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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 

Charles S. Sharp; Noah P. Sullivan; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011


PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 
This schedule is available on the Register's Internet home page (http://register.dls.virginia.gov). 

Volume 34, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 25, 2017 

834 

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2017 through January 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jena Jung, O.D. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to allow 

a practitioner to request inactive licensure. The petitioner 

would also like for the board to reactivate an inactive license 

for military persons or spouses at no additional cost. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and will be published on December 25, 2017. 

Comment on the petition may be sent by email or regular 

mail or posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov; comment will be requested until 

January 24, 2018. Following receipt of all comments on the 

petition to amend regulations, the board will decide whether 

to make any changes to the regulatory language. This matter 

will be on the board's agenda for its next meeting scheduled 

for March 2, 2018. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 24, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, 

or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-13; Filed December 5, 2017, 2:10 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Common Interest Community 

Board has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory 

Action for 18VAC48-60, Common Interest Community 

Board Management Information Fund Regulations, which 

was published in 33:21 VA.R. 2299 June 12, 2017. The 

Common Interest Community Board voted to withdraw this 

action and issue a new notice at a later date so as to allow 

additional opportunity for public participation through 

formation of a stakeholder committee. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 

FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5087; Filed December 4, 2017, 11:14 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 

consider amending 18VAC85-50, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to simplify and clarify the definitions and 

usage of various terms for supervision for more consistency 

with the Code of Virginia and with the actual practice of 

physician assistants and supervising physicians. Further, the 

action will add a provision on pharmacotherapy for weight 

loss to clarify that a physician assistant can conduct the 

physical examination, review tests, and prescribe drugs if so 

authorized in a practice agreement with a supervising 

physician. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 24, 2018. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5334; Filed December 4, 2017, 1:43 p.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6401
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 5. CORPORATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 5VAC5-30. Uniform Commercial 

Code Filing Rules (amending 5VAC5-30-20 through 

5VAC5-30-70). 

5VAC5-40. Administration of the Office of the Clerk of 

the Commission (amending 5VAC5-40-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 8.9A-526 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Joel Peck, Clerk of the Commission, State 

Corporation Commission, 1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 

1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9834, FAX 

(804) 371-9521, or email joel.peck@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) change fees charged by the Office of 

the Clerk for furnishing paper copies of State Corporation 

Commission records and the certification of those copies; 

(ii) allow the Office of the Clerk to charge and collect 

reasonable fees for providing records from a computer 

database, electronic data processing system, or any other 

structured collection of data or for abstracting or 

summarizing data or creating a record that does not 

already exist if the State Corporation Commission chooses 

to fulfill such a request; (iii) make numerous minor and 

technical changes; and (iv) change filing time for certain 

Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) records based on the 

type of delivery, payment methods, and the requirements 

for filing of UCC records previously refused by the filing 

office in error. 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 29, 2017 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. CLK-2017-00004 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting  

Revisions to the Rules Governing Administration of 

the Office of the Clerk of the Commission and 

Uniform Commercial Code Filing Rules 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On October 11, 2017, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a 

proposal by the Commission to adopt regulations pursuant to 

§§ 12.1-20, 12.1-21.1, 12.1-21.2 and § 8.9A-526 of the Code 

of Virginia. The proposed regulations amend the rules 

regarding "Administration of the Office of the Clerk of the 

Commission" ("Clerk's Rules") as well as the "Uniform 

Commercial Code Filing Rules" ("UCC Rules") under Title 5, 

Chapters 40 and 30, respectively, of the Virginia 

Administrative Code. 

Among other amendments, the proposed regulations include 

changes to the fees charged by the Office of the Clerk for 

furnishing paper copies of Commission records and the 

certification of those copies. The proposed regulations also 

amend the Clerk's Rules to allow the Office of the Clerk to 

charge and collect reasonable fees for: (a) providing records 

from a computer database, electronic data processing system, 

or any other structured collection of data; or (b) for 

abstracting or summarizing data or creating a record that does 

not already exist, if the Commission chooses to fulfill such a 

request. Additionally, the proposed regulations include: (a) 

numerous minor and technical changes to the UCC Rules; 

and (b) changes regarding the filing time for certain UCC 

records based on the type of delivery, changes regarding 

payment methods, and the requirements regarding the filing 

of UCC records previously refused for acceptance by the 

filing office in error. 

The Order to Take Notice and proposed regulations were 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on October 

30, 2017, posted on the Commission's website, and sent to 

various interested parties. Interested parties were afforded the 

opportunity to file written comments or request a hearing on 

or before November 20, 2017. No comments or requests for a 

hearing were filed.  

Following entry of the Order to Take Notice, several minor 

and stylistic amendments to the proposed regulations for the 
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UCC Rules have been made. Those amendments are shown in 

the proposed regulations accompanying this Order Adopting 

Regulations ("Order") and the Commission is of the opinion 

that these amendments should be accepted. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

proposed regulations and applicable law, concludes that the 

proposed regulations, as amended, should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations as amended, and attached 

hereto, are ADOPTED effective December 1, 2017. 

(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be posted 

on the Commission's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall send a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

attached regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 

for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket of 

active cases. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF shall be delivered to the 

Clerk of the Commission, who shall forthwith mail or e-mail 

a copy of this Order, including a copy of the attached 

regulations, to any interested persons as he may designate. 

5VAC5-30-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Amendment" means a UCC record that amends the 

information contained in a financing statement. Amendments 

also include (i) assignments and (ii) continuation and 

termination statements. 

"Assignment" means an amendment that assigns all or a part 

of a secured party's power to authorize an amendment to a 

financing statement. 

"Continuation statement" shall have the meaning prescribed 

by § 8.9A-102(a)(27) of the Code of Virginia. 

"File number" shall have the meaning prescribed by § 8.9A-

102(a)(36) of the Code of Virginia. 

"Filing office" means the Clerk's Office of the State 

Corporation Commission. 

"Filing officer" means the Clerk of the State Corporation 

Commission. 

"Filing officer statement" means a statement entered into the 

UCC information management system to describe the 

correction of an error or inaccuracy made explain an action 

by the filing office. 

"Financing statement" shall have the meaning prescribed by 

§ 8.9A-102(a)(39) of the Code of Virginia. 

"Individual" means a natural person, living or deceased. 

"Information statement" means a UCC record that indicates 

that a financing statement is inaccurate or wrongfully filed.  

"Initial financing statement" means a UCC record containing 

the information required to be in an initial financing statement 

and that causes the filing office to establish the initial record 

of existence of a financing statement. 

"Organization" means a legal person that is not an 

individual. 

"Personal identifiable information" shall have the meaning 

prescribed by § 12.1-19 B of the Code of Virginia. 

"Remitter" means a person who tenders delivers a UCC 

record to the filing office for filing, whether the person is a 

filer or an agent of a filer responsible for tendering delivering 

the UCC record for filing. "Remitter" does not include a 

person responsible merely for the delivery of the UCC record 

to the filing office, such as the postal service or a courier 

service but does include a service provider who acts as a 

filer's representative in the filing process. 

"Secured party of record" shall have the meaning prescribed 

by § 8.9A-511 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Termination statement" shall have the meaning prescribed 

by § 8.9A-102(a)(80) of the Code of Virginia. 

"Through date" means the most recent date that all 

submissions for a specified day have been indexed in the 

UCC information management system. 

"UCC" means the Uniform Commercial Code - Secured 

Transactions (§ 8.9A-101 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"UCC information management system" means the 

information management system used by the filing office to 

store, index, and retrieve information relating to financing 

statements. 

"UCC record" means an initial financing statement, an 

amendment, and an information or a filing officer statement, 

and shall not be deemed to refer exclusively to paper or 

paper-based writings. 

5VAC5-30-30. General filing and search requirements.  

A. UCC records may be tendered for filing at delivered to 

the filing office for filing as follows: 

1. By personal delivery, at the filing office street address; 

2. By courier delivery, at the filing office street address;  

3. By postal delivery, to the filing office mailing address; 

or 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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4. By electronic delivery method provided and authorized 

by the filing office. 

B. The filing time for a UCC record delivered to the filing 

office for filing by personal, or courier, or postal delivery is 

the time the UCC record is date-and-time stamped by the 

filing office even though the UCC record may not yet have 

been accepted for filing and may be subsequently rejected. 

The filing time for a UCC record delivered to the filing office 

for filing by postal delivery is the next close of business 

following the time of delivery (even though the UCC record 

may not yet have been accepted for filing and may be 

subsequently rejected). A UCC record delivered to the filing 

office for filing after regular business hours or on a day the 

filing office is not open for business will have a filing time of 

the close of business on the next day the filing office is open 

for business. The filing time for a UCC record delivered to 

the filing office for filing by authorized electronic delivery 

method is the date and time the UCC information 

management system receives the UCC record and determines 

that all the required elements of the transmission have been 

received in the required format. 

C. UCC search requests may be delivered to the filing office 

by personal, courier, or postal delivery, or by electronic 

delivery method provided and authorized by the filing office.  

5VAC5-30-40. Forms, fees, and payments.  

A. Forms. 

1. The filing office shall only accept forms for UCC 

records that conform to the requirements of this chapter. 

2. The forms approved by the International Association of 

Commercial Administrators as they appear on the filing 

office's website 

(http://www.scc.virginia.gov/clk/uccfile.aspx) shall be 

accepted. 

3. The filing office may approve other forms for 

acceptance, including additional forms approved by the 

International Association of Commercial Administrators. 

B. Fees. 

1. The fee for filing and indexing a UCC record is $20. 

2. The fee for submitting a UCC search request is $7.00. 

3. The fee for furnishing UCC search copies is $.50 for 

each page. The fee for affixing the seal of the commission 

to a certificate is $3.00. There is no fee for furnishing a 

[ paper ] copy of a UCC record of 25 or fewer pages. The 

fee for furnishing a [ paper ] copy of a UCC record that 

exceeds 25 pages is $10.00. For certifying a copy, the fee 

for the certificate and affixing thereto the seal of the 

commission or a facsimile thereof is $6.00. 

C. Methods of payment. Filing fees and fees for services 

provided under this chapter may be paid by the following 

methods: 

1. Payment in by debit or credit card of a type approved by 

the filing office and cash shall be accepted if paid in person 

at the filing office. 

2. Personal checks check, cashier's checks check and 

money orders order made payable to the State Corporation 

Commission or Treasurer of Virginia shall be accepted for 

payment if drawn on a bank acceptable to the filing office 

or if the drawer is acceptable to the filing office. 

3. Payment by debit or credit card acceptable to of a type 

approved by the filing office or electronic check may shall 

be accepted for the filing or submission of documents a 

document delivered to the filing office for filing by 

authorized electronic delivery method. 

4. The filing office may accept payment via electronic 

funds under National Automated Clearing House 

Association (NACHA) rules from remitters who have 

entered into appropriate NACHA-approved arrangements 

for such transfers and who authorize the relevant transfer 

pursuant to such arrangements and rules.  

D. Overpayment and underpayment policies. 

1. The filing office shall notify the remitter of the amount 

of any overpayment exceeding $24.99 and send the 

remitter the appropriate procedure and form for requesting 

a refund. The filing office shall refund an overpayment of 

$24.99 or less only upon the written request of the remitter. 

A request for a refund shall be delivered to the filing office 

within 12 months from the date of payment. 

2. Upon receipt of a UCC record with an insufficient filing 

fee, the filing office shall return the UCC record to the 

remitter with a notice stating the deficiency and may retain 

the filing fee. 

E. Uncollected filing fee payment. A filing may be voided 

by the filing office if the filing fee payment that is submitted 

by the remitter is dishonored, declined, refused, reversed, 

charged back to the commission, returned to the commission 

unpaid, or otherwise rejected for any reason by a financial 

institution or other third party, and after notice from the filing 

office, the remitter fails to submit a valid payment for the 

filing fee and any penalties.  

F. Federal liens. A notice of lien, certificate and other notice 

affecting a federal tax lien or other federal lien presented to 

the filing office pursuant to the provisions of the Uniform 

Federal Lien Registration Act (§ 55-142.1 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) shall be treated as the most analogous UCC 

record unless the Uniform Federal Lien Registration Act or 

federal law provides otherwise. 
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Part II  

UCC Record Requirements  

5VAC5-30-50. Acceptance and refusal of UCC records; 

continuation statements. 

A. The duties and responsibilities of the filing office with 

respect to the administration of the UCC are ministerial. In 

accepting for filing or refusing to file a UCC record pursuant 

to this chapter, the filing office does none of the following: 

1. Determine the legal sufficiency or insufficiency of a 

UCC record; 

2. Determine that a security interest in collateral exists or 

does not exist; 

3. Determine that information in the UCC record is correct 

or incorrect, in whole or in part; or 

4. Create a presumption that information in the UCC 

record is correct or incorrect, in whole or in part. 

B. The first day on which a continuation statement may be 

filed is the day of the month corresponding to the date upon 

which the related financing statement would lapse in the sixth 

month preceding the month in which the financing statement 

would lapse. If there is no such corresponding date, the first 

day on which a continuation statement may be filed is the last 

day of the sixth month preceding the month in which the 

financing statement would lapse. The last day on which a 

continuation statement may be filed is the date upon which 

the financing statement lapses. If the lapse date falls on a 

Saturday, Sunday, or other day on which the filing office is 

not open, then the last day on which a continuation statement 

may be filed, if tendered delivered to the filing office for 

filing by personal, courier, or postal delivery, is the last day 

the filing office is open prior to the lapse date. An authorized 

electronic delivery method may be available to file a 

continuation statement on a Saturday, Sunday, or other day 

on which the filing office is not open. The relevant 

anniversary for a February 29 filing date shall be March 1 in 

the fifth or 30th year following the date of filing. 

C. Except as provided in 5VAC5-30-40 D, if the filing 

office finds grounds to refuse a UCC record for filing, 

including those set forth in § 8.9A-516 (b) of the Code of 

Virginia, the filing office shall return the UCC record to the 

remitter and may retain the filing fee. 

D. Nothing in this chapter shall prevent the filing office 

from communicating to a filer or a remitter that the filing 

office noticed apparent potential defects in a UCC record, 

whether or not it was filed or refused for filing. However, the 

filing office is under no obligation to do so and may not, in 

fact, have the resources to identify potential defects. The 

responsibility for the legal effectiveness of filing rests with 

filers and remitters and the filing office bears no 

responsibility for such effectiveness. 

E. The filing office may act in accordance with § 12.1-19 B 

of the Code of Virginia with respect to submissions that 

contain personal identifiable information. 

F. If a secured party or a remitter demonstrates to the 

satisfaction of the filing office that a UCC record that was 

refused for filing should not have been refused, the filing 

office shall file the UCC record as provided in this chapter 

with a filing date and time assigned when the record was 

originally tendered for filing. If it is determined that the filing 

office refused to accept [ the a UCC ] record in error, the 

filing office shall file the UCC record with the filing date and 

time that were assigned, based on the method of delivery, by 

the filing office after the record was originally delivered to 

the filing office for filing. The filing office shall also file a 

filing officer statement that states the effective date and time 

of filing, which shall be the date and time the UCC record 

was originally tendered delivered to the filing office for 

filing. 

Part III  

UCC Record Filing and Searches  

5VAC5-30-60. Filing and data entry procedures.  

A. The filing office may correct errors made by its personnel 

in the UCC information management system at any time. If 

the correction occurs after the filing office has issued a 

certification, the The filing office shall file a filing officer 

statement in the UCC information management system 

identifying the UCC record to which it relates, the date of the 

correction or other action taken, and explaining the nature an 

explanation of the corrective or other action taken. The record 

filing officer statement shall be preserved as long as the UCC 

record of the initial financing statement is preserved in the 

UCC information management system. 

B. An error by a filer or remitter is the responsibility of that 

person. It can be corrected by filing an amendment or it can 

be disclosed by filing an information statement pursuant to 

§ 8.9A-518 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. 1. A UCC record tendered delivered to the filing office 

for filing shall designate whether a name is a name of an 

individual or an organization. If the name is that of an 

individual, the surname, first personal name, additional name 

or names, and any suffix shall be given. 

2. Organization names are entered into the UCC 

information management system exactly as set forth in the 

UCC record, even if it appears that multiple names are set 

forth in the UCC record or if it appears that the name of an 

individual has been included in the field designated for an 

organization name. 

3. The filing office will only accept forms that designate 

separate fields for individual and organization names and 

separate fields for the surname, first personal name, 

additional name or names, and any suffix. Such forms 
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diminish the possibility of filing office error and help 

assure that filers' expectations are met. However, the 

inclusion of names in an incorrect field or the failure to 

transmit names accurately to the filing office may cause a 

financing statement to be ineffective. 

D. The filing office shall take no action upon receipt of a 

notification, formal or informal, of a bankruptcy proceeding 

involving a debtor included in the UCC information 

management system. 

5VAC5-30-70. Search requests and reports.  

A. The filing office maintains for public inspection a 

searchable index for all UCC records. The index shall provide 

for the retrieval of all filed UCC records by the name of the 

debtor and by the file number of the initial financing 

statement. 

B. Search requests shall be made only on the Information 

Request form (Form UCC11) and shall include: 

1. The name of the debtor to be searched, specifying 

whether the debtor is an individual or organization. A 

search request will be processed using the exact name 

provided by the requestor. 

2. The name and address of the person to whom the search 

report is to be sent. 

3. Payment of the appropriate fee, which shall be made by 

a method set forth in this chapter. 

C. Search requests may include: 

1. A request that copies of UCC records found in the 

search be included with the search report, and 

2. Instructions on the mode of delivery desired, if other 

than by postal delivery, which shall be followed if the 

desired mode is acceptable to the filing office. 

D. Search results are produced by the application of 

standardized search logic to the name presented to the filing 

office. The following criteria apply to searches: 

1. There is no limit to the number of matches that may be 

returned in response to the search request. 

2. No distinction is made between upper and lower case 

letters. 

3. Punctuation marks and accents are disregarded. 

4. "Noise words" are limited to "an," "and," "for," "of," and 

"the." The word "the" is disregarded. Other noise words 

appearing anywhere except at the beginning of an 

organization name are disregarded. Certain business words 

are modified to a standard abbreviation: company to "co," 

corporation to "corp," limited to "ltd," incorporated to 

"inc." 

5. All spaces are disregarded. 

6. After using the preceding criteria to modify the name to 

be searched, the search will reveal names of debtors that 

are contained in unlapsed or all initial financing statements 

in an alphabetical list. 

E. Reports created in response to a search request shall 

include the following: 

1. The date and time the report was generated. 

2. Identification of the name searched. 

3. The through date as of the date and time the report was 

generated. 

4. For an organization, the name as it appears after 

application of the standardized search logic. 

5. Identification of each unlapsed initial financing 

statement or all initial financing statements filed on or 

prior to the report date and time corresponding to the 

search criteria, by name of debtor, by file number, and by 

file date and file time. 

6. For each initial financing statement on the report, a 

listing of all related UCC records filed by the filing office 

on or prior to the report date. 

7. Copies of all UCC records revealed by the search and 

requested by the requestor. 

F. The filing office may provide access to the searchable 

index via the Internet that produces search results beyond 

exact name matches. Search results obtained via the Internet 

shall not constitute an official search and will not be certified 

by the filing office. 

5VAC5-40-10. Fees to be charged by the commission. 

A. The Office of the Clerk shall charge and collect a fee of 

$6.00 for each certificate of fact provided pursuant to § 12.1-

20 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The commission shall charge and collect for furnishing 

and certifying a paper copy of any document, instrument, or 

paper or any information from its records $ .50 per page and 

$3.00 for the certificate and affixing thereto the seal of the 

commission or a facsimile thereof a fee as set forth in this 

subsection. 

1. If the number of pages is 25 or fewer, no charge. 

2. If the number of pages is between 26 and 50, $10. 

3. If the number of pages is 51 or more, $20. 

If the commission receives two or more requests for copies 

of documents or information that it reasonably believes are 

intended to evade the payment of the charge for furnishing a 

copy, the requests may be aggregated and treated as a single 

request. 
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C. For certifying a paper copy, the commission shall charge 

and collect $6.00 for the certificate and affixing thereto the 

seal of the commission or a facsimile thereof. 

D. The commission may charge and collect reasonable fees: 

1. For providing records from a computer database, an 

electronic data processing system, or any other structured 

collection of data; or 

2. For abstracting or summarizing data or creating a record 

that does not already exist, if the commission chooses to 

fulfill a request for same. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5272; Filed November 29, 2017, 12:32 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The University of Virginia is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts educational institutions operated by the 

Commonwealth. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC85-30. Open Burn and Open 

Flame Operations (adding 8VAC85-30-10 through 

8VAC85-30-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-1301 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Anthony P. de Bruyn, University 

Spokesperson, University of Virginia, P.O. Box 400229, 

Charlottesville, VA 22904, telephone (434) 243-2070, or 

email adebruyn@virginia.edu. 

Summary: 

The regulation establishes the requirements and permitting 

process for open burn and open flame devices on the 

property of the University of Virginia. 

CHAPTER 30 

OPEN BURN AND OPEN FLAME OPERATIONS 

8VAC85-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words or terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Open burning" means the burning of materials wherein 

products of combustion are emitted directly into the ambient 

air without passing through a stack or chimney from an 

enclosed chamber. Examples include campfires, bon fires, 

and fire pits. 

"Open flame" and "open flame devices" means candles, tiki 

torches, oil lanterns, and similar items.  

"University" means the University of Virginia, including its 

Medical Center.  

"University facility" means any defined space of the 

university, including a room, lab, series of labs, building, or 

controlled outdoor area. 

"University Medical Center" or "Medical Center" means the 

hospital and all other buildings that make up the Medical 

Center, such as facilities used for administrative, clinical, or 

lab activities. 

"University property" means land or buildings that the 

university owns or leases and that are under the direct control 

of the Board of Visitors of the University of Virginia. 

University property also includes premises the university uses 

for activities of its offices, departments, personnel, or 

students. 

8VAC85-30-20. Open burning. 

Unless otherwise permitted under this chapter, a person shall 

not kindle or maintain or authorize to be kindled or 

maintained any open burning unless it is (i) approved by the 

university's Office of Environmental Health and Safety or the 

Medical Center Fire Protection Inspector's Office as 

appropriate and (ii) conducted in accordance with the 

Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51), 

Chapter 9 (§ 27-94 et seq.) of Title 27 of the Code of 

Virginia, and applicable local city and county codes and 

regulations.  

8VAC85-30-30. Open flame and open flame devices. 

A. Unless otherwise permitted under this chapter, a person 

shall not use an open flame or open flame device unless it is 

(i) approved by the Office of Environmental Health and 

Safety or the Medical Center Fire Protection Inspector's 

Office as appropriate, (ii) conducted in accordance with 

applicable university or Medical Center procedures, and (iii) 

conducted in accordance with the Virginia Statewide Fire 

Prevention Code (13VAC5-51).  

B. A person shall not use an open flame or open flame 

device in any place where flammable, combustible, or 

explosive material is utilized or stored.  

C. Open burn and open flame device use and operation in 

any university facility or on university property must be 

operated and managed in accordance with this chapter.  

D. Users of cutting torches and welding equipment must 

satisfy requirements outlined in 13VAC5-51-31. 

8VAC85-30-40. Requests for permission. 

A. A request must be made to the university's Office of 

Environmental Health and Safety (EHS) or the Medical 

Center Fire Protection Inspector's Office for the purpose of an 
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open burn and open flame device use and operation. EHS or 

the Medical Center Fire Protection Inspector will review the 

request to ensure the open burn and open flame device is used 

in accordance with and meets the requirements of (i) the 

Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51), (ii) 

§ 10.1-1142 of the Code of Virginia, (iii) EHS procedures, 

(iv) Medical Center procedures, and (v) applicable local city 

and county codes and regulations.  

B. Each request will be reviewed (i) to ensure the safety of 

the university's faculty, staff, students, patients, and visitors 

and (ii) for stewardship of the university's facilities and 

property.  

C. EHS or the Medical Center Fire Protection Inspector shall 

notify the requesting party of the approval or denial of a 

request for permission granted under this section permitting 

an open burn or use of an open flame or open flame device. 

EHS or the Medical Center Fire Protection Inspector shall 

concurrently notify the University Police Department of any 

approval or denial under this section and confirm receipt by 

the University Police Department.  

8VAC85-30-50. Persons lawfully in charge. 

In addition to university personnel responsible for the 

management or supervision of university property and 

activities, the fire code representative from the university's 

Office of Environmental Health and Safety or the Medical 

Center Fire Protection Inspector's Office (or designee) or 

university law-enforcement officers are lawfully in charge of 

university property and facilities for purposes of:  

1. Forbidding entry upon university property or into a 

university facility while conducting open burning or while 

in possession of an open flame or open flame device; 

2. Prohibiting remaining upon university property or 

within a university facility while conducting open burning 

or while in possession of an open flame or open flame 

device; and  

3. Ordering any fire that is deemed as noncompliant with 

this chapter or that creates a hazard or nuisance to be 

extinguished. 

8VAC85-30-60. Exemptions. 

The following are exempted from the requirements of this 

chapter:  

1. Outdoor cooking operations where propane and charcoal 

are used in a safe manner. Ashes, cinders, and coals shall 

be disposed of in an approved manner. Disposal guidelines 

are available from the university's Office of Environmental 

Health and Safety (EHS) or the Medical Center Fire 

Protection Inspector. 

2. Indoor and outdoor use of Sterno for the purpose of 

warming foods. Such use should be maintained and 

operated in an approved manner. Operating guidelines are 

available from EHS or the Medical Center Fire Protection 

Inspector. 

3. Laboratory flame producing equipment. 

8VAC85-30-70. Compliance. 

Failure to comply with the requirements of this chapter may 

result in disciplinary action up to and including termination or 

expulsion in accordance with relevant university policies and 

may result in prosecution in accordance with state and federal 

law. 

8VAC85-30-80. Procedure. 

A. Academic Division. All requests for the use and 

operation of an open burn or an open flame device must be 

submitted to the university Office of Environmental Health 

and Safety at least three weeks prior to the proposed activity. 

Review of proposals of a routine nature (i.e., similar to 

previously approved activities) may be expedited at the 

discretion of EHS. Requests may be submitted by calling 

434-243-1711; emailing fire-safety@virginia.edu, or 

completing and submitting the appropriate form provided by 

the Office of Environmental Health and Safety. 

B. Medical Center. All requests for the use and operation of 

an open burn and open flame device at the Medical Center 

must be submitted to the Medical Center Fire Protection 

Inspector by calling 434-982-6420 or emailing the request to 

aco9m@virginia.edu as soon as possible. 

C. Additional requirements may apply at the discretion of 

the fire code representative from EHS or Medical Center Fire 

Protection Inspector's Office. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5346; Filed December 1, 2017, 1:59 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The form used in administering the 

following regulation has been filed by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. The form is not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the form to access it. 

The form is also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-130. Solid Waste Planning 

and Recycling Regulations. 

Contact Information: Debra Harris, Policy and Planning 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East 

mailto:aco9m@virginia.edu
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Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-

4209, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC20-130)  

Locality Recycling Rate Report for Calendar Year 2016, 

DEQ Form 50–30 (rev. 12/2016)  

Locality Recycling Rate Report for Calendar Year 2017, 

DEQ Form 50–30 (rev. 9/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5351; Filed November 27, 2017, 1:04 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-110. Regulations for the 

Immunization of School Children (amending 12VAC5-

110-10, 12VAC5-110-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-271.2, 32.1-46, and 32.1-47 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 24, 2018. 

Effective Date: February 10, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Sommer, PhD, Acting Director, 

Division of Immunization, Virginia Department of Health, 

101 North 14th Street, 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-8055, FAX (804) 864-8089, or email 

sandra.sommer@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Statutory authority to promulgate these regulations is 

granted to the State Board of Health by §§ 22.1-271.2 and 

32.1-46 of the Code of Virginia. Penalties are established in 

§ 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The regulations are amended to clarify that 

immunization records shall be open to inspection by health 

department officials. Amendments are necessary to ensure 

children are protected to the extent possible from vaccine-

preventable diseases and to protect the health of all 

Virginians. School officials must comply with the law as 

stated in § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of Virginia in regard to 

inspection of immunization records by health department 

officials. The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) annually 

reviews a random sample of school immunization records to 

ensure compliance with current requirements. VDH would 

also need to review school immunization records in the event 

of a vaccine-preventable disease outbreak. Local health 

department representatives have encountered increasing 

resistance from school officials. Most recently, at least three 

of the selected 600 sites initially refused to allow records to 

be reviewed as part of the annual immunization survey, 

despite instructions to de-identify records prior to review. If 

the amendments are approved, failure to allow inspection of 

records could result in a decision to seek imposition of 

penalties (i.e., Class 1 misdemeanor) authorized by § 32.1-27 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Each year, the Advisory Committee on Immunization 

Practices of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

(CDC) recommends changes to the immunization schedules 

that are subsequently published by the CDC and the 

American Academy of Pediatrics. The regulation is also 

amended to include the most recent schedules. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: 

Incorporating current statutory provisions into the Virginia 

Administrative Code reinforces the duties of school admitting 

officials as currently required by law and does not change 

current practices. 

Updating documents incorporated by reference is routine. 

Substance: Amendments to the regulations (i) clarify required 

activities of school officials and (ii) update references to the 

most current version of the immunization schedule. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the agency and the public 

are that amended regulations will help ensure that children are 

appropriately protected to the extent possible from vaccine 

preventable diseases. This also serves to protect the health of 

all Virginians. Proposed changes clarify processes required 

for immunization record review and ensure that the most 

current recommendations are applied. No disadvantages to 

the public or the Commonwealth are anticipated. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to: 1) incorporate 

language from § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of Virginia to clarify 

that each admitting official is required to allow inspection of 

school immunization records by officials of the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH), and 2) amend the definition of 

"Immunization schedules" to reference 2017 Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention recommended schedules. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

Incorporating Code of Virginia Language: Code of Virginia 

§ 22.1-271.2 (E) states that: "Every school shall record each 

student's immunizations on the school immunization record. 

The school immunization record shall be a standardized form 

provided by the State Department of Health, which shall be a 

part of the mandatory permanent student record. Such record 

shall be open to inspection by officials of the State 

Department of Health and the local health departments." 

mailto:Debra.Harris@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=edb07005351~17.pdf&typ=40&actno=005351&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=edb07005351~17.pdf&typ=40&actno=005351&mime=application/pdf
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Nevertheless, VDH reports that local health department 

representatives have encountered increasing resistance from 

some school officials. Most recently, three schools initially 

refused to allow records to be reviewed as part of the annual 

immunization survey, despite instructions to de-identify 

records prior to review. Access to the records by health 

officials help ensure that children, and adults, are 

appropriately protected to the extent possible from vaccine 

preventable diseases. VDH needs access to records in the 

event of a vaccine-preventable disease outbreak, as well as 

annually review a random sample of school immunization 

records to ensure compliance with current requirements. 

Clarifying in the regulation that the records are required by 

law to be open for inspection by health department officials 

may increase cooperation and may thus indirectly help limit 

the spread of disease. 

The proposal to incorporate language from § 22.1-271.2 of 

the Code of Virginia to clarify that each admitting official is 

required to allow inspection of school immunization records 

by health department staff may encourage cooperation for a 

reason beyond just reminding the school officials that it is the 

law. Code of Virginia § 32.1-27 A states that: "Any person 

willfully violating or refusing, failing or neglecting to comply 

with any regulation or order of the Board or Commissioner or 

any provision of this title shall be guilty of a Class 1 

misdemeanor unless a different penalty is specified." 

The referenced Board is the State Board of Health; thus 

violating the Regulations for the Immunization of School 

Children constitutes a Class 1 misdemeanor. The referenced 

title is Title 32.1. Health, which does not include § 22.1-

271.2;1 thus failing to comply with § 22.1-271.2 in of itself 

does not constitute a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

The Board's proposal to incorporate language from § 22.1-

271.2 to clarify that each admitting official is required to 

allow inspection of school immunization records by officials 

of the VDH will affectively make failure to comply a Class 1 

misdemeanor, since it would then be a violation of a State 

Board of Health regulation. 

Amending Definition: Under the current regulation 

"Immunization schedules" is defined as "the 2015 

Recommended Immunization Schedules for Persons Aged 0 

through 18 Years developed and published by the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Advisory 

Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American 

Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American Academy of 

Family Physicians (AAFP)." 

The Board proposes to amend 2015 to 2017. The 

requirements of the 2017 version are the same as in the 2015 

version.2 Thus amending the definition will have no impact 

on families seeking to meet immunization requirements. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The regulation affects the 

5,012 licensed child care facilities, 1,862 public schools and 

an estimated 750 private schools in the Commonwealth, as 

well as families with children in these schools and facilities.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments would not significantly affect the use 

and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

________________________________ 

1§ 22.1-271.2 is under Title 22.1. Education. 

2Source: Virginia Department of Health 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs substantially with the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate language from § 22.1-271.2 

of the Code of Virginia to clarify that each admitting 

official is required to allow inspection of school 

immunization records by officials of the Department of 

Health. An amendment also incorporates by reference the 

latest recommended immunization schedules. 
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Part I  

Definitions  

12VAC5-110-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Adequate immunization" means the immunization 

requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70.  

"Admit" or "admission" means the official enrollment or 

reenrollment for attendance at any grade level, whether full-

time or part-time, of any student by any school.  

"Admitting official" means the school principal or his 

designated representative if a public school; if a nonpublic 

school or child care center, the principal, headmaster or 

director of the school or center.  

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Compliance" means the completion of the immunization 

requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70.  

"Conditional enrollment" means the enrollment of a student 

for a period of 90 days contingent upon the student having 

received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines and 

the student possessing a plan, from a physician or local health 

department, for completing his immunization requirements 

within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the student requires 

more than two doses of hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional 

enrollment period, for hepatitis B vaccine only, shall be 180 

calendar days. 

"Documentary proof" means an appropriately completed 

copy of the most current version of Form MCH 213G signed 

by a physician or his designee, registered nurse, or an official 

of a local health department. A copy of the immunization 

record signed or stamped by a physician or his designee, 

registered nurse, or an official of a local health department 

indicating the dates of administration including month, day, 

and year of the required vaccines, shall be acceptable in lieu 

of recording these dates on Form MCH 213G, as long as the 

record is attached to Form MCH 213G and the remainder of 

Form MCH 213G has been appropriately completed. A 

printout of an immunization record from the provider's 

electronic health record can be accepted without a signature 

or stamp. For a new student transferring from an out-of-state 

school, any immunization record, which contains the exact 

date (month/day/year) of administration of each of the 

required doses of vaccines, is signed by a physician or his 

designee or registered nurse, and complies fully with the 

requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70 shall be 

acceptable.  

"Immunization" means the administration of a product 

licensed by the FDA to confer protection against one or more 

specific pathogens.  

"Immunization schedules" means the 2015 2017 

Recommended Immunization Schedules for Persons Children 

and Adolescents Aged 0 through 18 Years or Younger 

developed and published by the Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention (CDC), the Advisory Committee on 

Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American Academy of 

Pediatrics (AAP), and the American Academy of Family 

Physicians (AAFP). 

"Physician" means any person licensed to practice medicine 

in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia.  

"School" means:  

1. Any public school from kindergarten through grade 12 

operated under the authority of any locality within this 

Commonwealth;  

2. Any private or religious school that offers instruction at 

any level or grade from kindergarten through grade 12;  

3. Any private or religious nursery school or preschool, or 

any private or religious child care center required to be 

licensed by this Commonwealth;  

4. Any preschool classes or Head Start classes operated by 

the school divisions within this Commonwealth; and  

5. Any family day home or developmental center.  

"Student" means any person who seeks admission to a 

school, or for whom admission to a school is sought by a 

parent or guardian, and who will not have attained the age of 

20 years by the start of the school term for which admission is 

sought. 

"Twelve months of age" means the 365th day following the 

date of birth. For the purpose of evaluating records, vaccines 

administered up to four days prior to the first birthday (361 

days following the date of birth) will be considered valid. 

Part IV  

Procedures and Responsibilities  

12VAC5-110-90. Responsibilities of admitting officials. 

A. Procedures for determining the immunization status of 

students. Each admitting official or his designee shall review, 

before the first day of each school year, the school medical 

record of every new student seeking admission to his school, 

and that of every student enrolling in grade six for 

compliance with the requirements prescribed in 12VAC5-

110-70. Such review shall determine into which one of the 

following categories each student falls:  

1. Students whose immunizations are adequately 

documented and complete in conformance with 12VAC5-

110-70. Students with documentation of existing immunity 
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to mumps, measles, rubella, or varicella as defined in 

12VAC5-110-80 B shall be considered to be adequately 

immunized for such disease.  

2. Students who are exempt from the immunization 

requirements of 12VAC5-110-70 because of medical 

contraindications or religious beliefs provided for by 

12VAC5-110-80.  

3. Students whose immunizations are inadequate according 

to the requirements of 12VAC5-110-70.  

4. Students without any documentation of having been 

adequately immunized.  

B. Notification of deficiencies. Upon identification of the 

students described in subdivisions A 3 and 4 of this section, 

the admitting official shall notify the parent or guardian of the 

student: 

1. That there is no, or insufficient, documentary proof of 

adequate immunization in the student's school records.  

2. That the student cannot be admitted to school unless he 

has documentary proof that he is exempted from 

immunization requirements pursuant to 12VAC5-110-70. 

3. That the student may be immunized and receive 

certification by a licensed physician, registered nurse, or an 

official of a local health department. 

4. How to contact the local health department to receive 

the necessary immunizations. 

C. Conditional enrollment. Any student whose 

immunizations are incomplete may be admitted conditionally 

if that student provides documentary proof at the time of 

enrollment of having received at least one dose of the 

required immunizations accompanied by a schedule for 

completion of the required doses within 90 calendar days, 

during which time that student shall complete the 

immunizations required under 12VAC5-110-70. If the student 

requires more than two doses of hepatitis B vaccine, the 

conditional enrollment period, for hepatitis B vaccine only, 

shall be 180 calendar days. If a student is a homeless child or 

youth and does not have documentary proof of necessary 

immunizations or has incomplete immunizations and is not 

exempted from immunization as described in 12VAC5-110-

80, the school administrator shall immediately admit such 

student and shall immediately refer the student to the local 

school division liaison, who shall assist in obtaining the 

documentary proof of, or completing, immunizations. The 

admitting official should examine the records of any 

conditionally enrolled student at regular intervals to ensure 

that such a student remains on schedule with his plan of 

completion. 

D. Exclusion. The admitting official shall, at the end of the 

conditional enrollment period, exclude any student who is not 

in compliance with the immunization requirements under 

12VAC5-110-70 and who has not been granted an exemption 

under 12VAC5-110-80 until that student provides 

documentary proof that his immunization schedule has been 

completed, unless documentary proof that a medical 

contraindication developed during the conditional enrollment 

period is submitted. 

E. Transfer of records. The admitting official of every 

school shall be responsible for sending a student's 

immunization records or a copy thereof, along with his 

permanent academic or scholastic records, to the admitting 

official of the school to which a student is transferring within 

10 days of his transfer to the new school. 

F. Report of student immunization status. Each admitting 

official shall, within 30 days of the beginning of each school 

year or entrance of a student, or by October 15 of each school 

year, file with the State Health Department through the health 

department for his locality, a report summarizing the 

immunization status of the students in his school as of the 

first day of school. This report shall be filed using the web-

enabled reporting system or on the most current version of 

Form SIS, the Student Immunization Status Report, and shall 

contain the number of students admitted to that school with 

documentary proof of immunization, the number of students 

who have been admitted with a medical or religious 

exemption and the number of students who have been 

conditionally admitted.  

G. Immunization records shall be open to inspection by 

health department officials. 

H. Each admitting official shall ensure that the parent or 

guardian of a female to be enrolled in the sixth grade receives 

educational materials describing the link between the human 

papillomavirus and cervical cancer. Materials shall be 

approved by the board and provided to the parent or guardian 

prior to the child's enrollment in the sixth grade. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-110) 

2015 Recommended Immunization Schedules for Persons 

Aged 0 through 18 Years, Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 

effective January 1, 2015 

Recommended Immunization Schedule for Children and 

Adolescents Aged 18 Years or Younger, United States 2017, 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department 

of Health and Human Services, effective January 1, 2017  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5095; Filed December 4, 2017, 6:44 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9ad8005095~1&typ=40&actno=005095&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9ad8005095~1&typ=40&actno=005095&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9ad8005095~1&typ=40&actno=005095&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9ad8005095~1&typ=40&actno=005095&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 25, 2017 

848 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-141. Family Access to 

Medical Insurance Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-

141-740, 12VAC30-141-760).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-325 and 32.1-351 of the Code of 

Virginia; 42 USC § 1397aa et seq. 

Effective Date: January 24, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In Virginia the federal Children's Health Insurance 

Program (CHIP) is known as the Family Access to 

Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS) Plan, and the CHIP 

waiver program for pregnant women is known as FAMIS 

MOMS. FAMIS MOMS is only available to pregnant 

women, according to their income, who are uninsured. 

Under the authority of the federal Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services, pregnant, low-income state 

employees and their pregnant dependents who are 

otherwise eligible for FAMIS MOMS have been permitted 

to enroll in the FAMIS MOMS program. The amendments 

reflect these changes. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-141-740. Eligibility requirements.  

A. This section shall be used to determine eligibility of 

pregnant women for FAMIS MOMS. 

B. FAMIS MOMS shall be in effect statewide. 

C. Eligible pregnant women must: 

1. Be determined ineligible for Medicaid due to excess 

income by a local department of social services or by 

DMAS eligibility staff co-located at the FAMIS CPU; 

2. Be a pregnant woman at the time of application; 

3. Be a resident of the Commonwealth; 

4. Be either a U.S. citizen, U.S. national or a qualified 

noncitizen; 

5. Be uninsured, that is, not have comprehensive health 

insurance coverage; and 

6. Not be a member of a family eligible for subsidized 

dependent coverage, as defined in 42 CFR 

457.310(c)(1)(ii) under any Virginia state employee health 

insurance plan on the basis of the family member's 

employment with a state agency; and 

7. 6. Not be an inpatient in an institution for mental 

diseases (IMD), or an inmate in a public institution that is 

not a medical facility. 

D. Income. 

1. Screening. All applications for FAMIS MOMS coverage 

received at the FAMIS central processing unit must be 

screened to identify applicants who are potentially eligible 

for Medicaid. Pregnant women screened and found 

potentially eligible for Medicaid cannot be enrolled in 

FAMIS MOMS until there has been a finding of 

ineligibility for Medicaid. Pregnant women who do not 

appear to be eligible for Medicaid due to excess income 

shall have their eligibility for FAMIS MOMS determined 

and, if eligible, will be enrolled in the FAMIS MOMS 

program. Applications for FAMIS MOMS received at a 

local department of social services shall have a full 

Medicaid eligibility determination completed. Pregnant 

women determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to 

excess income will have their eligibility for FAMIS 

MOMS determined and, if eligible, the local department of 

social services will enroll the pregnant woman in the 

FAMIS MOMS program. 

2. Standards. Income standards for FAMIS MOMS are 

based on a comparison of countable income to 200% of the 

federal poverty level for the family size. Countable income 

and family size are based on the methodology utilized by 

the Medicaid program as defined in 12VAC30-40-100 [ e 

B 1 b ]. Pregnant women who have income at or below 

200% of the federal poverty level, but are ineligible for 

Medicaid due to excess income, will be income eligible to 

participate in FAMIS MOMS. 

3. Spenddown. Deduction of incurred medical expenses 

from countable income (spenddown) shall not apply in 

FAMIS MOMS. If the family income exceeds the income 

limits described in this section, the individual shall be 

ineligible for FAMIS MOMS regardless of the amount of 

any incurred medical expenses. 

E. Residency. The requirements for residency, as set forth in 

42 CFR 435.403, will be used when determining whether a 

pregnant woman is a resident of Virginia for purposes of 

eligibility for FAMIS MOMS. A child who is not 

emancipated and is temporarily living away from home is 

considered living with her parents, adult relative caretaker, 

legal guardian, or person having legal custody if the absence 

is temporary and the child intends to return to the home when 

the purpose of the absence (such as education, medical care, 

rehabilitation, vacation, visit) is completed. 

F. U.S. citizenship or nationality. Upon signing the 

declaration of citizenship or nationality required by § 1137(d) 

of the Social Security Act, the applicant or recipient is 
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required under § 2105(c)(9) to furnish satisfactory 

documentary evidence of U.S. citizenship or nationality and 

documentation of personal [ identify identity ] unless 

citizenship or nationality has been verified by the 

Commissioner of Social Security or unless otherwise exempt. 

G. Qualified noncitizen. The requirements for qualified 

aliens set out in Public Law 104-193, as amended, and the 

requirements for noncitizens set out in subdivisions 3 b, c, 

and e of 12VAC30-40-10 will be used when determining 

whether a pregnant woman is a qualified noncitizen for 

purposes of FAMIS MOMS eligibility. 

H. Coverage under other health plans. 

1. Any pregnant woman covered under a group health plan 

or under health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of 

the Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 

(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS MOMS. 

2. No substitution for private insurance. 

a. Only uninsured pregnant women shall be eligible for 

FAMIS MOMS. A pregnant woman is not considered to 

be insured if the health insurance plan covering the 

pregnant woman does not have a network of providers in 

the area where the pregnant woman resides. Each 

application for FAMIS MOMS coverage shall include an 

inquiry about health insurance the pregnant woman has at 

the time of application. 

b. Health insurance does not include Medicare, Medicaid, 

FAMIS or insurance for which DMAS paid premiums 

under Title XIX through the Health Insurance Premium 

Payment (HIPP) Program or under Title XXI through the 

SCHIP premium assistance program. 

12VAC30-141-760. Pregnant women ineligible for FAMIS 

MOMS.  

A. If a pregnant woman is:  

1. Eligible for Medicaid, or would be eligible if she applied 

for Medicaid, she shall be ineligible for coverage under 

FAMIS MOMS. A pregnant woman found through the 

screening process to be potentially eligible for Medicaid 

but who fails to complete the Medicaid application process 

for any reason, cannot be enrolled in FAMIS MOMS;  

2. A member of a family eligible for coverage under any 

Virginia state employee health insurance plan, she shall be 

ineligible for FAMIS MOMS;  

3. 2. An inmate of a public institution as defined in 42 CFR 

435.1009, she shall be ineligible for FAMIS MOMS; or  

4. 3. An inpatient in an institution for mental disease 

(IMD) as defined in 42 CFR 435.1010, she shall be 

ineligible for FAMIS MOMS.  

B. If a pregnant woman age 18 years or older or, if under 

younger than age 18 years, a parent or other authorized 

representative does not meet the requirements of assignment 

of rights to benefits or requirements of cooperation with the 

agency in identifying and providing information to assist the 

Commonwealth in pursuing any liable third party, the 

pregnant woman shall be ineligible for FAMIS MOMS.  

C. If a pregnant woman age 18 years or older, or if under 

younger than age 18 years, a parent, adult relative caretaker, 

guardian, or legal custodian obtained benefits for a pregnant 

woman who would otherwise be ineligible by willfully 

misrepresenting material facts on the application or failing to 

report changes, the pregnant woman for whom the application 

is made shall be ineligible for FAMIS MOMS. The pregnant 

woman age 18 years or older, or if under younger than age 18 

years, the parent, adult relative caretaker, guardian, or legal 

custodian who signed the application shall be liable for 

repayment of the cost of all benefits issued as the result of the 

misrepresentation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4365; Filed December 5, 2017, 2:34 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-318. Rules Governing Term 

and Universal Life Insurance Reserve Financing (adding 

14VAC5-318-10 through 14VAC5-318-80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13, 38.2-223, and 38.2-1316.7 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino, Policy Advisor, Bureau of 

Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 

371-9873, or email raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 477 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, the 

State Corporation Commission is adopting new 

regulations setting forth standards governing reserve 

financing arrangements pertaining to (i) life insurance 

policies containing guaranteed nonlevel gross premiums 

or guaranteed nonlevel benefits and (ii) universal life 

insurance policies with secondary guarantees. The 
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regulations provide additional requirements related to the 

valuation of assets or reserve credits, the amount and 

forms of security supporting reinsurance arrangements, 

and the circumstances in which credit will be reduced or 

eliminated. The implementation of the regulations will 

address reinsurance arrangements entered into with life 

and health insurer-affiliated captives, special purpose 

vehicles, or similar entities that may not have the same 

statutory accounting or solvency requirements as 

multistate life and health insurers based in the United 

States.  

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 22, 2017 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2017-00186 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting New Rules Governing 

Term and Universal Life Insurance 

Reserve Financing 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered September 5, 

2017, insurers and interested persons were ordered to take 

notice that subsequent to November 3, 2017, the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") would consider the 

entry of an order adopting new rules to be set forth in Chapter 

318 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled 

Rules Governing Term and Universal Life Insurance Reserve 

Financing ("Rules"), which adds new Rules at 14 VAC 5-

318-10 through 14 VAC 5-265-80, unless on or before 

November 3, 2017, any person objecting to the adoption of 

the new Rules filed a request for a hearing with the Clerk of 

the Commission ("Clerk"). 

The new rules are necessary to implement the amendments 

to §§ 38.2-1316.1, 38.2-1316.2, 38.2-1316.4 and 38.2-1316.7 

of the Code, which were enacted in Chapter 477 of the 2017 

Acts of Assembly (HB 1471). The amendments to the Code 

authorize the Commission to adopt regulations specifying 

additional requirements relating to the valuation of asset or 

reserve credits, the amount and forms of security supporting 

certain reinsurance arrangements, and the circumstances 

pursuant to which credit will be reduced or eliminated. The 

amendments to the Code became effective on July 1, 2017.  

The Order required insurers and interested persons to file 

their comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed 

new Rules with the Clerk on or before November 3, 2017. 

No comments were filed with the Clerk. No requests for a 

hearing were filed with the Clerk. 

The Commission's Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has 

included additional non-substantive revision to the Rules. 

These changes include deleting the references to the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioner's Accounting 

Practices and Procedures Manual and Annual Statement 

Instructions and replacing them with a reference to § 38.2-

1300 of the Code, clarifying the definition of "primary 

security", and other editorial changes. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 

proposed new Rules, and the recommended revisions to the 

proposal, is of the opinion that the attached new Rules should 

be adopted effective date of January 1, 2018. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The new Rules entitled Rules Governing Term and 

Universal Life Insurance Reserve Financing, to be set out at 

14 VAC 5-318-10 through 14 VAC 5-318-80 which are 

attached hereto and made a part hereof, are hereby 

ADOPTED effective January 1, 2018. 

(2) The Bureau forthwith shall give notice of the adoption of 

the Rules to all life insurers domiciled in Virginia and to 

interested persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

new Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached new Rules on 

the Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

(6) This case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 

place in the file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: 

C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, 

Insurance and Utilities Regulatory Section, Office of the 

Attorney General, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be delivered to 

the Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Bureau 

of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Donald C. 

Beatty. 

CHAPTER 318 

RULES GOVERNING TERM AND UNIVERSAL LIFE 

INSURANCE RESERVE FINANCING 

14VAC5-318-10. Purpose and scope. 

The purpose of this chapter is to set forth rules and 

procedural requirements to establish uniform, national 

standards governing reserve financing arrangements 

pertaining to life insurance policies containing guaranteed 

nonlevel gross premiums or guaranteed nonlevel benefits and 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 25, 2017 

851 

universal life insurance policies with secondary guarantees 

and to ensure that, with respect to each such financing 

arrangement, funds consisting of primary security and other 

security, as defined in 14VAC5-318-30, are held by or on 

behalf of ceding insurers in the forms and amounts required 

in this chapter. In general, reinsurance ceded for reserve 

financing purposes has one or more of the following 

characteristics: some or all of the assets used to secure the 

reinsurance treaty or to capitalize the reinsurer (i) are issued 

by the ceding insurer or its affiliates; (ii) are not 

unconditionally available to satisfy the general account 

obligations of the ceding insurer; or (iii) create a 

reimbursement, indemnification, or other similar obligation 

on the part of the ceding insurer or any if its affiliates (other 

than a payment obligation under a derivative contract 

acquired in the normal course and used to support and hedge 

liabilities pertaining to the actual risks in the policies ceded 

pursuant to the reinsurance treaty).  

14VAC5-318-20. Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to reinsurance treaties that cede 

liabilities pertaining to covered policies, as that term is 

defined in 14VAC5-318-30, issued by any life insurance 

company domiciled in this Commonwealth. The requirements 

of this chapter shall pertain to all covered policies in force as 

of and after January 1, 2018. This chapter and 14VAC5-300 

shall both apply to such reinsurance treaties, provided that in 

the event of a direct conflict between the provisions of this 

chapter and 14VAC5-300, the provisions of this chapter shall 

apply, but only to the extent of the conflict.  

14VAC5-318-30. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Actuarial method" means the methodology used to 

determine the required level of primary security, as described 

in 14VAC5-318-50. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission 

when acting pursuant to or in accordance with Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Covered policy" means, subject to the exemptions 

described in 14VAC5-318-40, those policies, other than 

grandfathered policies, of the following policy types: 

1. Life insurance policies with guaranteed nonlevel gross 

premiums or guaranteed nonlevel benefits, except for 

flexible premium universal life insurance policies; or 

2. Flexible premium universal life insurance policies with 

provisions resulting in the ability of a policyholder to keep 

a policy in force over a secondary guarantee period. 

"Grandfathered policies" means policies of the types 

described in the "covered policy" definition that were: 

1. Issued prior to January 1, 2015; and 

2. Ceded, as of December 31, 2014, as part of a 

reinsurance treaty that would not have met one of the 

exemptions set forth in 14VAC5-318-40 had that section 

then been in effect. 

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

"Noncovered policy" means any policy that does not meet 

the definition of covered policy, including grandfathered 

policies. 

"Required level of primary security" means the dollar 

amount determined by applying the actuarial method to the 

risks ceded with respect to covered policies, but not more 

than the total reserve ceded. 

"Primary security" means the following forms of security: 

1. Cash meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 a of 

§ 38.2-1316.4 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Securities listed by the Securities Valuation Office 

meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 b of § 38.2-

1316.4 of the Code of Virginia, but excluding any 

synthetic letter of credit, contingent note, credit-linked 

note, or other similar security that operates in a manner 

similar to a letter of credit, and excluding any securities 

issued by the ceding insurer or any of its affiliates; and 

3. For security held in connection with funds-withheld and 

modified coinsurance reinsurance treaties: 

a. Commercial loans in good standing of CM3 quality 

and higher as calculated for the life risk-based capital 

report; 

b. Policy loans; and 

c. Derivatives acquired in the normal course and used to 

support and hedge liabilities pertaining to the actual risks 

in the policies ceded pursuant to the reinsurance treaty. 

"Other security" means any security acceptable to the 

commission other than security meeting the definition of 

primary security. 

"Valuation manual" means the valuation manual adopted by 

the NAIC as described in subdivision B 1 of § 38.2-1379 of 

the Code of Virginia, with all amendments adopted by the 

NAIC that are effective for the financial statement date on 

which credit for reinsurance is claimed. 

"VM-20" means "requirements for principle-based reserves 

for life products," including all relevant definitions, from the 

valuation manual. 

14VAC5-318-40. Exemptions from this chapter. 

This chapter does not apply to the situations described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this section. 
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1. Reinsurance of: 

a. Policies that satisfy the criteria for exemption set forth 

in 14VAC5-319-50 F or G and that are issued before the 

later of: 

(1) January 1, 2018; and 

(2) The date on which the ceding insurer begins to apply 

the provisions of VM-20 to establish the ceded policies' 

statutory reserves, but in no event later than January 1, 

2020; 

b. Portions of policies that satisfy the criteria for 

exemption set forth in 14VAC5-319-50 E and that are 

issued before the later of: 

(1) January 1, 2018; and 

(2) The date on which the ceding insurer begins to apply 

the provisions of VM-20 to establish the ceded policies' 

statutory reserves, but in no event later than January 1, 

2020; 

c. Any universal life policy that meets all of the 

following requirements: 

(1) Secondary guarantee period, if any, is five years or 

less; 

(2) Specified premium for the secondary guarantee 

period is equal to or greater than the net level reserve 

premium for the secondary guarantee period based on the 

Commissioners Standard Ordinary (CSO) valuation 

tables and valuation interest rate applicable to the issue 

year of the policy; and 

(3) The initial surrender charge is equal to or greater than 

100% of the first year annualized specified premium for 

the secondary guarantee period; 

d. Credit life insurance; 

e. Any variable life insurance policy that provides for life 

insurance, the amount or duration of which varies 

according to the investment experience of any separate 

account or accounts; or 

f. Any group life insurance certificate unless the 

certificate provides for a stated or implied schedule of 

maximum gross premiums required in order to continue 

coverage in force for a period in excess of one year; 

2. Reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer that meets the 

applicable requirements of subdivision C 4 of § 38.2-

1316.2 of the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-300-90 C 1; 

3. Reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer that meets the 

applicable requirements of subdivision C 1, C 2, or C 3 of 

§ 38.2-1316.2 of the Code of Virginia and that in addition: 

a. Prepares statutory financial statements in compliance 

with § 38.2-1300 of the Code of Virginia, without any 

departures from NAIC statutory accounting practices and 

procedures pertaining to the admissibility or valuation of 

assets or liabilities that increase the assuming insurer's 

reported surplus and are material enough that they need 

to be disclosed in the financial statement of the assuming 

insurer pursuant to Statement of Statutory Accounting 

Principles No. 1 ("SSAP 1"); and 

b. Is not in a Company Action Level Event, Regulatory 

Action Level Event, Authorized Control Level Event, or 

Mandatory Control Level Event as those terms are 

defined in Chapter 55 (§ 38.2-5500 et seq.) of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia when its risk-based capital 

(RBC) is calculated in accordance with § 38.2-5502 of 

the Code of Virginia; 

4. Reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer that meets the 

applicable requirements of subdivision C 1, C 2, or C 3 of 

§ 38.2-1316.2 of the Code of Virginia and that in addition: 

a. Is not an affiliate, as that term is defined in § 38.2-

1322 of the Code of Virginia, of: 

(1) The insurer ceding the business to the assuming 

insurer; or 

(2) Any insurer that directly or indirectly ceded the 

business to that ceding insurer; 

b. Prepares statutory financial statements in compliance 

with the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures 

Manual; 

c. Is both: 

(1) Licensed or accredited in at least 10 states (including 

its state of domicile); and 

(2) Not licensed in any state as a captive, special purpose 

vehicle, special purpose financial captive, special 

purpose life reinsurance company, limited purpose 

subsidiary, or any other similar licensing regime; and 

d. Is not, or would not be, below 500% of the Authorized 

Control Level RBC as that term is defined in § 38.2-5501 

of the Code of Virginia when its RBC is calculated in 

accordance with § 38.2-5502 of the Code of Virginia and 

without recognition of any departures from NAIC 

statutory accounting practices and procedures pertaining 

to the admission or valuation of assets or liabilities that 

increase the assuming insurer's reported surplus;  

5. Reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer that meets the 

requirements of either subdivision B 4 a or B 4 b of § 38.2-

1316.7 of the Code of Virginia; or 

6. Reinsurance not otherwise exempt under subdivisions 1 

through 5 of this section if the commission, after 

consulting with the NAIC Financial Analysis Working 

Group or other group of regulators designated by the 
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NAIC, as applicable, determines under all the facts and 

circumstances that all of the following apply: 

a. The risks are clearly outside of the intent and purpose 

of this chapter, as described in 14VAC5-318-10; 

b. The risks are included within the scope of this chapter 

only as a technicality; and 

c. The application of this chapter to those risks is not 

necessary to provide appropriate protection to 

policyholders. The commission shall publicly disclose 

any decision made pursuant to this subdivision to exempt 

a reinsurance treaty from this chapter, as well as the 

general basis therefor (including a summary description 

of the treaty).  

14VAC5-318-50. The actuarial method. 

A. The actuarial method to establish the required level of 

primary security for each reinsurance treaty subject to this 

chapter shall be VM-20, applied on a treaty-by-treaty basis, 

including all relevant definitions, from the Valuation Manual 

as then in effect, applied as follows: 

1. For covered policies as provided in subdivision 1 of the 

definition of "covered policy" in 14VAC5-318-30, the 

actuarial method is the greater of the deterministic reserve 

or the net premium reserve (NPR) regardless of whether 

the criteria for exemption testing can be met. However, if 

the covered policies do not meet the requirements of the 

stochastic reserve exclusion test in the valuation manual, 

then the actuarial method is the greatest of the 

deterministic reserve, the stochastic reserve, or the NPR. In 

addition, if such covered policies are reinsured in a 

reinsurance treaty that also contains covered policies as 

provided in subdivision 2 of the definition of "covered 

policy" in 14VAC5-318-30, the ceding insurer may elect to 

instead use subdivision 2 of this subsection as the actuarial 

method for the entire reinsurance agreement. Whether 

subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection is used, the actuarial 

method must comply with any requirements or restrictions 

that the valuation manual imposes when aggregating these 

policy types for purposes of principle-based reserve 

calculations. 

2. For covered policies, as that term is defined in 

subdivision 2 of the definition of "covered policy" of 

14VAC5-318-30, the actuarial method is the greatest of the 

deterministic reserve, the stochastic reserve, or the NPR 

regardless of whether the criteria for exemption testing can 

be met. 

3. Except as provided in subdivision 4 of this subsection, 

the actuarial method is to be applied on a gross basis to all 

risks with respect to the covered policies as originally 

issued or assumed by the ceding insurer. 

4. If the reinsurance treaty cedes less than 100% of the risk 

with respect to the covered policies then the required level 

of primary security may be reduced as follows: 

a. If a reinsurance treaty cedes only a quota share of 

some or all of the risks pertaining to the covered policies, 

the required level of primary security, as well as any 

adjustment under subdivision A 4 c of this section, may 

be reduced to a pro rata portion in accordance with the 

percentage of the risk ceded; 

b. If the reinsurance treaty in a nonexempt arrangement 

cedes only the risks pertaining to a secondary guarantee, 

the required level of primary security may be reduced by 

an amount determined by applying the actuarial method 

on a gross basis to all risks, other than risks related to the 

secondary guarantee, pertaining to the covered policies, 

except that for covered policies for which the ceding 

insurer did not elect to apply the provisions of VM-20 to 

establish statutory reserves, the required level of primary 

security may be reduced by the statutory reserve retained 

by the ceding insurer on those covered policies, where 

the retained reserve of those covered policies should be 

reflective of any reduction pursuant to the cession of 

mortality risk on a yearly renewable term basis in an 

exempt arrangement; 

c. If a portion of the covered policy risk is ceded to 

another reinsurer on a yearly renewable term basis in an 

exempt arrangement, the required level of primary 

security may be reduced by the amount resulting by 

applying the actuarial method including the reinsurance 

section of VM-20 to the portion of the covered policy 

risks ceded in the exempt arrangement, except that for 

covered policies issued prior to January 1, 2017, this 

adjustment is not to exceed: 

cx 

2(number of reinsurance premiums 

per year) 

where cx is calculated using the same assumptions used 

in calculating the NPR; and 

d. For any other treaty ceding a portion of risk to a 

different reinsurer, including stop loss, excess of loss, 

and other nonproportional reinsurance treaties, there will 

be no reduction in the required level of primary security. 

It is possible for any combination of subdivisions A 4 a, b, 

c, and d of this section to apply. Such adjustments to the 

required level of primary security will be done in the 

sequence that accurately reflects the portion of the risk 

ceded via the treaty. The ceding insurer should document 

the rationale and steps taken to accomplish the adjustments 

to the required level of primary security due to the cession 

of less than 100% of the risk. 
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The adjustments for other reinsurance will be made only 

with respect to reinsurance treaties entered into directly by 

the ceding insurer. The ceding insurer will make no 

adjustment as a result of a retrocession treaty entered into 

by the assuming insurers. 

5. In no event will the required level of primary security 

resulting from application of the actuarial method exceed 

the amount of statutory reserves ceded. 

6. If the ceding insurer cedes risks with respect to covered 

policies, including any riders, in more than one reinsurance 

treaty subject to this chapter, in no event will the aggregate 

required level of primary security for those reinsurance 

treaties be less than the required level of primary security 

calculated using the actuarial method as if all risks ceded in 

those treaties were ceded in a single treaty subject to this 

chapter. 

7. If a reinsurance treaty subject to this chapter cedes risk 

on both covered and noncovered policies, credit for the 

ceded reserves shall be determined as follows: 

a. The actuarial method shall be used to determine the 

required level of primary security for the covered 

policies, and 14VAC5-318-60 shall be used to determine 

the reinsurance credit for the covered policy reserves; 

and 

b. Credit for the noncovered policy reserves shall be 

granted only to the extent that security, in addition to the 

security held to satisfy the requirements of subdivision A 

7 a of this section, is held by or on behalf of the ceding 

insurer in accordance with §§ 38.2-1316.2 and 38.2-

1316.4 of the Code of Virginia, 14VAC5-300-90 C, 

14VAC5-300-100, and 14VAC5-300-150 B and C. Any 

primary security used to meet the requirements of this 

subdivision may not be used to satisfy the required level 

of primary security for the covered policies. 

B. For the purposes of both calculating the required level of 

primary security pursuant to the actuarial method and 

determining the amount of primary security and other 

security, as applicable, held by or on behalf of the ceding 

insurer, the following shall apply: 

1. For assets, including any such assets held in trust, that 

would be admitted under the NAIC Accounting Practices 

and Procedures Manual if they were held by the ceding 

insurer, the valuations are to be determined according to 

statutory accounting procedures as if such assets were held 

in the ceding insurer's general account and without taking 

into consideration the effect of any prescribed or permitted 

practices; and 

2. For all other assets, the valuations are to be those that 

were assigned to the assets for the purpose of determining 

the amount of reserve credit taken. In addition, the asset 

spread tables and asset default cost tables required by VM-

20 shall be included in the actuarial method if adopted by 

the NAIC Life Actuarial (A) Task Force no later than the 

December 31st on or immediately preceding the valuation 

date for which the required level of primary security is 

being calculated. The tables of asset spreads and asset 

default costs shall be incorporated into the actuarial 

method in the manner specified in VM-20. 

14VAC5-318-60. Requirements applicable to covered 

policies to obtain credit for reinsurance; opportunity for 

remediation. 

A. Subject to the exemptions described in 14VAC5-318-40 

and the provisions of subsection B of this section, credit for 

reinsurance shall be allowed with respect to ceded liabilities 

pertaining to covered policies pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, 14VAC5-300-90 C, 14VAC5-300-100, 

and 14VAC5-300-150 B and C, or § 38.2-1316.4 of the Code 

of Virginia if, and only if, in addition to all other 

requirements imposed by law or regulation, the following 

requirements are met on a treaty-by-treaty basis: 

1. The ceding insurer's statutory policy reserves with 

respect to the covered policies are established in full and in 

accordance with the applicable requirements of Article 10 

(§ 38.2-1365 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 of the 

Code of Virginia and related regulations and actuarial 

guidelines, and credit claimed for any reinsurance treaty 

subject to this chapter does not exceed the proportionate 

share of those reserves ceded under the contract; 

2. The ceding insurer determines the required level of 

primary security with respect to each reinsurance treaty 

subject to this chapter and provides support for its 

calculation as determined to be acceptable to the 

commission; 

3. Funds consisting of primary security, in an amount at 

least equal to the required level of primary security, are 

held by or on behalf of the ceding insurer, as security under 

the reinsurance treaty within the meaning of § 38.2-1316.4 

of the Code of Virginia, on a funds withheld, trust, or 

modified coinsurance basis; 

4. Funds consisting of other security, in an amount at least 

equal to any portion of the statutory reserves as to which 

primary security is not held pursuant to subdivision 3 of 

this subsection, are held by or on behalf of the ceding 

insurer as security under the reinsurance treaty within the 

meaning of § 38.2-1316.4 of the Code of Virginia;  

5. Any trust used to satisfy the requirements of this section 

shall comply with all of the conditions and qualifications 

of 14VAC5-300-120, except that: 

a. Funds consisting of primary security or other security 

held in trust shall for the purposes identified in 14VAC5-

318-50 B be valued according to the valuation rules set 

forth in 14VAC5-318-50 B, as applicable;  
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b. There are no affiliate investment limitations with 

respect to any security held in such trust if such security 

is not needed to satisfy the requirements of subdivision 3 

of this subsection; 

c. The reinsurance treaty must prohibit withdrawals or 

substitutions of trust assets that would leave the fair 

market value of the primary security within the trust 

when aggregated with primary security outside the trust 

that is held by or on behalf of the ceding insurer in the 

manner required by subdivision 3 of this subsection 

below 102% of the level required by subdivision 3 of this 

subsection at the time of the withdrawal or substitution; 

and 

d. The determination of reserve credit under 14VAC5-

300-120 D shall be determined according to the valuation 

rules set forth in 14VAC5-318-50 B, as applicable; and 

6. The reinsurance treaty has been approved by the 

commission. 

B. Requirements at inception date and on an on-going basis; 

remediation. 

1. The requirements of subsection A of this section must be 

satisfied as of the date that risks under covered policies are 

ceded if such date is on or after January 1, 2018, and on an 

ongoing basis thereafter. Under no circumstances shall a 

ceding insurer take or consent to any action or series of 

actions that would result in a deficiency under subdivision 

A 3 or A 4 of this section with respect to any reinsurance 

treaty under which covered policies have been ceded, and 

in the event that a ceding insurer becomes aware at any 

time that such a deficiency exists, it shall use its best 

efforts to arrange for the deficiency to be eliminated as 

expeditiously as possible. 

2. Prior to the due date of each quarterly or annual 

statement, each life insurance company that has ceded 

reinsurance within the scope of 14VAC5-318-20 shall 

perform an analysis, on a treaty-by-treaty basis, to 

determine, as to each reinsurance treaty under which 

covered policies have been ceded, whether as of the end of 

the immediately preceding calendar quarter (the valuation 

date) the requirements of subdivision A 3 or A 4 of this 

section were satisfied. The ceding insurer shall establish a 

liability equal to the excess of the credit for reinsurance 

taken over the amount of primary security actually held 

pursuant to subdivision A 3 of this section, unless either: 

a. The requirements of subdivision A 3 or A 4 of this 

section were fully satisfied as of the valuation date as to 

such reinsurance treaty; or 

b. Any deficiency has been eliminated before the due 

date of the quarterly or annual statement to which the 

valuation date relates through the addition of primary 

security or other security, as the case may be, in such 

amount and in such form as would have caused the 

requirements of subdivision A 3 or A 4 of this section to 

be fully satisfied as of the valuation date. 

3. Nothing in subdivision 2 of this subsection shall be 

construed to allow a ceding company to maintain any 

deficiency under subdivision A 3 or A 4 of this section for 

any period of time longer than is reasonably necessary to 

eliminate it.  

14VAC5-318-70. Prohibition against avoidance. 

No insurer that has covered policies to which this chapter 

applies, as set forth in 14VAC5-318-20, shall take any action 

or series of actions or enter into any transaction, arrangement, 

or series of transactions or arrangements if the purpose of 

such action, transaction, arrangement, or series thereof is to 

avoid the requirements of this chapter or to circumvent its 

purpose and intent, as set forth in 14VAC5-318-10.  

14VAC5-318-80. Severability. 

If any provision of this chapter or the application thereof to 

any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be 

invalid, the remainder of the chapter and the application of 

the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be 

affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5199; Filed November 27, 2017, 1:52 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-200. Virginia Voluntary 

Protection Program (adding 16VAC25-200-10 through 

16VAC25-200-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-22 and 40.1-49.13 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 25, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jay Withrow, Department of Labor and 

Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9873, or email 

jay.withrow@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation establishes the Virginia Voluntary 

Protection Program (VPP) in accordance with Chapters 

20 and 339 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly. The VPP is 

intended to promote safe and healthy workplaces 

throughout the Commonwealth. The new chapter applies to 

Virginia employers and employees who volunteer to 

participate in the program and includes the following 

requirements for participation: upper management 
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leadership and active and meaningful employee 

involvement; systematic assessment of occupational 

hazards; comprehensive hazard prevention, mitigation, 

and control programs; employee safety and health 

training; and safety and health program evaluation. 

The new chapter addresses (i) categories of participation, 

such as Star, Merit, and Challenge; (ii) ways to 

participate, such as site-based in both general industry and 

construction, mobile workforce, and VPP corporate; (iii) 

application requirements; (iv) comprehensive safety and 

health management system requirements; (v) certification 

and recertification processes; (vi) onsite evaluations; (vii) 

annual submissions; (viii) other participation 

requirements; (ix) enforcement activity at VPP sites; and 

(x) withdrawal or termination from VPP. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 200 

VIRGINIA VOLUNTARY PROTECTION PROGRAM 

16VAC25-200-10. Voluntary [ participation protection ] 

program. 

A. Participation in VPP is strictly voluntary. The applicant 

that wishes to participate freely submits information to VOSH 

on its safety and health management system and opens itself 

to department review. 

B. VPP emphasizes trust and cooperation between VOSH, 

the employer, employees, and employee representatives and 

is complementary to the department's enforcement activity 

[ , ] but does not take its place. This partnership enables the 

department to remove participating sites from programmed 

inspection lists, allowing it to focus inspection resources on 

establishments in greater need of department oversight and 

intervention. However, VOSH will continue to investigate 

valid employee safety and health complaints, referrals, 

fatalities, accidents, and other significant events at VPP 

participant sites in accordance with VOSH enforcement 

procedures. 

C. VPP participants develop and implement a systems 

approach to effectively identify, evaluate, prevent, and 

control occupational hazards so that injuries and illnesses to 

employees are prevented. 

D. VPP participants are selected based on their written 

safety and health management system, the effective 

implementation of this system over time, and their 

performance in meeting VPP requirements. Not all worksites 

are appropriate candidates for VPP. At qualifying sites, all 

personnel are involved in the effort to maintain rigorous, 

detailed attention to safety and health. VPP participants often 

mentor other worksites interested in improving safety and 

health, participate in safety and health outreach and training 

initiatives, share best practices, and promote excellence in 

safety and health in their industries and communities. 

E. VPP participants must demonstrate continuous 

improvement in the operation and impact of their safety and 

health management systems. Annual VPP self-evaluations 

help participant's measure success, identify areas needing 

improvement, and determine needed changes. VOSH onsite 

evaluation teams verify this improvement. 

F. Participation in VPP does not diminish employee and 

employer rights and responsibilities under VOSH laws, 

standards, and regulations. 

G. The provisions of this chapter are intended to provide 

solely for the safety, health, and welfare of employees and the 

benefits thereof shall not run to any applicant, participant, or 

any other person nor shall a third party have any right of 

action for breach of any provision of this chapter except as 

otherwise specifically provided [ herein in this chapter ]. 

H. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to in any way 

limit the commissioner's discretion to use department 

personnel and resources in accordance with the powers and 

duties as set forth in Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

16VAC25-200-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"90-day item" means compliance related issues that must be 

corrected within a maximum of 90 days, with effective 

protection provided to employees in the interim. 

"Annual evaluation" means a participant's yearly self-

assessment to gauge the effectiveness of all required VPP 

elements and any other elements of the safety and health 

management system. 

"Annual submission" means a document written by a 

participant and submitted to the department on or before 

February 15 each year, consisting of the following 

information: updated names and addresses, the participant's 

and applicable contractors' injury and illness case numbers 

and rates, average annual employment and hours worked for 

the previous calendar year, a copy of the most recent annual 

evaluation of the safety and health management system, 

descriptions of significant changes or events, progress made 

on the previous year's recommendations, Merit or one-year 

conditional goals (if applicable), and any success stories. 

"Applicable contractor" means a contractor whose 

employees worked at least 1,000 hours for the participant in 

any calendar quarter within the last 12 months and are not 

directly supervised by the applicant or participant. 

[ "Applicant" means an employer that has submitted an 

application for one of the Voluntary Protection Programs 

specified in 16VAC25-200-40 that has been accepted but has 
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not yet been approved for participation. Depending on the 

context used in this chapter, an employer's application may 

concern one or more locations or sites. ]  

"Challenge" means a voluntary protection program that 

provides participating employers and workers a three-stage 

process to work with their designated Challenge 

administrators to develop and improve their safety and health 

management program. VOSH-approved volunteer third party 

Challenge administrators collaborate with participating 

employers to improve safety and health management 

programs through mentoring, training, and progress tracking. 

"Challenge administrator" means selected individuals in 

organizations such as corporations, state agencies, or 

nonprofit associations that have met VOSH VPP criteria, 

including dedicated resources to administer the Challenge 

program for their worksites or members or other 

organizations' worksites or members. Administrators are 

involved in the application and review processes. In certain 

situations as specified by the commissioner, VOSH can serve 

as a Challenge administrator. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry or his designees. 

[ "Commissioner of Labor and Industry" means only the 

individual who is Commissioner of Labor and Industry. ] 

"Contract employees" means workers who are employed by 

a company that provides services under contract to the VPP 

applicant or participant, usually at the VPP applicant's or 

participant's worksite. 

"Days away, restricted, or transfer case incidence rate" or 

"DART rate" means the rate of all injuries and illnesses 

resulting in days away from work, restricted work activity, or 

job transfer. This rate is calculated for a worksite for a 

specified period of time, usually one to three years. 

"Department" means the Department of Labor and Industry. 

"Mentoring" means the assistance that a VPP participant 

provides to another [ company employer ] to improve that 

site's safety and health management system or prepare it for 

VPP application or participation.  

"Merit goal" means a target for improving one or more 

deficient safety and health management system elements for a 

participant approved to the Merit program. A Merit goal must 

be met in order for a site to achieve Star status. 

"Merit program" means a program designed for worksites 

that have demonstrated the potential and commitment to 

achieve Star quality but need to further improve their safety 

and health management system. A worksite may be 

designated as "Merit" when, during an initial Star certification 

review, the VOSH review team determines that not all Star 

requirements are being fully met. In the case of a Merit 

designation, the participant must complete specified Merit 

goals in order to achieve Star status and continue in VPP. 

"Merit" is not a participation level that can be applied for. 

"Misclassification" means when an employer improperly 

classifies a worker as an independent contractor who should 

in fact be an employee. 

"Model system" means an exemplary, voluntarily 

implemented worker safety and health management system 

that (i) implements comprehensive safety and health 

programs that exceed basic compliance with occupational 

safety and health laws and regulations and (ii) meets the VPP 

requirements of this chapter. 

[ "Nested contractor" means a contractor whose employees 

are supervised by the applicant or participant and are 

regularly intermingled with the host participant's employees. ]  

"One-year conditional goal" means a target for correcting 

deficiencies in safety and health management system 

elements or sub-elements identified by VOSH during the 

onsite evaluation of a Star participant. 

"Onsite assistance visit" means a visit to an applicant or 

participant site by [ agency department ] personnel or other 

nonenforcement personnel to offer assistance, including help 

with its application, conduct of a records review, or make 

general observations about the site's safety and health 

management system. 

"Onsite evaluation" means a visit to an applicant or 

participant site by a VOSH onsite evaluation team to 

determine whether the site qualifies to participate, continue 

participation, or advance within VPP. 

"Onsite evaluation report" means a document written by the 

VOSH onsite evaluation team and consisting of the site 

report. This document contains the team's assessment of the 

safety and health management system and the team's 

recommendation regarding approval of the applicant or 

reapproval of the participant in VPP. 

"Onsite evaluation team" means an interdisciplinary group 

of VOSH professionals and private industry volunteers who 

conduct onsite evaluations. The team normally consists of a 

team leader, a backup team leader, safety and health 

specialists, and other specialists as appropriate. 

[ "Participant" means an employer that has submitted an 

application and been approved for one of the Voluntary 

Protection Programs specified in 16VAC25-200-40. 

Depending on the context used in this chapter, a "participant" 

may have one or more active physical locations or sites. ]  

"Private industry volunteer" or "PIV" means a volunteer 

from a VPP site or corporation knowledgeable in safety and 

health management system assessment, formally trained in 

the policies and procedures of VPP, and determined by 

VOSH to be qualified to perform as a team member on a VPP 

onsite evaluation. 
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"Recommendations" means suggested improvements noted 

by the onsite evaluation team that are not requirements for 

VPP participation but would enhance the effectiveness of the 

site's safety and health management system. Compliance with 

VOSH standards is a requirement, not a recommendation. 

"Safety and health management system" means a method of 

preventing worker fatalities, injuries, and illnesses through 

the ongoing planning, implementation, integration, and 

control of four interdependent elements: management 

leadership and employee involvement, worksite analysis, 

hazard prevention and control, and safety and health training. 

"Star program" means the program within VPP designed for 

participants whose safety and health management systems 

operate in a highly effective, self-sufficient manner and meet 

all VPP requirements. Star is the highest level of VPP 

participation. 

"Temporary employee" means an employee hired on a 

nonpermanent basis by the applicant or participant site. 

"Total case incidence rate" or "TCIR" means a number that 

represents the total recordable injuries and illnesses per 100 

full-time employees, calculated for a worksite for a specified 

period of time (usually one to three years). 

"Voluntary Protection Program" or "VPP" means a 

voluntary program under which the commissioner recognizes 

and partners with workplaces in which a model system has 

been implemented. 

"Voluntary Protection Program Participants' Association" or 

"VPPPA" means a nonprofit § 50l(c)(3) organization whose 

members are involved in VPP. The mission of the VPPPA is 

to promote safety, health, and environmental excellence 

through cooperative efforts among employees, management, 

and government. 

"VOSH" means the Virginia Occupational Safety and Health 

program of the Department of Labor and Industry. 

16VAC25-200-30. Categories of participation. 

A. Categories of participation may include: 

1. Site-based fixed worksites and long-term construction 

sites, including traditional Star and Merit designations. 

2. Challenge participants where employers are guided by 

challenge administrators through a three-stage process, 

which can prepare [ a company an employer ] to achieve 

VPP Star status. 

3. Mobile workforce participants where employers often 

work as subcontractors and move from site to site. 

4. Corporate participants that have adopted VPP on a large 

scale. 

B. Levels of recognition: 

1. Star worksite status recognizes the safety and health 

excellence of worksites where workers are successfully 

protected from fatality, injury, and illness by the 

implementation of comprehensive and effective workplace 

safety and health management systems. These worksites 

are self-sufficient in identifying and controlling workplace 

hazards. 

2. Merit worksite status recognizes worksites that have 

good safety and health management systems and that show 

the willingness, commitment, and ability to achieve site-

specific goals that will qualify them for Star participation. 

a. If the onsite evaluation team recommends participation 

in the Merit program, the site must then complete a set of 

goals in order to maintain Merit status and qualify for the 

Star program. 

b. Merit goals must address Star requirements not 

presently in place or aspects of the safety and health 

management system that are not up to Star quality. 

c. Methods for improving the safety and health 

management system that will address identified problem 

areas must be included in Merit goals. 

d. Correction of a specific hazardous condition must be a 

90-day item, not a Merit goal. However, when a safety 

and health management system deficiency underlies a 

specific hazardous condition, then corrections to the 

system must be included as Merit goals. 

e. Reducing a three-year TCIR or DART rate to below 

the national average is not by itself an appropriate Merit 

goal. Corrections to safety and health management 

system deficiencies underlying the high rate must be 

included in the Merit goals. 

f. Merit worksites are given a three-year conditional goal 

of achieving Star status. A participant must meet Star rate 

requirements within the first two years of its Merit 

participation. This is to afford an additional year's 

experience, for a total of no more than three years to gain 

Star approval. 

g. A Merit participant qualifies for Star when it has met 

its Merit goals, Star rate requirements, and when all other 

safety and health elements and sub-elements are 

operating at Star quality. 

h. A Merit participant may qualify for the Star program 

before the end of its Merit term if the participant meets 

all conditions in subdivision 2 g of this subsection. 

3. Challenge recognizes three stages of accomplishment as 

specified in 16VAC25-200-40 B. 
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C. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prohibit the 

commissioner from establishing programs that are site-

specific, company-wide, statewide, or any combination 

thereof. 

16VAC25-200-40. Ways to participate. 

A. Site-based fixed participation is directed at the owners 

and site officials who control site operations and have 

ultimate responsibility for assuring safe and healthful 

working conditions of:  

1. Private-sector fixed worksites in general industry; 

2. Construction worksites or projects that will have been in 

operation for at least 12 months at the projected time of 

approval and that expect to continue in operation for at 

least an additional 12 months; 

3. State and local government sector fixed worksites; 

4. Resident contractors at participating VPP sites for the 

contractors' operations at those VPP sites; [ or ]  

5. Resident contractors at nonparticipating sites for the 

contractors' operations at those sites, so long as the resident 

contractors are part of a larger organization approved to 

participate under the corporate option. 

B. Challenge provides participating employers and workers 

an avenue to work with designated Challenge administrators 

to develop or improve their safety and health management 

system. Challenge participants do not generally receive 

exemptions from VOSH programmed inspections, although it 

is within the commissioner's discretion to design programs 

that permit exemption from programmed inspections for 

successful Stage 3 applicants. 

Challenge administrators collaborate with participating 

employers to improve their safety and health management 

programs in three stages through mentoring, training, and 

progress tracking: 

1. Stage 1 - assess, learn, and develop. Challenge 

participants learn the elements necessary to develop and 

implement an effective safety and health management 

program; assess performance of existing safety and health 

programs and policies; provide training to management 

and workers; and develop strategies, programs, and 

policies. 

2. Stage 2 - implement, track, and control. Challenge 

participants complete and implement policies and 

programs developed in Stage 1; continue to enhance and 

develop their safety and health management program; 

implement and improve their safety and health 

management program; and begin to incorporate policies for 

contractor [ or and ] special trade contractor safety and 

health management program requirements. 

3. Stage 3 - reassess, monitor, and improve. Challenge 

participants monitor, reassess, and continuously improve 

their safety and health management program. Challenge 

participants who complete Stage 3 have a safety and health 

management system sufficiently advanced for the 

participant to begin the application process for VPP Star 

certification. 

C. Mobile workforce companies typically function as 

contractors or subcontractors that may or may not have the 

authority for safety and health for an entire worksite and for 

those companies that have employees that move site to site, 

such as a specialty trade contractor or repair and maintenance 

company, regardless of size or length and duration of the 

project or service. 

D. VPP corporate is designed for corporate applicants who 

demonstrate a strong commitment to employee safety and 

health and VPP. These applicants, typically large corporations 

or state or local government agencies, have adopted VPP on a 

large scale for protecting the safety and health of their 

employees. VPP corporate applicants must have established 

standardized corporate-level safety and health management 

systems that are effectively implemented organization-wide, 

as well as internal audit or screening processes that evaluate 

their facilities for safety and health performance.  

16VAC25-200-50. Application requirements. 

A. Term of participation. 

1. There is no time limit to the term of participation in Star, 

as long as a site continues to meet all Star requirements 

and to maintain Star quality.  

2. Fixed-site construction participation ceases with the 

completion of the construction project. 

3. There is no time limit to the term of participation for 

mobile worksite, corporate, or Challenge site as long as the 

participant continues to meet all applicable requirements 

and maintain quality systems. 

B. Injury and illness history requirements. 

1. Injury and illness history is evaluated using a three-year 

total case incident rate (TCIR) and a three-year day away, 

restricted, or transfer case incident rate (DART rate). The 

three-year TCIR and DART rates must be compared to the 

published Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) national 

average for the five-digit or six-digit North American 

Industrial Classification System (NAICS) code for the 

industry in which the applicant is classified. The BLS 

publishes NAICS industry averages two years after data is 

collected. For example, in calendar year 2016, calendar 

year 2014 national averages will be available and used for 

comparison. 
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2. Both the three-year TCIR and the three-year DART rate 

must be below one of the three most recently published 

BLS national averages for the specific NAICS code. 

3. Some smaller worksites may be eligible to use the 

alternate rate calculation as provided for in VOSH written 

procedures. 

C. VOSH inspection history.  

1. The applicant must not have been issued final VOSH 

citations related to a fatality in the preceding three-year 

period prior to application submission. In the event that the 

[ company employer ] elects to contest a citation related to 

a VOSH fatality, the [ company employer ] may not submit 

a VPP application until such time as all fatality-related 

citations have become a final order of the [ commissioner 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry ]. 

2. If VOSH has inspected an applicant site in the 36 

months preceding the application, the inspection, 

abatement, and any other history of interaction with VOSH 

must indicate good faith attempts by the employer to 

improve safety and health at the site. This includes 

verification of correction of all serious violations. In 

addition, the existence of any of the following at the site 

precludes the site's participation in VPP: 

a. Open enforcement investigations; 

b. Pending or open contested citations or notices under 

appeal at the time of application; 

c. Affirmed willful or antidiscrimination whistleblower 

violations under § 40.1-51.2:1 of the Code of Virginia 

during the 36 months prior to application; 

d. Documented instances of misclassification of 

employees during the 36 months prior to application; 

[ or ]  

e. Unresolved, outstanding enforcement actions, such as 

long-term abatement agreements or contests. 

D. Contract worker coverage. 

1. Workers for applicable contractors must be provided 

with safety and health protection equal in quality to that 

provided to participant employees. 

2. All contractors, whether regularly involved in routine 

site operations or engaged in temporary projects such as 

construction or repair, must follow the safety and health 

rules of the host site. 

3. VPP participants must have in place a documented 

oversight and management system covering applicable 

contractors to: 

a. Ensure that safety and health considerations are 

addressed during the process of selecting contractors and 

when contractors are on site; 

b. Ensure that contractors follow site safety rules; 

c. Include provisions for timely identification, correction, 

and tracking of uncontrolled hazards in contractor work 

areas; [ and ]  

d. Include a provision for removing a contractor or 

contractor's employees from the site for safety or health 

violations.  

4. Nested contractors, such as contracted maintenance 

workers, and temporary employees who are supervised by 

host site management and governed by the site's safety and 

health management system are entitled to the same 

workplace protections as host employees and are therefore 

included in the host site's injury and illness rates. 

5. Site management must maintain copies of the TCIR and 

DART rate data for all applicable contractors based on 

hours worked at the site. Sites must report all applicable 

contractor TCIR and DART rate data to VOSH annually.  

6. Managers, supervisors, and nonsupervisory employees 

of contract employers must be made aware of: 

a. The hazards they may encounter while on the site. 

b. How to recognize hazardous conditions and the signs 

and symptoms of workplace-related illnesses and 

injuries. 

c. The implemented hazard controls, including safe work 

procedures. 

d. Emergency procedures. 

E. Assurances. 

1. Applicants must understand and agree, through 

assurances, to fulfill program requirements for 

participation in VPP. 

2. Applicants must assure that: 

a. The applicant will comply with VOSH laws, standards, 

and regulations and will correct in a timely manner all 

hazards discovered through self-inspections, employee 

notification, accident investigations, VOSH onsite 

review, process hazard reviews, annual evaluations, or 

any other means. The applicant will provide effective 

interim protection as necessary. 

b. Site deficiencies related to compliance with VOSH 

requirements and identified during the VOSH onsite 

review will be corrected within 90 days, with interim 

protection provided to employees. 

c. Site employees support the VPP application. 

d. VPP elements are in place, and the requirements of the 

elements will be met and maintained. 

e. Employees, including newly hired employees and 

contract employees when they reach the site, will have 
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the VPP explained to them, including employee rights 

under the program and VOSH laws, standards, and 

regulations. 

f. Employees performing safety and health duties as part 

of the applicant's safety and health management system 

will be protected from discriminatory actions resulting 

from their carrying out such duties. See § 40.1-51.2:1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

g. Employees will have access to the results of self-

inspections, accident investigations, and other safety and 

health management system data upon request. At 

unionized sites, this requirement may be met through the 

employee representative's access to these results. 

h. The information listed in this subdivision 2 h will be 

maintained and available for VOSH review to determine 

initial and continued approval to the VPP: 

(1) Written safety and health management system; 

(2) Agreements between management and the collective 

bargaining agents concerning safety and health; [ and ]  

(3) Data necessary to evaluate the achievement of 

individual Merit goals or one-year conditional goals. 

i. On or before February 15 each year, each participating 

site must submit its annual evaluation to the department. 

j. Whenever significant organizational, ownership, union, 

or operational changes occur, such as a change in 

management, corporate takeover, merger, or 

consolidation, a new statement of commitment signed by 

both management and any authorized collective 

bargaining agents, as appropriate, will be provided to 

VOSH within 60 days of the effective date of the 

significant changes. 

3. The applicant must demonstrate a willingness to follow 

through on all assurances. 

4. Employees must be aware of the recourse available to 

them if management fails to fulfill any of these assurances. 

This may include rescinding their support of VPP 

participation or exercising the right to file a VOSH 

complaint. 

F. Preapplication assistance. 

1. Department personnel may conduct onsite assistance 

visits of a prospective applicant's site to offer assistance in 

the application process or before scheduling the onsite 

evaluation to obtain additional information or clarification 

of information provided in the application. 

2. Preapplication assistance may also include referrals to 

the VPP mentoring program, Virginia VPP best practices 

training sessions, VPPPA conferences, and VPPPA 

application workshops. 

G. Application receipt and review. 

1. The commissioner shall establish written procedures to 

address requirements concerning receipt and review of 

application contents, including the comprehensive safety 

and health management system requirements outlined in 

16VAC25-200-60. 

2. If, upon review, the application is considered 

incomplete, the department shall notify the applicant by 

letter, noting the missing elements and requesting that the 

missing information be submitted within 90 days. If the 

additional information is not provided within that 

timeframe, the application must be returned to the 

applicant. Applications can be resubmitted at any time. 

3. If it is clear that the applicant cannot qualify for VPP, 

the department must ask the applicant to withdraw the 

application within 30 days. If the application is not 

withdrawn, the application will be returned with a letter 

indicating the reasons the application was denied. 

4. An applicant may withdraw the application by notifying 

the department. The withdrawal is effective on the date the 

notification is received. The original application must be 

returned to the applicant. If the application had already 

been accepted, the department must retain a working copy 

for one year, for use in responding to questions that may 

arise.  

16VAC25-200-60. Comprehensive safety and health 

management system requirements. 

A. The elements for VPP shall include the following 

requirements for VPP participation: 

1. Upper management leadership and active and 

meaningful employee involvement; 

2. Systematic assessment of occupational hazards; 

3. Comprehensive hazard prevention, mitigation, and 

control programs; 

4. Employee safety and health training; and 

5. Safety and health program evaluation. 

B. The commissioner shall establish written procedures to 

address applicant and participant requirements concerning the 

elements and sub-elements appropriate to the program: 

1. Management commitment; 

2. VPP commitment; 

3. Employee involvement; 

4. Contract worker coverage; 

5. Safety and health management system evaluation; 

6. Worksite analysis; 
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7. Baseline and comprehensive safety and industrial 

hygiene hazard analysis; 

8. Hazard analysis of routine jobs, tasks, and processes; 

9. Hazard analysis of significant changes; 

10. Pre-use analysis; 

11. Documentation and use of hazard analysis; 

12. Routine self-inspections; 

13. Hazard reporting system for employees; 

14. Industrial hygiene (IH) program; 

a. IH surveys; 

b. Sampling strategy; 

c. Sampling results; 

d. Documentation; 

e. Communication; 

f. Use of results; 

g. IH expertise; 

h. Procedures; and 

i. Use of contractors for IH surveys; 

15. Analysis of injury, illness, and near-hit incidents; 

16. Trend analysis; 

17. Hazard prevention and control; 

18. Certified professional resources; 

19. Hazard elimination and control methods; 

a. Engineering; 

b. [ Adminstrative Administrative ]; 

c. Work practices; and 

d. PPE; 

20. Hazard control programs; 

21. Compliance with applicable Virginia unique 

occupational safety and health regulations; 

22. Occupational health care program; 

23. Preventative maintenance of equipment; 

24. Tracking of hazard correction; 

25. Disciplinary system; 

26. Emergency preparedness and response; and 

27. Safety and health training. 

16VAC25-200-70. Certification process. 

A. Evaluation periods. The commissioner shall establish 

written procedures to set time periods and scheduling 

requirements for onsite evaluations in response to initial 

applications accepted by the department and for 

recertification of participants. 

B. Scheduling exceptions. Onsite evaluations shall be 

conducted earlier than normal scheduled requirements when: 

1. Significant changes have occurred in management, 

processes, or products that may require evaluation to 

ensure the site is maintaining a VPP quality safety and 

health management system.  

2. VOSH has learned of significant problems at the site, 

such as increasing injury and illness rates, serious 

deficiencies described in the site's annual evaluation of its 

safety and health management system, or deficiencies 

discovered through VOSH enforcement activity resulting 

from an employee complaint, fatality, accident, or other 

event. 

C. Decision to conduct the onsite evaluation. Once an 

application is accepted, the department must: 

1. Notify the [ site applicant ] by letter or email in a timely 

manner that an onsite evaluation will be conducted. 

However, no onsite evaluation may be conducted until all 

prior enforcement actions have been closed. 

2. Notify the appropriate VOSH enforcement personnel so 

that the site can be removed from any programmed 

inspection lists, effective no more than 75 days prior to the 

scheduled onsite review. 

D. Methods of evaluation. The three primary methods of 

evaluation during the certification or recertification process 

are document review, walkthrough, and employee interviews. 

Additional activities that must occur are the opening 

conference, daily briefings, report preparation, and closing 

conference. The onsite evaluation team must evaluate each 

element and sub-element of the safety and health 

management system and VPP requirements.  

E. Recommendations. At the conclusion of the onsite 

evaluation, the onsite evaluation team must reach a consensus 

to recommend to the [ commissioner Commissioner of Labor 

and Industry ] as to whether the site is suitable for 

participation or continued participation in VPP, and at what 

level of participation. 

16VAC25-200-80. Onsite evaluations. 

A. Onsite evaluation team. An onsite evaluation consists of 

a thorough evaluation of a VPP applicant's or participant's 

safety and health management system in order to recommend 

approval or re-approval. Onsite evaluations are carried out by 

a team consisting of VOSH staff acting in a nonenforcement 
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capacity, private industry volunteers, and other qualified team 

members. 

B. Onsite evaluation procedures. The commissioner shall 

establish written procedures for onsite evaluations of 

applicants and participants undergoing recertification. The 

procedures shall address issues including: 

1. Prioritizing and scheduling onsite evaluations; 

2. Inclusion of union representatives, if any, in the opening 

and closing conferences and the opportunity to accompany 

the onsite evaluation team on the site walkthrough; 

3. Onsite evaluation team composition, qualifications, 

preparation, and assessment of personal protective 

equipment needed; 

4. Opening conference subjects, review of injury and 

illness records, incentive programs, document review, 

walkthrough, review of safety and health management 

system elements and sub-elements, formal and informal 

interviews of employees, including applicable contractor 

employees, and closing conference subjects and 

recommendations; 

5. Employee rights under the program and under VOSH 

laws, standards, and regulations; and 

6. Assuring that employees performing safety and health 

duties as part of the applicant's safety and health 

management system will be protected from discriminatory 

actions resulting from their carrying out such duties, 

pursuant to § 40.1-51.2:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Correction of hazards. 

1. As hazards are found and discussed during the 

walkthrough, the onsite evaluation team must add them to 

a written list of the uncontrolled hazards identified. This 

list will be used when the team briefs site management at 

the end of each day on site. 

2. VOSH expects that every effort will be made by the site 

to correct identified hazards before the closing conference. 

If hazard correction cannot be accomplished before the 

conclusion of the onsite evaluation, the onsite evaluation 

team and site management must discuss and agree upon 

correction methods and timeframes. 

3. The site may be given up to a maximum of 90 days to 

correct uncontrolled hazards, as long as interim protection 

is provided. These 90-day items must be corrected before 

the final onsite evaluation report can be processed. 

Management must provide the team leader with a signed 

letter indicating how and when the correction will be made. 

The team leader may decide to return to the site to verify 

correction. 

4. If, after repeated attempts to reach agreement, site 

management refuses to correct a situation that exposes 

employees to serious safety or health hazards, that situation 

shall be referred for enforcement action. 

5. Should any identified hazard be determined to present a 

risk of imminent danger to life or health of an employee, 

department personnel shall assure that its procedures for 

immediately removing employees from exposure to the 

hazard until corrected are complied with by the applicant 

or participant. 

D. Deficiencies in the safety and health management system. 

Where the team detects deficiencies in the safety and health 

management system, even when physical hazards are not 

present, the onsite evaluation team must document these 

deficiencies as goals for correction, recommendations for 

improvement, or both. 

1. If the system deficiency is a requirement for VPP at the 

Star level, it must become the subject of a goal, either a 

Merit goal or a one-year conditional goal.  

[ 2. A deficiency resulting in a one-year conditional goal 

indicates that a participant no longer fully meets Star 

requirements. For the conditional status to be lifted, (i) the 

deficiency must be corrected within 90 days, and (ii) the 

participant must then operate at the Star level for one year. 

Failure to meet this requirement will result in termination 

from VPP in accordance with the requirements of 

16VAC25-200-110 C. 

3. A Merit goal must be met in order for a site to achieve 

Star status.  

4. ] Implementation of goals is mandatory for VPP 

participation. Timeframes, interim protection, and methods 

of achieving goals must be discussed and agreed to with 

site management.  

[ 2. 5. ] If improvement of the system deficiency is not 

necessarily a requirement for VPP, but will improve 

worker safety and health at the site, the improvement must 

be a recommendation. Implementation of 

recommendations is encouraged but is not mandatory for 

VPP participation. 

E. Final analysis of findings. 

1. When the documentation review, the walkthrough, and 

employee interviews have been completed, the onsite 

evaluation team must meet privately to review and 

summarize its findings before conducting the closing 

conference. 

2. A draft of the certification or recertification report shall 

be completed by the team before leaving the site. The draft 

report must reflect the consensus of the onsite evaluation 

team. 

F. Closing conference. The findings of the onsite evaluation 

team, including its recommendation to the commissioner, 
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must be presented to site management and appropriate 

employee representatives before the team leaves the site. 

16VAC25-200-90. Annual submissions. 

A. Annual self-assessment. 

1. Participation in VPP requires each site or participant to 

annually evaluate the effectiveness of its safety and health 

management system, including the effectiveness of all VPP 

elements and sub-elements. 

2. The commissioner shall establish written procedures 

establishing the content and reporting requirements of 

participant annual submissions.  

3. Annual submissions are due on or before February 15 

each year. 

B. Applicable contractors. Participants shall report on the 

injury and illness data for all applicable contractors. 

16VAC25-200-100. Enforcement activity at Voluntary 

Protection Program sites. 

A. Types of enforcement activity. Two types of enforcement 

activity trigger additional VPP assessment: 

1. Unprogrammed VOSH inspections, which occur in 

response to all referrals, formal complaints, fatalities, and 

certain accidents. 

2. Other incidents or events, whether or not injuries or 

illnesses have occurred and whether or not normal 

enforcement procedures apply to the situation.  

B. Site reassessment. VOSH may reassess the site's safety 

and health management system if there is reason to believe 

that a serious deficiency exists that would have an impact on 

the site's continued qualification for VPP. 

C. Enforcement personnel. The commissioner shall establish 

written procedures describing the use of enforcement 

personnel during onsite evaluations and any limitations 

placed on their conducting an enforcement inspection at a 

VPP site. 

D. Impact of enforcement activity. 

1. If the event that triggers enforcement activity occurs 

during the time between application and onsite evaluation, 

the onsite evaluation must be postponed until the 

enforcement case is closed.  

2. If the event that triggers enforcement activity occurs 

during the onsite evaluation, the onsite evaluation must 

cease until the enforcement case is closed. 

16VAC25-200-110. Withdrawal, suspension, or 

termination. 

A. Withdrawal. 

1. Participants may withdraw of their own accord or be 

asked by VOSH to withdraw from the programs. 

2. Any participant may choose to withdraw voluntarily at 

any time. 

3. VOSH shall request that a participant withdraw from 

VPP if it is determined that it is no longer meeting the 

requirements for VPP participation. 

4. The commissioner shall establish written withdrawal 

procedures that (i) provide for the participant's formal 

notification to the department, (ii) the commissioner's 

acknowledgment of receipt and notification to the 

participant of the status change, (iii) notification to 

department personnel of the status change, (iv) return of 

the participant to the VOSH programmed inspection list, 

and (v) disposition of the VPP participant file. 

5. The commissioner shall establish written procedures to 

address a VPP participant's change of location that 

establishes criteria for determining whether the participant 

can retain its VPP status or must withdraw. 

6. The commissioner will consider the [ company's 

employer's ] reapplication to VPP if and when eligibility 

requirements are met. 

B. Suspension. 

1. Participants that experience a work-related fatality, 

whether an employee or contract employee, may be 

immediately suspended from program participation until 

such time as a VOSH fatality investigation can be 

completed. 

2. The commissioner shall establish written procedures to 

address a VPP participant's temporary suspension from 

VPP, that provides for the department's formal notification 

to the participant and removal of the VPP flag or other 

recognition device from display until the suspension is 

lifted [ in accordance with the provisions of §§ 2.2-4019 

and 2.2-4021 of the Code of Virginia. Decisions of the 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry may be appealed in 

the manner provided for in §§ 2.2-4026 through 2.2-4029 

of the Code of Virginia ]. 

3. A participant's suspension will not result in the 

participant being returned to the VOSH programmed 

inspection list. 

C. Termination. 

1. The [ commissioner Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry ] may terminate a participant from the VPP for 

failure to maintain the requirements of the program.  
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2. In the event a fatality investigation shows substantial 

deficiencies in the participant's safety and health programs, 

such that during a normal certification audit the types of 

deficiencies would have precluded the participant from 

participation in the VPP, the [ commissioner 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry ], in his discretion, 

may terminate the participation in VPP. 

3. If a whistleblower investigation pursuant to §§ 40.1-

51.2:1 and 40.1-51.2:2 of the Code of Virginia shows 

substantial deficiencies in the participant's safety and 

health programs, such that during a normal certification 

audit the types of deficiencies would have precluded the 

site from participation in the VPP, the [ commissioner 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry ], in his discretion, 

may terminate the participation in VPP. 

4. Under most other situations, termination should occur 

only when all reasonable efforts for assistance have been 

exhausted.  

5. The commissioner shall establish written termination 

procedures that provide for the commissioner's formal 

notification to the participant and union representatives, an 

appeal process, and notification of the [ commissioner's 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry's ] final decision [ in 

accordance with the provisions of §§ 2.2-4019 and 2.2-

4021 of the Code of Virginia. Decisions of the 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry may be appealed in 

the manner provided for in §§ 2.2-4026 through 2.2-4029 

of the Code of Virginia ].  

6. If the [ commissioner Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry ] finds the participant's appeal valid, the 

participant may continue in VPP.  

7. In the event of a final decision to terminate, the written 

procedures shall provide for notification to department 

personnel of the status change, return of the participant to 

the VOSH programmed inspection list, and disposition of 

the VPP participant file. If a terminated participant wishes 

to pursue reinstatement, it must wait three years to reapply.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4468; Filed December 5, 2017, 8:44 a.m.  

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Commission is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 15 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 

regulations adopted pursuant to § 65.2-605 of the Code of 

Virginia, including regulations that adopt, amend, adjust, or 

repeal Virginia fee schedules for medical services, provided 

the commission (i) utilizes a regulatory advisory panel 

constituted as provided in subdivision F 2 of § 65.2-605 to 

assist in the development of such regulations and (ii) provides 

an opportunity for public comment on the regulations prior to 

adoption. The commission will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC30-110. Medical Fee Schedule 

Regulations (adding 16VAC30-110-10 through 16VAC30-

110-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 65.2-605 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 24, 2018.  

Agency Contact: James J. Szablewicz, Chief Deputy 

Commissioner, Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Commission, 333 East Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 205-3097, FAX (804) 823-6936, or email 

james.szablewicz@workcomp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action establishes and implements the 

medical fee schedules required by § 65.2-605 of the Code 

of Virginia for all medical services rendered to injured 

workers under the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act on 

or after January 1, 2018, regardless of the date of injury. 

The schedules establish the maximum amount payable for 

fee schedule medical services, which include services 

provided by physicians, surgeons, hospitals, ambulatory 

surgery centers, and other health care service providers 

and suppliers.  

CHAPTER 110 

MEDICAL FEE SCHEDULES REGULATIONS 

16VAC30-110-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Commission" means the Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Commission. 

"Community" means one of the six medical communities as 

defined in § 65.2-605 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Ground rules" means the Medical Fee Schedule Ground 

Rules adopted by the Commission on June 13, 2017, and 

revised on November 14, 2017, incorporated by reference and 

available on the commission's website at 

http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-

fee-schedules-ground-rules. 

"Medical services" means any medical, surgical, or hospital 

service required to be provided to an injured person pursuant 

to Title 65.2 of the Code of Virginia, exclusive of a medical 

service provided in the treatment of a traumatic injury or 

serious burn as those terms are defined in § 65.2-605 A of the 

Code of Virginia. 

http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules
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"Virginia fee schedules" means the fee schedules adopted by 

the commission on June 13, 2017, and revised on November 

14, 2017, incorporated by reference and available on the 

commission's website at 

http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-

fee-schedules. 

16VAC30-110-20. Applicability of fee schedules and 

ground rules; determination of communities. 

A. The Virginia fee schedules and ground rules shall apply 

to all medical services rendered on or after January 1, 2018, 

regardless of the date of injury. 

B. The applicable community for providers of medical 

services rendered in the Commonwealth shall be determined 

by the zip code of the location where the services were 

rendered.  

C. The applicable community for providers of medical 

services rendered outside of the Commonwealth shall be 

determined by the zip code of the principal place of business 

of the employer if located in the Commonwealth or, if no 

such location exists, then the zip code of the location where 

the commission hearing regarding a dispute concerning the 

services would be conducted. 

16VAC30-110-30. Disputes. 

A. Administrative review process. Any dispute concerning 

the application of the Virginia fee schedules and ground rules 

to a particular medical service shall be submitted to the 

commission for an administrative review and determination 

according to such procedures as the commission may adopt 

from time to time. 

B. Judicial review. If a request for hearing is made to the 

commission within 30 days after issuance of an 

administrative decision pursuant to subsection A of this 

section, the dispute shall be referred to the appropriate 

hearing docket and adjudicated in the same manner as 

change-in-condition claims, with the same rights of review 

and appeal as set forth in §§ 65.2-705 and 65.2-706 of the 

Code of Virginia and subject to the applicable Rules of the 

Commission. 

C. Finality. An administrative decision of the commission 

issued pursuant to subsection A of this section shall be final 

and binding 30 days after its issuance unless a request for 

hearing is made pursuant to subsection B of this section. 

16VAC30-110-40. Periodic review of fee schedules. 

The commission shall review the Virginia fee schedules and 

ground rules biannually and shall make necessary 

adjustments as directed by § 65.2-605 D of the Code of 

Virginia. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(16VAC30-110) 

Virginia Workers' Compensation Medical Fee Schedules 

Ground Rules, adopted June 13, 2017, revised November 14, 

2017, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission  

Virginia Workers' Compensation Medical Fee Schedules, 

adopted June 13, 2017, revised November 14, 2017, Virginia 

Workers' Compensation Commission, 

http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-

fee-schedules. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5348; Filed December 5, 2017, 12:19 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-10, 

18VAC60-21-30, 18VAC60-21-40, 18VAC60-21-90, 

18VAC60-21-130, 18VAC60-21-240, 18VAC60-21-250, 

18VAC60-21-260, 18VAC60-21-290, 18VAC60-21-291). 

18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-40, 18VAC60-25-

190). 

18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Assistants (amending 18VAC60-30-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2709.5 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 26, 2018 - 8:50 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Building, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Board Room 4, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: February 23, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. 

The statutory authority for the Board of Dentistry to 

promulgate regulations to determine required equipment 

standards for safe administration and monitoring of sedation 

and anesthesia is found in Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-2700 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2709.5 of the 

http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cbc85005348~1s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005348&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cbc85005348~1s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005348&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cbc85005348~1s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005348&mime=application/pdf
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules
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Code of Virginia addresses permits for sedation and 

anesthesia required. 

Purpose: As stated in the American Dental Association 

(ADA) Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to 

Dentists and Dental Students, "because sedation and general 

anesthesia are a continuum, it is not always possible to 

predict how an individual patient will respond. Hence, 

practitioners intending to produce a given level of sedation 

should be able to diagnose and manage the physiologic 

consequences (rescue) for patients whose level of sedation 

becomes deeper than initially intended." Therefore, the 

guidelines no longer specify a lesser amount of training for 

dentists who only intend to administer by the enteral route. 

The guidelines now specify training in moderate sedation 

adequate to prepare a dentist for an unintended loss of 

consciousness or greater alteration of the state of 

consciousness than is the intent of the dentist. Accordingly, 

regulations of the Board of Dentistry are amended to ensure 

the same level of training and experience as specified in the 

ADA guidelines that are necessary to protect the health and 

safety of patients in the Commonwealth. 

Substance: For consistency with the revised Guidelines for 

Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental 

Students (October 2016), the board has (i) amended the use of 

the term conscious/moderate sedation throughout the chapters 

to refer to moderate sedation; (ii) changed the name of the 

guidelines consistent with the 2016 title; and (iii) eliminated 

the training for dentists to administer moderate sedation by 

the enteral method only as the guidelines no longer make a 

distinction for enteral administration and specify the same 

training for all who administer moderate sedation. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the greater 

protection for the citizens of the Commonwealth who receive 

moderate sedation in dental offices. Adequate training for 

dentists who administer or supervise administration of 

moderate sedation is essential for health and safety of 

patients. There are no disadvantages. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Dentistry (Board) proposes to amend its regulations 

governing dentistry and dental hygiene in response to 

changed and retitled American Dental Association's (ADA) 

guidelines for teaching sedation.1 Specifically and 

substantively, the Board proposes to remove training and 

experience requirements for the Board's permit for enteral 

administration2 only sedation as the ADA now recommends 

that all dentists who will be using conscious or moderate 

sedation be required to complete the training for moderate 

sedation. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulatory action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation allows 

dentists to apply for and receive either a permit for 

conscious/moderate sedation by any method or a permit for 

conscious/moderate sedation by enteral administration only. 

The permit requirements for conscious/moderate sedation by 

any method include 60 hours of didactic training. The permit 

requirements for conscious/moderate sedation by enteral 

administration only include 18 hours of didactic training. The 

Board's dentistry regulation also currently requires that the 

course content for any didactic training that will qualify 

dentists for permitting "be consistent with the ADA's 

Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of 

Anxiety and Pain in Dentistry in effect at the time the training 

occurred." The Board now proposes to eliminate its permit of 

conscious/moderate sedation by enteral administration only 

and require all dentists seeking permits in the future to 

complete the training for moderate sedation by any method. 

The Board also proposes to update the title of the ADA's 

guidelines because the title of the ADA's guidance document 

was also changed. Board staff reports that the elimination of 

enteral administration only permits will not affect dentists 

who currently hold such permits but will affect future 

applicants. 

Board staff reports that they are amending these regulations in 

response to changes in ADA guidelines for teaching sedation. 

The ADA states that they changed their guidelines to 

eliminate enteral administration only training because, 

"sedation and general anesthesia are a continuum, it is not 

always possible to predict how an individual patient will 

respond. Hence, practitioners intending to produce a given 

level of sedation should be able to diagnose and manage the 

physiologic consequences (rescue) for patients whose level of 

sedation becomes deeper than initially intended." Board staff 

reports that they do not have specific data that would indicate 

dentists with enteral administration only permits are 

inadequately trained to handle emergencies or deeper levels 

of sedation that may arise with individual patients. To the 

extent that enteral administration only training might be 

inadequate, patients would likely benefit from requiring more 

training. Any benefit that may arise would need to be 

weighed against the costs that will accrue to affected dentists.  

Dentists who may wish to obtain an enteral administration 

only permit in Virginia going forward will have to, instead, 

incur fees and time costs for the longer training for moderate 

sedation permitting. Board staff reports that a weekend course 

(18 hours of training) that prepares a dentist for enteral 

administration only permitting costs $2,800 plus travel and 

lodging; board staff did an internet search and found costs for 

60-hour moderate sedation courses ranging between $3,750 to 

$14,495 (plus travel and lodging). Given these numbers, the 

cost of moderate sedation training will likely be $950 to 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 25, 2017 

868 

$11,695 higher fee costs than enteral administration only 

training. Additionally, using Bureau of Labor Statistics data3 

for the mean hourly wage of general dentists in Virginia ($85 

per hour)4, affected dentists will likely incur $3,570 in 

additional time costs for completing the additional 42 hours 

of training required for a moderate sedation permit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 

will affect all dentists who seek to obtain a moderate sedation 

permit in the future. This proposed regulation will not affect 

any dentists who obtained an enteral only permit in the past.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by this proposed change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Increasing required hours 

of training for individuals who previously would have chosen 

to apply for an enteral administration only permit, but who 

will have to meet requirements for a moderate sedation permit 

instead, may increase employment for individuals who 

provide such training in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed regulatory change is unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses dentists who may 

wish to obtain an enteral administration only permit in 

Virginia going forward will have to, instead, incur fees and 

time costs for the longer training for moderate sedation 

permitting. Board staff reports that a weekend course (18 

hours of training) that prepares a dentist for enteral 

administration only permitting costs $2,800 plus travel and 

lodging; board staff did an internet search and found costs for 

60-hour moderate sedation courses ranging between $3,750 to 

$14,495 (plus travel and lodging). Given these numbers, the 

cost of moderate sedation training will likely be $950 to 

$11,695 higher fee costs than enteral administration only 

training. Additionally, using Bureau of Labor Statistics data 

for the mean hourly wage of general dentists in Virginia ($85 

per hour), affected dentists will likely incur $3,570 in 

additional time costs for completing the additional 42 hours 

of training required for a moderate sedation permit. As of first 

quarter 2016, there were 3,201 private dental practices in 

Virginia.5 All of these practices would qualify as small 

businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. In the 

absence of direct evidence that enteral administration only 

training does not adequately prepare dentists to respond to 

deepening levels of sedation that may occur when treating 

patients, small business dentists may benefit from being 

allowed enteral administration only permits with training 

requirements in current regulation.6  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Dentists who may wish to obtain an enteral 

administration only permit in Virginia going forward will 

have to, instead, incur fees and time costs for the longer 

training for moderate sedation permitting. Board staff reports 

that a weekend course (18 hours of training) that prepares a 

dentist for enteral administration only permitting costs $2,800 

plus travel and lodging; board staff did an internet search and 

found costs for 60-hour moderate sedation courses ranging 

between $3,750 to $14,495 (plus travel and lodging). Given 

these numbers, the cost of moderate sedation training will 

likely be $950 to $11,695 higher fee costs than enteral 

administration only training. Additionally, using Bureau of 

Labor Statistics data for the mean hourly wage of general 

dentists ($85 per hour), affected dentists will likely incur 

$3,570 in additional time costs for completing the additional 

42 hours of training required for a moderate sedation permit. 

Localities. No locality is likely to suffer adverse impacts on 

account of this proposed regulatory change. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to suffer adverse 

impacts on account of this proposed regulatory change. 

______________________________ 

1Prior to October 2016, as referenced in the Board's Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry, guidelines for teaching sedation were titled 

Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Anxiety and Pain in 
Dentistry. The guidelines for teaching sedation approved by the ADA in 

October 2016 are titled Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to 

Dentists and Dental Students. 

2"Enteral" is defined in these regulations as "any technique of administration 

in which the agent is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract or the oral 

mucosa (i.e., oral, rectal, sublingual)." 

3https://www.bls.gov/oes/2016/may/oes_va.htm 

4This calculation assumes dentists will value their time what roughly their 

mean earnings for that time would be if they were working. Individuals may 
place a greater or lesser value on their own time. 

5Source: Virginia Employment Commission  

6The ADA's pre-2016 guidelines could likely serve as a guide for these 
training requirements. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry does not concur with the result of the economic 

impact analysis (EIA) by the Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) for the proposed regulation, 18VAC60-21, 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry, relating to 

regulations for moderate sedation permits. 
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The EIA noted that the change will affect future applicants 

for such permits. In fact, staff reported to DPB that the 

revised American Dental Association (ADA) for Teaching the 

Comprehensive Control of Anxiety and Pain in Dentistry 

have been enforced since they were changed in October of 

2016. Regulations currently state that training must be 

consistent with ADA guidelines, so applicants for moderate 

permits have already been required to complete the 60-hour 

training requirement for more than a year. Proposed 

amendments clarify the current requirement and are 

consistent with the current guidelines. Therefore, since the 

revised ADA standard is already in effect, it is incorrect to 

state that "this proposed regulation will affect all dentists who 

seek to obtain a moderate sedation permit in the future." 

Staff of the board also reported to DPB that the number of 

hours of training required for an enteral permit has actually 

been 24 rather than 18 hours because that is the number that 

was specified by ADA guidelines in 2007. Although the 

board did not amend its regulations at that time, it has 

enforced the hourly requirement as stated in the guidelines, 

and continuing education providers adopted the 24-hour 

standard. As stated above, the requirement for a moderate 

sedation permit is and always has been completion of training 

as specified in the guidelines. The ADA guidelines are the 

only national standard for sedation and anesthesia in the 

dental profession. Therefore, the EIA is incorrect in stating 

that an additional 42 hours of training is required; in fact, the 

revised ADA guidelines require an additional 36 hours. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action (i) amends the term 

"conscious/moderate sedation" throughout the chapter to 

refer to "moderate sedation," (ii) changes the name of the 

American Dental Association Guidelines for Teaching 

Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students 

for consistency with the revised 2016 title, and (iii) 

eliminates the training for dentists to administer moderate 

sedation by the enteral method only. 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC60-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

"Maxillofacial" 

"Oral and maxillofacial surgeon" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"AAOMS" means the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons.  

"ADA" means the American Dental Association. 

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given 

to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by 

a dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or 

associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his 

facility by any means or method for the purpose of 

inducing purchase, sale, or use of dental methods, services, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products, or to 

promote continued or increased use of such dental 

methods, treatments, operations, procedures, or products. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

of the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual 

serving in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical 

capacity. 

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction 

and direct supervision of a dentist who is registered by the 

board to perform reversible, intraoral procedures as 

specified in 18VAC60-21-150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Mobile dental facility" means a self-contained unit in 

which dentistry is practiced that is not confined to a single 

building and can be transported from one location to 

another. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 

cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth 

structure. 

"Portable dental operation" means a nonfacility in which 

dental equipment used in the practice of dentistry is 

transported to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-

of-office location, including patients' homes, schools, 

nursing homes, or other institutions. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral radiographic 

images of hard and soft tissues used for purposes of 

diagnosis.  

C. The following words and terms relating to supervision as 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  
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"Direct supervision" means that the dentist examines the 

patient and records diagnostic findings prior to delegating 

restorative or prosthetic treatment and related services to a 

dental assistant II for completion the same day or at a later 

date. The dentist prepares the tooth or teeth to be restored 

and remains immediately available in the office to the 

dental assistant II for guidance or assistance during the 

delivery of treatment and related services. The dentist 

examines the patient to evaluate the treatment and services 

before the patient is dismissed.  

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., immediate, 

direct, indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to 

exercise with a dental hygienist, a dental assistant I, or a 

dental assistant II or that a dental hygienist is required to 

exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 

delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist 

during one or more subsequent appointments when the 

dentist may or may not be present. Issuance of the order 

authorizes the dental hygienist to supervise a dental 

assistant performing duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Immediate supervision" means the dentist is in the 

operatory to supervise the administration of sedation or 

provision of treatment. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a 

dental hygienist or a dental assistant who is (i) delivering 

hygiene treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for 

examination or treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing 

the patient for dismissal following treatment. 

"Remote supervision" means that a supervising dentist is 

accessible and available for communication and 

consultation with a dental hygienist during the delivery of 

dental hygiene services but such dentist may not have 

conducted an initial examination of the patients who are to 

be seen and treated by the dental hygienist and may not be 

present with the dental hygienist when dental hygiene 

services are being provided. For the purpose of practice by 

a public health dental hygienist, "remote supervision" 

means that a public health dentist has regular, periodic 

communications with a public health dental hygienist 

regarding patient treatment, but such dentist may not have 

conducted an initial examination of the patients who are to 

be seen and treated by the dental hygienist and may not be 

present with the dental hygienist when dental hygiene 

services are being provided. 

D. The following words and terms relating to sedation or 

anesthesia as used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain. 

"Conscious/moderate sedation" or "moderate sedation" 

means a drug-induced depression of consciousness, during 

which patients respond purposefully to verbal commands, 

either alone or accompanied by light tactile stimulation. 

Reflex withdrawal from a painful stimulus is not 

considered a purposeful response. No interventions are 

required to maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous 

ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular function is usually 

maintained. 

"Deep sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness during which patients cannot be easily 

aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or 

painful stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 

stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. The 

ability to independently maintain ventilatory function may 

be impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining 

a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be 

inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained. 

"Enteral" means any technique of administration in which 

the agent is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract or 

oral mucosa (i.e., oral, rectal, sublingual). 

"General anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of 

consciousness during which patients are not arousable, 

even by painful stimulation. The ability to independently 

maintain ventilator function is often impaired. Patients 

often require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and 

positive pressure ventilation may be required because of 

depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced 

depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular 

function may be impaired.  

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which 

a gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary 

effect is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed. 

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous 

oxide and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensation 

of pain with minimal alteration of consciousness. 

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Minimal sedation" means a drug-induced state during 

which patients respond normally to verbal commands. 

Although cognitive function and physical coordination 

may be impaired, airway reflexes, and ventilator and 

cardiovascular functions are unaffected. Minimal sedation 

includes "anxiolysis" (the diminution or elimination of 

anxiety through the use of pharmacological agents in a 
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dosage that does not cause depression of consciousness) 

and includes "inhalation analgesia" when used in 

combination with any anxiolytic agent administered prior 

to or during a procedure.  

"Moderate sedation" (see the definition of 

conscious/moderate sedation) means a drug-induced 

depression of consciousness, during which patients 

respond purposefully to verbal commands, either alone or 

accompanied by light tactile stimulation. Reflex 

withdrawal from a painful stimulus is not considered a 

purposeful response. No interventions are required to 

maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation is 

adequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained. 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and 

record appropriate physiologic functions of the body 

during sedative procedures and general anesthesia 

appropriate to the level of sedation as provided in Part VI 

(18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular).  

"Titration" means the incremental increase in drug dosage 

to a level that provides the optimal therapeutic effect of 

sedation. 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral 

cavity insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

18VAC60-21-30. Posting requirements. 

A. A dentist who is practicing under a firm name or who is 

practicing as an employee of another dentist is required by 

§ 54.1-2720 of the Code to conspicuously display his name at 

the entrance of the office. The employing dentist, firm, or 

company must enable compliance by designating a space at 

the entrance of the office for the name to be displayed.  

B. In accordance with § 54.1-2721 of the Code a dentist 

shall display his dental license where it is conspicuous and 

readable by patients in each dental practice setting. If a 

licensee practices in more than one office, a duplicate license 

obtained from the board may be displayed. 

C. A dentist who administers, prescribes, or dispenses 

Schedules II through V controlled substances shall maintain a 

copy of his current registration with the federal Drug 

Enforcement Administration in a readily retrievable manner 

at each practice location.  

D. A dentist who administers conscious/moderate moderate 

sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia in a dental 

office shall display his sedation or anesthesia permit issued 

by the board or certificate issued by AAOMS. 

18VAC60-21-40. Required fees. 

A. Application/registration fees. 

1. Dental license by examination $400 

2. Dental license by credentials  $500 

3. Dental restricted teaching license  $285 

4. Dental faculty license $400 

5. Dental temporary resident's license $60 

6. Restricted volunteer license $25 

7. Volunteer exemption registration $10 

8. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $175 

9. Cosmetic procedures certification $225 

10. Mobile clinic/portable operation $250 

11. Conscious/moderate Moderate sedation 

permit 

$100 

12. Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit $100 

B. Renewal fees. 

1. Dental license - active $285 

2. Dental license - inactive  $145 

3. Dental temporary resident's license $35 

4. Restricted volunteer license  $15 

5. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $175 

6. Cosmetic procedures certification  $100 

7. Conscious/moderate Moderate sedation 

permit 

$100 

8. Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit $100 

C. Late fees. 

1. Dental license - active  $100 

2. Dental license - inactive  $50 

3. Dental temporary resident's license  $15 

4. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $55 

5. Cosmetic procedures certification  $35 

6. Conscious/moderate Moderate sedation 

permit 

$35 

7. Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit $35 

D. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Dental license - expired $500 

2. Dental license - suspended $750 

3. Dental license - revoked $1000 
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4. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration $350 

5. Cosmetic procedures certification  $225 

E. Document fees. 

1. Duplicate wall certificate $60 

2. Duplicate license $20 

3. License certification $35 

F. Other fees. 

1. Returned check fee $35 

2. Practice inspection fee  $350 

G. No fee will be refunded or applied for any purpose other 

than the purpose for which the fee is submitted.  

H. For the renewal of licenses, registrations, certifications, 

and permits in 2016, the following fees shall be in effect: 

1. Dentist - active $210 

2. Dentist - inactive $105 

3. Dental full-time faculty $210 

4. Temporary resident $25 

5. Dental restricted volunteer $10 

6. Oral/maxillofacial surgeon registration $130 

7. Cosmetic procedure certification $75 

8. Conscious/moderate Moderate sedation 

certification 

$75 

9. Deep sedation/general anesthesia $75 

10. Mobile clinic/portable operation $110 

18VAC60-21-90. Patient information and records. 

A. A dentist shall maintain complete, legible, and accurate 

patient records for not less than six years from the last date of 

service for purposes of review by the board with the 

following exceptions: 

1. Records of a minor child shall be maintained until the 

child reaches the age of 18 years or becomes emancipated, 

with a minimum time for record retention of six years from 

the last patient encounter regardless of the age of the child; 

2. Records that have previously been transferred to another 

practitioner or health care provider or provided to the 

patient or his personal representative pursuant to § 54.1-

2405 of the Code; or 

3. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law may need to be maintained for a longer period 

of time. 

B. Every patient record shall include the following:  

1. Patient's name on each page in the patient record;  

2. A health history taken at the initial appointment that is 

updated (i) when analgesia, sedation, or anesthesia is to be 

administered; (ii) when medically indicated; and (iii) at 

least annually;  

3. Diagnosis and options discussed, including the risks and 

benefits of treatment or nontreatment and the estimated 

cost of treatment options; 

4. Consent for treatment obtained and treatment rendered;  

5. List of drugs prescribed, administered, or dispensed and 

the route of administration, quantity, dose, and strength;  

6. Radiographs, digital images, and photographs clearly 

labeled with patient name, date taken, and teeth identified;  

7. Notation of each treatment rendered, the date of 

treatment and of the dentist, dental hygienist, and dental 

assistant II providing service;  

8. Duplicate laboratory work orders that meet the 

requirements of § 54.1-2719 of the Code including the 

address and signature of the dentist;  

9. Itemized patient financial records as required by § 54.1-

2404 of the Code; 

10. A notation or documentation of an order required for 

treatment of a patient by a dental hygienist practicing 

under general supervision as required in 18VAC60-21-140 

B; and  

11. The information required for the administration of 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation, deep sedation, and 

general anesthesia required in 18VAC60-21-260 D. 

C. A licensee shall comply with the patient record 

confidentiality, release, and disclosure provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code and shall only release patient 

information as authorized by law.  

D. Records shall not be withheld because the patient has an 

outstanding financial obligation. 

E. A reasonable cost-based fee may be charged for copying 

patient records to include the cost of supplies and labor for 

copying documents, duplication of radiographs and images, 

and postage if mailing is requested as authorized by § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code. The charges specified in § 8.01-413 of 

the Code are permitted when records are subpoenaed as 

evidence for purposes of civil litigation. 

F. When closing, selling, or relocating a practice, the 

licensee shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the 

Code for giving notice and providing records.  

G. Records shall not be abandoned or otherwise left in the 

care of someone who is not licensed by the board except that, 

upon the death of a licensee, a trustee or executor of the estate 

may safeguard the records until they are transferred to a 
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licensed dentist, are sent to the patients of record, or are 

destroyed.  

H. Patient confidentiality must be preserved when records 

are destroyed.  

18VAC60-21-130. Nondelegable duties; dentists. 

Only licensed dentists shall perform the following duties: 

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning; 

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 

tissue except a dental hygienist performing gingival 

curettage as provided in 18VAC60-21-140; 

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 

medicaments, except a dental hygienist, who meets the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100, may parenterally 

administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to patients 18 

years of age or older; 

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 

prosthetic device or restoration that is to be inserted into a 

patient's mouth; 

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth; 

6. Administering and monitoring conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthetics 

except as provided for in § 54.1-2701 of the Code and Part 

VI (18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of this chapter; 

7. Condensing, contouring, or adjusting any final, fixed, or 

removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 

mouth with the exception of packing and carving amalgam 

and placing and shaping composite resins by dental 

assistants II with advanced training as specified in 

18VAC60-30-120; 

8. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic bonds 

and bands; and 

9. Final adjustment and fitting of crowns and bridges in 

preparation for final cementation. 

Part V 

Licensure Renewal 

18VAC60-21-240. License renewal and reinstatement. 

A. The license or permit of any person who does not return 

the completed renewal form and fees by the deadline shall 

automatically expire and become invalid, and his practice of 

dentistry shall be illegal. With the exception of practice with a 

current, restricted volunteer license as provided in § 54.1-

2712.1 of the Code practicing in Virginia with an expired 

license or permit may subject the licensee to disciplinary 

action by the board. 

B. Every person holding an active or inactive license and 

those holding a permit to administer conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia shall 

annually, on or before March 31, renew his license or permit. 

Every person holding a faculty license, temporary resident's 

license, a restricted volunteer license, or a temporary permit 

shall, on or before June 30, request renewal of his license. 

C. Any person who does not return the completed form and 

fee by the deadline required in subsection B of this section 

shall be required to pay an additional late fee.  

D. The board shall renew a license or permit if the renewal 

form, renewal fee, and late fee are received within one year of 

the deadline required in subsection B of this section provided 

that no grounds exist to deny said renewal pursuant to § 54.1-

2706 of the Code and Part II (18VAC60-21-50 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

E. Reinstatement procedures.  

1. Any person whose license or permit has expired for 

more than one year or whose license or permit has been 

revoked or suspended and who wishes to reinstate such 

license or permit shall submit a reinstatement application 

and the reinstatement fee. The application must include 

evidence of continuing competence.  

2. To evaluate continuing competence, the board shall 

consider (i) hours of continuing education that meet the 

requirements of subsection H of 18VAC60-21-250; (ii) 

evidence of active practice in another state or in federal 

service; (iii) current specialty board certification; (iv) 

recent passage of a clinical competency examination 

accepted by the board; or (v) a refresher program offered 

by a program accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental Association.  

3. The executive director may reinstate such expired 

license or permit provided that the applicant can 

demonstrate continuing competence, the applicant has paid 

the reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments, and no 

grounds exist to deny said reinstatement pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2706 of the Code and Part II (18VAC60-21-50 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

18VAC60-21-250. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. A dentist shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of 

continuing education, which meets the requirements for 

content, sponsorship, and documentation set out in this 

section, for each annual renewal of licensure except for the 

first renewal following initial licensure and for any renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license.  

1. All renewal applicants shall attest that they have read 

and understand and will remain current with the laws and 

regulations governing the practice of dentistry and dental 

hygiene in Virginia.  

2. A dentist shall maintain current training certification in 

basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation with hands-on airway 

training for health care providers or basic life support 
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unless he is required by 18VAC60-21-290 or 18VAC60-

21-300 to hold current certification in advanced life 

support with hands-on simulated airway and megacode 

training for health care providers. 

3. A dentist who administers or monitors patients under 

general anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation shall complete four hours every two 

years of approved continuing education directly related to 

administration and monitoring of such anesthesia or 

sedation as part of the hours required for licensure renewal. 

4. Continuing education hours in excess of the number 

required for renewal may be transferred or credited to the 

next renewal year for a total of not more than 15 hours. 

5. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of dental 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department 

or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the 

delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing 

such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic.  

B. To be accepted for license renewal, continuing education 

programs shall be directly relevant to the treatment and care 

of patients and shall be: 

1. Clinical courses in dentistry and dental hygiene; or 

2. Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary to 

provide dental or dental hygiene services and are 

supportive of clinical services (i.e., patient management, 

legal and ethical responsibilities, and stress management). 

Courses not acceptable for the purpose of this subsection 

include, but are not limited to, estate planning, financial 

planning, investments, business management, marketing, 

and personal health. 

C. Continuing education credit may be earned for verifiable 

attendance at or participation in any course, to include audio 

and video presentations, that meets the requirements in 

subsection B of this section and is given by one of the 

following sponsors: 

1. The American Dental Association and the National 

Dental Association, their constituent and 

component/branch associations, and approved continuing 

education providers; 

2. The American Dental Hygienists' Association and the 

National Dental Hygienists Association, and their 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

3. The American Dental Assisting Association and its 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

4. The American Dental Association specialty 

organizations and their constituent and component/branch 

associations; 

5. A provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for 

Continuing Medical Education for Category 1 credits; 

6. The Academy of General Dentistry, its constituent and 

component/branch associations, and approved continuing 

education providers; 

7. A college or university that is accredited by an 

accrediting agency approved by the U.S. Department of 

Education or a hospital or health care institution accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations; 

8. The American Heart Association, the American Red 

Cross, the American Safety and Health Institute, and the 

American Cancer Society; 

9. A medical school accredited by the American Medical 

Association's Liaison Committee for Medical Education; 

10. A dental, dental hygiene, or dental assisting program or 

advanced dental education program accredited by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 

Dental Association;  

11. State or federal government agencies (i.e., military 

dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.); 

12. The Commonwealth Dental Hygienists' Society;  

13. The MCV Orthodontic Education and Research 

Foundation; 

14. The Dental Assisting National Board and its affiliate, 

the Dental Auxiliary Learning and Education Foundation; 

or 

15. A regional testing agency (i.e., Central Regional Dental 

Testing Service, Northeast Regional Board of Dental 

Examiners, Southern Regional Testing Agency, Council of 

Interstate Testing Agencies, or Western Regional 

Examining Board) when serving as an examiner.  

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters. A written request with supporting documents must 

be submitted prior to renewal of the license.  

E. The board may grant an extension for up to one year for 

completion of continuing education upon written request with 

an explanation to the board prior to the renewal date. 

F. A licensee is required to verify compliance with the 

continuing education requirements in his annual license 

renewal. Following the renewal period, the board may 

conduct an audit of licensees to verify compliance. Licensees 
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selected for audit must provide original documents certifying 

that they have fulfilled their continuing education 

requirements by the deadline date as specified by the board. 

G. All licensees are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and subject of the program or activity, the 

sponsor, and the amount of time earned. Documentation shall 

be maintained for a period of four years following renewal. 

H. A licensee who has allowed his license to lapse, or who 

has had his license suspended or revoked, shall submit 

evidence of completion of continuing education equal to the 

requirements for the number of years in which his license has 

not been active, not to exceed a total of 45 hours. Of the 

required hours, at least 15 must be earned in the most recent 

12 months and the remainder within the 36 months preceding 

an application for reinstatement. 

I. Continuing education hours required by board order shall 

not be used to satisfy the continuing education requirement 

for license renewal or reinstatement. 

J. Failure to comply with continuing education requirements 

may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

Part VI 

Controlled Substances, Sedation, and Anesthesia 

18VAC60-21-260. General provisions. 

A. Application of Part VI. This part applies to prescribing, 

dispensing, and administering controlled substances in dental 

offices, mobile dental facilities, and portable dental 

operations and shall not apply to administration by a dentist 

practicing in (i) a licensed hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of 

the Code, (ii) a state-operated hospital, or (iii) a facility 

directly maintained or operated by the federal government. 

B. Registration required. Any dentist who prescribes, 

administers, or dispenses Schedules II through V controlled 

drugs must hold a current registration with the federal Drug 

Enforcement Administration. 

C. Patient evaluation required.  

1. The decision to administer controlled drugs for dental 

treatment must be based on a documented evaluation of the 

health history and current medical condition of the patient 

in accordance with the Class I through V risk category 

classifications of the American Society of 

Anesthesiologists (ASA) in effect at the time of treatment. 

The findings of the evaluation, the ASA risk assessment 

class assigned, and any special considerations must be 

recorded in the patient's record. 

2. Any level of sedation and general anesthesia may be 

provided for a patient who is ASA Class I and Class II. 

3. A patient in ASA Class III shall only be provided 

minimal sedation, conscious/moderate moderate sedation, 

deep sedation, or general anesthesia by: 

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary;  

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed 

a physical evaluation and documented the findings and 

the ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary; 

or 

c. A person licensed under Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code who has a specialty in 

anesthesia. 

4. Minimal sedation may only be provided for a patient 

who is in ASA Class IV by:  

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary; or 

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed 

a physical evaluation and documented the findings and 

the ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary. 

5. Conscious/moderate Moderate sedation, deep sedation, 

or general anesthesia shall not be provided in a dental 

office for patients in ASA Class IV and Class V.  

D. Additional requirements for patient information and 

records. In addition to the record requirements in 18VAC60-

21-90, when conscious/moderate moderate sedation, deep 

sedation, or general anesthesia is administered, the patient 

record shall also include:  

1. Notation of the patient's American Society of 

Anesthesiologists classification; 

2. Review of medical history and current conditions, 

including the patient's weight and height or, if appropriate, 

the body mass index; 

3. Written informed consent for administration of sedation 

and anesthesia and for the dental procedure to be 

performed; 

4. Preoperative vital signs; 

5. A record of the name, dose, and strength of drugs and 

route of administration including the administration of 

local anesthetics with notations of the time sedation and 

anesthesia were administered;  

6. Monitoring records of all required vital signs and 

physiological measures recorded every five minutes; and 

7. A list of staff participating in the administration, 

treatment, and monitoring including name, position, and 

assigned duties. 
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E. Pediatric patients. No sedating medication shall be 

prescribed for or administered to a patient 12 years of age or 

younger prior to his arrival at the dentist office or treatment 

facility. 

F. Informed written consent. Prior to administration of any 

level of sedation or general anesthesia, the dentist shall 

discuss the nature and objectives of the planned level of 

sedation or general anesthesia along with the risks, benefits, 

and alternatives and shall obtain informed, written consent 

from the patient or other responsible party for the 

administration and for the treatment to be provided. The 

written consent must be maintained in the patient record. 

G. Level of sedation. The determinant for the application of 

the rules for any level of sedation or for general anesthesia 

shall be the degree of sedation or consciousness level of a 

patient that should reasonably be expected to result from the 

type, strength, and dosage of medication, the method of 

administration, and the individual characteristics of the 

patient as documented in the patient's record. The drugs and 

techniques used must carry a margin of safety wide enough to 

render the unintended reduction of or loss of consciousness 

unlikely, factoring in titration and the patient's age, weight, 

and ability to metabolize drugs. 

H. Emergency management. 

1. If a patient enters a deeper level of sedation than the 

dentist is qualified and prepared to provide, the dentist 

shall stop the dental procedure until the patient returns to 

and is stable at the intended level of sedation. 

2. A dentist in whose office sedation or anesthesia is 

administered shall have written basic emergency 

procedures established and staff trained to carry out such 

procedures.  

I. Ancillary personnel. Dentists who employ unlicensed, 

ancillary personnel to assist in the administration and 

monitoring of any form of minimal sedation, 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation, deep sedation, or 

general anesthesia shall maintain documentation that such 

personnel have: 

1. Training and hold current certification in basic 

resuscitation techniques with hands-on airway training for 

health care providers, such as Basic Cardiac Life Support 

for Health Professionals or a clinically oriented course 

devoted primarily to responding to clinical emergencies 

offered by an approved provider of continuing education as 

set forth in 18VAC60-21-250 C; or 

2. Current certification as a certified anesthesia assistant 

(CAA) by the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons or the American Dental Society of 

Anesthesiology (ADSA). 

J. Assisting in administration. A dentist, consistent with the 

planned level of administration (i.e., local anesthesia, minimal 

sedation, conscious/moderate moderate sedation, deep 

sedation, or general anesthesia) and appropriate to his 

education, training, and experience, may utilize the services 

of a dentist, anesthesiologist, certified registered nurse 

anesthetist, dental hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse to 

perform functions appropriate to such practitioner's 

education, training, and experience and consistent with that 

practitioner's respective scope of practice.  

K. Patient monitoring.  

1. A dentist may delegate monitoring of a patient to a 

dental hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse who is under his 

direction or to another dentist, anesthesiologist, or certified 

registered nurse anesthetist. The person assigned to 

monitor the patient shall be continuously in the presence of 

the patient in the office, operatory, and recovery area (i) 

before administration is initiated or immediately upon 

arrival if the patient self-administered a sedative agent, (ii) 

throughout the administration of drugs, (iii) throughout the 

treatment of the patient, and (iv) throughout recovery until 

the patient is discharged by the dentist.  

2. The person monitoring the patient shall: 

a. Have the patient's entire body in sight; 

b. Be in close proximity so as to speak with the patient; 

c. Converse with the patient to assess the patient's ability 

to respond in order to determine the patient's level of 

sedation;  

d. Closely observe the patient for coloring, breathing, 

level of physical activity, facial expressions, eye 

movement, and bodily gestures in order to immediately 

recognize and bring any changes in the patient's 

condition to the attention of the treating dentist; and  

e. Read, report, and record the patient's vital signs and 

physiological measures. 

L. A dentist who allows the administration of general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate moderate 

sedation in his dental office is responsible for assuring that: 

1. The equipment for administration and monitoring, as 

required in subsection B of 18VAC60-21-291 or 

subsection C of 18VAC60-21-301, is readily available and 

in good working order prior to performing dental treatment 

with anesthesia or sedation. The equipment shall either be 

maintained by the dentist in his office or provided by the 

anesthesia or sedation provider; and 

2. The person administering the anesthesia or sedation is 

appropriately licensed and the staff monitoring the patient 

is qualified.  
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18VAC60-21-290. Requirements for a conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation permit. 

A. After March 31, 2013, no No dentist may employ or use 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation in a dental office 

unless he has been issued a permit by the board. The 

requirement for a permit shall not apply to an oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon who maintains membership in the 

American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons 

(AAOMS) and who provides the board with reports that 

result from the periodic office examinations required by 

AAOMS. Such an oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall be 

required to post a certificate issued by AAOMS.  

B. Automatic qualification. Dentists who hold a current 

permit to administer deep sedation and general anesthesia 

may administer conscious/moderate moderate sedation. 

C. To determine eligibility for a conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation permit, a dentist shall submit the 

following: 

1. A completed application form indicating one of the 

following permits for which the applicant is qualified: 

a. Conscious/moderate sedation by any method; 

b. Conscious/moderate sedation by enteral administration 

only; or 

c. Temporary conscious/moderate sedation permit (may 

be renewed one time); 

2. The application fee as specified in 18VAC60-21-40;  

3. A copy of a transcript, certification, or other 

documentation of training content that meets the 

educational and training qualifications as specified in 

subsection D of this section, as applicable; and 

4. A copy of current certification in advanced cardiac life 

support (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support (PALS) 

as required in subsection E of this section. 

D. Education requirements for a permit to administer 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation. 1. Administration by 

any method. A dentist may be issued a conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation permit to administer by any method by 

meeting one of the following criteria: 

a. 1. Completion of training for this treatment modality 

according to the ADA's Guidelines for Teaching the 

Comprehensive Pain Control of Anxiety and Pain in 

Dentistry Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students in 

effect at the time the training occurred, while enrolled in an 

accredited dental program or while enrolled in a post-

doctoral university or teaching hospital program; or 

b. 2. Completion of a continuing education course that 

meets the requirements of 18VAC60-21-250 and consists 

of (i) 60 hours of didactic instruction plus the management 

of at least 20 patients per participant, (ii) demonstration of 

competency and clinical experience in conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation, and (iii) management of a compromised 

airway. The course content shall be consistent with the 

ADA's Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Pain 

Control of Anxiety and Pain in Dentistry Sedation to 

Dentists and Dental Students in effect at the time the 

training occurred. 

2. Enteral administration only. A dentist may be issued a 

conscious/moderate sedation permit to administer only by 

an enteral method if he has completed a continuing 

education program that meets the requirements of 

18VAC60-21-250 and consists of not less than 18 hours of 

didactic instruction plus 20 clinically oriented experiences 

in enteral or a combination of enteral and nitrous 

oxide/oxygen conscious/moderate sedation techniques. The 

course content shall be consistent with the ADA's 

Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of 

Anxiety and Pain in Dentistry in effect at the time the 

training occurred. The certificate of completion and a 

detailed description of the course content must be 

maintained. 

3. A dentist who self-certified his qualifications in 

anesthesia and moderate sedation prior to January 1989 

may be issued a temporary conscious/moderate sedation 

permit to continue to administer only conscious/moderate 

sedation until May 7, 2015. After May 7, 2015, a dentist 

shall meet the requirements for and obtain a 

conscious/moderate sedation permit to administer by any 

method or by enteral administration only.  

E. Additional training required. Dentists who administer 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation shall: 

1. Hold current certification in advanced resuscitation 

techniques with hands-on simulated airway and megacode 

training for health care providers, such as ACLS or PALS 

as evidenced by a certificate of completion posted with the 

dental license; and  

2. Have current training in the use and maintenance of the 

equipment required in 18VAC60-21-291. 

18VAC60-21-291. Requirements for administration of 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation. 

A. Delegation of administration. 

1. A dentist who does not hold a permit to administer 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation shall only use the 

services of a qualified dentist or an anesthesiologist to 

administer such sedation in a dental office. In a licensed 

outpatient surgery center, a dentist who does not hold a 

permit to administer conscious/moderate moderate 

sedation shall use a qualified dentist, an anesthesiologist, 

or a certified registered nurse anesthetist to administer such 

sedation.  
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2. A dentist who holds a permit may administer or use the 

services of the following personnel to administer 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation: 

a. A dentist with the training required by 18VAC60-21-

290 D 2 to administer by an enteral method; 

b. A dentist with the training required by 18VAC60-21-

290 D 1 to administer by any method and who holds a 

moderate sedation permit; 

c. b. An anesthesiologist;  

d. c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under the 

medical direction and indirect supervision of a dentist 

who meets the training requirements of 18VAC60-21-

290 D 1 and holds a moderate sedation permit; or 

e. d. A registered nurse upon his direct instruction and 

under the immediate supervision of a dentist who meets 

the training requirements of 18VAC60-21-290 D 1 and 

holds a moderate sedation permit.  

3. If minimal sedation is self-administered by or to a 

patient 13 years of age or older before arrival at the dental 

office, the dentist may only use the personnel listed in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection to administer local 

anesthesia. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for 

or administered to a patient 12 years of age or younger 

prior to his arrival at the dentist office or treatment facility. 

4. Preceding the administration of conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation, a permitted dentist may use the services 

of the following personnel under indirect supervision to 

administer local anesthesia to anesthetize the injection or 

treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics.  

5. A dentist who delegates administration of 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation shall ensure that: 

a. All equipment required in subsection B of this section 

is present, in good working order, and immediately 

available to the areas where patients will be sedated and 

treated and will recover; and 

b. Qualified staff is on site to monitor patients in 

accordance with requirements of subsection D of this 

section.  

B. Equipment requirements. A dentist who administers 

conscious/moderate moderate sedation shall have available 

the following equipment in sizes for adults or children as 

appropriate for the patient being treated and shall maintain it 

in working order and immediately available to the areas 

where patients will be sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Full face mask or masks; 

2. Oral and nasopharyngeal airway management 

adjuncts; 

3. Endotracheal tubes with appropriate connectors or 

other appropriate airway management adjunct such as a 

laryngeal mask airway;  

4. A laryngoscope with reserve batteries and bulbs and 

appropriately sized laryngoscope blades;  

5. Pulse oximetry; 

6. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

7. Pharmacologic antagonist agents; 

8. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

9. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag;  

10. Appropriate emergency drugs for patient 

resuscitation; 

11. Electrocardiographic monitor if a patient is receiving 

parenteral administration of sedation or if the dentist is 

using titration; 

12. Defibrillator; 

13. Suction apparatus;  

14. Temperature measuring device; 

15. Throat pack;  

16. Precordial or pretracheal stethoscope; and 

17. An end-tidal carbon dioxide monitor (capnograph).  

C. Required staffing. At a minimum, there shall be a two-

person treatment team for conscious/moderate moderate 

sedation. The team shall include the operating dentist and a 

second person to monitor the patient as provided in 

18VAC60-21-260 K and assist the operating dentist as 

provided in 18VAC60-21-260 J, both of whom shall be in the 

operatory with the patient throughout the dental procedure. If 

the second person is a dentist, an anesthesiologist, or a 

certified registered nurse anesthetist who administers the 

drugs as permitted in 18VAC60-21-291 subsection A of this 

section, such person may monitor the patient.  

D. Monitoring requirements.  

1. Baseline vital signs shall be taken and recorded prior to 

administration of any controlled drug at the facility and 

prior to discharge.  

2. Blood pressure, oxygen saturation, end-tidal carbon 

dioxide, and pulse shall be monitored continually during 

the administration and recorded every five minutes. 
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3. Monitoring of the patient under conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation is to begin prior to administration of 

sedation or, if pre-medication is self-administered by the 

patient, immediately upon the patient's arrival at the dental 

facility and shall take place continuously during the dental 

procedure and recovery from sedation. The person who 

administers the sedation or another licensed practitioner 

qualified to administer the same level of sedation must 

remain on the premises of the dental facility until the 

patient is evaluated and is discharged. 

E. Discharge requirements. 

1. The patient shall not be discharged until the responsible 

licensed practitioner determines that the patient's level of 

consciousness, oxygenation, ventilation, and circulation are 

satisfactory for discharge and vital signs have been taken 

and recorded.  

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. The patient shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care.  

F. Emergency management. The dentist shall be proficient 

in handling emergencies and complications related to pain 

control procedures, including the maintenance of respiration 

and circulation, immediate establishment of an airway, and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

Part II 

Practice of Dental Hygiene 

18VAC60-25-40. Scope of practice. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-2722 of the Code, a licensed dental 

hygienist may perform services that are educational, 

diagnostic, therapeutic, or preventive under the direction and 

indirect or general supervision of a licensed dentist.  

B. The following duties of a dentist shall not be delegated: 

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning; 

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 

tissue, except as may be permitted by subdivisions C 1 and 

D 1 of this section; 

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 

medicaments, except a dental hygienist who meets the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100 C may parenterally 

administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to patients 18 

years of age or older; 

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 

prosthetic device or restoration that is to be inserted into a 

patient's mouth; 

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth; 

6. Administration of deep sedation or general anesthesia 

and conscious/moderate moderate sedation; 

7. Condensing, contouring, or adjusting any final, fixed, or 

removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 

mouth with the exception of packing and carving amalgam 

and placing and shaping composite resins by dental 

assistants II with advanced training as specified in 

18VAC60-30-120; 

8. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic bonds 

and bands; and 

9. Final adjustment and fitting of crowns and bridges in 

preparation for final cementation. 

C. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists under direction and may only be performed under 

indirect supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planing, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical 

lasers with any sedation or anesthesia administered.  

2. Performing an initial examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for assisting the dentist in the diagnosis.  

3. Administering nitrous oxide or local anesthesia by 

dental hygienists qualified in accordance with the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100. 

D. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists and may be performed under indirect supervision 

or may be delegated by written order in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2722 D of the Code to be performed under general 

supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planning, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical 

lasers with or without topical oral anesthetics.  

2. Polishing of natural and restored teeth using air 

polishers.  

3. Performing a clinical examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for further evaluation and diagnosis by the dentist.  

4. Subgingival irrigation or subgingival and gingival 

application of topical Schedule VI medicinal agents 

pursuant to § 54.1-3408 J of the Code.  

5. Duties appropriate to the education and experience of 

the dental hygienist and the practice of the supervising 

dentist, with the exception of those listed as nondelegable 

in subsection B of this section and those restricted to 

indirect supervision in subsection C of this section.  
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E. The following duties may only be delegated under the 

direction and direct supervision of a dentist to a dental 

assistant II: 

1. Performing pulp capping procedures; 

2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 

3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a 

slow speed handpiece; 

4. Taking final impressions; 

5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after 

adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

F. A dental hygienist employed by the Virginia Department 

of Health may provide educational and preventative dental 

care under remote supervision, as defined in § 54.1-2722 D of 

the Code, of a dentist employed by the Virginia Department 

of Health and in accordance with the protocol adopted by the 

Commissioner of Health for Dental Hygienists to Practice in 

an Expanded Capacity under Remote Supervision by Public 

Health Dentists, September 2012, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference.  

18VAC60-25-190. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. In order to renew an active license, a dental hygienist 

shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of approved 

continuing education. Continuing education hours in excess 

of the number required for renewal may be transferred or 

credited to the next renewal year for a total of not more than 

15 hours. 

1. A dental hygienist shall be required to maintain evidence 

of successful completion of a current hands-on course in 

basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation for health care 

providers. 

2. A dental hygienist who monitors patients under general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate moderate 

sedation shall complete four hours every two years of 

approved continuing education directly related to 

monitoring of such anesthesia or sedation as part of the 

hours required for licensure renewal. 

3. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of dental 

hygiene services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing 

such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic. 

B. An approved continuing education program shall be 

relevant to the treatment and care of patients and shall be:  

1. Clinical courses in dental or dental hygiene practice; or 

2. Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary to 

provide dental hygiene services and are supportive of 

clinical services (i.e., patient management, legal and 

ethical responsibilities, risk management, and 

recordkeeping). Courses not acceptable for the purpose of 

this subsection include, but are not limited to, estate 

planning, financial planning, investments, and personal 

health. 

C. Continuing education credit may be earned for verifiable 

attendance at or participation in any course, to include audio 

and video presentations, that meets the requirements in 

subdivision B 1 of this section and is given by one of the 

following sponsors: 

1. The American Dental Association and the National 

Dental Association and their constituent and 

component/branch associations; 

2. The American Dental Hygienists' Association and the 

National Dental Hygienists Association and their 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

3. The American Dental Assisting Association and its 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

4. The American Dental Association specialty 

organizations and their constituent and component/branch 

associations; 

5. A provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for 

Continuing Medical Education for Category 1 credits; 

6. The Academy of General Dentistry and its constituent 

and component/branch associations; 

7. Community colleges with an accredited dental hygiene 

program if offered under the auspices of the dental 

hygienist program; 

8. A college or university that is accredited by an 

accrediting agency approved by the U.S. Department of 

Education or a hospital or health care institution accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations; 

9. The American Heart Association, the American Red 

Cross, the American Safety and Health Institute, and the 

American Cancer Society; 

10. A medical school accredited by the American Medical 

Association's Liaison Committee for Medical Education or 

a dental school or dental specialty residency program 

accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

the American Dental Association; 

11. State or federal government agencies (i.e., military 

dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.); 

12. The Commonwealth Dental Hygienists' Society; 
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13. The MCV Orthodontic Education and Research 

Foundation; 

14. The Dental Assisting National Board and its affiliate, 

the Dental Auxiliary Learning and Education Foundation;  

15. The American Academy of Dental Hygiene, its 

constituent and component/branch associations; or 

16. A regional testing agency (i.e., Central Regional Dental 

Testing Service, Northeast Regional Board of Dental 

Examiners, Southern Regional Testing Agency, Council of 

Interstate Testing Agencies, or Western Regional 

Examining Board) when serving as an examiner. 

D. Verification of compliance. 

1. All licensees are required to verify compliance with 

continuing education requirements at the time of annual 

license renewal.  

2. Following the renewal period, the board may conduct an 

audit of licensees to verify compliance.  

3. Licensees selected for audit shall provide original 

documents certifying that they have fulfilled their 

continuing education requirements by the deadline date as 

specified by the board. 

4. Licensees are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and the subject of the program or 

activity, the sponsor, and the amount of time earned. 

Documentation shall be maintained for a period of four 

years following renewal. 

5. Failure to comply with continuing education 

requirements may subject the licensee to disciplinary 

action by the board. 

E. Exemptions. 

1. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

the first renewal date following the licensee's initial 

licensure. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters. A written request with supporting 

documents must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the 

deadline for renewal. 

F. The board may grant an extension for up to one year for 

completion of continuing education upon written request with 

an explanation to the board prior to the renewal date. 

G. Continuing education hours required by board order shall 

not be used to satisfy the continuing education requirement 

for license renewal or reinstatement. 

18VAC60-30-50. Nondelegable duties; dentists. 

Only licensed dentists shall perform the following duties: 

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning; 

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 

tissue except a dental hygienist performing gingival 

curettage as provided in 18VAC60-21-140; 

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 

medicaments, except a dental hygienist who meets the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100 may parenterally 

administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to patients 18 

years of age or older; 

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 

prosthetic device or restoration that is to be inserted into a 

patient's mouth; 

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth; 

6. Administering and monitoring conscious/moderate 

moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthetics 

except as provided for in § 54.1-2701 of the Code and 

subsections J and K of 18VAC60-21-260; 

7. Condensing, contouring, or adjusting any final, fixed, or 

removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 

mouth with the exception of packing and carving amalgam 

and placing and shaping composite resins by dental 

assistants II with advanced training as specified in 

18VAC60-30-120; 

8. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic bonds 

and bands; and 

9. Final adjustment and fitting of crowns and bridges in 

preparation for final cementation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4975; Filed December 4, 2017, 3:50 p.m.  

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 

18VAC65-20-510; adding 18VAC65-20-581).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 16, 2018 - 10:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Suite 201, Henrico, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: February 23, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
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Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: 18VAC65-20, Regulations of the Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers, are promulgated under the general 

authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Subdivision 6 of § 54.1-2400 provides the board with 

authority to promulgate regulations to administer the 

regulatory system. 

Authority for the board to take disciplinary action for failure 

to obtain permission to embalm and for refrigeration of 

human remains is found in § 54.1-2806 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to provide 

clear, enforceable regulations on the meaning of the statutory 

requirement for "express" permission to embalm and on the 

requirement to maintain a body in refrigeration at no more 

than approximately 40 degrees. The board has received 

complaints and noted deficiencies on compliance with these 

requirements. Both the licensees and the public need clarity 

on these matters so public health and safety is not 

jeopardized. 

Substance: Guidance document 65-18 specifies that 

subdivision 26 of § 54.1-2806 and § 54.1-2811.1 B of the 

Code of Virginia state that a dead human body "shall not be 

embalmed in the absence of express permission by a next of 

kin of the deceased or a court order." The board interprets 

"express permission by a next of kin" to mean written 

authorization to embalm as a specific and separate statement 

on a document or contract provided by the facility. Express 

permission may include direct, verbal authorization to 

embalm, provided it is followed as soon as possible by a 

written document signed by the next of kin confirming the 

verbal authorization to embalm and including the time, date, 

and name of the person who gave verbal authorization. 

Guidance document 65-18 specifies that § 54.1-2811.1 B of 

the Code of Virginia states, "if a dead human body is to be 

stored for more than 48 hours prior to disposition, a funeral 

services establishment having custody of such body shall 

ensure that the dead human body is maintained in 

refrigeration at no more than approximately 40 degrees 

Fahrenheit or embalmed." The Board of Funeral Directors 

and Embalmers interprets this provision as meaning that if a 

body is to be in the possession of the funeral home or 

crematory for more than 48 hours from the time the funeral 

establishment or crematory takes physical possession of the 

body until embalming, cremation, or burial, the body is to be 

placed in a mechanical refrigeration unit suitable for storing 

human remains. The board does not interpret lowering the air 

conditioning in a storage room to 40 degrees or packing the 

body in ice or dry ice as meeting the statutory requirement. 

The board would view evidence of compliance with § 54.1-

2811.1 B of the Code of Virginia as a working refrigeration 

unit in the funeral home or crematory or a letter of agreement 

or contract with another funeral establishment, hospital, or 

morgue to allow the funeral home or crematory to refrigerate 

in its refrigeration unit. The board would view evidence of the 

body being "maintained in refrigeration" as log entries 

indicating times of placement and removal of a body in 

refrigeration. 

In order to enforce its interpretative statements on permission 

to embalm and refrigeration of human remains, the board has 

incorporated the guidance into its regulations. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments to the 

public is assurance of proper care of the human remains of 

their loved ones, so an unembalmed body is not allowed to 

deteriorate with refrigeration or conversely, remains are not 

embalmed without express permission of the next of kin. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth, except more clarity in regulation will assist 

the board in interpretation of the law. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (Board) proposes 

to incorporate in the regulation that written permission to 

embalm a dead human body and mechanical equipment to 

refrigerate a dead human body are required. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Virginia Code § 54.1-2806 (26)1 

and § 54.1-2811.1 (B)2 state that a dead human body "shall 

not be embalmed in the absence of express permission by a 

next of kin of the deceased or a court order." In Guidance 

Document 65-8,3 the Board interprets "express permission" to 

mean verbal authorization so long as the verbal authorization 

is followed by a signed written document. A written 

authorization would help determine if in fact there was an 

authorization in case there is a dispute. Containing the 

requirement in regulation as opposed to having it in a 

guidance document should better inform the public and 

regulants concerning what is required and should bolster the 

Board's authority to enforce it through disciplinary action. If 

additional enforcement capacity brings some facilities 

currently out of compliance into compliance, they are 

unlikely to incur any significant costs since a written 

permission may be incorporated into forms currently 

maintained by a funeral establishment. 

The Board also proposes to incorporate in the regulation its 

current interpretation expressed in the Guidance Document 

65-184 of the Virginia Code § 54.1-2811.1 (B) stating that "if 
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a dead human body is to be stored for more than 48 hours 

prior to disposition, a funeral services establishment having 

custody of such body shall ensure that the dead human body 

is maintained in refrigeration at no more than approximately 

40 degrees Fahrenheit or embalmed." The Board interprets 

this provision to mean that the body be either embalmed or 

placed in a mechanical refrigeration unit suitable for storing 

human remains. The Board does not interpret lowering the air 

conditioning in a storage room to 40 degrees or packing the 

body in ice or dry ice as meeting the statutory requirement. If 

a facility does not have a mechanical refrigeration unit, it can 

contract with another funeral establishment, hospital, or 

morgue that has such equipment to store the body. Containing 

the requirement in regulation as opposed to having it in a 

guidance document should better inform the public and 

regulants concerning what is required and should bolster the 

Board's authority to enforce it through disciplinary action. If 

additional enforcement capacity brings some facilities 

currently out of compliance into compliance, they may incur 

costs: of $3,000 to $5,000 to purchase a refrigeration unit5, to 

embalm the body, to contract for refrigeration, or to transfer 

the remains to another establishment. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 76 branch 

establishments, 113 crematories, and 430 funeral 

establishments licensed in Virginia. Although it is known 

there are facilities currently out of compliance with the 

proposed regulation, there is no estimate of the number of 

such facilities. Virginia Code § 54.1-2811.1, which has been 

in effect since 2010, requires a dead human body to be 

maintained in refrigeration at no more than approximately 40 

degrees Fahrenheit or embalmed. Furthermore, the guidance 

documents have been in effect since January 10, 2017. 

Therefore, it is presumed that the majority of funeral 

establishments have refrigeration or have made arrangements 

for storage of human remains in refrigeration. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

disproportionally affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 

employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. If a facility 

has to purchase refrigeration equipment for $3,000 to $5,000, 

its profit would be lowered by the purchase amount and 

consequently its asset price may be reduced. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. There is no estimate of the number 

of independently owned small businesses. Many of the 

funeral establishments have been bought by large national 

chains in recent years according to the Department of Health 

Professions. The costs and effects on them are the same as 

those discussed above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

Given the language in the Virginia Code, there is no 

alternative method that minimizes the potential adverse 

impact. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Some of the affected funeral establishments may 

be non-small businesses since many have been bought by 

large national chains in recent years. The adverse impacts 

discussed above apply to them. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities.  

___________________________________ 

1https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter28/section54.1-2806/ 

2https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter28/section54.1-2811.1/ 

3http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:\TownHall\docroot\Guid

anceDocs\223\GDoc_DHP_6169_v1.pdf 

4http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:\TownHall\docroot\Guid
anceDocs\223\GDoc_DHP_6168_v1.pdf 

5Source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers concurs with the 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments clarify requirements for the 

express permission needed to embalm a body and for the 

proper refrigeration of a human body. 

Part VII  

Standards for Embalming and Refrigeration  

18VAC65-20-510. Embalming report.  

A. In accordance with the provisions of subdivision 26 of § 

54.1-2806 and subsection B of § 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, express permission by a next of kin for embalming 

means written authorization to embalm as a specific and 

separate statement on a document or contract provided by the 

funeral establishment. Express permission may include direct, 

verbal authorization to embalm, provided it is followed as 

soon as possible by a written document or statement signed 

by the next of kin confirming the verbal authorization to 

embalm and including the time, date, and name of the person 

who gave verbal authorization. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter28/section54.1-2806/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter28/section54.1-2811.1/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs/223/GDoc_DHP_6169_v1.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs/223/GDoc_DHP_6169_v1.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs/223/GDoc_DHP_6168_v1.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs/223/GDoc_DHP_6168_v1.pdf
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B. Every funeral establishment shall record and maintain a 

separate, identifiable report for each embalming procedure 

conducted, which shall at a minimum include the following 

information: 

1. The name of the deceased and the date of death; 

2. The date and location of the embalming; 

3. The name and signature of the embalmer and the 

Virginia license number of the embalmer; and 

4. If the embalming was performed by a funeral service 

intern, the name and signature of the supervisor.  

18VAC65-20-581. Refrigeration requirements. 

A. If a dead human body is to be in the possession of a 

funeral establishment or crematory for more than 48 hours 

from the time the funeral establishment or crematory takes 

physical possession of the body until embalming, cremation, 

or burial, the body shall be placed and maintained in 

refrigeration in a mechanical refrigeration unit suitable for 

storing human remains in accordance with subsection B of 

§ 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The mechanical refrigeration unit may be located in the 

funeral establishment or crematory, or the funeral 

establishment or crematory may enter into an agreement or 

contract with another funeral establishment, crematory, or 

other licensed entity for refrigeration in a mechanical 

refrigeration unit. 

C. Evidence of compliance with the requirement for 

refrigeration shall be maintained as a log entry or other 

documentation indicating times of placement in and removal 

of a body in refrigeration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5042; Filed December 4, 2017, 1:42 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-40. Regulations for 

Prescriptive Authority for Nurse Practitioners (amending 

18VAC90-40-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2957, and 54.1-

2957.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 24, 2018. 

Effective Date: February 8, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations. 

Section 54.1-2957.01 of the Code of Virginia sets out the 

requirements for a practice agreement for nurse practitioners 

who have prescriptive authority, including a provision for an 

electronic practice agreement.  

Purpose: The goal of the proposal is to eliminate a potential 

conflict between the Code of Virginia and regulation. Public 

health and safety continues to be protected with practice 

agreements that are maintained in written or electronic form 

and must be available to the Board of Nursing if there are 

questions about practice. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed amendment is less burdensome for all parties and 

conforms to the Code of Virginia, and therefore, the board is 

confident that the rulemaking is noncontroversial and should 

be promulgated as a fast-track action. 

Substance: The change eliminates reference to an agreement 

being on file with the board and includes the allowance for an 

agreement to be in electronic format rather than written 

format. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendment is 

elimination of confusing and conflicting language in 

regulation. There are no disadvantages. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing and the Board of Medicine (Boards) 

propose amendments to improve clarity. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Section 120 of the current 

regulation1 states that "A nurse practitioner may dispense 

only those manufacturers' samples of drugs that are included 

in the written practice agreement as is on file with the board." 

Practice agreement is defined2 as "a written or electronic 

agreement jointly developed by the patient care team 

physician and the nurse practitioner for the practice of the 

nurse practitioner that also describes the prescriptive authority 

of the nurse practitioner, if applicable. For a nurse practitioner 

licensed in the category of certified nurse midwife, the 

practice agreement is a statement jointly developed with the 

consulting physician." Since the practice agreement may be 

written or electronic, the Boards propose to amend the 

sentence in Section 120 to reflect that.  

Additionally, practice agreements are no longer kept on file 

by a board. The Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
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Nurse Practitioners (18 VAC 90-30) state that "The practice 

agreement shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner and 

provided to the boards upon request."3 Consequently, the 

Boards also propose to remove "as is on file with the board" 

from the sentence in Section 120. 

Thus, the proposed new sentence in Section 120 is "A nurse 

practitioner may dispense only those manufacturers' samples 

of drugs that are included in the written or electronic practice 

agreement." Since the proposed amendments do not alter 

rules or requirements, but may reduce the likelihood of 

confusion for readers of the regulation, there would likely be 

a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

pertain to the 6,748 nurse practitioners4 licensed in the 

Commonwealth.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities.  

________________ 

1See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90 

/chapter40/section120/ 

2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter40 

/section10/ 

3See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90 

/chapter30/section120/ and https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18 

/agency90/chapter30/section123/ 

4Data source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing and the Board of Medicine concur with the 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments eliminate reference to a practice 

agreement being on file with the board and permit a 

practice agreement to be electronic rather than written. 

18VAC90-40-120. Dispensing.  

A nurse practitioner may dispense only those manufacturers' 

samples of drugs that are included in the written or electronic 

practice agreement as is on file with the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5193; Filed December 4, 2017, 2:28 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-50. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Massage Therapists (amending 

18VAC90-50-40, 18VAC90-50-60, 18VAC90-50-70, 

18VAC90-50-75, 18VAC90-50-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 24, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) offer additional options for completion 

of continuing education, (ii) require an attestation of 

compliance with laws and ethics for initial licensure, (iii) 

add provisions to the standards of conduct that may 

subject a licensee to disciplinary action, (iv) clarify 

eligibility for provisional licensure, and (v) clarify the 

effect of a lapsed license. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC90-50-40. Initial licensure.  

A. An applicant seeking initial licensure shall submit a 

completed application and required fee and verification of 

meeting the requirements of § 54.1-3029 A of the Code of 

Virginia as follows:  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter40/section120/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter40/section120/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter40/section10/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter40/section10/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter30/section120/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter30/section120/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter30/section123/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter30/section123/
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1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Has successfully completed a minimum of 500 hours of 

training from a massage therapy program certified or 

approved by the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia or an agency in another state, the District of 

Columbia, or a United States territory that approves 

educational programs, notwithstanding the provisions of 

§ 23-276.2 23.1-226 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. Has passed the Licensing Examination of the Federation 

of State Massage Therapy Boards, or an exam deemed 

acceptable to the board;  

4. Has not committed any acts or omissions that would be 

grounds for disciplinary action or denial of certification as 

set forth in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia and 

18VAC90-50-90; and 

5. Has completed a criminal history background check as 

required by § 54.1-3005.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. An applicant shall attest that he has read and will comply 

with laws and regulations and the professional code of ethics 

relating to massage therapy. 

B. C. An applicant who has been licensed or certified in 

another country and who, in the opinion of the board, meets 

provides certification of equivalency to the educational 

requirements in Virginia from a credentialing body acceptable 

to the board shall take and pass an examination as required in 

subsection A of this section in order to become licensed.  

18VAC90-50-60. Provisional licensure.  

A. An eligible candidate who has filed a completed 

application for licensure in Virginia, including completion of 

education requirements, may engage in the provisional 

practice of massage therapy in Virginia while waiting to take 

the licensing examination for a period not to exceed 90 days 

upon from the date on the written authorization from the 

board. A provisional license may be issued for one 90-day 

period and may not be renewed. 

B. The designation of "massage therapist" or "licensed 

massage therapist" shall not be used by the applicant during 

the 90 days of provisional licensure.  

C. An applicant who fails the licensing examination shall 

have his provisional licensure withdrawn upon the receipt of 

the examination results and shall not be eligible for licensure 

until he passes such examination.  

Part III  

Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC90-50-70. Renewal of licensure.  

A. Licensees born in even-numbered years shall renew their 

licenses by the last day of the birth month in even-numbered 

years. Licensees born in odd-numbered years shall renew 

their licenses by the last day of the birth month in odd-

numbered years.  

B. The licensee shall complete the renewal form and submit 

it with the required fee and attest that he has complied with 

continuing competency requirements of 18VAC90-50-75.  

C. Failure to receive the application for renewal shall not 

relieve the licensed massage therapist of the responsibility for 

renewing the license by the expiration date.  

D. The license shall automatically lapse by the last day of 

the birth month if not renewed, and the practice of massage 

therapy or use of the title "massage therapist" or "licensed 

massage therapist" is prohibited.  

18VAC90-50-75. Continuing competency requirements.  

A. In order to renew a license biennially, a licensed massage 

therapist shall:  

1. Hold current certification by the NCBTMB; or  

2. Complete at least 24 hours of continuing education or 

learning activities with at least one hour in professional 

ethics. Hours chosen shall be those that enhance and 

expand the skills and knowledge related to the clinical 

practice of massage therapy and may be distributed as 

follows:  

a. A minimum of 12 of the 24 hours shall be in activities 

or courses provided by an NCBTMB-approved provider 

one of the following providers and may include seminars, 

workshops, home study courses, and continuing 

education courses: 

(1) NCBTMB; 

(2) Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards; 

(3) American Massage Therapy Association; 

(4) Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals; 

(5) Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation; 

(6) A nationally or regionally accredited school or 

program of massage therapy; or 

(7) A school of massage therapy approved by the State 

Council of Higher Education for Virginia.  

b. No more than 12 of the 24 hours may be activities or 

courses that may include consultation, independent 

reading or research, preparation for a presentation, a 

course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, or other such 

experiences that promote continued learning.  

B. A massage therapist shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. The massage therapist shall retain in his records the 

completed form with all supporting documentation for a 
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period of four years following the renewal of an active 

license.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

licensees to determine compliance. The persons selected for 

the audit shall provide evidence of current NCBTMB 

certification or the completed continued competency form 

provided by the board and all supporting documentation 

within 30 days of receiving notification of the audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the massage therapist to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements, for up to one year, for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

Part IV  

Disciplinary Provisions  

18VAC90-50-90. Disciplinary provisions.  

The board has the authority to deny, revoke, or suspend a 

license issued by it or to otherwise discipline a licensee upon 

proof that the practitioner has violated any of the provisions 

of § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia or of this chapter or 

has engaged in the following:  

1. Fraud or deceit, which shall mean, but shall not be 

limited to:  

a. Filing false credentials;  

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial 

licensure, or reinstatement or renewal of a license; or  

c. Misrepresenting one's qualifications including scope of 

practice.  

2. Unprofessional conduct, which shall mean, but shall not 

be limited to:  

a. Performing acts which that constitute the practice of 

any other health care profession for which a license or a 

certificate is required or acts which that are beyond the 

limits of the practice of massage therapy as defined in 

§ 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia;  

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the 

practice of massage therapy without adequate training or 

when competency has not been maintained;  

c. Failing to acknowledge the limitations of and 

contraindications for massage and bodywork or failing to 

refer patients to appropriate health care professionals 

when indicated;  

d. Entering into a relationship with a patient or client that 

constitutes a professional boundary violation in which 

the massage therapist uses his professional position to 

take advantage of the vulnerability of a patient, a client, 

or his family, to include [ but not be limited to ] actions 

that result in personal gain at the expense of the patient 

or client, a nontherapeutic personal involvement, or 

sexual conduct with a patient or client;  

e. Falsifying or otherwise altering patient or employer 

records;  

f. Violating the privacy of patients or the confidentiality 

of patient information unless required to do so by law;  

g. Employing or assigning unqualified persons to practice 

under the title of "massage therapist" or "licensed 

massage therapist";  

h. Engaging in any material misrepresentation in the 

course of one's practice as a massage therapist; or  

i. Obtaining money or property of a patient or client by 

fraud, misrepresentation, or duress; 

j. Violating state laws relating to the privacy of patient 

information, including § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

k. Providing false information to staff or board members 

in the course of an investigation or proceeding;  

l. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required by § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 

abuse or neglect as required by § 63.2-1606 of the Code 

of Virginia;  

m. Violating any provision of this chapter; or 

n. Failing to practice in a manner consistent with the 

code of ethics of the NCBTMB, as incorporated by 

reference into this chapter with the exception of the 

requirement to follow all policies, procedures, guidelines, 

regulations, codes, and requirements promulgated by the 

NCBTMB.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4739; Filed December 4, 2017, 1:46 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-

20-131).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 24, 2018. 

Effective Date: February 8, 2018.  
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Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Physical Therapy the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

The specific mandate for physical therapists to complete 

board-approved continuing education is found in § 54.1-

3480.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to expand 

the list of entities that may sponsor or approve continuing 

education. Since the Federation of State Boards of Physical 

Therapy (FSBPT) is the organization comprised of state 

boards of physical therapy, the board is confident that it only 

approves or offers continuing education courses or programs 

that have validity and add to the competency of licensees to 

provide patient care in a safe and effective manner. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

addition of FSBPT as a continuing education provider and 

approving body should add to the opportunities for continuing 

education for licensees and should not be controversial.  

Substance: 18VAC112-20-131 is amended to include the 

Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy as one of the 

organizations or entities that may approve or provide 

continuing education in physical therapy.  

Issues: The advantage to the public is that a licensee has more 

options for continuing education, which improves his ability 

to provide good patient care. There are no disadvantages to 

the public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Physical Therapy (Board) proposes to add the 

Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) to 

the list of entities that may approve or sponsor continuing 

education (CE) for physical therapists and physical therapist 

assistants.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

the proposed amendment. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Department of Health 

Professions believes that it is already generally assumed that 

CE approved or provided by FSBPT would be recognized by 

the Board. Consequently, practically speaking, the proposed 

amendment serves mostly as a clarification and most likely 

would not change who offers CE and from where physical 

therapists and physical therapist assistants choose to obtain 

their CE. Nevertheless, adding FSBPT to the list of entities 

that may approve or sponsor CE for physical therapists and 

physical therapist assistants is beneficial in that it eliminates 

potential confusion. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects the 7708 physical therapists and 3207 

physical therapist assistants licensed in the Commonwealth, 

their employers, and providers of continuing education for 

physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. Many 

physical therapists and physical therapist assistants work for 

large health systems. It is unknown how many work for small 

businesses.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Physical Therapy concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds the Federation of State Boards of 

Physical Therapy to the list of entities that may approve or 

sponsor continuing education for physical therapists and 

physical therapist assistants. 
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18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a physical 

therapist or a physical therapist assistant shall complete at 

least 30 contact hours of continuing learning activities within 

the two years immediately preceding renewal. In choosing 

continuing learning activities or courses, the licensee shall 

consider the following: (i) the need to promote ethical 

practice, (ii) an appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient 

safety, (iv) application of new medical technology, (v) 

appropriate communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge 

of the changing health care system.  

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 

maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 

Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 

completion of the following:  

1. A minimum of 20 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 courses. For 

the purpose of this section, "course" means an organized 

program of study, classroom experience or similar 

educational experience that is directly related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy and approved or provided by 

one of the following organizations or any of its 

components:  

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association;  

b. The American Physical Therapy Association;  

c. Local, state or federal government agencies;  

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities;  

e. Health care organizations accredited by a national 

accrediting organization granted authority by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services to assure 

compliance with Medicare conditions of participation;  

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 

Continuing Medical Education course; and  

g. The National Athletic Trainers' Association; or 

h. The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy.  

2. No more than 10 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 

courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 

organization but which shall be related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 

but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 

independent study, and research or writing on subjects 

related to practice. Up to two of the Type 2 continuing 

education hours may be satisfied through delivery of 

physical therapy services, without compensation, to low-

income individuals receiving services through a local 

health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of health services.  

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 

American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 

as evidence of completion of continuing competency 

requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 

or recertification occurs.  

4. Documentation of graduation from a transitional doctor 

of physical therapy program may be provided as evidence 

of completion of continuing competency requirements for 

the biennium in which the physical therapist was awarded 

the degree. 

5. A physical therapist who can document that he has taken 

the PRT may receive 10 hours of Type 1 credit for the 

biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. A 

physical therapist who can document that he has met the 

standard of the PRT may receive 20 hours of Type 1 credit 

for the biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure by examination in 

Virginia.  

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 

board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 

Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5255; Filed December 4, 2017, 2:29 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Appraiser Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Professional and Occupational 
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Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The Real Estate Appraiser Board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

90, 18VAC130-20-130, 18VAC130-20-250).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce certain fees for the period 

February 28, 2018, to February 1, 2020, to comply with 

§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC130-20-90. Application and registration fees. 

There will be no pro rata refund of these fees to licensees 

who resign or upgrade to a higher license or to licensees 

whose licenses are revoked or surrendered for other causes. 

All application fees for licenses and registrations are 

nonrefundable.  

1. Application fees for registrations, certificates and 

licenses are as follows:  

Registration of Business Entity $160 

Certified General Real Estate 

Appraiser 

$290  

Temporary Certified General 

Real Estate Appraiser 

$75 

Certified Residential Real 

Estate Appraiser 

$290  

Temporary Certified 

Residential Real Estate 

Appraiser 

$75 

Licensed Residential Real 

Estate Appraiser 

$290  

Temporary Licensed 

Residential Real Estate 

Appraiser 

$75 

Appraiser Trainee $155  

Upgrade of License $130 

Instructor Certification $150 

Application fees for a certified general real estate 

appraiser, a certified residential real estate appraiser, a 

licensed residential real estate appraiser and an appraiser 

trainee include a $30 $37.50 fee for a copy of the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. This fee is 

subject to the fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation and 

may be adjusted and charged to the applicant in accordance 

with the fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation.  

2. Examination fees. The fee for examination or 

reexamination is subject to contracted charges to the 

department by an outside vendor. These contracts are 

competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance 

with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with this contract.  

3. An $80 National Registry fee assessment for all 

permanent license applicants is to be assessed of each 

applicant in accordance with § 1109 of the Financial 

Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 

1989 (12 USC §§ 3331–3351). This fee may be adjusted 

and charged to the applicant in accordance with the Act. If 

the applicant fails to qualify for licensure, then this 

assessment fee will be refunded.  

18VAC130-20-130. Fees for renewal and reinstatement. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable.  

B. National Registry fee assessment. In accordance with the 

requirements of § 1109 of the Financial Institutions Reform, 

Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989, $80 of the biennial 

renewal or reinstatement fee assessed for all certified general 

real estate appraisers, certified residential and licensed 

residential real estate appraisers shall be submitted to the 

Appraisal Subcommittee. The registry fee may be adjusted in 

accordance with the Act and charged to the licensee.  

Renewal and reinstatement fees for a certified general real 

estate appraiser, a certified residential real estate appraiser, a 

licensed residential real estate appraiser and an appraiser 

trainee include a $30 $37.50 fee for a copy of the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. This fee is 

subject to the fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation and 

may be adjusted and charged to the applicant in accordance 

with the fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation.  

C. Renewal fees are as follows:  

Certified general real estate appraiser $205  

Certified residential real estate appraiser $205 

Licensed residential real estate appraiser $205 

Appraiser trainee $125  

Registered business entity $120 

Certified instructor $150 
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For licenses expiring on February 28, 2018, and before 

February 1, 2020, the renewal fees are as follows: 

Certified general real estate appraiser $150  

Certified residential real estate appraiser $150 

Licensed residential real estate appraiser $150 

Appraiser trainee $70  

Registered business entity $60 

Certified instructor $75 

D. Reinstatement fees are as follows:  

Certified general real estate appraiser $385  

Certified residential real estate appraiser $385  

Licensed residential real estate appraiser $385  

Appraiser trainee $250  

Registered business entity $280 

Certified instructor $300 

For licenses expiring on February 28, 2018, and before 

February 1, 2020, the reinstatement fees shall be as follows:  

Certified general real estate appraiser $330  

Certified residential real estate appraiser $330  

Licensed residential real estate appraiser $330  

Appraiser trainee $165  

Registered business entity $220 

Certified instructor $225 

18VAC130-20-250. Re-approval Reapproval of courses 

required.  

Approval letters issued under this chapter for educational 

offerings shall expire two years from the last day of the 

month in which they were issued, as indicated in the approval 

letter. The re-approval reapproval fee shall be equivalent to 

the original approval fee specified in 18VAC130-20-240. For 

courses expiring on February 28, 2018, and before February 

1, 2020, the course reapproval fee shall be $75. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5358; Filed December 4, 2017, 6:29 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Appraiser Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The Real Estate Appraiser Board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-30. Appraisal Management 

Company Regulations (amending 18VAC130-30-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 

826-8863, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce renewal and reinstatement fees 

for appraisal management company licenses for the period 

February 28, 2018, to February 1, 2020, to comply with 

§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC130-30-60. Fee schedule. 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Initial Application - 

Appraisal 

Management 

Company  

$490  
With 

application  

Renewal - 

Appraisal 

Management 

Company  

$300  
With renewal 

application 

Reinstatement - 

Appraisal 

Management 

Company  

$790 (includes a 

$490 

reinstatement fee 

in addition to the 

regular $300 

renewal fee)  

With 

reinstatement 

application 

For licenses expiring on February 28, 2018, and before 

February 1, 2020, the renewal fee shall be as follows: 

Renewal - 

Appraisal 

Management 

Company  

$150  With renewal 

application 

For licenses expiring on February 28, 2018, and before 

February 1, 2020, the reinstatement fee shall be as follows: 

Reinstatement - 

Appraisal 

Management 

Company  

$640 (includes a 

$490 

reinstatement 

fee in addition to 

the $150 

renewal fee)  

With 

reinstatement 

application 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5356; Filed December 4, 2017, 6:30 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 25, 2017 

892 

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, 

or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Regulations (amending 19VAC30-70-50, 

19VAC30-70-210).  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 26, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Captain Ronald C. Maxey, Jr., Safety 

Officer, Department of State Police, 7700 Midlothian 

Turnpike, North Chesterfield, VA 23235, telephone (804) 

674-6774, FAX (804) 674-2916, or email 

ron.maxey@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change the location of the inspection 

sticker from the center of the windshield to the lower left 

corner; revise the list of permissible decals; remove 

references to the U.S. Department of Defense base decals, 

which were eliminated in 2013; and change the placement 

of approved decals on the windshield. 

19VAC30-70-50. Approval stickers and decals. 

A. If the vehicle meets all inspection requirements, the 

certified safety inspector performing the inspection shall 

immediately enter the receipt information via the MVIP 

system.  

The inspection sticker is not valid unless the rear portion is 

completed with the vehicle make, year built, license plate 

number (dealer name if a dealer tag is displayed), body type, 

and the complete vehicle identification number (VIN). The 

inspection sticker shall be completed using black indelible 

ink. 

B. Approval stickers and decals shall be issued according to 

the following schedule:  

ANNUAL PROGRAM 

Vehicles inspected in January are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "1" 

Vehicles inspected in February are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "2" 

Vehicles inspected in March are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "3" 

Vehicles inspected in April are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "4" 

Vehicles inspected in May are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "5" 

Vehicles inspected in June are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "6" 

Vehicles inspected in July are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "7" 

Vehicles inspected in August are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "8" 

Vehicles inspected in September are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "9" 

Vehicles inspected in October are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "10" 

Vehicles inspected in November are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "11" 

Vehicles inspected in December are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "12" 

All February annual inspection stickers for trailer and 

motorcycle decals (#2) due to expire at midnight, February 28 

automatically will be valid through midnight February 29 

each leap year. 

C. The numeral decal indicating the month of expiration 

shall be inserted in the box identified as month and the 

numeral decal indicating the year of expiration shall be 

inserted in the box identified as year of the approval sticker 

and the trailer or motorcycle sticker. Extreme care should be 

used by inspectors in applying these inserts. On all 

windshields, except school buses, the sticker is to be placed at 

the bottom left corner of the windshield so that the inside or 

when viewed from the inside of the vehicle. The left edge of 

the sticker is to be placed as close as practical, but no closer 

than one inch to the right of the vertical center left edge of the 

windshield when looking through the windshield from 

viewed from the inside of the vehicle. (If the vehicle is 

normally operated from the right side, the sticker must be 

placed one inch to the left of the vertical center of the 

windshield.) The top edge of the sticker is to be 

approximately four inches from the bottom of the windshield 

when viewed from the inside of the vehicle. 

On passenger vehicles not equipped with a windshield, the 

sticker shall be placed on or under the dash and protected in 

some manner from the weather. 

The approval sticker on official yellow school buses is to be 

placed at the bottom and in the right corner of the windshield 

when looking through the windshield from inside the vehicle. 

EXCEPTIONS: The approval sticker shall be placed one 

inch to the right of the vertical center of the windshield when 

looking through the windshield from the inside on all new 

flat-face cowl yellow school buses. On vehicles equipped 

with heating and grid elements on the inside of the 

windshield, the sticker shall be placed one inch above the top 

of the grid element and the inside left edge of the sticker shall 

be approximately one inch to the right of the vertical center 

left edge of the windshield when looking through the 
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windshield from the inside viewed from the inside of the 

vehicle. 

Stickers or decals used by counties, cities and towns in lieu 

of license plates affixed adjacent to the old approval sticker 

and which are affixed in the location where the new approval 

sticker is required to be placed will not be removed. Any 

sticker or decal required by the laws of any other state or the 

District of Columbia and displayed upon the windshield of a 

vehicle submitted for inspection in the Commonwealth is 

permitted by the superintendent, provided the vehicle is 

currently registered in that jurisdiction, and the sticker is 

displayed in a manner designated by the issuing authority and 

has not expired. In these cases, the approval if the sticker or 

decal is located where the inspection sticker is to be placed, it 

will not be removed unless the owner or operator authorizes 

its removal. The inspection sticker will be placed as close to 

one 1/4 inch to the right of the vertical center of the 

windshield as it can be placed sticker or decal when viewed 

from the inside of the vehicle without removing or 

overlapping the county, city or town sticker or decal. 

D. The Code of Virginia requires that the inspection sticker 

be displayed on the windshield or at other designated places 

at all times. The inspection sticker cannot be transferred from 

one vehicle to another. 

EXCEPTION: If the windshield in a vehicle is replaced, a 

valid sticker may be removed from the old windshield and 

placed on the new windshield. 

E. The sticker issued to a motorcycle shall be affixed to the 

left side of the cycle where it will be most visible after 

mounting. The sticker may be placed on a plate on the left 

side where it will be most visible and securely fastened to the 

motorcycle for the purpose of displaying the sticker. The 

sticker may be placed horizontally or vertically. 

F. Trailer stickers will be issued to all trailers and 

semitrailers required to be inspected. (No boat, utility, or 

travel trailer that is not equipped with brakes shall be required 

to be inspected.) 

G. All inspected trailers must display a trailer sticker on that 

particular vehicle. These stickers are to be placed on the left 

side of the trailer near the front corner. The sticker must be 

affixed to the trailer body or frame. In those instances where a 

metal back container with a removable transparent cover has 

been permanently affixed to the trailer body, the sticker may 

be glued to it. The container must be permanently mounted in 

such a manner that the sticker must be destroyed to remove it. 

H. In all other cases involving unusually designed trailers 

such as pole trailers, the safety inspector is to exercise his 

own good judgment in placing the sticker at a point where it 

will be as prominent as possible and visible for examination 

from the left side. 

I. Motorcycles have a separate sticker that is orange and 

issued with the prefix M. Trailers have a separate sticker that 

is blue and issued with the prefix T. The trailer and 

motorcycle receipts are completed in the same manner as 

other inspection receipts. 

J. Appointed stations will keep sufficient inspection supplies 

on hand to meet their needs. Requests for additional supplies 

shall be ordered via the MVIP system. Requests for supplies 

that are to be picked up at the Safety Division Headquarters 

must be made at least 24 hours prior to pick up.  

Packing slips mailed with inspection supplies will be kept 

on file at the station for at least 24 months. 

K. All unused center inserts used to indicate the month that a 

sticker expires, in possession of the inspection station at the 

end of each month, shall be retained by the inspection station, 

properly safeguarded, and used in the inspection of vehicles 

for that particular month in the following year or be disposed 

of as directed by the Department of State Police. 

All inspection supplies that are voided, damaged, disfigured 

or become unserviceable in any manner, will be returned to 

the Safety Division. New replacement supplies will be issued 

to the station. Expired stickers will be picked up by the 

station's supervising trooper. 

L. All voided approval or rejection stickers will be picked 

up by the station's supervising trooper. 

M. The MVIP system approval or rejection printed receipt 

shall be given to the owner or operator of the vehicle. 

N. All yellow receipt copies of approval stickers and decals 

will be retained in the books and shall be kept on file at the 

station for at least six months. They may be inspected by any 

law-enforcement officer during normal business hours. 

O. Safety Division troopers may replace inspection stickers 

that have separated from the windshield of motor vehicles and 

become lost or damaged without conducting an inspection of 

the safety components of the vehicle. Such replacement of 

inspection stickers shall be made only in accordance with the 

following provisions: 

1. A vehicle owner or operator complaining of the loss or 

damage to the inspection sticker on the windshield of their 

vehicle due to separation of the sticker from the windshield 

shall be directed to the nearest Safety Division Area Office 

or Safety Division trooper. 

2. Safety Division troopers, upon receipt of a complaint 

from a vehicle owner or operator that their inspection 

sticker has been stolen, lost or become damaged due to 

separation from the windshield, will make arrangements to 

meet the person to effect the replacement of the sticker. A 

vehicle owner or operator alleging theft of the inspection 

sticker will furnish proof to the Safety Division trooper 
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that such theft has been reported to the proper law-

enforcement authority. 

3. The vehicle owner or operator must produce the original 

safety inspection approval sticker receipt indicating a valid 

approval inspection sticker was issued to the vehicle within 

the past 11 months. (The vehicle must be reinspected if the 

expiration of the original inspection sticker is in the month 

the request is being made.) 

4. The Safety Division trooper will verify by the inspection 

receipt that the vehicle was issued an approval inspection 

sticker within the past 11 months and will then issue a 

replacement inspection sticker to the vehicle. If any 

obvious equipment defects are detected during the 

replacement process, the vehicle will not be issued a 

replacement approval sticker.  

5. The Safety Division trooper will complete the inspection 

sticker receipt for the approval sticker from information 

contained on the original receipt. The date the replacement 

sticker is issued will be used in the date space. In the space 

for Inspection Related Charges, the trooper will insert the 

word "REPLACEMENT" and the sticker number from the 

original inspection receipt. 

6. The Safety Division trooper will sign the receipt 

vertically in the O.K. column in the "Equipment Inspected" 

blocks. These blocks will not otherwise be completed. 

7. The Safety Division trooper shall place month and year 

inserts on the inspection sticker to reflect the expiration as 

shown on the original approval inspection sticker and place 

the inspection sticker on the windshield in accordance with 

the requirements of subsection C of this section. 

8. The Safety Division trooper will enter the replacement 

information into the MVIP system. 

P. New vehicle safety inspections. 

1. Section 46.2-1158.01 of the Code of Virginia allows an 

employee who customarily performs the inspection 

requirement of a manufacturer or distributor of new motor 

vehicles to place an inspection sticker furnished by the 

Department of State Police on the vehicle once it has met 

the requirements of that manufacturer or distributor. This 

employee does not have to be a certified safety inspector. 

2. With the addition of other personnel using Department 

of State Police inspection supplies, a system shall be 

developed at each inspection station to afford 

accountability of all supplies. The system shall include 

proper safeguards to prevent the loss of supplies through 

carelessness, neglect, theft, or unauthorized use. 

3. Inspection stations shall not mix annual state inspections 

with predelivery inspections (PDI) in the same book of 

inspection stickers. 

4. All employees shall be reminded that anyone who 

performs inspections, whether it be for the annual 

inspection or the PDI inspection, is subject to criminal 

prosecution if inspection supplies are used illegally or used 

in some other unauthorized way. 

5. Station management and licensed safety inspectors are 

subject to administrative sanctions for any misuse of 

inspection supplies. 

6. The inspection receipts shall be completed as usual with 

the following exceptions: On the "inspector" line, the 

initials "PDI" (for predelivery inspection) and the printed 

employee's name performing the inspection shall be 

entered. On the "inspector's license number" line, the 

letters "N/A" shall be entered. In the equipment inspected 

section, the words "New Vehicle" shall be entered in the 

"adjust" column. The PDI employee performing the 

inspection shall sign his name in the "O.K." column. 

19VAC30-70-210. Glass and glazing. 

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 

side glasses, or any kind of glazing, except that any motor 

vehicle other than a motorcycle that was manufactured, 

assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 

equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 

installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 

see 19VAC30-70-50 C for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 

January 1, 1936, or any bus, taxicab or school bus 

manufactured or assembled after January 1, 1935, is not 

equipped throughout with safety glass, or other safety 

glazing material. (This requirement includes slide-in 

campers used on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on 

pickup trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 

not of an approved type and properly identified (refer to 

approved equipment section). (Replacement safety glass 

installed in any part of a vehicle other than the windshield 

need not bear a trademark or name, provided the glass 

consists of two or more sheets of glass separated by a 

glazing material, and provided the glass is cut from a piece 

of approved safety glass, and provided the edge of the 

glass can be observed.) 

NOTE: A number of 1998 and 1999 model year Ford 

Contour/Mystique, Econoline and Ranger vehicles were 

produced without the AS-1 windshield marking as required 

by FMVSS #205. Ford has certified that these vehicles' 

windshields meet all performance standards and will not be 

rejected. 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 

or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 

vehicle. 
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4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 

above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 

one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 

center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 

as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 

windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 

driver's vision; any alteration that has been made to a 

vehicle that obstructs the driver's clear view through the 

windshield. This may include but is not limited to large 

objects hanging from the inside mirror, CB radios or 

tachometers on the dash, hood scoops, and other 

ornamentation on or in front of the hood that is not 

transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for the year 1990 or earlier model year 

cannot exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point 

measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 

windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for the 1991 or subsequent model year 

cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 

measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 

windshield. 

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 

more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 

area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 

three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 

windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 

side windshield wiper area shall be rejected. 

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 

clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 

from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 

the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 1-1/2 inches 

in diameter at any location in the windshield above the 

three-inch line at the bottom. 

8. At any location in the windshield above the three-inch 

line at the bottom (as measured from the junction of the 

dash board and the windshield) there is more than one 

crack from the same point if at least one of the cracks is 

more than 1-1/2 inches in length. There is any crack that 

weakens the windshield so that one piece may be moved in 

relation to the other. (If there is more than one crack 

running from a star crack that extends above the three-inch 

line, the windshield shall be rejected.) 

EXCEPTION: Windshield repair is a viable option to 

windshield replacement. A windshield that has been 

repaired will pass inspection unless: 

a. It is likely to cut or injure a person. 

b. There is any distortion that interferes with a driver's 

vision. 

c. The windshield remains weakened so that one piece 

may be moved in relation to the other. 

d. The integrity of the windshield has obviously been 

compromised by the damage or the repair.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 

one required by law or permitted by the superintendent. 

Authorization is hereby granted for stickers or decals, to 

include those required by any county, town, or city, 

measuring not more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four 

inches in length to be placed in the blind spot behind the 

rear view mirror. Department of Defense decals measuring 

no more than three inches in width and eight inches in 

length may be affixed to the upper edge of the center of the 

windshield. At the option of the motor vehicle's owner, the 

decal may be affixed at the lower left corner of the 

windshield so that the inside or left edge of the sticker or 

decal is within one inch of the extreme left edge of the 

windshield when looking through the windshield from 

inside the vehicle. When placed at this location, the bottom 

edge of the sticker or decal must be affixed within three 

inches of the bottom of the windshield. This location can 

only be used if the owner of the vehicle has chosen not to 

place any required county, town or city decal there. The 

normal location for any required county, town, or city 

decal sticker is adjacent to the right side of the official 

inspection sticker and must not extend upward more than 

three inches from the bottom of the windshield when 

viewed from inside the vehicle. The top edge of the sticker 

is to be approximately four inches from the bottom of the 

windshield. The left side edge adjacent to the official 

inspection sticker shall not be more than 1/4 inch from the 

right edge of the official inspection sticker when viewed 

from inside the vehicle. Valid Commercial Vehicle Safety 

Alliance (CVSA) inspection decals or similar commercial 

vehicle inspection decal issued by local law enforcement 

may be placed at the bottom or sides right corner of the 

windshield provided when viewed from inside the vehicle. 

The top edge of such decals do not extend more than 4-1/2 

are to be approximately four inches from the bottom of the 

windshield when viewed from inside the vehicle and are to 

be located outside the area swept by the windshield wipers 

and outside the driver's sight line.  

Any sticker or decal required by the laws of any other state 

or the District of Columbia and displayed upon the 

windshield of a vehicle submitted for inspection in this 

state is permitted by the superintendent, provided the 

vehicle is currently registered in that jurisdiction, and the 

sticker is displayed in a manner designated by the issuing 

authority and has not expired. This includes vehicles with 

dual registration; (i.e., Virginia and the District of 

Columbia).  
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NOTE: Any Virginia registered vehicle displaying a valid 

sticker or decal required by a county, town, or city is 

permitted by the superintendent to remain in its current 

location through December 31, 2018, unless such location 

conflicts with the inspection sticker placement. This 

provision will afford localities time to enact changes to 

regulations governing required stickers or decals that may 

be impacted by the 2018 inspection sticker placement 

change. 

NOTE: Fastoll Transponder Toll transponder devices may 

be affixed to the inside center of the windshield at the roof 

line just above the rear view mirror. If space does not 

allow, then it the transponder device may be affixed to the 

immediate right of the mirror at the roof line. 

NOTE: Volvo placed a warning sticker on the windshield 

of their cars equipped with side impact air bags. In 

accordance with this paragraph the sticker shall be 

removed. If the sticker can be removed intact then it may 

be placed on the left rear window in the lower front corner. 

Customers should be referred to the nearest Safety 

Division area office for replacement if it could not be 

removed intact.  

NOTE: A licensed motor vehicle dealer may apply one 

transponder sticker no larger than one inch by four inches 

and one barcode sticker no larger than three inches by four 

inches to the driver's side edge of a vehicle's windshield to 

be removed upon the sale or lease of the vehicle provided 

that it does not extend below the AS-1 line. In the absence 

of an AS-1 line the sticker cannot extend more than three 

inches downward from the top of the windshield. 

EXCEPTION: Stickers or decals used by counties, cities 

and towns in lieu of license plates may be placed on the 

windshield without further authority. Except on privately 

owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal shall be 

placed on the windshield adjacent to the right side of the 

official inspection sticker or the optional placement to the 

extreme lower left side of the windshield. The top edge of 

the sticker or decal shall not extend upward more than 

three inches from the bottom of the windshield. The left 

side edge adjacent to the official inspection sticker shall 

not be more than 1/4 inch from the right edge of the 

official inspection sticker when looking through the 

windshield from inside the vehicle. At the option of the 

motor vehicle owner, the sticker or decal may be affixed at 

the lower left corner of the windshield so that the inside or 

left edge of the sticker or decal is within one inch of the 

extreme left edge of the windshield when looking through 

the windshield from inside the vehicle. When placed at this 

location, the bottom edge of the sticker or decal must be 

affixed within three inches of the bottom of the windshield.  

NOTE: Any vehicle displaying an expired sticker or decal 

on its windshield at the time of inspection, excluding a 

rejection sticker that is present on the windshield at the 

time of inspection, shall not be issued an approval sticker 

unless the owner/operator "authorizes" owner or operator 

authorizes its removal. A rejection sticker will be issued 

versus an involuntary removal. On privately owned yellow 

school buses, the sticker or decal shall be placed on the 

windshield adjacent to the left side of the official 

inspection sticker, and not more than 1/4 inch from the left 

edge of the official inspection sticker when looking 

through the windshield from inside the vehicle. The top 

edge of the sticker shall not extend upward more than three 

inches from the bottom of the windshield.  

10. Sunshading material on the windshield, or words, 

lettering, numbers or pictures that does do not extend 

below the AS-1 line will not be considered for inspection. 

In the absence of an AS-1 line sunshading material on the 

windshield displaying words, lettering, numbers or pictures 

cannot extend more than three inches downward from the 

top of the windshield, unless authorized by the Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle 

registration. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 

factory meet federal standards and will pass state 

inspection. 

11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 

wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 

glazing.  

12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three inches 

from the bottom of the glass or other defects that affect the 

driver's vision or one or more cracks which that permit one 

part of the glass to be moved in relation to another part. 

Wind silencers, breezes or other ventilator adaptors are not 

made of clear transparent material.  

EXCEPTION: Colored or tinted ventvisors that do not 

exceed more than two inches from the forward door post 

into the driver's viewing area are permitted.  

13. Glass in the left front door cannot be lowered so a hand 

signal can be given. (This does not apply to vehicles that 

were not designed and/or or manufactured for the left front 

glass to be lowered, provided the vehicle is equipped with 

approved turn signals.) If either front door has the glass 

removed and material inserted in place of the glass that 

could obstruct the driver's vision.  

EXCEPTION: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side.  

14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front side 

window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The price 

label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide required by 

federal statute and regulations to be affixed to new/used 

new or used vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally 

be affixed to one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle 

only has two door windows, the labels may be affixed to 
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one of these windows. If a vehicle does not have any door 

or side windows the labels may be temporarily affixed to 

the right side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to 

the first purchaser.  

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 

area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 

five inches of the glass in the rear window if a vehicle has 

only one outside mirror, a single sticker or decal no larger 

than 10 square inches located in an area not more than 

three inches above the bottom and not more than eight 

inches from the rearmost edge of either front side window, 

is permissible and should not be rejected.  

A single sticker issued by the Department of 

Transportation to identify a physically challenged driver, 

no larger than two inches by two inches, located not more 

than one inch to the rear of the front door post, or one inch 

to the rear of the front ventilator glass, if equipped with a 

ventilator glass, and no higher than one inch from the 

bottom of the window opening, is permitted on the front 

driver's side window on a vehicle specially equipped for 

the physically challenged.  

15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the driver 

does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 

vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 

rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 

case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 

inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 

operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 

sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear 

window, or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or 

stickers, regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window, 

or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 

sunshading material.  

d. Rear side windows, rear window, or windows is 

clouded or distorted.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5339; Filed November 28, 2017, 4:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 21VAC5-20. Broker-Dealers, 

Broker-Dealer Agents and Agents of the Issuer (amending 

21VAC5-20-90, 21VAC5-20-110, 21VAC5-20-155, 

21VAC5-20-160, 21VAC5-20-180). 

21VAC5-30. Securities Registration (amending 21VAC5-

30-80). 

21VAC5-40. Exempt Securities and Transactions 

(repealing 21VAC5-40-30). 

21VAC5-45. Federal Covered Securities (adding 21VAC5-

45-40). 

21VAC5-80. Investment Advisors (amending 21VAC5-80-

70, 21VAC5-80-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jude C. Richnafsky, Senior Examiner, 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising, State 

Corporation Commission, 1300 East Main Street, 9th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, mailing address: P.O. Box 1197, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9415, FAX (804) 

371-9911, or email jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action pertains to the administration and 

enforcement of the Virginia Securities Act and affects 

several regulatory chapters. Amendments to 21VAC5-20, 

Broker-dealers, Broker-dealer Agents and Agents of the 

Issuer, and 21VAC5-80, Investment Advisors, increase the 

registration and annual renewal filing fee to $40 for 

broker-dealer agents, agents of the issuer, and investment 

advisor representatives. Amendments to 21VAC5-30, 

Securities Registration, update the Oil and Gas Programs 

statements of policy and add four statements of policy of 

the North American Securities Administrators Association, 

as follows: Promotional Shares, Loans & Other Material 

Transactions, Impoundment of Proceeds, and Electronic 

Offering Documents and Electronic Signatures. The action 

repeals the section of 21VAC5-40, Exempt Securities and 
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Transactions, regarding the Regulation D, Rule 505 

exemption due to the repeal of Rule 505 by the U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) in October 

2016. A new section in 21VAC5-45, Federal Covered 

Securities, establishes a notice filing requirement for 

issuers conducting a federal crowdfunding securities 

offering. In May of 2016, the SEC adopted the final rules 

for federal crowdfunding that preempted the requirement 

of the registration of these offerings. However, a state that 

is home to the principal place of business of the issuer or 

in which residents have purchased 50% or more of the 

offering amount may require a notice filing that contains 

all documents filed with the SEC together with a consent to 

service of process.  

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 20, 2017 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2017-00034 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting a Revision to the Rules 

Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered on September 

26, 2017,1 all interested persons were ordered to take notice 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") 

would consider the adoption of revisions to Chapters 20, 30, 

40, 45, and 80 of Title 21 of the Virginia Administrative 

Code. On October 2, 2017, the Division of Securities and 

Retail Franchising ("Division") mailed and emailed the Order 

of the proposed rules to all interested persons pursuant to the 

Virginia Securities Act, § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia.2 The Order described the proposed revisions and 

afforded interested persons an opportunity to file comments 

and request a hearing on or before November 1, 2017, with 

the Clerk of the Commission. The Order provided that 

requests for hearing shall state why a hearing is necessary and 

why the issues cannot be adequately addressed in written 

comments. 

The Commission received one comment with regard to the 

proposed revisions. The comment did not provide a reference 

to the specific regulation being amended but generally was 

supportive of the registration fee increase (found in the 

revisions to Chapters 20 and 80). The Commission received 

no other comments to the proposed revisions. 

No one requested a hearing on the proposed regulation 

revisions. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

proposed amendments to the proposed rules, the 

recommendation of the Division, and the record in this case, 

finds that the proposed amendments should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed rules are attached hereto, made a part of 

hereof, and are hereby ADOPTED effective December 1, 

2017. 

(2) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 

the adopted rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 

Commission in care of Ronald W. Thomas, Director of the 

Division, who forthwith shall give further notice of the 

adopted rules by mailing or emailing a copy of this Order, to 

all interested persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

adopted rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket, 

and the papers herein shall be placed in the filed for ended 

causes. 

__________________________ 

1Doc. Con. Cen. No 170920181. 

2The notice was published by the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on 
October 16, 2017. Doc. Con. Cen. No. 171040210. 

Part II  

Broker-Dealer Agents 

21VAC5-20-90. Application for registration as a broker-

dealer agent. 

A. Application for registration as an agent of a FINRA 

member shall be filed on and in compliance with all 

requirements of CRD and in full compliance with the forms 

and regulations prescribed by the commission. The 

application shall include all information required by such 

forms.  

An application shall be deemed incomplete for registration 

as a broker-dealer agent unless the applicant submits the 

following executed forms, fee, and information:  

1. Form U4.  

2. The statutory fee made payable to FINRA in the amount 

of $30 $40.  

3. Evidence in the form of a FINRA exam report of passing 

within the two-year period immediately preceding the date 

of the application: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State 

Law Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined 

State Law Examination, Series 66; or (iii) a similar 

examination in general use by securities administrators 

which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the 

commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and 

Retail Franchising designates.  

4. Any other information the commission may require.  
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B. Application for registration for non-FINRA member 

broker-dealer agents shall be filed on and in compliance with 

all requirements and forms prescribed by the commission.  

An application shall be deemed incomplete for registration 

as a broker-dealer agent unless the applicant submits the 

following executed forms, fee, and information:  

1. Form U4. 

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $30 $40. The check 

must be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

3. Evidence in the form of a FINRA exam report of passing 

within the two-year period immediately preceding the date 

of the application: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State 

Law Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined 

State Law Examination, Series 66; or (iii) a similar 

examination in general use by securities administrators 

which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the 

commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and 

Retail Franchising designates.  

4. Any other information the commission may require.  

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 

application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 

However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 

information regarding the application, the commission may 

extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 

notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 

may be made by the commission on any one application. An 

extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 

shall be granted upon written request of the applicant.  

21VAC5-20-110. Renewals.  

A. To renew the registration or registrations of its broker-

dealer agent or agents, a FINRA member broker-dealer will 

be billed by CRD the statutory fee of $30 $40 per broker-

dealer agent. A renewal of registration or registrations shall 

be granted as a matter of course upon payment of the proper 

fee or fees unless the registration was, or the renewal would 

be, subject to revocation under § 13.1-506 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. A non-FINRA member broker-dealer shall file with the 

commission at its Division of Securities and Retail 

Franchising the following items at least 30 days prior to the 

expiration of registration.  

1. Agents to be Renewed (Form S.D.4.A) accompanied by 

the statutory fee of $30 $40 for each agent whose 

registration is to be renewed. The check must be made 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

2. If applicable, Agents to be Canceled with clear records 

(Form S.D.4.B).  

3. If applicable, Agents to be Canceled without clear 

records (Form S.D.4.C).  

21VAC5-20-155. Limited Canadian broker-dealer agent 

registration.  

A. An agent of a Canadian broker-dealer who has no office 

or other physical presence in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

may, provided the broker-dealer agent is registered under this 

section, effect transactions in securities as permitted for a 

broker-dealer registered under 21VAC5-20-85.  

B. Application for registration as a broker-dealer agent 

under this section shall be filed with the commission at its 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising or such other 

entity designated by the commission on and in full 

compliance with forms prescribed by the commission and 

shall include all information required by such forms.  

C. An application for registration as a broker-dealer agent 

under this section shall be deemed incomplete for purposes of 

applying for registration unless the following executed forms, 

fee, and information are submitted to the commission:  

1. An application in the form required by the jurisdiction in 

which the broker-dealer maintains its principal place of 

business.  

2. Statutory fee payable to the Treasurer of Virginia in the 

amount of $30 $40 United States currency pursuant to 

§ 13.1-505 G of the Act.  

3. Evidence that the applicant is registered as a broker-

dealer agent in the jurisdiction from which it is effecting 

the transactions.  

4. Any other information the commission may require.  

D. A broker-dealer agent registered under this section shall:  

1. Maintain his provincial or territorial registration in good 

standing;  

2. Immediately notify the commission of any criminal 

action taken against him or of any finding or sanction 

imposed on him as a result of any self-regulatory or 

regulatory action involving fraud, theft, deceit, 

misrepresentation or similar conduct.  

E. A broker-dealer agent's registration under this section, 

and any renewal thereof, shall expire annually at midnight on 

the 31st day of December unless renewed in accordance with 

subsection F of this section.  

F. To renew the registrations of its agents, a broker-dealer 

registered under this section shall file with the commission at 

its division the most recent renewal application, if any, filed 

in the jurisdiction in which the broker-dealer maintains its 

principal place of business, or if no such renewal application 

is required, the most recent application filed pursuant to 

subdivision C 1 of this section along with the statutory fee in 

the amount of $30 $40 United States currency pursuant to 

§ 13.1-505 G of the Act.  
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G. A Canadian broker-dealer agent registered under this 

section and acting in accordance with the limitations set out 

in this section is exempt from all other rules applicable to a 

broker-dealer agent except the anti-fraud provisions of the 

Act and the requirements set out in this section.  

Part III  

Agents of the Issuer  

21VAC5-20-160. Application for registration as an agent 

of the issuer. 

A. Application for registration as an agent of the issuer shall 

be filed on and in compliance with all requirements and forms 

prescribed by the commission. 

B. An application shall be deemed incomplete for 

registration as an agent of the issuer unless the following 

executed forms, fee, and information are submitted: 

1. Form U4.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $30 $40. The check 

must be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

3. Evidence in the form of a FINRA exam report of passing 

within the two-year period immediately preceding the date 

of the application: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State 

Law Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined 

State Law Examination, Series 66; or (iii) a similar 

examination in general use by securities administrators 

which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the 

commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and 

Retail Franchising designates. 

4. Any individual who meets the qualifications set forth in 

subdivision B 3 of this section and has been registered in 

any state jurisdiction requiring registration within the two-

year period immediately preceding the date of the filing of 

an application shall not be required to comply with the 

examination requirement set forth in subdivision B 3 of 

this section, except that the Director of Securities and 

Retail Franchising may require additional examinations for 

any individual found to have violated any federal or state 

securities laws. 

5. Any other information the commission may require. 

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 

application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 

However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 

information regarding the application, the commission may 

extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 

notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 

may be made by the commission on any one application. An 

extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 

shall be granted upon written request of the applicant. 

21VAC5-20-180. Renewals.  

An issuer, on behalf of its agent or agents, shall file with the 

commission at its Division of Securities and Retail 

Franchising at least 30 days prior to the expiration of 

registration a registration renewal form (Form S.D.4) 

accompanied by the statutory fee of $30 $40 for each agent 

whose registration is to be renewed. The check must be made 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

21VAC5-30-80. Adoption of NASAA North American 

Securities Administration Association, Inc. statements of 

policy. 

The commission adopts the following NASAA North 

American Securities Administration Association, Inc. 

(NASAA) statements of policy that shall apply to the 

registration of securities in the Commonwealth. It will be 

considered a basis for denial of an application if an offering 

fails to comply with an applicable statement of policy. While 

applications not conforming to a statement of policy shall be 

looked upon with disfavor, where good cause is shown, 

certain provisions may be modified or waived by the 

commission. 

1. Options and Warrants, as amended March 31, 2008. 

2. Underwriting Expenses, Underwriter's Warrants, Selling 

Expenses and Selling Security Holders, as amended March 

31, 2008. 

3. Real Estate Programs, as amended May 7, 2007. 

4. Oil and Gas Programs, as amended May 7, 2007 6, 

2012. 

5. Cattle-Feeding Programs, as adopted September 17, 

1980. 

6. Unsound Financial Condition, as amended March 31, 

2008. 

7. Real Estate Investment Trusts, as amended May 7, 2007. 

8. Church Bonds, as adopted April 29, 1981. 

9. Small Company Offering Registrations, as adopted April 

28, 1996. 

10. NASAA Guidelines Regarding Viatical Investment, as 

adopted October 1, 2002. 

11. Corporate Securities Definitions, as amended March 

31, 2008. 

12. Church Extension Fund Securities, as amended April 

18, 2004. 

13. Promotional Shares, as amended March 31, 2008. 

14. Loans and Other Material Transactions, as amended 

March 31, 2008. 
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15. Impoundment of Proceeds, as amended March 31, 

2008. 

16. Electronic Offering Documents and Electronic 

Signatures, as adopted May 8, 2017. 

21VAC5-40-30. Uniform limited offering exemption. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Nothing in this exemption is intended to relieve, or 

should be construed as in any way relieving, issuers or 

persons acting on their behalf from providing disclosure to 

prospective investors adequate to satisfy the anti-fraud 

provisions of the Act.  

In view of the objective of this section and the purpose and 

policies underlying the Act, this exemption is not available to 

an issuer with respect to a transaction which, although in 

technical compliance with this section, is part of a plan or 

scheme to evade registration or the conditions or limitations 

explicitly stated in this section.  

Nothing in this section is intended to exempt registered 

broker-dealers or agents from the due diligence standards 

otherwise applicable to such registered persons.  

Nothing in this section is intended to exempt a person from 

the broker-dealer or agent registration requirements of Article 

3 (§ 13.1-504 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 13.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, except in the case of an agent of the issuer who 

receives no sales commission directly or indirectly for 

offering or selling the securities and who is not subject to 

subdivision B 2 of this section.  

B. For the purpose of the limited offering exemption 

referred to in § 13.1-514 B 13 of the Act, the following 

securities are determined to be exempt from the securities 

registration requirements of Article 4 (§ 13.1-507 et seq.) of 

Chapter 5 of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Any securities offered or sold in compliance with the 

Securities Act of 1933, Regulation D (Reg. D), Rules 

230.501-230.503 and 230.505 and which satisfy the following 

further conditions and limitations:  

1. The issuer and persons acting on its behalf shall have 

reasonable grounds to believe, and after making reasonable 

inquiry shall believe, that all persons who offer or sell 

securities subject to this section are registered in 

accordance with § 13.1-505 of the Act except in the case of 

an agent of the issuer who receives no sales commission 

directly or indirectly for offering or selling the securities 

and who is not subject to subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

2. No exemption under this section shall be available for 

the securities of any issuer if any of the persons described 

in the Securities Act of 1933, Regulation A, Rule 

230.262(a), (b), or (c) (17 CFR 230.262):  

a. Has filed a registration statement which is the subject 

of a currently effective stop order entered pursuant to any 

state's securities law within five years prior to the 

beginning of the offering.  

b. Has been convicted within five years prior to the 

beginning of the offering of a felony or misdemeanor in 

connection with the purchase or sale of a security or a 

felony involving fraud or deceit, including but not 

limited to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under 

false pretenses, larceny or conspiracy to defraud.  

c. Is currently subject to a state's administrative order or 

judgment entered by that state's securities administrator 

within five years prior to the beginning of the offering or 

is subject to a state's administrative order or judgment in 

which fraud or deceit, including but not limited to 

making untrue statements of material facts or omitting to 

state material facts, was found and the order or judgment 

was entered within five years prior to the beginning of 

the offering.  

d. Is currently subject to a state's administrative order or 

judgment which prohibits the use of any exemption from 

registration in connection with the purchase or sale of 

securities.  

e. Is currently subject to an order, judgment, or decree of 

a court of competent jurisdiction temporarily or 

preliminarily restraining or enjoining, or is subject to an 

order, judgment or decree of any court of competent 

jurisdiction, entered within five years prior to the 

beginning of the offering, permanently restraining or 

enjoining such person from engaging in or continuing 

any conduct or practice in connection with the purchase 

or sale of any security or involving the making of a false 

filing with a state.  

f. The prohibitions of subdivisions a, b, c and e of this 

subdivision shall not apply if the party subject to the 

disqualifying order, judgment or decree is duly licensed 

or registered to conduct securities related business in the 

state in which the administrative order, judgment or 

decree was entered against such party.  

g. A disqualification caused by this subsection is 

automatically waived if the state securities administrator 

or agency of the state which created the basis for 

disqualification, or the State Corporation Commission, 

determines upon a showing of good cause that it is not 

necessary under the circumstances that the exemption 

under this section be denied.  

3. The issuer shall file with the commission no later than 

15 days after the first sale in this state from an offering 

being made in reliance upon this exemption:  

a. A notice on Form D (17 CFR 239.500), as filed with 

the SEC.  

b. A filing fee of $250 payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia.  
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4. In sales to nonaccredited investors, the issuer and 

persons acting on its behalf shall have reasonable grounds 

to believe, and after making reasonable inquiry shall 

believe, that the investment is suitable for the purchaser as 

to the purchaser's other security holdings and financial 

situation and needs.  

5. Offers and sales of securities which are exempted by this 

section shall not be combined with offers and sales of 

securities exempted by another regulation or section of the 

Act; however, nothing in this limitation shall act as an 

election. The issuer may claim the availability of another 

applicable exemption should, for any reason, the securities 

or persons fail to comply with the conditions and 

limitations of this exemption.  

6. In any proceeding involving this section, the burden of 

proving the exemption or an exception from a definition or 

condition is upon the person claiming it.  

C. The exemption authorized by this section shall be known 

and may be cited as the "Uniform Limited Offering 

Exemption."  

21VAC5-45-40. Federal crowdfunding offerings. 

A. An issuer that offers and sells securities in the 

Commonwealth in an offering exempt under federal 

Regulation Crowdfunding (17 CFR 227.100 through 17 CFR 

227.503) and §§ 4(a)(6) and 18(b)(4)(c) of the Securities Act 

of 1933 (15 USC § 77a), and that either (i) has its principal 

place of business in the Commonwealth or (ii) sells 50% or 

greater of the aggregate amount of the offering to residents of 

the Commonwealth, shall file the following with the 

commission: 

1. A completed Uniform Notice of Federal Crowdfunding 

Offering form or copies of all documents filed with the 

Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC); and 

2. A consent to service of process on Form U-2 if not filing 

on the Uniform Notice of Federal Crowdfunding form.  

B. If the issuer has its principal place of business in the 

Commonwealth, the filing required under subsection A of this 

section shall be filed with the commission when the issuer 

makes its initial Form C filing concerning the offering with 

the SEC. If the issuer does not have its principal place of 

business in the Commonwealth but residents of the 

Commonwealth have purchased 50% or greater of the 

aggregate amount of the offering, the filing required under 

subsection A of this section shall be filed when the issuer 

becomes aware that such purchases have met this threshold 

and in no event later than 30 days from the date of completion 

of the offering. 

C. The initial notice filing is effective for 12 months from 

the date of the filing with the commission. 

D. For each additional 12-month period in which the same 

offering is continued, an issuer conducting an offering under 

federal Regulation Crowdfunding may renew its notice filing 

by filing on or before the expiration of the notice filing a 

completed Uniform Notice of Federal Crowdfunding Offering 

form marked "renewal" or a cover letter or other document 

requesting renewal. 

E. An issuer may increase the amount of securities offered 

in the Commonwealth by submitting a completed Uniform 

Notice of Federal Crowdfunding Offering form marked 

"amendment" or other document describing the transaction. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (21VAC5-45)  

Form D, Notice of Exempt Offering of Securities, U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission, SEC1972 (rev. 

2/2012) 

Uniform Consent to Service of Process, Form U-2 (rev. 

7/2017) 

Uniform Notice of Regulation A - Tier 2 Offering (undated, 

filed 10/2016) 

Form NF - Uniform Investment Company Notice Filing 

(4/1997) 

Uniform Notice of Federal Crowdfunding Offering, Form 

U-CF (undated, filed 9/2017) 

Part II  

Investment Advisor Representative Registration, Expiration, 

Updates and Amendments, Termination, and Changing 

Connection from One Investment Advisor to Another  

21VAC5-80-70. Application for registration as an 

investment advisor representative.  

A. Application for registration as an investment advisor 

representative shall be filed in compliance with all requirements 

of CRD and in full compliance with forms and regulations 

prescribed by the commission. The application shall include all 

information required by such forms.  

B. An application shall be deemed incomplete for registration 

as an investment advisor representative unless the following 

executed forms, fee, and information are submitted:  

1. Form U4.  

2. The statutory fee made payable to FINRA in the amount 

of $30 $40.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0879c003073~12&typ=40&actno=003073&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0879c003073~12&typ=40&actno=003073&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0879c003073~12&typ=40&actno=003073&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46319005274~4d.pdf&typ=40&actno=005274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46319005274~4d.pdf&typ=40&actno=005274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6c4b004869~2&typ=40&actno=004869&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6c4b004869~2&typ=40&actno=004869&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=68ae7005274~3F.pdf&typ=40&actno=005274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=68ae7005274~3F.pdf&typ=40&actno=005274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d32a005046~7F.pdf&typ=40&actno=005046&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d32a005046~7F.pdf&typ=40&actno=005046&mime=application/pdf
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3. Evidence of passing: (i) the Uniform Investment Adviser 

Law Examination, Series 65; (ii) the Uniform Combined State 

Law Examination, Series 66, and the General Securities 

Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a similar 

examination in general use by securities administrators which, 

after reasonable notice and subject to review by the 

commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and 

Retail Franchising designates.  

4. All individuals listed on Part 1 of Form ADV in Schedule A 

and Item 2. A. of Part 1B as having supervisory 

responsibilities of the investment advisor shall take and pass 

the examinations as required in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection, and register as a representative of the investment 

advisor. 

5. Any other information the commission may require.  

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 

application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 

However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 

information regarding the application, the commission may 

extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 

notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 

may be made by the commission on any one application. An 

extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 

shall be granted upon written request of the applicant.  

21VAC5-80-90. Renewals.  

To renew the registration of its investment advisor 

representatives, an investment advisor or federal covered 

advisor will be billed by IARD the statutory fee of $30 $40 

per investment advisor representative. A renewal of 

registration shall be granted as a matter of course upon 

payment of the proper fee or fees unless the registration was, 

or the renewal would be, subject to revocation under § 13.1-

506 of the Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5046; Filed November 21, 2017, 2:47 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Board of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services is currently 

reviewing each of the regulations listed below to determine 

whether the regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. The review of each regulation 

will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 17 

(2014). Public comment is sought on the review of any issue 

relating to each regulation, including whether the regulation 

(i) is necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare or for the economical performance of important 

governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 

on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 

objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 

easily understandable. 

12VAC35-46, Regulations for Children's Residential 

Facilities 

Contact Information: Emily Bowles, Legal Coordinator, 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, 

telephone (804) 225-3281, FAX (804) 692-0066, or email 

emily.bowles@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

12VAC35-230, Operation of the Individual and Family 

Support Program 

Contact Information: Erika Jones-Haskins, Community 

Coordinator, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 

23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-5813, FAX (804) 692-

0077, or email erika.jones-haskins@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

The comment period begins December 25, 2017, and ends 

February 8, 2018. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Proposed Renewal of Variances to Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services 

from Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (12VAC35-115) 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 

IV Variances (12VAC35-115-220) of the Regulations to 

Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 

Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

(12VAC35-115), hereafter referred to as the "Human Rights 

Regulations," is announcing an opportunity for public 

comment on the following application for renewal of existing 

variances to the Human Rights Regulations that are presently 

before the State Human Rights Committee (SHRC) for 

consideration. The purpose of the regulations is to ensure and 

protect the legal and human rights of individuals receiving 

services in facilities or programs licensed, funded, or operated 

by DBHDS. 

After considering all available information, including 

comments, the SHRC will issue a written decision deferring, 

disapproving, modifying, or approving each renewal 

application. The decision and reasons behind it will be 

published in a later issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Purpose of notice: DBHDS is seeking comment on the 

applications for renewal of the following existing variances to 

the Human Rights Regulations at the DBHDS Virginia Center 

for Behavioral Rehabilitation (VCBR). The variance 

applications for renewal demonstrate compliance with the 

general requirements of Part IV Variances (12VAC35-115-

220) of the Human Rights Regulations. 

Variance to complaint procedure: 

The Human Rights Regulations provide a comprehensive 

complaint resolution process that includes access to a local 

human rights committee (LHRC) and the SHRC, articulated 

in the regulation sections specified below: 

• 12VAC35-115-150: General Provisions 

• 12VAC35-115-170: Formal Complaint Process 

• 12VAC35-115-180: Local Human Rights Committee 

Hearing and Review Procedures 

• 12VAC35-115-190: Special Procedures for Emergency 

Hearing by LHRC 

• 12VAC35-115-200: Special Procedures for LHRC 

Reviews Involving Consent and Authorization 

• 12VAC35-115-210: State Human Rights Committee 

Appeals Procedure 

VCBR Facility Instruction No. 202, Resident Complaint 

Resolution, provides alternative procedures for addressing 

resident complaints to be followed in lieu of those specified 

in the above regulatory sections. VCBR's variances to these 

regulations are reviewed by the SHRC at least annually, with 

VCBR providing reports to the SHRC regarding the variances 

as requested. 

mailto:emily.bowles@dbhds.virginia.gov
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Variance for rooms within medical unit with no windows: 

VCBR has four bedrooms in its medical unit that do not meet 

the requirement of the italicized portion of the following 

regulation: 

• 12VAC35-115-50 C 3 (d): Live in a humane, safe, 

sanitary environment that gives each individual, at a 

minimum, windows or skylights in all major areas used by 

individuals. 

VCBR requests a variance to this regulation to enable it to 

utilize these bedrooms if a bedroom that meets the 

requirement is not available on a unit that meets an 

individual's needs. VCBR currently provides a monthly report 

to the SHRC on how many times rooms with no windows 

within the medical unit of VCBR are used during the previous 

month and will continue to do so. 

Variance for double-bunking: 

Following the mandate by the General Assembly (Chapter 

806 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly), VCBR implemented 

double-bunking (two individuals residing in a single room). 

Although VCBR has attempted to maintain residents' privacy 

and a physical environment free from bad odors, this is not 

always possible. For this reason, VCBR requests a variance to 

the regulations listed below: 

12VAC35-115-50 C 3 (a) and (e): 

a) Reasonable privacy and private storage space 

e) Clean air, free of bad odors 

VCBR Facility Instruction No. 124, Resident Housing 

Assignment, describes how residents' housing assignments 

are determined and shall substitute for these regulations. 

VCBR provides a monthly report to the SHRC on how many 

residents are double-bunked, complaints received by residents 

regarding double-bunking, and any medication sessions 

treatment staff hold with roommates to resolve concerns 

related to double-bunking. 

Public comment period: December 25, 2017, through January 

25, 2018. 

How to comment: DBHDS accepts written comments by 

email, fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, 

comments must include the full name, address, and telephone 

number of the person commenting and be received by 

DBHDS by the last day of the comment period. All 

information received is part of the public record. 

To review a proposal: The applications for variance and any 

supporting documents may be obtained by contacting the 

DBHDS representative named below. 

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 

Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 

23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-0032, FAX (804) 804-371-

2308, TDD (804) 371-8977, or email 

deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Dominion Energy Virginia Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Westmoreland County 

Dominion Energy Virginia has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (Montross Solar) in Westmoreland 

County. The project will be located on approximately 230 

acres at 150 Nelson Street, Westmoreland County. The solar 

facility will be comprised of ground-mounted fixed-tilt 

photovoltaic arrays and auxiliary equipment to provide 

approximately 20 megawatts alternating current of nameplace 

capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Grasshopper Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Mecklenburg County 

A Notice of Intent from Grasshopper Solar LLC was 

previously published in the Virginia Register of Regulations 

on December 12, 2016, for a proposed small renewable solar 

energy project in Mecklenburg to be located north of Chase 

City. Grasshopper Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a revised notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable solar energy project. The revised notice is 

proposing a 115-megawatt solar farm to be located across 

roughly 950 acres on one parcel in Mecklenburg County 

north of Chase City with borders along Routes 49 and 671. 

There is an existing transmission line bisecting the property, 

and a new substation is proposed to be built to connect to the 

grid. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Spring Grove Solar II LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Surry County 

Spring Grove Solar II LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable solar energy project (solar). The proposed project 

will be located to the northeast of the intersection of Colonial 

Trail (Route 10) and Swanns Point Road (Route 610) in Surry 

mailto:deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov
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County. This project will have a maximum generating 

capacity of 150 megawatts alternating current across 

approximately 1338 acres on multiple parcels. The project 

will interconnect into the transmission line that bisects the 

site by way of a substation built on an adjacent parcel. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Fire Services 

Board is currently reviewing each of the regulations listed 

below to determine whether the regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. The review 

of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

19VAC15-20, Regulations Establishing Certification 

Standards for Fire Inspectors 

19VAC15-30, Regulations Establishing the Certification 

Standards for Fire Investigators 

Contact Information: Erin Rice, Community Risk Reduction 

Coordinator, Virginia State Fire Marshal's Office, Department 

of Fire Programs, 1005 Technology Park Drive, Glen Allen, 

VA 23059, telephone (804) 249-1975, or email 

erin.rice@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

The comment period begins December 25, 2017, and ends 

January 25, 2018. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on December 

6, 2017. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Three (17) 

Virginia Lottery "Publix March Madness, Scratcher 

Madness" Retailer Incentive Promotion (This Director's 

Order becomes effective on March 6, 2018, and shall remain 

in full force and effect through the end date of the incentive 

promotion, unless otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Four (17) 

Virginia Lottery "Debit Lunch Bag" Retailer Incentive 

Promotion (This Director's Order becomes effective on 

January 1, 2018, and shall remain in full force and effect 

through the end date of the incentive promotion, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Seven (17) 

Virginia Lottery "Fas Mart April Scratch Growth Contest" 

(This Director's Order becomes effective on April 3, 2018, 

and shall remain in full force and effect through the end date 

of the incentive promotion, unless otherwise extended by the 

Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Eight (17) 

Virginia Lottery "Fas Rewards Double Points" Retailer 

Incentive Promotion (This Director's Order becomes effective 

on April 3, 2018, and shall remain in full force and effect 

through the end date of the incentive promotion, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Two (17) 

Virginia Lottery "Beats® This Sales Contest" Retailer 

Incentive Promotion (This Director's Order becomes effective 

on April 3, 2018, and shall remain in full force and effect 

through the end date of the incentive promotion, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Five (17) 

Virginia Lottery "Murphy USA Playbook Gas Discount" 

Retailer Incentive Promotion (This Director's Order becomes 

effective on February 6, 2018, and shall remain in full force 

and effect through the end date of the incentive promotion, 

unless otherwise extended by the Director) 
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Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Six (17) 

Virginia Lottery "$20 Playbook Dispenser Placement and 

Sales Contest" Retailer Incentive Promotion (This Director's 

Order becomes effective on February 1, 2018, and shall 

remain in full force and effect through the end date of the 

incentive promotion, unless otherwise extended by the 

Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Eight (17) 

Virginia Lottery "Sheetz Progressive Mystery Shop" Retailer 

Incentive Promotion (This Director's Order becomes effective 

on February 1, 2018, and shall remain in full force and effect 

through the end date of the incentive promotion, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty-Five (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1847 "2018" Final Rules for 

Game Operation (effective November 17, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty-Six (17) 

Virginia Lottery "Fog Dispenser" Retailer Incentive 

Promotion (This Director's Order becomes effective on April 

1, 2018, and shall remain in full force and effect through the 

end date of the incentive promotion, unless otherwise 

extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty-Seven (17) 

Certain Virginia Print 'n Play Game - Virginia Lottery's Print 

'n Play Bullseye Bingo (184 2017) (effective November 7, 

2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty-Eight (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Bonus Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

November 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ninety (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1817 "Chocolate" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective November 17, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ninety-One (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1814 "EZ $1,040" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective November 17, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ninety-Five (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1863 "$30 Million Cash 

Out" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective November 

27, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ninety-Six (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "Food Lion MVP Kiosk Coupon 

Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (This Director's Order 

becomes effective on December 6, 2017, and shall remain in 

full force and effect through the end Promotion date unless 

amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ninety-Seven (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1870 "Super Cash" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective November 27, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ninety-Eight (17) 

Certain Virginia Game: Ticket Quantity Update - Virginia's 

New Year's Millionaire Raffle (182 2017) (This Director's 

Order is effective nunc pro tunc to November 20, 2017, and 

shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further Director's Order 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Notice of Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for 
Medical Assistance (Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the 

Social Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13))) 

Updated Dental Procedure Codes 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates-Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from Jimeequa Williams, Policy and Research 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, or via email 

at jimeequa.williams@dmas.virginia.gov. 

This notice is available for public review on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall (www.townhall.virginia.gov), on the 

General Notices page, found at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Other Types of Care 

(12VAC30-80) 12VAC30-80-30 is being amended as 

follows: The agency's fee schedule is being updated on 

December 20, 2017, to include updated dental procedure 

codes. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in aggregate annual 

expenditures. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

mailto:jimeequa.williams@dmas.virginia.gov
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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Enforcement Action for ASI Constructors Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for ASI 

Constructors Inc. for violations of the State Water Control 

Law and regulations associated with the Lunga Dam Safety 

Project at Marine Corps Base-Quantico, in Stafford County, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent order to resolve violations associated with the Lunga 

Dam Safety Project. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie 

Bellotti will accept comments by email at 

stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov, or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

December 26, 2017, through January 25, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Dickeys Auto 
Recyclers Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Dickeys Auto 

Recyclers Inc. for violations at the site located at 9243 

George Washington Highway, Gloucester County, Virginia. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a special 

order by consent to Dickeys Auto Recyclers Inc. to address 

noncompliance with the State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 

below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will 

accept comments by email at 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 698-4277, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Central 

Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, from 

December 25, 2017, to January 26, 2018. 

Enforcement Action for the Kinder Morgan 
Operating L.P. "C" Elizabeth River Terminals LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Kinder 

Morgan Operating L.P. "C" Elizabeth River Terminals LLC 

facility for violations of the State Water Control Law in 

Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jennifer 

Coleman, Esq. will accept comments by email at 

jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from December 25, 2017, to 

January 24, 2018. 

Enforcement Action for Lane-Corman Construction 
Joint Venture (Lane-Corman) 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Lane-Corman 

Construction Joint Venture (Lane-Corman) for violations at 

the Berkmar Extension construction site in Charlottesville, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent order to Lane-Corman for noncompliance with State 

Water Control Law. The proposed consent order requires 

Lane-Corman to pay a civil charge. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Tiffany Severs will accept comments 

by email at tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 

574-7878, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 

3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from December 25, 2017, to 

January 24, 2018. 

Enforcement Action for the County of Powhatan 
Fighting Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the County of 

Powhatan Fighting Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant for 

violations of the State Water Control Law in Powhatan, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office named below 

or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jennifer Coleman, Esq. 

will accept comments by email at 

jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from December 25, 2017, to 

January 24, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Order for the Town of 
Purcellville 

An enforcement action has been proposed for The Town of 

Purcellville for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Basham Simms Wastewater Treatment 

Facility located in Loudoun County, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to 

resolve violations associated with the Basham Simms 

Wastewater Treatment Facility. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie Bellotti will accept 

comments by email at stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from December 26, 2017, through January 25, 

2018. 

Enforcement Action for the Stafford County Board 
of Supervisors 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Stafford 

County Board of Supervisors. The consent order describes a 

settlement to resolve violations of State Water Control Law 

and the applicable regulations regarding the Sanitary Sewer 

Collection Systems associated with the Little Falls Run 

Wastewater Treatment Plant and the Aquia Wastewater 

Treatment Facility. A description of the proposed action is 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie 

Bellotti will accept comments by email at 

stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

December 26, 2017, through January 25, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Order for Robert D. and Angela 
S. Walk (Walk Residence Sewage Treatment Plant) 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Robert D. and 

Angela S. Walk for violations of the State Water Control Law 

and regulations at the Walk Residence Sewage Treatment 

Plant located in Stafford County, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve 

violations associated with the Walk Residence Sewage 

Treatment Plant. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie 

Bellotti will accept comments by email at 

stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

December 26, 2017, through January 25, 2018. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Rudee Inlet 
Watershed 

Public meeting: A final public meeting will be held 

Wednesday, January 10, 2018, at 6 p.m. at W.T. Cooke 

Elementary located at 1501 Mediterranean Avenue, Virginia 

Beach, VA 23451. This meeting will be open to the public 

and all are welcome to participate. In the case of inclement 

weather, an alternate meeting will occur on Thursday, 

January 11, 2018, at 6 p.m. at the same location. For more 

information, please contact Rachel Hamm, telephone (757) 

518-2024 or email rachel.hamm@deq.virginia.gov.  

Purpose of meeting: The Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) and its contractors, the Virginia Institute of 

Marine Science, have developed a draft water quality report 

on the bacteria impairments in the Rudee Inlet watershed 

located in Virginia Beach, Virginia. A public meeting will be 

held to introduce the local community to the total maximum 

daily loads (TMDLs) for bacteria and gather public comment 

on the draft report. A public comment period on the draft 

TMDL report will follow the meeting (January 11, 2018, 

through February 9, 2018).  

Description of study: Portions of the Rudee Inlet watershed 

including Lake Rudee, Lake Wesley, and Owl Creek were 

identified in Virginia's 2014 Water Quality Assessment and 

Integrated Report as impaired due to violations of the State's 

water quality standards for Enterococci and Fecal Coliform 

and do not support the Designated Uses of "Primary Contact 

(recreational or swimming)" and "Shellfishing." Section 

303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the 

Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. 

Reductions and TMDLs for the causes of the impairments 

have been developed and are available for community review 

in the TMDL report located online at the following link on 

January 10, 2018: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx. 

How to comment and participate: The meetings of the TMDL 

process are open to the public and all interested parties are 

welcome. Written comments will be accepted through 

February 9, 2018, and should include the name, address, and 

telephone number of the person submitting the comments. 

For more information or to submit written comments, please 

contact Rachel Hamm, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2024, FAX 

(757) 518-2009, or email rachel.hamm@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Salt Management 
Strategy 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) and its contractors, the Interstate Commission for the 

Potomac River Basin (ICPRB), will announce the 

development of a Salt Management Strategy (SaMS) for the 

Northern Virginia region, which includes Arlington, Fairfax, 

Loudoun, and Prince William Counties and the Cities of 

Alexandria, Manassas, Manassas Park, Falls Church, and 

Fairfax. This is an opportunity for local residents to learn 

about the impacts and challenges of snow and ice 

management, share information and thoughts on snow and ice 

management, and get involved in the process of developing a 

SaMS.  

Public Meeting: A public meeting will be held Wednesday, 

January 17, 2018, beginning at 6:30 pm at the Auditorium of 

the Arlington County Central Library, located at 1015 N. 

Quincy Street, Arlington, VA 22201. In case of inclement 

weather, the alternate meeting date will be Wednesday, 

January 31, 2018, and will also be held at the Auditorium of 

the Arlington County Central Library. Please note that if 

Arlington County schools or the library are closed on January 

17, 2018, due to inclement weather, the meeting will be 

postponed to this alternate date.  

Meeting description: This meeting will be open to the public 

and all are welcome to attend. The first 30 minutes of the 

meeting will be an informal informational session where 

members of the public are invited to visit the various displays 

to learn more and ask questions of the experts staffing the 

displays. At 7 p.m. the formal portion of the meeting will 

begin. During the formal portion of the meeting a guest 

speaker will speak about challenges related to snow and ice 

management, and ICPRB will speak about a report they have 
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prepared on the impacts of salts on infrastructure, drinking 

water, and aquatic life. The meeting will conclude with DEQ 

describing the development process for the SaMS, and by 

informing the public how to participate in the development 

process. For more information, please contact Dave Evans at 

(703) 583-3835 or david.evans@deq.virginia.gov. 

Description of study: In July 2017, DEQ completed a total 

maximum daily load (TMDL) study for the Accotink Creek 

watershed that identified chloride (salt) from snow and ice 

management as a contributing cause of a water quality 

impairment. To bring chloride loads down to acceptable 

levels that were identified in the TMDL report, DEQ is 

initiating the development of a SaMS that will among many 

things prescribe best management practices for more efficient 

and effective salt application. While the Accotink Creek 

watershed is located in Fairfax County and the City of 

Fairfax, snow and ice management practices are not confined 

to watershed boundaries. Therefore, the project area will 

include all of Northern Virginia as defined by Arlington, 

Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William Counties and the Cities 

of Alexandria, Manassas, Manassas Park, Falls Church, and 

Fairfax. For more information on the SaMS, visit 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/SaMS.aspx.  

How to comment and participate: This meeting is open to the 

public and all interested parties are welcome. A public 

comment period will begin on January 17, 2018, and end on 

February 16, 2018. Comments will be accepted on the SaMS 

project in general, on participating in the Stakeholder 

Advisory Committee (SAC) to help develop the SaMS, and 

on the report prepared by ICPRB on the impacts of salts on 

infrastructure, drinking water, and aquatic life. Persons 

interested in participating in the SAC that will help develop 

the SaMS should notify the DEQ contact person, Dave Evans, 

by the end of the comment period and provide their names, 

phone numbers, email addresses and the organizations they 

represent (if any). All comments must be written and 

submitted via e-mail or traditional mail by the end of 

February 16, 2018. They must include the name, address, and 

telephone number of the person submitting the comments. 

DEQ will notify all applicants of the composition of the SAC 

after the close of the comment period. For more information 

or to submit written comments, please contact Dave Evans, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court Woodbridge, VA 22193, 

telephone (703) 583-3835, or email 

david.evans@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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