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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2015 through August 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

31:25 July 22, 2015 August 10, 2015 

31:26 August 5, 2015 August 24, 2015 

32:1 August 19, 2015 September 7, 2015 

32:2 September 2, 2015 September 21, 2015 

32:3 September 16, 2015 October 5, 2015 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 10, 2015 (Tuesday) November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35. None specified. 

Statutory Authority: N/A. 

Name of Petitioner: Steven Shoon. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Create a new regulation to 

require community services boards and behavioral health 

authorities (as defined in § 37.2-100) to produce guidance 

documents for petitions for modification or removal of 

conditions at any time, pursuant to § 19.2-182.11 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The relevant statutes state 

that while a community services board (CSB) must file 

reports on the acquittee's progress at least every six months, it 

may petition the court for modification or removal of 

conditions at any time. Only the acquittee is limited to 

petitioning annually, commencing six months after the 

conditional release order is issued. On July 16, 2015, the 

board voted to deny the request for rulemaking as a change in 

the law or additional guidance documents do not seem 

warranted to give CSBs a legal mechanism to do what they 

can already do (petition anytime). 

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, 11th Floor, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 

Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 225-2252, or 

email ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-33; Filed July 22, 2015, 12:40 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50, 

4VAC15-20-65, 4VAC15-20-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia 

(4VAC15-20-65). 

§ 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia (4VAC15-20-50, 

4VAC15-20-65, and 4VAC15-20-140). 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments: (i) remove "domestica" from the 

scientific name of domestic swine; (ii) replace the words 

"free roaming" with "for which no claim of ownership can 

be made" to make this definition consistent with the feral 

swine definition in 4VAC15-20-160; (iii) replace the terms 

"bow and arrow" and "bow and arrow or crossbow" with 

"archery equipment" for all applicable licenses and 

permits; (iv) add a resident bear hunting license (fee of 

$20) and a nonresident bear hunting license (fee of $150) 

to the list of license and permit fees, and adjust the 

resident sportsman license fee; (v) eliminate bear from the 

resident bear, deer, and turkey hunting license for 

licensees 16 years of age or older, from the resident junior 

bear, deer, and turkey hunting license for licensees under 

16 years of age, and from the nonresident bear, deer, and 

turkey hunting licenses; and (vi) in the definition of 

"species," replace the erroneous word "district" with the 

correct word "distinct." 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal," and "domestic animal."  

[ A. ] In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following terms shall have the meanings 

ascribed to them by this section when used in regulations of 

the board:  

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2014 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of 

Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond and regional 

offices of the department.  

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 

wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 

department's 2014 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of 

Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond and regional 

offices of the department.  

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species.  

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:  

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.  

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines.  

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus.  

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).  

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).  

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 

sheep.  

Domestic goat (Capra hircus).  

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa domestica) scrofa), including 

pot-bellied pig excluding any swine that are free-roaming 

or wild or for which no claim of ownership can be made.  

Llama (Lama glama).  

Alpaca (Lama pacos).  

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).  

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).  

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink.  

[ Domesticated races of red fox (Vulpes vulpes) where 

their coat color can be distinguished from wild red fox. ]  
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Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).  

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).  

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).  

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus).  

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).  

Domesticated races of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 

cuniculus).  

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).  

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).  

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds.  

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons.  

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).  

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 

native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 

amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other 

invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 

otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 

product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts 

of them.  

[ B. Exception for red foxes. Domesticated red foxes 

(Vulpes vulpes) having coat colors distinguishable from wild 

red foxes and possessed in captivity on July 1, 2015, may be 

maintained in captivity until the animals' deaths, but they may 

not be bred or sold without a permit from the department. 

Persons possessing domesticated red foxes without a permit 

from the department must declare such possession in writing 

to the department by January 1, 2016. This written declaration 

must include the number of individual foxes in possession, 

date or dates acquired, and sex, estimated age, coloration, and 

a photograph of each fox. This written declaration shall serve 

as a permit for possession only, is not transferable, and must 

be renewed every five years. ] 

4VAC15-20-65. Hunting, trapping, and fishing license and 

permit fees. 

In accordance with the authority of the board under 

subdivision 16 of § 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following fees are established for hunting, trapping, and 

fishing licenses and permits: 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$22.00 

2-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$43.00 

3-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$64.00 

4-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$85.00 

County or City Resident License to Hunt in 

County or City of Residence Only, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 

$15.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Annual License to 

Hunt, for licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident Junior License to Hunt, for 

licensees 12 through 15 years of age, 

optional for licensees under 12 years of age 

$7.50 

Resident Youth Combination License to 

Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 

hunt with bow and arrow archery 

equipment during archery hunting season, 

and to hunt with muzzleloading guns 

during muzzleloading hunting season, for 

licensees under 16 years of age 

$15.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 

Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 

turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow or a 

crossbow archery equipment during 

archery hunting season, to hunt with 

muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, to fish in designated 

stocked trout waters (also listed under 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish) 

$132.00 

Resident Junior Lifetime License to Hunt, 

for licensees under 12 years of age at the 

time of purchase 

$255.00 

Resident Lifetime License to Hunt, for 

licensees at the time of purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Hunting License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans  
$11.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Hunt 
$15.00 
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Service-Connected Totally and 

Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 

Lifetime License to Hunt or Freshwater 

Fish (also listed under Virginia Resident 

Licenses to Fish) 

no fee 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses for Additional Hunting 

Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Resident Bear, Deer, and Turkey Hunting 

License, for licensees 16 years of age or 

older 

$22.00 

Resident Junior Bear, Deer, and Turkey 

Hunting License, for licensees under 16 

years of age 

$7.50 

Resident Archery License to Hunt with 

bow and arrow or crossbow archery 

equipment during archery hunting season 

$17.00 

Resident Bear Hunting License 

[ $25.00 

$20.00 ] 

Resident Muzzleloading License to Hunt 

during muzzleloading hunting season 
$17.00 

Resident Bonus Deer Permit $17.00 

Resident Fox Hunting License to hunt 

foxes on horseback with hounds without 

firearms (not required of an individual 

holding a general License to Hunt) 

$22.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Hunt, for licensees 

16 years of age or older 
$110.00 

Nonresident Three-Day Trip License to 

Hunt 
$59.00 

Nonresident Youth License to Hunt, for 

licensees:   

under 12 years of age $12.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

Nonresident Youth Combination License to 

Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 

hunt with bow and arrow archery 

equipment during archery hunting season, 

and to hunt with muzzleloading guns 

during muzzleloading hunting season, for 

licensees under 16 years of age 

$30.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 

Partially Disabled Veterans 
$55.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans 
$27.50 

Nonresident Lifetime License to Hunt $555.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses for Additional Hunting 

Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Nonresident Bear, Deer, and Turkey 

Hunting License, for licensees:  

 16 years of age or older $85.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

under 12 years of age $12.00 

Nonresident Bear Hunting License $150.00 

Nonresident Archery License to Hunt with 

bow and arrow or crossbow archery 

equipment during archery hunting season 

$30.00 

Nonresident Muzzleloading License to 

Hunt during muzzleloading hunting season 
$30.00 

Nonresident Shooting Preserve License to 

Hunt within the boundaries of a licensed 

shooting preserve 

$22.00 

Nonresident Bonus Deer Permit $30.00 

Nonresident Fox Hunting License to hunt 

foxes on horseback with hounds without 

firearms (not required of an individual 

holding a general License to Hunt) 

$110.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Hunt 

Type license or permit Fee 

Waterfowl Hunting Stationary Blind in 

Public Waters License  
$22.50 

Waterfowl Hunting Floating Blind in Public 

Waters License 
$40.00 
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Foxhound Training Preserve License $17.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 

to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 

(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 

Permits to Fish) 

$17.00 

  

Virginia Resident and Nonresident Licenses to Trap 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Trap, for licensees 

16 years of age or older 
$45.00 

2-year Resident License to Trap, for licensees 

16 years of age or older 
$89.00 

3-year Resident License to Trap, for licensees 

16 years of age or older 
$133.00 

4-year Resident License to Trap, for licensees 

16 years of age or older 
$177.00 

County or City Resident License to Trap in 

County or City of Residence Only 
$20.00 

Resident Junior License to Trap, for licensees 

under 16 years of age 
$10.00 

Resident Senior Citizen License to Trap, for 

licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Lifetime License to 

Trap, for licensees 65 years of age or older 
$20.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Trap 
$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and Permanently 

Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License 

to Trap 

$15.00 

Nonresident License to Trap $205.00 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $22.00 

2-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $43.00 

3-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $64.00 

4-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $85.00 

County or City Resident License to 

Freshwater Fish in County or City of 

Residence Only 

$15.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish, for 

licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident License to Fish in Designated 

Stocked Trout Waters 
$22.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and Saltwater 

Fish 

[ $39.00 

$38.50 ] 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish for Five 

Consecutive Days 
$13.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and Saltwater 

Fish for Five Consecutive Days 
$23.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 

Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 

turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow or 

crossbow archery equipment during archery 

hunting season, to hunt with muzzleloading 

guns during muzzleloading hunting season, to 

fish in designated stocked trout waters (also 

listed under Virginia Resident Licenses to 

Hunt) 

$132.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to 

Freshwater Fish, for licensees at the time of 

purchase: 
 

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to Fish in 

Designated Stocked Trout Waters, for 

licensees at the time of purchase: 
 

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Fishing License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans 
$11.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Freshwater Fish 
$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and Permanently 

Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License 

to Hunt and Freshwater Fish (also listed 

under Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt)  

no fee 
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Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish $46.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish in 

Designated Stocked Trout Waters 
$46.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish 
$70.00 

Nonresident Fishing License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans 
$23.00 

Nonresident Annual Fishing License for 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans 
$11.50 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 

One Day 
$7.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 

Five Consecutive Days 
$20.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days 
$30.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to 

Freshwater Fish 
$555.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to in 

Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters 
$555.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Fish 

Type license or permit Fee 

Permit to Fish for One Day at Board-

Designated Stocked Trout Fishing Areas 

with Daily Use Fees 

$7.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 

to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 

(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 

Permits to Hunt) 

$17.00 

Special Guest Fishing License $60.00 

4VAC15-20-140. Endangered species; definitions.  

For the purposes of §§ 29.1-564 through 29.1-570 of the 

Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, and this section:  

1. "Endangered species" means any species which is in 

danger of extinction throughout all or a significant portion 

of its range within the Commonwealth, other than a species 

of the class Insecta deemed to be a pest whose protection 

would present an overriding risk to the health or economic 

welfare of the Commonwealth.  

2. "Fish or wildlife" means any member of the animal 

kingdom, vertebrate or invertebrate, without limitation, and 

includes any part, products, egg, or the dead body or parts 

of it.  

3. "Harass," in the definition of "take," means an 

intentional or negligent act or omission which creates the 

likelihood of injury to wildlife by annoying it to such an 

extent as to significantly disrupt normal behavior patterns 

which include, but are not limited to, breeding, feeding or 

sheltering.  

4. "Harm," in the definition of "take," means an act which 

actually kills or injures wildlife. Such act may include 

significant habitat modifications or degradation where it 

actually kills or injures wildlife by significantly impairing 

essential behavioral patterns, including breeding, feeding 

or sheltering.  

5. "Person" means any individual, firm, corporation, 

association or partnership.  

6. "Species" includes any subspecies of fish or wildlife and 

any district distinct population segment of any species or 

vertebrate fish or wildlife which interbreed when mature.  

7. "Take" means to harass, harm, pursue, hunt, shoot, 

wound, kill, trap, capture, possess or collect, or to attempt 

to engage in any such conduct.  

8. "Threatened species" means any species which is likely 

to become an endangered species within the foreseeable 

future throughout all or a significant portion of its range 

within the Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4397; Filed July 21, 2015, 11:13 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows anyone to legally trap feral hogs 

with written permission of the landowner, provided that 

any trapped hogs are not removed from the trap site alive 

and are immediately killed. 
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4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.  

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may be issued by the department, if consistent with the department's fish 

and wildlife management program, to import, possess, or sell those nonnative (exotic) animals listed below and in 4VAC15-20-

210 that the board finds and declares to be predatory or undesirable within the meaning and intent of § 29.1-542 of the Code of 

Virginia, in that their introduction into the Commonwealth will be detrimental to the native fish and wildlife resources of 

Virginia:.  

AMPHIBIANS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Anura Bufonidae Rhinella marina Cane toad* 

Pipidae Hymenochirus spp. 

Pseudohymenochiris merlini 

African dwarf frog 

Xenopus spp. Tongueless or African clawed frog 

Caudata Ambystomatidae All species All mole salamanders 

BIRDS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Psittaciformes Psittacidae  Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet* 

Anseriformes Anatidae  Cygnus olor Mute swan 

FISH: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Cypriniformes  Catostomidae Catostomus microps Modoc sucker 

Catostomus santaanae Santa Ana sucker 

Catostomus warnerensis Warner sucker  

Ictiobus bubalus  Smallmouth* buffalo 

I. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo 

I. niger  Black buffalo* 

Characidae Pygopristis spp. 

Pygocentrus spp. 

Rooseveltiella spp. 

Serrasalmo spp. 

Serrasalmus spp. 

Taddyella spp. 

Piranhas 

Cobitidae Misgurnus anguillicaudatus Oriental weatherfish 

Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp* 

Chrosomus saylori Laurel dace 

Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white amur 

Cyprinella caerulea Blue shiner 

Cyprinella formosa Beautiful shiner 

Cyprinella lutrensis  Red shiner 

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver carp* 

Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp* 
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Notropis albizonatus Palezone shiner 

Notropis cahabae Cahaba shiner 

Notropis girardi Arkansas River shiner 

Notropis mekistocholas Cape Fear shiner 

Notropis simus pecosensis Pecos bluntnose shiner 

Notropis topeka (= tristis) Topeka shiner 

Phoxinus cumberlandensis Blackside dace 

Rhinichthys osculus lethoporus Independence Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus nevadensis Ash Meadows speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus oligoporus Clover Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus ssp. Foskett speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus thermalis Kendall Warm Springs dace 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus Rudd 

Tinca tinca Tench* 

Cyprinodontiformes Poeciliidae Gambusia gaigei Big Bend gambusia 

Gambusia georgei San Marcos gambusia 

Gambusia heterochir Clear Creek gambusia 

Gambusia nobilis Pecos gambusia 

Peociliopsis occidentalis Gila topminnow 

Gasterosteiformes Gasterosteidae Gasterosteus aculeatus williamsoni Unarmored threespine stickleback 

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby 

Neogobius melanostomus Round goby 

Perciformes Channidae Channa spp. 

Parachanna spp. 

Snakeheads 

Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia 

Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe* 

Elassomatidae Elassoma alabamae Spring pygmy sunfish 

Percidae Crystallaria cincotta Diamond darter 

Etheostoma chermocki Vermilion darter 

Etheostoma boschungi Slackwater darter 

Etheostoma chienense Relict darter 

Etheostoma etowahae Etowah darter 

Etheostoma fonticola Fountain darter 

Etheostoma moorei Yellowcheek darter 

Etheostoma nianguae Niangua darter 

Etheostoma nuchale Watercress darter 

Etheostoma okaloosae Okaloosa darter 
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Etheostoma phytophilum Rush darter 

Etheostoma rubrum Bayou darter 

Etheostoma scotti Cherokee darter 

Etheostoma sp. Bluemask (= jewel) darter 

Etheostoma susanae Cumberland darter 

Etheostoma wapiti Boulder darter 

Percina antesella Amber darter 

Percina aurolineata Goldline darter 

Percina jenkinsi Conasauga logperch 

Percina pantherina Leopard darter 

Percina tanasi Snail darter 

Scorpaeniformes Cottidae Cottus sp. Grotto sculpin 

Cottus paulus (= pygmaeus) Pygmy sculpin 

Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish 

Ictaluridae Noturus baileyi Smoky madtom 

Noturus crypticus Chucky madtom 

Noturus placidus Neosho madtom 

Noturus stanauli Pygmy madtom 

Noturus trautmani Scioto madtom 

Synbranchiformes Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel 

MAMMALS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae  All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs,* Wolves, Coyotes or Coyote 

hybrids, Jackals and Foxes 

Ursidae All Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* Relatives 

Mustelidae All Species  

(except Mustela putorius furo) 

Weasels, Badgers,* Skunks and Otters 

Ferret 

Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* Lingsangs, Mongooses, and 

Fossas 

Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas and Aardwolves* 

Felidae All Species Cats* 

Chiroptera   All Species Bats* 

Lagomorpha Lepridae Brachylagus idahoensis Pygmy rabbit 
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Lepus europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit 

Sylvilagus bachmani riparius Riparian brush rabbit 

Sylvilagus palustris hefneri Lower Keys marsh rabbit 

Rodentia   All species native to Africa All species native to Africa 

Dipodidae Zapus hudsonius preblei Preble's meadow jumping mouse 

Muridae Microtus californicus scirpensis Amargosa vole 

Microtus mexicanus hualpaiensis Hualapai Mexican vole 

Microtus pennsylvanicus 

dukecampbelli 

Florida salt marsh vole 

Neotoma floridana smalli Key Largo woodrat 

Neotoma fuscipes riparia Riparian (= San Joaquin Valley) woodrat 

Oryzomys palustris natator Rice rat 

Peromyscus gossypinus allapaticola Key Largo cotton mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus allophrys Choctawhatchee beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus ammobates Alabama beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus niveiventris  Southeastern beach mouse  

Peromyscus polionotus peninsularis St. Andrew beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus phasma Anastasia Island beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus trissyllepsis Perdido Key beach mouse 

Reithrodontomys raviventris Salt marsh harvest mouse 

Heteromyidae Dipodomys heermanni morroensis Morro Bay kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys ingens  Giant kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys merriami parvus San Bernadino Merriam's kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides exilis Fresno kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides nitratoides Tipton kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys stephensi (including D. 

cascus) 

Stephens' kangaroo rat 

Perognathus longimembris pacificus Pacific pocket mouse 

Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs 

Spermophilus brunneus brunneus Northern Idaho ground squirrel 

Tamiasciurus hudsonicus 

grahamensis 

Mount Graham red squirrel 

Soricomorpha Soricidae Sorex ornatus relictus Buena Vista Lake ornate shrew 

MOLLUSKS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum New Zealand mudsnail 

Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis  Quagga mussel 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 10, 2015 

2293 

Dreissena polymorpha  Zebra mussel 

REPTILES: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Crocodilia Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans* 

Crocodylidae  All species Crocodiles*  

Gavialidae All species Gavials* 

Squamata Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

CRUSTACEANS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Decapoda Cambaridae Cambarus aculabrum Cave crayfish 

Cambarus zophonastes Cave crayfish 

Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish 

Orconectes shoupi Nashville crayfish 

Pacifastacus fortis Shasta crayfish 

Procambarus sp. Marbled crayfish 

Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish 

Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 

Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A 

of this section, a person, company or corporation possessing 

any nonnative (exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) 

in subsection A of this section, prior to July 1, 1992, must 

declare such possession in writing to the department by 

January 1, 1993. This written declaration shall serve as a 

permit for possession only, is not transferable, and must be 

renewed every five years. This written declaration must 

include species name, common name, number of individuals, 

date or dates acquired, sex (if possible), estimated age, height 

or length, and other characteristics such as bands and band 

numbers, tattoos, registration numbers, coloration, and 

specific markings. Possession transfer will require a new 

permit according to the requirements of this subsection.  

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not 

required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive 

bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band.  

D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required 

for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals 

listed in subsection A of this section that may be used for 

personal use, in the manufacture of products, or used in 

scientific research, provided that such parts or products be 

packaged outside the Commonwealth by any person, 

company, or corporation duly licensed by the state in which 

the parts originate. Such packages may be transported into the 

Commonwealth, consistent with other state laws and 

regulations, so long as the original package remains 

unbroken, unopened and intact until its point of destination is 

reached. Documentation concerning the type and cost of the 

animal parts ordered, the purpose and date of the order, point 

and date of shipping, and date of receiving shall be kept by 

the person, business or institution ordering such nonnative 

(exotic) animal parts. Such documentation shall be open to 

inspection by a representative of the Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries.  

E. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing of 

prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be 

January 1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in 

Virginia on December 31, 1997, may be maintained in 

captivity until the animals' deaths, but they may not be sold 

on or after January 1, 1998, without a permit.  

F. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally 

harvest snakehead fish of the family Channidae, provided that 

they immediately kill such fish and that they notify the 

department, as soon as practicable, of such actions.  

G. Exception for feral hogs. [ All trapped and harvested 

hogs must be reported to the department upon vehicle 

transport or processing of the carcass without unnecessary 

delay. ] Anyone may legally trap feral hogs with written 

permission of the landowner, provided that any trapped hogs 

are not removed from the trap site alive and are killed 

immediately. 

G. H. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other 

nonnative (exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this 

section may be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that 

such animals shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and 

federal laws and regulations, including those that apply to 
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threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that 

such animals shall not be liberated within the 

Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4398; Filed July 21, 2015, 11:46 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General 

(amending 4VAC15-40-20, 4VAC15-40-195, 4VAC15-40-

220, 4VAC15-40-280; adding 4VAC15-40-22; repealing 

4VAC15-40-21).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) define "bow and arrow," "crossbow," 

and "archery equipment," establish the minimum head 

width allowable to archery hunt bear, deer, elk, and 

turkeys, and incorporate the licensing of hunting with 

crossbows into overall archery hunting licensing; (ii) 

establish a special license to hunt bears for resident and 

nonresident hunters; (iii) require the daily checking of 

traps with certain exceptions; (iv) allow the use of remote 

trap checking systems in lieu of a physical trap check 

under specified conditions; (v) increase the maximum 

allowable snare height and establish requirements for 

when the top of the snare loop is set above a certain 

height; (vi) establish that a hunting permit is needed on 

any lands, public as well as private, that are managed by 

the department through a lease agreement or 

memorandum of agreement where the department issues 

an annual hunting permit; and (vii) replace the term 

"stamp" with the more descriptive term "permit." 

4VAC15-40-20. Hunting with arrows to which any drug, 

chemical or toxic substance has been added or explosive-

head arrows prohibited Archery hunting requirements.  

A. "Bow and arrow" means a weapon made of a strip of 

flexible material, which, when bent by drawing a string or 

cable connecting the two ends, uses the energy stored in the 

flexible material to propel an arrow. 

B. "Crossbow" means a bow and arrow mounted 

horizontally on a stock having a trigger mechanism to release 

the string. 

C. "Archery equipment" means a bow and arrow or a 

crossbow. 

D. Arrows used for hunting bear, deer, elk, and turkey must 

have a minimum head width of 7/8 inch in a fixed or 

expanded position. 

E. Except as otherwise provided by law or regulation, it 

shall be unlawful to use arrows to which any drug, chemical 

or toxic substance has been added or arrows with explosive 

heads at any that time for the purpose of hunting wild birds or 

wild animals.  

4VAC15-40-21. Special crossbow license; hunting with 

crossbows. (Repealed.)  

There shall be a license to hunt with a crossbow during the 

special archery seasons that shall be in addition to the license 

required to hunt small game. The fee for the special crossbow 

license shall be as specified in 4VAC15-20-65.  

4VAC15-40-22. Special license for hunting bear. 

There shall be a special license to hunt bears that shall be in 

addition to the state resident license to hunt or state 

nonresident license to hunt. The fee for the special bear 

license shall be as specified in 4VAC15-20-65.  

4VAC15-40-195. Visiting traps, generally; visiting 

completely submerged, body-gripping traps; use of 

remote trap check systems. 

A. Except as provided in subsections B and C of this 

section, it shall be unlawful to fail to visit all traps once each 

day and remove all animals caught. 

B. Body-gripping traps that are completely submerged by 

water must be visited at least once every 72 hours. 

C. Remote trap checking systems may be used in lieu of a 

physical trap visit when such systems (i) have a control unit 

that reports trap status to a centralized application database at 

least once every 24 hours; (ii) have notification alarms that 

report trap closures and system health issues within one hour 

of detection via email and text-based messaging systems; and 

(iii) have on-demand control unit testing capabilities for 

determining trap status, signal strength, and battery condition 

via remote system check-in. If the control unit reports a trap 

closure, the user is required to physically visit the trap within 

24 hours of the time the trap was reported closed. If the 

control unit fails to report its current status within a 24-hour 

check-in period or reports a system health issue, the user is 

required to physically check the trap within 24 hours of the 

last time an open trap signal was received. 

4VAC15-40-220. Use of deadfalls prohibited; restricted 

use of snares.  

It shall be unlawful to trap, or attempt to trap, on land any 

wild bird or wild animal with any deadfall or snare; provided, 

that snares with loops no more than 12 inches in diameter and 

with the top bottom of the snare loop set not to exceed 12 

inches above ground level may be used with the written 

permission of the landowner. Snares with the top of the snare 

loop set higher than 12 inches above ground level must 

include a [ relaxing lock single-piece lock that is not power 

assisted ], a cable stop that prevents the snare loop from 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 10, 2015 

2295 

closing smaller than 2-1/2 inches in diameter, and a break-

away device that has been tested to break or disassemble at no 

more than 285 pounds pull.  

4VAC15-40-280. Department-owned, controlled, or 

managed lands; annual stamp permit for hunting on 

private lands managed by the department.  

A. The open seasons for hunting and trapping, as well as 

hours, methods of taking, and bag limits for department-

owned or controlled department-controlled lands, or lands 

managed by the department under cooperative agreement, 

shall conform to the regulations of the board unless excepted 

by posted rules established by the director or his designee. 

Such posted rules shall be displayed at each recognized 

entrance to the land where the posted rules are in effect.  

B. Department-owned lands shall be open to the public for 

wildlife observation and for hunting, fishing, trapping, and 

boating (as prescribed by 4VAC15-320-100) under the 

regulations of the board. Other activities deemed appropriate 

by the director or his designee may be allowed by posted 

rules, by written authorization from the director or his 

designee, or by special permit.  

C. No person shall hunt on private lands managed by the 

department through a lease agreement or other similar 

memorandum of agreement where the department issues an 

annual hunting stamp permit without having purchased a 

valid annual hunting stamp permit. The annual hunting stamp 

permit shall be in addition to the required licenses to hunt, 

and the cost of such stamp permit shall be the same as the 

cost of the annual state resident hunting license in § 29.1-303 

of the Code of Virginia.  

D. Activities that are not generally or specifically authorized 

in accordance with subsections A through C of this section 

are prohibited and shall constitute a violation of this 

regulation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4399; Filed July 21, 2015, 10:12 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 

4VAC15-50-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 20, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 5, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Ryan Brown, Legislative and Policy 

Manager, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 

Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone 

(804) 263-3258, or email ryan.brown@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment establishes a bear hound 

training season in Charlotte County that is open from the 

first Saturday in September through the last Saturday in 

September, both dates inclusive. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  

A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the second Saturday in August 

through the last Saturday in September, both dates inclusive, 

in all counties and cities or in the portions in which bear 

hunting is permitted except in the counties of Accomack, 

Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, 

Caroline, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Clarke, 

Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, 

Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, Grayson (west of Route 

16), Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Isle of 

Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King 

William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, 

Mecklenburg, Middlesex, New Kent, Northampton, 

Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Patrick, Pittsylvania, 

Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince William, 

Richmond, Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Smyth (that part 

south of Interstate 81 and west of Route 16), Southampton, 

Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, Westmoreland, and 

York, and in the cities of Hampton, Newport News and 

Norfolk.  

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 14 days following, both dates 

inclusive, in the counties of Amelia, Appomattox, 

Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell (east of the Norfolk 

Southern Railroad), Charles City, Charlotte, Cumberland, 

Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of Wight, James 

City, King and Queen, King George, King William, 

Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, 

New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, Pittsylvania (east of 

the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince Edward, Prince 

George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, 

Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be lawful to chase black bears with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, in the counties of Brunswick, Charlotte, 

Greensville, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg from the first 

Saturday in September through the last Saturday in 

September, both dates inclusive. 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 

crossbow or any weapon capable of taking a black bear while 

participating in the bear hound training season. The meaning 

of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall include, 

but not be limited to, having a firearm, bow, crossbow or any 

weapon capable of taking a black bear in or on one's person, 

vehicle, or conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4470; Filed July 21, 2015, 4:47 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 

4VAC15-50-12, 4VAC15-50-70, 4VAC15-50-81, 4VAC15-

50-110, 4VAC15-50-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) move the youth and apprentice hunter 

bear hunting day from the last Saturday in September to 

the second Saturday in October and add the Sunday 

following it, making it a youth and apprentice hunter bear 

hunting weekend; (ii) for the Saturday of the youth and 

apprentice weekend, allow the use of hounds anywhere 

they are allowed during the open (firearm) season and in 

the southwest training counties, and list the areas where 

hunting with bear hounds during this day is prohibited; 

(iii) replace the term "bow and arrow" with the term 

"archery" or "archery equipment"; (iv) move the 

requirements for minimum arrow head width and distance 

a bow must be capable of shooting to 4VAC15-40-20; (v) 

remove the reference to season dates; (vi) provide 

exceptions for the use of firearms and bear hounds on the 

youth and apprentice bear hunting day; (vii) remove 

references to deer and turkey to accommodate the 

establishment of a separate special license to hunt bears; 

(viii) clarify the areas dogs are not permitted during open 

(firearms) bear season; and (ix) allow for or adjust the 

length of bear hound training season in several counties. 

4VAC15-50-12. Youth and apprentice hunter bear 

hunting day weekend. 

It shall be lawful for hunters 15 years of age and under and 

holders of a valid apprentice hunting license, when in 

compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements, 

to hunt bears on the last second Saturday in September 

October and the following calendar day when accompanied 

and directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia 

hunting license on his person or is exempt from purchasing a 

hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying youth or 

apprentice bear hunters on this day weekend may not carry or 

discharge weapons. Bear bag limit, weight limits, and all 

other take restrictions specifically provided in the sections 

appearing in this chapter apply to this youth day weekend. 

Bear hunting with dogs is prohibited except any place where 

there is a bear hound training season currently in progress as 

defined in 4VAC15-50-120 (Bear hound training season) and 

tracking in the counties of Accomack, Campbell (west of 

Norfolk Southern Railroad), Fairfax, [ Grayson (east of Route 

16), Henry, ] Loudoun, Northampton, [ Patrick, ] Pittsylvania 

(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Roanoke (south of 

Interstate 81), [ Smyth (south of Interstate 81 and east of 

Route 16), Washington (south of Interstate 81), ] and in the 

city of Lynchburg; and on Amelia, Chester F. Phelps, G. 

Richard Thompson, and Pettigrew Wildlife Management 

Areas. Tracking dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of 

the Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-50-70. Bow and arrow Archery hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special archery 

season with bow and arrow archery equipment from the first 

Saturday in October through the Friday prior to the third 

Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

B. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 

bow and arrow archery equipment during the special archery 

seasons, except that hunters 15 years of age and under and 

apprentice hunters may be in possession of firearms while 

hunting on youth and apprentice hunter bear hunting weekend 

as authorized by 4VAC15-50-12 and except that a 

muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-50-71, may be in 

the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 

hunter when and where the early special archery bear season 

overlaps the early special muzzleloading bear season. 

C. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 

width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 

hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 

minimum of 125 yards. 

D. C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with 

bow and arrow from the second Saturday in October through 

the Saturday prior to the second Monday in November, both 

dates inclusive, except archery equipment during the special 

archery season, except that hounds may be used by hunters 

participating in the youth and apprentice hunter bear hunting 

weekend in areas as defined in 4VAC15-50-12, and that 

tracking dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of the 

Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-50-81. Validating tags and checking bear by 

licensee or permittee.  

A. Any person killing a bear shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 

their special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey or 

special permit by completely removing the designated notch 

area from the tag. Place of kill shall be defined as the location 

where the animal is first reduced to possession. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to validate (notch) a bear tag from 

any special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey or 

special permit prior to the killing of a bear. A bear tag that is 

mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the killing of a bear 

must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee by 

writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on the 

license tag.  
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B. Upon killing a bear and validating (notching) a license 

tag or special permit, as provided above in subsection A of 

this section, the licensee shall, upon vehicle transport of the 

carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever 

occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, present the 

carcass and validated (notched) license tag or special permit 

to an authorized bear checking station or to an appropriate 

representative of the department in the county or adjoining 

county in which the bear was killed. Upon presentation of the 

carcass and validated (notched) license tag or special permit 

to the bear checking station, the licensee shall surrender or 

allow to be removed one premolar tooth from the carcass. At 

such time, the person checking the carcass will be given a 

game check card. The successful hunter shall then 

immediately record the game check card number, in ink, on 

the line provided adjacent to the license tag that was validated 

(notched) in the field. The game check card must be kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, the game check card must be 

securely attached to the carcass.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

(sex) of any bear killed unless and until the license tag or 

special permit is validated (notched) and checked as required 

by this section. Successful bear hunters are allowed to 

dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill, 

after an appropriate license tag has been validated (notched) 

as required above, as long as the sex of the animal remains 

identifiable and all the parts of the carcass are present when 

the bear is checked at an authorized bear checking station. 

Any bear found in the possession of any person without a 

validated (notched) license tag or documentation that the bear 

has been checked at an authorized bear checking station as 

required by this section shall be forfeited to the 

Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law.  

4VAC15-50-110. Use of dogs in hunting bear. 

A. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the open season for hunting deer in the counties west 

of the Blue Ridge Mountains and in the counties of Amherst 

(west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its 

intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the town of Amherst 

continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, and 

Nelson (west of Route 151); and within the boundaries of the 

national forests, except that tracking dogs as defined 

described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be 

used. 

B. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the first 14 days of the open season for hunting deer in 

the counties of Greene and Madison, except that tracking 

dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the open season prescribed in 4VAC15-50-11 in the 

counties of Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 

Carroll (east of the New River), Fairfax, Floyd, Franklin, 

Grayson (east of the New River), Henry, Loudoun, 

Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick, Pittsylvania 

(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski (south of 

Interstate 81), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Wythe 

(southeast of the New River or that part bounded by Route 21 

on the west, Interstate 81 on the north, the county line on the 

east, the New River on the southeast and Cripple Creek on the 

south); in the city of Lynchburg; and on Amelia, Chester F. 

Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and Pettigrew wildlife 

management areas Wildlife Management Areas, except that 

tracking dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of the 

Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  

A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the second Saturday in August 

through the last Saturday in September, both dates inclusive, 

in all counties and cities or in the portions in which bear 

hunting is permitted except in the counties of Accomack, 

Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, 

Caroline, Carroll, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, 

Clarke, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, 

Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, 

[ Grayson (west of Route 16), ] Greensville, Halifax, 

Hanover, Henrico, [ Henry, ] Isle of Wight, James City, King 

and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Loudoun, 

Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, 

Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), New Kent, 

Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, [ Patrick, 

] Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, 

Prince William, Pulaski (south of Interstate 81), Richmond, 

Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), [ Smyth (south of Interstate 

81), Smyth (that part south of Interstate 81 and west of Route 

16), ] Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, 

Washington (south of Interstate 81), Westmoreland, Wythe 

(south of Interstate 81), and York, and in the cities of 

Hampton, Newport News and Norfolk.  

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 14 days following, both dates 

inclusive, in the counties of Amelia, Appomattox, 

Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell (east of the Norfolk 

Southern Railroad), Charles City, Charlotte, Cumberland, 

Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of Wight, James 

City, King and Queen, King George, King William, 

Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, 

New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, Pittsylvania (east of 

the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince Edward, Prince 

George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, 

Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be lawful to chase black bears with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, in the counties of Brunswick, 

Greensville, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg from the first 

Saturday in September through the third last Saturday in 

September, both dates inclusive. 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 25  Virginia Register of Regulations August 10, 2015 

2298 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 

crossbow or any weapon capable of taking a black bear while 

participating in the bear hound training season. The meaning 

of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall include, 

but not be limited to, having a firearm, bow, crossbow or any 

weapon capable of taking a black bear in or on one's person, 

vehicle, or conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4400; Filed July 21, 2015, 4:09 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-70. Game: Bobcat (amending 

4VAC15-70-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the season bag limit of 12 

bobcats per year taken by hunting and trapping combined. 

4VAC15-70-30. Bag limit.  

The bag limit for hunting bobcat shall be two per hunting 

party, taken between noon of one day and noon the following 

day. The season bag limit shall be 12 bobcats in the 

aggregate, taken by hunting and trapping combined.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4401; Filed July 21, 2015, 7:23 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 

4VAC15-90-23, 4VAC15-90-70, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-

90-89, 4VAC15-90-91, 4VAC15-90-231, 4VAC15-90-293).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) expand the youth and apprentice 

hunter deer hunting day by one day, making it a youth and 

apprentice hunter deer hunting weekend; (ii) replace the 

term "bow and arrow" with the term "archery" or "archery 

equipment" and move the requirements for minimum arrow 

head width and distance a bow must be capable of 

shooting from this regulation to 4VAC15-40; (iii) adjust 

the numbers of days that deer of either sex may be taken 

during the muzzleloading gun and the general firearms 

deer hunting seasons in various locations statewide; (iv) in 

Rappahannock County, prohibit the taking of a second or 

third antlered deer prior to taking at least one or two, 

respectively, antlerless deer; (v) remove references to bear 

to accommodate the establishment of a special hunting 

license to hunt bears; (vi) remove language that could 

create a misimpression about whether cervids harvested 

from an area adjacent to a carcass-restriction zone may 

enter Virginia; and (vii) prohibit the possession and use of 

cervid excretions and bodily fluids for the purpose of 

taking, attempting to take, attracting, or scouting any wild 

animal. 

4VAC15-90-23. Youth and apprentice hunter deer 

hunting day weekend. 

It shall be lawful for deer hunters 15 years of age and under 

and holders of an apprentice hunting license, when in 

compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements, 

to hunt deer on the last Saturday in September and the 

following calendar day when accompanied and directly 

supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia hunting 

license on his person or is exempt from purchasing a hunting 

license. Deer of either-sex may be taken on this special youth 

and apprentice deer hunting day weekend. Adult hunters 

accompanying youth or apprentice deer hunters on this day 

weekend may not carry or discharge weapons. Blaze orange 

is required for all persons hunting any species or any person 

accompanying a hunter on this day weekend unless otherwise 

exempted by state law. Deer hunting with dogs is prohibited, 

except that tracking dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 

of the Code of Virginia may be used. [ Youth and apprentice 

deer hunters are limited on this weekend to one deer per 

hunter. ] 

4VAC15-90-70. Bow and arrow Archery hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

archery season with bow and arrow archery equipment from 

the first Saturday in October through the Friday prior to the 

third Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 

section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

archery season with bow and arrow archery equipment from 

the Sunday following the close of the general firearms season 

on deer through the first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue 

Ridge Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national 

forest lands in Frederick County) and in the counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection with 

U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing north 
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on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, 

Nelson (west of Route 151), Patrick and on the Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management Area and on national forest 

lands in Frederick County and from December 1 through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in the cities of 

Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and 

Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 

this section (except on PALS (Public Access Lands) in 

Dickenson County where it shall be unlawful to take 

antlerless deer during the special archery seasons provided for 

in subsections A and B of this section). 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 

bow and arrow archery equipment during the special archery 

seasons, except that a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 

4VAC15-90-80, may be in the possession of a properly 

licensed muzzleloading gun hunter when and where a special 

archery deer season overlaps a special muzzleloading deer 

season. 

E. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 

width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 

hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 

minimum of 125 yards. 

F. E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow 

and arrow archery equipment during any special archery 

season, except that tracking dogs as defined described in 

§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

G. For the purpose of the application of subsections A 

through I to this section, the phrase "bow and arrow" includes 

crossbows. 

H. F. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the 

special urban archery season with bow and arrow archery 

equipment from the first Saturday in September through the 

Friday prior to the first Saturday in October, both dates 

inclusive, and from the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March, both dates 

inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any city or town in 

the Commonwealth (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) and counties with a human 

population density of 300 persons per square mile or more 

(except on national forest and department-owned lands), 

provided that its governing body submits by certified letter to 

the department prior to April 1, its intent to participate in the 

special urban archery season. Any city, town, or county no 

longer participating in this season shall submit by certified 

letter to the department prior to April 1 notice of its intent not 

to participate in the special urban archery season. 

I. G. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the 

special antlerless archery season with a bow and arrow 

archery equipment from the Monday following the last 

Sunday in March through the last Sunday in April, both dates 

inclusive, in Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William 

counties (including the cities and towns within). 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 

with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 

cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line), and Virginia Beach.  

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 21 

consecutive days immediately prior to and on the first 

Saturday in January, in all cities, towns, and counties west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-

national forest lands in Frederick County), and east of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains in the counties (including the cities 

and towns within) of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from 

the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of 

the Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 

151), Patrick and on national forest lands in Frederick County 

and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal 

Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains unless otherwise noted below:  

- 1. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second 

Saturday only of the early special muzzleloading season on 

state forest lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee 

State Park), department-owned lands (except on Merrimac 

Farm Wildlife Management Area) and Philpott Reservoir. 

- 2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season on national 

forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted below: 

- 1. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties 

and on private lands in Carroll, Frederick, Grayson, 

Montgomery, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and Warren counties. 

2. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

and the last five days of the early muzzleloading season on 

private lands in Botetourt County. 

- 3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season in 

Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Smyth, Tazewell, 

Washington, and Wise counties and on national forest 

lands in Alleghany, Botetourt, Bland, Craig, Frederick, 

Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, 

Scott, Shenandoah, Warren, and on national forest and 

department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, 

Carroll, Highland, and Roanoke, Rockbridge, Smyth, 
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Washington, and Wythe counties and on Grayson 

Highlands State Park and on private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731 in Rockingham County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 

the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 

below: 

- 1. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

entire late special muzzleloading season in the counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 

lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd, 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands), and Patrick and on private lands in 

Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and 

Warren counties and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk 

(east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

- 2. Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, 

Bath, Dickenson (north of Route 83), Highland, Lee, 

Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Wise 

counties and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 

[ Botetourt, ] Frederick, Grayson, Nelson, Page, 

Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and Warren counties, and 

on national forest and department-owned lands in Augusta 

and, Botetourt, Rockbridge, Smyth, and Washington 

counties and on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 

in Rockingham County and Grayson Highlands State Park. 

- 3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

and Dickenson (south of Route 83). 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 

hunting except in the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, and 

Wise. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of the 

Code of Virginia may be used. 

H. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 

means a single shot weapon, .45 caliber or larger, firing a 

single projectile or sabot (with a .38 caliber or larger 

projectile) of the same caliber loaded from the muzzle of the 

weapon and propelled by at least 50 grains of black powder 

(or black powder equivalent or smokeless powder). 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.  

 

4VAC15-90-85. Elk hunting.  

EDITOR'S NOTE: The Board of Game and Inland Fisheries 

did not adopt the proposed amendments to expand the area 

where elk are protected to all 31 counties west of the Blue 

Ridge Mountains. Such protection continues to apply to 

Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise counties. Since the proposed 

amendments were not adopted, this section has no change. 

A. Closed season. There shall be a continuous closed season 

for elk (Cervus elaphus) hunting in [ Buchanan, Dickenson, 

and Wise counties all counties west of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains ]. 

B. Open season. Except as otherwise provided by this 

chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt elk of either sex during (i) 

the general firearms deer seasons (as prescribed by 4VAC15-

90-10 and 4VAC15-90-23), (ii) the special archery seasons 

(as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-70), and (iii) the special 

muzzleloading seasons (as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-80) 

with bag limits as prescribed in 4VAC15-90-90. 

C. Validating tags and checking elk by licensee or permittee. 

Upon killing an elk, any licensed or permitted hunter shall 

validate a tag, bonus deer permit, or special permit and check 

the elk in accordance with 4VAC15-90-231. At the time of 

checking, the hunter must call the department upon receiving 

a check card or confirmation number to schedule an 

inspection of the carcass and the site of kill for the collection 

of biological samples for disease testing.  

D. Checking elk by persons exempt from license 

requirements or holding a license authorization number. Upon 

killing an elk, any person (i) exempt from license requirement 

as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) 

issued a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339 of 

the Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent license issued 

pursuant to § 29.1-301 E, or (iv) holding a Virginia license 

authorization number issued by a telephone or electronic 

media agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B of the Code of Virginia 

shall check the elk in accordance with 4VAC15-90-241. At 

the time of checking, the hunter must call the department 

upon receiving a check card or confirmation number to 

schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site of kill for 

the collection of biological samples for disease testing. 

4VAC15-90-89. Earn a buck (EAB). 

For the purposes of this section, the term "license year" 

defines the period between July 1 and June 30 of the 

following year. 

Arlington County (including the cities and towns within). 

During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer in Arlington County prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Arlington County, and it shall be unlawful 

to take a third antlered deer in Arlington County prior to 

taking at least three antlerless deer in Arlington County.  

Bedford County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Bedford 
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County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Bedford County, and it shall be unlawful to take a 

third antlered deer on private lands in Bedford County prior 

to taking at least two antlerless deer on private lands in 

Bedford County. 

Clarke County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Clarke County 

prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private lands in 

Clarke County.  

Fairfax County (including the cities and towns within). 

During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer in Fairfax County prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Fairfax County, and it shall be unlawful to 

take a third antlered deer in Fairfax County prior to taking at 

least three antlerless deer in Fairfax County.  

Frederick County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Frederick 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Frederick County. 

Loudoun County (including the cities and towns within). 

During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer in Loudoun County prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Loudoun County, and it shall be unlawful to 

take a third antlered deer in Loudoun County prior to taking 

at least three antlerless deer in Loudoun County.  

Prince William County except on Department of Defense 

lands (including the cities and towns within). During a license 

year, it shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer in 

Prince William County (except on Department of Defense 

lands) prior to taking at least two antlerless deer in Prince 

William County (except on Department of Defense lands), 

and it shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer in Prince 

William County (except on Department of Defense lands) 

prior to taking at least three antlerless deer in Prince William 

County (except on Department of Defense lands).  

Rappahannock County (including the cities and towns 

within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a 

second antlered deer in Rappahannock County prior to taking 

at least one antlerless deer in Rappahannock County, and it 

shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer in 

Rappahannock County prior to taking at least two antlerless 

deer in Rappahannock County. 

Roanoke County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Roanoke 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Roanoke County. 

Warren County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Warren 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Warren County.  

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 

hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either 

sex may be taken within:  

Accomack County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days full season. 

Albemarle County: full season. 

Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last day.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days.  

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River): the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 

27 days.  

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 six days.  

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

Arlington County: full season.  

Augusta County: the second Saturday and the last six days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last day.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  

Bedford County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last two days 

day. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Botetourt County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days.  
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Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken.  

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 six days.  

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last six days. 

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

Campbell County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days.  

Caroline County: the second, and third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 13 days. 

-Mattaponi WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

Carroll County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day.  

Charles City County: full season the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 27 days.  

-Chickahominy WMA: the second Saturday after 

Thanksgiving antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days.  

Chesapeake (City of): full season the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 13 days. 

Chesterfield County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Clarke County: full season.  

Craig County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Culpeper County: full season. 

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last day.  

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

-Cumberland State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken.  

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days.  

Essex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 

the last 27 days. 

Fairfax County: full season (restricted to certain parcels of 

land by special permit).  

Fauquier County: full season.  

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last day.  

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last day.  

Floyd County: full season.  

Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days.  

Franklin County: full season.  

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six days.  

Frederick County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Giles County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Gloucester County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days. 

Goochland County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days.  

Grayson County: full season.  

-National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park: 

antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 

antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Greene County: full season. 

Greensville County: full season.  

Halifax County: full season the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days.  

Hanover County: full season. 

Henrico County: full season. 

Henry County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six days.  

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last day.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  

Isle of Wight County: full season.  

-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  
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James City County: full season. 

King and Queen County: the second, and third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 13 days. 

King George County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days full season. 

King William County: the second, and third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 13 days. 

Lancaster County: full season.  

Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

Loudoun County: full season.  

Louisa County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 

the last 27 days.  

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days.  

Madison County: full season. 

-Rapidan WMA: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days. 

Mathews County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and last 27 days. 

Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 six days.  

-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

Middlesex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and last 27 days.  

Montgomery County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 27 days.  

-James River WMA: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

New Kent County: full season the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

Northampton County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days full season. 

Northumberland County: full season. 

Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days. 

Orange County: full season. 

Page County: the second Saturday and the last two days.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Patrick County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

Pittsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days.  

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last day.  

Powhatan County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six 13 days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 six days.  

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

-Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays.  

Prince George County: full season. 

Prince William County: full season.  

Pulaski County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Rappahannock County: full season. 

Richmond County: full season. 

Roanoke County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day.  

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 

days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  

Rockingham County: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

-National forest lands and private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731: the last day.  

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two days.  

-Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden Valley WMA, and the 

Channels State Forest: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken. 

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

Shenandoah County: full season.  
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-National forest lands: the last day.  

Smyth County: the second Saturday and the last six days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and 

Hungry Mother State Park: antlered bucks only—no 

either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline 

may be taken. 

Southampton County: full season.  

Spotsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

Stafford County: full season.  

Suffolk (City of) (east of the Dismal Swamp Line): full 

season the second and third Saturdays and the last 13 days. 

Suffolk (west of the Dismal Swamp Line): full season. 

Surry County: full season.  

-Carlisle Tract of the Hog Island WMA: antlered bucks 

only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above 

the hairline may be taken.  

Sussex County: full season.  

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two 

days.  

-National forest lands and Clinch Mountain WMA: 

antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 

antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Virginia Beach (City of): full season the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 13 days.  

Warren County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden 

Valley WMA, and the Channels State Forest: antlered 

bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers 

above the hairline may be taken. 

Westmoreland County: full season. 

Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  

Wythe County: full season. 

-National forest lands and Big Survey WMA: the second 

Saturday and the last day.  

York County: full season.  

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 

deer of either sex may be taken full season during the general 

firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city 

or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military 

installation that allows deer hunting.  

4VAC15-90-231. Validating tags and checking deer by 

licensee or permittee.  

A. Any person killing a deer shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 

his special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey, bonus 

deer permit, or special permit by completely removing the 

designated notch area from the tag. Place of kill shall be 

defined as the location where the animal is first reduced to 

possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to validate 

(notch) a deer tag from any special license for hunting bear, 

deer, and turkey, bonus deer permit, or special permit prior to 

the killing of a deer. A deer tag that is mistakenly validated 

(notched) prior to the killing of a deer must be immediately 

voided by the licensee or permittee by writing, in ink, the 

word "VOID" on the line provided on the license tag.  

B. Upon killing a deer and validating (notching) a license 

tag, bonus deer permit or special permit, as provided above in 

subsection A of this section, the licensee or permittee shall, 

upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of 

legal hunting hours, whichever occurs first, and without 

unnecessary delay, present the carcass and validated 

(notched) license tag, bonus deer permit or special permit to 

an authorized checking station or to an appropriate 

representative of the department in the county or adjoining 

county in which the deer was killed or report the kill through 

the department's automated harvest reporting system. All deer 

killed after the first Saturday in January (as prescribed in 

4VAC15-90-22 4VAC15-90-10 and 4VAC15-90-70) must be 

checked by telephone or Internet. At such time, the person 

checking or reporting the carcass will be given a game check 

card furnished by the department or a confirmation number 

from the automated reporting system. The successful hunter 

shall then immediately record the game check card number or 

confirmation number, in ink, on the line provided on the tag 

that was validated (notched) in the field. If checked at a big 

game check station, the game check card must be kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, the game check card must be 

securely attached to the carcass. If the kill is reported using 

the automated harvest reporting system, no check card is 

required as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in 

possession of the carcass. If the automated harvest reported 

carcass is left unattended or transferred to the possession of 

another individual, written documentation including the 

successful hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, 

and the confirmation number must be created and kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation 

must be securely attached to the carcass. Processed carcass 

parts of a deer killed legally in Virginia may be transported; 

however, upon request of any authorized law enforcement 

officer, sufficient verbal or written information necessary to 

properly establish legal possession must be furnished 

immediately. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any deer killed unless and until the license tag, 

bonus deer permit or special permit is validated (notched) and 

checked as required by this section. Successful deer hunters 

are allowed to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the 
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place of kill, after an appropriate license tag has been 

validated (notched) as required above in subsection A of this 

section, as long as they do not destroy the identity of the sex 

and all the parts of the carcass are present when the deer is 

checked at a big game check station or reported through the 

automated harvest reporting system. Any deer found in the 

possession of any person without a validated (notched) 

license tag or documentation that the deer has been checked 

(via a big game check station or the automated harvest 

reporting system) as required by this section shall be forfeited 

to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law. 

D. Upon killing a deer within an area designated by the 

department for deer disease management and on days 

designated by the department, the licensee or permittee shall 

present the carcass, on the day of kill, at a location designated 

by the department for the purposes of disease surveillance or 

biological monitoring. 

4VAC15-90-293. Chronic Wasting Disease deer carcass 

movement restrictions Unauthorized cervid parts, 

excretions, and carcass importation, movement, 

possession, and use.  

A. For the purposes of this section and in 4VAC15-40-285 

and 4VAC15-90-294: 

"Cervid" means any member of the deer family Cervidae, 

including but not limited to white-tailed deer, fallow deer, 

sika deer, elk, and reindeer. 

B. No person shall import or possess any carcass or part of a 

carcass of any member of the family Cervidae (deer) 

originating from an enclosure intended to confine deer or elk 

or from any area designated by the department as a carcass-

restriction zone in or adjacent to a state or Canadian province 

in which Chronic Wasting Disease has been found in free-

ranging or captive deer, except that the following carcass 

parts may be imported and possessed:  

1. Boned-out meat that is cut and wrapped;  

2. Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the 

spinal column or skull attached;  

3. Hides or capes with no skull attached;  

4. Clean (no meat or tissue attached) skulls or skull plates 

with or without antlers attached;  

5. Antlers (with no meat or tissue attached);  

6. Upper canine teeth (buglers, whistlers, or ivories); and  

7. Finished taxidermy products.  

A legible label shall be affixed to packages or containers 

containing the allowed carcass parts bearing the following 

information: the species of animal, the state or province from 

where the animal originated, and the name and address of the 

person who killed or owned the animal.  

C. Any person who imports into Virginia any deer carcass or 

parts described in subsection A of this section and is notified 

that the animal has tested positive for Chronic Wasting 

Disease must report the test results to the department within 

72 hours of receiving the notification. In order to facilitate the 

proper disposal of any infected material, the department may 

take into possession any imported carcass or carcass part of 

an animal if the animal has tested positive for Chronic 

Wasting Disease.  

D. No person shall transport any carcass or part of a carcass 

of any cervid out of any area designated by the department as 

a disease containment area, except that the carcass parts 

enumerated in subsection B of this section may be 

transported, and carcasses or parts may be transported directly 

to locations designated by the department, provided that such 

carcasses or parts are transported without unnecessary delay 

and secured within a vehicle or vehicles during transit. 

Provisions of this section shall not apply to employees of the 

department or another government agency working in an 

official disease investigation capacity. 

E. No person shall for the purposes of taking or attempting 

to take, attracting, or scouting any wild animal in Virginia 

possess or use any substance or material that contains or 

purports to contain any excretion collected from a cervid, 

including feces, urine, blood, gland oil, or other bodily fluid. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4402; Filed July 22, 2015, 2:32 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-105. Game: Fisher (adding 

4VAC15-105-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation establishes a continuous closed hunting and 

trapping season for fishers. 

CHAPTER 105 

GAME: FISHER 

4VAC15-105-10. Closed season; generally. 

There shall be a continuous closed season for hunting and 

trapping fishers.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4403; Filed July 21, 2015, 6:23 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  
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Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey 

(amending 4VAC15-240-40, 4VAC15-240-51, 4VAC15-

240-60, 4VAC15-240-81).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) provide for the issuance of permits to 

nongovernment organizations that aid sportsmen with 

impaired mobility to hold events on seven specified days of 

the spring hunting season in which such sportsmen may 

hunt from one-half hour before sunrise to sunset; (ii) 

expand the youth and apprentice hunter turkey hunting day 

in the spring season from one Saturday to a Saturday and 

Sunday, making it a youth and apprentice hunter turkey 

hunting weekend, with a bag limit of one turkey per youth 

or apprentice hunter for the weekend; (iii) replace the term 

"bow and arrow" with the terms "archery" or "archery 

equipment" and move the requirements for minimum arrow 

head width and distance a bow must be capable of 

shooting from this regulation to 4VAC15-40; and (iv) 

remove references to bear to accommodate the 

establishment of a special hunting license to hunt bears. 

4VAC15-240-40. Open season; spring season for bearded 

turkeys. 

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be 

lawful to hunt bearded turkeys from the second Saturday in 

April and for 35 days following, both dates inclusive, from 

1/2 hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon prevailing time during 

the first 23 days and from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset 

during the last 13 days of the spring season. 

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and younger and holders 

of an apprentice hunting license may hunt on the first 

Saturday in April and the following calendar day from 1/2 

hour before sunrise to sunset, when in compliance with 

applicable license requirements and when accompanied and 

directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia 

hunting license on his person or an adult who is exempt from 

purchasing a hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying 

youth hunters or apprentice license holders on this day these 

days may assist with calling but they shall not carry or 

discharge weapons. Youth and apprentice turkey hunters are 

limited on this weekend to one turkey per hunter. 

C. Upon receipt of an application from an officer or other 

designated official representative of any nonprofit 

organization that has support for sportsmen with impaired 

mobility as one of its mission statements, the director may 

issue a permit to an officer or representative of the 

organization that allows sportsmen with impaired mobility to 

hunt bearded wild turkeys from [ one-half 1/2 ] hour before 

sunrise to sunset from the 10th through 16th days of the 

spring season. Such authorization shall be valid only when 

hunting during an authorized event. All participants shall be 

in compliance with all requirements of law and regulation that 

apply during the spring season, and bearded turkeys killed 

during these events shall count toward daily and annual bag 

limits. 

C. D. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling. 

D. E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for 

the purpose of hunting. 

E. F. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any 

shot larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys 

with a shotgun. 

4VAC15-240-51. Youth and apprentice hunter fall turkey 

hunting day weekend. 

In counties, cities, and areas with a fall turkey season, 

hunters 15 years of age and under and holders of an 

apprentice hunting license may hunt turkey on the third 

Saturday in October and the following calendar day when in 

compliance with applicable license requirements and when 

accompanied and directly supervised by an adult who has a 

valid Virginia hunting license on his person or is exempt from 

purchasing a hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying 

youth hunters or apprentice license holders on this day these 

days may assist with calling turkey but they shall not carry or 

discharge weapons. Youth and apprentice turkey hunters are 

limited on this weekend to one turkey per hunter. 

4VAC15-240-60. Bow and arrow Archery hunting.  

A. Season. It shall be lawful to hunt turkey with bow and 

arrow archery equipment in those counties and areas open to 

fall turkey hunting from the first Saturday in October through 

the Saturday prior to the second Monday in November, both 

dates inclusive.  

B. Bag limit. The daily and seasonal bag limit for hunting 

turkey with bow and arrow archery equipment shall be the 

same as permitted during the general turkey season in those 

counties and areas open to fall turkey hunting, and any turkey 

taken shall apply toward the total season bag limit.  

C. Carrying firearms prohibited. It shall be unlawful to carry 

firearms while hunting with bow and arrow archery 

equipment during the special archery season.  

D. Requirements for bow and arrow. Arrows used for 

hunting turkey must have a minimum width head of 7/8 of an 

inch, and the bow used for such hunting must be capable of 

casting a broadhead arrow a minimum of 125 yards.  

E. D. Use of dogs prohibited during bow archery season. It 

shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow and 

arrow archery equipment from the first Saturday in October 

through the Saturday prior to the second Monday in 

November, both dates inclusive.  
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4VAC15-240-81. Validating tags and checking turkey by 

licensee. 

A. Any person killing a turkey shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 

his special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey by 

completely removing the designated notch area from the tag. 

Place of kill shall be defined as the location where the animal 

is first reduced to possession. It shall be unlawful for any 

person to validate (notch) a turkey tag from any special 

license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey prior to the killing 

of a turkey. A turkey tag that is mistakenly validated 

(notched) prior to the killing of a turkey must be immediately 

voided by the licensee by writing, in ink, the word "VOID" 

on the line provided on the tag. 

B. Upon killing a turkey and validating (notching) a license 

tag, as provided above, the licensee shall, upon vehicle 

transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 

hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 

present the carcass and validated (notched) license tag to an 

authorized checking station or to an appropriate 

representative of the department in the county or adjoining 

county in which the turkey was killed or report his kill 

through the department's automated harvest reporting system. 

Turkeys killed during the January season (as prescribed in 

4VAC15-240-10) and the spring turkey seasons (as 

prescribed in 4VAC15-240-40 and 4VAC15-240-60) must be 

reported through the department's automated harvest 

reporting system. The person reporting the carcass will be 

given a game check card furnished by the department or a 

confirmation number from the automated harvest reporting 

system. The successful hunter shall then immediately record 

the game check card number or confirmation number, in ink, 

on the line provided on the license tag that was validated 

(notched) in the field. If checked at a big game check station, 

the game check card must be kept in possession with the 

carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left 

unattended, the game check card must be securely attached to 

the carcass. If reported using the automated harvest reporting 

system, no check card is required as long as the hunter who 

killed the turkey is in possession of the carcass. If the 

automated harvest reported carcass is left unattended or 

transferred to the possession of another individual, written 

documentation including the successful hunter's full name, 

the date the turkey was killed, and the confirmation number 

must be created and kept in possession with the carcass until 

the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this 

written documentation must be securely attached to the 

carcass. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any turkey killed unless and until the license tag 

is validated (notched) and reported to an authorized checking 

station or to an appropriate representative of the department 

in the county or adjoining county in which the turkey was 

killed or by using the automated harvest reporting system as 

required by this section. Any turkey found in the possession 

of any person without a validated (notched) license tag or 

documentation that the turkey has been reported to an 

authorized checking station or to an appropriate 

representative of the department in the county or adjoining 

counties in which the turkey was killed or by using the 

automated harvest reporting system as required by this 

section shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be 

disposed of as provided by law. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4404; Filed July 21, 2015, 6:57 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-275. Game: Hunter 

Education (adding 4VAC15-275-10 through 4VAC15-275-

110).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia 

(4VAC15-275-100). 

§§ 29.1-300.2 and 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia 

(4VAC15-275-10 through 4VAC15-275-110). 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation establishes the Virginia Hunter Education 

program, including minimum standards for hunter 

education course competency, hunter education course 

provider requirements, course availability, issuance of 

certificates and the Virginia Hunter Education Card, 

requirements for recordkeeping of student records, fees, 

penalties for violations, and instructor certification.  

CHAPTER 275 

GAME: HUNTER EDUCATION 

4VAC15-275-10. Application. 

This chapter applies to any person who has never obtained a 

license to hunt in any state or country or any person who is 

under the age of 16 years, unless such a person presents to the 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries or one of its 

authorized license vendors a certificate of completion in 

hunter education issued or authorized by the director or his 

representative under the hunter education program or proof 

that he holds the equivalent certificate obtained from an 

authorized agency or association of another state or country.  

4VAC15-275-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

requires a different meaning: 
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"Accompanied and directly supervised" means, in the case 

of an apprentice hunter, that a licensed person over 18 years 

of age maintains a close visual and verbal contact with, 

provides adequate direction to, and can immediately assume 

control of the firearm from the apprentice hunter. In the case 

of a hunter age 12 years or under, the term means that the 

licensed adult is within sight of the person under the age of 12 

years. 

"Adult" means the parent or legal guardian of the person 

under age 12 years, or such person over the age of 18 years 

designated by the parent or legal guardian. 

"Approved course provider" is any individual, business, or 

organization that makes available to the hunting public a 

hunter education course that is approved by the International 

Hunter Education Association – United States (IHEA-USA) 

and is accepted by the department. An approved course 

provider shall have executed and have on file a valid 

cooperative agreement with the department. The department 

will make information regarding such approved courses and 

providers readily available for public access. 

"Board" means the Board of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

"Department" means the Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries. 

"Hunter education course" means a course offered in the 

classroom, through the Internet, or through an electronic 

format that provides course content and test questions that at 

a minimum meet the International Hunter Education 

Association-USA Education Standards, May 2, 2014, set 

forth by the International Hunter Education Association-USA 

(IHEA-USA) and are accepted by the department. A hunter 

education course shall include no less than 50 test questions, 

which shall include at least eight test questions specific to 

Virginia hunting laws. 

"IHEA-USA" means the International Hunter Education 

Association-USA. 

"Virginia Hunter Education Card" means a card authorized 

for issuance by the department to a person who has met the 

minimum standard of hunter education course competency. 

This card may be issued as an original or a replacement 

hunter education course card. 

4VAC15-275-30. Provisions for compliance and minimum 

standards for hunter education course competency. 

A. A person shall be considered in compliance with the 

requirements for hunter education if he meets one or more of 

the following provisions pursuant to § 29.1-300.2 of the Code 

of Virginia: 

1. Completes and passes a hunter education course that is 

accepted by the department including a fully online course;  

2. Is 16 years of age or older and has previously held a 

license to hunt in any state or country; 

3. Is under the age of 12 years and is accompanied and 

directly supervised by an adult who holds a valid Virginia 

hunting license; or 

4. Holds a Virginia apprentice hunting license and is 

accompanied and directly supervised by a licensed adult 

hunter. 

B. The minimum standards for hunter education course 

competency required by the department are: 

1. Successful completion of a classroom-based hunter 

education course or through another format as determined 

by the department with a passing score of at least 80% on a 

written test administered closed book at the conclusion of 

the course by the designated course instructor or other 

designated course assistant as determined appropriate by 

the department; and 

2. Successful completion of an Internet hunter education 

course that is approved by the department with a passing 

score of at least 90% on an open-book test administered 

during the online course.  

4VAC15-275-40. Hunter education course provider 

requirements. 

A. To be an approved course provider, any individual, 

business, or organization that instructs or provides a hunter 

education course shall execute and have on file a cooperative 

agreement with the department. It shall be the responsibility 

of the state hunter education program manager or his designee 

to develop and execute such agreements. A list of approved 

course providers and hunter education courses shall be kept 

by the department and made available to the public. Such list 

does not constitute any endorsement of any course or course 

provider by the department or the board. 

B. As of January 1, 2016, hunter education courses offered 

through the Internet and accepted by the department shall: 

1. Meet the International Hunter Education Association-

USA Education Standards, May 2, 2014, set by the IHEA-

USA for course content; and 

2. Be provided only by an approved course provider that 

has executed a valid cooperative agreement with the 

department. Such agreements may be amended at any time 

by the department and may be canceled with 30 days 

notice upon failure of the course provider to comply with 

the terms and conditions of the agreement or its 

amendments. 

C. Any material or product to be used by an approved course 

provider that makes reference to the department must be 

approved by the department through the hunter education 

program manager or his designee before being published or 

distributed to the public. 

D. Any fees charged by a course provider are set by the 

course provider, but must be clearly communicated to the 

student prior to the student taking the course. There will be no 

fees for Virginia hunter education courses provided by the 

department.  



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 10, 2015 

2309 

4VAC15-275-50. Hunter education course availability. 

A. The department shall provide classroom-based hunter 

education courses across the Commonwealth on a schedule 

determined by the department.  

B. The department shall coordinate with approved course 

providers of Internet-based courses so that courses developed 

and offered in accordance with this chapter are available. 

4VAC15-275-60. Hunter education course certificates. 

A. Upon successful completion of an online hunter 

education course, the approved course provider shall provide 

the student with a course certificate or wallet-size card. At a 

minimum, such certificate or card shall include the student's 

name and date of birth, the issuance date, the name of the 

course, and an indication of acceptance by the department. On 

a schedule and in a manner mutually agreed to through a 

cooperative agreement, each approved online course provider 

shall provide to the department a copy of the record of those 

students issued a course certificate or wallet-size card. Upon 

request by the student and subject to verification of successful 

course completion, it shall be the responsibility of each 

approved online course provider to issue a duplicate 

certificate or card.  

B. Upon successful completion of the Virginia hunter 

education classroom-based course, the department shall issue 

a completion certificate or card, which shall include the 

person's name, date of birth, and the issuance date. Upon 

request by the person to whom the certificate or card was 

originally issued and subject to verification of successful 

completion, the department shall issue a duplicate certificate 

or card in accordance with its policy. 

4VAC15-275-70. Recordkeeping and student records. 

A. The department shall maintain a database of all students 

successfully completing the department's classroom-based or 

online hunter education course. Such database shall include, 

but not be limited to, student name, address, date of birth, 

course or other compliance format approved by the 

department, and the specific name of the course.  

B. Each approved course provider for hunter education 

courses offered over the Internet or through an electronic 

format shall maintain a database of all students successfully 

completing such course. The database shall include, but not 

be limited to, student name, address, date of birth, course 

completion date, and the specific name of the course. On a 

schedule and in a manner mutually agreed to through a 

cooperative agreement, each approved course provider shall 

provide to the department a copy of the record of those 

students who successfully complete its course. Such record 

shall include the database information referenced in this 

section. It shall be the responsibility of each approved course 

provider to ensure that reasonable measures, such as the 

Payment Card Industry (PCI) data security measures, are 

taken to protect any acquired student data. Further, such data 

shall not be sold or otherwise used in any way except for the 

student's own completion of a hunter education course and 

issuance of course completion documents. 

4VAC15-275-80. Instructor certification. 

A. The department may designate as a hunter instructor any 

person found by it to be competent to give instruction in the 

courses required.  

B. Volunteer instructors are designated to work on a 

voluntary basis and at the pleasure of the Department of 

Game and Inland Fisheries. 

C. To be certified as a hunter education course instructor for 

the department's hunter education program, a person shall (i) 

have successfully completed a hunter education course and 

(ii) be certified as an instructor by the department or by a 

certification program accepted by the department. 

D. Applicants for certified instructor shall submit an 

application to the department on a form and in a manner 

determined by the hunter education program manager. At a 

minimum, the application shall include: 

1. The applicant's name; 

2. The applicant's street address; 

3. The applicant's telephone number; 

4. The applicant's email address, if any; 

5. Information describing the applicant's experience and 

training in hunter and hunting and proof of completion of a 

hunter education course that is accepted by the department; 

and  

6. Any other information deemed necessary after review of 

the initial application. 

E. Applicants may be required to submit written consent for 

a criminal history background check in a manner determined 

by the department or an interview in a manner determined by 

the department and in accordance with state policy. 

4VAC15-275-90. Virginia Hunter Education Card. 

A. The department may issue an optional long-lasting and 

durable Virginia Hunter Education Card to persons who can 

show that they have met the minimum standard of hunter 

education course competency pursuant to § 29.1-300.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Upon receipt by the applicant, the optional Virginia 

Hunter Education Card will serve in lieu of any other 

certificates or cards that have been issued to the bearer as a 

result of meeting the minimum standards for hunter education 

course competency. As such, the Virginia Hunter Education 

Card will not be transferable or revocable and will have no 

expiration date. 

C. A person may apply for a replacement Virginia Hunter 

Education Card. A replacement card may be issued if (i) the 

original card is lost, stolen, or destroyed; (ii) misinformation 

is printed on the card; or (iii) if the bearer has legally changed 

his name. Supporting documentation may be required. 
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4VAC15-275-100. Fees. 

A. Pursuant to § 29.1-300.3 of the Code of Virginia, no fee 

shall be charged for the instructor's service.  

B. Fees charged by an approved online course provider for 

hunter education courses other than the department's course 

are set by the course provider, but must be clearly 

communicated to the student prior to the student taking the 

course. 

C. The fee for issuance of an optional Virginia Hunter 

Education Card, which will serve in lieu of a previously 

obtained hunter education course certificate or card, or a 

replacement Virginia Hunter Education Card shall be $10.  

4VAC15-275-110. Penalties for violation. 

Unless otherwise specified, any person who violates any of 

the provisions of this chapter shall be guilty of a Class 3 

misdemeanor.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC15-275) 

Volunteer Application (rev. 3/15) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-275) 

International Hunter Education Association-USA Education 

Standards, Recommendations Submitted by the Standards and 

Evaluation Committee, May 2, 2014, International Hunter 

Education Association-USA, http://ihea-usa.org  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4406; Filed July 22, 2015, 0:55 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-560. Pertaining to Shellfish 

Management Areas (amending 4VAC20-560-20 through 

4VAC20-560-60; adding 4VAC20-560-55).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update boundary coordinates for the 

Newport News Shellfish Management Area; (ii) change the 

patent tong season from December 1 through April 30 and 

make it unlawful for any person to harvest clams in the 

Newport News Shellfish Management Area except from 

May 1 through September 30; (iii) make leasing any area 

of Newport News Shellfish Management Area unlawful; 

and (iv) change "marine patrol officer" to "marine police 

officer."  

4VAC20-560-20. Shellfish management areas.  

A. The Poquoson River Shellfish Management Area shall 

consist of all public grounds bounded by a line beginning at 

Hunts Point Survey Taylor and running northwesterly to 

Survey Station Spit; thence northeasterly to Survey Station 

Cabin North; thence east to Survey Station Cabin South; 

thence southeasterly following the general shoreline (not to 

include any creeks or canals) to the flag pole near Survey 

Station 80 at York Point; thence 175 degrees to Day Marker 

No. 14 and returning to Hunts Point Survey Taylor.  

B. The Back River Shellfish Management Area shall consist 

of all current public clamming grounds bounded by a line 

from corner 3 on Shell Plant 115 through corner 17, a 

daymarker, on Shell Plant 115, 237.42 feet to a point being 

the point of beginning; thence southeasterly to corner number 

1 Public Clamming Ground (PCG#12); thence southeasterly 

to corner number 3A Public Clamming Ground (PCG#12); 

thence northeasterly to corner number 3 Public Clamming 

Ground (PCG#12); thence northwesterly to corner number 2 

Public Clamming Ground (PCG#12); thence southwesterly to 

the POB. Also, for a period of one year, throughout 1994, 

Shell Plant 115 will also be included in the Back River 

Shellfish Management Area.  

C. The James River Broodstock Management Area is 

located inside Public Ground No. 1, Warwick County, south 

of the James River Bridge, further described as follows: 

Beginning at a corner number 611 (State Plane Coordinates 

North 249766.12 East 2596017.56); thence Grid Azimuth 

308-39-51, 1074.35' to a corner number 613 (State Plane 

Coordinates North 250437.32 East 2595178.68); thence Grid 

Azimuth 28-15-00, 366.30' to a corner number 614 (State 

Plane Coordinates North 250759.99 East 2595352.06); thence 

Grid Azimuth 132-36-45, 1114.51' to a corner number 612 

(State Plane Coordinates North 250005.43 East 2596172.28); 

thence Grid Azimuth 212-53-03, 284.97' to a corner number 

611, being the point of beginning, containing 8.04 acres.  

D. The York River Broodstock Management Area shall 

consist of the area under any portion of the George P. 

Coleman Memorial Bridge, in addition to the area within 300 

feet of the eastern, or downstream, side of the George P. 

Coleman Memorial Bridge and the area within 300 feet of the 

western, or upstream, side of the George P. Coleman 

Memorial Bridge.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0b2c1004406~1&typ=40&actno=004406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56f45004406~2&typ=40&actno=004406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56f45004406~2&typ=40&actno=004406&mime=application/pdf
http://ihea-usa.org/
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E. The Newport News Shellfish Management Area shall 

consist of all current public clamming grounds bounded by a 

line beginning at the intersection of the James River Bridge 

and Public Ground No. 1, Warwick County, downstream 

side; thence east southeasterly along the boundary to corner 

#5, Public Ground No. 1, Warwick County; thence southeast 

along the boundary to a corner (249,066.55/2,595,681.74); 

thence northeast along the boundary to the intersection of a 

line between the James River Bridge and the northwest corner 

of Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock Company 

shipyard near station "HELO," said line being perpendicular 

to the James River Bridge; thence southeast along the defined 

line to the northwest corner of the shipyard; thence 

downstream to the offshore end of the floating drydock; 

thence to the offshore end of shipyard pier #6 just south of 

"Stack"; thence to the offshore end of pier #2 (F R Priv); 

thence to FI Y "A" off the end of the pier just south of 23rd 

Street; thence to the offshore end of pier #9 (2 F Y siren); 

thence to the offshore end of the old coal pier downstream of 

pier #9; thence to navigational aid FI G "13"; thence to the 

northeast corner of the Fan Building on the south island of the 

Monitor Merrimac Bridge Tunnel; thence southerly along the 

downstream side of the Monitor Merrimac Bridge Tunnel to 

the first overhead light structure on the bridge tunnel north of 

the small boat channel hump; thence northwesterly to corner 

#3, lease #10091 (Hazelwood); thence northwesterly along 

the boundary to corner #2, lease #10091 (Hazelwood); thence 

southwesterly to corner #1, Public Ground No. 2, Nansemond 

County; thence northwesterly along the boundary to corner 

#6, at the intersection of Public Ground No. 2, Nansemond 

County, and Public Ground No. 6, Isle of Wight County; 

thence north northwesterly along the boundary to corner 

#614, Public Ground No. 6, Isle of Wight County; thence 

north northwesterly along the boundary to corner #2, Public 

Ground No. 6, Isle of Wight County; thence northwesterly 

along the boundary to the intersection of the James River 

Bridge and Public Ground No. 6, Isle of Wight County; 

thence northeasterly along the downstream side of the James 

River Bridge to the intersection with Public Ground No. 1, 

Warwick County, at the point of beginning.  

E. The Newport News Shellfish Management Area shall 

consist of the area bounded by a line beginning at the point of 

intersection of the downstream side of the James River 

Bridge (U.S. Route 17 - northbound) , east of the draw span 

and the western boundary of Public Ground No. 1, Warwick 

County (City of Newport News), said point being at NAD 

1983, latitude 37° 00.2694609' N., longitude 76° 27.9896511' 

W.; thence east southeasterly along the boundary to a corner 

of Public Ground No. 1, Warwick County, latitude 37° 

00.1982568' N., longitude 76° 27.8155397' W.; thence 

southeasterly along the boundary to a corner, latitude 36° 

59.9941747 N., longitude 76° 27.5831952' W.; thence 

northeasterly along the boundary to the intersection of the 

Condemned Shellfish Area Line, Area 056-007-A, as 

established by the Virginia Department of Health effective 

January 8, 2014, latitude 37° 00.0789081' N., longitude 76° 

27.4512191' W.; thence southeasterly following the 

condemned area boundary to a point near the offshore end of 

the Newport News Shipbuilding floating dry dock located at 

latitude 36° 59.2816669' N., longitude 76° 26.7950000' W.; 

thence to the northwest corner of the Virginia Port Authority 

container pier, latitude 36° 58.1833333' N., longitude 76° 

26.0150000' W.; thence southeasterly to a point near the end 

of a coal loading pier, latitude 36° 57.9883333' N., longitude 

76° 25.8316667' W.; thence  southeasterly to a point near the 

end of a coal loading pier, latitude 36° 57.7483333' N., 

longitude 76° 25.4416667' W.; thence southeasterly to the 

northwest corner of the south island of the Monitor Merrimac 

Memorial Bridge Tunnel, latitude 36° 56.8799995' N, 

longitude 76° 24.3399996' W.; thence southerly along the 

upstream side of the Monitor Merrimac Memorial Bridge 

Tunnel to the first overhead light structure on the bridge 

tunnel north of the small boat channel hump, latitude 36° 

55.6035310' N., longitude 76° 24.5674263' W.; thence 

northwesterly to the easternmost corner of Oyster Lease, Plat 

File 10091(Johnson, III or successors), latitude 36° 

55.9505383' N., longitude 76° 25.0031248' W.; thence 

northwesterly to the northernmost corner of said lease, 

latitude 36° 56.2062064' N., longitude 76° 25.4039147 W.; 

thence westerly to the easternmost corner of Public Ground 

No. 2, Nansemond County (City of Suffolk), latitude 36° 

56.2025195' N., longitude 76° 25.4339957' W.; thence 

northwesterly to the southwest corner of Oyster Lease, Plat 

File 20663 (Melzer/Burton or successors), latitude 36° 

56.8957714' N., longitude 76°26.6177905' W.; thence 

northeasterly to a lease corner, latitude 36° 56.9688138' N., 

longitude 76° 26.4028827' W.; thence north-northwesterly to 

a lease corner, latitude 36° 58.2820197' N., longitude 76° 

27.2355278' W.; thence northwesterly to a lease corner, 

latitude 36° 58.4440126' N., longitude 76° 27.3919892' W.; 

thence northwesterly to a corner on Oyster Lease, Plat File 

20662 (Burton/Burton, Jr. or successors), latitude 36° 

59.0856691' N., longitude 76° 27.9659794' W., thence 

northwesterly to a point on the boundary of Oyster Lease, 

Plat File 20662, latitude 36° 59.3207135' N., longitude 76° 

28.4650941' W.; thence northeasterly to the southern corner 

of Oyster Lease, Plat File 20699 (Green or successors), 

latitude 36° 59.4032421' N., longitude 76° 28.3778693' N.; 

thence northeasterly to a lease corner, latitude 36° 

59.7192188' N., longitude 76° 28.0438774' W.; thence north-

northwesterly to the extending through the northern corner of 

Oyster Lease, Plat File 20699, to a point on the downstream 

side of the James River Bridge (U.S. Route 17 - northbound), 

latitude 37° 00.0685852' N., longitude 76° 28.2312958'  W.; 

thence northeasterly along the downstream side of the bridge 

to a point east of the draw span and the intersection of the 

western boundary of Public Ground No. 1, Warwick County 

(City of Newport News), said point being the point of 

beginning. 
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F. The Back River Reef Broodstock Management Area shall 

consist of the area within a 2000' radius of the center buoy, 

with a position of 37° 08' 12" north, 76° 13' 54" west.  

G. The Middle Ground Light Broodstock Management Area 

shall consist of the area within a 1000' radius of the 

navigational light, with a position of 36° 56.7' north, 76° 23.5' 

west.  

H. The York Spit Reef Broodstock Management Area shall 

consist of the area contained within the defined latitudes and 

longitudes: northwest corner 37° 14' 75" N—076° 14' 20" W, 

northeast corner 37° 14' 75" N—076° 13' 30" W, southwest 

corner 37° 14' 05" N—076° 14' 20" W, southeast corner 37° 

14' 05" N—076° 13' 30" W.  

4VAC20-560-30. Permits required.  

Each boat or vessel engaged in the harvesting of clams by 

patent tong from the Poquoson River Shellfish Management 

Area or the Back River Shellfish Management Area shall first 

obtain a permit specific to the management area to be worked 

from any Marine Patrol Officer marine police officer, and this 

permit shall be on board the vessel at all times and available 

for inspection. The permit shall state the name and port of the 

vessel, the registration or documentation number of the 

vessel, the name and address of the owner of the vessel and 

the name of the captain of the vessel. Any change to any of 

the above information shall require the vessel owner or 

captain to obtain a new permit. These permits shall be in 

addition to all other licenses or permits required by law.  

4VAC20-560-40. Patent tong season.  

A. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 

from the Poquoson River Shellfish Management Area shall be 

March 15 through May 1.  

B. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 

from the Back River Shellfish Management Area shall be 

January 1 through March 31.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from either the Poquoson River Shellfish 

Management Area or Back River Shellfish Management Area 

except as provided in subsections A and B of this section.  

D. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 

from the Newport News Shellfish Management Area shall be 

December 1 through April 30, except that if the catch of 

clams per tong-hour for the previous season is less than 174 

clams per tong-hour, the lawful season shall be December 1 

through March 31.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from the Newport News Shellfish Management 

Area from May 1 through November 30, except that if the 

catch of clams per tong-hour for the previous season is less 

than 174 clams per tong-hour, it shall be unlawful for any 

person to harvest clams by patent tong from the Newport 

News Shellfish Management Area from April 1 through 

November 30.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from the Newport News Shellfish Management 

Area during any month, except May, June, July, August and 

September. 

4VAC20-560-50. Time of day and harvest restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from the Poquoson River Shellfish Management 

Area before sunrise or after 2 p.m.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from the Back River Shellfish Management Area 

before sunrise or after 4 p.m.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from either the Poquoson River Shellfish 

Management Area, Newport News Shellfish Management 

Area, or Back River Shellfish Management Area on Saturday 

or Sunday.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest any 

shellfish from the James River Broodstock Management 

Area, Back River Reef Broodstock Management Area, 

Middle Ground Light Broodstock Management Area, York 

Spit Reef Broodstock Management Area, or York River 

Broodstock Management Area at any time.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from the Newport News Shellfish Management 

Area before sunrise or after 2 p.m.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any amount 

of hard clams from the Newport News Shellfish Management 

Area that consists of more than 2.0% by number of clams, 

which can be passed through a 1-3/8 inch inside diameter 

culling ring. The 2.0% allowance shall be measured by the 

marine patrol police officer from each container or pile of 

clams.  

4VAC20-560-55. Prohibition to lease in a shellfish 

management area. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to lease any area of the 

Newport News Shellfish Management Area. 

4VAC20-560-60. Penalty.  

A. As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty 

of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent 

violation of any provision of this chapter committed by the 

same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 

misdemeanor.  

B. In addition to the penalties prescribed by law, any person 

violating 4VAC20-560-50 D shall immediately return all 

harvested shellfish to the Broodstock Management Area, shall 

cease harvesting on that day, shall be required to appear 

before the Marine Resources Commission pursuant to any 

violation, and all harvesting apparatus shall be subject to 

seizure.  

C. The Marine Resources Commission may revoke the 

permit of any person convicted of a violation of this chapter.  
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D. All clams in any container or pile found in violation of 

4VAC20-560-50 F shall be returned to the water by the 

clammer as directed by the marine patrol police officer.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4420; Filed July 30, 2015, 2:35 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-610. Pertaining to 

Commercial Fishing and Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

(amending 4VAC20-610-10, 4VAC20-610-30, 4VAC20-

610-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the annual renewal period for 

the Commercial Fisherman Registration License from 

December through April and eliminate the exceptions to 

delayed entry unless it is strictly a medical or military 

reason. 

4VAC20-610-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to establish the procedures for 

the registration of commercial fishermen and the manner and 

form of mandatory harvest reports from fishermen and others. 

Further, the purpose is to license commercial fishermen using 

hook-and-line, rod-and-reel, or hand line.  

4VAC20-610-30. Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License; exceptions and requirements of authorized 

agents. 

A. In accordance with § 28.2-241 C of the Code of Virginia, 

only persons who hold a valid Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License may sell, trade, or barter their harvest, or 

give their harvest to another, in order that it may be sold, 

traded, or bartered. Only these licensees may sell their 

harvests from Virginia tidal waters, regardless of the method 

or manner in which caught. Exceptions to the requirement to 

register as a commercial fisherman for selling harvest are 

authorized for the following persons or firms only: 

1. Persons taking menhaden under the authority of licenses 

issued pursuant to § 28.2-402 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Persons independently harvesting and selling, trading, or 

bartering no more than three gallons of minnows per day 

who are not part of, hired by, or engaged in a continuing 

business enterprise. 

a. Only minnow pots, a cast net or a minnow seine less 

than 25 feet in length may be used by persons 

independently harvesting minnows. 

b. All other marine species taken during the process of 

harvesting minnows shall be returned to the water 

immediately. 

B. Requirements of authorized agents. 

1. No person whose Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License, fishing gear license, or fishing permit is currently 

revoked or rescinded by the Marine Resources 

Commission pursuant to § 28.2-232 of the Code of 

Virginia is authorized to possess the Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or 

fishing permit of any other registered commercial 

fisherman in order to serve as an agent for fishing the 

commercial fisherman's gear or selling the harvest.  

2. No registered commercial fisherman shall use more than 

one person as an agent at any time.  

3. Any person serving as an agent shall possess the 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License and gear 

license of the commercial fisherman while fishing.  

4. When transporting or selling a registered commercial 

fisherman's harvest, the agent shall possess either the 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License of that 

commercial fisherman or a bill of lading indicating that 

fisherman's name, address, Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License number, date and amount of product 

to be sold. 

C. Requirements of authorized blue crab fishery agents. 

1. Any person licensed to harvest blue crabs commercially 

shall not be eligible to also serve as an agent. 

2. Any person serving as an agent to harvest blue crabs for 

another licensed fisherman shall be limited to the use of 

only one registered commercial fisherman's crab license; 

however, an agent may fish multiple crab traps licensed 

and owned by the same person. 

3. There shall be no more than one person, per vessel, 

serving as an agent for a commercial crab licensee. 

4. Prior to using an agent in any crab fishery, the licensee 

shall submit a crab agent registration application to the 

commission. Crab agent registration applications shall be 

approved by the commissioner, or his designee, for a crab 

fishery licensee according to the following guidelines: 

a. Only 125 agents may participate annually in the crab 

fishery, as described in subdivision 4 b of this subsection, 

unless the commissioner, or his designee, approves a 

request for agent use because of a non-economic 

hardship circumstance and 

b. 125 agents may be utilized by those crab fishery 

licensees who received approval for agent use in 2012 or 

who currently are licensed by a transferred crab fishery 

license from a licensee approved for agent use in 2012, 
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except that should any of these licensees described in this 

subdivision fail to register for agent use by March 1, 

applications for agent use by other licensees shall be 

approved on a first-come, first-served basis, starting with 

those licensees who have registered prior to March 1. 

D. Failure to abide by any of the provisions of this section 

shall constitute a violation of this regulation. 

E. In accordance with § 28.2-241 H of the Code of Virginia, 

only persons with a valid Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License may purchase gear licenses. Beginning with licenses 

for the 1993 calendar year and for all years thereafter, gear 

licenses will be sold only upon presentation of evidence of a 

valid Commercial Fisherman Registration License.  

Exceptions to the prerequisite requirement are authorized for 

the following gears only and under the conditions described 

below:  

1. Menhaden purse seine licenses issued pursuant to 

§ 28.2-402 of the Code of Virginia may be purchased 

without holding a Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License.  

2. Commercial gear licenses used for recreational purposes 

and issued pursuant to § 28.2-226.2 of the Code of Virginia 

may be purchased without holding a Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License.  

F. Exceptions to the two-year delay may be granted by the 

commissioner if he finds any of the following:  

1. The applicant for an exception (i) has demonstrated, to 

the satisfaction of the commissioner, that the applicant has 

fished a significant quantity of commercial gear in Virginia 

waters during at least two of the previous five years; and 

(ii) can demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the 

commissioner, that a significant hardship caused by 

unforeseen circumstances beyond the applicant's control 

has prevented the applicant from making timely 

application for registration. The commissioner may require 

the applicant to provide such documentation as he deems 

necessary to verify the existence of hardship.  

2. The applicant is purchasing another commercial 

fisherman's gear, and the seller of the gear holds a 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License and the seller 

surrenders that license to the commission at the time the 

gear is sold.  

3. An immediate member of the applicant's family, who 

holds a current registration, has died or is retiring from the 

commercial fishery and the applicant intends to continue in 

the fishery.  

Any applicant denied an exception may appeal the decision 

to the commission. The applicant shall provide a request to 

appeal to the commission 30 days in advance of the meeting 

at which the commission will hear the request. The 

commission will hear requests at its March, June, September, 

and December meetings.  

Under no circumstances will an exception be granted solely 

on the basis of economic hardship.  

F. On or after January 1, 1993, fishermen not registered as 

commercial fishermen but who desire to sell their catch shall 

apply to the commission for a Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License. The effective date of status as a 

commercial fisherman shall be two years from the date the 

application is approved by the commission. A person whose 

registration as a commercial fisherman is not effective shall 

not sell, trade, or barter his catch or give his catch to another 

in order that it may be sold, traded, or bartered.  

G. Exceptions to the two-year delay described in subsection 

F of this section may be granted by the commissioner or his 

designee, if any of the following criteria are met: 

1. The applicant is purchasing another fisherman's 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License, and the seller 

holds a valid, current Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License and surrenders that license to the commission at 

the time the license is sold.  

2. An immediate member of the applicant's family who 

holds a current Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License has died or is retiring from the commercial fishery 

and the applicant intends to participate in the fishery.  

3. The applicant purchased a valid Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License during the preceding year, did not 

transfer that Commercial Fisherman Registration License, 

and can demonstrate a significant hardship on the basis of 

health or active military duty as described in subdivision 4 

of this subsection. 

4. Any exceptions based on a health condition shall only be 

granted by the commissioner or his designee only after 

receipt of an attending physician's description of the 

medical condition. Any exception based on active military 

duty shall only be granted by the commissioner or his 

designee after receipt of those military orders. 

4VAC20-610-40. Registration procedures.  

A. An applicant may renew his Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License by registering during the months of 

December through February April as commercial fishermen 

as follows:  

1. The applicant shall complete an application for a 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License.  

2. The applicant shall mail the completed application to the 

Virginia Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington 

Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607.  

3. The Commercial Fisherman Registration License will be 

returned to the applicant by mail upon validation of his 

application.  

B. Persons desiring to enter the commercial fishery and 

those fishermen failing to register as provided in subdivision 

A may apply only during December, January or February of 

each year of this section shall apply to the commission for 
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registration as commercial fishermen. All such applications 

shall be for a delayed registration and shall be made as 

provided below.  

1. The applicant shall complete an application for a 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License by providing 

his complete name, mailing address (and 911 address if 

different than mailing address), social security number 

valid driver's license number or Virginia Department of 

Motor Vehicles identification number, birth date, weight, 

height, eye color, hair color, telephone number of 

residence, and signature.  

2. The applicant shall mail the completed application to the 

Virginia Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington 

Avenue, Newport News, VA 23607.  

3. The Commercial Fisherman Registration License will be 

returned to the applicant by mail two years after the date of 

receipt of the application by the commission. Notification 

of any change in the address of the applicant shall be the 

responsibility of the applicant.  

C. No part of the Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License fee shall be refundable.  

D. The Commercial Fisherman Registration License may be 

renewed annually during the months of December, January or 

February through April, only when any and all mandatory 

reporting harvest reports are up to date and there are no 

outstanding compliance issues. Any person failing to renew 

his license after April 30 shall be subject to the delay 

provision of subsection B of this section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4455; Filed July 30, 2015, 2:53 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Criminal Justice Services 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes 

in style or form or corrections of technical errors. The 

Criminal Justice Services Board will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 6VAC20-171. Regulations Relating 

to Private Security Services (repealing 6VAC20-171-10 

through 6VAC20-171-560). 

6VAC20-172. Regulations Relating to Private Security 

Services Businesses (adding 6VAC20-172-10 through 

6VAC20-172-250). 

6VAC20-173. Regulations Relating to Private Security 

Services Training Schools (adding 6VAC20-173-10 

through 6VAC20-173-330). 

6VAC20-174. Regulations Relating to Private Security 

Services Registered Personnel (adding 6VAC20-174-10 

through 6VAC20-174-520).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 9, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Department of 

Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-4503, or email barbara.peterson-

wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This exempt regulatory action repeals the existing 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services 

(6VAC20-171) and breaks out the three distinct main 

components of the private security industry--business, 

training schools, and registered personnel--into three 

individual chapters numbered 6VAC20-172 (Businesses), 

6VAC20-173 (Training Schools), and 6VAC20-174 

(Registered Personnel) based on related topics. No 

substantive changes to the requirements established in the 

current regulations under 6VAC20-171 are made in this 

action.  

CHAPTER 172 

REGULATIONS RELATING TO PRIVATE SECURITY 

SERVICES BUSINESSES 

Part I 

Definitions 

6VAC20-172-10. Definitions. 

In addition to the words and terms defined in § 9.1-138 of 

the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any 

successor board or agency.  

"Date of hire" means the date any employee of a private 

security services business or training school performs 

services regulated or required to be regulated by the 

department. 

"Department" or "DCJS" means the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services or any successor agency.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department.  

"Electronic images" means an acceptable method of 

maintaining required documentation through the scanning, 

storage, and maintenance of verifiable electronic copies of 

original documentation. 
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"Employee" means a natural person employed by a licensee 

to perform private security services that are regulated by the 

department.  

"Firearms endorsement" means a method of regulation that 

identifies an individual registered as a private security 

registrant and has successfully completed the annual firearms 

training and has met the requirements as set forth in 

6VAC20-174. 

"Firm" means a business entity, regardless of method of 

organization, applying for an initial or renewal private 

security services business license or private security services 

training school certification.  

"Incident" means an event that exceeds the normal extent of 

one's duties.  

"Intermediate weapon" means a tool not fundamentally 

designed to cause deadly force with conventional use. This 

would exclude all metal ammunition firearms or edged 

weapons. These weapons include but are not limited to 

baton/collapsible baton, chemical irritants, electronic 

restraining devices, projectiles, and other less lethal weapons 

as defined by the department. 

"Licensed firm" means a business entity, regardless of 

method of organization, that holds a valid private security 

services business license issued by the department.  

"Licensee" means a licensed private security services 

business.  

"Official documentation" means personnel records; 

Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty 

(DD214); copies of business licenses indicating ownership; 

law-enforcement transcripts; certificates of training 

completion; a signed letter provided directly by a current or 

previous employer detailing dates of employment and job 

duties; college transcripts; letters of commendation; private 

security services registrations, certifications or licenses from 

other states; and other employment, training, or experience 

verification documents. A resume is not considered official 

documentation.  

"On duty" means the time during which private security 

services business personnel receive or are entitled to receive 

compensation for employment for which a registration or 

certification is required.  

"Performance of his duties" means on duty in the context of 

this chapter.  

"Person" means any individual, group of individuals, firm, 

company, corporation, partnership, business, trust, 

association, or other legal entity.  

"Physical address" means the location of the building that 

houses a private security services business or training school 

or the location where the individual principals of a business 

reside. A post office box is not a physical address.  

"Principal" means any sole proprietor, individual listed as an 

officer or director with the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission, board member of the association, or partner of a 

licensed firm or applicant for licensure.  

"Private security services business personnel" means each 

employee of a private security services business who is 

employed as an unarmed security officer, armed security 

officer/courier, armored car personnel, security canine 

handler, detector canine handler, private investigator, 

personal protection specialist, alarm respondent, a locksmith, 

central station dispatcher, electronic security employee, an 

electronic security sales representative, electronic security 

technician, or electronic security technician's assistant.  

"Reciprocity" means the relation existing between Virginia 

and any other state, commonwealth, or province as 

established by agreements approved by the board.  

"Recognition" means the relation of accepting various 

application requirements between Virginia and any other 

state, commonwealth, or province as established by 

agreements approved by the board.  

"Related field" means any field with training requirements, 

job duties, and experience similar to those of the private 

security services field in which the applicant wishes to be 

licensed, certified, or registered. This term includes law 

enforcement and certain categories of the military.  

"This chapter" means the Regulations Relating to Private 

Security Services Businesses (6VAC20-172).  

Part II 

Application Fees 

6VAC20-172-20. Application fees. 

A. Schedule of fees. The fees listed below reflect the costs 

of handling, issuance, and production associated with 

administering and processing applications for licensing, 

certification, and other administrative requests for services 

relating to private security services.  

CATEGORIES FEES 

Fingerprint processing  $50 

Initial business license - 1-year license $550 

Initial business license - 2-year license $800 

Business license renewal - 2-year license $500 

Business license category  $50 

Initial compliance agent certification  $50 

Compliance agent certification renewal  $25 

Regulatory compliance - entry-level 

training 

$75 

Regulatory compliance - in-service 

training 

$50 
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B. Reinstatement fee.  

1. The department shall collect a reinstatement fee for 

license or certification renewal applications not received 

on or before the expiration date of the expiring license or 

certification.  

2. The reinstatement fee shall be 50% above and beyond 

the renewal fee of the license, certification, or any other 

credential issued by the department wherein a fee is 

established and renewal is required. 

C. Dishonor of fee payment due to insufficient funds. 

1. The department may suspend the license, certification, 

or authority it has granted any person who submits a check 

or similar instrument for payment of a fee required by 

statute or regulation that is not honored by the financial 

institution upon which the check or similar instrument is 

drawn. 

2. The suspension shall become effective upon receipt of 

written notice of the dishonored payment. Upon 

notification of the suspension, the person or licensee may 

request that the suspended license, certification, or 

authority be reinstated, provided payment of the 

dishonored amount plus any penalties or fees required 

under the statute or regulation accompanies the request. 

Suspension under this provision shall be exempt from the 

Administrative Process Act. 

D. Manual processing service fee. The department shall 

collect a $5.00 service fee for any applications under this 

chapter that are submitted to the department by other means 

than the available electronic methods established by the 

department. 

Part III 

Criminal History Records Search 

6VAC20-172-30. Fingerprint processing. 

A. On or before the first date of hire, each person applying 

for licensure as a private security services business, including 

principals, supervisors, and electronic security employees or 

for certification as a compliance agent shall submit to the 

department:  

1. One completed fingerprint card provided by the 

department or another electronic method approved by the 

department;  

2. A fingerprint processing application;  

3. The applicable, nonrefundable fee; and  

4. All criminal history conviction information on a form 

provided by the department.  

B. The department shall submit those fingerprints to the 

Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia 

Criminal History Records search and a National Criminal 

Records search to determine whether the individual or 

individuals have a record of conviction.  

C. Fingerprint cards found to be unclassifiable will suspend 

all action on the application pending the resubmission of a 

classifiable fingerprint card. The applicant shall be so notified 

in writing and must submit a new fingerprint card within 30 

days of notification before the processing of his application 

shall resume. If a fingerprint card is not submitted within the 

30 days, the initial fingerprint application process will be 

required to include applicable application fees. 

D. If the applicant is denied by DCJS, the department will 

notify the applicant by letter regarding the reasons for the 

denial. The compliance agent will also be notified in writing 

by DCJS that the applicant has been denied.  

E. Fingerprint applications will be active for 120 days from 

the date of submittal. Applications for licenses and 

certifications must be submitted within that 120-day period or 

initial fingerprint submittal will be required. 

Part IV 

Business License Application Procedures; Administrative 

Requirements; Standards of Conduct 

6VAC20-172-40. Initial business license application. 

A. Prior to the issuance of a private security services 

business license, the applicant shall meet or exceed the 

requirements of licensing and application submittal to the 

department as set forth in this section.  

B. Each person seeking a license shall file a completed 

application provided by the department including:  

1. For each principal and supervisor of the applying 

business and for each electronic security employee of an 

electronic security services business, his fingerprints 

pursuant to this chapter; 

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured a 

surety bond in the amount of $100,000 executed by a 

surety company authorized to do business in Virginia, or a 

certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a 

certificate holder, showing a policy of comprehensive 

general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of 

$100,000 per individual occurrence and $300,000 general 

aggregate issued by an insurance company authorized to do 

business in Virginia; 

3. For each nonresident applicant for a license, on a form 

provided by the department, a completed irrevocable 

consent for the department to serve as service agent for all 

actions filed in any court in this Commonwealth;  

4. For each applicant for a license except sole proprietor or 

partnership, the identification number issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission for verification 

that the entity is authorized to conduct business in the 

Commonwealth;  

5. A physical address in Virginia where records required to 

be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this chapter are 

kept and available for inspection by the department. A post 

office box is not a physical address;  
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6. On the license application, designation of at least one 

individual as compliance agent who is certified or eligible 

for certification;  

7. The applicable, nonrefundable license application fee; 

and  

8. Designation on the license application of the type of 

private security business license the applicant is seeking. 

The initial business license fee includes one category. A 

separate fee will be charged for each additional category. 

The separate categories are identified as follows: (i) 

security officers/couriers (armed and unarmed), (ii) private 

investigators, (iii) electronic security personnel, (iv) 

armored car personnel, (v) personal protection specialists, 

(vi) locksmiths, and (vii) detector canine handlers and 

security canine handlers. Alarm respondents crossover into 

both the security officer and electronic security category; 

therefore, if an applicant is licensed in either of these 

categories, he can provide these services without an 

additional category fee.  

C. Upon completion of the initial license application 

requirements, the department may issue an initial license for a 

period not to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may issue a letter of temporary licensure 

to businesses seeking licensure under § 9.1-139 of the Code 

of Virginia for not more than 120 days while awaiting the 

results of the state and national fingerprint search conducted 

on the principals and compliance agent of the business, 

provided the applicant has met the necessary conditions and 

requirements.  

E. A new license is required whenever there is any change in 

the ownership or type of organization of the licensed entity 

that results in the creation of a new legal entity. Such changes 

include but are not limited to: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Formation or dissolution of a corporation, a limited 

liability company, or an association or any other business 

entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

F. Each license shall be issued to the legal business entity 

named on the application, whether it is a sole proprietorship, 

partnership, corporation, or other legal entity, and shall be 

valid only for the legal entity named on the license. No 

license shall be assigned or otherwise transferred to another 

legal entity.  

G. Each licensee shall comply with all applicable 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 

shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

H. Each licensee shall be a United States citizen or legal 

resident alien of the United States.  

6VAC20-172-50. Renewal business license application. 

A. Applications for license renewal should be received by 

the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address of the licensee. However, if a renewal 

notification is not received by the licensee, it is the 

responsibility of the licensee to ensure renewal requirements 

are filed with the department. License renewal applications 

must be received by the department and all license 

requirements must be completed prior to the expiration date 

or shall be subject to all applicable, nonrefundable renewal 

fees plus reinstatement fees. Outstanding fees or monetary 

penalties owed to DCJS must be paid prior to issuance of said 

renewal.  

B. Licenses will be renewed for a period not to exceed 24 

months.  

C. The department may renew a license when the following 

are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application;  

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured 

and maintained a surety bond in the amount of $100,000 

executed by a surety company authorized to do business in 

Virginia, or a certificate of insurance reflecting the 

department as a certificate holder, showing a policy of 

comprehensive general liability insurance with a minimum 

coverage of $100,000 per individual occurrence and 

$300,000 general aggregate issued by an insurance 

company authorized to do business in Virginia;  

3. Fingerprint records for any new or additional principals 

submitted to the department within 30 days of their hire 

date provided, however, that any change in the ownership 

or type of organization of the licensed entity has not 

resulted in the creation of a new legal entity;  

4. On the application, designation of at least one 

compliance agent who has satisfactorily completed all 

applicable training requirements;  

5. The applicable, nonrefundable license renewal fee and 

applicable category of service fees; and  

6. On the first day of employment, each new and additional 

supervisor's fingerprints submitted to the department 

pursuant to § 9.1-139 I of the Code of Virginia.  

D. Each business applying for a license renewal shall be in 

good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, registered, 

or certified in a private security services or related field. This 

subsection shall not apply to any probationary periods during 

which the individual is eligible to operate under the license, 

registration, or certification.  

E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 

of a license shall be subject to the requirements set forth by 

the reinstatement provisions of this chapter.  

F. On the renewal application the licensee must designate 

the type of private security business license he wishes to 
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renew. The fee will be based upon the category or categories 

selected on the renewal application.  

6VAC20-172-60. General requirements. 

All private security services licensed businesses are required 

to maintain administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct as determined by the Code of Virginia, department 

guidelines, and this chapter.  

6VAC20-172-70. Business administrative requirements. 

A licensee shall:  

1. Maintain at all times with the department its physical 

address in Virginia where records required to be 

maintained by the Code of Virginia and this chapter are 

kept and available for inspection by the department, the 

physical address of all locations in Virginia utilized by the 

licensee in which regulated services are offered, and email 

address if applicable. A post office box is not a physical 

address. Notification of any change shall be in writing and 

received by the department no later than 10 days after the 

effective date of the change.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department its current 

operating name and all fictitious names. Any name change 

reports shall be submitted in writing within 10 days after 

the occurrence of such change and accompanied by 

certified true copies of the documents that establish the 

name change.  

3. Report in writing to the department any change in its 

ownership or principals that does not result in the creation 

of a new legal entity. Such written report shall be received 

by the department within 30 days after the occurrence of 

such change to include fingerprint cards pursuant to this 

chapter.  

4. Report in writing to the department any change in the 

entity of the licensee that results in continued operation 

requiring a license. Such written report shall be received by 

the department within 10 days after the occurrence of such 

change.  

5. Maintain at all times current liability coverage at least in 

the minimum amounts prescribed by the application 

requirements of this chapter. Each day of uninsured 

activity would be construed as an individual violation of 

this requirement. 

6. Maintain at all times with the department a completed 

irrevocable consent for service if the licensee is not a 

resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Licensees that 

move their business from the Commonwealth shall file a 

completed irrevocable consent for services within 15 days 

of the change in location.  

7. Employ at all times at least one individual designated as 

a compliance agent who is in good standing and is certified 

pursuant to this chapter. In the event there is more than one 

compliance agent designated for the business, designate 

one as the primary compliance agent and point of contact.  

8. Maintain at all times and for a period of not less than 

three years from the date of termination of employment the 

following documentation concerning all regulants: 

documentation or electronic images of the date of hire in 

the regulated category; documentation that the fingerprint 

processing application was submitted on the date of hire; 

verification that the employee is a United States citizen or 

legal resident alien and is properly registered or certified 

and trained; and current physical and mailing addresses for 

all regulated employees and telephone numbers if 

applicable.  

9. Upon termination of employment of a certified 

compliance agent, notify the department in writing within 

10 calendar days. This notification shall include the name 

of the individual responsible for the licensee's adherence to 

applicable administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct during the period of replacement. 

10. Within 90 days of termination of employment of the 

sole remaining compliance agent, submit the name of a 

new compliance agent who is eligible for certification. 

Individuals not currently eligible may pursue certification 

pursuant to this chapter. This notification shall be in 

writing and signed by a principal of the business and the 

designated compliance agent.  

11. Prominently display at all times for public inspection, 

in a conspicuous place where the public has access, the 

business license issued by the department.  

12. Ensure that all individuals submit fingerprint cards 

pursuant to this chapter and as required by the Code of 

Virginia.  

13. Inform the department in writing within 10 days of 

receiving knowledge of any principal, partner, officer, or 

compliance agent regulated by this chapter or any 

employee regulated or required to be regulated by the 

board, pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 

convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 

Virginia.  

14. Inform the department in writing within 10 days of 

receiving knowledge of any principal, licensee, subsidiary, 

partner, officer, or compliance agent regulated by this 

chapter, or any employee regulated or required to be 

regulated by the board, having been found guilty by any 

court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction to 

have violated the private security services business statutes 

or regulations of that jurisdiction.  

15. On a form provided by the department and within 10 

calendar days of receiving knowledge of an incident, 

submit a report of any incident in which any registrant has 

discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training 

exercise.  

16. In the event a complaint against the licensee is received 

by the department, be required to furnish documentary 
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evidence (written agreement) of the terms agreed to 

between licensee and client, which shall include at a 

minimum the specific scope of services and fees assessed 

for such services. The licensee shall retain a copy for a 

period of not less than three years from completion of said 

agreement.  

17. Not fail to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty 

or written agreement.  

18. In the event a licensee sells or otherwise transfers the 

ownership of a monitoring agreement of an electronic 

security customer in Virginia, notify the end user, in 

writing, within 30 days of the transfer of monitoring 

services. No licensee shall sell or otherwise transfer to an 

entity not licensed in Virginia.  

19. Ensure that all employees regulated by the board carry 

a department issued registration card or temporary 

registration letter along with a photo identification while 

on duty.  

20. Ensure that all regulated employees authorized to 

provide private security services while completing 

compulsory minimum training standards pursuant to § 9.1-

139 H of the Code of Virginia carry a photo identification 

along with an authorization form provided by the 

department while on duty. 

21. Maintain a written use of force policy dictating the 

business' policy for using deadly force and for use of less 

lethal force. A statement certifying that the employee has 

read and understands the business' use of force policy must 

be signed by each employee who is permitted to carry 

firearms or intermediate weapons and maintained in the 

employee's file. 

22. Maintain records for individual employees permitted to 

carry intermediate weapons while on duty to verify training 

in the use of the permitted intermediate weapons.  

23. Maintain at all times and for a period of not less than 

three years from the date of termination, decertification, or 

other separation records of detector canine handler team 

certifications to include a photo of detector canine teams 

utilized to provide regulated private security services.  

6VAC20-172-80. Business standards of conduct. 

A licensee shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Ensure that all employees regulated or required to be 

regulated by the board conform to all application 

requirements, administrative requirements, and standards 

of conduct pursuant to the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-174, 

and this chapter.  

3. Not direct any employee regulated or required to be 

regulated by the board to engage in any acts prohibited by 

the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-174, and this chapter.  

4. Employ individuals regulated or required to be regulated 

as follows:  

a. A licensee shall employ or otherwise utilize 

individuals possessing a valid registration issued by the 

department showing the registration categories required 

to perform duties requiring registration pursuant to the 

Code of Virginia;  

b. A licensee shall not allow individuals requiring 

registration as armored car personnel, armed security 

officers/couriers, armed alarm respondents with firearm 

endorsement, private investigators, personal protection 

specialists, detector canine handlers, or security canine 

handlers to perform private security services until such 

time as the individual has been issued a registration by 

the department;  

c. A licensee may employ individuals requiring 

registration as an unarmed alarm respondent, a 

locksmith, a central station dispatcher, an electronic 

security sales representative, an electronic security 

technician, an unarmed armored car driver, an unarmed 

security officer, or an electronic security technician's 

assistant for a period not to exceed 90 consecutive days 

in any registered category listed in this subdivision 4 c 

while completing the compulsory minimum training 

standards as set forth in 6VAC20-174 provided:  

(1) The individual's fingerprint card has been submitted;  

(2) The individual is not employed in excess of 120 days 

without having been issued a registration from the 

department; and  

(3) The individual did not fail to timely complete the 

required training with a previous employer.  

d. A licensee shall not employ any individual carrying or 

having access to a firearm in the performance of his 

duties who has not obtained a valid registration and 

firearms endorsement from the department; and  

e. A licensee shall maintain appropriate documentation to 

verify compliance with these requirements. A licensee 

shall maintain these documents after employment is 

terminated for a period of not less than three years.  

5. Not contract or subcontract any private security services 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia to a person not licensed 

by the department. Verification of a contractor's or 

subcontractor's license issued by the department shall be 

maintained for a period of not less than three years.  

6. Ensure that the compliance agent conforms to all 

applicable application requirements, administrative 

requirements, and standards of conduct pursuant to the 

Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

7. Permit the department during regular business hours to 

inspect, review, or copy those documents, electronic 

images, business records, or training records that are 

required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  
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8. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-173, 6VAC20-

174, or this chapter.  

9. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license or registration being suspended, revoked, 

or not renewed, or the licensee or registrant otherwise 

being disciplined in any jurisdiction.  

10. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

11. Not obtain or aid and abet others to obtain a license, 

license renewal, registration, registration renewal, 

certification, certification renewal, or firearms 

endorsement through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

12. Include the business license number issued by the 

department on all business advertising materials pursuant 

to the Code of Virginia. Business advertising materials 

containing information regarding more than one licensee 

must contain the business license numbers of each licensee 

identified. 

13. Not conduct a private security services business in such 

a manner as to endanger the public health, safety, and 

welfare.  

14. Not falsify or aid and abet others in falsifying training 

records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration, 

or certification.  

15. Not represent as one's own a license issued to another 

private security services business.  

16. When providing central station monitoring services, 

attempt to verify the legitimacy of a burglar alarm 

activation by calling the site of the alarm. If unable to 

make contact, call one additional number provided by the 

alarm user who has the authority to cancel the dispatch. 

This shall not apply if the alarm user has provided written 

authorization requesting immediate or one-call dispatch to 

both his local police department and his dealer of record. 

This shall not apply to duress or hold-up alarms.  

17. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 

loss, injury, or death to any person.  

18. Utilize vehicles for private security services using or 

displaying an amber flashing light only as specifically 

authorized by § 46.2-1025 A 9 of the Code of Virginia.  

19. Not use or display the state seal of Virginia or the seal 

of the Department of Criminal Justice Services, or any 

portion thereof, or the seal of any political subdivision of 

the Commonwealth, or any portion thereof, as a part of any 

logo, stationery, letter, training document, business card, 

badge, patch, insignia, or other form of identification or 

advertisement.  

20. Not provide information obtained by the firm or its 

employees to any person other than the client who secured 

the services of the licensee without the client's prior written 

consent. Provision of information in response to official 

requests from law-enforcement agencies, the courts, or the 

department shall not constitute a violation of this chapter. 

Provision of information to law-enforcement agencies 

pertinent to criminal activity or to planned criminal activity 

shall not constitute a violation of this chapter.  

21. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

22. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

23. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

24. Not violate any state or local ordinance.  

25. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided.  

26. Not publish or cause to be published any material 

relating to private security services that contains an 

assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false, 

deceptive, or misleading.  

27. Not conduct private security business under a fictitious 

or assumed name unless the name is on file with the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services. This does not 

apply to a private investigator conducting a "pretext," 

provided that the private investigator does not state that he 

is representing a private security business that does not 

exist or otherwise prohibited under federal law.  

28. Not act as or be an ostensible licensee for undisclosed 

persons who do or will control directly or indirectly the 

operations of the licensee's business. 

29. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

30. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on any email, 

application, or other document filed with the department. 
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Part V 

Compliance Agent Application Procedures; Administrative 

Requirements; Standards of Conduct 

6VAC20-172-90. Compliance agent certification 

requirements. 

A. Each person applying for certification as compliance 

agent shall meet the following minimum requirements for 

eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Have (i) three years of managerial or supervisory 

experience in a private security services business; with a 

federal, state, or local law-enforcement agency; or in a 

related field or (ii) five years of experience in a private 

security services business; with a federal, state or local 

law-enforcement agency; or in a related field; and  

3. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 

United States.  

B. Each person applying for certification as compliance 

agent shall file with the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. Fingerprint card pursuant to this chapter;  

3. Official documentation verifying that the individual has 

(i) three years of managerial or supervisory experience in a 

private security services business; with a federal, state, or 

local law-enforcement agency; or in a related field or (ii) 

five years of experience in a private security services 

business, with a federal, state, or local law-enforcement 

agency; or in a related field; and  

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

C. The department may issue a certification for a period not 

to exceed 24 months when the following are received by the 

department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification fee; 

3. Verification of eligibility pursuant to § 9.1-139 A of the 

Code of Virginia; and 

4. Verification of satisfactory completion of department 

regulatory compliance entry-level training requirements 

pursuant to this chapter. 

D. Each compliance agent shall comply with all applicable 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 

shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-172-100. Compliance agent certification renewal 

requirements. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 

by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address or email address provided by the 

certified compliance agent. However, if a renewal notification 

is not received by the compliance agent, it is the 

responsibility of the compliance agent to ensure renewal 

requirements are filed with the department. Certification 

renewal applications received by the department after the 

expiration date shall be subject to all applicable, 

nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees. 

B. Each person applying for compliance agent certification 

renewal shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility 

as follows:  

1. Successfully apply on an application provided by the 

department and complete the in-service regulatory 

compliance agent classroom training session provided by 

the department, or successfully complete an approved 

online in-service training session pursuant to this chapter. 

Training must be completed within the 12 months 

immediately preceding the expiration date of the current 

certification; and 

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 

registered, or certified in private security services or a 

related field. This subdivision shall not apply to any 

probationary periods during which the individual is eligible 

to operate under the license, registration, or certification. 

C. The department may renew a certification for a period not 

to exceed 24 months. 

D. The department may renew a certification when the 

following are received by the department: 

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 

the department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee; 

and 

3. Verification of satisfactory completion of department 

regulatory compliance agent in-service training. 

E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 

of a certification shall be subject to the requirements set forth 

by the reinstatement provisions of this chapter. 

6VAC20-172-110. Compliance agent regulatory 

compliance training requirements. 

A. Each eligible person applying to attend a regulatory 

compliance entry-level or in-service training session provided 

by the department shall file with the department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

Upon receipt of the training enrollment application the 

department will assign the applicant to a training session 

provided by the department. Applicants for initial 

certification as a compliance agent must achieve a minimum 

passing score of 80% on the entry-level regulatory 

compliance training examination. 
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B. Department entry-level regulatory compliance training 

must be completed within 12 months of approval of 

application for an initial compliance agent certification. 

C. Each person certified by the department to act as a 

compliance agent shall complete the department in-service 

regulatory compliance training within the last 12-month 

period of certification.  

6VAC20-172-120. Compliance agent administrative 

requirements and standards of conduct. 

Private security services certified compliance agents are 

required to maintain administrative requirements and 

standards of conduct as determined by the Code of Virginia, 

department guidelines, and this chapter. A compliance agent 

shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing 

address and email address if applicable. Written 

notification of any change of address shall be received by 

the department no later than 10 days after the effective date 

of the change.  

3. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-173, 6VAC20-

174, or this chapter.  

4. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license or registration being suspended, revoked, 

or not renewed,  or the licensee or registrant otherwise 

being disciplined in any jurisdiction.  

5. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

6. Inform the department, and the licensee for which the 

individual is designated as compliance agent if applicable, 

in writing within 10 days after pleading guilty or nolo 

contendere or being convicted or found guilty of any 

felony or of a misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of 

the Code of Virginia.  

7. Inform the department, and the licensee for which the 

individual is designated as compliance agent if applicable, 

in writing within 10 days after having been found guilty by 

any court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction 

to have violated the private security services business 

statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction.  

8. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 

registration renewal, certification, or certification renewal 

through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

9. Be designated with the department as compliance agent 

for a licensee and shall:  

a. Ensure that the licensee and all employees regulated or 

required to be regulated by the board conform to all 

application requirements, administrative requirements, 

and standards of conduct pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia, 6VAC20-174, and this chapter;  

b. Maintain documentation for all employees or persons 

otherwise utilized that verifies compliance with 

requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-

174, and this chapter;  

c. Notify the department in writing within 10 calendar 

days following termination of his employment as 

compliance agent for the licensee;  

d. Ensure that all employees regulated by the board carry 

a department-issued registration card or temporary 

registration letter along with a photo identification while 

on duty; and 

e. Ensure that all regulated employees authorized to 

provide private security services while completing 

compulsory minimum training standards pursuant to 

§ 9.1-139 H of the Code of Virginia carry a photo 

identification along with an authorization form provided 

by the department while on duty. 

10. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

11. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

12. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

13. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided.  

14. Not publish or cause to be published any material 

relating to private security services that contain an 

assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false, 

deceptive, or misleading.  

15. Not conduct private security business under a fictitious 

or assumed name unless the name is on file with the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services. This does not 

apply to a private investigator conducting a "pretext," 

provided that the private investigator does not state that he 

is representing a private security business that does not 

exist or otherwise prohibited under federal laws.  

16. Not violate any state or local ordinances related to 

private security services. 
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17. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

18. Not use access to the department's database 

information for any other purpose than verifying 

employee's application status. 

19. Not allow another to use access granted to the 

department's database for any purpose. 

20. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on any email, 

application, or other document filed with the department. 

Part VI 

Reinstatement and Renewal Extensions 

6VAC20-172-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Any business license or compliance agent certification 

not renewed on or before the expiration date shall become 

null and void. Pursuant to the Code of Virginia, all such 

persons must currently be licensed or certified with the 

department to provide private security services.  

B. A renewal application must be received by the 

department within 60 days following the expiration date of 

the license or certification in order to be reinstated by the 

department providing all renewal requirements have been 

met. Prior to reinstatement the following shall be submitted to 

the department:  

1. The appropriate renewal application and completion of 

renewal requirements including required training pursuant 

to this chapter; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable reinstatement fee 

pursuant to this chapter.  

The department shall not reinstate renewal applications 

received after the 60-day reinstatement period has expired. It 

is unlawful to operate without a valid certification or license, 

including during the reinstatement period.  

C. No license or certification shall be renewed or reinstated 

when all renewal application requirements are received by the 

department more than 60 days following the expiration date 

of the license or certification. After that date, the applicant 

shall meet all initial application requirements, including 

applicable training requirements.  

D. Following submittal of all reinstatement requirements, 

the department will process and may approve any application 

for reinstatement pursuant to the renewal process for the 

application.  

E. When a license or certification is reinstated, the applicant 

shall continue to have the same DCJS number and shall be 

assigned an expiration date two years from the previous 

expiration date of the license or certification. 

F. An applicant who reinstates shall be regarded as having 

been continuously licensed or certified without interruption. 

Therefore, the applicant shall remain under the disciplinary 

authority of the department during this entire period and may 

be held accountable for his activities during this period. 

G. A person who fails to reinstate his license or certification 

shall be regarded as unlicensed or uncertified from the 

expiration date of the license or certification forward. 

H. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the department of its 

authority to discipline a person for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the person 

was licensed or certified. 

6VAC20-172-140. Renewal extension. 

A. An extension of the time period to meet renewal 

requirements may be approved only under specific 

circumstances that do not allow private security personnel or 

businesses to complete the required procedures within the 

prescribed time period. The following are the only 

circumstances for which extensions may be granted:  

1. Extended illness;  

2. Extended injury;  

3. Military or foreign service; or  

4. Any emergency temporary assignment of private 

security personnel for purposes of natural disaster, 

homeland security, or documented threat by the private 

security services business for which he is employed.  

B. A request for extension shall:  

1. Be submitted in writing, dated, and signed by the 

individual or principal of a licensed entity prior to the 

expiration date of the time limit required for completion of 

the requirements. This requirement may be waived by the 

department based on an evaluation of the justification for 

waiver; 

2. Indicate the projected date the person or business will be 

able to comply with the requirements; and  

3. Include a copy of the physician's record of the injury or 

illness, a copy of the government orders, or documentation 

of emergency temporary assignment.  

C. Applications for additional extensions may be approved 

upon written request of the person or business.  

D. The total time for renewal extension, including additional 

extensions, shall not exceed 12 months beyond the original 

expiration date. If renewal requirements are not met during 

the period of extension, the individual must complete all 

initial training requirements to include applicable entry-level 

training. 

E. The private security services person or business shall be 

nonoperational during the period of extension unless (i) 

otherwise issued a temporary exemption and (ii) authorized 

by the department pursuant to § 9.1-139 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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Part VII 

Sanctions; Exemptions; Recognition; Reciprocity 

6VAC20-172-150. Denial, probation, suspension, and 

revocation. 

A. The department may deny a license or certification in 

which any person or principal of an applying business has 

been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and battery, 

damage to real or personal property, controlled substances or 

imitation controlled substances as defined in Article 1 

(§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as described in Article 7 

(§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this chapter. The 

record of a conviction, authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted, shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such conviction.  

B. The department may deny a license or certification in 

which any person or principal of an applying business (i) has 

not maintained good standing in every jurisdiction where 

licensed, registered, or certified in a private security services 

or related field; (ii) has had his license, registration, or 

certification denied upon initial application, suspended, 

revoked, surrendered, or not renewed; or (iii) has otherwise 

been disciplined in connection with a disciplinary action prior 

to applying for licensing, registration, or certification in 

Virginia.  

C. Any false or misleading statement on any state 

application or supporting documentation is grounds for denial 

or revocation and may be subject to criminal prosecution.  

D. The department may deny licensure or certification for 

other just cause.  

E. A licensee or compliance agent shall be subject to 

disciplinary action for violations or noncompliance with the 

Code of Virginia or this chapter. Disciplinary action shall be 

in accordance with procedures prescribed by the 

Administrative Process Act. The disciplinary action may 

include but is not limited to a letter of censure, fine, 

probation, suspension, or revocation.  

F. If a registrant or certified person is subject to disciplinary 

action for violations or noncompliance with the Code of 

Virginia, 6VAC20-174, or this chapter, the department will 

notify the last known licensed private security services 

business by which the registrant or certified person was 

employed or affiliated. 

6VAC20-172-160. Exemptions; recognition and 

reciprocity. 

A. The department may grant a temporary exemption from 

the requirements for licensing or certification for a period of 

not more than 30 days in a situation deemed an emergency by 

the department.  

B. The department may recognize administrative and 

application requirements for licensing or certification based 

on agreements that have been entered into with other states 

and approved by the board.  

Part VIII 

Complaints; Department Action and Sanctions; Adjudication 

6VAC20-172-170. Complaint submittal requirements. 

A. In accordance with § 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia, 

this chapter establishes standards designed to secure the 

public safety and welfare against incompetent or unqualified 

persons engaging in private security services. It shall be the 

responsibility of the licensee, its compliance agents, and its 

employees to provide private security services in a 

professional and ethical manner utilizing sound business 

practices.  

B. Any aggrieved or interested person may file a complaint 

against any individual, person, firm, or licensed firm whose 

conduct and activities are regulated or required to be 

regulated by the board. The complaint must allege a violation 

of the law governing private security services or this chapter.  

C. Complaints may be submitted:  

1. In writing, or on a form provided by the department, by 

a signed complainant;  

2. In writing, submitted anonymously, and providing 

sufficient detailed information for the department to 

conduct an investigation; or  

3. By telephone, providing the complaint alleges activities 

that constitute a life-threatening situation or have resulted 

in personal injury or loss to the public or to a consumer or 

that may result in imminent harm or personal injury and 

that provide sufficient detailed information for the 

department to conduct an investigation.  

6VAC20-172-180. Department investigation. 

A. The department may initiate or conduct an investigation 

based on any information received or action taken by the 

department to determine compliance with the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

B. Documentation.  

1. Persons regulated or required to be regulated by this 

chapter pursuant to the Code of Virginia are required to 

provide department investigators with any and all records 

required to be maintained by this chapter.  

a. This shall not be construed to authorize the department 

to demand records protected under applicable federal and 

state laws. If such records are necessary to complete an 

investigation, the department may seek a subpoena to 

satisfy the request.  

b. The department shall endeavor to review, and request 

as necessary, only those records required to verify 

alleged violations of compliance with the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  
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2. The department shall endeavor to keep any 

documentation, evidence, or information on an 

investigation confidential until such time as adjudication 

has been completed, at which time information may be 

released upon request pursuant to applicable federal and 

state laws or regulations.  

6VAC20-172-190. Disciplinary action; sanctions; 

publication of records. 

A. Each person subject to jurisdiction of this chapter who 

violates any statute or regulation pertaining to private security 

services shall be subject to sanctions imposed by the 

department regardless of criminal prosecution.  

B. The department may impose any of the following 

sanctions, singly or in combination, when it finds the 

respondent in violation of or in noncompliance with the Code 

of Virginia or this chapter:  

1. Letter of reprimand or censure;  

2. Probation for any period of time;  

3. Suspension of license, certification, or approval granted 

for any period of time;  

4. Revocation;  

5. Refusal to issue, renew, or reinstate a license, 

certification, or approval;  

6. Fine not to exceed $2,500 per violation as long as the 

respondent was not criminally prosecuted;  

7. Remedial training; or 

8. Conditional agreements. 

C. The department may conduct hearings and issue cease 

and desist orders to persons who engage in activities 

prohibited by this chapter but do not hold a valid license or 

certification. Any person in violation of a cease and desist 

order entered by the department shall be subject to all of the 

remedies provided by law and, in addition, shall be subject to 

a civil penalty payable to the party injured by the violation.  

D. The director may summarily suspend a license or 

certification under this chapter without a hearing, 

simultaneously with the filing of a formal complaint and 

notice for a hearing, if the director finds that the continued 

operations of the licensee or certified person would constitute 

a life-threatening situation, has resulted in personal injury or 

loss to the public or to a consumer, or may result in imminent 

harm, personal injury, or loss.  

E. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of 

public record and shall be preserved. The department may 

publish a list of the names and addresses of all persons, 

licensees, firms, compliance agents, and licensed firms whose 

conduct and activities are subject to this chapter and have 

been sanctioned or denied licensure, certification, or 

approval.  

6VAC20-172-200. Fines; administrative and investigative 

costs. 

A. The department may recover costs of any investigation 

and adjudication of any violations of the Code of Virginia or 

regulations that result in a sanction, including fine, probation, 

suspension, revocation, or denial of any license or 

certification. Such costs shall be in addition to any monetary 

penalty that may be imposed.  

B. All monetary penalties imposed as a sanction shall be 

deposited into the state treasury to the credit of the State 

Literary Fund.  

6VAC20-172-210. Hearing process. 

Following a preliminary investigative process, the 

department may initiate action to resolve the complaint 

through an informal fact-finding conference or formal hearing 

as established in this chapter. Pursuant to the authority 

conferred in § 9.1-141 C 6 of the Code of Virginia and in 

accordance with the procedures set forth by the 

Administrative Process Act and the procedures prescribed in 

this part, the department is empowered to receive, review, 

investigate, and adjudicate complaints concerning the conduct 

of any person whose activities are regulated by the board. The 

board will hear and act upon appeals arising from decisions 

made by the director. In all case decisions, the Criminal 

Justice Services Board shall be the final agency authority.  

6VAC20-172-220. Informal fact-finding conference. 

The purpose of an informal fact-finding conference is to 

resolve allegations through informal consultation and 

negotiation. Informal fact-finding conferences shall be 

conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia. The respondent, the person against whom the 

complaint is filed, may appeal the decision of an informal 

fact-finding conference and request a formal hearing, 

provided that written notification is given to the department 

within 30 days of the date the informal fact-finding decision 

notice was served, or the date it was mailed to the respondent, 

whichever occurred first. In the event the informal fact-

finding decision was served by mail, three days shall be 

added to that period.  

6VAC20-172-230. Formal hearing. 

A. Formal hearing proceedings may be initiated in any case 

in which the basic laws provide expressly for a case decision, 

or in any case to the extent the informal fact-finding 

conference has not been conducted or an appeal thereto has 

been timely received. Formal hearings shall be conducted in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. The 

findings and decision of the director resulting from a formal 

hearing may be appealed to the board.  

B. After a formal hearing pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Code 

of Virginia wherein a sanction is imposed to fine or to 

suspend, revoke, or deny issuance or renewal of any license, 

certification, or approval, the department may assess the 

holder thereof the cost of conducting such hearing when the 
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department has final authority to grant such license, 

certification, or approval, unless the department determines 

that the offense was inadvertent or done in good faith belief 

that such act did not violate a statute or regulation. The cost 

shall be limited to (i) the reasonable hourly rate for the 

hearing officer and (ii) the actual cost of recording the 

proceedings. This assessment shall be in addition to any fine 

imposed by sanctions.  

6VAC20-172-240. Appeals. 

The findings and the decision of the director may be 

appealed to the board provided that written notification is 

given to the attention of the Director, Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, within 30 days following the date 

notification of the hearing decision was served, or the date it 

was mailed to the respondent, whichever occurred first. In the 

event the hearing decision is served by mail, three days shall 

be added to that period. (Rule 2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia 

Supreme Court.)  

6VAC20-172-250. Court review; appeal of final agency 

order. 

A. The agency's final administrative decision (final agency 

order) may be appealed. Any person affected by and claiming 

the unlawfulness of the agency's final case decision shall have 

the right to the direct review thereof by an appropriate and 

timely court action. Such appeal actions shall be initiated in 

the circuit court of jurisdiction in which the party applying for 

review resides; however, if such party is not a resident of 

Virginia, the venue shall be in the City of Richmond, 

Virginia.  

B. Notification shall be given to the attention of the 

Director, Department of Criminal Justice Services, in writing 

within 30 days of the date notification of the board decision 

was served, or the date it was mailed to the respondent, 

whichever occurred first. In the event the board decision was 

served by mail, three days shall be added to that period. (Rule 

2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia Supreme Court.)  

C. During all judicial proceedings incidental to such 

disciplinary action, the sanctions imposed by the board shall 

remain in effect, unless the court issues a stay of the order.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-172) 

Business  

Private Security Services - Business Compliance Inspection 

Form (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Irrevocable Consent for Service 

Form (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Initial Business License 

Application (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Renewal Business License 

Application (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Bond (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Compliance Agent Designation 

and Acceptance Form (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Additional License Category 

Application (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Address Change Form for 

Businesses (eff. 10/12) 

Compliance Agent  

Compliance Agent - Training and Certification (eff. 10/12) 

Compliance Agent - In-Service Training Enrollment (eff. 

10/12) 

Compliance Agent - Certification Application and Online 

Training Exemption Form (eff. 10/12) 

Fingerprint Processing  

DCJS Fingerprint Cards Order Form (undated) 

Fingerprint Processing Application (eff. 10/12) 

Criminal History Supplemental Form (eff. 10/12) 

Fingerprint Application Instructions (eff. 10/12) 

Acceptable Documents for Verifying Legal Presence/Name 

Change (eff. 10/12) 

Miscellaneous  

Complaint Form (eff. 10/12) 

Firearms Discharge Report (eff. 10/12) 

Request for Extension Form (eff. 10/12) 

Individual Address Change Form (eff. 10/12) 

Credit Card Authorization Form (eff. 10/12)  

CHAPTER 173 

REGULATIONS RELATING TO PRIVATE SECURITY 

SERVICES TRAINING SCHOOLS 

Part I 

Definitions 

6VAC20-173-10. Definitions. 

In addition to the words and terms defined in § 9.1-138 of 

the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Assistant training school director" means a certified 

instructor designated by a private security training school 

director to submit training school session notifications and 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=50787001546~1&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=50787001546~1&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bd94b001546~2&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bd94b001546~2&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1356001546~3&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1356001546~3&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=408df001546~4&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=408df001546~4&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7e3b5001546~5&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9cc44001546~6&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9cc44001546~6&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38ea2001546~7&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38ea2001546~7&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16519001546~8&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16519001546~8&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c0981001546~9&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=409de001546~10&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=409de001546~10&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7793f001546~11&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7793f001546~11&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9bb36001546~34&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=text/html
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dbdfd001546~35&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3a95001546~36&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7822e001546~37&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f610c001546~38&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f610c001546~38&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=541b0001546~40&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7eef8001546~41&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d3475001546~44&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1140c001546~45&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3735c001546~46&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
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training rosters and perform administrative duties in lieu of 

the director.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any 

successor board or agency.  

"Certified training school" means a training school that is 

certified by the department for the specific purpose of training 

private security services business personnel in at least one 

category of the compulsory minimum training standards as 

set forth by the board 

"Class" means a block of instruction no less than 50 minutes 

in length on a particular subject.  

"Classroom training" means instruction conducted in person 

by an instructor to students in an organized manner utilizing a 

lesson plan. 

"Date of hire" means the date any employee of a private 

security services business or training school performs 

services regulated or required to be regulated by the 

department.  

"Department" or "DCJS" means the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services or any successor agency.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department.  

"Electronic images" means an acceptable method of 

maintaining required documentation through the scanning, 

storage, and maintenance of verifiable electronic copies of 

original documentation. 

"Entry-level training" means the compulsory initial training 

for regulated categories and basic or intermediate firearms 

training standards adopted by the board for private security 

services business personnel who are either new registrants or 

failed to timely complete in-service training or firearms 

retraining within the prescribed time period.  

"Firearms endorsement" means a method of regulation that 

identifies an individual registered as a private security 

registrant and has successfully completed the annual firearms 

training and has met the requirements as set forth in 

6VAC20-174. 

"Firm" means a business entity, regardless of method of 

organization, applying for an initial or renewal private 

security services business license or private security services 

training school certification.  

"Incident" means an event that exceeds the normal extent of 

one's duties.  

"In-service training requirement" means the compulsory in-

service training standards adopted by the Criminal Justice 

Services Board for private security services business 

personnel.  

"Intermediate weapon" means a tool not fundamentally 

designed to cause deadly force with conventional use. This 

would exclude all metal ammunition firearms or edged 

weapons. These weapons include but are not limited to 

baton/collapsible baton, chemical irritants, electronic 

restraining devices, projectiles, and other less lethal weapons 

as defined by the department. 

"Job-related training" means training specifically related to 

the daily job functions of a given category of registration or 

certification. 

"Learning management system" or "LMS" means a software 

application or web-based technology used to plan, implement, 

monitor, and assess a specific learning process.  

"Network administrator" means an individual designated by 

a certified training school that provides online training who 

serves as the technical contact between the department and 

the certified training school.  

"Official documentation" means personnel records; 

Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty 

(DD214); copies of business licenses indicating ownership; 

law-enforcement transcripts; certificates of training 

completion; a signed letter provided directly by a current or 

previous employer detailing dates of employment and job 

duties; college transcripts; letters of commendation; private 

security services registrations, certifications or licenses from 

other states; and other employment, training, or experience 

verification documents. A resume is not considered official 

documentation.  

"On duty" means the time during which private security 

services business personnel receive or are entitled to receive 

compensation for employment for which a registration or 

certification is required.  

"Online training" means training approved by the 

department and offered via the Internet or an Intranet for the 

purpose of remote access on-demand or distance training that 

meets all requirements for compulsory minimum training 

standards. 

"Performance of his duties" means on duty in the context of 

this chapter.  

"Person" means any individual, group of individuals, firm, 

company, corporation, partnership, business, trust, 

association, or other legal entity.  

"Physical address" means the location of the building that 

houses a private security services business or training school 

or the location where the individual principals of a business 

reside. A post office box is not a physical address.  

"Principal" means any sole proprietor, individual listed as an 

officer or director with the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission, board member of the association, or partner of a 

licensed firm, or applicant for licensure.  

"Private security services business personnel" means each 

employee of a private security services business who is 

employed as an unarmed security officer, an armed security 

officer/courier, an armored car personnel, a security canine 

handler, a detector canine handler, a private investigator, a 

personal protection specialist, an alarm respondent, 

locksmith, a central station dispatcher, an electronic security 

employee, an electronic security sales representative, an 
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electronic security technician, or electronic security 

technician's assistant.  

"Reciprocity" means the relation existing between Virginia 

and any other state, commonwealth, or province as 

established by agreements approved by the board.  

"Recognition" means the relation of accepting various 

application requirements between Virginia and any other 

state, commonwealth, or province as established by 

agreements approved by the board.  

"Related field" means any field with training requirements, 

job duties, and experience similar to those of the private 

security services field in which the applicant wishes to be 

licensed, certified, or registered. This term includes law 

enforcement and certain categories of the military.  

"Session" means a group of classes comprising the total 

hours of mandated compulsory minimum training standards 

in any of the categories of licensure, registration, or 

certification in accordance with this article and in accordance 

with §§ 9.1-141, 9.1-150.2, 9.1-185.2, and 9.1-186.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"This chapter" means the Regulations Relating to Private 

Security Services Training Schools (6VAC20-173).  

"Training certification" means verification of the successful 

completion of any training requirement established by the 

board. 

"Training requirement" means any entry level, in-service, or 

firearms training or retraining standard established by the 

board.  

"Training school director" means a natural person 

designated by a principal of a certified private security 

services training school to assure the compliance of the 

private security services training school with all applicable 

requirements as provided in the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

Part II 

Application Fees 

6VAC20-173-20. Application fees. 

A. Schedule of fees. The fees listed below reflect the costs 

of handling, issuance, and production associated with 

administering and processing applications for certification 

and other administrative requests for services relating to 

private security services.  

CATEGORIES FEES 

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS CHECK 

Fingerprint processing  $50 

CERTIFICATIONS 

Initial training school $800 

Training school renewal $500 

Training school category  $50 

Initial instructor certification $50 

Instructor certification renewal $25 

Instructor certification category  $10 

Initial detector canine handler 

examiner certification 

$50 

Detector canine handler examiner 

certification renewal 

$25 

Replacement card  $20 

TRAINING RELATED 

Entry-level training exemption $25 

In-service training alternative credit 

evaluation 

$25 

Training completion roster form $30 

B. Reinstatement fee.  

1. The department shall collect a reinstatement fee for 

certification renewal applications not received on or before 

the expiration date of the expiring certification. 

2. The reinstatement fee shall be 50% above and beyond 

the renewal fee of the certification  or any other credential 

issued by the department wherein a fee is established and 

renewal is required. 

C. Dishonor of fee payment due to insufficient funds. 

1. The department may suspend the certification or 

authority it has granted any person who submits a check or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute 

or regulation that is not honored by the financial institution 

upon which the check or similar instrument is drawn. 

2. The suspension shall become effective upon receipt of 

written notice of the dishonored payment. Upon 

notification of the suspension, the person may request that 

the suspended certification or authority be reinstated, 

provided payment of the dishonored amount plus any 

penalties or fees required under the statute or regulation 

accompanies the request. Suspension under this provision 

shall be exempt from the Administrative Process Act. 

D. Manual processing service fee. The department shall 

collect a $5.00 service fee for any applications under this 

chapter that are submitted to the department by other means 

than the available electronic methods established by the 

department. 

Part III 

Criminal History Records Search 

6VAC20-173-30. Fingerprint processing. 

A. On or before the first date of hire, each person applying 

for certification as a private security services training school, 
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a detector canine handler examiner, or an instructor shall 

submit to the department:  

1. One completed fingerprint card provided by the 

department or another electronic method approved by the 

department;  

2. A fingerprint processing application;  

3. The applicable, nonrefundable fee; and  

4. All criminal history conviction information on a form 

provided by the department.  

B. The department shall submit those fingerprints to the 

Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia 

Criminal History Records search and a National Criminal 

Records search to determine whether the individual or 

individuals have a record of conviction.  

C. Fingerprint cards found to be unclassifiable will suspend 

all action on the application pending the resubmission of a 

classifiable fingerprint card. The applicant shall be so notified 

in writing and must submit a new fingerprint card within 30 

days of notification before the processing of his application 

shall resume. If a fingerprint card is not submitted within the 

30 days, the initial fingerprint application process will be 

required to include applicable application fees. 

D. If the applicant is denied by DCJS, the department will 

notify the applicant by letter regarding the reasons for the 

denial.  

E. Fingerprint applications will be active for 120 days from 

the date of submittal. Applications for certifications must be 

submitted within that 120-day period or initial fingerprint 

submittal will be required. 

Part IV 

Training School Application Procedures; Administrative 

Requirements; Standards of Conduct 

6VAC20-173-40. Initial training school application. 

A. Prior to the issuance of a training school certification, the 

applicant shall meet or exceed the requirements of 

certification and application submittal to the department as set 

forth in this section.  

B. Each person seeking certification as a private security 

services training school shall file a completed application 

provided by the department to include:  

1. For each principal of the applying training school, the 

principal's  fingerprints pursuant to this chapter;  

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured a 

surety bond in the amount of $100,000 executed by a 

surety company authorized to do business in Virginia, or a 

certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a 

certificate holder, showing a policy of comprehensive 

general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of 

$100,000 per individual occurrence and $300,000 general 

aggregate issued by an insurance company authorized to do 

business in Virginia;  

3. For each nonresident applicant for a training school, on a 

form provided by the department, a completed irrevocable 

consent for the department to serve as service agent for all 

actions filed in any court in this Commonwealth;  

4. For each applicant for certification as a private security 

services training school except sole proprietor and 

partnership, on a certification application provided by the 

department, the identification number issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission for verification 

that the entity is authorized to conduct business in the 

Commonwealth;  

5. A physical location in Virginia where records required 

to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this chapter 

are kept and available for inspection by the department. A 

post office box is not a physical location;  

6. On the training school certification application, 

designation of at least one individual as training director 

who is not designated as training director for any other 

training school, and who is certified as an instructor 

pursuant to this chapter. A maximum of four individuals 

may be designated as an assistant training school director;  

7. A copy of the curriculum in course outline format for 

each category of training to be offered, including the hours 

of instruction with initial and in-service courses on 

separate documents;  

8. A copy of the training school regulations;  

9. A copy of the range regulations to include the assigned 

DCJS range identification number if firearms training will 

be offered;  

10. On the certification application, selection of the 

category of training the applicant is seeking to provide. 

The initial training school certification application fee 

includes one category. A separate fee will be charged for 

each additional category of training. The separate 

categories are identified as follows: (i) security 

officers/couriers/alarm respondents (armed and unarmed) 

to include arrest authority, (ii) private investigators, (iii) 

locksmiths and electronic security personnel to include 

central station dispatchers, (iv) armored car personnel, (v) 

personal protection specialists, (vi) detector canine 

handlers and security canine handlers, (vii) special 

conservators of the peace pursuant to § 9.1-150.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, (viii) bail bondsmen pursuant to § 9.1-

185 of the Code of Virginia and bail enforcement agents 

pursuant to § 9.1-186 of the Code of Virginia, and (ix) 

firearms; 

11. The applicable, nonrefundable category fee; and  

12. The applicable, nonrefundable training school 

certification application fee. 

C. When the department has received and processed a 

completed application and accompanying material, the 

department may inspect the training facilities, including an 

inspection of the firearms range, if applicable, to ensure 
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conformity with the minimum requirements set forth in 

6VAC20-174 and this chapter.  

D. Upon completion of the initial training school application 

requirements, the department may issue an initial certification 

for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

E. The department may issue a letter of temporary 

certification to training schools for not more than 120 days 

while awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint 

search conducted on the principals and training director of the 

business, provided that the applicant has met the necessary 

conditions and requirements.  

F. A new certification is required whenever there is any 

change in the ownership or type of organization of the 

certified entity that results in the creation of a new legal 

entity. Such changes include but are not limited to: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Formation or dissolution of a corporation, a limited 

liability company, or an association or any other business 

entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

G. Each certification shall be issued to the legal entity 

named on the application, whether it is a sole proprietorship, 

partnership, corporation, or other legal entity, and shall be 

valid only for the legal entity named on the certification. No 

certification shall be assigned or otherwise transferred to 

another legal entity.  

H. Each certified training school shall comply with all 

applicable administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 

applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-173-50. Renewal training school application. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 

by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address or email address provided by the 

certified training school. However, if a renewal notification is 

not received by the training school, it is the responsibility of 

the training school to ensure renewal requirements are filed 

with the department. Certification renewal applications 

received by the department after the expiration date shall be 

subject to all applicable, nonrefundable renewal fees plus 

reinstatement fees. Outstanding fees or monetary penalties 

owed to DCJS must be paid prior to issuance of said renewal.  

B. Upon completion of the renewal training school 

application requirements, the department may issue a renewal 

certification for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

C. The department may renew a certification when the 

following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application;  

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured 

and maintained a surety bond in the amount of $100,000 

executed by a surety company authorized to do business in 

Virginia, or a certificate of insurance reflecting the 

department as a certificate holder, showing a policy of 

comprehensive general liability insurance with a minimum 

coverage of $100,000 per individual occurrence and 

$300,000 general aggregate issued by an insurance 

company authorized to do business in Virginia;  

3. On the application, designation of at least one certified 

instructor as training director who has satisfactorily 

completed all applicable training requirements;  

4. Fingerprints for each new and additional principal 

pursuant to § 9.1-139 H of the Code of Virginia; 

5. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee 

and category fees; and  

6. Any documentation required for any new categories of 

training. 

D. Each training school applying for a certification renewal 

shall be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 

registered, or certified in private security services or related 

field. This subsection shall not apply to any probationary 

periods during which the individual is eligible to operate 

under the license, registration, or certification.  

E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 

of a certification shall be subject to the requirements set forth 

by the reinstatement provisions of this chapter. 

6VAC20-173-60. General requirements. 

All private security services certified training schools are 

required to maintain administrative requirements and 

standards of conduct as determined by the Code of Virginia, 

department guidelines, and this chapter.  

6VAC20-173-70. Training school administrative 

requirements. 

A training school shall:  

1. Maintain at all times with the department its physical 

address and email address if applicable. A post office box 

is not a physical address. Notification of any change shall 

be in writing and received by the department no later than 

10 days after the effective date of the change.  

2. Employ at all times one individual designated as training 

director who is currently certified as an instructor pursuant 

to this chapter and who is not currently designated as 

training director for another training school. A training 

school may designate a maximum of four individuals as 

assistant training school directors.  

3. Upon termination of the services of a certified instructor, 

notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days. 

Should the instructor also be designated as the training 

director for the training school, this notification shall 

include the name of the instructor responsible for the 

training school's adherence to applicable administrative 
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requirements and standards of conduct during the period of 

training director replacement.  

4. Within 90 days of termination of employment of the sole 

remaining training director, submit the name of a new 

instructor eligible for designation pursuant to this chapter 

and who is not currently designated for another training 

school. Individuals not currently eligible may pursue 

certification pursuant to this chapter. Such notification 

shall be in writing and signed by a principal of the training 

school and the designated training director.  

5. Notify the department in writing of any certified 

instructors or subject matter specialists eligible to provide 

instruction at the training school. The notification shall be 

received by the department prior to the individual 

conducting any training for the training school and signed 

by the training school director and the designated instructor 

or subject matter specialist.  

6. Prominently display at all times, in a conspicuous place 

where the public has access, the training school 

certification issued by the department.  

7. Maintain at all times current liability coverage at least in 

the minimum amounts prescribed by the application 

requirements of this chapter. Each day of uninsured 

activity would be construed as an individual violation of 

this requirement. 

8. Inform the department in writing within 10 days of any 

principal, partner, officer, instructor, or employee regulated 

or required to be regulated by this chapter pleading guilty 

or nolo contendere or being convicted or found guilty of 

any felony or of a misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K 

of the Code of Virginia. 

9. Inform the department in writing within 10 days of any 

principal, partner, officer, instructor, or employee regulated 

or required to be regulated by this chapter having been 

found guilty by any court or administrative body of 

competent jurisdiction to have violated the private security 

services business statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction.  

10. Report in writing to the department any change in its 

ownership or principals that does not result in the creation 

of a new legal entity. Such written report shall be received 

by the department within 10 days after the occurrence of 

such change to include fingerprint cards submitted 

pursuant to this chapter.  

11. Maintain at all times with the department its current 

operating name and fictitious names. Any name change 

reports shall be submitted in writing within 10 days after 

the occurrence of such change and accompanied by 

certified true copies of the documents that establish the 

name change.  

12. Report in writing to the department any change in the 

entity of the training school that results in continued 

operation requiring a certification. Such written report shall 

be received by the department within 10 days after the 

occurrence of such change.  

13. Maintain written authorization from the department for 

any subject matter specialists being used to provide 

instruction.  

14. Develop lesson plans for each training curriculum and 

subject being offered in accordance with the topical 

outlines submitted to the department to include hours of 

instruction as set forth in 6VAC20-174.  

15. Maintain comprehensive and current lesson plans for 

each entry level training curriculum and subject being 

offered.  

16. Maintain comprehensive and current lesson plans for 

each in-service training curriculum and subject being 

offered.  

17. Maintain comprehensive and current lesson plans for 

each firearms training curriculum and subject being 

offered.  

18. Date all lesson plans and handout material, including 

the initial date of development and subsequent revisions.  

19. Ensure that current copies of the following 

requirements are provided to and maintained with the 

department, including:  

a. A list of all training locations used by the training 

school, excluding hotel or motel facilities;  

b. A list of all firing range names and locations;  

c. A list of all subject matter specialists currently 

employed or otherwise utilized; and  

d. Copies of current topical outlines for all lesson plans 

and curriculums. The lesson plans and subsequent course 

outlines shall include (i) specific reference to the course 

content involving the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-174, 

and this chapter and (ii) the hours of instruction.  

20. Ensure that range qualification for all firearms training 

is completed pursuant to the requirements set forth in 

6VAC20-174 except with written authorization from the 

department.  

21. On a form provided by the department and within 10 

calendar days of an incident, submit a report of any 

incident in which any instructor, student, or employee has 

discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training 

exercise.  

22. Not act as or be a certified training school for 

undisclosed persons who directly or indirectly control the 

operation of the training school.  

23. Inform the department and compliance agent of the 

employing business if applicable, in a format prescribed by 

the department, within seven days of any person regulated 

by the board who fails to requalify with a minimum 

passing score on the range. 
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6VAC20-173-80. Training school standards of conduct. 

A training school shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Ensure that the owners, principals, training directors, 

and all instructors employed by the training school 

conform to all applicable application requirements, 

administrative requirements, and standards of conduct 

pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

3. Utilize only certified instructors or other individuals 

eligible to provide instruction pursuant to this chapter in 

the conduct of private security training sessions.  

4. Maintain current files that include copies or electronic 

images of attendance records, a master final examination, 

pass/fail recording of examination and firearms 

qualification scores, training completion rosters, and 

training completion forms for each student for three years 

from the date of the training session in which the 

individual student was enrolled.  

5. Permit the department during regular business hours to 

inspect, review, or copy those documents, electronic 

images, business records, or training records that are 

required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

6. Permit the department to inspect and observe any 

training session. Certified training schools that conduct 

training sessions not located within Virginia may be 

required to pay the expenses of inspection and review.  

7. Include the training school certification number issued 

by the department on all business advertising materials 

pursuant to the Code of Virginia.  

8. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-172, 6VAC20-

174, or this chapter.  

9. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license, registration, or certification being 

suspended, revoked, or not renewed or the licensee, 

registrant, or certificate holder otherwise being disciplined 

in any jurisdiction.  

10. Ensure that the owners, principals, training directors, 

and all instructors employed by the training school have 

not been convicted or found guilty in any jurisdiction of 

the United States of any felony or a misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude, assault and battery, damage to 

real or personal property, controlled substances or 

imitation controlled substances as defined in Article 1 

(§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code 

of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as described in 

Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose 

of this chapter. The record of conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

11. Not obtain or aid and abet others to obtain a license, 

license renewal, registration, registration renewal, 

certification, or certification renewal through any fraud or 

misrepresentation.  

12. Conduct entry-level and in-service training sessions 

separately. In-service subjects and curriculums may not be 

incorporated or included as a part of the entry-level 

subjects and curriculums unless otherwise authorized by 

the department.  

13. Not conduct a private security services training school 

in such a manner as to endanger the public health, safety, 

and welfare.  

14. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training 

records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration, 

certification, or certification as a compliance agent, 

training school, school director, or instructor.  

15. Not represent as one's own a certification issued to 

another private security services training school.  

16. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 

loss, injury, or death to any person.  

17. Not use or display the state seal of Virginia, or any 

portion thereof, as a part of any logo, stationery, business 

card, badge, patch, insignia, or other form of identification 

or advertisement.  

18. Not use or display the seal of the Department of 

Criminal Justice Services, or any portion thereof, or the 

seal of any political subdivision of the Commonwealth, or 

any portion thereof, as a part of the training school's logo, 

stationery, letter, training document, business card, badge, 

patch, insignia, or other form of identification or 

advertisement.  

19. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

20. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

21. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

22. Not violate any state or local ordinances related to 

private security services.  

23. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided.  

24. Not publish or cause to be published any material 

relating to private security services that contains an 

assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false, 

deceptive, or misleading.  

25. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 
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26. Not act as or be an ostensible certified training school 

for undisclosed persons who do or will control directly or 

indirectly the operations of the training school. 

27. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on any email, 

application, or other document filed with the department. 

Part V 

Instructor Application Procedures; Administrative 

Requirements; Standards of Conduct 

6VAC20-173-90. Initial instructor application. 

A. Each person applying for certification as an instructor 

shall meet the following minimum requirements for 

eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED);  

3. Have either (i) successfully completed a DCJS instructor 

development course within the three years immediately 

preceding the date of the application or submitted a waiver 

application for an instructor development course that meets 

or exceeds standards established by the department or (ii) 

successfully completed an approved DCJS instructor 

development program longer than three years prior to the 

date of application and provided documented instruction 

during the three years immediately preceding or provided 

documented instruction in a related field at an institution of 

higher learning;  

4. Have a minimum of (i) three years management or 

supervisory experience with a private security services 

business; with any federal, military police, state, county, or 

municipal law-enforcement agency; or in a related field; 

(ii) five years general experience in a private security 

services business; with a federal, state or local law-

enforcement agency; or in a related field; or (iii) one year 

experience as an instructor or teacher at an accredited 

educational institution or agency in the subject matter for 

which certification is requested or in a related field;  

5. Have previous training and a minimum of two years 

work experience for those subjects in which certification is 

requested; and 

6. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 

United States.  

B. Each person applying for certification as an instructor 

shall file with the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. Fingerprint card pursuant to this chapter;  

3. Official documentation verifying that the applicant 

meets the minimum eligibility requirements pursuant to 

this section;  

4. On the certification application, selection of the category 

of training the applicant is seeking to provide. The initial 

instructor certification fee includes one category. A 

separate fee will be charged for each additional category of 

training. The separate categories are identified as follows: 

(i) security officers/couriers/alarm respondent (armed and 

unarmed) to include arrest authority, (ii) private 

investigators, (iii) locksmiths and electronic security 

personnel to include central station dispatchers, (iv) 

armored car personnel, (v) personal protection specialists, 

(vi) detector canine handlers and security canine handlers, 

(vii) special conservators of the peace pursuant to § 9.1-

150.1 of the Code of Virginia, (viii) bail bondsmen 

pursuant to § 9.1-185 of the Code of Virginia and bail 

enforcement agents pursuant to § 9.1-186 of the Code of 

Virginia, and (ix) firearms; 

5. The nonrefundable instructor certification application 

fee and category fee or fees if applicable; and 

6. Evidence of status as a United States citizen or legal 

resident alien of the United States.  

C. In addition to the instructor qualification requirements 

described in subsections A and B of this section, each 

applicant for certification as a firearms instructor shall submit 

to the department:  

1. Official documentation that the applicant has 

successfully completed a DCJS firearms instructor school 

or a waiver application with supporting documentation 

demonstrating completion of a firearms instructor school 

specifically designed for law-enforcement or private 

security personnel that meets or exceeds standards 

established by the department within the three years 

immediately preceding the date of the instructor 

application.  

2. Official documentation, in the form of a signed, dated 

range sheet with the qualification score and course of fire 

as prescribed in the firearms training requirements in 

6VAC20-174, that the applicant has successfully qualified, 

with a minimum range qualification of 85%, with each of 

the following:  

a. A revolver;  

b. A semi-automatic handgun; and 

c. A shotgun. 

Firearms instructors applying to provide patrol rifle training 

must submit official documentation in the form of a signed, 

dated range sheet that the applicant has successfully qualified, 

with a minimum range qualification of 85%, with a patrol 

rifle. 

Range qualifications must have been completed within the 

12 months immediately preceding the instructor application 

date and have been completed at a Virginia criminal justice 

agency, training academy, correctional facility, or a 

department approved range utilized by a certified private 

security training school. The qualifications must be 

documented by another instructor certified as a law-

enforcement firearms instructor or private security services 

firearms instructor. 
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The firearms instructor training must have been completed 

within the three years immediately preceding the date of the 

instructor application, or in the event that the school 

completion occurred prior to three years, the applicant shall 

have provided firearms instruction during the three years 

immediately preceding the date of the instructor application.  

D. Upon completion of the initial instructor application 

requirements, the department may issue an initial certification 

for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

E. The department may issue a letter of temporary 

certification to instructors for not more than 120 days while 

awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint search 

provided the applicant has met the necessary conditions and 

requirements.  

F. Each certification shall be issued to the individual named 

on the application and shall be valid only for use by that 

individual. No certification shall be assigned or otherwise 

transferred to another individual.  

G. Each instructor shall comply with all applicable 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 

shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-173-100. Renewal instructor application. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 

by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address or email address provided by the 

certified instructor. However, if a renewal notification is not 

received by the instructor, it is the responsibility of the 

instructor to ensure renewal requirements are filed with the 

department. Certification renewal applications received by the 

department after the expiration date shall be subject to all 

applicable, nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement 

fees.  

B. Each person applying for instructor certification renewal 

shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as 

follows:  

1. Successfully complete a minimum of four hours of 

continuing education in instructor development. Training 

must be completed within the 12 months immediately 

preceding the expiration date of the current certification; 

and  

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 

registered, or certified in a private security services or 

related field. This subdivision shall not apply to any 

probationary periods during which the individual is eligible 

to operate under the license, registration, or certification.  

C. The department may renew a certification for a period not 

to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may renew a certification when the 

following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 

the department;  

2. The nonrefundable certification renewal fee and 

applicable category fees; 

3. Any documentation required for any new categories of 

training;  

4. Verification of satisfactory completion of instructor 

development continuing education requirements; and  

5. For firearms instructors, official documentation in the 

form of a signed, dated range sheet along with the 

qualification score and course of fire as prescribed in the 

firearms training qualifications in 6VAC20-174, with a 

minimum range qualification of 85%, with each of the 

following: 

a. A revolver; 

b. A semi-automatic handgun; and 

c. A shotgun. 

Firearms instructors applying to provide patrol rifle training 

must submit official documentation in the form of a signed, 

dated range sheet that the applicant has successfully qualified, 

with a minimum range qualification of 85%, with a patrol 

rifle. 

Range qualifications must have been completed within the 

12 months immediately preceding the instructor application 

date and have been completed at a Virginia criminal justice 

agency, training academy, correctional facility, or a 

department approved range utilized by a certified private 

security training school. The qualifications must be 

documented by another instructor certified as a law-

enforcement firearms instructor or private security services 

firearms instructor. 

E. Any instructor renewal application received by the 

department shall meet all renewal requirements prior to the 

expiration date of a certification or shall be subject to the 

requirements set forth by the reinstatement provisions 

pursuant to this chapter.  

6VAC20-173-110. Instructor administrative requirements 

and standards of conduct. 

All private security services certified personnel are required 

to maintain administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct as determined by the Code of Virginia, department 

guidelines, and this chapter. An instructor shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing 

address and email address if applicable. Notification of any 

address change shall be in writing and received by the 

department no later than 10 days after the effective date of 

the change.  

3. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 
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battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

4. Inform the department, and the training school for which 

the individual is designated as an instructor if applicable, in 

writing within 10 days after pleading guilty or nolo 

contendere or being convicted or found guilty of any 

felony or of a misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of 

the Code of Virginia.  

5. Inform the department, and the training school for which 

the individual is designated as instructor if applicable, in 

writing within 10 days after having been found guilty by 

any court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction 

to have violated the private security services business 

statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction.  

6. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-172, 6VAC20-

174, or this chapter.  

7. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license, registration, or certification as defined in 

the § 9.1-138 of the Code of Virginia being suspended, 

revoked, or not renewed or the licensee, registrant, or 

certificate holder otherwise being disciplined in any 

jurisdiction.  

8. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 

registration renewal, certification, or certification renewal 

through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

9. Conduct training sessions pursuant to requirements 

established in this chapter.  

10. Notify the department within 10 calendar days 

following termination of his employment as instructor for 

the training school.  

11. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

12. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

13. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

14. Not violate any state or local ordinances relating to 

private security services.  

15. Maintain documentation of successful completion of a 

minimum of two hours of professional development for 

topics related to each category of instructor certification as 

established in this chapter during each certification period 

or successful completion of compulsory in-service training 

by another private security services certified instructor if 

also registered in the same categories. 

16. Not publish or cause to be published any material 

relating to private security services that contain an 

assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false, 

deceptive, or misleading. 

17. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

18. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on any email, 

application, or other document filed with the department. 

19. Transport, carry, and utilize firearms while on duty 

only in a manner that does not endanger the public health, 

safety, and welfare. 

20. Report in writing to the training school director within 

24 hours of any person regulated by the board who fails to 

requalify with a minimum passing score on the range. 

21. Provide any person who fails to requalify with a 

minimum passing score on the range with a failure to 

requalify notice provided by the department. 

6VAC20-173-120. Designated training school director 

administrative requirements and standards. 

All private security services certified personnel are required 

to maintain administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct as determined by the Code of Virginia, department 

guidelines, and this chapter. A training school director shall:  

1. Ensure that the certified training school and all 

employees regulated or required to be regulated by this 

chapter conform to all application requirements, 

administrative requirements, and standards of conduct 

pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Conform to all application requirements, administrative 

requirements, and standards of conduct as a certified 

instructor pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

3. Maintain documentation for all employees or persons 

otherwise utilized that verifies compliance with 

requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

4. Notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days 

following termination of his employment as training 

director for the certified training school.  

5. Use access to the department's database information 

only for the purpose of verifying employed instructors' or 

students' application status. 

6. Not allow another to use access granted to the 

department's database for any purpose. 

7. Inform the department and compliance agent of the 

employing business if applicable, in a format prescribed by 
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the department within seven days of any person regulated 

by the board, who fails to requalify with a minimum 

passing score on the range. 

Part VI 

Detector Canine Handler Examiner Application Procedures; 

Administrative Requirements; Standards of Conduct 

6VAC20-173-130. Initial detector canine handler 

examiner certification application. 

A. Each person applying for certification as a detector 

canine handler examiner shall meet the following minimum 

requirements for eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED);  

3. Have a minimum of five years experience as a detector 

canine handler and a minimum of two years experience as 

a detector canine trainer within the previous 10 years prior 

to application with the department; 

4. Have an active certification as a detector canine handler 

examiner or equivalent credential from a department-

approved national organization, a unit of the United States 

military, or another formal entity; and 

5. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 

United States.  

B. Each person applying for certification as a detector 

canine handler examiner shall file with the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. Fingerprint card pursuant this chapter;  

3. Official documentation according to subdivisions A 3 

and A 4 of this section; and 

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

C. Upon completion of the initial detector canine handler 

examiner application requirements, the department may issue 

an initial certification for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may issue a letter of temporary 

certification to detector canine handler examiners for not 

more than 120 days while awaiting the results of the state and 

national fingerprint search provided the applicant has met the 

necessary conditions and requirements.  

E. Each certification shall be issued to the individual named 

on the application and shall be valid only for use by that 

individual. No certification shall be assigned or otherwise 

transferred to another individual.  

F. Each detector canine handler examiner shall comply with 

all applicable administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 

applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-173-140. Renewal detector canine handler 

examiner certification application. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 

by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address of the certified examiner. However, if 

a renewal notification is not received by the examiner, it is 

the responsibility of the examiner to ensure renewal 

requirements are filed with the department. Certification 

renewal applications received by the department after the 

expiration date shall be subject to all applicable, 

nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees.  

B. Each person applying for examiner certification renewal 

shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as 

follows:  

1. Have maintained certification as a detector canine 

handler examiner or equivalent credential according to the 

minimum eligibility requirements set forth in this chapter 

and demonstrate the completion of a minimum of 16 hours 

of continuing education during the previous certification 

period; and 

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 

registered, or certified in private security services or a 

related field. This subdivision shall not apply to any 

probationary periods during which the individual is eligible 

to operate under the license, registration, or certification.  

C. The department may renew a certification for a period not 

to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may renew a certification when the 

following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 

the department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee; 

and 

3. Official documentation according to subsection B of this 

section. 

E. Any examiner renewal application received by the 

department shall meet all renewal requirements prior to the 

expiration date of a certification or shall be subject to the 

requirements set forth by the reinstatement provisions of this 

chapter. 

6VAC20-173-150. Detector canine handler examiners 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct. 

A. All private security services certified personnel are 

required to maintain administrative requirements and 

standards of conduct as determined by the Code of Virginia, 

department guidelines, and this chapter.  

B. Administrative requirements. An examiner shall:  

1. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing 

address and email address if applicable. Notification of any 

address change shall be in writing and received by the 

department no later than 10 days after the effective date of 

the change.  

2. Inform the department, and the business or training 

school for which the individual is employed if applicable, 

in writing within 10 days after pleading guilty or nolo 
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contendere, and after being convicted or found guilty of 

any felony or of a misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K 

of the Code of Virginia.  

3. Inform the department and the licensed business or 

training school for which the individual is employed or 

utilized in writing within 10 days after having been found 

guilty by any court or administrative body of competent 

jurisdiction to have violated the private security services 

business statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction . 

4. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided. 

5. Notify the department within 10 calendar days following 

termination of his employment as an examiner for a 

business or training school.  

6. Conduct examinations in accordance with the standards 

of the Department of Defense Military Working Dog 

Program, Scientific Working Group on Dog and 

Orthogonal Detector Guidelines, or other nationally 

recognized organization approved by the department.  

7. Notify the department within 10 calendar days following 

termination of any certification as a detector canine handler 

examiner or equivalent with any national organization, a 

unit of the United States military, or another formal entity 

involved with certifying, training, or setting standards for 

detection canines.  

8. Notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days 

of determining that a detector canine handler or detector 

canine fails to successfully complete the certification 

examination as prescribed in 6VAC20-174. 

9. Maintain documentation and a photograph of the 

examined detector canine team for three years for all 

examinations conducted that verifies compliance with 

requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-

174, and this chapter. 

10. Utilize only department-approved certification 

examinations for the testing and certification of detector 

canine teams.  

C. Standards of conduct. An examiner shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms,. Any plea 

of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

3. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-172, 6VAC20-

174, or this chapter.  

4. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license, registration, or certification being 

suspended, revoked, or not renewed or the licensee, 

registrant or certificate holder otherwise being disciplined 

in any jurisdiction.  

5. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 

registration renewal, certification, or certification renewal 

through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

6. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

7. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

8. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

9. Not violate any state or local ordinances relating to 

private security services.  

10. Not publish or cause to be published any material 

relating to private security services that contain an 

assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false, 

deceptive, or misleading. 

11. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

12. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on any email, 

application, or other document filed with the department.  

6VAC20-173-160. Instructor alternatives. 

A. Subject matter specialist.  

1. Training schools may employ or otherwise utilize 

individuals as subject matter specialists to provide 

instruction in specific areas of a training curriculum. 

During the approved portions of training, a certified 

instructor is not required to be present.  

2. The training school shall obtain written authorization 

from the department prior to any subject matter specialist 

providing instruction. Written authorization may be 

requested by submitting on a form provided by the 

department:  

a. A written request for authorization specifically 

outlining the requested subject matter; and  

b. Documentation that supports the individual's 

credentials for instructing in the proposed subject matter.  

3. The department may issue a written authorization for a 

period not to exceed 24 months. 
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B. Guest lecturer. Training schools may employ or 

otherwise utilize individuals as guest lecturers in specific 

areas of a training curriculum. A certified instructor is 

required to be present during all portions of training 

conducted by a guest lecturer.  

6VAC20-173-170. Private security services training 

session. 

A. Training sessions will be conducted in accordance with 

requirements established in this chapter. Adherence to the 

administrative requirements, attendance, and standards of 

conduct are the responsibility of the training school, training 

school director, and instructor of the training session.  

B. Administrative requirements.  

1. In a manner approved by the department, a notification 

to conduct a training session shall be submitted to the 

department. All notifications shall be received by the 

department, or postmarked if mailed, no less than seven 

calendar days prior to the beginning of each training 

session to include the date, time, instructors, and location 

of the training session. The department may allow a 

session to be conducted with less than seven calendar days 

of notification with prior approval. Session notifications 

require no fee from the training school. A notification to 

conduct a training session shall be deemed to be in 

compliance unless the training school director is notified 

by the department to the contrary. 

2. Notification of any changes to the date, time, or location 

or cancellation of a future training session must be 

submitted to the department in writing and received by the 

department at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled 

starting time of the class. In the event that a session must 

be canceled on the scheduled date, the department must be 

notified immediately followed by a cancellation in writing 

as soon as practical. 

3. Course outline and training objectives must be approved 

by the department prior to offering a course of instruction 

for enrollment. 

4. The training school director shall issue an original 

training completion form provided by the department to 

each student who satisfactorily completes a training 

session no later than five business days following the 

training completion date.  

5. In a manner approved by the department, the training 

school director shall submit an original training completion 

roster to the department affirming each student's successful 

completion of the session. The training completion roster 

shall be received by the department within seven calendar 

days or, if mailed, postmarked no later than five business 

days following the training completion date and must be 

accompanied by the applicable, nonrefundable processing 

fee. 

6. A written examination shall be administered at the 

conclusion of each entry-level training session. The 

examination shall be based on the applicable learning 

objectives. The student must attain a minimum grade of 

70% for all entry-level training examinations and pass any 

applicable practical exercises to satisfactorily complete the 

training session.  

7. Firearms classroom training shall be separately tested 

and graded. Individuals must achieve a minimum score of 

70% on the firearms classroom training examination.  

8. Failure to achieve a minimum score of 70% on the 

firearms classroom written examination will exclude the 

individual from the firearms range training.  

9. To successfully complete the handgun or shotgun 

firearms range training, the individual must achieve a 

minimum qualification score of 75% of the scoring value 

of the target.  

10. To successfully complete the advanced firearms range 

training, the individual must achieve a minimum 

qualification score of 92% of the scoring value of the 

target. 

11. To successfully complete the patrol rifle firearms range 

training, the individual must achieve a minimum 

qualification score of 85% of the scoring value of the 

target. 

C. Attendance.  

1. Private security services business personnel enrolled in 

an approved training session are required to be present for 

the hours required for each training session unless they 

have been granted a partial exemption to training from the 

department.  

2. Tardiness and absenteeism will not be permitted. 

Individuals violating these provisions will be required to 

make up any training missed. All training must be 

completed within the 12 months prior to application of a 

registration or certification. Individuals not completing the 

required training within this period are required to 

complete the entire training session.  

3. Individuals who do not successfully complete the 

compulsory minimum training standards of the training 

session shall not be issued a training completion form or 

training certificate.  

4. Each individual attending an approved training session 

shall comply with the regulations promulgated by the 

board and any other rules within the authority of the 

training school. If the training school director or instructor 

considers a violation of the rules detrimental to the training 

of other students or to involve cheating on examinations, 

the training school director or instructor may expel the 

individual from the school. Notification of such action 

shall immediately be reported to the employing firms and 

the department.  
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D. Standards of conduct.  

1. The training school, training school director, and 

instructor shall at all times conform to the application 

requirements, administrative requirements, and standards 

of conduct established for certification as a training school 

and instructor.  

2. Training sessions will be conducted by certified 

instructors or other individuals authorized to provide 

instruction pursuant to this chapter and each of whom must 

be present for all periods of instruction unless otherwise 

authorized by the department.  

3. Training sessions will be conducted utilizing lesson 

plans developed including at a minimum the compulsory 

minimum training standards established by the board as 

prescribed in 6VAC20-174.  

4. Instruction shall be provided in no less than 50-minute 

classes.  

5. Training sessions shall not exceed nine hours of 

classroom instruction per day. Range qualification and 

practical exercises shall not be considered classroom 

instruction; however, total training, including the 

maximum allotment of nine hours classroom instruction 

and applicable range qualification and practical exercises, 

shall not exceed 12 hours per day. This does not include 

time allotted for breaks, meals, and testing.  

6. All audiovisual training aids must be accompanied by a 

period of instruction where the instructor reviews the 

content of the presentation and the students are provided 

the opportunity to ask questions regarding the content.  

7. A training session must adhere to the minimum 

compulsory training standards as set forth by the board and 

must be presented in its entirety. Training school directors 

may require additional hours of instruction, testing, or 

evaluation procedures.  

8. A training session must provide accurate and current 

information to the students.  

9. Mandated training that is not conducted in accordance 

with the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-174, and this chapter 

is null and void.  

10. A duplicate set of instructor course materials, including 

all student materials, shall be made available to any 

department inspector during the training session, if 

requested.  

11. Certifiable in-service training may include a maximum 

of one hour of instruction dedicated to the review of 

regulations unless otherwise authorized by the department. 

12. Live ammunition, pyrotechnics, and explosives are not 

to be utilized or present in any firearms training 

environment except on a firing range approved by the 

department. 

6VAC20-173-180. Online in-service training programs. 

Online training programs may only be offered for 

compulsory minimum in-service training requirements. 

Online training programs shall meet the following 

requirements: 

1. All online schools shall maintain a private security 

services training school certification in good standing and 

meet all of the administrative requirements and standards 

of conduct specified in this chapter. 

2. All online training courses must meet the minimum 

compulsory in-service training standards as prescribed in 

6VAC20-174 to include topic and hour requirements. 

3. All online training courses must provide that a private 

security services instructor certified in the category of 

training in which the course is being offered is available to 

the students during normal business hours.  

4. All online training material to include complete course 

content, performance objectives, and other applicable 

instructional material of mandated compulsory training 

requirements must be approved by the department prior to 

offering a course of instruction for enrollment. 

5. Certifiable in-service training may include a maximum 

of one hour of instruction dedicated to the review of 

regulations unless otherwise authorized by the department. 

6. All online training course content, lesson plans, course 

objectives, and other applicable instructional material must 

be updated every two years to ensure curriculum is current. 

7. All online training must be delivered through a learning 

management system capable of managing training records, 

delivering course content, monitoring participation, 

assessing performance, and creating and editing course 

content. 

8. Students enrolled in an online training program shall 

successfully complete all course material within 30 days of 

the first log-on to the training school learning management 

system or prior to the registration or certification expiration 

date or final reinstatement date. 

9. All online training must include assessment instruments 

that evaluate student performance. 

10. Training schools offering online courses that accept 

credit card payments shall subscribe to an e-commerce 

solution service to protect the security and integrity of the 

monetary transaction. 

11. The learning management system used by a certified 

training school shall allow the department auditing access 

to the training system. Such auditing access shall be 

available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

12. The learning management system shall be capable of 

generating a unique electronic notification of training 

completion for each student completing the course 

requirements and each course of instruction on a 24-hour a 

day basis. 
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13. The training completion form shall include the 

following: 

a. The name, a unique identification number, and address 

of the individual; 

b. The name of the particular course that the individual 

completed; 

c. Dates of course completion; 

d. Name, address, telephone number, and license number 

of the training school; and 

e. Name and DCJS identification number of the school 

director and primary instructor. 

14. The learning management system shall be capable of 

generating a training certificate for each student and each 

course of instruction that can be printed by the student's 

computer and printer. This training certificate shall only be 

made available to the student upon successful completion 

of all course material. 

15. The learning management system shall be capable of 

capturing and archiving student information for a period of 

not less than three years. 

16. Training schools offering online training courses will 

designate one individual as the network administrator for 

that school's network server. The network administrator 

will be the technical contact between the department and 

the training school. Upon termination of the services of the 

designated network administrator, a new administrator 

shall be designated and notification made to the department 

within 10 days after effective date of the change.  

Part VIII 

Additional Category and Replacement Certification 

6VAC20-173-190. Additional category application. 

A. Individuals may apply for multiple certification 

categories during the initial application process by completing 

the applicable requirements for each category.  

B. Certified individuals seeking to add categories to a 

current certification must:  

1. Successfully complete all initial requirements for each 

additional certification category requested pursuant to this 

chapter;  

2. Submit a properly completed application provided by 

the department; and  

3. Submit the applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

6VAC20-173-200. Replacement certification. 

Certified individuals seeking a replacement state-issued 

certification card shall submit to the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

Part IX 

Reinstatement and Renewal Extension 

6VAC20-173-210. Reinstatement. 

A. Any training school, instructor, or detector canine 

handler examiner certification not renewed on or before the 

expiration date shall become null and void. Pursuant to the 

Code of Virginia, all such persons must currently be certified 

with the department to provide private security services.  

B. A renewal application must be received by the 

department within 60 days following the expiration date of 

the certification in order to be reinstated by the department 

providing all renewal requirements have been met. Prior to 

reinstatement the following shall be submitted to the 

department:  

1. The appropriate renewal application and completion of 

renewal requirements including required training pursuant 

to this chapter; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable reinstatement fee 

pursuant to this chapter.  

The department shall not reinstate renewal applications 

received after the 60-day reinstatement period has expired. It 

is unlawful to operate without a valid certification including 

during the reinstatement period.  

C. No certification shall be renewed or reinstated when all 

renewal application requirements are received by the 

department more than 60 days following the expiration date 

of the license. After that date, the applicant shall meet all 

initial application requirements, including applicable training 

requirements.  

D. Following submittal of all reinstatement requirements, 

the department will process and may approve any application 

for reinstatement pursuant to the renewal process for the 

application.  

E. When a certification is reinstated, the applicant shall 

continue to have the same DCJS number and shall be 

assigned an expiration date two years from the previous 

expiration date of the certification. 

F. An applicant who reinstates shall be regarded as having 

been continuously certified without interruption. Therefore, 

the applicant shall remain under the disciplinary authority of 

the department during this entire period and may be held 

accountable for his activities during this period. 

G. A person who fails to reinstate his certification shall be 

regarded as uncertified from the expiration date of the 

certification forward. 

H. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the department of its 

authority to discipline a person for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the person 

was certified. 

6VAC20-173-220. Renewal extension. 

A. An extension of the time period to meet renewal 

requirements may be approved only under specific 
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circumstances that do not allow private security personnel or 

training schools to complete the required procedures within 

the prescribed time period. The following are the only 

circumstances for which extensions may be granted:  

1. Extended illness;  

2. Extended injury;  

3. Military or foreign service; or  

4. Any emergency temporary assignment of private 

security personnel for purposes of natural disaster, 

homeland security, or documented threat by the private 

security services training school for which he is employed.  

B. A request for extension shall:  

1. Be submitted in writing, dated, and signed by the 

individual or principal of a certified entity prior to the 

expiration date of the time limit required for completion of 

the requirements. This requirement may be waived by the 

department based on an evaluation of the justification for 

waiver; 

2. Indicate the projected date the person or training school 

will be able to comply with the requirements; and  

3. Include a copy of the physician's record of the injury or 

illness, a copy of the government orders, or documentation 

of emergency temporary assignment.  

C. Applications for additional extensions may be approved 

upon written request of the person or training school.  

D. The total time for renewal extension, including additional 

extensions, shall not exceed 12 months beyond the original 

expiration date. If renewal requirements are not met during 

the period of extension, the individual must complete all 

initial training requirements to include applicable entry-level 

training. 

E. The private security services person or training school 

shall be nonoperational during the period of extension unless 

otherwise (i) issued a temporary exemption and (ii) 

authorized by the department pursuant to § 9.1-139 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Part X 

Sanctions; Exemptions; Recognition/Reciprocity 

6VAC20-173-230. Denial, probation, suspension, and 

revocation. 

A. The department may deny a certification in which any 

person or principal of an applying training school has been 

convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and battery, 

damage to real or personal property, controlled substances or 

imitation controlled substances as defined in Article 1 

(§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as described in Article 7 

(§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this chapter. The 

record of a conviction, authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted, shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such conviction.  

B. The department may deny a certification in which any 

person or principal of an applying training school (i) has not 

maintained good standing in every jurisdiction where 

licensed, registered, or certified in a private security services 

or related field; (ii) has had his license, registration, or 

certification denied upon initial application, suspended, 

revoked, surrendered, or not renewed; or (iii) has otherwise 

been disciplined in connection with a disciplinary action prior 

to applying for licensing, registration, or certification in 

Virginia.  

C. Any false or misleading statement on any state 

application or supporting documentation is grounds for denial 

or revocation and may be subject to criminal prosecution.  

D. The department may deny certification for other just 

cause.  

E. A training school, instructor, or detector canine handler 

examiner shall be subject to disciplinary action for violations 

or noncompliance with the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

Disciplinary action shall be in accordance with procedures 

prescribed by the Administrative Process Act. The 

disciplinary action may include but is not limited to a letter of 

censure, fine, probation, suspension, or revocation.  

F. If a certified person is subject to disciplinary action for 

violations or noncompliance with the Code of Virginia or this 

chapter, the department will notify the last known certified 

private security services training school by which they were 

employed or affiliated. 

6VAC20-173-240. Exemptions; recognition and 

reciprocity. 

A. The department may grant a temporary exemption from 

the requirements for certification for a period of not more 

than 30 days in a situation deemed an emergency by the 

department.  

B. The department may recognize administrative and 

application requirements for certification based on 

agreements that have been entered into with other states and 

approved by the board.  

Part XI 

Complaints; Department Actions and Sanctions; Adjudication 

6VAC20-173-250. Complaint submittal requirements. 

A. In accordance with § 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia, 

this chapter establishes standards designed to secure the 

public safety and welfare against incompetent or unqualified 

persons engaging in private security services. It shall be the 

responsibility of the licensee, its compliance agents, and its 

employees to provide private security services in a 

professional and ethical manner utilizing sound business 

practices.  
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B. Any aggrieved or interested person may file a complaint 

against any individual, person, firm or licensed firm, or 

school or certified school whose conduct and activities are 

regulated or required to be regulated by the board. The 

complaint must allege a violation of the law governing private 

security services or this chapter.  

C. Complaints may be submitted:  

1. In writing, or on a form provided by the department, by 

a signed complainant;  

2. In writing, submitted anonymously, and providing 

sufficient detailed information for the department to 

conduct an investigation; or  

3. By telephone, providing the complaint alleges activities 

that constitute a life-threatening situation or have resulted 

in personal injury or loss to the public or to a consumer or 

that may result in imminent harm or personal injury and 

that provide sufficient detailed information for the 

department to conduct an investigation.  

6VAC20-173-260. Department investigation. 

A. The department may initiate or conduct an investigation 

based on any information received or action taken by the 

department to determine compliance with the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

B. Documentation.  

1. Persons regulated or required to be regulated by this 

chapter pursuant to the Code of Virginia are required to 

provide department investigators with any and all records 

required to be maintained by this chapter.  

a. This shall not be construed to authorize the department 

to demand records protected under applicable federal and 

state laws. If such records are necessary to complete an 

investigation, the department may seek a subpoena to 

satisfy the request.  

b. The department shall endeavor to review, and request 

as necessary, only those records required to verify 

alleged violations of compliance with the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. The department shall endeavor to keep any 

documentation, evidence, or information on an 

investigation confidential until such time as adjudication 

has been completed, at which time information may be 

released upon request pursuant to applicable federal and 

state laws or regulations.  

6VAC20-173-270. Disciplinary action, sanctions, 

publication of records. 

A. Each person subject to jurisdiction of this chapter who 

violates any statute or regulation pertaining to private security 

services shall be subject to sanctions imposed by the 

department regardless of criminal prosecution.  

B. The department may impose any of the following 

sanctions, singly or in combination, when it finds the 

respondent in violation of or in noncompliance with the Code 

of Virginia or of this chapter:  

1. Letter of reprimand or censure;  

2. Probation for any period of time;  

3. Suspension of certification or approval granted for any 

period of time;  

4. Revocation;  

5. Refusal to issue, renew, or reinstate a certification or 

approval;  

6. Fine not to exceed $2,500 per violation as long as the 

respondent was not criminally prosecuted;  

7. Remedial training; or 

8. Conditional agreements. 

C. The department may conduct hearings and issue cease 

and desist orders to persons who engage in activities 

prohibited by this chapter but do not hold a valid certification. 

Any person in violation of a cease and desist order entered by 

the department shall be subject to all of the remedies provided 

by law and, in addition, shall be subject to a civil penalty 

payable to the party injured by the violation.  

D. The director may summarily suspend a certification 

under this chapter without a hearing, simultaneously with the 

filing of a formal complaint and notice for a hearing, if the 

director finds that the continued operations would constitute a 

life-threatening situation, has resulted in personal injury or 

loss to the public or to a consumer, or may result in imminent 

harm, personal injury, or loss.  

E. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of 

public record and shall be preserved. The department may 

publish a list of the names and addresses of all persons, firms, 

training schools, and school directors whose conduct and 

activities are subject to this chapter and have been sanctioned 

or denied certification or approval.  

6VAC20-173-280. Fines; administrative and investigative 

costs. 

A. The department may recover costs of any investigation 

and adjudication of any violations of the Code of Virginia or 

regulations that result in a sanction, including fine, probation, 

suspension, revocation, or denial of any certification. Such 

costs shall be in addition to any monetary penalty that may be 

imposed.  

B. All monetary penalties imposed as a sanction shall be 

deposited into the state treasury to the credit of the State 

Literary Fund.  

6VAC20-173-290. Hearing process. 

Following a preliminary investigative process, the 

department may initiate action to resolve the complaint 

through an informal fact-finding conference or formal hearing 

as established in this chapter. Pursuant to the authority 

conferred in § 9.1-141 C 6 of the Code of Virginia and in 

accordance with the procedures set forth by the 
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Administrative Process Act and the procedures prescribed in 

this part, the department is empowered to receive, review, 

investigate, and adjudicate complaints concerning the conduct 

of any person whose activities are regulated by the board. The 

board will hear and act upon appeals arising from decisions 

made by the director. In all case decisions, the Criminal 

Justice Services Board shall be the final agency authority.  

6VAC20-173-300. Informal fact-finding conference. 

The purpose of an informal fact-finding conference is to 

resolve allegations through informal consultation and 

negotiation. Informal fact-finding conferences shall be 

conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia. The respondent, the person against whom the 

complaint is filed, may appeal the decision of an informal 

fact-finding conference and request a formal hearing, 

provided that written notification is given to the department 

within 30 days of the date the informal fact-finding decision 

notice was served, or the date it was mailed to the respondent, 

whichever occurred first. In the event the informal fact-

finding decision was served by mail, three days shall be 

added to that period.  

6VAC20-173-310. Formal hearing. 

A. Formal hearing proceedings may be initiated in any case 

in which the basic laws provide expressly for a case decision, 

or in any case to the extent the informal fact-finding 

conference has not been conducted or an appeal thereto has 

been timely received. Formal hearings shall be conducted in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. The 

findings and decision of the director resulting from a formal 

hearing may be appealed to the board.  

B. After a formal hearing pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Code 

of Virginia wherein a sanction is imposed to fine or to 

suspend, revoke, or deny issuance or renewal of any 

certification or approval, the department may assess the 

holder thereof the cost of conducting such hearing when the 

department has final authority to grant such certification or 

approval, unless the department determines that the offense 

was inadvertent or done in good faith belief that such act did 

not violate a statute or regulation. The cost shall be limited to 

(i) the reasonable hourly rate for the hearing officer and (ii) 

the actual cost of recording the proceedings. This assessment 

shall be in addition to any fine imposed by sanctions.  

6VAC20-173-320. Appeals. 

The findings and the decision of the director may be 

appealed to the board provided that written notification is 

given to the attention of the Director, Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, within 30 days following the date 

notification of the hearing decision was served, or the date it 

was mailed to the respondent, whichever occurred first. In the 

event the hearing decision is served by mail, three days shall 

be added to that period. (Rule 2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia 

Supreme Court.)  

6VAC20-173-330. Court review; appeal of final order. 

A. The agency's final administrative decision (final agency 

order) may be appealed. Any person affected by and claiming 

the unlawfulness of the agency's final case decision shall have 

the right to direct review thereof by an appropriate and timely 

court action. Such appeal actions shall be initiated in the 

circuit court of jurisdiction in which the party applying for 

review resides; however, if such party is not a resident of 

Virginia, the venue shall be in the City of Richmond, 

Virginia.  

B. Notification shall be given to the attention of the 

Director, Department of Criminal Justice Services, in writing 

within 30 days of the date notification of the board decision 

was served, or the date it was mailed to the respondent, 

whichever occurred first. In the event the board decision was 

served by mail, three days shall be added to that period. (Rule 

2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia Supreme Court.)  

C. During all judicial proceedings incidental to such 

disciplinary action, the sanctions imposed by the board shall 

remain in effect, unless the court issues a stay of the order.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-173) 

Instructor  

Private Security Services - Firearms Instructor In-Service 

Training Enrollment (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - General Instructor Entry Level 

Training Enrollment (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - General Instructor In-Service 

Training Enrollment (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Initial Instructor Application (eff. 

10/12) 

Private Security Services - Renewal Instructor Application 

(eff. 10/12) 

Training School  

Private Security Services - Initial Training School 

Application (eff. 2/13) 

Private Security Services - Training Completion Form (eff. 

10/12) 

Private Security Services - Training Session Notification 

Form (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Renewal Training School 

Application (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Training School Compliance 

Inspection Form (eff. 10/12) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b94ab001546~12&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b94ab001546~12&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43f07001546~13&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43f07001546~13&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86a5f001546~14&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86a5f001546~14&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6d65c001546~15&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6d65c001546~15&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1cb9b001546~16&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1cb9b001546~16&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e6630001546~22&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e6630001546~22&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=23e8a001546~47&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=23e8a001546~47&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40097001546~23&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40097001546~23&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b2a5001546~24&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b2a5001546~24&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57620001546~25&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57620001546~25&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
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Private Security Services - Training Completion Roster 

Application (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Subject Matter Specialist and 

Guest Lecturers Form (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Bond (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Irrevocable Consent for Service 

Form (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Address Change Form for 

Schools (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - School Director Designation and 

Acceptance Form (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - School Staff Change Form (eff. 

10/12) 

Private Security Services - Training School Add Category 

Form (eff. 10/12) 

Fingerprint Processing  

DCJS Fingerprint Cards Order Form (undated) 

Fingerprint Processing Application (eff. 10/12) 

Criminal History Supplemental Form (eff. 10/12) 

Fingerprint Application Instructions (eff. 10/12) 

Acceptable Documents for Verifying Legal Presence/Name 

Change (eff. 10/12) 

Miscellaneous  

Complaint Form (eff. 10/12) 

Firearms Discharge Report (eff. 10/12) 

Partial Training Exemption Application - Entry Level (eff. 

10/12) 

Partial Training Exemption Application - In-Service (eff. 

10/12) 

Request for Extension Form (eff. 10/12) 

Individual Address Change Form (eff. 10/12) 

Credit Card Authorization Form (eff. 10/12)  

CHAPTER 174 

REGULATIONS RELATING TO PRIVATE SECURITY 

SERVICES REGISTERED PERSONNEL 

Part I 

Definitions 

6VAC20-174-10. Definitions. 

In addition to the words and terms defined in § 9.1-138 of 

the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any 

successor board or agency.  

"Business advertising material" means display 

advertisements in telephone directories, on letterhead, on 

business cards, in local newspaper advertising, and in 

contracts.  

"Certified training school" means a training school that is 

certified by the department for the specific purpose of training 

private security services business personnel in at least one 

category of the compulsory minimum training standards as 

set forth by the board.  

"Class" means a block of instruction no less than 50 minutes 

in length on a particular subject.  

"Classroom training" means instruction conducted in person 

by an instructor to students in an organized manner utilizing a 

lesson plan. 

"Date of hire" means the date any employee of a private 

security services business or training school performs 

services regulated or required to be regulated by the 

department.  

"Department" or "DCJS" means the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services or any successor agency.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department. 

"Electronic images" means an acceptable method of 

maintaining required documentation through the scanning, 

storage, and maintenance of verifiable electronic copies of 

original documentation. 

"Employee" means a natural person employed by a licensee 

to perform private security services that are regulated by the 

department.  

"End user" means any person who purchases or leases 

electronic security equipment for use in that person's home or 

business.  

"Entry-level training" means the compulsory initial training 

for regulated categories and basic or intermediate firearms 

training standards adopted by the board for private security 

services business personnel who are either new registrants or 

failed to timely complete in-service training or firearms 

retraining within the prescribed time period.  

"Firearms endorsement" means a method of regulation that 

identifies an individual registered as a private security 

registrant and has successfully completed the annual firearms 

training and has met the requirements as set forth in this 

chapter.  

"In-service training requirement" means the compulsory in-

service training standards adopted by the Criminal Justice 

Services Board for private security services business 

personnel.  

"Intermediate weapon" means a tool not fundamentally 

designed to cause deadly force with conventional use. This 

would exclude all metal ammunition firearms or edged 

weapons. These weapons include but are not limited to 

baton/collapsible baton, chemical irritants, electronic 

restraining devices, projectiles, and other less lethal weapons 

as defined by the department. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1c414001546~26&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1c414001546~26&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0b4df001546~27&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0b4df001546~27&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eb74a001546~28&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2104001546~29&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2104001546~29&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dbe93001546~30&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dbe93001546~30&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=83c45001546~31&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=83c45001546~31&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e28aa001546~32&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e28aa001546~32&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03a4b001546~33&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03a4b001546~33&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9bb36001546~34&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=text/html
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dbdfd001546~35&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3a95001546~36&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7822e001546~37&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f610c001546~38&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f610c001546~38&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=541b0001546~40&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7eef8001546~41&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3dcc8001546~42&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3dcc8001546~42&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=183d9001546~43&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=183d9001546~43&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d3475001546~44&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1140c001546~45&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3735c001546~46&typ=40&actno=001546&mime=application/pdf
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"Job-related training" means training specifically related to 

the daily job functions of a given category of registration or 

certification as defined in this chapter.  

"Official documentation" means personnel records; 

Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty 

(DD214); copies of business licenses indicating ownership; 

law-enforcement transcripts; certificates of training 

completion; a signed letter provided directly by a current or 

previous employer detailing dates of employment and job 

duties; college transcripts; letters of commendation; private 

security services registrations, certifications, or licenses from 

other states; and other employment, training, or experience 

verification documents. A resume is not considered official 

documentation.  

"On duty" means the time during which private security 

services business personnel receive or are entitled to receive 

compensation for employment for which a registration or 

certification is required.  

"Online training" means training approved by the 

department and offered via the Internet or an Intranet for the 

purpose of remote access on-demand or distance training that 

meets all requirements for compulsory minimum training 

standards. 

"Performance of his duties" means on duty in the context of 

this chapter.  

"Person" means any individual, group of individuals, firm, 

company, corporation, partnership, business, trust, 

association, or other legal entity.  

"Private security services business personnel" means each 

employee of a private security services business who is 

employed as an unarmed security officer, armed security 

officer/courier, armored car personnel, security canine 

handler, detector canine handler, private investigator, 

personal protection specialist, alarm respondent, locksmith, 

central station dispatcher, electronic security employee, 

electronic security sales representative, electronic security 

technician, or electronic security technician's assistant.  

"Reciprocity" means the relation existing between Virginia 

and any other state, commonwealth, or province as 

established by agreements approved by the board.  

"Recognition" means the relation of accepting various 

application requirements between Virginia and any other 

state, commonwealth, or province as established by 

agreements approved by the board.  

"Related field" means any field with training requirements, 

job duties, and experience similar to those of the private 

security services field in which the applicant wishes to be 

licensed, certified, or registered. This term includes law 

enforcement and certain categories of the military.  

"Session" means a group of classes comprising the total 

hours of mandated compulsory minimum training standards 

in any of the categories of licensure, registration, or 

certification in accordance with this part and in accordance 

with §§ 9.1-150.2, 9.1-185.2 and 9.1-186.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"This chapter" means the Regulations Relating to Private 

Security Services Registered Personnel (6VAC20-174).  

"Training certification" means verification of the successful 

completion of any training requirement established in this 

chapter.  

"Training requirement" means any entry-level, in-service, or 

firearms training or retraining standard established in this 

chapter.  

"Training school director" means a natural person 

designated by a principal of a certified private security 

services training school to assure the compliance of the 

private security services training school with all applicable 

requirements as provided in the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

"Uniform" means any clothing with a badge, patch, or 

lettering that clearly identifies persons to any observer as 

private security services business personnel, not law-

enforcement officers.  

Part II 

Application Fees 

6VAC20-174-20. Fees. 

A. Schedule of fees. The fees listed below reflect the costs 

of handling, issuance, and production associated with 

administering and processing applications for registration and 

other administrative requests for services relating to private 

security services.  

CATEGORIES FEES 

Fingerprint processing application $50 

Initial registration $25 

Registration renewal $20 

Additional registration category form $20 

Replacement registration card  $20 

Firearm endorsement $10 

Entry-level training exemption $25 

In-service training alternative credit evaluation $25 

B. Reinstatement fee.  

1. The department shall collect a reinstatement fee for 

registration renewal applications not received on or before 

the expiration date of the expiring registration. 

2. The reinstatement fee shall be 50% above and beyond 

the renewal fee of the registration or any other credential 

issued by the department wherein a fee is established and 

renewal is required. 
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C. Dishonor of fee payment due to insufficient funds. 

1. The department may suspend the registration or 

authority it has granted any person who submits a check or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute 

or regulation that is not honored by the financial institution 

upon which the check or similar instrument is drawn. 

2. The suspension shall become effective upon receipt of 

written notice of the dishonored payment. Upon 

notification of the suspension, the person or registrant may 

request that the suspended registration or authority be 

reinstated, provided payment of the dishonored amount 

plus any penalties or fees required under the statute or 

regulation accompanies the request. Suspension under this 

provision shall be exempt from the Administrative Process 

Act. 

D. Manual processing service fee. The department shall 

collect a $5.00 service fee for any applications under this 

chapter that are submitted to the department by other means 

than the available electronic methods established by the 

department. 

Part III 

Criminal History Records Search 

6VAC20-174-30. Fingerprint processing. 

A. On or before the first date of hire, each person applying 

for a private security registration shall submit to the 

department:  

1. One completed fingerprint card provided by the 

department or another electronic method approved by the 

department;  

2. A fingerprint processing application;  

3. The applicable, nonrefundable fee; and  

4. All criminal history conviction information on a form 

provided by the department.  

B. The department shall submit those fingerprints to the 

Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia 

Criminal History Records search and a National Criminal 

Records search to determine whether the individual or 

individuals have a record of conviction.  

C. Fingerprint cards found to be unclassifiable will suspend 

all action on the application pending the resubmission of a 

classifiable fingerprint card. The applicant shall be so notified 

in writing and must submit a new fingerprint card within 30 

days of notification before the processing of his application 

shall resume. If a fingerprint card is not submitted within the 

30 days, the initial fingerprint application process will be 

required to include applicable application fees. 

D. If the applicant is denied by DCJS, the department will 

notify the applicant by letter regarding the reasons for the 

denial. The compliance agent will also be notified in writing 

by DCJS that the applicant has been denied.  

E. Fingerprint applications will be active for 120 days from 

the date of submittal. Applications for registrations must be 

submitted within that 120-day period or initial fingerprint 

submittal will be required. 

Part IV 

Application Procedures and Requirements 

6VAC20-174-40. Initial registration application. 

A. Individuals required to be registered, pursuant to § 9.1-

139 C of the Code of Virginia, in the categories of armored 

car personnel, courier, unarmed security officer, armed 

security officer, security canine handler, explosives detector 

canine handler, narcotics detector canine handler, private 

investigator, personal protection specialist, alarm respondent, 

locksmith, central station dispatcher, electronic security sales 

representative, electronic security technician, or electronic 

security technician's assistant shall meet all registration 

requirements in this section. Prior to the issuance of a 

registration, the applicant shall meet or exceed the 

requirements of registration and application submittal to the 

department as set forth in this section. Individuals who carry 

or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a valid 

registration with a firearm endorsement pursuant to this 

chapter. If carrying a handgun concealed, the individual must 

also have (i) a valid concealed handgun permit pursuant to 

Article 6.1 (§ 18.2-307.1 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia and (ii) the written permission of his 

employer.  

B. Each person applying for registration shall meet the 

following minimum requirements for eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Successfully complete all initial training requirements 

for each registration category requested, including firearms 

endorsement if applicable, pursuant to the compulsory 

minimum training standards as set forth in this chapter; and  

3. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 

United States. 

C. Each person applying for registration shall file with the 

department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. On the application, his mailing address;  

3. Fingerprint card; and  

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

D. Each person seeking or required to seek registration as an 

unarmed security officer, an alarm respondent, a locksmith, a 

central station dispatcher, an electronic security sales 

representative, an electronic security technician, or an 

electronic security technician's assistant may be employed for 

a period not to exceed 90 consecutive days in any categories 

listed in this subsection while completing the compulsory 

minimum training standards, provided:  

1. Fingerprints have been submitted;  
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2. The individual is not employed in excess of 120 days 

without having been issued a registration from the 

department; and  

3. The individual did not fail to timely complete the 

required training with a previous employer.  

E. Upon completion of the initial registration application 

requirements, the department may issue an initial registration 

for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

F. The department may issue a letter of temporary 

registration valid for not more than 120 days while awaiting 

the results of the state and national fingerprint search, 

provided the applicant has met the necessary conditions and 

requirements.  

G. Each registration shall be issued to the individual named 

on the application and shall be valid only for use by that 

individual. No registration shall be assigned or otherwise 

transferred to another individual.  

H. Each registrant shall comply with all applicable 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 

shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-174-50. Renewal registration application. 

A. Applications for registration renewal shall meet all 

renewal requirements and should be received by the 

department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address or email address provided by the 

registrant. However, if a renewal notification is not received 

by the individual, it is the responsibility of the individual to 

ensure renewal requirements are filed with the department. 

Registration renewal applications received by the department 

after the expiration date shall be subject to all applicable, 

nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees.  

B. Each person applying for registration renewal shall meet 

the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Successfully complete the in-service training, and 

firearms retraining if applicable, pursuant to the 

compulsory minimum training standards set forth by this 

chapter; and  

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 

registered, or certified. This subdivision shall not apply to 

any probationary periods during which the individual is 

eligible to operate under the license, registration, or 

certification. 

C. The department may renew a registration when the 

following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 

the department;  

2. For individuals applying for renewal with the category 

of armored car personnel, a fingerprint card;  

3. The applicable, nonrefundable registration renewal fee; 

and  

4. For individuals with firearms endorsements, evidence of 

completion of annual firearms retraining in accordance 

with this chapter. 

D. Upon completion of the renewal registration application 

requirements, the department may issue a registration for a 

period not to exceed 24 months.  

E. Any renewal application received by the department shall 

meet all renewal requirements prior to the expiration date of a 

registration or shall be subject to the requirements set forth by 

the reinstatement provisions of this chapter.  

6VAC20-174-60. Firearms endorsement. 

A. A firearms endorsement is required for all private 

security services business personnel who carry or have access 

to a firearm while on duty. Each person who carries or has 

access to firearms while on duty shall qualify with each type 

of action and caliber of firearm to which he has access.  

B. Each person applying for a firearms endorsement shall 

meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Must be registered in a regulated category. 

2. Must complete entry-level handgun training and, if 

applicable, shotgun and patrol rifle training as described in 

this chapter. 

C. All armed private security services business personnel 

with the exception of personal protection specialist must 

satisfactorily complete applicable firearms retraining. 

D. All armed personal protection specialists must 

satisfactorily complete advanced handgun retraining and 

firearms retraining for shotgun and patrol rifle if applicable.  

E. Firearms endorsements are issued for a period not to 

exceed 12 months. Individuals must complete firearms 

retraining within the 90 days prior to the expiration of their 

current firearm endorsement or will be required to complete 

entry-level training requirements prior to applying for an 

active endorsement. 

6VAC20-174-70. Additional registration category 

application. 

A. Individuals may apply for multiple registration categories 

during the initial application process by completing the 

applicable training requirements for each category.  

B. Registrants seeking to add categories to a current 

registration must:  

1. Successfully complete all initial training requirements 

for each additional registration category requested pursuant 

to the compulsory minimum training standards of this 

chapter;  

2. Submit a properly completed application provided by 

the department; and  

3. Submit the applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

C. Individuals may avoid paying a separate fee for 

additional registration categories when the categories are 

requested on the application for renewal. 
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6VAC20-174-80. Replacement registration. 

Registrants seeking a replacement state-issued registration 

card shall submit to the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

6VAC20-174-90. Reinstatement. 

A. Any registration not renewed on or before the expiration 

date shall become null and void. Pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia, all such persons must currently be registered with 

the department to provide private security services.  

B. A renewal application must be received by the 

department within 60 days following the expiration date of 

the registration in order to be reinstated by the department 

providing all renewal requirements have been met. Prior to 

reinstatement the following shall be submitted to the 

department:  

1. The appropriate renewal application and completion of 

renewal requirements including required training pursuant 

to this chapter; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable reinstatement fee 

pursuant to this chapter.  

The department shall not reinstate renewal applications 

received after the 60-day reinstatement period has expired. It 

is unlawful to operate without a valid registration including 

during reinstatement period.  

C. No registration shall be renewed or reinstated when all 

renewal application requirements are received by the 

department more than 60 days following the expiration date. 

After that date, the applicant shall meet all initial application 

requirements, including applicable training requirements.  

D. Following submittal of all reinstatement requirements, 

the department will process and may approve any application 

for reinstatement pursuant to the renewal process for the 

application.  

E. When a registration is reinstated, the applicant shall 

continue to have the same DCJS number and shall be 

assigned an expiration date two years from the previous 

expiration date of the registration. 

F. An applicant who reinstates shall be regarded as having 

been continuously registered without interruption. Therefore, 

the applicant shall remain under the disciplinary authority of 

the department during this entire period and may be held 

accountable for his activities during this period. 

G. A person who fails to reinstate his registration shall be 

regarded as unregistered from the expiration date of the 

registration forward. 

H. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the department of its 

authority to discipline a person for a violation of the laws or 

regulations during the period of time for which the person 

was registered. 

I. Firearms endorsements are not eligible for reinstatement. 

If renewal requirements are not met pursuant to this chapter, 

the applicant shall meet all initial application requirements, 

including applicable initial firearms training requirements.  

6VAC20-174-100. Renewal extension. 

A. An extension of the time period to meet renewal 

requirements may be approved only under specific 

circumstances that do not allow private security personnel to 

complete the required procedures within the prescribed time 

period. The following are the only circumstances for which 

extensions may be granted:  

1. Extended illness;  

2. Extended injury;  

3. Military or foreign service; or  

4. Any emergency temporary assignment of private 

security personnel for purposes of natural disaster, 

homeland security, or documented threat by the private 

security services business or training school for which he is 

employed.  

B. A request for extension shall:  

1. Be submitted in writing, dated, and signed by the 

individual prior to the expiration date of the time limit 

required for completion of the requirements. This 

requirement may be waived by the department based on an 

evaluation of the justification for waiver; 

2. Indicate the projected date the person will be able to 

comply with the requirements; and  

3. Include a copy of the physician's record of the injury or 

illness, a copy of the government orders, or documentation 

of emergency temporary assignment.  

C. Applications for additional extensions may be approved 

upon written request of the person.  

D. The total time for renewal extension, including additional 

extensions, shall not exceed 12 months beyond the original 

expiration date. If renewal requirements are not met during 

the period of extension, the individual must complete all 

initial training requirements to include applicable entry-level 

training. 

E. The private security services person shall be 

nonoperational during the period of extension unless (i) 

otherwise issued a temporary exemption and (ii) authorized 

by the department pursuant to § 9.1-139 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Part V 

Application Sanctions; Exemptions; Recognition and 

Reciprocity 

6VAC20-174-110. Denial, probation, suspension, and 

revocation. 

A. The department may deny a registration in which any 

person has been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony or 

of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 
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battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as described in 

Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this 

chapter. The record of a conviction, authenticated in such 

form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted, shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction.  

B. The department may deny registration in which any 

person (i) has not maintained good standing in every 

jurisdiction where licensed, registered, or certified in a private 

security services or related field; (ii) has had his license, 

registration, or certification denied upon initial application, 

suspended, revoked, surrendered, or not renewed; or (iii) has 

otherwise been disciplined in connection with a disciplinary 

action prior to applying for registration in Virginia.  

C. Any false or misleading statement on any state 

application or supporting documentation is grounds for denial 

or revocation and may be subject to criminal prosecution.  

D. The department may deny registration for other just 

cause.  

E. A registrant shall be subject to disciplinary action for 

violations of or noncompliance with the Code of Virginia or 

this chapter. Disciplinary action shall be in accordance with 

procedures prescribed by the Administrative Process Act. The 

disciplinary action may include but is not limited to a letter of 

censure, fine, probation, suspension, or revocation.  

F. If a registrant is subject to disciplinary action for 

violations of or noncompliance with the Code of Virginia or 

this chapter, the department will notify the last known 

licensed or certified private security services business or 

training school by which they were employed or affiliated. 

6VAC20-174-120. Exemptions; recognition and 

reciprocity. 

A. The department may grant a temporary exemption from 

the requirements for registration for a period of not more than 

30 days in a situation deemed an emergency by the 

department.  

B. The department may recognize administrative and 

application requirements for registration based on agreements 

that have been entered into with other states and approved by 

the board.  

Part VI 

Administrative Requirements and Standards of Conduct 

6VAC20-174-130. General requirements. 

All private security services registered personnel are 

required to maintain administrative requirements and 

standards of conduct as determined by the Code of Virginia, 

department guidelines, and this chapter.  

6VAC20-174-140. Administrative requirements. 

A registrant shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing 

address, email address, and phone number, if applicable. 

Written notification of any change in mailing address, 

email address, or phone number shall be in writing and 

received by the department no later than 10 days after the 

effective date of the change.  

3. Inform the department, and the business for which the 

individual is employed if applicable, in writing within 10 

days after pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 

convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 

Virginia.  

4. Inform the department, and the business for which the 

individual is employed if applicable, in writing within 10 

days after having been found guilty by any court or 

administrative body of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated the private security services business statutes or 

regulations of that jurisdiction.  

5. Inform the department, and the compliance agent of the 

licensee if employed by a private security services 

business, of any incident in which any registrant has 

discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training 

exercise. This report shall be made within 24 hours of the 

incident.  

6VAC20-174-150. Standards of conduct. 

A registrant shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

3. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license, registration, or certification being 

suspended, revoked, or not renewed or the licensee, 

registrant, or certificate holder otherwise being disciplined 

in any jurisdiction.  

4. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 
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evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

5. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 

registration renewal, certification, or certification renewal 

through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

6. Not solicit or contract to provide any private security 

services without first having obtained a private security 

services business license with the department.  

7. Carry a valid registration card or valid temporary 

registration letter at all times while on duty. Individuals 

requiring registration as an unarmed security officer, an 

alarm respondent, a locksmith, a central station dispatcher, 

an electronic security sales representative, or an electronic 

security technician may be employed for not more than 90 

consecutive days in any category listed in this subdivision 

while completing the compulsory minimum training 

standards and may not be employed in excess of 120 days 

without having been issued a registration or an exception 

from the department and must carry a photo identification 

and authorization from their employer on a form provided 

by the department at all times while on duty.  

8. Carry the private security state-issued registration card 

at all times while on duty once the authorization has been 

approved from the department, except those individuals 

operating outside the Commonwealth of Virginia who shall 

obtain the state-issued registration card prior to providing 

services when physically located in the Commonwealth.  

9. Perform those duties authorized by his registration only 

while employed by a licensed private security services 

business and only for the clients of the licensee. This shall 

not be construed to prohibit an individual who is registered 

as an armed security officer from being employed by a 

nonlicensee as provided for in § 9.1-140 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

10. Possess a valid firearms training endorsement if he 

carries or has access to firearms while on duty and then 

only those firearms by type of action and caliber to which 

he has been trained on and is qualified to carry. Carry or 

have access to a patrol rifle while on duty only with the 

expressed written authorization of the licensed private 

security services business employing the registrant. 

11. Carry a firearm concealed while on duty only with the 

expressed written authorization of the licensed private 

security services business employing the registrant and 

only in compliance with Article 6.1 (§ 18.2-307.1 et seq.) 

of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

12. Transport, carry, and utilize firearms while on duty 

only in a manner that does not endanger the public health, 

safety, and welfare.  

13. If authorized to make arrests, make arrests in full 

compliance with the law and using only the minimum 

force necessary to effect an arrest.  

14. Engage in no conduct that shall mislead or 

misrepresent through word, deed, or appearance that a 

registrant is a law-enforcement officer or other government 

official. 

15. Display one's registration or temporary registration 

along with a photo identification while on duty in response 

to the request of a law-enforcement officer, department 

personnel, or client. Individuals providing private security 

services as authorized pursuant to subdivision 7 of this 

section who have not received their registration must 

display a state-issued photo identification and authorization 

while on duty in response to the request of a law-

enforcement officer, department personnel, or a client.  

16. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 

a loss, injury, or death to any person. 

17. If a uniform is required, wear the uniform required by 

his employer. If wearing a uniform while employed as an 

armed security officer, unarmed security officer, alarm 

respondent, or armored car personnel, that uniform must:  

a. Include at least one insignia clearly identifying the 

name of the licensed firm employing the individual and, 

except armored car personnel, a nameplate or tape 

bearing, at a minimum, the individual's last name 

attached on the outermost garment, except rainwear worn 

only to protect from inclement weather; and  

b. Include no patch or other writing (i) containing the 

word "police" or any other word suggesting a law-

enforcement officer; (ii) containing the word "officer" 

unless used in conjunction with the word "security"; or 

(iii) resembling any uniform patch or insignia of any duly 

constituted law-enforcement agency of this 

Commonwealth, its political subdivisions, or the federal 

government.  

18. When providing central station monitoring services, 

attempt to verify the legitimacy of a burglar alarm 

activation by calling the site of the alarm. If unable to 

make contact, call one additional number provided by the 

alarm user who has the authority to cancel the dispatch. 

This shall not apply if the alarm user has provided written 

authorization requesting immediate dispatch or one-call 

dispatch to both his local police department and his dealer 

of record. This shall not apply to duress or hold-up alarms.  

19. Act only in such a manner that does not endanger the 

public health, safety, and welfare.  

20. Not represent as one's own a registration issued to 

another individual.  

21. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training 

records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration, 

certification, or certification as a compliance agent, 

training school, school director, or instructor.  

22. Not provide information obtained by the registrant or 

his employing firm to any person other than the client who 

secured the services of the licensee without the client's 
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prior written consent. Provision of information in response 

to official requests from law-enforcement agencies, the 

courts, or the department shall not constitute a violation of 

this chapter. Provision of information to law-enforcement 

agencies pertinent to criminal activity or to planned 

criminal activity shall not constitute a violation of this 

chapter.  

23. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

24. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

25. Not make any misrepresentation or make a false 

promise to a private security services business client or 

potential private security services business client.  

26. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided.  

27. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

28. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on a registration 

application, renewal application, or any other document 

filed with the department. 

Part VII 

Training Requirements and Exemptions 

6VAC20-174-160. Entry-level training. 

A. Each person employed by a private security services 

business or applying to the department for registration as an 

unarmed security officer, an armed security officer/courier, a 

personal protection specialist, armored car personnel, a 

security canine handler, an explosives detector canine 

handler, a narcotics detector canine handler, a private 

investigator, an alarm respondent, a locksmith, a central 

station dispatcher, an electronic security sales representative, 

or an electronic security technician, or electronic security 

technician's assistant as defined by § 9.1-138 of the Code of 

Virginia must meet the compulsory minimum training 

standards herein established, unless provided for otherwise in 

accordance with this chapter.  

B. Training will be credited only if application for 

registration is received by the department within 12 months 

of completion of training.  

6VAC20-174-170. In-service training. 

Each person registered with the department as an armed 

security officer/courier, a personal protection specialist, 

armored car personnel, a security canine handler, a narcotics 

detector canine handler, an explosives detector canine 

handler, a private investigator, an alarm respondent, a 

locksmith, a central station dispatcher, an electronic security 

sales representative, an electronic security technician, an 

unarmed security officer, or an electronic security technician's 

assistant shall complete the compulsory in-service training 

standard once during each 24-month period of registration.  

6VAC20-174-180. Training exemptions. 

Persons who meet the statutory requirements as set forth in 

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia may apply for a partial 

exemption from the compulsory training standards. 

Individuals requesting such partial exemption shall file an 

application furnished by the department and include the 

applicable, nonrefundable application fee. The department 

may issue such partial exemption on the basis of individual 

qualifications as supported by required documentation. Those 

applying for and receiving exemptions must comply with all 

regulations promulgated by the board. Each person receiving 

a partial exemption for entry-level training must apply to the 

department for registration within 12 months from the date of 

issuance, otherwise the partial exemption shall become null 

and void.  

6VAC20-174-190. Entry-level training exemption. 

A. Persons previously employed as law-enforcement 

officers who have not terminated or been terminated from 

said employment more than five years prior to the application 

date must submit official documentation of the following with 

the application for exemption:  

1. Completion of law-enforcement entry-level training; and  

2. Five continuous years of law-enforcement employment 

provided such employment as a law-enforcement officer 

was not terminated due to misconduct or incompetence.  

B. Persons having previous training or employment in any 

of the classifications defined in § 9.1-138 of the Code of 

Virginia must submit official documentation of the following 

with the application for exemption:  

1. Completion of previous private security training that has 

been approved by the department and that meets or 

exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards 

promulgated by the board; or  

2. Five years continuous employment in the category for 

which exemption is sought, provided such employment 

was not terminated due to misconduct or incompetence and 

such employment ended within five years of the date of 

application.  

6VAC20-174-200. In-service training exemption. 

Persons who have completed training that meets or exceeds 

the compulsory minimum training standards promulgated by 

the board for the in-service training required for the 

individual's particular category may be authorized credit for 

such training, provided the training has been completed 

within 24 months of the expiration date of the registration 

period during which in-service training is required. Such 

training must be provided by a third party organization 

category. Official documentation of the following must 

accompany the application for in-service training credit:  

1. Information regarding the sponsoring organization, 

including documentation regarding the instructor for each 

session; 
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2. An outline of the training session material, including the 

dates, times, and specific subject matter; and 

3. Proof of attendance and successful completion. 

Part VIII 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards 

6VAC20-174-210. Alarm respondent - compulsory 

minimum training requirements:  

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Alarm respondent - 18 hours  

01E: Security Officer Core Subjects - 18 hours  

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course, 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

Security officer core subjects (01E) - 18 hours (excluding 

examination)  

The entry-level curriculum for alarm respondent sets forth 

the following areas identified as:  

a. Orientation  

(1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

(2) Code of ethics 

(3) General duties and responsibilities 

(4) Signs of terrorism  

b. Law  

c. Security patrol, access control, and communications  

d. Documentation  

e. Emergency procedures  

f. Confrontation management  

g. Use of force 

h. Written comprehensive examination 

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(01I) Security Officer Core Subjects In-Service - 4 hours 

job-related training 

6VAC20-174-220. Armed security officer/courier - 

compulsory minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Armed security officer/courier - 50 hours (53 hours 

including shotgun training)  

a. 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects - 18 hours  

b. 05E: Armed Security Officer Arrest Authority - 8 

hours 

c. 075E: Security Officer Handgun - 24 hours 

d. 08E: Entry-level Shotgun - 3 hours (if applicable - to 

also have access to a shotgun while on duty, the 

additional shotgun course is required) 

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

1. Security officer core subjects (01E) - 18 hours 

(excluding examination)  

The entry-level curriculum for alarm respondent sets forth 

the following areas identified as:  

a. Orientation  

(1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

(2) Code of ethics 

(3) General duties and responsibilities 

(4) Signs of terrorism  

b. Law  

c. Security patrol, access control, and communications  

d. Documentation  

e. Emergency procedures  

f. Confrontation management  

g. Use of force 

h. Written comprehensive examination 

2. Armed Security Officer Arrest Authority (05E) - 8 hours 

(excluding examination) 

a. Arrest powers, policies, and procedures 

b. Written comprehensive examination 

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(01I) Security Officer Core Subjects In-Service - 4 hours 

job-related training (not including range retraining) 

6VAC20-174-230. Armored car personnel – compulsory 

minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Armored car personnel - 28 hours (31 hours with shotgun) 

a. 03E: Armored Car Procedures - 12 hours  

b. 07E: Entry-level Handgun - 16 hours  
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c. 08E: Entry-level Shotgun - 3 hours (if applicable - to 

also have access to a shotgun while on duty, the 

additional shotgun course is required) 

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

Armored Car Procedures (03E) - 12 hours (excluding 

examination) 

a. Administration and armored car orientation  

b. Signs of terrorism  

c. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

d. Armored car procedures  

e. Written comprehensive examination  

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(03I) Armored Car Personnel In-Service - 4 hours job-

related training (not including range retraining) 

6VAC20-174-240. Central station dispatcher – 

compulsory minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Central station dispatcher - 8 hours  

a. 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects - 4 hours  

b. 38E: Central Station Dispatcher - 4 hours 

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

1. Electronic security core subjects (30E) - 4 hours 

(excluding examination)  

a. Administration and orientation  

(1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia 

(2) Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

(3) Signs of terrorism  

b. Overview of electronic security  

c. False alarm prevention  

d. Written comprehensive examination  

2. Central station dispatcher (38E) - 4 hours (excluding 

examination) 

a. Central station dispatcher subjects  

(1) Duties and responsibilities  

(2) Communications skills  

(3) Emergency procedures  

b. Written comprehensive examination  

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises and range qualification, 

shall be as follows:  

(30I) Electronic Security Subjects In-Service - 4 hours job-

related training 

6VAC20-174-250. Detector canine handler – compulsory 

minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Detector Canine Handler - 160 hours (excluding 

certification examination) 

a. 04ED: Detector Canine Handler - 160 hours  

b. Certification exam by a certified detector canine 

handler examiner 

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

Detector canine handler (04ED) - 160 hours to include 

practical exercises (excluding certification exam) 

a. Introduction/orientation/administration 

(1) Code of ethics 

(2) General duties and responsibilities 

(3) Legal 

(4) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

(5) Signs of terrorism  

b. Working canines 

(1) Historical perspective 

(2) Terms and definitions 

(3) Methodology and application 

(4) Training documentation 

(5) Search patterns 

c. Basic canine handling (including practical exercises) 

(1) Training 

(2) Care and health 

(3) Emergency medical care 

d. Detector canine deployment 

Canine behavior: reading and understanding 

e. Explosive or narcotics familiarization (including 

practical exercises) 
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(1) Illegal narcotics familiarization 

(2) Explosives substance and I.E.D. familiarization 

(3) Safety 

f. Written comprehensive exam 

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(04ID) Detector Canine Handler In-Service - 8 hours 

(excluding certification exam) 

a. Detector canine team retraining and problem solving 

b. Search techniques 

c. Terrorist/criminal intelligence updates and team safety 

d. Certification exam (conducted by a certified detector 

canine handler examiner) 

6VAC20-174-260. Electronic security technician – 

compulsory minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Electronic security technician - 14 hours  

a. 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects - 4 hours  

b. 35E: Electronic Security Technician - 10 hours 

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

1. Electronic security core subjects (30E) - 4 hours 

(excluding examination)  

a. Administration and orientation  

(1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia 

(2) Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

(3) Signs of terrorism  

b. Overview of electronic security  

c. False alarm prevention  

d. Written comprehensive examination  

2. Electronic security technician (35E) - 4 hours (excluding 

examination) 

a. Electronic security technician subjects - 10 hours  

(1) Duties and responsibilities  

(2) Electronics  

(3) Control panels  

(4) Protection devices and application  

(5) Test equipment  

(6) Power and grounding  

(7) National electrical code  

(8) Job safety  

b. Written comprehensive examination  

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(30I) Electronic Security Subjects In-Service - 4 hours job-

related training 

6VAC20-174-270. Electronic security technician assistant 

– compulsory minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Electronic security technician's assistant - 4 hours  

30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects - 4 hours  

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

Electronic security core subjects (30E) - 4 hours (excluding 

examination)  

a. Administration and orientation  

(1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia 

(2) Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

(3) Signs of terrorism  

b. Overview of electronic security  

c. False alarm prevention  

d. Written comprehensive examination 

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(30I) Electronic Security Subjects In-Service - 4 hours job-

related training 

6VAC20-174-280. Electronic security sales representative 

– compulsory minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Electronic security sales representative - 8 hours  

a. 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects - 4 hours  

b. 39E: Electronic Security Sales - 4 hours 

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course, 
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excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

1. Electronic security core subjects (30E) - 4 hours 

(excluding examination)  

a. Administration and orientation  

(1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia 

(2) Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

(3) Signs of terrorism  

b. Overview of electronic security  

c. False alarm prevention  

d. Written comprehensive examination  

2. Electronic security sales representative (39E) - 4 hours 

(excluding examination) 

a. Electronic security sales representative subjects  

(1) Duties and responsibilities  

(2) System design and components  

(3) False alarm prevention  

b. Written comprehensive examination  

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(30I) Electronic Security Subjects In-Service - 4 hours job-

related training 

6VAC20-174-290. Locksmith – compulsory minimum 

training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Locksmith - 18 hours 

25E: Locksmith - 18 hours 

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

Locksmith (25E) –18 hours (excluding examination) 

a. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

b. Signs of terrorism  

c. Orientation to locksmithing 

(1) History of locksmithing 

(2) Ethics 

(3) Trade resources  

(4) Terminology 

(5) Professional conduct 

(6) Job safety 

d. Public safety codes  

(1) National Fire Protection Association Codes 80 and 

101 

(2) Overview of authorities having jurisdiction (AHJs) 

(3) Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended 

(4) Terminology 

(5) Safety code resources 

e. Technical applications  

(1) Terminology (to include definition, purpose, and 

function) 

(2) Locks/types  

(3) Handing 

(4) Master keying 

(5) Key records and codes 

(6) Key blanks and keyways 

(7) Physical security 

(8) Types of client sites 

(9) Safes and vaults 

(10) Access control 

(11) Handling restricted keys 

(12) Door system components 

(13) Automotive 

f. Written comprehensive examination 

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(25I) Locksmith In-Service - 4 hours job-related training 

6VAC20-174-300. Personal protection specialist – 

compulsory minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Personal protection specialist - 60 hours  

a. 32E: Personal Protection Specialist - 60 hours  

b. 07E: Entry-level Handgun - 16 hours (prerequisite for 

09E Advanced Handgun)  

c. 09E: Advanced Handgun - 14 hours (for armed 

personal protection specialists) 

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  
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Personal protection specialist (32E) - 60 hours (excluding 

written examination and practical exercises) 

a. Administration and personal protection orientation  

b. Signs of terrorism  

c. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

d. Assessment of threat and protectee vulnerability  

e. Legal authority and civil law  

f. Protective detail operations  

g. Emergency procedures  

(1) CPR  

(2) Emergency first aid  

(3) Defensive preparedness  

h. Performance evaluation - five practical exercises  

i. Written comprehensive examination 

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(32I) Personal Protection Specialist In-Service - 8 hours 

job-related training (not including range retraining for 

armed) 

6VAC20-174-310. Private investigator – compulsory 

minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Private investigator - 60 hours  

02E: Private Investigator Subjects - 60 hours  

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  

Private investigator (02E) - 60 hours (excluding 

examination and practical exercises) 

a. Orientation  

(1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia 

(2) Regulations Relating to Private Security Services 

(3) Standards of professional conduct 

(4) Ethics 

(5) Signs of terrorism  

b. Law - one practical exercise 

(1) Basic law 

(2) Legal procedures and due process 

(3) Criminal and civil law 

(4) Evidence 

(5) Legal privacy requirements  

c. General investigative skills - one practical exercise 

(1) Tools and techniques 

(2) Surveillance 

(3) Research 

(4) Interviewing  

d. Documentation - one practical exercise 

(1) Report preparations 

(2) Photography 

(3) Audio recording 

(4) General communication 

(5) Courtroom testimony  

e. Types of investigations - one practical exercise 

(1) Accident 

(2) Insurance 

(3) Background 

(4) Domestic 

(5) Undercover 

(6) Fraud and financial 

(7) Missing persons and property 

(8) Criminal  

f. Written comprehensive examination  

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises and range qualification shall 

be as follows:  

(02I) Private Investigator In-Service - 8 hours job-related 

training 

6VAC20-174-320. Security canine handler – compulsory 

minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations, 

practical exercises, and range qualification shall be:  

Security canine handler - 30 hours (excluding basic 

obedience training) 

a. 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects - 18 hours 

(prerequisite for 04ES) 

b. Prerequisite for 04ES - Basic Obedience Training 

c. 04ES: Security Canine Handler - 12 hours 

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course 

excluding examinations, mandated practical exercises, and 

range qualification shall be as provided in this subsection.  
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1. Security officer core subjects (01E) - 18 hours 

(excluding examination)  

The entry level curriculum for unarmed security officer, 

armed security officer/courier, security canine handler, and 

alarm respondent sets forth the following areas identified 

as:  

a. Orientation  

(1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

(2) Code of ethics 

(3) General duties and responsibilities 

(4) Signs of terrorism  

b. Law  

c. Security patrol, access control, and communications  

d. Documentation  

e. Emergency procedures  

f. Confrontation management  

g. Use of force 

h. Written comprehensive examination 

2. Security canine handler (04ES) - 12 hours (excluding 

examination and basic obedience training) 

a. Prerequisites for security canine handler entry level 

(official documentation required): successful completion 

of basic obedience training 

b. Demonstration of proficiency. The student must 

demonstrate his proficiency in the handling of a security 

canine to satisfy the minimum standards  

c. Evaluation by a certified private security canine 

handler instructor and basic obedience retraining  

d. Security canine handler orientation; legal authority  

e. Canine patrol techniques  

f. Written comprehensive examination  

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations, practical exercises, and range qualification 

shall be as follows:  

(04IS) Security Canine Handler In-Service - 8 hours  

a. Basic obedience evaluation and retraining 

b. Canine grooming, feeding, and health care 

c. Apprehension techniques 

d. Obedience 

6VAC20-174-330. Unarmed security officer – compulsory 

minimum training requirements. 

A. Entry-level course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry-level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement excluding examinations 

and practical exercises shall be:  

Unarmed security officer - 18 hours  

01E: Security Officer Core Subjects - 18 hours  

B. Entry-level course content. The compulsory minimum 

entry-level training course content by specific course, 

excluding examinations and mandated practical exercises 

shall be as provided in this subsection.  

Security officer core subjects (01E) - 18 hours (excluding 

examination)  

a. Orientation  

(1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services  

(2) Code of ethics 

(3) General duties and responsibilities 

(4) Signs of Terrorism  

b. Law  

c. Security patrol, access control, and communications  

d. Documentation  

e. Emergency procedures  

f. Confrontation management  

g. Use of force 

h. Written comprehensive examination 

C. In-service course content and minimum hour 

requirement. The compulsory minimum in-service training 

content and minimum hour requirement excluding 

examinations and practical exercises shall be as follows:  

(01I) Security Officer Core Subjects In-Service - 4 hours 

job-related training 

Part IX 

Firearms Training Requirements and Exemptions 

6VAC20-174-340. General firearms training 

requirements. 

A. Firearms training endorsement is required for all private 

security services business personnel who carry or have 

immediate access to a firearm while on duty. Each person 

who carries or has immediate access to a firearm while on 

duty shall qualify with each type of action and caliber of 

firearm to which he has access.  

B. Each person registered as armored car personnel, security 

canine handler, detector canine handler, private investigator, 

alarm respondent, locksmith, central station dispatcher, 

electronic security sales representative, electronic security 

technician, or electronic security technician's assistant must 

complete entry-level handgun training in order to apply for a 

firearms training endorsement. 

C. Each person applying for a registration as an armed 

security officer/courier must complete security officer 

handgun training in order to apply for a firearms training 

endorsement. 

D. Each person registered as a personal protection specialist 

must complete entry-level or armed security officer handgun 
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training and advanced handgun training in order to apply for a 

firearms training endorsement. 

6VAC20-174-350. Prior firearms training exemption. 

Persons having previous department-approved firearms 

training may be authorized credit for such training that meets 

or exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards for 

private security services business personnel, provided such 

training has been completed within the 12 months preceding 

the date of application. Official documentation of the 

following must accompany the application for partial training 

credit:  

1. Completion of department-approved firearms training; 

and  

2. Qualification at a Virginia criminal justice agency, 

academy, or correctional department.  

6VAC20-174-360. Entry-level handgun training. 

Handgun classroom training.  

1. The entry-level handgun classroom training will include 

but not be limited to the following:  

a. Practical handgun handling 

(1) Identification of handgun parts 

(2) Draw 

(3) Reholstering 

(4) Ready position 

(5) Loading  

(6) Administrative loading 

(7) Tactical reloading 

(8) Rapid reloading 

(9) Unloading 

(10) Malfunctions 

(11) Immediate actions procedures 

(12) Remedial action 

(13) Proper care and maintenance 

(14) Firearms retention  

(15) Ammunition identification and management  

(16) Range safety 

b. Fundamentals of marksmanship 

(1) Grip 

(2) Stance (position) 

(3) Sight alignment 

(4) Sight picture 

(5) Trigger control 

(6) Breathing 

(7) Follow through 

c. Dim light/low light/reduced light practice and 

familiarization 

(1) Identification of target/threat/background 

(2) Unaided training 

(3) Aided training 

(4) Flashlight use 

(5) Reloading during low light conditions 

(6) Malfunctions 

(7) Range safety 

d. Use of force 

(1) Deadly force  

(2) Justifiable deadly force 

e. Liability 

(1) Criminal liability  

(2) Civil liability  

(3) Negligent discharge prevention 

f. Judgmental shooting: judgmental shooting scenarios 

will be conducted in the classroom or range 

g. Lead exposure 

Total hours (excluding written examination) - 16 hours  

2. Written examination required.  

6VAC20-174-370. Security officer handgun training. 

Handgun classroom training.  

1. The security officer handgun classroom training will 

include but not be limited to the following:  

a. Practical handgun handling 

(1) Identification of handgun parts 

(2) Draw 

(3) Reholstering 

(4) Ready position 

(5) Loading 

(6) Administrative loading 

(7) Tactical reloading 

(8) Rapid reloading 

(9) Unloading 

(10) Malfunctions 

(11) Immediate actions procedures 

(12) Remedial action  

(13) Proper care and maintenance 

(14) Firearms retention  

(15) Ammunition identification and management  

(16) Range safety 

(17) Tactical considerations 

(18) Movement 

(19) Cover and concealment 

b. Fundamentals of marksmanship 

(1) Grip 

(2) Stance (position) 
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(3) Sight alignment 

(4) Sight picture 

(5) Trigger control 

(6) Breathing 

(7) Follow through 

c. Dim light/low light/reduced light practice and 

familiarization 

(1) Identification of target/threat/background 

(2) Unaided training 

(3) Aided training 

(4) Flashlight use 

(5) Reloading during low light conditions 

(6) Malfunctions 

(7) Range safety 

(8) Tactical considerations 

(9) Movement 

(10) Cover and concealment 

(11) Multiple target drills 

d. Use of force 

(1) Deadly force 

(2) Justifiable deadly force 

e. Liability  

(1) Criminal liability 

(2) Civil liability 

(3) Negligent discharge prevention 

f. Judgmental shooting: judgmental shooting scenarios 

will be conducted in the classroom or range 

(1) Shoot/don't shoot judgment 

(2) Turn and fire drills 

(3) Failure to stop drills 

(4) Multiple target drills 

g. Lead exposure 

Total hours (excluding written examination) - 24 hours  

2. Written examination required.  

6VAC20-174-380. Entry-level and security officer 

handgun range qualification. 

A. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 

the range qualification course is to provide practical firearms 

training and qualification to individuals desiring to become 

armed private security services business personnel.  

1. Prior to the date of range training, it will be the 

responsibility of the school director to ensure that all 

students are informed of the proper attire and equipment to 

be worn for the firing range portion of the training. 

Equipment needed: handgun, belt with directional draw 

holster  (i.e., one that is worn on the same side of the body 

as the shooting hand), two speed loaders or three 

magazines, ammunition (100 rounds).  

2. Each student will fire a minimum of 22 rounds of 

factory loaded ammunition for familiarization prior to 

qualification. (There is no course of fire and it is not 

scored; it is at the firearms instructor's discretion on how 

the round will be utilized.) 

3. Course shall be fired double action or double/single 

action, except for single action semi-automatic handguns.  

4. All qualifications shall be conducted using a B-27 

silhouette target or the FBI "Q" target. Alternate targets 

may be utilized with prior approval by the department.  

5. With prior approval of the department, a reasonable 

modification of the firearms course may be approved to 

accommodate qualification on indoor ranges.  

6. For those utilizing semi-automatic firearms, it is not 

necessary to reload after every stage so long as there are at 

least three tactical reloads during the course of fire. 

7. A certified firearms instructor must be present on the 

range directly controlling the firing line during all phases 

of firearms training. There shall be a minimum of one 

certified firearms instructor per five shooters on the line.  

8. The range qualification of individuals shall be scored as 

follows:  

a. B27 target: (use indicated K-value) 7, 8, 9, 10 X rings - 

value 5 points, other hits on silhouette - value 0 points: 

divide points scored by maximum possible score to 

obtain decimal and convert to percentage, (e.g., 225 ÷ 

300 =.75 = 75%).  

b. FBI Q target: all hits inside the bottle - value 5 points; 

hits outside the bottle - value 0 points.  

9. Although not scored, each student is required to 

complete the low light range/night time practice as outlined 

in subsection C of this section and the familiarization 

course of fire.  

B. Course: Virginia private security course of fire for 

handguns. The course of fire shall be conducted using, at a 

minimum, the requirements set forth in this subsection. 

Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in firing 

the firearm. The opposite hand may be used for support. The 

course of fire shall be conducted in the following phases: 

1. Phase 1: 3 yards, utilizing weaver, modified weaver, or 

isosceles stance, 18 rounds: 

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm  

b. On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 

repeat 2 times 

c. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm 

d. On command, draw and fire 6 rounds with strong hand 

e. Unload, reload 6 rounds and fire 6 rounds with weak 

hand (25 seconds) 
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2. Phase 2: 7 yards, utilizing weaver, modified weaver or 

isosceles stance, 24 rounds: 

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm 

b. On command, draw and fire 1 round (2 seconds), 

repeat 5 times 

c. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm 

d. On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 

repeat 2 times 

e. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm 

f. On command, draw and fire 6 rounds, reload 6 rounds, 

fire 6 rounds (30 seconds) 

3. Phase 3: 15 yards, 70 seconds, 18 rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm 

b. On command, assume kneeling position, draw and fire 

6 rounds with strong hand 

c. Assume standing position, unload, reload and fire 6 

rounds from weak-hand barricade position 

d. Unload, reload and fire 6 rounds from strong-hand 

barricade position (kneeling position may be fired using 

barricade position) (70 seconds) 

C. Low light course: Virginia private security low light 

familiarization course of fire for handguns. The course of fire 

shall be conducted using, at a minimum, the requirements set 

forth in this subsection. Equipment needed: belt with 

directional draw holster, handgun, two speed loaders or three 

magazines, range ammunition (18 rounds). Equipment 

provided by instructor: A range that can simulate low light or 

a pair of welders goggles for each student that simulates low 

light. Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in 

firing the firearm. The opposite hand may be used for 

support. The course of fire shall be conducted in the 

following phases: 

1. Phase 1: 3 yards, utilizing weaver or isosceles stance, 6 

rounds: 

a. Load 6 rounds and come to ready  

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (3 seconds) repeat 2 times 

(30 seconds) 

2. Phase 2: 7 yards, utilizing weaver or isosceles stance, 12 

rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and come to ready 

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (5 seconds), repeat 2 times 

c. Load 6 rounds and come to ready 

d. On command, draw and fire 3 rounds (6 seconds), and 

repeat  

6VAC20-174-390. Entry-level shotgun training and range 

qualification. 

A. Shotgun classroom training. Individual must first 

successfully complete entry-level or security officer handgun 

training. The entry-level shotgun classroom instruction will 

emphasize but not be limited to:  

1. Shotgun handling techniques 

a. Identification of shotgun parts 

b. Slings – traditional sling, single point sling, 3 point 

sling 

c. Cruiser carry conditions  

d. Cruiser safe 

e. Chambering 

f. Reloading 

g. Transition from handgun to shotgun/shotgun to 

handgun (if applicable) 

h. Malfunctions 

(1) Immediate actions procedures 

(2) Remedial action  

i. Proper care and maintenance 

j. Shotgun retention 

k. Ammunition management and identification 

l. Range safety 

m. Dim light/low light 

2. Fundamentals of shotgun marksmanship 

a. Grip 

b. Stance (position) 

c. Sight alignment 

d. Sight picture 

e. Trigger control 

f. Breathing 

g. Follow through 

3. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examination) - 3 hours  

B. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 

the range firing course is to provide practical shotgun training 

and qualification to those individuals who carry or have 

immediate access to a shotgun in the performance of their 

duties.  

1. Familiarization: Prior to the qualification course, all 

shooters are required to fire a familiarization exercise 

consisting of 5 rounds using 12 gauge, double aught "00" 

buckshot or rifle slug ammunition and 6 rounds minimum 

of handgun rounds. The exercise shall include transition 

drills from handgun to shotgun and shotgun to handgun. 

This exercise is not scored and the distance is at the 

discretion of the instructor.  

2. Fire 5 rounds of shotgun rounds (buckshot, rifled slugs, 

or both, if issued) on a daylight course using B27 

single/multiple targets with 70% accuracy. 

C. Course: Virginia private security course of fire for 

shotguns.  
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Distance Position 
No. 

Rounds 
Target Time 

Combat 

load & fire 

15 Yds. 

Standing/ 

Shoulder 3  

B-27 

Silhouette 
20 

sec. 

Combat 

load & fire 

25 Yds. 

Kneeling/ 

Shoulder 2  

B-27 

Silhouette 
15 

sec. 

D. A certified firearms instructor must be present on the 

range directly controlling the firing line during all phases of 

firearms range training. There shall be a minimum of one 

certified firearms instructor per five shooters on the line.  

6VAC20-174-400. Advanced handgun training and range 

qualification. 

A. The entry level handgun training is a prerequisite for 

taking the advanced handgun training.  

B. Advanced handgun classroom training.  

1. The advanced handgun training will include but not be 

limited to:  

a. Firearms safety;  

b. Civil and criminal liability;  

c. Concealed carry law and authority;  

d. Function of firearms in close protection operations;  

e. Deployment of firearms in close protection operations;  

f. Use of force;  

g. Principles of advanced marksmanship; and  

h. Decision-making for the personal protection specialist.  

Total hours (excluding written examination) - 14 hours 

2. Written examination required.  

C. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 

this course of fire is to assess and improve the tactical, 

protection-related shooting skills for personal protection 

specialist candidates seeking certification to be armed. This 

course entails five increasingly challenging stages of 

advanced firearms exercises with a 92% score required for 

qualification.  

1. The advanced handgun course of fire is comprised of the 

following exercises:  

a. Shoot/don't shoot judgment;  

b. Turn and fire drills;  

c. Failure to stop drills;  

d. Multiple target drills; and  

e. Judgmental shooting.  

2. For all range practicals (Stage 2 through stage 4):  

a. The student will fire at a man-size silhouette target 

with the following requirements:  

(1) 4-inch diameter circle in head;  

(2) 8-inch diameter circle in chest/body area; and  

(3) Center points of circles - 13-1/2 inches apart.  

b. All rounds fired must hit within these circles.  

c. Minimum 92% qualification score = 25 rounds total 

requiring 23 hits. With regard to scoring:  

(1) 25 points (1 round is good for 1 point).  

(2) 92% of shots must be "in circle" hits for a passing 

grade (2 misses allowed on total course).  

(3) Shots not taken during stage 5 when a "no-shoot" 

situation is presented scores a point, just as an accurate 

shot in a hostile situation.  

(4) 92% is 23 of 25 possible points.  

3. A certified advanced handgun firearms instructor must 

be on the range during all phases of advanced handgun 

training. There shall be no less than one certified firearms 

instructor per four students.  

D. Course: Virginia private security advanced handgun 

course of fire.  

1. Stage 1: Shoot/don't shoot drill. Stage 1 of the advanced 

handgun course of fire is conducted in a classroom using a 

16 mm film or video cassette tape, or other audiovisual 

electronics, of firearms combat scenarios or in practical 

exercises on the range to assess the student's decision-

making capability given job-related shoot/don't shoot 

incidents.  

After the interaction of the scenario, the students must 

explain all of their commands and actions.  

Dry-fire response from a weapon rendered safe should be 

incorporated into the scenario interaction.  

2. Stage 2: Turn-and-fire drill. Stage 2 of the advanced 

handgun course of fire is held at a firing range and consists 

of turn-and-fire drills from varying distances (straight draw 

hip holsters only).  

All handguns are loaded with 6 rounds of ammunition and 

safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with their backs 

to the targets, facing the instructor up-range. The instructor 

will command all shooters to walk at a normal pace, 

directly away from the target. Upon the command "fire," 

the students must quickly turn while acquiring a firm grip 

on the weapon. Once facing the target and in a stable 

position, they must safely draw and fire 2 rounds at the 

designated target circle. After shooting, while facing the 

target, the student must reholster safely, then turn around 

to face up range, ready to continue the exercise. The "fire" 

commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 5-7 yards, and then 

8-10 yards.  

3. Stage 3: Failure to stop drill. Stage 3 of the advanced 

handgun course of fire is held at a firing range and consists 

of failure to stop drills fired from the 7-yard line (straight 

draw hip holsters only).  

All handguns are loaded with 6 rounds of ammunition and 

are safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with their 

backs to the targets, facing the instructor up-range. The 
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instructor will command all shooters to walk at a normal 

pace, directly away from the target. Upon the command 

"fire," given at approximately the 7-yard line, each shooter 

must safely turn around while acquiring a firm grip on their 

weapon as performed in the previous drill. Once facing the 

target, the students will draw and fire 2 rounds at the 8-

inch body circle, and then one immediate round to the 4-

inch head circle. The student will then safely reholster. The 

drill will be repeated three times.  

4. Stage 4: Multiple target identification drill. Stage 4 of 

the advanced handgun course of fire is held at a firing 

range and consists of multiple target identification drills 

fired from varying distances (straight draw hip holsters 

only).  

Each shooter will line up on a set of three targets. Only two 

shooters at one time can complete this exercise on a 

standard 10-12 station range. However, smaller ranges may 

allow for only one shooter at a time.  

Each handgun is loaded with six rounds of ammunition and 

safely holstered. The shooters are positioned with their 

backs to the targets, facing the instructor up-range. The 

instructor will command all shooters to walk at a normal 

pace, directly away from the targets. Upon the command 

"left," "right," or "center," the student must again turn 

around safely while establishing a firm grip on the weapon. 

Then, once stable, the student must quickly draw and fire 2 

rounds at the designated circle on the "called" target ("L," 

"R," "C"). Then, the shooter, while still facing the targets, 

must safely reholster, turn around to face up range, and 

continue the exercise. Each two-round pair must be fired 

within 4 seconds of the called command. Direction 

commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 5-7 yards, and then 

8-10 yards.  

5. Stage 5: Judgmental shooting. This drill combines the 

skills developed in the prior four stages. The shooter will 

be required to safely turn and fire at a "photograph" type 

target which may be either friendly or hostile. It requires 

hostile targets to be stopped using deadly force. Necessity 

(immediate jeopardy) is presumed for this exercise. This 

stage allows the instructor to evaluate the decision-making 

capability of the student as well as his shooting accuracy 

and safety.  

Shooter is placed on the 10-yard line facing the instructor 

with the target to his rear. The target will be placed at any 

location along the range target line and should not be seen 

by the student until he is given the "turn" command during 

the drill. Each shooter has the opportunity to complete this 

drill four times. Each decision is worth one point. If he 

shoots at a hostile target, a hit anywhere on that target will 

score the point. If a friendly target is presented, it is clearly 

a no-shoot situation and the student should merely holster 

safely to score the point. There is a 4-second time limit at 

this stage for any "shoot" situation.  

The instructor will allow each shooter two opportunities to 

complete this drill and place two targets downrange for 

each. Four points or hits are still necessary at this stage for 

the total score. If two targets are used, then the time limit is 

raised to 6 seconds, regardless of whether two hostile 

targets are used or one hostile with one friendly.  

6VAC20-174-410. Entry-level patrol rifle training and 

range qualification. 

A. Patrol rifle classroom training. Individual must first 

successfully complete security officer handgun training. The 

entry-level patrol rifle classroom instruction will emphasize 

but not be limited to:  

1. Rifle handling techniques 

a. Nomenclature and identification of rifle parts 

b. Field striping and reassembling 

c. Loading and unloading 

d. Chambering 

e. Reloading 

f. Slings 

(1) Traditional sling 

(2) Single point sling 

(3) 3-point sling 

g. Transition from handgun to rifle and rifle to handgun  

h. Malfunctions 

i. Immediate actions procedures 

j. Remedial action  

k. Proper care and maintenance 

l. Rifle retention  

m. Ammunition management and identification 

n. Range safety 

o. Dim light/low light  

2. Fundamentals of rifle marksmanship 

a. Grip 

b. Stance (position) 

c. Sight alignment 

d. Sight picture 

e. Trigger control 

f. Breathing 

g. Follow through 

3. Zeroing iron sights 

a. Establishing mechanical zero 

b. Zeroing process 

4. Dim light shooting 

a. Hours of darkness/dim light 

b. Identification requirements 

c. Unaided reduced light shooting techniques 
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d. Aided reduced light shooting techniques 

5. Shooting positions 

a. Fundamentals of shooting positions 

b. Basic patrol positions 

6. Use of force 

7. Criminal and civil liability 

8. Written comprehensive examination 

Total hours (excluding examination) - 16 hours  

B. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 

the range firing course is to provide practical patrol rifle 

training and qualification to those individuals who carry or 

have immediate access to a patrol rifle in the performance of 

their duties with the sighting system that will be carried on 

duty.  

C. Patrol rifle qualification course. 

1. All rifle qualification will be done with a law-

enforcement type and caliber rifle. A total of 60 rounds of 

ammunition will be fired for rifle qualification. 

2. All rifle qualification firing will be done with iron 

sights. In addition, if an officer is using an optic while on 

duty, they must qualify with that optic. 

3. All indoor rifle qualification firing will be done at a 

range that accommodates a distance of 25 yards between 

the shooter and the target. No variances of this distance are 

allowed. The indoor target system will contain two targets 

per shooter mounted side by side. The targets will be FBI 

Q-R, half-sized silhouette targets. Use of this target type 

will simulate shooting at 50 yards. 

4. All outdoor rifle qualification firing will be done at 50 

yards using the FBI Q silhouette full-sized targets. Two of 

these targets will be mounted side by side for each shooter. 

5. FBI Q silhouette targets are used for rifle qualification, 

scoring will be all hits inside the bottle – value 5 points; 

outside the bottle – value 0 points. With these targets a 

maximum score of 300 points is possible. Minimum 

qualification is 85% or 255 points. 

D. Patrol rifle course of fire. 

1. Prior to qualification, all shooters are required to fire a 

minimum of 30 familiarization rounds which will include 

transition drills from handgun to rifle and rifle to handgun. 

Shooters will fire a minimum of 10 rounds with a handgun. 

This exercise is not scored and the distance is at the 

discretion of the instructor.  

2. Stage 1: 50 yards/25 yards (indoors) – Shooters will load 

their rifle with a magazine of 20 rounds and place the 

selector on safe. From the standing position with the rifle 

in the sling carry position, on command the shooters will 

fire 5 rounds from the standing position, place the selector 

on safe, assume a kneeling position and fire 5 rounds, place 

the selector on safe; shooter will assume the prone 

position, the shooter will fire 10 rounds. All 20 rounds of 

this stage will be fired at the left hand target. (1 minute) 

When firing is complete shooters will place the selector on 

safe and await further command. 

3. Stage 2: 25 yards – Shooters will load their rifle with a 

magazine of 15 rounds and place the selector on safe. From 

the standing position with the rifle in the sling carry 

position, on command the shooters will fire 5 rounds from 

the standing position, place the selector on safe, assume a 

kneeling position and fire 5 rounds, place the selector on 

safe; shooter will assume the prone position, the shooter 

will fire 5 rounds. All 15 rounds of this stage will be fired 

at the right hand target. (45 seconds) When firing is 

complete shooters will place the selector on safe and await 

further command. 

4. Stage 3: 15 yards - On command shooters will assume 

the standing position and load rifle with a magazine of 10 

rounds. On command shooters will fire 5 rounds at the 

right-hand target, place the selector on safe, assume the 

kneeling position and fire 5 rounds at the left-hand target in 

15 seconds. 

5. Stage 4: 7 yards - On command shooters will load rifle 

with a magazine of 20 rounds, selector in the safe position, 

and then place the rifle in the sling carry position. On 

command shooters will fire 2 rounds into the right target 

with a 2 second time limit. Upon completion of firing, 

shooters will place the selector on safe and the rifle in the 

sling carry position. This exercise will be fired 5 times 

with a total of 10 rounds expended. 

6. Stage 5: 5 yards - On command shooters will load rifle 

with a magazine of 5 rounds, selector in the safe position, 

and then place the rifle in the sling carry position. On 

command shooters will fire 1 round into the left target head 

with a 2 second time limit. Upon completion of firing, 

shooters will place the selector on safe and the rifle in the 

sling carry position. This exercise will be fired 5 times 

with a total of 5 rounds expended. 

E. Low light/dim light qualification course of fire. 

7 yards - Under low-light conditions, on command 

shooters will fire 5 rounds at the left target, place the 

selector in the safe position, assume the kneeling position 

and fire 5 rounds at the right target. A time limit of 1 

minute is allowed for this stage. 

6VAC20-174-420. Firearms retraining. 

A. All armed private security services business personnel 

with the exception of personal protection specialists must 

satisfactorily complete four hours of firearms classroom 

training or practical exercises and range training, and 

requalify for handgun as prescribed in this chapter.  

B. Requalification training with the shotgun shall be 

comprised of three hours of classroom training or practical 

exercises and range training and requalification firing as 

specified in this chapter. 
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C. Requalification training with the patrol rifle shall be 

comprised of four hours of firearms classroom training or 

practical exercises and range training and requalification 

firing as specified in this chapter. 

D. All applicable firearms retraining must be completed and 

documented with the department on an annual basis prior to 

the issuance of a firearms endorsement. 

6VAC20-174-430. Advanced handgun retraining. 

All armed private security services business personnel 

registered in the category of personal protection specialist or 

other armed category seeking advanced handgun designation 

must satisfactorily complete advanced handgun retraining, 

which includes eight hours of firearms classroom training and 

range training, and requalify for handgun as prescribed in this 

chapter as follows:  

1. Legal authority and decision-making  

2. Handgun safety, marksmanship, and skill development  

3. Completion of advanced handgun course of fire  

Total hours (excluding range qualification) - 8 hours  

Part X 

Complaints; Department Actions; Adjudication 

6VAC20-174-440. Complaint submittal requirements. 

A. In accordance with § 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia, 

this chapter establishes standards designed to secure the 

public safety and welfare against incompetent or unqualified 

persons engaging in private security services. It shall be the 

responsibility of the licensee, its compliance agents, and its 

employees to provide private security services in a 

professional and ethical manner utilizing sound business 

practices.  

B. Any aggrieved or interested person may file a complaint 

against any person, whose conduct and activities are regulated 

or required to be regulated by the board. The complaint must 

allege a violation of the law governing private security 

services or this chapter.  

C. Complaints may be submitted:  

1. In writing, or on a form provided by the department, by 

a signed complainant;  

2. In writing, submitted anonymously, and providing 

sufficient detailed information for the department to 

conduct an investigation; or  

3. By telephone, providing the complaint alleges activities 

that constitute a life-threatening situation or have resulted 

in personal injury or loss to the public or to a consumer or 

may result in imminent harm or personal injury and that 

provide sufficient detailed information for the department 

to conduct an investigation.  

6VAC20-174-450. Department investigation. 

A. The department may initiate or conduct an investigation 

based on any information received or action taken by the 

department to determine compliance with the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

B. Documentation.  

1. Persons regulated or required to be regulated by this 

chapter pursuant to the Code of Virginia are required to 

provide department investigators with any and all records 

required to be maintained by this chapter.  

a. This shall not be construed to authorize the department 

to demand records protected under applicable federal and 

state laws. If such records are necessary to complete an 

investigation, the department may seek a subpoena to 

satisfy the request.  

b. The department shall endeavor to review, and request 

as necessary, only those records required to verify 

alleged violations of compliance with the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. The department shall endeavor to keep any 

documentation, evidence, or information on an 

investigation confidential until such time as adjudication 

has been completed, at which time information may be 

released upon request pursuant to applicable federal and 

state laws or regulations.  

6VAC20-174-460. Disciplinary action; sanctions; 

publication of records. 

A. Each person subject to jurisdiction of this chapter who 

violates any statute or regulation pertaining to private security 

services shall be subject to sanctions imposed by the 

department regardless of criminal prosecution.  

B. The department may impose any of the following 

sanctions, singly or in combination, when it finds the 

respondent in violation or in noncompliance of the Code of 

Virginia or of this chapter:  

1. Letter of reprimand or censure;  

2. Probation for any period of time;  

3. Suspension of registration or approval granted, for any 

period of time;  

4. Revocation;  

5. Refusal to issue, renew, or reinstate a registration or 

approval;  

6. Fine not to exceed $2,500 per violation as long as the 

respondent was not criminally prosecuted;  

7. Remedial training; or 

8. Conditional agreements. 

C. The department may conduct hearings and issue cease 

and desist orders to persons who engage in activities 

prohibited by this chapter but do not hold a valid registration. 

Any person in violation of a cease and desist order entered by 

the department shall be subject to all of the remedies provided 

by law and, in addition, shall be subject to a civil penalty 

payable to the party injured by the violation.  



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 25  Virginia Register of Regulations August 10, 2015 

2366 

D. The director may summarily suspend a registration under 

this chapter without a hearing, simultaneously with the filing 

of a formal complaint and notice for a hearing, if the director 

finds that the continued operations of the registrant would 

constitute a life-threatening situation, has resulted in personal 

injury or loss to the public or to a consumer, or may result in 

imminent harm, personal injury, or loss.  

E. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of 

public record and shall be preserved. The department may 

publish a list of the names and addresses of all persons and 

registrants whose conduct and activities are subject to this 

chapter and have been sanctioned or denied registration or 

approval.  

6VAC20-174-470. Fines; administrative and investigative 

costs. 

A. The department may recover costs of any investigation 

and adjudication of any violations of the Code of Virginia or 

regulations that result in a sanction, including fine, probation, 

suspension, revocation, or denial of any registration. Such 

costs shall be in addition to any monetary penalty that may be 

imposed.  

B. All monetary penalties imposed as a sanction shall be 

deposited into the state treasury to the credit of the State 

Literary Fund.  

6VAC20-174-480. Hearing process. 

Following a preliminary investigative process, the 

department may initiate action to resolve the complaint 

through an informal fact-finding conference or formal hearing 

as established in this chapter. Pursuant to the authority 

conferred in § 9.1-141 C 6 of the Code of Virginia and in 

accordance with the procedures set forth by the 

Administrative Process Act and the procedures prescribed in 

this part, the department is empowered to receive, review, 

investigate, and adjudicate complaints concerning the conduct 

of any person whose activities are regulated by the board. The 

board will hear and act upon appeals arising from decisions 

made by the director. In all case decisions, the Criminal 

Justice Services Board shall be the final agency authority.  

6VAC20-174-490. Informal fact-finding conference. 

The purpose of an informal fact-finding conference is to 

resolve allegations through informal consultation and 

negotiation. Informal fact-finding conferences shall be 

conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia. The respondent, the person against whom the 

complaint is filed, may appeal the decision of an informal 

fact-finding conference and request a formal hearing, 

provided that written notification is given to the department 

within 30 days of the date the informal fact-finding decision 

notice was served, or the date it was mailed to the respondent, 

whichever occurred first. In the event the informal fact-

finding decision was served by mail, three days shall be 

added to that period.  

6VAC20-174-500. Formal hearing. 

A. Formal hearing proceedings may be initiated in any case 

in which the basic laws provide expressly for a case decision, 

or in any case to the extent the informal fact-finding 

conference has not been conducted or an appeal thereto has 

been timely received. Formal hearings shall be conducted in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. The 

findings and decision of the director resulting from a formal 

hearing may be appealed to the board.  

B. After a formal hearing pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Code 

of Virginia wherein a sanction is imposed to fine or to 

suspend, revoke, or deny issuance or renewal of any 

registration or approval, the department may assess the holder 

thereof the cost of conducting such hearing when the 

department has final authority to grant such registration or 

approval, unless the department determines that the offense 

was inadvertent or done in good faith belief that such act did 

not violate a statute or regulation. The cost shall be limited to 

(i) the reasonable hourly rate for the hearing officer and (ii) 

the actual cost of recording the proceedings. This assessment 

shall be in addition to any fine imposed by sanctions.  

6VAC20-174-510. Appeals. 

The findings and the decision of the director may be 

appealed to the board provided that written notification is 

given to the attention of the Director, Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, within 30 days following the date 

notification of the hearing decision was served, or the date it 

was mailed to the respondent, whichever occurred first. In the 

event the hearing decision is served by mail, three days shall 

be added to that period. (Rule 2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia 

Supreme Court.)  

6VAC20-174-520. Court review; appeal of final agency 

order. 

A. The agency's final administrative decision (final agency 

order) may be appealed. Any person affected by and claiming 

the unlawfulness of the agency's final case decision shall have 

the right to direct review thereof by an appropriate and timely 

court action. Such appeal actions shall be initiated in the 

circuit court of jurisdiction in which the party applying for 

review resides; however, if such party is not a resident of 

Virginia, the venue shall be in the city of Richmond, Virginia.  

B. Notification shall be given to the attention of the 

Director, Department of Criminal Justice Services, in writing 

within 30 days of the date notification of the board decision 

was served, or the date it was mailed to the respondent, 

whichever occurred first. In the event the board decision was 

served by mail, three days shall be added to that period. (Rule 

2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia Supreme Court.)  

C. During all judicial proceedings incidental to such 

disciplinary action, the sanctions imposed by the board shall 

remain in effect, unless the court issues a stay of the order.  
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-174) 

Registration  

Private Security Services - Duplicate/Replacement 

Registration Application (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Initial Registration Application 

(eff. 3/13) 

Private Security Services - Renewal Registration 

Application (eff. 3/13) 

Private Security Services - Additional Registration Category 

Application (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Firearms Endorsement 

Application (eff. 10/12) 

Fingerprint Processing  

DCJS Fingerprint Cards Order Form (undated) 

Fingerprint Processing Application (eff. 10/12) 

Criminal History Supplemental Form (eff. 10/12) 

Fingerprint Application Instructions (eff. 10/12) 

Acceptable Documents for Verifying Legal Presence/Name 

Change (eff. 10/12) 

Miscellaneous  

Locksmith - Training Waiver (eff. 10/12) 

Complaint Form (eff. 10/12) 

Firearms Discharge Report (eff. 10/12) 

Training Exemption Application - Entry Level (eff. 10/12) 

Training Exemption Application - In-Service (eff. 10/12) 

Request for Extension Form (eff. 10/12) 

Individual Address Change Form (eff. 10/12) 

Credit Card Authorization Form (eff. 10/12)  

FORMS (6VAC20-174-9999) 

Registration  

Private Security Services - Duplicate/Replacement 

Registration Application (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Initial Registration Application 

(eff. 3/13) 

Private Security Services - Renewal Registration 

Application (eff. 3/13) 

Private Security Services - Additional Registration Category 

Application (eff. 10/12) 

Private Security Services - Firearms Endorsement 

Application (eff. 10/12) 

Fingerprint Processing  

DCJS Fingerprint Cards Order Form (undated) 

Fingerprint Processing Application (eff. 10/12) 

Criminal History Supplemental Form (eff. 10/12) 

Fingerprint Application Instructions (eff. 10/12) 

Acceptable Documents for Verifying Legal Presence/Name 

Change (eff. 10/12) 

Miscellaneous  

Locksmith - Training Waiver (eff. 10/12) 

Complaint Form (eff. 10/12) 

Firearms Discharge Report (eff. 10/12) 

Training Exemption Application - Entry Level (eff. 10/12) 

Training Exemption Application - In-Service (eff. 10/12) 

Request for Extension Form (eff. 10/12) 

Individual Address Change Form (eff. 10/12) 

Credit Card Authorization Form (eff. 10/12)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3957; Filed July 15, 2015, 4:12 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Education 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-22. Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel (amending 8VAC20-22-10, 8VAC20-22-

40, 8VAC20-22-50, 8VAC20-22-110, 8VAC20-22-220 

through 8VAC20-22-250, 8VAC20-22-270, 8VAC20-22-

280, 8VAC20-22-290).  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 9, 2015.  
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to a teacher seeking an initial license who has not attained 

an industry certification credential in the area in which the 

teacher seeks endorsement to allow time for the teacher to 

attain the required credential; and (iv) establish that no 

person may be compelled to satisfy license renewal 

requirements by completing coursework and earning credit 

at an institution of higher education. The amendments 

conform the regulation to Chapters 53, 440, 588, and 650 

of the 2013 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 385 and 562 of 

the 2015 Acts of Assembly. 

Part I  

Definitions  

8VAC20-22-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings indicated unless the 

context clearly implies otherwise: 

"Accredited institution" means an institution of higher 

education accredited by a regional accrediting agency 

recognized by the United States Department of Education. 

"Alternate route to licensure" means a nontraditional route 

to licensure available to individuals who meet the criteria 

specified in 8VAC20-22-90. 

"Approved program" means a professional education 

program recognized as meeting state standards for the content 

and operation of such programs so graduates of the program 

will be eligible for state licensure. The Board of Education 

has the authority to approve programs in Virginia. 

"Cancellation" means the withdrawal of a teaching license 

following the voluntary return of the license by the license 

holder. 

"Certified provider" means a provider certified by the 

Department of Education to provide preparation and training 

for applicants seeking the Provisional License specified in 

8VAC20-22-90. 

"Collegiate Professional License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has satisfied 

all requirements for licensure, including the professional 

teacher's assessments prescribed by the Board of Education. 

"Content area coursework" means courses at the 

undergraduate level (i.e., two-year or four-year institution) or 

at the graduate level that will not duplicate previous courses 

taken in the humanities, history and social sciences, the 

sciences, mathematics, health and physical education, and the 

fine arts. These courses are usually available through the 

college or department of arts or sciences. 

"Denial" means the refusal to grant a teaching license to a 

new applicant or to an applicant who is reapplying after the 

expiration of a license. 

"Division Superintendent License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has 

completed an earned master's degree from an accredited 

institution of higher education and meets the requirements 

specified in 8VAC20-22-600. The individual's name must be 

listed on the Board of Education's list of eligible division 

superintendents. 

"Experiential learning" means a process of applying for an 

initial license through the alternate route as prescribed by the 

Board of Education and meeting the criteria specified in 

8VAC20-22-90 E to be eligible to request experiential 

learning credits in lieu of the coursework for the endorsement 

(teaching) content area. 

"Industry certification credential" means a an active career 

and technical education credential that is earned by 

successfully completing a Board of Education-approved 

industry certification examination, being issued a state 

professional license in the Commonwealth, or successfully 

completing an occupational competency examination. 

"International Educator License" means a three-year cultural 

exchange opportunity for Virginia students and international 

teachers. The International Educator License is a professional, 

teaching license issued for no more than three years to an 

exchange educator with citizenship in a nation other than the 

United States of America and employed as an educator in a 

Virginia public or accredited nonpublic school, to teach for 

up to three consecutive years. 

"Licensure by reciprocity" means a process used to issue a 

license to an individual coming into Virginia the 

Commonwealth from another state when that individual 

meets certain conditions specified in the Board of Education 

regulations. 

"Local Eligibility License" means a license issued pursuant 

to § 22.1-299.3 of the Code of Virginia to an individual by a 

local school board based on specified criteria set forth by that 

section. The Local Eligibility License shall not be issued in 

the federal core teaching areas or special education. The 

license is valid for three years and is not transferable to 

another school division. The Local Eligibility License is a 

nonrenewable credential and is not reciprocal with other 

states. 

"Mentor" means a classroom teacher hired by the local 

school division who has achieved continuing contract status 

or other instructional personnel including retired teachers who 

meet local mentor selection criteria. The mentor should work 

in the same building as the beginning teacher or be 

instructional personnel who is assigned solely as a mentor. A 

mentor should be assigned a limited number of teachers at 

any time. Instructional personnel who are not assigned solely 

as mentors should not be assigned to more than four teachers 

at any time. Mentors guide teachers in the program through 

demonstrations, observations, and consultations. 

"Postgraduate Professional License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has qualified 

for the Collegiate Professional License and who holds an 

appropriate earned graduate degree from a regionally 

accredited institution. 
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"Professional teacher's assessment" means those tests or 

other requirements mandated for licensure as prescribed by 

the Board of Education. 

"Provisional License" means a nonrenewable license valid 

for a period not to exceed three years issued to an individual 

who has allowable deficiencies for full licensure as set forth 

in these regulations. The individual must have a minimum of 

an undergraduate degree from a regionally accredited college 

or university (with the exception of those individuals seeking 

the Technical Professional License). The Provisional License, 

with the exception of those individuals seeking licensure 

through a career switcher program who will be issued a one-

year Provisional License, will be issued for three years. 

Individuals must complete all requirements for a renewable 

license within the validity period of the license.  

"Pupil Personnel Services License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has earned 

an appropriate graduate degree from a regionally accredited 

institution with an endorsement for guidance counselor, 

school psychologist, school social worker, or vocational 

evaluator. This license does not require teaching experience. 

"Renewable license" means a license issued by the Board of 

Education for five years to an individual who meets the 

requirements specified in the Board of Education regulations. 

"Revocation" means the withdrawal of a teaching license. 

"Suspension" means the temporary withdrawal of a teaching 

license. 

"Teach For America License" means a two-year provisional 

license available to an individual who is a participant in 

Teach For America and meets the requirements specified in 

8VAC20-22-50. 

"Technical Professional License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has 

graduated from an accredited high school (or possesses a 

General Education Development Certificate); has exhibited 

academic proficiency, technical competency, and 

occupational experience; and meets the requirements 

specified in 8VAC20-22-50. 

8VAC20-22-40. Conditions for licensure. 

A. Applicants for licensure must: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Pay the appropriate fees as determined by the Board of 

Education and complete the application process; 

3. Have earned a baccalaureate degree (with the exception 

of the Technical Professional License) from a regionally 

accredited institution of higher education and meet 

requirements for the license sought. Persons seeking initial 

licensure who graduate from Virginia institutions of higher 

education shall only be licensed as instructional personnel 

by the Board of Education if the endorsement areas offered 

at such institutions have been assessed by a national 

accrediting agency or by a state approval process with final 

approval by the Board of Education; and 

4. Possess good moral character (free of conditions 

outlined in Part VII (8VAC20-22-690 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

B. All candidates who hold at least a baccalaureate degree 

from a regionally accredited college or university and who 

seek an initial Virginia teaching license must obtain passing 

scores on professional teacher's assessments prescribed by the 

Board of Education. With the exception of the career switcher 

program that requires assessments as prerequisites, 

individuals must complete the professional teacher's 

assessments within the three-year validity of the initial 

provisional license. Candidates seeking a Technical 

Professional License, the International License, the School 

Manager License, or the Pupil Personnel Services License are 

not required to take the professional teacher's assessments. 

Individuals who hold a valid out-of-state license (full 

credential with no deficiencies) and who have completed a 

minimum of three years of full-time, successful teaching 

experience in a public or accredited nonpublic school 

(kindergarten through grade 12) in a state other than Virginia 

are exempted from the professional teacher's assessment 

requirements. 

C. All individuals seeking an initial endorsement in 

early/primary education preK-3, elementary education preK-

6, special education-general curriculum, special education-

hearing disorders, special education-visual impairments and 

individuals seeking an endorsement as a reading specialist 

must obtain passing scores on a reading instructional 

assessment prescribed by the Board of Education. 

D. Licensure by reciprocity is set forth in 8VAC20-22-100. 

A school leader's assessment prescribed by the Board of 

Education must be met for all individuals who are seeking an 

initial endorsement authorizing them to serve as principals 

and assistant principals in the public schools. Individuals 

seeking an initial administration and supervision endorsement 

who are interested in serving as central office instructional 

personnel are not required to take and pass the school leaders 

assessment prescribed by the Board of Education. 

E. Individuals seeking initial licensure must demonstrate 

proficiency in the use of educational technology for 

instruction, complete study in child abuse recognition and 

intervention in accordance with curriculum guidelines 

developed by the Board of Education in consultation with the 

Department of Social Services, and receive professional 

development in instructional methods tailored to promote 

student academic progress and effective preparation for the 

Standards of Learning end-of-course and end-of-grade 

assessments. 

F. Every person seeking initial licensure of a license shall 

provide evidence of completion of certification or training in 

emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the 

use of automated external defibrillators. The certification or 
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training program shall be based on the current national 

evidenced-based emergency cardiovascular care guidelines 

for cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an 

automated external defibrillator, such as a program developed 

by the American Heart Association or the American Red 

Cross. The Virginia Board of Education shall provide a 

waiver for this requirement for any person with a disability 

whose disability prohibits such person from completing the 

certification or training. 

G. Every teacher seeking initial licensure an initial license in 

the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of career 

and technical education shall have an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement. If a teacher seeking an initial 

license in the Commonwealth has not attained an industry 

certification credential in the area in which the teacher seeks 

endorsement, the board may, upon request of the employing 

school division or educational agency, issue the teacher a 

provisional license to allow time for the teacher to attain such 

credential. 

8VAC20-22-50. Types of licenses; dating licenses. 

The following types of licenses are available: 

1. Provisional License. The Provisional License is a 

nonrenewable license valid for a period not to exceed three 

years issued to an individual who has allowable 

deficiencies for full licensure as set forth in these 

regulations. The individual must have a minimum of an 

undergraduate degree from a regionally accredited college 

or university (with the exception of those individuals 

seeking the Technical Professional License).The 

Provisional License, with the exception of those 

individuals seeking licensure through a career switcher 

program, will be issued for three years. Individuals must 

complete the requirements for the regular, five-year license 

within the validity period of the Provisional License. 

2. Collegiate Professional License. The Collegiate 

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has satisfied all 

requirements for licensure, including an earned 

undergraduate degree from a regionally accredited college 

or university and the professional teacher's assessments 

prescribed by the Board of Education. 

3. Postgraduate Professional License. The Postgraduate 

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has qualified for the 

Collegiate Professional License and who holds an 

appropriate earned graduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university. 

4. Technical Professional License. The Technical 

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to a person who has graduated from an accredited 

high school (or possesses a General Education 

Development Certificate); has exhibited academic 

proficiency, skills in literacy and communication, technical 

competency, and occupational experience; and has 

completed nine semester hours of specialized professional 

studies credit from a regionally accredited college or 

university. The nine semester hours of professional studies 

coursework must include human growth and development 

(three semester hours), curriculum and instructional 

procedures (three semester hours), and applications of 

instructional technology or classroom and behavior 

management (three semester hours). The Technical 

Professional License is issued at the recommendation of an 

employing educational agency in the areas of career and 

technical education, educational technology, and military 

science. Individuals seeking military science must have the 

appropriate credentials issued by the United States 

military. In addition to demonstrating competency in the 

endorsement area sought, the individual must: 

a. Hold a license issued by the appropriate Virginia board 

for those program areas requiring a license and a 

minimum of two years of satisfactory experience at the 

journeyman level or an equivalent; 

b. Have completed a registered apprenticeship program 

and two years of satisfactory experience at the 

journeyman level or an equivalent level in the trade; or 

c. Have four years of work experience at the management 

or supervisory level or equivalent or have a combination 

of four years of training and work experience at the 

management or supervisory level or equivalent. 

Individuals holding the Technical Professional License 

who seek the Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate 

Professional License must meet the professional teacher's 

assessments requirement. 

5. School Manager License. The school manager license is 

a five-year, renewable license intended to provide for the 

differentiation of administrative responsibilities in a school 

setting. A school manager is licensed to administer 

noninstructional responsibilities in an educational setting. 

For example, a school manager is restricted from 

evaluating teachers, supervising instruction, developing 

and evaluating curriculum, and serving as a school's 

student disciplinarian. The license is available to a 

candidate who holds a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university; has three years 

of successful managerial experience; and is recommended 

for the license by a Virginia school division 

superintendent. 

6. Pupil Personnel Services License. The Pupil Personnel 

Services License is a five-year, renewable license available 

to an individual who has earned an appropriate graduate 

degree from a regionally accredited college or university 

with an endorsement for guidance counselor, school 

psychologist, school social worker, or vocational evaluator. 

This license does not require teaching experience. 

7. Division Superintendent License. The Division 

Superintendent License is a five-year, renewable license 
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available to an individual who has completed an earned 

master's degree from a regionally accredited college or 

university and meets the requirements specified in 

8VAC20-22-600. The individual's name must be listed on 

the Board of Education's list of eligible division 

superintendents. 

8. International Educator License. The International 

Educator License provides a three-year cultural exchange 

opportunity for Virginia students and international 

teachers. The International Educator License is a 

professional, teaching license issued for no more than three 

years to an exchange educator with citizenship in a nation 

other than the United States of America, and employed as 

an educator in a Virginia public or accredited nonpublic 

school, to teach for up to three consecutive years. This 

license does not require professional teacher's assessments; 

however, the individual will be subject to assessment 

requirements if the individual seeks a five-year renewable 

license. To be issued the International Educator License an 

individual must: 

a. Be employed by a Virginia public or accredited 

nonpublic school; 

b. Hold non-U.S. citizenship and be a nonpermanent 

resident; 

c. Serve as an exchange teacher for a time period not to 

exceed three consecutive years; and 

d. Meet the following requirements as verified by a state-

approved, federally-designated Exchange Visitor 

Program (22 CFR Part 62): 

(1) Be proficient in written and spoken English; 

(2) Demonstrate competence in the appropriate academic 

subject area(s); 

(3) Hold the U.S. equivalent of a baccalaureate degree or 

higher as determined by an approved credential agency; 

and 

(4) Hold U.S. or foreign educator credentials and 

completed at least one year of successful teaching 

experience that: 

(a) Enables the educator to fulfill a similar assignment in 

his home country; or 

(b) Is comparable to those requirements for Virginia 

teachers. 

9. Local Eligibility License. The Local Eligibility License, 

established by the Virginia General Assembly, is a valid, 

three-year nonrenewable license issued by a local school 

board to an individual who has met specified criteria set 

forth in § 22.1-299.3 of the Code of Virginia. The Local 

Eligibility License shall not be issued in the federal core 

teaching areas or special education. The license is not 

transferable to another division. The Local Eligibility 

License is a nonrenewable credential and is not reciprocal 

with other states. 

9. Teach For America License. The Teach For America 

License is a two-year provisional license.  

a. This provisional license is available to any participant 

in Teach For America, a nationwide nonprofit 

organization focused on closing the achievement gaps 

between students in high-income and low-income areas, 

who submits an application and meets the following 

requirements:  

(1) Holds, at minimum, a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited institution of higher education;  

(2) Has met the requirements prescribed by the Virginia 

Board of Education for all endorsements sought or has 

met the qualifying scores on the content area assessment 

prescribed by the board for the endorsements sought;  

(3) Possesses good moral character according to criteria 

developed by the Virginia Board of Education;  

(4) Has been offered and has accepted placement in 

Teach For America;  

(5) Has successfully completed pre-service training and 

is participating in the professional development 

requirements of Teach For America, including teaching 

frameworks, curricula, lesson planning, instructional 

delivery, classroom management, assessment and 

evaluation of student progress, classroom diversity, and 

literacy development;  

(6) Has an offer of employment from a local school 

board to teach in a public elementary or secondary school 

in the Commonwealth or a preschool program that 

receives state funds pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-

199.1 of the Code of Virginia; and  

(7) Receives a recommendation from the employing 

school division for a Teach For America License in the 

endorsement area in which the individual seeks to be 

licensed.  

b. In addition to the criteria set forth in subdivision a of 

this subdivision 9, any individual who seeks an 

endorsement in early childhood, early/primary, or 

elementary education shall either (i) agree to complete 

such coursework in the teaching of reading as may be 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education pursuant 

to 8VAC20-22-130 during the first year of employment 

or (ii) achieve a passing score on a reading instructional 

assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education.  

c. Teachers issued a Teach For America provisional 

license shall not be eligible for continuing contract status 

while employed under the authority of a Teach For 

America license and shall be subject to the probationary 

terms of employment specified in § 22.1-303 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

d. The Virginia Board of Education may extend any 

Teach For America License for one additional year upon 

request of the employing school division, provided that 
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no Teach For America License shall exceed a total of 

three years in length. 

e. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 

upon completion of at least two years of full-time 

teaching experience in a public elementary or secondary 

school in the Commonwealth or a preschool program that 

receives state funds pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-

199.1 of the Code of Virginia, an individual holding a 

Teach For America License shall be eligible to receive a 

renewable license if he has (i) achieved satisfactory 

scores on all professional teacher assessments required 

by the Virginia Board of Education and (ii) received 

satisfactory evaluations at the conclusion of each year of 

employment.  

f. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 

the Virginia Board of Education shall issue a Teach For 

America License to any individual who (i) has completed 

two years of successful teaching in the Teach For 

America program in another state, (ii) is not eligible to 

receive a renewable license, and (iii) meets the criteria in 

subdivision a of this subdivision 9. 

All licenses will be effective from July 1 in the school year 

in which the application is made. A Virginia employing 

education division or agency is required to notify 

employees in writing at the time of employment of the 

need to meet appropriate assessment requirements for 

licensure.  

8VAC20-22-110. Requirements for renewing a license. 

A. The Division Superintendent, Postgraduate Professional, 

Collegiate Professional, Technical Professional, Pupil 

Personnel Services, and School Manager Licenses may be 

renewed upon the completion of 180 professional 

development points within a five-year validity period based 

on an individualized professional development plan that 

includes ongoing, sustained, and high-quality professional 

development. Every person seeking renewal of a license shall 

complete all renewal requirements, including professional 

development in a manner prescribed by the board, except that 

no person seeking renewal of a license shall be required to 

satisfy any such requirement by completing coursework and 

earning credit at an institution of higher education. 

B. Virginia public school divisions and public education 

agencies must report annually to the Department of Education 

that instructional personnel have completed high quality 

professional development each year as set forth by the 

Virginia Department of Education. 

C. Any individual licensed and endorsed to teach (i) middle 

school civics or economics or (ii) high school government or 

history who is seeking renewal of such license is required to 

demonstrate knowledge of Virginia history or state and local 

government by completing a module or professional 

development course specifically related to Virginia history or 

state and local government that has a value of five 

professional development points. This requirement applies for 

purposes of the individual's next or initial renewal occurring 

after July 1, 2014. 

D. Every person seeking renewal of a license shall provide 

evidence of completion of certification or training in 

emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the 

use of automated external defibrillators. The certification or 

training program shall be based on the current national 

evidenced-based emergency cardiovascular care guidelines 

for cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an 

automated external defibrillator, such as a program developed 

by the American Heart Association or the American Red 

Cross. The Virginia Board of Education shall provide a 

waiver for this requirement for any person with a disability 

whose disability prohibits such person from completing the 

certification or training. 

E. Professional development points may be accrued by the 

completion of professional development activities to improve 

and increase instructional personnel's knowledge of the 

academic subjects the teachers teach or the area assigned 

from one or more of the following eight options. 

1. College credit. Acceptable coursework offers content 

that provides new information and is offered on-campus, 

off-campus, or through extension by any regionally 

accredited two-year or four-year college or university. 

College coursework must develop further experiences in 

subject content taught, teaching strategies, uses of 

technologies, leadership, and other essential elements in 

teaching to high standards and increasing student learning. 

At least 90 points for each five-year renewal shall be in the 

content area(s) currently being taught if the license holder 

does not hold a graduate degree. Instructional personnel 

must complete coursework to improve and increase the 

knowledge of the academic subjects or endorsement areas 

in which they are assigned. No person seeking renewal of a 

license shall be required to complete coursework and earn 

credit at an institution of higher education. 

2. Professional conference. A professional conference is a 

workshop, institute, or seminar of four or more hours that 

contributes to ongoing, sustained, and high-quality 

professional development. 

3. Curriculum development. Curriculum development is a 

group activity in which the license holder contributes to the 

improvement of the curriculum of a school, a school 

division, or an education institution in the teaching area 

assigned. This includes the alignment of curriculum 

frameworks, instructional materials, and assessments to 

provide a system with clear expectations of what is to be 

taught and learned. 

4. Publication of article. The article must contribute to the 

education profession or to the body of knowledge of the 

license holder's teaching area or instructional position. 

Grant reports that present the results of educational 

research are acceptable provided the license holder had an 

active role in planning, analyzing, interpreting, 
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demonstrating, disseminating, or evaluating the study or 

innovation. The article must be published in a recognized 

professional journal. 

5. Publication of book. Books must be published for 

purchase and must contribute to the education profession 

or to the body of knowledge of the license holder's 

teaching area or instructional position. The published book 

must increase the field of content knowledge, planning and 

assessment for evaluating and providing students with 

feedback that encourages student progress and measures 

student achievement, instruction, safety and learning 

environment, communication and community relations 

working with students, parents, and members of the 

community to promote broad support for student learning. 

Points will not be awarded for books self-published. 

6. Mentorship. Mentoring is the process by which an 

experienced professional, who has received mentorship 

training, provides assistance to one or more persons for the 

purpose of improving their performance. Assistance may 

involve role modeling, direct instruction, demonstration, 

observation with feedback, developing of plans, and 

consultation to promote instructional excellence and 

increased student achievement. Mentoring may include the 

supervision of a field experience of a preservice student 

teacher or an intern in an approved teacher/principal 

preparation program, as well as mentoring as part of the 

induction process for a beginning teacher or a first-year 

administrator. Individuals serving in this role and 

submitting documentation for license renewal based on the 

mentorship option shall receive training as a mentor prior 

to the assignment and at least once during the five-year 

renewal cycle. 

7. Educational project. Educational projects must be 

planned, focused projects based on high standards of 

teaching and learning. Projects must result in a written 

report or other tangible product. Projects must contribute to 

the education profession or to the body of knowledge of 

the license holder's teaching area or instructional position. 

A project could include participation in new professional 

responsibilities, such as leading a school improvement 

initiative. 

8. Professional development activity. Professional 

development activities must focus on student learning and 

achievement, schoolwide educational improvement, 

leadership, subject content, teaching strategies, and use of 

technologies and other essential elements in teaching to 

high standards. Activities must be planned, rigorous, 

systematic, and promote continuous inquiry and reflection. 

Local employing educational agencies are encouraged to 

design professional development activities that are 

conducted in school settings and linked to student learning 

and achievement. 

F. A minimum of 90 points (three semester hours in a 

content area) at the undergraduate (two-year or four-year 

institution) or graduate level in the license holder's 

endorsement areas shall be required of license holders 

without a master's degree and may be satisfied at the 

undergraduate (two-year or four-year institution) or graduate 

level. Special education coursework designed to assist 

classroom teachers and other school personnel in working 

with students with disabilities, a course in gifted education, a 

course in educational technology, or a course in English as a 

second language may be completed to satisfy the content 

course requirement for one cycle of the renewal process. 

Professional development activities designed to support the 

Virginia Standards of Learning, Standards of Accreditation, 

and Assessments may be accepted in lieu of the content 

course for one renewal cycle. The substance of the activities 

must clearly support these initiatives and address one or more 

of the following areas: (i) new content knowledge to 

implement the Virginia Standards of Learning; (ii) curriculum 

development initiative designed to translate the standards 

from standards to classroom objectives; (iii) teaching 

beginning reading skills including phonemic awareness and 

the structure of language (phonics); (iv) staff development 

activities in assessment to assist classroom teachers in the 

utilization of test results to improve classroom instruction; 

and (v) professional development designed to implement the 

technology standards in the schools. Technical Professional 

License holders without baccalaureate degrees may satisfy the 

requirement through career and technical education 

workshops, career and technical education institutes, or 

through undergraduate coursework at two-year or four-year 

institutions. 

G. Content area courses are courses at the undergraduate 

level (two-year or four-year institution) or at the graduate 

level that will not duplicate previous courses taken in the 

humanities, history and social sciences, the sciences, 

mathematics, health and physical education, and the fine arts. 

These courses are usually available through the college or 

department of arts and sciences. License holders with 

elementary education, middle education, special education, or 

reading endorsements must satisfy the 90-point requirement 

through reading coursework or content coursework in one of 

the areas listed above. Courses available through a regionally 

accredited college's or institution's department of education 

may be used to satisfy the content requirement for those 

license holders with endorsements in health and physical 

education, career and technical education, and library science 

education. 

H. With prior approval of the division superintendent, the 90 

points in a content area also may be satisfied through 

coursework taken to obtain a new teaching endorsement or 

coursework taken because of a particular need of a particular 

teacher. 

I. The remaining 90 points F. Points may be accrued by 

activities drawn from one or more of the eight renewal 

options. Renewal work is designed to provide licensed 

personnel with opportunities for professional development 
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relative to the grade levels or teaching fields to which they are 

assigned or for which they seek an added endorsement. Such 

professional development encompasses (i) responsible 

remediation of any area of an individual's knowledge or skills 

that fail to meet the standards of competency and (ii) 

responsible efforts to increase the individual's knowledge of 

new developments in his field and to respond to new 

curricular demands within the person's area of professional 

competence. 

J. G. The proposed work toward renewal in certain options 

must be approved in advance by the chief executive officer or 

designee of the employing educational agency. Persons who 

are not employed by an educational agency may renew or 

reinstate their license by submitting to the Office of 

Professional Licensure, Department of Education, their 

individualized renewal record and verification of points, 

including official student transcripts of coursework taken at 

an accredited two-year or four-year college or university. 

K. H. Accrual of professional development points shall be 

determined by criteria set forth by the Virginia Department of 

Education. 

L. I. Persons seeking license renewal as teachers must 

demonstrate proficiency in the use of educational technology 

for instruction. 

M. J. Virginia school divisions and nonpublic schools will 

recommend renewal of licenses using the renewal point 

system. The renewal recommendation must include 

verification of demonstrated proficiency in the use of 

educational technology for instruction. 

N. K. Training in instructional methods tailored to promote 

academic progress and effective preparation for the Standards 

of Learning tests and end-of-grade assessments is required for 

licensure renewal. 

O. L. If they have not already met the requirement, persons 

seeking licensure renewal as teachers must complete study in 

child abuse recognition and intervention in accordance with 

curriculum guidelines developed by the Board of Education 

in consultation with the Department of Social Services that 

are relevant to the specific teacher licensure routes. 

8VAC20-22-220. Career and technical education – 

agricultural education. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in agricultural education; or 

2. Completed a major in agricultural education or 39 

semester hours of coursework in agriculture, including at 

least three semester hours in each of the following: 

a. Plant science; 

b. Animal science; 

c. Agricultural mechanics; 

d. Agricultural economics and management; 

e. Forestry/wildlife management; and 

f. Horticulture. 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in 

horticulture or agricultural machinery may be granted to 

individuals who have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. Completed four years of occupational experience in the 

endorsement area sought; and 

3. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

growth and development: three semester hours; curriculum 

and instructional procedures in career and technical 

education: three semester hours; and applications of 

instructional technology or classroom and behavior 

management: three semester hours). 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

8VAC20-22-230. Career and technical education – 

business and information technology. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in business and information technology; or 

2. Completed 39 hours of coursework in business and 

information technology, including: 

a. Accounting: six semester hours; 

b. Economics: three semester hours; 

c. Business law, business principles, management, 

marketing, or finance: nine semester hours; 

d. Communications: three semester hours; 

e. Information systems and technology to include 

computer software applications (word processing, 

spreadsheet, database, and presentation) information 
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technology fundamentals, database management, 

programming, and networking: 12 semester hours; 

f. Input technologies to include touch keyboarding 

(required), speech recognition, handwriting recognition, 

Personal Digital Assistants (PDAs) and other hand-held 

devices, touch screen or mouse, scanning, and other 

emerging input technologies: three semester hours; and 

g. Supervised business experience: three semester hours. 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

specialized business and information technology area, such as 

networking, administration, communications systems, 

programming, database management, Internet application 

development, medical office procedures, legal office 

procedures, network administration, and other emerging 

highly specialized areas may be granted to individuals who 

have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. Completed two years of occupational experience in the 

endorsement area sought; 

3. Completed a business program equivalent to a two-year 

associate degree in the endorsement area sought; and 

4. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

growth and development: three semester hours; curriculum 

and instructional procedures in career and technical 

education: three semester hours; and applications of 

instructional technology or classroom and behavior 

management: three semester hours). 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

8VAC20-22-240. Career and technical education – family 

and consumer sciences. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in family and consumer sciences; or 

2. Completed 39 semester hours of coursework distributed 

in the following areas: 

a. Development of individual and family: nine semester 

hours; 

b. Management, family finance, and consumer 

economics: six semester hours; 

c. Food and nutrition: six semester hours; 

d. Housing, home furnishing, and equipment: six 

semester hours; 

e. Clothing and textiles: three semester hours; 

f. Health: three semester hours; 

g. Occupational program management: three semester 

hours; and 

h. Documented work experience related to family and 

consumer sciences: three semester hours. 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

specialized family and consumer sciences area, such as child 

care occupations, consumer services, family and human 

services, fashion design occupations, food occupations, 

hospitality occupations, interior design occupations, and 

home furnishings occupations, and home and institutional 

services, may be granted to individuals who have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. A license or are certified as a professional practitioner in 

the endorsement area sought, if applicable, or demonstrate 

competency in the specialized area of family and consumer 

sciences; 

3. In the area of occupational experience, evidence of at 

least two years or 4,000 clock hours of satisfactory 

occupational experience within the past five years in the 

teaching specialty for which they are seeking endorsement; 

and 

4. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

growth and development: three semester hours; curriculum 

and instructional procedures in career and technical 

education: three semester hours; and applications of 

instructional technology or classroom and behavior 

management: three semester hours). 
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If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

8VAC20-22-250. Career and technical education – health 

and medical sciences. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved program of study for the 

preparation of health care professionals; 

2. A license or be certified as a professional practitioner in 

the endorsement area sought; and 

3. Completed two years of occupational experience in an 

area related to the area to be taught. 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

specialized health occupations area may be granted to 

individuals who have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. A license or be certified as a professional practitioner in 

the endorsement area sought; 

3. Completed two years of occupational experience in the 

area sought; 

4. Completed a health occupations certificate or associate 

degree program; and 

5. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

growth and development: three semester hours; curriculum 

and instructional procedures in career and technical 

education: three semester hours; and applications of 

instructional technology or classroom and behavior 

management: three semester hours). 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

8VAC20-22-270. Career and technical education – 

marketing education. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in marketing education; or 

2. Completed the following educational and occupational 

requirements: 

a. A major in marketing or 30 semester hours of 

coursework distributed in the following areas: marketing 

process and management, economics, merchandising and 

operations, advertising/sales promotion, personal selling, 

marketing math, communication theory and techniques, 

business ethics, human resources/training and 

development, international business/marketing, and 

marketing technology; and 

b. Supervised marketing internship: three semester hours 

or one year of successful work experience in the field of 

marketing. 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

specialized marketing area, such as apparel and accessories, 

financial services, hotel/motel operations, international 

marketing, real estate, or restaurant, may be granted to 

individuals who have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. A license or are certified as a professional practitioner in 

the endorsement area sought; 

3. Completed a registered apprenticeship program and two 

years of satisfactory experience at the journeyman level or 

an equivalent level in the trade; 

4. Completed four years of work experience at the 

management or supervisory level or equivalent or have a 

combination of four years of training and work experience 

at the management or supervisory level or equivalent; and 
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5. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

growth and development: three semester hours; curriculum 

and instructional procedures in career and technical 

education: three semester hours; and applications of 

instructional technology or classroom and behavior 

management: three semester hours). 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

8VAC20-22-280. Career and technical education – 

technology education. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in technology education; 

2. Completed a major in technology education or 39 

semester hours in technology education distributed in the 

following areas: 

a. Technology and culture (experiences shall include the 

historical development of technology and its present and 

future impact on the individual, society, and the 

environment): six semester hours; 

b. Technological foundations (experiences shall include 

technical design and illustration, energy and power, 

electronics, and materials science): 12 semester hours; 

c. Technological processes (experiences shall include 

technical design, material processing, manufacturing, 

construction, and graphic communication): 12 semester 

hours; and 

d. Technological systems (experiences shall include 

communication, production, and transportation systems): 

nine semester hours; or 

3. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university with a major in one of the 

following fields of study: architecture, design, engineering, 

industrial technology, or physics; and completed 12 

semester hours of technology education content 

coursework, including at least three semester hours in each 

of the following areas: technology and culture, 

technological foundations, technological processes, and 

technological systems. 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

8VAC20-22-290. Career and technical education – trade 

and industrial education. 

A. Endorsement requirements. 

1. The candidate must have graduated from an approved 

teacher preparation program in the trade and industrial 

education program subject area for which the candidate is 

seeking endorsement; or 

2. A candidate who has graduated from an approved 

teacher preparation program that is not in the trade and 

industrial education program subject area for which the 

candidate is seeking endorsement must have: 

a. A current state licensure or industry certification based 

upon the prescribed standard or examination, if 

applicable; and 

b. Evidence of at least two years or 4,000 clock hours of 

satisfactory occupational experience within the past five 

years in the teaching specialty for which endorsement is 

sought. A candidate whose occupational experience has 

not been within the last five years must participate in a 

supervised technical update related to the teaching 

specialty or area of endorsement or complete a 

supervised internship of work experience of not less than 

six weeks related to the area of endorsement or teaching 

specialty. 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

specialized trade and industrial education area will be granted 

to individuals who have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. A license or are certified as a professional practitioner in 

the endorsement area sought, if applicable, or can 

demonstrate competency in that area of trade and industrial 

education; 

3. Evidence of at least two years or 4,000 clock hours of 

satisfactory occupational experience within the past five 

years in the teaching specialty for which they are seeking 
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endorsement. Candidates whose occupational experience 

has not been within the last five years must participate in a 

supervised technical update related to the teaching 

specialty or area of endorsement or complete a supervised 

internship of work experience of not less than six weeks 

related to the area of endorsement or teaching specialty; 

and 

4. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

growth and development: three semester hours; curriculum 

and instructional procedures in career and technical 

education: three semester hours; and applications of 

instructional technology or classroom and behavior 

management: three semester hours). 

If an individual is seeking initial licensure an initial license 

in the Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of 

career and technical education, an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher 

seeking an initial license in the Commonwealth has not 

attained an industry certification credential in the area in 

which the teacher seeks endorsement, the board may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time 

for the teacher to attain such credential. 

C. Add-on endorsement requirements. A candidate must: 

1. Hold a Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate 

Professional License with a teaching endorsement; 

2. Demonstrate competency in the trade or technology to 

be taught; 

3. Hold licensure for the trade or industrial area for which 

endorsement is sought based upon the prescribed standard 

or examination; 

4. Have completed two years or 4,000 clock hours of 

satisfactory, full-time employment experience at the 

journeyman level or an equivalent level in the occupation 

within the last five years. Candidates whose occupational 

experience has not been within the last five years must 

participate in a supervised technical update related to the 

teaching specialty or area of endorsement or complete a 

supervised internship of work experience of not less than 

six weeks related to the area of endorsement or teaching 

specialty; and 

5. Have completed three semester hours in curriculum and 

instructional procedures specific to vocational industrial 

education. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4450; Filed July 9, 2015, 10:48 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-110. Credit Counseling 

(amending 10VAC5-110-10, 10VAC5-110-20, 10VAC5-

110-30; adding 10VAC5-110-40 through 10VAC5-110-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-2013 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 4, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Susan Hancock, Deputy Commissioner, 

Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 371-9701, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 

susan.hancock@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) define various terms 

including "advertisement," "business day," and "total 

amount disbursed" and clarify that the Bureau of 

Financial Institutions will retain licensees' surety bonds 

notwithstanding the occurrence of certain events; (ii) 

prescribe the amount of coverage required by 

subdivision A 7 of § 6.2-2005 of the Code of Virginia and 

specify additional events that require licensees to file a 

written report with the Commissioner of Financial 

Institutions; (iii) prohibit a licensee from providing debt 

management plan services in connection with a debt 

management plan that has been set up by a person other 

than a credit counselor employed by the licensee; (iv) 

clarify that money received by a licensee for distribution 

to consumers' creditors is held in trust for the benefit of 

consumers and cannot be commingled with the licensee's 

operating funds or the funds of any other person; (v) 

prohibit a licensee from selling or assigning a debt 

management plan to another person unless the purchaser 

or assignee also is a licensee and require licensees to 

provide consumers with a written notice containing the 

bureau's contact information; (vi) prohibit licensees from 

providing information to the bureau or to consumers that 

is false, misleading, or deceptive; (vii) prescribe the 

application fee for any person submitting an application 

under § 6.2-2007 of the Code of Virginia to acquire 25% 
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or more of the ownership of a licensee and clarify the 

requirements applicable to the disclosures specified in 

subdivision A 9 of § 6.2-2005 of the Code of Virginia; 

(viii) condition the authority of licensees to delegate any 

of their debt pooling and distribution responsibilities to 

third parties and require licensees to disclose certain 

information in their advertisements; and (ix) include 

various technical and clarifying changes.  

AT RICHMOND, JULY 17, 2015 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2015-00039 

Ex Parte: In re: amendments to credit 

counseling regulations 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 6.2-2013 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

adopt such regulations as it deems appropriate to effect the 

purposes of Chapter 20 (§ 6.2-2000 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the 

Code. The Commission's regulations governing licensed 

credit counseling agencies ("licensees") are set forth in 

Chapter 110 of Title 10 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

("Chapter 110"). 

The Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") has 

submitted to the Commission proposed amendments to 

Chapter 110. The proposed regulations (i) define various 

terms including "advertisement," "business day," and "total 

amount disbursed"; (ii) clarify that the Bureau will retain 

licensees' surety bonds notwithstanding the occurrence of 

certain events; (iii) prescribe the amount of coverage required 

by subdivision A 7 of § 6.2-2005 of the Code; (iv) specify 

additional events that require licensees to file a written report 

with the Commissioner of Financial Institutions; (v) prohibit 

a licensee from providing debt management plan services in 

connection with a debt management plan that has been set up 

by a person other than a credit counselor that is employed by 

the licensee; (vi) clarify that money received by a licensee for 

distribution to consumers' creditors is held in trust for the 

benefit of consumers and shall not be commingled with the 

licensee's operating funds or the funds of any other persons; 

(vii) prohibit a licensee from selling or assigning a debt 

management plan to another person unless the purchaser or 

assignee also is a licensee; (viii) require licensees to provide 

consumers with a written notice containing the Bureau's 

contact information; (ix) prohibit licensees from providing 

information to the Bureau or to consumers that is false, 

misleading, or deceptive; (x) prescribe the application fee for 

any person submitting an application under § 6.2-2007 of the 

Code to acquire 25% or more of the ownership of a licensee; 

(xi) clarify the requirements applicable to the disclosures 

specified in subdivision A 9 of § 6.2-2005 of the Code; (xii) 

condition the authority of licensees to delegate any of their 

debt pooling and distribution responsibilities to third parties; 

and (xiii) require licensees to disclose certain information in 

their advertisements. Various technical and other clarifying 

amendments also have been proposed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, based on the information 

supplied by the Bureau, is of the opinion and finds that the 

proposed regulations should be considered for adoption with 

a proposed effective date of October 15, 2015. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations are appended hereto and 

made a part of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed 

regulations must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, 

Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 

23218, on or before September 4, 2015. Requests for a 

hearing shall state why a hearing is necessary and why the 

issues cannot be adequately addressed in written 

comments. All correspondence shall contain a reference to 

Case No. BFI-2015-00039. Interested persons desiring to 

submit comments or request a hearing electronically may 

do so by following the instructions available at the 

Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) This Order and the attached proposed regulations shall 

be posted on the Commission's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

attached proposed regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 

proposed regulations, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 

Commission to the Commission's Office of General Counsel 

and the Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall 

forthwith send by e-mail or U.S. mail a copy of this Order, 

together with a copy of the proposed regulations, to all 

licensed credit counseling agencies and such other interested 

parties as he may designate. 

10VAC5-110-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Bureau" means the Bureau of Financial Institutions. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Financial 

Institutions.  

"Advertisement" for purposes of Chapter 20 and this chapter 

means a commercial message in any medium that promotes, 

directly or indirectly, the offering of a debt management plan 

to any consumer. The term includes a communication sent to 

a consumer as part of a solicitation of business, but excludes 

messages on promotional items such as pens, pencils, 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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notepads, hats, calendars, etc., as well as other information 

distributed or made available solely to other businesses. 

"Bureau," "commission," and "commissioner" shall have the 

meanings ascribed to them in § 6.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Business day" for purposes of Chapter 20 means a day on 

which the licensee’s office is open for business. 

"Chapter 20" means Chapter 20 (§ 6.2-2000 et seq.) of Title 

6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Debt Consumer," "credit counselor," "debt management 

plan," "debt pooling and distribution service," and "licensee" 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 6.2-2000 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Reporting period" means the first six months of a calendar 

year or the last six months of a calendar year, as the case may 

be.  

"Total amount disbursed" for purposes of § 6.2-2015 of the 

Code of Virginia means funds sent to creditors on a monthly 

basis on behalf of a consumer. 

10VAC5-110-20. Surety bond standards; reporting 

requirements.  

A. Every licensee shall be bonded in a principal amount 

determined by the commissioner. The bond amount shall be 

equal to the licensee's average monthly volume of funds 

received from Virginia consumers under debt management 

plans during the preceding reporting period, rounded to the 

next highest multiple of $10,000, but not exceeding $350,000.  

B. The amount of bond required of a new licensee shall be 

based upon the applicant's financial condition, capitalization, 

projected Virginia monthly volume of funds received under 

debt management plans, experience, and other factors deemed 

pertinent by the commissioner.  

C. The minimum bond required shall be $25,000.  

D. The form of the bond will be prescribed and provided by 

the commissioner. The required bond shall be filed with the 

bureau prior to issuance of a license and shall be maintained 

continuously thereafter.  

E. When a licensee files a bond with the bureau, as required 

by § 6.2-2003 of the Code of Virginia, such bond shall be 

retained by the bureau notwithstanding the occurrence of any 

of the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 

revoked; 

2. The licensee ceases offering debt management plans or 

providing debt pooling and distribution services; or 

3. The licensee has distributed all consumers' funds to their 

creditors in accordance with their debt management plans. 

F. A licensee shall maintain the coverage required by 

subdivision A 7 of § 6.2-2005 of the Code of Virginia in the 

amount of at least $250,000. 

E. G. Licensees shall file a written report with the bureau 

within 45 days after the end of each reporting period. The 

report shall contain information regarding the volume of 

funds received from Virginia consumers under debt 

management plans and such other information as the 

commissioner may require concerning the licensee's business 

and operations. The commissioner may require additional 

reports as he deems necessary.  

F. H. If the legal name of a licensee is changed, the licensee 

shall file with the bureau within 15 days a written notice of 

such change and a document effecting a change of name on 

its bond.  

I. Within 15 days following the occurrence of any of the 

following events, a licensee shall file a written report with the 

commissioner describing the event and its expected impact 

upon the business of the licensee:  

1. Bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership proceedings 

are filed by or against the licensee.  

2. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority 

institutes revocation, suspension, or other formal 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement proceedings 

against the licensee. 

3. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority (i) 

revokes or suspends the licensee's credit counseling 

license, license to provide debt management plans, or other 

license for a similar business; (ii) takes formal 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement action against 

the licensee relating to its credit counseling, debt 

management plan, or similar business; or (iii) takes any 

other action against the licensee relating to its credit 

counseling, debt management plan, or similar business 

where the total amount of restitution or other payment 

from the licensee exceeds $20,000. A licensee shall not be 

required to provide the commissioner with information 

about such event to the extent that such disclosure is 

prohibited by the laws of another state. 

4. Based on allegations by any local, state, or federal 

governmental authority that the licensee violated any law 

or regulation applicable to the conduct of its licensed credit 

counseling, debt management plan, or similar business, the 

licensee enters into, or otherwise agrees to the entry of, a 

settlement or consent order, decree, or agreement with or 

by such governmental authority. 

5. The licensee surrenders its credit counseling license, 

debt management plan license, or other license for a 

similar business in another state in lieu of threatened or 

pending license revocation; license suspension; or other 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement action. 

6. The licensee is denied a credit counseling license, debt 

management plan license, or other license for a similar 

business in another state. 
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7. The licensee or any of its members, partners, directors, 

officers, principals, or employees is indicted or convicted 

of a felony. 

8. The licensee's accreditation has expired or been 

suspended, revoked, or otherwise terminated. 

9. Any funds held by the licensee are (i) seized by or on 

behalf of any court or governmental instrumentality or (ii) 

forfeited to or on behalf of any court or governmental 

instrumentality.  

J. At least 15 days prior to selling or assigning any debt 

management plans to another person licensed under Chapter 

20, a licensee shall file a written report with the commissioner 

that contains the following information: 

1. A list of the licensee's debt management plans that are to 

be sold or assigned. 

2. The name, address, telephone number, and email address 

of (i) a designated contact person for the licensee that will 

be selling or assigning the debt management plans and (ii) 

a designated contact person for the licensee that will be 

acquiring the debt management plans. 

3. The date that the sale or assignment is scheduled to 

occur. 

4. A copy of the agreement between the licensees. 

5. A copy of the notification letter to be sent to consumers 

whose debt management plans are included in the sale or 

assignment. 

K. The reports required by this section shall contain such 

additional information as the commissioner may reasonably 

require. The commissioner may also require any additional 

reports that he deems necessary. 

10VAC5-110-30. Schedule of annual fees for the 

examination, supervision, and regulation of agencies 

providing debt management plans. 

Pursuant to § 6.2-2012 of the Code of Virginia, the 

commission sets the following schedule of annual fees to be 

paid by persons licensed under Chapter 20 (§ 6.2-2000 et 

seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. The fees are to 

defray the costs of examination, supervision, and regulation 

of licensees by the Bureau of Financial Institutions bureau. 

SCHEDULE 

If a licensee maintained less than 250 debt management 

plans for Virginia residents as of December 31 of the calendar 

year preceding the year of assessment, the licensee shall pay 

an annual fee of $0 plus $4.33 per debt management plan.  

If a licensee maintained 250 or more debt management plans 

for Virginia residents as of December 31 of the calendar year 

preceding the year of assessment, the licensee shall pay an 

annual fee of $500 plus $4.33 per debt management plan.  

The fee assessed using the above schedule shall be rounded 

down to the nearest whole dollar. 

Fees shall be assessed on or before June 1 for the current 

calendar year. The fee shall be paid on or before July 1. 

The annual report, due March 25 each year, of each licensee 

provides the basis for its assessment. In cases where a license 

has been granted between January 1 and March 25, the 

licensee's initial annual fee shall be $250. 

Fees prescribed and assessed by this schedule are apart 

from, and do not include, the reimbursement for expenses 

permitted by subsection B of § 6.2-2012 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

10VAC5-110-40. Operating requirements. 

A. A licensee shall continuously maintain the requirements 

and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-2005 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. A licensee shall not provide debt management plan 

services in connection with a debt management plan that has 

been set up or established by any other person except a credit 

counselor that is employed by the licensee. 

C. All money received by a licensee for distribution to 

consumers' creditors shall be deposited by the licensee into a 

separate trust account with an FDIC-insured depository 

institution. 

1. All money in the trust account shall be deemed to be 

held in trust for the benefit of consumers who have given 

their money to the licensee for distribution. Money held in 

trust is not the property of the licensee or any person acting 

on the licensee's behalf and shall not be available to 

creditors of the licensee or any person acting on the 

licensee's behalf. However, this provision shall not be 

construed to prevent the recovery of funds by consumers 

who have given their money to the licensee for distribution 

provided that the money has not been disbursed to the 

consumers' creditors, 

2. A licensee shall not commingle consumers' funds in a 

trust account with any of the licensee's operating funds or 

the funds of any other persons. 

3. The provisions of this subsection shall be applicable 

regardless of whether consumers' funds are received or 

handled by (i) a licensee or (ii) a third party acting on 

behalf of a licensee. 

D. A licensee shall comply with all federal laws and 

regulations applicable to the conduct of its business, 

including but not limited to the Standards for Safeguarding 

Customer Information (16 CFR Part 314). 

E. A licensee shall not sell or otherwise assign a debt 

management plan to another person unless the purchaser or 

assignee is also licensed under Chapter 20. 

F. On or before entering into a debt management plan, a 

licensee shall provide a consumer with a written notice in at 

least 10-point boldface type. The notice shall state the 

following: "Complaints and Contacting the Bureau of 

Financial Institutions: For assistance with any complaints you 
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may have against this agency regarding your debt 

management plan, please contact the Bureau of Financial 

Institutions at (800) 552-7945 or on the Internet at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi. Complaints must be filed in 

writing with the Bureau of Financial Institutions. Complaints 

should be mailed to the Bureau of Financial Institutions, Attn: 

Complaints, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, Virginia 23218-0640, 

or faxed to the Bureau of Financial Institutions, Attn: 

Complaints at (804) 371-9416." 

The written notice shall be furnished either as a separate 

document or included in the debt management plan 

agreement that is required by subdivision 1 of § 6.2-2014 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

G. A licensee shall not provide any information to the 

bureau that is false, misleading, or deceptive. 

H. A licensee shall not provide any information to a 

consumer that is false, misleading, or deceptive. 

I. A licensee shall not engage in any activity that directly or 

indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions of Chapter 

20 or this chapter. 

J. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly 

or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a 

corporation or 25% or more of the ownership of any other 

person licensed to conduct business under Chapter 20 shall 

pay a nonrefundable application fee of $500. 

K. Prior to the execution of a debt management plan, a 

licensee shall provide each consumer with a form that 

contains the disclosures specified in subdivision A 9 of § 6.2-

2005 of the Code of Virginia. The form shall appear in at 

least 12-point type and be separated from all other papers, 

documents, or notices obtained or furnished by the licensee. 

The form shall contain an acknowledgment that is signed and 

dated by each consumer. The acknowledgment shall appear in 

at least 14-point boldface type immediately above the 

consumer's signature line and state the following: "I 

acknowledge that I have received and signed this form prior 

to entering into a debt management plan." 

L. A licensee shall not (i) allow a third party to provide any 

debt pooling and distribution services on its behalf or (ii) 

delegate to a third party any of its responsibilities under a 

debt management plan whereby the third party obtains control 

over any money provided by consumers for subsequent 

distribution to the consumers' creditors, unless: 

1. The licensee enters into and maintains a written 

agreement with the third party whereby the licensee 

designates or appoints the third party as its agent; and 

2. The licensee notifies the bureau in writing and agrees to 

such conditions relating to its use of such agent as may be 

prescribed by the bureau. 

A licensee that designates or appoints a third party as its 

agent shall be liable and subject to enforcement action under 

Chapter 20 for any acts and omissions of the third party that 

would violate Chapter 20 or this chapter if done directly by 

the licensee. 

M. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of 

Chapter 20 and this chapter applicable to licensees in 

connection with all debt management plan agreements that 

the person executed while licensed under Chapter 20 

notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the following 

events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 

revoked; or 

2. The person ceases offering debt management plans or 

providing debt pooling and distribution services. 

10VAC5-110-50. Advertising. 

A. A licensee shall disclose the following information in its 

advertisements:  

1. The name of the licensee as set forth in the license 

issued by the commission. 

2. A statement that the licensee is "licensed by the Virginia 

State Corporation Commission." 

3. The license number assigned by the commission to the 

licensee (i.e., DC-XXX). 

B. A licensee shall not deliver or cause to be delivered to a 

consumer any envelope or other written material that gives 

the false impression that the mailing or written material is an 

official communication from a governmental entity, unless 

required by the United States Postal Service. 

C. A licensee shall retain for at least three years after it is 

last published, delivered, transmitted, or made available, an 

example of every advertisement used, including but not 

limited to solicitation letters, commercial scripts, and 

recordings of all radio and television broadcasts, but 

excluding copies of Internet web pages. 

10VAC5-110-60. Enforcement. 

A. Failure to comply with any provision of Chapter 20 or 

this chapter may result in civil penalties, license revocation, 

the entry of a cease and desist order, or other appropriate 

enforcement action. 

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-2021 of the Code of Virginia, a person 

shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for every 

violation of Chapter 20, which includes any violation of this 

chapter. Furthermore, if a person violates any provision of 

Chapter 20 or this chapter in connection with multiple debt 

management plans, the person shall be subject to a separate 

civil penalty for each debt management plan. For example, if 

a person provides five debt management plans and the person 

violates two provisions of this chapter in connection with 

each of the five debt management plans, there would be a 

total of 10 violations and the person would be subject to a 

maximum civil penalty of $10,000. 
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10VAC5-110-70. Commission authority. 

The commission may, at its discretion, waive or grant 

exceptions to any provision of this chapter for good cause 

shown. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4449; Filed July 20, 2015, 4:12 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Virginia Racing 

Commission will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

from any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-20. Regulations Pertaining 

to Horse Racing with Pari-Mutuel Wagering (amending 

11VAC10-20-10, 11VAC10-20-190).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 9, 2015.  

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman 

Road, Suite 201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 

966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 

david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform to changes enacted by 

Chapters 731 and 751 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, 

which revised the Virginia horse racing statute. The 

amendments (i) revise the definitions of "licensee" and 

"owner's license" to permit any licensee to own or 

operate a racetrack, (ii) define "recognized majority 

horsemen's group," (iii) limit the number of live racing 

days for a licensee to 125 in each calendar year, and (iv) 

eliminate the minimum distance requirements for 

different types of racing surfaces of a racetrack licensee. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

11VAC10-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means Chapter 29 (§ 59.1-364 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Breakage" means the odd cents by which the amount 

payable on each dollar wagered exceeds a multiple of $ .10.  

"Carryover" means the nondistributed pool moneys which 

are retained and added to a corresponding pool in accordance 

with this chapter.  

"Commission" means the Virginia Racing Commission.  

"Enclosure" means all areas of the property of a track to 

which admission can be obtained only by payment of an 

admission fee or upon presentation of authorized credentials, 

and any additional areas designated by the commission.  

"Entry" means two or more horses in a race that are treated 

as a single wagering interest for pari-mutuel wagering 

purposes.  

"Expired ticket" means an outstanding ticket which was not 

presented for redemption within the required time period for 

which it was issued.  

"Handle" means the total amount of all pari-mutuel 

wagering sales excluding refunds and cancellations.  

"Horse owner" means a person owning an interest in a horse.  

"Horse racing" means a competition on a set course 

involving a race among horses on which pari-mutuel 

wagering is permitted.  

"Licensee" includes any person holding an owner's, or 

operator's, limited or unlimited license, or any other license 

issued by the commission.  

"Limited license" means a license issued by the commission 

allowing the holder to conduct a race meeting or meetings, 

with pari-mutuel wagering privileges, for a period not 

exceeding 14 days in any calendar year.  

"Member" includes any person designated a member of a 

nonstock corporation, and any person who by means of a 

pecuniary or other interest in such corporation exercises the 

power of a member.  

"Minus pool" means that the payout is in excess of the net 

pool.  

"Mutuel field" means two or more horses are treated as a 

single wagering interest because the number of wagering 

interests exceeds the number that can be handled individually 

by the totalizator.  

"Net pool" means the amount of gross pari-mutuel ticket 

sales less refundable wagers and retainage.  

"Official order of finish" means the order of finish of the 

horses in a contest as declared official by the stewards.  

"Off time" means the moment at which the starter dispatches 

the field.  

"Operator's license" means a license issued by the 

commission allowing the holder to conduct a horse race 

meeting with pari-mutuel wagering privileges.  

"Outstanding ticket" means a winning or refundable pari-

mutuel ticket which was not cashed during the program for 

which it was issued.  
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"Owner's license" means a license issued by the commission 

allowing the holder to construct a horse racing facility for the 

purpose of conducting a limited or unlimited race meeting 

with pari-mutuel wagering privileges.  

"Pari-mutuel wagering" means the system of wagering on 

horse racing in which those who wager on horses that finish 

in the position or positions for which wagers are taken share 

in the total amounts wagered, less deductions required or 

permitted by law.  

"Permit holder" includes any person holding a permit to 

participate in horse racing subject to the jurisdiction of the 

commission or in the conduct of a race meeting where pari-

mutuel wagering is offered thereon as provided in the Act.  

"Person" includes a natural person, partnership, joint 

venture, association or corporation.  

"Pool" means the amount wagered during a race meeting in 

straight wagering, in multiple wagering, or during a specified 

period thereof.  

"Principal stockholder" means any person who individually 

or in concert with his spouse and immediate family members, 

owns or controls, directly or indirectly, 5.0% or more of the 

stock of any person who is a licensee, or who in concert with 

his spouse and immediate family members has the power to 

vote or cause the vote of 5.0% or more of any such stock.  

"Profit" means the net pool after the deduction of the 

amount wagered on the winners.  

"Profit split" means a division of profit among the separate 

wagering interests or winning combinations resulting in two 

or more payout prices.  

"Program" means a schedule of races run consecutively at a 

racetrack or simulcast to a satellite facility.  

"Race meeting" means the whole consecutive period of time 

during which horse racing with pari-mutuel wagering is 

conducted by a licensee. 

"Recognized majority horsemen's group" means the 

organization recognized by the commission as the 

representative of the majority of owners and trainers racing at 

race meetings subject to the commission's jurisdiction.  

"Retainage" means the total amount deducted, from the pari-

mutuel wagering pool in the percentages designated by statute 

for the Commonwealth of Virginia, purse money for the 

participants, Virginia Breeders Fund, and the operators.  

"Single price pool" means an equal distribution of profit to 

winning wagering interests or winning wagering 

combinations through a single payout price.  

"Stock" includes all classes of stock of an applicant or 

licensee corporation, and any debt or other obligation of such 

corporation or stockholder thereof or stock of any affiliated 

corporation if the commission finds that the holder of such 

obligation or stock derives therefrom such control of or voice 

in the operation of the applicant or licensee corporation that 

he should be deemed a stockholder.  

"Totalizator" means an electronic data processing system for 

registering wagers placed on the outcomes of horse racing, 

deducting the retainage, calculating the mutuel pools and 

returns to ticket holders, and displaying approximate odds 

and payouts, including machines utilized in the sale and 

cashing of wagers.  

"Unlimited license" means a license issued by the 

commission allowing the holder to conduct a race meeting or 

meetings, with pari-mutuel wagering privileges, for periods 

of 15 days or more in any calendar year.  

"Virginia Breeders Fund" means the fund established to 

foster the industry of breeding racehorses in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Wagering interest" means one or more horses in a race 

which are identified by a single program number for wagering 

purposes.  

11VAC10-20-190. Criteria for unlimited horse racing 

facilities.  

A. Generally. Every license to conduct a horse race meeting 

with pari-mutuel wagering privileges, of 15 days or more in 

any calendar year is granted by the commission upon the 

condition that the licensee will conduct horse racing at its 

facility or meeting for the promotion, sustenance, and growth 

of a native industry in a manner consistent with the health, 

safety, and welfare of the people. The adequacy and 

sufficiency with which the licensee meets the criteria for the 

procedures, facilities, and equipment for conducting a horse 

race meeting of such duration shall rest with the commission.  

1. Each licensee shall accept, observe, and enforce all 

federal and state laws, regulations of the commission, and 

local ordinances.  

2. Each licensee shall at all time times maintain its grounds 

and facilities so as to be neat and clean, painted and in 

good repair, with special consideration for the comfort and 

safety of the public, employees, other persons whose 

business requires their attendance, and for the health and 

safety of the horses there stabled.  

3. Each licensee shall honor commission exclusions from 

the enclosure and eject immediately any person found 

within the enclosure who has been excluded by the 

commission and report the ejection to the commission. 

Whenever any licensee ejects a person from the enclosure, 

it shall furnish a written notice to the person ejected and 

shall report the ejection to the commission.  

4. No later than 15 days before the first day of any race 

meeting, each licensee shall submit to the commission the 

most recent inspection reports issued by governmental 

authorities regarding the condition of facilities, sanitation, 

and fire prevention, detection, and suppression.  

5. Each licensee shall provide the commission daily 

attendance reports showing a turnstile count of all persons 

admitted to the enclosure and the reports shall indicate the 
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daily number of paid admissions, taxed complimentary 

admissions, and tax exempt admissions.  

6. Each licensee shall furnish to the commission within 

three months of the closing of its fiscal year, three copies 

of its balance sheet and of its operating statement for the 

previous fiscal year with comparison to the prior fiscal 

year, the same duly sworn to by the treasurer of the 

association, and certified by an independent certified 

public accountant. The financial report shall be in the form 

as may be prescribed from time to time by the commission.  

7. Each licensee shall maintain a separate bank account to 

be known as the "horsemen's account," with the amount of 

purse money statutorily mandated to be deposited in the 

account within 48 hours of the running of the race. 

Withdrawals from this account shall at all times be subject 

to audit by the commission, and the horsemen's 

bookkeeper in charge of the account shall be bonded:  

a. All portions of purse money shall be made available 

when the stewards have authorized payment to the 

earners; and  

b. No portion of purse money other than jockey fees shall 

be deducted by the licensee for itself or for another, 

unless so requested in writing by the person to whom 

such purse moneys are payable, or his duly authorized 

representative. Irrespective of whether requested, at the 

close of each race meeting the horsemen's bookkeeper 

shall mail to each owner a duplicate of each owner's 

account showing every deposit, withdrawal, or transfer of 

funds affecting such owner's account.  

8. Each licensee shall remit to the commission within five 

days of the day on which the revenue for pari-mutuel taxes, 

admission taxes, and breeders' funds were collected. The 

remittance shall be accomplished by a direct deposit in a 

financial institution designated by the commission. On 

those days when the fifth day is a holiday or a weekend 

day, the payment must be made by the succeeding business 

day. At the close of each month in which racing is 

conducted, the licensee must report to the commission all 

deposits of taxes and breeders' funds for that month.  

9. On each day that deposits are made by the licensee, a 

report must be filed with the commission containing the 

following recapitulation: total retainage, pari-mutuel tax; 

state and local admissions taxes; purse moneys; total 

breakage; and breeders' fund taxes.  

10. Each licensee shall provide areas within the enclosure 

where publications, other informational materials, and tip 

sheets, may be sold to the public. All persons holding a tip 

sheet concession at the facility must possess a permit from 

the commission as vendors. Such vendor shall post in a 

conspicuous place the previous day's tip sheet and the 

outcome of the races. Such vendor shall deliver one copy 

of the tip sheet to a commission representative at least one 

hour before post time.  

11. Each licensee shall supervise the practice and 

procedures of all vendors of food, horse feed, medication, 

and tack, who are licensed and have access to the stabling 

area. No licensee by virtue of this regulation shall attempt 

to control or monopolize proper selling to owners, trainers, 

or stable employees; nor shall a licensee grant a sole 

concession to any vendor of feed, racing supplies, or racing 

services.  

12. Each licensee shall provide to the commission copies 

of all subordinate contracts, in the amount of $15,000 

annual gross and above, entered into by the owner, owner-

operator, or operator, and such contracts shall be subject to 

approval of the commission.  

13. Each licensee shall submit to the commission each 

calendar year a request for live racing days for the next 

calendar year as provided in 11VAC10-20-200. The holder 

of an unlimited a license shall schedule not less no more 

than 150 125 days live racing days in the Commonwealth 

each calendar year; however, the commission may alter the 

number of live racing days based on what it deems to be in 

the best interest of the Virginia horse industry.  

14. Each licensee shall post in a conspicuous place in every 

place where pari-mutuel wagering is conducted a sign that 

bears a toll-free telephone number for "Gamblers 

Anonymous" or other organization that provides assistance 

to compulsive gamblers.  

B. Facilities. Each unlimited licensee shall provide all of the 

facilities for the conduct of horse racing so as to maintain 

horse racing of the highest quality and free of any corrupt, 

incompetent, or dishonest practices and to maintain in horse 

racing complete honesty and integrity.  

1. Each licensee shall provide for flat racing a main racing 

surface of at least one mile in circumference; for flat or 

jump racing on the turf a racing surface of at least seven-

eighths of a mile in circumference; for harness racing a 

main racing surface of at least five-eighths of a mile in 

circumference; and for other types of racing a racing 

surface of generally accepted standards.  

a. 1. Prior to the first race meeting at a facility owned or 

operated by the holder of an unlimited license, the licensee 

shall provide to the commission a certified report of a 

qualified surveyor, certifying the grade and measurement 

of the distances to be run.  

b. a. Distances to be run shall be measured from the 

starting line at a distance three feet out from the inside 

rail.  

c. b. The surveyor's report must be approved by the 

commission's executive secretary prior to the first race 

day of the meeting.  

2. Turf course requirements include the following:  

a. The licensee shall maintain an adequate stockpile of 

growing medium, and shall provide an irrigation system 
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or other means of adequately watering the entire turf 

course evenly.  

b. All turf course paths from inside rails to turf courses 

shall resemble the rest of the terrain, with no rails leading 

from the main course to the turf courses.  

c. A portable rail shall be secure to absorb the impact of a 

horse.  

3. Main track requirements include the following:  

a. Each licensee shall provide a safety rail on the inside 

of each racing surface and such other fencing that is 

appropriate to safely enclose the racing surface for horses 

and riders.  

b. The rail height shall be from 38 inches to 42 inches 

from the top of the cushion to the top of the rail. All top 

rails shall be bolted to poles and shall be smooth with no 

jagged edges. Rail posts shall be of a gooseneck type 

design and shall have no less than a 24-inch overhang 

with a continuous smooth elevated cover over posts.  

c. All rails shall be constructed of materials designed to 

withstand the impact of a horse running at racing speed.  

d. All rail posts shall be set in concrete at least six inches 

below the surface and 24 inches deep. A portable turf rail 

shall be secure to absorb the impact of a horse. No rail or 

post shall be used that will not take the impact of a horse 

or will break away, such as fiberglass, PVC, wood or 

hedges.  

e. The design and construction of rails shall be approved 

by the commission prior to the first race meeting at the 

racetrack.  

4. Each licensee shall provide distance poles marking off 

the racing surface and the poles shall be painted in the 

following colors: quarter poles, red and white; eighth 

poles, green and white; and sixteenth poles, black and 

white. All distance poles, including photofinish mirror 

imaging equipment and any other equipment, shall be set 

back a minimum of 10 feet from the back of the inside rail.  

5. Each licensee shall provide racing surfaces whose 

construction, elevation, and surfaces have received 

scientific approval as safe and humane, adequate and 

proper equipment to maintain the racing surface, and 

sufficient trained personnel to properly operate the 

equipment. Daily records of maintenance shall be open for 

inspection.  

6. Each licensee shall provide stabling in a sufficient 

amount to conduct a successful horse race meeting. The 

horses shall be quartered in individual stalls with separate 

feeding and watering facilities. Each barn, including the 

receiving barn, shall have a hot and cold water supply 

available, be well-ventilated, have proper drainage to 

prevent standing water and be constructed to be 

comfortable in all seasons during which racing is 

conducted.  

7. Each licensee shall provide a stabling area that is 

maintained in approved sanitary condition with satisfactory 

drainage, manure, and other refuse kept in separate boxes 

or containers distant from living quarters, and the boxes or 

containers promptly and properly removed.  

8. Each licensee shall provide a systematic and effective 

insect control program and programs to eliminate hazards 

to public health and comfort in the stabling area and 

throughout the enclosure.  

9. Each licensee shall provide satisfactory living quarters 

for persons employed in the stabling area as well as 

satisfactory commissary, recreation, and lavatory facilities, 

and maintain the facilities in a clean and sanitary manner. 

No employee shall be permitted to sleep in any stall or 

barn loft.  

10. Each licensee shall provide on every racing day 

satisfactory sanitary toilets and wash rooms, and furnish 

free drinking water for patrons and persons having 

business within the enclosure.  

11. Each licensee shall provide a paddock where the horses 

are assembled prior to the post parade. Each licensee shall 

provide a public viewing area where patrons may watch 

the activities in the paddock. Each licensee shall also 

provide a sufficient number of roofed stalls so that horses 

may be housed during inclement weather.  

12. Each licensee shall provide satisfactory facilities for 

jockeys or drivers who are participating in the day's 

program. The facilities shall include accommodations for 

rest and recreation, showers, toilets, wash basins, reducing 

facilities (sauna or steam room), arrangements for safe 

keeping of apparel and personal effects, and snack bar 

during horse race meetings.  

13. Each licensee shall maintain an information desk where 

the public may make complaints regarding the facilities, 

operations of the licensee, or rulings of the commission. 

The licensee shall respond promptly to complaints, and 

inform the commission regarding any alleged violation of 

its regulations.  

14. Each licensee shall maintain a test barn for use by 

commission employees in securing from horses that have 

run a race, samples of urine, saliva, blood, or other bodily 

substances for chemical analysis. The test barn shall 

include a wash rack, commission veterinarian office, a 

walking ring, and a sufficient number of stalls each 

equipped with a window sufficiently large to allow the 

taking of samples to be witnessed from outside the stall. 

The test barn shall be located convenient to the racing 

surface and shall be enclosed by a fence so that 

unauthorized persons shall be excluded. Space shall be 

provided for signing in and signing out of permittees 

whose attendance is required in the test barn.  

15. Each licensee shall maintain a receiving barn 

conveniently located for use by horses arriving for races 
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that are not quartered in the stabling area. The licensee 

shall have a sufficient number of stalls to accommodate the 

anticipated number of horses, hot and cold running water, 

and stall bedding. The licensee shall maintain the receiving 

barn in a clean and sanitary manner.  

16. Each licensee shall provide and maintain lights so as to 

ensure adequate illumination in the stabling area and 

parking area. Adequacy of track lighting for night racing 

shall be determined by the commission.  

17. Each licensee shall provide and maintain stands 

commanding an uninterrupted view of the entire racing 

surface for the stewards with the location to be approved 

by the commission. The licensee shall provide patrol judge 

stands so that the floor shall be at least six feet higher than 

the track rail. For harness racing, each licensee shall 

provide space for a patrol judge in the mobile starting gate 

that will accompany the horses during the race.  

18. Each licensee shall furnish office space, approved by 

the commission, for the commission's use within the 

enclosure and an appropriate number of parking spaces so 

that its members and staff may carry out their duties.  

19. Each licensee shall submit to the commission, at least 

30 days prior to the opening day of a meeting, a complete 

list of its racing officials, as set forth elsewhere in these 

regulations, and department heads. No person shall hold 

any appointment for a horse race meeting unless approved 

by the commission after determination that the appointee is 

qualified for his duties, not prohibited by any law of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or regulation of the 

commission, and eligible to hold a permit issued by the 

commission.  

20. Each licensee shall provide a condition book, or for 

harness racing, a condition sheet, listing the proposed races 

for the upcoming racing days and prepared by the racing 

secretary, to the commission at least one week prior to 

opening day. Additional condition books or condition 

sheets shall be provided to the commission as soon as 

published.  

21. No licensee shall allow any person to ride in a race or 

exercise any horse within the enclosure unless that person 

is wearing a protective helmet with the chin strap buckled. 

For flat racing, the term "exercising" is defined to include 

breezing, galloping, or ponying horses.  

22. Each licensee shall employ at least three outriders for 

flat and steeplechase racing to escort starters to the post 

and to assist in the returning of all horses to the unsaddling 

area for flat races. No outrider shall lead any horse that has 

not demonstrated unruliness, but shall assist in the control 

of any horse that might cause injury to a jockey or driver or 

others. During racing hours, outriders will wear traditional 

attire. For flat race meetings, outriders shall be required to 

be present on the racing strip, mounted, and ready to assist 

in the control of any unruly horse or to recapture any loose 

horse, at all times when the track is open for exercising.  

23. Each licensee shall employ for flat meets a sufficient 

number of valets to attend each jockey on a day's program. 

Valets will be under the immediate supervision and control 

of the clerk of scales. Each licensee shall provide uniform 

attire for valets who shall wear the uniform attire at all 

times while performing their duties within public view.  

24. No licensee shall allow any person to ride in a race or 

to exercise any horse within the enclosure unless that 

person is wearing a protective safety vest. The vest shall be 

designed to provide shock-absorbing protection to the 

upper body of at least a rating of five as defined by the 

British Equestrian Trade Association (BETA).  

C. Equipment. Each unlimited licensee shall provide all of 

the equipment for the conduct of horse racing so as to 

maintain horse racing of the highest quality and free of any 

corrupt, incompetent, dishonest, or unprincipled practices, 

and to maintain in horse racing complete honesty and 

integrity.  

1. Each licensee shall maintain at least two operable 

starting gates for flat meetings and two operable mobile 

starting gates for harness racing. The licensee shall have in 

attendance one or more persons qualified to keep the 

starting gates in good working order and provide for 

periodic inspection. For flat meetings, the licensee shall 

also make at least one starting gate along with adequate 

personnel available for schooling for two hours each day 

during training hours, exclusive of nonrace days. For flat 

race meetings, the licensee shall have an adequate number 

of assistant starters to ensure the integrity of the start and 

to provide safe conditions for horse and rider. If a flat race 

is started at a place other than in a chute, the licensee shall 

maintain in good operating condition backup equipment 

for moving the starting gate. The backup equipment must 

be immediately available to replace the primary moving 

equipment in the event of failure. For harness racing 

meetings, a mobile starting gate shall be made available for 

qualifying races and schooling.  

2. Each licensee shall maintain photo-finish equipment to 

assist the stewards and placing judges, where employed for 

flat race meetings, in determining the order of finish of 

each race. The licensee shall provide two electronic 

photofinish devices with mirror images to photograph the 

finish of each race. The location and operation of the 

photofinish devices must be approved by the commission 

before its first use in a race. The licensee shall ensure that 

the photofinish devices are calibrated before the first day 

of each race meeting and at other times as required by the 

commission. The standards and operations of the photo-

finish camera as well as the methodology of the personnel 

shall be subject to the approval of the stewards:  

a. The photo-finish photographer shall promptly furnish 

the stewards and placing judges prints as they are 

requested, and the photographer will promptly inform the 
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stewards and placing judges of any malfunction of his 

equipment;  

b. A print of a photo finish where the placing of horse is 

a half of length or less shall be displayed either by 

posting copies of the print or video means to the public 

promptly after the race has been declared "official"; and  

c. Each licensee shall be responsible for maintaining a 

file of photo finishes of all races for one year after the 

closing of the horse race meeting.  

3. Each licensee shall provide color video tape recordings 

of the running of each race clearly showing the position 

and actions of the horse and jockeys or drivers at close 

range. Each licensee shall provide at least three cameras to 

record panoramic and head-on views of the race. One 

camera shall be located on the finish line:  

a. Promptly after a race has been declared "official," 

video tape recordings shall be replayed for the benefit of 

the public. In those races where there was a 

disqualification, video tapes of the head-on views may 

also be shown with an explanation by the public address 

announcer.  

b. The licensee shall safeguard the tapes of all videotapes 

for one year after the close of the horse race meeting.  

c. The stewards may, in their discretion, direct a video 

camera operator to videotape the activities of any horses 

or persons handling horses prior to, during or following a 

race.  

4. Each licensee shall provide an electronic timing system. 

The system shall have the capability of timing the leading 

horse in at least hundredths of a second. Each licensee 

shall also provide a qualified person to manually time each 

race, including splits of each quarter of a mile, in the event 

of a malfunction of the electronic system.  

5. Each licensee shall provide an internal communication 

system which links the stewards' stand, racing secretary's 

office, pari-mutuel department, jockeys' or drivers' room, 

paddock, test barn, commission veterinarian's office, 

starting gate, film patrol office, ambulances, public address 

announcer, patrol judges, and any other personnel 

designated by the commission.  

6. Each licensee shall provide a public address system 

whereby calls of the races and other pertinent information 

may be communicated to the public. This system shall be 

utilized by a qualified person, and the system shall have 

the capability of transmitting throughout the stabling area.  

7. Each licensee shall provide a totalizator and employ 

qualified personnel to operate the system, provide 

maintenance of the hardware, software, and ancillary 

wagering devices, and be able to perform emergency 

repairs in case of emergencies. The licensee shall also 

provide a mutuel board in the infield where approximate 

odds, amounts wagered in the win, place, and show pools 

on each betting interest, and other pertinent information 

may be prominently displayed to the public:  

a. The totalizator shall maintain at least two independent 

sets of pool totals and compare them at least once every 

60 seconds. The totalizator shall record in a system log 

file any difference in the final pool totals;  

b. The totalizator shall have the capability of calculating 

the mutuel pools, approximate odds, probable payoffs 

and display them to the public at intervals of not more 

than 60 seconds;  

c. The totalizator shall have the capability of being 

locked and wagering terminated automatically at the 

command of a steward. Any failure of the system to lock 

at the start of the race shall be reported immediately by 

the mutuel manager to the stewards;  

d. The totalizator shall have the capability of displaying 

the probable payouts on various combinations in the 

daily double, exacta, and quinella wagering, and 

displaying the payoffs to the public;  

e. The totalizator shall have the capability of recording 

the wagering by individual wagers, including the amount 

wagered, the betting interest, and the mutuel window 

where the wager was placed. The records of the wagering 

shall be promptly made available to the commission upon 

request. The licensee shall preserve the records of the 

wagering for one year after closing of the horse race 

meeting. The records shall not be destroyed without 

permission of the commission;  

f. The personnel operating the totalizator shall report 

immediately to the stewards any malfunction in the 

system, or what they perceive to be any unusual patterns 

in the wagering;  

g. The totalizator personnel shall make available to the 

commission any special reports or requests that may 

assist the commission in carrying out its statutory duties 

and responsibilities for the conduct of horse racing; and  

h. The commission may require an independent certified 

audit of the totalizator's software attesting to the accuracy 

of its calculations and the integrity of its accounting 

processes.  

8. Each licensee shall provide at least one human 

ambulance and at least one equine ambulance within the 

enclosure at all times during those hours when the racing 

and training surface is open for racing and exercising. 

However, a human ambulance shall not be required to be 

present during the exercising of Standardbred horses. The 

ambulances shall be manned and equipped to render 

immediate assistance, and shall be stationed at a location 

approved by the stewards.  

a. The equine ambulance must be a covered vehicle that 

is low to the ground and large enough to accommodate a 

horse in distress. The equine ambulance must be able to 
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navigate on the racetrack during all weather conditions 

and transport a horse outside the enclosure.  

b. The equine ambulance must be equipped with large 

portable screens to shield a horse from public view, 

ramps to facilitate loading a horse, adequate means of 

loading a horse that is down, a rear door and a door on 

each side, a padded interior, a movable partition to 

initially provide more room to load a horse and to later 

restrict a horse's movement, a shielded area for the 

person who is attending to the horse, and an adequate 

area for the storage of water and veterinary medicines 

and equipment.  

c. A licensee shall not conduct a race unless an equine 

ambulance or a commission veterinarian-approved 

substitute is readily available.  

d. The equine ambulance, its supplies and attendants, and 

the operating procedures for the vehicle must be 

approved by the commission veterinarian.  

e. The licensee shall maintain a properly equipped human 

ambulance, staffed with certified paramedics at any time 

the racetrack is open for racing or exercising horses. 

However, a human ambulance shall not be required to be 

present during the exercising of Standardbred horses. If 

the ambulance is being used to transport an individual, 

horses may not be raced or exercised until the ambulance 

is replaced.  

f. Unless otherwise approved by the stewards, a human 

ambulance shall follow the field at a safe distance during 

the running of races, or in the event of inclement 

weather, two ambulances shall be parked to render 

immediate service. The human ambulance must be 

parked at an entrance to the racing surface unless the 

ambulance is being used to transport a person or when it 

is following the field during the running of a race.  

g. During a racing day, the licensee shall maintain a first 

aid room equipped with at least two beds and other 

appropriate equipment, and the services of at least one 

physician during flat race meetings.  

9. Each licensee shall maintain lighting for the racetrack 

and the patron facilities that is adequate to ensure the 

safety and security of the patrons, participants and horses. 

Lighting to ensure the proper operation of the videotape 

and photofinish devices must be approved by the 

commission.  

a. The licensee shall maintain adequate additional 

lighting in the stable area as required by the commission.  

b. If racing is conducted at night, the licensee shall 

maintain a backup lighting system that is sufficient to 

ensure the safety of patrons, participants and horses.  

D. Safety. Each unlimited licensee shall employ sufficient 

trained personnel to provide for the safety and security of the 

public and others who have business within the enclosure. 

Each licensee shall also take all measures to prevent the 

outbreak of fires within the enclosure and develop plans for 

the quick extinguishing of any fires that should occur.  

1. Each licensee shall provide sufficient trained security 

personnel under the supervision of a qualified director of 

security. If the licensee contracts with a private security 

service, the security service must be bonded and meet all 

applicable licensing requirements. If the licensee 

establishes its own security force, then director of security 

shall forward to the commission detailed plans for the 

screening, hiring, and training of its own personnel.  

2. The director of security of each licensee shall cooperate 

fully with the commission and its staff, federal and state 

law enforcement agencies, local police and fire 

departments, and industry security services to enforce all 

laws and regulations to ensure that horse racing in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia is of the highest integrity.  

3. Each licensee shall develop a detailed security plan 

describing the equipment, (i.e., fences, locks, alarms, and 

monitoring devices); the procedures to admit persons to 

restricted areas, (i.e., stabling area, paddock, jockeys' or 

drivers' room, vault, mutuel lines, totalizator room, and test 

barn); and the trained personnel in sufficient numbers to 

provide for the safety and security of all persons during 

racing and nonracing hours.  

4. Each licensee may provide a perimeter fence around the 

entire enclosure, but shall fence off the stabling area. The 

entrance to the stabling area shall be guarded on a 24-hour 

basis by uniformed security personnel so that unauthorized 

persons shall be denied access to the restricted stabling 

area. The licensee shall also provide for routine patrolling 

by uniformed security personnel on a 24-hour basis within 

the stabling area.  

5. During racing hours, the licensee shall provide 

uniformed security personnel to guard the entrances to the 

paddock, jockeys' or drivers' room, and other restricted 

areas as may be deemed appropriate by the commission so 

that unauthorized persons shall be denied access to them.  

6. The licensee's director of security shall submit to the 

commission a written report describing every arrest or 

completed incident of security investigation or rule 

violation including the person charged, the charges against 

the person, the present whereabouts of the person, and 

disposition of the charges, if any.  

7. The licensee's director of security shall submit to the 

commission a detailed plan describing the procedures to be 

followed in case of fire or any other emergency within the 

enclosure. The plan shall contain the resources 

immediately available within the surrounding communities 

to cope with fire or other emergencies, route of evacuation 

for the public, controlling traffic, and those resources 

available from the surrounding communities for police, 

fire, ambulance, and rescue services.  
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8. Each licensee shall observe and enforce all state and 

local building codes and regulations pertaining to fire 

prevention, and shall prohibit the following:  

a. Smoking in horse stalls, feed rooms, or under the 

shedrow;  

b. Open fires and oil or gasoline burning lanterns or 

lamps in the stable area;  

c. The unsafe use of electrical appliances or other devices 

which would pose a hazard to structures, horses, 

permittees, or the public; and  

d. Keeping flammable materials including cleaning fluids 

or solvents in the stabling area.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4425; Filed July 17, 2015, 3:09 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Virginia Racing 

Commission will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

from any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-30. Limited Licenses 

(amending 11VAC10-30-10, 11VAC10-30-20, 11VAC10-

30-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 9, 2015.  

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman 

Road, Suite 201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 

966-7404, or email david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform to changes enacted by Chapters 

731 and 751 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, which revised 

the Virginia horse racing statute. The amendments (i) 

revise the definitions of "licensee" and "owner's license" to 

permit any licensee to own or operate a racetrack, (ii) 

define "significant infrastructure facility" and "significant 

infrastructure limited license," and (iii) provide the 

requirements for the significant infrastructure limited 

license, including an application affidavit. 

11VAC10-30-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in these 

regulations, shall have the following meaning, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Commission" means the Virginia Racing Commission.  

"Licensee" includes any person holding an owner's, or 

operator's, limited or unlimited license, or any other license 

issued by the commission.  

"Limited license" means a license issued by the commission 

allowing the holder to conduct a race meeting or meetings, 

with any calendar year.  

"Pari-mutuel wagering" means the system of wagering on 

horse racing in which those who wager on horses that finish 

in the position or positions for which wagers are taken share 

in the total amounts wagered, less deductions required or 

permitted by law.  

"Person" includes a natural person, partnership, joint 

venture, association or corporation.  

"Race meeting" means the whole consecutive period of time 

during which horse racing with pari-mutuel wagering is 

conducted by a licensee. 

"Significant infrastructure facility" means a horse racing 

facility that has been approved by a local referendum 

pursuant to § 59.1-391 of the Code of Virginia and has a 

minimum racing infrastructure consisting of (i) a one-mile 

dirt track for flat racing, (ii) a seven-eighths-mile turf course 

for flat or jump racing, (iii) covered seating for no fewer than 

500 persons, and (iv) barns with no fewer than 400 permanent 

stalls. 

"Significant infrastructure limited licensee" means a person 

who owns or operates a significant infrastructure facility and 

holds a limited license under § 59.1-376 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Totalizator" means an electronic data processing system for 

registering wagers placed on the outcomes of horse racing, 

deducting the retainage, calculating the mutuel pools and 

returns to ticket holders, and displaying approximate odds 

and payouts, including machines utilized in the sale and 

cashing of wagers.  

11VAC10-30-20. Generally.  

A. The commission is authorized to issue limited licenses 

for the promotion, sustenance and growth of a native 

industry, in a manner consistent with the health, safety and 

welfare of the people. The horse racing, with pari-mutuel 

wagering privileges, shall be conducted by limited licensees 

so as to maintain horse racing in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia of the highest quality and free of any corrupt, 

incompetent, dishonest or unprincipled practices and to 

maintain in horse racing complete honesty and integrity.  

A. B. Number of racing days. The commission may issue 

limited licenses to conduct horse race meetings, with pari-

mutuel wagering privileges on races held at the site, for a 

period not to exceed 14 days in any calendar year or in the 

case of a significant infrastructure limited licensee, 75 days in 

any calendar year.  

B. C. Local referendum. The commission shall not grant a 

limited license to conduct a horse race meeting, with pari-

mutuel wagering privileges, until a referendum approving the 

question is held in the county or city in which the race 

meeting is to be conducted; however, the commission may, in 

accordance with § 59.1-378.1 of the Code of Virginia, grant a 
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limited license to the owner or operator of a steeplechase 

facility to conduct pari-mutuel wagering on steeplechase 

Thoroughbred and Standardbred race meetings and simulcast 

horse racing at that facility in conjunction with the race 

meetings for a period not to exceed 14 days in any calendar 

year if the steeplechase facility has been sanctioned by the 

Virginia Steeplechase Association or National Steeplechase 

Association approved by the commission and the owner or 

operator of such facility has been granted tax-exempt status 

under § 501(c)(3) or (4) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

C. D. Observance of regulations. The holder of a limited 

license shall be charged with the same duties and 

responsibilities as are the holders of unlimited licenses with 

respect to the observance and enforcement of the Act Chapter 

29 (§ 59.1-364 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia 

and the regulations of the commission.  

D. E. Racing surfaces. The holders of limited licenses shall 

utilize racing surfaces which are safe and humane for 

participants and meet generally accepted standards for the 

type of racing, but any dirt surface for flat racing shall be at 

least one mile in circumference, any turf surface for flat or 

jump racing shall be at least seven-eighths of a mile in 

circumference, and any dirt surface for Standardbred or 

Quarter Horse racing shall be at least five-eighths of a mile 

being conducted.  

E. F. Renewal of limited licenses. Limited licenses are valid 

for one calendar year during which the licensee may conduct 

as many as 14 days of horse racing with pari-mutuel wagering 

privileges or in the case of a significant infrastructure limited 

licensee, 75 days in any calendar year. A licensee may apply 

for a renewal of a limited license by submitting an application 

to the commission as set forth in 11VAC10-30-30 of this 

chapter. An applicant for a renewal of a limited license may 

incorporate by reference any information submitted in 

previous applications.  

11VAC10-30-30. Application for a limited license.  

A. Where to file application. An applicant for a limited 

license shall submit an application on a form, prepared by the 

commission, to the main office of the commission no later 

than September 1, excluding Saturdays, Sundays or holidays, 

for the following calendar year. The commission may, in its 

discretion, extend the deadline to receive applications.  

1. An application to be sent by certified mail shall be 

addressed to:  

Executive Secretary  

Virginia Racing Commission  

Post Office Box 1123  

Richmond, VA 23218  

2. An application to be hand-delivered shall be delivered to 

the Executive Secretary, Virginia Racing Commission at 

the Commission's commission's office in Richmond, 

Virginia.  

3. An application delivered by hand or by certified mail 

will be timely only if received at the main office of the 

commission by 5 p.m. on or before the date prescribed or 

the extended deadline.  

4. Delivery to other than the commission's main office is 

not acceptable.  

5. The licensee assumes full responsibility for the method 

chosen to deliver the request.  

B. Identification of applicant for limited license. An 

application for a limited license shall include the name, 

address and telephone number of the applicant, and the name, 

position, address, telephone number and authorized signature 

of an individual to whom the commission may make inquiry.  

C. Applicant's affidavit. An application for a limited license 

shall include an affidavit from the chief executive officer, 

director, officer or other participant in the applicant setting 

forth:  

1. That application is made for a limited license to conduct 

a horse race meeting, with pari-mutuel wagering 

privileges, for a period not to exceed 14 days in any 

calendar year or in the case of a significant infrastructure 

limited licensee, 75 days in any calendar year;  

2. That the affiant is the agent of the applicant, its owners, 

partners, members, directors, officers and personnel, and is 

duly authorized to make the representations in the 

application on their behalf. Documentation of the authority 

must be attached (Identify attached exhibit number;);  

3. That the applicant seeks a grant of privilege from the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, and the burden of proving the 

applicant's qualifications rests at all times with the 

applicant;  

4. That the applicant consents to inquiries by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, its employees, commission 

members, staff and agents, into the financial, character and 

other qualifications of the applicant by contacting 

individuals and organizations;  

5. That the applicant, its owners, partners, members, 

directors, officers and personnel accept any risk of adverse 

public notice, embarrassment, criticism or other 

circumstance, including financial loss, which may result 

from action with respect to the application and expressly 

waive any claim which otherwise could be made against 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, its employees, the 

commission, and its staff or agents;  

6. That the affiant has read the application and knows the 

contents; the contents are true to the affiant's own 

knowledge, except matters therein stated as information 

and belief, and that as to those matters, the affiant believes 

them to be true;  

7. That the applicant recognizes all representations in the 

application are binding, and false or misleading 

information in the application, omission of required 

information, or substantial deviation from representations 
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in the application may result in denial, revocation, 

suspension or conditioning of a license or imposition of a 

fine, or any or all of the foregoing;  

8. That the applicant will comply with all applicable state 

and federal statutes and regulations, all regulations of the 

commission and all other local ordinances;  

9. The affiant's signature, name, organization, position, 

address and telephone number; and  

10. The date.  

D. Disclosure of ownership and control. An applicant for a 

limited license must disclose the type of organizational 

structure of the applicant, whether individual, business 

corporation, nonprofit corporation, partnership, joint venture, 

trust, association or other.  

1. If the applicant is an individual, the applicant shall 

disclose his legal name, whether the applicant is a United 

States citizen, and any aliases and business or trade names 

currently or previously used.  

2. If the applicant is a corporation, the applicant shall 

disclose the applicant's full corporate name, any trade 

names currently or previously used; jurisdiction of 

incorporation, date of incorporation, and the date the 

applicant began doing business in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. In addition, the applicant shall include:  

a. A copy of the applicant's certificate of authority to do 

business in Virginia;  

b. A copy of the applicant's articles of incorporation;  

c. A description of the general nature of the applicant's 

business; and  

d. A list of the names, in alphabetical order, and 

addresses of the directors, and in a separate list, the 

names and addresses, in alphabetical order, of the 

officers of the applicant.  

3. If the applicant is an organization other than a 

corporation, the applicant shall disclose the applicant's full 

name, any aliases, business or trade names currently or 

previously used; the jurisdiction of organization; the date 

the applicant began doing business in Virginia; and the 

general nature of the applicant's business. In addition, the 

applicant shall include:  

a. Copies of any agreements creating or governing the 

applicant's organization; and  

b. The names, in alphabetical order, and addresses of any 

partners and officers of the applicant and other persons 

who have or share policymaking authority.  

4. If the applicant is a tax exempt organization, the 

applicant shall submit copies of documentation from the 

Internal Revenue Service granting tax exempt status.  

E. Disclosure of character information. An applicant for a 

limited license shall disclose and furnish particulars as 

follows whether the applicant or any individual identified in 

subsection D of this section has:  

1. Been charged in any criminal proceeding other than a 

traffic violation. If so, the applicant shall disclose the 

nature of the charge, the date charged, court and 

disposition;  

2. Had a horse racing, gambling, business, professional or 

occupational license or permit revoked or suspended or 

renewal denied or been a party in a proceeding to do so. If 

so, the applicant shall disclose the date of commencement, 

circumstances and disposition; and  

3. Begun an administrative or judicial action against a 

governmental regulator of horse racing or gambling. If so, 

the applicant shall disclose the date of commencement, 

forum, circumstances and disposition.  

F. Disclosure of site and facilities. An applicant for a limited 

license shall disclose the following concerning the site and 

facilities where horse racing will be conducted with pari-

mutuel wagering privileges:  

1. The location of the horse racing facility including street 

address, municipality where the facility is located and the 

county in which the facility is located;  

2. The present ownership of the horse racing facility;  

3. If the applicant leases the site of the horse racing 

facility, the applicant shall submit copies of any leasing 

agreement, and any other arrangements for the use of the 

facility between the applicant and the owner of the facility;  

4. The type or types of racing to be offered, the number of 

races to be run each day, the post time of the first race each 

day, type of pari-mutuel pools to be offered, and any 

organization that is sanctioning the races;  

5. A description of the post-race detention facilities and 

sample collection arrangements;  

6. A description of the totalizator, including vendor and 

manufacturer, if known;  

7. A description of starting, timing, photo finish and photo 

patrol or video equipment, including vendor and 

manufacturer, if known; and  

8. A description of the work areas for stewards and patrol 

judges.  

G. Disclosure of governmental actions. An applicant for a 

limited license shall disclose whether the applicant is in 

compliance with all state statutes, local charter provisions, 

local ordinances, and street and local regulations pertaining to 

the development, ownership and operation of its horse racing 

facility. If the applicant is not in compliance, the applicant 

shall disclose the reasons why the applicant is not in 

compliance and summarize plans to obtain compliance.  

H. Disclosure of management. An applicant for a limited 

license shall disclose its management personnel by listing the 

names of the personnel and their titles.  

I. Disclosure of safety and security plan. An applicant for a 

limited license shall describe the safety and security plan for 

the horse racing facility in regards to the procedures for 
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accepting and cashing wagers, detention facility and 

participants.  

J. Effects on competition. An applicant for a limited license 

shall make a brief statement indicating why its racing days 

will not be harmful to other limited or unlimited licenses 

issued by the Virginia Racing Commission.  

K. Personal information and authorization for release. An 

applicant for a limited license shall include the following with 

respect to each individual identified as an applicant, partner, 

director, officer, policymaker or management personnel in 

subsection D or subsection H of this section:  

1. Full name, business and residence addresses and 

telephone numbers, date of birth, place of birth, social 

security number, if the individual is willing to provide it;  

2. An authorization for release of personal information, on 

a form prepared by the commission, signed by the 

individual and providing that he:  

a. Authorizes a review by, and full disclosure to, an agent 

of the Virginia State Police, of all records concerning the 

individual;  

b. Recognizes the information reviewed or disclosed may 

be used by the Commonwealth of Virginia, its 

employees, the commission, members, staff and agents to 

determine the signer's qualifications for a license; and  

c. Release authorized providers and users of the 

information from any liability under state or federal data 

privacy statutes.  

L. Additional information. Upon receipt of a properly 

completed application for a limited license, the commission 

may, in its discretion, require any further information from 

the applicant that it deems necessary for a full understanding 

and evaluation of the application.  

M. Amendment of application. An applicant for a limited 

license may amend a properly completed and properly 

submitted application to the commission.  

N. Application fee. An applicant for a limited license as 

provided for in § 59.1-376 of the Code of Virginia shall 

submit a nonrefundable application fee to the commission's 

designee at the time of application by a certified check or 

bank draft to the order of the Commonwealth of Virginia in 

the amount of $100 per number of racing days requested. The 

applicant also shall pay the costs of background 

investigations conducted by the Virginia State Police of the 

persons enumerated in subsections D and H of this section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4426; Filed July 17, 2015, 3:14 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Virginia Racing 

Commission will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

from any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-40. Satellite Facilities 

(amending 11VAC10-40-10, 11VAC10-40-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 9, 2015.  

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman 

Road, Suite 201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 

966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 

david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform to changes enacted by 

Chapters 731 and 751 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, 

which revised the Virginia horse racing statute. The 

amendments (i) revise the definition of "licensee" to 

permit any licensee to own or operate a racetrack and 

(ii) modify the requirements for majority ownership of 

satellite facilities. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

11VAC10-40-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in these 

regulations, shall have the following meaning, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Commission" means the Virginia Racing Commission.  

"Licensee" includes any person holding an owner's, or 

operator's, or limited license under §§ Article 2 (§ 59.1-375 

through 59.1-386 et seq.) of Chapter 29 of Title 59.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. The licensee under a limited license shall 

not be deemed an owner for the purposes of owning or 

operating a satellite facility.  

"Satellite facility" means all areas of the property at which 

simulcast horse racing is received for the purposes of pari-

mutuel wagering, and any additional areas designated by the 

commission.  

"Simulcast horse racing" means the simultaneous 

transmission of the audio or video portion, or both, of horse 

races from a licensed horse racetrack or satellite facility to 

another licensed horse racetrack or satellite facility, 

regardless of state of licensure, whether such races originate 

within the Commonwealth or any other jurisdiction, by 

satellite communication devices, television cables, telephone 

lines, or any other means for the purposes of conducting pari-

mutuel wagering.  

11VAC10-40-60. Majority ownership.  

The commission shall require that the majority ownership of 

satellite facilities be restricted to an entity licensed by the 

commission which owns a horse racetrack in the 

Commonwealth that is (i) a significant infrastructure limited 
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licensee or (ii) the nonprofit industry stakeholder organization 

recognized by the commission if by August 1, 2015, there is 

no significant infrastructure limited licensee or a pending 

application for such license. After the issuance of a license to 

own or operate a satellite facility to the nonprofit industry 

stakeholder organization, if the commission grants a license 

to a significant infrastructure limited licensee pursuant to § 

59.1-376 of the Code of Virginia, then such limited licensee 

may own or operate the remaining available satellite facilities 

authorized in accordance with this section. In no event shall 

the commission authorize any such entities to own or operate 

more than a combined total of 10 satellite facilities. Nothing 

in these regulations this chapter shall be deemed to preclude 

private local ownership or participation in any satellite 

facility.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4427; Filed July 17, 2015, 3:18 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Virginia Racing 

Commission will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

from any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-45. Advance Deposit 

Account Wagering (amending 11VAC10-45-10, 

11VAC10-45-20, 11VAC10-45-30, 11VAC10-45-40, 

11VAC10-45-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 9, 2015.  

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 

Horsemen's Road, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 

966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 

david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform to changes enacted by 

Chapters 731 and 751 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, 

which revise the Virginia horse racing statute. The 

amendments eliminate (i) the definitions for "racetrack 

licensee" and "source market fee"; (ii) the requirement of 

a contractual agreement between the prospective account 

wagering licensee, the racetrack licensee, and the 

representatives of the recognized majority horsemen's 

organizations; (iii) a quarterly account wagering 

summary report generated for the racetrack licensee; 

and (iv) the rules for the distribution of the source market 

fees. The amendments also reallocate the source market 

fee paid by online wagering companies (account 

wagering) licensed by the Virginia Racing Commission 

for specified and commission-approved purposes.  

11VAC10-45-10. Definitions. 

The following definitions and interpretations shall apply to 

these rules unless otherwise indicated or the text otherwise 

requires: 

"Account" means an account for account wagering with a 

specific identifiable record of deposits, wagers, and 

withdrawals established by an account holder and managed 

by the account-wagering licensee. 

"Account holder" means an individual who successfully 

completed an application and for whom the account-wagering 

licensee has opened an account. 

"Account wagering center" means an actual location, 

equipment, and staff of an account wagering licensee or 

agents of the account wagering licensee involved in the 

management, servicing and operation of account wagering. 

"Account wagering licensee" means an entity licensed by 

the commission to accept deposits and wagers, issue a receipt 

or other confirmation to the account holder evidencing such 

deposits and wagers, and transfer credits and debits to and 

from accounts. 

"Advance deposit account wagering" (hereafter account 

wagering) means a method of pari-mutuel wagering 

conducted in the Commonwealth that is permissible under the 

Interstate Horseracing Act (15 USC § 3001 et seq.) and in 

which an individual may establish an account with an entity, 

licensed by the commission, to place pari-mutuel wagers in 

person or electronically. 

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted an 

application to establish an account with either (i) an account 

wagering licensee or (ii) a company applying for an account 

wagering license from the commission. 

"Commission" means the Virginia Racing Commission. 

"Confidential information" means: 

1. The amount of money credited to, debited from, 

withdrawn from, or present in any particular account 

holder's account; 

2. The amount of money wagered by a particular account 

holder on any race or series of races; 

3. The account number and secure personal identification 

code of a particular account holder; 

4. The identities of particular entries on which the account 

holder is wagering or has wagered; and 

5. Unless otherwise authorized by the account holder, the 

name, address, and other information in the possession of 

the account wagering center and race meet licensee that 

would identify the account holder to anyone other than the 

commission or the account wagering licensee. 

"Credits" means all inflow of money to an account. 

"Debits" means all outflow of money from an account. 

"Deposit" means a payment of money by cash, check, 

money order, credit card, debit card, or electronic funds 
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transfer made by an account holder to the account holder's 

account. 

"Handle" means the total amount of all pari-mutuel 

wagering sales excluding refunds and cancellations. 

"Individual" means any natural person at least 18 years of 

age, but does not include any corporation, partnership, limited 

liability company, trust, estate or other legal entity. 

"Other electronic media" means any electronic 

communication device or combination of devices including 

but not limited to personal computers, the Internet, private 

networks, interactive televisions and wireless communication 

technologies or other technologies approved by the 

commission. 

"Principal residence address" means the street address 

identified by an applicant or a current account holder as that 

individual's residential address, as such address may be 

verified by the account wagering licensee. 

"Proper identification" means a form of identification 

accepted in the normal course of business to establish that the 

person making a transaction is an account holder. 

"Racetrack licensee" means any person holding a current 

unlimited license to own or operate a horse racetrack or 

satellite facility where pari-mutuel wagering is permitted. 

"Retainage" means the total amount deducted from the pari-

mutuel wagering pool for (i) a license fee to the commission 

and localities, (ii) the unlimited license, (iii) purse money for 

the participants, (iv) the Virginia Breeders Fund, and (v) 

certain enumerated organizations as required or permitted by 

law, regulation or contract approved by the commission. 

"Secure personal identification code" means either a 

numeric or an alpha-numeric character code chosen by an 

account holder as a means by which the account wagering 

licensee may verify a wager or account transaction as 

authorized by the account holder. 

"Source market fee" means the fee payable by the account 

wagering licensee pursuant to the terms and provisions of the 

contractual agreement among the prospective account 

wagering licensee, the racetrack licensee and the recognized 

majority horsemen's organizations. 

"Source market fee area" means the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

"Terms of agreement" means the agreement, approved by 

the commission, between an account wagering licensee and 

an account holder that includes but is not limited to the 

deposits, credits, debits, withdrawals and the opening and 

closing of accounts. 

"Withdrawal" means a payment of money from an account 

by the account wagering licensee to the account holder when 

properly requested by the account holder. 

"Withdrawal slip" means a form provided by the account 

wagering licensee for use by an account holder in 

withdrawing funds from an account. 

11VAC10-45-20. Authorization to conduct account 

wagering.  

A. No person shall conduct account wagering in the 

Commonwealth unless he has applied for and has been 

granted an account wagering license by the commission. No 

account wagering license shall be granted by the commission 

unless the applicant meets the criteria specified in § §§ 59.1-

369 and 59.1-392.1 of the Code of Virginia and these 

regulations.  

B. An account wagering license shall be valid for the 

calendar year in which it is issued.  

C. An application shall include, on a form prescribed by the 

commission, the names, addresses and telephone numbers of 

all officers and directors. It shall solicit the same information 

for an account wagering license, to the extent relevant, as 

required for an unlimited license as specified in 11VAC10-

20-30 (Applicant's affidavit), 11VAC10-20-40 (Disclosure of 

ownership and control), 11VAC10-20-50 (Disclosure of 

character information), and subdivision 1 of 11VAC10-20-80 

(Disclosure of financial resources) of the commission's 

regulations with the following modifications:  

1. The first paragraph of the applicant's affidavit shall state 

that the application is made for a license to conduct 

account wagering in the Commonwealth;  

2. The applicant must disclose any agreements or 

understandings that the applicant or any individual or 

entity identified pursuant to 11VAC10-20-40 has entered 

into with a person or persons other than the applicant 

regarding ownership or operation of the applicant and must 

provide copies of any such agreements or understandings 

with the application; and  

3. The disclosure of character information that is required 

by 11VAC10-20-50 must be made if the applicant, any 

individual or entity that owns a 5.0% or greater equity 

interest in the applicant, or any person or entity that will 

exercise any degree of management or control of the 

applicant has committed any of the acts or otherwise meets 

any of the criteria listed in 11VAC10-20-50. Nothing in 

this subsection shall require an applicant to include with its 

application copies of employment agreements unless 

requested by the commission.  

D. As part of the application process, the license applicant 

also shall submit a detailed plan, including a detailed budget 

of the cost of implementation, of how its proposed account 

wagering system would operate including internal controls 

procedures. The commission may require changes in a 

proposed plan of operations as a condition of granting a 

request. No subsequent material changes in the system's 

operation may occur unless ordered by the commission or 

until approval is obtained from the commission after it 

receives a written request.  

E. As part of the application process, the license applicant 

must provide a copy of the contractual agreement among the 
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prospective account wagering licensee, the racetrack licensee, 

and representatives of the recognized majority horsemen's 

organizations. Included in such agreement shall be the agreed 

upon terms between the racetrack licensee and the recognized 

majority horsemen's organizations that details the distribution 

of retainage generated by account wagering within the source 

market fee area for each breed after the license fee to the 

commission has been paid.  

F. E. The commission may conduct investigations or 

inspections or request additional information from the 

applicant for a license and its officers, directors, managers 

and equity holders, as applicable, holding 5.0% or more of 

the applicant's equity interest as it deems appropriate in 

determining if the applicant has the financial resources to 

conduct account wagering, and whether to allow the applicant 

to conduct account wagering.  

G. F. Before being granted its original account wagering 

license, and every six months thereafter, the account 

wagering licensee shall furnish the commission with proof 

that the account holders will be guaranteed the full value of 

their accounts regardless of the acts of the account wagering 

licensee or any other entity. If the proof offered to the 

commission is not acceptable to the commission, the 

commission may require the account wagering licensee to 

purchase a bond or other form of insurance guaranteeing that 

the account holders receive the full value of their accounts.  

H. G. An application to renew an account wagering license 

for each succeeding calendar year is due in the offices of the 

commission by 5 p.m. on December 1 on a form prescribed 

by the commission.  

11VAC10-45-30. Operations by account wagering 

licensee.  

A. Before beginning operations in Virginia, the account 

wagering licensee must be qualified to do business in 

Virginia.  

B. Any action that suspends or otherwise prohibits an 

account wagering licensee of the commission from operating 

in another state may be used as grounds for a suspension of 

its account wagering license in Virginia pursuant to § 59.1-

385 C of the Code of Virginia.  

C. All employees working on behalf of the account 

wagering licensee's account wagering center must either have 

a Virginia commission permit or be licensed, permitted or 

otherwise authorized by the state where the account wagering 

center is located.  

D. Within 45 days following the end of each quarter, the 

account wagering licensee shall provide to the racetrack 

licensee a summary report detailing wagering processed 

through the account wagering system by Virginia residents 

wagering on both in-state and out-of-state races and non-

Virginia residents wagering on Virginia races. The reports 

shall be subject to review by the commission.  

E. D. Only individuals who have established accounts with 

an account wagering company licensed by the commission 

may wager through an account and that account must be with 

an account wagering company licensed in Virginia.  

F. E. Opening an account.  

1. An account wagering licensee shall require from an 

applicant the following information including, but not 

limited to:  

a. Name;  

b. Principal residence address;  

c. Telephone number;  

d. Social security number;  

e. Age; and  

f. Other information necessary for the account 

administration.  

2. The information obtained from the applicant shall be 

verified by the account wagering licensee using means 

acceptable to the commission.  

G. F. Administration of an account.  

1. Each account holder's wagering account shall be 

administered in accordance with the terms of agreement, 

which have been approved by the commission, including 

but not limited to:  

a. Deposits;  

b. Credits to accounts;  

c. Debits to accounts;  

d. Withdrawals;  

e. Minimum deposit; and  

f. Fees, if any, per wager.  

2. A person may not directly or indirectly act as an 

intermediary, transmitter or agent in the placing of wagers 

for an account holder. A person may not place a wager on 

behalf of an account holder. Only an account holder may 

place an account wager. Direct or indirect involvement as 

an intermediary, transmitter or agent in the placing of 

wagers includes a system, known as a transfer account or 

master account, whereby funds are deposited to one 

account from another account. This section does not 

prohibit use of credit or debit cards specifically approved 

by the account wagering center or the use of checks, 

money orders or negotiable orders of withdrawal.  

3. An account wagering licensee shall maintain for at least 

one year all records of the opening and closing of accounts, 

wagers, earnings and withdrawals;  

4. An account wagering licensee may close accounts for 

violation of its terms of agreement or other appropriate 

reasons;  

5. An account wagering licensee may close wagering on 

any particular race or racetrack;  
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6. An account wagering licensee shall provide the account 

holder with appropriate identification materials and the 

terms of agreement; and  

7. The principal residence address provided in writing by 

the account holder at the time of application is deemed to 

be the proper address for the purposes of mailing checks, 

statements of account, account withdrawals, notices, or 

other appropriate correspondence. The mailing of checks 

or other correspondence to the address given by the 

account holder shall be at the sole risk of the account 

holder.  

11VAC10-45-40. Account wagering licensee requirements.  

A. An account wagering licensee shall conduct its 

operations with account holders in accordance with the terms 

of agreement, previously approved by the commission;  

B. No employee or agent of the account wagering licensee 

shall divulge any confidential information related to the 

placing of any wager or any confidential information related 

to the operation of the account wagering center except:  

1. To the account holder as required by these rules;  

2. To the commission;  

3. To the account wagering licensee and its affiliates; and 

4. To the racetrack licensee as required by the agreement 

between the account wagering licensee and the racetrack 

licensee; and  

5. 4. As otherwise required by state or federal law.  

C. All wagering conversations, transactions or other 

wagering communications through the account wagering 

system, verbal or electronic, shall be recorded by means of 

the appropriate electronic media, and the tapes or other 

records of such communications shall be kept by the account 

wagering center for a period of one year. These tapes and 

other records shall be made available to commissioners, 

employees and designees of the commission on request.  

D. The recording of the confirmation of the transaction, as 

reflected in the voice or data recording records, shall be 

deemed to be the actual wager, regardless of what was 

recorded by the pari-mutuel system;  

E. An account wagering licensee shall not accept wagers if 

its transcribing system is not operable;  

F. An account wagering license shall be administered in 

accordance with its terms of licensure and the previously 

approved terms of agreement; and  

G. The commission may review and monitor the equipment, 

staff and records of an account wagering licensee and any of 

the transactions conducted by the account wagering licensee 

in regards to wagers made by account holders.  

11VAC10-45-50. Fees.  

A. Application for account wagering license.  

1. A nonrefundable application fee of $5,000 must be 

submitted with the application.  

2. The applicant will be billed and shall be responsible for 

any costs involved in the background checks and review of 

the application in excess of $5,000.  

B. Annual fees.  

1. An annual fee of $1,000 shall be payable to the 

commission on issuance of the original license and 

thereafter on or before January 1 of each year. The licensee 

will be billed and shall be responsible for any costs in 

excess of $1,000 associated with the review of the annual 

renewal application.  

2. One-half A license fee of one and one-half percent 

(0.5%) (1.5%) of the gross total handle from the source 

market area shall be payable to the commission on the 

tenth day of each month for the previous month.  

C. Distribution for source market fees—single racetrack 

licensee.  

1. The account wagering licensee shall distribute source 

market fees, and host fees if applicable, to the racetrack 

licensee on the tenth of each month for the previous month.  

2. The racetrack licensee shall distribute the horsemen's 

shares to the respective partners accounts within 48 hours 

after receipt from the account wagering licensee.  

D. Distribution of source market fees—more than one 

racetrack licensee. If more than one racetrack licensee 

operates in Virginia, then the source market fees shall be 

distributed as follows:  

1. All source market fees derived from account wagers 

placed by account holders with a principal residence 

address located within a 50-mile radius (the "50-mile 

radius") of any track or satellite wagering facility operated 

by a racetrack licensee shall be distributed to each such 

licensee;  

2. All source market fees derived from account wagers 

placed by account holders with a principal residence 

address located outside any 50-mile radius shall be shared 

among the racetrack licensees in proportion to each 

licensee's respective capital expenditures on such licensee's 

track and satellite wagering facilities in Virginia; and  

3. If an overlap exists between two 50-mile radii, the 

racetrack licensee to first operate a track or satellite 

wagering facility in such area shall receive the source 

market fees from account wagers placed within the 

overlapping area.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4428; Filed July 17, 2015, 3:22 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Withdrawal of Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities (adding 12VAC5-371-191).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The Department of Health has withdrawn the above-

referenced fast-track rulemaking action published in 

31:22 VA.R. 2063-2065 June 29, 2015, so this regulation will 

not take effect on August 29, 2015. This action pertains to the 

implementation of electronic monitoring in nursing home 

resident rooms. Chapters 674 and 682 of the 2013 Acts of 

Assembly mandated that the department promulgate 

regulations governing the implementation of voluntary 

electronic monitoring in the rooms of residents of nursing 

homes to codify a 2007 Department of Health guideline 

developed to assist nursing facilities with the privacy 

intricacies related to installing electronic monitoring 

equipment. Subsequent to publication of the fast-track 

rulemaking action in the Virginia Register of Regulations, 

several stakeholder organizations stated to the department that 

certain provisions in the regulatory text go beyond the 

provisions of the 2007 guideline. The department agrees and 

plans to initiate a new fast-track rulemaking action that is 

more consistent with the provisions of the 2007 guideline. 

Agency Contact: Susan Puglisi, Policy Analyst, Department 

of Health, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, 

telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 367-2149, or email 

susan.puglisi@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3575; Filed July 24, 2015, 11:03 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-1600, 12VAC30-120-1610).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq.). 

Effective Date: September 9, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments adopt the expanded definition of covered 

individuals and the use of the Diagnostic and Statistical 

Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) that provides for the 

expanded definition of related dementias as required in the 

legislative mandate in Item 301 TTTT of Chapter 665 of 

the 2015 Acts of Assembly. 

Part XVI 

Alzheimer's Waiver 

12VAC30-120-1600. Definitions. 

The following words or terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the content clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, and eating/feeding. An 

individual's degree of independence in performing these 

activities is a part of determining the appropriate level of care 

and service needs. 

"Administrator" means the person who oversees the day-to-

day operation of the facility, including compliance with all 

regulations for licensed assisted living facilities. 

"Admissions summary" means the Virginia Uniform 

Assessment Instrument and other relevant social, 

psychological, and medical information gathered by the 

assisted living facility staff for use in the development and 

updates of the individual service plan. 

"Alzheimer's" means a diagnosis of Alzheimer's as defined 

by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 

4th Edition (DSM-IV-TR) or Fifth Edition (DSM-5), 

published by the American Psychiatric Association.  

"Alzheimer's Assisted Living Waiver" or "AAL Waiver" 

means the CMS-approved waiver that covers a range of 

community support services offered to individuals who have 

a diagnosis of Alzheimer's or a related dementia who meet 

nursing facility level of care. 

"Americans with Disabilities Act" or "ADA" means the 

United States Code pursuant to 42 USC § 12101 et seq., as 

amended. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge actions 

regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 

Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 12VAC30-20-500 

through 12VAC30-20-560. 

"Assisted living facility" means a congregate residential 

setting as defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Auxiliary Grant Program" means a state and locally funded 

assistance program to supplement the income of an individual 

who receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or an adult 

who would be eligible for SSI except for excess income and 

who lives in a licensed assisted living facility with an 

approved rate. 

"Barrier crime" means those crimes as defined in § 32.1-

162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, which is the unit of the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services that administers the Medicare and 

Medicaid programs.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol31/iss22/v31i22.pdf
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"Designated preauthorization or service contractor" means 

DMAS or the entity that has been contracted by DMAS to 

perform preauthorization of services or service authorizations. 

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting directly or 

indirectly door-to-door, telephonic or other "cold call" 

marketing of services at residences and provider sites; (ii) 

mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees"; (iv) offering 

financial incentives, rewards, gifts or special opportunities to 

eligible individuals or family/caregivers as inducements to 

use the providers' services; (v) continuous, periodic marketing 

activities to the same prospective individual or 

family/caregiver for example, monthly, quarterly, or annual 

giveaways as inducements to use the providers' services; or 

(vi) engaging in marketing activities that offer potential 

customers rebates or discounts in conjunction with the use of 

the providers' services or other benefits as a means of 

influencing the individual's or family/caregiver's use of the 

providers' services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services. 

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services. 

"DSS" means the Virginia Department of Social Services. 

"Enrolled provider" means an entity that is either licensed or 

certified by the appropriate state agency that also meets the 

standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and has a 

current, signed provider participation agreement with DMAS. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 

services" means the range of community support services 

approved by the CMS pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social 

Security Act to be offered to persons who are elderly or 

disabled who would otherwise require the level of care 

provided in a nursing facility. DMAS or the designated 

preauthorization/service authorizations contractor shall only 

give preauthorization/service authorization for medically 

necessary Medicaid-reimbursed home and community care. 

"Individual" means the person receiving the services 

established in these regulations and who (i) meets the 

eligibility criteria for residing in a safe, secure environment as 

described in 22VAC40-72-10; (ii) meets the eligibility 

criteria for the AAL Waiver; and (iii) resides in a safe, secure 

environment of an assisted living facility. 

"Individual service plan" means the written individual plan 

developed by the provider related solely to the specific 

services required by the individual to ensure optimal health 

and safety while living in the assisted living facility. 

"Legally authorized representative" means a person legally 

responsible for representing or standing in the place of an 

individual for the conduct of the individual's affairs. This may 

include a guardian, conservator, attorney-in-fact under 

durable power of attorney, trustee, or other person expressly 

named by a court of competent jurisdiction or the individual 

as his agent in a legal document that specifies the scope of the 

representative's authority to act. A legally authorized 

representative may only represent or stand in the place of the 

individual for the function or functions for which he has legal 

authority to act.  

"Licensed health care professional" or "LHCP" means any 

health care professional currently licensed by the relevant 

health regulatory board of the Department of Health 

Professions of the Commonwealth who is practicing within 

the scope of his license.  

"Preadmission screening" means the process to: (i) evaluate 

the functional, nursing, and social supports of individuals 

referred for preadmission screening; (ii) assist individuals in 

determining what specific services the individuals need; (iii) 

evaluate whether a service or a combination of existing 

community services are available to meet the individuals' 

needs; and (iv) refer individuals to the appropriate provider 

for Medicaid-funded nursing facility or home and 

community-based care for those individuals who meet 

nursing facility level of care. 

"Preadmission screening team" means the entity contracted 

with DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 

screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Related dementia" means a diagnosis of Dementia of the 

Alzheimer's Type as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical 

Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (DSM-IV-TR) or 

Fifth Edition (DSM-5), published by the American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Safe, secure environment" means a self-contained special 

care unit as defined in 22VAC40-72-10. 

"Serious cognitive impairment" means a condition in which 

an individual cannot recognize danger or protect his own 

safety, as defined in 22VAC40-72-10, and who is also 

residing in a safe, secure environment as defined in 

22VAC40-72-10. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "Plan" means the 

Commonwealth's legal document approved by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services identifying the covered 

groups, covered services and their limitations, and provider 

reimbursement methodologies as provided for under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means 

the standardized multidimensional questionnaire that is 

completed by the preadmission screening team, in a face-to-

face meeting with the individual and legally authorized 

representative, as may be appropriate, which assesses an 

individual's physical health, mental health, and social and 

functional abilities to determine if the individual meets the 

level of care for certain publicly funded long-term care 

programs such as nursing facility services. 

12VAC30-120-1610. Individual eligibility requirements. 

A. Waiver service population. The AAL Waiver shall be 

available through a § 1915(c) of the Social Security Act 
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waiver to eligible aged and disabled Auxiliary Grant 

individuals who live in licensed assisted living facilities. 

B. Eligibility criteria. To qualify for AAL Waiver services, 

individuals must shall meet all of the following criteria: 

1. The waiver individual must shall be either: 

a. Elderly as defined by § 1614 of the Social Security 

Act; or 

b. Disabled as defined by § 1614 of the Social Security 

Act. 

2. The waiver individual must shall meet the criteria for 

admission to a nursing facility as determined by a 

preadmission screening team using the full UAI. 

3. The waiver individual must shall (i) have a diagnosis of 

either Alzheimer's or a related dementia as diagnosed by a 

licensed clinical psychologist or a licensed physician, or 

(ii) be a resident with a serious cognitive impairment, who 

resides in a safe, secure environment as defined in 

22VAC40-72-10. The individual may not have a diagnosis 

of mental retardation/intellectual disability as defined by 

the American Association on Intellectual and 

Developmental Disabilities, or a serious mental illness as 

defined in 42 CFR 483.102(b). 

4. The waiver individual must shall be receiving an 

Auxiliary Grant, and living in or seeking admission to a 

safe, secure unit of a DMAS-enrolled assisted living 

facility. 

C. The waiver individual may not have a diagnosis of 

intellectual disability, as defined by the American Association 

on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, or a serious 

mental illness as defined in 42 CFR 483.102(b). 

D. Assessment. Medicaid will not pay for any AAL Waiver 

services delivered prior to the date of the preadmission 

screening by the preadmission screening team and the 

physician signature on the Medicaid-Funded Long-Term Care 

Services Authorization Form (DMAS-96). Medicaid will not 

pay for any AAL Waiver services delivered prior to the 

individual's effective date of Medicaid eligibility and 

qualification for an Auxiliary Grant. 

D. E. Enrollment. For the enrollment of all CMS-approved 

waiver slots, individuals will be reviewed on a first-come, 

first-served basis in accordance with available waiver 

funding. If there is not a no waiver slot available for an 

individual, the individual shall be placed on the waiting list. 

Individuals must shall meet all waiver eligibility criteria in 

order to be placed on the waiting list. 

E. F. Preauthorization. Before a provider can bill DMAS for 

AAL Waiver services, preauthorization must shall be 

obtained from DMAS. Providers must shall submit all 

required information to the designated preauthorization 

contractor within 10 business days of initiating care. If the 

provider submits all required information to the designated 

preauthorization contractor within 10 business days of 

initiating care, services may be authorized beginning from the 

date the provider initiated services but not preceding the date 

of the physician's signature on the Medicaid-Funded Long-

Term Care Services Authorization Form (DMAS-96). If the 

provider does not submit all required information to either the 

designated preauthorization contractor or DMAS within 10 

business days of initiating care, the services may be 

authorized beginning with the date all required information 

was received by the designated preauthorization contractor, 

but in no event preceding the date of the preadmission 

screening team physician's signature on the DMAS-96. 

F. G. Review of the waiver individual's level of care. DMAS 

conducts this review based on the documentation submitted 

by the provider. The level of care assessments are performed 

to ensure that individuals receiving services in the waiver 

continue to meet the criteria for the waiver. 

G. H. Termination of services. In the case of termination of 

AAL Waiver services by DMAS, waiver individuals shall be 

notified of their appeal rights pursuant to 12VAC30-110, 

Eligibility and Appeals. DMAS may terminate AAL Waiver 

services for any of the following reasons: 

1. The AAL Waiver is no longer required to prevent or 

delay institutional placement; 

2. The waiver individual is no longer eligible for Medicaid; 

3. The waiver individual is no longer eligible to receive an 

auxiliary grant Auxiliary Grant; 

4. The waiver individual no longer meets AAL Waiver 

criteria; 

5. The waiver individual has been absent from, or has not 

received services from, the assisted living facility for more 

than 30 consecutive days; 

6. The waiver individual's environment does not provide 

for his health, safety, and welfare; or 

7. The assisted living facility no longer meets safe and 

secure licensing standards set by DSS or standards set by 

DMAS for service providers. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC30-120) 

Intellectual Disability: Definition, Classification, and 

Systems of Supports, 11th edition, 2010, American 

Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, 

501 3rd Street, NW, Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-2760; 

http://www.aaidd.org/intellectualdisabilitybook/ 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 

Fourth Edition (DSM-IV-TR), 2000, American Psychiatric 

Association, 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, Arlington, 

Virginia 22209 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM-5®), Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association, 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, 

Arlington, Virginia 22209, http:/www.psychiatry.org/dsm5 

Underwriter's Laboratories Safety Standard 1635, Standard 

for Digital Alarm Communicator System Units, Third 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82f8c004309~1&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82f8c004309~1&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://www.psychiatry.org/dsm5
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Edition, January 31, 1996, with revisions through August 15, 

2005 

Underwriter's Laboratories Safety Standard 1637, Standard 

for Home Health Care Signaling Equipment, Fourth Edition, 

December 29, 2006 

MR/ID Waiver Slot Assignment Process, August 20, 2010, 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services 

Virginia Medicaid Provider Manual 

Chapter I: General Information (rev. 12/1/2011) 

Chapter II: Provider Participation Requirements (rev. 

2/8/2012) 

Chapter III: Recipient Eligibility (rev. 12/1/2011) 

Chapter IV: Covered Services and Limitations (rev. 

7/14/2010) 

Chapter V: Billing Instructions (rev. 1/26/2011) 

Chapter VI: Quality Management Review (rev. 7/14/2010) 

Chapter VII: Day Support Waiver (rev. 7/14/2010) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4309; Filed July 10, 2015, 4:02 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-85. Recording and 

Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (amending 

16VAC25-85-1904.2, 16VAC25-85-1904.39).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-6 and 40.1-22 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 15, 2015.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

crisanti.john@dol.gov. 

Summary:  

In a revised final rule, federal Occupational Safety & Health 

Administration (OSHA) made revisions to the reporting and 

recording requirements in 29 CFR 1904. In 1904.2, the 

nonmandatory Appendix A to Subpart B updated the list of 

partially exempted industries to use a list classified by the 

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). In 

1904.39 the following amendments are made to reportable 

work-related injuries and illness events: (i) reporting of 

fatalities resulting from a work-related incident are limited to 

those occurring within 30 days of the incident; (ii) every in-

patient hospitalization (instead of a minimum of three) within 

eight hours of the hospitalization requires reporting; and (iii) 

each amputation and loss of an eye resulting from a work-

related incident requires reporting within eight hours of the 

incident. Additional changes include (i) an added method of 

reporting; (ii) allowing that if the employer does not 

immediately learn of an incident, the employer is required to 

report within eight hours of the incident being reported to the 

employer; and (iii) definitions for "in-patient hospitalization" 

and "amputation" are added. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 of 

the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1904 (Recording and 

Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses) is declared a 

document generally available to the public and appropriate for 

incorporation by reference. For this reason this document will 

not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A copy of 

the document is available for inspection at the Department of 

Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On July 9, 2015, the Safety 

and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's revised final 

rule for Occupational Injury and Illness Recording and Reporting 

Requirements – NAICS Update and Reporting Revisions, as 

published in 79 FR 56186 through 79 FR 56188 on September 

18, 2014, with an effective date of January 1, 2015. 

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the amendment to Occupational Injury and Illness 

Recording and Reporting Requirements – NAICS Update and 

Reporting Revisions are applied to the Commissioner of the 

Department of Labor and Industry or to Virginia employers, the 

following federal terms shall be considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms  VOSH Equivalent 

OSHA   VOSH 

29 CFR  VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary  Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Area Office   Regional Office 

Agency  Department 

January 1, 2015  September 15, 2015 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4458; Filed July 17, 2015, 11:49 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bb91002056~1&typ=40&actno=002056&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bb91002056~1&typ=40&actno=002056&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bb91002056~1&typ=40&actno=002056&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f7690004309~2&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b2a5004309~4&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b2a5004309~4&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91f34004309~4&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6b57e004309~5&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6b57e004309~5&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd865004309~6&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a6757004309~7&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9515b004309~8&typ=40&actno=004309&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-40. Time-Share Regulations 

(amending 18VAC48-40-20, 18VAC48-40-40; adding 

18VAC48-40-25, 18VAC48-40-120 through 18VAC48-40-

160).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 9, 2015. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8510, FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 55-396 of the Code of Virginia states that the 

Common Interest Community Board may adopt, amend, and 

repeal rules and regulations and issue orders consistent with 

and in furtherance of the objectives of Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act, Chapter 21 (§ 55-360 et seq.) of Title 55 of 

the Code of Virginia. Section 55-394.5 of the Code of 

Virginia states the registration requirements for time-share 

alternative purchases. 

Purpose: An amendment to the Time-Share Regulations is 

necessary as a result of changes to the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act pursuant to Chapter 623 of the 2014 Virginia 

Acts of Assembly. The changes to the Time-Share Act 

include alternative purchase registration requirements, 

therefore, regulation amendment is necessary to incorporate 

and reflect the statutory changes and ensure full and accurate 

disclosure to potential and actual purchasers of alternative 

purchases, all to better protect the health, safety, and welfare 

of citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

rulemaking process is being used because this amendment is 

a result of a statutory change. The need for a statutory change 

was identified during general review of the Time-Share 

Regulations. During that review, it was determined that the 

statutory requirements to register alternative purchases 

included the same items required of time-share project 

registration such as escrow bonds for deposits and lengthy 

disclosure statements, which would be onerous and overly 

burdensome for the developer. The committee involved in 

conducting the general review of the Time-Share Regulations 

included consumers, time-share developers, representation 

from time-share industry organizations, the American Resort 

Development Association (ARDA), and the Virginia Resort 

Development Association (VRDA). ARDA and VRDA 

assisted in the general review and sought the statutory change 

to the alternative purchase registration requirements because 

the statutory provisions were overly and unnecessarily 

burdensome to developers, and such requirements did not 

serve to increase protection to the public. 

This amendment should not be controversial as it is more 

detrimental to protection of the public (including developers) 

by not having the process formalized in regulation in a 

manner that can be clearly understood by the affected parties. 

In order to be consistent with current industry and common 

interest community processes, the regulations for alternative 

purchase registration require a disclosure statement and 

yearly renewal through an annual report process. Annual 

reports are submitted currently by time-share projects, 

exchange programs, condominium project registrations, and 

community association registrations. 

Substance: This amendment includes procedures for 

alternative purchase application for registration such as the 

filing must be in a form prescribed by the board's regulations 

and shall include a general description of the types of 

alternatives purchases; a copy of the terms and conditions 

applicable to the alternative purchase; the name, address, and 

contact information of the developer offering the alternative 

purchases; and such additional information as required by the 

board. The amendments also incorporate a fee for filing a 

time-share alternative purchase registration application and 

annual report and a directive that any material change to the 

standard terms and conditions applicable to an alternative 

purchase shall be filed with the board within 30 days. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the Commonwealth and 

public is that the revisions will ensure consistency with 

current legal requirements and ensure full and accurate 

disclosure to potential and actual purchasers of alternative 

purchases, all to better protect the health, safety, and welfare 

of citizens of the Commonwealth. No disadvantages to the 

public or the Commonwealth could be identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 623 of the 2014 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly, the Common Interest Community Board (Board) 

proposes to establish alternative purchase registration 

procedures.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Virginia Code § 55-362 defines 

alternative purchase as: 

... anything valued in excess of $100 which is offered to a 

potential purchaser by the developer during the 

developer's sales presentation and which is purchased by 

such potential purchaser for more than $100, even though 

the purchaser did not purchase a time-share. An 

alternative purchase is not a time-share. A membership 

camping contract as defined in § 59.1-313 is not an 
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alternative purchase. An alternative purchase shall be 

registered with the Board unless it is otherwise registered 

as a travel service under the Virginia Travel Club Act (§ 

59.1-445 et seq.), and shall include, without limitation, 

vacation packages (howsoever denominated) and exit 

programs (howsoever denominated). 

Currently, alternative purchases are registered through the 

time-share registration process. Alternative purchases are 

typically much less complex and have significantly lower 

dollar values compared to time-shares.
1
 The proposed 

alternative purchase registration process will be less costly 

than the current process whereby alternative purchases are 

registered via the time-share process.  

The proposed fees for the alternative purchase registration are 

substantially lower than the time-share registration fee: 1) 

$100 rather than $1,500 for initial application and 

registration, and 2) $100 rather than $500 for annual renewal. 

There are substantially fewer requirements for the alternative 

purchase public offering statement versus the time-share 

offering statement. Thus under the proposed alternative 

purchase registration process less staff time would be 

required in preparation of offering statements.  

For time-share registration, Virginia Code § 55-386 requires 

that "The developer shall file with the Board a payment and 

performance bond in the sum equal to 100 percent of the 

estimated cost of completing all promised and incomplete 

units and common elements comprising the time-share 

project described in the time-share instrument and the public 

offering statement." The proposed alternative purchase 

registration does not require a bond. Given the lower values 

and nature of alternative purchases, the Board does not 

believe a bond is necessary for alternative purchases. 

Registration for alternative purchases has value in that the 

public offering disclosure statements help inform consumers 

and help the Board and Department monitor the industry. The 

proposed alternative purchase registration will substantially 

lower costs for developers while maintaining some consumer 

protection. Thus the proposed amendments likely produce a 

net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The approximate 100 time-

share projects and related developers are affected by the 

proposed amendments.
2
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. Time-shares and thus 

alternative purchases are more common in areas frequented 

for vacations.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. In that the 

proposed establishment of alternative purchase registration 

procedures will lower the cost of offering alternative 

purchases, developers may be induced to offer more 

alternative purchases than under the status quo.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

alternative purchase registration will moderately reduce costs 

for small developers who choose to offer alternative 

purchases.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

will moderately reduce costs for real estate developers 

offering alternative purchases associated with time-shares. 

Legal Mandate.  

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments.  Further the report should include but not be 

limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 
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_________________________________________________ 
1Source: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
2Data source: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate alternative purchase 

registration procedures to the Time-Share Regulations 

(18VAC48-40) as a result of changes to the Virginia Real 

Estate Time-Share Act pursuant to Chapter 623 of the 

2014 Acts of Assembly, including (i) procedures for 

alternative purchase application for registration; (ii) a fee 

for filing a time-share alternative purchase registration 

application and an annual report; and (iii) a directive that 

any material change to the standard terms and conditions 

applicable to an alternative purchase shall be filed with 

the board within 30 days. 

18VAC48-40-20. Application for registration of time-

share projects and programs. 

Application for registration of time-share projects and 

programs shall be filed with the board on an application form 

furnished by the board and shall contain all of the documents 

and information required by § 55-391.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

18VAC48-40-25. Application for registration of 

alternative purchase. 

Application for registration of alternative purchase shall be 

filed with the board on an application form furnished by the 

board and shall contain all of the documents and information 

required by § 55-394.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-40-40. Filing fees. 

1. The filing fee for an original application for registration 

of a time-share project shall be $1,500.  

2. The filing fee for an amendment to the application for 

registration adding a phase or phases to the time-share 

project shall be $250.  

3. The filing fee for the a time-share registration annual 

report filed by the developer shall be $500.  

4. The filing fee for an original application for registration 

of an exchange company shall be $1,000. The filing fee for 

the annual report of an exchange company shall be $250.  

5. There shall be no fee for filing an amended public 

offering statement with the board.  

6. The filing fee for an application for registration of an 

alternative purchase shall be $100. 

7. The filing fee for an alternative purchase registration 

annual report shall be $100. 

18VAC48-40-120. Registration of alternative purchase 

required. 

As required by § 55-394.5 of the Code of Virginia, a time-

share developer shall register as an alternative purchase as 

defined in § 55-362 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-40-130. Review of application for registration 

of an alternative purchase. 

At such time as the board affirmatively determines that the 

requirements of this chapter have been met, the board shall 

register the alternative purchase. The registration period of 

the alternative purchase shall expire the last day of the month 

one year from the date of issuance. 

18VAC48-40-140. Annual report required for alternative 

purchase registration. 

A. Prior to the expiration of the registration, the developer 

shall file an annual report in a form approved by the board for 

the registered alternative purchase affiliated with such time-

share project registration. Such alternative purchase annual 

report shall be accompanied by the fee specified in 

18VAC48-40-40.  

B. The annual report shall contain, but may not be limited 

to, the following: 

1. Current contact information for the developer. 

2. Information concerning the current status of the 

alternative purchase. 

C. Once the annual report has been accepted by the board, 

the registration shall be extended for an additional one-year 

period from the date of expiration of the registration. If the 

developer fails to complete the annual report filing within one 

year after the date of expiration, the registration shall not be 

extended and the developer must apply as a new applicant. 

18VAC48-40-150. Termination of registration for an 

alternative purchase. 

A. The alternative purchase registration shall be terminated 

upon receipt of written notification from the developer 

attesting that the developer has ceased sales and requests 

termination of the alternative purchase. Should the developer 

later choose to offer alternative purchases for which the 

registration has been terminated in accordance with this 

subsection, prior to offering an alternative purchase, the 

developer must submit a new application for registration of 

the alternative purchase, meet all requirements in effect at the 

time of application, and obtain an alternative purchase 

registration from the board. 

B. Upon receipt and review of the notification pursuant to 

subsection A of this section, the board shall terminate the 

alternative purchase registration. The board may request 

additional information as necessary during the review of the 

submitted notification to ensure that the alternative purchase 

registration is eligible for termination.  

C. An alternative purchase registration shall be 

automatically terminated for failure to file an acceptable 
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annual report within one year after the expiration of the 

registration. 

18VAC48-40-160. Reporting of changes to the alternative 

purchase. 

In accordance with § 55-394.5 B of the Code of Virginia, 

any material change made or known by the developer that 

may affect the accuracy or completeness of the alternative 

purchase registration file shall be filed with the board within 

30 days of the effective date of the change. The board may 

request additional information as necessary to ensure 

compliance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act 

(§ 55-360 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and this chapter. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC48-40) 

Time-Share Registration Application, TSREG (eff. 9/08). 

Exchange Company Registration Application, EXCOREG 

(eff. 9/08). 

Time-Share Annual Report, A492-0515ANRPT-v3 (eff. 

6/15) 

Time-Share Bond/Letter of Credit Verification Form, A492-

0515BOND-v1 (eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Registration Application, A492-0515REG-v1 

(eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Building Status Form, A492-0515BLDST-v1 

(eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Amendment Application, A492-0515AMEND-

v1 (eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Exchange Company Registration Application, 

A492-0516REG-v1 (eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Exchange Company Annual Report, A492-

0516ANRPT-v1 (eff. 9/13) 

Alternative Purchase Registration Application, A492-

05ALTPURREG-v1 (eff. 10/15) 

Alternative Purchase Annual Report, A492-

05ALTPURANRPT-v1 (eff. 10/15) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4212; Filed July 9, 2015, 11:14 a.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 9, 2015 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Training Room 2, Richmond, Virginia 

23233 

Public Comment Deadline: October 9, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

authority for the Board for Contractors to promulgate 

regulations for the licensure of contractors in the 

Commonwealth.  

Purpose: The board seeks to amend the current regulations to 

correct commercial improvement contracting and radon 

mitigation contracting and to add specialties for drywall 

contracting; finish carpentry contracting; flooring and floor 

covering contracting; glass and glazing contracting; insulation 

and weather stripping contracting; steel erection contracting; 

tile, marble, ceramic, and terrazzo contracting; and 

underground utility and excavating contracting.  

The amendments to the definitions will serve multiple 

purposes related to the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public by making sure the regulations clearly define the scope 

of practice allowed for each specialty classification, ensuring 

that only those contractors who are qualified will complete 

specific contracting work. 

Substance: 18VAC50-22-30 of the Board for Contractors 

Regulations defines the scope of practice allowed for each 

specialty. The proposed amendments add specific specialties 

that are currently under a more general specialty in order that 

contractors who perform those specific specialties are not 

required to complete an examination in areas in which they 

do not perform work. The proposed amendments would also 

clarify the definitions of these specialties to reflect changes in 

the industry and the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code, if applicable.  

Issues: In amending these regulations, the Board for 

Contractors is continuing to provide necessary public 

protection tasked to them through existing statutes. These 

proposed amendments will, without compromising that 

protection, clarify existing requirements, essentially 

providing an advantage to certain contractors by allowing 

them to complete work they are qualified to complete and 

trained to perform without the added burden of obtaining 

additional licenses or interpretations from the board.  

The proposed amendments are advantageous to the agency by 

decreasing the amount of contact time required with the 

current regulant population and potential applicants who often 

require technical assistance in understanding the current 

regulatory requirements. Reallocating the time currently spent 

on providing technical assistance and explanations regarding 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a06c004212~3&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a06c004212~3&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8847004212~4&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8847004212~4&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9f3e004212~9&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9f3e004212~9&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cefd004212~5&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cefd004212~5&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=897b7004212~6&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=897b7004212~6&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd815004212~8&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd815004212~8&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=53069004212~7&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=53069004212~7&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34fe5004212~1&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34fe5004212~1&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30a87004212~2&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30a87004212~2&typ=40&actno=004212&mime=application/pdf
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the examination requirements to actually processing 

applications will result in a reduction in the processing time, 

subsequently reducing the current waiting time experienced 

by all applicants. Currently the board's staff spends a 

considerable amount of time processing applications and 

providing guidance to both the regulant population and the 

general public in those areas impacted by these proposed 

amendments. 

The proposed amendment of the definitions provides needed 

clarification to the building officials of the various localities 

throughout the Commonwealth who are tasked with issuing 

permits to those contractors who are appropriately licensed. 

Permitting staff at localities utilize the definitions of the 

scope of practice to determine if the work being listed on the 

application for a building permit falls into the classification or 

specialty shown on the license of the contractor applying for 

the permit. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth anticipated by the promulgation of these 

amendments. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Contractors (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulation to carve out eight discrete specialties that are 

currently part of larger specialties so that licensees and 

applicants for licensure can choose to just test for and obtain 

these narrower certifications if they do not intend their 

practice to be broader. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current Board regulation 

contains umbrella contractor specialty licenses that cover 

many different types of contracting skills. For instance, the 

Board's home improvement specialty covers multiple skill 

sets used to repair or improve one or two family residential 

buildings or structures annexed to real property; this includes 

putting up dry wall, laying tile or other flooring, installing 

cabinets, etc. Some individuals interested in becoming 

contractors do not want to do all of the jobs that fall under the 

home improvement specialty and may have no experience 

with some of the skills covered. This puts these individuals at 

a disadvantage when they have to take the home improvement 

specialty examination because they may not have the 

knowledge to pass all parts of that exam that may only have a 

few questions on the particular skills that they will use once 

licensed. Board staff reports that some individuals actually 

take the exam knowing they will likely fail just so that they 

can get a feel for what they need to study outside their areas 

of expertise. To address this issue, the Board is proposing to 

divide eight of these skill sets
1
 into their own distinct 

specialties, while at the same time continuing these specific 

skills as part of the applicable umbrella specialty. Since the 

wider umbrella specialties will still be available for 

individuals who wish to be licensed to offer a wider group of 

services, no entity is likely to incur costs on account of these 

changes. Individuals who wish to specialize more narrowly 

will greatly benefit from being able to choose to be tested 

only on the services they intend to offer. This will likely save 

all of these individuals time as they will not have to study to 

answer questions about jobs they never intend to do. Some 

individuals will also be saved the costs (both in time and fees) 

of retaking the broader specialty exam. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 

will affect all individuals who apply for contract licensure in 

the new specialties after this proposed regulation becomes 

effective. Board staff reports that the Board receives 

approximately 5,875 applications for licensure a year but 

estimates that only about 1,000 of those applicants could 

possibly choose the new, narrower specialties.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will likely be 

disproportionately affected by this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have no impact on the use or 

value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses are likely to incur costs on account of this 

proposed regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses are likely to incur costs 

on account of this proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments.  Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  
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Small Businesses:  If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

 
1Drywall contracting, finish carpentry contracting, flooring and floor 

covering contracting, glass and glazing contracting, insulation and weather 

stripping contracting, steel erection contracting, tile, marble, ceramic and 
terrazzo contracting and underground utility and excavation contracting. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Contractors concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) adjust the definitions of two 

contracting specialties and (ii) add eight categories of 

contracting specialties to the list of specialties with defined 

scopes. 

18VAC50-22-30. Definitions of specialty services.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings:  

"Accessibility services contracting" (Abbr: ASC) means the 

service that provides for all work in connection with the 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators in accordance with the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty may also 

perform this work. This specialty does not include work on 

limited use-limited application (LULA) elevators. 

"Accessibility services contracting – LULA" (Abbr: ASL) 

means the service that provides for all work in connection 

with the constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, 

testing, or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, private 

residence elevators, and limited use-limited application 

(LULA) elevators in accordance with the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty may also 

perform this work.  

"Alternative energy system contracting" (Abbr: AES) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair or 

improvement, from the customer's meter, of alternative 

energy generation systems, supplemental energy systems and 

associated equipment annexed to real property. This service 

does not include the installation of emergency generators 

powered by fossil fuels. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. This specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions.  

"Asbestos contracting" (Abbr: ASB) means the service that 

provides for the installation, removal, or encapsulation of 

asbestos containing materials annexed to real property. No 

other classification or specialty service provides for this 

function.  

"Asphalt paving and sealcoating contracting" (Abbr: PAV) 

means the service that provides for the installation of asphalt 

paving or sealcoating, or both, on subdivision streets and 

adjacent intersections, driveways, parking lots, tennis courts, 

running tracks, and play areas, using materials and 

accessories common to the industry. This includes height 

adjustment of existing sewer manholes, storm drains, water 

valves, sewer cleanouts and drain grates, and all necessary 

excavation and grading. The H/H classification also provides 

for this function.  

"Billboard/sign contracting" (Abbr: BSC) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

dismantling of any billboard or structural sign permanently 

annexed to real property. H/H and BLD are the only other 

classifications that can perform this work except that a 

contractor in this specialty may connect or disconnect signs to 

existing electrical circuits. No trade related plumbing, 

electrical, or HVAC work is included in this function.  

"Blast/explosive contracting" (Abbr: BEC) means the 

service that provides for the use of explosive charges for the 

repair, improvement, alteration, or demolition of any real 

property or any structure annexed to real property.  

"Commercial improvement contracting" (Abbr: CIC) means 

the service that provides for repair or improvement to 

nonresidential property and multifamily property as defined 

in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. The BLD 

classification also provides for this function. The CIC 

classification specialty does not provide for the construction 

of new buildings, accessory buildings, electrical, plumbing, 

HVAC, or gas work.  

"Concrete contracting" (Abbr: CEM) means the service that 

provides for all work in connection with the processing, 

proportioning, batching, mixing, conveying and placing of 

concrete composed of materials common to the concrete 

industry. This includes but is not limited to finishing, 
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coloring, curing, repairing, testing, sawing, grinding, 

grouting, placing of film barriers, sealing and waterproofing. 

Construction and assembling of forms, molds, slipforms, 

pans, centering, and the use of rebar is also included. The 

BLD and H/H classifications also provide for this function.  

"Drywall contracting" (Abbr: DRY) means the service that 

provides for the installation, taping, and finishing of drywall, 

panels and assemblies of gypsum wallboard, sheathing, and 

cementitious board and the installation of studs made of sheet 

metal for the framing of ceilings and nonstructural 

partitioning. The BLD classification and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function.  

"Electronic/communication service contracting" (Abbr: 

ESC) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of electronic or 

communications systems annexed to real property including 

telephone wiring, computer cabling, sound systems, data 

links, data and network installation, television and cable TV 

wiring, antenna wiring, and fiber optics installation, all of 

which operate at 50 volts or less. A firm holding an ESC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable tradesman 

licensure standards. The ELE classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Elevator/escalator contracting" (Abbr: EEC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement 

or removal of elevators or escalators permanently annexed to 

real property. A firm holding an EEC license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for this function.  

"Environmental monitoring well contracting" (Abbr: EMW) 

means the service that provides for the construction of a well 

to monitor hazardous substances in the ground.  

"Environmental specialties contracting" (Abbr: ENV) means 

the service that provides for installation, repair, removal, or 

improvement of pollution control and remediation devices. 

No other specialty provides for this function. This specialty 

does not provide for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or 

HVAC functions.  

"Equipment/machinery contracting" (Abbr: EMC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of 

equipment or machinery including but not limited to 

conveyors or heavy machinery. Boilers exempted by the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code but regulated by 

the Department of Labor and Industry are also included in 

this specialty. This specialty does not provide for any 

electrical, plumbing, process piping or HVAC functions.  

"Farm improvement contracting" (Abbr: FIC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair or 

improvement of a nonresidential farm building or structure, or 

nonresidential farm accessory-use structure, or additions 

thereto. The BLD classification also provides for this 

function. The FIC specialty does not provide for any 

electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions.  

"Finish carpentry contracting" (Abbr: FIN) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, and finishing 

of cabinets, sash casing, door casing, wooden flooring, 

baseboards, countertops, and other millwork. Finish carpentry 

does not include the installation of ceramic tile, marble, and 

artificial or cultured stone. The BLD classification and HIC 

and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Fire alarm systems contracting" (Abbr: FAS) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of fire alarm systems which operate at 50 volts 

or less. The ELE classification also provides for this function. 

A firm with an FAS license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable tradesman licensure standards.  

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, alteration, addition, 

testing, maintenance, inspection, improvement, or removal of 

sprinkler systems using water as a means of fire suppression 

when annexed to real property. This specialty does not 

provide for the installation, repair, or maintenance of other 

types of fire suppression systems. The PLB classification 

allows for the installation of systems permitted to be designed 

in accordance with the plumbing provisions of the USBC. 

This specialty may engage in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices in the fire sprinkler supply main and 

incidental to the sprinkler system installation when the 

installer has received formal vocational training approved by 

the board that included instruction in the installation of 

backflow prevention devices.  

"Fire suppression contracting" (Abbr: FSP) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of fire suppression systems including but not 

limited to halon and other gas systems; dry chemical systems; 

and carbon dioxide systems annexed to real property. No 

other classification provides for this function. The FSP 

specialty does not provide for the installation, repair, or 

maintenance of water sprinkler systems.  

"Flooring and floor covering contracting" (Abbr: FLR) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials that are common in the 

flooring industry. This includes, but is not limited to, wood 

and wood composite flooring, tack strips or other products 

used to secure carpet, vinyl and linoleum, ceramic, marble, 

stone, and all other types of tile, and includes the installation 

or replacement of subflooring, leveling products, or other 

materials necessary to facilitate the installation of the flooring 

or floor covering. This does not include the installation, 

repair, or removal of floor joists or other structural 

components of the flooring system. The BLD classification 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Gas fitting contracting" (Abbr: GFC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or removal 

of gas piping and appliances annexed to real property. A firm 

holding a GFC license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual (tradesman) licensure regulations.  
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"Glass and glazing contracting" (Abbr: GLZ) means the 

service that provides for the installation, assembly, repair, 

improvement, or removal of all makes and kinds of glass, 

glass work, mirrored glass, and glass substitute for glazing; 

executes the fabrication and glazing of frames, panels, sashes 

and doors; or installs these items in any structure. This 

specialty includes the installation of standard methods of 

weatherproofing, caulking, glazing, sealants, and adhesives. 

The BLD classification and HIC and CIC specialties also 

provide for this function. 

"Home improvement contracting" (Abbr: HIC) means the 

service that provides for repairs or improvements to one-

family and two-family residential buildings or structures 

annexed to real property. The BLD classification also 

provides for this function. The HIC specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. It 

does not include high rise buildings, buildings with more than 

two dwelling units, or new construction functions beyond the 

existing building structure other than decks, patios, driveways 

and utility out buildings.  

"Industrialized building contracting" (Abbr: IBC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of an 

industrialized building as defined in the Virginia 

Industrialized Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). 

This classification covers foundation work in accordance with 

the provisions of the Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63) and allows the licensee to complete internal 

tie-ins of plumbing, gas, electrical, and HVAC systems. It 

does not allow for installing additional plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC work such as installing the service meter, 

or installing the outside compressor for the HVAC system. 

The BLD classification also provides for this function.  

"Insulation and weather stripping contracting" (Abbr: INS) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials classified as insulating 

media used for the sole purpose of temperature control or 

sound control of residential and commercial buildings. It does 

not include the insulation of mechanical equipment and 

ancillary lines and piping. The BLD classification and the 

HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Landscape irrigation contracting" (Abbr: ISC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of irrigation sprinkler systems or outdoor sprinkler 

systems. The PLB and H/H classifications also provide for 

this function. This specialty may install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this specialty when the installer 

has received formal vocational training approved by the board 

that included instruction in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices.  

"Landscape service contracting" (Abbr: LSC) means the 

service that provides for the alteration or improvement of a 

land area not related to any other classification or service 

activity by means of excavation, clearing, grading, 

construction of retaining walls for landscaping purposes, or 

placement of landscaping timbers. This specialty may remove 

stumps and roots below grade. The BLD and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function.  

"Lead abatement contracting" (Abbr: LAC) means the 

service that provides for the removal or encapsulation of lead-

containing materials annexed to real property. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for this function, 

except that the PLB and HVA classifications may provide 

this service incidental to work in those classifications.  

"Liquefied petroleum gas contracting" (Abbr: LPG) means 

the service that includes the installation, maintenance, 

extension, alteration, or removal of all piping, fixtures, 

appliances, and appurtenances used in transporting, storing or 

utilizing liquefied petroleum gas. This excludes hot water 

heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require an 

HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for 

this function. A firm holding an LPG license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations.  

"Manufactured home contracting" (Abbr: MHC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of a 

manufactured home as defined in the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95). This classification 

does not cover foundation work; however, it does allow 

installation of piers covered under HUD regulations. It does 

allow a licensee to do internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC equipment. It does not allow for 

installing additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work 

such as installing the service meter or installing the outside 

compressor for the HVAC system. No other specialty 

provides for this function.  

"Marine facility contracting" (Abbr: MCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of any structure the purpose of 

which is to provide access to, impede, or alter a body of 

surface water. The BLD and H/H classifications also provide 

for this function. The MCC specialty does not provide for the 

construction of accessory structures or electrical, HVAC or 

plumbing functions.  

"Masonry contracting" (Abbr: BRK) means the service that 

includes the installation of brick, concrete block, stone, 

marble, slate or other units and products common to the 

masonry industry, including mortarless type masonry 

products. This includes installation of grout, caulking, tuck 

pointing, sand blasting, mortar washing, parging and cleaning 

and welding of reinforcement steel related to masonry 

construction. The BLD classification and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function.  

"Natural gas fitting provider contracting" (Abbr: NGF) 

means the service that provides for the incidental repair, 

testing, or removal of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to 

real property. This does not include new installation of gas 

piping for hot water heaters, boilers, central heating systems, 

or other natural gas equipment which requires an HVA or 
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PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for this 

function. A firm holding an NGF license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations.  

"Painting and wallcovering contracting" (Abbr: PTC) means 

the service that provides for the application of materials 

common to the painting and decorating industry for protective 

or decorative purposes, the installation of surface coverings 

such as vinyls, wall papers, and cloth fabrics. This includes 

surface preparation, caulking, sanding and cleaning 

preparatory to painting or coverings and includes both interior 

and exterior surfaces. The BLD classification and the HIC 

and CIC specialties also provide for this function.  

"Radon mitigation contracting" (Abbr: RMC) means the 

service that provides for additions, repairs or improvements 

to buildings or structures, for the purpose of mitigating or 

preventing the effects of radon gas. This function can only be 

performed by a firm holding the BLD classification or CIC 

(for other than one-family and two-family dwellings), FIC 

(for nonresidential farm buildings) or HIC (for one-family 

and two-family dwellings) specialty services. No electrical, 

plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are provided by 

this specialty.  

"Recreational facility contracting" (Abbr: RFC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, or 

improvement of any recreational facility, excluding paving 

and the construction of buildings, plumbing, electrical, and 

HVAC functions. The BLD classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Refrigeration contracting" (Abbr: REF) means the service 

that provides for installation, repair, or removal of any 

refrigeration equipment (excluding HVAC equipment). No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty. This specialty is intended for those 

contractors who repair or install coolers, refrigerated 

casework, ice-making machines, drinking fountains, cold 

room equipment, and similar hermetic refrigeration 

equipment. The HVAC classification also provides for this 

function.  

"Roofing contracting" (Abbr: ROC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, removal or improvement 

of materials common to the industry that form a watertight, 

weather resistant surface for roofs and decks. This includes 

roofing system components when installed in conjunction 

with a roofing project, application of dampproofing or 

waterproofing, and installation of roof insulation panels and 

other roof insulation systems above roof deck. The BLD 

classification and the HIC and CIC specialties also provide 

for this function.  

"Sewage disposal systems contracting" (Abbr: SDS) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of septic tanks, septic systems, and 

other on-site sewage disposal systems annexed to real 

property.  

"Steel erection contracting" (Abbr: STL) means the service 

that provides for the fabrication and erection of structural 

steel shapes and plates, regardless of shape or size, to be used 

as structural members, or tanks, including any related 

riveting, welding, and rigging. This specialty includes the 

fabrication, placement and tying of steel reinforcing bards 

(rods), and post-tensioning to reinforce concrete buildings 

and structures. The BLD and H/H classifications also provide 

for this function.  

"Swimming pool construction contracting" (Abbr: POL) 

means the service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement or removal of in-ground swimming pools. The 

BLD classification and the RFC specialty also provide for 

this function. No trade related plumbing, electrical, backflow 

or HVAC work is included in this specialty.  

"Tile, marble, ceramic, and terrazzo contracting" (Abbr: 

TMC) means the service that provides for the preparation, 

fabrication, construction, and installation of artificial marble, 

burned clay tile, ceramic, terrazzo, encaustic, falence, quarry, 

semi-vitreous, cementitious board, and other tile, excluding 

hollow or structural partition tile. The BLD classification and 

the HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Underground utility and excavating contracting" (Abbr: 

UUC) means the service that provides for the construction, 

repair, improvement, or removal on public or private property 

whether accomplished through open excavations or through 

other means, including but not limited to directional drilling, 

auger boring, jacking and boring, trenchless technologies, wet 

and dry taps, grouting, and slip lining, of main sanitary sewer 

collection systems, main water distribution systems, storm 

sewer collection systems, and the continuation of utility lines 

from the main systems to a point of termination up to and 

including the meter location for the individual occupancy, 

sewer collection systems at property line, or residential or 

single-occupancy commercial properties, or on multi-

occupancy properties at manhole or wye lateral extend to an 

invert elevation as engineered to accommodate future 

building sewers, water distribution systems, or storm sewer 

collection systems at storm sewer structures. This specialty 

may install empty underground conduits in rights-of-way, 

easements, platted rights-of-way in new site development, 

and sleeves for parking lot crossings if each conduit system 

installed is designed by a professional engineer or an 

authorized employee of a municipality, county, or public 

utility and the installation of such conduit does not include 

installation of any conductor wiring or connection to an 

energized electrical system. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function. 

"Vessel construction contracting" (Abbr: VCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of nonresidential vessels, tanks, or 

piping that hold or convey fluids other than sanitary, storm, 

waste, or potable water supplies. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function.  
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"Water well/pump contracting" (Abbr: WWP) means the 

service that provides for the installation of a water well 

system, including geothermal wells, which includes 

construction of a water well to reach groundwater, as defined 

in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia, and the installation of 

the well pump and tank, including pipe and wire, up to and 

including the point of connection to the plumbing and 

electrical systems. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for construction of water wells. This regulation shall 

not exclude PLB, ELE or HVAC from installation of pumps 

and tanks.  

Note: Specialty contractors engaging in construction that 

involves the following activities or items or similar activities 

or items may fall under the CIC, HIC and/or and FIC 

specialty services, or they may fall under the BLD 

classification.  

Appliances  Fireplaces  Rubber linings 

Awnings  Fireproofing  Sandblasting 

Blinds Fixtures  Scaffolding 

Bulkheads Floor coverings  Screens 

Cabinetry Flooring Sheet metal 

Carpentry  Floors  Shutters 

Carpeting  Glass  Siding 

Casework  Glazing  Skylights 

Ceilings  Grouting  Storage bins and 

lockers 

Chimneys  Grubbing Stucco 

Chutes  Guttering Temperature 

controls 

Conduit 

rodding  

Insulation  Terrazzo 

Curtains  Interior decorating Tile 

Curtain 

walls  

Lubrication  Vaults 

Decks Metal work  Vinyl flooring 

Doors  Millwrighting  Wall panels 

Drapes  Mirrors  Wall tile 

Drywall  Miscellaneous 

iron 

Waterproofing 

Epoxy  Ornamental iron  Weatherstripping 

Exterior 

decoration 

Partitions  Welding 

Facings Protective 

coatings 

Windows 

Fences  Railings  Wood floors 

Fiberglass Rigging   

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC50-22) 

Contractor Licensing Information, A503-27INTRO v-3 (rev. 

12/12) 

Requirements for Qualified Individuals, A501-27EXINFO-

v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Contractor's License Application, A501-27LIC-v5 (rev. 

12/12) 

Expedited Class A License Application, A503-

2705A_ELIC-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Additional Specialty Designation Application, A503-

27ADDSP-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Change in Qualified Individual and Designated Employee 

Application, A501-27CH_QIDE-v5 (rev. 7/13) 

Requirements for Qualified Individuals, A501-27EXINFO-

v5 (rev. 1/16) 

Contractor's License Application, A501-27LIC-v7 (rev. 

1/16) 

Additional Specialty Designation Application, A501-

27ADDSP-v7 (rev. 1/16) 

Change in Qualified Individual and Designated Employee 

Application, A501-27CH_QIDE-v7 (rev. 1/16) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A501-

27CHRM-v4 (rev. 12/12) 

Certificate of License Termination, A501-27TERM-v3 (rev. 

12/12) 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 

Application, A501-27EDREG-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Education Provider Listing Application, A501-27EDLIST-

v3 (rev. 12/12) 

Financial Statement, A501-27FINST-v4 (rev. 12/12) 

Change in License Class Application, A501-27CHLIC-v5 

(rev. 12/12) 

Change in License Class Application, A501-27CHLIC-v7 

(rev. 1/16) 

Firm – Residential Building Energy Analyst Application, 

A501-2707LIC-v2 (rev. 7/13)  

Statement of Consumer Protections (RBC-9.1) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b644002636~26&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b644002636~26&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1eafd004047~4&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1eafd004047~4&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ef656004047~5&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ef656004047~5&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc01d004047~1&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc01d004047~1&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ac6c7004047~2&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ac6c7004047~2&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c08a002636~32&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c08a002636~32&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5cd9002636~33&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5cd9002636~33&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b93002636~34&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b93002636~34&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b99f6002636~35&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b99f6002636~35&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9f5d2002636~38&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70667004047~3&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70667004047~3&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6a6a003982~1&typ=40&actno=003982&mime=application/pdf
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Contractor's Temporary License Application, A501-

2703LIC-v2 (rev. 1/16) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4047; Filed July 14, 2015, 9:57 a.m.  

Forms 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the following 

regulation have been filed by the Board for Contractors. The 

forms are not being published; however, online users of this 

issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the 

name of the new or amended form to access it. The forms are 

also available from the agency contact or may be viewed at 

the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Mindy Spruill, Regulatory Boards 

Administrator, Board for Contractors, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

7226, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 

mindy.spruill@dpor.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC50-22) 

Contractor Licensing Information, A503-27INTRO v-3 (rev. 

12/12) 

Requirements for Qualified Individuals, A501-27EXINFO-

v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Contractor's License Application, A501-27LIC-v5 (rev. 

12/12) 

Expedited Class A License Application, A503-

2705A_ELIC-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Additional Specialty Designation Application, A503-

27ADDSP-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Change in Qualified Individual and Designated Employee 

Application, A501-27CH_QIDE-v5 (rev. 7/13) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A501-

27CHRM-v4 (rev. 12/12) 

Certificate of License Termination, A501-27TERM-v3 (rev. 

12/12) 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 

Application, A501-27EDREG-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Education Provider Listing Application, A501-27EDLIST-

v3 (rev. 12/12) 

Financial Statement, A501-27FINST-v4 (rev. 12/12) 

Change in License Class Application, A501-27CHLIC-v5 

(rev. 12/12) 

Firm – Residential Building Energy Analyst Application, 

A501-2707LIC-v2 (rev. 7/13)  

Statement of Consumer Protections (RBC-9.1) 

Statement of Consumer Protections, RBC-9.1 (rev. 12/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4456; Filed July 9, 2015, 4:05 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Veterinary Medicine 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing 

fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of 

Veterinary Medicine will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 9, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment reduces the reinstatement fee for 

veterinary establishments from $350 to $75.  

18VAC150-20-100. Fees. 

The following fees shall be in effect: 

Veterinary application for licensure $200 

Veterinary license renewal (active) $175 

Veterinary license renewal (inactive) $85 

Veterinary reinstatement of expired license $255 

Veterinary license late renewal $60 

Veterinarian reinstatement after disciplinary 

action 

$450 

Veterinary technician application for licensure $65 

Veterinary technician license renewal $50 

Veterinary technician license renewal (inactive) $25 

Veterinary technician license late renewal $20 

Veterinary technician reinstatement of expired 

license 

$95 

Veterinary technician reinstatement after 

disciplinary action 

$125 

Equine dental technician initial registration $100 

Equine dental technician registration renewal $70 

Equine dental technician late renewal $25 

Equine dental technician reinstatement $120 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b18d004047~6&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b18d004047~6&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b644002636~26&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b644002636~26&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3b87e002636~27&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3b87e002636~27&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e71a9002636~28&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e71a9002636~28&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91970002636~29&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91970002636~29&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36c71002636~30&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36c71002636~30&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86540002636~31&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86540002636~31&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c08a002636~32&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c08a002636~32&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5cd9002636~33&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5cd9002636~33&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b93002636~34&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b93002636~34&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b99f6002636~35&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b99f6002636~35&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9f5d2002636~38&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=466c9002636~36&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=466c9002636~36&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f978b004456~1&typ=40&actno=004456&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 10, 2015 

2413 

Initial veterinary establishment permit 

registration 

$300 

Veterinary establishment renewal $200 

Veterinary establishment late renewal $75 

Veterinary establishment reinstatement $350 $75 

Veterinary establishment reinspection $300 

Veterinary establishment -- change of location $300 

Veterinary establishment -- change of 

veterinarian-in-charge 

$40 

Duplicate license $15 

Duplicate wall certificate $25 

Returned check $35 

Licensure verification to another jurisdiction $25 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4461; Filed July 17, 2015, 11:22 a.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-20. Board for Waterworks 

and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage 

System Professionals Regulations (amending 18VAC160-

20-10, 18VAC160-20-97).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 

(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change the definitions of "direct 

supervisor" and "direct supervision," allowing licensees to 

supervise the work of unlicensed individuals who are not 

seeking licensure. Also, the requirements for applicants for 

an individual sewage system installer license are modified 

to reflect current industry procedures consistent with the 

Virginia Department of Health. The amendments also 

change the experience requirement for the individual 

sewage system installer license to allow an individual's 

installation experience to fulfill the requirement for 

licensure as long as the applicant's firm is properly 

licensed as a Virginia contractor with the specialty of 

sewage disposal systems at the time he applies for the 

installer license. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

Definitions 

18VAC160-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Alternative onsite sewage system" means a treatment works 

that is not a conventional onsite sewage system and does not 

result in a point source discharge. 

"Alternative onsite sewage system installer" means an 

individual licensed by the board to construct, install, and 

repair conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems. 

"Alternative onsite sewage system operator" means an 

individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain 

conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems. 

"Alternative onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 

licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 

relationship to the effect of these properties on the use and 

management of these soils as the locations for conventional 

and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify in 

accordance with applicable state regulations and local 

ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 

alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 

and alternative onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils. 

"Authorized onsite soil evaluator" or "AOSE" means an 

individual holding an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

certification issued by the Virginia Department of Health that 

was valid on June 30, 2009. 

"Board" means the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 

Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals or 

any successor agency. 

"Category" means waterworks operator, wastewater works 

operator, onsite soil evaluator, onsite sewage system installer, 

and onsite sewage system operator. 

"Classification" means the divisions within each category of 

waterworks and wastewater works operators' licenses into 

classes where Class "1" represents the highest classification. 

"Classified facility" means a waterworks that has been 

granted a classification by the Virginia Department of Health 

or a wastewater works that has been granted a classification 

by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality. 

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 

structured training activity. 

"Continuing Professional Education (CPE)" means 

participation in a structured training activity that enables a 

licensee to maintain and increase the competence required to 

assure the public's protection. 

"Conventional onsite sewage system" means a treatment 

works consisting of one or more septic tanks with gravity, 
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pumped, or siphoned conveyance to a gravity distributed 

subsurface drain field. 

"Conventional onsite sewage system installer" means an 

individual licensed to construct, install, and repair 

conventional onsite sewage systems. 

"Conventional onsite sewage system operator" means an 

individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain a 

conventional onsite sewage system. 

"Conventional onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 

licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 

relationship to the effects of these properties on the use and 

management of these soils as the locations for conventional 

and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify in 

accordance with applicable state regulations and local 

ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 

alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 

onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

"Direct supervision" means being responsible for the 

compliance with this chapter by any unlicensed individual 

who, for the purpose of obtaining the necessary competence 

to qualify for licensure, is engaged in activities requiring an 

operator, installer, or evaluator license. 

"Direct supervisor" means a licensed operator, installer, or 

evaluator who undertakes the supervision of an unlicensed 

individual engaged in activities requiring a license for the 

purpose of obtaining the competence necessary to qualify for 

licensure and who. The direct supervisor shall be responsible 

for the unlicensed individual's full compliance with this 

chapter. 

"Distance learning" means participation in a training 

activity, with or without interaction with an instructor, that 

utilizes [ DVD's DVDs ], videos, or other audio/visual 

materials, or is computer-based. Documentation of distance 

learning must meet the requirements of 18VAC160-20-109 

D. 

"Experience" means time spent learning how to physically 

and theoretically operate the waterworks, wastewater works, 

or onsite sewage system as an operator-in-training or time 

spent operating a waterworks or wastewater works for which 

the operator is currently licensed for the purpose of obtaining 

the necessary competence to qualify for a specific license. 

Experience also means the time spent under the direct 

supervision of an authorized onsite soil evaluator, onsite soil 

evaluator licensee, onsite sewage system installer licensee or 

onsite site sewage system operator licensee for the purpose of 

obtaining the necessary competence to qualify for a specific 

license. 

"Interim license" means a method of regulation whereby the 

board authorizes an unlicensed individual to engage in 

activities requiring a specific license provided for in this 

chapter for a limited time to obtain the necessary competence 

to qualify for that specific license. 

"Interim licensee" means an individual holding a valid 

interim license. 

"Licensed operator" means an operator with a license in the 

category of onsite sewage systems operator, waterworks 

operator, or wastewater works operator. For waterworks 

operators and wastewater works operators, the license 

classification must be equal to or higher than the 

classification of the waterworks or wastewater works being 

operated. 

"Licensee" means an individual holding a valid license 

issued by the board.  

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 

Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 

a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 

engage in the practice of a profession or occupation that is 

unlawful to practice without a license.  

"Maintenance" or "maintain" means performing adjustments 

to equipment and controls and in-kind replacement of normal 

wear and tear parts such as light bulbs, fuses, filters, pumps, 

motors, or other like components. Maintenance includes 

pumping the tanks or cleaning the building sewer on a 

periodic basis. Maintenance shall not include replacement of 

tanks, drain field piping, distribution boxes, or work requiring 

a construction permit and a licensed onsite sewage system 

installer. 

"Nonclassified facility" means a facility located in Virginia 

that has not been classified by the Virginia Department of 

Health or a facility that has not been classified by the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality.  

"Onsite sewage system" means a conventional onsite sewage 

system or an alternative onsite sewage system. 

"Operate" means any act of an individual that may impact 

on the finished water quality at a waterworks, the plant 

effluent at a wastewater works, or the effluent at an onsite 

sewage system. 

"Operating staff" means individuals employed or appointed 

by an owner to work at a waterworks or wastewater works.  

"Operator" means any individual employed or appointed by 

any owner, and who is designated by such owner to be the 

person in responsible charge, such as a supervisor, a shift 

operator, or a substitute in charge, and whose duties include 

testing or evaluation to control waterworks, wastewater works 

operations, or to operate onsite sewage systems. Not included 

in this definition are superintendents or directors of public 

works, city engineers, or other municipal or industrial 

officials whose duties do not include the actual operation or 

direct supervision of waterworks or wastewater works. 

"Operator-in-training" means an individual employed by an 

owner to work under the direct supervision and direction of 

an operator holding a valid license in the proper category and 

classification for the purpose of gaining experience and 
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knowledge in the duties and responsibilities of an operator of 

a waterworks, wastewater works, or onsite sewage system. 

An operator-in-training is not an operator. 

"Owner" means the Commonwealth of Virginia, or any 

political subdivision thereof, any public or private institution, 

corporation, association, or any other entity organized or 

existing under the laws of this Commonwealth or of any other 

state or nation, or any person or group of persons acting 

individually or as a group, who own, propose to own, 

manage, or maintain waterworks, wastewater works, or onsite 

sewage systems. 

"Provisional licensee" means an individual holding a valid 

provisional license issued by the board. 

"Provisional licensure" or "provisional license" means a 

method of regulation whereby the Commonwealth recognizes 

an individual as having met specific standards but who is not 

authorized to operate a classified facility until he has met the 

remaining requirements for licensure and has been issued a 

license. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

for another period of time. 

"Responsible charge" means the designation by the owner of 

any individual to have the duty and the authority to operate a 

waterworks, wastewater works, or onsite sewage system. 

"Sewage" means water-carried and nonwater-carried human 

excrement, kitchen, laundry, shower, bath or lavatory wastes 

separately or together with such underground, surface, storm 

or other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be present 

from residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments 

or other places. 

"Sewage handler" means any person who removes or 

contracts to remove and transports by vehicle the contents of 

any septic tank, sewage treatment plant, privy, holding tank, 

portable toilet, or other treatment or holding device, or any 

sewage, septage or sewage sludges and who is permitted 

under the Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations 

(12VAC5-610) or successor regulation. 

"Sewerage system" means pipelines or conduits, pumping 

stations and force mains, and all other construction, devices 

and appliances appurtenant thereto, used for the collection 

and conveyance of sewage to a treatment works or point of 

ultimate disposal, as defined in the Sewage Handling and 

Disposal Regulations (12VAC5-610). 

"Structured training activity" means a formal educational 

process designed to permit a participant to learn a given 

subject or subjects through interaction with an instructor in a 

course, seminar, conference, or other performance-oriented 

format, or distance learning. 

"Training credit or education credit" means a unit of board-

approved training or formal education completed by an 

individual that may be used to substitute for experience when 

applying for a license. Formal education used to meet a 

specific education requirement for license entry cannot also 

be used as a training credit for experience substitution. 

"Transportation" means the vehicular conveyance of 

sewage, as defined in § 32.1-163 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 

storage, treatment, disposal or reclamation of sewage or 

combinations of sewage and industrial wastes including, but 

not limited to, pumping, power and other equipment and 

appurtenances, septic tanks and any works, including land, 

that are or will be (i) an integral part of the treatment process 

or (ii) used for ultimate disposal of residues or effluent 

resulting from such treatment. 

"VDH" means Virginia Department of Health. 

"Wastewater works" means a system of (i) sewerage 

systems or sewage treatment works serving more than 400 

persons, as set forth in § 62.1-44.18 of the Code of Virginia; 

(ii) sewerage systems or sewage treatment works serving 

fewer than 400 persons, as set forth in § 62.1-44.18 of the 

Code of Virginia, if so certified by the State Water Control 

Board; and (iii) facilities for discharge into state waters of 

industrial wastes or other wastes, if certified by the State 

Water Control Board.  

"Wastewater works operator" means any individual 

employed or appointed by any owner, who is designated by 

such owner to be the person in responsible charge, such as a 

supervisor, a shift operator, or a substitute in charge, and 

whose duties include testing or evaluation to control 

wastewater works operations. Superintendents or directors of 

public works, city engineers, or other municipal or industrial 

officials whose duties do not include the actual operation or 

direct supervision of wastewater works are not included in 

this definition. 

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 

drinking or domestic use to (i) at least 15 connections or (ii) 

at least 25 of the same individuals for more than six months 

out of the year. The term waterworks shall include all 

structures, equipment, and appurtenances used in the storage, 

collection, purification, treatment and distribution of pure 

water, except the piping and fixtures inside the building 

where such water is delivered.  

"Waterworks operator" means any individual employed or 

appointed by any owner, who is designated by such owner to 

be the person in responsible charge, such as a supervisor, a 

shift operator, or a substitute in charge, and whose duties 

include testing or evaluation to control waterworks 

operations. Superintendents or directors of public works, city 

engineers, or other municipal or industrial officials whose 

duties do not include the actual operation or direct 

supervision of waterworks are not included in this definition. 

18VAC160-20-97. Qualifications for licensure - onsite 

sewage system installers. 

A. Each applicant shall make application in accordance with 

18VAC160-20-76 and shall meet the specific entry 
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requirements provided for in this section for the license 

desired. 

B. Each applicant holding a valid interim onsite sewage 

system installer license shall submit documentation of 

compliance with the continuing professional education 

requirements of this chapter at the time of application. 

C. Specific entry requirements. 

1. Conventional onsite sewage system installer. Each 

individual applying for an initial conventional onsite 

sewage system installer license shall pass a board-

approved examination and shall meet one of the following 

requirements: 

a. Have two years of full-time experience successfully 

installing alternative or conventional onsite sewage 

systems during the last four years under the direct 

supervision of a properly licensed contractor holding a 

sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty issued by the 

Virginia Board for Contractors and be currently 

employed by a firm holding a current and valid Virginia 

contractor license with the sewage disposal system (SDS) 

specialty; 

b. Have two years of full-time experience successfully 

installing alternative or conventional onsite sewage 

systems during the last four years as a properly licensed 

contractor holding a sewage disposal system (SDS) 

specialty issued by the Virginia Board for Contractors 

and be a member of responsible management in a firm 

holding a current and valid Virginia contractor license 

with the sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty; or 

c. Have two years of full-time experience successfully 

installing alternative or conventional onsite sewage 

systems during the last four years working under the 

direct supervision of, or working as, a properly licensed 

Virginia contractor with the sewage disposal system 

(SDS) specialty; or 

d. Have documentation certifying that the applicant is 

competent to install conventional onsite sewage systems. 

Certification must be provided by any combination of 

three of the following individuals:  

(1) VDH Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluators (AOSE) for 

work performed prior to July 1, 2009;  

(2) Licensed interim onsite soil evaluators; 

(3) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite soil 

evaluators;  

(4) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite sewage 

system installers; or 

(5) Virginia licensed professional engineers. 

2. Conventional onsite sewage system installer. The 

examination requirement provided for in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection shall not apply to applicants seeking initial 

licensure as a conventional onsite sewage system installer 

provided that:  

a. The applicant is able to satisfactorily demonstrate that 

he has been actively engaged in performing the duties of 

a conventional onsite sewage system installer, as defined 

in this chapter, for at least eight years within the 12-year 

period immediately preceding the date of application.  

b. The department receives a completed application no 

later than June 30, 2016. An individual who fails to have 

his application in the department's possession by June 30, 

2016, shall be required to pass the board-approved 

examination provided for in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. 

3. Alternative onsite sewage system installer. Each 

individual applying for an initial alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license shall pass a board-approved 

examination and shall meet one of the following 

requirements: 

a. Provide [ contractor ] completion statements and 

associated operation permits issued by the VDH each 

corresponding professional engineer's or onsite soil 

evaluator's inspection report [ and completion statement 

filed with VDH ] for work performed after June 30, 

2009. Where applicable, a VDH inspection report shall 

accompany the corresponding [ contractor ] completion 

statement in lieu of a professional engineer's or [ a non-

VDH an ] onsite soil evaluator's inspection report and 

completion statement. The [ contractor ] completion 

statements and permits must verify that the applicant had 

successfully installed 36 onsite sewage systems during 

the preceding three years, six of which must be 

alternative systems [ . All contractor completion 

statements and associated VDH operation permits 

professional engineer, onsite soil evaluator, and VDH 

inspection reports and completion statements shall be 

certified by either a licensed alternative onsite soil 

evaluator, ] a licensed conventional or alternative onsite 

sewage system installer [ an authorized VDH employee, 

or a Virginia licensed professional engineer, as 

appropriate ]; 

b. Provide [ contractor ] completion statements and 

associated operation permits issued by the VDH each 

corresponding AOSE/professional engineer inspection 

report and completion statement for work performed on 

or before June 30, 2009. The [ contractor ] completion 

statements and permits must verify that the applicant 

successfully installed 12 alternative onsite sewage 

systems during the past three years. All contractor 

completion statements and associated VDH operation 

permits AOSE/professional engineer inspection reports 

and completion statements shall be certified [ by either 

an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a Virginia licensed 

professional engineer ]; 

c. Have two years of full-time experience successfully 

installing sewage systems as a properly licensed 

contractor holding a sewage disposal system (SDS) 
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specialty issued by the Virginia Board for Contractors, be 

a member of responsible management in a firm holding a 

current and valid Virginia contractor license with the 

sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty, and provide 

certification by at least three interim or alternative onsite 

soil evaluator licensees, Virginia-licensed professional 

engineers, or any combination thereof, that the applicant 

is competent to install alternative onsite sewage systems;  

d. Have two years of full-time experience successfully 

installing sewage systems under the direct supervision a 

properly licensed contractor holding a sewage disposal 

system (SDS) specialty issued by the Virginia Board for 

Contractors, be currently employed by a firm holding a 

current and valid Virginia contractor license with the 

sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty, and provide 

certification by at least three interim or alternative onsite 

soil evaluator licensees, Virginia-licensed professional 

engineers, or any combination thereof, that the applicant 

is competent to install alternative onsite sewage systems; 

or 

e. Have two years of full-time experience successfully 

installing sewage systems during the last four years 

working under the direct supervision of, or working as, a 

properly licensed Virginia contractor with the sewage 

disposal system (SDS) specialty and provide certification 

by at least three interim or alternative onsite soil 

evaluator licensees, Virginia-licensed professional 

engineers, or any combination thereof, that the applicant 

is competent to install alternative onsite sewage systems; 

or 

e. f. Have two years of full-time experience as a licensed 

or interim licensed conventional onsite sewage system 

installer and provide certification by at least three interim 

or alternative onsite soil evaluator licensees, Virginia-

licensed professional engineers, or any combination 

thereof, that the applicant is competent to install 

alternative onsite sewage systems. 

If the applicant is not listed on the completion statement but 

did perform the installation, then the individual named on the 

contractor's completion statement and associated operation 

permit issued by the VDH may certify the applicant's work 

performed on an alternative onsite sewage system that was 

installed prior to June 30, 2009, provided that the application 

is received by the department no later than June 30, 2010. 

Each applicant applying under subdivision 3 a or b of this 

subsection shall provide written and signed verification from 

a supervisor within the company that is listed on each 

contractor completion statement. The verification must 

explicitly show that the applicant was employed by the 

company that performed the installation as well as show that 

the applicant himself performed the installation. 

D. Education and training substitution. Each individual 

applying for a conventional or an alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license may receive credit for up to half of 

the experience required by this section for: 

1. Satisfactory completion of postsecondary courses in 

wastewater, biology, chemistry, geology, hydraulics, 

hydrogeology, or soil science at the rate of one month per 

semester hour or two-thirds of a month per quarter hour; or 

2. Satisfactory completion of board-approved onsite 

sewage system installer training courses at the rate of one 

month for each training credit earned. Up to one training 

credit is awarded for each 10 hours of classroom contact 

time or for each 20 hours of laboratory exercise and field 

trip contact time. No credit towards training credits is 

granted for breaks, meals, receptions, and time other than 

classroom, laboratory and field trip contact time. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC160-20) 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Certificate of 

Completion, 19CPE (rev. 5/09) 

Application for Training Course Approval, 19CRS (rev. 

5/09) 

Experience Verification Form, 19EXP (eff. 7/09) 

Experience Verification Application – Onsite Sewage 

System Applicants Only, A436-19EXP (rev. 10/12) 

Education & Training Substitution Form, 19ET_SUB (eff. 

7/09) 

Licensure Fee Notice, 19FEE (eff. 7/09) 

Interim Onsite Soil Evaluator - VDH Employees Only 

License Application, 1930LIC (eff. 7/09) 

Interim Onsite Sewage System Installer License 

Application, 1931_32LIC (eff. 7/09) 

Interim Onsite Sewage System Operator License 

Application, 1933_34LIC (eff. 7/09) 

Onsite Soil Evaluator Exam & License Application, 

1940_41EXLIC (eff. 7/09) 

 [ Onsite Sewage System Installer Exam & License 

Application, A465-1944EXLIC (rev. 12/12) 

Onsite Sewage System Installer License Application, A465-

1944LIC-v2 (eff. 10/15) ]  

Onsite Sewage System Operator Exam & License 

Application, 1942_43EXLIC (eff. 7/09) 

Suspension of Examination – Conventional Onsite Sewage 

System Installer License Application, A436-1944WAIV-v4 

(eff. 8/15) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3de3a003424~1&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3de3a003424~1&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5b64002270~1&typ=40&actno=002270&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5b64002270~1&typ=40&actno=002270&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0110003570~2&typ=40&actno=003570&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0110003570~2&typ=40&actno=003570&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0110003570~2&typ=40&actno=003570&mime=application/pdf
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Onsite Sewage System Operator - Exam & License 

Application, A465-1942EXLIC-v3, (eff. 7/13) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2270; Filed July 8, 2015, 4:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 21VAC5-20. Broker-Dealers, 

Broker-Dealer Agents and Agents of the Issuer (amending 

21VAC5-20-85, 21VAC5-20-155, 21VAC5-20-280).  

21VAC5-40. Exempt Securities and Transactions (adding 

21VAC5-40-190).  

21VAC5-45. Federal Covered Securities (amending 

21VAC5-45-20).  

21VAC5-80. Investment Advisors (amending 21VAC5-80-

130, 21VAC5-80-200, 21VAC5-80-220).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523.1 of the Code 

of Virginia (21VAC5-20-85, 21VAC5-20-155). 

§§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523 of the Code of Virginia (21VAC5-

20-280, 21VAC5-45-20, 21VAC5-80-130, 21VAC5-80-200, 

21VAC5-80-220). 

§§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-514 of the Code of Virginia (21VAC5-

40-190). 

Effective Date: July 31, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Timothy O'Brien, Chief Examiner, 

Securities Division, State Corporation Commission, Tyler 

Building, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9415, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 

timothy.o'brien@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

Chapters 354 and 400 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly 

establish a new exemption from the registration provisions 

of the Securities Act (Chapter 5 of Title 13.1 of the Code of 

Virginia) for certain intrastate securities offerings known 

as "crowdfunding." To implement this intrastate 

crowdfunding exemption (ICE) 21VAC5-40-190 includes 

(i) limiting the aggregate price of the offering to $2 

million; (ii) requiring certain financial statements that 

vary depending on the amount of the offering; (iii) 

requiring an exemption filing, which includes a Form ICE, 

filing fee, and disclosures, at least 20 days prior to an offer 

of securities or use of any publicly available website in 

connection with the offering; (iv) imposing conditions on 

offers and sales over the Internet; (v) requiring reports to 

investors and to the State Corporation Commission; (vi) 

prohibiting the use of the exemption with other exemptions; 

and (vii) establishing disqualifications for use of the 

exemption.  

The amendments to 21VAC5-20-85 and 21VAC5-20-155 

grant certain Canadian broker-dealers and their agents 

relief from the prohibited business conduct provisions 

found in 21VAC5-20-280, but not the anti-fraud provisions 

of the Securities Act. The amendments to 21VAC5-20-280 

(i) address concerns regarding customer privacy by adding 

privacy to the list of the standards promulgated by the 

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority Rules or the 

federal Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and 

(ii) permit broker-dealers to deliver prospectuses either by 

hard copy or by electronic means.  

The amendments to 21VAC5-45-20 allow filers to use the 

new SEC Form D to file for federal Regulation D, Rule 

506(b) and 506(c) offerings.  

The amendments to 21VAC5-80 (i) clarify that investment 

advisor representatives who meet the examination 

requirements and are registered in any state jurisdiction 

will not have to retake the examination in Virginia as long 

as they have been registered within the two-year period 

immediately preceding the date of filing an application; (ii) 

waive certain examinations if representatives currently 

hold a designation from and are in good standing with 

certain professional organizations; (iii) add privacy 

standards to the investment advisor rules, similar to those 

proposed for the broker-dealers; and (iv) increase to $1 

million the amount that must be under management and 

increase the net worth of the client from to at least $2 

million for investment advisors compensated on the basis 

of a share of the capital gains of the funds, capital 

appreciation of the funds, or any portion of the funds under 

management.  

Based on comments received, the commission made several 

changes to the proposed ICE rules. These changes include 

(i) changing 21VAC5-40-190 A 4 concerning maximum 

allowable dollar amounts of offerings by issuers who lack 

audited financial statements; (ii) changing the issuer 

reporting requirements from quarterly to annually; and 

(iii) limiting the time period for this reporting to a period 

of three years after an offering closes.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=378ad003656~1&typ=40&actno=003656&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=378ad003656~1&typ=40&actno=003656&mime=application/pdf
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AT RICHMOND, JULY 20, 2015 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2015-00014 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting a Revision to the Rules 

Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered on March 30, 

2015,
1 all interested persons were ordered to take notice that 

the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") would 

consider the adoption of revisions to Chapters 20, 40, 45 and 

80 of Title 21 of the Virginia Administrative Code. On April 

1, 2015, the Commission's Division of Securities and Retail 

Franchising ("Division") mailed and e-mailed the Order of 

the proposed rules to interested persons pursuant to the 

Virginia Securities Act ("Act"), § 13.1-501 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia. The Order described the proposed revisions 

and afforded interested persons an opportunity to file 

comments and requests for hearing with the Clerk of the 

Commission on or before May 22, 2015. The Order provided 

that requests for hearing shall state why a hearing is necessary 

and why the issues cannot be adequately addressed in written 

comments. 

The Commission received written comments from Carrie 

Roth of the Virginia Biotechnology Research Partnership 

Authority, which supported adopting the proposed rules. 

Michael Koffler, Esquire, of the law firm of Sutherland Asbill 

& Brennan LLP, submitted written comments on behalf of 

their broker-dealer clients, which supported the proposed 

amendments to rule 21 VAC 5-20-280 A 10. 

The Commission also received two written comments 

objecting to certain portions of proposed new rule 21 VAC 5-

40-190 relating to the proposed intrastate crowdfunding 

exemption ("ICE") passed by the 2015 Virginia General 

Assembly. J. Thomas O'Brien, Jr., Chairman, Business Law 

Council, Business Law Section of the Virginia Bar 

Association ("Business Law Section"), submitted written 

comments on behalf of the Business Law Section.
2
 The 

Business Law Section discussed its concerns and requested 

changes regarding two aspects of the proposed rules: (1) the 

requirement for reviewed and audited financials for offerings 

of more than $100,000 and $500,000; and (2) the quarterly 

reporting requirements for so long as any shares sold in a 

crowdfunding offering remain outstanding. 

Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire, of the law firm of Schroder 

Fidlow, PLC, submitted written comments and a request for 

hearing.  Mr. Schroder's comments asserted that the proposed 

rules should: (1) require that intrastate crowdfunding exempt 

offerings occur only through registered Virginia funding 

portals; (2) give the funding portal the necessary authority to 

manage the crowd for the benefit of investors and offerors 

and to monitor compliance; (3) provide the funding portal a 

safe harbor from disputes between the investor and the 

offeror; and (4) establish a more appropriate cap of investor 

offerings at $3 million. 

By Order dated June 1, 2015,
3
 the Commission directed the 

Division to provide a written response to the comments 

submitted by the Business Law Section and Mr. Schroder 

regarding ICE and provided the Business Law Section and 

Mr. Schroder an opportunity to reply to the Division's 

comments. 

On June 8, 2015, the Division filed its response 

("Response"). Among other comments, the Division stated 

that the proposed rules provide for the development of 

funding portals but do not mandate their use. In addition, the 

Division provided statistical information from other states 

regarding their crowdfunding rules, including those states that 

mandate funding portals.
4
 The Division noted that only four 

of the 39 states that have adopted crowdfunding rules have 

mandated the use of funding portals, and nine additional 

states have pending rules that would mandate such portals.
5
 

The Division also responded to comments regarding the 

maximum offering amount suggested by Mr. Schroder and 

his request that the proposal include a safe harbor for funding 

portals.
6
 The Division recommended that the Commission not 

adopt the changes requested by Mr. Schroder. 

In addressing the Business Law Section's comments, the 

Division suggested several changes to the proposed ICE 

rules.
7
 These changes include: (1) adopting the Business Law 

Section's requested changes to the proposed rules' 

requirements concerning financial statements; (2) changing 

the reporting requirements from quarterly to annually; and (3) 

limiting the time period for this reporting to a period of three 

years after an offering closes.   

With these changes the Division recommended that the 

Commission adopt the proposed rules with the proposed 

revisions.  

On June 19, 2015, Mr. Schroder filed a reply to the 

Division's Response ("Reply").
8
 Mr. Schroder submitted 

additional information and argument supporting his requested 

changes to the proposed rules. He concluded that "[f]unding 

[p]ortals, not individual offerors, create, enhance and enable 

communities to positively affect crowdfunding efforts," and 

that "[w]ithout such a model, the proposed Virginia ICE rules 

will provide a lower than expected benefit to potential 

offerors and investors and may open unintended 

consequences from a new experimental approach that, while 

sounding good in theory, has no established track record."
9=

 

Mr. Schroder also requested that the Commission provide a 

safe harbor for funding portals.
10

 Finally, Mr. Schroder 

contemporaneously filed a letter with the Commission's 

Clerk, stating that "[t]his letter serves to amend my request in 

a letter to you, dated May 21, 2015, for a hearing on the 

above referenced matter and instead to request for oral 

argument on the matter," citing  
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Rule 5 VAC 5-20-210 of the Commission's Rules of 

Practice and Procedure ("Commission Rules").
11

 

The Business Law Section did not file a reply to the 

Division's response. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the proposed 

amendments as recommended by the Division should be 

adopted. 

The Commission notes that Mr. Schroder requests oral 

argument as permitted by 5 VAC 5-20-210 of the 

Commission's Rules. Pursuant to this Rule, oral argument is 

discretionary, not mandatory. In this instance, based on the 

consideration of the comments filed in this matter, we find 

that oral argument is not necessary in order to promulgate the 

ICE rules herein. The Commission has provided for initial 

and responsive comments to be filed in this matter, and this 

has given interested persons an opportunity to present all of 

their arguments supporting their requests.  We find that the 

requested oral argument is neither required as a matter of law 

nor is it necessary to consider and rule on this matter. 

The Commission has fully considered Mr. Schroder's 

requests and finds that, at this time, the proposed rules should 

not mandate the use of funding portals. Rather, we conclude 

that it is reasonable to allow the use of such portals to remain 

discretionary for the new crowdfunding business model. The 

Commission further observes that only four of 39 states that 

have decided this question mandate the use of funding 

portals, and only nine additional states currently have 

mandates pending. Moreover, without any further empirical 

evidence, the potential cost to issuers of a funding portal was 

a factor in adopting the rules without mandating such portals. 

Since the rules are adopted without mandating funding 

portals, the Commission need not address the request for a 

safe harbor for said funding portals. The Commission 

recognizes that the initial establishment of an investor 

offering cap of $2 million is consistent with the Virginia 

crowdfunding legislation as well as with maximum offering 

caps established by other states with crowdfunding 

legislation.
12

  

For the foregoing reasons, we find it reasonable to adopt the 

proposed amended rules as recommended by the Division. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed rules are attached hereto, made a part 

hereof, and hereby are ADOPTED effective July 31, 2015. 

(2) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 

the adopted rules, shall be sent by the Division in care of 

Ronald W. Thomas, Director, who forthwith shall give 

further notice of the adopted rules by mailing or e-mailing 

a copy of this Order to all interested persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with 

the adopted rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar 

of Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket, 

and the papers herein shall be placed in the file for ended 

causes. 

_________________________________________________ 
1Doc. Con. Cen. No. 150330018. 
2The Business Law Section filed its comments out of time on May 27, 2015.  
3Doc. Con. Cen. No. 150610007. 
4Doc. Con. Cen. No. 150620051. 
5Id. at 3. 
6Response at 4. 
7Id. at 3-4. 
8Doc. Con. Cen. No. 150620368. 
9Reply at 8. 
10Reply at 7. 
11Virginia Pilot Ass'n. v. Commonwealth, 145 Va. 757, 765 (Va. 1926). 
12See, e.g., Response at 4. 

21VAC5-20-85. Limited Canadian broker-dealer 

registration.  

A. A broker-dealer that is resident in Canada and has no 

office or other physical presence in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia may, provided the broker-dealer is registered under 

this section, effect transactions in securities:  

1. With or for a person from Canada who is temporarily 

residing in or visiting the Commonwealth with whom the 

Canadian broker-dealer had a bona fide business-client 

relationship before the person entered this Commonwealth; 

or  

2. With or for a person present in this Commonwealth 

whose transactions are in a Canadian self-directed tax 

advantaged retirement account of which the person is the 

holder or contributor.  

B. Application for registration as a broker-dealer under this 

section shall be filed with the commission at its Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising or such other entity 

designated by the commission on and in full compliance with 

forms prescribed by the commission and shall include all 

information required by such forms.  

C. An application for registration as a broker-dealer under 

this section shall be deemed incomplete for purposes of 

applying for registration unless the following executed forms, 

fee, and information are submitted to the commission:  

1. An application in the form required by the jurisdiction in 

which the broker-dealer maintains its principal place of 

business.  

2. Statutory fee payable to the Treasurer of Virginia in the 

amount of $200 United States currency pursuant to § 13.1-

505 F of the Act.  

3. Evidence that the applicant is registered as a broker-

dealer in the jurisdiction from which it is effecting the 

transactions.  
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4. Evidence that the applicant is a member of a self-

regulatory organization or stock exchange in Canada.  

5. Any other information the commission may require.  

D. A broker-dealer registered under this section shall:  

1. Maintain its provincial or territorial registration and its 

membership in a self-regulatory organization or stock 

exchange in good standing;  

2. Provide the commission upon request with its books and 

records relating to its business in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia as a broker-dealer;  

3. Immediately notify the commission of any criminal 

action taken against it, or of any finding or sanction 

imposed on the broker-dealer as a result of any self-

regulatory or regulatory action involving fraud, theft, 

deceit, misrepresentation, or similar conduct;  

4. Disclose to its clients in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

that the broker-dealer and its agents are not subject to the 

full regulatory requirements of the Act.  

E. A broker-dealer's registration under this section, and any 

renewal thereof, shall expire annually at midnight on the 31st 

day of December unless renewed in accordance with 

subsection F of this section.  

F. To renew its registration, a broker-dealer registered under 

this section shall file with the commission at its Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising division the most recent 

renewal application, if any, filed in the jurisdiction in which 

the broker-dealer maintains its principle place of business, or 

if no such renewal application is required, the most recent 

application filed pursuant to subdivision C 1 of this section 

along with the statutory fee in the amount of $200 United 

States currency pursuant to § 13.1-505 F of the Act.  

G. A Canadian broker-dealer registered under this section 

and acting in accordance with the limitations set out in this 

section is exempt from all other rules applicable to broker-

dealers except 21VAC5-20-280 the anti-fraud provisions of 

the Act and the requirements set out in this section.  

21VAC5-20-155. Limited Canadian broker-dealer agent 

registration.  

A. An agent of a Canadian broker-dealer who has no office 

or other physical presence in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

may, provided the broker-dealer agent is registered under this 

section, effect transactions in securities as permitted for a 

broker-dealer registered under 21VAC5-20-85.  

B. Application for registration as a broker-dealer agent 

under this section shall be filed with the commission at its 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising or such other 

entity designated by the commission on and in full 

compliance with forms prescribed by the commission and 

shall include all information required by such forms.  

C. An application for registration as a broker-dealer agent 

under this section shall be deemed incomplete for purposes of 

applying for registration unless the following executed forms, 

fee, and information are submitted to the commission:  

1. An application in the form required by the jurisdiction in 

which the broker-dealer maintains its principal place of 

business.  

2. Statutory fee payable to the Treasurer of Virginia in the 

amount of $30 United States currency pursuant to § 13.1-

505 G of the Act.  

3. Evidence that the applicant is registered as a broker-

dealer agent in the jurisdiction from which it is effecting 

the transactions.  

4. Any other information the commission may require.  

D. A broker-dealer agent registered under this section shall:  

1. Maintain his provincial or territorial registration in good 

standing;  

2. Immediately notify the commission of any criminal 

action taken against him, or of any finding or sanction 

imposed on him as a result of any self-regulatory or 

regulatory action involving fraud, theft, deceit, 

misrepresentation or similar conduct.  

E. A broker-dealer agent's registration under this section, 

and any renewal thereof, shall expire annually at midnight on 

the 31st day of December unless renewed in accordance with 

subsection F of this section.  

F. To renew the registrations of its agents, a broker-dealer 

registered under this section shall file with the commission at 

its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising division the 

most recent renewal application, if any, filed in the 

jurisdiction in which the broker-dealer maintains its principal 

place of business, or if no such renewal application is 

required, the most recent application filed pursuant to 

subdivision C 1 of this section along with the statutory fee in 

the amount of $30 United States currency pursuant to § 13.1-

505 G of the Act.  

G. A Canadian broker-dealer agent registered under this 

section and acting in accordance with the limitations set out 

in this section is exempt from all other rules applicable to a 

broker-dealer agent except 21VAC5-20-280 the anti-fraud 

provisions of the Act and the requirements set out in this 

section.  

21VAC5-20-280. Prohibited business conduct. 

A. Every broker-dealer is required to observe high standards 

of commercial honor and just and equitable principles of trade 

in the conduct of its business. The acts and practices 

described below are considered contrary to such standards 

and may constitute grounds for denial, suspension, or 

revocation of registration or such other action authorized by 

the Act. No broker-dealer who is registered or required to be 

registered shall: 

1. Engage in a pattern of unreasonable and unjustifiable 

delays in the delivery of securities purchased by any of its 

customers or in the payment upon request of free credit 
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balances reflecting completed transactions of any of its 

customers, or take any action that directly or indirectly 

interferes with a customer's ability to transfer his account; 

provided that the account is not subject to any lien for 

moneys owed by the customer or other bona fide claim, 

including, but not limited to, seeking a judicial order or 

decree that would bar or restrict the submission, delivery or 

acceptance of a written request from a customer to transfer 

his account; 

2. Induce trading in a customer's account which is 

excessive in size or frequency in view of the financial 

resources and character of the account; 

3. Recommend to a customer the purchase, sale or 

exchange of any security without reasonable grounds to 

believe that the recommendation is suitable for the 

customer. The reasonable basis to recommend any such 

transaction to a customer shall be based upon the risks 

associated with a particular security, and the information 

obtained through the diligence and inquiry of the broker-

dealer to ascertain the customer's investment profile. A 

customer's investment profile includes, but is not limited 

to, the customer's investment objectives, financial 

situation, risk tolerance and needs, tax status, age, other 

investments, investment experience, investment time 

horizon, liquidity needs, and any other relevant 

information known by the broker-dealer or of which the 

broker-dealer is otherwise made aware in connection with 

such recommendation; 

4. Execute a transaction on behalf of a customer without 

authority to do so or, when securities are held in a 

customer's account, fail to execute a sell transaction 

involving those securities as instructed by a customer, 

without reasonable cause; 

5. Exercise any discretionary power in effecting a 

transaction for a customer's account without first obtaining 

written discretionary authority from the customer, unless 

the discretionary power relates solely to the time or price 

for the execution of orders; 

6. Execute any transaction in a margin account without 

securing from the customer a properly executed written 

margin agreement promptly after the initial transaction in 

the account, or fail, prior to or at the opening of a margin 

account, to disclose to a noninstitutional customer the 

operation of a margin account and the risks associated with 

trading on margin at least as comprehensively as required 

by FINRA Rule 2264; 

7. Fail to segregate customers' free securities or securities 

held in safekeeping; 

8. Hypothecate a customer's securities without having a 

lien thereon unless the broker-dealer secures from the 

customer a properly executed written consent promptly 

after the initial transaction, except as permitted by Rules of 

the SEC; 

9. Enter into a transaction with or for a customer at a price 

not reasonably related to the current market price of a 

security or receiving an unreasonable commission or 

profit; 

10. Fail to furnish to a customer purchasing securities in an 

offering, no later than the date of confirmation of the 

transaction, either a final prospectus or a preliminary 

prospectus and an additional document, which together 

include all information set forth in the final prospectus, 

either by the following means: (i) hard copy prospectus 

delivery or (ii) electronic prospectus delivery.; 

When a broker-dealer delivers a prospectus electronically, 

it must first allow its clients to affirmatively opt-in to the 

program. The acknowledgment of the opt-in may be by any 

written or electronic means, but the broker-dealer is 

required to acknowledge the opt-in. For any client that 

chooses not to opt-in to electronic delivery, the broker-

dealer shall continue to deliver to the client a hard copy of 

the prospectus; 

11. Introduce customer transactions on a "fully disclosed" 

basis to another broker-dealer that is not exempt under § 

13.1-514 B 6 of the Act; 

12. a. Charge unreasonable and inequitable fees for 

services performed, including miscellaneous services such 

as collection of moneys due for principal, dividends or 

interest, exchange or transfer of securities, appraisals, 

safekeeping, or custody of securities and other services 

related to its securities business; 

b. Charge a fee based on the activity, value or contents 

(or lack thereof) of a customer account unless written 

disclosure pertaining to the fee, which shall include 

information about the amount of the fee, how imposition 

of the fee can be avoided and any consequence of late 

payment or nonpayment of the fee, was provided no later 

than the date the account was established or, with respect 

to an existing account, at least 60 days prior to the 

effective date of the fee; 

13. Offer to buy from or sell to any person any security at a 

stated price unless the broker-dealer is prepared to 

purchase or sell at the price and under such conditions as 

are stated at the time of the offer to buy or sell; 

14. Represent that a security is being offered to a customer 

"at a market" or a price relevant to the market price unless 

the broker-dealer knows or has reasonable grounds to 

believe that a market for the security exists other than that 

made, created or controlled by the broker-dealer, or by any 

person for whom he is acting or with whom he is 

associated in the distribution, or any person controlled by, 

controlling or under common control with the broker-

dealer; 

15. Effect any transaction in, or induce the purchase or sale 

of, any security by means of any manipulative, deceptive 
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or fraudulent device, practice, plan, program, design or 

contrivance, which may include but not be limited to: 

a. Effecting any transaction in a security which involves 

no change in the beneficial ownership thereof; 

b. Entering an order or orders for the purchase or sale of 

any security with the knowledge that an order or orders 

of substantially the same size, at substantially the same 

time and substantially the same price, for the sale of any 

security, has been or will be entered by or for the same or 

different parties for the purpose of creating a false or 

misleading appearance of active trading in the security or 

a false or misleading appearance with respect to the 

market for the security; however, nothing in this 

subdivision shall prohibit a broker-dealer from entering 

bona fide agency cross transactions for its customers; or 

c. Effecting, alone or with one or more other persons, a 

series of transactions in any security creating actual or 

apparent active trading in the security or raising or 

depressing the price of the security, for the purpose of 

inducing the purchase or sale of the security by others; 

16. Guarantee a customer against loss in any securities 

account of the customer carried by the broker-dealer or in 

any securities transaction effected by the broker-dealer 

with or for the customer; 

17. Publish or circulate, or cause to be published or 

circulated, any notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper 

article, investment service, or communication of any kind 

which purports to report any transaction as a purchase or 

sale of any security unless the broker-dealer believes that 

the transaction was a bona fide purchase or sale of the 

security; or which purports to quote the bid price or asked 

price for any security, unless the broker-dealer believes 

that the quotation represents a bona fide bid for, or offer of, 

the security; 

18. Use any advertising or sales presentation in such a 

fashion as to be deceptive or misleading. An example of 

such practice would be a distribution of any nonfactual 

data, material or presentation based on conjecture, 

unfounded or unrealistic claims or assertions in any 

brochure, flyer, or display by words, pictures, graphs or 

otherwise designed to supplement, detract from, supersede 

or defeat the purpose or effect of any prospectus or 

disclosure; 

19. Fail to make reasonably available upon request to any 

person expressing an interest in a solicited transaction in a 

security, not listed on a registered securities exchange or 

quoted on an automated quotation system operated by a 

national securities association approved by regulation of 

the commission, a balance sheet of the issuer as of a date 

within 18 months of the offer or sale of the issuer's 

securities and a profit and loss statement for either the 

fiscal year preceding that date or the most recent year of 

operations, the names of the issuer's proprietor, partners or 

officers, the nature of the enterprises of the issuer and any 

available information reasonably necessary for evaluating 

the desirability or lack of desirability of investing in the 

securities of an issuer. All transactions in securities 

described in this subdivision shall comply with the 

provisions of § 13.1-507 of the Act; 

20. Fail to disclose that the broker-dealer is controlled by, 

controlling, affiliated with or under common control with 

the issuer of any security before entering into any contract 

with or for a customer for the purchase or sale of the 

security, the existence of control to the customer, and if 

disclosure is not made in writing, it shall be supplemented 

by the giving or sending of written disclosure at or before 

the completion of the transaction; 

21. Fail to make a bona fide public offering of all of the 

securities allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution, 

whether acquired as an underwriter, a selling group 

member, or from a member participating in the distribution 

as an underwriter or selling group member; 

22. Fail or refuse to furnish a customer, upon reasonable 

request, information to which the customer is entitled, or to 

respond to a formal written request or complaint;  

23. Fail to clearly and separately disclose to its customer, 

prior to any security transaction, providing investment 

advice for compensation or any materially related 

transaction that the customer's funds or securities will be in 

the custody of an investment advisor or contracted 

custodian, in a manner that does not provide Securities 

Investor Protection Corporation protection, or equivalent 

third-party coverage over the customer's assets; 

24. Market broker-dealer services that are associated with 

financial institutions in a manner that is misleading or 

confusing to customers as to the nature of securities 

products or risks;  

25. In transactions subject to breakpoints, fail to: 

a. Utilize advantageous breakpoints without reasonable 

basis for their exclusion; 

b. Determine information that should be recorded on the 

books and records of a member or its clearing firm, 

which is necessary to determine the availability and 

appropriateness of breakpoint opportunities; or 

c. Inquire whether the customer has positions or 

transactions away from the member that should be 

considered in connection with the pending transaction, 

and apprise the customer of the breakpoint opportunities;  

26. Use a certification or professional designation in 

connection with the offer, sale, or purchase of securities 

that indicates or implies that the user has special 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees in such a way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 

designation includes, but is not limited to, the following: 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 25  Virginia Register of Regulations August 10, 2015 

2424 

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 

has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 

such certification or designation; 

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 

professional designation; 

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 

obtained through education, training, or experience that 

the person using the certification or professional 

designation does not have; or 

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

was obtained from a designating or certifying 

organization that: 

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 

sales or marketing; 

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

assuring the competency of its designees or certificants; 

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 

for improper or unethical conduct; or 

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 

requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 

maintain the designation or certificate. 

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 

certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 

purposes of subdivision 26 a (4) of this subsection, when 

the organization has been accredited by:  

(1) The American National Standards Institute; 

(2) The Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly 

the National Commission for Certifying Agencies); or 

(3) An organization that is on the United States 

Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 

Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 

designation or credential issued therefrom does not 

primarily apply to sales or marketing. 

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 

acronym standing for a combination of words) 

constitutes a certification or professional designation 

indicating or implying that a person has special 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 

"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 

or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 

"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 

name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 

professional designation does not include a job title 

within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 

state or federal financial services regulatory agency when 

that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 

the organization.  

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 

regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 

agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 

advisers, or investment companies as defined under § 3 

(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 USC 

§ 80a-3(a)(1)). 

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 

authority to enforce existing provisions of law; 

27. Represent that securities will be listed or that 

application for listing will be made on a securities 

exchange or the National Association of Securities Dealers 

Automated Quotations (NASDAQ) system or other 

quotation system without reasonable basis in fact for the 

representation; 

28. Falsify or alter so as to make false or misleading any 

record or document or any information provided to the 

commission; 

29. Negotiate, facilitate, or otherwise execute a transaction 

on behalf of an investor involving securities issued by a 

third party pursuant to a claim for exemption under 

subsection B of § 13.1-514 of the Act unless the broker-

dealer intends to report the securities owned and the value 

of such securities on at least a quarterly basis to the 

investor; 

30. Offer or sell securities pursuant to a claim for 

exemption under subsection B of § 13.1-514 of the Act 

without having first verified the information relating to the 

securities offered or sold, which shall include, but not be 

limited to, ascertaining the risks associated with investing 

in the respective security; 

31. Allow any person to represent or utilize its name as a 

trading platform without conspicuously disclosing the 

name of the registered broker-dealer in effecting or 

attempting to effect purchases and sales of securities; or 

32. Engage in any conduct that constitutes a dishonest or 

unethical practice including, but not limited to, forgery, 

embezzlement, nondisclosure, incomplete disclosure or 

material omissions or untrue statements of material facts, 

manipulative or deceptive practices, or fraudulent course of 

business. 

B. Every agent is required to observe high standards of 

commercial honor and just and equitable principles of trade in 

the conduct of his business. The acts and practices described 

below are considered contrary to such standards and may 

constitute grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of 

registration or such other action authorized by the Act. No 

agent who is registered or required to be registered shall: 

1. Engage in the practice of lending or borrowing money or 

securities from a customer, or acting as a custodian for 
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money, securities or an executed stock power of a 

customer; 

2. Effect any securities transaction not recorded on the 

regular books or records of the broker-dealer which the 

agent represents, unless the transaction is authorized in 

writing by the broker-dealer prior to execution of the 

transaction; 

3. Establish or maintain an account containing fictitious 

information in order to execute a transaction which would 

otherwise be unlawful or prohibited; 

4. Share directly or indirectly in profits or losses in the 

account of any customer without the written authorization 

of the customer and the broker-dealer which the agent 

represents; 

5. Divide or otherwise split the agent's commissions, 

profits or other compensation from the purchase or sale of 

securities in this state with any person not also registered 

as an agent for the same broker-dealer, or for a broker-

dealer under direct or indirect common control; 

6. Engage in conduct specified in subdivision A 2, 3, 4, 5, 

6, 10, 15, 16, 17, 18, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, or 32 of 

this section; 

7. Fail to comply with the continuing education 

requirements under 21VAC5-20-150 C; or 

8. Hold oneself out as representing any person other than 

the broker-dealer with whom the agent is registered and, in 

the case of an agent whose normal place of business is not 

on the premises of the broker-dealer, failing to 

conspicuously disclose the name of the broker-dealer for 

whom the agent is registered when representing the dealer 

in effecting or attempting to effect the purchases or sales of 

securities. 

C. No person shall publish, give publicity to, or circulate 

any notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper article, letter, 

investment service or communication which, though not 

purporting to offer a security for sale, describes the security, 

for a consideration received or to be received, directly or 

indirectly, from an issuer, underwriter, or dealer, without 

fully disclosing the receipt, whether past or prospective, of 

such consideration and the amount thereof. 

D. The purpose of this subsection is to identify practices in 

the securities business that are generally associated with 

schemes to manipulate and to identify prohibited business 

conduct of broker-dealers or sales agents who are registered 

or required to be registered. 

1. Entering into a transaction with a customer in any 

security at an unreasonable price or at a price not 

reasonably related to the current market price of the 

security or receiving an unreasonable commission or profit. 

2. Contradicting or negating the importance of any 

information contained in a prospectus or other offering 

materials with intent to deceive or mislead or using any 

advertising or sales presentation in a deceptive or 

misleading manner. 

3. In connection with the offer, sale, or purchase of a 

security, falsely leading a customer to believe that the 

broker-dealer or agent is in possession of material, 

nonpublic information that would affect the value of the 

security. 

4. In connection with the solicitation of a sale or purchase 

of a security, engaging in a pattern or practice of making 

contradictory recommendations to different investors of 

similar investment objective for some to sell and others to 

purchase the same security, at or about the same time, 

when not justified by the particular circumstances of each 

investor. 

5. Failing to make a bona fide public offering of all the 

securities allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution by, 

among other things, (i) transferring securities to a 

customer, another broker-dealer, or a fictitious account 

with the understanding that those securities will be 

returned to the broker-dealer or its nominees or (ii) parking 

or withholding securities. 

6. Although nothing in this subsection precludes 

application of the general antifraud anti-fraud provisions 

against anyone for practices similar in nature to the 

practices discussed below, the following subdivisions a 

through f specifically apply only in connection with the 

solicitation of a purchase or sale of over the counter (OTC) 

unlisted non-NASDAQ equity securities: 

a. Failing to advise the customer, both at the time of 

solicitation and on the confirmation, of any and all 

compensation related to a specific securities transaction 

to be paid to the agent including commissions, sales 

charges, or concessions. 

b. In connection with a principal transaction, failing to 

disclose, both at the time of solicitation and on the 

confirmation, a short inventory position in the firm's 

account of more than 3.0% of the issued and outstanding 

shares of that class of securities of the issuer; however, 

subdivision 6 of this subsection shall apply only if the 

firm is a market maker at the time of the solicitation. 

c. Conducting sales contests in a particular security. 

d. After a solicited purchase by a customer, failing or 

refusing, in connection with a principal transaction, to 

promptly execute sell orders. 

e. Soliciting a secondary market transaction when there 

has not been a bona fide distribution in the primary 

market. 

f. Engaging in a pattern of compensating an agent in 

different amounts for effecting sales and purchases in the 

same security. 

7. Effecting any transaction in, or inducing the purchase or 

sale of, any security by means of any manipulative, 

deceptive, or other fraudulent device or contrivance 
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including but not limited to the use of boiler room tactics 

or use of fictitious or nominee accounts. 

8. Failing to comply with any prospectus delivery 

requirements promulgated under federal law or the Act. 

9. In connection with the solicitation of a sale or purchase 

of an OTC unlisted non-NASDAQ security, failing to 

promptly provide the most current prospectus or the most 

recently filed periodic report filed under § 13 of the 

Securities Exchange Act when requested to do so by a 

customer. 

10. Marking any order tickets or confirmations as 

unsolicited when in fact the transaction was solicited. 

11. For any month in which activity has occurred in a 

customer's account, but in no event less than every three 

months, failing to provide each customer with a statement 

of account with respect to all OTC non-NASDAQ equity 

securities in the account, containing a value for each such 

security based on the closing market bid on a date certain; 

however, this subdivision shall apply only if the firm has 

been a market maker in the security at any time during the 

month in which the monthly or quarterly statement is 

issued. 

12. Failing to comply with any applicable provision of the 

FINRA Rules or any applicable fair practice, privacy, or 

ethical standard promulgated by the SEC or by a self-

regulatory organization approved by the SEC. 

13. In connection with the solicitation of a purchase or sale 

of a designated security: 

a. Failing to disclose to the customer the bid and ask 

price, at which the broker-dealer effects transactions with 

individual, retail customers, of the designated security as 

well as its spread in both percentage and dollar amounts 

at the time of solicitation and on the trade confirmation 

documents; or 

b. Failing to include with the confirmation, the notice 

disclosure contained under 21VAC5-20-285, except the 

following shall be exempt from this requirement: 

(1) Transactions in which the price of the designated 

security is $5.00 or more, exclusive of costs or charges; 

however, if the designated security is a unit composed of 

one or more securities, the unit price divided by the 

number of components of the unit other than warrants, 

options, rights, or similar securities must be $5.00 or 

more, and any component of the unit that is a warrant, 

option, right, or similar securities, or a convertible 

security must have an exercise price or conversion price 

of $5.00 or more. 

(2) Transactions that are not recommended by the broker-

dealer or agent. 

(3) Transactions by a broker-dealer: (i) whose 

commissions, commission equivalents, and mark-ups 

from transactions in designated securities during each of 

the preceding three months, and during 11 or more of the 

preceding 12 months, did not exceed 5.0% of its total 

commissions, commission-equivalents, and mark-ups 

from transactions in securities during those months; and 

(ii) who has not executed principal transactions in 

connection with the solicitation to purchase the 

designated security that is the subject of the transaction 

in the preceding 12 months. 

(4) Any transaction or transactions that, upon prior 

written request or upon its own motion, the commission 

conditionally or unconditionally exempts as not 

encompassed within the purposes of this section. 

c. For purposes of this section, the term "designated 

security" means any equity security other than a security: 

(1) Registered, or approved for registration upon notice 

of issuance, on a national securities exchange and makes 

transaction reports available pursuant to 17 CFR 11Aa3-

1 under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; 

(2) Authorized, or approved for authorization upon notice 

of issuance, for quotation in the NASDAQ system; 

(3) Issued by an investment company registered under 

the Investment Company Act of 1940; 

(4) That is a put option or call option issued by The 

Options Clearing Corporation; or 

(5) Whose issuer has net tangible assets in excess of $4 

million as demonstrated by financial statements dated 

within no less than 15 months that the broker-dealer has 

reviewed and has a reasonable basis to believe are true 

and complete in relation to the date of the transaction 

with the person, and 

(a) In the event the issuer is other than a foreign private 

issuer, are the most recent financial statements for the 

issuer that have been audited and reported on by an 

independent public accountant in accordance with the 

provisions of 17 CFR 210.2-02 under the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934; or 

(b) In the event the issuer is a foreign private issuer, are 

the most recent financial statements for the issuer that 

have been filed with the SEC; furnished to the SEC 

pursuant to 17 CFR 240.12g3-2(b) under the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934; or prepared in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles in the country 

of incorporation, audited in compliance with the 

requirements of that jurisdiction, and reported on by an 

accountant duly registered and in good standing in 

accordance with the regulations of that jurisdiction. 

21VAC5-40-190. Intrastate crowdfunding exemption. 

A. In accordance with § 13.1-514 B 21 of the Act, an offer 

or sale of a security by an issuer is exempt from the securities, 

broker-dealer and agent registration requirements of the Act if 

the offer or sale meets all of the following requirements: 

1. The issuer of the security is a business entity: 

a. Formed under the laws of the Commonwealth; 
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b. Authorized to do business in the Commonwealth; and 

c. That has its principal place of business in the 

Commonwealth. 

2. The offering is sold only to residents of the 

Commonwealth in compliance with the requirements for 

the federal exemption for intrastate offerings under 

§ 3(a)(11) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 USC 

77c(a)(11), and SEC Rule 147, 17 CFR 230.147. 

3. The securities offered and sold pursuant to this 

exemption are equity securities of the issuer. This 

exemption is not available to debt offerings. 

4. The sum of all cash and other consideration to be 

received for all sales of the securities in reliance on this 

exemption does not exceed $2 million, less the aggregate 

amount received for all sales of securities by the issuer 

within 12 months before the first offer or sale made in 

reliance upon this exemption, and if the offering is: 

a. [ $100,000 $500,000 ] or less, if the issuer has 

financial statements prepared the previous year that have 

been certified by the principal executive officer of the 

issuer to be true and complete in all material respects; 

b. More than [ $100,000 $500,000 ] but less than 

[ $500,000 $1 million ], if the issuer has undergone a 

financial review of the financial statements of its most 

recently completed fiscal year, conducted by an 

independent certified public accountant in accordance 

with generally accepted accounting principles; or 

c. [ $500,000 $1 million ] or more, if the issuer has 

undergone an audit of the financial statements of its most 

recently completed fiscal year, conducted by an 

independent certified public accountant in accordance 

with generally accepted accounting principles. 

5. The issuer has not accepted more than $10,000 from any 

single purchaser unless the purchaser is an accredited 

investor as defined by Rule 501 of SEC Regulation D, 17 

CFR 230.501.  

6. At least 20 days before an offer of securities is made in 

reliance on this exemption or the use of any publicly 

available Internet website in connection with an offering of 

securities in reliance on this exemption, the issuer files 

with the commission in writing or in electronic form, all of 

the following: 

a. A notice of claim of exemption from registration on 

Form ICE specifying that the issuer intends to conduct an 

offering in reliance on this exemption, accompanied by a 

nonrefundable filing fee of $250 payable to the Treasurer 

of Virginia. 

b. A copy of the disclosure statement or Form ICE to be 

provided to prospective investors in connection with the 

offering. The disclosure statement or Form ICE shall 

contain all of the following: 

(1) A description of the issuer, including type of entity, 

the address and telephone number of its principal office, 

its formation history, and its business plan; 

(2) A description of the intended use of the offering 

proceeds, including any amounts to be paid, as 

compensation or otherwise, to any owner, executive 

officer, director, managing member, or other person 

occupying a similar status or performing similar 

functions on behalf of the issuer; 

(3) The identity of each person that owns more than 10% 

of the ownership interests of any class of securities of the 

issuer and the amount of said securities held by such 

person; 

(4) The identity of the executive officers, directors, or 

managing members of the issuer and any other 

individuals who occupy similar status or perform similar 

functions in the name of and on behalf of the issuer, 

including their titles and their prior business experience; 

(5) The terms and conditions of the securities being 

offered including: 

(a) The type and amounts of any outstanding securities of 

the issuer; 

(b) The minimum and maximum amount of securities 

being offered, if any; 

(c) Either the percentage ownership of the issuer 

represented by the offered securities or the valuation of 

the issuer implied by the price of the offered securities; 

(d) The price per share, unit, or interest of the securities 

being offered; 

(e) Any restrictions on transfer of the securities being 

offered; and 

(f) A disclosure of any anticipated future issuance of 

securities that might dilute the value of the securities 

being offered; 

(6) The identity of any person that the issuer has or 

intends to retain to assist the issuer in conducting the 

offer and sale of the securities, including the owner of 

any websites, if known, but excluding any person acting 

solely as an accountant or attorney and any employees 

whose primary job responsibilities involve the operating 

business of the issuer rather than assisting the issuer in 

raising capital; 

(7) For each person identified as required in subdivision 

6 b (6) of this subsection, a description of the 

consideration being paid to the person for such 

assistance; 

(8) A description of any litigation or legal proceedings 

involving the issuer or any executive officer, director, or 

managing member or other person occupying a similar 

status or performing similar functions on behalf of the 

issuer;  
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(9) The issuer's financial statements for the three most 

recent fiscal years or for as much time as the issuer has 

been in existence, if less than three years; 

(10) The name and address, including the uniform 

resource locator, of each Internet website that will be 

used by the issuer to offer or sell securities under an 

exemption under this section; and 

(11) Any additional information material to the offering, 

including, if appropriate, a discussion of significant risk 

factors that make the offering speculative or risky. This 

discussion shall be concise and organized logically and 

may not be limited to risks that could apply to any issuer 

or any offering. 

c. An escrow agreement with a bank or other depository 

institution located in this Commonwealth, in which the 

purchaser funds will be deposited. At a minimum the 

escrow agreement shall provide that all offering proceeds 

will be released to the issuer only when the aggregate 

capital raised from all purchasers is equal to or greater 

than the minimum target offering amount specified in the 

disclosure statement as necessary to implement the 

business plan and all purchasers will receive a return of 

their subscription funds if that target offering amount is 

not raised by the time stated in the disclosure statement. 

The depository institution may contract with the issuer to 

collect reasonable fees for its escrow services regardless 

of whether the target offering amount is reached; 

however such fees shall not be deducted from purchaser 

funds if the target offering amount is not raised by the 

time stated in the disclosure statement. The issuer shall 

disclose in its disclosure statement or Form ICE whether 

any interest earned on escrowed purchaser funds will be 

paid to purchasers on a pro rata basis if the minimum 

target amount, as described above, is not raised.  

7. The issuer is not, either before or as a result of the 

offering: 

a. A company that is engaged or proposes to engage in 

the business of investing, reinvesting, owning, holding or 

trading in securities, including an investment company as 

defined by 15 USC § 80a-3, or a hedge fund, commodity 

pool, or similar investment vehicle; 

b. Subject to the reporting requirements of § 13 or 15(d) 

of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 USC 78m 

and 78o(d);  

c. A company that has not yet defined its business 

operations, has no business plan, has no stated 

investment goal for the funds being raised, or that plans 

to engage in a merger with or acquisition of an 

unspecified business entity or entities, or without an 

allocation of proceeds to sufficiently identifiable 

properties or objectives; or 

d. A company that is engaged in or proposes to engage in 

petroleum exploration or production, mining, or other 

extractive industries. 

8. The issuer informs each prospective purchaser that the 

securities are not registered under federal or state securities 

laws and that the securities are subject to limitations on 

transfer or resale and displays the following legend 

conspicuously on the cover page of the disclosure 

statement: 

THESE SECURITIES ARE BEING SOLD IN 

RELIANCE ON AN EXEMPTION TO THE FEDERAL 

SECURITIES REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 

UNDER SECTION 3(a)(11) OF THE SECURITIES 

ACT OF 1933 AND UNDER SECTION 13.1-514 OF 

THE VIRGINIA SECURITIES ACT. THESE 

SECURITIES CAN ONLY BE SOLD TO RESIDENTS 

OF VIRGINIA AND ARE SUBJECT TO 

RESTRICTIONS ON TRANSFERABILITY AND 

RESALE AS CONTAINED IN SUBSECTIONS (e) 

AND (f) OF SEC RULE 147, 17 CFR 230.147. 

INVESTORS SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THEY 

WILL BE REQUIRED TO BEAR THE FINANCIAL 

RISKS OF THIS INVESTMENT FOR AN 

INDEFINITE PERIOD OF TIME AND THAT THEY 

MAY LOSE ALL OF THE INVESTMENT AND CAN 

AFFORD THE LOSS OF THE INVESTMENT. 

IN MAKING AN INVESTMENT DECISION, 

INVESTORS SHOULD RELY ON THEIR OWN 

EXAMINATION OF THE ISSUER AND THE TERMS 

REVEALED IN THESE OFFERING DOCUMENTS, 

INCLUDING THE MERITS AND RISKS INVOLVED. 

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN 

RECOMMENDED BY ANY FEDERAL OR STATE 

AUTHORITY OR REGULATORY COMMISSION 

NOR HAVE THESE ENTITIES CONFIRMED THE 

ACCURACY OR DETERMINED THE ADEQUACY 

OF THIS DOCUMENT. ANY REPRESENTATION TO 

THE CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE. 

9. If the offer and sale of securities under this section is 

made through the Internet, all of the following 

requirements are met: 

a. Any person acting as the Internet website operator 

shall be an issuer, a registered broker-dealer, or a funding 

portal that is in compliance with all commission, SEC, 

and FINRA requirements, including, if it is a funding 

portal, making any required notice filings with the 

commission; 

b. Internet website operators shall comply with all 

commission, SEC, and FINRA requirements applicable 

to intrastate offerings through the Internet; 

c. Internet website operators shall maintain records of all 

offers and sales of securities effected through its Internet 

website for five years from the close of the offering; and 
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d. The issuer and the Internet website operator shall keep 

and maintain records of the offers and sales of securities 

made through the Internet website for five years from the 

close of the offering. The issuer and the Internet website 

operator shall promptly provide ready access to the 

records to the commission on request. The commission 

may access, inspect, and review any Internet website 

described in this subdivision 9 and its records. 

10. All payments for the purchase of securities are directed 

to and held by the depository institution subject to the 

provisions of subdivision 6 c of this subsection. 

11. The issuer does not pay, directly or indirectly, any 

commission or remuneration to an executive officer, 

director, managing member, or other individual who has a 

similar status or performs similar functions in the name of 

and on behalf of the issuer for offering or selling the 

securities unless he is registered as a broker-dealer agent 

under the Act. An executive officer, director, managing 

member, or other individual who has a similar status or 

performs similar functions in the name of and on behalf of 

the issuer is exempt from the agent registration 

requirements of the Act if he does not receive, directly or 

indirectly, any commission or remuneration for offering or 

selling securities of the issuer that are exempt from 

registration under this section. 

12. The issuer provides a copy of Form ICE or the 

disclosure statement provided to the commission under 

subdivision 6 b of this subsection to each prospective 

purchaser at the time the offer of securities is made to the 

prospective purchaser. 

13. The term of the offering does not exceed 12 months 

after the date of the first offer. 

B. The issuer shall provide [ a quarterly an annual ] report to 

the issuer's purchasers [ until none of the securities issued 

under this section are outstanding for each of the issuer's next 

three fiscal years, the first of which being that fiscal year that 

ends following the commencement of the offering ]. All of 

the following apply to the [ quarterly annual ] report 

described in this subsection: 

1. The issuer shall provide the report free of charge to the 

purchasers; 

2. An issuer may satisfy the report requirement under this 

subsection by making the information available on an 

internet website if the information is made available within 

45 days after the end of each fiscal [ quarter year ] and 

remains available until the next [ quarterly annual ] report 

is issued; 

3. The issuer shall file each report with the commission 

and shall provide a written copy of the report to any 

purchaser on request; and 

4. The report shall include all of the following: 

a. The compensation received by each director and 

executive officer of the issuer, including cash 

compensation earned since the previous report and on an 

annual basis and any bonuses, stock options, other rights 

to receive securities of the issuer or any affiliate of the 

issuer, or other compensation received; and 

b. An analysis by management of the issuer's business 

operations and financial condition. 

C. The exemption provided in this section shall not be used 

in conjunction with any other exemption under the Act, 

except offers and sales to control persons shall not count 

toward the limitation in subdivision A 4 of this section.  

D. The exemption described in this section shall not be 

available to the issuer if the issuer, any of the issuer's 

predecessors, any affiliate of the issuer, or any control person 

of the issuer: 

1. Within the past 10 years, has filed a registration 

statement that is the subject of a currently effective 

registration stop order entered by any state securities 

administrator or the SEC; 

2. Within the past 10 years, has been convicted of any 

criminal offense in connection with the offer, purchase, or 

sale of any security, or involving fraud or deceit; 

3. Is currently subject to any state or federal administrative 

enforcement order or judgment, entered within the past 10 

years, finding fraud or deceit in connection with the 

purchase or sale of any security; or 

4. Is currently subject to any order, judgment, or decree of 

any court of competent jurisdiction, entered within the past 

10 years, that temporarily, preliminarily, or permanently 

restrains or enjoins the party from engaging in or 

continuing to engage in any conduct or practice involving 

fraud or deceit in connection with the purchase or sale of 

any security. 

E. Subsection D of this section shall not apply if:  

1. The party subject to the disqualification is licensed or 

registered to conduct securities-related business in the state 

in which the order, judgment, or decree creating the 

disqualification was entered against such party;  

2. Before the first offer under this exemption, the state 

securities administrator, or the court or regulatory authority 

that entered the order, judgment, or decree, waives the 

disqualification; or  

3. The issuer establishes it did not know and exercising 

reasonable care, based on a factual inquiry, could not have 

known that a disqualification existed under this subsection. 

F. An Internet website through which an offer or sale of 

securities under this section is made is not subject to the 

broker-dealer or agent registration requirements of the Act if 

the Internet website meets all of the following conditions: 

1. It does not offer investment advice or recommendations; 

2. It does not solicit purchases, sales, or offers to buy the 

securities offered or displayed on the Internet website; 
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3. It does not compensate employees, agents, or other 

persons for the solicitation or based on the sale of 

securities displayed or referenced on the Internet website; 

and 

4. It does not hold, manage, possess, or otherwise handle 

purchaser funds or securities. 

G. As used in this section, "financial review" means a 

limited inquiry and analytical procedure of much narrower 

scope than an audit, undertaken by a certified public 

accountant for the purpose of expressing limited assurance 

that financial statements are presented in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles. 

H. As used in this section, "control person" means (i) an 

officer, director, partner, managing member, trustee, or other 

person having the power, directly or indirectly, to direct the 

management or policies of the issuer, whether by contract or 

otherwise; or (ii) a person that owns 10% or more of any class 

of the outstanding securities of the issuer. 

I. As used in this section, "funding portal" means any person 

acting as an intermediary in a transaction involving the offer 

or sale of securities for the account of others, solely pursuant 

to § 4(6) of the Securities Act of 1933 that does not: 

1. Offer investment advice or recommendations; 

2. Solicit purchases, sales, or offers to buy the securities 

offered or displayed on its Internet website or portal; 

3. Compensate employees, agents, or other persons for 

such solicitation or based on the sales of securities 

displayed or referenced on its Internet website or portal; 

4. Hold, manage, possess, or otherwise handle investor 

funds or securities; or 

5. Engage in such other activities as the SEC, by rule, 

determines [ appropriate inappropriate ]. 

J. The issuer or other designated person shall be notified by 

letter or electronic communication when the exemption filing 

is effective. If, however, on or before the initial 

commencement date of the offering, and after timely filing 

the materials required by subdivision A 6 of this section with 

the commission, the issuer has not been notified that any one 

or more of the filed materials fails to conform to the 

requirements of this section, the proposed offering shall be 

deemed effective. 

K. Upon completion of an offering made in reliance on this 

exemption, the issuer shall file a final sales report with the 

commission, by letter or electronic communication, no later 

than 30 days after the last sale in the offering that includes the 

following information: 

1. The time period in which the offering was open; 

2. The number of investors that purchased shares or units 

in the offering; 

3. The dollar amount sold in the offering; and 

4. The dollar amount, if any, returned to investors, 

purchasers, or subscribers. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (21VAC5-40)  

Form D, Notice of Exempt Offering of Securities, U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission, SEC1972 (rev. 2/12) 

Intrastate Crowdfunding Exemption, Form ICE (eff. 7/15) 

21VAC5-45-20. Offerings conducted pursuant to Rule 506 

of federal Regulation D (17 CFR 230.506): Filing 

requirements and issuer-agent exemption. 

A. An issuer offering a security that is a covered security 

under § 18 (b)(4)(D) of the Securities Act of 1933 (15 USC § 

77r(b)(4)(D)) shall file with the commission no later than 15 

days after the first sale of such federal covered security in this 

Commonwealth:  

1. A notice on SEC Form D (17 CFR 239.500), as filed 

with the SEC.  

2. A filing fee of $250 payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

B. An amendment filing shall contain a copy of the amended 

SEC Form D. No fee is required for an amendment.  

C. For the purpose of this chapter, SEC "Form D" is the 

document, as adopted by the SEC, and in effect on February 

27, 2012 September 23, 2013, entitled "Form D, Notice of 

Exempt Offering of Securities." 

D. Pursuant to § 13.1-514 B 13 of the Act, an agent of an 

issuer who effects transactions in a security exempt from 

registration under the Securities Act of 1933 pursuant to rules 

and regulations promulgated under § 4(2) thereof (15 USC § 

77d(2)) is exempt from the agent registration requirements of 

the Act.  

21VAC5-80-130. Examination/qualification. 

A. An individual applying for registration as an investment 

advisor representative shall be required to provide evidence 

of passing within the two-year period immediately preceding 

the date of the application: (i) the Uniform Investment 

Adviser Law Examination, Series 65; (ii) the Uniform 

Combined State Law Examination, Series 66 and the General 

Securities Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a 

similar examination in general use by securities 

administrators which, after reasonable notice and subject to 

review by the commission, the Director of the Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising designates.  

B. Any individual who has been meets the qualifications set 

forth in subsection A of this section and is registered as an 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative in 

any state jurisdiction requiring the registration and 

qualification of investment advisors or investment advisor 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0879c003073~12&typ=40&actno=003073&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0879c003073~12&typ=40&actno=003073&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae89c004298~1&typ=40&actno=004298&mime=application/pdf
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representatives within the two-year period immediately 

preceding the date of the filing of an application shall not be 

required to satisfy the examination requirements set forth in 

subsection A of this section, except that the commission may 

require additional examinations for any individual found to 

have violated any federal or state securities laws. 

C. The examination requirements shall not apply to an 

individual who currently holds and is in good standing under 

one of the following professional designations:  

1. Certified Financial Planner (CFP) issued by the Certified 

Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc.;  

2. Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) awarded by The 

American College, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania;  

3. Personal Financial Specialist (PFS) administered by the 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants;  

4. Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) granted by the 

Association for Investment Management and Research;  

5. Chartered Investment Counselor (CIC) granted by the 

Investment Counsel Association of America; or  

6. Such other professional designation, after reasonable 

notice and subject to review by the commission, as the 

Director director of the Division of Securities and Retail 

Franchising division designates.  

D. In lieu of meeting the examination requirement described 

in subsection A of this section, an applicant who meets all the 

qualifications set forth below may file with the commission at 

its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising division an 

executed Affidavit for Waiver of Examination (Form S.A.3).  

1. No more than one other individual connected with the 

applicant's investment advisor is utilizing the waiver at the 

time the applicant files Form S.A.3.  

2. The applicant is, and has been for at least the five years 

immediately preceding the date on which the application 

for registration is filed, actively engaged in the investment 

advisory business.  

3. The applicant has been for at least the two years 

immediately preceding the date on which the application is 

filed the president, chief executive officer or chairman of 

the board of directors of an investment advisor organized 

in corporate form or the managing partner, member, trustee 

or similar functionary of an investment advisor organized 

in noncorporate form.  

4. The investment advisor or advisors referred to in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection has been actively engaged 

in the investment advisory business and during the 

applicant's tenure as president, chief executive officer, 

chairman of the board of directors, or managing partner, 

member, trustee or similar functionary had at least $40 

million under management.  

5. The applicant verifies that he has read and is familiar 

with the investment advisor and investment advisor 

representative provisions of the Act and the provisions of 

Parts I through V of this chapter.  

6. The applicant verifies that none of the questions in Item 

14 (disciplinary history) on his Form U4 have been, or 

need be, answered in the affirmative.  

21VAC5-80-200. Dishonest or unethical practices. 

A. An investment advisor or federal covered advisor is a 

fiduciary and has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his 

clients. While the extent and nature of this duty varies 

according to the nature of the relationship between an 

investment advisor or federal covered advisor and his clients 

and the circumstances of each case, an investment advisor or 

federal covered advisor who is registered or required to be 

registered shall not engage in unethical practices, including 

the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 

supervisory, management or consulting services are 

provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 

without reasonable grounds to believe that the 

recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 

information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 

concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 

situation, risk tolerance and needs, and any other 

information known or acquired by the investment advisor 

or federal covered advisor after reasonable examination of 

the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 

account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 

account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 

first having obtained a written third-party authorization 

from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 

for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 

obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 

within 10 business days after the date of the first 

transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 

unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 

which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 

amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 

size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 

investment objectives and character of the account. 

6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 

client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 

advisor or federal covered advisor, or a financial institution 

engaged in the business of loaning funds or securities. 

7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 

or federal covered advisor is a financial institution engaged 

in the business of loaning funds or the client is an affiliate 

of the investment advisor or federal covered advisor. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 

advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 
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or federal covered advisor, or misrepresenting the nature of 

the advisory services being offered or fees to be charged 

for the services, or omission to state a material fact 

necessary to make the statements made regarding 

qualifications services or fees, in light of the circumstances 

under which they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 

client prepared by someone other than the investment 

advisor or federal covered advisor without disclosing that 

fact. This prohibition does not apply to a situation where 

the advisor uses published research reports or statistical 

analyses to render advice or where an advisor orders such a 

report in the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 

of the fees charged by other investment advisors or federal 

covered advisors providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 

advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 

to the investment advisor or federal covered advisor or any 

of his employees which could reasonably be expected to 

impair the rendering of unbiased and objective advice 

including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 

services to clients which are in addition to compensation 

from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 

when a commission for executing securities transactions 

pursuant to such advice will be received by the advisor or 

his employees. 

12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 

achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 

13. Directly or indirectly using any advertisement that does 

any one of the following: 

a. Refers to any testimonial of any kind concerning the 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative 

or concerning any advice, analysis, report, or other 

service rendered by the investment advisor or investment 

advisor representative; 

b. Refers to past specific recommendations of the 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative 

that were or would have been profitable to any person; 

except that an investment advisor or investment advisor 

representative may furnish or offer to furnish a list of all 

recommendations made by the investment advisor or 

investment advisor representative within the immediately 

preceding period of not less than one year if the 

advertisement or list also includes both of the following: 

(1) The name of each security recommended, the date 

and nature of each recommendation, the market price at 

that time, the price at which the recommendation was to 

be acted upon, and the most recently available market 

price of each security; and 

(2) A legend on the first page in prominent print or type 

that states that the reader should not assume that 

recommendations made in the future will be profitable or 

will equal the performance of the securities in the list; 

c. Represents that any graph, chart, formula, or other 

device being offered can be used to determine which 

securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell them; or 

which represents, directly or indirectly, that any graph, 

chart, formula, or other device being offered will assist 

any person in making that person's own decisions as to 

which securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell 

them, without prominently disclosing in the 

advertisement the limitations thereof and the risks 

associated to its use; 

d. Represents that any report, analysis, or other service 

will be furnished for free or without charge, unless the 

report, analysis, or other service actually is or will be 

furnished entirely free and without any direct or indirect 

condition or obligation; 

e. Represents that the commission has approved any 

advertisement; or 

f. Contains any untrue statement of a material fact, or that 

is otherwise false or misleading.  

For the purposes of this section, the term "advertisement" 

includes any notice, circular, letter, or other written 

communication addressed to more than one person, or any 

notice or other announcement in any electronic or paper 

publication, by radio or television, or by any medium, that 

offers any one of the following: 

(i) Any analysis, report, or publication concerning 

securities; 

(ii) Any analysis, report, or publication that is to be used 

in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 

any security or which security to buy or sell; 

(iii) Any graph, chart, formula, or other device to be used 

in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 

any security, or which security to buy or sell; or 

(iv) Any other investment advisory service with regard to 

securities. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 

client to any third party unless required by law or an order 

of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 

consented to by the client, or failing to comply with any 

applicable privacy provision or standard promulgated by 

the SEC or by a self-regulatory organization approved by 

the SEC. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 

those securities or funds in which any client has any 

beneficial interest, where the investment advisor has 

custody or possession of such securities or funds, when the 

investment advisor's action is subject to and does not 

comply with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-

146. 
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16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 

advisory contract unless the contract is in writing and 

discloses, in substance, the services to be provided, the 

term of the contract, the advisory fee, the formula for 

computing the fee, the amount of prepaid fee to be returned 

in the event of contract termination or nonperformance, 

whether the contract grants discretionary power to the 

investment advisor or federal covered advisor and that no 

assignment of such contract shall be made by the 

investment advisor or federal covered advisor without the 

consent of the other party to the contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 

customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 

investment advice for compensation or any materially 

related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 

will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 

contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 

Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 

equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. Using a certification or professional designation in 

connection with the provision of advice as to the value of 

or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 

securities, either directly or indirectly or through 

publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 

analyses or reports relating to securities that indicates or 

implies that the user has special certification or training in 

advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 

way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 

designation includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 

has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 

such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 

professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 

obtained through education, training, or experience that 

the person using the certification or professional 

designation does not have; or  

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

was obtained from a designating or certifying 

organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 

sales and/or or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 

for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 

requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 

maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 

certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 

purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 

the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute;  

(2) The Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly 

the National Commission for Certifying Agencies); or  

(3) An organization that is on the United States 

Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 

Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 

designation or credential issued therefrom does not 

primarily apply to sales and/or or marketing.  

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 

acronym standing for a combination of words) 

constitutes a certification or professional designation 

indicating or implying that a person has special 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 

"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 

or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 

"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 

name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 

professional designation does not include a job title 

within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 

state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 

when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 

the organization.  

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 

regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 

agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 

advisers, or investment companies as defined under § 3 

(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 USC 

§ 80a-3(a)(1)).  

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 

authority to enforce existing provisions of the law. 

B. An investment advisor representative is a fiduciary and 

has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his clients. While 

the extent and nature of this duty varies according to the 

nature of the relationship between an investment advisor 

representative and his clients and the circumstances of each 

case, an investment advisor representative who is registered 

or required to be registered shall not engage in unethical 

practices, including the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 

supervisory, management or consulting services are 

provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 

without reasonable grounds to believe that the 
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recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 

information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 

concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 

situation and needs, and any other information known or 

acquired by the investment advisor representative after 

reasonable examination of the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 

account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 

account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 

first having obtained a written third-party authorization 

from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 

for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 

obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 

within 10 business days after the date of the first 

transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 

unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 

which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 

amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 

size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 

investment objectives and character of the account. 

6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 

client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 

advisor representative, or a financial institution engaged in 

the business of loaning funds or securities. 

7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 

representative is engaged in the business of loaning funds 

or the client is an affiliate of the investment advisor 

representative. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 

advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 

representative, or misrepresenting the nature of the 

advisory services being offered or fees to be charged for 

the services, or omission to state a material fact necessary 

to make the statements made regarding qualifications, 

services or fees, in light of the circumstances under which 

they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 

client prepared by someone other than the investment 

advisor or federal covered advisor who the investment 

advisor representative is employed by or associated with 

without disclosing that fact. This prohibition does not 

apply to a situation where the investment advisor or federal 

covered advisor uses published research reports or 

statistical analyses to render advice or where an investment 

advisor or federal covered advisor orders such a report in 

the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 

of the fees charged by other investment advisor 

representatives providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 

advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 

to the investment advisor representative which could 

reasonably be expected to impair the rendering of unbiased 

and objective advice including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 

services to clients which are in addition to compensation 

from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 

when a commission for executing securities transactions 

pursuant to such advice will be received by the 

investment advisor representative. 

12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 

achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 

13. Directly or indirectly using any advertisement that does 

any one of the following: 

a. Refers to any testimonial of any kind concerning the 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative 

or concerning any advice, analysis, report, or other 

service rendered by the investment advisor or investment 

advisor representative; 

b. Refers to past specific recommendations of the 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative 

that were or would have been profitable to any person; 

except that an investment advisor or investment advisor 

representative may furnish or offer to furnish a list of all 

recommendations made by the investment advisor or 

investment advisor representative within the immediately 

preceding period of not less than one year if the 

advertisement or list also includes both of the following: 

(1) The name of each security recommended, the date 

and nature of each recommendation, the market price at 

that time, the price at which the recommendation was to 

be acted upon, and the most recently available market 

price of each security; and 

(2) A legend on the first page in prominent print or type 

that states that the reader should not assume that 

recommendations made in the future will be profitable or 

will equal the performance of the securities in the list; 

c. Represents that any graph, chart, formula, or other 

device being offered can be used to determine which 

securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell them; or 

which represents, directly or indirectly, that any graph, 

chart, formula, or other device being offered will assist 

any person in making that person's own decisions as to 

which securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell 

them, without prominently disclosing in the 

advertisement the limitations thereof and the risks 

associated with its use; 

d. Represents that any report, analysis, or other service 

will be furnished for free or without charge, unless the 

report, analysis, or other service actually is or will be 
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furnished entirely free and without any direct or indirect 

condition or obligation; 

e. Represents that the commission has approved any 

advertisement; or 

f. Contains any untrue statement of a material fact, or that 

is otherwise false or misleading.  

For the purposes of this section, the term "advertisement" 

includes any notice, circular, letter, or other written 

communication addressed to more than one person, or any 

notice or other announcement in any electronic or paper 

publication, by radio or television, or by any medium, that 

offers any one of the following: 

(i) Any analysis, report, or publication concerning 

securities; 

(ii) Any analysis, report, or publication that is to be used 

in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 

any security or which security to buy or sell; 

(iii) Any graph, chart, formula, or other device to be used 

in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 

any security, or which security to buy or sell; or 

(iv) Any other investment advisory service with regard to 

securities. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 

client to any third party unless required by law or an order 

of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 

consented to by the client. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 

those securities or funds in which any client has any 

beneficial interest, where the investment advisor 

representative other than a person associated with a federal 

covered advisor has custody or possession of such 

securities or funds, when the investment advisor 

representative's action is subject to and does not comply 

with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-146. 

16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 

advisory or federal covered advisory contract unless such 

contract is in writing and discloses, in substance, the 

services to be provided, the term of the contract, the 

advisory fee, the formula for computing the fee, the 

amount of prepaid fee to be returned in the event of 

contract termination or nonperformance, whether the 

contract grants discretionary power to the investment 

advisor representative and that no assignment of such 

contract shall be made by the investment advisor 

representative without the consent of the other party to the 

contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 

customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 

investment advice for compensation or any materially 

related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 

will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 

contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 

Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 

equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. Using a certification or professional designation in 

connection with the provision of advice as to the value of 

or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 

securities, either directly or indirectly or through 

publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 

analyses or reports relating to securities that indicates or 

implies that the user has special certification or training in 

advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 

way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 

designation includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 

has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 

such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 

professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 

obtained through education, training, or experience that 

the person using the certification or professional 

designation does not have; or  

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

was obtained from a designating or certifying 

organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 

sales and or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 

for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 

requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 

maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 

certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 

purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 

the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute; 

(2) The Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly 

the National Commission for Certifying Agencies); or 

(3) An organization that is on the United States 

Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 

Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 

designation or credential issued therefrom does not 

primarily apply to sales and/or or marketing. 

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 

acronym standing for a combination of words) 

constitutes a certification or professional designation 

indicating or implying that a person has special 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 25  Virginia Register of Regulations August 10, 2015 

2436 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 

"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 

or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 

"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 

name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 

professional designation does not include a job title 

within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 

state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 

when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 

the organization. 

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 

regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 

agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 

advisers, or investment companies as defined under 

§ 3(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 

(15 USC § 80a-3(a)(1). 

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 

authority to enforce existing provisions of law. 

C. The conduct set forth in subsections A and B of this 

section is not all inclusive. Engaging in other conduct such as 

nondisclosure, incomplete disclosure, or deceptive practices 

may be deemed an unethical business practice except to the 

extent permitted by the National Securities Markets 

Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290 (96)). 

D. The provisions of this section shall apply to federal 

covered advisors to the extent that fraud or deceit is involved, 

or as otherwise permitted by the National Securities Markets 

Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290 (96)). 

21VAC5-80-220. Performance based fees.  

A. In accordance with § 13.1-503 C of the Act, an 

investment advisor may enter into, extend, or renew any 

investment advisory contract to provide for compensation to 

the investment advisor on the basis of a share of the capital 

gains upon, or the capital appreciation of, the funds or any 

portion of the funds of a client, provided that the following 

conditions of this section are satisfied.  

B. Nature of the client:  

1. a. The client entering into the contract subject to this 

section must be a natural person or a company, as defined 

in subdivision 2 of this subsection and in the definition of 

"company" in subsection E of this section, who 

immediately after entering into the contract has at least 

$750,000 $1 million under the management of the 

investment advisor; or  

b. A person who the registered investment advisor (and 

any person acting on his behalf) entering into the contract 

reasonably believes, immediately prior to entering into 

the contract, is a natural person or a company, as defined 

in subdivision 2 of this subsection and in the definition of 

"company" in subsection E of this section, whose net 

worth at the time the contract is entered into exceeds 

$1,500,000 $2 million. (The net worth of a natural person 

may include assets held jointly with such person's 

spouse.)  

2. The term "company" as used in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection does not include:  

a. A private investment company, as defined in 

subsection E of this section;  

b. An investment company registered under the 

Investment Company Act of 1940; or  

c. A business development company, as defined in 

§ 202(a)(22) of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 

(15 USC § 80b-2(a)(22))  

unless each of the equity owners (other than the investment 

advisor entering into a contract under this section) of any 

such company identified in this subdivision 2 of this 

subsection, is a natural person or company described in this 

subsection B.  

C. Disclosure. In addition to the disclosure requirements of 

Form ADV, the advisor shall disclose to the client, or the 

client's independent agent, prior to entering into an advisory 

contract permitted by this section, all material information 

concerning the proposed advisory arrangement including the 

following:  

1. That the fee arrangement may create an incentive for the 

advisor to make investments that are riskier or more 

speculative than would be the case in the absence of a 

performance fee;  

2. Where relevant, that the advisor may receive increased 

compensation with regard to unrealized appreciation as 

well as realized gains in the client's account;  

3. The time period which will be used to measure 

investment performance throughout the term of the 

contract and its significance in the computation of the fee;  

4. The nature of any index which will be used as a 

comparative measure of investment performance, the 

significance of the index, and the reason the advisor 

believes the index is appropriate; and  

5. Where an advisor's compensation is based on the 

unrealized appreciation of securities for which market 

quotations are not readily available, how such securities 

will be valued and the extent to which the valuation will be 

independently determined.  

D. Arm's-length contract. The investment advisor (and any 

person acting on its behalf) who enters into the contract must 

reasonably believe, immediately prior to entering into the 

contract, that the contract represents an arm's-length 

arrangement between the parties and that the client (or in the 
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case of a client which is a company as defined in subsection E 

of this section, the person, representing the company), alone 

or together with the client's independent agent, understands 

the proposed method of compensation and its risks. The 

representative of a company may be a partner, director, 

officer, or an employee of the company or the trustee, where 

the company is a trust, or any other person designated by the 

company or trustee, but must satisfy the definition of client's 

independent agent set forth in subsection E of this section.  

E. Definitions. For the purpose of this section:  

The term "affiliated person" has the same meaning as in § 2 

(a)(3) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 USC 

§ 80a-2(a)(3)).  

The term "client's independent agent" means any person 

agreeing to act as the client's agent in connection with the 

contract other than:  

1. The investment advisor acting in reliance upon this 

section, an affiliated person of the investment advisor, an 

affiliated person of an affiliated person of the investment 

advisor, or an interested person of the investment advisor 

as defined in this subsection;  

2. A person who receives, directly or indirectly, any 

compensation in connection with the contract from the 

investment advisor, an affiliated person of the investment 

advisor, an affiliated person of an affiliated person of the 

investment advisor or an interested person of the 

investment advisor as defined in this subsection; or  

3. A person with any material relationship between himself 

(or an affiliated person of such person) and the investment 

advisor (or an affiliated person of the investment advisor) 

that exists, or has existed at any time during the previous 

two years.  

The term "company" has the same meaning as in § 202 

(a)(5) of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 USC 

§ 80b-2(a)(5)).  

The term "interested person" as used in the definition of 

"client's independent agent" of this section means:  

1. Any member of the immediate family of any natural 

person who is an affiliated person of the investment 

advisor;  

2. Any person who knowingly has any direct or indirect 

beneficial interest in, or who is designated as trustee, 

executor, or guardian of any legal interest in, any security 

issued by the investment advisor or by a controlling person 

of the investment advisor if the beneficial or legal interest 

of the person in any security issued by the investment 

advisor or by a controlling person of the investment 

advisor:  

a. Exceeds one tenth of one percent of any class of 

outstanding securities of the investment advisor or a 

controlling person of the investment advisor; or  

b. Exceeds 5.0% of the total assets of the person (seeking 

to act as the client's independent agent); or  

3. Any person or partner or employee of any person who at 

any time since the beginning of the last two years has acted 

as legal counsel for the investment advisor.  

The term "private investment company" means a company 

which would be defined as an investment company under 

§ 3 (a) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 USC 

§ 80a-3(a)) but for the exception provided from that definition 

by § 3 (c)(1) of such Act.  

The term "securities for which market quotations are readily 

available" in subsection C of this section has the same 

meaning as in Rule 2a-4 (a)(1) under the Investment 

Company Act of 1940 (17 CFR 270.2a-4 (a)(1)).  

The term "securities for which market quotations are not 

readily available" in subsection C of this section means 

securities not described in the above paragraph.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4298; Filed July 21, 2015, 3:20 p.m.  
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENS 

DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Copies of the following guidance documents may be viewed 

during regular work days from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. in the 

office of the Virginia Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228, or on the department's website 

at http://www.dgif.virginia.gov. Copies of most documents 

listed below may be obtained at no charge, and copies of 

larger documents may be obtained at cost as provided for 

under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. Requests for 

copies, and questions regarding interpretation or 

implementation of these documents, may be directed to the 

attention of the agency Policy Analyst and Regulatory 

Coordinator at the above address, telephone (804) 367-1000. 

Some of the documents are available at the links provided. 

Guidance Documents: 

Administrative - Lifetime Hunting and Fishing Licenses 

Applications for Lifetime Hunting and Fishing Licenses, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/licenses/lifetime/, §§ 28.2-

302.10:1 and 29.1-302.1 

Application for Virginia Resident Disabled Veteran's 

Lifetime State License to Hunt and Freshwater Fish in Inland 

Waters and Virginia Resident Disabled Veteran's Lifetime 

State License to Trap, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-035.pdf, 

§§ 29.1-302 and 29.1-309.1 

Application for Resident Disabled Special Lifetime Hunting, 

Trapping, Freshwater, Saltwater Fishing License, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-032.pdf, 

§§ 28.2-302.10, 29.1-302.1, 29.1-302.2, and 29.1-309.1 

Physician's Affidavit for a Disabled Lifetime License, May 

2015, §§ 29.1-302.1 and 29.1-302.2 

Application for Replacement of Resident Disabled Lifetime 

License or Resident Disabled Saltwater Lifetime License, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-

036.pdf, § 29.1-334 

 

 

Game and Wildlife 

Hunting and Trapping in Virginia, 2014-2015 Regulations, 

June 2014, §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 

2014-2015 Virginia Migratory Waterfowl Seasons and Bag 

Limits, August 2014, § 29.1-103 

2014-2015 Doves, Woodcock, Snipe, Rails, Falconry, 

September Canada Goose and September Teal (Virginia 

migratory game bird seasons and bag limits), July 2014, 

§ 29.1-103 

Wildlife Information Publication No. 07-1, Virginia Deer 

Management Plan 2006-2015, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/deer/management-

plan/virginia-deer-management-plan.pdf, June 2007, § 29.1-

103 

Virginia 2012-2021 Black Bear Management Plan, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/bear/blackbearmanage

mentplan.pdf, §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-109, and 29.1-501 

Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) Rules for 

Participants, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/deer/dmap-rules.pdf, 

§ 29.1-103 

DMAP Application, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/deer/dmap-

application.pdf, § 29.1-103 

DMAP Biologist Contact Information, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/deer/dmap-map.pdf, 

§ 29.1-103 

Wildlife Damage Control Assistance Program (DCAP) Rules, 

§ 29.1-103 

A Guide to Virginia's Wildlife Management Areas, revised 

July 1996, available online only, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wmas/, § 29.1-103 

Rules for Wildlife Management Areas, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/hunting/regulations/wmarules.p

df, § 29.1-103 
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Fish 

Freshwater Fishing in Virginia - January 1 - December 

31, 2015, §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 

Fish Division Procedure and Criteria for Issuing Fish 

Stocking Authorizations and the Virginia Fish Stocking 

Authorization Application, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-

003.pdfhttp://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-

003.pdf, § 29.1-103 

Fish Division Delayed Harvest Trout Waters Management 

Guidelines, May 27, 1998, § 29.1-103 

Striped Bass Fishing Tournament Application and Permit, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-004.pdf, 

§§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 

Threatened and Endangered Species, Wildlife Diversity, and 

Environmental Review 

Board Policy "Conservation of Endangered and Threatened 

Species," March 21, 2006, §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-563 through 

29.1-568 and 29.1-570 

Special Legal Status Faunal Species in Virginia, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/virginiatescspecies.pdf, 

§§ 29.1-563 through 29.1-568 and § 29.1-570 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna in Virginia, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/virginianativenaturalize

dspecies.pdf, § 29.1-100 

Bald Eagle Protection Guidelines for Virginia, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/birds/bald-eagle-

protection-guidelines.pdf, updated May 15, 2000, §§ 29.1-

563 through 29.1-568 and § 29.1-570 

Plan to Provide Safe Harbor Assurances to Landowners in 

Virginia Who Voluntarily Agree to Enhance Habitat for the 

Endangered Red-Cockaded Woodpecker, April 2000, 

§§ 29.1-563 through 29.1-568 and § 29.1-570 

Red-Cockaded Woodpecker Safe Harbor Evaluation Form for 

Virginia Landowners, April 2000, §§ 29.1-563 through 29.1-

568 and § 29.1-570 

Red-Cockaded Woodpecker Safe Harbor Cooperative 

Agreement for Landowners Near the Nature Conservancy's 

Piney Grove Preserve in Sussex County, Virginia, October 

2000, §§ 29.1-563 through 29.1-568 and § 29.1-570 

Appalachian Water Shrew Recovery Plan, approved March 2, 

1994, §§ 29.1-563 through 29.1-568 and § 29.1-570 

Canebrake Rattlesnake Recovery Plan, approved February 1, 

1991, §§ 29.1-563 through 29.1-568 and § 29.1-570 

Eastern Big-Eared Bat Recovery Plan, approved July 16, 

1990, §§ 29.1-563 through 29.1-568 and § 29.1-570 

Wilson's Plover Recovery Plan, approved May 28, 1991, 

§§ 29.1-563 through 29.1-568 and § 29.1-570 

Standard Environmental Review Procedures, November 20, 

1992, § 29.1-103 

Permitting for Threatened and Endangered Species, and 

Scientific and Wildlife Salvage Collection, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/permits/wildlife-collection.asp 

Threatened/Endangered Species Permit Special Conditions, 

January 2003, §§ 29.1-412, 29.1-417, and 29.1-568 

Scientific Collection or Salvage Permit Application and 

Permit Information, §§ 29.1-412, 29.1-417, 29.1-418 

Scientific Collection Permit Special Conditions, January 

2003, §§ 29.1-412, 29.1-417, 29.1-418 

Wildlife Salvage Permit Special Conditions, January 2003, 

§§ 29.1-412, 29.1-417, 29.1-418 

Supplemental Amendment Form for Scientific Collection or 

Salvage Permit, March 24, 1992, §§ 29.1-412, 29.1-417, 

29.1-418 

Scientific Collection, Salvage, and T&E Annual Permit 

Report, http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/permits/collection-

permit-user-guide.pdf, §§ 29.1-412, 29.1-417, 29.1-418 

Permitting - Generally 

Animal Population Control Permit for Furbearing Animals, 

Application and Permit Information, September 1, 2007, 

§ 29.1-501 

Commercial Nuisance Animal Permit Application to Capture, 

Transport, and Release or Euthanize Wildlife, and Permit 

Conditions, revised September 11, 2008, §§ 29.1-103 and 

29.1-501 

Permit Application to Collect Snapping Turtles, Crayfish, and 

Hellgrammites for Sale, and Permit Conditions, revised 

September 22, 2008, § 29.1-412 

Dog Field Trial Permit Application and Conditions, revised 

February 1, 2006, §§ 29.1-417 and 29.1-422 

Permit Application to Exhibit Wild Animals in Virginia, and 

Permit Conditions, revised September 11, 2008, §§ 29.1-412 

and 29.1-417 

Import and Possess Certain Non-Native (Exotic) Wildlife in 

Virginia Permit Application and Permit Conditions, revised 

April 11, 2008, §§ 29.1-412, 29.1-417 and 29.1-542 

Exotic Species - Import Certain Non-Native Wildlife (Tilapia, 

Clawed Frog) Permit Application and Permit Information, 

revised January 10, 2008, § 29.1-542 

Exotic Species - Permit to Import Certified Triploid Grass 

Carp for Aquatic Vegetation Control in Private Ponds 

Application and Permit Information, revised May 1, 2008, 

§ 29.1-542 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-003.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-003.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-003.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-003.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PERM/PERM-004.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/virginiatescspecies.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/virginianativenaturalizedspecies.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/virginianativenaturalizedspecies.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/birds/bald-eagle-protection-guidelines.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/birds/bald-eagle-protection-guidelines.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/permits/wildlife-collection.asp
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/permits/collection-permit-user-guide.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/permits/collection-permit-user-guide.pdf
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Falconry Permit Application, revised May 11, 2005, §§ 29.1-

412 and 29.1-419 

Falconry Regulations, Facilities and Equipment Examination 

Guidance Document, March 1, 2003, §§ 29.1-412 and 29.1-

419 

Permit Application to Operate a Foxhound Training Preserve 

and Annual Reporting Form, revised June 17, 2008, §§ 29.1-

103, 29.1-412 and 29.1-417 

Permit Conditions for the Operation of Foxhound Training 

Preserves in Virginia, revised June 17, 2008, §§ 29.1-103, 

29.1-412 and 29.1-417 

Permit to Deal in Furs Application and Permit Conditions, 

revised May 1, 2008, §§ 29.1-400 through 29.1-407 

Gill Net Permit Application and Permit Conditions, revised 

April 9, 2008, §§ 29.1-412 and 29.1-416 

Haul Seine Permit to Catch Minnows and Chubs for Sale 

Application and Permit Conditions, revised August 20, 2008, 

§§ 29.1-412 and 29.1-416 

Haul Seine Permit to Take Nongame Fish for Sale 

Application and Permit Conditions, revised August 20, 2008, 

§§ 29.1-412 and 29.1-416 

Haul Seine Permit to Take Fish for Personal Use Application 

and Permit Conditions, revised August 20, 2008, §§ 29.1-412 

and 29.1-416 

Permit to Hold and Sell Certain Fish, Snakes, Snapping 

Turtles, Crayfish, and Hellgrammites for Sale Application 

and Permit Conditions, revised August 18, 2008, §§ 29.1-412 

and 29.1-471 

Nonresident Harvester's Permit Application to Take or Catch 

Fish in Back Bay and its Tributaries, revised August 1, 2005, 

§§ 29.1-412 and 29.1-416 

Permit to Possess, Propagate, Buy, and Sell Certain Wildlife 

in Virginia (Fisheries, Wildlife) Application and Permit 

Conditions, revised November 14, 2008, §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-

412 and 29.1-417 

Permit to Possess, Propagate, Buy, and Sell Certain Wildlife 

in Virginia (Raptors) Application and Permit Conditions, 

revised, December 9, 2008, §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-412 and 29.1-

417 

Raccoon Hound Field Trial Permit Application and Permit 

Conditions, July 1, 2003, §§ 29.1-417 and 29.1-422 

Wildlife Rehabilitator Permit Application, revised December 

1, 2004, §§ 29.1-412 and 29.1-417 

Wildlife Rehabilitator Permit Conditions, revised October 1, 

2005, §§ 29.1-412 and 29.1-417 

Licensed Shooting Preserve Permit Application and Permit 

Conditions, revised May 1, 2008, §§ 29.1-514 and 29.1-544 

Permit to Stuff and Mount Birds, Animals, or Fish and Parts 

of Them for Sale or Compensation Application and 

Taxidermy Permit General Conditions, revised June 5, 2008, 

§§ 29.1-412 through 29.1-415 

Boating 

Virginia Boating Safety Education Compliance Requirement, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/boating/education/boating-

safety-education-requirement.asp, § 29.1-735.2 

Virginia Freshwater Fishing and Watercraft Owner's Guide, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/fishing/regulations/2015-

fishing-regulations.pdf, § 29.1-701 

Personal Watercraft (PWC) - Safety Brochure, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/boating/pwc, revised 2005, 

§ 29.1-701 

Life Jackets, 2003, § 29.1-701 

Boat Safe without Drugs or Alcohol, 2003, § 29.1-701 

Reporting a Boating Accident, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/boating/accident.asp, § 29.1-701 

Watercraft Dealer Licensing Fact Sheet, revised 2006, § 29.1-

701 

Law Enforcement 

Law Enforcement Division Policy Number 40, Problem 

Wildlife Response, December 15, 2012 

Law Enforcement Division Policy Number 41, Illegal Captive 

Wildlife, December 15, 2012 

Permit for Persons Permanently Unable to Walk to Shoot 

from a Stationary Vehicle, revised December 2014, § 29.1-

521.3 

Sportsman's Pledge, Release of Landowner from Liability, 

and Landowner's Permission to Hunt Card, 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PUBR/permission_to_hu

nt.pdf, §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-509 and 29.1-521 

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/boating/education/boating-safety-education-requirement.asp
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/boating/education/boating-safety-education-requirement.asp
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/fishing/regulations/2015-fishing-regulations.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/fishing/regulations/2015-fishing-regulations.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/boating/pwc
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/boating/accident.asp
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PUBR/permission_to_hunt.pdf
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/forms/PUBR/permission_to_hunt.pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services is currently reviewing 

each of the regulations listed below to determine whether the 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. The review of each regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment 

is sought on the review of any issue relating to each 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

2VAC5-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-7157, FAX 

(804) 371-7679, or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

2VAC5-80, Requirements Governing the Branding of 

Cattle in Virginia 

2VAC5-190, Rules and Regulations Establishing a 

Monitoring Program for Avian Influenza and Other 

Poultry Diseases 

Agency Contact: Dr. Charles Broaddus, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 371-2380, or email 

charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

2VAC5-240, Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of 

the Grain Handlers Law 

Agency Contact: Randy Sanford, Grain Law Supervisor, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3939, FAX 

(804) 371-7785, or email randy.sanford@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

2VAC5-270, Virginia Grade Standards for Breeder Swine 

Agency Contact: Michael Carpenter, Program Manager, 

Livestock Marketing Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-0577, FAX (804) 371-0247, or email 

mike.carpenter@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

2VAC5-316, Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of 

the Virginia Pest Law - Beach Vitex Quarantine 

2VAC5-350, Rules and Regulations for the Enforcement 

of the Virginia Commission Merchant Law  

2VAC5-360, Regulations for the Enforcement of the 

Virginia Commercial Feed Act 

Agency Contact: Larry Nichols, Director, Division of 

Consumer Protection, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3523, FAX (804) 371-7479, or email 

larry.nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

The comment period begins August 10, 2015, and ends 

August 31, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Revision - General 
Definitions (9VAC5-10, Revision E14) 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 

the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 

the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 

air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. The Commonwealth 

intends to submit the regulation to the EPA as a revision to 

the SIP in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulation of the board affected by 

this action is General Definitions, 9VAC5-10 (Revision E14). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: 30-day comment forum August 10, 

2015, through September 9, 2015. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 

location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 

a separate notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/comments.cfm?GeneralNoticeid=558
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Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 

exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 

of regulations contained in Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act by the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the 

Administrative Process Act because they are necessary to 

meet the requirements of the federal Clean Air Act and do not 

differ materially from the pertinent EPA regulations. Since 

the amendments are exempt from administrative procedures 

for the adoption of regulations, DEQ is accepting comment 

only on the issue cited above under "purpose of notice" and 

not on the content of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: In essence, the proposed revision 

will consist of amendments to existing regulation provisions 

concerning the definition of volatile organic compound 

(VOC). The list of substances not considered to be VOCs in 

Virginia has been revised to include 2-amino-2-methyl-1-

propanol, which EPA removed from the definition of VOC on 

March 27, 2014, (79 FR 17037) based on a demonstration 

that the substance is less reactive and does not affect the 

formation of ozone. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 

CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. Except as 

noted below, the proposal will be submitted as a revision to 

the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. It is 

planned to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision 

to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. All comments, exhibits and 

documents received are part of the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and 

supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 

Notices for Plans website at 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airpla

nsandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained by 

contacting the DEQ representative named below. The public 

may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 

of each business day until the close of the public comment 

period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 629 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA, telephone (276) 676-4800,  

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Roanoke Location, 3019 

Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA, telephone (540) 562-

6700,  

4) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Lynchburg Location, 7705 

Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA, telephone (434) 582-

5120,  

5) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 

VA, telephone (540) 574-7800,  

6) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 

Allen, VA, telephone (804) 527-5020,  

7) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800, and  

8) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, 629 East Main 

Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Charitable Gaming 

Board is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 11VAC15-13, Public Participation 

Guidelines. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014). The purpose of this review is 

to determine whether this regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 

including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The comment period begins August 10, 2015, and ends 

August 31, 2015. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Office of Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Charitable 

Gaming Board, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX (804) 371-7479, or email 

michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
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posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety and Health 

Codes Board is currently reviewing each of the regulations 

listed below to determine whether the regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. The review 

of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

16VAC25-55, Financial Requirements for Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Contract Fee Inspectors 

16VAC25-73, Regulation Applicable to Tree Trimming 

Operations 

16VAC25-75, General Industry Standard for 

Telecommunications, General, Approach Distances 

Agency Contact: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email oconnor.reba.@dol.gov. 

The comment period begins August 10, 2015, and ends 

August 31, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Labor 

and Industry is currently reviewing each of the regulations 

listed below to determine whether the regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. The review 

of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

16VAC15-40, Virginia Hours of Work for Minors 

16VAC15-50, Regulation Governing the Employment of 

Minors on Farms, in Gardens and in Orchards 

Agency Contact: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email oconnor.reba.@dol.gov. 

The comment period begins August 10, 2015, and ends 

August 31, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on July 21, 

2015. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 900 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Nine (15) 

Virginia Lottery's Grocery Bag Bucks Final Rules for 

Operation (effective August 25, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Ninety (15) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Game Lottery "Bank A 

Million" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 

30, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Four (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1555 "10X The Money" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective July 16, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Nine (15) 

FasMart Retailer Incentive Program Promotions - Virginia 

Lottery Program Requirements 

FasMart Stretch Your Scratcher Goal Promotion 

(This Director's Order becomes effective on September 1, 

2015, redacts and replaces Director's Order number 88(15), 
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and shall remain in full force and effect until ninety (90) days 

after the conclusion of the incentive program, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred (15) 

Virginia Lottery's Lucky Lines Final Rules for Operation 

(effective September 22, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred One (15) 

Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 15 

and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give notice 

that the following Virginia Lottery instant games will 

officially end at midnight on Friday, July 24, 2015:  

Game 1537 Beginner's Luck 

Game 1533 Electric 8's 

Game 1532 $40,000 Jackpot 

Game 1531 Triple 777 

Game 1530 Double Match 

Game 1529 Throwback to the 90's 

Game 1528 Throwback to the 80's 

Game 1526 Cash & Gas 

Game 1520 Casino Nights 

Game 1519 Casino Cash 

Game 1496 Lucky Numbers 

Game 1487 Money Multiplier 

Game 1471 Winner Take All Millionaire Edition 

Game 1462 Blackjack 

Game 1448 Winner Take All 

Game 1443 Money Bag Crossword 

Game 1431 Jewel 7's 

Game 1273 Right On The Money 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 

tickets from any of these games will be Friday, September 4, 

2015. The last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these 

games will be Wednesday, January 20, 2016, 180 days from 

the declared official end of the game. Claims for winning 

tickets from any of these games will not be accepted after that 

date. Claims that are mailed and received in an envelope 

bearing a postmark of the United States Postal Service or 

another sovereign nation of Wednesday, January 20, 2016, or 

earlier, will be deemed to have been received on time. This 

notice amplifies and conforms to the duly adopted State 

Lottery Board regulations for the conduct of lottery games. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 

normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and at any 

Virginia Lottery regional office. A copy may be requested by 

mail by writing to Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 

signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 

amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Paula I. Otto 

Executive Director 

July 16, 2015 

STATE MILK COMMISSION 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Milk Commission 

is conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 2VAC15-12, Public Participation Guidelines. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014). The purpose of this review is 

to determine whether this regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 

including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The comment period begins August 10, 2015, and ends 

August 31, 2015. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Crafton Wilkes, Administrator, State Milk 

Commission, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2013, FAX (804) 371-8700, or email 

crafton.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 
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DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy is currently reviewing each of the 

regulations listed below to determine whether the regulation 

should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. 

The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on 

the review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

4VAC25-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

4VAC25-60, Rules and Regulations Governing the 

Installation and Use of Automated Temporary Roof 

Support Systems 

4VAC25-70, Regulations Governing Disruption of 

Communications in Mines 

4VAC25-101, Regulation Governing Vertical Ventilation 

Holes and Mining Near Gas and Oil Wells 

4VAC25-110, Regulations Governing Blasting in Surface 

Mining Operations 

4VAC25-120, Requirements for Installation and Use of 

Cabs and Canopies 

Agency Contact: Michael A. Skiffington, Program Support 

Manager, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 1100 

Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, or email 

mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

The comment period begins August 10, 2015, and ends 

August 31, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Social Services conducted a small business impact 

review of 22VAC40-901, Community Services Block 

Grant Program, and determined that this regulation should 

be retained in its current form. The State Board of Social 

Services is publishing its report of findings dated June 19, 

2015, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation is necessary to provide the administrative 

structure for the Virginia Community Action Act, which is 

required to receive CSBG funds under the Community 

Service Block Grant Act. No complaints or comments were 

received during the review. The regulation does not duplicate 

or conflict with any federal or state law. The regulation has 

no impact on small business, as it does not include any 

language that prescribes limitations or requirements on small 

business. The regulation was last reviewed in 2010 and no 

changes in technology or other factors impact the regulation. 

The basis for the decision to retain the regulation with no 

change is as follows: there were no requests or 

recommendations for changes, no public comments were 

received, and no programmatic reasons to amend the 

regulation were identified. 

Contact Information: Matt Fitzgerald, Community Service 

Program Manager, State Board of Social Services, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-

7142, FAX (804) 726-7088, or email 

matt.fitzgerald@dss.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Opportunity for Public Comment on Proposed 
Regulatory Amendments to Implement 2015 

Legislation 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-20, Fees for Permits and 

Certificates (Primary Action). 

9VAC25-31, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) Permit Regulation. 

9VAC25-32, Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit 

Regulation (Secondary Action). 

Statutory Authority: Subdivisions 6 and 10 of § 62.1-44.15 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Period: July 14, 2015, through August 14, 

2015. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is the development of 

regulatory amendments needed to implement the provisions 

of Chapters 104 and 677 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly 

(House Bill 1364 and Senate Bill 1413) related to fees for the 

land application of industrial wastes and reimbursement for 

compliance monitoring conducted by local governments. The 

text of the proposed amendments is available at 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/62.1-44.15
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http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/landapplication 

beneficialreuse/publicnotices.aspx. 

Chapters 677 and 104 amended and reenacted §§ 62.1-44.3; 

62.1-44.16, and 62.1-44.19:3 of the Code of Virginia and 

added § 62.1-44.16:1 of the Code of Virginia. The legislation 

allows localities to adopt ordinances that provide for the 

testing and monitoring of the land application of solid or 

semisolid industrial wastes and authorizes DEQ to collect 

land application fees and use the fees collected to reimburse 

localities for testing and monitoring of the land application of 

solid or semisolid industrial waste and training the employees 

of the localities who will be responsible for testing and 

monitoring the land application of industrial wastes. The 

legislation further provides that the fee imposed on each dry 

ton of solid or semisolid industrial waste that is land applied 

pursuant to subsection E of § 62.1-44.16 of the Code of 

Virginia, as created by this act, shall be $5.00 until altered, 

amended, or rescinded by the State Water Control Board. 

The legislation provides that the State Water Control Board 

shall promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of 

the act to be effective no later than January 1, 2016. 

Participatory Approach: The State Water Control Board's 

initial adoption of regulations necessary to implement the 

provisions of this act shall be exempt from the provisions of 

the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of the 

Code of Virginia, except that the Department of 

Environmental Quality shall use a regulatory advisory panel 

to assist in the development of necessary regulations and shall 

provide an opportunity for public comment on the regulations 

prior to adoption. 

A notice was published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on May 12, 2015, identifying the opportunity for 

stakeholders to express an interest in participating in a 

regulatory advisory panel to assist in the development of 

regulatory amendments relating to local monitoring of 

industrial waste permits and fees for land application of 

industrial wastes. The notice solicited persons with an interest 

in the amendments to participate on a regulatory advisory 

panel for regulation development. 

A 10-member regulatory advisory panel (RAP) was selected, 

and the RAP met on June 19, 2015, and provided input to 

DEQ regarding the development of regulatory amendments. 

DEQ is seeking input from the interested public regarding the 

substance of the regulatory amendments. 

Contact Information: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 

698-4019, or email william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Chesapeake 
Airport Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Chesapeake 

Airport Authority for alleged violations of the State Water 

Control Law at the Chesapeake Regional Airport in 

Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Mr. Robin 

Schuhmann will accept comments by email at 

robin.schuhmann@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from August 10, 2015, through 

September 9, 2015. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Fairfax 
County Board of Supervisors 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Fairfax 

County Board of Supervisors for violations in Fairfax 

County. The order resolves violations of State Water Control 

Law at the I-95 Landfill Complex. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Sarah Baker will accept comments by 

email at sarah.baker@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (703) 583-

3821, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from August 11, 2015, through September 10, 

2015. 

Proposed Consent Order for The Four Winds Club, 
Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for The Four 

Winds Club, Inc. The consent order describes a settlement to 

resolve violations of State Water Control Law and the 

applicable regulations associated with the Four Winds 

Campground Sewage Treatment Plant located in Caroline 

County, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel 

Burstein will accept comments by email at 

daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (703) 583-3821, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from August 11, 2015, through September 10, 

2015. 

Proposed Consent Order for Pilot Travel Centers 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Pilot Travel 

Centers LLC for violations at the Flying J #752 facility in 

Clearbrook, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 

proposes to issue a consent order to Pilot Travel Centers LLC 

to address noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/landapplicationbeneficialreuse/publicnotices.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/landapplicationbeneficialreuse/publicnotices.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Karen Hensley will accept 

comments by email at karen.hensley@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (540) 574-7878, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early 

Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from August 

10, 2015, through September 9, 2015. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Bull Creek and the 
Tributaries Convict Hollow, Belcher Branch, Deel 

Fork, and Cove Hollow in Buchanan County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for Bull 

Creek and the tributaries Convict Hollow, Belcher Branch, 

Deel Fork, and Cove Hollow in Buchanan County. These 

streams are listed on the 2012 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 

and Report as impaired due to violations of the state's water 

quality standards for aquatic life.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law requires DEQ to develop 

TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 

contained in Virginia's § 303(d) Priority List and Report.  

The impaired segments include: 28.45 miles of the mainstem 

of Bull Creek and the tributaries of Convict Hollow, Belcher 

Branch, Deel Fork, and Cove Hollow.  

This is a public meeting to discuss the combination of the 

Phase I TMDL report and Phase II TMDL report into a single 

document. The Phase I TMDL was completed and approved 

by EPA in 2011 and is available at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/water/TMDL/app

tmdls/tenbigrvr/bullcrbc.pdf. The Phase II TMDL was 

completed in 2013 after additional sampling and water quality 

modeling refinement and is available at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/water/TMDL/drft

mdls/bullphase2.pdf. The meeting on the development of the 

TMDLs to address the impairments for these segments will 

be held on August 11, 2015, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the 

Riverview Elementary/Middle School at 27382 Riverside 

Drive, Grundy, VA 24614.  

The public comment period will begin August 11, 2015, and 

ends September 11, 2015.  

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocations 

(WLAs); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 14 of the Administrative Process Act for any future 

adoption of the TMDL's associated WLAs. Information on 

the development of the TMDLs for these impairments is 

available upon request.  

Questions or information requests should be addressed to 

Martha Chapman, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4800, or email 

martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for the South Fork 
Holston River, Bishop Branch, Grosses Creek, and 
Slemp Creek in Washington and Smyth Counties 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the 

South Fork Holston River, Bishop Branch, Grosses Creek, 

and Slemp Creek in Washington and Smyth Counties. These 

streams are listed on the 2012 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 

and Report as impaired due to violations of the state's water 

quality standards for bacteria.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law requires DEQ to develop 

TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 

contained in Virginia's § 303(d) Priority List and Report.  

The impaired segments include: 36.7 miles of the South Fork 

Holston River from the headwaters downstream to the 

backwaters of South Holston; 0.48 miles of Bishop Branch 

from the confluence with the South Fork Holston River 

upstream to the confluence with Parker Branch; 4.00 miles of 

Grosses Creek from the headwaters downstream to the 

confluence with the South Fork Holston River; 3.85 miles of 

Slemp Creek from the headwaters downstream to the 

confluence with the South Fork Holston River.  

The final public meeting on the development of the TMDL to 

address the bacteria impairments for these segments will be 

held on August 27, 2015, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the 

Chilhowie Town Hall, 325 East Lee Highway, Chilhowie, 

VA 24319.  

The public comment period will begin August 27, 2015, and 

ends September 28, 2015.  

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocations 

(WLAs); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 14 of the Administrative Process Act for any future 

adoption of the TMDL's associated WLAs. Information on 

the development of the TMDLs for these impairments is 

available upon request.  

Questions or information requests should be addressed to 

Martha Chapman, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4800, or email 

martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/water/TMDL/apptmdls/tenbigrvr/bullcrbc.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/water/TMDL/apptmdls/tenbigrvr/bullcrbc.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/water/TMDL/drftmdls/bullphase2.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/water/TMDL/drftmdls/bullphase2.pdf
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Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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