of being cured within the period 
provided for herein, the nondefaulting Nondefaulting Party 
shall have the right to terminate this Agreement by written 
notice at any time until cure occurs, and be relieved of any 
further obligation hereunder and, whether or not that Party 
terminates this Agreement, to recover from the defaulting 
Defaulting Party all amounts due hereunder, plus all other 
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damages and remedies to which it is entitled at law or in 
equity. The provisions of this article will survive 
termination of this Agreement. 

Article 8. Insurance 

8.1 The Interconnection Customer shall, at its own expense, 
maintain in force general liability insurance without any 
exclusion for liabilities related to the interconnection 
undertaken pursuant to this Agreement. The amount of such 
insurance shall be sufficient to insure against all reasonably 
foreseeable direct liabilities given the size and nature of the 
generating equipment being interconnected, the 
interconnection itself, and the characteristics of the system to 
which the interconnection is made in accordance with 
20VAC5-314-160 of the Commission's Regulations 
Governing the Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators. 
The Interconnection Customer IC shall obtain additional 
insurance only if necessary as a function of owning and 
operating a generating facility. Insurance shall be obtained 
from an insurance provider authorized to do business in the 
State where the interconnection is located of Virginia. 
Certification that such insurance is in effect shall be provided 
upon request of the Distribution Company utility, except that 
the Interconnection Customer IC shall show proof of 
insurance to the Distribution Company utility no later than 10 
business days prior to the anticipated commercial operation 
date of the SGF. An Interconnection Customer IC of 
sufficient creditworthiness may propose to self-insure for 
such liabilities, and such a proposal shall not be unreasonably 
rejected. 

8.2 The Distribution Company utility agrees to maintain 
general liability insurance or self insurance consistent with 
the Distribution Company's utility's commercial practice. 
Such insurance or self-insurance shall not exclude coverage 
for the Distribution Company's utility's liabilities undertaken 
pursuant to this Agreement. 

8.3 The Parties further agree to notify each other whenever 
an accident or incident occurs resulting in any injuries or 
damages that are included within the scope of coverage of 
such insurance, whether or not such coverage is sought. 

Article 9. Confidentiality 

9.1 Confidential information shall mean any confidential 
and/or proprietary information provided by one Party to the 
other Party that is clearly marked or otherwise designated 
"Confidential." For purposes of this Agreement all design, 
operating specifications, and metering data provided by the 
Interconnection Customer shall be deemed confidential 
information regardless of whether it is clearly marked or 
otherwise designated as such. 

9.2 Confidential information does not include information 
previously in the public domain, required to be publicly 
submitted or divulged by governmental authorities (after 
notice to the other Party and after exhausting any opportunity 

to oppose such publication or release), or necessary to be 
divulged in an action to enforce this Agreement. Each Party 
receiving confidential information shall hold such 
information in confidence and shall not disclose it to any third 
party nor to the public without the prior written authorization 
from the Party providing that information, except to fulfill 
obligations under this Agreement, or to fulfill legal or 
regulatory requirements. 

9.2.1 Each Party shall employ at least the same standard of 
care to protect confidential information obtained from the 
other Party as it employs to protect its own confidential 
information. 

9.2.2 Each Party is entitled to equitable relief, by 
injunction or otherwise, to enforce its rights under this 
provision to prevent the release of confidential information 
without bond or proof of damages, and may seek other 
remedies available at law or in equity for breach of this 
provision. 

9.3 Notwithstanding anything in this Agreement to the 
contrary, if the Virginia State Corporation Commission 
("Commission"), during the course of an investigation or 
otherwise, requests information from one of the Parties that 
is otherwise required to be maintained in confidence, the 
Party shall provide the requested information to the 
Commission, within the time provided for in the request 
for information. In providing the information to the 
Commission, the Party may request that the information be 
treated as confidential and nonpublic by the Commission 
and that the information be withheld from public 
disclosure. Parties are prohibited from notifying the other 
Party prior to the release of the confidential information to 
the Commission. [ A Party shall notify the other Party 
when it is notified by the Commission that a request to 
release confidential information has been received by the 
Commission, at which time either Party may respond to the 
Commission before such information would be made 
public. ]  

Article 10. Disputes 

10.1 The Parties agree to attempt to resolve all disputes 
arising out of the interconnection process according to the 
provisions of this article. 

10.2 In the event of a dispute, either Party shall provide the 
other Party with a written Notice of Dispute. Such Notice 
shall describe in detail the nature of the dispute. The Parties 
shall make a good faith effort to resolve the dispute 
informally within 10 business days. 

10.3 If the dispute has not been resolved within two 10 
business days after receipt of the Notice, either Party may 
contact seek resolution assistance from the Commission's 
Division of Energy Regulation for assistance in resolving the 
dispute where the matter will be handled as an informal 
complaint. [ If that process is unsatisfactory, either Party may 
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petition the Commission to handle the dispute as a formal 
complaint. ]  

Alternatively, either Party may [ , upon mutual agreement, ] 
seek resolution through the assistance of a dispute resolution 
service. The dispute resolution service will assist the Parties 
in either resolving the dispute or in selecting an appropriate 
dispute resolution venue (e.g., mediation, settlement judge, 
early neutral evaluation, or technical expert) to assist the 
Parties in resolving their dispute. Each Party [ agrees to 
shall ] conduct all negotiations in good faith and [ will shall ] 
be responsible for [ ½ one-half ] of any costs paid to neutral 
third parties. 

10.4 Each Party agrees to conduct all negotiations in good 
faith and will be responsible for one-half of any costs paid to 
neutral third-parties If [ attempted dispute resolutions fail to 
satisfy one or both of the Parties, then the dispute remains 
unresolved ] either Party may [ petition the Commission to 
handle the dispute as a formal complaint or may ] exercise 
whatever rights and remedies it may have in equity or law 
consistent with the terms of this Agreement. 

10.5 If neither Party elects to seek assistance from the State 
Corporation Commission's Division of Energy Regulation, or 
if the attempted dispute resolution fails, then either Party may 
exercise whatever rights and remedies it may have in equity 
or law consistent with the terms of this Agreement. 

Article 11. Taxes 

11.1 The Parties agree to follow all applicable tax laws and 
regulations 

11.2 Each Party shall cooperate with the other to maintain 
the other Party's tax status. Nothing in this Agreement is 
intended to adversely affect the Distribution Company's 
utility's tax exempt status with respect to the issuance of 
bonds including, but not limited to, local furnishing bonds. 

Article 12. Miscellaneous 

12.1 Governing Law, Regulatory Authority, and Rules law, 
regulatory authority, and rules 

The validity, interpretation and enforcement of this 
Agreement and each of its provisions shall be governed by 
the laws of the state State of Virginia without regard to its 
conflicts of law principles. This Agreement is subject to all 
applicable laws and regulations. Each Party expressly 
reserves the right to seek changes in, appeal, or otherwise 
contest any laws, orders, or regulations of a governmental 
authority. 

12.2 Amendment 

The Parties may amend this Agreement by a written 
instrument duly executed by both Parties. 

12.3 No Third-Party Beneficiaries third-party beneficiaries 

This Agreement is not intended to and does not create rights, 
remedies, or benefits of any character whatsoever in favor of 
any persons, corporations, associations, or entities other than 
the Parties, and the obligations herein assumed are solely for 
the use and benefit of the Parties, their successors in interest 
and where permitted, their assigns. 

12.4 Waiver 

12.4.1 The failure of a Party to this Agreement to insist, on 
any occasion, upon strict performance of any provision of 
this Agreement will not be considered a waiver of any 
obligation, right, or duty of, or imposed upon, such Party. 

12.4.2 Any waiver at any time by either Party of its rights 
with respect to this Agreement shall not be deemed to be a 
continuing waiver or a waiver with respect to any other 
failure to comply with any other obligation, right, or duty 
of this Agreement. Termination or default of this 
Agreement for any reason by the Interconnection Customer 
shall not constitute a waiver of the Interconnection 
Customer's IC's legal rights to obtain an interconnection 
from the Distribution Company utility. Any waiver of this 
Agreement shall, if requested, be provided in writing.  

12.5 Entire Agreement 

This Agreement, including all Attachments, constitutes the 
entire agreement between the Parties with reference to the 
subject matter hereof, and supersedes all prior and 
contemporaneous understandings or agreements, oral or 
written, between the Parties with respect to the subject matter 
of this Agreement. There are no other agreements, 
representations, warranties, or covenants which constitute any 
part of the consideration for, or any condition to, either 
Party's compliance with its obligations under this Agreement. 

12.6 Multiple Counterparts counterparts 

This Agreement may be executed in two or more 
counterparts, each of which is deemed an original but all 
constitute one and the same instrument. 

12.7 No Partnership partnership 

This Agreement shall not be interpreted or construed to 
create an association, joint venture, agency relationship, or 
partnership between the Parties or to impose any partnership 
obligation or partnership liability upon either Party. Neither 
Party shall have any right, power or authority to enter into 
any agreement or undertaking for, or act on behalf of, or to 
act as or be an agent or representative of, or to otherwise 
bind, the other Party. 

12.8 Severability 

If any provision or portion of this Agreement shall for any 
reason be held or adjudged to be invalid or illegal or 
unenforceable by any court of competent jurisdiction or other 
governmental authority, (i) such portion or provision shall be 
deemed separate and independent, (ii) the Parties shall 
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negotiate in good faith to restore insofar as practicable the 
benefits to each Party that were affected by such ruling, and 
(iii) the remainder of this Agreement shall remain in full force 
and effect. 

12.9 Environmental Releases releases 

Each Party shall notify the other Party, first orally and then 
in writing, of the release of any hazardous substances, any 
asbestos or lead abatement activities, or any type of 
remediation activities related to the small generating facility 
or Small Generating Facility, the customer's interconnection 
facilities, or attachment facilities, each of which may 
reasonably be expected to affect the other Party. The 
notifying Party shall (i) provide the notice as soon as 
practicable, provided such Party makes a good faith effort to 
provide the notice no later than 24 hours after such Party 
becomes aware of the occurrence, and (ii) promptly furnish to 
the other Party copies of any publicly available reports filed 
with any governmental authorities addressing such events. 

12.10 Subcontractors 

Nothing in this Agreement shall prevent a Party from 
utilizing the services of any subcontractor as it deems 
appropriate to perform its obligations under this Agreement; 
however, each Party shall require its subcontractors to comply 
with all applicable terms and conditions of this Agreement in 

providing such services and each Party shall remain primarily 
liable to the other Party for the performance of such 
subcontractor. 

12.10.1 The creation of any subcontract relationship shall 
not relieve the hiring Party of any of its obligations under 
this Agreement. The hiring Party shall be fully responsible 
to the other Party for the acts or omissions of any 
subcontractor the hiring Party hires as if no subcontract 
had been made; however, in no event shall the Distribution 
Company utility be liable for the actions or inactions of the 
Interconnection Customer IC or its subcontractors with 
respect to obligations of the Interconnection Customer IC 
under this Agreement. Any applicable obligation imposed 
by this Agreement upon the hiring Party shall be equally 
binding upon, and shall be construed as having application 
to, any subcontractor of such Party. 

12.10.2 The obligations under this article will not be 
limited in any way by any limitation of subcontractor's 
insurance. 

12.11 Reservation of Rights rights 

The Distribution Company utility shall have the right to 
make a unilateral filing with the Commission to modify this 
Agreement with respect to any rates, terms and conditions, 
charges, classifications of service, rule or regulation. 

Article 13. Notices 

13.1 General 

Unless otherwise provided in this Agreement, any written notice, demand, or request required or authorized in connection 
with this Agreement ("Notice") shall be deemed properly given if delivered in person, delivered by recognized national currier 
courier service, or sent by first class mail, postage prepaid, to the person specified below: 

If to the Interconnection Customer: 

Interconnection Customer:_______________________________________ 

Attention:____________________________________________________ 

Address:____________________________________________________ 

City: ___________________________ State:_____________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, Zip:_______________________________________________ 

Phone:_________________________ Fax:_________________________ 

If to the Distribution Company Utility: 

Distribution Company Utility:______________________________________ 

Attention:____________________________________________________ 

Address:____________________________________________________ 

City: ___________________________ State:_____________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, Zip:________________________________________________ 

Phone:_________________________ Fax:_________________________ 
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13.2 Billing and Payment payment 
Billings and payments shall be sent to the addresses set out below: 

If to the Interconnection Customer: 

Interconnection Customer:_________________________________________ 

Attention:______________________________________________________ 

Address:______________________________________________________ 

City: ____________________________ State:_______________ Zip:______ 

City, State, Zip:_________________________________________________ 

If to the Distribution Company Utility: 

Distribution Company Utility:_______________________________________ 

Attention:______________________________________________________ 

Address:______________________________________________________ 

City:___________________________ State:_______________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, Zip:_________________________________________________ 

13.3 Alternative Forms forms of Notice notice 
Any notice or request required or permitted to be given by either Party to the other and not required by this Agreement to be 
given in writing may be so given by telephone, facsimile or e-mail to the telephone numbers and email addresses set out below: 

If to the Interconnection Customer: 

Interconnection Customer:__________________________________________ 

Attention:_______________________________________________________ 

Address:_______________________________________________________ 

City: _____________________________ State:_______________ Zip:______ 

City, State, Zip:___________________________________________________ 

Phone:___________________________ Fax:__________________________ 

If to the Distribution Company Utility: 

Distribution Company Utility:_________________________________________ 

Attention:_______________________________________________________ 

Address:_______________________________________________________ 

City: ____________________________ State:_______________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, Zip:___________________________________________________ 

Phone:___________________________ Fax:__________________________ 
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13.4 Designated Operating Representative operating representative 
The Parties may also designate operating representatives to conduct the communications which may be necessary or 

convenient for the administration of this Agreement. This person will also serve as the point of contact with respect to 
operations and maintenance of the Party's facilities. 

Interconnection Customer's Operating Representative: 

Interconnection Customer:_______________________________________ 

Attention:____________________________________________________ 

Address:____________________________________________________ 

City: ___________________________ State:_____________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, Zip:_______________________________________________ 

Phone:_________________________ Fax:_________________________ 

Distribution Company's Utility's Operating Representative: 

Distribution Company Utility:______________________________________ 

Attention:____________________________________________________ 

Address:_____________________________________________________ 

City: ___________________________ State:_____________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, Zip:________________________________________________ 

Phone:_________________________ Fax:_________________________ 

13.5 Changes to the Notice Information notice information 
Either Party may change this information by giving five business days written notice prior to the effective date of the change. 

Article 14. Signatures 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Parties have caused this 
Agreement to be executed by their respective duly authorized 
representatives. 

For the Distribution Company Utility 

Name:____________________________________________________ 

Title:_____________________________________________________ 

Date:____________________________________________________ 

For the Interconnection Customer 

Name:___________________________________________________ 

Title:_____________________________________________________ 

Date:____________________________________________________ 

Attachment 1 to  

Schedule 5 6 

Glossary of Terms 

"Affected system– An" means an electric utility system other 
than that of the Distribution Company's transmission system 
utility that may be affected by the proposed interconnection. 

"Affected system operator" means an entity that operates an 
affected system or, if the affected system is under the 

operational control of an independent system operator or a 
Regional Transmission Entity, such independent entity. 

"Applicable laws and regulations– All" means all duly 
promulgated applicable federal, state and local laws, 
regulations, rules, ordinances, codes, decrees, judgments, 
directives, or judicial or administrative orders, permits and 
other duly authorized actions of any governmental authority. 

"Attachment facilities" means the facilities and equipment 
owned, operated, and maintained by the utility that are built 
new in order to physically connect the customer's 
interconnection facilities to the utility system. Attachment 
facilities shall not include distribution upgrades or previously 
existing distribution and transmission facilities. 

"Business [ Day" day" ] – means Monday through Friday, 
excluding federal holidays. 

"Certified" has the meaning ascribed to it in Schedule 2 of 
Chapter 314 [ (20VAC5-314-10 et seq.) (20VAC5-314) ] of 
the Virginia Administrative Code. 

[ "Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission. 

"Competitive service provider" means any entity, other than 
the utility, supplying electric energy service to the 
Interconnection Customer. ]  
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"Customer's interconnection facilities" means all the facilities 
and equipment owned, operated and maintained by the 
Interconnection Customer, between the Small Generating 
Facility and the point of interconnection necessary to 
physically and electrically interconnect the Small Generating 
Facility to the utility system. 

[ "Commission means the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission. ]  

"Default– The" means the failure of a breaching Party to cure 
its breach under the Small Generator Interconnection 
Agreement. 

Distribution Company – The Utility that owns and/or operates 
the Distribution System located in Virginia to which the small 
generation facility proposes to interconnect its small 
generating facility. 

"Distribution system– The Distribution Company's" means 
the utility's facilities and equipment used to transmit generally 
delivering electricity to ultimate usage points such as homes 
and industries directly from nearby generators or from 
interchanges with higher voltage transmission systems which 
transport bulk power over longer distances. The voltage levels 
at which distribution systems operate differ among areas 
customers from substations supplied by higher voltages 
(usually at transmission level). For purposes of this 
Agreement, all portions of the utility's transmission system 
regulated by the Commission for which interconnections are 
not within Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 
jurisdiction are considered also to be subject to Commission 
regulations. 

"Distribution upgrades– The" means the additions, 
modifications, and upgrades to the Distribution Company's 
utility's distribution system at or beyond the point of 
interconnection necessary to facilitate abate problems on the 
utility's distribution system caused by the interconnection of 
the small generating facility and render the transmission 
service necessary to effect the Interconnection Customer's 
wholesale sale of electricity in interstate commerce Small 
Generating Facility. Distribution upgrades do not include 
customer's interconnection facilities or attachment facilities. 

[ "Energy service provider" means any entity supplying 
electric energy service to the Interconnection Customer. ]  

"Facilities study" has the meaning ascribed to it in the 
commission's regulations governing the interconnection of 
small generating facilities at 20VAC5-314-70 [ F E ]. 

"Feasibility study" has the meaning ascribed to it in the 
commission's regulations governing the interconnection of 
small generating facilities at 20VAC5-314-70 [ D C ]. 

"FERC" means the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. 

"Good Distribution Company Utility Practice– Any" means 
any of the practices, methods and acts engaged in or approved 

by a significant portion of the electric industry during the 
relevant time period, or any of the practices, methods and acts 
which, in the exercise of reasonable judgment in light of the 
facts known at the time the decision was made, could have 
been expected to accomplish the desired result at a reasonable 
cost consistent with good business practices, reliability, safety 
and expedition. Good Distribution Company Utility Practice 
is not intended to be limited to the optimum practice, method, 
or act to the exclusion of all others, but rather to be acceptable 
practices, methods, or acts generally accepted in the region. 

"Governmental authority– Any" means any federal, state, 
local or other governmental regulatory or administrative 
agency, court, commission, department, board, or other 
governmental subdivision, legislature, rulemaking board, 
tribunal, or other governmental authority having jurisdiction 
over the Parties, their respective facilities, or the respective 
services they provide, and exercising or entitled to exercise 
any administrative, executive, police, or taxing authority or 
power; provided that such term does not include the 
Interconnection Customer, the interconnection provider, or 
any Affiliate thereof utility, or a utility affiliate. 

"Interconnection Customer– Any" or "IC" means any entity, 
including the Distribution Company, the transmission owner 
or any of the affiliates or subsidiaries of either, that proposes 
to interconnect its small generating facility with the 
Distribution Company's transmission proposing to 
interconnect a new Small Generating Facility with the utility 
system. 

Interconnection facilities – The Distribution Company's 
interconnection facilities and the Interconnection Customer's 
interconnection facilities. Collectively, interconnection 
facilities include all facilities and equipment between the 
small generating facility and the point of interconnection, 
including any modification, additions or upgrades that are 
necessary to physically and electrically interconnect the small 
generating facility to the Distribution Company's transmission 
system. Interconnection facilities are sole use facilities and 
shall not include distribution upgrades or system upgrades. 

"Interconnection request– The Interconnection Customer's" 
means the IC's request, in accordance with [ the tariff Chapter 
314 (20VAC5-314) of the Virginia Administrative Code ], to 
interconnect a new small generating facility Small [ General 
Generating ] Facility, or to increase the capacity of, or make a 
material modification to the operating characteristics of, an 
existing small generating facility Small Generating Facility 
that is interconnected with the Distribution Company's utility 
system. 

"Interconnection studies" means the studies conducted by the 
utility, or a third party agreed to by the utility and the 
Interconnection Customer, in order to determine the 
interaction of the Small Generating Facility with the utility 
system and the affected systems in order to specify any 
modifications to the Small Generating Facility or the electric 
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systems studied to ensure safe and reliable operation of the 
Small Generating Facility in parallel with the utility system. 

"Material modification– A" means a modification that has a 
material impact on the cost or timing of any Interconnection 
Request with a later queue priority date. 

System upgrades – Additions, modifications, and upgrades to 
the Distribution Company's distribution and transmission 
system required at or beyond the point at which the small 
generating facility interconnects with the system to 
accommodate the interconnection of the small generating 
facility with the Distribution Company's transmission system. 

"Operating requirements– Any" means any operating and 
technical requirements that may be applicable due to 
Regional Transmission Organization, Independent System 
Operator regional transmission entity, independent system 
operator, control area, or the Distribution Company's utility's 
requirements, including those set forth in the Small Generator 
Interconnection Agreement. 

"Party" or "Parties" – The Distribution Company means the 
utility, the Interconnection Customer or any combination of 
the above both. 

"Point of interconnection– The" means the point where the 
customer's interconnection facilities connect with to the 
Distribution Company's transmission utility system. 

Reasonable efforts – With respect to an action required to be 
attempted or taken by a Party under the Small Generator 
Interconnection Agreement, efforts that are timely and 
consistent with Good Distribution Company Practice and are 
otherwise substantially equivalent to those a Party would use 
to protect its own interests. 

"Regional Transmission Entity" or "RTE" shall refer to an 
entity having the management and control of a utility's 
transmission system as further set forth in § 56-579 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Small Generating Facility– The" or "generator" or "SGF" 
means the Interconnection Customer's device equipment for 
the production of electricity identified in the Interconnection 
Request, but shall not include the Interconnection Customer's 
interconnection facilities. 

"Small Generator Interconnection Agreement" or "SGIA" 
means the agreement between the utility and the 
Interconnection Customer as set forth in Schedule 6 of 
[ 20VAC5-314-170 of the Commission's regulations 
governing interconnection of small electrical generators 
Chapter 314 (20VAC5-314) of the Virginia Administrative 
Code ]. 

"Supplemental review" has the meaning ascribed to it in the 
Commission's regulations governing the interconnection of 
small generating facilities at 20VAC5-314-70 [ E I ]. 

"System" or "utility system" means the distribution and 
transmission facilities owned, controlled, or operated by the 
utility that are used to deliver electricity. 

"System impact study" has the meaning ascribed to it in the 
Commission's regulations governing the interconnection of 
small generating facilities at 20VAC5-314-70 [ E D ]. 

"Tariff– The" means the rates, terms and conditions filed by 
the utility with the State Corporation Commission for the 
purpose of providing commission-regulated Commission-
regulated electric service to retail customers. 

Upgrades – The required additions and modifications to the 
Distribution Company's distribution or transmission system at 
or beyond the point of interconnection. Upgrades do not 
include interconnection facilities. 

"Transmission system" means the utility's facilities and 
equipment delivering electric energy to the distribution 
system, such facilities usually being operated at voltages 
above the utility's typical distribution system voltages. 

"Utility" means the public utility company subject to 
regulation by the Commission pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-
232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia with regard to 
rates and/or service quality to which the Interconnection 
Customer proposes to interconnect a Small Generating 
Facility. 

Attachment 2 to  

Schedule 5 6 

Description and Costs of the Small Generating Facility, 
Customer's Interconnection Facilities, Attachment 

Facilities and Metering Equipment 

Equipment, including the small generating facility, 
interconnection facilities, and metering equipment shall be 
itemized and identified as being The following shall be 
provided in this exhibit: 

1. An itemization of the major equipment components 
owned by the Interconnection Customer or and the 
Distribution Company. The Distribution Company will 
provide a best estimate itemized cost, including 
overheads, of its interconnection facilities and metering 
equipment, and a best estimate itemized cost of the 
annual operation and maintenance expenses associated 
with its interconnection facilities and metering equipment 
utility, including components of the Small Generating 
Facility, the customer's interconnection facilities, 
attachment facilities, and metering equipment. Such 
itemization shall identify the owner of each item listed. 

2. The utility's estimated itemized cost of its attachment 
facilities and its metering equipment. 

3. The utility's estimated cost of its annual operation and 
maintenance expenses associated with attachment 
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facilities and metering equipment to be charged to the 
Interconnection Customer. 

Attachment 3 to  

Schedule 5 6 

Diagram to be provided by applicant 

One-line Diagram Depicting the Small Generating 
Facility, Customer's Interconnection Facilities, 

Attachment Facilities, Metering Equipment, and 
Distribution Upgrades 

(Diagram and description to be provided by Interconnection 
Customer [ unless the utility elects to prepare this schedule. 
If this schedule is prepared by the utility, the IC shall 
provide a one-line diagram of the SGF and IC's 
interconnection facilities for the utility to use as a data 
source for preparing this schedule. ] ) 

Attachment 4 to  

Schedule 5 6 

Milestones 

In-Service Date:___________________ 

Critical milestones and responsibility as agreed to by the 
Parties: 

Milestone/Date  Responsible Party 

(1)______________________ ___________________________ 

(2)______________________ ___________________________ 

(3)______________________ ___________________________ 

(4)______________________ ___________________________ 

(5)______________________ ___________________________ 

(6)______________________ ___________________________ 

(7)______________________ ___________________________ 

(8)______________________ ___________________________ 

(9)______________________ ___________________________ 

(10)_____________________ ___________________________ 

Agreed to by: 

For the Distribution Company Utility 
__________________ Date__________ 

For the Transmission Owner (If Applicable)_____________ 
Date__________ 

For the Interconnection Customer____________________ 
Date__________ 

Attachment 5 to  

Schedule 5 6 

Additional Operating Requirements for the Distribution 
Company's Utility System and Affected Systems Needed 

to Support the Interconnection Customer's Needs 

The Distribution Company utility shall also provide 
requirements that must be met by the Interconnection 
Customer prior to initiating parallel operation with the 
Distribution Company's utility system. 

Attachment 6 to  

Schedule 5 6 

Distribution Company's Utility's Description of its 
Distribution and Transmission Upgrades And Best and 

Estimate of Upgrade Costs 

The Distribution Company shall describe upgrades and 
provide an itemized estimate of the cost, including overheads, 
of the upgrades and annual operation and maintenance 
expenses associated with such upgrades. The Distribution 
Company shall functionalize upgrade costs and annual 
expenses as either transmission or distribution related. utility 
shall provide the following in this attachment: 

1. An itemized list of the upgrades required to be 
constructed by the utility prior to interconnection of the 
Small Generating Facility, with transmission and 
distribution related upgrades shown separately. 

2. An estimate of the cost of each item listed pursuant to 
item 1. 

3. An estimate of annual operation and maintenance 
expenses associated with such upgrades that are to be 
charged to the Interconnection Customer, shown 
separately for transmission and distribution related items. 

[ Attestation ]  
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1147; Filed May 8, 2009, 1:29 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-630. Disability Advocacy 
Project (repealing 22VAC40-630-10 through 22VAC40-
630-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-802 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
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Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Mark L. Golden, TANF Program Manager, 
Department of Social Services, Division of Benefit Programs, 
7 North 8th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
726-7385, FAX (804) 726-7356, or email 
mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Pursuant to § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia, the 
State Board of Social Services has authority to promulgate 
rules and regulations necessary for the operation of all 
assistance programs. Section 63.2-803 of the Code of 
Virginia provides for the establishment of an advocacy 
project for recipients of General Relief. 

Purpose: General Relief is a program that provides assistance 
to individuals that are not eligible for other forms of 
assistance. General Relief is an optional program at the local 
level. The regulation provides for procedures for referring 
recipients to legal representation during an appeal of a SSI 
disability determination process and providing information on 
how the appeal may affect their General Relief benefits. The 
agency will advise recipients that they have five days from 
the receipt of a letter from the Social Security agency to 
contact the social services agency requesting advocacy 
services. Since the provisions of this regulation will be 
contained in 22VAC40-411, General Relief Program, the 
welfare of citizens will not be impacted. This regulatory 
action promotes a more efficient administration of state and 
local government. 

Substance: This regulation will be repealed. A new 
comprehensive General Relief regulation will be established. 
Any necessary language from this regulation will be included 
in the new comprehensive regulation. 

Issues: The Disability Advocacy regulation will be an 
advantage to the vulnerable and disadvantaged population 
who cannot receive assistance in other programs. General 
Relief is often the only means to support those individuals. 
Legal representation will provide information and support to 
these individuals regarding the SSI appeal process and 
provide an explanation of how receiving SSI will affect their 
General Relief benefits. The regulatory action poses no 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. It 
promotes a more efficient state and local government. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to repeal its 
regulations for the General Relief Disability Advocacy 
Project. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the Board has several 
sets of regulations, including the General Relief Disability 
Advocacy Project, which allow localities the option of 
providing assistance to individuals who do not qualify for 
more regular types (food stamps, Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families, Medicaid, etc) of Social Services aid. The 
Disability Advocacy Project, for instance, provides legal 
assistance referrals for individuals whose Social Security 
Income (SSI) disability claims have been denied and who are 
going through the appeals process. 

The Board is in the process of promulgating one, 
comprehensive, set of regulations to cover the disparate aid 
programs, including the Disability Advocacy Project, which 
local Departments of Social Services can optionally 
implement. The repeal of all affected separate regulations 
except those for the General Relief Disability Advocacy 
Project was proposed as part of that regulatory package 
(22VAC40-411, stage # 4564). The Board now proposes to 
repeal the Disability Advocacy Project because these 
regulations will now be redundant and unnecessary.  Because 
the rules for the Disability Advocacy Project will not be 
changed (they will just be moved to the comprehensive 
regulation), affected individuals are unlikely to incur any 
costs on account of this regulatory proposal. Local 
Departments of Social Services will likely find it beneficial to 
have all the rules for these smaller optional programs in one 
set of regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulatory 
action will affect all local Departments of Social Services 
(LDSS) that choose to implement this optional program. 
Currently, 83 LDSS provide Disability Advocacy Project 
assistance. 

Localities Particularly Affected. This proposed regulatory 
action will particularly affect LDSS that choose to implement 
the Disability Advocacy Project. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 
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Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

General Relief is a program that provides assistance to 
individuals who are not eligible for other forms of 
assistance and is an optional program at the local level. 
The regulation provides procedures for referring 
recipients to legal representation during an appeal of a 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability 
determination process and providing information on how 
the appeal may affect their General Relief benefits. This 
regulation is repealed and its provisions will be included 
in a new comprehensive General Relief Program 
regulation (22VAC40-411). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1278; Filed May 13, 2009, 4:03 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Revision 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 
proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 
Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 
the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 
the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 
air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. If adopted, the 
Commonwealth intends to submit the regulation or a portion 
thereof to the EPA as a revision to the SIP in accordance with 
the requirements of § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulation affected by this action is 
9VAC5-10, General Definitions, Rev. H07. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 
whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 
revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: May 18, 2009, to June 17, 2009. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 
request is made in writing to the contact listed below. In order 
to be considered, the request must include the full name, 
address, and telephone number of the person requesting the 
hearing and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the last day of 
the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of 
any requested public hearing will be announced in a separate 
notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 
conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 
exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 
of regulations contained in Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act by the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the 
Administrative Process Act because they are necessary to 
meet the requirements of the federal Clean Air Act and do not 
differ materially from the pertinent EPA regulations. Since 
the amendments are exempt from administrative procedures 
for the adoption of regulations, DEQ is accepting comment 
only on the issue cited above under "purpose of notice" and 
not on the content of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision will consist of 
amendments to existing regulation provisions concerning the 
definition of volatile organic compound (VOC). On January 
18, 2007 (72 FR 2193), EPA revised the definition of VOC in 
40 CFR 51.100 to exclude a compound known as 
(1)1,1,1,2,2,3,4,5,5,5-decafluoro-3-methoxy-4-
trifluoromethyl-pentane (HFE-7300). This exclusion is 
accomplished by adding the substance to a list of substances 
not considered to be a VOC. In order to maintain consistency 
with the federal requirements for reducing VOCs and 

therefore ozone, Virginia's definition of VOC must be 
consistent with EPA's definition. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 
public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 
CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. Except as 
noted below, the proposal will be submitted as a revision to 
the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the 
federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. It is 
planned to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision 
to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 
must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 
the person commenting and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on 
the last day of the comment period. Due to problems with the 
quality of faxes, commenters are encouraged to provide the 
signed original by postal mail within one week. All 
testimony, exhibits, and documents received are part of the 
public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and any 
supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 
Notices for Plans website 
(http://www.deq.state.va.us/air/permitting/planotes.html). The 
documents may also be obtained by contacting the DEQ 
representative named below. The public may review the 
documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business 
day until the close of the public comment period at the 
following DEQ locations: (i) Main Street Office, 629 E Main 
St., 8th Floor, Richmond, VA, (804) 698-4070, (ii) Southwest 
Regional Office, 355 Deadmore St., Abingdon, VA, (540) 
676-4800, (iii) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Roanoke 
Location, 3019 Peters Creek Rd., Roanoke, VA, (540) 562-
6700, (iv) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Lynchburg Location, 
7705 Timberlake Rd., Lynchburg, VA, (804) 582-5120, (v) 
Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Rd., Harrisonburg, VA, 
(540) 574-7800, (vi) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox 
Rd., Glen Allen, VA, (804) 527-5020, (vii) Northern 
Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA, 
(703) 583-3800, and (viii) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA, (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice of Opportunity to Serve on a Regulatory 
Advisory Panel Concerning Permit Regulations for 

Renewable-Energy Facilities 
Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
is announcing the establishment of a Regulatory Advisory 
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Panel (panel) to assist the department in developing a 
regulation to implement Virginia Acts of Assembly Chapters 
808 and 854 (2009 HB 2175/SB 1347). The department is 
seeking persons interested in serving on the panel. 

Deadline for submittal of requests: June 29, 2009. 

Background: During the 2009 legislative session, the Virginia 
General Assembly passed HB 2175/SB 1347 (Virginia Acts 
of Assembly Chapters 804 and 854), which require the 
department to develop regulations that establish one or more 
permits by rule necessary for the construction and operation 
of small renewable energy projects, including such conditions 
and standards necessary to protect the Commonwealth’s 
natural resources. The permit by rule for wind energy shall be 
effective as soon as practicable, but not later than January 1, 
2011. 

Purpose of panel: The department is establishing this panel to 
review the subject legislation and make recommendations to 
the department on how to implement the law’s provisions.  It 
is anticipated that discussion topics will include how the 
department might address potential environmental impacts, 
mitigation plans, facility site planning, public participation, 
permit fees, interagency consultations, enforcement and 
compliance, and other topics that may be brought up during 
the public comment period.  The department will publish a 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in the near future to 
begin the rulemaking process to implement this legislation. 
However, the panel established in response to this notice will 
be the panel used to assist the department in the development 
of one or more permits by rule regulations. 

Contact for additional information or submittal of requests to 
serve on the committee: Carol C. Wampler, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, email 
carol.wampler@deq.virginia.gov, telephone (804) 698-4579. 

Proposed Consent Order - Contractors Paving 
Company, Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a location in Norfolk, Virginia. 

Public comment period: June 8, 2009, to July 8, 2009. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Contractors Paving 
Company, Inc., to address alleged violations of Virginia State 
Water Control Law. The location where the alleged violations 
occurred is 3431 Trant Avenue, Norfolk. The consent order 
describes a settlement to resolve alleged violations of the 
facility Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
General Permit VAR05. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 

name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Paul R. Smith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2020, FAX (757) 518-2009, or email 
paul.smith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order - O’Malley’s UAP & UC, 
Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a location in Suffolk, Virginia. 

Public comment period: June 8, 2009, to July 8, 2009. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to O’Malley’s UAP & UC, 
Inc., to address alleged violations of Virginia State Water 
Control Law. The location where the alleged violations 
occurred is O’Malley’s Used Auto Parts, 1327 Portsmouth 
Boulevard, Suffolk. The consent order describes a settlement 
to resolve alleged violations of the facility Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System General Permit VAR05. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Paul R. Smith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2020, FAX (757) 518-2009, or email 
paul.smith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Study to Restore Water Quality - Cod, Presley, Hull, 
Rogers, Bridgeman, Cubitt, and Hack Creeks, and 

Fountain Cove 

Public meeting: June 24, 2009, at the Northumberland Public 
Library, 7204 Northumberland Highway, Heathsville, VA 
22473. An afternoon public meeting will be held from 2 p.m. 
to 4 p.m. and the evening public meeting from 6 p.m. to 
8 p.m.  The library asks that you please park at the side or in 
back of the building. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
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are announcing a study to restore water quality for a shellfish 
growing area, a public comment opportunity, and two public 
meetings. 

Meeting description: First public meetings on a study to 
restore water quality for shellfish growing areas along Cod, 
Presley, Hull, Rogers, Bridgeman, Cubitt, and Hack Creeks, 
and Fountain Cove, which are impaired due to bacterial 
violations. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in the shellfish 
growing waters of these (tidal) creeks including their 
tributaries. These condemnations include a total area of 
approximately 1.18 square miles in Northumberland County. 
These streams are impaired for failure to meet the designated 
use of shellfish consumption because of bacterial water 
quality standard violations. Cubitt Creek also has a 
recreational impairment (swimming) of approximately 0.227 
square miles. The recreational water quality standard is less 
stringent than that of the shellfish standard; therefore, it is 
expected that clean-up efforts aimed at restoring the shellfish 
use will also result in attainment of the recreational use. 

Stream County Area 
(miles²) 

Impairment 

Cod Creek 
(left branch) 0.115 

Cod Creek 
(right branch) 0.079 

Hull Creek 
(mainstem) 0.044 

Bridgeman 
Creek 0.045 

Rogers Creek 0.035 

Fountain Cove 0.087 

Hack Creek 0.215 

 
 
 

Shellfish Use 
(Fecal 

Coliform) 
bacteria 

Cubitt Creek 

Northumberland 
 

0.227 

Shellfish Use 
(Fecal 

Coliform) & 
Recreational 

Use 
(Enterococci) 

The study reports the current status of the creeks via sampling 
performed by the Virginia Department of Health, Division of 
Shellfish Sanitation, shellfish area condemnations and the 
possible sources of bacterial contamination.  The study 
recommends total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the 
impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
To restore water quality, bacterial levels have to be reduced to 
the TMDL amount. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will expire on July 23, 2009. DEQ also accepts 

written and oral comments at the public meeting announced 
in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, or 
email mjsmigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Study to Restore Water Quality - Hunting Creek, 
Cameron Run, and Holmes Run 

Announcement of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) study 
to restore water quality in the bacteria impaired waters of 
Hunting Creek, Cameron Run, and Holmes Run. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation announce the second technical advisory 
committee (TAC) meeting for the Hunting Creek, Cameron 
Run, and Holmes Run bacteria TMDL studies. 

Technical advisory committee meeting: Tuesday, June 30, 
2009, 10 a.m. - Noon, City of Alexandria, Charles E. Beatley 
Central Library, Main Community Room, 5005 Duke Street, 
Alexandria, VA 22304-2903. 

Meeting description: This is the second meeting of the TAC. 
The purpose of the TAC will be to provide technical input 
and insight for the project, and to assist with stakeholder and 
public participation. 

Description of study: Portions of Hunting Creek, Cameron 
Run, and Holmes Run have been identified as impaired on the 
Clean Water Act § 303(d) list for not supporting the primary 
contact recreation use due to elevated levels of E. coli 
bacteria. Virginia agencies are working to identify the sources 
of bacteria contamination in these stream segments.  The 
Hunting Creek, Cameron Run, and Holmes Run watersheds 
are located within Arlington County, the City of Alexandria, 
the City of Falls Church, and Fairfax County.  Below are 
descriptions of the impaired segments that will be addressed 
in this study: 

Stream Name Impairments Area Upstream 
Limit 

Hunting 
Creek 
(Tidal) 

Recreational 
use Impairment 
due to E. coli 

bacteria 

0.53   
square 
miles 

Route 241 
(Telegraph 

Road) Bridge 
Crossing 

Cameron Run 
(Nontidal) 

Recreational 
use Impairment 
due to E. coli 

bacteria 

2.08     
miles 

Confluence 
with Backlick 

Run 

Holmes Run 
(Nontidal) 

Recreational 
use Impairment 
due to E. coli 

bacteria 

3.58      
miles 

Mouth of 
Lake Barcroft 
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During this study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) for each of the impaired stream segments. A 
TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 
receive and still meet water quality standards. To restore 
water quality, pollutant levels have to be reduced to the 
TMDL allocated amount. 

How to comment: The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the TAC meeting will extend from June 
30, 2009, to July 30, 2009. DEQ accepts written comments by 
email, fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include 
the name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting, and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period. Please send all comments to the contact listed below. 

Contact for additional information: Katie Conaway, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-3804, email 
mkconaway@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Loads - Mossy Creek, Long 
Glade Run and Naked Creek 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) seek 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
implementation plan for Mossy Creek, Long Glade Run, and 
Naked Creek in Augusta and Rockingham counties. Mossy 
Creek and Long Glade Run were originally listed on the 1996 
§ 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired, with 
Naked Creek joining them in 1998, due to violations of the 
state’s water quality standard for bacteria. In 1998, Mossy 
Creek was also listed due to a benthic or aquatic life 
impairment. TMDLs for bacteria in all three creeks and one 
for sediment in Mossy Creek were developed to address the 
impairments in these streams. These TMDLs were approved 
by EPA on July 14, 2004, and May 21, 2002, respectively, 
and are available on DEQ’s website at 
http://gisweb.deq.virginia.gov/tmdlapp/tmdl_report_search.cf
m. 

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 
development of an implementation plan (IP) for approved 
TMDLs. The IP should provide measurable goals and the date 
of expected achievement of water quality objectives. The IP 
should also include the corrective actions needed and their 
associated costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

DEQ and DCR will hold a final public meeting on Thursday, 
June 18, 2009, at 7 p.m. to inform the public of the IP 
development and to solicit comments on the draft document. 
The meeting will be held in the cafeteria of North River 
Elementary School in Mt. Solon. 

The draft implementation plan will be available for review on 
the web no later than June 15, 2009, at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/iprpts.html. The public 

comment period for this final public meeting will end on 
Wednesday, July 15, 2009. Questions or information requests 
should be addressed to Tara Sieber, DEQ, (540) 574-7870. 
Written comments should include the name, address, and 
telephone number of the person submitting the comments and 
should be sent to Tara Sieber, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 
(540) 574-7870, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
tara.sieber@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Loads - South River in 
Augusta and Rockingham Counties 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation seek written and 
oral comments from interested persons on the development of 
total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the South River in 
Augusta and Rockingham counties. The South River was 
listed on the 1996 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as 
impaired due to violations of the state’s water quality 
standard for bacteria and violations of the state’s general 
(benthic) standard for aquatic life. The benthic impairment 
extends for 5.44 miles from the Invista discharge downstream 
to Sawmill Run. The bacteria impairment extends for 24.71 
miles from the Invista discharge to the confluence with the 
North River. In addition, the South River and South Fork 
Shenandoah River fail to support the fish consumption use 
due to mercury contamination. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia’s § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. DEQ has 
developed a bacteria TMDL to address the recreational use 
impairment, sediment and phosphorus TMDLs to address the 
aquatic life impairment, and a mercury TMDL to address the 
fish consumption impairment. Draft reports of these TMDLs 
will be available for review and download from the DEQ 
website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/TMDLDataSearch/ 
DraftReports.jspx beginning on or before June 11, 2009. 
DEQ is seeking comment on these draft reports. 

The final public meeting on the development of these TMDLs 
will be held on Thursday, June 11, 2009, 7 p.m. at the 
Waynesboro City Council Chambers, Charles T. Yancey 
Municipal Building, 503 West Main Street, Room 104, 
Waynesboro, VA. 

The public comment period for this meeting and the draft 
TMDL will end on July 13, 2009. Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments and should be sent to Robert 
Brent, Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early 
Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 
(540) 574-7848, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
rnbrent@deq.virginia.gov. 
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BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Notice of Periodic Review 
Review Announcement: The Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators within the Department of Health Professions 
is preparing to conduct a periodic review of its general 
regulations governing the practice of nursing home 
administrators: 

18VAC95-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Nursing Home Administrators 

The board is receiving comment on whether there is a need 
for amendments for clarification or for consistency with 
changes in practice. 

Comment Begins: May 25, 2009, and ends June 24, 2009. 

If any member of the public would like to comment on these 
regulations, please send comments by the close of the 
comment period to: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Comments may also be emailed to 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov or FAX (804) 527-4434. 

Regulations for the practice of nursing home administrators 
may be viewed online at www.townhall.virginia.gov or 
www.dhp.virginia.gov or copies will be sent upon request. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Approval of Water Quality Management Planning 
Actions 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board (board) is 
considering the approval of six total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) reports and four TMDL modifications, and granting 
authorization to include the TMDL reports and modifications 
in the appropriate Water Quality Management Plans 
(WQMPs). 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking comment on the 
proposed approvals and authorizations. The purpose of these 
actions is to approve six TMDL reports and four TMDL 
modifications as Virginia’s plans for the pollutant reductions 
necessary for attainment of water quality goals in several 
impaired waterbodies. These actions are taken in accordance 
with the Public Participation Procedures for Water Quality 
Management Planning. 

Public comment period: June 8, 2009, to July 7, 2009. 

Description of proposed action: DEQ staff intends to 
recommend (i) that the DEQ director approve the TMDL 
reports and TMDL modifications listed below as Virginia’s 
plans for the pollutant reductions necessary for attainment of 
water quality goals in the impaired segments, and (ii) that the 
DEQ director authorize inclusion of the TMDL reports and 

TMDL modifications in the appropriate WQMPs. No 
regulatory amendments are required for these TMDLs and 
their associated waste load allocations. 

At previous meetings, the board voted unanimously to 
delegate to the DEQ director the authority to approve TMDLs 
that do not include waste load allocations requiring regulatory 
adoption by the board, provided that a summary report of the 
action the director plans to take is presented to the board prior 
to the director approving the TMDL reports. The TMDLs 
included in this public notice will be approved using this 
delegation of authority. 

The TMDLs listed below were developed in accordance with 
federal regulations (40 CFR 130.7) and are exempt from the 
provisions of Article II (§ 2.2-4006 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) of the Virginia Administrative Process Act. The 
TMDLs have been through the TMDL public participation 
process contained in DEQ’s Public Participation Procedures 
for Water Quality Management Planning.  The public 
comment process provides the affected stakeholders an 
opportunity for public appeal of the TMDLs. EPA approved 
all TMDL reports presented under this public notice. The 
approved reports can be found at 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/TMDLDataSearch/ReportSearc
h.jspx. 

Affected Waterbodies and Localities: 

Potomac River & Shenandoah River Basins: 

1. "Monroe Bay, Monroe Creek Total Maximum Daily Load 
(TMDL) Report for Shellfish Condemnation Areas Listed 
Due to Bacteria Contamination" 

• One bacteria TMDL, located in Westmoreland County, 
proposes bacteria reductions for portions of the watershed 
to address VDH Shellfish Area Condemnations 

2. "Total Maximum Daily Load Report for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria Contamination in Upper Machodoc 
Creek" 

• Three bacteria TMDL, located in King George County, 
propose bacteria reductions for portions of the watershed to 
address VDH Shellfish Area Condemnations 

In the James River Basin: 

3. "Bacteria Total Maximum Daily Load Development for 
Mill Creek and Powhatan Creek"  

• Three bacteria TMDLs, located in James City County, 
propose bacteria reductions for portions of the watersheds 
to address a primary contact (swimming use) impairment 

In the Roanoke River Basin:  

4 & 5. "Bacteria TMDLs for the Dan River Water Shed" 
modifications (2) 
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• 15 bacteria TMDLs, located in Pittsylvania, Henry, 
Halifax and Mecklenburg, Franklin, Floyd, Carroll, and 
Patrick counties, propose bacteria reductions for portions of 
the watersheds to address primary contact (swimming use) 
impairments  

In the Chesapeake Bay-Small Coastal-Eastern Shore Basin: 

6. "Total Maximum Daily Load Report for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria Contamination – Barlow and Jacobus 
Creeks" 

• Three bacteria TMDLs, located in Northampton County, 
propose bacteria reductions for portions of the watersheds 
to address VDH Shellfish Area Condemnations 

7. "Total Maximum Daily Load Report for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria Contamination – Indian, Tabbs, 
Dymer, and Antipoison Creeks" 

• Six bacteria TMDLs, located in Northumberland and 
Lancaster counties, propose bacteria reductions for portions 
of the watersheds to address VDH Shellfish Area 
Condemnations  

In the Rappahannock River Basin:  

8. "Total Maximum Daily Load Report for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria Contamination – Oyster Creek and 
Mosquito Creek"  

• Two bacteria TMDLs, located in Lancaster County, 
propose bacteria reductions for portions of the watersheds 
to address VDH Shellfish Area Condemnations  

9. "Bacteria TMDL for Robinson River and Dark Run" 
modification 

• One bacteria TMDLs, located in Madison County, 
proposes bacteria reductions for portions of the watersheds 
to address primary contact (swimming use) impairments 

10. "Bacteria TMDLs for Mountain Run and Mine Run, 
Orange County, Virginia" modification 

• One bacteria TMDLs, located in Madison County, 
proposes bacteria reductions for portions of the watershed 
to address primary contact (swimming use) impairments  

How to comment: The DEQ accepts written comments by 
email, fax and postal mail. All written comments must 
include the full name, address and telephone number of the 
person commenting and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the 
last day of the comment period.  

How a decision is made: After comments have been 
considered, the board will make the final decision. 

To review documents: The TMDL reports and TMDL 
implementation plans are available on the DEQ website at 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/TMDLDataSearch/ReportSearc
h.jspx and by contacting the DEQ representative named 

below.  The electronic copies are in PDF format and may be 
read online or downloaded. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: David S. Lazarus, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4299, FAX (804) 698-4116, or 
email david.lazarus@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-585. Retail Food 
Establishment Regulations. 

Publication: 25:18 VA.R. 3108-3148 May 11, 2009. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 3123, 2VAC5-585-80 D 2, line 3, change to 
"subdivisions 4 through 9" 

Page 3124, 2VAC5-585-80 F 2, lines 3 and 4, change to 
"subdivisions 4 through 9" 

Page, 3132, 2VAC5-585-570 D, line 1, change to: "D. Wet 
Dry wiping cloths ..." 
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Page 3140, 2VAC5-585-870, after subdivision D 2 e (4), 
insert: 

f. Held in a refrigeration unit that is equipped with an 
electronic system that continuously monitors time and 
temperature and is visually examined for proper 
operation twice daily; 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1653; Filed May 19, 2009; 16:46 p.m. 
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