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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2014 through December 2015 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

31:8 November 25, 2014 (Tuesday) December 15, 2014 

31:9 December 10, 2014 December 29, 2014 

31:10 December 22, 2014 (Monday) January 12, 2015 

31:11 January 7, 2015 January 26, 2015 

31:12 January 21, 2015 February 9, 2015 

31:13 February 4, 2015 February 23, 2015 

31:14 February 18, 2015 March 9, 2015 

31:15 March 4, 2015 March 23, 2015 

31:16 March 18. 2015 April 6, 2015 

31:17 April 1, 2015 April 20, 2015 

31:18 April 15, 2015 May 4, 2015 

31:19 April 29, 2015 May 18, 2015 

31:20 May 13, 2015 June 1, 2015 

31:21 May 27, 2015 June 15, 2015 

31:22 June 10, 2015 June 29, 2015 

31:23 June 24, 2015 July 13, 2015 

31:24 July 8, 2015 July 27, 2015 

31:25 July 22, 2015 August 10, 2015 

31:26 August 5, 2015 August 24, 2015 

32:1 August 19, 2015 September 7, 2015 

32:2 September 2, 2015 September 21, 2015 

32:3 September 16, 2015 October 5, 2015 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 11, 2015 November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 

intends to consider amending 6VAC20-30, Rules Relating to 

Compulsory In-Service Training Standards for Law-

Enforcement Officers, Jailors or Custodial Officers, 

Courtroom Security Officers, Process Service Officers 

and Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of 

Operations. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 

regulations relating to firearms requalification for law-

enforcement officers, jailors or custodial officers, courtroom 

security officers, process service officers, and officers of the 

Department of Corrections, Division of Operations. The 

planned action is to add an additional three courses of fire for 

criminal justice academies to choose from when offering 

annual firearms in-service qualification. This action will also 

remove the firearms courses, replacing them with a web link 

to the document of where the firearms courses can be located. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 31, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Cindy Campbell, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-7898, or email cindy.campbell@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4108; Filed November 3, 2014, 11:49 a.m.  

  –––––––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board for Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals intends to consider amending 18VAC160-20, 

Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators 

and Onsite Sewage System Professionals Regulations. The 

Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 

Onsite Sewage System Professionals will conduct a general 

review of the regulations. In conformance with Chapters 892 

and 924 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly, the board established 

a program for licensing individuals as onsite soil evaluators, 

onsite sewage system installers, and onsite sewage system 

operators. This program was incorporated into the regulations 

governing waterworks and wastewater works operators. As 

the regulations have not undergone cumulative review since 

the inclusion of the onsite sewage program in 2009, a 

thorough review is necessary to ensure that the regulation 

complements current Virginia law, provides minimal burdens 

on regulants while still protecting the public, and reflects 

current procedures and policies of the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation and current 

industry standards. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 31, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 

(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4114; Filed November 3, 2014, 12:08 p.m.  



REGULATIONS 
For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text. 

Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.  Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the 
proposed regulation. 

Volume 31, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 1, 2014 

370 

REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND RECREATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Conservation and Recreation is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 1 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes agency orders or 

regulations fixing rates or prices. The Department of Conservation and Recreation will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-36. Standard Fees for Use of Department of Conservation and Recreation Facilities, 

Programs, and Services (amending 4VAC5-36-50, 4VAC5-36-60, 4VAC5-36-70, 4VAC5-36-90, 4VAC5-36-100, 4VAC5-

36-110, 4VAC5-36-120 through 4VAC5-36-160, 4VAC5-36-200, 4VAC5-36-210, 4VAC5-36-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: January 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy and Planning Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 

Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action establishes, removes, or increases fees for use of the Department of Conservation and Recreation 

facilities, programs, and services as follows: parking and launch; admission; swimming; camping; cabin; picnic shelters 

and event tents; amphitheater and gazebo; boat storage; interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat; interpretive and 

educational tours and program; outdoor skill program; miscellaneous rental; conference center and meeting facility; and 

administrative and processing. 

The changes to the State Park System standard rates and prices represent (i) revisions to maintain fair market value and 

demand for services; (ii) adjustments to camping and cabin fees to provide for a 15% fee differential between the Base Fee 

and Virginia Resident Fee; (iii) the addition of new facilities and offerings; (iv) updates to ensure consistency with the 

private sector; (v) the deletion of fees that have become obsolete as there is no longer demand for a service; (vi) revisions to 

reflect private concessionaires' new seasonal prices; (vii) reasonable increases to offset growing maintenance costs; and 

(viii) updates to ensure formatting consistency. 

4VAC5-36-50. Parking and launch fees.  

PARKING FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

 BASE RATE VIRGINIA RESIDENTS 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Daily Parking for Passenger Vehicles: 

Applies to cars, trucks, vans (up to 15 

passenger) 8 passengers), and 

motorcycles. 
  

  All parks unless listed below. $5.00 $6.00 $3.00 $4.00 

  Chippokes, Claytor Lake, 

Douthat, Fairy Stone, First 

Landing, Grayson Highlands, 

Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, 

Leesylvania, Mason Neck, New 

$6.00 $7.00 $4.00 $5.00 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 1, 2014 

371 

River Trail, Pocahontas, 

Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. 

Shenandoah River, Sky 

Meadows, Smith Mountain 

Lake, Westmoreland 

 All days excluding holidays and 

prime-season weekends: Claytor 

Lake, First Landing, Lake Anna, 

Leesylvania, Pocahontas, 

Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. 

Shenandoah River, 

Westmoreland, Staunton River 

$6.00 $7.00 $4.00 $5.00 

 Holidays and prime-season 

weekends only: Claytor Lake, 

First Landing, Lake Anna, 

Leesylvania, Pocahontas, 

Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. 

Shenandoah River, 

Westmoreland, Staunton River 

$9.00 $9.00 $7.00 $7.00 

 York River Croaker 

Landing/Pier Area (also requires 

boat launch fee for all vehicles) 

$5.00 $5.00 $3.00 $3.00 

Daily Parking for High-Occupancy 

Vehicles: Applies to cars, trucks, SUVs, 

and vans (with 9 or more passengers).   

  All parks unless listed below. $10.00 $10.00 $8.00 $8.00 

 Chippokes, Claytor Lake, 

Douthat, Fairy Stone, First 

Landing, Grayson Highlands, 

Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, 

Leesylvania, Mason Neck, New 

River Trail, Pocahontas, 

Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. 

Shenandoah River, Sky 

Meadows, Smith Mountain 

Lake, Westmoreland, Staunton 

River 

$12.00 $12.00 $10.00 $10.00 

Horse Trailer Parking Fee covers up to 

two horses in the same trailer (also 

requires vehicle parking fee.) fee). All 

parks unless listed below. 

$3.00 per 

trailer 

$3.00 per 

trailer 

$3.00 per trailer $3.00 per 

trailer 

  
Lake Anna 

$4.00 per 

trailer 

$4.00 per 

trailer 

$4.00 per trailer $4.00 per 

trailer 

  Surcharge for additional horse in 

same trailer beyond the first two 

horses. 

$2.00 per horse $2.00 per 

horse 

$2.00 per horse $2.00 per 

horse 
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Other Trailer Parking Fee: Applies to 

other trailers not covered by camping, 

horse trailer, and boat launch fee. (Add 

to daily parking fee.) 

$2.00 per 

trailer 

$2.00 per 

trailer 

$2.00 per trailer $2.00 per 

trailer 

Daily Bus Parking: All Seasons. Applies 

to vehicles with 16 or more passenger 

capacity. 

    

  All parks unless listed below. $10 $10 $10 $10 

  Claytor Lake, Hungry Mother, 

Leesylvania, Mason Neck, New 

River Trail 

$12 $12 $12 $12 

  First Landing, Kiptopeke, Lake 

Anna, Pocahontas, 

Westmoreland 

$15 $15 $15 $15 

Natural Area Preserve Parking Fees for 

any Vehicle: The department may 

charge these fees at any Natural Area 

Preserve. 

$2.00 $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 

  BASE RATE VIRGINIA RESIDENTS 

Grayson Highlands Backpacker Parking. $12 up to 3 days $10 up to 3 days 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Boat Launch Fees: Required to use park 

boat ramps on bodies of water where 

motorboats are permitted. Required for 

all vehicles using York River Croaker 

Landing/Pier Area. May not apply to 

small "car-top" launch facilities 

(facilities at which boats may only be 

launched by hand carrying them to the 

water). The fee is normally added to the 

parking fee to create a combined 

park/launch payment. When a vehicle is 

only dropping off or retrieving a 

nonmotorized boat or a boater and does 

not pay the parking fee, the $3.00 launch 

fee is required.  

  

Daily Launch Fees: All Seasons     

  All parks unless listed below. $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 

  Claytor Lake $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 

  First Landing, Kiptopeke (with 

Marine Fishing License), Lake 

Anna 

$4.00 $4.00 $4.00 $4.00 

  Kiptopeke (without Marine 

Fishing License), Leesylvania 

$8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 

Surcharge for second boat on same 

trailer: jet ski 

$2.00 $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 
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Overnight parking at boat launch: where 

available 

$10 $10 $10 $10 

Camper's Boat Launch Fee Kiptopeke: 

Does not apply if camper parks trailer at 

campsite. 

$3.00 $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 

Boat Tournament Fee for Fishing 

Tournaments: Registration fee is based 

on the number of boats registered and is 

nonrefundable regardless of number that 

actually participates. This fee is in 

addition to the applicable daily launch 

fee. 

No charge $2.00 per boat No charge $2.00 per boat 

  

Annual and Lifetime Parking Fees:  FEE 

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: Lifetime admission and parking 

pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on individual camp sites 

campsites and horse stalls; all state park merchandise, except fuel sales; 

equipment rentals; and shelter rentals except where these services are 

provided by private concessionaires. 

  

  Age up to 40 $333 

  Age 41-45 $300 

  Age 46-50 $266 

  Age 51-55 $233 

  Age 56−61 $200 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus (Age 62 or older): See 

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. 

$121 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 12-month from date of purchase admission 

and parking pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state 

park merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$66 

Naturally Yours Parking Passport: 12-month from date of purchase 

admission and parking pass to park of purchase. 

$40 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See Naturally Yours Passport Plus 

above. 

$36 

Senior Naturally Yours Parking Passport: See Naturally Yours Parking 

Passport above. 

$24 

Golden Disability Pass: Available to persons with disabilities as verified by 

U.S. Social Security Administration's (SSA) "Benefit Verification Letter." 

Pass remains in effect unless SSA withdraws eligibility. 

No Charge 

Disabled Veterans Passport 

Admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 50% discount 

on camping fees, swimming fees, shelter rentals, and department equipment 

rentals when provided by the department. Where equipment rentals are 

provided by private concessionaires, this passport does not apply. 

The passport shall be issued upon request to a veteran of the armed forces 

No Charge 
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of the United States with a letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans 

Affairs, or from the military service that discharged the veteran, certifying 

that such veteran has a service-connected disability rating of 100%. This 

passport coverage shall be valid for as long as that determination by the 

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs remains in effect. 

    

Annual and Lifetime Park/Launch/Equestrian Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: 

Lifetime admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% 

discount on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment rentals, and 

shelter rentals. 

  

  Age up to 40 $667 

  Age 41-45 $600 

  Age 46-50 $534 

  Age 51-55 $466 

  Age 56-61 $400 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians 

(Age 62 or older): See Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters 

and Equestrians above. 

$345 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: 12-month from 

date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 

10% discount on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment rentals, 

and shelter rentals. 

$167 

Park/Launch/Equestrian Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass 

to all state parks including Leesylvania. 

$141 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass 

to First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of 

purchase. 

$107 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass 

to park of purchase other than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, 

or Lake Anna. 

$87 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: Annual 

permit for all parks including Leesylvania. 

$133 

Senior Park/Launch/Equestrian Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass 

to all state parks including Leesylvania. 

$120 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass 

to First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of 

purchase. 

$87 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass 

to park of purchase other than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, 

or Lake Anna. 

$73 
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Buggs Island Lake Special Annual Park/Launch/Equestrian Pass: Good 

only at Occoneechee and Staunton River State Parks. 

$55 

Leesylvania Annual Overnight Boating/Parking Pass. $74 

Disabled Visitor Annual Boat Launch Pass (in addition to disabled tags). $48 

    

Special Event Fees: EVENT FEE 

Standard Special Event Parking Fee: Applies to all parks and events that 

utilize parking fees unless noted below. 

$10 per vehicle 

Community Event Fee: May be used by any park as a condition of a Special 

Use Permit for a community event provided by a nonprofit group or 

organization or government agency or entity. 

$1.00 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Strawberry Festival   

  Advance payment $20 per vehicle 

  Day of Event $25 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Extended Hours Special Event: for events that take place 

after park hours such as Astronomy Night, Candlelight Tours, etc. 

$5.00 per vehicle 

Grayson Highlands Fall Festival. Hungry Mother Arts and Crafts Festival $6.00 per vehicle 

Claytor Lake Arts and Crafts Festival $5.00 per vehicle with canned food 

donation on designated day 

$10 per vehicle 

Fairy Stone: Super Country B-99 Fun Day Event $1.99 per vehicle 

Kiptopeke: Eastern Shore Birding Festival Parking Fee waived to registered festival 

guests; otherwise standard fees apply 

Smith Mountain Lake: special park/launch rate for boaters participating in 

fishing tournaments if the tournament sponsor has also rented the 

Tournament Headquarters Building. 

$5.00 per vehicle/ boat combination 

Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. Shenandoah River: Riverfest Event $8.00 per vehicle 

Standard Special Event Per Person Entrance Fee: Applies to all parks and 

events that utilize per person admission fees unless noted below. 

$4.00 per adult 

$3.00 per child, 6 through 12 years 

Children under 6 free 

Sailor's Creek Battlefield: Battle of Sailor's Creek Reenactment $5.00 per person  

Children under 6 free 

$10 maximum per vehicle 

$50 per bus (16 passenger +) 

Chippokes Plantation Steam and Gas Engine Show $5.00 per person  

Children under 12 free 

Chippokes Plantation Christmas $5.00 per person 

Chippokes Pork, Peanut & Pine Festival $5 $5.00 per person 

Children under 13 free 

Grayson Highlands Wayne C. Henderson Music Festival $10 per person 

Children under 12 free 
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Natural Tunnel Special Event Parking Fee $2.00 per person 

$6.00 per vehicle 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $5.00 per person (13 years and older) 

$3.00 per child, 3 through 12 years 

$3.00 Seniors (62 and over)  

Children under 3 free 

  Occoneechee Pow Wow School Groups $4.00 per student Teachers and 

Chaperones free 

Notes on parking fees:  

1. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day holidays.  

2. Except as otherwise noted, boat launching shall be free for up to one boat per vehicle (maximum of two vehicles) per 

campsite, cabin, lodge, camping cabin, travel trailer, or camping lodge.  

3. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle displaying disabled license plates or temporary disabled parking identification 

issued by any state or the federal government. However, the fee for any additional types of trailers, the boat launch fee or the 

portion of any combined parking-launching fee that applies to boat launching shall be collected from such vehicles. 

Additionally, the price for annual passes and lifetime passes that include boat launching for qualified disabled individuals 

shall be calculated by subtracting the applicable parking pass fee from the park/launch pass fee. 

4. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle occupied solely by students and/or teachers and/or assisting personnel 

participating in an official activity of a bona fide school, home school, or institution of higher learning. Parks may require 

that individuals in vehicles other than those marked as a school bus verify their official activity by letter from the school or 

approved field trip form, or in the case of home school groups, proof of home school status such as current ID card from a 

state or national home school organization (HEAV, HSLDA, etc.) or a copy of the letter from the school district that 

acknowledges "Notice of Intent" to home school for that school year.  

5. Parking fees are waived for official vehicles of federal, state, and local governments while on official business; vehicles 

making deliveries to the park; contractor and business vehicles performing work in the park; and emergency vehicles while 

conducting official business, including training.  

6. Parking fees are waived for park employees during time of employment, including family and household members of staff 

occupying staff residences, visitors to staff residences, and park volunteers entering the park to perform volunteer duties.  

7. Parking fees may be waived for vehicles conducting research or collecting activities provided such waiver is included in 

the language of the Research and Collection Permit as required in 4VAC5-30-50. 

8. The period covered by a daily parking fee shall be midnight to midnight. Park guests utilizing overnight parking when and 

where available (e.g., backpackers, overnight fishermen, etc.) will be required to pay the applicable daily parking fee for 

each calendar day that their vehicle is in the parking lot (partial days included).  

9. Annual permits shall be valid for 12 months from the date of purchase, unless otherwise noted.  

10. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park for the sole purpose of dining at the park restaurant at Douthat and 

Hungry Mother State Parks.  

11. Parking fees are waived at state parks for participants in Walk for Parks, Fall River Renaissance, Envirothons, March for 

Parks, Operation Spruce-Up Day, Stewardship Virginia, National Trails Day, and other park-sanctioned public service 

events as approved by the director.  

12. Daily parking fees are reduced to $1.00 for vehicles occupied by participants in fund-raising events sponsored by 

nonprofit organizations (Walk-A-Thons, etc.) provided the sponsor has obtained a special use permit from the park that 

contains provisions for the identification of participants in the event.  

13. Parking fees shall be waived for persons using park roads to gain legal access to their private residence and guests to 

such residences; and for vehicles passing through, but not stopping in, a park on a public roadway.  

14. Revenue collected from special event parking and/or admission fees may be divided between the park and the event 

sponsor if so designated and approved in the special event permit following a determination made by the director that the 

revenue split is in the benefit of the Commonwealth.  

15. Annual Park/Launch/Equestrian passes cover the park entrance or parking fee for up to two horses in the same horse 

trailer or other allowable trailers. Annual and Lifetime parking-only passes do not include trailers.  
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16. Parking fees are waived for service vehicles such as tow trucks when entering the park to service a visitor vehicle.  

17. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park to attend a performance by a U.S. military band if this is a required 

condition for the band's performance.  

18. Parking fees are included in the rental fees for meeting facilities, up to the capacity of the facility and provided that this 

waiver of fee is included in the rental agreement for the facility.  

19. Parking fees are waived for a period of up to 15 minutes for persons entering the park to deposit materials in community 

recycling collection containers.  

20. Parking fees are waived for vehicles occupied entirely by persons attending fee interpretive programs.  

21. Annual parking passes that do not include boat launch require payment of daily launch fee if launching a boat at any park 

or for all vehicles using Croaker Landing/Pier Area at York River State Park.  

22. Annual parking pass holders are not guaranteed the parking privileges of the pass should parking places be unavailable.  

23. Parking fees are waived at Mason Neck during the park's annual Elizabeth Hartwell Eagle Festival. 

24. The payment of a parking fee at one park shall be applied to parking at any state park on the same day provided that the 

visitor supplies evidence of the paid parking fee. 

25. Annual passes are issued to the purchaser and members of the same household and may not be transferred. Improper 

transfer or use may result in revocation of the pass without refund. 

26. Parking fees are waived at all state parks on Veterans Day, November 11, of each year. 

27. Holidays are defined as Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day, and prime season is the Saturday immediately 

prior to Memorial Day through the Sunday immediately prior to Labor Day. 

4VAC5-36-60. Admission fees.  

ADMISSION FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

  DAILY ADMISSION PER 

PERSON (Weekdays and 

Weekends unless otherwise noted.) 

ANNUAL PASS (Good for 12 

months from date of purchase.) 

Shot Tower Free NA 

Southwest VA Museum $1.50 $2.00 (Groups of 10 or more: 

age 6 through 12) 

$3.00 $4.00 (Groups of 10 or more: 

age 13 and up) 

NA 

$2.00 $3.00 (Ages 6 through 12) $5.00 $6.00 (age 6 through 12) 

per year 

$4.00 $5.00 (Age 13 and up) $10 $12 (age 13 and over) per 

year  

NA $15 $20 (family: up to 2 adults 

and 2 children) per year  

Kiptopeke Fishing Pier Fishing Fee $1.00 (Age 6 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

NA 

Kiptopeke Fishing Pier Fishing Fee: Coupon 

book good for 10 visits 

$20 per 10 Passes NA 

Annual Night Fishing: All parks where available 

(also requires parking fee) 

$15 per person per year   

Late Night Fishing: All parks where available 

(also requires parking fee) 

$3.00 per person per night   
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  ADMISSION 

Natural Tunnel Chairlift:   

  Children under age 6 Free 

  Round trip per person $3.00 

  One-way per person $2.00 

  Group Rate Round Trip per person (10 or more)  $2.00 

  Season Pass $20 

  Daily Pass (Good for unlimited trips on date of issue, good for one person only) $6.00 

Archery Range: All parks where available; per person user fee $2.00 per day (over 12) 

$1.00 per day (age 3 through 12) 

$15 per year (any age) 

  Bear Creek Lake $5.00 per day (over 12) 

$3.00 per day (age 3 through 12) 

$45 per year (any age) 

$3.00 per person, per day group 

fee (minimum of 10 participants) 

Pocahontas & and New River Trail Horse Show Admission $5.00 per person 

Children 12 & and under free 

Park Sponsored Special Event Vendor Fees. All parks where available unless otherwise 

noted 

$125 per merchandise vendor 

$150 per food vendor 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $150 per merchandise vendor 

$175 per food vendor 

Mason Neck Fall Special Event $50 per vendor 

Caledon Art & and Wine Festival $50 per artist vendor 

$100 per winery vendor 

New River Trail $25 per merchandise vendor 

$25 per food vendor 

Notes on admission/entrance fees:  

1. Fees are waived at Natural Tunnel for use of the chairlift on one designated "Customer Appreciation Day" per year.  

2. Museum entrance fees are waived at the Southwest Virginia Museum during the "Festival of Trees" event for members of 

groups who submitted trees for the display.  

3. For park museums and historic features that charge an entrance fee, visitors participating in the Time Travelers program of 

the Virginia Association of Museums shall be charged the existing per person group rate for that facility.  

4. Entrance fees are waived at the Southwest Virginia Museum on Veteran's Day, November 11, of each year. 

4VAC5-36-70. Swimming fees.  

SWIMMING (NONTAXABLE)  

Daily Swimming Fees WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

All parks with fee swimming areas unless noted. Under age 3 Free 

$2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 

$3.00 (Age 3 through 

12) 

$4.00 (Age 13 and 

over) 
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  Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and Westmoreland Under age 3 Free 

$3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$4.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 

$4.00 (Age 3 through 

12) 

$5.00 (Age 13 and 

over) 

  Pocahontas Under age 3 Free 

$5.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$6.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 

$7.00 (Age 3 through 

12) 

$8.00 (Age 13 and 

over) 

  Group campers utilizing primitive group camps. All parks 

where available unless otherwise noted. 

$1.00 (all ages) $1.00 (all ages) 

  Pocahontas (Group Cabin Guests) $3.00 (all ages) $3.00 (all ages) 

Deposit on all locker keys: Refunded when key is returned. $2.00 each 

Swimming Coupon Book: (Age 3 and over). All parks where 

available unless otherwise noted. 

$23 per 10 coupons 

$44 per 20 coupons 

  Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and Westmoreland $31 per 10 coupons 

$58 per 20 coupons 

  Pocahontas $50 per 10 coupons 

$95 per 20 coupons 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Group Swimming: per person (10 persons or more). All parks 

where available unless otherwise noted. 

$1.50 (Age 3 through 

12) 

$2.50 (Age 13 and over) 

$2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

  Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and Westmoreland Group 

Swimming (20 persons or more). Five-day advanced 

registration required. 

$2.50 (all ages) $3.50 (all ages) 

  Pocahontas Group Swimming (20 persons or more). Five-

day advanced registration required. 

$4.00 (all ages) $5.00 (all ages) 

Season Swimming Permit: All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. 

$44 (Age 3 through 12) 

$55 (Age 13 and over) 

  Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and Westmoreland $55 (Age 3 through 12) 

$66 (Age 13 and over) 

  Pocahontas $66 (Age 3 through 12) 

$77 (Age 13 and over) 

After-Hours Exclusive Use of Pool or Swimming Area: All 

parks where available. Requires prior reservation. Rental period 

of approximately 1-2 hours, depending upon operating schedule 

and amount of available daylight. Cancellation fee charged if 

reservation is cancelled canceled less than 3 days before the 

date of event unless cancellation is for inclement weather or 

cancelled canceled by the park. 

$100 $125 (up to 25 persons) 

$125 $150 (26 to 50 persons) 

$175 $200 (51 to 75 persons) 

$200 $225 (76 to 100 persons) 

$35 to open food concessions with rental 

$50 cancellation fee 

Swimming lessons. All parks where available unless otherwise 

noted. 

Package of eight 45-minute lessons (includes parking) 

$30 per person 

$25 per person if two or more from same family 
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Notes on swimming fees:  

1. Nonswimming adults in street clothes admitted to swimming areas free when supervising children age 12 and under.  

2. Rain check Policy for Swimming: All state parks will issue a rain check, good for a period of 12 months from the date of 

issue, to any paying customer (does not apply to free swimming vouchers) if the swimming area is forced to close for 40 

minutes or more due to inclement weather. Rain checks may be issued only to patrons present at the swimming area at the 

time of closure.  

3. A full refund is available for a group reservation only if the park or swimming area contractor is notified three days in 

advance of the time of the reservation. In the event that the group is unable to complete their reservation due to inclement 

weather, rain checks will be issued to the individual members of the group in the same manner as other park patrons.  

4. All Season Swimming Permits include parking during the swimming season only.  

5. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day holidays. 

4VAC5-36-90. Camping fees.  

CAMPING FEES (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

 
BASE RATE 

VIRGINIA 

RESIDENTS 

Camping fees include free use of dump station and free swimming and boat 

launching for members of the camping party during their stay at the property, 

when and where available, except that at Kiptopeke State Park guest is subject to 

applicable launch fee unless the trailer is returned to the campsite immediately 

after launching. The number of campers per campsite is limited to six individuals 

except when all campers are members of the same household. 

ALL SEASONS 

(Per site fees) 

Standard Sites: No hookup; access to bathhouse and restrooms.   

  All parks with standard sites unless noted below. $24 per night $20 per night 

  Bear Creek and Occoneechee Waterfront Sites. $31 per night $26 per night 

  Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna. $28 per night $24 per night 

  Douthat. $31 per night $26 per night 

Water and Electric Sites: Access to water and electric hookups; access to 

bathhouse and restrooms.  

  All parks where available unless noted below, including Chippokes 

Campground A. 
$35 per night $30 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites and Chippokes Campground B. $39 per night $33 per night 

  Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna, Shenandoah River. $41 per night $35 per night 

Water, Electric, and Sewage Sites: Access to water, electric, and sewage hookups; 

access to bathhouse and restrooms. 
  

  Kiptopeke. $47 per night $40 per night 

  Hungry Mother. $39 per night $33 per night 

Primitive Camping Sites: primitive restrooms; no showers.   

  All parks where available unless noted below. $13 per night $11 per night 

  James River. $15 per night $13 per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Sites with electricity (November, March, and April 

when bathhouses are closed). 

$18 per night $15 per night 
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  Occoneechee (persons renting the entire equestrian campground will receive 

a 10% discount on the combined price for sites and stalls, including 

transaction fees). 

$18 per night $15 per night 

  New River Trail Primitive camping sites at Foster Falls and Cliffview, 

Primitive Sites at Sky Meadows. 

$18 per night $15 per night 

  New River Trail Water Trail Camping (no potable water). $14 per night $12 per night 

 Fairy Stone Equestrian Campsite. $24 per night $20 per night 

Horse Camping   

  Horse Stall Fee. $7.00 per night 

(outside stalls) 

$9.00 per night 

(inside stall) 

$7.00 per night 

(outside stalls) 

$9.00 per night 

(inside stall) 

Standard Rates   

Primitive Group Camp Rental (camping in special primitive group areas). All 

parks where available. 
  

  Up to 20 campers. $72 for entire 

area per night 

$61 for entire area 

per night 

  Up to 30 campers. $107 for entire 

area per night 

$91 for entire area 

per night 

  31 or more campers, up to maximum capacity of group camp area. $144 for entire 

area per night 

$122 for entire area 

per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Primitive camping is available in the stable area 

November, March, and April. 

$18 per site per 

night 

$15 per site per 

night 

Special Group Camping Areas:   

  
Fairy Stone Group Campsites. 

$24 per night $20 per site per 

night 

  Chippokes Plantation: All 4 Sites; Group Rate; 24 persons maximum. 

Natural Tunnel Group Area. 

Grayson Highlands Group Area. 

James River Group Area. 

Shenandoah River Group Area. 

Sky Meadows Group Area. 

$79 per night 

(only available 

as entire group 

area) 

$67 per night (only 

available as entire 

group area) 

  Sky Meadows 6 Site 6-Site Group Area. $118 per night $100 per night 

  Westmoreland Group Area. $144 per night $122 per night 

  Standard Buddy Sites: All parks where available unless noted below. $92 per night $78 per night 

  Douthat Buddy Sites. 

Pocahontas Group Sites. 

Holliday Lake Group Camp. 

$114 per night $97 per night 

 Sky Meadows Buddy Sites. $41 per night $35 per night 

 Pocahontas Group Camp. $95 per night $81 per night 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 1, 2014 

382 

  James River Equestrian Group Area (persons renting the entire equestrian 

campground will receive a 10% discount on the combined price for sites and 

stalls, including transaction fees). 

$254 per night $216 per night 

Camping – Other Fees   

  Camping Site Transaction Fee: Applies to each purchase transaction of a 

camping visit to a campsite (i.e., one transaction fee per camping visit per 

site no matter how many nights). Applies to Internet, reservation center, and 

walk up visits.  

$5.00 

  Dump Station Fee: Free to state park campers during stay. $5.00 $10 per use 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Individual Site. $10 per reservation 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Group Sites. $30 per reservation 

 Camping Reservation Transfer Fee. $5.00 per reservation 

 Douthat: Whispering Pines and Beaverdam Reservation. $33 per night 

  Hiker or noncamper Shower Fee at Virginia State Parks. $5.00 per person 

 Sky Meadows: Wheelbarrow Rental Fee for hike-in campers. $10 per wheelbarrow rented 

Notes on camping:  

1. Check-out time is 3 p.m. and check-in time is 4 p.m.  

2. Camping Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy.  

a. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the applicable cancellation fee(s).  

b. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

c. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by state 

check.  

d. A customer may move a camping reservation to another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the reservation 

center only, and prior to 4 p.m. on the scheduled date of arrival. If the reservation center will not be open again prior to the 

start date of the reservation, transferring is not an option. There is no a fee to transfer.  

e. A camping reservation may be canceled until 4 p.m. on the scheduled date of arrival but campers will be charged the 

cancellation fee. This cancellation fee applies to each separate reservation made.  

f. Once the 4 p.m. check-in time is reached on the scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is considered 

an early departure.  

g. After the check-in time is reached, the first night is considered used whether the site is occupied or not.  

h. There is a one-night penalty, deducted from any amount available for refund, for early departure.  

3. Campers are allowed two vehicles per campsite per day without charge of a parking fee. Additional vehicles, beyond two, 

must pay the prevailing parking fee in effect at the park for each day that the vehicle(s) is parked in the park. The number of 

vehicles allowed to park on the campsite varies according to site design and size of other camping equipment. No vehicles 

shall park on a campsite in other than the designated area for this purpose. Camper vehicles that do not fit on the site, 

whether or not they require the special camper vehicle fee, must park in the designated overflow parking area.  

4. Each member of the camping party, except in primitive group areas, up to the maximum allowable per site, may receive an 

entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on the basis of one pass per night of camping. Passes are only issued during 

days and seasons of operation of the swimming facility and are only good during the member's registered stay.  

5. Damage to campsites, not considered normal wear and tear, will be billed to the person registered for the campsite on an 

itemized cost basis.  

6. At honor collection sites, the stated camping fees on this list shall be considered as having tax included. Honor collection 

is defined as the payment of the camping fee on-site at the park at a nonelectronic collection point at which the payment is 

placed in a box or safe provided for that purpose.  
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7. Horse stalls may only be rented in conjunction with the rental of a campsite in the equestrian campground and a person 

must occupy the campsite. All horses brought to the park by overnight guests must be kept in rental stalls except in primitive 

equestrian areas at New River Trail and James River State Parks. 

4VAC5-36-100. Cabin fees.  

CABIN RENTALS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

  BASE RATE VIRGINIA RESIDENTS 

PRIME SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $92 $98 $553 $586 $83 $498 

  One Bedroom, Standard $108 $115 $649 $688 $98 $585 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $120 $127 $719 $761 $108 $647 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $126 $134 $756 $800 $113 $680 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$125 $133 $750 $794 $112 $675 

  Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, 

Lake Anna, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel 

$131 $139 $786 $833 $119 $708 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where 

available unless noted below 

$138 $146 $825 $874 $124 $743 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$144 $153 $864 $915 $130 $778 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $146 $154 $873 $922 $131 $784 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless 

noted below 

$142 $150 $851 $900 $128 $765 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $165 $175 $990 $1,048 $149 $891 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar 

Hill Cottage, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$164 $173 $979 $1,036 $147 $881 

  
Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) 

$185 $195 $1,105 

$1,169 

$166 $994 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel 

Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$332 $351 $1,987 

$2,104 

$298 $1,788 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry 

Mother), Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$391 $414 $2,342 

$2,479 

$352 $2,107 

  6-Bedroom Six-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, 

Claytor Lake, Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah 

River, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$410 $434 $2,454 

$2,599 

$369 $2,209 

MID-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $83 $88 $498 $527 $75 $448 
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  One Bedroom, Standard $98 $103 $585 $619 $88 $526 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $108 $115 $647 $686 $98 $583 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $113 $120 $680 $720 $102 $612 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$112 $119 $675 $714 $102 $607 

  Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, 

Lake Anna, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel 

$119 $125 $708 $748 $106 $636 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where 

available unless noted below 

$124 $131 $743 $787 $111 $669 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna  

$130 $138 $778 $824 $117 $700 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $131 $139 $784 $832 $118 $707 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless 

noted below 

$128 $135 $765 $811 $116 $689 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $149 $158 $891 $943 $134 $802 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar 

Hill Cottage, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$147 $156 $881 $933 $132 $793 

  Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $166 $176 $994 $1,053 $149 $895 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel 

Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$298 $316 $1,788 

$1,894 

$269 $1,610 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry 

Mother), Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$352 $373 $2,107 

$2,231 

$317 $1,896 

  6-Bedroom Six-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, 

Claytor Lake, Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah 

River, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$369 $391 $2,209 

$2,339 

$332 $1,988 

OFF-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $69 $73 $415 $440 $62 $374 

  One Bedroom, Standard $81 $86 $487 $515 $74 $438 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $90 $95 $539 $571 $81 $485 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $95 $100 $567 $600 $85 $510 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$93 $99 $563 $595 $84 $506 

  Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, 

Lake Anna, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel 

$98 $104 $589 $624 $88 $530 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where 

available unless noted below 

$104 $110 $620 $656 $93 $558 
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  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$108 $115 $648 $687 $98 $584 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $109 $116 $654 $693 $99 $589 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless 

noted below 

$106 $113 $637 $674 $96 $573 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $124 $131 $742 $786 $111 $668 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar 

Hill Cottage, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$123 $130 $734 $776 $110 $660 

  Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $139 $147 $828 $878 $125 $746 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel 

Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$249 $263 $1,490 

$1,578 

$224 $1,341 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry 

Mother), Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$293 $310 $1,757 

$1,859 

$264 $1,580 

  6-Bedroom Six-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, 

Claytor Lake, Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah 

River, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$308 $326 $1,841 

$1,949 

$276 $1,657 

  CAMPING CABINS, CAMPING LODGES, YURTS, AND TRAVEL TRAILERS 

(camping Camping cabins, camping lodges, yurts, and travel 

trailers located in campgrounds and operated in conjunction with 

the campground). 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

 Camping Cabin rental rate: (2-night minimum rental required) $51 $55 NA $47 NA 

  Yurt rental: Standard fee $113 $120 $680 $719 $101 $611 

  Travel Trailers: 25-30' Standard fee $113 $120 $680 $719 $101 $611 

  Camping Lodges: Standard fee $103 $109 $618 $653 $92 $555 

OTHER CABIN FEES AND CHARGES 

Additional Cabin Fees:  

  Cabin Transaction Fee: Applies to each purchase transaction of 

a visit to a cabin (i.e., one transaction fee per cabin visit per site 

no matter how many nights). Applies to Internet, reservation 

center, and walk up visits. 

$5.00 

  Additional Bed Rentals $3.00 per rental night 

  Additional linens at all parks unless otherwise noted. One set of 

linens is 1 sheet set (1 fitted sheet, 1 flat sheet, and 1 

pillowcase) or 1 towel set (1 bath towel, 1 hand towel, and 1 

washcloth or 2 bath towels and 1 washcloth) 

$2.00 per sheet set 

$2.00 per towel set 

  Cabin Cancellation Fee: Applies to all lodging in this section 

except as described below in "Lodge Cancellation Fee" 

$20 $30 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy. 

 Cabin Transfer Fee: Applies to all lodging in this section except 

as described below in "Lodge Transfer Fee" 

$20 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 
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  Lodge Cancellation Fee: Applies to Fairy Stone Lodge, Douthat 

Lodge, Hungry Mother Lodge, Potomac River Retreat, and all 

6-bedroom park lodges 

$50 $60 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 

 Lodge Transfer Fee: Applies to Fairy Stone Lodge, Douthat 

Lodge, Hungry Mother Lodge, Potomac River Retreat, and all 

6-bedroom park lodges 

$50 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 

  Pet Fee (this fee does not apply to service or hearing dogs 

identifiable in accordance with § 51.5-44 of the Code of 

Virginia). 

$10 per pet per night 

Pocahontas Group Cabins DAY WEEK 

  Algonquian Ecology Camp Dining Hall: 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. for 

day use, 24-hour use when rented with cabins 

$236 $1,181 

  Swift Creek Dining Hall: 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. for day use, 24-hour 

use when rented with cabins 

$275 $1,375 

  Dining Hall: fee for partial day rental when associated with full 

day rental as noted above 

$140 NA 

Cabin Units: per unit, per night  $112 $560 

  Complete Algonquian Ecology Camp (4 units: 112 capacity) 

with Dining Hall 

$460 $2,300 

  Complete Swift Creek Camp (2 units: 56 capacity) with Dining 

Hall 

$375 $1,875 

Refundable security deposit charged for all reservations $100 per reservation 

Notes on Pocahontas Group Cabins:  

Pocahontas Group Cabins: Reservations of $200 or more require a 25% prepayment, due within 14 days of making the 

reservation. Balance of fees is due 60 days prior to the reservation start date. Reservations of less than $200 require payment 

in full to confirm the reservation, due within 14 days of making the reservation. Cancellations made 30 days or more prior to 

the first day of the reservation shall receive a refund less a $30 per unit cancellation fee. Cancellations made less than 30 

days prior to the first date of the reservation receive no refund unless the units are subsequently rented, in which case the 

refund shall be full price minus $30 per unit.  

Notes on cabins and lodges:  

1. Seasonal cabin and lodge rates shall be in effect according to the following schedule, except for camping cabins, camping 

lodges, yurts, and travel trailers, which operate on the same schedule and season as the campground at that particular park. In 

the event that a weekly rental period includes two seasonal rates, the higher rate will apply for the entire weekly rental 

period.  

PARK PRIME SEASON MID-SEASON OFF-SEASON 

Bear Creek Lake  

Belle Isle 

Chippokes Plantation 

First Landing 

Kiptopeke  

Lake Anna  

Occoneechee  

Southwest Virginia Museum 

Staunton River 

Twin Lakes 

Westmoreland 

Friday night prior to 

Memorial Day 

through the Sunday 

night prior to Labor 

Day 

April 1 through the 

Thursday night prior 

to Memorial Day, 

and Labor Day 

through November 

30 

December 1 through March 31 
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Claytor Lake 

Douthat 

Fairy Stone 

Hungry Mother 

James River  

Smith Mountain Lake 

Shenandoah River 

Natural Tunnel 

Friday night prior to 

Memorial Day 

through the Sunday 

night prior to Labor 

Day, and October 1 

through October 31 

April 1 through the 

Thursday night prior 

to Memorial Day, 

and Labor Day 

through September 

30, and November 1 

through November 

30 

December 1 through March 31 

2. All dates refer to the night of the stay; checkout time is 10 a.m. and check-in time is 3 p.m.  

3. The following holiday periods are charged prime season weekend rates: the Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 

period that includes Thanksgiving Day; and Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; and New Year's Eve and New Year's Day.  

4. Cabins and lodges require a two-night minimum stay. 

5. Cabin guests are allowed two vehicles for a one or two bedroom cabin, and three vehicles for a three bedroom cabin per 

day without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles must pay the prevailing parking fee for each day that the vehicle is 

parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to park at the cabin varies according to site design and other factors. All 

vehicles must park in designated parking areas, either at the cabin or in the designated overflow parking area.  

6. Six-bedroom lodge guests are allowed six vehicles per lodge per day without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles 

must pay the prevailing vehicle parking fee for each day the vehicle is parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to 

park at the lodge varies according to site design and other factors. All vehicles must park in designated parking areas, either 

at the lodge or in the designated overflow parking area.  

7. Damage to cabins and other rental units under this section, not considered normal wear and tear, may be billed to the 

person registered for the cabin or rental unit on an itemized cost basis.  

8. Each member of the rental party, up to the maximum allowable for the rented unit, may receive an entrance pass to the 

park's swimming facility on the basis of one pass per night of rental. Passes are only issued during days and seasons of 

operation of the swimming facility and are only good during the member's registered stay.  

9. Employees of DCR and the members of committees and boards of DCR shall receive a discount of 50% on applicable 

cabin or lodge rates for any season, when the rental of such cabins or lodge is in connection with the official business of 

DCR or its committees or boards.  

Notes on cabin or lodge transfer/cancellation/early departure policy:  

1. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the applicable cancellation fees listed below in this section.  

2. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

3. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by state check.  

4. A customer may move a cabin or lodge reservation to another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 

reservation center only, and prior to 5 p.m. on the Monday before the scheduled date of arrival. There is an associated 

transfer fee. After 5 p.m. on the Monday before the scheduled date of arrival, cancellation is the only option (see note 5 

below) except that transfers to a different cabin or lodge for the same rental nights shall be allowed, subject to availability, 

up to the check in check-in time for the original reservation. 

5. Once the reservation is paid for, a customer may cancel in full with payment of the required cancellation fee if there are 

more than 30 days before the scheduled arrival date. As long as the reservation is not during the one-week minimum stay 

requirement period, the length of stay may be reduced without a fee as long as there are more than 30 days before the 

scheduled arrival. However, the length of stay cannot be less than two nights. During the 30 days prior to the scheduled 

arrival date, the cancellation fee is charged for each night cancelled canceled or reduced from the stay. Once the official 

check-in time on the scheduled arrival date is reached, the cancellation policy is no longer in effect and the early departure 

policy applies.  

6. Once the 3 p.m. check-in time is reached on the scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is considered an 

early departure. There is a two-night minimum charge associated with all cabin, lodge, camping cabin, travel trailer, and 

camping lodge stays. Reducing the total nights stayed will incur a $20 per night fee. If the original reservation was for a 

week, the weekly discount will no longer be valid and the fee will be adjusted to the nightly rate before any refunds are 

calculated.  
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4VAC5-36-110. Picnic shelters and event tents fees.  

PICNIC SHELTERS AND EVENT TENTS (TAXABLE) 

The shelter rental periods shall be from park opening until park closing, unless otherwise 

specified. 

DAY 

Standard Small Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Bear Creek Lake, Belle Isle, Caledon, Chippokes 

Plantation, Claytor Lake, Douthat, Holliday Lake, Hungry Mother (half shelter), Lake Anna, 

Natural Tunnel, New River Trail, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Smith Mountain Lake, Twin Lakes, 

Westmoreland, York River, and all other small park picnic shelters. 

$60 

Standard Large Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Belle Isle, Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake, Douthat 

Fairy Stone, First Landing, Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother (full shelter), James River, 

Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Natural Tunnel, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Powhatan, Shenandoah River, 

Smith Mountain Lake (Pavilion), Staunton River, Staunton River Battlefield, Twin Lakes, 

Westmoreland, York River, and all other large park picnic shelters. 

$90 

Sky Meadows: Covered Group Picnic Area Shelter Rental (up to 60 people) $130 

Sky Meadows: Group Picnic Pad (up to 60 people) $64 

Leesylvania Shelter, Shenandoah River Large Group Shelter Rental $130 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Area Rental $64 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Shelter $400 

  With 15 tables and 100 chairs $820 

Mason Neck Picnic Area Rental 

  Area rental without tent shelter $64 

 
Area activity fee (for use of picnic area for "special use" without tent shelter that requires 

special set-up or clean-up). 

$35 

  Area rental with tent shelter (seasonably available) $130 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (with kitchen) $315 per function 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter kitchen cleaning fee (only applicable is kitchen is used 

and not cleaned in accordance with rental agreement) 

$150 per function 

Mini-Shelter: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $21 

Event Tent Rental: Full day in-park rental only. Price includes set up and take down. 

 Standard fee: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $0.45 per square foot 

  Chippokes Plantation, Douthat, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, Shenandoah River, Smith 

Mountain Lake, York River. 

$0.55 per square foot 

  False Cape, First Landing, Leesylvania, Mason Neck. $0.60 per square foot 

  Standard 10' x 10' event tent $25 per day 

  Westmoreland, Caledon Natural Area: 20' x 40' tent with tables and chairs $400 per day 

  Wilderness Road: 20' x 40' $350 per day 

  White String Lights for Tent $0.80 per foot 

  Side Panels for Tent $1.50 per foot 
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Standard Shelter Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if refund is made more 

than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if cancellation made within 14 days prior to 

date. Shelter reservation may be transferred without penalty if the change is made through the 

reservations center prior to scheduled use. 

$10 

  

Standard Shelter Transfer Fee: Shelter reservation may be transferred if the change is made 

through the reservations center prior to scheduled use. 

$5.00 

4VAC5-36-120. Amphitheater and gazebo fees.  

AMPHITHEATERS AND GAZEBOS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

Amphitheater or Gazebo Rental Fee: The amphitheater or gazebo rental periods shall be from 

park opening until park closing unless otherwise specified. 
DAY 

  Leesylvania, Fairy Stone, Staunton River, Kiptopeke, and all other amphitheaters and 

gazebos unless noted below. 

$32 

  Hungry Mother, Occoneechee, Westmoreland, New River Trail $53 

  Smith Mountain Lake, Natural Tunnel (gazebo at Cove Ridge), James River $74 

 Natural Tunnel Gazebo at Cove Ridge. $100 

  Claytor Lake (gazebo) $84 $96 

  First Landing (gazebo at Chesapeake Bay Center): rental period is three 3 hours $84 per 3 hours 

  York River and Douthat Amphitheater. $105 

  Shenandoah River Overlook Rental $16 per half-day 

$32 per full-day 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Private group or company rate $315 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Educational group. $158 

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Wedding Package: Three consecutive half-day rental 

periods. 

$420 per package 

  First Landing: Courtyard at Chesapeake Bay Center; includes amphitheater and gazebo. $788 

  First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for gazebo. $11 per hour 

  First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for Courtyard. $53 per hour 

  Fishing Tournament Staging. All parks where available. $26 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area: Without Heritage Center. Includes Amphitheater, Exhibit 

Area, Restrooms and use of sound system. 

$630 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area Plus Heritage Center. $840  

  Parking Attendant (per attendant). $12 per hour 

  Law Enforcement Officer (per officer). $28 per hour 

  Natural Tunnel: Rental of Observation Deck at mouth of tunnel for dinner parties. 

Includes use of chairlift for transportation of guests and supplies and set-up/take-down of 

tables and chairs. 

$300 per 4 hours 

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Concession Building. $42 

  Natural Tunnel: Sound System Rental. $32 
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 Natural Tunnel: Portable Dance Floor Rental. $100 

Standard Amphitheater/Gazebo Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if refund 

is made more than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if cancellation made within 14 

days prior to date. 

$11 

  All parks unless listed below. $11 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater or First Landing Courtyard. $105 

 Wilderness Road Amphitheater. $90 

4VAC5-36-130. Boat storage fees.  

BOAT STORAGE (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

Boat Storage Fees FEE 

Standard Annual Boat Storage Fee: Bear Creek Lake, Douthat, Hungry Mother, and all other 

parks where available unless noted below. 

$35 

Marine Pump-Out Fee (all parks where available) $5.00 per usage 

Leesylvania Boat Storage Fees: Annual Fee (Dec. 1 – Nov. 30). Fee prorated for partial year on a 

months-remaining basis. Fee includes one park/launch pass per storage rental space to coincide 

with the rental period. 

  

  Boat Length Up To 16' $755 

  Boat Length Up To 17' $800 

  Boat Length Up To 18' $850 

  Boat Length Up To 19' $895 

  Boat Length Up To 20' $945 

  Boat Length Up To 21' $990 

  Boat Length Up To 22' $1,035 

  Boat Length Up To 23' $1,085 

  Boat Length Up To 24' $1,155 

  Boat Length Up To 25' $1,210 

Leesylvania Canoe/Kayak Storage: Renter must possess an annual parking pass. $10 per month 

Staunton River Boat Shed Fees: Does not include parking or launching fee, if applicable.   

  Nightly Storage $4.00 

  Monthly Storage $15 

  Six-Month Storage $70 

  One-year boat storage $120 without annual 

park/launch pass 

$150 with Buggs 

Island Special pass 

Claytor Lake: Boat Dock Slips: FEE PER RENTAL SEASON 

FEE PER RENTAL 

NIGHT 

  7' wide and under, and under 24' in length $468 $11 
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  9' wide and under, and under 24' in length $715 $22 

 9' wide and under, and 24' or greater in length $790 NA 

  14' wide and under Over 9' and up to 14' wide, 

and under 24' in length 
$908 $22 

 Over 9' and up to 14' wide, and 24' or greater in 

length 
$980 NA 

  Extended length slips End of dock slips $770 $980  NA 

Occoneechee: 

FEE PER ANNUAL 

RENTAL PERIOD 

FEE PER 

MONTH 

FEE PER RENTAL 

NIGHT (Transient) 

 20' with water - 20 amp hookup $1,200 $120 $18 

 30' with water - 20 amp hookup $1,600 $160 NA 

 30' with water - 20 amp and 30 amp hookups $1,750 $175 NA 

Notes on Occoneechee marina fees/Claytor Lake board dock slips: 

1. The annual rental period shall be March 1 through November 1 at Claytor Lake State Park and through the last day of 

February in the following year in Occoneechee State Park. All annual rental agreements, no matter when initiated, will end 

on the last day of an annual period (not 12 months from the time rental).  

2. Any annual rental agreement entered into or renewed for a period that includes March 1 through June 30 shall be made at 

100% of the annual rental fee. 

3. The cancellation fee for an annual slip rental is three months rental. Also, after the first of the month, that month is 

considered to be "used." 

4VAC5-36-140. Interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat fees.  

INTERPRETIVE CANOE, BOAT, AND PADDLEBOAT PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat Tours: FEE 

Environmental Education Group Canoe Tour: Available only to bona fide educational 

groups. Requires previous reservation and arrangements. Minimum 10 persons. Mason 

Neck and all other parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$3.00 per person 

Standard Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Applies to canoe, rowboat, or 

paddleboat tours. Child riding as third passenger, where allowed, is free. 
  

  Individuals at all parks unless noted below. $5.00 per person 

  Individuals at Leesylvania, York River, Pocahontas, Kiptopeke, Chippokes. $9.00 per person 

  Individuals at Mason Neck. $15 per person 

  Individuals at Natural Tunnel. $15 per person 

  Individuals at False Cape: Back Bay Interpretive Tour. $16 per person 

  Family Groups at all parks unless noted below. Minimum 4 paying customers. $4.00 per person 

  Family Groups at Leesylvania, Pocahontas, York River, Kiptopeke. Minimum 4 

paying customers. 
$6.00 per person 

  Family Groups at Mason Neck. $9.00 per person 

  Group rate at Natural Tunnel (minimum 10 paying customers). $12 per person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Applies 

to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours. 
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  All parks where offered unless noted below. $6.00 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Leesylvania, 

York River, Chippokes, Kiptopeke. 

$11 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 

New River Trail, Mason Neck. 

$15 per person 

  Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 

Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother, New River Trail, Natural Tunnel. 

$25 per person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 

Leesylvania, York River, Chippokes. 

$13 per person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 

Mason Neck. 

$20 per person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 

Applies to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours. Minimum four 4 paying customers. 

  

  All parks where offered unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 

Leesylvania, York River, Chippokes. Requires 4 or more paying customers. 

$7.00 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: New 

River Trail, Mason Neck. 

$11 per person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 

Leesylvania, York River. Requires 4 or more paying customers. 

$8.00 per person 

  Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 

Grayson Highlands. 

$25 per person 

Bear Creek Lake: Willis River Interpretive Canoe Tour   

  Short Trip. $8.00 per person 

  Long Trip. $10 per person 

Natural Tunnel Clinch River:   

  Half-Day Trip Group Rate. Requires 10 or more paying customers. $12 per person 

  Full-Day Trip. Group Rate. Requires 10 or more paying customers. $20 per person 

  Half-Day Trip. Individuals. $15 per person 

  Full-Day Trip. Individuals. $25 per person 

  Overnight Trip. Individuals. $45 per person 

  Short Trip. Clinchport to Copper Creek $7.00 per person 

False Cape:  Day Kayak Paddle/Catered Lunch $60 per person 

False Cape:  Back Bay by Water $45 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $16 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak:  Natural Tunnel  

Settlers Run $7.00 per person 

Boones Run $15 per person 
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Long Hunters Run $25 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: Westmoreland, Caledon  $19 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: False Cape $20 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $22 per kayak 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: Westmoreland, Caledon  $25 per kayak 

Tag-along Fee: Participant provides their his own canoe or kayak. Not available at all sites. $10 per person 

Interpretive Stand-Up Paddle Board Tour:  Westmoreland $25 per person 

Interpretive Pontoon Boat Tour: All parks where available. $2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Interpretive Tube Tour: all parks where available unless otherwise noted. $6.00 per person 

Lake Excursion and Ecology Tour   

  Claytor Lake: 2-hour tour includes grilled dinner and swimming. (Friday and Saturday 

only) 

$10 $20 (Age 13 and over) 

$7.00 $12 (Age 3 through 

12) 

  Rental of Entire Boat (Exclusive Use): All parks where available $60 per tour 

Notes on Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat Programs:  

1. Cancellation Policy for group reservations: Guest must cancel four days prior to the tour date in order to receive a refund. 

Any guest canceling less than four days before the start of the reservation will not be eligible for a refund. A one-time $10 

cancellation fee will apply per reservation regardless of number of boats reserved. In the event of inclement weather where 

the park must cancel, the guest will be offered either a complete refund or reservation transfer to another date.  

2. Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply. 

4VAC5-36-150. Interpretive and educational tours and program fees.  

INTERPRETIVE AND EDUCATIONAL TOURS AND PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive and Educational Tours and Programs 

PARK PROGRAM FEE 

All parks unless 

otherwise noted: 

Standard Interpretive Program or Tour: such 

as typical staff led nature hikes or campfire 

programs. 

Free 

Fee-based Interpretive Program or Tour: (Fee 

only applies to programs or tours that have 

unusual costs or require special equipment, 

personnel, marketing, or other special 

arrangements). 

$2.00 per person 

$6.00 per family 

Fee-based Night Hike or Evening Program or 

Evening Tour: (Fee only applies to programs 

or tours that have unusual costs or require 

special equipment, personnel, marketing, or 

other special arrangements). 

$3.00 per person 

$8.00 per family 

Standard Workshop Fee $5.00 per child (Age 12 and under) 

$15 per adult (Age 13 and over) 
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Standard Wagon Ride Program $3.00 per person 

$8.00 per family 

$25 exclusive group 

Extended or Special Event Wagon Ride 

Program 

$4.00 per person 

$10 per family 

$75 exclusive group booking 

Park Outreach Program: Price per park staff 

member conducting program 

$10 for under 2 hours 

$25 for 2 to 3 hours 

$50 for 4 hours plus 

Standard Junior Ranger Program: 4-day 

program. All parks unless noted below. 

$10 full program 

$3.00 per day 

Haunted Hike $1.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Geo Caching or Orienteering Interpretive 

Program. 

$3.00 per person 

$8.00 per family 

$25 per group 

Nature-Themed Birthday Party: Includes a 

nature talk, hike, games, songs, and time in 

the Nature Center for gifts and cakes. At least 

one staff member is present to conduct 

activities. 

$96 per hour plus materials cost for 12 children 

$8.00 per additional child 

Standard Women's Wellness Weekend 

Program 

$149 per person 

Grayson Highlands Junior Ranger Program $5.00 per person per day 

Hayrides $2.00 per child 

$3.00 per adult 

Adventure Rangers Interpretive Program $10 per person per day 

Make a Birdhouse Program $5.00 per person 

Make Your Own Hiking Stick Program $3.00 per person 

2-Day Photography Class $35 per person 

Twin Lakes Haunted Hike $3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Occoneechee, 

Caledon 

Individual interpretive program pass: (Allows 

admission for one 1 person to 4 interpretive 

programs valued at $3.00 or less) 

$6.00 per pass 

Family interpretive program pass: (Allows 

admission for members of the same family to 

4 interpretive programs valued at $8.00 or 

less) 

$18 per pass 

Pocahontas Nature Camps $100 per child per program plus materials cost 

$30 per child plus materials cost for Jr. 

Assistant. The Jr. Assistant helps the park staff 

in conducting camp programs. 

Curious Kids $3.00 per program 
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Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$4.00 per child 

$80 minimum 

$15 additional if program is outside of 

Chesterfield County 

Sky Meadows Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$2.00 per child 

$50 minimum 

$15 additional if program is outside of the 

following counties: Fauquier, Frederick, Clark, 

and Loudoun 

Junior Ranger Outdoor Adventure Camp $100 per child per program plus materials cost 

$30 per child plus materials cost for Jr. 

Assistant. The Jr. Assistant helps the park staff 

in conducting camp programs. 

Smith Mountain Lake Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$10 per school visit 

What Bird Am I? $3.00 per person 

Who Is Coming to Dinner? (Owl Program) $3.00 per person 

Southwest Virginia 

Museum 

How Our Ancestors Lived  $5.00 per person  

Special Themed Interpretive Program $10 per person 

Music or Literary Event $5.00 per person 

Workshop (Adult) $10 per person 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$25 for under 2 hours 

$50 from 2 hours to under 4 hours 

$75 for 4 or more hours 

Guided Tour or Activity School Groups: $1.50 per person 

Public Groups: $2.50 per person 

Step-On Tour Guide Service $7.00 per person 

Caledon Caledon Eagle Tours $6.00 per person 

$50 Flat Rate (minimum: 10; maximum: 20) 

All Group Programs up to 2 hours long $5.00 per person 

Haunted Hay Ride $5.00 per person (age 7 and over) 

Children under 7 free 

Special Program Bus Fee: Programs involving 

transportation within the natural area. 

$3.00 per person 

Workshop (Adult) $15 per person 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Natural Tunnel: Cove 

Ridge 

Guided Programs $25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 

$25 facility fee (If applicable) 
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Environmental Education (Children's 

Activities) 

$25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 

$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

Environmental Education (Adult Facilitation) $15 per person 

Hungry Mother/ 

Hemlock Haven 

Junior Naturalist Program $4.00 per person per week 

$12 unlimited participation in interpretive 

season 

Kiptopeke Birding Program (Group Rates) $35 (Corporate) 

$25 (Nonprofit) 

York River Guided Adventure Programs $4.00 per person 

$40 per group (Minimum 12 persons) 

Westmoreland Guided Program Fee $25 per person 

Natural Tunnel Junior Ranger Program (Includes T-Shirt) $35 per person 

Wagon Ride Program $50 Exclusive Education Group Booking 

Hay Wagon and Hot Dog Roast $10 per person 

Bike Tours - 2 hours $10 per person 

Extended Bike Tours - 4 hours $15 per person 

Canoe and Bike Tour - 4 hours $20 per person 

Halloween Haunted House/Hay Wagon Ride $3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Mason Neck Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Holliday Lake Field Archaeology Workshop $25 per person 

Junior Ranger Program (3 half-day workshop 

workshops) (Ages 6 to 13) 

$25 per child 

False Cape Wildlife Watch Tour – Per Person $8.00 per person 

Wilderness Survival Weekend (2-night stay) $200 per person 

Wilderness Survival Weekend (1-night stay) $100 per person 

Wilderness Survival Program $16 

Astronomy Program $16 per person 

Wild Women Weekend $200 per person 

Summer Survival $120 per person 

Blue Berry Blues $20 per person 

Staunton River Interpretive Craft $2.00 per person 

First Landing Junior Ranger Program 

3 Hour Program 

6 Hour Program 

 

$25 per person 

$50 per person 
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Bear Creek Lake Junior Ranger Program $20 per person 

Leesylvania Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Halloween Haunted Hike $2.00 per person 

$6.00 per group (4 person maximum) 

Interpretive Programs $2.00 per person 

Kids Fishing Tournament $2.00 per child 

Natural Tunnel Pannel Cave Tour $10 per person 

$7.00 per person (Family-Group; 8-person 

minimum) 

Bolling Cave Tours $15 per person 

$12 per person (Family-Group; 10-person 

minimum) 

Stock Creek Tunnel Tour/Snorkeling on the 

Clinch 

$5.00 per person 

Canorkle (Canoeing and Snorkeling guided 

tour) 

$15 per person 

Hike to the Tub $10 per person 

New River Trail New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Full Day $25 per person 

New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Half Day $15 per person 

Bertha Cave Tour $10 per person 

James River Haunted Wagon Ride $5.00 per person (Age 7 and over) 

Children 6 and under free 

Interpretive Archery Program $5.00 per person 

Belle Isle Triple Treat Program: 

Hayride/Canoe/Campfire 

$10 per person 

Junior Ranger 3-day program $5.00 per class 

Bike Tour: visitors can supply their own bike 

or rent separately 

$2.00 per person 

$6.00 per family 

Notes on interpretive and educational tours and programs:  

Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply.  

4VAC5-36-160. Outdoor skill program fees.  

OUTDOOR SKILL PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Outdoor Skill Programs FEE 

Grayson Highlands Outdoor Survival Skills and Backpacking $95 per person 

Basic Map and Compass $25 per person 

Beginning Rock Climbing and Backpacking $95 per person 

Advanced Map and Compass Skills $25 per person 

Westmoreland, Douthat, Hungry 

Mother, False Cape 

Photography Workshop, with meals and lodging $325 per person 

Photography Workshop, with meals, no lodging $295 per person 
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Photography Workshop, no meals, no lodging $225 per person 

Nonparticipant Lodging and Food $235 per person 

Nonparticipant Meals only $125 per person 

Lake Anna Prospecting for Gold Workshop $50 per person 

Kipotopeke Kiptopeke Kayak Fishing Program $35 per person 

Hungry Mother Mountain Empire Fly Fishing School $225 per person 

Grayson Highlands Guided Fly Fishing Trip: Half-day 

Guided Fly Fishing Trip: Full-day 

$50 per person 

$75 per person 

Shenandoah River Zipline Canopy Tour $89 per person 

Sky Meadows Venture Realm Hiking Retreat $53 per person 

4VAC5-36-200. Miscellaneous rental fees.  

RENTALS (TAXABLE; Price here does not include tax)  

Bike Rentals (includes helmet) FEE 

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $3.00 per hour 

$8.00 per half-day 

$15 per full-day 

  New River Trail, James River, Mason Neck $5.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$18 per day 

  First Landing $5.00 per hour 

$16 per day 

 Claytor Lake 

   Adult Bicycles $10 per hour 

$15 per half-day 

$25 per day 

  Children Bicycles $8.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$20 per day 

  Children Bicycle Trailer $8.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$20 per day 

Bike Helmet without bike rental $1.00 

Child Cart for bike (unless otherwise noted) $5.00 

Personal Bike Repair Services $25 basic tune-up 

$60 standard tune-up 

$13.50 flat repairs 

$10 minor adjustments 
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Boat Rentals   

Standard Paddle Boat Paddleboat Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $4.00 per half-hour 

$6.00 per hour 

  Fairy Stone, Hungry Mother  $5.00 per half-hour 

$8.00 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake $25 per half-hour 

$35 per one hour 

 Westmoreland $7.00 per half-hour 

$12 per hour 

Standard Canoe Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $8.00 per hour 

$15 per half-day 

$25 per full-day 

$40 for 24 hours 

$100 per week 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half-hour 

$12 per one hour 

$60 for 24 hours 

$30 additional for each day after first day 

  Claytor Lake $12 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 

  Leesylvania, Mason Neck $7.00 per half-hour 

$12 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 

  James River $10 per hour (does not include shuttle) 

$40 per day (does not include shuttle) 

$120 per week (does not include shuttle) 

Standard Float Trips:   

  James River   

    Bent Creek to Canoe Landing:   

    Canoe $45 Max 3 people 

    Single Kayak $35 per kayak 

    Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing:   

    Tubes $12 per tube 

    Group of four or more $10 per tube 

    Canoe $15 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $15 per kayak 
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    Bent Creek to Dixon Landing:   

    Canoe $50 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $40 per kayak 

    Shuttle Service Only:   

    Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing, canoe or single kayak, 

scheduled or unscheduled 

$2.00 per person 

$5.00 per canoe/kayak 

    Bent Creek Shuttle (Scheduled) $5.00 per boat (canoe/kayak) 

$5.00 per person 

    Bent Creek Shuttle (Unscheduled) $15 per boat (canoe/kayak) 

$15 per person 

    Tubes $5.00 per person/Bent Creek Shuttle 

$2.00 between landings in park 

    Late Rental Fee $15 per half hour past return time 

  New River Trail $7.00 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per day 

$35 per half-day, includes canoe rental and 

shuttle 

$50 per full day, includes canoe rental and 

shuttle 

  Canoe Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $35 per canoe 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to Austinville $50 per canoe 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $55 per canoe 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to Allisonia $55 per canoe 

  Kayak Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $25 per kayak 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $40 per kayak 

    Trip C: Foster Falls to Allisonia $45 per kayak 

Standard Rowboat Rental, without motor:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted $6.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$22 per full-day 

$36 per 24 hours 

$80 per week 

  Hungry Mother: Rowboats $4.00 per hour 

$15 per day 

$40 per week 

  New River Trail: Rafts and flat-bottom boats $7.00 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per day 
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Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor and battery: All parks 

where available unless otherwise noted 

$10 per hour 

$20 per 4 hours 

$36 per day 

$100 per 4 days 

$150 per week 

  Hungry Mother: Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor 

and battery 

$12 per hour 

$24 per 4 hours 

$45 per day 

$75 per 24 hours (limited to overnight guests) 

Standard Motorboat Rental, 16-foot console steering, 25-45 horsepower 

outboard. All parks where available. 

$18 per hour 

$90 per day 

Standard Fishing Boat Rental with gasoline motor and one tank of fuel: 

All parks where available. 

$10 per hour (2-hour minimum) 

$50 per day 

Pedal Craft Rental: (Hydro-Bike, Surf-Bike, etc.) All parks where 

available unless otherwise noted. 

  

  One person. $8.00 per hour 

  Two person. $10 per hour 

  Hungry Mother: Hydro Bike $5.25 per half hour 

$8.00 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake: Hydro Bike  $8.00 per half hour 

$12 per hour 

$4.00 additional per hour after first hour 

$60 per 24 hours 

$30 additional per day after first day 

  Barracuda Boat. All parks where available $10 per hour 

Solo Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $8.00 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per day 

$40 for 24 hours 

$100 per week 

  Westmoreland $12 per hour 

$17 per half-day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half hour 

$12 per hour 

$60 per 24 hours 

$30 additional per day after first day 

  Mason Neck $6.00 per half-hour 

$10 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 

  James River $7.00 per hour (does not include shuttle) 

$20 per day (does not include shuttle) 

$80 per week (does not include shuttle) 

$12 per half hour past return time 
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  Claytor Lake $10 per hour 

$25 per half-day 

$40 per day 

Tandem Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $10 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per full-day 

$45 for 24 hours 

$120 per week 

  Westmoreland $15 per hour 

$22 per half-day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $10 per half-hour 

$15 per hour 

$80 for 24 hours 

$30 additional for each day after first day 

  Mason Neck $8.00 per half-hour 

$15 per hour 

$45 per 4 hours 

$60 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: 14-foot fishing boat with 5 hp (3 person 

capacity). Rental does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 

required. 

$50 for 3 hours 

$10 additional per hour after first 3 hours 

$150 for 24 hours 

$30 additional per day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 16-foot Bass Tracker with 60 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required. 

$30 per hour 

$75 per half-day 

$115 per day 

Claytor Lake: 20-foot pontoon boat with 90 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required. 

$45 per hour 

$120 per half-day 

$185 per day 

Claytor Lake: 21-foot pontoon boat (10 person capacity) with 75 hp 

motor and tow hook. Damage deposit of 50% required.  

$45 per hour 

$125 per half-day 

$195 per day 

Claytor Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 75 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required. 

$50 per hour 

$140 per half-day 

$210 per day 

Claytor Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 115 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required.  

$55 per hour 

$150 per half-day 

$225 per day 

Claytor Lake: 30-foot pontoon boat with 115 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required. 

$60 per hour 

$165 per half-day 

$250 per day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot bowrider with 190 hp motor. Damage deposit of 

50% required. 

$50 per hour 

$135 $130 per half-day 

$205 $200 per day 
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Claytor Lake: 30-foot pontoon boat with 60 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required. 

$350 per day 

$175 9 a.m. - noon 

$225 1 p.m. -5 p.m. 

Claytor Lake: 19-foot bowrider with 220 hp motor, Damage deposit of 

50% required. 

$55 per hour 

$150 per half-day 

$225 per day 

Occoneechee: 17-1/2-foot fishing boat. Rental includes 30 gallons of 

fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$85 per hour 

$20 additional per hour after first hour 

$175 per 8 hours 

$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 20-foot pontoon boat with motor (8 person capacity) 

Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$85 per hour 

$20 additional per hour after first hour 

$175 per 8 hours 

$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 22-foot pontoon boat with motor (10 person capacity) 

Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$95 per hour 

$20 additional per hour after first hour 

$185 per 8 hours 

$925 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 25-foot pontoon boat with motor (14 person capacity) 

Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$110 per hour 

$25 additional per hour after first hour 

$230 per 8 hours 

$1,150 per 7 day week 

Smith Mountain Lake: 18-20-foot Runabout with 190 hp (8 person 

capacity). Rental does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 

required. 

$165 for 3 hours 

$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 

$255 per 8 hours 

$320 for 24 hours 

$100 additional per day after first day 

Claytor Lake: Jet Ski/Personal Watercraft  $50 per hour 

$140 per 4 hours 

$210 per 8 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 40 hp (10-12 person 

capacity). Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$90 for 3 hours 

$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 

$165 per 8 hours 

$215 for 24 hours 

$80 additional each day after first day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Watercraft (Waverunner 700). Rental 

does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $500 required. 

$180 for 3 hours 

$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 

$270 per 8 hours 

$335 for 24 hours 

$130 additional per day after first day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat less than 25 horsepower (3 gallons of fuel 

included, 2 hour minimum) 

$15 per hour 

$60 per half-day 

$100 per day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat 25-49 horsepower (11 gallons of fuel included, 2 

hour minimum) 

$22 per hour 

$70 per half-day 

$110 per day 
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Standard Damage/Replacement Fees: All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. Not required for damage due to normal wear and tear. 

  

  Paddle $20 

  Anchor/Rope $40 

  Fuel Tank/Hose $60 

  Fire Extinguisher $25 

  Throw Cushion $10 

  Propeller (small) $100 

  Propeller (large) $135 

  Personal Flotation Device (PFD): replacement fee for 

lost/damaged PFD 

$25 each 

Other Rentals:   

Personal Flotation Device (PFD): When separate from boat rental. $1.00 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake, James River: Personal Floatation Device, type II. $5.00 for first day 

$1.00 additional days 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Floatation Device, type III $7.00 for first day 

$2.00 additional days 

Canoe/Kayak Paddles: All parks where available unless otherwise 

noted. 

$5.00 per day 

New River Trail: Float Tubes $5.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$18 per day 

James River:   

  Cooler Tubes $3.00 per day 

  Tubes $8.00 per hour (does not include shuttle) 

$20 per day (does not include shuttle) 

$12 per half hour past return time 

Claytor Lake: 2-person tow tube and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 

$25 per half-day 

$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water skis and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 

$25 per half-day 

$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Kneeboard and towrope (with rental of boat only) $15 per 2 hours 

$20 per half-day 

$25 per day 

Claytor Lake: Tubes/Skis (without boat rental) $25 per half-day 

$35 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Tow tube; Water Skis; Knee Board $15 per day with boat rental 

$5.00 per additional day 

$25 per day without boat rental 
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Smith Mountain Lake: Wake Board $25 per day with boat rental 

$10 per additional day 

$30 per day without boat rental 

Mobile Pig Cooker: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $40 per day 

GPS Units $6.00 per unit per half-day 

$10 per unit per day 

Volleyball Net and Ball Rental: All parks where available. $10 

Binocular Rentals (2 hours): All parks where available. $2.00 

Beach Floats: All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 

$3.00 for 4-hours 

$5.00 for full-day 

Surf Lounge Floating Chair Rental. All parks where available. $2.00 per hour, single chair 

$5.00 per half-day, single chair 

$7.00 per full day, single chair 

$3.00 per hour, double chair 

$7.00 per half-day, double chair 

$10 per full day, double chair 

Body Board: First Landing $6.00 per day 

Standard Stand-Up Paddle Board: Westmoreland $15 per hour 

Beach Umbrella: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $3.00 per hour 

$8.00 for 4 hours 

$15 for full-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

Beach Chair: All parks where available $5.00 per day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

Fishing Rods: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per half-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

$3.00 per rod per fishing program 

Tents with a group camp reservation. All parks where available.   

  2-person tent  $12 per day 

  3-person tent $20 per day 

  4-person tent $25 per day 

  5-person tent $30 per day 

Coleman Camp Stove Rental, includes fuel $10 per day 

Tabletop Propane Grill, includes fuel $15 per day 

Coin-Operated Washing Machine: All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. 

$1.25 per load, tax included 

  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax included 

Coin Operated Dryer: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $1.25 per load, tax included 

  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax included 
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Pump Out: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 

Horse Rentals:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $20 per one-hour ride 

$35 per two-hour ride 

$100 per full day ride 

Pony Rides: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per 15 minutes 

Horseback Riding Lessons: All parks where available unless otherwise 

noted. 

$25 per lesson on group basis 

$30 per lesson for individual 

Horseback Summer Day Camp: All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. 

$180 per person per week 

Horseshoe or Croquet Rental for Campers. All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 

$5.00 per day 

$20 deposit 

Grayson Highlands: 

  Bouldering pad $5.00 per day 

 Bouldering pad with chalk bag $8.00 per day 

4VAC5-36-210. Conference center and meeting facility fees.  

CONFERENCE CENTERS (TAXABLE)  

Prices may be discounted and/or waived by the director when necessary to 

create competitive bids for group sales. FEE 

Hemlock Haven Conference Center at Hungry Mother   

  Main Hall (Capacity: 240) $350 per day 

  Upper Level Dogwood Room (Capacity: 50) $200 per day 

  Lower Level Board Room: (Capacity: 16) $100 per day 

  Ferrell Hall (Entire complex from 8 a.m. through 10 p.m.) $575 per day 

  Day Use Recreational Package (Includes all outside recreational 

facilities) 

  

    0 – 250 Persons $300 per half-day 

$600 per full-day 

    250 251 – 500 Persons $425 per half-day 

$850 per full-day 

    500 501 + persons $575 per half-day 

$1,200 per full-day 

Cedar Crest Conference Center at Twin Lakes   

  Complex: Doswell Hall with deck, grounds, volleyball, horseshoes; 

Kitchen, Latham and Hurt Rooms NOT included. 

$229 per 4 hours 

$459 per day 

$53 each extra hour 

  Doswell Meeting Room: Meeting Room only; no kitchen or dining 

room. 

$164 per room per 4 hours 

$328 per room per day 

$37 each extra hour 
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  Small breakout rooms with main room: Latham and Hurt. $65 per room per 4 hours 

$131 per room per day 

$21 each extra hour 

  Small breakout rooms without main room. $98 per room per 4 hours 

$196 per room per day 

$37 each extra hour 

  Picnic Shelter or Gazebo at Cedar Crest. $68 per 4 hours 

$131 per day 

$11 each extra hour 

  Kitchen rental only available with complex rental. $105 per event 

  Kitchen Cleaning Fee: Deposit. $150 per event 

Chippokes Plantation Meeting, Conference, and Special Use Facilities   

  Mansion Conference Room. $26 per hour 

  Mansion or Historic Area Grounds (Includes parking for party 

rental). 

$525 per 4 hours 

  Mansion Board Room $105 per 4 hours 

  Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (Available on reservation 

basis only). 

$105 per 4 hours 

  Wedding Package (includes historic area grounds, gardens, tent set 

up and take down, 10 60-inch round tables, 10 standard size 

rectangle tables, 100 folding chairs, Wedding Coordinator, changing 

room for bride and groom, Mansion kitchen area, boardroom, no fee 

for wedding rehearsal). 

$1,412 per 4 hours 

$2,073 per 8 hours 

$50 nonrefundable reservation fee 

Southwest Virginia Museum  DAY EVENING 

  Victorian Parlor    

    Up to 30 People (8 tables – 30 chairs) OR Up to 50 people (50 

chairs and head table) 

$42 $68 

  Additional meeting rooms: Victorian Parlor must be rented in order 

to rent additional rooms.  

  

    Hallway (downstairs) (Includes three existing tables with 

linens) 

$11 $11 

  Additional Hours $10 per hour $10 per hour 

  Exceeding approved hours $20 per hour $20 per hour 

  Wedding Portraits $52 per 2 hours $78 per 2 hours 

  Wedding Packages EVENT 

    Wedding Package A: Accommodates 100 people. Use of 

arbor in Victorian Garden. Setup of 100 chairs. One parking 

attendant. Use of wedding space for previous night's 

rehearsal. Bride and groom dressing rooms. Free use of 

facilities for wedding portrait (must be scheduled). 

$500 
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    Wedding Package B: Accommodates 100 people. Use of a 

40x40 Tent. Small platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent 

rope lighting. Setup of 100 chairs. One parking attendant. 

Use of wedding space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride 

and groom dressing rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding 

portrait (must be scheduled). 

$1,500 

    Wedding Package C: Accommodates 200 people (this 

requires an off-site reception area). Use of a 40x60 tent. 

Small platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent rope 

lighting. Setup of 200 chairs. Two parking attendants. Use of 

wedding space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride and 

groom dressing rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding 

portrait (must be scheduled). 

$2,500 

  Reception Packages 

    Casual Reception Package A: May be reserved with 

Wedding Package A or B. Use of Victorian Parlor or foyer; 

parlor set with serving tables and linens. Use of serving 

kitchen. 

$200 

    Casual Reception Package B: May be reserved with 

Wedding Package A or B. Use of 20x30 tent; set with tables 

and linens. Use of serving kitchen. 

$300 

    Formal Reception Package C: May be reserved with 

Wedding Package A or B. Use of 40x60 tent; sit-down 

reception for 100 to include tables, linens and chairs. Use of 

serving kitchen. 

$2,250 

  Wedding and Reception Combination Package 

    Wedding and Reception Combination Package: 

Accommodates 100 people. Both wedding and reception are 

held under the same tent. Use of a 40x60 tent. Small 

platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent rope lighting. 

Setup of 100 chairs. One parking attendant. Use of wedding 

space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride and groom 

dressing rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding portrait 

(must be scheduled). Back of tent set with serving tables and 

linens. Use of serving kitchen. 

$2,500 

  Damage Fee: a minimal damage fee will be accessed the person(s) 

renting the property for damage to the site. 

$200 

  

Wilderness Road (Mansion and Ground Rental)   

  Karlan Mansion and Grounds Rental $350 for first day 

$150 for each additional day 

Wilderness Road Visitor Center Theater $50 per 4 hours 

Cove Ridge Center at Natural Tunnel:  PRIVATE FEE 

EDUCATIONAL 

FEE 

  Cove Ridge Center Annual Membership: Membership entitles 

organization to a 25% discount on facility rental fees and group rates 

on all programming offered through the center. 

$1,050 per year $525 per year 
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  Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, meeting room, resource 

library, catering kitchen, great room with stone fireplace and deck for 

two consecutive half-day rental periods, and parking passes. 

$315 $415 $210 

  Overnight Use of one dorm: Includes Day Use Package plus one dorm 

rooms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$683 $498 

  Overnight Use of both dorms: Includes Day Use Package plus two 

dorm rooms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$892 $656 

  Wedding Package Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, meeting 

room, resource library, catering kitchen, great room with stone 

fireplace and deck for three consecutive half-day rental periods, and 

parking passes. 

$525 NA 

  Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus one 

dorm for one night and swimming (in season). 

$919 NA 

  Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus both 

dorms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$1,102 NA 

  Wedding Package with Amphitheater: Rental of the park amphitheater 

in conjunction with any of the above wedding packages. 

$236 for the rental 

period 

NA 

  Removal of furniture from great room (only available with exclusive 

use of the center). 

$42 $42 

  Additional seating on deck (only available with exclusive use of the 

center). 

$42 $0 

  Auditorium $126 $150 per half 

day 

$231 $250 per full 

day 

$99 per half day 

$183 per full day 

  Classroom – Library (half-day) $63 $47 

  One dorm: Overnight lodging for up to 30, includes swimming (in 

season) and parking passes. 

$420 per night 

April 1-October 31 

$378 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

$315 per night April 

1-October 31 

$283 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

  Both Dorms: Overnight lodging for up to 60, includes swimming (in 

season) and parking passes. 

$630 per night 

April 1-October 31 

$567 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

$472 per night April 

1-October 31 

$425 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

  Per Person Student Rate for Overnight Dorm Use $13 per person $13 per person 

  Kitchen Use (when not included in package) $50 per event $50 per event 

Heritage Center at Pocahontas: All reservations require 50% down at time of 

reservation (Nonrefundable within 14 days of event) PRIVATE FEE 

EDUCATIONAL 

FEE 

  Large Room (Capacity: seated at tables 50; reception style 125, 

auditorium 80: includes tables, chairs, and warming kitchen) 

$131 per 4 hours 

$236 per full-day 

$26 each extra hour 

$78 per 4 hours 

$141 per full-day 

$15 each extra hour 
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Grayson Highlands FEE 

 Wedding Packages: 

0 – 100 persons 

101 – 150 persons 

151 – 200 persons 

  

$100 

$150 

$200 

Westmoreland FEE 

  Tayloe and Helen Murphy Hall Meeting Facility: Includes Main 

Meeting Room, Kitchen, and Grounds 

$500 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

$350 additional rental days after first day 

 Wedding and Reception Package for Tayloe and Helen Murphy 

Hall: The hours accompanying this package are 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 

p.m. on Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. on Saturday, and 9:00 a.m. 

to 2:00 p.m. on Sunday. 

$1,000 

  Potomac Overlook Rental $55 per day 

  Kitchen Clean Up Fee: (Waived if renter cleans facility) $250 per event 

  Potomac River Retreat: Table and Chair Set-up $40 

Fairy Stone   

  Fayerdale Hall Meeting Facility Weekend Rental. Includes Friday, 

Saturday, and Sunday 

  

    One Day Rental $236 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive Days Rental $315 

    Three Consecutive Days Rental $366 

  Fayerdale Hall Meeting Facility Weekday Rental. Includes Monday 

through Thursday only. 

  

    One Day Rental $75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive Days Rental $125 

    Three Consecutive Days Rental $174 

    Four Consecutive Days Rental $225 

Douthat   

  Restaurant (includes table set-up) $236 

  Allegheny Room: Up to 30 persons. $158 per day 

  Wedding Package: Conference room and amphitheater (see 

"amphitheater section") on day of wedding, plus an extra half-day 

amphitheater for rehearsal. 

$289 

First Landing   

  Trail Center Conference Room and Meeting Facility  $280 per day 

Lake Anna   

  Visitor Center $32 per half-day 

$53 per full day 
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  Concessions Building Rental $100 per day 

Bear Creek Lake   

  Meeting facility $350 per day (Memorial Day weekend 

through October 31) 

$236 per day (November 1 up to Memorial 

Day weekend) 

$25 each extra hour 

  Wedding Package $400 per day (Memorial Day weekend 

through October 31) 

$315 per day (November 1 up to Memorial 

Day weekend) 

Claytor Lake   

  Marina Meeting Facility: Includes facility, chairs, and tables. $550 $633 per day, Friday – Sunday 

$275 per day, Monday – Thursday 

$825 $1,203 per two days 

  Wedding Package: Includes rental of facility, chairs, tables, gazebo, 

and special use permit ($10 permit fee is waived with package).  

$625 $702 per day package 

$995 $1,395 per two-day package 

Leesylvania Wedding/Function Package: Includes Rental of: Lee's Landing 

Picnic Shelter, 100 Chairs, 15 Tables, and Parking for up to 50 vehicles. 

$840 per half-day 

$945 per full-day 

Mason Neck   

 Small Wedding Package: Includes two 10 foot by 10 foot canopies, 

up to 50 chairs, and parking for up to 25 cars. 

$250 per event 

  Wedding Package: Includes a 20 foot by 40 foot tent, up to 100 

chairs, and parking for up to 50 cars. 

$788 per event 

  Parking Attendant $53 per 4 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake   

  Meeting room at Visitor Center $158 per day 

  Exceeding approved hours. All parks unless otherwise noted below. $25 per hour 

Sky Meadows   

  Timberlake House Meeting Room 

Capacity 15 people 

$50 $150 per day 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

$75 per evening beyond 5 p.m. $50 

additional per day to extend rental to 8 p.m. 

  Timberlake House Kitchen (in conjunction with rental of meeting 

room) 

$25 per day or part of day 

Equipment and Services Associated with Meetings and Rentals:   

  Microphone/Podium Rental $15 per day 

  Stage Section Rental: 4' x 4' $24 per event 

  First Landing 

    Trail Center Pergola $95 per 3 hours 
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  Chair Rentals 

  White, padded $3.00 

  White, plastic event chair $1.50 

  Standard folding chair $1.00 

  Table Rentals 

  Rectangular, 6' $7.50 

  Rectangular, 8' $8.00 

  Round, 4' $7.50 

  Round, 5' $8.75 

  Round, 6' $15 

  Linen Rentals: All parks unless otherwise noted 

    Table cloth only 

Place settings 

$3.00 per table 

$2.00 each 

  Wilderness Road 

    Table cloth  $7.00  

  Twin Lakes 

    Overlay $1.25 per table 

    Napkins $0.40 per napkin 

  Fax First 2 pages free 

$2.00 each extra page 

  Copies Single copy free 

$0.15 each extra copy 

  Lost Key Fee $10 

  Easels $5.00 per day 

  Overhead Projector $10 per day 

  TV with VCR $10 

  Second TV $10 

  Overhead Projector with Screen $10 

  Slide Projector with Screen $10 

  Flip Chart $10 

Event Set-up and Clean Up Fees   

  First Landing 

    Table and Chair Set-up Fee $40 per event 

  Park labor to clean up after special events and facility rentals if not 

done in accordance with rental agreement or use permit  

$50 per hour 
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Notes on conference and meeting facilities fees:  

1. Conference and meeting facilities require a 30% prepayment due 10 days after making reservation, and payment of the full 

balance prior to or on the first day of the reservation. Cancellations made 14 or more days prior to the first day of the 

reservation shall be charged the lesser of 10% of the total fee or $100. Cancellations made less that than 14 days prior to the 

first date of the reservation shall be charged 30% of the total fee.  

2. Alcohol use during weddings at the Southwest Virginia Museum: Weddings held during public operating hours of the 

museum will not be allowed to serve alcohol. Weddings held after regular operating hours of the museum must comply with 

ABC permit laws and have alcohol in the designated reception areas. 

4VAC5-36-220. Administrative and processing fees.  

Returned Check Fee $35 

Special Use Application Fee: Special use Permits, issued by the park, are required for special events, 

collecting permits, and unusual usage of the park that may interfere with other park visitors, place special 

demands on park resources, or create unusual risk. The fee is nonrefundable. 

$10 $25 

Replacement fee for annual pass: no replacement fee required for Golden Disability Pass. $10 $15 

Disabled Visitor Motorized Vehicle Annual Pass Processing Fee: New River Trail. Applies to specially 

permitted disabled vehicles and transportation devices allowed within the park. Fifteen dollars of the 

processing fee is refundable if permit is denied. 

$25 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4163; Filed November 12, 2014, 11:18 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-30, 4VAC20-620-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 10, 2014, through December 10, 

2014. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248 or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

This emergency action establishes a 20-day consecutive 

landing period beginning December 1, 2014, for any 

legally licensed summer flounder endorsement licensee 

landing summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia 

waters. 

4VAC20-620-30. Commercial harvest quota and allowable 

landings. 

A. During each calendar year, allowable commercial 

landings of Summer Flounder shall be limited to a quota in 

total pounds calculated pursuant to the joint Mid-Atlantic 

Fishery Management Council/Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission Summer Flounder Fishery 

Management Plan, as approved by the National Marine 

Fisheries Service on August 6, 1992 (50 CFR Part 625); and 

shall be distributed as described in subsections B through G 

of this section.  

B. The commercial harvest of Summer Flounder from 

Virginia tidal waters for each calendar year shall be limited to 

300,000 pounds of the annual quota described in subsection A 

of this section. Of this amount, 142,114 pounds shall be set 

aside for Chesapeake Bay-wide harvest.  

C. From the first Monday in January through the day 

preceding the second Monday in November November 30, 

allowable landings of Summer Flounder harvested outside of 

Virginia shall be limited to an amount of pounds equal to 

70.7% of the quota, as described in subsection A of this 

section, after deducting the amount specified in subsection B 

of this section. 

D. From the second Monday in November December 1 

through December 31, allowable landings of Summer 

Flounder harvested outside of Virginia shall be limited to an 

amount of pounds equal to 29.3% of the quota, as described 

in subsection A of this section, after deducting the amount 

specified in subsection B of this section, and as may be 

further modified by subsection E of this section.  

E. Should landings from the first Monday in January 

through the day preceding the second Monday in November 

November 30 exceed or fall short of 70.7% of the quota 

described in subsection A of this section, any such excess 

shall be deducted from allowable landings described in 

subsection D of this section, and any such shortage shall be 

added to the allowable landings as described in subsection D 

of this section. Should the commercial harvest specified in 

subsection B of this section be projected as less than 300,000 

pounds, any such shortage shall be added to the allowable 

landings described in subsection D of this section.  

F. The Marine Resources Commission will give timely 

notice to the industry of the calculated poundages and any 

adjustments to any allowable landings described in 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 1, 2014 

414 

subsections C and D of this section. It shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest or to land Summer Flounder for 

commercial purposes after the commercial harvest or any 

allowable landings as described in this section have been 

attained and announced as such. If any person lands Summer 

Flounder after the commercial harvest or any allowable 

landing have been attained and announced as such, the entire 

amount of Summer Flounder in that person's possession shall 

be confiscated.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any Summer Flounder after any commercial harvest or 

landing quota as described in this section has been attained 

and announced as such.  

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer 

Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, and D of 

this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of 

Atlantic croaker or the combined landings, on board a 

vessel, of black sea bass, scup, squid, scallops and Atlantic 

mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of Summer Flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. From the second Wednesday in March through the day 

preceding the second Monday in November November 30, or 

until it has been projected and announced that 85% of the 

allowable landings have been taken, it shall be unlawful for 

any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of Summer Flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial 

purposes more than twice during each consecutive 20-day 

period, with the first 20-day period beginning on the 

second Wednesday in March.  

3. Land in Virginia more than 12,500 pounds of Summer 

Flounder during each consecutive 20-day period, with the 

first 20-day period beginning on the second Wednesday in 

March. 

4. Land in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

C. From the second Monday in November December 1 

through December 31 of each year, or until it has been 

projected and announced that 85% of the allowable landings 

have been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person 

harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia waters to do 

any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of Summer Flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial 

purposes more than twice during each consecutive 15-day 

20-day period, with the first 15-day 20-day period 

beginning on the second Monday in November December 

1.  

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 pounds of 

Summer Flounder during each consecutive 15-day 20-day 

period, with the first 15-day 20-day period beginning on 

the second Monday in November December 1.  

4. Land in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

D. From January 1 through December 31 of each year, any 

boat or vessel issued a valid federal Summer Flounder 

moratorium permit and owned and operated by a legal 

Virginia Commercial Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses 

a Restricted Summer Flounder Endorsement shall be 

restricted to a possession and landing limit of 200 pounds of 

Summer Flounder, except as described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

E. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all Summer Flounder aboard any vessel 

landing Summer Flounder in Virginia. 

F. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of Summer Flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed and weighed by the seafood buyer 

or processor. The weight of any Summer Flounder in pounds 

found in excess of any possession limit described in this 

section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of Summer Flounder aboard 

any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in 

violation of this chapter unless that vessel has requested and 

been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 

or accepting any quantity of Summer Flounder from any 

vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of 

this chapter, except as described by subsection I of this 

section. A buyer or processor may accept or buy Summer 

Flounder from a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided 

that vessel has satisfied the requirements described in 

subsection I of this section.  

G. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of Summer Flounder in that 

person's possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated 

Summer Flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 

appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 
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confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 

confiscated Summer Flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated Summer Flounder from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder and all funds derived from 

such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 

court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 

limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 

will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 

forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.  

H. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 

federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 

Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 

offloading Summer Flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 

The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 

the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount 

in pounds of Summer Flounder on board that vessel, and the 

anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading 

of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed 

Summer Flounder has been determined, the buyer shall 

contact the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station 

and report the vessel name and corresponding weight of 

Summer Flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person 

to offload from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any 

Summer Flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.  

I. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 

safe harbor shall only offload Summer Flounder when the 

state that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to 

Virginia, in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's 

possession limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that 

transfer of quota.  

J. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 

announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing Summer 

Flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 

but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 

Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 

waters.  

K. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer 

Flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of Summer Flounder, once it 

has been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4203; Filed November 6, 2014, 10:45 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 

Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-

30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments increase license fees for saltwater 

recreational fishing, combined sportfishing, combined 

sportfishing trip, and tidal boat sportfishing to ensure 

continuation of core recreational programs, including 

recreational law enforcement, the Virginia saltwater 

tournament, the game fish tagging program, and the 

artificial reef program.  

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person 

who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for 

commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, 

during any calendar year. The fees listed below include a 

$1.00 agent fee. 

1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES 

Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License $190.00 

Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License for a person 70 years or older $90.00 

Delayed Entry Registration.  $190.00 

Delayed Entry Registration License for 

a person 70 years or older  $90.00 

Seafood Landing License for each boat 

or vessel $175.00 

For each Commercial Fishing Pier over 

or upon subaqueous beds (mandatory) $83.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each 

boat or motor vehicle $63.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each 

place of business $126.00 

Clam Aquaculture Product Owner's 

Permit $10.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Product Owner's 

Permit $10.00 

Clam Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Nonresident Harvester's License $444.00 
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2. OYSTER RESOURCE USER FEES 

Any licensed commercial fisherman 

harvesting oysters by hand $50.00 

For any harvester using one or more 

gear types to harvest oysters or for any 

registered commercial fisherman who 

solely harvests or possesses any bushel 

limit described in 4VAC20-720-80, 

only one oyster resource user fee, per 

year, shall be paid $300.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

no more than 1,000 gallons of oysters $500.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 1,000 but no more than 

10,000 gallons of oysters $1,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 10,000 but no more than 

25,000 gallons of oysters $2,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 25,000 gallons of oysters $4,000.00 

On any oyster buyer using a single 

truck or location $100.00 

On any oyster buyer using multiple 

trucks or locations $300.00 

Commercial aquaculture operation, on 

riparian assignment or general oyster 

planting grounds $50.00 

3. OYSTER HARVESTING, SHUCKING, AND BUYERS 

LICENSES 

Any person purchasing oysters caught 

from the public grounds of the 

Commonwealth or the Potomac River, 

for a single place of business with one 

boat or motor vehicle used for buying 

oysters $50.00 

Any person purchasing oysters caught 

from the public grounds of the 

Commonwealth or the Potomac River, 

for a single place of business with 

multiple boats or motor vehicles used 

for buying oysters $100.00 

For each person taking oysters by hand, 

or with ordinary tongs $10.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat 

taking oysters $35.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong 

boat taking oysters $70.00 

Oyster Dredge Public Ground $50.00 

Oyster Hand Scrape $50.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for any 

number of gallons under 1,000 $12.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 1,000 

gallons, up to 10,000 $33.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 

gallons, up to 25,000 $74.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 

gallons, up to 50,000 $124.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 

gallons, up to 100,000 $207.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 

gallons, up to 200,000 $290.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 

gallons or over $456.00 

4. BLUE CRAB HARVESTING AND SHEDDING 

LICENSES, EXCLUSIVE OF CRAB POT LICENSES 

For each person taking or catching 

crabs by dip nets $13.00 

For ordinary trotlines  $13.00 

For patent trotlines $51.00 

For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat $26.00 

For each double-rigged crab-scrape 

boat $53.00 

For up to 210 peeler pots $36.00 

For up to 20 tanks and floats for 

shedding crabs $9.00 

For more than 20 tanks or floats for 

shedding crabs $19.00 

For each crab trap or crab pound $8.00 

5. CRAB POT LICENSES 

For up to 85 crab pots $48.00 

For over 85 but not more than 127 crab 

pots $79.00 

For over 127 but not more than 170 

crab pots $79.00 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 1, 2014 

417 

For over 170 but not more than 255 

crab pots $79.00 

For over 255 but not more than 425 

crab pots $127.00 

6. HORSESHOE CRAB AND LOBSTER LICENSES 

For each person harvesting horseshoe 

crabs by hand  $16.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, or 

landing of, lobster using less than 200 

pots  $41.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, or 

landing of, lobster using 200 pots or 

more  $166.00 

7. CLAM HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each person taking or harvesting 

clams by hand, rake or with ordinary 

tongs $24.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat 

taking clams $58.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong 

boat taking clams $84.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (hand) $19.00 

For each boat using clam dredge 

(power) $44.00 

For each boat using hydraulic dredge to 

catch soft shell clams $83.00 

For each person taking surf clams $124.00 

8. CONCH (WHELK) HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each boat using a conch dredge $58.00 

For each person taking channeled 

whelk by conch pot $51.00 

9. FINFISH HARVESTING LICENSES 

Each pound net $41.00 

Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in 

length or under, with a fixed location $24.00 

All other gill nets up to 600 feet $16.00 

All other gill nets over 600 feet and up 

to 1,200 feet  $24.00 

Each person using a cast net or throw 

net or similar device $13.00 

Each fyke net head, weir, or similar 

device $13.00 

For fish trotlines $19.00 

Each person using or operating a fish 

dip net $9.00 

On each haul seine used for catching 

fish, under 500 yards in length $48.00 

On each haul seine used for catching 

fish, from 500 yards in length to 1,000 

yards in length $146.00 

For each person using commercial 

hook and line $31.00 

For each person using commercial 

hook and line for catching striped bass 

only $31.00 

For up to 100 fish pots or eel pots $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 

fish pots or eel pots $24.00 

For over 300 fish pots or eel pots $62,00 

10. MENHADEN HARVESTING LICENSES  

Any person purchasing more than one of the following 

licenses, as described in this subsection, for the same vessel, 

shall pay a fee equal to that for a single license for the same 

vessel. 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 

tons fishing for the purse seine 

menhaden reduction sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector $996.00 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 

tons fishing for the purse seine 

menhaden bait sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden 

bait sector $996.00 

11. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE 

Up to five crab pots $36.00 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) $10.00 

One crab trap or crab pound $6.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length $9.00 

Fish dip net $7.00 
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Fish cast net $10.00 

Up to two eel pots $10.00 

12. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE 

Individual, resident 

$17.50 

$22.50 

Individual, nonresident 

$25.00 

$30.00 

Temporary 10-Day, resident 

$10.00 

$15.00 

Temporary 10-Day, nonresident 
$10.00 

$15.00 

Recreational boat, resident 
$48.00 

$53.00 

Recreational boat, nonresident, 

provided a nonresident may not 

purchase a recreational boat license 

unless his boat is registered in Virginia 

$76.00 

$84.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, six 

or less passengers 

$190.00 

$224.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, 

six or less passengers 

$380.00 

$421.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, more 

than six passengers, plus $5.00 per 

person, over six persons 

$190.00 

$224.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, 

more than six passengers, plus $5.00 

per person, over six persons 

$380.00 

$421.00 

Rental Boat, resident, per boat, with 

maximum fee of $703 

$14.00 

$19.00 

Rental Boat, nonresident, per boat, with 

maximum fee of $1270 

$18.00 

$23.00 

Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional) 

$632.00 

$669.00 

Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater 

License $10.00 

Disabled Nonresident Lifetime 

Saltwater License $10.00 

Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational 

Boat License $5.00 

13. COMBINED SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of 

the Commonwealth during open season. 

Residents 

$39.50 

$44.50 

Nonresidents 

$71.00 

$76.00 

14. COMBINED SPORTFISHING TRIP LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of 

the Commonwealth during open season for five consecutive 

days. 

Residents 

$24.00 

$28.00 

Nonresidents 

$31.00 

$35.00 

15. TIDAL BOAT SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

Residents 

$126.00 

$131.00 

Nonresidents 

$201.00 

$206.00 

16. LIFETIME SALTWATER RECREATIONAL 

FISHING LICENSES 

Individual Resident Lifetime License $276.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License $500.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 45 - 50 $132.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License age 45 - 50 $240.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 51 - 55 $99.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License 51 - 55 $180.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 56 - 60 $66.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License age 56 - 60 $120.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 61 - 64 $35.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License age 61 - 64 $60.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 65 and older $5.00 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4202; Filed November 6, 2014, 11:47 a.m.  

  –––––––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-80, 18VAC30-20-160, 

18VAC30-20-170, 18VAC30-20-171, 18VAC30-20-185).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 31, 2014. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 

telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: 18VAC30-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, are promulgated 

under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia. Subdivision 6 of § 54.1-2400 provides the Board of 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

The specific authority for the board to promulgate regulations 

for a provisional license in speech-language pathology is 

found in § 54.1-2604 of the Code of Virginia, which was 

amended by Chapter 436 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly to 

require clinical experience for licensure as a speech-language 

pathologist (SLP) and authorize the board to issue a 

provisional license to an applicant in speech-language 

pathology to allow the applicant to obtain clinical experience.  

Purpose: If the board continues to grant a full license to SLPs 

without evidence of clinical competency, the public may be at 

risk of receiving inadequate or incompetent services. Those 

services are often provided to young children or elderly stroke 

victims. The issuance of a provisional license to SLP 

applicants will allow them to receive clinical supervision for 

their practice and allow the board to issue full, independent 

licensure with some assurance of competency to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of the public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The board expects 

this regulatory action to be noncontroversial because issuance 

of and practice with a provisional license is already common 

for audiologists. The legislation that resulted in Chapter 436 

of the 2013 Acts of Assembly was requested by the Speech-

Language-Hearing Association of Virginia and is strongly 

supported by the profession. Additionally, Virginia has been 

only one of three states not requiring clinical experience for 

licensure, so these changes will make licensure in the 

Commonwealth consistent with other states and improve 

mobility for practitioners. 

Substance: The proposed amendments will allow an applicant 

for reinstatement or licensure by endorsement to meet the 

requirements for clinical experience by obtaining a 

provisional license and practicing under supervision for six 

months. A provisional license will also be available to a 

person with a graduate degree who is practicing under 

supervision to complete a clinical fellowship year and qualify 

for clinical competency certification from the American 

Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA). Such 

certification will be required for full licensure in order to 

ensure minimal clinical competency for licensed speech-

language pathologists. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is assurance of 

clinical competency for licensed speech-language 

pathologists. Additionally, a few SLPs, who are currently 

unable to be licensed by endorsement, may be able to obtain 

practical experience through a provisional license, which will 

qualify them for licensure in Virginia. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. 

The credentials review for SLP applicants will be performed 

by ASHA, so there is an advantage to the Commonwealth in 

terms of cost-avoidance to the board. There are no 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

The professional association of speech-language pathologists 

in Virginia is fully supportive of the changes and worked to 

get authorizing legislation passed in the General Assembly. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 436 of the 2013 Acts of the Assembly, 

the proposed regulations establish provisional licensing for 

speech-language pathologists who do not have clinical 

experience. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. However, there is insufficient data to 

accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 

costs. Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found 

in the next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 436 of the 

2013 Acts of the Assembly, the proposed regulations 

establish provisional licensing for speech-language 

pathologists who do not have clinical experience. Under the 

current regulations, clinical experience is not required for full 

licensure in speech-language pathology. If an applicant has 

met the educational and examination requirements, he or she 

may be issued a full license to practice speech-language 

pathology.  

Under the proposed regulations, an applicant who has met the 

educational and examination requirements, but is lacking 

clinical experience may be allowed to practice speech-

language pathology with a provisional license under the 
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supervision of a licensed practitioner. At the completion of 

required clinical experience, a provisional license may be 

upgraded to a full license. According to the Department of 

Health Professions (DHP), allowing practice of speech-

language pathology without supervision could be risky if the 

practitioner lacks clinical experience. Thus, the proposed 

provisional licensure is expected to reduce health and safety 

risks that may be posed by inexperienced speech-language 

pathologists. 

The main costs of the proposed change will be on the 

applicants. With the proposed changes, applicants who 

receive a provisional license may be allowed to practice their 

profession only under the supervision of a fully licensed 

practitioner. Because of the required supervision, provisional 

licensees may see a reduction in the pool of potential 

employers if some employers are unwilling to provide 

supervision or unwilling to allow their fully licensed staff to 

provide supervision. There could also be a negative effect on 

the pay due to the provisional nature of the license. However, 

DHP is unaware from the 47 other states that require clinical 

experience for licensure of any evidence indicating that fully 

licensed persons would not be willing to supervise a 

provisional licensee. In addition, the Board of Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology will rely on a certification issued 

by American Speech Language Hearing Association (ASHA) 

to determine clinical competency. According to DHP, ASHA 

may charge $286 to $511 to review an applicant's clinical 

credentials depending on the type of the certificate sought. 

However, the applicants for provisional license will be 

required to pay only a $50 application fee instead of $135 for 

a full license, which represents $85 savings per application. 

Another significant benefit will accrue to the speech-language 

pathologists whose license may have lapsed for more than 

five years or applicants for licensure by endorsement who 

have not been actively practicing for three of the past five 

years. Under the current regulations, these individuals are 

required to retake the qualifying examination which costs 

about $115. Under the proposed regulations, they will be 

allowed to practice with a provisional license without having 

to retake the exam and may upgrade to a full license after six 

months. Not having to retake the exam will provide time and 

travel savings in addition to the savings in exam fee for these 

individuals. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DHP receives 

approximately 300 to 350 applications per year for speech 

language pathology license. One half of the applicants are 

estimated to lack clinical experience. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Required supervision for 

provisional licensees may have a negative impact on the 

demand for speech-language pathologists with a provisional 

license. Increased costs due to ASHA review of clinical 

credentials may provide disincentives to get into this 

profession. Finally, the elimination of the requirement to 

retake the exam for those with a lapsed license will make it 

easier for them to get back into the profession. While the net 

impact of these opposite effects on demand and supply of 

speech-language pathologists in the Commonwealth is not 

known, it probably will be small. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Required 

supervision for provisional licensees may increase costs for 

some employers and have a negative effect on their asset 

values. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Some of the 

entities hiring speech-language pathologists may be small 

businesses. As discussed above, required supervision may 

add to their costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative that 

minimizes potential costs on small businesses while 

accomplishing the same health and safety goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology concurs with 

the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

Pursuant to changes to § 54.1-2604 of the Code of Virginia 

by Chapter 436 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, the 
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amendments (i) require an applicant for full licensure in 

speech-language pathology to have clinical experience and 

(ii) add provisional licensure in speech-language 

pathology for the purpose of allowing applicants to gain 

the clinical experience.  

18VAC30-20-80. Fees.  

A. The following fees shall be paid as applicable for 

licensure: 

1. Application for audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$135 

2. Application for school speech-language 

pathology license 

$70 

3. Verification of licensure requests from 

other states 

$20 

4. Annual renewal of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$75 

5. Late renewal of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$25 

6. Annual renewal of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$40 

7. Late renewal of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$15 

8. Reinstatement of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$135 

9. Reinstatement of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$70 

10. Duplicate wall certificates $25 

11. Duplicate license $5 

12. Returned check $35 

13. Inactive license renewal for audiology or 

speech-language pathology 

$40 

14. Inactive license renewal for school 

speech-language pathology 

$20 

15. Approval of a continuing education 

sponsor 

$200 

16. Application for provisional license in 

audiology 

$50 

17. Renewal of provisional license in 

audiology 

$25 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 

and shall not be refunded once submitted. 

C. For the renewal of licenses by December 31, 2013, the 

fees shall be as follows: 

1. Annual renewal of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$55 

2. Annual renewal of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$30 

3. Inactive license renewal for audiology or 

speech-language pathology 

$30 

4. Renewal of provisional license in 

audiology 

$20 

18VAC30-20-160. Reinstatement of lapsed license.  

A. When a license has not been renewed within one year of 

the expiration date, a person may apply to reinstate his license 

by submission of a reinstatement application, payment of the 

reinstatement fee, and submission of documentation of 15 

continuing competency hours for each year the license has 

been lapsed, not to exceed 60 hours obtained during the time 

the license in Virginia was lapsed.  

B. A licensee who does not reinstate within five years as 

prescribed by subsection A of this section shall either: 

1. Reapply for licensure as prescribed by 18VAC30-20-

170 and meet the qualifications for licensure in effect at the 

time of the new application; or 

2. Meet the continuing competency requirements specified 

in subsection A of this section and provide documentation 

of a current license in another jurisdiction in the United 

States and evidence of active practice for at least three of 

the past five years.  

C. An applicant for reinstatement in audiology who does not 

meet one of the requirements of subsection B of this section 

may qualify for reinstatement by practice under supervision 

with a provisional license for six months and a 

recommendation for reinstatement by his supervisor. The 

board may issue a provisional license to an applicant who can 

provide evidence of having met the applicable educational 

qualifications prescribed in 18VAC30-20-170 and passage of 

the qualifying examination at the time of initial licensure. 

Provisional licensure shall be practiced under the supervision 

of a licensed audiologist and in accordance with subsections 

D and E of 18VAC30-20-171.  

D. If the licensee holds licensure in any other state or 

jurisdiction, he shall provide evidence that no disciplinary 

action has been taken or is pending. The board reserves the 

right to deny a request for reinstatement to any licensee who 

has been determined to have committed an act in violation of 

18VAC30-20-280.  

Part III  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC30-20-170. Requirements for licensure.  

A. The board may grant a license to an applicant who:  

1. Holds a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical 

Competence in the area in which he seeks licensure issued 

by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, 

certification issued by the American Board of Audiology 

or any other accrediting body recognized by the board. 
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Verification of currency shall be in the form of a certified 

letter from a recognized accrediting body issued within six 

months prior to licensure; and  

2. Has passed the qualifying examination from an 

accrediting body recognized by the board within three 

years preceding the date of applying for licensure, or has 

been actively engaged in the respective profession for 

which he seeks licensure for one of the past three 

consecutive years preceding the date of application; or  

B. The board may grant a license to an applicant for 

licensure as a speech-language pathologist who: 

1. Holds a master's degree or its equivalent as determined 

by the board or a doctoral degree from a college or 

university whose speech-language program is accredited 

by the Council on Academic Accreditation of the 

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or an 

equivalent accrediting body; and 

2. Has passed a qualifying examination from an accrediting 

body recognized by the board within three years preceding 

the date of applying for licensure in Virginia or has been 

actively engaged as a speech-language pathologist for one 

of the past three consecutive years preceding the date of 

application. 

C. The board may grant a license to an applicant as a school 

speech-language pathologist who holds a master's degree in 

speech-language-pathology.  

D. C. Any individual who holds an active, renewable license 

issued by the Virginia Board of Education with a valid 

endorsement in speech-language pathology on June 30, 2014, 

shall be deemed qualified to obtain a school speech-language 

pathologist license from the board until July 1, 2016, or the 

date of expiration of such person's license issued by the 

Virginia Board of Education, whichever is later. 

18VAC30-20-171. Provisional licensure in audiology. 

A. The board may grant a provisional license in audiology to 

an applicant who submits a completed application and fee 

with documentation that the applicant:  

1. Is a graduate of or is currently enrolled in a doctoral 

program in audiology at a college or university whose 

audiology program is accredited by the Council on 

Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-

Language-Hearing Association or an equivalent 

accrediting body;  

2. Has successfully completed all the didactic coursework 

required for the doctoral degree as documented by the 

audiology program; and  

3. Has passed a qualifying examination from an accrediting 

body recognized by the board within three years preceding 

the date of applying for provisional licensure in Virginia. 

B. The board may grant a provisional license in speech-

language pathology to an applicant who submits a completed 

application and fee with documentation that the applicant:  

1. Is a graduate of or is currently enrolled in a graduate 

program in speech-language pathology at a college or 

university whose program is accredited by the Council on 

Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-

Language-Hearing Association or an equivalent 

accrediting body;  

2. Has successfully completed all the didactic coursework 

required for the graduate degree as documented by the 

speech-language pathology program; and  

3. Has passed a qualifying examination from an accrediting 

body recognized by the board within three years preceding 

the date of applying for provisional licensure in Virginia. 

B. C. A provisional license shall expire 18 months from the 

date of issuance and may be renewed for an additional six 

months by submission of a renewal form and payment of a 

renewal fee. Renewal of a provisional license beyond 24 

months shall be for good cause shown as determined by a 

committee of the board.  

C. D. The holder of a provisional license in audiology shall 

only practice under the supervision of a licensed audiologist 

and the holder of a provisional license in speech-language 

pathology shall only practice under the supervision of a 

licensed speech-language pathologist in order to obtain 

clinical experience as required for certification by the 

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, the 

American Board of Audiology, or any other accrediting body 

recognized by the board. The provisional licensee shall be 

responsible and accountable for the safe performance of those 

direct patient care tasks to which he has been assigned. 

D. E. Licensed audiologists or speech-language pathologists 

providing supervision shall: 

1. Have an active, current license and at least three years of 

active practice as an audiologist or speech-language 

pathologist prior to providing supervision; 

1. 2. Notify the board electronically or in writing of the 

intent to provide supervision for a provisional licensee; 

2. 3. Document the frequency and nature of the supervision 

of provisional licensees; 

3. 4. Be responsible and accountable for the assignment of 

patients and tasks based on their assessment and evaluation 

of the provisional licensee's knowledge and skills; and 

4. 5. Monitor clinical performance and intervene if 

necessary for the safety and protection of the patients. 

E. F. The identity of a provisional licensee shall be disclosed 

to the client prior to treatment and shall be made a part of the 

client's file. 

18VAC30-20-185. Licensure by endorsement. 

A. An applicant who has been licensed in another 

jurisdiction in the United States may apply for licensure in 

Virginia by submission of a completed application, payment 

of the application fee, and submission of documentation of 15 
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continuing competency hours for each year in which he has 

been licensed in the other jurisdiction, not to exceed 60 hours.  

B. An applicant shall either: 

1. Meet the qualifications for licensure as prescribed by 

18VAC30-20-170; or 

2. Provide documentation of a current license in another 

jurisdiction in the United States and evidence of active 

practice for at least three of the past five years. 

C. An applicant for licensure by endorsement in audiology 

who does not meet one of the requirements of subsection B of 

this section may qualify for endorsement by practice under 

supervision with a provisional license for six months and a 

recommendation for licensure by his supervisor. The board 

may issue a provisional license to an applicant who can 

provide evidence of having met the educational qualifications 

prescribed in 18VAC30-20-170 and passage of the qualifying 

examination at the time of initial licensure. Provisional 

licensure shall be practiced under the supervision of a 

licensed audiologist and in accordance with subsections D 

and E of 18VAC30-20-171. 

D. An applicant shall provide evidence that no disciplinary 

action has been taken or is pending against his license in 

another jurisdiction. The board reserves the right to deny a 

request for licensure to any applicant who has been 

determined to have committed an act in violation of 

18VAC30-20-280. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3820; Filed November 6, 2014, 9:14 a.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-20, 18VAC50-22-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 21, 2015 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, Training 

Room 2, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

authority for the board to promulgate regulations for the 

licensure of contractors in the Commonwealth.  The content 

of the regulations is pursuant to the board's discretion, but 

shall not be in conflict with the purposes of the statutory 

authority. 

Purpose: The board seeks to amend the current regulations to 

include commercial building contractors and residential 

building contractors. The proposed amendments are required 

to comply with the provisions of Chapter 116 of the 2013 

Acts of Assembly. 

Substance: 18VAC50-22-20 defines the scope of practice 

allowed for each classification. The proposed amendments 

add the classification of commercial building contractors and 

outline the scope of practice this classification is permitted to 

perform. The proposed amendments also amend the current 

definition of building contractor, changing it to residential 

building contractor, and change the definition so that it only 

references residential work. 

18VAC50-22-30 defines the scope of practice allowed for 

each specialty. The proposed amendments change the 

definition of any specialty that requires a reference to the new 

commercial building contractor classification. 

Issues: In amending these regulations, the Board for 

Contractors is complying with the provisions of Chapter 116 

of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, which establish the 

requirement for "commercial building contractors" and 

"residential building contractors." The General Assembly 

determined a need for this level of regulation to protect the 

public. One advantage of these amendments is to ensure that 

work done on both residential property and commercial 

property is performed by companies that have demonstrated 

enough experience to reasonably assume competency in the 

specific area in which they are licensed. Another advantage of 

these amendments is to commercial building contractors. The 

new legislation excludes a contractor holding the commercial 

building contractor classification from paying into the 

Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund. 

One possible disadvantage of these amendments is that a 

contractor who performs both residential and commercial 

building will need to apply for a contractor license with both 

classifications. The qualified individual will need to complete 

an exam for each classification. Another potential 

disadvantage is a decrease in the balance of the Transaction 

Recovery Fund. This decrease is expected to be minimal.  

The primary advantage to the agency is that the revisions to 

the regulations will make it easier for investigations 

concerning the Transaction Recovery Fund.  There are no 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 116 of the 2013 Acts of the Assembly, 

the Board for Contractors (Board) proposes to split contractor 

classification into two categories and specify which 

specialties fall under each classification.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, contractors are 

licensed by the Board as Class A, B or C contractors 

depending on the value of the jobs they are contracted to 

complete. In 2013, the General Assembly passed legislation 
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that split the contractor classification in two so that Class A, 

B or C licenses will classify contractors as commercial 

building contractors or residential building contractors (or 

both). The Board now proposes to amend these regulations to 

conform to Chapter 116 and to specify which specialties fall 

under each classification so that Board staff, as well as 

regulated entities, have an understanding of which larger 

classification is necessary to do certain types of work. 

Specifically, 1) billboard contracting, 2) commercial 

improvement contracting, 3) farm improvement contracting, 

4) marine facility contracting and 5) recreational facility 

contracting will fall under the commercial building contractor 

classification; home improvement contracting will fall under 

the residential building contractor classification. Additionally, 

1) Concrete contracting, 2) industrial building contracting, 3) 

landscape services contracting, 4) masonry contracting, 5) 

painting and wallcovering contracting, 6) roofing contracting 

and 7) swimming pool contracting may fall under either 

classification depending on the type of property the contractor 

is working on.  

Board staff reports that all currently licensed contractors will 

be issued appropriate licenses with both classifications and 

that individuals applying for contractor licensure in the future 

may receive one or both classifications (with as many 

specialty designations as they are qualified for) at the time of 

initial licensure for the same fee paid now for a general 

building contractors license. Contractors will continue to pay 

additional fees for specialties added to their licenses after 

initial licensure. 

Licensed contractors are unlikely to incur extra costs on 

account of these proposed regulations. Regulated entities and 

other interested parties are likely to gain a small benefit from 

eliminating possible confusion by having these regulations 

conform to relevant legislation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that, as 

of September 30, 2013, the Board licenses 92,200 contractors. 

All of these entities, as well as any others that might want to 

be licensed as contractors in the future, will be affected by 

these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action is 

unlikely to impact employment in the Commonwealth.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action is unlikely to affect the use or value of 

private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Affected small 

businesses are unlikely to incur any additional costs on 

account of this regulatory action.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Affected small businesses are unlikely to 

incur any additional costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Contractors concurs with the analysis of the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 116 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendments (i) add the classification of 

commercial building contractor and outline the scope of 

practice this classification is permitted to perform, (ii) 

change the current definition of building contractor to 

residential building contractor and amend the definition so 

that it only references residential work, and (iii) change 

the definition of any specialty that requires a reference to 

the new commercial building contractor classification. 

18VAC50-22-20. Definitions of license classifications.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings:  

"Building contractors" (Abbr: BLD) means those individuals 

whose contracts include construction on real property owned, 

controlled or leased by another person of commercial, 

industrial, institutional, governmental, residential (single-

family, two-family or multifamily) and accessory use 

buildings or structures. This classification also provides for 
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remodeling, repair, improvement or demolition of these 

buildings and structures.  

If the BLD contractor performs specialty services other than 

those listed below, all required specialty designations shall be 

obtained. The BLD contractor may act as a prime contractor 

and contract with subcontractors to perform work not 

permitted by the BLD license. The building classification 

includes but is not limited to the functions carried out by the 

following specialties:  

Billboard/sign contracting  

Commercial improvement contracting  

Concrete contracting 

Farm improvement contracting  

Home improvement contracting 

Industrialized building contracting  

Landscape service contracting  

Marine facility contracting  

Masonry contracting 

Recreational facility contracting  

Roofing contracting 

"Commercial building contractors" (Abbr: CBC) means 

those individuals whose contracts include construction, 

remodeling, repair, improvement, removal, or demolition on 

real property owned, controlled, or leased by another person 

of commercial, industrial, institutional, governmental, and 

accessory use buildings or structures. The CBC classification 

does not provide for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas 

fitting services and does not allow construction, removal, 

repair, improvement, or demolition of dwellings and 

townhouses.  

If the CBC performs specialty services other than those 

listed in this definition, all required specialty designations 

shall be obtained. The CBC may act as a prime contractor and 

contract with subcontractors to perform work not permitted 

by the CBC license. The commercial building classification 

includes but is not limited to the functions carried out by the 

following specialties for contracts of commercial, 

institutional, governmental, and accessory use buildings or 

structures, including multi-family housing:  

Billboard/sign contracting  

Commercial improvement contracting  

Concrete contracting 

Farm improvement contracting  

Industrialized building contracting  

Landscape service contracting  

Marine facility contracting  

Masonry contracting 

Painting and wallcovering contracting 

Recreational facility contracting  

Roofing contracting 

Swimming pool contracting 

"Electrical contractors" (Abbr: ELE) means those 

individuals whose contracts include the construction, repair, 

maintenance, alteration, or removal of electrical systems. This 

classification provides for all work covered by the electrical 

provisions of the USBC including electronic/communication 

service contracting (ESC) and fire alarm systems contracting 

(FAS) specialties. A firm holding an ELE license is 

responsible for meeting all applicable individual license and 

certification regulations.  

"Highway/heavy contractors" (Abbr: H/H) means those 

individuals whose contracts include construction, repair, 

improvement, or demolition of the following:  

Bridges  

Dams  

Drainage systems  

Foundations  

Parking lots  

Public transit systems  

Rail roads  

Roads  

Runways  

Streets  

Structural signs & and lights  

Tanks  

The functions carried out by these contractors include but 

are not limited to the following:  

Building demolition  

Clearing  

Concrete work  

Excavating  

Grading  

Nonwater well drilling  

Paving  

Pile driving  

Road marking  

Steel erection  

These contractors also install, maintain, or dismantle the 

following:  

1. Power systems for the generation and primary and 

secondary distribution of electric current ahead of the 

customer's meter;  

2. Pumping stations and treatment plants;  

3. Telephone, telegraph, or signal systems for public 

utilities; and  

4. Water, gas, and sewer connections to residential, 

commercial, and industrial sites, subject to local 

ordinances.  

This classification may also install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this classification when the 

installer has received formal vocational training approved by 

the board that included instruction in the installation of 

backflow prevention devices.  

"HVAC contractors" (Abbr: HVA) means those individuals 

whose work includes the installation, alteration, repair, or 

maintenance of heating systems, ventilating systems, cooling 

systems, steam and hot water heaters, heating systems, 
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boilers, process piping, and mechanical refrigeration systems, 

including tanks incidental to the system. This classification 

does not provide for fire suppression installations, sprinkler 

system installations, or gas piping. A firm holding a HVAC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable individual 

license and certification regulations. This classification may 

install backflow prevention devices incidental to work in this 

classification.  

"Plumbing contractors" (Abbr: PLB) means those 

individuals whose contracts include the installation, 

maintenance, extension, or alteration, or removal of all 

piping, fixtures, appliances, and appurtenances in connection 

with any of the following:  

Backflow prevention devices  

Boilers  

Hot water baseboard heating systems  

Hot water heaters  

Hydronic systems  

Limited area sprinklers (as defined by the USBC)  

Process piping  

Public/private water supply systems within or adjacent to 

any building, structure, or conveyance  

Sanitary or storm drainage facilities  

Steam heating systems  

Storage tanks incidental to the installation of related 

systems  

Venting systems related to plumbing  

These contractors also install, maintain, extend, or alter the 

following:  

Liquid waste systems  

Sewerage systems  

Storm water systems  

Water supply systems  

This classification does not provide for (i) gas piping or (ii) 

the function of fire sprinkler contracting as noted above 

except for limited area sprinklers as defined by the USBC. A 

firm holding a PLB license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual license and certification regulations. 

The classification may install sprinkler systems permitted to 

be designed in accordance with the plumbing provisions of 

the USBC when the installer has received formal vocational 

training approved by the board that included instruction of 

installation of sprinkler systems. 

"Residential building contractors" (Abbr: RBC) means those 

individuals whose contracts include construction, remodeling, 

repair, improvement, removal, or demolition on real property 

owned, controlled, or leased by another person of dwellings 

and townhouses, including accessory buildings or structures 

on such property. The RBC classification does not provide for 

electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting services and does 

not allow construction, removal, repair, or improvement to 

commercial, industrial, institutional, or governmental use 

structures outside of dwellings and townhouses, except for 

the repair or improvement to dwelling units within 

commercial buildings. 

The residential building classification includes but is not 

limited to the functions carried out by the following 

specialties for contracts of dwellings and townhouses and 

related accessory use buildings or structures:  

Concrete contracting 

Home improvement contracting 

Industrialized building contracting  

Landscape service contracting  

Masonry contracting 

Painting and wallcovering contracting 

Roofing contracting 

Swimming pool contracting 

"Specialty \contractors" means those individuals whose 

contracts are for specialty services which that do not 

generally fall within the scope of any other classification 

within this chapter.  

18VAC50-22-30. Definitions of specialty services.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings:  

"Accessibility services contracting" (Abbr: ASC) means the 

service that provides for all work in connection with the 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work. This specialty does not include 

work on limited use-limited application (LULA) elevators. 

"Accessibility services contracting – LULA" (Abbr: ASL) 

means the service that provides for all work in connection 

with the constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, 

testing, or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, private 

residence elevators, and limited use-limited application 

(LULA) elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work.  

"Alternative energy system contracting" (Abbr: AES) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair or 

improvement, from the customer's meter, of alternative 

energy generation systems, supplemental energy systems and 

associated equipment annexed to real property. This service 

does not include the installation of emergency generators 

powered by fossil fuels. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. This specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions.  

"Asbestos contracting" (Abbr: ASB) means the service that 

provides for the installation, removal, or encapsulation of 
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asbestos containing materials annexed to real property. No 

other classification or specialty service provides for this 

function.  

"Asphalt paving and sealcoating contracting" (Abbr: PAV) 

means the service that provides for the installation of asphalt 

paving or sealcoating, or both, on subdivision streets and 

adjacent intersections, driveways, parking lots, tennis courts, 

running tracks, and play areas, using materials and 

accessories common to the industry. This includes height 

adjustment of existing sewer manholes, storm drains, water 

valves, sewer cleanouts and drain grates, and all necessary 

excavation and grading. The H/H classification also provides 

for this function.  

"Billboard/sign contracting" (Abbr: BSC) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

dismantling of any billboard or structural sign permanently 

annexed to real property. H/H and BLD CBC are the only 

other classifications that can perform this work except that a 

contractor in this specialty may connect or disconnect signs to 

existing electrical circuits. No trade related plumbing, 

electrical, or HVAC work is included in this function.  

"Blast/explosive contracting" (Abbr: BEC) means the 

service that provides for the use of explosive charges for the 

repair, improvement, alteration, or demolition of any real 

property or any structure annexed to real property.  

"Commercial improvement contracting" (Abbr: CIC) means 

the service that provides for repair or improvement to 

nonresidential property and multifamily property, as defined 

structures not defined as dwellings and townhouses in the in 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-

63). The BLD CBC classification also provides for this 

function. The CIC classification does not provide for the 

construction of new buildings, accessory buildings, electrical, 

plumbing, HVAC, or gas work.  

"Concrete contracting" (Abbr: CEM) means the service that 

provides for all work in connection with the processing, 

proportioning, batching, mixing, conveying, and placing of 

concrete composed of materials common to the concrete 

industry. This includes but is not limited to finishing, 

coloring, curing, repairing, testing, sawing, grinding, 

grouting, placing of film barriers, sealing, and waterproofing. 

Construction and assembling of forms, molds, slipforms, 

pans, centering, and the use of rebar is also included. The 

BLD CBC, RBC, and H/H classifications also provide for this 

function.  

"Electronic/communication service contracting" (Abbr: 

ESC) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of electronic or 

communications systems annexed to real property including 

telephone wiring, computer cabling, sound systems, data 

links, data and network installation, television and cable TV 

wiring, antenna wiring, and fiber optics installation, all of 

which operate at 50 volts or less. A firm holding an ESC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable tradesman 

licensure standards. The ELE classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Elevator/escalator contracting" (Abbr: EEC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of elevators or escalators permanently annexed to 

real property. A firm holding an EEC license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for this function.  

"Environmental monitoring well contracting" (Abbr: EMW) 

means the service that provides for the construction of a well 

to monitor hazardous substances in the ground.  

"Environmental specialties contracting" (Abbr: ENV) means 

the service that provides for installation, repair, removal, or 

improvement of pollution control and remediation devices. 

No other specialty provides for this function. This specialty 

does not provide for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or 

HVAC functions.  

"Equipment/machinery contracting" (Abbr: EMC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of 

equipment or machinery including but not limited to 

conveyors or heavy machinery. Boilers exempted by the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) but 

regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry are also 

included in this specialty. This specialty does not provide for 

any electrical, plumbing, process piping, or HVAC functions.  

"Farm improvement contracting" (Abbr: FIC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of a nonresidential farm building or structure, or 

nonresidential farm accessory-use structure, or additions 

thereto. The BLD CBC classification also provides for this 

function. The FIC specialty does not provide for any 

electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions.  

"Fire alarm systems contracting" (Abbr: FAS) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of fire alarm systems which that operate at 50 

volts or less. The ELE classification also provides for this 

function. A firm with an FAS license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable tradesman licensure standards.  

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, alteration, addition, 

testing, maintenance, inspection, improvement, or removal of 

sprinkler systems using water as a means of fire suppression 

when annexed to real property. This specialty does not 

provide for the installation, repair, or maintenance of other 

types of fire suppression systems. The PLB classification 

allows for the installation of systems permitted to be designed 

in accordance with the plumbing provisions of the USBC. 

This specialty may engage in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices in the fire sprinkler supply main and 

incidental to the sprinkler system installation when the 

installer has received formal vocational training approved by 

the board that included instruction in the installation of 

backflow prevention devices.  
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"Fire suppression contracting" (Abbr: FSP) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of fire suppression systems including but not 

limited to halon and other gas systems;, dry chemical 

systems;, and carbon dioxide systems annexed to real 

property. No other classification provides for this function. 

The FSP specialty does not provide for the installation, repair, 

or maintenance of water sprinkler systems.  

"Gas fitting contracting" (Abbr: GFC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or removal 

of gas piping and appliances annexed to real property. A firm 

holding a GFC license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual (tradesman) licensure regulations.  

"Home improvement contracting" (Abbr: HIC) means the 

service that provides for repairs or improvements to one-

family and two-family residential buildings dwellings and 

townhouses as defined in the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63) or structures annexed to real 

property those dwellings or townhouses and improvements to 

dwelling units within commercial buildings. The BLD RBC 

classification also provides for this function. The HIC 

specialty does not provide for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or 

gas fitting functions. It does not include high rise buildings, 

buildings with more than two dwelling units, or new 

construction functions beyond the existing building structure 

other than decks, patios, driveways, and utility out buildings 

of 200 square feet or less.  

"Industrialized building contracting" (Abbr: IBC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of an 

industrialized building as defined in the Virginia 

Industrialized Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). 

This classification covers foundation work in accordance with 

the provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63) and allows the licensee to complete 

internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, electrical, and HVAC 

systems. It does not allow for installing additional plumbing, 

gas, electrical, or HVAC work such as installing the service 

meter, or installing the outside compressor for the HVAC 

system. The BLD classification CBC and RBC classifications 

also provides provide for this function.  

"Landscape irrigation contracting" (Abbr: ISC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of irrigation sprinkler systems or outdoor sprinkler 

systems. The PLB and H/H classifications also provide for 

this function. This specialty may install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this specialty when the installer 

has received formal vocational training approved by the board 

that included instruction in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices.  

"Landscape service contracting" (Abbr: LSC) means the 

service that provides for the alteration or improvement of a 

land area not related to any other classification or service 

activity by means of excavation, clearing, grading, 

construction of retaining walls for landscaping purposes, or 

placement of landscaping timbers. This specialty may remove 

stumps and roots below grade. The BLD CBC, RBC, and 

H/H classifications also provide for this function.  

"Lead abatement contracting" (Abbr: LAC) means the 

service that provides for the removal or encapsulation of lead-

containing materials annexed to real property. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for this function, 

except that the PLB and HVA classifications may provide 

this service incidental to work in those classifications.  

"Liquefied petroleum gas contracting" (Abbr: LPG) means 

the service that includes the installation, maintenance, 

extension, alteration, or removal of all piping, fixtures, 

appliances, and appurtenances used in transporting, storing, 

or utilizing liquefied petroleum gas. This excludes hot water 

heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require an 

HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for 

this function. A firm holding an LPG license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. 

"Manufactured home contracting" (Abbr: MHC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of a 

manufactured home as defined in the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95). This classification 

does not cover foundation work; however, it does allow 

installation of piers covered under HUD regulations. It does 

allow a licensee to do internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC equipment. It does not allow for 

installing additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work 

such as installing the service meter, or installing the outside 

compressor for the HVAC system. No other specialty 

provides for this function. 

"Marine facility contracting" (Abbr: MCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of any structure the purpose of 

which is to provide access to, impede, or alter a body of 

surface water. The BLD CBC and H/H classifications also 

provide for this function. The MCC specialty does not 

provide for the construction of accessory structures or 

electrical, HVAC, or plumbing functions.  

"Masonry contracting" (Abbr: BRK) means the service that 

includes the installation of brick, concrete block, stone, 

marble, slate, or other units and products common to the 

masonry industry, including mortarless type masonry 

products. This includes installation of grout, caulking, tuck 

pointing, sand blasting, mortar washing, parging, and 

cleaning and welding of reinforcement steel related to 

masonry construction. The BLD classification CBC and RBC 

classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also provide 

for this function.  

"Natural gas fitting provider contracting" (Abbr: NGF) 

means the service that provides for the incidental repair, 

testing, or removal of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to 

real property. This does not include new installation of gas 

piping for hot water heaters, boilers, central heating systems, 
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or other natural gas equipment which that requires an HVA or 

PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for this 

function. A firm holding an NGF license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. 

"Painting and wallcovering contracting" (Abbr: PTC) means 

the service that provides for the application of materials 

common to the painting and decorating industry for protective 

or decorative purposes, the installation of surface coverings 

such as vinyls, wall papers, and cloth fabrics. This includes 

surface preparation, caulking, sanding, and cleaning 

preparatory to painting or coverings and includes both interior 

and exterior surfaces. The BLD classification CBC and RBC 

classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also provide 

for this function. 

"Radon mitigation contracting" (Abbr: RMC) means the 

service that provides for additions, repairs or improvements 

to buildings or structures, for the purpose of mitigating or 

preventing the effects of radon gas. This function can only be 

performed by a firm holding the BLD classification or CIC 

(for other than one-family and two-family dwellings), FIC 

(for nonresidential farm buildings) or HIC (for one-family 

and two-family dwellings) specialty services CBC and RBC 

classifications or the CIC, FIC, or HIC specialties. No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty.  

"Recreational facility contracting" (Abbr: RFC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, or 

improvement of any recreational facility, excluding paving 

and the construction of buildings, plumbing, electrical, and 

HVAC functions. The BLD CBC classification also provides 

for this function.  

"Refrigeration contracting" (Abbr: REF) means the service 

that provides for installation, repair, or removal of any 

refrigeration equipment (excluding HVAC equipment). No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty. This specialty is intended for those 

contractors who repair or install coolers, refrigerated 

casework, ice-making machines, drinking fountains, cold 

room equipment, and similar hermetic refrigeration 

equipment. The HVAC classification also provides for this 

function.  

"Roofing contracting" (Abbr: ROC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, removal, or improvement 

of materials common to the industry that form a watertight, 

weather resistant surface for roofs and decks. This includes 

roofing system components when installed in conjunction 

with a roofing project, application of dampproofing or 

waterproofing, and installation of roof insulation panels and 

other roof insulation systems above roof deck. The BLD 

classification CBC and RBC classifications and the HIC and 

CIC specialties also provide for this function.  

"Sewage disposal systems contracting" (Abbr: SDS) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of septic tanks, septic systems, and 

other on-site onsite sewage disposal systems annexed to real 

property.  

"Swimming pool construction contracting" (Abbr: POL) 

means the service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of in-ground swimming pools. The 

BLD classification CBC and RBC classifications and the 

RFC specialty also provide for this function. No trade related 

plumbing, electrical, backflow, or HVAC work is included in 

this specialty.  

"Vessel construction contracting" (Abbr: VCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of nonresidential vessels, tanks, or 

piping that hold or convey fluids other than sanitary, storm, 

waste, or potable water supplies. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function.  

"Water well/pump contracting" (Abbr: WWP) means the 

service that provides for the installation of a water well 

system, including geothermal wells, which includes 

construction of a water well to reach groundwater, as defined 

in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia, and the installation of 

the well pump and tank, including pipe and wire, up to and 

including the point of connection to the plumbing and 

electrical systems. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for construction of water wells. This regulation shall 

not exclude PLB, ELE, or HVAC from installation of pumps 

and tanks.  

Note: Specialty contractors engaging in construction that 

involves the following activities or items or similar activities 

or items may fall under the CIC, HIC, and/or FIC specialty 

services, or they may fall under the BLD classification CBC 

and/or RBC classifications.  

Appliances  Fireplaces  Rubber linings 

Awnings  Fireproofing  Sandblasting 

Blinds Fixtures  Scaffolding 

Bulkheads Floor coverings  Screens 

Cabinetry Flooring Sheet metal 

Carpentry  Floors  Shutters 

Carpeting  Glass  Siding 

Casework  Glazing  Skylights 

Ceilings  Grouting  Storage bins and 

lockers 

Chimneys  Grubbing Stucco 

Chutes  Guttering Temperature 

controls 

Conduit 

rodding  

Insulation  Terrazzo 

Curtains  Interior 

decorating 

Tile 

Curtain walls  Lubrication  Vaults 
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Decks Metal work  Vinyl flooring 

Doors  Millwrighting  Wall panels 

Drapes  Mirrors  Wall tile 

Drywall  Miscellaneous 

iron 

Waterproofing 

Epoxy  Ornamental 

iron  

Weatherstripping 

Exterior 

decoration 

Partitions  Welding 

Facings Protective 

coatings 

Windows 

Fences  Railings  Wood floors 

Fiberglass Rigging   

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3648; Filed November 6, 2014, 2:20 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-140. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Polysomnographic Technologists (adding 

18VAC85-140-10 through 18VAC85-140-190).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.15 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2014.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As required by Chapter 838 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly, 

this action establishes the regulations governing the 

licensure and practice of individuals who, under the 

direction of a licensed physician, monitor, test, and treat 

those suffering from sleep disorders. The regulations 

include requirements for minimal competency for practice, 

continued competency for renewal of licensure, 

supervisory responsibilities, and standards of conduct for 

safe practice of polysomnographic technologists.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 140 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF 

POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS 

Part I  

General Provisions 

18VAC85-140-10. Definitions. 

A. The following word and term when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to it in § 54.1-2900 of the 

Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2957.15 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Polysomnographic technology" 

"Practice of polysomnographic technology" 

C. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 

professional practice as a polysomnographic technologist 

within the 24-month period immediately preceding 

application for reinstatement or reactivation of licensure. The 

active practice of polysomnographic technology may include 

supervisory, administrative, educational, or consultative 

activities or responsibilities for the delivery of such services.  

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board on 

Polysomnographic Technology to the Board of Medicine as 

specified in § 54.1-2957.14 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC85-140-20. Public participation. 

A separate board regulation, 18VAC85-11, provides for 

involvement of the public in the development of all 

regulations of the Virginia Board of Medicine. 

18VAC85-140-30. Current name and address. 

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and 

address of record. All notices required by law or by this 

chapter to be given by the board to any such licensee shall be 

validly given when mailed to the latest address of record 

provided or served to the licensee. Any change of name or 

change in the address of record or public address, if different 

from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board 

within 30 days of such change. 

18VAC85-140-40. Fees. 

The following fees are required:  

1. The application fee, payable at the time the application 

is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month.  

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for 

a period of two years or more shall be $180 and must be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  
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8. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure as a Polysomnographic 

Technologist 

18VAC85-140-50. Application requirements.  

An applicant for licensure shall submit the following on 

forms provided by the board:  

1. A completed application and a fee as prescribed in 

18VAC85-140-40.  

2. Verification of a professional credential in 

polysomnographic technology as required in 18VAC85-

140-60.  

3. Verification of practice as required on the application 

form.  

4. If licensed or certified in any other jurisdiction, 

documentation of any disciplinary action taken or pending 

in that jurisdiction.  

18VAC85-140-60. Licensure requirements. 

A. An applicant for a license to practice as a 

polysomnographic technologist shall provide documentation 

of one of the following: 

1. Current certification as a Registered Polysomnographic 

Technologist (RPSGT) by the Board of Registered 

Polysomnographic Technologists; 

2. Documentation of the Sleep Disorders Specialist 

credential from the National Board of Respiratory Care 

(NBRC-SDS); or  

3. A professional certification or credential approved by 

the board from an organization or entity that is a member 

of the National Organization for Competency Assurance. 

B. An applicant for licensure shall provide documentation of 

current certification in Basic Cardiac Life Support with a 

hands-on practice training evaluation segment. 

Part III  

Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC85-140-70. Renewal of license. 

A. Every licensed polysomnographic technologist who 

intends to maintain an active license shall biennially renew 

his license each odd-numbered year during his birth month 

and shall: 

1. Submit the prescribed renewal fee;  

2. Attest to having current certification in Basic Cardiac 

Life Support (BCLS) with hands-on practice training 

evaluation segment; and 

3. Attest to having met the continuing education 

requirements of 18VAC85-140-100.  

B. The license of a polysomnographic technologist is lapsed 

if the license has not been renewed by the first day of the 

month following the month in which renewal is required. 

Practice with a lapsed license may be grounds for disciplinary 

action. A license that is lapsed for two years or less may be 

renewed by payment of the renewal fee and a late fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC85-140-40 and attestation of compliance 

with continuing education requirements and current BCLS 

certification. 

18VAC85-140-80. Inactive license. 

A licensed polysomnographic technologist who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a request 

at the time of renewal and submission of the required fee, be 

issued an inactive license. The holder of an inactive license 

shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring a license to 

practice polysomnographic technology in Virginia. 

18VAC85-140-90. Reactivation or reinstatement. 

A. To reactivate an inactive license or to reinstate a license 

that has been lapsed for more than two years, a 

polysomnographic technologist shall submit an attestation of 

current certification in Basic Cardiac Life Support (BCLS) 

with hands-on practice training evaluation segment and 

evidence of competency to return to active practice to include 

one of the following: 

1. Information on continued active practice in another 

jurisdiction during the period in which the license has been 

inactive or lapsed; 

2. Attestation of at least 10 hours of continuing education 

for each year in which the license has been inactive or 

lapsed, not to exceed three years; or 

3. Recertification by passage of an examination for the 

Registered Polysomnographic Technologist (RPSGT), the 

Sleep Disorders Specialist credential from the National 

Board of Respiratory Care (NBRC-SDS), or other 

credential approved by the board for initial licensure. 

B. To reactivate an inactive license, a polysomnographic 

technologist shall pay a fee equal to the difference between 

the current renewal fee for inactive licensure and the renewal 

fee for active licensure. 

C. To reinstate a license that has been lapsed for more than 

two years, a polysomnographic technologist shall file an 

application for reinstatement and pay the fee for reinstatement 

of his licensure as prescribed in 18VAC85-140-40. The board 

may specify additional requirements for reinstatement of a 

license so lapsed to include education, experience, or 

reexamination. 

D. A polysomnographic technologist whose licensure has 

been revoked by the board and who wishes to be reinstated 

shall make a new application to the board, fulfill additional 

requirements as specified in the order from the board, and 

make payment of the fee for reinstatement of his licensure as 

prescribed in 18VAC85-140-40 pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

E. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation or reinstatement to any licensee who has been 

determined to have committed an act in violation of § 54.1-
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2915 of the Code of Virginia or any provisions of this 

chapter. 

18VAC85-140-100. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew an active license as a 

polysomnographic technologist, a licensee shall attest to 

having successfully completed 20 hours of continuing 

education in courses directly related to the practice of 

polysomnographic technology as approved and documented 

by a provider recognized by one of the following: 

1. The Board of Registered Polysomnographic 

Technologists Education Advisory Board (BRPT-EAC); 

2. The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM); 

3. The American Medical Association for Category 1 

continuing medical education credit; 

4. The American Association of Sleep Technologists 

(AAST); 

5. The American Society of Electroneurodiagnostic 

Technologists, Inc. (ASET);  

6. The American Association for Respiratory Care 

(AARC);  

7. The American Nurses Association (ANA); or 

8. The American College of Chest Physicians (ACCP). 

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. The practitioner shall retain the completed form with all 

supporting documentation in his records for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements, for up to one year, for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

Part IV 

Scope of Practice 

18VAC85-140-110. General responsibility. 

A polysomnographic technologist shall engage in the 

practice of polysomnographic technology, as defined in 

§ 54.1-2957.15 of the Code of Virginia, upon receipt of 

written or verbal orders from a qualified practitioner and 

under qualified medical direction. The practice of 

polysomnographic technology may include supervisory, 

administrative, educational, or consultative activities or 

responsibilities for the delivery of such services.  

18VAC85-140-120. Supervisory responsibilities. 

A. A polysomnographic technologist shall be responsible for 

supervision of unlicensed polysomnographic personnel who 

work under his direction and shall be ultimately responsible 

and accountable for patient care and outcomes under his 

clinical supervision. 

B. Delegation to unlicensed polysomnographic personnel 

shall: 

1. Not include delegation of the discretionary aspects of the 

initial assessment, evaluation, or development of a 

treatment plan for a patient nor shall it include any task 

requiring a clinical decision or the knowledge, skills, and 

judgment of a licensed polysomnographic technologist.  

2. Only be made if, in the judgment of the 

polysomnographic technologist, the task or procedures do 

not require the exercise of professional judgment, can be 

properly and safely performed by appropriately trained 

unlicensed personnel, and the delegation does not 

jeopardize the health or safety of the patient. 

3. Be communicated on a patient-specific basis with clear, 

specific instructions for performance of activities, potential 

complications, and expected results. 

C. The frequency, methods, and content of supervision are 

dependent on the complexity of patient needs, number and 

diversity of patients, demonstrated competency and 

experience of the unlicensed personnel, and the type and 

requirements of the practice setting.  

D. The polysomnographic technologist providing clinical 

supervision shall routinely meet with any unlicensed 

personnel to review and evaluate patient care and treatment. 

E. The polysomnographic technologist shall review notes on 

patient care entered by unlicensed personnel prior to reporting 

study results to the supervising physician and shall, by some 

method, document in a patient record that such a review has 

occurred. 

Part V  

Standards of Professional Conduct 

18VAC85-140-130. Confidentiality. 

A practitioner shall not willfully or negligently breach the 

confidentiality between a practitioner and a patient. A breach 

of confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful.  

18VAC85-140-140. Patient records. 

A. A practitioner shall comply with the provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality 

and disclosure of patient records.  

B. A practitioner shall provide patient records to another 

practitioner or to the patient or his personal representative in a 
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timely manner in accordance with provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. A practitioner shall properly manage and keep timely, 

accurate, legible, and complete patient records.  

D. A practitioner who is employed by a health care 

institution or other entity in which the individual practitioner 

does not own or maintain his own records shall maintain 

patient records in accordance with the policies and procedures 

of the employing entity.  

E. A practitioner who is self-employed or employed by an 

entity in which the individual practitioner owns and is 

responsible for patient records shall:  

1. Maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years 

following the last patient encounter with the following 

exceptions:  

a. Records of a minor child, including immunizations, 

shall be maintained until the child reaches the age of 18 

years or becomes emancipated, with a minimum time for 

record retention of six years from the last patient 

encounter regardless of the age of the child;  

b. Records that have previously been transferred to 

another practitioner or health care provider or provided to 

the patient or his personal representative; or  

c. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law may need to be maintained for a longer 

period of time.  

2. Post information or in some manner inform all patients 

concerning the time frame for record retention and 

destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a 

manner that protects patient confidentiality, such as by 

incineration or shredding.  

3. When closing, selling, or relocating his practice, meet 

the requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the Code of Virginia 

for giving notice that copies of records can be sent to any 

like-regulated provider of the patient's choice or provided 

to the patient. 

18VAC85-140-150. Practitioner-patient communication; 

termination of relationship. 

A. Communication with patients.  

1. Except as provided in § 32.1-127.1:03 F of the Code of 

Virginia, a practitioner shall accurately present information 

to a patient or his legally authorized representative in 

understandable terms and encourage participation in 

decisions regarding the patient's care.  

2. A practitioner shall not deliberately make a false or 

misleading statement regarding the practitioner's skill or 

the efficacy or value of a medication, treatment, or 

procedure provided or directed by the practitioner in the 

treatment of any disease or condition.  

3. Before an invasive procedure is performed, informed 

consent shall be obtained from the patient in accordance 

with the policies of the health care entity. Practitioners 

shall inform patients of the risks, benefits, and alternatives 

of the recommended procedure that a reasonably prudent 

practitioner practicing polysomnographic technology in 

Virginia would tell a patient.  

a. In the instance of a minor or a patient who is incapable 

of making an informed decision on his own behalf or is 

incapable of communicating such a decision due to a 

physical or mental disorder, the legally authorized person 

available to give consent shall be informed and the 

consent documented.  

b. An exception to the requirement for consent prior to 

performance of an invasive procedure may be made in an 

emergency situation when a delay in obtaining consent 

would likely result in imminent harm to the patient.  

c. For the purposes of this provision, "invasive 

procedure" means any diagnostic or therapeutic 

procedure performed on a patient that is not part of 

routine, general care and for which the usual practice 

within the health care entity is to document specific 

informed consent from the patient or surrogate decision 

maker prior to proceeding.  

4. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-

162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 

consent from patients prior to involving them as subjects in 

human research with the exception of retrospective chart 

reviews.  

B. Termination of the practitioner-patient relationship.  

1. The practitioner or the patient may terminate the 

relationship. In either case, the practitioner shall make the 

patient record available, except in situations where denial 

of access is allowed by law.  

2. A practitioner shall not terminate the relationship or 

make his services unavailable without documented notice 

to the patient that allows for a reasonable time to obtain the 

services of another practitioner.  

18VAC85-140-160. Practitioner responsibility. 

A. A practitioner shall not:  

1. Perform procedures or techniques that are outside the 

scope of his practice or for which he is not trained and 

individually competent;  

2. Knowingly allow subordinates to jeopardize patient 

safety or provide patient care outside of the subordinate's 

scope of practice or area of responsibility. Practitioners 

shall delegate patient care only to subordinates who are 

properly trained and supervised;  

3. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or 

interaction in a health care setting that interferes with 

patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely 

impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; or  

4. Exploit the practitioner-patient relationship for personal 

gain.  
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B. Advocating for patient safety or improvement in patient 

care within a health care entity shall not constitute disruptive 

behavior provided the practitioner does not engage in 

behavior prohibited in subdivision A 3 of this section.  

18VAC85-140-170. Solicitation or remuneration in 

exchange for referral. 

A practitioner shall not knowingly and willfully solicit or 

receive any remuneration, directly or indirectly, in return for 

referring an individual to a facility or institution as defined in 

§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia or hospital as defined in 

§ 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Remuneration" means compensation, received in cash or in 

kind, but shall not include any payments, business 

arrangements, or payment practices allowed by 

42 USC § 1320 a-7b(b), as amended, or any regulations 

promulgated thereto. 

18VAC85-140-180. Sexual contact. 

A. For purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 12 and A 19 of the Code 

of Virginia and this section, "sexual contact" includes but is 

not limited to sexual behavior or verbal or physical behavior 

that:  

1. May reasonably be interpreted as intended for the sexual 

arousal or gratification of the practitioner, the patient, or 

both; or  

2. May reasonably be interpreted as romantic involvement 

with a patient regardless of whether such involvement 

occurs within the professional setting or outside of it.  

B. Sexual contact with a patient.  

1. The determination of when a person is a patient for 

purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 19 of the Code of Virginia is 

made on a case-by-case basis with consideration given to 

the nature, extent, and context of the professional 

relationship between the practitioner and the person. The 

fact that a person is not actively receiving treatment or 

professional services from a practitioner is not 

determinative of this issue. A person is presumed to remain 

a patient until the practitioner-patient relationship is 

terminated.  

2. The consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual 

behavior or involvement with a practitioner by a patient 

neither changes the nature of the conduct nor negates the 

statutory prohibition.  

C. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a former 

patient after termination of the practitioner-patient 

relationship may still constitute unprofessional conduct if the 

sexual contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, 

knowledge, or influence of emotions derived from the 

professional relationship.  

D. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a key third 

party shall constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual 

contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or 

influence derived from the professional relationship or if the 

contact has had or is likely to have an adverse effect on 

patient care. For purposes of this section, "key third party of a 

patient" means spouse or partner, parent or child, guardian, or 

legal representative of the patient.  

E. Sexual contact between a supervisor and a trainee shall 

constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a 

result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence 

derived from the professional relationship or if the contact has 

had or is likely to have an adverse effect on patient care. 

18VAC85-140-190. Refusal to provide information. 

A practitioner shall not willfully refuse to provide 

information or records as requested or required by the board 

or its representative pursuant to an investigation or to the 

enforcement of a statute or regulation. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC85-140) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice 

Polysomnographic Technology in Virginia (undated) 

Form A, Claims History (rev. 08/13) 

Form B, Employment Activity (rev. 08/13) 

Form C, Verification Form (rev. 08/13) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2762; Filed November 12, 2014, 4:37 p.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-10, 

18VAC105-20-15, 18VAC105-20-20, 18VAC105-20-45, 

18VAC105-20-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 31, 2014. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Optometry the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

requirement for licensure as an optometrist is found in § 54.1-

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3da4f002762~5&typ=40&actno=002762&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3da4f002762~5&typ=40&actno=002762&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15392002762~6&typ=40&actno=002762&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=813fc002762~7&typ=40&actno=002762&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd8de002762~8&typ=40&actno=002762&mime=application/pdf
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3204 of the Code of Virginia: "Practicing or offering to 

practice optometry, or the public representation of being 

qualified to practice the same by any person not authorized to 

practice optometry, shall be sufficient evidence of a violation 

of the law." 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is reduction 

of or alleviation of barriers to licensure, especially for 

applicants who have been licensed in other states. A clearer 

differentiation between licensure by examination and 

licensure by endorsement will enable applicants to navigate 

the process more easily. By retaining requirements relating to 

evidence of competency and ethical practice, the board 

continues to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public while making it less burdensome to come to Virginia 

to establish an optometric practice. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments 

proposed will result in a less restrictive regulation or a 

revision for clarity in requirements for licensure. There 

should be no controversy with any of the changes, which 

were approved unanimously by board members. 

Substance: The amendments (i) clarify that an applicant who 

is or was licensed in another state but who does not meet the 

active practice requirement for endorsement may apply by 

examination; (ii) allow approval of an applicant whose 

license has lapsed in another state provided he is eligible for 

reinstatement and holds at least one current license; (iii) allow 

an applicant who took the examination more than five years 

ago to qualify by continuing education rather than retaking 

the examination; (iv) accept the examination required in 

another state at the time of initial licensure for an applicant by 

endorsement rather than requiring a "comparable" 

examination; and (v) revise renewal language to allow for 

electronic submissions. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

public. Allowing applicants to provide proof of passage of the 

examination required for initial licensure instead of proof of 

comparability may benefit a very small number of persons. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Optometry proposes to: 1) clarify that an applicant 

who is or was licensed in another state but who does not meet 

the active practice requirement for endorsement may apply by 

examination, 2) allow approval of an applicant whose license 

has lapsed in another state provided he is eligible for 

reinstatement and has one current license, 3) allow an 

applicant who took the examination more than five years ago 

to qualify by continuing education rather than retaking the 

examination, 4) accept the examination required in another 

state at the time of initial licensure for an applicant by 

endorsement rather than requiring a "comparable" 

examination, and 5) revise renewal language to allow for 

electronic submissions. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed amendments 

reduce barriers to licensure, especially for applicants who 

have been licensed in other states. A clearer differentiation 

between licensure by examination and licensure by 

endorsement will enable applicants to navigate the process 

more easily. By retaining requirements relating to evidence of 

competency and ethical practice, the Board continues to 

protect the public while making it less burdensome to come to 

Virginia to establish an optometric practice. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Board estimated that 

there are 3-4 persons per year who apply for licensure by 

endorsement who have not taken the national examination. 

There are currently 1420 licensed optometrists with TPA 

certification and 151 licensed optometrists without TPA. 

There are 479 optometry offices in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. By reducing barriers to 

licensure, the proposed amendments may moderately increase 

the number of practicing optometrists in the Commonwealth.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. By 

reducing barriers to licensure, the proposed amendments 

reduce costs for some optometrists. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. By reducing 

barriers to licensure, the proposed amendments reduce costs 

for some optometry practices. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
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4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Optometry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments, which were adopted following a periodic 

review of the regulation, (i) clarify that an applicant who is 

or was licensed in another state but who does not meet the 

active practice requirement for endorsement may apply by 

examination, (ii) allow approval of an applicant whose 

license has lapsed in another state provided he is eligible 

for reinstatement and has one current license, (iii) allow 

an applicant who took the examination more than five 

years ago to qualify by continuing education rather than 

retaking the examination, (iv) accept the examination 

required in another state at the time of initial licensure for 

an applicant by endorsement rather than requiring a 

"comparable" examination, and (v) revise renewal 

language to allow for electronic submissions. 

18VAC105-20-10. Licensure by examination.  

A. The applicant, in order to be eligible for licensure by 

examination to practice optometry in the Commonwealth, 

shall meet the requirements for TPA certification in 

18VAC105-20-16 and shall: 

1. Be a graduate of a school of optometry accredited by the 

Accrediation Council on Optometric Education; have an 

official transcript verifying graduation sent to the board; 

2. Request submission of an official report from the NBEO 

of a score received on each required part of the NBEO 

examination or other board-approved examination; and 

3. Submit a completed application and the prescribed fee. 

B. Applicants who passed the National Board Examination 

prior to May 1985 shall apply for licensure by endorsement as 

provided for in 18VAC105-20-15. 

C. Required examinations. 

1. For the purpose of § 54.1-3211 of the Code of Virginia, 

the board adopts all parts of the NBEO examination as its 

written examination for licensure. After July 1, 1997, the 

board shall require passage as determined by the board of 

Parts I, II, and III of the NBEO examination. 

2. As part of the application for licensure, an applicant 

must sign a statement attesting that he has read, 

understands, and will comply with the statutes and 

regulations governing the practice of optometry in 

Virginia. 

D. If an applicant has been licensed in another jurisdiction, 

and has not been engaged in active clinical practice for at 

least 36 out of the last 60 months preceding application, as 

required for licensure by endorsement, he may apply for 

licensure by examination, and the following requirements 

shall also apply:  

1. The applicant shall attest that he is not a respondent in a 

pending or unresolved malpractice claim; and  

2. Each jurisdiction in which the applicant is currently or 

has been licensed shall verify that:  

a. The license is full current and unrestricted, or if the 

license has lapsed, it is eligible for reinstatement; 

and all b. All continuing education requirements have 

been completed, if applicable;  

b. c. The applicant is not a respondent in any pending or 

unresolved board action; and  

c. d. The applicant has not committed any act that would 

constitute a violation of § 54.1-3204 or 54.1-3215 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

E. An applicant who did not complete completed all parts of 

the board-approved examination within more than five years 

prior to the date of the board's receipt of their his application 

for licensure by this board may be required to retake all or 

any part of the board-approved examination or take up to 32 

hours of board-approved continuing education unless they 

demonstrate that they have maintained clinical, ethical, and 

legal practice for 36 of the past 60 months immediately prior 

to submission of an application for licensure. 

18VAC105-20-15. Licensure by endorsement.  

A. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet the 

requirements for TPA certification in 18VAC105-20-16, pay 

the fee as prescribed in 18VAC105-20-20, and file a 

completed application that certifies the following:  

1. The applicant has successfully completed a licensing 

passed the examination or certification required for 

licensure in optometry in any jurisdiction of the United 

States that is approximately comparable to the Virginia 

examination at the time of initial licensure.  

2. The applicant has been engaged in active clinical 

practice for at least 36 months out of the last 60 months 

immediately preceding application.  

3. The applicant is not a respondent in a pending or 

unresolved malpractice claim.  

4. The applicant is currently licensed in another 

jurisdiction of the United States. 

4. 5. Each jurisdiction in which the applicant is currently or 

has been licensed has verified shall verify that:  
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a. The license is full current and unrestricted, or if the 

license has lapsed, it is eligible for reinstatement; 

and all b. All continuing education requirements have 

been completed, if applicable;  

b.  c. The applicant is not a respondent in any pending or 

unresolved board action;  

c. d. The applicant has not committed any act that would 

constitute a violation of § 54.1-3204 or 54.1-3215 of the 

Code of Virginia; and  

d. e. The applicant has graduated from an accredited 

school or college of optometry.  

B. The applicant shall also provide proof of competency in 

the use of diagnostic pharmaceutical agents (DPAs) which 

that shall consist of a report from the national board of 

passing scores on all sections of Parts I and II of the NBEO 

examination taken in May 1985 or thereafter. If the applicant 

does not qualify through examination, he shall provide other 

proof of meeting the requirements for the use of DPA as 

provided in §§ 54.1-3220 and 54.1-3221 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. As part of the application for licensure, an applicant must 

sign a statement attesting that he has read, understands, and 

will comply with the statutes and regulations governing the 

practice of optometry in Virginia.  

D. In the case of a federal service optometrist, the 

commanding officer shall also verify that the applicant is in 

good standing and provide proof of credentialing and quality 

assurance review to satisfy compliance with applicable 

requirements of subsection A of this section.  

E. In the event the examinations for initial licensure are 

determined not comparable, the board may require the 

applicant to take and pass a regional or national practical 

examination.  

F. An optometrist previously licensed in Virginia is not 

eligible for licensure by endorsement but may apply for 

reinstatement of licensure under 18VAC105-20-60.  

18VAC105-20-20. Fees.  

A. Required fees.  

Initial application and licensure (including 

TPA certification)  

$250 

Application for TPA certification  $200 

Annual licensure renewal without TPA 

certification  

$150 

Annual licensure renewal with TPA 

certification  

$200 

Late renewal without TPA certification  $50 

Late renewal with TPA certification  $65 

Returned check  $35 

Professional designation application  $100 

Annual professional designation renewal 

(per location) 

$50 

Late renewal of professional designation  $20 

Reinstatement application fee (including 

renewal and late fees)  

$400 

Reinstatement application after 

disciplinary action  

$500 

Duplicate wall certificate  $25 

Duplicate license  $10 

Licensure verification  $10 

B. Unless otherwise specified, all fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Until December 31, 2013, the following fees shall be in 

effect:  

Annual licensure renewal without TPA 

certification  

$100 

Annual licensure renewal with TPA 

certification  

$135 

Annual professional designation renewal 

(per location)  

$30 

18VAC105-20-45. Standards of practice. 

A. An optometrist shall legibly document in a patient record 

the following:  

1. During a routine or medical eye examination:  

a. An adequate case history, including the patient's chief 

complaint;  

b. The performance of appropriate testing;  

c. The establishment of an assessment or diagnosis; and 

d. A recommendation for an appropriate treatment or 

management plan, including any necessary follow up.  

2. During an initial contact lens examination:  

a. The requirements of a routine or medical eye 

examination as prescribed in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection;  

b. Assessment of corneal curvature;  

c. Evaluation of contact lens fitting;  

d. Acuity through the lens; and  

e. Directions for the wear, care, and handling of lenses.  

3. During a follow-up contact lens examination:  

a. Evaluation of contact lens fitting and anterior segment 

health;  

b. Acuity through the lens; and  

c. Such further instructions as necessary for the 

individual patient.  
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4. In addition, the record of any examination shall include 

the signature of the attending optometrist and, if indicated, 

refraction of the patient.  

B. The following information shall appear on a prescription 

for ophthalmic goods:  

1. The printed name of the prescribing optometrist;  

2. The address and telephone number at which the patient's 

records are maintained and the optometrist can be reached 

for consultation;  

3. The name of the patient;  

4. The signature of the optometrist;  

5. The date of the examination and an expiration date, if 

medically appropriate; and  

6. Any special instructions.  

C. Contact lens. 

1. Sufficient information for complete and accurate filling 

of an established contact lens prescription shall include but 

not be limited to (i) the power, (ii) the material or 

manufacturer or both, (iii) the base curve or appropriate 

designation, (iv) the diameter when appropriate, and (v) 

medically appropriate expiration date.  

2. An optometrist shall provide a patient with a copy of the 

patient's contact lens prescription i at the end of the contact 

lens fitting, even if the patient does not ask for it. An 

optometrist may first require all fees to be paid, but only if 

he requires immediate payment from patients whose eye 

examinations reveal no need for corrective eye products. 

3. An optometrist shall provide or verify the prescription to 

anyone who is designated to act on behalf of the patient, 

including contact lens sellers. 

4. An optometrist shall not require patients to buy contact 

lens, pay additional fees, or sign a waiver or release in 

exchange for a copy of the contact lens prescription. 

5. An optometrist shall not disclaim liability or 

responsibility for the accuracy of an eye examination.  

D. Spectacle lens. 

1. A licensed optometrist shall provide a written 

prescription for spectacle lenses immediately after the eye 

examination is completed. He may first require all fees to 

be paid, but only if he requires immediate payment from 

patients whose eye examinations reveal no need for 

corrective eye products. 

2. An optometrist shall not require patients to buy 

ophthalmic goods, pay additional fees, or sign a waiver or 

release in exchange for a copy of the spectacle 

prescription. 

3. An optometrist shall not disclaim liability or 

responsibility for the accuracy of an eye examination.  

E. Practitioners shall maintain a patient record for a 

minimum of five years following the last patient encounter 

with the following exceptions:  

1. Records that have previously been transferred to another 

practitioner or health care provider or provided to the 

patient or his personal representative; or  

2. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time.  

F. From March 17, 2011, practitioners Practitioners shall 

post information or in some manner inform all patients 

concerning the time frame for record retention and 

destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a 

manner that protects patient confidentiality. 

18VAC105-20-60. Renewal of licensure; reinstatement; 

renewal fees.  

A. Every person authorized by the board to practice 

optometry shall, on or before December 31 of every year, 

submit a completed renewal application form and pay the 

prescribed annual licensure fee.  

B. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee to 

assure that the board has the licensee's current address of 

record and the public address, if different from the address of 

record. All changes of address or name shall be furnished to 

the board within 30 days after the change occurs. All notices 

required by law or by these rules and regulations are to be 

deemed to be validly tendered when mailed to the address of 

record given and shall not relieve the licensee of the 

obligation to comply.  

C. The license of every person who does not return the 

completed complete the renewal form and submit the renewal 

fee by December 31 of each year may be renewed for up to 

one year by paying the prescribed renewal fee and late fee, 

provided the requirements of 18VAC105-20-70 have been 

met. After December 31, a license that has not been renewed 

is lapsed. Practicing optometry in Virginia with a lapsed 

license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action and 

additional fines by the board.  

D. An optometrist whose license has been lapsed for more 

than one year and who wishes to resume practice in Virginia 

shall apply for reinstatement. The executive director may 

grant reinstatement provided that:  

1. The applicant can demonstrate continuing competence;  

2. The applicant has satisfied current requirements for 

continuing education for the period in which the license 

has been lapsed, not to exceed two years; and  

3. The applicant has paid the prescribed reinstatement 

application fee.  

E. The board may require an applicant who has allowed his 

license to expire and who cannot demonstrate continuing 

competency to pass all or parts of the board-approved 

examinations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3603; Filed November 6, 2014, 9:15 a.m.  
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BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-10; 

adding 18VAC110-20-418).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 124 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly mandates that 

the Board of Pharmacy promulgate regulations to specify 

the elements of a continuous quality improvement program 

that provides a systematic, ongoing process for analyzing 

dispensing errors and uses those findings to (i) formulate 

an appropriate response, (ii) develop or improve pharmacy 

systems and workflow processes, and (iii) prevent or 

reduce future errors.  

The regulation includes (i) definitions for new necessary 

terms, such as "actively reports," "analysis," and 

"dispensing error"; (ii) provisions for pharmacies actively 

reporting to a patient safety organization; and (iii) 

provisions for a continuous quality improvement program 

in a pharmacy, to include notification responsibilities, 

documentation requirements, remediation of systems or 

procedures, and maintenance of a record of the analysis of 

the error. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC110-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 

54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

Education.  

"Acquisition" of an existing entity permitted, registered or 

licensed by the board means (i) the purchase or transfer of all 

or substantially all of the assets of the entity or of any 

corporation that owns or controls the entity; (ii) the creation 

of a partnership by a sole proprietor or change in partnership 

composition; (iii) the acquiring of 50% or more of the 

outstanding shares of voting stock of a corporation owning 

the entity or of the parent corporation of a wholly owned 

subsidiary owning the entity, except that this shall not apply 

to any corporation the voting stock of which is actively traded 

on any securities exchange or in any over-the-counter market; 

or (iv) the merger of a corporation owning the entity, or of the 

parent corporation of a wholly owned subsidiary owning the 

entity, with another business or corporation.  

"Actively reports" means reporting all dispensing errors and 

analyses of such errors to a patient safety organization as 

soon as practical or at least within 30 days of identifying the 

error.  

"Alternate delivery site" means a location authorized in 

18VAC110-20-275 to receive dispensed prescriptions on 

behalf of and for further delivery or administration to a 

patient. 

"Analysis" means a review of the findings collected and 

documented on each dispensing error, assessment of the cause 

and any factors contributing to the dispensing error, and any 

recommendation for remedial action to improve pharmacy 

systems and workflow processes to prevent or reduce future 

errors. 

"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the 

integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug can 

no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be adulterated 

or misbranded as defined in §§ 54.1-3461 and 54.1-3462 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 

licensure by the Board of Pharmacy.  

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 

as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.  

"Chart order" means a lawful order for a drug or device 

entered on the chart or in a medical record of a patient by a 

prescriber or his designated agent. 

"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed 

drugs which is comprised of a series of containers for solid 

oral dosage forms and which is designed to assist the user in 

administering or self-administering the drugs in accordance 

with directions for use.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program.  

"Correctional facility" means any prison, penitentiary, penal 

facility, jail, detention unit, or other facility in which persons 

are incarcerated by government officials. 

"DEA" means the United States Drug Enforcement 

Administration.  

"Dispensing error" means one or more of the following 

discovered after the final verification by the pharmacist [ , 

regardless of whether the patient received the drug ]:  

1. Variation from the prescriber's prescription drug order, 

including but not limited to: 

a. Incorrect drug; 
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b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; 

d. Incorrect patient; or 

e. Inadequate or incorrect packaging, labeling, or 

directions. 

2. Failure to exercise professional judgment in identifying 

and managing: 

a. Known therapeutic duplication; 

b. Known drug-disease contraindications; 

c. Known drug-drug interactions; 

d. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

e. Known drug-allergy interactions; 

f. A clinically significant, avoidable delay in therapy; or 

g. Any other significant, actual, or potential problem with 

a patient's drug therapy. 

3. Delivery of a drug to the incorrect patient.  

4. Variation in bulk repackaging or filling of automated 

devices, including but not limited to: 

a. Incorrect drug;  

b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; or 

d. Inadequate or incorrect packaging or labeling. 

"Drug donation site" means a permitted pharmacy that 

specifically registers with the board for the purpose of 

receiving or redispensing eligible donated prescription drugs 

pursuant to § 54.1-3411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic prescription" means a written prescription that is 

generated on an electronic application in accordance with 21 

CFR Part 1300 and is transmitted to a pharmacy as an 

electronic data file.  

"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug package 

by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the product 

may not be dispensed or used.  

"Facsimile (FAX) prescription" means a written prescription 

or order which is transmitted by an electronic device over 

telephone lines which sends the exact image to the receiver 

(pharmacy) in a hard copy form.  

"FDA" means the United States Food and Drug 

Administration.  

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs that have been 

distributed for the purpose of general administration by a 

prescriber or other authorized person pursuant to a valid order 

of a prescriber.  

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 

United States and its territories offering a course of study in 

basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 

years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 

to practice pharmacy in that country. 

"Forgery" means a prescription that was falsely created, 

falsely signed, or altered. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 

certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 

review of foreign training to establish educational 

equivalency to board approved schools of pharmacy, and has 

passed approved examinations establishing proficiency in 

English.  

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name listed 

in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-

NF) or in the USAN and the USP Dictionary of Drug Names.  

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as 

defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in 

regulations by the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Inactive license" means a license which is registered with 

the Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to 

practice, the holder of which is not required to submit 

documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license.  

"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement 

care, mental care or other facility or institution which 

provides extended health care to resident patients.  

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 

Pharmacy. 

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing 

radiopharmaceutical services.  

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 

address of the permitted pharmacy and is available as needed.  

"On-hold prescription" means a valid prescription that is 

received and maintained at the pharmacy for initial 

dispensing on a future date. 

"Patient safety organization" means an organization that has 

as its primary mission continuous quality improvement under 

the Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Act of 2005 

(Pub. L. 109-41) and is credentialed by the Agency for 

Healthcare Research and Quality. 

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense 

drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services are 

not reasonably available.  

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for 

recording quantities of drugs received, dispensed or otherwise 

distributed by a pharmacy. 

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be 

physically present and render direct, personal control over the 

entire service being rendered or act being performed. Neither 

prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor, shall 

supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by 

any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient.  

"Pharmacy closing" means that the permitted pharmacy 

ceases pharmacy services or fails to provide for continuity of 
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pharmacy services or lawful access to patient prescription 

records or other required patient records for the purpose of 

continued pharmacy services to patients.  

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 

currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician 

training program and is performing duties restricted to 

pharmacy technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical 

experience in accordance with § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge of a permitted 

pharmacy.  

"Practice location" means any location in which a prescriber 

evaluates or treats a patient.  

"Prescription department" means any contiguous or 

noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing 

and storage of all Schedule II through VI drugs and devices 

and any Schedule I investigational drugs.  

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 

Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 

Association and the American Society of Health System 

Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary 

examination and certification of pharmacy technicians.  

"Quality assurance plan" means a plan approved by the 

board for ongoing monitoring, measuring, evaluating, and, if 

necessary, improving the performance of a pharmacy function 

or system.  

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any drug that exhibits 

spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the 

emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any 

nonradioactive reagent kit or radionuclide generator that is 

intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance, 

but does not include drugs such as carbon-containing 

compounds or potassium-containing salts that include trace 

quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides. The term also 

includes any biological product that is labeled with a 

radionuclide or intended solely to be labeled with a 

radionuclide.  

"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the 

manufacturer's original package and placed in different 

packaging.  

"Robotic pharmacy system" means a mechanical system 

controlled by a computer that performs operations or 

activities relative to the storage, packaging, labeling, 

dispensing, or distribution of medications, and collects, 

controls, and maintains all transaction information.  

"Safety closure container" means a container which meets 

the requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging 

Act of 1970 (15 USC §§ 1471-1476), i.e., in testing such 

containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 children of ages 

41-52 months are unable to open the container in a five-

minute period and that 80% fail in another five minutes after 

a demonstration of how to open it and that 90% of a test 

group of 100 adults must be able to open and close the 

container.  

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy which is 

noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a 

hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy 

permit.  

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 

constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five 

years of age to open to obtain a toxic or harmful amount of 

the drug contained therein within a reasonable time and not 

difficult for normal adults to use properly, but does not mean 

packaging which all such children cannot open or obtain a 

toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time.  

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a 

pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any way 

from the provisions of any board regulation.  

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions stated 

in some monographs with respect to the temperatures at 

which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is 

considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature may 

produce undesirable results. The conditions are defined by the 

following terms:  

1. "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C 

(46°F). A refrigerator is a cold place in which temperature 

is maintained thermostatically between 2° and 8°C (36° 

and 46°F). A freezer is a cold place in which the 

temperature is maintained thermostatically between -20° 

and -10°C (-4° and 14°F).  

2. "Room temperature" means the temperature prevailing 

in a working area.  

3. "Controlled room temperature" means a temperature 

maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual 

and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68° 

to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature 

calculated to be not more than 25°C; and that allows for 

excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 86°F) that are 

experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and warehouses.  

4. "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and 40°C 

(86° and 104°F).  

5. "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C 

(104°F).  

6. "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition to 

the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects a 

product to loss of strength or potency, or to the destructive 

alteration of its characteristics, the container label bears an 

appropriate instruction to protect the product from 

freezing.  

7. "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C 

(46° and 59°F).  

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as 

defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia.  
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"Unit dose container" means a container that is a single-unit 

container, as defined in United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary, for articles intended for administration by other 

than the parenteral route as a single dose, direct from the 

container.  

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a 

particular dose ordered for a patient.  

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple drugs 

in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single container, 

such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only with patient 

name and location. Directions for administration are not 

provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or container 

but are obtained by the person administering directly from a 

prescriber's order or medication administration record.  

"USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary.  

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects the 

contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the drug 

under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling, 

shipment, storage, and distribution.  

18VAC110-20-418. Continuous quality improvement 

programs. 

A. Notwithstanding practices constituting unprofessional 

practice indicated in 18VAC110-20-25, any pharmacy that 

actively reports dispensing errors and the analysis of such 

errors to a patient safety organization consistent with § 54.1-

3434.03 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC110-20-10 shall 

be deemed in compliance with this section. A record 

indicating the date a report was submitted to a patient safety 

organization shall be maintained for 12 months from the date 

of reporting. If no dispensing errors have occurred within the 

past 30 days, a zero report with date shall be recorded on the 

record.  

B. Pharmacies not actively reporting to patient safety 

organizations, consistent with § 54.1-3434.03 and 

18VAC110-20-10, shall implement a program for continuous 

quality improvement in compliance with this section. 

1. Notification requirements: 

a. A pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician who 

identifies or learns of a dispensing error shall 

immediately notify a pharmacist on duty of the 

dispensing error. 

b. A pharmacist on duty shall appropriately respond to 

the dispensing error in a manner that protects the health 

and safety of the patient. 

c. A pharmacist on duty shall immediately notify the 

patient or the person responsible for administration of the 

drug to the patient and communicate steps to avoid injury 

or mitigate the error if the patient is in receipt of a drug 

involving a dispensing error, that may cause patient harm 

or affect the efficacy of the drug therapy. Additionally, 

reasonable efforts shall be made to determine if the 

patient self-administered or was administered the drug 

involving the dispensing error. If it is known or 

reasonable to believe the patient self-administered or was 

administered the drug involving the dispensing error, the 

pharmacist shall immediately assure that the prescriber is 

notified.  

2. Documentation and record requirements; remedial 

action: 

a. Documentation of the dispensing error must be 

initiated as soon as practical, not to exceed three days 

from identifying the error. Documentation shall include, 

at a minimum, a description of the event that is sufficient 

to allow further investigation, categorization, and 

analysis of the event. 

b. The pharmacist-in-charge or designee shall perform a 

systematic, ongoing analysis, as defined in 18VAC110-

20-10, of dispensing errors. An analysis of each 

dispensing error shall be performed within 30 days of 

identifying the error. 

c. The pharmacist-in-charge shall inform pharmacy 

personnel of changes made to pharmacy policies, 

procedures, systems, or processes as a result of the 

analysis. 

d. Documentation associated with the dispensing error 

need only to be maintained until the systematic analysis 

has been completed. Prescriptions, dispensing 

information, and other records required by federal or 

state law shall be maintained accordingly.  

e. A separate record shall be maintained and available for 

inspection to ensure compliance with this section for 12 

months from the date of the analysis of dispensing errors 

and shall include the following information: 

(1) Dates the analysis was initiated and completed; 

(2) Names of the participants in the analysis; 

(3) General description of remedial action taken to 

prevent or reduce future errors; and  

(4) A zero report with date shall be recorded on the 

record if no dispensing errors have occurred within the 

past 30 days. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2888; Filed November 3, 2014, 10:08 a.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-30. Appraisal Management 

Company Regulations (adding 18VAC130-30-10 through 

18VAC130-30-170).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 

350-7849, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

To implement Chapter 405 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, 

the regulatory action creates a new chapter that provides 

for the licensure and regulation of real estate appraisal 

management companies. The regulation establishes 

definitions, qualifications for licensure, fees, and standards 

of practice and conduct. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 30 

APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY 

REGULATIONS 

Part I 

General 

18VAC130-30-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2020 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

"Appraisal management company" 

"Appraisal services" 

"Appraiser" 

"Board" 

"Employee" 

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" 

B. The following words and phrases when used in this 

chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated 

by the regulant to receive notices and correspondence from 

the board. Notice mailed to the address of record by certified 

mail, return receipt requested, shall be deemed valid notice. 

"Applicant" means an appraisal management company that 

has submitted an application for licensure. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 

submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 

documentation. 

"Controlling person" means (i) an owner, officer, or director 

of a corporation or a partnership or a managing member of a 

limited liability company or other business entity seeking to 

offer appraisal management services; (ii) an individual 

employed, appointed, or authorized by an appraisal 

management company who has the authority to enter into a 

contractual relationship with other persons for the 

performance of appraisal management services and has the 

authority to enter into agreements with appraisers for the 

performance of appraisals; or (iii) an individual who 

possesses, directly or indirectly, the power to direct or cause 

the direction of the management or policies of an appraisal 

management company. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

"Direct supervision" means exercising oversight and 

direction of, and control over, the work of another. 

"Firm" means a sole proprietorship, association, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of business organization 

recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

and properly registered, as may be required, with the Virginia 

State Corporation Commission. 

"Regulant" means an appraisal management company as 

defined in § 54.1-2020 of the Code of Virginia that holds a 

license issued by the board. 

"Reinstatement" means the process and requirements 

through which an expired license can be made valid without 

the regulant having to apply as a new applicant. 

"Renewal" means the process and requirements for 

periodically approving the continuance of a license. 

"Responsible person" means a person licensed under 

Chapter 20.1 (§ 54.1-2009 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia who shall be designated by each regulant to 

ensure compliance with Chapter 20.2 (§ 54.1-2020 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, and all regulations of the 

board, and to receive communications and notices from the 

board that may affect the regulant. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation or 

other registered business entity, who is trading under his own 

name or under an assumed or a fictitious name pursuant to the 

provisions of §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Timely payment" means payment to an appraiser for the 

completion of an appraisal or a valuation assignment within 

30 days after the appraiser delivers the completed appraisal or 

valuation assignment to the appraisal management company 

except in cases of breach of contract or noncompliance with 

the conditions of the engagement or performance of services 

that violates the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice. 

Part II 

Entry 

18VAC130-30-20. Application procedures. 

An applicant seeking licensure shall submit an application 

with the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC130-30-60. 

Application shall be made on a form provided by the board or 

its agent. 

By submitting the application to the department, the 

applicant certifies that the applicant has read and understands 

the applicable statutes and the board's regulations. 

The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 

board does not indicate approval by the board. 

The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the applicant's qualifications to confirm or 
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amplify information supplied. All applications shall be 

completed in accordance with the instructions contained in 

this chapter and on the application. Applications will not be 

considered complete until all documents are received by the 

board. 

A firm will be notified within 30 days of the board's receipt 

of an initial application if the application is incomplete. A 

firm that fails to complete the process within 12 months of 

receipt of the application in the board's office must submit a 

new application and fee. 

18VAC130-30-30. Qualifications for licensure as an 

appraisal management company. 

A. Firms that meet the definition of appraisal management 

company as defined in § 54.1-2020 of the Code of Virginia 

shall submit an application on a form prescribed by the board 

and shall meet the requirements set forth in § 54.1-2021.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, as well as the additional qualifications 

of this section. 

B. Any firm acting as an appraisal management company as 

defined in § 54.1-2020 of the Code of Virginia shall hold a 

license as an appraisal management company. All names 

under which the appraisal management company conducts 

business shall be disclosed on the application. The name 

under which the firm conducts business and holds itself out to 

the public (i.e., the trade or fictitious name) shall also be 

disclosed on the application. Firms shall be organized as 

business entities under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or otherwise authorized to transact business in 

Virginia. Firms shall register any trade or fictitious names 

with the State Corporation Commission or the clerk of the 

court in the county or jurisdiction where the business is to be 

conducted in accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of 

the Code of Virginia before submitting an application to the 

board. 

C. The applicant for an appraisal management company 

license shall disclose the firm's mailing address and the firm's 

physical address. A post office box is only acceptable as a 

mailing address when a physical address is also provided. 

D. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant for an appraisal management company license 

shall have any person who owns 10% or more of the firm and 

the controlling person of the firm submit to fingerprinting and 

a background investigation and disclose the following 

information: 

1. All felony convictions. 

2. All misdemeanor convictions in any jurisdiction that 

occurred within five years of the date of application. 

3. Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this section. 

The record of conviction certified or authenticated in such 

form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such guilt. 

E. The applicant for an appraisal management company 

license, the controlling person, the responsible person, and 

any person who owns 10% or more of the firm shall be in 

good standing in Virginia and in every jurisdiction and with 

every board or administrative body where licensed, certified, 

or registered, and the board, in its discretion, may deny 

licensure to any applicant who has been subject to, or whose 

controlling person or responsible person has been subject to, 

or any person who owns 10% or more of the firm has been 

subject to, any form of adverse disciplinary action, including 

but not limited to (i) reprimand; revocation, suspension, or 

denial of license; imposition of a monetary penalty; 

requirement to complete remedial education, or any other 

corrective action in any jurisdiction or by any board or 

administrative body or (ii) surrender of a license, a certificate, 

or registration in connection with any disciplinary action in 

any jurisdiction prior to obtaining licensure in Virginia. 

F. The board shall deny the application for licensure of an 

applicant for an appraisal management company if any person 

or entity that owns 10% or more or the appraisal management 

company has had an appraiser license refused, denied, 

canceled, or revoked in Virginia or any jurisdiction. 

G. The applicant for an appraisal management company 

license shall be in compliance with the standards of conduct 

and practice set forth in Part V (18VAC130-30-120 et seq.) of 

this chapter at the time of application, while the application is 

under review by the board, and at all times when the license is 

in effect. 

H. The applicant for an appraisal management company 

license shall submit evidence of a bond or letter of credit in 

accordance with § 54.1-2021.1 [ C D ] of the Code of 

Virginia. Proof of current bond or letter of credit with the 

appraisal management company as the named bond holder or 

letter of credit holder must be submitted to obtain or renew 

the license. The bond or letter of credit must be in force no 

later than the effective date of the license and shall remain in 

effect through the date of expiration of the license. The bond 

or letter of credit shall include: 

1. The principal of the bond or letter of credit; 

2. The beneficiary of the bond or letter of credit; 

3. The name of the surety or financial institution that 

issued the bond or letter of credit; 

4. The bond or letter of credit number as assigned by the 

issuer; 

5. The dollar amount; and 

6. The expiration date or, if self-renewing, the date by 

which the bond or letter of credit shall be renewed. 

I. The firm shall provide the name, address, and contact 

information for any person or entity that owns 10% or more 

of the appraisal management company. 
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J. The firm shall designate a responsible person. 

18VAC130-30-40. Application denial. 

The board may refuse initial licensure due to an applicant's 

failure to comply with entry requirements or for any of the 

reasons the board may discipline a regulant.  

Part III 

Fees 

18VAC130-30-50. General fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  The 

date on which the fee is received by the department or its 

agent will determine whether the fee is on time.  Checks or 

money orders shall be payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

18VAC130-30-60. Fee schedule. 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Initial Application 

- Appraisal 

Management 

Company  

$490 [ plus 

National Registry 

fee of $50 per 

appraiser working 

for or contracting 

with the appraisal 

management 

company ]  

With 

application  

Renewal - 

Appraisal 

Management 

Company  

$300 [ plus 

National Registry 

fee of $50 per 

appraiser working 

for or contracting 

with the appraisal 

management 

company ]  

With renewal 

application 

Reinstatement - 

Appraisal 

Management 

Company  

$790 (includes a 

$490 

reinstatement fee 

in addition to the 

regular $300 

renewal fee) 

[ plus National 

Registry fee of 

$50 per appraiser 

working for or 

contracting with 

the appraisal 

management 

company ]  

With 

reinstatement 

application 

[ Each appraisal management company shall submit a $50 

National Registry fee assessment for each appraiser working 

for or contracting with the appraisal management company 

during the previous year in accordance with § 1109 of the 

Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement 

Act of 1989 (12 USC §§ 3331-3351). This fee may be 

adjusted and charged to an appraisal management company in 

accordance with the Act. ]  

Part IV 

Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC130-30-70. Renewal required. 

A license issued under this chapter shall expire two years 

from the last day of the month in which it was issued. A fee 

shall be required for renewal. 

18VAC130-30-80. Expiration and renewal. 

A. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, licenses 

shall be renewed upon (i) completion of the renewal 

application, (ii) submittal of proof of current bond or letter of 

credit as detailed in 18VAC130-30-30 [ G H ], and (iii) 

payment of the fees specified in 18VAC130-30-60. 

B. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant at the 

last known mailing address of record. Failure to receive this 

notice shall not relieve the regulant of the obligation to renew. 

If the regulant fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of 

the license may be submitted with the required fees as an 

application for renewal. By submitting an application for 

renewal, the regulant is certifying continued compliance with 

the standards of conduct and practice in Part V (18VAC130-

30-120 et seq.) of this chapter. 

C. Applicants for renewal shall continue to meet all of the 

qualifications for licensure set forth in Part II (18VAC130-

30-20 et seq.) of this chapter. 

18VAC130-30-90. Reinstatement of appraisal 

management company license required. 

A. If all of the requirements for renewal of a license as 

specified in 18VAC130-30-80 A are not completed within 30 

days of the license expiration date, the regulant shall be 

required to reinstate the license by meeting all renewal 

requirements and by paying the reinstatement fee specified in 

18VAC130-30-60. 

B. A license may be reinstated for up to one year following 

the expiration date. After one year, the license may not be 

reinstated under any circumstances and the firm must meet all 

current entry requirements and apply as a new applicant. 

C. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the 

license expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and 

be subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC130-30-100. Status of license during the period 

prior to reinstatement. 

A regulant [ who that ] applies for reinstatement of a license 

shall be subject to all laws and regulations as if the regulant 

had been continuously licensed. The regulant shall remain 

under and be subject to the disciplinary authority of the board 

during this entire period. 

18VAC130-30-110. Board discretion to deny renewal or 

reinstatement. 

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license 

for the same reasons as the board may refuse initial licensure 

or discipline a regulant. 
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The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license if 

the regulant has been subject to a disciplinary proceeding and 

has not met the terms of an agreement for licensure or other 

board order, has not satisfied all sanctions, or has not fully 

paid any monetary penalties and costs imposed by the board, 

plus any accrued interest. 

Part V 

Standards of Conduct and Practice 

18VAC130-30-120. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The board has the power to fine any regulant, to place any 

regulant on probation, and to suspend or revoke any license 

issued under the provisions of Chapter 20.2 (§ 54.1-2020 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations 

of the board, in accordance with [ subdivision 7 of ] § 54.1-

201 [ A 7 ] and § 54.1-202 of the Code of Virginia and the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia) when any regulant has been 

found to have violated or cooperated with others in violating 

any provision of Chapter 20.2 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, any relevant provision of the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice as developed by the Appraisal 

Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation, or any 

regulation of the board. 

18VAC130-30-130. Maintenance of license. 

A. No license issued by the board shall be assigned or 

otherwise transferred. 

B. A regulant shall report, in writing, all changes of address 

to the board within 30 days of the change and shall return the 

license to the board. In addition to the address of record, a 

physical address is required for each license. If the regulant 

holds more than one license, certificate, or registration, the 

regulant shall inform the board of all licenses, certificates, 

and registrations affected by the address change. 

C. Any change in any of the qualifications for licensure 

found in 18VAC130-30-30 shall be reported to the board 

within 30 days of the change. 

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection C of this 

section, a regulant shall report the cancellation, amendment, 

expiration, or any other change of any bond or letter of credit 

submitted in accordance with 18VAC130-30-30 [ G H ] 

within five days of the change. 

E. A regulant shall report to the board the discharge or 

termination of the responsible person and provide to the 

board the new responsible person designated by the regulant 

within five business days of the discharge or termination and 

name a new responsible person. 

18VAC130-30-140. Change of business entity requires a 

new license. 

A. Licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter and 

are not transferable. Whenever the legal business entity 

holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new 

business entity, the license becomes void and shall be 

returned to the board within 30 days of the change. Such 

changes include but are not limited to: 

1. Cessation of the business or the voluntary termination of 

a sole proprietorship or general partnership; 

2. Death of a sole proprietor; 

3. Formation, reformation, or dissolution of a general 

partnership, limited partnership, corporation, limited 

liability company, association, or any other business entity 

recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia; or 

4. The suspension or termination of the corporation's 

existence by the State Corporation Commission. 

B. When a new firm is formed, the new firm shall apply for 

a new license on a form provided by the board before 

engaging in any activity regulated by Chapter 20.2 (§ 54.1-

2020 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board. 

18VAC130-30-150. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Licensed appraisal management companies shall notify 

the board of the following actions against the firm, the 

responsible person, any controlling person, or any person who 

owns 10% or more of the firm: 

1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, 

or administrative body of competent jurisdiction, 

including, but not limited to, any reprimand; license or 

certificate revocation, suspension, or denial; monetary 

penalty; or requirement for remedial education or other 

corrective action. 

2. Any voluntary surrender of a license, certificate, or 

registration done in connection with a disciplinary action in 

another jurisdiction. 

3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug 

distribution, or physical injury, or any felony, there being 

no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

lapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purpose of this section. 

B. The notice must be made to the board in writing within 

30 days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 

documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 

conviction, finding, or case decision shall be considered 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 

18VAC130-30-160. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may 

result in disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Violating, inducing another to violate, or cooperating 

with others in violating any of the provisions of any of the 

regulations of the board or Chapter 20.2 (§ 54.1-2020 et 
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seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or engaging in 

any acts enumerated in § 54.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Allowing a license issued by the board to be used by 

another. 

3. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by false or 

fraudulent representation, or maintaining, renewing, or 

reinstating a license by false or fraudulent representation. 

4. The regulant, the responsible person, any controlling 

person, or any person who owns 10% or more of the firm 

having been convicted, found guilty, or disciplined in any 

jurisdiction of any offense or violation enumerated in 

18VAC130-30-150. 

5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 

that the regulant, the responsible person, any controlling 

person, or any person who owns 10% or more of the firm 

was convicted, found guilty, or disciplined in any 

jurisdiction of any offense or violation enumerated in 

18VAC130-30-150. 

6. Failing to report a change as required by 18VAC130-30-

130 or 18VAC130-30-140. 

7. Engaging in dishonest or fraudulent conduct as an 

appraisal management company. 

8. Failing to satisfy any judgments or restitution orders 

entered by a court or arbiter of competent jurisdiction. 

9. Engaging in any acts enumerated in subsections A 

through D of § 54.1-2022 of the Code of Virginia. 

10. Failing to act as an appraisal management company in 

a manner that safeguards the interests of the public. 

11. Advertising in any name other than the name or names 

in which licensed. 

12. Failing to maintain the bond or letter of credit as 

required by 18VAC130-30-30 [ G H ]. 

13. Failing to have a system in place to review the work of 

all appraisers who may perform appraisal services for the 

appraisal management company on a periodic basis to 

ensure that the appraisal services are being conducted in 

conformance with the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice. 

14. Failing to maintain a detailed record of the following: 

(i) each request for an appraisal service that the appraisal 

management company receives [ and the date the appraiser 

delivers the completed appraisal or valuation assignment to 

the appraisal management company ], (ii) the name of each 

independent appraiser [ that who ] performs the appraisal, 

(iii) the physical address or legal identification of the 

subject property, (iv) the name of the appraisal 

management company's client for the appraisal, (v) the 

amount paid to the appraiser, and (vi) the amount paid to 

the appraisal management company. 

15. Failing to have a system in place to ensure compliance 

with § 129E of the Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 

et seq.). 

16. Failing to include the regulant's Virginia license 

number on all contracts, agreements, letters of engagement, 

or other documentation entered with an independent 

appraiser for the performance of appraisal services. 

18VAC130-30-170. Response to inquiry and provision of 

records. 

A. A regulant must respond within 10 days to a request by 

the board or any of its agents regarding any complaint filed 

with the department. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, a regulant of the 

board shall produce to the board or any of its agents within 10 

days of the request any document, book, or record concerning 

any transaction pertaining to a complaint filed in which the 

regulant was involved, or for which the regulant is required to 

maintain records for inspection and copying by the board or its 

agents. The board may extend such time frame upon a showing 

of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 

10-day period. 

C. A regulant shall not provide a false, misleading, or 

incomplete response to the board or any of its agents seeking 

information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 

board. 

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsections A 

and B of this section, a regulant must respond to an inquiry 

by the board or its agents within 21 days. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form to 

access it. The form is also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (18VAC130-30) 

[ Appraisal Management Company License Application, 

A461-40##LIC-v1 (2014) 

Appraisal Management Company License Application, 

A461-4009LIC (eff. 2/15) 

Owners and Controlling Person(s) Change Application, 

A461-40CHG (eff. 2/15) 

Responsible Person Change Application, A461-40RPCHG 

(eff. 2/15) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3435; Filed November 6, 2014, 1:09 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK  

Proposed Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-30, 

18VAC140-20-100, 18VAC140-20-105, 18VAC140-20-106, 

18VAC140-20-110, 18VAC140-20-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=07d68003435~1&typ=40&actno=003435&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=07d68003435~1&typ=40&actno=003435&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=668d2003435~3&typ=40&actno=003435&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=668d2003435~3&typ=40&actno=003435&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9b1b003435~2&typ=40&actno=003435&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9b1b003435~2&typ=40&actno=003435&mime=application/pdf
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Public Hearing Information: 

December 5, 2014 - 10 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Catherine Chappell, Executive Director, 

Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX 

(804) 527-4435, or email 

catherine.chappell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work 

(18VAC140-20) are promulgated under the general authority 

of Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, which establishes the general powers and duties 

of health regulatory boards including (i) the responsibility to 

promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative 

Process Act that are reasonable and necessary and (ii) the 

authority to levy and collect fees that are sufficient to cover 

all expenses for the administration of a regulatory program. 

The proposed regulation is mandated by § 54.1-113 of the 

Code of Virginia; however the board must exercise some 

discretion in the amount and type of fees that will be 

increased in order to comply with the statute. Section 54.1-

113 A states "Following the close of any biennium, when the 

account for any regulatory board within the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation or the Department 

of Health Professions maintained under § 54.1-308 or § 54.1-

2505 shows expenses allocated to it for the past biennium to 

be more than ten percent greater or less than moneys 

collected on behalf of the board, it shall revise the fees levied 

by it for certification or licensure and renewal thereof so that 

the fees are sufficient but not excessive to cover expenses." 

Purpose: The issue to be addressed is the need of the Board of 

Social Work to increase its fees to cover expenses for 

essential functions of licensing, investigation of complaints 

against licensees, and adjudication of disciplinary cases to 

protect the health and safety of clients and patients who 

receive social work and clinical services in the 

Commonwealth.  

Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires that at the 

end of each biennium, an analysis of revenues and 

expenditures of each regulatory board shall be performed. It 

is necessary that each board have sufficient revenue to cover 

its expenditures. In the 2009 fiscal year (FY09), the board 

collected biennial renewal fees, resulting in a balance of 

$404,324. However, the combination of income in FY10 and 

FY11 did not equal the combined expenditures for those 

fiscal years. At the time the NOIRA was adopted, it was 

projected that the board may conclude FY14 with a deficit of 

($124,132) and that the board will continue to have deficits 

through the fiscal years going forward. However, because of 

extraordinary increases in information technology (IT) 

services, increases in health care costs, building lease 

payments, and other expenditures, the projected deficit for 

FY14 is now ($254,794) and is projected to increase to 

($505,232) without action by the board. 

In FY05 when the contract for information technology 

services was signed, placing all IT hardware, software, and 

services under a contract with Northrop Grumman through 

the Virginia Information Technologies Agency (VITA), 

Department of Health Professions (DHP) costs for IT services 

was $850,000. In FY11, the cost for those services was $3.6 

million, and it is projected to be $4.4 million in FY12. Since 

DHP and its boards are under the VITA contract, the agency 

has no other options for information technology.  

Additionally, some of DHP's nongeneral funds were 

transferred, in accordance with the Budget Bill of 2010, to the 

General Fund to help close the gap between revenue and 

expenditures. The share of that cash transfer allocated to the 

Board of Social Work was $11,818. There is a possibility that 

the General Assembly could opt to require another cash 

transfer in 2011 and beyond. 

Since the fees from licensees no longer generate sufficient 

funds to pay operating expenses for the board, adoption of a 

fee increase is essential to continue licensing, investigating, 

and disciplining social workers.  

Substance: Amendments reflect an increase in the application 

and renewal fees, fees charged for late renewal, 

administrative fees, and reinstatement after disciplinary 

action. The renewal cycle is changed from biennial to annual, 

but the verification of continuing education remains on a two-

year cycle. 

An application and licensure fee will increase from $100 to 

$165 for a licensed clinical social worker and from $100 to 

$115 for a licensed social worker. Renewal fees will change 

from $125 biennially to $90 annually for a licensed clinical 

social worker and from $110 biennially to $65 annually for a 

licensed social worker.  

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that increased 

fees will produce adequate revenue to fund the licensing and 

disciplinary activities of the board. With the shortfall of 

$254,794 projected in FY14, there could be significant delays 

in licensing and in the investigation and adjudication of 

complaints against licensees. There are no disadvantages to 

the public; increases in renewal fees are mitigated by moving 

from a biennial to an annual license and should not 

significantly impact the cost of social work services for 

Virginians. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency; the advantage 

would be that fees would be sufficient to cover expenditures, 

especially significant increases in IT services, which is a 

requirement of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to increase most fees 

paid by licensees and registrants that are subject to the 
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Board's authority and to move from biennial renewal to 

annual renewal. 

Result of Analysis. For one of these proposed changes, costs 

for licensees likely outweigh benefits for the agency. There is 

insufficient information to accurately gauge whether benefits 

are likely to outweigh costs for these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under current regulations, 

licensed clinical social workers and licensed social workers 

pay the same initial licensure fees ($100). During biennial 

renewal licensed clinical social workers currently pay more 

than licensed social workers ($125 to $110). Currently all 

classes of licensed or registered social workers can renew 

their licenses or registrations for up to four years after their 

expiration dates by paying a late renewal fee of $10 and 

providing proof of completed continuing education. 

With these proposed regulations, the Board intends to 1) 

separate initial licensure fee paid by licensed clinical social 

workers from that paid by licensed social workers (all fees 

except the fee for reinstatement of licensure after disciplinary 

action), 2) require renewal of licensure every year instead of 

every two years (although proof of continuing education will 

still be required only every other year), 3) limit late renewal 

to within one year of expiration of license or registration and 

4) separate fee for adding or changing supervision from that 

for initial registration of supervision. The Board also 

proposes to increase all fees except those for late renewal for 

registered social workers and associate social workers and the 

returned check fee. Below is a comparison table for current 

and proposed fees: 

FEE TYPE 
CURRENT 

FEE 
PROPOSED 

FEE 
% 

INCREASE 

Registration of 

Supervision 
$25 $50 100% 

Add/Change 

Supervision 
$25 $25 No change 

Application 
Processing for 

Licensed 

Clinical Social 
Workers 

$100 $165 65% 

Application 

Processing for 

Licensed Social 
Workers 

$100 $115 15% 

Registration 

Renewal for 

Registered 
Social Workers 

$35 

(biennially) 
$25 (annually) 

((25*2)-

35)/35= 

42.86% 

Registration 

Renewal for 

Associate Social 
Worker 

$35 

(biennially) 
$25 (annually) 

((25*2)-

35)/35= 

42.86% 

License Renewal 

for Licensed 

Social Worker 

$110 
(biennially) 

$65 (annually) 

((65*2)-
110)/110= 

18.18% 

License Renewal 

for Licensed 
Clinical Social 

Worker 

$125 
(biennially) 

$90 (annually) 

((90*2)-

125)/125= 

44% 

Penalty for Late 

Renewal for 
Registered 

Social Worker 

$10 $10 No Change 

Penalty for Late 

Renewal for 

Associate Social 

Worker (within 

one year) 

$10 $10 No Change 

Penalty for Late 
Renewal for 

Licensed Social 

Workers  

$10 $20 100% 

Penalty for Late 
Renewal for 

Licensed 

Clinical Social 
Workers (within 

one year) 

$10 $30 200% 

Verification of 

License to 
Another 

Jurisdiction 

$10 $25 150% 

Additional or 

Replacement 
Licenses 

$10 $15 50% 

Verification 

Additional or 

Replacement 
Wall Certificates 

$15 $25 66.67% 

Returned Check 

Charge 
$35 $35 No Change 

Reinstatement 

Following 

Disciplinary 

Action 

$200 $500 150% 

Board staff reports that the Board had a surplus for FY 2009 

of 404,324 but expects to run a deficit for FY2010 and 

FY2011 and that, absent approval of these fee increases, "the 

projected deficit for FY14 is now $254,794" and may reach 

as high as $505,232. Board staff reports that these fee 

increases are needed because 1) the costs of health care for 

Board employees and lease payments for office space have 

increased, 2) some Board non-general funds were transferred 

in FY2010 to the General Fund to help close the budget gap 

and, so, won't be available to cover the cost of licensure 

services and 3) costs for information technology (IT) services 

have skyrocketed.  

The Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that a 

large portion of the expected expenditure increases over their 
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forecast horizon are needed to cover increased costs for 

services from the Virginia Information Technologies Agency 

(VITA). DHP reports that its VITA services costs have more 

than tripled from FY2005 to FY2011, from $850,000 to $3.6 

million, and are expected to be $4.4 million in FY2012. A 

large portion of the increase in costs, at least for FY 2010 and 

FY 2011, can be attributed to the planned move of DHP's 

licensing servers from DHP to Northrop Grumman. DHP 

anticipates that this will increase the costs for maintaining 

these servers by approximately $80,000 per month ($960,000 

per year). The Board is and will be responsible for a 

proportional share of these costs. Although it is likely beyond 

the capacity of DHP to control the very rapid growth of these 

costs, licensees of this Board (and all other DHP Boards) 

would benefit from increased scrutiny of services provided to 

DHP through VITA. 

Board staff also reports that a portion of DHP's non-general 

fund bank account balances that would have partially offset 

the need for fee increases were instead moved to the General 

Fund by the Budget Bill of 2010 to help close the gap 

between revenue and expenditures. Staff reports that the 

Board's portion of this transfer was $11,818. Staff further 

reports that there is a possibility that further transfers could be 

required in the current budget or future budgets. Licensees 

likely are harmed by these transfers as funds that were 

collected from them (and the interest those funds earned) that 

would have been used to cover the costs of administering 

their licensure program are instead used to offset the need for 

an increase in general taxes or for further budget cuts.  

The Board proposes one change to these regulations that will 

increase costs for regulants even though they are not fee 

increases per se. The Board proposes to require annual, rather 

than biennial, license renewal. Board staff reports that this 

proposal will only raise Board costs slightly, even though the 

number of renewals that will be processed over each 

biennium will roughly double. The Board expects revenues 

will be higher with annual renewal because "the Board may 

derive revenue from persons on an annual basis who would 

have retired, moved away or changed professions by the time 

biennial renewal is due." One could argue, however, that 

individuals are more likely to know about changes that will 

be happening in the near future (within one year) that would 

affect a decision about license renewal and that changes in 

status that will occur further into the future are less known. 

This would mean that the Board may actually see a slight 

decrease in revenue because people who know that they are 

moving soon or have gotten a job that does not require 

licensure will choose not to renew. Regulants' implicit costs 

(time spent filling out renewal forms, etc.) for renewing their 

licenses or registrations will likely double if license renewal 

is required annually. Because proof of continuing education is 

not required for license renewal, and because continuing 

education will remain on a biennial schedule, this change is 

likely to be a source of confusion. For these reasons, costs 

will likely outweigh benefits for this proposed change. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DHP reports that the Board 

currently regulates 4,967 licensed clinical social workers, 349 

licensed social workers, 2 associate social workers and 27 

registered social workers. All of these entities, as well as any 

individuals or entities who may wish to become licensed or 

registered in the future, will be affected by these proposed 

regulations.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Fee increases in this 

regulatory action will likely marginally decrease the number 

of individuals who choose to work in professional fields that 

are regulated by the Board. Individuals who work part time or 

whose earnings are only slightly higher in these licensed 

fields than they would be in other jobs that do not require 

licensure will be more likely to be affected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 

extent that affected licensees are in private practice, fee 

increases will likely slightly decrease business profits and 

make their businesses slightly less valuable.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DHP does not 

know how many affected entities would qualify as small 

businesses but does know that many licensed clinical social 

workers are small business independent practitioners.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are several actions that the Board 

could take that might mitigate the necessity of raising fees 

overall. The Board could slightly lengthen the time that it 

takes to process both license applications and complaints so 

that staff costs could be cut. This option would benefit current 

licensees but would slightly delay licensure, and the ability to 

legally work, for new applicants.  Affected small businesses 

would also likely benefit from increased scrutiny of the IT 

costs that are driving increases in both agency and Board 

expenditures.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
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businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Social Work does not concur with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget on proposed amended 

regulations for 18VAC140-20, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Social Work, relating to a fee increase. 

The supposition that a change to an annual renewal may 

result in a slight decrease in revenue is not supported by past 

experience with budgets of other boards. The Board of 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology changed from 

biennial to annual renewal in 2004; by 2009 there was a 

sufficient surplus in revenue to warrant a decrease in renewal 

fees. The Board of Psychology changed from biennial to 

annual renewal in 2003; that board has had subsequent 

reductions in renewal fees in 2007 and again in 2010 because 

surplus revenue resulted. The Board of Counseling changed 

from a biennial to annual renewal in 2000 and has been able 

to adopt a reduction in renewal fees for 2006, 2007, and 2010. 

The economic impact analysis is also incorrect in the 

statement that proof of continuing education is required for 

license renewal; the licensee is required to attest on the 

electronic renewal form that he is in compliance with 

continuing education requirements. Only those licensees who 

are audited every two years are required to provide proof of 

continuing education. 

The agency strongly disagrees with the statement that costs 

will outweigh benefits of the proposed change because 

evidence from the experience of other boards points to the 

opposite conclusion. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) increase fees for initial 

application, renewal, late renewal, and reinstatement after 

disciplinary action, among others; (ii) establish a fee for 

an addition to or change in registration of supervision; 

and (iii) change the license renewal cycle from biennial to 

annual.  

18VAC140-20-30. Fees.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

  1. Registration of supervision $25 $50 

  2. Addition to or change in 

registration of supervision 

$25 

  2. 3. Application processing  $100 

    a. Licensed clinical social worker $165 

    b. Licensed social worker $115 

  3. Biennial 4. Annual license renewal    

    a. Registered social worker $35 $25 

    b. Associate social worker  $35 $25 

    c. Licensed social worker $110 $65 

    d. Licensed clinical social worker  $125 $90 

  4. 5. Penalty for late renewal  $10 

    a. Registered social worker $10 

    b. Associate social worker  $10 

    c. Licensed social worker $20 

    d. Licensed clinical social worker  $30 

  5. 6. Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$10 $25 

  6. 7. Additional or replacement 

licenses 

$10 $15 

  7. 8. Additional or replacement wall 

certificates  

$15 $25 

  8. 9. Returned check $35 

  9. 10. Reinstatement following 

disciplinary action  

$200 $500 

B. Fees shall be paid by check or money order made payable 

to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the board. All 

fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be paid directly to the 

examination service according to its requirements.  

18VAC140-20-100. Licensure renewal.  

A. All Beginning with the 2013 renewal, licensees shall 

renew their licenses on or before June 30 of each odd-

numbered year and pay the renewal fee prescribed by the 

board.  

B. Licensees who wish to maintain an active license shall 

pay the appropriate fee and document on the renewal form 

compliance with the continued competency requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-105. Newly licensed individuals 

are not required to document continuing education on the first 

renewal date following initial licensure.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive 

status may do so upon payment of a fee equal to one-half of 

the biennial annual license renewal fee as indicated on the 

renewal form. No person shall practice social work or clinical 

social work in Virginia unless he holds a current active 

license. A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status 

may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements 

set forth in 18VAC140-20-110.  
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D. Each licensee shall furnish the board his current address 

of record. All notices required by law or by this chapter to be 

mailed by the board to any such licensee shall be validly 

given when mailed to the latest address of record given by the 

licensee. Any change in the address of record or the public 

address, if different from the address of record, shall be 

furnished to the board within 30 days of such change.  

18VAC140-20-105. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. Licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing 

education and licensed social workers shall be required to 

have completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing 

education for each biennial prior to licensure renewal in even 

years. Courses or activities shall be directly related to the 

practice of social work or another behavioral health field. A 

minimum of two of those hours must pertain to ethics or the 

standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or 

to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia. 

1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing education requirement. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters upon written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date. 

B. Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-

approved activities in the following two categories:  

1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities. A 

minimum of 20 hours for licensed clinical social workers 

or 10 hours for licensed social workers shall be 

documented in this category, which shall include one or 

more of the following: 

a. Regionally accredited university or college academic 

courses in a behavioral health discipline. A maximum of 

15 hours will be accepted for each academic course. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges accredited by the Council on Social Work 

Education. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state or local 

social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 

health facilities and licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one 

of the following: 

(1) The Child Welfare League of America and its state 

and local affiliates. 

(2) The National Association of Social Workers and its 

state and local affiliates. 

(3) The National Association of Black Social Workers 

and its state and local affiliates. 

(4) The Family Service Association of America and its 

state and local affiliates. 

(5) The Clinical Social Work Association and its state 

and local affiliates. 

(6) The Association of Social Work Boards. 

(7) Any state social work board. 

2. Category II. Individual Professional Activities. A 

maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours for licensed 

clinical social workers or a maximum of five of the 

required 15 hours for licensed social workers may be 

earned in this category, which shall include one or more of 

the following: 

a. Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards 

item writing workshop. (Activity will count for a 

maximum of two hours.)  

b. Publication of a professional social work-related book 

or initial preparation/presentation of a social work-related 

course. (Activity will count for a maximum of 10 hours.) 

c. Publication of a professional social work-related article 

or chapter of a book, or initial preparation/presentation of 

a social work-related in-service training, seminar, or 

workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 

hours.) 

d. Provision of a continuing education program 

sponsored or approved by an organization listed under 

Category I. (Activity will count for a maximum of two 

hours and will only be accepted one time for any specific 

program.) 

e. Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on 

Social Work Education-accredited school. (Activity will 

count for a maximum of two hours.) 

f. Serving as an officer or committee member of one of 

the national professional social work associations listed 

under subdivision B 1 d of this section or as a member of 

a state social work licensing board. (Activity will count 

for a maximum of two hours.) 

g. Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state, or local 

social service agencies, public school systems, or 

licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. (Activity 

will count for a maximum of five hours.) 

h. Individual or group study including listening to audio 

tapes, viewing video tapes, reading, professional books 

or articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 

hours.) 
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18VAC140-20-106. Documenting compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

A. All licensees in active status are required to maintain 

original documentation for a period of five three years 

following renewal.  

B. After the end of each renewal period, the The board shall 

may conduct a random an audit of licensees to verify 

compliance with the requirement for that a renewal period.  

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as 

follows:  

1. Documentation of Category I activities by submission 

of:  

a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or  

b. Certificates of participation.  

2. Attestation of completion of Category II activities.  

D. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

18VAC140-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement; 

reactivation.  

A. A social worker or clinical social worker whose license 

has expired may renew that license within four years one year 

after its expiration date by:  

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing education requirements.  

2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the biennial 

license renewal fee for each biennium as prescribed in 

18VAC140-20-30.  

B. A social worker or clinical social worker who fails to 

renew the license for four years or more after one year and 

who wishes to resume practice shall apply for reinstatement, 

and pay the reinstatement fee and, which shall consist of the 

application processing fee and the penalty fee for late 

renewal, as set forth in 18VAC140-20-30. An applicant for 

reinstatement shall also provide documentation of having 

completed all applicable continued competency hours equal 

to the number of years the license has lapsed, not to exceed 

four years. An applicant for reinstatement shall also provide 

evidence of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 

three of the past five years immediately preceding 

application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of 

the past five years immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

licensure in Virginia. 

C. A social worker or clinical social worker wishing to 

reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for 

active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive 

licensure renewal, and document completion of continued 

competency hours equal to the number of years the license 

has been inactive, not to exceed four years. An applicant for 

reactivation shall also provide evidence of competency to 

practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 

three of the past five years immediately preceding 

application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of 

the past five years immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

licensure in Virginia. 

18VAC140-20-130. Renewal of registration for associate 

social workers and registered social workers.  

The registration of every associate social worker and 

registered social worker with the former Virginia Board of 

Registration of Social Workers under former § 54-775.4 of 

the Code of Virginia shall expire on June 30 of each odd-

numbered year.  

1. Each registrant shall return the completed application 

before the expiration date, accompanied by the payment of 

the renewal fee prescribed by the board.  

2. Failure to receive the renewal notice shall not relieve the 

registrant from the renewal requirement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2391; Filed November 3, 2014, 10:13 a.m.  

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS, 
WETLAND PROFESSIONALS, AND GEOLOGISTS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC145-40. Regulations for the 

Geology Certification Program (amending 18VAC145-40-

20).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, 

or email soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments increase the application, renewal, and 

reinstatement fees for professional geologists and align the 

fees with those of professional soil scientists and wetland 

professionals. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC145-40-20. Fees. 

All fees for application, examination, renewal, and 

reinstatement shall be established by the board pursuant to § 

54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. All fees are nonrefundable 

and shall not be prorated.  

1. The application fee for certification shall be $40 $90.  
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2. The fee for renewal of certification shall be $35 $70.  

3. The application fee for the Geologist-in-Training (GIT) 

designation shall be $20. 

4. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the department by an outside vendor. 

These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained 

for in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement 

Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may 

be adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance 

with this contract.  

5. The penalty fee for late renewal shall be $25 in addition 

to the renewal fee.  

6. The reinstatement fee shall be $40 $90.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC145-40) 

Certification Application, 28CERT (rev. 6/00). 

Geologist-in-Training Designation Application (rev. 10/12). 

Experience Log, 28EXP (rev. 1/05). 

Geologists Certification and Reinstatement Application, 

A439-28CERT-v6 (rev. 1/15) 

Geologist-in-Training Designation Application, A439-

28GIT-v1 (rev. 1/13) 

Geological Work Experience Log, A439-28EXP-v5 (rev. 

1/13) 

Information Sheet, A439-28INFO-v5 (rev. 1/15) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3180; Filed November 6, 2014, 4:27 p.m.  

  –––––––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, 

or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-230. Verification Checks on 

Firearm Transfers to Dealers (adding 19VAC30-230-10, 

19VAC30-230-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-308.2:4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Lt. Colonel Robert Kemmler, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of State Police, Bureau of 

Administrative and Support Services, P.O. Box 27472, 

Richmond, VA 23261-7472, telephone (804) 674-4606, FAX 

(804) 674-2234, or email robert.kemmler@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As required by Chapter 821 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, 

this action establishes requirements to ensure the identity, 

confidentiality, and security of records and data provided 

for verification checks on certain firearm transfers to 

dealers. 

CHAPTER 230 

VERIFICATION CHECKS ON FIREARM TRANSFERS 

TO DEALERS 

19VAC30-230-10. Purpose and authority. 

Section 18.2-308.2:4 of the Code of Virginia allows any 

dealer who is receiving by sale, transfer, or trade a firearm 

from a person who is not a dealer to obtain a verification 

check from the Department of State Police to determine if the 

firearm has been reported to a law-enforcement agency as lost 

or stolen. Section 18.2-308.2:4 provides the definitions, 

procedures, and requirements for obtaining such verification. 

19VAC30-230-20. Maintenance of, confidentiality of, and 

access to records of dealer verification checks. 

A. All data, records, reports, and the log of requests 

maintained by the Department of State Police required under 

§ 18.2-308.2:4 F of the Code of Virginia related to the 

verification process shall be confidential and shall not be 

disseminated except as provided in this chapter pursuant to 

§ 18.2-308.2:4 H of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The Department of State Police or other law-enforcement 

agency of the Commonwealth or any political subdivision 

thereof or any federal agency conducting a criminal 

investigation consistent with state or federal law may be 

granted access to the data, records, reports, and the log of 

requests maintained by the department required under § 18.2-

308.2:4 F of the Code of Virginia. A law-enforcement officer 

of an agency of the Commonwealth, a political subdivision of 

the Commonwealth, or a federal agency within the 

Commonwealth seeking access shall make the request in 

writing. 

C. The requestor shall adhere to all state and federal laws 

regarding confidentiality. Records related to accessing logs 

and the information accessed shall be kept and retained by the 

Department of State Police for a period of one year following 

the access. 

D. Upon completion of the retention period all data, records, 

and reports, except those made part of a criminal investigative 

file, must be destroyed in a manner that renders the record 

unidentifiable and nonretrievable. 

 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=81061003180~2&typ=40&actno=003180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=81061003180~2&typ=40&actno=003180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd554003180~3&typ=40&actno=003180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd554003180~3&typ=40&actno=003180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48f97003180~4&typ=40&actno=003180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48f97003180~4&typ=40&actno=003180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=05670003180~1&typ=40&actno=003180&mime=application/pdf
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (19VAC30-230) 

SP-315 Virginia State Police Query of Lost or Stolen 

Firearms (rev. 6/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4207; Filed November 12, 2014, 10:34 a.m.  

  –––––––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 

Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 

of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 

involved. The Commonwealth Transportation Board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 24VAC30-21. General Rules and 

Regulations of the Commonwealth Transportation Board 

(amending 24VAC30-21-30, 24VAC30-21-40). 

24VAC30-91. Subdivision Street Requirements (amending 

24VAC30-91-10, 24VAC30-91-30, 24VAC30-91-110, 

24VAC30-91-150).  

24VAC30-92. Secondary Street Acceptance Requirements 

(amending 24VAC30-92-10, 24VAC30-92-20, 24VAC30-

92-60, 24VAC30-92-120, 24VAC30-92-130). 

24VAC30-120. Rules and Regulations Controlling 

Outdoor Advertising and Directional and other Signs and 

Notices (amending 24VAC30-120-10, 24VAC30-120-80, 

24VAC30-120-140, 24VAC30-120-160, 24VAC30-120-170, 

24VAC30-120-190).  

24VAC30-151. Land Use Permit Regulations (amending 

24VAC30-151-20, 24VAC30-151-50, 24VAC30-151-110, 

24VAC30-151-120, 24VAC30-151-270, 24VAC30-151-550, 

24VAC30-151-590, 24VAC30-151-620, 24VAC30-151-

710). 

24VAC30-200. Vegetation Control Regulations on State 

Rights-Of-Way (amending 24VAC30-200-10 through 

24VAC30-200-35). 

24VAC30-271. Economic Development Access Fund 

Policy (amending 24VAC30-271-20).  

24VAC30-325. Urban Maintenance and Construction 

Policy (amending 24VAC30-325-10).  

24VAC30-380. Public Hearings for Location and Design 

of Highway Construction Projects (amending 24VAC30-

380-10).  

24VAC30-401. Change of Limited Access Control 

(amending 24VAC30-401-10). 

24VAC30-451. Airport Access Fund Policy (amending 

24VAC30-451-10, 24VAC30-451-20). 

24VAC30-540. Conveyance of Land and Disposal of 

Improvements (amending 24VAC30-540-10, 24VAC30-

540-30). 

24VAC30-620. Rules, Regulations, and Rates Concerning 

Toll and Bridge Facilities (amending 24VAC30-620-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Robert H. Hofrichter, Assistant Director for 

Land Use, Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0780, 

FAX (804) 786-0628, or email 

robert.hofrichter@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update (i) citations to the Code of 

Virginia to reflect the recodification of Title 33.1 to Title 

33.2 of the Code of Virginia pursuant to Chapter 805 of 

the 2014 Acts of Assembly and (ii) citations to the Virginia 

Administrative Code. 

24VAC30-21-30. General provisions concerning use of 

right of way. 

A. No person, firm, or corporation shall use or occupy the 

right of way of any highway for any purpose except travel, 

except as may be authorized by VDOT, either pursuant to 

regulation or as provided by law.  

B. Except as permitted by subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

the following restrictions apply to activities occurring on 

bridges forming a part of the system of state highways: 

1. No person, firm, or corporation shall stand or park a 

vehicle of any description on any bridge unless authorized 

by VDOT.  

2. No person shall fish or seine from any bridge except 

when facilities are provided for such purposes as set out in 

§ 33.1-207 33.2-278 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. No person, firm, or corporation shall use any bridge as a 

wharf from which to load or unload any vehicle, as a place 

of deposit for any property, or for any other purpose except 

crossing. 

4. No master or owner of any vessel shall make it fast to or 

lay it alongside such bridge.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ceb60004207~1&typ=40&actno=004207&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ceb60004207~1&typ=40&actno=004207&mime=application/pdf
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5. Provisions of this subsection shall not apply to highway 

maintenance vehicles or vessels.  

C. No person, firm, or corporation shall, without the consent 

of VDOT, remove, injure, destroy, break, deface, or in any 

way tamper with any property, real or personal, that is 

growing or has been placed on the right of way of any 

highway within the system of state highways by or with the 

consent of VDOT.  

D. No person, firm, or corporation may cause water to flow 

from any source upon the right of way of any highway within 

the system of state highways, nor shall any person, firm, or 

corporation cause any increase of the water, at present, 

lawfully on the right of way of any highway or concentrate 

the flow of water upon the right of way of any highway in the 

system of state highways without the written consent of 

VDOT.  

E. No road, railroad, or tracks of any description shall be 

laid along, upon, or across any portion of a highway in the 

system of state highways without the written consent of 

VDOT.  

24VAC30-21-40. Board authority to regulate entrances 

from adjacent property to right of way of highways within 

the state highway system. 

The board, under subdivision 3 of § 33.1-12 33.2-210 of the 

Code of Virginia, reserves the power to regulate entrances 

from adjacent property upon the right of way of any highway 

within the system of state highways. No entrance of any 

nature shall be made, built, or constructed upon the right of 

way of any highway within the system of state highways until 

the location has been determined in the opinion of the 

commissioner or designee of VDOT to be acceptable from a 

public safety standpoint and, further, until approval has been 

granted by VDOT. The design and construction of such 

entrances as approved by the commissioner pursuant to 

§§ 33.1-198 33.2-241 and 33.1-198.1 33.2-245 of the Code of 

Virginia must comply with VDOT's regulations where 

applicable.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

24VAC30-91-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in these 

regulations shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"AASHTO" means the American Association of State 

Highway and Transportation Officials.  

"Abandon" in all its forms means the legislative action 

reserved for and granted to the local governing body to 

extinguish the public's right to a roadway under the 

jurisdiction of the Virginia Department of Transportation, 

pursuant to §§ 33.1-151 33.2-909  and 33.1-155 33.2-912 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Accessible route" means a continuous unobstructed, stable, 

firm and slip-resistant path connecting all accessible elements 

of a facility (may include parking access aisles, curb ramps, 

crosswalks at vehicular ways, walks, ramps and lifts) that can 

be approached, entered and used by persons with disabilities. 

An accessible route shall, to the maximum extent feasible, 

coincide with the route for the general public.  

"ADT" means average daily traffic count (see "Projected 

Traffic").  

"Board" means the Commonwealth Transportation Board.  

"Clear zone" means the total border area of a roadway or 

shared use path that is sufficiently wide for an errant vehicle 

to avoid a serious accident. (See the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160) for details.)  

"Commissioner" means the chief executive officer of the 

Virginia Department of Transportation.  

"Complete development (land)" means the utilization of the 

available areas in a manner as to realize its highest density for 

the best potential use based on zoning, pending rezoning, the 

adopted comprehensive plan of the governing body, or the 

customary use of similar parcels of land.  

"Complete development (streets)" means the development of 

a subdivision street in full compliance with all applicable 

provisions of these regulations to the necessary standards of 

design and construction for the effective and efficient 

accommodation of the traffic generated by the complete 

development of the land, both internal and external to the 

subdivision.  

"County controlled grade separation structure" means a 

grade separation structure that does not qualify for 

maintenance by the department but was established within the 

right-of-way of a street intended for state maintenance.  

"County official" means the representative of the governing 

body appointed to serve as its agent in matters relating to 

subdivisions.  

"Cul-de-sac" means a street with only one outlet and having 

an appropriate turnaround for a safe and convenient reverse 

traffic movement and more specifically the turning area.  

"Dam" means an embankment or structure intended or used 

to impound, retain, or store water, either as a permanent pond 

or as a temporary storage facility.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Transportation.  

"Design manual" means the department's Road Design 

Manual (see 24VAC30-91-160), Location and Design 

Division.  

"Design speed" means a speed selected for purposes of 

design and correlation of those features of a street such as 

curvature, super elevation, and sight distance, upon which the 

safe operation of vehicles is dependent.  

"Developer" means an individual, corporation, or registered 

partnership engaged in the subdivision of land.  

"Discontinue," in all its forms, means the legislative act of 

the Commonwealth Transportation Board, pursuant to § 33.1-
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150 33.2-908 of the Code of Virginia, that determines that a 

road no longer serves public convenience warranting its 

maintenance with funds at the disposal of the department.  

"District administrator" means the department employee 

assigned the overall supervision of the departmental 

operations in each of the Commonwealth's nine construction 

districts.  

"Drainage manual" means the department's Drainage 

Manual (see 24VAC30-91-160), Location and Design 

Division.  

"Dwelling unit" means a structure or part of a structure 

containing sleeping, kitchen, and bathroom facilities that is 

suitable for occupancy as a home or residence by one or more 

persons.  

"Easement" means a grant of a right to use property of an 

owner for specific, limited use or purpose.  

"Functional classification" means the process by which 

streets and highways are grouped into classes, or systems, 

according to the character of service they are intended to 

provide.  

"Governing body" means the board of supervisors of the 

county but may also mean the local governing body of a town 

or city, if appropriate, in the application of these 

requirements.  

"Intersection" means the juncture of two or more streets at 

which point there are three or more legs.  

"Level of service" means a qualitative measure describing 

operational conditions within a traffic stream, and their 

perception by motorists and passengers. For the purposes of 

these requirements, the applicable provisions of the Highway 

Capacity Manual (see 24VAC30-91-160) shall serve as the 

basis for determining "levels of service."  

"Level terrain" means that condition where highway sight 

distances, as governed by both horizontal and vertical 

restrictions, are generally long or could be made so without 

construction difficulty or major expense.  

"Loop street" means a street whose two outlets are to the 

same street.  

"Mountainous terrain" means that condition where 

longitudinal and traverse changes in the elevation of the 

ground with respect to the road or street are abrupt and where 

benching and side hill excavation are frequently required to 

obtain acceptable horizontal and vertical alignment.  

"Neotraditional development" means a type of subdivision 

that creates a neighborhood or community design with 

qualities of a traditional small town, combining a mix of uses 

that may include retail establishments, offices, civic 

buildings, public squares, and multi-family and single-family 

housing, all within walking distance of one another, as well as 

a mix of transportation facilities that focuses on the needs of 

pedestrians and bicyclists in addition to the needs of 

motorists. These developments may include a variety of 

buildings and land use densities along the same street. Street 

layout may follow a grid pattern using narrow streets and 

having multiple connections to surrounding neighborhoods. 

These developments may be referred to as "villages" or 

"hamlets" within the ordinances of the governing body.  

"Nonresidential street" means a subdivision street adjacent 

to property that is anticipated to develop for purposes other 

than residential use.  

"Office building" means a building that is used primarily for 

conducting business transactions other than retail sales.  

"Parking bay" means an off-street area for parking two or 

more vehicles that are served by a short driveway connecting 

the parking area and the public street.  

"Parking lane" means an area, generally seven or eight feet 

in width, adjacent to and parallel with the travel lane of a 

roadway that is used for parking vehicles.  

"Pavement Design Guide" means the Pavement Design 

Guide for Subdivision and Secondary Roads in Virginia (see 

24VAC30-91-160).  

"Permit Regulations" means the department's Land Use 

Permit Regulations (see 24VAC30-91-160) (24VAC30-151).  

"Phased development" (streets) means the method outlined 

in 24VAC30-91-70 (Phased development of subdivision 

streets) whereby the acceptance of certain subdivision streets 

into the secondary system of state highways may be 

considered before being completely developed in accordance 

with all applicable requirements (e.g., two lanes of a four-lane 

facility are considered for acceptance in advance of lanes 3 

and 4 being finished).  

"Plans" means the standard drawings, including profile and 

roadway typical section, that show the location, character, 

dimensions and details for the proposed construction of the 

subdivision street.  

"Plat" means the schematic representation of the land 

divided or to be divided.  

"Private streets" means subdivision streets that have not 

been dedicated to public use or that require the permission or 

invitation of a resident or owner to use the street. Such streets 

are not intended to be included in the secondary system of 

state highways maintained by the department.  

"Privately maintained streets" means any public or private 

street that is not maintained by the department or the local 

governing body.  

"Projected traffic" means the number of vehicles, normally 

expressed in average daily traffic (ADT), forecast to travel 

over the segment of the subdivision street involved.  

"Public street" means a street dedicated to public use and 

available to the public's unrestricted use without regard to the 

jurisdictional authority responsible for its operation and 

maintenance.  

"Requirements" means the design, construction, and related 

administrative considerations herein prescribed for the 
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acceptance of a subdivision street for maintenance by the 

department as part of the secondary system of state highways.  

"Resident engineer" means the department employee or 

employees designated by the district administrator to oversee 

the implementation of this regulation. In cities and towns that 

maintain and operate their own system of streets and elect to 

use the pavement and right-of-way width requirements of the 

Subdivision Street Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160) as a 

basis for street maintenance payments under the provisions of 

§ 33.1-41.1 33.2-319 of the Code of Virginia, as well as the 

counties of Arlington and Henrico, the local official 

responsible for the review and approval of subdivision street 

design.  

"Residential street" means a subdivision street adjacent to 

property that is anticipated to develop as single-family 

residences, apartment buildings, or other similar dwelling 

structures.  

"Right-of-way" means the land, property, or interest therein, 

usually in a strip, acquired for or devoted to a public street 

designated to become part of the secondary system of state 

highways.  

"Roadway" means the portion of the road or street within the 

limits of construction and all structures, ditches, channels, 

etc., necessary for the correct drainage thereof.  

"Secondary system of state highways" means those public 

roads, streets, bridges, etc., established by a local governing 

body pursuant to § 33.1-229 33.2-705 of the Code of Virginia 

and subsequently accepted by the department for supervision 

and maintenance under the provisions of Articles 6 (§ 33.1-67 

et seq.) and 11 (§ 33.1-150 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 33.1 

Article 3 (§ 33.2-324 et seq.) of Chapter 3 and Article 2 

(§ 33.2-908 et seq.) of Chapter 9 of Title 33.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Shared use path" means a facility, as defined in § 46.2-100 

of the Code of Virginia, that is set apart from the travelway 

and intended to be used by pedestrians and bicyclists.  

"Shopping center" means a building or buildings containing 

two or more stores that are used primarily for retail sales but 

may include commercial trade or professional uses.  

"Single-family residence" means a structure, other than an 

apartment building, maintained and used as a single dwelling 

unit or any dwelling unit that has direct access to a street and 

shares neither heating facilities, hot water equipment, nor any 

other essential facility or service with any other dwelling unit. 

"Specifications" means the department's Road and Bridge 

Specifications (24VAC30-91-160), including related 

supplemental specifications and special provisions.  

"Standards" means the applicable drawings and related 

criteria contained in the department's Road and Bridge 

Standards (24VAC30-91-160).  

"Subdivision" means the division of a lot, tract, or parcel 

into two or more lots, plats, sites, or other divisions of land 

for the purpose, whether immediate or future, of sale or of 

building development. Any resubdivision of a previously 

subdivided tract or parcel of land shall also be interpreted as a 

"subdivision." The division of a lot or parcel permitted by 

§ 15.2-2244 of the Code of Virginia will not be considered a 

"subdivision" under this definition, provided no new road or 

street is thereby established. However, any further division of 

such parcels shall be considered a "subdivision."  

"Subdivision street" means a public way for purposes of 

vehicular travel that results from the subdivision of land, 

including the entire area within the right-of-way. Public 

streets developed in accordance with these requirements and 

meeting the necessary public service provisions established 

herein shall be eligible for addition to the secondary system 

of state highways maintained by the department. Streets 

primarily intended to access property abutting or in the 

immediate vicinity of the street are deemed "local" 

subdivision streets.  

"Subdivision Street Design Guide" means Appendix B of 

the Road Design Manual (24VAC30-91-160).  

"Swale" means a broad depression within which stormwater 

may drain during inclement weather, but which does not have 

a defined bed or banks.  

"Through street" means a street that provides access 

between two other streets.  

"Traveled way" means the portion of the subdivision street 

designated for the movement of vehicles, exclusive of 

shoulders, parking areas, turn lanes, etc.  

"VDOT" means the Virginia Department of Transportation.  

"VPD" means vehicles per day.  

"VPH" means vehicles per hour.  

"Watercourse" means a definite channel with bed and banks 

within which water flows, either continuously or in season.  

24VAC30-91-30. Local subdivision ordinances  

A. Precedence of local subdivision ordinance. Pursuant to 

§ 33.1-229 33.2-705 of the Code of Virginia, new streets are 

established by the governing body of the locality in which 

they are located. Any requirements of the subdivision 

ordinance adopted by the governing body that are equal to or 

greater than these provisions shall become the department's 

requirements in that locality and govern unless the local 

governing body concurs with an exception to their higher 

standards.  

B. Exemptions in local ordinances. The department does not 

recognize any provision of an ordinance adopted by the 

governing body that exempts the development of streets from 

these requirements based on its definition of the term 

subdivision. Consequently, any street proposed for addition to 

the secondary system of state highways maintained by the 

department shall comply with applicable requirements as 

herein provided or, if greater than these provisions, the 

requirements of the local ordinance.  
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Part II  

Specific Provisions  

24VAC30-91-110. Design and agreement requirements. 

A. General requirements. Most criteria addressing the design 

of new subdivision streets can be found in the Subdivision 

Street Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160). However, the 

following provisions are provided for guidance, particularly 

in regard to features that require agreements or formal 

acknowledgements of the governing body before VDOT's 

acceptance of the street or streets within a subdivision.  

When an agreement is required between the local governing 

body and the department as a prerequisite to the acceptance of 

a subdivision street, nothing in these requirements shall 

preclude the local governing body from entering into separate 

agreements with other entities to fulfill its responsibilities. 

However, if the provisions are intended to ensure the safety of 

the public using the street, the department reserves the right to 

approve the involvement of the other party or parties.  

B. Geometric requirements. Geometric requirements for new 

subdivision streets are established in the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide of the Road Design Manual (24VAC30-91-

160). In certain circumstances the Subdivision Street Design 

Guide (24VAC30-91-160) allows reduced pavement widths 

for curb and gutter sections. Any such reduction must be 

specifically requested by the governing body in writing and 

be approved by the resident engineer. Sufficient off-street 

parking must be provided by the local governing body as 

indicated in the Subdivision Street Design Guide (24VAC30-

91-160) to accommodate any request for reduced pavement 

widths. However, no special request from the local governing 

body shall be required in the event the department has 

approved a design standard for use throughout that county 

that includes street width reductions for a specific type of 

subdivision, such as a Neotraditional subdivision.  

C. Turn lanes. Left or right turn lanes shall be provided at 

intersections when the department determines that projected 

turning movements warrant their installation. These facilities 

shall be designed in accordance with the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160) and, if necessary, 

additional right-of-way shall be provided to accommodate 

these facilities.  

D. Pavement structure.  

1. Pavement design. The pavement structure for new 

subdivision streets shall be in accordance with the 

Pavement Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160), including 

any prescribed underdrains. Prior to construction of the 

pavement sub-base and finish courses, the resident 

engineer shall approve the proposed pavement design.  

2. Special pavement surfaces. The resident engineer may 

approve special pavement surfaces, such as the use of 

stamped pavement or the use of paving blocks or bricks. 

However, if the pavement design is a type not addressed by 

the Pavement Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160) or 

otherwise not in general use by the department, an 

agreement shall be provided by the governing body that 

addresses the future maintenance of such pavement.  

3. Pavement additions to existing streets. When an existing 

VDOT maintained roadway is to be widened to 

accommodate additional lanes or the addition of turn lanes, 

the necessary pavement design shall be obtained from the 

resident engineer and the entire surface of the roadway (old 

and new portions) shall be overlaid and re-striped as 

required by the resident engineer.  

E. Parking.  

1. Perpendicular and angle parking along subdivision 

streets is normally prohibited. However, perpendicular and 

angle parking along subdivision streets may be considered 

if the features along the street cause the street to readily 

appear to be a street rather than a travel way through a 

parking lot. In addition, additional pavement width may be 

necessary between the travel lanes and the parking spaces 

to allow a car to back from its normal parked position, 

orient itself for entering the travel lanes and stop without 

either encroaching into the travel lanes or having the 

driver's vision of oncoming traffic obscured by adjacent, 

parked vehicles.  

Street designs that anticipate the restriction of on-street 

parking shall only be approved with the consent of the 

county official and the resident engineer.  

2. Localities are encouraged to adopt local ordinances to 

appropriately address adequate off street parking in 

subdivisions. In the absence of local regulations that are 

deemed acceptable by the department, the following 

criteria shall apply for the design of subdivision streets:  

a. A minimum of two off-street parking spaces per 

dwelling unit, exclusive of garage facilities associated 

with the unit, shall be provided in the proximity of the 

unit they are intended to serve. Additional off-street 

parking space shall be provided when the width of any 

residential curb and gutter roadway is proposed for 

reduction as permitted in the Subdivision Street Design 

Guide (24VAC30-91-160). Except as may be associated 

with corner dwellings, the availability of on-street 

parking along other streets will not normally be 

considered as additional off-street parking.  

b. If parking bays are provided, they shall be located off 

the street's right-of-way and designed to prevent vehicles 

from backing into the adjacent subdivision street.  

c. Entrances to parking bays shall be separated by at least 

50 feet and designed in accordance with the appropriate 

provisions of the standards or Land Use Permit 

Regulations.  

F. Cul-de-sacs and turnarounds. An adequate turnaround 

facility shall be provided at the end of each cul-de-sac or stub 

street to permit the safe and convenient maneuvering by 

service vehicles. Various configurations of turnarounds are 
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illustrated in the Subdivision Street Design Guide 

(24VAC30-91-160); however, alternative configurations may 

be approved by the resident engineer. Additional right-of-way 

shall be provided as required by the design of the turnaround. 

Normally, any nontraveled way areas within the turnaround, 

such as an island, shall be included in the dedicated right-of-

way of the facility.  

For circular turnarounds, a well-defined, identifiable street 

segment, equal to the normal lot width along the intersected 

street that serves the cul-de-sac or 50 feet, whichever is 

greater, shall extend from the intersected street to the turning 

area.  

G. Curb and gutter. For the purpose of these requirements, 

the use of curb and gutter is an acceptable roadway design 

alternative, rather than a requisite. However, when used, curb 

and gutter shall be designed in accordance with the 

Subdivision Street Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160) and 

only one curb and gutter design may be used along the length 

of a street.  

1. Driveway entrance requirements. Without regard to the 

curb design used, the curb shall incorporate a driveway 

entrance apron, as illustrated in the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160), to provide a smooth 

transition from the gutter invert or roadway surface onto 

the driveway. However, exceptions may be granted by the 

resident engineer when roll top curb is used if requested by 

the local official.  

2. Curb ramps. All streets that incorporate accessible routes 

for pedestrian use shall, without regard to the curb design 

used, include curb ramps at intersections for use by persons 

with disabilities and shall incorporate other applicable 

provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act.  

H. Private entrances. All private entrances shall be designed 

and constructed in accordance with the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160).  

I. Pedestrian, bicycle, and shared use path facilities. The 

Commonwealth Transportation Board's "Policy for 

Integrating Bicycle and Pedestrian Accommodations" 

emphasizes accommodating pedestrian and bicycle traffic as 

an essential part of any VDOT financed transportation 

project. While separate pedestrian and bicycle facilities are 

not mandated for local subdivision streets, unless required by 

local ordinance, any street proposed for VDOT acceptance 

should accommodate the anticipated pedestrian and bicycle 

traffic. When separate pedestrian and bicycle facilities are 

deemed appropriate, they should be included in the initial 

construction of the street, prior to VDOT acceptance. These 

facilities are eligible for VDOT acceptance based on the 

criteria of this section.  

1. Compliant facilities. Pedestrian and bicycle facilities, 

including shared use paths as defined under § 46.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia, shall be accepted as part of 

subdivision streets, unless otherwise requested by the 

governing body, provided they are located fully within the 

dedicated right-of-way of the street and they are 

constructed in accordance with applicable criteria and 

standards of the department.  

a. Sidewalk criteria. Sidewalks shall be constructed in 

accordance with the Subdivision Street Design Guide 

(24VAC30-91-160). However, sidewalks that meander 

vertically in comparison to the grade of the roadway may 

be considered noncompliant sidewalks.  

b. Bicycle facility criteria. Bicycle facilities contiguous 

with the street shall be in accordance with the 

department's design and construction criteria set forth in 

the Road Design Manual (24VAC30-91-160).  

c. Shared use path criteria. Shared use paths shall be 

constructed in accordance with the Road Design Manual 

(24VAC30-91-160) and closely follow the vertical 

alignment of the roadway without meandering on and off 

the right-of-way.  

2. Noncompliant sidewalk, bicycle, and shared use paths. 

Noncompliant sidewalk, bicycle and shared use paths that 

fail to meet requirements of the department's standards for 

construction, alignment, or placement within the dedicated 

right of the street shall be deemed to be noncompliant and 

not qualify for maintenance. However, such facilities may 

co-exist within the dedicated right-of-way of the street 

under a land use permit issued by the resident engineer to 

the local governing body responsible for having 

established the facility through its subdivision process.  

Such permits will clearly specify the responsibility for 

maintenance of the facility and related activities to the extent 

the facility occupies the street's right-of-way. The permit 

applicant should be a county, incorporated town, or other 

entity that has perpetual maintenance capability. 

Noncompliant sidewalks and shared use paths may be 

constructed of bituminous concrete, hydraulic concrete, 

gravel, or other stabilizer convenient to the applicant.  

J. Bridge, drainage, and other grade separation structures. 

Bridges, drainage, and other grade separation structures shall 

be designed and constructed in accordance with all applicable 

department criteria and standards. The resident engineer may 

require special review of the plans and construction 

inspection.  

The department will accept grade separation structures as 

part of new subdivision streets provided the structure is a 

drainage structure or is intended to separate the movement of 

registered motor vehicles. In addition, the department will 

accept grade separation structures intended to separate 

pedestrians or bicyclists or any combination thereof from 

traffic using the roadway, provided:  

1. The structure is available for unrestricted public use;  

2. The structure is accessible to pedestrian facilities, if any, 

situated along the street; and  

3. The projected traffic volume of the street is not less than 

4000 vpd or, if the structure otherwise serves as part of the 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 1, 2014 

461 

principle pedestrian access to a school and a peak hour 

traffic volume of 450 vph is projected.  

In all other instances, the grade separation structure shall be 

deemed to be a county controlled grade separation structure 

within the right-of-way of the street, in which case the street 

will only be accepted as part of the secondary system of state 

highways maintained by the department after the local 

governing body and the department have executed an 

agreement acceptable to the department that (i) acknowledges 

the department has no responsibility or liability due to the 

presence of the structure and (ii) assures the costs of 

inspection, maintenance, and future improvements to the 

structure are provided from sources other than those 

administered by the department.  

In all cases, whether the structure is accepted as an integral 

part of the roadway for maintenance by the department or it 

remains a county controlled structure, the responsibility for 

lighting, safety, and security of those using such facilities 

shall remain a responsibility of local government.  

K. Dams. The department will only consider accepting 

subdivision streets for maintenance that occupy dams when 

all of the following provisions are satisfied. For the purpose 

of this section, a roadway will be considered to occupy a dam 

if any part of the fill for the roadway and the fill for the dam 

overlap or if the area between the two embankments is filled 

in so that the downstream face of the dam is obscured or if a 

closed drainage facility from a dam extends under a roadway 

fill.  

1. Agreements with the governing body. Except as exempt 

under subdivision 6 of this subsection, the governing body 

acknowledges by formal agreement the department's 

liability is limited to the maintenance of the roadway and 

that the department has no responsibility or liability due to 

the presence of the dam, the maintenance of which shall 

remain the responsibility of an owner, other than VDOT, 

as established by § 33.1-176 33.2-409 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

2. Design review. An engineer, licensed to practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, shall certify that the hydraulic 

and structural design of any dam, as described below, is in 

accordance with current national and state engineering 

practice and that all pertinent provisions of the Subdivision 

Street Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160) have been 

considered. Prior to approval of the roadway construction 

plans, the hydraulic and structural design of a proposed 

dam shall be reviewed by and meet the department's 

satisfaction if:  

a. A roadway is considered to occupy a dam; or  

b. A roadway is located below but sufficiently close to 

the dam that a catastrophic breach could endanger the 

roadway or the safety of those using the roadway.  

3. Right-of-way requirements. The right-of-way of roads 

considered to occupy dams shall be recorded either as an 

easement for public road purposes or as a dedication 

specifically to the governing body. Right-of-way dedicated 

in the name of the Commonwealth or any of its agencies is 

not acceptable if it includes a dam and roads through such 

right-of-way will not be accepted as a part of the secondary 

system of state highways maintained by the department.  

4. Supplemental, alternative access. To be considered for 

VDOT maintenance, roadways that occupy a dam must be 

supplemented by an appropriate alternative roadway 

facility for public ingress or egress, having suitable 

provisions that ensure perpetual maintenance.  

5. Permits. All applicable federal and state permits 

associated with dams shall be secured and filed with the 

county prior to VDOT's acceptance of any street that 

occupies a dam.  

6. Dams exempt from agreements. The acceptance of 

roadways that occupy dams shall be exempt from the 

requirements for an agreement with the governing body, as 

required by subdivision 1 of this subsection, if all of the 

following is satisfied:  

a. The dam is used to create a stormwater detention or 

retention facility;  

b. The maximum depth of the water retained by the 

impoundment at its 100-year storm flood elevation is not 

greater than four feet; and  

c. The surface area of the impoundment at full flood is 

not greater than two acres and is beyond the right-of-way 

dedicated to public use.  

L. Roadway drainage.  

1. Policy and procedures. All drainage facilities shall be 

designed in accordance with the department's Drainage 

Manual (24VAC30-91-160) and supplemental directives. 

All drainage computations supporting a proposed drainage 

design shall be submitted to the department for review as 

part of the documents necessary for the approval of a 

construction plan.  

2. Stormwater management. Whereas the department 

considers matters regarding stormwater management 

associated with the construction of new subdivision streets 

to be under the authority of the local governing body, 

decisions regarding stormwater management in the 

construction of subdivision streets are deferred to the 

locality. However, stormwater management, including the 

construction of detention or retention facilities, or both, is 

recognized as an available design alternative. Where the 

developer is required by regulations promulgated by an 

agency or governmental subdivision other than the 

department or the developer chooses to use stormwater 

management facilities in the design of a subdivision, the 

governing body shall, by formal agreement, and as a 

prerequisite for the transfer of jurisdiction over the street to 

the department, acknowledge that the department is not 

responsible for the operation, maintenance, or liability of 
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the stormwater management facility or facilities associated 

with the subdivision. However, in the event the governing 

body has executed a comprehensive, countywide 

agreement with the department addressing these matters, a 

specific agreement addressing stormwater management 

controls in the subdivision will not be required as a 

condition for street acceptance.  

Stormwater management controls for VDOT projects are 

designed in accordance with the VDOT Erosion and 

Sediment Control and Stormwater Management Program 

Specifications Manual (24VAC30-91-160), the Virginia 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations, 4VAC50-30 

9VAC25-840, and the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Regulations, 4VAC3-20 Program (VSMP) Regulation, 

9VAC25-870. While these controls may be necessary 

whenever a street maintained by VDOT is widened or 

relocated, the department does not require them in the 

development of new subdivision streets, because such 

activity is regulated by the local governments. However, 

developers and counties may find these controls useful in 

managing land development activity.  

Devices and treatments intended to mitigate the impact of 

stormwater shall be placed off of the right-of-way and shall 

be designed to prevent the backup of water against the 

roadbed.  

Where development activity results in increased runoff to 

the extent that adjustment of an outfall facility is required, 

such adjustment shall be at the developer's expense and be 

contained within an appropriate easement.  

3. Drainage easements.  

a. An acceptable easement shall be provided from all 

drainage outfalls to a natural watercourse, as opposed to 

a swale. (See 24VAC30-91-10 for definitions.)  

b. The department normally accepts and maintains only 

that portion of a drainage system that falls within the 

limits of the dedicated right-of-way for a street. The 

department's responsibility to enter drainage easements 

outside of the dedicated right-of-way shall be limited to 

undertaking corrective measures to alleviate problems 

that may adversely affect the safe operation or integrity 

of the roadway.  

c. In the event drainage to a natural watercourse is not 

accomplished or is interrupted, an acceptable agreement 

from the governing body may be considered as an 

alternative to providing an easement to a natural 

watercourse, provided the agreement acknowledges that 

the department is neither responsible nor liable for 

drainage from the roadway.  

M. Other design considerations.  

1. Guardrail. Guardrail shall be used when required by the 

resident engineer consistent with the Road Design Manual 

(24VAC30-91-160). For placement considerations, see the 

Subdivision Street Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160).  

2. Landscaping and erosion control. All disturbed areas 

within the dedicated right-of-way and easements of any 

subdivision street shall be restored with vegetation 

compatible with the surrounding area. Where there is 

visual evidence of erosion or siltation, acceptance of the 

street as part of the secondary system of state highways 

maintained by the department will be postponed until 

appropriate protective measures, in accordance with 

VDOT's construction practices, are taken. Except as 

otherwise approved by the resident engineer, planting of 

trees or shrubs on the right-of-way shall be in accordance 

with the Subdivision Street Design Guide (24VAC30-91-

160).  

3. Lighting. Roadway, security, or pedestrian lighting, 

when required by the governing body or desired by the 

developer, shall be installed in accordance with the 

Subdivision Street Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160). 

However, VDOT shall not be responsible for the 

maintenance or replacement of lighting fixtures or the 

provision of power for lighting.  

4. Railroad crossings.  

a. Short-arm gates with flashing signals, flashing signals 

alone, or other protective devices as deemed appropriate 

by the department shall be provided at any at-grade 

crossing of an active railroad by a subdivision street.  

b. Crossings of railroad right-of-way are subject to the 

requirements of the railroad. Subdivision streets to be 

accepted by the department for maintenance as part of 

the secondary system of state highways that cross 

railroad right-of-way will only be considered if the 

protective measures outlined under this section have been 

fully installed and an agreement between the railroad, the 

developer and the local governing body has been 

executed. Prior to execution, such agreements shall be 

presented to the department for consideration in 

consultation with the Department of Rail and Public 

Transportation.  

5. Utilities. Local governments, the development 

community, and the utility community are encouraged to 

coordinate and consolidate their interests as part of the 

initial development plan.  

a. Underground utilities. The department allows the 

placement of underground utilities within the dedicated 

right-of-way of streets, but normally restricts placement 

to areas outside of the travel lanes and desirably beyond 

pavement areas. However, if the governing body has 

established adequate requirements for the design, 

location, and construction of underground utilities within 

the right-of-way of subdivision streets, including 

provisions that ensure that adequate testing and 

inspection is performed to minimize future settlement, 

those requirements shall become the department's 

requirements and govern unless those requirements 

conflict with a requirement of the department.  
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When location of the utilities outside of the pavement 

area is not practical and is endorsed by the local 

government through its requirements, such installations:  

(1) Are acceptable within the shoulders along the street 

or within the parking area adjacent to curb and gutter 

roadways.  

(2) May be acceptable beneath the travel lanes of the 

street when provisions are made to ensure adequate 

inspection and compaction tests and:  

(a) Longitudinal installations and manholes are located 

outside of the normal travel lanes, or  

(b) Longitudinal installations and manholes are placed in 

the center of an undivided roadway out of the wheel path.  

However, manholes shall not be placed in sidewalk or 

shared use path facilities within five feet of curb ramps or 

within driveway entrances.  

b. Open-cutting of hard-surfaced roadways. The 

department usually prohibits the open-cutting of hard-

surfaced roads except in extenuating circumstances. 

Therefore, all underground utilities within the right-of-

way, as determined necessary by good engineering 

practice to serve the complete development of adjacent 

properties, shall be installed during the street's initial 

construction and prior to the application of its final 

pavement surface course. This shall include extensions of 

all necessary cross-street connections or service lines to 

an appropriate location beyond the pavement and 

preferably the right-of-way line.  

In the event it is necessary to open the street pavement to 

work on utilities after the surface has been placed, 

additional compaction tests and paving as necessary to 

restore the integrity and appearance of the roadway may 

be required at the discretion of the resident engineer.  

c. Cross-street conduits. To facilitate the placement of 

future underground utilities, cross-street conduits are 

encouraged, with placement of such conduits occurring 

on each street at intersections and approximately every 

1,000 feet along the length of a street.  

d. Aboveground utilities. All aboveground utilities shall 

be installed behind the sidewalk or as close as possible to 

the limits of the street's right-of-way but shall not 

encroach on the sidewalk, the shared use path, or any 

clear zone.  

To assure the unencumbered dedication of the right-of-

way for subdivision street additions, easements or other 

interests within the platted right-of-way shall be 

quitclaimed of any prior rights therein. In exchange, a 

permit may be issued by the department for a utility to 

occupy the area involved. This permit will be processed 

by the resident engineer upon acceptance of the street 

into the secondary system of state highways maintained 

by the department. No inspection fee is required for 

permits so issued. However, the approval of the permit 

shall be contingent upon the utility's compliance with 

applicable provisions of the Land Use Permit 

Regulations.  

Part III  

Reference Section  

24VAC30-91-150. Subdivision street development, plan 

review, and acceptance.  

A. The county-state partnership governing VDOT 

acceptance of new streets for maintenance. Section 33.1-229 

33.2-705 of the Code of Virginia (a Byrd Act provision) 

creates the authority under which local governments establish 

new roads as part of the secondary system of state highways. 

Sections 15.2-2240 and 15.2-2241 of the Code of Virginia 

establish the authority of local subdivision ordinances and the 

authority of counties to set the standards for new streets 

within their territories.  

VDOT's participation in the development and acceptance of 

subdivision streets for maintenance is a cooperative 

commitment of the Commonwealth Transportation Board.  

VDOT's concurrence with or approval of a construction plan 

represents VDOT's commitment to accept the streets shown 

on the plan when satisfactorily constructed and all other 

requirements governing the department's acceptance of streets 

are satisfied, including the governing body's request for the 

acceptance of or transfer of the maintenance and operational 

jurisdiction over the street, as outlined in these requirements.  

Pursuant to these principles:  

1. Local government controls land development activity 

and establishes new streets, the relocation of existing 

streets, and the criteria governing the development of such 

streets.  

2. VDOT establishes the minimum standards that must be 

satisfied for new subdivision streets to be considered for 

maintenance by the department as part of the secondary 

system of state highways under its jurisdiction.  

Within each locality, VDOT is represented by a resident 

engineer or comparable designee.  

B. Street development and acceptance of maintenance 

process.  

1. Concept and construction plan approval phase. The 

proposed construction plan shall be considered incomplete 

in the absence of a preliminary pavement design based on 

the Pavement Design Guide (24VAC30-91-160) and the 

presumed values therein.  

2. Construction phase. Upon approval of the construction 

plan and prior to construction, the resident engineer should 

advise the developer regarding inspection of the 

construction phases and the scheduling of those 

inspections. VDOT approval of each of the following 

phases of construction is recommended.  

a. Installation of any enclosed drainage system before it 

is covered.  
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b. Installation of any enclosed utility placements within 

the right-of-way before being covered.  

c. Construction of the cuts and fills, including field 

density tests, before placement of roadbed base materials.  

d. A final pavement design, based on actual soil 

characteristics and certified tests, shall be completed and 

approved before the pavement structure is placed.  

e. Placement of base materials, including stone depths, 

consistent with the approved pavement design, prior to 

placement of the paving course or courses, followed by 

field density and moisture tests and the placement of a 

paving course as soon as possible.  

f. Construction of pavement, including depth and density, 

upon completion as part of the final inspection.  

3. Street acceptance process. In the absence of any other 

formal acceptance, the governing body's resolution 

requesting the department to accept a street for 

maintenance as part of the secondary system of state 

highways completes the dedication and is deemed to 

constitute the governing body's acceptance of the street.  

4. Post acceptance phase.  

24VAC30-92-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in these 

regulations shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Abandonment" in all its forms means the legislative action 

reserved for and granted to the local governing body to 

extinguish the public's right to a roadway under the 

jurisdiction of the Virginia Department of Transportation 

pursuant to §§ 33.1-151 33.2-909 and 33.1-155 33.2-912 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Accessible route" means a public or private continuous 

unobstructed, stable, firm and slip-resistant path connecting 

all accessible elements of a facility (which may include 

parking access aisles, curb ramps, crosswalks at vehicular 

ways, walks, ramps and lifts) that can be approached, entered 

and used by persons with disabilities. An accessible route 

shall, to the maximum extent feasible, coincide with the route 

for the general public. 

"ADT" means average daily traffic count (see "projected 

traffic"). 

"Applicable former requirements" means the 2005 

Subdivision Street Requirements for developments submitted 

prior to July 1, 2009, and the 2009 edition of the Secondary 

Street Acceptance Requirements for developments submitted 

between July 1, 2009, and January 31, 2012, inclusive. 

"Best management practice" or "BMP" means schedules of 

activities; prohibitions of practices, including both structural 

and nonstructural practices; maintenance procedures; and 

other management practices to prevent or reduce the pollution 

of surface waters and groundwater systems from the impacts 

of land-disturbing activities. 

"Clear zone" means the total border area of a roadway 

including, if any, parking lanes or planting strips that is 

sufficiently wide for an errant vehicle to avoid a serious 

accident. (See the Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT) and 

its Appendix B (1) (the Subdivision Street Design Guide) for 

details.) 

"Commissioner" means the chief executive officer of the 

Virginia Department of Transportation or his designee. 

"Conceptual sketch" means a drawing of the proposed 

development showing the location of existing and proposed 

land uses, any existing and proposed transportation facilities, 

and any additional information required so that the reviewer 

can determine the appropriate functional classification of the 

proposed street or streets and verify if the connectivity 

standards have been met.  

"Cul-de-sac" means a street with only one outlet and having 

an appropriate turnaround for a safe and convenient reverse 

traffic movement. 

"Dam" means an embankment or structure intended or used 

to impound, retain, or store water, either as a permanent pond 

or as a temporary storage facility. 

"Department" or "VDOT" means the Virginia Department of 

Transportation. 

"Design speed" means a speed selected for purposes of 

design and correlation of those features of a street such as 

curvature, super elevation, and sight distance, upon which the 

safe operation of vehicles is dependent. 

"Developer" means an individual, corporation, local 

government, or registered partnership engaged in the 

subdivision, improvement, or renovation of land. 

"Discontinuance," in all its forms, means the legislative act 

of the Commonwealth Transportation Board, pursuant to 

§ 33.1-150 33.2-908 of the Code of Virginia, that determines 

that a road no longer serves public convenience warranting its 

maintenance with funds at the disposal of the department. 

"District administrator" means the department employee 

assigned the overall supervision of the departmental 

operations in one of the Commonwealth's construction 

districts. 

"District administrator's designee" means the department 

employee or employees designated by the district 

administrator to oversee the implementation of this 

regulation. 

"Drainage Manual" means the department's Drainage 

Manual, 2002. 

"Dwelling unit" means a structure or part of a structure 

containing sleeping, kitchen, and bathroom facilities that is 

suitable for occupancy as a home or residence by one or more 

persons. 

"Easement" means a grant of a right to use property of an 

owner for specific or limited purpose.  
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"FAR" means floor area ratio, which is the ratio of the total 

floor area of a building or buildings on a parcel to the land 

area of the parcel where the building or buildings are located. 

"Functional classification" means the assigned classification 

of a roadway based on the roadway's intended purpose of 

providing priority to through traffic movement and access to 

adjoining property as determined by the department, based on 

the federal system of classifying groups of roadways 

according to the character of service they are intended to 

provide. 

"Governing body" means the board of supervisors of the 

county, but may also mean the local governing body of a 

town or city, if appropriate, in the application of these 

requirements. 

"Level of service" means a qualitative measure describing 

operational conditions within a vehicular traffic stream, and 

their perception by motorists and passengers. For the 

purposes of these requirements, the applicable provisions of 

the Highway Capacity Manual, 2010 (TRB) shall serve as the 

basis for determining "levels of service." 

"Locally controlled grade separation structure" means a 

grade separation structure that does not qualify for 

maintenance by the department but was established within the 

right-of-way of a street intended for state maintenance. 

"Local official" means the representative of the governing 

body appointed to serve as its agent in matters relating to 

subdivisions and land development. 

"Multiuse trail" means a facility designed and constructed 

for the purpose of providing bicycle and pedestrian 

transportation, located within a dedicated public way and is 

anticipated to be maintained by an entity other than the 

department. 

"Municipal separate storm sewer system" or "MS4" means 

all separate storm sewers that are designated under 4VAC50-

60-380 9VAC25-870-380 as municipal separate storm sewer 

systems.  

"Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Management 

Program" or "MS4 Program" means a management program 

covering the duration of a permit for a municipal separate 

storm sewer system that includes a comprehensive planning 

process that involves public participation and 

intergovernmental coordination, to reduce the discharge of 

pollutants to the maximum extent practicable, to protect water 

quality, and to satisfy the appropriate water quality 

requirements of the Clean Water Act and corresponding 

regulations and the Virginia Stormwater Management Act 

and attendant regulations, using management practices, 

control techniques, and system, design and engineering 

methods, and such other provisions that are appropriate.  

"Network addition" means a group of interconnected street 

segments and intersections shown in a plan of development 

that are connected to the state highway system. 

"Parking bay" means an off-street area for parking two or 

more vehicles that provides access to a public street. 

"Parking lane" means an area, generally seven or eight feet 

in width, adjacent to and parallel with the travel lane of a 

roadway that is used for parking vehicles. 

"Pavement Design Guide" means the Pavement Design 

Guide for Subdivision and Secondary Roads in Virginia, 

2009 (VDOT). 

"Permit Regulations" means the department's Land Use 

Permit Regulations (24VAC30-151).  

"Phased development (streets)" means the method outlined 

in 24VAC30-92-80 (phased development of streets) whereby 

the acceptance of certain streets into the secondary system of 

state highways may be considered before being completely 

developed in accordance with all applicable requirements 

(e.g., two lanes of a four-lane facility are considered for 

acceptance in advance of lanes three and four being finished). 

"Plan of development" means any site plat, subdivision plan, 

preliminary subdivision plat, conceptual subdivision sketch, 

or other engineered or surveyed drawings depicting proposed 

development of land and street layout, including plans 

included with rezoning proposals. 

"Plans" means the standard drawings, including profile and 

roadway typical section, that show the location, character, 

dimensions, and details for the proposed construction of the 

street. 

"Planting strip" means a section of land between the curb 

face and the pedestrian accommodation or shared use path. 

"Plat" means the schematic representation of the land 

divided or to be divided. 

"Projected traffic" means the number of vehicles, normally 

expressed in average daily traffic (ADT), forecast to travel 

over the segment of the street involved. 

"Public street" means a street dedicated to public use and 

available to the public's unrestricted use without regard to the 

jurisdictional authority responsible for its operation and 

maintenance. 

"Requirements" means the design, construction, public 

benefit, and related administrative considerations herein 

prescribed for the acceptance of a street for maintenance by 

the department as part of the secondary system of state 

highways. 

"Right-of-way" means the land, property, or interest therein, 

usually in a strip, acquired for or devoted to a public street 

designated to become part of the secondary system of state 

highways. 

"Roadway" means the portion of the road or street within the 

limits of construction and all structures, ditches, channels, 

etc., necessary for the correct drainage thereof. 

"Secondary system of state highways" means those public 

roads, streets, bridges, etc., established by a local governing 

body pursuant to § 33.1-229 33.2-705 of the Code of Virginia 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 1, 2014 

466 

and subsequently accepted by the department for supervision 

and maintenance under the provisions of Articles 6 (§ 33.1-67 

et seq.) and 11 (§ 33.1-150 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 33.1 

Article 3 (§ 33.2-324 et seq.) of Chapter 3 and Article 2 

(§ 33.2-908 et seq.) of Chapter 9 of Title 33.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Shared use path" means a facility that is designed and 

constructed according to the Road Design Manual, 2011 

(VDOT), for the purpose of providing bicycle and pedestrian 

transportation. 

"Specifications" means the department's Road and Bridge 

Specifications, 2007, revised 2011, including related 

supplemental specifications and special provisions.  

"Standards" means the applicable drawings and related 

criteria contained in the department's Road and Bridge 

Standards, 2008, revised 2011. 

"Storm sewer system" means a conveyance or system of 

conveyances and its appurtenances, including roads with 

drainage systems, municipal streets, catch basins, curbs, 

gutters, ditches, manmade channels, or storm drains. 

"Street" means any roadway that is created as part of a plan 

of development, other subdivision of land, or is constructed 

by or at the direction of the local governing body and is a 

public way for purposes of vehicular traffic, including the 

entire area within the right-of-way.  

"Stub out" means a transportation facility (i) whose right-of-

way terminates at a parcel abutting the development, (ii) that 

consists of a short segment that is intended to serve current 

and future development by providing continuity and 

connectivity of the public street network, (iii) that based on 

the spacing between the stub out and other streets or stub 

outs, and the current terrain there is a reasonable expectation 

that connection with a future street is possible, and (iv) that is 

constructed to the property line. 

"Subdivision" means the division of a lot, tract, or parcel 

into two or more lots, plats, sites, or other divisions of land 

for the purpose, whether immediate or future, of sale or of 

building development. Any resubdivision of a previously 

subdivided tract or parcel of land shall also be interpreted as a 

"subdivision." The division of a lot or parcel permitted by 

§ 15.2-2244 of the Code of Virginia will not be considered a 

"subdivision" under this definition, provided no new road or 

street is thereby established. However, any further division of 

such parcels shall be considered a "subdivision." 

"Subdivision Street Design Guide" means Appendix B (1) of 

the Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT). 

"Swale" means a broad depression within which stormwater 

may drain during inclement weather, but that does not have a 

defined bed or banks. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" is a water quality 

term that means the sum of the individual wasteload 

allocations for point sources, load allocations (LAs) for 

nonpoint sources, natural background loading and a margin of 

safety. TMDLs can be expressed in terms of either mass per 

time, toxicity, or other appropriate measure. The TMDL 

process provides for point versus nonpoint source trade-offs. 

"Traveled way" means the portion of the secondary street 

designated for the movement of vehicles, exclusive of 

shoulders, parking areas, turn lanes, etc. 

"Tree well" means an opening on a sidewalk, generally 

abutting the curb, where a tree may be planted.  

"VPD" means vehicles per day. 

"VPH" means vehicles per hour. 

"Wasteload allocation" or "wasteload" or "WLA" means the 

portion of a receiving surface water's loading or assimilative 

capacity allocated to one of its existing or future point sources 

of pollution. WLAs are a type of water quality-based effluent 

limitation. 

"Watercourse" means a defined channel with bed and banks 

within which water flows, either continuously or periodically. 

24VAC30-92-20. Applicability, effective date, and 

transition. 

A. Applicability. This regulation is intended to govern 

secondary street development and the criteria for acceptance 

of these streets by the department for subsequent 

maintenance. The Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT) and 

its Appendix B (1), the Subdivision Street Design Guide offer 

guidance on the design and construction features of secondary 

street development and set out design parameters deemed 

appropriate for most land development scenarios. However, 

the business of land development is fluid and the department, 

in consultation with the local official, is prepared to consider 

innovative transportation approaches associated with land 

development proposals that are consistent with the design and 

connectivity requirements of this chapter and the Subdivision 

Street Design Guide, Appendix B (1) of the Road Design 

Manual, 2011 (VDOT). However, when not specifically 

addressed in one of those documents, the relevant 

requirements of the Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT), 

standards, specifications, the Pavement Design Guide for 

Subdivision and Secondary Roads in Virginia, 2009 (VDOT) 

and associated instructions shall govern. 

These requirements apply to all streets designated to be 

maintained by the department as part of the secondary system 

of state highways, except for streets whose construction was 

funded by state highway construction allocations. The 

department's review and approval shall apply only to streets 

proposed for addition to the secondary system of state 

highways maintained by the department. Any plans submitted 

for review that contain only streets proposed for maintenance 

by entities other than the department may be reviewed for 

general guidance at the discretion of the district administrator 

but will not be officially approved. However, any such review 

shall not represent the department's commitment to accept 

such streets for maintenance irrespective of the quality of the 

construction of the street or streets. 
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Any streets proposed to be privately maintained shall have a 

notation on the plat and impacted deeds that clearly indicates 

that as a prerequisite for the streets' future acceptance, the 

streets must be improved to the department's prevailing 

requirements for acceptance at no cost to the department. All 

notations made on plats or similar instruments pursuant to 

this section shall be in accordance with § 33.1-72.2 33.2-336 

of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Grandfathering. 

1. Streets where the street layout has been proffered 

pursuant to § 15.2-2297, 15.2-2298, or 15.2-2303 of the 

Code of Virginia prior to February 1, 2012, may, at the 

discretion of the developer, be considered for acceptance in 

accordance with the applicable former requirements, 

provided the requirements of § 15.2-2307 of the Code of 

Virginia have been met. This grandfathering shall not 

apply to any streets where the proffered layout may be 

adjusted, without requiring a significant affirmative 

governmental zoning action to modify such proffered 

conditions, to meet the requirements of this chapter, unless 

a site plan, subdivision plat, or preliminary plat relying on 

such proffered street layout has been submitted for 

approval prior to February 1, 2012. In such instances the 

grandfathering may, at the discretion of the developer, 

apply to the applicable site plan, subdivision plat, or 

preliminary subdivision plat. Notwithstanding any other 

provision of this subsection, the grandfathering provided 

based upon proffers shall not be lost or adversely impacted 

due to a modification of the relevant plan or plat so long as 

no more than 20% (cumulative) of the original street 

centerline mileage is eliminated, realigned, or added 

compared to the proffered layout and the modification is 

not expected to result in an increase in traffic generation. 

2. Streets that are part of a recorded plat or final site plan 

valid pursuant to § 15.2-2261 of the Code of Virginia and 

approved in accordance with §§ 15.2-2286 and 15.2-2241 

through 15.2-2245 and 15.2-2286 of the Code of Virginia 

prior to February 1, 2012, shall be considered for 

acceptance in accordance with the applicable former 

requirements as long as such plats or plans remain valid 

under applicable law. However, such streets may be 

considered for acceptance under requirements of this 

chapter at the discretion of the developer. 

3. Streets that are part of a preliminary subdivision plat 

valid pursuant to § 15.2-2260 of the Code of Virginia 

approved in accordance with §§ 15.2-2286 and 15.2-2241 

through 15.2-2245 and 15.2-2286 of the Code of Virginia 

prior to February 1, 2012, shall be considered for 

acceptance in accordance with the applicable former 

requirements for a period of up to five years or such longer 

period as such preliminary subdivision plat is valid under 

applicable law, provided the requirements of § 15.2-2260 

of the Code of Virginia have been met. Such 

grandfathering shall apply to construction plans, site plans, 

and final plats submitted and approved in furtherance of 

such preliminary subdivision plat for as long as such plans 

or plats remain valid under applicable law. However, such 

streets may be considered for acceptance under 

requirements of this chapter at the discretion of the 

developer. 

4. Streets that are part of a street construction plan 

approved by the department prior to February 1, 2012, 

shall be considered for acceptance in accordance with the 

applicable former requirements. However, such streets may 

be considered for acceptance under requirements of this 

chapter at the discretion of the developer. 

5. If requested by the applicable locality, the applicable 

former requirements shall apply if the applicant has 

submitted at a minimum a conceptual sketch that includes 

all of the elements required under 24VAC30-92-70 A prior 

to February 1, 2012. Subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

subsection shall take precedence over this subdivision in 

any instances of a conflict.  

C. Effective date. All streets proposed for acceptance by the 

department after January 1, 2012, shall be considered for 

acceptance in accordance with this chapter, except as 

provided for in this section and as may be waived by the 

commissioner pursuant to this chapter. 

D. Transition. Prior to February 1, 2012, the department will 

consider complete plats and plans developed in accordance 

with the applicable former requirements or these 

requirements. Any plat or plan initially submitted to the 

department for consideration after January 31, 2012, 

however, shall be in accordance with these requirements. 

24VAC30-92-60. Public benefit requirements. 

A. Public benefit. A street or network addition may only be 

accepted by the department for maintenance as part of the 

secondary system of state highways if it provides sufficient 

public benefit to justify perpetual public maintenance as 

defined by this chapter. A street shall be considered to 

provide sufficient public benefit if it meets or exceeds the 

public service, pedestrian accommodation, and connectivity 

requirements of this chapter. 

B. Public service requirements. In the event the governing 

body requests the addition of a street or network addition 

before it meets these public service provisions, the district 

administrator will review each request on an individual case 

basis and determine if the acceptance of a street prior to 

normal service requirements is justified, provided the street or 

network addition meets all other applicable requirements 

including the connectivity requirements of this chapter. At the 

request of the local governing body, subject to approval by 

the district administrator, the public service requirements may 

be reduced for individual streets serving state or local 

economic development projects. 
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1. Individual streets. For the purpose of these requirements, 

public service may include, but is not necessarily limited 

to, streets meeting one or more of the following situations: 

a. Serves three or more occupied units with a unit being a 

single-family residence, owner-occupied apartment, 

owner-occupied residence in a qualifying manufactured 

home park, a stand-alone business, or single business 

entity occupying an individual building, or other similar 

facility. Also, streets serving manufactured home parks 

may only be considered when the land occupied by the 

manufactured home is in fee simple ownership by the 

residents of such manufactured home. 

b. Constitutes a connecting segment between other streets 

that qualify from the point of public service. 

c. Such street is a stub out. 

d. Serves as access to schools, churches, public sanitary 

landfills, transfer stations, public recreational facilities, 

or similar facilities open to public use. 

e. Serves at least 100 vehicles per day generated by an 

office building, industrial site, or other similar 

nonresidential land use in advance of the occupancy of 

three or more such units of varied proprietorship. Any 

addition under this provision shall be limited to the 

segment of a street that serves this minimum projected 

traffic and has been developed in compliance with these 

requirements. 

f. Constitutes a part of the network of streets envisioned 

in the transportation plan or element of a locality's 

comprehensive plan that, at the time of acceptance, 

serves an active traffic volume of at least 100 vehicles 

per day. 

2. Multifamily, townhouse, and retail shopping complexes. 

A through street that serves a multifamily building may be 

considered for maintenance as part of the secondary system 

of state highways if it is deemed by the department to 

provide a public service and provided it is well defined and 

the district administrator's designee determines that it is not 

a travel way through a parking lot.  

Entrance streets and the internal traffic circulation systems 

of retail shopping complexes qualify only if more than 

three property owners are served and the district 

administrator's designee determines that it is not a travel 

way through a parking lot. 

3. Network additions. A network addition shall be 

considered to provide service if each street within the 

addition meets at least one of the criteria in subdivision 1 

of this subsection. 

4. Special exceptions. There may be other sets of 

circumstances that could constitute public service. 

Consequently, any request for clarification regarding 

unclear situations should be made in writing to the district 

administrator's designee.  

C. Connectivity requirements. All streets in a development 

as shown in a plan of development shall be considered for 

acceptance into the secondary system of state highways as 

one or multiple network additions. However, streets with a 

functional classification of collector and above may be 

eligible for acceptance as individual streets. 

For the purposes of this subsection, connection shall mean a 

street connection to an adjacent property or a stub out that 

will allow for future street connection to an adjacent property.  

The connectivity requirements of this chapter shall not apply 

to the following: a frontage road or reverse frontage road as 

defined in the Access Management Regulations: Principal 

Arterials (24VAC30-72) or Access Management Regulations: 

Minor Arterials, Collectors, and Local Streets (24VAC-30-

73), streets petitioned for acceptance into the secondary 

system of state highways through the Rural Addition Program 

pursuant to §§ 33.1-72.1 33.2-335 and 33.1-72.2 33.2-336 of 

the Code of Virginia, or streets petitioned for acceptance into 

the secondary system of state highways through the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board's Rural Addition Policy 

provided such streets were constructed prior to January 1, 

2012. 

1. Stub out connection standard. If a stub out or stub outs 

maintained by the department adjoin the property of a 

development with a network addition or individual street 

proposed for acceptance into the secondary system of state 

highways, such network addition or individual street must 

connect to such stub out or stub outs to be eligible for 

acceptance into the secondary system of state highways. 

The district administrator may waive this requirement if 

the existing stub out is of such design as to make such a 

connection unsafe.  

2. Multiple connections in multiple directions standard. 

The streets within a network addition may be accepted into 

the secondary system of state highways if the network 

addition  

provides at least two external connections, one of which 

must be to a publicly maintained highway and the other 

providing a connection to a different highway or a stub out 

to an adjoining property. Local street stub outs generally 

should not exceed 500 feet in length. If a stub out is 

constructed, the applicant shall post a sign in accordance 

with the department's standards that indicates that such 

stub out is a site for a future roadway connection. Nothing 

in this chapter shall be construed as to prohibit a stub out 

from providing service to lots within a development. The 

district administrator's designee shall waive or modify the 

second required connection of this standard if one or more 

of the following situations renders the provision of such 

connection impracticable: 

a. The adjoining property is completely built out, its state 

is such that redevelopment within 20 years is unlikely, 

and there is no stub out (either constructed or platted) to 

the property served by the network addition; 
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b. The adjoining property is zoned for a use whose traffic 

is incompatible with the development being served by the 

network addition, providing, however, that in no case 

shall retail, residential, or office uses be considered 

incompatible with other retail, residential, or office uses; 

or 

c. There is no reasonable connection possible to 

adjoining property or adjacent highways due to a factor 

outside the control of the developer of the network 

addition, such as the presence of conservation easements 

not put in place by the developer of the network addition, 

water features such as rivers or lakes, jurisdictional 

wetlands, grades in excess of 15% whose total elevation 

change is greater than five feet, limited access highways, 

railroads, or government property to which access is 

restricted. 

3. Additional connections standard. Network additions 

providing direct access to (i) more than 200 dwelling units 

or (ii) lots whose trip generation is expected to be over 

2,000 VPD may be accepted into the secondary system of 

state highways if the network addition provides an 

additional external connection beyond that required under 

subdivision 2 of this subsection for each additional 200 

dwelling units or 2,000 VPD or portion of each over and 

above the initial 200 dwelling units or 2,000 VPD. For the 

purposes of this requirement, each external connection of 

collector facilities that are elements of the county's 

transportation plan and to which there is no direct lot 

access provided counts as two external connections. The 

district administrator's designee shall waive or modify this 

additional connections standard if one or more of the 

following situations renders the provision of such 

connection impracticable: 

a. The adjoining property is completely built out, its state 

is such that redevelopment within 20 years is unlikely, 

and there is no stub out (either constructed or platted) to 

the property served by the network addition;  

b. The adjoining property is zoned for a use whose traffic 

is incompatible with the development being served by the 

network addition, providing, however, that in no case 

shall retail, residential, or office uses be considered 

incompatible with retail, residential, or office uses; 

c. In developments with a median density of more than 

eight lots per acre or with a FAR of 0.4 or higher, where 

the number of connections provided would be contrary to 

the public interest; or 

d. There is no reasonable connection possible to 

adjoining property or adjacent highways due to a factor 

outside the control of the developer of the network 

addition, such as the presence of conservation easements 

not put in place by the developer of the network addition, 

water features such as rivers or lakes, jurisdictional 

wetlands, grades in excess of 15% whose total elevation 

change is greater than five feet, limited access highways, 

railroads, or government property to which access is 

restricted. 

4. Individual street standard. Streets that are not part of a 

network addition shall be accepted into the secondary 

system of state highways upon petition by the local 

governing body as long as they meet the requirements of 

the applicable design standard and one terminus of the 

street is an intersection with a roadway that is part of the 

existing publicly maintained highway network and the 

other terminus is either an intersection with a roadway that 

is part of the existing publicly maintained highway 

network or a stub out to an adjoining property. Streets 

considered for individual acceptance should be (i) streets 

that provide a connection between two existing publicly 

maintained streets or (ii) streets with a functional 

classification as collector or higher. 

5. Connectivity exceptions.  

Where the above standards for waiver or modification 

have been met, the connectivity requirements for a 

network addition shall be waived or modified by the 

district administrator's designee. The developer shall 

submit any request for connectivity waiver or 

modification to the district administrator's designee with 

a copy to the local official. The district administrator's 

designee shall respond to requests for connectivity 

exceptions within 30 calendar days of receipt of a 

request. For projects where a scoping meeting pursuant 

to the Traffic Impact Analysis regulations Regulations 

(24VAC30-155) will be held, requests for exceptions and 

supporting data should be presented and discussed.  

6. In instances where there is potential for conflict between 

this chapter and the Access Management Regulations: 

Principal Arterials (24VAC30-72) or the Access 

Management Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and 

Local Streets (24VAC30-73), the following shall apply: 

a. For streets with a functional classification of collector 

where additional connections necessary to meet the 

connectivity requirements of this chapter cannot be 

accommodated within the applicable spacing standards 

and cannot otherwise be met through connections to 

lower order roadways or stub outs, such spacing 

standards shall be modified by the district administrator's 

designee to allow for such connection. Such connection 

or connections shall be required to meet intersection sight 

distance standards specified in the Road Design Manual, 

2011 (VDOT). 

b. For streets with a functional classification of minor 

arterial where additional connections necessary to meet 

the connectivity requirements of this chapter cannot be 

accommodated within the applicable spacing standards 

and cannot otherwise be met through connections to 

lower order roadways or stub outs, the district 

administrator's designee shall, in consultation with the 

developer and the local official, either modify the 
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applicable spacing standards to allow for such connection 

or connections, or modify the connectivity requirements 

of this chapter to account for the inability to make such 

connection. Such connection shall be required to meet 

intersection sight distance as specified in the Road 

Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT). 

c. For streets with a functional classification of principal 

arterial where additional connections necessary to meet 

the external connectivity requirements of this chapter 

cannot be accommodated within the applicable spacing 

standards and cannot otherwise be met through 

connections to lower order roadways or stub outs, the 

connectivity requirements shall be modified by the 

district administrator's designee to account for the 

inability to make such connection. 

7. Failure to connect. If a local government approves a 

subdivision plat for a new development that does not 

connect to a stub out or stub outs in an adjacent 

development and such development's network addition or 

individual street would meet the applicable requirements of 

this chapter if it connected to a stub out or stub outs in the 

adjacent development, the network addition or individual 

street may or may not be accepted into the secondary 

system of state highways for maintenance pursuant to the 

authority granted to the district administrators in 

accordance with 24VAC30-92-100.  

24VAC30-92-120. Design and agreement requirements. 

A. General requirements. Most criteria addressing the design 

of new streets can be found in the Road Design Manual, 2011 

(VDOT) and its Appendix B (1), the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide. However, the following provisions are 

provided for guidance, particularly in regard to features that 

require agreements or formal acknowledgements of the 

governing body before VDOT's acceptance of the street or 

streets within a development. 

When an agreement is required between the local governing 

body and the department as a prerequisite to the acceptance of 

a street, nothing in these requirements shall preclude the local 

governing body from entering into separate agreements with 

other entities to fulfill its responsibilities. However, if the 

provisions are intended to ensure the safety of the public 

using the street, the department reserves the right to approve 

the involvement of the other party or parties. 

All streets functionally classified as local shall have a design 

speed equal to the posted speed limit, except for streets 

functionally classified as local with a projected traffic volume 

of 400 vehicles per day or less, which may have a design 

speed less than the posted speed limit. 

The department, locality, and developer shall take measures 

to minimize the impacts of through traffic on streets 

functionally classified as local and accepted into the 

secondary system of state highways under these regulations. 

Such measures shall include initial street designs that manage 

motor vehicle speed to match local context. 

B. Geometric requirements. Geometric requirements for new 

streets are established in the Road Design Manual, 2011 

(VDOT) and its Appendix B (1), the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide. Sufficient off-street parking must be provided 

by the local governing body in accordance with this chapter if 

streets in a proposed network addition are constructed in 

accordance with design requirements for streets with off-

street parking. 

C. Turn lanes. Left or right turn lanes shall be provided at 

intersections when the department determines that projected 

turning movements warrant their installation. These facilities 

shall be designed in accordance with the Road Design 

Manual, 2011 (VDOT) and its Appendix B (1), the 

Subdivision Street Design Guide and, if necessary, additional 

right-of-way shall be provided to accommodate these 

facilities. 

D. Pavement structure. 

1. Pavement design. The pavement structure for new 

streets shall be in accordance with the Pavement Design 

Guide for Subdivision and Secondary Roads in Virginia, 

2009 (VDOT), including any prescribed underdrains. Prior 

to construction of the pavement sub-base and finish 

courses, the district administrator's designee shall approve 

the proposed pavement design. 

2. Special pavement surfaces. The district administrator's 

designee may approve special pavement surfaces, such as 

the use of stamped pavement. However, if the pavement 

design is a type not addressed by the Pavement Design 

Guide for Subdivision and Secondary Roads in Virginia, 

2009 (VDOT), an agreement shall be provided by the 

governing body that addresses the future maintenance of 

such pavement. 

3. Pavement additions to existing streets. When an existing 

VDOT-maintained roadway is to be widened to 

accommodate additional lanes or the addition of turn lanes, 

the necessary pavement design shall be obtained from the 

district administrator's designee and the entire surface of 

the roadway (old and new portions) may be required to be 

overlaid and restriped if required by the district 

administrator's designee. The district administrator's 

designee shall not require the entire surface of the roadway 

to be overlaid and restriped when the only pavement 

addition to the existing roadway was for bicycle lanes 

unless extenuating circumstances require that the entire 

surface of the roadway be overlaid and restriped. 

E. Parking. 

1. Perpendicular and angle parking along streets is 

normally prohibited. However, perpendicular and angle 

parking along streets may be considered if the features 

along the street cause the street to readily appear to be a 

street rather than a travel way through a parking lot. 

Street design that anticipates limited or no on-street 

parking shall be approved when sufficient off-street 
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parking is provided in accordance with this chapter. Street 

design that anticipates the restriction of on-street parking 

on one side of the street shall be approved when sufficient 

off-street parking is provided for buildings on the side of 

the street where it is anticipated parking will be restricted. 

2. For streets designed without on-street parking, a 

minimum of two off-street parking spaces per dwelling 

unit shall be provided in proximity of the unit that they are 

intended to serve. Such spaces, which may be provided in a 

parking bay, driveway, or garage facilities, shall be 

provided outside of the street's right-of-way. The district 

administrator's designee may approve lesser parking 

requirements for individual developments or classes of 

developments when evidence is presented to support such 

an approval such as proximity to transit service or the 

nature of the development. Entrances to parking bays and 

garage facilities shall be designed in accordance with the 

appropriate provisions of the Access Management 

Regulations: Principal Arterials (24VAC30-72) and Access 

Management Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and 

Local Streets (24VAC30-73). 

3. In instances where the local governing body has 

determined, through adoption of a parking ordinance or 

other similar ordinance, that lesser parking requirements 

are sufficient for certain classes of development, such 

lesser requirements shall govern. 

4. The department shall not prohibit roadway design that 

allows for the provision of on-street parking on any 

roadway with a functional classification of collector or 

local where the posted speed limit is 35 miles per hour or 

less. 

F. Cul-de-sacs and turnarounds. An adequate turnaround 

facility shall be provided at the end of each cul-de-sac to 

permit the safe and convenient maneuvering by service 

vehicles. Various configurations of turnarounds are illustrated 

in the Subdivision Street Design Guide (Appendix B (1) of 

the Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT)); however, 

alternative configurations may be approved by the district 

administrator's designee. Additional right-of-way shall be 

provided as required by the design of the turnaround. 

Normally, any nontraveled way areas within the turnaround, 

such as an island, shall be included in the dedicated right-of-

way of the facility unless the department and the locality are 

able to reach an agreement for the maintenance of such 

nontraveled way areas. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit 

the provision of stormwater management facilities in the 

nontraveled way areas of a cul-de-sac, provided the 

requirements of subsection L of this section are met. 

For circular turnarounds, a well-defined, identifiable street 

segment, equal to the normal lot width along the intersected 

street that serves the cul-de-sac, or 50 feet, whichever is 

greater, shall extend from the intersected street to the turning 

area. 

G. Curb and gutter. For the purpose of these requirements, 

the use of curb and gutter is an acceptable roadway design, 

rather than a requirement. However, when used, curb and 

gutter shall be designed in accordance with the Road Design 

Manual and the Subdivision Street Design Guide (Appendix 

B (1) of the Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT)) and only 

one curb and gutter design may be used along the length of a 

street. 

1. Driveway entrance requirements. Without regard to the 

curb design used, the curb shall incorporate a driveway 

entrance apron, as illustrated in the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide (Appendix B (1) of the Road Design 

Manual, 2011 (VDOT)), to provide a smooth transition 

from the gutter invert or roadway surface onto the 

driveway. 

2. Curb ramps. All streets that incorporate accessible routes 

for pedestrian use shall, without regard to the curb design 

used, include curb ramps at intersections for use by persons 

with disabilities and shall incorporate other applicable 

provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act (42 USC 

§ 12101 et seq.). 

H. Private entrances. All private entrances shall be designed 

and constructed in accordance with the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide (Appendix B (1) of the Road Design Manual, 

2011 (VDOT)). 

I. Pedestrian, bicycle, and shared use path facilities. The 

Commonwealth Transportation Board's "Policy for 

Integrating Bicycle and Pedestrian Accommodations," 2004 

emphasizes accommodating pedestrian and bicycle traffic. 

Any street proposed for VDOT acceptance shall 

accommodate pedestrian and bicycle traffic in accordance 

with the Commonwealth Transportation Board's policy and 

this chapter. Pedestrian and bicycle facilities should be 

generally uniform between intersections and included in the 

initial construction of the street, prior to VDOT acceptance.  

1. Pedestrian accommodation requirements. Pedestrian 

accommodations shall be provided based upon density of 

development, the plans for or existence of public schools in 

the vicinity, the presence of existing pedestrian 

accommodations, and the operational nature of the fronting 

street. In all developments with pedestrian 

accommodations, such accommodations shall connect with 

existing pedestrian accommodations and allow for 

connection to future pedestrian accommodations to 

adjacent parcels. If multiple requirements apply to a street, 

the greater accommodation requirement shall govern. The 

district administrator's designee may waive or modify these 

requirements for the provision of pedestrian 

accommodations in situations when the accommodation 

exception provisions of the Commonwealth Transportation 

Board's policy are met. 

a. Pedestrian accommodations shall be provided along 

both sides of the street or provisions made that provide 

equivalent pedestrian mobility for streets with an ADT 
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over 400 that are located in a development with a median 

lot size of one-quarter acre or smaller or when the ADT 

for the street is over 8,000.  

b. Pedestrian accommodations shall be provided along at 

least one side of the street or provisions made that 

provide equivalent pedestrian mobility for streets with an 

ADT over 400 that are located in a development with a 

median lot size between one-quarter acre and one-half 

acre or when the ADT for the street is between 2,000 and 

8,000.  

c. Pedestrian accommodations shall be provided along at 

least one side of the street or provisions made that 

provide equivalent pedestrian mobility within one-half 

street centerline mile of a public school. 

d. When connecting to a stub street that has pedestrian 

accommodations, the new street shall also include 

pedestrian accommodations. 

e. Pedestrian accommodations shall be provided along 

both sides of, or provisions made that provide equivalent 

pedestrian mobility along, streets functionally classified 

as collectors or arterials with three or more travel lanes. 

In no instance shall any sidewalk abut the curb or the 

edge of a collector or higher order street, unless the 

sidewalk is at least eight feet wide. In such instances tree 

wells shall be provided. In instances where it is necessary 

to retrofit streets with pedestrian accommodations to 

allow the streets to be accepted into the secondary system 

of state highways, the pedestrian accommodations less 

than eight feet wide may abut the curb or the edge of the 

street. 

2. Maintenance of pedestrian and bicycle accommodations. 

Pedestrian and bicycle facilities are eligible for VDOT 

acceptance and maintenance based on the criteria of this 

section. A copy of an agreement or other document 

showing the proposed maintenance responsibilities of 

pedestrian and bicycle facilities shall be provided to VDOT 

for any pedestrian accommodation outside of the VDOT 

right-of-way that is used to meet the accommodation 

requirements of this subsection.  

a. Compliant facilities. Pedestrian and bicycle facilities, 

including shared use shared-use paths as defined under 

§ 46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, shall be accepted as 

part of the street or network addition, unless otherwise 

requested by the governing body, provided they are 

located fully within the dedicated right-of-way of the 

street and they are constructed in accordance with 

applicable criteria and standards of the department. 

(1) Sidewalk criteria. Sidewalks shall be constructed in 

accordance with the Subdivision Street Design Guide 

(Appendix B (1) of the Road Design Manual, 2011 

(VDOT)). 

(2) Bicycle facility criteria. Bicycle facilities contiguous 

with the street shall be in accordance with the 

department's design and construction criteria set forth in 

the Road Design Manual, 2011. 

(3) Shared use path criteria. Shared use paths shall be 

constructed in accordance with the Road Design Manual, 

2011 and closely follow the vertical alignment of the 

roadway without meandering on and off the right-of-way. 

b. Noncompliant sidewalk, bicycle, and shared use paths. 

Noncompliant sidewalk, bicycle, and shared use paths 

that fail to meet requirements of the department's 

standards for construction, alignment, or placement 

within the dedicated right-of-way of the street shall be 

deemed to be noncompliant and not qualify for 

maintenance unless a design waiver or exemption is 

granted by the department. Noncompliant sidewalks and 

shared use paths may be constructed of stabilizer 

convenient to the applicant. Noncompliant facilities may 

co-exist within the dedicated right-of-way of the street 

under a land use permit issued by the district 

administrator's designee to the local governing body 

responsible for having established the facility through its 

subdivision process or other development process. 

Such permits will clearly specify the responsibility for 

maintenance of the facility and related activities to the 

extent the facility occupies the street's right-of-way. The 

permit applicant should be an entity that can be 

reasonably expected to have perpetual maintenance 

capability.  

J. Bridge, drainage, and other grade separation structures. 

Bridges, drainage, and other grade separation structures shall 

be designed and constructed in accordance with all applicable 

department criteria and standards. The district administrator's 

designee may require special review of the plans and 

construction inspection. 

The department will accept grade separation structures as 

part of new streets, provided the structure is a drainage 

structure or is intended to separate the movement of 

registered motor vehicles. In addition, the department will 

accept grade separation structures intended to separate 

pedestrians or bicyclists or any combination thereof from 

traffic using the roadway, provided: 

1. The structure is available for unrestricted public use; 

2. The structure is accessible to pedestrian 

accommodations situated along the street; and 

3. The projected traffic volume of the street is (i) not less 

than 4,000 ADT or (ii) if the structure otherwise serves as 

part of the principal pedestrian access to a school or a mass 

transit facility including stops and stations and a peak hour 

traffic volume of 450 VPH or greater. 

In all other instances, the grade separation structure shall be 

deemed to be a locally controlled grade separation structure 

within the right-of-way of the street, in which case the street 

will only be accepted as part of the secondary system of state 

highways maintained by the department after the local 
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governing body and the department have executed an 

agreement acceptable to the department that (i) acknowledges 

the department has no responsibility or liability due to the 

presence of the structure and (ii) assures the burden and costs 

of inspection, maintenance, and future improvements to the 

structure are provided from sources other than those 

administered by the department. 

In all cases, whether the structure is accepted as an integral 

part of the roadway for maintenance by the department or it 

remains a locally controlled structure, the lighting, safety, and 

security of those using such facilities shall remain a 

responsibility of local government. 

K. Dams. The department will only consider accepting 

streets for maintenance that traverse dams when all of the 

following provisions are satisfied. For the purpose of this 

section, a roadway will be considered to traverse a dam if any 

part of the fill for the roadway and the fill for the dam overlap 

or if the area between the two embankments is filled in so that 

the downstream face of the dam is obscured or if a closed 

drainage facility from a dam extends under a roadway fill. 

1. Agreements with the governing body. Except as exempt 

under subdivision 6 of this subsection, the governing body 

acknowledges by formal agreement the department's 

liability is limited to the maintenance of the roadway and 

that the department has no responsibility or liability due to 

the presence of the dam, the maintenance of which shall 

remain the responsibility of an owner, other than the 

department, as established by § 33.1-176 33.2-409 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. Design review. An engineer licensed to practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia shall certify that the hydraulic 

and structural design of any dam, as described below, is in 

accordance with current national and state engineering 

practice and that all pertinent provisions of the Subdivision 

Street Design Guide (Appendix B (1) of the Road Design 

Manual, 2011 (VDOT)) have been considered. Prior to 

approval of the roadway construction plans, the hydraulic 

and structural design of a proposed dam shall be reviewed 

by the department and meet the department's satisfaction 

if: 

a. A roadway is considered to traverse a dam; or 

b. A roadway is located below but sufficiently close to 

the dam that a catastrophic breach could endanger the 

roadway or the safety of those using the roadway. 

3. Right-of-way requirements. The right-of-way of roads 

considered to occupy dams shall be recorded either as an 

easement for public road purposes or as a dedication 

specifically to the governing body. Right-of-way dedicated 

in the name of the Commonwealth or any of its agencies is 

not acceptable if it includes a dam, and roads through such 

right-of-way will not be accepted as a part of the secondary 

system of state highways maintained by the department. 

4. Supplemental, alternative access. To be considered for 

VDOT maintenance, roadways that traverse a dam must be 

supplemented by an appropriate alternative roadway 

facility for public ingress or egress having suitable 

provisions that ensure perpetual maintenance. 

5. Permits. All applicable federal and state permits 

associated with dams shall be secured and filed with the 

locality prior to VDOT's acceptance of any street that 

traverses a dam. 

6. Dams exempt from agreements. The acceptance of 

roadways that traverse dams shall be exempt from the 

requirements for an agreement with the governing body, as 

required by subdivision 1 of this subsection, if all of the 

following is satisfied: 

a. The dam is used to create a stormwater detention or 

retention facility; 

b. The maximum depth of the water retained by the 

impoundment at its 100-year storm flood elevation is not 

greater than four feet; and 

c. The surface area of the impoundment at full flood is 

not greater than two acres and is beyond the right-of-way 

dedicated to public use. 

L. Roadway drainage. 

1. Policy and procedures. All drainage facilities shall be 

designed in accordance with the department's Drainage 

Manual, 2002 and supplemental directives or the 

Subdivision Street Design Guide (Appendix B (1) of the 

Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT)) as may be 

appropriate. All drainage computations supporting a 

proposed drainage design shall be submitted to the 

department for review as part of the documents necessary 

for the approval of a construction plan. 

2. Stormwater management. Whereas the department 

considers matters regarding stormwater management 

associated with the construction of streets to be under the 

authority of the local governing body, decisions regarding 

stormwater management in the construction of streets are 

deferred to the locality. However, stormwater 

management, including the construction of detention or 

retention facilities, or both, is recognized as an available 

design alternative or BMP for water quantity, quality, or 

both. Where the developer is required by regulations 

promulgated by an agency or governmental subdivision 

other than the department or the developer chooses to use 

stormwater management facilities in the design of a 

subdivision or other development, the governing body 

shall, by formal agreement, and as a prerequisite for the 

transfer of jurisdiction over the street to the department, 

acknowledge that the department is not responsible for the 

operation, maintenance, retrofitting, or liability of the 

stormwater management facility or facilities associated 

with the subdivision or the development. Any retrofits 

required to comply with a TMDL WLA will be the 
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responsibility of the locality. However, in the event the 

governing body has executed a comprehensive, 

localitywide agreement with the department addressing 

these matters, a specific agreement addressing stormwater 

management controls in the subdivision or development 

will not be required as a condition for street acceptance. 

Stormwater management controls for VDOT projects are 

to be designed in accordance with the approved VDOT 

Erosion and Sediment Control and Stormwater 

Management Program Standards and Specifications, 2010, 

as annually approved by the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation State Water Control Board, the Virginia 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations (4VAC50-30) 

(9VAC25-840), and the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Program (VSMP) Permit Regulations (4VAC50-60) 

Regulation (9VAC25-870), and, if applicable, VDOT's 

MS4 Program Plan, 2008. While these controls may be 

necessary whenever a street maintained by the department 

is widened or relocated, the department does not require 

them in the development of new streets because such 

activity is regulated by the local governments. However, 

developers and counties may find these controls useful in 

managing land development activity. 

Generally devices and treatments intended to mitigate the 

impact of stormwater shall be placed off of the right-of-

way and shall be designed to prevent the backup of water 

against the roadbed. However, such devices and treatments 

may be placed within the right-of-way if the department 

and the local governing body have executed an agreement 

that (i) acknowledges the department has no responsibility 

or liability due to the presence of the devices or treatments, 

or both; (ii) assures the burden and costs of inspection, 

maintenance, VSMP permit requirements, TMDL WLA 

requirements, retrofitting or other future improvements to 

the devices and treatments, or other costs related to the 

placement of such devices or treatments within the right-

of-way are provided from sources other than those 

administered by the department; (iii) a professional 

engineer licensed by the Commonwealth or the 

manufacturer as required by the department, certifies the 

construction of the facility to plans reviewed by the 

department; and (iv) design requirements of the facility are 

included in the department's Drainage Manual, 2002, the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Stormwater 

Management Handbook, First Edition, 1999, or 

supplemental directives. 

Where development activity results in increased runoff to 

the extent that adjustment of an outfall facility is required, 

such adjustment shall be at the developer's expense and 

shall be contained within an appropriate easement. 

The department is required to implement the Municipal 

Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) permit for facilities 

located on its right-of-way. To comply with these 

requirements, the local governing body shall provide to the 

district administrator's designee all aspects of a proposed 

development's storm sewer system and associated 

stormwater management plan that are pertinent to the 

locality's or the department's MS4 permit. Additionally, the 

local governing body shall provide to the district 

administrator's designee an inventory of all outfalls to 

waters of the United States, physical interconnections with 

other stormwater systems, stormwater management 

devices, or both related to the project that are located 

within VDOT right-of-way as a condition of street 

acceptance in accordance with the VDOT MS4 Stormwater 

Outfall Inventory Manual, 2011. VDOT shall not accept a 

street for maintenance as part of the secondary system of 

state highways that are not in compliance with conditions 

of the pertinent MS4 permit and VDOT's MS4 Program 

Plan, 2008, as such conditions existed at the time of the 

relevant street construction plan's approval. VDOT shall 

not accept a street for maintenance if there is an illicit 

discharge to the system, as defined by 4VAC50-60-

10  9VAC25-870-10 until the illicit discharge is 

eliminated. 

3. Drainage easements. 

a. An acceptable easement shall be provided from all 

drainage outfalls to a natural watercourse, as opposed to 

a swale. 

b. The department normally accepts and maintains only 

that portion of a drainage system that falls within the 

limits of the dedicated right-of-way for a street. The 

department's responsibility to enter drainage easements 

outside of the dedicated right-of-way shall be limited to 

undertaking corrective measures to alleviate problems 

that may adversely affect the safe operation or integrity 

of the roadway. 

c. In the event drainage to a natural watercourse is not 

accomplished or is interrupted, an acceptable agreement 

from the governing body may be considered as an 

alternative to providing an easement to a natural 

watercourse, provided the agreement acknowledges that 

the department is neither responsible nor liable for 

drainage from the roadway. 

M. Other design considerations. 

1. Guardrail. Guardrail shall be used when required by the 

district administrator's designee, consistent with the Road 

Design Manual, 2011. For placement considerations, see 

the Subdivision Street Design Guide (Appendix B (1) of 

the Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT)). 

2. Landscaping and erosion control. All disturbed areas 

within the dedicated right-of-way and easements of any 

street shall be restored with vegetation compatible with the 

surrounding area. Where there is visual evidence of erosion 

or siltation, acceptance of the street as part of the 

secondary system of state highways maintained by the 

department will be postponed until appropriate protective 

measures, in accordance with VDOT's construction 
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practices, are taken. Except as otherwise approved by the 

district administrator's designee, planting of trees or shrubs 

on the right-of-way shall be in accordance with the Road 

Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT) and its Appendix B (1) (the 

Subdivision Street Design Guide). 

3. Lighting. Roadway, security, or pedestrian lighting, 

when required by the governing body or desired by the 

developer, shall be installed in accordance with the Road 

Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT) and its Appendix B (1) (the 

Subdivision Street Design Guide). However, VDOT shall 

not be responsible for the maintenance or replacement of 

lighting fixtures or the provision of power for lighting. 

4. Railroad crossings. 

a. Short-arm gates with flashing signals, flashing signals 

alone, or other protective devices as deemed appropriate 

by the department shall be provided at any at-grade 

crossing of an active railroad by a street. 

b. Crossings of railroad right-of-way are subject to the 

requirements of the railroad. Streets to be accepted by the 

department for maintenance as part of the secondary 

system of state highways that cross railroad right-of-way 

will only be considered if the protective measures 

outlined under this section have been fully installed and 

an agreement between the railroad, the developer, and the 

local governing body has been executed. Prior to 

execution, such agreements shall be presented to the 

department for consideration in consultation with the 

Department of Rail and Public Transportation. 

5. Utilities. Local governments, the development 

community, and the utility community are encouraged to 

coordinate and consolidate their interests as part of the 

initial development plan. 

a. Underground utilities. The department allows the 

placement of underground utilities within the dedicated 

right-of-way of streets, but normally restricts placement 

to areas outside of the travel lanes. However, if the 

governing body has established adequate requirements 

approved by the department for the design, location, and 

construction of underground utilities within the right-of-

way of streets, including provisions that ensure that 

adequate testing and inspection is performed to minimize 

future settlement, those requirements shall become the 

department's requirements and govern provided those 

requirements exceed the department's requirements. 

Manholes shall not be placed in sidewalk, multiuse trail, 

or shared use path facilities, within five feet of curb 

ramps or within driveway entrances.  

When location of the utilities outside of the pavement 

area is not practical such as in high density developments 

incorporating the principles of new urbanism as 

described in § 15.2-2223.1 of the Code of Virginia, such 

installations: 

(1) Are acceptable within the shoulders along the street 

or within the parking area. 

(2) May be acceptable beneath the travel lanes of the 

street or alley when provisions are made to ensure 

adequate inspection and compaction tests and: 

(a) Longitudinal installations and manholes are located 

outside of the normal travel lanes; or  

(b) Longitudinal installations and manholes are placed in 

the center of a travel lane out of the wheel path. 

b. Open-cutting of hard-surfaced roadways. The 

department usually prohibits the open-cutting of hard-

surfaced roads except in extenuating circumstances. 

Therefore, all underground utilities within the right-of-

way, as determined necessary by good engineering 

practice to serve the complete development of adjacent 

properties, shall be installed during the street's initial 

construction and prior to the application of its final 

pavement surface course. This shall include extensions of 

all necessary cross-street connections or service lines to 

an appropriate location beyond the pavement and 

preferably the right-of-way line. 

In the event it is necessary to open the street pavement to 

work on utilities after the surface has been placed, 

additional compaction tests and paving as necessary to 

restore the integrity and appearance of the roadway may 

be required at the discretion of the district administrator's 

designee. 

c. Cross-street conduits. To facilitate the placement of 

future underground utilities, cross-street conduits are 

encouraged, with placement of such conduits occurring 

on each street at intersections. 

d. Aboveground utilities. All aboveground utilities shall 

be installed behind the sidewalk or as close as possible to 

the limits of the street's right-of-way but shall not 

encroach on the sidewalk, the shared use path, or any 

clear zone. 

To assure the unencumbered dedication of the right-of-way 

for street additions, easements or other interests within the 

platted right-of-way shall be quitclaimed of any prior rights 

therein. In exchange, a permit may be issued by the 

department for a utility to occupy the area involved. This 

permit will be processed by the district administrator's 

designee upon acceptance of the street into the secondary 

system of state highways maintained by the department. No 

fee is required for permits so issued. However, the approval 

of the permit shall be contingent upon the utility's compliance 

with applicable provisions of the Land Use Permit 

Regulations (24VAC30-151). 

24VAC30-92-130. Right-of-way width, spite strips, and 

encroachments. 

A. Right-of-way width. A clear and unencumbered right-of-

way shall be dedicated to public use for any street proposed 

for addition to the secondary system of state highways 
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maintained by the department. However, in certain rare 

extenuating circumstances involving a party beyond the 

influence of the developer, an easement for transportation 

purposes may be approved by the district administrator's 

designee in lieu of dedicated right-of-way. In all other cases, 

any easement that might interfere with the public's 

unencumbered use of the street shall be quitclaimed in 

exchange for a land use permit as outlined in 24VAC30-92-

120 M 5. 

The width of right-of-way shall be as indicated in the 

Subdivision Street Design Guide (Appendix B (1) of the 

Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT)) and the Road Design 

Manual, 2011 (VDOT) and shall be sufficient to include all 

essential elements of the roadway intended to be maintained 

by the department, including pedestrian, multiuse trail, 

bicycle, or shared use path facilities and clear zone. However, 

supplemental easements may be used to accommodate sight 

distance requirements and slopes for cuts and fills. The right-

of-way requirements are defined in the Subdivision Street 

Design Guide (Appendix B (1) of the Road Design Manual, 

2011 (VDOT)) and the Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT). 

When an existing state maintained road is widened, the 

additional right-of-way should be dedicated as follows: 

1. If the existing right-of-way consists of a prescriptive 

easement, to the degree that the developer controls the 

land, the right-of-way shall be dedicated to public use from 

the centerline of the alignment. 

2. If the existing right-of-way is dedicated to public use, 

the additional right-of-way shall be dedicated to public use. 

3. If the existing right-of-way is titled in the name of the 

department or the Commonwealth, the additional right-of-

way shall be deeded to the department or to the 

Commonwealth, consistent with the title of the existing 

right-of-way. 

B. "Spite strips." Plans that include a reserved or "spite" 

strip that prohibits otherwise lawful vehicular access to a 

street from the adjacent properties, whether within or outside 

the subdivision or development, will not be approved. 

C. Encroachments within the right-of-way. Recording of a 

plat causes the fee title interest of areas dedicated to public 

use to transfer to the local governing body. Therefore, objects 

installed within the right-of-way for purposes other than 

transportation may be considered an unlawful encroachment 

in the right-of-way and prevent the right-of-way from being 

considered clear and unencumbered. 

Posts, walls, signs, or similar ornamental devices that do not 

interfere with roadway capacity, encroach into a clear zone, 

or interfere with prescribed sight distance requirements, or are 

not in conflict with Chapter 7 (§ 33.1-351 et seq.) of Title 

33.1 Chapter 12 (§ 33.2-1200 et seq.) of Title 33.2 of the 

Code of Virginia may be permitted within the right-of-way. 

However, specific authorization by the district administrator's 

designee or as authorized under the Land Use Permit 

Regulations (24VAC30-151) is a requisite for these devices 

or any other encroachment located within the right-of-way. 

For the purposes of this subsection, mailboxes installed on 

breakaway posts may occupy the right-of-way without 

permit. Otherwise, encroachments that do not fall within the 

clear zone may be allowed within the right-of-way pursuant 

to a land use permit issued by the district administrator's 

designee. 

Part I  

Outdoor Advertising in Zoned and Unzoned Commercial and 

Industrial Areas  

24VAC30-120-10. Definitions.  

For the purposes of this chapter, the following definitions 

shall apply:  

"Commercial or industrial activities" means those activities 

generally recognized as commercial or industrial by zoning 

authorities in this Commonwealth, except that none of the 

following activities shall be considered commercial or 

industrial:  

1. Outdoor advertising structures.  

2. Agricultural, forestry, grazing, farming, and related 

activities including, but not limited to, wayside fresh 

produce stands.  

3. Transient or temporary activities.  

4. Activities not visible from the main-traveled way.  

5. Activities more than 300 feet from the nearest edge of 

the right of way.  

6. Activities conducted in a building principally used as a 

residence.  

7. Railroad tracks and minor sidings.  

"National highway system" means the federal-aid highway 

system described in subsection (b) of § 103 of Title 23, 

United States Code, and regulations adopted pursuant to that 

law, or as defined in § 33.1-351 33.2-1200 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Unzoned commercial or industrial areas" means those areas 

on which there is located one or more permanent structures 

devoted to a business on industrial activity or on which a 

commercial or industrial activity is actually conducted, 

whether or not a permanent structure is located thereon, and 

the area along the highway extending outward 500 feet from 

and beyond the edge of such activity. Each side of the 

highway will be considered separately in applying this 

definition.  

"Zoned commercial or industrial areas" means those areas 

which are reserved for business, commerce, or trade pursuant 

to a comprehensive state or local zoning ordinance or 

regulation. All measurements shall be from the outer edges of 

the regularly used buildings, parking lots, storage or 

processing areas of the activities, not from the property lines 

of the activities, and shall be along or parallel to the edge or 

pavement of the highway.  
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Part II  

Directional and Other Official Signs and Notices (Located 

Off Highway Right of Way)  

24VAC30-120-80. Definitions.  

The following definitions apply to directional and other 

official signs and notices which are erected and maintained 

within 660 feet of the nearest edge of the right of way of 

interstate, federal-aid primary and national highway systems, 

which are not erected on the highway right of way and which 

are visible from the main-traveled way of the system.  

"Directional and other official signs and notices" means only 

official signs and notices, public utility signs, service club 

and religious notices, public service signs, and directional 

signs.  

"Directional signs" means signs containing directional 

information about public places owned or operated by federal, 

state, or local governments or their agencies; publicly or 

privately owned natural phenomena, historic, cultural, 

scientific, educational, and religious sites; and areas of natural 

scenic beauty or naturally suited for outdoor recreation, 

deemed to be in the interest of the traveling public.  

"Erect" means to construct, build, raise, assemble, place, 

affix, attach, create, paint, draw, or in any other way bring 

into being or establish.  

"Federal or state law" means a federal or state constitutional 

provision or statute, or an ordinance, rule or regulation 

enacted or adopted by a state or federal agency or a political 

subdivision of a state pursuant to a federal or state 

constitution or statute.  

"Freeway" means a divided arterial highway for through 

traffic with full control of access.  

"Interstate system" means the national system of interstate 

and defense highways, described in § 103(e) of Title 23, 

United States Code.  

"Maintain" means to allow to exist.  

"Main-traveled way" means the through traffic lanes of the 

highway, exclusive of frontage roads, auxiliary lanes and 

ramps.  

"National highway system" means the federal-aid highway 

system described in subsection (b) of § 103 of Title 23, 

United States Code, and regulations adopted pursuant to that 

law, or as defined in § 33.1-351 33.2-1200 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Official signs and notices" means signs and notices erected 

and maintained by public officers or public agencies within 

their territorial or zoning jurisdiction and pursuant to and in 

accordance with direction or authorization contained in 

federal, state or local law for the purposes of carrying out an 

official duty or responsibility. Historical markers authorized 

by state law and erected by state or local government 

agencies or nonprofit historical societies may be considered 

official signs.  

"Parkland" means any publicly owned land which is 

designated or used as a public park, recreation area, wildlife 

or waterfowl refuge or historic site.  

"Primary system" means the federal-aid highway system 

described in § 103(b) of Title 23, United States Code.  

"Public service signs" means signs located on school bus 

stop shelters, which:  

1. Identify the donor, sponsor, or contributor of said 

shelter;  

2. Contain safety slogans or messages, which shall occupy 

not less than 60% of the area of the sign;  

3. Contain no other message;  

4. Are located on school bus shelters which are authorized 

or approved by city, county, or state law, regulation or 

ordinance, and at places approved by the city, county, or 

state agency controlling the highway involved; and  

5. May not exceed 32 square feet in area. Not more than 

one sign on each shelter shall face in any one direction.  

"Public utility signs" means warning signs, informational 

signs, notices, or markers which are customarily erected and 

maintained by publicly or privately owned public utilities, as 

essential to their operations.  

"Rest area" means an area or site established and maintained 

within or adjacent to the highway right of way by or under 

public supervision or control for the convenience of the 

traveling public.  

"Scenic area" means any area of particular scenic beauty or 

historical significance as determined by the federal, state, or 

local officials having jurisdiction thereof, and includes 

interests in land which has been acquired for the restoration, 

preservation, and enhancement of scenic beauty.  

"Service club and religious notices" means signs and notices 

whose erection is authorized by law, relating to meetings of 

nonprofit service clubs or charitable associations, or religious 

services, which signs do not exceed eight square feet in area.  

"Sign" means an outdoor sign, light, display device, figure, 

painting, drawing, message, placard, poster, billboard, or 

other thing which is designed, intended, or used to advertise 

or inform any part of the advertising or informative contents 

of which is visible from any place on the main-traveled way 

of the interstate or federal-aid primary highway.  

"Single route" means one numbered highway or a 

combination of numbered highways affording a means of 

reaching an advertised activity from any one point.  

"State" means any one of the 50 states, the District of 

Columbia, or Puerto Rico.  

"Visible" means capable of being seen (whether or not 

legible) without visual aid by a person of normal visual 

acuity.  
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24VAC30-120-140. Administration of regulations.  

The Commissioner of Highways, under § 33.1-352 33.2-

1201 of the Code of Virginia, has the duty to administer and 

enforce provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 33.1-351 et seq.) of Title 

33.1 Chapter 12 (§ 33.2-1200 et seq.) of Title 33.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. The board and the Commissioner of 

Highways recognize that there are other state agencies which 

have as their primary purpose the control and administration 

of the type of specific unique phenomena or site, for which a 

directional sign application may be made, that have valuable 

experience and knowledge in the matters contained in the 

definition of "directional signs." Therefore, the following 

state agencies are hereby recognized for the purpose of 

making recommendations whether a site, area, agency, or 

phenomena falls within the definition of "directional signs" 

set forth in 24VAC30-120-80:  

Department of Conservation and Recreation  

Department of Historic Resources  

The Library of Virginia  

The recommendations must be based upon criteria presently 

utilized or hereinafter adopted by one of these agencies.  

After the recommendation is received the commissioner 

must employ the following standards in addition to those 

which appear elsewhere to ascertain whether a site, area, 

agency, or phenomena is eligible for directional signs.  

1. That publicly or privately owned activities or attractions 

eligible for directional signing are limited to the following: 

natural phenomena; scenic attractions; historic, 

educational, cultural, scientific, and religious sites; and 

areas naturally suited for outdoor recreation.  

2. Any of the above must be nationally or regionally 

known as determined by the commissioner.  

3. Any of the above must be of outstanding interest to the 

traveling public as determined by the Commissioner of 

Highways.  

The area, site, agency, or phenomena seeking to qualify for 

"directional signs" shall be the principal area, site, agency, or 

phenomena which would appear on proposed sign and not 

ancillary to the message which would appear on the sign.  

Part IV  

Control and Continuance of Nonconforming Signs, 

Advertisements, and Advertising Structures  

24VAC30-120-160. Definitions.  

The definitions set out in § 33.1-351 33.2-1200 of the Code 

of Virginia and the following definitions shall apply:  

"Erect" means to construct, build, raise, assemble, place, 

affix, attach, create, paint, draw, or in any other way bring 

into being or establish.  

"Nonconforming sign" means one which was lawfully 

erected but which does not comply with the provisions of 

state law or state regulations passed at a later date or which 

later fails to comply with state law or state regulations due to 

changed conditions.  

An example of changed conditions would be a sign or 

advertisement lawfully in existence in a commercial area 

which at a later date becomes noncommercial and thus 

required to be protected, or a sign or advertisement lawfully 

erected on a federal-aid secondary highway later upgraded to 

a federal-aid primary highway. Illegally erected or maintained 

signs or advertisements are not nonconforming signs.  

"Nonconforming sign - grandfather clause" means a sign 

lawfully in existence on certain dates or as specified in the 

state-federal agreement erected in a commercial or industrial 

area which does not conform to size, lighting, or spacing 

criteria.  

24VAC30-120-170. Criteria for the maintenance and 

continuance of a nonconforming sign, advertisement or 

advertising structure.  

A. To be classified as a nonconforming sign or structure, 

such sign or structure must have been in lawful existence on 

the effective date of the state law or regulation or changed 

condition and must continue to be lawfully maintained.  

B. To be allowed to continue as nonconforming, a sign or 

structure must remain substantially unchanged from its 

condition as of the effective date of the state law or 

regulations or changed condition.  

1. Replacement, extension, or enlargement of the sign or 

structure is a substantial change in the existing use.  

2. The change of location or height of such sign or 

structure is a substantial change in the existing use.  

3. A change of the message content is not a substantial 

change in existing use. In the event a sign has been blank 

for a period of 18 consecutive months, the owner will be 

given written notice of 120 days to display a message on or 

remove such sign structure. In the event a message is not 

displayed on the sign structure within 120 days from the 

postdate of the aforementioned written notice, the permit 

shall be cancelled.  

4. Rebuilding, or re-erecting the sign or structure, is a 

substantial change in existing use if such rebuilding, or re-

erection expenses exceed 50% of the current replacement 

cost new of the entire sign or structure.  

EXCEPTION:  

If it can be demonstrated to the satisfaction of the 

commissioner that a nonconforming sign or structure has 

been vandalized or subject to other criminal or tortious act, 

then the replacement, rebuilding, or re-erecting of such 

sign or structure will not be considered a substantial 

change in existing use irrespective of the cost of such 

replacement; however, it will be considered a substantial 

change in existing use if damage to nonconforming signs 

or structures is caused by natural disasters, hurricanes, high 

winds, hail, or the like, and such damage exceeds 50% of 

the current replacement cost new of the entire sign or 
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structure. In the event vandalism and an act of God 

combine to damage a nonconforming sign or structure, the 

commissioner shall determine the percentage allocated to 

each cause of damage before determining whether a 

substantial change in existing use has occurred.  

5. Normal upkeep and repair of such sign or structure on a 

frequent basis, to the extent that the total cost of such 

repairs in the 12-month period would not exceed 50% of 

the current replacement cost new of the entire sign or 

structure, is not a substantial change in existing use.  

C. In reaching a determination on the cost point in 

subdivisions B 4 and B 5 of this section the following will 

apply:  

1. The sign owner shall furnish the commissioner cost data 

supporting any contention that such sign or structure is not 

damaged more than 50% of the current replacement cost 

new.  

2. The commissioner may also utilize any other data 

available to him.  

3. A sign or advertising structure lawfully in existence 

under the "Grandfather Clause" (see 24VAC30-120-160, 

Definitions) must conform to the criteria set out herein.  

4. Certain standard maintenance practices and techniques 

utilized by the industry relating to how repairs are 

accomplished may be individually approved, in which case 

nonconforming rights shall not be terminated.  

5. A nonconforming sign or structure that does not 

conform to the foregoing criteria shall constitute a 

substantial change in existing use thereby terminating 

nonconforming rights and legal status.  

D. Once the sign owner has submitted the data per 

subsection C of this section, the commissioner, per §§ 33.1-

352 33.2-1201 and 33.1-370.2 33.2-1219 of the Code of 

Virginia, shall make a determination whether the cost of the 

requested or required repairs exceeds 50% of the current 

replacement cost new of the entire billboard or structure. The 

determination shall be communicated to the sign owner and 

the building official of the locality. The sign owner is 

required to apply for a building permit from the locality 

before repairs can be commenced. If the building official of 

the locality objects to the commissioner's determination, for 

good cause shown, he may submit the objection to the 

commissioner, with a copy to the sign owner, within 30 days 

of the building permit application by the sign owner. Upon 

receipt of the objection the commissioner, per §§ 33.1-352 

33.2-1201 and 33.1-370.2 33.2-1219 of the Code of Virginia, 

shall consider the documentation submitted by the building 

official and reissue a determination, which shall be binding 

upon the locality.  

24VAC30-120-190. Owner's responsibility.  

The owner is responsible for the maintenance and 

continuance of a sign, advertisement, or advertising structure 

in conformity with the foregoing, which is not construed to 

relieve owner of such responsibility, nor to waive applicable 

provisions of the Code of Virginia relating to outdoor 

advertising including, but not limited to, §§ 33.1-351, 33.1-

364, 33.1-369, 33.1-370, 33.1-371 33.2-1200, 33.2-1211, 

33.2-1216, 33.2-1217, 33.2-1220, and 33.1-375 33.2-1227 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

Part II  

Authority  

24VAC30-151-20. Authority. 

The General Rules and Regulations of the Commonwealth 

Transportation Board (see 24VAC30-151-760) are adopted 

pursuant to the authority of § 33.1-12 33.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia, and in accordance with the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of 

the Code of Virginia). These rules and regulations provide 

that no work of any nature shall be performed on any real 

property under the ownership, control, or jurisdiction of 

VDOT until written permission has been obtained from 

VDOT. Real property includes, but is not limited to, the right-

of-way of any highway in the state highways system. Written 

permission is granted either by permit or a state-authorized 

contract let by VDOT. By issuing a permit, VDOT is giving 

permission only for whatever rights it has in the right-of-way; 

the permittee is responsible for obtaining permission from 

others who may also have an interest in the property. 

Employees of VDOT are authorized to issue permits as 

described in this chapter. This chapter prescribes the specific 

requirements of such permits. 

24VAC30-151-50. Violations of rules and regulations. 

A. Objects placed on, above, or under the right-of-way in 

violation of the general rules and regulations shall be 

removed within 10 calendar days of receipt of notice from 

VDOT. Objects not removed within 10 calendar days shall be 

moved at the owner's expense. Objects requiring immediate 

removal for public safety, use, or maintenance of any 

highway shall be moved immediately at the owner's expense. 

The provisions of § 33.1-373 33.2-1224 of the Code of 

Virginia shall govern the removal of advertisements from 

within the right-of-way. The provisions of § 33.1-375 33.2-

1227 of the Code of Virginia shall govern the removal of 

other signs from within the right-of-way.  

B. The permittee will be civilly liable to the Commonwealth 

for expenses and damages incurred by VDOT as a result of 

violation of any of the rules and regulations of this chapter. 

Violators shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon 

conviction, shall be punished as provided for in § 33.1-19 

33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Failure to implement proper traffic control and 

construction standards mandated by the permit shall be cause 

for the district administrator's designee to remove the 

permittee from the right-of-way or revoke the permit, or both. 

D. See 24VAC30-151-30 for violations related to specific 

district-wide permit types.  
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Part III  

Denial or Revocation of Permits  

24VAC30-151-110. Denial; revocation; refusal to renew. 

A. A land use permit may be revoked upon written finding 

that the permittee violated the terms of the permit, which shall 

incorporate by reference these rules, as well as state and local 

laws and ordinances regulating activities within the right-of-

way. Repeated violations may result in a permanent denial of 

the right to work within the right-of-way. A permit may also 

be revoked for misrepresentation of information on the 

application, fraud in obtaining a permit, alteration of a permit, 

unauthorized use of a permit, or violation of a water quality 

permit. Upon revocation, the permit shall be surrendered 

without consideration for refund of fees. Upon restoration of 

permit privileges a new land use permit shall be obtained 

prior to performing any work within the right-of-way. 

B. Land use permits may be denied to any applicant or 

company, or both, for a period not to exceed six months when 

the applicant or company, or both, has been notified in 

writing by the Commissioner of Highways, the central office 

permit manager, district administrator, or district 

administrator's designee that violations have occurred under 

the jurisdiction of a districtwide or previously issued single 

use permit. Any person, firm, or corporation violating a water 

quality permit shall permanently be denied a land use permit. 

Furthermore, these violators may be subject to criminal 

prosecution as provided for by § 33.1-19 33.2-210 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Part IV  

Entrances  

24VAC30-151-120. Provisions governing entrances. 

VDOT's authority to regulate highway entrances is provided 

in §§ 33.1-197, 33.1-198, 33.2-240, 33.2-241,  and 33.198.1 

33.2-245 of the Code of Virginia and its authority to make 

regulations concerning the use of highways generally is 

provided in § 33.1-12 (3) 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.  

Regulations regarding entrances are set forth in VDOT's 

regulations promulgated pursuant to § 33.1-198.1 33.2-245 of 

the Code of Virginia (see 24VAC30-151-760). 

24VAC30-151-270. Railroad crossing permit requests by 

other companies. 

Where a person, firm or chartered company engaged in 

mining, manufacturing or lumber getting, as defined in 

§ 33.1-211 33.2-252 of the Code of Virginia, applies directly 

for a permit to construct a tramway or railroad track across 

the right-of-way, a permit may be issued under the following 

conditions: 

1. Operations by the permittee shall conform to applicable 

statutes of the Code of Virginia in regard to construction 

and maintenance of the crossing surface, signing and other 

warning devices, blocking of crossing, etc.  

2. In the event of future widening of the highway, the 

permittee shall lengthen the crossing surface, relocate signs 

and signals, etc., as may be necessary, at no expense to the 

Commonwealth.  

3. The permittee shall furnish a performance and 

indemnifying bond of such amounts as VDOT deems 

necessary and agree to continue the same in force so long 

as the crossing is in place.  

4. The permittee shall notify VDOT prior to the permittee 

transferring ownership of a crossing so that proper 

arrangement can be made for the transfer of permitted 

responsibilities. 

24VAC30-151-550. Roadside memorials. 

A. Section 33.1-206.1 33.2-216 of the Code of Virginia 

directs the Commonwealth Transportation Board to establish 

regulations regarding the authorized location and removal of 

roadside memorials. Roadside memorials shall not be placed 

on state right-of-way without first obtaining a permit. At the 

site of fatal crashes or other fatal incidents, grieving families 

or friends often wish for a roadside memorial to be placed 

within the highway right-of-way. The following rules shall be 

followed in processing applications to place roadside 

memorials within the highway right-of-way: 

1. Applications for a memorial shall be submitted to the 

district administrator's designee. The district 

administrator's designee will review, and if necessary, 

amend or reject any application.  

2. If construction or major maintenance work is scheduled 

in the vicinity of the proposed memorial's location, the 

district administrator's designee may identify an acceptable 

location for the memorial beyond the limits of work, or the 

applicant may agree to postpone installation. 

3. If the applicant requests an appeal to the district 

administrator's designee's decision regarding amendment 

or rejection of an application, this appeal will be forwarded 

to the district administrator. 

4. Criteria used to review applications shall include, but 

not be limited to, the following factors: 

a. Potential hazard of the proposed memorial to travelers, 

the bereaved, VDOT personnel, or others;  

b. The effect on the proposed site's land use or aesthetics; 

installation or maintenance concerns; and  

c. Circumstances surrounding the accident or incident. 

5. Approval of a memorial does not give the applicant, 

family, or friends of the victim permission to park, stand, 

or loiter at the memorial site. It is illegal to park along the 

interstate system, and because of safety reasons and 

concerns for the public and friends and family of the 

deceased, parking, stopping, and standing of persons along 

any highway is not encouraged. 

B. The following rules will be followed concerning roadside 

memorial participation: 
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1. Any human fatality that occurs on the state highway 

system is eligible for a memorial. Deaths of animals or pets 

are not eligible. 

2. The applicant must provide a copy of the accident report 

or other form of information to the district administrator's 

designee so that the victim's name, date of fatality, and 

location of the accident can be verified. This information 

may be obtained by contacting the local or state police. 

The district administrator's designee may also require that 

the applicant supply a copy of the death certificate. 

3. Only family members of the victim may apply for a 

memorial. 

4. The applicant will confirm on the application that 

approval has been obtained from the immediate family of 

the victim and the adjacent property owner or owners to 

locate the memorial in the designated location. If any 

member of the immediate family objects in writing to the 

memorial, the application will be denied or the memorial 

will be removed if it has already been installed. 

5. If the adjacent property owner objects in writing, the 

memorial will be relocated and the applicant will be 

notified. 

6. Memorials will remain in place for two years from the 

date of installation, at which time the permit shall expire. 

The Commissioner of Highways may, upon receipt of a 

written request, grant an extension of the permit. An 

extension may be granted for a period of one year, and 

requests for further extensions must be submitted for each 

subsequent year. The applicant or the family of the victim 

may request that the memorial be removed less than two 

years after installation. 

7. The applicant shall be responsible for the fabrication of 

the memorial. VDOT will install, maintain, and remove the 

memorial, but the cost of these activities shall be paid by 

the applicant to VDOT. 

C. Roadside memorial physical requirements. 

1. The memorial shall be designed in accordance with 

Chapter 7 (§ 33.1-351 et seq.) of Title 33.1 Chapter 12 

(§ 33.2-1200 et seq.) of Title 33.2 and § 46.2-831 of the 

Code of Virginia and the Rules and Regulations 

Controlling Outdoor Advertising and Directional and Other 

Signs and Notices and Vegetation Control Regulations on 

State Rights-Of-Way (see 24VAC30-151-760). The use of 

symbols, photographs, drawings, logos, advertising, or 

similar forms of medium is prohibited on or near the 

memorial.  

2. Only one memorial per fatality shall be allowed. 

3. VDOT reserves the right to install a group memorial in 

lieu of individual memorials to commemorate a major 

incident where multiple deaths have occurred. 

4. The memorial shall be located as close as possible to the 

crash site, but location of the memorial may vary 

depending on the site and safety conditions. 

a. Memorials shall be installed outside of the mowing 

limits and ditch line and as close to the right-of-way line 

as reasonably possible. 

b. Memorials shall be located in such a manner as to 

avoid distractions to motorists or pose safety hazards to 

the traveling public. 

c. Memorials shall not be installed in the median of any 

highway, on a bridge, or within 500 feet of any bridge 

approach. 

d. Memorials shall not be permitted in a construction or 

maintenance work zone. VDOT reserves the right to 

temporarily remove or relocate a memorial at any time 

for highway maintenance or construction operations or 

activities. 

e. If VDOT's right-of-way is insufficient for a memorial 

to be installed at the crash site, the district administrator's 

designee will locate a suitable location as close as 

possible to the incident vicinity to locate the memorial 

where sufficient right-of-way exists. 

D. Removal. After the two-year term or any extension of the 

term approved in accordance with this section, the memorial 

shall be removed by VDOT personnel. The memorial 

nameplate will be returned to the applicant or the designated 

family member, if specified on the application. If the 

applicant does not wish to retain the nameplate, the nameplate 

will be reused, recycled, or disposed at VDOT's discretion. 

24VAC30-151-590. Outdoor advertising adjacent to the 

right-of-way. 

Permits for outdoor advertising located off the right-of-way 

are obtained through the roadside management section at any 

VDOT district office or the Maintenance Division in 

accordance with Chapter 7 (§ 33.1-351 et seq.) of Title 33.1 

Chapter 12 (§ 33.2-1200 et seq.) of Title 33.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. Selective pruning permits for outdoor advertising 

shall be issued in accordance with § 33.1-371.1 33.2-1221 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

24VAC30-151-620. Roadside management, landscaping. 

Placement and maintenance of plant materials by individuals 

or organizations may be allowed under permit in strict 

accordance with VDOT Road and Bridge Specifications (see 

24VAC30-151-760), VDOT Road and Bridge Standards (see 

24VAC30-151-760), § 33.1-223.2:9 33.2-265 of the Code of 

Virginia, and the Comprehensive Roadside Management 

Program (see 24VAC30-151-760). The applicant shall 

maintain any altered roadside area in perpetuity. All related 

permit applications shall be accompanied by a corresponding 

maintenance agreement. If permit conditions, including the 

maintenance agreement, are violated at any time, VDOT 

reserves the right to reclaim and restore such permitted area 

to its original condition or otherwise establish turf in 

accordance with VDOT Road and Bridge Specifications (see 

24VAC30-151-760). The costs of reclamation and restoration 

activities shall be paid by the permittee. Tree pruning or 
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removal may be allowed on right-of way for maintenance 

purposes for utility facilities or as part of a roadside 

beautification project sponsored by the local government or to 

daylight an outdoor advertising structure in accordance with 

Vegetation Control Regulations on State Rights-of-Way (see 

24VAC30-151-760). See VDOT's Tree and Brush Trimming 

Policy (see 24VAC30-151-760) for further information. 

All pesticide applicators shall meet the applicable 

requirements established by the Department of Agricultural 

and Consumer Services in Rules and Regulations for 

Enforcement of the Virginia Pesticide Law (2VAC20-20) 

(2VAC5-670) (see 24VAC30-151-760). Pesticide activities 

shall comply with all applicable federal and state regulations. 

24VAC30-151-710. Fees. 

A. Single use permit. A nonrefundable application fee shall 

be charged to offset the cost of reviewing and processing the 

permit application and inspecting the project work, in 

accordance with the requirements below: 

1. The application fee for a single permit is $100. 

2. Additive costs shall be applied as indicated below. The 

district administrator's designee will determine the total 

permit fees using the following schedule:  

Activity Fee 

Private Entrances none 

Commercial Entrance $150 for first entrance 

$50 for each additional 

entrance 

Street Connection $150 for first connection 

$50 for each additional 

connection 

Temporary Logging Entrance $10 for each entrance 

Temporary Construction 

Entrance 

$10 for each entrance 

Turn Lane $10 per 100 linear feet 

Crossover $500 per crossover 

Traffic Signal  $1,000 per signal 

installation  

Reconstruction of Roadway $10 per 100 linear feet 

Curb and Gutter $10 per 100 linear feet 

Sidewalk $10 per 100 linear feet 

Tree Trimming (for outdoor 

advertising) 

in accordance with § 33.1-

371 33.2-1221 of the Code 

of Virginia  

Tree Trimming (all other 

activities) 

$10 per acre or 100 feet of 

frontage 

Landscaping $10 per acre or 100 feet of 

frontage 

Storm Sewer $10 per 100 linear feet 

Box Culvert or Bridge $5 per linear foot of 

attachment 

Drop Inlet $10 per inlet 

Paved Ditch $10 per 100 linear feet 

Under Drain or Cross Drain $10 per crossing 

Above-ground Structure 

(including poles, pedestals, fire 

hydrants, towers, etc.) 

$10 per structure 

Pole Attachment $10 per structure 

Span Guy $10 per crossing 

Additive Guy and Anchor $10 per guy and anchor 

Underground Utility - Parallel  $10 per 100 linear feet 

Overhead or Underground 

Crossing 

$10 per crossing 

Excavation Charge (including 

Test Bores and Emergency 

Opening) 

$10 per opening 

3. Time extensions for active permits shall incur a 

monetary charge equal to one-half the application fee 

charged to the initial permit. Expired permits may be 

reinstated; however, fees for reinstatement of expired 

permits shall equal the application fee.  

4. If a permit is cancelled prior to the beginning of work, 

the application fee and one-half of the additive fee will be 

retained as compensation for costs incurred by VDOT 

during plan review. 

5. The district administrator's designee may establish an 

account to track plan review and inspection costs, and may 

bill the permittee not more often than every 30 calendar 

days. If an account is established for these costs, the 

permittee shall be responsible for the nonrefundable 

application fee and the billed costs. When actual costs are 

billed, the district administrator's designee shall waive the 

additive fees above.  

B. Districtwide permits. Districtwide permits, as defined in 

24VAC30-151-30, are valid for a period of two years. The 

biennial fee for a districtwide permit for utilities and logging 

operations is $750 per district. The biennial fee for a 

districtwide permit for surveying is $200 per district. The 

central office permit manager may exercise discretion in 

combining requests for multijurisdictional districtwide 

permits. 
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C. Miscellaneous permit fees. To connect the facility to the 

transmission grid pipeline, the operator of a nonutility 

renewable energy facility that produces not more than two 

megawatts of electricity from a renewable energy source, not 

more than 5,000 mmBtus/hour of steam from a renewable 

energy source, or landfill gas from a solid waste management 

facility, shall remit to VDOT a one-time permit fee of $1,500 

per mile as full compensation for the use of the right-of-way 

in accordance with § 67-1103 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. No-fee permits. The following permits shall be issued at 

no cost to the applicant: 

1. In-place permits as defined in 24VAC30-151-30 and 

24VAC30-151-390. 

2. Prior-rights permits as defined in 24VAC30-151-30 and 

24VAC30-151-390. 

3. As-built permits as defined in 24VAC30-151-30. 

4. Springs and wells as defined in 24VAC30-151-280. 

5. Crest stage gauges and water level recorders as defined 

in 24VAC30-151-500. 

6. Filming for movies as defined in 24VAC30-151-520. 

7. Roadside memorials as defined in 24VAC30-151-550. 

8. No loitering signs as defined in 24VAC30-151-570.  

24VAC30-200-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Agent" means the person, firm, or corporation representing 

the permittee.  

"Board" means the Commonwealth Transportation Board as 

defined in § 33.1-1 33.2-200 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Certified arborist" means an individual who has taken and 

passed the certification examination sponsored by the 

International Society of Arboriculture and who maintains a 

valid certification status.  

"Cutting" means to completely remove at ground level.  

"Daylighting" means to prune or remove vegetation to 

improve the motorists' view of an outdoor advertising 

structure or business.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Transportation (VDOT) and its employees.  

"Federal-aid primary highway" means any highway as 

defined in § 33.1-351 33.2-1200 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Inspector" means any employee designated by the 

Commissioner of Highways or local government official, to 

review and approve or deny the permit application and 

landscape plan, inspect the work performed under authority of 

this chapter, and make a final approval concerning the work 

performed.  

"Interstate system" means any highway as defined in § 33.1-

48 33.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Land Use Permit Regulations" means the regulations 

(24VAC30-151) promulgated by the board for the purpose of 

authorizing activities within the limits of state rights-of-way.  

"Limited access highway" means any highway as defined in 

§ 33.1-57 33.2-400 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Local beautification project" means any project in a locality 

that includes installation of plant materials, using public or 

other funds, in any public right-of-way within a city or town, 

or on a highway or street in a county with the county manager 

form of government.  

"Local government official" means an employee of a local 

government delegated authority by the city or town council or 

county board of supervisors where the public right-of-way is 

within the jurisdictional limits of a city or town on a highway 

or street not within the jurisdiction of the Commissioner of 

Highways under § 33.1-353 33.2-1202 of the Code of 

Virginia, or on a highway or street in a county with the 

county manager form of government. 

"Permittee" means the person, firm, or corporation owning 

the outdoor advertising sign, advertisement, or advertising 

structure or the business for whom the vegetation control 

work is being performed.  

"Pruning" means to remove branches from healthy 

vegetation in a manner that is acceptable using the natural 

method under the standards and guidelines listed in 

24VAC30-200-40 published by the American National 

Standards Institute, the American Association of Nurserymen, 

and the International Society of Arboriculture.  

"Specifications" means the current Virginia Department of 

Transportation's Road and Bridge Specifications (effective 

January 2002).  

"Unsightly" means vegetation to be selectively removed at 

VDOT's or the local government official's discretion.  

24VAC30-200-20. General provisions.  

A. Permits will be issued by the department to control 

vegetation in front of a sign/structure that is not exempt from 

the provisions of § 33.1-355 33.2-1204 of the Code of 

Virginia or business that is visible from any highway as 

defined in § 33.1-351 33.2-1200 of the Code of Virginia and 

regulated by the territorial limitations as defined in § 33.1-

353 33.2-1202 of the Code of Virginia provided the 

vegetation control work meets the criteria set forth in § 33.1-

371.1 33.2-1221 and this chapter. An application may be filed 

with the Commissioner of Highways by an agent, including 

but not limited to companies that trim trees. In all other areas 

the local government official shall issue the permits. 

B. All cutting to make an outdoor advertising structure more 

visible from the roadway shall be limited to vegetation with 

trunk base diameters of less than six inches. All cutting to 

make a business more visible from the roadway shall be 

limited to vegetation with trunk base diameters of less than 

two inches. All stumps shall be treated with a cut-stump 

pesticide applied by a licensed pesticide applicator with a 
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license issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services in Category 6. All pesticides shall be 

approved by the department or local government official prior 

to use. Selective thinning in accordance with specifications or 

removal of unsightly vegetation will be allowed on an 

individual basis to enhance the health and growth of the best 

trees or to eliminate roadway hazards if recommended by the 

certified arborist supervising the work and agreed to by the 

department or local government official. Trees that are 

diseased, damaged by insects, unsightly, or that pose a safety 

hazard may be removed when recommended by the certified 

arborist supervising the work and approved by the department 

or local government official. When tree removal is 

recommended by the certified arborist and approved by this 

permit, the permittee shall provide a list of suitable trees and 

shrubs and a landscape plan to replace vegetation removed to 

the inspector or local government official for review and 

approval prior to issuance of the permit. The certified arborist 

and the department or local government official shall agree on 

size and species of replacement vegetation. The permittee 

shall plant, at his expense, all replacement vegetation at the 

locations shown on the landscape plan in accordance with the 

specifications. The establishment period for replacement 

vegetation shall be in accordance with § 605.05 of the 

specifications. No pruning of vegetation to make an outdoor 

advertising sign more visible from the roadway will be 

permitted if the cut at the point of pruning will exceed four 

inches in diameter. No pruning of vegetation to make a 

business more visible from the roadway will be permitted if 

the cut at the point of pruning will exceed two inches in 

diameter. No leader branches shall be cut off in such a 

manner as to retard the normal upright growth of the tree 

unless recommended by the certified arborist and approved 

by the department or local government official. All trees and 

brush removed shall be cut at ground level. Dogwood or other 

small flowering trees on the site shall not be removed. The 

use of climbing irons or spurs is positively forbidden in any 

tree.  

C. When daylighting signs, every effort shall be made to 

form a picture frame around the sign with remaining 

vegetation so as to accent the beauty of the surrounding 

roadside. A picture frame effect shall be achieved by leaving 

vegetation in place that will cover the sign structure supports 

below the face as seen from the main-traveled way.  

D. A permit must be obtained from the department or local 

government official prior to any vegetation control work on 

the state's rights-of-way. All work shall be performed by the 

permittee at his expense, including permit and inspection 

fees.  

E. A violation of this chapter shall, in addition to penalties 

provided in § 33.1-377 33.2-1229 of the Code of Virginia, 

result in a permittee or its agent or both losing its vegetation 

control permit privilege for five years. Additionally, the bond 

amount used to secure the permit will be used for any 

reparations to the site. Inadvertent violations of this permit 

will require replacement on a four-to-one basis with other 

suitable small trees approved by the department or local 

government official to enhance the roadside beauty. The 

department or local government official shall have full 

authority to determine specie and size of all replacement 

vegetation if inadvertent cutting occurs.  

24VAC30-200-30. Special provisions.  

A. The permittee shall attach two each 8" x 10" color glossy 

photographs (a closeup and a distant view) with the permit 

application showing the vegetation to be controlled, the 

highway, and the sign or business.  

The permit for selective pruning or tree cutting, or both, will 

be inspected by the department or local government official 

and approval or denial given.  

A permit may be denied any applicant, and all permits 

issued by the board or local government official may be 

revoked whenever, in the opinion of the inspector, the safety, 

use, or maintenance of the highway so requires or the 

integrity of the permit system so dictates.  

If, during or before work begins, it is deemed necessary by 

the department or local government official to assign 

inspectors to the work, the permittee shall pay the department 

or local government issuing the permit an additional 

inspection fee in an amount that will cover the salary, expense 

and mileage allowance, equipment rental, etc., of the 

inspector or inspectors assigned by the department or local 

government for handling work covered by this chapter. Said 

inspection fee to be paid promptly each month on bills 

rendered by the department or local government.  

The absence of a state or local government inspector does 

not in any way relieve the permittee of his responsibility to 

perform the work in accordance with provisions of § 33.1-

371.1 33.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia, this chapter, or 

permit.  

B. The inspector or local government official shall be 

notified at least seven days in advance of the date any work is 

to be performed and when completed, in order than an 

inspection may be made.  

C. No trees, shrubs, vines, or plant material, except as 

covered by this chapter, shall be cut or disturbed. Stubs and 

dead wood in trees covered by this chapter must be removed, 

whether occasioned by present requirements or not.  

Pruning of trees shall only be performed by qualified tree 

workers who, through related training or experience or both, 

are familiar with the techniques and hazards of arboricultural 

work including trimming, maintaining, repairing or removing 

trees, and the equipment used in such operations. The 

supervisor, a certified arborist, and tree workers shall be 

approved by the inspector or local government official, prior 

to issuance of a permit to perform work under this chapter. 

The certified arborist supervising the work shall remain on-

site whenever work is underway.  
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All brush, wood, etc., shall be chipped and beneficially used 

or removed immediately and disposed of in accordance with 

the Solid Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81) of 

the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

D. All access and work shall be accomplished from the 

abutting property side of rights-of-way on interstate and other 

limited access highways, except where a local beautification 

project has allowed landscape plant material to be planted 

within a median area. Plant material in median areas may be 

relocated to other areas within the local beautification project 

limits in accordance with an approved landscape plan. All 

work performed on VDOT rights-of-way shall comply with 

the Virginia Work Area Protection Manual (part of 

24VAC30-310-10 et seq.). Any damage caused to property 

owned by the Commonwealth shall be repaired or replaced in 

kind when work is complete.  

All work done under this chapter on the right-of-way shall in 

all respects be subject to department or local government 

official directions and shall be completed to the satisfaction of 

the inspector or local government official, or his 

representative.  

E. The department or local government official reserves the 

right to stop the work at any time the terms of this chapter are 

not satisfactorily complied with, and the department or local 

government official may, at its discretion, complete any of the 

work covered in the permit at the expense of the permittee. If 

it is in the best interest of traffic safety, the department or 

local government official may complete or have completed at 

the expense of the permittee any of the work that must be 

done to properly protect the traveling public.  

F. The permittee shall immediately have corrected any 

condition that may arise as a result of this work that the 

department or local government official deems hazardous to 

the traveling public or state maintenance forces even though 

such conditions may not be specifically covered in this 

chapter or in the Land Use Permit Regulations (24VAC30-

151).  

G. Permittees and their agents to whom permits are issued 

shall at all times indemnify and save harmless the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board, local city or town 

councils, local boards of supervisors, and the Commonwealth 

of Virginia and its employees, agents, and officers from 

responsibility, damage, or liability arising from the exercise 

of the privilege granted in such permit except if political 

subdivisions are the applicants. Then special arrangements 

will be made whereby the agent of the political subdivision 

performing the work will indemnify and save harmless the 

board and others. All work shall be performed by the 

permittee at his expense. All permit and inspection fees shall 

be paid to the department or local government official by the 

permittee.  

H. The permittee agrees that if the work authorized by this 

chapter including any work necessary to restore shoulders, 

ditches, and drainage structures to their original condition, is 

not completed by the permittee to the satisfaction of the 

department or local government official, the department or 

local government official will do whatever is required to 

restore the area within the right-of-way to department 

standards, and the permittee will pay to the Commonwealth 

or local government official the actual cost of completing the 

work. When the permittee is a political subdivision, this 

requirement will be satisfied by a sum certain that will appear 

in the permit.  

I. Road and street connections and private and commercial 

entrances are to be kept in a satisfactory condition. Entrances 

shall not be blocked. Ample provisions must be made for safe 

ingress and egress to adjacent property at all times. Where 

entrances are disturbed, they shall be restored to the 

satisfaction of the department or local government official.  

J. Road drainage shall not be blocked. The pavement, 

shoulders, ditches, roadside and drainage facilities, shall be 

kept in an operable condition satisfactory to the department or 

local government official. Necessary precautions shall be 

taken by the permittee to ensure against siltation of adjacent 

properties, streams, etc., in accordance with the Virginia 

Erosion and Sediment Control Law (§ 10.1-560 62.1-

44.15:51 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Virginia Erosion 

and Sediment Control Regulations (4VAC50-30) (9VAC25-

840).  

K. Any conflicts with existing utility facilities shall be 

resolved between the permittee and the utility owners 

involved. The permittee shall notify and receive clearance 

from the utility owner or owners and comply with the 

Overhead High Voltage Line Safety Act (§ 59.1-406 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia) before proceeding with work in the 

vicinity of utilities.  

L. Where landscape is disturbed on state rights-of-way or 

local street and roads not under the jurisdiction of the 

Commissioner of Highways in accordance with § 33.1-353 

33.2-1202 of the Code of Virginia, it shall be replaced with a 

minimum of two inches of topsoil and reseeded according to 

department specifications.  

24VAC30-200-35. Appeal to the Commissioner of 

Highways. 

A. Appeals by the local government official.  

1. The local government official appeal of a landscape plan 

shall be in writing within 60 days of the permittee 

submitting a permit application and accompanied by a 

$400 fee.  

2. The appeal shall specify reasons why the local 

government official is dissatisfied with the landscape plan 

and why it does not meet the intent of § 33.1-371.1 33.2-

1221 of the Code of Virginia. It shall include any motorist 

or worker safety concerns, selection of plant material, 

placement of plant material, method or time-of-year for 

planting or relocating plant material, and any other 

pertinent information. 
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B. Appeals by the permittee. 

1. The permittee appeal of a landscape plan shall be in 

writing within 10 days after final action of the local 

government official and shall be accompanied by a $400 

fee. 

2. The appeal shall specify reasons why the permittee is 

dissatisfied with the action or stipulations placed on the 

permittee by the local government official including all 

pertinent information to help the Commissioner of 

Highways make a final determination. 

C. Commissioner of Highways' determination of appeal. 

The Commissioner of Highways shall consult department 

personnel with expertise in horticulture and landscape 

architecture in making a final determination on the merits 

of the landscape plan presented by the permittee, weigh 

objections by both the local government official and the 

permittee, and shall provide a final determination within 30 

days of receipt of the appeal request.  

24VAC30-271-20. General provisions.  

A. The use of economic development access funds shall be 

limited to:  

1. Providing adequate access to economic development 

sites on which new or substantially expanding 

manufacturing, processing, research, and development 

facilities; distribution centers; regional service centers; 

corporate headquarters or other establishments that also 

meet basic employer criteria as determined by the Virginia 

Economic Development Partnership (VEDP) in 

consultation with the Virginia Department of Business 

Assistance (DBA);  

2. Improving existing roads that may not be adequate to 

serve the establishments as described in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection; and  

3. Providing for costs associated directly with program 

administration and management of project requests prior to 

board approval with such costs not expected to exceed 

1.0% of the allocation annually.  

B. Economic development access funds shall not be used for 

the acquisition of rights of way or adjustment of utilities. 

These funds are to be used only for the actual construction 

and engineering of a road facility adequate to serve the traffic 

generated by the new or expanding eligible establishments.  

C. Economic development access funds may not be used for 

the construction of access roads to schools, hospitals, 

libraries, airports, armories, speculative office buildings, 

shopping centers, apartment buildings, professional offices, 

residential developments, churches, hotels, motels, or similar 

facilities, whether public or private. (Access roads to licensed, 

public-use airports, while provided for in § 33.1-221 33.2-

1509 of the Code of Virginia, are funded and administered 

separately.)  

D. No cost incurred prior to the board's approval of an 

allocation from the economic development access funds may 

be reimbursed by such funds. Economic development access 

funds shall be authorized only after certification that the 

economic development establishment as listed or meeting the 

criteria as described will be built under firm contract, or is 

already constructed, or upon presentation of acceptable surety 

in accordance with § 33.1-221 33.2-1509 A of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. When an eligible establishment is not yet constructed or 

under firm contract and a local governing body guarantees by 

bond or other acceptable surety that such will occur, the 

maximum time limit for such bond shall be five years, 

beginning on the date of the allocation of the economic 

development access funds by the Commonwealth 

Transportation Board. At the end of the five-year period, the 

amount of economic development access funds expended on 

the project and not justified by eligible capital outlay of one 

or more establishments acceptable to the board shall be 

reimbursed to the Virginia Department of Transportation 

(VDOT) voluntarily by the locality or by forfeiture of the 

surety. In the event that, after VDOT has been reimbursed, 

but still within 24 months immediately following the end of 

the five-year period, the access funds expended come to be 

justified by eligible capital outlay of one or more eligible 

establishments, then the locality may request a refund of one-

half of the sum reimbursed to VDOT, which request may be 

granted if funds are available, on a first-come, first-served 

basis in competition with applications for access funds from 

other localities.  

F. Economic development access funds shall not be used to 

construct or improve roads on a privately owned economic 

development site. Nor shall the construction of a new access 

road to serve any economic development site on a parcel of 

land that abuts a road constituting a part of the systems of 

state highways or the road system of the locality in which it is 

located be eligible for economic development access funds, 

unless the existing road is a limited access highway and no 

other access exists. Further, where the existing road is part of 

the road system of the locality in which it is located, or the 

secondary system of state highways, economic development 

access funds may be used to upgrade the existing road only to 

the extent required to meet the needs of traffic generated by 

the new or expanding eligible establishment.  

In the event an economic development site has access 

according to the foregoing provisions of this chapter, but it 

can be determined that such access is not adequate in that it 

does not provide for safe and efficient movement of the 

traffic generated by the eligible establishment on the site or 

that the site's traffic conflicts with the surrounding road 

network to the extent that it poses a safety hazard to the 

general public, consideration will be given to funding 

additional improvements. Such projects shall be evaluated on 

a case-by-case basis upon request, by resolution, from the 

local governing body. Localities are encouraged to establish 
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planning policies that will discourage incompatible mixes 

such as industrial and residential traffic.  

G. Not more than $500,000 of unmatched economic 

development access funds may be allocated in any fiscal year 

for use in any county, city or town that receives highway 

maintenance payments under § 33.1-41.1 33.2-319 of the 

Code of Virginia. A town whose streets are maintained under 

either § 33.1-79 33.2-339 or § 33.1-82 33.2-340 of the Code 

of Virginia shall be considered as part of the county in which 

it is located. The maximum eligibility of unmatched funds 

shall be limited to 20% of the capital outlay of the designated 

eligible establishments and certain investment by the locality 

in the land or the building, or both, on the site occupied by 

the designated eligible establishment. The unmatched 

eligibility may be supplemented with additional economic 

development access funds, in which case the supplemental 

access funds shall be not more than $150,000, to be matched 

dollar-for-dollar from funds other than those administered by 

the board. Such supplemental funds shall be considered only 

if the total estimated cost of eligible items for the economic 

development access improvement exceeds $500,000.  

If an eligible site is owned by a regional industrial facility 

authority, as defined in § 15.2-6400 of the Code of Virginia, 

funds may be allocated for construction of an access road 

project to that site without penalty to the jurisdiction in which 

the site is located. This provision may be applied to one 

regional project per fiscal year in any jurisdiction with the 

same funding limitations as prescribed for other individual 

projects.  

H. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, for Major 

Employment and Investment (MEI) projects as defined in 

§ 2.2-2260 of the Code of Virginia and administered by the 

VEDP, the locality may receive up to the maximum 

unmatched allocation and matched allocation for a design-

only project. The local governing body shall guarantee by 

bond or other acceptable surety that plans for a MEI project 

will be developed to standards acceptable to VDOT.  

In addition, for projects utilizing economic development 

access funds to serve approved MEI projects, the locality may 

receive up to the maximum unmatched allocation and an 

additional $500,000 matched allocation for a road 

construction project. Project allocations for a given MEI 

project may be cumulative for not more than two years. 

I. Eligible items of construction and engineering shall be 

limited to those that are essential to providing an adequate 

facility to serve the anticipated traffic while meeting all 

appropriate Commonwealth Transportation Board and state 

policies and standards. However, additional pavement width 

or other features may be eligible where necessary to qualify 

the road facility in a city or town for maintenance payments 

under § 33.1-41.1 33.2-319 of the Code of Virginia.  

J. Except as provided for in subsection H of this section 

pertaining to MEI projects, it is the intent of the board that 

economic development access funds not be anticipated from 

year to year. Unused eligibility cannot be allowed to 

accumulate and be carried forward from one fiscal year to 

another.  

K. The Commonwealth Transportation Board will consult 

and work closely with the VEDP and the DBA in determining 

the use of economic development access funds and will rely 

on the recommendations of the VEDP and the DBA in 

making decisions as to the allocation of these funds. In 

making its recommendations to the board, the VEDP and the 

DBA will take into consideration the impact of the proposed 

facility on the employment and tax base of both the area in 

which the facility is to be located and the Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

L. Prior to the formal request for the use of economic 

development access funds to provide access to new or 

expanding eligible establishments, the location of the access 

road shall be submitted for approval by VDOT. VDOT shall 

take into consideration the cost of the facility as it relates to 

the location and as it relates to the possibility of the future 

extension of the road to serve other possible eligible 

establishments, as well as the future development of the area 

traversed.  

M. Prior to the board's allocation of funds for such 

construction or road improvements to an eligible economic 

development establishment proposing to locate or expand in a 

county, city or town, the governing body shall by resolution 

request the access funds and shall be responsible for the 

preliminary negotiations with the eligible establishment and 

others who may be interested. Engineers of VDOT will be 

available for consultation with the governing bodies and 

others, and may prepare surveys, plans, engineering studies, 

and cost estimates.  

N. The Commissioner of Highways is directed to establish 

administrative procedures to assure the provisions of this 

chapter and legislative directives are adhered to and complied 

with.  

24VAC30-325-10. Eligibility criteria and conditions 

governing receipt and use of urban maintenance and 

construction funds.  

A. In addition to the eligibility requirements identified in 

§ 33.1-41.1 33.2-319 of the Code of Virginia, the road and 

street eligibility criteria for urban maintenance payments shall 

also include the following:  

1. The basic right-of-way width for cul-de-sacs eligible for 

payment will be 40 feet, with consideration of requests for 

pavement widths less than 30 feet. For the purpose of 

making this assessment, a cul-de-sac will be defined as a 

dead-end street, open only at one end.  

2. If a municipality has jurisdiction over and operates a toll 

facility, such facility is eligible for street payments.  

3. Local one-way streets, loop roads, and school bus 

entrances will be eligible for payment provided that they 

are constructed to a width of 16 feet with a right-of-way 
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width of not less than 40 feet. This includes service and 

frontage roads where contiguous to an interstate, primary, 

or urban system route.  

4. VDOT can consider a waiver of standards on a site-

specific basis with appropriate supporting information. 

Each case will be considered on its own merits.  

B. In determining lane mileage eligibility, the following 

conditions will apply:  

1. Turning lanes and ramps will not be considered for 

street payments. This includes center turn lanes unless they 

serve as moving through lanes during peak hours.  

2. Parking must be restricted and enforced by towing 

during peak traffic periods.  

3. Each road or street with more than two moving lanes 

must have pavement markings in accordance with the 

Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets 

and Highways, 2003 Edition, including Revision 1 dated 

November 2004, published by the U.S. Department of 

Transportation, Federal Highway Administration.  

4. Pavement widths of less than 14 feet qualify for only 

one moving lane even if it carries traffic in two directions.  

5. Nonhard surfaced streets do not qualify for street 

payments.  

C. Mileage adjustments, including the results of 

annexations, mergers, or incorporations, will be made on an 

annual basis as part of the board's approval of the annual 

maintenance payments. All adjustments submitted to the 

department by February 1 will be eligible for payment 

effective July 1 of the following fiscal year.  

D. For the purpose of calculating maintenance payments, 

streets will be functionally classified based on the Federal 

Functional Classification system, except where the federal 

system is not parallel with the state system.  

E. Bridge safety and regular inspection is of utmost 

importance. The Federal Highway Administration and the 

department require strict compliance with the National Bridge 

Inspection Standards (23 CFR Part 650) regarding the 

frequency of inspection and load posting requirements. The 

Commissioner of Highways may elect to withhold street 

payments from a municipality for delinquent or inadequate 

bridge inspection reports.  

F. Municipalities, by resolution of their governing body and 

agreement with the department, may elect to utilize up to one-

third of their urban construction allocation for reimbursement 

of debt incurred for eligible project costs on approved 

projects. The payback is limited to a maximum 20-year 

timeframe.  

G. Landscaping is important to enhance the safety and visual 

quality of roads and to maintain quality of life for 

communities. It is the intent of the board that a maximum of 

3.0% of the construction budget for individual urban 

construction projects may be allocated for landscape 

improvements. Pavers and stamped asphalt for crosswalks are 

considered a pedestrian safety and traffic calming measure for 

project participation and are not subject to this limitation. 

Elements of streetscape can also be constructed at project 

expense if the project is an identified gateway project or 

located within a historic or cultural district.  

H. The Commissioner of Highways is directed to establish 

administrative procedures to assure the provisions of this 

chapter and legislative directives are adhered to and complied 

with.  

24VAC30-380-10. General provisions.  

A. In the development of highway construction projects, 

VDOT shall consider a wide range of factors and opportunity 

shall be allowed for consideration and participation by public 

and private interests before final approval of highway 

locations or designs, or both. A public hearing is a well-

publicized opportunity for VDOT to present studies and 

projects while receiving and documenting comments from 

affected or interested citizens.  

B. These are the rules that apply to the implementation of 

this regulation: 

1. A notice to hold a public hearing or the willingness to 

hold a public hearing must be stated in public 

advertisement.  

2. All public hearings should be scheduled approximately 

60 days in advance. Advertisements must appear 30 days 

prior to the hearing.  

3. The public involvement process must be held in 

accordance with applicable federal and state statutes and 

regulations, including §§ 33.1-18, 33.1-70.2 33.2-208, 

33.2-333 and 51.5-40 of the Code of Virginia, 23 USC 

§ 128, 23 CFR Part 771, and 40 CFR Parts 1500-1508. 

4. The publication of a notice of willingness to hold a 

public hearing, with no public request for such a hearing 

by the established expiration date in the notice, or 

conducting a public hearing pursuant to subsection C of 

this section will satisfy any public hearing requirements. 

C. If the system is interstate, primary, urban, or secondary, 

the following types of hearings will be held for the following 

project categories:  

1. Projects on proposed roadway corridors, which are 

completely on new location, require a location public 

hearing followed by a design public hearing.  

2. Projects within the existing roadway corridor with a 

predominant portion of the work on new location require a 

combined location and design public hearing.  

3. Projects within the existing roadway corridor that have a 

significant social, economic or environmental impact 

require a design public hearing.  

4. Projects within the existing roadway corridor where 

insignificant public interest or environmental impacts, or 

both, are anticipated require publication of a notice of 
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willingness to hold a design public hearing. VDOT will 

hold a design public hearing if a request for such a hearing 

is made, and the issues raised in relation to the request 

cannot be resolved through any other means.  

D. Exceptions from the public hearing process. Hearing 

processes are not required for emergency projects, as well as 

those that are solely for highway maintenance or operational 

improvements, or both, except when they:  

1. Involve emergency paving of unpaved secondary roads 

pursuant to § 33.1-70.2 33.2-333 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Require the acquisition of additional right of way;  

3. Would have an unfavorable effect upon abutting real 

property; or  

4. Would change the layout or function of connecting 

roadways or of the facility being improved.  

E. The Commissioner of Highways or his designee shall 

establish administrative procedures to assure the adherence to 

and compliance with the provisions of this regulation.  

24VAC30-401-10. Authority.  

A. Pursuant to the authority granted by § 33.1-58 33.2-401 

of the Code of Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation 

Board (CTB) may designate all or any part of any existing or 

new highway as limited access, as the term "limited access 

highway" is defined in § 33.1-57 33.2-400 of the Code of 

Virginia, the designation of which requires the CTB to 

extinguish all easements of access, light or air. Actions 

regarding limited access control, including changes in control, 

require CTB approval. These changes typically include 

shifting, moving, or breaking control, or any combination of 

these, after a project is completed, finalized and serving in its 

intended capacity. The commissioner shall pay damages, if 

any, to owners of properties abutting the existing or new 

highway for the extinguishment of these rights. This chapter 

establishes the rules pertaining to change of limited access 

control.  

B. The commissioner or his designee may issue additional 

instructions to implement this chapter.  

24VAC30-451-10. Purpose. 

This chapter describes the conditions set by the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board governing the use of 

funds for the construction or improvement of access roads to 

public use airports within the counties, cities, and towns of 

the Commonwealth pursuant to § 33.1-221 33.2-1509 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

24VAC30-451-20. General provisions. 

A. The program for implementation of this policy and the 

funding available for this program shall be designated 

respectively as the Airport Access Roads Program and 

Airport Access Fund. 

B. The use of airport access funds shall be limited to 

assisting in the financing of adequate access to a licensed, 

public use airport. Termination of access to a licensed, public 

use airport shall be at the property line of the airport. 

C. No cost incurred prior to this board's approval of the 

allocation of airport access funds may be reimbursed by such 

funds. Airport access funds shall be authorized only upon 

confirmation that the licensed airport facility is already 

constructed or will be built under firm contract or upon 

provision of acceptable surety in accordance with § 33.1-221 

33.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Airport access funds shall be used only for the design and 

construction of the roadway, including preliminary 

environmental review and standard drainage and storm water 

facilities required solely by construction of the road. Airport 

access funds shall not be used for the acquisition of rights of 

way, the adjustment of utilities, or the attainment of necessary 

environmental permits. 

E. Eligible items in the design and construction of an airport 

access road shall be limited to those essential for providing an 

adequate roadway facility to serve the anticipated traffic 

generated by the airport's operations with adherence to all 

appropriate Commonwealth Transportation Board and state 

policies and standards. However, additional pavement width 

or other features may be eligible where necessary to qualify 

the road facility in a city or town for maintenance payments 

under § 33.1-41.1 33.2-319 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The governing body of a city, county, or town in which 

the proposed airport access road is located shall serve as the 

applicant and submit a formal resolution to request airport 

access funds from this board. A town whose streets are 

maintained under either § 33.1-79 33.2-339 or 33.1-82 33.2-

340 of the Code of Virginia shall file the application through 

the governing body of the county in which it is located. The 

resolution of request shall include commitments to provide 

for the rights of way, adjustment of utilities, and necessary 

environmental permits for the project from funds other than 

airport access funds allocated by this board. 

G. Not more than $650,000 ($500,000 unmatched and 

$150,000 matched dollar for dollar) of the airport access 

funds may be used in any fiscal year to provide access to any 

one airport. Local matching funds shall be provided from 

funds other than those administered by this board. 

H. It is the intent of the Commonwealth Transportation 

Board that airport access funds not be anticipated from year 

to year. Unused eligibility cannot be allowed to accumulate 

and be carried forward from one fiscal year to another. 

I. Prior to the formal request for the use of airport access 

funds, the location for the new access road shall be submitted 

for approval by the Virginia Department of Transportation.  

J. The board will consult with, and may rely on, the 

recommendations of the Virginia Department of Aviation in 

determining the use of these airport access funds for a 

requested project. 
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K. Airport access funds may be authorized only after all 

contingencies of the Commonwealth Transportation Board's 

allocation of funding to the project have been met for airport 

access. 

L. The Commissioner of Highways is directed to establish 

administrative procedures to assure adherence to and 

compliance with the provisions of this chapter and legislative 

directives. 

24VAC30-540-10. Policy.  

It is the policy of VDOT to convey residue and surplus land 

based upon highest and best use.  

VDOT classifies residue and surplus land in two ways:  

1. Residue and surplus land suitable for independent 

development;  

2. Residue and surplus land assembled with adjacent 

properties.  

Upon the approval to dispose of land, the locality in which 

the land is located shall be notified in writing of VDOT's 

interest in accordance with § 33.1-223.2:2 33.2-230 of the 

Code of Virginia once all previous landowner obligations 

have been satisfied.  

24VAC30-540-30. Land assembled with adjacent 

properties.  

A. Certain surplus land is unsuitable for independent 

development and therefore is only usable for assemblage with 

adjacent property.  

B. Whenever VDOT conveys land or an interest in land to 

owners of record of adjoining land, one of the following 

actions is required to verify and confirm adjacent ownership:  

 

STEP 

 

ACTION 

1 Owners of record must furnish the Right of Way 

and Utilities Division with an affidavit signed by 

one or more of the owners. This affidavit must 

certify the exact manner and names in which 

title to adjoining land stands in the local 

courthouse records. 

2 Certification of title from the adjacent 

landowner's attorney may be required by the 

Chief Engineer or Director of Right of Way and 

Utilities if: substantial road frontage is involved 

and liens or deeds of trust exist on the adjacent 

property. 

Upon satisfying the above, the Commissioner of Highways 

will execute the deeds in accordance with §§ 33.1-93, 33.1-

149, 33.2-907, 33.2-913, and 33.1-154 33.2-1010 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

24VAC30-620-20. General conditions and criteria 

concerning suspension of toll collection.  

A. Tolls may be temporarily suspended on any toll facility 

subject to this chapter, under the following conditions:  

1. The Commissioner of Highways or his designee has 

investigated or assessed a threat to public safety on or in 

the vicinity of the toll facility; and  

2. As a result of the investigation or assessment, the 

Commissioner of Highways or his designee believes that a 

temporary suspension of toll collection will alleviate an 

actual or potential threat or risk to the public's safety, or 

facilitate the flow of traffic on or within the vicinity of the 

toll facility.  

B. Incidents which may justify the temporary suspension of 

toll collection operations include, but are not limited to, the 

following: natural disasters, such as hurricanes, tornadoes, 

fires, and floods; accidental releases of hazardous materials, 

such as chemical spills; major traffic accidents, such as multi-

vehicle collisions; and any other incidents deemed to present 

a risk to public safety.  

C. Judicial proceedings arising from any incident resulting 

in the suspension of toll collection will be conducted as 

provided for by § 33.1-252 33.2-613 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4159; Filed November 7, 2014, 2:01 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Transportation 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Department of 

Transportation will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

from any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 24VAC30-73. Access Management 

Regulations (amending 24VAC30-73-20, 24VAC30-73-60).  

24VAC30-155. Traffic Impact Analysis Regulations 

(amending 24VAC30-155-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-245 of the Code of Virginia 

(24VAC30-73-20, 24VAC30-73-60). 

§ 15.2-2222.1 of the Code of Virginia (24VAC30-155-10). 

Effective Date: December 31, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Paul Grasewicz, AICP, Access Management 

Program Administrator, Transportation and Mobility 

Management Division, Department of Transportation, 1401 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-0778, FAX (804) 662-9405, or email 

paul.grasewicz@vdot.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments update Code of Virginia citations to 

reflect the recodification of Title 33.1 to Title 33.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, pursuant to Chapter 805 of the 2014 Acts 

of Assembly. 

24VAC30-73-20. Authority to regulate entrances to 

systems of state highways. 

A. VDOT's authority to regulate entrances and manage 

access to highways is provided in §§ 33.1-13, 33.1-197, 33.1-

198, 33.1-198.1, and 33.1-199 §§ 33.2-223, 33.2-240, 33.2-

241, 33.2-242, and 33.2-245 of the Code of Virginia. Each 

proposed highway entrance creates a potential conflict point 

that impacts the safe and efficient flow of traffic on the 

highway; therefore, private property interests in access to the 

highway must be balanced with public interests of safety and 

mobility. Managing access to highways can reduce traffic 

congestion, help maintain the levels of service, enhance 

public safety by decreasing traffic conflict points, support 

economic development by promoting the efficient movement 

of people and goods, reduce the need for new highways and 

road widening by improving the performance of existing 

highways, preserve the public investment in new highways by 

maximizing their efficient operation, and better coordinate 

transportation and land use decisions. 

B. The Commonwealth Transportation Board has the 

authority to designate highways as limited access and to 

regulate access rights to those facilities as provided in § 33.1-

58 33.2-401 of the Code of Virginia. No private or 

commercial entrances shall be permitted within limited access 

rights-of-way except as may be provided for by the regulation 

titled Change of Limited Access Control (24VAC30-401). 

C. The district administrators or their designees are 

authorized to issue private entrance permits and commercial 

entrance permits in accordance with the provisions of this 

chapter. 

24VAC30-73-60. General provisions governing entrances. 

A. No entrance of any nature may be constructed within the 

right-of-way until the location has been approved by VDOT 

and an entrance permit has been issued. The provisions of 

§ 33.1-198 33.2-241 of the Code of Virginia shall govern any 

violation. 

B. VDOT will permit reasonably convenient access to a 

parcel of record. VDOT is not obligated to permit the most 

convenient access, nor is VDOT obligated to approve the 

permit applicant's preferred entrance location or entrance 

design. If a parcel is served by more than one road in the 

systems of state highways, the district administrator's 

designee shall determine upon which road or roads the 

proposed entrance or entrances is or are to be constructed.  

C. Entrance standards established by localities that are 

stricter than those of VDOT shall govern.  

24VAC30-155-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Floor area ratio" means the ratio of the total floor area of a 

building or buildings on a parcel to the size of the parcel 

where the building or buildings are located. 

"Local traffic impact statement" means a traffic impact 

statement accepted or prepared by a locality pursuant to its 

land development approval process and whose requirements 

regarding content are set out in the locality's ordinances or 

published policies if such ordinances or policies have been 

reviewed and certified by VDOT as requiring acceptable 

standards of preparation and providing sufficient information 

to determine the current and future impacts of development 

proposals. 

"Locality" means any local government, pursuant to § 15.2-

2223 of the Code of Virginia, that must prepare and 

recommend a comprehensive plan for the physical 

development of the territory within its jurisdiction. 

"Network addition" means a group of interconnected street 

segments and intersections shown in a plan of development 

that is connected to the state highway system and meets the 

requirements of the Secondary Street Acceptance 

Requirements (24VAC30-92). 

"Pedestrian facility coverage" means the ratio of: (length of 

pedestrian facilities, such as sidewalks, foot paths, and 

multiuse trails, along both sides of a roadway) divided by 

(length of roadway multiplied by two). 

"Receipt" means the date on which a proposal or request for 

a meeting is first in the possession of VDOT or a locality or 

an agent thereof, as applicable. 

"Redevelopment site" means any existing use that generates 

traffic and is intended to be developed as a different or denser 

land use. 

"Service level" means a measure of the quality, level or 

comfort of a service calculated using methodologies approved 

by VDOT. 

"Small area plan" means a plan of development for multiple 

contiguous properties that guides land use, zoning, 

transportation, urban design, open space, and capital 

improvements at a high level of detail within an urban 

development area or for a transit-oriented development that is 

at least 1/2 square mile in size unless otherwise approved by 

VDOT due to proximity to existing moderate to high density 

developments. A small area plan shall include the following: 

(i) densities of at least four residential units per acre and at 

least a floor area ratio of 0.4 or some proportional 

combination thereof; (ii) mixed-use neighborhoods, including 

mixed housing types and integration of residential, office, and 

retail development; (iii) reduction of front and side yard 

building setbacks; and (iv) pedestrian-friendly road design 

and connectivity of road and pedestrian networks. 
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"State-controlled highway" means a highway in Virginia 

that is part of the interstate, primary, or secondary systems of 

state highways and that is maintained by the state under the 

direction and supervision of the Commissioner of Highways. 

Highways for which localities receive maintenance payments 

pursuant to §§ 33.1-23.5:1 and 33.1-41.1 33.2-319 and 33.2-

366 of the Code of Virginia and highways maintained by 

VDOT in accordance with §§ 33.1-31, 33.1-32, 33.1-33, and 

33.1-68 33.2-311, 33.2-312, 33.2-313, and 33.2-325 of the 

Code of Virginia are not considered state-controlled highways 

for the purposes of determining whether a specific land 

development proposal package must be submitted to meet the 

requirements of this regulation. 

"Traffic impact statement" means the document prepared in 

accordance with best professional practice and standards that 

assesses the impact of a proposed development on the 

transportation system and recommends improvements to 

lessen or negate those impacts. 

"Transit-oriented development" means an area of 

commercial and residential development at moderate to high 

densities within 1/2 mile of a station for heavy rail, light rail, 

commuter rail, or bus rapid transit transportation and includes 

the following: (i) densities of at least four residential units per 

acre and at least a floor area ratio of 0.4 or some proportional 

combination thereof; (ii) mixed-use neighborhoods, including 

mixed housing types and integration of residential, office, and 

retail development; (iii) reduction of front and side yard 

building setbacks; and (iv) pedestrian-friendly road design 

and connectivity of road and pedestrian networks. 

"Transportation demand management" means a combination 

of measures that reduce vehicle trip generation and improve 

transportation system efficiency by altering demand, 

including but not limited to the following: expanded transit 

service, employer-provided transit benefits, bicycle and 

pedestrian investments, ridesharing, staggered work hours, 

telecommuting, and parking management including parking 

pricing. 

"Urban development area" means an area designated on a 

local comprehensive plan pursuant to § 15.2-2223.1 of the 

Code of Virginia that includes the following: (i) densities of 

at least four residential units per acre and at least a floor area 

ratio of 0.4 or some proportional combination thereof; (ii) 

mixed-use neighborhoods, including mixed housing types and 

integration of residential, office, and retail development; (iii) 

reduction of front and side yard building setbacks; and (iv) 

pedestrian-friendly road design and connectivity of road and 

pedestrian networks. 

"VDOT" means the Virginia Department of Transportation, 

the Commissioner of Highways, or a designee. 

"VDOT traffic impact statement" means a traffic impact 

statement prepared pursuant to 24VAC30-155-60. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4158; Filed November 7, 2014, 1:06 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Public Hearings on the Proposed Revised History 
and Social Science, Health Education, Physical 
Education, and Driver Education Standards of 

Learning 

The Virginia Board of Education will hold four public 

hearings to solicit comments on the proposed revised History 

and Social Science, Health Education, Physical Education, 

and Driver Education Standards of Learning. The Standards 

of Learning identify the essential content, processes, and 

skills for grade levels and subject courses. The proposed 

revised History and Social Science, Health Education, 

Physical Education, and Driver Education Standards of 

Learning can be accessed on the Virginia Department of 

Education's website (www.doe.virginia.gov). Public comment 

regarding the proposed revised Standards of Learning may be 

offered through public hearings or public comment through 

the Virginia Department of Education website. 

Each public hearing will begin at 7 p.m. Registration of 

speakers will begin at 6:30 p.m. Speakers will have three 

minutes to speak and should bring copies of their comments 

for the Board of Education. The dates, times, and locations of 

the public hearings are as follows: 

December 2, 2014 – 7 p.m. 

Thomas Jefferson's Monticello - Carl and Hunter Smith 

Education Center, 931 Thomas Jefferson Parkway, 

Charlottesville, VA 22902. Directions to this location may be 

found at http://www.monticello.org/site/visit/hours-and-

directions. 

December 3, 2014 – 7 p.m. 

Edith Bolling Wilson Hotel – George Wythe Ballroom, 

170 East Main Street, Wytheville, VA 24382. Directions to 

this location may be found 

at http://www.mapquest.com/mq/9-p7Oma3yw. 

December 4, 2014 – 7 p.m. 

George Washington's Mount Vernon – Robert H. and 

Clarice Smith Auditorium, 3200 Mount Vernon Memorial 

Highway, Mount Vernon, VA 22121. Directions to this 

location may be found at http://www.mountvernon.org/plan-

your-visit/map-of-the-estate-gardens/#robert-h-and-clarice-

smith-auditorium. 

December 4, 2014 – 7 p.m. 

Colonial Williamsburg – Bruton Heights Education 

Center, 301 1st Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185. Directions 

to this location may be found 

at https://www.google.com/maps/place/301+1st+St,+William

sburg,+VA+23185/@37.2764258,-

76.6945979,15z/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x89b08904bf7caf33:0x5

7f78f56e4b039bb. 

For additional information about the proposed revised History 

and Social Science Standards of Learning, contact Christonya 

Brown by email at christonya.brown@doe.virginia.gov or by 

telephone at (804) 225-2893.  

For additional information about the proposed revised Health 

Education, Physical Education, and Driver Education 

Standards of Learning, contact Vanessa Wigand by email 

at vanessa.wigand@doe.virginia.gov or by telephone at (804) 

225-3300. 

Contact Information: Melissa Luchau, Director for Board 

Relations, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 101 

North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2924, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 

melissa.luchau@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Director's Determination - Small Renewable Energy 
(Water Related) Permit by Rule Regulation 

9VAC15-80 

Pursuant to the Small Renewable Energy Projects Act of 

2009 (§ 10.1-1197.5 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is directed to 

develop one or more permits by rule "if it is determined by 

the department that one or more such permits by rule are 

necessary for the construction and operation of small 

renewable energy projects." Regulatory advisory panels 

(RAPs) comprised of stakeholders were established for each 

renewable source category, (i.e., wind, solar, combustion, and 

water), to make recommendations regarding a permit by rule 

(PBR) for each energy source. The director has approved a 

PBR regulation for wind energy projects, solar energy 

projects, and combustion energy projects. 

The water-related RAP made a consensus recommendation in 

the fall of 2011 that it was not necessary or appropriate, under 

current conditions, for DEQ to develop a PBR regulation for 

renewable energy projects that generate electricity from 

falling water, wave motion, tides, or geothermal power. The 

RAP further recommended that DEQ re-evaluate the potential 

need for a PBR regulation concerning these water related 

renewable energy resources in 2014, or sooner if 

circumstances or public requests so indicate. The director 

issued a decision memorandum on December 2, 2011, in 

which he accepted the RAP's recommendation. 

In the summer of 2014 members of the water related RAP 

were contacted to review the Director's 2011 decision. They 

were also notified of legal analysis received in March 2014 

from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) 

and the Virginia Office of the Attorney General (OAG) that 

the federal Hydropower Regulatory Efficiency Act of 2013, 

codified at 16 U.S.C. § 2705, did not alter federal preemption 

of state authority over hydroelectric projects (copy attached). 

The RAP members recommended by unanimous consensus 

that it continues to be appropriate for DEQ not to develop a 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/testing/sol/standards_docs/history_socialscience/2015/index.shtml
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/testing/sol/standards_docs/health/2015/index.shtml
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/testing/sol/standards_docs/physical_education/2015/index.shtml
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/testing/sol/standards_docs/driver_education/2015/index.shtml
http://www.monticello.org/site/visit/hours-and-directions
http://www.monticello.org/site/visit/hours-and-directions
http://www.mapquest.com/mq/9-p7Oma3yw
http://www.mountvernon.org/plan-your-visit/map-of-the-estate-gardens/#robert-h-and-clarice-smith-auditorium
http://www.mountvernon.org/plan-your-visit/map-of-the-estate-gardens/#robert-h-and-clarice-smith-auditorium
http://www.mountvernon.org/plan-your-visit/map-of-the-estate-gardens/#robert-h-and-clarice-smith-auditorium
https://www.google.com/maps/place/301+1st+St,+Williamsburg,+VA+23185/@37.2764258,-76.6945979,15z/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x89b08904bf7caf33:0x57f78f56e4b039bb
https://www.google.com/maps/place/301+1st+St,+Williamsburg,+VA+23185/@37.2764258,-76.6945979,15z/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x89b08904bf7caf33:0x57f78f56e4b039bb
https://www.google.com/maps/place/301+1st+St,+Williamsburg,+VA+23185/@37.2764258,-76.6945979,15z/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x89b08904bf7caf33:0x57f78f56e4b039bb
https://www.google.com/maps/place/301+1st+St,+Williamsburg,+VA+23185/@37.2764258,-76.6945979,15z/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x89b08904bf7caf33:0x57f78f56e4b039bb
mailto:Christonya.Brown@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:Vanessa.Wigand@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:Melissa.Luchau@doe.virginia.gov
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water related PBR regulation and that no regulatory action 

should be conducted at the present time. 

Opportunity for the public to comment on the RAP 

Recommendation for Small Renewable energy (water related) 

PBR regulation was announced through a Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall General Notice on September 18, 

2014. The comment period closed on October 20, 2014. The 

notice provided the opportunity for the public to consider the 

consensus recommendation of the RAP members and 

explained why, at this time, it is not necessary, or appropriate, 

for DEQ to develop a PBR regulation for projects that 

generate electricity from water related renewable energy 

sources (i.e., falling water, tides, wave motion, or geothermal 

power). No comments were received. 

DEQ staff is not aware of any circumstances, technological 

developments, or other factors that have changed materially 

since the Director's 2011 decision. Staff is aware of a change 

in federal law that occurred in 2013; however, representatives 

of FERC and the Virginia OAG have affirmed that these 

changes did not alter the fact that DEQ is pre-empted by 

federal law from regulating hydroelectric projects. 

Based on the above information, November 6, 2014, the 

director (i) approved the consensus-based recommendations 

of the water-related RAP and determined that it is not 

necessary for the department to develop a PBR at the present 

time for small renewable energy projects that generate 

electricity from falling water, wave motion, tides, or 

geothermal power; (ii) directed that 9VAC15-80 be retained 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall in case the department 

later determines that a permit by rule regulation is necessary 

for one or more of these renewable energy sources (i.e., 

falling water, wave motion, tides, or geothermal power); and 

(iii) directed that DEQ re-evaluate the potential need for a 

PBR regulation concerning these water related renewable 

energy resources in 2019, or sooner if circumstances or public 

requests so indicate. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Health is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 12VAC5-200, Regulations Governing Eligibility 

Standards and Charges for Medical Care Services to 

Individuals. The review of this regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins December 1, 2014, and ends 

December 22, 2014. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Lisa Park, Health Care Reimbursement 

Manager, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7018, FAX (804) 

864-7022, or email lisa.park@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Draft Telemedicine Guidance Document 

The proposed draft version of the Telemedicine Guidance 

Document that will be considered by the Executive 

Committee of the Board of Medicine on Friday, December 5, 

2014, may be accessed at 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/. Forward comments 

or suggestions regarding this draft document to the attention 

of Jennifer Deschenes at 

jennifer.deschenes@dhp.virginia.gov by the close of business 

December 3, 2014. 

Contact Information: Colanthia Opher, Operations Manager, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 364-4400, FAX (804) 364-4426, or email 

coco.morton@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
Eugene E. Cooke 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Eugene E. 

Cooke for alleged violations at property located off of Ware 

Point Road, Gloucester County, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent special order to 

Eugene E. Cooke to address noncompliance with State Water 

Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm.
mailto:lisa.park@vdh.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:coco.morton@dhp.virginia.gov
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available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Gina Pisoni 

will accept comments by email at 

gina.pisoni@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, from December 1, 2014, through January 3, 2015. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-585. Retail Food 

Establishment Regulations. 

Publication: 31:4 VA.R. 199-261 October 20, 2014. 

Corrections to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 217, column 2, 2VAC5-585-100 subdivision 1 c (2) 

after "as specified in" should read "(i) subdivision 5 a or 5 b 

of this section, or 5 a and c (1) (ii) subdivisions 1 c (1) and 5 

a of this section are met.
P
"  

Page 230, column 2, 2VAC5-585-700 A 2 after "holding time 

for ratites" replace "and mechanically tenderized and injected 

meats" with ", mechanically tenderized meats, and injected 

meats" 

Page 239, column 1, 2VAC5-585-950 subdivision 1 a, lines 1 

and 2 should read "a. For the purposes of subdivision 1 of this 

section only, children who are age 9 nine years or" 

Page 241, column 1, 2VAC5-585-1110 A, line 2 should read 

"under 2VAC5-585-1100 and shall be designed" 

Page 257, column 2, 2VAC5-585-3660, replace 

"Responsibilites" with "Responsibilities"  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4032; Filed November 7, 2014, 12:44 p.m. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-200. Rules Governing Long-

Term Care Insurance. 

Publication: 31:5 VA.R. 314-332 November 3, 2014. 

Correction to Title of Regulation: 

Page 314, column 2, line 7, delete "; repealing 14VAC5-200-

20" 

Editor's Note: 14VAC5-200-20 was repealed effective 

September 1, 2007, as published in Virginia Register Volume 

23, Issue 17 on April 30, 2007. Erroneously included in the 

proposed regulatory action for 14VAC5-200, Rules 

Governing Long-Term Care Insurance, it is removed from 

that action. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4149; Filed October 27, 2014, 1:43 p.m. 
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