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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 

Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 

Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2013 through December 2014 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

30:5 October 16, 2013 November 4, 2013 

30:6 October 30, 2013 November 18, 2013 

30:7 November 13, 2013 December 2, 2013 

30:8 November 26, 2013 (Tuesday) December 16, 2013 

30:9 December 11, 2013 December 30, 2013 

30:10 December 23, 2013 (Monday) January 13, 2014 

30:11 January 8, 2014 January 27, 2014 

30:12 January 22, 2014 February 10, 2014 

30:13 February 5, 2014 February 24, 2014 

30:14 February 19, 2014 March 10, 2014 

30:15 March 5, 2014 March 24, 2014 

30:16 March 19, 2014 April 7, 2014 

30:17 April 2, 2014 April 21, 2014 

30:18 April 16, 2014 May 5, 2014 

30:19 April 30, 2014 May 19, 2014 

30:20 May 14, 2014 June 2, 2014 

30:21 May 28, 2014 June 16, 2014 

30:22 June 11, 2014 June 30, 2014 

30:23 June 25, 2014 July 14, 2014 

30:24 July 9, 2014 July 28, 2014 

30:25 July 23, 2014 August 11, 2014 

30:26 August 6, 2014 August 25, 2014 

31:1 August 20, 2014 September 8, 2014 

31:2 September 3, 2014 September 22, 2014 

31:3 September 17, 2014 October 6, 2014 

31:4 October 1, 2014 October 20, 2014 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jeffrey Chase. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend definitions in 

18VAC115-20-10 and requirements for a degree program in 

counseling in 18VAC115-20-49 to accept master's degree 

graduates of a non-CACREP clinical-counseling psychology 

program. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition will be filed with the Register of 

Regulations and published on November 4, 2013, with 

comment requested until December 4, 2013. It will also be 

placed on the Virginia Regulatory Townhall and available for 

comments to be posted electronically. At its first meeting 

following the close of comment, the board will consider the 

request to amend regulations and all comment received in 

support or opposition. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 4, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-02, Filed October 15, 2013, 9:48 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 11. GAMING 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Charitable Gaming Board 

intends to consider amending 11VAC15-40, Charitable 

Gaming Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to adopt regulations pertaining to a new bingo game called 

"network bingo" pursuant to Chapters 36 and 350 of the 2013 

Acts of Assembly. This regulatory action is intended to 

promulgate the required network bingo regulations as well as 

amend provisions of the current regulations that staff has 

identified as needing clarification. 

A regulatory advisory panel will be appointed. If interested in 

serving on the panel, contact the individual listed below. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 18.2-340.15 and 18.2-340.19 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 4, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX (804) 

371-7479, or email michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3873; Filed October 7, 2013, 9:45 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-90, Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control, and repealing 12VAC5-120, 

Regulations for Testing Children for Elevated Blood-Lead 

Levels. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 

several disease-specific sections of the disease reporting 

regulations. Cancer reporting requirements will be updated to 

require the use of electronic means of reporting. The section 

on testing of gamete donors will be amended to align state 

requirements with those of the federal Food and Drug 

Administration. The board also proposes to incorporate the 

testing and risk determination criteria for identifying children 

with elevated blood-lead levels into 12VAC5-90 and to repeal 

12VAC5-120, the existing regulation pertaining to blood-lead 

level testing of children. The Department of Health may 

request additional changes that reflect changing practices in 

the field of communicable disease control and emergency 

preparedness that are needed to protect the health of the 

residents of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-35 and 32.1-46.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Diane Woolard, PhD, Director, Disease 

Surveillance, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8124, or email 

diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3897; Filed October 16, 2013, 10:56 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-371, Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to bring the regulations into conformance 

with the provisions of § 32.1-127.001 of the Code of 

Virginia, enacted in 2005, which, notwithstanding any law or 

regulation to the contrary, requires the State Board of Health 

to promulgate regulations for the licensure of hospitals and 

nursing homes that include minimum standards for design 

and construction that are consistent with the current edition of 

the Guidelines for Design and Construction of Hospital and 

Health Care Facilities issued by the American Institute of 

Architects Academy of Architecture for Health (the 

Guidelines). However, 12VAC5-371 currently provides that 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code takes 

precedence over the Guidelines, which is contrary to the 

requirements of § 32.1-127.001. The department plans to 

amend 12VAC5-371-410 and 12VAC5-371-420, pertaining 

to building and construction codes for nursing facilities, to 

specify that (i) nursing facilities comply with Part 1 and 

sections 4.1 and 4.2 of the Guidelines and (ii) the Guidelines 

take precedence over the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code. The department further intends to specify that 

entities licensed as of the effective date of the amendments 

may continue to be licensed in their current buildings. 

However, all new construction, renovation, modification, 

structural revision, etc. of any space within a nursing facility 

will require full compliance with the amendments for the 

entire area of the modified space. 

This regulatory action is taken in response to a Petition for 

Rulemaking.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2013. 
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Agency Contact: Carrie Eddy, Policy Analyst, Department of 

Health, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, 

telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 367-2149, or email 

carrie.eddy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-24; Filed October 16, 2013, 10:57 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-410, Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to bring the regulations into conformance 

with the provisions of § 32.1-127.001 of the Code of 

Virginia, enacted in 2005, which, notwithstanding any law or 

regulation to the contrary, requires the State Board of Health 

to promulgate regulations for the licensure of hospitals and 

nursing homes that include minimum standards for design 

and construction that are consistent with the current edition of 

the Guidelines for Design and Construction of Hospital and 

Health Care Facilities issued by the American Institute of 

Architects Academy of Architecture for Health (the 

Guidelines). However, 12VAC5-410 currently provides that 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code takes 

precedence over the Guidelines, which is contrary to the 

requirements of § 32.1-127.001. The department plans to 

amend 12VAC5-410-650 and 12VAC5-410-1350, pertaining 

to building and construction codes for inpatient and outpatient 

hospitals, to specify that (i) hospitals comply with Part 1 and 

sections 2.1 through 2.6 of the Guidelines (depending on the 

type of hospital) and (ii) the Guidelines take precedence over 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. The board 

further intends to specify in the regulations that entities 

licensed as of the effective date of the amendments may 

continue to be licensed in their current buildings. However, 

all new construction, renovation, modification, structural 

revision, etc. of any space within a hospital will require full 

compliance with the amendments for the entire area of the 

modified space.  

This regulatory action is taken in response to a Petition for 

Rulemaking. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 6, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Carrie Eddy, Policy Analyst, Department of 

Health, 3600 West Broad Street, Suite 216, Richmond, VA 

23230-4920, telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 367-

2149, or email carrie.eddy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-23; Filed October 16, 2013, 10:58 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-50, 

Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial 

Care and Services, and 12VAC30-60, Standards 

Established and Methods Used to Assure High Quality 

Care. The purpose of the proposed action is to implement the 

provisions of Items 307 LL, 307 RR e, and 307 RR f of the 

2012 Acts of Assembly, which directed the department to 

make programmatic changes in community mental health 

services and to implement a mandatory care coordination 

model for behavioral health. The proposed action will also (i) 

clarify eligibility criteria, service definitions, and 

reimbursement requirements; (ii) require that providers 

communicate important information to other health care 

professionals who provide care to the same individuals; and 

(iii) require service authorization for crisis intervention and 

crisis stabilization services. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 11, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3451; Filed October 10, 2013, 5:32 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to 

consider amending 18VAC90-20, Regulations of the Board 

of Nursing. The purpose of the proposed action is to include 

in 18VAC90-20-390, which provides for content of a 

medication administration training program, a requirement to 

complete the curriculum approved by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) for 

unlicensed persons to administer medication via a 

gastrostomy tube. Chapter 114 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly 

authorizes a person who has successfully completed a training 

program approved by the Board of Nursing to administer 
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medications via percutaneous gastrostomy tube to a person 

receiving services from a program licensed by DBHDS.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 4, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3733; Filed October 11, 2013, 9:12 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

OFFICE OF THE STATE INSPECTOR GENERAL 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Office of the State Inspector 

General is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

2, which excludes regulations that establish or prescribe 

agency organization, internal practice or procedures, 

including delegations of authority. The Office of the State 

Inspector General will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 1VAC42-10. Policies, Standards, and 

Procedures for Agency and Institutional Internal 

Auditors (Directive No. 1-85) (repealing 1VAC42-10-10 

through 1VAC42-10-40). 

1VAC42-20. External Review Follow-Up for Agency and 

Institutional Internal Auditors (Directive No. 1-90) 

(repealing 1VAC42-20-10 through 1VAC42-20-40).  

Statutory Authority: Chapter 572 of the 2011 Acts of 

Assembly. 

Effective Date: December 4, 2013.  

Agency Contact: June Jennings, Deputy Inspector General, 

Office of the State Inspector General, P.O. Box 1971, 101 N. 

14th St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23218-1971, telephone 

(804) 625-3251, FAX (804) 371-0165, or email 

june.jennings@osig.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

In accordance with the Governor’s Regulatory Reform 

Initiative, the Office of the State Inspector General (OSIG) 

has reviewed its regulations and determined that there are 

currently two regulations that fall under OSIG that should 

be repealed: Policies, Standards, and Procedures for 

Agency and Institutional Internal Auditors (Directive No. 

1-85) (1VAC42-10) and External Review Follow-Up for 

Agency and Institutional Internal Auditors (Directive No. 

1-90) (1VAC42-20). These regulations were previously 

under the Department of Accounts, Division of State 

Internal Audit. Effective July 1, 2012, OSIG was created by 

consolidating some of the resources from various agencies 

including the Division of State Internal Audit. Upon 

consolidation, the regulations were placed under OSIG. 

These particular regulations were never applicable to the 

public as a whole, as they applied to internal audit 

components within state agencies. The OSIG has issued 

agency directives to the state agencies that include the 

requirements of these regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3894; Filed October 16, 2013, 11:22 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC10-20. Standards for 

Classification of Real Estate as Devoted to Forest Use 

under the Virginia Land Use Assessment Law (amending 

4VAC10-20-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 58.1-3230 and 58.1-3240 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 4, 2013. 

Effective Date: January 3, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Ronald S. Jenkins, Administrative Officer, 

Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 

800, Charlottesville, VA 22903, telephone (434) 977-6555, 

FAX (434) 293-2768, or email ron.jenkins@dof.virginia.gov. 

Basis: According to the specific authority and responsibility 

conveyed by §§ 58.1-3230, 58.1-3233, and 58.1-3240 of the 

Code of Virginia, the State Forester is directed to provide a 

statement of the standards that shall be applied uniformly 

throughout the state to determine if real estate is devoted to 

forest use. The State Forester has adopted these Standards for 

Classification of Real Estate as Devoted to Forest Use under 

the Virginia Land Use Assessment Law (4VAC10-20). 

Purpose: Standards for Classification of Real Estate as 

Devoted to Forest Use under the Virginia Land Use 

Assessment Law (4VAC10-20) were developed to (i) 

encourage the proper use of real estate in order to assure a 

readily available source of agricultural, horticultural, and 

forest products, and of open space within reach of 

concentrations of population; (ii) conserve natural resources 

in forms that will prevent erosion; (iii) protect adequate and 

safe water supplies; (iv) preserve scenic natural beauties and 

open spaces; (v) promote proper land-use planning and the 

orderly development of real estate for the accommodation of 

an expanding population; and (vi) promote a balanced 
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economy and ease or lessen the pressures that force the 

conversion of real estate to more intensive uses. 

The Department of Forestry held public hearings, pursuant to 

the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et. seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) to review the regulations, which provide 

guidance from the State Forester to each commissioner of 

revenue and the duly appointed assessor of each locality 

adopting an ordinance in compliance with Article 4 (§ 58.1-

3229 et seq.) of Chapter 32 of Title 58.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. The justification for amending 4VAC10-20 is to 

update and clarify the language in the regulation. 

Rationale for Using the Fast-Track Process: During the 

periodic review of these regulations, the Department of 

Forestry received zero comments. During the review of these 

regulations by members of the Board of Forestry, the 

department received only suggestions for improvement that 

were unanimously approved by the membership. No 

controversy has been documented regarding these regulations. 

Substance: The amendments (i) adjust the definitions of 

"tree" and "stocking," (ii) add definitions for "diameter at 

breast high" and "basal area," and (iii) correct two numerical 

errors in 4VAC10-20-20 Table 1.  

Issues: There are no identified issues associated with this 

regulatory action to the public, the agency, or the 

Commonwealth, or to the regulated community. 

Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 

action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Forester proposes to: 1) update definition language to 

reflect current common usage, and 2) correct two numerical 

errors in the table titled Minimum Number of Trees Required 

per Acre to Determine 30 Square Feet of Tree Basal Area of 

40% Stocking for Classification as Forest Land. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. According to the specific 

authority and responsibility conveyed by Code of Virginia 

§§ 58.1-3230, 58.1-3233 and 58.1-3240, the State Forester is 

directed to provide a statement of the standards which shall 

be applied uniformly throughout the state to determine if real 

estate is devoted to forest use. These regulations are those 

standards. The regulations are provided to provide clarity and 

guidance for localities that establish an incentive land use tax 

rate for landowners who maintain their land in forest use. 

The proposed amendments to the definitions are not expected 

to have a significant impact on localities determinations on 

whether real estate is devoted to forest use since the proposed 

language change just reflects current usage. There is some 

potential small benefit to updating the language for clarity, 

though. According to the Department of Forestry, the errors 

in the table have not in practice caused any problems or 

incorrect determinations of forest use, or would be likely to 

do so in the future. Thus, the proposal to correct the errors in 

the table will be moderately beneficial in that it will improve 

clarity, but not likely have any other impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

are not expected to have significant effects beyond improving 

clarity. The standards in these regulations are used by 

localities in determining whether real estate is devoted to 

forest use for tax rate purposes. So more substantive changes 

could have affected landowners. Currently, 62 counties and 

13 cities have an incentive tax rate for land in forest use. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

particularly affect localities that have an incentive land use 

tax rate for landowners who maintain their land in forest use. 

The following counties have such specified forest use tax 

rates: Accomack, Albemarle, Alleghany, Amherst, Augusta, 

Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Campbell, Caroline, Carroll, 

Chesterfield, Clarke, Culpeper, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, 

Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, 

Giles, Gloucester, Goochland, Greene, Hanover, Henrico, 

Henry, Isle of Wight, James City, King George, King 

William, Loudoun, Louisa, Madison, Middlesex, 

Montgomery, Nelson, Northumberland, Orange, Page, 

Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince George, Prince William, 

Pulaski, Rappahannock, Richmond, Roanoke, Rockbridge, 

Rockingham, Russell, Shenandoah, Smyth, Southampton, 

Spotsylvania, Stafford, Tazewell, Warren, Washington, and 

Westmoreland. The following cities have such specified 

forest use tax rates: Chesapeake, Danville, Franklin, 

Fredericksburg, Harrisonburg, Lynchburg, Manassas, 

Petersburg, Radford, Staunton, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and 

Waynesboro.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
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of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Forestry concurs with the economic impact 

analysis conducted by the Department of Planning and 

Budget for amendments to Standards for Classification of 

Real Estate as Devoted to Forest Use Under Virginia Land 

Use Assessment Law (4VAC10-20). 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) modify the definitions of "tree" and 

"stocking," (ii) add definitions for "diameter at breast 

high" and "basal area," and (iii) correct two mistakes in 

4VAC10-20-20 Table 1. 

4VAC10-20-20. Technical standards for classification of 

real estate devoted to forest use. 

A. The area must be a minimum of 20 acres and must meet 

the following standards to qualify for forestry use.  

B. Productive forest land. The real estate sought to be 

qualified shall be devoted to forest use which that has existent 

on it, and well distributed, commercially valuable trees of any 

size sufficient to compose at least 40% normal stocking of 

forest trees, as shown in Table 1. Land devoted to forest use 

that has been recently harvested of merchantable timber, is 

being regenerated into a new forest, and not currently 

developed for nonforest use shall be eligible. To be qualified 

the land must be growing a commercial forest crop that is 

physically accessible for harvesting when mature.  

C. Nonproductive forest land. The land sought to be 

qualified is land devoted to forest use but which is not 

capable of growing a crop of industrial wood because of 

inaccessibility or adverse site conditions such as steep 

outcrops of rock, shallow soil on steep mountain sides, 

excessive steepness, heavily eroded areas, coastal beach sand, 

tidal marsh, and other conditions which that prohibit the 

growth and harvesting of a crop of trees suitable for 

commercial use.  

D. Definitions.  

1. Tree. A tree is a single woody stem of a species 

presently or prospectively suitable for commercial 

industrial wood products. A living woody perennial plant, 

six inches or larger in diameter, of a species presently or 

prospectively suitable for commercial industrial wood 

products with a well defined stem or stems carrying a more 

or less definite crown. 

2. Stocking. Stocking Normal stocking is the number of 

trees three inches and larger in diameter at breast high 

(d.b.h.- a point on the tree trunk outside bark 4 ½ feet from 

ground level) required to equal a total basal area (b.a. is the 

area in square feet of a cross section of a tree at d.b.h.) of 

75 square feet per acre, or where such trees are not present, 

there shall be present tree seedlings, or tree seedlings and 

trees in any combination sufficient to meet the 40% 

stocking set forth in Table 1.  

3. Diameter at breast high (DBH). The diameter of the 

stem of a tree measured at breast height (4.5 feet or 1.37 

meters) above the ground.  

4. Basal area. The cross-sectional area of a stem, including 

the bark, measured at breast height. 

Table 1 

Minimum Number of Trees Required Per Acre to Determine 

30 Square Feet of Tree Basal Area of 40% Normal Stocking 

for Classification as Forest Land. 

D.B.H. 

DBH 

Range 

D.B.H. 

DBH in 

2" 

Classes 

Basal 

Area 

Per 

Tree 

Per 

Acre 

Per 

1/5 

Acre 

Per 

1/10 

Acre 

up to 

2.9" 
Seedlings   400 80 40 

3.0-

4.9" 
4 0.0873 

400 

343 
80 40 

5.0-

6.9" 
6 0.1964 153 31 15 

7.0-

8.9" 
8 0.3491 86 17 9 

9.0-

10.9" 
10 0.5454 55 11 6 

11.0-

12.9" 
12 0.7854 38 8 4 

13.0-

14.9" 
14 

0.0690 

1.069 
28 6 3 

15.0-+ 16+ 1.3963 21 4 2 

NOTE: (a) Area 1/5; acre; circle, diameter 105'4"; square 

93'4" per side  
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(b) Area 1/10 acre; circle, diameter 74'6"; square 66' per 

side 

(c) Number of seedlings present may qualify on a 

percentage basis; Example, 100 seedlings would be 

equivalent of 7.5 square feet of basal area (25% X 30 = 

7.5).  

(d) Seedlings per acre are based on total pine and 

hardwood stems. Where intensive pine management is 

practiced a minimum of 250 well distributed loblolly or 

white pine seedlings will qualify.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3619; Filed October 15, 2013, 10:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE 
UNIVERSITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Virginia Polytechnic Institute and 

State University is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

6 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts educational 

institutions operated by the Commonwealth. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC105-11. Parking and Traffic 

(amending 8VAC105-11-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 23-9.2:3 and 23-122 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Natalie Hart, Deputy Chief of Staff, 

210 Burruss Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, telephone (540) 

231-6231 or email nhart@vt.edu. 

Summary: 

This action amends the university's parking regulations to 

reflect revised parking procedures. 

8VAC105-11-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Parking and Traffic Procedures" means the 2012-2013 

Parking and Traffic Procedures, Virginia Tech Parking 

Services, effective October 15, 2013. 

"Virginia Tech" means Virginia Polytechnic Institute and 

State University. 

"University owned or leased property" means any property 

owned, leased, or controlled by Virginia Tech. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(8VAC105-11) 

2012-2013 Parking and Traffic Procedures, Virginia Tech 

Parking Services 

Parking and Traffic Procedures, Virginia Tech Parking 

Services (eff. 10/2013) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3890; Filed October 15, 2013, 4:35 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-32. Virginia Pollution 

Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Regulatory Analyst, 

Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 698-4347, or 

email william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the following 

regulation have been filed by the Virginia Waste 

Management Board. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the new or amended 

form to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (9VAC25-32) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, General 

Instructions (rev. 4/09) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form A, 

All Applicants (rev. 4/09) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form B, 

Animal Waste (rev. 10/95) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form C, 

Industrial Waste (rev. 10/95) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form D, 

Municipal Effluent and Biosolids Cover Page (rev. 6/13): 

Part D-I: Land Application of Municipal Effluent (rev. 

4/09) 

Part D-II: Land Application of Biosolids (rev. 6/13) 

Part D-II: Land Application of Biosolids (rev. 10/13) 

Part D-III: Effluent Characterization Form (rev.4/09) 

Part D-IV: Biosolids Characterization Form (rev. 6/13) 

Part D-V: Non-Hazardous Waste Declaration (rev. 6/13) 

Part D-VI: Land Application Agreement - Biosolids and 

Industrial Residuals (rev. 9/12) 

Part D-VII: Request for Extended Setback from Biosolids 

Land Application Field (rev. 10/11)  

Application for Land Application Supervisor Certification 

(rev. 2/11) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=72e58003519~1&typ=40&actno=003519&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=72e58003519~1&typ=40&actno=003519&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65773003890~1&typ=40&actno=003890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65773003890~1&typ=40&actno=003890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec362001248~8&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec362001248~8&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f418c001248~10&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f418c001248~10&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4db8001248~10&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4db8001248~10&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38646001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38646001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8424001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8424001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2aaa2001248~30&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2aaa2001248~30&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82045003896~6&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a73d001248~27&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af85b001248~15&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0b6d001248~14&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=973ee001248~16&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=973ee001248~16&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5296e001248~31&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5296e001248~31&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30150001248~17&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30150001248~17&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
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Application for Renewal of Land Application Supervisor 

Certification (rev. 2/11) 

Sludge Disposal Site Dedication Form, Form A-1 (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form I, Insurance Liability 

Endorsement (rev. 11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form II, Certificate of Liability 

Insurance (rev. 11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form I, Insurance Liability 

Endorsement (rev. 10/13) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form II, Certificate of Liability 

Insurance (rev. 10/13) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form III, Corporate Letter (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form IV, Corporate Guarantee (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form V, Letter of Credit (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form VI, Trust Agreement (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form VII, Local Government 

Financial Test (rev. 10/13) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form VIII, Local Government 

Guarantee (rev. 10/13) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3896; Filed October 17, 2013,  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-600. Designated 

Groundwater Management Areas (amending 9VAC25-

600-10, 9VAC25-600-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 

698-4346, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include the following additional localities 

in the Eastern Virginia Groundwater Management Area: 

the counties of Essex, Gloucester, King George, King and 

Queen, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, Northumberland, 

Richmond, and Westmoreland and those portions of the 

counties of Arlington, Caroline, Fairfax, Prince William, 

Spotsylvania, and Stafford that are located east of 

Interstate 95. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 600 

DESIGNATED GROUND WATER GROUNDWATER 

MANAGEMENT AREAS  

9VAC25-600-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Ground water Ground Water Management 

Act of 1992 (§ 62.1-254 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board.  

"Ground water "Groundwater management area" means a 

geographically defined ground water groundwater area in 

which the board has deemed the levels, supply or quality of 

ground water groundwater to be adverse to public welfare, 

health and safety.  

"Ground water" "Groundwater" means any water, except 

capillary moisture, beneath the land surface in the zone of 

saturation or beneath the bed of any stream, lake, reservoir or 

other body of surface water wholly or partially within the 

boundaries of this Commonwealth, whatever may be the 

subsurface geologic structure in which such water stands, 

flows, percolates or otherwise occurs.  

9VAC25-600-20. Declaration of ground water 

groundwater management areas.  

A. The board hereby orders the declaration of the eastern 

part of Virginia as a ground water groundwater management 

area. This area shall be known as the Eastern Virginia 

[ Ground Water Groundwater ] Management Area. This area 

encompasses the counties of Charles City, Essex, Gloucester, 

Isle of Wight, James City, King George, King and Queen, 

King William, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, 

Northumberland, Prince George, Richmond, Southampton, 

Surry, Sussex, Westmoreland, and York; the areas of 

Arlington, Caroline, Chesterfield, Fairfax, Hanover, and 

Henrico, Prince William, Spotsylvania, and Stafford counties 

east of Interstate 95; and the cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, 

Hampton, Hopewell, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, 

Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg.  

B. The board hereby orders the declaration of the Eastern 

Shore of Virginia as a [ ground water groundwater ] 

management area. This area shall be known as the Eastern 

Shore [ Ground Water Groundwater ] Management Area. The 

area encompasses the counties of Accomack and 

Northampton. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c87fd001248~18&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c87fd001248~18&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b37eb001248~19&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b37eb001248~19&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2fbe003896~7&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2fbe003896~7&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2fbe003896~7&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c359003896~8&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c359003896~8&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c359003896~8&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=66878001248~28&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=66878001248~28&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=66878001248~28&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4f56a001248~24&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4f56a001248~24&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4f56a001248~24&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3283001248~25&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3283001248~25&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3283001248~25&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00a8c001248~26&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00a8c001248~26&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00a8c001248~26&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=726ef003896~9&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
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C. All aquifers located between the land surface and 

basement rock within the geographic area defined will be 

included in the area and will be subject to the corrective 

controls set forth in Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1782; Filed October 11, 2013, 9:47 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-610. Ground Water 

Withdrawal Regulations (amending 9VAC25-610-10 

through 9VAC25-610-170, 9VAC25-610-190, 9VAC25-

610-220, 9VAC25-610-240 through 9VAC25-610-350, 

9VAC25-610-370, 9VAC25-610-380, 9VAC25-610-390; 

adding 9VAC25-610-85, 9VAC25-610-92, 9VAC25-610-

94, 9VAC25-610-96, 9VAC25-610-98, 9VAC25-610-102, 

9VAC25-610-104, 9VAC25-610-106, 9VAC25-610-108; 

repealing 9VAC25-610-400).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 

698-4346, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations are amended to be more consistent with 

administrative and application processing practices 

currently used in other water permit program regulations. 

The application requirements for different types of permits 

and situations are separated into different regulatory 

sections to provide more clarity concerning the 

requirements for complete applications. New sections are 

added to address surface water and groundwater 

conjunctive use permits and supplemental drought relief 

permits. The water conservation and management plan 

section is revised to specify the conservation measures and 

requirements that must be met depending on the use of the 

groundwater. The regulations also now identify 

information to be provided to ensure that the need for the 

groundwater is documented and that alternatives to using 

groundwater are investigated and considered. A section is 

added allowing the agency to estimate an area of impact 

for mitigation of a small withdrawal based on available 

modeled information instead of requiring geotechnical 

investigations to occur. The regulations are also revised to 

be consistent with current agency guidance concerning the 

80% drawdown criteria evaluation. Additional permit 

conditions are specified in the regulations that will be 

applicable to all permits, which will clarify the 

requirements that groundwater withdrawers must meet. 

Clarifying changes, based on public comments during the 

public comment period, have been made to the regulation 

since the proposed stage. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 610  

GROUND WATER GROUNDWATER WITHDRAWAL 

REGULATIONS  

Part I  

General  

9VAC25-610-10. Definitions.  

Unless a different meaning is required by the context, the 

following terms as used in this chapter shall have the 

following meanings:  

"Act" means the Ground Water Management Act of 1992, 

Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Adverse impact" means reductions in ground water 

groundwater levels or changes in ground water groundwater 

quality that limit the ability of any existing ground water 

groundwater user lawfully withdrawing or authorized to 

withdraw ground water groundwater at the time of permit or 

special exception issuance to continue to withdraw the 

quantity and quality of ground water groundwater required by 

the existing use. Existing groundwater users include all those 

persons who have been granted a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit subject to this chapter and all other persons 

who are excluded from permit requirements by 9VAC25-610-

50.  

"Agricultural use" means utilizing groundwater for the 

purpose of agricultural, silvicultural, horticultural, or 

aquacultural operations. Agricultural use includes 

withdrawals for turf farm operations, but does not include 

withdrawals for landscaping activities or turf installment and 

maintenance associated with landscaping activities. 

"Applicant" means a person filing an application to initiate 

or enlarge a ground water groundwater withdrawal in a 

ground water groundwater management area.  

"Area of impact" means the areal extent of each aquifer 

where more than one foot of drawdown is predicted to occur 

due to a proposed withdrawal.  

"Beneficial use" includes, but is not limited to domestic 

(including public water supply), agricultural, commercial, and 

industrial uses.  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board.  

"Consumptive use" means the withdrawal of ground water 

groundwater, without recycle of said waters to their source of 

origin.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality.  

"Draft permit" means a prepared document indicating the 

board's tentative decision relative to a permit action.  

"Director" means the director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality.  
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"Geophysical investigation" means any hydrogeologic 

evaluation to define the hydrogeologic framework of an area 

or determine the hydrogeologic properties of any aquifer or 

confining unit to the extent that withdrawals associated with 

such investigations do not result in unmitigated adverse 

impacts to existing ground water groundwater users. 

Geophysical investigations include, but are not limited to, 

pump tests and aquifer tests.  

"Ground water" "Groundwater" means any water, except 

capillary moisture, beneath the land surface in the zone of 

saturation or beneath the bed of any stream, lake, reservoir or 

other body of surface water wholly or partially within the 

boundaries of this Commonwealth, whatever the subsurface 

geologic structure in which such water stands, flows, 

percolates or otherwise occurs.  

[ "Historic prepumping water levels" means ground water 

groundwater levels in aquifers prior to the initiation of any 

ground water groundwater withdrawals. For the purpose of 

this chapter, in the Eastern Virginia and Eastern Shore 

Ground Water Groundwater Management Areas, historic 

prepumping water levels are defined as water levels present in 

aquifers prior to 1890. ]  

"Human consumption" means the use of water [ for to 

support human survival and health, including ] drinking, 

bathing, showering, cooking, dishwashing, and maintaining 

[ oral ] hygiene. 

"Human consumptive use" means the withdrawal of ground 

water for private residential domestic use and that portion of 

ground water withdrawals in a public water supply system 

that support residential domestic uses and domestic uses at 

commercial and industrial establishments.  

"Mitigate" means to take actions necessary to assure that all 

existing ground water groundwater users at the time of 

issuance of a permit or special exception who experience 

adverse impacts continue to have access to the amount and 

quality of ground water groundwater needed for existing uses.  

"Permit" means a ground water groundwater withdrawal 

permit issued by the board under the Ground Water 

Management Act of 1992 permitting the withdrawal of a 

specified quantity of ground water groundwater under 

specified conditions in a ground water groundwater 

management area.  

"Permittee" means a person who currently has an effective 

ground water groundwater withdrawal permit issued by the 

board under the Ground Water Act of 1992. 

"Person" means any and all persons, including individuals, 

firms, partnerships, associations, public or private institutions, 

municipalities or political subdivisions, governmental 

agencies, or private or public corporations organized under 

the laws of this Commonwealth or any other state or country.  

"Practicable" means available and capable of being done 

after taking into consideration cost, existing technology, and 

logistics in light of overall project purposes. 

"Public hearing" means a fact finding proceeding held to 

afford interested persons an opportunity to submit factual 

data, views and comments to the board pursuant to the board's 

Procedural Rule No. 1. § 62.1-44.15:02 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Salt water intrusion" means the encroachment of saline 

waters in any aquifer that create adverse impacts to existing 

ground water groundwater users or is counter to the public 

interest.  

"Special exception" means a document issued by the board 

for withdrawal of ground water groundwater in unusual 

situations where requiring the user to obtain a ground water 

groundwater withdrawal permit would be contrary to the 

purpose of the Ground Water Management Act of 1992. 

Special exceptions allow the withdrawal of a specified 

quantity of ground water groundwater under specified 

conditions in a ground water groundwater management area.  

"Supplemental drought relief well" means a well permitted 

to withdraw a specified amount of groundwater to meet 

human consumption needs during declared drought 

conditions after mandatory water use restrictions have been 

implemented. 

"Surface water and ground water groundwater conjunctive 

use system" means an integrated water supply system wherein 

surface water is the primary source and ground water 

groundwater is a supplemental source that is used to augment 

the surface water source when the surface water source is not 

able to produce the amount of water necessary to support the 

annual water demands of the system.  

"Well" means any artificial opening or artificially altered 

natural opening, however made, by which ground water 

groundwater is sought or through which ground water 

groundwater flows under natural pressure or is intended to be 

withdrawn.  

"Withdrawal system" means (i) one or more wells or 

withdrawal points located on the same or contiguous 

properties under common ownership for which the 

withdrawal is applied to the same beneficial use or (ii) two or 

more connected wells or withdrawal points which are under 

common ownership but are not necessarily located on 

contiguous properties.  

9VAC25-610-20. Purpose.  

The Groundwater Ground Water Management Act of 1992 

recognizes and declares that the right to reasonable control of 

all ground water groundwater resources within the 

Commonwealth belongs to the public and that in order to 

conserve, protect and beneficially utilize the ground water 

groundwater resource and to ensure the public welfare, safety 

and health, provisions for management and control of ground 

water groundwater resources are essential. This chapter 

delineates the procedures and requirements to be followed 

when establishing Groundwater Management Areas and the 

issuance of Groundwater Withdrawal Permits by the board 
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pursuant to the Groundwater Ground Water Management Act 

of 1992.  

9VAC25-610-40. Prohibitions and requirements for 

ground water groundwater withdrawals.  

A. No person shall withdraw, attempt to withdraw, or allow 

the withdrawal of ground water groundwater within a ground 

water groundwater management area, except as authorized 

pursuant to a ground water groundwater withdrawal permit, 

or as excluded in 9VAC25-610-50.  

B. No permit or special exception shall be issued for more 

ground water groundwater than can be applied to the 

proposed beneficial use.  

9VAC25-610-50. Exclusions.  

The following do not require a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit:  

1. Withdrawals of less than 300,000 gallons per month;  

2. Withdrawals associated with temporary construction 

dewatering that do not exceed 24 months in duration;  

3. Withdrawals associated with a state-approved ground 

water groundwater remediation that do not exceed 60 

months in duration;  

4. Withdrawals for use by a ground water groundwater 

source heat pump where the discharge is reinjected into the 

aquifer from which it was withdrawn;  

5. Withdrawals from ponds recharged by ground water 

groundwater without mechanical assistance;  

6. Withdrawals for the purpose of conducting geophysical 

investigations, including pump tests;  

7. Withdrawals coincident with exploration for and 

extraction of coal or activities associated with coal mining 

regulated by the Department of Mines, Minerals, and 

Energy;  

8. Withdrawals coincident with the exploration for or 

production of oil, gas or other minerals other than coal, 

unless such withdrawal adversely impacts aquifer quantity 

or quality or other ground water groundwater users within 

a ground water groundwater management area;  

9. Withdrawals in any area not declared to be a ground 

water groundwater management area;  

10. Withdrawal of ground water groundwater authorized 

pursuant to a special exception issued by the board; and  

11. Withdrawal of ground water groundwater discharged 

from free flowing springs where the natural flow of the 

spring has not been increased by any method.  

9VAC25-610-60. Effect of a permit.  

A. Compliance with a ground water groundwater withdrawal 

permit constitutes compliance with the permit requirements of 

the Groundwater Ground Water Management Act of 1992.  

B. The issuance of a permit does not convey any property 

rights in either real or personal property, or any exclusive 

privileges, nor does it authorize injury to private property or 

any invasion of personal rights or any infringement of federal, 

state or local law or regulation.  

Part II  

Declaration of [ Ground Water Groundwater ] Management 

Areas  

9VAC25-610-70. Criteria for consideration of a ground 

water groundwater management area.  

The board upon its own motion, or in its discretion, upon 

receipt of a petition by any county, city or town within the 

area in question, may initiate a ground water groundwater 

management area proceeding, whenever in its judgment there 

is reason to believe that any one of the four following 

conditions exist:  

1. Ground water Groundwater levels in the area are 

declining or are expected to decline excessively;  

2. The wells of two or more ground water groundwater 

users within the area are interfering or may be reasonably 

expected to interfere substantially with one another;  

3. The available ground water groundwater supply has 

been or may be overdrawn; or  

4. The ground water groundwater in the area has been or 

may become polluted.  

9VAC25-610-80. Declaration of ground water 

groundwater management areas.  

A. If the board finds that any of the conditions listed in 

9VAC25-610-70 exist, and further determines that the public 

welfare, safety and health require that regulatory efforts be 

initiated, the board shall declare the area in question a ground 

water groundwater management area, by regulation.  

B. Such regulations shall be promulgated in accordance with 

the agency's Public Participation Guidelines (9VAC25-10-10 

et seq.) (9VAC25-11) and the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). 

C. The regulation shall define the boundaries of the ground 

water groundwater management area, and identify the 

aquifers to be included in the ground water groundwater 

management area. Any number of aquifers that either wholly 

or partially overlie one another may be included within the 

same ground water groundwater management area.  

D. After adoption the board shall mail [ by postal or 

electronic delivery ] a copy of the regulation to the mayor or 

chairman of the governing body of each county, city or town 

within which any part of the ground water groundwater 

management area lies.  

Part III  

Permit Application and Issuance  

9VAC25-610-85. Preapplication meeting. 

A. The applicant and owner or operator intending to apply 

for a new or expanded application for a groundwater 

withdrawal or reapply for a current permitted withdrawal 

shall schedule a meeting with the department prior to 
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submitting their permit application. The purpose of the 

meeting is to have a mutual exchange of information on the 

proposed application and applicable regulatory requirements. 

If the preapplication meeting is being held for a public water 

supply system, the Virginia Department of Health may 

participate in the preapplication meeting by providing 

information and guidance to assist the applicant with meeting 

Virginia Department of Health regulatory requirements. 

B. For applicants reapplying for a current permitted 

withdrawal, during the preapplication meeting, the 

department shall discuss information provided in previous 

permit applications and regular submittals that may or may 

not be resubmitted as part of the permit application.  

Part III  

Permit Application and Issuance  

9VAC25-610-90. Application for a permit by groundwater 

users in existing groundwater management areas 

withdrawing prior to July 1, 1992. 

A. Persons withdrawing ground water groundwater or who 

have rights to withdraw ground water groundwater prior to 

July 1, 1992, in the Eastern Virginia or Eastern Shore Ground 

Water Groundwater Management Areas and not excluded 

from requirements of this chapter by 9VAC25-610-50 shall 

apply for a permit.  

1. Any person who was issued a certificate of ground water 

groundwater right or a permit to withdraw ground water 

groundwater prior to July 1, 1991, and who was 

withdrawing ground water groundwater pursuant to said 

permit or certificate on July 1, 1992, shall file an 

application on or before December 31, 1992, to continue 

said withdrawal. The applicant shall demonstrate the 

claimed prior withdrawals through withdrawal reports 

required by the existing certificate or permit or by reports 

required by Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations 

(9VAC25-200-10 et seq.).  

2. Any person who was issued a certificate of ground water 

groundwater right or a permit to withdraw ground water 

groundwater prior to July 1, 1991, and who had not 

initiated the withdrawal prior to July 1, 1992, may initiate a 

withdrawal on or after July 1, 1992, pursuant to the terms 

and conditions of the certificate or permit and shall file an 

application for a ground water groundwater withdrawal 

permit on or before December 31, 1995, to continue said 

withdrawal. The applicant shall demonstrate the claimed 

prior withdrawals through withdrawal reports required by 

the existing certificate or permit or by reports required by 

Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations (9VAC25-200-

10 et seq.).  

3. Any person who was issued a permit to withdraw 

ground water groundwater on or after July 1, 1991, and 

prior to July 1, 1992, shall not be required to apply for a 

ground water groundwater withdrawal permit until the 

expiration of the permit to withdraw ground water 

groundwater or 10 years from the date of issuance of the 

permit to withdraw ground water, groundwater whichever 

occurs first. Such persons shall reapply for a ground water 

groundwater withdrawal permit as described in subsection 

D of this section 9VAC25-610-96. 

4. Any person withdrawing ground water groundwater for 

agricultural or livestock watering purposes on or before 

July 1, 1992, shall file an application for a ground water 

groundwater withdrawal permit on or before December 31, 

1993. The applicant shall demonstrate the claimed prior 

withdrawals by voluntary withdrawal reports required by 

Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations (9VAC25-200-

10 et seq.) when such reports have been filed with the 

board. When such reports are not available, estimates of 

withdrawal will be accepted that are based on the area 

irrigated, depth of irrigation, and annual number of 

irrigations; pumping capacity and annual pumping time; 

annual energy consumption for pumps, energy 

consumption per hour, and pumping capacity; number and 

type of livestock watered annually; number and type of 

livestock where water is used for cooling purposes; or 

other methods approved by the board.  

5. Any political subdivision, or authority serving a political 

subdivision, holding a certificate of ground water 

groundwater right or a permit to withdraw ground water 

groundwater issued prior to July 1, 1992, for the operation 

of a public water supply well for the purpose of providing 

supplemental water during drought conditions, shall file an 

application on or before December 31, 1992. Any political 

subdivision, or authority serving a political subdivision, 

shall submit, as part of the application, a water 

conservation and management plan as described in 

9VAC25-610-100 B.  

6. Any person who is required to apply in subdivision 1, 2, 

or 5 of this subsection section and who uses the certificated 

or permitted withdrawal to operate a public water supply 

system shall provide a copy of the waterworks operation 

permit, or equivalent, with the required application for a 

ground water groundwater withdrawal permit.  

7. Any person described in subdivision 1, 2, 3, or 5 of this 

subsection section who files a complete application by the 

date required may continue to withdraw ground water 

groundwater pursuant to the existing certificate or permit 

until such time as the board takes action on the outstanding 

application for a ground water groundwater withdrawal 

permit.  

8. Any person described in subdivision 4 of this subsection 

section who files a complete application by the date 

required may continue his existing withdrawal until such 

time as the board takes action on the outstanding 

application for a ground water groundwater withdrawal 

permit.  

9. Any person described in subdivision 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 of 

this subsection section who files an incomplete application 

by the date required may continue to withdraw ground 
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water groundwater as described in subdivisions 7 and 8 of 

this subsection section provided that all information 

required to complete the application is provided to the 

board within 60 days of the board's notice to the applicant 

of deficiencies. Should such person not provide the board 

the required information within 60 days, he shall cease 

withdrawals until he provides any additional information to 

the board and the board concurs that the application is 

complete.  

10. A complete application for those persons described in 

subdivision 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 of this subsection section shall 

contain:  

a. A ground water withdrawal permit application 

completed in its entirety. Application forms shall be 

submitted in a format specified by the board. Such 

application forms are available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality;  

b. Well construction documentation for all wells 

associated with the application;  

c. Locations of all wells associated with the application 

shown on United States Geological Survey 7-1/2 minute 

topographic maps or copies of such maps;  

d. Withdrawal reports required by the existing certificate 

or permit, reports required by Water Withdrawal 

Reporting Regulations (9VAC25-200-10 et seq.), or 

estimates of withdrawals as described in subdivision 4 of 

this subsection to support any claimed prior withdrawal; 

and  

e. A copy of the Virginia Department of Health 

waterworks operation permit, or equivalent, where 

applicable.  

f. Persons described in subdivision 5 of this subsection 

shall submit a water conservation and management plan 

as described in 9VAC25-610-100.  

g. The application shall have an original signature as 

described in 9VAC25-610-150.  

a. The permit fee as required by the Fees for Permits and 

Certificates Regulations (9VAC25-20); 

b. A groundwater withdrawal permit application 

completed in its entirety with all maps, attachments, and 

addenda that may be required. Application forms shall be 

submitted in a format specified by the board. Such 

application forms are available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality;  

c. A signature as described in 9VAC25-610-150; 

d. Well construction documentation for all wells 

associated with the application submitted on the Water 

Well Completion Report, Form GW2, which includes the 

following information: 

(1) The depth of the well; 

(2) The diameter, top and bottom, and material of each 

cased interval; 

(3) The diameter, top and bottom, for each screened 

interval; and  

(4) The depth of pump intake. 

e. Locations of all wells associated with the application 

shown on United States Geological Survey 7-1/2 minute 

topographic maps. The applicant shall provide the 

latitude and longitude coordinates in a datum specified 

by the department for each existing and proposed well. 

The detailed location map shall be of sufficient detail 

such that all wells may be easily located for site 

inspection; 

f. A map identifying the service areas for public water 

supplies; 

g. Information on surface water and groundwater 

conjunctive use systems as described in 9VAC25-610-

104 if applicable.  

h. Persons described in subdivision 5 of this section shall 

submit a water conservation and management plan as 

described in 9VAC25-610-100; 

i. Withdrawal reports required by the existing 

groundwater certificate or permit, reports required by 

Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations (9VAC25-

200), or estimates of withdrawals as described in 

subdivision 4 of this section to support any claimed prior 

withdrawal; and  

j. A copy of the Virginia Department of Health 

waterworks operation permit, or equivalent, where 

applicable. 

11. The board may waive the requirement for information 

listed in subdivision 10 of this section to be submitted if it 

has access to substantially identical information that 

remains accurate and relevant to the permit application. 

11. 12. Any person described in subdivision 1, 2, 3, or 5 of 

this subsection section who fails to file an application by 

the date required creates the presumption that all claims to 

ground water groundwater withdrawal based on historic 

use have been abandoned. Should any such person wish to 

rebut the presumption that claims to ground water 

groundwater withdrawal based on historic use have been 

abandoned, he shall have filed an application with a letter 

of explanation to the board by November 21, 1993. Any 

such person failing to rebut the presumption that claims to 

ground water groundwater withdrawal based on historic 

use have been abandoned who wishes to withdraw ground 

water groundwater shall apply for a new withdrawal as 

described in subsection C of this section 9VAC25-610-94. 

12. 13. Any person described in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection section who fails to file an application by the 

date required creates the presumption that all claims to 

ground water groundwater withdrawal based on historic 

use have been abandoned. Should any such person wish to 

rebut the presumption that claims to ground water 

groundwater withdrawal based on historic use have been 
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abandoned, he may do so by filing an application with a 

letter of explanation to the board within 60 days of the 

original required date or within 60 days of January 1, 1999, 

whichever is later. Any such person failing to rebut the 

presumption that claims to ground water groundwater 

withdrawal based on historic use have been abandoned 

who wishes to withdraw ground water groundwater shall 

apply for a new withdrawal as described in subsection C of 

this section 9VAC25-610-94. 

B. Persons withdrawing ground water when a ground water 

management area is declared or expanded after July 1, 1992, 

and not excluded from requirements of this chapter by 

9VAC25-610-50 shall apply for a permit.  

1. Any person withdrawing ground water in an area that is 

declared to be a ground water management area after July 

1, 1992, shall file an application for a ground water within 

six months of the effective date of the regulation creating 

or expanding the ground water management area. The 

applicant shall demonstrate the claimed prior withdrawals 

through withdrawal reports required by Water Withdrawal 

Reporting Regulations (9VAC25-200-10 et seq.). In the 

case of agricultural ground water withdrawals not required 

to report by Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations, 

estimates of withdrawal will be accepted that are based on 

the area irrigated, depth of irrigation, and annual number of 

irrigations; pumping capacity and annual pumping time; 

annual energy consumption for pumps, energy 

consumption per hour, and pumping capacity; number and 

type of livestock watered annually; number and type of 

livestock where water is used for cooling purposes; or 

other methods approved by the board.  

2. Any person withdrawing ground water who uses the 

withdrawal to operate a public water supply system shall 

provide a copy of the waterworks operation permit, or 

equivalent, with the required application for a ground 

water withdrawal permit.  

3. Any person who is required to apply for a ground water 

withdrawal permit and files a complete application within 

six months after the effective date of the regulation 

creating or expanding a ground water management area 

may continue their withdrawal until such time as the board 

takes action on the outstanding application for a ground 

water withdrawal permit.  

4. Any person who is required to apply for a ground water 

withdrawal permit and files an incomplete application 

within six months after the effective date of the regulation 

creating or expanding a ground water management area 

may continue to withdraw ground water as described in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection provided that all the 

information required to complete the application is 

provided to the board within 60 days of the board's notice 

to the applicant of deficiencies. Should such person not 

provide the board the required information within 60 days, 

he shall cease withdrawals until he provides any additional 

information to the board and the board concurs that the 

application is complete.  

5. A complete application for those persons described in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall contain:  

a. A ground water withdrawal permit application 

completed in its entirety. Application forms shall be 

submitted in a format specified by the board. Such 

application forms are available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality;  

b. Well construction documentation for all wells 

associated with the application;  

c. Locations of all wells associated with the application 

shown on United States Geological Survey 7-1/2 minute 

topographic maps or copies of such maps;  

d. Withdrawal reports required by Water Withdrawal 

Reporting Regulations (9VAC25-200-10 et seq.) or 

estimates of withdrawals as described in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection to support any claimed prior withdrawal;  

e. A copy of the Virginia Department of Health 

waterworks operation permit, where applicable; and  

f. The application shall have an original signature as 

described in 9VAC25-610-150.  

6. Any person who fails to file an application within six 

months after the effective date creating or expanding a 

ground water management area creates the presumption 

that all claims to ground water withdrawal based on 

historic use have been abandoned. Should any such person 

wish to rebut the presumption that claims to ground water 

withdrawal based on historic use have been abandoned, 

they may do so by filing an application with a letter of 

explanation to the board within eight months after the date 

creating or expanding the ground water management area. 

Any such person failing to rebut the presumption that 

claims to ground water withdrawal based on historic use 

have been abandoned who wishes to withdraw ground 

water shall apply for a new withdrawal as described in 

subsection C of this section.  

C. Persons wishing to initiate a new withdrawal or expand 

an existing withdrawal in any ground water management area 

and not excluded from requirements of this chapter by 

9VAC25-610-50 shall apply for a permit.  

1. A ground water withdrawal permit application shall be 

completed and submitted to the board and a ground water 

withdrawal permit issued by the board prior to the 

initiation of any withdrawal not specifically excluded in 

9VAC25-610-50.  

2. A complete ground water withdrawal permit application 

for a new or expanded withdrawal, at a minimum, shall 

contain the following:  

a. A ground water withdrawal permit application 

completed in its entirety with all maps, attachments, and 

addenda that may be required;  
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b. The application shall include notification from the 

local governing body of the county, city or town in which 

the withdrawal is to occur that the location and operation 

of the withdrawing facility is in compliance with all 

ordinances adopted pursuant to Chapter 22 (§ 15.2-2200 

et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. If the 

governing body of any county, city or town fails to 

respond within 45 days following receipt of a written 

request by certified mail, return receipt requested, by an 

applicant for certification that the location and operation 

of the proposed facility is consistent with all ordinances 

adopted pursuant to Chapter 22 (§ 15.2-2200 et seq.) of 

Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia, the location and 

operation of the proposed facility shall be deemed to 

comply with the provisions of such ordinances for the 

purposes of this chapter;  

c. The application shall have an original signature as 

described in 9VAC25-610-150;  

d. The application shall include locations of all wells 

associated with the application shown on United States 

Geological Survey 7-1/2 minute topographic maps or 

copies of such maps and a detailed location map of each 

existing and proposed well. The detailed location map 

shall be of sufficient detail such that all wells may be 

easily located for site inspection;  

e. A completed well construction report for all existing 

wells associated with the application. Well construction 

report forms will be in a format specified by the board 

and are available from the Department of Environmental 

Quality;  

f. An evaluation of the lowest quality water needed for 

the intended beneficial use;  

g. An evaluation of sources of water supply, other than 

ground water, including sources of reclaimed water; and  

h. A water conservation and management plan as 

described in 9VAC25-610-100.  

3. In addition to requirements contained in subdivision 2 of 

this subsection, the board may require any or all of the 

following information prior to considering an application 

complete.  

a. A plan to mitigate potential adverse impacts due to the 

proposed withdrawal on existing ground water users.  

b. The installation of monitoring wells and the collection 

and analysis of drill cuttings, continuous cores, 

geophysical logs, water quality samples or other 

hydrogeologic information necessary to characterize the 

aquifer system present at the proposed withdrawal site.  

c. The completion of pump tests or aquifer tests to 

determine aquifer characteristics at the proposed 

withdrawal site.  

d. Other information that the board believes is necessary 

to evaluate the application.  

D. Duty to reapply.  

1. Any permittee with an effective permit shall submit a 

new permit application at least 270 days before the 

expiration date of an effective permit unless permission for 

a later date has been granted by the board.  

2. Permittees who have effective permits shall submit a 

new application 270 days prior to any proposed 

modification to their activity which will:  

a. Result in an increase of withdrawals above permitted 

limits; and  

b. Violate or lead to the violation of the terms and 

conditions of the permit.  

3. The applicant shall provide all information described in 

subdivisions C 1 and 2 of this section and may be required 

to provide any information described in subdivision C 3 of 

this section for any reapplication.  

E. Where the board considers an application incomplete 

under the requirements of this section, the board may require 

the submission of additional information after an application 

has been filed, and may suspend processing of any 

application until such time as the applicant has supplied 

missing or deficient information and the board considers the 

application complete. Further, where the applicant becomes 

aware that he omitted one or more relevant facts from a 

permit application, or submitted incorrect information in a 

permit application or in any report to the board, he shall 

immediately submit such facts or the correct information.  

F. When an application does not accurately describe an 

existing or proposed ground water withdrawal system, the 

board may require the applicant to amend the existing 

application, submit a new application, or submit new 

applications before the application will be processed.  

G. All persons required by this chapter to apply for ground 

water withdrawal permits shall submit application forms in a 

format specified by the board. Such application forms are 

available from the Department of Environmental Quality.  

H. No ground water withdrawal permit application shall be 

considered complete until a permit fee is submitted as 

required by regulations in Fees for Permits and Certificates 

(9VAC25-20-10 et seq.).  

9VAC25-610-92. Application for a permit by existing 

users when a groundwater management area is declared 

or expanded on or after July 1, 1992. 

Persons withdrawing groundwater when a groundwater 

management area is declared or expanded on or after July 1, 

1992, and not excluded from requirements of this chapter by 

9VAC25-610-50 shall apply for a permit.  

1. Any person withdrawing groundwater in an area that is 

declared to be a groundwater management area on or after 

July 1, 1992, shall file an application for a groundwater 

permit within six months of the effective date of the 

regulation creating or expanding the groundwater 
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management area. The applicant shall demonstrate the 

claimed prior withdrawals through withdrawal reports 

required by Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations 

(9VAC25-200), or other methods approved by the board if 

reporting information pursuant to the Water Withdrawal 

Reporting Regulations is not available. In the case of 

agricultural groundwater withdrawals not required to report 

by Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations, estimates of 

withdrawal will be accepted that are based on the area 

irrigated, depth of irrigation, and annual number of 

irrigations; pumping capacity and annual pumping time; 

annual energy consumption for pumps, energy 

consumption per hour, and pumping capacity; number and 

type of livestock watered annually; number and type of 

livestock where water is used for cooling purposes; or 

other methods approved by the board.  

2. Any person withdrawing groundwater who uses the 

withdrawal to operate a public water supply system shall 

provide a copy of the waterworks operation permit, or 

equivalent, with the required application for a groundwater 

withdrawal permit.  

3. Any person who is required to apply for a groundwater 

withdrawal permit and files a complete application within 

six months after the effective date of the regulation 

creating or expanding a groundwater management area 

may continue their existing documented withdrawal until 

such time as the board takes action on the outstanding 

application for a groundwater withdrawal permit.  

4. Any person who is required to apply for a groundwater 

withdrawal permit and files an incomplete application 

within six months after the effective date of the regulation 

creating or expanding a groundwater management area 

may continue to withdraw groundwater as described in 

subdivision 3 of this section provided that all the 

information required to complete the application is 

provided to the board within 60 days of the board's notice 

to the applicant of deficiencies. Should such person not 

provide the board the required information within 60 days, 

he shall cease withdrawals until he provides any additional 

information to the board and the board concurs that the 

application is complete.  

5. A complete application for those persons described in 

subdivision 1 of this section shall contain:  

a. The permit fee as required by the Fees for Permits and 

Certificates Regulations (9VAC25-20); 

b. A groundwater withdrawal permit application 

completed in its entirety with all maps, attachments, and 

addenda that may be required. Application forms shall be 

submitted in a format specified by the board. Such 

application forms are available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality;  

c. A signature as described in 9VAC25-610-150;  

d. Well construction documentation for all wells 

associated with the application submitted on the Water 

Well Completion Report, Form GW2, which includes the 

following information: 

(1) The depth of the well; 

(2) The diameter, top and bottom, and material of each 

cased interval; 

(3) The diameter, top and bottom, for each screened 

interval; and  

(4) The depth of pump intake; 

e. Locations of all wells associated with the application 

shown on United States Geological Survey 7-1/2 minute 

topographic maps. The applicant shall provide the 

latitude and longitude coordinates in a datum specified 

by the department for each existing and proposed well. 

The detailed location map shall be of sufficient detail 

such that all wells may be easily located for site 

inspection;  

f. A map identifying the service areas for public water 

supplies;  

g. Information on surface water and groundwater 

conjunctive use systems as described in 9VAC25-610-

104 if applicable; 

h. Withdrawal reports required by Water Withdrawal 

Reporting Regulations (9VAC25-200), other 

documentation demonstrating historical water use 

approved by the board to support claimed prior 

withdrawals if [ water ] Water Withdrawal Reporting 

information is unavailable or estimates of withdrawals as 

described in subdivision 1 of this section to support any 

claimed prior withdrawal; and 

i. A copy of the Virginia Department of Health 

waterworks operation permit where applicable. 

6. The board may waive the requirement for information 

listed in subdivision 5 of this section to be submitted if it 

has access to substantially identical information that 

remains accurate and relevant to the permit application. 

7. Any person who fails to file an application within six 

months after the effective date creating or expanding a 

groundwater management area creates the presumption that 

all claims to groundwater withdrawal based on historic use 

have been abandoned. Should any such person wish to 

rebut the presumption that claims to groundwater 

withdrawal based on historic use have been abandoned, 

they may do so by filing an application with a letter of 

explanation to the board within eight months after the date 

creating or expanding the groundwater management area. 

Any such person failing to rebut the presumption that 

claims to groundwater withdrawal based on historic use 

have been abandoned who wishes to withdraw 

groundwater shall apply for a new withdrawal as described 

in 9VAC25-610-94. 
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9VAC25-610-94. Application for a new permit, expansion 

of an existing withdrawal, or reapplication for a current 

permitted withdrawal. 

Persons wishing to initiate a new withdrawal, expand an 

existing withdrawal, or reapply for a current permitted 

withdrawal in any groundwater management area and not 

excluded from requirements of this chapter by 9VAC25-610-

50 shall apply for a permit.  

1. A groundwater withdrawal permit application shall be 

completed and submitted to the board and a groundwater 

withdrawal permit issued by the board prior to the 

initiation of any withdrawal not specifically excluded in 

9VAC25-610-50.  

2. A complete groundwater withdrawal permit application 

for a new or expanded withdrawal, or reapplication for a 

current withdrawal, shall contain the following:  

a. The permit fee as required by the Fees for Permits and 

Certificates Regulations (9VAC25-20); 

b. A groundwater withdrawal permit application 

completed in its entirety with all maps, attachments, and 

addenda that may be required. Application forms shall be 

submitted in a format specified by the board. Such 

application forms are available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality;  

c. A signature as described in 9VAC25-610-150;  

d. A completed well construction report for all existing 

wells associated with the application submitted on the 

Water Well Completion Report, Form GW2; 

e. The application shall include locations of all wells 

associated with the application shown on United States 

Geological Survey 7-1/2 minute topographic maps. The 

applicant shall provide the latitude and longitude 

coordinates in a datum specified by the department for 

each existing and proposed well. The detailed location 

map shall be of sufficient detail such that all wells may 

be easily located for site inspection;  

f. A map identifying the service areas for public water 

supplies;  

g. Information on surface water and groundwater 

conjunctive use systems as described in 9VAC25-610-

104 if applicable;  

h. A water conservation and management plan as 

described in 9VAC25-610-100;  

i. The application shall include notification from the local 

governing body in which the withdrawal is to occur that 

the location and operation of the withdrawing facility is 

in compliance with all ordinances adopted pursuant to 

Chapter 22 (§ 15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. If the governing body fails to respond to the 

applicant's request for certification within 45 days of 

receipt of the written request, the location and operation 

of the proposed facility shall be deemed to comply with 

the provisions of such ordinances for the purposes of this 

chapter. The applicant shall document the local 

governing body's receipt of the request for certification 

through the use of certified mail or other means that 

establishes proof of delivery;  

j. An alternatives analysis that evaluates sources of water 

supply other than groundwater, including sources of 

reclaimed water, and the lowest quality of water needed 

for the intended beneficial use as described in 9VAC25-

610-102;  

k. Documentation justifying the need for future water 

supply as described in 9VAC25-610-102;  

l. A plan to mitigate potential adverse impacts from the 

proposed withdrawal on existing groundwater users. In 

lieu of developing individual mitigation plans, multiple 

applicants may choose to establish a mitigation program 

to collectively develop and implement a cooperative 

mitigation plan that covers the entire area of impact of all 

members of the mitigation program; and 

m. Other relevant information that may be required by 

the board to evaluate the application. 

3. In addition to requirements contained in subdivision 2 of 

this section, the board may require any or all of the 

following information prior to considering an application 

complete.  

a. The installation of monitoring wells and the collection 

and analysis of drill cuttings, continuous cores, 

geophysical logs, water quality samples, or other 

hydrogeologic information necessary to characterize the 

aquifer system present at the proposed withdrawal site.  

b. The completion of pump tests or aquifer tests to 

determine aquifer characteristics at the proposed 

withdrawal site.  

4. The board may waive the requirement for information 

listed in subdivision 2 or 3 of this section to be submitted if 

it has access to substantially identical information that 

remains accurate and relevant to the permit application. 

9VAC25-610-96. Duty to reapply for a permit. 

A. Any permittee with an effective permit shall submit a 

new permit application at least 270 days before the expiration 

date of an effective permit unless permission for a later date 

has been granted by the board. If a complete application for a 

new permit has been filed in a timely manner, and the board 

is unable, through no fault of the permittee, to issue a new 

permit before the expiration date of the previous permit, the 

permit may be administratively continued.  

B. Permittees who have effective permits shall submit a new 

application 270 days prior to any proposed modification to 

their activity or withdrawal system that will:  

1. Result in an increase of withdrawals above permitted 

limits; or  
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2. Violate or lead to the violation of the terms and 

conditions of the permit.  

C. The applicant shall provide all information described in 

9VAC25-610-94 for any reapplication. The information may 

be provided by referencing information previously submitted 

to the department that remains accurate and relevant to the 

permit application. The board may waive any requirement of 

9VAC25-610-94 if it has access to substantially identical 

information.  

9VAC25-610-98. Incomplete or inaccurate applications. 

A. Where the board finds an application to be incomplete 

under the requirements of 9VAC25-610-90, 9VAC25-610-92, 

or 9VAC25-610-94, the board shall require the submission of 

additional information after an application has been filed, and 

may suspend processing of the application until such time as 

the applicant has supplied the missing or deficient 

information and the board finds the application complete. An 

incomplete permit application for a new or expanded 

withdrawal may be suspended from processing 180 days from 

the date that the applicant received notification that the 

application is deficient. Once an application has been 

suspended from processing, the applicant must submit a new 

complete application; however, no additional permit fee will 

be assessed. Further, where the applicant becomes aware that 

one or more relevant facts from a permit application were 

omitted, or that incorrect information was submitted in a 

permit application or in any report to the board, the applicant 

shall immediately submit such facts or the correct 

information. 

B. When an application does not accurately describe an 

existing or proposed groundwater withdrawal, the board may 

require the applicant to revise the existing application or 

submit a new application before the application will be 

processed. 

9VAC25-610-100. Water conservation and management 

plans.  

A. Any application to initiate a new withdrawal or expand 

an existing withdrawal in any ground water groundwater 

management area or the reapplication at the end of a permit 

cycle for all permits shall require a water conservation and 

management plan before the application or reapplication is 

considered complete. The board shall review all water 

conservation and management plans and assure that such 

plans contain all elements required in subsection B of this 

section. The approved plan shall become an enforceable part 

of the approved permit. 

B. A water conservation and management plan shall include:  

1. Requirements for the use of water saving plumbing and 

processes including, where appropriate, the use of water 

saving fixtures in new and renovated plumbing as provided 

in the Uniform Statewide Building Code;  

2. A water loss reduction program;  

3. A water use education program;  

4. An evaluation of potential water reuse options; and  

5. Requirements for mandatory water use reductions during 

water shortage emergencies declared by the local 

governing body or director including, where appropriate, 

ordinances prohibiting the waste of water generally and 

requirements providing for mandatory water use 

restrictions, with penalties, during water shortage 

emergencies.  

C. The board shall review all water conservation and 

management plans and assure that such plans contain all 

elements required in 9VAC25-610-100 B. The board shall 

approve all plans that:  

1. Contain requirements that water saving fixtures be used 

in all new and renovated plumbing as provided in the 

Uniform Statewide Building Code;  

2. Contain requirements for making technological, 

procedural, or programmatic improvements to the 

applicant's facilities and processes to decrease water 

consumption. These requirements shall assure that the most 

efficient use is made of ground water;  

3. Contain requirements for an audit of the total amount of 

ground water used in the applicant's distribution system 

and operational processes during the first two years of the 

permit cycle. Subsequent implementation of a leak 

detection and repair program will be required within one 

year of the completion of the audit, when such a program is 

technologically feasible;  

4. Contain requirements for the education of water users 

and employees controlling water consuming processes to 

assure that water conservation principles are well known 

by the users of the resource;  

5. Contain an evaluation of potential water reuse options 

and assurances that water will be reused in all instances 

where reuse is feasible;  

6. Contain requirements for mandatory water use 

restrictions during water shortage emergencies that prohibit 

all nonessential uses such as lawn watering, car washing, 

and similar nonessential residential, industrial and 

commercial uses for the duration of the water shortage 

emergency; and  

7. Contain penalties for failure to comply with mandatory 

water use restrictions.  

B. A water conservation and management plan is an 

operational plan to be referenced and implemented by the 

permittee. Water conservation and management plans shall be 

consistent with local and regional water supply plans in the 

applicant's geographic area developed as required by 

9VAC25-780. The water conservation and management plan 

shall be specific to the type of water use and include the 

following:  

1. For municipal and nonmunicipal public water supplies: 
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a. [ Requirements for the Where practicable, the plan 

should require ] use of water-saving equipment and 

processes for all water [ uses users ] including [ , ] 

technological, procedural, or programmatic 

improvements to the facilities and processes to decrease 

the amount of water withdrawn or to decrease water 

demand. [ These requirements shall assure that the most 

practicable use is made of groundwater. If these options 

are not implemented in the plan, information The goal of 

these requirements is to assure the most efficient use of 

groundwater. Information ] on the water-saving 

alternatives examined and the water savings associated 

with the alternatives shall be provided. Water 

conservation and management plans shall discuss high 

volume water consumption by users on the system and 

where conservation measures have previously been 

implemented and shall be applied. Also, where 

appropriate, the use of water-saving fixtures in new and 

renovated plumbing as provided in the Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) shall be 

identified in the plan; 

b. A water loss reduction program, which defines the 

applicant's leak detection and repair program. The water 

loss reduction program shall include requirements for an 

audit of the total amount of groundwater used in the 

distribution system and operational processes during the 

first two years of the permit cycle. Implementation of a 

leak detection and repair program shall be required 

within one year of the date the permit is issued. The 

program shall include a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and piping for leaks;  

c. A water use education program that contains 

requirements for the education of water users and 

training of employees controlling water consuming 

processes to assure that water conservation principles are 

well known by the users of the resource. The program 

shall include a schedule for information distribution and 

the type of materials used;  

d. An evaluation of water reuse options and assurances 

that water shall be reused in all instances where reuse is 

practicable. Potential for expansion of the existing reuse 

practices or adoption of additional reuse practices shall 

also be included; and  

e. Requirements for mandatory water use reductions 

during water shortage emergencies declared by the local 

governing body or water authority consistent with 

§§ 15.2-923 and 15.2-924 of the Code of Virginia. This 

shall include, where appropriate, ordinances in municipal 

systems prohibiting the waste of water generally and 

requirements providing for mandatory water use 

restrictions in accordance with drought response and 

contingency ordinances implemented to comply with 

9VAC25-780-120 during water shortage emergencies. 

The water conservation and management plan shall also 

contain requirements for mandatory water use restrictions 

during water shortage emergencies that restricts or 

prohibits all nonessential uses such as lawn watering, car 

washing, and similar nonessential residential, industrial, 

and commercial uses for the duration of the water 

shortage emergency. Penalties for failure to comply with 

mandatory water use restrictions shall be included in 

municipal system plans.  

2. For nonpublic water supply applicants - commercial and 

industrial users: 

a. [ Requirements for the Where applicable, the plan 

should require ] use of water-saving equipment and 

processes for all water [ uses users ] including [ , ] 

technological, procedural, or programmatic 

improvements to the facilities and processes to decrease 

the amount of water withdrawn or to decrease water 

demand. [ These requirements shall assure that the most 

practicable use is made of groundwater. If these options 

are not implemented in the plan, information The goal of 

these requirements is to assure the most efficient use of 

groundwater. Information ] on the water-saving 

alternatives examined and the water savings associated 

with the alternatives shall be provided. Also, where 

appropriate, the use of water-saving fixtures in new and 

renovated plumbing as provided in the Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) shall be 

identified in the plan;  

b. A water loss reduction program, which defines the 

applicant's leak detection and repair program. The water 

loss reduction program shall include requirements for an 

audit of the total amount of groundwater used in the 

distribution system and operational processes during the 

first two years of the permit cycle. Implementation of a 

leak detection and repair program shall be required 

within one year of the date the permit is issued. The 

program shall include a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and piping for leaks;  

c. A water use education program that contains 

requirements for the education of water users and 

training of employees controlling water consuming 

processes to assure that water conservation principles are 

well known by the users of the resource. The program 

shall include a schedule for information distribution and 

the type of materials used;  

d. An evaluation of water reuse options and assurances 

that water shall be reused in all instances where reuse is 

practicable. Potential for expansion of the existing reuse 

practices or adoption of additional reuse practices shall 

also be included; and  

e. Requirements for complying with mandatory water use 

reductions during water shortage emergencies declared 

by the local governing body or water authority in 

accordance with §§ 15.2-923 and 15.2-924 of the Code 

of Virginia. This shall include, where appropriate, 
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ordinances prohibiting the waste of water generally and 

requirements providing for mandatory water use 

restrictions in accordance with drought response and 

contingency ordinances implemented to comply with 

9VAC25-780-120 during water shortage emergencies. 

The water conservation and management plan shall also 

contain requirements for mandatory water use restrictions 

during water shortage emergencies that restricts or 

prohibits all nonessential uses such as lawn watering, car 

washing, and similar nonessential industrial and 

commercial uses for the duration of the water shortage 

emergency. 

3. For nonpublic water supply applicants - agricultural 

users: 

a. Requirements for the use of water-saving plumbing 

and processes to decrease the amount of water withdrawn 

or to decrease water demand. Plans submitted for the use 

of groundwater for irrigation shall identify the specific 

type of irrigation system that will be utilized, the 

efficiency rating of the irrigation system in comparison to 

less efficient systems, the irrigation schedule used to 

minimize water demand, and the crop watering 

requirements. Multiple types of irrigation methods may 

be addressed in the plan. For livestock watering 

operations, plans shall include livestock watering 

requirements (per head) and processes to minimize waste 

of water. These requirements shall assure that the most 

practicable use is made of groundwater. If these options 

are not implemented in the plan, information on the 

water-saving alternatives examined and the water savings 

associated with the alternatives shall be provided;  

b. A water loss reduction program, which defines the 

applicant's leak detection and repair program. The water 

loss reduction program shall include requirements for an 

audit of the total amount of groundwater used in the 

distribution system and operational processes during the 

first two years of the permit cycle. Implementation of a 

leak detection and repair program shall be required 

within one year of the date the permit is issued. The 

program shall include a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and piping for leaks;  

c. A water use education program that contains 

requirements for the training of employees controlling 

water consuming processes to assure that water 

conservation principles are well known by the users of 

the resource. The program shall include a schedule for 

training employees. This requirement may be met 

through training employees on water use requirements 

contained in irrigation management plans or livestock 

management plans;  

d. An evaluation of potential water reuse options and 

assurances that water shall be reused in all instances 

where reuse is practicable and not prohibited by other 

regulatory programs; Potential for expansion of the 

existing reuse practices or adoption of additional reuse 

practices shall also be included; and  

e. Requirements for mandatory water use reductions 

during water shortage emergencies and compliance with 

ordinances prohibiting the waste of water generally. This 

shall include requirements providing for mandatory water 

use restrictions in accordance with drought response and 

contingency ordinances implemented to comply with 

9VAC25-780-120 during water shortage emergencies. 

f. The permittee may submit portions of Agricultural 

Management Plans or Irrigation Management Plans 

developed to comply with requirements of federal or 

state laws, regulations, or guidelines to demonstrate the 

requirements of subdivisions B 3 a through d of this 

section are being achieved.  

9VAC25-610-102. Evaluation of need for withdrawal and 

alternatives. 

A. The applicant shall identify the purpose of the proposed 

withdrawal by providing a narrative description of the water 

supply issues that form the basis of the proposed withdrawal. 

B. The applicant shall subsequently demonstrate to the 

satisfaction of the board that the withdrawal meets an 

established water supply need.  

1. In establishing local need for a public water supply, the 

applicant shall provide the following information: 

a. Existing supply sources, yields and demands, 

including: 

(1) Peak day and average daily withdrawal; 

(2) Total consumptive use component of the withdrawal, 

including identification of the amount needed for human 

consumption; 

(3) Types of water uses; and 

(4) Existing water conservation measures and drought 

response plan, including what conditions trigger their 

implementation. 

b. Projected demands in 10 year increments over a 

minimum 30-year planning period that includes the 

following: 

(1) Projected demand contained in the local or regional 

water supply plan developed in accordance with 

9VAC25-780 or for the project service area if such area 

is smaller than the planning area; or 

(2) Statistical population (growth) trends, projected 

demands by use type including projected demand with 

and without water conservation measures.  

2. In establishing need for agricultural water supply, the 

applicant shall provide the following information: 

a. For crop irrigation: crop, acreage, crop spacing, crop 

watering requirements for the particular crop (crop 

rooting depth), soil types, soil holding capacity (available 

water capacity), allowable soil water depletion, historic 
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precipitation records (precipitation contribution), peak 

irrigation months, irrigation scheduling approaches 

(tensiometers vs. feel method), irrigation type (drip, 

overhead, center pivot etc.), and irrigation system 

efficiency rating.  

b. For livestock watering: kind and size of animal, rate 

and composition of gain, presence of pregnant animals or 

lactating animals, type of diet, level of dry matter intake, 

level of activity, quality of the water, temperature of the 

water offered, and surrounding air temperature. 

3. In establishing need for commercial water supply, the 

applicant shall provide the following information: 

a. Number of employees by month for an average year; 

b. Average gallons per day used per month; 

c. Average daily water use rate per employee per month; 

and  

d. Identification of peak month of water demand. 

4. In establishing need for industrial water supply, the 

applicant shall provide the following information: 

a. SIC or NAICS industry code; 

b. Number of employees by month for an average year; 

c. Average gallons per day used per month; 

d. Average daily water use rate per employee per month;  

e. Identification of peak month of water demand; 

f. Amount of withdrawal per unit of output or similar 

metric identified by the user; and 

g. Monthly amount of water used for industrial processes. 

C. The applicant shall provide an alternatives analysis that 

evaluates sources of water supply other than groundwater and 

the availability and use of lower qualities of groundwater that 

can still be put to beneficial use. For all proposed 

withdrawals, the applicant shall demonstrate to the 

satisfaction of the board: 

1. Opportunities to reduce and minimize the use of 

groundwater have been identified and the requested 

amount is the minimum amount of groundwater necessary 

for the proposed activity;  

2. The project utilizes the lowest quality water for the 

proposed activity;  

3. Alternate sources of supply other than groundwater, 

including surface water and water reuse, were considered 

for use in the proposed activity particularly for 

consumptive use purposes; and 

4. Practicable alternatives, including design alternatives, 

have been evaluated for the proposed activity. Measures 

that would avoid or result in less adverse impact to high 

quality groundwater shall be considered to the maximum 

extent practicable. 

D. Any alternatives analysis conducted specifically for 

public water supply projects shall include: 

1. All applicable alternatives contained in the local or 

regional water supply plan developed in accordance with 

9VAC25-780; 

2. Alternatives that are practicable that had not been 

identified in the local or regional water supply plan 

developed in accordance with 9VAC25-780; 

3. Water conservation measures that could be considered 

as a means to reduce demand for each alternative 

considered by the applicant; and 

4. A narrative description that outlines the opportunities 

and status of regionalization efforts undertaken by the 

applicant, including the interconnectivity of water systems 

and the ability for applicants to purchase water from other 

water supplies. 

E. The alternatives analysis shall discuss the criteria used to 

evaluate each alternative including, but not limited to: 

1. Demonstration that the proposed alternative meets the 

project purpose and project demonstrated need; 

2. Availability of the alternative to the applicant; 

3. Evaluation of interconnectivity of water supply systems 

and the ability to purchase water from other supplies when 

applicable (both existing and proposed); and 

4. Evaluation of the cost of the alternative on an equivalent 

basis. 

9VAC25-610-104. Surface water and groundwater 

conjunctive use systems. 

A. Surface water and groundwater conjunctive use systems 

for public water supplies. 

1. Applicants proposing to withdraw groundwater as part 

of a surface water and groundwater conjunctive use system 

for public water supplies shall provide the following 

information to the board in addition to information 

required by 9VAC25-610-90, 9VAC25-610-92, or 

9VAC25-610-94 as part of their permit application: 

a. A detailed description of the surface water and 

groundwater conjunctive use system, including: 

(1) Identification of all surface water sources, including 

pond and reservoir volumes where applicable;  

(2) Identification of the wells used on a continual basis to 

supplement surface water supply needs and wells to be 

utilized in periods of reduced surface water availability. 

Well construction information for all wells shall be 

submitted on the Water Well Completion Report, Form 

GW2, which includes the following information: 

(a) The depth of the well; 

(b) The diameter, top and bottom, and material of each 

cased interval; 

(c) The diameter, top and bottom, for each screened 

interval; and  

(d) The depth of pump intake. 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 4, 2013 

479 

(3) A description of the storage system, excluding 

surface water sources described in subdivision 1 a (1) of 

this subsection;  

(4) A copy of the Engineering Description Sheet 

developed by the Virginia Department of Health for the 

withdrawal; and 

(5) A line drawing of the water supply system illustrating 

the water balance of the system.  

b. Records documenting the amount of water withdrawn 

on a daily basis for each water source during average 

weather conditions and during drought conditions;  

c. Documentation of the seasonal supply of surface water 

during both average and drought conditions;  

d. Documentation of any seasonal changes in demand 

that occur during an annual cycle of the specified 

beneficial use or uses; and 

e. Other relevant information that may be required by the 

board to evaluate the application. 

2. The applicant shall demonstrate that the groundwater 

withdrawal will originate from the aquifer that contains the 

lowest quality water that will support the proposed 

beneficial use or uses.  

3. The board shall evaluate the proposed groundwater 

withdrawal for consistency with criteria specified in 

9VAC25-610-110. 

4. In addition to conditions established in 9VAC25-610-

100, 9VAC25-610-110, 9VAC25-610-120, 9VAC25-610-

130, and 9VAC25-610-140, the permit shall specify the 

maximum amount of groundwater that may be withdrawn 

during the term of the permit and shall address variations 

in the groundwater withdrawal amounts that may occur.  

5. The board may issue any permit with terms, conditions, 

or limitations necessary to protect the public welfare, 

safety, and health, or to protect the resource. 

6. Applicants may request approval to withdraw 

groundwater amounts that exceed the withdrawal limits 

established in subdivision 4 of this section from wells that 

are part of a conjunctive use system to meet human 

consumption needs during periods of drought by applying 

for a supplemental drought relief permit as described in 

9VAC25-610-106. 

B. Surface water and groundwater conjunctive use systems 

for uses other than public water supplies. 

1. Applicants proposing to withdraw groundwater as part 

of a surface water and groundwater conjunctive use system 

for uses other than public water supplies shall provide the 

following information to the board in addition to 

information required by 9VAC25-610-90, 9VAC25-610-

92, or 9VAC25-610-94 as part of their permit application: 

a. A detailed description of the surface water and 

groundwater conjunctive use system, including: 

(1) Identification of all surface water sources, including 

pond and reservoir volumes where applicable;  

(2) Identification of the wells used on a continual basis to 

supplement surface water supply needs and wells to be 

utilized in periods of reduced surface water availability. 

Well construction information for all wells shall be 

submitted on the Water Well Completion Report, Form 

GW2, which includes the following information: 

(a) The depth of the well; 

(b) The diameter, top and bottom, and material of each 

cased interval; 

(c) The diameter, top and bottom, for each screened 

interval; and  

(d) The depth of pump intake. 

(3) A description of the storage system, excluding 

surface water sources described in subdivision 1 a (1) of 

this subsection; and 

(4) A map delineating the area in which the water will be 

beneficially used.  

b. Records documenting the amount of water withdrawn 

on a monthly basis and annual basis for each water 

source during average weather conditions and during 

drought conditions;  

c. Documentation of the seasonal supply of surface water 

during both average and drought conditions;  

d. Documentation of any seasonal changes in demand 

that occur during an annual cycle of the specified 

beneficial use or uses; 

e. Other relevant information that may be required by the 

board to evaluate the application. 

2. The applicant shall demonstrate that the groundwater 

withdrawal will originate from the aquifer that contains the 

lowest quality water that will support the proposed 

beneficial use or uses.  

3. The board shall evaluate the proposed groundwater 

withdrawal for consistency with criteria specified in 

9VAC25-610-110. 

4. In addition to conditions established in 9VAC25-610-

100, 9VAC25-610-110, 9VAC25-610-130, and 9VAC25-

610-140, the permit shall specify the maximum amount of 

groundwater that may be withdrawn during the term of the 

permit and shall address variations in the groundwater 

withdrawal amounts that may occur. 

5. The board may issue any permit with terms, conditions, 

or limitations necessary to protect the public welfare, 

safety, and health, or to protect the resource. 

9VAC25-610-106. Supplemental drought relief wells. 

A. Public water supplies wishing to withdraw groundwater 

for human consumption during periods of drought through the 

use of supplemental drought relief wells in any groundwater 
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management area and not excluded from requirements of this 

chapter by 9VAC25-610-50 shall apply for a permit. 

B. A groundwater withdrawal permit application shall be 

completed and submitted to the board and a groundwater 

withdrawal permit issued by the board prior to the initiation 

of any withdrawal not specifically excluded in 9VAC25-610-

50.  

C. A complete groundwater withdrawal permit application 

for supplemental drought relief wells shall contain the 

following:  

1. The permit fee as required by the Fees for Permits and 

Certificates Regulations (9VAC25-20); 

2. A groundwater withdrawal permit application completed 

in its entirety with all maps, attachments, and addenda that 

may be required. Application forms shall be submitted in a 

format specified by the board.  Such application forms are 

available from the Department of Environmental Quality;  

3. A signature as described in 9VAC25-610-150;  

4. Well construction documentation for all wells associated 

with the application submitted on the Water Well 

Completion Report, Form GW2, which includes the 

following information: 

(1) The depth of the well; 

(2) The diameter, top and bottom, and material of each 

cased interval; 

(3) The diameter, top and bottom, for each screened 

interval; and  

(4) The depth of pump intake. 

5. The application shall include locations of all wells 

associated with the application shown on United States 

Geological Survey 7-1/2 minute topographic maps. The 

applicant shall provide the latitude and longitude 

coordinates in a datum specified by the department for 

each existing and proposed well. The detailed location map 

shall be of sufficient detail such that all wells may be 

easily located for site inspection; 

6. A map identifying the service areas for public water 

supplies;  

7. Information on surface water and groundwater 

conjunctive use systems as described in 9VAC25-610-104 

if applicable;  

8. A water conservation and management plan as described 

in 9VAC25-610-100;  

9. The application shall include notification from the local 

governing body in which the withdrawal is to occur that 

the location and operation of the withdrawing facility is in 

compliance with all ordinances adopted pursuant to 

Chapter 22 (§ 15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. If the governing body fails to respond to the 

applicant's request for certification within 45 days of 

receipt of the written request, the location and operation of 

the proposed facility shall be deemed to comply with the 

provisions of such ordinances for the purposes of this 

chapter. The applicant shall document the local governing 

body's receipt of the request for certification through the 

use of certified mail or other means that establishes proof 

of delivery;  

10. A plan to mitigate potential adverse impacts from the 

proposed withdrawal on existing groundwater users. In lieu 

of developing individual mitigation plans, multiple 

applicants may choose to establish a mitigation program to 

collectively develop and implement a cooperative 

mitigation plan that covers the entire area of impact of all 

members of the mitigation program; 

11. Documentation on the maximum amount of 

groundwater needed annually to meet human consumption 

needs; and 

12. Other relevant information that may be required by the 

board to evaluate the application. 

D. Permits issued by the board for groundwater withdrawals 

from supplemental drought relief wells shall include the 

following permit conditions: 

1. Permits shall include a maximum amount of 

groundwater allowed to be withdrawn over the term of the 

permit.  

2. The permit shall specify an annual limit on the amount 

of groundwater to be withdrawn based on the amount of 

groundwater needed annually to meet human consumption 

needs. Groundwater withdrawals from supplemental 

drought relief wells shall be subject to monthly 

groundwater withdrawal limits. 

3. Permits shall specify that groundwater withdrawn from 

supplemental drought relief wells shall be used to meet 

human consumption needs.  

4. Permits shall specify that groundwater shall only be 

withdrawn from supplemental drought relief wells after 

mandatory water restrictions have been implemented 

pursuant to approved water conservation and management 

plans as required by § 62.1-265 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. A permit shall contain the total depth of each permitted 

well in feet.  

6. A permit shall specify the screened intervals of wells 

authorized for use by the permit; 

7. A permit shall contain the designation of the aquifers to 

be utilized.  

8. A permit may contain conditions limiting the withdrawal 

amount of a single well or a group of wells within a 

withdrawal system to a quantity specified by the board.  

9. A groundwater withdrawal permit for a public water 

supply shall contain a condition allowing daily 

withdrawals at a level consistent with the requirements and 

conditions contained in the waterworks operation permit, 

or equivalent, issued by the Virginia Department of Health. 

This requirement shall not limit the authority of the board 
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to reduce or eliminate groundwater withdrawals by public 

water suppliers if necessary to protect human health or the 

environment. 

10. The permit shall state that no pumps or water intake 

devices are to be placed lower than the top of the 

uppermost confined aquifer that a well utilizes as a 

groundwater source or lower than the bottom of an 

unconfined aquifer that a well utilizes as a groundwater 

source in order to prevent dewatering of a confined aquifer, 

loss of inelastic storage, or damage to the aquifer from 

compaction. 

11. All permits shall specify monitoring requirements as 

conditions of the permit.  

a. Permitted users shall install in-line totalizing flow 

meters to read gallons, cubic feet, or cubic meters on 

each permitted well prior to beginning the permitted use. 

Such meters shall produce volume determinations within 

plus or minus 10% of actual flows. A defective meter or 

other device must be repaired or replaced within 30 days. 

A defective meter is not grounds for not reporting 

withdrawals. During any period when a meter is 

defective, generally accepted engineering methods shall 

be used to estimate withdrawals and the period during 

which the meter was defective must be clearly identified 

in groundwater withdrawal reports. An alternative 

method for determining flow may be approved by the 

board on a case-by-case basis.  

b. Permits shall contain requirements concerning the 

proper use, maintenance, and installation, when 

appropriate, of monitoring equipment or methods when 

required as a condition of the permit.  

c. Permits shall contain required monitoring including 

type, intervals, and frequency sufficient to yield data that 

are representative of the monitored activity and 

including, when appropriate, continuous monitoring and 

sampling.  

d. Each permitted well shall be equipped in a manner 

such that water levels can be measured during pumping 

and nonpumping periods without dismantling any 

equipment. Any opening for tape measurement of water 

levels shall have an inside diameter of at least 0.5 inches 

and be sealed by a removable plug or cap. The permittee 

shall provide a tap for taking raw water samples from 

each permitted well.  

12. All permits shall prohibit withdrawals from wells not 

authorized in the permit. 

13. All permits shall include requirements to report the 

amount of water withdrawn from each permitted well or 

well system on forms provided by the board with a 

frequency dependent on the nature and effect of the 

withdrawal, but in no case less than once per year.  

14. Groundwater withdrawal permits issued under this 

chapter shall have an effective and expiration date that will 

determine the life of the permit. Groundwater withdrawal 

permits shall be effective for a fixed term not to exceed 10 

years. Permit duration of less than the maximum period of 

time may be recommended in areas where hydrologic 

conditions are changing or are not adequately known. The 

term of any permit shall not be extended by modification 

beyond the maximum duration. Extension of permits for 

the same activity beyond the maximum duration specified 

in the original permit will require reapplication and 

issuance of a new permit.  

15. Each permit shall have a condition allowing the 

reopening of the permit for the purpose of modifying the 

conditions of the permit to meet new regulatory standards 

duly adopted by the board.  

16. Each well that is included in a groundwater withdrawal 

permit shall have affixed to the well casing, in a prominent 

place, a permanent well identification plate that records the 

Department of Environmental Quality well identification 

number, the groundwater withdrawal permit number, the 

total depth of the well, and the screened intervals in the 

well, at a minimum. Such well identification plates shall be 

in a format specified by the board and are available from 

the Department of Environmental Quality.  

E. The permit shall address variations in the groundwater 

withdrawal amounts that may occur.  

F. In addition to the permit conditions listed in subsection D 

of this section, the board may issue any permit with terms, 

conditions, or limitations necessary to protect the public 

welfare, safety, and health, or to protect the resource. 

G. The board shall evaluate the application for supplemental 

drought relief wells based on the following criteria:  

1. The applicant demonstrates that no pumps or water 

intake devices are placed lower than the top of the 

uppermost confined aquifer that a well utilizes as a 

groundwater source or lower than the bottom of an 

unconfined aquifer that a well utilizes as a groundwater 

source in order to prevent dewatering of a confined aquifer, 

loss of inelastic storage, or damage to the aquifer from 

compaction. 

2. The applicant demonstrates that the amount of 

groundwater withdrawal requested is the smallest amount 

of withdrawal necessary to support human consumption 

when mandatory water use restrictions have been 

implemented.  

3. The applicant provides a water conservation and 

management plan as described in 9VAC25-610-100 and 

implements the plan as an enforceable condition of the 

groundwater withdrawal permit.  

4. The applicant provides certification by the local 

governing body that the location and operation of the 

withdrawing facility is in compliance with all ordinances 

adopted pursuant to Chapter 22 (§ 15.2-2200 et seq.) of 

Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
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5. The board's technical evaluation demonstrates that the 

area of impact of the proposed withdrawal will remain on 

property owned by the applicant or that there are no 

existing groundwater withdrawers within the area of 

impact of the proposed withdrawal.  

In cases where the area of impact does not remain on the 

property owned by the applicant or existing groundwater 

withdrawers will be included in the area of impact, the 

applicant shall provide and implement a plan to mitigate all 

adverse impacts on existing groundwater users. 

Approvable mitigation plans shall, at a minimum, contain 

the following features and implementation of the 

mitigation plan shall be included as enforceable permit 

conditions:  

a. The rebuttable presumption that water level declines 

that cause adverse impacts to existing wells within the 

area of impact are due to the proposed withdrawal;  

b. A commitment by the applicant to mitigate undisputed 

adverse impacts due to the proposed withdrawal in a 

timely fashion;  

c. A speedy, nonexclusive, low-cost process to fairly 

resolve disputed claims for mitigation between the 

applicant and any claimant; and  

d. The requirement that the claimant provide 

documentation that he is the owner of the well; 

documentation that the well was constructed and 

operated prior to the initiation of the applicant's 

withdrawal; the depth of the well, the pump, and screens, 

and any other construction information that the claimant 

possesses; the location of the well with enough 

specificity that it can be located in the field; the historic 

yield of the well, if available; historic water levels for the 

well, if available; and the reasons the claimant believes 

that the applicant's withdrawals have caused an adverse 

impact on the well.  

6. The board conducts a technical evaluation of the 

[ stabilized ] effects of the proposed withdrawal with the 

stabilized cumulative effects of all existing lawful 

withdrawals to identify if the withdrawal will lower water 

levels in any confined aquifer below a point that represents 

80% of the distance between the [ historical prepumping 

water levels in the aquifer land surface ] and the top of the 

aquifer. 

7. The board's technical evaluation demonstrates that the 

proposed groundwater withdrawal will not result in salt 

water intrusion or the movement of waters of lower quality 

to areas where such movement would result in adverse 

impacts on existing groundwater users or the groundwater 

resource. This provision shall not exclude the withdrawal 

of brackish water provided that the proposed withdrawal 

will not result in unmitigated adverse impacts. 

9VAC25-610-108. Estimating area of impact for 

qualifying groundwater withdrawals. 

A. For groundwater withdrawals where available 

information indicates the area of impact for the withdrawal 

will be less than 12 square miles, the director may estimate, 

through the use of modeling techniques, the area of impact of 

a withdrawal for use by the applicant in developing a 

mitigation plan. 

B. The applicant may choose to use the area of impact 

estimated by the department or the applicant may conduct a 

geophysical investigation to gather site-specific information 

to be used as the basis for identifying the area of impact of the 

withdrawal. 

C. The area of impact, whether estimated or identified 

through an evaluation of a geophysical [ evaluation 

investigation ], shall be included in the permit's mitigation 

plan if a plan is required by 9VAC25-610-110 D 3 g. 

D. Mitigation plans for all surface water and groundwater 

conjunctive use system permits and supplemental drought 

relief permits shall address the area of impact associated with 

the maximum groundwater withdrawal allowed by such 

permits. 

9VAC25-610-110. Criteria for issuance of permits 

Evaluation criteria for permit applications. 

A. The board shall not issue any permit for more ground 

water groundwater than will be applied to the proposed 

beneficial use.  

B. The board shall issue ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permits to persons withdrawing ground water 

groundwater or who have rights to withdraw ground water 

groundwater prior to July 1, 1992, in the Eastern Virginia or 

Eastern Shore Ground Water Groundwater Management 

[ Areas Area ] and not excluded from requirements of this 

chapter by 9VAC25-610-50 based on the following criteria:  

1. The board shall issue a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit for persons meeting the criteria of 

subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-610-90 A 1 for the total amount 

of ground water groundwater withdrawn in any 

consecutive 12-month period between July 1, 1987, and 

June 30, 1992; however, with respect to a political 

subdivision, an authority serving a political subdivision or 

a community waterworks regulated by the Department of 

Health, the board shall issue a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit for the total amount of water withdrawn 

in any consecutive 12-month period between July 1, 1980, 

and June 30, 1992.  

2. The board shall issue a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit for persons meeting the criteria of 

subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-610-90 A 2, for the total amount 

of ground water groundwater withdrawn and applied to a 

beneficial use in any consecutive 12-month period between 

July 1, 1992, and June 30, 1995.  
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3. The board shall issue a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit for persons meeting the criteria of 

subdivision 4 of 9VAC25-610-90 A 4 for the total amount 

of ground water groundwater withdrawn in any 

consecutive 12-month period between July 1, 1983, and 

June 30, 1993. The board shall evaluate all estimates of 

ground water groundwater withdrawal based on projected 

water demands for crops and livestock as published by the 

Virginia Cooperative Extension Service, the United States 

Natural Resources Conservation Service, or other similar 

references and make a determination whether they are 

reasonable. In all cases only reasonable estimates will be 

used to document a permit limit.  

4. The board shall issue a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit for persons meeting the criteria of 

subdivision 5 of 9VAC25-610-90 A 5 for the amount of 

ground water groundwater withdrawal needed to annually 

meet human consumption needs as proven in the water 

conservation and management plan approved by the board. 

The board shall include conditions in such permits that 

require the implementation of mandatory use restrictions 

before such withdrawals can be exercised.  

5. When requested by persons described in subdivisions 1, 

2, and 4 of 9VAC25-610-90 A 1, 2 and 4, the board shall 

may issue ground water groundwater withdrawal permits 

that include withdrawal amounts in excess of those which 

an applicant can support based on historic usage. These 

additional amounts shall be based on documentation of 

water savings achieved through water conservation 

measures. The applicant shall demonstrate withdrawals 

prior to implementation of water conservation measures, 

type of water conservation measure implemented, and 

withdrawals after implementation of water conservation 

measures. The applicant shall provide evidence of 

withdrawal amounts through metered withdrawals and 

estimated amounts shall not be accepted to claim additional 

withdrawal amounts due to water conservation. Decreases 

in withdrawal amounts due to production declines, climatic 

conditions, population declines, or similar events shall not 

be used as a basis to claim additional withdrawal amounts 

based on water conservation.  

C. The board shall issue ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permits to persons withdrawing ground water 

groundwater when a ground water groundwater management 

area is declared or expanded after July 1, 1992, and not 

excluded from requirements of this chapter by 9VAC25-610-

50 based on the following criteria:  

1. The board shall issue a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit to nonagricultural users for the total 

amount of ground water groundwater withdrawn in any 

consecutive 12-month period during the five years 

preceding the effective date of the regulation creating or 

expanding the ground water groundwater management 

area.  

2. The board shall issue a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit to agricultural users for the total amount 

of ground water groundwater withdrawn in any 

consecutive 12-month period during the 10 years preceding 

the effective date of the regulation creating or expanding 

the ground water groundwater management area. The 

board shall evaluate all estimates of ground water 

groundwater withdrawal based on projected water demands 

for crops and livestock as published by the Virginia 

Cooperative Extension Service, the United States Natural 

Resources Conservation Service, or other similar 

references and make a determination whether they are 

reasonable. In all cases only reasonable estimates will be 

used to document a permit limit.  

3. When requested by the applicant the board shall may 

issue ground water groundwater withdrawal permits that 

include withdrawal amounts in excess of those which an 

applicant can support based on historic usage. These 

additional amounts shall be based on documentation of 

water savings achieved through water conservation 

measures. The applicant shall demonstrate withdrawals 

prior to implementation of water conservation measures, 

type of water conservation measure implemented, and 

withdrawals after implementation of water conservation 

measures. The applicant shall provide evidence of 

withdrawal amounts through metered withdrawals and 

estimated amounts shall not be accepted to claim additional 

withdrawal amounts due to water conservation. Decreases 

in withdrawal amounts due to production declines, climatic 

conditions, population declines, or similar events shall not 

be used as a basis to claim additional withdrawal amounts 

based on water conservation.  

D. The board shall issue ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permits to persons wishing to initiate a new 

withdrawal or, expand an existing withdrawal, or reapply for 

a current withdrawal in any ground water groundwater 

management area who have submitted complete applications 

and are not excluded from requirements of this chapter by 

9VAC25-610-50 based on the following criteria:  

1. The applicant shall provide all information required in 

9VAC25-610-90 C 2 subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-610-94 

prior to the board's determination that an application is 

complete. The board may require the applicant to provide 

any information contained in 9VAC25-610-90 C 3 

subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-610-94 prior to considering an 

application complete based on the anticipated impact of the 

proposed withdrawal on existing ground water 

groundwater users or the ground water groundwater 

resource.  

2. The board shall perform a technical evaluation to 

determine the areas of any aquifers that will experience at 

least one foot of water level declines due to the proposed 

withdrawal and may evaluate the potential for the proposed 

withdrawal to cause salt water intrusion into any portions 
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of any aquifers or the movement of waters of lower quality 

to areas where such movement would result in adverse 

impacts on existing ground water groundwater users or the 

ground water groundwater resource. Prior to public notice 

of a draft permit developed in accordance with the findings 

of the technical evaluation and at the request of the 

applicant, the results of the technical evaluation, including 

all assumptions and input, will be provided to the applicant 

for review.  

3. The board shall issue a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit when it is demonstrated, by a complete 

application and the board's technical evaluation, to the 

board's satisfaction that the maximum safe supply of 

ground water groundwater will be preserved and protected 

for all other beneficial uses and that the applicant's 

proposed withdrawal will have no significant unmitigated 

impact on existing ground water groundwater users or the 

ground-water groundwater resource. In order to assure that 

the applicant's proposed withdrawal complies with the 

above stated requirements, the demonstration shall include, 

but not be limited to, compliance with the following 

criteria:  

a. The applicant demonstrates that no other sources of 

water supply, including reclaimed water, are [ viable 

practicable ].  

b. The applicant demonstrates that the ground water 

groundwater withdrawal will originate from the aquifer 

that contains the lowest quality water that will support 

the proposed beneficial use.  

c. The applicant demonstrates that no pumps or water 

intake devices are placed below lower than the top of the 

uppermost confined aquifer that a well utilizes as a 

ground water groundwater source or below lower than 

the bottom of an unconfined aquifer that a well utilizes as 

a ground water groundwater source in order to prevent 

dewatering of a confined aquifer, loss of inelastic 

storage, or damage to the aquifer from compaction. 

d. The applicant demonstrates that the amount of ground 

water groundwater withdrawal requested is the smallest 

amount of withdrawal necessary to support the proposed 

beneficial use and that the amount is representative of the 

amount necessary to support similar beneficial uses when 

adequate conservation measures are employed.  

e. The applicant provides a water conservation and 

management plan as described in 9VAC25-610-100 and 

implements the plan as an enforceable condition of the 

ground water groundwater withdrawal permit.  

f. The applicant provides certification by the local 

governing body that the location and operation of the 

withdrawing facility is in compliance with all ordinances 

adopted pursuant to Chapter 22 (§ 15.2-2200 et seq.) of 

Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

g. The board's technical evaluation demonstrates that the 

area of impact of the proposed withdrawal will remain on 

property owned by the applicant or that there are no 

existing ground water groundwater withdrawers within 

the area of impact of the proposed withdrawal.  

In cases where the area of impact does not remain on the 

property owned by the applicant or existing ground water 

groundwater withdrawers will be included in the area of 

impact, the applicant shall provide and implement a plan 

to mitigate all adverse impacts on existing ground water 

groundwater users. Approvable mitigation plans shall, at 

a minimum, contain the following features and 

implementation of the mitigation plan shall be included 

as enforceable permit conditions:  

(1) The rebuttable presumption that water level declines 

that cause adverse impacts to existing wells within the 

area of impact are due to the proposed withdrawal;  

(2) A commitment by the applicant to mitigate 

undisputed adverse impacts due to the proposed 

withdrawal in a timely fashion;  

(3) A speedy, nonexclusive, low-cost process to fairly 

resolve disputed claims for mitigation between the 

applicant and any claimant; and  

(4) The requirement that the claimant provide 

documentation that he is the owner of the well; 

documentation that the well was constructed and 

operated prior to the initiation of the applicant's 

withdrawal; the depth of the well, the pump, and screens 

and any other construction information that the claimant 

possesses; the location of the well with enough 

specificity that it can be located in the field; the historic 

yield of the well, if available; historic water levels for the 

well, if available; and the reasons the claimant believes 

that the applicant's withdrawals have caused an adverse 

impact on the well.  

h. The board's technical evaluation demonstrates that the 

stabilized effects from the proposed withdrawal in 

combination with the stabilized combined effects of all 

existing lawful withdrawals will not lower water levels, 

in any confined aquifer that the withdrawal impacts, 

below a point that represents 80% of the distance 

between the [ historical prepumping water levels in the 

aquifer land surface ] and the top of the aquifer. 

Compliance with the 80% drawdown criterion will be 

determined at the points that are halfway between the 

proposed withdrawal site and the predicted one-foot 

drawdown contour based on the predicted stabilized 

effects of the proposed withdrawal. [ Compliance with 

the 80% drawdown criteria will be determined at the 

points where the predicted one-foot drawdown contour is 

predicted for the proposed withdrawal. ]  

i. The board's technical evaluation demonstrates that the 

proposed ground water groundwater withdrawal will not 

result in salt water intrusion or the movement of waters 
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of lower quality to areas where such movement would 

result in adverse impacts on existing ground water 

groundwater users or the ground water groundwater 

resource. This provision shall not exclude the withdrawal 

of brackish water so long as provided that the proposed 

withdrawal will not result in unmitigated adverse 

impacts.  

4. The board [ may shall ] also take the following factors 

into consideration when evaluating a ground water 

groundwater withdrawal permit application or special 

conditions associated with a ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit:  

a. The nature of the use of the proposed withdrawal;  

b. [ The public benefit provided by the proposed 

withdrawal; ] 

[ c. ] The proposed use of innovative approaches such as 

aquifer storage and recovery systems, surface water and 

ground water groundwater conjunctive use systems, 

multiple well systems that blend withdrawals from 

aquifers that contain different quality ground water 

groundwater in order to produce potable water, and 

desalinization of brackish ground water groundwater; 

[ d. Prior public investment in existing facilities for 

withdrawal, transmission, and treatment of 

groundwater; ]  

[ c. e. ] Climatic cycles;  

[ d. f. ] Economic cycles;  

[ e. g. ] The unique requirements of nuclear power 

stations;  

[ f. h. ] Population and water demand projections during 

the term of the proposed permit;  

[ g. i. ] The status of land use and other necessary 

approvals; and  

[ h. j. ] Other factors that the board deems appropriate.  

E. When proposed uses of ground water groundwater are in 

conflict or available supplies of ground water groundwater 

are not sufficient to support all those who desire to use them, 

the board shall prioritize the evaluation of applications in the 

following manner:  

1. Applications for human consumptive use consumption 

shall be given the highest priority;  

2. Should there be conflicts between applications for 

human consumptive uses consumption, applications will be 

evaluated in order based on the date that said applications 

were considered complete; and  

3. Applications for all uses, other than human 

consumption, will be evaluated following the evaluation of 

proposed human consumptive uses consumption in order 

based on the date that said applications were considered 

complete.  

F. Criteria for reissuance review of permits reapplications 

for groundwater withdrawal permit.  

1. The board shall consider all criteria for reissuance of a 

ground water withdrawal permit described in subsection D 

of this section prior to reissuing a groundwater withdrawal 

permit. Existing permitted withdrawal amounts shall not be 

the sole basis for determination of the appropriate 

withdrawal amounts when a permit is reissued.  

2. The board shall reissue a permit to any public water 

supply user for an annual amount no less than the amount 

equal to that portion of the permitted withdrawal that was 

used by said system to support human consumptive uses 

consumption during 12 consecutive months of the previous 

term of the permit.  

9VAC25-610-120. Public water supplies.  

The board shall evaluate all applications for ground water 

groundwater withdrawals for public water supplies as 

described in 9VAC25-610-110. The board shall make a 

preliminary decision on the application and prepare a draft 

ground water groundwater withdrawal permit and forward the 

draft permit to the Virginia Department of Health. The board 

shall not issue a final ground water groundwater withdrawal 

permit until such time as the Virginia Department of Health 

issues a waterworks operation permit, or equivalent. The 

board shall establish withdrawal limits for such permits as 

described in 9VAC25-610-140 A 3 and 4 and 5. Under the 

Virginia Department of Health's Waterworks Regulation any 

proposed use of reclaimed, reused, or recycled water 

contained in a ground water groundwater withdrawal 

application to support a public water supply is required to be 

approved by the Virginia Department of Health.  

9VAC25-610-130. Conditions applicable to all 

groundwater permits.  

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of the permit. Nothing in this chapter shall be 

construed to relieve the ground water groundwater 

withdrawal permit holder of the duty to comply with all 

applicable federal and state statutes and regulations 

prohibitions. At a minimum, a person must obtain a well 

construction permit or a well site approval letter from the 

Virginia Department of Health prior to the construction of 

any well for any withdrawal authorized by [ DEQ the 

Department of Environmental Quality ]. Any permit 

noncompliance is a violation of the Act and is a violation of 

the law, and is grounds for enforcement action, permit 

termination, revocation, amendment, modification, or denial 

of a permit renewal application.  

B. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which a 

permit has been granted in order to maintain compliance with 

the conditions of the permit.  
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C. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to:  

1. Avoid all adverse impacts to lawful ground water 

groundwater users which could result from the withdrawal; 

and  

2. Where impacts cannot be avoided, provide mitigation of 

the adverse impact as described in 9VAC25-610-110 D 3 

g.  

D. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, 

the permittee shall allow the board or any duly authorized 

agent of the board or department may, at reasonable times and 

under reasonable circumstances:, to conduct actions listed in 

this section. For the purpose of this section, the time for 

inspection shall be deemed reasonable during regular business 

hours. Nothing contained herein shall make an inspection 

time unreasonable during an emergency. 

1. Enter Entry upon any permittee's property, public or 

private, and have access to, inspect and copy any records 

that must be kept as part of the permit conditions;  

2. Inspect any facilities, operations or practices (including 

monitoring and control equipment) regulated or required 

under the permit; and  

3. Sample or monitor any substance, parameter or activity 

for the purpose of assuring compliance with the conditions 

of the permit or as otherwise authorized by law.  

E. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the board, within a reasonable time, any information which 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for amending modifying or revoking, reissuing, or 

terminating the permit, or to determine compliance with the 

permit. The permittee shall also furnish to the board, upon 

request, copies of records required to be kept by the 

permittee.  

F. Monitoring and records requirements.  

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the permit. Analysis of pollutants will be 

conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 (2000), 

Guidelines Establishing Test Procedures for the Analysis 

of Pollutants. 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 

activity.  

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the application for the permit, for a period of at 

least three years from the date of the expiration of a 

granted permit. This period may be extended by request of 

the board at any time.  

4. Records of monitoring information shall include as 

appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements;  

c. The date the analyses were performed;  

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations 

and bench data used; and 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

G. Permit action.  

1. A permit may be amended modified or revoked as set 

forth in Part VI [ (9VAC25-610-170 (9VAC25-610-290 ] 

et seq.) of this chapter.  

2. If a permittee files a request for permit amendment 

modification or revocation, or files a notification of 

planned changes, or anticipated noncompliance, the permit 

terms and conditions shall remain effective until the 

request is acted upon by the board makes a final case 

decision. This provision shall not be used to extend the 

expiration date of the effective permit.  

3. Permits may be amended modified or revoked upon the 

request of the permittee, or upon board initiative, to reflect 

the requirements of any changes in the statutes or 

regulations.  

9VAC25-610-140. Establishing applicable standards, 

limitations or other permit conditions.  

A. In addition to the conditions established in 9VAC25-610-

100, 9VAC25-610-110, 9VAC25-610-120, and 9VAC25-

610-130, each permit shall include conditions with the 

following requirements:  

1. A permit shall contain the total depth of each permitted 

well in feet;  

2. A permit shall specify the screened intervals of wells 

authorized for use by the permit; 

2. 3. A permit shall contain the designation of the aquifers 

to be utilized;  

3. 4. A permit shall contain conditions limiting the 

withdrawal amount of a single well or a group of wells that 

comprise a withdrawal system to a quantity specified by 

the board. A permit shall contain a maximum annual 

withdrawal and a maximum monthly groundwater 

withdrawal limit; 

4. 5. A ground water groundwater withdrawal permit for a 

public water supply shall contain a condition allowing 

daily withdrawals at a level consistent with the 

requirements and conditions contained in the waterworks 
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operation permit, or equivalent, issued by the Virginia 

Department of Health. This requirement shall not limit the 

authority of the board to reduce or eliminate ground water 

groundwater withdrawals by public water suppliers if 

necessary to protect human health or the environment;  

5. 6. The permittee shall not place a pump permit shall 

state that no pumps or water intake device devices are to be 

placed lower than the top of the uppermost confined 

aquifer that a well utilizes as a ground water groundwater 

source or lower than the bottom of an unconfined aquifer 

that a well utilizes as a ground water groundwater source; 

in order to prevent dewatering of a confined aquifer, loss 

of inelastic storage, or damage to the aquifer from 

compaction. 

6. 7. All permits shall specify monitoring requirements as 

conditions of the permit.  

a. Permitted users who are issued ground water 

groundwater withdrawal permits based on 9VAC25-610-

110 B 3 and C 2 shall install either in-line totalizing flow 

meters or hour meters that record the hours of operation 

of withdrawal pumps on each permitted well prior to 

beginning the permitted use. Flow meters shall produce 

volume determinations within plus or minus 10% of 

actual flows. Hour meters shall produce run times within 

plus or minus 10% of actual run times. Hour meter 

readings will be multiplied by the maximum capacity of 

the withdrawal pump to determine withdrawal amounts. 

A defective meter or other device must be repaired or 

replaced within 30 days. A defective meter is not grounds 

for not reporting withdrawals. During any period when a 

meter is defective, generally accepted engineering 

methods shall be used to estimate withdrawals and the 

period during which the meter was defective must be 

clearly identified in ground water groundwater 

withdrawal reports. An alternative method for 

determining flow may be approved by the board on a 

case-by-case basis.  

b. Permitted users who are issued ground water 

groundwater withdrawal permits based on any section of 

this chapter not included in subdivision 6 a 7 a of this 

subsection shall install in-line totalizing flow meters to 

read gallons, cubic feet or cubic meters on each permitted 

well prior to beginning the permitted use. Such meters 

shall produce volume determinations within plus or 

minus 10% of actual flows. A defective meter or other 

device must be repaired or replaced within 30 days. A 

defective meter is not grounds for not reporting 

withdrawals. During any period when a meter is 

defective, generally accepted engineering methods shall 

be used to estimate withdrawals and the period during 

which the meter was defective must be clearly identified 

in ground water groundwater withdrawal reports. An 

alternative method for determining flow may be 

approved by the board on a case-by-case basis.  

c. Permits shall contain requirements concerning the 

proper use, maintenance and installation, when 

appropriate, of monitoring equipment or methods when 

required as a condition of the permit.  

d. Permits shall contain required monitoring including 

type, intervals, and frequency sufficient to yield data 

which are representative of the monitored activity and 

including, when appropriate, continuous monitoring and 

sampling.  

e. Each permitted well shall be equipped in a manner 

such that water levels can be measured during pumping 

and nonpumping periods without dismantling any 

equipment. Any opening for tape measurement of water 

levels shall have an inside diameter of at least 0.5 inches 

and be sealed by a removable plug or cap. The permittee 

shall provide a tap for taking raw water samples from 

each permitted well.  

8. All permits shall prohibit withdrawals from wells not 

authorized in the permit. 

7. 9. All permits shall include requirements to report the 

amount of water withdrawn from each permitted well and 

well system on forms provided by the board with a 

frequency dependent on the nature and effect of the 

withdrawal, but in no case less than once per year.  

8. 10. Ground water Groundwater withdrawal permits 

issued under this chapter shall have an effective and 

expiration date which will determine the life of the permit. 

Ground water Groundwater withdrawal permits [ shall be ] 

shall be effective for a fixed term not to exceed 10 years. 

Permit duration of less than the maximum period of time 

may be recommended in areas where hydrologic 

conditions are changing or are not adequately known. The 

term of any permit shall not be extended by amendment 

modification beyond the maximum duration. Extension of 

permits for the same activity beyond the maximum 

duration specified in the original permit will require 

reapplication and issuance of a new permit.  

9. 11. Each permit shall have a condition allowing the 

reopening of the permit for the purpose of amending 

modifying the conditions of the permit to meet new 

regulatory standards duly adopted by the board. Cause for 

reopening permits include but is not limited to a 

determination that the circumstances under which the 

previous permit was based have materially and 

substantially changed, or special studies conducted by the 

board or the permittee show material and substantial 

change, since the time the permit was issued and thereby 

constitute cause for permit amendment or revocation.  

10. 12. Each well that is included in a ground water 

groundwater withdrawal permit shall have affixed to the 

well casing, in a prominent place, a permanent well 

identification plate that records the Department of 

Environmental Quality well identification number, the 

ground water groundwater withdrawal permit number, the 
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total depth of the well and the screened intervals in the 

well, at a minimum. Such well identification plates shall be 

in a format specified by the board and are available from 

the Department of Environmental Quality.  

B. In addition to the conditions established in 9VAC25-610-

100, 9VAC25-610-110, 9VAC25-610-120, 9VAC25-610-

130, and subsection A of this section, each permit may 

include conditions with the following requirements where 

applicable:  

1. A withdrawal limit may be placed on all or some one or 

more of the wells which that constitute a withdrawal 

system;  

2. A permit may contain quarterly, monthly, or daily 

withdrawal limits or withdrawal limits based on any other 

frequency as determined by the board;  

3. A permit may contain conditions requiring water quality 

and water levels monitoring at specified intervals in any 

wells deemed appropriate by the board;  

4. A permit may contain conditions specifying water levels 

and water quality action levels in pumping and 

observation/monitoring wells to protect against or mitigate 

water quality levels or aquifer degradation. The board may 

require permitted users to initiate control measures which 

include, but are not limited to, the following:  

a. Pumping arrangements to reduce ground water 

groundwater withdrawal in areas of concentrated 

pumping;  

b. Location of wells to eliminate or reduce ground water 

groundwater withdrawals near saltwater-freshwater 

interfaces;  

c. Requirement of selective withdrawal from other 

available aquifers than those presently used or proposed; 

d. Selective curtailment, reduction or cessation of ground 

water groundwater withdrawals to protect the public 

welfare, safety, or health or to protect the resource;  

e. Conjunctive use of freshwater and saltwater aquifers, 

or waters of less desirable quality where water quality of 

a specific character is not essential;  

f. Construction and use of observation or monitoring 

wells, drilled into aquifers between areas of ground water 

withdrawal (or proposed areas of ground water 

withdrawal) and sources of lower quality water including 

saltwater;  

g. Prohibiting Well construction techniques that prohibit 

the hydraulic connection of aquifers that contain different 

quality waters, such as gravel packing, that could result 

in deterioration of water quality in an aquifer; and  

h. Such other necessary control or abatement techniques 

as are technically feasible practicable to protect and 

beneficially utilize the groundwater resource. 

5. A permit may contain conditions limiting water level 

declines in pumping wells and observation wells; and  

6. All permits may include requirements to report water 

quality and water level information on forms provided by 

the board with a frequency dependent on the nature and 

effect of the withdrawal, but in no case less than once per 

year; and 

7. Permits shall require implementation of water 

conservation and management plans developed to comply 

with requirements of 9VAC25-610-100. 

C. In addition to conditions described in 9VAC25-610-130 

and subsections A and B of this section, the board may issue 

any groundwater withdrawal permit with any terms, 

conditions and limitations necessary to protect the public 

welfare, safety, and health or to protect the resource. 

9VAC25-610-150. Signatory requirements.  

Any application, report, or certification shall be signed as 

follows:  

1. Application.  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate official. 

For purposes of this section, a responsible corporate 

official means (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice 

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy or decision-making functions for the 

corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

employing more than 250 persons or having gross annual 

sales or expenditures exceeding $25,000,000 (in second-

quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 

with corporate procedures.  

b. For a municipality, state, federal or other public 

agency by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. (A principal executive officer of a 

federal, municipal, or state agency includes the chief 

executive officer of the agency or head executive officer 

having responsibility for the overall operation of a 

principal geographic unit of the agency).  

c. For a partnership or sole proprietorship, by a general 

partner or proprietor respectively.  

d. Any application for a permit under this regulation must 

bear the signatures of the responsible party and any agent 

acting on the responsible party's behalf.  

A. Application. Any application for a permit under this 

chapter must bear the applicant's signature or the signature of 

a person acting in the applicant's behalf with the authority to 

bind the applicant. Electronic submittals containing the 

original signature page, such as that contained in a scanned 

document file, are acceptable. 

2. B. Reports. All reports required by permits and other 

information requested by the board shall be signed by:  

a. One of the persons described in subdivision 1 a, b or c of 

this section 1. The permittee; or  
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b. 2. A duly authorized representative of that person. A 

person is a duly authorized representative only if:  

(1) a. The authorization is made in writing to the board 

by a person described in subdivision 1 a, b, or c 

subsection A of this section; and  

(2) b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated withdrawal facility system or activity, such 

as the position of plant manager, superintendent, or 

position of equivalent responsibility. A duly authorized 

representative may thus be either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a named position.  

(3) If an authorization is no longer accurate because a 

different individual or position has responsibility for the 

overall operation of the facility, a new authorization must 

be submitted to the board prior to or together with any 

separate information, or applications to be signed by an 

authorized representative.  

3. C. Certification of application and reports. Any person 

signing a document under subdivision 1 or 2 subsection A or 

B of this section shall make the following certification: I 

certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or supervision 

in accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified 

personnel properly gather and evaluate the information 

submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who 

manage the system or those persons directly responsible for 

gathering the information, the information submitted is to the 

best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. 

I am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 

false information including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations.  

9VAC25-610-160. Draft permit.  

A. Upon receipt of a complete application for a new or 

expanded withdrawal or a complete application to amend 

modify an existing withdrawal, the board shall make a 

tentative decision to issue or deny the application permit. If a 

tentative decision is to issue the permit then a draft permit 

shall be prepared in advance of public notice. The following 

tentative determinations shall be incorporated into a draft 

permit:  

1. Conditions, withdrawal limitations, standards and other 

requirements applicable to the permit;  

2. Monitoring and reporting requirements;  

3. Requirements for mitigation of adverse impacts; and  

4. Requirements for a water conservation and management 

plan.  

B. If the tentative decision is to deny the application permit, 

the board shall do so in accordance with 9VAC25-610-340.  

Part IV  

Special Exception Application and Issuance  

9VAC25-610-170. Application for a special exception.  

A. Any person who wishes to initiate a ground water 

groundwater withdrawal in any ground water groundwater 

management area and is not exempted from the provisions of 

this chapter by 9VAC25-610-50 may apply for a special 

exception in unusual cases where requiring the proposed user 

to obtain a ground water groundwater withdrawal permit 

would be contrary to the purpose of the Groundwater Ground 

Water Management Act of 1992.  

B. A special exception application shall be completed and 

submitted to the board and a special exception issued by the 

board prior to the initiation of any withdrawal not specifically 

excluded in 9VAC25-610-50 of this chapter. Special 

exception application forms shall be in a format specified by 

the board and are available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

C. Due to the unique nature of applications for special 

exceptions the board shall determine the completeness of an 

application on a case-by-case basis. The board may require 

any information required in 9VAC25-610-90 C 2 or 3 

9VAC25-610-90, 9VAC25-610-92, or 9VAC25-610-94, prior 

to considering an application for a special exception 

complete.  

D. Where the board considers finds an application 

incomplete, the board may shall require the submission of 

additional information after an application has been filed, and 

may suspend processing of any application until such time as 

the applicant has supplied missing or deficient information 

and the board considers finds the application complete. An 

incomplete permit application for a special exception may be 

suspended from processing 180 days from the date that the 

applicant received notification that the application is 

deficient. Further, where the applicant becomes aware that he 

omitted one or more relevant facts from a special exception 

application, or submitted incorrect information in a special 

exception application or in any report to the board, he shall 

immediately submit such facts or the correct information.  

9VAC25-610-190. Criteria for the issuance of special 

exceptions.  

A. The board shall issue special exceptions only in unusual 

situations where the applicant demonstrates to the board's 

satisfaction that requiring the applicant to obtain a ground 

water groundwater withdrawal permit would be contrary to 

the intended purposes of the Groundwater Ground Water 

Management Act of 1992.  

B. The board may require compliance with any criteria 

described in 9VAC25-610-110.  

9VAC25-610-220. Establishing applicable standards, 

limitations or other special exception conditions.  

The board may issue special exceptions which include any 

requirement for permits as described in 9VAC25-610-140. 
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Special exceptions shall not be renewed, except in the case of 

special exceptions that have been issued to allow ground 

water groundwater withdrawals associated with state-

approved ground water groundwater remediation activities. In 

the case of reissuance of a special exception for a state-

approved ground water groundwater remediation activity, the 

board may require the holder of the special exception to 

submit any information required in 9VAC25-610-90 C 2 or 3 

9VAC25-610-90, 9VAC25-610-92, and 9VAC25-610-94, 

and may require compliance with any criteria described in 

9VAC25-610-110. In the case where any other activity that is 

being supported by the specially excepted withdrawal will 

require that the withdrawal extend beyond the term of the 

existing special exception, the ground water groundwater user 

shall apply for a permit to withdraw ground water 

groundwater. 

9VAC25-610-240. Draft special exception.  

A. Upon receipt of a complete application, the board shall 

make a tentative decision to issue or deny the application 

special exception. If a tentative decision is to issue the special 

exception then a draft special exception shall be prepared in 

advance of public notice. The following tentative 

determinations shall be incorporated into a draft special 

exception:  

1. Conditions, withdrawal limitations, standards and other 

requirements applicable to the special exception;  

2. Monitoring and reporting requirements; and  

3. Requirements for mitigation of adverse impacts.  

B. If the tentative decision is to deny the application special 

exception, the board shall return the application to the 

applicant. The applicant may then apply for a ground water 

groundwater withdrawal permit for the proposed withdrawal 

in accordance with Part III (9VAC25-610-85 et seq.) of this 

chapter.  

Part V  

Public Involvement  

9VAC25-610-250. Public notice of permit or special 

exception action and public comment period.  

A. Every draft permit described in 9VAC25-610-160 A and 

draft special exception shall be given public notice in a form 

prescribed by the board and, paid for by the owner applicant, 

by publication once in a newspaper of general circulation in 

the area affected by the withdrawal.  

B. Notice of each draft permit described in 9VAC25-610-

160 A and draft special exception will be mailed by the board 

to each local governing body within the ground water 

groundwater management area within which the proposed 

withdrawal will occur on or before the date of public notice.  

C. The board shall allow a period of at least 30 days 

following the date of the public notice for interested persons 

to submit written comments on the tentative decision and to 

request an informal a public hearing.  

D. The contents of the public notice of a draft permit or draft 

special exception action shall include:  

1. Name and address of the applicant. If the location of the 

proposed withdrawal differs from the address of the 

applicant the notice shall also state the location in 

sufficient detail such that the specific location may be 

easily identified;  

2. Brief description of the beneficial use that the ground 

water groundwater withdrawal will support;  

3. The name and depth below ground surface of the aquifer 

that will support the proposed withdrawal;  

4. The amount of ground water groundwater withdrawal 

requested expressed as an average gallonage per day;  

5. A statement of the tentative determination to issue or 

deny a permit or special exception;  

6. A brief description of the final determination procedure;  

7. The address, email address, and phone number of a 

specific person or persons at the department's office from 

whom further information may be obtained; and  

8. A brief description on how to submit comments and 

request a public hearing.  

E. Public notice shall not be required for submission or 

approval of plans and specifications or conceptual 

engineering reports not required to be submitted as part of the 

application or for draft permits for existing ground water 

groundwater withdrawals when such draft permits are based 

solely on historic withdrawals.  

F. When a permit or special exception is denied the board 

will do so in accordance with 9VAC25-610-340.  

9VAC25-610-260. Public access to information.  

All information pertaining to permit and special exception 

application and processing shall be available to the public 

groundwater permit processing or in reference to any activity 

requiring a groundwater permit under this chapter shall be 

available to the public unless the applicant has made a 

showing that the information is protected by the applicant as a 

trade secret covered by § 62.1-44.21 of the Code of Virginia. 

All information claimed confidential must be identified as 

such at the time of submission to the board. 

9VAC25-610-270. Public comments and public hearing.  

A. All written comments submitted during the 30-day 

comment period described in 9VAC25-610-250 C shall be 

retained by the board and considered during the board's final 

decision on the permit or special exception.  

B. A. The director shall consider all written comments and 

requests for an informal a public hearing received during the 

comment period, and shall make a determination on the 

necessity of an informal a public hearing in accordance with 

9VAC25-230-50 § 62.1-44.15:02 of the Code of Virginia. All 

proceedings, informal public hearings, and decisions from 

them it will be in accordance with Procedural Rule No. 1 

§ 62.1-44.15:02 of the Code of Virginia. 
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C. Should the director, in accordance with Procedural Rule 

No. 1, determine to dispense with the informal hearing, he 

may grant the permit or special exception, or, at his 

discretion, transmit the application or request, together with 

all written comments thereon and relevant staff documents 

and staff recommendations, if any, to the board for its 

decision.  

D. B. Any owner applicant or permittee aggrieved by any an 

action of the board or director taken without a formal hearing 

or inaction of the board or director may request in writing a 

formal hearing pursuant to Procedural Rule No. 1 § 62.1-

44.25 of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-610-280. Public notice of hearing.  

A. Public notice of any informal public hearing held 

pursuant to 9VAC25-610-270 shall be circulated as follows:  

1. Notice shall be published once in a newspaper of general 

circulation in the area affected by the proposed withdrawal 

at least 30 days in advance of the public hearing; and  

2. Notice of the informal public hearing shall be sent to all 

persons and government agencies which received a copy of 

the public notice of the draft permit or special exception 

and to those persons requesting an informal a public 

hearing or having commented in response to the public 

notice in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:02 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. Notice shall be effected pursuant to subdivisions A 1 and 

A 2 of this section, upon mailing, at least 30 days in advance 

of the informal hearing. The cost of public notice shall be 

paid by the applicant.  

C. The content of the public notice of any informal public 

hearing held pursuant to 9VAC25-610-270 shall include at 

least the following:  

1. Name and address of each person whose application will 

be considered at the informal public hearing, the amount of 

ground water groundwater withdrawal requested expressed 

as an average gallonage per day, and a brief description of 

the beneficial use that will be supported by the proposed 

ground water groundwater withdrawal.  

2. The precise location of the proposed withdrawal and the 

aquifers that will support the withdrawal. The location 

should be described, where possible, with reference to 

route numbers, road intersections, map coordinates or 

similar information.  

3. A brief reference to the public notice issued for the 

permit or special exception application and draft permit or 

special exception, including identification number and date 

of issuance unless the public notice includes the informal 

public hearing notice.  

4. Information regarding the time and location for the 

informal public hearing.  

5. The purpose of the informal public hearing.  

6. A concise statement of the relevant issues raised by the 

persons requesting the informal public hearing.  

7. Contact person and the address mailing address, email 

address, phone number, and name of the Department of 

Environmental Quality office at which interested persons 

may obtain further information or request a copy of the 

draft permit or special exception.  

8. A brief reference to the rules and procedures to be 

followed at the informal public hearing.  

D. Public notice of any formal hearing held pursuant to 

9VAC25-610-270 D [ C B ] shall be in accordance with 

Procedural Rule No.1 (9VAC25-230). 

Part VI  

Permit and Special Exception Amendment Modification, 

Revocation and Denial  

9VAC25-610-290. Rules for amendment modification and 

revocation.  

Permits and special exceptions shall be amended modified 

or revoked only as authorized by this part of this chapter as 

follows:  

1. A permit or special exception may be amended modified 

in whole or in part, or revoked;  

2. Permit or special exception amendments modifications 

shall not be used to extend the term of a permit or special 

exception; and  

3. Amendment Modification or revocation may be initiated 

by the board, on at the request of the permittee, or other 

person at the board's discretion under applicable laws or 

the provisions of this chapter.  

9VAC25-610-300. Causes for revocation.  

A. After public notice and opportunity for a formal hearing 

pursuant to 9VAC25-230-100 a permit or special exception 

can be revoked for cause. Causes for revocation are as 

follows:  

1. Noncompliance with any condition of the permit or 

special exception;  

2. Failure to fully disclose all relevant facts or 

misrepresentation of a material fact in applying for a 

permit or special exception, or in any other report or 

document required by the Act, this chapter or permit or 

special exception conditions;  

3. The violation of any regulation or order of the board, or 

any order of a court, pertaining to ground water 

groundwater withdrawal;  

4. A determination that the withdrawal authorized by the 

permit or special exception endangers human health or the 

environment and can not be regulated to acceptable levels 

by permit or special exception amendment modification; 

5. A material change in the basis on which the permit or 

special exception was issued that requires either a 

temporary or permanent reduction, application of special 
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conditions or elimination of any ground water groundwater 

withdrawal controlled by the permit or special exception.  

B. After public notice and opportunity for a formal hearing 

pursuant to 9VAC25-230-100 a permit or special exception 

can may be revoked when any of the developments described 

in 9VAC25-610-310 occur and the holder of the permit or 

special exception agrees to or requests the revocation.  

9VAC25-610-310. Causes for amendment modification. 

A. A permit or special exception may, at the board's 

discretion, be amended modified for any cause as described in 

9VAC25-610-300.  

B. A permit or special exception may be amended modified 

when any of the following developments occur:  

1. When new information becomes available about the 

ground water groundwater withdrawal covered by the 

permit or special exception, or the impact of the 

withdrawal, which was not available at permit or or special 

exception issuance and would have justified the application 

of different conditions at the time of issuance;  

2. When ground water groundwater withdrawal reports 

submitted by the permittee indicate that the permittee is 

using less than 60% of the permitted withdrawal amount 

for a five-year period;  

3. When a change is made in the regulations on which the 

permit or special exception was based; or  

4. When changes occur which are subject to "reopener 

clauses" in the permit or special exception.  

9VAC25-610-320. Transferability of permits and special 

exceptions.  

A. Transfer by amendment modification. Except as provided 

for under automatic transfer in subsection B of this section, a 

permit or special exception shall be transferred only if the 

permit has been amended modified to reflect the transfer.  

B. Automatic transfer. Any permit or special exception shall 

be automatically transferred to a new owner as allowed by the 

minor modification process described in 9VAC25-610-330 B 

8 if:  

1. The current owner notifies the board within 30 days in 

advance of the proposed transfer of ownership;  

2. The notice to the board includes a notarized written 

agreement between the existing permittee and proposed 

new owner permittee containing a specific date of transfer 

of permit or special exception responsibility, coverage and 

liability between them to the new permittee, or that the 

existing permittee will retain such responsibility, coverage, 

or liability, including liability for compliance with the 

requirements of any enforcement activities related to the 

permitted activity; and  

3. The board does not within the 30-day time period notify 

the existing owner permittee and the proposed owner 

permittee of its intent to amend modify, revoke, or reissue 

the permit or special exception.; and  

4. The permit transferor and the permit transferee provide 

written notice to the board of the actual transfer date. 

9VAC25-610-330. Minor amendment modification. 

A. Upon request of the holder of a permit or special 

exception, or upon board initiative with the consent of the 

holder of a permit or special exception, minor amendments 

modifications may be made in the permit or special exception 

without following the public involvement procedures.  

B. For ground water groundwater withdrawal permits and 

special exceptions, minor amendments modifications may 

only:  

1. Correct typographical errors;  

2. Require reporting at a greater frequency than required in 

the permit or special exception;  

3. Add additional or more restrictive monitoring 

requirements than required in the permit or special 

exception;  

4. Replace an existing well so long as provided that the 

replacement well is screened in the same aquifer or 

aquifers as the existing well, the replacement well is in the 

same location as near vicinity of the existing well, the 

ground water groundwater withdrawal does not increase, 

and the area of impact does not increase;  

5. Add additional wells so long as the additional wells are 

screened in the same aquifer or aquifers as the existing 

well, additional wells are in the same location as near 

vicinity of the existing well, the total ground water 

groundwater withdrawal does not increase, and the area of 

impact does not increase;  

6. Combine the withdrawals governed by multiple permits 

into one permit when the systems that were governed by 

the multiple permits are physically connected, as long as 

the interconnection will not result in additional ground 

water groundwater withdrawal and the area of impact will 

not increase;  

7. Change an interim compliance date in a schedule of 

compliance to no more than 120 days from the original 

compliance date and provided it will not interfere with the 

final compliance date; and  

8. Allow for a change in ownership or operational control 

when the board determines that no other change in the 

permit or special exception is necessary, provided that a 

written agreement containing a specific date for transfer of 

permit or special exception responsibility, coverage and 

liability from the current to the new owner has been 

submitted to the board.; and 

9. Revise a water conservation and management plan to 

update conservation measures being implemented by the 

permittee that increase the amount of groundwater 

conserved. 
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9VAC25-610-340. Denial of a permit or special exception.  

A. The director shall make a decision to tentatively deny the 

permit or special exception requested if the requirements of 

this chapter are not met. Bases for denial include, but are not 

limited to, the following: 

1. The cumulative stabilized impact of the proposed 

withdrawal in combination with all existing lawful 

withdrawals will lower water levels in a confined aquifer 

below a point that represents 80% of the distance between 

the [ historical prepumping water levels in the aquifer land 

surface ] and the top of the aquifer;  

2. The groundwater withdrawal amount requested in the 

permit application exceeds the amount that can be applied 

to the proposed beneficial use; [ and ] 

3. Available supplies of groundwater are insufficient for all 

who desire to use them and the preference is being given to 

use for human consumption [ ; and. ]  

[ 4. Failure to implement a water conservation and 

management plan associated with a previously permitted 

withdrawal. ]  

A. B. The applicant shall be notified by letter of the 

department's director's preliminary decision to recommend to 

the board denial of tentatively deny the permit or special 

exception requested.  

B. C. The department shall provide sufficient information to 

the applicant regarding the rationale for denial, such that the 

applicant may, at his option, modify the application in order 

to achieve a favorable recommendation; withdraw his 

application; or proceed with the processing on the original 

application.  

C. D. Should the applicant withdraw his application, no 

permit or special exception will be issued.  

D. E. Should the applicant elect to proceed with the original 

project as originally proposed, the staff shall make its 

recommendation of denial to the director for determination of 

the need for public notice as provided for in Part V of this 

chapter director shall advise the applicant of his right to an 

informal fact finding in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the 

Administrative Process Act to consider the denial. 

Part VII  

Enforcement  

9VAC25-610-350. Enforcement.  

The board may enforce the provisions of this chapter 

utilizing all applicable procedures under the Groundwater 

Ground Water Management Act of 1992 or any other section 

of the Code of Virginia that may be applicable.  

9VAC25-610-370. Control of naturally flowing wells.  

The owner of any well that naturally flows, in any portion of 

the Commonwealth, shall either:  

1. Permanently abandon the well in accordance with the 

Virginia Department of Health's Private Well Construction 

Regulations; or  

2. Equip the well with valves that will completely stop the 

flow of ground water groundwater when it is not being 

applied to a beneficial use.  

9VAC25-610-380. Statewide information requirements.  

The board may require any person withdrawing ground 

water groundwater for any purpose anywhere in the 

Commonwealth, whether or not declared to be a ground water 

groundwater management area, to furnish to the board such 

information that may be necessary to carry out the provisions 

of the Groundwater Ground Water Management Act of 1992. 

Ground water Groundwater withdrawals that occur in 

conjunction with activities related to the exploration and 

production of oil, gas, coal, or other minerals regulated by the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy are exempt from 

any information reporting requirements.  

9VAC25-610-390. Statewide right to inspection and entry.  

Upon presentation of credentials the board, or any duly 

authorized agent, shall have the power to enter, at reasonable 

times and under reasonable circumstances, any establishment 

or upon any property, public or private, located anywhere in 

the Commonwealth for the purposes of obtaining information, 

conducting surveys or inspections, or inspecting wells and 

springs to ensure compliance with any permits, standards, 

policies, rules, regulations, rulings and special orders which 

the board or department may adopt, issue or establish to carry 

out the provisions of the Groundwater Ground Water 

Management Act of 1992 and this chapter.  

9VAC25-610-400. Evaluation of regulation. (Repealed.) 

Within three years after January 1, 1999, the department 

shall perform an analysis of this chapter and provide the 

board with a report on the results. The analysis shall include 

(i) the purpose and need for the chapter, (ii) alternatives 

which would achieve the stated purpose of this chapter in a 

less burdensome and less intrusive manner, (iii) an 

assessment of the effectiveness of this chapter, (iv) the results 

of a review of current state and federal statutory and 

regulatory requirements, and (v) the results of a review as to 

whether this chapter is clearly written and easily 

understandable by affected entities.  

Upon review of the department's analysis, the board shall 

confirm the need to (i) continue this chapter without 

amendment, (ii) repeal this chapter, or (iii) amend this 

chapter. If the board's decision is to repeal or amend this 

chapter, the board shall authorize the department to initiate 

the applicable regulatory process to carry out the decision of 

the board.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
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General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (9VAC25-610)  

Water Division Permit Application Fee.  

Application for a Ground Water Withdrawal Permit (with 

instructions) (rev. 6/99).  

Ground Water Withdrawal Permit Change of Ownership 

Agreement Form (eff. 6/99).  

Revocation Agreement Form (eff. 6/99).  

Water Well Completion Report, Form GW2, (rev. 6/99).  

Permit to Withdraw Ground Water (eff. 6/99).  

Public Notice Authorization Form - Authorization for Public 

Notice Billing to Ground Water Withdrawal Permit Applicant 

(eff. 6/99).  

Preapplication Meeting Application for a Ground Water 

Withdrawal Permit (eff. 6/99).  

Local and Areawide Planning Requirements (eff. 5/99).  

Quarterly Groundwater Withdrawal Report. 

Water Division Permit Application Fee (rev. 9/12) 

Application Instructions for Completing a Groundwater 

Withdrawal Permit Application [ (undated) (rev. 11/13) ]  

Application for a Groundwater Withdrawal Permit (rev. 

9/12) 

Groundwater Withdrawal Permit - Change of Ownership 

Agreement Form [ (undated) (rev. 11/13) ]  

Uncontested Termination Agreement [ (undated) (rev. 

11/13) ]  

Water Well Completion Report, Form GW2 [ (undated) (eff. 

7/07) ]  

Public Notice Authorization Form - Authorization for Public 

Notice Billing to Groundwater Withdrawal Permit Applicant 

[ (undated) (rev. 11/13) ]  

Preapplication Meeting - Application for a Groundwater 

Withdrawal Permit (rev. 9/12) 

Local and Areawide Planning Requirements (rev. 9/12) 

Quarterly Groundwater Withdrawal Report [ (rev. 11/13) ]  

Mitigation Plan [ (rev. 11/13) ]  

 VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1781; Filed October 11, 2013, 9:51 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-80. Regulations for 

Administration of the Virginia Hearing Impairment 

Identification and Monitoring System (amending 

12VAC5-80-10, 12VAC5-80-80, 12VAC5-80-90, 12VAC5-

80-95; adding 12VAC5-80-75, 12VAC5-80-85, 12VAC5-

80-130, 12VAC5-80-140; repealing 12VAC5-80-20, 

12VAC5-80-30, 12VAC5-80-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-64.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 6, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Susan Tlusty, Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7686, or email susan.tlusty@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments conform the regulation to 

changes in national standards and incorporate 

amendments suggested by a 2007 periodic review. 

Substantive changes include (i) moving risk factor criteria 

to identify infants at risk for hearing loss from the 

definitions section to a new section and placing detailed 

criteria for each category of risk under a guidance 

document; (ii) requiring infants who receive neonatal 

intensive care services for longer than five days to be 

tested with ABR screening technology; and (iii) further 

defining reporting requirements that include provisions for 

confirming negative results. Since publication of the 

proposed amendments, additional changes (i) add new 

sections to address responsibilities of other birthing places 

or centers; (ii) stipulate reporting responsibilities to 

primary health care providers and clarify the program 

relationship to the Part C system; and (iii) remove 

language that might go beyond the scope of the authority 

of the State Board of Health.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

12VAC5-80-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"ABR" means an objective, electrophysiologic measurement 

of the brainstem's response to acoustic stimulation of the ear. 

"At risk" means considered to be in a status with a 

significant probability of having or developing hearing loss as 

a result of the presence of one or more factors identified or 

manifested at birth.  

"Audiological evaluation" means those physiologic and 

behavioral procedures required to evaluate and diagnose 

hearing status. 

"Audiologist" means [ a person licensed to engage in the 

practice of audiology an audiologist ] as defined in § 54.1-

2600 of the Code of Virginia. 

[ "Birthing center" means a facility outside of a hospital that 

provides maternity services. ]  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2dcf4001781~12&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=add58001781~5&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=add58001781~5&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f2e6001781~13&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f2e6001781~13&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2768a001781~6&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2768a001781~6&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=59e6c001781~7&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=59e6c001781~7&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80b4b001781~8&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80b4b001781~8&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85e13001781~9&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85e13001781~9&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85e13001781~9&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45793001781~18&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45793001781~18&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19d2d001781~19&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5c54001781~10&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=697b1001781~11&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
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"Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"CDC" means the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention. 

[ "Chief medical officer" means the highest position of 

authority on the medical staff of the hospital or other birthing 

place or center as defined in the organization's bylaws or 

applicable governance structure. ]  

"Child" means any person from birth to age 18 years of age.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner, his 

duly designated officer, or agent.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Diagnostic audiological evaluation" means those 

physiologic and behavioral procedures required to evaluate 

and diagnose hearing status.  

"Discharge" means release from the hospital after birth to 

the care of the parent or guardian. 

"EHDI" means early hearing detection and intervention. 

"Family-to-family support" means the provision of 

information and peer support among families having 

experience with family members having hearing loss. 

"Guardian" means a parent-appointed, court-appointed, or 

clerk-appointed guardian of the person. 

"Hearing screening" means an objective physiological 

measure to be completed in order to determine the likelihood 

of hearing loss.  

"Hospital" means any facility as defined in § 32.1-123 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Infant" means a child under the age of one year.  

"Missed" means that an infant did not have a required 

hearing screening prior to discharge.  

"Neonatal intensive care services" means those services 

provided by a hospital's newborn services that are designated 

as both either specialty level and or subspecialty level as 

defined in subdivision D 2 of 12VAC5-410-440 12VAC5-

410-443 B 3 and B 4 of the [ Rules and ] Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospitals [ in Virginia ].  

"Newborn" means an infant who is 28 days old or less. 

"Newborn services" means care for infants in one or more of 

the service levels designated in 12VAC5-410-443 B of the 

[ Rules and ] Regulations for the Licensure of Hospitals [ in 

Virginia ]. 

"OAE" means an objective, physiologic response from the 

cochlea. This term may include transient evoked otoacoustic 

emissions and distortion product otoacoustic emissions. 

[ "Other birthing place or center" means a place or facility 

outside of a hospital that provides maternity services. ]  

"Parent" means (i) a biological or adoptive parent who has 

legal custody of a child, including either parent if custody is 

shared under a joint decree or agreement; (ii) a biological or 

adoptive parent with whom a child regularly resides; (iii) a 

person judicially appointed as a legal guardian of a child; or 

(iv) a person who exercises the rights and responsibilities of 

legal custody by delegation from a biological or adoptive 

parent, upon provisional adoption or otherwise by operation 

of law or a stepparent.  

"Part C" means the state early intervention [ services ] 

program that provides medically necessary speech and 

language therapy, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and 

assistive technology services and devices for [ dependents 

children ] from birth to age three who are [ certified by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services as ] eligible for services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act [ of 2004 ] (20 

USC §§ 1431-1444) [ and Virginia law ]. 

"Primary medical health care provider" means the person to 

whom the infant will go for routine medical primary health 

care following hospital discharge.  

"Resident" means an individual who resides within the 

geographical boundaries of the Commonwealth. 

"Risk factor indicator" means a factor known to place an 

infant at increased risk for being born with or developing a 

hearing loss, including, but not limited to, any one of the 

following:. 

1. Family history of hereditary, childhood sensorineural 

hearing loss;  

2. In utero infection (e.g., cytomegalovirus, rubella, herpes, 

toxoplasmosis, syphilis);  

3. Craniofacial anomalies including those with 

morphological abnormalities of the pinna and ear canal;  

4. Birthweight less than 1500 grams;  

5. Hyperbilirubinemia at a serum level requiring exchange 

transfusion;  

6. Bacterial meningitis;  

7. Apgar scores of 0 to four at one minute or 0 to six at five 

minutes;  

8. Ototoxic medications, including but not limited to the 

aminoglycosides, used in multiple courses or in 

combination with loop diuretics;  

9. Mechanical ventilation lasting five days or longer;  

10. Stigmata or other findings associated with a syndrome 

known to include a sensorineural hearing loss, a 

conductive hearing loss, or both;  

11. Neurofibromatosis Type II; and  

12. Persistent pulmonary hypertension of the newborn 

(PPHN).  

[ "Title V" means the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, Health Resources and Services 

Administration, Maternal and Child Health Services Block 

Grant (Title V of the Social Security Act). ]  

"Virginia Hearing Impairment Identification and Monitoring 

System" means a coordinated and comprehensive group of 
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services including education; screening; follow up; diagnosis; 

appropriate early intervention including treatment, therapy, 

training, and education; and program evaluation managed by 

the department's Virginia Early Hearing Detection and 

Intervention Program for safeguarding the health of children 

born in Virginia. 

12VAC5-80-20. Authority for regulations. (Repealed.) 

Sections 32.1-64.1 and 32.1-64.2 of the Code of Virginia 

direct the commissioner to establish and maintain a system 

for the purpose of identifying and monitoring infants with 

hearing loss and directs the Board of Health to promulgate the 

regulations necessary for implementation of the system.  

12VAC5-80-30. Purpose of chapter. (Repealed.) 

This chapter is designed to provide consistent guidelines for 

implementation of this system in order to assure that infants 

with hearing loss are identified at the earliest possible age and 

that they receive appropriate, early intervention.  

12VAC5-80-40. Administration and application of 

chapter. (Repealed.) 

A. This chapter is promulgated to implement the system and 

amended as necessary by the State Board of Health. The State 

Health Commissioner or his designee is charged with its 

administration, and the Virginia Department of Health shall 

provide the staff necessary for its implementation.  

B. This chapter has general application throughout the 

Commonwealth.  

12VAC5-80-75. Risk indicators associated with hearing 

loss. 

A. The Virginia EHDI program shall maintain a list of 

specific risk indicators consistent with, but not necessarily 

identical to, the most recent recommendations from the Joint 

Committee on Infant Hearing to identify infants at risk of 

hearing loss. 

B. The Virginia EHDI Program Advisory Group shall 

provide guidance with the development and maintenance of 

the list of specific risk indicators. 

C. The list of specific risk indicators shall be maintained 

[ in ] a guidance document, which shall be reviewed at a 

minimum biennially. The list of specific risk indicators may 

be changed or amended more frequently as needed to reflect 

changes in standards of care or updates to Joint Committee on 

Infant Hearing recommendations. 

D. The guidance document shall contain specific assessment 

and reporting criteria for the following general categories of 

risk indicators associated with hearing loss: 

1. Family history of permanent childhood hearing loss; 

2. Caregiver concerns; 

3. In utero and post natal infections; 

4. Neonatal intensive care services; 

5. Head trauma and craniofacial anomalies; 

6. Syndromes, neurodegenerative disorders, and sensory 

motor neuropathies; 

7. Stigmata or other physical findings associated with 

certain syndromes; 

8. Ototoxic medications, treatments, and chemotherapies; 

and 

9. Other indicators as needed. 

E. All infants born in Virginia hospitals shall be assessed 

prior to hospital discharge after birth for risk indicators 

associated with hearing loss as outlined in this chapter and the 

corresponding guidance document.  

12VAC5-80-80. Responsibilities of the chief medical 

officer of hospitals.  

Hospitals with newborn nurseries and hospitals with 

neonatal intensive care services The chief medical officer of a 

hospital providing newborn services or his designee shall:  

1. Prior to discharge after birth, but no later than three 

months of age, screen the hearing, in both ears, of all 

infants using objective physiologic measures. The 

methodology used for hearing screening shall have a false-

positive rate and false-negative rate no greater than those 

recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics in 

"Newborn and Infant Hearing Loss: Detection and 

Intervention" (Pediatrics Vol. 103, No. 2, February 1999). 

If the error rates exceed these recommendations, the 

hospital shall examine and modify its hearing screening 

methodology to reduce its error rates below these 

maximum rates;  

1. Cause all infants to be given a hearing screening test 

prior to discharge after birth as appropriate for the level of 

newborn services provided as defined in 12VAC5-410-443 

B of the [ Rules and ] Regulations for the Licensure of 

Hospitals [ in Virginia ]; 

a. Infants in general or intermediate newborn services 

shall have both ears screened [ at the same time ] for 

hearing using either ABR or OAE testing prior to 

discharge after birth, but no later than one month of age. 

b. Infants in neonatal intensive care services who receive 

this level of newborn service care for more than five days 

shall have both ears screened [ at the same time ] using 

ABR testing prior to discharge after birth or transfer to a 

lower level of newborn services. Infants should receive 

newborn hearing screening as early as development or 

medical stability will permit such screening. The hearing 

screening performed for infants requiring neonatal 

intensive care services for more than five days using 

ABR testing shall be reported as the initial hearing screen 

regardless of whether the infant is transferred to another 

lower level of newborn services within the same facility 

or to another facility. 

c. Infants in neonatal intensive care services who receive 

this level of newborn service care for five days or less 

shall have both ears screened [ at the same time ] for 
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hearing using either ABR or OAE testing prior to 

discharge after birth, but no later than one month of age. 

2. Identify all infants who fail hearing screening in one or 

both ears; 

a. Infants who fail hearing screening in one or both ears 

using ABR testing shall not be rescreened using OAE 

testing. These infants shall be referred for an audiological 

evaluation. 

b. Infants who fail hearing screening in one or both ears 

using OAE testing may be rescreened using ABR testing. 

If the infant fails subsequent ABR testing in one or both 

ears, the infant shall be referred for an audiological 

evaluation. 

3. Identify all infants not receiving an appropriate hearing 

screening test; 

a. For infants who did not receive a hearing screening 

test due to transfer to another facility, written notification 

shall be made upon transfer to the [ healthcare health 

care ] provider in charge of the infant's care that testing 

was not completed. The hospital discharging the infant 

after birth is responsible for conducting an appropriate 

hearing screening test, except for infants who have been 

transferred to a lower level of newborn service care from 

another facility providing neonatal intensive care services 

to that infant for more than five days.  

2. If an infant is missed b. For infants who did not 

receive a hearing screening test prior to discharge after 

birth, inform the parent prior to discharge of the need for 

hearing screening and provide a mechanism by which 

screening can occur at no additional cost to the family;. 

c. For infants who did not receive screening due to 

refusal by the parent or guardian because the screening 

conflicts with religious convictions, documentation shall 

be made in the medical record. 

4. Cause all infants to be assessed for risk indicators 

associated with hearing loss prior to discharge after birth as 

defined in 12VAC5-80-75. For infants who are found to 

have one or more risk indicators associated with hearing 

loss, inform the parent of the need for a diagnostic 

audiological assessment by 24 months of age. 

3. Prior to discharge, give 5. Provide written information to 

the parent or guardian of each infant that includes purposes 

and benefits of newborn hearing screening, risk indicators 

of hearing loss, procedures used for hearing screening, 

results of the hearing screening, the recommendations for 

further testing, and where the further testing can be 

obtained, and contact information for the Virginia EHDI 

program;  

4. Give written information to 6. Notify the infant's 

primary medical health care provider, within two weeks of 

discharge after birth, [ of ] the status of the hearing 

screening including if the infant was not tested, that 

includes procedures used for hearing screening, the 

limitations of screening procedures identified risk 

indicators associated with hearing loss as defined in 

12VAC5-80-75, the results of the hearing screening, and 

the recommendations for further testing in writing or 

through an electronically secure method that meets all 

applicable state and federal privacy laws;  

5. Within one week of discharge, complete the Virginia 

Department of Health report 7. Provide the department 

with information, as required by the board pursuant to 

§ 32.1-64.1 F of the Code of Virginia and in a manner 

devised by the department, which may be electronic, on 

each infant who does not pass the hearing screening and 

send it to the Virginia Department of Health; on the 

hearing screening and risk indicator status of infants born 

at their hospital. This information shall be provided within 

two weeks of discharge after birth unless otherwise stated 

and includes, but may not be limited to:  

a. Demographic information on infants including name, 

date of birth, race, ethnicity, and gender; 

b. Primary contact information including address, 

telephone [ number ], and relationship type; 

c. Primary [ healthcare health care ] provider name, 

address [ , ] and telephone [ number ]; 

d. Risk indicators identified as defined in 12VAC5-80-

75; 

e. Special circumstances regarding infants as needed by 

the department to provide follow-up; 

f. Screening methodology used, date screened, and both 

right and left ear results; 

g. Screening status for pass with risk indicator, fail, 

unable to test, refusal, and inconclusive results; 

h. Status of infants not screened prior to discharge that 

includes, but may not be limited to, infants who were 

transferred to other facilities and parents who refused 

screening; 

i. Hearing rescreening information including date, type of 

screening methodology used, results in both left and right 

ears, and further recommendations within two weeks 

after the hospital rescreening date; and 

j. Confirmatory data on the status of all infants born in 

the hospital facility. The department shall receive 

confirmation that infants not reported as passed with risk, 

failed, transferred, refused testing, not tested prior to 

discharge, expired, or other final disposition have had a 

negative assessment for risk indicators and that 

physiological hearing screening was conducted with 

passing results in both ears within 30 days after birth; 

6. On a monthly basis, send to the Virginia Department of 

Health a report of the total number of discharges, the total 

number of infants who passed the newborn hearing 

screening, the total number who failed, and the total 
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number not tested due to parents' exercise of their rights 

under § 32.1-64.1 H of the Code of Virginia; and  

7. 8. Report to the Virginia Department of Health 

department, on a yearly basis, hospital specific information 

including the test procedures used by the newborn hearing 

screening program, the name of the program director, the 

name of the advising audiologist, equipment calibration 

records, screening protocols, and referral procedures.; 

9. Develop written policies and procedures to implement 

hearing screening in their facility in accordance with 

12VAC5-80 including separate protocols for specialty and 

subspecialty newborn services; and 

10. [ Assure Ensure ] that training of staff on newborn 

hearing screening test procedures, follow up, and reporting 

requirements is implemented in a way that an adequately 

trained and knowledgeable workforce is maintained to 

conduct hearing screening program requirements. 

12VAC5-80-85. Responsibilities of other birthing places 

or centers. 

The chief medical officer of other birthing places or centers 

or his designee or the attending practitioner shall: 

1. Cause all infants to be assessed for risk indicators 

associated with hearing loss as defined in 12VAC5-80-75; 

2. Provide written information to the parent or guardian of 

each infant that includes purposes and benefits of newborn 

hearing screening, risk indicators for hearing loss, 

procedures used for hearing screening, providers where 

hearing screening can be obtained, and contact information 

for the Virginia EHDI program; 

3. Notify the infant's primary [ healthcare health care ] 

provider, within two weeks after birth, of the status of the 

hearing screening including if the infant was not tested, 

identified risk indicators associated with hearing loss as 

defined in 12VAC5-80-75, and the recommendations for 

testing in writing or through an electronically secure 

method that meets all applicable state and federal privacy 

laws; and 

4. Provide the department with information, as required by 

the board pursuant to § 32.1-64.1 F of the Code of Virginia 

and in a manner devised by the department on the hearing 

screening and risk indicator status of infants born at [ their 

the other ] birthing [ place or ] center. This information 

shall be provided within two weeks after birth unless 

otherwise stated and includes, but may not be limited to: 

a. Demographic information on infants including name, 

date of birth, race, ethnicity, and gender; 

b. Primary contact information including address, 

telephone [ number ], and relationship type; 

c. Primary [ healthcare health care ] provider name, 

address [ , ] and telephone [ number ]; 

d. Risk indicators identified as defined in 12VAC5-80-

75; 

e. Special circumstances regarding infants as needed by 

the department to provide follow-up; 

f. Screening methodology used, date screened, and both 

right and left ear results if applicable; 

g. Screening status for pass with risk indicator, failures, 

unable to test, refusals, and inconclusive results if 

applicable; 

h. Status of infants not screened that includes, but may 

not be limited to, infants who were transferred to other 

facilities and parents who refused screening; 

i. Hearing rescreening information including date, type of 

screening methodology used, results in both left and right 

ears, and further recommendations within two weeks 

after the rescreening date if applicable; and 

j. Confirmatory data on the status of all infants born in 

the birthing place or center. The department shall receive 

confirmation that infants not reported with a screening 

status have had a negative assessment for risk indicators 

and have been referred for a hearing screening. 

12VAC5-80-90. Responsibilities of the Virginia 

Department of Health Scope and content of Virginia 

Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program.  

The Virginia Department of Health shall:  

A. The mission of the Virginia EHDI program is to identify 

hearing loss at the earliest possible age and to assure that 

appropriate early intervention services are received to reduce 

the risk of developmental delays. 

B. The scope of the Virginia EHDI program shall include 

the following: 

1. Provide hospitals and [ other ] birthing [ places or ] 

centers with a secure reporting system, which may be 

electronic, that meets all applicable federal and state 

privacy [ statutes laws ]. This electronic system may 

include existing demographic data captured by other 

department population-based systems and the 

commissioner may authorize hospitals required to report to 

view existing data to facilitate accurate reporting and 

increase the department's ability to conduct successful 

follow up and identify infants at risk for hearing loss 

pursuant to § 32.1-127.1:04 of the Code of Virginia; 

1. 2. Collect, maintain and evaluate hospital newborn 

hearing screening data in a database including, but not 

limited to, initial screening, risk indicators, rescreening, 

and diagnostic audiological evaluations, in a secure data 

management information system; 

2. 3. Provide follow-up for all infants reported whose 

results indicate screening failure, identified risk indicators, 

inconclusive or missing results, or other circumstances 

requiring follow up. Follow-up includes, but is not limited 

to:  

a. Communicating with the parent by mail or guardian 

for those infants who failed the hearing screening, those 
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who had one or more risk factors identified and were not 

screened prior to discharge, those who were not screened, 

and those who are at risk for progressive hearing loss in 

order to advise of the need for audiological services as 

well as to provide information on locating an approved 

center that provides diagnostic audiological services or a 

licensed audiologist;  

b. Receiving Communicating with audiologists, 

hospitals, [ other ] birthing [ places or ] centers, primary 

health care providers, and others as needed to ascertain 

follow up status and receive results of both the 

audiological evaluations and the intervention referrals, 

and adding the information to the database; and including 

Part C services;  

c. Communicating with the parent by mail or guardian 

for any child found to have a hearing loss in order to 

provide information about hearing loss and appropriate 

resources; including family-to-family support and 

referral to the Part C program; and 

d. Communicating to the Part C program regarding any 

child found to have hearing loss in order to facilitate 

early intervention services; 

3. Supply the reporting format and written information to 

hospitals;  

4. Provide training and technical assistance on this 

program to hospitals and [ other ] birthing [ places or ] 

centers; and  

5. Develop and disseminate protocols for hospitals, 

audiologists, and primary [ healthcare health care ] 

providers; 

6. Develop and disseminate parent education materials; 

7. Maintain an approved list of audiological providers 

meeting program criteria; 

5. Conduct a review and evaluation of the 8. Evaluate 

Virginia Hearing Impairment Identification and 

Monitoring System components, including but not limited 

to the false-positive rate, false-negative rate screening, 

referral rate, and follow-up rate rates, referral mechanisms 

and effectiveness of tracking, and communicating 

indicators;  

9. Communicate critical performance data to hospitals and 

[ other ] birthing [ places or ] centers [ , ] on a yearly 

quarterly basis.; and 

10. Collect and report data required annually for Title V 

national performance measures, CDC national EHDI goals, 

and other funding sources as needed that measure how well 

the system functions. 

C. Title V national performance measures and the CDC 

national EHDI goals, as required by the Government 

Performance and Results Act (GPRA; Public Law 103-62), 

shall be used to establish newborn hearing screening goals. 

[ The following goals shall change as needed to be consistent 

with federally required performance measures The goals 

are ]:  

1. All infants who are born in Virginia hospitals shall be 

screened for hearing loss prior to hospital discharge. 

Residents of Virginia who do not pass screening, do not 

receive screening, or who have an identified risk indicator 

shall receive appropriate evaluation, diagnostic, follow up, 

and early intervention services. Infants who are not 

residents of Virginia and who do not pass screening, do not 

receive screening, or who have an identified risk indicator 

will be referred to their state of residence for appropriate 

evaluation, diagnostic, follow up, and early intervention 

services; 

2. All infants born in Virginia shall receive a hearing 

screening prior to one month of age; 

3. Infants who are referred shall receive a diagnostic 

audiological evaluation before three months of age; and 

4. All infants identified with a hearing loss shall receive 

appropriate early intervention services before six months 

of age. 

[ The goals shall change as needed to be consistent with 

federally required performance measures. ]  

12VAC5-80-95. Responsibilities of persons providing 

audiological services after discharge.  

Persons who provide audiological services and who 

determine that a child has failed to pass a hearing screening, 

was not successfully tested, or has a hearing loss shall:  

1. Provide the screening or evaluation results, either in 

writing or in an electronically secure manner, to the parent 

or guardian and to the child's primary medical health care 

provider;  

2. Send a Virginia Department of Health report including 

screening methodology, test results, diagnosis, and 

recommendations to the Virginia Department of Health 

department, in a manner devised by the department, which 

may be electronic, within two weeks of the visit;  

3. Advise Provide information to the parent [ or guardian ] 

about and offer referral for the child to local early 

intervention or education programs, including the Part C 

program; and  

4. Give resource information to the parent [ or guardian ] 

of any child who is found to have a hearing loss, including 

but not limited to the degrees and effects of hearing loss, 

communication options, amplification options, the 

importance of medical follow up, and agencies and 

organizations, including the Part C program, that provide 

services to children with hearing loss and their families.  

12VAC5-80-130. [ Responsibilities of Reporting 

responsibilities to ] primary health care providers. 

[ Persons who provide primary healthcare services to infants 

shall:  
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1. Receive hearing screening, risk indicator findings, and 

evaluation results from hospitals, audiological providers, 

and the Virginia EHDI program. 

2. Receive information from the Virginia EHDI program 

regarding available resources to assist practitioners and 

families whose child is at risk or diagnosed with hearing 

loss. 

A. The chief medical officer of a hospital providing 

newborn services or his designee shall report hearing 

screening results to the infant's primary health care provider 

as defined in 12VAC5-80-80. 

B. The chief medical officer of another birthing place or 

center or his designee or the attending practitioner shall report 

the status of the hearing screening results including if the 

infant was not tested to the infant's primary health care 

provider as defined in 12VAC5-80-85. 

C. The Virginia EHDI program shall report infants 

identified with risk indicators for progressive hearing loss as 

defined in 12VAC5-80-75 and infants identified with hearing 

loss to the infant's primary health care provider pursuant to 

§ 32.1-64.2 of the Code of Virginia. The Virginia EHDI 

program shall provide other hearing screening and resource 

information to the infant's primary health care provider as 

defined in 12VAC5-80-90. 

D. Persons providing audiological services shall report 

hearing screening and audiological evaluation results to the 

infant's primary health care provider as defined in 12VAC5-

80-95. 

E. Reporting hearing screening and audiological evaluation 

results to primary health care providers may be done through 

an electronically secure system that meets all applicable 

federal and state privacy laws. ]  

12VAC5-80-140. Relationship to the Part C system. 

[ A. ] The department is a participating agency in the state 

Part C system as defined in § 2.2-5300 of the Code of 

Virginia. The Virginia Hearing Impairment Identification and 

Monitoring System is a component of this statewide system 

to identify infants and children who may be eligible for Part 

C early intervention services. The Virginia EHDI program 

shall develop policies and operating procedures that are 

consistent with the Individuals with Disabilities Education 

Act [ of 2004 ] (20 USC §§ 1431-1444); 34 CFR Part 303; 

§ 2.2-5303 of the Code of Virginia; and the most recent state 

interagency agreement. 

[ B. The state interagency agreement shall contain policies 

and procedures related to identification of resources, 

coordination of services, resolution of interagency disputes, 

and data exchange activities necessary for the department and 

the Virginia EHDI program to fulfill responsibilities and 

implementation activities required as part of the state early 

intervention system. ]  

FORMS (12VAC5-80)  

Report of Follow-Up (eff. 7/99).  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-80)  

Newborn and Infant Hearing Loss: Detection and 

Intervention, Pediatrics Vol. 103, No. 2, February 1999, 

American Academy of Pediatrics.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1334; Filed October 15, 2013, 10:15 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-180).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; Title 

XIX, 42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 6, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Tom Edicola, Director, Program Operations 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-8098, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

tom.edicola@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. Item 300 H of Chapter 890 of the 

2011 Acts of Assembly directs DMAS as follows: 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 

mandate the electronic submission of claims for covered 

services rendered by participating providers in the fee-

for-service program under the State Plans for Title XIX 

and XXI of the Social Security Act, and any waivers 

thereof, as well as the use of electronic funds transfer for 

the payment of such claims to providers. The department 

shall implement this requirement in a phased approach 

beginning with providers enrolling on or after October 1, 

2011, with expansion to all existing providers by July 1, 

2012. The department shall develop a process by which 

the individual circumstance of a provider may allow for 

exclusion from the electronic claims mandate without 

impact on participation, at the sole discretion of the 

department. The department shall have authority to 

promulgate emergency regulations to implement this 

amendment within 280 days from the enactment of this 

act. 

Purpose: This action is not essential to protect the health, 

safety, or welfare of citizens. It is, however, mandated by law 
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as cited above. It also promotes improved administrative 

efficiencies for DMAS, which will reduce some of its 

operating costs. These regulations are clearly written and 

easily understandable by the regulated community. 

Approximately 84% of all Medicaid claims are currently filed 

electronically with DMAS. A survey of participating 

Medicaid providers who submit claims on paper was 

performed to better understand why claims are filed on paper 

when electronic filing is available, and to understand any 

barriers that may exist to filing electronically. The survey 

found that the main barriers to electronic filing were cost and 

inadequate technology.  

However, a majority of providers indicated that they transact 

business electronically with commercial carriers and would 

welcome the change if these barriers could be addressed for 

Medicaid. In response, DMAS implemented a web-based 

direct data entry mechanism during the 2nd Quarter of FY 

2011 that has allowed for electronic claim submission at no 

cost to the provider and at a lower cost for the 

Commonwealth to process these claims. The Appropriations 

Act of 2011 language mandating the participation of 

providers via electronic funds transfer and electronic claims 

submissions is part of an overall strategy to simplify the 

claims submission process, increase processing efficiency, 

lower costs for both the Commonwealth and the Virginia 

Medicaid provider community, and support collaboration and 

consistency in business practices with other commercial 

carriers and Medicare.  

It costs DMAS $0.475 to process a hard copy paper claim but 

only $0.192 to process an electronically submitted claim. If a 

claim is not completed properly and must be returned to the 

provider for correction, these costs double. During FY 2011, 

DMAS spent $ 3.7 million to process electronic claims: $ 1.3 

to process paper claims and $155,000 to process direct data 

entry claims.  

Substance: The amendments to 12VAC30-20-180 require 

providers to file claims electronically and make payments via 

electronic funds transfer. Currently, the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance (Plan) has no requirements that providers 

must submit their claims electronically. It is permitted that 

providers can file claims electronically, but not required. The 

current Plan also does not provide for providers' payments to 

be made via electronic funds transfer. 

The amendments to 12VAC30-20-180 (Definition of a claim 

by service) require (i) health care providers that enroll with 

Medicaid on or after October 1, 2011, to submit electronically 

all claims for covered services they render in the fee-for-

service program under the State Plans for Title XIX and XXI 

of the Social Security Act; (ii) DMAS to use electronic funds 

transfer for the payment of such claims to providers; and (iii) 

all other providers to comply with this electronic submission 

requirement by July 1, 2012. Amendments also include a 

provision to permit providers to request exemption from this 

requirement when they can demonstrate good cause. DMAS 

has granted exemptions to fewer than 15 providers who have 

requested exemption from the electronic funds transfer 

requirement. The reasons for these exemptions have been due 

to the lack of infrastructure to accommodate electronic claims 

submission and receipt of payments.  

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is expected to be the reduction of 

administrative costs for the processing of providers' claims 

for Medicaid and FAMIS. There are no disadvantages of this 

action to the agency or to individual private citizens. 

For health care businesses that already electronically file 

Medicare and other health insurance claims, this action will 

make it easier for them to file Medicaid claims. For 

businesses that are not capable of electronically filing (due to 

lack of infrastructure to support electronic claims submission, 

for example), provision is made for good cause exceptions to 

this requirement. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Item 300 H of the 2011 Virginia Appropriations 

Act, the proposed changes require 1) that fee-for-service 

Medicaid providers submit their claims electronically for 

services rendered and 2) that providers participate in 

electronic funds transfer for the payment of their claims. 

These changes are already in effect as of July 1, 2012, under 

the emergency regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits exceed the costs for one or 

more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 

accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 

costs for at least one change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Item 300 H of the 

2011 Virginia Appropriations Act, one of the proposed 

changes requires that fee-for-service Medicaid providers 

submit their claims electronically for services rendered. 

However, the proposed changes allow the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to grant a variance for 

providers having a hardship with electronic filing.  

Prior to this change, electronic claim filing was optional. In 

Fiscal Year (FY) 2011, 19 million or 84% of approximately 

22.6 million total claims had been voluntarily filed by 

electronic means. DMAS anticipates that once the transition 

is completed, approximately 95% of all claims will be filed 

electronically while 5.0% will continue to be filed on paper 

due to variances that may be issued. Thus, the proposed 

requirement is ultimately estimated to decrease paper claims 

by 2.5 million and increase electronic claims by the same 

amount. The FY 2013 costs for paper and electronic claims 

processing are $0.483 and $0.195 per claim, respectively. In 

other words, electronic claims are $0.288 cheaper per claim to 

process. Thus, DMAS can expect to save approximately 

$711,930 per year in costs for claims processing. One half of 

this amount represents savings in state funds as 50% of 

Virginia Medicaid expenditures are funded by the federal 
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government. The magnitude of the expected savings is subject 

to change depending on the number of claims filed which is 

driven by various factors such as increases in member 

enrollment, decreases in fee-for-service population as a result 

of Managed Care expansion, and utilization of services. 

To facilitate the transition, DMAS, through its claims 

processing contractor, created a web-based direct data entry 

mechanism in 2011. The cost of creating this mechanism was 

fully borne by the contractor without an increase in the 

contract price. Also, this claims submission mechanism is 

available to providers at no cost. However, any required 

modifications to this mechanism will require additional 

expenditures. DMAS has paid $276,600 for four system 

enhancements since its inception. 

The impact of this change on administrative compliance costs 

of providers appears to be mixed. According to DMAS, 

providers with small claims volume and simple procedures 

may find it easier to file their claims electronically while 

large volume providers and providers with complicated 

procedures may experience the opposite effect. 

Another proposed change requires participation of providers 

in electronic funds transfer for the payment of their claims 

except for good cause shown. In FY 2011, of the 

approximately 400,000 fund transfers, about 170,000, or 

42%, were accomplished by paper checks. In January of 

2013, only 9.0% of funds transfers were accomplished by 

paper checks. DMAS will continue to mail claim detail to its 

providers in most cases. Thus, only about $5,000 is estimated 

to be saved in mailing costs by this change. Due to federal 

funding, only one half of these savings would accrue to the 

Commonwealth. Providers are also likely to realize some 

administrative savings due to reduction in time and possible 

travel involved in depositing paper checks. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The electronic filing and 

electronic fund transfer requirements apply to approximately 

47,000 providers participating in Virginia Medicaid. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations do 

not affect any locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes may 

reduce demand for labor at small medical providers with 

simple procedures due to increased efficiencies from 

electronic filing and to produce savings in provider time and 

travel costs associated with depositing paper checks. 

However, large providers with complex procedures may need 

additional labor to file claims electronically. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant effect on the use and value of private property is 

expected. The asset value of the payment processing 

contractor may be negatively impacted as it will experience 

reduction in its revenues. However, this negative impact may 

be offset by additional revenues from system enhancements. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most of the 

approximately 47,000 providers are estimated to be small 

businesses. The main impact on small businesses is an 

expected reduction in their administrative costs due to 

efficiencies expected from electronic claims filing and 

electronic funds transfer. However, large providers and 

providers with complex procedures are anticipated to 

experience inefficiencies due to the proposed electronic 

claims processing requirement.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations allow variances 

from the proposed requirements for good cause shown. There 

is no known alternative that minimizes the adverse impact 

while accomplishing the same results. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant impact on real 

estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

regarding the regulations concerning the electronic claims 

submission requirements in 12VAC30-20-180. The 

department raises no issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 300 H of Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of 

Assembly, the proposed amendments require (i) the 46,957 

fee-for-service Medicaid providers to electronically submit 

their claims for services rendered to Medicaid and FAMIS 

individuals and (ii) providers' payments to be provided by 

electronic funds transfers. Proposed amendments allow for 
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exceptions to these electronic filing/payment requirements 

when certain specified standards are met and do not affect 

the eight Medicaid managed care organizations because 

they do not file individual claims for services but already 

file electronic encounter data. 

12VAC30-20-180. Definition of a claim by service.  

A. Claims: 

SERVICE CLAIM 

A) Inpatient Hospital A Bill for Service 

B) Outpatient Hospital A Bill for Service 

C) Rural Health Clinic A Line Item for Service 

D) Laboratory and X-

Ray 

A Line Item of Service 

E) Skilled Nursing A Bill for Service 

F) EPSDT A Bill for Service 

G) Family Planning A Bill for Service or Line 

Item depending on 

provider type 

H) Physician A Line Item of Service 

I) Other Medical A Bill for Service or Line 

Item depending on 

provider type 

J) Home Health A Bill for Service 

K) Clinic A Line for Service Item 

L) Dental A Line Item of Service 

M) Pharmacy A Line Item of Service 

N) Intermediate Care A Bill for Service 

O) Transportation A Line Item of Service 

P) Physical Therapy A Bill for Service or Line 

Item depending on 

provider type 

Q) Nurse Midwife A Line Item of Service 

R) Eyeglasses A Line Item of Service 

B. All providers that enroll with Medicaid on or after 

October 1, 2011, shall submit electronically all claims for 

covered services they render in the fee-for-service program 

under the State Plans for Title XIX and XXI of the Social 

Security Act, and any waivers thereof, and enroll to receive 

electronic funds transfer (EFT) for payment of those services. 

All other providers shall comply with this electronic 

submission requirement by July 1, 2012. 

1. Any provider who cannot comply with this electronic 

claims submission or EFT requirement may request an 

exception from DMAS for good cause shown.  

2. Good cause may include, but is not limited to, (i) the 

unavailability of the infrastructure necessary to support 

electronic claims submission in the provider's geographic 

region; (ii) the absence of a mechanism for electronic 

submission for the particular claim type, such as in the case 

of a temporary detention order; (iii) the provider's inability 

to transact business through a banking institution capable 

of EFT; or (iv) financial hardship.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2789; Filed October 15, 2013, 10:32 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions 

and Requirements (amending 12VAC30-40-280).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 5, 2013. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jack Quigley, Policy Division, Department 

of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 

1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1300, FAX 

(804) 786-1680, or email jack.quigley@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Sections 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia 

authorize the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services to administer and amend the Plan for 

Medical Assistance according to the board's requirements. 

The Medicaid authority, as established by § 1902(a) of the 

Social Security Act (42 USC 1396a), provides governing 

authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is necessary to implement 

Chapter 506 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, which allows 

participants in the MEDICAID WORKS program to earn up 

to $75,000 while still retaining eligibility for Medicaid 

benefits. In addition, the amendments fix several unintended 

inequities that the department discovered after the 

implementation of the program. 

Rationale for Using the Fast-Track Process: These changes to 

the MEDICAID WORKS program are mandated by Chapter 

506 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly or are fixes to unforeseen 

issues that arose after the program began. The amendments 

reinforce the purpose of the program to permit Medicaid 

enrollees who desire to better their lives by going back to 

work to do so at some level without endangering their 

Medicaid eligibility. These changes are noncontroversial, and 

therefore the department has chosen the fast-track rulemaking 

option for this regulatory action. 
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Substance: This regulatory action allows participants in the 

MEDICAID WORKS program to earn up to $75,000 while 

still retaining eligibility for Medicaid benefits. The 

amendments also correct an unintended consequence, which 

came to light after the initial regulations were promulgated, 

whereby individuals with disabilities, who receive a modest 

cash benefit (unearned income) from Social Security 

Disability Insurance (SSDI) and who elect to enroll in 

MEDICAID WORKS, actually can become ineligible for the 

MEDICAID WORKS program if their earned income causes 

their SSDI benefit to increase. While MEDICAID WORKS 

program participants may currently have gross annual 

earnings of as much as $44,300, their unearned income may 

not exceed 80% of the federal poverty level, equaling $745 

per month. The entry income level for eligibility into the 

MEDICAID WORKS program is $745 per month.  

This is clearly problematic because the intent of the 

MEDICAID WORKS program is to encourage Medicaid 

enrolled individuals to go back to work and earn higher 

income while retaining Medicaid eligibility. However, 

achieving higher income can result in a higher SSDI benefit 

payment that may, in turn, have a significant negative impact 

by making the individual ineligible for Medicaid. 

Disregarding any amount of SSDI payment, which increases 

as a result of work while participating in MEDICAID 

WORKS, corrects this unforeseen and unfair consequence of 

the individual succeeding in employment efforts. The 

amendments also allow for a disregard of any cost of living 

adjustment (COLA) increases so as not to discontinue 

Medicaid eligibility.  

The amendments correct an additional unintended 

consequence of the initial regulations whereby an individual 

with disabilities who experiences a loss of employment 

through no fault of his own (for example, being laid off) 

becomes eligible for unemployment insurance benefits and 

acceptance of this unearned income payment causes the 

individual to become ineligible for continued Medicaid 

coverage. Medicaid policy requires that individuals who are 

eligible for unemployment insurance payments must apply 

for these cash benefits, which in turn may make the individual 

ineligible for Medicaid. Again, the intent of the MEDICAID 

WORKS program is to encourage individuals to go back to 

work and earn higher income while retaining eligibility for 

Medicaid. The program has an existing policy in place to 

allow an individual to remain eligible for MEDICAID 

WORKS for up to six months if he experiences a loss of 

employment through no fault of his own. Penalizing the 

individual for going to work, but then losing his job, is a 

direct contradiction of the intention for which the program 

was created. 

Issues: These changes may assist employers because this 

action has the potential to expand the labor pool by adding 

new employees with disabilities who are proven to be 

valuable, dependable resources. Individuals with disabilities 

can have higher income and still retain Medicaid coverage. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 506 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, one 

of the proposed changes increases the maximum allowable 

gross earnings for participation in the Medicaid Works 

program. The other proposed changes expand the income 

disregards allowed in the program. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 

next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Virginias Medicaid Works 

program is a work incentive program offered to individuals 

with disabilities. The program allows Medicaid enrollees with 

disabilities to earn higher incomes up to a certain limit 

without losing their eligibility for Medicaid. The current 

gross income limit for Medicaid Works participants is 

$45,468 per year. Chapter 506 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly 

increased the maximum allowable gross earnings for 

participation in the Medicaid Works program to the 

maximum gross income amount allowed by the federal Ticket 

to Work and Work Incentives Improvement Act, which is 

$75,000 per year. One of the proposed changes implements 

the increased income limit passed by the 2011 General 

Assembly. 

The proposed changes also introduce additional income 

disregards. One of these changes allows a Medicaid Works 

participant to disregard the increase in their Social Security 

Disability Insurance (SSDI) as a result of work while 

participating in the program. According to the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS), working while in the 

program can actually cause the SSDI benefit to increase 

which in turn can cause the gross income to increase and 

render the individual ineligible for Medicaid. The possibility 

that working may lead to the loss of Medicaid eligibility may 

currently be discouraging some individuals from participation 

and undermining the very intent of the program, which is to 

encourage disabled individuals enrolled in Medicaid to go 

back to work and earn higher incomes. The proposed changes 

would also disregard any increase in the SSDI benefit due to 

cost of living adjustments. 

Similarly, if a program participant becomes unemployed due 

to no fault of his own he is required to apply for 

unemployment insurance, which may in turn render the 

individual ineligible for Medicaid. Currently, the program 

allows participants to remain eligible for up to six months, if 

loss of employment was due to no fault of their own. The 

possibility of unintended unemployment causing loss of 

Medicaid eligibility also has the potential to discourage 

participation in the program and undermine the intent of the 

program. The proposed changes would disregard 
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unemployment insurance benefits while the enrollee is in the 

six month grace period. 

The proposed changes either increase the eligibility income 

limit or allow more income disregards in the Medicaid Works 

program, which would allow participants to earn higher 

incomes without putting their eligibility for the program or 

for Medicaid at risk. Thus, the proposed changes are expected 

to help maintain enrollment of current participants by 

allowing them to earn higher incomes. Thus, the proposed 

changes are expected to promote the Medicaid Works 

program, which in turn promotes work among disabled 

Medicaid enrollees. Once they are allowed to work and earn 

incomes, they may be able to support themselves and no 

longer need Medicaid and possibly other public assistance 

programs. Any reduction in the Medicaid enrollment and/or 

other public assistance programs would represent an 

economic benefit as it would reduce state and federal 

expenditures needed for public assistance. However, the 

possibility that some of the participants may never be 

successfully weaned out of Medicaid or other public 

assistance programs cannot be ruled out. The proposed 

changes would allow such people to maintain their Medicaid 

benefits while allowing them to earn higher incomes. 

Currently, Medicaid pays $10,017 per person per year for 

individuals in the Medicaid Works program. According to 

DMAS, approximately five out of 45 Medicaid Works 

program participants may be affected by the proposed 

changes. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed changes are 

expected to affect five out of 45 Medicaid Works participants. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes 

promote the Medicaid Works program which allows 

Medicaid enrollees with disabilities to work without losing 

their eligibility for Medicaid. Thus, an increase in the labor 

supply may be expected. According to DMAS, there could be 

five people affected by the proposed changes. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed changes do not have any direct impact on the use 

and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

changes do not have any direct effects on small businesses. 

However, increased labor supply may indirectly benefit small 

businesses that are hiring.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed changes do not pose an 

adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No effect on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

regarding 12VAC30-40, Eligibility Conditions and 

Requirements, concerning Update to Medicaid Works Income 

Limit. The agency concurs with this analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments implement a change in the Medicaid 

Buy-In (MBI) program, MEDICAID WORKS, as 

authorized by Chapter 506 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. 

Chapter 506 directs the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services to increase the maximum allowable 

gross earnings for participants in MEDICAID WORKS 

to the maximum gross income amount allowed under the 

Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement Act 

that does not trigger the collection of mandatory 

premiums. This amount is calculated to be $75,000 in 

gross annual earnings.  

The amendments also (i) adjust MEDICAID WORKS 

policy to mitigate the negative impact (loss of Medicaid 

eligibility) of higher earned income or higher unearned 

income as a result of participating in this work incentive 

program and (ii) enable a disregard for any increase in 

the amount of unearned income in the Social Security 

Disability Insurance (SSDI) payment resulting from 

employment as a worker with disabilities eligible for 

assistance under the Ticket to Work and Work Incentives 

Improvement Act, as a result of a cost of living 

adjustment to the SSDI payment, or for any 

unemployment insurance payments received by an 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 4, 2013 

506 

enrollee as a result of loss of employment through no 

fault of his own. 

12VAC30-40-280. More liberal income disregards. 

A. For children covered under §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III) and 

1905(n) of the Social Security Act, the Commonwealth of 

Virginia will disregard one dollar plus an amount equal to the 

difference between 100% of the AFDC payment standard for 

the same family size and 100% of the federal poverty level 

for the same family size as updated annually in the Federal 

Register.  

B. For ADC-related cases, both categorically and medically 

needy, any individual or family applying for or receiving 

assistance shall be granted an income exemption consistent 

with the Act (§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), (IV), (VI), (VII); 

§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), (IX); § 1902(a)(10)(C)(i)(III)). 

Any interest earned on one interest-bearing savings or 

investment account per assistance unit not to exceed $5,000, 

if the applicant, applicants, recipient or recipients designate 

that the account is reserved for purposes related to self-

sufficiency, shall be exempt when determining eligibility for 

medical assistance for so long as the funds and interest 

remain on deposit in the account. For purposes of this section, 

"purposes related to self-sufficiency" shall include, but are 

not limited to, (i) paying for tuition, books, and incidental 

expenses at any elementary, secondary, or vocational school, 

or any college or university; (ii) for making down payment on 

a primary residence; or (iii) for establishment of a commercial 

operation that is owned by a member of the Medicaid 

assistance unit.  

C. For the group described in §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII) and 

1902(l)(1)(D), income in the amount of the difference 

between 100% and 133% of the federal poverty level (as 

revised annually in the Federal Register) is disregarded.  

D. For aged, blind, and disabled individuals, both 

categorically and medically needy, with the exception of the 

special income level group of institutionalized individuals, 

the Commonwealth of Virginia shall disregard the value of 

in-kind support and maintenance when determining 

eligibility. In-kind support and maintenance means food, 

clothing, or shelter or any combination of these provided to 

an individual.  

E. For all categorically needy and medically needy children 

covered under the family and children covered groups, 

(§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), 1902(a)(10)(C)(ii)(I) and 1905(n) of 

the Act), the Commonwealth will disregard all earned income 

of a child under the age of 19 who is a student.  

F. For all categorically needy and medically needy 

individuals covered under the family and children covered 

groups (§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(V), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), 1902(a)(10)(C)(ii)(I) and 1905(n) of 

the Act), the Commonwealth will disregard the fair market 

value of all in-kind support and maintenance as income in 

determining financial eligibility. In-kind support and 

maintenance means food, clothing or shelter or any 

combination of these provided to an individual.  

G. Working individuals with disabilities eligible for 

assistance under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) of the Act who 

wish to increase their earnings while maintaining eligibility 

for Medicaid must establish Work Incentive (WIN) accounts 

(see 12VAC30-40-290).  

1. The Commonwealth shall disregard any increase in the 

amount of unearned income in Social Security Disability 

Insurance (SSDI) payment resulting from employment as a 

worker with disabilities eligible for assistance under 

§ 1902(a)(10)(A)ii(XVI) of the Act, or as a result of a 

COLA adjustment to the SSDI payment. 

2. The Commonwealth shall disregard any amount of 

unearned income of an enrollee as a result of the receipt of 

unemployment insurance benefits due to loss of 

employment through no fault of his own. This disregard 

shall only apply while an enrollee is in the six-month 

safety net, or "grace" period. 

3. The Commonwealth shall disregard earned income up to 

200% of the federal poverty level $75,000 for workers with 

disabilities eligible for assistance under 

§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) of the Act. To be eligible for this 

earned income disregard, the income is subject to the 

following provisions: 

1. a. Only earnings that are deposited into a Work 

Incentive (WIN) account can be disregarded for 

eligibility purposes. 

2. b. All funds deposited and their source will be 

identified and registered with the department, for which 

prior approval has been obtained from the department, 

and for which the owner authorizes regular monitoring 

and/or reporting of these earnings and other information 

deemed necessary by the department for the proper 

administration of this provision. 

3. c. A spouse's income will not be deemed to the 

applicant when determining whether or not the individual 

meets the financial eligibility requirements for eligibility 

under this section.  

H. For aged, blind and disabled individuals, both 

categorically and medically needy, with the exception of the 

special income level group of institutionalized individuals, 

the Commonwealth of Virginia shall disregard the value of 

income derived from temporary employment with the United 

States Census Bureau for a decennial census. 

I. For all categorically needy and medically needy 

individuals covered under the family and children covered 

groups (§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(V), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), 
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1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), 1902(a)(10)(C)(ii)(I) and 1905(n) of 

the Act), the Commonwealth will disregard income derived 

from the temporary employment with the United States 

Census Bureau for a decennial census.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3139; Filed October 15, 2013, 10:38 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(amending 12VAC30-50-226). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-143).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: October 10, 2013, through April 9, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. Item 307 LL of Chapter 3 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, directed the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

make programmatic changes in the provision of community 

mental health services to ensure appropriate utilization 

and cost efficiency. Item 307 RR f of Chapter 3 of the 2012 

Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, directed DMAS to 

implement a mandatory care coordination model for 

behavioral health. The goals of Item 307 RR e of the 2012 

Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, include the 

achievement of cost savings and simplification of the 

administration of community mental health services 

through the use of the behavioral health services 

administrator.  

The Medicaid covered service that is affected by this action 

is mental health support services (MHSS). The department 

always intended this service to have a rehabilitative focus 

and defines it as "training and supports to enable 

individuals to achieve and maintain community stability 

and independence in the most appropriate, least restrictive 

environment." The application of imprecise eligibility 

criteria and service definitions has resulted in a 

misunderstanding by providers of the intent of the MHSS 

and the slow evolution of MHSS into a companion-like 

service, rather than a rehabilitative one. This has 

contributed to an expenditure increase for this service, 

most of which has been attributed to adult Medicaid 

individuals. DMAS intends, in this action, to more 

accurately represent its intentions for this service by 

clarifying the Medicaid individuals' eligibility criteria, 

service definitions, and reimbursement requirements. The 

new limitations help prevent overpayment for similar 

services, improve the quality of services covered, and 

clarify for service providers the department's expectations 

to secure reimbursement. These changes seek to preserve 

the integrity of the Medicaid system so that it can continue 

to provide necessary medical services to appropriate 

individuals.  

The emergency amendments include (i) changing the 

service's name to "mental health skill-building service"; 

(ii) changing the rate structure to an hourly unit and 

decreasing the number of hours per day that an individual 

may receive this service, effective July 1, 2014; (iii) 

increasing the annual limits, effective July 1, 2014; (iv) 

prohibiting overlap with similar services; (v) reducing the 

number of hours of services that may be provided in an 

assisted living facility and Level A or Level B group home, 

effective July 1, 2014; (vi) requiring that providers 

communicate important information to other health care 

professionals who are providing care to the same 

individuals; and (vii) requiring service authorization for 

crisis intervention and crisis stabilization. 

12VAC30-50-226. Community mental health services. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

these regulations shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Behavioral Health Services Administrator" or "BHSA" 

means an entity or entities that manages or directs a 

behavioral health benefits program under contract with 

DMAS. DMAS' designated BHSA shall be authorized to 

constitute, oversee, enroll, and train a provider network; 

perform service authorization; adjudicate claims; process 

claims; gather and maintain data; reimburse providers; 

perform quality assessment and improvement; conduct 

member outreach and education; resolve member and 

provider issues; and perform utilization management 

including care coordination for the provision of Medicaid-

covered behavioral health services. Such authority shall 

include entering into or terminating contracts with providers 

and imposing sanctions upon providers as described in any 

contract between a provider and the designated BHSA. 

DMAS shall retain authority for and oversight of the BHSA 

entity or entities. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or its designee who is skilled in the 

assessment and treatment of mental illness and who has 

completed a certification program approved by DBHDS.  

"Clinical experience" means practical experience in 

providing direct services to individuals with mental illness or 

mental retardation intellectual disabilities or the provision of 

direct geriatric services or special education services. 
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Experience may include supervised internships, practicums, 

and field experience.  

"Code" means the Code of Virginia.  

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-

300 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"DSM" means the Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental 

Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Human services field" means social work, gerontology, 

psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, special education, 

sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, and human 

services counseling or other degrees deemed equivalent by 

DMAS DBHDS.  

"Independent living situation" means a situation in which an 

individual, younger than 21 years of age, is not living with a 

parent or guardian or in a supervised setting and is providing 

his own financial support. 

"Individual" means the patient, client, or recipient of 

services set out herein.  

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means a comprehensive 

and regularly updated statement specific to the individual 

being treated containing, but not necessarily limited to, his 

treatment or training needs, his goals and measurable 

objectives to meet the identified needs, services to be 

provided with the recommended frequency to accomplish the 

measurable goals and objectives, and estimated timetable for 

achieving the goals and objectives. The provider shall include 

the individual in the development of the ISP. To the extent 

that the individual's condition requires assistance for 

participation, assistance shall be provided. The ISP shall be 

updated as the needs and progress of the individual changes.  

"Individualized training" means training in functional skills 

and appropriate behavior related to the individual's health and 

safety, activities of daily living, and use of community 

resources; assistance with medical management; and 

monitoring health, nutrition, and physical condition. The 

training shall be based on a variety of approaches or tools to 

organize and guide the individual's life planning and shall be 

rooted in what is important to the individual while taking into 

account all other factors that affect his life, including effects 

of the disability and issues of health and safety. 

"Licensed Mental Health Professional" or "LMHP" means 

an individual licensed in Virginia as a physician, a clinical 

psychologist, a professional counselor, a clinical social 

worker, or a psychiatric clinical nurse specialist.  

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" 

"Qualified Mental Health Professional-Adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means a clinician in the human services field as defined in 

12VAC35-105-20. who is trained and experienced in 

providing psychiatric or mental health services to individuals 

who have a psychiatric diagnosis. If the QMHP is also one of 

the defined licensed mental health professionals, the QMHP 

may perform the services designated for the Licensed Mental 

Health Professionals unless it is specifically prohibited by 

their licenses. These QMHPs may be either a:  

1. Physician who is a doctor of medicine or osteopathy and 

is licensed in Virginia;  

2. Psychiatrist who is a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, 

specializing in psychiatry and is licensed in Virginia;  

3. Psychologist who has a master's degree in psychology 

from an accredited college or university with at least one 

year of clinical experience;  

4. Social worker who has a master's or bachelor's degree 

from a school of social work accredited or approved by the 

Council on Social Work Education and has at least one 

year of clinical experience;  

5. Registered nurse who is licensed as a registered nurse in 

the Commonwealth and has at least one year of clinical 

experience; or  

6. Mental health worker who has at least:  

a. A bachelor's degree in human services or a related 

field from an accredited college and who has at least one 

year of clinical experience;  

b. Registered Psychiatric Rehabilitation Provider (RPRP) 

registered with the International Association of 

Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (IAPSRS) as of 

January 1, 2001;  

c. A bachelor's degree from an accredited college in an 

unrelated field with an associate's degree in a human 

services field. The individual must also have three years 

clinical experience;  

d. A bachelor's degree from an accredited college and 

certification by the International Association of 

Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (IAPSRS) as a 

Certified Psychiatric Rehabilitation Practitioner (CPRP);  

e. A bachelor's degree from an accredited college in an 

unrelated field that includes at least 15 semester credits 

(or equivalent) in a human services field. The individual 

must also have three years clinical experience; or  

f. Four years clinical experience.  

"Qualified Mental Health Professional-Child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means an individual who meets at least one of the following 

criteria:  

1. Registered with the International Association of 

Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (IAPSRS) as an 

Associate Psychiatric Rehabilitation Provider (APRP), as 

of January 1, 2001. 
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2. Has an associate's degree in one of the following related 

fields (social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 

sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human 

services counseling) and has at least one year of experience 

providing direct services to persons with a diagnosis of 

mental illness. 

3. An associate's or higher degree, in an unrelated field and 

at least three years experience providing direct services to 

persons with a diagnosis of mental illness, gerontology 

clients, or special education clients. The experience may 

include supervised internships, practicums and field 

experience.  

4. A minimum of 90 hours classroom training in behavioral 

health and 12 weeks of experience under the direct 

personal supervision of a QMHP providing services to 

persons with mental illness and at least one year of clinical 

experience (including the 12 weeks of supervised 

experience).  

5. College credits (from an accredited college) earned 

toward a bachelor's degree in a human service field that is 

equivalent to an associate's degree and one year's clinical 

experience.  

6. Licensure by the Commonwealth as a practical nurse 

with at least one year of clinical experience. 

"Review of ISP" means that the provider evaluates the 

individual's progress toward meeting the individualized 

service plan objectives and documents the outcome of this 

review. The goals, objectives, and strategies of the 

individualized service plan shall be updated to reflect any 

change in the individual's progress and treatment needs as 

well as any newly identified problems.  

B. Mental health services. The following services, with their 

definitions, shall be covered: day treatment/partial 

hospitalization, psychosocial rehabilitation, crisis services, 

intensive community treatment (ICT), and mental health 

supports skill-building services. Staff travel time shall not be 

included in billable time for reimbursement.  

1. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 

provided in sessions of two or more consecutive hours per 

day, which may be scheduled multiple times per week, to 

groups of individuals in a nonresidential setting. These 

services, limited annually to 780 units, include the major 

diagnostic, medical, psychiatric, psychosocial and 

psychoeducational treatment modalities designed for 

individuals who require coordinated, intensive, 

comprehensive, and multidisciplinary treatment but who 

do not require inpatient treatment. One unit of service shall 

be defined as a minimum of two but less than four hours on 

a given day. Two units of service shall be defined as at 

least four but less than seven hours in a given day. Three 

units of service shall be defined as seven or more hours in 

a given day. Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

a. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 

time limited interventions that are more intensive than 

outpatient services and are required to stabilize an 

individual's psychiatric condition. The services are 

delivered when the individual is at risk of psychiatric 

hospitalization or is transitioning from a psychiatric 

hospitalization to the community.  

b. Individuals qualifying for this service must 

demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 

from mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities. Individuals must meet at least two of the 

following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

they are at risk of hospitalization or homelessness or 

isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit behavior that requires repeated interventions 

or monitoring by the mental health, social services, or 

judicial system; or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 

are unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

c. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 

they are no longer in an acute psychiatric state and other 

less intensive services may achieve psychiatric 

stabilization.  

d. Admission and services for time periods longer than 

90 calendar days must be authorized based upon a face-

to-face evaluation by a physician, psychiatrist, licensed 

clinical psychologist, licensed professional counselor, 

licensed clinical social worker, or psychiatric clinical 

nurse specialist.  

2. Psychosocial rehabilitation shall be provided at least two 

or more hours per day to groups of individuals in a 

nonresidential setting. These services, limited annually to 

936 units, include assessment, education to teach the 

patient about the diagnosed mental illness and appropriate 

medications to avoid complication and relapse, 

opportunities to learn and use independent living skills and 

to enhance social and interpersonal skills within a 

supportive and normalizing program structure and 

environment. One unit of service is defined as a minimum 

of two but less than four hours on a given day. Two units 

are defined as at least four but less than seven hours in a 

given day. Three units of service shall be defined as seven 

or more hours in a given day. Authorization is required for 

Medicaid reimbursement. 
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Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate a 

clinical necessity for the service arising from mental, 

behavioral, or emotional illness that results in significant 

functional impairments in major life activities. Services are 

provided to individuals: (i) who without these services 

would be unable to remain in the community or (ii) who 

meet at least two of the following criteria on a continuing 

or intermittent basis:  

a. Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 

homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

b. Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

c. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that repeated 

interventions by the mental health, social services, or 

judicial system are necessary; or  

d. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 

inappropriate social behavior.  

3. Crisis intervention shall provide immediate mental 

health care, available 24 hours a day, seven days per week, 

to assist individuals who are experiencing acute psychiatric 

dysfunction requiring immediate clinical attention. This 

service's objectives shall be to prevent exacerbation of a 

condition, to prevent injury to the client or others, and to 

provide treatment in the context of the least restrictive 

setting. Crisis intervention activities shall include assessing 

the crisis situation, providing short-term counseling 

designed to stabilize the individual, providing access to 

further immediate assessment and follow-up, and linking 

the individual and family with ongoing care to prevent 

future crises. Crisis intervention services may include 

office visits, home visits, preadmission screenings, 

telephone contacts, and other client-related activities for 

the prevention of institutionalization. Authorization shall 

be required for Medicaid reimbursement. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 

demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 

from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature that puts the 

individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 

Individuals must meet at least two of the following 

criteria at the time of admission to the service:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 

homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 

interventions by mental health, social services, or the 

judicial system are necessary; or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 

are unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 

inappropriate social behavior.  

b. The annual limit for crisis intervention is 720 units per 

year. A unit shall equal 15 minutes.  

4. Intensive community treatment (ICT), initially covered 

for a maximum of 26 weeks based on an initial assessment 

with continuation reauthorized for an additional 26 weeks 

annually based on written assessment and certification of 

need by a qualified mental health provider (QMHP), shall 

be defined as medical psychotherapy, psychiatric 

assessment, medication management, and case 

management activities offered to outpatients outside the 

clinic, hospital, or office setting for individuals who are 

best served in the community. The annual unit limit shall 

be 130 units with a unit equaling one hour. Authorization 

is required for Medicaid reimbursement. To qualify for 

ICT, the individual must meet at least one of the following 

criteria:  

a. The individual must be at high risk for psychiatric 

hospitalization or becoming or remaining homeless due 

to mental illness or require intervention by the mental 

health or criminal justice system due to inappropriate 

social behavior.  

b. The individual has a history (three months or more) of 

a need for intensive mental health treatment or treatment 

for co-occurring serious mental illness and substance use 

disorder and demonstrates a resistance to seek out and 

utilize appropriate treatment options.  

(1) An assessment that documents eligibility and the need 

for this service must be completed prior to the initiation 

of services. This assessment must be maintained in the 

individual's records.  

(2) A service plan must be initiated at the time of 

admission and must be fully developed within 30 days of 

the initiation of services.  

5. Crisis stabilization services for nonhospitalized 

individuals shall provide direct mental health care to 

individuals experiencing an acute psychiatric crisis which 

may jeopardize their current community living situation. 

Authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Authorization may be for up to a 15-day 

period per crisis episode following a documented face-to-

face assessment by a QMHP which is reviewed and 

approved by an LMHP within 72 hours. The maximum 

limit on this service is up to eight hours (with a unit being 

one hour) per day up to 60 days annually. The goals of 

crisis stabilization programs shall be to avert 

hospitalization or rehospitalization, provide normative 

environments with a high assurance of safety and security 
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for crisis intervention, stabilize individuals in psychiatric 

crisis, and mobilize the resources of the community 

support system and family members and others for on-

going maintenance and rehabilitation. The services must be 

documented in the individual's records as having been 

provided consistent with the ISP in order to receive 

Medicaid reimbursement. The crisis stabilization program 

shall provide to recipients, as appropriate, psychiatric 

assessment including medication evaluation, treatment 

planning, symptom and behavior management, and 

individual and group counseling. This service may be 

provided in any of the following settings, but shall not be 

limited to: (i) the home of a recipient who lives with family 

or other primary caregiver; (ii) the home of a recipient who 

lives independently; or (iii) community-based programs 

licensed by DBHDS to provide residential services but 

which are not institutions for mental disease (IMDs). This 

service shall not be reimbursed for (i) recipients with 

medical conditions that require hospital care; (ii) recipients 

with primary diagnosis of substance abuse; or (iii) 

recipients with psychiatric conditions that cannot be 

managed in the community (i.e., recipients who are of 

imminent danger to themselves or others). Services must 

be documented through daily notes and a daily log of times 

spent in the delivery of services. Individuals qualifying for 

this service must demonstrate a clinical necessity for the 

service arising from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature 

that puts the individual at risk of psychiatric 

hospitalization. Individuals must meet at least two of the 

following criteria at the time of admission to the service:  

a. Experience difficulty in establishing and maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

the individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 

homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

b. Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

c. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 

interventions by the mental health, social services, or 

judicial system are necessary; or  

d. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that the 

individual is unable to recognize personal danger or 

significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

6. Mental health support skill-building services shall be 

defined as training and supports to enable individuals to 

achieve and maintain community stability and 

independence in the most appropriate, least restrictive 

environment. Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. These services may be authorized for up to 

six consecutive months. This program shall provide 

training in the following services areas in order to be 

reimbursed by Medicaid: training in or reinforcement of 

functional skills and appropriate behavior related to the 

individual's health and safety, activities of daily living, and 

use of community resources; assistance with medication 

management; and monitoring health, nutrition, and 

physical condition. Providers shall be reimbursed only for 

training activities related to these areas. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 

demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 

from a condition due to mental, behavioral, or emotional 

illness that results in significant functional impairments 

in major life activities. Services are provided to 

individuals who require individualized training in order 

to achieve or maintain stability and independence in the 

community. Services are provided to individuals who 

without these services would be unable to remain in the 

community. The individual must have two of the 

following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

(1) Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 

interpersonal relationships to such a degree that the 

individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization or 

homelessness or isolation from social supports; 

(2) Require help in basic living skills such as maintaining 

personal hygiene, preparing food and maintaining 

adequate nutrition or managing finances to such a degree 

that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that repeated 

interventions by the mental health, social services, or 

judicial system are necessary; or 

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 

are unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

b. The individual must demonstrate functional 

impairments in major life activities. This may include 

individuals with a dual diagnosis of either mental illness 

and mental retardation, or mental illness and substance 

abuse disorder. Individuals ages 21 and over shall meet 

all of the following criteria in order to be eligible to 

receive mental health skill-building services: 

(1) The individual shall have one of the following as a 

primary, Axis I DSM diagnosis: 

(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 

the DSM. 

(b) Major Depressive Disorder – Recurrent, Bipolar I, or 

Bipolar II. 

(c) Any other Axis I mental health disorder that a 

physician has documented specific to the identified 

individual within the past year and that includes all of the 

following: (i) is a serious mental illness, (ii) results in 

severe and recurrent disability, (iii) produces functional 

limitations in the individual's major life activities that are 

documented in the individual's medical record, and (iv) 

requires individualized training for the individual in 

order to achieve or maintain independent living in the 

community. 
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(2) The individual shall require individualized training in 

acquiring basic living skills such as symptom 

management, adherence to psychiatric and medication 

treatment plans, development and appropriate use of 

social skills and personal support system, personal 

hygiene, food preparation, or money management. 

(3) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 

following: psychiatric hospitalization, residential crisis 

stabilization, intensive community treatment (ICT) or 

program of assertive community treatment (PACT) 

services, placement in a psychiatric residential treatment 

facility (RTC-Level C), or temporary detention order 

(TDO), pursuant to § 37.2-809 B of the Code of Virginia, 

evaluation as a result of decompensation related to 

serious mental illness. This criterion shall be met in order 

to be initially admitted to services, and not for 

subsequent authorizations of service. 

(4) The individual shall have had a prescription for 

antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 

medications within the 12 months prior to the assessment 

date. If a physician or other practitioner who is 

authorized by his license to prescribe medications 

indicates that antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or 

antidepressant medications are medically contraindicated 

for the individual, the provider shall obtain medical 

records signed by the physician or other licensed 

prescriber detailing the contraindication. This 

documentation shall be maintained in the individual's 

mental health skill-building services record, and the 

provider shall document and describe how the individual 

will be able to actively participate in and benefit from 

services without the assistance of medication. This 

criterion shall be met upon admission to services, and not 

for subsequent authorizations of service. 

c. Individuals younger than 21 years of age shall meet all 

of the following criteria in order to be eligible to receive 

mental health skill-building services: 

(1) The individual shall be in an independent living 

situation or actively transitioning into an independent 

living situation. If the individual is transitioning into an 

independent living situation, services shall only be 

authorized for up to six months prior to the date of 

transition; 

(2) The individual shall have one of the following as a 

primary, Axis-I DSM diagnosis: 

(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 

the DSM; 

(b) Major Depressive Disorder – Recurrent, Bipolar-I, or 

Bipolar II; or 

(c) Any other Axis I mental health disorder that a 

physician has documented specific to the identified 

individual within the past year and that includes all of the 

following: (i) is a serious mental illness or serious 

emotional disturbance, (ii) results in severe and recurrent 

disability, (iii) produces functional limitations in the 

individual's major life activities that are documented in 

the individual's medical record, and (iv) requires 

individualized training for the individual in order to 

achieve or maintain independent living in the 

community; 

(3) The individual shall require individualized training in 

acquiring basic living skills such as symptom 

management, adherence to psychiatric and medication 

treatment plans, development and appropriate use of 

social skills and personal support system, personal 

hygiene, food preparation, or money management; 

(4) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 

following: psychiatric hospitalization residential crisis 

stabilization, intensive community treatment (ICT) or 

program of assertive community treatment (PACT) 

services, placement in a psychiatric residential treatment 

facility (RTC-Level C), or TDO evaluation as a result of 

decompensation related to serious mental illness. This 

criterion shall be met in order to be initially admitted to 

services, and not for subsequent authorizations of 

service; and 

(5) The individual shall have had a prescription for 

antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 

medications within the 12 months prior to the assessment 

date. If a physician or other practitioner who is 

authorized by his license to prescribe medications 

indicates that antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or 

antidepressant medications are medically contraindicated 

for the individual, the provider shall obtain medical 

records signed by the physician or other licensed 

prescriber detailing the contraindication. This 

documentation shall be maintained in the individual's 

mental health skill-building services record, and the 

provider shall document and describe how the individual 

will be able to actively participate in and benefit from 

services without the assistance of medication. This 

criterion shall be met in order to be initially admitted to 

services, and not for subsequent authorizations of 

service. 

c. The d. Effective July 1, 2014, the yearly limit for 

mental health support skill-building services is 372 up to 

1300 units per fiscal year. The weekly limit for mental 

health skill-building services is up to 25 units for those 

individuals who are not residing in assisted living 

facilities or group homes (Level A or B). The daily limit 

is a maximum of five units. Only direct face-to-face 

contacts and services to the individual shall be 

reimbursable. Prior to July 1, 2014, the previous limits 

shall apply. One unit is one hour but less than three 

hours.  

e. Effective July 1, 2014, one unit shall be defined as one 

hour. Providers shall not round up to the nearest unit, and 
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partial units shall not be reimbursed. Time may be 

accumulated in quarter-hour increments over the course 

of one week (Sunday to Saturday) to reach a billable unit. 

The provider shall clearly document details of the 

services provided during the entire amount of time billed. 

12VAC30-60-143. Mental health services utilization 

criteria.  

A. Utilization reviews shall include determinations that 

providers meet the following requirements:  

1. The provider shall meet the federal and state 

requirements for administrative and financial management 

capacity.  

2. The provider shall document and maintain individual 

case records in accordance with state and federal 

requirements.  

3. The provider shall ensure eligible recipients have free 

choice of providers of mental health services and other 

medical care under the Individual Service Plan.  

B. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 

provided following a diagnostic assessment and be authorized 

by the physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed 

professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, or 

licensed clinical nurse specialist-psychiatric. An ISP shall be 

fully completed by either the LMHP or the QMHP as defined 

at 12VAC30-50-226 within 30 days of service initiation.  

1. The enrolled provider of day treatment/partial 

hospitalization shall be licensed by DMHMRSAS DBHDS 

as providers of day treatment services.  

2. Services shall be provided by an LMHP, a QMHP, or a 

qualified paraprofessional under the supervision of a 

QMHP or an LMHP as defined at 12VAC30-50-226.  

3. The program shall operate a minimum of two continuous 

hours in a 24-hour period.  

4. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 

other less intensive services may achieve or maintain 

psychiatric stabilization.  

C. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be provided to 

those individuals who have experienced long-term or repeated 

psychiatric hospitalization, or who experience difficulty in 

activities of daily living and interpersonal skills, or whose 

support system is limited or nonexistent, or who are unable to 

function in the community without intensive intervention or 

when long-term services are needed to maintain the 

individual in the community.  

1. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be provided 

following an assessment which clearly documents the need 

for services. The assessment shall be completed by an 

LMHP, or a QMHP, and approved by a LMHP within 30 

days of admission to services. An ISP shall be completed 

by the LMHP or the QMHP within 30 days of service 

initiation. Every three months, the LMHP or the QMHP 

must review, modify as appropriate, and update the ISP.  

2. Psychosocial rehabilitation services of any individual 

that continue more than six months must be reviewed by an 

LMHP who must document the continued need for the 

service. The ISP shall be rewritten at least annually.  

3. The enrolled provider of psychosocial rehabilitation 

services shall be licensed by DMHMRSAS DBHDS as a 

provider of psychosocial rehabilitation or clubhouse 

services.  

4. Psychosocial rehabilitation services may be provided by 

an LMHP, a QMHP, or a qualified paraprofessional under 

the supervision of a QMHP or an LMHP.  

5. The program shall operate a minimum of two continuous 

hours in a 24-hour period.  

6. Time allocated for field trips may be used to calculate 

time and units if the goal is to provide training in an 

integrated setting, and to increase the client's 

understanding or ability to access community resources.  

D. Admission to crisis intervention services is indicated 

following a marked reduction in the individual's psychiatric, 

adaptive or behavioral functioning or an extreme increase in 

personal distress.  

1. The crisis intervention services provider shall be 

licensed as a provider of outpatient services by 

DMHMRSAS DBHDS.  

2. Client-related activities provided in association with a 

face-to-face contact are reimbursable.  

3. An Individual Service Plan (ISP) shall not be required 

for newly admitted individuals to receive this service. 

Inclusion of crisis intervention as a service on the ISP shall 

not be required for the service to be provided on an 

emergency basis.  

4. For individuals receiving scheduled, short-term 

counseling as part of the crisis intervention service, an ISP 

must be developed or revised to reflect the short-term 

counseling goals by the fourth face-to-face contact.  

5. Reimbursement shall be provided for short-term crisis 

counseling contacts occurring within a 30-day period from 

the time of the first face-to-face crisis contact. Other than 

the annual service limits, there are no restrictions 

(regarding number of contacts or a given time period to be 

covered) for reimbursement for unscheduled crisis 

contacts.  

6. Crisis intervention services may be provided to eligible 

individuals outside of the clinic and billed, provided the 

provision of out-of-clinic services is 

clinically/programmatically appropriate. Travel by staff to 

provide out-of-clinic services is not reimbursable. Crisis 

intervention may involve contacts with the family or 

significant others. If other clinic services are billed at the 

same time as crisis intervention, documentation must 

clearly support the separation of the services with distinct 

treatment goals.  
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7. An LMHP, a QMHP, or a certified prescreener must 

conduct a face-to-face assessment. If the QMHP performs 

the assessment, it must be reviewed and approved by an 

LMHP or a certified prescreener within 72 hours of the 

face-to-face assessment. The assessment shall document 

the need for and the anticipated duration of the crisis 

service. Crisis intervention will be provided by an LMHP, 

a certified prescreener, or a QMHP.  

8. Crisis intervention shall not require an ISP.  

9. For an admission to a freestanding inpatient psychiatric 

facility for individuals younger than age 21, federal 

regulations (42 CFR 441.152) require certification of the 

admission by an independent team. The independent team 

must include mental health professionals, including a 

physician. Preadmission screenings cannot be billed unless 

the requirement for an independent team, with a 

physician's signature, is met.  

10. Services must be documented through daily notes and a 

daily log of time spent in the delivery of services.  

E. Case management services (pursuant to 12VAC30-50-

226).  

1. Reimbursement shall be provided only for "active" case 

management clients, as defined. An active client for case 

management shall mean an individual for whom there is a 

plan of care in effect which requires regular direct or 

client-related contacts or activity or communication with 

the client or families, significant others, service providers, 

and others including a minimum of one face-to-face client 

contact within a 90-day period. Billing can be submitted 

only for months in which direct or client-related contacts, 

activity or communications occur.  

2. The Medicaid eligible individual shall meet the 

DMHMRSAS DBHDS criteria of serious mental illness, 

serious emotional disturbance in children and adolescents, 

or youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance.  

3. There shall be no maximum service limits for case 

management services. Case management shall not be billed 

for persons in institutions for mental disease.  

4. The ISP must document the need for case management 

and be fully completed within 30 days of initiation of the 

service, and the case manager shall review the ISP every 

three months. The review will be due by the last day of the 

third month following the month in which the last review 

was completed. A grace period will be granted up to the 

last day of the fourth month following the month of the last 

review. When the review was completed in a grace period, 

the next subsequent review shall be scheduled three 

months from the month the review was due and not the 

date of actual review.  

5. The ISP shall be updated at least annually.  

6. The provider of case management services shall be 

licensed by DMHMRSAS DBHDS as a provider of case 

management services.  

F. Intensive community treatment (ICT) for adults.  

1. An assessment which documents eligibility and need for 

this service shall be completed by the LMHP or the QMHP 

prior to the initiation of services. This assessment must be 

maintained in the individual's records.  

2. An individual service plan, based on the needs as 

determined by the assessment, must be initiated at the time 

of admission and must be fully developed by the LMHP or 

the QMHP and approved by the LMHP within 30 days of 

the initiation of services.  

3. ICT may be billed if the client is brought to the facility 

by ICT staff to see the psychiatrist. Documentation must be 

present to support this intervention.  

4. The enrolled ICT provider shall be licensed by the 

DMHMRSAS DBHDS as a provider of intensive 

community services or as a program of assertive 

community treatment, and must provide and make 

available emergency services 24-hours per day, seven days 

per week, 365 days per year, either directly or on call.  

5. ICT services must be documented through a daily log of 

time spent in the delivery of services and a description of 

the activities/services provided. There must also be at least 

a weekly note documenting progress or lack of progress 

toward goals and objectives as outlined on the ISP.  

G. Crisis stabilization services.  

1. This service must be authorized following a face-to-face 

assessment by an LMHP, a certified prescreener, or a 

QMHP. This assessment must be reviewed and approved 

by a licensed mental health professional within 72 hours of 

the assessment.  

2. The assessment must document the need for crisis 

stabilization services and anticipated duration of need.  

3. The Individual Service Plan (ISP) must be developed or 

revised within 10 business days of the approved 

assessment or reassessment. The LMHP, certified 

prescreener, or QMHP shall develop the ISP.  

4. Room and board, custodial care, and general supervision 

are not components of this service.  

5. Clinic option services are not billable at the same time 

crisis stabilization services are provided with the exception 

of clinic visits for medication management. Medication 

management visits may be billed at the same time that 

crisis stabilization services are provided but documentation 

must clearly support the separation of the services with 

distinct treatment goals.  

6. Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature which puts the 

individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization.  

7. Providers of crisis stabilization shall be licensed by 

DMHMRSAS DBHDS as providers of outpatient services.  

H. Mental health support skill-building services.  
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1. At admission, an appropriate face-to-face assessment 

must be made and conducted, documented, and signed and 

dated by the LMHP or the QMHP indicating that service 

needs can best be met through mental health support 

services. The assessment must be performed by the LMHP, 

or the QMHP, and approved by the LMHP, within 30 days 

of the date of admission. The LMHP or the QMHP will 

complete the ISP within 30 days of the admission to this 

service. The ISP must indicate the specific supports and 

services to be provided and the goals and objectives to be 

accomplished. The LMHP or QMHP will supervise the 

care if delivered by the qualified paraprofessional. 

Providers shall be reimbursed one unit for each assessment 

utilizing the assessment code. Assessments shall be 

updated annually. 

2. Axis I-V of the psychiatric diagnosis shall be 

documented as part of the assessment. The LMHP 

performing the assessment shall document the primary 

Axis-I diagnosis on the assessment form. 

3. The LMHP, QMHP-A, or QMHP-C shall complete, 

sign, and date the ISP within 30 days of the admission to 

this service. The ISP shall include documentation of how 

many days per week and how many hours per week are 

required to carry out the goals in the ISP. The total time 

billed for the week shall not exceed the frequency 

established in the individual's ISP. The ISP shall include 

the dated signature of the LMHP, QMHP-A, or QMHP-C 

and the individual. The ISP shall indicate the specific 

training and services to be provided, the goals and 

objectives to be accomplished, and criteria for discharge as 

part of a discharge plan that includes the projected length 

of service.  

2. 4. Every three months, the LMHP or the QMHP must , 

QMHP-A, or QMHP-C shall review with the individual, 

modify as appropriate, and update the ISP. This review 

shall be documented in the record, as evidenced by the 

dated signatures of the LMHP, QMHP-A, or QMHP-C and 

the individual. The ISP must be rewritten at least annually.  

5. The ISP shall include discharge goals that will enable 

the individual to achieve and maintain community stability 

and independence. The ISP shall fully support the need for 

interventions over the length of the period of service 

requested from the service authorization contractor. 

6. Reauthorizations for service shall only be granted if the 

provider demonstrates to the service authorization 

contractor that the individual is benefitting from the service 

as evidenced by updates and modifications to the ISP that 

demonstrate progress toward ISP goals and objectives. 

7. If the provider knows or has reason to know of the 

individual's non-adherence to a regimen of prescribed 

medication, medication adherence shall be a goal in the 

individual's ISP. If the care is delivered by the qualified 

paraprofessional, the supervising LMHP, QMHP-A, or 

QMHP-C shall be informed of any medication regimen 

non-adherence. The LMHP, QMHP-A, or QMHP-C shall 

coordinate care with the prescribing physician regarding 

any medication regimen non-adherence concerns. The 

provider shall document the following minimum elements 

of the contact between the LMHP, QMHP-A, or QMHP-C 

and the prescribing physician: (i) name and title of caller, 

(ii) name and title of professional who was called, (iii) 

name of organization that the prescribing professional 

works for, (iv) date and time of call, (v) reason for care 

coordination call, (vi) description of medication regimen 

issue or issues that were discussed, and (vii) resolution of 

medication regimen issue or issues that were discussed. 

8. The provider shall document evidence of the individual's 

prior psychiatric services history, as required by 

12VAC30-50-226 B 6 b (3) and 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 c 

(4), by contacting the prior provider or providers of such 

health care services after obtaining written consent from 

the individual. The provider shall document the following 

minimum elements: (i) name and title of caller, (ii) name 

and title of professional who was called, (iii) name of 

organization that the professional works for, (iv) date and 

time of call, (v) specific placement provided, (vi) type of 

treatment previously provided, (vii) name of treatment 

provider, and (viii) dates of previous treatment. Family 

member statements shall not suffice to meet this 

requirement.  

9. The provider shall document evidence of the psychiatric 

medication history, as required by 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 b 

(4) and 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 c (5), by maintaining a 

photocopy of prescription information from a prescription 

bottle or by contacting a prior provider of health care 

services or pharmacy or after obtaining written consent 

from the individual. The current provider shall document 

the following minimum elements: (i) name and title of 

caller, (ii) name and title of prior professional who was 

called, (iii) name of organization that the professional 

works for, (iv) date and time of call, (v) specific 

prescription confirmed, (vi) name of prescribing physician, 

(vii) name of medication, and (viii) date of prescription.  

3. 10. Only direct face-to-face contacts and services to 

individuals an individual shall be reimbursable.  

4. 11. Any services provided to the client that are strictly 

academic in nature shall not be billable. These include, but 

are not limited to, such basic educational programs as 

instruction in reading, science, mathematics, or GED.  

5. 12. Any services provided to clients that are strictly 

vocational in nature shall not be billable. However, support 

activities and activities directly related to assisting a client 

to cope with a mental illness to the degree necessary to 

develop appropriate behaviors for operating in an overall 

work environment shall be billable.  

6. 13. Room and board, custodial care, and general 

supervision are not components of this service.  
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7. This service is not billable for individuals who reside in 

facilities where staff are expected to provide such services 

under facility licensure requirements.  

8. 14. Provider qualifications. The enrolled provider of 

mental health support skill-building services must be 

licensed by DMHMRSAS DBHDS as a provider of 

supportive in-home services, intensive community 

treatment, or as a program of assertive community 

treatment mental health skill-building services. Individuals 

employed or contracted by the provider to provide mental 

health support skill-building services must have training in 

the characteristics of mental illness and appropriate 

interventions, training strategies, and support methods for 

persons with mental illness and functional limitations. 

Mental health skill-building services shall be provided by 

either an LMHP, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHPP. The 

LMHP, QMHP-A, or QMHP-C will supervise the care 

weekly if delivered by the qualified paraprofessional. 

Documentation of supervision shall be maintained in the 

mental health skill-building services record.  

9. 15. Mental health support skill-building services, which 

may continue for up to six consecutive months, must be 

reviewed and renewed at the end of the six-month period 

of authorization by an LMHP who must document the 

continued need for the services.  

10. 16. Mental health support skill-building services must 

be documented through a daily log of time involved in the 

delivery of services and a minimum of a weekly summary 

note of services provided. The provider shall clearly 

document services provided to detail what occurred during 

the entire amount of the time billed. 

17. If mental health skill-building services are provided in 

a group home (Level A or B) or assisted living facility, 

effective July 1, 2014, there shall be a yearly limit of up to 

1040 units per fiscal year and a weekly limit of up to 20 

units per week, with at least half of each week's services 

provided outside of the group home or assisted living 

facility.  There shall be a daily limit of a maximum of five 

units.  Prior to July 1, 2014, the previous limits shall apply. 

The ISP shall not include activities that contradict or 

duplicate those in the treatment plan established by the 

group home or assisted living facility.  The provider shall 

attempt to coordinate mental health skill-building services 

with the treatment plan established by the group home or 

assisted living facility and shall document all coordination 

activities in the medical record.  

18. Limits and exclusions. 

a. Group home (Level A or B) and assisted living facility 

providers shall not serve as the mental health skill-

building services provider for individuals residing in the 

providers' respective group home or assisted living 

facility. 

b. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are receiving in-home 

residential services or congregate residential services 

through the Intellectual Disability or Individual and 

Family Developmental Disabilities support waiver. 

c. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are also receiving 

independent living skills services, the Department of 

Social Services' independent living program (22VAC40-

151-10 et seq.), independent living services (22VAC40-

151-10 et seq. and 22VAC40-131-10 et seq.), or 

independent living arrangement (22VAC40-131-10 et 

seq.) or any Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk 

Youth and Families-funded independent living skills 

programs. 

d. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who are receiving treatment 

foster care (12VAC30-130-900 et seq.). 

e. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in Intermediate Care 

Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities or 

hospitals. 

f. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in nursing facilities, 

except for up to 60 days prior to discharge. If the 

individual has not been discharged from the nursing 

facility during the 60-day period of services, mental 

health skill-building services shall be terminated and no 

further service authorizations shall be available to the 

individual unless a provider can demonstrate and 

document that mental health skill-building services are 

necessary. Such documentation shall include facts 

demonstrating a change in the individual's circumstances 

and a new plan for discharge requiring up to 60 days of 

mental health skill-building services. 

g. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available for residents of Residential Treatment Centers-

Level C facilities, except for the assessment code H0032 

(modifier U8) in the seven days immediately prior to 

discharge. 

h. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed if personal care services or attendant care 

services are being received simultaneously, unless 

justification is provided why this is necessary in the 

individual's mental health skill-building services record. 

Medical record documentation shall fully substantiate the 

need for services when personal care or attendant care 

services are being provided. This applies to individuals 

who are receiving additional services through the 

Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et 

seq.), Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 

Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-700 et seq.), and the 

Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver 

(12VAC30-120-900 et seq.) and EPSDT services 

(12VAC30-50-130).  
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i. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

duplicative of other services. Providers have a 

responsibility to ensure that if an individual is receiving 

additional therapeutic services that there will be 

coordination of services by either the LMHP, QMHP-A, 

or QMHP-C to avoid duplication of services. 

j. Individuals who have organic disorders, such as 

delirium, dementia, or other cognitive disorders not 

elsewhere classified, will be prohibited from receiving 

mental health skill-building services unless their 

physicians issue a signed and dated statement indicating 

that the individuals can benefit from this service. 

k. Individuals with disorders not identified in Axis I, 

such as personality disorders and other mental health 

disorders that may lead to chronic disability, will not be 

excluded from the mental health skill-building services 

eligibility criteria provided that the individual has a 

primary Axis-I DSM diagnosis from the list included in 

12VAC30-50-226 B 6 b (1) or 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 c 

(2) and that the provider can document and describe how 

the individual is expected to actively participate in and 

benefit from services. 

l. Except as noted in subdivision 17 of this subsection 

and in 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 d, the limits described in 

this regulation, and all others identified in 12VAC30-50-

226, shall apply to all service authorization requests 

submitted to DMAS as of the effective date of this 

regulation. As of the effective date of these regulations, 

all annual, weekly, and daily limits, and all 

reimbursement for services, shall apply to all services 

described in 12VAC30-50-226 regardless of the date 

upon which service authorization was obtained. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3451; Filed October 10, 2013, 5:32 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-50. Rules Governing New 

Annuity Mortality Tables for Use in Determining Reserve 

Liabilities for Annuities (amending 14VAC5-50-10 

through 14VAC5-50-50; adding 14VAC5-50-35).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Raquel Pino-Moreno, Principal Insurance 

Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or email raquel.pino-

moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments address the National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners' December 2012 adoption of 

the revised Model Rule for Recognizing a New Annuity 

Mortality Table for Use in Determining Reserve 

Liabilities for Annuities. The revised model adds the 

2012 Individual Annuity Reserving Mortality Table (2012 

IAR Mortality Table). The amendments include (i) adding 

the 2012 IAR Mortality Table to the list of recognized 

mortality tables; (ii) adding definitions for Period Table, 

Generational Mortality Table, 2012 IAR Mortality Table, 

2012 IAM Period Table, and Projection Scale G2; and 

(iii) establishing when and how the 2012 IAR Mortality 

Table may be used.  

The only change from the proposed version of the rules 

has been to the individual annuity or pure endowment 

contracts section (14VAC5-50-30) making the use of the 

2012 IAR Mortality Table a requirement for contracts 

issued on or after January 1, 2015, and not January 1, 

2014, as was originally proposed. The effective date of 

the amendments will be January 1, 2015.  

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 8, 2013 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2013-00127 

Ex Parte: In the matter of  

Amending the Rules Governing New  

Annuity Mortality Tables for Use in  

Determining Reserve Liabilities for Annuities 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES 

By Order to Take Notice entered June 21, 2013 ("June 21 

Order"), all interested persons were ordered to take notice that 

subsequent to August 20, 2013, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") would consider entry of an 

order to adopt amendments to rules set forth in Chapter 50 of 

Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled Rules 

Governing New Annuity Mortality Tables for Use in 

Determining Reserve Liabilities for Annuities, 14 VAC 5-50-

10 et seq. ("Rules"), which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-50-

10 through 14 VAC 5-50-50 and add a new Rule at 

14 VAC 5-50-35. These amendments were proposed by the 

Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau"). 

The June 21 Order required that on or before August 20, 

2013, any person objecting to the amendments to the Rules 

shall have filed a request for hearing with the Clerk of the 
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Commission ("Clerk").  No request for a hearing was filed 

with the Clerk.  

The June 21 Order also required all interested persons to file 

their comments in support of or in opposition to the 

amendments to the Rules on or before August 20, 2013. 

Genworth Financial timely filed comments with the Clerk, to 

which the Bureau provided a response in the form of a 

Statement of Position filed with the Clerk on September 17, 

2013.  

As a result of these comments received, the Bureau 

recommended that the proposed amendments to the Rules be 

further revised as follows: amend the Rule at 14 VAC 5-50-

30, making the use of the 2012 Individual Annuity Reserving 

Mortality Table ("2012 IAR Mortality Table") a requirement 

for contracts issued on or after January 1, 2015, and not 

January 1, 2014, as originally proposed. 

The amendments to Chapter 50 are necessary due to the 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners' adoption 

of the revised Model Rule for Recognizing a New Annuity 

Mortality Table for Use in Determining Reserve Liabilities 

for Annuities, which adds the 2012 IAR Mortality Table to 

the list of recognized mortality tables.  The revisions to 

Chapter 50 include:  (i) the addition of the 2012 IAR 

Mortality Table to the list of recognized mortality tables in 

14 VAC 5-50-10; (ii) the addition of definitions for "Period 

Table," "Generational Mortality Table," "2012 Individual 

Annuity Reserving Mortality Table" and "2012 IAR Mortality 

Table," "2012 Individual Annuity Mortality Period Life 

Table" and "2012 IAM Period Table," and "Projection Scale 

G2" and "Scale G2" in 14 VAC 5-50-20; (iii) the addition of 

language in 14 VAC 5-50-30 that sets forth when the 

2012 IAR Mortality Table shall be used; (iv) the addition of 

clarifying language in 14 VAC 5-50-40; (v) the revision of 

the formula in 14 VAC 5-50-41 that is used to calculate the 

mortality rate when applying the 1994 Group Annuity 

Reserving Table; (vi) the revision of 14 VAC 5-50-50 to 

provide consistency with other severability sections; (vii) the 

addition of 14 VAC 5-50-35, which explains the application 

of the 2012 IAR Mortality Table; and (viii) the revision of 

14 VAC 5-50-30 making the use of the 2012 IAR Mortality 

Table a requirement for contracts issued on or after January 1, 

2015, and not January 1, 2014, as originally proposed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, 

the Bureau's response to the comments, and the Bureau's 

recommendation to amend and revise the Rules, is of the 

opinion that the Rules should be adopted as amended and 

revised. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The amendments to the Rules Governing New Annuity 

Mortality Tables for Use in Determining Reserve Liabilities 

for Annuities that amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-50-10 

through 14 VAC 5-50-50 and add a new Rule at 14 VAC 5-

50-35, which are attached hereto and made a part hereof, are 

hereby ADOPTED effective January 1, 2015. 

(2) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 

the adopted, amended, and revised Rules shall be sent by the 

Clerk of the Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 

Commissioner Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall give 

further notice of the adopted, amended, and revised Rules by 

mailing a copy of this Order, including a clean copy of the 

Rules, to all life insurers, burial societies, fraternal benefit 

societies and qualified reinsurers, as well as to all interested 

parties. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

adopted, amended, and revised Rules at 14 VAC 5-50-10 

through 14 VAC 5-50-50, and new Rule at 14 VAC 5-50-35, 

to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations for 

appropriate publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached adopted, 

amended, and revised Rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk an affidavit of 

compliance with the notice requirements of Ordering 

Paragraph (2) above. 

14VAC5-50-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter (14VAC5-50-10 et seq.) is to 

recognize the following mortality tables for use in 

determining the minimum standard of valuation for annuity 

and pure endowment contracts: the 1983 Group Annuity 

Mortality (1983 GAM) Table, the 1983 Table "a," the 

Annuity 2000 Mortality Table, the 2012 Individual Annuity 

Reserving (2012 IAR) Mortality Table, and the 1994 Group 

Annuity Reserving (1994 GAR) Table.  

14VAC5-50-20. Definitions.  

As The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

(14VAC5-50-10 et seq.) shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"1983 Group Annuity Mortality Table" and "1983 GAM 

Table" mean that mortality table developed by the Society of 

Actuaries Committee on Annuities and adopted as a 

recognized mortality table for annuities in December 1983 by 

the National Association of Insurance Commissioners 

(NAIC).  

"1983 Table "a'" means that mortality table developed by the 

Society of Actuaries Committee to Recommend a New 

Mortality Basis for Individual Annuity Valuation and adopted 

as a recognized mortality table for annuities in June 1982 by 

the National Association of Insurance Commissioners NAIC.  

"1994 Group Annuity Reserving Table" and "1994 GAR 

Table" mean that mortality table developed by the Society of 

Actuaries Group Annuity Valuation Table Task Force and 

adopted as a recognized mortality table for annuities in 

December 1995 1996 by the National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners NAIC.  
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"2012 Individual Annuity Mortality Period Life Table" and 

"2012 IAM Period Table" mean the Period Table containing 

loaded mortality rates for calendar year 2012. This table 

contains rates, qx
2012

, developed by the Society of Actuaries 

Committee on Life Insurance Research. 

"2012 Individual Annuity Reserving Mortality Table" and 

"2012 IAR Mortality Table" mean that Generational 

Mortality Table developed by the Society of Actuaries 

Committee on Life Insurance Research and containing rates, 

qx
2012+n

, derived from a combination of the 2012 IAM Period 

Table and Projection Scale G2, using the methodology stated 

in 14VAC5-50-35, and adopted as a recognized mortality 

table for annuities in December 2012 by the NAIC. 

"Annuity 2000 Mortality Table" means that mortality table 

developed by the Society of Actuaries Committee on Life 

Insurance Research and adopted as a recognized mortality 

table for annuities in December 1996 by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners NAIC.  

"Generational Mortality Table" means a mortality table 

containing a set of mortality rates that decrease for a given 

age from one year to the next based on a combination of a 

Period Table and a projection scale containing rates of 

mortality improvement. 

"Period Table" means a table of mortality rates applicable to 

a given calendar year (the Period). 

"Projection Scale G2" and "Scale G2" mean a table of 

annual rates, G2x, of mortality improvement by age for 

projecting future mortality rates beyond calendar year 2012. 

This table was developed by the Society of Actuaries 

Committee on Life Insurance Research. 

14VAC5-50-30. Individual annuity or pure endowment 

contracts.  

A. Except as provided in subsections B and C of this 

section, the 1983 Table "a" is recognized and approved as an 

individual annuity mortality table for valuation and, at the 

option of the company, may be used for purposes of 

determining the minimum standard of valuation for any 

individual annuity or pure endowment contract issued on or 

after July 1, 1979.  

B. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, either 

the 1983 Table "a" or the Annuity 2000 Mortality Table shall 

be used for determining the minimum standard of valuation 

for any individual annuity or pure endowment contract issued 

on or after January 1, 1987.  

C. Except as provided in subsection D of this section, the 

Annuity 2000 Mortality Table shall be used for determining 

the minimum standard of valuation for an any individual 

annuity or a pure endowment contract issued on or after 

January 1, 1999.  

D. Except as provided in subsection E of this section, the 

2012 IAR Mortality Table shall be used for determining the 

minimum standard of valuation for any individual annuity or 

pure endowment contract issued on or after January 1, [ 2014 

2015 ].  

E. The 1983 Table "a" without projection is to be used for 

determining the minimum standards of valuation for an 

individual annuity or pure endowment contract issued on or 

after January 1, 1999, solely when the contract is based on 

life contingencies and is issued to fund periodic benefits 

arising from:  

1. Settlements of various forms of claims pertaining to 

court settlements or out of court settlements from tort 

actions;  

2. Settlements involving similar actions such as workers' 

compensation claims; or  

3. Settlements of long-term disability claims where a 

temporary or life annuity has been used in lieu of 

continuing disability payments.  

14VAC5-50-35. Application of the 2012 IAR Mortality 

Table. 

In using the 2012 IAR Mortality Table, the mortality rate for 

a person age x in year (2012 + n) is calculated as follows: 

qx
2012+n

 = qx
2012

(1 – G2x)
n
  

The resulting qx
2012+n

 shall be rounded to three decimal 

places per 1,000 (e.g., 0.741 deaths per 1,000). Also, the 

rounding shall occur according to the formula above, starting 

at the 2012 Period Table rate. 

For example, for a male age 30, qx
2012

 = 0.741. 

qx
2013

 = 0.741 * (1 – 0.010) ^ 1 = 0.73359, which is rounded 

to 0.734. 

qx
2014

 = 0.741 * (1 – 0.010) ^ 2 = 0.7262541, which is 

rounded to 0.726. 

A method leading to incorrect rounding would be to 

calculate qx
2014

 as qx
2013

 * (1 – 0.010), or 0.734 * 0.99 = 

0.727. It is incorrect to use the already rounded qx
2013

 to 

calculate qx
2014

. 

14VAC5-50-40. Group annuity or pure endowment 

contracts.  

A. Except as provided in subsections B and C of this 

section, the 1983 GAM Table, 1983 Table "a," and the 1994 

GAR Table are recognized and approved as group annuity 

mortality tables for valuation and, at the option of the 

company, any one of these tables may be used for purposes of 

valuation for any annuity or a pure endowment purchased on 

or after July 1, 1979, under a group annuity or pure 

endowment contract.  

B. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, either 

the 1983 GAM Table or the 1994 GAR Table shall be used 

for determining the minimum standard of valuation for any 

annuity or a pure endowment purchased on or after January 1, 

1987, under a group annuity or pure endowment contract.  

C. The 1994 GAR Table shall be used for determining the 

minimum standard of valuation for any annuity or a pure 
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endowment purchased on or after January 1, 1999, under a 

group annuity or pure endowment contract.  

14VAC5-50-41. Application of the 1994 GAR Table.  

In using the 1994 GAR Table, the mortality rate for a person 

age x in year (1994 + n) is calculated as follows:  

qx1994+n = qx1994(1 - AAx)n qx
1994+n 

= qx
1994

(1 – AAx)
n
 

where the qx1994's qx
1994 

and AAx's AAx are as specified in 

the 1994 GAR Table.  

14VAC5-50-50. Severability.  

If any provision of this chapter (14VAC5-50-10 et seq.), or 

the its application thereof to any person or circumstances 

circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by a court, 

the remainder of the this chapter and the application of such 

provision the provisions to other persons or circumstances 

shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3704; Filed October 9, 2013, 2:27 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-260).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 2, 2013 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Board Room 4, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 3, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

authority for the Board for Contractors to promulgate 

regulations for the licensure of contractors in the 

Commonwealth. 

Purpose: The proposed amendments address board concerns 

to increase consumer awareness about the existence of the 

Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund. Amending 

these regulations offers an extra layer of protection to the 

health, safety, and welfare of the general public. Also, the 

intent of the planned regulatory action is to review the 

existing regulations and propose amendments to empower the 

board to take disciplinary action against licensees who fail to 

comply with such amendments. 

Substance: 18VAC50-22-260 outlines the board's prohibited 

acts, which includes contract provision requirements. The 

proposed amendments will expand the terms of the written 

contract requirements for residential contracting specified 

within the board's regulations. 

Issues: The change includes a requirement that language be 

added to all residential contracts notifying consumers of the 

existence of the Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery 

Fund and adds information on how to contact the board for 

claim information. This change is advantageous to the 

consumer as it provides pertinent information regarding a 

level of protection, currently in the statutes, but often not 

known to consumers. The addition of contact information 

gives direction to consumers, who can then contact Virginia 

Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund staff for assistance in 

filing a claim or in determining eligibility.  

In amending the regulations, the Board for Contractors is 

continuing to provide necessary public protection tasked to 

them through existing statutes. The proposed amendment will 

increase consumer awareness about the existence of the 

Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund and offer an 

extra layer of protection to the health, safety, and welfare of 

the general public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Contractors (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulations to require that a statement notifying consumers of 

the existence of the Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery 

Fund that includes information on how to contact the Board 

for claim information be included in all written contracts for 

residential contracting services.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations include a 

list of nine specific elements that must be in each written 

contract for residential contractor projects. The Board 

proposes to amend this list to also require contractors to 

include a statement informing consumers of the existence of 

the Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund and how 

to contact the Board for claim information. Board staff 

reports that this recovery fund is a fund that contractors 

customers can apply to for reimbursement of monies paid to 

contractors for work that the contractors then utterly failed to 

do or does so inadequately that their customers find it 

necessary to try and recover their money. 

Board staff reports that the claims against the recovery fund 

are a last resort solution for customers after they have sought 

relief in civil court and have tried to recover their money 

directly from their contractor through, for example, filing 

liens. Only after other possible solutions have been exhausted 

would individuals then be able to apply to this recovery fund 

to get their money back (up to the statutory limit of $20,000). 

The recovery fund is funded through monies collected from 
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contractors upon initial licensure ($25) and when licensure is 

renewed ($50 biennially). Since 2003, 1,390 claims have been 

filed against the recovery fund and $14,408,062 has been paid 

out (average claim of $10,365.51). Board staff also reports 

that the Board can get back some or all of the money from 

claims if the claimant later is able to recover money directly 

from their contractor. 

Adding the proposed required language to written contracts 

may cost contractors a likely small amount initially to reprint 

existing contracts with the added required language or to print 

an addendum that includes the required language. This should 

be a onetime cost, however, and would not be expected to be 

ongoing once the language is part of their base contract. 

Contracting customers will benefit from the additional 

disclosure of existence of the recovery fund and their right to 

access it. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that, as 

of February 1, 2013, there are 65,274 contractors that have 

either a Class A, B or C license in the Commonwealth and 

that the overwhelming majority of contractors qualify as 

small businesses. All of these individuals, plus their 

customers, will likely be affected by this proposed regulatory 

change.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The use and 

value of private property is unlikely to be affected by this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Affected small 

businesses may incur some small additional printing costs 

initially on account of this regulatory change but are unlikely 

to incur any recurring costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternative methods that 

would both further minimize any adverse impact and meet the 

Boards goal of better informing contracting customers of the 

recovery fund and their right to access it. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Contractors concurs with the economic impact analysis 

conducted by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment requires language to be added 

to all written contracts for residential contracting services 

that (i) notifies consumers of the existence of the Virginia 

Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund and (ii) includes 

information on how to contact the Board for Contractors 

for claim information. 

18VAC50-22-260. Filing of charges; prohibited acts.  

A. All complaints against contractors may be filed with the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation at 

any time during business hours, pursuant to § 54.1-1114 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

B. The following are prohibited acts:  

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board.  

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license.  

3. Failure of the responsible management, designated 

employee, or qualified individual to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a contractor 

license by another state or conviction in a court of 

competent jurisdiction of a building code violation.  

4. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement 

relating to contracting which contains an assertion, 

representation, or statement of fact that is false, deceptive, 

or misleading.  

5. Negligence and/or incompetence in the practice of 

contracting.  

6. Misconduct in the practice of contracting.  
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7. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 

practice of contracting by a court of competent jurisdiction 

or by the board.  

8. Failure of all those who engage in residential 

contracting, excluding subcontractors to the contracting 

parties and those who engage in routine maintenance or 

service contracts, to make use of a legible written contract 

clearly specifying the terms and conditions of the work to 

be performed. For the purposes of this chapter, residential 

contracting means construction, removal, repair, or 

improvements to single-family or multiple-family 

residential buildings, including accessory-use structures as 

defined in § 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia. Prior to 

commencement of work or acceptance of payments, the 

contract shall be signed by both the consumer and the 

licensee or his agent.  

9. Failure of those engaged in residential contracting as 

defined in this chapter to comply with the terms of a 

written contract which contains the following minimum 

requirements:  

a. When work is to begin and the estimated completion 

date;  

b. A statement of the total cost of the contract and the 

amounts and schedule for progress payments including a 

specific statement on the amount of the down payment;  

c. A listing of specified materials and work to be 

performed, which is specifically requested by the 

consumer;  

d. A "plain-language" exculpatory clause concerning 

events beyond the control of the contractor and a 

statement explaining that delays caused by such events 

do not constitute abandonment and are not included in 

calculating time frames for payment or performance;  

e. A statement of assurance that the contractor will 

comply with all local requirements for building permits, 

inspections, and zoning;  

f. Disclosure of the cancellation rights of the parties;  

g. For contracts resulting from a door-to-door 

solicitation, a signed acknowledgment by the consumer 

that he has been provided with and read the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation statement of 

protection available to him through the Board for 

Contractors;  

h. Contractor's name, address, license number, class of 

license, and classifications or specialty services; and  

i. Statement A statement providing that any modification 

to the contract, which changes the cost, materials, work 

to be performed, or estimated completion date, must be 

in writing and signed by all parties.; and 

j. A statement notifying consumers of the existence of the 

Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund that 

includes information on how to contact the board for 

claim information. 

10. Failure to make prompt delivery to the consumer 

before commencement of work of a fully executed copy of 

the contract as described in subdivisions 8 and 9 of this 

subsection for construction or contracting work.  

11. Failure of the contractor to maintain for a period of five 

years from the date of contract a complete and legible copy 

of all documents relating to that contract, including, but not 

limited to, the contract and any addenda or change orders.  

12. Refusing or failing, upon request, to produce to the 

board, or any of its agents, any document, book, record, or 

copy of it in the licensee's possession concerning a 

transaction covered by this chapter or for which the 

licensee is required to maintain records.  

13. Failing to respond to an agent of the board or providing 

false, misleading or incomplete information to an 

investigator seeking information in the investigation of a 

complaint filed with the board against the contractor. 

Failing or refusing to claim certified mail sent to the 

licensee's address of record shall constitute a violation of 

this regulation. 

14. Abandonment defined as the unjustified cessation of 

work under the contract for a period of 30 days or more.  

15. The intentional and unjustified failure to complete 

work contracted for and/or to comply with the terms in the 

contract.  

16. The retention or misapplication of funds paid, for 

which work is either not performed or performed only in 

part.  

17. Making any misrepresentation or making a false 

promise that might influence, persuade, or induce.  

18. Assisting another to violate any provision of Chapter 

1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this chapter; or 

combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or 

associate for another.  

19. Allowing a firm's license to be used by another.  

20. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for 

undisclosed persons who do or will control or direct, 

directly or indirectly, the operations of the licensee's 

business.  

21. Action by the firm, responsible management as defined 

in this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

to offer, give, or promise anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing the construction 

industry.  

22. Where the firm, responsible management as defined in 

this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 
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has been convicted or found guilty, after initial licensure, 

regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction, of any 

felony or of any misdemeanor, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  

23. Failure to inform the board in writing, within 30 days, 

that the firm, a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter, its designated employee, or its 

qualified individual has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere 

or was convicted and found guilty of any felony or of a 

Class 1 misdemeanor or any misdemeanor conviction for 

activities carried out while engaged in the practice of 

contracting.  

24. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 

any state or federal governing body including action by the 

Virginia Department of Health, which action shall be 

reviewed by the board before it takes any disciplinary 

action of its own.  

25. Failure to abate a violation of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code, as amended.  

26. Failure of a contractor to comply with the notification 

requirements of the Virginia Underground Utility 

Prevention Act, Chapter 10.3 (§ 56-265.14 et seq.) of Title 

56 of the Code of Virginia (Miss Utility).  

27. Practicing in a classification, specialty service, or class 

of license for which the contractor is not licensed.  

28. Failure to satisfy any judgments.  

29. Contracting with an unlicensed or improperly licensed 

contractor or subcontractor in the delivery of contracting 

services.  

30. Failure to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty.  

31. Failure to obtain written change orders, which are 

signed by both the consumer and the licensee or his agent, 

to an already existing contract.  

32. Failure to ensure that supervision, as defined in this 

chapter, is provided to all helpers and laborers assisting 

licensed tradesman.  

33. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable 

inspection, where required. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3390; Filed October 15, 2013, 3:36 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-15. Regulations Governing 

the Disciplinary Process (adding 18VAC60-15-10, 

18VAC60-15-20). 

18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing Dental Practice 

(repealing 18VAC60-20-10 through 18VAC60-20-352). 

18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dentistry (adding 18VAC60-21-10 through 18VAC60-21-

430). 

18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Hygiene (adding 18VAC60-25-10 through 

18VAC60-25-210). 

18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Assistants II (adding 18VAC60-30-10 through 

18VAC60-30-170).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 10, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Perimeter Building 

Conference Center, 2nd Floor, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Henrico VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 11, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4538, FAX (804) 527-

4428, or email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. Specific regulatory 

authority for the Board of Dentistry is found in Chapter 27 

(§ 54.1-2700et seq.) of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: All regulations for dentists, dental hygienists, and 

dental assistants are currently found in one chapter, 

18VAC60-20. The purpose of this action is to reorganize the 

regulation to create a new chapter with common provisions 

regarding the disciplinary process and three new chapters, one 

for each of the professions regulated: dentists, dental 

hygienists, and dental assistants II. More specifically: 

1. The two proposed sections of 18VAC60-15 set out 

provisions for recovery of disciplinary costs in a case in 

which there is a finding of a violation and for 

establishment of criteria for delegation of informal fact-

finding proceedings to an agency subordinate. The 

proposed regulations are intended to facilitate the 

disciplinary process so cases can be adjudicated in a 

more timely and cost-effective manner. Assessment of 

costs for violations may deter unprofessional conduct 

that is detrimental to the health and safety of dental 

patients. 

2. 18VAC60-21 is a reorganization and restatement of 

current requirements for licensure and practice for 

dentists. Such requirements are necessary to ensure the 

health and safety of dental patients, while assuring 

appropriate access to care by dentists.  

3. 18VAC60-25 is a reorganization and restatement of 

current requirements for licensure and practice for dental 

hygienists. Such requirements are necessary to ensure the 

health and safety of dental patients, while assuring 

appropriate access to care by dental hygienists.  
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4. 18VAC60-30 contains the provisions for registration 

and practice regarding dental assistants II (DAII). To 

ensure the services can be safely provided by a DAII, the 

regulation specifies the minimal competency that a dental 

assistant must demonstrate to be registered and 

authorized to perform expanded duties. Qualifications 

include specified hours of didactic education, clinical 

training, and experience and examination in modules for 

the performance of specific duties delegated under direct 

supervision. While the applicant will have to demonstrate 

clinical knowledge and skills to be registered as a DAII, 

the dentist will have to be present in the facility, will 

have to examine the patient both before and after 

treatment by a DAII, and will remain responsible for the 

care of the patient. Such requirements are necessary to 

ensure the health and safety of dental patients, while 

increasing the number of qualified dental personnel and 

access to care. 

Substance: 18VAC60-15 provides for the recovery of 

disciplinary costs in a case in which there is a finding of a 

violation and for establishment of criteria for delegation of 

informal fact-finding to an agency subordinate. The 

provisions in current 18VAC60-20 that are applicable to the 

licensure and practice of dentists and oral and maxillofacial 

surgeons are included in new 18VAC60-21. There are no 

substantive changes to these regulations, as amended by 

emergency action pursuant to Chapter 526 of the 2011 Acts 

of the Assembly requiring the Board of Dentistry to revise its 

regulations for issuance of permits for dentists who provide 

or administer conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation or 

general anesthesia in a dental office. The provisions in current 

18VAC60-20 that are applicable to the registration and 

practice of dental hygienists and dental assistants II are 

included in new 18VAC60-25 for dental hygienists and in 

18VAC60-30 for dental assistants II. There are no substantive 

changes to the current regulations governing dental hygienists 

or dental assistants II.  

Issues:  

1. 18VAC60-15: The primary advantage of the 

amendments to the public is the potential to reduce 

expenditures of the board and its licensees for the 

investigation and monitoring by assessing a licensee or 

registrant who has violated law or regulation a portion of 

the costs the board incurred. Offsetting expenditures 

relating to discipline will have a positive effect on the 

board's budget and may result in stability in fees charged 

to licensees and registrants, which in turn benefits 

patients of those licensees and registrants. The ability to 

delegate non-patient care cases to an agency subordinate 

allows the board to expedite some disciplinary 

proceedings and meet agency goals for case resolution. 

There are no disadvantages to the public, the agency, or 

the Commonwealth. 

2. 18VAC60-21: Regulations for the practice of dentistry 

are necessary to assure minimal competency in the 

provision of dental services that protect public health and 

safety. There are no substantive new regulations, but 

reorganization and clarification should make current 

requirements more understandable and encourage 

compliance. There should be no disadvantages to the 

public. Specificity about practice and qualifications 

should allow board staff to direct persons with questions 

about those issues to the regulations. There are no 

disadvantages of these provisions to the agency or the 

Commonwealth; registration is required by law.  

3. 18VAC60-25: Regulations for the practice of dental 

hygiene establish the qualifications for licensure and 

standards of practice. There are advantages to the public 

if those standards and requirements are reasonable and 

clearly stated, so practitioners and consumers understand 

the scope of practice of a hygienist. There should be no 

disadvantages. Specificity about direction and the levels 

of supervision should allow board staff to direct persons 

with questions about those issues to the regulations. 

There are no disadvantages of these provisions to the 

agency or the Commonwealth; licensure is required by 

law.  

4. 18VAC60-30: Regulations for dental assistants II 

became effective March 2, 2011. In promulgating those 

regulations, the agency stated that the primary advantage 

to the public is more accessibility for dental care by 

persons who are qualified by education, training, and 

examination to perform certain restorative and prosthetic 

dental functions. The ability of dental practices to 

provide services to populations of patients is enhanced 

with dental assistants II and with an increase in the ratio 

of dentists to dental hygienists and/or dental assistants II 

from two per dentist to four per dentist. To the extent 

dental assistants acquire the additional qualifications and 

credentials for expanded functions as a dental assistant II, 

the regulation has the potential to improve accessibility 

and reduce costs. If dental assistants II are appropriately 

trained and clinically competent, and if the dentist 

provides direct supervision as specified in regulation, 

there should be no disadvantages. Specificity about 

direction and the levels of supervision should allow 

board staff to direct persons with questions about those 

issues to the regulations. There are no disadvantages of 

these provisions to the agency or the Commonwealth; 

registration is required by law.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to periodic review requirements, the Board of 

Dentistry (Board) proposes to repeal its regulatory chapter 

governing all dental practices (18VAC60-20) and replace it 

with four regulatory chapters: Regulations Governing the 
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Disciplinary Process (18VAC60-15), Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (18VAC60-21), Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Dental Hygiene (18VAC60-25) and 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental Assistants II 

(18VAC60-30). All changes in these replacement regulations 

are clarifying in nature except for the requirements in the 

regulations for disciplinary practices (18VAC60-15), which 

are identical to requirements already proposed in an earlier 

regulatory action that is in its final stage, and for the 

requirements for administration of moderate and deep 

sedation in dental practices and for permitting of dentists that 

administer moderate or deep sedation. Requirements for 

moderate and deep sedation in proposed 18VAC60-21 are 

identical to those in an earlier regulatory action that is in an 

Emergency/NOIRA stage in the Governor's office. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing most of these proposed changes. For some 

changes in these regulations, there is insufficient information 

at this time to accurately measure benefits against costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulatory chapter 

governs all aspects of dental services; including licensure of 

dentists, licensure of dental hygienists, licensure of dental 

assistants II and all disciplinary criteria. The length of this 

chapter has, however, gotten unwieldy over the years. 

Because of this, the Board now proposes to repeal 18VAC60-

20 and replace it with regulatory chapters for each profession 

(18VAC60-21, 18VAC60-25 and 18VAC60-30) as well as a 

separate chapter that lays out the disciplinary process 

(18VAC60-15). In addition to partitioning the requirements in 

current dental regulations, the Board proposes to make many 

amendments to regulatory text. With the exception of 

18VAC60-15, which contains new language allowing the 

Board to recover certain disciplinary costs, and new 

requirements that dentists who administer moderate or deep 

sedation get and maintain a sedation permit from the Board, 

all proposed changes to these regulations are clarifying in 

nature. No affected entity is likely to incur any additional 

costs on account of either this regulatory reorganization or the 

included clarifying changes. Affected entities will, however, 

benefit from changes that make particular requirements easier 

to find and from language changes that make regulatory text 

easier to understand. 

Pursuant to Chapter 89 of the 2009 Acts of the Assembly, the 

Board proposes 18VAC60-15. This regulatory chapter, and 

the legislation that preceded it, allow the Board to recover up 

to $5,000 for investigation and monitoring costs in 

disciplinary cases in which there is a finding of a violation. 

Licensees who are investigated and who are found to have 

violated Board regulations may incur costs up to $5,000. 

Other Board licensees will likely benefit from these 

regulatory changes because cost recovery by the Board will 

help mitigate the need for increased fees in the future. The 

public is also likely to benefit from dentists (and other 

professionals) who violate the rules having to more directly 

bear the costs of those violations as this will be more likely to 

cause these professionals to refrain from violations in the 

future. 

Finally, pursuant to Chapter 526 of the 2011 Acts of the 

Assembly, the Board proposes new requirements that dentists 

who administer moderate or deep sedation get and keep a 

sedation permit. Proposed regulations also require that 

sedation permits be posted, along with all relevant licenses, in 

a prominent location in a dentist's office. Board staff reports 

that training for sedation administration is already required 

and is not changed in these proposed regulations. Therefore, 

the only new costs that dentists are likely to incur are the 

required permits fees. Dentists will incur a fee of $100 for 

their initial sedation permits. These permits will have to be 

renewed by the 31st of March each year and the renewal fee 

will also be $100. Dentists fail to renew their permits on time 

will also incur a $35 late fee. The legislature and the Board 

both anticipate that requiring sedation permits will decrease 

the chance that patients will experience health issues on 

account of improperly administered or monitored sedation. 

Since these regulations are not yet in effect, there is no 

information available on the magnitude of possible benefits 

that might accrue on account of fewer adverse outcomes for 

patients. Therefore, there is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether any benefits will outweigh the costs of 

obtaining permits that dentists will incur.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports that the Board currently regulates 

6,471 dentists, 3 dental teachers, 9 full time faculty, 231 

maxillofacial surgeons, 5,136 dental hygienists and 1 dental 

assistant II. All of these individuals, as well as their patients, 

will be affected by these proposed regulations.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to have any 

significant effect on the use or value of private property in the 

Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small business 

dentists will likely incur costs for gaining sedation permits. 

The fee for initial permitting is $100. The annual renewal fee 

for permits is also $100 and the fee for late renewal is $35.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is likely no alternate method of 

regulation that would both further lower costs and achieve the 

Board's aims.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
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regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to a periodic review, the Board of Dentistry 

proposes to repeal its regulatory chapter governing all 

dental practices (18VAC60-20) and replace it with four 

regulatory chapters: Regulations Governing the 

Disciplinary Process (18VAC60-15), Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Dentistry (18VAC60-21), 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental Hygiene 

(18VAC60-25), and Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Assistants II (18VAC60-30). All changes in these 

replacement regulations are clarifying in nature except for 

the requirements for the administration of 

conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation, and general 

anesthesia in dental practices and for the permitting of 

dentists who administer conscious/moderate sedation, deep 

sedation, and general anesthesia, which are currently 

effective as an emergency regulation. 

CHAPTER 15 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE DISCIPLINARY 

PROCESS 

18VAC60-15-10. Recovery of disciplinary costs. 

A. Assessment of cost for investigation of a disciplinary 

case. 

1. In any disciplinary case in which there is a finding of a 

violation against a licensee or registrant, the board may 

assess the hourly costs relating to investigation of the case 

by the Enforcement Division of the Department of Health 

Professions and, if applicable, the costs for hiring an expert 

witness and reports generated by such witness. 

2. The imposition of recovery costs relating to an 

investigation shall be included in the order from an 

informal or formal proceeding or part of a consent order 

agreed to by the parties. The schedule for payment of 

investigative costs imposed shall be set forth in the order.  

3. At the end of each fiscal year, the board shall calculate 

the average hourly cost for enforcement that is chargeable 

to investigation of complaints filed against its regulants 

and shall state those costs in a guidance document to be 

used in imposition of recovery costs. The average hourly 

cost multiplied times the number of hours spent in 

investigating the specific case of a respondent shall be used 

in the imposition of recovery costs. 

B. Assessment of cost for monitoring a licensee or 

registrant. 

1. In any disciplinary case in which there is a finding of a 

violation against a licensee or registrant and in which terms 

and conditions have been imposed, the costs for 

monitoring of a licensee or registrant may be charged and 

shall be calculated based on the specific terms and 

conditions and the length of time the licensee or registrant 

is to be monitored. 

2. The imposition of recovery costs relating to monitoring 

for compliance shall be included in the board order from an 

informal or formal proceeding or part of a consent order 

agreed to by the parties. The schedule for payment of 

monitoring costs imposed shall be set forth in the order. 

3. At the end of each fiscal year, the board shall calculate 

the average costs for monitoring of certain terms and 

conditions, such as acquisition of continuing education, 

and shall set forth those costs in a guidance document to be 

used in the imposition of recovery costs. 

C. Total of assessment. In accordance with § 54.1-2708.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, the total of recovery costs for 

investigating and monitoring a licensee or registrant shall not 

exceed $5,000, but shall not include the fee for inspection of 

dental offices and returned checks as set forth in 18VAC60-

21-40 or collection costs incurred for delinquent fines and 

fees. 

18VAC60-15-20. Criteria for delegation of informal fact-

finding proceedings to an agency subordinate. 

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with subdivision 10 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code, the board may delegate an 

informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate at 

the time a determination is made that probable cause exists 

that a practitioner may be subject to a disciplinary action. If 

delegation to a subordinate is not recommended at the time of 

the probable cause determination, delegation may be 

approved by the president of the board or his designee. 
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B. Criteria for an agency subordinate.  

1. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to 

conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding may include 

current or past board members and professional staff or 

other persons deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their 

training and experience in administrative proceedings 

involving the regulation and discipline of health 

professionals.  

2. The executive director shall maintain a list of 

appropriately qualified persons to whom an informal fact-

finding proceeding may be delegated.  

3. The board may delegate to the executive director the 

selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 

appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on 

the qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case 

being heard. 

CHAPTER 21 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF 

DENTISTRY 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC60-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

"Maxillofacial" 

"Oral and maxillofacial surgeon" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"ADA" means the American Dental Association. 

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given 

to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by 

a dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or 

associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his 

facility by any means or method for the purpose of 

inducing purchase, sale, or use of dental methods, services, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products, or to 

promote continued or increased use of such dental 

methods, treatments, operations, procedures, or products. 

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain in 

the conscious patient. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

of the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Conscious/moderate sedation" means a drug-induced 

depression of consciousness, during which patients 

respond purposefully to verbal commands, either alone or 

accompanied by light tactile stimulation. No interventions 

are required to maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous 

ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular function is usually 

maintained.  

"Deep sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness during which patients cannot be easily 

aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or 

painful stimulation. The ability to independently maintain 

ventilatory function may be impaired. Patients may require 

assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and spontaneous 

ventilation may be inadequate. Cardiovascular function is 

usually maintained. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual 

serving in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical 

capacity. 

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction 

and direct supervision of a dentist who is registered by the 

board to perform reversible, intraoral procedures as 

specified in 18VAC60-21-150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Direct supervision" means that the dentist examines the 

patient and records diagnostic findings prior to delegating 

restorative or prosthetic treatment and related services to a 

dental assistant II for completion the same day or at a later 

date. The dentist prepares the tooth or teeth to be restored 

and remains immediately available in the office to the 

dental assistant II for guidance or assistance during the 

delivery of treatment and related services. The dentist 

examines the patient to evaluate the treatment and services 

before the patient is dismissed. 

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., immediate, 

direct, indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to 

exercise with a dental hygienist, a dental assistant I, or a 

dental assistant II or that a dental hygienist is required to 

exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 

delivery of treatment and related services. 

"Enteral" means any technique of administration in which 

the agent is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract or 

oral mucosa (i.e., oral, rectal, or sublingual). 

"General anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of 

consciousness during which patients are not arousable, 

even by painful stimulation. The ability to independently 

maintain ventilatory function is often impaired. Patients 

often require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and 

positive pressure ventilation may be required because of 

depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced 
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depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular 

function may be impaired. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist 

during one or more subsequent appointments when the 

dentist may or may not be present. Issuance of the order 

authorizes the dental hygienist to supervise a dental 

assistant performing duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Immediate supervision" means the dentist is in the 

operatory to supervise the administration of sedation or 

provision of treatment. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a 

dental hygienist or a dental assistant who is (i) delivering 

hygiene treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for 

examination or treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing 

the patient for dismissal following treatment. 

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which 

a gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary 

effect is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed. 

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Minimal sedation" means a minimally depressed level of 

consciousness, produced by a pharmacological method, 

which retains the patient's ability to independently and 

continuously maintain an airway and respond normally to 

tactile stimulation and verbal command. Although 

cognitive function and coordination may be modestly 

impaired, ventilatory and cardiovascular functions are 

unaffected.  

"Mobile dental facility" means a self-contained unit in 

which dentistry is practiced that is not confined to a single 

building and can be transported from one location to 

another. 

"Moderate sedation" (see the definition of 

conscious/moderate sedation). 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and 

record appropriate physiologic functions of the body 

during sedative procedures and general anesthesia 

appropriate to the level of sedation as provided in Part VI 

(18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular).  

"Portable dental operation" means a nonfacility in which 

dental equipment used in the practice of dentistry is 

transported to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-

of-office location, including patients' homes, schools, 

nursing homes, or other institutions. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral radiographic 

images of hard and soft tissues used for purposes of 

diagnosis.  

"Topical oral anesthestic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral 

cavity insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

18VAC60-21-20. Address of record. 

Each licensed dentist shall provide the board with a current 

address of record. All required notices and correspondence 

mailed by the board to any such licensee shall be validly 

given when mailed to the address of record on file with the 

board. Each licensee may also provide a different address to 

be used as the public address, but if a second address is not 

provided, the address of record shall be the public address. 

All changes of address shall be furnished to the board in 

writing within 30 days of such changes. 

18VAC60-21-30. Posting requirements. 

A. A dentist who is practicing under a firm name or who is 

practicing as an employee of another dentist is required by 

§ 54.1-2720 of the Code to conspicuously display his name at 

the entrance of the office. The employing dentist, firm, or 

company must enable compliance by designating a space at 

the entrance of the office for the name to be displayed.  

B. In accordance with § 54.1-2721 of the Code a dentist 

shall display a license where it is conspicuous and readable 

by patients in each dental practice setting. If a licensee 

practices in more than one office, a duplicate license obtained 

from the board may be displayed. 

C. A dentist who administers, prescribes, or dispenses 

Schedules II through V controlled substances shall display his 

current registration with the federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration with his current active license.  

D. A dentist who administers conscious/moderate sedation, 

deep sedation, or general anesthesia in a dental office shall 

display his sedation or anesthesia permit issued by the board. 

18VAC60-21-40. Required fees. 

A. Application/registration fees. 

1. Dental license by examination $400 

2. Dental license by credentials  $500 

3. Dental restricted teaching license  $285 

4. Dental teacher's license  $285 

5. Dental full-time faculty license $285 

6. Dental temporary resident's license $60 

7. Restricted volunteer license $25 
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8. Volunteer exemption registration $10 

9. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $175 

10. Cosmetic procedures certification $225 

11. Mobile clinic/portable operation $250 

12. Conscious/moderate sedation permit $100 

13. Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit $100 

B. Renewal fees. 

1. Dental license - active $285 

2. Dental license - inactive  $145 

3. Dental temporary resident's license $35 

4. Restricted volunteer license  $15 

5. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $175 

6. Cosmetic procedures certification  $100 

7. Conscious/moderate sedation permit $100 

8. Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit $100 

C. Late fees. 

1. Dental license - active  $100 

2. Dental license - inactive  $50 

3. Dental temporary resident's license  $15 

4. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $55 

5. Cosmetic procedures certification  $35 

6. Conscious/moderate sedation permit $35 

7. Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit $35 

D. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Dental license - expired $500 

2. Dental license - suspended $750 

3. Dental license - revoked $1000 

4. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration $350 

5. Cosmetic procedures certification  $225 

E. Document fees. 

1. Duplicate wall certificate $60 

2. Duplicate license $20 

3. License certification $35 

F. Other fees. 

1. Returned check fee $35 

2. Practice inspection fee  $350 

G. No fee will be refunded or applied for any purpose other 

than the purpose for which the fee is submitted.  

Part II 

Standards of Practice 

18VAC60-21-50. Scope of practice. 

A. A dentist shall only treat based on a bona fide dentist-

patient relationship for medicinal or therapeutic purposes 

within the course of his professional practice consistent with 

the definition of dentistry in § 54.1-2710 of the Code, the 

provisions for controlled substances in the Drug Control Act 

(Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code), 

and the general provisions for health practitioners in the 

Code. A bona fide dentist-patient relationship is established 

when examination and diagnosis of a patient is initiated. 

B. For the purpose of prescribing controlled substances, the 

bona fide dentist-patient relationship shall be established in 

accordance with § 54.1-3303 of the Code. 

18VAC60-21-60. General responsibilities to patients. 

A. A dentist is responsible for conducting his practice in a 

manner that safeguards the safety, health, and welfare of his 

patients and the public by: 

1. Maintaining a safe and sanitary practice, including 

containing or isolating pets away from the treatment areas 

of the dental practice. An exception shall be made for a 

service dog trained to accompany its owner or handler for 

the purpose of carrying items, retrieving objects, pulling a 

wheelchair, alerting the owner or handler to medical 

conditions, or other such activities of service or support 

necessary to mitigate a disability. 

2. Consulting with or referring patients to other 

practitioners with specialized knowledge, skills, and 

experience when needed to safeguard and advance the 

health of the patient. 

3. Treating according to the patient's desires only to the 

extent that such treatment is within the bounds of accepted 

treatment and only after the patient has been given a 

treatment recommendation and an explanation of the 

acceptable alternatives.  

4. Only delegating patient care and exposure of dental x-

rays to qualified, properly trained and supervised personnel 

as authorized in Part III (18VAC60-21-110 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

5. Giving patients at least 30 days written notice of a 

decision to terminate the dentist-patient relationship.  

6. Knowing the signs of abuse and neglect and reporting 

suspected cases to the proper authorities consistent with 

state law. 

7. Accurately representing to a patient and the public the 

materials or methods and techniques to be used in 

treatment.  
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B. A dentist is responsible for conducting his financial 

responsibilities to patients and third party payers in an ethical 

and honest manner by: 

1. Maintaining a listing of customary fees and representing 

all fees being charged clearly and accurately. 

2. Making a full and fair disclosure to his patient of all 

terms and considerations before entering into a payment 

agreement for services.  

3. Not obtaining, attempting to obtain, or cooperating with 

others in obtaining payment for services by 

misrepresenting procedures performed, dates of service, or 

status of treatment. 

4. Making a full and fair disclosure to his patient of any 

financial incentives he received for promoting or selling 

products.  

5. Not exploiting the dentist-patient relationship for 

personal gain related in nondental transactions. 

18VAC60-21-70. Unprofessional practice. 

A. A dentist shall not commit any act that violates 

provisions of the Code that reasonably relate to the practice of 

dentistry and dental hygiene, including but not limited to:  

1. Delegating any service or operation that requires the 

professional competence or judgment of a dentist or dental 

hygienist to any person who is not a licensed dentist or 

dental hygienist.  

2. Knowingly or negligently violating any applicable 

statute or regulation governing ionizing radiation in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, including but not limited to 

current regulations promulgated by the Virginia 

Department of Health.  

3. Unauthorized use or disclosure of confidential 

information received from the Prescription Monitoring 

Program. 

4. Failing to maintain and dispense scheduled drugs as 

authorized by the Virginia Drug Control Act (Chapter 34 

(§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code) and the 

regulations of the Board of Pharmacy. 

5. Failing to cooperate with an employee of the 

Department of Health Professions in the conduct of an 

investigation or inspection. 

B. Sexual conduct with a patient, employee, or student shall 

constitute unprofessional conduct if:  

1. The sexual conduct is unwanted or nonconsensual or 

2. The sexual contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, 

knowledge, or influence derived from the professional 

relationship or if the contact has had or is likely to have an 

adverse effect on patient care.  

18VAC60-21-80. Advertising. 

A. Practice limitation. A general dentist who limits his 

practice to a dental specialty or describes his practice by types 

of treatment shall state in conjunction with his name that he is 

a general dentist providing certain services (e.g., orthodontic 

services).  

B. Fee disclosures. Any statement specifying a fee for a 

dental service that does not include the cost of all related 

procedures, services, and products that, to a substantial 

likelihood, will be necessary for the completion of the 

advertised services as it would be understood by an ordinarily 

prudent person shall be deemed to be deceptive or 

misleading. Where reasonable disclosure of all relevant 

variables and considerations is made, a statement of a range 

of fees for specifically described dental services shall not be 

deemed to be deceptive or misleading.  

C. Discounts and free offers. Discount and free offers for a 

dental service are permissible for advertising only when the 

nondiscounted or full fee and the final discounted fee are also 

disclosed in the advertisement. In addition, the time period 

for obtaining the discount or free offer must be stated in the 

advertisement. The dentist shall maintain documented 

evidence to substantiate the discounted fee or free offer.  

D. Retention of broadcast advertising. A prerecorded copy 

of all advertisements on radio or television shall be retained 

for a 12-month period following the final appearance of the 

advertisement. The advertising dentist is responsible for 

making prerecorded copies of the advertisement available to 

the board within five days following a request by the board.  

E. Routine dental services. Advertising of fees pursuant to 

this section is limited to procedures that are set forth in the 

American Dental Association's "Dental Procedures Codes," 

published in Current Dental Terminology in effect at the time 

the advertisement is issued.  

F. Advertisements. Advertisements, including but not 

limited to signage, containing descriptions of the type of 

dentistry practiced or a specific geographic locator are 

permissible so long as the requirements of §§ 54.1-2718 and 

54.1-2720 of the Code are met.  

G. False, deceptive, or misleading advertisement. The 

following practices shall constitute false, deceptive, or 

misleading advertising within the meaning of subdivision 7 of 

§ 54.1-2706 of the Code:  

1. Publishing an advertisement that contains a material 

misrepresentation or omission of facts that causes an 

ordinarily prudent person to misunderstand or be deceived, 

or that fails to contain reasonable warnings or disclaimers 

necessary to make a representation not deceptive;  

2. Publishing an advertisement that fails to include the 

information and disclaimers required by this section; or 

3. Publishing an advertisement that contains a false claim 

of professional superiority, contains a claim to be a 

specialist, or uses any terms to designate a dental specialty 

unless he is entitled to such specialty designation under the 

guidelines or requirements for specialties approved by the 

American Dental Association (Requirements for 

Recognition of Dental Specialties and National Certifying 
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Boards for Dental Specialists, October 2009), or such 

guidelines or requirements as subsequently amended.  

4. Representation by a dentist who does not currently hold 

specialty certification that his practice is limited to 

providing services in such specialty area without clearly 

disclosing that he is a general dentist. 

18VAC60-21-90. Patient information and records. 

A. A dentist shall maintain complete, legible, and accurate 

patient records for not less than six years from the last date of 

service for purposes of review by the board with the 

following exceptions: 

1. Records of a minor child shall be maintained until the 

child reaches the age of 18 years or becomes emancipated, 

with a minimum time for record retention of six years from 

the last patient encounter regardless of the age of the child; 

2. Records that have previously been transferred to another 

practitioner or health care provider or provided to the 

patient or his personal representative; or 

3. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law may need to be maintained for a longer period 

of time. 

B. Every patient record shall include the following:  

1. Patient's name on each page in the patient record;  

2. A health history taken at the initial appointment that is 

updated (i) when analgesia, sedation, or anesthesia is to be 

administered; (ii) when medically indicated; and (iii) at 

least annually;  

3. Diagnosis and options discussed, including the risks and 

benefits of treatment or non-treatment and the estimated 

cost of treatment options; 

4. Consent for treatment obtained and treatment rendered;  

5. List of drugs prescribed, administered, or dispensed and 

the route of administration, quantity, dose, and strength;  

6. Radiographs, digital images, and photographs clearly 

labeled with patient name and date taken;  

7. Notation of each date of treatment and of the dentist, 

dental hygienist, and dental assistant II providing service;  

8. Duplicate laboratory work orders that meet the 

requirements of § 54.1-2719 of the Code including the 

address and signature of the dentist;  

9. Itemized patient financial records as required by § 54.1-

2404 of the Code; 

10. A notation or documentation of an order required for 

treatment of a patient by a dental hygienist practicing 

under general supervision as required in 18VAC60-21-140 

B; and  

11. The information required for the administration of 

moderate sedation, deep sedation, and general anesthesia 

required in 18VAC60-21-260 D. 

C. A licensee shall comply with the patient record 

confidentiality, release, and disclosure provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code and shall only release patient 

information as authorized by law.  

D. Records shall not be withheld because the patient has an 

outstanding financial obligation. 

E. A reasonable cost-based fee may be charged for copying 

patient records to include the cost of supplies and labor for 

copying documents, duplication of radiographs and images, 

and postage if mailing is requested as authorized by § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code. The charges specified in § 8.01-413 of 

the Code are permitted when records are subpoenaed as 

evidence for purposes of civil litigation. 

F. When closing, selling, or relocating a practice, the 

licensee shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the 

Code for giving notice and providing records.  

G. Records shall not be abandoned or otherwise left in the 

care of someone who is not licensed by the board except that, 

upon the death of a licensee, a trustee or executor of the estate 

may safeguard the records until they are transferred to a 

licensee, are sent to the patients of record, or are destroyed.  

H. Patient confidentiality must be preserved when records 

are destroyed.  

18VAC60-21-100. Reportable events during or following 

treatment or the administration of sedation or anesthesia. 

The treating dentist shall submit a written report to the board 

within 15 calendar days following an unexpected patient 

event that occurred intra-operatively or during the first 24 

hours immediately following the patient's departure from his 

facility, resulting in either a physical injury or a respiratory, 

cardiovascular, or neurological complication that necessitated 

admission of the patient to a hospital or in a patient death. 

Part III 

Direction and Delegation of Duties 

18VAC60-21-110. Utilization of dental hygienists and 

dental assistants II. 

A dentist may utilize up to a total of four dental hygienists 

or dental assistants II in any combination practicing under 

direction at one and the same time. In addition, a dentist may 

permit through issuance of written orders for services 

additional dental hygienists to practice under general 

supervision in a free clinic or a public health program, or on a 

voluntary basis. 

18VAC60-21-120. Requirements for direction and general 

supervision. 

A. In all instances and on the basis of his diagnosis, a 

licensed dentist assumes ultimate responsibility for 

determining with the patient or his representative the specific 

treatment the patient will receive, which aspects of treatment 

will be delegated to qualified personnel, and the direction 

required for such treatment, in accordance with this chapter 

and the Code.  

B. Dental hygienists shall engage in their respective duties 

only while in the employment of a licensed dentist or 
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governmental agency or when volunteering services as 

provided in 18VAC60-21-110. 

C. Dental hygienists acting within the scope of a license 

issued to them by the board under § 54.1-2722 or 54.1-2725 

of the Code who teach dental hygiene in a CODA accredited 

program are exempt from this section. 

D. Duties delegated to a dental hygienist under indirect 

supervision shall only be performed when the dentist is 

present in the facility and examines the patient during the 

time services are being provided.  

E. Duties that are delegated to a dental hygienist under 

general supervision shall only be performed if the following 

requirements are met:  

1. The treatment to be provided shall be ordered by a 

dentist licensed in Virginia and shall be entered in writing 

in the record. The services noted on the original order shall 

be rendered within a specific time period, not to exceed 10 

months from the date the dentist last performed a periodic 

examination of the patient. Upon expiration of the order, 

the dentist shall have examined the patient before writing a 

new order for treatment under general supervision.  

2. The dental hygienist shall consent in writing to 

providing services under general supervision.  

3. The patient or a responsible adult shall be informed prior 

to the appointment that a dentist may not be present, that 

only topical oral anesthetics can be administered to manage 

pain, and that only those services prescribed by the dentist 

will be provided.  

4. Written basic emergency procedures shall be established 

and in place, and the hygienist shall be capable of 

implementing those procedures.  

F. An order for treatment under general supervision shall not 

preclude the use of another level of supervision when, in the 

professional judgment of the dentist, such level of supervision 

is necessary to meet the individual needs of the patient. 

18VAC60-21-130. Nondelegable duties; dentists. 

Only licensed dentists shall perform the following duties: 

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning; 

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 

tissue except a dental hygienist performing gingival 

curettage as provided in 18VAC60-21-140; 

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 

medicaments, except a dental hygienist, who meets the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100, may parenterally 

administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to patients 18 

years of age or older; 

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 

prosthetic device or restoration that is to be inserted into a 

patient's mouth; 

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth; 

6. Administering and monitoring conscious/moderate 

sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthetics except as 

provided for in § 54.1-2701 of the Code and Part VI 

(18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of this chapter; 

7. Condensing, contouring, or adjusting any final, fixed, or 

removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 

mouth with the exception of packing and carving amalgam 

and placing and shaping composite resins by dental 

assistants II with advanced training as specified in 

18VAC60-30-120; 

8. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic bonds 

and bands; and 

9. Final adjustment and fitting of crowns and bridges in 

preparation for final cementation. 

18VAC60-21-140. Dental hygienists. 

A. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists under direction and may only be performed under 

indirect supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planing, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and athermal lasers, 

with any sedation or anesthesia administered by the dentist.  

2. Performing an initial examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for assisting the dentist in the diagnosis.  

3. Administering nitrous oxide or local anesthesia by 

dental hygienists qualified in accordance with the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100. 

B. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists and may be performed under indirect supervision 

or may be delegated by written order in accordance with 

§§ 54.1-2722 D and 54.1-3408 J of the Code to be performed 

under general supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planing, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and athermal lasers 

with or without topical oral anesthetics.  

2. Polishing of natural and restored teeth using air 

polishers.  

3. Performing a clinical examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for further evaluation and diagnosis by the dentist.  

4. Subgingival irrigation or subgingival application of 

topical Schedule VI medicinal agents pursuant to § 54.1-

3408 J of the Code.  

5. Duties appropriate to the education and experience of 

the dental hygienist and the practice of the supervising 

dentist, with the exception of those listed as nondelegable 

in 18VAC60-21-130, those restricted to indirect 

supervision in subsection A of this section, and those 
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restricted to delegation to dental assistants II in 18VAC60-

21-150. 

18VAC60-21-150. Delegation to dental assistants II. 

The following duties may only be delegated under the 

direction and direct supervision of a dentist to a dental 

assistant II who has completed the coursework, corresponding 

module of laboratory training, corresponding module of 

clinical experience, and examinations specified in 18VAC60-

30-120: 

1. Performing pulp capping procedures; 

2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 

3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a 

slow speed handpiece; 

4. Taking final impressions; 

5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after 

adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

18VAC60-21-160. Delegation to dental assistants I and II. 

A. Duties appropriate to the training and experience of the 

dental assistant and the practice of the supervising dentist 

may be delegated to a dental assistant I or II under the 

indirect or under general supervision required in 18VAC60-

21-120, with the exception of those listed as nondelegable in 

18VAC60-21-130, those which may only be delegated to 

dental hygienists as listed in 18VAC60-21-140, and those 

which may only be delegated to a dental assistant II as listed 

in 18VAC60-21-150. 

B. Duties delegated to a dental assistant under general 

supervision shall be under the direction of the dental 

hygienist who supervises the implementation of the dentist's 

orders by examining the patient, observing the services 

rendered by an assistant, and being available for consultation 

on patient care. 

18VAC60-21-170. Radiation certification. 

No dentist or dental hygienist shall permit a person not 

otherwise licensed by this board to place or expose dental x-

ray film unless he has one of the following: (i) satisfactory 

completion of a radiation safety course and examination 

given by an institution that maintains a program in dental 

assisting, dental hygiene, or dentistry accredited by CODA; 

(ii) certification by the American Registry of Radiologic 

Technologists; or (iii) satisfactory completion of the 

Radiation Health and Safety Review Course provided by the 

Dental Assisting National Board or its affiliate and passage of 

the Radiation Health and Safety Exam given by the Dental 

Assisting National Board. Any certificate issued pursuant to 

satisfying the requirements of this section shall be posted in 

plain view of the patient. 

18VAC60-21-180. What does not constitute practice. 

The following are not considered the practice of dental 

hygiene and dentistry:  

1. General oral health education. 

2. Recording a patient's pulse, blood pressure, temperature, 

presenting complaint, and medical history. 

3. Conducting preliminary dental screenings in free clinics, 

public health programs, or a voluntary practice. 

Part IV 

Entry, Licensure, and Registration Requirements 

18VAC60-21-190. General application provisions. 

A. Applications for any dental license, registration, or 

permit issued by the board, other than for a volunteer 

exemption or for a restricted volunteer license, shall include:  

1. A final certified transcript of the grades from the college 

from which the applicant received the dental degree, dental 

hygiene degree or certificate, or post-doctoral degree or 

certificate;  

2. An original grade card documenting passage of all parts 

of the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations; 

and 

3. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and 

Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) and a current report from 

the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).  

B. All applicants for licensure, other than for a volunteer 

exemption or for a restricted volunteer license, shall be 

required to attest that they have read and understand and will 

remain current with the laws and regulations governing the 

practice of dentistry, dental hygiene, and dental assisting in 

Virginia. 

C. If a transcript or other documentation required for 

licensure cannot be produced by the entity from which it is 

required, the board, in its discretion, may accept other 

evidence of qualification for licensure.  

D. Any application for a dental license, registration, or 

permit may be denied for any cause specified in § 54.1-111 or 

54.1-2706 of the Code. 

E. An application must include payment of the appropriate 

fee as specified in 18VAC60-21-40. 

18VAC60-21-200. Education. 

An applicant for any type of dental licensure shall be a 

graduate of and a holder of a diploma or a certificate from a 

dental program accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental Association, which 

consists of either a pre-doctoral dental education program or 

at least a 12-month post-doctoral advanced general dentistry 

program or a post-doctoral dental program of at least 24 

months in any other specialty that includes a clinical 

component. 

18VAC60-21-210. Qualifications for an unrestricted 

license. 

A. Dental licensure by examination.  

1. All applicants for licensure by examination shall have: 
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a. Successfully completed all parts of the National Board 

Dental Examination given by the Joint Commission on 

National Dental Examinations; and  

b. Passed a dental clinical competency examination that 

is accepted by the board. 

2. If a candidate has failed any section of a clinical 

competency examination three times, the candidate shall 

complete a minimum of 14 hours of additional clinical 

training in each section of the examination to be retested in 

order to be approved by the board to sit for the 

examination a fourth time. 

3. Applicants who successfully completed a clinical 

competency examination five or more years prior to the 

date of receipt of their applications for licensure by this 

board may be required to retake an examination or take 

continuing education that meets the requirements of 

18VAC60-21-250 unless they demonstrate that they have 

maintained clinical, ethical, and legal practice in another 

jurisdiction of the United States or in federal civil or 

military service for 48 of the past 60 months immediately 

prior to submission of an application for licensure. 

B. Dental licensure by credentials. All applicants for 

licensure by credentials shall: 

1. Have passed all parts of the National Board Dental 

Examination given by the Joint Commission on National 

Dental Examinations;  

2. Have successfully completed a clinical competency 

examination acceptable to the board; 

3. Hold a current, unrestricted license to practice dentistry 

in another jurisdiction of the United States and be certified 

to be in good standing by each jurisdiction in which a 

license is currently held or has been held; and  

4. Have been in continuous clinical practice in another 

jurisdiction of the United States or in federal civil or 

military service for five out of the six years immediately 

preceding application for licensure pursuant to this section. 

Active patient care in another jurisdiction of the United 

States (i) as a volunteer in a public health clinic, (ii) as an 

intern, or (iii) in a residency program may be accepted by 

the board to satisfy this requirement. One year of clinical 

practice shall consist of a minimum of 600 hours of 

practice in a calendar year as attested by the applicant. 

18VAC60-21-220. Inactive license. 

A. Any dentist who holds a current, unrestricted license in 

Virginia may, upon a request on the renewal application and 

submission of the required fee, be issued an inactive license. 

With the exception of practice with a current restricted 

volunteer license as provided in § 54.1-2712.1 of the Code, 

the holder of an inactive license shall not be entitled to 

perform any act requiring a license to practice dentistry in 

Virginia. 

B. An inactive license may be reactivated upon submission 

of the required application, which includes evidence of 

continuing competence and payment of the current renewal 

fee. To evaluate continuing competence the board shall 

consider (i) hours of continuing education that meet the 

requirements of 18VAC60-21-250; (ii) evidence of active 

practice in another state or in federal service; (iii) current 

specialty board certification; (iv) recent passage of a clinical 

competency examination that is accepted by the board; or (v) 

a refresher program offered by a program accredited by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 

Association.  

1. Continuing education hours equal to the requirement for 

the number of years in which the license has been inactive, 

not to exceed a total of 45 hours, must be included with the 

application. Of the required hours, at least 15 must be 

earned in the most recent 12 months and the remainder 

within the 36 months immediately preceding the 

application for activation. 

2. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to 

have committed an act in violation of § 54.1-2706 of the 

Code or who is unable to demonstrate continuing 

competence. 

18VAC60-21-230. Qualifications for a restricted license. 

A. Temporary permit for public health settings. A temporary 

permit shall be issued only for the purpose of allowing dental 

practice in a dental clinic operated by a state agency or a 

Virginia charitable organization as limited by § 54.1-2715 of 

the Code.  

1. Passage of a clinical competency examination is not 

required, but the applicant cannot have failed a clinical 

competency examination accepted by the board. 

2. A temporary permit will not be renewed unless the 

holder shows that extraordinary circumstances prevented 

the holder from taking the licensure examination during the 

term of the temporary permit. 

B. Teacher's license. A teacher's license shall be issued to 

any dentist certified to be on the faculty of an accredited 

dental program who meets the entry requirements of § 54.1-

2713 of the Code. 

1. Passage of a clinical competency examination is not 

required, but the applicant cannot have failed a clinical 

competency examination accepted by the board. 

2. The holder of a teacher's license shall not practice 

intramurally or privately and shall not receive fees for 

service.  

3. A teacher's license shall remain valid only while the 

holder is serving on the faculty of an accredited dental 

program in the Commonwealth. When any such license 

holder ceases to continue serving on the faculty of the 

dental school for which the license was issued, the licensee 

shall surrender the license, and the license shall be null and 

void upon termination of full-time employment.  
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4. The dean of the dental school shall notify the board 

within five working days of such termination of 

employment. 

C. Full-time faculty license. A faculty license shall be issued 

for the purpose of allowing dental practice as a full-time 

faculty member of an accredited dental program when the 

applicant meets the entry requirements of § 54.1-2713 of the 

Code. 

1. Passage of a clinical competency examination is not 

required, but the applicant cannot have failed a clinical 

competency examination accepted by the board. 

2. The holder of a faculty license may practice intramurally 

and may receive fees for service but cannot practice 

privately.  

3. A faculty license shall remain valid only while the 

holder is serving full time on the faculty of an accredited 

dental program in the Commonwealth. When any such 

license holder ceases to continue serving full time on the 

faculty of the dental school for which the license was 

issued, the licensee shall surrender the license, which shall 

be null and void upon termination of full-time 

employment. 

4. The dean of the dental school shall notify the board 

within five working days of such termination of full-time 

employment. 

D. Temporary licenses to persons enrolled in advanced 

dental education programs. A dental intern, resident, or post-

doctoral certificate or degree candidate shall obtain a 

temporary license to practice in Virginia.  

1. The applicant shall have successfully completed a 

D.D.S. or D.M.D. degree program required for admission 

to a clinical competency examination accepted by the 

board. Submission of a letter of confirmation from the 

registrar of the school or college conferring the 

professional degree, or official transcripts confirming the 

professional degree and date the degree was received is 

required.  

2. The applicant shall submit a recommendation from the 

dean of the dental school or the director of the accredited 

advanced dental education program specifying the 

applicant's acceptance as an intern, resident, or post-

doctoral certificate or degree candidate. The beginning and 

ending dates of the internship, residency, or post-doctoral 

program shall be specified.  

3. The temporary license permits the holder to practice 

only in the hospital or outpatient clinics that are recognized 

parts of an advanced dental education program.  

4. The temporary license may be renewed annually by June 

30, for up to five times, upon the recommendation of the 

dean of the dental school or director of the accredited 

advanced dental education program. 

5. The temporary license holder shall be responsible and 

accountable at all times to a licensed dentist, who is a 

member of the staff where the internship, residency, or 

post-doctoral program is taken. The holder is prohibited 

from practicing outside of the advanced dental education 

program.  

6. The temporary license holder shall abide by the 

accrediting requirements for an advanced dental education 

program as approved by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental Association.  

E. Restricted volunteer license.  

1. In accordance with § 54.1-2712.1 of the Code, the board 

may issue a restricted volunteer license to a dentist who:  

a. Held an unrestricted license in Virginia or another state 

as a licensee in good standing at the time the license 

expired or became inactive;  

b. Is volunteering for a public health or community free 

clinic that provides dental services to populations of 

underserved people;  

c. Has fulfilled the board's requirement related to 

knowledge of the laws and regulations governing the 

practice of dentistry in Virginia;  

d. Has not failed a clinical examination within the past 

five years; and  

e. Has had at least five years of clinical practice.  

2. A person holding a restricted volunteer license under 

this section shall:  

a. Only practice in public health or community free 

clinics that provide dental services to underserved 

populations;  

b. Only treat patients who have been screened by the 

approved clinic and are eligible for treatment; 

c. Attest on a form provided by the board that he will not 

receive remuneration directly or indirectly for providing 

dental services; and  

d. Not be required to complete continuing education in 

order to renew such a license.  

3. The restricted volunteer license shall specify whether 

supervision is required, and if not, the date by which it will 

be required. If a dentist with a restricted volunteer license 

issued under this section has not held an active, 

unrestricted license and been engaged in active practice 

within the past five years, he shall only practice dentistry 

and perform dental procedures if a dentist with an 

unrestricted Virginia license, volunteering at the clinic, 

reviews the quality of care rendered by the dentist with the 

restricted volunteer license at least every 30 days. If 

supervision is required, the supervising dentist shall 

directly observe patient care being provided by the 

restricted volunteer dentist and review all patient charts at 

least quarterly. Such supervision shall be noted in patient 

charts and maintained in accordance with 18VAC60-21-

90.  
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4. A restricted volunteer license granted pursuant to this 

section shall expire on June 30 of the second year after its 

issuance or shall terminate when the supervising dentist 

withdraws his sponsorship. 

5. A dentist holding a restricted volunteer license issued 

pursuant to this section is subject to the provisions of this 

chapter and the disciplinary regulations that apply to all 

licensees practicing in Virginia.  

F. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state 

licensees. Any dentist who does not hold a license to practice 

in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice on a 

voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all 

volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision 

of health care to populations of underserved people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least 15 days prior to engaging in 

such practice;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 

each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 

current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, and the 

dates and location of the voluntary provision of services; 

and  

4. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

provisions of subdivision 5 of § 54.1-2701 of the Code. 

Part V 

Licensure Renewal 

18VAC60-21-240. License renewal and reinstatement. 

A. The license or permit of any person who does not return 

the completed renewal form and fees by the deadline shall 

automatically expire and become invalid, and his practice of 

dentistry shall be illegal. With the exception of practice with a 

current, restricted volunteer license as provided in § 54.1-

2712.1 of the Code practicing in Virginia with an expired 

license or permit may subject the licensee to disciplinary 

action by the board. 

B. Every person holding an active or inactive license; a 

permit to administer conscious/moderate sedation, deep 

sedation, or general anesthesia; or a full-time faculty license 

shall annually, on or before March 31, renew his license or 

permit. Every person holding a teacher's license, temporary 

resident's license, a restricted volunteer license, or a 

temporary permit shall, on or before June 30, request renewal 

of his license. 

C. Any person who does not return the completed form and 

fee by the deadline required in subsection B of this section 

shall be required to pay an additional late fee.  

D. The board shall renew a license or permit if the renewal 

form, renewal fee, and late fee are received within one year of 

the deadline required in subsection B of this section provided 

that no grounds exist to deny said renewal pursuant to § 54.1-

2706 of the Code and Part II (18VAC60-21-50 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

E. Reinstatement procedures.  

1. Any person whose license or permit has expired for 

more than one year or whose license or permit has been 

revoked or suspended and who wishes to reinstate such 

license or permit shall submit a reinstatement application 

and the reinstatement fee. The application must include 

evidence of continuing competence.  

2. To evaluate continuing competence, the board shall 

consider (i) hours of continuing education that meet the 

requirements of subsection G of 18VAC60-21-250; (ii) 

evidence of active practice in another state or in federal 

service; (iii) current specialty board certification; (iv) 

recent passage of a clinical competency examination 

accepted by the board; or (v) a refresher program offered 

by a program accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental Association.  

3. The executive director may reinstate such expired 

license or permit provided that the applicant can 

demonstrate continuing competence, the applicant has paid 

the reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments, and no 

grounds exist to deny said reinstatement pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2706 of the Code and Part II (18VAC60-21-50 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

18VAC60-21-250. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. A dentist shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of 

continuing education, which meets the requirements for 

content, sponsorship, and documentation set out in this 

section, for each annual renewal of licensure except for the 

first renewal following initial licensure and for any renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license.  

1. All renewal applicants shall attest that they have read 

and understand and will remain current with the laws and 

regulations governing the practice of dentistry and dental 

hygiene in Virginia. Continuing education credit may be 

earned for passage of the online Virginia Dental Law 

Exam. 

2. A dentist shall maintain current training certification in 

basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation or basic life support 

unless he is required by 18VAC60-21-290 or 18VAC60-

21-300 to hold current certification in advanced life 

support with hands-on simulated airway and megacode 

training for health care providers. 

3. A dentist who administers or monitors patients under 

general anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate 

sedation shall complete four hours every two years of 

approved continuing education directly related to 

administration and monitoring of such anesthesia or 

sedation as part of the hours required for licensure renewal. 

4. Continuing education hours in excess of the number 

required for renewal may be transferred or credited to the 

next renewal year for a total of not more than 15 hours. 
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B. To be accepted for license renewal, continuing education 

programs shall be directly relevant to the treatment and care 

of patients and shall be: 

1. Clinical courses in dentistry and dental hygiene; or 

2. Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary to 

provide dental or dental hygiene services and are 

supportive of clinical services (i.e., patient management, 

legal and ethical responsibilities, and stress management). 

Courses not acceptable for the purpose of this subsection 

include, but are not limited to, estate planning, financial 

planning, investments, business management, marketing, 

and personal health. 

C. Continuing education credit may be earned for verifiable 

attendance at or participation in any course, to include audio 

and video presentations, that meets the requirements in 

subsection B of this section and is given by one of the 

following sponsors: 

1. The American Dental Association and the National 

Dental Association, their constituent and 

component/branch associations, and approved providers; 

2. The American Dental Hygienists' Association and the 

National Dental Hygienists Association, and their 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

3. The American Dental Assisting Association and its 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

4. The American Dental Association specialty 

organizations and their constituent and component/branch 

associations; 

5. A provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for 

Continuing Medical Education for Category 1 credits; 

6. The Academy of General Dentistry, its constituent and 

component/branch associations, and approved providers; 

7. A college or university that is accredited by an 

accrediting agency approved by the U.S. Department of 

Education or a hospital or health care institution accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations; 

8. The American Heart Association, the American Red 

Cross, the American Safety and Health Institute, and the 

American Cancer Society; 

9. A medical school accredited by the American Medical 

Association's Liaison Committee for Medical Education; 

10. A dental, dental hygiene, or dental assisting program or 

advanced dental education program accredited by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 

Dental Association;  

11. State or federal government agencies (i.e., military 

dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.); 

12. The Commonwealth Dental Hygienists' Society;  

13. The MCV Orthodontic Education and Research 

Foundation; 

14. The Dental Assisting National Board; or 

15. A regional testing agency (i.e., Central Regional Dental 

Testing Service, Northeast Regional Board of Dental 

Examiners, Southern Regional Testing Agency, or Western 

Regional Examining Board) when serving as an examiner.  

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters. A written request with supporting documents must 

be submitted prior to renewal of the license.  

E. A licensee is required to verify compliance with the 

continuing education requirements in his annual license 

renewal. Following the renewal period, the board may 

conduct an audit of licensees to verify compliance. Licensees 

selected for audit must provide original documents certifying 

that they have fulfilled their continuing education 

requirements by the deadline date as specified by the board. 

F. All licensees are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and subject of the program or activity, the 

sponsor, and the amount of time earned. Documentation must 

be maintained for a period of four years following renewal. 

G. A licensee who has allowed his license to lapse, or who 

has had his license suspended or revoked, must submit 

evidence of completion of continuing education equal to the 

requirements for the number of years in which his license has 

not been active, not to exceed a total of 45 hours. Of the 

required hours, at least 15 must be earned in the most recent 

12 months and the remainder within the 36 months preceding 

an application for reinstatement. 

H. Continuing education hours required by board order shall 

not be used to satisfy the continuing education requirement 

for license renewal or reinstatement. 

I. Failure to comply with continuing education requirements 

may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

Part VI 

Controlled Substances, Sedation, and Anesthesia 

18VAC60-21-260. General provisions. 

A. Application of Part VI. This part applies to prescribing, 

dispensing, and administering controlled substances in dental 

offices, mobile dental facilities, and portable dental 

operations and shall not apply to administration by a dentist 

practicing in (i) a licensed hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of 

the Code, (ii) a state-operated hospital, or (iii) a facility 

directly maintained or operated by the federal government. 

B. Registration required. Any dentist who prescribes, 

administers, or dispenses Schedules II through V controlled 

drugs must hold a current registration with the federal Drug 

Enforcement Administration. 

C. Patient evaluation required.  

1. The decision to administer controlled drugs for dental 

treatment must be based on a documented evaluation of the 
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health history and current medical condition of the patient 

in accordance with the Class I through V risk category 

classifications of the American Society of 

Anesthesiologists (ASA) in effect at the time of treatment. 

The findings of the evaluation, the ASA risk assessment 

class assigned, and any special considerations must be 

recorded in the patient's record. 

2. Any level of sedation and general anesthesia may be 

provided for a patient who is ASA Class I and Class II. 

3. A patient in ASA Class III shall only be provided 

minimal sedation, conscious/moderate sedation, deep 

sedation, or general anesthesia by: 

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary;  

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed 

a physical evaluation and documented the findings and 

the ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary; 

or 

c. A person licensed under Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code who has a specialty in 

anesthesia. 

4. Minimal sedation may only be provided for a patient 

who is in ASA Class IV by:  

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary; or 

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed 

a physical evaluation and documented the findings and 

the ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary. 

5. Conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia shall not be provided in a dental office for 

patients in ASA Class IV and Class V.  

D. Additional requirements for patient information and 

records. In addition to the record requirements in 18VAC60-

21-90, when conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation, or 

general anesthesia is administered, the patient record shall 

also include:  

1. Notation of the patient's American Society of 

Anesthesiologists classification; 

2. Review of medical history and current conditions; 

3. Written informed consent for administration of sedation 

and anesthesia and for the dental procedure to be 

performed; 

4. Pre-operative vital signs; 

5. A record of the name, dose, and strength of drugs and 

route of administration including the administration of 

local anesthetics with notations of the time sedation and 

anesthesia were administered;  

6. Monitoring records of all required vital signs and 

physiological measures recorded every five minutes; and 

7. A list of staff participating in the administration, 

treatment, and monitoring including name, position, and 

assigned duties. 

E. Pediatric patients. No sedating medication shall be 

prescribed for or administered to a child 12 years of age or 

younger prior to his arrival at the dentist office or treatment 

facility. 

F. Informed written consent. Prior to administration of any 

level of sedation or general anesthesia, the dentist shall 

discuss the nature and objectives of the planned level of 

sedation or general anesthesia along with the risks, benefits, 

and alternatives and shall obtain informed, written consent 

from the patient or other responsible party for the 

administration and for the treatment to be provided. The 

written consent must be maintained in the patient record. 

G. Level of sedation. The determinant for the application of 

the rules for any level of sedation or for general anesthesia 

shall be the degree of sedation or consciousness level of a 

patient that should reasonably be expected to result from the 

type, strength, and dosage of medication, the method of 

administration, and the individual characteristics of the 

patient as documented in the patient's record. The drugs and 

techniques used must carry a margin of safety wide enough to 

render the unintended reduction of or loss of consciousness 

unlikely, factoring in titration and the patient's age, weight, 

and ability to metabolize drugs. 

H. Emergency management. If a patient enters a deeper level 

of sedation than the dentist is qualified and prepared to 

provide, the dentist shall stop the dental procedure until the 

patient returns to and is stable at the intended level of 

sedation. 

I. Ancillary personnel. Dentists who employ unlicensed, 

ancillary personnel to assist in the administration and 

monitoring of any form of minimal sedation, 

conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia shall maintain documentation that such personnel 

have: 

1. Training and hold current certification in basic 

resuscitation techniques with hands-on airway training for 

health care providers, such as Basic Cardiac Life Support 

for Health Professionals or an approved, clinically oriented 

course devoted primarily to responding to clinical 

emergencies offered by an approved provider of continuing 

education as set forth in 18VAC60-21-250 C; or 

2. Current certification as a certified anesthesia assistant 

(CAA) by the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons or the American Dental Society of 

Anesthesiology (ADSA). 
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J. Assisting in administration. A dentist, consistent with the 

planned level of administration (i.e., local anesthesia, minimal 

sedation, conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation, or 

general anesthesia) and appropriate to his education, training, 

and experience, may utilize the services of a dentist, 

anesthesiologist, certified registered nurse anesthetist, dental 

hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse to perform functions 

appropriate to such practitioner's education, training, and 

experience and consistent with that practitioner's respective 

scope of practice.  

K. Patient monitoring.  

1. A dentist may delegate monitoring of a patient to a 

dental hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse who is under his 

direction or to another dentist, anesthesiologist, or certified 

registered nurse anesthetist. The person assigned to 

monitor the patient shall be continuously in the presence of 

the patient in the office, operatory, and recovery area (i) 

before administration is initiated or immediately upon 

arrival if the patient self-administered a sedative agent, (ii) 

throughout the administration of drugs, (iii) throughout the 

treatment of the patient, and (iv) throughout recovery until 

the patient is discharged by the dentist.  

2. The person monitoring the patient shall: 

a. Have the patient's entire body in sight; 

b. Be in close proximity so as to speak with the patient; 

c. Converse with the patient to assess the patient's ability 

to respond in order to determine the patient's level of 

sedation;  

d. Closely observe the patient for coloring, breathing, 

level of physical activity, facial expressions, eye 

movement, and bodily gestures in order to immediately 

recognize and bring any changes in the patient's 

condition to the attention of the treating dentist; and  

e. Read, report, and record the patient's vital signs and 

physiological measures. 

18VAC60-21-270. Administration of local anesthesia. 

A dentist may administer or use the services of the following 

personnel to administer local anesthesia: 

1. A dentist; 

2. An anesthesiologist;  

3. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his medical 

direction and indirect supervision;  

4. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older 

under his indirect supervision; 

5. A dental hygienist to administer Schedule VI topical oral 

anesthetics under indirect supervision or under his order 

for such treatment under general supervision; or 

6. A dental assistant or a registered or licensed practical 

nurse to administer Schedule VI topical oral anesthetics 

under indirect supervision. 

18VAC60-21-280. Administration of minimal sedation. 

A. Education and training requirements. A dentist who 

utilizes minimal sedation shall have training in and 

knowledge of: 

1. Medications used, the appropriate dosages, the potential 

complications of administration, the indicators for 

complications, and the interventions to address the 

complications. 

2. Physiological effects of nitrous oxide, potential 

complications of administration, the indicators for 

complications, and the interventions to address the 

complications. 

3. The use and maintenance of the equipment required in 

subsection D of this section. 

B. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for or 

administered to a child 12 years of age or younger prior to his 

arrival at the dental office or treatment facility. 

C. Delegation of administration.  

1. A qualified dentist may administer or use the services of 

the following personnel to administer minimal sedation: 

a. A dentist; 

b. An anesthesiologist;  

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his 

medical direction and indirect supervision;  

d. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-90 B or C only for administration of 

nitrous oxide/oxygen and under indirect supervision; or  

e. A registered nurse upon his direct instruction and 

under immediate supervision. 

2. Preceding the administration of minimal sedation, a 

dentist may use the services of the following personnel 

working under indirect supervision to administer local 

anesthesia to numb an injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-90 C to administer Schedule VI local 

anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics;  

3. If minimal sedation is self-administered by or to a 

patient 13 years of age or older before arrival at the dental 

office or treatment facility, the dentist may only use the 

personnel listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection to 

administer local anesthesia.  

D. Equipment requirements. A dentist who utilizes minimal 

sedation or who directs the administration by another licensed 

health professional as permitted in subsection C of this 

section shall maintain the following equipment in working 
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order and immediately available to the areas where patients 

will be sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

2. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

3. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; 

4. Suction apparatus; and  

5. Pulse oximeter. 

E. Required staffing.  

1. The treatment team for minimal sedation other than just 

inhalation of nitrous oxide/oxygen shall consist of the 

dentist and a second person in the operatory with the 

patient to assist the dentist and monitor the patient. The 

second person shall be a licensed health care professional 

or a person qualified in accordance with 18VAC60-21-260 

I; or 

2. When only nitrous oxide/oxygen is administered for 

minimal sedation, a second person is not required. Either 

the dentist or qualified dental hygienist under the indirect 

supervision of a dentist may administer the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen and treat and monitor the patient.  

F. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs to include blood pressure, 

respiratory rate, and heart rate shall be taken and recorded 

prior to administration of sedation and prior to discharge.  

2. Blood pressure, oxygen saturation, respiratory rate, 

pulse, and heart rate shall be monitored intraoperatively. 

3. Once the administration of minimal sedation has begun 

by any route of administration, the dentist shall ensure that 

a licensed health care professional or a person qualified in 

accordance with 18VAC60-21-260 I monitors the patient 

at all times until discharged as required in subsection G of 

this section. 

4. If nitrous oxide/oxygen is used, monitoring shall include 

making the proper adjustments of nitrous oxide/oxygen 

machines at the request of or by the dentist or by another 

qualified licensed health professional identified in 

subsection C of this section. Only the dentist or another 

qualified licensed health professional identified in 

subsection C of this section may turn the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen machines on or off. 

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. The dentist shall not discharge a patient until he exhibits 

baseline responses in a post-operative evaluation of the 

level of consciousness. Vital signs, to include blood 

pressure, respiratory rate, and heart rate shall be taken and 

recorded prior to discharge.  

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. Pediatric patients shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

18VAC60-21-290. Requirements for a conscious/moderate 

sedation permit. 

A. After March 31, 2013, no dentist may employ or use 

conscious/moderate sedation in a dental office unless he has 

been issued a permit by the board. The requirement for a 

permit shall not apply to an oral and maxillofacial surgeon 

who maintains membership in the American Association of 

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) and who 

provides the board with reports that result from the periodic 

office examinations required by AAOMS. Such an oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon shall be required to post a certificate 

issued by AAOMS.  

B. Automatic qualification. Dentists who hold a current 

permit to administer deep sedation and general anesthesia 

may administer conscious/moderate sedation. 

C. To determine eligibility for a conscious/moderate 

sedation permit, a dentist shall submit the following: 

1. A completed application form indicating one of the 

following permits for which the applicant is qualified: 

a. Conscious/moderate sedation by any method; 

b. Conscious/moderate sedation by enteral administration 

only; or 

c. Temporary conscious/moderate sedation permit (may 

be renewed one time); 

2. The application fee as specified in 18VAC60-21-40;  

3. A copy of a transcript, certification, or other 

documentation of training content that meets the 

educational and training qualifications as specified in 

subsection D of this section, as applicable; and 

4. A copy of current certification in advanced cardiac life 

support (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support (PALS) 

as required in subsection E of this section. 

D. Education requirements for a permit to administer 

conscious/moderate sedation.  

1. Administration by any method. A dentist may be issued 

a conscious/moderate sedation permit to administer by any 

method by meeting one of the following criteria: 

a. Completion of training for this treatment modality 

according to the ADA's Guidelines for Teaching the 

Comprehensive Control of Anxiety and Pain in Dentistry 

in effect at the time the training occurred, while enrolled 

in an accredited dental program or while enrolled in a 

post-doctoral university or teaching hospital program; or 

b. Completion of a continuing education course that 

meets the requirements of 18VAC60-21-250 and consists 

of (i) 60 hours of didactic instruction plus the 

management of at least 20 patients per participant, (ii) 

demonstration of competency and clinical experience in 

conscious/moderate sedation, and (iii) management of a 
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compromised airway. The course content shall be 

consistent with the ADA's Guidelines for Teaching the 

Comprehensive Control of Anxiety and Pain in Dentistry 

in effect at the time the training occurred. 

2. Enteral administration only. A dentist may be issued a 

conscious/moderate sedation permit to administer only by 

an enteral method if he has completed a continuing 

education program that meets the requirements of 

18VAC60-21-250 and consists of not less than 18 hours of 

didactic instruction plus 20 clinically-oriented experiences 

in enteral or a combination of enteral and nitrous 

oxide/oxygen conscious/moderate sedation techniques. The 

course content shall be consistent with the ADA's 

Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of 

Anxiety and Pain in Dentistry in effect at the time the 

training occurred. The certificate of completion and a 

detailed description of the course content must be 

maintained. 

3. A dentist who self-certified his qualifications in 

anesthesia and moderate sedation prior to January 1989 

may continue to administer only conscious/moderate 

sedation until September 14, 2012. After September 14, 

2012, a dentist shall meet the requirements for and obtain a 

conscious/moderate sedation permit to administer by any 

method or by enteral administration only. 

E. Additional training required. Dentists who administer 

conscious/moderate sedation shall: 

1. Hold current certification in advanced resuscitation 

techniques with hands-on simulated airway and 

megacode training for health care providers, such as 

ACLS or PALS as evidenced by a certificate of 

completion posted with the dental license; and  

2. Have current training in the use and maintenance of 

the equipment required in 18VAC60-21-291. 

18VAC60-21-291. Requirements for administration of 

conscious/moderation sedation. 

A. Delegation of administration. 

1. A dentist not qualified to administer conscious/moderate 

sedation shall only use the services of a qualified dentist or 

an anesthesiologist to administer such sedation in a dental 

office. In a licensed outpatient surgery center, a dentist not 

qualified to administer conscious/moderate sedation shall 

use either a qualified dentist, an anesthesiologist, or a 

certified registered nurse anesthetist to administer such 

sedation.  

2. A qualified dentist may administer or use the services of 

the following personnel to administer conscious/moderate 

sedation: 

a. A dentist with the training required by 18VAC60-21-

290 D 2 to administer by an enteral method; 

b. A dentist with the training required by 18VAC60-21-

290 D 1 to administer by any method; 

c. An anesthesiologist;  

d. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under the 

medical direction and indirect supervision of a dentist 

who meets the training requirements of 18VAC60-21-

290 D 1; or 

e. A registered nurse upon his direct instruction and 

under the immediate supervision of a dentist who meets 

the training requirements of 18VAC60-21-290 D 1.  

3. If minimal sedation is self-administered by or to a 

patient 13 years of age or older before arrival at the dental 

office, the dentist may only use the personnel listed in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection to administer local 

anesthesia. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for 

or administered to a child 12 years of age or younger prior 

to his arrival at the dentist office or treatment facility. 

4. Preceding the administration of conscious/moderate 

sedation, a qualified dentist may use the services of the 

following personnel under indirect supervision to 

administer local anesthesia to numb the injection or 

treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics.  

B. Equipment requirements. A dentist who administers 

conscious/moderate sedation shall maintain the following 

equipment in working order and immediately available to the 

areas where patients will be sedated and treated and will 

recover: 

1. Full face mask for children or adults, as appropriate for 

the patient being treated; 

2. Oral and nasopharyngeal airway management 

adjuncts; 

3. Endotracheal tubes for children or adults, or both, with 

appropriate connectors or other appropriate airway 

management adjunct such as a laryngeal mask airway;  

4. A laryngoscope with reserve batteries and bulbs and 

appropriately sized laryngoscope blades;  

5. Pulse oximetry; 

6. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

7. Pharmacologic antagonist agents; 

8. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

9. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag;  

10. Appropriate emergency drugs for patient 

resuscitation; 

11. Electrocardiographic monitor; 

12. Defibrillator; 
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13. Suction apparatus;  

14. Temperature measuring device; 

15. Throat pack; and 

16. Precordial or pretracheal stethoscope.  

C. Required staffing. At a minimum, there shall be a two 

person treatment team for conscious/moderate sedation. The 

team shall include the operating dentist and a second person 

to monitor the patient as provided in 18VAC60-21-260 K and 

assist the operating dentist as provided in 18VAC60-21-260 

J, both of whom shall be in the operatory with the patient 

throughout the dental procedure. If the second person is a 

dentist, an anesthesiologist, or a certified registered nurse 

anesthetist who administers the drugs as permitted in 

18VAC60-21-291 A, such person may monitor the patient.  

D. Monitoring requirements.  

1. Baseline vital signs shall be taken and recorded prior to 

administration of any controlled drug at the facility and 

prior to discharge.  

2. Blood pressure, oxygen saturation, pulse, and heart rate 

shall be monitored continually during the administration 

and recorded every five minutes. 

3. Monitoring of the patient under conscious/moderate 

sedation is to begin prior to administration of sedation or, 

if pre-medication is self-administered by the patient, 

immediately upon the patient's arrival at the dental facility 

and shall take place continuously during the dental 

procedure and recovery from sedation. The person who 

administers the sedation or another licensed practitioner 

qualified to administer the same level of sedation must 

remain on the premises of the dental facility until the 

patient is evaluated and is discharged. 

E. Discharge requirements. 

1. The patient shall not be discharged until the responsible 

licensed practitioner determines that the patient's level of 

consciousness, oxygenation, ventilation, and circulation are 

satisfactory for discharge and vital signs have been taken 

and recorded.  

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. Patients shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care.  

F. Emergency management. The dentist shall be proficient 

in handling emergencies and complications related to pain 

control procedures, including the maintenance of respiration 

and circulation, immediate establishment of an airway, and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

18VAC60-21-300. Requirements for a deep 

sedation/general anesthesia permit. 

A. After March 31, 2013, no dentist may employ or use deep 

sedation or general anesthesia in a dental office unless he has 

been issued a permit by the board. The requirement for a 

permit shall not apply to an oral and maxillofacial surgeon 

who maintains membership in the American Association of 

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) and who 

provides the board with reports that result from the periodic 

office examinations required by AAOMS. Such an oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon shall be required to post a certificate 

issued by AAOMS. 

B. To determine eligibility for a deep sedation/general 

anesthesia permit, a dentist shall submit the following: 

1. A completed application form; 

2. The application fee as specified in 18VAC60-21-40; 

3. A copy of the certificate of completion of a CODA 

accredited program or other documentation of training 

content which meets the educational and training 

qualifications specified in subsection C of this section; and 

4. A copy of current certification in ACLS or PALS as 

required in subsection C of this section. 

C. Educational and training qualifications for a deep 

sedation/general anesthesia permit. 

1. Completion of a minimum of one calendar year of 

advanced training in anesthesiology and related academic 

subjects beyond the undergraduate dental school level in a 

training program in conformity with the ADA's Guidelines 

for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Anxiety and 

Pain in Dentistry in effect at the time the training occurred; 

or 

2. Completion of an CODA accredited residency in any 

dental specialty that incorporates into its curriculum a 

minimum of one calendar year of full-time training in 

clinical anesthesia and related clinical medical subjects 

(i.e., medical evaluation and management of patients) 

comparable to those set forth in the ADA's Guidelines for 

Graduate and Postgraduate Training in Anesthesia in effect 

at the time the training occurred; and  

3. Current certification in advanced resuscitative 

techniques with hands-on simulated airway and megacode 

training for health care providers, such as courses in ACLS 

or PALS; and 

4. Current training in the use and maintenance of the 

equipment required in 18VAC60-21-301. 

18VAC60-21-301. Requirements for administration of 

deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

A. Preoperative requirements. Prior to the appointment for 

treatment under deep sedation or general anesthesia the 

patient shall:  

1. Be informed about the personnel and procedures used to 

deliver the sedative or anesthetic drugs to assure informed 

consent as required by 18VAC60-21-260 F. 

2. Have a physical evaluation as required by 18VAC60-21-

260 C. 
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3. Be given pre-operative verbal and written instructions 

including any dietary or medication restrictions. 

B. Delegation of administration. 

1. A dentist not qualified to administer deep sedation or 

general anesthesia shall only use the services of a qualified 

dentist or an anesthesiologist to administer deep sedation 

or general anesthesia in a dental office. In a licensed 

outpatient surgery center, a dentist not qualified to 

administer deep sedation or general anesthesia shall use 

either a qualified dentist, an anesthesiologist, or a certified 

registered nurse anesthetist to administer deep sedation or 

general anesthesia.  

2. A qualified dentist may administer or use the services of 

the following personnel to administer deep sedation or 

general anesthesia: 

a. A dentist with the training required by 18VAC60-21-

300 C; 

b. An anesthesiologist; or 

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under the 

medical direction and indirect supervision of a dentist 

who meets the training requirements of 18VAC60-21-

300 C. 

3. Preceding the administration of deep sedation or general 

anesthesia, a qualified dentist may use the services of the 

following personnel under indirect supervision to 

administer local anesthesia to numb the injection or 

treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics.  

C. Equipment requirements. A dentist who administers deep 

sedation or general anesthesia shall maintain the following 

equipment in working order and immediately available to the 

areas where patients will be sedated and treated and will 

recover: 

1. Full face mask for children or adults, as appropriate for 

the patient being treated; 

2. Oral and nasopharyngeal airway management adjuncts; 

3. Endotracheal tubes for children or adults, or both, with 

appropriate connectors or other appropriate airway 

management adjunct such as a laryngeal mask airway; 

4. A laryngoscope with reserve batteries and bulbs and 

appropriately sized laryngoscope blades; 

5. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

6. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; 

7. Pulse oximetry and blood pressure monitoring 

equipment available and used in the treatment room; 

8. Appropriate emergency drugs for patient resuscitation; 

9. EKG monitoring equipment;  

10. Temperature measuring devices; 

11. Pharmacologic antagonist agents; 

12. External defibrillator (manual or automatic);  

13. For intubated patients, an End-Tidal CO
2
 monitor; 

14. Suction apparatus; 

15. Throat pack; and 

16. Precordial or pretracheal stethoscope. 

D. Required staffing. At a minimum, there shall be a three-

person treatment team for deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

The team shall include the operating dentist, a second person 

to monitor the patient as provided in 18VAC60-21-260 K, 

and a third person to assist the operating dentist as provided 

in 18VAC60-21-260 J, all of whom shall be in the operatory 

with the patient during the dental procedure. If a second 

dentist, an anesthesiologist, or a certified registered nurse 

anesthetist administers the drugs as permitted in 18VAC60-

21-301 B, such person may serve as the second person to 

monitor the patient.  

E. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs shall be taken and recorded prior to 

administration of any controlled drug at the facility to 

include: temperature, blood pressure, pulse, pulse 

oximeter, oxygen saturation, respiration, and heart rate. 

2. The patient's vital signs shall be monitored, recorded 

every five minutes, and reported to the treating dentist 

throughout the administration of controlled drugs and 

recovery. When depolarizing medications are 

administered, temperature shall be monitored constantly. 

3. Monitoring of the patient under deep sedation or general 

anesthesia is to begin prior to the administration of any 

drugs and shall take place continuously during 

administration, the dental procedure, and recovery from 

anesthesia. The person who administers the anesthesia or 

another licensed practitioner qualified to administer the 

same level of anesthesia must remain on the premises of 

the dental facility until the patient has regained 

consciousness and is discharged. 

F. Emergency management. 

1. A secured intravenous line must be established and 

maintained throughout the procedure.  

2. The dentist shall be proficient in handling emergencies 

and complications related to pain control procedures, 

including the maintenance of respiration and circulation, 

immediate establishment of an airway, and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation.  

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. The patient shall not be discharged until the responsible 

licensed practitioner determines that the patient's level of 

consciousness, oxygenation, ventilation, and circulation are 
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satisfactory for discharge and vital signs have been taken 

and recorded.  

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24 hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. Patients shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

Part VII 

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons 

18VAC60-21-310. Registration of oral and maxillofacial 

surgeons. 

Every licensed dentist who practices as an oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon, as defined in § 54.1-2700 of the Code, 

shall register his practice with the board.  

1. After initial registration, an oral and maxillofacial 

surgeon shall renew his registration annually on or before 

December 31.  

2. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who fails to register 

or to renew his registration and continues to practice oral 

and maxillofacial surgery may be subject to disciplinary 

action by the board.  

3. Within one year of the expiration of a registration, an 

oral and maxillofacial surgeon may renew by payment of 

the renewal fee and a late fee.  

4. After one year from the expiration date, an oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon who wishes to reinstate his 

registration shall update his profile and pay the 

reinstatement fee. 

18VAC60-21-320. Profile of information for oral and 

maxillofacial surgeons. 

A. In compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2709.2 of the 

Code, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon registered with the 

board shall provide, upon initial request, the following 

information within 30 days:  

1. The address of the primary practice setting and all 

secondary practice settings with the percentage of time 

spent at each location;  

2. Names of dental or medical schools with dates of 

graduation;  

3. Names of graduate medical or dental education 

programs attended at an institution approved by the 

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the American 

Dental Association with dates of completion of training;  

4. Names and dates of specialty board certification or 

board eligibility, if any, as recognized by the Council on 

Dental Education and Licensure of the American Dental 

Association;  

5. Number of years in active, clinical practice in the United 

States or Canada, following completion of medical or 

dental training and the number of years, if any, in active, 

clinical practice outside the United States or Canada;  

6. Names of insurance plans accepted or managed care 

plans in which the oral and maxillofacial surgeon 

participates and whether he is accepting new patients under 

such plans;  

7. Names of hospitals with which the oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon is affiliated;  

8. Appointments within the past 10 years to dental school 

faculties with the years of service and academic rank;  

9. Publications, not to exceed 10 in number, in peer-

reviewed literature within the most recent five-year period;  

10. Whether there is access to translating services for non-

English speaking patients at the primary practice setting 

and which, if any, foreign languages are spoken in the 

practice; and  

11. Whether the oral and maxillofacial surgeon participates 

in the Virginia Medicaid Program and whether he is 

accepting new Medicaid patients. 

B. The oral and maxillofacial surgeon may provide 

additional information on hours of continuing education 

earned, subspecialities obtained, and honors or awards 

received.  

C. Whenever there is a change in the information on record 

with the profile system, the oral and maxillofacial surgeon 

shall provide current information in any of the categories in 

subsection A of this section within 30 days. 

18VAC60-21-330. Reporting of malpractice paid claims 

and disciplinary notices and orders. 

A. In compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2709.4 of the 

Code, a dentist registered with the board as an oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon shall report in writing to the executive 

director of the board all malpractice paid claims in the most 

recent 10-year period. Each report of a settlement or 

judgment shall indicate:  

1. The year the claim was paid;  

2. The total amount of the paid claim in United States 

dollars; and  

3. The city, state, and country in which the paid claim 

occurred.  

B. The board shall use the information provided to 

determine the relative frequency of paid claims described in 

terms of the percentage who have made malpractice payments 

within the most recent 10-year period. The statistical 

methodology used will be calculated on more than 10 paid 

claims for all dentists reporting, with the top 16% of the paid 

claims to be displayed as above-average payments, the next 

68% of the paid claims to be displayed as average payments, 

and the last 16% of the paid claims to be displayed as below-

average payments.  

C. Adjudicated notices and final orders or decision 

documents, subject to § 54.1-2400.2 G of the Code, shall be 
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made available on the profile. Information shall also be 

posted indicating the availability of unadjudicated notices and 

orders that have been vacated. 

18VAC60-21-340. Noncompliance or falsification of 

profile. 

A. The failure to provide the information required in 

subsection A of 18VAC60-20-260 may constitute 

unprofessional conduct and may subject the licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board.  

B. Intentionally providing false information to the board for 

the profile system shall constitute unprofessional conduct and 

shall subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

18VAC60-21-350. Certification to perform cosmetic 

procedures; applicability. 

A. In order for an oral and maxillofacial surgeon to perform 

aesthetic or cosmetic procedures, he shall be certified by the 

board pursuant to § 54.1-2709.1 of the Code. Such 

certification shall only entitle the licensee to perform 

procedures above the clavicle or within the head and neck 

region of the body.  

B. Based on the applicant's education, training, and 

experience, certification may be granted to perform the 

following procedures for cosmetic treatment:  

1. Rhinoplasty and other treatment of the nose;  

2. Blepharoplasty and other treatment of the eyelid;  

3. Rhytidectomy and other treatment of facial skin 

wrinkles and sagging;  

4. Submental liposuction and other procedures to remove 

fat;  

5. Laser resurfacing or dermabrasion and other procedures 

to remove facial skin irregularities;  

6. Browlift (either open or endoscopic technique) and other 

procedures to remove furrows and sagging skin on the 

upper eyelid or forehead;  

7. Platysmal muscle plication and other procedures to 

correct the angle between the chin and neck;  

8. Otoplasty and other procedures to change the 

appearance of the ear; and 

9. Application of injectable medication or material for the 

purpose of treating extra-oral cosmetic conditions. 

18VAC60-21-360. Certification not required. 

Certification shall not be required for performance of the 

following:  

1. Treatment of facial diseases and injuries, including 

maxillofacial structures;  

2. Facial fractures, deformity, and wound treatment;  

3. Repair of cleft lip and palate deformity;  

4. Facial augmentation procedures; and  

5. Genioplasty. 

18VAC60-21-370. Credentials required for certification. 

An applicant for certification shall:  

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license from the board;  

2. Submit a completed application and fee;  

3. Complete an oral and maxillofacial residency program 

accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation;  

4. Hold board certification by the American Board of Oral 

and Maxillofacial Surgery (ABOMS) or board eligibility as 

defined by ABOMS;  

5. Have current privileges on a hospital staff to perform 

oral and maxillofacial surgery; and  

6. If his oral and maxillofacial residency or cosmetic 

clinical fellowship was completed after July 1, 1996, and 

training in cosmetic surgery was a part of such residency or 

fellowship, submit:  

a. A letter from the director of the residency or 

fellowship program documenting the training received in 

the residency or in the clinical fellowship to substantiate 

adequate training in the specific procedures for which the 

applicant is seeking certification; and  

b. Documentation of having performed as primary or 

assistant surgeon at least 10 proctored cases in each of 

the procedures for which he seeks to be certified.  

7. If his oral and maxillofacial residency was completed 

prior to July 1, 1996, or if his oral and maxillofacial 

residency was completed after July 1, 1996, and training in 

cosmetic surgery was not a part of the applicant's 

residency, submit:  

a. Documentation of having completed didactic and 

clinically approved courses to include the dates attended, 

the location of the course, and a copy of the certificate of 

attendance. Courses shall provide sufficient training in 

the specific procedures requested for certification and 

shall be offered by:  

(1) An advanced specialty education program in oral and 

maxillofacial surgery accredited by the Commission on 

Dental Accreditation;  

(2) A medical school accredited by the Liaison 

Committee on Medical Education or other official 

accrediting body recognized by the American Medical 

Association;  

(3) The American Dental Association or one of its 

constituent and component societies or other ADA 

Continuing Education Recognized Programs (CERP) 

approved for continuing dental education; or  

(4) The American Medical Association approved for 

category 1, continuing medical education.  

b. Documentation of either:  

(1) Holding current privileges to perform cosmetic 

surgical procedures within a hospital accredited by the 
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Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations; or  

(2) Having completed at least 10 cases as primary or 

secondary surgeon in the specific procedures for which 

the applicant is seeking certification, of which at least 

five shall be proctored cases as defined in this chapter. 

18VAC60-21-380. Renewal of certification. 

In order to renew his certification to perform cosmetic 

procedures, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall possess a 

current, active, unrestricted license to practice dentistry from 

the Virginia Board of Dentistry and shall submit the renewal 

application and fee on or before December 31 of each year. If 

an oral and maxillofacial surgeon fails to renew his 

certificate, the certificate is lapsed and performance of 

cosmetic procedures is not permitted. To renew a lapsed 

certificate within one year of expiration, the oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon shall pay the renewal fees and a late 

fee. Reinstatement of a certification that has been lapsed for 

more than one year shall require completion of a 

reinstatement form documenting continued competency in the 

procedures for which the surgeon is certified and payment of 

a reinstatement fee. 

18VAC60-21-390. Quality assurance review for 

procedures peformed by certificate holders. 

A. On a schedule of no less than once every three years, the 

board shall conduct a random audit of charts for patients 

receiving cosmetic procedures that are performed by a 

certificate holder in a facility not accredited by Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations or 

other nationally recognized certifying organization as 

determined by the board.  

B. Oral and maxillofacial surgeons certified to perform 

cosmetic procedures shall maintain separate files, an index, 

coding, or other system by which such charts can be 

identified by cosmetic procedure.  

C. Cases selected in a random audit shall be reviewed for 

quality assurance by a person qualified to perform cosmetic 

procedures according to a methodology determined by the 

board. 

18VAC60-21-400. Complaints against certificate holders 

for cosmetic procedures. 

Complaints arising out of performance of cosmetic 

procedures by a certified oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall 

be adjudicated solely by the Board of Dentistry. Upon receipt 

of the investigation report on such complaints, the Board of 

Dentistry shall promptly notify the Board of Medicine, and 

the investigation report shall be reviewed and an opinion 

rendered by both a physician licensed by the Board of 

Medicine who actively practices in a related specialty and by 

an oral and maxillofacial surgeon licensed by the Board of 

Dentistry. The Board of Medicine shall maintain the 

confidentiality of the complaint consistent with § 54.1-2400.2 

of the Code. 

18VAC60-21-410. Registration of a mobile dental clinic or 

portable dental operation. 

A. An applicant for registration of a mobile dental facility or 

portable dental operation shall provide: 

1. The name and address of the owner of the facility or 

operation and an official address of record for the facility 

or operation, which shall not be a post office address. 

Notice shall be given to the board within 30 days if there is 

a change in the ownership or the address of record for a 

mobile dental facility or portable dental operation; 

2. The name, address, and license number of each dentist 

and dental hygienist or the name, address, and registration 

number of each dental assistant II who will provide dental 

services in the facility or operation. The identity and 

license or registration number of any additional dentists, 

dental hygienists, or dental assistants II providing dental 

services in a mobile dental facility or portable dental 

operation shall be provided to the board in writing prior to 

the provision of such services; and 

3. The address or location of each place where the mobile 

dental facility or portable dental operation will provide 

dental services and the dates on which such services will 

be provided. Any additional locations or dates for the 

provision of dental services in a mobile dental facility or 

portable dental operation shall be provided to the board in 

writing prior to the provision of such services. 

B. The information provided by an applicant to comply with 

subsection A of this section shall be made available to the 

public. 

C. An application for registration of a mobile dental facility 

or portable dental operation shall include: 

1. Certification that there is a written agreement for follow-

up care for patients to include identification of and 

arrangements for treatment in a dental office that is 

permanently established within a reasonable geographic 

area; 

2. Certification that the facility or operation has access to 

communication facilities that enable the dental personnel 

to contact assistance in the event of a medical or dental 

emergency;  

3. Certification that the facility has a water supply and all 

equipment necessary to provide the dental services to be 

rendered in the facility; 

4. Certification that the facility or operation conforms to all 

applicable federal, state, and local laws, regulations, and 

ordinances dealing with radiographic equipment, 

sanitation, zoning, flammability, and construction 

standards; and 

5. Certification that the applicant possesses all applicable 

city or county licenses or permits to operate the facility or 

operation. 
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D. Registration may be denied or revoked for a violation of 

provisions of § 54.1-2706 of the Code. 

18VAC60-21-420. Requirements for a mobile dental clinic 

or portable dental operation. 

A. The registration of the facility or operation and copies of 

the licenses of the dentists and dental hygienists or 

registrations of the dental assistants II shall be displayed in 

plain view of patients.  

B. Prior to treatment, the facility or operation shall obtain 

written consent from the patient or, if the patient is a minor or 

incapable of consent, his parent, guardian, or authorized 

representative. 

C. Each patient shall be provided with an information sheet, 

or if the patient, his parent, guardian, or authorized agent has 

given written consent to an institution or school to have 

access to the patient's dental health record, the institution or 

school may be provided a copy of the information. At a 

minimum, the information sheet shall include: 

1. Patient name, date of service, and location where 

treatment was provided; 

2. Name of dentist or dental hygienist who provided 

services;  

3. Description of the treatment rendered and tooth 

numbers, when appropriate; 

4. Billed service codes and fees associated with treatment; 

5. Description of any additional dental needs observed or 

diagnosed; 

6. Referral or recommendation to another dentist if the 

facility or operation is unable to provide follow-up 

treatment; and  

7. Emergency contact information. 

D. Patient records shall be maintained, as required by 

18VAC60-21-90, in a secure manner within the facility or at 

the address of record listed on the registration application. 

Records shall be made available upon request by the patient, 

his parent, guardian, or authorized representative and shall be 

available to the board for inspection and copying. 

E. The practice of dentistry and dental hygiene in a mobile 

dental clinic or portable dental operation shall be in 

accordance with the laws and regulations governing such 

practice. 

18VAC60-21-430. Exemptions from requirement for 

registration. 

The following shall be exempt from requirements for 

registration as a mobile dental clinic or portable dental 

operation: 

1. All federal, state, or local governmental agencies; and 

2. Dental treatment that is provided without charge to 

patients or to any third party payer. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC60-21) 

Application Requirements for Faculty License (rev. 6/13) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/08) 

Requirements and Instructions for a Temporary Resident's 

License for Persons Enrolled in Advanced Dental Education 

Programs (rev. 7/12) 

Application for a Permit to Administer Conscious/Moderate 

Sedation (rev. 10/12) 

Application for a Permit to Administer Deep 

Sedation/General Anesthesia (rev. 10/12) 

Application for Certification to Perform Cosmetic 

Procedures (rev. 3/12) 

Application Requirements for Restricted Dental Volunteer 

License (rev. 11/10) 

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon Registration of Practice 

(rev. 9/10) 

Application for Registration of a Mobile Dental Facility or 

Portable Dental Operation (rev. 6/10) 

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon Reinstatement of 

Registration of Practice (rev. 9/10) 

Instructions for Application for Reactivation of License (rev. 

8/10) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of License (rev. 5/10) 

Instructions for Filing Online Application for Licensure by 

Examination or Credentials for Dentists (rev. 9/12) 

Licensure Procedures for Application for Registration for 

Volunteer Practice (rev. 5/08) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 5/08) 

CHAPTER 25 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF 

DENTAL HYGIENE 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC60-25-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board" 

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9470a002362~1&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b9ab8002362~2&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b9ab8002362~2&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbe0b002362~3&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbe0b002362~3&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbe0b002362~3&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cdb9002362~4&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cdb9002362~4&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e83fb002362~5&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e83fb002362~5&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2d3f002362~7&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2d3f002362~7&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39b5b002362~8&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39b5b002362~8&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb4cc002362~9&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb4cc002362~9&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ccef2002362~11&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ccef2002362~11&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d1d8002362~12&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d1d8002362~12&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f71b002362~13&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f71b002362~13&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dbafe002362~14&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=abeff002362~15&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=abeff002362~15&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4766002362~15&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4766002362~15&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4d01002362~16&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
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"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means clinical practice as a dental 

hygienist for at least 600 hours per year. 

"ADA" means the American Dental Association.  

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain in 

the conscious patient.  

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

of the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual 

serving in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical 

capacity.  

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction 

and direct supervision of a dentist who is registered to 

perform reversible, intraoral procedures as specified in 

18VAC60-21-150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., direct, 

indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to exercise 

with a dental hygienist or that a dental hygienist is required 

to exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 

delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist 

during one or more subsequent appointments when the 

dentist may or may not be present. Issuance of the order 

authorizes the dental hygienist to supervise a dental 

assistant performing duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a 

dental hygienist or a dental assistant who is (i) delivering 

hygiene treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for 

examination or treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing 

the patient for dismissal following treatment. 

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which 

a gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary 

effect is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed.  

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous 

oxide and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensibility 

to pain without the loss of consciousness.  

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and 

record appropriate physiologic functions of the body 

during sedative procedures and general anesthesia 

appropriate to the level of sedation as provided in Part VI 

(18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Dentistry. 

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular). 

"Topical oral anesthestic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral cavity 

insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

18VAC60-25-20. Address of record; posting of license. 

A. Address of record. Each licensed dental hygienist shall 

provide the board with a current address of record. All 

required notices and correspondence mailed by the board to 

any such licensee shall be validly given when mailed to the 

address of record on file with the board. Each licensee may 

also provide a different address to be used as the public 

address, but if a second address is not provided, the address 

of record shall be the public address. All changes of address 

shall be furnished to the board in writing within 30 days of 

such changes. 

B. Posting of license. In accordance with § 54.1-2727 of the 

Code, a dental hygienist shall display a license where it is 

conspicuous and readable by patients. If a licensee is 

employed in more than one office, a duplicate license 

obtained from the board may be displayed. 

18VAC60-25-30. Required fees. 

A. Application fees. 

1. License by examination $175 

2. License by credentials $275 

3. License to teach dental hygiene pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2725 of the Code 

$175 

4. Temporary permit pursuant to § 54.1-2726 

of the Code 

$175 

3. Restricted volunteer license $25 

4. Volunteer exemption registration $10 

B. Renewal fees. 

1. Active license $75 

2. Inactive license $40 

3. License to teach dental hygiene pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2725 

$75 
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4. Temporary permit pursuant to § 54.1-2726 $75 

C. Late fees. 

1. Active license $25 

2. Inactive license $15 

3. License to teach dental hygiene pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2725 

$25 

4. Temporary permit pursuant to § 54.1-2726 $25 

D. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Expired license $200 

2. Suspended license $400 

3. Revoked license $500 

E. Administrative fees. 

1. Duplicate wall certificate $60 

2. Duplicate license $20 

3. Certification of licensure $35 

4. Returned check $35 

F. No fee shall be refunded or applied for any purpose other 

than the purpose for which the fee was submitted. 

Part II 

Practice of Dental Hygiene 

18VAC60-25-40. Scope of practice. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-2722 of the Code, a licensed dental 

hygienist may perform services that are educational, 

diagnostic, therapeutic, or preventive under the direction and 

indirect or general supervision of a licensed dentist.  

B. The following duties of a dentist shall not be delegated: 

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning; 

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 

tissue, except as may be permitted by subdivisions C 1 and 

D 1 of this section; 

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 

medicaments, except a dental hygienist who meets the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100 C may parenterally 

administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to patients 18 

years of age or older; 

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 

prosthetic device or restoration that is to be inserted into a 

patient's mouth; 

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth; 

6. Administration of deep sedation or general anesthesia 

and conscious/moderate sedation; 

7. Condensing, contouring, or adjusting any final, fixed, or 

removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 

mouth with the exception of packing and carving amalgam 

and placing and shaping composite resins by dental 

assistants II with advanced training as specified in Part IV 

(18VAC60-25-130 et seq.) of this chapter; 

8. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic bonds 

and bands; and 

9. Final adjustment and fitting of crowns and bridges in 

preparation for final cementation. 

C. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists under direction and may only be performed under 

indirect supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planing, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and athermal lasers 

with any sedation or anesthesia administered by the dentist.  

2. Performing an initial examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for assisting the dentist in the diagnosis.  

3. Administering nitrous oxide or local anesthesia by 

dental hygienists qualified in accordance with the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100. 

D. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists and may be performed under indirect supervision 

or may be delegated by written order in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2722 D of the Code to be performed under general 

supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planning, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and athermal lasers 

with or without topical oral anesthestics.  

2. Polishing of natural and restored teeth using air 

polishers.  

3. Performing a clinical examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for further evaluation and diagnosis by the dentist.  

4. Subgingival irrigation or subgingival and gingival 

application of topical Schedule VI medicinal agents 

pursuant to § 54.1-3408 J of the Code.  

5. Duties appropriate to the education and experience of 

the dental hygienist and the practice of the supervising 

dentist, with the exception of those listed as nondelegable 

in subsection B of this section and those restricted to 

indirect supervision in subsection C of this section.  

E. The following duties may only be delegated under the 

direction and direct supervision of a dentist to a dental 

assistant II: 

1. Performing pulp capping procedures; 

2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 

3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a 

slow speed handpiece; 

4. Taking final impressions; 
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5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after 

adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

18VAC60-25-50. Utilization of dental hygienists and 

dental assistants. 

A dentist may utilize up to a total of four dental hygienists 

or dental assistants II in any combination practicing under 

direction at one and the same time. In addition, a dentist may 

permit through issuance of written orders for services 

additional dental hygienists to practice under general 

supervision in a free clinic, a public health program, or a 

voluntary practice. 

18VAC60-25-60. Delegation of services to a dental 

hygienist. 

A. In all instances and on the basis of his diagnosis, a 

licensed dentist assumes ultimate responsibility for 

determining with the patient or his representative the specific 

treatment the patient will receive, which aspects of treatment 

will be delegated to qualified personnel, and the direction 

required for such treatment, in accordance with this chapter, 

Part III (18VAC60-21-110 et seq.) of the Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Dentistry, and the Code.  

B. Dental hygienists shall engage in their respective duties 

only while in the employment of a licensed dentist or 

governmental agency or when volunteering services as 

provided in 18VAC60-25-50.  

C. Duties that are delegated to a dental hygienist under 

general supervision shall only be performed if the following 

requirements are met:  

1. The treatment to be provided shall be ordered by a 

dentist licensed in Virginia and shall be entered in writing 

in the record. The services noted on the original order shall 

be rendered within a specified time period, not to exceed 

10 months from the date the dentist last performed a 

periodic examination of the patient. Upon expiration of the 

order, the dentist shall have examined the patient before 

writing a new order for treatment under general 

supervision.  

2. The dental hygienist shall consent in writing to 

providing services under general supervision.  

3. The patient or a responsible adult shall be informed prior 

to the appointment that a dentist may not be present, that 

only topical oral anesthetics can be administered to manage 

pain, and that only those services prescribed by the dentist 

will be provided.  

4. Written basic emergency procedures shall be established 

and in place, and the hygienist shall be capable of 

implementing those procedures.  

D. An order for treatment under general supervision shall 

not preclude the use of another level of supervision when, in 

the professional judgment of the dentist, such level of 

supervision is necessary to meet the individual needs of the 

patient. 

18VAC60-25-70. Delegation of services to a dental 

assistant. 

A. Duties appropriate to the training and experience of the 

dental assistant and the practice of the supervising dentist 

may be delegated to a dental assistant under the direction of a 

dentist or a dental hygienist practicing under general 

supervision as permitted in subsection B of this section, with 

the exception of those listed as nondelegable and those which 

may only be delegated to dental hygienists as listed in 

18VAC60-25-40.  

B. Duties delegated to a dental assistant under general 

supervision shall be under the direction of the dental 

hygienist who supervises the implementation of the dentist's 

orders by examining the patient, observing the services 

rendered by an assistant, and being available for consultation 

on patient care. 

18VAC60-25-80. Radiation certification. 

No dentist or dental hygienist shall permit a person not 

otherwise licensed by this board to place or expose dental x-

ray film unless he has one of the following: (i) satisfactory 

completion of a radiation safety course and examination 

given by an institution that maintains a program in dental 

assisting, dental hygiene, or dentistry accredited by CODA; 

(ii) certification by the American Registry of Radiologic 

Technologists; or (iii) satisfactory completion of the 

Radiation Health and Safety Review Course provided by the 

Dental Assisting National Board or its affiliate and passage of 

the Radiation Health and Safety Exam given by the Dental 

Assisting National Board. Any certificate issued pursuant to 

satisfying the requirements of this section shall be posted in 

plain view of the patient. 

18VAC60-25-90. What does not constitute practice. 

The following are not considered the practice of dental 

hygiene and dentistry:  

1. General oral health education. 

2. Recording a patient's pulse, blood pressure, temperature, 

presenting complaint, and medical history.  

3. Conducting preliminary dental screenings in free clinics, 

public health programs, or a voluntary practice. 

18VAC60-25-100. Administration of controlled 

substances. 

A. A licensed dental hygienist may: 

1. Administer topical oral fluoride varnish to children aged 

six months to three years of age under an oral or written 

order or a standing protocol issued by a dentist or a doctor 

of medicine or osteopathic medicine pursuant to subsection 

V of § 54.1-3408 of the Code;  

2. Administer topical Schedule VI drugs, including topical 

oral fluorides, topical oral anesthetics, and topical and 

directly applied antimicrobial agents for treatment of 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 4, 2013 

551 

periodontal pocket lesions pursuant to subsection J of 

§ 54.1-3408 of the Code; and 

3. If qualified in accordance with subsection B or C of this 

section, administer Schedule VI nitrous oxide/inhalation 

analgesia and, to persons 18 years of age or older, 

Schedule VI parenterally local anesthesia under the 

indirect supervision of a dentist.  

B. To administer only nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia, a 

dental hygienist shall: 

1. Successfully complete a didactic and clinical course 

leading to certification in administration of nitrous oxide 

offered by a CODA accredited dental or dental hygiene 

program, which includes a minimum of eight hours in 

didactic and clinical instruction in the following topics: 

a. Patient physical and psychological assessment; 

b. Medical history evaluation; 

c. Equipment and techniques used for administration of 

nitrous oxide; 

d. Neurophysiology of nitrous oxide administration; 

e. Pharmacology of nitrous oxide; 

f. Recordkeeping, medical, and legal aspects of nitrous 

oxide; 

g. Adjunctive uses of nitrous oxide for dental patients; 

and 

h. Clinical experiences in administering nitrous oxide, 

including training with live patients. 

2. Successfully complete an examination with a minimum 

score of 75% in the administration of nitrous 

oxide/inhalation analgesia given by the accredited 

program.  

C. To administer both nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia 

and, to patients 18 years of age or older, parenterally local 

anesthesia, a dental hygienist shall:  

1. Successfully complete a didactic and clinical course 

leading to certification in administration of local anesthesia 

and nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia that is offered by a 

CODA accredited dental or dental hygiene program, which 

includes a minimum of 36 didactic and clinical hours in the 

following topics: 

a. Patient physical and psychological assessment; 

b. Medical history evaluation and recordkeeping; 

c. Neurophysiology of local anesthesia; 

d. Pharmacology of local anesthetics and 

vasoconstrictors; 

e. Anatomical considerations for local anesthesia; 

f. Techniques for maxillary infiltration and block 

anesthesia; 

g. Techniques for mandibular infiltration and block 

anesthesia; 

h. Local and systemic anesthetic complications; 

i. Management of medical emergencies; 

j. Clinical experiences in maxillary and mandibular 

infiltration and block injections; 

k. Pharmacology of nitrous oxide; 

l. Adjunctive uses of nitrous oxide for dental patients; 

and 

m. Clinical experiences in administering nitrous oxide 

and local anesthesia injections on patients.  

2. Successfully complete an examination with a minimum 

score of 75% in the administration of nitrous 

oxide/inhalation analgesia and local anesthesia given by 

the accredited program.  

D. A dental hygienist who holds a certificate or credential 

issued by the licensing board of another jurisdiction of the 

United States that authorizes the administration of nitrous 

oxide/inhalation analgesia or local anesthesia may be 

authorized for such administration in Virginia if: 

1. The qualifications on which the credential or certificate 

was issued were substantially equivalent in hours of 

instruction and course content to those set forth in 

subsections B and C of this section; or  

2. If the certificate or credential issued by another 

jurisdiction was not substantially equivalent, the hygienist 

can document experience in such administration for at least 

24 of the past 48 months preceding application for 

licensure in Virginia. 

E. A dentist who provides direction for the administration of 

nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia or local anesthesia shall 

ensure that the dental hygienist has met the qualifications for 

such administration as set forth in this section. 

Part III 

Standards of Conduct 

18VAC60-25-110. Patient records; confidentiality. 

A. A dental hygienist shall be responsible for accurate and 

complete information in patient records for those services 

provided by a hygienist or a dental assistant under direction to 

include the following:  

1. Patient's name on each page in the patient record;  

2. A health history taken at the initial appointment, which 

is updated when local anesthesia or nitrous 

oxide/inhalation analgesia is to be administered and when 

medically indicated and at least annually; 

3. Options discussed and oral or written consent for any 

treatment rendered with the exception of prophylaxis;  

4. List of drugs administered and the route of 

administration, quantity, dose, and strength;  

5. Radiographs, digital images, and photographs clearly 

labeled with the patient's name and date taken; 

6. A notation or documentation of an order required for 

treatment of a patient by a dental hygienist practicing 
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under general supervision as required in 18VAC60-25-60 

C; and  

7. Notation of each date of treatment and the identity of the 

dentist and the dental hygienist providing service.  

B. A dental hygienist shall comply with the provisions of 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of patient records. A dental hygienist shall not 

willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality between a 

practitioner and a patient. A breach of confidentiality that is 

required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the control 

of the hygienist shall not be considered negligent or willful. 

18VAC60-25-120. Acts constituting unprofessional 

conduct. 

The following practices shall constitute unprofessional 

conduct within the meaning of § 54.1-2706 of the Code:  

1. Fraudulently obtaining, attempting to obtain, or 

cooperating with others in obtaining payment for services. 

2. Performing services for a patient under terms or 

conditions that are unconscionable. The board shall not 

consider terms unconscionable where there has been a full 

and fair disclosure of all terms and where the patient 

entered the agreement without fraud or duress. 

3. Misrepresenting to a patient and the public the materials 

or methods and techniques the licensee uses or intends to 

use. 

4. Committing any act in violation of the Code reasonably 

related to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene. 

5. Delegating any service or operation that requires the 

professional competence of a dentist or dental hygienist to 

any person who is not a licensee or registrant as authorized 

by this chapter. 

6. Certifying completion of a dental procedure that has not 

actually been completed. 

7. Violating or cooperating with others in violating 

provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or 24 (§ 54.1-

2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code or the Drug Control 

Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code). 

Part IV 

Requirements for Licensure 

18VAC60-25-130. General application requirements. 

A. All applications for licensure by examination or 

credentials, temporary permits, or teacher's licenses shall 

include:  

1. Verification of completion of a dental hygiene degree or 

certificate from a CODA accredited program;  

2. An original grade card from the National Board Dental 

Hygiene Examination issued by the Joint Commission on 

National Dental Examinations;  

3. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and 

Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) and a current report from 

the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); and 

4. Attestation of having read and understood the laws and 

the regulations governing the practice of dentistry and 

dental hygiene in Virginia and of the applicant's intent to 

remain current with such laws and regulations. 

B. If documentation required for licensure cannot be 

produced by the entity from which it is required, the board, in 

its discretion, may accept other evidence of qualification for 

licensure. 

18VAC60-25-140. Licensure by examination. 

A. An applicant for licensure by examination shall have: 

1. Graduated from or have been issued a certificate by a 

CODA accredited program of dental hygiene; 

2. Successfully completed the National Board Dental 

Hygiene Examination given by the Joint Commission on 

National Dental Examinations; and 

3. Successfully completed a board-approved clinical 

competency examination in dental hygiene. 

B. If the candidate has failed any section of a board-

approved examination three times, the candidate shall 

complete a minimum of seven hours of additional clinical 

training in each section of the examination to be retested in 

order to be approved by the board to sit for the examination a 

fourth time. 

C. Applicants who successfully completed a board-approved 

examination five or more years prior to the date of receipt of 

their applications for licensure by the board may be required 

to retake a board-approved examination or take board-

approved continuing education that meets the requirements of 

18VAC60-25-190, unless they demonstrate that they have 

maintained clinical, unrestricted, and active practice in a 

jurisdiction of the United States for 48 of the past 60 months 

immediately prior to submission of an application for 

licensure.  

18VAC60-25-150. Licensure by credentials. 

An applicant for dental hygiene licensure by credentials 

shall: 

1. Have graduated from or have been issued a certificate by 

a CODA accredited program of dental hygiene; 

2. Be currently licensed to practice dental hygiene in 

another jurisdiction of the United States and have clinical, 

ethical, and active practice for 24 of the past 48 months 

immediately preceding application for licensure; 

3. Be certified to be in good standing from each state in 

which he is currently licensed or has ever held a license; 

4. Have successfully completed a clinical competency 

examination substantially equivalent to that required for 

licensure by examination; 

5. Not have committed any act that would constitute a 

violation of § 54.1-2706 of the Code; and 
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6. Have successfully completed the dental hygiene 

examination of the Joint Commission on National Dental 

Examinations prior to making application to the board. 

18VAC60-25-160. Temporary permit; teacher's license. 

A. Issuance of a temporary permit. 

1. A temporary permit shall be issued only for the purpose 

of allowing dental hygiene practice as limited by § 54.1-

2726 of the Code. An applicant for a temporary permit 

shall submit a completed application and verification of 

graduation from the program from which the applicant 

received the dental hygiene degree or certificate. 

2. A temporary permit will not be renewed unless the 

permittee shows that extraordinary circumstances 

prevented the permittee from taking a board-approved 

clinical competency examination during the term of the 

temporary permit. 

B. The board may issue a teacher's license pursuant to the 

provisions of § 54.1-2725 of the Code. 

C. A dental hygienist holding a temporary permit or a 

teacher's license issued pursuant to this section is subject to 

the provisions of this chapter and the disciplinary regulations 

that apply to all licensees practicing in Virginia. 

18VAC60-25-170. Voluntary practice. 

A. Restricted volunteer license.  

1. In accordance with § 54.1-2726.1 of the Code, the board 

may issue a restricted volunteer license to a dental 

hygienist who:  

a. Held an unrestricted license in Virginia or another 

jurisdiction of the United States as a licensee in good 

standing at the time the license expired or became 

inactive;  

b. Is volunteering for a public health or community free 

clinic that provides dental services to populations of 

underserved people;  

c. Has fulfilled the board's requirement related to 

knowledge of the laws and regulations governing the 

practice of dentistry and dental hygiene in Virginia;  

d. Has not failed a clinical examination within the past 

five years;  

e. Has had at least five years of active practice in 

Virginia; another jurisdiction of the United States or 

federal civil or military service; and 

f. Is sponsored by a dentist who holds an unrestricted 

license in Virginia. 

2. A person holding a restricted volunteer license under 

this section shall:  

a. Practice only under the direction of a dentist who holds 

an unrestricted license in Virginia; 

b. Only practice in public health or community free 

clinics that provide dental services to underserved 

populations;  

c. Only treat patients who have been screened by the 

approved clinic and are eligible for treatment;  

d. Attest on a form provided by the board that he will not 

receive remuneration directly or indirectly for providing 

dental services; and  

e. Not be required to complete continuing education in 

order to renew such a license.  

3. A restricted volunteer license granted pursuant to this 

section shall expire on June 30 of the second year after its 

issuance or shall terminate when the supervising dentist 

withdraws his sponsorship. 

4. A dental hygienist holding a restricted volunteer license 

issued pursuant to this section is subject to the provisions 

of this chapter and the disciplinary regulations that apply to 

all licensees practicing in Virginia.  

B. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state 

licensees. Any dental hygienist who does not hold a license to 

practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice on 

a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, 

all volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the 

provision of health care to populations of underserved people 

shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least 15 days prior to engaging in 

such practice; 

2. Provide a copy of a current license or certificate to 

practice dental hygiene; 

3. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 

each jurisdiction in the United States in which he has held 

a license or certificate;  

4. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization and the 

dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

5. Pay a registration fee as required in 18VAC60-25-30; 

and  

6. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

provisions of subdivision 5 of § 54.1-2701 of the Code. 

Part V 

Licensure Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC60-25-180. Requirements for licensure renewal. 

A. An active dental hygiene license shall be renewed on or 

before March 31 each year. A teacher's license, a restricted 

volunteer license, or a temporary permit shall be renewed on 

or before June 30 each year.  

B. The license of any person who does not return the 

completed renewal form and fees by the deadline required in 

subsection A of this section shall automatically expire and 

become invalid and his practice of dental hygiene shall be 

illegal. With the exception of practice with a current, 

restricted volunteer license as provided in § 54.1-2726.1 of 

the Code, practicing in Virginia with an expired license may 

subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 
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C. Any person who does not return the completed form and 

fee by the deadline required in subsection A of this section 

shall be required to pay an additional late fee. The board may 

renew a license if the renewal form, renewal fee, and late fee 

are received within one year of the deadline required in 

subsection A of this section. 

18VAC60-25-190. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. In order to renew an active license, a dental hygienist 

shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of approved 

continuing education. Continuing education hours in excess 

of the number required for renewal may be transferred or 

credited to the next renewal year for a total of not more than 

15 hours. 

1. A dental hygienist shall be required to maintain evidence 

of successful completion of a current hands-on course in 

basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation for health care 

providers. 

2. A dental hygienist who monitors patients under general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious sedation or who 

administers nitrous oxide or nontopical local anesthesia 

shall complete four hours every two years of approved 

continuing education directly related to administration or 

monitoring of such anesthesia or sedation as part of the 

hours required for licensure renewal. 

B. An approved continuing education program shall be 

relevant to the treatment and care of patients and shall be:  

1. Clinical courses in dental or dental hygiene practice; or 

2. Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary to 

provide dental hygiene services and are supportive of 

clinical services (i.e., patient management, legal and 

ethical responsibilities, risk management, and 

recordkeeping). Courses not acceptable for the purpose of 

this subsection include, but are not limited to, estate 

planning, financial planning, investments, and personal 

health. 

C. Continuing education credit may be earned for verifiable 

attendance at or participation in any course, to include audio 

and video presentations, that meets the requirements in 

subdivision B 1 of this section and is given by one of the 

following sponsors: 

1. The American Dental Association and the National 

Dental Association and their constituent and 

component/branch associations; 

2. The American Dental Hygienists' Association and the 

National Dental Hygienists Association and their 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

3. The American Dental Assisting Association and its 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

4. The American Dental Association specialty 

organizations and their constituent and component/branch 

associations; 

5. A provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for 

Continuing Medical Education for Category 1 credits; 

6. The Academy of General Dentistry and its constituent 

and component/branch associations; 

7. Community colleges with an accredited dental hygiene 

program if offered under the auspices of the dental 

hygienist program; 

8. A college or university that is accredited by an 

accrediting agency approved by the U.S. Department of 

Education or a hospital or health care institution accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations; 

9. The American Heart Association, the American Red 

Cross, the American Safety and Health Institute, and the 

American Cancer Society; 

10. A medical school accredited by the American Medical 

Association's Liaison Committee for Medical Education or 

a dental school or dental specialty residency program 

accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

the American Dental Association; 

11. State or federal government agencies (i.e., military 

dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.); 

12. The Commonwealth Dental Hygienists' Society; 

13. The MCV Orthodontic Education and Research 

Foundation; 

14. The Dental Assisting National Board; or 

15. A regional testing agency (i.e., Central Regional Dental 

Testing Service, Northeast Regional Board of Dental 

Examiners, Southern Regional Testing Agency, or Western 

Regional Examining Board) when serving as an examiner. 

D. Verification of compliance. 

1. All licensees are required to verify compliance with 

continuing education requirements at the time of annual 

license renewal.  

2. Following the renewal period, the board may conduct an 

audit of licensees to verify compliance.  

3. Licensees selected for audit must provide original 

documents certifying that they have fulfilled their 

continuing education requirements by the deadline date as 

specified by the board. 

4. Licensees are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and the subject of the program or 

activity, the sponsor, and the amount of time earned. 

Documentation must be maintained for a period of four 

years following renewal. 

5. Failure to comply with continuing education 

requirements may subject the licensee to disciplinary 

action by the board. 

E. Exemptions. 

1. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 
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the first renewal date following the licensee's initial 

licensure. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters.  A written request with supporting 

documents must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the 

deadline for renewal. 

F. Continuing education hours required by board order shall 

not be used to satisfy the continuing education requirement 

for license renewal or reinstatement. 

18VAC60-25-200. Inactive license. 

A. Any dental hygienist who holds a current, unrestricted 

license in Virginia may, upon a request on the renewal 

application and submission of the required fee, be issued an 

inactive license.  

B. With the exception of practice with a restricted volunteer 

license as provided in § 54.1-2726.1 of the Code, the holder 

of an inactive license shall not be entitled to perform any act 

requiring a license to practice dental hygiene in Virginia. 

C. An inactive dental hygiene license may be renewed on or 

before March 31 of each year. 

18VAC60-25-210. Reinstatement or reactivation of a 

license. 

A. Reinstatement of an expired license. 

1. Any person whose license has expired for more than one 

year and who wishes to reinstate such license shall submit 

to the board a reinstatement application and the 

reinstatement fee. 

2. An applicant for reinstatement shall submit evidence of 

completion of continuing education that meets the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-190 and is equal to the 

requirement for the number of years in which his license 

has not been active in Virginia, not to exceed a total of 45 

hours. Of the required hours, at least 15 must be earned in 

the most recent 12 months and the remainder within the 36 

months preceding an application for reinstatement.  

3. An applicant for reinstatement shall also provide 

evidence of continuing competence that may also include 

(i) documentation of active practice in another state or in 

federal service, (ii) recent passage of a clinical competency 

examination accepted by the board, or (iii) completion of a 

refresher program offered by a CODA accredited program. 

4. The executive director may reinstate a license provided 

that the applicant can demonstrate continuing competence, 

that no grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the Code 

and 18VAC60-25-120 to deny said reinstatement, and that 

the applicant has paid the reinstatement fee and any fines 

or assessments. 

B. Reactivation of an inactive license. 

1. An inactive license may be reactivated upon submission 

of the required application, payment of the current renewal 

fee, and documentation of having completed continuing 

education that meets the requirements of 18VAC60-25-190 

and is equal to the requirement for the number of years in 

which the license has been inactive, not to exceed a total of 

45 hours. Of the required hours, at least 15 must be earned 

in the most recent 12 months and the remainder within the 

36 months immediately preceding the application for 

activation.  

2. An applicant for reactivation shall also provide evidence 

of continuing competence that may also include (i) 

documentation of active practice in another state or in 

federal service, (ii) recent passage of a clinical competency 

examination accepted by the board, or (iii) completion of a 

refresher program offered by a CODA accredited program. 

3. The executive director may reactivate a license provided 

that the applicant can demonstrate continuing competence 

and that no grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the 

Code and 18VAC60-25-120 to deny said reactivation. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC60-25) 

Instructions for Filing Online Application for Licensure by 

Examination or Endorsement for Dental Hygienists (rev. 

9/13) 

Licensure Procedures for Application for Registration for 

Volunteer Practice (rev. 8/08) 

Instructions and Application for Reactivation of License 

(rev. 2/10) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of License 

(rev. 5/10) 

Application Requirements and Application for Restricted 

Dental Hygiene Volunteer License (rev. 11/10) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 5/08) 

CHAPTER 30 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF 

DENTAL ASSISTANTS II 

Part I  

General Provisions 

18VAC60-30-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0999a002362~6&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0999a002362~6&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0999a002362~6&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ef4b002362~17&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ef4b002362~17&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6634a002362~18&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6634a002362~18&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9cf4c002362~19&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9cf4c002362~19&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f07d8002362~20&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f07d8002362~20&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae654002362~21&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
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"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

of the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual 

serving in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical 

capacity. 

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction 

and direct supervision of a dentist who is registered by the 

board to perform reversible, intraoral procedures as 

specified in 18VAC60-30-60 and 18VAC60-30-70.  

"Direct supervision" means that the dentist examines the 

patient and records diagnostic findings prior to delegating 

restorative or prosthetic treatment and related services to a 

dental assistant II for completion the same day or at a later 

date. The dentist prepares the tooth or teeth to be restored 

and remains immediately available in the office to the 

dental assistant II for guidance or assistance during the 

delivery of treatment and related services. The dentist 

examines the patient to evaluate the treatment and services 

before the patient is dismissed. 

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., direct, 

indirect or general) that a dentist is required to exercise 

with a dental hygienist, a dental assistant I, or a dental 

assistant II or that a dental hygienist is required to exercise 

with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the delivery of 

treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist 

during one or more subsequent appointments when the 

dentist may or may not be present. Issuance of the order 

authorizes the dental hygienist to supervise a dental 

assistant performing duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Immediate supervision" means the dentist is in the 

operatory to supervise the administration of sedation or 

provision of treatment. 

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and 

record appropriate physiologic functions of the body 

during sedative procedures and general anesthesia 

appropriate to the level of sedation as provided in Part VI 

(18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Dentistry. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral radiographic 

images of hard and soft tissues used for purposes of 

diagnosis.  

18VAC60-30-20. Address of record; posting of 

registration. 

A. Address of record. Each registered dental assistant II 

shall provide the board with a current address of record. All 

required notices and correspondence mailed by the board to 

any such registrant shall be validly given when mailed to the 

address of record on file with the board. Each registrant may 

also provide a different address to be used as the public 

address, but if a second address is not provided, the address 

of record shall be the public address. All changes of address 

shall be furnished to the board in writing within 30 days of 

such changes. 

B. Posting of registration. A copy of the registration of a 

dental assistant II shall either be posted in an operatory in 

which the person is providing services to the public or in the 

patient reception area where it is clearly visible to patients 

and accessible for reading. 

18VAC60-30-30. Required fees. 

A. Initial registration fee.  $100 

B. Renewal fees.  

1. Dental assistant II registration - active  $50 

2. Dental assistant II registration - inactive  $25 

C. Late fees.   

1. Dental assistant II registration - active  $20 

2. Dental assistant II registration - inactive  $10 

D. Reinstatement fees.   

1. Expired registration $125 

2. Suspended registration  $250 

3. Revoked registration  $300 

E. Administrative fees.   

1. Duplicate wall certificate  $60 

2. Duplicate registration  $20 

3. Registration verification  $35 

4. Returned check fee  $35 

F. No fee will be refunded or applied for any purpose other 

than the purpose for which the fee is submitted.  
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Part II 

Practice of Dental Assistants II 

18VAC60-30-40. Practice of dental hygienists and dental 

assistants II under direction. 

A. A dentist may utilize up to a total of four dental 

hygienists or dental assistants II in any combination 

practicing under direction at one and the same time. In 

addition, a dentist may permit through issuance of written 

orders for services additional dental hygienists to practice 

under general supervision in a free clinic, a public health 

program, or a voluntary practice. 

B. In all instances and on the basis of his diagnosis, a 

licensed dentist assumes ultimate responsibility for 

determining with the patient or his representative the specific 

treatment the patient will receive, which aspects of treatment 

will be delegated to qualified personnel, and the direction 

required for such treatment, in accordance with this chapter, 

Part III (18VAC60-21-110 et seq.) of the Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Dentistry, and the Code. 

18VAC60-30-50. Nondelegable duties; dentists. 

Only licensed dentists shall perform the following duties: 

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning; 

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 

tissue except a dental hygienist performing gingival 

curettage as provided in 18VAC60-21-140; 

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 

medicaments, except a dental hygienist who meets the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100 may parenterally 

administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to patients 18 

years of age or older; 

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 

prosthetic device or restoration that is to be inserted into a 

patient's mouth; 

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth; 

6. Administering and monitoring conscious/moderate 

sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthetics except as 

provided for in § 54.1-2701 of the Code and subsections J 

and K of 18VAC60-21-260; 

7. Condensing, contouring, or adjusting any final, fixed, or 

removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 

mouth with the exception of packing and carving amalgam 

and placing and shaping composite resins by dental 

assistants II with advanced training as specified in 

18VAC60-30-120; 

8. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic bonds 

and bands; and 

9. Final adjustment and fitting of crowns and bridges in 

preparation for final cementation. 

18VAC60-30-60. Delegation to dental assistants II. 

The following duties may only be delegated under the 

direction and direct supervision of a dentist to a dental 

assistant II who has completed the coursework, corresponding 

module of laboratory training, corresponding module of 

clinical experience, and examinations specified in 18VAC60-

30-120: 

1. Performing pulp capping procedures; 

2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 

3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a 

slow speed handpiece; 

4. Taking final impressions; 

5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment 

and fitting by the dentist. 

18VAC60-30-70. Delegation to dental assistants I and II. 

A. Duties appropriate to the training and experience of the 

dental assistant and the practice of the supervising dentist 

may be delegated to a dental assistant I or II under the 

indirect or under general supervision required in 18VAC60-

21-120, with the exception of those listed as nondelegable in 

18VAC60-30-50, those which may only be delegated to 

dental hygienists as listed in 18VAC60-21-140, and those 

which may only be delegated to a dental assistant II as listed 

in 18VAC60-30-60. 

B. Duties delegated to a dental assistant under general 

supervision shall be under the direction of the dental 

hygienist who supervises the implementation of the dentist's 

orders by examining the patient, observing the services 

rendered by an assistant, and being available for consultation 

on patient care. 

18VAC60-30-80. Radiation certification. 

No dentist or dental hygienist shall permit a person not 

otherwise licensed by this board to place or expose dental x-

ray film unless he has one of the following: (i) satisfactory 

completion of a radiation safety course and examination 

given by an institution that maintains a program in dental 

assisting, dental hygiene, or dentistry accredited by CODA; 

(ii) certification by the American Registry of Radiologic 

Technologists; or (iii) satisfactory completion of the 

Radiation Health and Safety Review Course provided by the 

Dental Assisting National Board or its affiliate and passage of 

the Radiation Health and Safety Exam given by the Dental 

Assisting National Board. Any certificate issued pursuant to 

satisfying the requirements of this section shall be posted in 

plain view of the patient. 

18VAC60-30-90. What does not constitute practice. 

The following are not considered the practice of dental 

hygiene and dentistry:  

1. General oral health education. 

2. Recording a patient's pulse, blood pressure, temperature, 

presenting complaint, and medical history. 
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Part III 

Standards of Conduct 

18VAC60-30-100. Patient records; confidentiality. 

A. A dental assistant II shall be responsible for accurate and 

complete information in patient records for those services 

provided by the assistant under direction to include the 

following:  

1. Patient's name on each page in the patient record;  

2. Radiographs, digital images, and photographs clearly 

labeled with the patient name and date taken; and 

3. Notation of each date of treatment and the identity of the 

dentist, the dental hygienist, or the dental assistant 

providing service.  

B. A dental assistant shall comply with the provisions of 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of patient records. A dental assistant shall not 

willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality between a 

practitioner and a patient. A breach of confidentiality that is 

required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the control 

of the assistant shall not be considered negligent or willful. 

18VAC60-30-110. Acts constituting unprofessional 

conduct. 

The following practices shall constitute unprofessional 

conduct within the meaning of § 54.1-2706 of the Code: 

1. Fraudulently obtaining, attempting to obtain, or 

cooperating with others in obtaining payment for services. 

2. Performing services for a patient under terms or 

conditions that are unconscionable. The board shall not 

consider terms unconscionable where there has been a full 

and fair disclosure of all terms and where the patient 

entered the agreement without fraud or duress. 

3. Misrepresenting to a patient and the public the materials 

or methods and techniques used or intended to be used. 

4. Committing any act in violation of the Code reasonably 

related to dental practice. 

5. Delegating any service or operation that requires the 

professional competence of a dentist, dental hygienist, or 

dental assistant II to any person who is not authorized by 

this chapter. 

6. Certifying completion of a dental procedure that has not 

actually been completed. 

7. Violating or cooperating with others in violating 

provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or 24 (§ 54.1-

2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code or the Drug Control 

Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code). 

Part IV 

Entry Requirements for Dental Assistants II 

18VAC60-30-120. Educational requirements for dental 

assistants II. 

A. A prerequisite for entry into an educational program 

preparing a person for registration as a dental assistant II shall 

be current certification as a Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) 

conferred by the Dental Assisting National Board. 

B. To be registered as a dental assistant II, a person shall 

complete the following requirements from an educational 

program accredited by CODA: 

1. At least 50 hours of didactic course work in dental 

anatomy and operative dentistry that may be completed 

online. 

2. Laboratory training that may be completed in the 

following modules with no more than 20% of the specified 

instruction to be completed as homework in a dental office: 

a. At least 40 hours of placing, packing, carving, and 

polishing of amalgam restorations and pulp capping 

procedures; 

b. At least 60 hours of placing and shaping composite 

resin restorations and pulp capping procedures; 

c. At least 20 hours of taking final impressions and use of 

a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

d. At least 30 hours of final cementation of crowns and 

bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

3. Clinical experience applying the techniques learned in 

the preclinical coursework and laboratory training that may 

be completed in a dental office in the following modules: 

a. At least 80 hours of placing, packing, carving, and 

polishing of amalgam restorations; 

b. At least 120 hours of placing and shaping composite 

resin restorations; 

c. At least 40 hours of taking final impressions and use of 

a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

d. At least 60 hours of final cementation of crowns and 

bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

4. Successful completion of the following competency 

examinations given by the accredited educational 

programs: 

a. A written examination at the conclusion of the 50 

hours of didactic coursework; 

b. A practical examination at the conclusion of each 

module of laboratory training; and 

c. A comprehensive written examination at the 

conclusion of all required coursework, training, and 

experience for each of the corresponding modules. 

C. All treatment of patients shall be under the direct and 

immediate supervision of a licensed dentist who is 

responsible for the performance of duties by the student. The 

dentist shall attest to successful completion of the clinical 

competencies and restorative experiences. 

18VAC60-30-130. Registration certification. 

A. All applicants for registration as a dental assistant II shall 

provide evidence of a current credential as a Certified Dental 

Assistant (CDA) conferred by the Dental Assisting National 

Board or another certification from a credentialing 
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organization recognized by the American Dental Association 

and acceptable to the board, which was granted following 

passage of an examination on general chairside assisting, 

radiation health and safety, and infection control. 

B. All applicants who successfully completed the board-

approved examinations five or more years prior to the date of 

receipt of their applications for registration by the board may 

be required to retake the board-approved examinations or take 

board-approved continuing education unless they demonstrate 

that they have maintained clinical, ethical, and legal practice 

for 48 of the past 60 months immediately prior to submission 

of an application for registration. 

C. All applicants for registration as a dental assistant II shall 

be required to attest that they have read and understand and 

will remain current with the applicable Virginia dental and 

dental hygiene laws and the regulations of this board. 

18VAC60-30-140. Registration by endorsement as a 

dental assistant II. 

A. An applicant for registration by endorsement as a dental 

assistant II shall provide evidence of the following: 

1. Hold current certification as a Certified Dental Assistant 

(CDA) conferred by the Dental Assisting National Board 

or another national credentialing organization recognized 

by the American Dental Association; 

2. Be currently authorized to perform expanded duties as a 

dental assistant in each jurisdiction of the United States; 

3. Hold a credential, registration, or certificate with 

qualifications substantially equivalent in hours of 

instruction and course content to those set forth in 

18VAC60-30-120 or if the qualifications were not 

substantially equivalent the dental assistant can document 

experience in the restorative and prosthetic expanded 

duties set forth in 18VAC60-30-60 for at least 24 of the 

past 48 months preceding application for registration in 

Virginia. 

B. An applicant shall also: 

1. Be certified to be in good standing from each 

jurisdiction of the United States in which he is currently 

registered, certified, or credentialed or in which he has ever 

held a registration, certificate, or credential; 

2. Not have committed any act that would constitute a 

violation of § 54.1-2706 of the Code; and 

3. Attest to having read and understand and to remain 

current with the laws and the regulations governing dental 

practice in Virginia. 

Part V 

Requirements for Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC60-30-150. Registration renewal requirements. 

A. Every person holding an active or inactive registration 

shall annually, on or before March 31, renew his registration. 

Any person who does not return the completed form and fee 

by the deadline shall be required to pay an additional late fee.  

B. The registration of any person who does not return the 

completed renewal form and fees by the deadline shall 

automatically expire and become invalid and his practice as a 

dental assistant II shall be illegal. Practicing in Virginia with 

an expired registration may subject the registrant to 

disciplinary action by the board.  

C. In order to renew registration, a dental assistant II shall 

be required to maintain and attest to current certification from 

the Dental Assisting National Board or another national 

credentialing organization recognized by the American 

Dental Association. 

D. A dental assistant II shall also be required to maintain 

evidence of successful completion of training in basic 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

E. Following the renewal period, the board may conduct an 

audit of registrants to verify compliance. Registrants selected 

for audit must provide original documents certifying current 

certification. 

F. Continuing education hours required by board order shall 

not be used to satisfy the requirement for registration renewal 

or reinstatement. 

18VAC60-30-160. Inactive registration. 

Any dental assistant II who holds a current, unrestricted 

registration in Virginia may upon a request on the renewal 

application and submission of the required fee be issued an 

inactive registration. The holder of an inactive registration 

shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring registration 

to practice as a dental assistant II in Virginia. An inactive 

registration may be reactivated upon submission of evidence 

of current certification from the national credentialing 

organization recognized by the American Dental Association. 

The board reserves the right to deny a request for reactivation 

to any registrant who has been determined to have committed 

an act in violation of § 54.1-2706 of the Code. 

18VAC60-30-170. Registration reinstatement 

requirements. 

A. The board shall reinstate an expired registration if the 

renewal form, renewal fee, and late fee are received within 

one year of the deadline required in subsection A of 

18VAC60-30-150, provided that no grounds exist to deny 

said reinstatement pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the Code and 

18VAC60-30-110.  

B. A dental assistant II who has allowed his registration to 

lapse or who has had his registration suspended or revoked 

must submit evidence of current certification from a 

credentialing organization recognized by the American 

Dental Association to reinstate his registration. 

C. The executive director may reinstate such expired 

registration provided that the applicant can demonstrate 

continuing competence, the applicant has paid the 

reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments, and no 

grounds exist to deny said reinstatement pursuant to § 54.1-

2706 of the Code and 18VAC60-30-110. 
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC60-30) 

Application for Registration to Practice as a Dental Assistant 

II (rev. 2/12) 

Application Requirements for Registration to Practice as a 

Dental Assistant II (rev. 2/12) 

Form A - Certification of Dental Assisting Education (rev. 

2/12) 

Form B (rev. 10/11) 

Form C - Certification of Authorization to Perform 

Expanded Duties as a Dental Assistant (rev. 3/11) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2362; Filed October 15, 2013, 11:34 a.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-390).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: October 11, 2013, through April 10, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Chapter 114 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly authorizes a 

person who has successfully completed a training 

program approved by the Board of Nursing to administer 

medications via percutaneous gastrostomy tube to a 

person receiving services from a program licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS). An enactment clause requires the 

Board of Nursing to promulgate regulations for a 

training program within 280 days of enactment of the 

bill. 

The amendments to 18VAC90-20-390 (Content of a 

medication administration training program) include a 

requirement to complete the curriculum approved by 

DBHDS for unlicensed persons to administer medication 

via a gastrostomy tube. 

18VAC90-20-390. Content.  

A. The curriculum shall include a minimum of 32 hours of 

classroom instruction and practice in the following:  

1. Preparing for safe administration of medications to 

clients in specific settings by:  

a. Demonstrating an understanding of the client's rights 

regarding medications, treatment decisions and 

confidentiality.  

b. Recognizing emergencies and other health-threatening 

conditions and responding accordingly.  

c. Identifying medication terminology and abbreviations.  

2. Maintaining aseptic conditions by:  

a. Implementing universal precautions.  

b. Insuring cleanliness and disinfection.  

c. Disposing of infectious or hazardous waste.  

3. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 

medication administration by:  

a. Reviewing administration records and prescriber's 

orders.  

b. Facilitating client's awareness of the purpose and 

effects of medication.  

c. Assisting the client to interpret prescription labels.  

d. Observing the five rights of medication administration 

and security requirements appropriate to the setting.  

e. Following proper procedure for preparing medications.  

f. Measuring and recording vital signs to assist the client 

in making medication administration decisions.  

g. Assisting the client to administer oral medications.  

h. Assisting the client with administration of prepared 

instillations and treatments of:  

(1) Eye drops and ointments.  

(2) Ear drops.  

(3) Nasal drops and sprays.  

(4) Topical preparations.  

(5) Compresses and dressings.  

(6) Vaginal and rectal products.  

(7) Soaks and sitz baths.  

(8) Inhalation therapy.  

(9) Oral hygiene products.  

i. Reporting and recording the client's refusal to take 

medication.  

j. Documenting medication administration.  

k. Documenting and reporting medication errors.  

l. Maintaining client records according to facility policy.  

m. Sharing information with other staff orally and by 

using documents.  

n. Storing and securing medications.  

o. Maintaining an inventory of medications.  

p. Disposing of medications.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5185e002362~22&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5185e002362~22&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c6cb8002362~23&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c6cb8002362~23&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80209002362~24&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80209002362~24&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6ad24002362~25&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9c1ee002362~26&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9c1ee002362~26&typ=40&actno=002362&mime=application/pdf
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4. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 

the administration of insulin. Instruction and practice in the 

administration of insulin shall be included only in those 

settings where required by client needs and shall include:  

a. Cause and treatment of diabetes.  

b. The side effects of insulin.  

c. Preparation and administration of insulin.  

B. Pursuant to § 54.1-3408 L of the Code of Virginia, the 

board requires successful completion of the curriculum 

approved by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services for unlicensed persons to administer 

medication via a gastrostomy tube to a person receiving 

services from a program licensed by the department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3733; Filed October 11, 2013, 9:12 a.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-75, 18VAC150-20-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 4, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Board of Veterinary Medicine amendments increase 

fees charged to regulants and applicants. Annual renewal 

fees increase as follows: (i) for veterinarians, the increase 

is $40 per year; (ii) for veterinary technicians, the increase 

is $20 per year; (iii) for veterinary establishments, the 

increase is $60 per year; and (iv) for equine dental 

technicians, the increase is $20 per year. Other fees are 

increased proportionally. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC150-20-75. Expired license; reinstatement; practice 

with an expired or lapsed license not permitted.  

A. A license may be renewed up to one year after the 

expiration date, provided a late fee as prescribed in 

18VAC150-20-100 is paid in addition to the required renewal 

fee. A license shall automatically lapse if the licensee fails to 

renew by the expiration date. The practice of veterinary 

medicine without a current, active license is unlawful and 

may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

B. Reinstatement of licenses expired for more than one year 

shall be at the discretion of the board. To reinstate a license, 

the licensee shall pay the renewal and reinstatement fees fee 

as prescribed in 18VAC150-20-100 and submit evidence of 

completion of continuing education hours as required by 

§ 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia equal to the number of 

years in which the license has been expired, for a maximum 

of two years. The board may require additional 

documentation of clinical competency and professional 

activities.  

18VAC150-20-100. Fees. 

[ A. ] The following fees shall be in effect: 

Veterinary application for licensure $200 

Veterinary initial license or renewal 

(active) 

$135 $175 

Veterinary license renewal 

(inactive) 

$65 $85 

Veterinary reinstatement of expired 

license 

$175 $255 

Veterinary license late renewal $45 $60 

Veterinarian reinstatement after 

disciplinary action 

$300 $450 

Veterinary technician application for 

licensure 

$65 

Veterinary technician initial license 

or renewal 

$30 $50 

Veterinary technician license 

renewal (inactive) 

$15 $25 

Veterinary technician license late 

renewal 

$15 $20 

Veterinary technician reinstatement 

of expired license 

$50 $95 

Veterinary technician reinstatement 

after disciplinary action 

$75 $125 

Initial veterinary establishment 

permit registration 

$200 

Equine dental technician initial 

registration 

$100 

Equine dental technician registration 

renewal 

$50 $70 

Equine dental technician late 

renewal 

$20 $25 

Equine dental technician 

reinstatement 

$120 

Initial veterinary establishment 

permit registration 

$300 

Veterinary establishment renewal $140 $200 
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Veterinary establishment late 

renewal 

$45 $75 

Veterinary establishment 

reinstatement 

$100 $350 

Veterinary establishment 

reinspection 

$200 $300 

Veterinary establishment -- change 

of location 

$200 $300 

Veterinary establishment -- change 

of veterinarian-in-charge 

$30 $40 

Duplicate license $10 $15 

Duplicate wall certificate $25 

Returned check $35 

Licensure verification to another 

jurisdiction 

$15 $25 

[ B. For the renewal of licensees and registrations due by 

January 1, 2013, the following one-time debt-reduction fee 

will be assessed: 

Veterinary license (active) $100 

Veterinary technician license $50 

Veterinary establishment $200 

Equine dental technician $50 

Veterinary license – late fee on 

assessment 

$60 

Veterinary technician license – late 

fee on assessment 

$20 

Veterinary establishment – late fee 

on assessment 

$75 

Equine dental technician – late fee on 

assessment 

$20 ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2132; Filed October 15, 2013, 10:23 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services is conducting a periodic review 

and small business impact review of 22VAC30-50, Policies 

and Procedures for Administering the Commonwealth 

Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund. The review of this 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

14 (2010).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins November 4, 2013, and ends 

December 4, 2013. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Regulatory 

Coordinator, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 

23229, FAX (804) 662-7663, or email 

vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Total Maximum Daily Load Implementation Plan for 
Clinch River and Tributaries in Russell and Tazewell 

Counties 

Announcement of a public meeting to present a draft total 

maximum daily load (TMDL) implementation plan for Clinch 

River from Big Cedar Creek confluence downstream to the 

Dumps Creek confluence and the following tributaries: 

Maiden Spring Creek and Little River in Tazewell County, 

Virginia, and Indian Creek, Weaver Creek, Swords Creek, 

Lewis Creek, and Big Cedar Creek in Russell County, 

Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Lebanon Town Hall, 405 West Main 

Street, Lebanon, Virginia, on November 5, 2013, from 6 p.m. 

to 8 p.m.  

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) is announcing the final implementation plan to 

restore water quality, a public comment opportunity, and a 

public meeting. 

Meeting description: Final public meeting on an 

implementation plan to restore water quality. 

Description of plan: This plan follows a TMDL study 

developed for the Clinch River and tributaries including 

Maiden Spring Creek and Little River in Tazewell County, 

Virginia, and Indian Creek, Weaver Creek, Swords Creek, 

Lewis Creek, and Big Cedar Creek in Russell County, 

Virginia that identified bacteria contamination as the cause 

for the streams failure to meet the recreational use water 

quality standard. 

The plan outlines the corrective actions needed to reduce the 

sources of bacteria and their associated costs and benefits, 

along with measurable goals, and an implementation timeline. 

The plan focuses on addressing the agricultural, residential, 

and urban sources of bacteria identified in the TMDL study.  

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL and a 

TMDL implementation plan includes public meetings and a 

public comment period once the study report is drafted. After 

public comments have been considered and addressed, DEQ 

will submit the implementation plan to the State Water 

Control Board for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 

name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 

period, November 4, 2013, to December 4, 2013. DEQ also 

accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 

announced in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available for the 

impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 

website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs.aspx. 

Contact for additional information: Martha Chapman, TMDL 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4800, FAX (276) 

676-4899, or email martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Crab Creek in 
Montgomery County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) will host a 

public meeting to discuss the development of a water quality 

improvement plan for reducing fecal bacteria contamination 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs.aspx
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and excessive sediment accumulation in Crab Creek within 

Montgomery County, Virginia. The purposes of the meeting 

are to review the status of water quality in Crab Creek, 

provide an overview of the plan development process, and 

begin discussions about actions needed to reduce agricultural, 

residential, and urban sources of fecal bacteria and sediment. 

The public meeting will be held at the Montgomery County 

Government Center located at 755 Roanoke Street, 

Christiansburg, VA on November 12, 2013, from 7 p.m. to 

9 p.m.  

Fecal bacteria (e.g., E. coli) levels in Crab Creek exceed state 

water quality standards designed to protect primary contact 

recreation (e.g., swimming, wading, kayaking, etc.). 

Additionally, Crab Creek does not meet Virginia's general 

standard for water quality due to an excessive accumulation 

of sand, silt, and clay on the streambed that is harmful to 

aquatic life. Due to these water quality impairments, total 

maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for E. coli and sediment have 

been developed by DEQ. A TMDL describes the amount of 

pollution that a water body can receive and still meet water 

quality standards. The E. coli and sediment TMDL study for 

Crab Creek was completed in 2004. The Fecal Bacteria and 

General Standard TMDL Development for Crab Creek 

document can be located on DEQ's website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/ap

ptmdls/newrvr/crabcr.pdf. 

Sections 62.1-44.19:4 through 62.1-44.19:8 of the Code of 

Virginia direct DEQ to develop and implement a plan to 

achieve full support of the designated uses (e.g. primary 

contact recreation, aquatic life) of impaired waters. These 

plans, referred to as TMDL implementation plans (IPs) must 

provide measurable goals and the date of expected 

achievement of water quality objectives. An IP must also 

contain the corrective actions needed and their associated 

costs, benefits, and environmental impacts.  

Questions or information requests should be addressed to 

Patrick Lizon, TMDL/Watershed Field Coordinator, Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality, 355-A Deadmore 

Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4803, or 

email patrick.lizon@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Tye River Watershed 
in Nelson County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

implementation plan for the Tye River watershed in Nelson 

County. The Tye River and its tributaries, Piney River, Hat 

Creek, and Rucker Run, were first listed as impaired on 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report due to 

violations of the state's water quality standard for bacteria in 

2004 (Hat Creek and Rucker Run), 2006 (Tye River), and 

2008 (Piney Creek). The creeks have remained on the 

§ 303(d) list for these impairments since then. The impaired 

segment of the Tye River extends from its confluence with 

the Piney River to its confluence with the James River (15.94 

miles), while Hat Creek and Rucker Run are designated as 

impaired from their headwaters to their confluence with the 

Tye River (9.58 miles and 18.26 miles respectively). The 

impaired segment of the Piney River extends 13.3 miles 

upstream from its confluence with the Tye River. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. In 

addition, § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires 

the development of an implementation plan (IP) for approved 

TMDLs. The IP should provide measurable goals and the date 

of expected achievement of water quality objectives. The IP 

should also include the corrective actions needed and their 

associated costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

Bacteria TMDLs were completed by DEQ for the Tye River, 

Hat Creek, Rucker Run, and Piney River in April 2013, and 

were submitted to the federal Environmental Protection 

Agency for approval on August 16, 2013. The TMDL report 

is available on the DEQ website at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInforma

tionTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports

.aspx. 

The first public meeting on the development of this TMDL 

implementation plan will be held on Thursday, November 7, 

2013, at 7 p.m. at the Massie's Mill Ruritan Hall, 5439 Patrick 

Henry Highway, Roseland, VA. 

The public comment period for the first public meeting will 

end December 9, 2013.  

Written comments should include the name, address, and 

telephone number of the person submitting the comments and 

should be sent to Nesha McRae, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 

22801, telephone (540) 574-7850, or email 

nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 

Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations on October 7, 2013. The orders may be viewed at 

the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Two (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play Hallo-Win" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective on the date of its 

signing, August 28, 2013, and shall remain in full force and 

effect unless amended or rescinded by further Director's 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/apptmdls/newrvr/crabcr.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/apptmdls/newrvr/crabcr.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
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Order. Upon the effective date, these rules shall supersede 

and replace any and all prior Virginia Lottery "Fast Play 

Hallo-Win" game rules) 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Eight (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play $15,000 Payday" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective on the date of its 

signing, August 28, 2013, and shall remain in full force and 

effect unless amended or rescinded by further Director's 

Order. Upon the effective date, these rules shall supersede 

and replace any and all prior Virginia Lottery "Fast Play 

$15,000 Payday" game rules) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Seven (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "Flyaway with the Hokies Sweepstakes" 

Final Rules for Operation (effective nunc pro tunc to 

midnight on September 2, 2013, and shall remain in full force 

and effect unless amended or rescinded by further Director's 

Order) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Eight (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "Z-VA Promotion" Final Requirements for 

Operation (effective September 25, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Nine (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play Wild Cherry 

Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective nunc pro 

tunc to September 24, 2013, and shall remain in full force and 

effect unless amended or rescinded by further Director's 

Order. Upon the effective date, these rules shall supersede 

and replace any and all prior Virginia Lottery "Fast Play Wild 

Cherry Bingo" game rules) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-One (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery "$100,000 Crossword" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective October 3, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Two (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1463 "$5,000 Payday" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective October 3, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Four (13) 

"Coastal Investments Redskins Retailer Incentive Promotion" 

Virginia Lottery Retailer Incentive Program Requirements 

(effective on the date of its signing, September 9, 2013, and 

shall remain in full force and effect until ninety (90) days 

after the conclusion of the Incentive Program, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Five (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery "$20X the Money" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective October 3, 2013) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Montgomery 
County Public Service Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the 

Montgomery County Public Service Authority (PSA) 

regarding the PSA's wastewater treatment plant in Riner, 

Virginia, for violations of State Water Control Law and the 

applicable permit and regulations. The proposed enforcement 

action includes a civil charge. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Robert Steele will accept comments 

by email at robert.steele@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 

562-6725, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, from 

November 5, 2013, to December 4, 2013. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

mailto:varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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ERRATA 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-51. Virginia Statewide Fire 

Prevention Code.  

Publication: 29:24 VA.R. 3252-3282 July 29, 2013. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Pages 3269-3270, 13VAC5-51-131, subsections D through G 

should read as follows: 

"C. D. Change Section 314.1 to read: 

314.1. General. Indoor displays constructed within any 

building or structure shall comply with Sections 314.2 

through 314.5. 

D. E. Add Section 314.5 to read: 

314.5. Smokeless powder and small arms primers. Venders 

shall not store, display, or sell smokeless powder or small 

arms primers during trade shows inside exhibition halls 

except as follows: 

1. The amount of smokeless powder displayed by each 

vender is limited to the amount established in Section 

3306.5.1.1 5506.5.1.1. 

2. The amount of smokeless powder each vender may store 

is limited to the storage arrangements and storage amounts 

established in Section 3306.5.2.1 5506.5.2.1. Smokeless 

powder shall remain in the manufacturer's original sealed 

container, and the container shall remain sealed while 

inside the building. The repackaging of smokeless powder 

shall not be performed inside the building. Damaged 

containers shall not be repackaged inside the building and 

shall be immediately removed from the building in such 

manner to avoid spilling any powder. 

3. There shall be at least 50 feet separation between 

venders and 20 feet from any exit. 

4. Small arms primers shall be displayed and stored in the 

manufacturer's original packaging and in accordance with 

the requirements of Section 3306.5.2.3 5506.5.2.3. 

E. F. Change Section 315.3 315.4 to read: 

315.3 315.4. Outside storage. Outside storage of 

combustible materials shall not be located within 10 feet 

(3048 mm) of a property line or other building on the site. 

Exceptions: 

1. The separation distance is allowed to be reduced to 3 feet 

(914 mm) for storage not exceeding 6 feet (1829 mm) in 

height. 

2. The separation distance is allowed to be reduced when 

the fire official determines that no hazard to the adjoining 

property exists. 

F. G. Change Section 315.3.1 315.4.1 to read: 

315.3.1 315.4.1. Storage beneath overhead projections from 

buildings. To the extent required by the code the building 

was constructed under, when buildings are required to be 

protected by automatic sprinklers, the outdoor storage, 

display, and handling of combustible materials under eaves, 

canopies, or other projections or overhangs is prohibited 

except where automatic sprinklers are installed under such 

eaves, canopies, or other projections or overhangs." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3161; Filed October 15, 2013, 3:46 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


