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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
Gregory D. Habeeb, Vice Chair; James A. "Jay" Leftwich; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; 
E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 
Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Alexandra Stewart-Jonte, 
Regulations Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri 
Edwards, Senior Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2018 through August 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

35:11 January 2, 2019 January 21, 2019 

35:12 January 16, 2019 February 4, 2019 

35:13 January 30, 2019 February18, 2019 

35:14 February 13, 2019 March 4, 2019 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

35:19 April 24, 2019 May 13, 2019 

35:20 May 8, 2019 May 27, 2019 

35:21 May 22, 2019 June 10, 2019 

35:22 June 5, 2019 June 24, 2019 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 
Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Psychology. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Andrew Byrnes. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC125-20-43 to 
allow an Employment Verification Form from a third party 
employer contracting to provide psychological services to a local 
school system. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The board is concerned about 
the quality of care and the loss of oversight if there is a 
disconnect between the school system and the psychological 
services provided. For protection of the children, the board 
confirmed the need for accountability to the local school. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 
jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-30; Filed July 10, 2018, 1:11 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 

VEHICLES 
COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 

ACTION PROGRAM 
Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-30. VASAP Case 
Management Policy and Procedure Manual. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 18.2-271.1 and 18.2-271.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Ellen Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Petition to amend Virginia 
Administrative Code 24VAC35-30, pursuant to § 2.2-4007. I, 
Cynthia Ellen Hites, as a citizen of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia, pursuant to Virginia Code § 2.2-4007, do humbly 
submit this petition for the following amendment to Virginia 
Administrative Code 24VAC35-30 (VASAP Policy and 
Procedures Manual). Part VII Ignition Interlock Violations: 
"Under no circumstances shall the ASAP accept any other means 
of clearing a failing BAC registered on an interlock device other 
than the interlock device itself. This includes, but is not limited 
to, preliminary breath machines, urine screens, etc." This clause 
leaves absolutely no failsafe for the citizens who have not been 

drinking, yet are violated by the ASAP for readings of alcohols 
aside from ethanol. The BAIIDs measure all alcohols, therefore a 
scientific failsafe must be put in place to protect innocent citizens 
from the devices registering a compound aside from ethanol as 
drinking liquor, thus creating "false violations." I propose the 
following language be adopted, in lieu of the current: "Upon 
client request, the ASAP shall accept proof of a urine screen, or 
blood test from an accredited lab that results in a negative 
reading for EtOH for the time frame in question. Also to be 
considered in conjunction with BAIID data logs are officially 
filed reports or eyewitness testimony from city police and/or 
state police that contradict the ignition interlock device." This 
unethical guessing game of "pin the tail on the alcohol" must 
cease, because it is making what is inherently objective, 
subjective to case workers' knowledge, or opinion, of ethanol 
metabolization. Electrochemical fuel cells are not ethanol 
specific. The law (Virginia Administrative Code 24VAC35-60-
70) is written as such that it fundamentally contradicts itself, 
rendering it scientifically impossible. One can either have an 
electrochemical fuel cell, or ethanol specificity, but not both. 
Only a gas chromatograph - mass spectrometer can distinguish 
EtOH from its dozens of cousins; and the law, courts, VASAP 
and ASAPs must take that into account. While completely sober 
for months, I was held hostage on nine different days, for the 
duration of twenty-three high BrAC readings, as police 
administered their PBTs which read ZERO, sometimes 
simultaneously to the BAIID lockouts, and sometimes only mere 
minutes after the BAIID gave readings as high as 0.07 BrAC. No 
ethanol was present during any high BrAC events, and that fact 
is borne out in the extreme elimination (and impossible 
absorption) rates. One of the nine events included an initial 
startup at 0.000 BrAC, then rose within three minutes to 0.07 
upon rolling retest, then back to zero, all within a span of 24 
minutes. A BrAC for ethanol of 0.07 will take over four hours to 
achieve total elimination. Also, directly refuting the ignition 
interlock readings are the contradicting PBTs, the police 
eyewitness reports, and negative urine screen. If scientific 
failsafes had been in place, perhaps such an egregious 
miscarriage of justice would not have occurred in my case, at 
least not to such an outrageous degree. I beg of the Commission 
members to take this petition under advisement. Virginians' 
liberties are being traipsed upon by the ignition interlock 
companies and by the ASAP's inability to ferret out "real" 
ethanol violations. Please begin to utilize science, for the sake of 
what's right, to help prevent any more collateral damage at the 
hands of such an unsophisticated and antiquated technology. 
Humbly and most sincerely, Cynthia Ellen Hites. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: This petition will be 
considered by the Commission on Virginia Alcohol Safety 
Action Program at its meeting on December 7, 2018. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Service Specialist, 
Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 
701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-5895, or email rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-44; Filed July 12, 2018, 4:43 p.m. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-271.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-271.2
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services intends to consider 
amending 12VAC35-105, Rules and Regulations for 
Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to comply with the quality and risk 
management system requirements of the U.S. Department of 
Justice's Settlement Agreement with Virginia (United States 
of America v. Commonwealth of Virginia, Civil Action No. 
3:12cv059-JAG) and develop and implement a system to 
ensure that individuals in the Settlement Agreement 
population who are receiving services in Virginia's public 
system of services receive a level of care that is good quality, 
meets individuals' needs, and helps individuals achieve 
positive outcomes. Quality improvement measures are 
required of community services boards for services they 
provide, but those services are not currently in the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS) licensing regulations for providers. The 
proposed amendments will clarify and expand the 
requirements for the quality practices for the health, safety, 
care, and treatment for adults who receive services from 
DBHDS service providers.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-302 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Emily Bowles, Legal Coordinator, Office of 
Licensing, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3281, FAX (804) 
692-0066, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 
emily.bowles@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-4381; Filed July 12, 2018, 9:52 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
consider amending 18VAC60-21, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to replace regulatory provisions specific to the 
advertising of dental specialties with reference to the statutory 
language regarding the use of trade names. Specifically being 
considered for removal are provisions prohibiting (i) 
advertising a claim of a dental specialty unless it is approved 
by the National Certifying Boards for Dental Specialists of 
the American Dental Association and (ii) representation by a 
dentist who does not hold specialty certification that his 
practice is limited to providing services in such specialty area 
without disclosing that he is a general dentist. The prohibition 
of a claim of professional superiority remains in the 
regulation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5206; Filed July 5, 2018, 5:12 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
consider amending 18VAC60-21, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend regulations relating to administration of 
sedation or anesthesia in dental offices. The goals of the 
proposed action are greater consistency and clarity of the 
requirements, depending on the level of sedation and the risk 
to the patient, and closer alignment with the American Dental 
Association Guidelines for the Use of Sedation and General 
Anesthesia. The board intends to amend provisions that are 
problematic to dentists, such as compliance with current 
regulations regarding special needs patients. The board 
intends to incorporate guidelines and best practices for 
sedation and anesthesia, such as the use of a three-person 
team in the operatory during administration of moderate 
sedation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
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Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2709.5 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5513; Filed July 5, 2018, 5:12 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
consider amending 18VAC60-21, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry; 18VAC60-25, Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Dental Hygiene; and 18VAC60-
30, Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental 
Assistants. The purpose of the proposed action is to change 
the license renewal schedule from the set date of March 31 to 
renewal in the licensee's birth month. The change will occur 
in the calendar year after the effective date of the regulation. 
The intent is to distribute the workload associated with 
renewal across a calendar year and to make the renewal 
deadline easier for licensees to remember. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5382; Filed July 5, 2018, 5:11 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
consider amending 18VAC60-30, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dental Assistants. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to modify the educational qualifications for 
registration of a dental assistant II by moving to a 
competency-based program in which basic didactic course 
work is followed by clinical training under the direction and 
supervision of a dentist who has successfully completed a 
calibration exercise on evaluating the clinical skills of a 
student. The intent of the proposed regulatory action is to 
make entry into the profession more accessible to students 
and ensure greater consistency in their training and assurance 
of competency. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5287; Filed July 17, 2018, 3:59 p.m.  

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers intends to consider amending 18VAC65-40, 
Regulations for the Funeral Service Internship Program. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to provide clear, 
enforceable regulations for the supervision and practice of 
interns so that interns and funeral homes are not misleading 
the public about their status and are being appropriately 
supervised to protect public health and safety in the handling 
of human remains. The proposed action will amend 
18VAC65-40-130 to (i) indicate that training should be 
completed within a timeframe of 18 months through 60 
months and provide that the board will only consider 
extensions for extenuating circumstances; (ii) reduce the 
initial intern supervisor application fee to $25 but institute a 
yearly renewal fee of $25 to allow the board to track active 
supervisors and make sure supervisors are in good standing; 
and (iii) add a requirement that interns be identified as interns 
in titles, correspondence, and communications with the 
public. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2817 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman-Wolf, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5595; Filed July 17, 2018, 4:00 p.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry intends to 
consider amending 18VAC105-20, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Optometry. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to issue inactive licenses. The intent is to allow 
licensees who are no longer practicing, either because they 
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have located to another state or have retired, to place their 
Virginia licenses in an inactive status, which will allow them 
to reactivate should they decide to resume practice. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 
527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5434; Filed July 5, 2018, 5:13 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 
consider amending 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to regulate brown bagging of drugs requiring 
reconstitution or compounding prior to administration and to 
set specific requirements for specialty pharmacies 
participating in white bagging. The intent of the regulatory 
action is to ensure drugs are appropriately dispensed and 
administered. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5376; Filed July 5, 2018, 5:13 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work intends to 
consider amending 18VAC140-20, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to add hours in ethics or standards of practice to 
address a concern about complaints against social workers, 
almost all of which stem from an ethical issue or a failure to 
adhere to professional standards of practice. Currently, 30 
hours of continuing education are required every two years 
for renewal of a clinical social work license and 15 hours of 
continuing education are required for renewal of a social 

work license. A minimum of two of those hours must pertain 
to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health 
professions or to laws governing the practice of social work 
in Virginia. The proposed action increases continuing 
education in ethics or the standards of practice for behavioral 
health professions from a minimum of two hours to a 
minimum of six hours every two years. The total hours of 
required continuing education would not change. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5436; Filed July 17, 2018, 4:08 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
following regulation have been filed by the agency. The 
forms are not being published; however, online users of this 
issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the 
name of a form to access it. The forms are also available from 
the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-431. Sanitary Regulations for 
Hotels. 

Contact Information: Olivia McCormick, Program Manager, 
Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, email 
olivia.mccormick@vdh.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC5-431) 

Application for a Hotel Plan Review, TER-H-1 (eff. 7/2018) 

Application for a Hotel Operations Permit, TER-H-2 (eff. 
7/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5563; Filed July 6, 2018, 12:25 p.m.  

Forms 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
following regulation have been filed by the agency. The 
forms are not being published; however, online users of this 
issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the 
name of a form to access it. The forms are also available from 
the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 
Protection Regulations. 

Contact Information: Beth Schilke, Radiation Safety 
Specialist, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, Room 730, Richmond, VA 23219, email 
beth.schilke@vdh.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC5-481) 

Applications for a New Radioactive Material License  

Academic, Research and Development, and Other Licenses 
of Limited Scope, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Academic, Research and Development, and Other Licenses 
of Limited Scope, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Broad Scope, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Fixed Gauge Devices, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Industrial Radiography, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Irradiators - Part XII, Revision 1 (1/2016) 

Medical Use, Revision 2 (1/2016) 

Portable Gauges, Revision 2 (1/2016) 

Radiopharmacy, Revision 1 (1/2016) 

Sealed Sources, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Self-Shielded Irradiators, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Fixed Gauge Devices, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Industrial Radiography, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Irradiators – Part XII, Revision 2 (6/2018) 

Medical Use, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Portable Gauges, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Radiopharmacy, Revision 2 (6/2018) 

Sealed Sources, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Self-Shielded Irradiators, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Material in Well Logging, Tracer, and Field Flood Study, 
Revision 3 (1/2016) 

XRF Devices, Revision 2 (1/2016) 

XRF Devices, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Manufacturing and Distribution, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Applications for Renewal of a Radioactive Material License 

Academic, Research and Development and Other Licenses 
of Limited Scope, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Academic, Research and Development and Other Licenses 
of Limited Scope, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Broad Scope, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Fixed Gauge Devices, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Industrial Radiography, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

mailto:olivia.mccormick@vdh.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5b09005563%7E1W.pdf&typ=40&actno=005563&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54984005563%7E2T.pdf&typ=40&actno=005563&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54984005563%7E2T.pdf&typ=40&actno=005563&mime=application/pdf
mailto:beth.schilke@vdh.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2b3c7005560%7E1w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2b3c7005560%7E1w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b5b9003585%7E26&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7af33005560%7E2w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c488005560%7E3w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2eff2005560%7E4w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ff4f2005560%7E5w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8622b005560%7E6w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c82c2005560%7E7w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6eb1005560%7E8w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74a8b005560%7E9w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e02d003585%7E35&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e02d003585%7E35&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=02893005560%7E10w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba6ad005560%7E11w.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1cfa005560%7E12l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1cfa005560%7E12l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9537e003585%7E38&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
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Irradiators - Part XII, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

Medical Use, Revision 2 (1/2016) 

Portable Gauges, Revision 4 (1/2016) 

Radiopharmacy, Revision 1 (1/2016)  

Sealed Sources, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Self-Shielded Irradiators, Revision 3 (1/2016) 

Fixed Gauge Devices, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Industrial Radiography, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Irradiators – Part XII, Revision 1 (6/2018) 

Medical Use, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Portable Gauges, Revision 5 (6/2018) 

Radiopharmacy, Revision 2 (6/2018) 

Sealed Sources, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Self-Shielded Irradiators, Revision 4 (6/2018) 

Material in Well Logging, Tracer, and Field Flood Study, 
Revision 3 (1/2016) 

XRF Devices, Revision 4 (1/2016) 

XRF Devices, Revision 5 (6/2018) 

Manufacturing and Distribution, Revision 3 (6/2018) 

Training, Experience, and Preceptor Attestations 

A: Radiation Safety Officer for Medical Use, Revision 0 
(7/2016) 

B: Authorized User - Written Directive Not Required, 
Revision 0 (7/2016) 

C: Unsealed Radioactive Material Requiring Written 
Directive, Revision 2, (6/2014) 

D: Authorized User for Manual Brachytherapy Sources, 
Revision 0 (7/2016) 

E: Authorized User of Remote Afterloader, Teletherapy, or 
Gamma Stereotactic Radiosurgery Units, Revision 0 
(7/2016) 

F: Authorized Medical Physicist, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

G: Authorized Nuclear Pharmacist, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

Other Forms 

Certificate of Disposition of Materials, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

Certificate - Use of Depleted Uranium under General 
License, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

Cumulative Occupational Exposure History, Revision 1 
(1/2015) 

Fingerprint Record, Federal Bureau of Investigation, FD-
258, (rev. 9/2013) 

Notice to Employees, RH-F-12 (1/2011) 

Occupational Exposure Record per Monitoring Period, 
Revision 1 (1/2015) 

Registration Certificate - In Vitro Testing with Radioactive 
Material under General License, Revision 0 (7/2016) 

Reciprocity Privileges Checklist, Revision 0 (7/2016) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5560; Filed July 6, 2018, 9:51 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 
Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-150, 
12VAC30-20-160).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments decrease the cost sharing amount 
charged per inpatient hospitalization from $100 to $75 to 
comply with 42 CFR 447.52(b)(2). 

Part III  
Recipient Cost Sharing  

12VAC30-20-150. Copayments and deductibles for 
categorically needy and QMBs for services other than 
under 42 CFR 447.53.  

A. The following charges are imposed on the categorically 
needy and Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries for services other 
than those provided under 42 CFR 447.53.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9469e005560%7E13l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0e00005560%7E14l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1596005560%7E15l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d3a3a005560%7E16l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79177005560%7E17l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e160b005560%7E18l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41205005560%7E19l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=decb3005560%7E20l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fece3003585%7E46&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fece3003585%7E46&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=75b10005560%7E21l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60e3a005560%7E22l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77bb2003585%7E49&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77bb2003585%7E49&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b88003585%7E50&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b88003585%7E50&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9789f003585%7E51&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9789f003585%7E51&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7e023003585%7E52&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7e023003585%7E52&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67d72003585%7E53&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67d72003585%7E53&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67d72003585%7E53&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee360003585%7E55&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a64f4003585%7E56&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b7340003585%7E58&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61137003585%7E60&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61137003585%7E60&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3faf6003585%7E59&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3faf6003585%7E59&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a0df003585%7E61&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a0df003585%7E61&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8b3a4003585%7E48&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8725003585%7E64&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8725003585%7E64&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2ef61003585%7E62&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2ef61003585%7E62&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=999d6003585%7E65&typ=40&actno=003585&mime=application/pdf
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Service* 

Type Charge 

Amount and Basis for Determination Deduct Coins Copay 

Inpatient Hospital $100.00 -0-  -0- -0- $75 State's average daily payment of $594 is used as basis. 

Outpatient Hospital 
Clinic 

-0- -0- $3.00 State's average payment of $136 is used as basis. 

Clinic Visit -0-  -0- $1.00 State's average payment of $29 is used as basis. 

Physician Office Visit -0- -0- $1.00 State's average payment of $23 is used as basis. 

Eye Examination -0- -0- $1.00 State's payment of $30 is used as basis. 

Prescriptions:          

--Generic -0- -0- $1.00 State's average per generic script of $25 is used as 
payment basis. 

--Brand Name -0- -0- $3.00 State's average per brand-name script of $97 is used as 
payment basis. 

Home Health Visit  -0- -0- $3.00 State's average payment of $56 is used as basis. 

Other Physician 
Services 

-0- -0- $3.00 State's average payment of $56 is used as basis. 

Rehab Therapy 
Services (PT, OT, 
Sp/Lang.)  

-0- -0- $3.00 State's average payment $78 is used as basis. 

*NOTE: The applicability of copays to emergency services is 
discussed further in this section. 

B. The method used to collect cost sharing charges for 
categorically needy individuals requires that providers be 
responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from 
individuals.  

C. The basis for determining whether an individual is unable 
to pay the charge, and the means by which such an individual 
is identified to providers, is described below in this 
subsection:  

Providers will, based on information available to them, 
make a determination of the recipient's ability to pay the 
copayment. In the absence of knowledge or indications to the 
contrary, providers may accept the recipient's assertion that 
he or she is unable to pay the required copayment.  

Recipients have been notified that inability to meet a 
copayment at a particular time does not relieve them of that 
responsibility.  

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the 
exclusions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) 
are described below in this subsection:  

The application and exclusion of cost sharing is 
administered through the program's MMIS Medicaid 
Management Information System. Documentation of the 
certified computer system delineates, for each type of 

provider invoice used, protected eligible groups, protected 
services and applicable eligible groups and services.  

Providers have been informed about: copay exclusions; 
applicable services and amounts; prohibition of service denial 
if recipient is unable to meet cost-sharing changes.  

E. State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums 
on charges.  

F. Emergency Services. No recipient copayment shall be 
collected for the following services:  

1. Services provided in a hospital, clinic, office, or other 
facility that is equipped to furnish the required care, after 
the sudden onset of a medical condition manifesting itself 
by acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe 
pain) that the absence of immediate medical attention 
could reasonably be expected to result in:  

a. Placing the patient's health in serious jeopardy;  

b. Serious impairment to bodily functions; or  

c. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part; and  

2. All services delivered in emergency rooms.  
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12VAC30-20-160. Copayments and deductibles for 
medically needy and QMBs for services other than under 
42 CFR 447.53.  

A. The following charges are imposed on the medically 
needy and Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries for services other 
than those provided under 42 CFR 447.53.  

Service* 

Type Charge 

Amount and Basis for Determination Deduct Coins Copay 

Inpatient Hospital $100.00 -0- -0- -0- $75 State's average daily payment of $594 is used as 
basis. 

Outpatient Hospital 
Clinic 

-0- -0- $3.00 State's average payment of $136 is used as basis. 

Clinic Visit -0- -0- $1.00 State's average payment of $29 is used as basis. 

Physician Office Visit -0- -0- $1.00 State's average payment of $23 is used as basis. 

Eye Examination -0- -0- $1.00 State's payment of $30 is used as basis. 

Prescriptions:          

--Generic -0- -0- $1.00 State's average per generic script of $25 is used as 
payment basis. 

--Brand Name -0- -0- $3.00 State's average per brand-name script of $97 is 
used as payment basis. 

Home Health Visit  -0- -0- $3.00 State's average payment of $56 is used as basis. 

Other Physician 
Services 

-0- -0- $3.00 State's average payment of $56 is used as basis. 

Rehab Therapy Services 
(PT, OT, Sp/Lang.)  

-0- -0- $3.00 State's average payment $78 is used as basis. 

*NOTE: The applicability of copays to emergency services is 
discussed further in this section. 

B. The method used to collect cost sharing charges for 
medically needy individuals requires that providers be 
responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from 
individuals.  

C. The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to 
pay the charge, and the means by which such an individual is 
identified to providers, is described below in this subsection:  

Providers will, based on information available to them, 
make a determination of the recipient's ability to pay the 
copayment. In the absence of knowledge or indications to the 
contrary, providers may accept the recipient's assertion that 
he or she is unable to pay the required copayment.  

Recipients have been notified that inability to meet a 
copayment at a particular time does not relieve them of that 
responsibility.  

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the 
exclusions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) are 
described below in this subsection:  

The application and exclusion of cost sharing is 
administered through the program's MMIS Medicaid 
Management Information System. Documentation of the 

certified computer system delineates, for each type of 
provider invoice used, protected eligible groups, protected 
services and applicable eligible groups and services.  

Providers have been informed about: copay exclusions; 
applicable services and amounts; and prohibition of service 
denial if recipient is unable to meet cost-sharing changes.  

E. State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums.  

F. Emergency Services. No recipient copayment shall be 
collected for the following services:  

1. Services provided in a hospital, clinic, office, or other 
facility that is equipped to furnish the required care, after 
the sudden onset of a medical condition manifesting itself 
by acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe 
pain) that the absence of immediate medical attention 
could reasonably be expected to result in:  

a. Placing the patient's health in serious jeopardy;  

b. Serious impairment to bodily functions; or  

c. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part; and  

2. All services delivered in emergency rooms.  
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5231; Filed July 16, 2018, 3:34 p.m.  
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Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-90. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates for Long-Term Care 
(adding 12VAC30-90-21).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to administer and amend the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 
Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 
for payments for services. 

Purpose: In the event of a disaster resulting in an evacuation, 
nursing facilities seek to relocate individuals to nursing 
facilities in safer areas. Therefore, the purpose of this action 
is to clarify reimbursement provisions relating to 
reimbursement to the disaster struck nursing facility. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 
regulatory action is being promulgated as a fast-track 
rulemaking action because it is not expected to be 
controversial. Further, there will be no fiscal or budgetary 
impact to DMAS as the funds for this amendment are already 
provided in the agency's appropriations. As this action 
coordinates reimbursement requirements to nursing facilities, 
which service primarily older adults and individuals with 
complex care needs, members of the public are expected to 
support these regulatory changes that may positively impact a 
disadvantaged population. 

Substance: The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
announced a final rule in November 2016, entitled 
"Emergency Preparedness" (42 CFR 483.73), which requires 
long-term care facilities to establish and maintain an 
emergency preparedness program. 

The Virginia Department of Health, the Virginia Department 
of Emergency Management, the Virginia Hospital and 
Healthcare Association, and the long-term care provider 
community worked to establish a Long Term Care Mutual 

Aid Plan, which includes a Memorandum of Understanding 
(MOU) for all facilities to sign. Most nursing facilities in 
Virginia have signed this MOU, which details their 
responsibilities in the event of a disaster. 

Reimbursement to a disaster struck nursing facility for 
individuals who have to be temporarily evacuated to another 
facility (resident accepting nursing facility) may continue up 
to 30 calendar days after the disaster event. The disaster 
struck nursing facility must also meet specific conditions, 
which are outlined in the regulations.  

Issues: The primary advantage to the agency and to the 
public, including Medicaid providers and Medicaid members, 
is the alignment of Virginia requirements with federal 
regulations so that the reimbursement requirements for such 
nursing facilities are clear and put into practice. There are no 
disadvantages to the agency or the public.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed regulation clarifies Medicaid reimbursement to 
disaster struck nursing facilities. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In November 2016, the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Servicers announced a final rule 
entitled "Emergency Preparedness" (42 CFR 483.73), which 
requires long term care facilities to establish and maintain an 
emergency preparedness program. The Virginia Department 
of Health, the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Management, the Virginia Hospital and Healthcare 
Association, and the nursing facility provider community 
worked to establish a Long Term Care Mutual Aid Plan, 
which includes a Memorandum of Understanding for all 
facilities to sign. As a part of the overall plan, this regulatory 
action clarifies Medicaid reimbursement to disaster struck 
nursing facilities. 

The proposed regulation allows a disaster struck facility to 
temporarily transfer its residents to an accepting facility up to 
30 days without having to discharge its residents. Sending 
and receiving facilities must have a contract or must have 
signed the Memorandum of Understanding contained in the 
Long Term Care Mutual Aid Plan. The disaster struck facility 
must determine within 15 days whether individuals will be 
able to return to the facility within 30 days. The standard 
reimbursement for the residents transferred to another facility 
will continue to be made to the disaster struck facility. The 
disaster struck facility will pass on the payments to the 
receiving facility according to the contract between them. No 
other reimbursement will be made to either the sending or the 
receiving facility. If the sending facility determines that it is 
unable to reopen within 30 days, it must discharge its 
residents at which point it will no longer receive 
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reimbursement. Thus, no fiscal impact is expected from this 
change. 

The proposed change is beneficial because it would help 
avoid some potential administrative costs. Under the 
proposed regulations, the disaster struck facility will not be 
required to discharge its residents if it can be reopened within 
30 days. According to the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services (DMAS), the discharge and intake procedures at 
nursing facilities are administratively cumbersome and may 
take up to 15 days. In addition, by avoiding discharge and 
intake procedures, the regulators, the facilities, the residents, 
and the family members will know which residents are 
moving to which facilities fairly quickly. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
potentially affect the 275 nursing homes providing services to 
Medicaid recipients.1 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 
disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 
is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 
on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Approximately 50 of the nursing 
homes are small businesses.2 The proposed regulation does 
not impose costs on them, but will likely help avoid potential 
administrative costs in case of an emergency. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 
adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 
adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect other entities. 

_______________ 
1Source: DMAS. 
2Source: DMAS. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget, and the agency 
concurs with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The action conforms requirements relating to 
reimbursement to disaster struck nursing facilities to a 
federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services final 
rule, which requires long-term care facilities to establish 
and maintain an emergency preparedness program 
(November 2016, "Emergency Preparedness" 42 CFR 
483.73). The action (i) allows a disaster struck nursing 
facility to temporarily transfer its residents to an accepting 
facility for up to 30 days without having to discharge its 
residents; (ii) requires the sending and receiving facilities 
to have a contract or have signed the Memorandum of 
Understanding contained in the Long Term Care Mutual 
Aid Plan; (iii) requires the disaster struck nursing facility 
to determine within 15 days whether individuals will be 
able to return to the facility within 30 days; and (iv) 
provides that the standard reimbursement for the residents 
transferred to another nursing facility will continue to be 
made to the disaster struck nursing facility, which will then 
pass on the payments to the receiving facility according to 
the contract between them.  

12VAC30-90-21. Reimbursement for individuals in a 
disaster struck nursing facility. 

Reimbursement to a disaster struck nursing facility for 
individuals who must be temporarily evacuated to another 
facility (resident accepting nursing facility) may continue for 
up to 30 days after the disaster event. Reimbursement will be 
the same as if the individual was residing in the disaster 
struck nursing facility. No other reimbursement will be made 
to either the disaster struck nursing facility or the resident 
accepting nursing facility. The disaster struck nursing facility 
must meet the following conditions: 

1. The disaster struck nursing facility must have a contract 
with the resident accepting nursing facility. The contract 
must include (i) terms of reimbursement and mechanisms 
to resolve any contract disputes, (ii) protocols for sharing 
care and treatment information between the two facilities, 
and (iii) requirements that both facilities meet all 
conditions of Medicaid participation determined by the 
Virginia Department of Health. The Virginia Long-Term 
Mutual Aid Plan, which includes a Memorandum of 
Understanding, is an acceptable contract. 

2. The disaster struck nursing facility must notify the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) of 
the disaster event; maintain records of evacuated 
individuals with names, dates, and destinations of 
evacuated residents; and update DMAS on the status of the 
repairs. 
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3. The disaster struck nursing facility must determine 
within 15 days of the event whether individuals will be 
able to return to the facility within 30 days of the disaster 
event. If the disaster struck nursing facility determines that 
it is not able to reopen within 30 days, it must discharge 
the individuals and work with them to choose admission to 
other facilities or alternative placements. Nothing shall 
preclude an individual from asking to be discharged and 
admitted to another facility or alternative placement. 
Reimbursement to the disaster struck nursing facility shall 
cease when an individual is discharged. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5276; Filed July 17, 2018, 4:08 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 
for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-
105-20, 12VAC35-105-30, 12VAC35-105-50, 12VAC35-
105-120, 12VAC35-105-150, 12VAC35-105-155, 
12VAC35-105-160, 12VAC35-105-170, 12VAC35-105-320, 
12VAC35-105-330, 12VAC35-105-400, 12VAC35-105-440, 
12VAC35-105-450, 12VAC35-105-460, 12VAC35-105-520, 
12VAC35-105-580, 12VAC35-105-590, 12VAC35-105-620, 
12VAC35-105-650, 12VAC35-105-660, 12VAC35-105-665, 
12VAC35-105-675, 12VAC35-105-691, 12VAC35-105-800, 
12VAC35-105-830, 12VAC35-105-1140, 12VAC35-105-
1250, 12VAC35-105-1360; adding 12VAC35-105-1245).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-302 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 1, 2018, through February 29, 
2020. 

Agency Contact: Emily Bowles, Legal Coordinator, Office of 
Licensing, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3281, FAX (804) 
692-0066, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 
emily.bowles@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia states that 
regulations that an agency finds are necessitated by an 
emergency situation may be adopted upon consultation 
with the Attorney General, which approval shall be 
granted only after the agency has submitted a request 
stating in writing the nature of the emergency, and the 
necessity for such action shall be at the sole discretion of 
the Governor.   

The emergency regulation establishes requirements needed 
immediately to address the concerns of health and safety of 
individuals receiving services from providers of adult 

services licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services. The purpose of this 
regulation is to comply with requirements of the U.S. 
Department of Justice's Settlement Agreement with 
Virginia. The Settlement Agreement includes provisions of 
quality and risk management.  

This regulatory action addresses several items that have 
been cited by the Independent Reviewer as obstacles to 
compliance with the provisions of the Settlement 
Agreement, facilitates the submission of necessary 
information by providers after a serious incident occurs 
and the development of the required quality and risk 
management processes, and strengthens case management 
services as required by the Settlement Agreement. 

Specifically, the amendments (i) enhance the requirements 
of providers for establishing effective risk management and 
quality improvement processes by requiring the person 
leading risk management activities to have training in risk 
management, investigations, root cause analysis, and data 
analysis; requiring annual risk assessments, to include 
review of the environment, staff competence, seclusion and 
restraint, serious incidents, and risk triggers and 
thresholds; and requiring a quality improvement plan that 
is reviewed and updated at least annually; (ii) improve 
reporting of serious incidents and injuries to allow the 
Commonwealth to obtain more consistent data regarding 
the prevalence of serious incidents by establishing three 
levels of incidents and requiring providers to report on and 
conduct root cause analysis of more serious incidents and 
to track and monitor less serious incidents; and (iii) 
strengthen expectations for case management by adding 
assessment for unidentified risks, status of previously 
identified risks, and assessing whether the risk 
management plan is being implemented appropriately and 
remains appropriate for the individual. 

Since the Settlement Agreement was signed, the definition 
of "developmental disability" was expanded to include 
"intellectual disability" in the Code of Virginia (Chapter 
458 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly), and changes have been 
made to Medicaid waivers in the past year. Both of these 
developments impact the amendments in this action. 

Article 2  
Definitions  

12VAC35-105-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Abuse" (§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) means any act 
or failure to act by an employee or other person responsible 
for the care of an individual in a facility or program operated, 
licensed, or funded by the department, excluding those 
operated by the Virginia Department of Corrections, that was 
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performed or was failed to be performed knowingly, 
recklessly, or intentionally, and that caused or might have 
caused physical or psychological harm, injury, or death to a 
person an individual receiving care or treatment for mental 
illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability) 
developmental disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use 
disorders). Examples of abuse include acts such as:  

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior;  

2. Assault or battery;  

3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 
humiliates the person individual;  

4. Misuse or misappropriation of the person's individual's 
assets, goods, or property;  

5. Use of excessive force when placing a person an 
individual in physical or mechanical restraint;  

6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on a person an 
individual that is not in compliance with federal and state 
laws, regulations, and policies, professional accepted 
standards of practice, or the person's his individualized 
services plan;  

7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 
services to punish the person an individual or that is not 
consistent with his individualized services plan.  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 
activities and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, 
toileting, grooming, hygiene, feeding, and eating. An 
individual's degree of independence in performing these 
activities is part of determining the appropriate level of care 
and services.  

"Admission" means the process of acceptance into a service 
as defined by the provider's policies.  

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 
law or 12VAC35-115 to authorize the disclosure of 
information or consent to treatment and services or 
participation in human research.  

"Behavior intervention" means those principles and methods 
employed by a provider to help an individual receiving 
services to achieve a positive outcome and to address 
challenging behavior in a constructive and safe manner. 
Behavior intervention principles and methods must shall be 
employed in accordance with the individualized services plan 
and written policies and procedures governing service 
expectations, treatment goals, safety, and security.  

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or 
"behavioral support plan" means any set of documented 
procedures that are an integral part of the individualized 
services plan and are developed on the basis of a systematic 
data collection, such as a functional assessment, for the 
purpose of assisting individuals to achieve the following: 

1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 

2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 

3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 

"Brain injury" means any injury to the brain that occurs after 
birth, but before age 65, that is acquired through traumatic or 
nontraumatic insults. Nontraumatic insults may include 
anoxia, hypoxia, aneurysm, toxic exposure, encephalopathy, 
surgical interventions, tumor, and stroke. Brain injury does 
not include hereditary, congenital, or degenerative brain 
disorders or injuries induced by birth trauma.  

"Care," or "treatment," or "support" means the individually 
planned therapeutic interventions that conform to current 
acceptable professional practice and that are intended to 
improve or maintain functioning of an individual receiving 
services delivered by a provider. 

"Case management service" or "support coordination 
service" means services that can include assistance to 
individuals and their family members in assessing accessing 
needed services that are responsive to the person's individual 
individual's needs. Case management services include: 
identifying potential users of the service; assessing needs and 
planning services; linking the individual to services and 
supports; assisting the individual directly to locate, develop, 
or obtain needed services and resources; coordinating services 
with other providers; enhancing community integration; 
making collateral contacts; monitoring service delivery; 
discharge planning; and advocating for individuals in 
response to their changing needs. "Case management service" 
does not include assistance in which the only function is 
maintaining service waiting lists or periodically contacting or 
tracking individuals to determine potential service needs.  

"Clinical experience" means providing direct services to 
individuals with mental illness or the provision of direct 
geriatric services or special education services. Experience 
may include supervised internships, practicums, and field 
experience.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

"Community gero-psychiatric residential services" means 
24-hour care provided to individuals with mental illness, 
behavioral problems, and concomitant health problems who 
are usually age 65 or older in a geriatric setting that is less 
intensive than a psychiatric hospital but more intensive than a 
nursing home or group home. Services include assessment 
and individualized services planning by an interdisciplinary 
services team, intense supervision, psychiatric care, 
behavioral treatment planning and behavior interventions, 
nursing, and other health related services.  

"Community intermediate care facility/mental retardation 
(ICF/MR)" means a residential facility in which care is 
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provided to individuals who have mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) or a developmental disability who 
need more intensive training and supervision than may be 
available in an assisted living facility or group home. Such 
facilities shall comply with Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act standards and federal certification requirements, provide 
health or rehabilitative services, and provide active treatment 
to individuals receiving services toward the achievement of a 
more independent level of functioning or an improved quality 
of life.  

"Complaint" means an allegation of a violation of these 
regulations this chapter or a provider's policies and 
procedures related to these regulations this chapter.  

"Co-occurring disorders" means the presence of more than 
one and often several of the following disorders that are 
identified independently of one another and are not simply a 
cluster of symptoms resulting from a single disorder: mental 
illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability) a 
developmental disability, or substance abuse (substance use 
disorders);, or brain injury; or developmental disability. 

"Co-occurring services" means individually planned 
therapeutic treatment that addresses in an integrated 
concurrent manner the service needs of individuals who have 
co-occurring disorders.  

"Corrective action plan" means the provider's pledged 
corrective action in response to cited areas of noncompliance 
documented by the regulatory authority. A corrective action 
plan must be completed within a specified time.  

"Correctional facility" means a facility operated under the 
management and control of the Virginia Department of 
Corrections.  

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation often 
developing suddenly or rapidly that produces acute, 
heightened, emotional, mental, physical, medical, or 
behavioral distress; or any situation or circumstance in which 
the individual perceives or experiences a sudden loss of his 
ability to use effective problem-solving and coping skills.  

"Crisis stabilization" means direct, intensive nonresidential 
or residential direct care and treatment to nonhospitalized 
individuals experiencing an acute crisis that may jeopardize 
their current community living situation. Crisis stabilization is 
intended to avert hospitalization or rehospitalization; provide 
normative environments with a high assurance of safety and 
security for crisis intervention; stabilize individuals in crisis; 
and mobilize the resources of the community support system, 
family members, and others for ongoing rehabilitation and 
recovery.  

"Day support service" means structured programs of activity 
or training services training, assistance, and specialized 
supervision in the acquisition, retention, or improvement of 
self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills for adults with an 

intellectual disability or a developmental disability, generally 
in clusters of two or more continuous hours per day provided 
to groups or individuals in nonresidential community-based 
settings. Day support services may provide opportunities for 
peer interaction and community integration and are designed 
to enhance the following: self-care and hygiene, eating, 
toileting, task learning, community resource utilization, 
environmental and behavioral skills, social skills, medication 
management, prevocational skills, and transportation skills. 
The term "day support service" does not include services in 
which the primary function is to provide employment-related 
services, general educational services, or general recreational 
services.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services.  

"Developmental disabilities" means autism or a severe, 
chronic disability that meets all of the following conditions 
identified in 42 CFR 435.1009:  

1. Attributable to cerebral palsy, epilepsy, or any other 
condition, other than mental illness, that is found to be 
closely related to mental retardation (intellectual disability) 
because this condition results in impairment of general 
intellectual functioning or adaptive behavior similar to 
behavior of individuals with mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) and requires treatment or services 
similar to those required for these individuals;  

2. Manifested before the individual reaches age 18;  

3. Likely to continue indefinitely; and  

4. Results in substantial functional limitations in three or 
more of the following areas of major life activity:  

a. Self-care;  

b. Understanding and use of language;  

c. Learning;  

d. Mobility;  

e. Self-direction; or  

f. Capacity for independent living.  

"Developmental disability" means a severe, chronic 
disability of an individual that (i) is attributable to a mental or 
physical impairment, or a combination of mental and physical 
impairments, other than a sole diagnosis of mental illness; (ii) 
is manifested before the individual reaches 22 years of age; 
(iii) is likely to continue indefinitely; (iv) results in 
substantial functional limitations in three or more of the 
following areas of major life activity: self-care, receptive and 
expressive language, learning, mobility, self-direction, 
capacity for independent living, or economic self-sufficiency; 
and (v) reflects the individual's need for a combination and 
sequence of special interdisciplinary or generic services, 
individualized supports, or other forms of assistance that are 
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of lifelong or extended duration and are individually planned 
and coordinated. An individual from birth to age nine years, 
inclusive, who has a substantial developmental delay or 
specific congenital or acquired condition may be considered 
to have a developmental disability without meeting three or 
more of the criteria described in clauses (i) through (v) of this 
definition if the individual, without services and supports, has 
a high probability of meeting those criteria later in life. 

"Developmental services" means planned, individualized, 
and person-centered services and supports provided to 
individuals with developmental disabilities for the purpose of 
enabling these individuals to increase their self-determination 
and independence, obtain employment, participate fully in all 
aspects of community life, advocate for themselves, and 
achieve their fullest potential to the greatest extent possible. 

"Direct care position" means any position that includes 
responsibility for (i) treatment, case management, health, 
safety, development, or well-being of an individual receiving 
services or (ii) immediately supervising a person in a position 
with this responsibility. 

"Discharge" means the process by which the individual's 
active involvement with a service is terminated by the 
provider, individual, or authorized representative.  

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 
criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 
identifies and coordinates delivery of any services needed 
after discharge.  

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to an ultimate user by or 
pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 
prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling or 
compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 
delivery. (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia.)  

"Emergency service" means unscheduled and sometimes 
scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, and referral 
assistance provided over the telephone or face-to-face, if 
indicated, available 24 hours a day and seven days per week. 
Emergency services also may include walk-ins, home visits, 
jail interventions, and preadmission screening activities 
associated with the judicial process .  

"Group home or community residential service" means a 
congregate service providing 24-hour supervision in a 
community-based home having eight or fewer residents. 
Services include supervision, supports, counseling, and 
training in activities of daily living for individuals whose 
individualized services plan identifies the need for the 
specific types of services available in this setting.  

"HCBS Waiver" means a Medicaid Home and Community 
Based Services Waiver. 

"Home and noncenter based" means that a service is 
provided in the individual's home or other noncenter-based 

setting. This includes noncenter-based day support, 
supportive in-home, and intensive in-home services.  

"IFDDS Waiver" means the Individual and Family 
Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver.  

"Individual" or "individual receiving services" means a 
person receiving services that are licensed under this chapter 
whether that person is referred to as a patient, current direct 
recipient of public or private mental health, developmental, or 
substance abuse treatment, rehabilitation, or habilitation 
services and includes the terms "consumer," client "patient," 
"resident," student, individual, "recipient," family member, 
relative, or other term "client." When the term is used in this 
chapter, the requirement applies to every individual receiving 
licensed services from the provider.  

"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 
comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 
describes the individual's needs, the measurable goals and 
objectives to address those needs, and strategies to reach the 
individual's goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the 
individual, and is designed to meet the needs and preferences 
of the individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 
between the individual and the provider and includes an 
individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 
plan, or plan of care, which are all considered individualized 
service plans.  

"Informed choice" means a decision made after considering 
options based on adequate and accurate information and 
knowledge. These options are developed through 
collaboration with the individual and his authorized 
representative, as applicable, and the provider with the intent 
of empowering the individual and his authorized 
representative to make decisions that will lead to positive 
service outcomes.  

"Informed consent" means the voluntary written agreement 
of an individual, or that individual's authorized representative, 
to surgery, electroconvulsive treatment, use of psychotropic 
medications, or any other treatment or service that poses a 
risk of harm greater than that ordinarily encountered in daily 
life or for participation in human research. To be voluntary, 
informed consent must be given freely and without undue 
inducement; any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress; or 
any form of constraint or coercion. 

"Initial assessment" means an assessment conducted prior to 
or at admission to determine whether the individual meets the 
service's admission criteria; what the individual's immediate 
service, health, and safety needs are; and whether the provider 
has the capability and staffing to provide the needed services. 

"Inpatient psychiatric service" means intensive 24-hour 
medical, nursing, and treatment services provided to 
individuals with mental illness or substance abuse (substance 
use disorders) in a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the 
Code of Virginia or in a special unit of such a hospital.  
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"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 
meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 
money. A person's An individual's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is part of determining the 
appropriate level of care and services.  

"Intellectual disability" means a disability, originating 
before the age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) 
significant subaverage intellectual functioning as 
demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 
intellectual functioning, administered in conformity with 
accepted professional practice, that is at least two standard 
deviations below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in 
adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 
practical adaptive skills. 

"Intensive Community Treatment (ICT) community 
treatment service" or "ICT service" means a self-contained 
interdisciplinary team of at least five full-time equivalent 
clinical staff, a program assistant, and a full-time psychiatrist 
that:  

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 
treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 
individuals with severe and persistent mental illness 
especially those who have severe symptoms that are not 
effectively remedied by available treatments or who 
because of reasons related to their mental illness resist or 
avoid involvement with mental health services;  

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service 
providers;  

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 
continuity of caregivers over time;  

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 
offices; and  

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 
individualization of services.  

"Intensive in-home service" means family preservation 
interventions for children and adolescents who have or are at-
risk of serious emotional disturbance, including individuals 
who also have a diagnosis of mental retardation (intellectual 
disability) developmental disability. Intensive in-home 
service is usually time-limited and is provided typically in the 
residence of an individual who is at risk of being moved to 
out-of-home placement or who is being transitioned back 
home from an out-of-home placement. The service includes 
24-hour per day emergency response; crisis treatment; 
individual and family counseling; life, parenting, and 
communication skills; and case management and coordination 
with other services.  

"Intermediate care facility/individuals with intellectual 
disability" or "ICF/IID" means a facility or distinct part of a 
facility certified by the Virginia Department of Health as 
meeting the federal certification regulations for an 

intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 
disability and persons with related conditions and that 
addresses the total needs of the residents, which include 
physical, intellectual, social, emotional, and habilitation 
providing active treatment as defined in 42 CFR 435.1010 
and 42 CFR 483.440.  

"Investigation" means a detailed inquiry or systematic 
examination of the operations of a provider or its services 
regarding an alleged violation of regulations or law. An 
investigation may be undertaken as a result of a complaint, an 
incident report, or other information that comes to the 
attention of the department.  

"Licensed mental health professional (LMHP)" or "LMHP" 
means a physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed 
professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, 
licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner, licensed 
marriage and family therapist, or certified psychiatric clinical 
nurse specialist.  

"Location" means a place where services are or could be 
provided. 

"Medically managed withdrawal services" means 
detoxification services to eliminate or reduce the effects of 
alcohol or other drugs in the individual's body. 

"Mandatory outpatient treatment order" means an order 
issued by a court pursuant to § 37.2-817 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Medical detoxification" means a service provided in a 
hospital or other 24-hour care facility under the supervision of 
medical personnel using medication to systematically 
eliminate or reduce effects of alcohol or other drugs in the 
individual's body.  

"Medical evaluation" means the process of assessing an 
individual's health status that includes a medical history and a 
physical examination of an individual conducted by a 
licensed medical practitioner operating within the scope of his 
license.  

"Medication" means prescribed or over-the-counter drugs or 
both.  

"Medication administration" means the direct application of 
medications by injection, inhalation, ingestion, or any other 
means to an individual receiving services by (i) persons 
legally permitted to administer medications or (ii) the 
individual at the direction and in the presence of persons 
legally permitted to administer medications.  

"Medication assisted treatment (Opioid treatment service)" 
means an intervention strategy that combines outpatient 
treatment with the administering or dispensing of synthetic 
narcotics, such as methadone or buprenorphine (suboxone), 
approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration for 
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the purpose of replacing the use of and reducing the craving 
for opioid substances, such as heroin or other narcotic drugs.  

"Medication error" means an error in administering a 
medication to an individual and includes when any of the 
following occur: (i) the wrong medication is given to an 
individual, (ii) the wrong individual is given the medication, 
(iii) the wrong dosage is given to an individual, (iv) 
medication is given to an individual at the wrong time or not 
at all, or (v) the wrong method is used to give the medication 
to the individual.  

"Medication storage" means any area where medications are 
maintained by the provider, including a locked cabinet, 
locked room, or locked box.  

"Mental Health Community Support Service (MHCSS)" or 
"MHCSS" means the provision of recovery-oriented services 
to individuals with long-term, severe mental illness. MHCSS 
includes skills training and assistance in accessing and 
effectively utilizing services and supports that are essential to 
meeting the needs identified in the individualized services 
plan and development of environmental supports necessary to 
sustain active community living as independently as possible. 
MHCSS may be provided in any setting in which the 
individual's needs can be addressed, skills training applied, 
and recovery experienced.  

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, 
emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 
judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 
address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 
for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 
safety of others. 

"Mental retardation (intellectual disability)" means a 
disability originating before the age of 18 years characterized 
concurrently by (i) significantly subaverage intellectual 
functioning as demonstrated by performance on a 
standardized measure of intellectual functioning administered 
in conformity with accepted professional practice that is at 
least two standard deviations below the mean; and (ii) 
significant limitations in adaptive behavior as expressed in 
conceptual, social, and practical adaptive skills (§ 37.2-100 of 
the Code of Virginia).  

"Missing" means a circumstance in which an individual is 
not physically present when and where he should be and his 
absence cannot be accounted for or explained by his 
supervision needs or pattern of behavior. 

"Neglect" means the failure by an individual a person, or a 
program or facility operated, licensed, or funded by the 
department, excluding those operated by the Department of 
Corrections, responsible for providing services to do so, 
including nourishment, treatment, care, goods, or services 
necessary to the health, safety, or welfare of a person an 
individual receiving care or treatment for mental illness, 

mental retardation (intellectual disability) developmental 
disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use disorders).  

"Neurobehavioral services" means the assessment, 
evaluation, and treatment of cognitive, perceptual, behavioral, 
and other impairments caused by brain injury that affect an 
individual's ability to function successfully in the community.  

"Outpatient service" means treatment provided to 
individuals on an hourly schedule, on an individual, group, or 
family basis, and usually in a clinic or similar facility or in 
another location. Outpatient services may include diagnosis 
and evaluation, screening and intake, counseling, 
psychotherapy, behavior management, psychological testing 
and assessment, laboratory and other ancillary services, 
medical services, and medication services. "Outpatient 
service" specifically includes:  

1. Services operated by a community services board or a 
behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 
5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 
Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Services contracted by a community services board or a 
behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 
5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 
Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; or  

3. Services that are owned, operated, or controlled by a 
corporation organized pursuant to the provisions of either 
Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 10 (§ 13.1-801 et 
seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Partial hospitalization service" means time-limited active 
treatment interventions that are more intensive than outpatient 
services, designed to stabilize and ameliorate acute 
symptoms, and serve as an alternative to inpatient 
hospitalization or to reduce the length of a hospital stay. 
Partial hospitalization is focused on individuals with serious 
mental illness, substance abuse (substance use disorders), or 
co-occurring disorders at risk of hospitalization or who have 
been recently discharged from an inpatient setting.  

"Person-centered" means focusing on the needs and 
preferences of the individual; empowering and supporting the 
individual in defining the direction for his life; and promoting 
self-determination, community involvement, and recovery. 

"Program of Assertive Community Treatment (PACT) 
service" means a self-contained interdisciplinary team of at 
least 10 full-time equivalent clinical staff, a program 
assistant, and a full-time or part-time psychiatrist that:  

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 
treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 
individuals with severe and persistent mental illnesses, 
including those who have severe symptoms that are not 
effectively remedied by available treatments or who 
because of reasons related to their mental illness resist or 
avoid involvement with mental health services; 
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2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service 
providers;  

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 
continuity of caregivers over time;  

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 
offices; and  

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 
individualization of services.  

"Provider" means any person, entity, or organization, 
excluding an agency of the federal government by whatever 
name or designation, that delivers (i) services to individuals 
with mental illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability) 
developmental disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use 
disorders), or (ii) services to individuals who receive day 
support, in-home support, or crisis stabilization services 
funded through the IFDDS Waiver, or (iii) residential services 
for individuals with brain injury. The person, entity, or 
organization shall include a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 
of the Code of Virginia, community services board, 
behavioral health authority, private provider, and any other 
similar or related person, entity, or organization. It shall not 
include any individual practitioner who holds a license issued 
by a health regulatory board of the Department of Health 
Professions or who is exempt from licensing pursuant to 
§§ 54.1-2901, 54.1-3001, 54.1-3501, 54.1-3601 and 54.1-
3701 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Psychosocial rehabilitation service" means a program of 
two or more consecutive hours per day provided to groups of 
adults in a nonresidential setting. Individuals must 
demonstrate a clinical need for the service arising from a 
condition due to mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that 
results in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities. This service provides education to teach the 
individual about mental illness, substance abuse, and 
appropriate medication to avoid complication and relapse and 
opportunities to learn and use independent skills and to 
enhance social and interpersonal skills within a consistent 
program structure and environment. Psychosocial 
rehabilitation includes skills training, peer support, vocational 
rehabilitation, and community resource development oriented 
toward empowerment, recovery, and competency.  

"Qualified developmental disability professional (QDDP)" 
or "QDDP" means a person who possesses at least one year of 
documented experience working directly with individuals 
who have a developmental disability and one of the following 
credentials: (i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in 
Virginia, (ii) a registered nurse licensed in Virginia, or (iii) 
completion of at least a bachelor's degree in a human services 
field, including sociology, social work, special education, 
rehabilitation counseling, or psychology. 

"Quality improvement plan" means a detailed work plan 
developed by a provider that defines steps the provider will 

take to review the quality of services it provides and to 
manage initiatives to improve quality. It consists of 
systematic and continuous actions that lead to measurable 
improvement in the services, supports, and health status of 
the individuals receiving services. 

"Qualified Mental Health Professional-Adult (QMHP-A)" or 
"QMHP-A" means a person in the human services field who 
is trained and experienced in providing psychiatric or mental 
health services to individuals adults who have a mental 
illness; including (i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy 
licensed in Virginia; (ii) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, 
specializing in psychiatry and licensed in Virginia; (iii) an 
individual with a master's degree in psychology from an 
accredited college or university with at least one year of 
clinical experience; (iv) a social worker: an individual with at 
least a bachelor's degree in human services or related field 
(social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 
sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human 
services counseling, or other degree deemed equivalent to 
those described) from an accredited college and with at least 
one year of clinical experience providing direct services to 
individuals with a diagnosis of mental illness; (v) a person 
with at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited college in 
an unrelated field that includes at least 15 semester credits (or 
equivalent) in a human services field and who has at least 
three years of clinical experience; (vi) a Certified Psychiatric 
Rehabilitation Provider (CPRP) registered with the United 
States Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (USPRA); (vii) 
a registered nurse licensed in Virginia with at least one year 
of clinical experience; or (viii) any other licensed mental 
health professional.  

"Qualified Mental Health Professional-Child (QMHP-C)" or 
"QMHP-C" means a person in the human services field who 
is trained and experienced in providing psychiatric or mental 
health services to children who have a mental illness. To 
qualify as a QMHP-C, the individual must have the 
designated clinical experience and must either (i) be a doctor 
of medicine or osteopathy licensed in Virginia; (ii) have a 
master's degree in psychology from an accredited college or 
university with at least one year of clinical experience with 
children and adolescents; (iii) have a social work bachelor's 
or master's degree from an accredited college or university 
with at least one year of documented clinical experience with 
children or adolescents; (iv) be a registered nurse with at least 
one year of clinical experience with children and adolescents; 
(v) have at least a bachelor's degree in a human services field 
or in special education from an accredited college with at 
least one year of clinical experience with providing direct 
services to children and adolescents with a diagnosis of 
mental illness, or (vi) be a licensed mental health 
professional.  

"Qualified Mental Health Professional-Eligible (QMHP-E)" 
or "QMHP-E" means a person who has: (i) at least a 
bachelor's degree in a human service field or special 
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education from an accredited college without one year of 
clinical experience or (ii) at least a bachelor's degree in a 
nonrelated field and is enrolled in a master's or doctoral 
clinical program, taking the equivalent of at least three credit 
hours per semester and is employed by a provider that has a 
triennial license issued by the department and has a 
department and DMAS-approved supervision training 
program. 

"Qualified Mental Retardation Professional (QMRP)" means 
a person who possesses at least one year of documented 
experience working directly with individuals who have 
mental retardation (intellectual disability) or other 
developmental disabilities and one of the following 
credentials: (i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in 
Virginia, (ii) a registered nurse licensed in Virginia, or (iii) 
completion of at least a bachelor's degree in a human services 
field, including, but not limited to sociology, social work, 
special education, rehabilitation counseling, or psychology. 

"Qualified Paraprofessional in Mental Health (QPPMH)" or 
"QPPMH" means a person who must, at a minimum, meet 
one of the following criteria: (i) registered with the United 
States Psychiatric Association (USPRA) as an Associate 
Psychiatric Rehabilitation Provider (APRP); (ii) has an 
associate's degree in a related field (social work, psychology, 
psychiatric rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational 
rehabilitation, human services counseling) and at least one 
year of experience providing direct services to individuals 
with a diagnosis of mental illness; or (iii) has a minimum of 
90 hours classroom training and 12 weeks of experience 
under the direct personal supervision of a QMHP-Adult 
providing services to individuals with mental illness and at 
least one year of experience (including the 12 weeks of 
supervised experience). 

"Recovery" means a journey of healing and transformation 
enabling an individual with a mental illness to live a 
meaningful life in a community of his choice while striving to 
achieve his full potential. For individuals with substance 
abuse (substance use disorders), recovery is an incremental 
process leading to positive social change and a full return to 
biological, psychological, and social functioning. For 
individuals with mental retardation (intellectual disability) a 
developmental disability, the concept of recovery does not 
apply in the sense that individuals with mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) a developmental disability will need 
supports throughout their entire lives although these may 
change over time. With supports, individuals with mental 
retardation (intellectual disability) a developmental disability 
are capable of living lives that are fulfilling and satisfying and 
that bring meaning to themselves and others whom they 
know. 

"Referral" means the process of directing an applicant or an 
individual to a provider or service that is designed to provide 
the assistance needed.  

"Residential crisis stabilization service" means (i) providing 
short-term, intensive treatment to nonhospitalized individuals 
who require multidisciplinary treatment in order to stabilize 
acute psychiatric symptoms and prevent admission to a 
psychiatric inpatient unit; (ii) providing normative 
environments with a high assurance of safety and security for 
crisis intervention; and (iii) mobilizing the resources of the 
community support system, family members, and others for 
ongoing rehabilitation and recovery.  

"Residential service" means providing 24-hour support in 
conjunction with care and treatment or a training program in a 
setting other than a hospital or training center. Residential 
services provide a range of living arrangements from highly 
structured and intensively supervised to relatively 
independent requiring a modest amount of staff support and 
monitoring. Residential services include residential treatment, 
group or community homes, supervised living, residential 
crisis stabilization, community gero-psychiatric residential, 
community intermediate care facility-MR ICF/IID, sponsored 
residential homes, medical and social detoxification, 
neurobehavioral services, and substance abuse residential 
treatment for women and children.  

"Residential treatment service" means providing an 
intensive and highly structured mental health, substance 
abuse, or neurobehavioral service, or services for co-
occurring disorders in a residential setting, other than an 
inpatient service. 

"Respite care service" means providing for a short-term, 
time limited period of care of an individual for the purpose of 
providing relief to the individual's family, guardian, or regular 
care giver. Persons providing respite care are recruited, 
trained, and supervised by a licensed provider. These services 
may be provided in a variety of settings including residential, 
day support, in-home, or a sponsored residential home. 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 
medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to 
prevent an individual receiving services from moving his 
body to engage in a behavior that places him or others at 
imminent risk. There are three kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical 
device that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict 
the individual's freedom of movement or functioning of a 
limb or portion of an individual's body when that behavior 
places him or others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 
that is administered involuntarily for the emergency 
control of an individual's behavior when that individual's 
behavior places him or others at imminent risk and the 
administered medication is not a standard treatment for the 
individual's medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 
the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to 
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prevent an individual from moving his body when that 
individual's behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 
hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 
or involuntary restrict the freedom of movement of an 
individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 
are met: (i) there is an emergency; (ii) nonphysical 
interventions are not viable; and (iii) safety issues require an 
immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 
hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility 
of an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 
such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 
related post-procedure care processes, when use of the 
restraint is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the 
individual's condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 
mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 
deficit when the individual does not have the option to 
remove the device. The device may limit an individual's 
movement, for example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent 
possible harm to the individual or it may create a passive 
barrier, such as a helmet to protect the individual. 

"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 
individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges.  

"Risk management" means an integrated system-wide 
program to ensure the safety of individuals, employees, 
visitors, and others through identification, mitigation, early 
detection, monitoring, evaluation, and control of risks. 

"Root cause analysis" means a method of problem solving 
designed to identify the underlying causes of a problem. The 
focus of a root cause analysis is on systems, processes, and 
outcomes that require change to reduce the risk of harm. 

"Screening" means the process or procedure for determining 
whether the individual meets the minimum criteria for 
admission.  

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an 
individual alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or 
held shut by a staff person, by physically blocking the door, 
or by any other physical means so that the individual cannot 
leave it.  

"Serious incident" means any event or circumstance that 
causes or could cause harm to the health, safety, or well-being 
of an individual. The term "serious incident" includes death 
and serious injury. "Level I serious incident" means a serious 
incident that occurs or originates during the provision of a 
service or on the premises of the provider and does not meet 
the definition of a Level II or Level III serious incident. 
"Level I serious incidents" do not result in significant harm to 
individuals, but may include events that result in minor 
injuries that do not require medical attention or events that 

have the potential to cause serious injury, even when no 
injury occurs. "Level II serious incident" means a serious 
incident that occurs or originates during the provision of a 
service or on the premises of the provider that results in a 
significant harm or threat to the health and safety of an 
individual that does not meet the definition of a Level III 
serious incident. "Level II serious incident" includes a 
significant harm or threat to the health or safety of others 
caused by an individual. "Level II serious incidents" include:  

1. A serious injury;  

2. An individual who is missing;  

3. An emergency room or urgent care facility visit when 
not used in lieu of a primary care physician visit;  

4. An unplanned psychiatric or unplanned medical hospital 
admission;  

5. Choking incidents that require direct physical 
intervention by another person; 

6. Ingestion of any hazardous material; or 

7. A diagnosis of: 

a. A decubitus ulcer or an increase in severity of level of 
previously diagnosed decubitus ulcer;  

b. A bowel obstruction; or 

c. Aspiration pneumonia. 

"Level III serious incident" means a serious incident 
whether or not the incident occurs while in the provision of a 
service or on the provider's premises and results in:  

1. Any death of an individual;  

2. A sexual assault of an individual; 

3. A serious injury of an individual that results in or likely 
will result in permanent physical or psychological 
impairment; or 

4. A suicide attempt by an individual admitted for services 
that results in a hospital admission. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 
damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 
licensed physician, doctor of osteopathic medicine, physician 
assistant, or nurse practitioner while the individual is 
supervised by or involved in services, such as attempted 
suicides, medication overdoses, or reactions from medications 
administered or prescribed by the service. 

"Service" or "services" means (i) planned individualized 
interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate mental illness, 
mental retardation (intellectual disability) developmental 
disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use disorders) 
through care, treatment, training, habilitation, or other 
supports that are delivered by a provider to individuals with 
mental illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability) 
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developmental disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use 
disorders). Services include outpatient services, intensive in-
home services, opioid treatment services, inpatient psychiatric 
hospitalization, community gero-psychiatric residential 
services, assertive community treatment and other clinical 
services; day support, day treatment, partial hospitalization, 
psychosocial rehabilitation, and habilitation services; case 
management services; and supportive residential, special 
school, halfway house, in-home services, crisis stabilization, 
and other residential services; and (ii) day support, in-home 
support, and crisis stabilization services provided to 
individuals under the IFDDS Medicaid Waiver; and (iii) 
planned individualized interventions intended to reduce or 
ameliorate the effects of brain injury through care, treatment, 
or other supports or provided in residential services for 
persons with brain injury.  

"Shall" means an obligation to act is imposed.  

"Shall not" means an obligation not to act is imposed.  

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 
curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 
interventions. These interventions break down complex 
objectives for role performance into simpler components, 
including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 
learning and competency. 

"Social detoxification service" means providing nonmedical 
supervised care for the individual's natural process of 
withdrawal from use of alcohol or other drugs.  

"Sponsored residential home" means a service where 
providers arrange for, supervise, and provide programmatic, 
financial, and service support to families or persons 
(sponsors) providing care or treatment in their own homes for 
individuals receiving services.  

"State board" means the State Board of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services. The board has statutory 
responsibility for adopting regulations that may be necessary 
to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of 
Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth administered 
by the commissioner or the department. 

"State methadone authority" means the Virginia Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services that is 
authorized by the federal Center for Substance Abuse 
Treatment to exercise the responsibility and authority for 
governing the treatment of opiate addiction with an opioid 
drug.  

"Substance abuse (substance use disorders)" means the use 
of drugs enumerated in the Virginia Drug Control Act 
(§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) without a compelling medical reason or 
alcohol that (i) results in psychological or physiological 
dependence or danger to self or others as a function of 
continued and compulsive use or (ii) results in mental, 
emotional, or physical impairment that causes socially 

dysfunctional or socially disordering behavior; and (iii), 
because of such substance abuse, requires care and treatment 
for the health of the individual. This care and treatment may 
include counseling, rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric 
care.  

"Substance abuse intensive outpatient service" means 
treatment provided in a concentrated manner for two or more 
consecutive hours per day to groups of individuals in a 
nonresidential setting. This service is provided over a period 
of time for individuals requiring more intensive services than 
an outpatient service can provide. Substance abuse intensive 
outpatient services include multiple group therapy sessions 
during the week, individual and family therapy, individual 
monitoring, and case management.  

"Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 
children service" means a 24-hour residential service 
providing an intensive and highly structured substance abuse 
service for women with children who live in the same facility.  

"Supervised living residential service" means the provision 
of significant direct supervision and community support 
services to individuals living in apartments or other 
residential settings. These services differ from supportive in-
home service because the provider assumes responsibility for 
management of the physical environment of the residence, 
and staff supervision and monitoring are daily and available 
on a 24-hour basis. Services are provided based on the needs 
of the individual in areas such as food preparation, 
housekeeping, medication administration, personal hygiene, 
treatment, counseling, and budgeting.  

"Supportive in-home service" (formerly supportive 
residential) means the provision of community support 
services and other structured services to assist individuals, to 
strengthen individual skills, and that provide environmental 
supports necessary to attain and sustain independent 
community residential living. Services include drop-in or 
friendly-visitor support and counseling to more intensive 
support, monitoring, training, in-home support, respite care, 
and family support services. Services are based on the needs 
of the individual and include training and assistance. These 
services normally do not involve overnight care by the 
provider; however, due to the flexible nature of these 
services, overnight care may be provided on an occasional 
basis. 

"Systemic deficiency" means violations of regulations 
documented by the department that demonstrate multiple or 
repeat defects in the operation of one or more services. 

"Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents" 
means a treatment program that serves (i) children and 
adolescents from birth through age 17 and under certain 
circumstances up to 21 with serious emotional disturbances, 
substance use, or co-occurring disorders or (ii) children from 
birth through age seven who are at risk of serious emotional 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 6, 2018 

2507 

disturbance, in order to combine psychotherapeutic 
interventions with education and mental health or substance 
abuse treatment. Services include: evaluation; medication 
education and management; opportunities to learn and use 
daily living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 
skills; and individual, group, and family counseling. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of an individual 
by a staff person from a source of reinforcement to a 
different, open location for a specified period of time or until 
the problem behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce 
the frequency of problematic behavior.  

"Volunteer" means a person who, without financial 
remuneration, provides services to individuals on behalf of 
the provider.  

Part II  
Licensing Process  

12VAC35-105-30. Licenses. 

A. Licenses are issued to providers who offer services to 
individuals who have mental illness, mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) a developmental disability, or 
substance abuse (substance use disorders); have 
developmental disability and are served under the IFDDS 
Waiver; or have brain injury and are receiving residential 
services.  

B. Providers shall be licensed to provide specific services as 
defined in this chapter or as determined by the commissioner. 
These services include:  

1. Case management;  

2. Community gero-psychiatric residential;  

3. Community intermediate care facility-MR ICF/IID;  

4. Residential crisis stabilization;  

5. Nonresidential crisis stabilization; 

6. Day support;  

7. Day treatment, includes therapeutic day treatment for 
children and adolescents;  

8. Group home and community residential;  

9. Inpatient psychiatric;  

10. Intensive Community Treatment (ICT);  

11. Intensive in-home;  

12. Managed withdrawal, including medical detoxification 
and social detoxification;  

13. Mental health community support;  

14. Opioid treatment/medication assisted treatment;  

15. Emergency; 

16. Outpatient;  

17. Partial hospitalization;  

18. Program of assertive community treatment (PACT);  

19. Psychosocial rehabilitation;  

20. Residential treatment;  

21. Respite care;  

22. Sponsored residential home;  

23. Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 
children;  

24. Substance abuse intensive outpatient;  

25. Supervised living residential; and  

26. Supportive in-home.  

C. A license addendum shall describe the services licensed, 
the disabilities of individuals who may be served, the specific 
locations where services are to be provided or administered, 
and the terms and conditions for each service offered by a 
licensed provider. For residential and inpatient services, the 
license identifies the number of individuals each residential 
location may serve at a given time. 

12VAC35-105-50. Issuance of licenses. 

A. The commissioner may issue the following types of 
licenses:  

1. A conditional license shall may be issued to a new 
provider for services that demonstrates compliance with 
administrative and policy regulations but has not 
demonstrated compliance with all the regulations.  

a. A conditional license shall not exceed six months.  

b. A conditional license may be renewed if the provider 
is not able to demonstrate compliance with all the 
regulations at the end of the license period. A conditional 
license and any renewals shall not exceed 12 successive 
months for all conditional licenses and renewals 
combined.  

c. A provider holding a conditional license for a service 
shall demonstrate progress toward compliance.  

d. A provider holding a conditional license shall not add 
services or locations during the conditional period. 

e. A group home or community residential service 
provider shall be limited to providing services in a single 
location, serving no more than four individuals during 
the conditional period.  

2. A provisional license may be issued to a provider for a 
service that has demonstrated an inability to maintain 
compliance with regulations Human Rights Regulations 
(12VAC35-115) or this chapter, has violations of human 
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rights or licensing regulations that pose a threat to the 
health or safety of individuals being served receiving 
services, has multiple violations of human rights or 
licensing regulations, or has failed to comply with a 
previous corrective action plan.  

a. A provisional license may be issued at any time.  

b. The term of a provisional license shall not exceed six 
months.  

c. A provisional license may be renewed; but a 
provisional license and any renewals shall not exceed 12 
successive months for all provisional licenses and 
renewals combined.  

d. A provider holding a provisional license for a service 
shall demonstrate progress toward compliance.  

e. A provider holding a provisional license for a service 
shall not increase its services or locations or expand the 
capacity of the service. 

f. A provisional license for a service shall be noted as a 
stipulation on the provider license. The stipulation shall 
also indicate the violations to be corrected and the 
expiration date of the provisional license.  

3. A full license shall be issued after a provider or service 
demonstrates compliance with all the applicable 
regulations.  

a. A full license may be granted to a provider for service 
for up to three years. The length of the license shall be in 
the sole discretion of the commissioner.  

b. If a full license is granted for three years, it shall be 
referred to as a triennial license. A triennial license shall 
be granted to providers for services that have 
demonstrated full compliance with the all applicable 
regulations. The commissioner may issue a triennial 
license to a provider for service that had violations 
during the previous license period if those violations did 
not pose a threat to the health or safety of individuals 
being served receiving services, and the provider or 
service has demonstrated consistent compliance for more 
than a year and has a process in place that provides 
sufficient oversight to maintain compliance.  

c. If a full license is granted for one year, it shall be 
referred to as an annual license.  

d. The term of the first full renewal license after the 
expiration of a conditional or provisional license shall not 
exceed one year.  

B. The commissioner may add stipulations on a license 
issued to a provider that may place limits on the provider or 
to impose additional requirements on the provider.  

C. A license shall not be transferred or assigned to another 
provider. A new application shall be made and a new license 
issued when there is a change in ownership.  

D. A license shall not be issued or renewed unless the 
provider is affiliated with a local human rights committee.  

E. D. No service shall be issued a license with an expiration 
date that is after the expiration date of the provider license.  

F. E. A license shall continue in effect after the expiration 
date if the provider has submitted a renewal application 
before the date of expiration and there are no grounds to deny 
the application. The department shall issue a letter stating the 
provider or service license shall be effective for six additional 
months if the renewed license is not issued before the date of 
expiration. 

12VAC35-105-120. Variances.  

The commissioner may grant a variance to a specific 
regulation if he determines that such a variance will not 
jeopardize the health, safety, or welfare of individuals and 
upon demonstration by the provider requesting. A provider 
shall submit a request for such variance in writing to the 
commissioner. The request shall demonstrate that complying 
with the regulation would be a hardship unique to the 
provider and that the variance will not jeopardize the health, 
safety, or welfare of individuals. The department may limit 
the length of time a variance will be effective. A provider 
shall submit a request for a variance in writing to the 
commissioner. A variance may be time limited or have other 
conditions attached to it. The department must approve a 
variance prior to implementation. The provider shall not 
implement a variance until it has been approved in writing by 
the commissioner. 

12VAC35-105-150. Compliance with applicable laws, 
regulations and policies. 

The provider including its employees, contractors, students, 
and volunteers shall comply with:  

1. These regulations This chapter;  

2. The terms and stipulations of the license;  

3. All applicable federal, state, or local laws and 
regulations including:  

a. Laws regarding employment practices including the 
Equal Employment Opportunity Act;  

b. The Americans with Disabilities Act and the 
Virginians with Disabilities Act;  

c. For home and community-based services waiver 
settings subject to this chapter, 42 CFR 441.301(c)(1) 
through (4), Contents of request for a waiver;  

c. d. Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
regulations;  
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d. e. Virginia Department of Health regulations;  

e. Laws and regulations of the f. Virginia Department of 
Health Professions regulations;  

f. g. Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
regulations; 

g. h. Uniform Statewide Building Code; and  

h. i. Uniform Statewide Fire Prevention Code.  

4. Section 37.2-400 of the Code of Virginia and related 
human rights regulations adopted by the state board; and  

5.The provider's own policies. All required policies shall 
be in writing.  

12VAC35-105-155. Preadmission screening, discharge 
planning, involuntary commitment, and mandatory 
outpatient treatment orders. 

A. Providers responsible for complying with §§ 37.2-505 
and 37.2-606 of the Code of Virginia regarding community 
service services board and behavioral health authority 
preadmission screening and discharge planning shall 
implement policies and procedures that include: 

1. Identification, qualification, training, and responsibilities 
of employees responsible for preadmission screening and 
discharge planning. 

2. Completion of a discharge plan prior to an individual's 
discharge in consultation with the state facility that: 

a. Involves the individual or his authorized representative 
and reflects the individual's preferences to the greatest 
extent possible consistent with the individual's needs. 

b. Involves mental health, mental retardation (intellectual 
disability) developmental disability, substance abuse, 
social, educational, medical, employment, housing, legal, 
advocacy, transportation, and other services that the 
individual will need upon discharge into the community 
and identifies the public or private agencies or persons 
that have agreed to provide them. 

B. Any provider who serves individuals through an 
emergency custody order, temporary detention order, or 
mandatory outpatient treatment order shall implement 
policies and procedures to comply with §§ 37.2-800 through 
37.2-817 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC35-105-160. Reviews by the department; requests 
for information; required reporting. 

A. The provider shall permit representatives from the 
department to conduct reviews to:  

1. Verify application information;  

2. Assure compliance with this chapter; and  

3. Investigate complaints.  

B. The provider shall cooperate fully with inspections and 
investigations and shall provide all information requested to 
assist representatives from by the department who conduct 
inspections.  

C. The provider shall collect, maintain, and review at least 
quarterly all Level I serious incidents as part of the quality 
improvement program in accordance with 12VAC35-105-620 
to include an analysis of trends, potential systemic issues or 
causes, indicated remediation, and documentation of steps 
taken to mitigate the potential for future incidents. 

D. The provider shall collect, maintain, and report or make 
available to the department the following information:  

1. Each allegation of abuse or neglect shall be reported to 
the assigned human rights advocate and the individual's 
authorized representative within 24 hours from the receipt 
of the initial allegation. Reported information shall include 
the type of abuse, neglect, or exploitation that is alleged 
and whether there is physical or psychological injury to the 
individual department as provided in 12VAC35-115-230 
A. 

2. Each instance of death or serious injury in writing to the 
department's assigned licensing specialist Level II and 
Level III serious incidents shall be reported using the 
department's web-based reporting application and by 
telephone to anyone designated by the individual to receive 
such notice and to the individual's authorized 
representative within 24 hours of discovery and by phone 
to the individual's authorized representative within 24 
hours. Reported information shall include the information 
specified by the department as required in its web-based 
reporting application, but at least the following: the date 
and, place, and circumstances of the individual's death or 
serious injury; serious incident. For serious injuries and 
deaths, the reported information shall also include the 
nature of the individual's injuries or circumstances of the 
death and the any treatment received; and the 
circumstances of the death or serious injury. For all other 
Level II and Level III serious incidents, the reported 
information shall also include the consequences or risk of 
harm that resulted from the serious incident. Deaths that 
occur in a hospital as a result of illness or injury occurring 
when the individual was in a licensed service shall be 
reported. 

3. Each instance Instances of seclusion or restraint that 
does not comply with the human rights regulations or 
approved variances or that results in injury to an individual 
shall be reported to the individual's authorized 
representative and the assigned human rights advocate 
within 24 hours shall be reported to the department as 
provided in 12VAC35-115-230 C 4.  

E. A root cause analysis shall be conducted by the provider 
within 30 days of discovery of Level II and Level III serious 
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incidents. The root cause analysis shall include at least the 
following information: (i) a detailed description of what 
happened; (ii) an analysis of why it happened, including 
identification of all identifiable underlying causes of the 
incident that were under the control of the provider; and (iii) 
identified solutions to mitigate its reoccurrence. 

D. F. The provider shall submit, or make available, reports 
and information that the department requires to establish 
compliance with these regulations and applicable statutes.  

E. G. Records that are confidential under federal or state law 
shall be maintained as confidential by the department and 
shall not be further disclosed except as required or permitted 
by law; however, there shall be no right of access to 
communications that are privileged pursuant to § 8.01-581.17 
of the Code of Virginia.  

F. H. Additional information requested by the department if 
compliance with a regulation cannot be determined shall be 
submitted within 10 business days of the issuance of the 
licensing report requesting additional information. Extensions 
may be granted by the department when requested prior to the 
due date, but extensions shall not exceed an additional 10 
business days. 

G. I. Applicants and providers shall not submit any 
misleading or false information to the department. 

12VAC35-105-170. Corrective action plan. 

A. If there is noncompliance with any applicable regulation 
during an initial or ongoing review, inspection, or 
investigation, the department shall issue a licensing report 
describing the noncompliance and requesting the provider to 
submit a corrective action plan for each violation cited.  

B. The provider shall submit to the department and 
implement a written corrective action plan for each regulation 
with which it is found to be in violation as identified in the 
licensing report violation cited.  

C. The corrective action plan shall include a:  

1. Description Detailed description of the corrective 
actions to be taken that will minimize the possibility that 
the violation will occur again and correct any systemic 
deficiencies;  

2. Date of completion for each corrective action; and  

3. Signature of the person responsible for the service.  

D. The provider shall submit a corrective action plan to the 
department within 15 business days of the issuance of the 
licensing report. Extensions One extension may be granted by 
the department when requested prior to the due date, but 
extensions shall not exceed an additional 10 business days. 
An immediate corrective action plan shall be required if the 
department determines that the violations pose a danger to 
individuals receiving the service.  

E. Upon receipt of the corrective action plan, the department 
shall review the plan and determine whether the plan is 
approved or not approved. The provider has an additional 10 
business days to submit a revised corrective action plan after 
receiving a notice that the plan submitted has not been 
approved by the department has not approved the revised 
plan. If the submitted revised corrective action plan is still 
unacceptable, the provider shall follow the dispute resolution 
process identified in this section. 

F. When the provider disagrees with a citation of a violation 
or the disapproval of the revised corrective action plans, the 
provider shall discuss this disagreement with the licensing 
specialist initially. If the disagreement is not resolved, the 
provider may ask for a meeting with the licensing specialist's 
supervisor, in consultation with the director of licensing, to 
challenge a finding of noncompliance. The determination of 
the director is final.  

G. The provider shall monitor implementation of implement 
and monitor the approved corrective action and include a plan 
for monitoring plan. The provider shall incorporate corrective 
actions in its quality assurance activities improvement 
program specified in 12VAC30-105-620.  

12VAC35-105-320. Fire inspections.  

The provider shall document at the time of its original 
application and annually thereafter that buildings and 
equipment in residential service locations serving more than 
eight individuals are maintained in accordance with the 
Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). This 
section does not apply to correctional facilities or home and 
noncenter-based or sponsored residential home services. The 
provider shall evaluate each individual and, based on that 
evaluation, shall provide appropriate environmental supports 
and adequate staff to safely evacuate all individuals during an 
emergency.  

Article 3  
Physical Environment of Residential/Inpatient Residential 

and Inpatient Service Locations  

12VAC35-105-330. Beds.  

A. The provider shall not operate more beds than the 
number for which its service location or locations are 
licensed.  

B. A community ICF/MR An ICF/IID may not have more 
than 12 beds at any one location. This applies to new 
applications for services and not to existing services or 
locations licensed prior to December 7, 2011.  

12VAC35-105-400. Criminal registry background checks 
and registry searches.  

A. Providers shall comply with the requirements for 
obtaining criminal history background check requirements for 
direct care positions checks as outlined in §§ 37.2-416, 37.2-
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506, and 37.2-607 of the Code of Virginia for individuals 
hired after July 1, 1999.  

B. Prior to a new employee beginning his duties, the 
provider shall obtain the employee's written consent and 
personal information necessary to obtain a search of the 
registry of founded complaints of child abuse and neglect 
maintained by the Virginia Department of Social Services. 

C. B. The provider shall develop a written policy for 
criminal history background checks and registry checks for 
all employees, contractors, students, and volunteers searches. 
The policy shall require at a minimum a disclosure statement 
from the employee, contractor, student, or volunteer stating 
whether the person has ever been convicted of or is the 
subject of pending charges for any offense and shall address 
what actions the provider will take should it be discovered 
that an employee, student, contractor, or volunteer a person 
has a founded case of abuse or neglect or both, or a 
conviction or pending criminal charge.  

D. C. The provider shall submit all information required by 
the department to complete the criminal history background 
checks and registry checks for all employees and for 
contractors, students, and volunteers if required by the 
provider's policy searches.  

E. D. The provider shall maintain the following 
documentation:  

1. The disclosure statement from the applicant stating 
whether he has ever been convicted of or is the subject of 
pending charges for any offense; and  

2. Documentation that the provider submitted all 
information required by the department to complete the 
criminal history background checks and registry checks 
searches, memoranda from the department transmitting the 
results to the provider, and the results from the Child 
Protective Registry check search. 

12VAC35-105-440. Orientation of new employees, 
contractors, volunteers, and students. 

New employees, contractors, volunteers, and students shall 
be oriented commensurate with their function or job-specific 
responsibilities within 15 business days. The provider shall 
document that the orientation covers each of the following 
policies, procedures, and practices:  

1. Objectives and philosophy of the provider;  

2. Practices of confidentiality including access, 
duplication, and dissemination of any portion of an 
individual's record;  

3. Practices that assure an individual's rights including 
orientation to human rights regulations;  

4. Applicable personnel policies;  

5. Emergency preparedness procedures;  

6. Person-centeredness;  

7. Infection control practices and measures; and  

8. Other policies and procedures that apply to specific 
positions and specific duties and responsibilities; and  

9. Serious incident reporting, including when, how, and 
under what circumstances a serious incident report must be 
submitted and the consequences of failing to report a 
serious incident to the department in accordance with this 
chapter. 

12VAC35-105-450. Employee training and development. 

The provider shall provide training and development 
opportunities for employees to enable them to support the 
individuals served receiving services and to carry out the their 
job responsibilities of their jobs. The provider shall develop a 
training policy that addresses the frequency of retraining on 
serious incident reporting, medication administration, 
behavior intervention, emergency preparedness, and infection 
control, to include flu epidemics. Employee participation in 
training and development opportunities shall be documented 
and accessible to the department.  

12VAC35-105-460. Emergency medical or first aid 
training.  

There shall be at least one employee or contractor on duty at 
each location who holds a current certificate (i) issued by the 
American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or 
comparable authority in standard first aid and 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) or (ii) as an emergency 
medical technician. A licensed medical professional who 
holds a current professional license shall be deemed to hold a 
current certificate in first aid, but not in CPR. The 
certification process shall include a hands-on, in-person 
demonstration of first aid and CPR competency. 

Article 5  
Health and Safety Management  

12VAC35-105-520. Risk management.  

A. The provider shall designate a person responsible for the 
risk management function who has training and expertise in 
conducting investigations, root cause analysis, and data 
analysis.  

B. The provider shall implement a written plan to identify, 
monitor, reduce, and minimize risks associated with harms 
and risk of harm, including personal injury, infectious 
disease, property damage or loss, and other sources of 
potential liability. 

C. The provider shall conduct systemic risk assessment 
reviews at least annually to identify and respond to practices, 
situations, and policies that could result in the risk of harm to 
individuals receiving services. The risk assessment review 
shall address (i) the environment of care; (ii) clinical 
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assessment or reassessment processes; (iii) staff competence 
and adequacy of staffing; (iv) use of high risk procedures, 
including seclusion and restraint; and (v) a review of serious 
incidents. This process shall incorporate uniform risk triggers 
and thresholds as defined by the department. 

C. D. The provider shall conduct and document that a safety 
inspection has been performed at least annually of each 
service location owned, rented, or leased by the provider. 
Recommendations for safety improvement shall be 
documented and implemented by the provider.  

D. E. The provider shall document serious injuries to 
employees, contractors, students, volunteers, and visitors that 
occur during the provision of a service or on the provider's 
property. Documentation shall be kept on file for three years. 
The provider shall evaluate serious injuries at least annually. 
Recommendations for improvement shall be documented and 
implemented by the provider.  

12VAC35-105-580. Service description requirements.  

A. The provider shall develop, implement, review, and 
revise its descriptions of services offered according to the 
provider's mission and shall make service descriptions 
available for public review.  

B. The provider shall outline how each service offers a 
structured program of individualized interventions and care 
designed to meet the individuals' physical and emotional 
needs; provide protection, guidance and supervision; and 
meet the objectives of any required individualized services 
plan.  

C. The provider shall prepare a written description of each 
service it offers. Elements of each service description shall 
include:  

1. Service goals;  

2. A description of care, treatment, training skills 
acquisition, or other supports provided;  

3. Characteristics and needs of individuals to be served 
receive services;  

4. Contract services, if any;  

5. Eligibility requirements and admission, continued stay, 
and exclusion criteria;  

6. Service termination and discharge or transition criteria; 
and  

7. Type and role of employees or contractors.  

D. The provider shall revise the written service description 
whenever the operation of the service changes.  

E. The provider shall not implement services that are 
inconsistent with its most current service description.  

F. The provider shall admit only those individuals whose 
service needs are consistent with the service description, for 
whom services are available, and for which staffing levels 
and types meet the needs of the individuals served receiving 
services. 

G. The provider shall provide for the physical separation of 
children and adults in residential and inpatient services and 
shall provide separate group programming for adults and 
children, except in the case of family services. The provider 
shall provide for the safety of children accompanying parents 
receiving services. Older adolescents transitioning from 
school to adult activities may participate in mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) developmental day support services 
with adults.  

H. The service description for substance abuse treatment 
services shall address the timely and appropriate treatment of 
pregnant women with substance abuse (substance use 
disorders).  

I. If the provider plans to serve individuals as of a result of a 
temporary detention order to a service, prior to admitting 
those individuals to that service, the provider shall submit a 
written plan for adequate staffing and security measures to 
ensure the individual can be served receive services safely 
within the service to the department for approval. If the plan 
is approved, the department will shall add a stipulation to the 
license authorizing the provider to serve individuals who are 
under temporary detention orders. 

12VAC35-105-590. Provider staffing plan.  

A. The provider shall implement a written staffing plan that 
includes the types, roles, and numbers of employees and 
contractors that are required to provide the service. This 
staffing plan shall reflect the:  

1. Needs of the individuals served receiving services;  

2. Types of services offered;  

3. The service description; and  

4. Number of people individuals to be served receive 
services at a given time; and 

5. Adequate number of staff required to safely evacuate all 
individuals during an emergency.  

B. The provider shall develop a written transition staffing 
plan for new services, added locations, and changes in 
capacity.  

C. The provider shall meet the following staffing 
requirements related to supervision.  

1. The provider shall describe how employees, volunteers, 
contractors, and student interns will be supervised in the 
staffing plan and how that supervision will be documented.  
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2. Supervision of employees, volunteers, contractors, and 
student interns shall be provided by persons who have 
experience in working with individuals receiving services 
and in providing the services outlined in the service 
description.  

3. Supervision shall be appropriate to the services provided 
and the needs of the individual. Supervision shall be 
documented.  

4. Supervision shall include responsibility for approving 
assessments and individualized services plans, as 
appropriate. This responsibility may be delegated to an 
employee or contractor who meets the qualification for 
supervision as defined in this section. 

5. Supervision of mental health, substance abuse, or co-
occurring services that are of an acute or clinical nature 
such as outpatient, inpatient, intensive in-home, or day 
treatment shall be provided by a licensed mental health 
professional or a mental health professional who is license-
eligible and registered with a board of the Department of 
Health Professions. 

6. Supervision of mental health, substance abuse, or co-
occurring services that are of a supportive or maintenance 
nature, such as psychosocial rehabilitation, or mental 
health supports, shall be provided by a QMHP-A. An 
individual who is a QMHP-E may not provide this type of 
supervision.  

7. Supervision of mental retardation (intellectual disability) 
developmental services shall be provided by a person with 
at least one year of documented experience working 
directly with individuals who have mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) or other developmental disabilities 
and holds at least a bachelor's degree in a human services 
field such as sociology, social work, special education, 
rehabilitation counseling, nursing, or psychology. 
Experience may be substituted for the education 
requirement.  

8. Supervision of individual and family developmental 
disabilities support (IFDDS) services shall be provided by 
a person possessing at least one year of documented 
experience working directly with individuals who have 
developmental disabilities and is one of the following: a 
doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in Virginia; a 
registered nurse licensed in Virginia; or a person holding at 
least a bachelor's degree in a human services field such as 
sociology, social work, special education, rehabilitation 
counseling, or psychology. Experience may be substituted 
for the education requirement.  

9. Supervision of brain injury services shall be provided at 
a minimum by a clinician in the health professions field 
who is trained and experienced in providing brain injury 
services to individuals who have a brain injury diagnosis 
including: (i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed 

in Virginia; (ii) a psychiatrist who is a doctor of medicine 
or osteopathy specializing in psychiatry and licensed in 
Virginia; (iii) a psychologist who has a master's degree in 
psychology from a college or university with at least one 
year of clinical experience; (iv) a social worker who has a 
bachelor's degree in human services or a related field 
(social work, psychology, psychiatric evaluation, 
sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human 
services counseling, or other degree deemed equivalent to 
those described) from an accredited college or university 
with at least two years of clinical experience providing 
direct services to individuals with a diagnosis of brain 
injury; (v) a Certified Brain Injury Specialist; (vi) a 
registered nurse licensed in Virginia with at least one year 
of clinical experience; or (vii) any other licensed 
rehabilitation professional with one year of clinical 
experience. 

D. The provider shall employ or contract with persons with 
appropriate training, as necessary, to meet the specialized 
needs of and to ensure the safety of individuals being served 
receiving services in residential services with medical or 
nursing needs; speech, language, or hearing problems; or 
other needs where specialized training is necessary.  

E. Providers of brain injury services shall employ or contract 
with a neuropsychologist or licensed clinical psychologist 
specializing in brain injury to assist, as appropriate, with 
initial assessments, development of individualized services 
plans, crises, staff training, and service design.  

F. Direct care staff who provide brain injury services shall 
have at least a high school diploma and two years of 
experience working with individuals with disabilities or shall 
have successfully completed an approved training curriculum 
on brain injuries within six months of employment.  

12VAC35-105-620. Monitoring and evaluating service 
quality.  

The provider shall develop and implement a quality 
improvement program sufficient to identify, written policies 
and procedures to monitor, and evaluate clinical and service 
quality and effectiveness on a systematic and ongoing basis. 
The program shall (i) include a quality improvement plan that 
is reviewed and updated at least annually; (ii) establish 
measurable goals and objectives; (iii) include and report on 
statewide performance measures, if applicable, as required by 
DBHDS; (iv) utilize standard quality improvement tools, 
including root cause analysis; (v) implement a process to 
regularly evaluate progress toward meeting established goals 
and objectives; and (vi) incorporate any corrective action 
plans pursuant to 12VAC35-105-170. Input from individuals 
receiving services and their authorized representatives, if 
applicable, about services used and satisfaction level of 
participation in the direction of service planning shall be part 
of the provider's quality assurance system improvement plan. 
The provider shall implement improvements, when indicated.  
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12VAC35-105-650. Assessment policy.  

A. The provider shall implement a written assessment 
policy. The policy shall define how assessments will be 
conducted and documented.  

B. The provider shall actively involve the individual and 
authorized representative, if applicable, in the preparation of 
initial and comprehensive assessments and in subsequent 
reassessments. In these assessments and reassessments, the 
provider shall consider the individual's needs, strengths, 
goals, preferences, and abilities within the individual's 
cultural context.  

C. The assessment policy shall designate employees or 
contractors who are responsible for conducting assessments. 
These employees or contractors shall have experience in 
working with the needs of individuals who are being 
assessed, the assessment tool or tools being utilized, and the 
provision of services that the individuals may require.  

D. Assessment is an ongoing activity. The provider shall 
make reasonable attempts to obtain previous assessments or 
relevant history.  

E. An assessment shall be initiated prior to or at admission 
to the service. With the participation of the individual and the 
individual's authorized representative, if applicable, the 
provider shall complete an initial assessment detailed enough 
to determine whether the individual qualifies for admission 
and to initiate an ISP for those individuals who are admitted 
to the service. This assessment shall assess immediate 
service, health, and safety needs, and at a minimum include 
the individual's: 

1. Diagnosis; 

2. Presenting needs including the individual's stated needs, 
psychiatric needs, support needs, and the onset and 
duration of problems; 

3. Current medical problems; 

4. Current medications; 

5. Current and past substance use or abuse, including co-
occurring mental health and substance abuse disorders; and  

6. At-risk behavior to self and others. 

F. A comprehensive assessment shall update and finalize the 
initial assessment. The timing for completion of the 
comprehensive assessment shall be based upon the nature and 
scope of the service but shall occur no later than 30 days, 
after admission for providers of mental health and substance 
abuse services and 60 days after admission for providers of 
mental retardation (intellectual disability) and developmental 
disabilities services. It shall address:  

1. Onset and duration of problems;  

2. Social, behavioral, developmental, and family history 
and supports; 

3. Cognitive functioning including strengths and 
weaknesses;  

4. Employment, vocational, and educational background;  

5. Previous interventions and outcomes;  

6. Financial resources and benefits;  

7. Health history and current medical care needs, to 
include:  

a. Allergies; 

b. Recent physical complaints and medical conditions; 

c. Nutritional needs; 

d. Chronic conditions; 

e. Communicable diseases; 

f. Restrictions on physical activities if any; 

g. Restrictive protocols or special supervision 
requirements;  

h. Past serious illnesses, serious injuries, and 
hospitalizations; 

h. i. Serious illnesses and chronic conditions of the 
individual's parents, siblings, and significant others in the 
same household; and  

i. j. Current and past substance use including alcohol, 
prescription and nonprescription medications, and illicit 
drugs.  

8. Psychiatric and substance use issues including current 
mental health or substance use needs, presence of co-
occurring disorders, history of substance use or abuse, and 
circumstances that increase the individual's risk for mental 
health or substance use issues; 

9. History of abuse, neglect, sexual, or domestic violence, 
or trauma including psychological trauma; 

10. Legal status including authorized representative, 
commitment, and representative payee status; 

11. Relevant criminal charges or convictions and probation 
or parole status; 

12. Daily living skills; 

13. Housing arrangements; 

14. Ability to access services including transportation 
needs; and 

15. As applicable, and in all residential services, fall risk, 
communication methods or needs, and mobility and 
adaptive equipment needs. 
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G. Providers of short-term intensive services including 
inpatient and crisis stabilization services shall develop 
policies for completing comprehensive assessments within 
the time frames appropriate for those services. 

H. Providers of non-intensive or short-term services shall 
meet the requirements for the initial assessment at a 
minimum. Non-intensive services are services provided in 
jails, nursing homes, or other locations when access to 
records and information is limited by the location and nature 
of the services. Short-term services typically are provided for 
less than 60 days. 

I. Providers may utilize standardized state or federally 
sanctioned assessment tools that do not meet all the criteria of 
12VAC35-105-650 as the initial or comprehensive 
assessment tools as long as the tools assess the individual's 
health and safety issues and substantially meet the 
requirements of this section. 

J. Individuals who receive medication-only services shall be 
reassessed at least annually to determine whether there is a 
change in the need for additional services and the 
effectiveness of the medication.  

12VAC35-105-660. Individualized services plan (ISP).  

A. The provider shall actively involve the individual and 
authorized representative, as appropriate, in the development, 
review, and revision of a person-centered ISP. The 
individualized services planning process shall be consistent 
with laws protecting confidentiality, privacy, human rights of 
individuals receiving services, and rights of minors.  

B. The provider shall develop and implement an initial 
person-centered ISP for the first 60 days for mental 
retardation (intellectual disability) and developmental 
disabilities services or for the first 30 days for mental health 
and substance abuse services. This ISP shall be developed 
and implemented within 24 hours of admission to address 
immediate service, health, and safety needs and shall continue 
in effect until the ISP is developed or the individual is 
discharged, whichever comes first.  

C. The provider shall implement a person-centered 
comprehensive ISP as soon as possible after admission based 
upon the nature and scope of services but no later than 30 
days after admission for providers of mental health and 
substance abuse services and 60 days after admission for 
providers of mental retardation (intellectual disability) and 
developmental disabilities services. 

D. The initial ISP and the comprehensive ISP shall be 
developed based on the respective assessment with the 
participation and informed choice of the individual receiving 
services. To ensure the individual's participation and 
informed choice, the provider shall explain to the individual 
or his authorized representative, as applicable, in a reasonable 
and comprehensible manner, the proposed services to be 

delivered, alternative services that might be advantageous for 
the individual, and accompanying risks or benefits. The 
provider shall clearly document that this information was 
explained to the individual or his authorized representative 
and the reasons the individual or his authorized representative 
chose the option included in the ISP.  

12VAC35-105-665. ISP requirements. 

A. The comprehensive ISP shall be based on the individual's 
needs, strengths, abilities, personal preferences, goals, and 
natural supports identified in the assessment. The ISP shall 
include: 

1. Relevant and attainable goals, measurable objectives, 
and specific strategies for addressing each need; 

2. Services and supports and frequency of services required 
to accomplish the goals including relevant psychological, 
mental health, substance abuse, behavioral, medical, 
rehabilitation, training, and nursing needs and supports;  

3. The role of the individual and others in implementing 
the service plan; 

4. A communication plan for individuals with 
communication barriers, including language barriers; 

5. A behavioral support or treatment plan, if applicable; 

6. A safety plan that addresses identified risks to the 
individual or to others, including a fall risk plan; 

7. A crisis or relapse plan, if applicable;  

8. Target dates for accomplishment of goals and 
objectives; 

9. Identification of employees or contractors responsible 
for coordination and integration of services, including 
employees of other agencies; and 

10. Recovery plans, if applicable; and 

11. Services the individual elects to self direct, if 
applicable. 

B. The ISP shall be signed and dated at a minimum by the 
person responsible for implementing the plan and the 
individual receiving services or the authorized representative 
in order to document agreement. If the signature of the 
individual receiving services or the authorized representative 
cannot be obtained, the provider shall document his attempt 
attempts to obtain the necessary signature and the reason why 
he was unable to obtain it. The ISP shall be distributed to the 
individual and others authorized to receive it. 

C. The provider shall designate a person who will shall be 
responsible for developing, implementing, reviewing, and 
revising each individual's ISP in collaboration with the 
individual or authorized representative, as appropriate. 
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D. Employees or contractors who are responsible for 
implementing the ISP shall demonstrate a working 
knowledge of the objectives and strategies contained in the 
individual's current ISP. 

E. Providers of short-term intensive services such as 
inpatient and crisis stabilization services that are typically 
provided for less than 30 days shall implement a policy to 
develop an ISP within a timeframe consistent with the length 
of stay of individuals. 

F. The ISP shall be consistent with the plan of care for 
individuals served by the IFDDS Waiver. 

G. When a provider provides more than one service to an 
individual the provider may maintain a single ISP document 
that contains individualized objectives and strategies for each 
service provided. 

H. G. Whenever possible the identified goals in the ISP shall 
be written in the words of the individual receiving services. 

12VAC35-105-675. Reassessments and ISP reviews. 

A. Reassessments shall be completed at least annually and 
when any time there is a need based on changes in the 
medical, psychiatric, or behavioral, or other status of the 
individual. 

B. Providers shall complete changes to the ISP as a result of 
the assessments. 

C. The provider shall update the ISP at least annually and 
any time assessments identify risks, injuries, needs, or a 
change in status of the individual.  

D. The provider shall review the ISP at least every three 
months from the date of the implementation of the ISP or 
whenever there is a revised assessment based upon the 
individual's changing needs or goals.  

1. These reviews shall evaluate the individual's progress 
toward meeting the plan's ISP's goals and objectives and 
the continued relevance of the ISP's objectives and 
strategies. The provider shall update the goals, objectives, 
and strategies contained in the ISP, if indicated, and 
implement any updates made.  

2. These reviews shall document evidence of progression 
toward or achievement of a specific targeted outcome for 
each goal and objective. 

3. For goals and objectives that were not accomplished by 
the identified target date, the provider and any appropriate 
treatment team members shall meet to review the reasons 
for lack of progress and provide the individual an 
opportunity to make an informed choice of how to proceed. 

12VAC35-105-691. Transition of individuals among 
service. 

A. The provider shall implement written procedures that 
define the process for transitioning an individual between or 
among services operated by the provider. At a minimum the 
policy shall address: 

1. The process by which the provider will assure continuity 
of services during and following transition;  

2. The participation of the individual or his authorized 
representative, as applicable, in the decision to move and 
in the planning for transfer; 

3. The process and timeframe for transferring the access to 
individual's record and ISP to the destination location; 

4. The process and timeframe for completing the transfer 
summary; and  

5. The process and timeframe for transmitting or accessing, 
where applicable, discharge summaries to the destination 
service. 

B. The transfer summary shall include at a minimum the 
following: 

1. Reason for the individual's transfer; 

2. Documentation of involvement informed choice by the 
individual or his authorized representative, as applicable, 
in the decision to and planning for the transfer; 

3. Current psychiatric and known medical conditions or 
issues of the individual and the identity of the individual's 
health care providers; 

4. Updated progress of the individual in meeting goals and 
objectives in his ISP; 

5. Emergency medical information; 

6. Dosages of all currently prescribed medications and 
over-the-counter medications used by the individual when 
prescribed by the provider or known by the case manager; 

7. Transfer date; and 

8. Signature of employee or contractor responsible for 
preparing the transfer summary. 

C. The transfer summary may be documented in the 
individual's progress notes or in information easily accessible 
within an electronic health record. 

Article 6  
Behavior Interventions 

12VAC35-105-800. Policies and procedures on behavior 
interventions and supports.  

A. The provider shall implement written policies and 
procedures that describe the use of behavior interventions, 
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including seclusion, restraint, and time out. The policies and 
procedures shall:  

1. Be consistent with applicable federal and state laws and 
regulations;  

2. Emphasize positive approaches to behavior 
interventions;  

3. List and define behavior interventions in the order of 
their relative degree of intrusiveness or restrictiveness and 
the conditions under which they may be used in each 
service for each individual;  

4. Protect the safety and well-being of the individual at all 
times, including during fire and other emergencies;  

5. Specify the mechanism for monitoring the use of 
behavior interventions; and  

6. Specify the methods for documenting the use of 
behavior interventions.  

B. Employees and contractors trained in behavior support 
interventions shall implement and monitor all behavior 
interventions.  

C. Policies and procedures related to behavior interventions 
shall be available to individuals, their families, authorized 
representatives, and advocates. Notification of policies does 
not need to occur in correctional facilities.  

D. Individuals receiving services shall not discipline, 
restrain, seclude, or implement behavior interventions on 
other individuals receiving services.  

E. Injuries resulting from or occurring during the 
implementation of behavior interventions seclusion or 
restraint shall be recorded in the individual's services record 
and reported to the assigned human rights advocate and the 
employee or contractor responsible for the overall 
coordination of services department as provided in 
12VAC35-115-230 C.  

12VAC35-105-830. Seclusion, restraint, and time out.  

A. The use of seclusion, restraint, and time out shall comply 
with applicable federal and state laws and regulations and be 
consistent with the provider's policies and procedures.  

B. Devices used for mechanical restraint shall be designed 
specifically for emergency behavior management of human 
beings in clinical or therapeutic programs.  

C. Application of time out, seclusion, or restraint shall be 
documented in the individual's record and include the 
following:  

1. Physician's order for seclusion or mechanical restraint or 
chemical restraint;  

2. Date and time;  

3. Employees or contractors involved;  

4. Circumstances and reasons for use including other 
emergency behavior management techniques attempted;  

5. Duration;  

6. Type of technique used; and  

7. Outcomes, including documentation of debriefing of the 
individual and staff involved following the incident.  

Article 3  
Services in Department of Corrections Correctional Facilities  

12VAC35-105-1140. Clinical and security coordination.  

A. The provider shall have formal and informal methods of 
resolving procedural and programmatic issues regarding 
individual care arising between the clinical and security 
employees or contractors.  

B. The provider shall demonstrate ongoing communication 
between clinical and security employees to ensure individual 
care.  

C. The provider shall provide cross-training for the clinical 
and security employees or contractors that includes:  

1. Mental health, mental retardation (intellectual disability) 
developmental disability, and substance abuse education;  

2. Use of clinical and security restraints; and  

3. Channels of communication.  

D. Employees or contractors shall receive periodic in-
service training, and have knowledge of and be able to 
demonstrate the appropriate use of clinical and security 
restraint.  

E. Security and behavioral assessments shall be completed 
at the time of admission to determine service eligibility and at 
least weekly for the safety of individuals, other persons, 
employees, and visitors.  

F. Personal grooming and care services for individuals shall 
be a cooperative effort between the clinical and security 
employees or contractors.  

G. Clinical needs and security level shall be considered 
when arrangements are made regarding privacy for individual 
contact with family and attorneys.  

H. Living quarters shall be assigned on the basis of the 
individual's security level and clinical needs.  

I. An assessment of the individual's clinical condition and 
needs shall be made when disciplinary action or restrictions 
are required for infractions of security measures.  

J. Clinical services consistent with the individual's condition 
and plan of treatment shall be provided when security 
detention or isolation is imposed.  
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12VAC35-105-1245. Case management direct 
assessments. 

Case managers shall meet with each individual face to face 
as dictated by the individual's needs. At face-to-face 
meetings, the case manager shall (i) observe and assess for 
any previously unidentified risks, injuries, needs, or other 
changes in status; (ii) assess the status of previously identified 
risks, injuries, or needs, or other changes in status; (iii) assess 
whether the individual's service plan is being implemented 
appropriately and remains appropriate for the individual; and 
(iv) assess whether supports and services are being 
implemented consistent with the individual's strengths and 
preferences and in the most integrated setting appropriate to 
the individual's needs.  

12VAC35-105-1250. Qualifications of case management 
employees or contractors.  

A. Employees or contractors providing case management 
services shall have knowledge of:  

1. Services and systems available in the community 
including primary health care, support services, eligibility 
criteria and intake processes and generic community 
resources;  

2. The nature of serious mental illness, mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) developmental disability, substance 
abuse (substance use disorders), or co-occurring disorders 
depending on the individuals served receiving services, 
including clinical and developmental issues;  

3. Different types of assessments, including functional 
assessment, and their uses in service planning;  

4. Treatment modalities and intervention techniques, such 
as behavior management, independent living skills 
training, supportive counseling, family education, crisis 
intervention, discharge planning, and service coordination;  

5. Types of mental health, developmental, and substance 
abuse programs available in the locality;  

6. The service planning process and major components of a 
service plan;  

7. The use of medications in the care or treatment of the 
population served; and  

8. All applicable federal and state laws and regulations and 
local ordinances.  

B. Employees or contractors providing case management 
services shall have skills in:  

1. Identifying and documenting an individual's need for 
resources, services, and other supports;  

2. Using information from assessments, evaluations, 
observation, and interviews to develop service plans;  

3. Identifying and documenting how resources, 
services, and natural supports such as family can be 
utilized to promote achievement of an individual's personal 
habilitative or rehabilitative and life goals; and  

4. Coordinating the provision of services by diverse public 
and private providers.  

C. Employees or contractors providing case management 
services shall have abilities to:  

1. Work as team members, maintaining effective inter- and 
intra-agency working relationships;  

2. Work independently performing position duties under 
general supervision; and  

3. Engage in and sustain ongoing relationships with 
individuals receiving services.  

D. Case managers serving individuals with developmental 
disability shall complete the DBHDS core competency-based 
curriculum within 30 days of hire. 

Article 7  
Intensive Community Treatment and Program of Assertive 

Community Treatment Services  

12VAC35-105-1360. Admission and discharge criteria.  

A. Individuals must meet the following admission criteria:  

1. Diagnosis of a severe and persistent mental illness, 
predominantly schizophrenia, other psychotic disorder, or 
bipolar disorder that seriously impairs functioning in the 
community. Individuals with a sole diagnosis of substance 
addiction or abuse or mental retardation (intellectual 
disability) developmental disability are not eligible for 
services.  

2. Significant challenges to community integration without 
intensive community support including persistent or 
recurrent difficulty with one or more of the following:  

a. Performing practical daily living tasks;  

b. Maintaining employment at a self-sustaining level or 
consistently carrying out homemaker roles; or  

c. Maintaining a safe living situation.  

3. High service needs indicated due to one or more of the 
following:  

a. Residence in a state hospital or other psychiatric 
hospital but clinically assessed to be able to live in a 
more independent situation if intensive services were 
provided or anticipated to require extended 
hospitalization, if more intensive services are not 
available;  

b. Multiple admissions to or at least one recent long-term 
stay (30 days or more) in a state hospital or other acute 
psychiatric hospital inpatient setting within the past two 
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years; or a recent history of more than four interventions 
by psychiatric emergency services per year;  

c. Persistent or very recurrent severe major symptoms 
(e.g., affective, psychotic, suicidal);  

d. Co-occurring substance addiction or abuse of 
significant duration (e.g., greater than six months);  

e. High risk or a recent history (within the past six 
months) of criminal justice involvement (e.g., arrest or 
incarceration);  

f. Ongoing difficulty meeting basic survival needs or 
residing in substandard housing, homeless, or at 
imminent risk of becoming homeless; or  

g. Inability to consistently participate in traditional 
office-based services.  

B. Individuals receiving PACT or ICT services should not 
be discharged for failure to comply with treatment plans or 
other expectations of the provider, except in certain 
circumstances as outlined. Individuals must meet at least one 
of the following criteria to be discharged:  

1. Change in the individual's residence to a location out of 
the service area;  

2. Death of the individual;  

3. Incarceration of the individual for a period to exceed a 
year or long term hospitalization (more than one year); 
however, the provider is expected to prioritize these 
individuals for PACT or ICT services upon their the 
individual's anticipated return to the community if the 
individual wishes to return to services and the service level 
is appropriate to his needs;  

4. Choice of the individual with the provider responsible 
for revising the ISP to meet any concerns of the individual 
leading to the choice of discharge; or  

5. Significant sustained recovery by the individual in all 
major role areas with minimal team contact and support for 
at least two years as determined by both the individual and 
ICT or PACT team.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-4381; Filed July 12, 2018, 9:52 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Notice of Suspension of Regulatory Action and 
Additional Comment Period 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-51. Virginia Statewide Fire 
Prevention Code (amending 13VAC5-51-11 through 

13VAC5-51-155; adding 13VAC5-51-144.5, 13VAC5-51-
144.7, 13VAC5-51-144.8, 13VAC5-51-144.9, 13VAC5-51-
154.9; repealing 13VAC5-51-146).  

Statutory Authority: § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018.  

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the 
Code of Virginia, the Board of Housing and Community 
Development is suspending the final stage of regulatory 
process regarding the Statewide Fire Prevention Code 
(13VAC5-51), published in 34:18 VA.R. 1617-1744 April 30, 
2018, and is soliciting additional comments on changes made 
between publication of the proposed regulation and 
publication of the final regulation. 

The additional comment period ends September 5, 2018. 
Written comments regarding the changes between publication 
of the proposed regulation and publication of the final 
regulation may be submitted to the agency contact. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Department of Housing and 
Community Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main 
Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4665; Filed July 16, 2018, 1:35 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
following regulation have been filed by the State Corporation 
Commission. The forms are not being published; however, 
online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form to access it. The 
forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 
viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 
Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-300. Rules Governing Credit 
for Reinsurance. 

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino, Policy Advisor, Bureau of 
Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 
371-9873, or email raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (14VAC5-300) 

Certificate of Assuming Insurer - Year Ended December 31, 
2012, R05(09/12) (eff. 01/13).  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol34/iss18/v34i18.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol34/iss18/v34i18.pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
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Certificate of Certified Reinsurer - Year Ended December 
31, 2012, R15(03/12) (eff. 01/13). 

Schedule S, Part 1 - Part 6, 1994-2011 National Association 
of Insurance Commissioners, (eff. 01/13). 

Schedule F, Part 1 - Part 8, 1994-2011 National Association 
of Insurance Commissioners, (eff. 01/13). 

Certificate of Assuming Insurer - Year Ended December 31, 
2017, R05 (05/18) (eff. 5/2018) 

Certificate of Certified Reinsurer - Year Ended December 
31, ____, R15 (02/14) (eff. 2/2014) 

Schedule S, Part 1 - Part 7, 1994-2017 National Association 
of Insurance Commissioners, Annual Statement Blank, Life, 
Accident & Health (eff. 1/2018) 

Schedule F, Part 1 - Part 9, 1994-2017 National Association 
of Insurance Commissioners, Annual Statement Blank, 
Property/Casualty (eff. 1/2018) 

Form CR-F - Part 1 - Part 2, 2011 National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners (eff. 1/2013). 

Form CR-S - Part 1 - Part 3, 2011 National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners (eff. 1/2013).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5569; Filed July 10, 2018, 2:16 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-21. Regulations Governing 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (amending 
18VAC30-21-50, 18VAC30-21-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 
audbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system, and §§ 54.1-2603 and 54.1-
2604 of the Code of Virginia, which provide the board 
authority to regulate licensing of audiologists and speech-
language pathologists. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to clarify 
that licensure by endorsement is intended for applicants who 
have already been licensed in another state so that the board is 
assured of current competency and has information about 
whether disciplinary action has been imposed by the other 
state. Evidence of competency (continuing education hours 
and active practice or practice with a provisional license) is 
necessary to ensure that the licensee can practice audiology or 
speech-language pathology in a manner to protect the health 
and welfare of the licensee's clients or patients. Licensure by 
examination is intended for recent graduates whose 
competency has been demonstrated by passage of the 
licensure examination and attainment of the certification of 
competency. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
amendments clarify the intent of the regulations for licensure 
by endorsement. In the case of the application amendment in 
18VAC30-21-50, the result will be a reduced fee for 
applicants who have had a provisional license and are 
applying for full licensure. 

Substance: The amendments clarify that an audiologist or 
speech-language pathologist who has been licensed in another 
state must apply for licensure by endorsement and that the 
license in the other state must either be current and 
unrestricted or if lapsed, eligible for reinstatement. Another 
amendment allows an applicant who has already received a 
provisional license to pay only the difference between the 
provisional licensure fee and the application licensure fee 
when he applies for full licensure. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is more assurance that a 
licensee coming from another state has current competency as 
evidenced by hours of continuing education and that the 
licensee has either been actively practicing in the other state 
or will practice in Virginia on a provisional license before full 
licensure is granted. There are no disadvantages to the public. 
There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (Board) 
proposes to: 1) credit the provisional licensure fee paid when 
charging the application licensure fee, and 2) clarify that an 
audiologist or speech-language pathologist who has been 
licensed in another state must apply for licensure by 
endorsement. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a484005569%7E67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a484005569%7E67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6aa31005569%7E54.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6aa31005569%7E54.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2569005569%7E87.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2569005569%7E87.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2569005569%7E87.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3be31005569%7E77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3be31005569%7E77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3be31005569%7E77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f81a003115%7E12&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f81a003115%7E12&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=569cb003115%7E13&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=569cb003115%7E13&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
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Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

Fees: The regulation provides that applicants may be issued a 
provisional license in order to obtain clinical experience that 
is required in order to obtain initial full licensure. A 
provisional license may also be issued to applicants who are 
seeking: 1) licensure by endorsement and have not actively 
practiced for at least one of the past three years, 2) 
reactivation of an inactive license, or 3) reinstatement of a 
lapsed license. Under the current regulation, an individual 
with a provisional license who is applying for full licensure 
pays the full license fee.  

  Full 
License 

Provisional 
License 

Difference 

Audiology $135 $50 $85 

Speech-
language 
Pathology 

$135 $50 $85 

School 
Speech-
language 
Pathology 

$70 $50 $20 

The Board proposes only to charge such applicants the 
difference between the provisional license fee and the full 
licensure fee. In other words, all applicants for full licensure 
who have a provisional license would have their fee reduced 
by $50. This is, of course, beneficial for these applicants. 

Licensure by Endorsement: The current regulation states that 
individuals who have been licensed in another United States 
jurisdiction in audiology or speech-language pathology and 
seek licensure in Virginia may apply for licensure by 
endorsement in Virginia, provided that they: 1) meet specified 
continuing education hours, 2) meet specified clinical 
competence certification, 3) have passed a qualifying 
examination from an accrediting body recognized by the 
Board, 4) have no disciplinary action that is pending or 
unresolved, and 5) either have had active practice in another 
United States jurisdiction for at least one of the past three 
years or practice for six months with a Virginia provisional 
license. The Board proposes to change the "may" to "shall," 
in order to make clear that applicants for Virginia licensure 
who have been licensed in other United States jurisdictions 
are to apply for licensure by endorsement rather than the 
process intended for those who have never been licensed. 
According to the Department of Health Professions, 
applicants who have been licensed out-of-state and have 
expressed interest in Virginia licensure have in practice been 
told to apply for licensure by endorsement. 

Allowing individuals who have been licensed in another United 
States jurisdiction to apply for licensure through the route 

intended for those who have never been licensed would 
potentially enable those with unresolved disciplinary actions to 
become licensed in Virginia without the Board's knowledge of 
past problematic practice. Thus, the proposal to make clear that 
applicants for Virginia licensure who have been licensed in other 
United States jurisdictions are to apply for licensure by 
endorsement would be beneficial in that it reduces the likelihood 
that incompetent or unethical practitioners may become licensed 
in Virginia.  

The Board also proposes to add that the out-of-state license 
must be current and unrestricted, or if lapsed is eligible for 
reinstatement. This further helps reduce the likelihood that 
incompetent or unethical practitioners may become licensed 
in Virginia. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
directly affect individuals applying for licensure as an 
audiologist, a speech-language pathologist, or as a school 
speech-language pathologist, and indirectly firms and schools 
that employ them. In the year 2017, there were 30 new licenses 
issued for audiologists, 381 for speech language pathologists, 
and 35 for school speech-language pathologists.1 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments do 
not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments do 
not significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual 
sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not affect 
significantly costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

____________________________ 
1Source: Department of Health Professions. 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology concurs with 
the economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning 
and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify that an audiologist or speech-
language pathologist who has been licensed in another 
state must apply for licensure by endorsement and that the 
license in any other state must either be current and 
unrestricted or if lapsed, eligible for reinstatement and (ii) 
allow an applicant who has already received a provisional 
license to pay only the difference between the provisional 
licensure fee and the application licensure fee. 

Part II 
Requirements for Licensure 

18VAC30-21-50. Application requirements. 

A. A person seeking a provisional license or licensure as an 
audiologist, a speech-language pathologist, or a school 
speech-language pathologist shall submit:  

1. A completed and signed application;  

2. The applicable fee prescribed in 18VAC30-21-40, or in 
the case of an application for licensure as an audiologist, a 
speech-language pathologist, or a school speech-language 
pathologist following issuance of a provisional license, the 
difference between the provisional licensure fee and the 
application licensure fee;  

3. Documentation as required by the board to determine if 
the applicant has met the qualifications for licensure;  

4. An attestation that the applicant has read, understands, 
and will comply with the statutes and regulations 
governing the practice of audiology or speech-language 
pathology; and 

5. If licensed or certified in another United States 
jurisdiction, verification of the status of the license or 
certification from each jurisdiction in which licensure or 
certification is held.  

B. An incomplete application package shall be retained by 
the board for a period of one year from the date the 
application is received by the board. If an application is not 
completed within the year, an applicant shall reapply and pay 
a new application fee. 

18VAC30-21-80. Qualifications for licensure by 
endorsement. 

An applicant for licensure in audiology or speech-language 
pathology who has been licensed in another United States 
jurisdiction may shall apply for licensure in Virginia in 
accordance with application requirements in 18VAC30-21-50 
and submission of documentation of: 

1. Ten continuing education hours for each year in which 
he has been licensed in the other jurisdiction, not to exceed 
30 hours, or a current and unrestricted Certificate of 
Clinical Competence in the area in which he seeks 
licensure issued by ASHA or certification issued by the 
American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting 
body recognized by the board. Verification of currency 
shall be in the form of a certified letter from a recognized 
accrediting body issued within six months prior to filing an 
application for licensure;  

2. Passage of the qualifying examination from an 
accrediting body recognized by the board; 

3. Current status of licensure in another any other United 
States jurisdiction showing that the license is current and 
unrestricted or if lapsed, is eligible for reinstatement and 
that no disciplinary action is pending or unresolved. The 
board may deny a request for licensure to any applicant 
who has been determined to have committed an act in 
violation of 18VAC30-21-160; and 

4. Evidence of active practice in another United States 
jurisdiction for at least one of the past three years or 
practice for six months with a provisional license in 
accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 and by providing 
evidence of a recommendation for licensure by his 
supervisor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5425; Filed July 17, 2018, 3:51 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-
190).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2722 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system, and §§ 54.1-
2722 and 54.1-2729 of the Code of Virginia, which provide 
authority for the board to regulate the practice of dental 
hygiene, including continuing education. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 6, 2018 

2523 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to specify the 
content and duration of a continuing education course 
designed to develop the competencies needed to provide care 
under remote supervision. The goal is an adequate measure of 
competency and consistency in the course content and in its 
duration. 

Since a dental hygienist working under remote supervision is 
practicing without a dentist present, it is essential that the 
hygienist be competent to provide services to the patient and 
to know the extent and limitation of those services allowed 
under the law. While the dental care for many citizens, such 
as persons in long-term care facilities, federally qualified 
health centers, charitable safety net facilities, free clinics, and 
schools, may greatly benefit from the practice of a hygienist 
working under remote supervision, it is as important to 
protect those citizens' health and safety as it is to increase 
access to care. This regulation, combined with provisions of 
§ 54.1-2722 of the Code of Virginia, balances safety and 
access. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: All 
parties are in agreement on this regulatory action. The only 
comment in response to the NOIRA published to replace the 
emergency regulation was support from the Virginia Dental 
Hygienist Association. 

Substance: In accordance with subsection F of § 54.1-2722 of 
the Code of Virginia, a dental hygienist practicing under 
remote supervision is required to complete a continuing 
education course as specified in regulation. The course set out 
in regulation must be no less than two hours in duration, must 
be offered by an accredited dental education program or a 
sponsor, and must include specific course content. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the possibility 
of an increase in the number of dental hygienists who are 
qualified and competent to provide dental services under 
remote supervision. There are no disadvantages to the public. 
There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Dentistry (Board) proposes to establish continuing 
education requirements for dental hygienists to practice under 
remote supervision. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 497 of the 2016 Acts of 
Assembly1 authorized dental hygienists to practice, with 
certain requirements and restrictions, under the remote 
supervision of a licensed dentist. One of the requirements was 
that the dental hygienist complete a continuing education 
course with specific content to cover issues related to remote 

supervision. Chapter 410 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly2 
further clarified the continuing education requirement. 
Effective November 2017 the Board established a two-hour 
continuing education requirement related to remote 
supervision and its specified content in an emergency 
regulation.3 The Board now proposes to make the emergency 
regulation permanent. 

The proposed required two-hour remote supervision 
continuing education course will be counted toward the 
currently required 15 hours of annual continuing education 
required for renewal of a license. Thus, there should not be 
any significant additional costs beyond meeting the 15 hours 
of continuing education currently required. The main 
difference will be what is covered in two of the 15 hours. The 
proposed regulation prescribes two hours of education with 
specific content to cover issues related to remote supervision. 
Because the specific education content will help address 
issues that may arise in a remote supervision setting without 
any discernible costs, the proposed regulation should produce 
net benefits. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 6,889 dental 
hygienists licensed in Virginia. It is unknown how many may 
practice under remote supervision. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
establishes only the duration and content of the statutorily 
required continuing education and not the remote supervision 
itself. Thus, it is not expected to have any significant impact 
on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effect 
on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment should not 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendment does not have costs and other 
significant effects on small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not have adverse 
impacts on businesses. 
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Localities. The proposed amendment will not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment will not adversely 
affect other entities. 

________________________________________________ 
1http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+SB712. 
2http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+sum+HB1474. 
3http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8070. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Dentistry concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment (i) requires a dental hygienist practicing 
under supervision to complete a continuing education 
course of at least two hours that is offered by an accredited 
dental education program or a sponsor and (ii) outlines 
the content required to be covered in the continuing 
education course. 

18VAC60-25-190. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. In order to renew an active license, a dental hygienist 
shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of approved 
continuing education. Continuing education hours in excess 
of the number required for renewal may be transferred or 
credited to the next renewal year for a total of not more than 
15 hours. 

1. A dental hygienist shall be required to maintain evidence 
of successful completion of a current hands-on course in 
basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation for health care 
providers. 

2. A dental hygienist who monitors patients under general 
anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate sedation 
shall complete four hours every two years of approved 
continuing education directly related to monitoring of such 
anesthesia or sedation as part of the hours required for 
licensure renewal. 

3. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 
renewal may be satisfied through delivery of dental 
hygiene services, without compensation, to low-income 
individuals receiving health services through a local health 
department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 
for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 
education may be credited for three hours of providing 
such volunteer services, as documented by the health 
department or free clinic. 

B. An approved continuing education program shall be 
relevant to the treatment and care of patients and shall be:  

1. Clinical courses in dental or dental hygiene practice; or 

2. Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary to 
provide dental hygiene services and are supportive of 
clinical services (i.e., patient management, legal and 
ethical responsibilities, risk management, and 
recordkeeping). Courses not acceptable for the purpose of 
this subsection include, but are not limited to, estate 
planning, financial planning, investments, and personal 
health. 

C. Continuing education credit may be earned for verifiable 
attendance at or participation in any course, to include audio 
and video presentations, that meets the requirements in 
subdivision B 1 of this section and is given by one of the 
following sponsors: 

1. The American Dental Association and the National 
Dental Association and their constituent and 
component/branch associations; 

2. The American Dental Hygienists' Association and the 
National Dental Hygienists Association and their 
constituent and component/branch associations; 

3. The American Dental Assisting Association and its 
constituent and component/branch associations; 

4. The American Dental Association specialty 
organizations and their constituent and component/branch 
associations; 

5. A provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for 
Continuing Medical Education for Category 1 credits; 

6. The Academy of General Dentistry and its constituent 
and component/branch associations; 

7. Community colleges with an accredited dental hygiene 
program if offered under the auspices of the dental 
hygienist program; 

8. A college or university that is accredited by an 
accrediting agency approved by the U.S. Department of 
Education or a hospital or health care institution accredited 
by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations; 

9. The American Heart Association, the American Red 
Cross, the American Safety and Health Institute, and the 
American Cancer Society; 

10. A medical school accredited by the American Medical 
Association's Liaison Committee for Medical Education or 
a dental school or dental specialty residency program 
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 
the American Dental Association; 

11. State or federal government agencies (i.e., military 
dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.); 

12. The Commonwealth Dental Hygienists' Society; 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+SB712
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+sum+HB1474
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8070
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13. The MCV Orthodontic Education and Research 
Foundation; 

14. The Dental Assisting National Board and its affiliate, 
the Dental Auxiliary Learning and Education Foundation;  

15. The American Academy of Dental Hygiene, its 
constituent and component/branch associations; or 

16. A regional testing agency (i.e., Central Regional Dental 
Testing Service, Northeast Regional Board of Dental 
Examiners, Southern Regional Testing Agency, Council of 
Interstate Testing Agencies, or Western Regional 
Examining Board) when serving as an examiner. 

D. Verification of compliance. 

1. All licensees are required to verify compliance with 
continuing education requirements at the time of annual 
license renewal.  

2. Following the renewal period, the board may conduct an 
audit of licensees to verify compliance.  

3. Licensees selected for audit shall provide original 
documents certifying that they have fulfilled their 
continuing education requirements by the deadline date as 
specified by the board. 

4. Licensees are required to maintain original documents 
verifying the date and the subject of the program or 
activity, the sponsor, and the amount of time earned. 
Documentation shall be maintained for a period of four 
years following renewal. 

5. Failure to comply with continuing education 
requirements may subject the licensee to disciplinary 
action by the board. 

E. Exemptions. 

1. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 
education requirements and considered in compliance on 
the first renewal date following the licensee's initial 
licensure. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially 
declared disasters. A written request with supporting 
documents must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the 
deadline for renewal. 

F. The board may grant an extension for up to one year for 
completion of continuing education upon written request with 
an explanation to the board prior to the renewal date. 

G. Continuing education hours required by board order shall 
not be used to satisfy the continuing education requirement 
for license renewal or reinstatement. 

H. In order to practice under remote supervision in 
accordance with subsection F of § 54.1-2722 of the Code of 
Virginia, a dental hygienist shall complete a continuing 
education course of no less than two hours in duration that is 
offered by an accredited dental education program or a 
sponsor listed in subsection C of this section and that includes 
the following course content: 

1. Intent and definitions of remote supervision; 

2. Review of dental hygiene scope of practice and 
delegation of services; 

3. Administration of controlled substances; 

4. Patient records, documentation, and risk management; 

5. Remote supervision laws for dental hygienists and 
dentists; 

6. Written practice protocols; and  

7. Settings allowed for remote supervision. 
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5208; Filed July 17, 2018, 3:59 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 
Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 
and Chiropractic (adding 18VAC85-20-141).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2018.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX (804) 
527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation provides for licensure by endorsement for 
physicians who hold licenses in other states and who meet 
certain requirements. To be licensed by endorsement, an 
applicant would need to have held one current, 
unrestricted license in another United States jurisdiction 
or in Canada for five years, actively practiced during that 
time, have all licenses in good standing, hold current 
board certification, submit a report from the National 
Practitioner Data Bank, and have no grounds for denial of 
licensure. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
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18VAC85-20-141. Licensure by endorsement. 

To be licensed by endorsement, an applicant shall: 

1. Hold at least one current, unrestricted license in a United 
States jurisdiction or Canada for the five years immediately 
preceding application to the board; 

2. Have been engaged in active practice, defined as an 
average of 20 hours per week or 640 hours per year, for 
five years after postgraduate training and immediately 
preceding application; 

3. Verify that all licenses held in another United States 
jurisdiction or in Canada are in good standing, defined as 
[ not currently under investigation and current and 
unrestricted, or ] if lapsed, eligible for renewal or 
reinstatement; 

4. Hold current certification by one of the following: 

a. American Board of Medical Specialties;  

b. Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists; 

c. American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery; 

d. Fellowship of Royal College of Physicians of Canada; 

e. Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of 
Canada; or 

f. College of Family Physicians of Canada; 

5. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 
Bank; and 

6. Have no grounds for denial based on provisions of 
§ 54.1-2915 of the Code of Virginia or regulations of the 
board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4970; Filed July 17, 2018, 4:01 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-
50-10, 18VAC85-50-101, 18VAC85-50-110, 18VAC85-50-
115, 18VAC85-50-181).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

September 7, 2018 - 8:30 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2018.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 
527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system, and §§ 54.1-
2952, 54.1-2952.1, and 54.1-2952.2, which provide the Board 
of Medicine authority to regulate the practice of physician 
assistants. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is clarity and 
consistency in rules relating to supervision of physician 
assistants and removal of any unnecessary rules that may 
impede the ability of assistants to practice to the full extent of 
their training and competency as permitted by law. There are 
no substantive changes that affect the supervisory role of a 
physician, and the regulations will continue to protect public 
health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
board initially issued a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
(NOIRA) to begin the regulatory process; the proposed 
changes identified in the NOIRA were fully supported by the 
Virginia Academy of Physician Assistants and unanimously 
approved by members of the advisory board and the full 
Board of Medicine. Therefore, the board determined to move 
forward with adoption of a fast-track rulemaking action. 

Substance: Relating to the use of supervision, the proposed 
amendments (i) change the definition of "supervision" by 
combining the meanings of general and continuous 
supervision; (ii) eliminate definitions of "direct supervision" 
and "personal supervision" and move the definitions of 
"alternative supervising physician" and "supervising 
physician" to the appropriate places in the chapter; (iii) delete 
the examples of various levels of supervision that may be 
spelled out in the practice agreement between the parties; and 
(iv) change the word "supervising" to "observing" to clarify 
the responsibility of the physician in attesting to the 
competency of a physician assistant to perform invasive 
procedures. 

Relating to provisions on pharmacotherapy for weight loss, 
the amendments add language similar to that in regulations 
for physicians to read, "If specifically authorized in his 
practice agreement with a supervising physician, a physician 
assistant may perform the physical examination, review tests, 
and prescribe Schedules III through VI controlled substances 
for treatment of obesity, as specified in subsection B of this 
section." 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 
public. The public continues to be protected by maintaining 
the requirement for physician oversight and certification of 
the physician assistant's competency to perform invasive 
procedures. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 
agency or the Commonwealth. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to 1) add a provision in 
the regulation on pharmacotherapy for weight loss to clarify 
that a physician assistant can conduct the physical 
examination, review tests, and prescribe drugs if so 
authorized in a practice agreement with a supervising 
physician, and 2) amend supervision language to improve 
clarity.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
the proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Regulations Governing the 
Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, and 
Chiropractic (18VAC85-20) specify that "If specifically 
authorized in his practice agreement with a supervising or 
collaborating physician, a physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner may perform the physical examination, review 
tests, and prescribe Schedules III through VI controlled 
substances for treatment of obesity…" Nevertheless, the 
Advisory Board on Physician Assistants (Advisory Board) 
has noted that not all pharmacies are filling prescriptions 
written by physician assistants for weight loss.1 The Advisory 
Board stated that "It was thought that adding this [language to 
the physician assistant regulation] would remove any 
confusion pharmacists might have regarding physician 
assistants writing prescriptions for weight loss medications."  

Thus, the Board proposes to add (for physician assistants) the 
above quoted language in the Regulations Governing the 
Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, and 
Chiropractic to the Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physician Assistants. This would be beneficial in that it 
would help ensure that pharmacists and anyone else who only 
reads the physician assistant regulation are aware that 
physician assistants are legally permitted to prescribe drugs in 
these circumstances and to conduct the other listed activities. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect current and future physician assistants in the 
Commonwealth, and their supervising physicians. There are 
3,612 persons who hold a current Virginia license as a 
physician assistant, each of whom may have multiple 
supervising physicians.2 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

_____________________________ 
1See http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:\TownHall\docroot\\
meeting\26\25460\Minutes_DHP_25460_v2.pdf. 
2Data source: Department of Health Professions. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) simplify and clarify the definitions and 
usage of various terms for supervision for more 
consistency with the Code of Virginia and with actual 
practice of physician assistants and supervising physicians 
and (ii) add a provision regarding pharmacotherapy for 
weight loss to clarify that a physician assistant can 
conduct the physical examination, review tests, and 
prescribe drugs for treatment of obesity if so authorized in 
a practice agreement with a supervising physician. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC85-50-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms shall have the meanings 
ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia:  

"Board."  

"Physician assistant."  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5C%5Cmeeting%5C26%5C25460%5CMinutes_DHP_25460_v2.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5C%5Cmeeting%5C26%5C25460%5CMinutes_DHP_25460_v2.pdf
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"Group practice" means the practice of a group of two or 
more doctors of medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry licensed by 
the board who practice as a partnership or professional 
corporation.  

"Institution" means a hospital, nursing home or other health 
care facility, community health center, public health center, 
industrial medicine or corporation clinic, a medical service 
facility, student health center, or other setting approved by the 
board.  

"NCCPA" means the National Commission on Certification 
of Physician Assistants.  

"Practice agreement" means a written agreement developed 
by the supervising physician and the physician assistant that 
defines the supervisory relationship between the physician 
assistant and the physician, the prescriptive authority of the 
physician assistant, and the circumstances under which the 
physician will see and evaluate the patient.  

"Supervision" means:  

1. "Alternate supervising physician" means a member of 
the same group or professional corporation or partnership 
of any licensee, any hospital or any commercial enterprise 
with the supervising physician. Such alternating 
supervising physician shall be a physician licensed in the 
Commonwealth who has registered with the board and who 
has accepted responsibility for the supervision of the 
service that a physician assistant renders.  

2. "Direct supervision" means the physician is in the room 
in which a procedure is being performed.  

3. "General supervision" means the supervising physician 
is easily available and can be physically present or 
accessible for consultation with the physician assistant 
within one hour.  

4. "Personal supervision" means the supervising physician 
is within the facility in which the physician's assistant is 
functioning.  

5. "Supervising physician" means the doctor of medicine, 
osteopathy, or podiatry licensed in the Commonwealth 
who has accepted responsibility for the supervision of the 
service that a physician assistant renders.  

6. "Continuous supervision" means the supervising 
physician has on-going, regular communication with the 
physician assistant on the care and treatment of patients the 
supervising physician has on-going, regular 
communication with the physician assistant on the care and 
treatment of patients, is easily available, and can be 
physically present or accessible for consultation with the 
physician assistant within one hour. 

Part IV  
Practice Requirements  

18VAC85-50-101. Requirements for a practice agreement.  

A. Prior to initiation of practice, a physician assistant and his 
supervising physician shall enter into a written or electronic 
practice agreement that spells out the roles and functions of 
the assistant.  

1. The supervising physician shall be a doctor of medicine, 
osteopathy, or podiatry licensed in the Commonwealth 
who has accepted responsibility for the supervision of the 
service that a physician assistant renders. 

2. Any such practice agreement shall take into account 
such factors as the physician assistant's level of 
competence, the number of patients, the types of illness 
treated by the physician, the nature of the treatment, 
special procedures, and the nature of the physician 
availability in ensuring direct physician involvement at an 
early stage and regularly thereafter.  

3. The practice agreement shall also provide an evaluation 
process for the physician assistant's performance, including 
a requirement specifying the time period, proportionate to 
the acuity of care and practice setting, within which the 
supervising physician shall review the record of services 
rendered by the physician assistant.  

4. The practice agreement may include requirements for 
periodic site visits by supervising licensees who supervise 
and direct assistants who provide services at a location 
other than where the licensee regularly practices. 

B. The board may require information regarding the level of 
supervision, (i.e., "direct," "personal," or "general") with 
which the supervising physician plans to supervise the 
physician assistant for selected tasks. The board may also 
require the supervising physician to document the assistant's 
competence in performing such tasks.  

C. If the role of the assistant includes prescribing for drugs 
and devices, the written practice agreement shall include 
those schedules and categories of drugs and devices that are 
within the scope of practice and proficiency of the 
supervising physician. 

D. If the initial practice agreement did not include 
prescriptive authority, there shall be an addendum to the 
practice agreement for prescriptive authority. 

E. If there are any changes in supervision, authorization, or 
scope of practice, a revised practice agreement shall be 
entered into at the time of the change.  

18VAC85-50-110. Responsibilities of the supervisor.  

The supervising physician shall:  

1. Review the clinical course and treatment plan for any 
patient who presents for the same acute complaint twice in 
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a single episode of care and has failed to improve as 
expected. The supervising physician shall be involved with 
any patient with a continuing illness as noted in the written 
or electronic practice agreement for the evaluation process.  

2. Be responsible for all invasive procedures.  

a. Under general supervision, a physician assistant may 
insert a nasogastric tube, bladder catheter, needle, or 
peripheral intravenous catheter, but not a flow-directed 
catheter, and may perform minor suturing, venipuncture, 
and subcutaneous intramuscular or intravenous injection.  

b. All other invasive procedures not listed in subdivision 
2 a of this section must be performed under direct 
supervision with the physician in the room unless, after 
directly supervising observing the performance of a 
specific invasive procedure three times or more, the 
supervising physician attests on the practice agreement to 
the competence of the physician assistant to perform the 
specific procedure without direct observation and 
supervision. 

3. Be responsible for all prescriptions issued by the 
assistant and attest to the competence of the assistant to 
prescribe drugs and devices.  

18VAC85-50-115. Responsibilities of the physician 
assistant.  

A. The physician assistant shall not render independent 
health care and shall:  

1. Perform only those medical care services that are within 
the scope of the practice and proficiency of the supervising 
physician as prescribed in the physician assistant's practice 
agreement. When a physician assistant is to be supervised 
by an alternate supervising physician outside the scope of 
specialty of the supervising physician, then the physician 
assistant's functions shall be limited to those areas not 
requiring specialized clinical judgment, unless a separate 
practice agreement for that alternate supervising physician 
is approved and on file with the board.  

2. Prescribe only those drugs and devices as allowed in 
Part V (18VAC85-50-130 et seq.) of this chapter.  

3. Wear during the course of performing his duties 
identification showing clearly that he is a physician 
assistant.  

B. An alternate supervising physician shall be a member of 
the same group or professional corporation or partnership of 
any licensee who supervises a physician assistant or shall be a 
member of the same hospital or commercial enterprise with 
the supervising physician. Such alternating supervising 
physician shall be a physician licensed in the Commonwealth 
who has registered with the board and who has accepted 
responsibility for the supervision of the service that a 
physician assistant renders. 

B. C. If, due to illness, vacation, or unexpected absence, the 
supervising physician or alternate supervising physician is 
unable to supervise the activities of his assistant, such 
supervising physician may temporarily delegate the 
responsibility to another doctor of medicine, osteopathic 
medicine, or podiatry.  

Temporary coverage may not exceed four weeks unless 
special permission is granted by the board.  

C. D. With respect to assistants employed by institutions, the 
following additional regulations shall apply:  

1. No assistant may render care to a patient unless the 
physician responsible for that patient has signed the 
practice agreement to act as supervising physician for that 
assistant. The board shall make available appropriate forms 
for physicians to join the practice agreement for an 
assistant employed by an institution.  

2. Any such practice agreement as described in subdivision 
1 of this subsection shall delineate the duties which said 
physician authorizes the assistant to perform.  

3. The assistant shall, as soon as circumstances may 
dictate, report an acute or significant finding or change in 
clinical status to the supervising physician concerning the 
examination of the patient. The assistant shall also record 
his findings in appropriate institutional records.  

D. E. Practice by a physician assistant in a hospital, 
including an emergency department, shall be in accordance 
with § 54.1-2952 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC85-50-181. Pharmacotherapy for weight loss.  

A. A practitioner shall not prescribe amphetamine, Schedule 
II, for the purpose of weight reduction or control.  

B. A practitioner shall not prescribe controlled substances, 
Schedules III through VI, for the purpose of weight reduction 
or control in the treatment of obesity, unless the following 
conditions are met:  

1. An appropriate history and physical examination are 
performed and recorded at the time of initiation of 
pharmacotherapy for obesity by the prescribing physician, 
and the physician reviews the results of laboratory work, as 
indicated, including testing for thyroid function;  

2. If the drug to be prescribed could adversely affect 
cardiac function, the physician shall review the results of 
an electrocardiogram performed and interpreted within 90 
days of initial prescribing for treatment of obesity;  

3. A diet and exercise program for weight loss is 
prescribed and recorded;  

4. The patient is seen within the first 30 days following 
initiation of pharmacotherapy for weight loss, by the 
prescribing physician or a licensed practitioner with 
prescriptive authority working under the supervision of the 
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prescribing physician, at which time a recording shall be 
made of blood pressure, pulse, and any other tests as may 
be necessary for monitoring potential adverse effects of 
drug therapy; and  

5. The treating physician shall direct the follow-up care, 
including the intervals for patient visits and the 
continuation of or any subsequent changes in 
pharmacotherapy. Continuation of prescribing for 
treatment of obesity shall occur only if the patient has 
continued progress toward achieving or maintaining a 
target weight and has no significant adverse effects from 
the prescribed program.  

C. If specifically authorized in his practice agreement with a 
supervising physician, a physician assistant may perform the 
physical examination, review tests, and prescribe Schedules 
III through VI controlled substances for treatment of obesity 
as specified in subsection B of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5334; Filed July 17, 2018, 4:04 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-130. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Licensed Midwives (amending 18VAC85-
130-45).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.9 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

September 7, 2018 - 8:30 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2018.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 
527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system, and § 54.1-
2957.9 of the Code of Virginia, which provides that the board 
shall adopt regulations governing the practice of midwifery. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to provide 
a sufficient timeframe for completion of a midwifery 
portfolio for evaluation by the North American Registry of 
Midwives (NARM) to qualify a person to sit for the 
certification examination and thus qualify for licensure. Since 
persons engaged in gaining practical experience are directly 
and immediately supervised by a licensed physician or 
midwife, the public continues to be protected. The goal is to 

ensure that supervised practice continues for the time period 
that may be necessary for someone to complete a portfolio. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
amended regulation was requested by the Advisory Board on 
Midwifery and unanimously approved by the Board of 
Medicine. It is less burdensome and noncontroversial. 

Substance: The amendment will change the timeframe from 
three years to 10 years in which a person who is enrolled in a 
midwifery education program or completing a midwifery 
portfolio is allowed to perform tasks related to the practice of 
midwifery under direct and immediate supervision. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public may be the 
ability for some persons to complete a NARM portfolio 
within a more reasonable timeframe and thereby become 
licensed to provide midwifery services. There are no 
disadvantages to the public since such persons must provide 
services under direct and immediate supervision. There are no 
advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to amend its Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Licensed Midwives to change the 
time during which a person who is enrolled in a midwifery 
education program, or completing her portfolio,1 is allowed to 
perform tasks related to the practice of midwifery under direct 
and immediate supervision.2  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation allows 
individuals enrolled in an accredited midwifery education 
program, or who are completing their portfolio, to perform 
midwifery tasks under direct and immediate supervision 
without being licensed until those individuals have either 
taken and received the results for the examination required for 
the Certified Professional Midwife (CPM) or for a period of 
three years, whichever occurs sooner. Current regulation also 
allows individuals who are practicing under supervision to 
request, "for good cause shown," an extension not to exceed 
one year in length to the three-year limit on supervised 
practice. The Board now proposes to extend the time 
limitation on supervised practice to 10 years and to eliminate 
the extension allowance. Under the proposed regulation, 
individuals working toward midwife licensure will be able to 
work under supervision for a maximum of 10 years, rather 
than the maximum four years that is currently allowed. 

As all practice under this provision will still have to be 
directly and immediately supervised, the new time limits does 
not raise safety concerns. Accordingly, no affected entities 
are likely to incur any additional costs on account of the 
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proposed regulatory change. This proposed change will 
benefit those who are working to obtain midwife licensure 
because it allows them greater flexibility to get "on-the-job 
experience" as they complete their educational requirements. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulatory action will 
affect all individuals who may wish to pursue midwife 
licensure in the future. Board staff does not know how many 
individuals are currently enrolled in midwifery education 
programs or completing a North American Registry of 
Midwives (NARM) portfolio but does report that there were 
seven individuals licensed as midwives in 2016-2017. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 
Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 
incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 
regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 
businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 
of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 
costs on account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 
see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 
regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 
affected by these proposed changes. 

______________________________ 
1The North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) Portfolio Evaluation 
Process allows candidates who have been educated outside of established 
pathways to have their qualifications evaluated for credentialing. In order to 
be licensed in Virginia, midwives must have NARM's Certified Professional 
Midwife credential.  

2Licensed doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine, certified nurse 
midwives and licensed midwives may provide supervision. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The amendment changes the timeframe from three years to 
10 years during which a person enrolled in a midwifery 
education program or completing a midwifery portfolio is 
allowed to perform tasks related to the practice of 
midwifery under direct and immediate supervision. 

18VAC85-130-45. Practice while enrolled in an accredited 
midwifery education program Practical experience under 
supervision.  

A person may perform tasks related to the practice of 
midwifery under the direct and immediate supervision of a 
licensed doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine, a 
certified nurse midwife, or a licensed midwife while enrolled 
in an accredited midwifery education program or during 
completion of the North American Registry of Midwives' 
Portfolio Evaluation Process Program without obtaining a 
license issued by the board until such person has taken and 
received the results of any examination required for CPM 
certification or for a period of three 10 years, whichever 
occurs sooner. For good cause shown, a person may request 
that the board grant any extension of time beyond the three 
years, for a period not to exceed one additional year.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5302; Filed July 17, 2018, 4:06 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-27. Regulations for Nursing 
Education Programs (amending 18VAC90-27-10, 
18VAC90-27-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 
527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Nursing the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system, and § 54.1-
3005 of the Code of Virginia, which gives the board authority 
to regulate nursing educational programs.  
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Purpose: Hospitals and clinics that serve as settings for 
clinical training are better assured of the safety and welfare of 
their patients by having a more recent criminal background 
check rather than relying on the initial check at the time of a 
student's application to nursing school. There may be as much 
as a two-year gap from the time an applicant to nursing 
school has a background check and the time that nursing 
student begins a clinical experience involving direct patient 
care. By requiring a background check prior to the clinical 
experience rather than prior to admission, any prior or 
subsequent criminal activity will be known, and there is more 
protection for patient health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
action is intended to clarify the term "full approval" and to 
address the gap of time between the criminal background 
check conducted at the time of admission to a nursing 
education program and the time a student would begin 
clinical experience. The action was recommended by the 
Nursing Education Informal Conference Committee and 
unanimously approved by the board. It is beneficial to 
students, nursing programs, and clinical settings, so it should 
not be controversial. 

Substance: The board is adding a definition for "full 
approval" of a nursing education program and changing the 
timing of a criminal background check for nursing students 
from requiring the check prior to admission to prior to the 
clinical experience involving direct patient care. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public of the 
amendment is better assurance that nursing students 
providing direct patient care have had a recent criminal 
background check. There are no disadvantages to the public. 
There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to add a definition for 
"full approval" of a nursing education program and to change 
the timing of a required criminal background check for 
nursing students from requiring the check prior to admission 
to prior to the clinical experience involving direct patient 
care. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Sections 150 and 160 of the 
regulation reference "full approval," but the current regulation 
does not define "full approval." The Board proposes to add a 
definition to improve clarity. The proposed definition is 
consistent with the meaning as it has been interpreted. To the 
extent that adding the definition reduces confusion among 
potential readers of the regulation, the proposal would be 
beneficial.  

The current regulation provides that "Except for high school 
students, all applicants to a nursing education program shall 
be required to submit to a criminal background check prior to 
admission."1 The Board proposes to instead provide that 
"Except for high school students, all students enrolled in a 
nursing education program shall be required to submit to a 
criminal background check prior to a clinical experience 
involving direct patient care."2 This proposed amendment 
should not affect health and safety since the students will still 
be checked prior to direct patient care. The proposed 
amendment is beneficial in that the expense of criminal 
background checks can be saved for applicants who are not 
granted admission. The Virginia State Police fee for a 
national criminal background check for employees or 
volunteers providing care to children, the elderly, and 
disabled is $25 for employees and $19 for volunteers.3 

According to the Department of Health Professions, hospitals 
and clinics where students are engaged in a clinical 
experience require a criminal background check prior to 
providing direct patient care. Typically, there is a gap of 
months or even years between the time a check was submitted 
prior to admission and the time of the clinical experience. 
Therefore, the clinical settings often require a second check to 
ensure that there has not been any criminal activity during 
that gap period. By just requiring that there be criminal 
background check prior to a clinical experience involving 
direct patient care rather than prior to admission may thus 
effectively reduce the number of background checks that 
admitted nursing students are subjected to from two to one. 
Consequently, the cost for background checks for admitted 
students may decrease as well. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 138 programs4 approved by the Board to provide 
education for practical and professional nursing.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 
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Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

______________________________________________ 
1Bold on "prior to admission" is for emphasis and is not in the regulation. 
2Ibid. 
3See http://www.vsp.state.va.us/downloads/SP-024.pdf. 
4Data source: Department of Health Professions. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Nursing concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add a definition for "full approval" of 
a nursing education program and (ii) change the timing of 
a criminal background check for nursing students from 
requiring the check prior to admission to requiring it prior 
to the clinical experience involving direct patient care. 

Part I 
General Provisions 

18VAC90-27-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-3000 of the 
Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used 
in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Accreditation" means having been accredited by an agency 
recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to include 
the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the 
Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, the 
Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation, or a 
national nursing accrediting organization recognized by the 
board. 

"Advisory committee" means a group of persons from a 
nursing education program and the health care community 
who meets regularly to advise the nursing education program 
on the quality of its graduates and the needs of the 
community. 

"Approval" means the process by which the board or a 
governmental agency in another state or foreign country 
evaluates and grants official recognition to nursing education 

programs that meet established standards not inconsistent 
with Virginia law. 

"Associate degree nursing program" means a nursing 
education program preparing for registered nurse licensure, 
offered by a Virginia college or other institution and designed 
to lead to an associate degree in nursing, provided that the 
institution is authorized to confer such degree by SCHEV. 

"Baccalaureate degree nursing program" or "prelicensure 
graduate degree program" means a nursing education 
program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 
Virginia college or university and designed to lead to a 
baccalaureate or a graduate degree with a major in nursing, 
provided that the institution is authorized to confer such 
degree by SCHEV. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"Clinical setting" means any location in which the clinical 
practice of nursing occurs as specified in an agreement 
between the cooperating agency and the school of nursing. 

"Conditional approval" means a time-limited status that 
results when an approved nursing education program has 
failed to maintain requirements as set forth in this chapter. 

"Cooperating agency" means an agency or institution that 
enters into a written agreement to provide clinical or 
observational experiences for a nursing education program. 

"Diploma nursing program" means a nursing education 
program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 
hospital and designed to lead to a diploma in nursing, 
provided the hospital is licensed in this state. 

"Full approval" means the status granted to a nursing 
education program when compliance with regulations 
pertaining to nursing education programs has been verified. 

"Initial approval" means the status granted to a nursing 
education program that allows the admission of students. 

"National certifying organization" means an organization 
that has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty 
in nursing based on an examination attesting to the 
knowledge of the nurse for practice in the specialty area. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 
Examination. 

"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 
Nursing. 

"Nursing education program" means an entity offering a 
basic course of study preparing persons for licensure as 
registered nurses or as licensed practical nurses. A basic 
course of study shall include all courses required for the 
degree, diploma, or certificate. 

"Nursing faculty" means registered nurses who teach the 
practice of nursing in nursing education programs. 

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/downloads/SP-024.pdf
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"Practical nursing program" means a nursing education 
program preparing for practical nurse licensure that leads to a 
diploma or certificate in practical nursing, provided the 
school is authorized by the Virginia Department of Education 
or by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 
Department of Education. 

"Preceptor" means a licensed nurse who is employed in the 
clinical setting, serves as a resource person and role model, 
and is present with the nursing student in that setting, 
providing clinical supervision. 

"Program director" means a registered nurse who holds a 
current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate 
licensure privilege and who has been designated by the 
controlling authority to administer the nursing education 
program. 

"Recommendation" means a guide to actions that will assist 
an institution to improve and develop its nursing education 
program. 

"Requirement" means a mandatory condition that a nursing 
education program must meet to be approved or maintain 
approval. 

"SCHEV" means the State Council of Higher Education for 
Virginia. 

"Site visit" means a focused onsite review of the nursing 
program by board staff, usually completed within one day for 
the purpose of evaluating program components such as the 
physical location (skills lab, classrooms, learning resources) 
for obtaining initial program approval, in response to a 
complaint, compliance with NCLEX plan of correction, 
change of location, or verification of noncompliance with this 
chapter. 

"Survey visit" means a comprehensive onsite review of the 
nursing program by board staff, usually completed within two 
days (depending on the number of programs or campuses 
being reviewed) for the purpose of obtaining and maintaining 
full program approval. The survey visit includes the 
program's completion of a self-evaluation report prior to the 
visit, as well as a board staff review of all program resources, 
including skills lab, classrooms, learning resources, and 
clinical facilities, and other components to ensure compliance 
with this chapter. Meetings with faculty, administration, 
students, and clinical facility staff will occur. 

18VAC90-27-70. Admission of students. 

A. Requirements for admission to a registered nursing 
education program shall not be less than the requirements of 
§ 54.1-3017 A 1 of the Code of Virginia that will permit the 
graduate to be admitted to the appropriate licensing 
examination. The equivalent of a four-year high school course 
of study as required pursuant to § 54.1-3017 shall be 
considered to be:  

1. A General Educational Development (GED) certificate 
for high school equivalence; or  

2. Satisfactory completion of the college courses required 
by the nursing education program.  

B. Requirements for admission to a practical nursing 
education program shall not be less than the requirements of 
§ 54.1-3020 A 1 of the Code of Virginia that will permit the 
graduate to be admitted to the appropriate licensing 
examination. 

C. Requirements for admission, readmission, advanced 
standing, progression, retention, dismissal, and graduation 
shall be available to the students in written form.  

D. Except for high school students, all applicants to students 
enrolled in a nursing education program shall be required to 
submit to a criminal background check prior to admission a 
clinical experience involving direct patient care. 

E. Transfer students may not be admitted until a nursing 
education program has received full approval from the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5288; Filed July 17, 2018, 4:07 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 
of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 
board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 
subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322; 
adding 18VAC110-20-323).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 
527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add eight compounds into Schedule I 
of the Drug Control Act as recommended by the Virginia 
Department of Forensic Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 
of the Code of Virginia, which will remain in effect for 18 
months or until the compounds are placed in Schedule I by 
legislative action of the General Assembly; and (ii) add 
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one drug to Schedule I, add one drug to Schedule II, and 
remove one drug from Schedule II to conform Virginia's 
Drug Control Act with federal law. 

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(dimethylamino)-1-
pentanone (other names: N,N-Dimethylpentylone, 
Dipentylone); 

2. 4-chloro-alpha-Pyrrolidinovalerophenone (other name: 
4-chloro-alpha-PVP); 

3. 4-methyl-alpha-Pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 
MPHP); 

4. 4-fluoro-alpha-Pyrrolidinoheptiophenone (other name: 
4-fluoro-PV8); 

5. 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)octan-1-one 
(other name: 4-methoxy-PV9); 

6. 4-allyloxy-3,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 
Allylescaline); 

7. 4-methyl-alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone; and  

8. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: para-
fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until August 22, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 6-ethyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 
ETH-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 
salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation; 

2. 6-allyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 
AL-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 
salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation; 

3. Synthetic opioids:  

a. N-[1-[2-hydroxy-2-(2-thienyl)ethyl]-4-piperidinyl]-N-
phenylpropanamide (other name: beta-
hydroxythiofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 
and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 
specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 
specific chemical designation; 

b. N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-propanamide (other names: 2-fluorofentanyl, 
ortho-fluorofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 
and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 
specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 
isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 
specific chemical designation; and 

c. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-
propenamide (other name: Acryl fentanyl), its isomers, 
esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 
ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation; 

4. Cannabimimetic agents:  

a. 1-pentyl-N-(phenylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamide 
(other name: SDB-006), its salts, isomers, and salts of 
isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation; and 

b. Quinolin-8-yl 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-
carboxylate (other name: FUB-PB-22), its salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation; and 

5. Benzodiazepine: flubromazepam, its salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until December 13, 2018, unless enacted into law in 
the Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxy-N-[(2-hydroxyphenyl)methyl]-
benzeneethanamine (25B-NBOH), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts and salts of isomers, whenever the 
existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Methyl N-[1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-
carbonyl]valinate (MMB-CHMICA), its salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

3. N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenyltetrahydrofuran-
2-carboxamide (Tetrahydrofuran fentanyl), its isomers, 
esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 
unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 
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these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until February 18, 2019, unless enacted into law in 
the Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DMT), its 
optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 
isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

2. 5-methoxy-N-ethyl-N-isopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-
EIPT), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 
and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

3. 4-hydroxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (4-OH-DIPT), its 
optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 
isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

4. (N-methyl aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran 
(MAPDB), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 
salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

5. 3,4-tetramethylene-alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone 
(TH-PVP), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 
salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

6. 4-chloro-alpha-methylamino-valerophenone (4-
chloropentedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

7. Synthetic opioids: 

a. 2-methoxy-N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-acetamide (Methoxyacetyl fentanyl), its 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 
and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-
phenylcyclopropanecarboxamide (Cyclopropyl fentanyl), 
its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 
esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

8. Cannabimimetic agent: N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-
oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)indazole-3-carboxamide 
(5-fluoro-ADB-PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of 
isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until June 12, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

E. A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code 
of Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 2-(methylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 
Deschloroketamine), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

2. 2-methyl-1-(4-(methylthio)phenyl)-2-
morpholinopropiophenone (other name: MMMP), its 
optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 
isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

3. Alpha-ethylaminohexanophenone (other name: N-
ethylhexedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

4. N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexylamine (other 
name: 3-methoxy-PCE), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 
existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

5. 4-fluoro-alpha-pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 4-
fluoro-alpha-PHP), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

6. N-ethyl-1,2-diphenylethylamine (other name: 
Ephenidine), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 
salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

7. Synthetic opioids: 

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-1,3-
benzodioxole-5-carboxamide (other name: Benzodioxole 
fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 
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whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 
and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

b. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(diethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-
methylbenzamide (other name: U-49900), its isomers, 
esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 
ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

c. 2-(2,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 
cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other name: U-48800), 
its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 
esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 
the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

8. Central nervous system stimulants: 

a. Methyl 2-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate 
(other name: 4-fluoromethylphenidate), including its 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers. 

b. Isopropyl-2-phenyl-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate (other 
name: Isopropylphenidate), including its salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers.  

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until August 21, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 2,5-dimethoxy-4-chloroamphetamine (other name: 
DOC), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 
and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

2. Synthetic opioids: 

a. N-(2-fluorophenyl)-2-methoxy-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-
4-piperidinyl]-acetamide (other name: Ocfentanil), its 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 
and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-butanamide (other name: 4-
methoxybutyrylfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 
and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 
specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 
isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

c. N-phenyl-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: Isobutyryl 

fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 
whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 
and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

d. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-
cyclopentanecarboxamide (other name: Cyclopentyl 
fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 
whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 
and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

e. N-phenyl-N-(1-methyl-4-piperidinyl)-propanamide 
(other name: N-methyl norfentanyl), its isomers, esters, 
ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 
unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 
these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 
the specific chemical designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agent: 1-(4-cyanobutyl)-N-(1-methyl-1-
phenylethyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 4-
cyano CUMYL-BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts 
of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

4. Benzodiazepine: Flualprazolam, its salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until March 4, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

18VAC110-20-323. Scheduling for conformity with 
federal law or rule. 

Pursuant to subsection E of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia and in order to conform the Drug Control Act to 
recent scheduling changes enacted in federal law or rule, the 
board:  

1. Adds MT-45 (1-cyclohexyl-4-(1,2-
diphenylethyl)piperazine) to Schedule I; 

2. Adds Dronabinol ((-)-delta-9-trans 
tetrahydrocannabinol) in an oral solution in a drug product 
approved for marketing by the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration to Schedule II; and 

3. Deletes naldemedine from Schedule II. 
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5484; Filed July 12, 2018, 4:49 p.m.  
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BOARD OF COUNSELING 
Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Professional Counseling (amending 
18VAC115-20-52).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 17, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Conference Center, 2nd Floor, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: October 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 
email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 
authority for regulation of the practice of professional 
counseling is found in §§ 54.1-3503 and 54.1-3506 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action will allow persons 
who have obtained a doctoral degree in counseling to become 
licensed with a smaller number of postgraduate hours in a 
supervised residency. It will accelerate the licensure process 
for those candidates and will allow them to provide 
counseling services in independent practice more quickly. 
Since the practicum or internship hours are within a Council 
for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 
Programs (CACREP) program and under the supervision of 
credentialed faculty, the board is assured of appropriate 
oversight to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 
public. 

Substance: The proposed amendments, requested per a 
petition for rulemaking, provide that supervised practicum 
and internship hours in a CACREP-accredited doctoral 
counseling program may be accepted for up to 900 direct or 
indirect hours and up to 100 supervision hours if the professor 
or supervisor has an active professional counselor license.  

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendment to the 
public is the ability of a supervisee with a doctoral degree to 
qualify for licensure with fewer hours in a residency. There 
are no disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 
disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 
response to a 2017 petition for rulemaking,1 the Board of 

Counseling (Board) proposes to accept supervised practicum 
and internship hours in a Council for Accreditation of 
Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) 
accredited doctoral program to count as required hours for a 
residency in counseling. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. An individual must complete a 
total of 3,400 hours in a supervised residency prior to 
becoming licensed as a professional counselor. The residency 
must include a minimum of 200 hours of in-person 
supervision between the supervisor and the resident in the 
consultation and a review of clinical counseling services 
provided by the resident. 

The Board proposes to amend 18VAC115-20 to allow up to 
900 hours of the residency requirement and up to 100 of the 
required hours of in-person supervision to be satisfied by 
supervised practicum and internship hours in a CACREP-
accredited doctoral counseling program. Assuming a 
workweek is 40 hours, the Board's proposal to accept up to 
900 hours for the residency requirement could allow the 
fulfillment of the residency requirement to be completed by 
up to 22.5 weeks sooner.2 This would be beneficial for 
individuals who have obtained such supervised practicum and 
internship hours in a CACREP-accredited doctoral counseling 
program in that they may start practicing as a fully licensed 
professional counselor sooner and commensurately earn 
greater income. Given that the Board does not believe this 
proposal would permit unqualified individuals to become 
licensed, the proposal likely produces a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
indirectly affect the nine CACREP-accredited doctoral 
counseling programs in the Commonwealth, as well as the 
four Virginia doctoral counseling programs currently in the 
process of obtaining CACREP accreditation. Students at these 
institutions are also affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect total employment. The proposals 
would allow some individuals to become employed as a fully 
licensed counselor sooner. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
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affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

________________________ 
1See http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=254. 
2900/40 = 22.5. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Counseling concurs with the economic impact analysis of 
the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

In response to a petition for rulemaking, the proposed 
amendments allow acceptance of supervised practicum and 
internship hours completed in a doctoral program 
accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling 
and Related Educational Programs as meeting a portion of 
the hours of supervised practice required for licensure. 

18VAC115-20-52. Residency requirements.  

A. Registration. Applicants who render counseling services 
shall:  

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 
on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 
to practice under supervision;  

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 
graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-20-49 to 
include completion of the coursework and internship 
requirement specified in 18VAC115-20-51; and  

3. Pay the registration fee.  

B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant for licensure shall have completed a 
3,400-hour supervised residency in the role of a 
professional counselor working with various populations, 
clinical problems, and theoretical approaches in the 
following areas:  

a. Assessment and diagnosis using psychotherapy 
techniques;  

b. Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures;  

c. Treatment planning and implementation;  

d. Case management and recordkeeping;  

e. Professional counselor identity and function; and  

f. Professional ethics and standards of practice.  

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 
in-person supervision between supervisor and resident in 
the consultation and review of clinical counseling services 
provided by the resident. Supervision shall occur at a 
minimum of one hour and a maximum of four hours per 40 
hours of work experience during the period of the 
residency. For the purpose of meeting the 200-hour 
supervision requirement, in-person may include the use of 
secured technology that maintains client confidentiality 
and provides real-time, visual contact between the 
supervisor and the resident. Up to 20 hours of the 
supervision received during the supervised internship may 
be counted towards the 200 hours of in-person supervision 
if the supervision was provided by a licensed professional 
counselor. 

3. No more than half of the 200 hours may be satisfied 
with group supervision. One hour of group supervision will 
be deemed equivalent to one hour of individual 
supervision.  

4. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 
not be accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in the 
absence of approved supervision.  

5. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-
to-face client contact in providing clinical counseling 
services. The remaining hours may be spent in the 
performance of ancillary counseling services.  

6. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, 
which was completed in a program that meets the 
requirements set forth in 18VAC115-20-49, may count for 
up to an additional 300 hours towards the requirements of a 
residency.  

7. Supervised practicum and internship hours in a 
CACREP-accredited doctoral counseling program may be 
accepted for up to 900 hours of the residency requirement 
and up to 100 of the required hours of supervision provided 
the supervisor holds a current, unrestricted license as a 
professional counselor.  

8. The residency shall be completed in not less than 21 
months or more than four years. Residents who began a 
residency before August 24, 2016, shall complete the 
residency by August 24, 2020. An individual who does not 
complete the residency after four years shall submit 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=254
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evidence to the board showing why the supervised 
experience should be allowed to continue. 

8. 9. The board may consider special requests in the event 
that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 
geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 
qualified supervision.  

9. 10. Residents may not call themselves professional 
counselors, directly bill for services rendered, or in any 
way represent themselves as independent, autonomous 
practitioners or professional counselors. During the 
residency, residents shall use their names and the initials of 
their degree, and the title "Resident in Counseling" in all 
written communications. Clients shall be informed in 
writing of the resident's status and the supervisor's name, 
professional address, and phone number.  

10. 11. Residents shall not engage in practice under 
supervision in any areas for which they have not had 
appropriate education.  

11. 12. Residency hours approved by the licensing board in 
another United States jurisdiction that meet the 
requirements of this section shall be accepted. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 
supervision for a resident in professional counseling shall: 

1. Document two years of post-licensure clinical 
experience;  

2. Have received professional training in supervision, 
consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 
graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 
hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 
provider approved under 18VAC115-20-106; and  

3. Shall hold Hold an active, unrestricted license as a 
professional counselor or a marriage and family therapist 
in the jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided. 
At least 100 hours of the supervision shall be rendered by a 
licensed professional counselor. Supervisors who are 
substance abuse treatment practitioners, school 
psychologists, clinical psychologists, clinical social 
workers, or psychiatrists and have been approved to 
provide supervision may continue to do so until August 24, 
2017.  

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 
resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 
prohibited.  

2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 
responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 
specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 
the residency.  

3. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 
given to the resident at the end of each three-month period.  

4. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 
and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in the six 
areas stated in subdivision B 1 of this section.  

5. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 
18VAC115-20-10. 

E. Applicants shall document successful completion of their 
residency on the Verification of Supervision Form at the time 
of application. Applicants must receive a satisfactory 
competency evaluation on each item on the evaluation sheet. 
Supervised experience obtained prior to April 12, 2000, may 
be accepted toward licensure if this supervised experience 
met the board's requirements which that were in effect at the 
time the supervision was rendered. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-12; Filed July 17, 2018, 3:55 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Social Work the authority to 
promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system, 
and under a specific mandate in Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts 
of Assembly. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to make 
the process of licensure less burdensome for a few applicants 
who have difficulty in passing the examination, but the 
amended regulation will continue to protect the public by 
requiring oversight and supervised practice after repeated 
failures.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
regulation requiring an extra year or supervised practice after 
two failures of the examination is more burdensome than the 
board intended. An applicant could fail the examination twice 
in the first six months; the board intended that the additional 
year of supervision be required after failure to pass the 
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examination within two years. Therefore, the proposal is 
using the fast-track rulemaking process to more closely 
reflect the board's intent. The amended regulation will give a 
few applicants multiple chances to pass the licensure 
examination before they must register for supervision. The 
provision is permissive and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has amended 18VAC140-20-70 to 
revise the requirement that an applicant who has failed the 
licensure examination twice must register for supervision and 
complete another year as a supervisee before approval to 
retake the examination is granted. The revised regulation will 
allow an applicant to retake the examination as many times as 
he wishes within two two-year periods before he has to 
complete an extra year of supervised practice. The 
examination may be taken up to four times in a year, so an 
applicant would potentially be able to take it 16 times before 
he is required to have an additional year of supervised 
practice. 

Issues: There are no real advantages or disadvantages to the 
public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 
agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to allow an applicant 
to retake the social worker or clinical social worker licensing 
examination as many times as the applicant wishes within 
two two-year periods before he or she has to complete an 
extra year of supervised practice. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Originally, an applicant for a 
social worker or clinical social worker license was allowed a 
two-year period in which to pass the licensing exam without 
being required to register for supervision for an additional 
year. In a recent action1 the Board inadvertently reduced the 
two-year window by limiting the number of times an 
applicant can retake the exam to only two attempts. For 
example, under the recently amended language an applicant 
who fails the exam twice within the first six months of the 
two-year period is required to register for supervision. The 
board proposes to remove the two-exam limitation and allow 
an additional two-year period to pass the exam before the 
supervision requirement is triggered. Under the proposed 
change, applicants will be allowed to take the licensure exam 
as many times as they like over a four-year window. The 
exam is offered four times a year, or 16 times over four 
years.2 

The proposed change is beneficial to the applicants. The 
applicants will have up to 14 more times to pass the exam 
prior to triggering the supervision requirement. More chances 
to retake the exam will reduce the likelihood of having to 

obtain one additional year of supervised experience. 
Obtaining supervised experience could be costly. Some 
workplaces such as government agencies, hospitals, or 
schools may be providing free supervision; but at workplaces 
that do not, the applicant must find a supervisor and must pay 
for it. Online research3 indicates that supervisors usually 
charge about the same as their hourly therapy rate, which 
ranges from $100 to $150, but also provide group supervision 
to up to five supervisees at $35 to $50 per person. An 
applicant is required to obtain at least one hour of supervision 
for every 40 hours of experience, or 50 hours per year 
allowing for vacation. The cost of obtaining 50 hours of 
supervision at $35 per hour and $150 per hour would be 
$1,750 and $7,500 respectively. Thus, the proposed 
regulation will benefit those who pass the exam after the first 
two attempts. 

In addition, according to the Department of Health 
Professions, passage of the examination, graduation from an 
accredited school of social work, and supervised experience 
all together would still demonstrate minimal competency. 
Thus, the proposed regulation should produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Applicants for licensure as 
a social worker or a clinical social worker, and their potential 
supervisors, are potentially affected by the proposed 
amendment. Since the beginning of 2018, two candidates who 
failed the exam twice were required to obtain an additional 
year of supervision.  

Last year, 367 individuals passed the exam and were 
consequently licensed in Virginia. Information from the 
Association of Social Work Boards indicates that in 2016 the 
passage rate for first time test takers was 78% nationally, and 
ranged among the three Virginia schools from 47% to 90%. 
The passage rate for repeat test takers was 36% and ranged 
from 14% to 41% among Virginia schools. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed change will 
increase the chances of an applicant obtaining a license 
without an additional year of supervision. Thus, this action 
will allow affected individuals to practice their social work 
profession sooner, but at the same time reduce demand for 
supervision. Given that only two people were affected since 
the beginning of 2018, no significant impact on employment 
is likely. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant effect on the use and value of private property is 
expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 
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Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendment does not have costs and other effects on 
small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not have adverse 
impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment will not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment will not adversely 
affect other entities. 

_________________________________________ 
1http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7381. 
2Source: Department of Health Professions. 
3See for example https://socialworklicensure.org/articles/social-work-
supervision, accessed on March 29, 2018. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Social Work concurs with the economic impact analysis of 
the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments revise requirements so that an applicant 
may retake the licensure examination as many times as the 
applicant wishes within two two-year periods before the 
applicant has to complete an extra year of supervised 
practice. The examination may be taken up to four times in 
a year, so an applicant would potentially be able to take it 
16 times before the applicant is required to have an 
additional year of supervised practice. 

Part III  
Examinations  

18VAC140-20-70. Examination requirement.  

A. An applicant for licensure by the board as a social worker 
or clinical social worker shall pass a written examination 
prescribed by the board. 

1. The examination prescribed for licensure as a clinical 
social worker shall be the licensing examination of the 
Association of Social Work Boards at the clinical level. 

2. The examination prescribed for licensure as a social 
worker shall minimally be the licensing examination of the 
Association of Social Work Boards at the bachelor's level. 

B. A candidate An applicant approved by the board to sit for 
an examination shall take that examination within two years 
of the date of the initial board approval. If the candidate 
applicant has not passed the examination by the end of the 
two-year period here prescribed, the applicant shall reapply 
according to the requirements of the regulations in effect at 
that time in order to be approved for another two years in 
which to pass the examination. After an applicant has failed 
the examination twice, he shall be required to register for 
supervision and complete one additional year as a supervisee 
before approval to re-take the examination is granted. 

C. If an applicant for clinical social work licensure has not 
passed the examination within the second two-year approval 
period, the applicant shall be required to register for 
supervision and complete one additional year as a supervisee 
before approval for another two-year period in which to re-
take the examination may be granted.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-1110; Filed July 17, 2018, 4:10 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 
18VAC150-20-185).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 5, 2018. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 
(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Veterinary Medicine the authority to 
promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system, 
and under a specific mandate of Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts 
of Assembly. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to 
facilitate the reinstatement of a registration that a facility has 
allowed to lapse and become expired. An establishment 
should not be open and providing treatment to animals with 
an expired registration, so the sooner it can be reinstated, 
veterinary care is available to protect public health and safety. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7381
https://socialworklicensure.org/articles/social-work-supervision
https://socialworklicensure.org/articles/social-work-supervision
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
amended regulation is less restrictive and beneficial to 
establishments that inadvertently allow their registration to 
expire. The provision should not be controversial, and the 
board would like to have it effective as soon as possible to 
resolve a problem for some reinstatement applicants. 

Substance: 18VAC150-20-185 is amended to clarify that 
renewal within 30 days of the expiration of an annual 
registration is a late renewal rather than a reinstatement. After 
30 days, an establishment is required to reinstate its 
registration, and an inspection is required, but the amended 
regulation would allow the reinstatement to occur before the 
reinspection is accomplished. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the possibility to 
expedite the reinstatement of an establishment permit so 
veterinary care is not unduly disrupted. There are no 
disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 
disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) proposes to allow 
reinstatement of a facility license prior to the required 
reinspection for reinstatement. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation requires 
reinspection of a veterinary facility whose license has expired 
for more than 30 days in order to reinstate its license. Without 
a reinstated license, the facility cannot legally operate, and if 
it does, it becomes subject to fines and disciplinary action. 
The required reinspection, however, may take weeks to 
schedule, effectively delaying reinstatement of the license and 
therefore restarting of the facility's operations. 

The Board proposes to allow reinstatement of an expired 
veterinary facility license prior to the reinspection. The 
reinspection will still be required, but it will be conducted 
after the reinstatement. The main economic effect of the 
proposed change is avoidance of unnecessary facility closures 
or illegal facility operations in cases where the reinspection 
cannot be scheduled without delays. According to the 
Department of Health Professions, less than five facilities 
annually have to reinstate after more than 30 days past the 
expiration date of their licenses. There is no compliance cost 
associated with this proposed change. Thus, the change 
should produce net benefits. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 1,122 veterinary 
establishments registered by the Board. In a typical year, less 
than five are expected to apply for reinstatement of their 
license.1 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
should avoid unnecessary closures of veterinary facilities 
applying for reinstatement of their license. Thus, a potential 
negative impact on employment will be avoided. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation should avoid unnecessary closures of 
veterinary facilities applying for reinstatement of their license 
or fines or disciplinary action if operated without a 
reinstament. Thus, a potential negative impact on the use and 
values of less than five such facilities annually should be 
avoided by this change. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment reduces 
costs for a small number of veterinary facilities, most of 
whom are considered small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendment does not have adverse effects on small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not have adverse 
impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment will not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment will not adversely 
affect other entities. 

____________________________ 
1Source: Department of Health Professions. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Veterinary Medicine concurs with the result of the 
economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify that renewal within 30 days of the 
expiration of an annual registration is a late renewal 
rather than a reinstatement. After 30 days, an 
establishment is required to reinstate its registration, and 
an inspection is required. However, it typically takes time 
to schedule the inspection, so the board is deleting the rule 
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stating that the reinstatement is "contingent" on a 
reinspection to avoid delays in reinstating the 
establishment registration. A reinspection will still be 
required to determine whether the establishment has been 
open and operating with an expired registration. 

18VAC150-20-185. Renewal of veterinary establishment 
registrations.  

A. Every veterinary establishment shall be required to renew 
the registration by January 1 of each year and pay to the 
board a registration fee as prescribed in 18VAC150-20-100.  

B. Failure to renew the establishment registration by January 
1 of each year shall cause the registration to expire and 
become invalid. Practicing veterinary medicine in an 
establishment with an expired registration may subject a 
licensee or registration holder to disciplinary action by the 
board. The registration may be reinstated renewed without 
reinspection within 30 days of expiration, provided the board 
receives a properly executed renewal application, renewal fee, 
and a late fee as prescribed in 18VAC150-20-100.  

C. Reinstatement of an expired registration after 30 days 
shall be at the discretion of the board and contingent upon a 
reinspection properly executed reinstatement application and 
payment of the late fee, the reinspection fee, the renewal fee 
and the veterinary establishment registration reinstatement 
fee. A reinspection is required when an establishment is 
reinstated.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5443; Filed July 17, 2018, 4:08 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-20. Provision of Vocational 
Rehabilitation Services (amending 22VAC30-20-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-118 and 51.5-131 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Leah Mills, Policy Analyst, Department for 
Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7610, 
FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, or email 
leah.mills@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia gives power 
and duty to the Commissioner of the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) to promulgate 
regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of laws 
administered by the department.  

34 CFR 361.36 requires the department to develop and 
implement an order of selection if a lack of funds prevents it 
from providing the full range of vocational rehabilitation 
services to all eligible individuals.  

Purpose: The intent of this amendment is to reduce the 
priority categories for order of selection from four to three. 
The Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA), the 
federal agency that regulates the state-federal vocational 
rehabilitation program, is requiring that DARS reduce the 
number of its categories for the order of selection for persons 
determined to be eligible for services. The reason given is that 
there is not enough difference between current priority 
category two and current priority category three. Therefore, 
RSA is requiring that priority category two and priority 
category three be combined into one category. This action 
will protect the welfare of citizens because it more clearly 
stipulates the priority categories that are served by Virginia's 
vocational rehabilitation program. This regulatory action will 
ensure that the regulation content is clearly written. Clarity in 
regulation content is essential to ensuring that the individual's 
health and safety needs are most appropriately met.  

Substance: When DARS does not have enough funds to serve 
all individuals eligible for the state-federal vocational 
rehabilitation program, it may elect to go on an order of 
selection. This requires that DARS establish an order of 
priority categories by which it will serve eligible individuals. 
Priority categories are based on the level of significance of 
the eligible person's disability and the functional limitations 
imposed by that disability. By combining two previous 
categories into one, this amendment is reducing the number 
of priority categories from four to three. Thus, individuals 
who would have been in priority category three will now be 
placed into priority category two.  

Issues: The advantage to the public and to the 
Commonwealth is that this amendment will make the 
regulation simpler and easier to understand. There is no 
disadvantage to the public or the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Provision of Vocational Rehabilitation Services regulation 
includes order of selection criteria for when the Department 
for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) cannot 
provide the full range of vocational rehabilitation services to 
all eligible individuals who apply because of insufficient 
resources. At the direction of the federal Rehabilitation 
Services Administration (RSA), DARS proposes to amend 
the order of selection criteria. 
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Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Federal regulation 34 CFR 
361.361 requires the department to develop and implement an 
order of selection if a lack of funds prevents it from providing 
the full range of vocational rehabilitation services to all 
eligible individuals. The current regulation has order of 
selection criteria as follows: 

1. Persons eligible and presently receiving services under 
an individualized plan for employment; 

2. Persons referred and needing diagnostic services to 
determine eligibility; and 

3. Persons determined to be eligible for services, but not 
presently receiving services under an individualized plan 
for employment, shall be served according to the 
following order of priorities: 

a. Priority I. An individual with a most significant 
disability in accordance with the definition in 22VAC30-
20-10;2 

b. Priority II. An individual with a significant disability 
that results in serious functional limitations in two 
functional capacities; 

c. Priority III. An individual with a significant disability 
that results in a serious functional limitation in one 
functional capacity; and 

d. Priority IV. Other persons determined to be disabled, 
in order of eligibility determination. 

The RSA, the federal agency that regulates the state-federal 
vocational rehabilitation program, is requiring that DARS 
reduce the number of its categories for the order of selection 
for persons determined to be eligible for services. The reason 
given is that there is not enough difference between current 
priority category two and current priority category three. 
Therefore, RSA is requiring that priority category two and 
priority category three be combined into one category. To 
accomplish this, DARS proposes to: amend Priority II to "An 
individual with a significant disability that results in a serious 
functional limitation in at least one functional capacity," 
eliminate the current Priority III text, and relabel the current 
Priority IV as Priority III.  

According to DARS, the proposed changes are not expected 
to significantly affect which applicants receive services. The 
ordering of people would be close to the same. Following 
RSA's direction helps ensure the continued receipt of federal 
funds for vocational rehabilitation services. Thus the 
proposed amendments would produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
pertain to individuals who are qualified to receive vocational 
rehabilitation services. In fiscal year 2016, 29,399 individuals 

received vocational rehabilitation services through DARS' 
vocational rehabilitation program.3 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

___________________________________ 
1See https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/34/361.36. 
2The definition in 22VAC30-20-10 is "an individual with a significant 
disability who meets the department's criteria for an individual with a most 
significant disability." DARS reports the following criteria. The individual's 
disability shall be considered to be most significant when the counselor 
documents that the individual meets all three of the following criteria: 

1. Is an individual with a significant disability, and 

2. Has a physical or mental impairment that seriously limits three or 
more functional capacities in terms of an employment outcome, and 

3. Whose vocational rehabilitation can be expected to require multiple 
core vocational rehabilitation services for six months or more. 

3Source: Virginia State Rehabilitation Council 2016 Annual Report. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 
concurs with the economic impact analysis performed by the 
Virginia Department of Planning and Budget. 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/34/361.36
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Summary: 

The proposed amendment reduces the number of 
categories for order of selection from four to three by 
combining priority categories II and III. In the event that 
the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 
cannot provide the full range of vocational rehabilitation 
services to all eligible individuals who apply for these 
services because of insufficient resources, an order of 
selection may be implemented to determine those persons 
to be provided services.   

22VAC30-20-90. Order of selection for services.  

A. In the event that the full range of vocational rehabilitation 
services cannot be provided to all eligible individuals who 
apply for services because of insufficient resources, an order 
of selection system may be implemented by the commissioner 
following consultation with the State Rehabilitation Council. 
The order of selection shall determine those persons to be 
provided services. It shall be the policy of the department to 
encourage referrals and applications of all persons with 
disabilities and, to the extent resources permit, provide 
services to all eligible persons.  

The following order of selection is implemented when 
services cannot be provided to all eligible persons:  

1. Persons eligible and presently receiving services under 
an individualized plan for employment;  

2. Persons referred and needing diagnostic services to 
determine eligibility; and  

3. Persons determined to be eligible for services, but not 
presently receiving services under an individualized plan 
for employment, shall be served according to the following 
order of priorities:  

a. Priority I. An individual with a most significant 
disability in accordance with the definition in 22VAC30-
20-10;  

b. Priority II. An individual with a significant disability 
that results in a serious functional limitations limitation 
in two at least one functional capacities capacity; and 

c. Priority III. An individual with a significant disability 
that results in a serious functional limitation in one 
functional capacity; and  

d. Priority IV. Other persons determined to be disabled, 
in order of eligibility determination.  

B. An order of selection shall not be based on any other 
factors, including (i) any duration of residency requirement, 
provided the individual is present in the state; (ii) type of 
disability; (iii) age, gender, race, color, or national origin; (iv) 
source of referral; (v) type of expected employment outcome; 
(vi) the need for specific services or anticipated cost of 

services required by the individual; or (vii) the income level 
of an individual or an individual's family.  

C. In administering the order of selection, the department 
shall (i) implement the order of selection on a statewide basis; 
(ii) notify all eligible individuals of the priority categories in 
the order of selection, their assignment to a particular 
category and their right to appeal their category assignment; 
(iii) continue to provide all needed services to any eligible 
individual who has begun to receive services under an 
individualized plan for employment prior to the effective date 
of the order of selection, irrespective of the severity of the 
individual's disability; and (iv) ensure that its funding 
arrangements for providing services under the state plan, 
including third-party arrangements and awards under the 
establishment authority, are consistent with the order of 
selection. If any funding arrangements are inconsistent with 
the order of selection, the department shall renegotiate these 
funding arrangements so that they are consistent with the 
order of selection.  

D. Consultation with the State Rehabilitation Council shall 
include (i) the need to establish an order of selection, 
including any reevaluation of the need; (ii) priority categories 
of the particular order of selection; (iii) criteria for 
determining individuals with the most significant disabilities; 
and (iv) administration of the order of selection.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4951; Filed July 9, 2018, 12:25 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-80. Auxiliary Grants 
Program (amending 22VAC30-80-10, 22VAC30-80-20, 
22VAC30-80-30, 22VAC30-80-45 through 22VAC30-80-
70; adding 22VAC30-80-35).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-160 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Tishaun Harris-Ugworji, Program 
Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 
Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA, VA 
23229, telephone (804) 662-7531, or email 
tishaun.harrisugworji@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal basis for this regulatory action is § 51.5-160 
of the Code of Virginia, which authorizes the Department for 
Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) Commissioner to 
adopt regulations for the administration of the Auxiliary 
Grants (AG) Program. In addition, § 51.5-131 of the Code of 
Virginia authorizes the DARS Commissioner to promulgate 
regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of the laws 
of the Commonwealth administered by the department. 
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Purpose: The regulation needs to be amended to incorporate 
the changes in the emergency regulation, which provides 
guidance regarding the supportive housing (SH) setting. The 
regulation is essential to protecting the health, safety, or 
welfare of citizens. The proposed regulatory content outlines 
standards for providers who provide care to individuals with 
AG. Additionally, regulation content clarifies the range of 
person-centered housing options available to AG eligible 
individuals. 

Substance: This regulatory action will (i) address definitions 
related to SH and clarify existing definitions that were part of 
the AG regulation, (ii) explain evaluation and assessment 
procedures, (iii) detail requirements for the SH provider 
agreement, (iv) address basic SH services, and (v) amend any 
outdated or obsolete language. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public will be that 
eligible individuals will have an additional choice in their 
living arrangement. Having SH as an option may also help 
address the shortages of AG beds in certain communities. 
There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth regarding the proposed regulatory action.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 567 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,1 the 
Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 
proposes to add supportive housing as a third residential 
setting in which individuals may receive Auxiliary Grants 
(AG). 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. An AG is an income 
supplement for individuals who receive Supplemental 
Security Income and certain other aged, blind, or disabled 
individuals who reside in a licensed assisted living facility 
(ALF) or an approved adult foster care home. AG is the 
primary state funding available for assisted living for low-
income individuals in Virginia. In 2016, the General 
Assembly made supportive housing available to up to 60 AG 
recipients as a third residential setting. The legislative 
mandate required that supportive housing be available to ALF 
residents after 12 months from the initial assessment. DARS 
implemented the legislative mandate through an emergency 
regulation.2 DARS now proposes a permanent regulation to 
replace the emergency regulation. 

Supportive housing links decent, safe, affordable, 
community-based housing with flexible support services 
designed to help the individual stay housed and live a more 
productive life in the community. Even though the legislation 
provides supportive housing for up to 60 individuals, only 13 
individuals have been placed in supportive housing so far. 

The proposed regulation is beneficial to the AG recipients 
who would like to move into a supportive housing setting 
from an ALF setting. By opting in for supportive housing, 
they reveal that they receive a net benefit from that move. 
The proposed regulation also benefits supportive housing 
providers as they receive $100 monthly for the AG recipients 
they place in supportive housing. 

The effect of a recipient's choice to move into supportive 
housing on the ALF provider does not appear to be 
significant. Because supportive housing is available only to 
ALF residents, it is essentially a substitute for ALF setting 
under the legislative design. However, because the AG rate is 
widely considered inadequate,3 when a resident leaves an 
ALF that may not necessarily significantly hurt the ALF 
provider. In 2012, the Joint Legislative Audit and Review 
Commission (JLARC) reported that the AG rate was well 
below Virginia's market prices for assisted living, then 
averaging about $3,700 per month. JLARC also reported that 
the AG rate was so low that some ALFs have stopped 
accepting AG recipients, while others would only care for 
relatively high-functioning AG recipients or would struggle 
to meet standards unless the facility has some special 
circumstance or additional sources of funding. 

Similarly, the supportive housing option would not 
necessarily cause an increase in AG expenditures. The fiscal 
impact would depend on whether the empty ALF bed after 
the move would be filled by another AG recipient or not. If 
new AG recipients replace those who left, then we would 
expect an increase in the AG recipient population and 
expenditures;4 but if the empty beds are filled by private pay 
recipients, or remain empty, we would see no change in the 
AG recipient population or the expenditures. It is not clear 
which result is more likely. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The legislative mandate 
allows up to 60 ALF residents to move into a supportive 
housing setting. There are three supportive housing providers 
in the Commonwealth. Since January 2017, 13 individuals 
have been placed in a supportive housing setting. In fiscal 
year 2017, there were 4,047 individuals residing in fewer than 
300 ALFs. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 
statewide. However, there are currently only three supportive 
housing providers. These providers serve the Counties of 
Roanoke, Salem, Botetourt, Craig, Bland, Carroll, Grayson, 
Galax, Smyth, Wythe, Henrico, and Chesterfield and the 
Cities of Richmond and Roanoke. Under the proposed 
regulation, the local portion of the AG is funded by the 
locality where the individual is provided supportive housing. 
Thus, these localities may be disproportionately affected as 
supportive housing is not available in other localities at this 
time. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Whether the supporting 
housing option will have a significant impact on demand for 
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ALF services or supportive housing services is not clear. 
Thus, the potential impact on employment is uncertain. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Whether 
the supportive housing option will have a significant impact 
on demand for ALF services or supportive housing services is 
not clear. Thus, the potential impact on the asset values of 
ALF providers and supportive housing providers is uncertain. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most if not all of the ALF providers 
are small businesses. The costs and other effects of the 
proposed regulation on them is the same as above. There are 
only three supportive housing providers. The proposed 
regulation does not impose costs on them. The other effects 
on them are the same as discussed above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. It is not 
clear whether supportive housing adversely affects ALF 
providers. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 
adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. Twenty percent of AG funding comes from 
localities. Notwithstanding the disproportional impact on 
certain localities discussed above, it is not clear whether 
supportive housing will cause an increase in AG recipient 
population and expenditures. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect other entities. 

__________________________________________ 
1http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0567. 
2http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7701. 
3http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/reports/Rpt426.pdf. 
4A recipient typically receives $568 monthly from AG (of that $454 or 80% 
is state funded and $114 or 20% is locally funded), $735 from federal 
Supplemental Security Income, and $16 in food stamp benefits. From these 
amounts, $750 is paid for rent, $83 for utilities, $354 for personal expenses 
(e.g., transportation, food, phone, medical copays, personal care, etc.), and 
$132 fixed fee for the provider. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 
raises no issues with the economic impact analysis performed 
by the Virginia Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add supportive housing, 
which is a new living arrangement that individuals who 
receive auxiliary grant payments may choose, as a third 
setting in which individuals may receive the auxiliary 
grant; (ii) define requirements to participate in the 
supportive housing setting; (iii) clarify providers' 
responsibilities for each setting; and (iv) update 
terminology and guidelines for the Auxiliary Grant 
Program.  

22VAC30-80-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Adult foster care" or "AFC" means a locally optional 
program that provides room and board, supervision, and 
special services to an individual who has a physical or mental 
health need. Adult foster care may be provided for up to three 
individuals by any one provider who is approved by the local 
department of social services. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by 
an assisted living facility for individuals who may have 
physical or mental impairments and require at least moderate 
assistance with the activities of daily living. Included in this 
level of service are individuals who are dependent in behavior 
pattern (i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented 
on the Uniform Assessment Instrument.  

"Assisted living facility" or "ALF" means, as defined in 
§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential 
setting that provides or coordinates personal and health care 
services, 24-hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and 
unscheduled) for the maintenance or care of four or more 
adults who are aged, infirm or disabled and who are cared for 
in a primarily residential setting, except (i) a facility or 
portion of a facility licensed by the State Board of Health or 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services, but including any portion of such facility not so 
licensed; (ii) the home or residence of an individual who 
cares for or maintains only persons related to him by blood or 
marriage; (iii) a facility or portion of a facility serving infirm 
or disabled persons between the ages of 18 and 21, or 22 if 
enrolled in an educational program for the handicapped 
pursuant to § 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such 
facility is licensed by the department as a children's 
residential facility under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of 
Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, but including any portion 
of the facility not so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for 
persons 62 years of age or older or the disabled that provides 
no more than basic coordination of care services and is 
funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development, by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, or by 
the Virginia Housing Development Authority. Included in 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0567
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7701
http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/reports/Rpt426.pdf
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this definition are any two or more places, establishments or 
institutions owned or operated by a single entity and 
providing maintenance or care to a combined total of four or 
more aged, infirm or disabled adults. Maintenance or care 
means the protection, general supervision and oversight of the 
physical and mental well-being of an aged, infirm or disabled 
individual. Assuming responsibility for the well-being of 
individuals residing in an ALF, either directly or through 
contracted agents, is considered "general supervision and 
oversight." 

"Authorized payee" means the individual who may be a 
court-appointed conservator or guardian, a person with a valid 
power of attorney, or an authorized representative with the 
documented authority to accept funds on behalf of the 
individual. An authorized payee for the auxiliary grant shall 
not be (i) the licensee or (ii) the owner of, employee of, or an 
entity hired by or contracted by the ALF or AFC home. 

"Authorized representative" means the person representing 
or standing in place of the individual receiving the auxiliary 
grant for the conduct of the auxiliary grant recipient's affairs 
(i.e., personal or business interests). "Authorized 
representative" may include a guardian, conservator, attorney-
in-fact under durable power of attorney, trustee, or other 
person expressly named in writing by the individual as his 
agent. An authorized representative shall not be (i) the 
licensee or (ii) the owner of, employee of, or an entity hired 
by or contracted by the ALF or, AFC home, or a supportive 
housing provider unless the auxiliary grant recipient 
designates such a person to assist with financial management 
of his personal needs allowance as a choice of last resort 
because there is no other authorized representative willing or 
available to serve in this capacity. 

"Auxiliary Grants Program" or "AG Program" means a state 
and locally funded assistance program to supplement income 
of an individual receiving Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI) or adult who would be eligible for SSI except for excess 
income, who resides in an ALF or in, an AFC home, or a 
supportive housing setting with an established rate. The total 
number of individuals within the Commonwealth of Virginia 
eligible to receive AG in a supportive housing setting shall 
not exceed the number designated in the signed agreement 
between the department and the Social Security 
Administration.  

"Certification" means an official approval as designated on 
the form provided by the department and prepared by the an 
ALF or a supportive housing provider. Each ALF shall 
annually certifying certify that the ALF it has properly 
managed the personal funds and personal needs allowances of 
individuals residing in the ALF and is in compliance with 
program regulations and appropriate licensing regulations. 
Each supportive housing provider shall annually certify that it 
is in compliance with this chapter. 

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 
Rehabilitative Services. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services.  

"Established rate" means the rate as set forth in the 
appropriation act or as set forth to meet federal maintenance 
of effort requirements. 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, 
corporation, limited liability company, or governmental unit 
to whom a license to operate an ALF is issued in accordance 
with 22VAC40-72 22VAC40-73. 

"Personal funds" means payments the individual receives, 
whether earned or unearned, including wages, pensions, 
Social Security benefits, and retirement benefits. "Personal 
funds" does not include the personal needs allowance. 

"Personal needs allowance" means a portion of the AG 
payment that is reserved for meeting the individual's personal 
needs. The amount is established by the Virginia General 
Assembly. 

"Personal toiletries" means hygiene items provided to the 
individual by the ALF or AFC home including deodorant, 
razor, shaving cream, shampoo, soap, toothbrush, and 
toothpaste. 

"Program" means the Auxiliary Grant AG Program. 

"Provider" means an ALF that is licensed by the Department 
of Social Services or an AFC provider that is approved by a 
local department of social services or a supportive housing 
provider as defined in § 37.2-421.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Provider agreement" means a document written agreement 
that the ALF ALFs and supportive housing providers must 
complete and submit to the department when requesting to be 
approved for admitting approval to admit individuals 
receiving AG. 

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 
by 22VAC30-110 to perform an assessment, reassessment, or 
change in level of care for an individual applying for AG or 
residing in an ALF or a supportive housing setting. For 
individuals receiving services from a community services 
board or behavioral health authority, a qualified assessor is an 
employee or designee of the community services board or 
behavioral health authority.  

"Rate" means the established rate.  

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided 
by an ALF for individuals who may have physical or mental 
impairments and require only minimal assistance with the 
activities of daily living. Included in this level of service are 
individuals who are dependent in medication administration 
as documented on the Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI).  
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"Supportive housing" or "SH" means a residential setting 
with access to supportive services for an AG recipient in 
which tenancy as described in § 37.2-421.1 of the Code of 
Virginia is provided or facilitated by a provider licensed to 
provide mental health community support services, intensive 
community treatment, programs of assertive community 
treatment, supportive in-home services, or supervised living 
residential services that has entered into an agreement with 
the DBHDS pursuant to § 37.2-421.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Third-party payment" means a payment made by a third 
party to an ALF or, an AFC home, or supportive housing 
provider on behalf of an AG recipient for goods or services 
other than for food, shelter, or specific goods or services 
required to be provided by the ALF or, an AFC home, or a 
supportive housing provider as a condition of participation in 
the Auxiliary Grants AG Program in accordance with 
22VAC30-80-45. 

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 
department-designated assessment form. It is used to record 
assessment information for determining the level of service 
that is needed. 

22VAC30-80-20. Assessment.  

A. In order to receive payment from the program for care in 
an ALF or in AFC home, an individual applying for AG shall 
have been assessed by a qualified assessor using the UAI in 
accordance with 22VAC30-110 and determined to need 
residential or assisted living care or AFC.  

B. As a condition of eligibility for the program, a UAI shall 
be completed on an individual prior to admission, except for 
an emergency placement as documented and approved by a 
Virginia adult protective services worker; at least once 
annually; and whenever there is a significant change in the 
individual's level of care, and a determination is made that the 
individual needs residential or assisted living care in an ALF 
or AFC home. 

C. The ALF or AFC provider is prohibited from charging a 
security deposit or any other form of compensation for 
providing a room and services to the individual. The 
collection or receipt of money, gift, donation or other 
consideration from or on behalf of an individual for any 
services provided is prohibited. 

D. In order to receive payment from the AG program for 
care in the SH setting, an individual shall be evaluated by a 
qualified assessor in accordance with § 51.5-160 E of the 
Code of Virginia. Eligible individuals shall be notified of the 
SH setting option and the availability of approved SH 
providers at the time of their annual level of care assessment. 
The individual may select SH or ALF at any time after the 
first or any subsequent annual reassessment as long as the 
individual meets the criteria for residential or assisted living 
level of care and subject to the availability of the selected 
housing option. 

22VAC30-80-30. Basic services in an assisted living 
facility or an adult foster care home. 

A. The rate established under the program for the ALF 
setting shall cover the following services:  

1. Room and board.  

a. A furnished room in accordance with 22VAC40-72-
730 22VAC40-73-750;  

b. Housekeeping services based on the needs of the 
individual;  

c. Meals and snacks provided in accordance with 
22VAC40-72 22VAC40-73-590, including, but not 
limited to food service, nutrition, number and timing of 
meals, observance of religious dietary practices, special 
diets, menus for meals and snacks, and emergency food 
and water. A minimum of three well-balanced meals 
shall be provided each day. When a diet is prescribed for 
an individual by his physician, it shall be prepared and 
served according to the physician's orders. Basic and 
bedtime snacks shall be made available for all individuals 
desiring them and shall be listed on the daily menu. 
Unless otherwise ordered in writing by the individual's 
physician, the daily menu, including snacks, for each 
individual shall meet the guidelines of the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture's Food Guide Pyramid 
guidance system or the dietary allowances of the Food 
and Nutritional Board of the National Academy of 
Sciences, taking into consideration the age, sex, and 
activity of the resident. Second servings shall be 
provided, if requested, at no additional charge. At least 
one meal each day shall include a hot main dish; and 

d. Clean bed linens and towels as needed by the 
individual and at least once a week.  

2. Maintenance and care.  

a. Minimal assistance as defined in 22VAC40-72-10 
22VAC40-73-10 with personal hygiene including 
bathing, dressing, oral hygiene, hair grooming and 
shampooing, care of clothing, shaving, care of toenails 
and fingernails or arranging for such assistance if the 
resident's medical condition precludes facility from 
providing the service, arranging for haircuts as needed, 
and care of needs associated with menstruation or 
occasional bladder or bowel incontinence that occurs less 
than weekly;  

b. Medication administration as required by licensing 
regulations including insulin injections;  

c. Provision of personal toiletries including toilet paper;  

d. Minimal assistance with the following:  

(1) Care of personal possessions;  
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(2) Care of the personal needs allowance and personal 
funds if requested by the individual and provider policy 
allows this practice, and in compliance with 22VAC40-
72-140 22VAC40-73-80 and 22VAC40-72-150, 
Standards for Licensed Assisted Living Facilities 
22VAC40-73-90; 

(3) Use of the telephone;  

(4) Arranging nonmedical transportation;  

(5) Obtaining necessary personal items and clothing;  

(6) Making and keeping appointments; and 

(7) Correspondence;  

e. Securing health care and transportation when needed 
for medical treatment;  

f. Providing social and recreational activities in 
accordance with 22VAC40-72-520 22VAC40-73-520; 
and 

g. General supervision for safety.  

B. The AFC provider shall adhere to the standards in 
22VAC30-120-40. 

22VAC30-80-35. Basic services in supportive housing 
settings. 

A. The rate established under the program for SH, as defined 
in 22VAC30-80-10, shall cover a residential setting with 
access to SH services that include: 

1. Development of individualized SH service plans; 

2. Access to skills training; 

3. Assistance with accessing available community-based 
services and supports; 

4. Initial identification and ongoing review of the level of 
care needs; and 

5. Ongoing monitoring of services described in the 
individual's individualized SH plan. 

B. The residential setting covered under the program for SH, 
as defined in 22VAC30-80-10, shall be the least restrictive 
and most integrated setting practicable for the individual and 
shall: 

1. Comply with federal habitability standards; 

2. Provide cooking and bathroom facilities in each unit; 

3. Afford dignity and privacy to the individual; and 

4. Include rights of tenancy pursuant to the Virginia 
Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (§ 55-248.2 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). 

22VAC30-80-45. Conditions of participation in the 
program. 

A. Provider agreement for ALF.  

1. As a condition of participation in the program, the ALF 
provider is required to complete and submit to the 
department a signed provider agreement as stipulated in 
subdivision 2 of this subsection in this section. The 
agreement is to be submitted prior to the ALF accepting 
AG payment for qualified individuals. A copy of the ALF's 
current license must be submitted with the provider 
agreement. 

2. The ALF provider shall agree to the following 
conditions in the provider agreement to participate in the 
program: 

a. Provide services in accordance with all laws, 
regulations, policies, and procedures that govern the 
provision of services in the facility; 

b. Submit an annual certification form by October 1 of 
each year; 

c. Care for individuals with AG in accordance with the 
requirements in this chapter at the current established 
rate; 

d. Refrain from charging the individual, his family, or his 
authorized personal representative a security deposit or 
any other form of compensation as a condition of 
admission or continued stay in the facility; 

e. Accept the established rate as payment in full for 
services rendered; 

f. Account for the personal needs allowances in a 
separate bank account and apart from other facility funds 
and issue a statement to each individual regarding his 
account balance that includes any payments deposited or 
withdrawn during the previous calendar month; 

g. Provide a 60-day written notice to the regional 
licensing office in the event of the facility's closure or 
ownership change;  

h. Provide written notification of the date and place of an 
individual's discharge or the date of an individual's death 
to the local department of social services determining the 
individual's AG eligibility and to the qualified assessor 
within 10 days of the individual's discharge or death; and 

i. Return to the local department of social services 
determining the individual's AG eligibility, all AG funds 
received after the death or discharge date of an individual 
in the facility. 

B. As a condition of participation in the program, the AFC 
provider shall be approved by a local department of social 
services and comply with the requirements set forth in 
22VAC30-120. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 6, 2018 

2552 

C. Provider agreement for SH.  

1. As a condition of participating in the AG program, the 
SH provider shall enter an agreement with DBHDS 
pursuant to § 37.2-421.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The SH provider shall submit a copy of the executed 
agreement and a copy of its current DBHDS license prior 
to the SH provider receiving payments from the AG 
program on behalf of qualified individuals.  

3. The SH provider shall provide SH services for each 
individual in accordance with § 37.2-421.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and all other applicable laws, regulations, and 
policies and procedures. 

C. D. ALFs and, AFC homes, or SH providers providing 
services to AG recipients may accept third-party payments 
made by persons or entities for the actual costs of goods or 
services that have been provided to the AG recipient. The 
department shall not include such payments as income for the 
purpose of determining eligibility for or calculating the 
amount of an AG provided that the payment is made: 

1. Directly to the ALF or, AFC home, or SH provider by 
the third party on behalf of the individual after the goods or 
services have been provided;  

2. Voluntarily by the third party, and not in satisfaction of 
a condition of admission, continued stay, or provision of 
proper care and services, unless the AG recipient's physical 
needs exceed the services required to be provided by the 
ALF, AFC, or SH provider as a condition of participation 
in the auxiliary grant program AG; and  

3. For specific goods or services provided to the individual 
other than food, shelter, or other specific goods or services 
required to be provided by the ALF or, AFC home, or SH 
provider as a condition of participation in the AG program.  

D. E. Third-party payments shall not be used to pay for a 
private room in an ALF or AFC home. 

E. F. ALFs and, AFC homes, and SH providers shall 
document all third-party payments received on behalf of an 
individual, including the source, amount, and date of the 
payment, and the goods or services for which such payments 
were made. Documentation related to the third-party 
payments shall be provided to the department upon request.  

F. G. ALFs and, AFC homes, and SH providers shall 
provide each AG recipient and his authorized representative 
with a written list of the goods and services that shall be 
covered by the AG as defined in this chapter, including a 
clear statement that the facility shall not charge an individual 
or the individual's family or authorized representative 
additional amounts for goods or services included on such 
list. This statement shall be signed by the AG recipient or 
authorized representative as acknowledgment of receipt and 
shall be made available to the department upon request.  

22VAC30-80-50. Establishment of rate. 

The established rate for individuals authorized to reside in 
an ALF or in, an AFC, or a supportive housing setting is the 
established rate as set forth in the appropriation act or as set 
forth by changes in the federal maintenance of effort formula. 
The AG payment is determined by adding the rate plus the 
personal needs allowance minus the individual's countable 
income. The effective date is the date of the individual's 
approval for AG by the local department of social services.  

22VAC30-80-60. Reimbursement. 

A. Any payments contributed toward the cost of care basic 
services as defined in 22VAC30-80-30 and 22VAC30-80-35 
pending AG eligibility determination shall be reimbursed to 
the individual or contributing party by the ALF or, AFC, or 
SH provider once eligibility for AG is established and that 
payment received. The payment shall be made payable to the 
individual, who will then reimburse the provider for care 
appropriate providers for basic services. If the individual is 
not capable of managing his finances, his authorized 
representative or authorized payee is responsible for 
reimbursing the provider.  

B. In the event an ALF is closed, the facility shall prorate 
the rate up to the date of the individual's discharge and return 
the balance of the AG to the local department of social 
services that determined the individual's eligibility for the 
AG. If the facility maintained the individual's personal needs 
allowance, the facility shall provide a final accounting of the 
individual's personal needs allowance account within 60 days 
of the individual's discharge. Verification of the accounting 
and of the reimbursement to the individual shall be sent to the 
case management agency responsible for the individual's 
annual reassessment. In the event of the individual's death, 
the provider shall give to the individual's personal authorized 
representative a final accounting of the individual's funds 
within 60 calendar days of the event. All AG funds received 
after the death or discharge date shall be returned to the local 
department of social services responsible for determining the 
individual's AG eligibility as soon as practicable.  

C. Providers who do not comply with the requirements of 
this chapter may be subject to adverse action, which may 
include suspension of new AG program Program admissions 
or termination of provider agreements. 

22VAC30-80-70. ALF certification Certification and 
record requirements. 

A. ALFs ALF and SH providers shall submit to the 
department an annual certification form by October 1 of each 
year for the preceding state fiscal year. The certification shall 
include the following: (i) identifying information about the 
ALF provider, (ii) census information including a list of 
individuals who resided in the facility or SH setting and 
received AG during the reporting period, and (iii) personal 
needs allowance accounting information if such personal 
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needs accounting information is required by the setting. If a 
provider fails to submit an annual certification form, the 
provider will not be authorized to accept additional 
individuals with AG.  

B. All information reported by an ALF or SH provider on 
the certification form shall be subject to audit by the 
department. Financial information that is not reconcilable to 
the provider's general ledger or similar records could result in 
establishment of a liability to the provider. Records shall be 
retained for three years after the end of the reporting period or 
until audited by the department, whichever is first.  

C. All records maintained by an AFC provider, as required 
by 22VAC30-120, shall be made available to the department 
or the approving local department of social services upon 
request. All records are subject to audit by the department. 
Financial information that is not reconcilable to the provider's 
records could result in establishment of a liability to the 
provider. Records shall be retained for three years after the 
end of the reporting period or until audited by the department, 
whichever is first. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC30-80) 

Auxiliary Grant Program Provider Agreement, 032-02-
0747-02-eng (rev. 6/13) 

Auxiliary Grant Certification, 032-02-0747-06-eng (rev. 
5/13) 

Auxiliary Grant Provider Agreement,032-02-0747-06-eng 
(rev. 7/2017) 

Auxiliary Grant Certification,032-02-0745-10-eng (rev. 
7/2017) 

Statement of Virginia Residency and Intent to Remain in 
Virginia, 032-02-0749-00-eng (eff. 12/2012) 

Auxiliary Grant Certification,032-15-0012-00-eng (eff. 
2/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4816; Filed July 9, 2018, 12:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 
Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with the second 
enactment of Chapter 765 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, 
which exempts the actions of the board relating to the 
adoption of regulations necessary to implement the provisions 
of the act. 

Titles of Regulations: 24VAC30-100. Rules and 
Regulations for the Administration of Parking Lots and 
Environs (amending 24VAC30-100-10). 

24VAC30-151. Land Use Permit Regulations (amending 
24VAC30-151-670, 24VAC30-151-710).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.2-118 and 33.2-210 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

Effective Date: September 5, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Robert Hofrichter, Director, Office of Land 
Use, Department of Transportation, 1221 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0780, or email 
robert.hofrichter@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 765 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments allow mobile food vending in Planning 
District 8 (Northern Virginia) commuter lots and include 
the following provisions: (i) set the fee for a two-month 
permit at $250 and a weekend-only vending fee at $110; 
(ii) require vendors to have local vending permits, which 
include background checks, Department of Health 
approval, insurance, cleanup of vending site and removal 
of litter, and provision of a surety to ensure cleanup and 
restoration of any damage to site; and (iii) prohibit 
vendors from interfering with safety and operation of the 
commuter lots and from vending in lots, or portions of lots, 
that are considered interstate system rights-of-way. 

24VAC30-100-10. Parking lots and environs.  

A. While in this area all persons shall be subject to such 
regulations as the commissioner may designate by posted 
signs or public notice posted within the area.  

B. No vehicle shall be parked in such a manner as to occupy 
more than one parking space.  

C. No person shall paste, attach or place on any vehicle 
parked in this lot any bill, advertisement or inscription 
whatsoever.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=efd44004816%7E3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=004816&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=efd44004816%7E3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=004816&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=479a5004816%7E2g.pdf&typ=40&actno=004816&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=479a5004816%7E2g.pdf&typ=40&actno=004816&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f703f003801%7E3&typ=40&actno=003801&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f703f003801%7E3&typ=40&actno=003801&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55548004816%7E3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=004816&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55548004816%7E3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=004816&mime=application/pdf
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D. No bottles, broken glass, ashes, waste paper, or other 
rubbish shall be left within this area except in such 
receptacles as may be provided for the same.  

E. No person shall pick any flowers, foliage, or fruit; or cut, 
break, dig up or in any way mutilate or injure any tree, shrub, 
plant, grass, turf, fence, structure, or anything within this 
area; or cut, carve, paint, mark, paste, or in any way attach on 
any tree, stone fence, wall, building, or other object therein, 
any bill, advertisement, or inscription whatsoever.  

F. No person shall disturb or injure any bird, birds' nest or 
eggs, or any squirrel or other animal within this area.  

G. No threatening, abusive, boisterous, insulting or indecent 
language, or gesture shall be used within this area; 
furthermore, no oration or other public demonstration be 
made, except by permit from the commissioner.  

H. No person shall offer any article or thing for sale within 
this area except by permission of the commissioner.  

I. No Mobile food vending. 

1. Mobile food vending shall be allowed within commuter 
lots in Planning District 8 except lots that meet at least one 
of the following conditions: 

a. Commuter lots or the portions thereof determined to be 
part of the interstate system. 

b. Commuter lots that, as of last Virginia Department of 
Transportation (VDOT) survey, had occupancy rates of 
98% or higher, except that mobile food vending may be 
permitted in such lots (i) if a paved area, the use of which 
does not include one or more parking spaces or block one 
or more parking spaces, is available within the lot; (ii) if 
vending is from a nonmotorized cart on sidewalks, 
provided that the vehicle used to transport the cart is not 
parked within the commuter lot; or (iii) on weekends. 

c. Commuter lots that have been requested by the locality 
to not be made available for mobile food vending. 

2. Permission for mobile food vending shall be granted 
through a land use permit issued to the mobile food vendor 
in accordance with the Land Use Permit Regulations 
(24VAC30-151). 

3. In order for a mobile food vendor to be granted or to 
retain a land use permit for mobile food vending at 
commuter lots pursuant to this subsection, the vendor must 
comply with all of the following: 

a. All relevant locality and Department of Health policies 
and requirements for mobile food vending. 

b. All land use permit conditions and requirements set 
forth within or attached to the land use permit, which 
may include provisions relating to the location of the 
vending unit, the collection and disposal of litter, a 

limitation on vending times, a requirement for minimum 
insurance, and the provision of surety. 

c. Posted signs or public notices setting out regulations or 
requirements for the use of commuter lots. 

d. Mobile food vending shall be conducted with 
pedestrians only and shall not be conducted with 
occupants of vehicles. 

e. Neither the mobile food vendor nor the vendor's 
operation shall interfere with the operation of the 
commuter lot and the safety of the lot's users, and the 
determination of whether the mobile food vendor or the 
vendor's operation is interfering with the operation of the 
commuter lot or the safety of the lot's users shall be 
solely within the discretion of VDOT. 

f. The mobile food vendor shall post no advertising 
within or upon the grounds of the commuter lot. 
Advertising on the mobile food vending unit (vehicle, 
trailer, or pushcart), promoting the products or services 
offered by the mobile food vendor at that mobile food 
vending unit, is not considered a violation of this section. 

Failure to comply with this subdivision 3 will result in the 
revocation of the permit. 

J. Except as authorized by the terms of a land use permit 
issued to a mobile food vendor, no person shall light, kindle, 
or use any fire within this area.  

J. K. No person shall discharge or set off within this area, 
any firearms or fireworks, except by permit from the 
commissioner.  

K. L. Any person violating any of the preceding rules and 
regulations shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon 
conviction, be fined not less than five dollars nor more than 
$100 for each offense.  

24VAC30-151-670. Prohibited use of right-of-way. 

No permit shall be issued for the following uses of the right-
of-way:  

1. Signs. Signs not otherwise allowed in this chapter shall 
not be placed on the highway right-of-way or overhang the 
right-of-way.  

2. Vendors on right-of-way. Permits will not be issued to 
vendors for operation of business within state rights-of-
way, except:  

a. As may be allowed for waysides and rest areas under 
the Rules and Regulations for the Administration of 
Waysides and Rest Areas (see 24VAC30-50-10 and 
24VAC30-151-760) and the Rules and Regulations for 
the Administration of Parking Lots and Environs 
(24VAC30-100-10). 
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b. Vendors of newspapers and written materials enjoy 
constitutional protection under the First Amendment to 
place or operate their services within rights-of-way, 
provided they neither impede traffic nor impact the safety 
of the traveling public. Newspaper vending machine size, 
placement, and location shall be as directed by the 
district administrator's designee for that area. 

c. To localities to administer mobile food vending on 
nonlimited access highways, where the vending 
operations are regulated by local ordinances, operated 
consistent with such ordinances, and in accordance with 
the Commonwealth Transportation Board's regulations 
and policies. 

3. Dwellings. No private dwellings, garages, or similar 
structures shall be placed or constructed within the right-
of-way, except as may be allowed under 24VAC30-151-
220 and 24VAC30-151-230. 

24VAC30-151-710. Fees. 

A. Single use permit. A nonrefundable application fee shall 
be charged to offset the cost of reviewing and processing the 
permit application and inspecting the project work, in 
accordance with the requirements below in this subsection: 

1. The application fee for a single permit is $100. 

2. Additive costs shall be applied as indicated below in this 
subdivision. The district administrator's designee will 
determine the total permit fees using the following 
schedule:  

Activity Fee 

Private Entrances none 

Commercial Entrance $150 for first entrance 

$50 for each additional 
entrance 

Street Connection $150 for first connection 

$50 for each additional 
connection 

Temporary Logging Entrance $10 for each entrance 

Temporary Construction 
Entrance 

$10 for each entrance 

Turn Lane $10 per 100 linear feet 

Crossover $500 per crossover 

Traffic Signal  $1,000 per signal 
installation  

Reconstruction of Roadway $10 per 100 linear feet 

Curb and Gutter $10 per 100 linear feet 

Sidewalk $10 per 100 linear feet 

Tree Trimming (for outdoor 
advertising) 

in accordance with § 
33.2-1221 of the Code of 
Virginia  

Tree Trimming (all other 
activities) 

$10 per acre or 100 feet 
of frontage 

Landscaping $10 per acre or 100 feet 
of frontage 

Storm Sewer $10 per 100 linear feet 

Box Culvert or Bridge $5 per linear foot of 
attachment 

Drop Inlet $10 per inlet 

Paved Ditch $10 per 100 linear feet 

Under Drain or Cross Drain $10 per crossing 

Above-ground Structure 
(including poles, pedestals, 
fire hydrants, towers, etc.) 

$10 per structure 

Pole Attachment $10 per structure 

Span Guy $10 per crossing 

Additive Guy and Anchor $10 per guy and anchor 

Underground Utility - 
Parallel  

$10 per 100 linear feet 

Overhead or Underground 
Crossing 

$10 per crossing 

Excavation Charge (including 
Test Bores and Emergency 
Opening) 

$10 per opening 

Two Month Commuter Lot 
Mobile Food Vending 
(available in Planning District 
8 only) (weekdays and 
weekends) 

$150 

Single Weekend Commuter 
Lot Mobile Food Vending 
(available in Planning District 
8 only) (per weekend) 

$10 

3. Time extensions for active permits shall incur a 
monetary charge equal to one-half the application fee 
charged to the initial permit. Expired permits may be 
reinstated; however, fees for reinstatement of expired 
permits shall equal the application fee. Notwithstanding 
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24VAC30-151-80, commuter lot mobile food vending 
permits may not be extended or reinstated. 

4. If a permit is cancelled prior to the beginning of work 
the permitted activity, the application fee and one-half of 
the additive fee will be retained as compensation for costs 
incurred by VDOT during plan review. 

5. The district administrator's designee may establish an 
account to track plan review and inspection costs, and may 
bill the permittee not more often than every 30 calendar 
days. If an account is established for these costs, the 
permittee shall be responsible for the nonrefundable 
application fee and the billed costs. When actual costs are 
billed, the district administrator's designee shall waive the 
additive fees above in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

B. Districtwide permits. Districtwide permits, as defined in 
24VAC30-151-30, are valid for a period of two years. The 
biennial fee for a districtwide permit for utilities and logging 
operations is $750 per district. The biennial fee for a 
districtwide permit for surveying is $200 per district. The 
central office permit manager may exercise discretion in 
combining requests for multijurisdictional districtwide 
permits. 

C. Miscellaneous permit fees. To connect the facility to the 
transmission grid pipeline, the operator of a nonutility 
renewable energy facility that produces not more than two 
megawatts of electricity from a renewable energy source, not 
more than 5,000 mmBtus/hour of steam from a renewable 
energy source, or landfill gas from a solid waste management 
facility, shall remit to VDOT a one-time permit fee of $1,500 
per mile as full compensation for the use of the right-of-way 
in accordance with § 67-1103 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. No-fee permits. The following permits shall be issued at 
no cost to the applicant: 

1. In-place permits as defined in 24VAC30-151-30 and 
24VAC30-151-390. 

2. Prior-rights permits as defined in 24VAC30-151-30 and 
24VAC30-151-390. 

3. As-built permits as defined in 24VAC30-151-30. 

4. Springs and wells as defined in 24VAC30-151-280. 

5. Crest stage gauges and water level recorders as defined 
in 24VAC30-151-500. 

6. Filming for movies as defined in 24VAC30-151-520. 

7. Roadside memorials as defined in 24VAC30-151-550. 

8. No loitering signs as defined in 24VAC30-151-570.  
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-4830; Filed July 9, 2018, 3:29 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 
Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 

Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 
Environmental Quality on behalf of the State Air Pollution 
Control Board is conducting a periodic review and small 
business impact review of 9VAC5-540, Emergency 
Generator General Permit. The review of this regulation 
will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 
(2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The regulations may be viewed on the DEQ air regulation 
webpage at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air 
/Laws,Regulations,Guidance.aspx. 

The comment period begins August 6, 2018, and ends August 
27, 2018.  

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, Office 
of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 
the small business impact review will be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 
Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 

Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Counseling is 
currently reviewing each of the regulations listed below to 
determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 
amended, or retained in its current form. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
14 (2018).  

18VAC115-15, Delegation of Informal Fact-Finding to an 
Agency Subordinate 

18VAC115-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Professional Counseling 

18VAC115-50, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Marriage and Family Therapy 

18VAC115-60, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins August 6, 2018, and ends 
September 5, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 
the small business impact review will be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Counseling is 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of 18VAC115-40, Regulations Governing the 
Certification of Rehabilitation Providers. The review of 
this regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive 
Order 14 (2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/Laws,Regulations,Guidance.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/Laws,Regulations,Guidance.aspx
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
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safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins August 6, 2018, and ends 
September 5, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 
the small business impact review will be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Waverly Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 

Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 
Sussex County 

Waverly Solar LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality with a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Sussex County. The 
project is located on approximately 2,000 acres southwest of 
U.S. Route 460 approximately one to three miles southwest 
and west of Waverly. The project conceptually consists of 
approximately 340,056 440-watt alternating current modules 
across 120.6 megawatt alternating current arrays, providing a 
facility new capacity of 118 megawatts alternating current. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 
Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 
filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on July 18, 
2018. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 
600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 
the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number Eighty (18) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game Cash4Life® 
Final Rules for Game Operation (this Director's Order 
becomes effective on July 24, 2018, fully replaces any and all 
prior Virginia Lottery Cash4Life® Virginia-specific game 
rules, and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended 
or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-One (18) 

Final Rules for Operation: "Subscription Program" for 
Certain Virginia Lottery Computer-Generated Games (this 
Director's Order becomes effective on July 24, 2018, fully 
replaces any and all Virginia Lottery "Subscription Program" 
Rules, and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Two (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 
Ultimate 7s Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation 
(effective August 5, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Three (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 
Super 7s Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 
August 5, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Six (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 
Blackjack Classic" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 
August 5, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Seven (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 
Extreme Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 
(effective August 5, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Eight (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 
High Stakes Blackjack" Final Rules for Game Operation 
(effective August 5, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Nine (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 
Horoscope Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 
(effective August 5, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Ninety (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 
Money Bag Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 
(effective August 5, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-One (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 
Platinum Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 
(effective August 5, 2018) 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
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Director's Order Number Ninety-Four (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1904 "Creepy Cash" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective June 18, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Eight (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1899 "Win Either $100 or 
$200" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective July 5, 
2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Five (18) 

Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries: End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 15 
and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give notice 
that the following Virginia Lottery scratch games will 
officially end at midnight on July 16, 2018. 

Game 1883 Red Hot 7s (TOP) 

Game 1882 Hot 7s 

Game 1844 Casino Cheer 

Game 1831 Tic Tac Toe 

Game 1830  Loose Change 

Game 1824 Win Either $50 or $100 

Game 1818 5X The Money (TOP) 

Game 1810 $5,000,000 Cash Payout 

Game 1807 2X The Money (TOP) 

Game 1789 $ 

Game 1781 20X The Money 

Game 1776 $50,000 Crossword Tripler 

Game 1768 Game Of Riches 

Game 1696 In The Money 

Game 1664 $1,000,000 Instant Cashout 

Game 1602 Money Bag Doubler 

Game 1478 $5,000,000 Cash Blowout 

Game 1466 $52 Million Cash Spectaular 

The last day for Lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 
tickets from any of these games will be August 27, 2018. The 
last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games will 
be January 12, 2019, 180 days from the declared official end 
of the game. Claims for winning tickets from any of these 
games will not be accepted after that date. Claims that are 
mailed and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of the 
United States Postal Service or another sovereign nation of 
January 12, 2019, or earlier, will be deemed to have been 
received on time. This notice amplifies and conforms to the 

duly adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct 
of lottery games.  

This order is available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 
600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia and at any Virginia 
Lottery office. A copy may be requested by mail by writing 
to: Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

This Director's Order becomes effective on July 5, 2018, and 
shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further Director's Order.  

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seven (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "FY19 eXTRA Chances Promotion" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (this Director's Order is effective 
nunc pro tunc to June 25, 2018. It fully replaces Director's 
Order 79(2018) in order to correct certain typographical 
errors and provide clarifying language. This Director's Order 
shall remain in full force and effect through the end 
Promotion date unless amended or rescinded by further 
Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eight (18) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game "Bank A 
Million" Final Rules for Game Operation (this Director's 
Order becomes effective on July 17, 2018, fully replaces any 
and all Virginia Lottery "Bank A Million" Game Rules, and 
shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Nine (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Cash 5" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (this Director's Order becomes 
effective on July 17, 2018, fully replaces any and all prior 
Virginia Lottery "Cash 5" game rules, and shall remain in full 
force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 
Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ten (18) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game "Pick 3" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (this Director's Order becomes 
effective on July 17, 2018, fully replaces any and all prior 
Virginia Lottery "Pick 3" game rules, and shall remain in full 
force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 
Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eleven (18) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game "Pick 4" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (this Director's Order becomes 
effective on July 17, 2018, fully replaces any and all prior 
Virginia Lottery "Pick 4" game rules, and shall remain in full 
force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 
Director's Order) 
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Director's Order Number One Hundred Twelve (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1903 "Bingo Multiplier" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective July 17, 2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Fourteen (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "Game Guy Player Experience Promotion" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective July 25, 2018) 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intent to Amend Virginia State Plan for 
Medical Assistance - Supplemental Payments 

Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act 
(USC § 1396a(a)(13)) 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 
amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital Services 
(12VAC30-70) and Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 
447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 
42 USC § 396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 
public review from Karen Cameron, Provider Reimbursement 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, or via email 
at karen.cameron@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 
providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 
proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 
inquiries may be submitted in writing within 30 days of this 
notice publication to Ms. Cameron, and such comments are 
available for review at the same address. Comments may also 
be submitted in writing on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
public comment forum. This notice is available for public 
review on the Town Hall on the General Notices page found 
at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

1. Inpatient supplemental payments for private acute care 
hospitals. The 2018 Acts of Assembly directs DMAS to 
provide supplemental inpatient hospital payments to 
qualifying hospitals up to the private hospital upper 
payment limit for private hospitals. Qualifying 
hospitals include all private acute care hospitals and 
exclude public hospitals, freestanding psychiatric and 
rehabilitation hospitals, children's hospitals, long stay 
hospitals, long-term acute care hospitals, and critical access 
hospitals. The total supplemental payment shall be based 
on the difference between the private hospital inpatient 
upper payment limit in 42 CFR 447.272 as approved by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and all 
other Medicaid payments subject to such limit. Effective 

October 1, 2018, the department is amending the State Plan 
to make supplemental payments to all qualifying hospitals. 
The department shall also, effective October 1, 2018, 
include in its contracts with managed care organizations a 
directed payment for qualifying hospitals consistent with 
the State Plan amendment. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures 
including managed care is $211,476,474 for state fiscal 
year 2019 and $604,218,496 for state fiscal year 2020. 

2. Outpatient supplemental payments for private acute care 
hospitals. The 2018 Acts of Assembly directs DMAS to 
provide supplemental outpatient hospital payments to 
qualifying hospitals up to the private hospital upper 
payment limit for private hospitals. Qualifying hospitals 
include all private acute care hospitals and exclude public 
hospitals, freestanding psychiatric and rehabilitation 
hospitals, children's hospitals, long stay hospitals, long-
term acute care hospitals, and critical access hospitals. The 
total supplemental payment shall be based on the difference 
between the private hospital outpatient upper payment limit 
in 42 CFR 447.321 as approved by CMS and all other 
Medicaid payments subject to such limit. Effective October 
1, 2018, the department is amending the State Plan to make 
supplemental payments to all qualifying hospitals. The 
department shall also, effective October 1, 2018, include in 
its contracts with managed care organizations a directed 
payment for qualifying hospitals consistent with the State 
Plan amendment. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures 
including managed care is $37,319,378 for state fiscal year 
2019 and $106,626,794 for state fiscal year 2020.  

3. Sunsetting of other supplemental payments for private 
acute care hospitals. In order to avoid overlapping 
supplemental payments, the following supplemental 
payments to a limited group of private hospitals are being 
terminated on the date these new supplemental payments 
are effective for a broader group of private hospitals, which 
includes the hospitals eligible for the existing supplemental 
payments: 

Supplemental inpatient and outpatient payments for private 
hospital partners of Type One hospitals (Culpeper, 
Haymarket, and Prince William). 

Supplemental inpatient payments for certain teaching 
hospitals (Sentara Norfolk General and Carilion Medical 
Center) – Item 303 XX 6 c of the Budget Bill authorizes 
this action. 

The expected decrease in annual aggregate expenditures is 
$25 million for state fiscal year 2019 and $100 million for 
state fiscal year 2020. 

Contact Information: Karen Cameron, Senior Project 
Manager, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
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East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 298-3868, FAX (804) 786-1680, TDD (800) 
343-0634, or email karen.cameron@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 

Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Board of Social 
Services is conducting a periodic review and small business 
impact review of 22VAC40-730, Investigation of Child 
Abuse and Neglect in Out of Family Complaints. The 
review of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 
Executive Order 14 (2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins August 6, 2018, and ends August 
27, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Nicole Shipp, 801 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7545, FAX (804) 
726-7499, or email e.shipp@dss.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Proposed Enforcement Action for Crop Production 

Services Inc. 
An enforcement action has been proposed for Crop 
Production Services Inc. (CPS) regarding violations of State 
Water Control Law and regulations at the CPS facility in 
Cloverdale, Virginia. The proposed enforcement action 
includes a civil charge and injunctive relief. A description of 
the proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Robert Steele will accept comments 

by email at robert.steele@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 
562-6725, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 
Quality, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, from 
August 6, 2018, to September 5, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Order for Holtzman Corporation 
An enforcement action is proposed for Holtzman Corporation 
for violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations 
at 39258 East Colonial Highway, Hamilton, Loudoun County, 
Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 
consent order to resolve violations associated with a 
Holtzman Corporation tanker truck accident. A description of 
the proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Mark Miller will accept comments by 
email at mark.miller@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 
Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 
August 7, 2018, through September 6, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for the King 
George County Service Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the King 
George County Service Authority for violations at the 
Hopyard Farm Wastewater Treatment Plant, Fairview Beach 
Wastewater Treatment Plant, Dahlgren Wastewater 
Treatment Plant, Oakland Park Wastewater Treatment Plant, 
and the Purkins Corner Wastewater Treatment Plant in King 
George County, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a special order by consent to the King 
George County Service Authority to address noncompliance 
with the State Water Control Law and regulations. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will accept 
comments by email at kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 
at (804) 698-4277, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, from August 6, 2018, to September 5, 
2018. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Quik Stop Co. 
An enforcement action has been proposed for Quik Stop Co. 
for violations of State Water Control Law, specifically 
involving the Underground Storage Tanks: Technical 
Standards and Corrective Action Requirements that occurred 
in Richmond, Virginia. A description of the proposed actions 
is available online at www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs 
/Enforcement/PublicNotices.aspx. Lee Crowell will accept 
comments by email at lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov or postal 
mail at Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23219, from August 6, 2018, through 
September 5, 2018. 

mailto:Karen.Cameron@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:e.shipp@dss.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Robert.Steele@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Enforcement/PublicNotices.aspx
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Proposed Consent Special Order for 
the Town of Victoria 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 
Victoria for violations at the Victoria East Sewage Treatment 
Plant in the Town of Victoria, Virginia. The State Water 
Control Board proposes to issue a special order by consent to 
the Town of Victoria to address noncompliance with the State 
Water Control Law and regulations. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will accept comments 
by email at kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 
698-4277, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 
Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, from August 6, 2018, to September 5, 2018. 

Cancellation of Public Meeting for Total Maximum 
Daily Load Study for Barbours Creek, Craig Creek, 

Catawba Creek, Little Patterson Creek, Sinking 
Creek, Lapsley Run, and Part of the James River 

The community meeting scheduled for Tuesday, August 7, 
2018, from 6 p.m. until 7 p.m. at the Eagle Rock Public 
Library, 55 Eagles Nest Drive, Eagle Rock, VA 24085 has 
been canceled.  

The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the final results of 
a water quality study, known as a total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) for Barbours Creek, Craig Creek, Catawba Creek, 
Little Patterson Creek, Sinking Creek, Lapsely Run, and a 
section on the James River in Craig and Botetourt Counties.  

The meeting announcement was published in 34:24 VA.R. 
2481-2483 July 23, 2018. 

Contact Information: Lucy Baker, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3019 
Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, telephone (540) 
562-6718, FAX (540) 562-6725, or email 
lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Comment Opportunity - Proposed Ammonia 
Criteria Phased Implementation Program 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260, Water Quality Standards 
(amending 9VAC25-260-155). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR Part 131. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 11, 2018 – 2 p.m. - Department of 
Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 
3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019. 

September 13, 2018 – 2 p.m. - Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949 A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060. 

Public Comment Period: August 6, 2018, through October 5, 
2018. 

Substance: Ammonia Criteria - 9VAC25-260-155. The 
purpose of this notice is to solicit comment regarding 
additional proposed language developed to address the 
directives of Chapter 510 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly. 
Language has been developed for the proposal to amend 
9VAC25-260-155. The amendment includes new nationally 
recommended aquatic life criteria, issued by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in 2013, for 
ammonia in freshwater. Like the current criteria, the proposed 
criteria are calculated as a function of temperature and pH 
and account for the presence or absence of trout and early life 
stages of fish. The recalculated ammonia criteria now 
incorporate toxicity data for freshwater mussels in the family 
Unionidae, which are the most sensitive organisms in the 
recalculation data base. The new criteria are about twice as 
stringent as the existing criteria primarily because more 
recent toxicity data show that mussels and snails (including 
endangered species) are very sensitive to ammonia, and the 
current ammonia criteria do not provide sufficient protection 
for these species. Site-specific options to calculate criteria 
omitting mussel toxicity data are proposed to be used in 
waters where a demonstration has been made that mussels are 
absent; however, consultation with U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service and the Virginia Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries indicate freshwater mussels should be considered 
ubiquitous in Virginia and likely to be present in any 
perennial waterbody. 

This is a continuation of a proposal to amend the water 
quality standards, which was the subject of a proposed 
regulatory action and opportunity for public comment 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations (34:2 VA.R. 
192-236 September 18, 2017). The proposed regulation 
includes several amendments to the water quality standards, 
but the agency decided to delay the adoption of the 
amendments for freshwater ammonia criteria (9VAC25-260-
155) due to Chapter 510 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly. The 
legislation directs the State Water Control Board (the board) 
not to adopt the most recent ammonia criteria recommended 
by EPA unless the board includes in such adoption a phased 
implementation program consistent with the federal Clean 
Water Act with certain funding and timing considerations.  

Full text of the regulatory language will be available on the 
Department of Environmental Quality's website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs /WaterQualityStandards.aspx on August 6, 
2018. 

Contact Information: David Whitehurst, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4121, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 
david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing  
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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